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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between April 16, 2022, 12:00 a.m., and May 02, 
2022, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the May 15, 2022, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least June 14, 2022.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last day 
the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through September 12, 2022, the agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days 
after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-9 Filing ID 
54541 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB, South Bldg, 

2nd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Robert Hougaard 801-
982-
2305 

rhougaard@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-9.  Utah Noxious Weed Act 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Changes are needed to make the text consistent with the 
Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Language has been changed to make the text consistent 
with Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The changes are clarifying only and will not impact the 
operation of the program and therefore, will not have a 
fiscal impact on the state. 

B)  Local governments: 

Local governments do not administer the program and are 
not regulated under the program and will not be impacted. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to small businesses 
because the changes are clarifying existing practice and 
the operation of the program will not change. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to non-small businesses 
because the changes are clarifying existing practice and 
the operation of the program will not change. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There should be no fiscal impact to other persons because 
the changes are clarifying existing practice and the 
operation of the program will not change. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There should be no change in compliance costs for 
affected persons because compliance requirements are 
not changing. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses.  Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(i) 

Subsection 
4-17-115(3) 

Section 4-17-103 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 03/18/2022 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-9.  Utah Noxious Weed Act. 
R68-9-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under authority of Subsections 4-2-
[2]103(1)(i), [and ]4-17-[3]115(3), and Section 4-17-103. 
 (2)  This rule establishes the designations for noxious 
weeds, the designations for noxious weed disseminators, and the 
prescribed treatment for articles. 
 
R68-9-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food or the commissioner's designee. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (3)  "EDRR" means early detection and rapid response. 
 
R68-9-[2]3.  Designation and Publication of State Noxious Weeds. 
 (1)  Noxious Weed Classes. 
 (a)  Class 1A (EDRR Watch List). 
 (i)  Declared noxious and invasive weeds not native to 
Utah. 
 (ii)  Declared noxious and invasive weeds not known to 
exist in the state that pose a serious threat to the state and should be 
considered as a very high priority. 
 (b)  Class 1B (EDRR). 
 (i)  Declared noxious and invasive weeds not native to 
Utah. 
 (ii)  Declared noxious and invasive weeds that are known 
to exist in the state in very limited populations and pose a serious 
threat to the state and should be considered as a very high priority. 
 (c)  Class 2 (Control). 
 (i)  Declared noxious and invasive weeds not native to 
Utah, that pose a threat to the state and should be considered a high 
priority for control. 
 (ii)  Weeds listed in the control list are known to exist in 
varying populations throughout the state. 
 (iii)  The concentration of these weeds is at a level where 
control or eradication may be possible. 
 (d)  Class 3 (Containment). 
 (i)  Declared noxious and invasive weeds not native to Utah 
that are widely spread. 
 (ii)  Weeds listed in the containment noxious weeds list are 
known to exist in various populations throughout the state. 
 (iii)  Weed control efforts may be directed at reducing or 
eliminating new or expanding weed populations. 
 (iv)  Known and established weed populations, as 
determined by the County Weed Board, may be managed by any 
approved weed control methodology. 
 (v)  Class 3 weeds pose a threat to the agricultural industry 
and agricultural products. 
 (e)  Class 4 (Prohibited for sale or propagation). 
 (i)  Declared noxious and invasive weeds, not native to 
Utah, that pose a threat to the state through the retail sale or 
propagation in the nursery and greenhouse industry. 
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 (ii)  Prohibited noxious weeds are annual, biennial, or 
perennial plants that the department designates as having the 
potential or are known to be detrimental to human or animal health, 
the environment, public roads, crops, or other property. 
 [A.](2)  [The following weeds are hereby officially 
designated and published as noxious for the State of Utah, as per the 
authority vested in the Commissioner of Agriculture and Food under 
Section 4-17-3: 
 There are hereby designated five classes of noxious weeds 
in the state: Class 1A (EDRR Watch List), Class 1 (EDRR), Class 2 
(Control), Class 3 (Containment), and Class 4 (Prohibited for sale or 
propagation).]Tables 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 list the weeds officially 
designated and published as noxious weeds for Utah. Each county in 
Utah may have different priorities regarding specific state designated 
noxious weeds and is therefore able to reprioritize these weeds for 
their own needs. 
 

[TABLE 
 
Class 1A: Early Detection Rapid Response (EDRR) Watch List 
Declard noxious and invasive weeds not native to te state of 
Utah and not known to exist in the State that pose a serious 
threat to the state and should be considered as a very high 
priority. 
 
Common crupina                     Crupina vulgaris 
African rue                        Peganum harmala 
Small bugloss                      Anchusa arvensis 
Mediterranean sage                 Salvia aethiopis 
Spring millet                      Milium vernale 
Syrian beancaper                   Zygophyllum fabago 
Ventenata (North Africa grass)     Ventenata dubia 
Plumeless thistle                  Carduus acanthoides 
Malta starthistle                  Centaurea melitensis 
 
Class 1B: Early Detection Rapid Response (EDRR) 
Declared noxious and invasive weeds not native to the State of 
Utah that are known to exist in the state invery limited 
populations and pose a serious threat to the state and should 
be considered as a very high priority. 
 
Camelthorn                         Alhagi maurorum 
Garlic mustard                     Alliaria petiolata 
Purple starthistle                 Centaurea calcitrapa 
Goatsrue                           Galega officinalis 
African mustard                    Brassica tournefortii 
Giant reed                         Arundo donax 
Japanese knotweed                  Polygonum cuspidatum 
Blueweed (Vipers bugloss)          Echium vulgare 
Elongated mustard                  Brassica elongata 
Common St. Johnswort               Hypericum perforatum 
Oxeye daisy                        Leucanthemum vulgare 
Cutleaf vipergrass                 Scorzonera laciniata 
 
Class 2: Control 
Declared noxious and invasive weeds not native to the state of 
Utah, that pose a threat to the state and should be considered 
a high priority for control.  Weeds listed in the control list 
are known to exist in varying populations throughout the 
state.  The concentration of these weeds is at a level where 
control or eradication may be possible. 
 
Leafy spurge                       Euphorbia esula 
Medusahead                         Taeniatherum caput-medusae 
Rush skeletonweed                  Chondrilla juncea 
Spotted knapweed                   Centaurea stoebe 
Purple loosestrife                 Lythrum salicaria 
Squarrose knapweed                 Centaurea virgata 
Dyers woad                         Isatis tinctoria 
Yellow starthistle                 Centaurea solstitialis 
Yellow toadflax                    Linaria vulgaris 
Diffuse knapweed                   Centaurea diffusa 
Black henbane                      Hyoscyamus niger 
Dalmation toadflax                 Linaria dalmatica 

Class 3: Containment 
Declared noxious and invasive weeds not native to the State of 
Utah that are widely spread. Weeds listed in the containment 
noxious weeds list are known to exist in various populations 
throughout the state.  Weed control efforts may be directed at 
reducing or eliminating new or expanding weed populations. 
Known and established weed populations, as determined by the 
weed control authority, may be managed by any approved weed 
control methodology, as determined by the weed control 
authority.  These weeds pose a threat to the agricultural 
industry and agricultural products. 
 
Russian knapweed                   Acroptilon repens 
Houndstounge                       Cynoglossum officianale 
Perennial pepperweed               Lepidium latifolium 
  (Tall whitetop) 
Phragmites (Common reed)           Phragmites australis ssp. 
Tamarisk(Saltcedar)                Tamarix ramosissima 
Hoary cress                        Cardaria spp. 
Canada thistle                     Cirsium arvense 
Poison hemlock                     Conium maculatum 
Musk thistle                       Carduus nutans 
Quackgrass                         Elymus repens 
Jointed goatgrass                  Aegilops cylindrica 
Bermudagrass*                      Cynodon dactylon 
Perennial Sorghum spp.             including but not limited 
                                   to Johnson Grass (Sorghum 
                                   halepense)and Sorghum 
                                   almum (Sorghum almum). 
Scotch thistle (Cotton thistle)    Onopordum acanthium 
Field bindweed                     Convolvulus spp. 
  (Wild Morning-glory) 
Puncturevine(Goathead)             Tribulus terrestris 
 
* Bermudagrass (Cynodon dactylon) shall not be a noxious 
weed in Washington County and shall not be subject to 
provisions of the Utah Noxious Weed Law within the boundaries 
of that county.  It shall be a noxious weed throughout all 
other areas of the State of Utah and shall be subject to the 
laws therein. 
 
Class 4: Prohibited 
Declared noxious and invasive weeds, not native to the state 
of Utah, that pose a threat to the state through the retail 
sale or propagation in the nursery and greenhouse industry. 
Prohibited noxious weeds are annual, biennial, or perennial 
plants that the commissioner designates as having the 
potential or are known to be detrimental to human or animal 
health, the environment, public roads, crops, or other 
property. 
 
Cogongrass                         Imperata cylindrica 
  (Japanese blood grass) 
Myrtle spurge                      Euphorbia myrsinites 
Dames Rocket                       Hesperis matronalis 
Scotch broom                       Cytisus scoparius 
Russian olive                      Elaeagnus angustifolia 
 
Each county in Utah may have different priorities regarding 
specific State designated Noxious Weeds and is therefore able 
to reprioritize these weeds for their own needs.] 
 

TABLE 1 
Class 1A (EDRR Watch List) 

Weed Name Binomial Name 
Common crupina Crupina vulgaris 
Small bugloss Anchusa arvensis 
Mediterranean sage Salvia aethiopis 
Spring millet Milium vernale 
Syrian beancaper Zygophyllum fabago 
Plumeless thistle Carduus acanthoides 
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TABLE 2 
Class 1B (EDRR) 

Weed Name Binomial Name 
African rue Peganum harmala 
Camelthorn Alhagi maurorum 
Garlic mustard Alliaria petiolate 
Purple starthistle Centaurea calcitrapa 
Goat's rue Galega officinalis 
African mustard Brassica tournefortii 
Giant reed Arundo donax 
Japanese knotweed Polygonum cuspidatum 
Blueweed (Vipers bugloss) Echium vulgare 
Elongated mustard Brassica elongate 
Common St. Johnswort Hypericum perforatum 
Oxeye daisy Leucanthemum vulgare 
Cutleaf vipergrass Scorzonera laciniate 
Ventenata (North African 
 grass) 

Ventenata dubia 

Malta starthistle Centaurea melitensis 
 

TABLE 3 
Class 2 (Control) 

Weed Name Binomial Name 
Leafy spurge Euphorbia esula 
Medusahead Taeniatherum caput-edusae 
Rush skeletonweed Chondrilla juncea 
Spotted knapweed Centaurea stoebe 

Purple loosestrife Lythrum salicaria 

Squarrose knapweed Centaurea virgata 

Dyers woad Isatis tinctoria 

Yellow starthistle Centaurea solstitialis 

Yellow toadflax Linaria vulgaris 

Diffuse knapweed Centaurea diffusa 

Black henbane Hyoscyamus niger 

Dalmation toadflax Linaria dalmatica 

 
TABLE 4 

Class 3 (Containment) 
Weed Name Binomial Name 

Russian knapweed Acroptilon repens 

Houndstounge Cynoglossum officianale 

Perennial pepperweed  (Tall 
whitetop) 

Lepidium latifolium 

Phragmites (Common reed) Phragmites australis ssp. 

Tamarisk (Saltcedar) Tamarix ramosissima 

Hoary cress (globe-podded) Lepidium draba (Cardaria  
draba) 

Hoary cress (heart-podded) Lepidium chalepense  
(Cardaria chalepensis) 

Hoary cress (lens-podded) Lepidium appelianum  
(Cardaria pubescens) 

Canada thistle Cirsium arvense 

Poison hemlock Conium maculatum 

Musk thistle Carduus nutans 

Quackgrass Elymus repens 

Jointed goatgrass Aegilops cylindrica 

Bermudagrass* Cynodon dactylon 

Perennial Sorghum spp.  
Including: 

 

Johnson grass Sorghum halepense 

Columbus grass Sorghum almum 

Scotch thistle (Cotton  
thistle)  

Onopordum acanthium 

Field bindweed (Wild  
Morning-glory) 

Convolvulus spp. 

Puncturevine (Goathead) Tribulus terrestris 

* Bermudagrass (Cynodon dactylon) shall not be a noxious 
weed in Washington County and shall not be subject to Title 
4, Chapter 17, the Utah Noxious Weed Act within the 
boundaries of that county.  It shall be a noxious weed 
throughout any other areas of the state and shall be subject 
to the laws of the state. 

 
TABLE 5 

Class 4 (Prohibited) 
Weed Name Binomial Name 

Cogongrass (Japanese blood 
grass) 

Imperata cylindrica 

Myrtle spurge Euphorbia myrsinites 

Dames Rocket Hesperis matronalis 

Scotch broom Cytisus scoparius 

Russian olive Elaeagnus angustifolia 

 
R68-9-[3]4.  Designations and Publication of Articles Capable of 
Disseminating Noxious Weeds. 
 [A.  As provided in Section 4-17-3, t](1)  The following 
articles are designated and published [by the Commissioner ]as 
capable of disseminating noxious weeds: 
 [1.](a)  [M]machinery and equipment, particularly 
combines and hay balers[.]; 
 [2.](b)  [F]farm trucks and common carriers[.]; 
 [3.](c)  [S]seed[.]; 
 [4.](d)  [S]screenings sold for livestock feed[.]; 
 [5.](e)  [L]livestock feed material[.]; 
 [6.](f)  [H]hay, straw, or other material of similar nature[.]; 
 [7.](g)  [M]manure[.]; 
 [8.](h)  [S]soil, sod, and nursery stock[.]; 
 [9.](i)  [N]noxious weeds distributed or sold for any 
purpose[.]; and 
 [10.](j)  [L]livestock. 
 
R68-9-[4]5.  Prescribed Treatment for Articles. 
 [A.  As provided in Section 4-17-3, the Commissioner has 
determined that t](1)  The following treatments shall be [considered 
]the minimum treatment required to prevent dissemination of noxious 
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weed seeds or [such ]parts of noxious weed plants that could cause 
new growth by contaminated articles: 
 [1.](a)  Machinery and Equipment. 
 [a.](i)  [It shall be unlawful for any]Any person, company, 
or corporation [to]shall not: 
 [(1)](A)  bring any harvesting or threshing machinery, 
portable feed grinders, portable seed cleaners or other farm vehicles 
or machinery into the state without [first ]cleaning [such]the 
equipment to ensure it is free from [all]any noxious weed seed and 
plant parts; or 
 [(2)](B)  move any harvesting or threshing machinery, 
portable feed grinders or portable seed cleaners from any farm 
infested with any noxious weed without first cleaning [such]the 
equipment to ensure it is free from [all]any noxious weed seed and 
plant parts. 
 [(a)](ii)  Immediately after completing the threshing of 
grain or seed [which]that is contaminated with noxious weeds, 
[such]the machine [is to]shall be cleaned by: 
 [(1)](A)  removing [all]any loose material from the top and 
side of the machine by sweeping with a blower; 
 [(2)](B)  opening the lower end of elevator, return and 
measuring device and removing infested material from shakers, 
sieves, and other places of lodgement; 
 [(3)](C)  running the machine empty for [not less than]at 
least five minutes, alternately increasing and retarding the speed; and 
 [(4)](D)  following the manufacturer's detailed suggestions 
for cleaning the machine. 
 [2.](b)  Farm Trucks and Common Carriers. 
 (i)  [It shall be unlawful for any]Any person, company, or 
corporation [to]shall not transport seed, screenings, or feed of any 
kind containing noxious weed seed over or along any highway in this 
[S]state or on any railroad operating in this [S]state unless the 
[same]seed, screenings, or feed containing noxious weed seed is 
carried or transported in [such ]vehicles or containers [which]that 
will prevent the leaking or scattering [thereof]of the seed, screenings, 
or feed containing noxious weed seed. 
 (ii)  [All]Each common carrier[s] shall thoroughly clean 
and destroy any noxious weed seeds or plant parts in cars, trucks, 
vehicles, or other receptacles used by them after each load shall have 
been delivered to a consignee before again placing [such]the car, 
truck, vehicle, or receptacle into service. 
 [3.](c)  Seed. 
 [a.](i)  [It shall be unlawful for any]Any person, firm, or 
corporation [to]shall not sell, offer, or expose for sale or distribute in 
Utah any agricultural, vegetable, flower, or tree and shrub seeds for 
seeding purposes [which]that contains any seeds of those weeds 
declared noxious by [the Commissioner of Agriculture and Food]the 
department. 
 [b.](ii)  [It shall be the duty of t]The [State Agricultural 
Inspector]department agricultural inspector [to]shall remove from 
sale any lots of seeds offered for sale [which]that are found to contain 
noxious weed seeds. 
 (A)  [Such]The seed may be recleaned under the 
supervision of the inspector and, if found to be free from noxious 
weed seeds, [the same]the seed may be released for sale or 
distribution; otherwise, [such]the seed shall be: 
 (I)  returned to point of origin[,]; 
 (II)  shipped to another state where [such]the weed shall be 
returned to point of origin[,]; 
 (III)  shipped to another state where [such]the weed seed is 
not noxious[,]; or 

 (IV)  destroyed or processed in [such ]a manner as to 
destroy viability of the weed seeds. 
 [4.](d)  Screenings Sold for Livestock Feed. 
 [a.](i)  [All]Any screenings or by-products of cleaning 
grains or other seeds containing noxious weed seeds, when used in 
commercial feed or sold [as such ]to the ultimate consumer, shall be 
ground fine enough or otherwise treated to destroy [such]the weed 
seeds so that the finished product contains [not more than]at most six 
whole noxious weed seeds per pound. 
 [b.](ii)  [All]Each mill[s] and plant[s] that clean[ing]s or 
process[ing]es any grains or other seeds shall be required to grind or 
otherwise treat [all]any screenings containing noxious weed seeds [so 
as ]to destroy [such]the weed seeds to the extent that the [above 
]stated tolerance in this rule is not exceeded before allowing the 
[same]grains or other seeds to be removed from the mill or plant. 
 (A)  [Such s]Screenings may be moved to another plant for 
grinding and treatment; provided that[: ] each container or shipment 
is labeled with the words "screenings for processing - not for seeding 
or feeding" and with the name and address of the consignor and the 
consignee. 
 [5.](e)  Livestock Feed Material. 
 [a.](i)  [It shall be unlawful for any]Any person, company, 
or corporation [to]shall not sell or offer for sale, barter, or give away 
to the ultimate consumer any livestock feed material, including whole 
grains, [which]that contain more than six whole noxious weed seeds 
per pound. 
 (A)  Whole feed grain [which]that exceeds this tolerance of 
noxious weed seeds may be sold to commercial processors or 
commercial feed mixers [where]if the manner of processing will 
reduce the number of whole noxious weed seed to no more than six 
per pound. 
 [6.](f)  Hay, Straw, or [O]other [M]material of [S]similar 
[N]nature. 
 [a.](i)  [It shall be unlawful for any]Any person, company, 
or corporation [to]shall not: 
 (A)  sell or offer for sale, barter, or give away any hay, 
straw, or other material of similar nature, [which]that is contaminated 
with mature noxious weed seeds or [such ]parts of noxious weed 
plants [which]that could cause new growth[,]; or 
 (B)  [to ]alter, change, or falsify in any way information 
contained on a phytosanitary certificate. 
 [7.](g)  [Manure. 
 a.  ]Manure produced from grain, hay, or other forage 
infested with noxious weeds shall not be applied or dumped 
[elsewhere than upon]anywhere other than on the premises of the 
owner [thereof]of the manure. 
 [8.](h)  Soil, Sod, and Nursery Stock. 
 [a.](i)  No soil, sod or nursery stock [which]that contains or 
is contaminated with noxious weed seeds, or [such ]parts of the plant 
that could cause new growth, shall be removed from the premises 
[upon which]where it is located until cleaned of [such ]weed seed or 
plant parts[, except that such]. 
 (ii)  [c]Contaminated soil may be used for restrictive non-
planting purposes [upon]with permission and under direction of the 
[c]County [w]Weed [s]Supervisor or a representative of the [Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food]department. 
 [9.](i)  Noxious Weeds Distributed or Sold for Any 
Purpose. 
 [a.](i)  [It shall be unlawful for any]Any person, company, 
or corporation [to]shall not sell, barter, or give away any noxious 
weed plants or seeds for any purpose. 
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 [10.](j)  Livestock. 
 [a.](i)  No livestock to which grain, hay, or other forage 
containing noxious weed seeds has been fed shall be permitted to 
range or graze upon fields other than those upon which they have 
been so fed for a period of 72 hours following [such]the feeding.  
During [such]this period, they shall be fed materials [which]that are 
not contaminated with noxious weed seeds. 
 
R68-9-[5]6.  Reports [F]from Counties. 
 [A.](1)  The Board of County Commissioners of each 
county, with the aid of their [c]County Weed Board and their County 
Weed Supervisor, shall submit an "Annual Progress Report of County 
Noxious Weed Control Program" to the [Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Food]commissioner by January 15 of each year, 
covering the activities of the previous calendar year.  A prescribed 
form for this report shall be supplied by the 
[Commissioner]department. 
 
R68-9-[6]7.  Notices. 
 [A.](1)  General and individual notices pertaining to the 
control and prevention of noxious and invasive weeds shall be 
substantially of the types prescribed in this rule[herein;], namely[,]: 
 (a)  General Notice to Control Noxious Weeds[,]; 
 (b)  Individual Notice to Control Noxious Weeds[,]; and 
 (c)  Notification of Noxious Weed Lien Assessment. 
 [1.](d)  General Notice To Control Noxious Weeds. 
 (i)  A general public notice shall be posted by the County 
Weed Board in at least three public places within the county and be 
published in one or more newspapers of general circulation 
throughout the county, on or before May 1 of each year and at any 
other times the County Weed Board determines. 
 (A)  [Such]The public notice shall state that [it is the duty 
of every]each property owner [to]shall control and prevent the spread 
of noxious weeds on any land in [his]their possession, or under 
[his]their control, and shall serve as a warning that if [he]they fail[s] 
to comply with this notice, enforced weed control measures may be 
imposed at the direction of county authorities. 
 (B)  [Such]The general notice shall also include a list of 
weeds declared noxious for [the State of ]Utah and for [said]that 
county, if any. 
 [2.](e)  Individual Notice to Control Noxious Weeds. 
 (i)  Following publication of a general notice, if a County 
Weed Board determines that definite weed control measures are 
required to control noxious weeds on a particular property, the 
Country Weed Board shall cause an individual notice to be served 
upon the owner or the person in possession of [said]the property, 
giving specific instructions concerning when and how the noxious 
weeds are to be controlled within a [specified]named period[ of time]. 
 (A)  The individual notice shall also inform the property 
owner or operator of legal action [which]that may be taken against 
him if [he]they fail[s] to comply with [said]the notice. 
 [3.](f)  Notification of Noxious Weed Lien Assessment. 
 (i)  If it is [deemed]considered advisable, the Board of 
County Commissioners may cause noxious weeds to be controlled on 
a particular property and any expenses incurred by the county shall 
be paid by the owner of record or the person in possession of the 
property. 
 (A)  A notice shall be provided [such]to the person in 
possession of the property, showing an itemized cost statement of the 
labor and materials necessarily used in the work of [said]the control 
measures. 

 (I)  This notice shall also state that the expense constitutes 
a lien against the property and shall be added to the general taxes 
unless payment is made to the County Treasurer within 90 days. 
 
KEY:  noxious weeds, weed classifications, weed control 
Date of Last Change:  [February 2, 2016]2022 
Notice of Continuation:  June 1, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [4-2-2; 4-17-
3]4-2-103(1)(i); 4-17-115(3); 4-17-103 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R137-1 Filing ID 
54540 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Career Service Review Office 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Akiko Kawamura 385-

346-
8552 

akawamura@utah.gov 

Annette Morgan 385-
346-
8551 

amorgan@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R137-1.  Grievance Procedure Rules 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This amendment comports with statutory changes made 
in H.B. 104, passed in the 2022 General Session. 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment clarifies to whom an employee can file 
grievances at each Level of the grievance procedures and 
clarifies when an employee may skip a Level. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
None--This rule makes procedural changes to the manner 
in which state executive branch employees may file 
employee grievances and specifies to whom grievances 
may be filed.  There is no cost for filing grievances and no 
aggregate costs or savings are anticipated. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

None--This rule only applies to state executive branch 
agencies and their employees.  Local governments are not 
impacted by this rule in any manner. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
None--This rule only applies to state executive branch 
agencies and their employees.  Small businesses are not 
impacted by this rule in any manner. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None--This rule only applies to state executive branch 
agencies and their employees.  No businesses are 
impacted by this rule in any manner. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--This rule only applies to state executive branch 
agencies and their employees.  Other entities or persons 
are not impacted by this rule in any manner. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is no compliance cost for the Career Service Review 
Office.  These amendments make procedural changes 
only and no costs will be incurred. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This amendment clarifies the 4 Levels of the Grievance 
Procedures, including to whom a grievance should be 
filed.  Akiko Kawamura, Administrator 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0  $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Administrator of Career Service Review Office, Akiko 
Kawamura, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
67-19a-202 

Section 
67-19a-302 

Section 
67-19a-401 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 
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10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Akiko Kawamura, 
Administrator 

Date: 04/25/2022 

 
R137.  Career Service Review Office, Administration. 
R137-1.  Grievance Procedure Rules. 
R137-1-11.  Issues Appealable to Level 4. 
 All grievances shall be reviewed to determine: 
 (1)  Whether the matters or issues raised in a grievance fall 
within the CSRO's limited jurisdiction as set forth in Subsections 67-
19a-202(1), 67-19a-202(2), and 67-19a-202(3), or 
 (2)  Whether any issues or components of a grievance were 
satisfactorily resolved at an earlier step in the grievance procedures. 
Matters or issues resolved at an earlier step in the grievance 
procedures may not be advanced to the CSRO. 
 (3)  The office may not take jurisdiction of a matter that an 
employer has not had an opportunity to address. 
 
R137-1-14.  Grievance Procedure Levels. 
 [Persons acting on grievances pursuant to Sections 67-19a-
402, and in accordance with these rules, shall conduct their filings 
through the following levels of increasing accountability:]The 
administration of all grievances under Subsection 67-19a-202(1) 
occurs on the following four levels: 
 Level 1; [A written grievance shall be submitted to the 
employee's immediate supervisor. A standard grievance form is 
available from the CSRO. Once submitted, the written grievance is a 
formal complaint necessitating a response. At all levels of procedure, 
the parties must comply with the time periods outlined in Sections 
67-19a-401 and 67-19a-402.  If a supervisor is the subject of a 
grievance or complaint, the employee may proceed directly to Level 
2.]the supervisor; 
 Level 2; [If the grievance is not resolved at Level 1, the 
employee may advance their grievance to the agency or division 
director (or director's designee) at Level 2.  If an agency or division 
director is the subject of a grievance or complaint, the employee may 
proceed directly to Level 3.]the division director or the director's 
designee; 
 Level 3; [If the grievance is not resolved at Level 2, the 
employee may advance their grievance to the department head, 
executive director, or commissioner (or director's designee) at Level 
3.]the agency director or the director's designee; and 
 Level 4; [If the grievance is not resolved at Level 3, the 
employee may advance their grievance to the CSRO at Level 4.  ]the 
office. 
 Except as provided in these rules, an employee shall file a 
grievance at the lowest level that has not already issued a decision, 
taken action, or declined to address the subject of the grievance.  An 
employee may not file a grievance that asks the same manager or a 
lower-level manager to reconsider a previously made decision. 

 If a supervisor or division director is a subject of a 
grievance or complaint, the employee may proceed directly to Level 
2 or 3, respectively. 
 For grievances filed under Subsections 67-19a-202(1) and 
67-19a-202(2), the CSRO provides an evidentiary de novo hearing, 
conducted before a CSRO hearing officer.  When the CSRO receives 
a request for administrative review of an abusive conduct 
investigation filed under Subsection 67-19a-202(3), no evidentiary 
hearing is required. 
 [The purpose of the levels is to curtail employees from 
having to submit their grievances to persons not specified in the 
above steps or levels. Only the above-listed persons (or their 
designated representatives) in agency management are authorized to 
respond to state employees' grievances.  ]Grievances by a reporting 
employee alleging retaliatory action filed under Subsection 67-19a-
202(2) and requests for the CSRO to review the findings of an 
abusive conduct investigation filed under Subsection 67-19a-202(3) 
are not subject to Levels 1-3 and may be filed directly with the 
CSRO. 
 
KEY:  grievance procedures, reconsiderations 
Date of Last Change:  2022[November 7, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 11, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34A-5-106; 
67-19-16; 67-19-30; 67-19-31; 67-19-32; 67-19a et seq.; 63G-4 et 
seq. 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R380-10 Filing ID 
54590 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Martha Hughes Cannon Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 141000 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1000 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Sonia Sweeney 801-

538-
8241 

ssweeney@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R380-10.  Informal Adjudicative Proceedings 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
With the consolidation of the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department), the Department is working 
to align the administrative hearing procedures.  This repeal 
is to ensure the administrative hearing procedures are 
established and consolidated for the Department of Health 
and Human Services.  With language changes in the 
amendment to Rule R497-100, filed consecutively with this 
repeal, this rule is no longer necessary.  (EDITOR'S 
NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule R497-100 is 
under ID 54592 in this issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This repeal, along with the amendment to Rules R497-
100, filed consecutively with this repeal, align and 
consolidate the administrative hearing procedures for the 
Department of Health and Human Services.  This rule is 
repealed entirely. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
It is not anticipated that the repeal of this rule will result in 
a fiscal impact to the state budget.  The purpose of this 
repeal is to align and consolidate the administrative 
hearing procedures for the newly consolidated 
Department. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal of this rule will not result in a fiscal impact to 
local governments because this filing does not repeal 
requirements for local agencies. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal of this rule will not result in a fiscal impact to 
small businesses because this filing does not repeal 
requirements for small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal of this rule will not result in a fiscal impact to 
non-small businesses because this filing does not repeal 
requirements for non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal of rule will not result in a fiscal impact to 
persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because 
this repeal does not impact requirements for persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this repeal. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-7   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 05/02/2022 

 
R380.  Health, Administration. 
[R380-10.  Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
R380-10-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 This rule sets forth informal adjudicative procedures for the 
Department of Health and committees created within the Department 
under Section 26-1-7.  Utah Code Sections 26-1-5, 26-1-17, and 26-
1-24, and Title 63G, Chapter 4 authorize it. 
 
R380-10-2.  Definitions. 
 For purposes of this rule, the definitions in Section 63G-4-
103 of the Utah Administrative Procedures Act apply, in addition: 
 (1)  "Agency" means the Department of Health bureau, 
office, or division that most closely administers the program under 
which the agency action is taken or which is responsible to administer 
the program that deals with the request for agency action. 

 (2) "Agency action" means an agency determination after 
conducting adjudicative proceedings by agency staff of the legal 
rights, duties, privileges, immunities, or other legal interests of one 
or more identifiable persons, including all determinations to grant, 
deny, revoke, suspend, modify, annul, withdraw, or amend an 
authority, right, or license, all as limited by Subsection 63G-4-102(2). 
 (3) "Initial agency determination" means a decision without 
conducting adjudicative proceedings by agency staff of the legal 
rights, duties, privileges, immunities, or other legal interests of one 
or more identifiable persons, including all determinations to grant, 
deny, revoke, suspend, modify, annul, withdraw, or amend an 
authority, right, or license, all as limited by Subsection 63G-4-102(2). 
 (4)  "Notice of agency action" means the formal notice that 
meets the requirements of Subsection 63G-4-201(2) which an agency 
or policy making committee issues to commence an adjudicative 
proceeding. 
 (5)  "Presiding officer" means the individual designated by 
the Department or by a policy making committee in accordance with 
R380-10-5 or by statute to conduct an adjudicative proceeding. 
 (6)  "Policy making committee" means a committee that is 
created under Section 26-1-7 and to which a statute delegates 
authority to make rules. 
 (7)  "Request for agency action" means the formal written 
request that meets the requirements of Subsection 63G-4-201(3) and 
that clearly expresses a request that the agency commence 
adjudicative proceedings. 
 
R380-10-3.  Form of Proceeding and Applicability. 
 (1)  The Department of Health prefers to resolve disputes 
at the lowest level.  This rule does not foreclose simple resolution 
through discussion and negotiation between an agency and any 
person affected by an agency action. 
 (2)  Except as provided in this rule or as otherwise 
designated by rule or statute or converted pursuant to Subsection 
63G-4-202(3), all Department of Health adjudicative proceedings are 
informal proceedings. 
 (3)  Unless otherwise designated by rule or statute or 
converted pursuant to Subsection 63G-4-202(3), all adjudicative 
proceedings before any policy making committee and all appeals to 
the Executive Director are designated as formal proceedings. 
 (4)  The provisions of this rule do not govern actions or 
proceedings which a federal statute or regulation requires to be 
conducted solely in accordance with federal procedures.  If federal 
statute or regulation requires a modification to these procedures, the 
federal procedures prevail. 
 (5)  To the extent that this rule conflicts with a similar rule 
adopted by an agency within the Department that governs 
adjudicative proceedings, the conflicting provisions of the other rule 
govern. 
 
R380-10-4.  Adjudicative Authority. 
 (1)  An agency's or policy making committee's authority to 
decide an adjudicative matter is limited to the specific subject matter 
of the program that it administers. 
 (2)  If an adjudicative matter is not solely within the 
program administration of a single agency or policy making 
committee, the executive director may appoint a presiding officer for 
the matter. 
 (3)  A committee that is not a policy making committee has 
no adjudicative authority, except as it may be designated to serve as 
a presiding officer or to otherwise render a recommended decision. 
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R380-10-5.  Presiding Officer. 
 The agency head shall serve as the presiding officer for all 
informal proceedings, except that the agency head may designate a 
presiding officer as approved by the executive director.  A policy 
making committee may designate as a presiding officer: 
 (1) an individual from the committee; 
 (2) an individual from Department staff as approved by the 
executive director; 
 (3) some other qualified and experienced person approved 
by the executive director. 
 
R380-10-6.  Commencement of Proceedings, Response. 
 (1)  If a person is aggrieved by an initial agency 
determination, he may file with the agency a request for agency 
action within the shorter of 30 calendar days of either receiving the 
initial agency determination or the agency's mailing of the initial 
agency determination. 
 (2)  If the informal adjudicative proceeding is commenced 
by a notice of agency action, all parties in the action, except the 
agency or policy making committee that initiates the agency action, 
shall file an answer or other pleading responsive to the allegations 
contained in the notice of agency action. 
 (3)  If the informal adjudicative proceeding is commenced 
by a request for agency action, the agency or policy making 
committee that performed the agency action need not file an answer 
or other responsive pleading.  However, the particular agency or 
policy making committee must consider the request and grant or deny 
it or set the request for further proceedings as required by Section 
63G-4-201(d). 
 
R380-10-7.  Adjudicative Hearings. 
 (1)  The agency or policy making committee before which 
the matter resides shall hold a hearing if: 
 (a)  a statute or other rule requires it; or 
 (b)  another rule permits it and a party requests it with the 
request for agency action or within 25 calendar days of the mailing 
of the notice of agency action, or within 25 days of notice of the 
agency's setting a matter for informal adjudicative proceedings, or 
within another period as prescribed by rule. 
 (2)  If any party requests a hearing and if there is a disputed 
issue of fact, the presiding officer shall conduct an evidentiary 
hearing.  In any evidentiary hearing, the parties named in the notice 
of agency action or in the request for agency action may testify, 
present evidence, and comment on the issues.  If there is no disputed 
issue of fact, the presiding officer may determine all issues in the 
adjudicative proceeding based on oral or written argument. 
 (3)  Hearings may be held only after timely notice to all 
parties. 
 (4) All hearings are open to all parties, but the hearing 
officer may take appropriate measures to preserve the integrity of the 
hearing, exclude witnesses if requested by a party, and protect the 
confidentiality of records or other information protected by law. 
 (5)  Discovery is prohibited, but the agency may issue 
subpoenas or other orders to compel production of necessary 
evidence. 
 (6)  All parties may access information contained in the 
agency's files and all materials and information gathered in any 
investigation, to the extent permitted by law. 
 (7)  Intervention is prohibited, except that the agency may 
enact rules permitting intervention where a federal statute or 
regulation requires that a state permit intervention. 

 (8)  All parties to the proceedings are responsible to assure 
the appearance of witnesses and for the costs of appearance of 
witnesses. 
 (9)  Within a reasonable time after the close of the hearing, 
the presiding officer shall issue a signed order in writing that states 
the following: 
 (a)  the decision; 
 (b)  the reasons for the decision; 
 (c)  a notice of any right of administrative or judicial review 
available to the parties; and 
 (d)  the time limits for filing an appeal or requesting a 
review. 
 (10)  The presiding officer's order shall be based on the 
facts appearing in the agency's files and on the facts presented in 
evidence at the hearings. 
 (11)  The agency shall promptly mail a copy of the 
presiding officer's order to each party.  (12)  All hearings shall be tape 
recorded or recorded by a shorthand reporter at the agency's expense. 
 (a)  If all parties agree, the hearing may be recorded by a 
certified shorthand reporter at the requesting party's expense.  The 
certified short hand reporter's transcript is the official transcript of the 
hearing and is the property of the agency. 
 (b)  Any party, at its own expense, may have a reporter who 
is approved by the agency prepare a transcript from the agency's 
record of the hearing; however, the agency's or policy making 
committee's record of the hearing is the official record of the hearing. 
 
R380-10-8.  Presiding Officer's Decision. 
 In all instances where an agency head has designated a 
person to serve as presiding officer in an adjudicative proceeding, the 
presiding officer's decision is a recommended decision to the agency 
head and the agency head may accept, reverse, or modify the 
presiding officer's order and may remand the order to the presiding 
officer for further proceedings.  If the agency head reverses or 
modifies the presiding officer's order, the agency head's order shall 
contain revised findings of fact and conclusions of law as needed, 
based on the record before the presiding officer and as may be 
supplemented before the agency head. 
 
R380-10-9.  Agency Review. 
 Any party may seek review of an agency action by filing a 
written request as provided in Section 63G-4-301. For decisions that 
are appealable to a policy making committee, the party must file the 
request with the agency that administers the program that deals with 
the matter.  For all other appeals, the party must file the request with 
the Executive Director. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, health administration 
Date of Last Change:  1993 
Notice of Continuation:  April 7, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-
1-17; 26-1-24; 63G-4] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R382-1 Filing ID 
54587 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Children's Health Insurance Program 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R382-1.  Benefits and Administration 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this change is to update and clarify this rule 
text as needed. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment updates and clarifies terms and entities 
in the text.  It also makes other technical changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no impact to the state budget as there are only 
minor changes and technical updates. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no impact on local governments as they neither 
fund nor provide benefits under the Children's Health 
Insurance Program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no impact on small businesses as there are only 
minor changes and technical updates. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no impact on non-small businesses as there are 
only minor changes and technical updates. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no impact to other persons or entities as there are 
only minor changes and technical updates. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs to a single person or entity 
as there are only minor changes and technical updates. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Businesses will see no fiscal impact with these minor 
changes and technical updates.  Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 
 
6.  A) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-40-103  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 04/29/2022 

 
R382.  Health, Children's Health Insurance Program. 
R382-1.  Benefits and Administration. 
R382-1-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 This rule implements the Children's Health Insurance 
Program under Title XXI of the Social Security Act, as adopted in the 
state under Title 26, Chapter 40, Utah Children's Health Insurance 
Act.  It is authorized by Section 26-40-103. 
 
R382-1-2.  Definitions. 
 The definitions found in Title 26, Chapter 40, Utah 
Children's Health Insurance Act apply to this rule.  [In addition,]The 
following definitions also apply. 

 (1)  "Applicant" means a child under [the age of ]19 years 
of age on whose behalf an application has been made for benefits 
under the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), but who is 
not an enrollee. 
 (2)  "CHIP" means the Children's Health Insurance 
Program. 
 (3)  "CHIP Beneficiary" means a child under 19 years of 
age who is determined eligible for the Children's Health Insurance 
Program. 
 ([2]4)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. 
[ (3)  "Enrollee" means a child under the age of 19 who has 
applied for and has been found eligible for benefits under CHIP.] 
 
R382-1-3.  Nature of Program and Benefits. 
 (1)  CHIP provides reimbursement to medical providers for 
the services they [render]give to a child who meets the eligibility and 
application requirements of Rule R382-10.  CHIP provides limited 
benefits as described in this rule.  The Department provides 
reimbursement coverage under the program only for benefits and 
levels of coverage for each program benefit: 
 (a)  as provided in rule governing CHIP; and 
 (b)  as described and limited in Section 6.2 of the State Plan 
for the Children's Health Insurance Program, April 17. 2009 ed., 
which is adopted and incorporated by reference. 
 (2)  CHIP is not health insurance.  A relationship with the 
Department as the insurer and the [enrollee]beneficiary as the insured 
does not exist under this program. 
 
R382-1-4.  Limitation of Abortion Benefits. 
 The Department may only cover abortion in accordance 
with [the provisions of ]42 U.S.C. Sec. 1397ee. 
 
R382-1-5.  Providers. 
 The Department requires a child to enroll in one of the 
managed care organizations (MCO) that contracts with the 
Department under the program. 
 
R382-1-6.  Reimbursement. 
 (1)  The Department shall reimburse only for benefits as 
limited in its contracts with the MCOs. 
 (2)  Payment for services by the contracted MCO and 
[enrollee]the CHIP beneficiary co-payment, if any, constitutes full 
payment for services.  A provider may not bill or collect any 
additional monies for services rendered. 
 
R382-1-7.  Cost Sharing. 
 A provider may require [an enrollee]a CHIP beneficiary to 
pay a co-payment equal to that listed in Section 8 of the State Plan 
for the Children's Health Insurance Program, April 17, 2009 ed., 
which is adopted and incorporated by reference. 
 
R382-1-8.  Agency Conferences, Fair Hearings, and Appeals. 
 (1)  [An]A CHIP applicant or [enrollee]beneficiary may 
request an agency conference in accordance with Section R414-301-
5 at any time to resolve a problem without requesting an agency 
action under the Utah Administrative Procedures Act (UAPA). 
 (2)  The CHIP applicant or [enrollee]beneficiary, parent, 
legal guardian, or authorized representative may request an agency 
action, also called a fair hearing, if [he]the individual disagrees with 
an agency decision regarding the individual's eligibility.  The request 
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for a fair hearing must be in accordance with [the provisions and time 
limits of ]Section R414-301-[6]7. 
 (3)  The Department of Workforce Services [(DWS) ]shall 
conduct fair hearings on eligibility in accordance with [the provisions 
of ]Section R414-301-[6]7. 
 (4)  If [an enrollee]a CHIP beneficiary disagrees with a 
decision of the MCO regarding a covered benefit or service, [the 
enrollee]the beneficiary may appeal the decision through the MCO. 
 (a)  [An enrollee ]A CHIP beneficiary must exhaust 
grievance remedies with the MCO before [he]the beneficiary 
requests an agency action from the Department. 
 (b)  The [enrollee]CHIP beneficiary may file an appeal with 
the Department if the [enrollee]beneficiary disagrees with the MCO's 
resolution.  The [enrollee]beneficiary must file the appeal within 60 
days of the date that the MCO sends the resolution notice. 
 (c)  The Department shall conduct a review of the MCO's 
decision in accordance with [the provisions of ]42 CFR 438.408 and 
issue a final decision to the [enrollee]CHIP beneficiary and the MCO. 
 (d)  The Department shall conduct all appeals in accordance 
with UAPA. 
 (e)  The [enrollee]CHIP beneficiary may continue to 
receive benefits if the [enrollee]beneficiary meets the conditions of 
42 CFR 438.420. 
 
KEY:  children's health benefits, fair hearings 
Date of Last Change:  2022[June 16, 2011] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 11, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-
40-103 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R382-2 Filing ID 
54588 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Children's Health Insurance Program 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R382-2.  Electronic Personal Medical Records for the 
Children's Health Insurance Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this change is to update and clarify this rule 
text as needed. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment updates and clarifies terms and entities 
in the text.  It also makes other technical changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no impact to the state budget as there are only 
minor changes and technical updates. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no impact on local governments as they neither 
fund nor provide benefits under the Children's Health 
Insurance Program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no impact on small businesses as there are only 
minor changes and technical updates. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no impact on non-small businesses as there are 
only minor changes and technical updates. 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no impact to other persons or entities as there are 
only minor changes and technical updates. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs to a single person or entity 
as there are only minor changes and technical updates. 
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G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Businesses will see no fiscal impact with these minor 
changes and technical updates.  Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 
 
6.  A) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-40-103  

Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 04/29/2022 

 
R382.  Health, Children's Health Insurance Program. 
R382-2.  Electronic Personal Medical Records for the Children's 
Health Insurance Program. 
R382-2-1.  Introduction and Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated under authority granted in Section 
26-40-103, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2012, Chapters 28 and 
369. 
 
R382-2-2.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes requirements for enrolling Children's 
Health Insurance Program (CHIP) beneficiaries in the electronic 
exchange of clinical health information unless the beneficiary or the 
beneficiary's parent or legal guardian opts the beneficiary out. 
 
R382-2-3.  Definitions. 
 These definitions apply to Rule R382-2: 
 (1)  "Technical [S]specifications" means the technical 
specifications document published by the Utah Health Information 
Network (UHIN) that describes the variables and formats of the data 
to be submitted as well as submission directions and guidelines. 
 (2)  "Program website" means the website for the 
Department of Health and Human Services Division of Integrated 
Healthcare, and the website for CHIP.["Program Website" means the 
Department of Health, Department of Workforce Services, Division 
of Medicaid and Health Financing, and the CHIP websites.] 
 
R382-2-4.  Enrollment Notification. 
 (1)  [Prior to]Before the enrollment process in the Clinical 
Health Information Exchange ([c]CHIE), the Department [will 
]provides [N]notice of [I]intent to enroll a CHIP 
beneficiary[beneficiaries] in [c]CHIE and includes the right of a 
beneficiary[beneficiaries] to opt out. 
 (2)  The Department [will ]provides additional education 
regarding the beneficiary's right to opt out on the program websites. 
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R382-2-5.  Enrollment Process. 
 (1)  The Department [will ]provides [c]CHIE an enrollment 
file of [all ]CHIP beneficiaries. 
 (2)  The enrollment file [will ]contains the succeeding 
month's CHIP enrollment. 
 (3)  [c]CHIE [will ]enrolls a CHIP beneficiary 
[beneficiaries] on the first day of the succeeding month. 
 (4)  [Submission procedures and guidelines, including 
required data elements, will be described in detail in the technical 
specifications published by UHIN and will be included in the 
Department's Operating Agreement with cHIE.]Technical 
specifications published by UHIN and the Department's operating 
agreement with CHIE describe detailed submission procedures and 
guidelines, including required data elements. 
 (5)  The Department [will ]uses a secure format to transfer 
any enrollment files to [c]CHIE. 
 
R382-2-6.  Exemptions. 
 (1)  An individual's previous consent status in [c]CHIE 
[will be ]is honored by [c]CHIE and [will ]is not [be ]overridden by 
the CHIP enrollment file. 
 
KEY:  CHIP, [c]CHIE 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 1, 2012] 
Notice of Continuation:  July 31, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-
40-103 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R382-3 Filing ID 
54589 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Children's Health Insurance Program 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R382-3.  Accountable Care Organization Incentives to 
Appropriately Use Emergency Room Services in the 
Children's Health Insurance Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this change is to update and clarify this rule 
text as needed. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment updates and clarifies terms within the 
text.  It also makes other technical changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no impact to the state budget as there are only 
minor changes and technical updates. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no impact on local governments as they neither 
fund nor provide benefits under the Children's Health 
Insurance Program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no impact on small businesses as there are only 
minor changes and technical updates. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no impact on non-small businesses as there are 
only minor changes and technical updates. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no impact to other persons or entities as there are 
only minor changes and technical updates. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs to a single person or entity 
as there are only minor changes and technical updates. 
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G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Businesses will see no fiscal impact with these minor 
changes and technical updates.  Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 
 
6.  A) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-40-103  

Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 04/29/2022 

 
R382.  Health, Children's Health Insurance Program. 
R382-3.  [Accountable]Managed Care Organization Incentives to 
Appropriately Use Emergency Room Services in the Children's 
Health Insurance Program. 
R382-3-1.  Introduction and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule is established under the authority of Section 
26-40-103. 
 (2)  [The purpose of t]This rule [is to ]establishes 
provisions governing [Accountable Care Organization 
(ACO)]managed care organization (MCO) performance measures for 
the reduction of non-emergent use of emergency departments by 
beneficiaries in the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). 
 
R382-3-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "CHIP Beneficiary" means a child under [the age of ]19 
years of age who is determined eligible for the Children's Health 
Insurance Program under Title XXI of the Social Security Act as 
adopted in the state under Title 26, Chapter 40, Utah Children's 
Health Insurance Act. 
 (2)  "Non-emergent medical condition" means a medical 
condition that does not meet the criteria of an emergency medical 
condition under 42 U.S.C. 1395dd (e) of the Emergency Medical 
Treatment and Active Labor Act. 
 (3)  "Non-emergent medical care" means[:] medical care 
provided in an emergency room for the treatment of a non-emergent 
medical condition. 
[ (a)  Medical care provided in an emergency room for the 
treatment of a non-emergent medical condition.] 
 (4)  "Non-emergent medical care" does not mean: 
 (a)  [M]medical services necessary to conduct a medical 
screening examination to determine if the CHIP beneficiary has an 
emergent or non-emergent medical condition; [and]nor 
 (b)  [M]medical care provided to a CHIP beneficiary who[, 
using a prudent layperson standard, reasonably believes he] is 
experiencing an "emergency medical condition" as defined by 42 
U.S.C. 1395dd(e) of the Emergency Medical Treatment and Active 
Labor Act. 
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R382-3-3.  Performance Measures. 
 (1)  An [ACO]MCO that contracts with the Department to 
provide services to CHIP beneficiaries shall report the following 
information to the Department in accordance with the terms of its 
contract: 
 (a)  [E]emergency room visits with low acuity CPT codes 
99281or 99282; 
 (b)  [A]actions the [ACO]MCO takes to expand primary 
care and urgent care for CHIP beneficiaries who are enrolled in the 
[Accountable]managed [C]care [P]plan; 
 (c)  [A]actions the [ACO]MCO takes to implement 
emergency room diversion plans that include[: 
 (i)  W] weekday, evening, and weekend access to primary 
care providers and community health centers for CHIP beneficiaries; 
[and 
 (ii)  O]other innovations for expanding access to primary 
care[.]; and 
 (d)  [O]other quality of care for CHIP beneficiaries who are 
enrolled in an [ACO]MCO as required by the Department. 
 
KEY:  children's health benefits 
Date of Last Change:  2022[January 13, 2014] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 14, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-
40-103; 26-18-408 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R414-1 Filing ID 
54586 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R414-1.  Utah Medicaid Program 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this change is to update and clarify this rule 
text as needed to coincide with the merger of the 
Department of Health and the Department of Human 
Services. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment updates and clarifies terms and entities 
within the text, and makes other technical changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no impact to the state budget as there are only 
minor changes and technical updates. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no impact on local governments as they neither 
fund nor provide benefits under the Medicaid program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no impact on small businesses as there are only 
minor changes and technical updates. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no impact on non-small businesses as there are 
only minor changes and technical updates. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no impact to other persons or entities as there are 
only minor changes and technical updates. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs to a single person or entity 
as there are only minor changes and technical updates. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
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Businesses will see no fiscal impact with these minor 
changes and technical updates to coincide with the 
Department merger.  Nate Checketts, Executive Director 
  
6.  A) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-18-3  

 

Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 04/29/2022 

 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-1.  Utah Medicaid Program. 
R414-1-2.  Definitions. 
 The following definitions are used throughout the rules of 
the Division: 
 (1)  "Act" means the federal Social Security Act. 
 (2)  "Applicant" means any person who requests assistance 
under the medical programs available through the Division. 
 (3)  "Categorically needy" means an aged, blind or disabled 
individual[s] or family[families] or[and] child[children]: 
 (a)  who is[are] otherwise eligible for Medicaid; and 
 (i)  who meets the financial eligibility requirements for Aid 
to Families with Dependent Children[AFDC] as in effect in the Utah 
Medicaid State Plan on July 16, 1996; or 
 (ii)  who meets the financial eligibility requirements for 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or an optional State supplement, 
or is[are] considered under [s]Section 1619(b) of the federal Social 
Security Act to be an SSI recipient[s]; or 
 (iii)  who is a pregnant woman whose household income 
does not exceed 133% of the federal poverty guideline; or 
 (iv)  is under age six and whose household income does not 
exceed 133% of the federal poverty guideline; or 
 (v)  who is a child under age one born to a woman who was 
receiving Medicaid on the date of the child's birth and the child 
remains with the mother; or 
 (vi)  who is at least six years of age, [six ]but not yet 18 
years of age[ 18], or is at least six years of age[ six], but not yet 19 
years of age [19 ]and was born after September 30, 1983, and whose 
household income does not exceed 100% of the federal poverty 
guideline; or 
 (vii)  who is aged or disabled and whose household income 
does not exceed 100% of the federal poverty guideline; or 
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 (viii)  who is a child for whom an adoption assistance 
agreement with the state is in effect. 
 (b)  whose categorical eligibility is protected by statute. 
 (4)  "Code of Federal Regulations" (CFR) means the 
publication by the Office of the Federal Register, specifically Title 
42, used to govern the administration of the Medicaid Program. 
 (5)  "[Client]Member" means a person the Division or its 
[duly ]constituted agent has determined to be eligible for assistance 
under the Medicaid program. 
 (6)  "CMS" means The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services, a [F]federal agency within the United States (U.S.) 
Department of Health and Human Services.  Programs for which 
CMS is responsible include Medicare, Medicaid, and the [State 
]Children's Health Insurance Program. 
 (7)  "Department" means the Department of Health and 
Human Services (DHHS)[Department of Health]. 
 (8)  "Director" means the director of the Division. 
 (9)  "Division" means the Division of Integrated Healthcare 
within the Department[Division of Health Care Financing within the 
Department]. 
 (10)  "Emergency medical condition" means a medical 
condition showing acute symptoms of sufficient severity that the 
absence of immediate medical attention could reasonably be 
expected to result in: 
 (a)  placing the patient's health in serious jeopardy; 
 (b)  serious impairment to bodily functions; 
 (c)  serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part; or 
 (d)  death. 
 (11)  "Emergency service" means immediate medical 
attention and service performed to treat an emergency medical 
condition.  Immediate medical attention is treatment [rendered]given 
within 24 hours of the onset of symptoms or within 24 hours of 
diagnosis. 
 (12)  "Emergency Services Only Program" means a health 
program designed to cover a specific range of emergency services. 
 (13)  "Executive Director" means the executive director of 
the Department. 
 (14)  "InterQual" means the McKesson Criteria for 
Inpatient Reviews, a comprehensive, clinically based, patient focused 
medical review criteria and system developed by McKesson 
Corporation. 
 (15)  "Medicaid agency" means [the Department of 
Health]DHHS. 
 (16)  "Medical assistance program" or "Medicaid program" 
means the state program for medical assistance for persons who are 
eligible under the state plan adopted pursuant to Title XIX of the 
federal Social Security Act; as implemented by Title 26, Chapter 18, 
Medical Assistance Act. 
 (17)  "Medical or hospital assistance" means the service[s] 
furnished or a payment[s] made to or on behalf of a recipient[s] under 
medical programs available through the Division. 
 (18)  "Medically necessary service" means that: 
 (a)  it is reasonably calculated to prevent, diagnose, or cure 
conditions in the recipient that endanger life, cause suffering or pain, 
cause physical deformity or malfunction, or threaten to cause a 
handicap; and 
 (b)  there is no other equally effective course of treatment 
available or suitable for the recipient requesting the service that is 
more conservative or substantially less costly. 
 (19)  "Medically needy" means an aged, blind, or disabled 
individual[s] or family[ies] or[and] child[ren] who is[are] otherwise 
eligible for Medicaid, who is[are] not categorically needy, and whose 

income and resources are within limits set under the Medicaid State 
Plan. 
 (20)  "Medical standards," as applied in this rule, means 
that an individual may receive reasonable and necessary medical 
services up until the time a physician makes an official determination 
of death. 
 (21)  "Prior authorization" means the required approval for 
provision of a service that the provider must obtain from the 
Department before providing the service.  Details for obtaining prior 
authorization are found in Section I of the Utah Medicaid Provider 
Manual. 
 (22)  "Provider" means any person, individual or 
corporation, institution or organization that provides medical, 
behavioral or dental care services under the Medicaid program and 
who has entered into a written contract with the Medicaid program. 
 (23)  "Recipient" means a person who has received medical 
or hospital assistance under the Medicaid program, or has had a 
premium paid to a managed care entity. 
 (24)  "Undocumented alien" means an alien who is not 
recognized by Immigration and Naturalization Services as being 
lawfully present in the United States. 
 (25)  "Utilization review" means the Department provides 
for review and evaluation of the utilization of inpatient Medicaid 
services provided in acute care general hospitals to patients entitled 
to benefits under the Medicaid plan. 
 (26)  "Utilization Control" means the Department [has 
]implements[ed] a statewide program of surveillance and utilization 
control that safeguards against unnecessary or inappropriate use of 
Medicaid services, safeguards against excess payments, and assesses 
the quality of services available under the plan.  The program meets 
the requirements of 42 CFR, Part 456. 
 
R414-1-3.  Single State Agency. 
 [The Utah Department of Health]DHHS is the [S]single 
[S]state [A]agency designated to administer or supervise the 
administration of the Medicaid program under Title XIX of the 
federal Social Security Act. 
 
R414-1-4.  Medical Assistance Unit. 
 Within the [Utah Department of Health]DHHS, the 
Division of Integrated Healthcare[Division of Health Care 
Financing] has been designated as the medical assistance unit. 
 
R414-1-11.  Administrative Hearings. 
 The Department has a system of administrative hearings for 
any medical provider,[s and] dissatisfied applicant,[s, clients, and 
recipients] or member that meets all the requirements of 42 CFR[,] 
Part 431, Subpart E. 
R414-1-13.  Provider and [Client]Member Agreements. 
 (1)  To meet the requirements of 42 CFR 431.107, the 
Department contracts with each provider who furnishes services 
under the Utah Medicaid Program. 
 (2)  By signing a provider agreement with the Department, 
the provider agrees to follow the terms incorporated into the provider 
agreements, including policies and procedures, provider manuals, 
Medicaid Information Bulletins, and provider letters. 
 (3)  By signing an application for Medicaid coverage, the 
[client]member agrees that the Department's obligation to reimburse 
for services is governed by contract between the Department and the 
provider. 
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R414-1-16.  Confidentiality. 
 [State statute, ]Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records 
Access and Management Act and Section 26-1-17.5[,] impose legal 
sanctions and provide safeguards that restrict the use or disclosure of 
information concerning an applicant[s], a [clients]member, and a 
recipient[s] to purposes directly connected with the administration of 
the plan. 
 All other requirements of 42 CFR Part 431, Subpart F are 
met. 
 
R414-1-17.  Eligibility Determinations. 
 The determination[Determinations of eligibility for] of 
Medicaid eligibility [under the plan are]is made by the Department 
and[Division of Health Care Financing,] the [Utah ]Department of 
Workforce Services[, and the Utah Department of Human Services].  
There is a written agreement [among]between the [Utah ]Department 
[of Health,]and the [Utah ]Department of Workforce Services[, and 
the Utah Department of Human Services].  The agreement defines 
the relationships and respective responsibilities of the agencies. 
 
R414-1-19.  Timeliness in Eligibility Determinations. 
 The Medicaid agency shall adhere to [all]the timeliness 
requirements [of]found in 42 CFR 435.911, for processing 
applications, determining eligibility, and approving Medicaid 
requests.  If these requirements are not completed within the defined 
time limits, [clients]members may notify the Division.[Division of 
Health Care Financing at 288 North, 1460 West, Salt Lake City, UT 
84114-2906]. 
 
R414-1-26.  General Rule Format. 
 The following format is used generally throughout the rules 
of the Division.  Section headings as indicated and the following 
general definitions are for guidance only.  The section headings are 
not part of the rule content itself.  In certain instances, this format 
may not be appropriate and will not be implemented due to the nature 
of the subject matter of a specific rule. 
 (1)  [Introduction and Authority.  ]A concise statement as 
to what Medicaid service is covered by the rule, and a listing of 
specific federal statutes and regulations and state statutes that 
authorize or require the rule. 
 (2)  [Definitions.  ]Definitions that have special meaning to 
the particular rule. 
 (3)  [Client Eligibility.  ]Categories of Medicaid 
[clients]members eligible for the service covered by the rule that 
include [: C]categorically [N]needy members, [or M]medically 
[N]needy members, or both.  Conditions precedent to the 
[client's]member's obtaining coverage such as age limitations or 
otherwise. 
 (4)  Program [A]access [R]requirements[. ] that include 
[C]conditions [precedent ]external to the [client's]member obtaining 
service, such as type of certification needed from attending physician, 
whether available only in an inpatient setting or otherwise. 
 (5)  Service [C]coverage[. ] that [D]details [of ]specific 
services available under the rule, including limitations, such as 
number of procedures in a given period [of time ]or otherwise. 
 (6)  [Prior Authorization.  ]As necessary, a description of 
the procedures for obtaining prior authorization for services available 
under the particular rule.  [However, p]Prior authorization, however, 
[must]may not be used as a substitute for regulatory practice that 
should be in rule. 

 (7)  [Other Sections.  ]As necessary under the particular 
rule, additional sections may be indicated.  Other sections include 
regulatory language that does not fit into Subsections (1) through (5). 
 
R414-1-27.  Determination of Death. 
 (1)  In accordance with [the provisions of ]Section 26-34-
2, the fiduciary responsibility for medically necessary care on behalf 
of the [client]member ceases upon the determination of death. 
 (2)  Reimbursement for the determination of death by 
acceptable medical standards must be in accordance with Medicaid 
coverage and billing policies [that are ]in place on the date the 
physician renders services. 
 
KEY:  Medicaid 
Date of Last Change:  2022[November 15, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 13, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-
18-3; 26-34-2 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R426-8 Filing ID 
54578 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Emergency Medical Services 
Room no.: 2438 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142002 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2002 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Guy Dansie 801-

560-
1544 

gdansie@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R426-8.  Emergency Medical Services Ground Ambulance 
Rates and Charges 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of the change is to reflect fiscal data into a 
new ground ambulance base rate and mileage rate. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Section 26-8a-403 mandates that the Department of Health 
(Department) to set ground ambulance rates.  This is 
performed annually and made effective on the first day of the 
new fiscal year (July 1). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No anticipated costs or saving to the state budget.  The 
amendments do not affect costs or revenues since the state 
does not provide ground ambulance services. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

80 local governments including counties, cities, towns, and 
special service districts provide ground ambulance services 
based licensed issued by the Department. 
 
Anticipated revenues for local governments that provide 
ground ambulance services will have a net increase of 1.4% 
based on a gross rate increase of 5% for base rates and 
mileage rates.  The net revenue increase is based on a 
statewide estimate of allowable billing charges compared to 
actual revenue collections.  Factors that reduce billable 
charges to collected revenues include fixed payer amounts 
for Medicare, Medicaid, and Veterans Administration, non-
payments, negotiated payments, and private insurance 
payments.   Mileage rates are included as part of the 5% 
increase to compensate increased market vehicle costs.  
Financial data is obtained directly from all ground ambulance 
providers.  Local government operated ground ambulance 
patient transports total is estimated at 80,964 based on the 
previous reported calendar year. 
 
Increased rates will require additional costs for local 
governments to the State EMS Medicaid fund of an 
additional estimate of $2 per transport.  80,694 (total 
estimated transports) x $2.00 (EMS Medicaid assessment 
rate increase) = $161,388 (estimated local government 
costs). 
 
Gross revenues for local governments are estimated from 
past annual fiscal reports and billing data.  Gross revenues 
estimate from patient transports is $158,837,214.  
$158,837,214 x 1.4% (net effect of 5% raise in rate) = 
$2,223,721 increase benefits estimate. 
 
Net revenues for local governments are calculated as 
follows:  $2,223,721 (gross revenue increase estimate) - 
$161,388 (Medicaid assessment increase) = $2,062,333 
(net revenue or benefit for local governments). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

One small business operates an ambulance service in Utah 
based on licenses issued by the Department. 
 
Anticipated revenues for small businesses that provide 
ground ambulance services will have a net increase of 1.4% 
based on a gross rate increase of 5%.  The net revenue 
increase is based on a statewide estimate of allowable billing 
charges compared to actual revenue collections.  Factors 
that reduce billable charges to collected revenues include 
fixed payer amounts for Medicare, Medicaid, and Veterans, 
non-payments, negotiated payments, and private insurance 
payments.  Mileage rates are included as part of the 5% 
increase to compensate increased market vehicle costs.  
Financial data is obtained directly from all ground ambulance 
providers.  Small business operated ground ambulance 
patient transports total is estimated at 373 based on the 
previous reported calendar year. 
 
Increased rates will require additional costs for small 
businesses to the State EMS Medicaid fund of an additional 
estimate of $2 per transport.  373 (total estimated transports) 
x $2 (EMS Medicaid assessment rate increase) = $746 
(estimated small business costs). 
 
Gross revenues for small businesses are estimated from 
past annual fiscal reports and billing data.  Gross revenues 
estimate from patient transports is $743,500.  $734,500 x 
1.4% (net effect of 5% raise in rate) = $10,283 increase 
benefit estimate. 
 
Net revenues for small businesses are calculated as follows: 
$10,283 (gross revenue increase estimate) - $746 (Medicaid 
assessment increase) = $9,537 (net revenue or benefit for 
small businesses). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are nine non-small businesses including one for profit 
and eight non-profit provide ground ambulance services 
based licensed issued by the Department. 
 
Anticipated revenues for non-small businesses that provide 
ground ambulance services will have a net increase of 1.4% 
based on a gross rate increase of 5%.  The net revenue 
increase is based on a statewide estimate of allowable billing 
charges compared to actual revenue collections.  Factors 
that reduce billable charges to collected revenues include 
fixed payer amounts for Medicare, Medicaid, and Veterans, 
non-payments, negotiated payments, and private insurance 
payments.  Mileage rates are included as part of the 5% 
increase to compensate increased market vehicle costs.  
Financial data is obtained directly from all ground ambulance 
providers.   Non-small business operated ground ambulance 
patient transports total is estimated at 60,099 based on the 
previous reported calendar year. 
 
Increased rates will require additional costs for non-small 
businesses to the state EMS Medicaid fund of an additional 
estimate of $2 per transport.  60,099 (total estimated 
transports) x $2 (EMS Medicaid assessment rate increase) 
= $120,198 (estimated non-small business costs). 



 

24 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 10 

Gross revenues for non-small businesses are estimated 
from past annual fiscal reports and billing data.  Gross 
revenue estimate from patient transports is $117,416,286.  
$117,416,286 x 1.4% (net effect of 5% raise in rate) = 
$1,643,828 increase benefit estimate. 
 
Net revenues for non-small businesses are calculated as 
follows: $1,643,828 (gross revenue increase estimate) - 
$106,168 (Medicaid assessment increase) = $1,537,660 
(net revenue or benefit for non-small businesses). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Costs will increase proportionately due to ground ambulance 
base rates and mileage rates increases.  Federal payments, 
private insurance payments, and individuals will be required 
to pay the increased costs estimated at $3,609,530. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs remain unchanged. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Fiscal impacts including new revenues for businesses are 
approved.  Nate Checketts, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$3,609,530 $3,609,530 $3,609,530 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$3,609,530 $3,609,530 $3,609,530 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$2,062,333 $2,062,333 $2,062,333 

Small 
Businesses 

$9,537 $9,537 $9,537 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$1,537,660 $1,537,660 $1,537,660 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$3,609,530 $3,609,530 $3,609,530 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
26-8a-403 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 04/29/2022 

 
R426.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Emergency 
Medical Services. 
R426-8.  Emergency Medical Services Ground Ambulance Rates 
and Charges. 
R426-8-100.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is established pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 
8a, Utah Emergency Medical Services System Act. 
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 (2)  This rule establishes maximum ambulance rates and 
charges for Utah licensed ground ambulance providers. 
 
R426-8-200.  Ground Ambulance Transportation Revenues, 
Rates, and Charges. 
 (1)  A licensed ground ambulance provider shall not charge 
more than the rate described pursuant to Subsections R426-8-200(6) 
through (10) 
 (2)  Net income and subsidies for a licensed ground 
ambulance provider shall not exceed [ten percent]10% of gross 
revenue. 
 (3)  A licensed ground ambulance provider may lower a rate 
at their discretion. 
 (4)  A licensed ground ambulance provider shall not charge 
a base rate for transportation to a patient who is not transported. 
 (5)  The Department may adjust each rate annually based 
on financial data received from licensed ground ambulance 
providers. 
 (6)  Ground ambulance base rates for patient transport to a 
hospital or patient receiving facility are as follows: 
 (a)  EMT ground ambulance license level - 
[$951.00]$1,000. per transport; 
 (b)  Advanced EMT ground ambulance license level - 
[$1,256.00]$1,320 per transport; 
 (c)  Advanced EMT ground ambulance license level, who 
[prior to]before June 30, 2016 was licensed as an EMT-IA ground 
licensed ambulance provider - [$1,547.00]$1,625 per transport; 
 (d)  Paramedic ground ambulance license level - 
[$1,838.00]$1,930 per transport; and 
 (e)  Any EMT or AEMT level licensed ground ambulance 
provider with a paramedic on-board - [$1,838.00]$1,930 per 
transport if: 
 (i)  a designated Emergency Medical Service dispatch 
center dispatches a licensed paramedic provider to treat the 
individual; 
 (ii)  the licensed paramedic provider has initiated advanced 
life support; 
 (iii)  [on-line]online medical control directs that a 
paramedic remain with the patient during transport; and 
 (iv)  the licensed ground ambulance provider has a 
reimbursement for paramedic services agreement with a paramedic 
licensed provider for the service provided. 
 (7)  A mileage rate may be charged up to a maximum of 
[$36.90]$38.75 per mile computed from the location of the patient 
upon ambulance arrival to the destination hospital or patient 
receiving facility.  A fuel fluctuation surcharge of $0.25 per mile may 
be added when the diesel fuel price exceeds $5.10 per gallon, or the 
gasoline price exceeds $4.25 per gallon as invoiced. 
 (8)  A surcharge of $1.50 per mile may be assessed if an 
ambulance is required to travel ten or more miles on unpaved roads. 
 (9)  If more than one patient is transported from the location 
of the patients to the same destination hospital or patient receiving 
facility, a charge shall be assessed to each patient as follows: 
 (a)  The transportation base rate; and 
 (b)  the mileage rate divided equally between the total 
number of patients. 
 (10)  A licensed ground ambulance provider may charge 
separately for a round trip if the following conditions apply: 

 (a)  no charge is billed to the patient for at least 30 minutes 
at the hospital or a patient receiving facility at the half-way point of 
the trip; and 
 (b)  no more than $22.05 per quarter hour is charged for 
time over 30 minutes. 
 (11)  A Licensed ground ambulance provider may charge 
for supplies, providing supplies, medications, and administering 
medications on a response if: 
 (a)  supplies are priced fairly and competitively with a 
similar product in the local area; 
 (b)  the individual does not refuse the service; and 
 (c)  the licensed ground ambulance personnel assess or 
treats the individual. 
 (12)  A licensed ground ambulance provider may petition 
the Department for a temporary service-specific surcharge when 
there is a temporary escalation of costs.  The petition shall specify the 
surcharge amount and financial justification.  The Department will 
make a final decision on the proposed surcharge within 30 days of 
receipt of the petition. 
 (13)  A licensed ground ambulance provider shall submit a 
fiscal report in accordance with the instructions, guidelines, and 
review criteria as specified by the Department. 
 (a)  A fiscal report shall be submitted within six months of 
the end of their fiscal year. 
 (b)  The Department shall provide guidance and a template 
for a fiscal report.  Guidance will be posted on the Department's 
website. 
 (c)  The Department shall provide a summary of fiscal 
reports to the EMS Committee [prior to]before adjusting a maximum 
base rate for a licensed ground ambulance provider. 
 (14)  The Department may review a licensed ground 
ambulance provider's fiscal report for compliance.  The Department 
may perform financial audits to ensure compliance to reporting 
requirements. 
 (15)  Each licensed ground ambulance provider shall 
submit a written total number of billed patient transports for each 
calendar year to the Department for calculating Medicaid 
assessments. 
 (a)  A written patient transport number shall be submitted 
within 90 days after the end of the calendar year. 
 (b)  The submission shall include a written justification 
when a patient transport number is not in agreement with patient care 
data submitted to the Department pursuant to Rule R426-7.  A written 
justification shall include a description of each data reporting error, 
and a plan to correct future data submission. 
 (c)  Any submitted patient transport number not in 
agreement with patient care report data may be evaluated, corrected, 
or audited by the Department. 
 
KEY:  emergency medical services, rates 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 24, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-8a 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R428-2 Filing ID 
54579 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Center for Health Data, Health Care 

Statistics 
Room no.: 106 
Building: Cannon 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO 144004 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4004 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carl Letamendi 801-

538-
7052 

cletamendi@utah.gov 

Stephanie 
Saperstein 

801-
538-
6430 

stephaniesaperstein@utah.go
v 

Mike Martin 801-
538-
9205 

mikemartin@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R428-2.  Health Data Authority Standards for Health Data 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This filing clarifies whether data from the Health Data 
Committee (HDC) can be used to contact other persons or 
entities; existing policy is put into rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes make two primary additions to this rule: a 
person receiving data from the HDC may not contact or 
attempt to contact any patient or member included in the 
data; nor may a person receiving data from the HDC 
contact or attempt contact any entity or provider included 
in the data without formal written approval from the HDC.  
These changes reflect efforts by the HDC for more 
transparency to data requesters.  A few grammatical edits 
are made, as well in compliance to the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Utah Department of Health (UDOH) determines 
enactment of the amended version will not create any cost 
or savings impact to the state budget or UDOH's budget, 
since the change will not increase workload, can be carried 
out with existing budget, and has been policy for many 
years. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This filing does not create any direct cost or savings impact 
to local governments since they are not directly affected 
by this rule; nor are local governments indirectly impacted 
because this rule does not create a situation requiring 
services from local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no impact on small businesses because this 
change only clarifies a prior expectation when requesting 
data from the Office of Health Care Statistics (OHCS). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no impact on non-small businesses because this 
change only clarifies a prior expectation when requesting 
data from the OHCS. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There will be no fiscal impact to persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities because this change only clarifies a 
prior expectation when requesting data from the OHCS. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs to affected persons.  The 
proposed addition will clarify a long-standing no-contact 
requirement for recipients of HDC data. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
There is no fiscal impact on business because the 
changes implement existing policy and do not affect any 
current requirements for businesses.  Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 
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6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
26-33a-104 

Section 
26-33a-108 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 04/29/2022 

 
R428.  Health, Center for Health Data, Health Care Statistics. 
R428-2.  Health Data Authority Standards for Health Data. 
R428-2-1.  Legal Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated under authority granted by Title 
26, Chapter 33a, Utah Health Data Authority Act. 
 
R428-2-2.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes definitions, requirements, and general 
guidelines relating to the collection, control, use, and release of data 
pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 33a, Utah Health Data Authority Act. 
 
R428-2-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The terms used in this rule are defined in Section 26-
33a-102. 
 (2)  In addition, the following definitions apply to all of 
Title R428: 
 (a)  "Adjudicated claim" means a claim submitted to a 
carrier for payment where the carrier has made a determination 
whether the services provided fall under the carrier's benefit. 
 (b)  "Ambulatory surgery data" means the consolidation of 
complete billing, medical, and personal information describing a 
patient, the services received, and charges billed for a surgical or 
diagnostic procedure treatment in an outpatient setting into a data 
record. 
 (c)  "Ambulatory surgical facility" is defined in Section 26-
21-2. 
 (d)  "Carrier" means any of the following Third Party 
Payors as defined in Subsection 26-33a-102(16): 
 (i)  an insurer engaged in the business of health care or 
dental insurance in [the state of ]Utah, as defined in Section 31A-1-
301; 
 (ii)  a business under an administrative services 
organization or administrative services contract arrangement; 
 (iii)  a third party administrator, as defined in Section 31A-
1-301, licensed by [the state of ]Utah that collects premiums or settles 
claims of residents of the state, for health care insurance policies or 
health benefit plans, as defined in Section 31A-1-301; 
 (iv)  a governmental plan, as defined in Section 414 (d), 
Internal Revenue Code, that provides health care benefits; 
 (v)  a program funded or administered by Utah for the 
provision of health care services, including Medicaid, the Utah 
Children's Health Insurance Program created under Section 26-40-
103, and the medical assistance programs described in Title 26, 
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Chapter 18, Medical Assistance Act or any entity under a contract 
with the Utah Department of Health to serve clients under such a 
program; 
 (vi)  a non-electing church plan, as described in Section 410 
(d), Internal Revenue Code, that provides health care benefits; 
 (vii)  a licensed professional employer organization as 
defined in Section 31a-40-102 acting as an administrator of a health 
care insurance plan; 
 (viii)  a health benefit plan funded by a self-insurance 
arrangement; 
 (ix)  the Public Employees' Benefit and Insurance Program 
created in Section 49-20-103; 
 (x)  a pharmacy benefit manager, defined to be a person that 
provides pharmacy benefit management services as defined in 
Section 49-20-502 on behalf of any other carrier defined in 
[subs]Section R428-2-3. 
 (e)  "Claim" means a request or demand on a carrier for 
payment of a benefit. 
 (f)  "Covered period" means the calendar year on which the 
data used for calculation of HEDIS measures is based. 
 (g)  "Data element" means the specific information 
collected and recorded for [the purpose of ]health care and health 
service delivery. Data elements include information to identify the 
individual, health care provider, data supplier, service provided, 
charge for service, payer source, medical diagnosis, and medical 
treatment. 
 (h)  "Discharge data" means the consolidation of complete 
billing, medical, and personal information describing a patient, the 
services received, and charges billed for a single inpatient hospital 
stay into a discharge data record. 
 (i)  "Electronic media" means a compact disc, digital video 
disc, external hard drive, or other media where data is stored in digital 
form. 
 (j)  "Electronic transaction" means to submit data directly 
via electronic connection from a hospital or ambulatory surgery 
facility to the Office according to Electronic Data Interchange 
standards established by the American National Standards Institute's 
Accredited Standards Committee, known as the Health Care 
Transaction Set (837) ASC X 12N. 
 (k)  "Eligible Enrollee" means an enrollee who meets the 
criteria outlined in the NCQA survey specifications. 
 (l)  "Emergency Room Data" means the consolidation of 
complete billing, medical, and personal information describing a 
patient, the services received, and charges billed for a single visit and 
treatment of a patient in an emergency room into an emergency room 
data record. 
 (m)  "Enrollee" means any individual who has entered into 
a contract with a carrier for health care or on whose behalf such an 
arrangement has been made. 
 (n)  "Health Insurance" has the same meaning as found in 
Section 31A-1-301. 
 (o)  "Healthcare claims data" means information consisting 
of, or derived directly from, member enrollment, medical claims, and 
pharmacy claims that this rule requires a carrier to report. 
 (p)  "Healthcare Facility" means a hospital or ambulatory 
surgical facility. 
 (q)  "Healthcare Facility Data" means ambulatory surgery 
data, discharge data, or emergency room data. 
 (r)  "HEDIS" means the Healthcare Effectiveness Data and 
Information Set, a set of standardized performance measures 
developed by the NCQA. 

 (s)  "HEDIS data" means the complete set of HEDIS 
measures calculated by the carriers according to NCQA 
specifications, including a set of required measures and voluntary 
measures defined by the department, in consultation with the carriers. 
 (t)  "Hospital" means a general acute hospital or specialty 
hospital as defined in Section 21-21-2 that is licensed under [Rule 
]Title R432. 
 (u)  "Level 1 data element" means a required reportable 
data element. 
 (v)  "Level 2 data element" means a data element that is 
reported when the information is available from the patient's hospital 
record. 
 (w)  "NCQA" means the National Committee for Quality 
Assurance, a not-for-profit organization committed to evaluating and 
reporting on the quality of managed care plans. 
 (x)  "Office" means the Office of Health Care Statistics 
within the Utah Department of Health. 
 (y)  "Order" means an action of the committee that 
determines the legal rights, duties, privileges, immunities, or other 
interests of one or more specific persons, but not a class of persons. 
 (z)  "Patient Social Security number" is the social security 
number of a person receiving health care. 
 (aa)  "Performance Measure" means the quantitative, 
numerical measure of an aspect of the carrier, or its membership in 
part or in its entirety, or qualitative, descriptive information on the 
carrier in its entirety as described in HEDIS. 
 (bb)  "Public Use Data Set" means a data extract or a subset 
of a database that is deemed by the Office to not include identifiable 
data or where the probability of identifying individuals is minimal. 
 (cc)  "Report" means a disclosure of data or information 
collected or produced by the committee or Office, including [but not 
limited to ]a compilation, study, or analysis designed to meet the 
needs of specific audiences. 
 (dd)  "Research and Statistical Purposes" means having the 
objective of creating knowledge or answering questions, including a 
systematic investigation that includes development, testing, and 
evaluation; the description, estimation, projection, or analysis of the 
characteristics of individuals, groups, or organizations; an analysis of 
the relationships between or among these characteristics; the 
identification or creation of sampling frames and the selection of 
samples; the preparation and publication of reports describing these 
matters; and the development, implementation, and maintenance of 
methods, procedures, or resources to support the efficient use or 
management of the data. 
 (ee)  "Research Data Set" means a data extract or subset of 
a database intended for use by [investigators or researchers ]data 
users for bona fide research or statistical purposes that may include 
identifiable information or where there is more than a minimal 
probability that the data could be used to identify individuals. 
 (ff)  "Record linkage number" is an irreversible, unique, 
encrypted number that will replace patient social security number. 
 (gg)  "Sample file" means the data file containing records 
of selected eligible enrollees drawn by the survey agency from the 
carrier's sampling frame. 
 (hh)  "Sampling Frame" means the carrier enrollment file 
as described criteria outlined by the NCQA survey specifications. 
 (ii)  "Submission year" means the year immediately 
following the covered period. 
 (jj)  "Survey agency" means an independent contractor on 
contract with the Office of Health Care Statistics. 
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 (kk)  "Utah Health Care Performance Measurement Plan" 
means the plan for data collection and public reporting of health-
related measures, adopted by the Utah Health Data Committee to 
establish a statewide health performance reporting system. 
 (ll)  "Uniform billing form" means the uniform billing form 
recommended for use by the National Uniform Billing Committee. 
 (mm)  "Utah Healthcare Facility Data Submission Guide" 
means the document referenced in Subsection R428-1-4(1). 
 (nn)  "NCQA Survey Specifications" means the document 
referenced in Subsection R428-1-4(2) 
 (oo)  "NCQA HEDIS Specifications" means the document 
referenced in Subsection R428-1-4(3) 
 (pp)  "Data Submission Guide for Claims Data" means the 
document referenced in Subsection R428-1-4(4). 
 
R428-2-4.  Technical Assistance. 
 The Office may provide technical assistance or 
consultation to a data supplier upon request and resource availability. 
The consultation shall be to enable a data supplier to submit required 
data according to Title R428. 
 
R428-2-5.  Data Classification and Access. 
 (1)  Data collected by the committee are not public, and as 
such are exempt from the classification and release requirements 
specified in Title 63g, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and 
Management Act. 
 (2)  Any person having access to data collected or produced 
by the committee or the Office under Title 26, Chapter 33a, Utah 
Health Data Authority Act shall not: 
 (a)  take any action that might provide information to any 
unauthorized individual or agency; 
 (b)  scan, copy, remove, or review any information to which 
specific authorization has not been granted; 
 (c)  discuss information with unauthorized persons which 
could lead to identification of individuals; or 
 (d)  give access to any information by sharing passwords or 
file access codes. 
 (3)  Any person having access to data collected or produced 
by the committee or the Office under Title 26, Chapter 33a, Utah 
Health Data Authority Act shall: 
 (a)  maintain the data in a safe manner which restricts 
unauthorized access; 
 (b)  limit use of the data to the purposes for which access is 
authorized; and 
 (c)  [report ]immediately report any unauthorized access to 
the Office or its designated security officer. 
 (4)  A failure to report known violations by others is subject 
to the same punishment as a personal violation. 
 (5)  The Office shall deny a person access to the facilities, 
services, and data as a consequence of any violation of the 
responsibilities specified in this section. 
 
R428-2-6.  Editing and Validation. 
 (1)  Each data supplier shall review each required record 
[prior to ]before submission.  The review shall consist of checks for 
accuracy, consistency, completeness, and conformity. 
 (2)  The Office may subject submitted data to edit checks.  
The Office may require the data supplier to correct data failing an 
edit check as follows: 
 (a)  [T]the Office may, by first class U.S. mail or email, 
inform the submitting data supplier of any data failing an edit 
check[.]; and 

 (b)  [T]the submitting data supplier shall make necessary 
corrections and resubmit all corrected data to the Office within 
[10]ten business days of the date the Office notified the supplier. 
 (3)  The Office [or its designee ]may reject any data 
submission that fails to conform to the submission requirements. A 
data supplier whose submission is rejected shall resubmit the data in 
the appropriate, corrected format to the Office or its designee within 
[10]ten state business days of notice that the data does not meet the 
submission requirements. 
 
R428-2-7.  Error Rates. 
 The committee may establish and order reporting quality 
standards based on non-reporting or edit failure rates. 
 
R428-2-8.  Data Disclosure. 
 (1)  The committee may disclose data received from data 
suppliers or data or information derived from this data as specified in 
Title 26, Chapter 33a, Utah Health Data Authority Act. 
 (2)  The Office may prepare reports relating to health care 
cost, quality, access, health promotion programs, or public health. 
These actions may be to meet legislative intent or upon request from 
individuals, government agencies, or private organizations.  The 
Office may create reports in a variety of formats including print or 
electronic documents, searchable databases, web-sites, or other user-
oriented methods for displaying information. 
 (3)  Unless otherwise specified by the committee, the time 
period for data suppliers and health care providers to prepare a 
response as required in Subsections 26-33a-107(1) and 26-33a-
107(3) shall be 15 business days.  If a data supplier fails to respond 
in the specified time frame, the committee may conclude that the 
information is correct and suitable for release. 
 (4)  The committee may note in a report that accurate 
appraisal of a certain category or entity cannot be presented because 
of a failure to comply with the committee's request for data, edit 
corrections, or data validation. 
 (5)  The Office may release to the data supplier or its 
designee any data elements provided by the supplier without 
notification when a data supplier requests the data be so supplied. 
 (6)  The committee may disclose data in computer readable 
formats. 
 (7)  The Director of the Office may approve the disclosure 
of a public use data set upon receipt of a written request that includes 
the following: 
 (a)  [the ]name, address, e[-]mail and telephone number of 
the requesting organization[er]; 
 (b)  a statement of the purpose for which the data will be 
used; and 
 (c)  agreement to other terms and conditions as deemed 
necessary by the Office. 
 (8)  As allowed by Section 26-33a-109, the committee may 
release identified data for research [and]or statistical purposes.  A 
person requesting a research data set must provide: 
 (a)  [the ]name of requesting organization, address, e[-]mail 
and telephone number of the organization[requester] and for each 
person who will have access to the research data set; 
 (b)  [a ]statement of the purpose for which the research data 
set will be used; 
 (c)  [the ]starting and ending dates for which the research 
data set is requested; 
 (d)  [an ]explanation of why a public use data set could not 
be used [for ]to accomplish the stated research purposes, including a 
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separate justification for each element containing identified data 
requested; 
 (e)  evidence of the integrity and ability to safeguard the 
data from any breach of confidentiality; 
 (f)  evidence of competency to effectively use the data in 
the manner proposed; 
 (g)  [a ]satisfactory review from an Office-approved 
institutional review board; 
 (h)  [a ]guarantee that no further disclosure will occur 
without prior approval of the Office; and 
 (i)  a signed agreement to comply with other terms and 
conditions as stipulated by the committee. 
 (9)  A person receiving data from the Health Data 
Committee shall not contact or try to contact any patient or member 
included in the data. 
 (10)  A person receiving data from the Health Data 
Committee shall not contact or try to contact any entity or provider 
included in the data without formal approval by the Committee. 
 
R428-2-9.  Penalties. 
 (1)  The Office may apply civil penalties or subject 
violators to legal prosecution. 
 (2)  Sections 26-23-6 and 26-33a-110 specify civil and 
criminal penalties for failure to comply with the requirements of Title 
R428 or Title 26, Chapter 33a, Utah Health Data Authority Act. 
 (3)  Notwithstanding Subsection R428-2-9(2), any person 
or entity that violates [any provision of ]Title R428 may be assessed 
an administrative civil money penalty not to exceed $3,000 upon an 
administrative finding of a first violation and up to $5,000 for a 
subsequent similar violation within two years.  A person may also be 
subject to penalties imposed by a civil or criminal court, which may 
not exceed $5,000 or a class B misdemeanor for the first violation 
and a class A misdemeanor for any subsequent similar violation 
within two years. 
 (4)  Notwithstanding Subsections R428-2-9(2) and R428-
2-9(3), a data supplier that violates [any provision of ]Title R428 may 
be assessed an administrative civil money penalty for each day of 
non-compliance.  Fines may be imposed as follows: 
 (a)  [N]not to exceed the sum of $10,000 per violation 
 (b)  [E]each day of violation is a separate violation; and 
 (c)  [D]deadlines established in separate sections of Title 
R428 are considered as separate provisions. 
 (5)  The Office may impose a fine on any data supplier that 
misses a deadline to submit data required in Title R428 as follows: 
 (a)  [A ]fine of $250 per violation shall be imposed until the 
data has been supplied as required; 
 (b)  [The ]fines shall increase to $500 per violation for each 
violation when any data supplier that is currently in violation misses 
another deadline; and 
 (c)  [A]after [forty-five ]45 consecutive calendar days of 
violation, the Office may adjust the per day penalty subject to the 
limits in Subsection (4)(a) taking into account the following 
aggravating and mitigating circumstances: 
 (i)  [P]prior violation history and history of compliance; 
 (ii)  [G]good faith efforts to prevent violations; and 
 (iii)  [The ]size and financial capability of the data supplier. 
 
R428-2-10.  Exemptions and Extensions. 
 (1)  The committee may grant exemptions or extensions 
from reporting requirements in Title R428 to data suppliers under 
certain circumstances. 

 (2)  The committee may grant an exemption to a data 
supplier when the supplier demonstrates that compliance imposes an 
unreasonable cost. 
 (a)  A data supplier may request an exemption from any 
particular requirement or set of requirements of Title R428.  The data 
supplier must submit a request for exemption no less than 30 calendar 
days before the date the supplier would have to comply with the 
requirement. 
 (b)  The committee may grant an exemption for a maximum 
of one calendar year.  A data supplier wishing an additional 
exemption must submit an additional, separate request. 
 (3)  The committee may grant an extension to a data 
supplier when the supplier demonstrates that technical or unforeseen 
difficulties prevent compliance. 
 (a)  A data supplier may request an extension for any 
deadline required in Title R428.  For each deadline for which the data 
supplier requests an extension, the data supplier must submit its 
request no less than seven calendar days before the deadline in 
question. 
 (b)  The committee may grant an extension for a maximum 
of 30 calendar days.  A data supplier wishing an additional extension 
must submit an additional, separate request. 
 (4)  The supplier requesting an extension or exemption 
shall include: 
 (a)  [The ]data supplier's name, mailing address, telephone 
number, and contact person; 
 (b)  [the ]dates the exemption or extension is to start and 
end; 
 (c)  [a ]description of the relief sought, including reference 
to specific sections or language of the requirement; 
 (d)  [a ]statement of facts, reasons, or legal authority in 
support of the request; and 
 (e)  [a ]proposed alternative to the requirement or deadline. 
 (5)  A carrier that covers fewer than 2,500 individual Utah 
residents as of January 1 of a given year is exempt from all 
requirements of this title except that once a carrier has covered a 
cumulative total of 2,500 such individuals during a calendar year, 
they are no longer considered exempt for the remainder of that year. 
 (6)  A stand-alone dental carrier that covers fewer than 
20,000 individual Utah residents as of January 1 of a given year is 
exempt from all requirements of this title except that once a stand-
alone dental carrier has covered a cumulative total of 20,000 such 
individuals during a calendar year, they are no longer considered 
exempt for the remainder of that year. 
 
R428-2-11.  Contractor Liability. 
 (1)  A data supplier may contract with another entity to 
submit required data elements on their behalf under Title R428.  In 
such cases, the data supplier must notify the Office of the identity and 
contact information of the contractor. 
 (2)  Regardless of the existence of a contractor, the 
responsibility for complying with all requirements of Title R428 
remains solely with the data supplier. 
 
R428-2-12.  Data Supplier Contacts. 
 (1)  Data suppliers required to submit healthcare claims 
data or healthcare facility data shall provide current contact 
information to the Office by September 1 of each year using a web-
site provided by the Office for this purpose. 
 (2)  Each data supplier newly required to submit healthcare 
claims data or healthcare facility data under this rule, including by a 
change to the rule or because it no longer qualifies for an exemption, 
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shall provide contact information to the Office within 30 days of 
learning that they will be required to submit data under this rule. 
 (3)  Each data supplier shall designate a person who is 
responsible for submitting data and a person who is responsible for 
communicating with the Office regarding the submission of the data. 
Each data supplier shall notify the Office of changes in this 
designation within [thirty ]30 calendar days. 
 
KEY:  health, health policy, health planning 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 19, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 13, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-33a-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-1 Filing ID 
54556 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-1.  Definitions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for several minor changes to 
enhance clarity and to account for legislative actions (H.B. 
104 passed in the 2022 General Session). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This amendment adds clarifying language, corrects 
formatting and grammar, and eliminates content made 
obsolete through legislative action. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
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effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 
63A-17-106 

Section 
63A-17-301 

Section 
63A-17-306 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-1.  Definitions. 
R477-1-1.  Definitions. 
 The following definitions apply to Title R477[-1 through 
R477-101] unless otherwise indicated within the text of each rule. 
 (1)  "Abandonment of Position" means an act of resignation 
resulting when an employee is absent from work for three 
consecutive working days without approval. 
 (2)  "Actual FTE" means the total number of full time 
equivalents based on actual hours paid in the state payroll system. 
 (3)  "Actual Hours Worked" means time spent performing 
duties and responsibilities associated with the employee's job 
assignments. 
 (4)  "Actual Wage" means the employee's assigned wage 
rate in the central personnel record maintained by the Division of 
Human Resource Management. 
 (5)  "ADA" means the Americans With Disabilities Act, 42 
U.S.C. 12102. 
 (6)  "Administrative Leave" means leave with pay granted 
to an employee at management discretion that is not charged against 
the employee's leave accounts. 
 (7)  "Administrative Adjustment" means a DHRM 
approved adjustment to a job or salary range that is not a Market 
Comparability Adjustment, a Structure Adjustment, or a 
Reclassification.  It is for administrative purposes only.  An 
Administrative Adjustment will result in an increase to incumbent 
pay only when necessary to bring salaries to the minimum of the 
salary range. 
 (8)  "Administrative Salary Decrease" means a decrease in 
an employee's current actual wage based on non-disciplinary 
administrative reasons determined by an agency head. 
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 (9)  "Administrative Salary Increase" means an increase in 
an employee's current actual wage based on special circumstances 
determined by an agency head. 
 (10)  "Agency" means an entity of state government that is: 
 (a)  directed by an executive director, elected official or 
commissioner defined in Title 67, Chapter 22, State Officer 
Compensation, or in other sections of the code; 
 (b)  authorized to employ personnel; and 
 (c)  subject to Title 63A, Chapter 17, Utah State Personnel 
Management Act. 
 (11)  "Agency Head" means the executive director or 
commissioner of each agency or a designated appointee. 
 (12)  "Agency Human Resource Field Office" means an 
office of the Division of Human Resource Management located at 
another agency's facility. 
 (13)  ["Agency Management" means the agency head and 
any other officers or employees who have responsibility and 
authority to establish, implement, and manage agency policies and 
programs. 
 (14)  ]"Alternative State Application Program (ASAP)" 
means a program designed to appoint a qualified person with a 
disability through an on the job examination period. 
 (1[5]4)  "Appeal" means a formal request to a higher level 
for reconsideration of a grievance decision. 
 (1[6]5)  "Appointing Authority" means the officer, board, 
commission, person, or group of persons authorized to make 
appointments in their agencies. 
 (1[7]6)  "Break in Service" means a point at which an 
individual has an official separation date and is no longer an 
employee of the State of Utah. 
 (1[8]7)  "Budgeted FTE" means the total number of full 
time equivalents budgeted by the Legislature and approved by the 
Governor. 
 (1[9]8)  "Career Mobility" means a temporary assignment 
of an employee to a different position for professional development 
or to fulfill specific organizational needs. 
 ([20]19)  "Career Service Employee" means an employee 
who has successfully completed a probationary period in a career 
service position. 
 (2[1]0)  "Career Service Exempt Employee" means an 
employee who serves at the pleasure of the appointing authority and 
may be separated from state employment at any time for any reason 
or for no reason. 
 (2[2]1)  "Career Service Exempt Position" means a position 
in state service that is exempt from career service provisions under 
Section 63A-17-301. 
 (2[3]2)  "Career Service Status" means status granted to an 
employee who successfully completes a probationary period 
following appointment to a career service position. 
 (2[4]3)  "Category of Work" means a job series an agency 
head designates as having positions to be eliminated agency wide 
through a reduction in force. Category of work may be further 
reduced as follows: 
 (a)  a unit smaller than the agency upon providing 
justification and rationale for approval, including: 
 (i)  unit number; 
 (ii)  cost centers; 
 (iii)  geographic locations; or 
 (iv)  agency programs. 
 (b)  positions identified by a set of essential functions, 
including: 
 (i)  position analysis data; 

 (ii)  certificates; 
 (iii)  licenses; 
 (iv)  special qualifications; or 
 (v)  degrees that are required or directly related to the 
position. 
 (2[5]4)  "Change of Workload" means a change in position 
responsibilities and duties or a need to eliminate or create particular 
positions in an agency caused by legislative action, financial 
circumstances, or administrative reorganization. 
 (2[6]5)  "Classification Grievance" means the approved 
procedure by which an agency or a career service employee may 
grieve a formal classification decision regarding the classification of 
a position. 
 (2[7]6)  "Classified Service" means positions that are 
subject to the classification and compensation provisions stipulated 
in Section 63A-17-307. 
 (2[8]7)  "Classification Study" means a [C]classification 
review conducted by DHRM under Section R477-3-4.  A study may 
include single or multiple job or position reviews. 
 (2[9]8)  "Compensatory Time" means time off that is 
provided to an employee in lieu of monetary overtime compensation. 
 ([30]29)  "Contractor" means an individual who is 
contracted for service, is not supervised by a state supervisor, but is 
responsible for providing a specified service for a designated fee 
within a specified time.  The contractor shall be responsible for 
paying any taxes and FICA payments, and may not accrue benefits. 
 (3[1]0)  "Critical Incident Drug or Alcohol Test" means a 
drug or alcohol test conducted on an employee as a result of the 
behavior, action, or inaction of an employee that is of such 
seriousness it requires an immediate intervention [on the part of]by 
management. 
 (3[2]1)  "Demotion" means a disciplinary action resulting 
in a reduction of an employee's current actual wage. 
 (3[3]2)  "Position Management Report" means a document 
that lists an agency's authorized positions, incumbent's name and 
hourly rate, job identification number, salary range, and schedule. 
 (3[4]3)  "DHRM" means the Division of Human Resource 
Management. 
 (3[5]4)  "DHRM Approved Recruitment and Selection 
System" means the state's recruitment and selection system, which is 
a centralized and automated computer system administered by the 
Division of Human Resource Management. 
 (3[6]5)  "Direct Supervisor" means an employee's primary 
supervisor who normally directs day to day job activity such as 
assigning work, approving time records, and considering leave 
requests. 
 (3[7]6)  "Disability" has the same definition found in the 
Americans With Disabilities Act [(ADA) ]of 1990, 42 U.S.C. 12101 
(2008); Equal Employment Opportunity Commission regulation, 29 
CFR 1630 (2008); including exclusions and modifications. 
 (3[8]7)  "Disciplinary Action" means action taken by 
management under Rule R477-11. 
 (3[9]8)  "Dismissal" means a separation from state 
employment for cause under Section R477-11-2. 
 ([40]39)  "Dual State Employment" means an employee 
works for more than one agency and meets the employee criteria 
which is located in the Division of Finance accounting policy 11-
18.00. 
 (4[1]0)  "Drug-Free Workplace Act" means a congressional 
act, 41 U.S.C. Section 8101, et seq., requiring a drug-free workplace 
certification by state agencies that receive federal grants or contracts. 
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 (4[2]1)  "Employee Personnel Files" means the files or 
records maintained by DHRM and agencies as required by Section 
R477-2-5 for purposes of Title 67, Chapter 18, Employees' Personnel 
Files and Title 63A, Chapter 17, Utah State Personnel Management 
Act. This does not include employee information maintained by 
supervisors. 
 (4[3]2)  "Employment Eligibility Verification" means a 
requirement of the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, 8 
U.S.C. 1324 that employers verify the identity and eligibility of 
individuals for employment in the United States. 
 (4[4]3)  "Escalator Principle" means returning veterans are 
entitled to return back onto their seniority escalator at the point they 
would have occupied had they not left state employment under the 
Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 
1994, 38 U.S.C. 4301, et seq. (USERRA). 
 (4[5]4)  "Excess Hours" means a category of compensable 
hours separate and apart from compensatory or overtime hours that 
accrue at straight time only when an employee's actual hours worked, 
plus additional hours paid, exceed an employee's normal work 
period. 
 (4[6]5)  "Employee's Family Member" means an 
employee's relative or household member as defined in Section 52-
3-1 but also including, stepsiblings, stepparents, and 
stepchildren[step-siblings, step-parents, and step-children]. 
 (4[7]6)  "Fitness For Duty Evaluation" means evaluation, 
assessment, or study by a licensed professional to determine if an 
individual [is able to]can meet the performance or conduct standards 
required by the position held, or is a direct threat to the safety of self 
or others. 
 (4[8]7)  "FLSA Exempt" means employees who are exempt 
from the overtime and minimum wage provisions of the Fair Labor 
Standards Act. 
 (4[9]8)  "FLSA Non-Exempt" means employees who are 
not exempt from the overtime and minimum wage provisions of the 
Fair Labor Standards Act. 
 ([50]49)  "Follow Up Drug or Alcohol Test" means 
unannounced drug or alcohol tests conducted for up to five years on 
an employee who has previously tested positive or who has 
successfully completed a voluntary or required substance abuse 
treatment program. 
 (5[1]0)  "Furlough" means a temporary leave of absence 
from duty without pay for budgetary reasons or lack of work. 
 (5[2]1)  "GOPB" means Governor's Office of Planning and 
Budget. 
 (5[3]2)  "Grievance" means a career service employee's 
claim or charge of the existence of injustice or oppression, including 
dismissal from employment resulting from an act, occurrence, 
omission, condition, discriminatory practice or unfair employment 
practice not including position classification or schedule assignment, 
or a complaint by a reporting employee as defined in Section 67-19a-
101. 
 (5[4]3)  "Grievance Procedures" means the statutory 
process of grievances and appeals as set forth in Title 67, Chapter 
19a, Grievance Procedures, and the rules promulgated by the Career 
Service Review Office. 
 (5[5]4)  "Gross Compensation" means an employee's total 
earnings, taxable and nontaxable, as shown on the employee's pay 
statement. 
 (5[6]5)  "Highly Sensitive Position" means a position 
approved by DHRM that includes the performance of: 
 (a)  [safety sensitive]safety-sensitive functions: 

 (i)  requiring an employee to operate a commercial motor 
vehicle under 49 CFR 383; 
 (ii)  directly related to law enforcement; 
 (iii)  involving direct access or having control over direct 
access to controlled substances; 
 (iv)  directly impacting the safety or welfare of the general 
public; or 
 (v)  requiring an employee to carry or have access to 
firearms; or 
 (b)  data sensitive functions permitting or requiring an 
employee to access an individual's highly sensitive, personally 
identifiable, private information, including: 
 (i)  financial assets, liabilities, and account information; 
 (ii)  social security numbers; 
 (iii)  wage information; 
 (iv)  medical history; 
 (v)  public assistance benefits; or 
 (vi)  driver license. 
 (5[7]6)  "Hiring List" means a list of qualified and 
interested applicants who are eligible to be considered for 
appointment or conditional appointment to a specific position created 
in the DHRM approved recruitment and selection system. 
 (5[8]7)  "Incompetence" means inadequacy or unsuitability 
in performance of assigned duties and responsibilities. 
 (5[9]8)  "Inefficiency" means wastefulness of government 
resources including time, energy, money, or staff resources or failure 
to maintain the required level of performance. 
 ([60]59)  "Intern" means an individual in a college degree 
or certification program assigned to work in an activity where [on-
the-job]on the job training or community service experience is 
accepted. 
 (6[1]0)  "Job" means a group of positions similar in duties 
performed, in degree of supervision exercised or required, in 
requirements of training, experience, or skill and other 
characteristics.  The same salary range is applied to each position in 
the group. 
 (6[2]1)  "Job Description" means a document containing 
the duties, distinguishing characteristics, knowledge, skills, and other 
requirements for a job. 
 (6[3]2)  "Job Family" means a group of jobs that have 
related or common work content, that share common skills, 
responsibilities, and requirements, and that normally represents a 
general occupation area. 
 (6[4]3)  "Job Requirements" means skill requirements 
defined at the job level. 
 (6[5]4)  "Job Series" means two or more jobs in the same 
functional area having the same job title, but distinguished and 
defined by increasingly difficult levels of skills, responsibilities, 
knowledge, and requirements; or two or more jobs with different 
titles working in the same functional area that have licensure, 
certification or other requirements with increasingly difficult levels 
of skills, responsibilities, knowledge, and requirements. 
 (6[6]5)  "Leave Benefit" means a benefit provided to an 
employee that includes: Annual leave, sick leave, converted sick 
leave, and holiday leave.  These benefits are not provided to non-
benefited employees. 
 (6[7]6)  "Legislative Salary Adjustment" means a 
legislatively approved salary increase for a specific category of 
employees based on criteria determined by the Legislature. 
 (6[8]7)  "Malfeasance" means intentional wrongdoing, 
deliberate violation of law or standard, or mismanagement of 
responsibilities. 
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 (6[9]8)  "Management" means the agency head and any 
other officers or employees who have responsibility and authority to 
establish, implement, and manage agency policies and programs. 
 (69)  "Market Based Bonus" means a [one time]one-time 
lump sum monies given to a new hire or a current employee to 
encourage employment with the state. 
 (70)  "Market Comparability Adjustment" means a 
legislatively approved adjustment to a salary range  that is based upon 
salary data and other relevant information from comparable jobs in 
the market that is collected by DHRM or from DHRM approved 
justifiable sources.  The Market Comparability Adjustment may also 
change incumbent pay resulting in a budgetary impact for an agency. 
 (71)  ["Merit Increase" means a legislatively approved and 
funded salary increase for employees to recognize and reward 
successful performance. 
 (72)  ]"Misconduct" means wrongful, improper, 
unacceptable, or unlawful conduct or behavior that is inconsistent 
with prevailing agency practices or the best interest of the agency. 
 (7[3]2)  "Misfeasance" means the improper or unlawful 
performance of an act that is lawful or proper. 
 (7[4]3)  "Nonfeasance" means failure to perform either an 
official duty or legal requirement. 
 (7[5]4)  "Pay for Performance Award" means a type of cash 
incentive award where an employee or group of employees may 
receive a cash award for meeting or exceeding well-defined annual 
production or performance standards, targets, and measurements. 
 (7[6]5)  "Pay for Performance" means a plan for 
incentivizing employees for meeting or exceeding production or 
performance goals, in which the plan is well-defined before work 
begins, eligible work groups are defined, specific goals and targets 
are determined, measurement procedures are in place, and specific 
incentives are provided when goals and targets are met. 
 (7[7]6)  "Performance Evaluation" means a formal, 
periodic evaluation of an employee's work performance. 
 (7[8]7)  "Performance Improvement Plan" means a 
documented administrative action to address substandard 
performance of an employee under Section R477-10-2. 
 (7[9]8)  "Performance Management" means the ongoing 
process of communication between the direct supervisor and the 
employee which defines work standards and expectations, and 
assesses performance leading to a formal annual performance 
evaluation. 
 ([80]79)  "Performance Plan" means a written summary of 
the standards and expectations required for the successful 
performance of each job duty or task.  These standards normally 
include completion dates and qualitative and quantitative levels of 
performance expectations. 
 (8[1]0)  "Performance Standard" means specific, 
measurable, observable and attainable objectives that represent the 
level of performance to which an employee and direct supervisor are 
committed during an evaluation period. 
 (8[2]1)  "Personnel Adjudicatory Proceedings" means the 
informal appeals procedure contained in Title 63G, Chapter 4, 
Administrative Procedures Act for human resource policies and 
practices not covered by the state employee's grievance procedure 
promulgated by the Career Service Review Office, or the 
classification appeals procedure. 
 (8[3]2)  "Phased Retirement" means employment on a half-
time basis of a retiree with the same participating employer 
immediately following the retiree's retirement date where the retiree 
will receive a reduced retirement allowance. 

 (8[4]3)  "Position" means a unique set of duties and 
responsibilities identified by DHRM authorized job and position 
management numbers. 
 (8[5]4)  "Position Description" means a document that 
describes the detailed tasks performed, as well as the knowledge, 
skills, abilities, and other requirements of a specific position. 
 (8[6]5)  "Position Identification Number" means a unique 
number assigned to a position for FTE management. 
 (8[7]6)  "Post Accident Drug or Alcohol Test" means a drug 
or alcohol test conducted on an employee who is involved in a vehicle 
accident while on duty or driving a state vehicle: 
 (a)  the employee was performing safety-sensitive 
functions with respect to the vehicle the employee was operating and 
the accident involves the loss of human life; 
 (b)  the driver receives a citation under state or local law 
for a moving traffic violation arising from the accident and the 
accident involved: 
 (i)  the loss of human life or bodily injury to any person 
who, as a result of the injury, immediately receives medical treatment 
away from the scene of the accident; or 
 (ii)  one or more motor vehicles incurring disabling damage 
as a result of the accident, requiring the motor vehicle to be 
transported away from the scene by a tow truck or other vehicle; or 
 (c)  where there is reasonable suspicion that the employee 
had been driving while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled 
substance. 
 (8[8]7)  "Pre-employment Drug Test" means a drug test 
conducted on: 
 (a)  final applicants who are not current employees; 
 (b)  final candidates for a highly sensitive position; 
 (c)  employees who are final candidates for transfer or 
promotion from a non-highly sensitive position to a highly sensitive 
position; or 
 (d)  employees who transfer or are promoted from one 
highly sensitive position to another highly sensitive position. 
 (8[9]8)  "Probationary Employee" means an employee 
hired into a career service position who has not completed the 
required probationary period for that position. 
 (89[0])  "Probationary Period" means a period of time for 
management to evaluate an employee's ability to perform assigned 
duties and responsibilities and to determine if career service status 
should be granted to the employee.  The length of the period is 
identified at the job level and the period is considered part of the 
selection process. 
 (9[1]0)  "Proficiency" means an employee's overall quality 
of work, productivity, skills demonstrated through work performance 
and other factors that relate to employee performance or conduct. 
 (9[2]1)  "Promotion" means an action moving an employee 
from a position in one job to a position in another job having a higher 
salary range maximum. 
 (9[3]2)  "Protected Activity" means opposition to 
discrimination or participation in proceedings covered by the 
antidiscrimination statutes or the Utah State Grievance and Appeal 
Procedure.  Harassment based on protected activity can constitute 
unlawful retaliation. 
 (9[4]3)  "Random Drug or Alcohol Test" means 
unannounced drug or alcohol testing of a sample of an employee in a 
highly sensitive position done in accordance with federal regulations 
or state rules, policies, and procedures, and conducted in a manner 
such that each highly sensitive employee has an equal chance of 
being selected for testing. 
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 (9[5]4)  "Reappointment" means return to work of an 
individual from the reappointment register after separation from 
employment. 
 (9[6]5)  "Reappointment Register" means a register of 
individuals who have, [prior to]before March 2, 2009: 
 (a)  held career service status and been separated in a 
reduction in force; 
 (b)  held career service status and accepted career service 
exempt positions without a break in service and were not retained, 
unless discharged for cause; or 
 (c)  by Career Service Review Board decision, been placed 
on the reappointment register. 
 (9[7]6)  "Reasonable Suspicion Drug or Alcohol Test" 
means a drug or alcohol test conducted on an employee based on 
specific, contemporaneous, articulated observations concerning the 
appearance, behavior, speech, or body odors of the employee. 
 (9[8]7)  "Reassignment" means an action mandated by 
management moving an employee from one job or position to a 
different job or position with an equal or lesser salary range 
maximum for administrative reasons.  A reassignment may not 
include a decrease in actual wage except as provided in federal or 
state law. 
 (9[9]8)  "Reclassification" means a DHRM reallocation of 
a single position or multiple positions from one job to another job to 
reflect management initiated changes in duties and responsibilities. 
 ([100]99)  "Reduction in Force  (RIF)"  means abolishment 
of positions resulting in the termination of career service 
employment.  RIFs can occur due to inadequate funds, a change of 
workload, or a lack of work. 
 (10[1]0)  "Reemployment" means return to work of an 
employee who resigned or took military leave of absence from state 
employment to serve in the uniformed services covered under 
USERRA. 
 (10[2]1)  "Salary Range" means established minimum and 
maximum wage rates assigned to a job. 
 (10[3]2)  "Schedule" means the designation of a position as 
career service (schedule B) or career service exempt (schedule A) 
under Title 63A, Chapter 17, Utah State Personnel Management Act. 
 (10[4]3)  "Separation" means an employee's voluntary or 
involuntary departure from state employment. 
 (10[5]4)  "Settling Period" means a sufficient amount of 
time, determined by agency management, for an employee to fully 
assume new or higher level duties required of a position. 
 (10[6]5)  "Structure Adjustment" means a DHRM 
approved adjustment to a salary range that is based upon salary data 
and other relevant information from comparable jobs in the market 
that is collected by DHRM or from DHRM approved justifiable 
sources. 
 (10[7]6)  "Tangible Employment Action" means a 
significant change in employment status, such as dismissal, 
demotion, failure to promote, work reassignment, or a decision which 
changes benefits. 
 (10[8]7)  "Transfer" means an action not mandated by 
management moving an employee from one job or position to another 
job or position with an equal or lesser salary range maximum for 
which the employee qualifies.  A transfer may include a decrease in 
actual wage. 
 (10[9]8)  "Uniformed Services" means the United States 
Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard; Reserve units of 
the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard; Army 
National Guard or Air National Guard; Commissioned Corps of 
Public Health Service, National Oceanic and Atmospheric 

Administration (NOAA), National Disaster Medical Systems 
(NDMS) and any other category of persons designated by the 
President in time of war or emergency.  Service in Uniformed 
Services includes: voluntary or involuntary duty, including active 
duty; active duty for training; initial active duty for training; inactive 
duty training; [full-time]full time National Guard duty; or absence 
from work for an examination to determine fitness for any of the 
[above ]types of duty listed in this subsection. 
 ([1]109)  "Unlawful Discrimination" means an action 
against an employee or applicant based on race, religion, national 
origin, color, sex, age, disability, pregnancy, sexual orientation, 
gender identity, protected activity under the [anti-
discrimination]antidiscrimination statutes, political affiliation, 
military status or affiliation, or any other factor, as prohibited by law. 
 (11[1]0)  "USERRA" means the Uniformed Services 
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994, 38 U.S.C. 
4301, et seq. requires state governments to re-employ eligible 
veterans who resigned or took a military leave of absence from state 
employment to serve in the uniformed services and who return to 
work within a specified time period after military discharge. 
 (11[2]1)  "Veteran" means an individual who has separated 
or retired under honorable conditions following service:[served] 
 (a)  on active duty in the armed forces for more than 180 
consecutive days[,]; or 
 (b)  [w]as a member of a reserve component who served in 
a campaign or expedition for which a campaign medal has been 
authorized.[  Individuals must have been separated or retired under 
honorable conditions.] 
 (11[3]2)  "Veteran Employment Opportunity Program 
(VEOP)" means a program designed to appoint a qualified veteran 
through an on the job examination period. 
 (11[4]3)  "Volunteer" means any person who donates 
services to the state or its subdivisions without pay or other 
compensation except actual and reasonable expenses incurred, as 
approved by the supervising agency. 
 (11[5]4)  "Wage" means the fixed hourly rate paid to an 
employee. 
 (11[6]5)  "Work Period" means the maximum number of 
hours an employee may work [prior to]before accruing overtime or 
compensatory hours based on variable payroll cycles outlined in 
Section 63A-17-502 and 29 CFR 553.230. 
 
KEY:  personnel management, rules and procedures, definitions 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
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63A-17-301; 63A-17-306 
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Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 10 37 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-2.  Administration 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying change and 
several minor changes to match changes made to 
definitions in Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The 
proposed amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 
in this issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes and clarifies a provision relating to retention of 
performance records. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 52-3-1 Section 

63G-5-201 
Title 63G, 
Chapter 7 

Section 
63A-17-106 

Section 
63A-17-306 

Section 
63A-17-307 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-2.  Administration. 
R477-2-1.  Rules Applicability. 
 [R477-1 through R477-101 apply]Title R477 applies to the 
executive branch of Utah State Government and its career service and 
career service exempt employees.  Other entities may be covered in 
specific sections as determined by statute.  Any inclusions or 
exceptions to [R477-1 through R477-101]Title R477 are specifically 
noted in applicable sections.  Entities which are not bound by 
mandatory compliance with [R477-1 through R477-101]Title R477 
include: 
 (1)  members of the Legislature and legislative employees; 
 (2)  members of the judiciary and judicial employees; 
 (3)  officers, faculty, and other employees of state 
institutions of higher education; 
 (4)  officers, faculty, and other employees of the public 
education system, other than those directly employed by the State 
Board of Education; 
 (5)  employees of the Office of the Attorney General; 
 (6)  elected members of the executive branch and their 
Schedule A employees; 
 (7)  employees of independent entities, quasi-governmental 
agencies and special service districts; and 
 (8)  employees in any position that is designated by statute 
to be exempt from [R477-1 through R477-101]Title R477. 
 
R477-2-2.  Compliance Responsibility. 
 [Agencies]Management shall comply with [R477-1 
through R477-101]Title R477. 
 (1)  Except where prohibited by statute, the Division 
Director, DHRM, may authorize exceptions to [R477-1 through 
R477-101]Title R477 when: 
 (a)  applying the rule prevents the achievement of 
legitimate government objectives; or 
 (b)  applying the rule infringes on the legal rights of an 
employee. 
 (2)  Agency personnel records, practices, policies and 
procedures, employment, and actions shall comply with [R477-1 
through R477-101]Title R477, and are subject to compliance audits 
by DHRM. 
 
R477-2-3.  Fair Employment Practice and Discrimination. 
 State personnel actions shall provide equal employment 
opportunity for individuals. 
 (1)  Employment actions including appointment, tenure or 
term, condition, or privilege of employment shall be based on the 
ability to perform the essential duties, functions, and responsibilities 
assigned to a particular position. 
 (2)  Employment actions may not be based on race, 
religion, national origin, color, sex, age, disability, pregnancy, sexual 
orientation, gender identity, or protected activity under the [anti-
discrimination]antidiscrimination statutes, political affiliation, 
military status or affiliation, or any other non-job related factor, 
except under Subsection 63A-17-301(2)(b)(ii). 
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 (3)  An employee who alleges unlawful discrimination 
may: 
 (a)  submit a complaint to the agency head; and 
 (b)  file a charge with the Utah Labor Commission 
Antidiscrimination and Labor Division within 180 days of the alleged 
harm, or directly with the EEOC within 300 days of the alleged harm. 
 (4)  A state official may not impede any employee from 
timely filing a discrimination complaint in accordance with state or 
federal requirements. 
 
R477-2-4.  Control of Personal Service Expenditures. 
 (1)  The Governor's Office of Planning and Budget, the 
Division of Human Resource Management, and the Division of 
Finance share responsibility for the statewide control of personal 
service expenditures. 
 (2)  The Division Director, DHRM or designee shall 
approve changes in job identification numbers, salary ranges, or 
number of positions listed in the position management report. 
 (3)  No person shall be placed or retained on an agency 
payroll unless that person occupies a position listed in an agency's 
approved position management report. 
 
R477-2-5.  Records. 
 Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access and 
Management Act (GRAMA) and applicable federal laws govern 
access to and privacy of personnel records maintained by DHRM.  
DHRM shall designate and classify any records and record series it 
maintains under the GRAMA statute. 
 (1)  DHRM shall maintain an electronic record for each 
employee that contains the following, as appropriate: 
 (a)  Social Security number, date of birth, home address, 
and private phone number; 
 (b)  performance [ratings]records; and 
 (c)  records of actions affecting employee salary history, 
classification history, title and salary range, employment status, and 
other personal data. 
 (2)  Personally identifiable information in Subsection (1)(a) 
is classified as private under GRAMA.  An agency may have access 
to this information and shall maintain the privacy of the information. 
 (3)  DHRM shall maintain, on behalf of agencies, personnel 
files. 
 (4)  DHRM shall maintain, on behalf of agencies, a 
confidential medical file.  Confidentiality shall be maintained in 
accordance with applicable regulations. Information in the medical 
file is private, controlled, or exempt in accordance with Title 63G, 
Chapter 2, Government Records Access and Management Act. 
 (5)  An employee has the right to review the employee's 
personnel file, upon request, in the presence of a DHRM 
representative.  An employee may request corrections, amendments 
to, or challenge any information in the employee's electronic or hard 
copy personnel record by sending a written request to management. 
 (6)  [Agency m]Management shall remove from the 
employee's personnel file all forms, documents, and records 
pertaining to a disciplinary action when that action is rescinded or 
otherwise vacated by proper authority. 
 (7)  DHRM shall retain records according to the applicable 
record retention schedule. 
 (8)  The former agency shall transfer the employee's 
personnel file, medical, and I-9 records to the new agency when an 
employee transfers from one agency to another. 

 (9)  An employee who violates confidentiality is subject to 
disciplinary action and may be personally liable. 
 (10)  Records related to conduct for which an employee 
may be disciplined under Subsection R477-11-1(1) are classified as 
private records under Subsection 63G-2-302(2)(a). 
 (11)  If disciplinary action under Subsection R477-11-1(4) 
has been sustained and all time periods for administrative appeal have 
expired, the documents issued in the disciplinary process are 
classified as public records under Subsection 63G-2-301(3)(o). 
 
R477-2-6.  Release of Information in a Reference Inquiry. 
 Reference checks or inquiries made regarding current or 
former public employees, volunteers, independent contractors, and 
members of advisory boards or commissions can be released if the 
information is classified as public, or if the subject of the record has 
signed and provided a current reference release form for information 
authorized under Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access 
and Management Act. 
 (1)  The employment record is the property of Utah State 
Government with all rights reserved to utilize, disseminate, or 
dispose of in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government 
Records Access and Management Act. 
 (2)  Additional information may be provided if authorized 
by law. 
 
R477-2-7.  Employment Eligibility Verification (Immigration 
Reform and Control Act -- 1986). 
 Employees newly hired, rehired, or placed through 
reciprocity with or assimilation from another career service 
jurisdiction shall provide verifiable documentation of their identity 
and eligibility for employment in the United States by completing all 
sections of the Employment Eligibility Verification Form I-9 as 
required under the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, 
Pub. L. No. 99 603. 
 
R477-2-8.  Public Officers Supervising a Relative or Household 
Member. 
 (1)  A public officer may not appoint, directly supervise, or 
make salary, performance, disciplinary, or other employment matter 
decisions regarding a family member, including a household member. 
 (2)  A public officer supervising a family member, 
including a household member, shall make a complete written 
disclosure of any such relationship to the agency head and be recused 
from any employment matter discussions or decisions relating to the 
family member, including a household member. 
 
R477-2-9.  Employee Liability. 
 An employee who becomes aware of any occurrence which 
may give rise to a lawsuit, who receives notice of claim, or is sued 
because of an incident related to state employment, shall give 
immediate notice to [his supervisor]management and to the 
Department of Government Operations, Division of Risk 
Management. 
 (1)  In most cases, under Title 63G, Chapter 7, 
Governmental Immunity Act, an employee shall receive defense and 
indemnification unless the case involves fraud, malice, or the use of 
alcohol or drugs by the employee. 
 (2)  Before an agency may defend its employee against a 
claim, the employee shall make a written request for a defense to the 
agency head under Subsection 63G-7-902(2). 
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R477-2-10.  Alternative Dispute Resolution. 
 [Agency m]Management may establish a voluntary 
alternative dispute resolution program under Title 63G, Chapter 5, 
Governmental Dispute Resolution Act. 
 
KEY:  administrative responsibility, confidentiality of 
information, fair employment practices, public information 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  52-3-1; 63G-
2; 63G-5-201; 63G-7; 63A-17-106; 63A-17-306; 63A-17-307 
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TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-3 Filing ID 
54558 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-3.  Classification 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying change and two 
minor changes to match changes made to definitions in 
Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 in this 
issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
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government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 
63A-17-106 

Section 
63A-17-307 

Section 
63A-17-602 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-3.  Classification. 
R477-3-1.  Job Classification Applicability. 
 (1)  The Division Director, DHRM, shall prescribe the 
procedures and methods for classifying positions except for the 
following positions, which include: 
 (a)  employees already exempted from DHRM rules in 
Section R477-2-1; 
 (b)  employees in: 
 (i)  the office and residence of the governor; 
 (ii)  the Public Lands Policy Coordinating Council; 
 (iii)  the Office of the Utah State Auditor; and 
 (iv)  the Utah State Treasurer's Office; 
 (c)  employees of the State Board of Education; 
 (d)  employees in any position that is determined by statute 
to be exempt from classified service; 
 (e)  employees whose agency has authority to make rules 
regarding performance, compensation, and bonuses for its 
employees; 
 (f)  other persons appointed by the governor under statute; 
 (g)  temporary employees who work part time indefinite or 
work on a time limited basis; 
 (h)  patients and inmates designated as schedule AU; 
 (i)  members of state and local boards and councils and 
other employees designated as schedule AQ; and 
 (j)  educational interpreters and educators as defined by 
Section 53E-8-102 who are employed by the Utah Schools for the 
Deaf and the Blind. 
 (2)  The Division Director, DHRM, may designate specific 
job titles, job and position identification numbers, schedule codes, 
and other administrative information for employees exempted in 
Sections R477-2-1 and R477-3-1 for identification and reporting 
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purposes only.  These employees are not considered classified 
employees. 
 (3)  Employees in schedule codes AD and AR are not 
considered classified employees but are subject to Sections R477-3-
2 and R477-3-3. 
 
R477-3-2.  Job Description. 
 (1)  DHRM shall maintain job descriptions, as appropriate. 
 (2)  Job descriptions shall contain: 
 (a)  job title; 
 (b)  distinguishing characteristics; 
 (c)  a description of tasks commonly associated with most 
positions in the job; 
 (d)  statements of required knowledge, skills, and other 
requirements; and 
 (e)  FLSA status and other administrative information as 
approved by DHRM. 
 
R477-3-3.  Assignment of Duties. 
 (1)  Management may assign, modify, or remove any 
position, task, or responsibility [in order ]to accomplish 
reorganization, improve business practices or processes, or for any 
other reason deemed appropriate by agency management. 
 (2)  Significant changes in the assigned duties may require 
a position classification review as described in Section R477-3-4. 
 
R477-3-4.  Position Classification Review. 
 (1)  DHRM may conduct a formal classification review: 
 (a)  as part of a classification study; 
 (b)  at the request of agency management, with the approval 
of the Division Director, DHRM, or designee; or 
 (c)  as part of a classification grievance review. 
 (2)  DHRM shall determine if there have been sufficient 
significant changes in the duties of a position to warrant a formal 
review. 
 (3)  DHRM may not conduct a classification review until 
after an appropriate settling period following reorganization of an 
agency or position redesign. 
 (4)  The Division Director, DHRM, or designee shall make 
final classification decisions unless overturned by a hearing officer 
or court. 
 
R477-3-5.  Position Classification Grievances. 
 (1)  Under Section 63A-17-602, an agency or a career 
service employee may grieve formal classification decisions 
regarding the classification of a position. 
 (a)  This rule refers to grievances concerning the 
assignment of individual positions to appropriate jobs based on duties 
and responsibilities.  The assignment of salary ranges is not included 
in this rule. 
 (b)  An employee may only grieve a formal classification 
decision regarding the employee's own position. 
 (2)  DHRM shall send formal notification to grievants 
under this [Subsection]subsection by: 
 (a)  certified mail to the employee's address of record; and 
 (b)  email to the employee's state email account. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, grievances, job descriptions, 
position classifications 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 

Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-17-106; 
63A-17-307; 63A-17-602 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-4 Filing ID 
54559 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-4.  Filling Positions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying change and 
several minor changes to match changes made to 
definitions in Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The 
proposed amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 
in this issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes and corrects rules styling errors. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 

6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63A-17-106 

Section 67-20-8  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
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agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-4.  Filling Positions. 
R477-4-1.  Authorized Recruitment System. 
 (1)  [Agencies]Management shall use the DHRM approved 
recruitment and selection system unless an alternate system has been 
pre-approved by DHRM. 
 (2)  [Agency m]Management shall notify DHRM of filling 
any position at least three working days [prior to]before the 
employee's start date. 
 
R477-4-2.  Career Service Exempt Positions. 
 (1)  The Division Director, DHRM, may approve the 
creation and filling of career service exempt positions, as defined in 
Section 63A-17-301. 
 (2)  [Agencies]Management may use any pre-approved 
process to select an employee for a career service exempt position.  
[Agencies]Management may make appointments without 
competitive examination, provided job requirements are met. 
 (3)  Appointments to fill an employee's position who is on 
approved leave may not be permanent[must be temporary]. 
 (4)  Appointments made on a temporary basis shall be 
career service exempt and: 
 (a)  be Schedule IN, in which the employee is hired to work 
part time indefinitely and may not[must] work[ less than] 1560 hours 
or more per fiscal year; or 
 (b)  be Schedule TL, in which the employee is hired to work 
on a time limited basis. 
 (5)  Management may offer benefits to an employee 
appointed under Subsection (4) if the employee works a minimum of 
40 hours per pay period. 
 (6)  Agency management shall consult with DHRM to 
review possible alternative options if the required work hours of the 
position meet or exceed 1,560 hours per fiscal year for Schedule IN 
or if the position exceeds anticipated time limits for Schedule TL. 
 (7)  Only career service exempt appointments made from a 
hiring list under Section R477-4-8 may be considered for conversion 
to career service. 
 (8)  [Agency m]Management shall ensure that new hire 
appointees in Schedules AB, AC, AD, AR, and AS submit a 
disclosure statement under Section 67-16-7 and submit to a 
background check. 

R477-4-3.  Career Service Positions. 
 (1)  Management shall select career service employees 
according to the following: 
 (a)  DHRM standard operating procedures; 
 (b)  career service principles as outlined in Section 63A-
17-305, Rule R477-5, and Section R477-2-3; 
 (c)  equal employment opportunity principles; 
 (d)  Section 52-3-1; and 
 (e)  the Americans With Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. 12102. 
 
R477-4-4.  Recruitment and Selection for Career Service 
Positions. 
 (1)  [Prior to]Before initiating a recruitment, 
[agencies]management may administer any of the following 
personnel actions: 
 (a)  reemployment of a veteran eligible under USERRA; 
 (b)  reassignment within an agency initiated by an 
employee's reasonable accommodation request under the ADA; 
 (c)  fill a position with an employee who is returning to 
work from long term disability or workers compensation at the same 
or lesser salary range; 
 (d)  reassignment or transfer made [in order ]to avoid a 
reduction in force, or for reorganization purposes; 
 (e)  reassignment, transfer, or career mobility of qualified 
employees to better utilize skills or assist management in meeting the 
organization's mission; 
 (f)  reclassification; or 
 (g)  conversion from schedule A to schedule B as 
authorized by Subsection R477-5-1(3). 
 (2)  [Agencies]Management shall use the DHRM approved 
recruitment and selection system for any career service position 
vacancy. This includes recruitments open within an agency, across 
agency lines, or to the general public. Recruitments shall comply with 
federal and state laws and DHRM rules and procedures. 
 (a)  Recruitment announcements shall include: 
 (i)  information about the DHRM approved recruitment and 
selection system; and 
 (ii)  opening and closing dates. 
 (b)  Recruitments for career service positions shall be 
posted for a minimum of three business days, excluding state 
holidays. 
 (3)  An agency may carry out the [following ]steps for 
recruitment and selection of vacant career service positions 
concurrently.  Management shall appoint a qualified applicant who 
meets minimum qualifications from the reappointment register 
created [prior to]before March 2, 2009, before making an 
appointment from a hiring list of qualified applicants for the position, 
or from another process pre-approved by the Division Director, 
DHRM. 
 
R477-4-5.  Transfer and Reassignment. 
 (1)  Positions may be filled through a transfer or 
reassignment. 
 (a)  The receiving agency shall verify the employee's career 
service status and that the employee meets the job requirements for 
the position. 
 (b)  [Agencies]Management receiving a transfer or 
reassignment of an employee shall accept that employee's previously 
accrued sick, annual, and converted sick leave on the official leave 
records. 
 (c)  A transfer may not include an increase but may include 
a decrease in actual wage. 
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 (d)  A reassignment may not include a decrease in actual 
wage except as provided in federal or state law. 
 (e)  An employee who is transferred or reassigned to a 
position where the employee's current actual wage is above the salary 
range maximum of the new position, is considered to be above 
maximum and may not immediately be eligible for a longevity 
increase.  Employees shall be eligible for a longevity increase only 
after they have been above the salary range maximum for 12 months 
and other longevity criteria are met. 
 (f)  An employee with a wage that is above the salary range 
maximum because of a longevity increase who is transferred or 
reassigned and remains at or above the salary range maximum, shall 
receive their next longevity increase three years from the date they 
received the most recent increase when all other longevity criteria are 
met. 
 (2)  A reassignment or transfer may include assignment to: 
 (a)  a different job or position with an equal or lesser salary 
range maximum; 
 (b)  a different work location; or 
 (c)  a different organizational unit. 
 
R477-4-6.  Rehire. 
 (1)  A former employee shall compete for career service 
positions through the DHRM approved recruitment and selection 
system and shall serve a new probationary period, as designated in 
the official job description. 
 (2)  Employees rehired under the Phased Retirement 
Program under Section 49-11-13 shall be: 
 (a)  classified as [time-limited]time limited (Schedule TL) 
[for the duration of]during a phased retirement employment period; 
and 
 (b)  placed at or below the employee's wage [at the time of 
retirement]when the employee retired. Employees cannot be placed 
below the minimum of the established salary range of the job. 
 
R477-4-7.  Examinations. 
 (1)  Examinations shall be designed to measure and predict 
applicant job performance. 
 (2)  Examinations shall be based on documented job related 
criteria and include the following: 
 (a)  an initial, impartial screening of the individual's 
qualifications; 
 (b)  an impartial evaluation and results; and 
 (c)  reasonable accommodation for qualified individuals 
with disabilities. 
 (3)  Examinations and ratings shall remain confidential and 
secure. 
 
R477-4-8.  Hiring Lists. 
 (1)  The hiring list shall include the names of applicants to 
be considered for appointment or conditional appointment to a 
specific job, job series, or position. 
 (a)  An individual shall be considered an applicant when 
the individual applies for a particular position identified through a 
specific recruitment. 
 (b)  Hiring lists shall be constructed using a DHRM 
approved recruitment and selection system. 
 (c)  Applicants for career service positions shall be 
evaluated and placed on a hiring list based on job, job series, or 
position related criteria. 
 (d)  Applicants included on a hiring list shall be examined 
with the same examination or examinations. 

 (2)  An individual who falsifies any information in the job 
application, examination or evaluation processes may be disqualified 
from further consideration [prior to]before hire, or disciplined if 
already hired. 
 (3)  The appointing authority shall demonstrate and 
document that equal consideration was given to applicants on a hiring 
list whose final score or rating is equal to or greater than that of the 
applicant hired. 
 (4)  The appointing authority shall ensure that any 
employee hired meets the job requirements as outlined in the official 
job description. 
 
R477-4-9.  Job Sharing. 
 [Agency m]Management may establish a job sharing 
program as a means of increasing opportunities for [part-time]part 
time employment.  In the absence of an agency program, individual 
employees may request approval for job sharing status through 
[agency ]management. 
 
R477-4-10.  Internships. 
 Interns or students in a practicum program may be 
appointed with or without competitive selection.  Intern 
appointments shall be to temporary, career service exempt positions. 
 
R477-4-11.  Volunteer Experience Credit. 
 Documented job related volunteer experience shall be 
given the same consideration as similar paid employment in 
satisfying the job requirements for career service positions. 
 (1)  Volunteer experience may not be substituted for 
required licensure, POST certification, or other criteria for which 
there is no substitution in the job requirements in the job description. 
 (2)  Court ordered community service experience may not 
be considered. 
 
R477-4-12.  Reorganization. 
 When an agency is reorganized, but an employee's position 
does not change substantially, [the agency]management may not 
require the employee to compete for [his]the employee's current 
position. 
 
R477-4-13.  Career Mobility Programs. 
 (1)  A career mobility is a temporary assignment of an 
employee to a different position for purposes of professional growth 
or fulfillment of specific organizational needs. Career mobility 
assignments may be to any salary range. 
 (2)  [Agencies]Management may provide career mobility 
assignments inside or outside state government in any position for 
which the employee qualifies. 
 (3)  An employee or [agency]management may initiate a 
career mobility. 
 (a)  Career mobility assignments may be made without 
going through the competitive process but shall remain temporary. 
 (b)  Career mobility assignments shall only become 
permanent if: 
 (i)  the position was originally filled through a competitive 
recruitment process; or 
 (ii)  a competitive recruitment process is used at the time 
[the agency]management determines a need for the assignment to 
become permanent. 
 (4)  [Agencies]Management shall use a written career 
mobility [contract ]agreement[s between] with the employee [and the 
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supervisor to ]outline any program provisions and requirements.  The 
career mobility shall be both voluntary and mutually acceptable. 
 (5)  A participating employee shall retain any rights, 
privileges, entitlements, career service status subject to Section 
R477-5-2, and benefits from the previous position while on career 
mobility. 
 (a)  If a reduction in force affects a position vacated by a 
participating employee, the participating employee shall be treated 
the same as other RIF employees. 
 (b)  If a career mobility assignment does not become 
permanent at its conclusion, the employee shall return to the previous 
position or a similar position at a salary rate described in Subsection 
R477-6-6(10). 
 (6)  An employee who has not attained career service status 
[prior to the]before a career mobility [program]assignment cannot 
permanently fill a career service position until the employee obtains 
career service status through a competitive process. 
 
R477-4-14.  Assimilation. 
 An employee assimilated by the state from another 
government career service system to fill a [Schedule]schedule B 
position shall receive career service status after completing a 
probationary period if originally selected through a competitive 
examination process judged by the Division Director, DHRM, to be 
equivalent to the process prescribed in DHRM Rule[s]. 
 (1)  Assimilation agreements shall specify whether there 
are employees eligible for reemployment under USERRA in 
positions affected by the agreement. 
 (2)  An assimilated employee accrues leave based on years 
of assimilated service plus benefits-eligible state service under 
Subsection R477-7-3(1). 
 
R477-4-15.  Hiring of Administrative Law Judges. 
 (1)  Section 63A-17-704 applies to hiring Administrative 
Law Judges.  Section 63A-17-704 does not apply to: 
 (a)  an administrative law judge who is appointed by the 
governor; or 
 (b)  procurement of administrative law judge service under 
Section 63G-6a-116. 
 (2)  The hiring panel shall consist of: 
 (a)  the head or designee of the hiring agency; 
 (b)  the Division Director, DHRM, or designee; and 
 (c)  the head or designee of another agency, as appointed 
by the Division Director, DHRM[, who may select a designee to 
serve on her or his behalf]. 
 (3)  Only the agency heads described in Subsection (2) may 
designate another individual to serve on the hiring panel on the 
agency head's behalf in consultation with the designee of the Division 
Director, DHRM. 
 (4)  The hiring agency may select one or more additional 
subject matter experts to serve on the panel, in consultation with 
DHRM, in addition to the panel members established in Subsection 
(2). 
 
KEY:  employment, fair employment practices, hiring practices 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-17-106; 
67-20-8 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-5 Filing ID 
54560 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-5.  Employee Status and Probation 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for two minor changes to match 
changes made to definitions in Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S 
NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule R477-1 is 
under ID 54556 in this issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes and corrects rules styling errors. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
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B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63A-17-106 

Subsection 
63A-17-305(5)(b) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 
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10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-5.  Employee Status and Probation. 
R477-5-1.  Career Service Status. 
 (1)  Only an employee who is hired through a pre-approved 
process shall be eligible for appointment to a career service position. 
 (2)  An employee shall complete a probationary period 
[prior to]before receiving career service status. 
 (3)  Management may convert a career service exempt 
employee to career service status, in a position with an equal or lower 
salary range, when: 
 (a)  the employee previously held career service status with 
no break in service between the last career service position held and 
career service exempt status; 
 (b)  the employee was hired from a public hiring list to a 
career service exempt position, in the same job title to which they 
would convert, as prescribed by Section R477-4-8; or 
 (c)  the employee was hired through the Alternative State 
Application Program (ASAP) or Veterans Employment Opportunity 
Program (VEOP) and successfully completed a six month on the job 
examination period. 
 
R477-5-2.  Probationary Period. 
 The probationary period allows [agency ]management to 
evaluate an employee's ability to perform the duties, responsibilities, 
skills, and other related requirements of the assigned career service 
position.  The probationary period shall be considered part of the 
selection process. 
 (1)  Management [must]shall provide each employee an 
opportunity to demonstrate competence in a career service position 
by establishing a performance plan and giving the employee feedback 
on performance in relation to that plan. 
 (a)  During the probationary period, management may 
separate an employee from state employment in accordance with 
Subsection R477-11-2(1). 
 (b)  At the end of each employee's probationary period, 
management shall evaluate the employee's performance.  DHRM 
shall enter the evaluations into the human resource information 
system as the performance evaluation that reflects successful or 
unsuccessful completion of probation. 
 (2)  DHRM shall assign a probationary period to each 
career service position consistent with its job. 
 (a)  The probationary period may be extended for periods 
of leave including leave without pay, long-term disability, workers 
compensation leave, temporary transitional assignment, FMLA, 
postpartum recovery leave, or donated leave from an approved leave 
bank.  The probationary period may not be extended for any absence 
covered by USERRA. 

 (b)  The designated probationary period may not be reduced 
after an employee is appointed to the position. 
 (c)  An employee who has completed a probationary period 
and obtained career service status may not be required to serve a new 
probationary period, including when changing agencies, unless there 
is a break in service. 
 (3)  An employee in a career service position who works at 
least 50% of the regular work schedule or more shall acquire career 
service status after working the same amount of elapsed time in hours 
as a [full-time]full time employee would work with the same 
probationary period. 
 (4)  An employee serving probation in a career service 
position may accept a transfer, reassignment, promotion, or career 
mobility to another career service position.  Each new appointment 
to a career service position shall include a new probationary period 
unless [the agency]management determines that the required duties 
or knowledge, skills, and abilities of the old and new position are 
similar enough not to warrant a new probationary period.  The 
probationary period shall be the full probationary period defined in 
the job description of the new position. 
 
KEY:  employment, personnel management, state employees 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-17-106; 
63A-17-305(5)(b) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-6 Filing ID 
54561 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-6.  Compensation 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for minor changes to match 
definition changes, reorganization for clarity, and 
implementation of legislative action (H.B. 104 passed in 
the 2022 General Session). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes, correct rules styling errors, and implement 
legislative actions relating to promotional wage increases 
and Schedule AX employees. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63A-16-105 

Section 
63A-17-106 

Subsection 
63A-17-302(4) 

Section 
63A-17-307 

Section 
63A-17-803 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-6.  Compensation. 
R477-6-1.  Pay Plans. 
 With approval of the Governor, the Division Director, 
DHRM, shall develop salary ranges for pay plans for each job. 
 (1)  DHRM shall include a salary range in each job 
description. 
 (2)  Management may increase an employee's wage up to 
the salary range maximum.  A wage increase shall be at least 1/2% of 
the current wage unless the difference between the current wage and 
the salary range maximum is less than 1/2%. 
 (3)  Management may not increase an employee's wage 
above the salary range maximum except for longevity increases 
under Subsection R477-6-6(3). 
 (4)  Management may decrease an employee's wage down 
to the salary range minimum.  A wage decrease shall be at least 1/2% 

of the current wage unless the difference between the current wage 
and the salary range minimum is less than 1/2%. 
 (5)  Management may not decrease an employee's wage 
below the salary range minimum. 
 
R477-6-2.  Allocation to the Pay Plans for Classified Employees. 
 (1)  For each job in classified service, DHRM shall: 
 (a)  assign the job to a salary range and job family; 
 (b)  survey the job in the market in accordance with the 
benchmark jobs; and 
 (c)  include the job in a market comparability adjustment 
recommendation if warranted. 
 (2)  DHRM may adjust salary ranges by: 
 (a)  an administrative adjustment determined appropriate 
by DHRM for administrative purposes that is not based on a change 
of duties and responsibilities, nor based on a comparison to salary 
data in the market; 
 (b)  a structure adjustment when any agency involved 
agrees to resolve budgetary impacts [prior to]before implementation; 
or 
 (c)  a market comparability adjustment to a job's salary 
range based upon salary data and other relevant information for 
similar jobs in the market through an annual compensation 
benchmark survey or other sources. 
 (i)  DHRM shall include market comparability adjustment 
recommendations in the annual compensation plan and are submitted 
to the Governor. 
 (ii)  If a market comparability adjustment would cause a 
budgetary impact, DHRM may not make the adjustment unless the 
Legislature has approved funding for the adjustment. 
 (iii)  If market comparability adjustments are funded and 
approved for benchmark jobs, DHRM shall adjust salary ranges for 
other jobs in the same job family by relative ranking with the 
benchmark job. 
 (3)  DHRM may not adjust salary ranges more frequently 
than on an annual basis unless approved by the Division Director, 
DHRM. 
 
R477-6-3.  Pay Plans for Unclassified Employees Designated as 
Schedule AD and AR. 
 (1)  DHRM shall assign each job in an AD or AR pay plan 
to a salary range that is no more than 40% above and below the salary 
range midpoint. 
 (2)  DHRM may adjust salary ranges through: 
 (a)  an administrative adjustment determined appropriate 
by DHRM for administrative purposes; or 
 (b)  a structure adjustment. 
 (i)  DHRM shall consult with the Governor's Office of 
Planning and Budget (GOPB) [prior to]before making structure 
adjustments that require legislative funding.  Adjustments that impact 
deputy directors or issues addressed in state code [must be approved 
by]require GOPB approval. 
 (ii)  If a structure adjustment would cause a budgetary 
impact, DHRM may not approve the adjustment unless the 
Legislature has approved funding for the adjustment or any agency 
involved agrees to resolve budgetary impacts [prior to]before 
implementation. 
 (iii)  DHRM may include structure adjustment 
recommendations that require funding in the annual compensation 
plan. 
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 (iv)  DHRM may not implement a structure adjustment 
more frequently than on an annual basis unless approved by the 
DHRM Division Director to address a critical need. 
 
R477-6-4.  Pay Plans for Unclassified Employees Designated 
[as]As Schedule AC, AG, AH, AS, AN, AO, AP, IN, TL, AU, AQ, 
and [employees]Employees of the State Board of Education. 
 (1)  For each job exempted from classified service that is 
identified in positions under Subsection R477-3-1(1), the affected 
agency's management shall determine a salary range with a beginning 
and ending salary. 
 
R477-6-5.  Appointments. 
 (1)  Management shall assign a newly appointed employee 
a salary within the DHRM approved salary range for the job. 
 (2)  Management shall place qualifying military service 
members returning to work under USERRA in their previous position 
or a similar position.  Reemployment shall include the same seniority 
status, wage, including any cost of living adjustments, general 
increase, reclassification of the service member preservice position, 
or market comparability adjustments that would have affected the 
service member's preservice position during the time spent by the 
affected service member in the uniformed services.  Performance 
related salary increases are not included. 
 
R477-6-6.  Salary. 
 (1)  Promotions. 
 (a)  Management [shall]may increase an employee's wage 
[by at least 5% ]when the employee[, who is not designated schedule 
IN or TL,] is promoted[ to a job with a salary range maximum 
exceeding the employee's current salary range maximum]. 
 (b)  [If a 5% wage increase would set an employee's wage 
above the maximum of the new salary range, the employee's wage 
shall be the salary range maximum of the new range. 
 (c)  ]Management may promote an employee when the 
employee meets the requirements and skills specified in the job 
description and position specific criteria as determined by [the 
agency]management for the position. 
 (c)  Any wage increase granted under this subsection shall 
be at least 1/2% or up to the salary range maximum. 
 (2)  Reclassifications. 
 (a)  [Agency m]Management may grant an employee a 
wage increase of at least 1/2% or up to the salary range maximum 
when the employee is reclassified to a job with a salary range 
maximum exceeding the employee's current salary range maximum.  
Management shall place the employee within the new salary range. 
An employee's eligibility for a longevity salary increase shall be 
consistent with Subsection (3). 
 (b)  Management may not decrease the wage of an 
employee whose job is reclassified to a job with a lower salary range. 
 (3)  Longevity Salary Increase. 
 (a)  Management shall grant an employee an initial 
longevity salary increase of 2.75% when: 
 (i)  the employee has been in state service for eight years or 
more, including service in more than one agency; 
 (ii)  the employee has been at or above the maximum of the 
current salary range for at least one year; and 
 (iii)  the employee received a passing performance 
appraisal rating within the 12-month period preceding the longevity 
increase. 
 (b)  A change in salary range the employee does not choose, 
such as a reassignment or legislative action, does not reset the one 

year period under Subsection (3)(a)(ii).  Any change in salary range 
the employee seeks or voluntarily accepts resets the one year period. 
 (c)  Management shall grant an employee who meets the 
conditions of Subsection (3)(a) and has received the initial longevity 
increase an additional 2.75% wage increase every three years.  To be 
eligible for these additional increases, an employee shall receive a 
passing performance appraisal rating within the 12-month period 
preceding each longevity increase. 
 (d)  For an employee with a wage that is above the salary 
range maximum because of a longevity salary increase: 
 (i)  management may not change the employee's current 
actual wage when the employee receives an administrative 
adjustment, is reassigned, or is reclassified to a job with a lower 
salary range maximum; and 
 (ii)  management may increase an employee's current actual 
wage when the employee is reclassified to a job with a higher salary 
range maximum if the current actual wage is less than the salary 
range maximum of the new job. 
 (A)  Any such salary increase shall be at least 1/2% or up 
to the salary range maximum of the new job. 
 (B)  If the employee is placed at the maximum of the new 
salary range, this action does not interrupt continued eligibility for 
longevity under Subsection (3)(a)(ii). 
 (iii)  management may increase the current actual wage of 
an employee who is promoted only if the current actual wage is less 
than the salary range maximum of the new job. 
 (A)  The wage increase [shall be at least 5% or]may be up 
to the salary range maximum of the new job. 
 (B)  If the employee is placed at the maximum of the new 
salary range, this action does not interrupt continued eligibility for 
longevity under Subsection (3)(a)(ii). 
 (iv)  if the employee is promoted, reclassified, transferred, 
reassigned, or receives an administrative adjustment and remains at 
or above the salary range maximum, management shall grant a 
longevity salary increase three years from the date the employee 
received the most recent increase under Subsection (3)(a). 
 (e)  An employee with a wage that is not at or above the 
salary range maximum who is reclassified, transferred, reassigned, or 
receives an administrative adjustment, and has a current actual wage 
that is above the salary range maximum of the new job is not eligible 
for a longevity salary increase until the employee meets the 
requirements of Subsection (3)(a). 
 (f)  Management may not grant a longevity increase to an 
employee in Schedules AB, AN, IN, or TL. 
 (4)  Administrative Adjustment. 
 Management may not adjust the current actual wage of an 
employee whose position has been allocated by DHRM from one job 
to another job or salary range for administrative purposes unless the 
employee's wage is below the minimum of the new salary range. 
 (5)  Reassignment. 
 Management may not decrease an employee's current 
actual wage except as provided in federal or state law. 
 (6)  Transfer. 
 (a)  Management may decrease the current actual wage of 
an employee who transfers to another job with the same or lower 
salary range maximum. 
 (b)  An employee who applies for a job with a lower salary 
range maximum shall be placed within the salary range of the new 
job. 
 (7)  Demotion. 
 Management may reduce the current actual wage of an 
employee demoted under Section R477-11-2 by at least 1/2%, or 
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down to the salary range minimum as determined by the agency head 
or designee. 
 (8)  Administrative Salary Increase. 
 The agency head authorizes and approves administrative 
salary increases under the following parameters. 
 (a)  Any increase shall be at least 1/2% or up to the 
employee's salary range maximum. 
 (b)  Management may not grant an administrative salary 
increase unless the agency has sufficient funding within their 
annualized base budgets for the fiscal year in which the adjustment 
is given. 
 (c)  Justification for an administrative salary increase shall 
be: 
 (i)  in writing; 
 (ii)  approved by the agency head or designee; and 
 (iii)  supported by unique situations or considerations in the 
agency. 
 (d)  The agency head or designee shall answer any 
challenge or grievance resulting from an administrative salary 
increase. 
 (e)  Management may grant an administrative salary 
increase to an employee during the probationary period.  Wage 
increases shall be at least 1/2% or up to the salary range maximum. 
 (f)  Management may not grant an administrative salary 
increase to an employee whose wage is at or above the salary range 
maximum. 
 (g)  DHRM shall process an administrative salary increase 
separately from any other action. 
 (9)  Administrative Salary Decrease. 
 The agency head authorizes and approves administrative 
salary decreases for nondisciplinary reasons according to the 
following: 
 (a)  management may not decrease the final wage below 
the salary range minimum; 
 (b)  management shall decrease the employee's wage by at 
least 1/2% or down to the salary range minimum; 
 (c)  justification for an administrative salary decrease shall 
be: 
 (i)  in writing; 
 (ii)  approved by the agency head; and 
 (iii)  supported by issues such as previous written 
agreements between [the agency]management and the employee to 
include career mobility, reasonable accommodation, or other unique 
situations or considerations in the agency; and 
 (d)  the agency head or designee shall answer any challenge 
or grievance resulting from an administrative salary decrease; 
 (10)  Career Mobility. 
 (a)  When commencing a career mobility assignment, 
management shall determine the new wage by following the rules 
governing the appropriate underlying action such as: 
 (i)  promotion; 
 (ii)  reassignment; or 
 (iii)  transfer. 
 (b)  If a career mobility assignment does not become 
permanent at its conclusion, management shall return the employee 
to the employee's previous position or a similar position and grant, at 
a minimum, the same wage and the same or higher salary range that 
the employee would have received had the career mobility 
assignment not occurred. 
 

R477-6-7.  Incentive Awards. 
 (1)  [Only agencies with written and published incentive 
award and bonus policies may reward employees with incentive 
awards or bonuses.]Management shall write and publish incentive 
award and bonus policies before rewarding any employee with 
incentive awards or bonuses.  Incentive awards and bonuses are 
discretionary, not an entitlement, and are subject to the availability of 
funds in the agency. 
 (a)  DHRM shall review agency incentive award policies to 
ensure that they are consistent with standards established in these 
rules and the Department of Government Operations, Division of 
Finance, rules, and procedures. 
 (b)  Management may not grant individual awards greater 
than $4,000 per pay period and $8,000 in a fiscal year, except when 
approved by DHRM and the governor. 
 (i)  [An agency]Management shall include documentation 
of the work units affected and any cost savings in a request for an 
exception to Subsection (b) for a retirement incentive award. 
 (ii)  A single payment of up to $8,000 may be granted as a 
retirement incentive. 
 (c)  Any cash and cash equivalent incentive awards and 
bonuses shall be subject to payroll taxes. 
 (2)  Performance Based Incentive Awards. 
 (a)  Cash Incentive Awards. 
 (i)  [An agency]Management may grant a cash incentive 
award to an employee or group of employees that demonstrates 
exceptional effort or accomplishment beyond what is normally 
expected on the job for a unique event or over a sustained period of 
time. 
 (ii)  To implement a Pay for Performance cash incentive 
awards program, [an agency]management shall include the program 
in the agency's incentive awards policy. 
 (A)  The policy shall include information supporting the 
following: 
 (1)  sustainability of the funding for the cash incentive 
program; 
 (2)  the positions eligible to participate in the Pay for 
Performance program; 
 (3)  goals of the program; 
 (4)  type of work to be incentivized; and 
 (5)  ability to track the effectiveness of the program. 
 (iii)  The agency head or designee shall approve any cash 
awards and ensure that documentation relating to the award is 
maintained. 
 (b)  Noncash Incentive Awards. 
 (i)  [An agency]Management may recognize an employee 
or group of employees with noncash incentive awards. 
 (ii)  Individual noncash incentive awards may not exceed a 
value of $50 per occurrence and $200 for each fiscal year. 
 (iii)  Noncash incentive awards may include cash 
equivalents such as gift certificates or tickets for admission.  Cash 
equivalent incentive awards shall be subject to payroll taxes and shall 
follow standards and procedures established by the Department of 
Government Operations, Division of Finance. 
 (3)  Cost Savings Bonus. 
 (a)  [An agency]Management may establish a bonus policy 
to increase productivity, generate savings within the agency, or 
reward an employee who submits a cost savings proposal. 
 (i)  [The agency]Management shall document the cost 
savings involved. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 10 53 

 (4)  Market Based Bonuses. 
 [An agency]Management may award a cash bonus as an 
incentive to acquire or retain an employee with job skills that are 
critical to the state and difficult to recruit in the market.  Any market 
based bonuses shall be approved by the DHRM Division Director or 
designee. 
 (a)  When requesting market based awards, [an 
agency]management shall submit documentation specifying how the 
agency will benefit by granting the bonus based on: 
 (i)  budget; 
 (ii)  recruitment difficulties; 
 (iii)  a mission critical need to attract or retain unique or 
hard to find skills in the market; or 
 (iv)  other market based reasons. 
 (b)  Eligible reason types for market based bonuses include: 
 (i)  Retention Bonus. 
 [An agency]Management may award a bonus to an 
employee who has unusually high or unique qualifications that are 
essential for the agency to retain. 
 (ii)  Recruitment or Signing Bonus. 
 [An agency]Management may award a bonus to a qualified 
job candidate to incentivize the candidate to work for the state. 
 (iii)  Scarce Skills Bonus. 
 [An agency]Management may award a bonus to a qualified 
job candidate that has the scarce skills required for the job. 
 (iv)  Relocation Bonus. 
 [An agency]Management may award a bonus to a current 
employee who [must]is required to relocate to accept a position in a 
different commuting area. 
 (v)  Referral Bonus. 
 [An agency]Management may award a bonus to a current 
employee who refers a job applicant who is subsequently selected. 
 (vi)  Geographic Job Market Bonus. 
 [An agency]Management may award a bonus to incentivize 
an employee to accept [and/]or continue an assignment in a specific 
geographic area. 
 
R477-6-8.  Employee Benefits. 
 (1)  An employee shall be eligible for benefits when: 
 (a)  in a position designated by [the agency]management as 
eligible for benefits; and 
 (b)  in a position which normally requires working a 
minimum of 40 hours per pay period. 
 (2)  An eligible employee shall enroll in or decline one of 
the traditional medical insurance plans within 30 days of the hire date 
and enroll in or decline one of the HSA-qualified medical insurance 
plans or other tax-advantaged arrangement offered by PEHP and 
authorized under the Internal Revenue Code for the benefit of the 
employee within 60 days of the hire date. 
 (a)  An employee may change medical plans only during 
the annual open enrollment period for state employees or following 
a qualifying life event. 
 (3)  An eligible employee may enroll in dental, vision, and 
a flexible spending account within 60 days of the hire date. 
 (4)  An employee shall enroll in guaranteed issue life 
insurance within 60 days of the hire date to avoid having to provide 
proof of insurability. An employee may enroll in additional life 
insurance and accidental death and dismemberment insurance at any 
time and may be required to provide proof of insurability. 
 (5)  Utah Retirement Systems (URS) administers 
retirement benefits for eligible employees according to Title 49, Utah 
State Retirement and Insurance Benefit Act. 

 (a)  DHRM shall provide eligible employees with 
information regarding available options for URS retirement 
programs. 
 (b)  An employee shall communicate directly with URS 
through their website regarding retirement system options, changes 
in employee contributions, beneficiaries, and investment strategies. 
 (6)  A reemployed veteran under USERRA is entitled to the 
same employee benefits given to other continuously employed 
eligible employees to include seniority based increased pension and 
leave accrual. 
 (7)  Any insurance coverage, excluding COBRA, shall end: 
 (a)  at midnight on the last day of the pay period in which 
the employee receives a paycheck for employees hired [prior 
to]before February 15, 2003; or 
 (b)  at midnight on the last day of the pay period in which 
the employment termination date became effective for employees 
hired on February 15, 2003, or later. 
 (8)  An employee who is not eligible for benefits under 
Subsection R477-6-8(1) but does meet the minimum qualifications 
under the Affordable Care Act shall be eligible for medical insurance 
only. 
 
R477-6-9.  [Employee Converting from ]Career Service [to 
Schedule AC, AD, AR, or AS]Status Change. 
 (1)  [A career service employee in a position meeting the 
criteria for career service exempt]When management changes an 
occupied schedule B position to schedule AC, AD, AR, or AS, 
management shall offer the career service employee in that position 
the opportunity to convert to the new schedule code.  The employee 
may, within 60 days from the date of offer, elect to convert from 
career service to career service exempt. 
 (a)  If the employee chooses to convert, management shall 
offer the employee: 
 ([a]i)  an administrative salary increase of at least 1/2% or 
up to the current salary range maximum; and 
 ([b]ii)  state paid term life insurance coverage if determined 
eligible by the Group Insurance Office to participate in the Term Life 
Program, Public Employees Health Plan, as provided in Section 
R477-6-10. 
 ([2]b)  For an employee at or above the current salary range 
maximum at the time of conversation, management shall grant, in 
lieu of the salary adjustment from Subsection (1)(a)(i), a one time 
bonus, as determined by the agency head or designee, not to exceed 
limits in Subsection R477-6-7(1)(b). 
 ([3]c)  For an employee electing to convert to career service 
exempt after the 60 day election period, management may not grant 
the wage increase, but shall permit the employee to apply for the 
insurance coverage through the Group Insurance Office. 
 ([4]d)  An employee electing not to convert to career 
service exempt status retains career service status even though the 
employee's position shall be designated as schedule AC, AD, AR, or 
AS.  When these career service employees vacate these positions, any 
subsequent incumbent is career service exempt. 
 (e)  Management shall communicate the conditions and 
limitations of this incentive program to any employees currently or 
imminently affected by the program. 
 ([5]2)  An agency head may reorganize so that a current 
career service exempt position no longer meets the criteria for 
exemption.[  In this case, an] 
 (a)  An affected employee: 
 ([a]i)  shall resume career service status if the employee 
previously earned career service status and had no break in service; 
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 ([b]ii)  is no longer eligible for severance pay under Section 
R477-6-10; 
 ([c]iii)  shall accrue annual leave based on service time 
under Subsection R477-7-3(1); and 
 ([d]iv)  shall work with management and the Group 
Insurance Office to discontinue exempt life insurance coverage. 
 (b)  Management may not convert a career service exempt 
employee to career service status unless: 
 (i)  the employee had prior career service status with no 
break in service; or 
 (ii)  the employee was hired from a hiring list under 
Subsection R477-4-2(7). 
[ (6)  A career service exempt employee without prior career 
service status shall remain exempt.  When the employee leaves the 
position, management may fill the position under Rule R477-4. 
 (7)  An agency shall communicate the conditions and 
limitations of this incentive program to any employees currently or 
imminently affected by the program.] 
 
R477-6-10.  State Paid Life Insurance. 
 (1)  [An agency]Management shall pay the premiums for 
term life insurance coverage for a benefits eligible career service 
exempt employee on schedule AA, AB, AD, AR, [and ]AT, or AX if 
the employee is determined eligible by the Group Insurance Office 
and approved through underwriting to participate in the Term Life 
Program Public Employees Health Plan at the following leves: 
 (a)  hourly wage $24.03 or less shall receive $125,000 of 
term life insurance; 
 (b)  hourly wage between $24.04 and $28.84 shall receive 
$150,000 of term life insurance; and 
 (c)  hourly wage $28.85 or higher shall receive $200,000 of 
term life insurance. 
 (2)  The appointing authority may provide these benefits to 
an employee on schedule AC, AE, or AS. 
 
R477-6-11.  Severance Benefit. 
 (1)  For a career service exempt employee on schedule AB, 
AC, AD, AE, AR, AS, [or ]AT, or AX who is separated from state 
service through an action initiated by management, to include 
resignation in lieu of termination, management may offer a severance 
benefit equal to: 
 (a)  one week of salary, up to a maximum of 12 weeks, for 
each year of consecutive exempt service in the executive branch for 
schedule AB, AC, AD, AE, AR, AS, [or ]AT, or AX employees; and 
 (b)  if the employee is eligible for COBRA, medical 
insurance coverage at the rate of two pay periods for each year of 
consecutive exempt service, up to a maximum of 13 pay periods. 
 (2)  Management shall offer the severance benefit [at the 
time]when the employee is separated from employment. 
 (3)  Insurance provided under Subsection (1)(b) is medical 
coverage only and shall be the same plan the employee had at the 
time of severance. 
 
R477-6-12.  Human Resource Transactions. 
 The Division Director, DHRM, shall publicize procedures 
for processing payroll and human resource transactions and 
documents. 
 
KEY:  wages, employee benefit plans, insurance, personnel 
management 
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Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-16-105; 
63A-17-106; 63A-17-302(4); 63A-17-307; 63A-17-803 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 
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City, state and 
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Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
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bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-7.  Leave 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for minor changes to match 
definition changes, additional provisions relating to leave 
use when an employee is sick, and implementation of 
legislative actions (H.B. 449, S.B. 63, and S.B. 100 passed 
in the 2022 General Session). 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes, correct rules styling errors, and implement 
legislative actions relating to bereavement leave and 
parental leave. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 

6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 34-43-103 Section 39-3-1 Section 

63G-1-301 
Section 
63A-17-106 

Section 
63A-17-504 

Section 
63A-17-505 
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Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-7.  Leave. 
R477-7-1.  Conditions of Leave. 
 (1)  An employee is eligible for a leave benefit when: 
 (a)  in a position designated by [the agency]management as 
eligible for benefits; and 
 (b)  in a position which normally requires working a 
minimum of 40 hours per pay period. 
 (2)  An eligible employee accrues annual, sick, and holiday 
leave in proportion to the time paid as determined by DHRM. 
 (3)  An employee shall use leave in no less than quarter 
hour increments. 
 (4)  An employee may not use annual or sick leave before 
it is accrued.  Leave accrued during a pay period may not be used 
until the following pay period. 
 (5)  An employee may not use annual leave, converted sick 
leave used as annual leave, or use excess or compensatory hours 
without advance approval by management. 
 (6)  Management may not require employees to maintain a 
minimum balance of accrued leave. 
 (7)  An employee may not use any type of leave except 
military and jury leave to accrue excess hours. 
 (8)  Any leave used for purposes described in Subsection 
R477-7-4(2) is subject to the requirements of Subsections R477-7-
4(6) and (7). 
 (9)  An employee transferring from one agency to another 
retains any accrued annual, sick, and converted sick leave at the new 
agency. 
 ([9]10)  [An agency]Management shall make a lump sum 
payment to an employee separating from state service for: 
 (a)  annual leave hours; 
 (b)  excess leave hours; 
 (c)  compensatory hours earned by a FLSA non-exempt 
employee; and 
 (d)  converted sick leave if the employee is not retiring 
under Title 49, Utah State Retirement and Insurance Benefit Act. 

 (1[0]1)  Management may not approve the use of leave 
after an employee's last day worked except for: 
 (a)  leave without pay; 
 (b)  administrative leave; 
 (c)  leave granted under the FMLA; or 
 (d)  leave granted for other medical or pregnancy related 
reasons that [was]management approved [prior to]before the 
commencement of the leave period. 
 (1[1]2)  Management may separate an employee from 
employment after 18 workweeks cumulative leave in a 24 month 
period regardless of paid leave status unless prohibited by state or 
federal law.  This rule incorporates by reference 29 CFR 825.205 
(March 21, 2021) for purposes of calculating workweeks.  The 
agency head shall make the decision to separate the employee in 
consultation with DHRM. 
 (1[2]3)  [An agency]Management may not pay 
contributions to benefits on cashed out leave, other than FICA tax, 
except as it applies to converted sick leave in Subsection R477-7-5(2) 
and the retirement benefit in Section R477-7-6. 
 
R477-7-2.  Holiday Leave. 
 (1)  The following dates are paid holidays for eligible 
employees: 
 (a)  New Year's Day -- January 1; 
 (b)  Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day -- third Monday of 
January; 
 (c)  Washington and Lincoln Day -- third Monday of 
February; 
 (d)  Memorial Day -- last Monday of May; 
 (e)  Juneteenth -- observed as follows: 
 (i)  June 19 if that day is on a Monday; 
 (ii)  If June 19 is on a Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, or 
Friday, the holiday is observed on the immediately preceding 
Monday; or 
 (iii)  If June 19 is on a Saturday or Sunday, the holiday is 
observed on the immediately following Monday. 
 ([e]f)  Independence Day -- July 4; 
 ([f]g)  Pioneer Day -- July 24; 
 ([g]h)  Labor Day -- first Monday of September; 
 ([h]i)  Columbus Day -- second Monday of October; 
 ([i]j)  Veterans' Day -- November 11; 
 ([j]k)  Thanksgiving Day -- fourth Thursday of November; 
 ([k]l)  Christmas Day -- December 25; and 
 ([l]m)  any other day designated as a paid holiday by the 
Governor. 
 (2)  If a holiday falls or is observed on a regularly scheduled 
day off, management shall grant an eligible employee equivalent time 
off or excess hours, not to exceed eight hours. 
 (a)  Except as described in Subsection (1)(e), [I]if a holiday 
falls on a Sunday, the following Monday shall be observed as a 
holiday. 
 (b)  Except as described in Subsection (1)(e), [I]if a holiday 
falls on a Saturday, the preceding Friday shall be observed as a 
holiday. 
 (3)  If an employee is required to work on an observed 
holiday, management shall grant the employee appropriate holiday 
leave or excess hours. 
 (4)  Management may not grant holiday pay to a new hire 
before the employee is in a paid status. 
 (5)  Management may not grant holiday pay to a separating 
employee unless the employee is in a paid status on or after the 
holiday. 
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R477-7-3.  Annual Leave. 
 (1)  An eligible employee shall accrue leave based on the 
following years of [benefits-eligible]benefits eligible state service: 
 (a)  less than [5]five years -- four hours per pay period; 
 (b)  at least [5]five and less than [10]ten years -- five hours 
per pay period; 
 (c)  at least [10]ten and less than 20 years -- six hours per 
pay period; or 
 (d)  20 years or more -- seven hours per pay period. 
 (2)  The following employees shall accrue seven hours of 
annual leave per pay period, effective from the day the employee is 
appointed through the duration of the appointment: 
 (a)  schedule AB employees; 
 (b)  agency deputy directors; 
 (c)  division directors appointed to career service exempt 
positions; and 
 (d)  an employee who is schedule A, FLSA exempt, and 
who has a direct reporting relationship to an executive director, 
deputy director, commissioner, or board. 
 (3)  The accrual rate for an employee rehired to a position 
which receives leave benefits shall be based on any eligible 
employment in which the employee accrued leave. 
 (4)  The first eight hours of annual leave used by an 
employee in the calendar leave year shall be the employee's personal 
preference day. 
 (5)  [Agency m]Management may not restrict the use of 
annual leave used in a calendar year to less than the amount the 
employee accrues in the year. 
 (6)  An employee forfeits unused accrued annual leave time 
[in excess of]exceeding 320 hours during year end processing for 
each calendar year. 
 
R477-7-4.  Sick Leave. 
 (1)  An eligible employee accrues sick leave, not to exceed 
four hours per pay period. Sick leave accrues without limit. 
 (2)  [Agency m]Management may approve the use of sick 
leave for: 
 (a)  preventive health and dental care; 
 (b)  maternity; 
 (c)  paternity; 
 (d)  adoption care; or 
 (e)  absence from duty because of illness, injury, or 
disability of: 
 (i)  the employee; 
 (ii)  a spouse; 
 (iii)  children; 
 (iv)  parents; 
 (v)  an individual for whom the employee is a legal 
guardian; or 
 (vi)  a qualifying FMLA purpose. 
 (3)  Agency management may approve the use of sick leave 
for other unique medical situations. 
 (4)  When management approves the use of sick leave, an 
employee may use any combination of Program I, Program II, and 
Program III sick leave. 
 (5)  An employee shall contact management [prior 
to]before the beginning of the scheduled workday the employee is 
absent due to illness or injury. 
 (6)  Management shall require an employee to produce 
administratively acceptable evidence to support any request for [sick 
]leave to cover an absence that exceeds three consecutive working 
days. 

 (7)  Management may require an employee to produce 
administratively acceptable evidence regardless of the number of 
[sick]leave hours used for the reasons in Subsection (2) or (3) if there 
is reason to believe that an employee is using [sick]the leave for 
reasons not listed in Subsection[s] (2) [and]or (3). 
 (8)  An employee separating from state employment 
forfeits any unused sick leave without compensation unless the leave 
is utilized for the sick leave retirement benefit under Section R477-
7-6. 
 (a)  Management shall reinstate forfeited sick leave when 
an employee is rehired into a benefited position within one year of 
separation due to a reduction in force.  Sick leave shall be reinstated 
as Program I, Program II, and Program III as accrued [prior to]before 
the reduction in force. 
 (b)  Management shall reinstate forfeited sick leave when 
an employee is appointed to a benefits eligible position within one 
year of leaving a benefits eligible position for reasons other than a 
reduction in force.  Reinstated sick leave shall be Program III sick 
leave. 
 (c)  Management may not reinstate forfeited sick leave 
when an employee retires from state service under Title 49, Utah 
State Retirement and Insurance Benefit Act and is rehired. 
 
R477-7-5.  Converted Sick Leave. 
 (1)  An employee may not accrue converted sick leave 
hours on or after January 3, 2014. Converted sick leave hours accrued 
before January 3, 2014 may be used for retirement under Subsection 
R477-7-5(6) or cashed out if the employee leaves employment. 
 (a)  Converted sick leave hours accrued [prior to]before 
January 1, 2006 shall remain Program I converted sick leave hours. 
 (b)  Converted sick leave hours accrued after January 1, 
2006 shall remain Program II converted sick leave hours. 
 (2)  An employee may use converted sick leave as annual 
leave or as regular sick leave. 
 (3)  When management approves the use of converted sick 
leave, an employee may use any combination of Program I and 
Program II converted sick leave. 
 (4)  Employees retiring from LTD who have converted sick 
leave balances still intact may use these hours for the unused 
converted sick leave retirement program [at the time]when they 
become eligible for retirement. 
 (5)  Upon retirement under Title 49, Utah State Retirement 
and Insurance Benefit Act, management shall place 25% of the value 
of an employee's unused converted sick leave, but not to exceed 
Internal Revenue Service limitations, in the employee's 401(k) 
account as an employer contribution. 
 (a)  Management shall place converted sick leave hours 
from Program II in the 401(k) account before hours from Program I. 
 (b)  The employee may use any remaining converted sick 
leave for: 
 (i)  the purchase of health care insurance and life insurance 
under Subsection R477-7-6(3)(a) if the converted sick leave was 
accrued in Program I ; or 
 (ii)  a contribution into the employee's PEHP health 
reimbursement account under Subsection R477-7-6(6)(b) if the 
converted sick leave was accrued in Program II. 
 (6)  Upon retirement under Title 49, Utah State Retirement 
and Insurance Benefit Act, an employee may not suspend or defer for 
future use any Program I converted sick leave hours. This includes 
retired employees who reemploy with the state and choose to suspend 
their defined benefit payments and employees participating in phased 
retirement. 
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R477-7-6.  Sick Leave Retirement Benefit. 
 Upon retirement from active employment or LTD under 
Title 49, Utah State Retirement and Insurance Benefit Act, including 
when a retirement eligible employee passes away, management shall 
grant an employee or surviving spouse an unused sick leave 
retirement benefit under Sections 63A-17-507 and 63A-17-508. 
 (1)  An employee in the Tier I retirement system or the Tier 
II hybrid retirement system becomes eligible for this benefit when 
actively retiring under Title 49, Utah State Retirement and Insurance 
Benefit Act. 
 (2)  An employee in the Tier II defined contribution system 
becomes eligible when terminating employment on or after the 
retirement date established by the Utah Retirement Systems.  This 
date reflects service time accrued by the employee as if the employee 
were in the Tier II hybrid retirement system. 
 (3)(a)  Sick leave hours accrued [prior to]before January 1, 
2006 shall be Program I sick leave hours. 
 (b)  Sick leave hours accrued on or after January 1, 2006, 
but before January 4, 2014, shall be Program II sick leave hours. 
 (c)  Sick leave hours accrued on or after January 4, 2014, 
shall be Program III sick leave hours, which shall have no benefit 
upon retirement. 
 (4)  [An agency]Management may offer the Unused Sick 
Leave Retirement Option Program I to an employee who is eligible 
to receive retirement benefits.  Any decision whether or not to 
participate in this program shall be agency wide and shall be 
consistent through an entire fiscal year.  If [an agency]management 
decides to withdraw for the next fiscal year after initially deciding to 
participate, [the agency]management shall notify its employees at 
least 60 days before the new fiscal year begins. 
 (5)  The Unused Sick Leave Retirement Options Program I 
provides an employee in a participating agency the following benefit. 
 (a)  Management shall place 25% of the value of the unused 
sick leave and converted sick leave, but not to exceed Internal 
Revenue Service limitations, in the employee's 401(k) account as an 
employer contribution. 
 (b)  Management shall place sick leave hours from Program 
II in the employee's 401(k) account before hours from Program I. 
 (c)  After the 401(k) contribution, management shall use 
the remaining Program I sick leave hours and converted sick leave 
hours from Subsection R477-7-5(5)(b)(i) to provide the following 
benefit: 
 (i)  The purchase of PEHP health insurance, or a state 
approved program, and life insurance coverage for the employee until 
the employee reaches the age eligible for Medicare. 
 (A)  Health insurance is the same or lower level than the 
level[plan] the employee has [at the time of retirement]when they 
retire pursuant to Section 63A-17-507. 
 (B)  The purchase rate is eight hours of sick leave or 
converted sick leave for the state paid portion of one month's 
premium. 
 (C)  The employee shall pay the same percentage of the 
premium as a current employee on the same plan.  The premium 
amount shall be determined from the approved PEHP retiree rate and 
not the active employee rates. 
 (D)  The life insurance provided is the minimum authorized 
coverage provided for state employees [at the time]when the 
employee retires. 
 (ii)  When the employee becomes eligible for Medicare, the 
employee may purchase a Medicare supplement policy provided by 
PEHP at the rate of eight hours of sick leave or converted sick leave 
for one month's premium. 

 (iii)  When the employee becomes eligible for Medicare, 
the employee may purchase a PEHP health insurance policy, or 
another state approved policy, for a spouse until the spouse is eligible 
for Medicare. 
 (A)  The purchase rate is eight hours of sick leave or 
converted sick leave for one month's premium. 
 (B)  The employee shall pay the same percentage of the 
premium as a current employee on the same plan.  The premium 
amount shall be determined from the approved PEHP retiree rate and 
not the active employee rates. 
 (iv)  When the spouse reaches the age eligible for Medicare, 
the employee may purchase a Medicare supplement policy provided 
by PEHP for the spouse at the rate of eight hours of sick leave or 
converted sick leave for one month's premium. 
 (v)  In the event an employee is killed in the line of duty, 
the employee's spouse is eligible to use the employee's available sick 
leave hours for the purchase of additional medical coverage under 
Section 63A-17-804. 
 (d)  Employees retiring from LTD who have sick leave 
balances still intact may use these hours for the unused sick leave 
retirement program [at the time]when they become eligible for 
retirement. 
 (e)  Upon retirement under Title 49, Utah State Retirement 
and Insurance Benefit Act, an employee may not suspend or defer for 
future use any Program I sick leave hours. This includes retired 
employees who reemploy with the state and choose to suspend their 
defined benefit payments and employees participating in phased 
retirement. 
 (6)  The Unused Sick Leave Retirement Option Program II 
provides an employee the following benefit: 
 (a)  Management shall place 25% of the value of the unused 
sick leave and converted sick leave, but not to exceed Internal 
Revenue Service limitations, in the employee's 401(k) account as an 
employer contribution. 
 (b)  After the 401(k) contribution, management shall 
deposit the remaining sick leave hours and the converted sick leave 
hours from Subsection R477-7-5(5)(b)(ii) in the employee's PEHP 
health reimbursement account at the greater of: 
 (i)  the employee's rate of pay at retirement; or 
 (ii)  the average rate of pay of state employees who retired 
in the same retirement system in the previous calendar year. 
 (c)  A retired employee who is reemployed in a benefited 
position with the state is not eligible for a benefit calculated on any 
Program II sick leave hours unless: 
 (i)  the employee voluntarily suspends their pension; 
 (ii)  the employee was separated for one year or more; 
 (iii)  the employee was reemployed before January 2, 2014; 
and 
 (iv)  the employee works for two years or more after 
reemployment to receive this benefit. 
 (7)  A retired employee who is reemployed in a benefited 
position with the state after January 3, 2014 accrues Program III sick 
leave, which has no benefit upon subsequent retirement. 
 
R477-7-7.  Administrative Leave. 
 (1)  Management may grant administrative leave to any 
employee consistent with agency policy for the following reasons: 
 (a)  administrative; 
 (i)  governor approved holiday leave; 
 (ii)  during management decisions that benefit the 
organization; 
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 (iii)  when no work is available due to unavoidable 
conditions or influences; or 
 (iv)  other reasons consistent with agency policy; 
 (b)  protected; 
 (i)  suspension with pay pending hearing results; 
 (ii)  personnel [decision making]decision-making [prior 
to]before discipline; 
 (iii)  removal from adverse or hostile work environment 
situations; 
 (iv)  fitness for duty or employee assistance; or 
 (v)  other reasons consistent with agency policy; 
 (c)  reward in lieu of cash; 
 (i)  the agency head or designee may grant paid 
administrative leave up to one day per occurrence; 
 (ii)  management may not grant administrative leave [in 
excess of]exceeding one day without written approval from the 
agency head; 
 (iii)  management may not grant more than 40 hours of 
administrative leave as a reward in lieu of cash; 
 (iv)  management may grant administrative leave as a 
reward in lieu of cash to employees of another agency if both agency 
heads agree in advance; or 
 (d)  employee education assistance. 
 (2)  Management shall grant an employee up to two hours 
of administrative leave to vote in an official election if the employee 
has fewer than three total hours off the job between the time the polls 
open and close, and the employee applies for the leave at least 24 
hours in advance.  Management may specify the hours when the 
employee may be absent. 
 (3)  Management shall include employees who are on leave 
under the FMLA or military leave under USERRA in a grant of 
administrative leave for non-performance based purposes if the leave 
would have been given had the employee been in a working status. 
 (4)  With the exception of administrative leave used as a 
reward under Subsection R477-7-7(1)(c), only the agency head or 
designee may grant paid administrative leave. 
 (5)  Administrative leave taken shall be documented in the 
employee's leave record. 
 (6)  Administrative leave is not an employee right and 
management may grant it disparately within its workforce depending 
on agency needs. 
 
R477-7-8.  Witness and Jury Leave. 
 (1)  An employee is entitled to a leave of absence from a 
regularly scheduled work day with full pay when, in obedience to a 
subpoena or direction by proper authority, the employee [is required 
to]shall: 
 (a)  appear as a witness as part of the employee's position 
for the federal government, the State of Utah, or a political 
subdivision of the state; 
 (b)  serve as a witness in a grievance hearing under Section 
63A-17-602 and Title 67, Chapter 19a, Grievance Procedures; or 
 (c)  serve on a jury. 
 (2)  An employee on jury leave may accrue excess hours in 
the same pay period during which the jury leave is used. 
 (3)  An employee choosing to use accrued leave while on 
jury duty [is entitled to]may keep juror's fees; 
 (4)  An employee who chooses to take a leave of absence 
from a regularly scheduled work day with full pay while on jury duty 
shall return any juror's fee to agency finance or agency payroll staff 
for deposit with the State Treasurer. 

 (5)  An employee may not use work time or witness and 
jury leave when absent [in order ]to litigate matters unrelated to state 
employment. 
 
R477-7-9.  Bereavement Leave. 
 Management may grant [a maximum of]at least three work 
days of bereavement leave per occurrence with pay following the 
death of a member of the employee's immediate family.  Management 
may not charge bereavement leave against an employee's accrued 
sick or annual leave. 
 (1)  "Immediate Family" means relatives of the employee 
or spouse including in-laws, step-relatives, or equivalent relationship 
as follows: 
 (a)  spouse; 
 (b)  parents; 
 (c)  siblings; 
 (d)  children; 
 (e)  any level of grandparents; or 
 (f)  any level of grandchildren. 
 (2)  [Agency m]Management may grant bereavement leave 
for other unique family relationships. 
 (3)  Management shall grant at least three work days of 
bereavement leave to an employee when a pregnancy ends in 
stillbirth or miscarriage under the conditions set forth in Section 63A-
17-106. 
 
R477-7-10.  Military Leave. 
 Under Section 39-3-2, management shall grant up to 120 
hours of paid military leave each calendar year to a benefited or non-
benefited employee who is a member of the National Guard or 
Military Reserves and is on official military orders.  Military leave 
for part-time employees is prorated to be no more than the average 
hours worked in the last 12 months, or if employed less than 12 
months, the average hours worked since the date of hire. 
 (1)  An eligible employee may use any combination of 
military leave, accrued leave, or leave without pay under Section 
R477-7-13. 
 (2)  An eligible employee may only use accrued sick leave 
if the reason for leave meets the conditions in Section R477-7-4. 
 (3)  An employee on military leave is eligible for any 
service awards or non-performance administrative leave the 
employee would otherwise be eligible to receive. 
 (4)  An employee shall notify management of official 
military orders as soon as possible. 
 (5)  Upon an employee's release from official military 
orders under honorable conditions, management shall place the 
employee in a position in the following order of priority. 
 (a)  If the period of service was for less than 91 days, 
management shall place the employee: 
 (i)  in the same position the employee held on the date of 
the commencement of the service in the uniformed services; or 
 (ii)  in the same position the employee would have held if 
the continuous employment of the employee had not been interrupted 
by the service. 
 (b)  If the period of service was for more than 90 days, 
management shall place the employee: 
 (i)  in a position of like seniority, status, and salary, of the 
position the employee held on the date of the commencement of the 
service in the uniformed services; or 
 (ii)  in a position of like seniority, status, and salary the 
employee would have held if the continuous employment of the 
employee had not been interrupted by the service. 
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 (c)  When a disability is incurred or aggravated while on 
official military orders, the employing agency shall adhere to the 
Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act, 38 
U.S.C. 4301, et seq. 
 (d)  An employee is entitled to reemployment rights and 
benefits including increased pension and leave accrual to which the 
employee would have been entitled had the employee not been absent 
due to military service.  An employee entering military leave may 
elect to have payment for annual leave deferred. 
 (6)  [In order to]To be reemployed, an employee shall 
present evidence of military service, and: 
 (a)  for service less than 31 days, return at the beginning of 
the next regularly scheduled work period on the first full day after 
release from service unless impossible or unreasonable through no 
fault of the employee; 
 (b)  for service of more than 30 days but less than 181 days, 
submit a request for reemployment within 14 days of release from 
service, unless impossible or unreasonable through no fault of the 
employee; or 
 (c)  for service of more than 180 days, submit a request for 
reemployment within 90 days of release from service. 
 
R477-7-11.  Disaster Relief Volunteer Leave. 
 (1)  An agency head or designee may grant an employee 
leave from work with pay for an aggregate of 15 working days in any 
12-month period to participate in disaster relief services for a non-
governmental disaster relief organization.  An employee is not 
eligible for disaster relief volunteer leave unless they are certified as 
a disaster relief volunteer and file a written request with the 
employing agency. The request shall include: 
 (a)  a copy of a written request for the employee's services 
from an official of the disaster relief organization; 
 (b)  the anticipated duration of the absence; 
 (c)  the type of service the employee is to provide; and 
 (d)  the nature and location of the disaster where the 
employee's services will be provided. 
 (2)  Management may not dismiss an employee who is 
absent from or late to work if the absence or tardiness was a result of 
the employee acting as an emergency services volunteer as defined 
in Section 34-55-102. 
 (a)  Management may request a written statement to verify 
the employee's status as an emergency services volunteer. 
 (b)  An emergency services volunteer is not entitled to paid 
leave except as provided in Subsection (1), but may use their own 
accrued leave or leave without pay. 
 
R477-7-12.  Organ Donor Leave. 
 Management shall grant an employee who serves as a bone 
marrow or human organ donor paid leave for the donation and 
recovery as follows: 
 (1)  up to seven days of paid leave for donation of bone 
marrow; and 
 (2)  up to 30 days of paid leave for donation of a human 
organ. 
 
R477-7-13.  Leave [of Absence ]Without Pay. 
 (1)  An employee shall apply in writing to [agency 
]management and receive management's approval before taking [a 
]leave [of absence ]without pay. 
 (2)  Management may not grant leave without pay unless 
the employee is expected to return to work. 

 (3)  Management may deny a request for leave [of absence 
]without pay when documentation from one or more qualified 
healthcare providers clearly establishes that the employee has a 
permanent condition preventing the employee from returning to the 
last held regular position unless by state or federal law requires the 
leave to be granted. 
 (4)  An employee who receives no compensation for a 
complete pay period shall be responsible for payment of the full 
premium of state provided benefits. 
 (5)  Management shall place an employee who returns to 
work on or before the expiration of leave without pay in a position 
with comparable pay and seniority to the previously held position. 
 (6)  Upon request, an employee who is granted this leave 
shall provide a monthly return to work status update to the 
employee's supervisor. 
 
R477-7-14.  Furlough. 
 [Agency m]Management may furlough employees as a 
means of saving salary costs in lieu of or in addition to a reduction in 
force.  The agency head shall approve furlough plans subject to the 
following conditions: 
 (1)  Furlough hours count for purposes of annual, sick, and 
holiday leave accrual. 
 (2)  [The agency]Management pays for any state paid 
benefits: 
 (a)  at the full rate for benefits with fixed costs, regardless 
of how many days an employee is furloughed; and 
 (b)  as a percentage of actual wages for benefits paid as a 
percentage of actual wages, including a pay period with no actual 
wages. 
 (3)  An employee who is furloughed is responsible to pay 
the employee portion of any benefits. Voluntary benefits remain 
entirely at the employee's expense. 
 (4)  An employee shall return to the current position. 
 (5)  Management shall apply the furlough equitably to any 
person in a given class, program staff, or organization. 
 
R477-7-15.  Family and Medical Leave. 
 (1)  An eligible employee may take up to 12 workweeks of 
family and medical leave each calendar year for any of the following 
qualifying reasons: 
 (a)  birth of a child; 
 (b)  adoption of a child; 
 (c)  placement of a foster child; 
 (d)  a serious health condition of the employee; 
 (e)  care of a spouse, child, or parent with a serious medical 
condition; or 
 (f)  a qualifying exigency arising as a result of a spouse, 
son, daughter or parent being on active duty or having been notified 
of an impending call or order to active duty in the Armed Forces. 
 (2)  An eligible employee may take up to 26 workweeks of 
family and medical leave during a 12-month period to care for a 
spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin who is a covered 
servicemember as defined by the National Defense Authorization 
Act. 
 (3)  An employee on FMLA leave continues to receive the 
same health insurance benefits the employee was receiving [prior 
to]before the commencement of FMLA leave provided the employee 
pays the employee share of the health insurance premium. 
 (4)  An employee on FMLA leave receives any 
administrative leave given for non-performance based reasons if the 
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leave would have been given had the employee been in a working 
status. 
 (5)  An employee is eligible for family and medical leave 
when the employee: 
 (a)  has been employed by the state for at least 12 months; 
and 
 (b)  has worked 1,250 hours or more, as determined under 
FMLA, during the 12-month period immediately preceding the 
commencement of leave. 
 (6)  To request FMLA leave, the employee or an 
appropriate spokesperson shall notify management of the need for 
leave: 
 (a)  thirty days in advance for foreseeable needs; or 
 (b)  as soon as practicable in emergencies. 
 (7)  An employee may use accrued annual leave, sick leave, 
converted sick leave, excess hours and compensatory time [prior 
to]before going into leave without pay status for the designated 
period of family and medical leave. 
 (a)  An employee who chooses to use accrued annual leave, 
sick leave, converted sick leave, excess hours, and compensatory 
time [prior to]before going into leave without pay status for the 
family and medical leave period shall notify the [agency]direct 
supervisor. 
 (b)  If an employee fails to notify the [agency]direct 
supervisor under this [Subsection]subsection, accrued leave will be 
used to pay the employee's payroll deductions in the following order: 
 (i)  first, Program III sick leave; 
 (ii)  second, compensatory time, excess leave, or annual 
leave; and 
 (iii)  third, converted sick leave, Program II sick leave, or 
Program I sick leave. 
 (8)  When an employee chooses to use FMLA leave, [the 
employing agency]management shall designate as FMLA leave any 
absences related to that qualifying event which occurred when the 
employee was eligible for FMLA. 
 (9)  An FMLA eligible employee with a serious health 
condition covered under workers' compensation may use FMLA 
leave concurrently with the workers' compensation benefit. 
 (10)  If an employee has gone into leave without pay status 
and fails to return to work after FMLA leave has ended, [an 
agency]management may recover, with certain exceptions under 29 
CFR 825.213, the health insurance premiums paid by [the 
agency]management on the employee's behalf.  An employee is 
considered to have returned to work if the employee returns for at 
least 30 calendar days. 
 (11)  When leave is taken after childbirth or placement of a 
healthy child for adoption or foster care, an employee may not take 
leave intermittently or on a reduced leave schedule unless the 
employer agrees. 
 (12)  Medical records created for purposes of FMLA and 
the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. 12102 are subject to 
the confidentiality requirements set forth in Section R477-2-5. 
 
R477-7-16.  Workers' Compensation Leave. 
 (1)  An employee may use accrued leave benefits to 
supplement the workers' compensation benefit. 
 (a)  The combination of leave benefit, wages, and workers 
compensation benefit may not exceed the employee's gross salary. 
 (b)  An employee may not use accrued leave to supplement 
the workers' compensation benefit when: 
 (i)  the employee is declared medically stable by a licensed 
medical authority; 

 (ii)  the workers compensation fund terminates the benefit; 
 (iii)  the employee refuses to accept appropriate 
employment offered by the state; or 
 (iv)  the employee is notified of approval for Long Term 
Disability or Social Security Disability benefits. 
 (c)  An employee shall refund to the state any accrued leave 
paid which exceeds the employee's gross salary for the period for 
which the benefit was received. 
 (2)  Workers' compensation hours count for purposes of 
annual, sick, and holiday leave accrual while the employee is 
receiving a workers' compensation [time loss]time-loss benefit for up 
to six months from the last day worked in the regular position. 
 (3)  Health insurance benefits continue for an employee on 
leave without pay while receiving workers' compensation benefits. 
The employee is responsible for the payment of the employee share 
of the premium. 
 (4)  If an employee [is able to]can return to work in the 
employee's regular position, [the agency]management shall place the 
employee in the previously held position or a similar position at a 
comparable salary range. 
 (5)  If an employee [is unable to]cannot return to work in 
the regular position, or if documentation from one or more qualified 
health care providers clearly establishes that the employee has a 
permanent condition preventing the employee from returning to the 
last held regular position, [the agency]management may separate the 
employee from state employment unless prohibited by state or 
federal law.  Exceptions may be granted by the agency head in 
consultation with DHRM. 
 (6)  Management shall take disciplinary action under Rule 
R477-11 when an employee files a fraudulent workers compensation 
claim. 
 
R477-7-17.  Long Term Disability Leave. 
 (1)  Upon approval of an LTD claim: 
 (a)  [An agency]Management shall [cease]stop biweekly 
salary payments to the employee. 
 (b)  [An agency]Management shall pay the employee for 
any remaining balances of annual leave, excess hours, and 
compensatory hours earned by FLSA non-exempt employees in a 
lump sum payment unless the employee requests in writing to receive 
it upon separation from state employment.  Upon return to work from 
an approved leave of absence, the employee may buy back annual 
leave at the current hourly rate. 
 (c)  An employee with a converted sick leave balance [at 
the time of]when they are approved for LTD [eligibility ]may choose 
to receive a lump sum payout of any part of the balance or to keep 
the balance intact to pay for health and life insurance upon retirement.  
The payout shall be at the employee's wage rate [at the time of]when 
they are approved for LTD[ eligibility]. 
 (d)  An employee who has been separated from state 
employment but retires under Title 49, Utah State Retirement and 
Insurance Benefit Act while receiving LTD may utilize unused sick 
leave for health and life insurance under Section R477-7-6 when the 
employee is otherwise eligible for the sick leave retirement benefit. 
 (2)  An employee in the Tier I retirement system shall 
continue to accrue service credit for retirement purposes while 
receiving long term disability benefits. 
 (3)  An employee who was not separated from employment 
may return to work following long term disability when they provide 
an administratively acceptable medical release allowing a return to 
work. 
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 (4)  Long term disability benefits are provided to eligible 
employees under Title 49, Chapter 21, Public Employees' Long-Term 
Disability Act. 
 
R477-7-18.  Disabled Law Enforcement Officer Amendments. 
 (1)  When a law enforcement officer or state correctional 
officer, as defined in Section 63A-17-512, is injured in the course of 
employment, as defined in Section 63A-17-512, management shall 
approve a leave of absence with 100% of the officer's regular monthly 
salary and benefits: 
 (a)  during the period the employee has a temporary 
disability; or 
 (b)  in the case of a total disability, until the employee is 
eligible for an unreduced retirement under Title 49, Utah State 
Retirement and Insurance Benefit Act or reaches the retirement age 
of 62 years, whichever occurs first. 
 (2)  The eligible employee shall disclose to [the 
agency]management any time-loss benefit amounts received by, or 
payable to, the employee, from outside sources, as soon as the 
employee is made aware.  These amounts do not include benefits 
received from sources in which the employee pays the full premium. 
 (3)  [The agency]Management shall apply Section R477-7-
16, workers compensation leave, and Section R477-7-17, long term 
disability leave rules first.  [The agency]Management then [must 
consider]adds any benefit amounts received under Subsection (2).  If 
the total of these benefits is less than 100% of the employee's monthly 
salary and benefits, [the agency]management shall make 
arrangements through payroll to pay the employee the difference. 
 (4)  DHRM shall work with the Division of Risk 
Management, Workers' Compensation, and the Public Employee's 
Health Program on a periodic and case-by-case basis to assure that 
eligible employees receive full benefits.  If at any time it is discovered 
that the employee is receiving less than 100% of their regular 
monthly salary and benefits, [the agency]management shall make up 
the difference to the employee. 
 (5)  If an employee discloses other time-loss benefits 
received under Subsection (2) after these additional payments by the 
agency have been made, the employee shall reimburse the agency for 
salary and benefits paid in overage. 
 
R477-7-19.  Leave Bank. 
 An agency head may approve the establishment of a leave 
bank program. 
 (1)  A leave bank program shall include an agency policy 
with the following provisions. 
 (a)  A statement that access to the leave bank is not an 
employee right and shall be authorized at management's discretion. 
 (b)  A requirement that any application for leave from the 
leave bank be supported by administratively acceptable medical 
documentation. 
 (c)  A provision prohibiting leave donors, supervisors, 
managers, or management teams from reviewing any employee's 
medical certifications or physician statements. 
 (d)  A requirement that an employee may not receive 
donated leave until any individually accrued leave is exhausted. 
 (e)  A statement that leave is accrued if an employee 
receives sick leave donated from an approved leave bank program. 
 (f)  A requirement that employees using donated leave 
request and receive written consent from the agency head to work a 
second job. 

 (g)  A statement that only compensatory time earned by an 
FLSA non-exempt employee, annual leave, excess hours, and 
converted sick leave hours may be donated to a leave bank. 
 (h)  A statement that only employees of agencies with 
approved leave bank programs may donate leave hours to another 
agency with a leave bank program and only if both agencies agree to 
allow the donation. 
 (2)  Any medical records created for leave bank program 
purposes are subject to the confidentiality requirements of Section 
R477-2-5. 
 
[R477-7-20.  Postpartum Recovery Leave. 
 Postpartum recovery leave means leave hours a state 
employer provides to an eligible employee to recover from childbirth. 
 (1)  An employee is eligible for postpartum recovery leave 
when: 
 (a)  the employee is eligible for benefits under Subsections 
R477-6-8(1) and R477-7-1(1); 
 (b)  the employee is not reemployed post-retirement as 
defined in Section 49-11-1202; 
 (c)  the employee gives birth to a child; and 
 (d)  the employee is not an employee of: 
 (i)  the State Board of Education; or 
 (ii)  an independent entity as defined in Section 63E-1-102. 
 (2)  Agency management shall grant up to three weeks of 
paid leave to an eligible employee who requests postpartum recovery 
leave. 
 (a)  Management shall calculate three weeks of paid leave 
based on the employee's normal work schedule, including normally 
scheduled work hours in excess of 40 hours per week. The amount of 
leave does not change if there are multiple births from a single 
pregnancy. 
 (b)  Postpartum recovery leave begins on the date the 
employee gives birth unless a health care provider certifies the 
medical necessity of an earlier start date. 
 (c)  An employee may not use postpartum recovery leave 
intermittently. 
 (d)  Postpartum recovery leave runs concurrently with 
leave under the Family Medical Leave Act. 
 (e)  Management may not charge postpartum recovery 
leave against any accrued leave balance on the employee's record. 
 (f)  To request postpartum recovery leave, the employee or 
an appropriate spokesperson notifies management of the need for 
leave: 
 (i)  thirty days in advance; or 
 (ii)  as soon as practicable in emergencies. 
 (3)  No person may interfere with an employee's intent to 
use postpartum recovery leave or retaliate against an employee who 
receives postpartum recovery leave.] 
R477-7-20.  Parental and Postpartum Recovery Leave. 
 (1)  An employee is eligible for parental or postpartum 
recovery leave when the employee: 
 (a)  is eligible for benefits under Subsections R477-6-8(1) 
and R477-7-1(1); 
 (b)  is not reemployed post retirement as defined in Section 
49-11-1202; and 
 (c)  is not an employee of: 
 (i)  the State Board of Education; or 
 (ii)  an independent entity as defined in Section 63E-1-102. 
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 (2)  An employee or a spokesperson shall notify 
management of their plan to use parental or postpartum recovery 
leave: 
 (a)  thirty days in advance; or 
 (b)  as soon as practicable in emergencies. 
 (3)  Management may not charge parental or postpartum 
recovery leave against any accrued leave balance on the employee's 
record. 
 (4)  No person may interfere with an employee's intent to 
use parental or postpartum recovery leave or retaliate against an 
employee who receives parental or postpartum recovery leave. 
 (5)  Parental leave is administered as follows: 
 (a)  An employee is qualified for parental leave when the 
employee: 
 (i)  is a birth parent as defined in Section 78B-6-103; 
 (ii)  legally adopts a minor child, unless the employee is the 
spouse of the pre-existing parent; 
 (iii)  is the intended parent of a child born under a validated 
gestational agreement; or 
 (iv)  is appointed the legal guardian of a minor child or 
incapacitated adult. 
 (b)  Management shall grant up to three weeks of paid 
parental leave to an employee who gives notice that they intend to 
use paid parental leave. 
 (c)  Management calculates the amount of leave for each 
employee based on the number of hours the employee would have 
worked per week if they had not taken parental leave. 
 (d)  An employee may use parental leave within the six 
months immediately following the qualifying event from Subsection 
(5)(a). 
 (e)  An employee may use parental leave intermittently 
when: 
 (i)  the employee and management have written mutual 
consent for intermittent use; or 
 (ii)  a health care provider certifies the need for intermittent 
leave due to the child's serious health condition. 
 (f)  Parental leave: 
 (i)  runs concurrently with leave under the FMLA; 
 (ii)  runs consecutively with postpartum recovery leave 
pursuant to Subsection (6)(f)(ii); 
 (iii)  is limited to three weeks within any 12-month period; 
 (iv)  does not increase when: 
 (A)  more than one child is born from the same pregnancy; 
 (B)  more than one child is adopted; 
 (C)  the employee is appointed legal guardian of more than 
one minor child or incapacitated adult. 
 (6)  Postpartum recovery leave is administered as follows: 
 (a)  An employee is qualified for postpartum recovery leave 
when the employee gives birth. 
 (b)  Management shall grant up to three weeks of paid 
postpartum recovery leave to an employee who gives notice that they 
intend to use paid postpartum recovery leave. 
 (c)  Management calculates the amount of leave for each 
employee based on the number of hours the employee would have 
worked per week if they had not taken postpartum recovery leave. 
 (d)  Postpartum recovery leave begins on the date the 
employee gives birth unless a health care provider certifies the 
medical necessity of an earlier start date. 
 (e)  An employee shall use postpartum recovery leave in a 
single continuous period. 
 (f)  Postpartum recovery leave: 
 (i)  runs concurrently with leave under the FMLA; 

 (ii)  runs consecutively with parental leave under 
Subsection (5) with postpartum recovery leave used first pursuant to 
restrictions in Subsection (d); and 
 (iii)  does not increase when more than one child is born 
from the same pregnancy. 
 
KEY:  holidays, leave benefits, vacations 
Date of Last Change:  2022[December 23, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34-43-103; 
39-3-1; 63G-1-301; 63A-17-106; 63A-17-504; 63A-17-505 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-8 Filing ID 
54563 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-8.  Working Conditions 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying changes and 
minor changes to match changes made to definitions in 
Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 in this 
issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes and correct rules styling errors. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 

branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 34A-2-114 Section 

63A-17-106 
Section 
63A-17-602 

Section 20A-3-103   
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Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-8.  Working Conditions. 
R477-8-1.  Workweek. 
 (1)  The state's standard workweek begins Saturday at 
[12:00 a.m.]midnight and ends the following Friday at 11:59 p.m.  
FLSA non-exempt employees may not deviate from this workweek. 
 (2)  State offices are typically open Monday through Friday 
from 8[:00] a.m. to 5[:00] p.m.  [Agencies]Management may adopt 
alternative business hours under Section 67-25-201. 
 (3)  [Agency m]Management shall establish work 
schedules and may approve a flexible starting and ending time for an 
employee as long as scheduling is consistent with [overtime 
provisions of ]Section R477-8-4. 
 (4)  An employee [is required to]shall work the assigned 
schedule and be at work on time.  When an employee is late, 
regardless of the reason, including inclement weather, management 
may require the employee to use accrued leave, leave without pay, or 
adjust their work schedule to account for the lost time. 
 (5)  An employee's time worked is calculated in increments 
of 15 minutes.  This rule incorporates by reference 29 CFR 785.48 
(2012) for rounding practices when calculating time worked. 
 
R477-8-2.  Telework. 
 Telework is [an agency]a management option, not a 
universal employee benefit.  [Agencies]Management utilizing a 
telework program shall: 
 (1)  establish a written policy governing telework; 
 (2)  enter into a written agreement with each participating 
employee to specify conditions, such as use of state or personal 
equipment, protecting confidential information, and results such as 
identifiable benefits to the state and how customer needs are being 
met; 
 (3)  require participating employees to comply with 
overtime rules; 
 (4)  prohibit compensation for normal commute time; and 
 (5)  document telework authorization. 
 

R477-8-3.  Lunch, Break, and Exercise Release Periods. 
 (1)  Management may require each full time work day to 
include a minimum of 30 minutes non-compensated lunch period.  
An employee's lunch period may not be at the beginning or end of 
their work day. 
 (2)  An employee may take a 15 minute compensated break 
period for every four hours worked.  Break periods may not be 
accumulated to accommodate a shorter work day or longer lunch 
period. 
 (3)  Management may allow compensated exercise release 
time up to three days per week for 30 minutes. 
 (a)  Management in participating[Participating] agencies 
shall have a written policy regarding exercise release time. 
 (b)  Work time exercise that is a bona fide job requirement 
is not subject to this section. 
 (4)  Management shall document authorization for exercise 
time in [the Utah Performance Management system]writing. 
 (5)  As requested and after consultation with an employee, 
management shall grant reasonable, daily break periods for the first 
year following the birth of a child to allow an employee to express 
breast milk for her child.  Management shall provide: 
 (a)  a private location, other than a restroom; and 
 (b)  appropriate temporary storage for expressed milk. 
 
R477-8-4.  Overtime Standards. 
 The state's policy for overtime is adopted and incorporated 
from the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C. 201, et seq., 29 
CFR Parts 500 to 899(2002), and Section 63A-17-502. 
 (1)  Management may direct an employee to work 
overtime.  [Each]Management in each agency shall develop internal 
[rules]policies and procedures to ensure overtime usage is efficient 
and economical.  These policies and procedures shall include: 
 (a)  prior supervisory approval for any overtime worked; 
 (b)  recordkeeping guidelines for any overtime worked; and 
 (c)  verification of sufficient funding in the budget to 
compensate employees for overtime worked. 
 (2)  Overtime compensation designations are identified for 
each job title in the human resource information system as either 
FLSA non-exempt or FLSA exempt.  An employee may appeal the 
FLSA designation to the agency human resource field office.  Further 
appeals may be filed directly with the United States Department of 
Labor, Wage and Hour Division.  Sections 63A-17-602, 67-19a-301, 
and Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act may not be 
applied for FLSA appeals purposes. 
 (3)  An FLSA non-exempt employee may not work more 
than 40 hours a week without management approval.  Overtime 
accrues when the employee actually works more than 40 hours a 
week.  Leave and holiday time taken within the work period are not 
hours worked when calculating overtime accrual.  Hours worked over 
two or more weeks may not be averaged with the exception of certain 
types of law enforcement, fire protection, and correctional 
employees. 
 (4)  [Agency m]Management shall arrange for an 
employee's use of compensatory time as soon as possible without 
unduly disrupting agency operations or endangering public health, 
safety, or property. 
 
R477-8-5.  Compensatory Time for FLSA Non-Exempt 
Employees. 
 (1)  An FLSA non-exempt employee shall sign a prior 
overtime agreement authorizing management to compensate the 
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employee for overtime worked by actual payment or accrual of 
compensatory time at time and [one half]one-half. 
 (a)  An FLSA non-exempt employee may receive 
compensatory time for overtime up to a maximum of 80 hours.  Only 
with prior approval of the Division Director, DHRM, may 
compensatory time accrue up to 240 hours for regular employees or 
up to 480 hours for peace or correctional officers, emergency, or 
seasonal employees.  Once an employee reaches the maximum, 
management shall pay any additional overtime on the payday for the 
period in which it was earned. 
 (b)  Management shall pay compensatory time balances for 
an FLSA non-exempt employee down to zero at the rate of pay in the 
old position in the same pay period that the employee is: 
 (i)  transferred from one agency to a different agency; or 
 (ii)  promoted, reclassified, reassigned, or transferred to an 
FLSA exempt position. 
 
R477-8-6.  Compensatory Time for FLSA Exempt Employees. 
 (1)  An FLSA exempt employee may not work more than 
80 hours in a pay period without management approval. 
Compensatory time accrues when the employee actually works more 
than 80 hours in a work period.  Leave and holiday time taken within 
the work period are not hours worked when calculating 
compensatory time.  [Each agency]Management shall compensate an 
FLSA exempt employee who works overtime by granting time off.  
For each hour of overtime worked, an FLSA exempt employee 
accrues an hour of compensatory time. 
 (a)  [Agencies]Management shall establish in written 
policy a uniform overtime year either for the agency as a whole or by 
unit number and communicate it to employees.  Overtime years shall 
be set at one of the following pay periods: Five, Ten, Fifteen, Twenty, 
or the last pay period of the calendar year. If [an agency]management 
fails to establish a uniform overtime year, the Division Director, 
DHRM, and the Director of Finance, Department of Government 
Operations, will establish the date for the agency as the last pay 
period of the calendar year.  [An agency]Management may change 
the established overtime year only after the current overtime year has 
lapsed, unless justifiable reasons exist and the Division Director, 
DHRM, has granted a written exception. 
 (b)  The limit on compensatory time accrued by an FLSA 
exempt employee may not be less than 80 hours. 
 (i)  Any compensatory time earned by an FLSA exempt 
employee over the limit shall be paid out in the pay period it is earned. 
 (c)  Any compensatory time earned by an FLSA exempt 
employee is not an entitlement, a benefit, nor a vested right. 
 (d)  Any compensatory time earned by an FLSA exempt 
employee shall lapse upon occurrence of any one of the following 
events: 
 (i)  at the end of the employee's established overtime year; 
 (ii)  upon assignment to another agency; 
 (iii)  change in FLSA status to non-exempt; or 
 (iv)  when an employee terminates, retires, or otherwise 
does not return to work before the end of the overtime year. 
 
R477-8-7.  Non-Exempt Public Safety Personnel. 
 (1)  To be considered for overtime compensation under this 
rule, a law enforcement or correctional officer shall: 
 (a)  be a uniformed or plain clothes sworn officer; 
 (b)  be empowered by statute or local ordinance to enforce 
laws designed to maintain public peace and order, to protect life and 
property from accidental or willful injury, and to prevent and detect 
crimes; 

 (c)  have the power to arrest; 
 (d)  be POST certified or scheduled for POST training; and 
 (e)  perform over 80% law enforcement duties. 
 (2)  [Agencies]Management shall select one of the 
following maximum work hour thresholds to determine when 
overtime compensation is granted to law enforcement or correctional 
officers designated FLSA non-exempt and covered under this rule: 
 (a)  171 hours in a work period of 28 consecutive days; or 
 (b)  86 hours in a work period of 14 consecutive days. 
 (3)  [Agencies]Management shall select one of the 
following maximum work hour thresholds to determine when 
overtime compensation is granted to fire protection employees: 
 (a)  212 hours in a work period of 28 consecutive days; or 
 (b)  106 hours in a work period of 14 consecutive days. 
 (4)  [Agencies]Management may designate a lesser 
threshold in a 14 day or 28 day consecutive work period as long as it 
conforms to the following: 
 (a)  Section 207(k), Fair Labor Standards Act; 
 (b)  29 CFR 553.230; 
 (c)  the state's payroll period; and 
 (d)  the approval of the Division Director, DHRM. 
 
R477-8-8.  Time Reporting. 
 (1)  Employees shall complete and submit a state approved 
biweekly time record that accurately reflects the hours actually 
worked, including: 
 (a)  approved and unapproved overtime; 
 (b)  on-call time; 
 (c)  stand-by time; 
 (d)  meal periods of public safety and correctional officers 
who are on duty more than 24 consecutive hours; and 
 (e)  approved leave time. 
 (2)  Management may discipline an employee who fails to 
accurately record time. 
 (3)  [An agency]Management may not develop [and]or use 
time records unless the records have the same elements of the state 
approved time record and are approved by the Department of 
Government Operations, Division of Finance. 
 (4)  Management may discipline a supervisor who directs 
an employee to submit an inaccurate time record or knowingly 
approves an inaccurate time record. 
 (5)  A Non-exempt employee who believes FLSA rights 
have been violated may submit a complaint directly to the 
[Executive]Division Director, DHRM, or designee. 
 
R477-8-9.  Hours Worked. 
 (1)  An FLSA non-exempt employee shall be compensated 
for any hours worked.  Management may discipline an employee who 
works unauthorized overtime. 
 (a)  Any time that an FLSA non-exempt employee [is 
required to ]waits for an assignment while on duty, before reporting 
to duty, or before performing activities counts as hours worked. 
 (b)  Time spent waiting after being relieved from duty is 
not hours worked if one or more of the following conditions apply: 
 (i)  the employee arrives voluntarily before their scheduled 
shift and waits before starting duties; 
 (ii)  the employee is completely relieved from duty and 
allowed to leave the job; 
 (iii)  the employee is relieved until a definite specified time; 
or 
 (iv)  the relief period is long enough for the employee to 
use as the employee sees fit. 
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R477-8-10.  On-call Time. 
 (1)  Management may direct an employee to be available 
for on-call work. 
 (a)  Management shall compensate an FLSA non-exempt 
employee for on-call time at a rate of one hour for every 12 hours the 
employee is on-call. 
 (b)  Management may compensate an FLSA exempt 
employee at a rate equal to or less than one hour for every 12 hours 
the employee is on-call. 
 (2)  Time is considered on-call time when the employee has 
freedom of movement in personal matters as long as the employee is 
available for a call to duty.  An employee may not be in on-call status 
while using leave or while otherwise unable to respond to a call to 
duty. 
 (3)  [Agencies who]Management may not enter into on-call 
agreements with employees unless the[shall have an] agency has a 
policy consistent with this rule and finance policy. 
 (4)  On-call status shall be designated by [a 
supervisor]management in writing [and be documented in the Utah 
Performance Management system ]on an annual basis.  Carrying a 
pager or cell phone does not constitute on-call time without this 
written agreement. 
 (5)  The employee shall record the hours spent in on-call 
status, and any actual hours worked, on the official time record for 
the specific date the hours were incurred [in order ]to be paid. 
 (6)  An employee may not record on-call hours and actual 
hours worked for the same period of time.  On-call hours, actual 
hours worked, and leave hours cannot exceed 24 hours in a day. 
 (7)  An employee shall round on-call hours to the nearest 
two decimal places.  Hours of on-call pay are calculated by 
subtracting the number of hours worked in the on-call period from 
the number of hours in the on-call period then dividing the result by 
12. 
 (8)  Management may not compensate on-call employees 
less than outlined in Subsections (1) through (7) but may provide 
additional compensation as permitted by budgets and consistent 
applications of rules, policies, and discretion. 
 
R477-8-11.  Stand-by Time. 
 (1)  Management shall pay an employee restricted to stand-
by at a specified location ready for work [full-time]full time or 
overtime, as appropriate.  Management shall pay an employee for 
stand-by time if required to [stand by]stand-by the post ready for 
duty, even during lunch periods, equipment breakdowns, or other 
temporary work shutdowns. 
 (2)  The meal periods of police, and other public safety or 
correctional officers and firefighters who are on duty more than 24 
consecutive hours are counted as working time, unless an express 
agreement excludes the time. 
 
R477-8-12.  Commuting and Travel Time. 
 (1)  Normal commuting time from home to work and back 
is not hours worked. 
 (2)  Time an employee spends traveling from one job site 
to another during the normal work schedule is hours worked. 
 (3)  Time an employee spends traveling on a special one-
day assignment is hours worked except meal time and ordinary home 
to work travel. 
 (4)  Travel that keeps an employee away from home 
overnight is not hours worked if it is time spent outside of regular 
working hours as a passenger on an airplane, train, boat, bus, or 
automobile. 

 (5)  Travel as a passenger is hours worked if it is time spent 
during regular working hours.  This applies to non-working days, as 
well as regular working days.  However, regular meal period time is 
not counted. 
 (6)  Management may compensate employees for travel 
and meal periods not required by federal law as implemented in 
Subsections (4) and (5). 
 
R477-8-13.  Excess Hours. 
 An employee may use excess hours the same way as annual 
leave. 
 (1)  An employee may not work hours which would lead to 
the accrual of excess hours without prior management approval. 
 (2)  An employee may not use any leave time, other than 
holiday, military, and jury leave, that results in the accrual of excess 
hours. 
 (3)  An employee may not accumulate more than 80 excess 
hours. 
 (4)  [Agency m]Management shall pay out excess hours: 
 (a)  for any hours accrued above the limit set by DHRM; 
 (b)  when an employee is assigned from one agency to 
another; and 
 (c)  upon separation. 
 (5)  [Agency m]Management may pay out excess hours: 
 (a)  automatically in the same pay period accrued; 
 (b)  at any time during the year as determined appropriate 
by a state agency or division; or 
 (c)  upon request of the employee and approval by the 
agency head or designee. 
 
R477-8-14.  Dual State Employment. 
 An employee who has more than one position within state 
government, regardless of schedule, is considered to be in a dual 
employment situation.  The following conditions apply to dual 
employment status. 
 (1)  An employee may work in up to four different positions 
in state government. 
 (2)  An employee's benefit status for any secondary 
[position(s)]positions, regardless of schedule of any of the positions, 
shall be the same as the primary position. 
 (3)  An employee's FLSA status for any non-primary 
position shall be the same as the primary position. 
 (4)  Leave accrual shall be based on the total number of 
hours the employee works during a pay period and may not exceed 
the maximum amount allowed in the primary position. 
 (5)  As a condition of dual employment, an employee in 
dual employment status may not accrue excess hours in either the 
primary or secondary positions.  Management shall pay out any 
excess hours earned at straight time in the pay period in which the 
excess hours are earned. 
 (6)  As a condition of dual employment, an employee in 
dual employment status may not accrue compensatory hours and the 
employee's overtime or comp selection shall be paid as overtime 
regardless of FLSA status. 
 (7)  Overtime is calculated at straight time or time and [one 
half]one-half, depending on the FLSA status of the primary position. 
Time and a half overtime rates shall be calculated based on the 
weighted average rate of the multiple positions.  Refer to Division of 
Finance's payroll policies, dual employment section. 
 (8)  The employee and direct supervisors shall complete 
and sign the Accepting Terms of Dual Employment form and place it 
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in the employee's personnel file with a copy sent to the Division of 
Finance. 
 (9)  Secondary positions may not interfere with the efficient 
performance of the employee's primary position or create a conflict 
of interest.  An employee in dual employment status shall comply 
with Subsection R477-9-2(1). 
 
R477-8-15.  Reasonable Accommodation. 
 The agency ADA coordinator shall evaluate each request 
for reasonable accommodation from employees and applicants under 
state and federal law. 
 
R477-8-16.  Fitness [For]for Duty Evaluations. 
 Management may require a fitness for duty medical 
evaluation under any of the following circumstances: 
 (1)  return to work from injury or illness except as 
prohibited by federal law; 
 (2)  when management determines that there is a direct 
threat to the health or safety of self or others; 
 (3)  in conjunction with corrective action, performance or 
conduct issues, or discipline; or 
 (4)  when a fitness for duty evaluation is a bona fide 
occupational qualification for selection, retention, or promotion. 
 
R477-8-17.  Temporary Transitional Assignment. 
 (1)  [Agency m]Management may place an employee in a 
temporary transitional assignment when an employee [is unable 
to]cannot perform essential job functions due to temporary health 
restrictions including: 
 (a)  when management determines that there is a direct 
threat to the health or safety of self or others; 
 (b)  in conjunction with an internal investigation, corrective 
action, performance or conduct issues, or discipline; 
 (c)  where there is a bona fide occupational qualification 
for retention in a position; or 
 (d)  while an employee is being evaluated to determine if 
reasonable accommodation is appropriate. 
 (2)  Time spent in a temporary transitional assignment may 
be counted as leave for purposes of Subsection R477-7-1(11). 
 
R477-8-18.  Change in Work Location. 
 Management may not change an employee's work location 
if the change requires the employee to commute or relocate 50 miles 
or more, [one way]one-way, beyond the current one-way commute, 
unless: 
 (1)  the employee agrees to the change; 
 (2)  the change in work location is communicated to the 
employee at appointment to the position requiring the change in 
location; 
 (3)  [the agency]management pays to move the employee 
consistent with Section R25-6-8 and Finance Policy FIACCT 05-
03.03; or 
 (4)  [the agency]management reimburses commuting 
expenses up to the cost of a move. 
 
R477-8-19.  Agency Policies and Exemptions. 
 [Each agency]Management may write [its own]agency 
policies for work schedules, overtime, leave usage, and other 
working conditions consistent with these rules. 
 

R477-8-20.  Background Checks. 
 [In order to]To protect the citizens of Utah and state 
resources, and with the approval of the agency head, 
[agencies]management may establish background check policies 
requiring specific employees to submit to a criminal background 
check through the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal 
Identification. 
 (1)  [Agencies]Management at agencies that have statewide 
responsibility for confidential information, sensitive financial 
information, or handle state funds may require employees to submit 
to a background check, including employees who work in other state 
agencies. 
 (2)  The employing agency bears the cost of the background 
check. 
 
R477-8-21.  Workers' Compensation Interference Prohibited. 
 (1)  [Agency m]Management may not interfere with an 
employee's effort to make a claim for workers' compensation. 
 (2)  [Agency m]Management may not retaliate against an 
employee who makes or attempts to make a claim for workers' 
compensation, reports an employer's non-compliance with Title 34A, 
Chapter 2, Workers' Compensation Act or Title 34A, Chapter 3, Utah 
Occupational Disease Act, or testifies or intends to testify in a 
workers' compensation proceeding. 
 
KEY:  breaks, telecommuting, overtime, dual employment 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34A-2-114; 
63A-17-106; 63A-17-602; 20A-3-103 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-9 Filing ID 
54564 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-9.  Employee Conduct 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying changes and 
minor changes to match changes made to definitions in 
Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 in this 
issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes, corrects a spelling error, and corrects rules 
styling errors. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 63G-7-2 Section 

63A-17-106 
Section 
63A-17-904 

5 U.S.C. 1502(a) 
(3) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-9.  Employee Conduct. 
R477-9-1.  Standards of Conduct. 
 An employee shall comply with the standards of conduct 
established in [R477-1 through R477-101]Title R477 and the policies 
and rules established by [agency ]management. 
 (1)  Employees shall apply themselves to and shall fulfill 
their assigned duties during the full time for which they are 
compensated.  An employee shall: 
 (a)  comply with the standards established in the individual 
performance plans; 
 (b)  maintain an acceptable level of performance and 
conduct on any other verbal and written job expectations; 

 (c)  report conditions and circumstances, including 
impairment caused by an employee's use of illicit drugs, controlled 
substances, alcohol, or other intoxicant, that may prevent the 
employee from performing their job effectively and safely; and 
 (d)  inform their direct supervisor of any unclear 
instructions or procedures. 
 (2)  An employee shall make prudent and frugal use of state 
funds, equipment, buildings, time, and supplies. 
 (3)  Management shall take administrative action in 
accordance with Section R477-10-2, Rule R477-11, and Rule R477-
14 when an employee reports for duty, attempts to perform the duties 
of the position, or drives a state vehicle while under the influence of 
alcohol or another intoxicant, including use of illicit drugs, non-
prescribed controlled substances, and misuse of volatile substances. 
 (4)  [The agency]Management may decline to defend and 
indemnify an employee found violating this rule, under Title 63G, 
Chapter 7, Utah Governmental Immunity Act. 
 (5)  An employee shall provide [the agency]management 
with a current personal mailing address. 
 (a)  The employee shall notify [the agency]management in 
writing of any change in address. 
 (b)  Mail sent to the current address on record is considered 
to be delivered for purposes of these rules. 
 
R477-9-2.  Outside Employment. 
 (1)  An employee shall notify [agency ]management in 
writing of outside employment.  Failure to notify the employer and 
to gain approval for outside employment is grounds for disciplinary 
action. 
 (2)  State employment is considered the principal vocation 
for a [full-time]full time employee governed by these rules.  An 
employee may engage in outside employment under the following 
conditions. 
 (a)  Outside employment may not interfere with an 
employee's performance. 
 (b)  Outside employment may not conflict with the interests 
of the agency nor the state. 
 (c)  Outside employment may not give reason for criticism 
nor suspicion of conflicting interests or duties. 
 (3)  [Agency m]Management may deny an employee 
permission to engage in outside employment, or to receive payment, 
if the outside activity is determined to cause a real or potential 
conflict of interest. 
 (4)  [The provisions of this rule do]This section does not 
apply when two or more government positions are held by the same 
individual, unless the personal interest of the individual is not shared 
by the general public. 
 
R477-9-3.  Conflict of Interest. 
 (1)  An employee may receive honoraria or paid expenses 
for activities outside of state employment under the following 
conditions. 
 (a)  Outside activities may not interfere with an employee's 
performance, the interests of the agency nor the state. 
 (b)  Outside activities may not give reasons for criticism 
nor suspicion of conflicting interests or duties. 
 (2)  An employee may not use state time, equipment, 
property, supplies, or any influence, power, authority, or confidential 
information received in a state position for private gain. 
 (3)  An employee may not accept economic benefit 
tantamount to a gift under Section 67-16-5 and the Governor's 
Executive Order, 6/2/2014, nor accept other compensation that might 
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be intended to influence or reward the employee in the performance 
of official business. 
 (4)  An employee shall declare a potential conflict of 
interest when required to do or decide something that could be 
interpreted as a conflict of interest.  [Agency m]Management shall 
then excuse the employee from making decisions or taking actions 
that may cause a conflict of interest. 
 
R477-9-4.  Political Activity. 
 A state employee may voluntarily participate in political 
activity, except as restricted by this section or the Hatch Act of 1939, 
5 U.S.C. 1501 et seq. 
 (1)  As modified by Section 1502(a)(3), Hatch 
Modernization Act of 2012, a state employee whose salary is 100% 
funded by federal loans or grants may be restricted in political 
activity. 
 (a)  State employees in positions covered by the Hatch Act 
may run for public office in non-partisan elections, campaign for and 
hold office in political clubs and organizations, actively campaign for 
candidates for public office in partisan and non-partisan elections, 
contribute money to political organizations, and attend political 
fundraising functions. 
 (b)  State employees in positions covered by the federal 
Hatch Act may not be candidates for public office in a partisan 
election, use official authority or influence to interfere with or affect 
the results of an election or nomination, or directly or indirectly 
coerce contributions from subordinates in support of a political party 
or candidate. 
 (2)  [Prior to]Before filing for candidacy, a state employee 
who is considering running for a partisan office shall submit a 
statement of intent to become a candidate to the agency head. 
 (a)  The agency head shall consult with DHRM. 
 (b)  DHRM shall determine whether the employee's intent 
to become a candidate is covered under the Hatch Act. 
 (c)  Management may discipline an employee who violates 
Subsection R477-9-4(1)(b) up to dismissal. 
 (3)  An employee may not run for partisan political office 
if an agency head determines that the employee's position is covered 
by the Hatch Act. 
 (4)  If an employee's position is covered by the Hatch Act 
and the employee files for candidacy, the agency head shall dismiss 
the employee. 
 (5)  Management shall grant a leave of absence without pay 
to any career service employee elected to any partisan or [full-
time]full time non-partisan political office for times when monetary 
compensation is received for service in political office. 
 (6)  During work time, no employee may engage in any 
political activity.  No person shall solicit political contributions from 
employees of the executive branch during hours of employment.  
However, a state employee may voluntarily contribute to any party 
or any candidate. 
 (7)  Decisions regarding employment, promotion, 
demotion, dismissal, or any other human resource actions may not be 
based on partisan political activity. 
 
R477-9-5.  Employee Reporting Protections. 
 Under Section 67-21-3, [an agency]management may not 
adversely affect the employment conditions of an employee who 
communicates in good faith, and in accordance with statute: 
 (1)  the waste or misuse of public property, manpower, or 
funds; 
 (2)  gross mismanagement; 

 (3)  unethical conduct; 
 (4)  abuse of authority; or 
 (5)  violation of law, rule, or regulations. 
 
R477-9-6.  Employee Indebtedness to the State. 
 (1)  The state may withhold non-overtime salary [in excess 
of]over the minimum federal wage from an employee indebted to the 
state because of an action or performance in official duties. 
 (a)  The state may withhold salary after: 
 (i)  validating the debt and specifying a legitimately owed 
amount through physical documentation or other evidence; 
 (ii)  notifying the employee of the debt; 
 (iii)  providing the employee with an opportunity to: 
 (A)  acknowledge the debt; and 
 (B)  provide written authorization to withhold salary; 
 (iv)  notifying the employee of this rule. 
 (b)  The state may withhold salary from the last paycheck 
of an employee separating from state service. 
 (c)  The state may withhold salary from an employee's last 
paycheck [preceeding]preceding a period of leave without pay for 
more than two pay periods. 
 (d)  The state may withhold an employee's salary to satisfy 
the following specific obligations: 
 (i)  travel advances where travel and reimbursement for the 
travel has already occurred; 
 (ii)  state credit card obligations where the state's share of 
the obligation has been reimbursed to the employee but not paid to 
the credit card company by the employee; 
 (iii)  evidence that the employee negligently caused loss or 
damage of state property; 
 (iv)  payroll advance obligations that are signed by the 
employee and that the Division of Finance authorizes; 
 (v)  misappropriation of state assets for unauthorized 
personal use or for personal financial gain, including reparation for 
employee theft of state property or use of state property for personal 
financial gain or benefit; 
 (vi)  overpayment of salary determined by evidence that an 
employee did not work the hours for which they received salary or 
was not eligible for the benefits received and paid for by the state; 
 (vii)  excessive reimbursement of funds from flexible 
reimbursement accounts; and 
 (viii)  other obligations that satisfy the requirements of 
Subsection R477-9-5(1). 
 (2)  This rule does not apply to state employee obligations 
to other state agencies where the obligation was not caused by their 
actions or performance as an employee. 
 
R477-9-7.  Acceptable Use of Information Technology Resources. 
 Information technology resources are provided to a state 
employee to assist in the performance of assigned tasks and in the 
efficient day to day operations of state government. 
 (1)  An employee shall use assigned information 
technology resources in compliance with Rule R895-7, Acceptable 
Use of Information Technology Resources. 
 (2)  Management may discipline an employee who violates 
the Acceptable Use of Information Technology Resources policy 
under Rule R477-11. 
 
R477-9-8.  Personal Blogs and Social Media Sites. 
 (1)  An employee who participates in blogs and social 
networking sites for personal purposes may not: 
 (a)  claim to represent the position of the state or an agency; 
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 (b)  post the seal of the state, or trademark or logo of an 
agency; 
 (c)  post protected or confidential information, including 
copyrighted information, confidential information received from 
agency customers, or agency issued documents without permission 
from the agency head; or 
 (d)  unlawfully discriminate against, harass, or otherwise 
threaten a state employee or a person doing business with the state. 
 (2)  [An agency]Management may establish agency 
policies to supplement this section. 
 (3)  Management may discipline an employee according to 
Rule R477-11 for violations of this section or agency policy. 
 
KEY:  conflict of interest, government ethics, Hatch Act, 
personnel management 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-7-2; 
63A-17-106; 63A-17-904; 5 U.S.C. 1502(a)(3) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-10 Filing ID 
54565 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-10.  Employee Development 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying changes and 
minor changes to match changes made to definitions in 
Rule R477-1 and to expand the scope of performance 
management tools to all employees.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  

The proposed amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 
54556 in this issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes, corrects rules styling errors, and eliminates 
language that limited application of most of the rule to 
career service employees. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
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G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 

The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63A-17-106 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-10.  Employee Development. 
R477-10-1.  Performance Evaluation. 
 [Agency m]Management shall utilize the Utah 
Performance Management (UPM) system for employee performance 
plans and evaluations.[  For this rule, the word employee refers to a 
career service employee, unless otherwise indicated.] 
 (1)  Performance management systems shall satisfy the 
following criteria. 
 (a)  [Agency m]Management selects an overall 
performance rating scale. 
 (b)  Management writes performance standards and 
expectations for each employee in a performance plan. 
 (c)  Management notifies employees when their 
performance plans are implemented or modified. 
 (d)  Management provides employees with regular verbal 
and written feedback based on the standards of performance and 
behavior outlined in their performance plans. 
 (2)  Management shall evaluate an employee's performance 
in writing each fiscal year. 
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 (a)  An employee may include written comments pertaining 
to the employee's performance evaluation. 
 (b)  Management may issue a written performance 
evaluation to a probationary employee at the end of the probationary 
period. 
 
R477-10-2.  Performance Improvement. 
 When an employee's performance does not meet 
established standards due to failure to maintain skills, incompetence, 
or inefficiency, and after consulting with DHRM, [agency 
]management may place an employee on an appropriate and 
documented performance improvement plan in accordance with the 
following rules. 
 (1)  [The supervisor]Management shall discuss the 
substandard performance with the employee and determine 
appropriate action. 
 (2)  Performance improvement plans shall identify or 
provide for: 
 (a)  a designated period of time for improvement; 
 (b)  an opportunity for remediation; 
 (c)  performance expectations; 
 (d)  closer supervision to include regular feedback of the 
employee's progress; 
 (e)  notice of disciplinary action for failure to improve; and 
 (f)  a written performance evaluation at the conclusion of 
the performance improvement plan. 
 (3)  An employee may submit written comment to 
accompany the performance improvement plan. 
 (4)  Performance improvement plans may also identify or 
provide for the following based on the nature of the performance 
issue: 
 (a)  training; 
 (b)  reassignment; or 
 (c)  use of appropriate leave. 
 (5)  Following successful completion of a performance 
improvement plan, [the supervisor]management shall notify the 
employee of disciplinary consequences for a recurrence of the 
deficient work performance. 
 
R477-10-3.  Written Warnings. 
 [Agency m]Management may use written warnings to 
address performance or conduct problems. 
 
R477-10-4.  Employee Development and Training. 
 (1)  [Agency m]Management may establish programs for 
training and staff development that shall be agency specific or 
designed for highly specialized or technical jobs and tasks. 
 (2)  [Agency m]Management shall consult with the 
Division Director, DHRM, when proposed training and development 
activities may have statewide impact or may be offered more cost 
effectively on a statewide basis.  The Division Director, DHRM, shall 
determine whether DHRM will be responsible for the training 
standards. 
 (3)  The Division Director, DHRM, shall work with 
[agency ]management to establish standards to guide the 
development of statewide activities and to facilitate sharing of 
resources statewide. 
 (4)  When an [agency]management directs an employee to 
participate in an educational program, [the agency]management shall 
pay full costs. 
 (5)  [Agencies are]Management shall [required to ]provide 
refresher training and make reasonable efforts to requalify veterans 

reemployed under USERRA, as long as it does not cause an undue 
hardship to the employing agency. 
 (6)  Management shall ensure that training is presented or 
made available online unless there is a physical or interactive 
component, the training takes place over consecutive, full-day 
sessions, or no attendee travels more than 50 miles from their primary 
residence or place of employment, whichever is closer to the training 
site, to attend the training. 
 
R477-10-5.  Education Assistance. 
 [State agencies]Management may assist an employee in the 
pursuit of educational goals by granting administrative leave to 
attend classes, a subsidy of educational expenses, or both. 
 (1)  [An agency]Management may grant educational 
assistance when: 
 (a)  the agency has a written policy governing educational 
assistance; 
 (b)  the employee discloses any scholarships, subsidies, and 
grant monies received for the educational program; and 
 (c)  the employee's educational program will provide a 
benefit to the state. 
 (2)  [An agency]Management shall require the employee to 
repay educational assistance when: 
 (a)  the employee fails to successfully complete the 
required course work or educational requirements of a program; or 
 (b)  the employee leaves the agency within one year of 
completing the educational work. 
 (3)  Education assistance may not exceed $5,250 per 
employee in any one calendar year unless approved in advance by the 
agency head. 
 (4)  Management shall reduce the educational assistance 
provided by the amount of funding disclosed under Subsection (1)(b) 
except for funding that [must be repaid by ]the employee is expected 
to repay. 
 (5)  [Agency m]Management shall be responsible for 
determining the taxable or non-taxable status of educational 
assistance reimbursements. 
 
KEY:  educational tuition, employee performance evaluations, 
employee productivity, training programs 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-17-106 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-11 Filing ID 
54566 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 
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Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-11.  Discipline 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying changes and 
minor changes to match changes made to definitions in 
Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 in this 
issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes and corrects rules styling errors. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63A-17-106 

Section 
63A-17-306 

Section 63G-2-3 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 

R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-11.  Discipline. 
R477-11-1.  Disciplinary Action. 
 (1)  [Agency m]Management may discipline any employee 
for any of the following causes or reasons: 
 (a)  noncompliance with these rules, agency or other 
applicable policies, including [but not limited to ]safety policies, 
agency professional standards, standards of conduct, and workplace 
policies; 
 (b)  work performance that is inefficient or incompetent; 
 (c)  failure to maintain skills and adequate performance 
levels; 
 (d)  insubordination or disloyalty to the orders of a superior; 
 (e)  misfeasance, malfeasance, or nonfeasance; 
 (f)  any incident involving intimidation, physical harm, or 
threats of physical harm against [co-workers]coworkers, 
management, or the public; 
 (g)  the employee no longer meets the requirements of the 
position; 
 (h)  conduct, on or off duty, which creates a conflict of 
interest with the employee's public responsibilities or impacts that 
employee's ability to perform job assignments; 
 (i)  failure to advance the good of the public service, 
including conduct on or off duty which demeans or harms the 
effectiveness or ability of the agency to fulfill its mission; 
 (j)  dishonesty; or 
 (k)  misconduct. 
 (2)  [Agency m]Management shall consult with DHRM 
[prior to]before disciplining an employee. 
 (3)  Disciplinary actions for career service employees are 
governed by principles of due process and Section 63A-17-306.  
When administering a disciplinary action, management shall: 
 (a)  notify the employee in writing of the proposed 
discipline, the reasons supporting the proposed action, and the right 
to reply within five working days[.]; 
 (b)  grant the employee at least five working days to reply; 
 (c)  consider any timely reply before imposing discipline; 
and 
 (d)  impose any discipline in accordance with these rules. 
 (4)  After complying with Subsection (3) for a career 
service employee or for any career service exempt employee not 
subject to the same procedural rights, management may impose: 
 (a)  a written reprimand; 
 (b)  a suspension without pay up to 30 calendar days per 
incident requiring discipline; 
 (c)  a demotion as defined in Rule R477-1 and in 
accordance with Section R477-11-2; or 
 (d)  a dismissal in accordance with Section R477-11-2. 
 (5)  Management shall notify the employee in writing of 
the discipline, the reasons for the discipline, the effective date, and 
length of the discipline when the discipline is imposed. 
 (6)  Management shall notify any career service employee 
that the imposed disciplinary action is subject to the grievance 
procedures, except under Section 67-19a-402.5.  
 
R477-11-2.  Dismissal or Demotion. 
 Management may dismiss or demote an employee for cause 
under Subsection R477-10-2(2)(e) and Section R477-11-1, and 
through the process outlined in this rule. 
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 (1)  Management may dismiss or demote a probationary 
employee or career service exempt employee for any or for no reason 
without right of appeal, except under Sections 67-21-3.5 and 67-19a-
402.5. 
 (2)  An agency head may not dismiss or demote a career 
service employee from a career service position unless: 
 (a)  the agency head or designee notifies the employee in 
writing of the specific reasons for the proposed dismissal or 
demotion; 
 (b)  the agency head or designee grants the employee up to 
five working days to reply; 
 (c)  the agency head considers any reply submitted by the 
employee before imposing discipline; and 
 (d)  the agency head provides the employee an opportunity 
to be heard by the agency head or designee; 
 (i)  This meeting is limited to the specific reasons raised in 
the notice of intent to demote or dismiss. 
 (ii)  At the meeting, the employee may present, either in 
person, in writing, or with a representative, comments or reasons as 
to why the proposed disciplinary action should not be taken.  The 
agency head or designee is not required to receive or allow other 
witnesses on behalf of the employee. 
 (iii)  The employee may present documents, affidavits, or 
other written materials at the meeting.  However, the employee is not 
entitled to present or discover documents within the possession or 
control of the department or agency that are private, protected, or 
controlled under Section 63G-2-3. 
 (3)  After complying with Subsection (2), the agency head 
may dismiss or demote the employee upon a finding of adequate 
cause or reason.  The agency head notifies the employee in writing of 
the decision and the reasons for the decision. 
 
R477-11-3.  Discretionary Factors. 
 When deciding the specific type and severity of agency 
action, the agency head or representative may consider the following 
factors: 
 (1)  consistent application of rules and standards; 
 (a)  the agency head or representative need only consider 
those cases decided under the administration of the current agency 
head because decisions in cases [prior to]before the administration of 
the current agency head are not binding upon the current agency head 
and are not relevant in determining consistent application of rules and 
standards; 
 (b)  in determining consistent application of rules and 
standards, the disciplinary actions imposed by one agency may not 
be binding upon any other agency and may not be used for 
comparison purposes in hearings wherein the consistent application 
of rules and standards is at issue; 
 (2)  prior knowledge of rules and standards; 
 (3)  the severity of the infraction; 
 (4)  the repeated nature of violations; 
 (5)  prior disciplinary actions or [corrective 
actions]performance improvement efforts; 
 (6)  previous oral warnings, written warnings, and 
discussions; 
 (7)  the employee's past work record; 
 (8)  the potential of the violations for causing damage to 
persons or property; 
 (9)  the strength of the evidence of conduct; 
 (10)  dishonesty or failing to disclose relevant information; 
 (11)  the effect on agency operations, including: 

 (a)  how the wrongdoing relates to the employee's job 
duties; 
 (b)  the potential of the conduct to adversely affect public 
confidence in the agency; 
 (c)  the potential of the conduct to adversely affect morale 
and effectiveness of the agency; 
 (12)  willful or intentional conduct; or 
 (13)  likelihood of recurrence. 
 
KEY:  discipline of employees, dismissal of employees, 
grievances, government hearings 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-17-106; 
63A-17-306; 63G-2-3 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-12 Filing ID 
54567 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-12.  Separations 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying changes and 
minor changes to match changes made to definitions in 
Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 in this 
issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63A-17-106 

Section 
63A-17-306 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-12.  Separations. 
R477-12-1.  Resignation. 
 A career service employee may resign or retire by giving 
written or verbal notice to the direct supervisor or an appropriate 
representative of [agency ]management. 
 (1)  After giving notice, an employee may not withdraw the 
resignation or retirement unless the agency head or designee consents 
to the withdrawal. 
 
R477-12-2.  Abandonment of Position. 
 Management may consider an employee who is absent 
from work for three consecutive working days without approval to 
have abandoned the employee's position and resigned from the 
employing agency. 
 (1)  Management may process appropriate actions to 
formally separate an employee who has abandoned their position 
from state employment. 
 (a)  Management shall send the employee notice that the 
[agency accepts the ]employee's resignation has been accepted to the 
employee's last known address. 
 (b)  The notice shall grant the employee five working days 
from receipt, delivery, or attempted delivery of the notice to request 
that the agency head reconsider accepting the resignation. 
 
R477-12-3.  Reduction in Force. 
 Reductions in force (RIF) are governed by DHRM rules 
and standard operating procedures. 

 (1)  When management intends to reduce staff in one or 
more categories of work, management shall develop a work force 
adjustment plan (WFAP).  Management may only give formal, 
written notification to a career service employee after a WFAP has 
been reviewed by the Division Director, DHRM, or designee and 
approved by the [A]agency [H]head or designee.  The following 
items shall be addressed in the WFAP: 
 (a)  the categories of work to be eliminated; 
 (b)  specific measures taken, if any, to facilitate the 
placement of affected employees through reassignment or transfer to 
vacant positions the employee is qualified to fill; 
 (c)  job-related criteria as identified in Subsection R477-
12-3(3)(a) used for determining retention points; and 
 (d)  when more than one employee is affected, employees 
shall be listed in order of retention points. 
 (2)  Management may RIF a career service employee, 
including an employee covered by USERRA, only when the 
employee has been identified in a WFAP and notified of the RIF in 
accordance with Subsection (5). 
 (3)  Management shall calculate retention points when 
more than one employee is affected within a category of work by 
giving appropriate consideration for proficiency and seniority with 
proficiency being the primary factor. 
 (a)  Management may consider performance evaluations 
and performance information for the past three years when assessing 
job proficiency. 
 (b)  Management shall calculate seniority as the length of 
the most recent continuous career service which commenced in a 
career service position for which the probationary period was 
successfully completed.  Exempt service time [subsequent to]after 
attaining career service status with no break in service shall be 
counted for purposes of seniority. 
 (c)  In each WFAP, management shall specify the criteria 
they will use for determining retention points. 
 (i)  Management shall consult with the Division Director, 
DHRM, or designee. 
 (ii)  [Agency ]WFAPs shall comply with current DHRM 
standard operating procedures. 
 (4)  Management shall separate employees in the following 
order: 
 (a)  first, temporary employees in schedule IN or TL 
positions; 
 (b)  second, probationary employees; and 
 (c)  third, career service employees with the lowest 
retention points. 
 (5)  When an employee, including one covered under 
USERRA, is identified for separation due to a RIF, management shall 
provide the employee written notification of: 
 (a)  the pending RIF; and 
 (b)  final written notification of separation due to a RIF on 
the day of separation. 
 (6)  Management shall notify a career service employee 
separated due to a RIF that they may appeal to the agency head by 
submitting a written notice of appeal within 20 working days after 
the date of separation.  When an employee submits such an appeal, 
the agency head shall notify the employee that they may appeal the 
agency head's decision according to the grievance procedures of the 
Career Service Review Office. 
 (7)  A career service employee who is separated in a RIF is 
governed by the rules in place at the time of separation. 
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 (8)  When a career service employee who is separated in a 
RIF applies for a career service position, management shall give 
preferential consideration to the individual's application score when 
developing the hiring list as outlined in DHRM standard operating 
procedures until the individual accepts a career service position. 
 (9)  [An agency]Management may allow an individual 
rehired to a career service position to buy back any accumulated 
annual and converted sick leave that was cashed out [at the 
time]when the individual was separated from employment through a 
RIF. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, employees' rights, grievances, 
retirement 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-17-106; 
63A-17-306 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-13 Filing ID 
54568 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-13.  Volunteer Programs 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying changes and 
minor changes to match changes made to definitions in 
Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 in this 
issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
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After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63A-17-106 

Section 67-20-3 Section 67-20-4 

Section 67-20-8   
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-13.  Volunteer Programs. 
R477-13-1.  Volunteer Programs. 
 (1)  [Agency m]Management may establish a volunteer 
program. 
 (a)  A volunteer program shall include: 
 (i)  documented agreement of the type of work and duration 
for which the volunteer services will be provided; 
 (ii)  orientation to the conditions of state service and the 
volunteer's specific assignments; 
 (iii)  adequate supervision of the volunteer; and 
 (iv)  documented hours worked by a volunteer. 
 (2)  A volunteer may not donate any service to an agency 
unless the volunteer's services are approved by the agency head or 
designee, and by DHRM. 
 (a)  Volunteers may not serve the state or any agency or 
subdivisions of the state until [agency ]management approves work 
programs for volunteers. 
 (3)  A volunteer is considered a government employee for 
purposes of workers' compensation, operation of motor vehicles or 
equipment if properly licensed and authorized to do so, and liability 
protection and indemnification. 
 (4)  State employees who volunteer for any state agency 
may only perform services that are distinctly different from their 
primary work activities. 
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 (5)  The Division Director, DHRM, may authorize 
exceptions to this rule consistent with Subsection R477-2-2(1). 
 
KEY:  personnel management, administrative rules, rules and 
procedures, volunteers 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-17-106; 
67-20-3; 67-20-4; 67-20-8 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-14 Filing ID 
54569 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-14.  Substance Abuse and Drug-Free Workplace 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying changes and 
minor changes to match changes made to definitions in 
Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 in this 
issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes and corrects a rules styling error. 
 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
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branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 63G-2-3 Section 

63A-17-106 
Section 
63A-17-306 

Sections 
63A-17-1001 
through 
63A-17-1006 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-14.  Substance Abuse and Drug-Free Workplace. 
R477-14-1.  Rules Governing a Drug-Free Workplace. 
 (1)  Except as provided in Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah 
Medical Cannabis Act, this rule implements the federal Drug-Free 
Workplace Act of 1988, 41 USC 8101, et seq., the Omnibus 
Transportation Employee Testing Act of 1991, 49 U.S.C. 5331, et 
seq., and Section 63A-17-1004 authorizing drug and alcohol testing, 
[in order ]to: 
 (a)  provide a safe, productive work environment that is free 
from the effects of drug and alcohol abuse; 
 (b)  identify, correct and remove the effects of drug and 
alcohol abuse on job performance; and 
 (c)  assure the protection and safety of employees, the 
public, and property. 
 (2)  State employees should report to work fit for duty and 
able to safely and effectively perform job functions. 
 (a)  State employees are not prohibited from lawful use and 
possession of prescribed or over-the-counter medications unless the 
medication adversely affects their ability to safely or effectively 
perform their job duties.  Any employee taking prescribed or over-
the-counter medications is responsible for consulting the prescribing 
physician or pharmacist to ascertain whether the medication may 
interfere with safe performance of job functions.  If the use of a 
medication could compromise the safety of employees, the public, or 
property it is the employee's responsibility to avoid unsafe workplace 
practices by using appropriate personnel procedures such as calling 
in sick, using leave, requesting a change of duty, notifying a 
supervisor, or notifying DHRM. 
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 (b)  The illegal or unauthorized use of prescription drugs is 
prohibited.  It is a violation of this rule to intentionally misuse or 
abuse prescription medication.  Management may take appropriate 
personnel action, up to and including dismissal from employment, if 
job performance deteriorates or other accidents occur. 
 (3)  Except as provided in Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah 
Medical Cannabis Act, state employees may not unlawfully 
manufacture, dispense, possess, distribute, use or be under the 
influence of any controlled substance or alcohol during working 
hours, on state property, or while operating a state vehicle at any time, 
or other vehicle while on duty. 
 (4)  Employees shall follow Subsection R477-14-1(2) 
outside of work if the activity: 
 (a)  directly affects the eligibility of state agencies to 
receive federal grants or to qualify for federal contracts of $25,000 or 
more; or 
 (b)  prevents the employee from performing job duties 
safely or effectively. 
 (5)  Management shall conduct any drug or alcohol testing 
in compliance with applicable federal and state regulations and 
policies. 
 (6)  Management shall ensure that any drug or alcohol 
testing is conducted by a federally certified or licensed physician or 
clinic, or testing service approved by DHRM. 
 (7)  Drug or alcohol tests with positive results or a possible 
false positive result shall require a confirmation test. 
 (8)  Management may require final applicants who are not 
current employees to submit to pre-employment drug testing. 
 (9)  Management may conduct drug or alcohol tests for the 
following reasons: 
 (a)  reasonable suspicion; 
 (b)  critical incident; 
 (c)  post accident; 
 (d)  return to duty; and 
 (e)  follow up. 
 (10)  Management may require final candidates for transfer 
or promotion to a highly sensitive position to submit to pre-
employment drug testing. 
 (11)  Management may not require an employee who is 
reassigned to a highly sensitive position or assigned the duties of a 
highly sensitive position to submit to pre-employment drug testing. 
 (12)  Management may require employees in highly 
sensitive positions, as designated by DHRM, to submit to random 
drug or alcohol testing without justification of reasonable suspicion 
or critical incident.  Except when required by federal regulation or 
state policy, random drug or alcohol testing of employees in highly 
sensitive positions is conducted at the discretion of the employing 
agency. 
 (13)  This rule incorporates by reference the requirements 
of 49 CFR 40.87. 
 (14)  The state will use a blood alcohol concentration level 
of .04 for safety sensitive positions and .05 for any other positions as 
the cut off for a positive alcohol test except where designated 
otherwise by federal regulations. 
 (15)  [Agencies]Management with employees in federally 
regulated positions shall administer testing and prohibition 
requirements and conduct training on these requirements as outlined 
in the current federal regulation. 
 (16)  When an employee in a federally regulated position 
has a confirmation test for alcohol results at or in excess of the 
applicable federal cut off level when tested before, during, or after 
performing safety sensitive duties, management: 

 (a)  shall remove the employee from duty according to the 
applicable federal regulations; and 
 (b)  may discipline the employee which may include 
dismissal. 
 
R477-14-2.  Management Action. 
 (1)  Under Rules R477-10, R477-11, and Section R477-14-
2, supervisors and managers who receive notice of a workplace 
violation of this rule shall take immediate action. 
 (2)  Except as provided in Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah 
Medical Cannabis Act, management may take disciplinary action 
which may include dismissal if: 
 (a)  there is a verified positive test for controlled 
substances; 
 (b)  results of a confirmation test for alcohol meet or exceed 
the established alcohol concentration cutoff level; 
 (c)  management determines an employee [is unable 
to]cannot perform assigned job tasks, even when the result of a 
chemical test is reported negative; 
 (d)  an employee refuses a request to submit to testing under 
this policy; 
 (e)  an employee substitutes, adulterates, or otherwise 
tampers with a drug or alcohol testing sample, or attempts to do so; 
or 
 (f)  an employee violates any other portion of this rule. 
 (3)  When an employee has a verified positive test for use 
of a controlled substance or alcohol in violation of these rules, 
management may require the employee to agree to participate, at the 
employee's expense, in a rehabilitation program, under Subsection 
63A-17-1006(3).  If this is required, the following shall apply. 
 (a)  Management shall grant a leave of absence using 
accrued leave or leave without pay to an employee participating in a 
rehabilitation program for inpatient treatment. 
 (b)  The employee shall sign a release to allow the 
transmittal of verbal or written compliance reports between the state 
agency and the inpatient or outpatient rehabilitation program 
provider. 
 (c)  Any communication is classified as private in 
accordance with Section 63G-2-302. 
 (d)  Management may require an employee to continue 
participation in an outpatient rehabilitation program prescribed by a 
licensed practitioner on the employee's own time and expense. 
 (e)  Management shall reinstate an employee who 
successfully completes a rehabilitation program to work in the 
previously held position, or a position with a comparable or lower 
salary range. 
 (f)  Management shall discipline an employee who fails to 
complete the prescribed treatment without a valid reason. 
 (4)  Management may require an employee who has a 
verified positive test for use of a controlled substance or alcohol to 
submit to follow up testing. 
 (5)  An employee who is convicted of manufacturing, 
distributing, dispensing, possessing, selling or using a controlled 
substance, under federal or state criminal law, shall notify the agency 
head of the conviction no later than five calendar days after the 
conviction. 
 (6)  The agency head shall notify the federal grantor or 
agency for which a contract is being performed within ten calendar 
days of receiving notice of a conviction under Subsection (5) from: 
 (a)  the judicial system; 
 (b)  other sources; or 
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 (c)  an employee performing work under the grant or 
contract who has been convicted of a controlled substance violation 
in the workplace. 
 
R477-14-3.  Drug and Alcohol Test Records. 
 (1)  DHRM shall maintain and store a separate confidential 
file of drug and alcohol test results and documents related 
rehabilitation in the agency human resource field office. 
 (2)  DHRM shall retain test results in accordance with the 
retention schedule. 
 
KEY:  personnel management, drug/alcohol education, drug 
abuse, discipline of employees 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-2-3; 
63A-17-106; 63A-17-306; 63A-17-1001 through 63A-17-1006 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-15 Filing ID 
54570 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-15.  Workplace Harassment Prevention 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying changes and 
minor changes to match changes made to definitions in 
Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 in this 
issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes and corrects rules styling errors. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
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After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63A-17-106 

Section 
63A-17-306 

Section 
63G-2-305 

E.O. No. 2019-1   
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-15.  Workplace Harassment Prevention. 
R477-15-1.  Policy. 
 It is the policy of this state to provide a work environment 
free from discrimination and harassment based on race, religion, 
national origin, color, sex, age, disability, pregnancy, sexual 
orientation, gender identity, or protected activity or class under state 
or federal law.  This policy seeks to regulate behaviors that are 
harassing, discriminatory, or retaliatory regardless of whether the 
behavior would constitute a violation of applicable state or federal 
laws. 
 (1)  Workplace harassment includes the following 
subtypes: 
 (a)  conduct in violation of Section R477-15-1 that is 
unwelcome, pervasive, demeaning, ridiculing, derisive, or coercive, 
and results in a hostile, offensive, or intimidating work environment; 
or 
 (b)  conduct in violation of Section R477-15-1 that results 
in a tangible employment action against the harassed employee. 
 (2)  Management may discipline an employee for violating 
workplace policies, even if: 
 (a)  the conduct occurs outside of scheduled work time or 
work location; or 
 (b)  the conduct is not sufficiently severe to constitute a 
violation of law. 
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 (3)  Once a complaint has been filed, the accused may not 
communicate with the complainant regarding allegations of 
harassment. 
 
R477-15-2.  Retaliation. 
 No person may retaliate against any employee who opposes 
a practice forbidden under this policy, or has filed a charge, testified, 
assisted, or participated in any manner in an investigation, 
proceeding, or hearing, or is otherwise engaged in protected activity. 
 
R477-15-3.  Complaint Procedure. 
 Management shall permit employees who allege workplace 
harassment or retaliation to file complaints and engage in a review 
process free from bias, collusion, intimidation, or retaliation.  
Complainants shall be provided a reasonable amount of work time to 
prepare for and participate in internal complaint processes. 
 (1)  An employee who feels they are being subjected to 
workplace harassment or retaliation should do the following: 
 (a)  document the occurrence; 
 (b)  continue to report to work; and 
 (c)  identify witnesses, if applicable. 
 (2)  An employee may file an oral or written complaint of 
workplace harassment or retaliation with their [immediate]direct 
supervisor, any other supervisor within their direct chain of 
command, or the Division of Human Resource Management, 
including the agency human resource field office. 
 (a)  Any employee, witness, volunteer, or other individual 
may submit a complaint. 
 (b)  A complaint may be made through either oral or written 
notification and shall be handled in compliance with investigative 
procedures and records requirements in Sections R477-15-4 and 
R477-15-5. 
 (c)  Any supervisor who has knowledge of workplace 
harassment or retaliation shall take immediate, appropriate action in 
consultation with DHRM and document the action. 
 (3)  Management shall act on any complaints of workplace 
harassment or retaliation following receipt of the complaint. 
 (4)  [If management determines that an immediate 
investigation by agency management is unwarranted, management 
shall notify the complainant.]Management shall notify the 
complainant if investigation is unwarranted. 
 
R477-15-4.  Investigative Procedure. 
 (1)  When warranted, investigations shall be conducted 
based on DHRM standards. 
 (2)  Results of Investigation. 
 (a)  If the investigation finds the allegations to be sustained, 
[agency ]management shall take appropriate administrative action. 
 (b)  If an investigation reveals evidence of criminal conduct 
in workplace harassment or retaliation allegations, the agency head 
or Division Director, DHRM, may refer the matter to the appropriate 
law enforcement agency. 
 (c)  At the conclusion of the investigation, the appropriate 
parties shall be notified. 
 
R477-15-5.  Workplace Harassment Records. 
 (1)  DHRM shall maintain and store a separate, confidential 
file of any workplace harassment and retaliation complaints in the 
agency human resource field office, or in the possession of an 
authorized official. 
 (a)  Files shall be retained in accordance with the retention 
schedule after the active case ends. 

 (b)  Any information contained in the complaint file shall 
be classified as protected under Section 63G-2-305. 
 (c)  No person may release information contained in the 
workplace harassment and retaliation file unless the agency head or 
Division Director, DHRM, determines the release is required by law. 
 (2)  A supervisor may not keep separate files related to 
complaints of workplace harassment or retaliation. 
 (3)  Any participant in any workplace harassment or 
retaliation proceeding shall treat any information pertaining to the 
case as confidential. 
 
R477-15-6.  Training. 
 (1)  DHRM shall provide employees training, including 
additional training for supervisors, on the prevention of workplace 
harassment. 
 (a)  The curriculum shall be approved by the Division of 
Risk Management. 
 (b)  [An agency]Management shall ensure employees 
complete workplace harassment prevention training upon hire and at 
least every two years thereafter. 
 (c)  [An agency]Management shall submit training records 
to DHRM including who provided the training, who attended the 
training, and when they attended it. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, hostile work environment 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-17-106; 
63A-17-306; 63G-2-305; E.O. No. 2019-1 "Prohibiting Unlawful 
Workplace Harassment, Discrimination, and Retaliation and 
Ordering a Mandatory Supervisor Training Program" 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-16 Filing ID 
54571 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-16.  Abusive Conduct Prevention 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying changes and 
minor changes to match changes made to definitions in 
Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 in this 
issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63A-17-106 

Section 67-26-101  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-16.  Abusive Conduct Prevention. 
R477-16-1.  Policy. 
 It is the policy of this state to provide a work environment 
free from abusive conduct. 
 (1)  Abusive conduct includes physical, verbal or nonverbal 
conduct, such as derogatory remarks, insults, or epithets made by an 
employee that a reasonable person would determine: 
 (a)  was intended to cause intimidation, humiliation, or 
unwarranted distress; 
 (b)  exploits a known physical or psychological disability; 
or 
 (c)  results in substantial physical or psychological harm 
caused by intimidation, humiliation, or unwarranted distress. 
 (2)  The following actions do not constitute abusive 
conduct unless they are especially severe and egregious: 

 (a)  a single act; 
 (b)  appropriate disciplinary or administrative actions; 
 (c)  appropriate coaching or work-related feedback; 
 (d)  reasonable work assignments or job reassignments; or 
 (e)  reasonable differences in styles of management, 
communication, expression, or opinion. 
 (3)  Management may discipline an employee under this 
rule even if the conduct occurs outside of scheduled work time or 
work location. 
 (4)  Once a complaint of abusive conduct has been filed, 
the accused may not communicate with the complainant regarding 
allegations in the complaint. 
 
R477-16-2.  Complaint Procedure. 
 Management shall permit employees who allege abusive 
conduct to file complaints and engage in a review process free from 
bias, collusion, intimidation, or retaliation. 
 (1)  An employee who feels they are being subjected to 
abusive conduct should do the following: 
 (a)  document the occurrence; 
 (b)  continue to report to work; and 
 (c)  identify witnesses, if applicable. 
 (2)  An employee shall file a written complaint of abusive 
conduct with their [immediate]direct supervisor, any other supervisor 
in their direct chain of command, or the Division of Human Resource 
Management, including the agency human resource field office. 
 (a)  Any employee, witness, volunteer, or other individual 
may submit a complaint. 
 (b)  Any supervisor who has knowledge of abusive conduct 
shall take immediate, appropriate action in consultation with DHRM 
and document the action. 
 
R477-16-3.  Investigative Procedure. 
 (1)  When warranted, investigations shall be conducted 
based on DHRM standards. 
 (2)  Results of Investigation. 
 (a)  If an investigation finds the allegations of abusive 
conduct to be sustained, [agency ]management shall take appropriate 
administrative action. 
 (b)  If an investigation reveals evidence of criminal conduct 
in abusive conduct allegations, the agency head or Division Director, 
DHRM, may refer the matter to the appropriate law enforcement 
agency. 
 (c)  At the conclusion of the investigation, management 
shall ensure that the appropriate parties are notified of investigative 
findings and the procedure to request an administrative review of 
findings pursuant to Section 67-19a-501. 
 (3)  Participants in any abusive conduct investigation shall 
treat any information pertaining to the case as confidential. 
 
R477-16-4.  Abusive Conduct Training. 
 (1)  DHRM shall provide employees and supervisors 
training on the prevention of abusive conduct. 
 (a)  Training shall include information regarding what 
constitutes abusive conduct, how to prevent it, options available 
under this rule, and procedures under Title 67, Chapter 19a, 
Grievance Procedures. 
 (b)  [An agency]Management shall ensure employees 
complete training within a reasonable time after hire and at least 
every two years thereafter. 
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 (c)  Management shall submit training records to DHRM 
including who provided the training, who attended the training and 
when they attended it. 
 
KEY:  abusive conduct, administrative procedures, hostile work 
environment 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-17-106; 
67-26-101 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R477-101 Filing ID 
54572 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Human Resource Management 
Room no.: 2100 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141531 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1531 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bryan Embley 801-

618-
6720 

bkembley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R477-101.  Administrative Law Judge Conduct Committee 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The agency found a need for a clarifying changes and 
minor changes to match changes made to definitions in 
Rule R477-1.  (EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R477-1 is under ID 54556 in this 
issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment revises language to match definition 
changes and corrects rules styling errors. 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures 
because these changes are administrative in nature and 
do not impact budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because this rule only 
applies to the executive branch of state government. 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other individuals because this rule only applies 
to the executive branch of state government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no direct compliance costs for these 
amendments.  This rule only affects the executive branch 
of state government and will have no impact on other 
persons.  This rule has no financial impact on state 
employees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that these proposed rule changes will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Rules published by the Division of 
Human Resource Management (DHRM) have no direct 
effect on businesses or any entity outside state 
government.  DHRM has authority to write rules only to the 
extent allowed by the "Utah Personnel Management Act," 
Title 63A, Chapter 17.  This act limits the provisions of 
career service and this rule to employees of the executive 
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branch of state government.  Jenney Rees, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Sections 
63A-17-701 
through 
63A-17-710 

  

 

Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John Barrand, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/27/2022 

 
R477.  Government Operations, Human Resource Management. 
R477-101.  Administrative Law Judge Conduct Committee. 
R477-101-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 This rule is enacted pursuant to Section 63A-17-703, 
requiring the DHRM to establish rules governing minimum 
performance standards for administrative law judges, procedures for 
addressing and reviewing complaints against administrative law 
judges, standards for complaints, and standards of conduct for 
administrative law judges. 
 
R477-101-2.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the terms defined in Section 63A-17-701: 
 (1)  "Administrative Law Judge" (ALJ) includes hearing 
officers employed or contracted by a state agency that meet the 
criteria described in Subsection 63A-17-701(1)(a). 
 (2)  "Chair" means the Division Director, Division of 
Human Resource Management, or designee. 
 (3)  "Code of conduct" means the Model Code of Judicial 
Conduct for State Administrative Law Judges, National Association 
of Administrative Law Judges (November 1993) incorporated by 
reference. 
 (4)  "Committee" means the Administrative Law Judge 
Committee created in Section 67-19e-108. 
 (5)  "Committee meeting" means a proceeding at which a 
complaint is presented to the committee by the investigator. 
respondent ALJ shall also have the opportunity to appear and speak 
regarding the complaint and its allegations. 
 (6)  "Complaint" means a written document filed with the 
Department under Section R477-101-8 alleging misconduct by an 
ALJ. 
 (7)  "Division" means the Division of Human Resource 
Management. 
 (8)  "Final agency action" occurs when the substantive 
rights or obligations of litigants in an administrative proceeding have 
been determined or legal consequences flow from a determination 
and when the agency decision is not preliminary, preparatory, 
procedural, or intermediate. 
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 (9)  "Full investigation" means an investigation where the 
respondent ALJ may respond, in writing, to specific allegations 
identified in a complaint.  A full investigation may also include:  
examination by the investigator of documents, correspondence, 
hearing records, transcripts or tapes; interviews of the complainant, 
counsel, hearing staff, respondent ALJ, interested parties, and other 
witnesses. 
 (10)  "Good cause" means a cause or reason in law, equity, 
or justice that provides a responsible basis for action or a decision. 
 (11)  "Interested party" means an individual or entity who 
participated in an event or proceeding giving rise to a complaint 
against the respondent ALJ. 
 (12)  "Investigator" means a person employed by the 
division to perform investigations mandated under Section 63A-17-
707 and present information at the committee meeting. 
 (13)  "Misconduct" means a violation of the code of 
conduct or Sections 67-19e-101 and 63A-17-701 through 63A-17-
710. 
 (14)  "Preliminary investigation" means that portion of an 
investigation conducted by the division upon receipt of a 
[C]complaint.  A preliminary investigation may include: 
 (a)  examination of documents or correspondence; and 
 (b)  interviews of the complainant, counsel, hearing staff, 
and other witnesses. 
 (15)  "Respondent ALJ" means an ALJ against whom a 
complaint is filed. 
 
R477-101-3.  Jurisdiction. 
 (1)  Administrative Law Judges.  The committee has 
jurisdiction over ALJs to investigate, review, hear, and make 
recommendations regarding complaints filed against ALJs. 
 (2)  Former ALJs.  The committee has continuing 
jurisdiction over former ALJs regarding allegations that misconduct 
occurred during service as an ALJ if a complaint is received before 
the ALJ's appointment concludes. 
 
R477-101-4.  Records Classification and Retention. 
 (1)  Records prepared by and for the committee, including 
any complaints, investigative reports, recommendations, and votes 
on recommended action against an ALJ are classified as protected 
under Section 63G-2-305. 
 (2)  The division shall maintain committee records for a 
period of three years following the conclusion of any committee 
activity. 
 
R477-101-5.  Committee. 
 (1)  The Division Director or designee shall serve as chair 
of the committee, and appoint four executive directors or their 
designees to serve on the committee. 
 (2)  Only executive directors of agencies that employ or 
contract with ALJs may serve on the committee. 
 (3)  If a division investigation establishes a [C]complaint 
requires further action, the chair shall convene the committee. 
 (4)  An executive director of the agency that employs or 
contracts with the respondent ALJ may not participate in a committee 
proceeding involving the respondent ALJ. 
 (5)  After convening the committee, the division shall 
provide a copy of the complaint and its investigative results to the 
committee and the respondent ALJ. 
 (6)  Within 30 days of the date the committee is convened 
on a complaint the committee shall schedule a committee meeting. 
At the committee meeting the respondent ALJ shall be given the 

opportunity to appear, speak, and present documents in response to a 
complaint. 
 (7)  Committee members may attend committee meetings 
in person, by telephone, by videoconference, or by other means 
approved in advance by the chair. 
 (8)  After consideration of any information provided at the 
committee meeting, the committee shall dispose of the complaint by 
issuing a decision or report with a recommendation to the agency 
containing: 
 (a)  a brief description of the complaint and the 
investigative results; 
 (b)  findings, and; 
 (c)  recommendations. 
 (9)  Committee members may not, individually or 
collectively, engage in ex parte communications about proceedings 
with complainants, witnesses, or ALJs. 
 
R477-101-6.  Duties of the Chair. 
 (1)  The chair shall: 
 (a)  receive, acknowledge receipt of and review complaints; 
 (b)  notify complainants about the status and disposition of 
their complaints[,]; 
 (c)  make recommendations to the committee regarding 
further proceedings or the disposition of a complaint; 
 (d)  stay investigations or committee proceedings pending 
final agency action of the matter giving rise to the complaint against 
the respondent ALJ; 
 (e)  maintain records of the committee's operations and 
actions; 
 (f)  compile data to aid in the administration of the 
committee's operations and actions; 
 (g)  prepare and distribute an annual report of the 
committee's operations and actions; 
 (h)  direct the operations of the committee's office, and 
supervise other members of the committee's staff; 
 (i)  make available to the public the laws, rules, and 
procedures of the committee and its operations; and 
 (j)  consider requests for extension of time periods and, 
upon a showing of good cause, grant such requests for a period not 
to exceed 20 days for each request. 
 (2)  Subject to the duty to direct and supervise, the chair 
may delegate any of the foregoing duties to other members of the 
committee's staff. 
 
R477-101-7.  Code of Conduct. 
 (1)  ALJs shall comply with the Model Code of Judicial 
Conduct for State Administrative Law Judges, National Association 
of Administrative Law Judges. 
 (2)  [In order to]To suit a specific agency need, [an 
agency]management may make an addendum or modification to the 
code of conduct. Any such addendum or modification is specific to 
that agency.  In addition, [an agency]management may not make any 
addendum or modification to the code of conduct unless the 
committee reviews and approves the changes [prior to]before 
implementation.  The chair may convene the committee [for the 
purpose of reviewing]to review any proposed addendum or 
modification. 
 
R477-101-8.  Filing Procedure. 
 (1)  [Each]Management at each agency shall include a copy 
of DHRM Rule R477-101 in the administrative rule materials that 
they provide to parties, or shall otherwise make them readily 
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available to parties, at the commencement of administrative 
proceedings. 
 (2)  An individual who alleges a violation of the code of 
conduct or otherwise has a complaint against an ALJ may file a 
timely written complaint with the division.  An interested party shall 
file a written complaint with the division within 20 working days of 
final administrative action in the matter in which the individual is an 
interested party.  Any complaint filed after the 20th working day of 
the final administrative action is untimely. 
 (3)  The filing date is the date the division actually receives 
the complaint. The division shall date-stamp any complaints on the 
date received.  Any filing and other time periods are based upon the 
division's working days. 
 (4)  The person filing a complaint or that person's 
authorized representative shall: 
 (a)  specify facts and allegations of misconduct; 
 (b)  sign the complaint; and 
 (c)  include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
complainant, and the name, business address, and telephone number 
of the representative, if applicable. 
 
R477-101-9.  Investigation. 
 (1)  Preliminary investigation. 
 (a)  The division shall review any timely filed complaints 
and shall, regardless of whether the allegations contained therein 
would constitute misconduct if true, conduct a preliminary 
investigation. 
 (b)  If the preliminary investigation determines that the 
complaint is untimely, frivolous, without merit, or if the complaint 
merely indicates disagreement with the respondent ALJ's decision, 
without further alleged misconduct, the complaint may be dismissed 
without further action. 
 (c)  If, after a preliminary investigation is completed, there 
is a reasonable basis to find misconduct occurred, the investigator 
shall initiate a full investigation. 
 (2)  Full investigation. 
 Within ten days after a determination to conduct a full 
investigation is made, the investigator shall notify the respondent 
ALJ that a full investigation is being conducted.  The notice shall: 
 (a)  inform the respondent ALJ of the specific facts and 
allegations being investigated and the canons or statutory provisions 
allegedly violated; 
 (b)  inform the respondent ALJ that the investigation may 
be expanded if appropriate; 
 (c)  invite the respondent ALJ to respond to the complaint 
in writing within [10]ten working days; 
 (d)  include a copy of the complaint, any preliminary 
investigation reports, and any other documentation reviewed in 
determining whether to authorize a full investigation; and 
 (e)  inform the respondent ALG that a full investigation 
shall be completed within three months of the determination to 
conduct a full investigation unless continued by the chair. 
 
R477-101-10.  Full Investigative Findings. 
 The investigator shall provide the results of the 
investigation to the chair, who shall determine whether to convene a 
committee meeting. 
 
R477-101-11.  Notice. 
 (1)  If after review of the full investigative result and 
findings the chair determines the complaint is factually or legally 

insufficient to establish misconduct, the chair shall dismiss the 
complaint and take no further action. 
 (2)  If after review of the full investigative result and 
findings the chair determines the complaint requires further action, 
the chair shall convene the committee and order a committee meeting 
be scheduled. 
 (3)  After convening the committee the chair shall provide 
respondent ALJ written notice of the ALJ's right to appear, speak, and 
present documents at the committee meeting.  The chair shall also 
provide the respondent ALJ with a copy of the complaint and the 
results of the division's investigation. 
 (4)  The chair shall delivery notice that a committee has 
been convened and a committee meeting ordered by personal service 
or certified mail upon the respondent ALJ or the respondent ALJ's 
representative. Service of any other notices or papers may be regular 
mail. 
 (5)  Within 20 days after receiving written notice from the 
chair that a committee has been convened the respondent ALJ may 
provide the committee a written response to the complaint. 
 (6)  After receipt of the respondent ALJ's response or after 
expiration of the time to respond the committee shall, in consultation 
with the ALJ, schedule a committee meeting.  The committee shall 
notify the ALJ in writing of the date, time, and place of the committee 
meeting.  Unless continued for good cause, committee meeting shall 
be held within four months of the date a committee is convened on a 
complaint. 
 (7)  No later than 20 days before the scheduled committee 
meeting the chair shall provide the respondent ALJ with copies of 
any documents proposed for use at the committee meeting or to be 
relied upon in making its report and recommendation. 
 (8)  respondent ALJ is entitled to representation at every 
stage of the committee proceedings or the committee meeting. 
 (9)  Neither the Utah Rules of Evidence nor the Utah Rules 
of Civil Procedure apply in committee proceedings. 
 
R477-101-12.  Effect of Respondent ALJ's Resignation or 
Retirement [during]During Proceeding. 
 If the respondent ALJ resigns or retires during the 
proceedings, the committee shall determine whether to proceed or 
dismiss the proceedings. 
 
R477-101-13.  Committee Meetings. 
 (1)  The chair shall rule on any motions or objections raised 
during a committee meeting, set reasonable limits on the statements 
or documents presented, including any statements from the 
complainant.  The chair may limit the time allowed for the 
presentation of information, may bifurcate any issues to be 
considered, and may make any other rulings regarding any committee 
proceeding or committee meeting. 
 (2)  [To hold a]A committee meeting [there must be]may 
not be held unless at least [3]three members of the committee present. 
 (3)  The respondent ALJ may present information to, make 
statements, and produce witnesses for the committee's consideration. 
 (4)  Committee members may ask questions of any witness 
including the respondent ALJ. 
 (5)  Immediately following the conclusion of the committee 
meeting, the committee shall deliberate and decide whether there is 
sufficient evidence the respondent ALJ violated the code of conduct 
or otherwise engaged in misconduct.  Any such decision shall require 
a majority vote of the participating committee members. 
 (6)  The committee shall use the preponderance of the 
evidence standard when making decisions. 
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 (7)  Within 30 days of the conclusion of the committee 
meeting, the chair shall prepare a memorandum decision or report, 
with a recommendation for any proposed personnel action, and shall 
forward the decision and recommendation to the respondent ALJ and 
the agency head of the respondent ALJ. 
 (8)  After deliberation, if the committee finds insufficient 
evidence or reason to determine misconduct occurred, the complaint 
shall be dismissed. 
 
R477-101-14.  Discipline. 
 (1)  At any time after the commencement of a full 
investigation and before any committee action, the ALJ may admit to 
any of the allegations in exchange for a stated sanction.  The 
committee shall make a recommendation based on the admission. 
 (2)  [An]Management at an employing agency shall comply 
with applicable division or state rule governing discipline when 
taking any corrective action or disciplinary action against a career 
service employee. 
 
R477-101-15.  Reinstatement of Proceedings. 
 (1)  Reinstatement upon request by complainant. 
 (a)  If a complaint is dismissed, the complainant may, 
within 20 days of the date of the letter notifying the complainant of 
the dismissal, file a written request that the committee reinstate the 
complaint.  The complainant shall specify the grounds upon which 
reinstatement is sought in the written request. 
 (b)  The committee shall consider the written request and 
determine whether to reinstate the complaint at the next available 
meeting of the committee. 
 (c)  A determination not to reinstate the complaint is not 
reviewable. 
 (2)  Reinstatement by the chair. 
 (a)  If the committee dismisses a complaint, the chair may, 
at any time upon the receipt of newly discovered evidence, request 
that the committee reinstate the complaint.  The chair shall specify 
the grounds upon which the reinstatement is sought in the request. 
 (b)  The committee shall consider the request and determine 
whether to reinstate the complaint at the next available meeting of the 
committee. 
 
R477-101-16.  Performance Standard. 
 (1)  The following minimum performance standards apply 
to each ALJ: 
 (a)  an ALJ may not have more than one agency disciplinary 
action or one committee recommendation for disciplinary action 
during the ALJ's four-year evaluation cycle; and 
 (b)  an ALJ shall receive a satisfactory rating on the survey.  
A satisfactory rating is achieved when an average of at least 65% of 
collected responses to survey questions for an ALJ is "Agree."[.]  Any 
survey question with a response of "Not enough information to 
respond" will not be used when calculating the rating. 
 (2)  For any [question that does not use the 
"Agree"/"Disagree"]open-ended response option, the committee 
shall establish the minimum performance standard.  Any established 
performance standard shall be substantially equivalent to the standard 
required by Section 63A-17-705. 
 
R477-101-17.  Performance Surveys. 
 (1)  The division shall establish and follow a schedule to 
survey the performance of each ALJ every four years in a staggered 
schedule to survey the performance of [approximately]about [one 
quarter]one-quarter of ALJ's each calendar year. 

 (2)  Survey respondents shall include: 
 (a)  an attorney who has appeared before the administrative 
law judge as counsel in the proceeding; and 
 (b)  staff who have worked with the administrative law 
judge. 
 (3)  Additional respondents may include any other persons 
who have appeared on record before the administrative law judge, 
including pro se parties and witnesses. 
 (4)  The division shall maintain survey results separate 
from the ALJ's personnel file. 
 (5)  The division shall make survey results available to the 
ALJ's direct supervisor for consideration in completing annual 
performance evaluations. 
 
R477-101-18.  Training. 
 (1)  The division shall provide an annual webcast on the 
topic of procedural fairness for administrative law judges.  The 
content of the webcast shall comply with the provisions and 
requirements set forth in Section 63A-17-710. 
 (2)  Each year that an administrative law judge receives a 
performance evaluation conducted by the division under this section, 
the administrative law judge shall complete the procedural fairness 
training program established by the division. 
 
R477-101-19.  Hiring of Administrative Law Judges. 
 (1)  Hiring of administrative law judges [must comply 
with]is governed by Sections 63A-17-704 and [Section ]R477-4-15. 
 
KEY:  administrative law judges, conduct committee 
Date of Last Change:  2022[July 1, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 9, 2022 
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through 63A-17-710 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R497-100.  Adjudicative Proceedings 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
With the consolidation of the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department), the Department of Human 
Services is amending the rules that establish the 
administrative hearing procedures for the Department.  
This amendment aligns the administrative hearing 
procedures for the Center for Medical Cannabis 
Compassionate Use Board with the consolidated 
Department's standards and procedures. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment aligns the administrative hearing 
procedures for the Center for Medical Cannabis 
Compassionate Use Board with the consolidated 
Department's standards and procedures.  It also amends 
language to adhere to the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
It is not anticipated that this rule will result in a fiscal impact 
to the state budget.  This rule aligns the administrative 
hearing procedures with the consolidated Department's 
standards and is not fiscal in nature. 
  
B)  Local governments: 

This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to local 
governments because this rule does not establish 
requirements for local agencies. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to small 
businesses because this rule does not establish 
requirements for small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to non-
small businesses because this rule does not establish 
requirements for non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to 
persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because 
this rule does not establish requirements for persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this rule. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
26B-1-202(1) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 05/02/2022 

 
R497.  Human Services, Administration, Administrative 
Hearings. 
R497-100.  Adjudicative Proceedings. 
R497-100-1.  Authority. 
 The Department of Health and Human Services, Office of 
Administrative Hearings is given rulemaking authority pursuant to 
Subsection 26B-1-202(1)[62A-1-111]. 
 
R497-100-2.  Definitions. 
 For purposes of this rule, the definitions in Section 63G-4-
103 of the Utah Administrative Procedures Act apply in addition to 
the following:[The terms used in this rule are defined in Section 63G-
4-103.] 
 (1)  For [the purpose of ]this rule, "agency" means the 
Department of Health and Human Services or a division, [or ]office, 
or operational unit of the Department of Health and Human Services 

including the Division of Child and Family Services (DCFS), the 
Division of Services for People with Disabilities (DSPD), the 
Division of Juvenile Justice and Youth Services (DJJYS), the 
Division of Aging and Adult Services (DAAS),[ the Division of 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH),] the 
Division[Office] of Licensing and Background Checks (D[O]LBC), 
the Utah State Developmental Center (USDC)[, the Utah State 
Hospital (USH)], the Center for Medical Cannabis (CMC), and any 
boards, commissions, officers, councils, committees, bureaus, or 
other administrative units, including the Executive Director and 
Director of each Division, Office, or Institution.  For purposes of this 
rule, the term "agency" does not include the Office of Recovery 
Services (ORS), the Division of Integrated Health Care (DIH), or the 
Compassionate Use Board within the CMC. 
 (2)  "Adjudicative[Agency actions or] proceedings" of the 
Department of Health and Human Services include[ the following]: 
 (a)  [challenges to ]findings of child abuse, neglect and 
dependency pursuant to Section 62A-4a-1009; 
 (b)  due process [hearings afforded]given to foster parents 
regarding the removal of a foster child from their home pursuant to 
Section 62A-4a-206; 
 (c)  the denial, revocation, modification or suspension of a 
license issued by DLBC pursuant to Sections 62A-2-106, 62A-2-120, 
26-8a-501 through 507, 26-8A-310, 26-8a-401 through 416, 26-21-
11, 26-21-201 through 210, 26-39-401 through 404, and 26-39-
601[the denial, revocation, modification or suspension of a license 
issued by the Office of Licensing pursuant to Section 62A-2-101]; 
 (d)  [challenges to ]findings of abuse, neglect or 
exploitation of a vulnerable adult pursuant to Section 62A-3-301; 
 (e)  actions by the DJJYS[Division of Juvenile Justice 
Services] and the Youth Parole Authority relating to granting or 
revocation of parole, discipline, or resolution of grievances, 
supervision, confinement or treatment of residents of any Juvenile 
Justice Services facility or institution; 
 (f)  resolution of client grievances with respect to delivery 
of services by contracted private, nongovernmental providers within 
the agency's service delivery system; 
 (g)  actions by agency owned and operated institutions and 
facilities relating to discipline or treatment of residents of those 
facilities; 
 (h)  placement and transfer decisions affecting 
involuntarily committed residents of the USDC[Utah State 
Developmental Center] pursuant to Section 62A-5-313; 
 (i)  protective payee hearings;[ and] 
 (j)  a denial, termination, suspension, or reduction of a 
license or card issued pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical 
Cannabis Act, or the imposition of a penalty or fine, authorized under 
Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act; and 
 (j)  [A]agency records amendment hearings held pursuant 
to Section 63G-2-603. 
 (3)  "Aggrieved person" includes any applicant, recipient, 
or person aggrieved by an agency action. 
 (4)  "Claimant" means the party that initiates an 
adjudicative proceeding whether by an agency action or a request for 
agency action. 
 ([4]5)  "Declaratory Order" is an administrative 
interpretation or explanation of the applicability of a statute, rule, or 
order within the primary jurisdiction of the agency to specified 
circumstances. 
 (6)  "Ex Parte" communication means direct or indirect 
communication in connection with an issue of fact or law, between 
the Administrative Law Judge and one party only. 
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 ([5]7)  "Mail" means to send[transmit] through mail 
services, email, or [facsimile]hand-delivery. 
 ([6]8)  "Office" means the Office of Administrative 
Hearings in the Department of Human Services. 
 ([7]9)  "Presiding officer" means an agency head, or 
individual designated by the agency head, by these rules, by agency 
rule, or by statute to conduct an adjudicative proceeding and may 
include the following: 
 (a)  hearing officers; 
 (b)  administrative law judges; 
 (c)  division and office directors; 
 (d)  the superintendent of agency institutions; and 
 (e)  statutorily created boards or committees. 
 
R497-100-3.  Exceptions. 
 [The provisions of this rule do not govern the 
following:]This rules does not govern the following: 
 (1)  The procedures for promulgation of agency rules, or 
the judicial review of those procedures.  Pursuant to Subsection 63G-
4-102(2)(a). 
 (2)  Department actions relating to contracts for the 
purchase or sale of goods or services by and for the state or by and 
for the agency, including terminations of contracts by the 
[D]department. 
 (3)  [Initial applications for and initial determinations of 
eligibility for state-funded programs.]The issuance of a license to 
operate a medical cannabis pharmacy, pursuant to Title 63G, Chapter 
6a, Utah Procurement Code. 
 (4)  Adjudicative proceedings brought by or against ORS.  
[The rules regarding]Rule R527-200 contains ORS adjudicative 
proceeding rules.[are stated in Rule R527-200.] 
 (5)  Adjudicative proceedings brought by or against DIH.  
Rule R410-14 contains DIH adjudicative proceeding rules. 
 (6)  Adjudicative proceedings brought by or against the 
CMC Compassionate Use Board.  Rule R380-412 contains CMC 
Compassionate Use Board adjudicative proceeding rules. 
 
R497-100-4.  Form of Proceeding. 
 (1)  Adjudicative proceedings commenced by the 
Department of Health and Human Services or commenced by other 
persons affected by the Department of Health and Human Services' 
actions shall be informal adjudicative proceedings. 
 (2)  Any time before [a]the office issues a final order[ is 
issued] in any adjudicative proceeding, the presiding officer may 
convert an informal adjudicative proceeding to a formal adjudicative 
proceeding if: 
 (a)  conversion of the proceeding is in the public interest; 
and 
 (b)  conversion of the proceeding does not unfairly 
prejudice the rights of any party. 
 (3)  If [a]the presiding officer converts a proceeding [is 
converted ]from informal to formal, the [P]procedures for [F]formal 
[A]adjudicative [P]proceedings in Sections 63G-4-204 through 63G-
4-208 shall apply.  In other cases, the [P]procedures for [I]informal 
[P]proceedings in Sections 63G-4-203 and R497-100-7, and other 
applicable department rules shall apply. 
 
R497-100-5.  Commencement of Proceedings. 
 (1)  Adjudicative proceedings shall [be ]commence[d] by 
either: 
 (a)  a notice of agency action, if proceedings are 
commenced by the agency; or 

 (b)  a request for agency action, if persons other than the 
agency commence proceedings[ are commenced by persons other 
than the agency]. 
 (2)  When adjudicative proceedings are commenced by the 
agency, the notice of agency action shall conform to Subsection 63G-
4-201(2) and shall also include a statement that: 
 (a)  the adjudicative proceeding is to be conducted 
informally; and 
 (b)  describes the aggrieved person's right to request a 
hearing and the applicable time limits within which the aggrieved 
person shall request a hearing[ must be requested]. 
 (3)  When adjudicative proceedings are commenced by a 
person other than the agency, the request for agency action shall 
conform to Subsections 63G-4-201(3)(a) through 63G-4-201(3)(b) 
and include the name of the adjudicative proceeding, if known. 
 (4)  In the case of adjudicative proceedings commenced 
under Subsection (3), the presiding officer shall within [ten]20 
calendar [business ]days give notice by mail to all parties.  The 
written notice shall: 
 (a)  give the agency's file number or other reference 
number; 
 (b)  give the name of the proceeding; 
 (c)  [designate that the proceeding is to be conducted 
informally;]designate that the presiding officer shall conduct the 
hearing informally; 
 (d)  if a hearing is to be held in an informal adjudicative 
proceeding, state the time and place of any scheduled hearing, the 
purpose for which the hearing is to be held, and that a party who fails 
to attend or participate in the hearing may be held in default; 
 (e)  if a hearing is required by statute or rule, or if a hearing 
is permitted by rule and may be requested by a party within the time 
prescribed by rule, state the parties' right to request a hearing and the 
time within which a hearing may be requested under the agency's 
rules[the agency's rules do not provide for a hearing, state the parties' 
right to request a hearing within ten working days of the agency's 
response]; and 
 (f)  give the name, title, mailing address, and telephone 
number of the presiding officer. 
 
R497-100-6.  Availability of Hearing. 
 (1)  When an agency commences an informal adjudicative 
proceeding[ is commenced by the agency], if statute or agency rule 
does not provide otherwise, a party may request a hearing within 15 
calendar [ten business ]days of receipt of the notice of agency action. 
 (2)  The agency shall promptly forward hearing requests to 
the office, unless statute or rule designates another presiding 
officer.[Hearing requests received by the agency shall be forwarded 
to the office, unless another presiding officer is designated by statute 
or rule.] 
 (3)  In the case of a hearing commenced under Subsection 
(1), a party who fails to request a hearing within 15 calendar [ten 
business ]days of receipt of the notice of agency action shall have no 
right to an administrative[adjudicative] hearing or judicial review of 
the agency action, unless the party can demonstrate, by a 
preponderance of the evidence, that it was virtually impossible or 
unreasonably burdensome to file the request within [ten business]15 
calendar days. 
 (4)  [Hearings may be held in any informal adjudicative 
proceedings conducted in connection with an agency action if the 
aggrieved party requests a hearing and if there is a disputed issue of 
fact.]If the aggrieved party requests a hearing and if there is a 
disputed issue or fact, the presiding officer may hold an informal 
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hearing in connection with an agency action.  If there is no disputed 
issue of fact, the presiding officer may deny a request for a hearing 
and issue a decision without a hearing, based on the record.  In the 
decision, the presiding officer shall specifically set out all material, 
and relevant facts that are not in dispute.[determine the issues in the 
adjudicative proceeding, if such a determination complies with the 
policies and standards of the applicable agency.]  If the aggrieved 
person objects to the denial of a hearing, that person may raise that 
objection as grounds for relief in a request for reconsideration. 
 (5)  There is no issue of fact if: 
 (a)  the aggrieved person tenders facts which on their face 
establish the right of the agency to take the action or obtain the relief 
sought in the proceeding; or 
 (b)  the aggrieved person tenders facts upon the request of 
the presiding officer and the fact does not conflict with the facts relied 
upon by the agency in taking its action or seeking its relief. 
 
R497-100-7.  Settlement Agreements. 
 So long as there is no statutory or rule prohibition against 
such, at any time before the issuance of a final decision and order, the 
parties may enter into a settlement agreement resolving all, or part, 
of the adjudicative proceeding. 
R497-100-8.  Stays. 
 (1)  The presiding officer may stay an adjudicative 
proceeding during the time an investigation or court case is pending 
due to the same facts that gave rise to the agency action. 
 (2)  If the stay is based on a proceeding in a state court of 
public record, the presiding officer may monitor the public records of 
that proceeding to determine if the stay should be continued or lifted, 
or if other action must be taken. 
 
R497-100-[7]9.  Procedures for Informal Proceedings. 
 In compliance with Section 63G-4-203, the procedure for 
the informal adjudicative proceedings are[is as follows]: 
 (1)[ ](a)  Unless specified otherwise in another applicable 
rule, t[T]he respondent to a notice of agency action or request for 
agency action may, but is not required to, file an answer or responsive 
pleading to the allegations contained in the notice of agency action 
or the request for agency action within 15 calendar[10 business] days 
following receipt of the notice of agency action or request for agency 
action. 
 (b)  An attorney or non-attorney may represent a party.[A 
party may be represented by an attorney or a non-attorney.]  
[Attorneys will not be appointed by the office or the agency.]The 
office or agency shall not pay for the attorney. 
 (c)  The parties shall not exercise discovery, but the office 
may issue subpoenas or other orders to compel the production of 
necessary evidence. 
 (d)  Attorneys may issue their own subpoenas for necessary 
evidence.  Parties who are not represented by attorneys may request 
subpoenas from the office.  The party to whom the presiding officer 
has issued a subpoena shall cause the subpoena to be served on the 
witness. 
 (e)  Parties shall request a subpoena as shortly after a 
hearing date is set as is possible.  The office will not issue subpoenas 
less than 16 calendar days before the hearing. 
 (f)  Each party shall have access to information contained 
in the agency's files and to materials and information gathered in any 
investigation, to the extent permitted by law. 
 (g)  The office may require that parties exchange 
documents before the hearing to expedite the hearing process. 

 (h)  Intervention is prohibited, except that intervention is 
allowed where a federal statute or rule requires that a state permit 
intervention. 
 [(c)](i)  The office shall hold a[A] hearing [shall be 
provided to ]for any party entitled to request a hearing as a matter of 
law.[in accordance with Section 63G-4-203.] 
 (j)  In the hearing, the presiding officer shall take testimony 
under oath or affirmation. 
 ([d]k)  In the hearing, the parties[party named in the notice 
of agency action or in the request for agency action] shall be 
permitted to testify, present evidence, and comment on the issues. 
 (l)  Each party may offer any relevant evidence, including 
hearsay evidence.  Claimant cannot base their case exclusively on 
inadmissible hearsay.  Claimant must present a residuum of evidence 
that would be admissible under the rules of procedure with the 
applicable court of competent jurisdiction. 
 (m)  The presiding officer may exclude irrelevant, 
immaterial, and unduly repetitious evidence. 
 (n)  The presiding officer may question any party or 
witness. 
 (o)  The presiding officer shall maintain order, and may 
recess the hearing to regain order if a person engages in disrespectful, 
disorderly, or disruptive conduct.  The presiding officer may remove 
any person, including a party, from the hearing to maintain order.  If 
a person shows persistent disregard for order and procedure, the 
presiding officer may: 
 (i)  restrict the person's participation in the hearing; or 
 (ii)  issue an order of default. 
 (p)  When a party claims to have but fails to introduce 
certain evidence, the presiding officer may infer that the evidence 
does not support the party's position. 
 (q)  The presiding officer may issue an order of default 
against any party that fails to appear, participate, or obey an order 
entered by the presiding officer. 
 (r)[(e)]  The office will hold [H]hearings [will be held ]only 
after a timely notice has been mailed to each party. 
[ (f)  Discovery is prohibited, but the office may issue 
subpoenas or other orders to compel production of necessary 
evidence.  The office may require that parties exchange documents 
prior to the hearing in order to expedite the process.  Each party to 
the proceedings will be responsible for the appearance of witnesses. 
 (g)  Each party shall have access to information contained 
in the agency's files and to materials and information gathered in any 
investigation, to the extent permitted by law. 
 (h)  Intervention is prohibited, except that intervention is 
allowed where a federal statute or rule requires that a state permit 
intervention.] 
 ([i]s)  Within a reasonable time after the close of the 
hearing, or after the party's failure to request a hearing within the time 
prescribed by the agency's rules, the presiding officer shall issue a 
signed order in writing that conforms to Subsection 63G-4-203(1)(i). 
 ([j]t)  Hearings shall be open to the parties.[each party.]  
Hearings are not open to the public. 
 ([k]u)  The presiding officer['s] shall base their order[ shall 
be based] on the facts appearing in the agency's files that were 
available to the other party and on the facts presented in evidence at 
the hearings. 
 ([l]v)  The office shall promptly mail a[A] copy of the 
presiding officer's order [shall be promptly mailed ]to each of the 
parties. 
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 (2)  [Hearings shall be recorded at the office's expense. ]A 
transcript of the record may be prepared pursuant to Subsection 63G-
4-203(2)(b).  The presiding officer may record any proceedings other 
than a hearing at their own discretion. 
 (3)  When the agency commences an informal adjudicative 
proceeding and is to be heard by the office, [U]unless statute or 
agency rule specify otherwise, [when an informal adjudicative 
proceeding is commenced by the agency and is to be heard by the 
office, ]the agency shall have the burden of proving, by a 
preponderance of the evidence, that its decision was reasonable.  The 
agency can demonstrate this by showing that the agency's decision 
was not arbitrary or capricious.[This can be demonstrated by showing 
that the agency's decision was not arbitrary and capricious.] 
 (4)  The parties shall mail copies of any [M]motions or [and 
]pleadings filed with the office [by a party shall be mailed ]to each of 
the other parties named in the action. 
 (5)  Motions or pleadings received by the office after 
regular business hours of Monday through Friday, 8[:00] a.m. to 
5[:00] p.m., excluding state holidays, will be deemed received the 
following business day. 
 (6)  Ex parte communication with the presiding officer is 
prohibited unless all other parties to the case have been given notice 
and opportunity to be present.  The prohibition against ex parte 
communication does not apply to communication on the status of the 
hearing, and uncontested procedural matters.  The presiding officer 
shall report any improper ex parte discussions at the time of the 
hearing and be made apart of the record. 
 (7)  The parties must keep the office informed of their 
current address, email address, and telephone number. 
 
R497-100-[8]10.  Platform and Venue. 
 (1)  The office shall hold hearings by telephone, video 
conferencing, or in-person, as determined by the office.[Hearings 
shall be held by telephone, video conferencing or in-person, as 
determined by the office.] 
 (2)  The office shall conduct hearings by telephone or video 
conferencing when[ever] possible. 
 (3)  The office may hold in-person hearings if the office fins 
good cause to do so.[In-person hearings may be held if the office 
finds good cause to do so.]  Good cause includes that a party does not 
have the equipment necessary to participate in a video hearing. 
 (4)  Venue for in-person hearings conducted by the office 
shall be in an agency office located in the county closest to where the 
aggrieved person resides or maintains their principal place of 
business, unless the office finds good cause to hold the hearing 
elsewhere. 
 
R497-100-11.  Amending Administrative Orders. 
 (1)  The presiding officer may amend an order if the 
presiding officer determines that the order contains a clerical error. 
 (2)  The presiding officer shall mail a copy of the amended 
final decision and order to each party. 
 
[R497-100-9.  Declaratory Orders. 
 (1)  Who May File.  Any person or governmental entity 
directly affected by a statute, rule or order administered, promulgated 
or issued by an agency, may file a petition for a declaratory order by 
addressing and delivering the written petition to the presiding officer 
of the appropriate agency. 
 (2)  Content of Petition. The petition shall be clearly 
designated as a request for an agency declaratory order and shall 
include the following information; 

 (a)  the statute, rule or order to be reviewed; 
 (b)  a detailed description of the situation or circumstances 
at issue; 
 (c)  a description of the reason or need for a declaratory 
order, including a statement as to why the petition should not be 
considered frivolous; 
 (d)  an address and telephone where the petitioner can be 
contacted during regular work days; 
 (e)  a statement about whether the petitioner has 
participated in a completed or on-going adjudicative proceeding 
concerning the same issue within the past 12 months; and 
 (f)  the signature of the petitioner or an authorized 
representative. 
 (3)  Exemptions from Declaratory Order Procedure.  A 
declaratory order shall not be issued by the agency under the 
following circumstances: 
 (a)  the subject matter of the petition is not within the 
jurisdiction and competency of the agency; 
 (b)  the person requesting the declaratory ruling 
participated in an adjudicative proceeding concerning the same issue 
within 12 months of the date of the declaratory order request; 
 (c)  the declaratory order procedure is likely to substantially 
prejudice the rights of a person who would be a necessary party, 
unless that person consents in writing to a determination of the matter 
by a declaratory proceeding; 
 (d)  the declaratory order is trivial, irrelevant, or 
immaterial; 
 (e)  a declaratory order proceeding is otherwise prohibited 
by state or federal law; 
 (f)  a declaratory order is not in the best interest of the 
agency or the public; 
 (g)  the subject matter is not ripe for consideration; or 
 (h)  the issue is currently pending in a judicial proceeding. 
 (4)  Intervention in Accordance with Subsection 63G-4-
203(1)(g) and Section 63G-4-503. 
 (a)  Intervention is prohibited in informal adjudicative 
proceedings, except where a federal statute or rule requires that 
intervention be permitted. 
 (b)  In the case of an adjudicative proceeding that has been 
converted to a formal adjudicative proceeding, a person may 
intervene in a declaratory order proceeding by filing a petition to 
intervene with the presiding officer of the agency within 30 days after 
the conversion of the proceeding. 
 (c)  The agency presiding officer may grant a petition to 
intervene if the petition meets the following requirements: 
 (i)  the intervener's legal interests may be substantially 
affected by the declaratory order proceedings; and 
 (ii)  the interests of justice and the orderly and prompt 
conduct of the declaratory order proceeding will not be materially 
impaired by allowing intervention. 
 (5)  Review of Petition for Declaratory Order. 
 (a)  After review and consideration of a petition for a 
declaratory order, the presiding officer of the agency may issue a 
written order that conforms to Subsection 63G-4-503(6)(a). 
 (b)  If the matter is set for an adjudicative proceeding, 
written notice shall be mailed to all parties that shall: 
 (i)  give the name, title, mailing address, and telephone 
number of the presiding officer; 
 (ii)  give the agency's file number or other reference 
number; 
 (iii)  give the name of the proceeding; 
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 (iv)  state whether the proceeding shall be conducted 
informally or formally; 
 (v)  state the time and place of any scheduled hearing, the 
purpose for which the hearing is to be held, and that a party who fails 
to attend or participate in the hearing may be held in default; and 
 (vi)  if the agency's rules do not provide for a hearing, state 
the parties' right to request a hearing within 10 working days of the 
agency's response. 
 (c)  If the agency's presiding officer issues a declaratory 
order, it shall conform to Subsection 63G-4-503(6)(b) and shall also 
contain: 
 (i)  a notice of any right of administrative or judicial review 
available to the parties; and 
 (ii)  the time limits for filing an appeal or requesting review. 
 (d)  A copy of the declaratory order shall be mailed in 
accordance with Subsection 63G-4-503(6)(c). 
 (e)  If the agency's presiding officer has not issued a 
declaratory order within 60 days after receipt of the petition, the 
petition is deemed denied.] 
 
R497-100-12[0].  Agency Review. 
 The [A]agency [review ]shall not [be ]allow agency review 
under Section 63G-4-301.[ed.] 
 
R497-100-13[1].  Reconsideration. 
 (1)  Nothing contained in this rule prohibits a party from 
filing a petition for reconsideration pursuant to Section 63G-4-302.  
If the 20th day for filing a request for reconsideration falls on a 
weekend or holiday, the deadline shall [will be ]extend[ed] until the 
next working day. 
 (2)  A presiding officer may grant a request for 
reconsideration if the moving party demonstrates that the final 
decision and order contains an error of fact or law, based on the 
evidence presented at hearing, the correction of which would 
materially alter the ultimate decision. 
 
R497-100-1[2]4.  Scope and Applicability. 
 [The provisions of this section supersede the provisions of 
any other Department]This section supersedes any other department 
rule[s] that may conflict with the foregoing rules. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, social services 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 1, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 19, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26B-1-
202(1)[62A-1-110; 62A-1-111] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-102 Filing ID 
54581 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-102.  Insurance Department Fee Payment Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed to update the fees for a captive 
insurance company and to comply with Executive Order 
No. 2021-12. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The most significant change is an update to the fees paid 
by a captive insurance company.  The majority of the 
changes are being done to fix style issues to bring this rule 
text more in line with the Utah Rulewriting Manual 
standards and make the language of this rule more clear. 
 
Public Hearing Information: 
Virtual Meeting ID: 
June 7, 2022, 2:00 PM 
meet.google.com/ggj-ohvi-gff 
Phone: 254-826-9801 
PIN: 998 471 491 #  
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There are 340 companies holding a captive insurance 
company license in Utah.  Each of these companies will 
pay an additional $1,125 at renewal.  This will result in the 
Department of Insurance (Department) collecting an 
additional $382,500 in annual revenue.  Additionally, there 
are 10 captives in dormancy that pay half the normal 
renewal fee, for an additional $5,625 to the Department, 
annually. 
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B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The majority of changes are clerical in 
nature, and the fee increase will not affect any local 
governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Only a very small number of captives operating in Utah 
have employees.  Of the 340 currently licensed captives, 
fewer than 20 are estimated to have 1 to 49 employees.  
These captives will have a cost increase of $1,125 for their 
annual license fees, resulting in an aggregate cost 
increase of less than $22,500, annually. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  No captives operating in Utah have more 
than 50 employees. 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Most captives operating in Utah have no employees.  Of 
the 340 currently licensed captives, an estimated 320 have 
no employees.  These captives will have a cost increase 
of $1,125 for their annual license fees, resulting in an 
aggregate cost increase of $360,000. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
A captive insurance company doing business in Utah will 
pay $1,125 more annually for its license. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will result in an 
additional annual cost of $1,125 to each affected party as 
a result of this rule.  However, an insurer is required to 
have a minimum of $250,000 of unimpaired capital to form 
and maintain a captive in Utah; the additional $1,125 a 
year will not be fiscally burdensome.  Despite the increase, 
Utah will remain one of the nation's most cost competitive 
domiciles for captives.  Due to a number of new policies at 
the federal level, the captive industry is seeing a lot of 
uncertainty nationwide.  The level of uncertainty is 
sufficient to make it impossible to estimate how the next 
two years will look.  Recent years have seen a significant 
number of new captives, a significant number of closures, 
and both in the same year.  The Department believes the 
most accurate estimate is to assume a status quo for the 

next few years while the federal policies settle.  Jonathan 
T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$22,500 $22,500 $22,500 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$365,625 $365,625 $365,625 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$388,125 $388,125 $388,125 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$388,125 $388,125 $388,125 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$388,125 $388,125 $388,125 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 31A-3-103  
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Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
06/07/2022 02:00 PM See details above in 

Box 4 
 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/02/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-102.  Insurance Department Fee Payment Rule. 
R590-102-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is [adopted pursuant to Subsection 31A-3-103(3), 
which requires the commissioner to publish the schedule of fees 
approved by the legislature and to establish deadlines for payment of 
each of the various fees]promulgated by the commissioner pursuant 
to Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-3-103. 
 
R590-102-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose[s] of this rule [are ]is to: 
 (a)  publish the schedule of fees approved by the 
legislature; 
 (b)  establish fee deadlines; and 
 (c)  disclose this information to licensees and the public. 
 (2)  [The ]This rule applies to: 
 (a)  any person engaged in the business of insurance in 
Utah; 
 (b)  any person holding an insurance license in Utah; 
 (c)  any applicant for a license, registration, certificate, or 
other similar filing; and 
 (d)  any person requesting any service provided by the 
department for which a fee is required. 
 
R590-102-3.  Definitions. 
 [In addition to the definitions in Title 31A, Insurance Code, 
the following definitions shall apply for the purposes of this 
rule]Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301 and 
63G-4-106. Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  ["Admitted insurer" includes fraternal, health, health 
maintenance organization, life, limited health plan, motor club, non-

profit health service, property and casualty, title insurer, and a 
prescription drug plan. 
 (2)  "Agency" means: 
 (a)  a person, other than an individual, including a sole 
proprietorship by which a natural person does business under an 
assumed name; and 
 (b)  an insurance organization required to be licensed under 
Sections 31A-23a-301, 31A-25-207, and 31A-26-209. 
 (3)  "Captive insurer" includes association captive, branch 
captive, industrial insured captive, pure captive, sponsored captive, 
and special purpose financial captive.  It does not include a captive 
cell]"Captive insurance company" means the same as under Section 
31A-37-102. 
 [(4)](2)  "Deadline" means the final date or time: 
 (a)  imposed by: 
 (i)  statute; 
 (ii)  rule; or 
 (iii)  order; and 
 (b)  by which: 
 (i)  a payment must be received by the department without 
incurring a penalty for late payment or non-payment; or 
 (ii)  required information must be received by the 
department without incurring a penalty for late receipt or non-receipt. 
 [(5)](3)  "Fee" means an amount set by the commissioner, 
by statute, or by rule, and approved by the legislature for a license, 
registration, certificate, or other filing or service provided by the 
[Insurance Department]department. 
 (4)  "Electronic payment" means a credit card or automated 
clearinghouse payment. 
[ (6)  "Full-line agency" includes a producer, consultant, 
independent adjuster, managing general agent, public adjuster, 
reinsurance intermediary broker, and third-party administrator. 
 (7)  "Full-line individual" includes a producer, consultant, 
independent adjuster, managing general agent, public adjuster, 
reinsurance intermediary broker, and third-party administrator. 
 (8)  "Limited-line agency" includes a bail bond producer 
and a limited-line producer. 
 (9)  "Limited-line individual" includes a bail bond agent, 
limited-lines producer, and customer service representative.] 
 [(10)](5)  "Other organization" includes a home warranty, 
joint underwriter, purchasing group, rate service organization, risk 
retention group, service contract provider, and health discount 
program. 
[ (11)  "Non-electronic application" means an application 
that must be manually entered into the department's database because 
the application was submitted by paper, facsimile, or email when the 
department has provided an electronic application process and stated 
the electronic process is the preferred process for receiving an 
application. 
 (12)  "Non-electronic filing" means a filing that must be 
manually entered into the department's database because the filing 
was submitted by paper, facsimile, or email when the department has 
provided an electronic filing process and stated the electronic process 
is the preferred process for receiving a filing. 
 (13)  "Non-electronic payment" means a payment that must 
be manually entered by the department because the payment was 
submitted by check, money order, or other physical medium when 
the department has provided an electronic payment process and stated 
the electronic process is the preferred process for receiving a 
payment.] 
 (6)  "Medicare prescription drug plan insurer" means an 
insurer that offers exclusively Medicare Part D coverage. 
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 [(14)](7)  "Received[ by the department]" means: 
 (a)  the date delivered to and stamped received by the 
department, if delivered in person; 
 (b)  the postmark date, if delivered by mail; 
 (c)  the delivery service's postmark date or pick[-]up date, 
if delivered by a delivery service; or 
 (d)  the received date recorded on an item delivered, if 
delivered by: 
 (i)  facsimile; 
 (ii)  email; or 
 (iii)  another electronic method; or 
 (e)  a date specified in: 
 (i)  a statute; 
 (ii)  a rule; or 
 (iii)  an order. 
 
R590-102-4.  General Instructions. 
 (1)  [Any ]Due Date. A fee payable to the department not 
included in Sections R590-102-5 through R590-102-24 [shall be ]is 
due when service is requested[, if applicable, otherwise ] or by the 
due date on the invoice. 
 (2)  Payment. 
 (a)  A [non-electronic payment ]processing fee will be 
added to a non-electronic payment [when ]if the department [has 
provided ]provides an electronic payment process[ and stated the 
electronic process is the preferred process for receiving a payment]. 
 (b)  Check. 
 (i)  A check shall be made payable to the Utah Insurance 
Department. 
 (ii)  A person will be charged all fees associated with a 
dishonored check[ that is dishonored in the process of the collection 
will not constitute payment of the fee for which it was issued and any 
action taken based on the payment will be voided]. 
 (iii)  A dishonored check will not constitute payment of the 
fee for which the check was issued and any action taken based on the 
payment will be voided. 
 (iv)  [Any ]A late fee or [other ]penalty resulting from [the 
voided action ]a voided check will apply until proper payment is 
[made]received. 
[ (iv)  A check payment that is dishonored is a violation of 
this rule.] 
 (c)  Cash.  The department is not responsible for [un-
receipted ]a cash payment that is lost or misdelivered prior to a 
receipt being issued. 
 (d)  Electronic Payment. 
[ (i)  Credit card. 
 (A)  A credit card may be used to pay any fee due to the 
department. 
 (B)  A credit card payment that is dishonored will not 
constitute payment of the fee and any action taken based on the 
payment will be voided. 
 (C)  A late fee or other penalty resulting from the voided 
action will apply until proper payment is made. 
 (D)  A credit card payment that is dishonored is a violation 
of this rule. 
 (ii)  Automated clearinghouse (ACH). 
 (A)  Any payer or purchaser desiring to use this method 
must contact the department for the proper routing and transit 
information. 
 (B)  A payment that is made in error to another agency or 
that is not deposited into the department's account will not constitute 

payment of the fee and any action taken based on the payment will 
be voided. 
 (C)  Any late fee or other penalty resulting from the voided 
action will apply until proper payment is made. 
 (D)  An ACH payment that is dishonored is a violation of 
this rule.] 
 (i)  An electronic payment may be used to pay any fee due 
to the department. 
 (ii)  A person will be charged all fees associated with a 
dishonored electronic payment. 
 (iii)  A dishonored electronic payment will not constitute 
payment of the fee for which the electronic payment was issued and 
any action taken based on the payment will be voided. 
 (iv)  A late fee or penalty resulting from a voided electronic 
payment will apply until proper payment is received. 
 (3)  Retaliation.  The fees enumerated in this rule are not 
subject to retaliation [in accordance with ]under Section 31A-3-401 
if other states or countries impose higher fees. 
 (4)  Refund[s]. 
 (a)  [Fees ]A fee enumerated in this rule [are ]is non-
refundable. 
 (b)  [Overpayments of fees are ]An overpayment of a fee is 
refundable. 
 (c)  A request for a [return ]refund of an overpayment [must 
]shall be submitted in writing. 
 (5)  [A non-electronic processing fee described in Section 
R590-102-21 will be assessed for a particular service if the 
department has established an electronic process for that service]A 
payment made in error to another agency or that is not deposited into 
the department's account will not constitute payment and any action 
taken based on the payment will be voided. 
 (6)  An[y] annual or biennial license fee, service fee, or 
assessment described in this rule is for services the department will 
provide during the year and is paid in advance of providing the 
services. 
 (7)  An electronic commerce dedicated fee described in 
Section R590-102-23 may be added to the fees required by Sections 
R590-102-5 through R590-102-20. 
 
R590-102-5.  Admitted Insurer [and Prescription Drug Plan 
]Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees for a certificate of authority: 
 (a)  [certificate of authority ]initial license application, due 
with license application -- $1,000; 
 (b)  [certificate of authority ]renewal, due by the due date 
on the invoice -- $300; 
 (c)  [certificate of authority ]late renewal, due for any 
renewal paid after the date on the invoice -- $350; and 
 (d)  [certificate of authority ]reinstatement, due with 
application for reinstatement -- $1,000. 
 (2)  Other license fees for a certificate of authority: 
 (a)  [certificate of authority ]amendment[s], due with 
request for amendment -- $250; 
 (b)(i)  Form A application for merger, acquisition, or 
change of control, due with filing -- $2,000; and 
 (ii)  [E]expenses incurred for consultant services necessary 
to evaluate a Form A will be charged to the applicant and due by the 
due date on the invoice; 
 (c)  redomestication filing, due with filing -- $2,000; and 
 (d)  application for organizational permit for a mutual 
insurer to solicit applications for qualifying insurance policies or 
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subscriptions for mutual bonds or contribution notes, due with 
application -- $1,000. 
 (3)  The annual license fee includes the following[ licensing 
services for which no additional fee is required]: 
 (a)  filing annual statement and report of Utah business, due 
annually on March 1; 
 (b)  filing holding company registration statement, Form B; 
 (c)  filing application for material transactions between 
affiliated companies, Form D; and 
 (d)  applications for: 
 (i)  stock solicitation permit; 
 (ii)  public offering filing[, but not an SEC filing]; 
 (iii)  [an ]SEC filing; 
 (iv)  private placement offering; and 
 (v)  individual license to solicit [in accordance ]with the 
stock solicitation permit. 
 (4)  Annual service fee[:]. 
 (a)  [Due ]The annual service fee is due by the due date on 
the invoice. 
 (b)  A Medicare prescription drug plan insurer is exempted 
from payment of a service fee. 
 (c)  The annual service fee is based on the Utah premium 
as shown in the [company's ]insurer's prior year annual statement on 
file with the [National Association of Insurance Commissioners 
]NAIC and the department. 
 (d)  Fee schedule based on premium volume: 
 (i)  $0 premium volume - no service fee; 
 (ii)  more than $0 but less than $1 million[ in premium 
volume - ] -- $700; 
 (iii)  $1 million but less than $3 million[ in premium 
volume - ] -- $1,100; 
 (iv)  $3 million but less than $6 million[ in premium 
volume - ] -- $1,550; 
 (v)  $6 million but less than $11 million[ in premium 
volume - ] -- $2,100; 
 (vi)  $11 million but less than $15 million[ in premium 
volume - ] -- $2,750; 
 (vii)  $15 million but less than $20 million[ in premium 
volume - ] -- $3,500; and 
 (viii)  $20 million or more[ in premium volume - ] -- 
$4,350. 
 (e)  The annual service fee includes the following services[ 
for which no additional fee is required]: 
 (i)  filing of amendments to articles of incorporation, 
charter, or bylaws; 
 (ii)  filing [of ]a power of attorney; 
 (iii)  filing of registered agent; 
 (iv)  affixing the commissioner's seal and certifying any 
paper; 
 (v)  filing of authorization to appoint and remove agents; 
 (vi)  initial filing of a producer's or agency's appointment 
with an insurer; 
 (vii)  [termination of ]terminating a producer's or agency's 
appointment with an insurer; 
 (viii)  report filing; 
 (ix)  rate filing; and 
 (x)  form filing. 
 (5)  Actual costs plus overhead expenses incurred during an 
examination of an insurer shall be paid by the examined insurer by 
the due date on the invoice. 
 

R590-102-6.  Foreign Surplus Lines Insurer[, Accredited 
Reinsurer, Certified Reinsurer, Trusteed Reinsurer, and 
Employee Welfare Fund Administrative/Service ] and Reinsurer 
Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $1,000; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $500; 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal payment paid after 
the due date on the invoice -- $550; and 
 (d)  reinstatement, due with application -- $1,000. 
 (2)  The annual license fee includes the following services[ 
for which no additional fee is required]: 
 (a)  filing [of ]a power of attorney; and 
 (b)  filing of registered agent. 
 
R590-102-7.  Other Organization Fees. 
 (1)(a)  Annual license fees: 
 [(a)](i)  initial, due with application -- $250; 
 [(b)](ii)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- 
$200; 
 [(c)](iii)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the 
due date on the invoice -- $250; and 
 [(d)](iv)  reinstatement, due with application for 
reinstatement -- $250. 
 [(e)](b)  The annual other organization initial or renewal fee 
includes the risk retention group annual statement filing, due 
annually on March 1. 
 (2)  Annual service fee, due by the due date on the invoice 
-- $200. 
 (a)  The annual service fee includes the following services[ 
for which no additional fee is required]: 
 (i)  filing [of ]a power of attorney; 
 (ii)  filing of registered agent;[ and] 
 (iii)  rate[, ] filing; 
 (iv)  form[, ] filing; 
 (v)  report[, or ] filing; and 
 (vi)  service contract filing. 
 
R590-102-8.  Captive [Insurer ]Insurance Company Fees. 
 (1)  Initial license application, due with license application 
-- $200. 
 (2)  Actual costs incurred by the department during the 
initial license application review shall be paid by the captive [insurer 
]insurance company by the due date on the invoice. 
 (3)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due by the due date on the invoice -- 
$[6,125]7,250; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- 
$[6,125]7,250; 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due date 
on the invoice -- $[6,130]7,300; and 
 (d)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $[6,130]7,300. 
 (4)  Actual costs plus overhead expenses incurred during an 
examination of a captive [insurer ]insurance company shall be paid 
by the examined captive [insurer ]insurance company by the due date 
on the invoice. 
 
R590-102-9.  Captive Cell Fees. 
 (1)  Initial license application, due with license application 
-- $200. 
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 (2)  Actual costs incurred by the department during the 
initial license application review shall be paid by the captive [insurer 
]insurance company by the due date on the invoice. 
 (3)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, without proration, due by the due date on the 
invoice -- $1,000; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $1,000; 
and 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due date 
on the invoice -- $1,050. 
 
R590-102-10.  Life Settlement Provider Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $1,000; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $300; 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due date 
on the invoice -- $350; and 
 (d)  reinstatement, due with reinstatement application -- 
$1,000. 
 (2)  Annual service fee, due by the due date on the invoice 
-- $600. 
 (a)  The annual service fee includes[ the following service 
for which no additional fee is required]: 
 (i)  rate[, ] filing; 
 (ii)  form[, ] filing; 
 (iii)  report[, or ] filing; and 
 (iv)  service contract filing. 
 (3)  Actual costs plus overhead expenses incurred during an 
examination of a [viatical ]life settlement provider shall be paid by 
the examined [viatical ]life settlement provider by the due date on the 
invoice. 
 
R590-102-11.  Professional Employer Organization (PEO) Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  PEO not certified by an assurance organization: 
 (i)  initial, due with application -- $2,000; 
 (ii)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $2,000; 
 (iii)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due 
date on the invoice -- $2,050; and 
 (iv)  reinstatement, due with reinstatement application -- 
$2,050. 
 (b)  PEO certified by an assurance organization: 
 (i)  initial, due with application -- $2,000; 
 (ii)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $1,000; 
 (iii)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due 
date on the invoice -- $1,050; and 
 (iv)  reinstatement, due with reinstatement application -- 
$1,050. 
 (c)  PEO small operator: 
 (i)  initial, due with application -- $2,000; 
 (ii)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $1,000; 
 (iii)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due 
date on the invoice -- $1,050; and 
 (iv)  reinstatement, due with reinstatement application -- 
$1,050. 
 
R590-102-12.  Individual Resident and Non-Resident License 
Fees, Other Than Individual Navigators. 
 (1)  Biennial [full-line ]license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $70; 
 (b)  renewal[ if renewed prior to license expiration date], 
due with renewal application -- $70; and 

 (c)  reinstatement[ if inactive license is reinstated within 
one year following the license expiration date], due with application 
for reinstatement -- $120. 
 (2)  Biennial limited[-] line license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $45; 
 (b)  renewal[ if renewed prior to license expiration date], 
due with renewal application -- $45; and 
 (c)  reinstatement[ if inactive license is reinstated within 
one year following the license expiration date], due with application 
for reinstatement -- $95. 
 (3)  Other fees: 
 (a)  addition of producer classification or line of authority 
to individual producer license, due with request for additional 
classification or line of authority -- $25; and 
 (b)  title insurance product or service approval for dual 
licensed title licensee form filing, due with filing -- $25. 
 (4)  The biennial license fee includes the following 
services[ for which no additional fee is required]: 
 (a)  [issuance of ]issuing a letter of certification; 
 (b)  [issuance of ]issuing a letter of clearance; 
 (c)  [issuance of ]issuing a duplicate license; and 
 (d)  individual continuing education services. 
 
R590-102-13.  Individual Navigator Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $35; 
 (b)  renewal[ if renewed prior to license expiration date], 
due with renewal application -- $35; and 
 (c)  reinstatement[ if inactive license is reinstated within 
one year following the license expiration date], due with application 
for reinstatement -- $60. 
 (2)  The annual license fee includes the following services[ 
for which no additional fee is required]: 
 (a)  [issuance of ]issuing a letter of certification; 
 (b)  [issuance of ]issuing a letter of clearance; 
 (c)  [issuance of ]issuing a duplicate license; and 
 (d)  individual continuing education services. 
 
R590-102-14.  Agency License Fees, Other [t]Than Navigator or 
Bail Bond [Agencies]Agency. 
 (1)  Biennial resident and non-resident [full-line ]agency 
and limited[-] line agency license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $75; 
 (b)  renewal[ if renewed prior to license expiration date], 
due with renewal application -- $75; and 
 (c)  reinstatement[ if inactive license is reinstated within 
one year following the license expiration date], due with application 
for reinstatement -- $125. 
 (2)  Biennial resident title agency license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $100; 
 (b)  renewal[ if renewed prior to license expiration date], 
due with renewal application -- $100; and 
 (c)  reinstatement[ if inactive license is reinstated within 
one year following the license expiration date], due with application 
for reinstatement -- $150. 
 (3)  Addition of producer classification or line of authority 
to agency license, due with request for additional classification or line 
of authority -- $25. 
 (4)  The biennial license fee includes the following 
services[ for which no additional fee is required]: 
 (a)  [issuance of ]issuing a letter of certification; 
 (b)  [issuance of ]issuing a letter of clearance; 
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 (c)  [issuance of ]issuing a duplicate license; 
 (d)  initial filing of a producer's designation to an agency 
license; 
 (e)  [termination of ]terminating a producer' designation to 
an agency license; 
 (f)  filing [of ]an amendment to an agency license; and 
 (g)  filing [of ]a power of attorney. 
 
R590-102-15.  Navigator Agency Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $40; 
 (b)  renewal[ if renewed prior to license expiration date], 
due with renewal application -- $40; and 
 (c)  reinstatement[ if inactive license is reinstated within 
one year following the license expiration date], due with application 
for reinstatement -- $65. 
 (2)  The annual license fee includes the following services[ 
for which no additional fee is required]: 
 (a)  [issuance of ]issuing a letter of certification; 
 (b)  [issuance of ]issuing a letter of clearance; 
 (c)  [issuance of ]issuing a duplicate license; 
 (d)  initial filing of a producer's designation to an agency 
license; 
 (e)  [termination of ]terminating a producer's designation to 
an agency license; 
 (f)  filing [of ]an amendment to an agency license; and 
 (g)  filing [of ]a power of attorney. 
 
R590-102-16.  Bail Bond Agency Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $250; 
 (b)  renewal[ if renewed prior to license expiration date], 
due with renewal application -- $250; and 
 (c)  reinstatement[ if inactive license is reinstated within 
one year following the license expiration date], due with application 
for reinstatement -- $300. 
 (2)  The annual license fee includes the following services[ 
for which no additional fee is required]: 
 (a)  [issuance of ]issuing a letter of certification; 
 (b)  [issuance of ]issuing a letter of clearance; 
 (c)  [issuance of ]issuing a duplicate license; 
 (d)  initial filing of a producer's designation to an agency 
license; 
 (e)  [termination of ]terminating a producer's designation to 
an agency license; 
 (f)  filing [of ]an amendment to an agency license; and 
 (g)  filing [of ]a power of attorney. 
 
R590-102-17.  Continuing Care Provider Fees. 
 (1)  Annual registration fee: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $6,900; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $6,900; 
and 
 (c)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $6,950. 
 (2)  Annual disclosure statement fee: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $600; and 
 (b)  renewal, due with annual renewal disclosure statement 
-- $600. 
 
R590-102-18.  Pharmacy Benefit Manager Licensing Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fee: 

 (a)  initial, due with application -- $1,000; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $1,000; 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due date 
on the invoice -- $1,050; and 
 (d)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $1,000. 
 
R590-102-19.  Guaranteed Asset Protection Provider Fees. 
 (1)  Annual provider registration fee: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $1,000; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $1,000; 
and 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due date 
on the invoice -- $1,050. 
 (2)  Annual retail seller assessment: 
 (a)  annual assessment, due by the due date on the invoice 
-- $50; and 
 (b)  late fee, due for a[ny] retail seller assessment fee paid 
after the due date on the invoice -- $50. 
 
R590-102-20.  Continuing Education Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fee: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $250; 
 (b)  renewal[ if renewed prior to license expiration date], 
due with renewal application -- $250; and 
 (c)  reinstatement[ if inactive license is reinstated within 
one year following the license expiration date], due with application 
for reinstatement -- $300. 
 (2)  Continuing education course post-approval fee, due 
with request for approval -- $5 per credit hour, minimum fee $25. 
 
R590-102-21.  Non-Electronic Processing or Payment Fees. 
 (1)  Non-electronic filing processing fee[. Assessed on a 
non-electronic filing], due with each non-electronic filing or by the 
due date on the invoice -- $5. 
 (2)  Non-electronic paper application processing fee[. 
Assessed on a non-electronic application], due with each non-
electronic paper application or by the due date on the invoice -- $25. 
 (3)  Non-electronic payment processing fee[. Assessed on 
a non-electronic payment], due with each non-electronic payment or 
by the due date on the invoice -- $25. 
 
R590-102-22.  Dedicated Fees. 
 The [following are ]fees listed in this section are dedicated 
to specific uses[:]. 
 (1)  Fraud assessment: 
 (a)  annual assessment [as calculated ]under Section 31A-
31-108[ and stated in the invoice], due by the due date on the invoice 
-- per invoice; and 
 (b)  late fee, due for a[ny] fraud assessment fee paid after 
the due date on the invoice -- $50. 
 (2)  [Title ]Annual title insurance regulation assessment: 
annual assessment [as calculated ]under Section 31A-23a-415 and 
Rule R592-10[ and stated in the invoice], due by the due date on the 
invoice -- per invoice. 
 (3)  Annual Title Recovery, Education, and Research Fund 
assessment under Section 31A-41-202: 
 (a)  individual title [licensee applicant for initial license or 
renewal license]insurance producer; 
 (i)  initial, due with [the initial application or the renewal 
]application -- $15; and 
 (ii)  renewal, due with renewal application -- $15; 
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 (b)  agency title [licensee applicant]insurance producer, due 
with the initial application -- $1,000; and 
 (c)  annual agency title [licensee ]insurance producer 
assessment based on annual written title insurance premium, due by 
the due date on the invoice: 
 (i)  Band A, $0 to $1 million -- $125; 
 (ii)  Band B, more than $1 million to $10 million -- $250; 
 (iii)  Band C, more than $10 million to $20 million -- $375; 
and 
 (iv)  Band D,  more than $20 million -- $500. 
 (4)  Health insurance actuarial review assessment[: annual 
assessment as calculated] under Section 31A-30-115[ and stated in 
the invoice], due by the due date on the invoice -- per invoice. 
 (5)  Code book fee[s]: 
 (a)  code book, due at time of purchase or by the due date 
on the invoice[ due date] -- $57; and 
 (b)  mailing fee, due at time of purchase or by the due date 
on the invoice[ due date if book is to be mailed to purchaser] -- $3. 
 (6)  Fingerprint fees, due with application for individual 
license: 
 (a)  Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) -- $15; and 
 (b)  Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) -- $13.25. 
 
R590-102-23.  Electronic Commerce Dedicated Fees. 
 (1)  Electronic commerce, e-commerce, and internet 
technology services fee: 
 (a)  admitted insurer and surplus lines insurer, due with the 
initial, renewal, or reinstatement application -- $75; 
 (b)  captive [insurer]insurance company, due with the 
initial, renewal, or reinstatement application -- $250; 
 (c)  other organization including professional employer 
organization, continuing care provider, pharmacy benefit manager, 
and life settlement provider, due with the initial, renewal, or 
reinstatement application -- $50; 
 (d)  continuing education provider, due with the initial, 
renewal, or reinstatement application -- $20; 
 (e)  agency, due with the initial, renewal, or reinstatement 
application -- $10; and 
 (f)  individual, due with the initial, renewal, or 
reinstatement application -- $5. 
 (2)  Database access fees: 
 (a)  information accessed through an electronic portal set 
up for that purpose, due when the department's database is accessed 
to input or acquire data -- $3 per transaction; and 
 (b)  rate and form filing database access to an electronic 
public rate and form filing, due at time of service or by the due date 
on the invoice: 
 (i)  a separate fee is assessed per line of insurance accessed[ 
(], for example, accident and health, life and annuity, or property[-] 
and casualty[)]; 
 (ii)  each line of insurance accessed is charged the 
following fees: 
 (A)  a base fee, which entitles the user to up to 30 minutes 
of access, the assistance of staff during that time, and one DVD -- 
$45; and 
 (B)  each additional 30 minutes of access time or fraction 
thereof, including the assistance of staff during that time -- $45; and 
 (iii)  each additional DVD -- $2. 
 
R590-102-24.  Other Fees. 
 (1)  Photocopy fee -- $0.50 per page. 

 (2)  Complete annual statement copy fee -- $40 per 
statement. 
 (3)  [Fee for a]Accepting service of legal process -- $10. 
 (4)  [Fees for p]Production of information list[s regarding 
licensees or other information that can be produced by list]: 
 (a)  printed list, if the information is already in list format 
and only needs to be printed or reprinted -- $1 per page; and 
 (b)  electronic list compiled by accessing information 
stored in the [D]department's database: 
 (i)  a separate fee is assessed for each list compiled; 
 (ii)  each list is assessed one or more of the following fees: 
 (A)  a base fee, which entitles the requestor to up to 30 
minutes of staff time to draft the information query, compile the 
information, prepare a CD, and prepare a CD for mailing to the 
requestor, due with request for information -- $50; and 
 (B)  each additional 30 minutes or fraction thereof to draft 
the information query, compile the information, prepare a CD, and 
prepare a CD for mailing to the requestor, due by the due date on the 
invoice -- $50; and 
 (iii)  additional CD, due by the due date on the invoice -- 
$1. 
 (5)  Returned check fee -- $20. 
 (6)  Workers compensation loss cost multiplier schedule -- 
$5. 
 (7)  Address correction fee, assessed when department [has 
to research and enter ]researches and enters a new address for a 
licensee, due by the due date on the invoice -- $35. 
 (8)  Independent review organization initial application fee, 
due with application -- $250. 
 (9)  Withdrawal from writing a line of insurance or 
reducing total annual premium volume by 75% or more, due with 
plan of orderly withdrawal submission -- $50,000. 
 (10)  [Administrative disciplinary action removal from 
public access on Insurance Department ]Removing an administrative 
disciplinary action from a state-controlled website available to the 
public, due with application -- $185. 
 
R590-102-25.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, R590-102, or its application to 
any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect 
any other provision or application of this rule that can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application.  The remainder of this 
rule shall be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance fees 
Date of Last Change:  2022[May 24, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 8, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-3-103 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-152 Filing ID 
54582 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
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Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-152.  Health Discount Programs and Value Added 
Benefit Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual.  Other changes make the language of 
this rule more clear and update the new Section R590-
152-12 to use the Department's current language.  
Sections R590-152-14 and R590-152-15 are removed 
because this rule is already in force and penalties are 
already provided for in statute.  The changes do not add, 
remove, or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 
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State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-8a-210 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/02/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-152.  Health Discount Programs and Value[ ]-Added 
Benefit Rule. 

R590-152-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner [under 31A-
8a-210, which authorizes the commissioner to enforce Chapter 8a 
and protect the public interest]pursuant to Sections 31A-2-201 and 
31A-8a-210. 
 
R590-152-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to [describe initial and 
renewal license procedures, fees, and other authorized charges, 
required and prohibited practices, advertising and marketing activity, 
disclosure requirements, provider agreements, dispute resolution, 
and record keeping]establish standards for: 
 (a)  a health discount program; and 
 (b)  a value-added benefit. 
 (2)  This rule applies to[ ]: 
 (a)  a person offering, operating, or marketing a health 
discount program[s, health discount program operators, and health 
discount program marketers.]; and 
 [(3)  This rule applies to ](b)  a value[ ]-added benefit 
provided by a person licensed under: 
 (i)  Title 31A, Chapter[s] 7, Nonprofit Health Service 
Insurance Corporations; or 
 (ii)  Title 31A, Chapter 8, Health Maintenance 
Organizations and Limited Health Plans. 
 
R590-152-3.  Definitions. 
 [For the purposes of this rule, the commissioner adopts the 
definitions in Sections 31A-1-301 and 31A-8a-102 and the 
following]Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301 
and 31A-8a-102. Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 [(1)  "Administration of the health discount program" 
means the processes to solicit members, enroll members, maintain 
the membership, resolve disputes with members, disenroll members, 
and collect or refund fees and other authorized charges. 
 (2)  "Authority to do business in this state" means having 
other applicable licenses as required by statute and operating within 
the scope of such licenses. 
 (3)  "Health discount program marketer" means a person or 
entity, including a private label entity, that markets or distributes a 
health discount program but may also operate the marketed or 
distributed health discount program. 
 (4)](1)  "Private label entity" means an entity that purchases 
a health discount program from a health discount program operator 
and issues or markets the [obtained ]health discount program under 
the [private label ]entity's name or logo[. 
 (5)  "Prominently" means not less than 14-point type or no 
smaller than the largest type on the page if larger than 12 point type]. 
 
R590-152-4.  [General Information. 
 (1)  The commissioner may examine, audit, or investigate 
the business and affairs of any health discount program operator or a 
licensed health discount program marketer or any person the 
commissioner believes may be operating or marketing a health 
discount program. 
 (2)  A health discount program, a health discount program 
operator, or a health discount program marketer that offers an 
insurance benefit as part of a health discount program or in addition 
to a health discount program must comply with statutes and rules 
pertaining to the solicitation, negotiation, and sale of insurance in 
Utah that are otherwise applicable to the altering of such benefit. 
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R590-152-5.  ]Licensing (Application, Initial, Renewal). 
 [(1)  The following must be licensed prior to offering a 
health discount program: 
 (a)  a health discount program operator; or 
 (b)  a health discount program marketer.  A licensee 
licensed under Chapters 7 or 8 does not require a license as a health 
discount program operator or health discount program marketer when 
offering valued added benefits as part of their insurance product 
package. 
 (2)  The "Application for Health Discount Program 
Operator or Health Discount Program Marketer" must ](1)  An 
application for a health discount program operator or a health 
discount program marketer shall be complete[d] and submitted with 
the appropriate fee. 
 [(3)  The commissioner may deny an application from a 
health discount program operator or a health discount program 
marketer if the applicant would not be in compliance with Chapter 
31A-8a because the applicant, in this or any other jurisdiction, for a 
matter dealing with a health discount program is](2)  An application 
may be denied if the applicant, in any jurisdiction: 
 (a)  is under investigation; or 
 (b)  has been found in violation of a statute or regulation. 
[ (4)  A licensed health discount program operator must 
notify the commissioner each time a health discount program 
marketer or private label entity is added or deleted during the annual 
licensure period. 
 (5)  Annual licensure period. 
 (a)  A license issued under this section is for one annual 
period which expires each December 31st. 
 (b)  A licensee desiring to continue to do business in this 
state must renew its license prior to December 31st each year by 
submitting an Application for Health Discount Program Operator or 
Health Discount Program Marketer and paying the required fee.] 
 
R590-152-[6]5.  Fees and Other Authorized Charges. 
 (1)  A health discount program operator may provide a 
discount[s] or free service[s] through a contracted provider[s] to 
[subscribers ]a member purchaser in exchange for a periodic payment 
to the program or as a benefit in connection with a membership[ in a 
particular group]. 
 (2)  A health discount program operator may charge: 
 (a)  a non-refundable one-time [enrollment ]membership 
charge; and 
 (b)  a refundable periodic fee. 
 (3)  [A health discount program operator that charges fees 
for a time period ]If a membership is cancelled by a health discount 
program operator that charges a fee in excess of one month, the health 
discount program operator shall[ must, in the event of cancellation of 
the membership by the health discount program operator,] make a 
pro[-] rata refund of the [periodic ]excess fees paid by the 
[member]purchaser. 
 
R590-152-[7]6.  Required Practices. 
 (1)  A health discount program operator [must ]shall have 
an active toll-free telephone number for [members ]an enrollee to 
call. 
 (2)  [Face to face, paper, telephone, and electronic ]Any 
communication[s with clients or potential clients must ] with a 
purchaser, a member, or a potential purchaser shall state that the 
health discount program is a discount plan and not insurance. 
 (3)  When a health discount program operator or a health 
discount program marketer[,] markets or sells a health discount 

program [together ]with any other product that can be purchased 
separately, including insured benefits, an itemized list [of the fees or 
premiums ]including each fee and premium for each individual 
product must be provided in writing to the [client at ]potential 
purchaser at the time of solicitation. 
 (4)  Information available online to a [health discount 
program member via a health discount program operator's or 
marketer's web page ]member must be updated [no later than ]within 
30 days from [a ]the date of the change. 
 
R590-152-[8]7.  Value[ ]-Added Benefit. 
 (1)  [Any value added benefit must actually exist and a copy 
of the contract verifying such existence must ]Evidence of a value-
added benefit shall be available to the commissioner upon request[ to 
the commissioner]. 
 (2)  [Prior to any ]Before offering [of ]a value[ ]-added 
benefit, [a person licensed under Title 31A, Chapter 7 or 8, ]a licensee 
shall: 
 (a)  file with the commissioner a value[ ]-added benefit[s] 
list that includes the following: 
 (i)  the insurer's name and address; 
 (ii)  [the insurer's policy ]each form[ number(s)] to which 
the value[ ]-added benefit applies; and 
 (iii)  a description of [the ]each benefit[s] offered[.]; and 
 (b)  comply with Sections R590-152-10 and R590-152-11, 
if providing a [member ]discount card to a member. 
 
R590-152-[9]8.  Prohibited [p]Practices. 
 (1)  A health discount program operator may not make any 
payment[s] to a provider[s] for: 
 (a)  participation in the health discount program; 
 (b)  a capitation [payments]arrangement; 
 (c)  a signing fee[s]; 
 (d)  a bonus[es]; or 
 (e)  [other ]any other form[s] of compensation. 
 (2)  A health discount program operator may not offer any 
insurance benefit[s] unless licensed as an insurance producer and 
contracted and appointed by the insurer providing the insurance 
benefit[s]. 
 
R590-152-[10]9.  Advertising and Marketing. 
 (1)  The format and content of any advertisement shall be 
[sufficiently ]complete and clear [as ]to avoid deceiving or 
misleading the reader, viewer, or listener. 
 (2)  An advertisement of any [insured ]insurance product or 
benefit must comply with[ applicable provisions of Subsections 31A-
23a-102 (12) and (13) and ]: 
 (a)  Section 31A-23a-402; and 
 (b)  Rule R590-130, Rules Governing Advertisements of 
Insurance. 
 (3)  [A health discount program operator must approve in 
writing all advertisements, marketing materials, brochures, web sites 
and discount cards used by a health discount program marketer 
marketing a health discount program operator's health discount 
program. 
 (4)  All advertisements, marketing materials, brochures, 
web sites and discount cards used by a health discount program 
operator and the health discount program operator's health discount 
program marketer must be available to the commissioner upon 
request. 
 (5)  The ]A health discount program operator must have an 
executed written agreement with a health discount program marketer 
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[prior to ]before the health discount plan marketer [marketing, 
promoting, selling, or distributing ]markets, promotes, sells, or 
distributes a health discount program. 
 
R590-152-[11]10.  Disclosures. 
 (1)  [A health discount program operator must provide the 
disclosures required by Section 31A-8a-205. 
 (2)  The ]A membership card shall prominently state:[ ] 
"This is not health insurance." 
 [(3)  Disclosure ](2)  In addition to the disclosures required 
by Section 31A-8a-205, disclosure materials provided to a purchaser 
or potential purchaser [must ]shall include: 
 (a)  membership materials; 
 (b)  new [enrollee ]enrollment information; 
 (c)  [a printed list of providers, or access to the health 
discount program operator's web page, that have agreed by written 
contract with the health discount program to accept the program]a list 
of the providers that have agreed in writing to accept the health 
discount program, whether in print or accessible on the health 
discount program operator's website; 
 (d)  a statement that "A health discount program 
[member]purchaser is responsible for the entire payment of their 
medical or health care bill after the discount is applied."; and 
 (e)  the complete terms and conditions of any refund policy. 
 (4)  A health discount program operator or health discount 
program marketer [must]shall: 
 (a)  provide a purchaser a 30-day money[ ]-back guarantee, 
which allows the purchaser to terminate the contract and receive a 
full refund of any periodic fee paid; and 
 (b)  start the 30-day money-back guarantee period [must 
commence ]when the purchaser receives the membership materials. 
 
R590-152-[12]11.  Contracts. 
 (1)  A provider agreement between a health discount 
program operator and a provider network shall require: 
 (a)  the provider network to have a written agreement with 
each provider in the network authorizing the provider network to 
contract with a health discount program operator on behalf of the 
provider; and 
 (b)  the health discount program operator to [inform 
]provide each provider within the contracted provider network with 
information about the health discount program. 
 (2)  A provider agreement between a health discount 
program operator and another health discount program operator that 
has contracted with a provider network shall require the contract with 
the provider network to comply with Subsection (1). 
 
R590-152-[13.  Dispute Resolution Procedures. 
 A health discount program operator must: 
 (1)  file its dispute resolution procedures with the 
commissioner pursuant to Section 31A-8a-203; and 
 (2)  comply with its filed dispute resolution procedures. 
 
R590-152-14.  Penalties. 
 A person found, after a hearing or other regulatory process, 
to be in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as provided 
under Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R590-152-15.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the revised 
provisions of this rule 45 days from the rule's effective date. 
 

R590-152-16.  ]12.  Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or the application thereof to 
any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the 
remainder of the rule and the application of such provision to other 
persons or circumstances shall not be affected thereby]If any 
provision of this rule, Rule R590-152, or its application to any person 
or situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other 
provision or application of this rule that can be given effect without 
the invalid provision or application.  The remainder of this rule shall 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance, medical discount program 
Date of Last Change:  2022[January 20, 2011] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 1, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-1-103; 
31A-2-201 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-243 Filing ID 
54583 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, 2nd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-243.  Commercial Motor Vehicle Insurance 
Coverage 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual.  Other changes make the language of 
this rule more clear, update the new Section R590-243-5 
to use the Department's current language, and remove the 
current Sections R590-243-5 and R590-243-6 because 
this rule is already in force and penalties are already 
provided for in statute.  The changes do not add, remove, 
or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
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Section 31A-2-201 Section 
31A-22-315 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/02/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-243.  Commercial Motor Vehicle Insurance Coverage. 
R590-243-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the [insurance ]commissioner 
pursuant to [Subsections 31A-22-315(1)(b)]Sections 31A-2-201 and 
31A-22-315. 
 
R590-243-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to define commercial motor 
vehicle insurance coverage[ as it ]. 
 (2)  This rule applies to a person required to report on 
commercial motor vehicle insurance[ reporting]. 
 
R590-243-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. 
Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "Commercial [M]motor [V]vehicle [I]insurance 
[C]coverage" means any coverage provided under a commercial 
automobile, garage, or truckers policy form, regardless of the number 
of vehicles or [entity ]entities covered, and rated from either a 
commercial manual or rating rule[ as filed with the Utah Insurance 
Department]. 
 
R590-243-4.  [Rule]Commercial Motor Vehicle Classification. 
 [All persons must ]Any person required to report under this 
rule shall use the [above ]definition of commercial motor vehicle 
insurance coverage in Section R590-243-3 to identify [those ]a motor 
vehicle[s] within this classification[,] when reporting as required by 
Subsection 31A-22-315(2)(b). 
 

R590-243-5.  [Penalties. 
 A person found, after a hearing or other regulatory process, 
to be in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as provided 
under Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R590-243-6.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the provisions of 
this rule 45 days from the effective date of the rule. 
 
R590-243-7.  ]Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or its application to any person 
or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of 
the rule and the application of the provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected by it]If any provision of this rule, 
Rule R590-243, or its application to any person or situation is held 
invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other provision or 
application of this rule that can be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application.  The remainder of this rule shall be given 
effect without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY:  commercial motor vehicle insurance 
Date of Last Change:  2022[January 11, 2008] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 4, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-22-315 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-245 Filing ID 
54584 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, 2nd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-245.  Self-Service Storage Insurance 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual.  Other changes make the language of 
this rule more clear, remove Section R590-245-5 because 
penalties are already provided for in statute, remove 
Section R590-245-6 because this rule is already in force, 
and update the new Section R590-245-5 to use the 
Department's current language.  The changes do not add, 
remove, or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
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Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-23a-104 
Section 
31A-23a-106 

Section 
31A-23a-110 

Section 
31A-23a-111 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/02/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-245.  Self-Service Storage Insurance. 
R590-245-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
[Subsection 31A-2-201(3) in which the commissioner is empowered 
to adopt rules to implement the provisions of the Utah Insurance 
Code and specifically Subsections: 
 (1)  31A-23a-106(3)(a), that authorizes the Commissioner 
to recognize by rule other limited line producer lines of authority as 
to kinds of insurance not listed under Subsections 31A-23a-106(2)(a) 
through (f); 
 (2)  31A-23a-104(2), and 31A-23a-110(1), that authorizes 
the Commissioner to prescribe the form in which licenses covered 
under Chapter 23a are to be issued or renewed; and 
 (3)  31A-23a-111(10), that authorizes the Commissioner to 
prescribe by rule, license renewal and reinstatement 
procedures]Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-23a-104, 31A-23a-106, 31A-
23a-110, and 31A-23a-111. 
 
R590-245-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  recognize self-service storage as a limited line producer 
line of authority; and 
 (b)  establish standards of licensing for [those in the ]self-
service storage related insurance business[ in Utah]. 

 (2)  This rule applies to [all persons ]a person selling, 
soliciting, or negotiating self-service storage related insurance 
business[ in Utah]. 
 
R590-245-3.  Definitions. 
 [For the purposes of this rule, the commissioner adopts the 
definitions in Sections 31A-1-301 and 31A-23a-102, and the 
following]Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301 
and 31A-23a-102. Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 [(1)  "Self-service storage insurance" means any contract 
of insurance issued to a renter as a part of an agreement of self-service 
storage with respect to: 
 (a)  hazard insurance coverage provided to a renter for loss 
or damage to tangible personal property in storage or in transit during 
the rental period; or 
 (b)  tenant liability insurance coverage. 
 (2)  "Self-service storage facility" means a person or 
agency engaged in the business of providing leased or rented storage 
space to the public. 
 (3)  "Storage space" means a room, unit, locker, or open 
space offered for rental to the public for temporary storage of 
personal belongings or light commercial goods. 
 (4)  "Renter" means any person who obtains the use of 
storage space from a self-service storage facility under the terms of a 
rental agreement. 
 (5)](1)  "Rental agreement" means [any ]a written 
agreement setting forth the terms and conditions governing the use of 
storage space provided by a self-service storage facility. 
 (2)  "Renter" means a person who uses storage space from 
a self-service storage facility pursuant to a rental agreement. 
 (3)  "Self-service storage facility" means a person or 
agency engaged in the business of providing leased or rented storage 
space to the public. 
 (4)  "Self-service storage insurance" means a contract of 
insurance issued to a renter as part of an agreement of self-service 
storage with respect to: 
 (a)  hazard insurance coverage provided to a renter for loss 
or damage to tangible personal property in storage or in transit during 
the rental period; or 
 (b)  tenant liability insurance coverage. 
 [(6)](5)  "Self-service storage insurance license" means a 
limited line producer license with a self-service storage insurance 
limited line producer line of authority that authorizes a person[,] 
licensed [pursuant to ]under this rule[,] to offer self-service storage 
insurance in connection with, and incidental to, a rental agreement[s] 
on behalf of an insurer[ authorized to write the types of insurance 
specified in this state]. 
 (6)  "Storage space" means a room, unit, locker, or open 
space offered for rental to the public for temporary storage of 
personal belongings or light commercial goods. 
 
R590-245-4.  Licensing and Renewal. 
 (1)  [All persons and entities ]A person involved in the sale, 
solicitation, or negotiation of self-service storage insurance must be 
licensed [in accordance with Chapter 31A-23a, applicable 
department rules regarding individual and agency licensing]pursuant 
to Title 31A, Chapter 23a, Insurance Marketing - Licensing 
Producers, Consultants, and Reinsurance Intermediaries, and this 
rule. 
 (2)  A self-service storage insurance license is issued for a 
two-year [license ]period and [requires no ]does not require 
examination or continuing education. 
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 (3)  A self-service storage insurance license must be 
renewed at the end of the two-year licensing period [in accordance 
with Chapter 31A-23a and any applicable department rules regarding 
license renewal]pursuant to Title 31A, Chapter 23a, Insurance 
Marketing - Licensing Producers, Consultants, and Reinsurance 
Intermediaries, and this rule. 
 (4)  A self-service storage insurance license may be held by 
[an individual or by an agency, such as ]a self-service storage facility 
or a franchisee of a self-service storage facility. 
 (5)  An individual licensed under this rule [must either 
]shall: 
 (a)  be appointed by an insurance company underwriting 
the insurance policy the individual sells[,]; or 
 (b)  be designated to act by an agency licensed under this 
rule. 
 (6)  An agency licensed under this rule [must]shall: 
 (a)  be appointed by an insurance company underwriting 
the insurance policies the agency sells; and 
 (b)  designate a licensed individual to be responsible for the 
regulatory compliance of the agency[ in Utah]. 
 (7)(a)  An agency licensed under this rule may employ non-
licensed personnel [employed ]as a self-service storage counter sales 
representative[s] to sell, solicit, or negotiate self-service storage 
insurance.[  Such ] 
 (b)  Any non-licensed employee[s must] shall: 
 [(a)](i)  be trained and supervised in the sale of a self-
service storage insurance product[s]; and 
 [(b)](ii)  be responsible to a licensed individual designated 
by the agency. 
 (8)  [No ]A self-service storage facility, or a franchisee of a 
self-service storage facility, may not offer or sell self-service storage 
insurance unless it [has complied ]complies with the requirements of 
this rule and [has been issued a license ]is licensed by the 
commissioner. 
 
R590-245-5.  [Penalties. 
 A person found, after a hearing or other regulatory process, 
to be in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as provided 
under Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R590-245-6.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule 45 days 
from the rule's effective date. 
 
R590-245-7.  ]Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or the application of it to any 
person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the 
remaining provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be 
affected.]If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-245, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application.  The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  self-service storage, insurance 
Date of Last Change:  2022[November 12, 2008] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 21, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-23a-104; 31A-23a-106; 31A-23a-110; 31A-23a-111; 31A-1-
301; 31A-23a-102 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R708-37 Filing ID 
54538 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Driver License 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 144501 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R708-37.  Certification of Licensed Instructors of 
Commercial Driver Training Schools or Testing Only 
Schools to Administer Driving Skills Tests 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this rule is to clarify the application 
procedures to obtain a certification for a licensed instructor 
of a commercial driver training school or testing only 
school to administer driving skills tests. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This filing revises definitions to include information on 
moral turpitude, as well as removing definitions that are 
not used in this rule.  Information that was not applicable 
to this rule has been removed to clarify the certification 
requirements.  Information regarding adjudicative 
proceedings has been added for cohesion among similar 
rules. 
 

 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 10 117 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state government because the requirements contained 
within this rule have not changed.  This filing removes 
repetitive information already outlined in other rules and 
clarifies the requirements to certify licensed instructors of 
commercial driver training schools and testing only 
schools to administer driving skills tests. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments because the requirements 
contained within this rule have not changed.  This filing 
removes repetitive information already outlined in other 
rules and clarifies the requirements to certify licensed 
instructors of commercial driver training schools and 
testing only schools to administer driving skills tests. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on small businesses because the requirements contained 
within this rule have not changed.  This filing removes 
repetitive information already outlined in other rules and 
clarifies the requirements to certify licensed instructors of 
commercial driver training schools and testing only 
schools to administer driving skills tests. 
  
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses because the requirements 
contained within this rule have not changed.  This filing 
removes repetitive information already outlined in other 
rules and clarifies the requirements to certify licensed 
instructors of commercial driver training schools and 
testing only schools to administer driving skills tests. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because 
the requirements contained within the rule have not 
changed.  This filing removes repetitive information 
already outlined in other rules and clarifies the 
requirements to certify licensed instructors of commercial 
driver training schools and testing only schools to 
administer driving skills tests. 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this rule.  
The requirements for certification contained within this rule 
have not changed. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on businesses because the requirements contained within 
this rule have not changed.  The rule is being amended to 
streamline requirements, and make it easier to read and 
understand.  Jess L. Anderson, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, 
Jess L. Anderson, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 53-3-510   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Christopher 
Caras, Director 

Date: 04/20/2022 

 
R708.  Public Safety, Driver License. 
R708-37.  Certification of Licensed Instructors of Commercial 
Driver Training Schools or Testing Only Schools to Administer 
Driving Skills Tests. 
[R708-37-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to establish standards and 
procedures to certify instructors of commercial driver training 
schools and testing only schools to administer driving skills tests. 
 
R708-37-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Section 53-3-510. 
 
R708-37-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Agreement" means a written agreement between the 
state and a third-party tester agreeing to the conditions contained in 
this rule. 
 (2)  "Cancellation" means action taken by the division that 
voids an instructor's testing certification. 
 (3)  "Certification" means the process by which 
commercial driver training instructors are certified by the division to 
administer driving skills tests. 

 (4)  "Commercial driver training school" or "school" means 
a business enterprise conducted by an individual, association, 
partnership, or corporation for the education and training of persons 
to drive motor vehicles, and to prepare applicants for examinations 
prerequisite to their obtaining driver licenses or learner permits. 
 (5)  "Commercial driver training vehicle" means a motor 
vehicle equipped with a second functioning foot brake and inside and 
outside mirrors which are positioned for use by the instructor for the 
purpose of observing rearward. 
 (6)  "Corporation" means a business incorporated under the 
laws of a state or other jurisdiction. 
 (7)  "Division" means the Driver License Division of the 
Utah Department of Public Safety. 
 (8)  "Instructor" means a person who is authorized to teach 
driver education in an approved commercial driver training school. 
 (9)  "Partnership" means an association of two or more 
persons who co-own and operate a commercial driver training school 
or a testing only school. 
 (10)  "Probation" means action taken by the department 
which includes a period of close supervision as determined by the 
division. 
 (11)  "Suspension" means action taken by the division that 
temporarily voids an instructor's testing certification.  The 
certification may be reinstated whenever the instructor follows a 
division-approved plan and complies with reinstatement procedures. 
 (12)  "Test" means a driving skills test approved by the 
division. 
 (13)  "Tester" means an instructor who is certified to 
administer driving skills tests. 
 
R708-37-4.  Application Procedures. 
 (1)  An instructor shall become a certified tester by making 
application and by meeting the requirements of this rule.  In order to 
become a certified tester, an individual must be certified as a 
commercial driver education instructor in accordance with R708-2-
6,8 and 9.  Application shall be made on a form furnished by the 
division and shall include the following information: 
 (a)  the name of the instructor who is applying for tester 
certification; 
 (b)  the name and address of the commercial driver training 
or testing only school where the instructor is employed; and 
 (c)  the signature of the school owner indicating approval 
of the instructor for tester certification and consent to the use of 
school vehicles, facilities, etc. for the purpose of testing. 
 (2)  The instructor must enter into a written agreement with 
the division.  The agreement must contain provisions that: 
 (a)  the tester cannot maintain employment with more than 
one commercial driver training school or testing only school at a 
time; 
 (b)  allow the division to conduct random examinations, 
inspections, and audits without prior notice during normal business 
hours; and 
 (c)  allow the division to conduct on-site inspections 
annually or when deemed necessary by the division. 
 (3)  The division will offer training to instructors regarding 
minimum standards which must be met in the administration and 
scoring of tests. 
 (4)  The division may authorize, train, and approve persons 
outside the division to provide the training.  Instructors are 
responsible for any costs associated with training provided by 
approved organizations, agencies, or individuals. 
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 (5)  The division shall maintain a list of approved testers 
and shall assign testers identification numbers. 
 
R708-37-5.  Medical Screening. 
 (1)  Prior to administering a driving skills test, the tester 
shall screen students for visual acuity, visual field and physical or 
emotional conditions which may compromise public safety.  
Screening may not be performed over the telephone.  An employee 
of the tester who is not certified as an instructor or tester may not 
perform medical or visual screening unless approved in writing by 
the division. 
 (a)  Students must have 20/40 or better visual acuity in one 
eye and a visual field of 90 degrees.  Students with less than the 
required visual acuity and/or visual field shall be referred to a 
licensed medical practitioner for further consideration. 
 (b)  Students must answer all questions on a health 
questionnaire approved by the Driver License Medical Advisory 
Board and sign a statement of affirmation of truth.  Students 
indicating a physical or emotional condition on the questionnaire 
shall be referred to a licensed medical practitioner for further 
consideration.  Health questionnaires shall be provided by the 
division and maintained for three years by the commercial driver 
training school or testing only school as a part of the school's records. 
 (c)  The driver will not be required to submit to a medical 
screening if one of the following is provided to the tester: 
 (i)  a verification of medical fitness approval form as 
completed by a commercial driver education instructor; or 
 (ii)  a driver receipt issued by the division that indicates that 
the medical screening has taken place in the division. 
 
R708-37-6.  Tests. 
 (1)  When testing students for driver licenses, instructors 
certified as testers shall administer tests developed in accordance 
with these rules which meet or exceed minimum division testing 
standards. 
 (2)  Tests shall be conducted: 
 (a)  on test routes approved by the division; 
 (b)  by certified testers who are also certified instructors; 
 (c)  in vehicles provided by commercial driver training 
schools or testing only schools which have been inspected and 
approved for use in driver training by the division or in a personal 
vehicle provided by the applicant.  Each school shall notify the 
division of any vehicle added to or deleted from their fleet.  No 
vehicle owned by a commercial driver training school or testing only 
school may be used for testing until it passes an inspection by the 
division; 
 (d)  using division approved content, forms, and scoring 
procedures; 
 (e)  only for students who have completed a course of driver 
education or who have had a previous driver license; 
 (f)  with only the student and the tester occupying the 
vehicle.  The tester shall be seated next to the student.  No other 
passengers or observers shall occupy the vehicle during the test, 
except upon approval and written consent by the division; and 
 (g)  only for students who have in their possession a 
temporary driving permit, a learner permit, an instruction permit 
issued by the division; or a valid driver license issued by a 
jurisdiction other than the State of Utah. 
 (h)  only for students who have in their possession adequate 
verification of their identity. 
 (3)  a tester may not make any changes to a testing route 
without prior written approval by the division. 

 (4)  a tester shall not employ an employee of the division 
as a tester. 
 
R708-37-7.  Test Requirements. 
 (1)  A tester may not administer a skills test to a student 
who: 
 (a)  completed the driver training course at the same 
commercial driver training school or testing only school in which the 
tester is employed as an instructor; or 
 (b)  completed the driver training course at a commercial 
driver training school that is owned completely or partially by an 
individual or individuals who possess any ownership in the school in 
which the tester is employed as an instructor. 
 (2)  A student who fails the skills test given by a tester may: 
 (a)  apply to the same tester for additional testing; 
 (b)  apply to a different tester for additional testing; or 
 (c)  complete the skills test at a division office. 
 (3)  The written test shall be administered by the division. 
 
R708-37-8.  Notification of Accident. 
 If any vehicle is involved in an accident during the driving 
skills test the tester shall notify the division of the accident in a 
written report on a form supplied by the division within five working 
days of the date of the accident. If damages are $1,000 or more, the 
accident must also be reported to the local law enforcement agency.  
A copy of the officer's report shall also be submitted to the division 
when available. 
 
R708-37-9.  Evidence of Test Completion. 
 (1)  The tester shall furnish a certificate of test completion 
to the student in a sealed envelope with the tester's signature signed 
over the seal.  The certificate shall be a form approved by the division 
and shall contain the results of tests taken, the signature and 
certification number of the tester who administered the tests, and the 
dates the tests were completed.  The test results are valid for a period 
of one year from the test completion date. 
 (2)  The tester shall provide the student with a receipt each 
time money is paid by the student to the tester.  The tester shall 
maintain a copy of all receipts. 
 (3)  A student, under this rule, must submit a certificate of 
completion of a driver education course and a certificate of successful 
test completion, issued by a tester, to the division and make an 
application in order to obtain a Class D Driver License. 
 (4)  The commercial driver training school or testing only 
school shall maintain records of all tests administered for a period of 
three years. Records shall be maintained in separate files for each 
tester for auditing purposes. The records shall be subject to inspection 
by the division during business hours. 
 
R708-37-10.  Monthly Reports. 
 (1)  Each third-party tester shall submit to the division a 
monthly report containing the number of tests administered each 
month. 
 (2)  Monthly reports shall be submitted on forms supplied 
by the division and must be received by the division no later than the 
10th day of each month following the month in which the testing 
occurred. 
 (3)  Failure to submit monthly reports within the prescribed 
time is grounds for suspension or cancellation of the third-party 
tester's certification. 
 (4)  Monthly reports may be submitted electronically with 
division approval. 
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R708-37-11.  Refusal to Certify, Grounds for Cancellation, 
Suspension, or Probation of a Tester's Certification. 
 (1)  The division may refuse to certify tester applicants who 
do not meet the standards for training or who submit an application 
that contains false or incomplete information. 
 (2)  The tester certification shall remain effective as long as 
the tester retains the status of instructor for a commercial driver 
training school or testing only school or until the tester certification 
is canceled or suspended by the division.  A commercial driver 
training school or testing only school may initiate suspension or 
cancellation of the testing certification held by one of their instructors 
by providing the division with acceptable written justification. 
 (3)  The tester certification shall be canceled or suspended 
upon cancellation, revocation, denial of issuance of renewal of the 
tester's instructor certification.  Grounds for cancellation or 
suspension of the tester certification shall include all items listed in 
R708-2-25. 
 (4)  Certification may be canceled or suspended for non-
compliance with these rules. 
 (5)  Certification may be canceled or suspended for failure 
to participate in any in-service training required by the division. 
 (6)  Certification may be canceled or suspended when a 
third-party tester's personal driver license has been denied, 
suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified.  The tester shall be 
required to notify the division in writing within five working days of 
any action taken against the tester's driving privilege. 
 (7)  When the division determines it is necessary to cancel, 
suspend, or place on probation a tester's certification, it shall 
determine an appropriate course of action from the following options: 
 (a)  probation, with terms that must be met and adhered to 
by the tester; 
 (b)  suspension, pending a remedial plan leading to 
reinstatement; or 
 (c)  cancellation. 
 (8)  Action by the division to cancel, suspend, place on 
probation or refuse to issue a tester certification is designated as an 
informal adjudicative proceeding under the Utah Administrative 
Procedures Act, Section 63G-4-202. 
 (9)  The following procedures will govern informal 
adjudicative proceedings: 
 (a)  action by the division to cancel, revoke, place on 
probation or refuse to issue a certification will be commenced by the 
division by the issuance of a notice of agency action.  The notice of 
agency action will comply with the provisions of Section 63G-4-201; 
 (b)  no response is required to the notice of agency action; 
 (c)  an opportunity for a hearing will be granted on a 
cancellation, revocation, probation or refusal to issue a certification 
if, within five days, the division receives a request for a hearing; 
 (d)  the tester will receive written notice of the hearing at 
least ten days prior to the date of the hearing; 
 (e)  no discovery, either compulsory or voluntary, will be 
permitted prior to the hearing except that all parties shall have access 
to information contained in the division's files, and to investigatory 
information and materials not restricted by law; 
 (f)  the hearing shall be conducted by an individual, or 
panel designated by the division; and 
 (g)  within twenty days after the close of the hearing or after 
the failure of a party to appear for the hearing, the individual 
conducting the hearing shall issue a written decision which shall 
constitute final agency action.  The written decision shall state the 
decision, the reason for the decision, notice of right to request 
reconsideration under Section 63G-4-302, notice of right to judicial 

review under Section 63G-4-402, and the time limits for filing an 
appeal to the appropriate district court. 
 (10)  Reinstatement following cancellation of certification 
shall consist of completing an approved training plan and making 
application for a new certification.  Instructors and testers must have 
a driving record free of suspensions or revocations of their driving 
privilege resulting from moving violations, chargeable accidents, and 
drug or alcohol related offenses, in all states, for a two year period 
immediately prior to application and during employment. 
 (11)  Certification shall be canceled when testers are no 
longer employed as instructors in commercial driver training schools 
or testing only schools.  Testers who discontinue employment as 
instructors with a commercial driver training schools or testing only 
school and subsequently return to instruct and test under the 
sponsorship of a different commercial driver training schools or 
testing only school must make a new application with the division for 
a new instructor certification and tester certification.  If the period of 
cancellation of testing certification exceeds six months the applicant 
shall complete a course of approved training. 
 
R708-37-12.  Advertising. 
 (1)  No advertisement shall indicate in any way that a 
commercial driver training schools or testing only school or a tester 
can issue or guarantee the issuance of a driver license, or imply that 
the testing program, except for reporting test scores, can in any way 
influence the division in the issuance of a Class D driver license; or 
imply that preferential or advantageous treatment can be obtained 
from the division through participation in their testing program. 
 (2)  No tester, employee, or agent of a commercial driver 
training schools or testing only school shall be permitted to advertise 
or solicit business or cause business to be solicited in its behalf, or 
display or distribute any advertising material within 1500 feet of a 
building in which vehicle registrations or driver licenses are issued 
to the public.] 
R708-37-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to establish standards and 
procedures to certify instructors of commercial driver training 
schools and testing only schools to administer driving skills tests. 
 
R708-37-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Section 53-3-510. 
 
R708-37-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 53-3-
102 and 53-3-502. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "act of moral turpitude" means conduct that: 
 (i)  is done knowingly contrary to justice, honesty or good 
morals; 
 (ii)  has an element of falsification or fraud; or 
 (iii)  contains an element of harm or injury directed to 
another person or another property. 
 (b)  "agreement" means a written agreement between the 
division and a third-party tester agreeing to the conditions contained 
in this rule; 
 (c)  "cancellation" means action taken by the division that 
voids an instructor's testing certification; 
 (d)  "certification" means the process by which commercial 
driver training instructors are certified by the division to administer 
driving skills tests; 
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 (e)  "probation" means action taken by the division that 
includes a period of close supervision whose time frame shall be 
determined by the division; 
 (f)  "suspension" means action taken by the division 
temporarily withdrawing an instructor's certification to conduct 
testing. The certification may be reinstated when the instructor 
follows a division-approved plan and complies with reinstatement 
procedures; 
 (g)  "test" means a driving skills test approved by the 
division; and 
 (h)  "tester" means an instructor who is certified to 
administer driving skills tests. 
 
R708-37-4.  Certification Procedures. 
 (1)  Each tester shall become certified to administer tests 
by: 
 (a)  being licensed as a commercial driver education 
instructor as required by Rule R708-2; 
 (b)  meeting the requirements of this rule and Rule R708-
2; 
 (c)  completing an application; and 
 (d)  completing a training course offered by the division. 
 (2)  An application for tester certification shall be submitted 
on a form provided by the division and shall include: 
 (a)  the name of the tester applying for certification; 
 (b)  the name and address of the commercial driver training 
or testing only school where the tester is employed; and 
 (c)  the signature of the school owner indicating approval 
of the tester for certification and consent to the use of school vehicles 
and facilities for testing. 
 
R708-37-5.  Tester Restrictions. 
 (1)  A tester may not administer a test to a student who: 
 (a)  took the driver training course at the same school the 
tester is employed as an instructor; or 
 (b)  took the driver training course at a school that is owned 
completely or partially by an individual or individuals who have any 
ownership in the school the tester is employed as an instructor. 
 (2)  A student who fails the test given by a tester may: 
 (a)  apply to the same tester for additional testing; 
 (b)  apply to a different tester for additional testing; or 
 (c)  take the test at a division office. 
 (3)  A tester may not make any changes to a testing route 
without earlier written approval by the division. 
 (4)  A tester shall not employ an employee of the division 
as a tester. 
 (5)  A tester shall not use or do anything that may distract 
their attention away from the test. For example, use of phones or 
other electronic devices. 
 (6)  A tester may not test an individual who has been 
required by the division to take a driver review exam. 
 (7)  A tester may not test an individual who has been 
required by the division to take additional hours of driving 
instruction. 
 (8)  The tester shall administer at least ten tests per calendar 
year. If the tester fails to meet this requirement: 
 (a)  the division will cancel the tester license in accordance 
with Section R708-37-7; 
 (b)  the tester must return any unused test forms; and 
 (c)  reinstatement following cancellation of certification 
shall consist of completing an approved training plan and completing 
an application for a new certification outlined in Section R708-37-4. 

 (9)  A tester may not test an individual who has previously 
taken a test on the same day. 
 (10)  Before administering a test, the tester shall: 
 (a)  screen the student's learner permit or receipt for 
medical or visual restrictions; and 
 (b)  verify that the student is in compliance with any 
restrictions. 
 
R708-37-6.  Termination of Employment. 
 (1)  Certification shall be cancelled when testers are no 
longer employed as instructors. 
 (2)  Any tester who intends to instruct and test for a 
different school following termination must make a new application 
with the division for a new instructor license and tester certification 
under the new school. 
 (3)  If the testing certification has been cancelled for a 
period of six months, the applicant shall take a course of approved 
training before becoming relicensed. 
 
R708-37-7.  Refusal to Certify, Grounds for Cancellation, 
Suspension, or Probation of a Tester's Certification. 
 (1)  The tester certification shall remain effective as long as 
the tester remains employed by the school as a tester, or until the 
tester certification is cancelled or suspended by the division. 
 (2)  The division may: 
 (a)  refuse to certify a tester; 
 (b)  suspend an existing certification; or 
 (c)  place a tester on probation. 
 (3)  A tester certification may be suspended, placed on 
probation or refused issuance for: 
 (a)  failure to comply with Title 53, Chapter 3, Part 5 
Commercial Driver Training Schools Act; 
 (b)  failure to comply with this rule and Rule R708-2; 
 (c)  failure to meet the standards for training; 
 (d)  providing false information in an application or form 
required by the division; 
 (e)  conviction of a felony, or conviction of or reasonable 
grounds to believe a tester has committed an act of moral turpitude; 
or 
 (f)  failure to appear for a hearing. 
 (4)  A proceeding to suspend, place on probation, or refuse 
to issue or renew a certification is designated as an informal 
adjudicative proceeding under Section 63G-4-202. 
 (5)  A tester who has had a certification suspended shall not 
be eligible to reapply for a certification until six months have elapsed 
since the date of the suspension. 
 (6)  Following suspension, the applicant shall submit an 
application for re-certification. 
 (7)  Upon receipt of a completed application, the division 
shall conduct a review process as established by the division director 
to determine eligibility for re-certification. 
 (8)  Notice of the division's final decision shall be provided 
in writing to the applicant within 20 days of receipt of the completed 
application, required documentation, and fees. 
 (9)  When a request for reinstatement is denied, the 
applicant shall have an opportunity to request a hearing in writing 
within 20 days of receipt of the division's final decision. 
 (10)  Any applicant who has had a certification suspended 
by the division two times shall not be eligible to reapply for re-
certification. 
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R708-37-8.  Procedures Governing Informal Adjudicative 
Proceedings. 
 (1)  The following procedures will govern informal 
adjudicative proceedings: 
 (a)  the division shall begin an action to suspend, place on 
probation, or refuse to issue certification to administer tests by the 
issuance of notice of agency action: 
 (i)  the notice of agency action shall comply with Section 
63G-4-201; and 
 (ii)  the notice of agency action shall not require a response 
from the recipient. 
 (b)  an opportunity for a hearing shall be granted on a 
suspension, probation or refusal to issue certification when the 
division receives in writing a proper request for a hearing; 
 (c)  the division shall send written notice of a hearing to the 
licensee or applicant at least 14 days before the date of the hearing; 
 (d)  no discovery, either compulsory or voluntary, shall be 
permitted before the hearing except that each party shall have access 
to information in the division's files, and to investigator information 
and materials not restricted by law; 
 (e)  the division shall designate an individual or panel to 
conduct the hearing; 
 (f)  within 20 days after the date of the close of the hearing, 
or after the failure of a party to appear for the hearing, the individual 
or panel conducting the hearing shall issue a written decision that 
shall constitute final agency action; and 
 (g)  the written decision shall state the decision, the reason 
for the decision, notice of right to request reconsideration under 
Section 63G-4-302, notice of right of judicial review under Section 
63G-4-402, and the time limits for filing an appeal to the appropriate 
district court. 
 (2)  If a certification is suspended, placed on probation or 
an applicant is refused certification, contracts, records, properties, 
training activities, obligations, or licenses shall not be transferred to 
another party. 
 (3)  If a certification is suspended or an applicant is refused 
certification under Section 63G-4-502, the tester shall not administer 
the test unless otherwise determined at a hearing. 
 (4)  A certification may be placed on probation upon 
approval of the division director or designee. 
 (5)  A certification that has been placed on probation shall 
be subject to a period of close supervision with conditions determined 
by the division. 
 
KEY:  driver training, driving skills tests, tests 
Date of Last Change:  2022[August 18, 2003] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 3, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53-3-510 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R708-46 Filing ID 
54539 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Driver License 

Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 144501 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R708-46.  Refugee or Approved Asylee Knowledge Test in 
Applicant's Native Language 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this change is to implement legislative 
changes for H.B. 163 from the 2022 General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
H.B. 163 (2022) adds a covered humanitarian parolee to 
the list of individuals who are authorized to take the written 
knowledge test in their native language.  This rule 
establishes requirements and procedures for authorized 
individuals to test in their native language, the term 
covered humanitarian parolee has been added to the list 
of authorized individuals in this rule.  Language regarding 
how the interpreters become qualified has been updated 
to reflect that they must have a contract with the Utah 
Division of State Purchasing and General Services as 
opposed to certification with the Department of Workforce 
Services.  In addition, the definition section has been 
alphabetized, and additional definitions have been added 
for applicant, covered humanitarian parolee, and qualified 
interpreter. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures because 
this rule only adds covered humanitarian parolee to the list 
of individuals authorized to take the written knowledge test 
in the person's native language upon the initial or first 
renewal of a limited-term license certificate. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures because 
this rule only adds covered humanitarian parolee to the list 
of individuals authorized to take the written knowledge test 
in the person's native language upon the initial or first 
renewal of a limited-term license certificate. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change could have a direct fiscal benefit for five 
small businesses.  The number of customers who choose 
to utilize an interpreter's service to assist in the initial 
application or first renewal could increase the amount of 
fees collected.  The direct fiscal benefit to small 
businesses is inestimable.  There is no way to determine 
how many more customers would choose to utilize their 
interpreter services. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses revenues or expenditures 
because this rule only adds covered humanitarian parolee 
to the list of individuals authorized to take the written 
knowledge test in the person's native language upon the 
initial or first renewal of a limited-term license certificate.  
There are not currently any non-small businesses that 
provide interpreter services for this purpose. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change could have a direct fiscal cost to persons 
other than small businesses, non-small businesses, state 
or local government entities.  The number of persons 
affected, and the direct fiscal cost is inestimable.  There is 
no way to determine how many covered humanitarian 
parolees would choose to utilize an interpreter's services.  
This rule change could also have a direct non fiscal benefit 
to persons.  The changes to this rule identify the 
requirements and procedures for a covered humanitarian 
parolees to take the written knowledge test in their native 
language, which provides the opportunity to acclimate and 
become more familiar with driving practices prior to being 
required to take a written knowledge test in English. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
associated with this rule because this rule only allows the 
option for taking the written knowledge test in a person's 
native language upon the initial or first renewal of a limited-
term license. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change could result in a fiscal benefit to five small 
businesses, all of which have contracts with the Utah 
Division of State Purchasing and General Services to 
provide interpreter services.  Interpreter services would 
only be needed if the applicant is taking a written 
knowledge test in a language for which the test has not yet 
been translated.  The direct fiscal benefit to businesses is 
inestimable because there is no way to determine how 
many covered humanitarian parolees would choose to 
utilize their interpretation services.  Jess L. Anderson, 
Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, 
Jess L. Anderson, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 53-3-206   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Christopher 
Caras, Director 

Date: 04/20/2022 

 
R708.  Public Safety, Driver License. 
R708-46.  Refugee, [or Approved ]Asylee, or Covered 
Humanitarian Parolee Knowledge Test in Applicant's Native 
Language. 
R708-46-1.  Purpose. 
 The Driver License Division shall allow an applicant who 
is a refugee, pending asylee, [or ]approved asylee, or covered 
humanitarian parolee, and is applying for a limited-term driver 
license to take the knowledge test on traffic laws in the person's 
native language. 
 
R708-46-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Section 53-3-206. 
 
R708-46-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are found in Section 53-3-102. 
 (2)  In addition: 

 (a)  "applicant" means an applicant with a refugee, 
approved asylee, pending asylee, or covered humanitarian parolee 
status; 
 (b)  "approved asylee" means a person who has an approved 
application for asylum in the United States; 
 (c)  "covered humanitarian parolee" means a person who is 
a citizen and national of Afghanistan who has been paroled into the 
United States between July 31, 2021, and September 30, 2022, and 
certain immediate family members who have been paroled into the 
United States after September 30, 2022; 
 (d)  "pending asylee" means a person's status is an 
authorized stay, or permission to stay and work in the United States; 
 (e)  "qualified interpreter" means an interpreter that has a 
contract approved through the Utah Division of State Purchasing and 
General Services to provide interpreter services; and 
 [(1)](f)  "[R]refugee" means a person who has entered into 
the United States in refugee status. 
[ (2)  "Approved Asylee" means a person who has an 
approved application for asylum in the United States. 
 (3)  "Pending Asylee" means a person's status is an 
authorized stay, or permission to stay and work in the United States. 
 (4)  "Limited-Term License Certificate" means the 
evidence of the privilege granted and issued under Title 53, Chapter 
3,Uniform Driver License Act, to drive a motor vehicle to a person 
whose privilege was obtained providing evidence of lawful presence 
in the United States with one of the document requirements described 
in Subsection 53-3-205(8)(a)(ii)(B).] 
 
R708-46-4.  Requirements. 
 (1)  The first time an applicant [with a refugee, approved 
asylee, or pending asylee status ]applies for a limited-term license 
certificate, they [shall be given the opportunity to]may: 
 (a)  take the knowledge test in their native language[.]; or 
 (b)  take the knowledge test with the assistance of a 
qualified interpreter. 
 (2)  The first time an applicant [with a refugee, approved 
asylee, or pending asylee status ]applies for a renewal of a limited-
term license certificate[,] and is required to take the knowledge test 
for renewal in accordance with Section 53-3-214, they [shall be given 
the opportunity to]may: 
 (a)  take the knowledge test in their native language[.]; or 
 (b)  take the knowledge test with the assistance of a 
qualified interpreter. 
 (3)  [If the applicant had previously taken the knowledge 
test in their native language, t]The second time an applicant applies 
for a renewal of a limited-term license certificate,[renewal for a 
refugee, approved asylee, or pending asylee will require the 
applicant] they shall be required to pass a knowledge test of traffic 
laws in English. 
[ (4)  The Division of Workforce Services shall maintain a 
list of qualified interpreters that can be found on the Driver License 
Division's website.] 
 
R708-46-5.  Procedures. 
 (1)  The applicant must schedule an appointment to apply 
for an original limited-term license or first renewal of a limited-term 
license using the on-line scheduler. 
 (2)  If the applicant chooses to take the knowledge test with 
the assistance of a qualified interpreter, [T]the applicant must arrange 
and pay for a[n] qualified interpreter [approved by the Division of 
Workforce Services ]to accompany them for the test. 
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 (3)  A link to the list of qualified interpreters shall be posted 
on the Driver License Division's website. 
 
KEY:  limited-term driver license; knowledge test; refugee; 
[approved ]asylee; covered humanitarian parolee 
Date of Last Change:  2022[December 23, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 10, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53-3-206 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R877-23V-16 Filing ID 
54574 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Tax Commission 
Agency: Motor Vehicle Enforcement 
Building: Utah State Tax Commission 
Street address: 210 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chantay Asper 801-

297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R877-23V-16.  Replacement or Renewal of Lost or Stolen 
Special Plates Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 41-3-507 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The reason for the change is to clarify the method and 
procedure for obtaining a replacement or renewal dealer, 
dismantler, manufacturer, remanufacturer, or transporter 
plate. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment authorizes the Division of Motor Vehicle 
Enforcement (Division) to replace a lost or stolen dealer, 
dismantler, manufacturer, remanufacturer, or transporter 
license plate upon request instead of only after the plate 
has expired.  The amendment also provides that the 
replacement is subject to availability and is issued at the 
discretion of the Division. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This amendment is not expected to impact the state 
budget because it is consistent with current plate 
replacement practice. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This amendment is not expected to impact local 
governments because it is consistent with current plate 
replacement practice. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This amendment is not expected to impact small 
businesses because it is consistent with current plate 
replacement practice. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This amendment is not expected to impact non-small 
businesses because it is consistent with current plate 
replacement practice. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment is not expected to impact persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities because it is consistent with 
current plate replacement practice. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This amendment is not expected to impose compliance 
costs on affected persons because it is consistent with 
current plate replacement practice. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This amendment is not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on businesses because it is consistent with current plate 
replacement practice.  Rebecca L. Rockwell, 
Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
A Commissioner of the Tax Commission, Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 41-3-507   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/22/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 04/29/2022 

 
R877.  Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle Enforcement. 
R877-23V.  Motor Vehicle Enforcement. 
R877-23V-16.  Replacement or Renewal of Lost or Stolen Special 
Plates Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 41-3-507. 
 [A.](1)  A lost or stolen dealer, dismantler, manufacturer, 
remanufacturer, or transporter plate may be replaced upon request of 
the licensee and at the discretion of the division.[only after it has 
expired.] 
 [B.](2)  The replaced special plate shall be included in the 
calculation of special plates a dealer may be issued under Section 41-
3-503. 
 (3)  Replacement of a special plate is subject to availability. 
 
KEY:  taxation, motor vehicles 
Date of Last Change:  [March 28, 2022]2022 
Notice of Continuation:  November 9, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  41-1a-712; 
41-3-105; 41-3-201; 41-3-202; 41-3-210; 41-3-301; 41-3-302; 41-3-
305; 41-3-503; 41-3-505; 41-3-506; 41-3-507 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R884-24P-66 Filing ID 
54575 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Tax Commission 
Agency: Property Tax 
Building: Utah State Tax Commission 
Street address: 210 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chantay Asper 801-

297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R884-24P-66.  County Board of Equalization Procedures 
and Appeals Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-2-
1001 and 59-2-1004 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The reason for the change is to correct errors in 
classifications related to certain property tax exemptions 
from constituting a factual error. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment limits what constitutes a factual error for 
purposes of when a county must accept a late filed 
application to appeal the valuation or equalization of real 
property.  This amendment also removes errors in 
classifications related to certain property tax exemptions 
from constituting a factual error. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This amendment is not expected to impact the state 
budget because it only removes errors in classifications 
related to certain property tax exemptions from 
constituting a factual error consistent with the Utah Code. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This amendment is not expected to impact local 
governments because it only removes errors in 
classifications related to certain property tax exemptions 
from constituting a factual error consistent with the Utah 
Code. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This amendment is not expected to impact small 
businesses because it only removes errors in 
classifications related to certain property tax exemptions 
from constituting a factual error consistent with the Utah 
Code. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This amendment is not expected to impact non-small 
businesses because it only removes errors in 
classifications related to certain property tax exemptions 
from constituting a factual error consistent with the Utah 
Code. 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment is not expected to impact persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities because it only removes errors 
in classifications related to certain property tax exemptions 
from constituting a factual error consistent with the Utah 
Code. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This amendment is not expected to impose compliance 
costs on affected persons because it only removes errors 
in classifications related to certain property tax exemptions 
from constituting a factual error consistent with the Utah 
Code. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This amendment is not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on businesses because it only removes errors in 
classifications related to certain property tax exemptions 
from constituting a factual error consistent with the Utah 
Code.  Rebecca L. Rockwell, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
A Commissioner of the Tax Commission, Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 59-2-1001 Section 59-2-1004  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/22/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L.  
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 04/29/2022 

 
R884.  Tax Commission, Property Tax. 
R884-24P.  Property Tax. 
R884-24P-66.  County Board of Equalization Procedures and 
Appeals Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-2-1001 and 59-
2-1004. 
 (1)(a)  "Factual error" means an error described in 
Subsection (1)(b): 
 (i)  that is objectively verifiable without the exercise of 
discretion, opinion, or judgment; 
 (ii)  that is demonstrated by clear and convincing evidence; 
and 

 (iii)  the existence of which is recognized by the taxpayer 
and the county assessor. 
 (b)  Subject to Subsection (1)(c), "factual error" includes an 
error that is: 
 (i)  a mistake in the description of the size, use, or 
ownership of a property; 
 (ii)  a clerical or typographical error in reporting or entering 
the data used to establish valuation or equalization; 
 (iii)  an error in the classification of a property that is 
eligible for a property tax exemption, deferral, reduction, or 
abatement under[: 
 (A) ] Section 59-2-103; 
[ (B)  Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 11; 
 (C)  Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 18; or 
 (D)  Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 19;] 
 (iv)  valuation of a property that is not in existence on the 
lien date; and 
 (v[i])  a valuation of a property assessed more than once, or 
by the wrong assessing authority. 
 (c)  "Factual error" does not include: 
 (i)  an alternative approach to value; 
 (ii)  a change in a factor or variable used in an approach to 
value; or 
 (iii)  any other adjustment to a valuation methodology. 
 (2)  To achieve standing with the county board of 
equalization and have a decision rendered on the merits of the case, 
the taxpayer shall provide the following minimum information to the 
county board of equalization: 
 (a)  the name and address of the property owner; 
 (b)  the identification number, location, and description of 
the property; 
 (c)  the value placed on the property by the county assessor; 
 (d)  the taxpayer's estimate of the fair market value of the 
property; 
 (e)  evidence or documentation that supports the taxpayer's 
claim for relief; and 
 (f)  the taxpayer's signature. 
 (3)  If the evidence or documentation required under 
Subsection (2) is not attached, the county will notify the taxpayer in 
writing of the defect in the claim and permit at least ten calendar days 
to cure the defect before dismissing the matter for lack of sufficient 
evidence to support the claim for relief. 
 (4)  If the taxpayer appears before the county board of 
equalization and fails to produce the evidence or documentation 
described under Subsection (2) and the county has notified the 
taxpayer under Subsection (3), the county may dismiss the matter for 
lack of evidence to support a claim for relief. 
 (5)  If the information required under Subsection (2) is 
supplied, the county board of equalization shall render a decision on 
the merits of the case. 
 (6)  The county board of equalization may dismiss an 
appeal for lack of jurisdiction when the claimant limits arguments to 
issues not under the jurisdiction of the county board of equalization. 
 (7)  The county board of equalization shall prepare and 
maintain a record of the appeal. 
 (a)  For appeals concerning property value, the record shall 
include: 
 (i)  the name and address of the property owner; 
 (ii)  the identification number, location, and description of 
the property; 
 (iii)  the value placed on the property by the county 
assessor; 
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 (iv)  the basis for appeal stated in the taxpayer's appeal; 
 (v)  facts and issues raised in the hearing before the county 
board that are not clearly evident from the county assessor's records; 
and 
 (vi)  the decision of the county board of equalization and 
the reasons for the decision. 
 (b)  The record may be included in the minutes of the 
hearing before the county board of equalization. 
 (8)(a)  The county board of equalization shall notify the 
taxpayer in writing of its decision. 
 (b)  The notice required under Subsection (8)(a) shall 
include: 
 (i)  the name and address of the property owner; 
 (ii)  the identification number of the property; 
 (iii)  the date the notice was sent; 
 (iv)  a notice of appeal rights to the commission; and 
 (v)  a statement of the decision of the county board of 
equalization; or 
 (vi)  a copy of the decision of the county board of 
equalization. 
 (9)  A county shall maintain a copy of a notice sent to a 
taxpayer under Subsection (8). 
 (10)  If a decision affects the exempt status of a property, 
the county board of equalization shall prepare its decision in writing, 
stating the reasons and statutory basis for the decision. 
 (11)  Decisions by the county board of equalization are final 
orders on the merits. 
 (12)  Except as provided in Subsection (14), a county board 
of equalization shall accept an application to appeal the valuation or 
equalization of a property owner's real property that is filed after the 
time period prescribed by Subsection 59-2-1004(3)(a) if any of the 
following conditions apply: 
 (a)  During the period prescribed by Subsection 59-2-
1004(3)(a), the property owner was incapable of filing an appeal as a 
result of a medical emergency to the property owner or an immediate 
family member of the property owner, and no co-owner of the 
property was capable of filing an appeal. 
 (b)  During the period prescribed by Subsection 59-2-
1004(3)(a), the property owner or an immediate family member of 
the property owner died, and no co-owner of the property was 
capable of filing an appeal. 
 (c)  The county did not comply with the notification 
requirements of Section 59-2-919.1. 
 (d)  A factual error is discovered in the county records 
pertaining to the subject property. 
 (e)  The property owner was unable to file an appeal within 
the time period prescribed by Subsection 59-2-1004(3)(a) because of 
extraordinary and unanticipated circumstances that occurred during 
the period prescribed by Subsection 59-2-1004(3)(a), and no co-
owner of the property was capable of filing an appeal. 
 (13)  Appeals accepted under Subsection (12)(d) shall be 
limited to correction of the factual error and any resulting changes to 
the property's valuation. 
 (14)  [The provisions of ]Subsection (12) [apply]applies 
only to appeals filed for a tax year for which the treasurer has not 
made a final annual settlement under Section 59-2-1365. 
 (15)  [The provisions of this ]This rule [apply]applies only 
to appeals to the county board of equalization.  For information 
regarding appeals of county board of equalization decisions to the 
Commission, please see [Section]Sections 59-2-1006 and R861-1A-
9. 
 

KEY:  taxation, personal property, property tax, appraisals 
Date of Last Change:  [January 1,] 2022 
Notice of Continuation:  November 9, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art. XIII, Sec 
2; 9-2-201; 11-13-302; 41-1a-202; 41-1a-301; 59-1-210; 59-2-102; 59-
2-103; 59-2-103.5; 59-2-104; 59-2-201; 59-2-210; 59-2-211; 59-2-301; 
59-2-301.3; 59-2-302; 59-2-303; 59-2-303.1; 59-2-305; 59-2-306; 59-
2-401; 59-2-402; 59-2-404; 59-2-405; 59-2-405.1; 59-2-406; 59-2-
508; 59-2-514; 59-2-515; 59-2-701; 59-2-702; 59-2-703; 59-2-704; 
59-2-704.5; 59-2-705; 59-2-801; 59-2-918 through 59-2-924; 59-2-
1002; 59-2-1004; 59-2-1005; 59-2-1006; 59-2-1101; 59-2-1102; 59-2-
1104; 59-2-1106; 59-2-1107 through 59-2-1109; 59-2-1113; 59-2-
1115; 59-2-1202; 59-2-1202(5); 59-2-1302; 59-2-1303; 59-2-1308.5; 
59-2-1317; 59-2-1328; 59-2-1330; 59-2-1347; 59-2-1351; 59-2-1365; 
59-2-1703 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin.  Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R907-66 Filing ID 
54542 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-580-

8296 
lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R907-66.  Procurement of Consultant Services - 
Procedures and Contract Administration 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
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The Department of Transportation (Department) submits 
these proposed changes to update this rule and conform 
it to the requirements of the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do?  If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The Department proposes these changes to conform this 
rule to the requirements of the Rulewriting Manual, to 
eliminate unnecessary text, to correct outdated citations to 
state law and federal regulations, and to update 
procurement procedures to reflect how the Division of 
Consultant Services (Division) currently operates. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These proposed changes could lead to savings in the 
state's budget over time if they lead to more efficiency and 
efficacy in the Division procurement processes.  However, 
any state budget savings are speculative and 
unquantifiable now. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Rule R907-66 regulates the Division procurement 
processes only and does not apply to any local 
governments or subdivisions of the state.  Therefore, these 
proposed changes  will not affect the budgets of local 
governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Rule R907-66 regulates the Division procurement 
processes only.  Consultants that are small businesses 
may be affected by these proposed changes but the 
Department's intent is for these effects to be savings to 
their budgets.  However, any budget savings for small 
businesses are speculative and unquantifiable now. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Rule R907-66 regulates the Division procurement 
processes only.  Consultants that are non-small 
businesses may be affected by these proposed changes; 
the Department's intent is for these effects to be savings 
to their budgets.  However, any budget savings for non-
small businesses are speculative and unquantifiable now. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

Rule R907-66 regulates the Division procurement 
processes only.  Therefore, persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities should not be affected by these 
proposed changes. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The proposed changes do not include any direct 
compliance costs for any entity affected by Rule R907-66. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This proposed rule change will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses.  Carlos M. Braceras, PE, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation, Carlos M. Braceras, PE, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63G-6a-107.7(5) 

Subsection 
72-1-201(1)(h) 

 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

2 CFR Part 200 Uniform 
Administrative Requirements, Cost  
Principles, and Audit Requirements 
for Federal Awards 

Publisher Office of the Federal Register 

Date Issued December. 19, 2014 

Issue, or version November 12, 2020 

 
B)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Second Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

48 CFR Part 31, Contract Cost 
Principles and Procedures 

Publisher Office of the Federal Register 

Date Issued September 19, 1983 

Issue, or version January 29, 2013 

 
C)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Third Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

23 CFR 1.11, Engineering Services 

Publisher Office of the Federal Register 

Date Issued May 11, 1960 

Issue, or version February 24, 2022 

 

D)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Fourth Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

23 CFR 1.33, Conflicts of Interest 

Publisher Office of the Federal Register 

Date Issued May 11, 1960 

Issue, or version February 24, 2022 

 
E)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
 Fifth Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

23 CFR Part 172, Procurement, 
Management, and Administration of  
Engineering and Design Related  
Service Contracts 

Publisher Office of the Federal Register 

Date Issued May 22, 2015 

Issue, or version June 22, 2015 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Carlos M. 
Braceras, PE,  
Executive Director 

Date: 04/18/2022 

 
R907.  Transportation, Administration. 
R907-66.  Procurement of Consultant Services - Procedures and 
Contract Administration. 
R907-66-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Authority.  The Department of Transportation (the 
"Department") makes this rule [pursuant to authority granted by Utah 
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Code]under [Sections]Subsections 63G-6a-[106(3)(a)]107.7(5) and 
72-1-201(1)(h). 
 (2)  Purpose.  [The Department solicits for and contracts 
with consultants to perform design professional,]This rule establishes 
requirements and procedures for procuring engineering[,] and 
engineering-related services[.],[ 
 (a)  This Rule, R907-66, establishes procedures for 
procuring services of design, engineering and engineering-related 
professionals, identified herein as consultants,] and administering the 
attendant contracts.[ utilizing Federal-aid highway program funding 
or Utah state funding. 
 (b)  For detailed guidance beyond federal and state codes, 
federal regulations, and this rule, the Department's Consultant 
Services Division maintains the Consultant Services Manual of 
Instruction, which includes procedures and guidelines for preparing 
and publishing solicitations such as requests for qualifications that 
have project-specific requirements.] 
 
R907-66-2.  Definitions. 
 [For purposes of this rule, R907-66, t]The following 
definitions apply: 
 (1)  "Brooks Act" means a commonly used term for the 
Federal Property and Administrative Services Act of 1949, [(]Public 
Law 92--582, 86 Stat. 1278 (1972) and 40 U.S.C. Chapter 11, 
Sections 1101[-] through 1104. 
 (2)  "Competitive negotiation" means any form of 
negotiation that utilizes qualifications-based procedures complying 
with the Brooks Act. 
 (3)  "Consultant" means an individual expert or firm the 
Department contracts with to perform professional services as may 
be necessary to the planning, progress, and completion of any design, 
engineering, and engineering-related services. 
 (4)  "Desk review" means a process that includes a limited-
scope examination of a Consultant's original source financial 
documentation and communication to provide reasonable assurance 
[that costs]the Consultant has not materially misstated costs, 
[presented are not materially misstated ]and the Consultant's financial 
documentation [comply]complies with FAR Part 31 and 2 CFR Part 
200. 
 (5)  "The [d]Division" means the Consultant Services 
Division of the Department of Transportation. 
 (6)  "Engineering," "the practice of engineering," and 
"professional engineering" mean the same as the terms are defined in 
[Utah Code Section]Subsection 58-22-102(9)(a). 
 (7)  "Engineering-Related Services" means other 
professional services, including project-related public involvement, 
right of way acquisition services, transportation research, asset 
management, prototype development, technology transfer, technical 
writing, or other services as deemed necessary by the executive 
director or designee. 
 [(7)](8)  "FAR" means Federal Acquisition Regulations, 
Title 48, Code of Federal Regulations. 
 [(8)](9)  "Federal-aid highway funds" means funds 
authorized by Congress to assist the Department in providing for the 
construction, reconstruction, and improvement of highways and 
bridges on eligible [Federal-Aid]federal-aid highway routes and [for 
]other special[ ]-purpose programs and projects. 
 (10)  "Financial Screening" means the process performed 
by the Department's Consultant Services Division under 23 CFR 
172.11 to review financial and entity data submitted annually by 
Consultants and subconsultants.  This process will determine 
financial viability and establish or maintain the ability to contract 

with the Department for engineering and engineering-related 
services. 
[ (9)  "Other Professional Services" means grant writing, 
asset management, transportation research, prototype development, 
technology transfer, project-related public involvement, right of way 
acquisition services, or other services as deemed necessary by the 
executive director or designee.] 
 (11)  The "Manual" means the Consultant Services Manual, 
which is maintained by the Department's Consultant Services 
Division.  This Manual provides details beyond federal and state 
codes, federal regulations, and this rule. 
 [(10)](12)  "Qualifications-based selection" or "QBS" 
means that procurement process defined in the Brooks Act, 40 U.S.C. 
Sections 1101 through 1104.[40 U.S.C. Sections 1101 -- 1104 
(Brooks Act), as a process for public agencies to use for architectural, 
engineering, and related professional services for public construction 
projects and Utah Code 63G-6a Part 15 for procurement of design 
professional services.] 
 [(11)](13)  "Risk Assessment" is the equivalent of Risk-
based Analysis as defined in Subsection 23 C.F.R. 
172.11(c)(2).[means a process that includes identifying and 
analyzing potential internal control deficiencies and evaluation of 
initial evidence for indications of noncompliance with FAR and 2 
CFR Part 200 and making judgments on the tolerability of the risk of 
accepting the Consultant's indirect cost rate(s) as presented without 
further action.] 
 
R907-66-3.  Qualifications-based Selection of Consultants for 
Design, Engineering and Engineering-related Services. 
 [(1)  ]The Department will perform qualifications-based 
selection procedures, including competitive negotiations to procure, 
manage, and administer contracts with [c]Consultants and other 
professional services. 
 
[R907-66-4.  Incorporation by Reference of Applicable Federal 
Law. 
 To receive grants of federal-aid highway funds the 
Department must conform to applicable federal law.  Therefore, the 
Department incorporates by reference the following federal 
regulations: 
 (1)  2 CFR Part 200 Uniform Administrative Requirements, 
Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards for both 
federal and state funded projects. 2 CFR Part 200 Uniform 
Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit 
Requirements for Federal Awards 
 (2)  23 CFR 1.11, Engineering Services.  23 CFR 1.11 
Engineering Services 
 (3)  23 CFR 1.33, Conflicts of Interest.  23 CFR 1.33 
Conflicts of Interest 
 (4)  23 CFR 172, Procurement, Management, and 
Administration of Engineering and Design Related Service 
Contracts.  Procurement, Management, and Administration of 
Engineering and Design Related Services 
 
R907-66-5.  Small Purchase Cap. 
 (1)  Utah Code Section 63G-6a-506(2) grants the 
Department authority to make rules governing small purchases of any 
procurement item. 
 (2)  When procuring services of consultants, the Division 
will follow the simplified acquisition threshold established by 48 
CFR 2.101 as the small purchase maximum or small purchase cap for 
individual procurement of consultant services. 
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 (3)  The Division will establish pools of prequalified 
consultants or other professional service providers for various work 
disciplines for consultant selection to perform services with an 
estimated value less than the Small Purchase Cap following the Utah 
Procurement Code Section 63G-6a-507 Approved Vendor List 
Procurement Process. 
 (4)  The Department will publish detailed procedures the 
Consultant Services Division will follow to establish pre-qualified 
consultant pools in the Consultant Services Manual of Instruction, 
Pool Solicitation or other Solicitations such as Requests for 
Qualifications. 
 
R907-66-6.  Selection of Consultants for Services with Estimated 
Values in Excess of the Small Purchase Cap. 
 The Department will select consultants for contracts with a 
value in excess of the small purchase cap set forth in R907-66-5 in 
accordance with 23 CFR Part 172, Utah Procurement Code 63G-6a 
Part 15 Design Professional Services, the Consultant Services 
Manual of Instruction, and the specific Solicitation such as the 
Request for Qualifications.] 
R907-66-4.  Incorporation by Reference of Applicable Federal 
Law. 
 To receive grants of federal-aid highway funds, the 
Department must comply with applicable federal law.  Therefore, the 
Department incorporates by reference the following federal 
regulations for both federal and state funded projects: 
 (1)  2 CFR Part 200 Uniform Administrative Requirements, 
Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards. 
 (2)  FAR Part 31, Contract Cost Principles and Procedures. 
 (3)  23 CFR 1.11, Engineering Services. 
 (4)  23 CFR 1.33, Conflicts of Interest. 
 (5)  23 CFR 172, Procurement, Management, and 
Administration of Engineering and Design Related Service 
Contracts. 
 
R907-66-5.  Prequalified Pools. 
 The Division will establish pools of prequalified 
Consultants for various work disciplines to perform services for the 
Department following the Section 63G-6a-507 Approved vendor list 
procurement process. 
 
R907-66-6.  Small Purchase Contracts. 
 (1)  Section 63G-6a-506 grants the Department authority to 
make rules governing small purchases of any procurement item. 
 (2)  When procuring services of Consultants, the Division 
will follow the simplified acquisition threshold established by 48 
CFR 2.101 as the small purchase maximum or small purchase cap for 
individual procurement of Consultant Services. 
 (3)  The Division will publish detailed procedures to 
establish prequalified pools in the Manual or solicitations. 
 
R907-66-7.  Non-Small Purchase Contracts. 
 For contracts with an estimated value above the small 
purchase cap, the Department will select Consultants in accordance 
with 23 CFR Part 172, Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Part 15, Design 
Professional Services, the Manual, and the requirements set forth in 
the solicitation or request for qualifications. 
 
R907-66-[7]8.  Consultant Financial Screening and Auditing. 
 (1)  To provide reasonable assurance that the Consultant's 
presented Indirect Cost [Rate(s)]Rates, hourly billing rates, and direct 
costs comply with [the ]FAR Part 31 and 2 CFR Part 200, [Subpart 

E, Cost Principles, ]the Department will conduct risk assessments, 
desk reviews, and audits as necessary for C[c]onsultants seeking to 
perform design professional, engineering, or engineering-related 
services for the Department. 
 (2)  Consultants must submit their firm's Financial 
Screening Application, [(]including [all ]required supporting 
documents[)], within 90 days of their most recent fiscal year-end or 
[60]180 days if the Consultant submits a Certified Public Accountant 
audit.  The Department may grant an extension at its sole 
discretion.[prior to the anniversary date of their previous financial 
screening application approval, whichever occurs first.] 
 (3)  If the Division rejects a Consultant's financial 
screening as non-compliant, the Consultant may request 
reconsideration by submitting a written request to the Department's 
Office of Internal Audit before the end of seven calendar days after 
receiving notice that the Consultant's financial screening has been 
rejected.  The Consultant must provide notice to the Division before 
filing the request for reconsideration.  The written request must 
include a detailed explanation of the facts justifying the request for 
reconsideration. 
 (4)  The Department's Office of Internal Audit may conduct 
an audit to determine compliance with the requirements of this 
rule.[costs are allowable and in compliance with the requirements of 
2 CFR Part 200.] 
 
R907-66-[8]9.  Competitive Contract Negotiations. 
 (1)  The Department will conduct competitive negotiations 
for contracts.[ with the consultant firm it considers most qualified to 
provide services necessary to complete a project using guidelines 
developed by the Division.  The Department will prepare 
independent estimates of the value of such services for use in 
negotiations.] 
 (2)  [Negotiations follow state and federal procurement 
procedures and are based on compensation that the Department 
considers fair and reasonable.  Negotiations will end if the 
Department decides that it cannot agree on terms with the firm it 
considers most qualified.  The Division will then begin negotiations 
with the firm it determines to be next most qualified firm.  This 
process continues until either mutually agreeable terms are agreed to 
or the Division chooses to begin the selection process again to 
identify other firms qualified to provide such services. 
 (3)  ]The guidelines for [both c]Consultant selection and 
negotiations [are public information and may be found within]are in 
[the Consultant Services Manual of Instruction, ]the project-specific 
solicitation or request for qualifications, and other guidelines 
established by the Division and published on the Department's 
website[Internet web site]. 
 
R907-66-[9]10.  Award of Contracts. 
 The Department will award a contract to the most highly 
qualified, responsive, and responsible Consultant with which it can 
negotiate a fair and reasonable cost under the Utah Procurement 
Code, 23 C.F.R. Part 172, and under the Manual and other guidelines 
and policies established by the Department.[The Division will award 
a contract to the best qualified, responsive and responsible consultant 
with which it can negotiate a fair and reasonable cost as required by 
the Utah Procurement Code and 23 CFR Part 172, and in accordance 
with the Department's Consultant Services Manual of Instruction and 
other guidelines established by the Consultant Services Division.] 
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R907-66-[10]11.  Execution of Contracts. 
 Funding must be approved, and all appropriate signatures 
applied before the contract is considered executed.[The Department 
will not consider a contract effective until funding has been approved 
and all signature lines have been filled in with the appropriate 
officer's signature.] 
 
R907-66-[11]12.  Notice to Proceed. 
 [(1)  Consultants may not begin performing work under a 
contract before the Division has issued to the consultant a notice to 
proceed for the contract. 
 (2)  ]The Department will not pay for any work:[ a 
consultant performs before the Department has issued to the 
consultant a notice to proceed for the contract.] 
 (1)  the Department has not authorized in writing; 
 (2)  the Consultant performs before the Department has an 
effective, fully executed contract with the Consultant; or 
 (3)  the Consultant performs before the Department 
authorizes the Consultant to begin work by issuing a notice to 
proceed or similar writing. 
 
KEY:  procurement, small purchases, design and engineering 
services 
Date of Last Change:  2022[March 26, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 14, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-6-105; 
72-1-201 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R986-100 Filing ID 
54576 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Employment Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R986-100.  Employment Support Programs 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 45, passed during the 2022 General Session, 
requires the Department of Workforce Services (DWS) to 
conduct non-clinical eligibility hearings and issue final 
decisions in adjudicative proceedings for medical 
assistance eligibility.  This rule change describes the new 
adjudicative proceeding process. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Interested parties have the right to a review of an adverse 
DWS action concerning medical assistance eligibility.  
Such review consists of an informal fair hearing before an 
administrative law judge (ALJ).  The ALJ issues a written 
decision.  Prior to the passage of S.B. 45 (2022), agency 
review of an ALJ decision regarding medical assistance 
eligibility was to be filed with the Department of Health.  
With the passage of S.B. 45, the DWS is responsible for 
agency review of such decisions.  This rule change 
describes how an interested party may appeal an ALJ 
decision regarding medical assistance to the Executive 
Director of the DWS or their designee.  This rule change 
also makes minor clarifications regarding further appeals 
from an ALJ decision concerning other public assistance 
administered by the DWS and how fair hearings are 
conducted generally. 
 
Please note that the Notice of Effective Date of this rule 
change may be filed after the date shown in Box 10.  The 
Notice of Effective Date may be filed at any time between 
06/21/2022 and 09/12/2022. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures beyond 
any impact addressed in the fiscal note of S.B. 45 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local government revenues or expenditures beyond 
any impact addressed in the fiscal note of S.B. 45 (2022). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on small business revenues or expenditures beyond any 
impact addressed in the fiscal note of S.B. 45 (2022). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
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This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on non-small business revenues or expenditures beyond 
any impact addressed in the fiscal note of S.B. 45 (2022). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on other persons revenues or expenditures beyond any 
impact addressed in the fiscal note of S.B. 45 (2022). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule change of this rule requires no new action or 
compliance by any persons. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule change will not result in a fiscal impact 
beyond what was addressed in the fiscal note of S.B. 45 
(2022).  Casey Cameron, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
35A-3-101 et seq. 

Section 
35A-3-301 et seq. 

Section 
35A-3-401 et seq. 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive Director 

Date: 04/29/2022 

 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-100.  Employment Support Programs. 
R986-100-123.  The Right To a Hearing and How to Request a 
Hearing. 
 (1)  An interested person has the right to a review of an 
adverse Department action by requesting a fair hearing before an 
ALJ.  Reviews of medical assistance eligibility determinations are 
subject to Section R986-100-137. 
 (2)  In cases where the Department sends notice of its intent 
to take action to collect an alleged overpayment but there is no 
alleged SNAP overpayment, the interested person must request a 
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hearing in writing or orally within 30 days of the date of notice of 
agency action.  In all other cases, the interested person must request 
a hearing in writing or orally within 90 days of the date of the notice 
of agency action with which the interested person disagrees. 
 (3)  Only a clear expression by the interested person, 
whether orally or in writing, [to the effect ]that the interested person 
wants an opportunity to present their[his or her] case is required. 
 (4)  The request for a hearing can be made by contacting 
the Department. 
 (5)  If the interested person disagrees with the level of 
SNAP benefits paid or payable, the interested person can request a 
hearing within the certification period, even if that is longer than 90 
days. 
 (6)  If a request for restoration of lost SNAP benefits is 
made within one year of the loss of benefits an interested person may 
request a hearing within 90 days of the date of the denial of 
restoration. 
 (7)  An interested person may contact the Department [and 
attempt ]to resolve the dispute.  If the dispute cannot be resolved, the 
interested person may still request a hearing provided it is filed within 
the time limit provided in the notice of agency action. 
 (8)  In cases not involving an overpayment or 
disqualification, if the interested person does not submit a timely 
appeal, the Department decision is final. 
 
R986-100-124.  How Hearings Are Conducted. 
 (1)  Hearings are held at the state level and not at the local 
level. 
 (2)  Where not inconsistent with federal law or regulation 
governing hearing procedure, the Department will follow [the 
Utah]Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act. 
 (3)  Hearings for the[all] programs listed in Section R986-
100-102 and for overpayments and IPVs in [Section 35A-3-601 et 
seq.]Title 35A, Chapter 3, Part 6, Administrative Determination of 
Overpayment Act are declared to be informal. 
 (4)  Hearings are conducted by an ALJ or a Hearing Officer 
in the Division of Adjudication.  A Hearing Officer has [all of ]the 
same rights, duties, powers, and responsibilities as an ALJ under 
these rules and the terms are interchangeable. 
 (5)  Hearings are scheduled as telephone hearings.  Every 
party wishing to participate in the telephone hearing must call the 
Division of Adjudication [at the time of the hearing]as instructed in 
the notice of hearing.  If the party fails to call in as required by the 
notice of hearing, the appeal will be dismissed.[  If a party wishes to 
have the ALJ call them at the start of the hearing, the party must call 
the Department and make arrangements to that effect prior to the 
hearing.] 
 (6)(a)  If a party requires an in-person hearing, the party 
must contact an ALJ and request that the hearing be scheduled as an 
in-person hearing.  The request should be made sufficiently in 
advance of the hearing so the[that all] other parties may be given 
notice of the change in hearing type and the opportunity to appear in 
person also. 
 (b)  Requests will only be granted if the party can show that 
an in-person hearing is necessary to accommodate a special need or 
if the ALJ deems an in-person hearing is necessary to ensure an 
orderly and fair hearing which meets due process requirements. 
 (c)  If the ALJ grants a[the] request for an in-person 
hearing, the other[all] parties will be informed that the hearing will 
be conducted in person.  [Even if the hearing is scheduled as an in-
person hearing, a]A party may elect to participate by telephone. 

 (d)  In-person hearings are held in the office of the Division 
of Adjudication unless the ALJ determines that another location is 
more appropriate.  A party or witness may participate from the closest 
local Employment Center. 
 (7)  The[the] Department is not responsible for any travel 
costs incurred by any party or witness in attending an in-person 
hearing. 
 (8)  The[the] Division of Adjudication will permit collect 
calls from parties and their witnesses participating in telephone 
hearings. 
 
R986-100-135.  Further Appeal From the Decision of the ALJ or 
[Presiding]Hearing Officer. 
 (1)  Except as provided in Section R986-100-138, 
each[Either] party has the option of appealing the decision of the ALJ 
or [presiding]hearing officer to either 
 (a)  the Executive Director or person designated by the 
Executive Director; or 
 (b)  [to ]the District Court. 
 (2)  [The]An appeal must be filed, in writing, within 30 
days of the issuance of the decision of the ALJ or hearing[presiding] 
officer.  An untimely request for agency review will be dismissed 
unless the requesting party can show good cause for the untimely 
request pursuant to Subsection R986-100-131(2). 
 (3)  Pursuant to Section 63G-4-402, within 30 days of the 
date an agency review decision is issued, an adversely affected party 
may file a petition for judicial review with the district court. 
 
R986-100-137.  Hearings on Determinations of Medical 
Assistance Eligibility. 
 (1)(a)  The Department has been designated by the Utah 
Department of Health and Human Services to determine eligibility 
for medical assistance, as authorized by the following: 
 (i)  42 U.S.C. 1396a; 
 (ii)  42 C.F.R. 431.10; 
 (iii)  Section 26-18-5 of the Utah Code; and 
 (iv)  Section R414-301-2. 
 (b)  The Department of Health and Human Services 
administers Medicaid and other medical assistance benefits 
programs. 
 (2)(a)  An adversely affected party may request a fair 
hearing to review a decision of medical assistance eligibility. 
 (b)  Except as stated in this rule, a fair hearing request 
follows the procedures of Sections R986-100-123 through R986-
100-135. 
 (3)  A hearing may be requested by: 
 (a)  a client; 
 (b)  a client's spouse; 
 (c)  a parent or guardian of a minor client; or 
 (d)  an authorized guardian or representative of a client. 
 (4)(a)  A representative from DWS shall participate in 
hearings. 
 (b)  Representatives from other state agencies may 
participate as needed. 
 (5)(a)  If the ALJ or hearing officer's decision is not 
appealed for agency review as provided in Section R986-100-138, 
the decision becomes final 30 days after the decision is issued. 
 (b)  The parties may stipulate to an earlier effective date, if 
no appeal will be requested. 
 (c)  If the ALJ or hearing officer reverses the eligibility 
decision, the Department of Health and Human Services will comply 
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with the ALJ or hearing officer's decision after the decision becomes 
final. 
 (6)(a)(i)  A recipient of medical assistance benefits may 
continue to receive benefits pending a hearing decision if the 
recipient requests the hearing before the effective date of the 
eligibility determination or within 15 days on the notice of eligibility 
determination. 
 (b)  A recipient may decline the continued benefits while a 
hearing is pending by notifying the Department of Health and Human 
Services in writing. 
 (c)  A recipient must repay any benefits received while a 
hearing is pending if a decision denying eligibility is upheld. 
 
R986-100-138.  Agency Review of Medical Assistance Eligibility. 
 (1)  An adversely affected party, including the Department 
of Health and Human Services, may appeal an ALJ or hearing officer 
decision by requesting agency review. 
 (2)  A request for agency review must be made within 30 
days after the decision is issued.  An untimely request for agency 
review will be dismissed unless the requesting party can show good 
cause for the untimely request pursuant to Subsection R986-10-
131(2). 
 (3)  The Executive Director of the Department or the 
Executive Director's designee shall conduct the agency review. 
 (4)  Agency review is an informal proceeding and shall be 
conducted in accordance with Section 63G-4-301. 
 (a)  The ALJ or hearing officer's decision is suspended until 
the Executive Director or their designee issues a final decision and 
order on agency review. 
 (b)  A hearing will not be conducted for agency review. 
 (c)  A party may submit written comments or arguments 
within 10 days following notice of the agency review. 
 (d)  The agency review may confirm, reverse, or modify the 
ALJ or hearing officer's decision. 
 (5)(a)  Benefits may continue while an agency review is 
pending. 
 (b)  A recipient may decline the continued benefits while 
agency review is pending by notifying the Department of Health and 
Human Services in writing. 
 (c)  A recipient must repay any benefits received while 
agency review is pending if a decision denying eligibility is upheld. 
 (6)  A decision on agency review is final upon issuance. 
 (7)  The Department of Health and Human Services shall 
take case action within ten calendar days of the date the agency 
review decision becomes final. 
 
R986-100-139.  Appeal of Agency Review of Medical Assistance 
Eligibility. 
 (1)(a)  Pursuant to Section 63G-4-402, within 30 days of 
the date the agency review decision is issued, an adversely affected 
party may file a petition for judicial review with the district court. 
 (b)  Failure to appeal a decision to the Department for 
agency review pursuant to Section R986-100-138 constitutes a 
waiver of the right to judicial appeal. 
 (2)  Recipients are not entitled to continued benefits 
pending judicial review by the district court. 
 
KEY:  employment support procedures, hearing procedures, 
public assistance, SNAP 
Date of Last Change:  2022[April 20, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 2, 2015 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-101 
et seq.; 35A-3-301 et seq.; 35A-3-401 et seq. 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R986-300-306 Filing ID 
54577 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Employment Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R986-300-306.  Time Limits 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
On 02/18/2022, the federal Office of Refugee 
Resettlement (ORR) issued new guidance providing that 
Afghan humanitarian parolees may be eligible to receive 
assistance, and including definitions and time frames for 
Afghan parolees.  On 03/28/2022, the federal ORR 
published new guidance allowing states to offer up to 12 
months of refugee resettlement financial assistance 
instead of 8 months.  This amendment reflects the 
changes adopted by the Federal ORR governing the 
program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes adopt new time limit for eligibility to receive 
assistance from the Refugee Resettlement Program from 
8 to 12 months; retain an eight-month eligibility limit for 
refugees with eligibility dates prior to 10/01/2021; clarify 
language that the date of eligibility for assistance is the 
date of entry into the United States, except in certain 



 

138 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, May 15, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 10 

circumstances; and add language addressing assistance 
eligibility of Afghan refugees due to changes in Federal law 
and policy. 
 
This rule amendment has minor stylistic changes in 
accordance with the Utah Rulewriting Manual.  The Notice 
of Effective Date of this rule amendment may be filed after 
the date shown in Box 10.  The Notice of Effective Date 
may be filed at any time between 06/21/2022 and 
09/12/2022. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  A corresponding 120-day emergency 
rule that is effective as of 04/25/2022 is under ID 54554 in 
this issue, May 15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state revenues or expenditures.  There are no 
additional state employees or resources needed to 
oversee the new section.  This new section will not 
increase workload and can be carried out with existing 
budget.  Any costs will be paid with funds granted to the 
state through the federal ORR. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because the program is federally-funded and does not rely 
on local governments for funding, administration, or 
enforcement. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule amendment is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit for small businesses because covered individuals 
will be able to receive additional months of benefits, 
thereby increasing the individuals' ability to purchase 
goods and services from small businesses.  The indirect 
benefit is not calculable, but it presumed to be a portion of 
the benefits to other persons as shown in the Regulatory 
Impact Table. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule amendment is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit for non-small businesses because covered 
individuals will be able to receive additional months of 
benefits, thereby increasing the individuals' ability to 
purchase goods and services from non-small businesses.  
The indirect benefit is not calculable, but it presumed to be 
a portion of the benefits to other persons as shown in the 
Regulatory Impact Table. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
It is anticipated that this amendment will allow 
approximately 1,020 covered individuals to be potentially 
eligible to receive financial assistance for additional 
months, based on data obtained on 04/14/2022.  The 
average financial assistance payment is $109 each month 
per individual, and $296 each month per household.  The 
benefits shown in the Regulatory Impact Table presumes 
3 months of individual eligibility for 1,020 individuals in 
fiscal year 2022, based upon the emergency rule going 
into effect in 04/25/2022.  The Table further presumes 4 
months of individual eligibility for 1,020 individuals in fiscal 
years 2023 and 2024, based upon 4 additional months of 
eligibility.  The actual impact may be greater or lesser 
depending upon the number of eligible refugees who 
resettle in Utah. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule amendment is not expected to cause any 
compliance costs for affected persons because this new 
section does not create any new administrative fees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The funding for refugee resettlement financial assistance 
is provided by the federal ORR.  The ORR allows states to 
administer a refugee cash assistance program consistent 
with a state's Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) program.  The Department of Workforce Services 
currently administers the Refugee Resettlement Program 
with the goal of helping refugees assimilate and achieve 
self-sufficiency.  By extending the number of months 
covered individuals may receive financial assistance, Utah 
will be able to better achieve this goal and continue to 
support communities and improve the lives of individuals.  
This rule change is needed to access the funding for the 
Refugee Resettlement Program and to make the state 
program consistent with federal requirements.  Casey 
Cameron, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$333,540 $444,720 $444,720 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$333,540 $444,720 $444,720 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$333,540 $444,720 $444,720 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 35A-3-103 45 CFR 400.65 

through 400.68 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 

Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive Director 

Date: 04/22/2022 

 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-300.  Refugee Resettlement Program. 
R986-300-306.  Time Limits. 
 (1)  A refugee's eligibility date for RRP is the date of entry 
into the United States. 
 (a)  An asylee's entry date is determined to be the date that 
the individual was granted asylum in the United States. 
 (b)  The date of entry for a victim of trafficking is 
established by the certification date determined by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Refugee 
Resettlement (ORR). 
 (c)  "Afghan Humanitarian Parolee" means citizens or 
nationals of Afghanistan paroled into the United States between July 
31, 2021 and September 30, 2022, including spouses and children of 
paroled individuals, and parents or guardians of paroled individuals 
who are unaccompanied children.  The eligibility date for Afghan 
Humanitarian Parolees is the date of entry into the community, as 
determined by the ORR. 
 (2)(a)  A refugee with an eligibility date on or after October 
1, 2021, is eligible for RRP financial assistance only during the first 
12 months after the eligibility date. 
 (b)  A refugee with an eligibility date before October 1, 
2021, is eligible for RRP financial assistance only during the first 
eight months after the eligibility date. 
 (c)  Notwithstanding Subsections R986-300-306(2)(a) and 
(2)(b), an Afghan Humanitarian Parolee is eligible for RRP financial 
assistance only until March 31, 2023, or until the end of the 
individual's parole term. 
 (3)  Regardless of eligibility date, RRP financial assistance 
cannot be paid for any months before the date of application for 
assistance.[(1)  Except as provided in paragraph (2) below, a refugee 
is eligible for financial assistance only during the first eight months 
after entry into the United States, regardless of when the refugee 
applies for financial assistance.  Financial assistance cannot be paid 
for any months prior to the date of application. 
 (2)  An asylee's entry date is determined to be the date that 
the individual was granted asylum in the United States. 
 (3)  The date of entry for a victim of trafficking is 
established by the certification date.] 
 
KEY:  refugee resettlement program, SNAP 
Date of Last Change:  2022[August 26, 2009] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 31, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-103; 
45 CFR 400.65 through 400.68 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R986-700 Filing ID 
54585 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Employment Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R986-700.  Child Care Assistance 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this change is to update and clarify 
language concerning child care subsidies, to expand 
eligibility for subsidies to family child care providers. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
In Section R986-700-701.1, adds clarifying language to 
the definition of "review or recertification". 
 
In Section R986-700-702, adds language excluding the 
owner of a child care business from receiving child care 
assistance for their own children, and makes other 
nonsubstantive organizational changes. 
 
In Section R986-700-721, adds language clarifying eligible 
providers. 
 
In Section R986-700-723, removes language defining that 
a sponsor of an alien client is an ineligible provider. 
 
In Section R986-700-728, changes overpayment 
reimbursement to allow Department of Workforce Services 
discretion. 
 
In Section R986-700-740, clarifies the definition of a 
license in good standing and denied participation status. 
 
In Section R986-700-741, clarifies that any provider with 
an eligible child care license may apply for a quality rating, 
including Family Friend and Neighbor providers. 

Please note that the Notice of Effective Date of this rule 
change may be filed after the date shown in Box 10.  The 
Notice of Effective Date may be filed at any time between 
06/21/2022 and 09/12/2022. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state revenues or expenditures.  There are no 
additional state employees or resources needed to 
oversee the rule changes.  The changes will not increase 
workload and can be carried out with existing budget.  
Child Care subsidies and grants are provided by federal 
funds. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because the program is federally-funded and does not rely 
on local governments for funding, administration, or 
enforcement. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule amendment is expected to have a fiscal benefit 
for small businesses.  This benefit is reflected in the "Other 
Persons" category. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses as the rule changes only 
affect small-business Family Providers. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency):  
Child care providers who receive "High Quality" or "High 
Quality Plus" ratings are eligible to receive an Enhanced 
Subsidy Grant for each child.  Based on the average 
number of child care providers currently participating and 
receiving subsidies, it is anticipated that with this 
amendment an additional 64 Family, Friend and Neighbor 
Providers will be eligible (56 High Quality and 8 High 
Quality Plus).  The average number of children cared for 
by each provider is 5.14.  Providers with High Quality 
ratings receive $100 per child each month, and those with 
High Quality Plus ratings receive $125 per child each 
month.  This calculates out to be $345,408 for High Quality 
programs, and $61,680 for High Quality Plus programs, for 
a total subsidy increase of $407,088 per fiscal year.  This 
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estimate is based on the number of Child Care providers 
currently participating in the grant program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule amendment is not expected to cause any 
compliance costs for affected persons because the 
changes do not create any new administrative fees. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The funding for child care grants and assistance is 
provided through federal funding.  The rule changes are 
expected to have a fiscal benefit for Family Providers.  
Casey Cameron, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)   Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $407,088 $407,088 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $407,088 $407,088 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $407,088 $407,088 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 35A-3-310 Section 35A-3-203 Section 53F-5-210 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/21/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive Director 

Date: 04/29/2022 

 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-700.  Child Care Assistance. 
R986-700-701.1.  Definitions and Acronyms. 
 (1)  The terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 35A-
3-102 and 35A-3-201. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "ALJ" means Administrative Law Judge. 
 (b)  "Applicant" means a[ny] person requesting CC. 
 (c)  "Approved Provider" means a provider who meets the 
requirements in Section R986-700-726. 
 (d)  "CC" means Child Care assistance or subsidy. 
 (e)  "CCDF" means Child Care and Development Fund. 
 (f)  "Certification period" as it relates to a recipient of CC 
is the period [of time ]for which CC is presumptively approved. 
 (g)  "Client" means an applicant for, or recipient of, CC. 
 (h)  "Child" includes children and vice versa. 
 (i)  "Child Care Provider" or "Provider" means a[ny] 
person, individual or corporation, institution or organization that 
provides child care services. 
 (j)  "Department" means Department of Workforce 
Services. 
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 (k)  "DWS" means Department of Workforce Services. 
 (l)  "Employment" means a job or providing a service that 
pays wages, a salary, in-kind benefits, or self-employment income, 
provided federal or state law does not prohibit the occupation. 
 (m)  "Employment plan" is a written agreement between 
the Department and a client that describes the requirements for 
continued eligibility and the result if an obligation is not fulfilled. 
 (n)  "FEP" means Family Employment Program. 
 (o)  "FEPTP" means Family Employment Program Two 
Parent. 
 (p)  "FFN" means Family, Friend and Neighbor provider. 
 (q)  "Financial assistance" means a payment, other than for 
SNAP, CC, or medical care, to an eligible individual or household 
that is intended to provide for the individual's or household's basic 
needs. 
 (r)  "Household assistance unit" means a group of 
individuals who are living together or who are considered to be living 
together, and for whom assistance is requested or issued. 
 (s)  "IPV" means intentional program violation. 
 (t)  "Licensed-center provider" means a non-hourly, 
licensed child care center that is regulated through CCL. 
 (u)  "Local office" means the Employment Center that 
serves the geographical area in which the client resides. 
 (v)  "Minor child" means a child under the age of 18, or 
under 19 years of age and in school full time and expected to 
complete the educational program before[prior to] turning 19, and 
who has not been emancipated either by a lawful marriage or court 
order. 
 (w)  "OCC" means Department of Workforce Services, 
Office of Child Care. 
 (x)  "ORS" means Office of Recovery Service, Utah State 
Department of Human Services. 
 (y)  "Parent" includes natural, adoptive, and stepparents.  
"Parent" includes "parents" and vice versa. 
 (z)  "Recipient" means an[y] individual receiving CC. 
 (aa)  "Review or recertification" means the process to 
determine continued eligibility.[ Clients who are found eligible for 
CC are given a date for review or recertification at which point 
continuing eligibility is determined.] 
 (bb)  "SSA" means Social Security Administration. 
 (cc)  "SSI" means Supplemental Security Insurance. 
 (dd)  "TCA" means Transitional Cash Assistance. 
 (ee)  "VA" means US Department of Veteran Affairs. 
 
R986-700-702.  General Provisions. 
 (1)  Child Care assistance is provided to support 
employment for a qualified household with at least one minor 
dependent child who is a United States citizen or who meets qualified 
alien status.  Child Care assistance for approved education and 
training activities, job search, or for an approved temporary change 
as defined in Section R986-700-703 may be authorized in accordance 
with this rule. 
 (2)  Child Care assistance is available, as funding permits, 
to a client who is employed or is participating in activities that lead 
to employment, and is: 
 (a)  a parent, including a foster care parent who receives 
foster care reimbursement from the Utah Department of Human 
Services, Division of Family and Child Care Services, or its 
successor; 
 (b)  a specified relative; or 
 (c)  a client who has been awarded custody or appointed 
guardian of the child by court order and both parents are absent from 

the home.  If there is no court order, an exception can be made on a 
case by case basis in unusual circumstances by the Department 
program specialist. 
 (3)  Child [c]Care assistance is provided only for a child 
who lives in the home of the client and only during hours when no 
parent or other guardian is available to provide care for the child.  To 
be eligible, the child must have a need for at least eight hours of child 
care per month as determined by the Department. 
 (4)  If a client is eligible to receive CC, each of the 
following children, living in the household unit, are eligible: 
 (a)  a child under the age of 13 years; and 
 (b)  a child up to the age of 18 years if the child: 
 (i)  meets the requirements of Section R986-700-717; or 
 (ii)  is under court supervision. 
 (5)(a)  A client who qualifies for CC will be paid if and as 
funding is available. 
 (b)  When the child care needs of an eligible applicant 
exceeds available funding, the applicant will be placed on a waiting 
list. 
 (i)  Eligible applicants on the waiting list will be served as 
funding becomes available. 
 (ii)  Special needs children, homeless children, and FEP or 
FEPTP eligible children will be prioritized at the top of the waiting 
list and will be served first. 
 (iii)  "Special needs child" is defined in Section R986-700-
717. 
 (6)  Child Care assistance is issued monthly based on a 
client's eligibility for services in that month.  The amount of CC 
might not cover the entire cost of care. 
 (7)  A client is only eligible for CC if the client has no other 
options available for child care.  The client is encouraged to obtain 
child care at no cost from a parent, sibling, relative, or other suitable 
provider.  If suitable child care is available to the client at no cost 
from another source, CC cannot be provided. 
 (8)(a)  Child Care assistance [can]may only be provided by 
an eligible provider approved by the Department and will not be 
provided for illegal or unsafe child care. 
 (b)  Illegal child care is care provided by a[ny] person or 
facility required to be licensed or certified but where the provider has 
not fulfilled the requirements necessary to obtain the license or 
certification. 
 (9)(a)  Child Care assistance will not be paid for the care of 
a client's own child during the time the client is working as a 
caregiver in the same residential setting where care is being provided. 
 (b)  Child Care assistance will not be approved where the 
client is working for an approved child care center and regularly 
watches the client's own children at the center or has an ownership 
interest in the child care center. 
 (c)  Child Care assistance will not be paid for the care of a 
client's own child if the client is also the licensee or is a stockholder, 
officer, director, partner, manager, or member of a corporation, 
partnership, limited liability partnership or company, or similar legal 
entity providing the child care. 
 (d)(i)  A person who is self-employed as a child care 
provider cannot receive CC for child care provided for that person's 
children during the time the person is working as a child care 
provider, regardless of where the person's child receives child care. 
 (ii)  A person who is self-employed as a child care provider 
may receive CC when needed for approved activities while the 
person is not engaged in child care. 
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 (10)  Neither the Department nor the state is liable for an 
injury that may occur when a child is placed in child care even if the 
parent receives CC from the Department. 
 (11)  Once eligibility for CC has been established, 
eligibility must be reviewed once every 12 months. 
 (a)  Each requested verification must be provided at the 
time of the review. 
 (b)  The review is not complete until the client has 
completed, signed, and returned each necessary review form to the 
local office. 
 (c)  If the Department determines the household's gross 
monthly income exceeds the percentage of the state median income 
as determined by the Department in Subsection R986-700-710(3), 
the Department may terminate CC even if the certification period has 
not expired. 
 
R986-700-721.  Eligible Provider. 
 (1)  A provider may only be eligible if the provider is: 
 (a)  a provider regulated through CCL including a licensed: 
 (i)  home provider; 
 (ii)  child care center, [unless the center is an hourly 
center;]including an out-of-school time program and excluding an 
hourly center; or 
 (iii)  home with a residential certificate; or[.] 
 (b)  a license exempt [provider who]center or school-age 
program which is not required by law to be licensed and is either; 
 (i)  a license exempt center [provider]or school-age 
program as defined in Section R430-8-3, that has[.  A license exempt 
center provider must have] a current letter of exempt status from CCL 
identifying the provider as DWS Approved; or 
 (ii)  a DWS FFN provider as approved by CCL. 
[ (A)  The requirements for FFN approval are provided in 
R986-700-724 and in DWS policy.] 
 
R986-700-723.  Ineligible Provider Setting. 
 (1)  A provider is not eligible to receive a CC payment for 
a particular client if the provider is: 
 (a)  living in the same home as the parent client and 
providing child care in the home where they live, unless the provider 
is caring for a child who has special needs as determined by the 
Department and who cannot be otherwise accommodated; 
 (b)  a sibling of the child living in the home, even for a 
special needs child; 
 (c)  a parent, foster care parent, stepparent or former 
stepparent of the child, even if living in another residence; 
 (d)  providing care for the child in another state;[ 
 (e)  a sponsor of a qualified alien client applying for CC;] 
or 
 [(f)](e)  living in the same home as a non-custodial parent 
and providing child care for a child of that parent. 
 
R986-700-728.  Appropriate use of CC. 
 (1)  Child Care assistance is to support an eligible client's 
monthly employment and any allowed training activity and allows 
for temporary absences and unforeseen circumstances. 
 (2)  A provider must provide at least eight hours of care 
during the initial benefit month for which a CC payment was issued 
to be eligible for CC payment. 
 (a)  A provider has the burden of proof to demonstrate the 
provider provided care to each[any] CC client for which it receives 
CC payment. 

 (b)  Pursuant to Subsection R986-700-727(2), if a provider 
is not able to produce a time and attendance record for a specific CC 
client for a specific month, there is a rebuttable presumption that the 
provider did not provide child care for that CC client during that 
month. 
 (3)  Inappropriate use of a CC payment includes: 
 (a)  applying the CC payment to a: 
 (i)  copayment; 
 (ii)  registration fee; 
 (iii)  late fee; 
 (iv)  field trip; or 
 (v)  client's out of pocket expenses; or 
 (b)  carrying forward the CC payment for future months of 
service. 
 (4)  An excess CC payment cannot be used to cover an 
outstanding balance, a copayment, a registration fee, a late fee, a field 
trip, or future services.  If excess funds are issued for a month of 
service, the excess funds must be returned to the Department.  The 
CC payment for the following month may be reduced to offset the 
over-issuance. 
 (5)  A provider who receives a CC payment when the child 
was not enrolled is responsible for repayment of the resulting 
overpayment under Title 35A, Chapter 3, Part 6, Administrative 
Determination of Overpayment Act, and Sections R986-700-731 and 
R986-700-731.1, and there may be a disqualification period pursuant 
to Sections R986-700-733 and R986-700-734, and potential criminal 
prosecution under Title 76, Chapter 8, Part 12, Public Assistance 
Fraud. 
 (6)  A provider who provides services for any part of a 
month and then terminates services with the client or for a child 
during the month [shall]may be required to reimburse the Department 
for the days when care was not provided. 
 (a)  If it was necessary to remove the child from care 
because the child or others were endangered, and the incident was 
reported to CCL or local authorities, the Department may waive 
repayment. 
 (7)  The Department will issue a IRS Form 1099 annually 
where applicable to each eligible provider who received a CC 
payment during the year. 
 (8)  A provider who applies CC funds inappropriately may 
be subject to an overpayment and possible disqualification pursuant 
to Sections R986-700-731, R986-700-733, and R986-700-734. 
 
R986-700-740.  Child Care Quality System (CCQS) Definitions 
and Acronyms. 
 In addition to the definitions and acronyms found in Title 
35A, Chapter 3, Employment Support Act, Sections R986-100-103, 
R986-100-104, and R986-700-701.1, the following definitions apply 
to CCQS: 
 (1)  "CC subsidy" means a Child Care assistance subsidy 
payment. 
 (2)  "CCL" means Utah Department of Health, Child Care 
Licensing Program. 
 (3)  "Certified quality rating" means the CCQS rating 
determined by applying the CCQS framework and assigned by OCC. 
 (4)  "Certified Quality Rating Review Committee" or 
"Review Committee" means a committee consisting of one 
representative from OCC, one representative from a licensed private 
program; and one expert in the field of early childhood education or 
school-age children, which reviews disputed quality ratings and 
makes recommendations to the Director of Adjudication concerning 
final certified quality rating decisions. 
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 (5)  "Child Care Quality System" or "CCQS" refers to the 
comprehensive statewide system administered by OCC that provides 
quality ratings to eligible programs and supports programs in 
attaining higher levels of quality. 
 (6)  "CCQS status" means the status assigned by OCC to a 
program without a default rating or certified quality rating. 
 (7)  [DWS-eligible]"Eligible program" or "eligible 
provider" means a provider who: 
 (a)  is classified as a CCQS-eligible license type from CCL, 
in accordance with OCC policy; 
 (b)  meets CCDF eligibility requirements; 
 ([b]c)  is compliant with CCL licensing requirements; 
 ([c]d)  has followed the CCL process to indicate the 
program will accept funding from OCC, including funding for 
children covered by CC subsidy; and 
 ([d]e)  can potentially receive CC subsidy and OCC grants, 
including ESG, if approved. 
 (8)  "Enhanced Subsidy Grant" or "ESG" refers to monthly 
payments issued to an eligible program serving children covered by 
CC subsidies and achieving a rating of High Quality or High Quality 
Plus. 
 (9)  "License in good standing" means a program is 
currently licensed by CCL, but not with a conditional license. 
 (10)  "Not participating" is a CCQS [S]status referring to a 
program that: 
 (a)  has [withdrawn from]opted out of participation in the 
CCQS; 
 (b)  [does not hold]is not classified as a [center]CCQS-
eligible license [in good standing]type from CCL, in accordance with 
OCC policy; 
 (c)  is ineligible due to being disqualified by OCC; or 
 (d)  has not applied for a certified quality rating and has not 
elected to become [DWS-]CCQS-eligible. 
 (11)  "Denied participation" is a CCQS status referring to 
an eligible program that is operating on a conditional license from 
CCL. 
 [(11)](12)  "Program" refers to an individual location of a 
child care business. 
 
R986-700-741.  CCQS Rating and Status. 
 (1)  Each [licensed center ]program of an eligible license 
type from CCL shall receive a CCQS rating or status, unless the 
program withdraws from participation following the process 
established by OCC policy. 
 (a)  A licensed center program who chooses not to apply for 
a certified quality rating will receive a default Foundation of Quality 
rating. 
 (b)  [A DWS-Eligible]An eligible child care program 
shall[is required to] participate in CCQS[ to remain an eligible 
provider.  Participation means] by maintaining at least a default 
Foundation of Quality rating. An eligible [provider]program is not 
required to submit an application for a certified quality rating. 
 (c)  [All ]CCQS ratings or statuses shall be made public on 
the Care About Childcare website. 
 (d)  [A DWS-]An eligible child care program which 
withdraws from participation in CCQS will become ineligible to 
receive CC subsidy and CCQS grants or funding. 
 (2)  A program may apply for a certified quality rating in 
accordance with OCC policy through the Care About Childcare 
website. 
 (a)  A rating shall be awarded or a status shall be assigned 
no later than 180 days after the application was submitted. 

 (b)  Certified quality ratings will be published publicly on 
the first day of the month of the certified quality rating period. 
 (3)  A certified quality rating shall remain in place during 
the 12-month certified quality rating period unless a program: 
 (a)  loses its license in good standing and goes on 
conditional license; or 
 (b)  is disqualified from accepting funds from CCDF. 
 (4)  The 12-month certified quality rating period may be 
modified when a program is receiving CCQS technical assistance and 
support from OCC, in accordance with OCC policy. 
 (5)  Recertification.  [Upon expiration of the certified 
quality rating period, a]A program must recertify [in order ]to 
maintain a certified quality rating. 
 (a)  A program must follow the recertification procedures 
established by OCC policy. 
 (b)  A program failing to recertify in a timely manner may 
receive one of the following ratings or statuses until a certified quality 
rating is awarded: 
 (i)  a default Foundation of Quality rating for [a]an eligible 
program[ that is DWS-Eligible]; 
 (ii)  not participating status for a program that is not [DWS-
Eligible]eligible; or 
 (iii)  denied participation status for a program operating on 
a conditional license at the time of recertification. 
 
KEY:  child care, grant programs 
Date of Last Change:  [March 31], 2022 
Notice of Continuation:  August 28, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-203; 
35A-3-310; 53F-5-210 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R990-12 Filing ID 
54555 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Housing and Community Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R990-12.  State Small Business Credit Initiative Program 
Fund 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is no longer necessary as a result of H.B. 17 
passed during the 2022 General Session which moved 
and renumbered provisions related to the State Small 
Business Credit Initiative Program Fund from the 
Department of Workforce Services to the Governor's 
Office of Economic Opportunity.  The Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity will file a new rule under the correct 
title should it determine a rule is required. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 
Please note that the Notice of Effective Date of this rule 
change may be filed after the date shown in Box 10.  The 
Notice of Effective Date may be filed at any time between 
06/21/2022 and 09/12/2022. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures beyond any 
impact addressed in the fiscal note of H.B. 17 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures beyond any 
impact addressed in the fiscal note of H.B. 17 (2022). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
small business revenues or expenditures beyond any 
impact addressed in the fiscal note of H.B. 17 (2022). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
non-small business revenues or expenditures beyond any 
impact addressed in the fiscal note of H.B. 17 (2022). 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
other persons revenues or expenditures beyond any 
impact addressed in the fiscal note of H.B. 17 (2022). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule requires no action or compliance by 
any persons. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule repeal will not result in a fiscal impact beyond 
what was addressed in the fiscal note of H.B. 17 (2022).  
Casey Cameron, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
35A-8-1201 et 
seq. 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

06/14/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive Director 

Date: 04/25/2022 

 
R990.  Workforce Services, Housing and Community 
Development. 
[R990-12.  State Small Business Credit Initiative Program Fund. 
R990-12-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Section 35A-8-1201 et seq., the Housing 
and Community Development Division is the administrator of the 
State Small Business Credit Initiative Program Fund.  The Division 
may provide these services, in whole or in part, under contract as 
determined by competitive bid. 
 (2)  The legal authority for these rules is found in Section 
35A-8-1202. 
 

R990-12-2.  Purpose. 
 The State Small Business Credit Initiative Program Fund 
provides loans and loan guarantees to encourage lending from 
financial institutions to eligible small businesses within the state as 
defined by the funding sources contributing to the Fund. 
 
R990-12-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Annual Receipts" to the fund include grants made by 
the federal government and state legislative appropriations if any, but 
does not include program income. 
 (2)  "Program Income" is defined as fees and interest 
income generated by participation in the program. 
 
R990-12-4.  Credit Advisory Committee. 
 The Division will establish a Credit Advisory Committee.  
Utah financial institutions may submit an application of a small 
business borrower for private funding to the Committee.  The 
Committee will evaluate the application and make recommendations 
to the Division on the size, scope, and loan or loan loss reserve 
participation amount suitable for the applicant.  Additionally, the 
Committee will advise on application processes, underwriting criteria 
and procedure of the Fund to ensure that program objectives are met. 
 
R990-12-5.  Eligibility. 
 (1)  Only those applications for funding assistance which 
are submitted by an eligible applicant for an eligible project shall be 
considered by the Division. 
 (2)  Eligible applicants include Small Businesses (defined 
as having no more than 750 employees), which: 
 (a)  applied for a credit product and were denied by a 
financial institution; and 
 (b)  the financial institution sponsors the application to the 
Fund as described in the Application Procedures; or 
 (c)  directly respond to a specific Request for Applications 
(RFA) published by the Division. 
 
R990-12-6.  Application Requirements. 
 (1)  Applications shall be submitted on forms published, 
and in accordance with the procedures outlined by the Division with 
the advice of the Committee. Completed applications which have 
been accepted for processing will be placed on the next available 
Committee agenda for review and recommendation. 
 (2)  The primary process for submitting an application to 
the fund is as follows: 
 (a)  An Eligible Small Business must apply for a credit 
product at a financial institution which has a signed a State Small 
Business Credit Initiative Program Fund Participation Agreement 
with the Division. 
 (b)  The small business applicant must have been deemed 
ineligible for current banking products offered by the financial 
institution. 
 (c)  The participating financial institution will submit an 
application form, in addition to the relevant documentation and 
underwriting criteria, to the Division and specify the type, amount 
and reason for a loan participation or loan guarantee on the 
transaction. 
 (d)  The Committee at its discretion may interview parties 
involved in the transaction to further clarify any information as part 
of the application review prior to issuing a recommendation to the 
Director. 
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 (3)  An applicant may respond to a specific Request for 
Applications issued by the Division on forms prescribed by the 
Division. 
 
R990-12-7.  Application Review Procedures. 
 (1)  The Committee will review applications and make 
recommendations on whether to fund a loan or loan guarantee at 
regularly scheduled review meetings as published on the Division's 
website. 
 (2)  The process for review of new applications for loans 
and loan guarantees shall be as follows: 
 (a)  Submission of an application, on or before the 
applicable deadline to the Division program staff for technical review 
and analysis. 
 (b)  Incomplete applications will be held by the staff 
pending submission of required information. 
 (c)  Complete applications accepted for processing will be 
placed on the next available review agenda. 
 (d)  At the review the Committee may either recommend: 
 (i)  denial of the application; 
 (ii)  the issuance of the requested loan or loan guarantee 
 (iii)  a modified issuance of a loan or loan guarantee 
 (iv)  further analysis of the viability of the project through 
further collection of documentation prior to issuing a decision on the 
funding request. 
 (e)  Final recommendations of the Committee on issuance 
or denial of applications will be forwarded to the Director. 
 (f)  The Director may issue loans or loan guarantees after 
reviewing the recommendation of the Committee. 

 
R990-12-8.  Loan Loss Reserve Fund. 
 There is created a loan loss reserve fund to be used to 
secure the loan guarantees issued by the Division.  The Division may 
issue guarantees in an amount up to a ten to one ratio of balances 
within the loan loss reserve fund.  Neither the State nor the Division 
are liable for guarantees issued beyond the balance of the reserve 
fund.  Each participating financial institution shall be informed of this 
stipulation via a participation agreement with the Division prior to 
participating in the loan guarantee program. 
 
R990-12-9.  Procedures for Electronic Meetings. 
 (1)  These provisions govern any meeting at which one or 
more members of the Committee or one or more applicants appear 
telephonically or electronically pursuant to Section 52-4-207. 
 (2)  If one or more members of the Committee or one or 
more applicants or sponsors can not attend a regularly scheduled 
Committee meeting in person, that member, applicant or sponsor may 
participate in the meeting electronically or telephonically. 
 
KEY:  small business loans, loan guarantees 
Date of Last Change:  September 12, 2012 
Notice of Continuation:  September 12, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-8-1201 
et seq.] 
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES 

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 
 (a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 (b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
 (c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)). 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the 120-DAY RULE is printed.  New text is underlined (example) and text to 
be deleted is struck out with brackets surrounding the deleted text ([example]).  An emergency rule that is new is 
entirely underlined.  Likewise, an emergency rule that repeals an existing rule shows the text completely struck out.  
A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space. 
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective when filed with the Office of Administrative Rules, or on a later date designated by the 
agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.  Because of its 
temporary nature, a 120-DAY RULE is not codified as part of the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The law does not require a public comment period for 120-DAY RULES.  However, when an agency files a 120-DAY 
RULE, it may file a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements permanent. 
 
Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-304, and Section R15-4-8. 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R986-300-306 Filing ID: 54554 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Employment Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 

R986-300-306.  Time Limits 
 
3.  Effective Date: 
04/25/2022 
 
4.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Changes eligibility time limit for participation in the 
Refugee Cash Assistance Program from 8 to 12 months, 
and makes other changes reflecting current guidance 
adopted by the federal Office of Refugee Resettlement 
(ORR) governing the program. 
 
5.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do?): 
Adopts new time limit for eligibility to receive assistance 
from the Refugee Resettlement Program from 8 to 12 
months.  Retains 8-month eligibility limit for refugees with 
eligibility dates prior to 10/01/2021.  Clarifies language that 
the date of eligibility for assistance is the date of entry into 
the United States, except in certain circumstances.  Adds 
language addressing assistance eligibility of Afghan 
refugees due to changes in federal law and policy. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  A corresponding proposed 
amendment is under ID 54577 in this issue, May 15, 2022, 
of the Bulletin.) 
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6. A)  The agency finds that regular rulemaking would: 
x cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
x cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
 place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
B)  Specific reasons and justifications for this finding: 
On 02/18/2022, the federal ORR issued new guidance 
providing that Afghan humanitarian parolees may be 
eligible to receive assistance, and including definitions and 
time frames for Afghan parolees.  The state is unable to 
provide assistance to Afghan humanitarian parolees 
without this rule change because current state rules deny 
assistance to humanitarian parolees.  This rule change is 
necessary so the state may access federal funding to help 
Afghan refugees, and is tailored to comply with federal 
guidelines. 
 
On 03/28/2022, the federal ORR published new guidance 
allowing states to offer up to twelve months of refugee 
resettlement financial assistance instead of eight months.  
The state will be unable to draw down the additional funds 
without this rule change.  Without this change, individuals 
otherwise eligible for assistance would be denied because 
funds are not available. 
 
This emergency rule amendment is being put in place until 
a final rule can be enacted under the regular rulemaking 
process. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
7.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
This rule amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state revenues or expenditures.  There are no 
additional state employees or resources needed to 
oversee this new language.  This new language will not 
increase workload and can be carried out with existing 
budget.  Any costs will be paid with funds granted to the 
state through the federal ORR. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This rule amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because the program is federally-funded and does not rely 
on local governments for funding, administration, or 
enforcement. 
 

C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule amendment is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit for small businesses because covered individuals 
will be able to receive additional months of benefits, 
thereby increasing the individuals' ability to purchase 
goods and services from small businesses. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
It is anticipated that this rule amendment will allow 
approximately 1,020 covered individuals to be eligible to 
receive financial assistance for additional months, based 
on data obtained on 04/14/2022.  The average financial 
assistance payment is $109 each month per individual, 
and $296 each month per household. 
 
E)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule amendment is not expected to cause any 
compliance costs for affected persons because this new 
language does not create any new administrative fees. 
 
F) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The funding for refugee resettlement financial assistance 
is provided by the federal ORR.  The ORR allows states to 
administer a refugee cash assistance program consistent 
with a state's Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) program.  The Department of Workforce Services 
(DWS) currently administers the Refugee Resettlement 
Program with the goal of helping refugees assimilate and 
achieve self-sufficiency.  By extending the number of 
months covered individuals may receive financial 
assistance, Utah will be able to better achieve this goal 
and continue to support communities and improve the 
lives of individuals.  This rule change is needed to access 
the funding for the Refugee Resettlement Program.  
Casey Cameron, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
8.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 35A-3-103 45 CFR 400.65 

through 400.68 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 04/22/2022 
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R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-300.  Refugee Resettlement Program. 
R986-300-306.  Time Limits. 
 (1)  A refugee's eligibility date for RRP is the date of entry 
into the United States. 
 (a)  An asylee's entry date is determined to be the date that 
the individual was granted asylum in the United States. 
 (b)  The date of entry for a victim of trafficking is 
established by the certification date determined by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Refugee 
Resettlement (ORR). 
 (c)  "Afghan Humanitarian Parolee" means citizens or 
nationals of Afghanistan paroled into the United States between July 
31, 2021 and September 30, 2022, including spouses and children of 
paroled individuals, and parents or guardians of paroled individuals 
who are unaccompanied children.  The eligibility date for Afghan 
Humanitarian Parolees is the date of entry into the community, as 
determined by the ORR. 
 (2)(a)  A refugee with an eligibility date on or after October 
1, 2021, is eligible for RRP financial assistance only during the first 
twelve months after the eligibility date. 
 (b)  A refugee with an eligibility date before October 1, 
2021, is eligible for RRP financial assistance only during the first 
eight months after the eligibility date. 

 (c)  Notwithstanding Subsections R986-300-306(2)(a) and 
(2)(b), an Afghan Humanitarian Parolee is eligible for RRP financial 
assistance only until March 31, 2023, or until the end of the 
individual's parole term. 
 (3)  Regardless of eligibility date, RRP financial assistance 
cannot be paid for any months prior to the date of application for 
assistance.[(1)  Except as provided in paragraph (2) below, a refugee 
is eligible for financial assistance only during the first eight months 
after entry into the United States, regardless of when the refugee 
applies for financial assistance.  Financial assistance cannot be paid 
for any months prior to the date of application. 
 (2)  An asylee's entry date is determined to be the date that 
the individual was granted asylum in the United States. 
 (3)  The date of entry for a victim of trafficking is 
established by the certification date.] 
 
KEY:  refugee resettlement program, SNAP 
Date of Last Change:  April 25, 2022 
Notice of Continuation:  August 31, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-103; 
45 CFR 400.65 through 400.68 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of 120-Day (Emergency) Rules Section 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R131-3 Filing ID: 53560 

Effective Date: 04/20/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Capitol Preservation Board 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 120 
Building: State Capitol 
Street address: 350 N. State Street, 120 State Capitol 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Mailing address: PO Box 142110 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2110 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dana Jones 801-

538-
3074 

danajones@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R131-3.  Use of Magnetometers on Capitol Hill 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Subsection 63C-9-301(3)(a) states that the board shall 
make rules to govern, administer, and regulate the capitol 
hill complex, capitol hill facilities, and capitol hill grounds 
by following the procedures and requirements of Title 63G, 
Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule provides for the use of magnetometers at the 
Capitol Hill Complex for security purposes. 
 
This rule recognizes four potential security levels at the 
Capitol Hill Complex and set forth the duties and 
obligations of Capitol Hill Security and the Capitol 
Preservation Board during each security level. 
 
This rule was substantively amended by the Capitol 
Preservation Board, effective 08/04/2021 to ensure 
security of the Capitol Hill Complex in response to recent 
threats to the Capitol Hill Complex. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Dana Jones, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 04/20/2022 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R164-26 Filing ID: 50343 

Effective Date: 04/18/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Securities 
Building: Heber M. Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2316 

Mailing address: PO Box 146760 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6760 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Charles Lyons 801-

530-
6600 

clyons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R164-26.  Consent to Service of Process 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Sections 61-1-24 and 61-1-26.  
Subsection 61-1-24(a)(1)(a) authorizes the Division of 
Securities (Division) to make, amend, or rescind a rule 
when necessary to carry out the chapter.  Subsection 61-
1-26(7) requires applications for registration to include an 
irrevocable consent to service of process and authorizes 
the Division to prescribe by rule the form of that consent. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule sets forth the requirements for the consent to 
service of process form required to be filed with the 
Division.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jason Sterzer, 
Division Director 

Date: 04/18/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R251-401 Filing ID: 50355 

Effective Date: 04/28/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Corrections 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 14717 S. Minuteman Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Draper, UT 84020 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Matt Anderson 801-

545-
5589 

mattanderson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R251-401.  Supervision Fees 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Sections 63G-3-201, 64-13-10, 
and 64-13-21.  The purpose of this rule is to define the Utah 
Department of Corrections' (UDC) policy regarding 
offenders' monthly supervision fees including criteria for the 
suspension or waiver of fees and the circumstances under 
which an offender may request a hearing. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received, supporting or opposing 
this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The statutes are still required.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brian Nielson, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 04/28/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R317-3 Filing ID: 50777 

Effective Date: 04/26/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Water Quality 
Room no.: Third Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 

(MASOB) 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144870 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Judy Etherington 801-

536-
4344 

jetherington@utah.gov 

Ken Hoffman 801-
536-
4313 

kenhoffman@utah.gov 

Harry Campbell 385-
501-
9583 

hcampbell@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R317-3.  Design Requirements for Wastewater Collection, 
Treatment and Disposal Systems 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 19, Chapter 5, Water Quality Act, authorizes the 
Water Quality Board to generate rules such as Rule R317-
3.  Section 19-5-106 authorizes the director to develop 
programs for the prevention, control, and abatement of 
new or existing pollution of the waters of the state; to 
review plans, specifications, or other data relative to 
pollution control systems or any part of the systems 

provided for in this chapter; to issue construction or 
operating permits for the installation or modification of 
treatment works or any parts of the treatment works; and 
to meet the requirements of federal law related to water 
pollution. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received from interested 
persons since the last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule creates a general treatment standard for 
domestic wastewater treatment systems and design 
guidelines for collection systems to help meet the 
requirements of the Water Quality Act to protect the public 
health and the environment.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

John K. Mackey, 
Interim Director 

Date: 04/26/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-238 Filing ID: 53285 

Effective Date: 05/02/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-238.  Captive Insurance Companies 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, the 
Insurance Code.  Section 31A-37-106 authorizes the 
insurance commissioner to write rules to determine 
circumstances under which a branch captive insurance 
company is not required to be a pure captive insurance 
company; require a statement, document, or information 
to be provided to the commissioner to obtain a certificate 
of authority; determine evidence a captive insurance 
company shall provide under Subsection 31A-37-
201(4)(b); prescribe one or more capital requirements for 
a captive, in addition to those required in Section 31A-37-
204; waive or modify a public notice and hearing 
requirement for certain types of captive insurance 
company; approve reliable methods of valuation and 
rating; prohibit or limit an investment that threatens the 
solvency or liquidity of a pure captive insurance company 
or an industrial captive insurance company; determine the 
financial reports a sponsored captive insurance company 
shall file annually; prescribe required forms and reports; 
establish one or more standards regarding risk 
management functions; and establish requirements for 
obtaining, maintaining, and renewing a certificate of 
dormancy. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule sets forth the financial, reporting, record-keeping, 
and other requirements necessary for the regulation of 
captive insurance companies as required under Title 31A, 
Chapter 37, Captive Insurance Companies Act.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/02/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R698-9 Filing ID: 51866 

Effective Date: 04/19/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Calvin Rampton Complex 
Street address: 4501 S. 2700 W. 1st Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84119-5994 

Mailing address: PO Box 141775 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1775 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R698-9.  Utah Law Enforcement Memorial Support 
Restricted Account 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 53-1-120, which requires 
the commissioner of the Department of Public Safety to 
make rules providing procedures for an organization to 
apply to receive funds from the Utah Law Enforcement 
Memorial Support Restricted Account. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have not been any comments received during or 
since the last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under Section 53-1-120, and is 
necessary to establish procedures for an organization to 
apply to receive funds from the Utah Law Enforcement 
Memorial Support Restricted Account.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jess L. Anderson, 
Commissioner 

Date: 04/19/2022 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R710-1 Filing ID: 51904 

Effective Date: 04/19/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Fire Marshal 
Street address: 410 W 9800 S, Suite 372 
City, state and 
zip: 

Sandy, UT 84070 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Ted Black 801-
256-
2380 

tblack@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R710-1.  Concerns Servicing Portable Fire Extinguishers 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 53-7-204.  Subsection 
53-7-204(1)(b)(i) requires the Utah Fire Prevention Board 
(Board) to make rules establishing standards for the 
prevention of fire and for the protection of life and property 
against fire and panic.  In addition, Subsection 53-7-
204(1)(k) states that the Board shall "regulate the sale and 
servicing of portable fire extinguishers and automatic fire 
suppression systems in the interest of safeguarding lives 
and property."  The purpose of this rule is to establish 
licensing requirements for business concerns servicing 
portable fire extinguishers, to establish the requirements 
for certificates of registration of persons servicing portable 
fire extinguishers, to establish service tag requirements, 
and to outline requirements for adjudicative proceedings. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have not been any comments received during or 
since the last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule is required under Section 53-7-204, and is 
necessary to establish requirements under Subsection 53-
7-204(1)(k) to regulate the sale and servicing of portable 
fire extinguishers and automatic fire suppression systems 
in the interest of safeguarding lives and property.  This rule 
establishes licensing requirements for business concerns 
servicing portable fire extinguishers, requirements for 
certificates of registration of persons servicing portable fire 
extinguishers, service tag requirements, and requirements 
for adjudicative proceedings.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Ted Black, State 
Fire Marshal 

Date: 04/19/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R710-2 Filing ID: 51900 

Effective Date: 04/19/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Fire Marshal 
Street address: 410 W 9800 S, Suite 372 
City, state and 
zip: 

Sandy, UT 84070 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Ted Black 801-
256-
2380 

tblack@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R710-2.  Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fireworks Act 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 53-7-204.  Subsection 
53-7-204(1)(b)(ii) requires the Utah Fire Prevention Board 
to make rules establishing safety and other requirements 
for placement and discharge of display fireworks on the 
basis of the state fire code and relevant publications of the 
National Fire Protection Association. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have not been any comments received during or 
since the last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under Section 53-7-204, and is 
necessary to establish minimum safety standards for retail 
indoor or outdoor storage, handling, and sale of class C 
common state approved explosives; and requirements for 
licensing of importers, wholesalers, display operators, 
special effects operators, flame effects operators, and 
flame effect performing artists.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Ted Black, State 
Fire Marshal 

Date: 04/19/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R710-3 Filing ID: 51897 

Effective Date: 04/19/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Fire Marshal 
Street address: 410 W 9800 S, Suite 372 
City, state and 
zip: 

Sandy, UT 84070 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Ted Black 801-
256-
2380 

tblack@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R710-3.  Assisted Living Facilities 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 53-7-204.  Subsection 
53-7-204(1)(b)(i)(B) requires the Utah Fire Prevention 
Board to make rules to establish standards for the 
prevention of fire and for the protection of life and property 
against fire and panic in an 
assisted living facility. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have not been any comments received during or 
since the last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under Section 53-7-204.  The purpose 
of this rule is to establish the minimum standards for 
prevention of fire and for the protection of life and property 
against fire and panic in assisted living facilities.  This rule 
establishes the criteria used by the state and local fire 
departments in the inspection of these facilities.  These 
inspections ensure the safety of the occupants from the 
threat of fire.  Many of the individuals in these facilities 
have a diminished capacity for self preservation.  This rule 
sets a standard to protect them.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Ted Black, State 
Fire Marshal 

Date: 04/19/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R710-4 Filing ID: 51899 

Effective Date: 04/19/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Fire Marshal 
Street address: 410 W 9800 S, Suite 372 
City, state and 
zip: 

Sandy, UT 84070 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 
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Ted Black 801-
256-
2380 

tblack@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R710-4.  Buildings Under the Jurisdiction of the State Fire 
Prevention Board 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 53-7-204.  Subsection 
53-7-204(1)(b)(i) requires the Utah Fire Prevention Board 
to establish standards for the prevention of fire and for the 
protection of life and property against fire and panic in any 
publicly owned building, including all public and private 
schools, colleges, and university buildings; building or 
structure used or intended for use as an asylum, a mental 
hospital, a hospital, a sanitarium, a home for the elderly, 
an assisted living facility, a children's home or day care 
center, or any building or structure used for a similar 
purpose; or place of assemblage where 50 or more 
persons may gather together in a building, structure, tent, 
or room for the purpose of amusement, entertainment, 
instruction, or education. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have not been any comments received during or 
since the last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under Section 53-7-204, and is 
necessary to establish standards for fire safety equipment 
in buildings under the State Fire Prevention Board as listed 
in Subsection 53-7-204(2)(b)(i).  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Ted Black, State 
Fire Marshal 

Date: 04/19/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R710-7 Filing ID: 51905 

Effective Date: 04/19/2022 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Fire Marshal 
Street address: 410 W 9800 S, Suite 372 
City, state and 
zip: 

Sandy, UT 84070 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Ted Black 801-
256-
2380 

tblack@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R710-7.  Concerns Servicing Automatic Fire Suppression 
Systems 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Sections 53-7-204 and 53-7-216.  
Section 53-7-204 requires the Utah Fire Prevention Board 
to make rules to establish standards for the prevention of 
fire and for the protection of life and property against fire 
and panic.  Section 53-7-216 requires the Utah Fire 
Prevention Board to prescribe by rule an application form 
and standards for licensure or certification qualification, 
renewal, and revocation, for those who service portable 
fire extinguishers or fire suppression systems that 
discharge, or automatically detect and discharge, an 
approved fire extinguishing agent onto or in the area of a 
fire. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have not been any comments received during or 
since the last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under Sections 53-7-204 and 53-7-
216.  This rule is necessary to establish licensing 
requirements for the companies and persons that install 
and service fire suppression systems, requirements for the 
servicing and maintenance of fire suppression systems, 
and requirements for service tags and labels for fire 
suppression systems.  This rule applies to systems 
regulated by the state adopted editions of National Fire 
Protection Association (NFPA), Standard 12, Standard on 
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Carbon Dioxide Extinguishing Systems; NFPA, Standard 
12A,Halon 1301 Fire Extinguishing Systems, 2009 edition; 
NFPA, Standard 12B, Halon 1211 Fire Extinguishing 
Systems, 1990 edition; NFPA, Standard 17, Standard for 
Dry Chemical Extinguishing Systems; NFPA, Standard 
17A, Standard for Wet Chemical Extinguishing Systems; 
NFPA, Standard 96, Ventilation Control and Fire Protection 
of Commercial Cooking Operations; NFPA, Standard 
2001, Clean Agent Fire Extinguishing Systems.  These 
standards are not adopted elsewhere in statute or rule.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Ted Black, State 
Fire Marshal 

Date: 04/19/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R710-9 Filing ID: 51906 

Effective Date: 04/19/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Fire Marshal 
Street address: 410 W 9800 S, Suite 372 
City, state and 
zip: 

Sandy, UT 84070 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Ted Black 801-
256-
2380 

tblack@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R710-9.  Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire Prevention and 
Safety Act 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 53-7-204, which requires 
the Utah Fire Prevention Board (Board) make rules to 
establish standards for the prevention of fire and or the 
protection of life and property against fire and panic in 
buildings specified under Subsection 53-7-204(1)(b).  This 

rule establishes conduct of the Board and establishes the 
means where by the Board may amend the fire code.  This 
rule also establishes the Fire Advisory and Code Analysis 
Committee, the Budget Subcommittee, and the Amendment 
Subcommittee.  Section 53-7-503 authorizes the Utah Fire 
Prevention Board to adopt rules to identify lighters or 
classes of types of lighters that are novelty lighters, and to 
provide for informal adjudicative hearings for appeals of 
decisions regarding novelty lighters.  Subsection 53-7-
203(10) requires the Fire Marshal Division (Division) to 
implement rules made by the Board under Section 53-7-
503.  Section 53-7-109 requires the Division to make rules 
providing procedures for an organization to apply to the 
Division to receive a distribution from the Firefighter 
Support Restricted Account.  Title 53, Chapter 7, Part 1, 
State Fire Marshal Division Administration, allows for 
special deputy fire marshals to be appointed by the state 
fire marshal.  This rule outlines the process by which 
deputy fire marshals are appointed.  This rule will be 
updated to include the above referenced statutory 
authorizations following the five-year review. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have not been any comments received during or 
since the last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under Sections 53-7-204, 53-7-503, 
and 53-7-109.  This rule is necessary to provide minimum 
standards for safeguarding life and property from the 
hazards of fire and explosion, for Board meeting conduct, 
for deputizing Special Deputy State Fire Marshals, for 
procedures to amend incorporated references, for 
establishing Board subcommittees, for enforcement of the 
rules of the State Fire Marshal, for requirements for the 
firefighter support restricted account, for regulation of 
novelty lighters, for procedures for the issuance of blasting 
permits, and for amendments and additions.  This rule also 
clarifies that the Board shall act as the hearing authority in 
the event that a decision made by the State Fire Marshal's 
Office is appealed.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Ted Black, State 
Fire Marshal 

Date: 04/19/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R746-313 Filing ID: 51956 

Effective Date: 04/25/2022 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Hammer 801-

530-
6729 

michaelhammer@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R746-313.  Electrical Service Reliability 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Utah law charges the Public Service Commission (PSC) 
with ensuring electric public utilities provide safe, 
adequate, and reliable electric service, including crafting 
and implementing regulations to those ends.  Section 54-
4-7 (providing the PSC "shall prescribe rules and 
regulations for the performance of any service or the 
furnishing of any commodity of the character furnished or 
supplied by any public utility" and public utilities "shall 
furnish such commodity or render such service … [as] 
provided in such rules"); see also Section 54-3-1 (charging 
the PSC with ensuring utilities provide service that "will be 
in all respects adequate"); and Section 54-4-2.  This rule 
establishes requirements for electric utilities to monitor 
and report on electric service reliability, according to widely 
accepted industry standards, to fulfill these provisions of 
the Utah Code. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received since the last five-year 
review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The rule is necessary per Sections 54-3-1, 54-4-2, and 54-
4-7 and to ensure Utah customers enjoy reliable, adequate 
electric utility service.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC 
Chair 

Date: 04/25/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R746-400 Filing ID: 51977 

Effective Date: 04/25/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Yvonne Hogle 801-

530-
6709 

yhogle@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R746-400.  Public Utility Reports 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Rule 746-400 is enacted under Sections 54-2-1, 54-3-21, 
54-5-2, 54-8b-2, and 63G-2-101.  Under Section 54-3-21, 
the Public Service Commission (Commission) is tasked 
with regulating utilities and must be able to access 
information related to the public utilities' business as is 
recorded in the submitted reports.  Specifically, the reports 
will assist the Commission in its decisions as it regulates 
and supervises the public utilities.  In addition, having the 
information from the reports is crucial for the proper 
regulation of these public utilities because the public 
utilities' business affects their ability to provide just and 
reasonable services to Utah customers.  Section 54-2-1 
requires this rule because it defines "Reporting Entity" and 
a telecommunications corporation is a reporting entity (and 
is referenced as such in this rule), subject to the 
requirement as a reporting entity to submit the referenced 
reports to the Commission.  Section 54-8b-2 requires this 
rule because the statute contains several definitions that 
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reference and contain information that is necessary for 
telecommunications corporations to report to the 
Commission.  Section 54-5-2 references "Gross operating 
expenses" and how they are to be determined by the 
executive director of the Department of Commerce.  The 
executive director must determine these expenses using 
the reports that are required by the Commission under 
Rule R746-400.  Section 63G-2-101 requires the 
disclosure of public information which is filed with the 
Commission.  Since the Commission requires reporting 
entities to file the reports, this rule is needed to provide a 
means by which any information that reporting entities 
deem as confidential is protected from disclosure, 
specifically referencing the Government Records and 
Management Act. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received since the last five-year 
review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The reasons as to the requirement for this rule are 
provided in Box 3 above and they still exist today.  
Therefore, the rule is still needed.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC 
Chair 

Date: 04/25/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin.  Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R907-80 Filing ID: 53088 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-

580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 

R907-80.  Disposition of Surplus Land 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the Rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this Rule: 
Sections 72-5-111, 72-5-117, 72-5-404, 78B-6-520.3, and 
78B-6-521 authorize the Department to make this rule.  
This rule provides legal authority and procedures the 
Department of Transportation (Department) follows to sell 
its surplus real property.  The Department uses proceeds 
from the sale of surplus property to fund new highway 
projects. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this Rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this Rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
during and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
Rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees 
with comments in opposition to this Rule, if any: 
This rule provides legal authority and procedures the 
Department follows to sell its surplus real property.  The 
Department uses proceeds from the sale of surplus 
property to fund new highway projects.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Carlos M. 
Braceras, PE,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 04/21/2022 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R930-9 Filing ID: 52149 

Effective Date: 04/25/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Preconstruction 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-

580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R930-9.  Detection and Elimination of Unauthorized 
Discharges into Drainage Systems, Enforcement of Water 
Laws, Sanctions for Violation, and Permitting 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Sections 72-7-102 and 72-7-104 authorize the Department 
of Transportation (Department) to detect, investigate, 
eliminate, and enforce against any non-stormwater 
discharge, including illegal dumping, to its drainage 
systems, and within its right-of-way.  Section 72-1-201 
grants the Department authority to make rules for the 
administration of the Department, state transportation 
systems, and programs such as the Utah Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System to keep its Municipal 
Separate Storm Sewer System Permit. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
during and since it made this rule five years ago from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Department must regulate non-stormwater discharge, 
including illegal dumping, to its drainage systems, and 
within its right-of-way to keep its Municipal Separate Storm 
Sewer System Permit.  This administrative rule is the 
mechanism the Department has to regulate this unlawful 
activity.  Therefore, this rule must be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Carlos M. 
Braceras, PE,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 4/25/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R994-404 Filing ID: 54375 

Effective Date: 05/02/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Unemployment Insurance 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R994-404.  Payments Following Workers' Compensation 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 35A-4-502 authorizes the Department of 
Workforce Services (Department) to make rules 
necessary for the administration of the Unemployment 
Security Act.  Section 35A-4-404 authorizes the 
Department to adjust the base period of a claimant for 
unemployment benefits if the claimant received workers' 
compensation or occupational disease compensation. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during the last 
five years or since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule provides claimants for unemployment benefits 
and Department personnel with information to determine 
how a claimant's receipt of workers' compensation or 
occupational disease compensation affects the claim for 
unemployment benefits and sets forth procedures for 
processing the claim.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 05/02/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R994-406 Filing ID: 54439 

Effective Date: 05/02/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Unemployment Insurance 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R994-406.  Fraud, Fault, and Nonfault Overpayments 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 35A-4-502 authorizes the Department of 
Workforce Services (Department) to make rules 
necessary for the administration of the Unemployment 
Security Act.  Section 35A-4-406 identifies the types of 
overpayments to be assessed against claimants for 
unemployment benefits who receive benefits to which they 
are not entitled and how each type of overpayment will be 
collected. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during the last 
five years or since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule provides claimants for unemployment benefits 
and Department personnel with information to determine 
the applicable overpayment and how overpayments and 
other penalties are established, collected, and enforced.  
The rule also sets forth procedures for establishing, 
collecting, and enforcing overpayments and other 
penalties.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 05/02/2022 

 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Education 
Administration 
No.  54420  (Amendment)  R277-406:  Early Learning 
Program and Benchmark Assessments 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54421  (Amendment)  R277-489:  Kindergarten Entry 
and Exit Assessment - Enhanced Kindergarten Program 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54422  (Amendment)  R277-622:  School-based Mental 
Health Qualifying Grant Program 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54423  (Amendment)  R277-726:  Statewide Online 
Education Program 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54424  (Amendment)  R277-733:  Adult Education 
Programs 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54425  (Amendment)  R277-916:  College and Career 
Awareness 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
 
Environmental Quality 
Waste Management and Radiation Control, Radiation 
No.  54370  (Amendment)  R313-28-140:  Qualifications of 
Mammography Imaging Medical Physicst 
Published:  03/01/2022 
Effective:  04/18/2022 
 

Health 
Administration 
No.  54390  (Amendment)  R380-406:  Medical Cannabis 
Pharmacy 
Published:  03/15/2022 
Effective:  05/04/2022 
 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
No.  54388  (Amendment)  R414-312:  Adult Expansion 
Medicaid 
Published:  03/15/2022 
Effective:  04/29/2022 
 
Family Health and Preparedness, Primary Care and Rural 
Health 
No.  54219  (Amendment)  R434-30:  Primary Care Grant 
Program 
Published:  01/15/2022 
Effective:  04/22/2022 
 
No.  54219  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R434-30:  Primary 
Care Grant Program 
Published:  03/15/2022 
Effective:  04/22/2022 
 
Cultural and Community Engagement 
History 
No.  54376  (Amendment)  R455-12:  Computerized Record 
of Cemeteries, Burial Locations and Plots, and Granting 
Matching Funds 
Published:  03/01/2022 
Effective:  04/21/2022 
 
 
Labor Commission 
Occupational Safety and Health 
No.  54392  (Amendment)  R614-1-4:  Incorporation of 
Federal Standards 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/09/2022 
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Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  54339  (Amendment)  R657-10:  Taking Cougar 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  05/02/2022 
 
No.  54339  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R657-10:  Taking 
Cougar 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/02/2022 
 
No.  54396  (Amendment)  R657-13-9:  Underwater 
Spearfishing 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/09/2022 
 
No.  54397  (Amendment)  R657-26-5:  Hearings 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/09/2022 

 
No.  54340  (Amendment)  R657-33:  Taking Bear 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  05/02/2022 
 
No.  54340  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R657-33:  Taking 
Bear 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/02/2022 
 
 
Workforce Services 
Administration 
No.  54389  (Repeal)  R982-301:  Councils 
Published:  03/15/2022 
Effective:  04/21/2022 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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