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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between June 02, 2022, 12:00 a.m., and June 15, 
2022, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the July 01, 2022, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least August 01, 2022.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through October 29, 2022, the agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days 
after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R25-7 Filing ID 
54697 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Finance 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, Floor 3 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141031 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1031 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janica Gines 801-

957-
7727 

jmgines@utah.gov 

Ally Branch 801-
957-
7701 

abranch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R25-7.  Travel-Related Reimbursements for State 
Travelers 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Due to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) announcement 
to increase the mileage reimbursement rate for private 
vehicles from 56 cents per mile to 62 cents per mile, the 
Division of Finance (Division) has determined that the 
reimbursement rate for private vehicles should increase to 
62 cents per mile to align with the federal mileage rate.  
The mileage reimbursement rate for a private vehicle 
when a fleet vehicle is available also increased from 38 
cents to 44 cents. 
 
The meal per diem rates were increased due to inflation.  
The Division chose to use the Government Services 
Administration (GSA) base federal meal rates.  The rates 
for in-state and out-of-state, will now be reimbursed at the 
same amount.  Breakfast $13, lunch $15, and dinner $25, 
for a total of $54 a day.  Some hotel rates were increased 
to be consistent with surrounding hotels.  This was due to 
rising costs of hotels in some areas. 
 
The nonsubstantive changes to the rule text were to 
address inconsistencies with the Utah Rulewriting Manual, 

in compliance with the Governor's Executive Order (EO 
No. 2012-12). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
These rule changes increase the reimbursement rates for 
mileage, lodging, and food.  These changes were made to 
be consistent with the federal rates, and inflation.  The 
language changes to the rule text were made to be in 
compliance with the Governor's Executive Order (EO No. 
2012-12). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There will potentially be an increased cost to the state as 
reimbursements for meals, mileage, and hotels have 
increased.  However, the Division cannot determine 
exactly what the increase will be because it is impossible 
to anticipate how much travel state employees will do. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments that have to comply with this rule, may 
see an increase in reimbursement costs.  However, the 
Division cannot determine exactly what the increase will 
be.  It is impossible to anticipate how much travel local 
governments will do. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Because the change deals only with reimbursement rates 
for state employees, small businesses are not affected. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Because the change deals only with reimbursement rates 
for state employees, non-small businesses are not 
affected. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Individuals eligible for reimbursement will see a slight 
increase in their mileage reimbursements, and meal 
reimbursement amounts. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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Because the amendment only changes mileage, per diem, 
and hotel rates, and does not require any new action on 
the part of persons applying for reimbursements, there are 
not compliance costs. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
I have reviewed these changes with the Division of 
Finance Director and believe these changes are 
warranted.  Individuals may see a slight increase in 
reimbursement amounts.  However, the Division cannot 
determine exactly what the increase will be as that 
depends on the amount of travel by individuals eligible for 
reimbursement.  This rule will have no impact on 
businesses.  Jenney Rees, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 63A-3-107 Section 63A-3-106  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Janica Gines, 
Director 

Date: 06/02/2022 

 
R25.  Government Operations, Finance. 
R25-7.  Travel-Related Reimbursements for State Travelers. 
R25-7-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures to pay 
travel-related Reimbursements to Travelers of an Agency or a 
Political Subdivision that is subject to this rule. 
 
R25-7-2.  Authority and Exemptions. 
 This rule is established pursuant to: 
 (1)  Section 63A-3-107, which authorizes the Division of 
Finance to make rules governing in-state and out-of-state travel 
expenses; and 
 (2)  Section 63A-3-106, which authorizes the Division of 
Finance to make rules governing meeting [Per Diem]per diem and 
travel expenses for [Board]board members attending official 
meetings. 
 
R25-7-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Agency" means any [Department]department, 
division, [Board]board, bureau, office, or other administrative 
subunit of state government.  This definition includes the executive, 
legislative, and judicial branches. 
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 (2)  "Board" means a board, commission, council, 
committee, task force, or similar body established to perform a 
governmental function. 
 (3)  "Department" means all executive 
[Departments]departments of state government. 
 (4)  "Executive Director" means a [Department Executive 
Director, Department Commissioner, Chief of Staff or the equivalent 
of a Chief Executive Officer for a Political Subdivision.]department 
executive director, department commissioner, chief of staff, or 
equivalent of a chief executive officer for political subdivision. 
 (5)  "Fleet Vehicle" means a vehicle owned or leased by an 
[Agency or Political Subdivision]agency or political subdivision. 
This also includes vehicles rented for use as motor pool vehicles by 
an [Agency or Political Subdivision]agency or political subdivision. 
 (6)  "Home Base" means the location from which the 
[Traveler]traveler leaves to begin travel and the location to which the 
[Traveler]traveler returns to end travel. In determining the [Home 
Base of a Traveler, an Agency]home base of a traveler, an agency 
should consider at least the following non-exclusive factors: 
 (a)  If the [Traveler ]traveler is leaving on travel directly 
from home, or if there a valid business reason for the 
[Traveler]traveler to go to a designated work location before leaving 
for the travel destination, the [Home Base]home base should be the 
last location the [Traveler]traveler was in, home or designated work 
location, [prior to]before leaving on travel. 
 (b)  If the [Traveler]traveler is going directly home after the 
trip, or if there a valid business reason for the [Traveler ]to first go to 
a designated work location [prior to]before the [Traveler 
returning]traveler returns home, the ending [Home Base]home base 
for travel is the first location the employee goes to when returning 
from travel. 
 (7)  "Per Diem" means an allowance paid daily. 
 (8)  "Political Subdivision" means a county, city, town, 
school district, local district, special service district, or any entity, 
other than an [Agency]agency, subject to this rule by statute. 
 (9)  "Rate" means an amount of money. 
 (10)  "Reimbursement" means money paid to compensate 
a [Traveler]travel for money spent. 
 (11)  "Traveler" means any person who is traveling on 
business for an [Agency or Political Subdivision]agency or political 
subdivision. This definition includes employees, [Board]board 
members, elected officials, vendors, volunteers, and grant recipients 
or award beneficiaries. 
 
R25-7-4.  Eligible Expenses. 
 (1)  Reimbursements are intended to cover any travel-
related normal areas of expenses that are ordinary and reasonable [in 
the]under the circumstances. 
 (2)  Requests for [Reimbursement]reimbursement must be 
accompanied by original itemized receipts for any expenses except 
those for which flat allowance amounts are established. 
 (3)  When an original itemized receipt is not available, 
[Agency or Political Subdivision]agency or political subdivision 
management may use discretion in determining the appropriate 
amount of alternative documentation [prior to]before 
[Reimbursement]reimbursement of expenses. 
 (4)  Alcoholic Beverages are not reimbursable. 
 

R25-7-5.  Approvals. 
 (1)  For insurance purposes, state business travel, whether 
reimbursed or not, must have prior approval by an appropriate 
authority.  This also includes non-state employees where the [Agency 
or Political Subdivision]agency or political subdivision is paying for 
the travel expenses. 
 (2)  Out-of-state travel must be approved by the [Executive 
Director]executive director or designee.  The approval of in-state 
travel [Reimbursement]reimbursement forms may be considered as 
documentation of prior approval for in-state travel.  Prior approval 
for out-of-state travel should be documented on form FI5 - "Request 
for Out-of-State Travel Authorization", in the [State's ESS 
Travel]state's ESS travel system, or in another system with equivalent 
controls and calculations. 
 (3)  Exceptions to the prior approval for out-of-state travel 
must be justified in the comments section of form FI5 "Request for 
Out-of-State Travel Authorization", in the [State's ESS Travel]state's 
ESS travel system or in another system with equivalent controls and 
calculations, and must be approved by the [Executive 
Director]executive director or the designee. 
 (4)  The [Executive Director]executive director or designee 
must approve any travel to out-of-state functions where more than 
two [Travelers]travelers from the same [Department]department are 
attending the same function at the same time. 
 
R25-7-6.  Reimbursement for Meals. 
 (1)  Travelers who travel on business may be eligible for a 
meal [Reimbursement]reimbursement. 
 (2)  The [Reimbursement]reimbursement will include tax, 
tips, and other expenses associated with the meal. 
[ (3)  Allowances for in-state travel differ from those for out-
of-state travel.] 
 (a)  The daily travel meal allowance for in-state travel is 
[$45.00]$54 and is computed according to the [Rates]rates listed in 
[the following t]Table 1. 
 

[TABLE 1 
 

In-State Travel Meal Allowances 
 
Meals                        Rate 
Breakfast                   $11.00 
Lunch                       $14.00 
Dinner                      $20.00 
Total                       $45.00] 

TABLE 1 
In-State Travel Meal Allowances 

Meals Rate 
Breakfast $13.00 
Lunch $15.00 
Dinner $26.00 
Total $54.00 

 
 (b)  The daily travel meal allowance for out-of-state travel 
is [$50.00]$54 and is computed according to the r[R]ates listed in the 
following table. 

[TABLE 2 
 

Out-of-State Travel Meal Allowances 
 
Meals                        Rate 
Breakfast                   $13.00 
Lunch                       $14.00 
Dinner                      $23.00 
Total                       $50.00] 
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TABLE 2 
Out-of-State Travel Meal Allowances 

Meals Rates 
Breakfast $13.00 
Lunch $15.00 
Dinner $26.00 
Total $54.00 

 
 [(4)](3)  Tier I premium locations in this subsection are 
Anchorage, Alaska; Chicago, Illinois; each location in Hawaii; New 
York City, New York; San Francisco, California; and Seattle, 
Washington. Tier II premium locations in this subsection are Atlanta, 
Georgia; Baltimore, Maryland; Boston, Massachusetts; Dallas, 
Texas; Los Angeles, California; San Diego, California; and 
Washington, DC. 
 (a)  When traveling to a Tier I premium location, the 
[Traveler]traveler may choose to accept the [Per Diem Rate]per diem 
rate for out-of-state travel, as shown in Table 2[ above], or to be 
reimbursed at the actual meal cost, with original receipts, up to $71 
[per day]a day. 
 (b)  When traveling to a Tier II premium location, the 
[Traveler]traveler may choose to accept the [Per Diem Rate]per diem 
rate for out-of-state travel, as shown in Table 2[ above], or to be 
reimbursed at the actual meal cost, with original receipts, up to $61 
[per day]per day. 
 (c)  Subject to Subsections 6(a) and 6(b), the 
[Traveler]traveler will qualify for premium [Rates]rates on the day 
the travel begins and the day the travel ends only if the trip is of 
sufficient duration to qualify for meals on that day. 
 (d)  Complimentary meals with lodging accommodations 
and meals included in event registration costs are deducted from the 
premium location allowance as follows: 
 (i)  Tier I Location 
 (a)  If breakfast is provided deduct $18, leaving a premium 
allowance for lunch and dinner of actual up to $53. 
 (b)  If lunch is provided deduct $19, leaving a premium 
allowance for breakfast and dinner of actual up to $52. 
 (c)  If dinner is provided deduct $34, leaving a premium 
allowance for breakfast and lunch of actual up to $37. 
 (ii)  Tier II Location 
 (a)  If breakfast is provided deduct $16, leaving a premium 
allowance for lunch and dinner of actual up to $45. 
 (b)  If lunch is provided deduct $17, leaving a premium 
allowance for breakfast and dinner of actual up to $44. 
 (c)  If dinner is provided deduct $28, leaving a premium 
allowance for breakfast and lunch of actual up to $33. 
 (d)  The [Traveler]traveler must use the same method of 
[Reimbursement]reimbursement for an entire day. 
 (e)  Actual meal cost includes tips. 
 [(5)](4)  When traveling in foreign countries, the 
[Traveler]traveler may choose to accept the [Per Diem Rate]per diem 
rate for out-of-state travel, as shown in Table 2, or to be reimbursed 
the actual meal cost, with original receipts, not to exceed the federal 
[Reimbursement Rate]reimbursement rate for the location as of the 
date of travel. 
 (a)  The [Traveler]traveler may use both 
[Reimbursement]reimbursement methods during a trip; however, 
they must use the same method of [Reimbursement]reimbursement 
for an entire day. 

 (b)  Actual meal cost includes tips. 
 [(6)](5)  The meal [Reimbursement]reimbursement 
calculation [is comprised]consists of three parts: 
 (a)  The day the travel begins.  The [Traveler's]traveler's 
entitlement is determined by the time of day the [Traveler]traveler 
leaves their [Home Base]home base, as illustrated in [the following 
t]Table 3. 
 

[TABLE 3 
 

The Day Travel Begins 
 
   1st Quarter  2nd Quarter  3rd Quarter  4th Quarter 
   12:01 AM -   6:01 AM -    12:01 PM -    6:01 PM- 
   6:00 AM      12:00 PM     6:00 PM       12:00 AM 
   *B, L, D     *L, D        *D           *no meals 
In-State 
   $45.00       $34.00       $20.00       $0 
Out-of-State 
   $50.00       $37.00       $23.00       $0 

*B = Breakfast, L = Lunch, D = Dinner] 
TABLE 3 

The Day Travel Begins 

1st Quarter 2nd Quarter 3rd Quarter 4th Quarter 
12:01 AM - 6:01 AM - 12:01 PM - 6:01 PM - 
6:00 AM 12:00 PM 6:00 PM 12:00 AM 
*B,L,D *L,D *D *no meals 
In-State 
$54.00 $41.00 $26.00 $0 
Out-of-State 
$54.00 $41.00 $26.00 $0 
*B = Breakfast, L = Lunch, D = Dinner 

 
 (b)  The days at the location. 
 (i)  Complimentary meals and meals included in a 
registration cost are deducted from the total daily meal allowance.  
However, a continental breakfast will not reduce the meal allowance.  
Please Note: For breakfast, if a hot food item is offered, it is 
considered a complimentary meal, no matter how it is categorized by 
the facility.  The meal is considered a "continental breakfast" if no 
hot food items are offered. 
 (ii)  Meals provided on airlines will not reduce the meal 
allowance. 
 (c)  The day the travel ends.  The meal [Reimbursement the 
Traveler]reimbursement the traveler is entitled to is determined by 
the time of day the [Traveler]traveler returns to their [Home 
Base]home base, as illustrated in [the following t]Table 4. 
 

[TABLE 4 
 

The Day Travel Ends 
 
   1st Quarter  2nd Quarter  3rd Quarter  4th Quarter 
   12:01 AM -   6:01 AM -    12:01 PM -   6:01 PM- 
   6:00 AM      12:00 PM     6:00 PM      12:00 PM 
   *no meals    *B           *B, L        *B, L, D 
In-State 
   $0           $11.00       $25.00       $45.00 
Out-of-State 
   $0           $13.00       $27.00       $50.00 
*B = Breakfast, L = Lunch, D = Dinner] 
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Table 4 
The Day Travel Ends 

1st Quarter 2nd Quarter 3rd Quarter 4th Quarter 
12:01 AM - 6:01 AM -  12:01 PM -  6:01 PM - 
6:00 AM 12:00 PM 6:00 PM 12:00 PM 
*no meals *B *B, L *B, L, D 
In-State 
$0 $13.00 $28.00 $54.00 
Out-of-State 
$0 $13.00 $28.00 $54.00 
*B = 
Breakfast 

L = Lunch D = Dinner  

 
 [(7)](6)  A [Traveler]traveler may be authorized by the 
[Executive Director]executive director or designee to receive a 
taxable meal allowance on an officially approved trip when the 
[Traveler's]traveler's farthest destination is at least 100 miles one way 
from their [Home Base]home base and the [Traveler]traveler does not 
stay overnight. 
 (a)  Breakfast is paid when the [Traveler]traveler leaves 
their [Home Base]home base before 6[:00] a.m. 
 (b)  Lunch is paid when the [Traveler]traveler leaves their 
[Home Base]home base before 10[:00] a.m. and returns after 2[:00] 
p.m. 
 (c)  Dinner is paid when the [Traveler]traveler leaves their 
[Home Base]home base and returns at or after 6[:00] p.m. 
 (d)  The allowance is not considered an absolute right of 
the [Traveler]traveler and is authorized at the discretion of the 
[Executive Director]executive director or designee. 
 
R25-7-7.  Meals for Statutory Non-Salaried State Boards. 
 (1)  When a [Board]board meets and conducts business 
activities during mealtime, the cost of meals may be charged as public 
expense. 
 (2)  Where employees or other advisors or consultants 
must, of necessity, attend such a meeting [in order ]to permit the 
[Board]board to carry on its business, the meals of such employees, 
advisors, or consultants may also be paid.  In determining whether or 
not the presence of such employees, advisors, or consultants is 
necessary, the [Board]board is requested to restrict the attendance of 
such employees, advisors, or consultants to those absolutely 
necessary at such mealtime meetings. 
 
R25-7-8.  Reimbursement for Lodging. 
 A [Traveler]traveler who travels on business may be 
eligible for a lodging [Reimbursement]reimbursement. 
 (1)  For stays at a conference hotel, the [Traveler]traveler 
will be reimbursed the actual cost plus tax and any mandatory fees 
charged by the hotel for both in-state and out-of-state travel.  The 
[Traveler]traveler must include the conference registration brochure 
with the [Travel Reimbursement Request]travel reimbursement 
request, form FI 51A, FI 51B, on ESS [Travel]travel, or equivalent 
form or system. 
 (2)  For in-state lodging at a non-conference hotel, the 
[Traveler ]will be reimbursed the actual cost up to $75 per night for 
single occupancy plus tax and any mandatory fees charged by the 
hotel except as noted in [the t]Table [below]5. 
 

[TABLE 5 
 

Cities with Differing Rates 
 
Note: The Rates described below indicate the nightly single 
occupancy room Rate. Any applicable taxes and mandatory fees 
are in addition to the Rates below. 
City                                              Rate 
Blanding                                         $85.00 
Bluff                                           $100.00 
Brigham City                                     $80.00 
Bryce Canyon City                                $90.00 
Cedar City                                       $80.00 
Duchesne                                         $90.00 
Ephraim                                          $80.00 
Fillmore                                         $80.00 
Hanksville                                       $85.00 
Heber                                            $85.00 
Kanab                                            $90.00 
Layton                                           $90.00 
Logan                                            $90.00 
Mexican Hat                                      $90.00 
Moab/Green River                                $110.00 
Monticello                                       $80.00 
Ogden                                            $95.00 
Park City/Midway                                $110.00 
Provo/Orem/Lehi/American Fork/Springville        $85.00 
Roosevelt/Ballard                                $90.00 
Salt Lake City Metropolitan Area 
  (Draper to Farmington), Tooele                $100.00 
St. George/Washington/Springdale/Hurricane/ 
  La Verkin                                      $85.00 
Torrey                                           $95.00 
Tremonton                                        $90.00 
Tropic                                           $95.00 
Vernal                                           $95.00 
Other Utah Cities                                $75.00] 

Table 5 
Cities with Differing Rates 

Note:  The rates described below indicate the nightly single 
occupancy room rates.  Any applicable taxes and mandatory 
fees are in addition to the rates below. 
City Rate 
Ballard $100.00 
Beaver $95.00 
Blanding $90.00 
Bluff $100 
Brigham City $90.00 
Bryce Canyon City $90.00 
Cedar City $80.00 
Duchesne $100.00 
Ephraim $80.00 
Escalante $85.00 
Fillmore $85.00 
Green River $110.00 
Heber $85.00 
Kanab $95.00 
Layton $90.00 
La Verkin $85.00 
Logan $95.00 
Mexican Hat $90.00 
Moab $150.00 
Monticello $100.00 
Nephi $95.00 
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Ogden $95.00 
Park City/Midway $110.00 
Payson $85.00 
Price $95.00 
Provo/Orem/Lehi/American 
Fork/Springville 

$85.00 

Roosevelt $90.00 
Salt Lake City Metropolitan 
Area (Draper to Farmington), 
Tooele 

$100.00 

Springdale $85.00 
St. George $90.00 
Torrey $95.00 
Tremonton $90.00 
Vernal $95.00 
Washington/Hurricane $95.00 
Other Utah Cities $75.00 

 
 (3)  Travelers traveling less than 50 miles from their [Home 
Base]home base are not entitled to lodging 
[Reimbursement]reimbursement. Miles are calculated from the 
[Traveler's Home Base]traveler's home base.  An [Executive 
Director]executive director may use discretion to authorize 
[Reimbursement]reimbursement for lodging if the [Agency or 
Political Subdivision]agency or political subdivision determines 
lodging is reasonable and in the best interest of the state.  For 
example, if the [Traveler]traveler is required to work at the travel 
destination after normal working hours or early the next day, or when 
weather or other safety issues exist, lodging may be appropriate. 
 (4)  When an [Agency or Political Subdivision]agency or 
political subdivision pays for a person from out-of-state to travel to 
Utah, the in-state lodging [Per Diem Rates]per diem rates will apply. 
 (5)  For out-of-state travel stays at a non-conference hotel, 
the [Traveler]traveler will be reimbursed the actual cost per night plus 
tax and any mandatory fees charged by the hotel, not to exceed the 
federal lodging [Rate]rate for the location.  For [Agency 
Travelers]agency travelers, these reservations must be made through 
the [State Travel Office]state travel office. 
 (6)  For [Agency Travelers]agency travelers, the 
[State]state will reimburse the actual cost per night plus tax and any 
mandatory fees charged by the hotel for in-state or out-of-state travel 
stays when reservations are made through the [State Travel 
Office]state travel office. 
 If lodging is not available at the allowable [Per Diem 
Rate]per diem rate in the area the [Traveler]traveler needs to stay, the 
[State Travel Office]state travel office will book a hotel with the best 
available [Rate]rate.  In this circumstance, the [Traveler]traveler will 
be reimbursed at the actual [Rate]rate booked. 
 If a [Traveler]traveler chooses to stay at a hotel that costs 
more than the allowable [Per Diem Rate]per diem rate, the 
[Traveler]traveler will only be reimbursed for the allowable [Per 
Diem Rate]per diem rate plus tax and any mandatory fees charged by 
the hotel. 
 (7)  Lodging is reimbursed at the [Rates]rates listed in Table 
5 for single occupancy only.  For double [Traveler]traveler 
occupancy, add $20, for triple [Traveler]traveler occupancy, add $40, 
for quadruple [Traveler ]occupancy, add $60. 
 (8)  Exceptions will be allowed for unusual circumstances 
when approved in writing by the [Traveler's Executive 
Director]travelers executive director or designee [prior]before to the 
trip. 

 (a)  For out-of-state travel, the approval may be on the form 
FI 5, in the [State's ESS Travel]state's ESS travel system, or in 
another system with equivalent controls and calculations. 
 (b)  Attach the written approval to the [Travel 
Reimbursement Request]travel reimbursement request, form FI 51B, 
FI 51D, in ESS [Travel]travel, or in another equivalent form or 
system. 
 (9)  A proper receipt for lodging accommodations must 
accompany each request for [Reimbursement]reimbursement. 
 A proper receipt is a copy of the registration form generally 
used by a motel or hotel which includes the following information:  
name of motel/hotel, street address, town and state, telephone 
number, receipt date, names of occupants dates of occupancy, amount 
and date paid, number in the party, and single, double, triple, or 
quadruple occupancy. 
 (10)  When lodging is required, a [Traveler]traveler should 
stay at the lodging facility nearest to the ultimate destination point of 
travel where state lodging [Per Diem Rates]per diem rates are 
accepted [in order ]to minimize transportation costs. 
 (11)  A [Traveler]traveler may also elect to stay with friends 
or relatives or use their personal campers or trailer homes instead of 
staying in a hotel. With proof of staying overnight away from home 
on approved business, the [Traveler ]will be reimbursed the 
following: 
 (a)  $25 per night with no receipts required; or 
 (b)  Actual cost up to $40 per night with a signed receipt 
from a facility such as a campground or trailer park, not from a 
private residence. 
 (12)  A [Traveler]traveler on assignment away from the 
[Home Base]home base for longer than 90 days will be reimbursed 
as follows: 
 (a)  First 30 days - follow regular rules for lodging and 
meals.  Lodging receipt is required. 
 (b)  After 30 days - $46 [per]a day for lodging and meals.  
No receipt is required. 
 
R25-7-9.  Reimbursement for Incidentals. 
 Travelers who travel on business may be eligible for a 
[Reimbursement]reimbursement for incidental expenses. 
 (1)  A [Traveler]traveler will be reimbursed for actual out-
of-pocket costs for incidental items such as baggage tips, maid 
service, and bellman.  Gratuities or tips for various services such as 
assistance with baggage, maid service, and bellman, may be 
reimbursed up to a combined maximum of $5[.00 per] a day.  Include 
an original receipt for each individual incidental item above $19.99. 
 (2)  A [Traveler]traveler will be reimbursed for incidental 
ground transportation and parking expenses. 
 (a)  A [Traveler]traveler shall document all official business 
use of taxi, bus, parking, and other ground transportation including 
dates, destinations, parking locations, receipts, and amounts. 
 (b)  Personal use of such transportation to a restaurant is 
not reimbursable. 
 (c)  The maximum that airport parking will be reimbursed 
is the economy lot parking [Rate]rate at the airport the 
[Traveler]traveler is flying out of.  A receipt is required for amounts 
of $20 or more. 
 (d)  Gratuities and tips for ground transportation will be 
reimbursed up to the greater of $5 or 18% for each ride. Gratuities 
and tips must be shown on an original receipt. 
 (3)  For an [Agency]agency, a conference registration 
should be paid in advance by check or with a purchasing card. 
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 (a)  A copy of the approved FI 5 form must be included with 
the payment voucher or purchase card log for out-of-state 
registrations. 
 (b)  For an [Agency]agency, if a [Traveler]traveler must 
pay the registration upon arrival, and does not have a purchase card 
or personal credit card, the [Agency]agency is expected to process a 
payment document and have the [Traveler]traveler take the state 
warrant to the event. 
 (4)  A demonstrable expense for a business call will be 
reimbursed at the actual cost. 
 (a)  The [Traveler]traveler shall list the amount of these 
calls separately on the [Travel Reimbursement Request]travel 
reimbursement request, form FI 51A, FI 51B, or in ESS 
[Travel]travel or equivalent form or system. 
 (b)  The [Traveler]traveler must provide an original lodging 
receipt or original personal phone bill showing the phone number 
called and the dollar amount for business telephone calls and personal 
telephone calls. 
 (5)  An allowance for personal telephone calls made while 
out of town on business overnight may be based on the number of 
nights away from home.  The [Traveler]traveler must provide an 
original lodging receipt or original personal phone bill showing the 
phone number called and the dollar amount for personal telephone 
calls.  Reimbursement must be calculated as follows: 
 (a)  four nights or less, actual amount up to $2.50 per night; 
 (b)  five to eleven nights, actual amount up to $20[.00]; 
 (c)  twelve nights to [thirty]30 nights, actual amount up to 
$30[.00]; and, 
 (d)  more than [thirty]30 days, start over. 
 (6)  Laundry expenses up to $18[.00] per week will be 
allowed for trips in excess of six consecutive nights, beginning after 
the sixth night. For use of coin-operated laundry facilities, the 
[Traveler]traveler must provide a list of dates, locations, and 
amounts. 
 (7)  An amount of $5 [per]a day will be allowed for 
[Travelers]travelers away [in excess of]more than six consecutive 
nights beginning after the sixth night. 
 (a)  This amount covers miscellaneous incidentals not 
covered in this rule. 
 (b)  This allowance is not available for [Travelers]travelers 
going to conferences. 
 (8)  An [Agency or Political Subdivision]agency or 
political subdivision may provide for a [Traveler]traveler to return 
home over a weekend when the business portion of a trip extends 
longer than ten nights.  Reimbursements may be given for costs 
allowed by these policies. 
 
R25-7-10.  Reimbursement for Transportation. 
 A [Traveler]traveler who travels on business may be 
eligible for a transportation [Reimbursement]reimbursement. 
 (1)  Air transportation is limited to Air Coach or Excursion 
class.  Priority seating charges will not be reimbursed unless 
preapproved by the [Executive Director]executive director or 
designee. 
 (a)  For [Agency Travelers]agency travelers, all 
reservations should be made through the [State Travel Office]state 
travel office for the least expensive air fare available [at the 
time]when the reservations are made. 
 (b)  Only one change fee per trip will be reimbursed. 
 (c)  The explanation for the change and any other exception 
to this rule must be given and approved by the [Executive 
Director]executive director or designee. 

 (2)  A [Traveler]traveler may be reimbursed for mileage to 
and from the airport and [long-term]long term parking or [away-
from-the-]airport parking. 
 (a)  The maximum [Reimbursement]reimbursement for 
parking, whether a [Traveler]traveler parks at the airport or away 
from the airport, is the long term parking [Rate]rate at the airport they 
are flying out of. 
 (b)  The parking receipt must be included with the Travel 
Reimbursement Request, form FI 51A, FI 51B, in ESS Travel or 
equivalent form or system for amounts of $20 or more. 
 (c)  A [Traveler]traveler may be reimbursed, up to the 
maximum [Reimbursement Rate]reimbursement rate, for mileage to 
and from the airport to allow someone to drop them off and to pick 
them up. 
 (3)  A [Traveler]traveler may use a private vehicle with 
approval from the [Executive Director]executive director or 
designee. 
 (a)  Only one person in a vehicle may receive the 
[Reimbursement]reimbursement, regardless of the number of people 
in the vehicle. 
 (b)  Reimbursement for a private vehicle will be at the 
[Rate]rate of [38]44 cents per mile or [56]62 cents per mile if a [Fleet 
Vehicle]fleet vehicle is not available to the [Traveler]traveler. 
 (i)  To determine which [Rate]rate to use, the 
[Traveler]traveler must first determine if a [Fleet Vehicle]fleet 
vehicle is available that meets the [Traveler's]traveler's needs. This 
does not apply to special purpose vehicles.  If reasonably available, 
the [Traveler]traveler should use a [Fleet Vehicle]fleet vehicle.  If a 
[Fleet Vehicle]fleet vehicle is not reasonably available, the [Agency 
or Political Subdivision]agency or political subdivision may approve 
the [Traveler]traveler to use a private vehicle.  If a [Fleet Vehicle]fleet 
vehicle is not reasonably available, the [Traveler]traveler may be 
reimbursed at [56]62 cents per mile. 
 (ii)  If a trip is estimated to average 100 miles or more 
[per]a day, the [Agency or Political Subdivision]agency or political 
subdivision should approve the [Traveler]traveler to reserve a [Fleet 
Vehicle]fleet vehicle if one is reasonably available.  Doing so will 
cost less than if the [Traveler]traveler takes a private vehicle.  If the 
[Agency or Political Subdivision]agency or political subdivision 
approves the [Traveler]traveler to take a private vehicle, the 
[Traveler]traveler will be reimbursed at the lower [Rate]rate of 
[38]44 cents per mile not to exceed the expense calculated in the link 
located in Subsection (e). 
 (c)  A [Reimbursement Rate]reimbursement rate that is 
more restrictive than the [Rate]rate established in this [S]section may 
be established by the [Agency or Political Subdivision]agency or 
political subdivision. 
 (d)  Any exceptions to this mileage [Reimbursement 
Rate]rate guidance must be approved in writing by the [Traveler's 
Executive Director]traveler's executive director or designee. 
 (e)  A cost comparison worksheet is available at: 
http://fleet.utah.gov/motor-pool-a/demand-motor-pool/personal-
vehicle-vs-rental-vehicle/ 
 (f)  Mileage will be computed using Mapquest, 
GoogleMaps or other generally accepted route planning website, or 
from the latest official state road map and will be limited to the most 
economical, usually traveled routes. 
 (g)  If the [Traveler]travel uses a private vehicle on official 
business and is reimbursed for mileage, parking charges may be 
reimbursed as an incidental expense. 
 (h)  For an [Agency Traveler]agency traveler, an approved 
"Private Vehicle Usage Report", form FI 40, should be included with 
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the documentation reporting miles driven on business during the 
payroll period. 
 (i)  Mileage [Reimbursement]reimbursement may be 
allowed on an approved "Travel Reimbursement Request", form FI 
51A, FI 51B, or in ESS Travel, or equivalent form or system, if other 
costs associated with the trip are to be reimbursed at the same time. 
 (4)  A [Traveler]traveler may choose to drive instead of 
flying if preapproved by the [Executive Director]executive or 
designee. 
 (a)  If the [Traveler]traveler drives a [Fleet Vehicle]fleet 
vehicle, the [Traveler]traveler may be reimbursed for meals and 
lodging for a reasonable amount of travel time; however, the total 
cost of the trip must not exceed the equivalent cost of the airline trip. 
The [Traveler]traveler may also be reimbursed for incidental 
expenses such as toll fees and parking fees. 
 (b)  If the [Traveler]traveler drives a privately-owned 
vehicle, [Reimbursement]reimbursement will be at the [Rate]rate of 
[38]44 cents per mile or the airplane fare, whichever is less, unless 
otherwise approved by the [Executive Director]executive director or 
designee. 
 (i)  The lowest fare available within 30 days [prior 
to]before the departure date will be used when calculating the cost of 
travel for comparison to private vehicle cost. 
 (ii)  A comparison printout which is available through the 
[State Travel Office]state travel office is required when the 
[Traveler]traveler is taking a private vehicle. 
 (iii)  The [Traveler]traveler may be reimbursed for meals 
and lodging for a reasonable amount of travel time; however, the total 
cost of the trip must not exceed the equivalent cost of an airline trip. 
 (iv)  If the [Traveler]traveler uses a private vehicle on 
official business and is reimbursed for mileage, parking charges may 
be reimbursed as an incidental expense. 
 (c)  When submitting the [Reimbursement]reimbursement 
form, attach a schedule comparing the cost of driving with the cost 
of flying.  The schedule should show that the total cost of driving was 
less than or equal to the total cost of flying for the trip. 
 (d)  If the travel time taken for driving during the 
[Traveler's]traveler's normal work week is greater than that which 
would have occurred had the [Traveler]traveler flown, the excess 
time used must not count as time worked. 
 (5)  Use of non-fleet rental vehicles must be approved in 
writing in advance by the [Executive Director]executive director or 
designee. 
 (a)  An exception to advance approval of the use of rental 
vehicles shall be fully explained in writing with the request for 
[Reimbursement]reimbursement and approved by the [Executive 
Director]executive director or designee. 
 (b)  Detailed explanation is required if a rental vehicle is 
requested for a [Traveler]traveler staying at a conference hotel. 
 (c)  When making rental car arrangements through the 
[State Travel Office]state travel office, reserve the vehicle you need.  
Upgrades in size or model made when picking up the rental vehicle 
will not be reimbursed. 
 (i)  A [Traveler]traveler should rent vehicles to be used for 
business in their own names, using a contract available to the 
[Traveler's Agency or Political Subdivision]traveler's agency or 
political subdivision to ensure the [Agency's or Political 
Subdivision's]agency's or political subdivision's insurance coverage 
is extended in the rental. 
 (ii)  For [Agency Travelers]agency travelers, a rental 
vehicle reservation not made through the [State Travel Office]state 

travel office must be approved in advance by the [Executive 
Director]executive director or designee. 
 (iii)  The [Traveler]traveler will be reimbursed the actual 
[Rate]rate charged by the rental agency. 
 (iv)  The [Traveler]traveler must have approval for a rental 
car [in order ]to be reimbursed for rental car parking. 
 (6)  Travel by private airplane for official business must be 
approved in advance by the [Executive Director]executive director or 
designee. 
 (a)  The pilot must certify to the [Executive 
Director]executive director or designee that the pilot is certified to fly 
the plane being used for business. 
 (b)  If the plane is owned by the pilot, the pilot must certify 
the existence of at least $500,000 of liability insurance coverage. 
 (c)  If the plane is a rental, the pilot must provide written 
certification from the rental agency that the insurance covers the 
[Traveler and the Agency or Political Subdivision]traveler and the 
agency or political subdivision as insured.  The insurance must be 
adequate to cover any physical damage to the plane and at least 
$500,000 for liability coverage. 
 (d)  Reimbursement will be made at [56]62 cents per mile. 
 (e)  Mileage calculation is based on air mileage and is 
limited to the most economical, [usually-traveled]usually traveled 
route. 
[ (7)  Travel by private motorcycle must be approved prior to 
the trip by the Executive Director or designee.  Travel will be 
reimbursed at 20 cents per mile.] 
 [(8)](7)  For [Agency Travelers]agency travelers, a car 
allowance may be allowed in lieu of mileage 
[Reimbursement]reimbursement in certain cases.  Prior written 
approval from the [Executive Director]executive director, the 
Executive Director of the Department of Government Operations, 
and the Governor is required. 
 
KEY:  air travel, per diem allowances, state travelers, 
transportation 
Date of Last Change:  2022[February 23, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 8, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-3-107; 
63A-3-106 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R70-320 Filing ID 
54676 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Regulatory Services 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB, South Bldg 

Floor 2 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 
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Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Travis Waller  801-
982-
2250 

twaller@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R70-320.  Minimum Standards for Milk for Manufacturing 
Purposes, its Production and Processing 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The changes are needed to make this rule text more 
consistent with the requirements of the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does 
this filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and 
the reenacted rule): 
The changes are made to make this rule text more 
consistent with the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The rule changes clarify the rule or are nonsubstantive.  
There is no fiscal impact to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments do not participate in the Department 
of Agriculture and Food's (Department) dairy program 
and will not be impacted by this rule change. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The rule changes clarify the rule or are nonsubstantive.  
There is no fiscal impact to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The rule changes clarify the rule or are nonsubstantive.  
There is no fiscal impact to non-small businesses. 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The rule changes clarify the rule or are nonsubstantive.  
There is no fiscal impact to other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The compliance costs for affected persons will not 
change because the Department's administration of the 
milk program is not changing. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on 
businesses.  Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be 
included in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 13 11 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food Craig W. Buttars has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the 
rule, provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsections 
4-2-103(1)(g) 
through (j) 

Section 4-3-201  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments 
to the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for 
more information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee, 
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 06/10/2022 

 
R70.  Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services. 
R70-320.  Minimum Standards for Milk for Manufacturing 
Purposes, its Production and Processing. 
R70-320-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 [A.](1)  Promulgated [U]under [A]authority of Subsections 
4-2-[2]103(1)[(j)](g) through (j) and Section 4-3-201. 
[ B.  Scope:  It is the intent of these rules to encourage the 
sanitary production of milk, to promote the sanitary processing of 
milk for manufacturing purposes.] 
 (2)  This rule establishes: 
 (a)  minimum standards for milk for manufacturing 
purposes, its production, transportation, grading, use, processing, and 
the packaging, labeling and storage of dairy products made 
therefrom; 
 (b)  inspections of dairy farms and dairy plants, to certify 
dairy farms for the production and sale of milk for manufacturing 
purposes and to license dairy plants to handle and process milk for 
manufacturing purposes, in conformity with minimum standards and 

specifications prescribed by this rule; 
 (c)  requirements for licensed plants to keep appropriate 
books and records; and 
 (d)  the licensing process for qualified milk graders and 
bulk milk collectors. 
 
[R70-320-2.  General. 
 A.  The Commissioner of Agriculture and Food shall 
administer the provisions of these rules which are: 
 1.  To establish and promulgate minimum standards for 
milk for manufacturing purposes, its production, transportation, 
grading, use, processing, and the packaging, labeling and storage of 
dairy products made therefrom. 
 2.  To inspect dairy farms and dairy plants, to certify dairy 
farms for the production and sale of milk for manufacturing purposes 
and to license dairy plants to handle and process milk for 
manufacturing purposes, in conformity with minimum standards and 
specifications prescribed by such rules as may be issued hereunder in 
effectuation of the intent hereof. 
 3.  To require the keeping of appropriate books and records 
by plants licensed hereunder. 
 4.  To license qualified milk graders and bulk milk 
collectors. 
 B.  The Utah Commissioner of Agriculture and Food may 
for good cause, after notice and opportunity for hearing, suspend or 
revoke certification and licenses issued hereunder. 
 C.  No person, firm, or corporation shall produce, sell, offer 
for sale, or process milk for the manufacture of human food except 
in accordance with the provisions of these rules issued pursuant 
hereunto. 
 D.  Violation of any portion of these rules may result in civil 
or criminal action, pursuant to Section 4-2-2. 
 E.  All manufacturing dairy plants shall furnish the 
Department with a current list of their producers semi-annually.  
These lists shall be received no later than January 15th and July 15th 
of the current year.] 
 
R70-320-[3]2.  Definitions. 
[ A.  Definitions.  Words used in the singular form shall be 
deemed to import the plural, and vice versa, as the case may demand. 
 1.  Regulatory agency.  The Utah Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Food or his authorized representative is authorized 
by law to administer this rule. 
 2.  Department.  The Utah Department of Agriculture and 
Food. 
 3.  License.  A license issued under this Regulation by the 
Department. 
 4.  Fieldman.  A person qualified and trained in the sanitary 
methods of production and handling of milk as set forth herein, and 
generally employed by a processing or manufacturing plant for the 
purpose of dairy farm inspections and quality control work. 
 5.  Compliance Officer.  An employee of the Department 
qualified, trained, and authorized to perform dairy farm or plant 
inspections, and raw milk grading. 
 6.  Milk Grader.  A person licensed by the Utah Department 
of Agriculture and Food who is qualified and trained for the grading 
of raw milk. 
 7.  Producer.  The person or persons who exercise control 
over the production of the milk delivered to a processing plant or 
receiving station and those who receive payment for this product.  A 
"new producer" is one who has only recently entered into the 
production of milk for the market.  A "transfer producer" is one who 
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has been shipping milk to one plant and transfers his shipment to 
another plant. 
 8.  Milk hauler.  Any person who transports raw milk and/or 
raw milk products from a dairy farm, milk plant, receiving or transfer 
station. 
 9.  Farm Tank.  A tank used to cool and/or store milk prior 
to transportation to the processing plant. 
 10.  Transportation Tank and Bulk Tank.  Tanks used to 
transport milk from a farm to a processing plant. 
 11.  Dairy Farm or Farm.  A place or premise where one or 
more milking cows are kept, a part or all of the milk produced thereon 
being delivered, sold, or offered for sale to a plant for manufacturing 
purposes. 
 12.  Dairy Plant or Plant.  Any place, premise, or 
establishment where milk or dairy products are received or handled 
for processing or manufacturing and/or prepared for distribution.  
When "plant" is used in connection with minimum specifications for 
plants or licensing of plants, it means only those plants that 
manufacture, process and/or distribute dairy products. 
 13.  Milk.  The normal lacteal secretion, practically free 
from colostrum, obtained by the complete milking of one or more 
healthy cows.  The word "milk" used herein includes only milk for 
manufacturing purposes. 
 14.  Milk for manufacturing purposes.  Milk produced for 
processing and manufacturing into products for human consumption 
that meets the requirements of this rule. 
 15.  Acceptable Milk.  Milk that is produced under the 
requirements as outlined in this rule. 
 16.  Probational Milk.  Milk that may not be produced 
under the requirements as outlined in this rule and that may be 
accepted by plants for specific time periods. 
 17.  Reject Milk.  Milk that does not meet the requirements 
of this rule. 
 18.  Suspended Milk.  All of a producer's milk suspended 
from the market by the provisions of this rule. 
 19.  Dairy Products.  Butter, cheese (natural or processed), 
dry whole milk, nonfat dry milk, dry buttermilk, dry whey, 
evaporated (plain or sweetened), and such other products, for human 
consumption, as may be otherwise designated. 
 20.  Farm Certification.  Certification by a compliance 
officer that a producer's herd, milking facility and housing, milk 
procedure, cooling, milkhouse or milk room, utensils and equipment 
and water supply have been found to meet the applicable 
requirements of this rule. 
 21.  Official Methods.  Official Methods of Analysis of the 
Association of Official Analytical Chemists. 
 22.  Standard Methods.  Standard Methods for the 
Examination of Dairy Products. 
 23.  3-A Sanitary Standards.  The standards for dairy 
equipment formulated by the 3-A Sanitary Standards Committees 
representing the International Association of Milk and Food 
Sanitarians, the United States Public Health Service, and the Dairy 
Industry Committee. 
 24.  C-I-P or Cleaned-in-Place.  The procedure by which 
sanitary pipelines or pieces of dairy equipment are mechanically 
cleaned in place by circulation. 
 25.  Permit.  A document issued by the Department in order 
to sell milk and milk products.] 
 (1)  "3-A sanitary standards and accepted practice" means 
the same as that term is defined in 7 CFR 58.101. 
 (2)  "Acceptable milk" means milk that is produced under 
the requirements of this rule. 

 (3)  "C-I-P" and "cleaned-in-place" mean the procedure by 
which sanitary pipelines or pieces of dairy equipment are 
mechanically cleaned-in-place by circulation. 
 (4)  "Compliance Officer" means an employee of the 
department qualified, trained, and authorized to perform dairy farm 
or plant inspections, and raw milk grading. 
 (5)  "Dairy farm" or "farm" mean a place or premise where 
one or more milking cows are kept, with any milk produced being 
delivered, sold, or offered for sale to a plant for manufacturing 
purposes. 
 (6)  "Dairy plant" or "plant" mean any place, premise, or 
establishment where milk or dairy products are received or handled 
for processing or manufacturing, prepared for distribution, or both.  
When "plant" is used in connection with minimum specifications for 
plants or licensing of plants, it means only those plants that 
manufacture, process, or distribute dairy products. 
 (7)  "Dairy products" means milk products for human 
consumption including butter, natural or processed cheese, dry whole 
milk, nonfat dry milk, dry buttermilk, dry whey, and plain or 
sweetened evaporated milk. 
 (8)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (9)  "Farm certification" means certification by a 
compliance officer that a producer's herd, milking facility and 
housing, milk procedure, cooling, milkhouse or milk room, utensils 
and equipment, and water supply have been found to meet the 
applicable requirements of this rule. 
 (10)  "Farm tank" means a  tank used to cool milk, store 
milk, or both before transportation to the processing plant. 
 (11)  "Fieldman" means a person qualified and trained in 
the sanitary methods of production and handling of milk as described 
in this rule, and generally employed by a processing or manufacturing 
plant to perform dairy farm inspections and quality control work. 
 (12)  "License" means a license issued under this rule by 
the department. 
 (13)  "Milk" and "milk for manufacturing purposes" mean 
the normal lacteal secretion, practically free from colostrum, 
obtained by the complete milking of one or more healthy cows and 
used for processing and manufacturing into products for human 
consumption. 
 (14)  "Milk grader" means a person licensed by the 
department who is qualified and trained for the grading of raw milk. 
 (15)  "Milk hauler" means any person who transports raw 
milk, raw milk products, or both from a dairy farm, milk plant, 
receiving station, or transfer station. 
 (16)  "New producer" means a producer who has only 
recently entered into the production of milk for the market. 
 (17)  "Official Methods of Analysis of the Association of 
Official Analytical Chemists" means the same as that term is defined 
in 7 CFR 58.101. 
 (18)  "Permit" means a document issued by the department 
to sell milk and milk products. 
 (19)  "Probational milk" means milk that may not be 
produced under the requirements of this rule and that may be 
accepted by plants for specific time periods. 
 (20)  "Producer" means a person who exercises control over 
the production of the milk delivered to a processing plant or receiving 
station and those who receive payment for this product. 
 (21)  "Raw milk" means milk that has not been pasteurized, 
or heat treated. 
 (22)  "Reject milk" means milk that: 
 (a)  fails to meet the requirements for sight and odor; 
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 (b)  is classified No. 4 for sediment content; or 
 (c)  is classified as abnormal milk. 
 (23)  "Standard Methods for the Examination of Dairy 
Products"  or "standard methods" means the same as that term is 
defined in 7 CFR 58.101. 
 (24)  "Suspended milk" means any of a producer's milk 
suspended from the market by this rule. 
 (25)  "Transfer producer" means a producer who has been 
shipping milk to one plant and transfers their shipment to another 
plant. 
 (26)  "Transportation tank" and "bulk tank" mean tanks 
used to transport milk from a farm to a processing plant. 
 
R70-320-[4]3.  Milk Permits. 
 [By October 15, 1990, farms producing and selling](1)  
Each farm that produces and sells milk for manufacturing purposes 
shall apply for a permit. 
 [1.](2)  Permits shall be required for the sale of milk for 
manufacturing purposes. 
 [2.](3)  Only one permit shall be issued per facility. 
 [3.](4)  Farm permits shall be effective from the date of 
issuance unless suspended or revoked by the [D]department. 
 
R70-320-[5]4.  Farm Inspection. 
 [A.](1)  Each dairy farm operated by a producer of milk for 
manufacturing purposes shall be inspected initially and on any 
change of market by a compliance officer and shall have a passing 
score before the first milk is shipped. 
 (2)  [All]Any dairy farms producing milk for 
manufacturing purposes shall be inspected no less than once in each 
six- month period by a compliance officer. 
 [B.](3)  Producers who cannot produce milk of wholesome 
sanitary quality [will]shall [be]have their producer permit suspended. 
 (4)  Producers who are not in substantial compliance with 
Section R70-320-1[2]1 relating to requirements for a farm producing 
milk for manufacturing [will]shall be re-inspected after an 
appropriate time for correction of deficiencies. 
 (a)  If the farm does not then meet the requirements for 
farms producing milk for manufacturing, the producer permit to sell 
milk for manufacturing from that farm shall be suspended until 
[such]a time as the farm receives an acceptable score. 
 (b)  The producer [will]shall be charged for the time and 
mileage [expended]used by the department for any subsequent visits 
required. 
 
R70-320-[6]5.  Minimum Quality Standards for Milk for 
Manufacturing Purposes. 
 [A.](1)  Basis.  The classification of [raw ]milk for 
manufacturing purposes shall be based on: 
 (a)  sight;[ and ] 
 (b)  odor; and 
 (c)  quality control tests for sediment content, bacterial 
estimate, and somatic cell. 
 [B.](2)  Sight and odor. 
 (a)  The odor of acceptable [raw ]milk shall be fresh and 
sweet. 
 (b)  The milk shall be free from objectionable off-odors that 
would adversely affect the finished product, and it shall not show any 
abnormal condition [such as]including curdled, ropy, bloody, or 
mastitis condition as determined by an approved milk grader. 
 [C.](3)  Sediment content classification.  Milk in farm bulk 
tanks shall be classified for sediment content as follows: 

 
[TABLE 

SEDIMENT CONTENT 
 
Sediment Content          Milk in farm bulk tanks 
Classification            Mixed sample, 0.40 in. 
                          diameter disc or equivalent 
 
No. 1  (acceptable)       Not to exceed 0.50 mg. equivalent 
No. 2  (acceptable)       Not to exceed 1.50 mg. equivalent 
No. 3  (probational)      Not to exceed 2.50 mg. equivalent 
No. 4  (reject)           Over 2.50 mg. equivalent 
 
Sediment content based on comparison with applicable 
charts of Sediment Standards prepared by the United States 
Department of Agriculture.] 

TABLE 1 
Sediment Content 

Sediment Content 
Classification 

Milk in farm bulk tanks 
Mixed sample, 0.40 in. 
diameter disc or equivalent 

No. 1-acceptable Not to exceed 0.50 mg equivalent 

No. 2-acceptable Not to exceed 1.50 mg equivalent 

No. 3-Probational Not to exceed 2.50 mg equivalent 

No. 4-Reject Over 2.5 mg equivalent 

Sediment content based on comparison with applicable charts 
of Sediment Standards prepared by the United States 
Department of Agriculture (USDA) 

 
 [1.](a)  Method of Testing.  Methods for determining 
sediment content of milk shall be those described in the current 
[edition of S]standard [M]methods[ for the examination of dairy 
products]. 
 [2.](b)  Frequency of tests.  At least once each month a 
sample shall be taken from each farm bulk tank and at irregular 
intervals. 
 [3.](c)  Acceptance or rejection of milk. 
 (i)  If the sediment disc is classified as No. 1, No. 2, or No. 
3, the producer's milk may be accepted. 
 (ii)  If the sediment disc is classified as No. 4, the milk shall 
be rejected. 
 (iii)  If the shipment of milk is co-mingled with other milk 
in a transport tank, the next shipment shall not be accepted until its 
quality has been determined at the farm before being picked up; 
however, if the person making the test [is unable to]cannot get to the 
farm before the next shipment, it may be accepted but no further 
shipments shall be accepted unless the milk meets the requirements 
of No. 3 or better. 
 (iv)  [In the case of]For milk classified as No. 3 or No. 4, 
the producer shall be notified immediately and the next shipment 
shall be tested. 
 [4.](d)  Retests. 
 (i)  On tests of the next shipment, milk classified as No. 1, 
No. 2, or No. 3 shall be accepted, but No. 4 milk shall be rejected. 
 (ii)  Retests of bulk milk classified as No. 4 shall be made 
at the farm before pickup. 
 (iii)  The producers of No. 3 or No. 4 milk shall be notified 
immediately and the next shipment tested. 
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 (iv)  This procedure of retesting successive and accepting 
[probational (]No. 3[)] milk and rejecting No. 4 milk may be 
continued for a period, not to exceed ten calendar days.  If at the end 
of this [time]period, the producer's milk does not meet the acceptable 
sediment content classification [(]of No. 1 or No. 2[)] it shall be 
suspended from the market. 
 [D.](4)  Bacterial estimated classification.  Milk shall be 
classified for bacterial estimate by one of the listed tests of the 
[current standard methods]Standard Methods for the Examination of 
Dairy Products. 
 

[TABLE 
 
Bacterial estimate   Direct microscopic clump 
classification       count, standard plate 
                     count or loop method 
 
Acceptable           Not over 500,000 per ml. 
 
Undergrade           Over 500,000 per ml 
(probation 4 weeks)] 

TABLE 2 
Bacterial estimtate Direct 
microscopic clump 
classification count, standard 
plate count, or loop method  

Not over 500,000 per ml. 

Acceptable Over 500,000 per ml.  
Unacceptable  
(probation 4 weeks)   

 
 [1.](a)  Method of testing.  Methods for determining the 
bacterial estimate of milk shall be [those described in the current 
edition of Standard Methods and the current edition of the Official 
Methods of the Analysis of the Association of Official Analytical 
Chemists]those described in the "Standard Methods for the 
Examination of Dairy Products," "Official Methods of Analysis of 
the Association of Official Analytical Chemists," or other methods 
approved by the [D]department. 
 [2.](b)  Frequency of tests.  Tests shall be done [A]at least 
once a month at irregular intervals, a mixed sample of each producer's 
milk shall be tested. 
 [3.](c)  Acceptance of milk. 
 (i)  If the sample of milk is classified as No. 1, the 
producer's milk may be accepted without qualification. 
 (ii)  If the sample is classified as undergrade[, probational], 
the producer's milk may be accepted for a temporary period of four 
weeks.  The producer of undergrade milk shall be notified 
immediately. 
 [4.](d)  Retests. 
 (i)  Additional samples shall be tested and classified at least 
weekly, and the producer shall be notified immediately of the results. 
 (ii)  This procedure of testing at least weekly and accepting 
undergrade milk may be continued for a period not exceeding four 
weeks. 
 (iii)  If at the end of this [time]period, the producer's milk 
does not meet the acceptable bacterial estimate requirements [(]of 
No. 1 or No. 2[)] it shall be suspended from market. 
 [E.](5)  Abnormal Milk. 
 (a)  The Wisconsin Mastitis Test (WMT) may be used as a 
screening test. 
 (b)  A test of 18 mm or higher [shall be considered to 
indicate]is considered abnormal milk and shall [require]need 
confirmation by the Direct Microscopic Somatic Cell Count Method 
(DMSCC) or an equivalent method according to the [current edition 

of standard methods]Standard Methods for the Examination of Dairy 
Products. 
 (i)  Somatic Cell Count:  Samples exceeding 18 mm WMT 
[to]shall be confirmed by DMSCC or other acceptable tests.  
[Not]Count shall not [to ]exceed 750,000 per ml. 
 [1.](c)  Frequency of tests.  At least four times in each six-
[ ]month period, at irregular intervals, a sample of each producer's 
milk shall be tested. 
 [2.](d)  Notification to the department, written notice to the 
producer, and a farm inspection are required when[ever] two of the 
last four somatic cell counts exceed the standard. 
 [3.](e)  Within 21 days after the farm inspection, another 
sample shall be tested for somatic cell count.  If the result exceeds 
the allowable limit for somatic cell count, the producer's permit shall 
be suspended until corrections are made and the somatic cell count is 
reduced to 750,000 or less. 
 [F.](6)  Drug Residue Level. 
 [1.](a)  [All]Each licensed dairy plant[s] shall not accept 
for processing any milk testing positive for drug residue. 
 (i)  [All]Any milk received at a licensed [diary]dairy plant 
shall be sampled and tested, [prior to]before processing, for beta 
lactam drug residue. 
 (ii)  When directed by the [regulatory agency]department, 
additional testing for other drug residues shall be performed. 
 (iii)  Samples shall be analyzed for beta lactams and other 
drug residues by methods evaluated by the Association of Official 
Analytical Chemists [(AOAC) ]and accepted by the Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) as effective in determining compliance with 
"safe levels" or established tolerances. 
 (iv)  "Safe levels" and tolerances for particular drugs are 
established by the FDA and can be obtained from the U.S. Food and 
Drug Administration Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition. 
 [2.](b)  Individual producer milk samples for beta lactam 
drug residue testing shall be obtained from each milk shipment, and 
shall be representative of [all]any milk received from the producer. 
 [3.](c)  A load sample shall be taken from the bulk milk 
shipment after its arrival at the plant and [prior to]before further 
commingling.  A sample shall be obtained at the plant using a 
procedure that includes [all]any milk produced and received. 
 [4.](d)  Follow-up to positive-testing. 
 (i)  When a load sample tests positive for drug residue, 
industry personnel shall notify the [appropriate state regulatory 
agency immediately, according to state policy,]department of the 
positive test result and of the intended disposition of the shipment of 
milk containing the drug residue. 
 (ii)  [All]Any milk testing positive for drug residue shall be 
disposed of in a manner that removes it from the human or animal 
food chain, except when acceptably reconditioned under FDA 
compliance policy guidelines. 
 [5.](e)  Identification of producer. 
 (i)  Each individual producer sample represented in the 
positive-testing load sample shall be singly tested as directed by the 
[state regulatory agency]department to determine the producer of the 
milk sample testing positive for drug residue. 
 (ii)  Identification of the producer responsible for 
producing the milk testing positive for drug residue, and details of 
the final disposition of the shipment of milk containing the drug 
residue, shall be reported immediately to the [state regulatory 
agency]department. 
 [6.](f)  Milk shipment from the producer identified as the 
source of milk testing positive for drug residue shall [cease]stop 
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immediately and may resume only after a sample from a subsequent 
milking does not test positive for drug residue. 
 [7.](g)  Enforcement.  A penalty sanctioned by the 
department shall be imposed on the producer for each occurrence of 
shipping milk testing positive for drug residue. 
 [8.](h)  The producer shall review the "Milk and Dairy Beef 
Quality Assurance Program" with a licensed veterinarian within 30 
days after each occurrence of shipping milk testing positive for drug 
residue.  A signed copy of a certificate confirming that the "Milk and 
Dairy Quality Assurance Program" has been reviewed shall be signed 
by the responsible producer and a licensed veterinarian and 
forwarded to the department. 
 [9.](i)  If a producer ships milk testing positive for drug 
residue three times within a 12-month period, the department shall 
initiate administrative procedures to suspend the producer's milk 
shipping privileges[ according to state policy]. 
 [10.](j)  Record of tests. 
 (i)  Accurate records listing the results of drug residue tests 
for each load and individual producer shall be kept on file at the plant. 
 (ii)  Drug residue test results are to be [retained]kept for 12-
[ ]months. 
 (iii)  Notifications to the department of positive drug 
residue tests and intended and final dispositions of milk testing 
positive for drug residue are to be [retained]kept for 12 months. 
 [G.](7)  Pesticides. 
 (a)  Composite milk samples shall be sampled and tested 
for pesticides at a frequency [which]that the department determines 
is adequate to protect the consumer. 
 (b)  The test results from the samples shall not exceed 
established FDA limits. 
 (c)  If a pesticide test is positive, an investigation shall be 
made to determine the cause and the cause shall be corrected. 
 (d)  Milk and milk products containing residues in excess 
of actionable levels shall not be offered for sale. 
 
R70-320-[7]6.  Animal Health. 
 [A.](1)  Health of Herd. 
 [1.](a)  General Health.  [All]Each animal[s] in the herd 
shall be maintained in a healthy condition, and shall be properly fed 
and kept. 
 [2.](b)  Tuberculin Test. 
 (i)  The herd shall be located in an area within the [State 
which]state that meets the requirements of a modified accredited 
area. 
 (ii)  If the herd is not located in [such an]a modified 
accredited area, it shall be tested annually under the jurisdiction of 
[the aforesaid program]this rule. 
 (iii)  [All]Each addition[s] to the herd shall be from an area 
or from herds meeting these [same ]requirements. 
 [3.](c)  Brucellosis Test. 
 (i)  The herd shall be located in an area within the [State 
which]state that meets the requirements of a modified accredited 
area. 
 (ii)  If the area in which the herd is located does not meet 
these requirements, the herd shall be blood-tested annually or milk 
ring tested semi-annually. 
 (iii)  [All]Each addition[s] to the herd shall be from an area 
or from herds meeting the requirements of Plan A for the eradication 
of brucellosis in accordance with the [above Uniform Methods and 
Rules]U.S. Department of Agriculture Brucellosis Eradication: 
Uniform Methods and Rules. 

 [4.](d)  Mastitis and Drug Residues.  Milk from cows 
known to be infected with mastitis or milk containing residues of 
drugs used in treating mastitis or any other infection shall not be sold 
or offered for sale for human food. 
 
R70-320-[8]7.  Rejected Milk. 
 [A.](1)  A plant shall [reject specific]not accept reject milk 
from a producer.[ if it fails to meet the requirements for sight and 
odor, as required by Subsection R70-320-6(B) or if it is classified No. 
4 for sediment content, as required by Subsection R70-320-6(C) or if 
it fails to meet the provisions of Subsection R70-320-6(E), relating 
to abnormal milk.] 
 [B.](2)  Reject milk shall be identified with a reject tag, and 
harmless food coloring may be added. 
 [C.](3)  [Field Service.  ]A fieldman shall visit each 
producer of probational status or reject milk within seven days from 
the date of the second consecutive substandard test to inspect 
equipment, utensils and methods of handling the milk and to make 
suggestions and recommendations for improving milk quality. 
 
R70-320-[9]8.  Suspended Milk for Manufacturing. 
 [A.](1)  The department may suspend the permit of a 
producer if[ one of the following occurs]: 
 [1.](a)  [A]a new producer's milk does not meet the 
requirements for acceptable milk[, as required by Subsections R70-
320-6(C) and R70-320-6(D).]; 
 [2.](b)  [T]the milk has been in [a probational (]No. 3[)] 
sediment content classification for more than ten calendar days[, as 
required by Subsection R70-320-6(C).]; 
 [3.](c)  [T]the milk has been classified "undergrade" for 
bacterial estimate for more than four successive weeks[, as required 
by Subsection R70-320-6(D).]; 
 [4.](d)  [If ]three out of the last five samples tested for 
somatic cells exceed the allowable limit[, as required by Subsection 
R70-320-6(E).]; 
 [5.](e)  [A]a growth inhibitor or pesticide residue exceeds 
actionable level[, as required by Subsection R70-320-6(F).]; or 
 [6.](f)  [If]if the producer refuses to permit farm inspection. 
 [B.](2)  When a plant discontinues receiving milk from a 
producer for any of the reasons listed in this section, it shall notify 
the [D]department immediately and confirm[ such act], in writing, 
that the plant has discontinued receiving milk from a producer for 
any of the reasons listed in this section. 
 [C.](3)  Milk from a producer whose milk has been 
excluded from the market may be re-accepted by a plant when the 
cause for exclusions has been corrected and the milk classified as 
acceptable. 
 
R70-320-[10]9.  Testing of Milk. 
 [A.](1)  Testing. 
 (a)  An examination shall be made on the first shipment of 
milk from producers shipping milk to a plant for the first time or after 
a period of non-shipment. 
 (b)  The milk shall meet the requirements for acceptable 
milk. 
 (c)  Thereafter milk shall be tested in accordance with the 
rule. 
 [B.](2)  Transfer producers. 
 [1.](a)  When a producer discontinues milk delivery to one 
plant and begins delivery to a different plant, the dairy farm shall be 
inspected by the [D]department and shall have a passing score before 
milk is shipped. 
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 [2.](b)  Quality control records may be obtained from the 
previous buyer for the previous six-[ ]month period.  The new buyer 
shall examine and classify each transfer producer's first shipment of 
milk and shall subsequently examine shipment in accordance with 
this rule. 
 
R70-320-[11]10.  Record of Tests. 
 Accurate records listing the results of quality tests of each 
producer shall be kept on file at the receiving plant for not less than 
[twelve]12 months and shall be available for examination by the 
[D]department. 
 
R70-320-[12]11.  Farms Producing Milk for Manufacturing. 
 [A.](1)  Milking Facility and Housing. 
 [1.](a)  A milking barn or milking parlor of adequate size 
and arrangement shall be provided to permit normal sanitary milking 
operations. 
 (i)  [It]The milking barn or milking parlor shall be well 
lighted and ventilated, and the floors and gutters in the milking area 
shall be constructed of concrete or other impervious material. 
 (ii)  The [facility]milking barn or milking parlor shall be 
kept clean, the manure removed daily, and no swine, fowl, or other 
animals shall be permitted in any part of the milking area. 
 (iii)  Concentrates and feed, if stored in the building, shall 
be kept in a tightly covered box or bin. 
 [2.](b)  Animal biologics and other drugs intended for 
treatment of animals, and insecticides approved for use in dairy 
operations, shall be clearly labeled and used in accordance with label 
instructions, and shall be stored in a manner [which]that will prevent 
accidental contact with milk and milk contact surfaces. 
 (i)  Only drugs that are approved by the FDA or biologics 
approved by the USDA for use in dairy animals that are properly 
labeled according to FDA or USDA regulations shall be 
administered. 
 (ii)  When drug storage is located in the milkroom, 
milkhouse, or milking area, the drugs shall be stored in a closed, 
tight-fitting storage unit. 
 (iii)  Drugs shall be segregated in [such ]a way so that drugs 
labeled for use in lactating dairy animals are separated from drugs 
labeled for use in non-lactating dairy animals. 
 [3.](c)  The yard or loafing area shall be of ample size to 
prevent overcrowding, shall be drained to prevent forming of water 
pools, and shall be kept clean. 
 [B.](2)  Milking Procedure. 
 [1.](a)  The udders and flanks of [all]each milking cow[s] 
shall be kept clean. 
 (i)  The udders and teats shall be washed, sanitized, and 
wiped dry with a clean damp cloth, paper towel, or any other sanitary 
method. 
 (ii)  The milker's clothing shall be clean and [his]the 
milker's hands shall be clean and dry. 
 (iii)  No person with an infected cut or open sore on the 
person's hands or arms shall milk cows, or handle milk or milk 
containers, utensils or equipment. 
 [2.](b)  Milk stools and surcingles shall be kept clean and 
properly stored.  Dusty operations shall not be conducted 
immediately before or during milking. 
 [3.](c)  Milk must be protected against contamination while 
straining. 
 [C.](3)  Cooling.[ 

 1.]  Milk shall be cooled to 45 degrees Fahrenheit (F) or 
lower within two hours after each milking and maintained at 45 
degrees F or lower until transferred to the transport tank. 
 [D.](4)  Milkhouse or [M]milkroom. 
 [1.](a)  A milkhouse or milkroom conveniently located and 
properly constructed, lighted, and ventilated shall be provided for 
handling and storing the utensils and equipment. 
 (i)  [It]The milkhouse or milkroom shall not be used for any 
other purpose, and shall be equipped with hot water, two 
compartment wash vat, utensil rack and cooling facilities for the 
milk. 
 (ii)  [It]The milkhouse or milkroom shall be partitioned, 
sealed, and screened to prevent the entrance of dust, flies, or other 
contamination. 
 (iii)  The floor of the [building]milkhouse or milkroom 
shall be of concrete or other impervious material and graded to a 
drain. 
 (iv)  The walls and ceilings of the milkhouse or milkroom 
shall be constructed of smooth easily cleaned material. 
 (v)  [All]Any outside doors of the milkhouse or milkroom 
shall be self-closing. 
 (vi)  The milkhouse or milkroom shall have [A]at least 20-
[ ]foot candles of light [shall be ]provided in [all]each working 
area[s]. 
 [2.](b)  The farm tank shall be properly located in the 
milkroom. 
 (i)  There shall [not be less than]be at least 18 inches 
clearance with 24-[ ]inches recommended on three sides of the tank 
and [a minimum of]at least 36-[ ]inches on the outlet side of the tank 
for access to [all]each area[s] for cleaning and servicing. 
 (ii)  [It]The farm tank may not be located over a floor drain, 
under a ventilator or under a light fixture. 
 [3.](c)  An adequate platform or slab constructed of 
concrete or other impervious material shall be provided outside the 
milk house, properly centered under a suitable port opening in the 
wall of the milkhouse. 
 (i)  The opening shall be fitted with a tight self-closing door. 
 (ii)  The truck approach to the milkhouse or milkroom shall 
be properly graded and surfaced to prevent mud or pooling of water 
at the point of loading. 
 [4.](d)  Building plan approval.  Plans for new dairy 
building construction or remodeling shall be submitted to the 
[D]department for approval before construction begins. 
 [E.](5)  Utensils and Equipment. 
 [1.](a)  Utensils, milk coolers, milking machines[ (], 
including pipeline systems[)], and other equipment used in the 
handling of milk shall be maintained in good repair, and shall be 
washed, rinsed, and drained after each milking, stored in suitable 
facilities, and sanitized immediately before use. 
 (b)  Farm bulk tanks shall meet 3-A [S]sanitary 
[S]standards and accepted practice for construction [at the time of 
installation]when installed, and shall be properly installed. 
 [F.](6)  Water Supply. 
 [1.](a)  The dairy farm water supply shall be approved, 
properly protected and of safe, sanitary quality, and have ample water 
and pressure for the cleaning of dairy utensils and equipment. 
 [2.](b)  An automatic hot water storage tank[ (], pressure 
type[)], of adequate size shall be provided but shall not be less than 
30-[ ]gallon capacity and equipped with a thermostat capable of 
maintaining water temperature at least 140 degrees F.  Gas water 
heaters, if used, shall be properly ventilated. 
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 [G.](7)  Sewage Disposal.  Sewage shall be disposed of in 
a manner that complies with [the State Health and EPA]state and 
federal requirements. 
 [H.](8)  There shall be available in the milkhouse or room 
a dairy type thermometer, accurate within two degrees F[.], integral 
with the tank construction or operation. 
 (a)  The driver shall [possess]have an accurate approved 
type thermometer. 
 (b)  The driver shall [check periodically]periodically check 
the thermometer by a qualified method to determine its accuracy. 
 (c)  Thermometers [must]shall be properly sanitized before 
each use. 
 [I.](9)  Qualifications for Farm Certification.  Farm 
certification requires compliance with the items listed on the Farm 
Certification Report Form as follows: 
 [1.](a)  [A]a rating of satisfactory for [all]any items in [A-
-Facilities]Subsection R70-320-11(1); and 
 [2.](b)  [A]a total rating of [not less than]at least 85[ 
percent]% for the applicable items in [B--Methods]Subsection R70-
320-11(2), [provided]with no individual item [is ]rated less than 75[ 
percent]% of its maximum score. 
 
R70-320-[13]12.  Minimum Specifications for Licensed Dairy 
Plants. 
 [A.](1)  Building, Facilities, Equipment, and Utensils. 
 [1.](a)  Premises. 
 (i)  The plant area and surroundings shall be kept clean. 
 (ii)  A drainage system shall be provided for rapid drainage 
of [all]any water from plant buildings, including surface water 
around the plant and on the premises. 
 [a.](iii)  [There shall be provided a]An area properly 
designed and constructed shall be provided for the unloading and 
washing of bulk milk transport trucks. 
 (A)  [It will]The area shall have a concrete floor sloped to 
a trapped drain. 
 [(1)](B)  If the area is completely enclosed[ (], enclosed 
walls and ceiling with the doors closed[)], during the unloading 
process and the dust cover or dome and the manhole cover is opened 
slightly and held in this position by the metal clamps used to close 
the cover then a filter is not required.  However, if the dust covers[ 
and/or], manhole cover, or both [is]are open in excess of that 
provided by the metal clamps or the covers have been removed, a 
suitable filter is required for the manhole. 
 [(2)](C)  If the area is not completely enclosed or doors of 
the unloading area are open during unloading, a suitable filter is 
required for the manhole[ and/or], air inlet vent, or both and suitable 
protection [must]shall be provided over the filter material either by 
design of the filter holding apparatus or a roof or ceiling over the area.  
Direct connections from milk tank truck to milk tank truck 
[must]shall be made from valve to valve and not through the manhole 
and the dust cover dome of the milk tank truck. 
 [2.](b)  Buildings. 
 [a.](i)  Construction and Maintenance. 
 (A)  Buildings shall be of sound construction, and the 
exterior and interior shall be kept clean and in good repair to protect 
against dust, dirt, and mold, and to prevent the entrance or harboring 
of insects, rodents, vermin, and other animals. 
 [(1)](B)  Outside doors, windows, skylights, and transoms 
shall be screened or otherwise covered. 
 (C)  Outside doors shall open outward and be self-closing 
or be protected against the entrance of rodents and flies. 

 (D)  [Those]Outside doors leading to processing rooms 
shall be of metal construction. 
 (E)  Window sills on new construction shall be sloping. 
 (F)  Outside conveyor openings and other special type 
outside openings shall be protected by doors, screens, flaps, fans, or 
tunnels. 
 (G)  Outside openings for sanitary pipelines shall be 
covered when not in use[;] and service-pipe openings shall be 
completely cemented or have tight metal collars. 
 [(2)](H)  [All]Each room[s], compartments, coolers, 
freezers, and dry storage space in which any raw material, packaging 
or ingredient supplies, or finished products are handled, processed, 
manufactured, packaged, or stored shall be [so ]designed and 
constructed [as ]to assure clean and orderly operations. 
 (I)  Rooms for receiving milk shall be separated from the 
processing rooms by a partition or suitable arrangement of equipment 
or facilities to avoid contamination of milk or dairy products. 
 (J)  Boiler and tool rooms shall be separated from other 
rooms. 
 (K)  Toilet and dressing rooms shall be conveniently 
located and shall not open directly into any room in which milk, dairy 
products, or ingredients are handled, processed, packaged, or stored. 
 (L)  Doors of [all]any toilet rooms shall be self-closing, and 
fixtures shall be kept clean and in good repair. 
 [(3)](M)  Plans for new plant construction or remodeling of 
existing plants shall be submitted to the [D]department for approval 
[prior to such]before new construction or remodeling. 
 [b.](ii)  Interior Finishing. 
 (A)  In [all]each room[s], in which milk or dairy products 
are received, handled, processed, manufactured, packaged, or stored, 
except dry storage of packaged finished products, or in which 
equipment or utensils are washed[;]: 
 (I)  the walls, ceilings, partitions, and posts shall be 
smoothly finished with a washable material of light color that is 
impervious to moisture[.]; 
 (II)  [T]the floors [in these rooms ]shall be of concrete or 
other impervious material and shall be smooth, properly graded to 
drain, and have drains trapped[.]; and 
 (B)  The plumbing shall be so installed as to prevent back-
up sewage into the plant. 
 (C)  On new construction or extensive remodeling, the 
floors shall be joined and coved with the walls to form watertight 
joints. 
 (D)  Sound, smooth, wood floors may be used in certain 
packaging rooms where the nature of the product permits. 
 (E)  Toilet and dressing rooms shall have impervious floors 
and smooth walls. 
 [c.](iii)  Ventilation.  [All]Each room[s] and compartment[s 
(], including storage space and toilet and dressing rooms[)], shall be 
ventilated to maintain sanitary conditions, prevent undue 
condensation of water vapor, and minimize or eliminate 
objectionable odors. 
 [d.](iv)  Lighting. 
 (A)  Lighting, whether natural or artificial, shall be of good 
quality and well distributed in [all]each room[s] and compartment[s]. 
 (B)  [All]Each room[s] where milk or dairy products are 
handled, processed, manufactured, or packaged, or where equipment 
or utensils are washed, shall have at least 30 foot[-]candles of light 
intensity on [all]each working surface[s;]. 
 (C)  [a]Areas where dairy products are examined for 
condition and quality[,] shall have at least 50-[ ]foot[-]candles of light 
intensity[; and]. 
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 (D)  [all]Any other rooms[,] shall have at least 5-[ ]foot[-
]candles of light intensity measured 30-[ ]inches above the floor. 
 (E)  Light bulbs and fluorescent tubes shall be protected 
against shattering[ and/or], falling into the product if broken, or both. 
 [e.](v)  Laboratory. 
 (A)  Consistent with the size of the plant and the volume 
and variety of products manufactured, an adequate laboratory shall 
be provided, maintained, and properly staffed with qualified and 
trained personnel for quality control and analytical purposes. 
 (B)  [It]The laboratory shall be located reasonably close to 
the processing activity in a well li[ghted]t and ventilated room of 
sufficient size to permit proper performance of the tests necessary to 
evaluate the quality of raw and finished products. 
 (C)  A central or commercial laboratory that serves more 
than one plant and that [provides the same services]properly 
performs tests necessary to evaluate the quality of raw and finished 
products may be [utilized]used. 
 [3.](c)  Facilities. 
 [a.](i)  Water Supply. 
 (A)  Both hot and cold water of safe and sanitary quality 
shall be available in sufficient quantity for [all]any plant operations 
and facilities. 
 (B)  Water from other lines, when officially approved, may 
be used for boiler feed water and condenser water, if [such]the water 
lines carrying the sanitary water supply, and the equipment is so 
constructed and controlled as to preclude contamination of any milk 
product or milk product contact surface. 
 (C)  There shall be no cross connections between safe and 
unsafe water lines. 
 (D)  Culinary water in the plant is to be from an approved 
source. 
 [(1)](E)  Bacteriological examination shall be made of the 
plant sanitary water supply at least once [every]each six months by 
the [appropriate regulatory agency]department to determine purity 
and safety for use in processing or manufacturing dairy products. 
 [b.](ii)  Employee Facilities. 
 (A)  [In addition to toilet and dressing rooms, t]The plant 
shall provide [the following employee facilities]employees: 
 (I)  toilet and dressing rooms; 
 (II)  conveniently located sanitary drinking water; 
 (III)  a locker or other suitable facility for each employee; 
and 
 (IV)  handwashing facilities, including hot and cold 
running water, soap or other detergents and sanitary towels or air 
[driers]dryers, in or adjacent to toilet and dressing rooms and at other 
places where necessary for the cleanliness of [all]any personnel 
handling products and self-closing containers for used towels and 
other wastes. 
 [(1)](B)  A durable, legible sign shall be posted 
conspicuously in each toilet and dressing room directing employees 
to wash their hands before returning to work. 
 [c.](iii)  Steam. 
 (A)  Steam shall be supplied in sufficient volume and 
pressure for satisfactory operation of each applicable piece of 
equipment. 
 (B)  Steam that may come into direct contact with milk or 
dairy products shall be conducted through a steam strainer and 
purifier equipped with a steam trap and shall be free from any 
compounds that may contribute flavors or endanger health. 
 (C)  Only non-toxic boiler compounds shall be used. 
 [d.](iv)  Disposal of Wastes. 

 (A)  The plant sewage system shall have sufficient slope 
and capacity to [remove readily all]readily remove any waste from 
processing operations. 
 (B)  Where a public sewer is not available, wastes shall be 
disposed of by methods approved by the appropriate government 
agency. 
 (C)  Containers for the collection and holding of wastes 
shall be constructed of metal or other equally impervious material, 
kept covered with tight-fitting lids, and placed outside the plant on a 
concrete slab or on a rack at least 12-[ ]inches above the ground. 
 (D)  Solid wastes shall be disposed of regularly and the 
containers cleaned before reuse, and dry waste paper shall be 
properly disposed of. 
 [4.](d)  Equipment and Utensils. 
 [a.](i)  Construction and Installation. 
 (A)  New equipment shall meet 3-A [S]sanitary 
[S]standards and accepted practice designed for the intended use. 
 (B)  Equipment and utensils coming in contact with milk or 
dairy products, including sanitary pumps, piping, fittings, and 
connections, shall be constructed of stainless steel or equally 
corrosion resistant material[;], except [that, ]where the use of 
stainless steel is not practicable. 
 (C)  Copper kettles for swiss cheese and copper evaporators 
and brass fillers for evaporated milk may be approved if free from 
corroded surfaces and kept in good condition. 
 (D)  Wooden churns in use may be approved temporarily if 
maintained in good condition. 
 (E)  Nonmetallic parts having product contact surfaces 
shall be of material that is resistant to abrasion, scratching, scoring 
and distortion, is non-toxic, fat-resistant, and relatively inert or non-
absorbent or insoluble, and that will not adversely affect the flavor of 
the products. 
 [(1)](F)  [All]Any equipment and piping shall be [so 
]designed and installed [as ]to be easily accessible for cleaning and 
shall be kept in good repair and free from cracks and corroded 
surfaces. 
 (G)  Milk pumps shall be of a sanitary type and easily 
dismantled for cleaning. 
 (H)  New or rearranged equipment shall be set out at least 
24 inches from any wall or spaced at least 24 inches between pieces 
of equipment that measure more than 48 inches on the parallel sides[.  
(This shall not apply], except between storage tanks when the face of 
the tanks extends through the wall into the processing room.[)] 
 (I)  [All]Each part[s] or interior surface[s] of equipment, 
pipes[ (], except certain piping that is [cleaned in place)]C-I-P, or 
fittings, including valves and connections, shall be accessible for 
inspection. 
 (J)  [Cleaned-in-place]C-I-P sanitary piping shall be 
properly installed and self-draining. 
 (K)  Welded sanitary pipeline systems when used with C-I-
P cleaning will be acceptable if properly engineered and installed. 
 [b.](ii)  Pasteurization Equipment. 
 (A)  Where pasteurization is intended or required, an 
automatic flow-diversion valve and holding tube, or its equivalent if 
not part of the existing equipment, shall be installed on [all]any high-
temperature short-time [pasteurizing]pasteurization equipment to 
assure complete pasteurization. 
 (B)  Pasteurization [E]equipment and operation shall be in 
accordance with 3-A [Accepted Practices for the Sanitary 
Construction, Installation, Testing and Operation of High 
Temperature Short-Time Pasteurizers]sanitary standards and 
accepted practice. 
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 [(1)](C)  Long stem indicating thermometers that are 
accurate within plus or minus 0.5 degrees F, for the applicable 
temperature range, shall be provided for determining temperatures of 
pasteurization of products in vats and for verifying the accuracy of 
recording thermometers. 
 (D)  Short-stem indicating thermometers that are accurate 
within plus or minus 0.5 degrees for the applicable temperature range 
shall be installed in the proper stationary position in [all]each high-
temperature short-time and dome-type pasteurizers and [all]each 
storage tank[s] where temperature readings are required. 
 [(2)](E)  Recording thermometers that are accurate within 
plus or minus 1 degree F[ plus or minus], between 142 degrees and 
145 degrees F or [in the case of]for 15-second pasteurization between 
160 degrees and 163 degrees F shall be used on each pasteurizer to 
record pasteurization temperature. 
 [c.](iii)  Cleaning and Sanitizing. 
 (A)  Equipment, sanitary piping, and utensils used in 
receiving, storing, processing, manufacturing, packaging, and 
handling of milk or dairy products, and [all]any product contact 
surfaces of homogenizers, high-pressure pumps, and high-pressure 
lines shall be kept clean and sanitary. 
 (B)  Stacks, elevators, conveyors, and the packing glands 
on [all]each agitator[s], pump[s], and vat[s] shall be inspected at 
regular intervals and kept clean. 
 (C)  Equipment coming in contact with milk or dairy 
products shall have effective bactericidal or sanitizing treatment 
immediately before use. 
 [(1)](D)  Equipment not designed for C-I-P cleaning shall 
be disassembled daily and thoroughly cleaned and sanitized. 
 (I)  Dairy cleansers, wetting agents, detergents, sanitizing 
agents, or other similar material [may be used ]that will not 
contaminate or adversely affect dairy products may be used to clean 
equipment not designed for C-I-P cleaning. 
 (II)  Steel wool or metal sponges shall not be used in the 
cleaning of any dairy equipment or utensils. 
 [(2)](E)  C-I-P cleaning shall be used only on equipment 
and pipeline systems that are designed and engineered for that 
purpose. 
 (F)  C-I-P cleaning system [I]installation and cleaning 
procedures shall be in accordance with 3-A [Method for the 
Installation and Cleaning of Cleaned-in-Place Sanitary Milk 
Pipelines for Milk and Milk Products Plants]sanitary standards and 
accepted practice. 
 [(3)](G)  Areas and equipment which [can't]cannot be 
cleaned with water in the plant shall be thoroughly vacuumed 
regularly with a heavy-duty industrial vacuum cleaner and the 
material picked up shall be disposed of to destroy any insects present. 
 [B.](2)  Plant Operations. 
 [1.](a)  Milk and Milk Products. 
 (i)  [All]Any milk and milk products, including 
concentrated milk and milk products, shall be packaged at the plant 
where final pasteurization is performed. 
 (ii)  [Such p]Packaging of milk and milk products, 
including concentrated milk and milk products, shall be done without 
undue delay [following]after final pasteurization. 
 [a.](iii)  Pasteurization. 
 (A)  When pasteurization is intended or required, or when 
a product is designated "pasteurized,"[,] pasteurization shall be 
accomplished by heating: 
 (I)  [every]each particle of milk or skim milk to a 
temperature of not less than 145 degrees F and cream and other milk 
products to at least 150 degrees F and ice cream mix to at least 155 

degrees F and holding them at those temperatures continuously for 
not less than 30 minutes[,]; 
 (II)  [or ]milk or skim milk to a temperature of 161 degrees 
F and cream and other milk products to at least 166 degrees F for not 
less than 15 seconds, and ice cream mix to at least 175 degrees F for 
not less than 25 seconds[,]; or 
 (III)  by any other combination of temperature and time 
giving equivalent results. 
 (B)  The phenol value of the pasteurized product shall be 
no greater than the maximum specified for the particular product, as 
determined by the phosphatize test, Method II, of the [latest edition 
of ]"Official Methods of Analysis of the Association of Official 
Analytical Chemists."[.] 
 [b.  Cream for Buttermaking.](C)  Cream for buttermaking 
shall be pasteurized by heat treating the cream: 
 (I)  at a temperature of not less than 165 degrees F and held 
continuously in a vat at [such temperature]not less than 165 degrees 
F for not less than 30 minutes[, or]; 
 (II)  at a temperature of not less than 185 degrees F for not 
less than 15 seconds[,]; or 
 (III)  at any other temperature and holding time approved 
by the [D]department that will assure pasteurization and comparable 
keeping quality characteristics. 
 (C)  If the vat method of pasteurization is used, vat covers 
shall be kept closed during the holding and cooling periods. 
 [2.](b)  Cooling.[ 
 ]  Processed fluid milk products shall be cooled promptly 
after heat treatment to [such ]a temperature as will adequately inhibit 
development or other deterioration of quality. 
 [3.](c)  Storage. 
 [a.](i)  Utensils and portable equipment.[ 
 ]  Utensils and portable equipment used in processing 
operations shall be stored above the floor, in clean, dry locations, and 
in self-draining positions on racks constructed of impervious, 
corrosion resistant material. 
 [b.](ii)  Raw product storage. 
 (A)  [All]Any milk shall be held and processed under 
conditions and at temperatures that will avoid contamination and 
rapid deterioration. 
 (B)  Drip milk from can washers or any other source shall 
not be used for the manufacture of dairy products. 
 (C)  Bulk milk in storage tanks within the dairy plant shall 
be handled in [such ]a manner as to minimize bacterial increase and 
shall be maintained at 45 degrees F[.] or lower until processing 
begins. 
 (D)  [This does not preclude holding milk]Milk may be 
held at higher temperatures for a period[ of time], where applicable 
to particular manufacturing or processing practices. 
 (E)  The bacteriological estimate of commingled milk in 
storage tanks shall be 1 million per mL[.] or lower. 
 [c.](iii)  Non-[ ]Refrigerated Products. 
 (A)  Dairy products in dry storage shall be arranged in 
aisles, rows, sections, or lots or in [such ]a manner as to be orderly 
and easily accessible for inspection and as to permit adequate 
cleaning of the room. 
 (B)  Dunnage or pallets shall be used when applicable. 
 (C)  Dairy products shall not be stored with any product 
that would damage them or impair their quality. 
 (D)  Open containers shall be carefully protected from 
contamination. 
 [d.](iv)  Refrigerated Products. 



 

20 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 13 

 (A)  [All]Any products requiring refrigeration shall be 
stored under [such ]optimum temperatures and humidity as will 
maintain their quality and condition. 
 (B)  Products shall not be placed directly on the floors or 
be exposed to foreign odors or conditions [such as]including dripping 
or condensation that might cause package or product damage. 
 [e.](v)  Supplies. 
 (A)  Items in supply rooms shall be kept clean and protected 
and be so arranged as to permit inspection of supplies and cleaning 
and spraying of the room. 
 (B)  Insecticides and rodenticides shall be properly labeled, 
segregated, and stored in a separate room or cabinet away from milk 
or dairy products or packaging supplies. 
 [4.](d)  Laboratory Control Tests. 
 (i)  Quality control tests shall be made on flow samples as 
often as necessary to check the effectiveness of processing [in order 
]to correct processing deficiencies. 
 (ii)  Routine analyses shall be made on raw materials and 
finished products to assure adequate composition control. 
 (iii)  When applicable, keeping quality tests shall be made 
to determine product stability. 
 [5.](e)  Packaging and General Identification. 
 [a.  Packaging.](i)  Dairy products shall be packaged in 
commercially acceptable containers or packaging material that will 
protect the quality of the contents in regular channels of trade. 
 (ii)  [Prior to]Before use, packaging materials shall be 
protected against dust, mold and other possible contamination. 
 [b.](iii)  Butter liners shall be of approved plastic or waxed 
covered parchment or other material that may be approved by the 
[D]department. 
 [c.  ]General Identification. 
 (A)  Commercial bulk shipping containers for dairy 
products shall be legibly marked with the name of the product, net 
weight or content, name and address of processor, manufacturer or 
distributor, and plant license number. 
 (B)  Consumer-packaged products shall be legibly marked 
with the name of the product, net weight, or content, and name and 
address of the packer or distributor. 
[ C.  Plant Licensing. 
 1.  Qualifications. 
 Plant licensing requires compliance to specifications in 
Section 8a through 8c.  In addition, licensing requires that 
 a.  not more than 10 percent of the cans (including lids) 
shall show open seams, cracks, rust, milkstone, or any unsanitary 
condition; 
 b.  where pasteurization is intended or required, and a high-
temperature short-time unit is used, it shall be equipped with a flow-
diversion valve and holding tube or its equivalent; and 
 c.  a safe water line shall be provided with no cross-
connections between safe and unsafe lines.] 
 
R70-320-[14]13.  Licensing Plant, Milk Graders, and Bulk Milk 
Collectors. 
[ A.  Necessity for Plant License. 
 Every plant receiving or processing milk for the 
manufacture of dairy products shall be inspected and licensed as 
provided in Section R70-320-13.  A new plant shall be inspected and 
licensed as provided in Section R70-320-13 before buying or 
processing any milk for the manufacture of dairy products.  No 
unlicensed plant shall handle, purchase or receive milk or 
manufacture dairy products therefrom. 

 1.  All licensed plants shall be evaluated at least semi-
annually after issuance of the initial license to determine eligibility 
for license renewal.  The inspection procedure for license renewal 
shall be the same as that for initial licensing.] 
 [B.](1)  Application for License. 
 Applications to the [D]department for a new or renewal 
license for dairy plants, milk graders, and bulk milk haulers shall 
contain the name and address of the applicant and [such ]other 
pertinent information as may be required. 
 [C.](2)  Plant Inspection. 
 (a)  Each plant shall be inspected by a compliance officer 
to determine if the plant meets the requirements for licensing.[  If, 
upon initial inspection, the compliance officer finds that the plant 
meets the requirements for licensing described in Subsections R70-
320-8(A) and R70-320-8(C) and Sections R70-320-15 and R70-320-
16, as indicated by the Plant Inspection Report Form, a license shall 
be issued to the plant as described in Section R70-320-13.] 
 (b)  If the plant does not meet the requirements for 
licensing, the plant shall be re-inspected by a compliance officer 
within 30 days of the initial inspection. 
 (i)  A [longer time]period longer than 30 days may be 
allowed if major changes or new equipment is required. 
 (ii)  If [at this time]after the re-inspection the plant meets 
the requirements for licensing, a license shall be issued. 
 (iii)  If after the re-inspection the plant does not meet the 
requirements for licensing, it shall not be licensed, and its 
authorization to handle, [purchase]buy, or receive milk or to 
manufacture dairy products therefrom shall be withheld until [such]a 
time as the plant qualifies for a license. 
 (c)  The plant will be charged for mileage [expended]spent 
by the [D]department for any subsequent visits required for 
certification of the plant. 
 (d)  The compliance officer shall show the results of each 
inspection on a Plant Inspection Report Form. 
 (e)  Each completed Plant Inspection Report Form shall be 
left at the plant and a copy shall be kept by the [D]department. 
 [D.](3)  Issuance of License. 
 [1.](a)  Dairy Plants. 
 (i)  The [D]department shall license each dairy plant[s] that 
meets the [specifications of Sections R70-320-13, R70-320-15 and 
R70-320-16 based upon the inspection procedure described in 
Section R70-320-13]requirements of this rule. 
 (ii)  The department shall license each new plant before the 
plant may buy, receive, or process any milk for the manufacture of 
dairy products. 
 (iii)  The license certification shall be posted conspicuously 
at the plant. 
 (iv)  The license shall authorize the plant to test, 
[purchase]buy, and receive milk for manufacturing purposes and to 
manufacture dairy products therefrom, in compliance with [the 
applicable provisions of ]Title 4, Chapter 3, the Utah Dairy Act and 
[the rules and regulations issued pursuant thereto]this rule. 
 [2.](b)  Milk Graders and Bulk Milk Haulers. 
 (i)  The [D]department shall license milk graders and bulk 
milk haulers who meet the requirements prescribed by the 
[D]department. 
 (ii)  The licenses of milk graders and bulk milk haulers shall 
authorize them to grade, accept, and reject raw milk in accordance 
with [the provisions of ]Section R70-320-[6]5. 
 [E.](4)  Expiration, Suspension, and Revocation of 
License. 
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 (a)  Licenses shall expire and become renewable each year 
the 31st of December, unless revoked earlier, and no license shall be 
transferable. 
 (b)  If at any time an inspector determines that a licensed 
plant does not meet the requirements for licensing, [he]the inspector 
may allow a reasonable probationary period for the operator to bring 
[his]the plant within the requirements for licensing. 
 (c)  If at the end of [this time]the probationary period the 
plant does not meet the licensing requirements, the [D]department 
may revoke the plant license.  The [D]department may suspend or 
revoke licenses of bulk milk haulers for any violation of [these]this 
rule[s] or Title 4, Chapter 3, the Utah Dairy Act. 
 (d)  An opportunity for a hearing shall be provided to any 
licensee before suspension or revocation of this license. 
 [F.](5)  Reinstatement. 
 (a)  If, after a period of withholding, probation, or 
revocation of a plant license, the operator makes the necessary 
corrections at the plant, [he]the plant operator may apply to the 
[D]department for re-inspection and reinstatement. 
 (b)  When the compliance officer determines that 
requirements for licensing have been met, the [D]department shall 
issue a license to the plant. 
 (c)  The reinstatement of licenses for milk graders and bulk 
milk haulers [which]that have been suspended or revoked shall be 
made only after satisfying the [D]department of their qualifications. 
 
R70-320-[15]14.  Records Required to be Kept by Plants. 
 [A.](1)  Availability.[ 
 All r]  Records required to be kept by plants shall be 
available for examination by the [D]department at [all]any 
reasonable times. 
 [B.](2)  Farm Certification Report Forms.[ 
 ]  A copy of completed Farm Certification Report Forms 
shall be kept on file at the plant for at least 24-[ ]months. 
 [C.](3)  Milk Quality Test Records.[ 
 ]  Accurate records listing the results of quality tests on each 
producer's milk shall be kept on file at the plant for at least 12 months. 
 [D.](4)  Water Supply Test Records.[ 
 ]  The results of [all]each plant water supply test[s] shall be 
kept on file at the plant for at least 12-[ ]months. 
 [E.](5)  Laboratory Control Test Records.[ 
 ]  Records of [all]each laboratory control test[s] shall be 
kept on file at the plant for at least 12-[ ]months. 
 [F.](6)  Pasteurization Recorder Charts.[ 
 ]  Recorder charts showing the pasteurization record for 
each day shall be appropriately marked with the name of the product, 
date, and signature of the operator.  The charts shall be kept on file at 
the plant for at least three months. 
 
R70-320-[16]15.  Personnel Cleanliness and Health. 
 [A.](1)  Cleanliness. 
 (a)  Plant employees shall wash their hands before 
beginning work and upon returning to work after using toilet 
facilities, eating, smoking, or otherwise soiling their hands. 
 (b)  [They]Plant employees shall keep their hands clean and 
follow good hygienic practices while on duty. 
 (c)  Expectorating or use of tobacco in any form shall be 
prohibited in rooms and compartments where milk or dairy products 
are unpacked or exposed. 
 (d)  Clean white or light colored washable outer garments 
and caps[ (], paper caps or hairnets are acceptable[)], shall be worn 
by [all]each person[s] engaged in handling milk or dairy products. 

 [B.](2)  Health. 
 [(1)](a)  No person afflicted with a communicable disease 
shall be permitted in any room or compartment where milk or dairy 
products are prepared, processed, or otherwise handled. 
 (b)  No person who has a discharging or infected wound or 
sore, or lesion on hands, arm or other exposed portions of the body 
shall work in any plant processing or packaging rooms or in any 
capacity resulting in contact with milk or dairy products including 
dairy farms and bulk milk haulers. 
 [(2)](c)  An employee returning to work [following]after 
illness from a communicable disease shall have a certificate from 
[his]the employee's attending physician to establish proof of 
complete recovery. 
 
R70-320-[17]16.  Transportation of [Raw ]Milk. 
 [A.](1)  [Transportation of Milk. 
 ]Vehicles used for the transportation of milk shall be of the 
enclosed type, constructed and operated to protect the product from 
extreme temperatures, dust, or other adverse conditions, and they 
shall be kept clean. 
 [B.](2)  Transport Trucks. 
 [1.](a)  Construction. 
 (i)  Transport tanks shall be stainless steel lined and so 
constructed that the lining will not buckle, sag, or prevent complete 
drainage. 
 (ii)  [All]Each milk contact surface[s] shall be smooth, 
easily cleaned, and maintained in good repair. 
 (iii)  The pump and hose cabinet shall be fully enclosed 
with tight-fitting doors. 
 (iv)  New and replacement transport tanks shall meet the 
applicable 3-A [Sanitary Standards for Milk Transport Tanks]sanitary 
standards and accepted practice. 
 [2.](b)  Transfer of Milk to a Transport Tank. 
 (i)  Milk shall be transferred from farm bulk tanks to 
transport tanks through stainless steel piping or approved tubing 
under sanitary conditions. 
 (ii)  [This s]Sanitary piping and tubing used to transfer from 
farm bulk tanks to transport tanks shall be clean and capped when not 
in use. 
 [3.](c)  Cleaning and Sanitizing. 
 (i)  A covered or enclosed washing dock and other facilities 
shall be available for [all]any plants that receive or ship milk in tanks. 
 (ii)  Milk transport tanks, sanitary piping, fittings, and 
pumps shall be cleaned and sanitized at least once each day, after use; 
provided that, if they are not to be used immediately after emptying 
a load of milk, they shall be washed promptly after use and given 
bactericidal treatment immediately before use. 
 (iii)  When[ever] a milk tank truck has been cleaned and 
sanitized as required by the [regulatory agency]department, it shall 
bear a tag, or a record shall be made showing the date, time, place, 
and signature of the employee or contract hauler doing the work 
unless the truck delivers to only one receiving unit where 
responsibility for cleaning and sanitizing can be definitely 
established without tagging.  The tag shall not be removed until the 
tank is again washed and sanitized. 
 [4.](d)  Transportation Trucks, Tanks, and Accessories.[ 
 ]  The transportation truck, tank and accessories shall be 
used for no other purpose than the handling of milk unless [such]the 
use is approved by the [D]department. 
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R70-320-[18]17.  Transport Tanks, Operators. 
 [A.](1)  [All]Each milk hauler[s] must [possess]have a 
[permit]license issued by the [D]department. 
 (a)  A candidate or substitute milk hauler [is required to 
obtain]shall get a [permit]license within ten days from the date they 
[commence]begin hauling operations. 
 (b)  The [ten]10-[ ]day period is for training and 
observation to provide the [D]department and company officials with 
an opportunity to check the hauler's pickup technique and observe the 
degree to which [he]the hauler is following required pickup practices. 
 (c)  Training may take the form of instruction in pickup 
technique or may include a required period of observation 
apprenticeship in which the candidate accompanies a 
[permittee]licensee in the performance of [his]the licensee's duties. 
 (d)  A [P]person[s] whose milk hauling responsibility is 
limited to transporting properly collected and packaged milk samples 
to a laboratory [are]is not required to [obtain]get or [possess]have a 
milk hauler [permit]license. 
 [1.](e)  An examination may be administered at the 
conclusion of the [ten]10-[ ]day period and candidates failing the test 
will be denied [permits]licenses until [indicated]the deficiencies are 
corrected. 
 [2.](f)  Drivers shall be qualified to efficiently carry out the 
procedures necessary for the sanitary transfer of milk from the farm 
tank to the dairy plant. 
 (g)  [All]Each milk hauler[s] shall be subject to [such 
]examination as the [D]department may prescribe by rule [in order 
]to receive and [retain such]keep a [permit]license. 
 (h)  The fee for the [permit]license shall be established in 
accordance with [title]Section 4-2-[2 UCU]103 and renewed 
annually. 
 [B.](2)  The milk line shall be passed through a special port 
opening through the milkhouse wall with care to prevent contact with 
the ground.  The port opening shall be closed when not in use. 
 [C.](3)  It shall be the responsibility of the milk hauler to 
assure [himself]themselves that, [in the event]if the processor washes 
and sanitizes the truck, the operation has been adequately performed, 
and that [prior to]before use, the truck tank has been properly 
sanitized with an approved sanitizer.  [In the event]If it is [his]the 
milk hauler's responsibility to sanitize the truck tank, [he]the milk 
hauler shall do so with a solution of proper strength. 
 [D.](4)  The milk hauler shall wash [his]their hands 
immediately before taking a measurement[ and/or], sample, or both 
of the milk. 
 [E.](5)  The milk shall be observed and checked for 
abnormalities or adulterations, and [all]any abnormal or adulterated 
milk shall be rejected. 
 [F.](6)  Drivers shall maintain a clean, neat, personal 
appearance and take measurements and collect milk samples for 
analysis in a sanitary manner using properly identified clean 
containers.  [All]Each sampling procedure[s] shall follow [standard 
methods]"the Standard Methods for the Examination of Dairy 
Products."[.] 
 [G.](7)  [The following are the p]Procedures for picking up 
bulk milk. 
 [1.](a)  Take and record the tank reading. 
 (i)  [(]If the tank is agitating when the hauler arrives, let it 
continue for five minutes before taking the butterfat sample. 
 (ii)  Then turn off the agitator and wait until the milk is 
quiescent before taking measurement.[)] 
 (iii)  Note:  Cleanliness and dryness are essential to 
accurate readings. 

 (iv)  The rod [must]shall be warm enough so that moisture 
from the atmosphere will not condense on the rod after it has been 
dried or dusted, [prior to]before inserting it into a tank to make a 
reading of the liquid level. 
 [2.](b)  Turn on the agitator and agitate at least five minutes 
before taking a sample. 
 [3.](c)  While the tank is agitating, record temperature and 
time and hook up the hose and electricity to the truck. 
 [4.](d)  While the agitator is running, take samples from 
three positions in the tank center and at both ends.  Collect quality 
samples [in same manner]from three positions in the tank center and 
at both ends. 
 [5.](e)  Shut off the agitator and pump out the tank. 
 [6.](f)  Rinse tank and accessories free of milk with clean 
water immediately after emptying and disconnecting tubing. 
 [H.](8)  After the milk is pumped to the transportation tank 
the milk conductor tubing shall be capped and returned to the vehicle 
storage cabinet.  Care shall be taken to prevent contamination of the 
milk tubing. 
 
R70-320-[19]18.  Supervision. 
[ A.  Regulatory Agency.  The Department to insure 
compliance with the provisions of these rules shall:] 
 [1.](1)  The department shall [M]make periodic 
examinations of milk from a representative number of producers at 
each plant to determine whether the milk is being graded and tested 
in accordance with [the applicable provisions of ]Section R70-320-
[6]5. 
 [2.](2)  The department shall [E]examine the quality 
records of transfer producers at each plant periodically and when 
necessary determine the acceptability of [such]the producer's milk. 
 [3.](3)  The department shall [M]make periodic farm 
inspections and compare the results of [such ]inspections with the 
completed Farm Certification Report Forms on file at the plant to 
determine whether the fieldmen are making proper inspections and 
reports. 
 [4.](4)  The department shall [P]periodically examine the 
completed Farm Certification Report Forms and milk quality test 
records on individual producers at each plant. 
 [5.](5)  The department shall [P]periodically inspect plant 
premises, buildings, equipment, facilities, operations, and sanitary 
practices. 
 [6.](6)  The department shall [A]assist plant management, 
laboratory and field staff[s] with educational programs among 
producers relating to quality improvements of milk. 
 [7.](7)  The department shall [P]perform [such ]other 
services and [institute such other ]supervisory procedures as may be 
necessary to ensure compliance with [the provisions of these 
rules]this rule. 
 
R70-320-19.  Violations. 
 (1)  The commissioner may for good cause, after notice and 
opportunity for hearing, suspend or revoke certification and licenses 
issued under this rule. 
 (2)  No person, firm, or corporation shall produce, sell, 
offer for sale, or process milk for the manufacture of human food 
except in accordance with this rule. 
 (3)  No unlicensed plant shall handle, buy,or receive milk 
or manufacture dairy products from the received or processed milk. 
 (4)  Each dairy plant shall furnish the department with a 
current list of their producers semi-annually. These lists shall be 
received no later than January 15th and July 15th of the current year. 
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 (5)  Violation of any portion of this rule may result in civil 
or criminal action, pursuant to Section 4-2-304. 
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(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
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this fiscal analysis. 
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R70.  Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services. 
R70-410.  Grading and Inspection of Shell Eggs with Standard 
Grade and Weight Classes. 
R70-410-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under authority of Section 4-4-102. 
 (2)  The standards and inspection requirements, for large 
egg producers, of the January 1, 2021 versions of 7 CFR 57, 9 CFR 
590, and the April 1, 2021 version of  21 CFR 160, are incorporated 
by reference into this rule. 
 ([2]3)  Large [E]egg [P]producers [with more than 3,000 
laying hens ]shall adhere to Sections R70-410-[2]3 [and R70-410-
3]and R70-410-4[ rules and:], 7 CFR 57, 9 CFR 590 and 21 CFR 160. 
[ (a)  Adopt by reference:  The Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food hereby adopts and incorporates by reference 
the applicable provisions of the regulations issued by the United 
States Department of Agriculture for grading and inspection of shell 
eggs and the Standards, 7 CFR Part 56, January 1, 2005 edition, 21 
CFR, 1 through 200, April 1, 2003 edition; 9 CFR 590, January 1, 
2005 edition; and 7 CFR 59, January 1, 2005 edition.] 
 ([3]4)  Small [E]egg [P]producers [with less than 3,000 
laying hens ]shall adhere to Section R70-410[ sections 2-4 rules]-5. 
 
R70-410-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Case" means an egg container, as used in commercial 
practice in the United States, holding 30 dozen shell eggs. 
 (2)  "Check" means an individual egg that has a broken 
shell or a crack in the shell, but its shell membranes are intact and its 
contents do not leak. 
 (3)  "Best by date" means a date that shows when a product 
will be of best flavor or quality.  It is not a purchase or safety date. 
 (3)  "Department" or "UDAF" means the Utah Department 
of Agriculture and Food. 
 (4)  "Dirty" means an individual egg that has an unbroken 
shell with adhering dirt or foreign material, prominent stains, or 
moderate stains covering more than 1/32 of the shell surface if 
localized, or one-sixteenth of the shell surface if scattered. 
 (5)  "FD and C color" means the color additives approved 
for use in human food stated in 21 CFR 73 and 74. 
 (6)  "Large egg producer" means a producer with at least 
3,000 laying hens. 
 (7)  "Leaker" means an individual egg that has a crack or 
break in the shell and shell membranes to the extent that the egg 
contents are exuding or free to exude through the shell. 
 (8)  "Loss" means an egg that is inedible, cooked, frozen, 
contaminated, sour, musty, or an egg that contains a large blood spot, 
large meat spot, bloody white, green white, rot, stuck yolk, blood 
ring, embryo chick at or beyond the blood ring state, free yolk in the 
white, or other foreign material. 
 (9)  "Plant" means any building, machinery, apparatus or 
fixture, used for the storing, grading, or packing of shell eggs. 
 (10)  "Potable water" means water that has been approved 
by the Utah Department of Health, or any agency or laboratory 
acceptable to the department as safe for drinking and food processing. 
 (11)  "Premises" means a tract of land with building or part 
of building with its grounds or appurtenances. 
 (12)  "Producer" means a person who owns, operates, or 
both a poultry house containing laying hens which produce shell eggs 
for human consumption. 
 (13)  "Product" or "products" means shell eggs of 
domesticated chicken. 

 (15)  "Pull date" means a date placed on the egg container 
label after which the eggs should not be sold. 
 (14)  "Restricted" means eggs classified as checks, dirties, 
incubator rejects, inedibles, leakers, and loss. 
 (15)  "Shell eggs" means intact shell eggs of domesticated 
chickens. 
 (16)  "Shell protected" means eggs which have had a 
protective covering, including oil applied to the shell surface. 
 (17)  "Small egg producer" means a producer that: 
 (a)  intends to wholesale eggs; 
 (b)  has at most 3,000 laying hens; and 
 (b)  is U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) exempt. 
 
R70-410-[2]3.  Handling and Disposition of Restricted Eggs. 
 (1)  Restricted eggs shall be disposed of [by one of the 
following methods ]at point and time of segregation[:]. 
 (a)  Checks and dirties. 
 (i)  Checks and dirties [must]shall be shipped to an official 
egg breaking plant for further processing to egg products. 
 (ii)  Dirties may be shipped to a shell egg plant for cleaning. 
 (iii)  Checks and dirties [may]shall not be sold to 
consumers, restaurants, bakeries, and food manufacturers[, not to 
consumers,] unless [such]the sales are specifically exempted by 
[Section 15 of the Federal]the Egg Products Inspection Act, 21 
U.S.C. Sec. 1033 , et seq., and not prohibited by [S]state [L]law. 
 (b)  Leakers, loss, and inedible eggs must be destroyed for 
human food purposes at the grading station or point of segregation 
by [one of the methods listed below]being: 
 (i)  [D]discarded and intermingled with refuse[ such as], 
including shells, papers, or trash[, etc.]; 
 (ii)  [P]processed into an industrial product or animal food 
at the grading station[.]; or 
 (iii)  [D]denatured or de-characterized with an approved 
denaturant. 
 (A)  [(Such product]Leakers, loss, and inedible eggs 
shipped under government supervision and received under 
government supervision at a plant making industrial products or 
animal food need not be denatured or de-characterized [prior 
to]before shipment.[)] 
 [(iv)](B)  Leakers, loss and inedible eggs may be shipped 
in shell form [provided]if they are properly labeled and denatured by 
adding FD and C color to the shell or by applying a substance that 
will penetrate the shell and de-characterize the egg meat. 
 (c)  Incubator rejects, [(]eggs which have been subjected to 
incubation[)] may not be moved in shell form and must be crushed 
and denatured or de-characterized at point and time of removal from 
incubation. 
 (d)  Blood type loss which has not diffused into the 
albumen may be moved to an official egg products plant in shell form 
without adding FD and C color to the shell provided they are properly 
labeled and moved directly to the egg products plant. 
 (e)  Containers used for eggs not intended for human 
consumption must be labeled with the word "inedible" on the outside 
of the container. 
 (f)  Other methods of disposition may be used only when 
approved by the [Commissioner]department. 
 
R70-410-[3]4.  Packaging. 
 (1)  [It is unlawful for anyone to]Any person shall not pack 
eggs into a master container which does not bear [all required]each 
needed labeling, including responsible party, or to transport or sell 
eggs in [such]a master container. 
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 (2)  Any person who, without [prior]earlier authorization, 
acquires possession of a master container which bears a brand 
belonging to someone else shall, at [his]their own expense, return 
[such]the container to the registered owner within 30 days. 
 
R70-410-[4]5.  Small Egg Producer Rules. 
[ (1)  SCOPE 
 (a)  This Section is for Shell Egg Producers who intend to 
wholesale eggs and are USDA Exempt (flocks of 3,000 or fewer 
hens). The requirements are basic in design and cost in order enable 
the 3,000 or fewer hen egg producers to put shell eggs into commerce 
while maintaining Good Manufacturing Practices. It is understood 
that as the egg production increases, the complexity of the operation 
may increase and require additional facilities and/or equipment to 
maintain Good Manufacturing Practices.] 
[ (2)  DEFINITIONS 
 (a)  "Case" means when referring to containers, an egg case 
as used in commercial practice in the United States, holding thirty 
dozen shell eggs. 
 (b)  "Plant" means any building, machinery, apparatus or 
fixture, used for the storing, grading of packing of shell eggs. 
 (c)  "Potable water" means water that has been approved by 
the State Department of Health, or any agency or laboratory 
acceptable to the Commissioner of Agriculture as safe for drinking 
and food processing. 
 (d)  "Premises" means a tract of land with building or part 
of building with its grounds or appurtenances. 
 (e)  "Product" or "products" means shell eggs of 
domesticated chicken. 
 (f)  "Shell eggs" means intact shell eggs of domesticated 
chickens. 
 (g)  "Shell protected" means eggs which have had a 
protective covering such as oil applied to the shell surface. 
 (h)  "Dirty" means an individual egg that has an unbroken 
shell with adhering dirt or foreign material, prominent stains, or 
moderate stains covering more than one-thirty-second of the shell 
surface if localized, or one-sixteenth of the shell surface if scattered. 
 (i)  "Check" means an individual egg that has a broken shell 
or a crack in the shell, but its shell membranes are intact and its 
contents do not leak. 
 (j)  "Leaker" means an individual egg that has a crack or 
break in the shell and shell membranes to the extent that the egg 
contents are exuding or free to exude through the shell. 
 (k)  "Loss" means an egg that is inedible, cooked, frozen, 
contaminated, sour, musty, or an egg that contains a large blood spot, 
large meat spot, bloody white, green white, rot, stuck yolk, blood 
ring, embryo chick (at or beyond the blood ring state), free yolk in 
the white, or other foreign material. 
 (l)  "Restricted" means eggs classified as checks, dirties, 
incubator rejects, inedibles, leakers and loss.] 
 ([3]1)  [LICENSE]License. 
 (a)  Small [E]egg [P]producers [who intend to wholesale 
eggs ]shall [obtain]get a small egg producer license from the 
department in accordance with the fee schedule determined by the 
department and approved by the legislature pursuant to [U.C.A 4-2-
2(2)]Subsection 4-2-103(2). 
 ([4]2)  [FACILITIES]Facilities. 
 (a)  Small egg producers shall [E]establish a designated 
work area separate from domestic living areas. 
 (i)  Acceptable designated work areas may be an area in the 
basement, garage, or outbuilding. 

 (ii)  Unacceptable work areas are domestic living areas, 
kitchens, laundry rooms, and bathrooms. 
 (b)  The designated work area [requires]needs a sanitary 
work surface that is smooth, durable, and easily cleanable. 
 (i)  [This ]The work surface must be cleaned and sanitized 
before each use. 
 (ii)  Any sinks, drain boards, or other equipment used for 
the egg handling operation must be cleaned and sanitized before each 
use. 
 (c)  The premises shall be kept clean and free of rodent 
harborage areas. 
 (d)  Designated storage areas are [required]needed for new 
packaging materials, utensils, and equipment that may be used for the 
egg handling practices. These items must be protected from 
contamination[ (e.g.], including moisture, strong odors, dust, [or]and 
insects[)]. 
 (e)  Potable water is [required]needed for egg handling 
practices. Individual water wells [require]need an annual 
bacteriological test[ (i.e.], including coliform bacteria[)].  
Commercial bottled water may be used. 
 (f)  Hand washing stations must be conveniently located in 
the egg handling work area and provided with soap and paper towels. 
 (g)  Toilet rooms must be accessible to employees. 
 (h)  A designated refrigerator is [required]needed. The 
refrigerator is not [required]needed to be new or of a commercial type 
and may be placed in the [garage, etc]designated work area. The 
refrigerator must be equipped with a suitable thermometer to 
routinely verify that the 40 degrees Fahrenheit (F) to 45 degrees F 
egg storage temperature is maintained. 
 ([5]3)  [EGG QUALITY ASSURANCE]Egg quality 
assurance. 
 (a)  Each small egg producer [will]shall develop an egg 
quality assurance plan that, at [a minimum]least, includes[ the 
following]: 
 (i)  [C]chicks[/] and pullets [will]shall be 
[purchased]bought from hatcheries that are National Poultry 
Improvement Plan (NPIP) [(National Poultry Improvement Plan) 
]"US Salmonella Enteritidis Clean" status or equivalent state plan[.]; 
 (ii)  [T]testing the flock for Salmonella 
[Enteriditis]enteritidis with environmental drag swab sampling once 
per year per flock[.]; 
 (iii)  [A]a plan on how eggs will be handled if a Salmonella 
[Enteriditis]enteritidis positive test is identified[.]; 
 (iv)  [B]basic bio-security protocols for the chicken 
houses[.]; and 
 (v)  [R]records shall be kept and monitored on a regular 
basis[in regards to ]for newly received chicks. 
 (b)  Small egg [P]producers must immediately report 
positive Salmonella and Avian Influenza tests to the office of the 
State Veterinarian. 
 (c)  Small egg [P]producers may have their flocks 
participate in the NPIP program by contacting the [Utah Department 
of Agriculture and Food]department, Division of Animal Industry. 
 ([6]4)  [EGG HANDLING]Egg handling. 
 (a)  Hands must be thoroughly washed before starting egg 
handling and during egg handling to minimize cross-contamination 
of cleaned eggs. 
 (b)  Maintain clean and dry nest boxes, change nest material 
as needed to reduce dirty eggs. Gather eggs at least once daily. 
 (c)  Clean eggs as needed soon after collecting. 
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 (i)  [(]Cleaning eggs refrigerated below 55 degrees F may 
cause shells to crack or check.[)] 
 (ii)  Minimal cleaning protects the natural protective 
covering on the shell. 
 (iii)  Acceptable egg cleaning methods include: 
 ([i]A)  dry cleaning by lightly sanding the stains or minimal 
dirty areas with sand paper; 
 ([ii]B)  using potable water in a hand spray bottle and 
immediately wiping dry with a single service paper towel[, and/or]; 
or 
 ([iii]C)  briefly rinsing with running water spray and 
immediately wiping dry with a single service paper towel. The wash 
water shall be [a minimum of]at least 90 degrees F, which is warm to 
the touch, and shall be at least [twenty]20 degrees warmer than the 
temperature of the eggs to be washed. 
 (d)  Unacceptable cleaning methods include[:] submerging 
shell eggs in water or any other solution or using cleaners that are not 
food grade and approved for shell egg cleaning. The porous egg shell 
is not impervious to odors, chemicals, and off flavors. 
 (e)  Refrigerate the cleaned eggs immediately to 45 degrees 
F or less. 
 (i)  The cleaned eggs can be packaged later. 
 (ii)  Store packaged [at ]eggs at 45 degrees F or less. 
 ([7]5)  [PACKAGING AND LABELING]Packaging and 
labeling. 
 (a)  Small egg producers shall [U]use clean new packaging[ 
(pulp cartons, etc.)]. Packaging may be [purchased]bought online, 
through group buying, small farm co-operatives, [etc]or similar 
methods. 
 (b)  Small egg producers shall use [S]self-adhesive 
attractive labels[ may be easily produced on a computer]. The labels 
[must]shall include: 
 (i)  UDAF [Permit L]license number[.]; 
 (ii)  [C]common name of the food[.]; 
 (iii)  [Q]quantity, the number of eggs. 
 (iv)  [N]name and [A]address of the egg producer; 
 (v)  [T]the statement "Keep Refrigerated"; and 
 (vi)  [T]the statement "SAFE HANDLING 
INSTRUCTIONS: To prevent illness from bacteria: Keep eggs 
refrigerated, cook eggs until yolks are firm, and cook foods 
containing eggs thoroughly." 
 ([vii]c)  Domesticated chicken hen eggs are subject to 
[G]grading. Quality designations and sizing weight ranges are 
determined by candling and weighing[. (] in accordance with the 
USDA Egg Grading Manual[)]. 
 ([viii]d)  If the eggs are ungraded and not weighed, the 
packages[/], cartons, or both shall not be labeled with a grade or size. 
 ([ix]e)  The labels may include [A]a [P]pull [D]date or 
[B]best [B]by date[ may be stated]. 
 (i)  [It]The date may be hand written on the end of the 
carton or in a conspicuous location that is clearly discernible.[ Shell 
eggs are a perishable food item.] 
 (ii)  The [P]pull [D]date [must]shall first show the month 
then the day of the month[ (e.g. Jun 14 or 06 14)]. Recommended 
dates are 30 days after production, and not [to exceed]more than 45 
days after production. 
 ([8]6)  [DISTRIBUTION]Distribution. 
 Small egg producers shall [T]transport refrigerated egg 
packages[/], cartons, or both in an easily cleanable, portable cooler 
with frozen gel packs to maintain 45 degrees F or less temperature 
until eggs are distributed to retail outlet or sold to consumers. 

[ (9)  EXEMPTIONS 
 Producer packer with 3,000 or more birds who is registered 
with USDA under the Egg Products Inspection Act.] 
 ([10]7)  [INSPECTION]Inspection. 
 [All Egg Handlers and Producer Packers are]Each small 
egg producer is subject to [I]inspections by the [Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food]department. 
 
KEY:  food inspections, eggs, chickens 
Date of Last Change:  [May 8, 2014]2022 
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TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
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54688 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Consumer Protection 
Building: Heber Wells Bldg 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146704 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6704 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Daniel Larsen 801-

530-
6145 

dblarsen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R152-23.  Health Spa Services Protection Act Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This amendment is being submitted as a result of H.B. 
436, passed in the 2022 General Session.  The purpose of 
the amendment is to ensure this rule reflects changes 
made to whether a health spa must maintain a surety as a 
result of offering a health spa service.  If the health spa is 
required to maintain a surety, the amendment establishes 
how the amount of the surety is calculated. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
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This amendment alters the process for establishing 
whether a health spa must maintain a surety in connection 
with its offer of health spa service.  The amendment 
reflects that certain contracts for health spa services may 
be excluded from calculation when determining the 
amount of any surety a health spa must maintain.  This 
amendment also makes includes changes to conform this 
rule to Utah Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on state 
government revenues or expenditures.  Any fiscal impact 
on state government was addressed in the Fiscal Note to 
H.B. 436 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on local 
governments’ revenues or expenditures because it does 
not create any new requirement local government must 
follow, nor does it otherwise constrain local government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on small 
businesses because it does not impose requirements 
upon small businesses beyond what is required by Title 
13, Chapter 23, Health Spa Services Protection Act.  Any 
fiscal impact on small businesses was addressed by the 
Fiscal Note to H.B. 436 (2022). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on non-
small businesses because it does not impose 
requirements upon non-small businesses beyond what is 
required by Title 13, Chapter 23.  Any fiscal impact on non-
small businesses was addressed by the Fiscal Note to 
H.B. 436 (2022). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because it 
does not impose requirements upon them beyond what is 
required by Title 13, Chapter 23. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

This rule does not impose compliance costs upon affected 
persons beyond what is required by Title 13, Chapter 23, 
and what was contemplated in the Fiscal Note to H.B. 436 
(2022). 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The Division of Consumer Protection (Division) proposes 
amendments to update Rule R152-23.  This amendment 
is being submitted to comport this rule to H.B. 436 (2022).  
The purpose of the amendment is to ensure that this rule 
reflects changes made to the calculation of the health spa 
surety.  Also, the Division has made formatting changes 
throughout this rule to conform this rule to the Office of 
Administrative Rules' requirements in accordance with 
Executive Orders No. 2021-1 and 2021-12. 
 
The Division does not foresee any impact on small 
businesses or non-small businesses beyond the fiscal 
note to H.B. 436 (2022).  Any costs are either inestimable, 
or there is no fiscal impact.  Margaret Busse, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
13-2-5(1) 

Subsections 
13-23-5(1)(a)(iv) 
(A) through (C) 

Subsection 
13-23-5(1)(h) 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Margaret Busse, 
Executive Director 

Date: 06/06/2022 

 
R152.  Commerce, Consumer Protection. 
R152-23.  Health Spa Services Protection Act Rule. 
R152-23-1.  Purpose. 
 [(1)  ]The purpose of this rule is to: 
 [(a)](1)  establish the process for: 
 [(i)](a)  initial registration of a health spa facility; 
 [(ii)](b)  renewal of a health spa facility registration; 
 [(iii)](c)  establishing a health spa facility surety 
exemption; 
 (d)  establishing a contract for health spa services should be 
excluded from surety calculation; and 
 [(iv)](e)  notifying the division of any change to an 
applicant's registration information.[; and] 
 [(b)](2)  aid the division's administration and enforcement 
of Title 13, Chapter 23, Health Spa Services Protection Act. 

R152-23-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated in accordance with Subsections 
13-2-5(1), 13-23-5(1)(a)(iv)(A) through (C), and 13-23-5(1)(h). 
 
R152-23-3.  Definitions. 
 [(1)  ]As used in Subsection 13-23-5(1)(a)(i), "operate" 
means: 
 [(a)](1)  to offer for sale or advertise a health spa service; 
or 
 [(b)](2)  to enter a contract for any health spa service. 
 
R152-23-4.  Application for Registration or Renewal of 
Registration. 
 [(1)  ]An application for registration or renewal of 
registration of a health spa facility shall be submitted on a form 
approved by the division, and include: 
 [(a)](1)  the applicant's: 
 [(i)](a)  name, and any alternate name that it uses to do 
business as a health spa facility; 
 [(ii)](b)  street address; 
 [(iii)](c)  mailing address; 
 [(iv)](d)  telephone number, and if applicable, facsimile 
number; 
 [(v)](e)  email address; 
 [(vi)](f)  web address, if it maintains a website; 
 [(b)](2)  a person designated by the applicant to be its 
contact person with whom the division will communicate regarding 
the application, and that person's: 
 [(i)](a)  name; 
 [(ii)](b)  street address; 
 [(iii)](c)  mailing address; 
 [(iv)](d)  telephone number; 
 [(v)](e)  email address; 
 [(c)](3)  the applicant's registered agent for service of 
process in the state, and the registered agent's: 
 [(i)](a)  name; 
 [(ii)](b)  street address; 
 [(iii)](c)  mailing address; and 
 [(iv)](d)  telephone number; 
 [(d)](4)  a copy of any contract: 
 [(i)](a)  used by the applicant in connection with the sale of 
a health spa service; 
 [(ii)](b)  that is drafted in accordance with Title 13, Chapter 
23, Health Spa Services Protection Act; 
 [(e)](5)  the number of unexpired contracts for a health spa 
service that: 
 [(i)](a)  designate the health spa facility as a consumer's 
primary location; or 
 [(ii)](b)  for a health spa facility's first year of registration, 
the number of contracts for a health spa service designating the health 
spa facility as a consumer's primary location the applicant reasonably 
expects to execute; 
 [(f)](6)  a copy of the applicant's: 
 [(i)](a)  bond, letter of credit, or certificate of deposit 
obtained in accordance with Subsection 13-23-5(2) and on a form 
approved by the division; or 
 [(ii)](b)  a surety exemption claim [form ]completed in 
accordance with Section R152-23-5; 
 [(g)](7)  a copy of the applicant's liability insurance policy, 
in accordance with Subsections 13-23-5(1)(g)(i) and (ii); 
 [(h)](8)  a list of each health spa service or combination of 
health spa services offered by the applicant at the health spa facility, 
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including the price and duration of each service or combination of 
services; and 
 [(i)](9)  the application fee and any applicable late fee. 
 
R152-23-5.  Surety Exemption Process. 
 [(1)  ]A health spa that claims a health spa facility or a 
health spa facility's contract is exempt[exemption] from Subsections 
13-23-5(2) through (5) shall submit a claim of exemption in the form 
approved by the division that shall include: 
[ (a)  the applicant's: 
 (i)  name, and any alternate name that it uses to do business 
as a health spa; 
 (ii)  street address; 
 (iii)  mailing address; 
 (iv)  telephone number, and if applicable, facsimile 
number; and 
 (v)  email address;] 
 [(b)](1)  a statement that identifies the exemption claimed 
in accordance with Subsections 13-23-6(1)(a) through (e);[ and] 
 (2)  the number of unexpired contracts the health spa claims 
should be excluded from surety calculation in accordance with 
Subsection 13-23-6(3); and 
 [(c)](3)  any information necessary to prove the health spa 
facility or the health spa facility's contract qualifies for a claimed 
exemption, in accordance with Subsection 13-23-6(2). 
 
R152-23-6.  Notification of Closure, Relocation, or Change to 
Information Required by Registration Application. 
 (1)  A notification made to the division in accordance with 
Subsection 13-23-5(1)(h) shall be in writing. 
 (2)  A notification made to the division in accordance with 
Subsection 13-23-5(7) shall be in writing. 
 
R152-23-7.  Contract for Health Spa Services. 
 A statement made in accordance with Subsection 13-23-
3(6)(a) shall be capitalized and in bold text that is no smaller than 12-
point size. 
 
KEY:  consumer protection, health spas 
Date of Last Change:  2022[December 30, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 24, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  13-2-5(1); 
13-23-5(1)(a)(iv)(A) through (C); 13-23-5(1)(h) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R152-32a Filing ID 
54691 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Consumer Protection 
Building: Heber Wells Bldg 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146704 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6704 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Blake Young 801-

530-
6606 

bdyoung@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R152-32a.  Pawnshop, Secondhand Merchandise 
Transaction Information Act Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed as a result of H.B. 38, passed 
in the 2022 General Session, codified as Title 13, Chapter 
32a, Pawnshop, Secondhand Merchandise, and Catalytic 
Converter Transaction Information Act (Act).  The purpose 
of this rule change to correct references within this rule to 
reflect changes in the Act, to update the title of the Act 
where it is referenced in this rule, and to indicate the types 
of information capable of being electronically submitted to 
the central database with respect to a catalytic converter 
purchase. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment changes the title of this rule to mirror the 
new title of the statute, and makes nonsubstantive 
changes to the numbering of certain sections to reflect the 
Utah Rulewriting Manual guidance.  The change also 
indicates the types of information capable of being 
electronically submitted to the central database with 
respect to a catalytic converter purchase. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule is anticipated to have no fiscal impact on the state 
budget beyond the impact identified in the Fiscal Note to 
H.B. 38 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on local 
governments because it does not impose requirements 
upon local governments beyond what is required by Title 
13, Chapter 32a.  Any fiscal impact on local government 
was addressed in the Fiscal Note to H.B. 38 (2022). 
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C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on small 
businesses because it does not impose requirements 
upon small businesses beyond what is required by Title 
13, Chapter 32a.  Any fiscal impact on small businesses 
was addressed in the Fiscal Note to H.B. 38 (2022). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on non-
small businesses because it does not impose 
requirements upon non-small businesses beyond what is 
required by Title 13, Chapter 32a.  Any fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses was addressed in the Fiscal Note to 
H.B. 38 (2022). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities because 
it does not impose requirements upon persons other than 
small businesses beyond what is required by Title 13, 
Chapter 32a. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule does not impose compliance costs upon affected 
persons beyond what is required by Title 13, Chapter 32a.  
Any fiscal impact was addressed in the Fiscal Note to H.B. 
38 (2022). 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The Division of Consumer Protection (Division) proposes 
amendments to update Rule R152-31a.  This amendment 
is being submitted to comport this rule to H.B. 38 (2022).  
The purpose of the amendment is to change the title to 
include the recent changes.  Also, there are formatting 
changes throughout this rule to conform this rule to the 
Office of Administrative Rules' requirements in accordance 
with Executive Order No. 2021-1 and 2021-12. 
 
The Division does not foresee any foreseeable impact on 
small businesses beyond the fiscal note to H.B. 38 (2022).  
Also, the other amendments are made to make this rule 
comport to the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 

included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
13-2-5(1) 

Subsection 
13-32a-104(8) 

Subsection 
13-32a-104.5(6) 

Subsection 
13-32a-104.6(3) 

Subsection 
13-32a-106(1)(b) 

Subsection 
13-32a-104.7(5) 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
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agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Blake Young, 
Commerce 
Analyst 

Date: 06/15/2022 

 
R152.  Commerce, Consumer Protection. 
R152-32a.  Pawnshop, [and ]Secondhand Merchandise, and 
Catalytic Converter Transaction Information Act Rule. 
R152-32a-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to specify the information 
capable of being transmitted electronically to the central database, 
and to aid the division's administration and enforcement of Title 13, 
Chapter 32a, Pawnshop, [and ]Secondhand Merchandise, and 
Catalytic Converter Transaction Information Act. 
 
R152-32a-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is enacted in accordance with Subsections 13-2-
5(1), 13-32a-104[(7)](8), 13-32a-104.5(6), 13-32a-104.6(3), [and 
]13-32a-106(1)(b)[.], and 13-32a-104.7(5). 
 
R152-32a-3.  Definitions. 
 [(1)  ]"Electronically extract" means to obtain an 
identifying mark described by Subsection 13-32a-104(1)(h) using an 
electronic system that: 
 [(a)](1)  does not alter the identifying mark; 
 [(b)](2)  does not allow the identifying mark to be altered 
by a person after it is obtained by the electronic system; and 
 [(c)](3)  accurately documents the identifying mark on the 
ticket. 
 
R152-32a-4.  Information Capable of Being Transmitted 
Electronically in Accordance with Subsection 13-32a-106(1)(a). 
 [(1)  ]The following information is capable of being 
transmitted electronically to the central database: 
 [(a)](1)  [all]any information described by: 
 [(i)](a)  Subsections 13-32a-104(1)(a) through 13-32a-
104(1)(c); 
 [(ii)](b)  Subsections 13-32a-104(1)(e)(i) and (ii); 
 [(iii)](c)  Subsection 13-32a-104(1)(f); 
 [(iv)](d)  Subsections 13-32a-104(1)(h)(i) and (ii); 
 [(v)](e)  Subsections 13-32a-104.5(2)(a) through 13-32a-
104.5(2)(c)(ii); 
 [(vi)](f)  Subsection 13-32a-104.5(2)(d); 
 [(vii)](g)  Subsections 13-32a-104.5(2)(f)(i) through 13-
32a-104.5(2)(f)(vi); 

 [(viii)](h)  Subsections 13-32a-104.5(3)(a) through 13-32a-
104.5(3)(b)(vi); 
 [(ix)](i)  Subsection 13-32a-104.5(4)(a); 
 [(x)](j)  Subsections 13-32a-104.5(4)(d) through 13-32a-
104.5(4)(f); 
 [(xi)](k)  Subsections 13-32a-104.5(4)(h) and (i)[; and]; 
 [(xii)](l)  Subsections 13-32a-104.6(1)(a) through 13-32a-
104.6(1)(g)[.]; 
 (m)  Subsections 13-32a-104.7(2)(a) through 13-32a-
104.7(2)(b)(i)(C); 
 (n)  Subsection 13-32a-104.7(2)(b)(ii); and 
 (o)  Subsections 13-32a-104.7(2)(c) through 13-32a-
104.7(2)(e)(iv). 
 [(b)](2)  an individual's electronic legible fingerprint, in 
accordance with Subsections 13-32a-104(1)(e)(iv)(A), 13-32a-
104.5(2)(c)(iv), [and ]13-32a-104.6(1)(v), and 13-32a-
104.7(2)(b)(iv); and 
 [(c)](3)  any color digital photograph required by 
Subsection 13-32a-104[(8)](9)(b), 13-32a-104.7(2)(b)(iii), and 13-
32a-104.7(2)(f). 
 
R152-32a-5.  Electronic Extraction of an Identifying Mark from 
a Wireless Communication Device. 
 (1)  A pawn or secondhand business is deemed to have 
obtained a color digital photograph of an identifying mark in 
accordance with Subsection 13-32a-104[(8)](9)(b)(ii)(A) if the pawn 
or secondhand business electronically extracts the identifying mark 
from a wireless communication device. 
 (2)  Nothing in this rule relieves a pawn or secondhand 
business from obtaining a color digital photograph of any identifying 
mark that is not electronically extracted from a wireless 
communication device. 
 
R152-32a-6.  Fingerprint Legibility Standards and Criteria. 
 (1)  This rule incorporates by reference: 
 (a)  Electronic Biometric Transmission Specification, 
version 11.0, Appendix F: Image Quality Specifications, 
promulgated by the United States Department of Justice, Federal 
Bureau of Investigation, Criminal Justice Information Services 
Division, April 16, 2021 (EBTS 11.0 Appendix F); and 
 (b)  Personal Identity Verification Image Quality 
Specifications for Single Finger Capture Devices, Federal Bureau of 
Investigation Criminal Justice Information Services Division 
Biometric Specifications, July 10, 2006 (PIV-071006). 
 (2)  A tangible fingerprint is legible if the fingerprint: 
 (a)  captures the complete print of an individual's right 
index finger pressed flat, or other finger if the right index finger is 
unavailable; 
 (b)  is not smudged or otherwise obscured; and 
 (c)  is made using ink and paper that contrast sufficiently to 
make the fingerprint's details clearly visible. 
 (3)  An electronic fingerprint is legible if the fingerprint: 
 (a)  captures the complete print of an individual's right 
index finger pressed flat, or other finger if the right index finger is 
unavailable; and 
 (b)  is made using a device that satisfies standards 
established by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, including: 
 (i)  EBTS 11.0 Appendix F; or 
 (ii)  PIV-071006. 
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KEY:  pawnshops, secondhand merchandise dealers, consumer 
protection, central database 
Date of Last Change:  2022[December 23, 2021] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  13-2-5(1); 
13-32a-104(7); 13-32a-104.5(6); 13-32a-104.6(3); 13-32a-
104.7(5); 13-32a-106(1)(b) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R162-2g Filing ID 
54608 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Real Estate 
Room no.: 2nd Floor 
Building: Heber M. Wells Bldg 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146711 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6711 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Justin Barney 801-

530-
6603 

Justinbarney@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R162-2g.  Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and 
Certification Administrative Rules 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
One purpose of the proposed rule amendment is to 
implement the Governor's policy to reduce barriers to 
obtain a registration, license, or certification to practice in 
the appraisal industry and to reduce unnecessary 
regulation.  These changes include the elimination of 
certain fees and alternative means for an appraiser to 
obtain experience, pre-license education, and continuing 
education.  These changes will save time and expense to 
appraisers and education providers.  They will also save 
time for Division of Real Estate (Division) staff, members 
of the Appraiser Experience Review Committee and the 
Appraiser Licensing ad Certification Board. 
 
Another purpose is to make corrections and changes to 
the rule including technical and stylistic changes as 

described in the Rulewriting Manual published by the Utah 
Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The proposed rule amendment: 
 
a. provides an alternative means for an appraiser applicant 
or an appraiser to acquire some or all of the required 
experience to qualify for registration, licensure, or 
certification by successfully completing an Appraiser 
Qualifications Board (AQB) approved practical application 
course of simulated experience training; 
 
b. provides virtual-live education as an alternative to other 
approved forms of pre-licensing education and continuing 
education delivery methods; 
 
c. eliminates outdated reference dates; 
 
d. eliminates the processing fee for change forms; 
 
e. eliminates the requirement for in-class instruction 
experience for an individual seeking certification as a pre-
licensing education instructor; 
 
f. eliminates a reference to moral character; 
 
g. reformats the tables in the appendices and adds 
additional types of experience approved for appraisers in 
the General Experience Table in Appendix 2; and 
 
h. makes corrections specified in the Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Division has the staff and budget in place to 
administer this proposed rule amendment.  The 
substantive changes in the proposed amendment either 
eliminate requirements for appraisers or provide 
alternatives to current education and experience 
requirements.  Other proposed changes are technical or 
stylistic in nature.  None of the proposed changes is 
expected to impact the state's budget by either increasing 
costs or generating savings.  The elimination of the 
processing fee in Section R162-2g-306b will likewise have 
no impact on the state's budget as the Division has not 
charged this fee for a number of years, according to the 
memory of Division employees.  After conducting a 
thorough analysis, it was determined that the proposed 
rule amendment will not result in any cost or savings to the 
state budget. 
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B)  Local governments: 

Local governments are not required to comply with or 
enforce the Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and 
Certification Rules.  After conducting a thorough analysis, 
it was determined that the proposed rule amendment will 
not result in a fiscal impact to local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed amendments do not create new obligations 
for small businesses nor do they increase the cost 
associated with any existing obligation.  After conducting a 
thorough analysis, it was determined that the proposed 
rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to small 
businesses.  There is no practical way to determine with 
precision the amount of savings that will result from these 
amendments. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed amendments do not create new obligations 
for non-small businesses nor do they increase the cost 
associated with any existing obligation.  After conducting a 
thorough analysis, it was determined that the proposed 
rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to non-
small businesses.  There is no practical way to determine 
with precision the amount of savings that will result from 
these amendments. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that the proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The proposed rule amendment would allow practical 
application courses of simulated experience training and 
virtual-live education as alternatives to current experience 
and education requirements.  This could result in a fiscal 
impact to affected persons.  These proposed changes 
would provide alternatives to appraiser applicants.  
However, it is not possible to determine the amount of the 
financial impact of these alternatives.  Practical courses of 
simulated experience training are in the development 
stage by national education providers but the AQB has not 
yet approved any courses and the cost of these courses to 
an appraiser or an appraiser applicant has not been 
established.  The Division is not able to determine how 
many applicants will chose this alternative experience 
when it becomes available or what the cost would be as 
compared to the costs associated with the current 

experience process with a designated supervisor 
providing actual appraiser experience. 
 
The Division estimates that a large number of appraiser 
applicants and appraisers will chose the option of virtual-
live education.  This form of education was temporarily 
approved as an alternative during the Covid-19 pandemic.  
Some providers provide free education as a promotion of 
their services.  Some providers charge a fee for their 
courses, whether traditional classroom courses or virtual-
live classes.  Appraiser applicants and appraisers may 
choose between providers.  The choice involves decisions 
including course content, cost, value, and convenience. 
 
The proposed rule does not mandate more or less 
education or experience.  Rather, it provides another 
option available for affected persons. 
 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that the proposed rule amendment will not result in any 
cost or savings to affected persons or the costs or savings 
cannot be determined with precision. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
I have reviewed the proposed filing for the above-
referenced rule and considered the fiscal impact that the 
rule may have on businesses.  Margaret Busse, Executive 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 61-2g-201 Section 61-2g-205 Section 61-2g-302 
Section 61-2g-306 Section 61-2g-306 Section 61-2g-308 
Section 61-2g-311 Section 61-2g-313 Section 61-2g-314 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8.  A)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the 
following title of materials incorporated by references: 
 First Incorporation 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

2020-2021 Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice  
(USPAP) 

Publisher The Appraisal Foundation 

Date Issued April 5, 2019 

Issue, or version USPAP 2020-2021 Edition (extended 
through December 31, 2022) 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 

must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jonathan Stewart, 
Director 
 

Date: 05/09/2022 

 
R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-2g.  Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification 
Administrative Rules. 
R162-2g-101.  Authority. 
 (1)  The authority to promulgate rules governing the 
appraisal industry is granted by Section 61-2g-201[(2)(h)]. 
 (2)  The authority to establish and collect fees is granted by 
Section 61-2g-202[(1)]. 
 (3)  The authority to exempt specific persons from 
complying with USPAP standards is granted by Section 61-2g-
205[(5)(c)] within certain limitations as imposed by Section 61-2g-
403[(1)(c)]. 
 
R162-2g-102.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Affiliation" means an ongoing business association: 
 (a)  between: 
 (i)  two individuals registered, licensed, or certified under 
Title 61, Chapter 2g, Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and 
Certification Act[Section 61-2g]; or 
 (ii)  an individual registered, licensed, or certified under 
Title 61, Chapter 2g, Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and 
Certification Act[Section 61-2g] and: 
 (A)  an appraisal entity; or 
 (B)  a government agency; 
 (b)  for [the purpose of ]providing an appraisal service; and 
 (c)  regardless of whether an employment relationship 
exists between the parties. 
 (2)  The acronym "AQB" stands for the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation. 
 (3)  "Board" means the Utah Real Estate Appraiser 
Licensing and Certification Board. 
 (4)  "Business day" means a day other than: 
 (a)  a Saturday; 
 (b)  a Sunday; or 
 (c)  a federal or state holiday. 
 (5)  The acronym "CAMA" stands for Computer Assisted 
Mass Appraisal. 
 (6)  "Classification" means the type of license or 
certification held by an appraiser. 
 (7)  "Day" means calendar day unless specified as "business 
day." 
 (8)  "Deferral" means the postponement or delay for 
completion of a continuing education requirement due to active 
military duty or due to the impacts of a state- or federally-declared 
disaster as specified in Section R162-2g-306a. 
 (9)  "Desk review" means review of an appraisal: 
 (a)  including verification of the data; but 
 (b)  not including a physical inspection of the property. 
 (10)  "Distance education" means an education process 
based on the geographical separation of student and instructor, 
including: 
 (a)  computer conferencing; 
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 (b)  satellite teleconferencing; 
 (c)  interactive audio; 
 (d)  interactive computer software; 
 (e)  Internet-based instruction; and 
 (f)  other interactive online courses. 
 (11)  "Division" means the Division of Real Estate of the 
Department of Commerce. 
 (12)  "Draft report" means an appraisal report that is 
distributed before it is[prior to being] completed, as provided in 
Subsection R162-2g-502b(1). 
 (13)  "Entity" means: 
 (a)  a corporation; 
 (b)  a partnership; 
 (c)  a sole proprietorship; 
 (d)  a limited liability company; 
 (e)  another business entity; or 
 (f)  a subsidiary or unit of an entity described in this 
[S]subsection[ (13)]. 
 (14)  "Field review" means review of an appraisal, 
including: 
 (a)  a physical inspection of the property; and 
 (b)  verification of the data. 
 (15)  "Non-certified education" means a continuing 
education course offered outside of Utah, but for which a licensee 
may apply for credit pursuant to Subsection R162-2g-307d(4). 
 (16)  The acronym "PAREA" stands for Practical 
Applications of Real Estate Appraisal approved by the AQB as an 
alternative to the supervisor trainee model for gaining appraisal 
experience. 
 (17)[(16)]  "Person" means an individual or an entity. 
 (18)[(17)]  "Reinstatement" means renewing a license or 
certification for an additional period after its expiration date has 
passed, but before[prior to] 12 months after the expiration date. 
 (19)[(18)]  The acronym "RELMS" stands for Real Estate 
Licensing and Management System, which is the online database 
through which individuals registered, licensed, or certified under 
these rules must submit certain information to the division. 
 (20)[(19)]  "Renewal" means reissuing a license or 
certification upon its expiration for an additional period. 
 (21)[(20)]  "School" means: 
 (a)  an accredited college, university, junior college, or 
community college; 
 (b)  any state or federal agency or commission; 
 (c)  a nationally recognized real estate appraisal or real 
estate related organization, society, institute, or association; or 
 (d)  any school or organization approved by the board. 
 (22)[(21)]  "School director" means an authorized 
individual in charge of the educational program at a school. 
 (23)[(22)]  "Supervisory Appraiser" means a state-certified 
residential appraiser or a state-certified[state certified] general 
appraiser that directly supervises a trainee. 
 (24)[(23)]  "Trainee" means a person who is working under 
the direct supervision of a state-certified residential appraiser or a 
state-certified general appraiser to earn experience hours for 
licensure, and who meets the requirements of S[ubs]ection R162-2g-
302. 
 (25)[(24)]  "Transaction value" means: 
 (a)  for loans or other extensions of credit, the amount of 
the loan or extension of credit; 
 (b)  for sales, leases, purchases, and investments in, or 
exchanges of, real property, the market value of the real property 
interest involved; and 

 (c)  for the pooling of loans or interests in real property for 
resale or purchase, the amount of the loan or market value of the real 
property calculated with respect to each such loan or interest in real 
property. 
 (26)[(25)]  The acronym "USPAP" stands for the 2020-
2021 edition [current edition ]of the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice published by the Appraisal 
Foundation, effective through December 31, 2022.  This rule 
incorporates by reference the 2020-2021 edition of USPAP. 
 (27)  "Virtual-live education" also described as 
synchronous education, means education that is presented in a live, 
video conferencing format, using interactive instructional methods 
where instructor and student may be separated by distance but not by 
time.  Approved courses may include either pre-licensing or 
continuing education courses.  An instructor of a virtual-live course 
can interact, and does interact with students in real time. 
 
R162-2g-302.  Application for Trainee Registration. 
 (1)  Registration required. 
 (a)  Except for an individual who successfully completes 
an AQB-approved Licensed Residential PAREA module, an[An] 
individual who intends to obtain a license to practice as a state-
licensed appraiser shall first register with the division as a trainee.  
An individual who successfully completes an AQB-approved 
Licensed Residential PAREA module need not register as a trainee 
before making application to sit for the state-licensed appraiser exam. 
 (b)  The division and the board shall not award or recognize 
experience hours toward licensure for any appraisal work that is 
performed by an individual during a period[ of time] when the 
individual is not registered as a trainee. 
 (2)  Character.  An individual registering with the division 
as a trainee shall evidence honesty, integrity, and truthfulness. 
 (a)  A trainee applicant shall be denied registration for: 
 (i)  a felony that resulted in: 
 (A)  a conviction occurring within five years of the date of 
application; or 
 (B)  a jail or prison release date falling within five years of 
the date of application; or 
 (ii)  a misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, 
theft, or dishonesty that resulted in: 
 (A)  a conviction occurring within three years of the date 
of application; or 
 (B)  a jail or prison release date falling within three years 
of the date of application. 
 (b)  A trainee applicant may be denied registration upon 
consideration of the following: 
 (i)  criminal convictions and pleas entered at any time 
before[prior to] the date of application; 
 (ii)  the circumstances that led to any criminal convictions 
or pleas under consideration; 
 (iii)  past acts related to honesty[ or moral character], with 
particular consideration given to any such acts involving the 
appraisal business; 
 (iv)  dishonest conduct that would be grounds under Utah 
law for sanctioning an existing licensee; 
 (v)  civil judgments in lawsuits brought on grounds of 
fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit; 
 (vi)  court findings of fraudulent or deceitful activity in 
civil lawsuits; 
 (vii)  evidence of non-compliance with court orders or 
conditions of sentencing; 
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 (viii)  evidence of non-compliance with terms of a 
probation agreement, plea in abeyance, or diversion agreement; and 
 (ix)  failure to pay taxes or child support obligations. 
 (3)  [Competency.  ]An individual registering with the 
division as a trainee shall evidence competency. In evaluating an 
applicant for competency, the division and board may consider any 
evidence, including the following: 
 (a)  civil judgments, with particular consideration given to 
any such judgments involving the appraisal business; 
 (b)  failure to satisfy a civil judgment that has not been 
discharged in bankruptcy; 
 (c)  the extent and quality of the applicant's training and 
education in appraisal; 
 (d)  the extent of the applicant's knowledge of the Utah Real 
Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Act; 
 (e)  evidence of disregard for licensing laws; 
 (f)  evidence of drug or alcohol dependency; and 
 (g)  the amount of time that has passed since any incident 
under consideration. 
 (4)  Pre-licensing education. 
 (a)  Within the five-year period preceding the date of 
application, an applicant shall successfully complete 81 [75 
classroom ]hours: 
 (i)  approved by the AQB; and 
 (ii)(A)  certified by the division pursuant to Subsections 
R162-2g-307c(1) through [-](3); or 
 (B)  not required to be certified by the division pursuant to 
Subsection R162-2g-307c(6). 
 (b)  The 81[75] hours of required education shall include: 
 (i)  30 hours of appraisal principles; 
 (ii)  30 hours of appraisal procedures;[ and] 
 (iii)  the 15-hour National USPAP course, or its equivalent; 
and 
 (iv)  the six-hour Utah appraiser supervisor and trainee 
course. 
 (c)  The15-hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent 
may not be accepted by the division as qualifying education unless it 
is: 
 (i)  taught by an instructor who: 
 (A)  is a state-certified residential or state-certified general 
appraiser; and 
 (B)  has been certified by the AQB; or 
 (ii)  approved as a distance education course by the AQB 
and International Distance Education Certification Center. 
 (d)  A person who applies for trainee registration [on or 
after January 1, 2015 ]shall have successfully completed the 
division[-] approved Supervisory Appraiser and Appraiser Trainee 
Course: 
 (i)  as taught by a division-approved instructor; and 
 (ii)  within the two-year period preceding the date of 
application. 
 (e)  [Examination. ]An applicant shall evidence having 
passed the final examination in required [all ]pre-licensing courses. 
 (5)  [Application to the division. ]An applicant shall submit 
the following to the division: 
 (a)  a completed application as provided by the division; 
 (b)  course completion certificates for the 75 hours of pre-
licensing education; 
 (c)  a course completion certificate for the six-hour Utah 
appraiser supervisor and trainee course; 
 (d)[(c)](i)  two fingerprint cards in a form acceptable to the 
division; or 

 (ii)  evidence that the applicant's fingerprints have been 
successfully scanned at a testing center; 
 (e)[(d)]  the[all] court documents related to any past 
criminal proceeding; 
 (f)[(e)]  complete documentation of any sanction taken 
against any license in any jurisdiction; 
 (g)[(f)]  a signed letter of waiver authorizing the division 
to: 
 (i)  obtain the fingerprints of the applicant; 
 (ii)  review past and present employment records; 
 (iii)  review education records; and 
 (iv)  conduct a criminal background check; 
 (h)[(g)]  the fee for the criminal background check; 
 (i)[(h)]  the name of the state-certified appraisers[(s)] with 
whom the trainee is affiliated; 
 (j)[(i)]  the name and business address of any appraisal 
entity or government agency with which the trainee is affiliated; and 
 (k)[(j)]  the nonrefundable application fee. 
 (6)  [Affiliation with certified appraiser(s). ]A trainee 
applicant [Applicants ]shall affiliate with at least one supervising 
certified appraiser and evidence that affiliation by: 
 (a)  identifying each supervising certified appraiser on a 
form supplied by the division; and 
 (b)  obtaining each supervising certified appraiser's 
signature on the application. 
 
R162-2g-304a.  Application to Sit for the State-Licensed 
Appraiser Exam. 
 (1)  An applicant to sit for the state-licensed appraiser exam 
shall provide the following to the division: 
 (a)  an application signed by the applicant and by each 
supervising certified appraiser with whom the applicant is affiliated; 
 (b)  evidence of having successfully completed a state-
licensed appraiser pre-licensing required core curriculum of 156 
hours of qualifying education as described in Appendix 4, Table 1 
and that has been certified by the division pursuant to Section R162-
2g-307c; 
 (c)  evidence of having completed the required experience; 
and 
 (d)  a nonrefundable application fee. 
 (2) Evidence of the experience required in Subsection 
(1)(c) shall include: 
 (a)  the successful completion of an AQB-approved 
PAREA Licensed Residential Module; or 
 (b)  division-approved experience forms documenting the 
total number of experience hours completed by the applicant from 
the date of trainee registration to the date of application for licensure 
under the supervision of one or more certified appraisers with whom 
the trainee is affiliated; and 
 (c)  at least 1,000 hours of appraisal experience; 
 (i)  completed pursuant to Section R162-2g-304d; 
 (ii)  completed during the time when the applicant was 
registered with the division as a trainee; and 
 (iii)  accrued in no fewer than: 
 (A)  six months for applicants submitting experience 
primarily from Appendices 1 and 2; or 
 (B) 12 months for applicants submitting experience 
primarily from Appendix 3. 
[ (a)  completed experience forms, as required by the 
division: 
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 (i)  documenting all experience hours completed by the 
applicant from the date of trainee registration to the date of 
application for licensure; and 
 (ii)  evidencing at least 1,000 hours of appraisal experience: 
 (A)  pursuant to Subsection R162-2g-304d; 
 (B)  completed during the time when the applicant was 
registered with the division as a trainee; and 
 (C)  accrued in no fewer than: 
 (I)  6 months for applicants submitting experience 
primarily from Appendices 1 and 2, or 
 (II)  12 months for applicants submitting experience 
primarily from appendix 3; 
 (b)  evidence of having successfully completed a state-
licensed appraiser pre-licensing required core curriculum as 
described in Appendix 4, Table 1 and that has been certified by the 
division pursuant to Subsection R162-2g-307c; and 
 (c)  a nonrefundable application fee.] 
 (3)  PAREA participants must complete, as a prerequisite 
before beginning an AQB-approved PAREA training module, 156 
hours of qualifying education as specified in the Required Core 
Curriculum for the Licensed Appraiser classification. 
 (4)[(2)]  The pre-licensing curriculum required by 
Subsection (1)(b) shall be conducted by: 
 (a)  a college or university; 
 (b)  a community or junior college; 
 (c)  a real estate appraisal or real estate related organization; 
 (d)  a state or federal agency or commission; 
 (e)  a proprietary school; 
 (f)  a provider approved by a state certification and 
licensing agency; or 
 (g)  the Appraisal Foundation or its boards. 
 (5)[(3)](a)  Upon determining that the applicant satisfies 
the education and experience requirements, the division shall issue to 
the applicant a form permitting the applicant to register for the 
examination. 
 (b)  Upon being approved to register for the examination 
pursuant to [this ]Subsection (5)(a)[(3)(a)], an applicant shall: 
 (i)  return the examination application form to the testing 
service designated by the division; and 
 (ii)  pay a nonrefundable examination fee to the testing 
service designated by the division. 
 (c)  The permission to register to sit for the examination 
shall be valid for 24 months after issuance. 
 
R162-2g-304b.  Application to Sit for the State-Certified 
Residential Appraiser Exam. 
 (1)  An applicant to sit for the state-certified residential 
appraiser exam shall provide the following to the division: 
 (a)  completed experience forms, as required by the 
division, evidencing at least 1,500 hours of [total ]appraisal 
experience, at least 500 of which: 
 (i)  meet the requirements of [Subsection ]Section R162-
2g-304d; 
 (ii)  are completed during the time when the applicant is 
licensed as a state-licensed appraiser: 
 (A)  with the division; or 
 (B)  in another state, if licensure was required in that state 
when[at the time] the appraisal was performed; and 
 (iii)  are accrued in no fewer than: 
 (A)  for applicants submitting experience primarily from 
A[a]ppendices 1 and 2, six [6 ]months from the date the applicant 
received the state-licensed appraiser credential; or 

 (B)  for applicants submitting experience primarily from 
A[a]ppendix 3, 12 months from the date the applicant received the 
state-licensed appraiser credential; or 
 (b)  evidence of having obtained; 
 (i)  1,500 experience hours by successfully completing the 
AQB-approved PAREA modules for both the Licensed Residential 
Module and the Certified Residential Module; 
 (ii)  1,000 experience hours by successfully completing the 
AQB-approved Licensed Appraiser PAREA Module, plus at least 500 
hours of supervised appraisal experience that meets the requirements 
of Subsections (a)(i), (ii), and (iii); or 
 (iii)  500 experience hours by successfully completing the 
AQB-approved Certified Residential Appraiser PAREA Module, 
plus at least 1,000 hours of supervised appraisal experience, at least 
500 of which meet the requirements as described in Subsections 
(a)(i), (ii), and (iii); 
 (c)[(b)]  evidence of having completed at least one of the 
following six education options: 
 (i)  option 1: received a Bachelor's degree or higher in any 
field of study from an accredited college or university; 
 (ii)  option 2: received an Associate's degree from an 
accredited college or university in a field of study related to: 
 (A)  Business Administration; 
 (B)  Accounting; 
 (C)  Finance; 
 (D)  Economics; or 
 (E)  Real Estate; 
 (iii)  option 3: successful completion of 30 semester hours 
of college-level courses that cover each of the following specific 
topic areas and hours: 
 (A)  English composition: three semester hours[(3 semester 
hours)]; 
 (B)  micro economics: three semester hours[(3 semester 
hours)]; 
 (C)  macro economics: three semester hours[(3 semester 
hours)]; 
 (D)  finance: three semester hours[(3 semester hours)]; 
 (E)  algebra, geometry, or higher mathematics: three 
semester hours[(3 semester hours)]; 
 (F)  statistics: three semester hours[(3 semester hours)]; 
 (G)  computer science: three semester hours[(3 semester 
hours)]; 
 (H)  business law or real estate law: three semester hours[(3 
semester hours)]; and 
 (I)  two elective courses in: accounting, geography, 
agricultural economics, business management, or real estate: three 
semester hours each[(3 semester hours each)]; 
 (iv)  option 4: successful completion of at least 30 hours of 
College Level Examination Program 7 (CLEP7) examinations from 
the following subject matter areas: 
 (A)  College Algebra; 
 (B)  College Composition; 
 (C)  College Composition Modular; 
 (D)  College Mathematics; 
 (E)  Principals of Macroeconomics; 
 (F)  Principals of Microeconomics; 
 (G)  Introductory Business Law; and 
 (H)  Principals of Management. 
 (v)  option 5: any combination of option 3 and option 4 that 
includes [all of ]the topics identified in option 3; or 
 (vi)  option 6: no college-level education is required for 
appraisers who have held a state-licensed appraiser credential for a 
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minimum of five years and have no record of any adverse, final, and 
non-appealable disciplinary action affecting the state-licensed 
appraiser's legal eligibility to engage in appraisal practice within the 
five years immediately preceding the date of application for a state-
certified residential credential; 
 (d)[(c)]  evidence of having successfully completed a state-
certified residential appraiser pre-licensing required core curriculum 
as described in Appendix 4, Table 1 and that has been certified by the 
division pursuant to [Subsection ]Section R162-2g-307c; and 
 (e)[(d)]  except as provided in [this Subsection 
(4)(a)]Subsection (5)(a), a nonrefundable application fee. 
 (2)  The pre-licensing curriculum required by Subsection 
(1)(d)[Subsection(1)(c)] shall be provided by: 
 (a)  a college or university; 
 (b)  a community or junior college; 
 (c)  a real estate appraisal or real estate related organization; 
 (d)  a state or federal agency or commission; 
 (e)  a proprietary school; 
 (f)  a provider approved by a state certification and 
licensing agency; or 
 (g)  the Appraisal Foundation or its boards. 
 (3)  PAREA participants must complete, as a prerequisite 
before beginning an AQB-approved PAREA training module, 206 
hours of qualifying education as specified in the Required Core 
Curriculum for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser 
classification. 
 (4)(a)[(3)(a)]  Upon determining that the applicant satisfies 
the education and experience requirements, the division shall issue to 
the applicant a form permitting the applicant to register for the 
examination. 
 (b)  Upon being approved to register for the examination 
pursuant to [this ]Subsection (4)(a)[(3)(a)], an applicant shall: 
 (i)  return the examination application form to the testing 
service designated by the division; and 
 (ii)  pay a nonrefundable examination fee to the testing 
service designated by the division. 
 [(c)  ]The permission to register to sit for the examination 
shall be valid for 24 months after issuance. 
 (5)(a)[(4)(a)]  A state-licensed appraiser who, within six 
months of renewing the license, submits an application and 
consequently qualifies for certification shall not be required to pay 
the entire application fee but shall instead pay the difference between 
the renewal fee and the application fee. 
 (b)  A certification that is obtained under Subsection 
(5)(a)[this Subsection (4)(a)] shall expire on the [same ]date that the 
license was due to expire before[prior to] the granting of certification. 
 
R162-2g-304c.  Application to Sit for the State-Certified General 
Appraiser Exam. 
 (1)  An applicant to sit for the state-certified general 
appraiser exam shall provide the following to the division: 
 (a)  completed experience forms, as required by the 
division, evidencing at least 3,000 hours of total appraisal experience, 
at least 1,000 of which: 
 (i)  meet the requirements of [Subsection ]Section R162-
2g-304d; 
 (ii)  are completed during the time when the applicant is 
licensed as a state-licensed appraiser or state-certified residential 
appraiser: 
 (A)  with the division; or 
 (B)  in another state, if licensure was required in that state 
when[at the time] the appraisal was performed; 

 (iii)  are accrued in no fewer than: 
 (A)  12 months from the date the applicant received a state-
licensed appraiser credential for applicants submitting experience 
primarily from appendices 1 and 2, or 
 (B)  18 months from the date the applicant received a state-
licensed appraiser credential for applicants submitting experience 
primarily from A[a]ppendix 3; and 
 (iv)  evidence that at least 1,500 experience hours are 
derived from non-residential appraisal experience[.]; or 
 (b)  completed experience forms, as required by the 
division, evidencing at least 3,000 hours of total appraisal 
experience: 
 (i)  at least 1,000 hours of which meet either the 
requirements of Subsections (1)(a)(i), (ii), and (iii); 
 (ii)  up to 1,500 hours of which may be derived from the 
successful completion of AQB-approved PAREA program modules; 
and 
 (iii)  evidence that at least 1,500 experience hours are 
derived from non-residential appraisal experience; 
 (c)[(b)]  evidence of having received a bachelor's degree or 
higher degree from an accredited college or university; 
 (d)[(c)]  evidence of having successfully completed a state-
certified general appraiser pre-licensing required core curriculum as 
described in Appendix 4, Table 1 and that has been certified by the 
division pursuant to [Subsection ]Section R162-2g-307c; and 
 (e)[(d)]  except as provided in [this ]Subsection (4)(a), a 
nonrefundable application fee. 
 (2)  The pre-licensing curriculum required by Subsection[s] 
(1)(c) shall be provided by: 
 (a)  a college or university; 
 (b)  a community or junior college; 
 (c)  a real estate appraisal or real estate related organization; 
 (d)  a state or federal agency or commission; 
 (e)  a proprietary school; 
 (f)  a provider approved by a state certification and 
licensing agency; or 
 (g)  the Appraisal Foundation or its boards. 
 (3)(a)  Upon determining that the applicant satisfies the 
education and experience requirements, the division shall issue to the 
applicant a form permitting the applicant to register for the 
examination. 
 (b)  Upon being approved to register for the examination 
pursuant to [this ]Subsection (3)(a), an applicant shall: 
 (i)  return the examination application form to the testing 
service designated by the division; and 
 (ii)  pay a nonrefundable examination fee to the testing 
service designated by the division. 
 (c)  The permission to register to sit for the examination 
shall be valid for 24 months after issuance. 
 (4)(a)  A state-licensed appraiser or a state-certified 
residential appraiser who, within six months of renewing the license 
or certification, submits an application and consequently qualifies for 
certified general status shall not be required to pay the entire 
application fee but shall instead pay the difference between the 
renewal fee and the application fee. 
 (b)  A certification that is obtained under [this ]Subsection 
(4)(a) shall expire on the [same ]date that the license was due to 
expire before[prior to] the granting of certified general status. 
 
R162-2g-304d.  Experience Hours. 
 (1)(a)  Except as provided in [this ]Subsection (1)(b), 
appraisal experience shall be measured in hours according to the 
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appraisal experience hours schedules found in Appendices 1 through 
3 or according to AQB-approved experience hours for PAREA 
modules. 
 (b)(i)  An applicant who has experience in categories other 
than those shown on the appraisal experience hours schedules[,] or 
who believes the schedules do not adequately reflect the applicant's 
experience or the complexity or time spent on an appraisal, may 
petition the board on an individual basis for approval of the 
experience as being substantially equivalent to that required for 
licensure or certification. 
 (ii)  Upon a finding that an applicant's experience is 
substantially equivalent to that required for licensure or certification, 
the board may award the applicant an appropriate number of hours 
for the alternate experience. 
 (2)  [General restrictions.]Appraisal experience obtained 
pursuant to Appendices 1 through 3 are restricted as follows: 
 (a)  An applicant may not accrue more than 2,000 
experience hours in any 12-month period. 
 (b)  The board may not award credit for: 
 (i)  appraisal experience earned more than five years 
before[prior to] the date of application; 
 (ii)  appraisals that were performed in violation of: 
 (A)  Utah law; 
 (B)  the law of another jurisdiction; or 
 (C)  the administrative rules adopted by the division and 
the board; 
 (iii)  appraisals that fail to comply with USPAP; 
 (iv)  the performance of an evaluation as defined in the Real 
Estate Appraiser and Certification Act that [which ]does not comply 
with USPAP; 
 (v)  appraisals of the value of a business as distinguished 
from the appraisal of commercial real estate; 
 (vi)  personal property appraisals; or 
 (vii)  an appraisal that fails to clearly and conspicuously 
disclose the contribution made by the applicant in completing the 
assignment. 
 (c)  At least 50% of the appraisals submitted for experience 
credit shall be appraisals of properties located in Utah. 
 (d)  With regard to experience hours claimed from the 
schedules found in Appendices 1 and 2, no more than 25% of the total 
experience required for licensure or certification may be earned from 
appraisals where the interior of the subject property is not inspected. 
 (e)  A maximum of 50% of required experience hours may 
be earned from appraisal of vacant land. 
 (f)  Experience gained through the successful completion 
of an AQB-approved PAREA module may, when approved, exceed 
50% of the total experience requirement.  Except for AQB-approved 
PAREA modules, experience[Experience] gained for work without a 
traditional client may qualify for experience hours but may not 
[cannot ]exceed 50% of the total experience requirement.  Work 
without a traditional client includes the following: 
 (i)  a client hiring an appraiser for a business purpose; or 
 (ii)  a practicum course so long as the course is approved 
by the AQB course approval program [Course Approval Program 
]and, if the course is taught in Utah either live or by distance 
education, also approved by the division. 
 (g)  An applicant may receive credit only for experience 
hours actually worked by the applicant and as limited by the 
maximum experience hours described in these rules. 
 (3)  Specific restrictions applicable to trainees applying for 
licensure. 

 (a)(i)  Except for AQB-approved PAREA module 
experience hours, a [A ]registered trainee may not claim experience 
hours for any appraisal work [performed after January 1, 2015 ]unless 
the trainee and the trainee's supervisor[(s)] have completed the 
division-approved Supervisory Appraiser and Appraiser Trainee 
Course before[prior to] performing the work to be claimed. 
 (ii)  Except for AQB-approved PAREA module experience 
hours, a[A] trainee and the trainee's supervisor who signs the 
experience log shall document on the log the specific duties that the 
trainee performs for each appraisal. 
 (b)  Except for AQB-approved PAREA module experience 
hours, for [For ]each duty performed, the trainee shall be awarded a 
percentage of the total experience hours that may be awarded for the 
property type being appraised: 
 (i)  pursuant to the appraisal experience hour schedules 
found in Appendices 1 through 3; and 
 (ii)  with the following limitations for Appendix 2: 
 (A)  participation in highest and best use analysis: 10% of 
total hours; 
 (B)  participation in neighborhood description and analysis: 
10% of total hours; 
 (C)  property inspection: 20% of total hours, pursuant to 
[this ]Subsection (3)(c); 
 (D)  participation in land value estimate: 20% of total 
hours; 
 (E)  participation in sales comparison property selection 
and analysis: 30% of total hours; 
 (F)  participation in cost analysis: 20% of total hours; 
 (G)  participation in income analysis: 30% of total hours; 
 (H)  participation in the final reconciliation of value: 10% 
of total hours;[ and] 
 (I)  participation in report preparation: 20% of total hours; 
and[.] 
 (iii)[(J)]  The applicant may claim up to 100% of the total 
hours allowed for the tasks listed in[ this] Subsections (A) through 
(I). 
 (c)  For [In order for ]a trainee to claim credit for an 
inspection pursuant to [this ]Subsection (3)(b)(ii)(C): 
 (i)  as to the first 35 residential appraisals or first 20 non-
residential appraisals completed, as applicable to the license or 
certification being sought, the inspection must include: 
 (A)  exterior measurement of the relatively permanent 
structures located on the subject property that are designed or 
intended for support, enclosure, shelter, or protection of persons, 
animals, or property having a permanent roof supported by columns 
or walls; and 
 (B)  inspection of the exterior of a property that is used as 
a comparable in an appraisal; and 
 (ii)  as to appraisals after the first 35 residential appraisals 
or first 20 non-residential appraisals completed, as applicable to the 
license or certification being sought, the inspection must satisfy the 
[all ]scope of work requirements. 
 (d)  No more than one-third of the experience hours 
submitted toward licensure may come from any one of the categories 
identified in [this ]Subsection (3)(b)(ii). 
 (4)  Specific restrictions applicable to applicants for 
certification. 
 (a)  An individual who obtained a license from the division 
through reciprocity shall provide to the division the [all ]records 
necessary for the division to verify that the individual satisfies the 
experience requirements outlined in these rules. 
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 (b)  The board may not award credit: 
 (i)  for any appraisal where the applicant cannot prove more 
than 50% participation in the: 
 (A)  data collection; 
 (B)  verification of data; 
 (C)  reconciliation; 
 (D)  analysis; 
 (E)  identification of property and property interests; 
 (F)  compliance with USPAP standards; and 
 (G)  preparation and development of the appraisal report; 
or 
 (ii)  to more than one licensed appraiser per completed 
appraisal, except as provided in[ this] Subsection (5). 
 (c)(i)  An individual applying for certification as a state-
certified residential appraiser shall document 1,500 experience hours, 
including: 
 (A)  up to 1,500 hours of AQB-approved experience hours 
for PAREA modules: or 
 (B)  at least 75% of the hours submitted from: 
 (I)[(A)]  the residential experience hours schedule found in 
Appendix 1; or 
 (II)[(B)]  the residential portion of the mass appraisal hours 
schedule found in Appendix 3. 
 (ii)  No more than 25% of the total hours submitted may be 
from: 
 (A)  the general experience hours schedule found in 
Appendix 2; or 
 (B)  properties other than 1- to 4-unit residential properties 
identified in the mass appraisal hours schedule found in Appendix 3. 
 (d)  An individual applying for certification as a state-
certified general appraiser shall document at least 1,500 experience 
hours as having been earned from: 
 (i)  the general experience hours schedule found in 
Appendix 2; or 
 (ii)  properties other than 1- to 4-unit residential properties 
identified in the mass appraisal hours schedule found in Appendix 3. 
 (5)  Specific restrictions applicable to mass appraisers. 
 (a)  Single-property appraisals performed under USPAP 
Standards 1 and 2 by mass appraisers shall be awarded full credit 
pursuant to Appendices 1 and 2. 
 (b)  Review and supervision of appraisals by mass 
appraisers shall be awarded credit pursuant to [this ]Subsections 
(6)(b) and [-](c). 
 (c)(i)  Mass appraisers and mass appraiser trainees who 
perform 60% or more of the appraisal work shall be awarded full 
credit pursuant to Appendix 3. 
 (ii)  Mass appraisers and mass appraiser trainees who 
perform between 25% and 59% of the appraisal work shall be 
awarded 50% credit pursuant to Appendix 3. 
 (iii)  Mass appraisers and mass appraisal trainees who 
perform less than 25% of the appraisal work shall be awarded no 
credit for the appraisal assignment. 
 (d)  In addition to submitting proof of required experience 
and samples, randomly selected from the experience log, of work 
conforming to USPAP Standards 5 and 6: 
 (i)  a state-licensed appraiser applicant whose experience is 
earned primarily through mass appraisal shall submit proof of having 
performed at least five appraisals conforming to USPAP Standards 1 
and 2 equaling at least 65 experience hours; 
 (ii)  a state-certified residential appraiser applicant whose 
experience is earned primarily through mass appraisal shall submit 

proof of having performed at least eight residential appraisals 
equaling at least 110 experience hours: 
 (A)  conforming to USPAP Standards 1 and 2; and 
 (B)  including at least two of each of the following property 
types: 
 (I)  vacant residential or agricultural land; 
 (II)  two- to four-unit dwelling; 
 (III)  single-family unit; and 
 (IV)  complex one- to four-unit [four unit ]residential 
dwellings; and 
 (iii)  a state-certified general appraiser applicant whose 
experience is earned primarily through mass appraisal shall submit 
proof of having performed at least eight appraisals from Appendix 2 
conforming to USPAP Standards 1 and 2 equaling at least 300 
experience hours. 
 (e)  No more than 200 hours for qualification for a state-
licensed credential, 500 hours for a state-certified residential 
credential, or 1,800 hours for a certified general credential may be 
earned from any combination of appraisal assignments related to: 
 (i)  property improvement inspection; 
 (ii)  land segregation[ (division)]; 
 (iii)  CAMA data entry; and 
 (iv)  sale ratio study. 
 (f)(i)  Mass appraisal of property with a personal property 
component of less than 50% of value shall be awarded full credit 
pursuant to Appendix 3 for the type of property appraised. 
 (ii)  Mass appraisal of property with a personal property 
component of 50% to 75% of value shall be awarded 50% credit 
pursuant to Appendix 3 for the type of property appraised. 
 (iii)  Mass appraisal of property with a personal property 
component greater than 75%, but less than 100%, shall be awarded 
25% credit pursuant to Appendix 3 for the type of property appraised. 
 (iv)  Mass appraisal of property with no real property 
component shall be awarded no credit. 
 (g)  The appraisals submitted for review pursuant to [this 
]Subsection (5)(d) shall be selected from the applicant's most recent 
work. 
 (6)  Special circumstances - condemnation appraisals, 
review appraisals, supervision of appraisers, other real estate 
experience, and government agency experience. 
 (a)  Condemnation appraisals.  A condemnation appraisal 
shall be awarded an additional 50% of the hours normally awarded 
for the appraisal if the condemnation appraisal includes a before-and-
after appraisal because of a partial taking of the property. 
 (b)  Review appraisals. 
 (i)  Review appraisals shall be awarded experience credit 
when the appraiser performs technical reviews of appraisals prepared 
by employees, associates, or others, provided the appraiser complies 
with USPAP Standards 3 and 4 when the appraiser is required to 
comply with the rule. 
 (ii)  Except as provided in [this ]Subsection (6)(e)(i), the 
following credit shall be awarded for review of appraisals: 
 (A)  desk review: 30% of the hours that would be awarded 
if a separate written review appraisal report were prepared, up to a 
maximum of 500 hours; and 
 (B)  field review: 50% of the hours that would be awarded 
if a separate written review appraisal report were prepared, up to a 
maximum of 500 hours. 
 (c)  Supervision of appraisers. Except as provided in [this 
]Subsection (6)(e)(i), supervision of appraisers shall be awarded 20% 
of the hours that would be awarded to the appraisal, up to a maximum 
of 500 hours. 
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 (d)  Other real estate experience acceptable for 
certification. 
 (i)  Provided that an applicant demonstrates to the 
satisfaction of the board that the applicant has the ability to arrive at 
a fair market value of property and to properly document value 
conclusions, the following activities may be used to satisfy up to 50% 
of the experience required for certification: 
 (A)  preliminary valuation estimates; 
 (B)  range of value estimates or similar studies; 
 (C)  other real estate related[-related] experience gained by: 
 (I)  bankers; 
 (II)  builders; 
 (III)  city planners and managers; or 
 (IV)  other individuals. 
 (ii)  A comparative market analysis by an individual 
licensed under Title 61, Chapter 2f, Real Estate Licensing and 
Practices Act [Section 61-2f et seq. ]may be granted up to 100% 
experience credit toward certification if: 
 (A)  the analysis conforms with USPAP Standards Rules 1 
and 2; and 
 (B)  the individual demonstrates to the board that the 
individual uses similar techniques as appraisers to value properties 
and effectively utilize the appraisal process. 
 (iii)  Except as provided in [this ]Subsection (6)(e)(i), or 
except for AQB-approved PAREA module experience hours, no more 
than 50% of the total experience required for certification may be 
earned through any combination of experience described in [this 
]Subsections (6)(b) through (6)(d).[(6)(b)-(d).] 
 (e)  Government agency experience. 
 (i)  An individual who obtains experience hours in 
conjunction with investigation by a government agency is not subject 
to the hour limitations of [this ]Subsection (6). 
 (ii)  In addition to submitting proof of required experience, 
an applicant whose experience is earned primarily in conjunction 
with investigations by government agencies and through review of 
appraisals, with no opinion of value developed, shall submit proof of 
having complied with USPAP Standards 1 and 2 in performing 
appraisals as follows: 
 (A)  if applying for state-licensed appraiser with experience 
reviewing residential appraisals, five appraisals of one-unit 
dwellings; 
 (B)  if applying for state-certified residential appraiser with 
experience reviewing residential appraisals, eight appraisals of one-
unit dwellings; and 
 (C)  if applying for state-certified general appraiser with 
experience reviewing appraisals of property types listed in Appendix 
2, at least eight appraisals of property types identified in Appendix 2. 
 (7)  The board, at its discretion, may request the division to 
verify the claimed experience by any of the following methods: 
 (a)  verification with the clients; 
 (b)  submission of selected reports to the board; and 
 (c)  field inspection of reports identified by the applicant at 
the applicant's office during normal business hours. 
 
R162-2g-304e.  Experience Review Committee. 
 (1)  The board may appoint a committee to review the 
experience claimed by applicants for licensure or certification. 
 (2)  Experience hours obtained through completion of an 
AQB-approved PAREA module does not require review by the 
experience review committee. 

 (3)[(2)]  The committee shall: 
 (a)  review each application for completion of the non-
PAREA experience hours required for licensure or certification; 
 (b)  correspond with applicants concerning submissions, if 
necessary; and 
 (c)  make recommendations to the division and the board 
for licensure or certification approval or disapproval. 
 (4)[(3)]  The committee shall be composed of appraisers 
selected from among the following categories: 
 (a)  residential appraisers; 
 (b)  commercial appraisers; 
 (c)  farm and ranch appraisers; 
 (d)  right-of-way appraisers; and 
 (e)  mass appraisers. 
 (5)[(4)]  The chair[person] of the committee shall be 
appointed by the board. 
 (6)[(5)]  Meetings may be called upon: 
 (a)  the request of the chair[person]; or 
 (b)  the written request of a quorum of committee members. 
 (7)[(6)]  If the board denies the application on the 
recommendation of an experience review committee member, the 
applicant may, within 30[thirty] days after the denial, make a written 
request for board review of the applicant's experience, stating specific 
grounds upon which relief is requested. The board shall [thereafter 
]consider the request and issue a written decision. 
 
R162-2g-306a.  Renewal and Reinstatement of a Registration, 
License, or Certification. 
 (1)(a)  A registration, license, or certification is valid for 
two years and expires unless it is renewed according to this 
[Sub]section [R162-2g-306a ]before the expiration date of [printed 
on ]the registration, license, or certificate. 
 (b)  It is [shall be ]grounds for disciplinary sanction if, after 
an individual's registration, license, or certification has expired, the 
individual continues to perform work for which the individual is 
required to be registered, licensed, or certified. 
 (2)(a)  To timely renew a registration, license, or 
certification, an applicant shall, before[prior to] the expiration date 
of the registration, license, or certification, submit to the division: 
 (i)  a completed renewal application as provided by the 
division; 
 (ii)(A)  evidence that the continuing education 
requirements listed in [this ]Subsection (2)(b) have been completed; 
or 
 (B)  evidence sufficient to enable the division[Division], in 
its sole discretion, to determine that a deferral of continuing 
education is appropriate due to the applicant's having been currently 
or recently: 
 (I)  assigned to active military duty; or 
 (II)  impacted by a state- or federally-declared natural 
disaster; and 
 (iii)  the applicable non[-]refundable renewal fee. 
 (b)  The continuing education required under [this 
]Subsection (2)(a)(ii)(A) shall be completed during the two-year 
period preceding the date of application and shall include: 
 (i)(A)  the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course, taught 
by an instructor who [or instructors, at least one of whom ]is a state[-
] certified appraiser in good standing and is USPAP certified by the 
AQB; or 
 (B)  equivalent education, as determined through the course 
approval program of the AQB; and 
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 (ii)(A)  21 additional hours of continuing education: 
 (I)  certified by the division for the appraisal industry 
when[at the time] the courses are taught[ (see Appendix 4, Table 2 
for a list of continuing education topics)]; or 
 (II)  not required to be certified, pursuant to Subsection 
R162-2g-307d(3); or 
 (B)  if the renewal applicant is also working toward 
certification, 21 hours of pre-licensing education credit applicable to 
the certification being sought. 
 (iii)  A list of continuing education topics may be found in 
Appendix 4, Table 2. 
 (iv)[(iii)]  An appraiser may earn continuing education 
credit for attendance at one meeting of the board[Board] in each 
continuing education two-year cycle provided: 
 (A)  the meeting is open to the public; 
 (B)  the meeting is a minimum of two hours in length; 
 (C)  the total credit for attendance at the meeting is limited 
to a maximum of seven hours; and 
 (D)  the division verifies attendance to ensure that the 
appraiser attends the meeting for the required period[ of time]. 
 (c)[(i)  A trainee who registered with the division prior to 
January 1, 2015 shall complete the Supervisory Appraiser and 
Appraiser Trainee course by or before December 31, 2014. 
 (ii)]  A registered trainee may count the Supervisory 
Appraiser and Appraiser Trainee course toward the continuing 
education requirement of [this ]Subsection (2)(b)(ii)(A) during any 
renewal cycle in which the trainee completes the course. 
 (d)[(i)  An appraiser who supervises a trainee identified in 
Subsection (2)(c)(i) shall complete the Supervisory Appraiser and 
Appraiser Trainee course by or before December 31, 2014. 
 (ii)]  A supervising appraiser may count the Supervisory 
Appraiser and Appraiser Trainee course toward the continuing 
education requirement of Subsection (2)(b)(ii)(A) during any 
renewal cycle in which the appraiser completes the course. 
 (3)(a)  To[In order to] renew on time, an applicant shall 
complete continuing education hours by the 15th day of the month in 
which the registration, license, or certification expires. 
 (b)  An applicant who complies with [this ]Subsection 
(3)(a), but whose credits are not banked by the education provider[ 
pursuant to Subsection R162-2g-502a(5)(c)], may obtain credit for 
the courses[(s)] taken by: 
 (i)  submitting to the division the original course 
completion certificates; and 
 (ii)  filing a complaint against the provider. 
 (4)  A license, certification, or registration may be renewed 
for a period of 30 days after the expiration date upon payment of a 
late fee in addition to the requirements of [this ]Subsection (2). 
 (5)(a)  After the 30-day period described in [this 
]Subsection (4) and until six months after the expiration date, an 
individual may reinstate an expired license, certification, or 
registration by: 
 (i)  complying with [this ]Subsection (2); 
 (ii)  paying a late fee; and 
 (iii)  paying a reinstatement fee. 
 (b)  After the six-month period described in [this 
]Subsection (5)(a) and until one year after the expiration date, an 
individual may reinstate an expired license, certification, or 
registration by: 
 (i)  complying with [this ]Subsection (2); 
 (ii)  paying a late fee; and 
 (iii)  paying a reinstatement fee[; and 

 (iv)  completing 24 hours of additional continuing 
education as approved by the division]. 
 (c)(i)  An individual who does not reinstate an expired 
license, certification, or registration within 12 months of the 
expiration date shall: 
 (A)  reapply with the division as a new applicant; 
 (B)  retake and pass the 15-hour USPAP course; and 
 (C)  retake and pass any applicable licensing or certification 
examination. 
 (ii)  An individual reapplying under [this ]Subsection 
(4)(c)(i) shall receive credit for previously credited pre-licensing 
education if: 
 (A)  it was completed within the five-year period 
before[prior to] the date of reapplication; and 
 (B)  it was [either: 
 (I)  completed after January 1, 2008; or 
 (II)  ]certified by the division and the AQB [prior to January 
1, 2008, ]as approved, qualified pre-licensing education. 
 (6)  If the division receives renewal documents in a timely 
manner, but the information is incomplete, the appraiser or trainee 
may be extended a 15-day grace period to complete the application. 
 (7)  Renewal after deferment of continuing education due 
to active military service or the impacts of a state- or federally-
declared disaster. 
 (a)  An appraiser or trainee who cannot[is unable to] 
complete the continuing education requirements to renew a 
registration, license, or certification due to active military service or 
because the individual has been impacted by a state- or federally-
declared disaster may: 
 (i)  submit a timely application for renewal pursuant to 
Subsection (2)(a)(ii)(B); and 
 (ii)  request that the application for renewal be 
conditionally approved, with the expiration date of the applicant's 
registration, license, or certification extended pursuant to [this 
]Subsection (7)(b), pending the completion of the continuing 
education requirement. 
 (b)  Upon the division's approving a deferral of continuing 
education, the expiration date of the applicant's registration, license, 
or certification shall be extended 90 days, during which time the 
applicant shall: 
 (i)  complete the continuing education required for the 
renewal; and 
 (ii)  submit proof of the continuing education to the 
division. 
 
R162-2g-306b.  Notification of Changes. 
 (1)  An individual registered, licensed, or certified under 
these rules shall notify the division of any status change, including 
the following: 
 (a)  creation or termination of an affiliation, except as 
provided in [this ]Subsection (2); 
 (b)  change of name; and 
 (c)  change of business, home, mailing, or e[-]mail address. 
 (2)  An individual is not required to report the creation or 
termination of an affiliation that: 
 (a)  facilitates a single transaction; and 
 (b)  is not part of an ongoing business association. 
 (3)[  Notification procedure. 
 ](a)  To report a change of name, an individual shall 
complete a [paper ]change form and attach to it official 
documentation such as a: 
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 (i)  marriage certificate; 
 (ii)  divorce decree; or 
 (iii)  driver license. 
 (b)(i)  To report a change in affiliation or address, and 
individual shall complete and submit an electronic change form 
through RELMS. 
 (ii)  A post office box without a street address is 
unacceptable as a business or home address. Any address may be 
designated as a mailing address. 
[ (c)  All change forms shall be accompanied by a 
nonrefundable processing fee.] 
 (4)  Deadlines and effective dates. 
 (a)(i)  An individual shall comply with the notification 
requirements outlined in this [Sub]section [R162-2g-306b ]within ten 
business days of the [making a ]status change. 
 (ii)  If a deadline for notification falls on a day when the 
division is closed, the deadline shall be extended to the next business 
day. 
 (b)  Status changes are effective on the date the properly 
executed forms and appropriate fees are received by the division. 
 
R162-2g-307a.  General Education Criteria Applicable to [All 
]Pre-Licensing Education and Continuing Education. 
 (1)  A class hour is 60 minutes of which at least 50 minutes 
are instruction attended by the student. 
 (2)  The prescribed number of class hours includes time for 
examinations. 
 (3)  Experience may not be substituted for education, and 
education may not be substituted for experience. 
 
R162-2g-307b.  School Certification. 
 (1)  [Application. ]A school requesting certification shall: 
 (a)  submit an application form as prescribed by the 
division, including: 
 (i)  name, telephone number, email address, and address of: 
 (A)  the school; 
 (B)  the school director; and 
 (C)  the [all ]owners of the school; and 
 (ii)  as to each school director or owner, disclosure of 
criminal history and adverse regulatory actions; 
 (b)  provide a description of: 
 (i)  the type of school; and 
 (ii)  the school's physical facilities or method for delivery 
of course instruction; 
 (c)  provide a statement outlining the: 
 (i)  number of quizzes and examinations in each course 
offered; 
 (ii)  grading system, including methods of testing and 
standards of grading; 
 (iii)  requirements for attendance; and 
 (iv)  school's refund policy. 
 (2)  Standards for operation. 
 (a)  The [All ]courses shall be taught in an appropriate 
[classroom]environment or facility and not in a private residence, 
except for a course approved for distance education. 
 (b)  A school shall teach the approved course of study as 
outlined in the state-approved outline. 
 (c)  At the time of registration, a school shall provide to 
each student: 
 (i)  the statement described in [this ]Subsection (1)(c); 

 (ii)  a copy of the qualifying questionnaire that the student 
will be required by the division to answer as part of the pre-licensing 
or precertification examination; and 
 (iii)  a criminal history disclosure statement. 
 (d)  For a student to earn credit for a course, the school shall 
require that the student[A school shall require each student to] attend 
100% of the scheduled class time[ in order to earn credit for the 
course]. 
 (e)(i)  A school may not award credit to any student who 
fails the final examination. 
 (ii)  A student who fails a school final examination must 
wait three days before retesting and may not retake the same final 
examination. 
 (iii)  A student who fails a final examination a second time 
must wait two weeks before retesting and may not retake either exam 
that the student previously failed. 
 (iv)  A student who fails a final exam a third time shall fail 
the course. 
 (f)  A school may not allow a student to challenge a course 
or any part of a course by taking an exam in lieu of attendance. 
 (g)  Credit hours. 
 (i)  For a course that is taught outside of a college or 
university setting, one credit hour may be awarded for 50 minutes of 
instruction within a 60-minute period, allowing for a ten-minute 
break. 
 (ii)  For a course that is taught in a college or university 
setting: 
 (A)  one-quarter[one quarter] hour is equivalent to ten[10] 
credit hours; and 
 (B)  one semester hour is equivalent to 15 credit hours. 
 (iii)  A school may not award more than eight credit hours 
per day per student. 
 (3)  A school shall report to the division within ten[10] 
calendar days of: 
 (a)  any change in the information provided pursuant to 
[this ]Subsection (1)(a)(i); and 
 (b)  a school director or owner being convicted, or entering 
a plea in abeyance or diversion agreement, as to a criminal offense, 
excluding class C misdemeanors. 
 (4)(a)  A school certification is valid for two years from the 
date of issuance. 
 (b)  To renew a school certification, an individual shall, 
before[prior to] the date of expiration: 
 (i)  submit a properly completed application as provided by 
the division; and 
 (ii)  pay a nonrefundable applicable fee. 
 
R162-2g-307c.  Pre-licensing Course Certification. 
 (1)  To certify a pre-licensing course, an applicant shall, at 
least 30 days before[prior to] the course is[being] taught, submit a 
completed application as required by the division, including: 
 (a)  a course outline, including: 
 (i)  a description of the course; 
 (ii)  the length of time to be spent on each subject area, 
broken into segments of no more than 30 minutes each; and 
 (iii)  three to five learning objectives for every three hours; 
 (b)  a description of any method of instruction that will be 
used[ other than lecture method], including: 
[ (i)  webinar; 
 (ii)  satellite broadcast; or 
 (iii)  other form of distance education;] 
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 (i)  traditional classroom education; 
 (ii)  virtual-live education, also designated as synchronous 
education by the AQB, or 
 (iii)  distance education; 
 (c)  copies of at least three final examinations administered 
in the course and the answer keys that will be used to determine if a 
student passes the course; 
 (d)  the school procedure for maintaining the security of the 
final exams and answer keys; 
 (e)  the titles, authors, and publishers of[ all] required 
textbooks; 
 (f)(i)  the instructor[(s)] who will teach each class; and 
 (ii)  evidence that each instructor is: 
 (A)  certified by the division; 
 (B)  qualified to serve as a guest lecturer; or 
 (C)  a college or university faculty member who has 
academic training or appraisal experience satisfactory to the division 
and the board; 
 (g)  a nonrefundable applicable fee; and 
 (h)  a signed statement agreeing that the course provider 
will, within ten[10] business days of completing the class, upload to 
the division the following information: 
 (i)  course name; 
 (ii)  course certificate number assigned by the division; 
 (iii)  date the course was taught; 
 (iv)  number of credit hours; and 
 (v)  name and license number of each student receiving 
education credit. 
 (2)  [Standards for approval of traditional classroom 
courses. Each]A traditional classroom course shall: 
 (a)  meet the minimum standards set forth in the state-
approved course outline governing the course, including minimum 
hourly requirements; 
 (b)  be approved through the AQB course approval 
program; 
 (c)  allow a maximum of 10% of the required class time for 
testing, including review test and final examination; 
 (d)  use texts, workbooks, supplement pamphlets, and other 
materials that are appropriate and current in their application to the 
required course outline. 
 (3)  A virtual-live course using a synchronous delivery 
method shall: 
 (a)  comply with Subsection (2); 
 (b)  provide verbal or written interaction between the 
student and instructor; 
 (c)  include a written examination personally proctored by 
an official approved by the presenting entity, or, with the prior 
approval of the division, remote proctoring, including bio-metric 
proctoring, pursuant to Subsection (5); and 
 (d)  meet the course delivery requirements established by 
the AQB; 
 (4)(a)  A distance education course shall: 
 (i)  comply with Subsection (2); 
 (ii)  provide interaction between the student and instructor 
in a reciprocal environment where the student has verbal or written 
communication with the instructor; 
 (iii)  include a written examination: 
 (A)  personally proctored by an official approved by the 
presenting entity; or 
 (B)  with the prior approval of the division, proctored 
remotely, including bio-metric proctoring, pursuant to Subsection 
(5); and 

 (iv)  offer at least 15 credit hours. 
 (b)  A distance education course shall obtain content 
approval from: 
 (i)  the AQB the division; or 
 (ii)  for an academic credit college course, content approval 
from an accredited college, community college, or university that 
offers a distance education program and is approved or accredited by 
the Commission on Colleges, a regional or national accreditation 
association, or by an accrediting agency that is recognized by the US 
Secretary of Education. 
 (c)  Content for a non-academic credit college course 
provided by a college shall be approved by the AQB and a state 
appraiser regulatory jurisdiction. 
 (d)  A distance education course shall obtain course 
delivery mechanism approval from one of the following sources: 
 (i)  an AQB-approved organization that provides approval 
of course design and delivery; 
 (ii)  a college or university that qualifies for content 
approval in Subsection (b) and awards academic credit for the 
distance education course; or 
 (iii)  a qualifying college or university that qualifies for 
content approval in Subsection (b) and that has a distance education 
delivery program that approves the course design and delivery that 
incorporate interactivity. 
[ (3)  Standards for approval of distance education 
 (a)  A distance education course shall: 
 (i)  comply with this Subsection (2); 
 (ii)  provide interaction between the student and instructor; 
 (iii)  include a written examination personally proctored by 
an official approved by the presenting entity; 
 (iv)  meet the course delivery requirements established by 
the AQB and the International Distance Education Certification 
Center; and 
 (v)  offer at least 15 credit hours. 
 (b)  A distance education course offered by a college or 
university may be deemed acceptable to meet the credit hour 
requirement if the course content is approved by: 
 (i)  the AQB; 
 (ii)  a state licensing jurisdiction; or 
 (iii)  a college or university that: 
 (A)  offers distance education programs in other 
disciplines; and 
 (B)  is approved or accredited by: 
 (I)  the Commission on Colleges; 
 (II)  a regional or national accreditation association; or 
 (III)  an accrediting agency that is recognized by the United 
States Secretary of Education.] 
 (5)  Subject to division approval, either a synchronous 
course or an asynchronous course may use remote proctoring, 
including bio-metric proctoring. 
 (6)[(4)]  Within ten[10] business days after the occurrence 
of any material change in a course that could affect approval, the 
school shall give the division written notice of the change. 
 (7)[(5)]  A course certification is valid for no more than 24 
months. 
 (8)[(6)]  Credit for non-certified pre-licensing education. 
 (a)  Division certification is not required for a pre-licensing 
course that is offered by a school, as defined in Subsection R162-2g-
102(21)[R162-2g-102(17)] as long as: 
 (i)  the course content: 
 (A)  meets the minimum standards set forth in the Utah 
state-approved course outline; and 
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 (B)  is approved by the AQB course approval program; 
 (ii)  the course provides at least 15 credit hours, including 
examinations[(s)]; 
 (iii)  a closed-book, closed-note final examination is 
administered at the end of each course; 
 (iv)  students are not allowed to earn credit from the course 
provider by challenge examination without first attending the course; 
 (v)  credit is not awarded for duplicate or highly 
comparable classes; 
 (vi)  where multiple classes are offered, they represent a 
progression in a student's knowledge; and 
 (vii)  [in order ]to receive credit, a student shall[is required 
to]: 
 (A)  attend 100% of the scheduled class hours; 
 (B)  complete[ all] required exercises and assignments; and 
 (C)  pass the course final examination. 
 (b)  Hourly credit for a course taken from a professional 
appraisal organization shall be granted according to the division-
approved[division approved] list. 
 (c)  An applicant who wishes to be awarded credit for non-
certified pre-licensing education shall: 
 (i)  provide to the division [a list of ]the name of the course 
[cours(es) ]taken, including: 
 (A)  the course title[(s)]; 
 (B)  the name[(s)] of the sponsoring organization[(s)]; 
 (C)  the number of classroom hours completed; 
 (D)  the date [date(s) ]of course completion; and 
 (E)  evidence that the course meets [cours(es) meet ]the 
requirements of: 
 (I)  the AQB; and 
 (II)  if distance education, the International Distance 
Education Certification Center; 
 (ii)  request review of the course by the division and board; 
 (iii)  establish that the criteria outlined in [this ]Subsection 
(6)(a) are met; 
 (iv)  attest on a notarized affidavit that the course has 
[courses have ]been completed as documented; and 
 (v)  if requested by the division, provide proof of 
completion of the course[s] in the form of a certificate[s], 
transcript[s], report card[s], letter[s] of verification, or similar proof. 
 (9)[(7)  Supervisory Appraiser and Appraiser Trainee 
Course.]  To[In order to] obtain certification of the supervisory 
appraiser and appraiser trainee course, a course provider shall: 
 (a)  comply with [this ]Subsection (1); and 
 (b)  sign a written attestation agreeing to provide a [paper 
]copy of the course manual to each attendee. 
 
R162-2g-307d.  Continuing Education Course Registration and 
Certification. 
 (1)  The division and the board may not award continuing 
education credit for a course that is taught in Utah to registered, 
licensed, or certified appraisers unless the course is registered or 
certified before it is[prior to its being] taught. 
 (2)  To certify a continuing education course, an applicant 
shall, at least 30 days before the course is[prior to the course being] 
taught, submit a completed application as required by the division, 
including: 
 (a)  the name and contact information of the course sponsor 
and the entity through which the course will be provided; 
 (b)(i)  if the application is for a course using the traditional 
classroom education, a description of the physical facility where the 
course will be taught; and 

 (ii)  if the application is for a course using live-virtual or 
distance education, the delivery method for the course; 
 (c)  the proposed number of credit hours for the course; 
 (d)  identification of whether the method of instruction will 
be[ traditional education or distance education]; 
 (i)  traditional education; 
 (ii)  virtual-live education, including synchronous 
education as designated by the by the AQB; 
 (iii)  distance education, including asynchronous education 
as designated by the AQB; or 
 (iv)  a hybrid form of education that employs both 
synchronous and asynchronous delivery methods of education; 
 (e)  title of the course; 
 (f)  statement defining how the course will meet the 
objectives of continuing education by increasing the licensee's 
knowledge, professionalism, and ability to protect and serve the 
public; 
 (g)  course outline including: 
 (i)  a description of the subject matter covered in each 15-
minute segment; and 
 (ii)  a minimum of one learning objective for every hour of 
class time; 
 (h)  the name and certification number of each certified 
instructor who will teach the course; 
 (i)  copies of[ all] materials that will be distributed to the 
participants; 
 (j)  the procedure for pre[-]registration; 
 (k)  the tuition or registration fee and a copy of the 
cancellation and refund policy; 
 (l)  [except for courses approved for distance education, 
]the procedure for taking and maintaining control of attendance 
during class time; 
 (m)  sample of the completion certificate; 
 (n)  signed statement agreeing that the course provider will, 
within ten[10] business days of completing the class, upload to the 
division the following information: 
 (i)  course name; 
 (ii)  course certificate number assigned by the division; 
 (iii)  date the course was taught; 
 (iv)  number of credit hours; and 
 (v)  names and license numbers of[ all] students receiving 
continuing education credit; 
 (o)  signed statement agreeing not to market personal sales 
products; and 
 (p)  other information the division might require. 
 (3)  Standards for approval of a certified course. 
 (a)(i)  A distance education course shall: 
 (A)  provide interaction between the student and instructor; 
and 
 (B)  include a written examination that requires a student to 
demonstrate mastery and fluency. 
 (ii)  The division may approve a distance education course 
offered by a college or university if the college or university: 
 (A)  offers distance education programs in other 
disciplines; and 
 (B)(I)  is accredited by the Commission on Colleges or a 
regional accreditation association; or 
 (II)  is approved by the International Distance Education 
Certification Center. 
 (b)  The course topic must be AQB-approved. 
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 (c)  The procedure for taking and maintaining control of 
attendance shall be more extensive than having the students sign a 
class roll. 
 (d)  The completion certificate shall allow for entry of: 
 (i)  licensee's name; 
 (ii)  type of license; 
 (iii)  license number; 
 (iv)  date of course; 
 (v)  name of the course provider; 
 (vi)  course title; 
 (vii)  course certification number and expiration date; 
 (viii)  credit hours awarded; and 
 (ix)  signatures of the course sponsor and the licensee. 
 (e)  A real estate appraisal-related field trip that is submitted 
for continuing education credit may not include transit time to or 
from the field trip location as part of the credit hours awarded. 
 (4)  [Non-certified continuing education credit.  ]Except as 
provided in Subsection R162-2g-307d(1), the board may award non-
certified continuing education credit on a case-by-case basis for the 
following: 
 (a)  up to one-half of an individual's continuing education 
credit requirement for: 
 (i)  participation, other than as a student, in appraisal 
educational processes and programs; or 
 (ii)  teaching, program development, authorship of 
textbooks, or similar activities that are determined by the board to be 
equivalent to obtaining continuing education; 
 (b)  service as a member of the experience review 
committee, or the technical advisory panel, if approved by the board 
and offered in accordance with AQB standards as a: 
 (i)  practicum course under [this ]Subsection (3)(a); or 
 (ii)  course under [this ]Subsection (3)(b); and 
 (c)  completion of any course that: 
 (i)  meets the continuing education objectives of increasing 
the licensee's knowledge, professionalism, and ability to protect and 
serve the public; and 
 (ii)  is taught outside [the state ]of Utah. 
 (5)  Standards for approval of a registered course. 
 (a)  A professional appraisal education organization may 
register a special event for continuing education, subject to the 
following conditions: 
 (i)  the professional appraisal education organization shall 
submit a one-time application and registration fee to the division to 
register the organization as a qualified continuing education course 
provider and the special event for continuing education; 
 (ii)  the division may grant approval of the special event 
based on the demonstrated experience of the professional appraisal 
education organization in providing, monitoring, and supervising 
quality professional course offerings. 
 (b)  The registered organization is solely responsible for 
and accountable to the division: 
 (i)  for the selection of appraisal instructors who are subject 
matter experts and industry qualified in the course[(s)] or segment of 
the course[(s)] they teach; 
 (ii)  to ensure that: 
 (A)  course instructors have subject matter expertise in the 
content area they are instructing; and 
 (B)  the course content of classes taught by both appraiser 
and non-appraiser course instructors is directly industry pertinent, 
relevant, and beneficial to and enhances the professional skills of the 
attending appraisers, and promotes the protection and wellbeing of 
the industry and the general public; 

 (iii)  to monitor the attendance of each appraiser during the 
presentation of the course by taking and maintaining a list of 
attendees actually present during the presentation to ensure that an 
appraiser actually attends each CE course segment before providing 
a CE certificate or CE credit to the appraiser; and 
 (iv)  to ensure that the registered course complies with the 
general criteria applicable to continuing education set forth in 
S[s]ections R162-2g-307a and R162-2g-307b. 
 (6)(a)  The special event registered course may last for a 
maximum of seven consecutive days. 
 (b)  The special event registered course is a single, one-time 
event and may not be repeated unless the professional appraisal 
education organization submits to the division an application and 
registration fee and receives division approval for a subsequent, 
single, one-time event. 
 (c)  A professional appraisal education organization shall 
submit a separate course application for each course taught at the 
special event, however, only a single application fee is required to be 
paid to the division for each special event. 
 (d)  The division maintains a fee schedule based on the total 
number of CE hours awarded for a CE course.  The application and 
registration fee for a special event course is the fee from the division 
fee schedule. 
 
R162-2g-307e.  Instructor Certification for Pre-licensing 
Education. 
 (1)  To certify as a pre-licensing education instructor, an 
individual shall: 
 (a)  evidence that the applicant meets the character and 
competency requirements outlined in Subsections R162-2g-302(2)[-
] and (3); 
 (b)  submit a completed application as provided by the 
division; 
 (c)  demonstrate knowledge of the subject matter to be 
taught as evidenced by: 
 (i)  current, active licensure or certification as applicable to 
the pre-licensing course proposed to be taught; 
 (ii)  a minimum of five years active experience in 
appraising; and 
 (iii)(A)  college or other appropriate courses specific to the 
topic proposed to be taught; or 
 (B)  other experience acceptable to the board in the topic 
proposed to be taught; 
 (d)  if the individual proposes to teach a course in USPAP, 
evidence that the individual is an AQB-certified USPAP instructor; 
and 
 (e)  pay a nonrefundable application fee. 
 (2)  A pre-licensing instructor certification is valid for 24 
months from the date of issuance. 
 (3)  To renew a pre-licensing instructor certification, an 
individual shall: 
 (a)  submit a completed application, as provided by the 
division; 
 (b)  evidence having taught at least 20 hours of [in-class 
]instruction in a certified course[(s)] during the preceding term of 
certification; 
 (c)  evidence having attended a real estate instructor 
development workshop sponsored or approved by the division during 
the preceding two years; and 
 (d)  pay a nonrefundable application fee. 
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 (4)(a)  To reinstate an expired pre-licensing instructor 
certification within 30 days following the expiration date, an 
individual shall: 
 (i)  comply with [this ]Subsection (3); and 
 (ii)  pay a nonrefundable late fee. 
 (b)  To reinstate an expired pre-licensing instructor 
certification after 30 days and within six months following the 
expiration date, an individual shall: 
 (i)  comply with [this ]Subsection (3); 
 (ii)  pay a nonrefundable reinstatement fee; and 
 (iii)  submit proof of having completed six classroom hours 
of education related to real estate appraisal or teaching techniques. 
 (c)  After a pre-licensing instructor certification has been 
expired for six months, an individual is required to apply as an 
original applicant and obtain a new certification. 
 (5)  A certified instructor shall comply with the reporting 
requirements of Section 61-2g-306[(3)]. 
 
R162-2g-307f.  Instructor Certification for Continuing 
Education. 
 (1)  Except for the limited circumstances provided for in 
Section R162-2g-307d for special continuing education events 
conducted by a professional appraisal education organization, a 
continuing education course that is required to be certified shall be 
taught by a certified instructor. 
 (2)  To obtain a continuing education instructor 
certification, an [and ]individual shall, at least 30 days before[prior 
to] the date on which instruction is proposed to begin: 
 (a)  evidence that the applicant meets the character and 
competency requirements outlined in Subsections R162-2g-302(2) 
and [-](3); 
 (b)  submit a completed application form, as provided by 
the division; 
 (c)  evidence: 
 (i)  at least three years of full-time experience in the course 
subject; 
 (ii)  college-level education related to the course subject; or 
 (iii)  a combination of experience and education acceptable 
to the division; 
 (d)  evidence: 
 (i)  at least 12 months of full-time teaching experience; 
 (ii)  part-time teaching experience equivalent to 12 months 
of full-time teaching experience; or 
 (iii)  attendance at the division's Instructor Development 
Workshop; 
 (e)  provide a signed statement agreeing to allow the 
instructor's courses to be randomly audited on an unannounced basis 
by the division or its representative; 
 (f)  provide a signed statement agreeing not to market 
personal sales products; 
 (g)  provide any other information the division requires; 
and 
 (h)  pay a nonrefundable application fee. 
 (3)  A continuing education instructor certification is valid 
for two years. 
 (4)  To renew a continuing education instructor 
certification, an individual shall, before[prior to] the date of 
expiration: 
 (a)  submit a completed renewal application, as provided 
by the division; 
 (b)(i)  evidence having taught a minimum of 12 continuing 
education credit hours during the past term of certification; or 

 (ii)  provide a written explanation outlining the reason for 
not meeting the requirement having taught 12 continuing education 
credit hours and provide evidence satisfactory to the division that the 
applicant maintains an appropriate level of expertise; and 
 (c)  pay a nonrefundable renewal fee. 
 (5)(a)  To reinstate an expired continuing instructor 
certification within 30 days following the expiration date, an 
individual shall: 
 (i)  comply with Subsection (4); and 
 (ii)  pay a nonrefundable late fee. 
 (b)  To reinstate an expired continuing instructor 
certification after 30 days and within six months following the 
expiration date, an individual shall: 
 (i)  comply with Subsection (4); and 
 (ii)  pay a nonrefundable reinstatement fee; 
 (c)  After a continuing instructor certification has been 
expired for six months, an individual shall[is required to] apply as an 
original applicant and obtain a new certification. 
 
R162-2g-308.  Application for a Six-Month Temporary Permit. 
 (1)  A non-resident of this state who is licensed or certified 
in another state and who wishes to apply for a six-month temporary 
permit to perform one or more specific appraisal assignments in Utah 
shall: 
 (a)  evidence that each specific appraisal assignment is 
covered by a contract to provide appraisals; 
 (b)  submit an application as provided by the division and 
including the following: 
 (i)  name of the client; 
 (ii)  specific property addresses[address(es)] to be 
appraised; 
 (iii)  types[(s)] of property being appraised; and 
 (iv)  estimated time to complete each assignment; 
 (c)  complete and submit a qualifying questionnaire as 
provided by the division; 
 (d)  sign an irrevocable consent to service authorizing the 
division to receive service of any lawful process on behalf of the 
applicant in any non-criminal proceeding arising out of the 
applicant's practice as an appraiser in this state; 
 (e)  pay a nonrefundable application fee in the amount 
established by the division; and 
 (f)  provide the starting date of the appraisal assignment for 
which the temporary permit is being sought. 
 (2)(a)  A non-resident is limited to two temporary permits 
per calendar year, each of which may be extended one time for an 
additional six-month period if the assignments[(s)] for which the 
permit is issued have not been completed within the original six-
month term of the temporary permit. 
 (b)  A temporary permit may be extended by submitting the 
forms required by the division. 
 
R162-2g-310.  Application for Licensure or Certification 
Through Reciprocity. 
 An individual who is licensed or certified as an appraiser 
by another state may be licensed or certified in Utah by reciprocity 
on the following conditions: 
 (1)  The applicant shall provide evidence that: 
 (a)  the state in which the applicant is licensed requires 
appraisal pre-licensing education that is: 
 (i)  approved by that state; and 
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 (ii)  substantially equivalent in number to the hours 
required for the license or certification for which the applicant is 
applying in Utah; 
 (b)  the applicant's pre-licensing education included either: 
 (i)  the 15-hour National USPAP Course; or 
 (ii)  equivalent education as determined through the course 
approval program of the AQB; and 
 (c)  the applicant has passed an examination that has been 
approved by the AQB for the license or certification for which the 
applicant is applying. 
 (2)  The applicant shall: 
 (a)  obtain and study the Utah Real Estate Appraiser 
Licensing and Certification Act and the rules promulgated 
thereunder; and 
 (b)  sign an attestation that the applicant understands and 
will abide by both the statute and the rules. 
 (3)  If the applicant resides outside [of the state ]of Utah, 
the applicant shall sign an irrevocable consent to service authorizing 
the division to receive service of any lawful process on behalf of the 
applicant in any non-criminal proceeding arising out of the 
applicant's practice as an appraiser in this state. 
[ (4)  The board may not issue a license or certification to an 
applicant who has been convicted of a criminal offense involving 
moral turpitude relating to the applicant's ability to provide services 
as an appraiser.] 
 
R162-2g-311.  Scope of Authority. 
 (1)  Trainees. 
 (a)  An individual who has properly qualified as a trainee 
pursuant to Section R162-2g-302 may perform appraisal-related 
duties within the competence and scope of authority of the state-
certified supervisory appraiser as follows: 
 (i)  participating in property inspections; 
 (ii)  measuring or assisting in the measurement of 
properties; 
 (iii)  performing appraisal-related calculations; 
 (iv)  participating in the selection of comparable properties 
for an appraisal assignment; 
 (v)  making adjustments to comparable properties; and 
 (vi)  drafting or assisting in the drafting of an appraisal 
report. 
 (b)  The trainee may have more than one supervisory 
appraiser. 
 (c)  The supervising appraiser shall be responsible to 
determine the point at which a trainee is competent to participate in 
each of the activities identified in [this ]Subsection (1)(a), within the 
following limitations: 
 (i)  As to a minimum of the trainee's first 35 inspections of 
residential properties: 
 (A)  the trainee shall be accompanied and supervised by a 
state-certified appraiser; 
 (B)  both the interior and the exterior of the properties shall 
be inspected; and 
 (C)  the appraisal report shall comply with the requirements 
of Subsection R162-2g-502a(1)(g). 
 (ii)  After the trainee's first 35 inspections, the supervising 
appraiser shall determine whether the trainee has demonstrated 
sufficient competency to continue making inspections of residential 
properties without being accompanied by the supervising appraiser. 
 (iii)  As to the trainee's first 20 inspections of non-
residential properties: 

 (A)  the trainee shall be accompanied and supervised by a 
state-certified general appraiser; 
 (B)  both the interior and the exterior of the properties shall 
be inspected; and 
 (C)  the appraisal report shall comply with the requirements 
of Subsection R162-2g-502a(1)(g). 
 (d)  A trainee may not: 
 (i)  solicit or accept an assignment on behalf of anyone 
other than: 
 (A)  the trainee's supervisor; or 
 (B)  the supervisor's appraisal firm; 
 (ii)  discuss an appraisal assignment with anyone other 
than: 
 (A)  the supervisory appraiser responsible for the 
assignment; 
 (B)  state enforcement agencies; 
 (C)  third parties as may be authorized by due process of 
law; and 
 (D)  an [duly ]authorized professional peer review 
committee. 
 (e)  The following persons are not subject to the scope of 
authority limitations of this subsection[Subsection (1)]: 
 (i)  full-time elected county assessors; and 
 (ii)  any person performing an appraisal to establish[for the 
purposes of establishing] the fair market value of real estate for the 
assessment roll. 
 (2)  [State-licensed appraisers.  ]In a federally-related 
transaction, state-licensed appraisers may appraise: 
 (a)  non-complex one- to four-residential units having a 
transaction value of less than $1,000,000; 
 (b)  complex one- to four- residential units having a 
transaction value of less than $250,000; and 
 (c)  vacant or unimproved land that is utilized for one- to 
four-family purposes, or for which the highest and best use is one- to 
four-family purposes, so long as net income capitalization analysis is 
not required by the terms of the assignment. 
 (3)  State-licensed appraisers and state-certified residential 
appraisers may not perform appraisals of the following: 
 (a)  subdivisions for which: 
 (i)  a development analysis[/appraisal] is necessary; or 
 (ii)  a discounted cash flow analysis is required by the terms 
of the assignment; 
 (b)  vacant land, if the highest and best use of the land is 
for five or more one- to four-family units; 
 (c)  commercial real property; or 
 (d)  vacant land if the highest and best use of the vacant 
land is commercial use. 
 
R162-2g-502a.  Standards of Conduct and Practice. 
 (1)  [Affirmative duties in general.  ]A person registered, 
licensed, or certified by the division shall: 
 (a)  if employing an unlicensed assistant who is not 
registered as a trainee pursuant to Section R162-2g-302: 
 (i)  actively supervise the unlicensed assistant; and 
 (ii)  ensure that the assistant performs only clerical duties, 
including: 
 (A)  typing research notes or reports completed by a trainee 
or an appraiser; 
 (B)  taking photographs of properties; and 
 (C)  obtaining copies of public records; 
 (b)  except as provided in Subsection (2): 
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 (i)  comply with [the current edition of ]USPAP; and 
 (ii)  observe the advisory opinions of USPAP; 
 (c)  [in order ]to authorize another individual to sign an 
appraisal report on behalf of the individual who completes the report: 
 (i)  grant authority to the signer in writing; 
 (ii)  limit the signing authority to a specific property 
address; 
 (iii)  explicitly disclose within the appraisal report that the 
signer is authorized by the appraiser to sign the report on the 
appraiser's behalf; 
 (iv)  attach a copy of the written permission required 
pursuant to [this ]Subsection (1)(c)(i) to the report; and 
 (v)  ensure that the signer signs the appraiser's name, 
followed by the word "by," and then followed by the signer's own 
name; 
 (d)  if using a digital signature in place of a handwritten 
signature, ensure that: 
 (i)  the software program that generates the digital signature 
has a security feature; and 
 (ii)  no one other than the appraiser has control of the digital 
signature; 
 (e)  retain a photocopy or other exact copy of each report 
as it is provided to the client, including the appraiser's signature; 
 (f)  analyze and report the sales and listing history of the 
subject property for the three years preceding the appraisal if such 
information is available to the appraiser from a multiple listing 
service, listing agents, property owner, or other verifiable sources; 
 (g)(i)  include in each appraisal report a statement 
indicating whether or not the subject property was inspected as part 
of the appraisal process; and 
 (ii)  if any inspections were done, include the following 
information concerning each inspection: 
 (A)  the names of appraisers and trainees who participated 
in the inspection; 
 (B)  whether the inspection was an exterior inspection only 
or both an exterior and an interior inspection; and 
 (C)  the date that the inspection was performed; and 
 (h)  unless Subsection (2)(b) applies, respond within ten 
business days to division notification: 
 (i)  of a complaint against the individual; or 
 (ii)  that information is needed from the individual; and 
 (i)  immediately following the signature on the report in an 
appraisal report prepared and signed by a state-licensed or certified 
appraiser, state either: 
 (i)[(A)]  the credential type of State-Licensed Appraiser, 
State-Certified Residential Appraiser, or State-Certified General 
Appraiser; or 
 (ii)[(B)]  the license or certification number assigned to the 
appraiser by the division. 
 (2)  Exceptions. 
 (a)  An individual is exempt from complying with [the 
provisions of ]USPAP when acting in an official capacity as: 
 (i)  a division staff member or employee; 
 (ii)  a member of the experience review committee as 
appointed and approved by the board; 
 (iii)  a member of the technical review panel as appointed 
and approved by the board; 
 (iv)  a hearing officer; 
 (v)  a member of a county board of equalization; 
 (vi)  an administrative law judge; 
 (vii)  a member of the Utah State Tax Commission; or 
 (viii)  a member of the board. 

 (b)  If a deadline for response under [this ]Subsection (1)(h) 
falls on a day when the division is closed, the deadline shall be 
extended to the next business day. 
 (c)  When performing an evaluation as defined in the Real 
Estate Appraiser and Certification Act, an appraiser trainee or a 
licensed or certified appraiser is exempt from complying with 
Standards 1 through 4 of USPAP. 
 (3)  A trainee shall: 
 (a)  using forms provided by the division, maintain a 
separate log of experience hours for each supervising appraiser with 
whom the trainee works; and 
 (b)  include in each log the following information for each 
appraisal: 
 (i)  file number; 
 (ii)  report date; 
 (iii)  subject address; 
 (iv)  client name; 
 (v)  type of property; 
 (vi)  report form number or type; 
 (vii)  number of work hours; 
 (viii)  description of work performed by the trainee; and 
 (ix)  scope of the review and supervision of the supervising 
appraiser. 
 (4)  Unless there is a client assignment condition 
prohibiting an appraiser trainee from signing an appraisal report, 
when an appraiser trainee performs significant appraisal assistance 
on an appraisal, the trainee may sign the appraisal report if the 
appraisal report is also signed by the trainee's supervisory appraiser.  
The appraiser trainee shall state, immediately following the trainee's 
signature in the report, "Trainee" and include the registration number 
assigned to the appraiser trainee by the division 
 (5)(a)  A supervisory appraiser shall delegate to a trainee 
only such duties as the trainee may[is authorized to] perform under 
Subsection R162-2g-311(1). 
 (b)  A supervisory appraiser shall directly train and 
supervise the trainee in the performance of assigned duties by: 
 (i)  critically observing and directing each aspect[s] of the 
appraisal process; 
 (ii)  accepting full responsibility for the appraisal and the 
contents of the appraisal report by signing and certifying the appraisal 
complies with USPAP; and 
 (iii)  reviewing and signing the trainee appraisal reports. 
 (c)  A supervisory appraiser shall personally inspect: 
 (i)  each property that is appraised with a trainee until the 
supervisory appraiser determines the trainee is competent to inspect 
the property in accordance with the competency rule of USPAP for 
the property type, and the trainee has performed at least: 
 (A)  35 residential inspections as provided in Subsection 
R162-2g-311(1)(c)(i); and 
 (B)  20 non-residential inspections as provided in 
Subsection R162-2g-311(1)(b)(ii); and 
 (ii)  any property for which the appraisal report scope of 
work or certification requires appraiser inspection. 
 (d)  [A supervisory appraiser shall]An appraiser must be 
state-certified and in good standing with the division for a period of 
at least three years before the appraiser is [prior to being ]eligible to 
become a supervisory appraiser. 
 (e)  An appraiser may not act as a supervisory appraiser if 
the appraiser has been subject to a disciplinary action in any 
jurisdiction: 
 (i)  within the three year period preceding the date that [on 
which ]the appraiser proposes to act as a supervisor; and 
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 (ii)  where the supervisory appraiser's legal eligibility to 
engage in the appraisal practice was impacted or impaired. 
 (f)  A supervisory appraiser subject to a disciplinary action 
will be considered to be in good standing three years after the 
successful completion or termination of the sanction imposed against 
the appraiser. 
 (g)  A supervisory appraiser shall comply with the 
competency rule of USPAP for the property type and geographic 
location for which the trainee appraiser is being supervised. 
 (h)  Although a trainee is permitted to have more than one 
supervisory appraiser, a supervisory appraiser may not supervise 
more than three trainees at one time, unless a division program 
provides for progress monitoring, supervisory certified appraiser 
qualifications, and supervision and oversight requirements for 
supervisory appraisers. 
 (i)  Except for AQB-approved PAREA module experience 
hours, an [An ]appraisal experience log shall be maintained jointly 
by the supervisory appraiser and the trainee. It is the responsibility of 
both the supervisory appraiser and the trainee to ensure the 
experience log is accurate, current, and complies with division 
requirements. 
 (6)  A school or continuing education provider shall: 
 (a)  maintain a record of each student's attendance for a 
minimum of five years after the student enrolls; 
 (b)  display the certification number of each continuing 
education course[s] in advertising and marketing; 
 (c)  upload course completion information as to each 
student who provides the school or continuing education provider the 
student's name according to division records and the student's license 
number: 
 (i)  within 10 days after the end of a course offering; and 
 (ii)  to the database specified by the division; 
 (d)  upon request of the division, substantiate any claim 
made in advertising or marketing; 
 (e)  within 15 calendar days of any material change in the 
information outlined in Subsection R162-2g-307b(1), provide to the 
division written notice of the change; 
 (f)  with regard to the criminal history disclosure required 
under Subsection R162-2g-307b(2)(c)(iii): 
 (i)  obtain each student's signature before allowing the 
student to participate in course instruction; 
 (ii)  retain each signed criminal history disclosure for a 
minimum of two years; and 
 (iii)  make any signed criminal history disclosure available 
to the division upon request; 
 (g)  maintain a high quality of instruction; 
 (h)  adhere to the state laws and administrative rules 
regarding school and instructor certification; 
 (i)  provide the instructor[(s)] for each course with the 
required course content outline; 
 (j)  require instructors to adhere to the approved course 
content; 
 (k)  comply with a division request for information within 
ten[10] business days of the date of the request; and 
 (l)  verify that the material is current in any course taught 
on: 
 (i)  Utah statutes; 
 (ii)  Utah administrative rules; 
 (iii)  Federal laws; and 
 (iv)  Federal regulations. 
 (7)  An instructor shall adhere to the approved outline for 
any course taught. 

R162-2g-502b.  [Prohibited]Unprofessional Conduct. 
 (1)  An individual registered, licensed, or certified by the 
division may not: 
 (a)  release to a client a draft report of a one- to four-unit 
residential real property; 
 (b)  release to a client a draft report of a property other than 
a one- to four-unit residential real property unless: 
 (i)  the first page of the report prominently identifies the 
report as a draft; 
 (ii)  the draft report is signed by the appraiser; and 
 (iii)  the appraiser complies with USPAP in the preparation 
of the draft report; 
 (c)  affix a signature to an appraisal report using[by means 
of] a signature stamp; or 
 (d)  sign a blank or partially completed appraisal report that 
will be completed by anyone other than the appraiser who has signed 
the report; 
 (e)  sign an appraisal report containing a statement 
indicating that an appraiser has inspected a property if the appraiser 
has not inspected the property; or 
 (f)  split appraisal fees with any person who is not a state-
licensed or state-certified appraiser, except that a supervising 
appraiser may pay a trainee reasonable compensation proportionate 
to the lawful services actually performed by the trainee in connection 
with appraisals. 
 (2)  A trainee may not: 
 (a)  solicit a client to address an engagement letter directly 
to the trainee; or 
 (b)  accept payment for appraisal services from anyone 
other than: 
 (i)  the trainee's supervisor; or 
 (ii)  an appraisal or government entity with which the 
trainee is affiliated. 
 (3)  A supervising appraiser may not: 
 (a)  sign a report that is completed in response to an 
engagement letter that is addressed to a trainee; 
 (b)  sign an appraisal report as the supervising appraiser 
without having given adequate supervision to the trainee, appraiser, 
or assistant being supervised. 
 (4)  A state-licensed appraiser may not place a seal on an 
appraisal report or use a seal in any other manner likely to create the 
impression that the appraiser is a state-certified appraiser. 
 (5)  A school may not: 
 (a)  in advertising and marketing: 
 (i)  make a misrepresentation about any course of 
instruction; 
 (ii)  make statements or implications that disparage the 
dignity and integrity of the appraisal profession; 
 (iii)  disparage a competitor's services or methods of 
operation; 
 (iv)  as to a continuing education course, use language that 
indicates division approval is pending or otherwise forthcoming; 
 (b)  attempt by any means to obtain or use the questions on 
the state licensure or certification exam unless those questions have 
been dropped from the current exam bank; 
 (c)  accept payment from a student without first providing 
to that student the information outlined in Subsection R162-2g-
307b(2)(c); 
 (d)  continue to operate after the expiration date of the 
school certification without renewing; 
 (e)  continue to offer a course after its expiration date 
without renewing; 
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 (f)  allow an instructor whose instructor certification has 
expired to continue teaching; 
 (g)  allow an individual student to earn more than eight 
credit hours of education in a single day; 
 (h)  award credit to a student who has not complied with 
the minimum attendance requirements; 
 (i)  allow a student to obtain credit for all or part of a course 
by taking an examination in lieu of attending the course; 
 (j)  give valuable consideration to a person licensed with or 
certified by the division under the Real Estate Appraiser Licensing 
and Certification Act [Section 61-2g ]for referring students to the 
school; 
 (k)  accept valuable consideration from a person licensed 
with or certified by the division under the Real Estate Appraiser 
Licensing and Certification Act [Section 61-2g ]for referring students 
to a licensed or certified appraiser; or 
 (l)  require a student to attend any program organized for 
[the purpose of ]solicitation. 
 (6)  A continuing education provider may not: 
 (a)  in advertising and marketing: 
 (i)  make a misrepresentation about any course of 
instruction; 
 (ii)  make statements or implications that disparage the 
dignity and integrity of the appraisal profession; or 
 (iii)  as to a continuing education course, use language that 
indicates division approval is pending or otherwise forthcoming; 
 (b)  continue to offer a course after its expiration date 
without renewing; 
 (c)  allow an instructor whose instructor certification has 
expired to continue teaching; 
 (d)  allow an individual student to earn more than eight 
credit hours of education in a single day; 
 (e)  award credit to a student who has not complied with 
the minimum attendance requirements; or 
 (f)  allow a student to obtain credit for all or part of a course 
by taking an examination in lieu of attending the course. 
 (7)  An instructor may not: 
 (a)  continue to teach any course after the course has 
expired and without renewing the course certification; or 
 (b)  continue to teach any course after the individual's 
certification has expired and without renewing the instructor 
certification. 
 
R162-2g-504.  Administrative Proceedings. 
 (1)  Formal adjudicative proceedings. An adjudicative 
proceeding conducted after[subsequent to] the issuance of a cease 
and desist order or other emergency order shall be conducted as a 
formal adjudicative proceeding. 
 (2)  Informal adjudicative proceedings. 
 (a)  An adjudicative proceeding as to any matter not 
specifically designated as requiring a formal adjudicative proceeding 
shall be conducted as an informal adjudicative proceeding. 
 (b)  A hearing shall be held in an informal adjudicative 
proceeding only if required or permitted by the Utah Real Estate 
Appraiser Licensing and Certification Act or by these rules. 
 (3)(a)  A hearing before the board will be held in: 
 (i)  a proceeding conducted after[subsequent to] the 
issuance of a cease and desist order or other emergency order; 
 (ii)  a case where the division seeks to deny an application 
for original or renewed registration, licensure, or certification for 
failure of the applicant to meet the criteria of[ good moral character,] 
honesty, integrity or truthfulness; 

 (iii)  a case where the division seeks disciplinary action 
pursuant to Section[s] 61-2g-501 and Section 61-2g-502 against a 
trainee or an appraiser; and 
 (iv)  an appeal from an automatic revocation under 
Subsection 61-2g-302(2)(d), if the appellant requests a hearing. 
 (b)  If properly requested by the applicant, a hearing will be 
held before the board to consider an application: 
 (i)  that is denied by the division on the grounds of [that 
]the instructor's failure to evidence honesty, integrity or 
truthfulness[attestation to upstanding moral character is false]; 
 (ii)  for an initial appraiser license or certification that is 
denied by the board on the recommendation of the experience review 
committee; and 
 (iii)  for a temporary permit that is denied by the division 
for any reason. 
 (c)  A hearing is not required and will not be held in the 
following informal adjudicative proceedings: 
 (i)  the issuance, renewal, or reinstatement of a trainee 
registration or an appraiser license or certification by the division; 
 (ii)  the issuance or renewal of an appraisal course, school, 
or instructor certification; 
 (iii)  the issuance of any interpretation of statute, rule, or 
order, or the issuance of any written opinion or declaratory order 
determining the applicability of a statute, rule, or order, when 
enforcement or implementation of the statute, rule, or order lies 
within the jurisdiction of the division; and 
 (iv)  the denial of renewal or reinstatement of a trainee 
registration or an appraiser license or certification for failure to 
complete any continuing education required by statute or rule; and 
 (v)  the denial of an application for an original or renewed 
school, instructor, or course certification on the ground that it does 
not comply with the requirements stated in these rules. 
 (4)(a)  Request for agency action. The following 
applications shall be deemed a request for agency action: 
 (i)  registration as a trainee; 
 (ii)  licensure or certification as an appraiser; 
 (iii)  certification of a course, school, or instructor; and 
 (iv)  issuance of a temporary permit. 
 (b)  Any other request for agency action shall be in writing, 
signed by the requestor, and shall contain the following: 
 (i)  the names and addresses of[ all] persons to whom a 
copy of the request for agency action is being sent; 
 (ii)  the agency's file number or other reference number, if 
known; 
 (iii)  the date of mailing of the request for agency action; 
 (iv)  a statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction 
under which the agency action is requested, if known; 
 (v)  a statement of the relief or action sought from the 
division; and 
 (vi)  a statement of the facts and reasons forming the basis 
for relief or agency action. 
 (c)  A complaint against a trainee, an appraiser, or the 
holder of a temporary permit requesting that the division 
begin[commence] an investigation or a disciplinary action is not a 
request for agency action. 
 (5)  Procedures for hearings in informal adjudicative 
proceedings. 
 (a)  [All i]Informal adjudicative proceedings shall adhere 
to procedures as outlined in: 
 (i)  Utah Administrative Procedures Act Title 63G, Chapter 
4; 
 (ii)  [Utah Administrative Code ]Rule R151-4[ et seq.]; and 
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 (iii)  the rules promulgated by the division. 
 (b)  Except as provided in [this ]Subsection (6)(b), a party 
is not required to file a written answer to a notice of agency action 
from the division in an informal adjudicative proceeding. 
 (c)  In any proceeding under this section, [Subsection 
R162-2g-504, ]the board and division may at their discretion delegate 
a hearing to an administrative law judge or request that an 
administrative law judge assist the board and the division in 
conducting the hearing. Any delegation of a hearing to an 
administrative law judge shall be in writing. 
 (d)(i)  Upon the scheduling of a hearing by the division and 
at least 30 days before[prior to] the hearing, the division shall, by first 
class postage-prepaid delivery, mail written notice of the date, time, 
and place scheduled for the hearing, to the respondent at the address 
last provided to the division pursuant to S[ubs]ection R162-2g-306b. 
 (ii)  The notice shall set forth the matters to be addressed in 
the hearing. 
 (e)  Formal discovery is prohibited. 
 (f)  The division may issue subpoenas or other orders to 
compel production of necessary evidence: 
 (i)  on its own behalf; or 
 (ii)  on behalf of a party where the party: 
 (A)  makes a written request; 
 (B)  assumes responsibility for effecting service of the 
subpoena; and 
 (C)  bears the costs of the service, any witness fee, and any 
mileage to be paid to a witness. 
 (g)  Upon ordering a licensee to appear for a hearing, the 
division shall provide to the licensee the information that the division 
will introduce at the hearing. 
 (h)  Intervention is prohibited. 
 (i)  Hearings shall be open to all parties unless the presiding 
officer closes the hearing pursuant to: 
 (i)  Title 63G, Chapter 4, the Utah Administrative 
Procedures Act; or 
 (ii)  Title 52, Chapter 4, the Open and Public Meetings Act. 
 (j)  Upon filing a proper entry of appearance with the 
division pursuant to Utah Administrative Code Subsection[Section] 
R151-4-110(1)(a), an attorney may represent a party. 
 (6)  Additional procedures for disciplinary proceedings. 
 (a)  The division shall begin[commence] a disciplinary 
proceeding by filing and serving on the respondent: 
 (i)  a notice of agency action; 
 (ii)  a petition setting forth the allegations made by the 
division; 
 (iii)  a witness list, if applicable; and 
 (iv)  an exhibit list, if applicable. 
 (b)[  Answer. 
 (i)  At the time](i)  When the petition is filed, the presiding 
officer, upon a determination of good cause, may require the 
respondent to file an answer to the petition by so ordering in the 
notice of agency action. 
 (ii)  The respondent may file an answer, even if not ordered 
to do so in the notice of agency action. 
 (iii)  Any answer shall be filed with the division no later 
than 30 days following the mailing date of the notice of agency action 
pursuant to [this ]Subsection (6)(a). 
 (c)  Witness and exhibit lists. 
 (i)  Where applicable, the division shall provide its witness 
and exhibit lists to the respondent when[at the time] it mails its notice 
of agency action. 
 (ii)  Any witness list shall contain: 

 (A)  the name, address, and telephone number of each 
witness; and 
 (B)  a summary of the testimony expected from the witness. 
 (iii)  Any exhibit list: 
 (A)  shall contain an identification of each document or 
other exhibit that the party intends to use at the hearing; and 
 (B)  shall be accompanied by copies of the exhibits. 
 (iv)(A)  The presiding officer, upon a determination of 
good cause, may require a respondent to file a witness and exhibit 
list. 
 (B)  Failure to comply with a requirement to file a witness 
and exhibit list may result in the exclusion of any witness or exhibit 
not disclosed. 
 (d)  Pre-hearing motions. 
 (i)  Any pre-hearing motion permitted under the 
Administrative Procedures Act or the rules promulgated by the 
Department of Commerce shall be made in accordance with those 
rules. 
 (ii)  The division director shall receive and rule upon any 
pre-hearing motions. 
 
R162-2g-601.  Appendices. 
 Appendix 1.  Residential Experience Hours Schedule.  An 
applicant may submit experience for the successful completion of an 
AQB-approved PAREA program module including the Licensed 
Residential Module of 1,000 experience hours and the Certified 
Residential Module of 500 experience hours.  Alternatively, the hours 
shown in the following schedule shall be awarded for form 
appraisals.  Fifteen hours may be added to the hours shown if the 
appraisal is a narrative appraisal instead of a form appraisal. 
 

TABLE 1 
Property Type Hours that may be 

earned 
(a) one-unit dwelling, above-grade: 
(i) living area less than 4,000 square 
feet, including a site  

Up to 10 hours  
(Expected avg hrs  7.5) 

PART 1 
Task Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis  0.25 
Neighborhood Description  0.5 
Exterior Inspection  0.5 
Interior Inspection  0.5 
Market Conditions  0.75 
Land Value Estimate  0.5 
Improvement Cost Estimate  0.5 
Income Value Estimate  2.5 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate  2.5 
Final Reconciliation  0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation  1.75 
Restricted Appraisal Report 
Preparation  

0.5 

(ii) living area 4,000 square feet or 
more, including a site  

Up to 10 hours 

PART 2 
Task Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis 0.25 
Neighborhood Description  0.5 
Exterior Inspection  0.75 
Interior Inspection  0.75 
Market Conditions  0.75 
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Land Value Estimate 0.75 
Improvement Cost Estimate  0.75 
Income Value Estimate  3.0 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate  3.0 
Final Reconciliation  0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation  2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report 
Preparation  

0.5 

(b) multiple one-unit dwellings in 
the same subdivision or 
condominium project, which 
dwellings are substantially similar: 
(ii) over 25 dwellings 

7 hours per dwelling, 
up to a maximum of 42 
hours 

(c) two to four-unit dwelling 
(i) 1-25 dwellings 

70 hours maximum 

PART 3 
Task  Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis  0.25 
Neighborhood Description  0.5 
Exterior Inspection 0.5 
Interior Inspection 0.5 
Market Conditions  0.75 
Land Value Estimate 0.5 
Improvement Cost Estimate 0.5 
Income Value Estimate 3.0 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate  3.0 
Final Reconciliation  0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation  2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report 
Preparation  

0.5 

(d) employee relocation counsel 
reports completed on currently 
accepted Employee Relocation 
Counsel form  

Up to 10 hours 

(e) residential lot, 1-4 unit Up to 7 hours 
PART 4 
Task Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis  0.25 
Neighborhood Description  0.5 
Site Inspection  0.25 
Market Conditions  0.75 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate  1-3 
Final Reconciliation  0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation  2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report 
Preparation  

0.5 

(f) multiple lots in the same 
subdivision, which lots are 
substantially similar 
(i) 1-25 lots  

5 hours per lot, up to a 
maximum of 30 hours 

(ii) Over 25 maximum lots  50 hours 
(g) small parcel of less than 20 acres  Up to 6.5 hours 
PART 5 
Task  Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis 0.25 
Neighborhood Description  0.5 
Site Inspection  0.25 
Market Conditions  0.75 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate  1-3 
Final Reconciliation  0.25 

Appraisal Report Preparation  2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report 
Preparation  

0.5 

(h) vacant land, 20-640 acres 20-40 hours, per board 
decision 

(k) review of residential appraisals 
with no opinion of value developed 
as part of the review performed in 
conjunction with investigations by 
government agencies 

10-50 hours 

(i) recreational, farm, or timber 
acreage suitable for a house site: 

 

(i) up to 10 acres  10 hours 
(ii) 10 acres or more  15 hours  
(j) other unusual structures or 
acreage that are much larger or 
more complex than typical 
properties 

5-35 hours, per board 
decision 

(k) review of residential appraisals 
with no opinion of value developed 
as part of there view performed in 
conjunction with investigations by 
government agencies 

10-50 hours 

 
 Appendix 2.  General Experience Hours Schedule.  
Appraisal reports claimed for property types identified in sections (a) 
through (k) of the following schedule shall be narrative appraisal 
reports.  Experience hours listed in this schedule may be increased by 
50% for unique and complex properties if the applicant notes the 
number of extra hours claimed on the appraiser experience log 
submitted by the applicant, and if the applicant maintains in the 
workfile for the appraisal an explanation as to why the extra hours 
are claimed. 
 

TABLE 2 
Property Type Hours that may be earned 
(a) Apartment buildings: 
(i) 5-100 units 

40 hours 

(ii) over 100 units 50 hours 
(b) hotel or motels: 
(i) 50 units or fewer  

30 hours 

(ii) 51-150 units  40 hours 
(iii) over 150 units  50 hours 
(c) nursing home, rest home, care 
facilities: 
(i) fewer than 80 beds 

40 hours 

(ii) 80 beds or more  50 hours 
(d) industrial or warehouse 
building: 
(i) smaller than 20,000 square feet 

30 hours 

(ii) 20,000 square feet or more, 
single tenant 

40 hours 

(iii) 20,000 square feet or more, 
multiple tenants 

50 hours 

e) office buildings: 
(i) smaller than 10,000 square feet   

30 hours 

(ii) 10,000 square feet or more, 
single tenant 

40 hours 

(iii) 10,000 square feet or more, 
multiple tenants 

50 hours 
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(f) entire condominium projects, 
using income approach to value: 

 

(i) 5- to 30-unit project 30 hours 
(ii) 31- or more-unit project 50 hours 
(g) retail buildings: 
(i) smaller than 10,000 square feet 

30 hours 

(ii) 10,000 square feet or more, 
single tenant  

40 hours 

(iii) 10,000 square feet or more, 
multiple tenants  

50 hours 

(ii) 10,000 square feet or more, 
single tenant  

40 hours 

(iii) 10,000 square feet or more, 
multiple tenants  

50 hours 

(f) entire condominium projects, 
using income approach to value: 
(i) 5- to 30-unit project  

30 hours 

(ii) 31- or more-unit project  50 hours 
(h) commercial, multi-unit, 
industrial, or other non-residential 
use acreage: 
(i) 1 to less than 100 acres  

20-40 hours 

(ii) 100 acres or more, income 
approach to value 

50-60 hours 

(i) other unusual structures or 
assignments that are much larger 
or more complex than the 
properties described in 
Subsection (a) through (h) 

5 to 100 hours per board 
decision  

(j) entire subdivisions or planned 
unit developments (PUDs): 
(i) 1- to 25-unit subdivision or  

30 hours 

(ii) over 25-unit subdivision or 
PUD 

50 hours 

(k) feasibility or market analysis  5 to 100 hours, each per 
board decision, up to a 
maximum of 500 hours 

 Form Narrative 
(l) farm and ranch appraisals: 
(i) irrigated cropland, pasture 
other than rangeland: 

  

(A) 1 to less than 11 acres  10 hrs 15 hrs 
(B) 11-less than 40 acres  12.5 hrs 20 hrs 
(C) 40-less than 160 acres  15 hrs 25 hrs 
(D)160-less than 1,280 acres  25 hrs 40 hrs 
(E) 1,280 acres or more  40 hrs 50 hrs 
(ii) dry farm:    
(A) 1 to less than 1,280 acres  15 hrs 25 hrs 
(B) 1,280   acres or more  20 hrs     40 hrs 
(m) Improvements on properties 
other than a rural residence, 
maximum 10 hours: 

  

(i) dwelling  5 hrs 5 hrs 
(ii) shed  2.5 hrs  2.5 hrs 
(n) cattle ranches 
(i) 0-200 head  

15 hrs 20 hrs 

(ii) 201-500 head  25 hrs 30 hrs 
(iii) 501-1,000 head  30 hrs 40 hrs 
(iv) more than 1,000 head 40 hrs  50 hrs 
(o) sheep ranches 25 hrs  30 hrs 

(i) 0-2,000 head  
(ii) more than 2,000 head  35 hrs 45 hrs 
(ii) 101-300 head  25 hrs 30 hrs 
(iii) more than 300 head  30 hrs 35 hrs 
(q) orchards 
(i) up to 50 acres  

30 hrs 40 hrs 

(ii) more than 50 acres  40 hrs 50 hrs 
(r) rangeland or timber 
(i) 0-640 acres  

20 hrs    25 hrs 

(ii) more than 640 acres  30 hrs    35 hrs 
(s) poultry 
(i) 0-100,000 birds  

30 hrs    40 hrs 

(ii) more than 100,000 birds  40 hrs    50 hrs 
(t) mink 
(i) 0-5,000 cages  

30 hrs 35 hrs 

(ii) more than 5,000 cages  40 hrs    50 hrs 
(u) fish farm  40 hrs    50 hrs 
(v) hog farm  40 hrs    50 hrs 
(w) review of Appendix 2 
appraisals with  no opinion of 
value developed as part of the 
review, performed in conjunction 
with investigations by 
government agencies 

20-100 
hours 

 

(x) natural resource properties,  
depending on complexity: 
(i) sand and gravel  

1-20 hours per site 

(ii) mine  1-110 hours 
(iii) oil and gas  1-50 hours per site 
(y) pipelines and gas distribution 
properties, depending on 
complexity  

10-40 hours 

(z) telephone and electrics 
properties, depending on 
complexity  

5-80 hours 

(aa) airline and railroad 
properties, depending on 
complexity  

10-80 hours 

(bb) appraisal review or audit, 
depending  on complexity  

2.5-125 hours 

(cc) capitalization rate study  10 to 100 hours 
(dd) mineral pricing study 10 to 100 hours 
(ee) effective tax rate study  10 to 100 hours 
(ff) Ad valorem centrally assessed 
property tax appeal preparation  

5 to 125 hours 

 
 Appendix 3.  Mass Appraisal Experience Hours Schedule. 
 

TABLE 3 
Property Type Hours that may 

be earned 
(a) one-unit dwelling, above-grade living 
area less than 4,000 square feet: 

 

PART 1 
Task Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis  0.25 
Income Value Estimate  2.5 
Neighborhood Description  0.5 
Exterior Inspection  0.5 
Interior Inspection  0.5 
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CAMA Data Input and Review   0.5 
Market Conditions  0.75 
Land Value Estimate  0.5 
Improvement Cost Estimate  0.5 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate  2.5 
Final Reconciliation  0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation  1.75 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation  0.5 
(b) one-unit dwelling, above-grade living 
area 4,000 square feet or more: 

 

PART 2 
Highest and Best Use Analysis  0.25 
Neighborhood Description  0.5 
Exterior Inspection  0.75 
Interior Inspection  0.75 
CAMA Data Input and Review  0.5 
Market Conditions  0.75 
Land Value Estimate  0.75 
Improvement Cost Estimate  0.75 
Income Value Estimate  3.0 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate 3.0 
Final Reconciliation  0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation  2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation  0.5 
(c) two- to four-unit dwelling:   
PART 3 
Highest and Best Use Analysis  0.25 
Neighborhood Description  0.5 
Exterior Inspection  0.5 
Interior Inspection  0.5 
CAMA Data Input and Review  0.5 
Market Conditions  0.75 
Land Value Estimate  0.5 
Improvement Cost Estimate  0.5 
Income Value Estimate  3.0 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate  3.0 
Final Reconciliation  0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation  2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation  0.5 
(d) commercial and industrial buildings, 
depending on complexity: 

 

PART 4 
Highest and Best Use Analysis  0.25 
Neighborhood Description  0.5 
Exterior Inspection  0.5-4.5 
Interior Inspection  0.5-9.5 
CAMA Data Input and Review  0.5 
Market Conditions  1.5 
Land Value Estimate  2.0 
Improvement Cost Estimate  2.0 
Income Value Estimate  2-15 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate  2-15 
Final Reconciliation  0.5 
Appraisal Report Preparation  1-10 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation  0.5 
(e) agricultural and other improvements,  
depending on complexity: 

 

PART 5 
Highest and Best Use Analysis  0.25 - 0.5 

Neighborhood Description  0.5 
Exterior Inspection  0.25 - 0.5 
Interior Inspection  0.5-1 
CAMA Data Input and Review  0.5 
Market Conditions  0.75 
Land Value Estimate  0.5 - 1 
Improvement Cost Estimate 0.5 - 1 
Income Value Estimate  1 - 3 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate  1 - 3 
Final Reconciliation  0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation  2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation  0.5 
(f) vacant land, depending on complexity:  
PART 6 
Highest and Best Use Analysis 0.25 - 0.5 
Neighborhood Description  0.5 
Site Inspection  0.25 
Land Segregation  0.25 
CAMA Data Input and Review  0.5 
Inspection  0.25 - 2.25 
Market Conditions  0.75 
Income Value Estimate  1-3 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate  1-3 
Final Reconciliation  0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation 2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation  0.5 
g) land valuation guideline for 
development: 

 

(i) 25 or fewer parcels  10 hours 
(ii) 26 to 500 parcels  30 hours 
(iii) over 500 parcels  25 additional 

hours for each 
500 parcels, up 
to a maximum of 
125 hours for 
each guideline  

(h) land valuation guideline update: (i) 25 
or fewer parcels 

1 hour 

(ii) 26 to 500 parcels 3 hours 
(iii) over 500 parcels  2.5 additional 

hours for each 
500 parcels, up 
to a maximum of 
12.5 hours for 
each guideline  

(i) assessment or sales ratio study, data 
collection, verification, sample inspection, 
analysis, conclusion, and implementation: 

 

(i) base study of 100 reviewed sales 125 hours 
(ii) additional increments of 100 sales  25 additional 

hours for each 
100 additional 
sales, up to a 
maximum of 
375 hours for 
each study 

(j) multiple regression model, 
development and implementation: 
(i) fewer than 5,000 parcels  

100 hours 
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(ii) additional increments of 500 parcels  5 additional 
hours for each 
additional 500 
parcels, up to a 
maximum of 
375 hours for 
each regression 
model 

(k) industry depreciation study and 
analysis 

5 to 40 hours 

(l) reviews of "land value in use" in 
accordance with Section 59-2-505: 

 

(i) office review only 0.25 hours 
(ii) field review  0.5 hours 
(m) natural resource properties, depending 
on complexity: 

 

(i) sand and gravel  1-20 hours per 
site 

(ii) mine  1-110 hours 
(iii) oil and gas  1-50 hours per 

site 
(n) pipelines and gas distribution 
properties, depending on complexity  

10-40 hours 

(o) telephone and electrics properties, 
depending on complexity 

5-80 hours 

(p) airline and railroad properties, 
depending on complexity  

10-80 hours 

(q) appraisal review or audit, depending on 
complexity  

2.5-125 hours 

(r) capitalization rate study  10 to 100 hours 
(s) mineral pricing study 10 to 100 hours 
(t) effective tax rate study  10 to 100 hours 
(u) Ad valorem centrally assessed property 
tax appeal preparation  

5 to 125 hours 

 
 Appendix 4.  Appraiser Education. 
 

TABLE 4 
Required Core Curriculum 

Trainee Appraiser Hours  
Basic Appraisal Principles  30 Hours 
Basic Appraisal Procedures  30 Hours 
15-Hour national USPAP Course or its 
Equivalent 

15 Hours 

Utah Appraiser and Trainee Course   6 Hours 
Trainee Appraiser Education 
Requirements 

81 Total Hours 

Licensed Appraiser  
Basic Appraisal Principles  30 Hours 
Basic Appraisal Procedures  30 Hours 
15-Hour national USPAP Course or its 
Equivalent 

15 Hours 

Utah Appraiser and Trainee Course 6 Hours 
Residential Market Analysis and Highest 
and Best Use 

15 Hours 

Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and 
Cost Approach 

15 Hours 

Residential Sales Comparison and Income 
Approaches 

30 Hours 

Residential Report Writing and Case 
Studies 

15 Hours 

Licensed Residential Education 
Requirements 

156 Total Hours 

Certified Residential  
Basic Appraisal Principles 30 Hours 
Basic Appraisal Procedures 30 Hours 
15-Hour national USPAP Course or its 
Equivalent 

15 Hours 

Utah Appraiser and Trainee Course   6 Hours 
Residential Market Analysis and Highest 
and Best Use 

15 Hours 

Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and 
Cost Approach  

15 Hours 

Residential Sales Comparison and Income 
Approaches 

30 Hours 

Residential Report Writing and Case 
Studies 

15 Hours 

Statistics, Modeling and Finance  15 Hours 
Advanced Residential Applications and 
Case Studies 

15 Hours 

Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (May 
include hours over the minimum shown in 
other modules) 

20 Hours 

Certified Residential Education 
Requirements 

206 Total Hours 

Certified General*  
Basic Appraisal Principles  30 Hours 
Basic Appraisal Procedures  30 Hours 
15-Hour national USPAP Course or its 
Equivalent 

15 Hours 

Utah Appraiser and Trainee Course   6 Hours 
*General Appraiser Market Analysis and 
Highest and Best Use 

30 Hours 

Statistics, Modeling and Finance 15 Hours 
*General Sales Comparison and Income 
Approaches 

30 Hours 

*General Appraiser Site Valuation and 
Cost Approach 

30 Hours 

General Appraiser Income Approach 60 Hours 
*General Appraiser Report Writing and 
Case Studies 

30 Hours 

Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (May 
include hours over the minimum shown in 
other modules) 

30 Hours 

Certified General Education Requirements 
*The four Certified General courses 
identified with an asterisk * may substitute 
for the equivalent four Licensed Appraiser 
or Certified Residential courses when a 
candidate provides proof of completion of 
these courses when applying for a 
Licensed or Certified Residential appraisal 
credential. 

306 Total Hours 
 

 
 

TABLE 5 
Continuing Education Topics 

(Division Certification Required) 
(1)  Ad valorem taxation 
(2) Arbitration, dispute resolution 
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(3) Courses related to the practice of real estate appraisal or 
Consulting 
(4) Development cost estimating 
(5) Ethics and standards of professional practice, USPAP 
(6) Land use planning, zoning 
(7) Management, leasing, timesharing 
(8) Property development, partial interests 
(9) Real estate law, easements, and legal interests 
(10) Real estate litigation, damages, condemnation 
(11) Real estate financing and investment 
(12) Real estate appraisal-related computer applications 
(13) Real estate securities and syndication 
(14) Developing opinions of real property value in appraisals 
that also include personal property or business value 
(15) Seller concessions and impact on value 
(16) Energy efficient items and "green building" appraisals 

 
[R162-2g-601.  Appendices. 
 Appendix 1.  Residential Experience Hours Schedule.  The 
hours shown in the following schedule shall be awarded to form 
appraisals.  Fifteen hours may be added to the hours shown if the 
appraisal is a narrative appraisal instead of a form appraisal. 
 

TABLE 
Property Type                                  Hours that may be 
                                               earned 
(a) one-unit dwelling, above-grade: 
  (i) living area less than 4,000 square 
feet, including a site                         Up to 10 hours 
                                               (Expected avg hrs 
                                               7.5) 
 
Part 1 
 
Task                                           Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis                  0.25 
Neighborhood Description                       0.5 
Exterior Inspection                            0.5 
Interior Inspection                            0.5 
Market Conditions                              0.75 
Land Value Estimate                            0.5 
Improvement Cost Estimate                      0.5 
Income Value Estimate                          2.5 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate                2.5 
Final Reconciliation                           0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation                   1.75 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation        0.5 
 
  (ii) living area 4,000 square 
feet or more, including a site                 Up to 10 hours 
 
Part 2 
 
Task                                           Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis                  0.25 
Neighborhood Description                       0.5 
Exterior Inspection                            0.75 
Interior Inspection                            0.75 
Market Conditions                              0.75 
Land Value Estimate                            0.75 
Improvement Cost Estimate                      0.75 
Income Value Estimate                          3.0 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate                3.0 
Final Reconciliation                           0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation                   2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation        0.5 
 
(b) multiple one-unit dwellings in 
the same subdivision or condominium 
project, which dwellings are substantially 
similar: 

  (i) 1-25 dwellings                           7 hours per 
                                               dwelling, up 
                                               to a maximum of 42 
                                               hours 
  (ii) over 25 dwellings                       70 hours maximum 
(c) two to four-unit dwelling 
 
Part 3 
 
Task                                           Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis                  0.25 
Neighborhood Description                       0.5 
Exterior Inspection                            0.5 
Interior Inspection                            0.5 
Market Conditions                              0.75 
Land Value Estimate                            0.5 
Improvement Cost Estimate                      0.5 
Income Value Estimate                          3.0 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate                3.0 
Final Reconciliation                           0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation                   2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation        0.5 
 
(d) employee relocation counsel reports 
completed on currently accepted Employee 
Relocation Counsel form                        Up to 10 hours 
(e) residential lot, 1-4 unit                  Up to 7 hours 
 
Part 4 
 
Task                                           Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis                  0.25 
Neighborhood Description                       0.5 
Site Inspection                                0.25 
Market Conditions                              0.75 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate                1-3 
Final Reconciliation                           0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation                   2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation        0.5 
 
(f) multiple lots in the same subdivision, 
which lots are substantially similar 
  (i) 1-25 lots                                5 hours per lot, 
                                               up to a maximum of 
                                               30 hours 
  (ii) Over 25 lots                            50 hours maximum 
(g) small parcel   of less than 20 acres  up to 6.5 hours 
 
Part 5 
 
Task                                           Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis                  0.25 
Neighborhood Description                       0.5 
Site Inspection                                0.25 
Market Conditions                              0.75 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate                1-3 
Final Reconciliation                           0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation                   2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation        0.5 
 
(h) vacant land, 20-640 acres                  20-40 hours, per 
                                               board decision 
(i) recreational, farm, or timber acreage 
suitable for a house site: 
  (i) up to 10 acres                           10 hours 
  (ii)  10 acres or more                       15 hours 
(j) all other unusual structures or            5-35 hours, per 
acreage which are much larger or more          board decision 
complex than typical properties 
(k) review of residential appraisals with no 
opinion of value developed as part of the 
review performed in conjunction with 
investigations by government agencies          10-50 hours 
 

 Appendix 2.  General Experience Hours Schedule. All 
appraisal reports claimed for property types identified in sections (a) 
through (k) of the following schedule shall be narrative appraisal 
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reports. Experience hours listed in this schedule may be increased by 
50% for unique and complex properties if the applicant notes the 
number of extra hours claimed on the appraiser experience log 
submitted by the applicant, and if the applicant maintains in the 
workfile for the appraisal an explanation as to why the extra hours 
are claimed. 
 

TABLE 
 
Property Type                                  Hours that 
                                               may be earned 
(a) Apartment buildings: 
  (i) 5-100 units                              40 hours 
  (ii) over 100 units                          50 hours 
(b) hotel or motels: 
  (i) 50 units or fewer                        30 hours 
  (ii) 51-150 units                            40 hours 
  (iii) over 150 units                         50 hours 
(c) nursing home, rest home, care facilities: 
  (i) fewer than 80 beds                       40 hours 
  (ii)  80 beds or more                        50 hours 
(d) industrial or warehouse building: 
  (i) smaller than 20,000 square feet          30 hours 
  (ii)  20,000 square feet or more, single 
  tenant                                       40 hours 
  (iii)  20,000 square feet or more, multiple 
  tenants                                      50 hours 
(e) office buildings: 
  (i) smaller than 10,000 square feet          30 hours 
  (ii)  10,000 square feet or more, single 
  tenant                                       40 hours 
  (iii)  10,000 square feet or more, multiple 
  tenants                                      50 hours 
(f) entire condominium projects, using income 
approach to value: 
  (i) 5- to 30-unit project                    30 hours 
  (ii) 31- or more-unit project                50 hours 
(g) retail buildings: 
  (i) smaller than 10,000 square feet          30 hours 
  (ii)  10,000 square feet or more, single 
  tenant                                       40 hours 
  (iii)  10,000 square feet or more, multiple 
  tenants                                      50 hours 
(h) commercial, multi-unit, industrial, 
or other nonresidential use acreage: 
  (i) 1 to less than 100 acres                 20-40 hours 
  (ii) 100 acres or more, income approach 
  to value                                     50-60 hours 
(i) all other unusual structures or assignments 
  that are much larger or more complex than    5 to 100 hours per 
  the properties described in (a) to (h)       board decision 
  herein. 
(j) entire subdivisions or planned unit 
developments (PUDs): 
  (i) 1- to 25-unit subdivision or PUD         30 hours 
  (ii) over 25-unit subdivision or PUD         50 hours 
(k) feasibility or market analysis             5 to 100 hours, 
                                               each per board 
                                               decision, up to a 
                                               maximum of 500 
                                               hours 
 
(l) farm and ranch appraisals:                 Form     Narrative 
  (i) irrigated cropland, pasture 
  other than rangeland: 
    (A) 1 to less than 11 acres                10 hrs    15 hrs 
    (B)11-less than 40 acres                   12.5 hrs  20 hrs 
    (C)40-less than 160 acres                  15 hrs    25 hrs 
    (D)160-less than 1280 acres                25 hrs    40 hrs 
    (E) 1280   acres or more                   40 hrs    50 hrs 
  (ii) dry farm: 
    (A) 1 to less than 1280 acres              15 hrs    25 hrs 
    (B) 1280   acres or more                   20 hrs    40 hrs 
(m) Improvements on properties other than 
a rural residence, maximum 10 hours: 
  (i) dwelling                                 5 hrs     5 hrs 

  (ii) shed                                    2.5 hrs   2.5 hrs 
(n)  cattle ranches 
  (i) 0-200 head                               15 hrs   20 hrs 
  (ii) 201-500 head                            25 hrs   30 hrs 
  (iii) 501-1000 head                          30 hrs   40 hrs 
  (iv) more than 1000 head                     40 hrs   50 hrs 
(o) sheep ranches 
  (i) 0-2000 head                              25 hrs   30 hrs 
  (ii) more than 2000 head                     35 hrs   45 hrs 
(p) dairy, including all improvements 
except a dwelling 
  (i) 0-100 head                               20 hrs   25 hrs 
  (ii) 101-300 head                            25 hrs   30 hrs 
  (iii) more than 300 head                     30 hrs   35 hrs 
(q) orchards 
  (i) up to 50 acres                           30 hrs   40 hrs 
  (ii) more than 50 acres                      40 hrs   50 hrs 
(r) rangeland/timber 
  (i) 0-640 acres                              20 hrs   25 hrs 
  (ii) more than 640 acres                     30 hrs   35 hrs 
(s) poultry 
  (i) 0-100,000 birds                          30 hrs   40 hrs 
  (ii) more than 100,000 birds                 40 hrs   50 hrs 
(t) mink 
  (i) 0-5000 cages                             30 hrs   35 hrs 
  (ii) more than 5000 cages                    40 hrs   50 hrs 
(u) fish farm                                  40 hrs   50 hrs 
(v) hog farm                                   40 hrs   50 hrs 
(w) review of appendix 2 appraisals with 
  no opinion of value developed as part 
  of the review, performed in conjunction 
  with investigations by government agencies   20-100 hours 
 

 Appendix 3.  Mass Appraisal Experience Hours Schedule. 
 

TABLE 
 
Property Type                                  Hours that 
                                               may be earned 
(a) one-unit dwelling, above-grade living 
  area less than 4,000 square feet: 
 
Part 1 
 
Task                                           Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis                  0.25 
Neighborhood Description                       0.5 
Exterior Inspection                            0.5 
Interior Inspection                            0.5 
CAMA Data Input and Review                     0.5 
Market Conditions                              0.75 
Land Value Estimate                            0.5 
Improvement Cost Estimate                      0.5 
Income Value Estimate                          2.5 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate                2.5 
Final Reconciliation                           0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation                   1.75 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation        0.5 
 
(b) one-unit dwelling, above-grade living area 
  area 4,000 square feet or more: 
 
Part 2 
 
Task                                           Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis                  0.25 
Neighborhood Description                       0.5 
Exterior Inspection                            0.75 
Interior Inspection                            0.75 
CAMA Data Input and Review                     0.5 
Market Conditions                              0.75 
Land Value Estimate                            0.75 
Improvement Cost Estimate                      0.75 
Income Value Estimate                          3.0 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate                3.0 
Final Reconciliation                           0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation                   2.0 
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Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation        0.5 
 
(c) two to four unit dwelling: 
 
Part 3 
 
Task                                           Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis                  0.25 
Neighborhood Description                       0.5 
Exterior Inspection                            0.5 
Interior Inspection                            0.5 
CAMA Data Input and Review                     0.5 
Market Conditions                              0.75 
Land Value Estimate                            0.5 
Improvement Cost Estimate                      0.5 
Income Value Estimate                          3.0 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate                3.0 
Final Reconciliation                           0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation                   2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation        0.5 
 
(d) commercial and industrial buildings, 
  depending on complexity: 
 
Part 4 
 
Task                                           Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis                  0.25 
Neighborhood Description                       0.5 
Exterior Inspection                            0.5-4.5 
Interior Inspection                            0.5-9.5 
CAMA Data Input and Review                     0.5 
Market Conditions                              1.5 
Land Value Estimate                            2.0 
Improvement Cost Estimate                      2.0 
Income Value Estimate                          2-15 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate                2-15 
Final Reconciliation                           0.5 
Appraisal Report Preparation                   1-10 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation        0.5 
 
(e) agricultural and other improvements, 
  depending on complexity: 
 
Part 5 
 
Task                                           Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis                  0.25-0.5 
Neighborhood Description                       0.5 
Exterior Inspection                            0.25-0.5 
Interior Inspection                            0.5-1 
CAMA Data Input and Review                     0.5 
Market Conditions                              0.75 
Land Value Estimate                            0.5-1 
Improvement Cost Estimate                      0.5-1 
Income Value Estimate                          1-3 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate                1-3 
Final Reconciliation                           0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation                   2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation        0.5 
 
(f) vacant land, depending on complexity: 
 
Part 6 
 
Task                                           Hours 
Highest and Best Use Analysis                  0.25-0.5 
Neighborhood Description                       0.5 
Site Inspection                                0.25 
Land Segregation                               0.25 
CAMA Data Input and Review                     0.5 
Inspection                                     0.25-2.25 
Market Conditions                              0.75 
Income Value Estimate                          1-3 
Sales Comparison Value Estimate                1-3 
Final Reconciliation                           0.25 
Appraisal Report Preparation                   2.0 
Restricted Appraisal Report Preparation        0.5 

 
(g)  land valuation guideline (development): 
  (i) 25 or fewer parcels                      10 hours 
  (ii) 26 to 500 parcels                       30 hours 
  (iii) over 500 parcels                       25 additional 
                                               hours for each 500 
                                               parcels, up to a 
                                               maximum of 125 
                                               hours for each 
                                               guideline 
(h)land valuation guideline (update): 
(i) 25 or fewer parcels  1 hour 
(ii) 26 to 500 parcels  3 hours 
(iii) over 500 parcels                         2.5 additional 
                                               hours for each 500 
                                               parcels, up to a 
                                               maximum of 12.5 
                                               hours for each 
                                               guideline 
 
(i) assessment/sales ratio study, data 
  collection, verification, sample inspection, 
  analysis, conclusion, and implementation: 
  (i) base study of 100 reviewed sales         125 hours 
  (ii) additional increments of 100 sales      25 additional 
                                               hours for each 100 
                                               additional sales, 
                                               up to a maximum 
                                               of 375 hours for 
                                               each study 
(j) multiple regression model, 
  development and implementation: 
  (i) fewer than 5,000 parcels                 100 hours 
  (ii) additional increments of 500 parcels    5 additional hours 
                                               for each 
                                               additional 500 
                                               parcels, up to a 
                                               maximum of 375 
                                               hours for each 
                                               regression model 
(k) industry depreciation study and analysis   5 to 40 hours 
(l) reviews of "land value in use" in 
  accordance with U.C.A. Section 59-2-505: 
  (i)office review only                        0.25 hours 
  (ii) field review                            0.5 hours 
(m) natural resource properties, 
  depending on complexity: 
  (i) sand and gravel                          1-20 hours per 
                                               site 
  (ii) mine                                    1-110 hours 
  (iii) oil and gas                            1-50 hours per 
                                               site 
(n) pipelines and gas distribution 
  properties, depending on complexity          10-40 hours 
(o) telephone and electrics properties, 
  depending on complexity                      5-80 hours 
(p) airline and railroad properties, 
  depending on complexity                      10-80 hours 
(q) appraisal review/audit, depending 
  on complexity                                2.5-125 hours 
(r) capitalization rate study                  10 to 100 hours 
(s) mineral pricing study                      10 to 100 hours 
(t) effective tax rate study                   10 to 100 hours 
(u) Ad valorem centrally assessed 
property tax appeal preparation                5 to 125 hours 
 

 Appendix 4.  Appraiser Education. 
 

TABLE 1 
Required Core Curriculum 

 
Trainee Appraiser 
Basic Appraisal Principles                     30 Hours 
Basic Appraisal Procedures                     30 Hours 
15-Hour national USPAP Course or its 
   Equivalent                                  15 Hours 
Trainee Appraiser Education Requirements       75 Total Hours 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 13 61 

 
Licensed Appraiser 
Basic Appraisal Principles                     30 Hours 
Basic Appraisal Procedures                     30 Hours 
15-Hour national USPAP Course or its 
   Equivalent                                  15 Hours 
Residential Market Analysis and Highest and 
   Best Use                                    15 Hours 
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and 
   Cost Approach                               15 Hours 
Residential Sales Comparison and Income 
   Approaches                                  30 Hours 
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies    15 Hours 
Licensed Residential Education Requirements    150 Total 
                                               Hours 
 
Certified Residential 
Basic Appraisal Principles                     30 Hours 
Basic Appraisal Procedures                     30 Hours 
15-Hour national USPAP Course or its 
   Equivalent                                  15 Hours 
Residential Market Analysis and Highest and 
   Best Use                                    15 Hours 
Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost 
   Approach                                    15 Hours 
Residential Sales Comparison and Income 
   Approaches                                  30 Hours 
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies    15 Hours 
Statistics, Modeling and Finance               15 Hours 
Advanced Residential Applications and Case 
   Studies                                     15 Hours 
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives             20 Hours 
(May include hours over minimum shown above 
   in other modules) 
Certified Residential Education Requirements   200 Total 
                                               Hours 
 
Certified General* 
Basic Appraisal Principles                     30 Hours 
Basic Appraisal Procedures                     30 Hours 
15-Hour national USPAP Course or its 
   Equivalent                                  15 Hours 
*General Appraiser Market Analysis and 
   Highest and Best Use                        30 Hours 
Statistics, Modeling and Finance               15 Hours 
*General Sales Comparison and Income 
   Approaches                                  30 Hours 
*General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost 
   Approach                                    30 Hours 
General Appraiser Income Approach              60 Hours 
*General Appraiser Report Writing and Case 
   Studies                                     30 Hours 
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives             30 Hours 
(May include hours over minimum shown above 
   in other modules) 
Certified General Education Requirements       300 Total 
                                               Hours 
 
*The four Certified General courses identified with an 
asterisk * may substitute for the equivalent four Licensed 
Appraiser or Certified Residential courses when a candidate 
provides proof of completion of these courses when applying 
for a Licensed or Certified Residential appraisal credential. 
 
TABLE 2 
 
Continuing Education Topics (Division Certification Required) 
 
(1) Ad valorem taxation 
(2) Arbitration, dispute resolution 
(3) Courses related to the practice of real estate appraisal or 
    consulting 
(4) Development cost estimating 
(5) Ethics and standards of professional practice, USPAP 
(6) Land use planning, zoning 
(7) Management, leasing, timesharing 
(8) Property development, partial interests 

(9) Real estate law, easements, and legal interests 
(10) Real estate litigation, damages, condemnation 
(11) Real estate financing and investment 
(12) Real estate appraisal related computer applications 
(13) Real estate securities and syndication 
(14) Developing opinions of real property value in appraisals 
     that also include personal property and/or business value 
(15) Seller concessions and impact on value 
(16) Energy efficient items and "green building" appraisals] 
 

KEY:  real estate appraisals, school certification, instructor 
certification, education options 
Date of Last Change:  2022[April 28, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 28, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  61-2g-
201(2)(h); 61-2g-202(1); 61-2g-205(5)(c); 61-2g-307(3); 61-2g-
401(5) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R356-3 Filing ID 
54690 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State 

Commission on) 
Room no.: E330 
Building: Senate Building (at State Capitol) 
Street address: 350 N. State Street 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angelo Perillo 801-

538-
1047 

aperillo@utah.gov 

Ken Matthews 801-
538-
1058 

kmatthews@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R356-3.  Electronic Meetings 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures for 
conducting an electronic meeting of any public body 
created in Title 63M, Chapter 7.  The purpose of this rule 
to repeal and reenact the Electronic Meetings to make it 
compliant with new requirements. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The reenacted rule has a more descriptive list of 
procedures.  Please refer to the rule text for the 
differences. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This program will create no cost burden or savings for the 
state.  This reenacted rule will not change the way 
electronic meetings are being conducted today.  It will not 
add any additional time or tasks that could lead to new 
costs. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This program will create no cost burden or savings for local 
government.  This reenacted rule will not change the way 
electronic meetings are being conducted today.  It will not 
add any additional time or tasks that could lead to new 
costs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This program will create no cost burden or savings for 
small businesses.  This reenacted rule will not change the 
way electronic meetings are being conducted today.  It will 
not add any additional time or tasks that could lead to new 
costs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This program will create no cost burden or savings for non-
small businesses.  This reenacted rule will not change the 
way electronic meetings are being conducted today.  It will 
not add any additional time or tasks that could lead to new 
costs. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There should be no costs or saving for other persons as a 
result of this rule.  This reenacted rule will not change the 
way electronic meetings are being conducted today.  It will 
not add any additional time or tasks that could lead to new 
costs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

There should be no costs or saving for any affected 
persons as a result of this rule.  This reenacted rule will not 
change the way electronic meetings are being conducted 
today.  It will not add any additional time or tasks that could 
lead to new costs. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule will have no fiscal impact on businesses.  Tom 
Ross, Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of Criminal and Juvenile Justice 
(State Commission on), Tom Ross, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 52-4-202   

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Tom Ross, 
Executive Director 

Date: 06/14/2022 

 
R356.  Governor, Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State 
Commission on). 
R356-3.  Electronic Meetings. 
[R356-3-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Section 52-4-207(2)(a) which 
requires any public body that convenes or conducts an electronic 
meeting to adopt a rule governing the use of electronic meetings. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures for 
the public bodies created in Title 63M, Chapter 7 and Title 77, 
Chapter 32 to hold open meetings by electronic means. 
 
R356-3-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are found in Section 52-4-103. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "CCJJ" means the Utah Commission on Criminal and 
Juvenile Justice; and 
 (b)  "presiding officer" means the member of the public 
body designated by statute, rule, or vote of the public body to preside 
at a meeting of the public body. 
 
R356-3-3.  Procedures. 
 (1)  If a member of the public body wishes to participate in 
a meeting through electronic means, the member shall contact the 
staff at CCJJ which assists the public body.  The staff at CCJJ shall 
determine whether an electronic meeting is practical given the facility 
requirements needed to conduct the meeting electronically in a 
manner that allows for attendance, participation and monitoring as 
required by the Open and Public Meetings Act. 

 (2)  If an electronic meeting is to be held, notice of the 
meeting shall indicate the anchor location and how members of the 
public body may participate in the meeting electronically.  The 
anchor location shall have sufficient space and facilities so the public 
may attend, monitor and participate in the open portions of the 
meeting. 
 (3)  Any member of a public body may participate 
electronically at an electronic meeting.  On the record, the presiding 
officer shall identify all those who are participating electronically.  A 
member of the public body who participates in the meeting 
electronically shall be counted as present at the meeting for purposes 
of establishing a quorum, participating in the meeting, and voting.] 
R356-3-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Section 52-4-207 which 
requires any public body that convenes or conducts an electronic 
meeting to establish written rules or procedures for such meetings. 
 (2)  This rule is also authorized by the Utah Administrative 
Rulemaking Act at Section 63G-3-201 which requires an agency to 
make rules when agency action: 
 (a)  authorizes, requires, or prohibits an action; 
 (b)  provides or prohibits a material benefit; 
 (c)  applies to a class of persons or another agency; and 
 (d)  is explicitly or implicitly authorized by statute. 
 
R356-3-2.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures for 
conducting an electronic meeting of any public body created in Title 
63M, Chapter 7, Criminal Justice and Substance Abuse. 
 
R356-3-3.  Procedures. 
 (1)  A public body described in this rule may hold an open 
and public meeting where members of the public body or the general 
public are allowed to participate electronically or telephonically. 
 (2)  When an electronic meeting is scheduled, the public 
notice required by Section 52-4-202 shall describe: 
 (a)  the electronic or telephonic method by which members 
of the public body or the general public may participate; and 
 (b)  the anchor location where members of the public body 
or the general public may attend, monitor, and participate in the open 
portions of the meeting. 
 (3)(a)  The anchor location is the physical location from 
which the electronic meeting originates or from which the 
participants are connected.  
 (b)  The anchor location shall have sufficient space and 
facilities so that interested persons and the public may attend, 
monitor, and participate in the open portions of the meeting. 
 (4)  At the commencement of the meeting the chair shall 
identify for the record all those who are appearing telephonically or 
electronically.  
 (5)  A member who appears electronically or telephonically 
shall be counted as present for purposes of determining a quorum. 
 (6)(a)  A member who appears electronically or 
telephonically may fully participate and vote on any matter before 
the public body.  
 (b)  Votes by members who are appearing electronically or 
telephonically shall be confirmed by the chair. 
 
KEY:  electronic meetings, procedures 
Date of Last Change:  2022[March 13, 2017] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  52-4-207 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-93 Filing ID 
54692 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-93.  Replacement of Life Insurance and Annuities 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual standards.  Other changes make the 
language of this rule more clear, the Enforcement Date 
section (the current Section R590-93-12) is not reenacted 
because this rule is already in force, and update the 
Severability section (the new Section R590-93-9) to use 
the Department's current language.  The changes do not 
add, remove, or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Insurance 
Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-22-429 
Section 
31A-23a-402 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 

Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 06/15/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-93.  Replacement of Life Insurance and Annuities. 
[R590-93-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated pursuant to Subsection 31A-2-
201(3)(a) wherein the commissioner may make rules to implement 
the provisions of Title 31A, Subsection 31A-23a-402(8), which 
allows the commissioner to define methods of competition and acts 
and practices found to be unfair or deceptive, and Subsection 31A-
22-429, which gives the commissioner authority to require 
statements regarding existing insurance and adopt the notice 
regarding replacement. 
 
R590-93-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is: 
 (a)  to regulate the activities of insurers and producers with 
respect to the replacement of existing life insurance and annuities; 
and 
 (b) to protect the interests of life insurance and annuity 
purchasers by establishing minimum standards of conduct to be 
observed in replacement or financed purchase transactions. It will: 
 (i)  assure that purchasers receive information with which 
a decision can be made in the purchaser's own best interest; 
 (ii)  reduce the opportunity for misrepresentation and 
incomplete disclosure; and 
 (iii)  establish penalties for failure to comply with 
requirements of Section 31A-22-429 and this rule. 
 (2)  This rule applies to all insurers and producers doing life 
insurance and annuity transactions in this state. 
 (3)  Unless otherwise specifically included, this rule shall 
not apply to transactions involving: 
 (a)  credit life insurance; 
 (b)  group life insurance or group annuities where there is 
no direct solicitation of individuals by an insurance producer. Direct 
solicitation shall not include any group meeting held by an insurance 
producer solely for the purpose of educating or enrolling individuals 
or, when initiated by an individual member of the group, assisting 
with the selection of investment options offered by a single insurer in 
connection with enrolling that individual. Group life insurance or 
group annuity certificates marketed through direct response 
solicitation shall be subject to the provisions of Section R590-93-8; 
 (c) group life insurance and annuities used to fund 
prearranged funeral contracts; 
 (d)  an application to the existing insurer that issued the 
existing policy or contract when a contractual change or a conversion 
privilege is being exercised; or, when the existing policy or contract 
is being replaced by the same insurer pursuant to a program filed with 
and approved by the commissioner or when a term conversion 
privilege is exercised among corporate affiliates; 
 (e)  proposed life insurance that is to replace life insurance 
under a binding or conditional receipt issued by the same company; 
 (f)(i)  policies or contracts used to fund: 
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 (A)  an employee pension or welfare benefit plan that is 
covered by the Employee Retirement and Income Security Act 
(ERISA); 
 (B)  a plan described by Sections 401(a), 401(k) or 403(b) 
of the Internal Revenue Code, where the plan, for purposes of 
ERISA, is established or maintained by an employer; 
 (C)  a governmental or church plan defined in Section 414, 
a governmental or church welfare benefit plan, or a deferred 
compensation plan of a state or local government or tax exempt 
organization under Section 457 of the Internal Revenue Code; or 
 (D)  a nonqualified deferred compensation arrangement 
established or maintained by an employer or plan sponsor. 
 (ii)  Notwithstanding Subsection (i), this rule shall apply to 
policies or contracts used to fund any plan or arrangement that is 
funded solely by contributions an employee elects to make, whether 
on a pre-tax or after-tax basis, and where the insurer has been notified 
that plan participants may choose from among two or more insurers 
and there is a direct solicitation of an individual employee by an 
insurance producer for the purchase of a contract or policy. As used 
in this subsection, direct solicitation shall not include any group 
meeting held by an insurance producer solely for the purpose of 
educating individuals about the plan or arrangement or enrolling 
individuals in the plan or arrangement or, when initiated by an 
individual employee, assisting with the selection of investment 
options offered by a single insurer in connection with enrolling that 
individual employee; 
 (g)  where new coverage is provided under a life insurance 
policy or contract and the cost is borne wholly by the insured's 
employer or by an association of which the insured is a member; 
 (h)  existing life insurance that is a non-convertible term 
life insurance policy that will expire in five years or less and cannot 
be renewed; 
 (i)  immediate annuities that are purchased with proceeds 
from an existing contract. Immediate annuities purchased with 
proceeds from an existing policy are not exempted from the 
requirements of this rule; or 
 (j)  structured settlements. 
 (4)  Registered contracts shall be exempt from the 
requirements of Subsections R590-93-6(1)(c) and R590-93-7(2) with 
respect to the provision of illustrations or policy summaries; 
however, premium or contract contribution amounts and 
identification of the appropriate prospectus or offering circular shall 
be required instead. 
 
R590-93-3.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions of Section 31A-1-301, the 
following definitions shall apply for the purposes of this rule. 
 (1)  "Direct-response solicitation" means a solicitation 
through a sponsoring or endorsing entity or individually solely 
through mails, telephone, the Internet or other mass communication 
media. 
 (2)  "Existing insurer" means the insurance company whose 
policy or contract is or will be changed or affected in a manner 
described within the definition of "replacement." 
 (3)  "Existing policy or contract" means an individual life 
insurance policy, herein referred to as policy, or annuity contract, 
herein referred to as contract, in force, including a policy under a 
binding or conditional receipt or a policy or contract that is within an 
unconditional refund period. 
 (4)  "Financed purchase" means the purchase of a new 
policy involving the actual or intended use of funds obtained by the 
withdrawal or surrender of, or by borrowing from values of an 

existing policy to pay all or part of any premium due on the new 
policy. For purposes of a regulatory review of an individual 
transaction only, if a withdrawal, surrender or borrowing involving 
the policy values of an existing policy is used to pay premiums on a 
new policy owned by the same policyholder and issued by the same 
company within four months before or 13 months after the effective 
date of the new policy, it will be deemed prima facie evidence of the 
policyholder's intent to finance the purchase of the new policy with 
existing policy values. This prima facie standard is not intended to 
increase or decrease the monitoring obligations contained in 
Subsection R590-93-5(1)(e).  A financed purchase is a replacement. 
 (5)  "Illustration" means a presentation or depiction that 
includes non-guaranteed elements of a policy of life insurance over a 
period of years as defined in R590-177, Life Insurance Illustrations 
Rule. 
 (6)  "Notice" means Appendix A and Appendix C, 
Important Notice: Replacement of Life Insurance or Annuities, and 
Appendix B, Notice Regarding Replacement, from the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners, dated 2006 and which are 
incorporated herein by reference.  The notice is to be made available 
by the replacing insurer and must be imprinted with the name, 
address, and telephone number of the replacing insurer. 
 (7)(a)  "Policy summary" for policies or contracts other 
than universal life policies, means a written statement regarding a 
policy or contract which shall contain to the extent applicable, but 
need not be limited to, the following information: 
 (i)  current death benefit; 
 (ii)  annual contract premium; 
 (iii)  current cash surrender value; 
 (iv)  current dividend; 
 (v)  application of current dividend; and 
 (vi)  amount of outstanding loan. 
 (b)  "Policy summary" for universal life policies, means a 
written statement that shall contain at least the following information: 
 (i)  the beginning and end date of the current report period; 
 (ii)  the policy value at the end of the previous report period 
and at the end of the current report period; 
 (iii)  the total amounts that have been credited or debited to 
the policy value during the current report period, identifying each by 
type, e.g., interest, mortality, expense and riders; 
 (iv)  the current death benefit at the end of the current report 
period on each life covered by the policy; 
 (v)  the net cash surrender value of the policy as of the end 
of the current report period; and 
 (vi)  the amount of outstanding loans, if any, as of the end 
of the current report period. 
 (8)  "Replacing insurer" means the insurance company that 
issues or proposes to issue a new policy or contract that replaces an 
existing policy or contract or is a financed purchase. 
 (9)  "Registered contract" means a variable annuity contract 
or variable life insurance policy subject to the prospectus delivery 
requirements of the Securities Act of 1933. 
 (10)  "Replacement" means a transaction in which a new 
policy or contract is to be purchased, and it is known or should be 
known to the proposing producer, or to the proposing insurer if there 
is no producer, that by reason of the transaction, an existing policy or 
contract has been or is to be: 
 (a)  lapsed, forfeited, surrendered or partially surrendered, 
assigned to the replacing insurer or otherwise terminated; 
 (b)  converted to reduced paid-up insurance, continued as 
extended term insurance, or otherwise reduced in value by the use of 
nonforfeiture benefits or other policy values; 
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 (c)  amended so as to effect either a reduction in benefits or 
in the term for which coverage would otherwise remain in force or 
for which benefits would be paid; 
 (d)  reissued with any reduction in cash value; or 
 (e)  used in a financed purchase. 
 (11)  "Sales material" means a sales illustration and any 
other written, printed or electronically presented information created, 
or completed or provided by the company or producer and used in 
the presentation to the policy or contract holder related to the policy 
or contract purchased. 
 
R590-93-4.  Duties of Producers. 
 A producer shall comply with Section 31A-22-429. 
 
R590-93-5.  Duties of Insurers that Use Producers. 
 Each insurer shall: 
 (1)  maintain a system of supervision and control to insure 
compliance with the requirements of Section 31A-22-429 and this 
rule that shall include at least the following: 
 (a)  inform its producers of the requirements of Section 
31A-22-429 and this rule and incorporate the requirements into all 
relevant producer training manuals prepared by the insurer; 
 (b)  provide to each producer a written statement of the 
company's position with respect to the acceptability of replacements 
providing guidance to its producer as to the appropriateness of these 
transactions; 
 (c)  a system to review the appropriateness of each 
replacement transaction that the producer does not indicate is in 
accord with Subsection (b) above; 
 (d)  procedures to confirm that the requirements of Section 
31A-22-429 and this rule have been met; 
 (e)  procedures to detect transactions that are replacements 
of existing policies or contracts by the existing insurer, but that have 
not been reported as such by the applicant or producer. Compliance 
with this rule may include, but shall not be limited to, systematic 
customer surveys, interviews, confirmation letters, or programs of 
internal monitoring; 
 (2)  have the capacity to monitor each producer's life 
insurance policy and annuity contract replacements for that insurer, 
and shall produce, upon request, and make such records available to 
the department. The capacity to monitor shall include the ability to 
produce records for each producer's: 
 (a)  life replacements, including financed purchases, as a 
percentage of the producer's total annual sales for life insurance; 
 (b)  number of lapses of policies by the producer as a 
percentage of the producer's total annual sales for life insurance; 
 (c)  annuity contract replacements as a percentage of the 
producer's total annual annuity contract sales; 
 (d)  number of transactions that are unreported 
replacements of existing policies or contracts by the existing insurer 
detected by the company's monitoring system as required by 
Subsection R590-93-5(1)(e); and 
 (e)  replacements, indexed by replacing producer and 
existing insurer; 
 (3)  require with or as a part of each application for life 
insurance or an annuity a signed statement by the applicant as to: 
 (a)  whether the applicant has existing policies or contracts; 
and 
 (b)  whether the proposed life insurance or annuity will 
replace, discontinue, or change an existing policy or contract; 
 (4)  require with each application for life insurance or 
annuity that indicates the replacement, discontinuance, or change of 

an existing policy or contract, a completed notice regarding 
replacements as contained in Appendix A or Appendix C; 
 (5)  when the applicant has existing policies or contracts, 
each insurer shall be able to produce copies of any sales material 
required by Subsection 31A-22-429(5), the basic illustration and any 
supplemental illustrations related to the specific policy or contract 
that is purchased, and the signed statement with respect to financing 
and replacement for at least five years after the termination or 
expiration of the proposed policy or contract; 
 (6)  ascertain that the sales material and illustrations 
required by Subsection 31A-22-429(5) are complete and accurate for 
the proposed policy or contract; 
 (7)  if an application does not meet the requirements of this 
rule, notify the producer and applicant and fulfill the outstanding 
requirements; and 
 (8)  maintain records in any media or by any process that 
accurately reproduces the actual document. 
 
R590-93-6.  Duties of Replacing Insurers that Use Producers. 
 (1)  Where a replacement is involved in the transaction, the 
replacing insurer shall: 
 (a)  verify that the required forms are received and are in 
compliance with this rule; 
 (b)  with respect to an electronically completed notice, the 
replacing insurer shall send a printed copy of the electronically 
executed notice to the applicant within five business days of the date 
the notice is received by the company; 
 (c)  notify any other existing insurer that may be affected 
by the proposed replacement within five business days of receipt of 
a completed application indicating replacement or when the 
replacement is identified if not indicated on the application, and mail 
a copy of the available illustration or the policy summary for the 
proposed policy or disclosure document for the proposed contract 
within five business days of a request from an existing insurer; 
 (d)  be able to produce copies of the notice regarding 
replacement required in Subsection 31A-22-429(2), indexed by 
producer, for at least five years or until the next regular examination 
by the insurance department of a company's state of domicile, 
whichever is later; and 
 (e)  provide to the policy or contract holder notice of the 
right to return the policy or contract within 30 calendar days of the 
delivery of the contract and receive an unconditional full refund of 
all premiums or considerations paid on it; such notice may be 
included in Appendix A or C. This subsection does not preempt the 
requirements of 31A-22-423. 
 (2)  In transactions where the replacing insurer and the 
existing insurer are the same or subsidiaries or affiliates under 
common ownership or control, allow credit for the period of time that 
has elapsed under the replaced policy's or contract's incontestability 
and suicide periods up to the face amount of the existing policy or 
contract. With regard to financed purchases the credit may be limited 
to the amount the face amount of the existing policy is reduced by the 
use of existing policy values to fund the new policy or contract. 
 (3)  If an insurer prohibits the use of sales material other 
than that approved by the company, as an alternative to the 
requirements made of an insurer pursuant to Subsection 31A-22-
429(5) with regard to sales materials, the insurer may: 
 (a)  require with each application a statement signed by the 
producer that: 
 (i)  represents that the producer used only company-
approved sales material; and 
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 (ii)  states that copies of all sales material were left with the 
applicant in accordance with Subsection 31A-22-429(4); and 
 (b)  within ten business days of the issuance of the policy 
or contract: 
 (i)  notify the applicant by sending a letter or by verbal 
communication with the applicant by a person whose duties are 
separate from the marketing area of the insurer, that the producer has 
represented that copies of all sales material have been left with the 
applicant in accordance with Subsection 31A-22-429(4); 
 (ii)  provide the applicant with a toll free number to contact 
company personnel involved in the compliance function if such is not 
the case; and 
 (iii)  stress the importance of retaining copies of the sales 
material for future reference; and 
 (c)  be able to produce a copy of the letter or other 
verification in the policy file for at least five years after the 
termination or expiration of the policy or contract. 
 
R590-93-7.  Duties of the Existing Insurer. 
 Where a replacement is involved in the transaction, the 
existing insurer shall: 
 (1)  retain and be able to produce all replacement 
notifications received, indexed by replacing insurer, for at least five 
years or until the conclusion of the next regular examination 
conducted by the insurance department of its state of domicile, 
whichever is later; 
 (2)  within 5 business days of receiving a replacement 
notice, send a letter to the policy or contract holder of the right to 
receive information regarding the existing policy or contract values 
including, if available, an in force illustration or policy summary if 
an in force illustration cannot be produced. The policy or contract 
information shall be provided within five business days of receipt of 
the request from the policy or contract holder; and 
 (3)  upon receipt of a request to borrow, surrender or 
withdraw any policy values, send a notice, advising the policy holder 
that the release of policy values may affect the guaranteed elements, 
non-guaranteed elements, face amount or surrender value of the 
policy from which the values are released. The notice shall be sent 
directly to the policyholder if the check is sent to anyone other than 
the policyholder. In the case of consecutive automatic premium 
loans, the insurer is only required to send the notice at the time of the 
first loan. 
 
R590-93-8.  Duties of Insurers with Respect to Direct Response 
Solicitations. 
 (1)  In the case of an application that is initiated as a result 
of a direct response solicitation, the insurer shall require, with or as 
part of each completed application for a policy or contract, a 
statement asking whether the applicant, by applying for the proposed 
policy or contract, intends to replace, discontinue or change an 
existing policy or contract. If the applicant indicates a replacement or 
change is not intended or if the applicant fails to respond to the 
statement, the insurer shall send the applicant, with the policy or 
contract, the notice regarding replacement in Appendix B, or other 
substantially similar form approved by the commissioner. 
 (2)  If the insurer has proposed the replacement or if the 
applicant indicates a replacement is intended and the insurer 
continues with the replacement, the insurer shall: 
 (a)  provide to applicants or prospective applicants with the 
policy or contract a notice, as described in Appendix C, or other 
substantially similar document filed with the commissioner. In these 
instances the insurer may delete the references to the producer, 

including the producer's signature, and references not applicable to 
the product being sold or replaced, without having to file the 
document with the commissioner. The insurer's obligation to obtain 
the applicant's signature shall be satisfied if it can demonstrate that it 
has made a diligent effort to secure a signed copy of the notice 
referred to in this subsection. The requirement to make a diligent 
effort shall be deemed satisfied if the insurer includes in the mailing 
a self-addressed postage prepaid envelope with instructions for the 
return of the signed notice referred to in this section; and 
 (b)  comply with the requirements of Subsection R590-93-
6(1)(c), if the applicant furnishes the names of the existing insurers, 
and the requirements of Subsections R590-93-6(1)(d), R590-93-
6(1)(e), and R590-93-6(2). 
 
R590-93-9.  Violations and Penalties. 
 (1)  Any failure to comply with this rule shall be considered 
a violation of 31A-23a-402. Examples of violations include: 
 (a)  any deceptive or misleading information set forth in 
sales material; 
 (b)  failing to ask the applicant in completing the 
application the pertinent questions regarding existing policies or 
contracts and whether the proposed insurance will replace, 
discontinue, or change an existing policy or contract; 
 (c)  the intentional incorrect recording of an answer; 
 (d)  advising an applicant to respond negatively to any 
question regarding replacement in order to prevent notice to the 
existing insurer; 
 (e)  advising a policy or contract holder to write directly to 
the company in such a way as to attempt to obscure the identity of 
the replacing producer or company; or 
 (f)  advising a policy or contract holder to obtain policy 
values from an existing policy or contract with the intent to indirectly 
replace the policy or contract without complying with the 
requirements of this rule. 
 (2)  Policy and contract holders have the right to replace 
existing life insurance policies or annuity contracts after indicating in 
or as a part of applications for new coverage that replacement is not 
their intention; however, patterns of such action by policy or contract 
holders of the same producer shall be deemed prima facie evidence 
of the producer's knowledge that replacement was intended in 
connection with the identified transactions, and these patterns of 
action shall be deemed prima facie evidence of the producer's intent 
to violate this rule. 
 (3)  Where it is determined that the requirements of this rule 
have not been met, the replacing insurer shall provide to the policy 
holder an in force illustration if available or a policy summary for the 
replacement policy or disclosure document for the replacement 
contract and the appropriate notice regarding replacements in 
Appendix A or C. 
 (4)  Violations of this rule shall subject the violators to 
penalties that may include the revocation or suspension of a 
producer's or company's license, monetary fines and the forfeiture of 
any commissions or compensation paid to a producer as a result of 
the transaction in connection with which the violations occurred. In 
addition, where the commissioner has determined that the violations 
were material to the sale, the insurer may be required to make 
restitution, restore policy or contract values and pay interest at the 
legal rate as provided in Title 15 of the Utah Code on the amount 
refunded in cash. 
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R590-93-10.  Relationship to Other Statutes and Rules. 
 If any portion of this rule is inconsistent with any provision 
of any statute or other rule dealing with life insurance or annuity 
marketing practices or disclosure, said inconsistent portion shall be 
interpreted so as to provide the greatest information or protection to 
the policyholder. 
 
R590-93-11.  Severability. 
 If any section, term, or provision of this rule shall be 
adjudged invalid for any reason, such judgment shall not affect, 
impair or invalidate any other section, term, or provision of this rule 
and the remaining sections, terms, and provision shall be and remain 
in full force. 
 
R590-93-12.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the provisions of 
this revised rule as of the effective date of the changes.] 
R590-93-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-22-429, and 31A-23a-402. 
 
R590-93-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  regulate the activities of insurers and producers 
regarding the replacement of existing life insurance and annuities; 
 (b)  protect the interests of life insurance and annuity 
purchasers by establishing minimum standards of conduct for 
replacement or financed purchase transactions; 
 (c)  ensure that each purchaser receives information to 
make a decision in their best interest; and 
 (d)  reduce the opportunity for misrepresentation and 
incomplete disclosure. 
 (2)  This rule applies to each insurer and producer 
transacting life insurance and annuity business in this state. 
 (3)  Unless otherwise specifically included, this rule does 
not apply to a transaction involving: 
 (a)  credit life insurance; 
 (b)  group life insurance or a group annuity if there is no 
direct solicitation of an individual by a producer; 
 (c)  group life insurance or a group annuity used to fund a 
prearranged funeral contract; 
 (d)  an application to exercise a contractual change or a 
conversion privilege for an existing policy or contract when: 
 (i)  the existing policy or contract is being replaced by the 
same insurer according to a program filed with the commissioner; or 
 (ii)  when a term conversion privilege is exercised among 
corporate affiliates; 
 (e)  proposed life insurance to replace life insurance under 
a binding or conditional receipt issued by the same insurer; 
 (f)  except as outlined in Subsection (4), a policy or contract 
used to fund: 
 (i)  an employee pension or welfare benefit plan covered by 
the Employee Retirement and Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C. 1001 
(ERISA); 
 (ii)  a plan described by Sections 401(a), 401(k), or 403(b) 
of the Internal Revenue Code, 26 U.S.C. Sec. 25, if the plan, for 
purposes of ERISA, is established or maintained by an employer; 
 (iii)  a governmental or church plan defined in Section 414 
of the Internal Revenue Code, a governmental or church welfare 
benefit plan, or a deferred compensation plan of a state or local 
government or tax-exempt organization under Section 457 of the 
Internal Revenue Code; or 

 (iv)  a nonqualified deferred compensation arrangement 
established or maintained by an employer or plan sponsor; 
 (g)  new coverage provided under a policy or contract and 
where the cost is borne wholly by the insured's employer or by an 
association of which the insured is a member; 
 (h)  existing life insurance that is a non-convertible term 
life insurance policy that will expire in five years or less and cannot 
be renewed; 
 (i)  an immediate annuity that is purchased with proceeds 
from an existing annuity contract; or 
 (j)  a structured settlement. 
 (4)  Notwithstanding Subsection (3)(f), this rule applies to 
a policy or contract used to fund any plan or arrangement that is 
funded solely by contributions an employee elects to make, whether 
on a pre-tax or after-tax basis, if: 
 (i)  the insurer has been notified that a plan participant may 
choose from two or more insurers; and 
 (ii)  there is a direct solicitation of an individual employee 
by an insurance producer for the purchase of a contract or policy. 
 (5)  A registered contract is exempt from the requirements 
of Subsections R590-93-5(1)(b) and R590-93-6(2) regarding the 
provision of an illustration or policy summary; however, premium or 
contract contribution amounts and identification of the appropriate 
prospectus or offering circular are required instead. 
 
R590-93-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. 
Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "Contract" means an annuity contract. 
 (2)  "Direct-response solicitation" means a solicitation 
through a sponsoring or endorsing entity or individually solely 
through mail, telephone, the internet, or other mass communication 
media. 
 (3)(a)  "Direct solicitation" means a personalized 
solicitation to a specific individual through an insurer or producer 
that is not a direct-response solicitation. 
 (b)  Direct solicitation does not include a group meeting 
held by a producer solely for the purpose of educating or enrolling 
individuals or, when initiated by an individual member of the group, 
assisting with the selection of investment options offered by a single 
insurer in connection with enrolling that individual. 
 (4)  "Existing insurer" means the insurance company whose 
policy or contract is changed or affected in a manner described within 
the definition of "replacement" in Subsection (12). 
 (5)  "Existing policy or contract" means an individual 
policy or contract in force, including a policy under a binding or 
conditional receipt, or a policy or contract that is within an 
unconditional refund period. 
 (6)(a)  "Financed purchase" means the purchase of a new 
policy involving the actual or intended use of funds obtained by the 
withdrawal or surrender of, or by borrowing from, values of an 
existing policy to pay all or part of any premium due on the new 
policy. 
 (b)(i)  A withdrawal, surrender, or borrowing involving the 
policy values of an existing policy used to pay premiums on a new 
policy owned by the same policyholder and issued by the same 
company within four months before or 13 months after the effective 
date of the new policy is prima facie evidence of the policyholder's 
intent to finance the purchase of the new policy with existing policy 
yields. 
 (ii)  The standard in Subsection (i) does not change the 
monitoring requirements in Subsection R590-93-4(1)(e). 
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 (c)  A financed purchase is a replacement. 
 (7)  "Illustration" means a presentation or depiction that 
includes non-guaranteed elements of a policy over a period of years 
as defined in Rule R590-177. 
 (8)  "Policy" means a life insurance policy. 
 (9)(a)  "Policy summary," for a policy or contract other than 
a universal life policy, means a written statement regarding a policy 
or contract that includes the following information: 
 (i)  the current death benefit; 
 (ii)  the annual contract premium; 
 (iii)  the current cash surrender value; 
 (iv)  the current dividend; 
 (v)  the application of current dividend; and 
 (vi)  the amount of any outstanding loan. 
 (b)  "Policy summary," for a universal life policy, means a 
written statement that includes the following information: 
 (i)  the beginning and end date of the current report period; 
 (ii)  the policy value at the end of the previous report period 
and at the end of the current report period; 
 (iii)  the total amounts that have been credited or debited to 
the policy value during the current report period, identifying each by 
type, such as interest, mortality, expense, and riders; 
 (iv)  the current death benefit at the end of the current report 
period on each life covered by the policy; 
 (v)  the net cash surrender value of the policy as of the end 
of the current report period; and 
 (vi)  the amount of outstanding loans, if any, as of the end 
of the current report period. 
 (10)  "Registered contract" means a contract or policy 
subject to the prospectus delivery requirements of the Securities Act 
of 1933, 15 U.S.C. Sec. 77a. 
 (11)  "Replacing insurer" means the insurance company 
that issues or proposes to issue a new policy or contract that: 
 (a)  replaces an existing policy or contract; or 
 (b)  is a financed purchase. 
 (12)  "Replacement" means a transaction in which a new 
policy or contract is to be purchased, and the producer or insurer is 
aware, or should be aware, that an existing policy or contract is or 
will be: 
 (a)  lapsed, forfeited, surrendered or partially surrendered, 
assigned to the replacing insurer, or otherwise terminated; 
 (b)  converted to reduced paid-up insurance, continued as 
extended term insurance, or otherwise reduced in value by the use of 
nonforfeiture benefits or other policy values; 
 (c)  amended to effect either a reduction in benefits or in 
the term for which coverage would otherwise remain in force or for 
which benefits would be paid; 
 (d)  reissued with any reduction in cash value; or 
 (e)  used in a financed purchase. 
 (13)(a)  "Replacement notice" means the same as the 
following documents, available on the department's website, 
https://insurance.utah.gov: 
 (i)  Appendix A, Important Notice: Replacement of Life 
Insurance or Annuities; 
 (ii)  Appendix B, Notice Regarding Replacement: 
Replacing Your Life Insurance Policy or Annuity; and 
 (iii)  Appendix C, Important Notice: Replacement of Life 
Insurance or Annuities. 
 (b)  The replacement notice shall be made available by the 
replacing insurer and must be imprinted with the name, address, and 
telephone number of the replacing insurer. 

 (14)  "Sales material" means a sales illustration and any 
other written, printed, or electronically presented information 
provided by the company or producer and used in the presentation to 
the policy or contract holder related to the policy or contract 
purchased. 
 
R590-93-4.  Duties of an Insurer That Uses a Producer. 
 (1)  Each insurer shall maintain a system of supervision to 
ensure compliance with the requirements of Section 31A-22-429 and 
this rule that includes the following: 
 (a)  inform each producer of the requirements of Section 
31A-22-429 and this rule and incorporate the requirements into each 
relevant producer training manual prepared by the insurer; 
 (b)  provide each producer guidance and a written statement 
of the company's position regarding the acceptability and 
appropriateness of a replacement transaction; 
 (c)  maintain a system to review the appropriateness of each 
replacement transaction that a producer does not indicate is in accord 
with Subsection (1)(b); 
 (d)  establish procedures to confirm that the requirements 
of Section 31A-22-429 and this rule have been met; 
 (e)  establish procedures to detect any transaction that is a 
replacement of an existing policy or contract by the existing insurer, 
but that has not been reported as such by the applicant or producer; 
 (f)  establish procedures to determine that the sales material 
and illustrations required by Section 31A-22-429 are complete and 
accurate for the proposed policy or contract; and 
 (g)  maintain any record in any means that accurately 
reproduces the actual document. 
 (2)  Each insurer shall monitor each producer's policy and 
contract replacements and make available to the department, upon 
request, a record of each producer's: 
 (a)  life replacements, including financed purchases, as a 
percentage of the producer's total annual sales for life insurance; 
 (b)  number of lapses of policies by the producer as a 
percentage of the producer's total annual sales for life insurance; 
 (c)  annuity contract replacements as a percentage of the 
producer's total annuity contract sales; 
 (d)  number of transactions that are unreported 
replacements of existing policies or contracts by the existing insurer 
detected by the company's monitoring system as required by 
Subsection R590-93-4(1)(e); and 
 (e)  replacements, indexed by replacing producer and 
existing insurer. 
 (3)(a)  An insurer shall require each application for life 
insurance or an annuity to include: 
 (i)  a signed statement by both the applicant and the 
producer declaring whether or not: 
 (A)  the applicant has existing policies or contracts; and 
 (B)  the proposed life insurance or annuity will replace, 
discontinue, or change an existing policy or contract; and 
 (ii)  a completed replacement notice in Appendix A if there 
is a replacement, discontinuance, or change of an existing policy or 
contract. 
 (b)  When the applicant has an existing policy or contract, 
an insurer shall maintain for at least five years after the termination 
or expiration of the proposed policy or contract: 
 (i)  any sales material required by Subsection 31A-22-
429(5); 
 (ii)  the basic illustration and any supplemental illustrations 
related to the specific policy or contract that is purchased; and 
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 (iii)  the applicant's and producer's signed statement 
regarding financing and replacement. 
 (4)  If an application does not meet the requirements of this 
rule, the insurer shall notify the producer and applicant and fulfill the 
outstanding requirements. 
 (5)  Compliance with this rule may include the use of 
systematic customer surveys, interviews, confirmation letters, or 
internal monitoring programs. 
 
R590-93-5.  Duties of a Replacing Insurer That Uses a Producer. 
 (1)  If a replacement is involved in a transaction, the 
replacing insurer shall: 
 (a)  verify that the required forms are received and comply 
with this rule; 
 (b)  notify any other insurer who may be affected by the 
proposed replacement within five business days of receipt of a 
completed application indicating replacement, or when the 
replacement is identified if not indicated on the application, and send 
a copy of the available illustration or the policy summary for the 
proposed policy or disclosure document for the proposed contract 
within five business days of a request from an existing insurer; 
 (c)  maintain copies of the replacement notice required in 
Subsection 31A-22-429(2), indexed by producer, for at least five 
years or until the next regular examination by the insurance 
department of a company's state of domicile, whichever is later; and 
 (d)  provide to the policy or contract holder notice of the 
right to return the policy or contract within 30 days of the delivery of 
the contract and receive an unconditional full refund of all premiums 
or considerations paid on it. 
 (e)  The notice in Subsection (1)(d) may be included in the 
documents Appendix A or Appendix C. 
 (2)  Nothing in Subsection (1) preempts the requirements 
of Section 31A-22-423. 
 (3)  In a transaction where the replacing insurer and the 
existing insurer are the same or are subsidiaries or affiliates under 
common ownership or control, the replacing insurer shall allow credit 
for the time elapsed under the replaced policy's or contract's 
incontestability and suicide periods up to: 
 (a)  the face amount of the existing policy or contract; or 
 (b)  in the case of a financed purchase, the reduction in the 
face amount of the existing policy due to the use of existing policy 
values to fund the new policy or contract. 
 (4)  If an insurer prohibits the use of sales material other 
than that approved by the company, as an alternative to the 
requirements made of an insurer pursuant to Subsection 31A-22-
429(5) regarding sales materials, the insurer may: 
 (a)  require with each application a statement signed by the 
producer that: 
 (i)  represents that the producer used only company-
approved sales material; and 
 (ii)  states that copies of all sales material were left with the 
applicant in accordance with Subsection 31A-22-429(4); 
 (b)  within ten business days of the issuance of the policy 
or contract: 
 (i)  a person whose duties are separate from the marketing 
area of the insurer shall notify the applicant that the producer has 
represented that copies of all sales material have been left with the 
applicant in accordance with Subsection 31A-22-429(4); 
 (ii)  provide the applicant a toll-free number to contact 
company compliance personnel; and 
 (iii)  stress the importance of retaining copies of the sales 
material for future reference; and 

 (c)  maintain a copy of the letter or other verification in the 
policy file for at least five years after the termination or expiration of 
the policy or contract. 
 
R590-93-6.  Duties of the Existing Insurer. 
 If a replacement is involved in a transaction, the existing 
insurer shall: 
 (1)  retain each replacement notification received, indexed 
by replacing insurer, for at least five years or until the conclusion of 
the next regular examination conducted by the insurance department 
of the existing insurer's state of domicile, whichever is later; 
 (2)  within five business days of receiving a replacement 
notification, notify the policy or contract holder of the right to receive 
information regarding the existing policy or contract values including 
an in-force illustration or a policy summary if an in-force illustration 
cannot be produced; 
 (3)  provide the policy or contract information in 
Subsection (2) within five business days of receipt of the request from 
the policy or contract holder; and 
 (4)  upon receipt of a request to borrow, surrender, or 
withdraw any policy values, send a notice advising the policyholder 
that the release of policy values may affect the guaranteed elements, 
non-guaranteed elements, face amount, or surrender value of the 
policy from which the values are released. 
 (a)  The notice shall be sent directly to the policyholder if 
the check is sent to anyone other than the policyholder. 
 (b)  In the case of consecutive automatic premium loans, 
the insurer is only required to send the notice at the time of the first 
loan. 
 
R590-93-7.  Duties of an Insurer Regarding a Direct-Response 
Solicitation. 
 (1)(a)  When an application is initiated from a direct-
response solicitation, the insurer shall require with each completed 
application for a policy or contract, a statement asking whether the 
applicant intends to replace, discontinue, or change an existing policy 
or contract. 
 (b)  If the applicant indicates a replacement or change is not 
intended or if the applicant fails to respond to the statement, the 
insurer shall send the applicant, with the policy or contract, the 
replacement notice in Appendix B, or other substantially similar form 
approved by the commissioner. 
 (2)  If the insurer has proposed the replacement or if the 
applicant indicates a replacement is intended and the insurer 
continues with the replacement, the insurer shall: 
 (a)  provide an applicant or prospective applicant a 
replacement notice in Appendix C, or other substantially similar 
document filed with the commissioner; and 
 (b)  comply with the requirements of Subsection R590-93-
5(1)(b), if the applicant furnishes the names of the existing insurers, 
and the requirements of Subsections R590-93-5(1)(c), R590-93-
5(1)(d), and R590-93-5(2). 
 (3)(a)  In an instance described in Subsection (2), an insurer 
may delete any reference to the producer, including the producer's 
signature, and any reference not applicable to the product being sold 
or replaced, without having to file the document with the 
commissioner. 
 (b)  The insurer's obligation to obtain the applicant's 
signature is satisfied if it can demonstrate that it has made a diligent 
effort to secure a signed copy of the replacement notice. 
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R590-93-8.  Relationship to Other Statutes and Rules. 
 If any portion of this rule is inconsistent with any provision 
of any statute or other rule dealing with life insurance or annuity 
marketing practices or disclosure, the inconsistent portion shall be 
interpreted to provide the greatest information or protection to the 
policyholder. 
 
R590-93-9.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-93, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  life insurance, annuity replacement 
Date of Last Change:  2022[June 11, 2013] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 3, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-23a-402; 31A-22-429 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-162 Filing ID 
54693 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-162.  Actuarial Opinion and Memorandum Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 

Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual standards.  Other changes make the 
language of this rule more clear, and update the 
Severability section (the new Section R590-162-8) to use 
the Department's current language.  The changes do not 
add, remove, or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
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G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Insurance 
Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 31A-2-201 Section 
31A-17-503 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 06/15/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-162.  Actuarial Opinion and Memorandum Rule. 
R590-162-1.  [Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to prescribe: 
 A.  Requirements for statements of actuarial opinion which 
are to be submitted in accordance with Section 31A-17-503, and for 
memoranda in support thereof; 
 B.  Guidance as to the meaning of "adequacy of reserves;" 
and 
 C.  Rules applicable to the appointment of an appointed 
actuary. 
 
R590-162-2.  ]Authority. 
 This rule is [issued pursuant to the authority vested in the 
Commissioner of Insurance of the State of Utah under Title 31A, 
Chapter 17, Part 5]promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-17-503. 
 
R590-162-[3.  ]2.  Purpose and Scope. 
[ This rule shall apply to all companies and fraternal benefit 
societies that file the life, accident and health annual statement and 
to all companies and fraternal benefit societies that are authorized to 
reinsure life insurance, annuities or accident and health insurance 
business in this State. 
 Companies that file the property and casualty annual 
statement or the health annual statement shall follow the actuarial 
opinion and supporting actuarial memoranda requirements pursuant 
to the instructions for these annual statements.  Such companies are 
not subject to actuarial opinion and supporting actuarial memoranda 
requirements of this rule. 
 This rule shall be applied in a manner that allows the 
appointed actuary to utilize professional judgment in performing the 
asset adequacy analysis and developing the actuarial opinion and 
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supporting memoranda, consistent with applicable actuarial 
standards of practice.  However, the commissioner shall have the 
authority to specify the methods of actuarial analysis and actuarial 
assumptions when, in the commissioner's judgment, these 
specifications are necessary for an acceptable opinion to be rendered 
relative to the adequacy of reserves and related items. 
 This rule shall be applicable to all annual statements filed 
with the office of the commissioner after the effective date of this 
rule.  A statement of opinion on the adequacy of the reserves and 
related actuarial items based on an asset adequacy analysis in 
accordance with Section 6 of this rule, and a memorandum in support 
thereof in accordance with Section 7 of this rule, shall be required 
each year.] 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to prescribe: 
 (a)  requirements for statements of actuarial opinion and 
memoranda in support that are submitted under Section 31A-17-503; 
 (b)  guidance for adequacy of reserves; and 
 (c)  rules applicable to an appointed actuary. 
 (2)(a)  This rule applies to a company that: 
 (i)  files a life, accident and health annual statement; or 
 (ii)  is authorized to reinsure life insurance, annuities, or 
accident and health insurance business. 
 (b)  This rule allows an appointed actuary to use 
professional judgment in performing an asset adequacy analysis and 
developing an actuarial opinion and supporting memoranda, 
consistent with applicable actuarial standards of practice. 
 
R590-162-[4]3.  Definitions. 
 [A.  ]Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-
301. Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "Actuarial [O]opinion" means [the ]an opinion of an 
[Appointed Actuary ]appointed actuary regarding the adequacy of 
[the ]reserves and related actuarial items based on an asset adequacy 
test [in accordance with Section 6 of this rule ]under Section R590-
162-5 and [with applicable Actuarial Standards of 
Practice]applicable actuarial standards of practice. 
 [B.](2)  "Actuarial Standards Board" [is ]means the board 
established by the American Academy of Actuaries to develop and 
promulgate standards of actuarial practice. 
 [C.](3)  "Annual [S]statement" means [that ]a statement 
required [by Section 31A-4-113 to be filed by the company with the 
office of the commissioner annually]under Section 31A-4-113. 
 [D.](4)  "Appointed [A]actuary" means an[y] individual 
who is appointed or retained in accordance with the requirements [set 
forth in Subsection 5C of this rule ]in Subsection R590-162-4(2) to 
provide the actuarial opinion and supporting memorandum [as 
required by ]required under Section 31A-17-503. 
 [E.](5)(a)  "Asset [A]adequacy [A]analysis" means an 
analysis that meets the standards [and other requirements referred to 
in Subsection 5D of this rule.  It may take many forms, including, but 
not limited to, cash flow testing, sensitivity testing or applications of 
risk theory]of practice of the Actuarial Standards Board and this rule 
and that forms the basis of the statement of actuarial opinion. 
 (b)  An asset adequacy analysis may take the form of: 
 (i)  cash flow testing; 
 (ii)  sensitivity testing; or 
 (iii)  an application of risk theory. 
 [F. "Commissioner" means the Insurance Commissioner of 
this State. 
 G.  ](6)  "Company" means a life insurance company, a 
fraternal benefit society, or a reinsurer[ subject to the provisions of 
this rule]. 

 [H.](7)(a)  "Qualified [A]actuary" means [any individual 
who meets the requirements set forth in Subsection 5B of this rule]an 
individual who: 
 (i)  is a member in good standing of the American Academy 
of Actuaries; 
 (ii)  is qualified to sign a statement of actuarial opinion for 
a life and health insurance company annual statement in accordance 
with the American Academy of Actuaries qualification standards for 
actuaries signing an annual statement; and 
 (iii)  is familiar with the valuation requirements applicable 
to a life and health insurance company. 
 (b)  "Qualified actuary" does not include an individual who: 
 (i)  has been found by the commissioner, following notice 
and hearing, to have: 
 (A)  violated a provision of Utah law in the course of a 
person's dealings as a qualified actuary; 
 (B)  been guilty of fraudulent or dishonest practices; 
 (C)  demonstrated incompetency, lack of cooperation, or 
untrustworthiness to act as a qualified actuary; 
 (D)  submitted to the commissioner, during the past five 
years, an actuarial opinion or memorandum that the commissioner 
rejected because it did not meet the provisions of this rule or the 
standards set by the Actuarial Standards Board; or 
 (E)  resigned or been removed as an actuary within the past 
five years because of acts or omissions indicated in any adverse 
report on examination or because of a failure to adhere to generally 
acceptable actuarial standards; or 
 (ii)  failed to notify the commissioner of any action taken 
by a commissioner of another state similar to that in this Subsection 
(7)(b). 
 (c)  Notwithstanding Subsection (7)(b), an individual may 
be reinstated as a qualified actuary by the commissioner. 
 
R590-162-[5]4.  General Requirements of an Actuarial Opinion. 
 [A.  Submission of ](1)  Submitting a Statement of 
Actuarial Opinion. 
 [(1)  There is to be included on or attached to Page 1 of the 
annual statement for each year beginning with the year in which this 
rule becomes effective the statement of an appointed actuary, entitled 
"Statement of Actuarial Opinion," setting forth an opinion relating to 
reserves and related actuarial items held in support of policies and 
contracts, in accordance with Section 6 of this rule](a)  A statement 
of an appointed actuary setting forth an opinion relating to reserves 
and related actuarial items held in support of a policy or a contract, 
entitled Statement of Actuarial Opinion, shall be included with the 
annual statement. 
 [(2)  In the case of a statement of actuarial opinion required 
to be submitted by ](b)  For a foreign or an alien company, the 
commissioner may accept [the ]a statement of actuarial opinion filed 
by [such ]a company with the insurance [supervisory ]regulator of 
another state if the commissioner determines that the opinion 
reasonably meets the requirements applicable to a company 
domiciled in this [State]state. 
 [(3)  Upon ](c)  On written request [by the ]of a company, 
the commissioner may grant an extension [of the date for submission 
of the ]to submit a statement of actuarial opinion. 
 [B.  Qualified Actuary 
 A "qualified actuary" is an individual who: 
 (1)  Is a member in good standing of the American 
Academy of Actuaries; 
 (2)  Is qualified to sign statements of actuarial opinion for 
life and health insurance company annual statements in accordance 
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with the American Academy of Actuaries qualification standards for 
actuaries signing such statements; 
 (3)  Is familiar with the valuation requirements applicable 
to life and health insurance companies; 
 (4)  Has not been found by the commissioner, or if so found 
has subsequently been reinstated as a qualified actuary, following 
appropriate notice and hearing to have: 
 (a)  Violated any provision of, or any obligation imposed 
by, the Utah Code or other law in the course of his or her dealings as 
a qualified actuary; 
 (b)  Been found guilty of fraudulent or dishonest practices; 
 (c)  Demonstrated his or her incompetency, lack of 
cooperation, or untrustworthiness to act as a qualified actuary; 
 (d)  Submitted to the commissioner during the past five 
years, pursuant to this rule, an actuarial opinion or memorandum that 
the commissioner rejected because it did not meet the provisions of 
this rule including standards set by the Actuarial Standards Board; or 
 (e)  Resigned or been removed as an actuary within the past 
five years as a result of acts or omissions indicated in any adverse 
report on examination or as a result of failure to adhere to generally 
acceptable actuarial standards; and 
 (5)  Has not failed to notify the commissioner of any action 
taken by any commissioner of any other state similar to that under 
Subsection (4) above. 
 C.](2)  Appointed Actuary. 
 [An "appointed actuary" is a qualified actuary who is 
appointed or retained to prepare the statement of actuarial opinion 
required by this rule, either directly by or by the authority of the board 
of directors through an executive officer of the company other than 
the qualified actuary.  The company shall give the commissioner 
timely written notice of the name, title, and, in the case of a 
consulting actuary, the name of the firm and manner of appointment 
or retention of each person appointed or retained by the company as 
an appointed actuary and shall state in such notice that the person 
meets the requirements set forth in Subsection 5B of this rule.  Once 
notice is furnished, no further notice is required with respect to this 
person, provided that the company shall give the commissioner 
timely written notice in the event the actuary ceases to be appointed 
or retained as an appointed actuary or to meet the requirements set 
forth in Subsection 5B.  If any person appointed or retained as an 
appointed actuary replaces a previously appointed actuary, the notice 
shall so state and give the reasons for replacement](a)  An appointed 
actuary shall be appointed either directly by or by the authority of the 
Board of Directors through an executive officer of the company other 
than the appointed actuary. 
 (b)  A company shall: 
 (i)  give the commissioner timely written notice of the 
name, title, and, in the case of a consulting actuary, the name of the 
firm and manner of appointment or retention of each person 
appointed by a company as an appointed actuary; and 
 (ii)  state in the notice that the individual meets the 
requirements of a qualified actuary. 
 (c)  When notice is provided, no further notice is required 
for the appointed actuary, provided the company gives the 
commissioner timely written notice that the actuary ceases to be 
appointed or meet the requirements of a qualified actuary. 
 (d)  If an appointed actuary replaces a previously appointed 
actuary, the notice shall give the reasons for replacement. 
[ D.  Standards for Asset Adequacy Analysis 
 The asset adequacy analysis required by this rule: 
 (1)  shall conform to the Standards of Practice as 
promulgated from time to time by the Actuarial Standards Board and 

on any additional standards under this rule, which standards are to 
form the basis of the statement of actuarial opinion in accordance 
with this rule; and 
 (2)  shall be based on methods of analysis as are deemed 
appropriate for such purposes by the Actuarial Standards Board.] 
 [E.](3)  Liabilities to be Covered. 
 [(1)  Under authority of ](a)  Under Section 31A-17-503, 
[the ]a statement of actuarial opinion [shall apply to all ]applies to an 
in[ ]-force business on the statement date, whether directly issued or 
assumed, regardless of when or where issued. 
 [(2)  If the ](b)  If an appointed actuary determines, as the 
result of an asset adequacy analysis, that a reserve should be held in 
addition to the aggregate reserve held by [the ]a company and 
calculated in accordance with methods [set forth in ]under Title 31A, 
Chapter 17, Part 5, Standard Valuation Law, the company shall 
establish [such ]the additional reserve. 
 [(3)](c)  Additional reserves established under Subsection 
[(2) above and deemed ](3)(b) and considered not necessary in 
subsequent years may be released.[  Any amounts ] 
 (i)  Reserves that are released [must ]shall be disclosed in 
the actuarial opinion for the applicable year. 
 (ii)  The release of [such ]reserves [would not be deemed 
]is not an adoption of a lower standard of valuation. 
 
R590-162-[6]5.  Statement of Actuarial Opinion Based [O]on an 
Asset Adequacy Analysis. 
 [A.](1)  General Description. 
 [(1)  The ](a)  A statement of actuarial opinion [submitted 
in accordance with this section shall consist of]based on an asset 
adequacy analysis shall include a paragraph identifying: 
 [(a)  a paragraph identifying ](i)  the appointed actuary and 
[his or her ]the appointed actuary's qualifications[ as specified in 
Subsection 6B(1) of this rule]; 
 [(b)  a scope paragraph identifying the subjects on which 
an opinion is to be expressed and ](ii)  the scope of the actuarial 
opinion, describing[ the scope of ]: 
 (A)  the appointed actuary's work, [including ]with a 
tabulation delineating the reserves and related actuarial items [which 
have been ]analyzed for asset adequacy and the method of analysis[, 
as specified in Subsection 6B(2) of this rule, and identifying ]; and 
 (B)  the reserves and related actuarial items covered by the 
opinion [which have not been so ]that were not analyzed; 
 [(c)  a reliance paragraph describing those areas, if any, 
](iii)  the areas where the appointed actuary [has ]deferred to another 
expert[s] in developing data, procedures, or assumptions, [e.g., ]such 
as anticipated cash flows from currently owned assets[,] including 
variation in cash flows according to economic scenarios[, as specified 
in Subsection 6B(3) of this rule], supported by a statement of each 
[such ]expert in the form prescribed by Subsection [6E of this 
rule](5); and 
 [(d)  an opinion paragraph expressing ](iv)  the appointed 
actuary's opinion [with respect to ]of the adequacy of the supporting 
assets to mature the liabilities[, as specified in Subsection 6B(6) of 
this rule]. 
 [(2)  One or more additional ](b)  Additional paragraphs 
[will ]may be needed [in individual company cases as follows]if the 
appointed actuary: 
 [(a)  if the appointed actuary ](i)  considers it necessary to 
state a qualification of the opinion; 
 [(b)  if the appointed actuary must ](ii)  is required to 
disclose the method of aggregation for reserves of different products 
or lines of business for asset adequacy analysis; 
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 [(c)  if the appointed actuary must ](iii)  is required to 
disclose reliance upon [any ]a portion of the assets supporting the 
Asset Valuation Reserve (AVR), Interest Maintenance Reserve 
(IMR), or other mandatory or voluntary statement of reserves for 
asset adequacy analysis; 
 [(d)  if the appointed actuary must ](iv)  is required to 
disclose an inconsistency in the method of analysis or basis of asset 
allocation used at the prior [opinion date with that used for this ]year 
opinion; 
 [(e)  if the appointed actuary must ](v)  is required to 
disclose whether additional reserves of the prior year opinion [date 
]are released as of [this opinion date]the current year opinion, and the 
extent of the release; or 
 [(f)  if the appointed actuary ](vi)  chooses to add a 
paragraph briefly describing the assumptions [which ]that form the 
basis for the actuarial opinion. 
 [B.  Recommended ](2)  Required Language. 
 [The following paragraphs are to be included in the 
statement of actuarial opinion in accordance with this section.  
Language is that which in typical circumstances should be included 
in a statement of actuarial opinion.  The language may be modified 
as needed to meet the circumstances of a particular case, but the 
appointed actuary should use language which clearly expresses his or 
her professional judgment.  However, in any event the opinion shall 
retain all pertinent aspects of the language provided in this 
section.]The language in a statement of actuarial opinion may be 
modified as needed to meet the circumstances of a particular case, 
but the appointed actuary shall use language that clearly expresses 
the appointed actuary's professional judgment. The following 
paragraphs shall be included in the statement of actuarial opinion. 
 [(1)](a)(i)  The opening paragraph [should generally ]shall 
[indicate]state the appointed actuary's relationship to the company 
and [his or her ]the appointed actuary's qualifications to sign the 
opinion. 
 (ii)  For a company actuary, the opening paragraph of the 
actuarial opinion [should ]shall read as follows: 
 "I, (name), am (title) of (insurance company name) and a 
member of the American Academy of Actuaries. [ ]I was appointed 
by, or by the authority of, the Board of Directors of said insurer to 
render this opinion as stated in the letter to the commissioner dated 
(insert date). [ ]I meet the Academy qualification standards for 
rendering the opinion and am familiar with the valuation 
requirements applicable to life and health insurance companies." 
 (iii)  For a consulting actuary, the opening paragraph 
[should contain a sentence such as]shall read as follows: 
 "I, (name), a member of the American Academy of 
Actuaries, am associated with the firm of (name of consulting firm). 
[ ]I have been appointed by, or by the authority of, the Board of 
Directors of (name of company) to render this opinion as stated in the 
letter to the commissioner dated (insert date). [ ]I meet the Academy 
qualification standards for rendering the opinion and am familiar 
with the valuation requirements applicable to life and health 
insurance companies." 
 [(2)](b)  The scope paragraph [should ]shall include [a 
statement such as ]the following statement: 
 "I have examined the actuarial assumptions and actuarial 
methods used in determining reserves and related actuarial items 
listed below, as shown in the annual statement of the company, as 
prepared for filing with state regulatory officials, as of December 31, 
[20(  )]20__. [ ]Tabulated below are those reserves and related 
actuarial items which have been subjected to asset adequacy 
analysis." 

 [(3)](c)(i)  If [the ]an appointed actuary [has relied ]relies 
on another expert[s] to develop certain portions of the analysis, [the 
]a reliance paragraph [should ]shall include [a statement such as ]the 
following statement: 
 "I have relied on (name), (title) for (e.g., anticipated cash 
flows from currently owned assets, including variations in cash flows 
according to economic scenarios or certain critical aspects of the 
analysis performed in conjunction with forming my opinion), as 
certified in the attached statement I have reviewed the information 
relied upon for reasonableness." 
 [Such a](ii) A statement of reliance on another expert[s 
should ] shall be accompanied by a statement [by each of such experts 
of the ]from each expert in a form prescribed by Subsection [6E of 
this rule](5). 
 [(4)](d)  If [the ]an appointed actuary [has ]examined the 
underlying asset and liability records, the reliance paragraph [should 
also ]shall include the following: 
 "My examination included such review of the actuarial 
assumptions and actuarial methods and of the underlying basic asset 
and liability records and such tests of the actuarial calculations as I 
considered necessary. I also reconciled the underlying basic asset and 
liability records to (exhibits and schedules listed as applicable) of the 
company's current annual statement." 
 [(5)](e)(i)  If [the ]an appointed actuary has not examined 
the underlying records, but has relied upon data [(e.g., listings and 
summaries of policies in force or asset records) ]prepared by the 
company or a third party, the reliance paragraph [should include a 
statement such as]shall include the following statement: 
 "In forming my opinion on (specify types of reserves) I 
have relied upon data prepared by (name and title of company officer 
certifying in-force records or other data) as certified in the attached 
statement. I evaluated that data for reasonableness and consistency. I 
also reconciled that data to (exhibits and schedules to be listed as 
applicable) of the company's current annual statement. In other 
respects my examination included such review of the actuarial 
assumptions and actuarial methods and such tests of the actuarial 
calculations as I considered necessary." 
 [Such a ](ii)  A statement of reliance [must ]shall be 
accompanied by a statement [by ]from each person relied upon [of 
the ]in a form prescribed by Subsection [6E of this rule](5). 
 [(6)](f)  The opinion paragraph [should include the 
following]shall include: 
[ 

TABLE 
 
     (a)  "In my opinion the reserves and related actuarial 
values concerning the statement items identified above: 
     (i)  are computed in accordance with presently 
accepted actuarial standards consistently applied and are 
fairly stated, in accordance with sound actuarial principles; 
     (ii)  are based on actuarial assumptions which 
produce reserves at least as great as those called for in any 
contract provision as to reserve basis and method, and are in 
accordance with all other contract provisions; 
     (iii)  meet the requirements of the Insurance Law 
and rule of the state of (state of domicile) and are at least 
as great as the minimum aggregate amounts required by the 
state in which this statement is filed; 
     (iv)  are computed on the basis of assumptions 
consistent with those used in computing the corresponding 
items in the annual statement of the preceding year-end (with 
any exceptions noted below); 
     (v)  include provision for all actuarial reserves 
and related statement items which ought to be established;" 
     (b)  "The reserves and related items, when considered in 
light of the assets held by the company with respect to such 
reserves and related actuarial items including, but not limited 
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to, the investment earnings on such assets, and the 
considerations anticipated to be received and retained under 
such policies and contracts, make adequate provision, according 
to presently accepted actuarial standards of practice, for the 
anticipated cash flows required by the contractual obligations 
and related expenses of the company;" 
     (c)  "The actuarial methods, considerations and analyses 
used in forming my opinion conform to the appropriate Standards 
of Practice as promulgated by the Actuarial Standards Board, 
which standards form the basis of this statement of opinion;" 
and 
     (d)  "This opinion is updated annually as required by 
statute.  To the best of my knowledge, there have been no 
material changes from the applicable date of the annual 
statement to the date of the rendering of this opinion which 
should be considered in reviewing this opinion;" 
     or 
     "The following material change(s) which occurred between 
the date of the statement for which this opinion is applicable 
and the date of this opinion should be considered in reviewing 
this opinion:"  (Describe the change or changes.) 
     "The impact of unanticipated events subsequent to the date 
of this opinion is beyond the scope of this opinion.  The 
analysis of asset adequacy portion of this opinion should be 
viewed recognizing that the company's future experience may not 
follow all the assumptions used in the analysis." 
 
........................................ 
"Signature of Appointed Actuary 
 
....................................... 
Address of Appointed Actuary 
 
 
....................................... 
Telephone Number of Appointed Actuary 
 
 
................... 
Date"] 

 
 (i)  "In my opinion the reserves and related actuarial values 
concerning the statement items identified above: 
 (A)  are computed in accordance with presently accepted 
actuarial standards consistently applied and are fairly stated, in 
accordance with sound actuarial principles; 
 (B)  are based on actuarial assumptions which produce 
reserves at least as great as those called for in any contract provision 
as to reserve basis and method, and are in accordance with all other 
contract provisions; 
 (C)  meet the requirements of the insurance laws and rules 
of the state of (state of domicile) and are at least as great as the 
minimum aggregate amounts required by the state in which this 
statement is filed; 
 (D)  are computed on the basis of assumptions consistent 
with those used in computing the corresponding items in the annual 
statement of the preceding year-end (with any exceptions noted 
below); 
 (E)  include provision for all actuarial reserves and related 
statement items which ought to be established"; 
 (ii)  "The reserves and related items, when considered in 
light of the assets held by the company with respect to such reserves 
and related actuarial items including, but not limited to, the 
investment earnings on such assets, and the considerations 
anticipated to be received and retained under such policies and 
contracts, make adequate provision, according to presently accepted 
actuarial standards of practice, for the anticipated cash flows required 
by the contractual obligations and related expenses of the company"; 
 (iii)  "The actuarial methods, considerations and analyses 
used in forming my opinion conform to the appropriate Standards of 

Practice as promulgated by the Actuarial Standards Board, which 
standards form the basis of this statement of opinion'; 
 (iv)(A)  "This opinion is updated annually as required by 
statute. To be best of my knowledge, there have been no material 
changes from the applicable date of the annual statement to the date 
of the rendering of this opinion which should be considered in 
reviewing this opinion"; or 
 (B)  "The following material change(s) which occurred 
between the date of the statement for which this opinion is applicable 
and the date of this opinion should be considered in reviewing this 
opinion (describe the change or changes)"; 
 (v)  "The impact of unanticipated events subsequent to the 
date of this opinion is beyond the scope of this opinion. The analysis 
of asset adequacy portion of this opinion should be viewed 
recognizing that the company's future experience may not follow all 
the assumptions used in the analysis"; and 
 (vi)  a signature block including the: 
 (A)  signature of the appointed actuary; 
 (B)  address of the appointed actuary; 
 (C)  telephone number of the appointed actuary; and 
 (D)  date. 
 [C.](3)  Assumption[s] for New Issue[s]. 
 The adoption for new issues or new claims or other new 
liabilities of an actuarial assumption [which ]that differs from a 
corresponding assumption used for prior new issues or new claims or 
other new liabilities is not a change in an actuarial assumption[s] 
within the meaning of this [S]section[ 6]. 
 [D.](4)  Adverse Opinion[s]. 
 (a)  If [the ]an appointed actuary cannot[is unable to] form 
an opinion, [then ]the actuary shall refuse to issue a statement of 
actuarial opinion. 
 (b)(i)  If [the ]an appointed actuary's opinion is adverse or 
qualified, [then ]the actuary shall issue an adverse or qualified 
actuarial opinion explicitly stating the reason[(s)] for [such ]the 
opinion.[  This statement should ] 
 (ii)  The explicit statement required under Subsection 
(4)(b)(i) shall follow the scope paragraph and precede the opinion 
paragraph. 
 [E.](5)  Reliance on Data Furnished by Other Persons. 
 (a)  If [the ]an appointed actuary relies on the certification 
of others on matters concerning the accuracy or completeness of any 
data underlying the actuarial opinion, or the appropriateness of any 
other information used by the appointed actuary in forming the 
actuarial opinion, the actuarial opinion [should so ]shall 
[indicate]state the persons the actuary is relying [up]on and [a precise 
identification of ]identify the items [subject to the reliance]the 
actuary is relying on. 
 [In addition, the ](b)(i)  A person[s on whom ] that the 
appointed actuary relies on shall provide a certification that [precisely 
]identifies the items [on which ]the person is providing information 
about and a statement as to the accuracy, completeness, or 
reasonableness[, as applicable,] of the items.[  This ] 
 (ii)  The certification shall include the signature, date, title, 
company, address, and telephone number of the person [rendering 
]providing the certification[, as well as the date on which it is signed]. 
 [F.](6)  Alternate Option. 
 [(1)](a)  As an alternative to the requirements of Subsection 
[B(6)(a)(iii) of this rule](2)(f)(i)(C), [the ]an appointed actuary may 
state that the reserves and related actuarial values "meet the 
requirements of the [I]insurance [L]laws and rules of the State of 
(state of domicile) and I have verified that the company's request to 
file an opinion based on the laws of the state of domicile has been 
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approved by the commissioner and that any conditions required by 
the commissioner for approval of [that ]the request have been met." 
 [(2)](b)(i)  To use [this ]an alternative, the company shall 
file a request [to do so]with the commissioner, along with [the 
]justification for its use, no later than April 30 of the year [of ]the 
opinion [to be ]is filed. 
 (ii)  The request [shall be deemed ]is approved on October 
1 of that year if the commissioner has not denied the request by that 
date. 
 [(3)  Notwithstanding the above, the ](c)(i)  The 
commissioner may reject an opinion based on the laws of the state of 
domicile and require an opinion based on the laws of this [S]state. 
 (ii)  If a company [is unable to]cannot provide the opinion 
within [sixty ]60 days of the request or [such other period of time 
]other period determined by the commissioner after consultation with 
the company, the commissioner may contract with an independent 
actuary at the company's expense to prepare and file the opinion. 
 
R590-162-[7]6.  Description of Actuarial Memorandum 
Including an Asset Adequacy Analysis. 
 [A.](1)  General Provisions of Actuarial Memorandum. 
 [(1)  In accordance with ](a)(i)  Under Section 31A-17-503, 
[the ]an appointed actuary shall prepare a memorandum to [the ]a 
company describing the analysis done in support of the opinion 
[regarding the ]with respect to reserves[.  The memorandum shall be 
made ], and shall make it available for examination by the 
commissioner upon request.[ but ] 
 (ii)  The memorandum shall be returned to the company 
after [such ]examination by the commissioner and [shall not be ]is 
not considered a record of the [insurance ]department or subject to 
automatic filing with the commissioner. 
 [(2)](b)  In preparing the memorandum, the appointed 
actuary may rely on, and include as a part of [his or her own ]the 
memorandum, memoranda prepared and signed by other qualified 
actuaries[ who are qualified within the meaning of Subsection 5B of 
this rule], with respect to the areas covered in [such ]the memoranda[, 
and so state in their memoranda]. 
 [(3)](c)(i)  If the commissioner requests a memorandum 
and [no such ]a memorandum does not exist[s] or if the commissioner 
finds that the analysis described in the memorandum fails to meet the 
standards of the Actuarial Standards Board or the standards and 
requirements of this rule, the commissioner may designate a qualified 
actuary to review the opinion and prepare [such ]a supporting 
memorandum as [is ]required for review.[ The ] 
 (ii)  A reasonable and necessary expense of the independent 
review shall be paid by the company but [shall be ]the review is 
directed and controlled by the commissioner. 
 [(4)](d)(i)  The reviewing actuary [shall have ]has the same 
status as an examiner for purposes of obtaining data from the 
company.[ and the ] 
 (ii)  The work papers and documentation of the reviewing 
actuary [shall be ]are retained by the commissioner; [provided, 
]however, [that ]any information provided by the company to the 
reviewing actuary and included in the work papers [shall be 
considered as ]are considered material provided by the company to 
the commissioner and [shall be ]are kept confidential [to the same 
extent as is prescribed by law with respect to other material provided 
by the company to the commissioner ]pursuant to [the statute 
governing this rule]Section 31A-17-517. 
 (iii)  The reviewing actuary [shall ]may not be an employee 
of a consulting firm involved with the preparation of any prior 

memorandum or opinion for the insurer pursuant to this rule for [any 
one of ]the current year or the preceding three years. 
 [(5)(a)  In accordance with ](e)(i)  Under Section 31A-17-
503, the appointed actuary shall prepare a regulatory asset adequacy 
issues summary, [the content of which are specified in Subsection 
C]pursuant to Subsection (3). 
 [(b)  Every ](ii)  A company domiciled in this state shall 
submit the regulatory asset adequacy issues summary no later than 
March 15 of the year following the year [for which ]a statement of 
actuarial opinion based on asset adequacy is required. 
 [(c)  Every ](iii)  A foreign company [is required to ]shall 
make the regulatory asset adequacy issues summary available to the 
commissioner upon request. 
 [(d)](iv)  The regulatory asset adequacy issues summary 
[shall be ]is kept confidential to the same extent and under the same 
conditions as the actuarial memorandum. 
 [B.](2)  Detail[s] of the Memorandum [Section 
]Documenting Asset Adequacy Analysis. 
 [When an actuarial opinion is provided, the ]The 
memorandum documenting asset adequacy analysis shall 
demonstrate that the analysis [has been ]was done in accordance with 
the standards for asset adequacy [referred to in Subsection 5D of this 
rule and any additional standards under this rule.  It shall specify]and 
shall include: 
 [(1)](a)  for reserves: 
 [(a)](i)  product descriptions including market description, 
underwriting and other aspects of a risk profile, and the specific risks 
the appointed actuary [deems ]considers significant; 
 [(b)](ii)  source of liability in force; 
 [(c)](iii)  reserve method and basis; 
 [(d)](iv)  investment reserves; 
 [(e)](v)  reinsurance arrangements; 
 [(f)](vi)  identification of an[y] explicit or implied 
guarantee[s] made, the general account in support of benefits 
provided through a separate account or under a separate account 
policy or contract, and the method[s] used by the appointed actuary 
to provide for the guarantee[s] in the asset adequacy analysis; and 
 [(g)](vii)  documentation of assumptions to test reserves for 
the following: 
 [(i)](A)  lapse rates, [(]including both base and excess[)]; 
 [(ii)](B)  interest crediting strategy; 
 [(iii)](C)  mortality; 
 [(iv)](D)  policyholder dividend strategy; 
 [(v)](E)  competitor or market interest rate; 
 [(vi)](F)  annuitization rates; 
 [(vii)](G)  commissions and expenses; and 
 [(viii)](H)  morbidity; 
 [(2)](b)  for assets: 
 [(a)](i)  portfolio descriptions, including a risk profile 
disclosing the quality, distribution, and types of assets; 
 [(b)](ii)  investment and disinvestment assumptions; 
 [(c)](iii)  source of asset data; 
 [(d)](iv)  asset valuation bases; and 
 [(e)](v)  documentation of assumptions made for: 
 [(i)](A)  default costs; 
 [(ii)](B)  bond call function; 
 [(iii)](C)  mortgage prepayment function; 
 [(iv)](D)  determining market value for assets sold due to 
disinvestment strategy; and 
 [(v)](E)  determining yield on assets acquired through the 
investment strategy; 
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 [(3)](c)  for the analysis basis: 
 [(a)](i)  methodology; 
 [(b)](ii)  rationale for inclusion[/] or exclusion of different 
blocks of business and how pertinent risks were analyzed; 
 [(c)](iii)  rationale for degree of rigor in analyzing different 
blocks of business[ (include in the rationale ], including the level of 
["]materiality[" that was used in determining ] used to determine how 
rigorously to analyze different blocks of business[)]; 
 [(d)](iv)  criteria for determining asset adequacy[ (include 
in ], including the criteria [the precise basis for determining ]used to 
determine if assets are adequate to cover reserves under 
["]moderately adverse conditions["] or other conditions [as ]specified 
in relevant actuarial standards of practice[)]; and 
 [(e)](v)  effect of federal income taxes, reinsurance, and 
other relevant factors; 
 [(4)](d)  summary of material changes in methods, 
procedures, or assumptions from prior year's asset adequacy analysis; 
 [(5)](e)  summary of [R]results; and 
 [(6)](f)  conclusions. 
 [C.](3)  Detail[s] of the Regulatory Asset Adequacy Issues 
Summary. 
 [(1)  The ]A regulatory asset adequacy issues summary 
shall include: 
 (a)  a description[s] of the scenarios tested[ (], including 
whether those scenarios are stochastic or deterministic[)], and the 
sensitivity testing done relative to those scenarios[.  If ]; 
 (i)  if negative ending surplus results under certain tests in 
aggregate, the actuary [should ]shall describe those tests and the 
amount of additional reserve as of the valuation date [which]that, if 
held, would eliminate the negative aggregate surplus values[.  Ending 
]; and 
 (ii)  ending surplus values shall be determined by either 
extending the projection period until the in force and associated 
assets and liabilities at the end of the projection period are immaterial 
or by adjusting the surplus amount at the end of the projection period 
by an amount that appropriately estimates the value that can 
reasonably be expected to arise from the assets and liabilities 
remaining in force; 
 (b)  the extent to which the appointed actuary uses 
assumptions in the asset adequacy analysis that are materially 
different than the assumptions used in the previous asset adequacy 
analysis; 
 (c)  the amount of reserves and the identity of the product 
lines [that had been ]subject[ed] to asset adequacy analysis in the 
prior year opinion but [were ]not subject to analysis for the current 
year opinion; 
 (d)  comments on any interim results that may be of 
significant concern to the appointed actuary[.  For ], for example, the 
impact of the insufficiency of assets to support the payment of 
benefits and expenses and the establishment of statutory reserve 
during one or more interim periods; 
 (e)  the methods used by the actuary to recognize the impact 
of reinsurance on the company's cash flows, including both assets and 
liabilities, under each scenario tested;[ and] 
 (f)  whether the actuary [has been ]is satisfied that all 
options, whether explicit or embedded, in any asset or liability[ (], 
including [but not limited to ]those affecting cash flows embedded in 
fixed income securities[)], and equity-like features in an[y] 
investment[s have been ] were appropriately considered in the asset 
adequacy analysis[. 
 (2)  The regulatory asset adequacy issues summary shall 
contain the name of the company for which the regulatory asset 

adequacy issues summary is being supplied and shall be signed and 
dated by the appointed actuary rendering the actuarial opinion]; 
 (g)  the name of the company the regulatory asset adequacy 
issues summary is being prepared for; 
 (h)  the signature of the appointed actuary; and 
 (i)  the date of the actuarial opinion. 
 [D.](4)  Documentation. 
 (a)  The appointed actuary shall retain[ on file], for at least 
seven years, sufficient documentation [so that it will be possible ]to 
determine the procedures followed, the analyses performed, the bases 
for assumptions, and the results obtained. 
 (b)  The documentation [of the assumptions ]shall be of 
such quality that an actuary reviewing the actuarial memorandum 
[could ]can form a conclusion as to the reasonableness of the 
assumptions. 
 
R590-162-[8]7.  Exemptions. 
 [A.](1)  Unless ordered by the commissioner, a company 
that is under supervision, rehabilitation, or liquidation is exempt from 
the requirements of this rule. 
 [B.(1)](2)(a)  At the discretion of the commissioner, a 
company domiciled in this [S]state and doing business only in this 
[S]state may submit an opinion without the statement required under 
Subsection R590-162-[6(B)(6)(b)]5(2)(f)(ii). 
 [(2)](b)  If the commissioner grants an exemption under 
Subsection [B(1)](2)(a), the company [shall be ]is exempt from 
preparing and submitting the [RAAIS ]regulatory asset adequacy 
issues summary document required under Subsection R590-162-
[7(A)(5)]6(1)(e). 
 [C.(1)](3)  A company domiciled in this [S]state[, and 
otherwise subject to the requirements of this rule,] may apply to the 
commissioner for an exemption from: 
 (a)  the requirement to submit an actuarial opinion [required 
]under Subsection R590-162-[5(A)(1)]4(1)(a); 
 (b)  the requirement to include within its actuarial opinion 
the statement [required ]under Subsection R590-162-
[6(B)(6)(b)]5(2)(f)(ii); or 
 (c)  the requirement to prepare and submit the [RAAIS 
]regulatory asset adequacy issues summary document [required 
]under Subsection R590-162-[7(A)(5)]6(1)(e). 
 (2)  A company seeking an exemption under Subsection 
[C(1) ](3) shall: 
 (a)  submit a written request for an exemption no later than 
November 1 of the year for which the exemption is sought; and 
 (b)  provide a written explanation and supporting 
documents[, if any,] explaining how complying with the requirement 
for which an exemption is sought would not enhance the department's 
understanding of the financial position of the company and, 
therefore, be an unnecessary burden on the company. 
 
R590-162-[9]8.  Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or its application to any person 
or circumstances is for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder 
of the rule and the application of the provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected thereby.]If any provision of this 
rule, Rule R590-162, or its application to any person or situation is 
held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other provision or 
application of this rule that can be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. The remainder of this rule shall be given 
effect without the invalid provision or application. 
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Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-178.  Securities Custody 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual standards.  Other changes make the 
language of this rule more clear, remove the Enforcement 
Date section (the current Section R590-178-8) because 
this rule is already in force, and update the Severability 
section (the new Section R590-178-8) to use the 
Department's current language.  The changes do not add, 
remove, or change any regulations or requirements. 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Insurance 
Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 31A-2-206 Section 31A-4-108 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 

10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 06/15/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-178.  Securities Custody. 
R590-178-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the [Insurance Commissioner 
]commissioner pursuant to [Utah Insurance Code ]Sections 31A-2-
201, 31A-2-206, and 31A-4-108. 
 
R590-178-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 [This rule authorizes domestic insurance companies to 
utilize modern systems for holding and transferring securities without 
physical delivery of securities certificates.  This rule establishes 
standards for national banks, state banks, trust companies and 
broker/dealers to qualify and operate as custodians for insurance 
company securities.](1)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  authorize a domestic insurance company to use a 
modern system for holding and transferring a security without 
physical delivery of a security certificate; and 
 (b)  establish standards for a person in Subsection (2)(b) 
through (2)(e) to qualify and operate as a custodian for insurance 
company securities. 
 (2)  This rule applies to: 
 (a)  a domestic insurance company; 
 (b)  a national bank; 
 (c)  a state bank; 
 (d)  a trust company; and 
 (e)  a broker/dealer. 
 
R590-178-3.  Definitions. 
 [As used in this rule]Terms used in this rule are defined in 
Sections 31A-1-301, 31A-2-206, and 70A-8-101. Additional terms 
are defined as follows: 
 [A.](1)  "Agent" means a national bank, state bank, trust 
company, or broker/dealer that maintains an account in its name in a 
clearing corporation or that is a member of the Federal Reserve 
System and through which a custodian participates in a clearing 
corporation or the Federal Reserve book-entry system. 
 [B.](2)  "Clearing corporation" means a corporation[, as 
defined in Subsection 70A-8-101(1),] that is organized for the 
purpose of effecting transactions in securities by computerized book-
entry. Clearing corporation also includes "Treasury/Reserve 
Automated Debt Entry Securities System" and "Treasury Direct" 
book-entry securities systems established pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 
[Section ]3100 et seq., 12 U.S.C. [pt. ]391 and 5 U.S.C. [pt. ]301. 
 [C.](3)  "Custodian" means: 
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 [1.](a)  a national bank, state bank, or trust company that 
shall at all times during which it acts as a custodian pursuant to this 
rule, be no less than adequately capitalized as determined by the 
standards adopted by United States banking regulators and that is 
regulated by either state banking laws or is a member of the Federal 
Reserve System and that is legally qualified to accept custody of 
securities in accordance with the standards set forth below; or 
 [2.](b)  a trust company with minimum net worth of 
$1,500,000 at all times during which it acts as a custodian, is licensed 
by the United States or any state thereof as a trust company, and is in 
compliance with the regulatory authority as verified through regular 
examination by the regulatory authority; or 
 [3.  A ](c)  a broker/dealer that shall be registered with and 
subject to jurisdiction of the Securities and Exchange Commission, 
maintains membership in the Securities Investor Protection 
Corporation, and has a tangible net worth equal to or greater than 
[two hundred fifty million dollars (]$250,000,000[)]. 
 [D.](4)  "Custodied securities" means securities held by the 
custodian or its agent, or that are being cleared or transferred through 
a clearing corporation. 
[ E.  "Federal Reserve book-entry system" means the 
computerized systems sponsored by the United States Department of 
the Treasury and other agencies and instrumentalities of the United 
States for holding and transferring securities of the United States 
government and the agencies and instrumentalities. 
 F.  "Security" has the same meaning as that defined in 70A-
8-101(1). 
 G.  "Securities' certificate" has the same meaning as that 
defined in 70A-8-101(1).] 
 [H.](5)  "Tangible net worth" means shareholders equity, 
less intangible assets, as reported in the broker/dealer's most recent 
Annual or Transition Report pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the 
Securities Exchange Act of 1934 [(S.E.C. Form 10-K) ]Form 10-K, 
filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission. 
 [I.](6)  "Treasury/Reserve Automated Debt Entry 
Securities System" (TRADES) and "Treasury Direct" mean the book 
entry securities systems established pursuant to 31 U.S.C. [Section 
]3100 et seq., 12 U.S.C. [pt. ]391, and 5 U.S.C. [pt. ]301. The 
operation of TRADES and Treasury Direct are subject to 31 C.F.R. 
[pt. ]357 et seq. 
 
R590-178-4.  Use of Book-Entry Systems. 
 A custodian may [utilize ]use a clearing corporation to clear 
and transfer securities when depositing or arranging for the deposit 
of securities held in or purchased for a domestic insurance company's 
general account or its separate accounts. When a clearing corporation 
is used to clear and transfer securities, securities of the same class of 
the same issuer may be merged and held in bulk in the name of the 
nominee of such clearing corporation regardless of the ownership of 
such securities and securities of small denominations may be merged 
into larger denominations. The records of any custodian [utilizing 
]using a clearing corporation to clear and transfer securities shall at 
all times show that such securities are held for such insurance 
company and for which accounts thereof. Ownership of, and other 
interest in, such securities may be transferred by bookkeeping entry 
on the books of such clearing corporation without physical delivery 
of certificates representing such securities. 
 
R590-178-5.  Requirements for Custodial Agreements. 
 [A.](1)  An insurance company may, by written agreement 
with a custodian, provide for the custody of its securities with that 
custodian. The securities that are the subject of the agreement may be 

held by the custodian or its agent, by the Federal Reserve book-entry 
system, or may be cleared or transferred through a clearing 
corporation. 
 [B.](2)  Agreements shall be in writing and shall be 
authorized by a resolution of the Board of Directors of the insurance 
company or of an authorized committee of the board pursuant to 
Section 31A-5-412. The terms of the agreement shall comply with 
the following: 
 [1.](a)  Securities' certificates held by the custodian shall 
be held separate from the securities' certificates of the custodian and 
of all of its other customers. 
 [2.](b)  Securities held indirectly by the custodian or its 
agent, by the Federal Reserve book-entry system, and securities 
being cleared or transferred through a clearing corporation shall be 
separately identified on the custodian's official records as being 
owned by the insurance company. The records shall identify which 
securities are held by the custodian or its agent, by the Federal 
Reserve book-entry system, and which securities are being cleared or 
transferred through a clearing corporation. If the securities are with 
the Federal Reserve book-entry system or are being cleared or 
transferred through a clearing corporation, the records shall also 
identify where the securities are and the name of the clearing 
corporation. If the securities are held by an agent of the custodian, 
the records shall contain the name of the agent. 
 [3.](c)  All custodied securities shall be registered in the 
name of the insurance company or in the name of a nominee of the 
insurance company or in the name of the custodian or its nominee or, 
if in a clearing corporation, in the name of the clearing corporation 
or its nominee. 
 [4.](d)  Custodied securities shall be held subject to the 
instructions of the insurance company and shall be withdrawable 
upon the demand of the insurance company, except that custodied 
securities used to meet the deposit requirements set forth in 
Subsection 31A-2-206(2) shall, to the extent required by Subsection 
31A-2-206(2), be under the control of the insurance commissioner 
and shall not be withdrawn by the insurance company without the 
prior written approval of the insurance commissioner. Broker/dealers 
are not authorized to hold custodied securities that are used to meet 
the deposit requirements set forth in Subsection 31A-2-206(2). To the 
extent that national banks, state banks, and trust companies hold 
custodied securities that are used to meet the deposit requirements set 
forth in Subsection 31A-2-206(2), these custodied securities must be 
held in an account separate from other custodied securities of the 
insurance company. 
 [5.](e)  The custodian shall be required to send or cause to 
be sent to the insurance company a confirmation of all transfers of 
custodied securities to or from the account of the insurance company. 
In addition, the custodian shall be required to furnish no less than 
monthly the insurance company with reports of holdings of custodied 
securities at times and containing information reasonably requested 
by the insurance company. The custodian's annual report of the 
insurance company's accounts shall also be provided to the insurance 
company. Reports and verifications may be transmitted in electronic 
or paper form. 
 [6.](f)  During the course of the custodian's regular business 
hours, an officer or employee of the insurance company, an 
independent accountant selected by the insurance company, or a 
representative of the Insurance Department shall be entitled to 
examine, on the premises of the custodian, the custodian's records 
relating to custodied securities, but only upon furnishing the 
custodian with written instructions to that effect from an appropriate 
officer of the insurance company. 
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 [7.](g)  Upon written request from the insurance company, 
the custodian and its agents shall be required to send to the insurance 
company: 
 [(a)](i)  all reports they receive from a clearing corporation 
on their respective systems of internal accounting control[,]; and 
 [(b)](ii)  reports prepared by outside auditors on the 
custodian's or its agent's internal accounting control of custodied 
securities that the insurance company may reasonably request. 
 [8.](h)  The custodian shall maintain records sufficient to 
determine and verify information relating to custodied securities that 
may be reported in the insurance company's annual statement and 
supporting schedules and information required in an audit of the 
financial statements of the insurance company. 
 [9.](i)  The custodian shall provide, upon written request 
from an appropriate officer of the insurance company, the appropriate 
affidavits with respect to custodied securities. These shall be 
substantially in the form of Custodian Affidavits, Form A, 298-6, 
Form B, 298-7, and Form C, 298-8, published by NAIC Model 
Regulation Service. 
 [a.  "Form A" ](i)  Form A is to be used by a custodian 
where securities entrusted to its care have not been redeposited 
elsewhere; 
 [b.  "Form B" ](ii)  Form B is to be used in instances where 
a custodian corporation maintains securities on deposit with The 
Depository Trust Company or like entity; and 
 [c.  "Form C" ](iii)  Form C is to be used where ownership 
is evidenced by book entry at a Federal Reserve Bank. 
 [10.](j)  A national bank, state bank, or trust company shall 
secure and maintain insurance protection in an adequate amount 
covering the bank's or trust company's duties and activities as 
custodian for the insurance company's assets, and shall state in the 
custody agreement that protection is in compliance with the 
requirements of the custodian's banking regulator or other regulator 
of a trust company. A broker/dealer shall secure and maintain 
insurance protection for each insurance company's custodied 
securities in excess of that provided by the Securities Investor 
Protection Corporation in an amount equal to or greater than the 
market value of each respective insurance company's custodied 
securities. The commissioner may determine whether the type of 
insurance is appropriate and the amount of coverage is adequate. 
 [11.](k)  The custodian shall be obligated to indemnify the 
insurance company for any loss of custodied securities occasioned by 
the negligence or dishonesty of the custodian's officers or employees, 
and for burglary, robbery, holdup, theft, and mysterious 
disappearance, including loss by damage or destruction. 
 [12.](l)  In the event that there is loss of custodied 
securities, for which the custodian shall be obligated to indemnify the 
insurance company as provided in [paragraph (11) above]Subsection 
(2)(k), the custodian shall promptly replace the securities or the fair 
value thereof and the value of any loss of rights or privileges resulting 
from the loss of securities. 
 [13.](m)  The agreement may provide that the custodian 
will not be liable for failure to take an action required under the 
agreement in the event and to the extent that the taking of such action 
is prevented or delayed by war, whether declared or not and including 
existing wars, revolution, insurrection, riot, civil commotion, act of 
God, accident, fire, explosion, stoppage of labor, strikes or other 
differences with employees, laws, regulations, orders, other acts of 
any governmental authority, or any other cause beyond its reasonable 
control. 
 [14.](n)  In the event that the custodian gains entry in a 
clearing corporation through an agent, there shall be an agreement 

between the custodian and the agent under which the agent shall be 
subject to the same liability for loss of custodied securities as the 
custodian. However, if the agent shall be subject to regulation under 
the laws of a jurisdiction that is different from the jurisdiction the 
laws of which regulate the custodian, the Commissioner of Insurance 
of the state of domicile of the insurance company may accept a 
standard of liability applicable to the agent that is different from the 
standard of liability applicable to the custodian. 
 [15.](o)  The custodian shall provide written notification to 
the insurance company's domiciliary commissioner if the custodial 
agreement with the insurance company has been terminated or if 
100% of the account assets in any one custody account have been 
withdrawn. This notification shall be remitted to the insurance 
commissioner within three [(3) ]business days of the receipt by the 
custodian of the insurance company's written notice of termination or 
within three [(3) ]business days of the withdrawal of 100% of the 
account assets. 
 
R590-178-6.  Requirements for Deposits with Affiliates. 
 [A.](1)  Nothing in this rule shall prevent an insurance 
company from depositing securities with another insurance company 
with which the depositing insurance company is affiliated, provided 
that the securities are deposited pursuant to a written agreement 
authorized by the board of directors of the depositing insurance 
company or an authorized committee thereof and that the receiving 
insurance company is organized under the laws of one of the states 
of the United States [of America ]or of the District of Columbia. If 
the respective states of domicile of the depositing and receiving 
insurance companies are not the same, the depositing insurance 
company shall have given notice of the deposit to the insurance 
commissioner in the state of its domicile and the insurance 
commissioner shall not have objected to it within [thirty (30) ]30 days 
of the receipt of the notice. 
 [B.](2)  The terms of the agreement shall comply with the 
following: 
 [1.](a)  The insurance company receiving the deposit shall 
maintain records adequate to identify and verify the securities 
belonging to the depositing insurance company. 
 [2.](b)  The receiving insurance company shall allow 
representatives of an appropriate regulatory body to examine records 
relating to securities held subject to the agreement. 
 [3.](c)  The depositing insurance company may authorize 
the receiving insurance company: 
 [a.  To ](i)  to hold the securities of the depositing insurance 
company in bulk, in certificates issued in the name of the receiving 
insurance company or its nominee, and to commingle them with 
securities owned by other affiliates of the receiving insurance 
company[,]; and 
 [b.  To ](ii)  to provide for the securities to be held by a 
custodian, including the custodian of securities of the receiving 
insurance company, or in a clearing corporation. 
 
R590-178-7.  Penalties and Prohibitions. 
 [A.](1)  Insurance companies found to be or to have been 
in violation of this rule shall be subject to fine, suspension, and 
revocation of license or other penalties permitted by Section 31A-2-
308. 
 [B.](2)  Insurance companies are not authorized to provide 
for the custody of their securities except as granted in this rule.[ ] 
Custodial securities held in violation of this rule shall be disregarded 
in determining and reporting the financial condition of an insurer. 
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R590-178-8.  [Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule 90 days 
from the rule's effective date. 
 
R590-178-9.  ]Separability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or the application to any 
person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the 
remainder of the rule and the application of such provisions may not 
be affected]If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-178, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance law 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 19, 2006] 
Notice of Continuation:  July 14, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-4-108 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-207 Filing ID 
54695 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-207.  Health Producer Commissions for Small 
Employer Groups 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 

Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual standards.  Other changes make the 
language of this rule more clear, remove the Penalties 
section (old Section R590-207-7) because penalties are 
already provided for in statute, remove the Effective Date 
section (old Section R590-207-8) because this rule is 
already in force, and update the Severability section (new 
Section R590-207-5) to use the Department's current 
language.  The changes do not add, remove, or change 
any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Insurance 
Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-30-104 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 06/15/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-207.  Health Producer Commissions for Small Employer 
Groups. 
R590-207-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is [issued and based upon the authority granted 
the commissioner under Subsections 31A-2-201(3)(a) and 31A-30-
104(7)]promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to Sections 31A-
2-201 and 31A-30-104. 
 
R590-207-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish guidelines 
relating to commission structure for insurance producers in the small 
employer group market that affect access to health insurance 
coverage for small employer groups. 
 (2)  This rule applies to a carrier offering a health benefit 
plan in the small employer market. 
 
R590-207-3.  [Applicability. 
 This rule applies to all licensed carriers doing health 
insurance business under Title 31A, Chapter 30, the Individual and 
Small Employer Health Insurance Act. 
 
R590-207-4.  ]Definitions. 
 [The definitions in Sections 31A-1-301 and 31A-30-103 
apply to this rule]Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-
1-301 and 31A-30-103. 
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R590-207-[5]4.  Commission Schedule Structure. 
 (1)  A [health insurance carrier shall ]carrier may not 
structure a producer commission schedule [in a way ]that, directly or 
indirectly, creates a restriction, hindrance, or barrier to access to 
coverage for the smallest [size ]groups or groups with the greatest 
health risks. 
 (2)  The commission in the commission schedule for the 
smallest [size ]groups or the groups with the greatest health risks may 
not be designed to avoid, directly or indirectly, the requirements of 
guaranteed issue or renewal in the marketing of health insurance to 
small business owners. 
 (3)  An insurer [shall ]may not design a commission 
structure that lessens the incentive to insure a small employer group 
that is smallest in size or with the greatest health risks. 
 (4)(a)  An insurer is not required to base commissions on a 
percentage. 
 (b)  An insurer [is permitted to pay no ]may elect not to pay 
commissions on all business[ or to ]. 
 (c)  An insurer may elect to pay a dollar amount based on 
factors other than risk characteristics. 
[ 
R590-207-6.  Commission Structure Examples. 
 (1)](5)  Examples of commission structures that [are in 
compliance would be]comply with this rule include: 
 (a)(i)  a 10% commission for [employer ]group size 2-5; 
 (ii)  a 9% commission for group size 6-25; and 
 (iii)  a 7% commission for group size 26-50; or 
 (b)(i)  [$20/ Per Member Per Month (PMPM)  for employer 
]$20 per member per month (PMPM) for group size 2-5; 
 (ii)  $18[/] PMPM for group size 6-25; and 
 [(c)  $16/](iii)  $16 PMPM for group size 26-50. 
 [(2)](6)  An example of a commission structure that [is not 
in compliance would be]does not comply with this rule is: 
 [(i)](a)  3% commission for [employer ]group size 2-5; 
 [(ii)](b)  8% commission for group size 6-25; and 
 [(iii)](c)  7% commission for group size 26-50. 
 
R590-207-[7.  Penalties. 
 Any carrier with a commission structure found to be in 
violation of this rule shall be subject to the penalties provided for in 
Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R590-207-8.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the amendments to 
this rule 45 days from the rule's effective date. 
 
R590-207-9]5.  Severability. 
 [If any provision or clause of this rule or its application to 
any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the 
remainder of the rule and the application of these provisions shall not 
be affected.]If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-207, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance law 
Date of Last Change:  2022[August 2, 2011] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 12, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-2-202 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-247 Filing ID 
54696 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-247.  Universal Health Insurance Application Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring the rule text more in line with current 
rulewriting standards.  Other changes make the language 
of the rule more clear, remove the Penalties section (old 
Section R590-247-4) because penalties are already 
provided for in statute, and update the Severability section 
(Section R590-247-5) to use the Department's current 
language.  The changes do not add, remove, or change 
any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to businesses.  Jonathan T. Pike, Insurance 
Commissioner 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 31A-2-212 Section 

31A-22-635 
Section 
31A-30-102 

Section 
31A-30-117 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.  To make this rule effective, the agency must 
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submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 06/15/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-247.  Universal Health Insurance Application Rule. 
R590-247-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated [pursuant to Sections 31A-22-635 
and 31A-30-102 which direct the commissioner to create a universal 
health insurance application]by the commissioner pursuant to 
Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-2-212, 31A-22-635, 31A-30-102, and 
31A-30-117. 
 
R590-247-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish a universal 
application[s] for all insurers offering a health benefit plan[ in Utah 
outside the Federally Facilitated Marketplace]. 
 (2)  This rule applies to: 
 (a)  [all ]an individual health benefit plan[s in Utah ] offered 
outside the Federally Facilitated Marketplace; and 
 (b)  [all ]a small employer health benefit plan[s]. 
 
R590-247-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301 
and 31A-22-635. 
 
R590-247-4.  General Instructions. 
 (1)  [Use of ]An insurer or producer shall use the Utah 
Individual Health Insurance Application and the Utah Small 
Employer Health Insurance Application[ by insurers or by health 
insurance producers is mandatory]. 
 (2)  The Utah Individual Health Insurance Application and 
Utah Small Employer Health Insurance Application [must ]shall be 
used without insurer identifying logos or addresses to facilitate 
multiple insurer submissions using a single application. 
 (3)  The Utah Individual Health Insurance Application and 
Utah Small Employer Health Insurance Application [can be 
downloaded from the Department's website at www.]are available on 
the department's website, https://insurance.utah.gov. 
 (4)  The Utah Individual Health Insurance Application and 
Utah Small Employer Health Insurance Application may be altered 
for: 
 (a)  [purposes of ]electronic application and submission, 
including electronic signature disclaimers; 
 (b)  languages other than English; and 
 (c)  reasons specifically approved by the commissioner. 
 (5)  [All insurers ]An insurer shall offer compatible systems 
for electronic submission of the Utah Individual Health Insurance 
Application and the Utah Small Employer Health Insurance 
Application. 
 (6)  If an employee chooses to waive coverage, an insurer 
shall not require [such ]the employee to complete any section of the 
Utah Small Employer Health Insurance Application other than the 
Waiver of Coverage section. 

[ (7)(a)  Individual health insurers shall use the Utah 
Individual Insurance Application dated October 2010 for all 
applications with coverage effective dates prior to January 1, 2014. 
 (ii)  Individual health insurers shall use the Utah Individual 
Health Insurance Application dated June 2016 for coverage outside 
of the Federally Facilitated Marketplace. 
 (b)(i)  Small employer insurers shall use the Utah Small 
Employer Health Insurance Application dated October 2010 for all 
applications with coverage effective dates prior to January 1, 2014. 
 (ii)  Small employer insurers shall use the Utah Small 
Employer Health Insurance Application dated January 2014 for all 
applications with coverage effective dates on or after January 1, 
2014.] 
 (7)  An insurer offering an individual health benefit plan 
shall use the Utah Health Insurance Application dated June 2016 for 
coverage outside of the Federally Facilitated Marketplace. 
 (8)  An insurer offering a small employer health benefit 
plan shall use the Utah Small Employer Health Insurance Application 
dated January 2014 for an application with a coverage effective date 
on or after January 1, 2014. 
 
[R590-247-4.  Penalties. 
 A person found to be in violation of this rule shall be 
subject to penalties as provided under 31A-2-308. 
] 
R590-247-5.  Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or its application to any person 
or situation is held to be invalid, that invalidity shall not affect any 
other provision or application of this rule which can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the 
provisions of this rule are declared to be severable.]If any provision 
of this rule, Rule R590-247, or its application to any person or 
situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other 
provision or application of this rule that can be given effect without 
the invalid provision or application. The remainder of this rule shall 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY:  universal health insurance application 
Date of Last Change:  2022[June 15, 2016] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 13, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-30-102 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R657-54-20 Filing ID 
54689 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room no.: Suite 2110 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
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Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R657-54-20.  Season Dates, Bag and Possession Limits, 
and Areas Open 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This section is being amended pursuant to Regional 
Advisory Council and Wildlife Board meetings conducted 
annually for taking public input and reviewing the Division 
of Wildlife Resource's (DWR) rule pursuant to the taking of 
wild turkey. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The proposed amendments to this rule amend the number 
of fall turkey permits a hunter may purchase. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This amendment limits the number of turkey permits an 
individual hunter may purchase and therefore, DWR has 
determined that these amendments do not create a cost 
or savings impact to the state budget or DWR's budget, 
since the changes will not increase workload and can be 
carried out with existing budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Since this amendment limits the number of turkey permits 
an individual hunter may purchase, this should have little 
to no effect on local governments.  This filing does not 
create any direct cost or savings impact to local 
governments because they are not directly affected by this 
rule.  Nor are local governments indirectly impacted 
because this rule does not create a situation requiring 
services from local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This amendment limits the number of turkey permits an 
individual hunter may purchase, therefore, this rule does 
not impose any additional financial requirements on small 
businesses, nor generate a cost or saving impact to small 
businesses because this rule does not create a situation 
requiring services from them. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This amendment limits the number of turkey permits an 
individual hunter may purchase, therefore, this rule does 
not impose any additional financial requirements on non-
small businesses, nor generate a cost or saving impact to 
non-small businesses because this rule does not create a 
situation requiring services from them. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment limits the number of turkey permits an 
individual hunter may purchase, therefore, this rule does 
not impose any additional financial requirements on other 
persons, nor generate a cost or saving impact to other 
persons because this rule does not create a situation 
requiring services from them. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
DWR has determined that this amendment will not create 
additional costs for those individuals who participate in 
wild turkey hunting in Utah. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a 
measurable fiscal impact to businesses.  Brian Steed, 
Executive Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Brian Steed, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 23-14-18 Section 23-14-19  

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

J. Shirley, Director Date: 04/14/2022 

 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-54.  Taking Wild Turkey. 
R657-54-20.  Season Dates, Bag and Possession Limits, and Areas 
Open. 
 (1)  Season dates, bag and possession limits, areas open, 
and number of permits for taking wild turkey are provided in the 
guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking upland game and wild 
turkey. 
 (2)  A person may not obtain or possess more than: 
 (a)  one permit during the spring season annually; [or]and 
 (b)  [three permits]one permit during the fall season 
annually. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, wild turkey, game laws 
Date of Last Change:  2022[August 10, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 5, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23-14-18; 
23-14-19 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-3 Filing ID 
54687 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 500 
Street address: 675 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2818 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michelle 
McConkie 

801-
538-
5183 

meastmcconkie@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R850-3.  Applicant Qualifications, Application Forms, and 
Application Processing 
 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, July 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 13 91 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The change in this rule is to include the listing of the 
Renewable Energy Lease application types in Subsection 
R850-3-400(1).  Renewable Energy Leases on Trust 
Lands have historically been reviewed and processed 
under differing rules and requirements based on their 
location (i.e., as Surface Leases, Development Leases, or 
Mineral Leases).  The proposed rule changes clarify and 
classify all Renewable Energy Projects (solar, wind, 
geothermal, and green hydrogen) into their own category 
for both continuity and clarification, that rule has been 
submitted as proposed new Rule R850-170.  Renewable 
Energy Lease Agreements. 
 
(EDITOR’S NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R850-170 is 
under ID 54684 in this issue, July 1, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do 
This change will add the reference to the new type of 
renewable energy lease prompted by the new Rule R850-
170, and will correct minor rulewriting errors. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No changes are proposed or anticipated with this 
clarification.  This will not affect the state budget cost. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments will not see an affect to the changes 
with this clarification of renewable energy lease 
applications. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses will not be affected by adding the 
reference to renewable energy lease applications. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses will not see any changes with this 
clarification because of the new Rule R850-170. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons will not see any changes with this 
clarification. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No direct compliance costs will be charged as a result of 
these rule changes and no indirect compliance costs are 
anticipated. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Renewable Energy leases have always been allowed on 
Trust Lands but were being tracked through differing lease 
types.  These rule changes allow for Renewable Energy 
Leases (wind, solar, geothermal, and green hydrogen) to 
be tracked and processed as Renewable Energy leases, 
thus simplifying both the application and approval process 
as well as tracking of renewable energy projects.  Michelle 
McConkie, Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Director of the Department of School and Institutional 
Trust Lands Administration, Michelle McConkie, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
28 Stat. 107-112, 
Utah Enabling Act  
of 1894, Sections  
6, 8, 10, and 12 

Subsection 
53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) 

Section 53C-2-404 

Article X Article XX  
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Michelle 
McConkie, 
Director 

Date: 06/13/2022 

 
R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
R850-3.  Applicant Qualifications, Application Forms, and 
Application Processing. 
R850-3-100.  Authorities. 
 This rule implements Sections 6, 8, 10, and 12 of the Utah 
Enabling Act, Articles X and XX of the Utah Constitution, and 
Subsection[Sections] 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) and Section 53C-2-404 
which authorize the Director of the School and Institutional Trust 
Lands Administration (Trust Lands Administration) to prescribe the 
applicant requirements and the form of application. 
 
R850-3-200.  Applicant Qualifications. 
 Any person qualified to do business in [the state of ]Utah, 
and not in default under the laws of the state of Utah relative to 
qualification to do business within the state, or not in default on any 
previous obligation with the Trust Lands Administration, shall be a 
qualified applicant for sale, exchange, lease, or permit. 
 

R850-3-300.  Application Forms. 
 Application for the purchase, exchange, or use of trust 
lands or resources shall be on forms provided by the Trust Lands 
Administration, exact copies of its forms, forms retrieved from 
electronic sources, or forms submitted electronically. 
 
R850-3-400.  Application Processing. 
 1.  Within 15 days from receipt of an application for a 
Special Use Lease, Easement, Sale, Exchange, Modified Grazing 
Permit, [or ]Materials Permit, or Renewable Energy Lease, the Trust 
Lands Administration shall conduct an initial evaluation of the 
application.  Trust Lands Administration may refuse the application 
if it determines, in its sole discretion, that: 
 (a)  activities with higher priorities would be adversely 
impacted by processing the application; 
 (b)  an existing or planned application or activity on the 
parcel would be adversely impacted by processing the application; 
 (c)  an agency-initiated activity would be adversely 
impacted by processing the application; or 
 (d)  proceeding with the proposal would not be in the best 
interests of the trust land beneficiaries. 
 2.  No fees shall be collected from the applicant 
before[prior to] the [above-referenced ]evaluation reference in 
Subsection R850-3-400(1).  If the Trust Lands Administration 
chooses to refuse the application, it shall notify the applicant in 
writing.  If the Trust Lands Administration chooses to accept the 
application, it shall inform the applicant of any further information, 
material, deposits, and fees which may be required [in order ]to 
accept the application and commence processing.  Failure to provide 
the requested items by the deadline established by the Trust Lands 
Administration may result in the application being rejected.  A 
determination refusing an application shall not be subject to 
administrative review. 
 
R850-3-500.  No Interest Conveyed by Submitting Application. 
 1.  Until an executed instrument of conveyance, lease, 
permit, or right is delivered or mailed to the successful applicant, 
applications for the purchase, exchange, or use of trust lands or 
resources shall not convey or vest the applicant with any rights or 
interests. 
 2.  The Trust Lands Administration may reject any 
application before[prior to] execution if it determines that rejection 
is in the best interest of the trust. 
 3.  If an application is rejected, all moneys[monies] 
tendered by the applicant, except the application fee, shall be 
refunded. 
 4.  Should an applicant desire to withdraw the application, 
the applicant must make a written request.  If the request is received 
before[prior to] the time that the application is considered for formal 
action, all moneys[monies] tendered by the applicant, except the 
application fee and any amounts expended on advertising or 
appraisals before[prior to] the receipt of the withdrawal request, will 
be refunded.  If the request for withdrawal is received after the 
application is approved, all moneys[monies] tendered are forfeited to 
the Trust Lands Administration, unless otherwise ordered for a good 
cause shown. 
 5.  Any deposit to cover advertising, appraisal costs and 
processing fees shall be forfeited if any lease, permit, grant, or 
certificate is offered but not executed by the applicant. 
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R850-3-600.  Rule Changes During Application Processing. 
 Applications shall be processed in accordance with the 
applicable rules in effect when[at the time] the application was 
accepted except that the Trust Lands Administration may apply rule 
changes that become effective during the processing of an application 
if the Trust Lands Administration determines that the application of 
the rule change is in the best interest of the beneficiary of the land.  If 
the applicant objects to compliance with changes in the rules, then 
the applicant may elect to withdraw the application, or the Trust 
Lands Administration may reject the application.  For applications 
which are withdrawn or rejected under [this section ]Section R850-
3-600, all fees, except application fees, shall be refunded to the 
applicant without penalty. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, residency requirements 
Date of Last Change:  2022[June 3, 2003] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 12, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53C-1-
302(1)(a)(ii); 53C-2-404 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-5 Filing ID 
54686 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 500 
Street address: 675 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2818 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michelle 
McConkie 

801-
538-
5183 

meastmcconkie@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R850-5.  Payments, Royalties, Audits, and Reinstatements 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Renewable Energy Leases on Trust Lands have 
historically been reviewed and processed under differing 
rules and requirements based on their location (i.e., as 
Surface Leases, Development Leases, or Mineral 
Leases).  The proposed rule changes clarify and classify 

all Renewable Energy Projects (solar, wind, geothermal, 
and green hydrogen) into their own category for both 
continuity and clarification, that rule has been submitted as 
proposed new Rule R850-170.  Renewable Energy Lease 
Agreements. 
 
The changes in this rule is to specify the listing of 
renewable energy leases restatement rules in Subsection 
R850-5-500(1).  The changes also add opening 
paratheses to the Roman numeral listings in Subsections 
R850-5-300(1) and R850-5-500(1); and further rule 
changes to follow the rulewriting guidelines set by the 
Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
(EDITOR’S NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R850-170 is 
under ID 54684 in this issue, July 1, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do 
This change will add reference to the new type of 
renewable energy lease references prompted by the new 
Rule R850-170, and will correct minor rulewriting errors. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No changes to the state budget cost are proposed or 
anticipated with the clarification of the new Rule R850-170 
in this rules amendments. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments will not see any changes with this 
clarification. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses are not affected by the additions to the 
rule referring to renewable energy. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The renewable leasing content does not affect the cost or 
savings to the non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons will not be affected by the changes to this 
rule clarification. 
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F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No direct compliance costs will be charged as a result of 
these rule changes and no indirect compliance costs are 
anticipated. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Renewable Energy leases have always been allowed on 
Trust Lands but were being tracked through differing lease 
types.  These rule changes allow for Renewable Energy 
Leases (wind, solar, geothermal, and green hydrogen) to 
be tracked and processed as Renewable Energy leases, 
thus simplifying both the application and approval process 
as well as tracking of renewable energy projects.  Michelle 
McConkie, Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Director of the Department of School and Institutional 
Trust Lands Administration, Michelle McConkie, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
28 Stat. 107-112, 
Utah Enabling Act  
of 1894, Sections  
6, 8, 10, and 12 

Subsection 
53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) 

Section 
53C-2-404 

Article X Article XX  
 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Michelle 
McConkie, 
Director 

Date: 06/13/2022 

 
R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
R850-5.  Payments, Royalties, Audits, and Reinstatements. 
R850-5-100.  Authorities. 
 This rule is authorized by Sections 6, 8, 10, and 12 of the 
Utah Enabling Act, Articles X and XX of the Utah Constitution and 
Subsection[Section] 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) [of the Utah Code ]entitling 
the Director of the School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Administration to establish fees, procedures, and rules for 
management of the agency. 
 
R850-5-200.  Payments. 
 Payments include rentals, royalties, or any other financial 
obligation owed under the terms of a lease, permit, or any other 
agreement. 
 1.  As a matter of convenience, the agency allows parties 
other than the obligee to remit payments on the obligee's behalf; 
however, this practice in no way relieves the obligee of any statutory 
or contractual obligations concerning the proper and timely payments 
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or the proper and timely filing of reports.  For practical reasons, the 
agency often makes direct requests for reports and other records from 
parties other than the obligees.  Payors should be aware that their 
actions subject leases to cancellation or subject delinquent royalties 
to interest charges. It is, therefore, in the best interest of each party[all 
parties] to cooperate in responsibly discharging their obligations to 
each other and to the Trust Lands Administration. 
 2.  The obligee bears final responsibility for payments.  
Payments must be for the full amount owed.  Partial payments will 
only be accepted if approved in writing by the agency before 
submission.  [In order t]To fulfill payment obligations of a lease, 
permit, or other financial contract with the agency, payments must be 
received as defined in Subsection R850-5-200(3)[subsection 3] of 
this rule by the appropriate due dates and must be accompanied by 
the appropriate report.  If the obligee submits payment by electronic 
fund transfer then appropriate supporting documentation must be 
submitted by electronic data transfer on the same day. 
 3.  Payments will be considered received if sent by 
electronic fund transfer, delivered to the agency, or if the postmark 
stamped on the envelope is dated on or before the due date.  If the 
post office cancellation mark is illegible, erroneous, or omitted, the 
payment will be considered timely if the sender can establish by 
competent evidence that the payment was deposited in the United 
States mail on or before the date for filing or paying.  If the due date 
or cancellation date falls upon a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 
the payment shall be considered timely if received as defined in 
Section R850-5-200[herein] by the next business day. 
 4.  A $30 return-[ ]check charge or the actual charge levied 
by the bank, whichever is greater, will be assessed on [all]any checks 
returned by the bank.  The check must be replaced by cash, certified 
funds, or immediately available funds.  The Director may require 
future payments with certified funds when notified in writing.  If 
replacement funds are received after the required due date, 
Subsection R850-5-200(6) will be applied. 
 5.  Any financial obligation not received by its contractual 
due date will initiate a written cancellation notice by certified mail, 
return receipt requested.  The cancellation date for any lease[/], 
permit, or other contractual agreement unless otherwise specified by 
the contract, is defined as 30 days after the postmark date stamped on 
the U.S. Postal Service Receipt for Certified Mail of the cancellation 
notice.  In the event payment is not received by the agency on or 
before the cancellation date, the lease, permit, or other contractual 
agreement will be subject to cancellation, forfeiture, or termination 
without further notice. 
 A default in the payment of any installment of principal or 
interest due under the terms of any land purchase agreement not 
received by the agency more than 30 days after the due date shall 
initiate a certified billing, return receipt requested.  If [all]any sums 
then due and payable are not received within 30 days after the mailing 
of the U.S. Postal Service certified notice, the agency may elect any 
of the remedies as outlined in Subsection R850-80-500(8).  If the 
cancellation date falls on a weekend or holiday, payment will be 
accepted the next business day until 5 p.m. 
 6.  A late penalty of 6% or $30, whichever is greater, shall 
be charged after failure to pay any financial obligation, excluding 
royalties as provided in Subsection R850-5-300(2), within the time 
limit under which such payment is due. 
 7.  Subject to Section R850-4-300, rental payments 
received after the due date which do not include a late fee may be 
returned to the lessee by certified mail, return receipt requested.  
Payment may only be accepted for the full amount due. 
 

R850-5-300.  Royalties. 
 1.  Royalty Reports and Reporting Periods 
 (a)  All royalty payments shall be made payable to the 
School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration and shall be 
accompanied by a royalty report on a form specified by the agency.  
Failure to provide such a report may, after proper notification, subject 
the lease to cancellation.  Check stubs or other report forms are 
unacceptable and do not satisfy the reporting requirement of this 
section. 
 (b)  Any report not sufficiently complete and accurate to 
enable the agency to deposit the royalty to the correct institutional 
fund must be promptly corrected or amended by the payor.  Failure 
to provide such a report may, after proper notification, subject the 
lease to cancellation. 
 (c)  Any report submitted which includes entries as 
described in Subsections R850-5-300(1)(c)(i) through (iii)[below], 
may not be accepted by the agency and may be returned. 
 (i)  Any report submitted 24 months after the royalty due 
date. 
 (ii)  Amendments to prior report periods creating a net 
adjustment of less than $10. 
 (iii)  Any oil and gas royalty report line of original entry 
submitted after the first 180 days following the month of first 
production with a volume entry of zero which is subsequently 
amended with the actual volume. 
 2.  Interest on Delinquent Royalties 
 Interest shall be based on the prime rate of interest at the 
beginning of each month as approved by the Director and 
documented in the agency's Director's Actions, plus 4%. 
 
R850-5-400.  Audits. 
 The agency shall have the right at reasonable times and 
intervals to audit the books and records of any lessee, [/]permittee[/] 
or payor and to inspect the leased or [/]permitted premises and 
conduct field audits [for the purpose of determining]to determine 
whether there has been compliance with the rules or the terms of 
agreement. 
 
R850-5-500.  Reinstatements. 
 1.  The D[d]irector may reinstate the following specific 
leases, permits, and easements, in the event of their cancellation, 
upon filing of a request for reinstatement, the payment of all late fees, 
reinstatement fees, and rental fees in arrears, based on a written 
finding that a reinstatement would be in the best interest of the trust 
beneficiaries: 
 (a)  Special use leases issued using a competitive process 
within 60 days of cancellation. 
 (b)  Special use leases issued without using a competitive 
process within 60 days of cancellation if: 
 (i)  there are no apparent competing interests, 
 (ii)  the cost of requiring a competitive process would be 
excessive in light of the potential revenue, 
 (iii)  a negotiated settlement appears to present greater 
opportunity for increased compensation than a competitive 
settlement, or 
 (iv)  there exists compelling reason establishing that the 
best interests of the trust would be met by waiving the competitive 
process. 
 (c)  Grazing permits within 60 days of cancellation with the 
exception that grazing permits cancelled for reasons of non-payment 
of grazing fees may be reinstated by the D[d]irector without a written 
finding. 
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 (d)  Easements within 60 days of cancellation provided 
that: 
 (i)  if the easement term is perpetual, then the easement 
shall be amended so that the term is 30 years beginning as of the 
original effective date.  However, if the remaining number of years 
on an easement so amended is less than 15, the ending date of the 
easement shall be set so that there will be 15 years remaining in the 
easement; 
 (ii)  if the easement term is not perpetual, easements shall 
be reinstated only for the balance of the original term; and 
 (iii)  the applicant for an easement reinstatement agrees to 
pay the difference between what was originally paid for the easement 
and what the agency would charge for the easement [at the time]when 
the request for reinstatement is submitted. 
 (e)  Materials permits within 60 days of cancellation. 
 (f)  Materials permits issued without using a competitive 
process within 60 days of cancellation if: 
 (i)  there are no apparent competing interests, 
 (ii)  the cost of requiring a competitive process would be 
excessive in light of the potential revenue, 
 (iii)  a negotiated settlement appears to present greater 
opportunity for increased compensation than a competitive 
settlement, or 
 (iv)  there exists compelling reason establishing that the 
best interests of the trust would be met by waiving the competitive 
process. 
 (g)  Renewable energy leases within 60 days of 
cancellation. 
 (h)  Renewable energy leases issued without using a 
competitive process within 60 days of cancellation if: 
 (i)  there are no apparent competing interests; 
 (ii)  the cost of requiring a competitive process would be 
excessive in light of the potential revenue; 
 (iii)  a negotiated settlement appears to present greater 
opportunity for increased compensation than a competitive 
settlement; or 
 (iv)  there exists compelling reason establishing that the 
best interests of the trust would be met by waiving the competitive 
process. 
 2.  The D[d]irector may reinstate any application for lease, 
permit, easement, exchange, or sale cancelled pursuant to Rules 
R850-30[,] and R850-80 and Subsection R850-40-700(3)[, or R850-
80] upon the filing of a request for reinstatement and the payment of 
applicable reinstatement fees, and based on a written finding that a 
reinstatement would be in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries. 
 
KEY:  audits, payments, reinstatements, royalties 
Date of Last Change:  2022[June 1, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 27, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53C-1-
302(1)(a)(ii); 53C-2-404 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-27 Filing ID 
54685 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 500 
Street address: 675 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2818 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Keli Beard 801-

538-
5185 

kelibeard@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R850-27.  Geothermal Steam 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Renewable Energy Leases on Trust Lands have 
historically been reviewed and processed under differing 
rules and requirements based on their location (i.e., as 
Surface Leases, Development Leases, or Mineral 
Leases).  This change removes the Rule R850-27 in its 
entirety to be replaced with a proposed new rule submitted 
as Rule R850-170.  Renewable Energy Lease 
Agreements, for greater clarity and management of this 
type of commodity. 
 
(EDITOR’S NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R850-170 is 
under ID 54684 in this issue, July 1, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This change repeals the Rule R850-27 in its entirety.  
Geothermal projects will now be reviewed under the new 
rule submitted as Rule R850-170. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No significant change is anticipated the state budget with 
the repeal of this rule.  Geothermal Projects will now be 
reviewed under the proposed Rule R850-170. 
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B)  Local governments: 

With the repeal of this rule and geothermal projects being 
reviewed under the proposed Rule R850-170, local 
governments will have additional opportunity for 
comments through the Resource Development 
Coordinating Committee Process and public notifications 
that will take place. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
No significant change is anticipated with the repeal of this 
rule.  Geothermal Projects will now be reviewed under the 
proposed Rule R850-170.  Small businesses pursuing 
geothermal projects could see streamlined process 
resulting in minor costs savings. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
No significant change is anticipated with the repeal of this 
rule. Geothermal Projects will now be reviewed under the 
proposed Rule R850-170.  Non-small businesses pursuing 
geothermal projects could see streamlined process 
resulting in minor costs savings. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No significant change is anticipated with the repeal of this 
rule.  Geothermal Projects will now be reviewed under the 
proposed Rule R850-170.  Other persons pursuing 
geothermal projects could see streamlined process 
resulting in minor costs savings. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No direct compliance costs will be charged as a result of 
the repeal of this rule and no indirect compliance costs are 
anticipated. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Renewable Energy leases have always been allowed on 
Trust Lands but were being tracked through differing lease 
types.  These rule changes allow for Renewable Energy 
Leases (wind, solar, geothermal, and green hydrogen) to 
be tracked and processed as Renewable Energy leases, 
thus simplifying both the application and approval process 
as well as tracking of renewable energy projects.  Michelle 
McConkie, Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 

included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Director of the Department of School and Institutional 
Trust Lands Administration, Michelle McConkie, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
28 Stat. 107-112, 
Utah Enabling Act  
of 1894, Sections  
6, 8, 10, and 12 

Subsection 
53C-1-302(1)(a) 
(ii) 

Subsection 
53C-2-402(1) 

Article X Article XX Subsection 
53C-2-201(1)(a) 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
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request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Michelle 
McConkie, 
Director 

Date: 06/13/2022 

 
R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
[R850-27.  Geothermal Steam. 
R850-27-100.  Definitions. 
 1.  In addition to those applicable definitions in R850-24-
175, the following definitions shall apply to this section: 
 (a)  Lease:  a geothermal steam lease. 
 (b)  Lessee:  a person or entity holding a record title interest 
in a geothermal steam lease. 
 (c)  Shut-In Geothermal Well:  a geothermal well capable 
of producing in paying quantities, but which cannot be marketed at a 
reasonable price due to existing market conditions. 
 
R850-27-200.  Geothermal Steam Lease Issuance. 
 1.  The agency shall issue leases competitively, non-
competitively or enter into joint ventures or other business 
arrangements for the leasing of geothermal steam resources only on 
lands where the agency owns both the surface and mineral rights. 
 2.  A lease shall not be issued for a parcel less than a 
quarter-quarter section or surveyed lot unless approved by the 
director. 
 3.  Leases shall be limited to no more than 640 acres or one 
section unless approved by the director. 
 4.  Any lease may be terminated by the agency in whole or 
part upon lessee's failure to comply with any term or condition of the 
lease or applicable laws and rules. 
 
R850-27-300.  Geothermal Steam Lease Provisions. 
 1.  Rentals and Rental Credits. 
 (a)  The director shall establish the rental rate, not less than 
$1.00 per acre per year, at the time the lease is offered.  The minimum 
annual rental on any lease shall not be less than $40. 
 (b)  Rental payments shall be paid in advance each year on 
or before the lease anniversary date, unless otherwise stated in the 
lease. 
 (c)  The rental payment for a lease year shall be credited 
against production royalties only as they accrue for that lease year, 
unless otherwise provided for in the lease. 
 (d)  Any overpayment of advance rental occurring from the 
lease applicant's incorrect listing of acreage of lands described in the 
application shall be credited toward the applicant's rental account. 

 (e)  The agency may accept rental payments made by any 
party, provided however, that the acceptance of such payment(s) shall 
not be deemed to be recognition of any interest of the payee in the 
lease. 
 2.  Royalty Rate. 
 (a)  The director shall establish the production royalty rate, 
not to be less than 10%, unless otherwise established by the director, 
at the time the lease is offered. 
 3.  Primary Geothermal Steam Lease Term. 
 (a)  The director shall establish the lease primary term, not 
to exceed ten (10) years, at the time the lease is offered. 
 4.  Continuance of a Geothermal Steam Lease After 
Expiration of Primary Term. 
 (a)  A lease shall be continued after the primary term has 
expired so long as: 
 (i)  the leased substance is being produced in paying 
quantities from the leased premises, from lands pooled, 
communitized, or unitized with the leased premises or from an 
approved drilling unit with respect to the leased premises; or 
 (b)  the agency determines that the lessee: 
 (i)  is engaged in operations, exploration, or development 
which are diligent and are reasonably calculated to advance 
development or production of the leased substance from the leased 
premises, from lands pooled, communitized, or unitized with the 
leased premises, or lands constituting an approved drilling unit with 
respect to the leased premises (diligent operations may include 
cessation of operations not in excess of 90 days in duration), and 
 (ii)  pays the annual minimum royalty set forth in the lease. 
 5.  Readjustment. 
 All geothermal leases shall contain a provision setting forth 
the agency's right to readjust the terms and provisions of the lease on 
a periodic basis, and such adjustment shall be made in accordance 
with R850-24-1000. 
 6.  Unitization of Geothermal Leases. 
 (a)  Lessees, upon prior written authorization of the 
director, may commit leased trust lands to unit, cooperative, or other 
plans of development with other lands. 
 (b)  The director may, with the consent of the lessee, modify 
any term of a lease for lands that are committed to a unit, cooperative, 
or other plan of development. 
 (c)  Production allocated to leased trust lands under the 
terms of a unit, cooperative, or other plan of development shall be 
considered produced from the leased lands whether or not the point 
of production is located on the leased trust lands. 
 (d)  The term of all leases included in any cooperative or 
unit plan of geothermal steam development or operation in which the 
agency has joined, or shall hereafter join, shall be extended 
automatically for the term of the unit or cooperative agreement.  
Rentals on leases so extended shall be at the rate specified in the 
lease, subject to change in rates at the discretion of the director or as 
may be prescribed in the terms of the lease. 
 (e)  Any lease eliminated from any cooperative or unit plan 
of development or operation, or any such lease which is in effect at 
the termination of a cooperative or unit plan of development or 
operation, unless relinquished, shall continue in effect for the fixed 
term of the lease, or for two years after its elimination from the plan 
or agreement or the termination thereof, whichever is longer, and so 
long thereafter as the leased substances are produced in paying 
quantities. 
 (f)  Rentals under such leases shall continue at the rate 
specified in the lease. 
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 7.  Shut-In Geothermal Wells Considered to be Producing 
in Paying Quantities 
 (a)  The director shall establish the minimum rental, not to 
be less than $1.00 per acre per year nor more than twice the annual 
lease rental provided for in the lease, for a shut-in geothermal well. 
 (b)  The director shall establish the minimum royalty, to be 
not less than 10% nor more than twice the annual lease rental 
provided for in the lease, for a shut-in geothermal well. 
 (c)  The terms of the lease shall provide the basis upon 
which the minimum rental or minimum royalty is to be paid by the 
lessee for a shut-in geothermal well. 
 (d)  The director may, at any time, require written 
verification from the lessee that a geothermal well qualifies as a shut-
in geothermal well. 
 8.  Other Lease Provisions. 
 The agency may require, in addition to the lease provisions 
required by these rules, any other provisions to be included in the 
lease as it deems necessary. 
 
R850-27-400.  Existing Geothermal Steam Lease Conversion. 
 Existing leases issued prior to the effective date of these 
rules and in good standing on such date shall continue for the term 
specified in the lease and shall be subject to the terms and provisions 
contained in the lease.  The agency may, however, allow such lessees 
to convert such existing leases to the new lease, providing such 
conversion will not conflict with the valid existing rights of any other 
lessee or owner upon the same lands. 
 
R850-27-500.  Geothermal Steam Lease Application Process. 
 1.  Applications for leases, except in the case of competitive 
bid filing, are received for filing in the office of the agency during 
office hours.  Except as provided, all the applications received by 
personal delivery over the counter, shall be immediately stamped 
with the exact date and time of filing.  All applications presented for 
filing at the opening of the office for business on any business day 
shall be stamped received as of 8 a.m. on that day.  All applications 
received in the first delivery of the U.S. Mail of each business day 
shall be stamped received as of 8 a.m. on that day.  The time indicated 
on the time stamp is deemed the time of filing unless the agency 
determines that the application is materially deficient in any 
particular or particulars.  If an application is determined to be 
deficient, it will be returned to the applicant. 
 2.  Except in cases of competitive bid filing, if two or more 
applications for the same lease contain identical bids and bear a time 
stamp showing the applications were filed at the same time, the 
agency will award the lease by public drawing or oral bidding. 
 3.  Competitive Bid Filing. 
 (a)  The minimum acceptable bid for competitive bid filing 
of applications for a lease shall be at least equal to the rental rate for 
the first year of the lease. 
 (b)  Notices of the offering of lands for competitive bid 
filing will run for a period of not less than fifteen (15) consecutive 
days after the notice is posted in the agency's office. 
 (c)  Where applicants wish to submit applications for 
competitive bid, such applications shall be submitted in separately 
sealed envelopes and marked for competitive bid filing. 
 4.  If an application or any part thereof is rejected, any 
money tendered for rental for the rejected portion shall be refunded 
or credited. 
 5.  Application Withdrawal. 
 (a)  Should an applicant desire to withdraw his application, 
the applicant must submit a written request to the agency.  If the 

request is received prior to the time the agency approves the 
application, all money tendered by the applicant, except the filing fee, 
shall be refunded.  If the request is received after approval of the 
application, then, unless the applicant accepts the offered lease, all 
money tendered is forfeited to the agency, unless otherwise approved 
by the director, for good cause shown. 
 (b)  Applicants desiring to withdraw an application which 
has been filed under the competitive bid filing rules above, must 
submit a written request to the agency.  If the request is received 
before sealed bids for rental have been opened, all money tendered 
by the applicant, except the filing fee, shall be refunded.  If the 
request is received after sealed bids for rental have been opened, and 
if the applicant is awarded the bid, then unless the applicant accepts 
the offered lease, all money tendered shall be forfeited to the agency, 
unless otherwise approved by the director for good cause shown. 
 
R850-27-600.  Operations Notification and Plan. 
 1.  At least 60 days prior to the commencement of any 
surface disturbance, drilling, or other operations, lessee shall submit 
a plan of operations to the agency in accordance with the terms and 
conditions required by the agency, as set forth in R850-24-700.  
Under no circumstance shall the lessee commence operations without 
a plan of operation approved by the agency 
 2.  The agency shall require the lessee to meet agency 
reclamation requirements as set forth in R850-24-700. 
 
KEY:  geothermal steam, lease provisions, administrative 
procedures, plan of operations 
Date of Last Change:  April 1, 2005 
Notice of Continuation:  February 4, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53C-1-
302(1)(a)(ii); 53C-2-201(1)(a); 53C-2-402(1)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R850-30 Filing ID 
54683 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 500 
Street address: 675 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2818 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michelle 
McConkie 

801-
538-
5183 

meastmcconkie@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R850-30.  Special Use Leases 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The current Special Use Lease rule needs clarification and 
reorganization so that it is consistent with other agency 
administrative rules, particularly the new Renewable 
Energy Lease rule (proposed Rule R850-170) that is being 
considered under a separate rule filing.  The revised rule 
streamlines and simplifies rule language, clarifies out of 
date language, and provides better organization to the rule 
structure.  The revised rule updates requirements related 
to the solicitation and evaluation of lease proposals and 
the determination of lease rates to align with current 
business practices.  Finally, the reenacted rule updates 
provisions related to financial guarantees required by the 
agency and clarifies lease assignment and sublease 
procedures. 
 
(EDITOR’S NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R850-170 is 
under ID 54684 in this issue, July 1, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do 
The repeal of the current Special Use Lease rule and 
reenactment of the revised rule is to streamline and 
simplify rule language, provide better organization to this 
rule, and update requirements and procedures to align 
with current business practices. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of revised language is to streamline and 
simplify rule language, provide better organization to the 
rules, and update requirements and procedures to align 
with current business practices.  Changes to this rule will 
mainly impact internal technical aspects regarding 
processing of lease applications and administration of 
leases by the agency.  It is not anticipated that there would 
by additional costs or savings to the state budget as a 
result of the revised rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of revised language is to streamline and 
simplify rule language, provide better organization to the 
rule, and update requirements and procedures to align 
with current business practices.  Changes to this rule will 
mainly impact internal technical aspects regarding 
processing of lease applications and administration of 
leases by the agency. 

Local governments occasionally lease trust lands for 
government purposes such as water storage tanks.  It is 
not anticipated that enactment of the revised rules will 
result in any changes to lease rates paid to the School and 
Institutional Trust Lands Administration (SITLA) by local 
governments for current and/or future leases. 
 
Local governments are also impacted by the issuance of 
leases on trust lands as they review and provide input on 
lease proposals, issue conditional use permits, regulate 
land uses, and collect taxes.  It is not anticipated that the 
revised rule would result in any changes to the current 
impacts of SITLA's leasing program on local governments.  
The volume of leases issued by the agency is largely 
dependent on outside market forces and will not be 
impacted by the proposed rule revisions. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised language is to streamline and 
simplify rule language, provide better organization to the 
rule, and update requirements and procedures to align 
with current business practices. 
 
Changes to this rule will mainly impact internal technical 
aspects regarding processing of lease applications and 
administration of leases by the agency.  Small businesses 
occasionally lease trust lands for various purposes.  It is 
not anticipated that enactment of the revised language will 
result in any changes to lease rates paid to SITLA for 
current and/or future leases. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised language is to streamline and 
simplify rule language, provide better organization to the 
rule, and update requirements and procedures to align 
with current business practices. 
 
Changes to this rule will mainly impact internal technical 
aspects regarding processing of lease applications and 
administration of leases by the agency.  Non-small 
businesses frequently lease trust lands for various 
purposes.  It is not anticipated that enactment of the 
revised language will result in any changes to lease rates 
paid to SITLA for current and/or future leases. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised language is to streamline and 
simplify rule language, provide better organization to the 
rule, and update requirements and procedures to align 
with current business practices. 
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Changes to this rule will mainly impact internal technical 
aspects regarding processing of lease applications and 
administration of leases by the agency.  Other persons 
occasionally lease trust lands for various purposes.  It is 
not anticipated that enactment of the revised language will 
result in any changes to lease rates paid to SITLA for 
current and/or future leases. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised language is to streamline and 
simplify rule language, provide better organization to the 
rule, and update requirements and procedures to align 
with current business practices. 
 
Changes to this rule will mainly impact internal technical 
aspects regarding processing of lease applications and 
administration of leases by the agency.  No direct 
compliance costs will be charged as a result of these rule 
changes and no indirect compliance costs are anticipated. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The purpose of the repeal of the current rule and 
reenactment of the revised language is to streamline and 
simplify rule language, provide better organization to the 
rule, and update requirements and procedures to align 
with current business practices. 
 
Changes to this rule will mainly impact internal technical 
aspects regarding processing of lease applications and 
administration of leases by the agency.  No adverse fiscal 
impact for businesses is anticipated.  Michelle McConkie, 
Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Director of the Department of School and Institutional 
Trust Lands Administration, Michelle McConkie, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
28 Stat. 107-112, 
Utah Enabling Act  
of 1894, Sections  
6, 8, 10, and 12 

Subsection 
53C-1-302(1)(a) 

Subsection 
53C-4-101(1) 
 

Article X Article XX Subsection 
53C-4-202 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Michelle 
McConkie, 
Director 

Date: 06/13/2022 

 
R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
R850-30.  Special Use Leases. 
[R850-30-100.  Authorities. 
 This rule implements Sections 6, 8, 10, and 12 of the Utah 
Enabling Act, Articles X and XX of the Utah Constitution, and 
Sections 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) and 53C-4-101(1) which authorize the 
director to establish criteria for the leasing of trust lands. 
 
R850-30-150.  Planning. 
 In addition to those other planning responsibilities 
described herein, the agency shall: 
 1.  Submit proposals to lease trust lands to the Resource 
Development Coordinating Committee (RDCC) unless the proposal 
is exempt from such review; 
 2.  Evaluate and respond to comments received through the 
RDCC process; and 
 3.  Evaluate and respond to any comments received through 
the request for proposal process pursuant to R850-30-310 or the 
solicitation process pursuant to R850-30-500(2), as applicable. 
 
R850-30-200.  Terms of Leases. 
 1.  The agency may issue special use leases for surface uses 
of trust lands, excluding grazing, for terms of up to 51 years. 
 2.  In exceptional cases, the agency may issue leases for a 
term of up to 99 years when it has been determined that such a term 
would be in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries. 
 3.  The agency shall issue leases for the term most 
consistent with land management objectives found in R850-2.  The 
term of a lease shall not normally be for a period longer than specified 
below for a particular lease type. 
 (a)  Military:  10 years 
 (b)  Agricultural:  20 years 
 (c)  Telecommunications:  20 years 
 (d)  Commercial:  51 years 
 (e)  Industrial:  51 years 
 (f)  Residential:  51 years 
 (g)  Governmental (Other than Military):  51 years. 
 
R850-30-300.  Categories of Special Use Leases. 
 Special use leases are classified according to the following 
categories. 
 1.  Commercial:  use of trust land for a restaurant, service 
station, boating facilities, motels, retail businesses and similar uses 
may be included in this category. 
 2.  Industrial:  use of trust land for testing sites, mining or 
extraction facilities, manufacturing plants and similar uses may be 
included in this category. 
 3.  Residential:  use of trust land for a private, permanent 
home and legal domicile may be included in this category. 
 4.  Agricultural: use of trust land for crop production, 
improved pasture lands, irrigation improvements and similar uses, 
excluding grazing, may be included in this category. 
 5.  Telecommunications: use of trust land for the operation 
of towers and building for telecommunication purposes may be 
included in this category. 

 6.  Governmental: use of trust land for water storage tanks, 
well sites, reservoirs, gun ranges and similar uses by a governmental 
agency may be included in this category. 
 
R850-30-310.  Requests for Proposals. 
 1.  The agency may issue a request for proposals (RFP) for 
any lands on which the director has determined the potential for 
development exists. 
 2.  A proposal submitted in response to the RFP may be for 
sale, lease, joint development, or exchange and shall receive 
protected records status until the director selects the preferred 
proposal. 
 3.  Proposals may be evaluated using the following criteria: 
 (a)  Income potential; 
 (b)  Ability of proposed use to enhance adjacent trust lands; 
 (c)  Proposed timetable for development; 
 (d)  Ability of applicant to perform satisfactorily; 
 (e)  Desirability of proposed use; and 
 (f)  Any other criterion deemed appropriate by the director. 
 4.  Requests for proposals shall be advertised through 
publication of a notice at least once a week for three consecutive 
weeks in one or more newspapers of general circulation in the county 
where the subject property is located as well as any other advertising 
methods the director determines will increase exposure of the subject 
property to qualified applicants.  The advertisement shall indicate 
where a person interested in submitting a proposal may obtain an 
information packet. 
 5.  Proposals shall contain a non-refundable application and 
review fee as specified in the RFP. 
 6.  Applicants selected in an RFP process shall be exempt 
from the application process set forth in R850-30-500. 
 
R850-30-400.  Lease Rates. 
 1.  Lease rates shall be based on the market value and 
income producing capability of the subject property and may be 
determined by: 
 (a)  multiplying the market value of the subject property by 
the current agency-determined interest rate; 
 (b)  the evaluation and use of comparable lease data; or 
 (c)  using either a fixed rate per acre or a crop-share formula 
for agricultural leases providing that the rental rate is customary and 
reasonable. 
 2.  The agency may base lease rentals on a value other than 
the market value of the subject property, provided that the director 
determines such is in the best interest of the beneficiaries and 
provided that the lease contains a clause whereby the agency may 
terminate the lease prior to the end of the lease term. 
 3.  In addition to lease rental, the agency may require the 
payment of percentage rents. 
 4.  The agency, pursuant to board policy, may establish a 
minimum lease rental based on the costs incurred in administering 
the leases, and a desired minimum rate of return. 
 5.  Lease Review Procedures and Rental Adjustments for 
Special Use Leases. 
 (a)  Special use leases shall be reviewed by the agency as 
of the effective date specified in the respective lease and such review 
may result in an adjustment of base rental. 
 (b)  Adjustments in base rentals may be based upon changes 
in market value including appreciation of the subject properties, 
changes in established indices, or other methods which may be 
appropriate and in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries.  The 
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determination of which method to use may be based upon an analysis 
of the cost effectiveness of performing the review. 
 (c)  When using established indices, the rate of adjustment 
shall be based on the indices established for the years involved in the 
review period, unless the rate of adjustment exceeds a maximum 
adjustment rate, or fails to reach a minimum rate of adjustment as 
specified in the respective lease.  If no maximum adjustment rate or 
minimum rate of increase is specified in the lease, then the percent 
change will increase or decrease according to the above described 
rate of adjustment. 
 (d)  The index used in the review may be the applicable 
component of the CPI-U or any other index determined by the agency 
to be appropriate. 
 (e)  The adjusted rental amount as determined pursuant to 
this rule shall be rounded to the nearest number evenly divisible by 
10 unless: 
 (i)  the lease contains a fee schedule or other adjustment 
provisions which require a payment in an amount not evenly divisible 
by 10; 
 (ii)  the lessee requests otherwise; or 
 (iii)  the lease was acquired from the United States, 
Department of Interior, Bureau of Land Management, or other 
governmental agency and contains terms which do not allow 
rounding. 
 (f)  The director may suspend, defer, or waive the 
adjustment of base rentals in specific instances, based on a written 
finding that the suspension, deferral, or waiver is in the best interest 
of the trust beneficiaries. 
 
R850-30-500.  Application Procedures. 
 1.  Applications for special use leases shall indicate the 
appropriate lease category, as set forth in R850-30-300. 
 2.  Solicitation of Competing Applications. 
 (a)  Upon acceptance by the director of a completed special 
use lease application, the agency shall solicit competing lease 
applications and, if appropriate, sales applications.  The solicitation 
of competing applications may be waived by the director based on a 
written finding that the waiver is in the best interest of the trust 
beneficiaries. 
 (b)  The following classes of leases are exempt from the 
requirements of R850-30-500(2): 
 i)  Communication sites. 
 ii)  Mineral and oil and gas extraction facilities when the 
agency does not own the mineral estate. 
 (c)  Competing applications shall be solicited through 
publication of a notice at least once a week for three consecutive 
weeks in one or more newspapers of general circulation in the county 
where the subject property is located. 
 (d)  Copies of the notice shall be sent by certified mail at 
least 30 days prior to the selection of the successful applicant to 
lessees/permittees of record on the subject property and adjoining 
landowners as shown on county records. 
 (e)  Notices shall also be sent to the appropriate county 
authority in which the subject property is located with a request to 
have the notice posted in the local governmental administrative 
building or courthouses. 
 (f)  Notification and advertising shall include a general 
description of the parcel including township, range, and section, and 
any other information which may create interest in the parcel that 
does not violate the confidentiality of the initial application.  The 
successful applicant shall bear the cost of the advertising. 

 (g)  The agency may solicit applications on trust lands 
when no application has been received by advertising a parcel 
pursuant to the process described in R850-30-500(2) or any other 
means, when in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries. 
 
R850-30-510.  Preferred Application Determination. 
 1.  At the conclusion of the advertising and notification 
process conducted pursuant to R850-30-500(2), the agency may 
select the preferred application using either of the following 
processes.  The director shall have full discretion to select which 
process to use: 
 (a)  Sealed Bid Process. 
 i)  The agency shall allow all applicants at least 20 days 
from the date of the agency's mailing of notice, as evidenced by the 
certified mail posting receipt (Postal Service Form 3800), within 
which to submit a sealed bid containing a proposal to lease, purchase 
or exchange the subject parcel. 
 ii)  The agency may reject those applications for which a 
proposal is not submitted within the prescribed time period. 
 iii)  A sealed bid proposal for a lease shall contain the first 
year's rental unless such requirement is waived by the director.  A 
sealed bid proposal for a sale shall contain funds in the amount of 
10% of the offer to purchase.  These deposits are refundable if the 
applicant is not the successful applicant or if the applicant withdraws 
the application prior to an agency decision. 
 iv)  Competing proposals may be evaluated using the 
following criteria: 
 A)  Income potential; 
 B)  Ability of proposed use to enhance adjacent trust lands; 
 C)  Proposed timetable for development; 
 D)  Ability of applicant to perform satisfactorily; 
 E)  Desirability of proposed use; and 
 F)  Any other criterion deemed appropriate by the director. 
 b.  Negotiation Process. 
 i)  The director or his designee may invite each qualified 
applicant or interested person to meet with the agency and present its 
proposal for the use of the subject property.  The director or his 
designee may also invite persons other than those responding to the 
initial solicitation to meet with the agency for the purpose of 
providing information or making a proposal.  The director shall have 
full authority to: 
 A)  offer counter-proposals; 
 B)  negotiate with any or all of the applicants or interested 
persons to create a proposal which best satisfies the objectives of 
R850-2-200; 
 C)  terminate the negotiation process entirely; or 
 D)  require the applicants or interested persons to proceed 
through the process described in R850-30-500(2). 
 2.  If the preferred application is for a lease, it shall be 
reviewed in accordance with R850-30-550.  If the preferred 
application is for a sale, it shall be reviewed pursuant to R850-80-
200.  If the preferred application is for an exchange, it shall be 
reviewed pursuant to R850-90-200. 
 
R850-30-550.  Lease Determination Procedures. 
 1.  The director shall not lease trust lands when such lease: 
 (a)  would be inconsistent with board policy or would not 
be in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries; 
 (b)  would create significant obstacles to future mineral 
development; or 
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 (c)  would foreclose future development or management 
options which would likely result in greater long term economic 
benefit. 
 
R850-30-600.  Special Use Lease Provisions. 
 Each lease shall contain provisions necessary to ensure 
responsible surface management, including those provisions 
enumerated under Section 53C-4-202 and the following provisions: 
the rights of the lessee; the rights reserved to the lessor, including the 
right to review the lease to ensure compliance with the terms and 
conditions of the lease; the term of the lease; annual rentals and 
percentage rents, if applicable; reporting of technical and financial 
data; reservation for mineral exploration and development and other 
compatible uses; operation requirements; lessee's consent to suit in 
any dispute arising under the terms of the lease or as a result of 
operations carried on under the lease; procedures of notification; 
transfers of lease interest by lessee; terms and conditions of lease 
forfeiture; and protection of the state from liability associated with 
the actions of the lessee on the subject property. 
 
R850-30-800.  Bonding Provisions. 
 1.  At the time of initial lease payment, the lessee may be 
required to post with the agency performance, payment, and 
reclamation bonds in the form and amount and subject to any terms 
and conditions as may be determined by the agency to assure 
compliance with all terms and conditions of the lease. 
 2.  The bond shall be in effect even if the lessee has 
conveyed all or part of the leasehold interest to a sublessee, assignee, 
or subsequent operator until the lessee fully satisfies the lease 
obligations, or until the bond is replaced with a new bond posted by 
the sublessee or assignee. 
 3.  Bonds may be increased in reasonable amounts, at any 
time as the agency may order, provided lessor first gives lessee 30 
days written notice stating the increase and the reason(s) for the 
increase. 
 4.  Bonds may be accepted in any of the following forms at 
the discretion of the agency: 
 (a)  Surety bond with an approved corporate surety 
registered in Utah; 
 (b)  Cash deposit.  The agency shall not be responsible for 
any investment returns on cash deposits; or 
 (c)  Other forms of surety as may be acceptable to the 
agency. 
 
R850-30-900.  Lease Assignments and Subleases. 
 1.  Any special use lease may be assigned or subleased to 
any person or entity qualified to hold a lease on trust land, provided, 
however, that all assignments and subleases are approved by the 
director; and no assignment or sublease is effective until approval is 
given.  Any assignment or sublease made without such approval is 
voidable at the director's option. 
 2.  An assignment or sublease shall take effect the day of 
the approval of the assignment or sublease.  On the effective date of 
any assignment or sublease, the assignee or sublessee is bound by the 
terms of the lease to the same extent as if the assignee or sublessee 
were the original lessee, any conditions in the assignment to the 
contrary notwithstanding. 
 3.  An assignment shall be a sufficient legal instrument, 
properly executed and acknowledged, with the lease number, the land 
involved, and the name and address of the assignee, and the interest 
transferred clearly indicated. 

 4.  Additional occupants of a telecommunication facility 
shall abide by all the requirements of this rule.  In addition, the 
agency may charge each communication site sublessee an amount 
based on the then current market rental value of the premises, and 
such other factors as may reasonably bear upon the suitability of the 
sublessee as a tenant of the premises. 
 5.  As a condition of the approval of an assignment or 
sublease the agency shall require: 
 (a)  The assignee to accept the most current applicable lease 
form unless continuation of the existing form is clearly in the best 
interests of the trust beneficiaries; and 
 (b)  The assignee or sublessee to be satisfactory to the 
agency. 
 
R850-30-1000.  Lease Amendments. 
 1.  Special use leases may be amended as to the following 
terms and conditions upon the payment of all appropriate processing 
and other charges, and based on a written finding that the amendment 
would be consistent with R850-2. 
 (a)  Purpose of the lease; 
 (b)  Term of the lease; 
 (c)  Rate of rental or percentage rent; 
 (d)  Due date of rental or percentage rent; and 
 (e)  Decrease or increase in contiguous acreage, provided 
that total amended acreage cannot exceed 150% of the original 
acreage.  If the total amended acreage exceeds 150% of the original 
acreage, the amendment shall be advertised pursuant to R850-30-
500(2).] 
R850-30-100.  Authorities. 
 This rule implements Sections 6, 8, 10, and 12 of the Utah 
Enabling Act, Articles X and XX of the Utah Constitution, and 
Subsections 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) and 53C-4-101(1) which authorize 
the director to establish criteria for the leasing of trust lands. 
 
R850-30-150.  Planning. 
 In addition to those other planning responsibilities 
described in this Rule R850-30, the agency shall: 
 1.  Submit proposals to lease trust lands to the Resource 
Development Coordinating Committee (RDCC) unless the proposal 
is exempt from such review; 
 2.  Evaluate comments received through the RDCC 
process; and 
 3.  Evaluate comments received through the request for 
proposal process pursuant to Section R850-30-310 or the solicitation 
process pursuant to Section R850-30-500, as applicable. 
 
R850-30-200.  Terms of Leases. 
 Lease terms should not normally be for longer than 30 
years, except that telecommunication and agricultural leases should 
not normally be for longer than 20 years.  Extensions to a lease term 
should not normally be for longer than 20 years.  The agency may 
issue leases for a term longer than 30 years or extend a term for longer 
than 20 years if a longer term is consistent with the land management 
objectives found in Rule R850-2. 
 
R850-30-300.  Categories of Special Use Leases. 
 Special use leases are categorized as follows: 
 1.  Commercial; 
 2.  Industrial; 
 3.  Agricultural; 
 4.  Telecommunications; 
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 5.  Residential; and 
 6.  Governmental. 
 
R850-30-305.  Other Business Arrangements. 
 1.  The agency may enter into other business arrangements 
(OBAs), such as joint venture and lease to sell agreements, that are 
consistent with the purposes of the Act. 
 2.  OBAs are exempt from these R850-30 rules. 
 3.  OBAs and any amendments to OBAs must be approved 
by the Board of Trustees. 
 
R850-30-310.  Requests for Proposals. 
 1.  The agency may issue a request for proposals (RFP) for 
surface uses of trust lands. 
 2.  The agency shall give notice of the RFP to lessees or 
permittees of record on the subject property and shall advertise the 
RFP by methods determined by the agency to increase exposure of 
the subject property to qualified applicants. 
 3.  In response to the RFP, an applicant may propose a sale, 
lease, joint development, exchange, or other business arrangement. 
 4.  The agency shall evaluate proposals using the following 
criteria: 
 (a)  income potential; 
 (b)  potential enhancement of trust lands; 
 (c)  development timeline; 
 (d)  applicant qualifications; 
 (e)  desirability of proposed use; and 
 (f)  any other criterion deemed appropriate by the agency. 
 5.  The agency may charge non-refundable application and 
review fees, as specified in the RFP. 
 6.  Applicants selected in the RFP process are exempt from 
the application process in Section R850-30-500. 
 
R850-30-400.  Lease Rates. 
 1.  The agency shall base lease rates on the market value or 
income producing capability of the subject property and may require 
any commercially reasonable type of consideration, including rent, 
percentage rent, use payments, impact charges, escalating charges, 
balloon payments, and in-lieu payments.   The agency may base lease 
rates on any of the following criteria, in combination or otherwise: 
 (a)  the market value of the subject property multiplied by 
the current agency-determined interest rate; 
 (b)  comparable lease data; 
 (c)  market value of the proposed use of the subject 
property; 
 (d)  rates schedules approved by the director; 
 (e)  the administrative costs of leasing the subject property 
and a desired minimum rate of return; and 
 (f)  a fixed rate per acre or a crop-share formula for 
agricultural leases providing that the lease rate is customary and 
reasonable. 
 2.  The agency may base lease rates on a value other than 
the market value of the subject property if the director determines it 
is in the best interest of the beneficiaries and the agency has the right 
to terminate the lease before the end of the term. 
 3.  Lease Review and Adjustment Procedures. 
 (a)  The agency shall review special use leases periodically 
as specified in the lease agreement and may adjust lease rates, the 
amount of financial guaranty, the amount of required insurance, and 
other similar lease provisions to ensure the agency receives no less 
than fair market value for the subject property and is adequately 

protected against a lessee's breach.  Periodic lease reviews should 
normally be no longer than every five years. 
 (b)  The agency may base lease rate adjustments on changes 
in market value including appreciation of the subject property, 
changes in established indices, or other methods that are appropriate 
and in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries. 
 (c)  If the lease does not specify the rate of adjustment, the 
rate of adjustment will be based on the Consumer Price Index, 
published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, All Urban 
Consumers, Western Region Average, All Items (1982-84 = 100), or 
if the Consumer Price Index is no longer published, a substitute index 
published by a governmental agency and comparable to the 
Consumer Price Index.  The adjusted lease rate cannot be less than 
the lease rate for the immediately preceding review period. 
 (d)  The director may suspend, defer, or waive lease 
adjustments in specific instances, based on a written finding that the 
suspension, deferral, or waiver is in the best interest of the trust 
beneficiaries. 
 
R850-30-500.  Solicitation of Competing Applications. 
 1.  On acceptance by the agency of a completed special use 
lease application, the agency shall solicit competing interest in the 
subject parcel. The director may waive this requirement if it is in the 
best interest of the trust beneficiaries. 
 2.  The following classes of leases are exempt from the 
requirements of Subsection R850-30-500(1): 
 (a)  Telecommunications; and 
 (b)  Mineral and oil and gas extraction facilities to extract 
the mineral estate of the subject property when the mineral estate is 
not a trust asset. 
 3.  The agency shall solicit competing interest in the subject 
parcel by giving at least 30 days' notice by certified mail to: 
 (a)  the legislative body of the county in which the subject 
parcel is located; 
 (b)  lessees or permittees of record on the subject property; 
and 
 (c)  adjoining landowners as shown on readily accessible 
county records or other credible records. 
 4.  In addition to the notices required under Subsection 
R850-30-500(3), the agency may solicit competing interest in the 
subject parcel by methods determined by the agency to increase 
exposure of the subject property to qualified applicants. 
 5.  The notice of solicitation of competing interest must 
include: 
 (a)  a general description of the subject parcel and a brief 
description of its location, including township, range, and section; 
 (b)  the contact information of the agency office where 
interested parties can obtain more information; and 
 (c)  any other information that may create interest in the 
subject parcel that does not violate the confidentiality of the initial 
application. The successful applicant is responsible for the cost of the 
advertising. 
 6.  The agency may solicit competing interests on trust 
lands when no application has been received by advertising a parcel 
pursuant to the process described in this Section R850-30-500 or any 
other means, when in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries. 
 7.  In response to a solicitation, an applicant may propose a 
sale, lease, joint development, exchange, or other business 
arrangement. 
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R850-30-510.  Competing Proposals. 
 1.  If the agency receives credible competing proposals in 
response to the solicitation process conducted pursuant to Section 
R850-30-500, the agency may select a proposal using the following 
methods: 
 (a)  Sealed Bid Process. 
 (i)  The agency shall give the competing applicants notice 
setting forth the date on which the applicants must submit a final 
sealed proposal to the agency. 
 (ii)  The agency may reject proposals received after the 
established due date. 
 (iii)  The agency may require proposals for a lease to 
include the first year's rental, proposals for a sale to include a down 
payment on the proposed purchase price, and payments to cover the 
agency's costs of advertising and application fees. 
 (iv)  The agency shall evaluate proposals using the 
following criteria: 
 (A)  income potential; 
 (B)  potential enhancement of trust lands; 
 (C)  development timeline; 
 (D)  applicant qualifications; 
 (E)  desirability of proposed use; and 
 (F)  any other criterion deemed appropriate by the agency. 
 (b)  The agency may negotiate with the applicants or 
interested persons to create a proposal that best satisfies the 
objectives of Rule R850-2. 
 2.  The agency may terminate the application process at any 
time in its sole discretion. 
 
R850-30-550.  Lease Determination Procedures. 
 The agency may not lease trust lands when leasing: 
 1.  would be inconsistent with board policy or would not be 
in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries; 
 2.  would create significant obstacles to future mineral 
development; or 
 3.  would foreclose future development or management 
options that would likely result in greater long term economic benefit. 
 
R850-30-600.  Special Use Lease Provisions. 
 Each lease must contain provisions necessary to ensure 
responsible surface management, including those provisions 
enumerated under Section 53C-4-202, and the following provisions: 
 1.  the term of the lease; 
 2.  the lease rate and other payments due to the agency; 
 3.  reporting of technical and financial data; 
 4.  reservation for mineral exploration and development 
and other compatible uses, unless waived by the director; 
 5.  operation requirements; 
 6.  lessee's consent to suit in any dispute arising under the 
terms of the lease or as a result of operations carried on under the 
lease; 
 7.  procedures of notification; 
 8.  transfers of lease interest by lessee; 
 9.  terms and conditions of lease forfeiture; and 
 10.  protection of the state from liability associated with the 
actions of the lessee on the subject property. 
 
R850-30-800.  Financial Guaranties. 
 1.  The agency may require a lessee to provide a financial 
guaranty to the agency to ensure compliance with lease terms 
including performance, payment, and reclamation.  The financial 
guaranty must be in a form and in an amount acceptable to the agency. 

 2.  If a lessee assigns a lease, the agency is not obligated to 
release the financial guaranty of the assignor until the assignee 
submits an equivalent replacement financial guaranty or any lease 
obligations, including reclamation, have been satisfied. 
 3.  The agency may increase the amount of the financial 
guaranty in reasonable amounts at any time by giving lessee 30 days' 
written notice stating the increase and the reasons for the increase. 
 
R850-30-900.  Lease Assignments and Subleases. 
 1.  Assignments. 
 (a)  A lessee may only assign a lease if the agency consents 
to the assignment. Any assignment made without such approval is 
voidable in the agency's discretion. 
 (b)  On the effective date of the assignment, the assignee is 
bound by the terms of the lease to the same extent as if the assignee 
were the original lessee, any conditions in the assignment to the 
contrary notwithstanding. 
 (c)  An assignee must provide the agency with a copy of the 
assignment document, which must be a sufficient legal instrument, 
properly executed, with the lease number, the land involved, the 
name and address of the assignee, and the interest transferred clearly 
indicated. 
 (d)  As a condition of the approval of an assignment, the 
agency shall require: 
 (i)  the assignee to accept the most current applicable lease 
form unless continuation of the existing form is clearly in the best 
interests of the trust beneficiaries; and 
 (ii)  the assignee be satisfactory to the agency. 
 2.  Subleases. 
 (a)  A lessee may only sublease a lease if the agency 
consents to the sublease. A sublease made without such approval is 
voidable in the agency's discretion. 
 (b)  The lessee must indemnify the agency for actions or 
inactions of the sublessee and the agency may look to either the lessee 
or the sublessee for compliance with the lease. 
 (c)  A lessee must provide the agency with a copy of the 
sublease document, which must be a sufficient legal instrument, 
properly executed, with the lease number, the land involved, the 
name and address of the sublessee, the interest subleased, and the 
financial benefit to lessee clearly indicated. 
 (d)  The agency may require lessee and sublessee to provide 
annual financial documentation that clearly identifies the revenue 
generated on the property by sublessee and the revenue paid by 
sublessee to lessee. 
 (e)  The agency may charge the lessee sublease rates based 
on the then current market rental value of the subject property, the 
revenue paid by sublessee to lessee, and such other factors as the 
agency deems reasonable. 
 
R850-30-1000.  Lease Amendments. 
 1.  The agency may amend a lease if the amendment would 
be consistent with Rule R850-2.  Unless waived by the director, the 
agency shall solicit competing interest pursuant to Section R850-30-
500 if: 
 (a)  the total amended acreage exceeds 150% of the original 
acreage; 
 (b)  the lease term, including any extensions is longer than 
50 years; or 
 (c)  the proposed amended purpose of the lease is 
substantially different from the original purpose. 
 2.  The agency may condition approval of an amendment 
on the lessee accepting the current lease form. 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 500 
Street address: 675 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84102-2818 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Keli Beard 801-

538-
5185 

kelibeard@utah.gov 

Lisa Wells 801-
538-
5154 

lisawells@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R850-170.  Renewable Energy Lease Agreements 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Renewable Energy Leases on Trust Lands have 
historically been reviewed and processed under differing 
rules and requirements based on their location. (i.e., as 
Surface Leases, Development Leases, or Mineral 
Leases).  This proposed rule clarifies and classifies all 
Renewable Energy Projects (solar, wind, geothermal, and 
green hydrogen) into their own category for both continuity 
and clarification.  The proposed rule is largely in line with 
the School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration’s 
(SITLA) surface rule requirements for application 
acceptance, processing, review, and public notice 
procedures. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This proposed rule establishes the Renewable Energy 
Lease types and procedures for the application, 
processing, and review of those projects.  Geothermal 
projects will be classified in the new Renewable Energy 
lease's category, therefore adding this rule will also allow 
for the repeal of Rule R850-27, Geothermal Steam. 
 
(EDITOR’S NOTE:  The proposed repeal of Rule R850-27 
is under ID 54685 in this issue, July 1, 2022, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The purpose of establishing the new Renewable Energy 
rules is to streamline and help eliminate confusion on the 
part of applicants and developers of renewable energy 
projects on Trust Lands.  Some of the processes in the 
review of those projects would require additional 
administrative steps and Board Approvals, which were 
deemed to not be necessary and overly burdensome to 
both staff and applicants.  It is not anticipated that there 
would be any additional costs and streamlining the 
process for both applicants and staff could see some 
minimal savings to the agency and applicants. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The current leasing process for renewable energy projects 
requires notification to the Resource Development 
Coordinating Committee (RDCC), Local Association of 
Governments, and the County that the project is located 
in.  This process would be not change and is incorporated 
into this rule.  No fiscal impact is anticipated to local 
governments with this proposed rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The purpose of this proposed rule is to streamline and 
simplify rule language and update requirements and 
procedures to align with current business practices.  This 
rule will mainly impact internal technical aspects regarding 
processing of lease applications.  Renewable Energy 
projects are not typically pursued by small business; 
however these changes would make the process easier to 
understand and follow. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The purpose of this proposed rule is to streamline and 
simplify rule language and update requirements and 
procedures to align with current business practices.  This 
rule will mainly impact internal technical aspects regarding 
processing of lease applications.  However, Renewable 
Energy projects are typically pursued by larger National 
and International developers.  Having consistent rules and 
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process' for review of those proposals will allow for 
conformity in the process. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The purpose of this proposed rule is to streamline and 
simplify rule language and update requirements and 
procedures to align with current business practices.  This 
rule will mainly impact internal technical aspects regarding 
processing of lease applications.  Other Persons may 
occasionally lease Trust lands for Renewable Energy 
projects.  Having consistent rules and process' for review 
of those proposals will allow for conformity in the process. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No direct compliance costs will be charged as a result of 
these rule changes and no indirect compliance costs are 
anticipated. 
 
G)  Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
Renewable Energy leases have always been allowed on 
Trust Lands but were being tracked through differing lease 
types.  These rule changes allow for Renewable Energy 
Leases (wind, solar, geothermal, and green hydrogen) to 
be tracked and processed as Renewable Energy leases, 
thus simplifying both the application and approval process 
as well as tracking of renewable energy projects.  No 
adverse fiscal impact for business is anticipated.  Michelle 
McConkie, Director 
 
6.  A)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table 
only includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If 
there are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be 
included in this table. Inestimable impacts will be included 
in narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2022 FY2023 FY2024 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

   

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

B)  Department head approval of regulatory impact 
analysis: 
The Director of the Department of School and Institutional 
Trust Lands Administration, Michelle McConkie, has 
reviewed and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
28 Stat. 107-112, 
Utah Enabling Act  
of 1894, Sections  
6, 8, 10, and 12 

Subsection 
53C-1-302(1)(a) 

Subsection 
53C-4-101(1) 

Article X Article XX Section 
53C-4-202 

 
Public Notice Information 
9.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/01/2022 

 
10.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

08/08/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.   To make this rule effective, the agency 
must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Office of 
Administrative Rules on or before the date designated in 
Box 10. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Michelle 
McConkie, 
Director 

Date: 06/13/2022 

 
R850.  School and Institutional Trust Lands, Administration. 
R850-170.  Renewable Energy Lease Agreements. 
R850-170-100.  Authorities. 
 This rule implements Sections 6, 8, 10, and 12 of the Utah 
Enabling Act, Articles X and XX of the Utah Constitution, and 
Subsections 53C-1-302(1)(a)(ii) and 53C-4-101(1), which authorize 
the director to establish rules for leasing trust lands. 
 
R850-170-150.  Planning. 
 1.  In addition to those other planning responsibilities 
described in this Rule R850-170, the agency shall: 
 (a)  Submit proposals to lease trust lands for renewable 
energy projects to the Resource Development Coordinating 
Committee (RDCC) unless the proposal is exempt from such review; 
 (b)  Evaluate comments received through the RDCC 
process; and 
 (c)  Evaluate comments received through the request for 
proposal process pursuant to Section R850-170-600 or the 
solicitation process pursuant to Section R850-170-800. 
 
R850-170-200.  Exemption from Development Transaction Rules. 
 The director may exempt renewable energy leases issued 
on Development Property as defined in Subsection R850-140-250(1) 
from Rule R850-140 if the renewable energy leases are issued 
according to this Rule R850-170 and if the exemption is consistent 
with the land management objectives found in Rule R850-2. 
 
R850-170-300.  Terms of Leases. 
 Lease terms, including extensions, should not normally be 
for longer than 51 years.  The agency may issue leases for a term 
longer than 51 years if a longer term is consistent with the land 
management objectives found in Rule R850-2. 
 
R850-170-400.  Categories of Renewable Energy Leases. 
 1.  Renewable energy leases are categorized as follows: 
 (a)  solar; 
 (b)  wind; 
 (c)  energy storage; and 
 (d)  geothermal. 
 2.  The agency may grant exploration and options to lease 
the renewable resources on a parcel according to the requirements of 
this Rule R850-170 if doing so would encourage exploration of 
undefined resources. 
 
R850-170-500.  Other Business Arrangements. 
 1.  The agency may enter into other business arrangements 
(OBAs), such as joint venture agreements, that are consistent with 
the purposes of the Act. 
 2.  OBAs are exempt from these R850-170 rules. 
 3.  OBAs and any amendments to OBAs must be approved 
by the Board of Trustees. 
 
R850-170-600.  Requests for Proposals. 
 1.  The agency may issue a request for proposals (RFP) for 
renewable energy projects on trust lands. 

 2.  The agency shall give notice of the RFP to lessees or 
permittees of record on the subject property and shall advertise the 
RFP by methods determined by the agency to increase exposure of 
the subject property to qualified applicants. 
 3.  In response to the RFP, an applicant may propose a sale, 
lease, joint development, exchange, or other business arrangement. 
 4.  The agency shall evaluate proposals using the following 
criteria: 
 (a)  income potential; 
 (b)  potential enhancement of trust lands; 
 (c)  development timeline; 
 (d)  applicant qualifications; 
 (e)  desirability of proposed use; and 
 (f)  any other criterion deemed appropriate by the agency. 
 5.  The agency may charge non-refundable application and 
review fees, as specified in the RFP. 
 6.  Applicants selected in the RFP process are exempt from 
the application process in Section R850-170-800. 
 
R850-170-700.  Lease Rates. 
 1.  The agency shall base lease rates on the market value or 
income producing capability of the subject property and may require 
any commercially reasonable type of consideration, including rent, 
percentage rent, use payments, impact charges, escalating charges, 
balloon payments, and in-lieu payments.  The agency may base lease 
rates on any of the following criteria, in combination or otherwise: 
 (a)  the market value of the subject property multiplied by 
the current agency-determined interest rate; 
 (b)  comparable lease data; 
 (c)  market value of the proposed use of the subject 
property; 
 (d)  rates schedules approved by the director; and 
 (e)  the administrative costs of leasing the subject property 
and a desired minimum rate of return. 
 2.  The agency may base lease rates on a value other than 
the market value of the subject property if the director determines it 
is in the best interest of the beneficiaries and the agency has the right 
to terminate the lease before the end of the term. 
 3.  Lease Review and Adjustment Procedures. 
 (a)  The agency shall review renewable energy leases 
periodically as specified in the lease agreement and may adjust lease 
rates, the amount of financial guaranty, the amount of required 
insurance, and other similar lease provisions to ensure the agency 
receives no less than fair market value for the subject property and is 
adequately protected against a lessee's breach.  Periodic lease reviews 
should normally be no longer than every five years. 
 (b)  The agency may base lease rate adjustments on changes 
in market value including appreciation of the subject property, 
changes in established indices, or other methods that are appropriate 
and in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries. 
 (c)  If the lease does not specify the rate of adjustment, the 
rate of adjustment will be based on the Consumer Price Index, 
published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, All Urban 
Consumers, Western Region Average, All Items (1982-84 = 100), or 
if the Consumer Price Index is no longer published, a substitute index 
published by a governmental agency and comparable to the 
Consumer Price Index.  The adjusted lease rate cannot be less than 
the lease rate for the immediately preceding review period. 
 (d)  The director may suspend, defer, or waive lease 
adjustments in specific instances, based on a written finding that the 
suspension, deferral, or waiver is in the best interest of the trust 
beneficiaries. 
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R850-170-800.  Solicitation of Competing Applications. 
 1.  On acceptance by the agency of a completed application, 
the agency shall solicit competing interest in the subject parcel.  The 
director may waive this requirement if it is in the best interest of the 
trust beneficiaries. 
 2.  Renewable energy facilities to support extraction of the 
mineral estate of the subject property when the mineral estate is not 
a trust asset is exempt from the requirements of Section R850-170-
800. 
 3.  The agency shall solicit competing interest in the subject 
parcel in a manner designed to increase exposure of the subject 
property to qualified applicants. The agency may implement the 
solicitation through print media, internet, signage, direct mail, or 
other appropriate marketing methods.  The agency shall also give at 
least 30 days' notice by certified mail to: 
 (a)  the legislative body of the county in which the subject 
parcel is located; and 
 (b)  lessees or permittees of record on the subject property. 
 4.  The notice of solicitation of competing interest must 
include: 
 (a)  a general description of the subject parcel and a brief 
description of its location, including township, range, and section; 
 (b)  the contact information of the agency office where 
interested parties can obtain more information; and 
 (c)  any other information that may create interest in the 
subject parcel that does not violate the confidentiality of the initial 
application.  The successful applicant is responsible for the cost of 
the advertising. 
 5.  The agency may solicit competing interests on trust 
lands when no application has been received by advertising a parcel 
pursuant to the process described in this Section R850-170-600 or 
any other means, when in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries. 
 6.  In response to a solicitation, an applicant may propose a 
sale, lease, joint development, exchange, or other business 
arrangement. 
 
R850-170-900.  Competing Proposals. 
 1.  If the agency receives credible competing proposals in 
response to the solicitation process conducted pursuant to Section 
R850-170-800, the agency may select a proposal using the following 
methods: 
 (a)  Sealed Bid Process. 
 (i)  The agency shall give the competing applicants notice 
setting forth the date on which the applicants must submit a final 
sealed proposal to the agency. 
 (ii)  The agency may reject proposals received after the 
established due date. 
 (iii)  The agency may require proposals for a lease to 
include the first year's rental, proposals for a sale to include a down 
payment on the proposed purchase price, and payments to cover the 
agency's costs of advertising and application fees. 
 (iv)  The agency shall evaluate proposals using the 
following criteria: 
 (A)  income potential; 
 (B)  potential enhancement of trust lands; 
 (C)  development timeline; 
 (D)  applicant qualifications; 
 (E)  desirability of proposed use; and 
 (F)  any other criterion deemed appropriate by the agency. 
 (b)  The agency may negotiate with the applicants or 
interested persons to create a proposal that best satisfies the 
objectives of Rule R850-2. 

 2.  The agency may terminate the application process at any 
time in its sole discretion. 
 
R850-170-1000.  Lease Determination Procedures. 
 The agency may not lease trust lands when a lease: 
 1.  would be inconsistent with board policy or would not be 
in the best interest of the trust beneficiaries; 
 2.  would create significant obstacles to future mineral 
development; or 
 3.  would foreclose future development or management 
options that would likely result in greater long term economic benefit. 
 
R850-170-1100.  Renewable Energy Lease Provisions. 
 Each lease must contain provisions necessary to ensure 
responsible management of trust lands, including those provisions 
enumerated under Section 53C-4-202 and the following provisions: 
 1.  the term of the lease; 
 2.  the lease rate and other payments due to the agency; 
 3.  reporting of technical and financial data; 
 4.  reservation for mineral exploration and development 
and other compatible uses, unless waived by the director; 
 5.  operation requirements; 
 6.  lessee's consent to suit in any dispute arising under the 
terms of the lease or as a result of operations carried on under the 
lease; 
 7.  procedures of notification; 
 8.  transfers of lease interest by lessee; 
 9.  terms and conditions of lease forfeiture; and 
 10.  protection of the state from liability associated with the 
actions of the lessee on the subject property. 
 
R850-170-1200.  Financial Guaranties. 
 1.  The agency may require a lessee to provide a financial 
guaranty to the agency to ensure compliance with lease terms 
including performance, payment, and reclamation.  The financial 
guaranty must be in a form and in an amount acceptable to the agency. 
 2.  If a lessee assigns a lease, the agency is not obligated to 
release the financial guaranty of the assignor until the assignee 
submits an equivalent replacement financial guaranty or any lease 
obligations, including reclamation, have been satisfied. 
 3.  The agency may increase the amount of the financial 
guaranty in reasonable amounts at any time by giving lessee 30 days' 
written notice stating the increase and the reasons for the increase. 
 
R850-170-1300.  Lease Assignments and Subleases. 
 1.  Assignments. 
 (a)  A lessee may only assign a renewable energy lease if 
the agency consents to the assignment. Any assignment made without 
such approval is voidable at the agency's option. 
 (b)  On the effective date of an assignment, the assignee is 
bound by the terms of the lease to the same extent as if the assignee 
were the original lessee, any conditions in the assignment to the 
contrary notwithstanding. 
 (c)  An assignor must provide the agency with a copy of the 
assignment document, which must be a sufficient legal instrument, 
properly executed, with the lease number, the land involved, the 
name and address of the assignee, and the interest transferred clearly 
indicated. 
 (d)  As a condition of the approval of an assignment, the 
agency shall require: 
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 (i)  the assignee to accept the most current applicable lease 
form unless continuation of the existing form is clearly in the best 
interests of the trust beneficiaries; and 
 (ii)  the assignee be satisfactory to the agency. 
 2.  Subleases. 
 (a)  A lessee may only sublease a renewable energy lease if 
the agency consents to the sublease. A sublease made without such 
approval is voidable in the agency's discretion. 
 (b)  The lessee must indemnify the agency for actions or 
inactions of the sublessee and the agency may look to either the lessee 
or the sublessee for compliance with the lease. 
 (c)  The agency may require lessee and sublessee to provide 
annual financial documentation that clearly identifies the revenue 
generated on the property by sublessee and the revenue paid by 
sublessee to lessee. 
 (d)  A lessee must provide the agency with a copy of the 
sublease document, which must be a sufficient legal instrument, 
properly executed, with the lease number, the land involved, the 
name and address of the sublessee, and the interest subleased clearly 
indicated. 
 (e)  The agency may charge the lessee sublease rates based 
on the then current market rental value of the subject property, the 
revenue paid by sublessee to lessee, and such other factors as the 
agency deems reasonable. 

 
R850-170-1400.  Lease Amendments. 
 1.  The agency may amend a lease if the amendment would 
be consistent with Rule R850-2. Unless waived by the director, the 
agency shall solicit competing interest pursuant to Section R850-170-
800 if: 
 (a)  the total amended acreage exceeds 150% of the original 
acreage; 
 (b)  the lease term, including any extensions, is longer than 
51 years; or 
 (c)  the proposed amended purpose of the lease is 
substantially different from the original purpose. 
 2.  The agency may condition approval of an amendment 
on the lessee accepting the current lease form. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, leases, trust land management, 
request for proposals 
Date of Last Change:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53C-1-
302(1)(a); 53C-4-101(1); 53C-4-202 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-15 Filing ID: 50149 

Effective Date: 06/03/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Building: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB, South Bldg, 

Floor 2 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Robert Hougaard  801-
982-
2305 

rhougaard@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson  801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R68-15.  Quarantine Pertaining to Japanese Beetle, (Popillia 
Japonica) 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is promulgated under the authority of Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(k)(ii) which allows the Department of 
Agriculture and Food to establish and enforce quarantines. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it is necessary to protect 
the state from damage from the Japanese Beetle.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 06/03/2022  
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R68-23 Filing ID: 50156 

Effective Date: 06/03/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB, South Bldg, 

Floor 2 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Robert Hougaard  801-
982-
2305 

rhougaard@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson  801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R68-23.  Utah Firewood Quarantine 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 4-2-103(1)(k)ii) 
that allows the Department of Agriculture and Food to 
establish and enforce quarantines. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it will help prevent the 
movement of invasive insects transported by firewood that 
could be extremely damaging to Utah plants.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 06/03/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R343-11 Filing ID: 50844 

Effective Date: 06/13/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Financial Institutions 
Agency: Nondepository Lenders 
Room no.: 201 
Street address: 324 S State St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2393 

Mailing address: PO Box 146800 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6800 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Paul Allred 801-

538-
8855 

pallred@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R343-11.  Rule Designating Applicable Federal Law for a 
Mortgage Lender, Broker, or Servicer Subject to the 
Jurisdiction of the Department of Financial Institutions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The rule designates which one or more federal laws are 
applicable to a mortgage lender, broker or servicers 
subject to the jurisdiction of the Department of Financial 
Institutions (Department).  This rule establishes that 
designated federal law may only be enforced by the 
Department by taking action permitted under Title 70D and 
the applicable chapters set forth in Subsection 70D-2-
502(2). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No supporting or opposing written comments have been 
received since the last notice of continuation. 
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5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Subsection 70D-2-502(2) requires that the Department 
designate, by rule, which one or more federal laws are 
applicable to a person subject to the jurisdiction of the 
Department.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Darryle Rude, 
Interim 
Commissioner 

Date: 06/13/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-122 Filing ID: 53986 

Effective Date: 06/03/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-122.  Permissible Arbitration Provisions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is important because it provides guidance to an 
insurer about the type of arbitration provisions that may be 
put into an insurance policy.  These provisions provide 
steps to be taken by insureds who disagree with the 
settlement of their claims and would like to involve a third 
party in the settlement process.  This rule sets standards 
for disclosure to make sure policy provisions are fair and 
nondiscriminatory.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 06/03/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-149 Filing ID: 54098 

Effective Date: 06/03/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-149.  Americans with Disabilities Act Grievance 
Procedures 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance (Department) has received 
no written comments regarding this rule during the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule implements 28 CFR 35 and Title II of the 
Americans with Disabilities Act.  This rule is important 
because it provides that no qualified individual with a 
disability, by reason of such disability, be excluded from 
participation in or the benefits of the services, programs, 
and activities of the Department.  This rule must remain in 
force to keep the Department in compliance with the 
federal Americans with Disabilities Act.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 06/03/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R590-240 Filing ID: 51422 

Effective Date: 06/03/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-240.  Procedure to Obtain Exemption of Student 
Health Programs From Insurance Code 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 31A-1-103(3)(d) specifies by rule the business 
transactions that are exempted from insurance regulation.  
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is important because it provides guidance 
regarding procedures that an institution of higher 
education must follow in order to obtain exemption of a 
student health program from the Insurance Code.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 06/03/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R616-1 Filing ID: 51531 

Effective Date: 06/03/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
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Agency: Boiler, Elevator and Coal Mine Safety 
Room no.: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Pete Hackford 801-

536-
7605 

phackford@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
530-
6113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R616-1  Coal, Gilsonite, or other Hydrocarbon Mining 
Certification 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 34A-1-104 gives the Labor Commission 
(Commission) authority to establish rules to administer 
and enforce all laws for the protection of the life, health, 
and safety of employees.  Section 40-2-401 authorizes the 
Commission to certify individuals involved in coal, 
gilsonite, or other hydrocarbon mining pursuant to rules 
established by the Commission. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during and since 
the last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
In light of the Commission's continuing certification of 
individuals involved in Utah's coal, gilsonite or other 
hydrocarbon mining industries, this rule remains 
necessary.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
The Commission has received no comments in opposition 
to this rule. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 05/27/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R657-28 Filing ID: 51757 

Effective Date: 06/13/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room no.: Suite 2110 
Building: DNR – Salt Lake Complex 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R657-28.  Use of Division Lands 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 23-14-8 authorizes the director of the Division of 
Wildlife Resources (Division) full control of all property 
acquired and held for the purposes specified in this title. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments supporting or opposing Rule R657-
28 were received since June 2017, when this rule was last 
reviewed. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
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Rule R657-28 is necessary to provide the application 
procedures and administration of rights-of-way, leases, 
and special use permits on Division land.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

J Shirley, Division 
Director 

Date: 06/13/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R657-29 Filing ID: 51756 

Effective Date: 06/13/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room no.: Suite 2110 
Building: DNR – Salt Lake Complex 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R657-29.  Government Records Access Management Act 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 63G-2-204(2) authorizes the Division of 
Wildlife Resources (Division) to make rules in accordance 
with Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government Records Access 
Management Act, specifying where and to whom requests 
for records access shall be directed. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Division and the Wildlife Board have not received 
written comments, either in support or opposition to Rule 
R657-29 since the last review in 2017. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R657-29 is necessary to provide an effective and 
efficient process prescribing where and to whom requests 
for information shall be directed and provide procedures 
for access to Division records as allowed under 
Subsection 63G-2-204(2).  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

J Shirley, Division 
Director 

Date: 06/13/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R657-64 Filing ID: 51777 

Effective Date: 06/13/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room no.: Suite 2110 
Building: DNR – Salt Lake Complex 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R657-64.  Predator Control Incentives 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
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Under Sections 23-14-18 and 23-14-19, the Wildlife Board 
is authorized and required to regulate and prescribe the 
means by which wildlife may be taken. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division of Wildlife Resources (Division) has not 
received any written comments regarding this rule.  Any 
comments received in opposition to this rule are resolved 
using existing policies and procedures or the issue is 
placed on the Regional Advisory Council's and Wildlife 
Board's agenda for review and discussion during the 
process for taking public input.  The public is welcome to 
view the Regional Advisory Council minutes, Wildlife 
Board minutes, and administrative record for this rule at 
the Division. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This purpose of this rule is to allow the Division flexibility 
with participants in the Targeted Predator Control Program 
for effectively controlling coyotes in a targeted area that 
are detrimental to mule deer production.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

J Shirley, Division 
Director 

Date: 06/13/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R708-47 Filing ID: 51896 

Effective Date: 06/07/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Driver License  
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 144501 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R708-47.  Emergency Contact Database 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Subsection 53-3-205.6(4) which 
requires the Driver License Division to establish a method 
for an individual who holds a license certificate, learner 
permit, or identification card to provide emergency 
contacts in the event the individual is in an accident or for 
any other emergency in which the individual is not able to 
communicate with the contact person or persons. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have not been any written comments received since 
the last five year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is authorized by Subsection 53-3-205.6(4) and is 
necessary to establish the Emergency Contact Database 
needed to house emergency contacts of a person who 
holds a license certificate, learner permit, identification 
card or any other type of license or permit issued under 
Title 53, Chapter 3, Uniform Driver Licensing Act.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Christopher 
Caras, Division 
Director 

Date: 06/01/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R708-48 Filing ID: 51891 

Effective Date: 06/07/2022 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Driver License 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 144501 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R708-48.  Ignition Interlock System Program 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 53-3-1004 which 
requires the Driver License Division (Division) to make 
rules that establish requirements for the licensure of a 
provider and installer of an ignition interlock system, and 
Section 53-3-1007 which requires the Division to make 
rules that establish procedures for certifying and regulating 
providers and installers of ignition interlock systems, 
acceptable proof of installation of an ignition interlock 
device, a system provider to electronically notify the 
Division, and for the administration of the Ignition Interlock 
System Program. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have not been any written comments received since 
the last five year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is authorized by Sections 53-3-1004 and 53-3-
1007 and is necessary to establish the licensure, 
certification and regulation of ignition interlock system 
providers and installers.  In addition, it is necessary to 

establish the procedures for providing proof of installation 
of an ignition interlock device, and for establishing a 
system provider with an electronic means to notify the 
division of installation and removal of an ignition interlock 
device.  Finally, this rule is necessary for the administration 
of the Ignition Interlock System Program.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Christopher 
Caras, Division 
Director 

Date: 06/01/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R994-102 Filing ID: 54440 

Effective Date: 06/09/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Unemployment Insurance 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R994-102.  Employment Security Act, Public Policy and 
Authority 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 35A-1-104 authorizes the Department of 
Workforce Services (Department) to adopt rules and 
establish eligibility standards for its programs.  Section 
35A-4-502 authorizes the Department to adopt rules 
necessary for the administration of the Employment 
Security Act.  Section 35A-4-102 describes the public 
policy of the Employment Security Act. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during the last 
five years or since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule explains the purpose of Employment Security 
Act, including the stimulative nature of unemployment 
benefits in accordance with federal law and guidance.  
This rule is necessary to identify some limits to the receipt 
of benefits and accurately reflects Utah statutes and case 
law.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 06/09/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R994-106 Filing ID: 54480 

Effective Date: 06/09/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Unemployment Insurance 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R994-106.  Combined-Wage Claims 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 35A-1-104 authorizes the Department of 
Workforce Services (Department) to adopt rules and 
establish eligibility standards for its programs.  Section 
35A-4-502 authorizes the Department to adopt rules 
necessary for the administration of the Employment 
Security Act.  Section 35A-4-106 authorizes the 
Department to enter into reciprocal arrangements with 
other jurisdictions for the payment of unemployment 
insurance benefits when an individual has wages and 
covered employment in more than one jurisdiction. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during the last 
five years or since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule explains the process for evaluating a combined-
wage claim, defines the paying and transferring state in a 
combined-wage claim and their respective roles, and 
identifies limits on a combined-wage claim.  This rule also 
identifies the procedure for appealing a combined-wage 
claim determination.  Combined-wage claims are primarily 
governed by interstate agreements and this rule is 
necessary to explain the process for such claims.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 06/09/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R994-303 Filing ID: 54505 

Effective Date: 06/09/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Unemployment Insurance 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
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Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R994-303.  Contribution Rates 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 35A-1-104 authorizes the Department of 
Workforce Services (Department) to adopt rules and 
establish eligibility standards for its programs.  Section 
35A-4-502 authorizes the Department to adopt rules 
necessary for the administration of the Employment 
Security Act.  Section 35A-4-303 describes how an 
employer's contribution rate is determined, including how 
to calculate social costs and reserves. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during the last 
five years or since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary to explain how contribution rates are 
assigned and calculated for each employer including how 
the Department calculates experience ratings using the 
reserve factor and benefit ratio.  This rule also describes 
how employer successorship is determined and how it 
affects the contribution rate to avoid "SUTA dumping" (a 
process in which an employer changes ownership to avoid 
a high experience rating in an effort to lower state 
unemployment taxes).  SUTA dumping rules are required 
under agreements with the Department's federal partners.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 06/09/2022 

 
 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R994-401 Filing ID: 54506 

Effective Date: 06/09/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Unemployment Insurance 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R994-401.  Payment of Benefits 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 35A-1-104 authorizes the Department of 
Workforce Services (Department) to adopt rules and 
establish eligibility standards for its programs.  Section 
35A-4-502 authorizes the Department to adopt rules 
necessary for the administration of the Employment 
Security Act.  Section 35A-4-401 authorizes the 
Department to prescribe rules for determining an 
individual's monetary eligibility for unemployment 
insurance benefits and for calculating the amount benefits 
payable to an individual who is unemployed. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during the last 
five years or since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary to determine an individual's 
monetary eligibility for benefits, the weekly benefit amount, 
and the maximum benefit amount for each claim.  This rule 
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also explains what wages are used for determining 
eligibility and how retirement is counted when determining 
the weekly benefit amount.  This rule is also necessary for 
determining concurrent liability when there is no 
separation from a part-time reimbursable employer.  
Finally, this rule explains a claimant's obligations for 
reporting income while receiving unemployment benefits.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 06/09/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND  
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R994-402 Filing ID: 54507 

Effective Date: 06/09/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Unemployment Insurance 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R994-402.  Extended Benefits (EB) 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 35A-1-104 authorizes the Department of 
Workforce Services (Department) to adopt rules and 
establish eligibility standards for its programs.  Section 
35A-4-502 authorizes the Department to adopt rules 
necessary for the administration of the Employment 
Security Act.  Section 35A-4-402 describes the eligibility 
criteria for the payment of extended benefits. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during the last 
five years or since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Extended benefits are benefits payable to certain 
claimants when the state's unemployment rate has 
exceeded certain thresholds as determined by the 
Department in accordance with federal regulations.  This 
rule is necessary to describe the eligibility criteria for 
extended benefits, which are different from regular 
unemployment insurance benefits.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee,  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 06/09/2022 

 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  The Office of Administrative Rules 
(Office) is required to notify agencies of rules due for review at least 180 days prior to the anniversary date.  If the 
agency finds that it will not meet the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office.  However, if the agency fails to file either the FIVE-YEAR 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION or the EXTENSION by the date provide by the Office, the rule 
expires. 
 
Upon expiration of the rule, the Office files a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATION (EXPIRATION) to document the action.  
The Office is required to remove the rule from the Utah Administrative Code.  The agency may no longer enforce the 
rule and it must follow regular rulemaking procedures to replace the rule if it is still needed. 
 
The Office has filed EXPIRATIONS for each of the rules listed below which were not reviewed in accordance with 
Section 63G-3-305.  These rules have expired and have been removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The expiration of administrative rules for failure to comply with the five-year review requirement is governed by 
Subsection 63G-3-305(8). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R277-520 ID No. 54531 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L. 
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R277-520.  Appropriate Licensing and Assignment of 
Teachers 
3.  Effective 
Date: 

06/07/2022 

4.  Summary: 
The five-year review and notice of continuation was not 
filed for this rule by the deadline.  This rule has expired and 
was removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 

 

 
End of the Notices of Notices of Five Year Expirations Section 
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Administration 
No.  54442  (Amendment)  R51-6:  Agricultural Advisory 
Board Electronic Meetings 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
No.  54443  (Amendment)  R51-7:  Open and Public Meetings 
Act Electronic Meetings 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
Conservation Commission 
No.  54444  (Amendment)  R64-2:  Conservation Commission 
Electronic Meetings 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
Plant Industry 
No.  54519  (Amendment)  R68-3:  Utah Fertilizer Rule 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
 
No.  54517  (Amendment)  R68-5:  Grain Inspection 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
 
No.  54518  (Amendment)  R68-6:  Utah Nursery Act 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
 
No.  54541  (Amendment)  R68-9:  Utah Noxious Weed Act 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 
No.  54513  (Amendment)  R68-10:  Quarantine Pertaining to 
the European Corn Borer 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 

No.  54512  (Amendment)  R68-11:  Quarantine Pertaining to 
the Emerald Ash Borer 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
 
No.  54514  (Amendment)  R68-14:  Quarantine Pertaining to 
the Gypsy Moth - Lymantria Dispar 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
 
No.  54515  (Amendment)  R68-15:  Quarantine Pertaining to 
Japanese Beetle, Popillia japonica 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
 
No.  54516  (Amendment)  R68-18:  Quarantine Pertaining to 
Karnal Bunt 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
 
No.  54511  (Amendment)  R68-19:  Compliance Procedures 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
 
No.  54504  (Amendment)  R68-20:  Utah Organic Standards 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
 
No.  54534  (Amendment)  R68-27:  Cannabis Cultivation 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
 
No.  54535  (Amendment)  R68-30:  Independent Cannabis 
Testing Laboratory 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
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No.  54536  (Amendment)  R68-32:  Sale and Transfer of 
Industrial Hemp Waste Material to Medical Cannabis 
Cultivators 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/08/2022 
 
Regulatory Services 
No.  54446  (Amendment)  R70-520:  Standards of Identity 
and Labeling Requirements for Honey 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  54526  (Amendment)  R277-110:  Educator Salary 
Adjustment 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
 
No.  54525  (New Rule)  R277-124:  Teacher Bonuses for 
Extra Assignments 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
 
No.  54527  (Amendment)  R277-301:  Educator Licensing 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
 
No.  54528  (Amendment)  R277-312:  Online Educator 
Licensure 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
 
No.  54529  (Amendment)  R277-433:  Disposal of Textbooks 
in the Public Schools 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
 
No.  54530  (Amendment)  R277-489:  Kindergarten Entry 
and Exit Assessment - Enhanced Kindergarten Program 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
 
 
Government Operations 
Risk Management 
No.  54473  (Amendment)  R37-4:  Adjusted Utah 
Governmental Immunity Act Limitations on Judgments 
Amendments 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
Human Resource Management 
No.  54556  (Amendment)  R477-1:  Definitions 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54557  (Amendment)  R477-2:  Administration 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 

No.  54558  (Amendment)  R477-3:  Classification 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54559  (Amendment)  R477-4:  Filling Positions 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54560  (Amendment)  R477-5:  Employee Status and 
Probation 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54561  (Amendment)  R477-6:  Compensation 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54562  (Amendment)  R477-7:  Leave 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54563  (Amendment)  R477-8:  Working Conditions 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54564  (Amendment)  R477-9:  Employee Conduct 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54565  (Amendment)  R477-10:  Employee Development 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54566  (Amendment)  R477-11:  Discipline 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54567  (Amendment)  R477-12:  Separations 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54568  (Amendment)  R477-13:  Volunteer Programs 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54569  (Amendment)  R477-14:  Substance Abuse and 
Drug-Free Workplace 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54570  (Amendment)  R477-15:  Workplace Harassment 
Prevention 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54571  (Amendment)  R477-16:  Abusive Conduct 
Prevention 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
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No.  54572  (Amendment)  R477-101:  Administrative Law 
Judge Conduct Committee 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
 
Health 
Child Care Center Licensing Committee 
No.  54342  (Amendment)  R381-40:  Commercial Preschool 
Programs 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
No.  54343  (Amendment)  R381-60:  Hourly Child Care 
Centers 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
No.  54344  (Amendment)  R381-70:  Out of School Time 
Child Care Programs 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
No.  54345  (Amendment)  R381-100:  Child Care Centers 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
Disease Control and Prevention, Environmental Services 
No.  54412  (Amendment)  R392-101:  Food Safety Manager 
Certification 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 
No.  54409  (Amendment)  R392-105:  Agritourism Food 
Establishment Sanitation 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 
No.  54382  (Amendment)  R392-301:  Recreational Vehicle 
Park Sanitation 
Published:  03/15/2022 
Effective:  05/31/2022 
 
No.  54381  (Amendment)  R392-702:  Cosmetology Facility 
Sanitation 
Published:  03/15/2022 
Effective:  05/31/2022 
 
Family Health and Preparedness, WIC Services 
No.  54399  (Repeal and Reenact)  R406-100:  Special 
Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and 
Children 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 
No.  54400  (Repeal)  R406-200:  Program Overview 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 
No.  54401  (Repeal)  R406-201:  Outreach Program 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 

No.  54402  (Repeal)  R406-202:  Eligibility 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 
No.  54403  (Repeal)  R406-301:  Clinic Guidelines 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
No.  54413  (Amendment)  R414-308:  Application, Eligibility 
Determinations, Improper Medical Assistance, and 
Suspension of Benefits 
Published:  04/01/2022 
Effective:  05/31/2022 
 
Family Health and Preparedness, Emergency Medical 
Services 
No.  54386  (Amendment)  R426-2:  Emergency Medical 
Services Provider Designations for Pre-Hospital Providers, 
Critical Incident Stress Management and Quality Assurance 
Reviews 
Published:  03/15/2022 
Effective:  05/31/2022 
 
No.  54387  (Amendment)  R426-5:  Emergency Medical 
Services Training, Endorsement, Certification, and Licensing 
Standards 
Published:  03/15/2022 
Effective:  05/31/2022 
 
Family Health and Preparedness, Child Care Licensing 
No.  54346  (Amendment)  R430-8:  Exemptions from Child 
Care Licensing 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
No.  54347  (Amendment)  R430-50:  Residential Certificate 
Child Care 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
No.  54348  (Amendment)  R430-90:  Licensed Family Child 
Care 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
Family Health and Preparedness, Primary Care and Rural 
Health 
No.  54496  (Repeal)  R434-20:  Repeal - R434-20. 
Behavioral Health Workforce Reinvestment Initiative 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
 
No.  54497  (Amendment)  R434-40:  Utah Health Care 
Workforce Financial Assistance Program 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
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Human Services 
Aging and Adult Services 
No.  54291  (Repeal and Reenact)  R510-100:  Funding 
Formulas 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  54581  (Amendment)  R590-102:  Insurance Department 
Fee Payment Rule 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 
No.  54582  (Amendment)  R590-152:  Health Discount 
Programs and Value Added Benefit Rule 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 
No.  54481  (Amendment)  R590-170:  Fiduciary and Trust 
Account Obligations 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/26/2022 
 
No.  54524  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-173:  Credit for 
Reinsurance 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
 
No.  54520  (Amendment)  R590-196:  Bail Bond Premium 
and Fee Standards, Collateral Standards, and Disclosure 
Form 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
 
No.  54521  (Amendment)  R590-199:  Plan of Orderly 
Withdrawal Rule Relating to Health Benefit Plans 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
 
No.  54482  (Amendment)  R590-203:  Health Grievance 
Review Process 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/26/2022 
 
No.  54483  (Amendment)  R590-241:  Preferred Mortality 
Tables to Determine Minimum Reserve Liabilities 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  05/26/2022 
 
No.  54583  (Amendment)  R590-243:  Commercial Motor 
Vehicle Insurance Coverage 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 
No.  54584  (Amendment)  R590-245:  Self-Service Storage 
Insurance 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 

No.  54522  (Amendment)  R590-271:  Data Reporting for 
Consumer Quality Comparison 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/07/2022 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Water Resources 
No.  54485  (New Rule)  R653-10:  2021 Grant Money for 
Metering Existing Secondary Water Systems 
Published:  04/15/2022 
Effective:  06/01/2022 
 
 
Pardons (Board of) 
Administration 
No.  54489  (Amendment)  R671-203:  Victim Input and 
Notification 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/09/2022 
 
No.  54490  (Amendment)  R671-205:  Credit for Time Served 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/09/2022 
 
No.  54509  (Repeal and Reenact)  R671-207:  Custody 
Transfer for Mentally Ill Offenders and Mentally 
Decompensating Offenders 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/09/2022 
 
No.  54487  (Amendment)  R671-308:  Offender Hearing 
Assistance 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/09/2022 
 
No.  54488  (Amendment)  R671-311:  Special Attention 
Reviews, Hearing and Decisions 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/09/2022 
 
No.  54493  (Amendment)  R671-315:  Pardons 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/09/2022 
 
No.  54492  (Amendment)  R671-403:  Restitution 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/09/2022 
 
No.  54508  (New Rule)  R671-404:  Restitution and Other 
Costs Applicable to Persons Sentenced on or After July 1, 
2021 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/09/2022 
 
No.  54491  (Amendment)  R671-405:  Parole Termination 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  06/09/2022 
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Public Safety 
Driver License 
No.  54538  (Repeal and Reenact)  R708-37:  Certification of 
Licensed Instructors of Commercial Driver Training Schools 
or Testing Only Schools to Administer Driving Skills Tests 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  06/22/2022 
 
No.  54539  (Amendment)  R708-46:  Refugee, Asylee, or 
Covered Humanitarian Parolee Knowledge Test in Applicant's 
Native Language 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  06/22/2022 
 
 
Transportation 
Administration 
No.  54542  (Amendment)  R907-66:  Procurement of 
Consultant Services - Procedures and Contract 
Administration 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 

 
Workforce Services 
Employment Development 
No.  54576  (Amendment)  R986-100:  Employment Support 
Programs 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
No.  54577  (Amendment)  R986-300-306:  Time Limits 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  06/21/2022 
 
No.  54585  (Amendment)  R986-700:  Child Care Assistance 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
Housing and Community Development 
No.  54555  (Repeal)  R990-12:  State Small Business Credit 
Initiative Program Fund 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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