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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between May 03, 2022, 12:00 a.m., and May 16, 
2022, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the June 01, 2022, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least July 01, 2022.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last day 
the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through September 29, 2022, the agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days 
after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R58-7 Filing ID 
54641 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Animal Industry 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB, South Bldg, 

Floor 2 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Leann Hunting  801-
982-
2242 

leannhunting@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson  801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R58-7.  Livestock Markets, Satellite Video Livestock Auction 
Market, Livestock Sales, Dealers, and Livestock Market 
Weighpersons 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Sections R58-7-4 and R58-7-5 need to be updated to allow 
for a change in fees if they are approved by the legislature, 
to make this rule more consistent with the requirements of 
the Utah Rulewriting Manual, and to require livestock 
markets to negotiate and pay for the cost of veterinarians. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Section R58-7-4 has been changed to remove the $10 
licensing fee for a temporary livestock sale in favor of 
language allowing a fee to be assessed that has been 
approved by the legislature in the fee schedule.  A similar 
change has been added with respect to the Livestock 
Dealer Fee in Section R58-7-5.  Section R58-7-3 has been 
changed to require livestock markets to designate isolation 

pens to quarantine animals, keep records on each bought 
animal, provide sale day schedules to the department, and 
test and vaccinate cattle for brucellosis.  Changes have 
been made to require that livestock markets are 
responsible for negotiating and paying veterinarians rather 
than fees being set by and passing through the 
Department of Agriculture and Food (Department).  
Additional changes have been made to make this rule text 
more consistent with the requirements of the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change will allow for a change to the temporary 
livestock sale license fee, which could result in an impact 
to the state; however, it is impossible to estimate the 
impact of the change at this time since the Brand Board 
and legislature will have discretion in setting the fee going 
forward.  The change to require livestock markets to 
negotiate and pay veterinarians will not impact the state 
because the Department has previously passed through 
those funds. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change should not impact local governments 
because they do not purchase temporary livestock sales 
licenses from the Department. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change will allow for a change to the temporary 
livestock sale license fee, which could result in an impact 
to small businesses; however, it is impossible to estimate 
the impact of the change at this time since the Brand Board 
and legislature will have discretion in setting the fee going 
forward.  Additionally, the cost of paying a veterinarian 
could impact livestock markets, however, the amount of 
impact will be dependent on the rate that the market 
negotiates with the veterinarians and is impossible for the 
Department to determine at this time. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change will allow for a change to the temporary 
livestock sale license fee, which could result in an impact 
to the state; however, it is impossible to estimate the 
impact of the change at this time since the Brand Board 
and legislature will have discretion in setting the fee going 
forward.  Additionally, the cost of paying a veterinarian 
could impact livestock markets, however, the amount of 
impact will be dependent on the rate that the market 
negotiates with the veterinarians and is impossible for the 
Department to determine at this time. 
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E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change will allow for a change in the temporary 
livestock sale license fee, which could result in an impact 
to the other persons; however, it is impossible to estimate 
the impact of the change at this time since the Brand Board 
and legislature will have discretion in setting the fee going 
forward.  Additionally, the cost of paying a veterinarian 
could impact livestock markets, however, the amount of 
impact will be dependent on the rate that the market 
negotiates with the veterinarians and is impossible for the 
Department to determine at this time. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The compliance costs for affected persons could change 
due to potential changes in the cost of a temporary 
livestock sales license; however, it is impossible to 
estimate the impact at this time since the fee will no longer 
be set in rule. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule could have a potential fiscal impact on 
businesses, however, the fee change will be approved by 
the legislature and Brand Board.  Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-30-104    

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 05/20/2022 

 
R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
R58-7.  Livestock Markets, Satellite Video Livestock Auction 
Market, Livestock Sales, Dealers, and Livestock Market 
Weighpersons. 
R58-7-1.  Authority. 
 [A.](1)  Promulgated under authority of Section 4-30-104 
and Section 4-2-103. 
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 [B.](2)  It is the intent of these rules to provide uniformity 
and fairness in the marketing of livestock within the state, whether 
sold through regularly established livestock markets or other types of 
sales. 
 
R58-7-2.  Definitions. 
 [A.](1)  "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the 
Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 [B.](3)  "Livestock" means cattle, domestic elk, swine, 
equines, sheep, goats, camelids, ratites, and bison. 
 (4)  "Livestock dealer" means a person engaged in the 
business of purchasing livestock for immediate resale or interstate 
shipment for immediate resale. 
 (5)  "Livestock market" means a public market place 
consisting of pens or other enclosures where each class of livestock 
or poultry are received on consignment and kept for subsequent sale, 
either through public auction or private sale. 
 [C.](6)  "Representative" means a dealer licensed in Utah 
under Section 4-7-107 who is a resident of this state, or who is a 
representative of, or who in any capacity conducts business with a 
livestock auction market licensed under Section 4-30-105, 
[which]that does business with an in state or out of state satellite 
video livestock auction market. 
 [D.](7)  "Satellite video livestock auction market" means a 
place or establishment or business conducted or operated for 
compensation or profit as a public market where livestock or other 
agricultural related products located in this state are sold or offered 
for sale at a facility within or outside the state through the use of an 
electronically televised or recorded media presentation, which is, or 
can be exhibited at a public auction. 
[ E.  "Livestock market" means a public market place 
consisting of pens or other enclosures where all classes of livestock 
or poultry are received on consignment and kept for subsequent sale, 
either through public auction or private sale. 
 F.  "Livestock dealer" means a person engaged in the 
business of purchasing livestock for immediate resale or interstate 
shipment for immediate resale.] 
 
R58-7-3.  Livestock Markets. 
 [A.](1)  Standards for Approved and Non-approved 
Markets.  The operator of a livestock market shall maintain the 
following standards [in order ]to [obtain]get, [retain]keep, or renew 
a livestock market license: 
 [1.](a)  [F]follow procedures outlined in [Section 4-30-
105]Title 4, Chapter 30, Livestock Markets, and [all]any state and 
federal laws [and regulations ]pertaining to livestock health and 
movement[.]; 
[ 2.  Conduct all sales in compliance with the provisions of 
Utah laws and rules pertaining to livestock health and movement. 
 3.  Furnish the Department with a schedule of sale days, 
which have been previously approved by the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Food, giving the beginning hour. 
 4.  Maintain records of animals in the market in accordance 
with United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant 
Health Inspection Service, Veterinary Services, Brucellosis 
Eradication Uniform Methods and Rules, Ch. 1, Part II, 1, G, 2 to 4.  
Records must be retained for 2 years.] 
 (b)  keep records on any animals purchased sufficient to 
enable the department to satisfactorily trace those animals to their 
herd of origin and destination. 

 (i)  Livestock markets shall maintain the identity of 
ownership of each animal as set forth in Section 4-24-402, and this 
rule. 
 (ii)  Records shall be kept for at least two years; 
 [5.  Maintain the identity of ownership of all animals as set 
forth in Section 4-24-402, and these rules.  All test eligible females 
and breeding bulls two years of age and over shall be backtagged for 
individual identification as outlined in 9 CFR 71.18 71.19 and 9 CFR 
79, January 1, 2001, edition.](c)  identify each animal as required in 
9 CFR 71.18, 9 CFR 71.19, and 9 CFR 79.  [The t]Tags are not to be 
removed in trading channels[.]; 
 [6.](d)  [P]permit authorized state or federal inspectors to 
review [all phases]each phase of the livestock market operations 
including[, but not limited, to] records of origin and destination of 
livestock handled by the livestock market[.]; 
 [7.](e)  [P]provide adequate space for pens, alleyways, 
chutes, and sales ring; cover sales ring with a leak-proof roof[.]; 
 [8.](f)  [Have floors in all]construct each pen[s], 
alleyway[s], chute[s], and sales ring [constructed in such a manner as 
]to be safe, easily cleaned, and properly drained in [all types]any type 
of weather;[ and ] 
 (g)  [to be easily maintained ]maintain the facility in a clean 
and sanitary [condition.]manner; and 
[ 9.  Maintain all alleyways, pens, chutes, and sales rings in 
a clean, safe, and sanitary manner. 
 10.  Furnish and maintain one or more chutes, in addition 
to the loading chute, at a convenient and usable place in a covered 
area, suitable for restraining, inspecting, examining, testing, tagging, 
branding and other treatments and procedures ordinarily required in 
providing livestock sanitary or health service at markets in a safe 
manner.  Furnish personnel as required to assist Department or 
federal inspectors.] 
 [11.](h)  [P]provide specially designated isolation pens [or 
a provision for yarding for diseased animals infected with or exposed 
to brucellosis, tuberculosis, scabies, anaplasmosis, vesicular disease, 
pseudorabies, hog cholera, sheep foot rot, or other]to quarantine 
animals suspected of having a contagious disease.[ or infectious 
disease.] 
[ 12.  Provide adequate facilities and service at a reasonable 
cost for cleaning and disinfecting cars, trucks and other vehicles 
which have been used to transport diseased animals as directed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Food or its authorized representative. 
 13.  Do not release any diseased animal or animal exposed 
to any contagious, infectious or communicable disease from a 
livestock market until it has been approved for movement by the 
Department or its authorized representative. 
 14.  Do not release any livestock from the market which 
have not complied with Utah laws and rules.] 
 (2)  Livestock sold through livestock markets shall comply 
with Utah law and rules including Rule R58-3 Brucellosis 
Vaccination Requirements, Rule R58-21 Trichomoniasis, Rule R58-
22 Equine Infectious Anemia, and Section R58-2-3 Reportable and 
Quarantinable Animal Diseases. 
 (a)  Auction owners or veterinarians shall report any 
suspected cases of diseases from the Utah List of Reportable 
Conditions for Animals to the State Veterinarian. 
 (b)  These animals shall not be released until approved for 
movement by the department or its authorized representative. 
 (c)  The List of Reportable Conditions is available from the 
State Veterinarian's office or the department website. 
 [B.](3)  Additional Standards for Approved Markets. 
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[ 1.  Weigh each reactor individually and record reactor tag 
number, tattoo or other identifying marks on a separate weigh ticket, 
and record sales price per pound and net return after deducting 
expenses for required handling of such reactor.  Restrict sale of all 
reactors to a slaughtering establishment where federal or state 
inspection is maintained. 
 2.  Reimburse the Department monthly an amount equal to 
expenses incurred in providing a veterinarian at the livestock 
market.] 
 (a)  Approved livestock markets shall: 
 (i)  provide the department with a schedule of sale days that 
have been previously approved by the commissioner, giving the 
beginning hour; 
 (ii)  provide and maintain one or more chutes, in addition 
to the loading chute, at a convenient and usable place in a covered 
area, suitable for restraining, inspecting, examining, testing, tagging, 
branding, and other treatments and procedures ordinarily required in 
providing livestock sanitary or health service at markets in a safe 
manner; 
 (iii)  provide personnel as required to assist department or 
federal inspectors; 
 [3.](iv)  [P]provide specially designated isolation pens [or 
a provision for yarding for]to quarantine animals suspected of 
contagious disease and animals classified as reactors, exposed, 
suspects, "V" branded, or "S" branded[.]; 
[ 4.  Provide suitable laboratory space at the market as agreed 
between the market and the livestock market veterinarian for the 
conducting of brucellosis and other necessary tests.] 
 (v)  limit the sale of restricted animals to a slaughtering 
establishment where federal or state inspection is maintained or a 
qualified feedlot approved by the department; and 
 (vi)  arrange with an accredited veterinarian to provide 
services to ensure compliance with state and federal laws for 
intrastate and interstate movement. 
 (b)  Brucellosis testing and vaccination of female cattle not 
sold for slaughter. 
 (i)  Unvaccinated female cattle from four to 12 months of 
age shall be vaccinated prior to leaving the auction. 
 (ii)  Unvaccinated female cattle over 12 months of age not 
going to slaughter shall be tested for brucellosis and vaccinated if not 
pregnant prior to leaving the auction. 
 (iii)  Unvaccinated pregnant cattle shall be tested for 
brucellosis prior to leaving the auction.  Each buyer shall vaccinate 
the cattle within 30 days after calving. 
 (iv)  Testing and vaccination results shall be reported to the 
department. 
[ C.  Veterinary Medical Services.  These services, fees, and 
collection procedures will be outlined and negotiated between the 
Department of Agriculture and Food, Livestock Auctions, and 
Veterinarians in contract agreements signed by each party.  Any 
procedures, payments fees and collection methods done outside the 
contract terms will be worked out between the livestock market and 
the veterinarian.] 
 [D.](4)  Denial, Suspension, or Cancellation of 
Registration.  The [D]department may, after due notice and 
opportunity for a hearing to the livestock market involved, deny an 
application for registration, or suspend or cancel the registration 
when the [D]department is satisfied that the market has: 
 [1.](a)  violated state [statutes]law or rules governing the 
interstate or intrastate movement, shipment or transportation of 
livestock; 

 [2.](b)  made false or misleading statements in their 
application for licensing, or false or misleading statements as to the 
health or physical conditions of livestock regarding official test 
results or status of the herd of origin; 
 [3.](c)  knowingly sold [for dairy or breeding purposes 
cattle]animals [which]that [were affected with]exhibit signs of a 
communicable disease for purposes other than slaughter; 
 [4.](d)  demonstrated their inability or unwillingness to 
carry out the record keeping requirements contained in this rule; 
 [5.](e)  failed to comply with any law or rule pertaining to 
livestock health or movement; 
 [6.](f)  failed to maintain market facilities in a safe, clean 
and sanitary manner; or 
 [7.](g)  operated as a livestock market without proper 
licensing. 
[ E.  Relating to temporary livestock market: 
 Temporary Livestock Market Licensees shall not be 
required to abide by the provisions in R58-7-3A (1,4,5,7-14), R58-7-
3B (1-4), and R58-7-3C.] 
 
R58-7-4.  Temporary Livestock Sale License. 
 [A.](1)  A temporary livestock sales license shall be 
required for each sale where: 
 [1.](a)  [L]livestock is offered for public bidding and sold 
on a yardage, commission, or percentage basis[.]; 
 [2.](b)  [S]sales are conducted by or for a person [at 
which]when livestock owned by [such]the person are sold on 
[his]their own premises[, see] pursuant to Sections R58-7-3 and R58-
7-4[4.]; 
 [3.](c)  [S]sales are conducted for [the purpose of 
]liquidation of livestock by a farmer, dairyman, livestock breeder, or 
feeder[.]; 
 [4.](d)  [S]sales are conducted by non-profit breed or 
livestock associations or clubs: 
 [a.](i)  It is not the intent of this rule to require a bond from 
non-profit breed or livestock associations or clubs, or from 
liquidation sales if they conduct sales themselves and do not assume 
any financial responsibility between the seller and the buyer[.];[  
However, if such] 
 (ii)  if sales are conducted by outside or professional 
management, a license and either a bond, trust fund agreement, or 
letter of credit [will]shall be required[.]; and 
 [5.](e)  [O]other sales [may be]as approved by the 
[Department of Agriculture and Food]department. 
 [B.](2)  A temporary license shall not be required for: 
 [1.](a)  [S]sales conducted by Future Farmers of America 
or 4H Club groups[.]; or 
 [2.](b)  [S]sales conducted in conjunction with state, 
county, or private fairs. 
 [C.](3)  The [D]department shall be notified [10]ten days 
[prior to]before [all such sales]any sales that do not require a 
temporary license. 
 [D.](4)  A temporary livestock sales license shall be issued 
when the [D]department finds: 
 [1.](a)  [T]that an application [as ]approved by the 
[D]department has been received, along with the payment of a 
[$10.00 license fee]licensing fee included in the fee schedule 
approved by the legislature pursuant to Section 63J-1-504[.]; and 
 [2.](b)  [T]that the applicant has filed with the 
[D]department, where applicable, a bond as required by the 
[D]department or in accordance with the Packers and Stockyards Act, 
7 U.S.C. 181 et seq., except that a letter of credit or a trust fund 
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agreement[, as] approved by the [D]department, may replace the 
bonding requirements. 
 
R58-7-5.  Dealers. 
 [A.](1)  Dealer Licensing and Bonding.  [: 
 ]No person shall operate as a livestock dealer in the state 
without a license and bond [in accordance with]pursuant to Title 4, 
Chapter 7, Livestock Dealers' Act. 
 [1.](a)  Upon receipt of a proper application and payment 
of [a]the license fee included in the fee schedule approved by the 
legislature pursuant Section 63J-1-504,[ in the amount of $25.00] and 
meeting current bonding requirements, the [D]department [will]shall 
issue a license allowing the applicant to operate as a livestock dealer 
through December 31 of each year. 
 [2.](b)  The [D]department, after due notice and 
opportunity for hearing to the dealer involved, may deny an 
application for license, suspend, or cancel the license when the 
[D]department is satisfied that the applicant or dealer has: 
 [a.](i)  violated state [statutes]law or rules governing the 
interstate or intrastate movement, shipment, or transportation of 
livestock; 
 [b.](ii)  made false or misleading statements in their 
application for licensing, or false or misleading statements as to the 
health or physical conditions of livestock regarding official test 
results or status of the herd of origin; 
 [c.](iii)  knowingly sold for dairy or breeding purposes 
cattle [which]that were affected with a communicable disease; 
 [d.](iv)  demonstrated their inability or unwillingness to 
carry out the record keeping requirements contained in this rule; 
 [e.](v)  failed to comply with any law or rule pertaining to 
livestock health or movement or; 
 [f.](vi)  operated as a dealer without meeting proper 
licensing and bonding requirements. 
 [B.](2)  Record Keeping. 
 [1.](a)  [All livestock dealers must]Each livestock dealer 
shall keep adequate records to allow accurate trace back of [all 
]livestock to the prior owner under Section 4-7-109. 
 [2.](b)  Dealers shall permit the [D]department or its 
authorized representative to review [all phases]each phase of the 
livestock dealer operations including[, but not limited to,] records of 
origin and destination of livestock handled by the livestock dealer. 
 [3.](c)  Dealers shall retain [above ]records for [a period of 
]two years. 
 
R58-7-6.  Responsibilities of a Bonded and Licensed 
Weighperson. 
 [A.](1)  Weighperson operator to be competent, licensed, 
and bonded. 
 [1.](a)  Stockyard owner, market agencies, and dealers shall 
employ only competent, licensed, and bonded persons of good 
character and known integrity to operate scales for weighing 
livestock [for the purpose of purchase or sale]to purchase or sell.  Any 
person found to be operating scales incorrectly, carelessly, in 
violation of instructions, or in [such]a manner as to favor or injure 
any party or agency through incorrect weighing or incorrect weight 
recording shall be removed from [his ]weighing duties. 
 [2.](b)  The primary responsibility of a weigher is to 
determine and accurately record the weight of a livestock draft 
without prejudice or favor to any person or agency and without regard 
for livestock ownership, price condition, fill, shrink, or other 
considerations.  A weigher shall not permit the representations or 

attitudes of any persons or agencies to influence [his]their judgment 
or action in performing [his]their duties. 
 [3.](c)  Unused scale tickets, or those [which]that are 
partially executed but without a printed weight value, shall not be left 
exposed or accessible to unauthorized personnel.  [All such t]Tickets 
shall be kept under lock when the weigher is not at [his]their duty 
station. 
 [4.](d)  Accurate weighing and correct weight recording 
require that a weigher shall not permit the operations to be hurried to 
the extent that inaccurate weights or incorrect weight records may 
result. 
 (i)  Each draft of livestock [must]shall be weighed 
accurately to the nearest minimum weight value that can be indicated 
or recorded. 
 (ii)  Manual operations connected with balancing, 
weighing, and recording shall be performed with the care necessary 
to prevent damage to the accurately machined and adjusted part of 
weigh-beams, poses, and printing devices. 
 [5.](e)  Livestock owners, buyers, or others having 
legitimate interest in a livestock draft [must]shall be permitted to 
observe the balancing, weighing, and recording procedures, and a 
weigher shall not deny them that right or withhold from them any 
information pertaining to the weight of that draft.  [He]They shall 
check the zero balance of the scale or reweigh a draft of livestock 
when requested by [such]the parties. 
 [B.](2)  Balancing the empty scale. 
 [1.](a)  The empty scale shall be balanced each day before 
weighing begins, and maintained in correct balance while weighing 
operations continue. 
 (i)  The zero balance shall be verified at intervals of not 
more than 15 drafts or 15 minutes, whichever is completed first. 
 (ii)  [In addition, t]The zero balance of the scale shall be 
verified when[ever] a weigher resumes weighing duties after an 
absence from the scale and also when[ever] a load exceeding half the 
scale capacity or 10,000 pounds, whichever is less, has been weighed 
and is followed by a load of less than 1,000 pounds, verification to 
occur before the weighing of the load of less than 1,000 pounds. 
 [2.](b)  The time at which the empty scale is balanced or its 
zero balance verified shall be recorded on scale tickets or other 
permanent records.  Balance tickets [must]shall be filed with other 
scale tickets issued on that date. 
 [3.](c)  Before balancing the empty scale, the weigher shall 
[assure himself]verify that the scale gates are closed and that no 
persons or animals are on the scale platform or in contact with the 
stock rack, gates, or platform. 
 (i)  If the scale is balanced with persons on the scale 
platform, the zero balance shall be verified when[ever] there is a 
change in [such ]persons. 
 (ii)  When the scale is properly balanced and ready for 
weighing, the weigher shall [so indicate]show by an appropriate 
signal. 
 [C.](3)  Weighing the load. 
 [1.](a)  Before weighing a draft of livestock, the weigher 
shall [assure himself]verify that the entire draft is on the scale 
platform with the gates closed and that no persons or animals off the 
scale are in contact with the platform, gates, or stock rack. 
 [D.](4)  Sale of livestock by weight. 
 [All l]Livestock sold by weight through a satellite video 
auction market [must]shall be sold based on the weight of the 
livestock on the day of delivery.  [All l]Livestock sold by weight 
[must]shall be weighed on scales that have been tested and inspected 
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by the [Department]Division of Weights and Measures in the manner 
prescribed by law. 
 
R58-7-7.  Satellite Video Livestock Auction Market. 
 [1.](1)  Before entering into business as or with a satellite 
video livestock auction market, and annually, on or before January 1, 
each market or representative shall file an application for a license to 
transact business as or with a satellite video livestock auction market 
with the [commissioner]department on a form prescribed by the 
[commissioner]department.  The application [must]shall show: 
 [a.](a)  the nature of the business for which a license is 
desired; 
 [b.](b)  the name of the representative applying for the 
license; 
 [c.](c)  the name and address of the proposed satellite video 
auction or the name and address of the satellite video auction the 
representative proposes to transact business with; and 
 [d.](d)  other information the [commissioner]department 
may require as listed in Section 4-7-106. 
 [2.](2)  The application for a license or for a renewal for a 
license [must]shall be accompanied by: 
 [a.](a)  a license fee set in accordance with Section 4-30-
105, determined by the department pursuant to Subsection 4-2-
103(2)[.]; 
 [b.](b)  evidence of proper security bonding as required in 
Subsection 4-30-105(3) for the satellite video auction and Section 4-
7-107 for the representative[.]; 
 [c.](c)  a schedule of fees and commissions that will be 
charged to owners, sellers, or their agents; and 
 [d.](d)  other information the [commissioner]department 
may require as listed in Section 4-7-106. 
 [3.](3)  Each satellite video auction [will]shall be 
considered [as ]a temporary livestock sale unless licensed under this 
chapter as a satellite video auction market.  Sales operated by a 
representative [will]shall be required to [make application]apply as 
designated in Section R58-7-4. 
 [4.](4)  A copy of each [and any ]contract between the 
representative and the satellite video auction market with which the 
representative proposes to transact business or a contract with the 
proposed satellite video auction market [must]shall be supplied to the 
department. 
 (5)  The contract [must]shall include a provision 
authorizing the [commissioner or the commissioners 
designee]department to have access to the books, papers, accounts, 
financial records held by financial institutions, accountants or other 
sources; and other documents relating to the activities of the satellite 
video livestock market and requiring the satellite video auction 
market to make [such ]documents reasonably available upon the 
request of the [commissioner or the commissioners 
designee]department. 
 (a)  If the contract between a representative and the satellite 
video auction market is terminated, rescinded, breached, or 
materially altered, the representative and the satellite video auction 
market shall immediately notify the [commissioner]department. 
 (b)  Failure to notify will be deemed failure to keep and 
maintain suitable records and be [deemed to ]be a false entry or 
statement of fact in application filed with the department, pursuant to 
Section 4-7-201. 
 

R58-7-8.  Livestock Market Committee. 
 [A.](1)  Hearing on License Application; Notice of 
Hearing. 
 [1.](a)  Upon filing of an application as a satellite video 
auction livestock market, the chair[man] of the [Department of 
Agriculture and Food's]department's Livestock Market Committee 
shall set a time and place for a hearing to review the application and 
determine whether a license will be issued. 
 [2.](b)  Upon filing of an application as a representative of 
a satellite video auction market, the chair[man] of the [Department 
of Agriculture and Food's]department's Livestock Market Committee 
may elect to hold a hearing to review the application and determine 
whether a license will be issued. 
 [B.](2)  Guidelines delineated for decision on application 
shall be in accordance with Section 4-30-107 and shall apply to the 
livestock auction market and the satellite video livestock auction 
market. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-4.  Standardization, Marketing, and Phytosanitary 
Inspection of Fresh Fruits, Vegetables, and Other Plant 
and Plant Products 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The changes are needed to reflect the renumbering of 
Section 4-2-103, and to make this text consistent with Utah 
Rulewriting Manual requirements. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The language has been updated from the renumbering of 
Section 4-2-103.  Additional changes have been made to 
make this text consistent with the Utah Rulewriting Manual 
requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The changes are clarifying only and will not impact the 
operation of the program and therefore, will not have a 
fiscal impact on the state. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments do not administer the program and are 
not regulated under the program and will not be impacted. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to small businesses 
because the changes are clarifying existing practice and 
the operation of the program will not change. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to non-small businesses 
because the changes are clarifying existing practice and 
the operation of the program will not change. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There should be no fiscal impact to other persons because 
the changes are clarifying existing practice and the 
operation of the program will not change. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There should be no change in compliance costs for 
affected persons because compliance requirements are 
not changing. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses.  Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-2-103(1) 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

7 CFR Part 51 - Fresh Fruits, 
Vegetables, and Other Products,  
(Inspection, Certification, and  
Standards) 

Publisher Government Publishing Office 

Date Issued 03/01/2021 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 03/18/2022 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-4.  Standardization, Marketing, and Phytosanitary 
Inspection of Fresh Fruits, Vegetables, and Other Plant and Plant 
Products. 
R68-4-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under authority of Subsection [4-2-2 and 
4-2-2(1)(h)]4-2-103(1). 
 (2)  This rule establishes standards and grades for 
agricultural products and sets fees for services performed by the 
department in conjunction with the inspection and grading of 
agricultural products. 
 

R68-4-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Container" means any commercial type of package, 
open or closed, including a barrel, box, basket, carton, crate, lug, 
sack, or any other receptacle. 
 (2)  "Clean container" means those containers that are free 
from dirt, filth, or product residues and are found acceptable to the 
department.  These containers shall be of good substantial 
construction and in good condition. 
 (3)  "Closed container" means any container that is covered 
by any material in the form of a lid, cover, or wrapping of any kind. 
 (4)  "Deceptive pack" means any container of fruits or 
vegetables that has in the outer layer or any exposed surface, fruits, 
or vegetables that are so superior in quality, size, or condition to those 
in the interior of the container, or the unexposed portion, as to 
noticeably misrepresent the entire contents; provided that facing that 
is not in violation is not regarded as deceptive. 
 (5)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (6)  "Phytosanitary" means sanitary plant health inspection. 
 (7)  "Standards" means the requirements of the federal 
government, and those of the importing counties of this state or of 
another state. 
 
R68-4-[2]3.  Standards and Grades. 
 [The Commissioner of Agriculture and Food has adopted 
the standards and grades established by the Food Safety and Quality 
Service, United States Department of Agriculture, for fresh fruits and 
vegetables.  In the case of apricots for processing, no federal 
standards have been established, therefore, Utah standards have been 
developed for that commodity.  Phytosanitary inspection shall be in 
accordance with federal standards as well as those of the importing 
country or state.  All other grading of fresh fruit and vegetables in 
Utah shall be according to official federal grade standards.](1)  The 
standards and grades for fresh fruits and vegetables shall be in 
accordance with those stated in 7 CFR 51. 
[ (A)  Containers. 
 (1)  The term "container" is defined as any commercial type 
of package, open or closed, such as barrel, box, basket, carton, crate, 
lug, sack, or any other receptacle. 
 (2)  "Clean containers" are defined as those containers 
which are free from dirt, filth, or product residues and are found 
acceptable to the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.  Such 
containers shall be of good substantial construction and be in good 
condition. 
 (3)  "Closed container" means any container which is 
covered by any material in the form of a lid, cover, or wrapping of 
any kind.] 
 [(B)](2)  Packaging and Labeling. 
 [(1)](a)  [All]Each lot[s] of fresh fruits and vegetables 
packed for sale, offered for sale, transported for sale, or sold in Utah, 
shall be packaged in clean containers, either open or closed. 
 [(2)](b)  [All]Each closed container[s are] is to be of good 
substantial construction, good commercial type and marked to 
comply [in every way with all marketing requirements of the State of 
Utah]with Section 4-5-201, and are [in no way]not to conflict with 
requirements of [the U.S. Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act]21 USC 9, 
the U.S. Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act. 
 [(3)](c)  The name and address of the grower, packer, or 
shipper shall be plainly labeled on [all]each closed container[s] of 
fresh fruits and vegetables offered for sale.[  It shall be unlawful to 
offer produce for sale in closed containers which are labeled with the 
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brand of another grower, packer or shipper, without permission from 
such grower, packer, or shipper.] 
 (i)  [Such c]Closed containers shall[ also] be plainly 
marked on the outside with the name of the product and with terms 
of either net weight, numerical count, or minimum diameter. 
 (ii)  Minimum height of numbers and letters for [all]any 
labeling on packages of ten pounds or more shall be 3/8["] inches. 
 [(4)](d)  The [above ]labeling requirements in Subsection 
R68-4-2(2)(c) shall not apply to fresh fruits and vegetables to be used 
for processing purposes or for repackaging. 
 [(5)](e)  [In addition to the above requirements, b]Bags of 
certified seed potatoes [must]shall be officially sealed and tagged 
with the seal and tag of the certifying agency at point of origin. 
 [(C)](3)  Deceptive Pack. 
 [(1)](a)  It [shall be]is unlawful to offer for sale in Utah a 
deceptive pack of fruits or vegetables or to mislabel any package of 
fruits or vegetables packed for sale or offered for sale. 
 [(2)](b)  ["Deceptive Pack" shall mean any container of 
fruits or vegetables which has in the outer layer or any exposed 
surface, fruits or vegetables which are so superior in quality, size or 
condition to those in the interior of the container, or the unexposed 
portion, as to noticeably misrepresent the entire contents; provided 
that facing which is not in violation of the foregoing is not regarded 
as deceptive.  Such]A pack is considered deceptive if the outer or 
exposed surface is composed of products whose size is not an 
accurate representation of the variation of size of the products in the 
entire container. 
 [(D)](4)  Grade Designation. 
 (a)  [All]Each fresh fruit[s] and vegetable[s] offered for sale 
in Utah in closed or open containers of any kind, or on display tables, 
or shelves, where a federal or state grade is designated on the 
container or on a sign accompanying produce on display, must 
conform to the grade so designated.  If a lot of fruit or vegetables 
does not meet the [above ]requirements, sale of [such]the lot shall be 
stopped until the lot is brought into compliance. 
 
R68-4-[3]4.  Prohibited Sale. 
 (1)  It [shall be]is unlawful to sell or offer for sale in Utah 
any fruits or vegetables in bulk or in containers [which]that contain 
more than [ten percent]10% by count or weight of plant pest injury 
or serious defects of a progressive nature [which]that has penetrated 
or damaged the edible portions, including not more than [five 
percent]5% of fruit with worm holes. 
 (2)  It is unlawful to offer produce for sale in closed 
containers that are labeled with the brand of another grower, packer, 
or shipper, without permission from the grower, packer, or shipper. 
 
R68-4-[4]5.  Authority to Issue Certificates. 
 (1)  No person, firm, corporation, or association is 
permitted to issue, classify, or sign certificates covering the grade of 
farm products when [such]the farm products have been officially 
standardized, except as provided by law and only by a person 
properly qualified, licensed, and designated [as a state agricultural 
inspector ]by the [Utah Department of Agriculture and 
Food]department and approved and licensed by the [  federal 
supervisor]U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) - Agricultural 
Marketing Service -Specialty Crops Inspection Division. 
 
R68-4-[5]6.  Duty of Inspector. 
 (1)  When an agricultural inspector finds any lot of fruits or 
vegetables being offered for sale which fails to meet the requirements 
of [the regulations herein]this rule, [it shall be his duty to]the 

inspector shall serve notice on the owner or person, who has 
[possession thereof]the lot of fruits or vegetables, that[ the provisions 
of these regulations ] these rules have been violated and that the 
produce in question cannot be marketed or sold unless officially 
released by [said]the inspector. 
 
R68-4-[6]7.  Inspection Notes and Certificates. 
 [(A)](1)  Only financially-interested persons are entitled to 
information from [the]an inspector[s']'s notes unless the applicant 
directs the inspector to give this information to prospective buyers.  
This information can only be obtained by others [only by]through a 
court order[ through subpoena]. 
 [(B)](2)  [All]Each certificate[s] issued by authorized 
agents of the [U.S. Department of Agriculture]USDA [(]Federal-
State Inspection Service[)] shall be received in [all]any federal 
court[s] as prima facie evidence of the truth contained [therein]in the 
certificate. 
 [(C)](3)  General quantitative terms may be used on the 
inspection notes and certificates if the inspector cannot get an 
accurate average. 
 [(1)](a)  [Averages cannot always be accurately obtained.  
In such cases the following general terms may be used with the 
meanings given.]Acceptable terms: 
 [(a)](i)  "[F]few" means [10 percent]10% or less[.]; 
 [(b)](ii)  "[S]some" means 11 to 25[ percent.]%; 
 [(c)](iii)  "[M]many" means 26 to 45[ percent.]%; 
 [(d)](iv)  "[A]approx. half" means 46 to 54[ percent.]%; 
 [(e)](v)  "[M]most-[M]mostly" means 55 to 89[ 
percent.]%; 
 [(f)](vi)  "[G]generally" means 90[ percent]% or more[ (see 
paragraph 447).]; 
 [(g)](vii)  "[P]practically all" means 95[ percent]% or 
more[.]; and 
 [(h)](viii)  "[O]occasionally" means 5[ percent]% or less[ 
(Used only in reference to container; see Paragraph 446)], used only 
in reference to containers. 
 
[R68-4-7.  Utah Standards for Apricots for Canning or Freezing 
(There are no Federal Standards for processing apricots). 
 (A)  Utah No. 1 shall consist of apricots which are well 
formed, firm ripe, (but not hard or overripe), well colored, free from 
decay, mold, worms and worm holes and from damage caused by dirt, 
growth crack, limb rubs, sun cracks, scald, hail, bird pecks, scale, 
disease, insects, mechanical factors, or by other means (See 
minimum size). 
 (B)  Utah No. 2 shall consist of apricots which are ripe (but 
not overripe and soft, or hard or shriveled), fairly well colored, not 
badly misshapen, free from decay, mold, worms, worm holes and 
from serious damage by any cause. 
 (C)  Culls shall mean apricots which do not meet the 
requirements of Utah No. 2 or are affected by blight, scale, scale 
insects, larvae, or other worm damage, serious bruises and decay. 
 (D)  Minimum size refers to the greatest diameter, 
measured through the center of the apricot at right angles to a line 
running from the stem to the blossom ends.  Minimum sizes for Utah 
No. 1 and Utah No. 2 grades may be fixed by agreement between 
buyer and seller. 
 (E)  Definitions of terms used in these grades: 
 (1)  "Ripe" shall mean the state of maturity wherein the 
apricots are ready for immediate processing or consumption. 
 (2)  "Firm" shall mean that the apricots are fairly solid and 
yield slightly to moderate pressure. 
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 (3)  "Well colored" shall mean that the apricots show at 
least 90 percent good over-all deep yellow or orange color 
characteristic of ripe fruit. 
 (4)  "Fairly well colored" shall mean that the apricots show 
at least two-thirds of the over-all surface with a good shade of orange 
or deep yellow color characteristic of ripening apricots. 
 (5)  "Well formed" shall mean the shape characteristic of 
the variety and shall not be extremely flat or otherwise misshapen. 
 (6)  "Damage" shall mean any injuries or defects which 
materially affect the appearance or the processing quality of the 
apricots or cause waste of more than five percent (by weight) of the 
flesh in excess of that which occurs if the apricots were not defective, 
or cause waste to the extent that the fruit, after trimming, will not 
yield two reasonably well shaped halves. 
 (7)  "Serious damage" shall mean any injuries or defects 
which seriously affect the appearance or processing quality or cause 
a waste of more than ten percent (by weight) of the flesh in excess of 
that which would occur if the apricots were not defective. 
 (F)  Tolerances. 
 (1)  It is contemplated, in the application of above given 
standards, that in most instances sellers will not sort their apricots 
into separate lots of Utah No. 1 and Utah No. 2 grades before delivery 
to the buyer, and that the buyer will pay on the basis of the percentage 
of each grade in the sellers' lot as described by inspection.  In such 
cases, no tolerance is needed.  Should the contract between buyer and 
seller call for delivery of lots containing only Utah No. 1 and Utah 
No. 2, then, unless otherwise specified, a ten percent tolerance shall 
be allowed for apricots which fail to meet requirements of the grade 
on which the contract is based, with an additional ten percent 
tolerance allowed for apricots which fail to meet the minimum size 
specified in the contract.  Lots of apricots which contain in excess of 
five percent wormy fruit must be reconditioned by the grower to be 
acceptable for processing purposes. 
] 
R68-4-8.  Certification and Grade Standards for Seed Potatoes. 
 [(A)](1)  Requirements and standards for the certification 
and grading of seed potatoes are established and regulated by the 
Utah Crop Improvement Association, Utah Agricultural Experiment 
Station, Logan, Utah, 84322-4820. 
 [(B)](2)  Copies of seed certification requirements and 
standards can be obtained from the Utah Crop Improvement 
Association, Logan, Utah. 
 
R68-4-9.  Controlled Atmosphere (CA) Apples. 
 [(A)](1)  Licensing. 
 [(1)](a)  Any person, corporation, partnership, association, 
or other organized group or person who owns or operates a controlled 
atmosphere room or storage building shall apply for a license with 
the [Commissioner of Agriculture and Food]department on a form 
prescribed by the [Commissioner]department.  The licensing period 
shall [commence]begin on January 1 and end on December 31 of 
each year. 
 [(2)](b)  The application for an annual registration to 
engage in the business of operating a controlled atmosphere storage 
warehouse or warehouses shall be accompanied by an annual license 
fee determined by the department pursuant to Subsection [4-2-2(2)]4-
2-103(2). 
 [(3)](c)  The [Commissioner]department shall assign each 
approved applicant a registration number preceded by the letters CA.  
This number shall be marked on [all]each container[s] coming under[ 
the provisions of] these [regulations]rules. 
 [(B)](2)  Atmospheric Specifications. 

 [(1)](a)  Apples shall not be identified as being from CA 
storage unless the [following ]requirements in Subsections R68-4-
10(2)(a)(i) through (v) have been met as [evidenced]shown by 
inspection and certification by the [Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Food]department. 
 [(a)](i)  The percentage of oxygen within the storage 
atmosphere shall be reduced to [five percent]5% within 20 days after 
the date of sealing. 
 [(b)](ii)  The period of storage in a sealed room with not 
more than [five percent]5% oxygen shall be [a minimum of]at least 
45 days for Gala and Jonagold varieties and [a minimum period of]at 
least 90 days for [all]any other varieties.  The maximum period of 
storage in a sealed room with not more than [five percent]5% oxygen 
shall be ten months, but in no case later than September 1 of the year 
following harvest. 
 [(c)](iii)  The fruit temperature in the CA storage room shall 
be maintained without significant deviation in a range of temperature 
normal for the variety. 
 [(d)](iv)  A representative of the [Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food]department shall be notified [prior to]before 
opening of the CA facility [following]after the storage period, and 
[he]the department representative shall inspect the general condition 
of the facility and contents within 48 hours [following]after the 
opening. 
 [(e)](v)  CA Certified Apples [must]shall enter commercial 
channels of trade within four weeks after storage is opened.  
Minimum condition and maturity standards shall be the U.S. 
Condition Standards for Export pursuant to 7 CFR 51. 
 [(C)](3)  Storage Records. 
 [(1)](a)  Each owner or operator shall maintain a record for 
each room on an approved form[ or forms].  The record shall include 
owner or operator's name and address, room number, date of sealing, 
date of opening, capacity in bushels, lot identification, number of 
bushels within each lot, and the daily air constituents determination 
including date of test, time of test, percentage of oxygen, percentage 
of carbon dioxide, temperature, and comments. 
 [(2)](b)  Each owner or operator shall submit to the [Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food]department within 20 days after 
date of sealing, a [report in writing]written report, for each room 
showing room number, date of sealing, and number of bushels 
contained[ therein]. 
 [(D)](4)  Marketing CA Apples. 
 [(1)](a)  Any person selling, offering for sale or 
transporting for sale any apples [coming ]under[ the provision of] 
these [regulations]rules shall furnish an invoice covering the sale of 
[such]the apples. 
 (i)  Each invoice shall [indicate]state the CA registration 
number assigned to the owner or owners of the controlled atmosphere 
room or storage building in which each included lot [or lots ]of apples 
[included thereon were]was kept. 
 (ii)  Enforcement officials may investigate and examine 
records and invoices relating to any transactions in connection 
[herewith]with these rules [in order ]to determine the identity of 
apples represented as meeting requirements for [such ]identification. 
 [(2)](b)  It [shall be]is unlawful for any person to sell, hold 
for sale, or transport for sale any apples represented as having been 
exposed to "controlled atmosphere storage" or to use any [such ]term 
or form of words or symbols of similar import unless [such]the apples 
have been stored in [controlled atmosphere]CA storage [which]that 
meets the requirements of [the regulations adopted herein]Section 
R68-4-9. 
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R68-4-10.  Standards for Utah Premium Grade for Apples. 
 (1)  Utah Premium [a]Apples shall consist of Utah grown 
apples which meet or exceed [all]each minimum standard[s] as issued 
by the "United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) U.S. Extra 
Fancy Grade,"[,] including the requirements and tolerances as 
defined in the "United States Standards for Grades of Apples 
effective September 1, 1964, as amended and in effect July 25, 1972, 
as issued by USDA."[.]  Each apple of this grade shall have the 
amount of color specified in the USDA Standards for US Extra Fancy 
given for a specific variety except solid red apples shall have a 
minimum 85[ percent]% good red color. 
 (2)  The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food shall 
conduct condition and grade inspections to assure the grade and 
quality of [all]any Utah Premium Apples.  Fees for quality assurance 
inspections will be pursuant to Subsection 4-2-102(2). 
 
R68-4-11.  Phytosanitary Inspection. 
 (1)  Phytosanitary inspections shall be in accordance with 
federal standards in 7 CFR 353 as well as those of the importing 
country or state. 
 (2)  [A ]Phytosanitary [I]inspection [must]shall be 
performed by [the Commissioner of Agriculture and Food or ]a 
designated employee[s] of the [D]department, on plants or plant 
products [and may include:]including nursery plants or bulbs, seeds, 
grains, fruits, vegetables, and other plant materials [for the purpose 
of]meant for export or sale within the state. 
[ (A)  Definitions. 
 (1)  Phytosanitary shall mean sanitary plant health 
inspection. 
 (2)  Standards shall mean the requirements of the federal 
government, and those of the importing counties of this state or of 
another state. 
 (3)  Information shall mean the information contained on 
the phytosanitary certificate that represents the plant material listed.] 
 [(B)](3)  Shipping Information [such as]including names 
and descriptions of plant materials, origin of plant material, intended 
destination, means of transportation, intended date for shipment and 
name and address of consignee [must]shall be provided by the 
exporting shipper to the [D]department when [calling for 
an]requesting the issuance of a certificate. 
 
R68-4-12.  Charges for Inspection Services. 
 [(A)](1)  Inspection fees [will]shall be determined pursuant 
to Subsection [4-2-2(2)]4-2-103(2). 
 (2)  [Such f]Fees shall be paid by the person, firm, 
corporation, or other organization who requested inspection, upon 
receipt of a billing statement [for same ]from the [Utah Department 
of Agriculture and Food]department. 
 (3)  [In all cases, p]Payment of [such charges]fees shall be 
made to the [Utah Department of Agriculture and Food]department 
within [thirty]30 days of the date of billing. 
 (4)  If accounts become delinquent, the [D]department may 
discontinue inspection services until full payment is received. 
 [(B)](5)  Mileage or extra expense incurred [in cases 
where]when inspection is requested at isolated loading points may be 
added to the cost of the regular inspection fee.  [Such]These charges 
shall be the [same as ]those set forth in [the current State of Utah 
Travel Rules and Regulations]Rule R25-7. 
 [(C)](6)  Charges in addition to regular inspection fees shall 
be made for inspection services performed during irregular working 
hours when [such]the hours are not included in the inspectors' 
scheduled shift. 

KEY:  food inspection 
Date of Last Change:  [April 1, 1997]2022 
Notice of Continuation:  January 11, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [4-2-2]4-2-
103(1) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-23 Filing ID 
54609 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB, South Bldg, 

Floor 2 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Robert Hougaard 801-
982-
2305 

rhougaard@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-23.  Utah Firewood Quarantine 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The changes are needed to make this text consistent with 
the Utah Rulewriting Manual requirements. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The language has been changed to make this text 
consistent with the Utah Rulewriting Manual requirements. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The changes are clarifying only and will not impact the 
operation of the program and therefore, will not have a 
fiscal impact on the state. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments do not administer the program and are 
not regulated under the program and will not be impacted. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to small businesses 
because the changes are clarifying existing practice and 
the operation of the program will not change. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There should be no fiscal impact to non-small businesses 
because the changes are clarifying existing practice and 
the operation of the program will not change. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There should be no fiscal impact to other persons because 
the changes are clarifying existing practice and the 
operation of the program will not change. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There should be no change in compliance costs for 
affected persons because compliance requirements are 
not changing. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses.  Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(k) 

Section 4-35-109  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
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must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 05/05/2022 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-23.  Utah Firewood Quarantine. 
R68-23-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Promulgated under authority of Subsection 4-2-
[2]103(1)(k) and Section 4-35-109.[,] 
 (2)  [t]This rule is enacted to prevent the movement of 
invasive insects transported by firewood, including[, but not limited 
to Agrilus planipennis (Emerald Ash Borer), Anoplophora 
glabripennis (Asian Longhorned Beetle), Solenopsis invicta (Red 
Imported Fire Ant)] Emerald Ash Borer (Agrilus planipennis), Asian 
Longhorned Beetle (Anoplophora glabripennis), and Red Imported 
Fire Ant (Solenopsis invicta). 
 
R68-23-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 [(1)](2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 [(2)](3)  "Firewood" means any kindling, logs, timber, or 
other portions of a tree of any species four [(4) ]feet or less in length, 
cut or split, or intended to be cut or split, into a form and size 
appropriate for use as fuel for fires in open pit, grill, fireplace, stove, 
or other wood burning furnaces or devices in any form commonly 
used for burning in campfires, stoves, or fireplaces. 
 [(3)](4)  "Invasive insects" means any nonnative organisms 
that cause economic or environmental harm and are capable of 
spreading to new areas of the state. 
 [(4)](5)  "Person" means any individual, organization, 
corporation, or partnership. 
 [(5)](6)  "Sales By Package" means a package of firewood 
offered, exposed, or held for sale. 
 [(6)](7)  "Sale From Bulk" means firewood offered, 
exposed, or held for sale [which]that is not packaged. 
 
R68-23-3.  Area Under Quarantine. 
 (1)  [All]Any areas of the United States and Canada that are 
declared high risk by the United States Department of Agriculture or 
[Utah Commissioner of Agriculture and Food]the commissioner. 
 (2)  The department shall keep an updated list of quarantine 
areas. 
 
R68-23-4.  Articles and Commodities Under Quarantine. 
 (1)  This quarantine applies to [all]any firewood offered, 
exposed, or held for sale in the [S]state[ of Utah]. 
 
R68-23-5.  Restrictions. 
 (1)  [All]Any firewood transported, offered, exposed, or 
held for sale in the state shall be labeled in accordance with Section 
R68-23-6. 
 (2)  A person [may]shall not transport, offer, expose, or 
hold for sale firewood from an area under quarantine in this state 
unless the firewood is treated in accordance with Section R68-23-7. 

 (3)  Any person that transports or supplies firewood in this 
state for other than personal use shall maintain records, certificates, 
or other documents for two [(2) ]years. 
 
R68-23-6.  Labeling Requirements. 
 (1)  Each Sales By Package [must]shall bear a clear and 
conspicuous declaration of the following: 
 (a)  identif[y]ication of the package as containing firewood, 
unless the contents can be easily identified through the wrapper or 
container; 
 (b)  net quantity in terms of weight, measure, or count; 
 (c)  name and address of the manufacturer, packer, or 
distributor of the firewood, if the package was not produced on the 
premises where they are offered, exposed, or held for sale; and 
 (d)  origin of harvest identified by county or counties and 
state. 
 (2)  Each Sale From Bulk [must]shall be accompanied by a 
delivery ticket containing[ the following information]: 
 (a)  name and contact information of the person who 
weighed or measured the firewood; 
 (b)  date delivered; 
 (c)  quantity delivered, by cords or cubic meters, including 
fractions or count of individually wrapped packages delivered, if 
more than one is delivered; 
 (d)  quantity on which the price is based, if different than 
the quantity delivered; 
 (e)  identity of the type of firewood in the most descriptive 
terms commercially practicable; and 
 (f)  origin of harvest by county or counties and state. 
 
R68-23-7.  Importation and Treatment. 
 (1)  [All]Any firewood shall be prohibited entry into Utah 
from an area under quarantine unless the required certification is 
produced. 
 (2)  Certification shall be issued by an authorized state 
agricultural official of the state of origin. 
 (3)  The certificate shall bear the: 
 (a)  name and address of the exporter of the firewood: 
 (b)  name and address of the importer of the firewood; 
 (c)  inspection[/] or certificate date; and 
 (d)  signature of authorized state agricultural officer. 
 (4)  [Such c]Certificates shall be issued only if the shipment 
conforms to the following heat treatment procedure [listed below]: 
 (a)  the temperature of the center of the wood is raised to at 
least 160 degrees [F (]Farenheit (F), 71.1 degrees [C)]Celsius (C); 
 (b)  the center temperature is maintained at 160 degrees F[ 
(],71.1 degrees C[)], for at least 75 minutes; 
 (c)  internal wood temperatures are obtained and verified 
by sensors located in the larger pieces of firewood at representative 
locations within the stack; 
 (d)  sensors are placed in large firewood pieces in the 
coldest areas of the kiln as identified by the department; 
 (e)  the full depth of the monitoring probes are placed in the 
wood; 
 (f)  monitoring probes are sealed within the wood by a 
gasket, non-hardening putty, or similar material to prevent the probe 
reading ambient air temperature rather than the temperature of the 
wood; 
 (g)  temperature monitoring equipment [must]shall be able 
to provide a record of the treatment that identifies each sensor and 
[indicates]shows time and temperature; and 
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 (h)  portable, stand-alone sensors[,] and[the] temperature 
monitoring equipment [(]such as thermocouples[,] or temperature 
data loggers[, etc.) must] shall be: 
 (i)  accurate to within [+/-]plus or minus 0.9 degrees F[ (], 
0.5 deg C[)], at the treatment temperature[,]; 
 (ii)  capable of collecting temperature data at least once 
[every]each five [(5) ]minutes; and 
 (iii)  capable of recording or storing data for 30 days. 
 (5)  The certifying official shall mail, [FAX]fax, or e[-]mail 
a copy of the certificate to: 
 (a)  Director, Plant Industry Division, Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food, [350 North Redwood Road, PO Box 146500, 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6500]4315 South 2700 West, TSOB 
South Bldg, Floor 2, Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128[,]; 
 (b)  [FAX]fax: (801) 538-7189[,]; or 
 (c)  e[-]mail:  UDAF-insects@utah.gov. 
 (6)  The exporter shall give advance notification of 
regulated firewood shipment to the department. 
 (7)  The importer shall notify the department of the arrival 
of firewood imported under [the provisions of ]this quarantine and 
shall hold [such]the firewood for inspection. 
 (8)  The department shall inspect or release the firewood 
within [in 10]ten business days of delivery. 
 
R68-23-8.  Records. 
 (1)  The records, certificates, or other documents of a 
person who transports or supplies firewood for other than personal 
use shall include information regarding the source of the firewood, 
any treatment of the firewood and the disposition of the firewood. 
 (2)  The records, certificates, or other documents of a 
person that sells firewood shall include information regarding the 
source and supplier of the firewood. 
 (3)  The department may inspect the records, certificates, 
documents, inventory, and facilities of a person that transports 
firewood or of a firewood supplier or seller at any time during 
reasonable business hours and may take samples of firewood for 
purposes of detecting invasive insects. 
 
R68-23-9.  Exemptions. 
 (1)  Firewood harvested in areas other than those under 
quarantine are exempted from the treatment requirements in Section 
R68-23-7. 
 (2)  The department may issue an exemption to the 
treatment for areas under quarantine upon request. 
 (3)  Requests for an exemption shall be made to the 
department in writing and shall contain the: 
 (a)  identity of the firewood importer; 
 (b)  origin of harvest identified by county or counties and 
state; and 
 (c)  type of wood to be imported. 
 (4)  The department shall respond in writing within [10]ten 
business days of the request for an exemption. 
 (5)  Exemptions are valid for a [twelve (12)]12 month 
period. 
 (6)  The department may at any time revoke an exemption 
[do]due to a change in the risk assessment. 
 (7)  The department shall notify the firewood importer, in 
writing, identifying the reason[(s)] for the revocation. 
 

R68-23-10.  Enforcing Powers. 
 (1)  Authorized agents of the department shall refuse 
admittance into Utah any firewood products that do not meet the 
provisions of this quarantine. 
 (2)  Any shipment found within Utah in violation of this 
quarantine shall be treated to comply with this quarantine or be 
returned to the exporter at once. 
 
R68-23-11.  Violations and Penalties. 
 (1)  Any fraudulent use of incorrect information on any 
forms used in the enforcement of this quarantine is a violation of this 
quarantine. 
 (2)  Any intentional movement of firewood from an area 
under quarantine is a violation. Failure to perform or have inspection 
[will]shall constitute intentional movement as well as willfully 
moving property after notification. 
 (3)  Failure to give advance notice to the department is a 
violation of this quarantine. 
 (4)  Failure to comply with any provisions of this 
quarantine shall be a violation of this quarantine. 
 (5)  Violators of this quarantine shall be subject to civil 
penalties of not more than $5,000 per violation as defined in Section 
4-2-[15]304. 
 (6)  Each improperly labeled, transported, or treated 
package or bulk sale shall be a separate violation of this rule. 
 
KEY:  firewood, quarantine, insects 
Date of Last Change:  [August 3, 2017]2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-2-
[2]103(1)(k); 4-35-109 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R70-440 Filing ID 
54614 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Regulatory Services 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB, South Bldg, 

Floor 2 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 
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Travis Waller 801 
982-
2250 

twaller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R70-440.  Egg Products Inspection 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this filing is to repeal Rule R70-440.  This 
rule is being repealed as the process for inspecting egg 
products was handed over to the US Department of 
Agriculture (USDA) some time ago.  The Department of 
Agriculture and Food (Department) no longer has 
involvement in this process. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is being repealed as the process for inspecting 
egg products was handed over to the USDA.  This rule is 
repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There should be no impact to the state budget with this 
change.  This program has been taken over by the USDA 
officially, making the rule unnecessary; however, it was 
previously paid for with federal dollars. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There should be no impact on local governments because 
they do not participate or administer the egg inspection 
program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There should be no impact on small businesses because 
the program will be administered by the USDA in the same 
way it was administered by the Department. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There should be no impact on non-small businesses 
because the program will be administered by the USDA in 
the same way it was administered by the Department. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There should be no impact on other persons because the 
program will be administered by the USDA in the same 
way it was administered by the Department. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected persons should not change 
because the program will be administered in the same 
way, just by the USDA. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change should not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses.  Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-4-102   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 
 

Date: 05/16/2022 

 
R70.  Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services. 
[R70-440.  Egg Products Inspection. 
R70-440-1.  Authority. 
 1)  Promulgated under authority of Section 4-4-102. 
 2)  This rule shall apply to all egg products sold, bought, 
processed, manufactured or distributed within the State of Utah.  It is 
the purpose of this rule to provide egg products inspection at least 
equal to those imposed under the Federal Egg Products Inspection 
Act (21 U.S.C. 1031-1056). 
 
R70-440-2.  Adopt by Reference. 
 Accordingly, the division adopts the egg products 
inspection standards and procedures as specified in Animal and 
Animal Products, 9 CFR Chapter III, Sub-Chapter I, Parts 590 and 
592, January 1, 2012 edition, which is incorporated by reference 
within this rule. 
 

KEY:  food inspection 
Date of Last Change:  January 15, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-4-102] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R156-55c Filing ID 
54610 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Occupational and Professional 

Licensing 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City UT 84111-2316 

Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City UT 84114-6741 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Duncombe 801-

530-
6235 

sduncombe@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-55c.  Plumber Licensing Act Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This filing is made by the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing (Division) in collaboration with the 
Plumbers Licensing Board and the Construction Services 
Commission in accordance with Executive Orders No. 
2021-1 and 2021-12, to elucidate the minor plumbing work 
that is deemed incidental; update and clarify the 
education, experience, and exam requirements and the 
competency exam requirements for expedited licensure; 
and make formatting changes throughout to update and 
clarify the rule using logical, understandable, and concise 
language consistent with the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Subsection R156-55c-102(2) is amended to remove the 
term "installation" from the definition of "minor plumbing 
work that is incidental."  Section R156-55c-302a is 
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amended to remove the reference to licensure in 
Subsection R156-55c-302a(3)(b) and to clarify that work 
experience that is lawfully performed in accordance with 
applicable licensing requirements may include work 
experience obtained while exempt from licensure.  Section 
R156-55c-302b is amended to update the examination 
requirements to reflect the updated plumber exams.  
Section R156-55c-302c is amended to update the 
competency exam requirements for expedited licensure by 
removing references to competency exams 3A through 
4B.  Additionally, formatting changes are made throughout 
to update and clarify this rule in accordance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12. 
 
Public hearing information: 
A rule hearing will be held electronically via Google Meet 
before the Construction Services Commission 
Join with Google Meet: 
meet.google.com/ysf-ntht-yiv 
 
Join by phone 
(US) +1 814-429-3857 (PIN: 601865433) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures.  
The requested changes reflect current industry standards 
as approved by the Plumber Licensing Board and 
Construction Services Commission, and will continue to 
ensure that the minimum required standards have been 
met. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures.  
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Utah Rulewriting Manual and current industry standards 
as approved by the Plumber Licensing Board and 
Construction Services Commission, and will continue to 
ensure that the minimum required standards have been 
met.  None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Utah Rulewriting Manual and current industry standards 
as approved by the Plumber Licensing Board and 
Construction Services Commission, and will continue to 
ensure that the minimum required standards have been 

met.  None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures.  This rule has been amended to provide 
technical, conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance 
with the Utah Rulewriting Manual and current industry 
standards as approved by the Plumber Licensing Board 
and Construction Services Commission, and will continue 
to ensure that the minimum required standards have been 
met.  None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on affected persons.  This rule has been amended 
to provide technical, conforming, and stylistic changes in 
accordance with the Utah Rulewriting Manual and current 
industry standards as approved by the Plumber Licensing 
Board and Construction Services Commission, and will 
continue to ensure that the minimum required standards 
have been met.  None of these changes substantively 
change the processes for affected persons, so there is no 
fiscal impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As described above in Box 5E for other persons, the 
proposed changes are not expected to have any 
compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The Division in collaboration with the Plumbers Licensing 
Board and the Construction Services Commission 
propose amendments to update Rule R156-55c, the 
Plumber Licensing Act Rule.  Changes have been made to 
clarify "minor plumbing work" that is deemed incidental, 
update education, experience, and exam requirements, as 
well as the competency exam requirements for expedited 
licensure.  The Division has made formatting changes 
throughout this rule to conform this rule to the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual in accordance with Executive Orders 
No. 2021-1 and 2021-12. 
 
Small Business (less than 50 employees):  The Division 
does not foresee any foreseeable impact on small 
businesses since these amendments are made to make 
this rule comport to the Utah Rulewriting Manual.  There 
are no substantial changes but merely conforming the rule 
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to current industry standards as approved by the Plumber 
Licensing Board and Construction Services Commission. 
 
Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses (50 or more 
employees):  These amendments will have no expected 
fiscal impact for non-small businesses in Utah for the same 
rationale as described above for small businesses.  These 
costs are either inestimable, for the reasons stated above, 
or there is no fiscal impact. 
 
Margaret W. Busse, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
58-1-106(1)(a)  

Subsection 
58-1-202(1)(a) 

Section 58-55-101 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
06/29/2022 9:00 AM Rule hearing 

information is above 
in Box 4. 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Director 

Date: 05/12/2022 

 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-55c.  Plumber Licensing Act Rule. 
R156-55c-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Plumber Licensing Act Rule."[.] 
 
R156-55c-102.  Definitions. 
 [In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 
55, as used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 55 or this rule]The following 
definitions supplement the definitions in Title 58, Chapter 1, Division 
of Professional Licensing Act, and Title 58, Chapter 55, Utah 
Construction Trades Licensing Act: 
 (1)  "Immediate supervision"[,] as used in Subsections 58-
55-102(5) and [58-55-102](26) [and this rule, ]means: 
 (a)  for non-residential plumbing work, the apprentice and 
the supervising plumber are physically present on the same project or 
jobsite but are not required to maintain a direct line of sight; 
 (b)  for residential plumbing work, the supervising 
plumber, when not physically present on the same project or jobsite 
as the apprentice, is available to provide direction, oversight, 
inspection, and evaluation of the apprentice's work [as ]to ensure that 
the end result complies with applicable standards. 
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 (2)  "Minor plumbing work that is incidental"[,] as used in 
Subsection 58-55-305(1)(k)(i) [and this rule, ]means: 
 (a)  [installation, ]repair or replacement of the following 
residential type Plumbing Appliances: 
 (i)  dishwashers; 
 (ii)  refrigerators; 
 (iii)  freezers; 
 (iv)  ice makers; 
 (v)  stoves; 
 (vi)  ranges; 
 (vii)  clothes washers; 
 (viii)  clothes dryers; and 
 (b)  repair or replacement of the following residential type 
Plumbing Appurtenances, Fixtures and Systems, when the cost of the 
repair or replacement does not exceed $300 in total value, including 
[all ]labor and materials, and including [all ]changes or additions to 
the contracted or agreed upon work: 
 (i)  tub or shower trim; 
 (ii)  tub or shower valve; 
 (iii)  toilet flush valve; 
 (iv)  toilet removal and reset; 
 (v)  garbage disposal; 
 (vi)  kitchen or lavatory sink P-trap; 
 (vii)  kitchen or lavatory faucet rebuild and 
[install]replacement; 
 (viii)  supply line replacement after the fixture valve; and 
 (3)  "Minor plumbing work that is incidental,"[,] as used in 
Subsection 58-55-305(1)(k)(i), does not include installation or 
replacement of a water heater, or work to include the initial 
installation of Plumbing Appurtenances, Fixtures and Systems. 
 (4)  "Plumbing Appliances, Appurtenances, Fixtures, and 
Systems" means the same[, as used in this rule, shall have the same 
meaning] as defined [by]in Title 15A, State Construction and Fire 
Codes Act. 
 (5)  "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58, 
[Chapters 1 and 55]Chapter 1, Division of Professional Licensing Act 
and Title 58, Chapter 55, Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act is 
further defined in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in 
S[ubs]ection R156-55c-501. 
 
R156-55c-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer Title 
58, Chapter 55, Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act. 
 
R156-55c-302a.  Qualification for Licensure - Education and 
Experience Requirements. 
[ The education and experience requirements for licensure in 
Subsection 58-55-302(3)(c) and (d) are defined, clarified, or 
established as follows:] 
 (1)  A Master Plumber applicant: 
 (a)  [An applicant ]under Subsection 58-55-
302(3)(a)(i)(A), shall have at least 4,000 hours of work experience 
and at least 4,000 hours of supervisory experience as a licensed 
Journeyman Plumber[.]; or 
 (b)  [An applicant ]under Subsection 58-55-
302(3)(a)(i)(B), shall: 
 (i)  hold at least an associate of applied science degree or a 
similar degree, from an institution recognized by the Council for 
Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA); and 
 (ii)  have at least 2,000 hours of supervisory experience as 
a licensed Journeyman Plumber. 

 (2)  A Residential Master Plumber applicant: 
 (a)  [An applicant ]under Subsection 58-55-302(3)(b)(i), 
shall have at least 4,000 hours of work experience and at least 4,000 
hours of supervisory experience as a licensed Residential 
Journeyman Plumber[.]; or 
 (b)  [An applicant ]under Subsection 58-55-302(3)(b)(ii), 
shall: 
 (i)  hold at least an associate of applied science degree or a 
similar degree, from an institution recognized by the [Council for 
Higher Education Accreditation (]CHEA[)]; and 
 (ii)  have at least 2,000 hours of supervisory experience as 
a licensed Residential Journeyman Plumber. 
 (3)  A Journeyman Plumber applicant: 
 (a)  [An applicant ]under Subsection 58-55-302(3)(c)(i), 
shall have completed at least: 
 (i)  [at least ]576 hours of a planned program of training 
that meets the requirements of Subsection (5); and 
 (ii)  [at least ]8,000 hours of full-time work experience as a 
licensed Apprentice Plumber[.]; 
 (b)  [An applicant ]under Subsection 58-55-302(3)(c)(ii), 
shall have completed at least 16,000 hours of lawful full-time work 
experience as an [licensed ]Apprentice Plumber[.]; or 
 (c)  [An applicant]under Subsection 58-55-302(3)(c)(iii), if 
licensed as a Residential Journeyman Plumber, shall have completed: 
 (i)  at least 2,000 hours of full-time work experience in non-
residential plumbing while licensed as an Apprentice Plumber; and 
 (ii)  the fourth year, [(]144 hours[)], of a planned program 
of training that meets the requirements of Subsection (5). 
 (4)  A Residential Journeyman Plumber applicant: 
 (a)  [An applicant ]under Subsection 58-55-302(3)(d)(i), 
shall have completed at least: 
 (i)  [at least ]432 hours of a planned program of training 
that meets the requirements of Subsection (5); and 
 (ii)  [at least ]6,000 hours of full-time work experience as a 
licensed Apprentice Plumber[.]; or 
 (b)  [An applicant ]under Subsection 58-55-302(3)(d)(ii), 
shall produce satisfactory evidence, using a form provided by the 
Division, that the applicant: 
 (i)  has completed at least 12,000 hours of full-time work 
experience in a maintenance or repair trade; and 
 (ii)  that at least 9,000 of the required 12,000 hours directly 
involved the plumbing trade. 
 (5)(a)  The "planned program of training approved by the 
Division" pursuant to Subsections 58-55-302(3)(c)(i) and (d)(i), shall 
consist of formal classroom education in the plumbing trade that: 
 (i)  includes measures of competency and achievement 
level for each student; 
 (ii)  is conducted by competent qualified staff; 
 (iii)  is conducted by an entity approved by: 
 (A)  the Utah Board of [Regents]Higher Education; or 
 (B)  [the Utah System of Technical Colleges Board of 
Trustees; or 
 (C)  ]the Plumbers Licensing Board when the program is 
out-of-state; and 
 (iv)  includes at least 81 hours of classroom instruction per 
semester. 
 (b)  "Completion" of a planned program of training under 
Subsections 58-55-302(3)(c) and (d) and this rule, means that the 
applicant: 
 (i)  attended a minimum of 72 classroom instruction hours 
each semester; and 
 (ii)  passed each class with a score of at least 75%. 
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 (6)  On the job training and instruction shall include 
measurements of the apprentice's performance in the plumbing trade. 
 (7)  [No more than]An applicant may earn up to 3,000 
hours [may be earned ]during a[ny] 12-month period. 
 (8)  As used in Subsections 58-55-302(3)(c) and (d) and this 
rule, "full-time training,"[,] "full-time experience,"[,] "work 
experience,"[,] and "full-time work experience" mean work 
experience that is lawfully performed preceding the date of 
application, in accordance with [all]applicable licensing and 
supervision requirements, and may include work experience obtained 
while exempt from licensure. 
 
R156-55c-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Examination 
Requirements. 
[ In accordance with Subsection 58-55-302(1)(c)(i), the 
examination requirements for licensure are established as follows:] 
 (1)  Under Subsection 58-55-302(1)(c), a Master Plumber 
applicant[s] or Journeyman Plumber applicant shall [pass]have 
obtained a passing score on: 
 (a)  the Utah [Master ]Plumber Theory Exam; and 
 (b)  the Utah Plumber Practical Exam. 
 (2)  Under Subsection 58-55-302(1)(c), a Residential 
Master Plumber applicant[s] or Residential Journeyman Plumber 
applicant shall [pass]have obtained a passing score on: 
 (a)  the Utah Residential [Master ]Plumber Theory Exam; 
and 
 (b)  the Utah [Residential ]Plumber Practical Exam. 
 (3)  [Journeyman Plumber applicants shall pass: 
 (a)  the Utah Journeyman Plumber Theory Exam; and 
 (b)  the Utah Plumber Practical Exam. 
 (4)  Residential Journeyman Plumber applicants shall pass: 
 (a)  the Utah Residential Journeyman Plumber Theory 
Exam; and 
 (b)  the Utah Residential Plumber Practical Exam. 
 (5)  ]Admission to the exams is permitted after: 
 (a)  the applicant has completed all requirements for 
licensure in Section R156-55c-302a; or 
 (b)  the Journeyman Plumber applicant under Subsection 
R156-55c-302a(3)(a) has completed: 
 (i)  the first semester of the fourth year of the planned 
program of training; and 
 (ii)  at least 6,000 hours of the required full-time work 
experience. 
 ([6]4)  [An applicant shall obtain]The passing score for 
each of the following exams is a minimum of 70%: 
 (a)  [a score of at least 70% on ]the Utah Plumber Practical 
Exam;[ and] 
 (b)  [a score of at least 70% on ]the Utah Plumber Theory 
Exam; and 
 (c)  the Utah Residential Plumber Theory Exam. 
 ([7]5)  An applicant who fails an exam may retake that 
exam: 
 (a)  no sooner than 30 days following any failure, up to 
[three]six failures; and 
 (b)  no sooner than [120]90 days following any failure 
thereafter. 
 
R156-55c-302c.  Qualifications - Expedited Licensure. 
[ In accordance with Subsections 58-1-203(2) and 58-1-
301(3), the requirements for expedited licensure pursuant to 
Subsections 58-55-302(3)(c)(iii) and 58-55-302(3)(d)(iii) are as 
follows:] 

 (1)  [A]Under Subsection 58-55-302(3)(c)(iii) or 58-55-
302(3)(d)(iii), a licensed apprentice plumber may take the approved 
competency exams, in sequence beginning with 1A and continuing 
through [4]2B, to either satisfy the education requirement, or 
determine placement in a planned program of training approved by 
the Division. 
 (2)  Division pre-approval is not required to sit for a[ny] 
competency exam. 
 (3)  An applicant may register directly with the Division's 
approved exam provider to sit for a competency exam. 
 (4)  An applicant may attempt each competency exam one 
time. 
 (5)  Admission to the subsequent competency exam is 
permitted after obtaining a minimum score of 70%. 
 (6)  Placement in a planned program of training is 
determined when the applicant scores below 70% on the 
corresponding competency exam.[ 
 (7)  Upon completion of all qualifying competency exams, 
the applicant may sit for the Utah journeyman or residential 
journeyman plumber exams.] 
 
R156-55c-303.  Renewal Cycle - Procedures. 
 (1)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-308(1), the 
renewal date for the two-year renewal cycle [applicable to]for 
plumber licensees under Title 58, Chapter 55, Utah Construction 
Trades Licensing Act is established [by rule ]in [Section]Subsection 
R156-1-308a(1). 
 (2)  Renewal procedures shall be in accordance with 
[Section R156-1-308c.]Sections R516-1-308b through R156-1-308l. 
 (3)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-
308(3)(b)(i), there is established a continuing education requirement 
for license renewal.  Each licensee shall comply with the continuing 
education requirements [set forth ]in Section R156-55c-304. 
 (4)  [All licensees]Each licensee shall renew their license 
in an online form approved by the Division, except as permitted by 
the Division in writing. 
 
R156-55c-304.  Continuing Education[ - Standards]. 
[ Standards for continuing education shall be in accordance 
with Subsections R156-55a-303b(2) through (10), except as 
otherwise provided in this section: 
 (1)  Required Hours. Pursuant to Sections 58-55-302.7 and 
58-55-303, each licensee shall complete at least 12 hours of 
continuing education during each two-year license term.  At least 
eight hours shall be core education.  The remaining four hours may 
be professional or core education.] 
 (1)  As used in this section: 
 ([2]a)  "Core continuing education" [is defined as]means 
education covering: 
 ([a]i)  International Building, Mechanical, Plumbing, and 
International Energy Conservation Codes and Utah building code 
amendments as adopted or proposed for adoption; 
 ([b]ii)  the Americans with Disability Act; 
 ([c]iii)  medical gas, National Fire Protection Association 
13D and 54; 
 ([d]iv)  hydronics and waste water treatment; or 
 ([e]v)  Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
(OSHA) training. 
 ([3]b)  "Professional continuing education" [is defined 
as]means education covering: 
 ([a]i)  energy conservation; 
 ([b]ii)  management training; 
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 ([c]iii)  new technology; 
 ([d]iv)  plan reading; 
 ([e]v)  lien laws and Utah construction registry; or 
 ([f]vi)  government regulations. 
 (2)  Under Sections 58-55-302.7 and 58-55-303, the 12 
hours of continuing education required of a licensed plumber during 
each two-year renewal cycle shall include at least eight hours of core 
continuing education, and at least four hours of professional 
continuing education or core continuing education. 
 ([4]3)  The Division may defer or waive continuing 
education requirements for: 
 (a)  an instructor of a planned program of training under 
Subsection R156-55c-302a(5); 
 (b)  a board member who regularly attends the Plumber 
Licensing Board meetings; or 
 (c)  any licensee as provided in Section R156-1-308d. 
 (4)  The standards for continuing education for licensed 
plumbers are as follows: 
 (a)  a licensee who lectures in continuing education courses 
meeting the requirements of this section may receive two hours of 
continuing education for each hour spent lecturing, but lecturing or 
teaching credit is not available for participation in a panel discussion; 
 ([5]a)  [Provider.  A]a course provider need not be listed in 
Subsection 58-55-302.5(2), but shall meet the other requirements of 
this section and be: 
 ([a]i)  a recognized accredited college or university; 
 ([b]ii)  a state or federal agency; 
 ([c]iii)  a professional association or organization involved 
in the construction trades; or 
 ([d]iv)  a commercial continuing education provider 
providing a program related to the plumbing trade[.]; 
 (c)  course content shall be relevant to the practice of the 
plumbing trade and consistent with Utah laws and rules; and 
 (d)  except for Subsection R156-55a-303b(2)(b), the 
continuing education standards in Subsections R156-55a-303b(1)(g), 
R156-55a-303b(2) through (4), and R156-55a-303b(7) through (11) 
are adopted. 
[ (6)  Content.  Course content shall be relevant to the 
practice of the plumbing trade and consistent with Utah laws and 
rules.] 
 
R156-55c-305.  Licensure by Endorsement. 
 The Division may issue a license by endorsement in 
accordance with [the provisions of ]Section 58-1-302. 
 
R156-55c-401.  Conduct of Apprentice and Supervising Plumber. 
[ The requirements of Subsections 58-55-102(34) and 58-55-
302(3)(e) are clarified and established as follows:] 
 (1)  A plumbing contractor may comply with the 
supervision requirements of Subsections [58-55-501(12),]58-55-
102(34) and 58-55-302(3)(e) by contracting with a licensed 
professional employer organization to employ one or more licensed 
plumbers. 
 (2)  [A]Under Subsections 58-55-102(34) and 58-55-
302(3)(e), a licensed supervisor may have up to: 
 (a)  three licensed apprentice plumbers under immediate 
supervision on non-residential projects; or 
 (b)  three licensed apprentice plumbers under immediate 
supervision on residential projects. 
 
R156-55c-501.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 

 (1)  failing to comply with the supervision requirements 
[established by ]in Subsection 58-55-302(3)(e); 
 (2)  failing to timely provide upon request, the licensee's 
current plumber license, or license number when performing 
plumbing work; 
 (3)  failing to provide proof of completed continuing 
education within 30 days of the Division's request; and 
 (4)  failing to be knowledgeable of the plumber licensing 
laws and rules. 
 
R156-55c-502.  Administrative Penalties. 
 [(1)  ]The administrative penalties [defined ]in Sections 
R156-55a-502 and R156-55a-503 of the Utah Construction Trades 
Licensing Act Rule are [hereby ]adopted as the administrative 
penalties under this rule.[ 
 (2)  The administrative penalty for a violation of Subsection 
58-1-501(2)(o) under this rule shall be in accordance with Section 
R156-1-502.] 
 
KEY:  occupational licensing, licensing, plumbers, plumbing 
Date of Last Change:  [January 9, 2020]2022 
Notice of Continuation:  July 8, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-
106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a); 58-55-101 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R251-714 Filing ID 
54594 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Corrections 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 14717 S. Minuteman Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Draper, UT 84020 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Matt Anderson 801-

545-
5589 

mattanderson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R251-714.  Offender Sexual Assault Prevention 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Pursuant to Section 64-13-47, the Department of 
Corrections (Department) is required adopt rules to 
establish policies and procedures to prevent, detect, 
respond to, and investigate sexual assaults that occur in 
Department correctional facilities. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule establishes policies and procedures to prevent, 
detect, respond to, and investigate sexual assaults that 
occur in Department correctional facilities. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on state 
government revenues or expenditures, as the measures 
established by this rule have already been implemented 
by the Department or can readily be accomplished using 
existing positions and resources. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule does not apply to local governments and will have 
no fiscal impact. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not apply to small businesses and will have 
no fiscal impact. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not apply to non-small businesses and will 
have no fiscal impact. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not apply to other persons and will have no 
fiscal impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule does not apply to affected persons and will have 
no fiscal impact. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
I have reviewed this fiscal analysis and agree with the 
described fiscal impacts associated with this rule.  Brian 
Nielson, Executive Director 
 

6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Corrections, 
Brian Nielson, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63G-3-202 

Section 64-13-10 Section 64-13-47 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

24 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, June 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 11 

agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brian Nielson, 
Executive Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
R251.  Corrections, Administration. 
R251-714.  Offender Sexual Assault Prevention. 
R251-714-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized under Sections 63G-3-201, 64-
13-10, and 64-13-47. 
 (2)  This rule establishes policies and procedures to 
prevent, detect, respond to, and investigate sexual assaults that occur 
in Department correctional facilities, including the collection and 
reporting of offender sexual assault data. 
 
R251-714-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Correctional facility" means a facility as defined in 
Subsection 64-13-1(4). 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Corrections. 
 (3)  "Offender" means an offender as defined in Subsection 
64-13-1(13). 
 (4)  "Offender sexual assault" means a sexual assault that 
is perpetrated against an offender while housed in a correctional 
facility. 
 
R251-714-3.  Policies and Procedures. 
 (1)  The Department will require education and training 
regarding offender sexual assaults including: 
 (a)  providing to offenders, at intake and periodically, 
Department-approved, easy-to-understand information developed by 
the Department on sexual assault prevention, treatment, reporting, 
and counseling in consultation with community groups with expertise 
in sexual assault prevention, treatment, reporting, and counseling; 
and 
 (b)  providing sexual-assault-specific training to 
Department mental health professionals and employees who have 
direct contact with offenders regarding treatment and methods of 
prevention and investigation. 
 (2)  The Department will require reporting of offender 
sexual assault, including: 
 (a)  ensuring the confidentiality of offender sexual assault 
complaints and the protection of offenders who make complaints of 
sexual assault; and 
 (b)  prohibiting retaliation and disincentives for reporting 
sexual assault. 

 (3)  The Department will require safety and care for victims 
of offender sexual assaults, including: 
 (a)  providing, in situations in which there is reason to 
believe that a sexual assault has occurred, reasonable and appropriate 
measures to ensure the victim's safety by separating the victim from 
the assailant, if known; 
 (b)  providing acute trauma care for sexual assault victims, 
including treatment of injuries, HIV prophylaxis measures, and 
testing for sexually transmitted infections; 
 (c)  providing confidential mental health counseling for 
victims of sexual assault, including access to outside community 
groups or victim advocates that have expertise in sexual assault 
counseling, and enabling confidential communication between 
offenders and those organizations and advocates; and 
 (d)  monitoring victims of sexual assault for suicidal 
impulses, post-traumatic stress disorder, depression, and other mental 
health consequences resulting from the sexual assault. 
 (4)  The Department will require investigations and, where 
appropriate, staff discipline for sexual assaults that occur in 
Department correctional facilities, including: 
 (a)  requiring employees to report any knowledge, 
suspicion, or information regarding an incident of sexual assault in a 
correctional facility to the Executive Director or designee, and 
require disciplinary action for employees who fail to report as 
required; 
 (b)  requiring investigations described in Section R251-
714-4; 
 (c)  requiring corrections investigators to submit completed 
sexual assault allegations to the Executive Director or designee, who 
must then submit any substantiated findings that may constitute a 
crime under state law to the district or county attorney with 
jurisdiction over the facility in which the alleged sexual assault 
occurred; and 
 (d)  requiring employees to be subject to disciplinary 
sanctions up to and including termination for violating agency sexual 
assault policies, with termination as the presumptive disciplinary 
sanction for employees who have engaged in sexual assault, 
consistent with constitutional due process protections and state 
personnel laws and rules. 
 (5)  The Department will require data collection and 
reporting as provided in Subsection R251-714-4(3). 
 
R251-714-4.  Investigations of Offender Sexual Assaults. 
 (1)  An investigator trained in the investigation of sex 
crimes shall conduct the investigation of an offender sexual assault. 
 (2)  The investigation shall include: 
 (a)  using a forensic rape kit, if appropriate; 
 (b)  questioning suspects and witnesses; and 
 (c)  gathering and preserving relevant evidence. 
 (3)  The Department shall: 
 (a)  collect and report data regarding allegations of sexual 
assault from each correctional facility in accordance with the federal 
Prison Rape Elimination Act of 2003, Pub. L 108-79, as amended; 
and 
 (b)  annually report the data described in Subsection R251-
714-4(3)(a) to the Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Interim 
Committee. 
 
KEY:  offenders, sex crime 
Date of Last Change:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-3-201; 
64-13-10; 64-13-21 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-401-14 Filing ID 
54595 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R307-401-14.  Used Oil Fuel Burned for Energy Recovery 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The current rule allows an exemption from the requirement 
to obtain an approval order for boilers with a heat input 
design of less than 1 million BTUs per hour.  The EPA 
standard for these units is "not more than 0.5 million BTUs 
per hour" and this change aligns state requirements with 
the EPA standard.  The current rule also contains specific 
contamination levels and testing requirements that are 
duplicative of rules enforced by Waste Management and 
Radiation Control (WMRC).  This change removes this 
language and requires compliance with WMRC rules 
directly. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule change simplifies and clarifies this rule by 
replacing language specifying contaminant levels and 
testing requirements with a requirement to comply with 
Rule R315-15, Standards for the Management of Used Oil.  
It also reduces the exemption threshold for requiring an 
approval order to units with designed to produce 0.5 million 
BTUs per hour or less. 
 

A public hearing is set for, 06/30/2022.  Further details may 
be found below.  The hearing will be canceled should no 
request for one be made by Wednesday, 06/29/2022, at 
10:00 AM MDT.  The final status of the public hearing will 
be posted on Wednesday, 06/29/2022, after 10:00 AM 
MDT.  The status of the public hearing may be checked at 
the following website location under the corresponding 
rule. 
 
https://deq.utah.gov/public-notices-archive/air-quality-
rule-plan-changes-open-public-comment 
If there is a hearing, the following information is needed: 
Video call link: https://meet.google.com/zoa-gzxy-kyp 
Or dial: 0876-404-385 +1 (US)  
PIN: 241 284 714 # 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact on state 
government.  The changes to contaminant levels and 
testing requirements are already enforced through Rule 
R315-15 by the Department Environmental Quality.  All 
commercially available used oil boilers already meet the 
proposed design standard of 0.5 million BTU per hour or 
less and existing permits can be adjusted at no cost to the 
state. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule will have no fiscal impact on local governments 
because it does not apply to them. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact on small 
businesses because it clarifies and simplifies 
requirements that are already enforced in other rules and 
the largest boilers available for purchase in the United 
States already conform to the EPA standard. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact on non-
small businesses because it clarifies and simplifies 
requirements that are already enforced in other rules and 
the largest boilers available for purchase in the United 
States already conform to the EPA standard. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact on persons 
other than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, 
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or local government entities because it does not apply to 
them. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The compliance costs for this rule are expected to be $0 
because used-oil boilers available for purchase already 
meet the proposed standard and the testing requirements 
are already required and enforced through Rule R315-15. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After a thorough analysis and engagement with impacted 
parties, the Division of Air Quality has determined that this 
proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact 
to businesses, because used-oil boilers available for 
purchase already meet the proposed standard and the 
testing requirements are already required and enforced 
through Rule R315-15. 
 
Kimberly D. Shelley, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-2-104   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until:  

07/01/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held:  
On: At: At: 
06/30/2022 1:00 PM See information in 

Box 4 above. 
 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/04/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-401.  Permit: New and Modified Sources. 
R307-401-14.  Used Oil Fuel Burned for Energy Recovery. 
 (1)  Definitions. 
[ "Boiler" means boiler as defined in R315-1-1(b).] 
 "Used Oil" is defined as any oil that has been refined from 
crude oil, used, and, as a result of such use contaminated by physical 
or chemical impurities. 
 (2)  An emission unit that burns used oil, as defined in 
Section R315-15-1, for energy recovery is exempt from the 
requirement to obtain an approval order in Sections R307-401-5 
through R307-401-8 if the owner or operator complies with Section 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, June 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 11 27 

R315-15-6 and the heat input design of the emission unit is not more 
than 0.5 MMBtu/hr.[Boilers burning used oil for energy recovery are 
exempt from the requirement to obtain an approval order in Sections 
R307-401-5 through R307-401-8 if the following requirements are 
met: 
 (a)  the heat input design is less than one million BTU/hr; 
 (b)  contamination levels of all used oil to be burned do not 
exceed any of the following values: 
 (i)  arsenic - 5 ppm by weight, 
 (ii)  cadmium - 2 ppm by weight, 
 (iii)  chromium - 10 ppm by weight, 
 (iv)  lead - 100 ppm by weight, 
 (v)  total halogens - 1,000 ppm by weight, 
 (vi)  Sulfur - 0.50% by weight; and 
 (c)  the flash point of all used oil to be burned is at least 100 
degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (3)  Testing.  The owner or operator shall test each load of 
used oil received or generated as directed by the director to ensure it 
meets these requirements. Testing may be performed by the owner or 
operator or documented by test reports from the used fuel oil vendor. 
The flash point shall be measured using the appropriate ASTM 
method as required by the director. Records for used oil consumption 
and test reports are to be kept for all periods when fuel-burning 
equipment is in operation. The records shall be kept on site and made 
available to the director or the director's representative upon request. 
Records must be kept for a three-year period.] 
 
KEY:  air pollution, permits, approval orders, greenhouse gases 
Date of Last Change:  2022[March 5, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 15, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-2-
104(3)(b)(iii); 19-2-108 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R311-200 Filing ID 
54597 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Environmental Response and 

Remediation 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4840 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-200.  Underground Storage Tanks:  Definitions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 40, Storage Tank Amendment, passed in the 2021 
General Session of the Utah State Legislature tasked the 
Division of Environmental Response and Remediation 
(DERR) to begin regulation of aboveground petroleum 
storage tanks (APSTs) and required Waste Management 
and Radiation Control Board to define specific terms in 
rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes define "Historic contamination," "New 
releases," "Agricultural operations," and "Historic 
contamination" which was required by additions to the 
Underground Storage Tank (UST) Act; and add 
abbreviations of certain terms found in rule.  The changes 
also clarify terms found in rule and statute such as "In 
service," "Rests directly on the ground," and "Soil." 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures because 
any fiscal impact pertaining to defined terms will be 
addressed in the relevant rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures because 
any fiscal impact pertaining to defined terms will be 
addressed in the relevant rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
any fiscal impact pertaining to defined terms will be 
addressed in the relevant rule. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

28 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, June 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 11 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures 
because any fiscal impact pertaining to defined terms will 
be addressed in the relevant rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on other persons revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact pertaining to defined terms will be addressed 
in the relevant rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any cost or benefits to affected persons relating to defined 
terms will be addressed in the relevant rule. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
No fiscal impact on businesses are expected.  Any impact 
would be found in the other rules to which the definitions 
apply.  Kim Shelley, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-403  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
06/15/2022 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building, 195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT, in Room 
1015 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/29/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brent Everett, 
Director 

Date: 05/15/2022 
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R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-200.  [Underground]Petroleum Storage Tanks:  Definitions. 
R311-200-1.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 19-6-402. 
 (2)  In addition, for purposes of this rule: 
 (a)  Aboveground petroleum storage tank" or "APST" 
means a storage tank that is, by volume, less than 10 % buried in the 
ground, including the pipes connected to the storage tank and: 
 (i)  has attached underground piping; or 
 (ii)  rests directly on the ground; 
 (A)  contains regulated substances; 
 (B)  has the capacity to hold 501 gallons or more; and 
 (iii)  is not: 
 (A)  used in agricultural operations, as defined by the board 
by rule made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act; 
 (B)  used for heating oil for consumptive use on the 
premises where stored; 
 (C)  related to a petroleum facility under SIC Code 2911 or 
5171 of the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification Manual of the 
federal Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and 
Budget; 
 (D)  directly related to oil or gas production and gathering 
operations; or 
 (E)  used in the fueling of aircraft or ground service 
equipment at a commercial airport that serves passengers or cargo, 
with commercial airport defined in Section 72-10-102. 
 ([a]b)  "Actively participated" for [the purpose of ]the 
certification programs means that the individual applying for 
certification must have had operative experience for the entire project 
from start to finish, whether it be an installation or a removal. 
 (c)  "Agricultural operation" means any operation on a tract 
of land devoted to the production of crops, animals, or fowl; fruit or 
vegetable products; or the production of dairy, nuts, tobacco, nursery, 
or floral products. 
 ([b]d)  "As-built drawing" for [the purpose of ]notification 
means a drawing to scale of newly constructed [USTs]PSTs.  The 
[USTs]PSTs shall be referenced to buildings, streets, and limits of the 
excavation.  The drawing shall show the locations of tanks, product 
lines, dispensers, vent lines, cathodic protection systems, and 
monitoring wells.  Drawing size must be limited to 8-1/2" x 11" if 
possible, but shall in no case be larger than 11" x 17". 
 ([c]e)  "Backfill" means any foreign material, usually pea 
gravel or sand, which usually differs from the native soil and is used 
to support or cover the [UST]PST system. 
 ([d]f)  "Certificate" means a document that evidences 
certification. 
 ([e]g)  "Certification" means approval by the director or the 
[B]board to engage in the activity applied for by the individual. 
 ([g]h)  "Certified [E]environmental [L]laboratory" means a 
laboratory certified by the Utah Department of Health as outlined in 
Rule R444-14 to perform analyses according to the laboratory 
methods identified for [UST]PST sampling in Subsection R311-205-
2(5). 
 ([f]i)  "Certified sampler" is the person who performs 
environmental media sampling for compliance with Utah [UST]PST 
rules. 
 ([h]j)  "Change-in-service" means the continued use of an 
[UST]PST to store a non-regulated substance. 

 ([i]k)  "Claimant" means any person eligible to submit 
requests for reimbursement of costs against the Petroleum Storage 
Tank [Trust ]Fund as determined by the director. 
 ([j]l)  "Community water system" means a public water 
system that serves at least [fifteen]15 service connections used by 
year-round residents or regularly serves at least 25 year-round 
residents. 
 ([k]m)  "Confirmation sample" means an environmental 
sample taken, excluding closure samples as outlined in Section R311-
205-2, during soil over-excavation or any other remedial or 
investigation activities conducted [for the purpose of determining]to 
determine the extent and degree of contamination. 
 ([l]n)  "Consultant" is a person who is a certified [UST]PST 
consultant according to Subsection 19-6-402(7) and Section R[-]311-
201-2. 
 ([m]o)  "Cost Guidelines" refers to the Cost Guidelines for 
Utah Underground Storage Tank Sites document, dated June 3, 2021.  
This document contains personnel classifications, requirements, and 
rates, general tasks and responsibilities for personnel, maximum 
allowable equipment and laboratory rates, and specific items or 
activities that will and will not be reimbursed by the Petroleum 
Storage Tank Fund. 
 ([n]p)  "Customary, reasonable, and legitimate expenses" 
means costs incurred during the investigation, abatement, and 
corrective actions that address a release which are normally charged 
according to accepted industry standards, and which must be justified 
in an audit as an appropriate cost.  The costs must be directly related 
to the tasks performed. 
 ([o]q)  "Customary, reasonable, and legitimate work" 
means work for investigation, abatement, and corrective action that 
[is required to]shall reduce contamination at a site to levels that are 
protective of human health and the environment.  Acceptable levels 
may be established by risk-based analysis and [taking into 
account]considering current or probable land use as determined by 
the director following the criteria in Rule R311-211. 
 ([p]r)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Environmental Quality. 
 (s)  "EAP" means the Environmental Assurance Program 
established in Section 19-6-410.5. 
 ([q]t)  "Eligible exempt UST" for [the purpose of 
]eligibility for the [Utah ]Petroleum Storage Tank [Trust ]Fund means 
a tank specified in Subsection 19-6-415(1). 
 ([r]u)  "Environmental media sample" is a groundwater, 
surface water, air, or soil sample collected, using appropriate 
methods, for [the purpose of ]evaluating environmental 
contamination. 
 ([s]v)  "EPA" means the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency. 
 ([t]w)  "Expeditiously disposed of" means disposed of as 
soon as practical so as not to become a potential threat to human 
health or safety or the environment, whether foreseen or unforeseen 
as determined by the director. 
 ([u]x)  "Fiscal year" means a period beginning July 1 and 
ending June 30 of the following year. 
 ([v]y)  "Full installation" for the purposes of Subsection 19-
6-411(2) means the installation of [an UST]a PST. 
 ([w]z)  "Groundwater sample" is a sample of water from 
below the surface of the ground collected according to protocol 
established in Rule R311-205. 
 (aa)  "Historic contamination" as referenced in Subsections 
19-6-428(3)(c) and 19-6-428(3)(d) is petroleum contamination: 
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 (i)  reported after the start of continuous participation in the 
EAP that has no apparent cause or source and for which the director 
reasonably determines to have occurred during a period of non-
participation; or 
 (ii)  a release which does not meet the definition of a new 
release. 
 ([x]bb)  "Injury or damage[s] from a release" means, for the 
purposes of Subsection 19-6-409(2)(e), any petroleum contamination 
that has migrated from the release onto or under a third party's 
property at concentrations exceeding Initial Screening Levels 
specified in Subsection R311-211-6(1). 
 (cc)  "In service" means an PST that is actively storing or 
dispensing regulated substances. 
 ([y]dd)  "In use" means that an operational, inactive, or 
abandoned [UST]PST contains a regulated substance, sludge, 
dissolved fractions, or vapor which may pose a threat to the safety of 
human health or the environment, as determined by the director. 
 ([z]ee)  "Lapse" in reference to the certificate of 
compliance and coverage under the [Environmental Assurance 
Program]EAP, means to terminate automatically. 
 ([aa]ff)  "Native soil" means any soil that is not backfill 
material, is naturally occurring, and is most representative of the 
localized subsurface lithology and geology. 
 (gg)  "New release" as referenced in Subsections 19-6-
428(3)(c) and 19-6-428(3)(d) are releases that occur on or after the 
start date for continuous participation in the EAP, which the director 
reasonably determines to have occurred due to an unusual operating 
condition, an apparent PST system equipment failure, a failed PST 
test, an overfill, or a surface spill during the time of program 
participation. 
 ([bb]hh)  "No [F]further [A]action determination" means 
that the director has evaluated information provided by responsible 
parties or others about the site and determined that any detectable 
petroleum contamination from a particular release does not present a 
threat to public health or the environment based upon [B]board 
established criteria in Title R311.  If future evidence indicates 
contamination from that release may cause a threat, further corrective 
action may be required. 
 ([cc]ii)  "Occurrence" in reference to Section R311-208-4 
means a separate petroleum fuel delivery to a single tank. 
 ([dd]jj)  "Owners and operators" means either an owner or 
operator, or both owner and operator. 
 ([ee]kk)  "Over-excavation" means any soil removed in an 
effort to investigate or remediate in addition to the minimum amount 
required to remove the [UST]PST or take environmental media 
samples during [UST]PST closure activities as outlined in Section 
R311-205-2. 
 ([ff]ll)  "Permanently closed" means [UST]PSTs that are 
removed from service following guidelines in 40 CFR Part 280 
Subpart G adopted by Rule R311-202. 
[ (gg)  "Petroleum storage tank" means a storage tank that 
contains petroleum as defined by Subsection 19-6-402(21).] 
 ([hh]mm)  "Petroleum storage tank fee" means the fee 
which [capitalizes]funds the Petroleum Storage Tank [Trust ]Fund as 
established in Section 19-6-409. 
 ([ii]nn)  "Petroleum Storage Tank [Trust ]Fund" means the 
Fund created by Section 19-6-409. 
 ([jj]oo)  "Potable drinking water well" means any hole, 
[(]dug, driven, drilled, or bored[)], that extends into the earth until it 
meets groundwater which supplies water for a non-community public 
water system, or otherwise supplies water for household use, 
[(]consisting of drinking, bathing, and cooking, or other similar 

uses[)].  Such a well may provide water to entities such as a single-
family residence, group of residences, businesses, schools, parks, 
campgrounds, and other permanent or seasonal communities. 
 (pp)  "PST" means petroleum storage tank as defined in 
Subsection 19-6-402(21). 
 (qq)  "PST inspection" is the inspection required by state 
and applicable federal underground storage tank rules and regulations 
during the installation, testing, repairing, operation or maintenance, 
and removal of regulated PSTs. 
 (rr)  "PST installation" means the installation of a PST, 
including any component that is critical to: 
 (i)  the integrity of the system; 
 (ii)  protection of the environment; and 
 (iii)  qualifying for a certificate of compliance. 
 (ss)  "PST testing" means: 
 (i)  a testing method which can detect leaks in a PST 
system; 
 (ii)  testing for compliance with corrosion protection 
requirements; 
 (iii)  testing or inspection for proper operation of overfill 
prevention devices and electronic or mechanical leak detection 
components; 
 (iv)  any testing requirements for exempt USTs or 
aboveground storage tanks that voluntarily participate in the EAP; or 
 (v)  testing methods that meet applicable performance 
standards: 
 (A)  40 CFR 280.40(a)(4), 280.43(c), and 280.44(b) for 
tank and product piping tightness testing; 
 (B)  40 CFR 280.35(a)(1)(ii) for testing of spill prevention 
equipment and containment sumps used for interstitial monitoring of 
piping; 
 (C)  40 CFR 280.31(b) for cathodic protection testing; 
 (D)  40 CFR 280.35(a)(2) for overfill device inspection; 
 (E)  40 CFR 280.40(a)(3) for testing of mechanical and 
electronic release detection components; and 
 (F)  interstitial testing for tank and piping secondary 
containment. 
 ([kk]tt)  "Public water system" means a system for the 
provision to the public of water for human consumption through 
pipes or, after August 5, 1998, other constructed conveyances, if such 
system has at least [fifteen]15 service connections or regularly serves 
an average of at least 25 individuals daily at least 60 days out of the 
year.  It includes any collection, treatment, storage, and distribution 
facilities under control of the operator of the system and used 
primarily in connection with the system; and, any collection or 
pretreatment storage facilities not under such control which are used 
primarily in connection with the system. 
 ([ll]uu)  "Registration fee" means [UST]PST registration 
fee. 
 ([mm]vv)  "Related parties" for the purposes of Section 
R311-207-4, means organizations or persons related to the consultant 
by any of the following:  marriage; blood; one or more partners in 
common with the consultant; one or more directors or officers in 
common with the consultant; more than 10% common ownership 
direct or indirect with the consultant. 
 (ww)  "Reportable release" means a spill, overfill, leak, 
discharge, leachate, or disposal of a regulated substance that results 
in a release to the environment. 
 (xx)  "Rests directly on the ground" means that at least 
some portion of a PST situated aboveground is in direct contact with 
soil. 
 ([nn]yy)  "Secondary containment"[,] 
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 (i)  for the purposes of Rule R311-202 and Section R311-
203-6, means a release prevention and detection system for a tank or 
piping that has an inner and outer barrier with an interstitial space 
between them for monitoring.  The monitoring of the interstitial space 
must meet the requirements of 40 CFR 280.43(g). 
 (ii)  for the purposes of Subsection R311-206-4(6), means 
a dike, vault, enclosure, berm, double-walled system, or any other 
barrier that meets the secondary containment standards listed in the 
International Fire Code (IFC) 2306.5 and 5704.2.10. 
 ([oo]zz)  "Site assessment" or "site check" is an evaluation 
of the level of contamination at a site which contains or has contained 
[an UST]a PST. 
 ([pp]aaa)  "Site assessment report" is a summary of relevant 
information describing the surface and subsurface conditions at a 
facility following any abatement, investigation or assessment, 
monitoring, remediation or corrective action activities as outlined in 
Rule R311-202, incorporating 40 CFR 280 Subparts E and F. 
 ([qq]bbb)  "Site investigation" is work performed by the 
owner or operator, or their designee, when gathering information for 
reports required for Utah [UST]PST rules. 
 ([rr]ccc)  "Site plat" for [the purpose of ]notification or 
reporting, refers to a drawing to scale of [USTs]PSTs in reference to 
the facility.  The scale should be dimensioned appropriately.  Drawing 
size shall be limited to 8-1/2" x 11" if possible, but must in no case 
be larger than 11" x 17".  The site plat should include the following:  
property boundaries; streets and orientation; buildings or adjacent 
structures surrounding the facility; present or former [USTs]PSTs; 
extent of any excavations; location and volume of any stockpiled soil; 
locations, depths, and analytical results of all environmental media 
samples collected; locations and total depths of borings or permanent 
wells, or other measurement or data points; type of ground-cover; 
utility conduits; local land use; surface water drainage; and other 
relevant features. 
 ([ss]ddd)  "Site under control" means that the site of a 
release has been actively addressed by the owner or operator who has 
taken the following measures: 
 (i)  fire and explosion hazards have been abated; 
 (ii)  free flow of the product out of the tank has been 
stopped[.]; 
 (iii)  free product is being removed from the soil, 
groundwater, or surface water according to a work plan or corrective 
action plan approved by the director, except as allowed by 
Subsections 19-6-420(3)(b) and 19-6-420(6); 
 (iv)  alternative water supplies have been provided to 
affected parties whose original water supply has been contaminated 
by the release; and 
 (v)  a soil or groundwater management plan or both have 
been submitted for approval by the director. 
 (eee)  "Soil" as referenced in Subsection 19-6-402(28) 
means natural earthen material under which there is no secondary 
containment. 
 ([tt]fff)  "Soil sample" is a sample collected following the 
protocol established in Rule R311-205. 
 ([uu]ggg)  "Surface water sample" is a sample of water, 
other than a groundwater sample, collected according to protocol 
established in Rule R311-205. 
 (iii)  "Suspected release" means a release that may have 
occurred from a regulated PST system, for example:  petroleum 
contamination discovered at the PST site or in the surrounding area; 
unusual operating conditions of the PST system; release detection 
methods indicating a release may have occurred;  inventory control 

records indicating unexplained product loss; or, a spill or overfill that 
occurs outside secondary containment and exceeds 25 gallons. 
 ([vv]hhh)  "Tank" is a stationary device designed to contain 
an accumulation of regulated substances and constructed of non-
earthen materials, such as concrete, steel, or plastic, that provide 
structural support. 
 ([ww]iii)  "Third-party Class B operator" is any individual 
who is not the facility owner or operator, or an employee of the owner 
or operator and who, by contract, provides the services outlined in 
Subsection R311-201-12(7). 
 ([xx]jjj)  "Under-dispenser containment,"[,] for the 
purposes of Section R311-203-6, means containment underneath a 
dispenser that will prevent leaks from the dispenser or transitional 
components that connect the piping to the dispenser, [(]check valves, 
shear valves, unburied risers or flex connectors, or other components 
that are beneath the dispenser[)], from reaching soil or groundwater. 
[ (yy)  "UST registration fee" means the fee assessed by 
Section 19-6-408 on tanks located in Utah. 
 (zz)  "UST inspection" is the inspection required by state 
and federal underground storage tank rules and regulations during the 
installation, testing, repairing, operation or maintenance, and 
removal of regulated underground storage tank.] 
 ([aaa]kkk)  "UST inspector" is an individual who performs 
[underground storage tank]PST inspections for compliance with state 
and federal rules and regulations as authorized in Subsection 19-6-
404(2)(c). 
 ([bbb]lll)  "UST installation" means the installation of an 
[underground storage tank]a PST, including construction, placing 
into operation, building, or assembling an [underground storage 
tank]a PST in the field.  It includes any operation that is critical to the 
integrity of the system and to the protection of the environment, 
which includes: 
 (i)  pre-installation tank testing, tank site preparation 
including anchoring, tank placement, and backfilling; 
 (ii)  vent and product piping assembly; 
 (iii)  cathodic protection installation, service, and repair; 
 (iv)  internal lining; 
 (v)  secondary containment construction; and 
 (vi)  UST repair and service. 
 ([ccc]mmm)  "UST installation permit fee" means the fee 
established by Subsection 19-6-411(2)(a)(ii). 
 ([ddd]nnn)  "UST installer" means an individual who 
engages in [underground storage tank]PST installation. 
 ([eee]ooo)  "UST removal" means the removal or 
permanent closure of [an underground storage tank]a PST system by 
taking out of service all or part of [an underground storage tank]a 
PST system. 
 ([fff]ppp)  "UST remover" means an individual who 
engages in [underground storage]PST tank removal. 
 ([ggg]qqq)  "UST tester" means an individual who engages 
in [underground storage tank]PST testing. 
[ (hhh)(i)  "UST testing" means: 
 (A)  a testing method which can detect leaks in an 
underground storage tank system; 
 (B)  testing for compliance with corrosion protection 
requirements; 
 (C)  testing or inspection for proper operation of overfill 
prevention devices and electronic or mechanical leak detection 
components; or 
 (D)  any testing requirements for exempt USTs or 
aboveground storage tanks that voluntarily participate in the 
Environmental Assurance Program. 
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 (ii)  testing methods must meet applicable performance 
standards: 
 (A)  40 CFR 280.40(a)(4), 280.43(c), and 280.44(b) for 
tank and product piping tightness testing; 
 (B)  40 CFR 280.35(a)(1)(ii) for testing of spill prevention 
equipment and containment sumps used for interstitial monitoring of 
piping; 
 (C)  40 CFR 280.31(b) for cathodic protection testing; 
 (D)  40 CFR 280.35(a)(2) for overfill device inspection; 
 (E)  40 CFR 280.40(a)(3) for testing of mechanical and 
electronic release detection components; and 
 (F)  interstitial testing for tank and piping secondary 
containment.] 
 
KEY:  petroleum, underground storage tanks 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 13, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-6-105; 
19-6-403 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R311-201 Filing ID 
54598 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Environmental Response and 

Remediation 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4840 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-201.  Underground Storage Tanks:  Certification 
Programs and UST Operator Training 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

S.B. 40, Storage Tank Amendment, passed in the 2021 
General Session of the Utah State Legislature, tasked the 
Division of Environmental Response and Remediation 
(DERR) to begin regulation of aboveground petroleum 
storage tanks (APSTs).  This rule clarifies applicability of 
certain underground storage tanks (USTs) certifications to 
include work performed on APSTs. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendment changes the title of Rule R311-201 to 
Petroleum Storage Tanks: Certification Programs and UST 
Operator Training.  The term USTs was changed to 
petroleum storage tanks (PSTs) where necessary to reflect 
enacted changes to the Underground Storage Tank Act. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures because 
the state does not employ PST certified individuals. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures because 
local governments do not employ PST certified individuals. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is expected to have a direct fiscal cost to 
small businesses because testing companies may choose 
to hire additional certified individuals to meet testing 
demands.  Since DERR cannot predict behavior, the 
actual cost to small businesses is inestimable. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is expected to have a direct fiscal cost to 
non-small businesses because testing companies may 
choose to hire additional certified individuals to meet 
testing demands.  Since DERR cannot predict behavior, 
the actual cost to non-small businesses is inestimable. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons may have a direct benefit to this rule if they 
are hired and trained by the small and non-small 
businesses.  This benefit is unknown because DERR 
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cannot predict how many individuals would be hired by 
these businesses.  
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule change is expected to have a direct fiscal cost to 
affected persons who choose to be PST certified.  There 
is a certification fee of approximately $225.  It is not 
possible to predict how many individuals will choose to 
become certified. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule will only impact businesses who employ PST 
certified individuals.  Kim Shelley, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelly, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-1-301 Section 19-6-403 Section 

63G-4-503 
Section 19-6-105 Section 

63G-4-102 
 

Section 19-6-402 Sections 
63G-4-201 
through 205 

 

 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: MASOB 195 
North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, Utah 
On: At: At: 
06/15/2022 2:00 PM. Multi Agency State 

Office Building, 195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT, in Room 
1015 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/29/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brent Everett, 
Director 

Date: 05/15/2022 

 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-201.  [Underground]Petroleum Storage Tanks:  
Certification Programs and UST Operator Training. 
R311-201-1.  Definitions. 
 Definitions are found in Rule R311-200. 
 
R311-201-2.  Requirement for Certification. 
 (1)  a certified [UST]PST consultant is required as specified 
in Subsection 19-6-402(7)(b). 
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 (a)  no person shall provide or contract to provide the 
following services without having certification to conduct these 
activities: 
 (i)  provide information, opinions, or advice relating to 
[UST]PST release management; 
 (ii)  abatement; 
 (iii)  investigation; 
 (iv)  corrective action; or 
 (v)  evaluation for a fee, or in connection with the services 
for which a fee is charged. 
 (A)  except as outlined in Subsection R311-204-5(2); and 
 (B)  except for releases from a hazardous substance 
[UST]PST system, as defined in 40 CFR 280.10. 
 (b)  a certified [UST]PST consultant must: 
 (i)  make pertinent project management decisions; 
 (ii)  ensure all aspects of [petroleum storage tank-related 
]work related to PSTs containing petroleum are performed in an 
appropriate manner; and 
 (iii)  sign [all]required documentation to be submitted to 
the director for work performed. 
 (c)  any [UST]PST release abatement, investigation, or 
corrective action work performed by a person who is not certified or 
who is not working under the direct supervision of a certified 
[UST]PST consultant, and is performed for compliance with Utah 
[UST]PST rules, may be rejected by the director. 
 (2)  UST inspector.  No person shall conduct [an UST]a 
PST inspection as authorized in Subsection 19-6-404(2)(c) without 
having certification to conduct such activities. 
 (a)  the director may issue a limited certification restricting 
the type of [UST]PST inspections the applicant can perform. 
 (3)  UST tester.  No owner or operator shall allow 
[UST]PST testing to be conducted on [an UST]a PST under their 
ownership or operation unless the person conducting the [UST]PST 
testing is certified according to Rule R311-201. 
 (a)  except as outlined in [Subs]Section[s] R311-201-
[2(c)(2)]3[ and R311-201-2(c)(3)], no person shall conduct 
[UST]PST testing without having certification to conduct such 
activities. 
 (b)  an individual certified under Rule R311-201 as a UST 
installer may: 
 (i)  perform a test of spill prevention equipment and 
containment sumps used for interstitial monitoring of piping, to meet 
the requirements of 40 CFR 280.35(a)(1)(ii), if no equipment that 
requires training by the manufacturer is used; 
 (ii)  perform an overfill device inspection to meet the 
requirements of 40 CFR 280.35(a)(2); 
 (iii)  perform a test for proper operation of release detection 
components to meet the requirements of 40 CFR 280.40(a)(3)(i), 
280.40(a)(3)(ii), 280.40(a)(3)(iv), and 280.40(a)(3)(v); and 
 (iv)  perform a test of a piping containment sump or under-
dispenser containment to meet the requirements of 40 CFR 
280.35(a), if no equipment that requires training by the manufacturer 
is used. 
 (c)  a [UST]PST owner or operator may: 
 (i)  perform a hydrostatic test of spill prevention equipment 
and containment sumps used for interstitial monitoring of piping, to 
meet the requirements of 40 CFR 280.35(a)(1)(ii), if no equipment 
that requires training by the manufacturer is used; and 
 (ii)  perform a test of a piping containment sump or under-
dispenser containment to meet the requirements of 40 CFR 
280.35(a), if no equipment that requires training by the manufacturer 
is used. 

 (d)  certification by the director under this rule applies only 
to the specific [UST]PST testing equipment and procedures for which 
the UST tester has been successfully trained by the manufacturer of 
the equipment, or by equivalent training as determined by the 
director, for the following types of testing: 
 (i)  tank, line, and leak detector testing; 
 (ii)  interstitial tests of tanks and piping; and 
 (iii)  spill prevention device and containment sump testing, 
if equipment that requires training by the manufacturer is used. 
 (e)  the director may issue a limited certification restricting 
the type of [UST]PST testing the applicant can perform. 
 (4)  Certified sampler.  No person shall conduct 
environmental media sampling for determining levels of 
contamination which may have occurred from regulated [USTs]PSTs 
without having certification to conduct these activities. 
 (a)  no owner or operator shall allow any environmental 
media sampling for determining levels of contamination which may 
have occurred from regulated [USTs]PSTs to be conducted on a tank 
under their ownership or operation unless the person conducting the 
environmental media sampling is certified according to Rule R311-
201. 
 (5)  UST installer.  No person shall install a [UST]PST 
without having certification or the on-site supervision of an 
individual having certification to conduct these activities. 
 (a)  no owner or operator shall allow the installation of a 
[UST]PST, or any component thereof, under their ownership or 
operation unless the person installing the [UST]PST is certified 
according to Rule R311-201. 
 (b)  the director may issue a limited certification restricting 
the type of [UST]PST installation the applicant can perform. 
 (6)  UST remover.  No person shall remove a [UST]PST 
without having certification or the on-site supervision of an 
individual having certification to conduct these activities. 
 (a)  no owner or operator shall allow the removal of a 
[UST]PST, or any component thereof, under their ownership or 
operation unless the person conducting the [UST]PST removal is 
certified according to Rule R311-201. 
 
R311-201-3.  Eligibility for Certification. 
 (1)  Certified [UST]PST consultant. 
 (a)  training.  For initial and renewal certification, an 
applicant must meet: 
 (i)  Occupational Safety and Health Agency safety training 
requirements in accordance with 29 CFR 1910.120 and any other 
applicable safety training, as required by federal and state law; and 
 (ii)  within a six-month period [prior to]before application, 
complete an approved training course or equivalent in a program 
approved by the director to provide training to include the following 
areas: 
 (A)  state and federal statutes; 
 (B)  rules and regulations; 
 (C)  environmental media sampling; and 
 (D)  department policies. 
 (b)  experience.  Each applicant must provide with the 
application a signed statement or other evidence demonstrating: 
 (i)  three years, within the past seven years, of appropriately 
related experience in [UST]PST release abatement, investigation, and 
corrective action; or 
 (ii)  an equivalent combination of appropriate education 
and experience, as determined by the director. 
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 (c)  education.  Each applicant must provide with the 
application college transcripts or other evidence demonstrating the 
following: 
 (i)  a bachelor's or advanced degree from an accredited 
college or university with major study in environmental health, 
engineering, biological, chemical, environmental, or physical 
science, or a specialized or related scientific field, or equivalent 
education[/] or experience as determined by the director; 
 (ii)  a professional engineering certificate licensed under 
Title 58, Chapter 22, of the Professional Engineers and Land 
Surveyors Licensing Act, or equivalent certification as determined by 
the director; or 
 (iii)  a professional geologist certificate licensed under Title 
58, Chapter 76 of the Professional Geologist Licensing Act, or 
equivalent certification as determined by the director. 
 (d)  initial certification examination.  Each applicant who 
is not certified pursuant to Section R311-201-4 must successfully 
pass an initial certification examination or equivalent, administered 
under the direction of the director. 
 (i)  the director shall determine the content of the initial 
examination based on the training requirements as outlined in 
Subsection R311-201-3(1)(a). 
 (e)  renewal certification examination.  Certified [UST]PST 
consultants seeking to renew their certification pursuant to Section 
R311-201-5 must successfully pass a renewal certification 
examination, or equivalent administered under the direction of the 
director. 
 (i)  the director shall determine the content of the renewal 
examination based on the training requirements as outlined in 
Subsection R311-201-3(1)(a). 
 (ii)  the director may offer a renewal certification 
examination that is less comprehensive than the initial certification 
examination. 
 (f)  examination for revoked or expired certification.  Any 
applicant who is not a certified [UST]PST consultant on the date the 
renewal certification examination is given because the consultant's 
prior certification was revoked or expired [prior to]before completing 
a renewal application, must successfully pass the initial certification 
examination administered under Subsection R311-201-3(1)(d). 
 (2)  UST inspector. 
 (a)  training.  For initial certification, an applicant must 
have successfully completed a [UST]PST inspector training course 
or equivalent within the six[ ]-month period [prior to]before 
application. 
 (i)  the training course must be approved by the director and 
shall include instruction in the following areas: 
 (A)  corrosion; 
 (B)  geology; 
 (C)  hydrology; 
 (D)  tank handling; 
 (E)  tank testing; 
 (F)  product piping testing; 
 (G)  disposal; 
 (H)  safety; 
 (I)  sampling methodology; 
 (J)  state site inspection protocol; 
 (K)  state and federal statutes; and 
 (L)  Utah [UST]PST rules and regulations. 
 (ii)  renewal certification training will be established by the 
director. 
 (iii)  the applicant must provide documentation of training 
with the application. 

 (b)  certification examination.  An applicant must 
successfully pass a certification examination administered under the 
direction of the director. 
 (i)  the director shall determine the content of the initial and 
renewal examinations, based on the training requirements as outlined 
in Subsection R311-201-3(2)(a), and the standards and criteria 
against which the applicant will be evaluated. 
 (ii)  the director may offer a renewal certification 
examination that is less comprehensive than the initial certification 
examination. 
 (3)  UST tester. 
 (a)  financial assurance.  An applicant or applicant's 
employer must have insurance, surety bonds, liquid company assets 
or other appropriate kinds of financial assurance which covers 
[UST]PST testing and which, in combination, represent an 
unencumbered value of the largest [UST]PST testing contract 
performed by the applicant or the applicant's employer, as 
appropriate, during the previous two years, or $50,000, whichever is 
greater. 
 (i)  an applicant who uses their employer's financial 
assurance must also provide evidence of their employer's approval of 
the certification application. 
 (b)  training.  For initial certification, an applicant must 
complete a [UST]PST tester's training course within the six[ ]-month 
period [prior to]before application, in a program approved by the 
director, to provide training to include applicable and related areas of 
state and federal statutes, rules, and regulations. 
 (i)  renewal certification training will be established by the 
director. 
 (A)  the applicant must provide documentation of training 
with the application. 
 (ii)  for initial certification to perform the types of testing 
specified in Subsection R311-201-2(3)[(c)], an applicant must have 
successfully passed a training course conducted by the manufacturer 
of the [UST]PST testing equipment that they will be using, or a 
training course determined by the director to be equivalent to the 
manufacturer training, in the correct use of the equipment and testing 
procedures required to operate the [UST]PST test system. 
 (iii)  an applicant for renewal of certification must have 
successfully passed an appropriate refresher training course 
conducted by the manufacturer of the [UST]PST testing equipment 
that they will be using, or training as determined by the director to be 
equivalent to the manufacturer training, in the correct use of the 
equipment and testing procedures required to operate the [UST]PST 
test system. 
 (A)  for renewal certification, refresher training, or 
equivalent must be completed within one year [prior to]before the 
expiration date of the certificate. 
 (iv)  cathodic protection testing. For initial and renewal of 
certification, the applicant must provide documentation of training as 
a "Cathodic protection tester" as defined in 40 CFR 280.12 with the 
application. 
 (c)  performance standards of equipment.  An applicant 
must submit documentation that demonstrates the [UST]PST testing 
equipment used by the applicant meets the performance standards 
specified in Subsection R311-200-1(2)[(hhh)(ii)](ss)(v). 
 (i)  this documentation shall be obtained through an 
independent lab, professional engineering firm, or other independent 
organization or individual approved by the director and submitted at 
the time of application for certification. 
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 (d)  certification examination.  An applicant must 
successfully pass a certification examination administered under the 
direction of the director. 
 (i)  the director shall determine the content of the initial and 
renewal examinations, based on the training requirements as outlined 
in Subsection R311-201-3(3)(b), and the standards and criteria 
against which the applicant will be evaluated. 
 (ii)  the director may offer a renewal certification 
examination that is less comprehensive than the initial certification 
examination. 
 (4)  Certified sampler. 
 (a)  training.  For initial certification an applicant must 
successfully complete a petroleum storage tank environmental media 
sampler training course or equivalent within the six[ ]-month period 
[prior to]before application. 
 (i)  the training course must be approved by the director and 
shall include instruction in the following areas: 
 (A)  chain of custody; 
 (B)  decontamination; 
 (C)  EPA testing methods; 
 (D)  environmental media sampling protocol; 
 (E)  preservation of samples during transportation; 
 (F)  coordination with Utah certified laboratories; and 
 (G)  state and federal statutes, rules, and regulations. 
 (ii)  renewal certification training will be determined by the 
director. 
 (A)  the applicant shall provide documentation of training 
with the application. 
 (b)  certification examination.  An applicant must 
successfully pass a certification examination administered under the 
direction of the director. 
 (i)  the director shall determine the content of the initial and 
subsequent examinations, based on the training requirements as 
outlined in Subsection R311-201-3(4)(a), and the standards and 
criteria against which the applicant will be evaluated. 
 (ii)  the director may offer a renewal certification 
examination that is less comprehensive than the initial certification 
examination. 
 (5)  UST installer. 
 (a)  financial assurance.  An applicant or the applicant's 
employer must have insurance, surety bonds, liquid company assets, 
or other appropriate kinds of financial assurance which covers 
[UST]PST installation and which, in combination, represents an 
unencumbered value of not less than the largest [UST]PST 
installation contract performed by the applicant or the applicant's 
employer, as appropriate, during the previous two years, or $250,000, 
whichever is greater. 
 (i)  evidence of financial assurance shall be provided with 
the application. 
 (ii)  an applicant who uses their employer's financial 
assurance must also provide evidence of their employer's approval of 
the application. 
 (b)  training.  For initial certification, an applicant must 
have successfully completed a [UST]PST installer training course or 
equivalent within the six-month period [prior to]before the 
application. 
 (i)  the training course must be approved by the director, 
and shall include instruction in the following areas: 
 (A)  tank installation; 
 (B)  pre-installation tank testing; 
 (C)  product piping testing; 

 (D)  excavation; 
 (E)  anchoring; 
 (F)  backfilling; 
 (G)  secondary containment; 
 (H)  leak detection methods; 
 (I)  piping; 
 (J)  electrical; and 
 (K)  state and federal statutes, rules, and regulations. 
 (ii)  the applicant must provide documentation of training 
with the application. 
 (c)  experience.  Each applicant must provide with their 
application a sworn statement or other evidence that they have 
actively participated in a minimum of three [UST]PST installations. 
 (d)  certification examination.  An applicant must 
successfully pass a certification examination administered under the 
direction of the director. 
 (i)  the director shall determine the content of the initial and 
renewal examinations, based on the training requirements as outlined 
in Subsection R311-201-3(5)(b), and the standards and criteria 
against which the applicant will be evaluated. 
 (ii)  the director may offer a renewal certification 
examination that is less comprehensive than the initial certification 
examination. 
 (6)  UST remover. 
 (a)  financial assurance.  An applicant or the applicant's 
employer must have insurance, surety bonds, liquid company assets 
or other appropriate kinds of financial assurance which covers 
[UST]PST removal and which, in combination, represents an 
unencumbered value of not less than the largest [UST]PST removal 
contract performed by the applicant or the applicant's employer, as 
appropriate, during the previous two years, or $250,000, whichever 
is greater. 
 (i)  evidence of financial assurance shall be provided with 
the application. 
 (ii)  an applicant who uses their employer's financial 
assurance must also provide evidence of their employer's approval of 
the application. 
 (b)  training.  For initial certification, an applicant must 
have successfully completed a [UST]PST remover approved training 
course or equivalent within the six-month period [prior to]before the 
application. 
 (i)  the training course must be approved by the director and 
shall include instruction in the following areas: 
 (A)  tank removal; 
 (B)  tank removal safety practices; and 
 (C)  state and federal statutes, rules, and regulations. 
 (ii)  the applicant must provide documentation of training 
with the application. 
 (c)  experience.  Each applicant must provide with their 
application a sworn statement or other evidence that they have 
actively participated in a minimum of three [UST]PST removals. 
 (d)  certification examination.  An applicant must 
successfully pass a certification examination administered under the 
direction of the director. 
 (i)  the director shall determine the content of the initial and 
renewal examinations, based on the training requirements as outlined 
in Subsection R311-201-3(6)(b), and the standards and criteria 
against which the applicant will be evaluated. 
 (ii)  the director may offer a renewal certification 
examination that is less comprehensive than the initial certification 
examination. 
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R311-201-4.  Application for Certification. 
 (1)  Any individual may apply for certification by paying 
any applicable fees and by submitting an application to the director 
to demonstrate that the applicant 
 (a)  meets applicable eligibility requirements specified in 
Section R311-201-3; and 
 (b)  will maintain the applicable performance standards 
specified in Section R311-201-6 after receiving a certificate. 
 (2)  Applications submitted under Subsection R311-201-
4[(a)](1) shall be reviewed by the director for determination of 
eligibility for certification. 
 (a)  if the director determines that the applicant meets the 
applicable eligibility requirements described in Section R311-201-3 
and meets the standards described in Section R311-201-6, the 
director shall issue to the applicant a certificate. 
 (3)  Certification for [all ]certificate holders shall be 
effective for a period of two years from the date of issuance, unless 
revoked before the expiration date pursuant to Section R311-201-9 
or inactivated pursuant to Section R311-201-8. 
 (a)  certificates shall be subject to periodic renewal 
pursuant to Section R311-201-5. 
 
R311-201-5.  Renewal. 
 (1)  A certificate holder may apply for certificate renewal 
not more than six months [prior to]before the expiration date of the 
certificate by: 
 (a)  submitting a completed application form to 
demonstrate that the applicant meets the applicable eligibility 
requirements described in Section R311-201-3 and meets the 
applicable performance standards specified in Section R311-201-6; 
 (b)  paying any applicable fees; and 
 (c)  passing a certification renewal examination. 
 (2)  If the director determines that the applicant meets the 
applicable eligibility requirements of Section R311-201-3 and the 
applicable performance standards of Section R311-201-6, the 
director shall reissue the certificate to the applicant. 
 (3)  Renewal certificates shall be issued for a period equal 
to the initial certification period and shall be: 
 (a)  subject to inactivation under Section R311-201-8; and 
 (b)  subject to revocation under Section R311-201-9. 
 (4)  Any applicant who has a certification which has been 
revoked or expired for more than two years [prior to]before 
submitting a renewal application must successfully satisfy the 
training and certification examination requirements for initial 
certification under Section R311-201-3 for the applicable certificate 
before receiving the renewal certification. 
 (a)  except as provided in Subsection R311-201-3(1)(f) for 
certified [UST]PST consultants. 
 
R311-201-6.  Standards of Performance. 
 (1)  Individuals who are certified in accordance with Rule 
R311-201 must: 
 (a)  display the certificate upon request; 
 (b)  comply with all local, state, and federal laws, rules, and 
regulations regarding the [UST]PST activity for which certification 
is granted; 
 (c)  report the discovery of any release caused by or 
encountered in the course of performing the [UST]PST activity for 
which certification is granted to the director, the local health district, 
and the local public safety office within 24 hours. 
 (i)  certified [UST]PST consultants and certified 
[groundwater and soil ]samplers must report the discovery of any 

release caused by or encountered in the course of performing 
environmental media sampling for compliance with Utah [UST]PST 
rules, or report the results indicating that a release may have occurred, 
to the director, the local health district, and the local public safety 
office within 24 hours. 
 (d)  not participate in fraudulent, unethical, deceitful, or 
dishonest activity with respect to a certificate application or 
performance of work for which certification is granted; and 
 (e)  not participate in any other regulated certification 
program activities without meeting all requirements of that 
certification program. 
 (2)  The director may audit or commission an[d] audit of 
records which support eligibility for certification, or performance of 
work for which certification is granted, at any time. 
 (a)  audits may be determined by random selection or for 
specific reasons, including suspicion or discovery of inaccuracies on 
an application for certification or performance of substandard work 
for which certification is granted, or deficiencies in complying with 
regulations. 
 (3)  Certified individuals must, in addition to meeting the 
performance standards in Subsection R311-201-6(1), comply with 
the following: 
 (a)  certified [UST]PST consultant. An individual who 
provides [UST]PST consulting services in the [S]state [of Utah 
]must: 
 (i)  provide, or shall associate appropriate personnel [in 
order ]to provide a high level of experience and expertise in release 
abatement, investigation, or corrective action; 
 (ii)  perform, or take steps to ensure that work is performed 
with skill, care, and diligence consistent with a high level of 
experience and expertise in release abatement, investigation, or 
corrective action; 
 (iii)  perform work and submit documentation in a timely 
manner; 
 (iv)  review and certify by signature any documentation 
submitted to the director in accordance with [UST]PST release-
related compliance; and 
 (v)  ensure and certify by signature [all ]pertinent release 
abatement, investigation, and corrective action work performed 
under the direct supervision of a certified [UST]PST consultant. 
 (b)  UST inspector.  An individual who performs [UST]PST 
inspecting for the Division of Environmental Response and 
Remediation shall: 
 (i)  conduct inspections of [USTs]PSTs and records to 
determine compliance with this rule only as authorized by the 
director. 
 (c)  UST tester.  An individual who performs [UST]PST 
testing in the [S]state [of Utah ]must: 
 (i)  perform [all ]work in a manner that does not cause a 
release of the contents of the tank; 
 (ii)  assure that [all ]operations of [UST]PST testing which 
are critical to the integrity of the system and to the protection of the 
environment are supervised by a certified person; and 
 (iii)  perform work in a manner that the integrity of the 
[UST]PST system is maintained. 
 (d)  UST installer.  An individual who performs [UST]PST 
installation or repair in [the State of ]Utah must: 
 (i)  be certified to assure the proper installation of all 
elements of [UST]PST systems which are critical to the integrity of 
the system and to the protection of the environment, including: 
 (A)  pre-installation tank testing; 
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 (B)  tank site preparation including anchoring, tank 
placement, and backfilling; 
 (C)  cathodic protection installation, service, or repair; 
 (D)  vent and product piping assembly; 
 (E)  fill tube attachment; 
 (F)  installation of tank manholes; 
 (H)  secondary containment construction; and 
 (ii)  notify the director as required by Subsection R311-
203-[4(1)]3(1) before installing or upgrading an [UST]PST. 
 (e)  UST remover.  An individual who performs [UST]PST 
removal in the [S]state [of Utah ]must: 
 (i)  assure that [all ]operations of tank removal which are 
critical to safety and to the protection of the environment which 
includes: 
 (A)  removal of soil adjacent to the tank; 
 (B)  disassembly of pipe; 
 (C)  final removal of product and sludges from the tank, 
cleaning of the tank, purging or inerting of the tank, removal of the 
tank from the ground, and removal of the tank from the site must be 
supervised by a certified person; and 
 (ii)  not proceed to close a regulated [UST]PST without an 
approved closure plan, except as outlined in Subsection R311-204-
2(2). 
 
R311-201-7.  Denial of Certification and Appeal of Denial. 
 (1)  Any individual whose application or renewal 
application for certification or certification renewal is denied will be 
provided with a written documentation by the director specifying the 
reason or reasons for denial. 
 (a)  an applicant may appeal the determination using the 
procedures specified in Section 19-1-301.5, et seq., and Rule R305-
7. 
 
R311-201-8.  Inactivation of Certification. 
 (1)  If an applicant was certified based upon their 
employer's financial assurance, certification is contingent upon the 
applicant's continued employment by that employer. 
 (2)  If the employer loses their financial assurance or the 
applicant leaves the employer, their certification will automatically 
be deemed inactive and they will no longer be certified for purposes 
of this rule. 
 (3)  Inactive certificates may be reactivated by submitting 
a supplemental application with new financial assurances and 
payment of any applicable fees. 
 (4)  Reactivated certificates shall be effective for the 
remainder of their original term unless subsequently revoked or 
inactivated before the end of that term. 
 
R311-201-9.  Revocation of Certification. 
 (1)  Upon receipt of evidence that a certificate holder does 
not meet one or more of the eligibility requirements specified in 
Section R311-201-3 or does not meet one or more of the performance 
standards specified in Section R311-201-6, the individual's 
certification may be revoked. 
 (a)  procedures for revocation are specified in Rule R305-
7. 
 
R311-201-10.  Reciprocity. 
 (1)  If the director determines that another state's 
certification program is equivalent to the certification program 
referred to in this rule, the applicant successfully passes the Utah 

certification examination, and payment of any fees associated with 
this rule are made, the director may issue a Utah certificate. 
 (a)  The certificate will be valid until the expiration date of 
the previous state's certificate or the expiration of the certification 
period described in Subsection R311-201-4(3), whichever occurs 
first. 
 
R311-201-12.  UST Operator Training and Registration. 
 (1)  To meet the operator training requirement [(]42 USC 
Section 6991i[)] of the Solid Waste Disposal Act as amended by the 
Energy Policy Act of 2005, each UST facility must have UST facility 
operators that are trained and registered according to the 
requirements of this section. 
 (2)  Each facility must have three classes of operators: A, 
B, and C. 
 (a)  a facility may have more than one person designated 
for each operator class. 
 (b)  an individual acting as a Class A or B operator may do 
so for more than one facility. 
 (3)  The UST owner or operator must provide 
documentation to the director to identify the Class A, B, and C 
operators for each facility. 
 (a)  if an owner or operator does not register and identify 
Class A, B, and C operators for a facility, the certificate of compliance 
for the facility may be revoked for failure to demonstrate substantial 
compliance with all applicable state and federal statutes, rules, and 
regulations. 
 (4)  New Class A and B operators must be trained and 
registered within 30 days of assuming responsibility for an UST 
facility. 
 (5)  New Class C operators must be trained before 
assuming the responsibilities of a Class C operator. 
 (6)  The Class A operator shall be an owner, operator, 
employee, or individual designated under Subsection R311-201-
12(6)(b). 
 (a)  the Class A operator has primary responsibility for the 
broader aspects of the statutory and regulatory requirements and 
standards necessary to operate and maintain the UST system.  The 
Class A operator must: 
 (i)  have a general knowledge of UST systems; 
 (ii)  ensure that UST records are properly maintained 
according to 40 CFR 280; 
 (iii)  ensure that yearly UST fees are paid; 
 (iv)  ensure proper response to and reporting of 
emergencies caused by releases or spills from USTs; 
 (v)  make financial responsibility documents available to 
the director as required; and 
 (vi)  ensure that Class B and Class C operators are trained 
and registered. 
 (b)  an owner or operator may designate a [thirdparty]third-
party Class B operator as a Class A operator if: 
 (i)  the UST owner or operator is a financial institution or 
person who acquired ownership of an UST facility solely to protect a 
security interest in that property and has not operated the USTs at the 
facility; 
 (ii)  all USTs at the facility are properly temporarily closed 
in accordance with 40 CFR 280.70 and Section R311-204-4; and 
 (iii)  all USTs at the facility are empty in accordance with 
40 CFR 280.70(a). 
 (7)  The Class B operator must implement routine daily 
aspects of operation, maintenance, and recordkeeping for UST 
systems. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, June 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 11 39 

 (a)  the Class B operator shall be an owner, operator, 
employee, or third-party Class B operator.  The Class B operator 
must: 
 (i)  ensure that on-site UST operator inspections are 
conducted according to the requirements of Section R311-203-7; 
 (ii)  ensure that UST release detection is performed 
according to 40 CFR 280 subpart D; 
 (iii)  ensure that the status of the UST system is monitored 
for alarms and unusual operating conditions that may indicate a 
release; 
 (iv)  document the reason for an alarm or unusual operating 
condition identified in Subsection R311-201-12(7)(iii), if it is not 
reported as a suspected release according to 40 CFR 280.50; 
 (v)  ensure that appropriate release detection and other 
records are kept according to 40 CFR 280.34 and 280.45, and are 
made available for inspection; 
 (vi)  ensure that spill prevention, overfill prevention, and 
corrosion protection requirements are met; 
 (vii)  be on site for facility compliance inspections, or 
designate another individual to be on site for inspections; 
 (viii)  ensure that suspected releases are reported according 
to the requirements of 40 CFR 280.50; and 
 (ix)  ensure that Class C operators are trained and 
registered, and are on site during operating hours. 
 (8)  Any individual providing services as a third-party Class 
B operator must be trained and registered in accordance with 
Subsection R311-201-12(10) and must: 
 (a)  be certified in accordance with Rule R311-201 as: 
 (i)  a UST tester; or 
 (ii)  a UST installer as either a general installer or a service 
or repair technician; or 
 (b)  meet the training requirements of a certified UST 
inspector and document comprehensive or general liability insurance 
with limits of $250,000 minimum per occurrence. 
 (9)  The Class C operator is an employee and is generally 
the first line of response to events indicating emergency conditions.  
A Class C operator must: 
 (a)  be present at the facility at all times during normal 
operating hours; 
 (b)  monitor product transfer operations according to 40 
CFR 280.30(a), to ensure that spills and overfills do not occur; 
 (c)  properly respond to alarms, spills, and overfills; 
 (d)  notify Class A operators,  Class B operators, or both, 
and appropriate emergency responders when necessary; and 
 (e)  act in response to emergencies and other situations 
caused by spills or releases from an UST system that pose an 
immediate danger or threat to the public or to the environment, and 
that require immediate action. 
 (10)  Operator training and registration. 
 (a)  training and testing. 
 (i)  applicants for Class A and B operator registration must 
successfully complete an approved operator training course within 
the six-month period [prior to]before application. 
 (ii)  the training course must be approved by the director, 
and shall include instruction in the following: 
 (A)  notification; 
 (B)  temporary and permanent closure; 
 (C)  installation permitting; 
 (D)  UST requirements of the 2005 Energy Policy Act; 
 (E)  Class A, B, and C operator responsibilities; 
 (F)  spill prevention; 
 (G)  overfill prevention; 

 (H)  UST release detection; 
 (I)  corrosion protection; 
 (J)  record[-]keeping requirements; 
 (K)  emergency response; 
 (L)  product compatibility; 
 (M)  Utah [UST]PST rules and regulations; 
 (N)  UST financial responsibility; and 
 (O)  delivery prohibition. 
 (iii)  applicants for Class A and B operator registration must 
successfully pass a registration examination authorized by the 
director. 
 (A)  the director shall determine the content of the 
examination. 
 (iv)  an individual applying for Class A or B operator 
registration may be exempted from meeting the requirements of 
Subsections R311-201-12(10)(a)(i) and R311-201-12(10)(a)(iii) by 
completing the following within the six-month period [prior 
to]before application: 
 (A)  successfully passing a nationally recognized UST 
operator examination approved by the director; and 
 (B)  successfully passing a Utah [UST]PST rules and 
regulations examination authorized by the director. 
 (v)  the director shall determine the content of the 
examination. 
 (vi)  Class C operators shall receive instruction in product 
transfer procedures, emergency response, and initial response to 
alarms and releases. 
 (b)  registration application. 
 (i)  applicants for Class A and B operator registration must: 
 (A)  submit a registration application to the director; 
 (B)  document proper training; and 
 (C)  pay any applicable fees. 
 (ii)  Class C operators shall be designated by a Class B 
operator. 
 (iii)  the Class B operator must maintain a list identifying 
the Class C operators for each [UST]PST facility.  The list must 
identify: 
 (A)  each Class C operator; 
 (B)  the date of training; and 
 (C)  the trainer. 
 (iv)  identification on the list serves as the operator 
registration for Class C operators. 
 (v)  a registered Class A or B operator may act as a Class C 
operator by meeting the training and registration requirements for a 
Class C operator. 
 (vi)  Class A and B registration shall be effective for a 
period of three years, and shall not lapse or become inactive if the 
registered operator leaves the employment of the company under 
which the registration was obtained. 
 (c)  renewal of registration. 
 (i)  Class A and B operators shall apply for renewal of 
registration not more than six months [prior to]before the expiration 
of the registration by: 
 (A)  submitting a completed application form; 
 (B)  paying any applicable fees; and 
 (C)  documenting successful completion of any re-training 
required by Subsection R311-201-12(10)(d). 
 (ii)  if the director determines that the operator meets [all 
]the requirements for registration, the director shall renew the 
applicant's registration for a period equal to the initial registration. 
 (iii)  any applicant for renewal who has a registration that 
has been expired for more than two years [prior to]before submitting 
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a renewal application must successfully satisfy the training and 
examination requirements for initial registration under Subsection 
R311-201-12(10)(a) before receiving the renewal registration. 
 (d)  re-training. 
 (i)  a Class A operator is subject to re-training requirements 
if any facility for which the Class A operator has oversight is found 
to be out of compliance due to: 
 (A)  lapsing of certificate of compliance; 
 (B)  failure to provide acceptable financial responsibility; 
or 
 (C)  failure to ensure that Class B and C operators are 
trained and registered. 
 (ii)  a Class B operator is subject to re-training requirements 
if a facility for which the Class B operator has oversight is found to 
be out of compliance due to: 
 (A)  failure to document compliance, as determined by the 
Technical Compliance Rate; 
 (I)  Technical Compliance Rate is determined using the 
EPA "UST and LUST Performance Definitions as of October 2018" 
and incorporated [herein ]by reference. 
 (B)  failure to perform UST operator inspections required 
by Section R311-203-7; or 
 (C)  failure to ensure that Class C operators are trained and 
registered, and are on site during operating hours. 
 (iii)  to be re-trained, Class A and Class B operators must 
successfully complete the appropriate Class A or B operator training 
course and examination, or must complete an equivalent re-training 
course and examination approved by the director. 
 (iv)  Class A and B operators must be re-trained within 90 
days of the date of the determination of non-compliance, and shall 
submit documentation showing successful completion of the re-
training to the director within 30 days of the re-training. 
 (A)  if the documentation is not received by the director 
within 120 days of the date of the determination of non-compliance, 
the Class A or B operator's registration shall lapse. 
 (B)  to re-register, the operator shall meet the requirements 
of Subsections R311-201-12(10)(a) and R311-201-12(10)(b). 
 (v)  if a facility for which a Class A or B operator has 
oversight is found to be out of compliance under Subsection[s] R311-
201-12(10)(d)(i) or R311-201-12(10)(d) (ii), re-training is not 
required if the Class A or B operator successfully completes and 
documents re-training under Subsection R311-201-12(10)(d) for a 
prior determination of non-compliance that occurred during the 
previous nine months. 
 (11)  Reciprocity. 
 (a)  if the director determines that another state's operator 
training program is equivalent to the operator training program 
provided in this rule, [he]the director may accept an applicant's Class 
A or Class B registration application, provided that the applicant: 
 (i)  submits a completed application form; 
 (ii)  passes the Utah [UST]PST rules and regulations 
examination referenced in Subsection R311-201-12(10)(a)(iv)(B); 
and 
 (iii)  submits payment of any applicable registration fees. 
 (b)  the Class A or Class B registration is valid until the 
Utah registration expiration described in Subsection R311-201-
12(10)(b)(vi). 
 
KEY:  hazardous substances, administrative proceedings, 
underground storage tanks, petroleum storage tanks, revocation 
procedures 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 13, 2021] 

Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-1-301; 
19-6-105; 19-6-402; 19-6-403; 63G-4-102; 63G-4-201 through 
205; 63G-4-503 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Environmental Response and 

Remediation 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
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Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
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Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-203. Underground Storage Tanks:  Technical 
Standards 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 40, Storage Tank Amendment, passed in the 2021 
General Session of the Utah State Legislature, tasked the 
Division of Environmental Response and Remediation 
(DERR) to begin regulation of aboveground petroleum 
storage tanks (APSTs). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes add requirements for notification for APSTs 
found in Subsection 19-6-407(2).  For owners and 
operators who participate in the environmental assurance 
program (EAP), added leak detection and testing 
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requirements for APSTs to meet the requirements for 
issuance of a certificate of compliance (Section R311-206-
3).  For owners and operators who participate in the EAP, 
added phase-in timeline to minimize financial impact for 
APST owners to meet certain standards. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule 
R311-206 is under ID 54603 in this issue, June 1, 2022, of 
the Bulletin.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
In Section R311-203-2, the fiscal impact of the one-time 
$250 processing fee was estimated in the fiscal note 
attached to S.B. 40 (2021) as required in Subsection 19-
6-407(2)(b).  Qualified APSTs last used before 05/05/2021 
must notify but are not subject to this fee. 
 
In Section R311-203-4, this rule change is expected to 
have a fiscal cost on the approximately 38 state-owned 
facilities with APSTs because they will pay a yearly PST 
registration fee.  The approximate total cost for these 
facilities was estimated in the fiscal note attached to S.B. 
40 (2021). 
 
In Section R311-203-4, this rule change is expected to 
have fiscal benefit on the state government, DEQ-DERR, 
because the number of PST registration fees collected per 
year will increase.  This benefit is inestimable because it is 
unknown how many PST systems will be registered. 
 
In Section R311-203-5, this rule change is not expected to 
have a fiscal impact on the state government's fleet 
services APST sites because these sites already meet the 
requirements set forth in the rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

In Section R311-203-2, the fiscal impact of the one-time 
$250 processing fee was estimated in the fiscal note 
attached to S.B. 40 (2021) as required in Subsection 19-
6-407(2)(b).  Qualified APSTs last used before 05/05/2021 
must notify but are not subject to this fee. 
 
In Section R311-203-4, this rule change is expected to 
have a fiscal cost on the approximately 200 local-
government owned facilities with APSTs because they will 
pay a yearly PST registration fee.  The approximate total 
was estimated in the fiscal note attached to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
In Section R311-203-5, there is a direct fiscal cost to local-
government owned facilities with APSTs.  There are 
approximately 160 sites owned by local governments that 
will participate in the EAP.  Each site has an average of 3 
APSTs each that will be affected by this rule.  The 
approximate total cost for all these facilities combined is 
$96,000 per year for FY23.  This cost will decrease to 
$48,000 for FY24 and FY25.  The cost per facility will 

increase FY26 due to the phase-in of additional 
requirements needed by FY27.  The FY26 fiscal cost is 
inestimable due to variation in type of APST facilities which 
may require upgrades to meet these standards which are 
already required to meet International Fire Code as 
adopted pursuant to Utah State Fire Code Section 15A-5-
103. 
 
This estimate was reached using the average contractor 
cost for a facility with 3 APSTs; spill bucket testing 
($300/facility, every 3 years); and line tightness testing 
($300/facility, annually). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
In Section R311-203-2, the fiscal impact of the one-time 
$250 processing fee was estimated in the fiscal note 
attached to S.B. 40 (2021) as required in Subsection 19-
6-407(2)(b).  Qualified APSTs last used before 05/05/2021 
must notify but are not subject to this fee. 
 
In Section R311-203-4, this rule change is expected to 
have a fiscal cost on the approximately 200 small 
business-owned facilities with APSTs because they will 
pay a yearly PST registration fee.  The approximate total 
cost for all these facilities was estimated in the fiscal note 
attached to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
In Section R311-203-5, there is a direct fiscal cost to small 
business-owned facilities with APSTs.  There are 
approximately 160 sites owned by small business that will 
participate in the EAP.  Each site has an average of 3 
APSTs each that will be affected by this rule.  The 
approximate total cost for all these facilities combined is 
$96,000 per year for FY23.  This cost will decrease to 
$48,000 for FY24 and FY25.  The cost per facility will 
increase FY26 due to the phase-in of additional 
requirements needed by FY27.  The FY26 fiscal cost is 
inestimable due to variation in type of APST facilities which 
may require upgrades to meet these standards which are 
already required to meet International Fire Code as 
adopted pursuant to Utah State Fire Code Section 15A-5-
103. 
  
This estimate was reached using the average contractor 
cost for a facility with 3 APSTs; Tank Tightness testing 
($900/facility, FY23 only); spill bucket testing ($300/facility, 
every 3 years); and line tightness testing ($300/facility, 
annually). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
In Section R311-203-2, the fiscal impact of the one-time 
$250 processing fee was estimated in the fiscal attached 
to S.B. 40 (2021) as required in Subsection 19-6-
407(2)(b).  Qualified APSTs last used before 05/05/2021 
must notify but are not subject to this fee. 
 
In Section R311-203-4, this rule change is expected to 
have a fiscal cost on the approximately 200 non-small 
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business-owned facilities with APSTs because they will 
pay a yearly PST registration fee.  The approximate total 
cost for all these facilities was estimated in the fiscal note 
attached to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
In Section R311-203-5, there is a direct fiscal cost to non-
small business-owned facilities with APSTs.  There are 
approximately 160 sites owned by non-small businesses 
that will participate in the EAP.  Each site has an average 
of 3 APSTs each that will be affected by this rule.  The 
approximate total cost for all these facilities combined is 
$96,000 per year for FY23.  This cost will decrease to 
$48,000 for FY24 and FY25.  The cost per facility will 
increase FY26 due to the phase-in of additional 
requirements needed by FY27.  The FY26 fiscal cost is 
inestimable due to variation in type of APST facilities which 
may require upgrades to meet these standards which are 
already required to meet International Fire Code as 
adopted pursuant to Utah State Fire Code Section 15A-5-
103. 
 
This estimate was reached using the average contractor 
cost for a facility with 3 APSTs; spill bucket testing 
($300/facility, every 3 years); and line tightness testing 
($300/facility, annually). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These rule changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other persons because the rule changes will not 
apply to these entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
PST registration annually ($110/APST annually) required 
for all APSTs by Section R311-203-4 starting FY23.  Spill 
Bucket (SB) tests ($100/SB every 3 years) required for 
APSTs participating in the EAP by Section R311-203-5 
starting FY23.  Line Tightness Testing (LTT)($100/line 
annually) required for APSTs participating in the EAP by 
Section R311-203-5 starting FY23. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule will likely have a cost for businesses who choose 
to use EAP as their form of financial assurance.  Meeting 
certain standards to participate in the EAP prevents 
releases and minimizes impact on the petroleum storage 
tank fund.  Kim Shelley, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 

included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

0 0 0 

Local 
Governments 

$96,000 $48,000 $48,000 

Small 
Businesses 

$96,000 $48,000 $48,000 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$96,000 $48,000 $48,000 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$288,000 $144,000 $144,000 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelly, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-403 Section 19-6-408 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 
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B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
06/15/2022 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building,195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT, in Room 
1015 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/29/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brent Everett, 
Director 

Date: 05/15/2022 

 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-203.  [Underground]Petroleum Storage Tanks:  Technical 
Standards. 
R311-203-1.  Definitions. 
 Definitions are found in Rule R311-200. 
 
R311-203-2.  Notification. 
 (1)  The owner or operator of an UST must notify the 
director when[ever]: 
 (a)  new USTs are brought into use; 
 (b)  the owner or operator changes; 
 (c)  changes are made to the tank or piping system; and 
 (d)  release detection, corrosion protection, or spill or 
overfill prevention systems are installed, changed, or upgraded. 
 (2)  [All n]Notifications must be submitted on the current 
approved notification form. 
 (3)  Notifications submitted to meet the requirements of 
Subsection R311-203-2([a]1) shall be submitted within 30 days of 
the completion of the work or the change of ownership. 
 (4)  To satisfy the requirement of [Subs]Section 19-6-
407[(1)(c)] the certified installer shall: 
 (a)  complete the appropriate section of the form to be 
submitted by the owner or operator, and ensure that the notification 
form is submitted by the owner or operator within 30 days of 
completion of the installation; or 
 (b)  provide separate notification to the director within 60 
days of the completion of the installation. 
 (5)  The owner or operator of an APST that is in service on 
or after May 5, 2021, must notify the director according to the 
requirements of Subsection 19-6-407(2). 
 (6)  The owner or operator of an APST that is not in service 
before May 5, 2021, 
 (a)  must notify the director according to the requirements 
of Subsection 19-6-407(2)(a)(i); 
 (b)  is subject to delivery prohibition requirements in 
Section R311-206-8; 

 (c)  is subject to closure requirements under Subsections 
19-6-407(2)(a)(iii) and (iv) and Section R311-204-2; 
 (d)  must demonstrate the tank has been emptied of any 
regulated substance to the lowest discharge point on the tank; 
 (e)  is subject to release reporting requirements as outlined 
in Subsection 19-6-407(2)(a)(iv); and 
 (f)  must notify local emergency responders of a spill or 
overfill exceeding 25 gallons within 24 hours. 
 (7)  The owner or operator of an APST that is not in service 
before May 5, 2021, is not subject to the requirements of Subsection 
19-6-407(2)(c) and Section 19-6-412 unless the owner or operator 
elects to bring the APST back in service. 
 
R311-203-3.  New Installations, Permits. 
 (1)  Certified UST installers must notify the director at least 
[10]ten business days, or another time period approved by the 
director, before commencing any of the following activities: 
 (a)  the installation of a full UST system or tank only; 
 (b)  the installation of underground product piping for one 
or more tanks at a facility, separate from the installation of one or 
more tanks at a facility; 
 (c)  the internal lining of a previously-existing tank; 
 (d)  the installation of a cathodic protection system on one 
or more previously-existing tanks at a facility; 
 (e)  the installation of a bladder in a tank; 
 (f)  any retro-fit, replacement, or installation that requires 
the cutting of a manway into the tank; 
 (g)  the installation of a spill prevention or overfill 
prevention device; 
 (h)  the installation of a leak detection monitoring system; 
or 
 (i)  the installation of a containment sump or under-
dispenser containment. 
 (2)  The UST installation company must submit to the 
director an UST installation permit fee of $200 when any of the 
activities listed in Subsections R311-203-3(1)(a) through R311-203-
3(1)(f) is performed on an UST system that has not qualified for a 
certificate of compliance before the commencement of the work. 
 (3)  The fees assessed under Subsection 19-6-411(2)(a)(i) 
will be determined based on the number of full UST installations 
performed by the installation company in the 12 months previous to 
the fee due date. 
 (a)  installations for which the fee assessed under 
Subsections 19-6-411(2)(a)(ii) and R311-203-3(3) is charged shall 
count toward the total installations for the 12-month period. 
 (4)  For the purposes of Subsections 19-6-411(2)(a)(ii), 19-
6-407(1)(c), and R311-203-2(4), an installation is considered 
complete when: 
 (a)  in the case of installation of a new UST system, tank 
only, or product piping only, the new installation first holds a 
regulated substance; or 
 (b)  in the case of installation of the components listed in 
Subsections R311-203-3(1)(d) through R311-203-3(1)(f), the new 
installation is functional and the UST holds a regulated substance and 
is operational. 
 (5)  If, before completion of an installation for which an 
UST installation permit fee is required, the owner or operator decides 
to install additional UST system components, the installer shall notify 
the director of the change. 
 (a)  when additions are made, the UST installation permit 
fee shall be increased based on the additional number of tanks to be 
installed in accordance with Subsection 19-6-411(2)(a)(i) and the 
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Department of Environmental Quality Fee Schedule, as approved 
annually by the Legislature. 
 (6)  The number of UST installation companies performing 
work on a particular installation will not be a factor in determining 
the UST installation permit fee for that installation. 
 (a)  each installation company must be identified on the 
UST installation permit. 
 (7)  When a new UST system, tank only, product piping 
only, or new cathodic protection system is installed, the owner or 
operator must submit to the director an as-built drawing that meets 
the requirements of Subsection R311-200-1(2)(b). 
 
R311-203-4.  [Underground]Petroleum Storage Tank 
Registration Fee. 
 (1)  Registration fees will be assessed by the Department 
against [all ]tanks which are not permanently closed for the entire 
fiscal year, and will be billed per facility. 
 (2)  Registration fees are due on July 1 of the fiscal year for 
which the assessment is made, or, for [USTs]PSTs brought into use 
after the beginning of the fiscal year, [UST ]registration fees are due 
when the tanks are brought into use, as a requirement for receiving a 
certificate of compliance. 
 (3)  The director may waive all or part of the penalty 
assessed under Subsection 19-6-408(5) if no fuel has been dispensed 
from the tank on or after July 1, 1991 and if the tank has been properly 
closed according to Rules R311-204 and R311-205, or in other 
circumstances as approved by the director. 
 (4)  The director shall issue a certificate of registration to 
owners or operators for individual [USTs]PSTs at a facility if: 
 (a)  the tanks are in use or are temporarily closed [according 
to]as outlined in 40 CFR Part 280 Subpart G; and 
 (b)  the [UST]PST registration fee has been paid. 
 (5)  Pursuant to Subsection 19-6-408(5)(c), [all ]past due 
PST registration fees, late payment penalties and interest must be 
paid before the director may issue or re-issue a certificate of 
compliance regardless of whether there is a new owner or operator at 
the facility. 
 (a)  the director may decline active collection of past due 
registration fees, late payment penalties and interest if a certificate of 
compliance is not issued and the new owner or new operator properly 
closes the [USTs]PSTs within one year of becoming the new owner 
or operator of the facility. 
 (6)  A UST will be assessed the higher registration fee 
established under Section 63J-1-504 if it is found to be out of 
compliance with the EPA Technical Compliance Rate during an 
inspection, and remains out of compliance for six months or greater 
following the initial inspection. 
 (a)  the higher registration fee is due July 1 following the 
documented six-month period of non-compliance. 
 (7)  When the director is notified of the existence of a 
previously un[-]registered regulated [UST]PST, the director shall 
assess the applicable notification fee and PST registration fee for the 
current fiscal year. 
 (a)  if the [UST]PST is properly permanently closed within 
90 days of the notification of the existence of the [UST]PST, the 
director may decline active collection of past[-]due registration fees, 
late payment penalties, and interest for previous fiscal years. 
 
R311-203-5.  [UST]PST Testing Requirements. 
 (1)  Tank tightness testing.  The testing method must be able 
to test the [UST]PST system at the maximum level that could contain 
regulated substances. 

 (a)  tanks with overfill prevention devices that prevent 
product from entering the upper portion of the tank may be tested at 
the maximum level allowed by the overfill device. 
 (2)  Spill prevention equipment.  An individual who 
conducts a test of spill prevention equipment to meet the 
requirements of 40 CFR 280.35(a)(1)(ii) must report the test results 
using: 
 (a)  the form "Utah Spill Prevention Test"; or 
 (b)  the form "Appendix C-3  Spill Bucket Integrity Testing 
Hydrostatic Test Method Single and Double-Walled Vacuum Test 
Method,"[,] found in PEI RP1200, "Recommended Practices for the 
Testing and Verification of Spill, Overfill, Leak Detection and 
Secondary Containment Equipment at UST Facilities;"[;] or 
 (c)  another form approved by the director. 
 (3)  Containment sump testing.  An individual who 
conducts a test of a containment sump used for interstitial monitoring 
to meet the requirements of 40 CFR 280.35(a)(1)(ii) or a test of a 
piping containment sump or under-dispenser containment to meet the 
requirements of Section R311-206-11 must report the test results 
using: 
 (a)  the form "Utah Containment Sump Test"; or 
 (b)  the form "Appendix C-4 Containment Sump Integrity 
Testing Hydrostatic Testing Method,"[,] found in PEI RP1200; or 
 (c)  another form approved by the director. 
 (4)  When a sump sensor is used as an automatic line leak 
detector, the secondary containment sump must be tested for 
tightness annually according to the manufacturer's guidelines or 
standards, or by another method approved by the director. 
 (a)  the sensor shall be located as close as is practicable to 
the lowest portion of the sump. 
 (5)  Cathodic protection testing.  Cathodic protection tests 
must meet the inspection criteria outlined in 40 CFR 280.31(b), or 
other criteria approved by the director.  The tester who performs the 
test must provide the following information: 
 (a)  location of at least three test points per tank; 
 (b)  location of one remote test point for galvanic systems; 
 (c)  test results in volts or millivolts; 
 (d)  pass[/] or fail determination for each tank, line, flex 
connector, or other UST system component tested; 
 (e)  the criteria by which the pass[/] or fail determination is 
made;[ and] 
 (f)  a site plat showing locations of test points[.]; and 
 (g)  a re-test of any cathodic protection system is required 
within six months of any below-grade work that may harm the 
integrity of the system. 
 (6)  UST testers performing tank and line tightness testing 
must include the following as part of the test report: 
 (a)  pass[/] or fail determination for each tank or line 
tested[,]; 
 (b)  measured leak rate; 
 (c)  test duration; 
 (d)  product level for tank tests; 
 (e)  pressure used for pressure tests; 
 (f)  type of test; and 
 (g)  test equipment used. 
 (7)  overfill prevention equipment inspection.  An 
individual who conducts an inspection of overfill prevention 
equipment to meet the requirements of 40 CFR 280.35(a)(2) must 
report the results using: 
 (a)  the form "Appendix C-5 UST Overfill Equipment 
Inspection Automatic Shutoff Device and Ball Float Valve,"[,] found 
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in PEI RP1200, when the overfill prevention is provided by either an 
automatic shutoff device or a ball float valve; 
 (b)  the form "Appendix C-6 Overfill Alarm Operation 
Inspection,"[,] found in PEI RP1200, when overfill prevention is 
provided by an overfill alarm; or 
 (c)  another form approved by the director. 
 (8)  Automatic tank gauge inspection.  An individual who 
conducts an inspection of automatic tank gauges to meet the 
requirements of 40 CFR 280.40(a)(3) must report the results using: 
 (a)  the form "Appendix C-7 Automatic Tank Gauge 
Operation Inspection,"[,] found in PEI RP1200, and if the [UST]PST 
system or any portion thereof is interstitially monitored, "Appendix 
C-8:  Liquid Sensor Functionality Testing,"[,] found in PEI RP1200; 
or 
 (b)  another form approved by the director. 
 (9)  Automatic line leak detector testing.  An individual 
who conducts a test of automatic line leak detectors to meet the 
requirements of 40 CFR 280.40(a)(3) must report the results using: 
 (a)  the form "Appendix C-9 Mechanical and Electronic 
Line Leak Detector Performance Tests,"[,] found in PEI RP1200; or 
 (b)  another form approved by the director. 
 (10)  Leak Detection and Testing Requirements for APSTs 
using the EAP for financial responsibility: 
 (a)  line tightness testing or monthly monitoring is required 
for underground piping associated with APSTs. 
 (i)  an individual who conducts a tightness test of product 
lines must perform the test as set forth in 40 CFR 280.44(b). 
 (ii)  when pressurized underground product piping is 
connected to an APST that is not double-walled, sensor equipped, and 
monitored monthly, the product piping must be tested for tightness 
annually.  The test must meet the requirements of Subsection R311-
203-5(6). 
 (b)  spill prevention equipment associated with an APST 
must meet the standards set forth in International Fire Code (IFC) 
2306.6.2.6 referenced in the Utah State Fire Code adopted pursuant 
to Section 15A-5-103 and be double-walled and monitored monthly; 
or have an integrity test performed every three years.  The test must 
meet the requirements of Subsection R311-203-5(2). 
 (c)  beginning July 1, 2026, an APST resting on the ground 
must perform monthly interstitial monitoring, a monthly 0.2 gallon 
per hour release detection test, or a tank tightness test every 5 years.  
The test must meet the requirements of Subsection R311-203-5(2). 
 (d)  beginning July 1, 2026, if applicable, APSTs and 
associated piping are required to have cathodic protection that meets 
the standards set forth in IFC 5704.2.7.9 and National Fire Protection 
Agency (NFPA) 30.23.3.5 and must have a passing cathodic 
protection test every 3 years.  The test must meet the requirements of 
Subsection R311-203-5(5). 
 (e)  beginning July 1, 2026, an APST shall have an overfill 
prevention device that meets the standards set forth in IFC 
2306.6.2.3, 5704.2.7.5.8 and 5704.2.927.5 and must have an overfill 
prevention equipment inspection performed every three years.  The 
overfill prevention equipment inspection must meet the requirements 
of Subsection R311-203-5(7). 
 (f)  beginning July 1, 2026, an APST with pressurized 
underground product piping shall have an automatic line leak 
detector that meets the standards set forth in IFC 2306.7.7.1 and must 
have an automatic line leak detector test performed annually.  The 
test must meet the requirements of Subsection R311-203-5(9). 
 

R311-203-6.  Secondary Containment and Under-Dispenser 
Containment. 
 (1)  Secondary containment for tanks and piping. 
 (a)  to meet the requirements of Subsection 42 USC 
6991b(i) of the Solid Waste Disposal Act, [all ]tanks and product 
piping that are installed as part of an UST system after October 1, 
2008 and before January 1, 2017 must have secondary containment 
if the installation is located 1,000 feet or less from an existing 
community water system or an existing potable drinking water well. 
 (b)  the secondary containment installed under Subsection 
R311-203-6(1) must meet the requirements of 40 CFR 280.42(b), and 
shall be monitored monthly for releases from the tank and piping. 
 (i)  monthly monitoring must meet the requirements of 40 
CFR 280.43(g). 
 (c)  containment sumps for piping installed under 
Subsection R311-203-6(1) are required: 
 (i)  at the submersible pump or other location where the 
piping connects to the tank; 
 (ii)  where the piping connects to a dispenser, or otherwise 
goes aboveground; and 
 (iii)  where double-walled piping that is required under 
Subsection R311-203-6(1) connects with existing piping. 
 (d)  containment sumps for piping that is installed under 
Subsection R311-203-6(1) must: 
 (i)  contain submersible pumps, check valves, unburied 
risers, flexible connectors, and other transitional components that 
connect the piping to the tank, dispenser, or existing piping; and 
 (ii)  meet the requirements of Subsection[s] R311-203-
6(2)(b). 
 (e)  in the case of a replacement of tank or piping, only the 
portion of the UST system being replaced is subject to the 
requirements of Subsection R311-203-6(1). 
 (i)  if less than 100% of the piping from a tank to a dispenser 
is replaced, the requirements of Subsection R311-203-6(1) applies to 
[all ]new product piping that is installed. 
 (ii)  the closure requirements of Rule R311-205 apply to 
[all ]product piping that is taken out of service. 
 (iii)  when new piping is connected to existing piping that 
is not taken out of service, the connection between the new and 
existing piping must be secondarily contained, and monitored for 
releases according to 40 CFR 280.43(g). 
 (f)  the requirements of Subsection R311-203-6(1) do not 
apply to: 
 (i)  piping that meets the requirements for "safe suction" 
piping in 40 CFR 280.41(b)(2); or 
 (ii)  piping that connects two or more tanks to create a 
siphon system. 
 (g)  the requirements of Subsection R311-203-6(1) apply to 
emergency generator USTs installed after October 1, 2008. 
 (2)  Under-dispenser containment. 
 (a)  to meet the requirements of Subsection 42 USC 
6991b(i) of the Solid Waste Disposal Act, [all ]new motor fuel 
dispenser systems installed after October 1, 2008 and before January 
1, 2017, and connected to an UST, must have under-dispenser 
containment if the installation is located 1,000 feet or less from an 
existing community water system or an existing potable drinking 
water well. 
 (b)  the under-dispenser containment must: 
 (i)  be liquid-tight on its sides, bottom, and at [all 
]penetrations; 
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 (ii)  be compatible with the substance conveyed by the 
piping; and 
 (iii)  allow for visual inspection and access to the 
components in the containment system, or be continuously monitored 
for the presence of liquids. 
 (c)  if an existing dispenser is replaced, the requirements of 
Subsection R311-203-6(2) apply to the new dispenser if any 
equipment used to connect the dispenser to the [UST]PST system is 
replaced. 
 (i)  this equipment includes unburied flexible connectors, 
risers, and other transitional components that are beneath the 
dispenser and connect the dispenser to the product piping. 
 (3)  The requirements of Subsections R311-203-6(1) and 
R311-203-6(2) do not apply if the installation is located more than 
1,000 feet from an existing community water system or an existing 
potable drinking water well. 
 (a)  the [UST]PST owner or operator must provide to the 
director documentation to show that the requirements of Subsections 
R311-203-6(1) and R311-203-6(2) do not apply to the installation. 
 (b)  the documentation shall be provided at least 60 days 
before the beginning of the installation, and shall include: 
 (i)  a detailed to-scale map of the proposed installation that 
demonstrates that no part of the installation is within 1,000 feet of 
any community water system, potable drinking water well, or any 
well the owner or operator plans to install at the facility; and 
 (ii)  a certified statement by the owner or operator 
explaining who researched the existence of a community water 
system or potable drinking water well, how the research was 
conducted, and how the proposed installation qualifies for an 
exemption from the requirements of Subsections R311-203-6(1) and 
R311-203-6(2). 
 (4)  To determine whether the requirements of Subsections 
R311-203-6(1) and R311-203-6(2) apply, the distance from the UST 
installation to an existing community water system or existing 
potable drinking water well shall be measured from the closest part 
of the new UST, piping, or motor fuel dispenser system to: 
 (a)  the closest part of the nearest community water system, 
including: 
 (i)  the location of the wellheads for groundwater and[/or] 
the location of the intake points for surface water; 
 (ii)  water lines, processing tanks, and water storage tanks; 
and 
 (iii)  water distribution[/] and service lines under the control 
of the community water system operator, or 
 (b)  the wellhead of the nearest existing potable drinking 
water well. 
 (5)  If a new UST facility is installed, and is not within 
1,000 feet of an existing community water system or an existing 
potable drinking water well, the requirements of Subsections R311-
203-6(1) and R311-203-6(2) apply if the owner or operator installs a 
potable drinking water well at the facility that is within 1,000 feet of 
the UST, piping, or motor fuel dispenser system, regardless of the 
sequence of installation of the UST system, dispenser system, and 
well. 
 (6)  To meet the requirements of 40 CFR 280.20, [all ]tanks 
and product piping that are installed or replaced as part of an UST 
system on or after January 1, 2017 must be secondarily contained and 
use interstitial monitoring in accordance with 40 CFR 280.43(g). 
 

R311-203-7.  Operator Inspections. 
 (1)  Owners and operators must perform periodic 
inspections in accordance with 40 CFR 280.36. 
 (a)  inspections must be conducted by or under the direction 
of the designated Class B operator. 
 (b)  the Class B operator must ensure that documentation 
of each inspection is kept and made available for review by the 
director. 
 (2)  The individual who conducts inspections to meet the 
requirements of 40 CFR 280.36(a)(1) or 208.36(a)(3) shall use the 
form "UST Operator Inspection- Utah" or another form approved by 
the director. 
 (3)  An UST facility whose tanks are properly temporarily 
closed according to 40 CFR 280.70 and Section R311-204-4 must 
have an annual operator inspection. 
 (4)  An owner or operator who conducts visual checks of 
tank top containment sumps and under[ ]-dispenser containment 
sumps for compliance with piping leak detection in accordance with 
40 CFR 280.43(g) must conduct the visual checks monthly and report 
the results on the operator inspection form. 
 
R311-203-8.  Unattended Facilities. 
 (1)  An UST facility that: 
 (a)  normally has no employee on site or is open to dispense 
fuel at times when no employee or trained operator is on site must 
have: 
 (i)  a sign posted in a conspicuous place, giving the name 
and telephone number of the facility owner, operator, or local 
emergency responders; and 
 (ii)  an emergency shutoff device in a readily accessible 
location, if the facility dispenses fuel. 
 
KEY:  fees, hazardous substances, petroleum, underground 
storage tanks 
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Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-204.  Underground Storage Tanks: Closure and 
Remediation 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 40, Storage Tank Amendment, passed in the 2021 
General Session of the Utah State Legislature, tasked the 
Division of Environmental Response and Remediation 
(DERR) to begin regulation of aboveground petroleum 
storage tanks (APSTs). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes add requirements for closure notification and 
release reporting for APSTs referenced in Subsection 19-
6-407(2). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is a direct fiscal cost to state-owned facilities with 
APSTs.  The approximate cost for closure per APST is 
$20,000 which includes the site assessment (Rule R311-
205).  The total fiscal cost is inestimable because the 
number of APSTs that the state will choose to close is 
unknown. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule 
R311-205 is under ID 54602 in this issue, June 1, 2022, of 
the Bulletin.) 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is a direct fiscal cost to local government-owned 
facilities with APSTs.  The approximate cost for closure per 
APST is $20,000 which includes the site assessment (Rule 
R311-205).  The total fiscal cost is inestimable because the 
number of APSTs that local government will choose to 
close is unknown. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is a direct fiscal cost to small business-owned 
facilities with APSTs.  The approximate cost for closure per 
APST is $20,000 which includes the site assessment (Rule 
R311-205).  The total fiscal cost is inestimable because the 
number of APSTs small businesses will choose to close is 
unknown. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is a direct fiscal cost to non-small business-owned 
facilities with APSTs.  The approximate cost for closure per 
APST is $20,000 which includes the site assessment (Rule 
R311-205).  The total fiscal cost is inestimable because the 
number of APSTs non-small businesses will choose to 
close is unknown. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These rule changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other persons because the rule changes will not 
apply to these entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Beginning 05/05/2021, APST owners are required to notify 
when they close an APST (Subsection 19-6-407(2)(iii)).  
The approximate cost, using certified contractors, is 
$20,000/tank which includes the site assessment. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
These changes will only have a fiscal cost to businesses 
who chooses to permanently close an APST.  Kim Shelley, 
Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelly, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-402 Section 19-6-402 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
06/15/2022 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building,195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT, in Room 
1015 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/29/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brent Everett, 
Director 

Date: 05/15/2022 

 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-204.  [Underground]Petroleum Storage Tanks: Closure and 
Remediation. 
R311-204-1.  Definitions. 
 Definitions are found in [Section]Rule R311-200. 
 
R311-204-2.  [Underground]Petroleum Storage Tank Closure 
Plan. 
 (1)  Owners or operators of [all USTs]PSTs or any portion 
thereof which are to be permanently closed or undergo change-in-
service must submit a permanent closure plan to the director. 
 (a)  the permanent closure plan shall be submitted by the 
owner or operator as fulfillment of the 30-day permanent closure 
notification requirement in accordance with [40 CFR 280 Subpart 
G.]Subsection 19-6-407(2)(a)(iii) for APSTs and 40 CFR 280 
Subpart G for USTs. 
 (2)  If a tank is to be removed as part of corrective action 
as allowed by 40 CFR 280 Subpart G, the owner or operator is not 
required to submit a closure plan, but must meet the requirements of 
40 CFR 280.66(d) before any removal activity takes place, and must 
submit a corrective action plan as required by 40 CFR 280.66. 
 (3)  The closure plan shall address applicable issues 
involved with permanent closure, [or ]change-in-service, or reuse of 
APSTs, including: 
 (a)  product removal; 
 (b)  sludge disposal; 
 (c)  vapor purging or inerting; 
 (d)  removing or securing and capping product piping; 
 (e)  removing vent lines or securing vent lines open; 
 (f)  tank cleaning; 
 (g)  environmental sampling; 
 (h)  contaminated soil and water management; 
 (i)  in-place tank disposal or tank removal; 
 (j)  transportation of tank; 
 (k)  permanent disposal; and 
 (l)  other disposal activities which may affect human health, 
human safety, or the environment. 
 (4)  No [UST]PST shall be permanently closed or undergo 
change-in-service [prior to]before the owner or operator receiving 
final approval of the submitted permanent tank closure plan by the 
director, except as outlined in Subsection R311-204-2([b]2). 
 (a)  closure plan approval is effective for a period of one 
year. 
 (b)  if the [UST]PST has not been permanently closed or 
undergone change[ ]-in[ ]-service as proposed within one year 
following approval from the director, the plan must be re-submitted 
for approval, unless otherwise approved by the director. 
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 (5)  Permanent closure plans shall be prepared using the 
current approved form according to guidance furnished by the 
director. 
 (6)  The owner or operator shall ensure that the approved 
permanent closure plan and approval letter are on site during [all 
]closure activities. 
 (7)  Any deviation from or modification to an approved 
closure plan must be approved by the director [prior to]before 
implementation, and must be submitted in writing to the director. 
 (8)  The director must be notified at least three business 
days [prior to]before the start of closure activities. 
 
R311-204-3.  Disposal. 
 (1)  Tank labeling.  Immediately after being removed, [all 
]tanks which are permanently closed by removal must be labeled with 
the following in letters at least two inches high: 
 (a)  the facility identification number; 
 (b)  the substance contained; and 
 (c)  the date removed:  "month/day/year."[.] 
 (2)  Removed tanks shall be expeditiously disposed of as 
regulated [USTs]PSTs by the following methods: 
 (a)  the tank may be cut up after the interior atmosphere is 
first purged or inerted. 
 (b)  the tank may be crushed after the interior atmosphere 
is first purged or inerted. 
 (c)  the tank may not be used to store food or liquid intended 
for human or animal consumption. 
 (d)  the tank may be disposed of in a manner approved by 
the director. 
 (3)  Any removed APST that is to be reused as an APST 
must be recertified by the manufacturer of the tank or undergo a tank 
inspection, conducted by a qualified contractor, using a nationally 
recognized standard such as API 653. 
 ([3]4)  Tank transportation.  Used tanks which are 
transported on roads of the [S]state [of Utah ]must be cleaned inside 
the tank [prior to]before transportation, and be free of [all ]product, 
free of [all ]vapors, or [rendered]made inert during transport. 
 
R311-204-4.  Closure Notice. 
 (1)  Owners or operators of USTs which were permanently 
closed or had a change-in-service [prior to]before December 22, 1988 
must submit a completed closure notice, unless the tanks were 
properly closed on or before January 1, 1974. 
 (2)  Owners or operators of USTs which are permanently 
closed [or have a change-in-service ]after December 22, 1988, and 
APSTs closed or having a change-in-service as defined in 40 CFR 
280 Subpart G after May 5, 2021 must submit a completed closure 
notice form and the following information within 90 days after tank 
closure: 
 (a)  [all ]results from the closure site assessment conducted 
in accordance with Rule R311-205, including analytical laboratory 
results and chain of custody forms; and 
 (b)  [effective January 1, 1993, ]a site plat displaying depths 
and distances such that the sample locations can be determined solely 
from the site plat.  The site plat shall include: 
 (i)  scale; 
 (ii)  north arrow; 
 (iii)  streets; 
 (iv)  property boundaries; 
 (v)  building structures; 
 (vi)  utilities; 
 (vii)  [UST]PST system location; 

 (viii)  location of any contamination observed or suspected 
during sampling; 
 (ix)  location and volume of any stockpiled soil; 
 (x)  the extent of the excavation zone; and 
 (xi)  any other relevant features. 
 (c)  [all ]sample identification numbers used on the site plat 
shall correspond to the chain of custody form and the lab analysis 
report. 
 (3)  Owners and operators of [USTs]PSTs that are 
temporarily closed for a period greater than three months must submit 
a completed temporary closure notice within 120 days after the 
beginning of the temporary closure. 
 (4)  [All c]Closure notices for permanent and temporary 
closure shall be submitted on the current approved forms. 
 
R311-204-5.  Remediation. 
 (1)  Any [UST]PST release management, abatement, 
investigation, corrective action or evaluation activities performed for 
a fee, or in connection with services for which a fee is charged, must 
be performed under the supervision of a certified [UST]PST 
consultant, except as outlined in Subsections 19-6-402(6)(b), R[-
]311-201-2([a]1), and R311-204-5(2). 
 (2)  At the time of [UST]PST closure, a certified UST 
remover may over-excavate and properly dispose of up to 50 cubic 
yards of contaminated soil per facility, or another volume approved 
by the director, in addition to the minimum amount required for 
closure of the [UST]PST. 
 (a)  this over-excavation may be performed without the 
supervision of a certified [UST]PST consultant. 
 (b)  appropriate confirmation samples must be taken by a 
certified [groundwater and soil ]sampler in accordance with Rule 
R311-201 [for the purpose of]to determin[ing]e the extent and degree 
of contamination. 
 
KEY:  hazardous substances, petroleum, underground storage 
tanks 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 13, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-6-105; 
19-6-402; 19-6-403 
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1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
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Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
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Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-205.  Underground Storage Tanks:  Site Assessment 
Protocol 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 40, Storage Tank Amendment, passed in the 2021 
General Session of the Utah State Legislature, tasked the 
Division of Environmental Response and Remediation 
(DERR) to begin regulation of aboveground petroleum 
storage tanks (APSTs). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes add requirements for notification for APSTs 
to comply with Subsection 19-6-407(2) requirements for 
site assessment and release reporting; and make changes 
to sampling protocol for product dispensers and add 
sampling requirements remote fills. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is a direct fiscal cost to state-owned facilities with 
APSTs.  The approximate cost to take samples for a site 
assessment or site check is $300 per sample not including 
excavation.  Fiscal analysis for closure calculated in the 
proposed changes to Rule R311-204 which includes the 
site assessment.  The total fiscal cost is inestimable 
because the number of APSTs that the state will choose to 
perform a site assessment or site check on is unknown. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule 
R311-204 is under ID 54601 in this issue, June 1, 2022, of 
the Bulletin.) 
 
In Subsection R311-205-2(3)(d), this rule change is not 
expected to have a fiscal impact on the state-government 
owned facilities with PSTs because contractors sampling 
product dispensers for closure currently take one sample 
per dispenser rather than one per dispenser island. 
 

In Subsection R311-205-2(3)(e), there is a direct fiscal cost 
to state-owned facilities with PSTs.  The approximate cost 
to take a sample for the relatively few PST sites with 
remote fills is $300 per sample not including excavation.  
The total fiscal cost is inestimable because the number of 
PSTs with remote fills that the state will choose to perform 
a site assessment or site check on is unknown. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is a direct fiscal cost to local government-owned 
facilities with APSTs.  The approximate cost to take 
samples for a site assessment or site check is $300 per 
sample not including excavation.  Fiscal analysis for 
closure calculated in the proposed changes to Rule R311-
204 which includes the site assessment.  The total fiscal 
cost is inestimable because the number of APSTs that a 
local government will choose to perform a site assessment 
or site check on is unknown. 
 
In Subsection R311-205-2(3)(d), this rule change is not 
expected to have a fiscal impact on a local government-
owned facility with PSTs because contractors sampling 
product dispensers for closure currently take one sample 
per dispenser rather than one per dispenser island. 
 
In Subsection R311-205-2(3)(e), there is a direct fiscal cost 
to local government-owned facilities with PSTs.  The 
approximate cost to take a sample for the relatively few 
PST sites with remote fills is $300 per sample not including 
excavation.  The total fiscal cost is inestimable because 
the number of PSTs with remote fills that a local 
government will choose to perform a site assessment or 
site check on is unknown. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is a direct fiscal cost to small business-owned 
facilities with APSTs.  The approximate cost to take 
samples for a site assessment or site check is $300 per 
sample not including excavation.  Fiscal analysis for 
closure calculated in the proposed changes to Rule R311-
204 which includes the site assessment.  The total fiscal 
cost is inestimable because the number of APSTs that a 
small business will choose to perform a site assessment 
or site check on is unknown. 
 
In Subsection R311-205-2(3)(d), this rule change is not 
expected to have a fiscal impact on a small business-
owned facility with PSTs because contractors sampling 
product dispensers for closure currently take one sample 
per dispenser rather than one per dispenser island. 
 
In Subsection R311-205-2(3)(e), there is a direct fiscal cost 
to small business-owned facilities with PSTs.  The 
approximate cost to take a sample for the relatively few 
PST sites with remote fills is $300 per sample not including 
excavation.  The total fiscal cost is inestimable because 
the number of PSTs with remote fills that the small 
business will choose to perform a site assessment or site 
check on is unknown. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is a direct fiscal cost to non-small business-owned 
facilities with APSTs.  The approximate cost to take 
samples for a site assessment or site check is $300 per 
sample not including excavation.  Fiscal analysis for 
closure calculated in the proposed changes to Rule R311-
204 which includes the site assessment.  The total fiscal 
cost is inestimable because the number of APSTs that a 
non-small business will choose to perform a site 
assessment or site check on is unknown. 
 
In Subsection R311-205-2(3)(d), this rule change is not 
expected to have a fiscal impact on a non-small business-
owned facility with PSTs because contractors sampling 
product dispensers for closure currently take one sample 
per dispenser rather than one per dispenser island. 
 
In Subsection R311-205-2(3)(e), there is a direct fiscal cost 
to non-small business-owned facilities with PSTs.  The 
approximate cost to take a sample for the relatively few 
PST sites with remote fills is $300 per sample not including 
excavation.  The total fiscal cost is inestimable because 
the number of PSTs with remote fills that the non-small 
business will choose to perform a site assessment or site 
check on is unknown 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These rule changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other persons because the rule changes will not 
apply to these entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Beginning 05/05/2021, APST owners may be required to 
do a site assessment or site check (Subsection 19-6-
428(3)(b)).  The approximate cost, using certified 
contractors, is $300 per sample. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
These changes will only have a fiscal cost to businesses 
who chooses to permanently close an APST, perform a 
site assessment or site check.  Kim Shelley, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelly, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-403 Section 19-6-413 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 
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B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
06/15/2022 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building,195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT, in Room 
1015 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/29/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brent Everett, 
Director 

Date: 05/15/2022 

 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-205.  [Underground]Petroleum Storage Tanks:  Site 
Assessment Protocol and Release Reporting. 
R311-205-1.  Definitions. 
 Definitions are found in Rule R311-200. 
 
R311-205-2.  Site Assessment Protocol. 
 (1)  General Requirements. 
 (a)  a site assessment or site check is required: 
 (i)  for USTs, pursuant to 40 CFR 280.72 or Subsection 19-
6-428(3). 
 (ii)  for APSTs, when the tank or connected piping are 
permanently closed or as pursuant to Subsections 19-6-420(2)(a) and 
19-6-428(3). 
 ([a]b)  when a site assessment or site check is required, 
[pursuant to 40 CFR 280 or Subsection 19-6-428(3), ]owners or 
operators shall perform the work or commission the work to be 
performed according to Rule R311-205 or equivalent, as approved by 
the director. 
 ([b]c)  additional environmental media samples must be 
collected when contamination is found, suspected, or as requested by 
the director. 
 ([c]d)  [all ]environmental media samples are to be 
collected according to the Utah Petroleum Storage Tank 
Environmental Media Sampling Handbook, dated June 1, 2021, 
which is [hereby ]incorporated by reference, or as determined by the 
director. 
 ([d]e)  [O]owners and operators must document and report 
to the director the following: 
 (i)  sample types; 
 (ii)  sample locations and depths; 
 (iii)  field and sampling measurement methods; 
 (iv)  the nature of the stored substance; 
 (v)  the type of backfill and native soil; 
 (vi)  the depth to groundwater; and 

 (vii)  other factors appropriate for identifying the source 
area and the degree and extent of subsurface soil and groundwater 
contamination. 
 ([e]f)  the owner or operator must report the discovery of 
any reportable release or suspected release to the director within 24 
hours. 
 (i)  owners or operators must begin release investigation 
and confirmation steps [in accordance with]as outlined in 40 CFR 
280, Subpart E and Section 19-6-420 upon suspecting a release. 
 (ii)  owners or operators must begin release response and 
corrective action [in accordance with]as outlined in 40 CFR 280, 
Subpart F and Section 19-6-420 upon confirming a release. 
 ([f]g)  [all ]environmental media samples must be collected 
by a certified sampler who meets the requirements of Rule R311-201. 
 (i)  the certified sampler shall record the depth below grade 
and location of each sample collected to within one foot. 
 ([g]h)  [all ]environmental media samples must be analyzed 
within the time frame allowed, in accordance with the Utah 
Petroleum Storage Tank Environmental Media Sampling Handbook, 
by a certified environmental laboratory. 
 (i)  soil samples must be corrected for moisture, if 
necessary, with percent moisture reported to accurately represent the 
level of contamination. 
 ([h]i)  environmental media samples for [UST]PST 
permanent closure or change in service must be collected according 
to the protocol outlined in Subsection R311-205-2(2), after the 
[UST]PST system is emptied and cleaned and after the closure plan 
has been approved. 
 ([i]j)  environmental media confirmation samples are 
required following over-excavation of soils. 
 (i)  confirmation samples shall be taken at locations and 
depths sufficient to detect the presence, extent, and degree of a 
release from any portion of the [UST]PST [in accordance with]as 
outlined in 40 CFR 280, Subparts E, F, and G. 
 (ii)  additional confirmation samples may be required as 
determined by the director. 
 ([j]k)  upon confirming a release, a site assessment report, 
an updated site plat, analytical laboratory results, chain of custody 
forms, and [all ]other applicable documentation [required 
by]referenced in 40 CFR 280, Subparts E and F, following any 
abatement, investigation or assessment, monitoring, remediation or 
corrective action activities, shall be submitted to the director within 
the specified time frames. 
 ([k]l)  when conducting environmental media sampling [to 
satisfy the requirements of]as referenced in 40 CFR 280, subparts E 
and F, soil classification samples to determine native soil type shall 
be collected at locations and depths as requested by the director. 
 (i)  techniques of the Unified Soil Classification such as a 
sieve analysis or laboratory classification, or a field description from 
a qualified individual as determined by the director, may be used to 
satisfy requirements of determining native soil type. 
 ([l]m)  other types of environmental media or quality 
assurance samples may be required as determined by the director. 
 (2)  Site assessment protocol for [UST]PST closure. 
 (a)  the appropriate number of environmental media 
samples, as described in Subsections R311-205-2(2) and R311-205-
2(3) shall be collected in native soils, below the backfill material, and 
as close as technically feasible to the tank, piping, or dispenser island. 
 (i)  any other samples required by Subsection R311-205-
2(1) must also be collected. 
 (ii)  soil samples shall be collected from a depth of zero to 
two feet below the backfill and native soil interface. 
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 (A)  if groundwater is contacted in the process of collecting 
the soil samples, the soil samples required by Subsections R311-205-
2(2) and R311-205-2(3) shall be collected from the unsaturated zone 
immediately above the capillary fringe. 
 (iii)  groundwater samples collected from an excavation 
shall be collected using proper surface water collection techniques 
according to the Utah Petroleum Storage Tank Environmental Media 
Sampling Handbook, or as determined by the director. 
 (b)  [all ]environmental media samples must be analyzed 
using the appropriate analytical methods outlined in Subsections 
R311-205-2(2) and R311-205-2(5). 
 (c)  one soil classification sample to determine native soil 
type shall be collected at the same depth as indicated for 
environmental media samples, at each tank and product piping area. 
 (i)  for [all ]dispenser islands, only one representative 
sample to determine native soil type is required. 
 (ii)  techniques of the Unified Soil Classification such as a 
sieve analysis or laboratory classification shall be used to satisfy 
requirements of determining native soil type when taking samples for 
[UST]PST closure. 
[ (d)  for purposes of complying with Rule R311-205, for 
tanks or piping to be removed, closed in-place or that undergo a 
change in service, a tank or product piping area is considered to be 
an excavation zone or equivalent volume of material containing one, 
or more than one immediately adjacent, UST or piping run.] 
 (3)  Environmental sampling protocol for [UST]PST 
closures: 
 (a)  for a tank area containing one [UST]PST, one soil 
sample shall be collected at each end of the tank. 
 (i)  if groundwater is contacted during the process of 
collecting soil samples, a minimum of one groundwater and one soil 
sample shall be collected from each end of the tank. 
 (b)  for a tank area containing more than one [UST]PST, 
one soil sample shall be collected from each corner of the tank area. 
 (i)  if groundwater is contacted during the process of 
collecting soil samples, a minimum of one groundwater and one soil 
sample shall be collected from each end of the tank area. 
 (c)  product piping samples shall be collected from each 
product piping area, at locations where leaking is most likely to 
occur, such as joints, connections, and fittings. 
 (i)  these samples must be collected at intervals which do 
not allow more than 50 linear feet of piping in a single piping area to 
go unsampled. 
 (ii)  if groundwater is contacted during the process of 
collecting soil samples, a minimum of one groundwater and one soil 
sample shall be collected from each piping area where groundwater 
was encountered. 
 (d)  for [dispenser islands]product dispensers, 
environmental media samples shall be collected from [the middle 
of]beneath each [dispenser island]product dispenser. 
[ (i)  additional environmental media samples must be 
collected at intervals which do not allow more than 25 linear feet of 
dispenser island piping to go unsampled.] 
 ([i]i)  if groundwater is contacted during the process of 
collecting soil samples, a minimum of one groundwater and one soil 
sample shall be collected from each product dispenser [island ]where 
groundwater was encountered. 
 (e)  for PSTs with remote fill, environmental media samples 
shall be collected from beneath each remote fill location and in 
intervals which do not allow more than 25 linear feet of the piping 
associated with the remote fill to go unsampled. 

 (i)  if groundwater is contacted during the process of 
collecting soil samples, a minimum of one groundwater and one soil 
sample shall be collected from each sample location where 
groundwater was encountered. 
 (4)  Site check requirements for re-applying to participate 
in the [Environmental Assurance Program]EAP. 
 (a)  owners or operators wishing to re-apply for 
participation in the [Environmental Assurance Program]EAP 
following a period of lapse or non-participation [must]may perform 
a [tank tightness test and ]site check pursuant to Subsection 19-6-
428(3)[(a)]. 
[ (i)  the tank tightness test and site check shall be consistent 
with requirements for testing and site assessment as defined under 40 
CFR 280, Subparts D and E.] 
 (b)  the owner or operator shall develop or commission to 
have developed a site check plan outlining the intended sampling 
program. 
 (i)  the director shall review and approve the site check plan 
[prior to]before its implementation. 
 (c)  the site check must meet the sampling requirements for 
[USTs]PSTs, dispensers, and piping as defined in Subsection R311-
205-2(2), or as determined by the director on a site-specific basis. 
 (d)  additional sampling may be required by the director 
based on review of the proposed site check plan and site-specific 
conditions. 
 (5)  Laboratory analyses of environmental media samples. 
 (a)  environmental media samples which have been 
collected to determine levels of contamination from [USTs]PSTs 
must be analyzed by a certified environmental laboratory. 
 (b)  unless otherwise approved by the director, the required 
analytes and corresponding analytical methods shall be: 
 (i)  for gasoline contamination: 
 (A)  total petroleum hydrocarbons, [(]purgeable TPH as 
gasoline range organics C6 - C10[)], by either EPA 8015 or EPA 8260; 
and 
 (B)  benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene, xylenes, naphthalene 
(BTEXN), and methyl tertiary butyl ether (MTBE) by either EPA 
8021 or EPA 8260. 
 (ii)  for diesel fuel contamination: 
 (A)  total petroleum hydrocarbons, [(]extractable TPH as 
diesel range organics C10 - C28[)], by EPA 8015; and 
 (B)  benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene, xylenes and 
naphthalene (BTEXN) by either EPA 8021 or EPA 8260. 
 (iii)  for used oil contamination: 
 (A)  oil and grease (O and G) or total recoverable petroleum 
hydrocarbons (TRPH) by EPA 1664; and 
 (B)  benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene, xylenes, naphthalene 
(BTEXN), methyl tertiary butyl ether (MTBE), and halogenated 
volatile organic compounds (VOX) by EPA 8021 or EPA 8260. 
 (iv)  for new oil contamination: 
 (A)  oil and grease (O and G) or total recoverable petroleum 
hydrocarbons (TRPH) by EPA 1664. 
 (v)  contamination from [USTs]PSTs which contain 
substances other than or in addition to petroleum shall be analyzed 
for appropriate constituents as determined by the director. 
 (vi)  for contamination of an unknown petroleum product 
type: 
 (A)  total petroleum hydrocarbons, [(]purgeable TPH as 
gasoline range organics C6 - C10[)], by either EPA 8015 or EPA 8260; 
 (B)  total petroleum hydrocarbons, [(]extractable TPH as 
diesel range organics C10 - C28[)], by EPA 8015; 
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 (C)  oil and grease (O and G) or total recoverable petroleum 
hydrocarbons (TRPH) by EPA 1664; and 
 (D)  benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene, xylenes, naphthalene 
(BTEXN), methyl tertiary butyl ether (MTBE), and halogenated 
volatile organic compounds (VOX) by either EPA 8021 or EPA 8260. 
 (vii)  potential vapor intrusion from petroleum product 
types shall be analyzed for appropriate constituents as determined by 
the director. 
 (c)  [all ]original laboratory sample results must be returned 
to the certified [groundwater and soil ]sampler or certified [UST]PST 
consultant to verify [all ]chain of custody protocols, including 
holding times and analytical procedures, were properly followed. 
 (d)  environmental media samples must be collected and 
transported under chain of custody according to EPA methods as 
approved by the director. 
 (e)  reporting limits used by laboratories analyzing 
environmental media samples taken under this rule shall be below 
Initial Screening Levels for the contaminated media under study. 
 (i)  environmental media samples shall be analyzed with 
the least possible dilution to ensure reporting limits are below Initial 
Screening Levels to the extent possible. 
 (ii)  if more than one determinative analysis is performed 
on any given environmental media sample, the final dilution factor 
used and the reporting limit must be reported by the laboratory. 
 (A)  as an alternative to diluting environmental media 
samples, the laboratory shall use appropriate analytical cleanup 
methods and describe which analytical cleanup methods were used 
to eliminate or minimize matrix interference. 
 (iii)  any analytical cleanup method used must not eliminate 
the contaminant of concern or target analyte. 
 
KEY:  petroleum, underground storage tanks 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Environmental Response and 

Remediation 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4840 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-206.  Underground Storage Tanks:  Certificate of 
Compliance and Financial Assurance Mechanisms 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 40, Storage Tank Amendment, passed in the 2021 
General Session of the Utah State Legislature, tasked the 
Division of Environmental Response and Remediation 
(DERR) to begin regulation of aboveground petroleum 
storage tanks (APSTs).  Requirements were added to the 
Underground Storage Tank Act for APSTs to have a 
certificate of compliance and financial assurance (FA) 
mechanism per Subsection 19-6-407(2). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The rule changes add the requirement for owners or 
operators of APSTs to declare a form of FA to obtain a 
Certificate of Compliance; add further requirements to this 
rule for APSTs that choose to participate in the 
Environmental Assurance Program (EAP) which includes 
a phase-in for certain requirements by 07/01/2026; defines 
eligible exempt aboveground storage tanks (ASTs) 
participation in the EAP; adds requirements for delivery 
prohibition for APSTs; and simplifies language in this rule 
by deleting Subsection R311-206-10(2) due to changes in 
Subsection 19-6-428(3) which no longer required facilities 
to do a site check to participate in the EAP after a period 
of non-participation. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
In Subsection R311-206-2(1), any fiscal cost to state 
government was accounted for in the fiscal note attached 
to S.B. 40 (2021). 
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In Subsection R311-206-3(1)(g), this rule change is not 
expected to have a fiscal impact on the state government-
owned APST sites because there is no requirement to hire 
a third party to create a site plat or as-built drawing. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-4(6), this rule change is not 
expected to have a fiscal impact on the state government-
owned APST sites because these sites already meet the 
requirements set forth in this rule. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-5(1), this rule change is not 
expected to have any fiscal impact on state government 
revenues or expenditures because all proposed changes 
are just clarifications and this rule. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-6(2), this rule change is not 
expected to have a fiscal impact on state government-
owned facilities that have exempt USTs and ASTs because 
the participation of these exempt tanks is voluntary and 
there is no way to know how many of these facilities will 
wish to voluntarily participate in the EAP. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-8(3), there is a direct fiscal cost 
to state-owned facilities with APSTs.  The total fiscal cost 
is inestimable because the number of APSTs owned by the 
state which will require delivery prohibition by never being 
qualified for a Certificate of Compliance or having their 
Certificate of Compliance revoked or lapsed is unknown. 
 
In Section R311-206-10, there may be a direct fiscal 
benefit to state-owned facilities with PSTs.  PSTs owned 
by the state are required by statute to participate in the 
EAP, so any facility that loses coverage under the EAP due 
to lapse or revoking of their Certificate of Compliance may 
not be required complete a site check to reapply.  
Historically, very few of state-owned facilities have had 
their Certificate of Compliance lapsed or revoked so the 
benefit will be very little. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-11(8) according to statute 
(Subsection 19-6-10.5(5)(e)(iv)), this rule change will not 
have an immediate fiscal impact on the state government-
owned facilities because the Environmental Assurance 
Fee rebate does not apply to APSTs until 07/01/2026. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

In Subsection R311-206-2(1), any fiscal cost to local 
governments was accounted for in the fiscal note attached 
to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
In Subsection R311-206-4(6), this rule change is expected 
to have a fiscal cost on the approximately 160 local 
government-owned facilities with APSTs that choose to 
participate in the EAP.  The fiscal cost is inestimable due 
to variation in type of APST facilities which may require 
upgrades to meet these standards which are already 
required to meet International Fire Code as adopted 
pursuant to Utah State Fire Code Section 15A-5-103. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-5(1), this rule change is not 
expected to have any fiscal impact on local governments' 

revenues or expenditures because all proposed changes 
are just clarifications and this rule. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-6(2), this rule change is not 
expected to have a fiscal impact on local government-
owned facilities that have exempt USTs and ASTs because 
the participation of these exempt tanks is voluntary and 
there is no way to know how many of these facilities will 
choose to voluntarily participate in the environmental 
assurance program. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-8(3), there is a direct fiscal cost 
to local government-owned facilities with APSTs.  The total 
fiscal cost is inestimable because the number of APSTs 
owned by local governments which will require delivery 
prohibition by never being qualified for a Certificate of 
Compliance or having their Certificate of Compliance 
revoked or lapsed is unknown. 
 
In Section R311-206-10, there may be a direct fiscal 
benefit to local government-owned facilities with PSTs but 
the number of facilities that choose to participate in the 
EAP after a period of non-participation, due to a change 
from an alternate form of financial assurance, or due to 
lapsing or revoking of their Certificate of Compliance, is 
inestimable. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-11(8) according to statute 
(Subsection 19-6-10.5(5)(e)(iv)), this rule change will not 
have an immediate fiscal impact on the local government-
owned facilities because the Environmental Assurance 
Fee rebate does not apply to APSTs until 07/01/2026. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
In Subsection R311-206-2(1), any fiscal cost to small 
businesses was accounted for in the fiscal note attached 
to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
In Subsection R311-206-4(6), this rule change is expected 
to have a fiscal cost on the approximately 160 small 
business-owned facilities with APSTs that choose to 
participate in the EAP.  The fiscal cost is inestimable due 
to variation in type of APST facilities which may require 
upgrades to meet these standards which are already 
required to meet International Fire Code as adopted 
pursuant to Utah State Fire Code Section 15A-5-103. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-5(1), this rule change is not 
expected to have any fiscal impact on small businesses' 
revenues or expenditures because all proposed changes 
are just clarifications and this rule. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-6(2), this rule change is not 
expected to have a fiscal impact on small business-owned 
facilities that have exempt USTs and ASTs because the 
participation of these exempt tanks is voluntary and there 
is no way to know how many of these facilities will choose 
to voluntarily participate in the environmental assurance 
program. 
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In Subsection R311-206-8(3), there is a direct fiscal cost 
to small business-owned facilities with APSTs.  The total 
fiscal cost is inestimable because the number of APSTs 
owned by small businesses which will require delivery 
prohibition by never being qualified for a Certificate of 
Compliance or having their Certificate of Compliance 
revoked or lapsed is unknown. 
 
In Section R311-206-10, there may be a direct fiscal 
benefit to small business-owned facilities with PSTs but 
the number of facilities that choose to participate in the 
EAP after a period of non-participation, due to a change 
from an alternate form of financial assurance, or due to 
lapsing or revoking of their Certificate of Compliance, is 
inestimable. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-11(8) according to statute 
(Subsection 19-6-10.5(5)(e)(iv)), this rule change will not 
have an immediate fiscal impact on small business-owned 
facilities because the Environmental Assurance Fee 
rebate does not apply to APSTs until 07/01/2026. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
In Subsection R311-206-2(1), any fiscal cost to non-small 
businesses was accounted for in the fiscal note attached 
to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
In Subsection R311-206-4(6), this rule change is expected 
to have a fiscal cost on the approximately 160 non-small 
business-owned facilities with APSTs that choose to 
participate in the EAP.  The fiscal cost is inestimable due 
to variation in type of APST facilities which may require 
upgrades to meet these standards which are already 
required to meet International Fire Code as adopted 
pursuant to Utah State Fire Code Section 15A-5-103. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-5(1), this rule change is not 
expected to have any fiscal impact on non-small 
businesses' revenues or expenditures because all 
proposed changes are just clarifications and this rule. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-6(2), this rule change is not 
expected to have a fiscal impact on non-small business 
owned facilities that have exempt USTs and ASTs because 
the participation of these exempt tanks is voluntary and 
there is no way to know how many of these facilities will 
choose to voluntarily participate in the environmental 
assurance program. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-8(3), there is a direct fiscal cost 
to non-small business-owned facilities with APSTs.  The 
total fiscal cost is inestimable because the number of 
APSTs owned by non-small businesses which will require 
delivery prohibition by never being qualified for a 
Certificate of Compliance or having their Certificate of 
Compliance revoked or lapsed is unknown. 
 
In Section R311-206-10, there may be a direct fiscal 
benefit to non-small business-owned facilities with PSTs 
but the number of facilities that choose to participate in the 

EAP after a period of non-participation, due to a change 
from an alternate form of financial assurance, or due to 
lapsing or revoking of their Certificate of Compliance, is 
inestimable.  
 
In Subsection R311-206-11(8) according to statute 
(Subsection 19-6-10.5(5)(e)(iv)), this rule change will not 
have an immediate fiscal impact on the non-small 
business-owned facilities because the Environmental 
Assurance Fee rebate does not apply to APSTs until 
07/01/2026. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These rule changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other persons because the rule changes will not 
apply to these entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
New for APSTs: 
APSTs using alternate form of FA Subsection R311-206-
3(1)(f):  $420 initial $240 annual policy review for all 
facilities of a single owner. 
APSTs using EAP as form of FA:  $150/tank throughput 
>70,000 gals $450/tank no throughput reported or <70,000 
gals. 
APSTs using EAP as form of FA:  Add Spill Bucket (if 
required) $5 to $5,000/PST. 
APSTs using EAP as form of FA:  Add Overfill (if required) 
$1,500/PST. 
APSTs using EAP as form of FA:  Add Automatic Line 
Leak Detector (if required) $1,500/PST. 
APSTs using EAP as form of FA:  Add Cathodic Protection 
(if required) $15,000/PST. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule will likely have a cost for businesses who choose 
to use EAP as their form of financial assurance.  Meeting 
certain standards to participate in the EAP prevents 
releases and minimizes impact on the petroleum storage 
tank fund.  Kim Shelley, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-402 Section 19-6-428 
Section 
19-6-410.5 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 

On: At: At: 
06/15/2022 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building,195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT, in Room 
1015 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/29/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brent Everett, 
Director 

Date: 05/15/2022 

 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-206.  [Underground]Petroleum Storage Tanks:  Certificate 
of Compliance and Financial Assurance Mechanisms. 
R311-206-1.  Definitions. 
 Definitions are found in Rule R311-200. 
 
R311-206-2.  Declaration of Financial Assurance Mechanism. 
 (1)  To demonstrate financial assurance, as required by [40 
CFR 280, subpart H]Section 19-6-412 and Subsection 19-6-
407(2)(c), owners or operators of petroleum storage tanks must: 
 (a)  declare they will participate in the EAP and meet 
[all]the requirements for participation in the [Environmental 
Assurance Program]EAP under Sections 19-6-410.5, 19-6-428 and 
R311-206-4; or 
 (b)  demonstrate financial assurance by an allowable 
method specified in [40 CFR 280, subpart H]Section R311-206-5. 
[ (2)  Owners or operators must declare whether they will 
participate in the Environmental Assurance Program under Section 
19-6-410.5, or show financial assurance by another method.] 
 ([3]2)  For the purposes of Subsection 19-6-412(6), [all 
]tanks at a facility must be covered by the same financial assurance 
mechanism, and must be considered to be in one area, unless the 
director determines there is sufficient information so that releases 
from different tanks at the facility could be accurately differentiated. 
 
R311-206-3.  Requirements for Issuance of Certificates of 
Compliance. 
 (1)  The director shall issue a certificate of compliance to 
an owner or operator for individual petroleum storage tanks at a 
facility if: 
 (a)  the owner or operator has a certificate of registration; 
 (b)  [the tank is substantially in compliance with all state 
and federal statutes, rules and regulations]the owner or operator must 
certify that the PST is in substantial compliance with state and federal 
statutes, rules, and regulations applicable to PST systems; 
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 (i)  APSTs using the EAP for financial responsibility, the 
owner or operator may meet the requirements outlined in Subsection 
R311-206-4(6). 
 (c)  the [UST]tank tightness test, as required by Section 19-
6-413 conducted within six months before the tank was registered or 
within 60 days after the date the tank was registered, indicates that 
each individual [UST]PST is not leaking; 
 (d)  the owner or operator has submitted a letter to the 
director stating that based on customary business inventory practices 
standards there has been no release from the tank; 
 (e)  the owner or operator has submitted a completed 
application according to a form provided and approved by the 
director, and [has declared]demonstrated the financial assurance 
mechanism that will be used; 
 (f)  the owner or operator has met [all]the requirements for 
the financial assurance mechanism chosen, including payment of [all 
]applicable fees; 
 (g)  the owner or operator has submitted an as-built 
drawing, for newly-installed systems, that meets the requirements of 
Subsection R311-200-1(2)(b) or a site plat, for existing systems, that 
meets the requirements of Subsection R311-200-1(2)(rr); and 
 (h)  the owner or operator has, for newly-installed tanks, 
submitted the completed tank manufacturer's installation checklist. 
 
R311-206-4.  Requirements for Environmental Assurance 
Program Participants. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 19-6-411(1)(a), the 
annual facility throughput rate, if reported, shall be reported to the 
director as a specific number of gallons, based on the throughput for 
the previous calendar year. 
 (2)  In accordance with Subsection 19-6-411(1)(b), when a 
petroleum storage tank is initially registered with the director, any 
petroleum storage tank fee for that tank for the current fiscal year is 
due when the tank is brought into use, as a requirement for receiving 
a certificate of compliance. 
 (3)  In accordance with Subsection 19-6-411(2)(a)(i), if an 
installation company receives its annual permit after the beginning of 
the fiscal year, the annual fee must be paid for the entire year. 
 (4)  Auditing of [UST]PST facility throughput records. 
 (a)  owners and operators must retain for seven years the 
monthly tank throughput records of the facility. 
 (b)  tank throughput records shall include [all ]financial and 
product documentation for receipts, deliveries, transfers, and 
inventories. 
 (c)  the director may audit or commission an audit, by an 
independent auditor, of records which support the amount of 
throughput, for each tank at a participant's facility. 
 (i)  records must be made available at the [D]department 
for inspection within 30 calendar days after receiving notice from the 
director. 
 (ii)  audits may be determined by random selection or for 
particular reasons, including suspicion or discovery of inaccuracies 
in throughput reports, aggregating throughput reports, having a 
release, or filing a claim. 
 (iii)  auditing tank throughput may be accomplished by any 
method approved by the director. 
 (iv)  [all ]costs of an independent audit shall be paid by the 
owner or operator. 
 (5)  Owners or operators eligible for participation in the 
[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP must demonstrate financial 
assurance for the difference between coverage provided by the 

[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP and coverage amounts 
required by 40 CFR 280 Subpart H. 
 (a)  if the owner or operator chooses self-insurance as the 
mechanism for demonstrating financial assurance for the difference, 
they must document a tangible net worth of $10,000 upon request and 
to the satisfaction of the director. 
 (i)  the director may require the owner or operator to submit 
an independent audit to demonstrate new worth for self-insurance. 
 (A)  the owner or operator will bear the expense for the 
audit. 
 (B)  the criteria for an audit are the same as set forth in 
Subsection R311-206-4(4)(b). 
 (b)  an owner or operator may also select and document 
another mechanism specified in 40 CFR 280.94 to demonstrate 
financial assurance for the difference. 
 (c)  the processing fee requirement referenced in 
Subsection R311-206-5(2) is not applicable because the 
administrative cost is covered by the [Environmental Assurance 
Program]EAP fee. 
 (6)  For a facility with an APST using the EAP for financial 
responsibility, the director shall issue a certificate of compliance to 
an owner or operator for individual APSTs, if: 
 (a)  before July 1, 2026, the owner or operator: 
 (i)  documents compliance with spill prevention equipment 
requirements and submits a spill prevention equipment test; and 
 (ii)  documents compliance with applicable leak detection 
and testing requirements outlined in Section R311-203-5. 
 (b)  on or after July 1, 2026, the owner or operator: 
 (i)  if applicable, documents compliance with cathodic 
protection requirements and submits a cathodic protection test, if 
required by Subsection R311-203-5(10)(d) indicating that the 
cathodic protection system is functioning properly; 
 (ii)  documents compliance with overfill prevention 
requirements and submits an overfill prevention equipment 
inspection per Subsection R311-203-5(10)(e); 
 (iii)  documents compliance with automatic line leak 
detector and submits an automatic line leak detector test, if required 
by Subsection R311-203-5(10)(f), indicating that each individual 
automatic line leak detector is functioning properly; and 
 (iv)  documents compliance with APST secondary 
containment requirements as outlined in International Fire Code 
2306.5 & 5704.2.10 referenced in the Utah State Fire Code pursuant 
to Section 15A-5-103. 
 
R311-206-5.  Requirements for Owners and Operators 
Demonstrating Financial Assurance by Other Methods. 
 (1)  Owners and operators who elect to utilize an alternate 
form of financial assurance must meet the minimum coverage 
amounts [use]using one or a combination of mechanisms 
[specified]as outlined in 40 CFR 280.94. 
 (a)  owners and operators must submit to the director the 
documents required by 40 CFR 280.111 to be kept and maintained 
for the mechanism used. 
 (b)  formats, calculations, letters, reporting, and record 
keeping shall be done in accordance with each applicable financial 
assurance mechanism specified in 40 CFR 280 subpart H. 
 (c)  if the financial assurance documentation submitted to 
the director is not in accordance with 40 CFR 280 subpart H, it shall 
be rejected and shall be invalid. 
 (2)  The processing fee established in Subsection 19-6-
408(2) for each new or changed financial assurance document 
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submitted for approval shall be included with the financial assurance 
document and shall be payable to the Department. 
 (a)  processing fees for subsequent reviews of financial 
assurance documents are due on July 1 of the fiscal year for which 
the review is required. 
 (b)  pursuant to 40 CFR 280.97, if the financial assurance 
mechanism is an insurance policy, the insurer is liable for payment of 
amounts within any deductible applicable to the policy to the 
provider of corrective action or a damaged third party, with right of 
reimbursement by the insured for such payment made by the insurer. 
 (i)  this provision does not apply with respect to that amount 
of any deductible for which coverage is demonstrated under another 
mechanism or combination of mechanisms as specified in 40 CFR 
280.95 through 280.102 and 280.104 through 280.107. 
 (ii)  a showing of financial assurance for the deductible, if 
such a showing is made, shall be treated as a separate financial 
assurance mechanism subject to the processing fee requirement 
referenced in Subsection R311-206-5(2). 
 (c)  if an owner or operator desires to make any material 
change to the financial assurance document, the change shall be 
approved by the director, and an additional processing fee shall be 
paid in circumstances as determined by the director. 
 (3)  Evidence of a current and approved financial assurance 
mechanism must be reported to the director as follows: 
 (a)  owners and operators using the financial test of self-
insurance must submit the "Letter from Chief Financial Officer" to 
the director within the maximum 120-day period specified in 40 CFR 
280.95. 
 (b)  owners and [O]operators using insurance and risk 
retention group coverage for financial assurance must submit the 
coverage policy in its entirety, with the current Certificate of 
Insurance or Endorsement specified in 40 CFR 280.97(b), to the 
director within 30 days of acceptance of such policy by the insurer or 
risk retention group. 
 (i)  if the insurance policy or risk retention group coverage 
is cance[l]led, the insurer or risk retention group shall provide written 
notice of cancellation or other termination of coverage required by 
40 CFR 280.97(b)(1)2.d. and 280.97(b)(2)2.d. to the director as well 
as the insured. 
 (ii)  the insurer must have a rating of A- or greater by A.M. 
Best Co. 
 (c)  owners and operators using an irrevocable letter of 
credit must submit proof of the letter of credit, standby trust fund, and 
formal certification of acknowledgement to the director within 30 
days of issuance from the issuing institution. 
 (d)  owners and operators using a fully funded trust fund 
for financial assurance must submit proof of the trust fund and formal 
certification of acknowledgement to the director within 30 days after 
implementation of the trust fund. 
 (e)  owners and operators using a guarantee for financial 
assurance shall submit the Guarantee document, standby trust fund, 
and certification of acknowledgement to the director within 30 days 
of issuance. 
 (i)  the owner or operator must also submit the guarantor's 
letter from the chief financial officer within the 120-day period 
specified in 40 CFR 280.95. 
 (f)  owners and operators using a surety bond for financial 
assurance must submit the surety bond document, standby trust fund, 
and certification of acknowledgement to the director within 30 days 
of issuance. 

 (g)  guarantees and surety bonds may be used as financial 
assurance mechanisms in Utah only if the requirement of 40 CFR 
Part 280.94(b) is met. 
 (h)  owners and operators using one of the local 
government methods specified in 40 CFR 280.104 through 280.107 
must submit the letter from the chief financial officer and associated 
documents to the director within 120 days of the end of the owner, 
operator, or guarantor's fiscal year. 
 (4)  The director may require reports of financial condition 
or any other information relative to justification of the financial 
assurance mechanism from the owner or operator at any time. 
 (a)  information requested must be reported to the director 
within 30 calendar days after receiving the request. 
 (b)  owners and operators must maintain evidence of all 
financial assurance mechanisms as specified in 40 CFR 280.111. 
 (c)  owners and operators must keep records of all financial 
assurance mechanisms in accordance with 40 CFR 280.111 and 
280.113. 
 (d)  the director may audit or commission an audit of 
records supporting the financial assurance mechanism at any time. 
 (i)  audits may be determined by random selection or for 
specific reasons, including the occurrence of a release or suspected 
release, deficiencies in complying with regulations or orders, or the 
suspicion or discovery of inaccuracies. 
 (ii)  auditing of financial assurance methods may be 
accomplished by any method approved by the director. 
 (5)  Any [and all ]costs of securing a selected financial 
assurance mechanism and generating and providing the necessary 
reporting evidence of an assurance mechanism to the director is the 
sole responsibility of the owner or operator. 
 (6)  Processing of the alternate financial assurance 
mechanism documents may be accomplished utilizing any method 
approved by the director. 
 
R311-206-6.  Voluntary Admission of Eligible [Exempt 
Underground Storage Tanks and Aboveground]Exempt 
Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks and Eligible Exempt 
Aboveground Storage Tanks Containing Petroleum to the 
Environmental Assurance Program. 
 (1)  Owners or operators of eligible exempt USTs specified 
in Subsection 19-6-415(1)(a) may voluntarily participate in the 
[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP by: 
 (a)  performing a site check in accordance with Rule R311-
205; 
 ([a]b)  meeting the requirements of [Section]Subsections 
19-6-428(3)(a), [and Subsections ]19-6-415(1) and R311-206-3(1); 
 ([b]c)  properly performing release detection according to 
the requirements of 40 CFR Part 280 Subpart D; and 
 ([c]d)  meeting the upgrade requirements in 40 CFR 280.21 
or the new tank requirements in 40 CFR 280.20, as applicable. 
 (2)  Owners or operators of eligible exempt aboveground 
storage tanks containing petroleum may voluntarily participate in the 
[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP by[:] 
 (a)  performing a site check in accordance with Rule R311-
205; and  
 ([a]b)  meeting the requirements of [Section 19-6-
428]Subsections 19-6-15(2) and 19-6-428(3)(a), [and Subsections 
19-6-415(2) and R311-206-3(1);]and Sections R311-206-3 and 
R311-206-4. 
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[ (b)  meeting applicable requirements of the Utah State Fire 
Code adopted pursuant to Section 15A-1-403; 
 (c)  performing an annual line tightness test of all 
underground product piping, or documenting monthly monitoring of 
sensor-equipped double-walled underground product piping; and 
 (d)  performing a tightness test of all aboveground tanks 
every five years, using a tightness test method capable of properly 
testing the tank.] 
 
R311-206-7.  Revocation and Lapsing of Certificates. 
 (1)  The director shall revoke a certificate of compliance or 
registration if [he]the director determines that the owner or operator 
has willfully submitted a fraudulent application or is not in 
compliance with any requirement pertaining to the certificate. 
 (2)  A [petroleum storage tank]PST owner or operator who 
has had a certificate of compliance revoked under Section 19-6-414 
or Subsection R311-206-7(1) may have the certificate reissued by the 
director after the owner or operator demonstrates compliance with 
Subsections 19-6-412(2), 19-6-428(3), and Section R311-206-3. 
 (3)  A [petroleum storage tank]PST owner or operator who 
has had a certificate of compliance lapse under Subsection 19-6-
408(5)(c) may have the certificate reissued by the director after the 
owner or operator demonstrates compliance with 
[Subsection]Sections 19-6-412[(2)] and [Section ]R311-206-3. 
 (4)  A [petroleum storage tank]PST owner or operator who 
has had eligibility to receive payments for claims against the [F]fund 
lapse under Subsection 19-6-411(3)(c)(ii) must: 
 (a)  meet the requirements of Subsection 19-6-428(3); and 
 (b)  pay [all ]fees, interest, and penalties due to reinstate 
eligibility. 
 (5)  Upon permanent closure of a tank which is covered by 
the Petroleum Storage Tank Fund, the eligibility to make a claim 
against the Petroleum Storage Tank Fund will terminate as specified 
in Section R311-207-2. 
 (a)  permanently closed tanks are not eligible to be reissued 
a certificate of compliance. 
 (6)  In accordance with Section 19-6-414, the director may 
revoke a certificate of compliance for the owner's or operator's failure 
to comply with the following requirements as outlined in 40 CFR 
280[, which requires]: 
 (a)  release reporting; 
 (b)  abatement; 
 (c)  investigation; 
 (d)  corrective action; or 
 (e)  other measures to bring the release site under control. 
 
R311-206-8.  Delivery Prohibition. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 19-6-411(7) and 19-6-
407(2)(d)(ii), the director shall authorize the placement of a delivery 
prohibition tag identifying a tank: 
 (a)  for which the certificate of compliance has been 
revoked in accordance with Section 19-6-414; 
 (b)  for which the certificate of compliance has lapsed for 
non-payment of fees in accordance with Subsection 19-6-408(5); 
 (c)  that has never qualified for a certificate of compliance, 
and is not a new installation under Subsection R311-206-8(1)(d); or 
 (d)  that is a new installation, and has not been issued a 
certificate of compliance. 
 (2)  For USTs, [I]in accordance with Subsection 19-6-
403(1)(b)(i), the director shall authorize the placement of a delivery 
prohibition tag to be placed on the [tank]UST as soon as practicable 
after the determination is made that a tank does not have: 

 (a)  spill prevention equipment required under 40 CFR 
280.20(c) or 280.21(d); 
 (b)  overfill prevention equipment required under 40 CFR 
280.20(c) or 280.21(d); 
 (c)  equipment required for tank or piping leak detection in 
accordance with 40 CFR 280 Subpart D; or 
 (d)  equipment required for tank or piping corrosion 
protection in accordance with 40 CFR 280 Subpart B or C. 
 (3)  For APSTs, the director shall authorize the placement 
of a delivery prohibition tag to be placed on the APST as soon as 
practicable after the determination that the APST was not in service 
after May 5, 2021. 
 ([3]4)  The delivery prohibition tag shall be placed on the 
tank fill or in a visible location near the tank fill. 
 ([4]5)  A person who delivers or accepts delivery of a 
regulated substance or petroleum into a tank marked with a delivery 
prohibition tag shall be subject to the penalties outlined in Section 
19-6-416, unless authorized under Subsection R311-206-8(5). 
 ([5]6)  The director may issue written approval for a 
delivery of petroleum to: 
 (a)  provide ballast for a new tank during installation, or 
 (b)  allow for the tank tightness test required under Section 
19-6-413. 
 ([6]7)  The delivery prohibition tag must remain in place 
until the director issues: 
 (a)  for tanks that have a tag in place in accordance with 
Subsection R311-206-8(1): 
 (i)  a new certificate of compliance for the tank; and 
 (ii)  written authorization to remove the delivery 
prohibition tag; or 
 (b)  for tanks that have a tag in place in accordance with 
Subsection R311-206-8(2): 
 (i)  written authorization to remove the delivery prohibition 
tag. 
 ([7]8)  If a delivery prohibition tag is removed without the 
authorization specified in Subsection[s] R311-206-8(6)(a)(ii) or 
R311-206-8(6)(b)(i), the [UST]PST owner or operator is [be ]subject 
to: 
 (a)  a re-inspection and any applicable fees; and 
 (b)  placement of a new delivery prohibition tag on the tank. 
 
R311-206-9.  Removing Participating Tanks from the 
Environmental Assurance Program. 
 (1)  Owners and operators of [petroleum storage 
tanks]PSTs who have voluntarily elected to participate in the 
[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP may cease participation in 
the [Environmental Assurance Program]EAP and be exempted from 
the requirements described in Section R311-206-4 by: 
 (a)  permanently closing tanks as outlined in 40 CFR 280, 
subpart G and Rules R311-204 and R311-205; or 
 (b)  meeting the following requirements: 
 (i)  demonstrating compliance with Section R311-206-5; 
and 
 (ii)  notifying the director in writing at least 30 days before 
the date of cessation of participation in the [Environmental Assurance 
Program]EAP, and specifying the date of cessation. 
 (A)  the director may waive the 30-day requirement if the 
owner or operator has already documented current financial 
assurance under Section R311-206-5 for other petroleum storage 
tanks owned or operated by the owner or operator. 
 (B)  the date of cessation of participation in the 
[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP may occur after the date 
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designated in Subsection R311-206-9(1)(b)(ii) if the owner or 
operator does not document compliance with Section R311-206-5 by 
the date originally designated. 
 (2)  pro[-]rata refunds will not be given. 
 (3)  For tanks being removed voluntarily from the 
[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP, the date of cessation of 
participation in the [Environmental Assurance Program]EAP shall be 
the date on which coverage under the [Environmental Assurance 
Program]EAP ends. 
 (a)  subsequent claims for payments from the Petroleum 
Storage Tank Fund must be made in accordance with Sections 19-6-
424 and R311-207-2. 
 (4)  For any facility that participates in the [Environmental 
Assurance Program]EAP and is sold to a company with facilities that 
do not participate in the [Environmental Assurance Program]EAP, 
the date of termination of coverage is the closing date for the real 
estate transaction. 
 (a)  the purchaser shall provide documentation of the 
closing date to the director within 30 days of closing. 
 
R311-206-10.  Participation in the Environmental Assurance 
Program After a Period of [Voluntary ]Non-participation. 
 (1)  Owners and operators [who choose not to 
participate]not participating in the [Environmental Assurance 
Program]EAP must, before any subsequent participation in the 
[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP, meet the following 
requirements: 
 (a)  notify the director of the intent to participate in the 
[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP; 
 (b)  comply with the requirements of Subsection 19-6-
428(3); and 
 (c)  meet the requirements of [Subsection]Section R311-
206-3[(1)] to qualify for a new certificate of compliance. 
[ (2)  In accordance with Subsection 19-6-428(3)(b), the 
director may determine that there is reasonable cause to believe that 
no petroleum has been released if the owner or operator, for each 
petroleum storage tank to participate in the Environmental Assurance 
Program, meets the following requirements at the time the owner or 
operator applies for participation: 
 (a)  the last two compliance inspections verify compliance 
with EPA UST Technical Compliance Rate, and verify that no release 
has occurred. 
 (b)  documents compliance with all release prevention and 
release detection requirements that are required for the time period 
since the last compliance inspection, and the records submitted do 
not give reason to suspect a release has occurred.  The owner or 
operator shall submit: 
 (i)  tank and piping leak detection records, or a tank and 
line tightness test performed within the last six months; 
 (ii)  the most recent simulated leak test for all automatic 
line leak detectors; 
 (iii)  cathodic protection tests, if applicable; and 
 (iv)  internal lining inspections, if applicable. 
 (c)  the period of non-participation in the Environmental 
Assurance Program is less than six months, or the petroleum storage 
tank is less than ten years old.] 
 
R311-206-11.  Environmental Assurance Fee Rebate. 
 (1)  To meet the requirements of Subsection 19-6-
410.5(5)(d), for each UST Facility participating in the 
[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP, a risk value will be 
calculated according to the "Environmental Assurance Program Risk 

Factor Table and Calculation,"[,] which is [hereby ]incorporated by 
reference. 
 (a)  the table, dated June 2, 2014, contains risk factors and 
the formula for risk value calculation. 
 (2)  The risk value for each facility participating in the 
[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP shall be: 
 (a)  calculated on a facility basis; 
 (b)  valid for the calendar year; 
 (c)  based on the facility characteristics as of December 15 
of the prior calendar year; and 
 (d)  determined, at sites with mixed equipment, by 
considering the highest risk-valued petroleum storage tank system 
component for each risk factor. 
 (3)  To qualify as secondarily contained for purposes of risk 
calculation, tanks shall: 
 (a)  meet the requirements for secondary containment in 40 
CFR 280.20; and 
 (b)  meet one of the following: 
 (i)  use an interstitial sensor and documentation of monthly 
interstitial monitoring; or 
 (ii)  documentation of monthly visual checks of a brine-
filled interstitial space. 
 (4)  To qualify as secondarily contained for purposes of risk 
calculation, piping shall: 
 (a)  meet the requirements for secondary containment 
outlined in 40 CFR 280.20; and 
 (b)  meet one of the following: 
 (i)  maintain monthly records of monitoring of the interstice 
by vacuum, pressure, or liquid filled interstitial space, or 
 (ii)  use an interstitial monitoring method not listed in 
Subsection R311-206-11(4)(b)(i). 
 (5)  To qualify as secondarily contained for purposes of risk 
calculation, piping containment sumps, and under-dispenser 
containment shall be double-walled with monthly documentation of 
monitoring of the space between the walls. 
 (6)  Each facility that participates in the [Environmental 
Assurance Program]EAP may be eligible for a rebate of a portion of 
the Environmental Assurance Fee according to the rebate schedule in 
"Environmental Assurance Fee Rebate Table,"[,] dated June 2, 2014, 
which is [hereby ]incorporated by reference. 
 (7)  A facility that begins participation in the 
[Environmental Assurance Program]EAP after January 1 of a 
calendar year shall have its risk value calculated for that year based 
on the risk factors in place at the facility on the date the facility begins 
participation in the [Environmental Assurance Program]EAP. 
 (8)  The Environmental Assurance Fee rebate does not 
apply to APSTs until July 1, 2026 as per Subsections 19-6-
410.5(5)(d) and 19-6-410.5(5)(e). 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Environmental Response and 

Remediation 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4840 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-207.  Accessing the Petroleum Storage Tank Trust 
Fund for Leaking Petroleum Storage Tanks 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 40, Storage Tank Amendment, passed in the 2021 
General Session of the Utah State Legislature, tasked the 
Division of Environmental Response and Remediation 
(DERR) to begin regulation of aboveground petroleum 
storage tanks (APSTs).  This Includes APST participation 
in the Petroleum Storage Tank Fund per Section 19-6-409. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
In Subsection R311-207-2(5), clarifies the reimbursement 
percentages for new and historic releases for APSTs 
which join the Environmental Assurance Program (EAP) 
without performing a site check. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
In Subsection R311-207-2(5), this rule change is expected 
to have potential minimal impacts on state government 
fleet services expenditures due to paying the fuel 
surcharge for participating in the EAP; however, in the long 

term, expenditures by fleet services for potential release 
cleanup costs will be minimized by EAP participation.  
Because fleet services throughout and number of releases 
occurring per year varies, these costs are inestimable. 
 
This rule change is expected to have minimal impacts on 
DERR's expenditures and revenues due to more facilities 
paying the fuel surcharge for participating in the EAP; 
however, more facilities will have release cleanup costs 
covered by the EAP.  Because DERR cannot know how 
many facilities will opt to use the EAP for financial 
responsibility, the number of releases occurring per year 
varies, and cleanup costs are site specific, these costs are 
inestimable. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

In Subsection R311-207-2(5), this rule change is expected 
to have potential minimal impact on local governments' 
expenditures due to paying the fuel surcharge for 
participating in the EAP; however, in the long term, 
expenditures for potential release cleanup costs will be 
minimized by EAP participation.  Because DERR cannot 
know how many facilities will opt to use the EAP for 
financial responsibility, the number of releases occurring 
per year varies, and cleanup costs are site specific, these 
costs are inestimable. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
In Subsection R311-207-2(5), this rule change is expected 
to have potential minimal impact on small businesses 
expenditures due to paying the fuel surcharge for 
participating in the EAP; however, in the long term, 
expenditures for potential release cleanup costs will be 
minimized by EAP participation.  Because DERR cannot 
know how many facilities will opt to use the EAP for 
financial responsibility, the number of releases occurring 
per year varies, and cleanup costs are site specific, these 
costs are inestimable. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
In Subsection R311-207-2(5), this rule change is expected 
to have potential minimal impact on non-small businesses 
expenditures due to paying the fuel surcharge for 
participating in the EAP; however, in the long term, 
expenditures for potential release cleanup costs will be 
minimized by EAP participation.  Because DERR cannot 
know how many facilities will opt to use the EAP for 
financial responsibility, the number of releases occurring 
per year varies, and cleanup costs are site specific, these 
costs are inestimable. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
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In Subsection R311-207-2(5), this rule change is expected 
to have potential minimal impact on other persons 
expenditures due to paying the fuel surcharge for 
participating in the EAP; however, in the long term, 
expenditures for potential release cleanup costs will be 
minimized by EAP participation.  Because DERR cannot 
know how many facilities will opt to use the EAP for 
financial responsibility, the number of releases occurring 
per year varies, and cleanup costs are site specific, these 
costs are inestimable. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Because DERR cannot know how many facilities will opt 
to use the EAP for financial responsibility these costs are 
inestimable as a total, but for facilities using the EAP for 
financial responsibility: 
$0.0065 per gallon surcharge 
$10,000 deductible for eligible releases 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Minimal impacts on businesses are expected by this rule.  
Kim Shelley, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelly, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-419 Section 19-6-409 
Section 19-6-403   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
06/15/2022 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building,195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT, in Room 
1015 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/29/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brent Everett, 
Director 

Date: 05/15/2022 
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R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-207.  Accessing the Petroleum Storage Tank [Trust ]Fund 
for Leaking Petroleum Storage Tanks. 
R311-207-1.  Definitions. 
 Definitions are found in [Section]Rule R311-200. 
 
R311-207-2.  Notification of Intent and Eligibility to Claim 
Against the Petroleum Storage Tank [Trust ]Fund. 
 (1)  Any responsible party who is making any claim against 
the Petroleum Storage Tank [Trust ]Fund must: 
 (a)  have previously satisfied the requirements of 
Subsection R311-206-3(1); 
 (b)  have a valid certificate of compliance at the time of 
product release by the covered [UST]PST; and 
 (c)  meet the requirements of Section 19-6-424. 
 (2)  Except as provided in Subsection R311-207-2(3), a 
responsible party eligible to receive payments in accordance with 
Section 19-6-419 must submit to the director a written eligibility 
application to make a claim against the Fund: 
 (a)  during a period for which that tank was covered by the 
Fund; 
 (b)  within one year after that Fund-covered tank is closed; 
 (c)  within six months after the end of the period during 
which the tank was covered by the Fund; or 
 (d)  before the responsible party expends any amount over 
their share in eligible costs, whichever is sooner. 
 (3)  For eligible releases that are discovered and reported to 
the director after July 1, 1994, the responsible party [is required 
to]shall [expend]spend the first $10,000 in eligible costs as 
determined by the director. 
 (4)  For eligible releases that are discovered [prior to]before 
July 1, 1994, the responsible party [is required to]shall 
[expend]spend the first $25,000 in eligible costs as determined by the 
director. 
 (5)  Owners and operators of facilities who participate in 
the EAP after July 1, 2021 without performing a site check: 
 (a)  for new releases, the responsible party shall spend the 
first $10,000 in eligible costs as determined by the director and will 
be covered at 100%. 
 (b)  for historic contamination, the responsible party shall 
spend the first $10,000 in eligible costs as determined by the director 
and will have release coverage percentages as set forth in Subsection 
19-6-428(3). 
 ([5]6)  A completed eligibility application form submitted 
by the responsible party requesting coverage, within the time frames 
specified in Subsection R311-207-2(2), shall constitute a claim 
against the Fund in accordance with Section 19-6-424. 
 ([6]7)  The responsible party's share of eligible costs 
remains the same, regardless of the number of responsible parties 
who are associated with a release and covered by the Fund. 
 (a)  only one responsible party can claim against the 
[f]Fund per release in accordance with Section 19-6-419. 
 ([7]8)  When a facility has an open release and a subsequent 
Fund eligible release occurs at that facility, the Fund allowable 
coverage for the subsequent release will be limited to the amount 
required to investigate and remediate the subsequent release up to the 
maximum allowable under Section 19-6-419. 
 (a)  additional Fund monies cannot be obtained for the 
investigation and remediation of the original release through the 
coverage of a subsequent release. 

 (b)  the director shall determine the allowable coverage for 
a subsequent release. 
 ([8]9)  The maximum coverage allowed in Section 19-6-
419 for a series of releases cannot be aggregated to provide additional 
reimbursement over the maximum for any release included in the 
series. 
 ([9]10)  When the director has made a determination that 
the clean up standards established for the site pursuant to Section 
R311-211-5 have been achieved for a release, the release shall receive 
a "No Further Action" status. 
 
R311-207-3.  Prerequisites for Submission of Requests for 
Reimbursement of Claims Against the Petroleum Storage Tank 
[Trust ]Fund. 
 (1)  Upon making a claim for coverage under the Petroleum 
Storage Tank [Trust ]Fund, and after receiving notice from the 
director of eligibility to claim against the Fund, the responsible party 
shall meet compliance time tables issued by the director. 
 (2)  For allowable costs to b e covered by the Fund, the 
director must approve [all ]work plans, corrective action plans, and 
associated budgets before a responsible party initiates any work, 
except as allowed by Subsections 19-6-420(3)(b) and 19-6-420(6). 
 (a)  work plans must include a budget for the work. 
 (i)  budgets must be in compliance with Subsection[s] 
R311-207-4(8). 
 (ii)  budgets must include proposed costs in an itemized 
format as described in Subsections R311-207-4(1) through R311-
207-4(5). 
 (3)  [Prior to]Before performing work eligible for 
reimbursement by the Fund, the consultant must have a Statement of 
Qualification approved by the director. 
 (a)  the initial Statement of Qualification submittal shall 
include information about the qualifications of [all ]certified 
[UST]PST consultants and other persons who will be performing 
investigation or corrective action activities in accordance with the 
work plans. 
 (b)  the Statement of Qualification shall include at least 
three letters of reference from entities that have retained the services 
of the consultant, and shall document that: 
 (i)  the consultant and other key personnel are of good 
character and reputation regarding such matters as control of costs, 
quality of work, ability to meet deadlines, and technical competence; 
 (ii)  the consultant and other key personnel have completed 
applicable Occupational Safety and Health Agency-approved safety 
training and any other applicable safety training, as required by 
federal and state law; and 
 (iii)  the consultant carries the following insurance: 
 (A)  Commercial General Liability Insurance or 
Comprehensive General Liability Insurance, including coverage for 
premises and operation, explosion, collapse and underground 
hazards, products and completed operations, contractual, personal 
injury and death, and catastrophic, with limits of $1,000,000 
minimum per occurrence, $2,000,000 minimum general aggregate, 
and $2,000,000 minimum products or completed operations 
aggregate; 
 (B)  Comprehensive Automobile Liability Insurance, with 
limits of $1,000,000 minimum and $2,000,000 aggregate; and 
 (C)  Workers' Compensation and Employers' Liability 
Insurance, as required by applicable state law. 
 (c)  the Statement of Qualification must be updated 
annually in January, and shall be approved by the director for a period 
of one year. 
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 (i)  the update shall include changes in personnel and 
current documentation of compliance with Subsections R311-207-
3(3)(a) and R311-207-3(3)(b). 
 (4)  Work plans must include the [Petroleum Storage Tank 
Trust ]Fund Work Plan Approval Application and Agreement form 
documenting the claimant's contract with any proposed consultant or 
other person performing remedial action. 
 (a)  information provided on that form shall demonstrate 
that the claimant's contract has met the following requirements: 
 (i)  the contract shall be with the consultant and specify the 
certified [UST]PST consultant and other key personnel for which 
qualifications are submitted under Subsection R311-207-3(3); 
 (ii)  the contract shall require a 100% payment bond 
through a United States Treasury-listed bonding company, or other 
equivalent assurance; 
 (iii)  the consultant shall have no cause of action against the 
state for payment; 
 (iv)  the contract will specify a subcontracting method 
consistent with the requirements of Rule R311-207; 
 (v)  the contract shall require, and include documentation 
that the consultant carries, the insurance specified in Subsection 
R311-207-3(3)(b)(iii); 
 (vi)  payment under the contract shall be limited to amounts 
that are customary, legitimate, and reasonable; 
 (vii)  the contract shall include a provision indicating that 
the State of Utah is not a party to the contract, unless the State of Utah 
is a responsible party; and 
 (viii)  any other requirements specified by the director. 
 (5)  Work plans shall address any additional requirements 
outlined in 40 CFR 280, Subparts E and F. 
 (6)  The director may waive specific requirements of Rule 
R311-207 if [he]the director determines there is good cause for a 
waiver, and that public health and the environment will be protected. 
 (a)  the director may also consider, in determining whether 
to grant a waiver, the extent to which the financial soundness of the 
Fund will be affected. 
 (7)  Once the responsible party's share of eligible costs has 
been spent in accordance with Section 19-6-419, the director shall 
review and approve or disapprove work plans and the corrective 
action plan and [all ]associated budgets. 
 (8)  A request for time and material reimbursement from 
the Fund must be received by the director within one year from the 
date the included work was performed or reimbursement shall be 
denied. 
 (a)  if there are any deficiencies in the request, the claimant 
has 90 days from the date of notification of the deficiency to correct 
the deficiency or the amount of the deficient item[(]s[)] shall not be 
reimbursed. 
 (b)  if a release was initially denied eligibility and is 
subsequently found to be eligible: 
 (i)  work conducted [prior to]before the determination of 
eligibility is not subject to the one-year requirement; and 
 (ii)  [all ]work conducted after the determination of 
eligibility is subject to the one-year requirement. 
 (9)  The request for final reimbursement from the Fund 
must be received by the director within one year from the date of the 
"No Further Action" letter issued by the director or reimbursement 
shall be denied. 
 (a)  if a release is re-opened as provided for in the "No 
Further Action" letter, payments from the Fund may be resumed 
when approved by the director. 

 (10)  For costs incurred by a consultant hired by a third 
party pursuant to Subsection 19-6-409(2)(e): 
 (a)  the director must approve [all ]work plans and 
associated budgets before the consultant initiates any work[,]; and 
 (b)  the contract with the consultant shall comply with 
Subsection[s] R311-207-3(4). 
 
R311-207-4.  Submission Requirements for Requests for 
Reimbursement of Claims Against the Petroleum Storage Tank 
[Trust ]Fund. 
 (1)  [In order t]To receive payment from the Petroleum 
Storage Tank [Trust ]Fund, a claimant must submit a request for 
reimbursement to the director. 
 (2)  The request for reimbursement must be on the form 
provided by the director. 
 (a)  the form must be properly completed and signed by the 
claimant and include invoices and other appropriate documentation. 
 (3)  Reimbursement will be on a time and material basis as 
approved in advance by the director. 
 (4)  [All c]Costs for time and material reimbursement must 
be itemized at a minimum to show the following: 
 (a)  amounts allocated to each approved work plan budget; 
 (b)  employee name, date of work, task or description of 
work, labor cost and the number of hours spent on each task; 
 (c)  sampling, reporting, and laboratory analysis costs; 
 (d)  equipment rental and materials; 
 (e)  utilities; 
 (f)  other direct costs; and 
 (g)  other items as determined by the director. 
 (5)  [All i]Itemized expenses must [indicate]state the full 
name and address of the company or contractor providing materials 
or performing services. 
 (6)  [All e]Expenses for time and material reimbursement 
shall be documented on a monthly basis, or as otherwise directed by 
the director, with a copy of the original bill provided to the director 
by the claimant. 
 (a)  the claimant shall provide documentation that claimed 
costs and associated work were reasonable, customary, and legitimate 
in accordance with Section R311-207-5 and Subsection[s] R311-207-
4(8). 
 (7)  For time and material reimbursement, before receiving 
payment under Section 19-6-419, the claimant must provide proof of 
past payments for services or construction rendered, in a form 
acceptable to, or as directed by, the director, unless the director has 
agreed to other arrangements. 
 (a)  the responsible party remains primarily liable, however, 
for [all ]costs incurred and should obtain lien releases from the 
company or contractor providing material or performing services. 
 (8)  For time and material reimbursement, documentation 
of expenses for construction or other services provided by a 
subcontractor retained by a consultant or contractor must include one 
or more of the following items: 
 (a)  a minimum of three competitive bids by responsive 
bidders.  For a bid to be competitive: 
 (i)  two of the bids must be from bidders who are not related 
parties; 
 (ii)  bids must be submitted on the appropriate standardized 
Bid Summary form in accordance with the "Cost Guidelines for 
Underground Storage Tank Sites" document dated June 3, 2021, 
[herein]which is incorporated by reference; 
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 (iii)  the bid specifications shall contain a clear and accurate 
description of the technical requirements for the material, product or 
service and shall not contain features which unduly restrict 
competition; and 
 (iv)  the bid specifications shall include a statement of the 
qualitative nature of the material, product or service to be procured, 
and, when necessary shall set forth those minimum essential 
characteristics. 
 (b)  sole source justification; or 
 (c)  other documentation as required or requested by the 
director to document expenses are reasonable, customary, and 
legitimate. 
 (9)  In accordance with Section 19-6-420, the director may 
not authorize payment from the Fund for services provided by 
consultants, contractors, or subcontractors which are not in 
compliance with the requirements of Rule R311-207 or any other 
applicable federal, state, or local law. 
 (10)  Any third party claims brought against the responsible 
party or any occurrence likely to result in third party claims against 
the responsible party as a result of the release must be immediately 
reported to the State Risk Manager and to the director. 
 
R311-207-5.  Customary, Reasonable and Legitimate Expenses. 
 (1)  Costs claimed by the claimant in accordance with 
Subsection 19-6-419(1) must be customary, reasonable, and 
legitimate, and must be expended for customary, reasonable, and 
legitimate work, as determined by the director. 
 (2)  The director may determine the amount of Fund monies 
that will be reimbursed to a claimant for items such as[including, but 
not limited to,] labor, equipment, services, and tasks established 
according to [the provisions of ]Section R311-207-7, the Cost 
Guidelines document, or such other methods that are applicable to 
the item or task. 
 (3)  As conditions require, costs of the following activities 
may be considered to be customary, reasonable, and legitimate: 
 (a)  performing abatement; 
 (b)  investigation; 
 (c)  site assessment; 
 (d)  monitoring; 
 (e)  corrective action activities; 
 (f)  providing alternative drinking water supplies; and 
 (g)  settling or otherwise resolving third party damage 
claims and settlements in accordance with Section 19-6-422. 
 (4)  If a claim that does not comply with the requirements 
of Rule R311-207 or the Cost Guidelines is returned by the director 
to a claimant or consultant for correction, the claimant or consultant 
shall not claim for reimbursement the costs expended to correct and 
re-submit the claim. 
 (5)  The Fund may reimburse a responsible party or other 
eligible claimant for the use or purchase of the consultant's originally 
designed and manufactured equipment provided the cost is 
customary, reasonable, and legitimate as determined by the director. 
 (a)  the rate of reimbursement shall not exceed the 
consultant's direct labor hours for manufacturing at specified fixed 
hourly rates and the materials at cost to the consultant.  Material costs 
shall include: 
 (i)  adjustments for [all ]available discounts; 
 (ii)  refunds; 
 (iii)  rebates; 
 (iv)  allowances which the consultant reasonably should 
take under the circumstances; and 

 (v)  credits for proceeds the consultant received or should 
have received from salvage and material returned to suppliers. 
 (b)  in no event shall the price paid by the Fund exceed the 
sales price of comparable equipment available to other customers 
through the consultant or through another source. 
 (c)  the consultant's claimed direct labor hours for 
manufacturing and costs shall be documented through time sheets, 
original invoices, or other documents acceptable to the director. 
 (d)  no reimbursement will be made for labor hours and 
costs associated with development, patenting, or marketing. 
 (6)  The director may audit or commission an audit of 
records supporting request for reimbursement or payment at any 
time. 
 (a)  audits may be determined by random selection or for 
specific reasons, including the suspicion or discovery of inaccuracies, 
or deficiencies in complying with regulations. 
 
R311-207-6.  Subrogation. 
 (1)  When the state makes a payment from the Petroleum 
Storage Tank [Trust ]Fund, the state has the right to sue or take other 
action as may be necessary and appropriate to recover the amount of 
payment from any third party who may be held responsible. 
 (a)  the claimant who receives payment from the Fund must 
execute and deliver [all]the necessary documents and cooperate as 
necessary to preserve the state's rights and do nothing to prejudice 
them. 
 
R311-207-7.  Consultant Personnel Classifications, 
Requirements, Rates, Tasks, and Responsibilities. 
 (1)  Consultants must assign to one of the categories 
identified in the Cost Guidelines, any service time for an individual 
that is billed to a claimant or directly to the Fund and for which 
reimbursement is claimed. 
 (a)  by submitting a claim for reimbursement for a labor 
category, the consultant warrants that the person so claimed meets the 
described education, skills, and experience. 
 (2)  Materials, equipment, and services will be reimbursed 
in accordance with the Cost Guidelines. 
 (3)  Costs not identified in the Cost Guidelines must be 
customary, reasonable, and legitimate, and must be expended for 
customary, reasonable, and legitimate work, as determined by the 
director. 
 
R311-207-8.  Third Party Claims Apportionment. 
 (1)  To prioritize payments from the Petroleum Storage 
Tank Fund as required by Subsection 19-6-419(7)(a), the director 
may utilize budget projections to allocate coverage available for the 
payment of third party claims [prior to]before a determination that 
corrective action has been properly performed and completed. 
 (a)  the director may amend budget projections as 
frequently as deemed appropriate. 
 (2)  Costs among third party claimants shall be apportioned 
after the responsible party has agreed to the settlement and the State 
Risk Manager has approved the settlement. 
 (3)  Apportionment and priority shall be based on the order 
in which an approved and agreed upon claim is received by the 
director. 
 
R311-207-9.  Consultants Hired by Third Parties. 
 (1)  A certified [UST]PST consultant hired by a third party 
under Subsection 19-6-409(2)(e) must: 
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 (a)  have an approved Petroleum Storage Tank [Trust ]Fund 
Statement of Qualification in accordance with Subsection R311-207-
3(3); and 
 (b)  charge labor rates in accordance with Section R311-
207-7. 
 (2)  To ensure compliance with Subsection 19-6-
409(4)(a)(ii), one consultant shall be designated by all known third 
parties claiming injury or damage from a release. 
 (a)  the designation shall be made in writing to the director. 
 (3)  For the claimant to be eligible to receive payments from 
the Fund under Subsection 19-6-409(2)(e): 
 (a)  [all ]work plans and budgets must be pre-approved by 
the director in accordance with Subsection R311-207-3(10); 
 (b)  the consultant must comply with Sections R311-207-4 
and R311-207-5; and 
 (c)  requests for reimbursement from the Fund shall be 
made in accordance with Subsections R311-207-3(8) and R311-207-
3(9). 
 
KEY:  financial responsibility, petroleum, underground storage 
tanks 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 13, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-6-105; 
19-6-403; 19-6-409; 19-6-419 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R311-208 Filing ID 
54605 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Environmental Response and 

Remediation 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4840 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-208.  Underground Storage Tank Penalty Guidance 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 40, Storage Tank Amendment, passed in the 2021 
General Session of the Utah State Legislature, tasked the 
Division of Environmental Response and Remediation 
(DERR) to begin regulation of aboveground petroleum 
storage tanks (APSTs). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment changes the title of Rule R311-208 to 
Petroleum Storage Tank Penalty Guidance; and changes 
the title of Section R311-208-2 to Petroleum Storage Tank 
Penalty Criteria. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures because it 
is a clarification that this rule now applies to Petroleum 
Storage Tanks (PSTs).  The definition of a PST was 
recently added to Section 19-6-402. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures because 
it is a clarification that this rule now applies to PSTs.  The 
definition of a PST was recently added to Section 19-6-
402. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is expected to have minimal fiscal impact 
on small businesses' revenues or expenditures because it 
is a clarification that this rule now applies to PSTs.  The 
definition of a PST was recently added to Section 19-6-
402. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is expected to have minimal fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures 
because it is a clarification that this rule now applies to 
PSTs.  The definition of a PST was recently added to 
Section 19-6-402. 
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E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These rule changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on other persons because the rule changes will not 
apply to these entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No compliance costs are anticipated to affected parties 
because proposed changes are just clarifications of what 
is in the recently enacted Underground Storage Tank Act 
(Section 19-6-401). 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
No fiscal impacts on businesses are expected by this rule.  
Kim Shelley, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelly, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Title 19, Chapter 6  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
06/15/2022 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building,195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT, in Room 
1015 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/29/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brent Everett, 
Director 

Date: 05/15/2022 

 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-208.  [Underground]Petroleum Storage Tank Penalty 
Guidance. 
R311-208-1.  Definitions. 
 Definitions are found in Rule R311-200. 
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R311-208-2.  [Underground]Petroleum Storage Tank Penalty 
Criteria. 
 (1)  This guidance provides criteria to the director in 
implementing appropriate penalties under Sections 19-6-407, 19-6-
408, 19-6-416, 19-6-416.5, 19-6-425, and any other [S]sections 
authorizing the director to seek penalties. 
 (2)  The procedures in Rule R311-208 are intended solely 
for the guidance of the director and are not intended, and cannot be 
relied upon, to create a cause of action against the [S]state. 
 (3)  This guidance and ensuing criteria are intended to be 
flexible and liberally construed to achieve a fair, just, and equitable 
result. 
 
R311-208-3.  Satisfaction of Penalty Under Stipulated Penalty 
Agreement. 
 (1)  The director may accept the following methods of 
payment or satisfaction of a penalty to promote compliance and to 
achieve the purposes set forth in Subsection 19-1-102(3): 
 (a)  payment of the penalty may be extended based on a 
person's inability to pay; 
 (i)  this should be distinguished from a person's 
unwillingness to pay. 
 (ii)  in cases of financial hardship, the director may accept 
payment of the penalty under an installment plan or delayed payment 
schedule with interest. 
 (b)  without regard to financial hardship, the director may 
allow a portion of the penalty to be deferred and eventually waived 
if no further violations are committed within a period designated by 
the director; or 
 (c)  in some cases, the director may allow the violator to 
satisfy the stipulated penalty by completing an environmentally 
beneficial mitigation project approved by the director.  The following 
criteria shall be used in determining the eligibility of such projects: 
 (i)  the project must be in addition to [all ]regulatory 
compliance obligations; 
 (ii)  the project preferably should closely address the 
environmental effects of the violation; 
 (iii)  the actual cost to the violator, after consideration of 
tax benefits, must reflect a deterrent effect; 
 (iv)  the project must primarily benefit the environment 
rather than benefit the violator; 
 (v)  the project must be judicially enforceable; and 
 (vi)  the project must not generate positive public 
perception for violations of the law. 
 
R311-208-4.  Factors for Imposition of Section 19-6-416 Penalties. 
 (1)  Where the director determines a penalty is appropriate 
under Section 19-6-416, the penalty shall not be more than $500 per 
occurrence.  Factors that mitigate against a higher penalty are: 
 (a)  a facility's certificate of compliance recently lapsed and 
product has been delivered; or 
 (b)  a facility is in compliance and replaces their tank and 
received one delivery of fuel without a certificate of compliance or 
authorization from the department, or a new facility or new tanks 
receive an initial delivery of fuel without a certificate of compliance 
or authorization from the director. 
 (2)  The director may assess a penalty against each violator 
involved in an illegal delivery occurrence. 
 (a)  if a violator is operating as a deliverer and an owner or 
operator, the violator may be assessed a penalty in each capacity. 
 

R311-208-5.  Factors for Seeking or Negotiating Amount of 
Section 19-6-425 Penalties. 
 (1)  Under Section 19-6-425, the court establishes penalty 
amounts rather than the director. 
 (a)  nonetheless, the director may enter a stipulated penalty 
agreement with the violator. 
 (2)  The director shall consider the following factors when 
negotiating or calculating a penalty to promote a [more swift]swifter 
resolution of environmental problems and promote compliance: 
 (a)  economic benefit.  The costs to an owner or operator 
delayed or avoided by not complying with applicable laws or rules. 
 (b)  gravity of the violation.  The extent of deviation from 
the rules and the potential for harm to health and the environment, 
regardless of the extent of the harm that actually occurred.  This 
factor may be adjusted upward or downward depending on: 
 (i)  degree of cooperation or noncooperation and good faith 
efforts to comply, [taking into account]considering the openness in 
dealing with the violations, promptness in correction of problems, 
and the degree of cooperation with the state; 
 (ii)  willfulness or negligence of the violation; 
 (iii)  history of compliance or noncompliance; and 
 (iv)  other unique factors including how much control the 
violator had over and the foreseeability of the events constituting the 
violation, whether the violator made or could have made reasonable 
efforts to prevent the violation, whether the violator knew of the legal 
requirements which were violated, and degree of recalcitrance. 
 (c)  environmental sensitivity.  The actual impact of the 
violation[(]s[)] that occurred. 
 (d)  number of days of noncompliance. 
 (e)  response and investigation costs incurred by the 
[S]state and others. 
 (f)  the possible deterrent effect of a penalty to prevent 
future violations. 
 (3)  [All c]Cases involving major violations with actual or 
high-potential for harming public health or the environment, and [all 
]cases involving a history of repeat violations by the same violator 
will require a penalty as a part of any settlement, unless good cause 
is shown for not seeking a penalty. 
 (4)  Where the director determines that a penalty is 
appropriate under Section 19-6-425, the director may negotiate the 
penalty based on the following categories and ranges: 
 (a)  Major Violations:  $5,000 to $10,000 per violation. 
 (i)  this category includes major deviations from the 
requirements of the rules or act, violations that cause or may cause 
substantial or continuing risk to human health and the environment, 
or violations that may have a substantial adverse effect on the 
regulatory program. 
 (b)  Moderate Violations:  $2,000 to $7,000 per violation. 
 (i)  this category includes moderate deviations from the 
requirements of the rules or act but some requirements have been 
implemented as intended, violations that cause or may cause a 
significant risk to human health and the environment, or violations 
that may have a significant notable adverse effect on the regulatory 
program. 
 (c)  Minor Violations:  Up to $3,000 per violation. 
 (i)  this category includes slight deviations from the rules 
or act but most of the requirements are met, violations that cause or 
may cause a relatively low risk to human health and the environment, 
or violations that may have a minor adverse effect on the regulatory 
program. 
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 (5)  The director may consult "EPA Penalty Guidance for 
Violations of UST Regulations" (OSWER Directive 9610.12) as 
supplemental guidance to Section [to ]R311-208-5. 
 
KEY:  penalties, petroleum, underground storage tanks 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 13, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-6-105; 
19-6 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R311-211 Filing ID 
54606 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Environmental Response and 

Remediation 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4840 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311- 211.  Corrective Action Cleanup Standards Policy -
- UST and CERCLA Sites 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 40, Storage Tank Amendment, passed in the 2021 
General Session of the Utah State Legislature, tasked the 
Division of Environmental Response and Remediation 
(DERR) to begin regulation of aboveground petroleum 
storage tanks (APSTs). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 

substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment changes the title of Rule R311-211 to 
Corrective Action Cleanup Standards Policy -- PST and 
CERCLA Sites; changes underground storage tanks 
(USTs) to petroleum storage tanks (PSTs) where 
necessary to reflect enacted changes to the Underground 
Storage Tank Act (Section 19-6-401); and updates 
punctuation, capitalization, structure, and word selection 
to better reflect the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is expected to have minimal fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures because 
departments which own or operate newly regulated APSTs 
would have previously had cleanup oversight by the 
Division of Water Quality (DWQ) which uses DERR 
standards when directing cleanup. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is expected to have minimal fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures because 
those which own or operate newly regulated APSTs would 
have previously had cleanup oversight by DWQ which 
uses DERR standards when directing cleanup. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is expected to have minimal fiscal impact 
on small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
those which own or operate newly regulated APSTs would 
have previously had cleanup oversight by DWQ which 
uses DERR standards when directing cleanup. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is expected to have minimal fiscal 
impacts on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures because those which own or operate newly 
regulated APSTs would have previously had cleanup 
oversight by DWQ which uses DERR standards when 
directing cleanup. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is expected to have minimal fiscal impact 
on other persons because those who own or operate 
newly regulated APSTs would have previously had 
cleanup oversight by DWQ which uses DERR standards 
when directing cleanup. 
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F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
These costs are site specific, and due to the diverse nature 
of PST release sites, are inestimable. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Minimal impacts on businesses are expected by this rule.  
Kim Shelley, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelly, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-106 Section 19-6-403 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
06/15/2022 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building,195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT, in Room 
1015 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/29/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brent Everett, 
Director 

Date: 05/15/2022 

 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-211.  Corrective Action Cleanup Standards Policy - 
[UST]PST and CERCLA Sites. 
R311-211-1.  Definitions. 
 Definitions are found in [Section]Rule R311-200. 
 
R311-211-2.  Source Elimination. 
 The initial step in [all ]corrective actions implemented at 
[UST]PST and CERCLA sites is to take appropriate action to 
eliminate the source of contamination either through removal or 
appropriate source control. 
 
R311-211-3.  Cleanup Standards Evaluation Criteria. 
 [Subsequent to]After source elimination, cleanup standards 
for remaining contamination which may include numerical, 
technology-based, or risk-based standards or any combination of 
those standards, shall be determined on a case-by-case basis, taking 
into consideration the following criteria: 
 (1)  The impact or potential impact of the contamination on 
the public health; 
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 (2)  The impact or potential impact of the contamination on 
the environment; 
 (3)  Economic considerations and cost effectiveness of 
cleanup options; and 
 (4)  The technology available for use in cleanup. 
 
R311-211-4.  Prevention of Further Degradation. 
 In determining background concentrations, cleanup 
standards, and significance levels, levels of contamination in ground[ 
]water, surface water, soils or air will not be allowed to degrade 
beyond the existing contamination levels determined through 
appropriate monitoring or the use of other data accepted by the 
[B]board or the [D]director as representative. 
 
R311-211-5.  Cleanup Standards. 
 (1)  The following shall be the minimum standards to be 
met for any cleanup of regulated substances, hazardous material, and 
hazardous substances at a [UST]PST or CERCLA facility in Utah: 
 (a)  for water-related corrective action, the Maximum 
Contaminant Limits (MCLs) established under the federal Safe 
Drinking Water Act or other applicable water classifications and 
standards;[ and] 
 (b)  for air-related corrective action, the appropriate air 
quality standards established under the Federal Clean Air Act[.]; and 
 (c)  [O]other standards as determined applicable by the 
[B]board may be utilized. 
 (2)  Cleanup levels below the MCLs or other applicable 
water, soil, or air quality standards may be established by the 
[B]board on a case-by-case basis taking into consideration Sections 
R311-211-3 and R311-211-4. 
 (3)  In the case of contamination above the MCL or other 
applicable water, soil, or air quality standards, if, after evaluation of 
[all ]alternatives, it is determined that applicable minimum standards 
cannot reasonably be achieved, cleanup levels above these minimum 
standards may be established on a case-by-case basis utilizing 
Sections R311-211-3 and R311-211-4.  In assessing the evaluation 
criteria, the following factors shall be considered: 
 (a)  quantity of materials released; 
 (b)  mobility, persistence, and toxicity of materials 
released; 
 (c)  exposure pathways; 
 (d)  extent of contamination and its relationship to present 
and potential surface and ground[ ]water locations and uses; 
 (e)  type and levels of background contamination; and 
 (f)  other relevant standards and factors as determined 
appropriate by the [B]board. 
 
R311-211-6.  [UST]PST Facility Cleanup Standards. 
 (1)  This rule incorporates by reference the Initial Screening 
Levels table dated November 1, 2005.  The table lists initial screening 
levels for [UST]PST sites. 
 (2)  If the [D]director determines that a release from an 
underground storage tank has occurred, the [D]director shall evaluate 
whether the contamination at the site exceeds Initial Screening Levels 
for the contaminants released.  The [D]director may require owners 
and operators to submit any information that the [D]director believes 
will assist in making this evaluation. 
 (3)  If all contaminants are below initial screening levels, 
the [D]director shall evaluate the site for No Further Action 
determination. 
 (4)  This rule incorporates by reference the Tier 1 Screening 
Criteria table dated November 1, 2005.  The table lists cleanup 

criteria for [UST]PST sites.  Tier 1 screening levels are only 
applicable when the following site conditions are met: 
 (a)  No buildings, property boundaries or utility lines are 
located within 30 horizontal feet of the highest measured 
concentration of any contaminant that is greater than the initial 
screening levels but less than or equal to the Tier 1 screening levels 
in the tables referred to in [subparagraphs]Subsections (1) and (4)[ 
above], respectively, and; 
 (b)  No water wells or surface water are located within 500 
horizontal feet of the highest measured concentration of any 
contaminant that is greater than the initial screening levels but less 
than or equal to the Tier 1 screening levels in the tables referred to in 
[subparagraphs]Subsections (1) and (2)[ above], respectively. 
 (5)  If any contaminants from a release are above the Initial 
Screening Levels, the [D]director shall require owners and operators 
to submit [all ]relevant information required to evaluate the site using 
the Tier 1 Screening Criteria. 
 (a)  If [all ]Tier 1 Screening Criteria have been met, the 
[D]director shall evaluate the site for No Further Action 
determination. 
 (b)  If any of the Tier 1 Screening Criteria have not been 
met, owners and operators shall proceed [as described below]as 
follows. 
 (i)  Owners and operators shall conduct a site investigation 
to provide complete information to the [D]director regarding the 
factors outlined in Subsection R311-211-5([c]3) and 40 CFR Part 
280. 
 (ii)  When the site investigation is complete, owners and 
operators may propose for the evaluation and approval of the 
[D]director site-specific cleanup standards based upon an analysis of 
the factors outlined in Subsection R311-211-5([c]3).  Alternatively, 
the owners and operators may propose for the approval of the 
[D]director the Initial Screening Levels established in Subsection 
R311-211-6([a]1) as the site-specific cleanup standards. 
 (iii)  A partial corrective action approach may be approved 
by the [D]director [prior to]before completing the site investigation.  
However, if corrective action is implemented in separate phases, the 
[D]director will not make a No Further Action determination until all 
factors outlined in Subsection R311-211-5([c]3) are evaluated. 
 (iv)  Owners and operators may then propose and conduct 
corrective action approved by the [D]director to attempt to reach the 
approved site-specific cleanup standards.  If the owners and operators 
demonstrate that the approved site-specific cleanup standards have 
been met and maintained based upon sampling at intervals and for a 
period [of time ]approved by the [D]director, the [D]director shall 
evaluate the site for No Further Action determination. 
 (v)  If the owners and operators do not make progress 
toward reaching site-specific cleanup standards after conducting the 
approved corrective action, the [D]director may require the owners 
and operators to submit an amended corrective action plan or an 
amended site-specific cleanup standards proposal and analysis of the 
factors outlined in Subsection R311-211-5([c]3) for the [D]director's 
approval.  The [D]director may also require further investigation to 
fully define the exten[d]t and degree of the contamination if the 
passage of time or other factors creates the possibility that existing 
data may no longer be reliable. 
 
R311-211-7.  Significance Level. 
 (1)  Where contamination is identified that is below 
applicable MCLs, water classification standards, or air quality 
standards or where applicable standards do not exist for either the 
parameter in question or the environmental media in which the 
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contamination is found, the cleanup standard shall be established 
using Section R311-211-3 and will be set between background and 
the observed level of contamination. Should it be determined that the 
observed level of contamination will be allowed to remain, this 
becomes the significance level. 
 (2)  At any time, should continued monitoring identify 
contamination above the significance level, the criteria of Section 
R311-211-3 will be reapplied in connection with Section R311-211-
4 to re-evaluate the need for corrective action and determine an 
appropriate cleanup standard. 
 
KEY:  petroleum, underground storage tanks 
Date of Last Change:  2022[May 15, 2006] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-6-105; 
19-6-106; 19-6-403 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R311-212 Filing ID 
54607 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Environmental Response and 

Remediation 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4840 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-212.  Administration of the Petroleum Storage Tank 
Loan Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 40, Storage Tank Amendment, passed in the 2021 
General Session of the Utah State Legislature, tasked the 
Division of Environmental Response and Remediation 

(DERR) to begin regulation of aboveground petroleum 
storage tanks (APSTs). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule amendment changes underground storage tank 
(UST) registration fees to petroleum storage tank (PST) 
registration fees to reflect enacted changes to the 
Underground Storage Tank Act Section 19-6-401.  
Subsection R311-212(3)(4)(c) is changed to clarify that 
USTs mean petroleum USTs. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures because 
all proposed changes are just clarifications and this rule 
does not apply to facilities with APSTs. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures because 
all proposed changes are just clarifications and this rule 
does not apply to facilities with APSTs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
all proposed changes are just clarifications and this rule 
does not apply to facilities with APSTs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures 
because all proposed changes are just clarifications and 
this rule does not apply to facilities with APSTs. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on other persons revenues or expenditures because 
proposed changes are just clarifications. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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No compliance costs are anticipated to affected parties 
because proposed changes are just clarifications. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
No fiscal impacts on businesses are expected by this rule.  
Kim Shelley, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelly, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-403 Section 19-6-409 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
06/15/2022 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building,195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT, in Room 
1015 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/29/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Brent Everett, 
Director 

Date: 05/15/2022 

 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-212.  Administration of the Petroleum Storage Tank Fund 
Loan Program. 
R311-212-1.  Definitions. 
 Definitions are found in Rule R311-200. 
 
R311-212-2.  Declaration of Loan Application Periods, and Loan 
Application Submittal. 
 (1)  Application for a loan must be made on forms 
incorporated in Section R311-212-10, in accordance with Subsection 
19-6-409(9). 
 (a)  loan applications will be accepted during application 
periods designated by the director. 
 (2)  At least one application period shall be designated each 
calendar year if, on January 1: 
 (a)  the current balance due for [all ]outstanding loans is 
less than 25% of the cash balance of the Petroleum Storage Tank 
[Trust ]Fund; and 
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 (b)  the cash balance of the Fund exceeds $10,000,000. 
 (3)  If the requirements of Subsections R311-212-2(2)(a) 
and R311-212-2(2)(b) are not met on January 1, but are met at a later 
time in the calendar year, the director may designate an application 
period. 
 (4)  An open application period will close if: 
 (a)  the current balance due for [all ]outstanding loans 
exceeds 25% of the cash balance of the Fund; or 
 (b)  the cash balance of the Fund is less than $10,000,000. 
 (5)  If an open application period closes as required by 
Subsection R311-212-2(4), loan applications currently under review 
when the application period closes may be renewed when a new 
application period opens, unless the applicant must re-apply as 
required by Subsection R311-212-5(1). 
 (6)  Applications must be received by the director by 5[:00] 
p.m. on the last day of the application period. 
 (7)  Loan applications received outside the application 
period will be invalid. 
 
R311-212-3.  Eligibility Review. 
 (1)  The director shall determine if the applicant meets the 
eligibility criteria stated in Subsections 19-6-409(5) through 19-6-
409(8). 
 (2)  To meet the eligibility requirements of Subsection 19-
6-409(6) the applicant must, for [all ]facilities for which the applicant 
requests a loan: 
 (a)  demonstrate current compliance with all state and 
federal UST laws, rules and regulations, including compliance with 
[all ]requirements for remediation of facilities with leaking USTs; or 
 (b)  must be able to achieve compliance with the loan 
proceeds. 
 (3)  To meet the eligibility requirements of Subsection 19-
6-409(6) the applicant must meet the following for [all ]facilities 
owned or operated by the applicant for which the applicant does not 
request a loan: 
 (a)  the applicant has demonstrated current compliance with 
all state and federal UST laws, rules and regulations, including 
compliance with [all ]requirements for remediation of facilities with 
leaking USTs; 
 (b)  [all ]regulated USTs owned by the applicant have met 
the requirements of Subsection 19-6-412(2) and have a current 
certificate of compliance; 
 (c)  the applicant has paid [all UST]PST registration fees, 
interest, and penalties which have been assessed; and 
 (d)  the applicant has paid [all ]applicable petroleum 
storage tank fees, interest, and penalties which have been assessed. 
 (4)  To meet the requirements of Subsection 19-6-409(5), 
the loan request must be for[ the purpose of]: 
 (a)  upgrading [petroleum ]USTs; 
 (b)  replacing [petroleum ]USTs; or 
 (c)  permanently closing petroleum USTs. 
 (5)  if an applicant requests a loan for closing USTs which 
will be replaced by aboveground storage tanks, the loan, if approved, 
will be only for closing the USTs. 
 (a)  the security pledged by the applicant for a loan to 
replace USTs with aboveground storage tanks will be subject to the 
limitations in Section R311-212-6. 
 
R311-212-4.  Prioritization of Loan Applications. 
 (1)  When determined by the director to be necessary, [all 
]applications received during a designated application period shall be 
prioritized by total points assigned. 

 (a)  ten points shall be given for each item that applies to 
the applicant or the facility for which the loan is requested: 
 (i)  the applicant has less than $1,000,000 annual gross 
income and fewer than five full-time employee equivalents and is not 
owned or operated by any person not meeting the income and 
employee criteria. 
 (ii)  the applicant's income is derived solely from 
operations at UST facilities. 
 (iii)  the applicant owns or operates no more than two 
facilities. 
 (iv)  the facility is located in a U.S. Census Bureau 
population unit containing fewer than 5,000 people. 
 (v)  there are no more than three operating retail outlets 
selling motor fuel within 15 miles road distance in all directions. 
 (vi)  loan proceeds will be used solely for replacing or 
upgrading petroleum USTs. 
 (vii)  [all ]USTs at the facility are greater than 15 years old. 
 (b)  one point shall be given for each road mile of distance 
from the facility to the nearest operating retail outlet selling motor 
fuel, to a maximum of 30 points. 
 (2)  Applications which receive the same number of points 
shall be sub-prioritized according to the date postmarked or the date 
delivered to the director by any other method. 
 (3)  Applications shall remain in priority order regardless 
of availability of funds until a new application period is declared. 
 (a)  when a new application period begins, priority order of 
applications which have not been reviewed terminates. 
 (4)  An applicant whose application has not been reviewed 
or an applicant whose application has not been approved because the 
applicant has not satisfied the requirements of Subsections 19-6-
409(5) through 19-6-409(8), loses eligibility to apply for a loan and 
must submit a new application in the subsequent period to be 
considered for a loan in that period. 
 
R311-212-5.  Loan Application Review. 
 (1)  The applicant shall ensure that the loan application is 
complete. 
 (a)  the completed application with supporting documents 
must contain [all ]information required by the application. 
 (2)  If the applicant does not submit a complete application 
within 60 days of eligibility approval, the applicant's eligibility 
approval shall be forfeited, and the applicant must re-apply. 
 (3)  [All c]Costs incurred in processing the application shall 
be the responsibility of and paid for by the applicant including: 
 (a)  appraisals; 
 (b)  title reports; or 
 (c)  UCC-1 releases. 
 (i)  the director may require payment of costs in advance. 
 (ii)  the director shall not reimburse costs which have been 
expended, even if the loan fails to close, regardless of the reason. 
 (4)  The review and approval of the application shall be 
based on information provided by the applicant, and: 
 (a)  review of any [and all ]records and documents on file; 
 (b)  verification of any [and all ]information provided by 
the applicant; 
 (c)  review of credit worthiness and security pledged; and 
 (d)  review of a site construction work plan. 
 (5)  The applicant must close the loan within 30 days after 
the director conveys the loan documents for the applicant's signature. 
 (a)  if the applicant fails to close the loan within this time 
period, the approval is forfeited and the applicant must re-apply. 
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 (b)  an exception to the 30-day period may be granted by 
the director if the closing is delayed due to circumstances beyond the 
applicant's control. 
 
R311-212-6.  Security for Loans. 
 (1)  When an applicant applies for a loan of greater than 
$30,000, the applicant must pledge for security personal or real 
property which meets or exceeds the following criteria: 
 (a)  the loan amount may not be greater than 80% of the 
value of the applicant's equity in the security for cases where the 
Department obtains a first mortgage position; or 
 (b)  the loan amount may not be greater than 60% of the 
value of the applicant's equity in the security for cases where the 
Department obtains a second mortgage position. 
 (2)  The applicant shall provide acceptable documentation 
of the value of the property to be used as security using: 
 (a)  a current written appraisal, performed by a State of 
Utah certified appraiser; 
 (b)  a current county tax assessment notice; or 
 (c)  other documentation acceptable to the director. 
 (3)  A title report on all real property and a UCC-1 clearance 
on all personal property used as security shall be submitted to the 
director by a title company or appropriate professional person 
approved by the director. 
 (4)  When the title report indicates an existing lien or 
encumbrance on real property to be used as security, the existing lien 
holders may subordinate their interest in favor of the Department. 
 (a)  the director will accept no less than a second mortgage 
position on real property pledged for loan security. 
 (5)  When[ever] a corporation seeks a loan, its principals 
must guarantee the loan personally. 
 (6)  The applicant must provide a complete financial 
statement with cash flow projections for debt service. 
 (7)  Aboveground storage tanks and real property on which 
they are located will not be acceptable as security. 
 (8)  USTs and the real property on which they are located 
will not be acceptable as security unless: 
 (a)  the UST facility offered for security has not had a 
petroleum release which has not been properly remediated; and 
 (b)  the applicant provides documentation to demonstrate 
the UST facility is currently in compliance with the loan eligibility 
requirements set forth in Section R311-212-3. 
 (9)  If a loan is made without security, the maximum loan 
repayment period will be seven years. 
 
R311-212-7.  Procedure for Making Loans. 
 (1)  Loan funds shall be obligated after [all ]documents to 
secure a loan are complete, processed, and appropriately signed by 
the applicant and the director. 
 (2)  The director may approve a borrower's request for one 
initial disbursement of loan proceeds to the borrower after the loan is 
closed, and before work begins. 
 (a)  the initial disbursement shall be for the lesser of 40% 
of the approved loan amount or the amount required by the 
borrower's contractor as an initial payment before work is done. 
 (b)  disbursement of the remaining loan proceeds, or 
disbursement of the entire loan proceeds if no initial disbursement is 
made, shall be made after work at the site is completed, and [all 
]paperwork and notifications have been received by the director. 
 (i)  if an initial loan disbursement is made, the borrower 
shall begin work on the project no later than 60 days, or another time 

period approved by the [D]director, following the initial 
disbursement. 
 (ii)  disbursement of the remaining loan proceeds shall be 
made no later than 180 days, or another time period approved by the 
director, following the initial disbursement. 
 (c)  if work is not initiated or completed within the time 
periods established in Subsection R311-212-7(2)(a), the loan balance 
must be paid within 30 days of notice provided by the director. 
 (3)  Loan proceeds may not be used to pay UST registration 
fees, penalties, or interest assessed under Section 19-6-408 or 
petroleum storage tank fees, penalties, or interest assessed under 
Section 19-6-411. 
 (4)  Loans shall not be made for work which is performed 
before the applicant's loan application is approved and the loan is 
closed. 
 
R311-212-8.  Servicing the Loans. 
 (1)  The director shall establish a repayment schedule for 
each loan based on the financial situation and income circumstances 
of the borrower and the term of loans allowed by Subsection 19-6-
409(8)(b)(ii). 
 (2)  Loans shall be amortized with equal payment amounts 
and payments shall be of such amount to pay [all ]interest and 
principal in full. 
 (a)  the initial installment payment shall be due on a date 
established by the director. 
 (b)  subsequent installment payments shall be due on the 
first day of each month. 
 (i)  a notice of payment and due date shall be sent for each 
subsequent payment. 
 (c)  non-receipt of the statement of account or notice of 
payment shall not be a defense for non-payment or late payment. 
 (3)  The director shall apply loan payments received first to 
penalty, next to interest, and then to principal. 
 (4)  Loan payments may be made in advance, and the 
remaining principal balance of the loan may be paid in full at any 
time without penalty. 
 (5)  Notices of late payment penalty assessed with amounts 
of penalty and the total payment due shall be sent to the borrower. 
 (6)  The penalty for late loan payments shall be 10% of the 
payment due. 
 (a)  the penalty shall be assessed and payable on payments 
received by the director more than five days after the due date. 
 (b)  a penalty shall be assessed only once on a given late 
payment. 
 (7)  Payments are considered received the day of the U.S. 
Postal Service postmark date or receipt date for payments delivered 
to the director by methods other than the U.S. Postal Service. 
 (8)  If a loan payment check is returned due to insufficient 
funds, a service charge in the amount allowed by law shall be added 
to the payment amount due. 
 (9)  Notice of loans paid in full shall be sent after [all 
]penalties, interest, and principal have been paid. 
 (10)  Releases of the director's interest in security shall be 
prepared and sent to the borrower or filed for public notice as 
applicable. 
 
R311-212-9.  Recovering on Defaulted Loans. 
 (1)  Loans may be considered in default when: 
 (a)  two consecutive payments are past due by 30 days or 
more; 
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 (b)  when the applicant's ability to receive payments for 
claims against the Fund lapses; or 
 (c)  if the certificate of compliance lapses or is revoked. 
 (2)  Lapsing under Subsection R311-206-7(5) will not be 
considered as grounds for default for USTs which are permanently 
closed. 
 (3)  The director may declare the full amount of the 
defaulted loan, penalty, and interest immediately due. 
 (4)  The director need not give notice of default [prior 
to]before declaring the full amount due and payable. 
 (5)  The borrower is liable for attorney's fees and collection 
costs for defaulted loans whether incurred before or after court action. 
 
R311-212-10.  Forms. 
 (1)  The forms dated and listed [below]in this section, on 
file with the Department, are incorporated by reference as part of 
Rule R311-212, and shall be used by the director for making loans. 
 (a)  Loan Application version 7/14/16 
 (b)  Balance Sheet version 7/29/14 
 (c)  Loan Agreement version 7/29/14 
 (d)  Corporate Authorization version 7/29/14 
 (e)  Promissory Note version 7/29/14 
 (f)  Extension and Modification of Promissory Note 
Agreement version 7/29/14 
 (g)  Security Agreement version 7/29/14 
 (h)  Hypothecation Agreement version 7/29/14 
 (i)  General Pledge Agreement version 7/29/14 
 (j)  Assignment version 7/29/14 
 (k)  Assignment of Account version 7/29/14 
 (l)  Trust Deed version 7/29/14 
 (m)  Trust Deed Note version 7/29/14 
 (n)  Extension and Modification of Trust Deed Note 
Agreement version 7/29/14 
 (2)  The director may require or allow the use of other forms 
that are consistent with these rules as necessary for the loan approval 
process. 
 (3)  The director may change these forms for administrative 
purposes provided the revised forms remain consistent with the 
substantive provisions of the adopted forms. 
 
R311-212-11.  Rules in Effect. 
 (1)  The rules in effect on the closing date of the loan and 
the forms signed by the parties shall govern the parties. 
 
KEY:  hazardous substances, petroleum, underground storage 
tanks 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 13, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-6-105; 
19-6-403; 19-6-409 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R357-5 Filing ID 
54617 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 

Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

538-
8864 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-5.  Motion Picture Incentive Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this rule filing is to clarify the definition of 
rural county and update the agreed upon procedures. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule modifies the definition of rural Utah to rural county 
and the relevant reference.  This rule also updates the 
agreed upon procedures. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
the state budget.  This rule is merely making technical 
changes and updating program procedures. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments because local governments are not required 
to comply with or enforce this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
small businesses because this proposed rule does not 
create new obligations for small businesses, nor does it 
increase the costs associated with any existing obligation. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
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There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
non-small businesses because this proposed rule does 
not create new obligations for non-small businesses, nor 
does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities, nor does it increase the costs associated with any 
existing obligation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because participation in the program is optional. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule will have no negative impact on businesses.  Dan 
Hemmert, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-8-104 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Agreed-Upon Procedures 

Publisher Utah Film Commission 

Date Issued May 13, 2022 

Issue, or version 2.0 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
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must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 05/13/2022 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Opportunity. 
R357-5.  Motion Picture Incentive Rule. 
R357-5-101.  Authority. 
 (1)  Section 63N-8-104 requires the Office to make rules 
establishing the standards that a motion picture company and digital 
media company must meet to qualify for a motion picture incentive 
and the criteria for determining the amount of the motion picture 
incentive. 
 
R357-5-102.  Definitions. 
 The definitions in this rule are in addition to or serve to 
clarify the definitions found in Section 63N-8-102. 
 (1)  "Cast" means performers appearing in a particular film 
with featured or speaking roles. 
 (2)  "Community Film Incentive Program" means a 
production where a motion picture company has a maximum budget 
of under $500,000. 
 (3)  "Crew" means those involved in the production of a 
film who are not defined as cast or extras. 
 (4)  "Deferred Payment" means, tax credits in amounts over 
$2,000,000 paid in installments over a specified number of years but 
not to exceed three years. 
 (5)  "Extras" means an extra or background actor is a 
performer in a production, who appears in a non-speaking or non-
singing capacity, usually in the background. 
 (6)  "Independent Utah CPA" means a Certified Public 
Accountant holding an active license in the state that is independent 
of the production and production activities. 
 (7)  "Made-For-Television" means feature length motion 
pictures specifically made-for-television or streaming platforms. 
 (8)  "Motion Pictures" means a production that is originally 
intended for commercial distribution and does not include: 
 (a)  news; 
 (b)  commercials; 
 (c)  live broadcasts; 
 (d)  digital media products; 
 (e)  live sporting events; 
 (f)  live coverage of theatrical or entertainment events; or 
 (g)  programs that solicit funds. 
 (9)  "Principal photography,"[,] "Producing" or 
"Production" means the filming of major and significant portions of 
a film that involves the lead actors and actresses. 
 (10)  "Rural county[Utah]" means a county of the third, 
fourth, fifth, or sixth class[each county outside of Davis County, Salt 
Lake County, Utah County, and Weber County]. 
 (11)  "Significant Percentage of cast and crew from Utah" 
means: 
 (a)  For productions that have less than $500,000 dollars 
left in state: that at least 85% of the cast and crew are Utah residents 
excluding extras; 

 (b)  For productions that have more than $500,000 dollars 
left in state: that at least 75% of the cast and crew are Utah residents 
excluding extras and five principal cast members. 
 (12)  "State-approved production" means a production that 
is: 
 (a)  approved by the Office and ratified by the Governor's 
Office of Economic Opportunity Board; and 
 (b)  any of the production is produced in the state. 
 (13)  "Total budget for the project" means the total budget 
for dollars left in state of pre-production, production, and post-
production. 
 (14)  "Television series" means a group of episodes of a 
production released on television or streaming platforms. 
 (15)  "Treatment" means: A written description of the 
production. 
 (16)  "UFC" means: the Utah Film Commission, a sub-
entity of the Utah Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity. 
 (17)  "Utah Resident" means a person who has lived in Utah 
for at least 183 days even if temporarily outside of Utah for an 
extended length of time, maintains a permanent home in Utah, and is 
subject to Utah personal income tax. 
 
R357-5-103.  Motion Picture Incentive Applications: Procedures 
and Minimum Requirements for a Motion Picture Company. 
 (1)  A motion picture company's application may be 
approved for a motion picture incentive award only if each of the 
following requirements are met in addition to those listed throughout 
Title 63N, [Economic Opportunity Act, Chapter 8, ]Motion Picture 
Incentives: 
 (a)  the motion picture company is producing any of a 
motion picture in Utah; 
 (b)  the motion picture is a state-approved production; 
 (c)  the motion picture company guarantees UFC access to 
production's behind the scenes footage, interviews and still 
photography or allow the Office to produce its own; 
 (d)  the motion picture company guarantees the production 
will display the Utah logo as outlined in the incentive agreement and 
provide a screenshot of the logo as it appears in the credits; 
 (e)  the motion picture company has obtained financing for 
100% of the anticipated dollars left in state for the project, and the 
applicant provides proof of financing in a form specified in the 
application documents; 
 (f)  the motion picture company must retain financing as set 
forth in Subsection (1)(e) for the life of the contract with the state; 
 (g)  the motion picture company intends to report at least 
$500,000 dollars left in state if applying for a film incentive under 
Subsection R357-5-5(1) or a maximum of under $500,000 if applying 
for an incentive under Subsection R357-5-5(2); and 
 (h)  if a production has initiated principal photography 
[prior to]before the Office's receipt of a completed application or will 
not [commence]start principal photography for more than 90 days 
from date of application, the application for incentive may be denied. 
 (2)  The motion picture incentive application shall not be 
construed as a property right and neither the Office nor the Board is 
required to approve an application. 
 (3)  To receive state approval for an incentive application, 
a production must, in the state's sole discretion, reflect positively on 
the image of Utah.  In determining whether or not a production 
reflects positively on the image of the state, the Office and Board may 
take into consideration: 
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 (a)  whether and to what extent the motion picture promotes 
Utah as a tourist destination; 
 (b)  general standards of decency and respect for the diverse 
beliefs and values of Utahns; and 
 (c)  any other factors related to the production or the motion 
picture company that may reasonably affect the image of the state. 
 (4)  The Office and Board may consider the relative merit 
of applications, and the need to reserve its allocations for future 
applications. 
 (a)  Factors that contribute to the relative merit include: 
 (i)  the overall strength and viability of the script of the 
production; 
 (ii)  the industry reputation of the production or motion 
picture company; 
 (iii)  the record of the motion picture company in matters 
of safety and responsible filmmaking; 
 (iv)  the existence of any legal action or the likelihood of 
any legal action in relation to either the production or the motion 
picture company; and 
 (v)  anticipated: 
 (A)  number of jobs in Utah; 
 (B)  number of production days in Utah; 
 (C)  dollars left in state; 
 (D)  local cast and crew wages; and 
 (E)  new state revenue that the film contributes in Utah. 
 (b)  Applications shall be made in the form prescribed by 
the Office, including required attachments or additional information. 
 (i)  Incomplete applications will not be considered received 
until the application is deemed complete by the UFC. 
 (ii)  A script is required as part of the application. 
 (iii)  A treatment may only be submitted where a script for 
a project type is not possible, for example when the project is a 
documentary.  The Utah Film Commission will determine in its sole 
discretion if a treatment can be substituted for a script. 
 (5)  A production company may file more than one 
application if it has more than one production in the state, but a 
separate application must be filed for each production. 
 (6)  Applications will be subject to submission deadlines, 
which will be posted on the Utah Film Commission Website and are 
available in other formats upon request. 
 (7)  If the applicant fails to submit a completed application 
[prior to]before the submission deadline, the application may be 
considered with the next round of submissions. 
 (8)  Submitting an application does not guarantee approval 
of a film incentive. 
 (9)  Film incentives are subject to and contingent upon the 
amount of available funding and tax credit allocation available in the 
Motion Picture Restricted account. 
 (10)  Lack of state approval shall not be construed as 
prohibiting a production or prohibiting a motion picture company 
from filming in Utah. 
 (11)  A production's eligibility for an incentive ends upon 
approval or denial by the Office.  A production may reapply, subject 
to compliance with program statutes and rules. 
 
R357-5-104.  Motion Picture Incentive Applications: Award for a 
Motion Picture Production. 
 (1)  Upon receipt of a completed application, the Office will 
align each project into incentive categories as set forth in Section 
R357-5-105. 
 (2)  In calculating dollars left in the state, the Office may 
limit the following expenditures: 

 (a)  salary above $500,000 for one individual; 
 (b)  marketing and distributions expenditures; 
 (c)  any value beyond the depreciated amount for capital 
expenditures, rentals, and any purchases made where the item is used 
for only a portion of its useful life; and 
 (d)  any per diem value beyond 100% of the current federal 
rate for the area. 
 
R357-5-105.  Film Categories and Conditions. 
 (1)  Utah Motion Picture Incentive Program. 
 (a)  The Utah Motion Picture Incentive Program will have 
an incentive cap of 20% of the dollars left in state, unless a higher 
cap is awarded pursuant to Subsection (1)(c). 
 (b)  Incentives will only be awarded if the motion picture 
company meets criteria listed in Section R357-5-103[;]. 
 (c)  An additional cap of up to 5% may be granted if the 
motion picture company: 
 (i)  Motion picture company has at least $1,000,000 in 
qualified dollars left in state; and 
 (ii)  75% of the; 
 (A)  cast and crew are Utah residents excluding extras and 
five principal cast members; or 
 (B)  production days occur in rural county[Utah]. 
 (2)  Community Film Incentive Program[.]: 
[ (a)  The Community Film Incentive Program will provide 
a maximum of a 20% post-performance cash rebate or tax incentive 
for dollars left in state by a community film production; 
 (b)  Community Film Incentive Program incentives will 
only be awarded if the motion picture company meets criteria listed 
in Section R357-5-103 has a minimum budget of $100,000 and a 
maximum budget of under $500,000, and meets the criteria found on 
the Utah Film Commission Website; 
 (c)  Applications for the Community Film Incentive 
Program will be reviewed monthly. 
 (d)  Awards will be made to motion picture companies 
based upon the criteria outlined in the Community Film Incentive 
Program application provided by UFC.] 
 (a)  will provide a maximum of a 20% post-performance 
cash rebate or tax incentive for dollars left in state by a community 
film production; 
 (b)  will only be awarded if the motion picture company 
meets criteria listed in Section R357-5-103 has a minimum budget of 
$100,000 and a maximum budget of under $500,000, and meets the 
criteria found on the Utah Film Commission Website; 
 (c)  applications will be reviewed monthly; and 
 (d)  awards will be made to motion picture companies 
based upon the criteria outlined in the application provided by UFC. 
 (3)  For applications made under Subsection[s] (1) or (2), 
the motion picture company must provide any information and 
documentation to show measurable outcomes as outlined in the 
application for any incentive listed in this section . 
 
R357-5-106.  Funding -- Post-Performance Compliance. 
 (1)  A motion picture company may qualify for issuance of 
either a Post-Performance Refundable Tax Credit or Post-
Performance Cash award: 
 (a)  based on the method outlined in their contract; and 
 (b)  the motion picture company adheres to the Agreed-
Upon Procedures version [1.1 dated July 28, 2021 ]2.0 dated May13, 
2022 posted on the Utah Film Commission Website [and hereby 
adopted and]which is incorporated by reference. 
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R357-5-107.  Funding -- Post-Performance Refundable Tax 
Credit. 
 (1)  Post-performance refundable tax credits are non - 
transferable and can only be issued to the state-approved motion 
picture that submits the motion picture incentive application and is 
approved by the Office with advice from the Board. 
 (2)  Post-performance refundable tax credits in amounts 
over $2,000,000 may be paid in deferred payments over multiple 
years as authorized by the Office within the approved Board motion 
for the tax credit. 
 (a)  Deferred payments for tax credits over $2,000,000 are 
subject to available tax credit allocation as authorized by the 
legislature. 
 (b)  Each annual installment of the deferred payment 
amount shall be outlined in the tax credit agreement. 
 (c)  A deferred payment plan cannot exceed three years. 
 
R357-5-108.  Request for Incentive Amendment. 
 (1)  A motion picture company may request an incentive 
amendment only under the conditions prescribed by the Office. 
 (2)  Amendments will be reviewed and approved by the 
UFC on a case by case basis with a written explanation for the 
approval or denial provided to the applicant. 
 
KEY:  economic development, motion picture, digital media, new 
state revenue 
Date of Last Change:  2022[October 12, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 11, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-8-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R414-40 Filing ID 
54619 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R414-40.  Private Duty Nursing Service 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this change is to clarify policy for private 
duty nursing within the Medicaid program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment clarifies eligibility, access, coverage, and 
reimbursement for private duty nursing services.  It also 
makes other technical changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no impact to the state budget as this change 
solely clarifies current Medicaid policy. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no impact on local governments because they 
neither fund nor provide private duty nursing under the 
Medicaid program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no impact on small businesses as this change 
solely clarifies current Medicaid policy. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no impact on non-small businesses as this 
change solely clarifies current Medicaid policy. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no impact to other persons or entities as this 
change solely clarifies current Medicaid policy. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs to a single person or entity 
as this change solely clarifies current Medicaid policy. 
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G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Businesses will see no fiscal impact as this change solely 
clarifies current Medicaid policy.  Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 
 
6.  A) Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-5 Section 26-18-3 42 CFR 440.80 

Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 05/16/2022 

 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-40.  Private Duty Nursing Services. 
R414-40-1.  Introduction and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule outlines eligibility, access requirements, 
coverage, limitations, and reimbursement for private duty nursing.  
This rule is authorized by Sections 26-1-5 and 26-18-3. 
 (2)  Private duty nursing services [is]are an optional Title 
XIX program authorized by 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1396 et seq., 42 U.S.C. 
Sec. 1396d(a)(8), and 42 CFR 440.80. 
 
R414-40-2.  [Recipient]Member Eligibility Requirements. 
 Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment 
(ESPDT) eligible children [who are ]under 21 years of age [21 ]and 
who are either in transition from the hospital to the home or who are 
ventilator dependent are eligible for private duty nursing services.  
The [recipient]member must require [greater]more than four hours of 
continuous skilled nursing care [per]a day. 
 
R414-40-3.  Program Access Requirements. 
 (1)  Only a licensed home health agency enrolled as a 
Medicaid provider may be reimbursed for private duty nursing 
services. 
 (2)  A [recipient]member must have a written physician 
order establishing the need for private duty nursing services.  The 
private duty nursing provider must develop a [plan of ]care plan 
consistent with the [recipient]member's diagnosis, the severity of 
illness, and intensity of services.  [The patient must require more than 
four hours of skilled nursing service.  ]If medically necessary nursing 
services require[s] four hours or less of skilled nursing, the service is 
covered under the home health program. 
 (3)  Medicaid providers shall submit an initial prior 
authorization request with medical documentation that demonstrates 
the need for nursing services.  The home health agency shall submit 
an initial certification and [a ]recertification at least every 60 days as 
required by 42 CFR 440.70. 
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 (4)  Private duty nursing is only available if a parent, 
guardian, or primary caregiver is committed to and capable of 
performing the medical skills necessary to ensure quality care. 
 (5)  The home health agency shall verify that the hospital 
has provided specialized training for the caregiver before patient 
discharge to enable the caregiver to provide hands-on care in the 
home.  The private duty nurse initially supervises the caregiver who 
provides this care to ensure that training has been assimilated to 
ensure safe, quality patient care. 
 
R414-40-4.  Service Coverage for Private Duty Nursing. 
 (1)  Private duty nursing services [is]are a limited benefit 
that is provided with the expectation that the [patient's]member's 
need for private duty nursing services will decrease over time. 
 (2)  Medicaid covers medically necessary and appropriate 
private duty nursing services for a limited time to provide skilled 
nursing care in the home.  Medicaid [provides]covers private duty 
nursing services while the [private duty nursing service 
provider]agency trains the [recipient's]member's caregivers to 
provide the necessary care.  Once the caregivers have been given 
sufficient training for the [recipient's]member's needs, the private 
duty nursing services end[s].  [However, a client]A member, 
however, who still requires more than four hours of ongoing skilled 
nursing services may receive private duty nursing services as 
provided in this rule. 
 (3)  The number of private duty nursing (PDN) hours that 
a [patient]member may receive is based on how the [patient]member 
scores on the PDN Acuity Grid.  The PDN provider shall provide 
supporting documentation to justify the [patient's]member's score.  
The PDN Acuity Grid must reflect the average daily care given by 
the nurse during the previous certification period. 
 (4)  After informing the [recipient's]member's family or 
similar representatives who live with the [recipient]member and in 
coordination and consultation with the physician, the private duty 
nurse shall attempt to wean the [patient]member from a device or 
service and identify new problems. 
 (5)  Medicaid does not cover the following as private duty 
nursing services[Private duty nursing is not covered to provide 
services solely for the following]: 
 (a)  custodial or sitter care to ensure the patient is compliant 
with treatment; 
 (b)  respite care; 
 (c)  monitoring behavioral or eating disorders; and 
 (d)  observation or monitoring medical conditions that do 
not require skilled nursing care. 
 (6)  Medicaid does not cover [P]private duty nursing 
services [is not covered ]if the services [is]are available from another 
funding source, agency, or program. 
 
R414-40-5.  Reimbursement of Services. 
 (1)  Medicaid reimburses nursing services in accordance 
with the Utah Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 4.19-B. 
 (2)  A private duty nurse caring for two [patients]members 
in the [home]same place of residence shall bill with the UN modifier. 
 (3)  A provider [shall]may not charge the Department a fee 
that exceeds the provider's usual and customary charges for the 
provider's private pay patients. 
 
KEY:  Medicaid 
Date of Last Change:  2022[December 1, 2011] 

Notice of Continuation:  April 28, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-
18-3 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R432-32 Filing ID 
54593 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room no.: 1st Floor 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Bldg 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Erica Pryor 801-

273-
2994 

ericapryor@utah.gov 

Kristi Grimes 385-
214-
9187 

kristigrimes@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R432-32.  Licensing Exemption for Non-Profit Volunteer 
End-of-Life Care 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This amendment updates this rule to the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards as per the Governor's Executive Order 
(EO No. 2021-12). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
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This rule provides a licensing exemption for non-profit care 
facilities who are using volunteers for end-of-life care.  This 
filing updates this rule to the Utah Rulewriting Manual 
standards. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This change will not impact the current process for 
licensure and re-licensure surveys.  No change to the state 
budget is expected because this amendment only updates 
this rule to the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local government city business licensing requirements 
were considered.  This proposed rule amendment should 
not impact local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because this amendment only updates this rule to the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual standards.  Licensing exemptions are 
regulated by the state health department and not local 
governments.  There will be no change in local business 
licensing or any other items with which local government 
is involved. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact small 
businesses. This amendment is technical in nature, and 
does not change licensing requirements that would impact 
small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact non-small 
businesses because this amendment only updates this 
rule to the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment only updates 
this rule to the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment only updates 
this rule to the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Nate Checketts, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health, Nate 
Checketts, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
26-21-7(6) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Nate Checketts, 
Executive Director 

Date: 04/29/2022 

 
R432.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Licensing. 
R432-32.  Licensing Exemption for Non-Profit Volunteer End-of-
Life Care. 
R432-32-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  [This]The purpose of this rule is to establish[es] the 
exemption from licensure requirements for non-profit facilities that 
provide volunteer end-of-life care. 
 (2)  This rule is adopted pursuant to [Utah Code 
Section]Subsection 26-21-[7]6[(6)](2)(c). 
 
R432-32-2.  Requirements for Designation as a Non-Profit 
Facility Providing End-of-Life Care Using Only Volunteers. 
 (1)  A non-profit facility that provides end-of-life care using 
only volunteers is exempt from licensure if it meets [all of ]the 
following requirements: 
 [(1)](a)  [T]the facility shall operate[s] as a non-profit 
facility with a board of trustees to oversee its direction and 
operation[.]; 
 [(2)](b)  [N]no more than six unrelated individuals shall 
reside in the facility[.]; 
 [(3)](c)  [T]the residents of the facility [do not]may not pay 
for room or board[.]; 
 [(4)](d)  [E]each facility resident has a terminal illness and 
contracts with a licensed hospice agency to receive medical care[.]; 
and 
 [(5)](e)  [T]there is no direct compensation for direct care 
staff at the facility; however, administrative staff [to]who coordinate 
with volunteer staff may be compensated. 

 [(6)](2)  Each resident shall sign[signs] an admission 
agreement that: 
 (a)  indicates the level of service to be provided by 
volunteers; 
 (b)  provides notice that the facility is not a regulated health 
care facility under Title 26, Chapter 21[.], Health Care Facility 
Licensing and Inspection Act; and 
 (c)  provides procedures to report grievances to the Board 
of Directors. 
 [(8)](3)  The facility [screens]shall: 
 (a)  screen each staff member, including volunteer staff, for 
criminal convictions through the Department of Public Safety and 
[no ]staff [serves who]that [has]have a conviction for any of the 
crimes identified in Section R432-35-[4]8 may not serve;[.] 
 [(9)  The facility](b)  provide[s] in-service training on the 
reporting requirements for adult abuse, neglect and exploitation to 
each staff member[,] [including]and volunteer staff;[.] 
 [(10)  ](c)  ensure [E]each resident has a self-directed 
medical care plan for end-of-life treatment decisions;[.] 
 [(11)  The facility ](d)  provide[s] each resident a form for 
a Physician Order for Life-Sustaining Treatment;[.] 
 [(12)  The facility ](e)  comply[ies] with local zoning, 
health and fire inspection requirements;[.] 
 [(13)  The facility ](f)  offer[s] adult immunizations for staff 
and residents as required in Rule R432-40;[.] and 
 [(14)  The facility has ](g)  have an infection control 
program, which includes universal precautions, process for reporting 
communicable diseases[,] and [OSHA]Occupational Safety and 
Health Administration standards. 
 
KEY:  health care facilities 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 1, 2004] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 1, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-21-7(6) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-215 Filing ID 
54611 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-215.  Permissible Arbitration Provisions for 
Individual and Group Health Insurance 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual standards.  Other changes make the 
language of this rule more clear and update the new 
Section R590-215-5 to use the Department's current 
language.  Section R590-215-7 is being removed because 
this rule is already in force.  The changes do not add, 
remove, or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/16/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-215.  Permissible Arbitration Provisions for Individual and 
Group Health Insurance. 
R590-215-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner [of Insurance 
under the general authority granted under Subsection 31A-2-201(3) 
and incorporates by reference the Department of Labor, Pension and 
Welfare Benefits Administration Rules and Regulations for 
Administration and Enforcement: Claims Procedure, 29 CFR 
2560.503-1, effective July 1, 2002, and excluding 2560.503-1(a).  
This federal regulation may be obtained from the Utah Insurance 
Department]pursuant to Section 31A-2-201. 
 
R590-215-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 [This rule recognizes arbitration as an acceptable method 
of alternative dispute resolution with regards to health benefit plans.  
This rule is not intended to create procedural guidelines for the 
administration of arbitration proceedings once commenced.  This rule 
is intended to: 

 (1)  define the term "permissible arbitration provision" as 
set forth in Subsections 31A-21-313(3)(c) and 31A-21-314(2); and 
 (2)  provide guidelines upon which disclosure of a contract 
arbitration provision is to be made. 
 
R590-215-3.  Applicability and Scope. 
 ](1)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  recognize arbitration as an acceptable method of 
alternative dispute resolution; 
 (b)  provide guidelines for disclosure of a contract 
arbitration provision; and 
 (c)  comply with the requirements outlined in Subsection 
29 CFR 2560.503-1. 
 (2)  This rule applies to [the following ]an individual 
insurance policy and a group [policies ]insurance policy issued or 
renewed on or after July 1, 2002 for: 
 (a)  income replacement [policies]insurance; and 
 (b)  a health benefit plan[s]. 
 [(2)  Long Term Care ](3)  Long-term care and Medicare 
supplement policies are not considered health benefit plans. 
 
R590-215-[4]3.  Definitions. 
 [For the purpose of this rule, the commissioner adopts the 
definitions as particularly set forth in Sections 31A-1-301, 78B-11-
102, 29 CFR 2560.503-1(m), and the following]Terms used in this 
rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301, 31A-22-629, and 29 CFR 
2560.503-1(m). Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  ["Adverse benefit determination" means any of the 
following: a denial, reduction, or termination of, or a failure to 
provide or make payment, in whole or in part, for, a benefit, including 
any such denial, reduction, termination, or failure to provide or make 
payment that is based on a determination of a participant's or 
beneficiary's eligibility to participate in a plan.  With respect to 
individual or group health benefit plans, a denial, reduction, or 
termination of, or a failure to provide or make payment, in whole or 
in part, for, a benefit resulting from the application of any utilization 
review, as well as a failure to cover an item or service for which 
benefits are otherwise provided because it is determined to be 
experimental or investigational or not medically necessary or 
appropriate. 
 (2)  ]"Compulsory binding arbitration" means a contract 
provision requiring arbitration as an automatic and exclusive remedy 
for any dispute involving a contract of insurance to the exclusion of 
any otherwise available judicial remedy, provided that the claim or 
controversy exceeds the jurisdictional limit of the small claims court 
of the state where the action would be brought. 
 [(3)](2)  "Compulsory non-binding arbitration" means a 
contract provision requiring an insured to exhaust a procedure of 
extra-judicial arbitration as a condition [precedent to ]before the 
pursuit of an otherwise available judicial remedy. 
 (3)  "Permissible arbitration provision" means an 
arbitration provision in an insurance policy that: 
 (a)  allows for an action to be brought against an insurer; 
 (b)  prohibits the insurance policy to be construed 
according to the laws of another jurisdiction, except as necessary to 
meet the requirements of compulsory insurance laws of the other 
jurisdiction; 
 (c)  permits Utah courts of jurisdiction over an action 
against the insurer; and 
 (d)  limits the right of action against the insurer to less than 
three years from the date the cause of action accrues. 
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 (4)  "Voluntary binding arbitration" means a contract 
provision that, at the election of the insured, requires an insurer to 
submit to arbitration[ as set forth in such contract], provided that the 
claim or controversy exceeds the jurisdictional limit of the small 
claims court of the state where the action would be brought. 
 
R590-215-[5]4.  [Rule]Permissible Arbitration Provisions. 
 (1)  Compulsory binding arbitration is not a permissible 
arbitration provision. 
 (2)  Compulsory non-binding arbitration is a permissible 
arbitration provision when [utilized ]used as an internal review of an 
adverse benefit determination under 29 CFR [Subsection ]2560.503-
1(c)(4). 
 (3)  Voluntary binding arbitration, at the election of an 
insured[ party], is a permissible arbitration provision, and may only 
be used as a voluntary level of review under 29 CFR [Subsection 
]2560.503-1(c)(3)(iii). 
 (4)  [Policy forms ]A policy form containing a compulsory 
binding or a voluntary binding arbitration provision[s] for the 
exclusive election of an insurer will be disapproved under Subsection 
31A-21-201(3)(a)(iv)[. Such ], and these provisions in any previously 
[approved ]filed form[s] are declared not enforceable[.  They will be 
construed and applied as if in compliance with the Insurance Code, 
as permitted under Section 31A-21-107]. 
 (5)(a)  Each application [pertaining to ]for an individual or 
group health benefit plan[, and ] or income replacement insurance 
policy[, which ] that contains a voluntary arbitration provision[, must 
] shall include or have attached a prominent statement substantially 
as follows: 
 ANY MATTER IN DISPUTE BETWEEN YOU AND 
THE COMPANY MAY BE SUBJECT TO ARBITRATION AS AN 
ALTERNATIVE TO COURT ACTION PURSUANT TO THE 
RULES OF[, ] (THE AMERICAN ARBITRATION ASSOCIATION 
OR OTHER RECOGNIZED ARBITRATOR), A COPY OF WHICH 
IS AVAILABLE ON REQUEST FROM THE COMPANY. THE 
COMPANY SHALL BEAR THE COSTS OF ARBITRATION, 
FILING FEES, ADMINISTRATIVE FEES AND ARBITRATOR 
FEES.  OTHER EXPENSES OF ARBITRATION, INCLUDING, 
BUT NOT LIMITED TO: ATTORNEY FEES, EXPENSES OF 
DISCOVERY, WITNESSES, STENOGRAPHER, 
TRANSLATORS, AND SIMILAR EXPENSES, WILL BE BORNE 
BY THE PARTY INCURRING THOSE EXPENSES.  ANY 
DECISION REACHED BY ARBITRATION SHALL BE BINDING 
UPON BOTH YOU AND THE COMPANY.  THE ARBITRATION 
AWARD MAY INCLUDE ATTORNEY'S FEES, IF ALLOWED BY 
STATE LAW, AND MAY BE ENTERED AS A JUDGMENT IN 
ANY COURT OF PROPER JURISDICTION. 
 [Such ](b)  The statement described in Subsection (5)(a) 
shall [must ]be disclosed prior to the execution of the insurance 
contract between the insurer and the policyholder and[,] shall be 
contained in the certificate of insurance or other disclosure of 
benefits. 
 (6)  A voluntary binding arbitration provision may not 
preclude a dispute from being resolved through any small claims 
court having jurisdiction. 
 (7)  [All ]Any arbitration provision[s] contained in an 
insurance [policies shall be in compliance with the "Utah Arbitration 
Act," ]policy shall comply with Title 78B, Chapter 11, Utah Uniform 
Arbitration Act. 
 (8)  [Any such ]An agreement for arbitration [shall ]may 
not obligate an insured to pay for the arbitration as part of the 
voluntary appeal in accordance with 29 CFR 2560.503-1(c)(3)(v). 

 (9)  [No ]An arbitration provision may not require that 
arbitration be held at a place further from the residence of the insured 
than the nearest location of a State Court of General Jurisdiction. 
 
R590-215-[6]5.  Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or its application to any person 
or situation is held invalid, that invalidity shall not affect any other 
provision or application of this rule which can be given effect without 
the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions of 
this rule are declared to be severable]If any provision of this rule, 
Rule R590-215, or its application to any person or situation is held 
invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other provision or 
application of this rule that can be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application.  The remainder of this rule shall be given 
effect without the invalid provision or application. 
[ 
R590-215-7.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the revised 
provisions of this rule when they take effect.] 
 
KEY:  health insurance arbitration 
Date of Last Change:  2022[May 20, 2003] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 8, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
29 CFR 2560.503-1 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-288 Filing ID 
54613 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-288.  Limited Line Producer Line of Authority for Pet 
Insurance 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is created to recognize a limited line license that 
authorizes insurance agents to sell pet insurance. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule allows insurance agents to apply for a limited line 
license to sell pet insurance 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule may result in a trivial savings to the state budget.  
A pet insurance limited line license will take less time for 
the Department of Insurance (Department) to process than 
a property insurance full line license that is now required 
to sell pet insurance. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  This rule only applies to an agent who 
applies to sell pet insurance. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  This rule only applies to an agent who applies 
to sell pet insurance. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  This rule only applies to an agent who applies 
to sell pet insurance. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
An insurance agent who sells only pet insurance, or who 
sells pet insurance along with another line of business 
aside from property insurance, will see a biennial savings 
of $25 compared to the current process.  It is impossible 
for the Department to estimate the aggregate fiscal impact 
of this rule because the Department cannot know the 
number of agents who want to be licensed to sell pet 
insurance.  Currently, pet insurance may be sold by a 
veterinarian or any agent with a property insurance 
license, but because pet insurance is not separated from 

property insurance, we are unable to estimate how many 
agents sell it. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is no compliance cost for any affected persons.  This 
rule simply allows an insurance agent to more easily apply 
to sell pet insurance.  If a licensed agent chooses to apply, 
they will pay $45 for a pet insurance limited line license 
instead of $70 for a property insurance license. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-23a-106 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/16/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-288.  Limited Line Producer Line of Authority for Pet 
Insurance. 
R590-288-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-23a-106. 
 
R590-288-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to recognize a limited line 
producer line of authority for pet insurance. 
 (2)  This rule applies to a person holding a producer license 
for a line of authority under Subsection 31A-23a-106(2)(a). 
 
R590-288-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. 
Other terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "Pet insurance" means a property insurance policy that 
provides coverage for an accident or illness of a pet. 
 

R590-288-4.  Limited Line Producer Line of Authority for Pet 
Insurance. 
 (1)  The commissioner recognizes a limited line producer 
line of authority for pet insurance. 
 (2)  A person holding a property insurance producer license 
for a line of authority under Subsection 31A-23a-106(2)(a)(iv) may 
offer pet insurance without any additional license requirements. 
 (3)  A person holding a producer license for a line of 
authority under Subsections 31A-23a-106(2)(a)(i) through 31A-23a-
106(2)(a)(iii) or 31A-23a-106(2)(a)(v) through 31A-23a-
106(2)(a)(vii) may apply for a pet insurance limited line producer 
license. 
 (4)  A person holding a limited line producer license for pet 
insurance is not required to complete continuing education regarding 
pet insurance. 
 
R590-288-5.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-288, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance 
Date of Last Change:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-23a-106 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R592-15 Filing ID 
54615 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Title and Escrow Commission 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R592-15.  Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being repealed because it conflicts with 
proposed Rule R592-18, Cost of Doing the Escrow 
Business.  The Title and Escrow Commission approved 
the repeal of this rule in its 05/09/2022 meeting by a vote 
of 4 to 0. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R592-18 is 
under ID 54616 in this issue, June 1, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This filing repeals this rule in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
Similar information will continue to be reported to the 
Department of Insurance (Department) and reviewed by 
the Department as part of the annual report. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  This rule governs the relationship between 
the Department and its licensees and has no bearing on 
local governments in any way. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  Under this rule, licensees only report their 
minimum escrow service charges when they began 
performing escrow services, and any time they change 
their prices for those services.  Repealing this rule will 
mean they will no longer report at those times, but rather 
as part of the annual report. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  Under this rule, licensees only report their 
minimum escrow service charges when they began 
performing escrow services, and any time they change 
their prices for those services.  Repealing the rule will 
mean they will no longer report at those times, but rather 
as part of the annual report. 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  Under this rule, licensees only report their 
minimum escrow service charges when they began 
performing escrow services, and any time they change 
their prices for those services.  Repealing the rule will 
mean they will no longer report at those times, but rather 
as part of the annual report. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
An affected person will just not report to us when its escrow 
service charges change. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-404   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/16/2022 

 
R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission. 
[R592-15.  Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services. 
R592-15-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Title and Escrow 
Commission pursuant to Section 31A-2-404. 
 
R592-15-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures for 
filing a Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services pursuant 
to Section 31A-19a-209. 
 (2)  This rule applies to a title insurer, an agency title 
insurance producer, and an individual title insurance producer who is 

not an employee of a title insurer or who is not designated to an 
agency title insurance producer that provides escrow services in 
Utah. 
 
R592-15-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301, 
31A-2-402, and 31A-19a-102. Additional terms are defined as 
follows: 
 (1)  "Certification" means a statement that a filing complies 
with Utah laws and rules. 
 (2)  "Charge" means a dollar amount charged for a service 
rendered by a title licensee. 
 (3)  "Document preparation" means preparing or compiling 
documents in connection with an escrow service. 
 (4)  "Electronic filing" or "file electronically" means: 
 (a)  a filing submitted via the internet by a title insurer using 
the System for Electronic Rate and Forms Filings (SERFF); or 
 (b)  a filing submitted via an email system by an agency 
title insurance producer or an individual title insurance producer. 
 (5)  "Escrow charge" means a dollar amount charged for an 
escrow service shown in the Schedule of Minimum Charges for 
Escrow Services. 
 (6)  "Escrow service" means a service related to a 
settlement of a real estate transaction. 
 (7)  "File and use" means a filing can be used, sold, or 
offered for sale after it has been filed with the department. 
 (8)  "File before use" means a filing can be used, sold, or 
offered for sale after it has been filed with the department, and a 
stated period of time has elapsed from the date filed. 
 (9)  "Filer" means a person who submits a filing. 
 (10)(a)  "Filing Objection Letter" means a letter issued by 
the commissioner when a review determines that the filing fails to 
comply with Utah laws and rules. 
 (b)  The Filing Objection Letter may require correction of 
non-compliant items and request clarification or additional 
information pertaining to the filing. 
 (11)  "Letter of Authorization" means a letter signed on 
behalf of a title licensee that gives an individual filing authority. 
 (12)  "Minimum escrow fee" means the minimum amount 
that must be charged for escrow settlement services rendered. 
 (13)  "Order to Prohibit Use" means an order issued by the 
commissioner that prohibits the use of a filing. 
 (14)  "Other settlement service" means an additional 
service not specifically listed in the Schedule of Minimum Charges 
for Escrow Services. 
 (15)  "Rejected" means a filing is: 
 (a)  not submitted in accordance with Utah laws and rules; 
 (b)  returned to the filer by the department, with the reasons 
for rejection; and 
 (c)  not considered filed with the department. 
 (16)  "Title licensee", for purposes of this rule, means a title 
insurance company, an agency title insurance producer, or an 
individual title insurance producer. 
 
R592-15-4.  Required Documents. 
 The following documents shall be used for each filing and 
are available on the department's website, https://insurance.utah.gov: 
 (1)  "Transmittal Document for Agency Title Insurance 
Producer or Individual Title Insurance Producer"; and 
 (2)  "Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services. 
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R592-15-5.  General Filing Information. 
 (1)(a)  A filing shall be accurate, consistent, complete, and 
contain all required documents for the filing to be processed in a 
timely and efficient manner. 
 (b)  The commissioner may request additional information 
as necessary. 
 (2)(a)  A filing that does not comply with this rule is 
rejected and returned to the filer. 
 (b)  A rejected filing: 
 (i)  is not considered filed with the department; 
 (ii)  shall be submitted as a new filing; and 
 (iii)  will be charged a new filing fee. 
 (3)  Prior filings are not researched to determine the 
purpose of the filing. 
 (4)  The department does not review or proofread every 
filing. 
 (a)  A filing may be reviewed: 
 (i)  when submitted; 
 (ii)  as a result of a complaint; 
 (iii)  during a regulatory examination or investigation; or 
 (iv)  any time the department determines a review is 
necessary. 
 (b)  When a Filing Objection Letter or Order to Prohibit 
Use is issued, a title licensee may be required to disclose the 
deficiencies to each affected consumer. 
 (5)  Filing corrections. 
 (a)  If the filing is in an open status, correction can be made 
at any time. 
 (b)  If the filing is in a closed status, a new filing is required. 
 (c)  The filer must reference the original filing in the filing 
description. 
 (6)  When responding to a Filing Objection Letter or an 
Order to Prohibit Use, a filer shall comply with Section R592-15-9. 
 (7)  A filer must notify the department when withdrawing a 
previous filing. 
 
R592-15-6.  Filing Requirements. 
 (1)  The following shall electronically file a Schedule of 
Minimum Escrow Service Charges: 
 (a)  a title insurer; 
 (b)  an agency title insurance producer; and 
 (c)  an individual title insurance producer who is: 
 (i)  not an employee of a title insurer; or 
 (ii)  not designated to an agency title insurance producer. 
 (2)  Only an individual who is authorized to act on behalf 
of a title licensee may submit a filing. 
 (3)(a)  An initial Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services filing is a file and use filing and is effective the day it is 
filed. 
 (b)  A revised Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services filing is a file before use filing and is effective: 
 (i)  30 calendar days after the revised Schedule of 
Minimum Charges for Escrow Services is filed; or 
 (ii)  a date specified by the filer that is later than 30 calendar 
days after the revised Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services is filed. 
 (4)  Each filing must be submitted as an electronic filing 
via: 
 (a)  email; or 
 (b)  SERFF. 
 (5)  A complete email filing consists of the following: 

 (a)  an email naming the filer and stating that it is an escrow 
rate filing in the title of the email; 
 (b)  a complete Transmittal Document for Agency Title 
Insurance Producer or Individual Title Insurance Producer, 
containing a complete filing description in the following order: 
 (i)  Certification. 
 (A)  A filer shall certify that a filing is complete and 
complies with Utah laws and rules. 
 (B)  The filing shall include the following statement in the 
filing description:  "BY SUBMITTING THIS FILING I CERTIFY 
THAT THE ATTACHED FILING HAS BEEN COMPLETED IN 
ACCORDANCE WITH UTAH ADMINISTRATIVE RULE R592-
15 AND IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH APPLICABLE UTAH LAWS 
AND RULES". 
 (C)  A filing will be rejected if the certification is false, 
missing, or incomplete. 
 (ii)  Indicate if the filing is: 
 (A)  new; 
 (B)  replacing or modifying a previous submission, 
describing the changes; 
 (C)  previously rejected, with reasons for rejection and 
previous filing's submission date; or 
 (D)  previously objected to or prohibited, with reasons for 
resubmission; 
 (c)  a Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services, 
completed as follows: 
 (i)  each blank field must be completed; 
 (ii)  if a listed service is not performed by a title licensee, 
the field must show "N/A" or "Not Applicable"; and 
 (iii)  the Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services may not be altered; and 
 (d)  a Letter of Authorization. 
 (i)  When the filer is not a title licensee, a Letter of 
Authorization from the title licensee shall be included with the filing. 
 (ii)  The title licensee is responsible for ensuring that the 
filing complies with Utah laws and rules. 
 (e)  Under Subsection 31A-19a-203(1)(e)(i), a rate filing 
fee shall be received by the department within five days of the 
electronic submission or the filing will be rejected. 
 (6)  A complete SERFF filing consists of the following: 
 (a)  a complete description section on the general 
information tab, presented in the following order: 
 (i)  Certification. 
 (A)  A filer shall certify that a filing is complete and 
complies with Utah laws and rules. 
 (B)  The filing shall include the following statement in the 
filing description:  "BY SUBMITTING THIS FILING I CERTIFY 
THAT THE ATTACHED FILING HAS BEEN COMPLETED IN 
ACCORDANCE WITH UTAH ADMINISTRATIVE RULE R592-
15 AND IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH APPLICABLE UTAH LAWS 
AND RULES". 
 (C)  A filing will be rejected if the certification is false, 
missing, or incomplete. 
 (ii)  Indicate if the filing is: 
 (A)  new; 
 (B)  replacing or modifying a previous submission, 
describing the changes; 
 (C)  previously rejected, with reasons for rejection, and 
previous filing's submission date; or 
 (D)  previously objected to or prohibited, with reasons for 
resubmission; 
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 (b)  a Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services 
completed as follows: 
 (i)  attach the filing to the rate and rule schedule tab; 
 (ii)  each blank field must be completed; 
 (iii)  if a listed service is not performed by a title licensee, 
the field must show "N/A" or "Not Applicable"; and 
 (iv)  the Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services may not be altered; and 
 (c)  a Letter of Authorization. 
 (i)  When the filer is not a title licensee, a Letter of 
Authorization from the title licensee shall be included with the filing. 
 (ii)  The title licensee is responsible for ensuring that the 
filing complies with Utah laws and rules. 
 (d)  Under Subsection 31A-19a-203(1)(e)(i), a rate filing 
fee shall be received by the department within five days of the 
electronic submission or the filing will be rejected. 
 
R592-15-7.  Charges. 
 (1)  Only minimum escrow charges shown in the Schedule 
of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services shall be filed. 
 (2)  Other settlement service charges will be used for 
services not specifically shown in the Schedule of Minimum Charges 
for Escrow Services. 
 (3)  Other settlement service charges shall be filed as a per 
hour charge. 
 (4)  Only document charges shown in the Schedule of 
Minimum Charges for Escrow Services shall be filed. 
 (5)  Other services not specifically listed on the Schedule 
of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services may be provided if a 
justifiable charge is filed. 
 
R592-15-8.  Correspondence and Status Checks. 
 (1)  To identify the original filing, the following 
information shall be provided: 
 (a)  type of filing; 
 (b)  date of filing; and 
 (c)  submission method. 
 (2)  A filer may request the status of its filing 60 days after 
the filing date. 
 
R592-15-9.  Responses. 
 (1)  A response to a Filing Objection Letter shall include: 
 (a)  a cover letter identifying the changes made; and 
 (b)  revised documents with each change highlighted. 
 (2)(a)  An Order to Prohibit Use becomes final 15 days after 
the date of the Order. 
 (b)  Use of the filing shall be discontinued by the date 
specified in the Order. 
 (c)  To contest an Order to Prohibit Use, the commissioner 
must receive a written request for a hearing no later than 15 days after 
the date of the Order. 
 (d)  Once the Order to Prohibit Use has been issued, a new 
filing is required if the title licensee chooses to make the requested 
changes addressed in the original Filing Objection Letter. 
 
R592-15-10.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R592-15, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application.  The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 

KEY:  title escrow filings 
Date of Last Change:  December 23, 2021 
Notice of Continuation:  March 30, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-404] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R592-18 Filing ID 
54616 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Title and Escrow Commission 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R592-18.  Cost of Doing the Escrow Business 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this rule is to establish the standard for 
determining compliance with Subsection 31A-19a-
209(3)(a)(ii).  The Title and Escrow Commission approved 
the filing of this proposed rule in its 05/09/2022 meeting by 
a vote of 4 to 0. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The law prohibits title insurance agencies from providing 
below-cost escrow services.  For several years, there were 
varying views as to what constitutes "below-cost."  The 
Department of Insurance (Department) and title industry 
have now agreed on a process and a method for 
determining the amount that is considered "below-cost."  
The rule reflects this agreement. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The information required by the rule will be reported to the 
Department and reviewed by the Department as part of the 
annual report. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  This rule governs the relationship between 
the Department and its licensees and has no bearing on 
local governments in any way. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  Title agencies are already expected to track 
the cost of escrow per transaction.  While this rule requires 
them to create an average from that information, it can be 
easily done with common office software. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  Title agencies and companies are already 
expected to track the cost of escrow per transaction.  While 
this rule requires them to create an average from that 
information, it can be easily done with common office 
software. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  Title agents are already expected to track the 
cost of escrow per transaction.  While this rule requires 
them to create an average from that information, it can be 
easily done with common office software. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
Title licensees already track the cost of escrow per 
transaction.  Creating an average from that information will 
not require any additional cost. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-404   
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Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/16/2022 

 
R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission. 
R592-18.  Cost of Doing the Escrow Business. 
R592-18-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Title and Escrow 
Commission pursuant to Section 31A-2-404. 
 
R592-18-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish the standard for 
determining compliance with Subsection 31A-19a-209(3)(a)(ii). 
 (2)  This rule applies to a title insurer and a title insurance 
producer. 
 
R592-18-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301 
and 31A-2-402. 
 
R592-18-4.  Calculating the Cost of Doing the Escrow Business 
Under Subsection 31A-19a-209(3)(a)(ii). 
 (1)(a)  A title insurer, an agency title insurance producer, or 
an individual title insurance producer who is not an employee of a 
title insurer or who is not designated by an agency title insurance 
producer shall file with the commissioner, to be submitted with its 
annual report, a certified statement of the average residential escrow 
fee charged by the filer for the prior calendar year. 
 (b)  Submitting the certified statement in Subsection (1)(a) 
satisfies the requirement of filing with the commissioner a schedule 
of escrow charges in Section 31A-19a-209. 
 (2)(a)  The commissioner shall establish an industry 
average residential escrow fee by calculating the average of the 
residential escrow fees submitted under Subsection (1). 
 (b)  The industry average residential escrow fee shall be 
calculated for the buyer side and the seller side of a transaction. 
 (c)  The industry average residential escrow fee shall 
include the sum of the fees charged by a filer for conducting escrow 
services on any transaction involving a dwelling as defined in Section 
57-21-2. 

 (d)  The industry average residential escrow fee shall 
exclude any pass-through cost incurred incident to the escrow 
services or the issuance of the title insurance and separately charged 
to the consumer. 
 (3)  On June 1 of each year, the commissioner shall issue a 
bulletin that notifies title insurers and title insurance producers of the 
industry average residential escrow fee for the buyer side and the 
seller side of a transaction. 
 (4)  The industry average residential escrow fee calculated 
under Subsection (2) shall take effect on September 1 following the 
issuance of the bulletin. 
 (5)  Under Subsection 31A-19a-209(3)(a)(ii), the cost of 
doing the escrow business is 50% of the industry average residential 
escrow fee for the buyer side and the seller side as calculated under 
Subsection (2). 
 
R592-18-5.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R592-18, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  title insurance 
Date of Last Change:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-
404(2)(a); 31A-19a-209(2)(a)(iii) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R877-23V-14 Filing ID 
54573 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Tax Commission 
Agency: Motor Vehicle Enforcement 
Building: Utah State Tax Commission 
Street address: 210 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chantay Asper 801-

297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R877-23V-14.  Dealer Identification of Fees Associated with 
Issuance of Temporary Permits Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Sections 41-3-301 and 41-3-302 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The reason for the change is to clarify the content of the 
dealer documentary service fee disclosure sign. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment makes technical changes and clarifies 
that the sign required in each motor vehicle dealership to 
disclose dealer documentary service fees must state the 
actual dollar amount of the dealer documentary service fee 
as set forth in the dealer's contract of sale or lease 
agreement. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This amendment is not expected to impact the state 
budget because it only changes the content of a sign. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This amendment is not expected to impact local 
governments because it only changes the content of a 
sign. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This amendment is not expected to impact small 
businesses because it only changes the content of a sign. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This amendment is not expected to impact non-small 
businesses because it only changes and content of a sign. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment is not expected to impact persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities because it only changes the 
content of a sign. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This amendment is not expected to impose compliance 
costs on affected persons because it only changes the 
content of a sign. 

G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This amendment is not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on businesses because it only changes and content of a 
sign.  Rebecca L. Rockwell, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
A Commissioner of the Tax Commission, Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, has reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 41-3-301 Section 41-3-302  
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Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 05/16/2022 

 
R877.  Tax Commission, Motor Vehicle Enforcement. 
R877-23V.  Motor Vehicle Enforcement. 
R877-23V-14.  Dealer Identification of Fees Associated with 
Issuance of Temporary Permits Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. 
Sections 41-3-301 and 41-3-302. 
 (1)  As used in this section, "dealer documentary service 
fee" means a fee that a dealer charges a purchaser or lessee of a motor 

vehicle for preparing or processing any state-mandated documents or 
services. 
 [(1)](2)  Only fees required by Title 41, Chapter 1a, Motor 
Vehicle Act, may be identified as state-mandated fees. 
 [(2)](3)  A dealer that charges the purchaser or lessee of a 
motor vehicle a [fee for preparing or processing any state-mandated 
documents or services ("dealer documentary service fees") must, in 
addition to the requirements set forth in Subsection (1),]dealer 
documentary service fee shall prominently display a sign in the sales 
area on the dealer premises in a location that is readily discernable by 
all purchasers and lessees.  The sign shall contain the language set 
forth in Subsection [(2)(a)](3)(a). 
 (a)  "The [(]dealer documentary service fee[)] of $______ 
as set forth in your contract of sale or lease agreement, represents 
costs to the dealer for preparing and processing documents and other 
services related to the sale or lease of your vehicle.  These fees are 
not set or [state-]mandated by [state ]statute or rule." 
 (b)  The [blank in]amount disclosed under Subsection 
[(2)(a) ](3)(a) shall be the actual amount of the dealer documentary 
service fee under [may be wording selected by the dealer to describe 
the fee charged for document preparation and processing and other 
services, but must be, in all cases, the actual wording used in ]the 
dealer's contract of sale or lease agreement. 
 
KEY:  taxation, motor vehicles 
Date of Last Change:  [March 28, 2022]2022 
Notice of Continuation:  November 9, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  41-1a-712; 
41-3-105; 41-3-201; 41-3-202; 41-3-210; 41-3-301; 41-3-302; 41-3-
305; 41-3-503; 41-3-505; 41-3-506; 41-3-507 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R152-34 Filing ID: 50239 

Effective Date: 05/06/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Consumer Protection 
Building: Heber Wells 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Daniel Larsen 801-

530-
6145 

dblarsen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R152-34.  Utah Postsecondary Proprietary School Act 
Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted in accordance with: Subsection 13-2-
5(1), which authorizes the Division of Consumer 
Protection (Division) to issue rules to administer and 
enforce the chapters listed in Section 13-2-1; Subsection 
13-34-104(6), which requires the Division to establish 
standards and criteria regarding awarding educational 

credentials, bona fide instruction through student-faculty 
interaction, and determination of a student's ability to 
benefit from a program; Subsection 13-34-107(6)(a)(i), 
which allows the Division to prescribe criteria allowing an 
applicant for a certificate of registration as a 
postsecondary proprietary school to demonstrate its fiscal 
responsibility; Subsections 13-34-107(7)(b)(i) through (iv), 
which allow the Division to make rules regarding the 
amount of a surety required to obtain a certificate of 
registration as a postsecondary proprietary school, the 
execution of that surety, cancellation of that surety, and 
any other matters relating to that surety in accordance with 
Subsection 13-34-107(7)(a). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division is not aware of any written comments from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule assists the Division in its administration and 
enforcement of Title 13, Chapter 34, Utah Postsecondary 
Proprietary School Act, by detailing the information and 
documents a regulated entity is required to submit to the 
Division to obtain a certificate of registration.  This rule 
defines terms to provide clarity to regulated entities.  This 
rule provides regulated entities with detailed standards 
applicable to awarding educational credentials, and 
establishes standards with respect to what is considered 
bona fide instruction.  This rule also protects consumers 
by setting minimum standards to which regulated entities 
must adhere when determining whether a student will 
benefit from a proprietary school's services, and by 
establishing minimum standards for fair and ethical 
practices by regulated entities.  This rule also details a 
proprietary school's responsibilities to students and to the 
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Division when it intends to close or terminate operations.  
This rule is critical to the Division's continued 
administration and enforcement of the statutory scheme.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Daniel Larsen, 
Commerce 
Analyst 

Date: 05/06/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-122 Filing ID: 50392 

Effective Date: 05/16/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-122.  Board of Education Procurement 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision over 
public education in the Board; Subsection 53E-3-401(4) 
which allows the Board to make rules to execute the Board's 
duties and responsibilities under the Utah Constitution and 
state law; and Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement 
Code. 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order to meet statutory 
requirements.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 05/16/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-410 Filing ID: 50409 

Effective Date: 05/16/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-410.  Accreditation of Schools 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision over 
public education in the Board; and Section 53E-3-501 which 
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directs the Board to establish rules governing school 
accreditation. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because this rule establishes 
requirements for qualifying secondary schools to be 
accredited.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 05/16/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-485 Filing ID: 50451 

Effective Date: 05/16/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-485.  Loss of Enrollment 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision over 
public education in the Board; and Section 53F-2-207 which 
allows the Board to increase funds for a school district in 
order to avoid penalizing it for an excessive loss in student 
enrollment due to factors beyond its control. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because this rule establishes 
procedures for the Board to increase funds for a school 
district in order to avoid penalizing it for an excessive loss in 
student enrollment due to factors beyond the school district's 
control.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 05/16/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-911 Filing ID: 50550 

Effective Date: 05/16/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-911.  Secondary Career and Technical Education 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by the Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision over 
public education in the Board; Subsection 53E-3-401(4) 
which allows the Board to make rules to execute the Board's 
duties and responsibilities under the Utah constitution and 
state law; Section 53E-3-507 which allows the Board to 
establish minimum standards for Career and Technical 
Education (CTE) programs in the public education system; 
and Sections 53F-2-311 and 53G-6-708 which direct the 
Board to distribute specific amounts and percentages for 
specific CTE programs and facilitate administration of 
various programs. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because this rule establishes 
procedures for CTE programs in local education agencies 
(LEAs).  This rule outlines how funding for these programs is 
calculated and general governance requirements of an 
LEA's program.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of 
Policy 

Date: 05/16/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-105 Filing ID: 50571 

Effective Date: 05/04/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-105.  General Requirements: Emergency Controls 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 19-2-112 allows the Executive Director of the 
Department of Environmental Quality, with the 
concurrence of the Governor, to declare an air pollution 
emergency and order reductions in emissions of air 
pollutants.  Rule R307-105 establishes the levels of air 
pollutants that create an emergency, as well as other 
factors used in determining that an emergency exists. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received since the last 
five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R307-105 satisfies federal regulations implementing 
the Clean Air Act that prevent ambient pollutant 
concentrations from reaching certain levels that cause 
significant harm to human health and the environment.  
These requirements are found in 40 CFR 51.151.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-401 Filing ID: 52316 

Effective Date: 05/04/2022 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-401.  Permit: New and Modified Sources 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 19-2-108 requires a person to give notice to the 
director if the person is planning to "construct a new 
installation which will or might reasonably be expected to 
increase the amount of or change the character or effect 
of air pollutants discharged..." Rule R307-401 sets forth 
the requirements that the owner or operator of a source of 
air pollution must address in giving notice to the executive 
secretary under Section 19-2-108.  The Board is able to 
adopt rules that implement Section 19-2-108 because 
Section 19-2-104 gives the Board the power to control, 
abate, and prevent air pollution from all sources.  A notice 
requirement and its implementation are a necessary part 
of controlling, abating, and preventing air pollution.  Rule 
R307-401 is also required by Section II, Review of New 
and Modified Air Pollution Sources, of the State 
Implementation Plan (SIP).  This SIP is required under 
Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 7410 and 40 CFR 51. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
This rule has been amended five times since the last five-
year review.  Three of the five proposed amendments 
received no written comments during the public comment 
period.  During the comment period associated with 
amendments finalized in June of 2019, three comments 
were received advocating expanding this rule beyond the 
scope proposed in the amendment.  Staff considered 
these comments but disagreed and made no changes to 
the proposed rule.  During the comment period associated 
with amendments finalized in March of 2020, three 

comments were received regarding definitions and the 
organization of this rule.  Staff generally agreed with the 
comments and revised the rule accordingly.  There have 
been no comments opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R307-401 is required by Section 19-2-108 and is also 
required by Section II, Review of New and Modified Air 
Pollution Sources, of the SIP, which is incorporated by 
reference under Rule R307-110.  This SIP is required 
under Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 7410 and 40 CFR 51 
subpart I.  Without the SIP, EPA would be required to 
impose a federal implementation plan.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-403 Filing ID: 50646 

Effective Date: 05/04/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-403.  Permits: New and Modified Sources in 
Nonattainment Areas and Maintenance Areas 
 



FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION  

104 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, June 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 11 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 19-2-104 gives the Board the power to control, 
abate, and prevent air pollution from all sources.  Rule 
R307-403 is an air pollution permitting program that helps 
control, abate, and prevent air pollution.  Rule R307-403 is 
also required by Section II, Review of New and Modified 
Air Pollution Sources, of the State Implementation Plan 
(SIP).  This SIP is required under Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 
7410 and 40 CFR 51.165. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
This rule has been amended twice since the last five-year 
review.  In one instance, no comments were received.  In 
the other, 11 written comments were received relating to 
definitions, organization, and language choices.  Staff 
considered and responded to each of these comments, 
generally agreeing with their intent and modifying the 
proposed rule to incorporate these changes.  No 
comments opposing this rule have been received since the 
last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R307-403 is required by Section 19-2-108 and by 
Section II, Review of New and Modified Air Pollution 
Sources, of the State Implementation Plan (SIP), which is 
incorporated by reference under Rule R307-110.  The SIP 
is required under Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 7410 and 40 
CFR 51.165.  Without the SIP, EPA would be required to 
impose a federal implementation plan.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-406 Filing ID: 50641 

Effective Date: 05/04/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-406.  Visibility 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 19-2-104 gives the Board the power to control, 
abate, and prevent air pollution from all sources.  Rule 
R307-406 helps control, abate, and prevent air pollution 
for the purpose of increasing visibility at Class I areas - 
Zion, Bryce, Capitol Reef, Arches, and Canyonlands 
National Parks.  Rule R307-406 is also required by Section 
XVII, Visibility Protection, of the State Implementation Plan 
(SIP).  This plan is required under Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 
7410 and 40 C.F.R. 51 subpart P. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received on this rule 
since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R307-406 is required by Section XVII, Visibility 
Protection, of the SIP, which is incorporated by reference 
into the Utah Air Quality Rules under Rule R307-110.  The 
SIP is required under Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 7410 and 
40 CFR 51 subpart P.  Without the SIP, EPA would be 
required to impose a federal implementation plan.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-410 Filing ID: 52751 

Effective Date: 05/04/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-410.  Permits: Emissions Impact Analysis 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 19-2-104 allows the Air Quality Board to 
promulgate rules that control, abate, and prevent air 
pollution from all sources.  Rule R307-410 prevents air 
pollution by requiring an emissions impact analysis from 
sources to determine what amount of pollution will 
contribute to a violation of federal air quality standards.  
Rule R307-410 is also required by Section II, Review of 
New and Modified Air Pollution Sources and Section XVIII, 
Demonstration of GEP Stack Height, of the State 
Implementation Plan (SIP).  The SIP is required under 
Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 7410 and 40 CFR 51 subpart I, 
and 40 CFR 51.118. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
This rule has been amended three times since the last five-
year review.  No written comments were received during 
any of the public comment periods associated with this 
rule. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R307-410 is required by Section XVIII, 
Demonstration of GEP Stack Height, of the SIP, which is 
incorporated by reference under Rule R307-110.  The SIP 
is required under Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. 7410 and 40 
CFR 51 subpart I, and 40 CFR 51.118.  Without the SIP, 
EPA would be required to impose a federal implementation 
plan.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-414 Filing ID: 50640 

Effective Date: 05/04/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-414.  Permits: Fees for Approval Orders 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 19-2-104 allows the Utah Air Quality Board to 
promulgate rules that control, abate, and prevent air 
pollution from all sources.  Rule R307-414 does this by 
setting up the procedures, including the payment of fees, 
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for administering an air quality permitting program 
designed to control, abate, and prevent air pollution. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received on this rule 
since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The fees required in Rule R307-414, which are approved 
annually by the Legislature, comprise a substantial portion 
of the budget of the Division of Air Quality (Division).  
Without these fees, the Division would not be able to 
review and enforce the air quality permitting program.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-415 Filing ID: 53894 

Effective Date: 05/04/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-415.  Permits: Operating Permit Requirements 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 19-2-104(1)(f) allows the Board to promulgate 
rules and Section 19-2-109.1 implements an operating 
permit program as required by and in conformity with Titles 
IV and V of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990.  
Rule R307-415 controls, abates, and prevents air pollution 
by requiring permits and establishing an emissions fee for 
air pollution under the Title V permitting program in the 
Clean Air Act. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
This rule has been amended twice since the last five-year 
review.  No written comments were received regarding this 
rule during either public comment period. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R307-415 is required by Title V of the Clean Air Act; 
40 CFR Part 70; and Section 19-2-109.1.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-417 Filing ID: 50647 

Effective Date: 05/04/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-417.  Permits: Acid Rain Sources 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 19-2-104 allows the Utah Air Quality Board to 
promulgate rules that control, abate, and prevent air 
pollution from all sources.  Rule R307-417 does this by 
preventing air pollution that contributes to acid rain through 
an air pollution permitting program.  The rule incorporates 
by reference the federal requirements in 40 CFR Part 72 
into Utah's air quality rules for the purpose of meeting the 
requirements of Title IV of the Clean Air Act. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received on this rule 
since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule incorporates by reference the federal 
requirements in 40 CFR Part 72 into Utah's air quality rules 
for the purpose of meeting the requirements of Title IV of 
the Clean Air Act.  By incorporating the federal 
requirements into the state rules, Utah is able to implement 
and enforce its own acid rain program.  Without this rule, 
the EPA would have the sole authority to implement the 
program in Utah.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-420 Filing ID: 50649 

Effective Date: 05/04/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 

Street address: 195 N1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-420.  Permits: Ozone Offset Requirements in Davis 
and Salt Lake Counties 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 19-2-104 allows the Utah Air Quality Board to 
promulgate rules that control, abate, and prevent air 
pollution from all sources.  Rule R307-420 does this by 
implementing ozone offset provisions that require sources 
to offset increases in emissions before getting an approval 
order to construct, modify, or relocate under Rule R307-
401.  The offsetting program is designed to prevent future 
net increases in air pollution. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received on this rule 
since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R307-420 is required to minimize the growth in 
emissions of ozone precursors in Salt Lake and Davis 
counties.  This rule supports Section IX.D (Ozone 
Maintenance Plan) of the State Implantation Plan, which is 
incorporated by reference in Section R307-110-13.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-421 Filing ID: 50644 

Effective Date: 05/04/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-421.  Permits: PM10 Offset Requirements in Salt 
Lake County and Utah County 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 19-2-104 allows the Utah Air Quality Board to 
promulgate rules that control, abate, and prevent air 
pollution from all sources.  Rule R307-421 does this by 
ensuring that the growth of particulate matter precursor 
pollutants is minimized by the use of emission offsets. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received on this rule 
since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R307-421 is required to minimize the growth in 
emissions of PM10 precursors in Salt Lake and Utah 
County.  This rule supports the PM10 Maintenance Plan, 
which is incorporated by reference in Section R307-110-
10.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R307-424 Filing ID: 50648 

Effective Date: 05/04/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dr. Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-424.  Permits: Mercury Requirements for Electric 
Generating Units 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule was enacted under Section 19-2-104.  Section 
19-2-104 authorizes the Utah Air Quality Board to 
promulgate rules "regarding the control, abatement, and 
prevention of air pollution from all sources and the 
establishment of the maximum quantity of air pollutants 
that may be emitted by an air pollutant source..."  Rule 
R307-424 controls mercury emissions from coal-fired 
electric generating units.  It also establishes maximum 
allowable quantities of mercury that may be emitted by a 
source.  Each of these regulatory actions (controlling 
emissions and setting emission standards) are allowed 
under Section 19-2-104. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
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No written comments have been received on this rule 
since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule sets mercury emission limits for coal-fired power 
plants.  It also implements federal emission standards 
found in 40 CFR 61.24 and is required by Section 111(d) 
of the Clean Air Act.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R450-2 Filing ID: 51117 

Effective Date: 05/09/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Cultural and Community Engagement 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 3760 S Highland Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84106 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristin Mead 218-

393-
2995 

kristinmead@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R450-2.  Preservation Pro Fee 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Rule R450-2 establishes the procedure for user fees the 
public pays for the online Preservation Pro tool maintained 
by State History in accordance with Section 9-8-304 and 
Subsection 63G-3-201(2). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order to keep this needed service 
available to the public.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jill Love, 
Executive 
Directory 

Date: 05/09/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R458-1 Filing ID: 51144 

Effective Date: 05/09/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Cultural and Community Engagement 
Agency: Library 
Street address: 250 N 1950 W, Suite A 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116-7901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristin Mead 218-

393-
2995 

kristinmead@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R458-1.  Adjudicative Procedures 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule establishes that the State Library Division 
requires adjudicative procedures in accordance with 
Section 63G-4-202. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
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5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required by Section 63G-4-202.  This rule is 
necessary to stay in compliance.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jill Love, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 05/09/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R746-320 Filing ID: 51958 

Effective Date: 05/11/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Yvonne Hogle 801-

530-
6709 

yhogle@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R746-320.  Uniform Rules Governing Natural Gas Service 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Rule R746-320 is enacted pursuant to Sections 54-2-1, 
54-4-1, 54-4-7, 54-4-18, and 54-4-23.  Section 54-2-1 
requires this rule because it defines, in part, "utility" as a 
"gas corporation" which is defined in this rule as the "utility" 
to which the rule applies.  Under Section 54-4-1, the Public 
Service Commission (Commission) is tasked with 
regulating utilities including natural gas utilities and must 
be able to adopt uniform rules that govern the methods 
and conditions to be used in the provision of natural gas 

service.  Therefore, Section 54-2-1 requires Rule R746-
320 because this rule governs the methods and conditions 
to be used in the provision of natural gas service.  Section 
54-4-7 expressly authorizes the rules, stating "[t]he 
commission, after a hearing, shall prescribe rules and 
regulations for the performance of any service…". Section 
54-4-18 authorizes and requires the rule, stating "[t]he 
commission shall have power, after a hearing, to ascertain 
and fix just and reasonable standards, classifications, 
regulations, practices, measurements or service to be 
furnished, imposed, observed and followed by all 
electrical, gas and water corporations…". Section 54-4-23 
requires this rule because the statute gives the 
Commission the power to establish a system of accounts 
to be kept by all utilities and prescribe the manner in which 
such accounts are kept.  This rule reflects the 
Commission's adoption of a uniform system of accounts 
that a gas corporation must use. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received since the last five-year 
review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The authority and requirements for this rule are provided 
in Box 3 above and they still exist today.  This rule is still 
needed.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC 
Chair 

Date: 05/11/2022 

 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-1 Filing ID: 52027 

Effective Date: 05/12/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 500 
Street address: 675 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2818 
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Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Johnson 801-

538-
5180 

mjohnson@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R850-1.  Definition of Terms 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) authorizes the Director of 
the School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration to 
provide definitions which apply to all rules promulgated by 
the Director and Trust. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received by the agency 
for this rule since the previous five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
There are many terms that are unique to various programs 
administered by the Trust.  This rule enables the School 
and Institutional Trust Lands Administration to define and 
clarify terminology used throughout the Trust's rules in one 
location rather than creating a substantial amount of 
repetition by defining program-related terms within each 
individual program rule.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Michelle 
McConkie, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-2 Filing ID: 52031 

Effective Date: 05/12/2022 
 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 500 
Street address: 675 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2818 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Johnson 801-

538-
5180 

mjohnson@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R850-2.  Trust Land Management Objectives 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 53C-1-204(1) and Section 53C-1-302 
authorize the Director of the School and Institutional Trust 
Lands Administration to prescribe the general land 
management objectives for the schools and other 
institutional trust lands. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received by the agency 
for this rule since the previous five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The lands administered by the School and Institutional 
Trust Lands Administration are held in trust for the benefit 
of specifically designated beneficiaries.  This rule outlines 
the objectives of the Trust in fulfilling its fiduciary duty to 
those beneficiaries and with regard to the use and 
disposition of their respective lands.  This rule also clarifies 
for the general public and other governmental entities the 
purposes for which these lands were granted.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Michelle 
McConkie, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-3 Filing ID: 52022 

Effective Date: 05/12/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 500 
Street address: 675 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2818 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Johnson 801-

538-
5180 

mjohnson@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R850-3.  Applicant Qualifications, Application Forms, and 
Application Processing 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) and Section 53C-2-404 
authorize the Director of the School and Institutional Trust 
Lands Administration to prescribe the applicant 
requirements and the form of application for the use and 
disposition of trust lands. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received by the agency 
for this rule since the previous five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary as it sets forth the requirements an 
applicant must meet in order to qualify as a user of trust 
lands.  It also sets forth guidelines for the Trust to follow 
for consistency in the acceptance or rejection of submitted 
applications.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Michelle 
McConkie, 
Director 

Date: 05/04/2022 

 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  If the agency finds that it will not meet 
the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW 
EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office of Administrative Rules.  The EXTENSION permits the agency to file the review 
up to 120 days beyond the anniversary date. 
 
Agencies have filed EXTENSIONS for the rules listed below.  The "Extended Due Date" is 120 days after the anniversary 
date. 
 
EXTENSIONS are governed by Subsection 63G-3-305(6). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-173 Filing ID: 51387 

New Deadline 
Date: 

10/03/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-173.  Credit for Reinsurance 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension and the new 
deadline date: 
The five-year review of this rule is due on 06/05/2022.  
However, an amendment was filed a few weeks ago and it 
cannot be made effective until 06/07/2022 at the earliest.  
The Insurance Department (Department) is requesting an 
extension to ensure the Department is able to use the most 
recent language of this rule for the review. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/06/2022 

 

 
End of the Notices of Five-Year Review Extensions Section 
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Commerce 
Real Estate 
No.  54391  (Amendment)  R162-2f:  Real Estate Licensing 
and Practices Rules 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/25/2022 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  54420  (Amendment)  R277-406:  Early Learning 
Program and Benchmark Assessments 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54475  (Amendment)  R277-479:  Funding for Charter 
School Students With Disabilities on an IEP 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/24/2022 
 
No.  54421  (Amendment)  R277-489:  Kindergarten Entry 
and Exit Assessment - Enhanced Kindergarten Program 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54476  (Amendment)  R277-613:  LEA Policies and 
Training Regarding Bullying, Cyber-bullying, Hazing, 
Retaliation, and Abusive Conduct 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/24/2022 
 
No.  54422  (Amendment)  R277-622:  School-based Mental 
Health Qualifying Grant Program 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54477  (New Rule)  R277-628:  School Libraries 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/24/2022 
 

No.  54423  (Amendment)  R277-726:  Statewide Online 
Education Program 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54424  (Amendment)  R277-733:  Adult Education 
Programs 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54478  (Amendment)  R277-801:  Services for Students 
who are Deaf, Hard of Hearing, blind, Visually Impaired, and 
Deaf-Blind 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
No.  54479  (Amendment)  R277-915:  Work-based Learning 
Programs 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/24/2022 
 
No.  54425  (Amendment)  R277-916:  College and Career 
Awareness 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
 
Environmental Quality 
Environmental Response and Remediation 
No.  54457  (New Rule)  R311-402:  Utah Hazardous 
Substances Priority List 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
Waste Management and Radiation Control, Radiation 
No.  54410  (Amendment)  R313-12-3:  Definitions 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/16/2022 
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No.  54411  (Amendment)  R313-19-100:  Transportation 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/16/2022 
 
 
Government Operations 
Purchasing and General Services 
No.  54463  (Amendment)  R33-1:  Utah Procurement Rules, 
General Procurement Provisions 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
No.  54464  (Amendment)  R33-2:  Rules of Procedure for 
Procurement Policy Board 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
No.  54465  (Amendment)  R33-4:  Supplemental 
Procurement Procedures 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
No.  54466  (Amendment)  R33-5:  Other Standard 
Procurement Processes 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
No.  54467  (Amendment)  R33-6:  Bidding 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
No.  54468  (Amendment)  R33-7:  Request for Proposals 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
No.  54469  (Amendment)  R33-8:  Exceptions to Standard 
Procurement Process 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
No.  54470  (Amendment)  R33-9:  Cancellations, Rejections, 
and Debarment 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
No.  54471  (Amendment)  R33-12:  Terms and Conditions, 
Contracts, Change Orders and Costs 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
No.  54472  (Amendment)  R33-24:  Unlawful Conduct and 
Ethical Standards 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
 
Health 
Administration 
No.  54390  (Amendment)  R380-406:  Medical Cannabis 
Pharmacy 
Published:  03/15/2022 
Effective:  05/04/2022 

Human Services 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health, State Hospital 
No.  53930  (Amendment)  R525-8:  Forensic Mental Health 
Facility 
Published:  10/01/2021 
Effective:  05/12/2022 
 
No.  53930  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R525-8:  Forensic 
Mental Health Facility 
Published:  01/15/2022 
Effective:  05/12/2022 
 
Services for People with Disabilities 
No.  54228  (Repeal and Reenact)  R539-4:  Behavior 
Interventions 
Published:  01/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
No.  54228  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R539-4:  Behavior 
Interventions 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/23/2022 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  54405  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-133:  Variable 
Contracts 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54406  (Amendment)  R590-186:  Bail Bond Business 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54407  (Amendment)  R590-200:  Diabetes Treatment 
and Management 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
No.  54419  (New Rule)  R590-287:  Manufacturer Data 
Reporting 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/11/2022 
 
 
Labor Commission 
Occupational Safety and Health 
No.  54392  (Amendment)  R614-1-4:  Incorporation of 
Federal Standards 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/09/2022 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  54339  (Amendment)  R657-10:  Taking Cougar 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  05/02/2022 
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No.  54339  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R657-10:  Taking 
Cougar 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/02/2022 
 
No.  54396  (Amendment)  R657-13-9:  Underwater 
Spearfishing 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/09/2022 
 
No.  54397  (Amendment)  R657-26-5:  Hearings 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/09/2022 
 
No.  54340  (Amendment)  R657-33:  Taking Bear 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  05/02/2022 
 

No.  54340  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R657-33:  Taking 
Bear 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/02/2022 
 
 
Public Safety 
Driver License 
No.  54451  (Amendment)  R708-41:  Requirements for 
Acceptable Documentation, Storage and Maintenance 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/24/2022 
 
Highway Patrol 
No.  54441  (Amendment)  R714-560:  Technology and 
Equipment for Officer-Involved Critical Incident Investigation 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/24/2022 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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