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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between July 02, 2022, 12:00 a.m., and July 15, 
2022, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the August 01, 2022, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least August 31, 2022.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through November 29, 2022, the agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days 
after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R68-7 Filing ID: 
54754 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry  
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB, South Bldg, 

Floor 2  
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Robert Hougaard  801-
982-
2305 

rhougaard@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-7.  Utah Pesticide Control Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Clarifications are needed that will improve management of 
the program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Clarifying language is added to make this rule easier to 
understand and more consistent between changes, based 
on feedback from program staff and suggestions from the 
Environmental Protection Agency.  Incorrect citations are 
fixed.  Other changes are made to make the rule text more 
consistent with the guidelines of the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The changes clarify rule requirements but don't alter the 
requirements of the program.  There should be no fiscal 
impact to the state. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments are not licensed as pesticide 
applicators or businesses and do not manage the program 
so they will not be impacted by the rule changes. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The changes clarify rule requirements but don't alter the 
requirements of the program.  There should be no fiscal 
impact to small businesses.  
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The changes clarify rule requirements but don't alter the 
requirements of the program.  There should be no fiscal 
impact to non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The changes clarify rule requirements but don't alter the 
requirements of the program.  There should be no fiscal 
impact to other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs will not change because program 
requirements are not changing. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
the regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-14-106   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/13/2022 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-7.  Utah Pesticide Control Rule. 
R68-7-1.  Authority. 
 Promulgated under authority of Section 4-14-106. 
 
R68-7-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commercial pesticide applicator" means any person 
who uses or applies pesticides for hire or compensation, or who 
makes pesticidal claims, remedies, or advertises for hire or 
compensation, or who solicits the use of pesticides for hire or 
compensation. 
 (2)  "Commercial pesticide business license" means a 
license issued by the department to a business responsible for 
supervising commercial pesticide applicators employed to apply 
pesticides on a commercial basis. 
 (3)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food 
 (4)  "EPA WPS" means the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) Worker Protection Standard, or the standards  
described in 40 CFR 170, as of January 2, 2017, which is [herein 
]incorporated by reference. 
 (5)  "EPA WPS Trainer" means a certified pesticide 
applicator of any type who trains workers and handlers in the WPS 
requirements and may also be a graduate of an EPA approved WPS 
Train the Trainer Program. 
 (6)  "Good standing" means a person has no outstanding 
infractions with the department and does not owe money to the 
department.  A person who has resolved their infractions, entered into 
and complying with a settlement agreement with the department or 
who has not exhausted their rights to appeal are potentially excluded 
from this categorization with department approval. 
 (7)  "Licensee" means the holder of a pesticide applicator 
license or a commercial pesticide business license issued by the 
department or a restricted use pesticide dealer. 
 (8)  "Non-commercial pesticide applicator" means any 
person working as an employee of any entity, firm, or government 
agency who uses or demonstrates the use of any restricted use 
pesticide on the entity's property, or any property occupied, managed, 
or under the direction or authority of any entity, firm, or government 
agency, and does not require  a commercial pesticide applicator's 
license. 
 (9)  "Pesticide" means the same as the term is defined in 
Section 4-14-102. 
 (10)  "Pesticide applicator" or "applicator" means a person 
who: 
 (a)  applies or supervises the application of a pesticide; or 
 (b)  is required by Title 4, Chapter 14 , Utah Pesticide 
Control Act, to have a license. 
 (11)  "Person" means an individual or entity 
 (12)  "Private pesticide applicator" means any person who 
uses, or supervises the use of, any restricted use pesticide for [the 
purpose of ]producing any agricultural commodity on private 
property owned, rented, or leased by the pesticide applicator, or on 
the private property of another, if applied without compensation. 
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 (13)  "Qualifying party" means the same as the term is 
defined in Section 4-14-102. 
 (14)  "Registrant" means the company responsible for the 
registration of a pesticide product. 
 (15)  "Restricted use pesticide" or "RUP" means any 
pesticide or pesticide use restricted by the administrator of EPA or by 
the department. 
 
R68-7-3.  Registration of Products. 
 Pesticide products distributed in Utah shall be  registered 
annually with the department. 
 (1)  Application for registration shall be made to the 
department on the department website, or on forms prepared and 
provided by the department, and shall include the following 
information: 
 (a)  [T]the name, address, telephone number, and email 
address of the  registrant, and the name, address, telephone number, 
and email address of the company whose name will appear on the 
label, if other than the registrant; 
 (b)  the name of the pesticide product, including the EPA 
Registration Number; 
 (c)  a list of the active ingredients; 
 (d)  if the product is an RUP, a general use pesticide, or a 
product claiming a Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide 
Act of 1972 (FIFRA), 7 U.S.C Section 136 et seq. Section 25(b) 
exemption; and 
 (e)  a complete copy of the pesticide product label as it will 
appear on the pesticide product. 
 (2)  The burden shall be on the registrant to notify the 
department of any changes to their contact information within 30 
days. 
 (3)  The department may require submission of the 
complete formula of any pesticide if it is deemed necessary for the 
administration of Title 4, Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide Control Act, 
FIFRA, or to enforce EPA requirements and guidelines. 
 (4)  The product shall be registered if: 
 (a)  it appears to the department that the composition of the 
product warrants the proposed claims for the product; and 
 (b)  the product, its labeling, and any other information that 
may be required to be submitted, complies with the requirements of 
Title 4, Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide Control Act, FIFRA, and EPA 
rules, requirements and guidelines 
 (5)  The registrant is responsible for the accuracy and 
completeness of the information submitted concerning any 
application for the registration of a pesticide product. 
 (6)  Once a pesticide product is registered no further state 
registration other than annual renewal is required, provided: 
 (a)  the product remains in the manufacturer's or registrant's 
original container; and 
 (b)  the claims made for it, the directions for its use, and 
other labeling information does not differ in substance from the 
representations made in connection with the registration. 
 (7)  If the name of a pesticide product is changed or there 
are changes in the product ingredients, a new registration is required.  
Other labeling changes do not require a new registration, but the 
registrant shall submit copies of any changes to the department as 
soon as they are effective. 
 (8)  If a registered pesticide product is to be discontinued 
for any reason, except when suspended or canceled by the EPA, the 
licensee shall provide notice of discontinuation to the department. 

 (a)  The department requires that a product be registered for 
a two-year discontinuation period starting from the date of the notice 
of discontinuation. 
 (b)  If  a product is found in commercial trade after the 
discontinuation period, the department shall require that the 
registrant register the product as outlined in Section 4-14-103. 
 (c)  If a product is suspended or canceled by the EPA, the 
product shall be removed as quickly as reasonably possible from sale 
in Utah. 
 (9)  The department may exempt, in its sole discretion, any 
pesticide that is determined either: 
 (a)  to be adequately regulated by a federal agency; or 
 (b)  to be of a character that is not subject to FIFRA. 
 (10)  A registrant who desires to register a pesticide to meet 
special local needs pursuant to FIFRA Section 24(c) shall comply 
with Section 4-14-103. 
 (11)  No registration is required for a pesticide distributed 
in Utah pursuant to an experimental use permit issued by the EPA or 
under Section 4-14-105. 
 (12)  A registration fee determined by the department, 
pursuant to Subsection 4-2-103(2), shall be paid annually for each 
product. 
 (13)  Each registration is renewed for a period of one year 
upon payment of the annual renewal fee determined by the 
department, pursuant to Subsection 4-2-103(2).  The renewal fee 
shall be paid on or before June 30 of each year.  If the renewal of a 
pesticide registration is not received [prior to]before July 1 of each 
year, an additional fee determined by the department, pursuant to 
Subsection 4-2-103(2), shall be assessed and added to the original 
registration fee, and shall be paid by the applicant before the 
registration renewal for that pesticide will be issued. 
 
R68-7-4.  Product Labeling. 
 (1)  Each container of pesticide distributed in Utah shall 
bear a label showing the information set forth in Section 4-14-104. 
 (2)  Each pesticide label shall contain the statements, 
words, graphic material, and any other information required by the 
EPA in 40 CFR 156. 
 
R68-7-5.  Classification of Pesticides. 
 (1)  The department shall classify each pesticide product 
registered in Utah for either restricted use or general use according to 
standards consistent with FIFRA Section 3. 
 (2)  The department may also classify other substances as 
pesticides or restrict the use of any substance as a pesticide if the 
department determines, in its sole discretion, that such a substance 
may pose a risk to the health or safety of the public or the 
environment. 
 (3)  Restricted use pesticides shall not be used by any 
person that does not have a valid pesticide applicator license with the 
appropriate category for its use, except they may be used by: 
 (a)  a pesticide handler, supervised by a certified pesticide 
applicator under the EPA WPS and who meets the qualifications in 
Subsection R68-7-6(6); or 
 (b)  a pesticide handler acting upon an [e]Emergency 
[u]Use [p]Permit issued under this rule. 
 
R68-7-6.  Certification of Pesticide Applicators. 
 (1)  A pesticide applicator shall be certified by the 
department as a commercial pesticide applicator, non-commercial 
pesticide applicator, or a private pesticide applicator. 
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 (2)  A pesticide applicator shall comply with  FIFRA and 
Title 4, Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide Control Act. 
 (3)  A pesticide applicator shall follow the directions on a 
pesticide product label. 
 (4)  [To be certified, a]A pesticide applicator shall be at 
least [eighteen]18 years of age. 
 (5)  A [commercial]certified pesticide applicator may use 
restricted use, general use, or any other classification of pesticide, 
including FIFRA Section 25(b) products. 
 (6)  A person who is at least 16 years of age may apply 
restricted use pesticides while under the direct supervision of a 
certified pesticide applicator, who is also an immediate family 
member, according to the family exemption of the EPA WPS, if they 
only apply  pesticides on the privately owned agricultural 
establishment of a certified pesticide applicator who is also an 
immediate family member. 
 (7)  An EPA WPS trainer is a certified pesticide applicator 
of any type who trains workers and handlers in the WPS requirements 
under 40 CFR 170. 
 (8)  An EPA WPS trainer may also be a graduate of an EPA 
approved WPS Train the Trainer Program, as set forth in 40 CFR 170. 
 (9)  Commercial and non-commercial EPA WPS trainers 
shall have the Agricultural Pest Control: Plant [Pesticide]pesticide 
category on their license, pursuant to Subsection [R68-7-8]R68-7-
7(1)(a). 
 
R68-7-7.  Pesticide Certification Categories. 
 Pesticide applicators shall [also ]be certified by the 
department in one or more of the pest control categories defined 
[below]in this section: 
 (1)  Agricultural Pest Control. 
 (a)  Plant.  This category includes applicators applying 
pesticides to control pests in the production of agricultural crops 
including field crops, vegetables, fruits, pasture, rangelands, and non-
crop agricultural lands. 
 (b)  Animal.  This category includes applicators applying 
pesticides on animals including beef and dairy cattle, swine, sheep, 
horses, goats, poultry, and to places on or in which animals inhabit.  
Doctors of veterinary medicine, or their employees, engaged in 
applying pesticides for hire, publicly representing themselves as 
pesticide applicators, or engaged in the use of pesticides, are included 
in this category. 
 (2)  Forest Pest Control.  This category includes applicators 
applying pesticides in forests, forest nurseries, and forest seed-
producing areas. 
 (3)  Ornamental and Turf Pest Control.  This category 
includes applicators applying pesticides to control ornamental and 
turf pests in the maintenance and production of ornamental trees, 
shrubs, flowers and turf.  This includes controlling pests on 
sidewalks, driveways, and other similar locations. 
 (4)  Seed Treatment.  This category includes applicators 
applying pesticides on seeds in seed treatment facilities. 
 (5)  Aquatic Pest Control. 
 (a)  Surface Water.  This category includes applicators 
applying pesticides to control pests in standing or running water.  
This pesticide category does not include applicators engaged in 
public health related activities included in Subsection [R68-7-
8(8)]R68-7-7(8). 
 (b)  Sewer Root Control.  This category includes 
applicators applying pesticides to control roots in sewers or other 
related systems. 

 (6)  Right-of-Way Pest Control.  This category includes 
applicators applying pesticides in the maintenance of public roads, 
electric power lines, pipelines, railway rights-of-way, or other similar 
areas. 
 (7)  Structural and Health Related Pest Control.  This 
category includes applicators applying pesticides in, on, or around 
any public or private food handling establishment; dwelling, 
educational institution, or medical institution; industrial building; 
business establishment; packing house; food-processing facility;  
prison; manufacturing facility; grain elevator;  or any other structure 
or area, or immediately adjacent structure or area, to control pests.  
This category excludes any [fumigation pesticide 
applications]pesticide applications included in Subsection R68-7-
7(13) Fumigation Pest Control and Subsection R68-7-7(15) Wood 
Destroying Organisms Pest Control.  This category includes 
applicators applying pesticides on vertebrate pests in buildings and 
structures, and immediately adjacent to, or no further than three feet 
from, buildings and structures.  If the label for a structural pesticide 
permits the use of the pesticide more than three feet from the 
structure, then the pesticide may be used beyond three feet from the 
structure, but may not exceed the maximum distance permitted by the 
label. 
 (8)  Public Health Pest Control. 
 (a)  Commercial.  This category is limited to commercial 
pesticide applicators who apply pesticides for the management and 
control of pests due to issues of medical and public health 
importance.  This category is only valid when the pesticide applicator 
is actively contracted by a government entity, and is actively engaged 
in applying pesticides for that government entity. 
 (b)  Non-Commercial.  This category is limited to state and 
federal employees, county or city governments, or persons under 
their direct supervision, who apply pesticides in government-
sponsored public health programs for the management and control of 
pests due to issues of medical and public health importance. 
 (9)  Regulatory Pest Control.  This category is limited to 
state and federal employees who: 
 (a)  apply pesticides in a mechanical ejection device; or 
 (b)  apply pesticides in a protective collar or other method 
to control regulated pests. 
 (10)  Demonstration, Consultation, and Research Pest 
Control.  This category includes [individuals]applicators who 
demonstrate or provide instruction to the public in the proper use, 
techniques, benefits, and methods of applying restricted use 
pesticides.  This category includes agricultural compliance 
specialists, educational and university personnel, commercial 
business representatives, consultants and advisors, and persons 
conducting field research with restricted use pesticides.  In addition 
to certification in this pesticide category, individuals shall also meet 
specific standards that may be applicable to their particular pesticide 
category. 
 (11)  Aerial Application Pest Control.  This category 
includes applicators applying pesticides by airplane, drone, 
helicopter, or any other type of aircraft.  Aerial applicators are 
required to be certified in the Aerial Application Pest Control 
category, along with any other applicable pest control category for 
any intended pesticide application.  Aerial pesticide applicators shall 
also possess a valid commercial pilot license, or equivalent remote 
pilot certifications, issued by the Federal Aviation Administration 
(FAA). 
 (12)  Vertebrate Animal Pest Control.  This category 
includes applicators applying pesticides for the outdoor control of 
vertebrate pests, such as rodents, birds, bats, predators, or domestic 
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animal pests.  This category excludes any pesticide applications 
included in Subsection R68-7-7(9) Regulatory Pest Control, and 
specifically excludes the use of sodium cyanide and sodium 
fluoroacetate. 
 (13)  Fumigation Pest Control. 
 (a)  Stored Commodities.  This category includes 
applicators applying fumigants to control pests in, on, or around 
stored grains, grain elevators, mills, structures, railroad cars, 
manufactured products, or similar areas or items. 
 (b)  Structural.  This category includes applicators applying 
fumigants to control pests while additionally tenting, sealing with 
filling, or completely enclosing a structure. 
 (c)  Soil.  This category includes applicators applying 
fumigants in and on the soil of agricultural locations. 
 (14)  Wood Preservation Pest Control.  This category 
includes applicators applying preservative pesticides to wood 
products, such as fence posts, electrical poles, railroad ties, or any 
other form of wood product. 
 (15)  Wood Destroying Organisms Pest Control.  This 
category includes applicators applying pesticides to control wood 
destroying pests, termites, carpenter ants, wood-boring or tunneling 
insects, bees, wasps, wood-decaying fungi, and any other pests 
destroying wood products. 
 
R68-7-8.  Standards of Competence for Certification of Pesticide 
Applicators and Pesticide Businesses. 
 (1)  Pesticide applicators shall be at least 18 years of age 
[in order ]to obtain a commercial, non-commercial, or private 
pesticide applicator license. 
 (2)  The basic standards for certification of pesticide 
applicators have been established by the EPA, and shall be the 
minimum standards required for certification of pesticide applicators 
in Utah. 
 (3)  Commercial and non-commercial pesticide applicators 
shall demonstrate competency and practical knowledge by 
successfully completing the written pesticide applicator core test and 
any additional pesticide category tests.  The pesticide applicator tests 
shall include core standards applicable to each pesticide category, and 
the standards specifically identified for each pesticide category, or 
subcategory, as set forth in 40 C[.]F[.]R 171.103, and the EPA[-] 
approved Utah State Pesticide Applicator Certification Plan, 
including; 
 (a)  familiarity with pesticide labels and labeling and their 
functions, including each of the following: 
 (i)  the general format and terminology of pesticide labels 
and labeling; 
 (ii)  understanding instructions, warnings, terms, symbols, 
and other information commonly appearing on pesticide labels and 
labeling; 
 (iii)  understanding that it is a violation of federal law to 
use any registered pesticide in a manner inconsistent with its labeling; 
 (iv)  understanding labeling requirements that a certified 
applicator must be physically present at the site of the application; 
 (v)  understanding labeling requirements for supervising 
non-certified applicators working under the direct supervision of a 
certified applicator; 
 (vi)  understanding that applicators shall comply with any 
use restrictions and directions for use contained in pesticide labels 
and labeling, including being certified in the certification category 
appropriate to the type and site of the application; 

 (vii)  understanding the meaning of product classification 
as either general or restricted use and that a product may be 
unclassified; 
 (viii)  understanding and complying with product-specific 
notification requirements; and 
 (ix)  recognizing and understanding the difference between 
mandatory and advisory labeling language; 
 (b)  safety measures to avoid or minimize adverse health 
effects, including each of the following: 
 (i)  understanding the different natures of the risks of acute 
toxicity and chronic toxicity, as well as the long-term effects of 
pesticides; 
 (ii)  understanding that a pesticide's risk is a function of 
exposure and the pesticide's toxicity; 
 (iii)  recognition of likely ways in which dermal, inhalation, 
and oral exposure may occur; 
 (iv)  common types and causes of pesticide mishaps; 
 (v)  precautions to prevent injury to applicators and other 
individuals in or near treated areas; 
 (vi)  need for, and proper use of, protective clothing and 
personal protective equipment; 
 (vii)  symptoms of pesticide poisoning; 
 (viii)  first aid and other procedures to be followed in case 
of a pesticide mishap; and 
 (ix)  proper identification, storage, transport, handling, 
mixing procedures, and disposal methods for pesticides and used 
pesticide containers, including precautions to be taken to prevent 
children from having access to pesticides and pesticide containers; 
 (c)  the potential environmental consequences of the use 
and misuse of pesticides, including the influence of each of the 
following: 
 (i)  weather and other indoor and outdoor climatic 
conditions; 
 (ii)  types of terrain, soil, or other substrate; 
 (iii)  presence of fish, wildlife, and other non-target 
organisms; and 
 (iv)  drainage patterns; 
 (d)  the proper identification and effective control of pests, 
including each of the following: 
 (i)  the importance of correctly identifying target pests and 
selecting the proper pesticide product for effective pest control; and 
 (ii)  verifying that the labeling does not prohibit the use of 
the product to control the target pests; 
 (e)  characteristics of pesticides, including each of the 
following: 
 (i)  types of pesticides; 
 (ii)  types of formulations; 
 (iii)  compatibility, synergism, persistence, and animal and 
plant toxicity of the formulations; 
 (iv)  hazards and residues associated with use; 
 (v)  factors that influence effectiveness or lead to problems 
such as pesticide resistance; and 
 (vi)  dilution procedures; 
 (f)  application equipment, including each of the following: 
 (i)  types of equipment and advantages and limitations of 
each type; and 
 (ii)  use, maintenance, and calibration procedures; 
 (g)  selecting appropriate application methods, including 
each of the following: 
 (i)  methods used to apply various forms and formulations 
of pesticides; 
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 (ii)  knowledge of which application method to use in a 
given situation and that use of a fumigant, aerial application, sodium 
cyanide, or sodium fluoroacetate requires additional certification; 
 (iii)  how selection of application method and use of a 
pesticide may result in proper use, unnecessary or ineffective use, and 
misuse; and 
 (iv)  prevention of drift and pesticide loss into the 
environment; 
 (h)  knowledge of all applicable state, tribal, and federal 
laws and regulations.; and 
 (i)  professionalism, including understanding the 
importance of each of the following: 
 (i)  maintaining chemical security for restricted use 
pesticides; 
 (ii)  how to communicate information about pesticide 
exposures and risks with customers and the public; and 
 (iii)  appropriate product stewardship for certified 
applicators. 
 (4)  The standards for commercial, non-commercial, and 
private applicators do not apply to the following persons for the 
purposes of this rule: 
 (a)  persons conducting research involving restricted use 
pesticides who have received state approval; 
 (b)  doctors of medicine and doctors of veterinary medicine 
applying pesticides, drugs, or medication during [the course of ]their 
normal practice, and who do not publicly represent themselves as 
pesticide applicators; 
 (c)  persons using a general use disinfectant, sanitizer, or 
deodorizer commercially, and not for the control of insects, weeds, 
rodents, or similar pests, or use in settings outside of a structure; or 
 (d)  persons using a general use fungicide for interior 
structural cleaning or interior structural mold remediation. 
 (5)  Aerial Pesticide Applicator.  An aerial pesticide 
applicator shall demonstrate competence and practical knowledge of 
aerial pest control in a wide variety of environments by successfully 
completing the aerial pesticide applicator test.  Aerial pesticide 
applicators shall [have knowledge of]know the significance of drift, 
and of the potential for non-target injury and environmental 
contamination.  Aerial pesticide applicators shall obtain the Aerial 
Application Pest Control category certification, along with any 
additional pesticide category certifications for which they shall apply 
pesticides.  Aerial pesticide applicators shall comply with each 
standard set forth by the FAA, and shall submit proof of current 
registration with the FAA as an additional requirement for receiving 
an aerial pesticide applicator certification. 
 (6)  Private Pesticide Applicator.  A private pesticide 
applicator shall demonstrate competence and practical knowledge by 
successfully completing the private pesticide applicator test, and any 
required additional pesticide category tests.  This knowledge shall 
include the basic standards for certification of private applicators set 
forth in 40 CFR 171.105. This includes: 
 (a)  familiarity with pesticide labels and labeling and their 
functions, including each of the following: 
 (i)  the general format and terminology of pesticide labels 
and labeling; 
 (ii)  understanding instructions, warnings, terms, symbols, 
and other information commonly appearing on pesticide labels and 
labeling; 
 (iii)  understanding that it is a violation of federal law to 
use any registered pesticide in a manner inconsistent with its labeling; 

 (iv)  understanding when a certified applicator shall be 
physically present at the site of the application based on labeling 
requirements; 
 (v)  [U]understanding labeling requirements for 
supervising non-certified applicators working under the direct 
supervision of a certified applicator; 
 (vi)  understanding that applicators shall comply with each 
use restriction and directions for use contained in pesticide labels and 
labeling, including being certified in the appropriate category to use 
restricted use pesticides for fumigation or aerial application, or 
predator control devices containing sodium cyanide or sodium 
fluoroacetate, if applicable; 
 (vii)  understanding the meaning of product classification 
as either general or restricted use, and that a product may be 
unclassified; 
 (viii)  understanding and complying with product-specific 
notification requirements; and 
 (ix)  recognizing and understanding the difference between 
mandatory and advisory labeling language; 
 (b)  safety measures to avoid or minimize adverse health 
effects, including each of the following: 
 (i)  understanding the different natures of the risks of acute 
toxicity and chronic toxicity, as well as the long-term effects of 
pesticides; 
 (ii)  understanding that a pesticide's risk is a function of 
exposure and the pesticide's toxicity; 
 (iii)  recognition of likely ways in which dermal, inhalation, 
and oral exposure may occur; 
 (iv)  common types and causes of pesticide mishaps; 
 (v)  precautions to prevent injury to applicators and other 
individuals in or near treated areas; 
 (vi)  need for, and proper use of, protective clothing and 
personal protective equipment; 
 (vii)  symptoms of pesticide poisoning; 
 (viii)  first aid and other procedures to be followed in case 
of a pesticide mishap; and 
 (ix)  proper identification, storage, transport, handling, 
mixing procedures, and disposal methods for pesticides and used 
pesticide containers, including precautions to be taken to prevent 
children from having access to pesticides and pesticide containers; 
 (c)  the potential environmental consequences of the use 
and misuse of pesticides, including the influence of the following: 
 (i)  weather and other climatic conditions; 
 (ii)  types of terrain, soil, or other substrate; 
 (iii)  presence of fish, wildlife, and other non-target 
organisms; and 
 (iv)  drainage patterns; 
 (d)  the proper identification and effective control of pests, 
including each of the following: 
 (i)  the importance of correctly identifying target pests and 
selecting the proper pesticide product; and 
 (ii)  verifying that the labeling does not prohibit the use of 
the product to control the target pests; 
 (e)  characteristics of pesticides, including [all of ]the 
following: 
 (i)  types of pesticides; 
 (ii)  types of formulations; 
 (iii)  compatibility, synergism, persistence, and animal and 
plant toxicity of the formulations; 
 (iv)  hazards and residues associated with use; 
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 (v)  factors that influence effectiveness or lead to problems 
such as pesticide resistance; and 
 (vi)  dilution procedures; 
 (f)  application equipment, including each of the following: 
 (i)  types of equipment and advantages and limitations of 
each type; and 
 (ii)  uses, maintenance, and calibration procedures; 
 (g)  selecting appropriate application methods, including 
each of the following: 
 (i)  methods used to apply various forms and formulations 
of pesticides; 
 (ii)  knowledge of which application method to use in a 
given situation and that use of a fumigant, aerial application, or 
predator control device containing sodium cyanide or sodium 
fluoroacetate requires additional certification; 
 (iii)  how selection of application method and use of a 
pesticide may result in proper use, unnecessary or ineffective use, and 
misuse; and 
 (iv)  prevention of drift and pesticide loss into the 
environment; 
 (h)  knowledge of each applicable state, tribal, and federal 
laws and regulations, including understanding the WPS and the 
circumstances where compliance is required; 
 (i)  certified applicator responsibilities related to 
supervision of non-certified applicators, including each of the 
following: 
 (i)  understanding and complying with requirements in 40 
C[.]F[.]R[.] 171.201 and 40 CFR 171.501 for private applicators who 
supervise non-certified applicators using restricted use pesticides; 
 (ii)  providing use-specific instructions to non-certified 
applicators using restricted use pesticides under the direct 
supervision of a certified applicator; and 
 (iii)  explaining appropriate state, tribal, and federal laws 
and regulations to non-certified applicators working under the direct 
supervision of a certified applicator; 
 (j)  understanding stewardship and the importance of each 
of the following: 
 (i)  maintaining chemical security for restricted use 
pesticides; and 
 (ii)  how to communicate information about pesticide 
exposures and risks with agricultural workers and handlers and other 
persons; 
 (k)  practical knowledge of pest control applications to 
agricultural commodities including each of the following: 
 (i)  specific pests of relevant agricultural commodities; 
 (ii)  how to avoid contamination of ground and surface 
waters; 
 (iii)  understanding pre-harvest and restricted entry 
intervals and entry-restricted periods and areas; 
 (iv)  understanding specific pesticide toxicity and residue 
potential when pesticides are applied to animal or animal product 
agricultural commodities; and 
 (v)  relative hazards associated with using pesticides on 
animals or places in which animals are confined based on 
formulation, application technique, age of animal, stress, and extent 
of treatment. 
 (7)  A [licensed ]private pesticide applicator that functions 
in a supervisory role shall be responsible for the actions of any non-
certified pesticide handlers under their instruction and control. 
 (8)  A private pesticide applicator shall provide non-
certified pesticide handlers under their supervision instructions on the 
EPA WPS pesticide handler applicator training, including 40 CFR 

171.201 and 40 CFR 170.501, and keep records of having provided 
these instructions for a period of two years. 
 (9)  A  private pesticide applicator shall be physically 
present to supervise the application of any pesticide by a non-
certified handler, if such presence is required by the label of the 
pesticide being applied. 
 
R68-7-9.  Commercial Pesticide Applicator Licensing and 
Certification Procedures. 
 (1)  Commercial Pesticide Applicator and Commercial 
Pesticide Business License Required. 
 (a)  Each person performing the physical act of applying a 
pesticide, shall be certified by the department and have a valid license 
issued by the department.  No person shall apply, advertise for, solicit, 
or hold oneself out as willing to engage in the business of applying 
any pesticide for hire or compensation to the land or property of 
another at any time without becoming certified as a pesticide 
applicator, obtaining a commercial pesticide applicator license, and: 
 (i)  obtaining a commercial pesticide business license, as 
described in Section 4-14-111 issued by the department; or 
 (ii)  working for a company that has already obtained a 
commercial pesticide business license. 
 (b)  The fees for a commercial pesticide applicator license 
and a commercial pesticide business license, shall be determined in 
accordance with Subsection 4-2-103(2) and Section 63J-1-504. 
 (c)  A commercial pesticide applicator license is required 
for any individual who applies pesticides for a commercial business.  
No person shall purchase, use, or demonstrate the use of, any 
restricted use pesticide, or shall apply any pesticide for a commercial 
business, without becoming certified and obtaining a commercial 
pesticide applicator license issued by the department. 
 (2)  An applicant for a commercial pesticide applicator 
license shall: 
 (a)  complete an application on the department's website or 
on forms prepared and provided by the department;[ and] 
 (b)  pay the licensing fees[.]; and 
 (c)  [A]a license will only be issued after the applicant has 
successfully passed the required pesticide applicator tests to become 
certified, or after recertifying according to the Continuing Education 
Unit (CEU) requirements. 
 ([d]3)  A testing fee, retest fee, or any related fee, may be 
determined by department approved testing centers, according to 
their own individual policies. 
 ([3]4)  An applicant for a commercial pesticide business 
license shall: 
 (a)  complete an application form provided by the 
department; 
 (b)  pay the licensing fee; 
 (c)  be in good standing with the department; 
 (d)  demonstrate good character; and 
 (e)  provide evidence that the owner or qualifying party: 
 (i)  is a certified pesticide applicator in [the State of ]Utah; 
 (ii)  is not a designated qualifying party or employee with 
any other pesticide applicator business; 
 (iii)  has been a certified pesticide applicator for at least two 
years out of the ten years immediately [prior to]before the date of the 
commercial pesticide business application; or 
 (iv)  holds an associate degree, or higher, in horticulture, 
agricultural sciences, biological sciences, pest management, or a 
related and relevant science degree. 
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 (f)  A person applying for a commercial pesticide business 
license may be exempted from the two year certification requirement 
if the individual's and entity's sole use of pesticides is limited to: 
 (i)  providing ornamental and turf herbicide spot treatment 
services as part of a lawn maintenance service; and 
 (ii)  using herbicides with labels that contain the signal 
word "caution" or "warning."[.] 
 (g)  A commercial pesticide business operating under more 
than one business identity or name, from a single business location, 
shall be licensed separately for each business identity or name. 
 (h)  A commercial pesticide business  with a single business 
identity or name, but operating from more than one business location, 
shall be licensed at each separate business location.  Business 
locations that are used only for pesticide storage and mixing purposes 
are exempt from licensing requirements, but  shall be disclosed to the 
department. 
 (i)  The department may require a commercial pesticide 
business license applicant to change their requested business name.  
This may occur if the applicant requests a business name that is the 
same, or closely resembles, the name of a currently licensed 
commercial pesticide business.  The department may additionally 
require a commercial pesticide business, or commercial pesticide 
business license applicant, to change their business name if the 
business name could reasonably cause public confusion, public 
alarm, or public offense.  Any determination made pursuant to this 
subsection shall be at the sole discretion of the department in 
coordination with the state Division of Corporations.  The purpose of 
this subsection is to ensure compliance with current guidance from 
the Division of Corporations.  The department shall prioritize 
licensing a business name that is registered with the Division of 
Corporations. 
 (j)  Each licensed commercial pesticide business location 
shall have a minimum of one certified commercial pesticide 
applicator at that location who is certified in each pesticide category 
for which pesticide applications are made. 
 (k)  A franchised commercial pesticide business  licensee 
shall have a separate commercial pesticide business license and a 
separate certified commercial pesticide applicator at each business 
location.  Additionally, franchised businesses shall be distinctly 
identifiable from one another, to avoid departmental and public 
confusion, by adding unique words or numbers to distinguish the 
different businesses. 
 (l)  If a commercial pesticide business  licensee  uses a 
Doing Business As (DBA) name, it shall be listed on the pesticide 
business application along with the company name.  A business may 
list more than one assumed name on a single registration application.  
Any DBA shall be registered and active with the Division of 
Corporations. 
 
R68-7-10.  Commercial Pesticide Applicator and Commercial 
Pesticide Business Testing Procedures. 
 (1)  Commercial Pesticide Applicator Testing.  To become 
certified, an applicant for a commercial pesticide applicator license 
shall demonstrate competency and knowledge of pesticide 
applications, laws, and other relevant subjects by successfully 
completing the required pesticide applicator tests and department 
application forms.  Each  pesticide applicator test shall be proctored 
at a department approved testing center. 
 (a)  An applicant shall first pay any licensing fees to the 
department, and obtain a receipt of license payment. 
 (b)  An applicant shall find a testing center from a list of 
approved testing centers on the department's website. 

 (c)  An applicant shall schedule each required pesticide 
applicator test with a testing center. 
 (d)  Fees for testing may be established and charged by the 
testing center, including those operated by the department. 
 (e)  An applicant may acquire study materials from the 
department website or purchase them from a separate vendor. 
 (f)  An applicant shall present their receipt of license 
payment from the department, and valid government issued 
identification, to the proctor at the applicant's chosen testing center. 
 (g)  Cheating, ejection from testing, or failure to follow the 
rules of the department or testing center shall, at the discretion of the 
department, constitute a violation of this rule and may serve as a basis 
for a denial of a license application .  Applicants are subject to state 
and federal law and department rules and policies regardless of 
whether the applicant successfully passes or not. 
 (h)  The pesticide applicator core test must be successfully 
completed with a minimum score of 70% before any pesticide 
category tests may be attempted. 
 (i)  At least one pesticide category test shall be taken and 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70% before a 
license may be obtained. 
 (j)  The steps to re[-]certify solely by testing are the same 
as for an initial applicant.  The pesticide applicator core test must be 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70% before any 
pesticide category tests may be attempted. 
 (k)  Upon the successful completion of the appropriate 
pesticide applicator tests, the applicant shall complete the 
department's completion form, which can be found online in the 
testing program. 
 (l)  [w]When the completion form has been submitted, a 
license may be issued. 
 (m)  The rules of a testing center, if more restrictive than 
those of the department, shall take precedence over those of the 
department during the administration of pesticide applicator tests. 
 (n)  If the minimum score of 70% is not obtained after two 
attempts, the person taking the tests shall wait at least 24 hours, pay 
any additional retest fees to the testing center, and begin retesting on 
any failed tests. 
 (2)  Commercial Pesticide Business Testing.  The test shall 
be taken by the  owner, principal agent, manager, or designated 
qualifying party, and that individual shall be bound by the rules for a 
commercial pesticide business contained in Subsection R68-7-10(1). 
 (a)  Business license tests may be taken on any computer 
with internet access. 
 (b)  In the event the individual taking the test does not 
successfully pass the test with a minimum score of 70%, a 
commercial pesticide business license shall not be issued. 
 
R68-7-11.  Commercial Pesticide Applicator and Commercial 
Pesticide Business License Issuance. 
 (1)  A temporary pesticide applicator permit shall be issued 
automatically by email following the successful completion of the 
pesticide applicator core test in conjunction with each pesticide 
category test and provided each other department requirement is met.  
The temporary permit will expire 30 days from the date it was issued.  
The pesticide applicator core test must be successfully completed 
with a minimum score of 70% before any pesticide category tests 
may be attempted.  A temporary pesticide applicator permit is invalid 
if only the pesticide applicator core test is successfully completed and 
no additional pesticide category test is successfully completed. 
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 (2)  The pesticide applicator and pesticide business is 
responsible for verifying that their license has been processed by the 
department. 
 (3)  A commercial pesticide applicator license or a 
commercial pesticide business license shall be issued when the 
following conditions have been met: 
 (a)  the applicant has submitted an application form to the 
department; 
 (b)  any required fees have been paid; 
 (c)  the applicant is in good standing with the department; 
 (d)  the applicant has successfully passed the appropriate 
tests to apply pesticides in the classifications and categories for which 
they have applied; and 
 (e)  the applicant for the qualifying party for the pesticide 
business license meets the requirements in Section 4-14-111. 
 (4)  A commercial pesticide applicator license shall expire 
on December 31 of the third calendar year from the time of licensure, 
unless it has been revoked or suspended by the department  for cause, 
which may include any combination of the unlawful acts listed  in 
Section R68-7-20. 
 (5)  If an application for a commercial pesticide applicator 
license or commercial pesticide business license is denied, the 
applicant shall be informed of the reason by email or mail. 
 (6)  A pesticide applicator [is required to]shall have their 
license in their immediate possession when making a pesticide 
application. 
 (7)  If a pesticide applicator requests a duplicate license 
from the department, a fee determined by the department, pursuant 
to Subsection 4-2-103(2), shall be paid.  The pesticide applicator 
must be in good standing, having no unresolved violations or fines, 
before a replacement license shall be issued. 
 (8)  A commercial pesticide business license shall be 
required for each commercial pesticide business location, other than 
locations used only to store and load pesticides. 
 (9)  A new commercial pesticide applicator or commercial 
pesticide business license applicant who completes an application 
completed between November 1 and December 31 shall be licensed 
for the remainder of that year and the following three calendar years. 
 (10)  Commercial Pesticide Applicator and Commercial 
Pesticide Business License Recertification and Renewal. 
 (a)  Each commercial pesticide applicator and commercial 
pesticide business license shall expire on December 31 of the third 
calendar year following its issuance. 
 (b)  Commercial pesticide applicators shall recertify before 
their license expires, and may be subject to re-examination at any 
time during their valid license period. 
 (c)  Recertification options include: 
 (i)  completion of the original certification process by 
taking the required pesticide core and pesticide category tests and 
successfully completing each required test with a minimum score of 
70%; or 
 (ii)  participation in approved CEUs and accumulating the 
required amount of 24 total CEU credits during the licensure period.  
A minimum of two credits in law, six in safety, and ten in pesticide 
use are required, while any combination of the three categories may 
be used for the remaining six credits. 
 (d)  The qualifying party for a commercial pesticide 
business shall complete the related commercial pesticide business 
test every three years. 
 (11)  Records Maintained.  Commercial applicators shall 
keep and maintain records of any pesticide applications. 

 (a)  These records shall be recorded within 24 hours after 
the pesticide application is made. 
 (b)  The application records shall include the following 
information: 
 (i)  the name and address of the person or entity for whom 
the pesticide is applied; 
 (ii)  the address of the pesticide application location, if the 
pesticide application location differs from Subsection R68-7-
11(11)(a)(i) ; 
 (iii)  the total square footage or total size of the area to be 
treated with pesticides; 
 (iv)  a description of the specific target sites, crops, 
commodities, or stored products at the pesticide application location 
to which any pesticides are applied; 
 (v)  the time and date, including the month, day, and year 
when the pesticide was applied; 
 (vi)  the brand name of the pesticides, EPA registration 
number, and mix rate for any pesticides applied; 
 (vii)  the total amount of pesticides, including diluted or 
ready-to-use (RTU) pesticides, applied per location and per 
application; 
 (viii)  the purpose of the pesticide application, the pesticide 
target site, and pest to be treated; 
 (ix)  the name, commercial pesticide business address, and 
commercial pesticide applicator license number of the certified 
commercial pesticide applicator who applied the pesticides; and 
 (c)  Records shall be kept for a period of at least two years 
from the date of the pesticide application and shall be available for 
inspection by the department upon request. 
 (d)  Records shall be furnished in a uniform format. 
 (12)  Notwithstanding the requirements of this section, the 
department may give consideration to political subdivisions of the 
state, or a non-profit organization, regarding their need to obtain a 
[C]commercial [P]pesticide [B]business [L]license or the 
requirement of their applicators to obtain a [C]commercial 
[P]pesticide [A]applicator [L]license. 
 (a)  Consideration shall  be given to political subdivisions 
if their charter includes a fee for pesticide services or products. 
 (b)  Non-profit organizations may not need to obtain the 
commercial pesticide business license or the commercial pesticide 
applicator license to receive reimbursement for applications made on 
public land owned by the federal government or the state. 
 (c)  Application or distribution of restricted use pesticides 
shall be done in accordance with this rule. 
 
R68-7-12.  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicators. 
 (1)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator License 
Required. 
 (a)  A non-commercial pesticide applicator license is 
required for applying restricted use pesticides for a city, county, state, 
or federal government entity, or for corporations, businesses, or any 
other entity[,] that  does not require a commercial pesticide applicator 
license. 
 (b)  No person shall purchase, use, or demonstrate the use 
of any restricted use pesticide without becoming certified and 
obtaining a non-commercial pesticide applicator license issued by the 
department. 
 (c)  Each person performing the physical act of applying 
restricted use pesticides shall be certified and have a valid non-
commercial pesticide applicator license. 
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 (2)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator Application and 
Fee Requirements.  The fees for a non-commercial pesticide 
applicator license shall be determined in accordance with Subsection 
4-2-103(2) and Section 63J-1-504. 
 (a)  An application for a non-commercial pesticide 
applicator license shall be made on the approved department form. 
 (b)  A non-commercial pesticide applicator license shall 
only be issued  after the applicant has successfully passed the 
required pesticide applicator tests, or after recertifying according to 
CEU requirements. 
 (c)  Each individual performing the physical act of applying 
restricted use pesticides shall be licensed as a non-commercial 
pesticide applicator. 
 ([b]d)  A testing fee, retest fee, or any related fee, may be 
determined by approved testing centers, according to their own 
individual policies. 
 (3)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator Initial 
Certification. 
 (a)  Fees for testing may be established and charged by any 
testing center, including those operated by the department. 
 (b)  The applicant may acquire any necessary study 
materials from the department website. 
 (c)  The applicant should schedule required pesticide 
applicator tests with a testing center approved by the department. 
 (4)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator Testing 
Procedures. 
 (a)  A new applicant for a non-commercial pesticide license 
shall demonstrate competency and knowledge of pesticide 
applications, laws, and other relevant subjects by successfully 
completing the approved pesticide applicator tests and department 
application forms.  Pesticide applicator tests shall be proctored at 
approved testing centers. 
 (b)  An applicant for a non-commercial pesticide applicator 
license shall first pay licensing fees to the department, and obtain a 
receipt of license payment. 
 (c)  An applicant for a non-commercial pesticide applicator 
license shall find a testing center from a list of approved testing 
centers on the department's website. 
 (d)  An applicant for a non-commercial pesticide applicator 
license shall present their receipt of license payment from the 
department, and valid government issued identification, to the 
proctor at the applicant's chosen testing center. 
 (e)  Cheating, ejection from testing, or failure to follow the 
rules of the department or testing center shall, at the discretion of the 
department, constitute fraud under these rules.  Applicants are subject 
to this rule, regardless [if]of whether the applicant successfully 
passes or not. 
 (f)  The pesticide applicator core test must be successfully 
completed with a minimum score of 70%, before any pesticide 
category tests may be attempted. 
 (g)  At least one pesticide category test must be taken and 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70% before a non-
commercial pesticide applicator license may be obtained. 
 (h)  The steps to re[-]certify solely by testing are the same 
as for an initial applicant.  The pesticide applicator core test must be 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70%, before any 
pesticide category tests may be attempted. 
 (i)  Upon the successful completion of the appropriate 
pesticide applicator tests, the applicant shall complete the 
department's completion form, which can be found online in the 
testing program. 

 (j)  The rules of a testing center, if more restricting than 
those of the department, shall take precedence over those of the 
department during the administration of the pesticide applicator tests. 
 (k)  If the minimum score of 70% is not obtained after two 
attempts, the person taking the tests must wait 24 hours, pay any 
additional retest fees to the testing center, and begin retesting on any 
failed tests. 
 (5)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification 
Tests and Review.  The pesticide applicator tests and methods of 
testing shall be determined and approved by the department.  The 
review of applications shall be made by the department for 
determining eligibility. 
 (6)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator License 
Issuance. 
 (a)  A  temporary pesticide applicator permit shall be issued 
automatically by email for the successful completion of the pesticide 
applicator core test and each pesticide category test and provided 
each other department requirement is met.  The temporary permit will 
expire 30 days from the date it was issued.  The pesticide applicator 
core test must be successfully completed with a minimum score of 
70%, before any pesticide category tests may be attempted.  A 
temporary pesticide applicator permit is not valid if only the pesticide 
applicator core test is successfully completed, and no additional 
pesticide category test is successfully completed. 
 (b)  The pesticide applicator is responsible to verify their 
license is processed by the department. 
 (c)  A non-commercial pesticide applicator license shall be 
issued when the following conditions have been met: 
 (i)  an application form has been submitted to the 
department; 
 (ii)  any fees have been paid; 
 (iii)  the applicant is in good standing with the department; 
and 
 (iv)  the applicant has successfully passed the appropriate 
tests to apply pesticides in the classifications for which they have 
applied 
 (d)  The non-commercial pesticide applicator license shall 
expire on December 31 of the third calendar year from the time of 
licensure, unless it has been revoked or suspended by the department  
for cause, which may include any combination of the unlawful acts 
given in Section R68-7-20. 
 (e)  If an application for a non-commercial pesticide 
applicator license is denied, the applicant shall be informed of the 
reason by email or mail. 
 (f)  A pesticide applicator [is required to]shall have their 
license in their immediate possession when making a pesticide 
application. 
 (g)  If the pesticide applicator requests a duplicate license 
from the department, a fee determined by the department, pursuant 
to Subsection 4-2-103(2), shall be paid.  The pesticide applicator 
must also be in good standing, having no unresolved violations or 
fines, before a replacement license shall be issued. 
 (h)  A new non-commercial pesticide applicator application 
completed between November 1 and December 31 of the same year 
shall be licensed for the remainder of that year and the following 
three calendar years. 
 (7)  Non-Commercial Pesticide Applicator License 
Recertification and Renewal. 
 (a)  Each non-commercial pesticide applicator license shall 
expire on December 31 of the third calendar year following its 
issuance. 
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 (b)  Non-Commercial pesticide applicators must recertify 
before their license expires, and may be subject to re-examination at 
any time during their valid license period. 
 (c)  Recertification options include: 
 (i)  completion of the original certification process by 
taking the required pesticide core and pesticide category test[(s)] and 
successfully completing each required test with a minimum score of 
70%; or 
 (ii)  participate in approved CEUs and accumulate the 
required amount of 24 total CEU credits during the valid license time 
period.  A minimum of two  credits in law, six  in safety, and ten in 
pesticide use are required, while any combination of the three 
categories may be used for the remaining six credits. 
 (8)  Records Maintained.  Non-Commercial applicators 
shall keep and maintain records of any  restricted use pesticide 
applications. 
 (a)  These records shall be recorded within 24 hours after 
the pesticide application is made. 
 (b)  The application records shall  include the following 
information: 
 (i)  the name and address of the person for whom the 
restricted use pesticide is applied; 
 (ii)  the address of the restricted use pesticide application 
location, if the pesticide application location differs from the location 
provided pursuant to Subsection R68-7-12(8)(b)(i); 
 (iii)  the complete square footage of the area to be treated 
with restricted use pesticides; 
 (iv)  the specific sites at the pesticide application location 
to which any restricted use pesticides are applied; 
 (v)  the time and date, including the month, day, and year 
when the restricted use pesticide was applied; 
 (vi)  the brand name of the restricted use pesticides, EPA 
registration number, and mix rate for any restricted use pesticides 
applied; 
 (vii)  the total amount of restricted use pesticides, including 
diluted or ready-to-use (RTU) pesticides, applied per application; 
 (viii)  the purpose of the restricted use pesticide application, 
the pesticide target site, and pest to be treated; and 
 (ix)  the name and non-commercial pesticide applicator 
license number of the certified non-commercial pesticide applicator 
who applied the pesticides. 
 (c)  [r]Records shall be kept for a period of at least two 
years from the date of the pesticide application and shall be available 
for inspection by the department , upon request. 
 (d)  Records shall be furnished in a uniform format. 
 
R68-7-13.  Private Pesticide Applicators. 
 (1)  Private Pesticide Applicator License Required. 
 (a)  A private pesticide applicator license is required for 
applying restricted use pesticides on the owned, rented, or leased 
agricultural property of an individual.  No person shall purchase, use, 
demonstrate the use of, or supervise the use of any restricted use 
pesticide without becoming certified and obtaining a private pesticide 
applicator license issued by the department.  Each person performing 
the physical act of applying restricted use pesticides shall be 
[eighteen]18 years of age, or older, and possess a valid private 
pesticide applicator license, except: 
 (i)  a person of at least 16 years of age may apply restricted 
use pesticides while under the direct supervision of a certified 
pesticide applicator, who is also an immediate family member, 
according to the family exemption of the EPA WPS, and only applies 
pesticides on the privately owned agricultural establishment of a 

certified pesticide applicator who is also an immediate family 
member; or 
 (ii)  any person, [eighteen]18 years of age, or older, 
employed by, or working on, a privately owned, rented, or leased 
agricultural property who has been trained by an actively certified 
Utah pesticide applicator, or trainer that has successfully completed 
an EPA approved Train the Trainer course, and has been instructed 
on the requirements of the EPA WPS for pesticide handlers. 
 (b)  A private pesticide applicator is considered as having 
each  of the agricultural-related pesticide [category ]categories on 
their license, specifically; Agricultural Pest Control: Plant, 
Agricultural Pest Control: Animal, Forest Pest Control, Ornamental 
and Turf Pest Control, Aquatic Pest Control: Surface Water, 
Structural and Health Related Pest Control, and Vertebrate Pest 
Control. [except for the Fumigation Pest Control and Aerial 
Application Pest Control categories. ] A private pesticide applicator 
shall successfully complete the respective pesticide applicator tests 
for [the Fumigation Pest Control and Aerial Application Pest 
Control]any additional pesticide categories before applying any 
pesticides restricted by those categories. 
 (c)  Issuance of a private pesticide applicator license shall 
be conditioned upon the applicant complying with the certification 
requirements determined by the department as necessary to prevent 
unreasonable adverse effects on the environment, and to prevent 
unreasonable injury to any person.  A private pesticide applicator 
license certifies the applicator to give instructions on the EPA WPS 
to the workers and pesticide handlers of a private agricultural 
establishment. 
 (d)  Private Pesticide Applicator Application and Fee 
Requirements.  The fees for a private pesticide applicator license 
shall be determined in accordance with Subsection 4-2-103(2) and 
Section 63J-1-504. 
 (i)  Applications for a private pesticide applicator license 
shall be made on the approved department form and shall be 
submitted to the department along with the required fee.  A license 
will only be issued after the applicant has successfully passed the 
required pesticide applicator tests, or after recertifying according to 
the CEU requirements. 
 (ii)  A testing fee, retest fee, or any related fee, may be 
determined by approved testing centers, according to their own 
individual policies. 
 (2)  Private Pesticide Applicator Initial Certification. 
 (a)  Fees for testing may be established and charged by any 
testing center, including those operated by the department. 
 (b)  The applicant may acquire any necessary study 
materials from the department website. 
 (c)  The applicant shall schedule required pesticide 
applicator tests with a testing center approved by the department. 
 (3)  Private Pesticide Applicator Testing Procedures. 
 (a)  A new applicant for a private pesticide license must be 
[eighteen]18 years of age, or older, and shall demonstrate 
competency and knowledge of pesticide applications, laws, and other 
relevant subjects by successfully completing the approved private 
pesticide applicator test and department application forms.  Each 
pesticide applicator test shall be proctored at an approved testing 
center. 
 (b)  An applicant for a private pesticide applicator license 
shall first pay any licensing fees to the department, and obtain a 
receipt of license payment. 
 (c)  An applicant for a private pesticide applicator license 
shall find a testing center from a list of approved testing centers on 
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the department's website.  A test may also be proctored by a local 
Utah State University Extension agent. 
 (d)  An applicant for a private pesticide applicator license 
shall present their receipt of license payment from the department, 
and valid government issued identification, to the proctor at the 
applicant's chosen testing center. 
 (e)  Cheating, ejection from testing, or failure to follow the 
rules of the department or testing center shall, at the discretion of the 
department, constitute fraud under this rule.  Applicants are subject 
to this rule, regardless [if]of whether the applicant successfully 
passes or not. 
 (f)  The private pesticide applicator test must be 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70%, before any 
additional pesticide category tests may be attempted. 
 (g)  The private pesticide applicator test must be taken and 
successfully completed with a minimum score of 70% before a 
private pesticide applicator license may be obtained. 
 (h)  Upon the successful completion of the appropriate 
pesticide applicator tests, the applicant shall complete the 
department's completion form, which can be found online in the 
testing program. 
 (i)  The steps to re[-]certify solely by testing are the same 
as for an initial applicant.  The private pesticide applicator test must 
be successfully completed with a minimum score of 70%, before any 
additional pesticide category tests may be attempted. 
 (j)  Upon the successful completion of the private pesticide 
applicator test, the applicant shall complete the department's 
completion form, and the department's pesticide applicator 
application form, online. 
 (k)  The rules of a testing center, if more restricting than 
those of the department, shall take precedence over those of the 
department during the administration of the pesticide applicator tests. 
 (l)  If the minimum score of 70% is not obtained after two 
attempts, the person taking the tests must wait 24 hours, pay any 
additional retest fees to the testing center, and begin retesting on any 
failed tests. 
 (4)  Private Pesticide Applicator Certification Tests and 
Review.  The pesticide applicator tests and methods of testing shall 
be determined and approved by the department.  The review of 
applications shall be made by the department for determining 
eligibility. 
 (5)  Emergency Use Permit.  An individual may be able to 
acquire an Emergency Use Permit which allows a single individual, 
at a singular location, the permission to apply a restricted use 
pesticide in a situation determined to be an emergency by the 
department. 
 (a)  Determination is at the sole discretion of the 
department. 
 (b)  Any subsequent purchase of any restricted use 
pesticide, or additional pesticide application of any restricted use 
pesticide, or use of any restricted use pesticide by the individual 
obtaining the Emergency Use Permit is not allowed without the 
written consent of the department. 
 (c)  This permit shall be issued only in an emergency as a 
substitute for a private pesticide applicator license. 
 (d)  An Emergency Use Permit issued by the department 
shall be in accordance with 40 CFR 166. 
 (6)  Private Pesticide Applicator License Issuance. 
 (a)  A temporary pesticide applicator permit shall be issued 
automatically by email for the successful completion of the private 
pesticide applicator test and each pesticide category test and provided 
each other department requirement is met.  The temporary permit will 

expire 30 days from the date it was issued.  The private pesticide 
applicator test must be successfully completed with a minimum score 
of 70%, before any pesticide category tests may be attempted. 
 (b)  The pesticide applicator is responsible to verify their 
license is approved by the department. 
 (c)  A private pesticide applicator license shall be issued 
when the following conditions have been met: 
 (i)  the applicant has successfully passed the appropriate 
tests to apply pesticides in the classifications for which they have 
applied; 
 (ii)  any fees have been paid; and 
 (iii)  the applicant is in good standing with the department. 
 (d)  The private pesticide applicator license shall expire on 
December 31 of the third calendar year from the time of licensure, 
unless it has been revoked or suspended by the department  for cause, 
as set forth in Section R68-7-20. 
 (e)  If an application for a private pesticide applicator 
license is denied, the applicant shall be informed of the reason by 
email or mail. 
 (f)  A pesticide applicator [is required to]shall have their 
license in their immediate possession when making a pesticide 
application. 
 (g)  Duplicate licenses from the department are available 
for a fee as set forth in Subsection 4-2-103(2).  The pesticide 
applicator shall also be in good standing with the department, and 
have no unresolved violations or fines, before a replacement license 
may be issued. 
 (h)  A new private pesticide applicator application 
completed between November 1 and December 31 of the same year 
shall be licensed for the remainder of that year and the following 
three calendar years. 
 (7)  Private Pesticide Applicator License Recertification 
and Renewal. 
 (a)  Each private pesticide applicator license shall expire on 
December 31 of the third calendar year following its issuance. 
 (b)  Private pesticide applicators shall complete required 
recertifications before their license expires, and may be subject to re-
examination at any time during their valid license period. 
 (c)  Recertification options include: 
 (i)  completion of the original certification process by 
taking the required pesticide core and pesticide category test[(s)] and 
successfully completing each required test with a minimum score of 
70%; or 
 (ii)  participation in approved CEUs and accumulate the 
required amount of six total CEU credits during the valid license time 
period.  A minimum of one credit in Law, one in Safety, and one in 
[P]pesticide [U]use are required, while any combination of the three 
categories may be used for the remaining three credits. 
 (8)  Records Maintained.  Private pesticide applicators shall 
keep and maintain records of any restricted use pesticide 
applications, and of any pesticide applications required by WPS. 
 (a)  These records shall be recorded within 24 hours after 
the pesticide application is made. 
 (b)  The application records shall include the following 
information: 
 (i)  If the licensee is subject to WPS, the location of any 
pesticide applications, detailing the address, the metes and bounds, 
GPS coordinates, or a map showing the number of applications and 
the sites treated; 
 (ii)  If the licensee is not subject to the WPS, the location 
of any restricted use pesticide applications, detailing the address, the 
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metes and bounds, GPS coordinates, or a map showing the number 
of applications and the sites treated; 
 (iii)  the complete size description of the pesticide 
application area, using either acres, square footage, section, or other 
legally descriptive and easily understandable terms common to the 
industry; 
 (iv)  the specific sites at the pesticide application location 
to which any restricted use pesticides are applied; 
 (v)  the time and date of the pesticide application, including 
the month, day, and year when the restricted use pesticide was 
applied, and the pesticide application start and end times; 
 (vi)  the pesticide product name, as it is written on the 
pesticide label, of the restricted use pesticides, the EPA registration 
number, and mix rate for any restricted use pesticides applied; 
 (vii)  the active ingredient of the restricted use pesticide; 
 (viii)  the total amount of restricted use pesticides, 
including diluted or RTU pesticides, applied per application; 
 (ix)  the amount of restricted use pesticide used per acre or 
square feet; 
 (x)  the purpose of the restricted use pesticide application, 
the pesticide target site, the pesticide target pest, and, if applicable, 
the crop to be treated; 
 (xi)  the duration, or length of time, required for the 
restricted entry interval: 
 (xii)  the name and pesticide applicator license number of 
the certified pesticide applicator who applied the pesticides, or who 
directly supervised the use of any restricted use pesticides; and 
 (xiii)  the name of any individual who applied pesticides 
under the exemptions provided in Subsection R68-7-13(1)(a)(i) or 
Subsection R68-7-13(1)(a)(ii). 
 (c)  Records shall be kept for a period of at least two years 
from the date of the pesticide application and shall be made available 
for inspection by the department , within 48 hours of a request. 
 (d)  Pesticide application records provided by any 
commercial pesticide business to the agricultural establishment shall 
also be kept for two years, and will provide the same information 
required by Subsection R68-7-13(8). 
 (e)  Records shall be kept recording the maintenance 
history of pesticide application equipment, any respirator medical 
information, respirator fit testing, and any other records required by 
the label of the product used or by EPA WPS. 
 (f)  Records shall be kept in a uniform format. 
 
R68-7-14.  Other Individuals. 
 (1)  Employees of Federal Agencies. 
 (a)  Federal government employees requesting to be a 
pesticide applicator in Utah shall be required to certify as a non-
commercial pesticide applicator by successfully passing the written 
pesticide applicator core test and any applicable pesticide category 
tests.  Federal government employees who possess a valid and current 
pesticide applicator license from another state may be exempt, and a 
reciprocal pesticide applicator license may be issued. 
 (b)  Any federal government agency with an EPA approved 
pesticide applicator certification plan that meets or exceeds the Utah 
pesticide applicator certification standards may qualify for reciprocal 
pesticide applicator certification in Utah. 
 (c)  Federal government employees requesting reciprocal 
licensing status shall apply to the department and confirm that the 
application is approved [prior to]before conducting any activities 
under this rule or Title 4, Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide Control Act. 
 (2)  Certification of Out-of-State Applicants. 

 (a)  An out-of-state pesticide applicator may apply as a 
Utah pesticide applicator by taking the applicable Utah pesticide 
applicator tests in their respective state.  Out[ ]-of[ ]-state proctors 
shall be approved by the department and the pesticide applicator 
applicant shall bear the costs involved with out-of-state testing and 
licensing. 
 (b)  If a pesticide applicator possesses a current and valid 
pesticide applicator certification from another state, and requests to 
apply pesticides in  Utah, they shall complete the proper application 
process to the department, including: 
 (i)  payment of any required fees; 
 (ii)  a true copy of  the applicant's credentials, both front 
and back, as proof of certification in the applicant's state of residence; 
 (iii)  a front and back copy of their government issued 
identification; and 
 (iv)  a letter of good standing, or other acceptable 
government documents, from the applicant's state pesticide licensing 
program, sent directly to the department by the licensing entity, 
specifically stating the applicant is in good standing and is currently 
licensed as a pesticide applicator in that state. 
 (c)  The department may, upon review of the applicant's 
required credentials and other materials, issue a Utah Pesticide 
Applicator License to the applicant in accordance with the pesticide 
categories or pesticide use situations for which the applicant is 
certified in another state, without requiring testing. 
 (d)  Out-of-state pesticide applicators who apply pesticides 
in Utah shall be subject to Utah law. 
 (3)  Changes to License Information. 
 (a)  Each certified commercial, non-commercial, and 
private pesticide applicator shall notify the department of any change 
to the pesticide applicator's name, address, phone number, email 
address, or change of employer within 30 calendar days of the 
change.  Failure to do so shall be considered a violation of this rule. 
 (b)  Each commercial pesticide business and RUP dealer 
shall notify the department of any changes including ownership, 
company name, owner or manager's name, company address, phone 
number, email address, or any other required information, within 30 
calendar days of the change.  Failure to do so shall be considered a 
violation of this rule. 
 (c)  Business licenses are non-transferable, and in the case 
of a change of business ownership, a new application is required, 
along with the payment of any associated fees. 
 (i)  The department shall determine if the name on the 
license may be retained by the new owner. 
 (ii)  The department shall determine the necessary fees for 
a new license. 
 (iii)  The new owner shall either qualify as the qualifying 
party or have an employee of the business that qualifies as a 
qualifying party.  The qualifying party for the business must be an 
employee of the business as defined in Section 4-14-102, and not a 
contractor or third party.  The qualifying party may not be the 
designated qualifying party, or employee, of another pesticide 
applicator business. 
 (d)  The designated representative for a [P]pesticide 
[B]business [L]license applicant shall meet the requirements of this 
section, including taking any applicable tests. 
 
R68-7-15.  Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer Licensing. 
 Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer License Required. 
 (1)  It is unlawful for any person to act, represent, or 
advertise themselves as a restricted use pesticide dealer at any time 
without obtaining a restricted use pesticide dealer license. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 15 15 

 (a)  A separate license is required for each individual 
business location in the state where restricted use pesticides are sold 
or distributed. 
 (b)  Any manufacturer, registrant, or distributor who has no 
restricted use pesticide dealer business licensed within this state, and 
who distributes a restricted use pesticide directly into Utah, shall 
obtain a restricted use pesticide dealer license for their principal out-
of-state business location. 
 (c)  Any manufacturer, registrant, or distributor who sells 
only through, or to, a pesticide dealer, is not required to obtain a 
restricted use pesticide dealer license. 
 (2)  Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer License Issuance.  
Applications for a restricted use pesticide dealer license shall be on 
the approved department form.  The fees for a restricted use pesticide 
dealer license shall be determined in accordance with Subsection 4-
2-103(2) and Section 63J-1-504. 
 (a)  The applicant shall certify on the application that the 
business understands and recognizes the rules concerning the sale of 
restricted use pesticides and the records that shall be kept and 
maintained for two years. 
 (b)  The applicant shall take online training [prior to]before 
the initial issuance of their license and with every renewal.  If a new 
manager is hired, the manager shall take online training. 
 [(b)](c)  If the department finds the applicant qualified to 
sell or distribute restricted use pesticides, and the applicant has paid 
any required licensing fees, the department may issue a [R]restricted 
[U]use [P]pesticide [D]dealer [L]license.  The [R]restricted [U]use 
[P]pesticide [D]dealer [L]license shall expire on December 31 of the 
third calendar year from the time of licensure, unless it has been 
revoked or suspended by the department for cause, as set forth in 
Section R68-7-20. 
 (3)  Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer License Renewal. 
Renewal fees for a restricted use pesticide dealer license shall be 
determined in accordance with Subsection 4-2-103(2) and Section 
63J-1-504.  If a restricted use pesticide dealer fails to complete and 
submit the necessary renewal forms and certifications to the 
department before the end of their license expiration date, a late fee 
may be assessed and added to the renewal fee, in accordance with 
Subsection 4-2-103(2) and Section 63J-1-504. 
 (4)  Records Maintained.  Each licensed restricted use 
pesticide dealer location shall keep a [recording]record of any 
restricted use pesticide sales.  This restricted use pesticide sales 
record shall be submitted to the department on the department's 
website[ ], and shall contain the following information: 
 (a)  the company name of the restricted use pesticide dealer; 
 (b)  the store or location name of the restricted use pesticide 
dealer making the sale; 
 (c)  the complete restricted use pesticide dealer license 
number; 
 (d)  the expiration date of the certified pesticide applicator's 
certification or license; 
 (e)  the categories in which the pesticide applicator is 
certified relevant to the pesticides sold; 
 (f)  the complete date of the sale, including the month, day, 
and year; 
 (g)  the first and last name of the individual who made the 
sale; 
 (h)  the brand name of the restricted use pesticide sold, the 
complete EPA registration number of the restricted use pesticide, and 
the quantity sold; 
 (i)  the restricted use pesticide product container size; 

 (j)  the first and last name of the certified pesticide 
applicator who made the purchase; 
 (k)  the complete pesticide applicator license number of the 
certified pesticide applicator who made the purchase; and 
 (l)  the complete address and contact information of the 
certified pesticide applicator who made the purchase, including street 
name and house number, city, state, zip code, phone number, and 
email address. 
 (m)  If the individual who purchased the restricted use 
pesticide was authorized by letter, the authorization letter shall be 
kept on file for a minimum of two years.  The authorization letter 
shall contain the name, pesticide applicator license number, signature 
of the pesticide applicator who wrote the authorization letter, and the 
full name of the individual being authorized to purchase the restricted 
use pesticide.  The authorization letter may only be used once per 
restricted use pesticide purchase.  The restricted use pesticide dealer 
shall verify the information contained in the authorization letter, and 
shall verify the identity of the authorized individual by a government 
issued identification. 
 (n)  If the individual who purchased the restricted use 
pesticide used a temporary pesticide applicator permit, a copy of the 
temporary pesticide applicator permit shall be kept on file for a 
minimum of two years. 
 (o)  Records shall be kept for a period of two years from 
the date of the restricted use pesticide sale, and shall be made 
available for inspection by the department.  The department, upon 
request and within two business days, shall be furnished a copy of 
any sales records completed by the restricted use pesticide dealer. 
 (5)  Submission of Electronic records.  On or before July 1 
of each year, restricted use pesticide dealers are required to submit 
their restricted use pesticide sales records for the period starting the 
previous July 1 through June 30 of the current year. 
 (6)  Exemption.  Section R68-7-15 shall not apply to a 
certified pesticide applicator who sells restricted use pesticides only 
as an integral part of their commercial pesticide application business 
services when the pesticides are dispensed only through their 
equipment used for pesticide application. 
 [(g)](7)  Restricted Use Pesticide Dealers Responsible for 
the Acts of Their Employees.  Each restricted use pesticide dealer 
shall be responsible for the acts of each person under their employ in 
the solicitation and sale of restricted use pesticides, and any claims 
and recommendations for the use of restricted use pesticides.  A 
restricted use pesticide dealer license may be subject to denial, 
suspension, or revocation for any violation of Title 4, Chapter 14, 
Utah Pesticide Control Act or rules promulgated thereunder, whether 
committed by the restricted use pesticide dealer or by the dealer's 
officer, agent, or employee. 
 
R68-7-16.  Responsibilities of Pesticide Applicator Businesses and 
Pesticide Applicators. 
 (1)  Pesticide Applicator Business Duties and 
Responsibilities. 
 (a)  A pesticide applicator business shall ensure the 
qualifying party of the business, as described in Section 4-14-111, 
receives the training the qualifying party requires to comply fully 
with state law, individual pesticide label restrictions, and any 
applicable labeling directions. 
 (b)  Evidence of any pesticide training and attendance shall 
be recorded and kept on file, and shall include the name of the 
employee, their respective pesticide applicator license number, the 
pesticide topics and specific products covered, and the signatures of 
the trainees and the trainer.  The agenda and copies of the pesticide 
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training material shall be retained for two years after the termination 
of any employee. 
 (c)  It is the business owner's responsibility to verify that 
each employed pesticide applicator is properly certified in the 
appropriate pesticide categories. 
 (d)  Each pesticide service vehicle shall carry complete, 
appropriate, legible, and up-to-date labels for each pesticide applied 
directly from that pesticide service vehicle. 
 (i)  Original labels are preferred, and it is prohibited to 
remove any label from any container still containing any pesticide 
concentrate. 
 (ii)  If any pesticide labels are printed from an internet 
source, the revision number or date should be verified with the label 
on the container to ensure the correct version is used. 
 (iii)  Electronic copies of labels are not acceptable. 
 (2)  Responsibilities of the pesticide business and 
employees. 
 (a)  A pesticide business, their qualifying party, or their 
pesticide applicator may be held responsible for the acts or omissions 
of  an employee of the pesticide business.  It is the responsibility of 
the pesticide business to properly train, equip, and prepare their 
employees, and to maintain records of employee training and 
equipment. 
 (b)  Failure to respond to or fully disclose information 
pursuant to any requests by the department within two business days, 
for information relating to the training and equipment of a pesticide 
business and their employees shall be evidence of a failure to 
properly train or equip.  The pesticide business owner, qualifying 
party, or designated pesticide business supervisor has the burden of 
proof by a preponderance of the evidence that the pesticide business, 
qualifying party, or pesticide business employee  has fulfilled the 
required duties as prescribed by this rule or a written order of the 
department. 
 (3)  Use of pesticide business name and license number. 
 (a)  A pesticide business shall prominently display the 
pesticide business license issued by the department at the primary 
pesticide business office and at each branch office. 
 (b)  In addition to the requirements of Subsection R68-7-
16(3)(a), a pesticide business shall prominently display the pesticide 
business name and corresponding license number, as recorded on the 
license issued by the department, on: 
 (i)  customer proposals or contracts that include pest 
management services; 
 (ii)  service records and service notifications; and 
 (iii)  pesticide business service vehicles and trailers used in 
providing pest management services. 
 (c)  Pesticide business names and corresponding license 
numbers displayed on a pesticide business service vehicle or trailer 
used in providing pest management services shall conform to the 
following: 
 (i)  are affixed to the service vehicle or trailer used in 
providing pest management services within 30 days after the 
department issues the license, or issues a business license change, or 
after the service vehicle or trailer is acquired, whichever is sooner; 
 (ii)  are in a color that contrasts with the color of the service 
vehicle and trailer; 
 (iii)  are prominently displayed on both sides of the service 
vehicle or trailer; 
 (iv)  use at least two-inch letters for the principal words in 
the pesticide business name and at least one and one-half inch letters 
for other words in the pesticide business name; 

 (v)  use at least two-inch numbers for the pesticide business 
license number; and 
 (vi)  use letters and numbers that are weatherproof. 
 (d)  A pesticide business that always uses a pesticide 
business service vehicle and trailer together [is required to]shall only 
mark either the service vehicle or trailer as described in Subsection 
R68-7-16(3)[)](c).  A pesticide business that uses a vehicle only for 
sales, solicitations, or solely for inspections, and does not carry a 
pesticide or pesticide application equipment, and does not otherwise 
use the vehicle to provide a pest management service, is not required 
to mark the vehicle as described in Subsection R68-7-16(3)(c). 
 (e)  When complying with Subsection R68-7-16(3)(c), a 
pesticide business  may use a slogan, trade name, or trade mark in 
addition to the pesticide business name and corresponding license 
number.  When complying with Subsection R68-7-16(3)(c), a 
pesticide business  may use a word or phrase to indicate its formerly 
licensed pesticide business name, if it had a formerly licensed 
pesticide business name. 
 (4)  Pesticide Application Notification. 
 (a)  [Prior to]Before the time of each application of a 
restricted use pesticide with a Danger or Danger-Poison signal word, 
the certified commercial pesticide applicator, or an employee of the 
licensed pesticide business shall provide the customer with a written 
statement containing the following information: 
 (i)  the pesticide business name, pesticide business license 
number, and telephone number; 
 (ii)  the name and pesticide applicator license number of 
the licensed pesticide applicator who will make  the application; 
 (iii)  the date and time of the pesticide application; 
 (iv)  the type of pesticide application service and brand 
name  and EPA registration number of pesticides applied; and 
 (v)  instructions to the customer to contact the pesticide 
business telephone number if more specific information is desired 
regarding the pesticide product applied. 
 (b)  The written statement required in Subsection R68-7-
16(4)(a) shall be provided to the customer by any of the following 
means: 
 (i)  leave statement at the residence; 
 (ii)  in the case of a multi-unit residence, leave the 
statement with the property manager or their authorized 
representative; or 
 (iii)  mail to the property manager or their authorized 
representative if management is located at a location other than the 
pesticide application site, at least  seven calendar days [prior 
to]before the date of the pesticide application. 
 
R68-7-17.  Termiticide Record Keeping:  Additional 
Requirements. 
 (1)  In addition to the recordkeeping requirements 
contained in Sections R68-7-11 and R68-7-12, any pesticide 
applicator shall  retain a record of a diagram of the structure treated 
for termites with termiticide  that includes the dimensions of the 
structure, including the depth to the footer that the foundation rests 
upon. 
 (2)  For post construction pesticide treatments, the diagram 
shall also illustrate the area where termites or termite activity was 
found. 
 (3)  Any records of pesticide applications shall be 
maintained for a period of two years  and organized separately for 
each individual structure. 
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 (4)  If a termiticide distribution system is used: 
 (a)  the system shall meet the standards listed on the label 
and the use of the system shall be allowed only as stated on the label; 
and 
 (b)  installation, design, and manufacture of the system 
shall be allowed by the termiticide label and manufacturer.  If no 
mention of a system is on the label, a distribution application system 
shall not be used. 
 
R68-7-18.  Minimum Standards for Fumigant Applications. 
 (1)  Application of fumigant products require strict 
adherence to the label, and when required by the label, a verified and 
written Fumigation Management Plan (FMP) shall be prepared in 
advance of treatment.  An FMP shall provide details regarding  the 
information prescribed by the label. Utah standards for fumigation 
treatments of any space that can be occupied by a person, or non-
target species, require the following: 
 (a)  at least two persons present at the time of releasing the 
fumigant and during the initial ventilation, one of whom shall be a 
certified pesticide applicator with the fumigation category, present at 
the time of the releasing of the fumigant and during the initial 
ventilation.  During the interim, the premises shall be adequately 
safeguarded against entry by any other person; 
 (b)  notification of local fire department or first responder 
[prior to]before fumigation of any building or enclosed space, other 
than a fumigating vault, the with the address of the fumigation job, 
time of gas release, kind of gas to be used, and the beginning time of 
the aeration of the premises. 
 (c)  Premises sealed.  Premises to be fumigated shall be 
sealed in a manner that confines the fumigant to the space intended 
to be fumigated. 
 (d)  Inspection of premises [prior to]before releasing 
fumigant.  Immediately before releasing the fumigant, the certified 
pesticide applicator shall conduct a thorough inspection of the 
premises to verify that no person or non-target animals remain, and 
that effective precautions have been taken to safeguard occupants of 
neighboring buildings as set forth in Subsection R68-7-
18(1)(e)[below]. 
 (e)  Fumigation of apartments within a multiple unit 
apartment building. 
 (i)  Fumigation of apartments within a multiple unit 
apartment building may be fumigated only after  the apartments are 
vacated and the area to be fumigated is properly sealed. 
 (ii)  The adjacent units shall be properly ventilated during 
the entire exposure period. 
 (f)  Notification of dwellings or places of business within 
100 feet of the building being fumigated. 
 (i)  Dwellings or places of business within 100 feet of the 
building being fumigated shall be notified in writing in advance of 
the fumigation. 
 (ii)  Premises within 10 feet shall be vacated during the 
fumigation and aeration periods. 
 (g)  Warning signs. 
 (i)  Warning signs shall be posted conspicuously at 
entrances of the premises to be fumigated and at the entrances of 
adjacent multiple units and structures within ten feet and kept there 
during the entire fumigation and ventilation period.  Signs shall be in 
a bright and conspicuous color with a minimum size of 8 1/2 inches 
by 11 inches, bearing the word "poison,"[,] displaying the skull and 
crossbones, the name of the fumigant used, and the name, address, 
and telephone number of the certified pesticide applicator. 

 (ii)  Before the fumigant is released, entrances leading 
directly to the fumigated space shall be closed, sealed, and locked, 
except exits to be used by the fumigating crew.  These exits shall be 
closed, sealed, and locked promptly after the fumigant has been 
released. 
 (h)  Masks worn. 
 (i)  Each member of the fumigating crew shall be equipped 
with a serviceable mask of a type approved by the U.S. Mines, Safety, 
and Health Administration with the correct canister for the type of 
gas used. 
 (ii)  Masks shall be worn while in the enclosed space during 
and after release of the fumigant, and until initial ventilation is 
completed. 
 (i)  Re-entering fumigated premises. 
 (i)  No one other than the certified pesticide applicator shall 
be permitted to re-enter the fumigated premises until the certified 
pesticide applicator has ascertained by personal inspection, with gas 
mask and with a chemical appropriate test, that the premises are safe 
for occupancy. 
 (ii)  Aeration shall be conducted according to the product 
labeling and re-entry allowed according to levels specified on the 
label. 
 (j)  Subsections R68-7-18(1)(a) through R68-7-18(1)(i) 
may not apply to fumigants used to control insects or other pests 
outside of buildings, or for spot fumigations, or restrictive treatments 
inside a building, such as grain bins. 
 (i)  Strict adherence to the label instructions shall be 
adhered to during these applications. 
 (ii)  During the ventilation period of a spot or restrictive 
fumigation, the premises shall not be occupied by anyone except the 
certified pesticide applicator. 
 (iii)  A warning gas is recommended where the fumigant is 
comparatively odorless. 
 (2)  Fumigation of burrowing rodents requires strict 
adherence to the label as well as a Fumigation Management Plan 
(FMP) that shall contain the following information: 
 (a)  the purpose of the pesticide application indicating the 
exact pest to be controlled, and the type of burrow system to be 
treated; 
 (b)  the pesticide used, stating the name of the pesticide, the 
EPA registration number, and dosage used; 
 (c)  the property treated information recording the property 
or facility name and address, and verifying the manager's or property 
owner's name and contact information; 
 (d)  the certified pesticide applicator information recording 
the certified pesticide applicator's name, company, pesticide 
applicator license number, phone numbers, and verifying with valid 
government issued identification; 
 (e)  any emergency agency contact information, recording 
the phone numbers for the nearest hospital, fire department, police 
department, poison control center, and the registrant of the fumigant; 
and 
 (f)  instructions given to personnel, verifying by written 
signatures that personnel have been instructed to: 
 (i)  report any accident or incident related to exposure, 
provide a telephone number for emergency response reporting; 
 (ii)  report to the proper authorities any theft of fumigant or 
equipment related to fumigation; and 
 (iii)  follow label directions, paying particular attention to 
the Monitoring, Notification, Sealing, Application Procedures, 
Fumigation Period, and Use Restrictions portions of the label 
instructions. 
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 (g)  Burrowing Rodent Fumigation Record Keeping:  
Additional Standards.  In addition to the recordkeeping requirements 
contained in Sections R68-7-11 and R68-7-12, the applicator shall 
keep as part of the record a scaled diagram of the property treated that 
includes dimensions of the property, any structures present, and mark 
each burrow treated on the diagram. 
 
R68-7-19.  Transportation, Storage, Handling, Usage, and 
Disposal of Pesticides and Pesticide Containers. 
 Any pesticide [applying person]applicator shall provide a 
secure pesticide and device storage area.  The storage area may 
include an area on a service vehicle.  Any pesticide applying entities 
shall also have, at a minimum, a pesticide spill kit in each pesticide 
service vehicle, pesticide service trailer, and at each pesticide 
business location. 
 (1)  No person shall transport, store, or dispose of any 
pesticide or pesticide container in such a manner as to cause injury to 
humans, other non-target species, or the environment. 
 (2)  Pesticide containers shall be secured during transport 
by use of side or end racks, bracing, chocks, tie downs, or other 
means to prevent their sliding, falling, tipping, rolling, or falling off 
the vehicle with normal vehicle acceleration, deceleration, or change 
in direction. 
 (3)  Portable tanks shall be secured to prevent their sliding, 
falling, tipping, or rolling with normal vehicle acceleration, 
deceleration, or change in direction.  Stacking or wedging against 
ends, sidewalls, or doors of van bodies shall not be relied upon for 
securement. 
 (4)  Pesticides in leaking, broken, corroded, or otherwise 
damaged containers shall not be displayed, offered for sale or 
transported, and shall be handled or disposed of in a manner that 
would not damage or injure humans, other non-target species, or the 
environment.  Pesticides with obscured, illegible, or damaged labels 
shall not be displayed, offered for sale, or sold. 
 (5)  No person shall distribute or sell any pesticide unless it 
is in the registrant's or manufacturer's unopened, original container, 
and the registered pesticide label is affixed to the container. 
 (6)  No person shall transport, handle, store, load, apply, or 
dispose of any pesticide, pesticide container, apparatus, or rinsate in 
such a manner as to pollute water supplies or waterways, or cause 
damage or injury to land, humans, desirable plants and animals, or 
wildlife, except that a pesticide labeled for aquatic use and used as 
directed shall not be considered a violation of this subsection.  
Disposing of pesticides at disposal sites approved by the appropriate 
agency complies with the requirements of this subsection.  Toxicity, 
volatility, and mobility of pesticides shall be considered in complying 
with this subsection. 
 (7)  No person shall pollute streams, lakes, or other water 
supplies during pesticide loading, mixing, and application and shall 
use appropriately functioning devices and procedures to prevent back 
siphoning. 
 (8)  No pesticides shall be applied by aircraft or air blast 
sprayers to property abutting or adjacent to schools in session, 
hospitals, nursing homes, or other similar establishments, when 
occupied, under conditions that may result in contamination of these 
establishments or their premises. 
 (9)  No person shall apply pesticides if physical drift or 
volatilization may cause damage to adjacent land, injure humans or 
other species, or the environment. 
 (10)  Requirements for unattended pesticides and their 
containers: 

 (a)  Pesticides and their containers shall be maintained in 
accordance with generally accepted industry standards and practices. 
 (b)  [The provisions of ]Subsections R68-7-19(10)(d) and 
(e) and Subsection R68-7-19(11) shall not apply to empty pesticide 
containers once decontaminated. 
 (c)  For the purposes of Subsections R68-7-19(10)(d) and 
(e) and Subsection R68-7-19(11), pesticides and their containers at 
the loading area shall not be considered unattended if the operator 
maintains either visual control or repeatedly returns at closely spaced 
intervals to ensure safe monitoring of the pesticides and containers. 
 (d)  Unattended pesticides labeled with the signal word 
"danger/poison" and their containers shall be constructed, stored and 
locked to prevent children, unauthorized persons, livestock, or other 
animals from gaining entry. 
 (e)  Pesticides labeled with the signal word "danger" when 
not accompanied by the signal word "poison,"[,] pesticides labeled 
with the signal word "warning,"[,] pesticides labeled with the signal 
word "caution,"[,] and their containers, shall be stored in secured 
storage, out of the reach of children, in an enclosure as described in 
Subsection R68-7-19(10)(d).  Metal containers, [twenty-eight]28 
gallons and larger, with tight screw-type bungs or secured or locked 
valves shall be considered secured storage. 
 (11)  Requirements for posting of storage area for 
pesticides and their containers labeled with the signal words 
"danger/poison": 
 (a)  For purposes of this subsection, warning signs shall 
show the skull and crossbones symbol and the words:  
"Danger/Poison (Pesticide or Chemical) Storage Area/Keep Out" in 
at least two-inch tall letters. 
 (b)  Warning signs shall be posted: 
 (i)  at each entrance or exit from a storage area and on each 
exterior wall, so that the sign is visible from any direction; and 
 (ii)  if the pesticide storage area is contained in a larger, 
multipurpose structure, warning signs shall be clearly visible on each 
entrance of the storage area. 
 (12)  Each service vehicle and business location operated 
by a commercial pesticide business that carries, transports, or stores 
any[ any] pesticide concentrate or mixed pesticide solution must 
have, at minimum, a spill kit containing: 
 (a)  a dustproof five-gallon bucket with a lid; 
 (b)  waterproof gloves; 
 (c)  three spill socks, each approximately [three feet by four 
inches]three inches by 48 inches; 
 (d)  ten medium weight absorbent pads, each 
approximately 15"x18"; and 
 (e)  one medium weight trash bag to contain used absorbent 
material. 
 
R68-7-20.  Unlawful Acts. 
 Any person who has committed any of the following acts 
is in violation of Title 4, Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide Control Act, or 
rules promulgated thereunder, and is subject to the penalties provided 
in Section 4-2-301 through Section 4-2-305, up to, and including, 
citations, fines, and the possible suspension, revocation, or denial of 
any pesticide applicator, pesticide business, or pesticide dealer 
license: 
 (1)  been convicted under Section 14(b) of FIFRA; 
 (2)  been subject to a final order imposing a civil penalty 
under Section 14(a) of FIFRA; 
 (3)  been found in violation of a final state enforcement 
action for violations of state law; 
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 (4)  made false, fictitious, or fraudulent claims, including 
any written or spoken misrepresentation of the use or effect of 
pesticides, the certification of any pesticide applicator, or the 
methods or manner in which pesticides may be applied or utilized; 
 (5)  applied any known ineffective or improper pesticides; 
 (6)  applied any pesticides in a faulty, careless, or negligent 
manner; 
 (7)  failed to comply with [the provisions of ]Title 4, 
Chapter 14, Utah Pesticide Control Act, these rules, or any lawful 
order of the department; 
 (8)  failure to keep or maintain records required by these 
rules, or to make reports when and as required, or to notify the 
department within 30 days of any changes required under [Section 
R68-7-4]Section R68-7-14; 
 (9)  proffered false or fraudulent records, invoices, or 
reports to the department; 
 (10)  engaged in the business, solicitation, advertisement, 
or representation of applying a pesticide for hire or compensation on 
the lands or property of another without having a valid commercial 
pesticide applicator license; 
 (11)  purchased, used, or supervised the use of, a pesticide 
which is labeled for restricted use without having qualified as a 
certified pesticide applicator; 
 (12)  used fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation in any portion 
of the application process for, or renewal of, a registration, license, 
permit, or certification with the department; 
 (13)  refused or neglected to comply with any limitations 
or restrictions on or in a [duly ]issued license or permit; 
 (14)  used, or caused to be used, any pesticide in a manner 
inconsistent with its labeling or rules of the department, if those rules 
further restrict the uses provided on the labeling; 
 (15)  impersonated any federal, state, county, or other 
government official; 
 (16)  distributed any pesticide labeled for restricted use to 
any person unless that person or their agent: has a valid pesticide 
applicator license, permit to use or supervise the use of, or distribute 
a restricted use pesticide; 
 (17)  applied any pesticides on or in any building, structure, 
or property without the consent of the owner, manager, or responsible 
party, with the exception of any government agency that applies a 
pesticide to abate a public health problem under the direction of the 
department; 
 (18)  for a pesticide applicator, applied a termiticide at less 
than the label rate; 
 (19)  for an employer of a commercial or non-commercial 
pesticide applicator, to allow  an employee to apply pesticide before 
that individual has successfully completed the required pesticide 
applicator certification process; 
 (20)  a certified pesticide applicator failed to possess  a 
current pesticide applicator license on their person during a pesticide 
application; 
 (21)  allowed a pesticide application to run off, or drift, 
from the target pesticide application area, whether or not damage or 
injury occurred; 
 (22)  failed to register a pesticide business with the 
department, or follow the rules set forth in this rule for the licensing 
of a commercial pesticide business; 
 (23)  handled or applied any pesticide for which a person 
does not have an appropriate, complete, legible, and current label at 
hand or affixed to the pesticide; 

 (24)  Failed to comply with the federal pesticide container 
and containment regulations found in 40 CFR 156 and 165; 
 (25)  Failed to perform fumigation applications according 
to the standards required by this rule; 
 (26)  Failed to display the pesticide business license name 
and pesticide business license number in accordance with this rule; 
 (27)  Failed to notify a customer of the application of a 
restricted use pesticide and the information detailed in Section R68-
7-16; 
 (28)  The qualifying party of a commercial pesticide 
business[ licensee] failed to train or prepare a commercial pesticide 
applicator to comply fully with the following: 
 (a)  any Utah pesticide statute; 
 (b)  any Utah pesticide rule; 
 (c)  any pesticide label; 
 (d)  any pesticide labeling directions; and 
 (e)  any equipment they will be using. 
 (29)  Failure to timely and fully respond to requests by the 
department for information relating to training and equipping of 
pesticide applicators; 
 (30)  transported, stored, handled, used, or disposed of a 
pesticide or pesticides container that is inconsistent with this rule; 
 (31)  cheated on any pesticide test required by the 
department or otherwise failed to comply with testing requirements; 
 (32)  refused or neglected to change contact and 
employment information within 30 days; or 
 (33)  violated the EPA WPS. 
 
R68-7-21.  Penalty Matrix. 
 In the disposition of administrative cases, the department 
shall use a penalty matrix to determine appropriate penalties.  The 
penalty amount shall be from $50-500 per violation.  The department 
shall calculate penalties based on the level of violation and the 
adverse effect or potential adverse effects at the time of the incident 
giving rise to the violation.  The median penalty shall be assessed 
unless a proportionate adjustment is warranted or there are 
aggravating or mitigating factors present. 
 (1)  The department may also choose to issue a warning, in 
lieu of penalty, where the penalty matrix allows.  Any warning in lieu 
of penalty shall be issued in the department's sole discretion. 
 (2)  The department may consider circumstances enhancing 
or reducing the penalty based on the seriousness of the violation.  
Aggravating and mitigating factors include the following: 
 (a)  the number of separate alleged violations for a given 
inspection or incident date; 
 (b)  the magnitude of the harm, or potential harm, including 
quantity or degree, to humans, non-target species, property, or the 
environment caused by the violation; 
 (c)  the similarity of the current alleged violation to 
violations committed by the pesticide applicator or business; and 
 (d)  the extent to which the alleged violation is part of a 
pattern of the same or substantially similar conduct. 
 (3)  The department will review past violation trends and 
update the penalty matrix based on compliance history annually.  A 
copy of the penalty matrix shall be made available from the 
department upon request. 
 
KEY:  inspections, pesticides 
Date of Last Change:  [September 1, 2021]2022 
Notice of Continuation:  February 3, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-14-106 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R151-4 Filing ID: 
54753 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 2nd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: Box 146701 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6701 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Masuda Medcalf 801-

530-
7663 

mmedcalf@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R151-4.  Department of Commerce Administrative 
Procedures Act Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The reason for the amendment is to update this rule to 
become consistent with recent legislative amendments as 
noted below and making clerical changes for consistency 
with the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Various changes have been made for consistency with the 
Utah Rulewriting Manual including adding real tables, 
removing "provision of," "purposes of," "thereof," "him or 
herself;" replacing "7" with "seven," "must" with "shall," 
"with respect to" with "as to," "where" with "if," where 
deemed appropriate "which" with "that," "prior to" with 
"before," "subsequent to" with "after," "by means of" with 
"by;" and otherwise clarifying and simplifying existing 
language. 
 
The following changes are due to recent statutory 
amendments: 
1) in Subsection R151-4-201(2)(iii), removes 
"Occupational" from the name for the Division of 
Professional Licensing per S.B. 43 passed in the 2022 
General Session; and changing the diversion program 

name to "Utah Professionals Health Program, per H.B. 
285 passed in the 2020 General Session." 
2) in Subsection R151-4-901(2), removes the Regulatory 
Sandbox, which was repealed in H.B. 243 passed in the 
2022 General Session; removes "Occupational" from the 
name for the Division of Professional Licensing; and 
changing the diversion program name to "Utah 
Professionals Health Program" as noted above. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule does not amend fees or any revenue generation 
for the state and will not affect the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments are typically involved in administrative 
proceedings before the Department of Commerce 
(Department) and are not impacted by this amendment. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule is procedural in nature and has no discernable 
impact on the costs required for a small businesses to take 
part in proceedings before the Department. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule is procedural in nature and has no discernable 
impact on the costs required for a non-small businesses to 
take part in proceedings before the Department. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule is procedural in nature and has no discernable 
impact on the costs required for other persons to take part 
in proceedings before the Department. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As noted in the sections above, this rule is procedural and 
has no discernable costs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 13-1-6 Subsection 

63G-4-102(6) 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2022 

 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/22 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Margaret W. 
Busse, Executive  
Director 

Date: 07/13/2022 

 
R151.  Commerce, Administration. 
R151-4.  Department of Commerce Administrative Procedures 
Act Rule. 
R151-4-101.  Title and Organization. 
 This rule is: 
 (1)  known as the "Department of Commerce 
Administrative Procedures Act Rule;" and 
 (2)  organized into the following Parts: 
 (a)  Part 1, General Provisions, including Sections R151-4-
101 through R151-4-114; 
 (b)  Part 2, Pleadings, including Sections R151-4-201 
through R151-4-205; 
 (c)  Part 3, Motions, including Sections R151-4-301 
through R151-4-306; 
 (d)  Part 4, Filing and Service, including Sections R151-4-
401 through R151-4-402; 
 (e)  Part 5, Discovery - Formal Proceedings, including 
Sections R151-4-501 through R151-4-516; 
 (f)  Part 6, Depositions - Formal Proceedings, including 
Sections R151-4-601 through R151-4-611; 
 (g)  Part 7, Hearings, including Sections R151-4-701 
through R151-4-712; 
 (h)  Part 8, Orders, including Sections R151-4-801 through 
R151-4-803; and 
 (i)  Part 9, Agency Review and Judicial Review, including 
Sections R151-4-901 through R151-4-907. 
 
R151-4-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 63G, Chapter 4, 
Administrative Procedures Act, as used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Agency head" means the executive director of the 
department or the director of a division. 
 (2)  "Applicant" means a person who submits an 
application. 
 (3)  "Application" means a request for: 
 (a)  licensure; 
 (b)  certification; 
 (c)  registration; 
 (d)  permit; or 
 (e)  other right or authority granted by the department. 
 (4)  "Department" means: 
 (a)  the Utah Department of Commerce; or 
 (b)  a division of the department. 
 (5)  "Division" means a division of the department. 
 (6)  "Electronic" means a: 
 (a)  facsimile transmission; or 
 (b)  PDF file attached to an email. 
 (7)  "Intervenor" means a person permitted to intervene in 
an adjudicative proceeding before the department. 
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 (8)  "Motion" means a request for any action or relief in an 
adjudicative proceeding. 
 (9)(a)  "Party in interest" means: 
 (i)  a party; 
 (ii)  a relative of a party; or 
 (iii)  an individual with a financial interest in the outcome 
of the proceeding; and 
 (b)  does not include: 
 (i)  a party's counsel; or 
 (ii)  an employee of a party's counsel. 
 (10)  "Petition" means the charging document setting forth: 
 (a)  statement of jurisdiction; 
 (b)  statement of one or more allegations; 
 (c)  statement of legal authority; and 
 (d)  request for relief. 
 (11)  "Pleading" means the following: 
 (a)  a notice of agency action or request for agency action; 
 (b)  a request for agency review or agency reconsideration; 
and 
 (c)  a response or reply submitted to a pleading. 
 
R151-4-103.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted in accordance with Subsection 63G-4-
102(6) and Section 13-1-6 to govern adjudicative proceedings before 
the department. 
 
R151-4-104.  Supplementing Provisions. 
 [Any provision of t]This rule may be supplemented by a 
division rule unless expressly prohibited by this rule. 
 
R151-4-105.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  This rule is intended to secure the just, speedy, and 
economical determination of issues presented in adjudicative 
proceedings before the department. 
 (2)  In the event of a conflict between this rule and a statute, 
the statute governs. 
 
R151-4-106.  Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. 
 The Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and related case law are 
persuasive authority in this rule but may not, except as otherwise 
provided by Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act or 
by this rule, be considered controlling authority. 
 
R151-4-107.  Computation of Time. 
 (1)  Periods of time in department proceedings shall: 
 (a)  exclude the first day of the act, event, or default from 
which the time begins to run; and 
 (b)  include the last day unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or 
legal holiday[,]; in [which event]that case the period runs until the 
end of the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. 
 (2)  When a period of time is less than seven days, 
Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays are excluded. 
 (3)(a)(i)  When a period of time runs after the service of a 
document by mail, three days shall be added to the end of the 
prescribed period. 
 (ii)  Except as provided in Subsection R151-4-107(1)(b), 
these three days include Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays. 
 (b)  No additional time is provided if service is 
accomplished by electronic means. 
 (4)  Subsection (3) does not apply to a request for agency 
review filing made pursuant to Subsection R151-4-901(1). 
 

R151-4-108.  Timeliness of Administrative Proceedings. 
 In both informal and formal proceedings, the hearing date 
shall be scheduled to provide for the hearing to be concluded not 
more than 180 calendar days after the day: 
 (1)  the notice of agency action is issued; or 
 (2)  the initial decision [with respect]as to a request for 
agency action is issued. 
 
R151-4-109.  Extension of Time and Continuance of Hearing. 
 (1)  When ruling on a motion or request for extension of 
time or continuance of a hearing, the presiding officer shall consider: 
 (a)  whether there is good cause for granting the extension 
or continuance; 
 (b)  the number of extensions or continuances the 
requesting party has already received; 
 (c)  whether the extension or continuance will work a 
significant hardship upon the other party; 
 (d)  whether the extension or continuance will be 
prejudicial to the health, safety or welfare of the public; and 
 (e)  whether the other party objects to the extension or 
continuance. 
 (2)(a)  Except as provided in Subsection R151-4-109(2)(b), 
an extension of a time period or a continuance of a hearing may not 
result in the hearing being concluded more than 240 calendar days 
after the day: 
 (i)  the notice of agency action was issued; or 
 (ii)  the initial decision [with respect]as to a request for 
agency action was issued. 
 (b)  An extension of a time period or a continuance may 
exceed the time restriction in Subsection R151-4-109(2)(a) only if: 
 (i)(A)  a party provides an affidavit or certificate signed by 
a licensed physician verifying that an illness of the party, the party's 
counsel, or a necessary witness precludes the presence of the party, 
the party's counsel, or a necessary witness at the hearing; 
 (B)  counsel for a party withdraws shortly before the final 
hearing, unless the presiding officer finds the withdrawal was to 
delay the hearing[,]; in [which]that case the hearing will go forward 
with or without counsel; 
 (C)  a parallel criminal proceeding or investigation exists 
based on facts at issue in the administrative proceeding[,]; in 
[which]that case the continuance [must]shall address the expiration 
of the continuance upon the conclusion of the criminal proceeding; 
or 
 (D)  the board or commission designated to act as the fact-
finder at hearing is unavailable to meet on a date that: 
 (I)  allows the parties a reasonable period of time for 
discovery, motion practice, or hearing preparation; and 
 (II)  falls within the 240-day deadline for resolution; and 
 (ii)  the presiding officer finds that injustice would result 
from failing to grant the extension or continuance. 
 (c)(i)  If the presiding officer considers that extenuating 
circumstances not contemplated in Subsection R151-4-109(2)(b) 
justify a continuance beyond the 240-day deadline, the presiding 
officer shall file a written request for continuance with the executive 
director. 
 (ii)  A party may not directly petition the executive director 
for a continuance. 
 (iii)  The executive director's decision on the presiding 
officer's request for continuance shall be issued on an interlocutory 
basis, not subject to a request for reconsideration or judicial review 
until after a final order on the merits is issued. 
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 (d)  The failure to conclude a hearing within the required 
time period is not a basis for dismissal. 
 (3)  The presiding officer may not grant an extension of 
time or continuance that is not authorized by statute or rule. 
 (4)  The factors in Subsection (1) do not apply to a request 
for agency review filing made pursuant to Subsection R151-4-
901(1)(a).  A request for an extension to file a request for agency 
review is governed by Subsection R151-4-901(1)(c). 
 
R151-4-110.  Representation of Parties. 
 (1)  A party may: 
 (a)  be represented by counsel who is an active member of 
a state bar if counsel submits a written notice of appearance; 
 (b)  represent oneself individually; or 
 (c)  if not an individual, represent itself through an officer 
or employee. 
 (2)  Counsel licensed by the bar of a state other than Utah 
shall submit a certificate of good standing from the relevant state bar. 
 
R151-4-111.  Review of Emergency Orders. 
 Unless otherwise provided by statute or rule: 
 (1)(a)  A division shall schedule a hearing to determine 
whether an emergency order should be affirmed, set aside, or 
modified based on the standards in Section 63G-4-502 if: 
 (i)  the division has previously: 
 (A)  commenced an emergency adjudicative proceeding in 
the matter; and 
 (B)  issued an order in accordance with Section 63G-4-502 
that results in a continued impairment of the affected party's rights or 
legal interests; and 
 (ii)  the affected party timely submits a written request for 
a hearing. 
 (b)  A hearing under this section shall be conducted in 
conformity with the procedures of Section 63G-4-206. 
 (2)(a)  Upon request for a hearing under this section, the 
division shall conduct a hearing as soon as reasonably practical but 
not later than 20 days from the receipt of a written request unless the 
division and the party requesting the hearing agree in writing to 
conduct the hearing at a later date. 
 (b)  The division has the burden of proof to establish, by a 
preponderance of the evidence, that the requirements of Section 63G-
4-502 have been met. 
 (3)(a)  Except as otherwise provided by statute, the division 
director or designee shall select an individual or body of individuals 
to act as presiding officer at the hearing. 
 (b)  An individual who directly participated in issuing the 
emergency order may not act as the presiding officer. 
 (4)(a)  Within 15 calendar days after the day the hearing to 
consider the emergency order concludes, the presiding officer shall 
issue an order in accordance with Section 63G-4-208. 
 (b)  The order of the presiding officer is subject to agency 
review. 
 
R151-4-112.  Declaratory Orders. 
 (1)(a)  A petition for the issuance of a declaratory order 
under Section 63G-4-503 shall be filed with the agency head who has 
primary jurisdiction to enforce or implement the statute, rule, or order 
for which a declaratory order is sought. 
 (b)  The petition shall: 
 (i)  set forth: 
 (A)  the question to be answered; 

 (B)  the facts and circumstances related to the question; 
 (C)  the statute, rule, or order to be applied to the question; 
and 
 (D)  whether oral argument is sought in conjunction with 
the petition; and 
 (ii)  comply with Part 2, Pleadings. 
 (2)(a)  If the agency head issues a declaratory order without 
setting the matter for an adjudicative proceeding, the order shall be 
based on: 
 (i)  a review of the petition; 
 (ii)  oral argument, if any; 
 (iii)  laws and rules applicable to the petition; 
 (iv)  applicable records maintained by the department; and 
 (v)  other relevant information reasonably available to the 
department. 
 (b)  If the agency head sets the matter for an adjudicative 
proceeding, the department shall issue a notice of adjudicative 
proceeding under Subsection 63G-4-201(2)(a). 
 (3)  The department may not issue a declaratory order in 
any of the following classes of circumstances: 
 (a)  questions involving circumstances set forth in 
Subsection[s] 63G-4-503(3)(a)(ii)  or (3)(b); 
 (b)  questions that are not within the jurisdiction of the 
department; 
 (c)  questions that have been addressed by the department 
in an order, rule, or policy; 
 (d)  questions that can be addressed by informal advice; 
 (e)  questions that are addressed by statute; 
 (f)  questions that would be more properly addressed by 
statute or rule; 
 (g)  questions that arise out of pending or anticipated 
litigation in a civil, criminal, or administrative forum; or 
 (h)  questions that are irrelevant, insignificant, 
meaningless, or spurious. 
 (4)  The recipient of a declaratory order may request agency 
review. 
 
R151-4-113.  Record of an Adjudicative Proceeding. 
 The record of an adjudicative proceeding includes: 
 (1)  each pleading, motion, brief, exhibit, and any other 
document filed by a party; 
 (2)  the recording of a hearing; 
 (3)  a transcript of a hearing; and 
 (4)  orders or other documents issued: 
 (a)  by a presiding officer; or 
 (b)  on agency review or reconsideration. 
 
R151-4-114.  Informal Adjudicative Proceedings in General and 
Prohibition of Discovery. 
 (1)  Any provision [of this rule that is ]specific to a formal 
adjudicative proceeding is not mandatory for an informal 
adjudicative proceeding. 
 (2)  By rule or order a division may apply a provision 
applicable to a formal adjudicative proceeding to an informal 
adjudicative proceeding, except that a provision relating to discovery, 
including depositions, may not be applied to an informal adjudicative 
proceeding. 
 (3)  Discovery is prohibited in informal adjudicative 
proceedings, but the department or a division may issue subpoenas 
or other orders to compel production of evidence in accordance with 
Subsection 63G-4-203(1)(e). 
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R151-4-201.  Docket Number and Title. 
 (1)  The department shall assign a docket number to each 
notice of agency action and, [where]if appropriate, to each request 
for agency action. 
 (2)  At a minimum the docket number shall consist of: 
 (a)  a letter code identifying where the matter originated, as 
follows: 
 (i)  CORP-Corporations; 
 (ii)  CP-Consumer Protection; 
 (iii)  DOPL-[Occupational and ]Professional Licensing, 
including additional designations that the division may implement for 
[diversion]the Utah Professionals Health Program, lien recovery 
fund, or other programs; 
 (iv)  NAFA-New Automobile Franchise Act; 
 (v)  PVFA-Powersport Vehicle Franchise Act; 
 (vi)  RE-Real Estate; 
 (vii)  AP-Real Estate Appraisers; 
 (viii)  MG-Mortgage; and 
 (ix)  SD-Securities; 
 (b)  a numerical code indicating the calendar year the 
matter arises; and 
 (c)  another number indicating chronological position 
among notices of agency action or requests for agency action filed 
during the year. 
 (3)  The department shall give each adjudicative 
proceeding a title in substantially the following form: 
 

[TABLE 1 
 

BEFORE THE (DIVISION) 
OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
OF THE STATE OF UTAH 

 
In the Matter of              (Notice of Agency Action) 
(the application,             (Request for Agency Action) 
petition or license 

of John Doe)                   No. AA-2000-001] 
TABLE 1 

 
BEFORE THE (DIVISION) 

OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
OF THE STATE OF UTAH 

In the Matter of (the 
application, petition, or 
license of John Doe) 

(Notice of Agency Action) 
(Request for Agency Action) 
 
No. AA-2000-001 

 
R151-4-202.  Content and Size of Pleadings and Motions and 
Limitation of Number of Pages. 
 (1)  A pleading or motion shall be double-spaced, 
typewritten, presented on standard 8 1/2 x 11 inch white paper, and 
contain: 
 (a)  a clear and concise statement of the allegations or facts 
relied upon as the basis for the pleading or motion; and 
 (b)  an appropriate request for relief when relief is sought. 
 (2)  A motion to dismiss or motion for summary judgment 
may not exceed 25 pages, not counting any attachment, unless a 
longer motion is permitted by the presiding officer. Other motions 
may not exceed 15 pages, not counting the attachments, unless a 
longer motion is permitted by the presiding officer. 
 (3)  If the motion is a motion to dismiss or motion for 
summary judgment, the memorandum opposing the motion may not 
exceed 25 pages, not counting the attachments, unless a longer 
memorandum is permitted by the presiding officer. Other opposing 

memoranda may not exceed 15 pages, not counting the attachments, 
unless a longer memorandum is permitted by the presiding officer. 
 (4)  If the motion is a motion to dismiss or motion for 
summary judgment, the reply memorandum may not exceed 15 
pages, not counting the attachments, unless a longer memorandum is 
permitted by the presiding officer. Other reply memoranda may not 
exceed 10 pages, not counting the attachments, unless a longer 
memorandum is permitted by the presiding officer. 
 (5)  A memorandum supporting agency review in 
accordance with Section R151-4-904 may not exceed 30 pages not 
counting the attachments, unless a longer memorandum is permitted 
by the presiding officer assigned to the agency review. 
 (6)  A response to a request for agency review and the 
memorandum supporting that response may not exceed 30 pages not 
counting the attachments, unless a longer memorandum is permitted 
by the presiding officer assigned to the agency review. 
 (7)  A reply memorandum filed in an agency review may 
not exceed 15 pages not counting the attachments, unless a longer 
memorandum is permitted by the presiding officer assigned to the 
agency review. 
 (8)  The presiding officer may permit a party to file an 
overlength motion or memorandum upon a showing of good cause. 
An overlength motion or memorandum [must]shall include a table of 
contents and a table of authorities with page references. The presiding 
officer may rule on a motion for overlength motion or memorandum 
without waiting for a response. No statement of facts and legal 
authorities beyond a concise statement of the relief requested is 
required in a motion for overlength motion or memorandum. 
 
R151-4-203.  Signing of Pleadings and Motions. 
 (1)  Any pleading or motion shall be signed by the party or 
the party's representative and shall show the signer's address. 
 (2)  The signature is a certification that: 
 (a)  the signer has read the pleading or motion; and 
 (b)  to the best of the signer's knowledge and belief, there 
are good grounds to support the pleading or motion. 
 
R151-4-204.  Amendments to Pleadings. 
 (1)(a)  A party may amend a pleading once as a matter of 
course at any time before a responsive pleading is served. 
 (b)  A party that does not qualify to amend a pleading under 
Subsection (1)(a) may amend a pleading only by leave of the 
presiding officer or by written consent of the adverse party. 
 (2)  A party shall respond to an amended pleading within 
the later of: 
 (a)  the time remaining for response to the original 
pleading; or 
 (b)  ten days after service of the amended pleading. 
 (3)  Defects in a pleading that do not affect substantial 
rights of a party need not be amended and shall be disregarded. 
 
R151-4-205.  Response to a Notice of Agency Action. 
 (1)  A respondent in a formal adjudicative proceeding shall 
file a response to the notice of agency action. 
 (2)(a)  A respondent in an informal adjudicative proceeding 
may file a response to a notice of agency action. 
 (b)  The presiding officer may, by a written order, require a 
respondent in an informal adjudicative proceeding to submit a 
response. 
 (3)  Unless a different date is established by law or rule the 
following shall be filed within 30 days after the mailing date of the 
notice: 
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 (a)  a response to a notice of agency action; or 
 (b)  a notice of receipt of request for agency action. 
 
R151-4-301.  General Provisions. 
 (1)  A party may file a motion that is relevant and timely. 
 (2)  Each motion shall be filed in writing unless the 
necessity for a motion arises at a hearing and could not have been 
anticipated [prior to]before the hearing. 
 (3)  Subsection 63G-4-102(4)(b) may not be construed to 
prohibit a presiding officer from granting a timely motion to dismiss 
for: 
 (a)  failure to prosecute; 
 (b)  failure to comply with this rule, except [where]when 
this rule expressly provides that a matter is not a basis for dismissal; 
 (c)  failure to establish a claim upon which relief may be 
granted; or 
 (d)  other good cause basis. 
 
R151-4-302.  Motion to Dismiss. 
 (1)  A motion to dismiss on any grounds described in Rule 
12(b)(1) through 12(b)(7) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure shall 
be filed [prior to]before filing a responsive pleading. 
 (2)  In a case that is under agency review: 
 (a)  a motion to dismiss may be brought for: 
 (i)  failure to comply with a jurisdictional deadline; 
 (ii)  failure to file a hearing transcript; or 
 (iii)  failure to file a required memorandum. 
 (b)  A motion to dismiss may not be brought on an 
allegation or argument as to: 
 (i)  the sufficiency of a pleading or a memorandum in 
support[ thereof]; 
 (ii)  the sufficiency of the evidence; or 
 (iii)  any other issue that requires substantive analysis. 
 
R151-4-303.  Memoranda and Affidavits. 
 (1)  The presiding officer shall permit and may require 
memoranda and affidavits in support of, or in response to, a motion. 
 (2)  Unless otherwise governed by a scheduling order 
issued by the presiding officer: 
 (a)  memoranda or affidavits in support of a motion shall 
be filed concurrently with the motion; 
 (b)  memoranda or affidavits in response to a motion shall 
be filed no later than 14 days after service of the motion; and 
 (c)  a final reply shall be filed no later than seven days after 
service of the response. 
 
R151-4-304.  Oral Argument. 
 (1)  The presiding officer may permit or require oral 
argument on a motion. 
 (2)  Oral argument on a motion shall be scheduled to take 
place no more than 10 days after the last day the party: 
 (a)  who did not make the motion could have filed a 
response if that party does not file a response; or 
 (b)  the party who made the motion: 
 (i)  replies to the opposing party's response to the motion; 
or 
 (ii)  could have replied to the opposing party's response to 
the motion. 
 
R151-4-305.  Ruling on a Motion. 
 (1)  The presiding officer shall verbally rule on a motion at 
the conclusion of oral argument when[ever] possible. 

 (2)  When a presiding officer verbally rules on a motion, 
the presiding officer shall issue a written ruling within 30 calendar 
days after the day the presiding officer makes the verbal ruling. 
 (3)  If the presiding officer does not verbally rule on a 
motion at the conclusion of oral argument, the presiding officer shall 
issue a written ruling on the motion no more than 30 calendar days 
after: 
 (a)  oral argument; or 
 (b)  if there is no oral argument, the final submission on the 
motion as outlined in Subsection R151-4-304(2). 
 (4)  The failure of the presiding officer to comply with the 
requirements of Section R151-4-305: 
 (a)  is not a basis for dismissal of the matter; and 
 (b)  may not be considered an automatic denial or grant of 
the motion. 
 
R151-4-306.  Recusal or Motion to Disqualify a Board or 
Commission Member. 
 (1)  A board or commission member may [recuse him or 
herself]self recuse at any time from participation in an action before 
the board or commission, even if a party to the action has not 
requested the member's recusal or filed a motion to disqualify the 
member. 
 (2)(a)  A party to an action before a board or commission 
may file a motion to disqualify a board or commission member. The 
motion [must]shall be accompanied by a certificate that the motion is 
filed in good faith and [must]shall be supported by an affidavit or 
unsworn declaration as described in Title 78B, Chapter 18a, Uniform 
Unsworn Declarations Act stating facts sufficient to show bias, 
prejudice, or conflict of interest. 
 (b)  The motion [must]shall be filed after commencement 
of the action, but no later than 21 days after the last of the following: 
 (i)  the date of service of the action or hearing on the 
respondent;[ or] 
 (ii)  the date the moving party knew or should have known 
of the grounds upon which the motion is based; or[.] 
 (iii)  i[I]f the last event occurs fewer than 21 days before a 
hearing, the motion [must]shall be filed as soon as practicable. 
 (c)  No party may file more than one motion to disqualify 
in an action, unless the second or substitute motion is based on 
grounds that the party did not know of and could not have known at 
the time of the earlier motion. 
 (d)  If timeliness of the motion is determined under 
Subsection (2)(b)(ii) or (2)(c), the affidavit or declaration supporting 
the motion [must]shall state when and how the party came to know 
of the reason for disqualification. 
 (3)  Within [7]seven days of receipt of the motion by the 
presiding officer, the presiding officer shall provide a copy of the 
motion to the board or commission member who is the subject of the 
motion. 
 (4)(a)  The decision on a motion to disqualify a board or 
commission member shall be made by the presiding officer[.  A], and 
a written decision is not necessary. 
 (b)  The division or moving party may not subject the board 
or commission member to questioning or examination on the motion, 
but the presiding officer or the board or commission may question 
the member verbally or in writing [prior to]before issuing a decision 
on the motion. 
 (5)  A recused or disqualified board or commission member 
may not participate with fellow board or commission members in the 
action and is prohibited from voting on the action. 
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 (6)  A decision on a motion to disqualify a board or 
commission member is not subject to an interlocutory appeal or 
agency review. 
 (7)  This section does not apply to any adjudicative 
proceedings under Title 13, Chapter 14, New Automobile Franchise 
Act, or Title 13, Chapter 35, Powersport Vehicle Franchise Act. 
 
R151-4-401.  Filing. 
 (1)(a)  Any pleading or motion shall be filed with the 
department or division [in which]where the adjudicative proceeding 
is [being ]conducted[, which] and maintains the official file. 
 (b)  The filing of discovery documents is governed by 
Section R151-4-512. 
 (2)(a)  A filing may be accomplished by: 
 (i)  hand delivery of a paper copy, pursuant to Subsection 
(2)(b)(i); 
 (ii)  first class or certified mail, postage prepaid, of a paper 
copy, pursuant to Subsection (2)(b)(i); or 
 (iii)  fax or attachment to electronic mail pursuant to 
Subsection (2)(b)(ii). 
 (b)(i)  A filing by hand delivery or first class or certified 
mail is complete when it is received and date stamped by the 
department or division, as applicable. 
 (ii)  A filing by fax or electronic mail is complete upon 
transmission, if: 
 (A)  compliant with Subsection (1); 
 (B)  completed and received during the department's 
operating hours, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mountain Time, on days other than 
Saturdays, Sundays, or state or federal holidays; 
 (C)  the recipient receives the complete document; and, 
 (D)  the party filing the document: 
 (I)  also mails the document to the department or division 
the same day, as evidenced by a postmark; or 
 (II)  [prior to]before any applicable filing deadline, is 
expressly excused by the presiding officer from mailing the 
document. 
 (c)  The burden is on the party filing the document to ensure 
that a filing is properly completed. 
 
R151-4-402.  Service. 
 (1)(a)  A pleading or motion filed by the parties shall be 
concurrently served on each party and any administrative law judge 
who is assigned to the case.  Documents issued by the presiding 
officer shall be concurrently served on each party. 
 (b)  The party who files a pleading or motion is responsible 
for service of the pleading or motion. 
 (c)  The presiding officer who issues a document is 
responsible for service of the document. 
 (2)(a)  Service may be made: 
 (i)  on a person upon whom a summons may be served 
pursuant to the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; and 
 (ii)  personally or on the agent of the person being served. 
 (b)  If a party is represented by an attorney, service shall be 
made on the attorney. 
 (3)(a)  Service may be accomplished by hand delivery of a 
paper copy, by mail of a paper copy to the last known address of the 
intended recipient, or by attachment to electronic mail. 
 (b)  Service by hand delivery is complete upon delivery to: 
 (i)  the person who is required to be served; 
 (ii)  any individual who is employed by, and physically 
present at, the business office of the person who is required to be 
served; or 

 (iii)  a mailbox or drop box that is: 
 (A)  assigned to the person who is required to be served; 
and 
 (B)  physically located at the person's place of business. 
 (c)  Service by mail is complete upon mailing, as evidenced 
by a postmark. 
 (d)  Service by attachment to electronic mail is complete on 
transmission if transmission is completed during normal business 
hours, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on days other than Saturdays, Sundays, and 
state and federal holidays, at the place receiving the service; 
otherwise, service is complete on the next business day. 
 (4)  There shall appear on each document required to be 
served a certificate of service in substantially the following form: 
 

[TABLE 2 
 
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
     I certify that I have this day served the 
foregoing document on the parties of record in this 
proceeding set forth below (by delivering a copy thereof 
in person) (by mailing a copy thereof, properly addressed 
by first class mail with postage prepaid, to) (by 
electronic means to): 
 
(Name(s) of parties of record) 
(Address(es)) 
Dated this (day) day of (month), (year). 
 
(Signature) 
(Name and Title)] 

TABLE 2 
 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 
 
I certify that I have this day served the 
foregoing document on the parties of record in this 
proceeding set forth below (by delivering a copy in person) 
(by mailing a copy, properly addressed 
by first class mail with postage prepaid, to) (by 
electronic means to): 
 
(Name of parties of record) 
(Address) 
Dated this (day) day of (month), (year). 
 
(Signature) 
(Name and Title) 

 
R151-4-501.  Applicability. 
 [(1)  This part, ]Sections R151-4-501 through R151-4-
516[, applies] apply only to formal adjudicative proceedings. 
 
R151-4-502.  Scope of Discovery. 
 (1)  Parties may obtain discovery regarding a matter that: 
 (a)  is not privileged; 
 (b)  is relevant to the subject matter involved in the 
proceeding; and 
 (c)  relates to a claim or defense: 
 (i)(A)  of the party seeking discovery; or 
 (B)  of another party; 
 (ii)  that is set forth in a pleading; and 
 (iii)  that is brought pursuant to a statement of fact, 
information, or belief. 
 (2)(a)  Subject to Subsection R151-4-502(3) and Section 
R151-4-504, a party may obtain discovery of documents and tangible 
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things otherwise discoverable under Subsection R151-4-502(1) and 
prepared in anticipation of litigation or for hearing by another party 
or for another party or by that party's representative or for that party's 
representative, including the party's attorney, consultant, insurer or 
other agent, only on a showing that the party seeking discovery: 
 (i)  has substantial need of the materials in the preparation 
of the case; and 
 (ii)  is unable without undue hardship to obtain the 
substantial equivalent of the materials by other means. 
 (b)  In ordering discovery of materials described in 
Subsection R151-4-502(2)(a), the presiding officer shall protect 
against disclosure of the mental impressions, conclusions, opinions, 
or legal theories of an attorney of a party. 
 (3)  Discovery of facts known and opinions held by experts, 
otherwise discoverable under Subsection R151-4-502(1) and 
acquired or developed in anticipation of litigation or for hearing, may 
be obtained only through the disclosures required by Section R151-
4-504. 
 
R151-4-503.  Disclosures Required by Prehearing Order. 
 (1)  In the prehearing order the presiding officer may 
require each party to disclose in writing: 
 (a)(i)  the name and, if known, the address and telephone 
number of each individual likely to have discoverable information 
supporting the party's claims or defenses; and 
 (ii)  identification of the topic addressed in the information 
maintained by each individual; and 
 (b)(i)  a copy of each discoverable document, data 
compilation, and tangible thing that: 
 (A)  is in the party's possession, custody, or control; and 
 (B)  supports the party's claims or defenses; or 
 (ii)(A)  a description, by category and location, of the 
tangible things identified in Subsection R151-4-503(1)(b)(i); and 
 (B)  reasonable access. 
 (2)(a)  The order may not require disclosure of expert 
testimony[, which i] as governed by Section R151-4-504. 
 (b)  The order shall not require the disclosure of 
information regarding persons or things intended to be used solely 
for impeachment. 
 (3)(a)  Each party shall make the disclosures required by 
Subsection R151-4-503(1) within 14 days after the prehearing order 
is issued. 
 (b)  A party joined after the prehearing conference shall 
make these disclosures within 30 days after being served. 
 (c)  A party shall make initial disclosures based on the 
information then reasonably available and is not excused from 
making disclosures because: 
 (i)  the party has not fully completed the investigation of 
the case; 
 (ii)  the party challenges the sufficiency of another party's 
disclosures; or 
 (iii)  another party has not made disclosures. 
 (4)  Disclosures required under Section R151-4-503 shall 
be made in writing, signed, and served. 
 
R151-4-504.  Disclosures Otherwise Required. 
 (1)(a)  A party shall: 
 (i)  disclose in writing the name, address and telephone 
number of any person who might be called as an expert witness at the 
hearing; and 

 (ii)  provide a written report signed by the expert that 
contains a complete statement of each opinion the expert will offer at 
the hearing and the basis and reasons for them. 
 (b)  [Such an]The expert may not testify in a party's case-
in-chief concerning any matter not fairly disclosed in the report. 
 (c)  The party offering the expert shall pay the costs for the 
report. 
 ([b]d)  Unless otherwise stipulated in writing by the parties 
or ordered in writing by the presiding officer, the disclosures required 
by Subsection R151-4-504(1) shall be made: 
 (i)  within 30 days after the deadline for completion of 
discovery; or 
 (ii)  if the evidence is intended solely to contradict or rebut 
evidence on the same subject matter identified by another party under 
Subsection R151-4-504(1)(a), within 60 days after the disclosure 
made by the other party. 
 ([c]e)  If either party fails to file its disclosure within the 
time frames in Subsection R151-4-504(1), the presiding officer: 
 (i)  shall exclude the expert testimony from the proceeding; 
and 
 (ii)  may not continue the hearing to allow additional time 
for the disclosures. 
 (2)(a)  In addition to the disclosures required by Subsection 
R151-4-504(1), a party shall disclose information regarding evidence 
the party may present at hearing other than solely for impeachment 
purposes pursuant to the pretrial disclosures [provisions ]of Utah 
Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 26. 
 (b)(i)  The disclosures required by Subsection R151-4-
504(2) shall be made at least 45 days before the hearing. 
 (ii)  Within 14 days after service of the disclosures a party 
may serve and file an objection to the: 
 (A)  use of a deposition designated by another party; and 
 (B)  admissibility of materials identified under Subsection 
R151-4-504(2)(a). 
 (iii)  An objection not timely made is waived. 
 
R151-4-505.  Other Discovery Methods. 
 Parties may obtain discovery by one or more of the 
following methods: 
 (1)  depositions upon oral examination; 
 (2)  production of documents or things; 
 (3)  permission to enter upon land or other property for 
inspection and other purposes; and 
 (4)  physical and mental examinations. 
 
R151-4-506.  Limits on Use of Discovery. 
 The frequency and extent of discovery shall be limited by 
the presiding officer regardless of whether either party files a motion 
to limit discovery if: 
 (1)  the discovery sought is unreasonably cumulative, 
duplicative, or is obtainable from some other source that is: 
 (a)  more convenient; 
 (b)  less burdensome; or 
 (c)  less expensive; 
 (2)  the party seeking discovery has had ample opportunity 
by discovery in the action to obtain the information sought; or 
 (3)  the discovery is [unduly ]burdensome or expensive, 
taking into account: 
 (a)  the needs of the case; 
 (b)  the amount in controversy; 
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 (c)  the limitations on the parties' resources; and 
 (d)  the importance of the issues at stake in the litigation. 
 
R151-4-507.  Protective Orders. 
 (1)  Upon motion by a party or by the person from whom 
discovery is sought the presiding officer may make an order that 
justice requires to protect a party or person from annoyance, 
embarrassment, oppression, or undue burden or expense, including 
one or more of the following: 
 (a)  that the discovery not be had; 
 (b)  that the discovery may be had only on specified terms 
and conditions, including a designation of the time or place; 
 (c)  that the discovery may be had only by a method of 
discovery other than that selected by the party seeking discovery; 
 (d)  that certain matters not be [inquired into]discovered, or 
that the scope of the discovery be limited to certain matters; 
 (e)  that discovery be conducted with no one present except 
persons designated by the presiding officer; 
 (f)  that a deposition after being sealed be opened only by 
order of the presiding officer; 
 (g)  that a trade secret or other confidential research, 
development, or commercial information not be disclosed or be 
disclosed only in a designated way; or 
 (h)  that the parties simultaneously file specified documents 
or information enclosed in sealed envelopes to be opened as directed 
by the presiding officer. 
 (2)  If the motion for a protective order is denied in whole 
or in part, the presiding officer may order that a party or person 
provide or permit discovery. 
 
R151-4-508.  Timing, Completion, and Sequence of Discovery. 
 (1)  Parties are encouraged to initiate appropriate discovery 
procedures in advance of the prehearing conference so that discovery 
disputes can be addressed at that conference to the extent possible. 
 (2)(a)  Discovery, except for prehearing disclosures 
governed by Section R151-4-504, shall be completed within 120 
calendar days after the day: 
 (i)  the notice of agency action was issued; or 
 (ii)  the initial decision [with respect]as to a request for 
agency action was issued. 
 (b)  Factors the presiding officer shall consider in 
determining whether to shorten this time period include: 
 (i)  whether a party's interests will be prejudiced if the time 
period is not shortened; 
 (ii)  whether the relative simplicity or nonexistence of 
factual issues justifies a shortening of discovery time; and 
 (iii)  whether the health, safety or welfare of the public will 
be prejudiced if the time period is not shortened. 
 (c)  Factors the presiding officer shall consider in 
determining whether a party has demonstrated good cause to extend 
this time period include, in addition to those set forth in Section 
R151-4-109: 
 (i)  whether the complexity of the case warrants additional 
discovery time; and 
 (ii)  whether that party has made reasonable and prudent 
use of the discovery time that has already been available to the party 
since the proceeding commenced. 
 (d)  The presiding officer may not extend discovery in a 
way that prevents the hearing from taking place within the time 
frames established in Section R151-4-108. 
 (3)(a)  Unless the presiding officer orders otherwise for the 
convenience of parties and witnesses, and except as otherwise 

provided by this rule, discovery methods may be used in any 
sequence. 
 (b)  The fact that a party is conducting discovery shall not 
operate to delay another party's discovery. 
 
R151-4-509.  Supplemented Disclosures and Amended 
Responses. 
 (1)  A party who has made a disclosure or responded to a 
request for discovery with a response that was complete when made 
shall supplement the disclosure or amend the response to include 
subsequent information if: 
 (a)  ordered by the presiding officer; or 
 (b)  a circumstance described in Subsection[s] (2) or (3) 
exists. 
 (2)(a)  A party shall supplement disclosures if: 
 (i)  the party learns that in some material respect the 
information disclosed is incomplete or incorrect; and 
 (ii)  the additional or corrective information has not 
otherwise been made known to the other parties during the discovery 
process or in writing. 
 (b)  [With respect]As to testimony of an expert from whom 
a report is required under Section R151-4-504: 
 (i)  the duty extends to information contained in the report; 
and 
 (ii)  additions or other changes to this information shall be 
disclosed by the time the party's disclosures under Section R151-4-
504 are due. 
 (3)  A party shall amend a prior response to a request for 
production: 
 (a)  within a reasonable time after the party learns that the 
response is in some material respect incomplete or incorrect; and 
 (b)  if the additional or corrective information has not 
otherwise been made known to the other parties during the discovery 
process or in writing. 
 
R151-4-510.  Prehearing Conference - Scheduling the Hearing 
Date. 
 (1)  Each notice of agency action or initial decision [with 
respect]as to a request for agency action: 
 (a)  shall contain the time, date, and location of a prehearing 
conference, [which]that shall be at least 45 calendar days but not 
more than 60 calendar days after the date of the notice of agency 
action or initial decision [with respect]as to a request for agency 
action; 
 (b)  shall contain a clear notice that failure to respond 
within 30 calendar days may result in: 
 (i)  cancellation of the prehearing conference; and 
 (ii)  a default order; and 
 (c)  may contain the date, consistent with Section R151-4-
108, of the scheduled hearing. 
 (2)(a)  The prehearing conference may be in person or 
telephonic. 
 (b)  Each Party, or their counsel, shall participate in the 
conference. 
 (c)  The conference shall include discussion and scheduling 
of discovery, prehearing motions, and other necessary matters. 
 (3)  During the prehearing conference, the presiding officer 
shall issue a verbal order, and shall issue a written order to the same 
effect within two business days after the conference is concluded, 
[which]that shall address each of the following: 
 (a)  if necessary, scheduling an additional prehearing 
conference; 
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 (b)  setting a deadline for the filing of prehearing motions 
and cross[-] motions, including motions for summary judgment, 
[which deadline shall ]allowing for motions to be submitted and ruled 
on [prior to]before the hearing date; 
 (c)  modifying, if appropriate, a deadline for disclosures; 
 (d)  resolving discovery issues; 
 (e)  establishing a schedule for briefing, discovery needs, 
expert witness reports, witness and exhibit lists, objections, and other 
necessary or appropriate prehearing matters; 
 (f)  if not already scheduled, scheduling a hearing date in 
compliance with Section R151-4-108; and 
 (g)  dealing with other necessary matters. 
 (4)  A party joined after the prehearing conference is bound 
by the order issued as a result of that conference unless the order is 
modified in writing pursuant to a stipulation or motion. 
 (5)(a)  The presiding officer shall schedule prehearing 
matters consistent with Section R151-4-108. 
 (b)  The presiding officer may: 
 (i)  adjust time frames as necessary to accommodate 
Section R151-4-108; and 
 (ii)  schedule appropriate prehearing matters to occur 
concurrently. 
 
R151-4-511.  Signing of Disclosures, Discovery Requests, 
Responses, and Objections. 
 (1)(a)  Each disclosure shall: 
 (i)  be signed by: 
 (A)  at least one attorney of record; or 
 (B)  the party if not represented by an attorney; and 
 (ii)  include the mailing address of the signer. 
 (b)  The signature of the attorney or party constitutes a 
certification that to the best of the signer's knowledge, information, 
and belief, formed after a reasonable inquiry, the disclosure is 
complete and correct as of the time it was made. 
 (2)(a)  Each request for discovery or response, or objection 
to discovery shall: 
 (i)  be signed by: 
 (A)  at least one attorney of record; or 
 (B)  the party if not represented by an attorney; and 
 (ii)  include the mailing address of the signer. 
 (b)  The signature of the attorney or party constitutes a 
certification that the signer has read the request, response, or 
objection, and that to the best of the signer's knowledge, information, 
and belief formed after a reasonable inquiry it is: 
 (i)  consistent with this rule and warranted by existing law 
or a good faith argument for the extension, modification, or reversal 
of existing law; 
 (ii)  not interposed for an improper purpose, such as to 
harass or to cause unnecessary delay or needless increase in the cost 
of litigation; and 
 (iii)  not unreasonable or [unduly ]burdensome or 
expensive, given the needs of the case, the discovery already had in 
the case, and the importance of the issues at stake in the proceeding. 
 (3)(a)  If a request, response, or objection is not signed, it 
shall be stricken unless it is signed promptly after the omission is 
called to the attention of the party making the request, response, or 
objection. 
 (b)  A party is not obligated to take an action [with 
respect]as to a request, response, or objection until it is signed. 
 
R151-4-512.  Filing of Discovery Requests or Disclosures. 
 (1)  Unless otherwise ordered by the presiding officer: 

 (a)  a party may not file a request for or response to 
discovery, but shall file only the original certificate of service stating 
that the request or response has been served on the other parties and 
the date of service; 
 (b)  except as described in Subsection R151-4-512(1)(c), a 
party may not file any of the disclosures required by the prehearing 
order, but shall file only the original certificate of service stating that 
the disclosures have been served on the other parties and the date of 
service; and 
 (c)  a party shall file the disclosures required by Section 
R151-4-504. 
 (2)  A party filing a motion for a protective order or a 
motion for an order compelling discovery shall attach to the motion 
a copy of the request or response at issue. 
 
R151-4-513.  Subpoenas. 
 (1)  Each subpoena: 
 (a)  shall be issued and signed by the presiding officer; 
 (b)  shall state the title of the action; 
 (c)  shall command each person to whom it is directed to 
attend and give testimony at a hearing or deposition at a time and 
place specified; 
 (d)  may command the person to whom it is directed to 
produce designated books, papers, or tangible things, and in the case 
of a subpoena for a deposition, may permit inspection and copying of 
the items; and 
 (e)  shall limit its designation of books, papers, or tangible 
things to matters properly within the scope of discoverable 
information. 
 (2)  A subpoenaed individual shall receive the fee for 
attendance and mileage reimbursement required by law. 
 (3)(a)  A subpoena commanding a person to appear at a 
hearing or a deposition in Utah may be served at any place in Utah. 
 (b)  A person who resides in Utah may be required to appear 
at a deposition: 
 (i)  in the county where the person resides, is employed, or 
transacts business in person; or 
 (ii)  at any reasonable location as the presiding officer may 
order. 
 (c)  A person who does not reside in this state may be 
required to appear at a deposition: 
 (i)  in the county in Utah where the person is served with a 
subpoena; or 
 (ii)  at any reasonable location as the presiding officer may 
order. 
 (4)  A subpoena shall be served in accordance with the 
requirements of the jurisdiction [in which]where service is made. 
 (5)  Upon a motion made promptly to quash or modify a 
subpoena, but no later than the time specified in the subpoena for 
compliance, the presiding officer may: 
 (a)  quash or modify the subpoena, if it is shown to be 
unreasonable and oppressive; or 
 (b)  conditionally deny the motion with the denial 
conditioned on the payment of the reasonable cost of producing the 
requested materials by the person on whose behalf the subpoena is 
issued. 
 (6)(a)  In the case of a subpoena requiring the production 
of books, papers, or other tangible things at a deposition, the person 
to whom the subpoena is directed may, within 10 days after service 
or on or before the time specified in the subpoena for compliance if 
the time is less than 10 days after service, serve on the attorney 
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designated in the subpoena a written objection to production, 
inspection, or copying of any of the designated materials. 
 (b)  If [this]an objection is made, the party serving the 
subpoena is not entitled to production, inspection, or copying of the 
materials except pursuant to a further order of the presiding officer 
who issued the subpoena. 
 
R151-4-514.  Production of Documents and Things and Entry 
Upon Land for Inspection and Other Purposes. 
 (1)  Upon approval by the presiding officer, a party may 
serve on another party a request: 
 (a)  to produce and permit the party making the request to: 
 (i)  inspect and copy a data compilation from which 
information can be obtained and translated into a reasonably usable 
form; or 
 (ii)  inspect and copy, test, or sample a document or tangible 
thing that: 
 (A)  constitutes or contains matters within the scope of 
Subsection R151-4-502(1); and 
 (B)  are in the possession, custody or control of the party 
upon whom the request is served; or 
 (b)  to permit, within the scope of Subsection R151-4-
502(1), entry on designated land, property, object, or operation in the 
possession or control of the party upon whom the request is served 
for inspection, measuring, surveying, photographing, testing, or 
sampling. 
 (2)(a)  Before permitting a party to serve a request for 
production of documents, the presiding officer [must]shall first find 
that the requesting party has demonstrated the records have not 
already been provided. 
 (b)  After approval by the presiding officer, the request may 
be served on a party. 
 (c)  The request shall: 
 (i)  set forth the items to be inspected either by individual 
item or by category; 
 (ii)  describe each item and category with particularity; and 
 (iii)  specify a reasonable time, place, and manner of 
making the inspection and performing the related acts. 
 (d)(i)  The party upon whom the request is served shall 
serve a written response within 20 days after service of the request 
unless the presiding officer allows a shorter or longer time in a written 
order. 
 (ii)  The response shall state, [with respect]as to each 
specific item or category: 
 (A)  that inspection and related activities will be permitted 
as requested; or 
 (B)  an objection. 
 (iii)  The party submitting the request may move for an 
order under Section R151-4-516 [with respect]as to any: 
 (A)  objection; 
 (B)  failure to respond to any part of the request; or 
 (C)  failure to permit inspection as requested. 
 (e)  A party who produces documents for inspection shall: 
 (i)  produce them as they are kept in the usual course of 
business; or 
 (ii)  organize and label them to correspond with the 
categories in the request. 
 
R151-4-515.  Physical and Mental Examination of Persons. 
 (1)(a)  When the mental or physical condition, including 
the blood group, of a party or of a person in the custody or under the 

legal control of a party is in controversy, the presiding officer may 
order the party or person to: 
 (i)  submit to a physical or mental examination by a 
physician; or 
 (ii)  produce for examination the person in the party's 
custody or legal control. 
 (b)  The order: 
 (i)  may be made only on motion for good cause shown and 
upon notice to the person to be examined and to each party; and 
 (ii)  shall specify: 
 (A)  the time, place, manner, conditions, and scope of the 
examination; and 
 (B)  the person [or persons ]by whom it is to be made. 
 (2)(a)(i)  If requested by the party against whom an order 
is made under this rule or the person examined, the party causing the 
examination to be made shall deliver to the requester a copy of a 
detailed written report of the examining physician including findings, 
diagnoses, conclusions, test results, and reports of any earlier 
examination of the same condition. 
 (ii)(A)  After delivery, the party causing the examination [is 
entitled, on request,]may request to receive from the party against 
whom the order is made a [like ]report of an examination[, previously 
or thereafter made,] of the same condition unless, [in the case of]as 
to an examination of a person not a party, the party shows that the 
party [is unable to]cannot obtain it. 
 (B)  The presiding officer on motion may order a party to 
deliver a report, and if a physician fails or refuses to make a report, 
the presiding officer may exclude the physician's testimony at the 
hearing. 
 (b)  By requesting and obtaining an examination report or 
by taking the deposition of the examiner, the party examined waives 
any privilege regarding the testimony of any other person who has 
examined or may thereafter examine the party for the same mental or 
physical condition. 
 (c)  Subsection R151-4-515(2): 
 (i)  applies to any examination made by agreement of the 
parties unless the agreement expressly provides otherwise; and 
 (ii)  does not preclude discovery of a report of an examining 
physician or the taking of a deposition of the physician under any 
other rule. 
 
R151-4-516.  Motion to Compel Discovery - Sanctions. 
 (1)(a)  The discovering party may move for an order 
compelling discovery if: 
 (i)  a party fails to make disclosures required by a 
prehearing order; 
 (ii)  a party fails to make the disclosures required by Section 
R151-4-504; 
 (iii)  a deponent fails to answer a question; 
 (iv)  a corporation or other entity named as a deponent fails 
to designate an individual to testify pursuant to Utah Rules of Civil 
Procedure, Rule 30; or 
 (v)  a party, in response to a request for inspection under 
Section R151-4-514, fails to respond that an inspection will be 
permitted as requested or fails to permit an inspection as requested. 
 (b)  When taking a deposition, the proponent of [the]a 
question may complete or adjourn the examination before applying 
for an order. 
 (c)  If the presiding officer denies the motion in whole or in 
part, the presiding officer may make a protective order that otherwise 
would be authorized by Section R151-4-507. 
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 (d)  An evasive or incomplete answer is treated as a failure 
to answer. 
 (2)(a)  If a party or other person fails to comply with an 
order compelling discovery: 
 (i)  the department may seek civil enforcement in the 
district court under Section 63G-4-501; or 
 (ii)  the presiding officer may, for good cause, issue an 
order: 
 (A)  that the related matters and facts shall be taken to be 
established; 
 (B)  refusing to allow the disobedient party to support or 
oppose designated claims or defenses; or 
 (C)  prohibiting the disobedient party from introducing 
designated matters in evidence; 
 (D)  striking out pleadings or motions, or portions of 
pleadings or motions; 
 (E)  dismissing the proceeding or a portion of the 
proceeding; or 
 (F)  rendering a judgment by default against the disobedient 
party. 
 
R151-4-601.  Applicability - Scope. 
 (1)  This part, Sections R151-4-601 through Section R151-
4-611, applies only to formal adjudicative proceedings. 
 (2)(a)  Only as provided in this part and with a written order 
of the presiding officer, a party may take the testimony by deposition 
upon oral examination of certain persons, including parties, who 
[have knowledge of]know facts relevant to the claims or defenses of 
a party in the proceeding. 
 (b)  The attendance of witnesses may be compelled by 
subpoena. 
 (c)  A party may not depose an expert witness. 
 
R151-4-602.  General Provisions - Persons who may be Deposed. 
 (1)  Before a party may request leave to take a person's 
deposition, the party [must]shall first make efforts to obtain 
discovery from that person by [means of ]an interview.  For purposes 
of this section, "interview" means an unsworn, oral examination of a 
person with knowledge of facts relevant to the claims or defenses of 
a party in the proceeding, whether in person or by remote means. 
 (2)  A party may not be granted leave to take a deposition 
unless the party, upon motion, demonstrates to the satisfaction of the 
presiding officer that the person has knowledge of facts relevant to 
the claims or defenses of a party in the proceeding and: 
 (a)  has refused a reasonable request by the moving party 
for an interview; 
 (b)  has failed to attend a scheduled interview; 
 (c)  has failed to provide reasonable availability for an 
interview; 
 (d)  has refused to answer reasonable questions propounded 
to the person by that party in an interview; or 
 (e)  will be unavailable to testify at the hearing. 
 (3)  In deciding whether to grant the motion, the presiding 
officer shall consider the probative value the testimony is likely to 
have in the proceeding and the complexity of the proceeding. 
 (4)  The moving party has the burden of proof in a motion 
for leave to take a deposition. 
 (5)  Any participant in an interview conducted in 
accordance with this section may create an audio recording of the 
interview as long as the person recording the interview gives verbal 
notice to the other participants that the interview is being recorded. 
Any participant that creates an audio recording of the interview shall 

provide a copy of the recording to each party to the proceeding within 
10 days of the interview. 
 (6)  The parties to a proceeding may stipulate to take a 
deposition rather than conduct an interview, even if the requirements 
of this section have not been met. 
 
R151-4-603.  Notice of Deposition - Requirements. 
 (1)  A party permitted to take a deposition shall give notice 
pursuant to the notice requirements of Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, 
Rule 30. 
 (2)(a)  The parties may stipulate in writing or, upon motion, 
the presiding officer may order in writing that the testimony at a 
deposition be recorded by means other than stenographic means. 
 (b)  The stipulation or order: 
 (i)  shall designate the person before whom the deposition 
shall be taken; 
 (ii)  shall designate the manner of recording, preserving and 
filing the deposition; and 
 (iii)  may include other provisions to assure the recorded 
testimony will be accurate and trustworthy. 
 (c)  A party may arrange to have a transcript made at the 
party's own expense. 
 (d)  A deposition recorded by means other than 
stenographic means shall set forth in writing: 
 (i)  any objections; 
 (ii)  any changes made by the witness; 
 (iii)  the signature of the witness identifying the deposition 
as the witness's own or the statement of the court reporter required if 
the witness does not sign; and 
 (iv)  any certification required by Utah Rules of Civil 
Procedure, Rule 30. 
 (3)  The notice to a party deponent may be accompanied by 
a request in compliance with Section R151-4-514 for the production 
of documents and tangible things at the deposition. 
 (4)  Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 30(b)(6), shall 
apply [where]if a deponent is: 
 (a)  a public or private corporation; 
 (b)  a partnership; 
 (c)  an association; or 
 (d)  a government agency. 
 (5)  The parties may stipulate in writing or, upon motion, 
the presiding officer may order a deposition be taken by telephone. 
 
R151-4-604.  Examination and Cross Examination. 
 Examination and cross examination of witnesses may 
proceed as permitted at a hearing under the Utah Administrative 
Procedures Act and Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 30. 
 
R151-4-605.  Motion to Terminate or Limit Examination. 
 The presiding officer may order the court reporter 
conducting the examination to end the deposition or may limit the 
scope and manner of taking the deposition pursuant to Utah Rules of 
Civil Procedure, Rule 30. 
 
R151-4-606.  Submission to Witness - Changes - Signing. 
 A deposition shall be submitted to the witness, changed, 
and signed pursuant to Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 30. 
 
R151-4-607.  Certification - Delivery - Exhibits. 
 (1)  The transcript or recording of a deposition shall be 
certified and delivered pursuant to Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, 
Rule 30. 
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 (2)  Exhibits shall be marked for identification, inspected, 
copied, and delivered pursuant to Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, 
Rule 30. 
 
R151-4-608.  Persons Before Whom Depositions May Be Taken. 
 Depositions shall be taken before an individual certified 
court reporter as defined by Title 58, Chapter 74, State Certification 
of Court Reporters Act. 
 
R151-4-609.  Use of Depositions. 
 (1)  Pursuant to the other provisions of Section R151-4-
609, a part of a deposition, if admissible under the [rules of e]Utah 
Rules of Evidence applied as though the witness were present and 
testifying, may be used against a party who: 
 (a)  was present or represented at the taking of the 
deposition; or 
 (b)  had reasonable notice of the deposition. 
 (2)  A party may use a deposition: 
 (a)  to contradict or impeach the testimony of the deponent 
as a witness; or 
 (b)  for another purpose permitted by the Utah Rules of 
Evidence. 
 (3)  An adverse party may use a deposition for any purpose. 
 (4)  A party may use the deposition of a witness, whether 
or not a party, for any purpose if the presiding officer finds that: 
 (a)  the witness is dead; 
 (b)  the witness is more than 100 miles from the hearing, 
unless it appears the absence of the witness was procured by the party 
offering the deposition; 
 (c)  the witness [is unable to]cannot attend or testify 
because of age, illness, infirmity, or imprisonment; or 
 (d)  the party offering the deposition has been unable to 
procure the attendance of the witness by subpoena. 
 (5)  If part of a deposition is offered in evidence by a party, 
an adverse party may require introduction of any other part that 
ought, in fairness, to be considered with the part introduced. 
 (6)  A deposition lawfully taken and filed in a court or 
another agency within Utah may be used as if originally taken in the 
pending proceeding. 
 (7)  A deposition previously taken may otherwise be used 
as permitted by the Utah Rules of Evidence. 
 
R151-4-610.  Objections to Admissibility. 
 A party may object at a hearing to receiving in evidence 
any part of a deposition for a reason that would require the exclusion 
of the evidence if the witness were present and testifying. 
 
R151-4-611.  Effect of Errors and Irregularities in Depositions. 
 (1)  An error or irregularity in the notice for taking a 
deposition is waived unless a party promptly serves a written 
objection on the party giving the notice. 
 (2)  An objection to taking a deposition because of 
disqualification of the court reporter before whom it is to be taken is 
waived unless made before the taking of the deposition begins or as 
soon thereafter as the disqualification becomes known or could be 
discovered with reasonable diligence. 
 (3)  An objection to the competency of a witness or to the 
competency, relevancy, or materiality of testimony is not waived by 
failure to make it before or during the taking of the deposition, unless 
the basis of the objection is one that could have been obviated or 
removed if presented at that time. 

 (4)  An error or irregularity occurring at the oral 
examination in the manner of taking the deposition, in the form of the 
questions or answers, in the oath or affirmation, or in the conduct of 
parties, and an error that might be obviated, removed, or cured if 
promptly presented, is waived unless an objection is made at the 
taking of the deposition. 
 (5)  An error or irregularity in the manner [in which]that the 
testimony is transcribed or the deposition is prepared, signed, 
certified, sealed, endorsed, transmitted, filed, or otherwise dealt with 
is waived unless a motion to suppress is made with reasonable 
promptness after the defect is, or with due diligence should have 
been, discovered. 
 
R151-4-701.  Hearings Required or Permitted. 
 A hearing shall be held in an adjudicative proceeding [in 
which]if a hearing is: 
 (1)  required by statute or rule and not waived by the 
parties; or 
 (2)  permitted by statute or rule and timely requested. 
 
R151-4-702.  Time to Request Permissive Hearing. 
 A request for a hearing permitted by statute or rule 
[must]shall be received no later than: 
 (1)  the time period for filing a response to a notice of 
agency action if a response is required or permitted; 
 (2)  twenty days following the issuance of a notice of 
agency action if a response is not required or permitted; or 
 (3)  the filing of the request for agency action. 
 
R151-4-703.  Hearings Open to Public - Exceptions. 
 (1)  A hearing in an adjudicative proceeding is open to the 
public unless closed by: 
 (a)  the presiding officer conducting the hearing, pursuant 
to Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act; or 
 (b)  a presiding officer who is a public body, pursuant to 
Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act. 
 (2)(a)  The deliberative process of an adjudicative 
proceeding is a quasi-judicial function exempt from the Open and 
Public Meetings Act. 
 (b)  Deliberations are closed to the public. 
 
R151-4-704.  Bifurcation of Hearing. 
 The presiding officer may, for good cause, order a hearing 
bifurcated into a findings phase and a sanctions phase. 
 
R151-4-705.  Order of Presentation in Hearings. 
 The order of presentation of evidence in hearings in formal 
adjudicative proceedings shall be as follows: 
 (1)  opening statement of the party with the burden of proof; 
 (2)  opening statement of the opposing party, unless the 
party reserves the opening statement until the presentation of its case-
in-chief; 
 (3)  case-in-chief of the party with the burden of proof and 
cross examination of witnesses by the opposing party; 
 (4)  case-in-chief of the opposing party and cross 
examination of witnesses by the party with the burden of proof; 
 (5)  if the presiding officer finds it to be necessary, rebuttal 
evidence by the party that has the burden of proof; 
 (6)  if the presiding officer finds it to be necessary, rebuttal 
evidence by the opposing party; 
 (7)  closing argument by the party with the burden of proof; 
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 (8)  closing argument by the opposing party; and 
 (9)  final argument by the party with the burden of proof. 
 
R151-4-706.  Testimony Under Oath. 
 Testimony presented at a hearing shall be given under oath 
administered by the presiding officer and under penalty of perjury. 
 
R151-4-707.  Electronic Testimony. 
 (1)  As used in this section, electronic testimony means 
testimony by contemporaneous transmission from a different location 
including by telephone, or by other audio or video conferencing 
technology. 
 (2)  For good cause and with appropriate safeguards, the 
presiding officer may permit electronic testimony in hearings in 
administrative proceedings. 
 (3)  With appropriate safeguards, electronic testimony is 
permissible in an informal proceeding on the request of a party. 
 
R151-4-708.  Standard of Proof. 
 Unless otherwise provided by statute or a rule applicable to 
a specific proceeding, the standard of proof in a proceeding under this 
rule, whether initiated by a notice of agency action or request for 
agency action, is a preponderance of the evidence. 
 
R151-4-709.  Burden of Proof. 
 Unless otherwise provided by statute: 
 (1)  the department has the burden of proof in a proceeding 
initiated by a notice of agency action; and 
 (2)  the party who seeks action from the department has the 
burden of proof in a proceeding initiated by a request for agency 
action. 
 
R151-4-710.  Default Orders. 
 (1)  The presiding officer may enter a default order under 
Section 63G-4-209, with or without a motion from a party. 
 (2)  If a basis exists for a default order, the order may enter 
without notice to the defaulting party or a hearing. 
 (3)  A default order is not required to be accompanied by a 
separate order. 
 
R151-4-711.  Record of Hearing. 
 (1)  The presiding officer shall make a record of prehearing 
conferences and hearings. 
 (2)(a)  The presiding officer shall make the record of a 
hearing in a formal proceeding by[ means of]: 
 (i)  a certified court reporter as defined by Title 58, Chapter 
74, State Certification of Court Reporters Act; or 
 (ii)  a digital audio or video recording in a commonly used 
file format. 
 (b)  The presiding officer shall make the record of a hearing 
in an informal proceeding by: 
 (i)  a method required for a formal proceeding; or 
 (ii)  the minutes of the proceeding or an order prepared or 
adopted by the presiding officer. 
 (3)  A hearing in an adjudicative proceeding shall be 
recorded at the expense of the department. 
 (4)(a)  If a party is required by Section R151-4-902 to 
obtain a transcript of a hearing for agency review, the party 
[must]shall ensure that the record is transcribed: 
 (i)  in a formal adjudicative proceeding, by a certified court 
reporter; or 
 (ii)  in an informal adjudicative proceeding, by: 

 (A)  a certified court reporter; or 
 (B)  a person who is not a party in interest. 
 (b)  [Where]If a transcript is prepared by someone other 
than a certified court reporter, a party shall file an affidavit of the 
transcriber stating under penalty of perjury that the transcript is a 
correct and accurate transcription of the hearing record. 
 (c)  Pages and lines in a transcript shall be numbered for 
referencing purposes. 
 (d)  The party requesting the transcript shall bear the cost 
of the transcription. 
 (5)  The original transcript of a record of a hearing shall be 
filed with the presiding officer. 
 
R151-4-712.  Fees. 
 (1)(a)  Witnesses appearing on the demand or at the request 
of a party may receive payment from that party of: 
 (i)  $18.50 for each day in attendance; and 
 (ii)  if traveling more than 50 miles to attend and return 
from the hearing, 25 cents [per]a mile for each mile actually and 
necessarily traveled. 
 (b)  A witness subpoenaed by a party other than the 
department may: 
 (i)  demand one day's witness fee and mileage in advance; 
and 
 (ii)  be excused from appearance unless the fee is provided. 
 (2)  Interpreters and translators may receive compensation 
for their services. 
 (3)  An officer or employee of the United States, the state 
of Utah, or a county, incorporated city, or town within the state of 
Utah, may not receive a witness fee unless the officer or employee is 
required to testify at a time other than during normal working hours. 
 (4)  A witness may not receive fees in more than one 
adjudicative proceeding on the same day. 
 
R151-4-801.  Requirements and Timeliness. 
 (1)  For default orders and orders issued [subsequent 
to]after a default order, the requirements of Subsections 63G-4-
203(1)(i)(iii), 63G-4-203(1)(i)(iv), and 63G-4-208(1)(e) through (g) 
are satisfied if the order includes a notice of the right to seek to set 
aside the order as provided in Subsection 63G-4-209(3). 
 (2)  Except as provided in Sections 63G-4-502 and R151-
4-111, the presiding officer shall issue an order within 45 calendar 
days after the day the hearing concludes. 
 (3)  If the presiding officer permits the filing of post-
hearing documents, that filing shall be scheduled in a way that allows 
the presiding officer to issue an order within 45 calendar days after 
the day the hearing concludes. 
 (4)  The failure of the presiding officer to comply with the 
requirements of this section: 
 (a)  is not a basis for dismissal of the matter; and 
 (b)  may not be considered an automatic denial or grant of 
a motion. 
 
R151-4-802.  Effective Date. 
 The effective date of an order is 30 calendar days after its 
issuance unless otherwise provided in the order. 
 
R151-4-803.  Clerical Mistakes. 
 (1)  The department may correct clerical mistakes in orders 
or other parts of the record and errors arising from oversight or 
omission on: 
 (a)  its own initiative; or 
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 (b)  the motion of a party. 
 (2)  Mistakes described in this section may be corrected: 
 (a)  at any time [prior to]before the docketing of a petition 
for judicial review; or 
 (b)  as governed by Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure, 
Rule 11(h). 
 
R151-4-901.  Availability of Agency Review and Reconsideration. 
 (1)(a)  Except as otherwise provided in Subsection 63G-4-
209(3)(c), an aggrieved party may obtain agency review of a final 
order by filing a request with the executive director within 30 
calendar days after the issuance of the order. 
 (b)  This 30-day deadline is jurisdictional[.  T], the three-
day mailing rule in Subsection 151-4-107(3) does not apply and does 
not extend the jurisdictional deadline. 
 (c)  Pursuant to Subsection 63G-4-102(9), the executive 
director may extend the deadline only for good cause shown.[ For 
purposes of this section, g] 
 (d)  Good cause to justify an extension means special 
circumstances beyond the control of the person requesting agency 
review that prevents a timely filing of the request. 
 (2)(a)  Agency review is not available for an order or 
decision entered by: 
 (i)  the Utah Motor Vehicle Franchise Advisory Board; or 
 (ii)  the Utah Powersport Vehicle Franchise Advisory 
Board[; or 
 (iii)  the Utah Department of Commerce under Title 13, 
Chapter 55, Regulatory Sandbox Program.] 
 (b)  Agency review is not available for an order or decision 
entered by the Division of [Occupational and ]Professional Licensing 
for: 
 (i)  Prelitigation proceedings under Title 78B, Chapter 3, 
the Utah Health Care Malpractice Act; 
 (ii)  a request for modification of a disciplinary order; 
 (iii)  a request under [Subsection 58-1-404(4)]Title 58, 
Chapter 4a, for entry into the [Diversion Program]Utah Professionals 
Health Program; or 
 (iv)  a determination made on an application for a division 
determination regarding criminal record in accordance with Section 
58-1-310. 
 (c)  Agency review is not available for an order or decision 
entered by the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code for: 
 (i)  refusal to file a document under the Utah Revised 
Business Corporations Act pursuant to Section 16-10a-126; 
 (ii)  revocation of a foreign corporation's authority to 
transact business pursuant to Section 16-10a-1532; 
 (iii)  refusal to file a document under the Utah Revised 
Limited Liability Company Act pursuant to Section 48-3a-209; or 
 (iv)  denial of reinstatement under the Uniform Limited 
Cooperative Association Act pursuant to Section 16-16-1213. 
 (d)(i)  A party may request agency reconsideration pursuant 
to Section 63G-4-302 for an order or decision exempt from agency 
review under Subsections R151-4-901(2)(a), R151-4-901(2)(b)(ii), 
and R151-4-901(2)(c). 
 (ii)  Pursuant to Subsections 58-1-404(4)(d) and 78B-3-
416(1)(c), agency reconsideration is not available for an order or 
decision exempt from agency review under Subsections R151-4-
901(2)(b)(i) and R151-4-901(2)(b)(iii). 
 
R151-4-902.  Request for Agency Review - Transcript of Hearing 
- Service. 
 (1)  A request for agency review shall: 

 (a)  comply with Subsection 63G-4-301(1)(b) and this 
section; and 
 (b)  include a copy of the order that is the subject of the 
request. 
 (2)  A party requesting agency review shall set forth any 
factual or legal basis in support of that request, including adequate 
supporting arguments and citation to: 
 (a)  appropriate legal authority; and 
 (b)  the relevant portions of the record. 
 (3)(a)  If a party challenges a finding of fact, the party 
[must]shall demonstrate, based on the entire record, that the finding 
is not supported by substantial evidence. 
 (b)  A party challenging a finding of fact bears the burden 
to 
 show that the finding is not supported by substantial evidence. 
 (c)  A party challenging a legal conclusion [must]shall 
support the argument with citation to: 
 (i)  relevant authority; and 
 (ii)  the portions of the record relevant to the issue. 
 (4)(a)  If the grounds for agency review include a challenge 
to a determination of fact or conclusion of law as unsupported by or 
contrary to the evidence, the party seeking agency review shall order 
and cause a transcript of the record relevant to the finding or 
conclusion to be prepared. 
 (b)  When a transcript is required, the party seeking review 
shall: 
 (i)  certify that the transcript has been ordered; 
 (ii)  notify the department when the transcript will be 
available; and 
 (iii)  file the transcript with the executive director in 
accordance with the time frame stated in the certification regarding 
transcript. 
 (c)  The party seeking agency review bears the cost of the 
transcript. 
 (5)  Grounds for agency review that include any legal 
argument [must]shall be supported by specific citations to the 
transcript of the proceeding, indicating when the argument was raised 
and preserved in the proceeding.  Examples of legal argument 
include: 
 (a)  an objection to a ruling of the presiding officer; 
 (b)  an argument regarding one or more procedures 
attendant to the proceeding; or 
 (c)  an argument as to the legal validity, including the 
constitutionality, of a statute or rule. 
 (6)(a)  A party seeking agency review shall, in the manner 
described in Sections R151-4-401 and R151-4-402, file and serve on 
the parties copies of correspondence, pleadings, motions, and other 
submissions. 
 (b)  If an attorney enters an appearance on behalf of a party, 
service shall be made on the attorney instead of the party. 
 
R151-4-903.  Stay Pending Agency Review. 
 (1)(a)  With a timely filing of a request for agency review 
of an order, the party seeking review may file a motion for a stay of 
the order pending the completion of agency review. 
 (b)  If a motion to stay is not timely filed and subsequently 
granted, the order subject to review shall remain in effect according 
to its terms. 
 (2)(a)  The division that issued the order subject to review 
may oppose a motion for a stay in writing within ten days from the 
date the stay is requested. 
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 (b)  Failure to oppose a timely request for a stay shall result 
in an order granting the stay unless the executive director determines 
that a stay would not be in the best interest of the public. 
 (c)  If a division opposes a motion for a stay, the executive 
director may permit a final response by the party requesting the stay. 
 (d)  The executive director may enter an interim order 
granting a stay pending a decision on the motion for a stay. 
 (3)(a)  In determining whether to grant a request for a stay, 
the executive director shall review the division's findings of fact, 
conclusions of law and order to determine whether granting a stay 
would, or might reasonably be expected to, pose a significant threat 
to the public health, safety, and welfare. 
 (b)  The executive director may issue: 
 (i)  an order granting the motion for a stay; 
 (ii)  a conditional stay imposing terms, conditions or 
restrictions on a party pending agency review; 
 (iii)  a partial stay; or 
 (iv)  an order denying the motion for a stay. 
 
R151-4-904.  Agency Review - Memoranda. 
 (1)(a)  The department may order or permit the parties to 
file memoranda to assist in conducting agency review. 
 (b)  Memoranda shall comply with: 
 (i)  this rule; and 
 (ii)  a scheduling order entered by the department. 
 (2)(a)  If a transcript is not necessary to conduct agency 
review, a memorandum supporting a request for agency review shall 
be concurrently filed with the request. 
 (b)  If a transcript is necessary to conduct agency review, a 
supporting memorandum shall be filed no later than 15 days after the 
filing of the transcript with the department. 
 (3)(a)  A response to a request for agency review and a 
memorandum supporting that response shall be filed no later than 30 
days after the service of the memoranda supporting the request. 
 (b)  A final reply memorandum shall be filed no later than 
10 days after the service of a response to the request for agency 
review. 
 (4)  If agency review involves more than two parties the 
department shall conduct a telephonic scheduling conference to 
address briefing deadlines. 
 
R151-4-905.  Agency Review - Standards of Review. 
 In both formal and informal adjudicative proceedings, the 
standards for agency review correspond to the standards for judicial 
review of formal adjudicative proceedings under Subsection 63G-4-
403(4). 
 
R151-4-906.  Agency Review - Type of Relief - Order on Review. 
 (1)  The type of relief available on agency review shall be 
the same as the type of relief available on judicial review under 
Subsection 63G-4-404(1)(b). 
 (2)  The order on review constitutes final agency action for 
purposes of Subsection 63G-4-401(1). 
 
R151-4-907.  Stay Pending Judicial Review. 
 (1)  A party seeking judicial review of an order may file 
with the executive director a motion for a stay of the order pending 
judicial review.  The motion for a stay shall be filed with the 
executive director on the same date that a timely petition for judicial 
review is filed with the court. 

 (2)  Unless otherwise provided by statute, a motion for a 
stay of an order pending judicial review shall include: 
 (a)  a statement of the reasons for the relief requested; 
 (b)  a statement of the facts relied upon; 
 (c)  affidavits or other sworn statements if the facts are 
subject to dispute; 
 (d)  relevant portions of the record of the adjudicative 
proceeding and agency review; 
 (e)  a memorandum of law identifying the issues to be 
presented on appeal and supporting the aggrieved party's position that 
those issues raise a substantial question of law or fact reasonably 
likely to result in reversal, remand for a new hearing, or relief from 
the order entered; 
 (f)  clear and convincing evidence that if the requested stay 
is not granted, the aggrieved party will suffer irreparable injury; 
 (g)  clear and convincing evidence that if the requested stay 
is granted, it will not substantially harm other parties to the 
proceeding; and 
 (h)  clear and convincing evidence that if the requested stay 
is granted, the aggrieved party will not pose a significant danger to 
public health, safety, and welfare. 
 (3)(a)  The division that issued the order subject to review 
may oppose a motion for a stay in writing within ten days from the 
date that the motion is filed. 
 (b)  Failure to oppose a timely motion under this section[,] 
shall result in an order granting the stay unless the executive director 
determines that a stay would not be in the public interest. 
 (c)  If a division opposes a motion for a stay, the executive 
director may permit a final response by the party filing the motion. 
 (4)  The executive director may grant a motion for a stay of 
an order pending judicial review if the criteria in Subsections R151-
4-907(1) and (2) are met. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, adjudicative proceedings, 
government hearings 
Date of Last Change:  2022[September 20, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 22, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  13-1-6; 63G-
4-102(6) 
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Agency: Administration (Health) 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Richard Oborn 385-

232-
4259 

roborn@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R380-411.  Administrative Hearing Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) is repealing and reenacting Rule R380-411 
alongside Rule R380-412, the Compassionate Use Board 
rule, to ensure the administrative hearing procedures are 
updated for the consolidated Department. 
(EDITOR'S NOTES:  A corresponding 120-day 
(emergency) filing for Rule R380-411 that is effective as of 
07/12/2022 is under ID 54747; and the proposed repeal 
and reenactment of Rule R380-412 is under ID 54746 in 
this issue, August 1, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This filing updates the administrative hearing procedures 
for the Center for Medical Cannabis with the consolidated 
Department's standards and procedures.  It also amends 
language to adhere to the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Department does not anticipate that this rule will result 
in a fiscal impact to the state budget.  This rule updates 
the administrative hearing procedures with the 
consolidated Department's standards and is not fiscal in 
nature. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to local 
governments because this rule does not establish 
requirements for local agencies. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to small 
businesses because this rule does not establish 
requirements for small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to non-
small businesses because this rule does not establish 
requirements for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to 
persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because 
this amendment does not fiscally impact the requirements 
for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-24 Section 

63G-4-102 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 07/11/2022 

 
R380.  Health, Administration. 
R380-411.  Administrative Hearing Procedures. 
[R380-411-1.  Introduction and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule establishes the administrative hearing 
procedures for the Center for Medical Cannabis. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized by Section 26-1-24 and Section 
63G-4-102. 
 
R380-411-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions in Section R380-400-2 and Section 
63G-4-103 apply to this rule. 
 (2)  The following definitions also apply: 
 (a)  "Action" means a denial, termination, suspension, or 
reduction of a license, or card, or issued, pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 

61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act; or the imposition of a penalty, or 
fine, authorized under Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical Cannabis 
Act.  An action does not include an issuance of a license to operate a 
medical cannabis pharmacy, pursuant to Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah 
Procurement Code. 
 (b)  "Agency" means the Center for Medical Cannabis 
within the Utah Department of Health. 
 (c)  "Aggrieved person" means any person affected by the 
agency's action. 
 (d)  "Applicant" means any person who has applied for a 
medical cannabis card or a registration, or license, other than a 
medical cannabis pharmacy license, pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 
61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act. 
 (e)  "Ex Parte" communication means direct or indirect 
communication in connection with an issue of fact, or law, between 
the hearing officer and one party only. 
 (f)  "Presiding Officer" means the agency head, or 
designee, as approved by the Executive Director; to conduct 
administrative a hearing pursuant to this rule. 
 (g)  "Medical record" means a record that contains medical 
data submitted by an applicant. 
 (h)  "Order" means a ruling by a hearing officer that 
determines the legal rights, duties, privileges, immunities, or other 
legal interests of one or more specific persons. 
 
R380-411-3.  Administrative Adjudicative Procedures. 
 (1)  Except as provided in this rule, or as otherwise 
designated by rule, or statute, or converted, pursuant to Subsection 
63G-4-202(3), all adjudicative proceedings conducted pursuant to 
this rule are informal proceedings. 
 (2)  The agency head shall serve as the presiding officer for 
an informal hearing, except that the agency head may designate a 
presiding officer, as approved by the executive director. 
 (3)  Closure of an application submitted to the agency, due 
to the applicant's failure to complete the application, or to provide 
required information, is not an action under this rule. 
 (4)  Any provision of this rule does not apply to an action 
that is governed by another statute that conflicts with the procedures 
in this rule. 
 
R380-411-4.  Commencement of Proceedings, Response. 
 (1)  If a person is aggrieved by an action of the agency, the 
person may file a request for agency action and hearing within the 
shortest of 30 calendar days, of either receiving the initial agency 
determination, or the agency's mailing, or electronic notification via 
email, of the initial agency determination.  The person shall request 
an agency action, and hearing, by submitting the request on a form 
created by the Center. 
 (2)  If the informal adjudicative proceeding is commenced 
by a notice of agency action, each party in the action, except the 
Center, shall file a response to the allegations contained in the notice 
of agency action, and state whether a hearing is requested. 
 (3)  Pursuant to this rule and Section 63G-4-201, if the 
informal adjudicative proceeding is commenced by a request for 
agency action, the Agency must consider the request, and grant or 
deny it, or set the request for further proceedings. 
 (4)  If a medical issue is in dispute, each request shall 
include supporting medical documentation.  The Agency shall 
schedule a hearing only when it receives sufficient medical records, 
and may dismiss a request for agency action, or strike the party's 
response, to a notice of agency action if it does not receive supporting 
medical documentation in a timely manner. 
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 (5)  Notice of Agency Action: 
 (a)  An agency shall provide a written notice of action to 
each aggrieved person.  Such action includes, but is not limited to: 
 (i)  denial of an application for a medical cannabis card, or 
a QMP, PMP, pharmacy agent, or courier agent registration card; 
 (ii)  suspension, or revocation, of a medical cannabis card 
or a QMP, PMP, pharmacy agent, or courier agent registration card; 
 (iii)  suspension, or revocation, of a medical cannabis 
pharmacy license, or a home delivery medical cannabis pharmacy 
license; and 
 (iv)  imposition of a penalty, or fine, authorized under Title 
26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act. 
 (b)  The notice must include: 
 (i)  a statement of the action the agency intends to take; 
 (ii)  the date the intended action becomes effective; 
 (iii)  the reason for the intended action; 
 (iv)  the specific regulation that support the action, or the 
change in federal law, state law, or Department rule which requires 
the action; 
 (v)  the right to submit a response, and request an 
administrative hearing; 
 (vi)  the right to represent oneself, the right to legal counsel, 
or the right to use another representative at the hearing; and 
 (vii)  if applicable, an explanation of the circumstance 
under which the license, or card, will continue, or may be reinstated, 
pursuant to this rule. 
 (c)  The agency shall mail the notice, or electronically 
notify the person at the email address on file with the EVS; at least 
10 calendar days before the date of the intended action. 
 (6)  The agency may issue an order on an emergency basis 
pursuant to Section 63G-4-502.  The aggrieved party may request an 
administrative hearing, pursuant to this rule. 
 
R380-411-5.  Hearing and a Request for a Hearing. 
 (1)  The Center shall conduct an informal hearing for all 
issues, except those specifically designated as a formal hearing 
pursuant to this rule.  The presiding officer may convert the 
proceeding to a formal hearing, if an aggrieved person requests a 
hearing that meets the criteria pursuant to Section 63G-4-202.  If a 
hearing under this rule is converted to a formal hearing, pursuant to 
Section 63G-4-202, the formal hearing shall be conducted pursuant 
to these rules; except as otherwise provided in Sections 63G-4-204 
through 63G-4-208, or other applicable statutes. 
 (2)  An aggrieved person shall request a hearing by 
submitting the request on a Center "Request for Hearing/Agency 
Action" form and mailing it to the Center.  The request must explain 
why the aggrieved person is seeking agency relief. 
 (3)  A Request for Hearing/Agency Action, or a Response, 
and Request for Hearing that response, which an aggrieved person 
sends via mail is deemed filed on the date of the postmark.  If the 
postmark date is illegible, erroneous, or omitted, the request is 
deemed filed on the date that the agency receives it; unless the sender 
can demonstrate through competent evidence of the mailing date. 
 (4)  Failure to submit a timely response, and request for a 
hearing, constitutes a waiver of an individual's due process rights. 
 (5)  The Agency shall conduct a hearing in connection with 
an agency action, if the aggrieved person requests a hearing and there 
is a disputed issue of fact.  If there is no disputed issue of fact, the 
presiding officer may deny a request for a hearing, and issue a 
recommended decision without a hearing, based on the record.  There 
is no disputed issue of fact, if the aggrieved person submits facts that 
do not conflict with the facts that the agency relies upon in taking 

action or seeking relief.  In the recommended decision, the presiding 
officer shall specifically set out all material, and relevant facts, that 
are not in dispute. 
 (6)  The Agency may dismiss a request for a hearing, if the 
aggrieved person: 
 (a)  withdraws the request in writing; 
 (b)  verbally withdraws the hearing request at a settlement 
conference, or prehearing conference; 
 (c)  fails to appear, or participate, in a scheduled proceeding 
without good cause; 
 (d)  prolongs the hearing process without good cause; 
 (e)  cannot be located, or agency mail is returned without a 
forwarding address; or 
 (f)  does not respond to any correspondence from the 
presiding officer, or fails to provide medical records that the agency 
requests. 
 (7)  If the aggrieved person objects to the hearing denial, 
the person may raise that objection as grounds for relief, in a request 
for reconsideration. 
 
R380-411-6.  Notice of Hearing. 
 (1)  The Agency shall notify the aggrieved person, or 
representative, in writing of the date, time, and place of the hearing, 
at least 10 calendar days before the date of the hearing; unless each 
party agrees to an alternative time frame.  Any aggrieved person must 
inform the Agency of a current address, email address, and telephone 
number. 
 
R380-411-7.  Prehearing Procedures. 
 (1)  The Agency shall conduct a Settlement Conference 
between the Agency, and the aggrieved party, within 30 calendar days 
from the date it receives a request for a hearing, or agency action.  If 
a settlement cannot be reached, including a withdrawal, dismissal or 
granting of the request for action, the Agency shall notify the 
presiding officer to set a date for the administrative hearing. 
 (2)  The presiding officer may elect to conduct a 
preliminary conference to: 
 (a)  formulate or simplify the issues; 
 (b)  obtain admissions of fact, and documents that will 
avoid unnecessary proof; 
 (c)  arrange for the exchange of proposed exhibits or 
prepared expert testimony; 
 (d)  outline procedures for the hearing; or 
 (e)  to agree to other matters that may expedite the orderly 
conduct of the hearing or settlement. 
 (3)  The presiding officer may require each party to submit 
a prehearing position statement setting forth the position of the party. 
 (4)  The party may enter into a written stipulation resolving 
all, or part, of the adjudicative action during the preliminary 
conference, or at any time during the process. 
 (5)  Ex parte communication with the presiding officer are 
prohibited.  If a party attempts ex parte communication, the presiding 
officer shall inform the offender that any communication that the 
hearing officer receives off the record, will become part of the record, 
and furnished to each party.  Ex parte communication does not apply 
to communication on the status of the hearing, and uncontested 
procedural matters. 
 (6)  The Agency shall allow the aggrieved person, or a 
representative, to examine each document and record relevant to the 
adjudicative proceeding; at least three days before the hearing. 
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 (7)  The presiding officer may require each party to file a 
signed prehearing disclosure form, at least 10 calendar days before 
the scheduled hearing that identifies: 
 (a)  any fact witness; 
 (b)  any expert witness; 
 (c)  any exhibit and report that each party intends to offer 
into evidence at the hearing. 
 (8)  Each party shall supplement the disclosure form with 
information that shall become available after filing the original form. 
 
R380-411-8.  Conduct of Hearing. 
 (1)  The Agency shall conduct a hearing pursuant to Section 
63G-4-203 for an informal adjudicative proceeding. 
 (2)  The agency head shall appoint an impartial presiding 
officer to conduct a hearing.  Previous involvement in the initial 
determination of the action precludes an officer from appointment. 
 (3)  A telephonic hearing will be held at the discretion of 
the presiding officer. 
 (4)  The presiding officer shall take testimony under oath 
or affirmation. 
 (5)  Each party has the right to: 
 (a)  present evidence, argue, respond, conduct cross-
examination, and submit rebuttal evidence; 
 (b)  introduce exhibits; 
 (c)  impeach any witness, regardless of which party first 
called the witness to testify; and 
 (d)  rebut the evidence against the party. 
 (6)  Each party may admit any relevant evidence and use 
hearsay evidence to supplement, or explain other evidence, as may 
be required for full disclosure of each fact relevant to the disposition 
of the hearing.  Hearsay, however, is not sufficient by itself to support 
a finding, unless admissible over objection in civil actions.  The 
presiding officer shall give effect to the rules of privilege recognized 
by law, and may exclude irrelevant, immaterial, and unduly 
repetitious evidence. 
 (7)  The presiding officer shall control the evidence, to 
obtain full disclosure of the relevant facts, and to safeguard the rights 
of each party.  The presiding officer may determine the order in which 
he receives the evidence. 
 (8)  The presiding officer shall maintain order, and may 
recess the hearing to regain order if a person engages in disrespectful, 
disorderly, or disruptive conduct.  The presiding officer may remove 
any person, including a participant, from the hearing to maintain 
order.  If a person shows persistent disregard for order and procedure, 
the presiding officer may: 
 (a)  restrict the person's participation in the hearing; 
 (b)  strike pleadings or evidence; or 
 (c)  issue an order of default. 
 (9)  If a party desires to employ a court reporter to make a 
record of the hearing, it must file an original transcript of the hearing 
with the hearing officer, at no cost to the agency. 
 (10)  The party who initiates the hearing process through a 
request for agency action, has the burden of proof as the moving 
party. 
 (11)  When a party possesses but fails to introduce certain 
evidence, the presiding officer may infer that the evidence does not 
support the party's position. 
 (12)  The presiding officer may issue an order of default 
against any party that fails to obey an order entered by the hearing 
officer. 
 

R380-411-9.  Record. 
 (1)  The presiding officer shall make a complete record of 
each hearing.  A hearing record is the sole property of the Center. 
 (2)  Any proceedings other than a hearing may be recorded 
at the discretion of the hearing officer. 
 (3)  If a party requests a copy of the recording of a hearing, 
that party may transcribe the recording at the party's sole cost. 
 
R380-411-10.  Proposed Decision and Final Agency Review. 
 (1)  At the conclusion of the hearing, the presiding officer 
shall take the matter under advisement, and submit a recommended 
decision to the Agency Head.  The recommended decision is based 
on the testimony and evidence entered at the hearing, Agency policy 
and procedure, and legal precedent. 
 (2)  The recommended decision must contain findings of 
fact and conclusions of law. 
 (3)  The Agency or the director's designee may: 
 (a)  adopt the recommended decision, or any portion of the 
decision; 
 (b)  reject the recommended decision, or any portion of the 
decision, and make an independent determination based upon the 
record; or 
 (c)  remand the matter to the presiding officer to take 
additional evidence; and the presiding officer thereafter shall submit 
to the Agency director or the director's designee, a new recommended 
decision. 
 (4)  The agency head or their designee's decision constitutes 
final administrative action, and is subject to judicial review. 
 (5)  The Agency shall send a copy of the final 
administrative action to each party, or representative, and notify them 
of their right to judicial review. 
 (6)  Each party shall comply with a final decision from the 
director reversing the agency's decision, within 10 calendar days. 
 
R380-411-11  Amending Administrative Orders. 
 (1)  The Agency may amend an order if the presiding 
officer determines that the order contains a clerical error. 
 (2)  The Agency shall notify each party its intent to amend 
the order by serving a notice of agency action signed by the hearing 
officer. 
 (3)  The Agency Director shall review the amended order 
and the Agency Director or the Agency Director's designee shall issue 
a final agency amended order. 
 (4)  The Agency shall provide a copy of the final amended 
order to each party. 
 
R380-411-12.  Reconsideration. 
 A party to the proceeding may move for reconsideration of 
the final administrative order pursuant to Section 63G-4-301. 
 
R380-411-13.  Judicial Review. 
 A party to the proceeding may obtain judicial review 
pursuant to Section 63G-4-102, and Sections 63G-4-400 through 
63G-4-400. 
 
R380-411-14.  Declaratory Orders. 
 (1)  The Agency may issue a declaratory order pursuant to 
Rule R380-1. 
 (2)  If the Agency does not issue a declaratory order within 
60 days after receipt of the request, the petition is denied. 
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 (3)  The Agency may not issue a declaratory order if an 
adjudicative proceeding that involves the each party and the same 
issue is pending before the agency, or a federal, or state court.] 
R380-411-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule establishes administrative hearing procedures 
for the Center for Medical Cannabis that are in addition to the 
procedures contained in Rule R497-100. 
 (2)  Sections 26-1-24 and 63G-4-102 authorize this rule. 
 (3)  If another statute governs an action that conflicts with 
the procedures in this rule, this rule does not apply. 
 
R380-411-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions in Sections R380-400-2, R497-100-2, 
and 63G-4-103 apply to this rule. 
 (2)  The following definitions also apply: 
 (a)  Action" means a denial, termination, suspension, or 
reduction of a license or card, under Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah 
Medical Cannabis Act; or the imposition of a penalty or fine 
authorized under Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act. 
An action does not include an issuance of a license to operate a 
medical cannabis pharmacy, pursuant to Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah 
Procurement Code.  Closure of an application submitted to the 
agency, due to the applicant's failure to complete the application, or 
to provide required information, is not an action under this rule. 
 (b)  "Agency" means the Center for Medical Cannabis 
within the Utah Department of Health and Human Services. 
 (c)  "Aggrieved person" means any person affected by the 
agency's action. 
 (d)  "Applicant" means any person who has applied for a 
medical cannabis card or a registration, or license, other than a 
medical cannabis pharmacy license, pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 
61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act. 
 (e)  "Medical record" means a record that contains medical 
data submitted by an applicant. 
 
R380-411-3.  Commencement of Proceedings, Response. 
 (1)  If an agency action aggrieves the person, the person 
may file a request for an administrative hearing within 30 calendar 
days of receiving notice of the agency action, by submitting the 
request on a form created by the agency. 
 (2)  When an aggrieved person submits a request for 
administrative hearing, they shall file a response to the allegations 
contained in the notice of agency action. 
 (3)  If a medical issue is in dispute, each request for hearing 
shall include supporting medical documentation. 
 (4)(a)  An agency shall provide a written notice of action to 
each aggrieved person.  Such actions include: 
 (i)  denial of an application for a medical cannabis card, or 
a QMP, PMP, pharmacy agent, or courier agent registration card; 
 (ii)  suspension, or revocation, of a medical cannabis card 
or a QMP, PMP, pharmacy agent, or courier agent registration card; 
 (iii)  suspension, or revocation, of a medical cannabis 
pharmacy license, or a home delivery medical cannabis pharmacy 
license; and 
 (iv)  imposition of a penalty, or fine, authorized under Title 
26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act. 
 (b)  The notice must include: 
 (i)  a statement of the action the agency intends to take; 
 (ii)  the date the intended action becomes effective; 
 (iii)  the reason for the intended action; 

 (iv)  the specific regulation that support the action, or the 
change in federal law, state law, or department rule which requires 
the action; 
 (v)  the right to submit a response, and request an 
administrative hearing; 
 (vi)  the right to represent oneself, the right to legal counsel, 
or the right to use another representative at the hearing; and 
 (vii)  if applicable, an explanation of the circumstance 
under which the license, or card, will continue, or may be reinstated, 
pursuant to this rule. 
 (c)  The agency shall mail the notice, or electronically 
notify the person at the email address on file with the EVS, at least 
ten calendar days before the date of the intended action. 
 (5)  The agency may issue an order on an emergency basis 
pursuant to Section 63G-4-502. The aggrieved party may request an 
administrative hearing, pursuant to this rule. 
 
R380-411-4.  Request for a Hearing. 
 (1)  An aggrieved person shall request a hearing by 
submitting the request on a center "Request for Hearing" form and 
mailing or emailing it to the Center.  The request shall explain why 
the aggrieved person is seeking agency relief. 
 (2)  The agency deems a request for hearing which an 
aggrieved person sends via mail filed on the date of the postmark.  If 
the postmark date is illegible, erroneous, or omitted, the agency 
deems the request filed on the date that the agency receives it, unless 
the sender can demonstrate through competent evidence of the 
mailing date. 
 (3)  Failure to submit a timely response, and request for a 
hearing, constitutes a waiver of an individual's due process rights. 
 (4)  The presiding officer may dismiss a request for a 
hearing, if the aggrieved person: 
 (a)  withdraws the request in writing; 
 (b)  verbally withdraws the hearing request at a settlement 
conference, or prehearing conference; 
 (c)  fails to appear, or participate, in a scheduled proceeding 
without good cause; 
 (d)  prolongs the hearing process without good cause; 
 (e)  cannot be located, or agency mail is returned without a 
forwarding address; or 
 (f)  does not respond to any correspondence from the 
presiding officer, or fails to provide medical records that the agency 
requests. 
 (5)  If the aggrieved person objects to the hearing denial, 
the person may raise that objection as grounds for relief, in a request 
for reconsideration. 
 
R380-411-5.  Prehearing Procedures. 
 (1)  The agency shall conduct a settlement conference 
between the agency, and the aggrieved party, within 30 calendar days 
from the date it receives a request for a hearing.  If the agency cannot 
reach a settlement, including a withdrawal, dismissal, or granting of 
the request for action, the agency shall notify the presiding officer to 
set a date for the administrative hearing. 
 (2)  The presiding officer may elect to conduct a prehearing 
conference to: 
 (a)  formulate or simplify the issues; 
 (b)  obtain admissions of fact, and documents that will 
avoid unnecessary proof; 
 (c)  arrange for the exchange of proposed exhibits or 
prepared expert testimony; 
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 (d)  outline procedures for the hearing; or 
 (e)  to agree to other matters that may expedite the orderly 
conduct of the hearing or settlement. 
 (3)  The presiding officer may require each party to submit 
a prehearing position statement setting forth the position of the party. 
 (4)  The party may enter into a written stipulation resolving 
all, or part, of the adjudicative action during the prehearing 
conference, or at any time during the process. 
 (5)  The agency shall allow the aggrieved person, or a 
representative, to examine each document and record relevant to the 
adjudicative proceeding pursuant to the timeframes established by 
the presiding officer. 
 (6)  The presiding officer may require each party to file a 
signed prehearing disclosure form before the scheduled hearing that 
identifies: 
 (a)  any fact witness; 
 (b)  any expert witness; and 
 (c) any exhibit and report that each party intends to offer 
into evidence at the hearing. 
 (7)  Each party shall supplement the disclosure form with 
information that shall become available after filing the original form. 
 
KEY:  medical cannabis, medical cannabis hearing, marijuana 
Date of Last Change:  [June 10, 2020]2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-3; 63G-
4-102; 26-1-24; 26-61a 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R380-412 Filing ID: 
54746 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Administration (Health) 
Building: Martha Hughes Cannon Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 141000 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1000 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Richard Oborn 385-

232-
4259 

roborn@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R380-412.  Compassionate Use Board 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) is repealing and reenacting Rule R380-412 
alongside Rule R380-411, to ensure the administrative 
hearing procedures are updated for the consolidated 
Department. 
(EDITOR'S NOTES:  A corresponding 120-day 
(emergency) filing for Rule R380-412 that is effective as of 
07/12/2022 is under ID 54748; and the proposed repeal 
and reenactment of Rule R380-411 is under ID 54745 in 
this issue, August 1, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This repeal and reenact updates the administrative 
hearing procedures for the Center for Medical Cannabis 
Compassionate Use Board with the consolidated 
Department's standards and procedures.  It also amends 
language to adhere to the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Department does not anticipate that this rule will result 
in a fiscal impact to the state budget.  This rule updates 
the administrative hearing procedures with the 
consolidated Department's standards and is not fiscal in 
nature. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to local 
governments because this rule does not establish 
requirements for local agencies. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to small 
businesses because this rule does not establish 
requirements for small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to non-
small businesses because this rule does not establish 
requirements for non-small businesses. 
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E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This proposed rule will not result in a fiscal impact to 
persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because 
this amendment does not fiscally impact the requirements 
for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 

The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-24 Section 

63G-4-102 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 07/11/2022 

 
R380.  Health, Administration. 
R380-412.  Compassionate Use Board. 
[R380-412-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Subsections 26-1-5(1) and 26-61a-105(6), this 
rule establishes a process and criteria for a petition to the Board to 
qualify for expedited final review and approval or denial by the 
Department. 
 
R380-412-2.  Compassionate Use Board Expedited Review 
Criteria. 
 To qualify for expedited review by the Department, an 
individual submitting the petition shall meet the following criteria: 
 (1)  diagnosis with a terminal illness and a life expectancy 
of six months or less; 
 (2)  present symptoms not adequately managed with 
standard therapies that may reasonably be expected to be alleviated 
by medical cannabis; and 
 (3)  have a QMP recommending medical cannabis who is 
directly and regularly involved in the individual's medical care. 
 
R380-412-3.  Compassionate Use Board Expedited Review 
Process. 
 (1)  Each individual submitting a petition for expedited 
review by the Department shall complete a form available from the 
Department. 
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 (2)  Within five business days of receiving a complete 
petition for expedited review, the Department shall review the 
petition and either approve the petition and issue a medical cannabis 
card to the applicant or prepare the petition for Board review.  ] 
R380-412-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule establishes the administrative hearing 
procedures for the Center for Medical Cannabis Compassionate Use 
Board. 
 (2)  Sections 26-1-5, 26-61a-105, 26-1-24, and 63G-4-102, 
authorize this rule. 
 
R380-412-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions in Section R380-400-2 and Section 63G-
4-103 apply to this rule. 
 (2)  The following definitions also apply: 
 (a)  "Action" means a denial of a medical cannabis card for 
compassionate use or denial of a petition for expedited review under 
Section 26-61a-105. 
 (b)  "Aggrieved person" means any person affected by the 
department’s action. 
 (c)  “Board” means the Compassionate Use Board in the Utah 
Department of Health and Human Services as created under Section 26-
61a-105. 
 (d)  “Department” means the Utah Department of Health and 
Human Services. 
 (e)  "Ex Parte" communication means direct or indirect 
communication in connection with an issue of fact, or law, between the 
hearing officer and one party only. 
 (f)  "Final administrative order" means a ruling by the 
presiding officer that determines the legal rights, duties, privileges, 
immunities, or other legal interests of one or more specific persons. 
 (g)  "Medical record" means a record that contains medical 
data submitted by an aggrieved person. 
 (h) "Presiding officer" means the department head, or a 
designee who is a licensed physician, as approved by the Executive 
Director; to conduct an administrative hearing pursuant to this rule. 
 
R380-412-3.  Administrative Adjudicative Procedures. 
 (1)  Except as provided in this rule, or as otherwise designated 
by rule, or statute, or converted, pursuant to Subsection 63G-4-202(3), 
all adjudicative proceedings conducted pursuant to this rule are informal 
proceedings. 
 (2)  A presiding officer shall preside over the informal hearing. 
 (3)  Closure of a petition submitted to the presiding officer due 
to the aggrieved person’s failure to complete the petition, or to provide 
required information, is not an action under this rule. 
 (4)  If another statute governs an action that conflicts with the 
procedures in this rule, this rule does not apply.  
 
R380-412-4.  Criteria for Expedited Review. 
 To qualify for expedited review by the board, an individual 
submitting the petition shall meet the criteria set forth in Subsection 26-
61a-105(6) as determined by the board. 
 
R380-412-5.  Timeframe for Expedited Review. 
 (1) Each individual submitting a petition for expedited review 
by the board shall complete a petition on a form available from the 
board. 
 (2) Within five business days of receiving a complete petition 
for expedited review, the board shall review the petition and either 
approve the petition and issue a medical cannabis card for 
compassionate use to the aggrieved person or deny the petition for 

expedited review and prepare the petition for board review on its regular 
schedule. 
 
R380-412-6. Administrative Appeal from Denials for Expedited 
Review. 
 (1)  If the board denies a petition for expedited review, the 
aggrieved person may file a request for administrative hearing to 
challenge only the decision to deny expedited review. 
 (2)  The aggrieved person shall file a request for 
administrative hearing to the presiding officer within ten business days 
of receiving the notice of agency action Denying Expedited Review. 
 (3)  Upon receipt of a request for administrative hearing to 
challenge the denial of a petition for expedited review, the presiding 
officer shall review the petition, the decision of the board and any other 
documents submitted by the parties and issue a written decision 
upholding or overturning the board’s decision to deny expedited review. 
 (4)  If the presiding officer upholds the board’s decision to 
deny expedited review, the presiding officer shall submit the petition to 
the board for review on its regular schedule. 
 (5)  If the presiding officer overturns the board’s decision to 
deny expedited review, the board shall review the petition to obtain a 
medical cannabis card for compassionate use within five business days 
after receiving the presiding officer’s decision.  The board shall either 
approve the petition and issue a medical cannabis card for 
compassionate use to the aggrieved person or deny the petition. 
 (6)  If the board denies the petition to issue a medical cannabis 
card for compassionate use, the board shall issue a notice of agency 
action that meets the requirements of Subsection R380-412-7(4) to 
notify the aggrieved person of the denial.  The aggrieved person may 
request an administrative hearing to challenge the denial by following 
the procedure set forth in Sections R380-412-7 through R380-412-11. 
 
R380-412-7.  Commencement of Proceedings. 
 (1)  If the board denies recommendation of a medical cannabis 
card for compassionate use the aggrieved person may file a request for 
an administrative hearing within 30 calendar days of receiving the notice 
of the denial by submitting the request on a form created by the board. 
 (2)  Pursuant to this rule and Section 63G-4-201, if the 
informal adjudicative proceeding is commenced by a request for agency 
action, the board shall consider the request, and grant or deny it, or set 
the request for further proceedings. 
 (3)  If a medical issue is in dispute, each request shall include 
supporting medical documentation.  The board shall schedule a hearing 
only when it receives sufficient medical records, and may dismiss a 
request for agency action, or strike the party's response, to a notice of 
agency action if it does not receive supporting medical documentation 
in a timely manner. 
 (4)(a) The board shall provide a written notice of action to 
each aggrieved person. The notice shall include: 
 (i)  a statement of the action the board intends to take; 
 (ii)  the date the intended action becomes effective; 
 (iii)  the reason for the intended action; 
 (iv)  the specific regulation that supports the action, or the 
change in federal law, state law, or department rule which requires the 
action;  
 (v)  the right to submit a response, and request an 
administrative hearing, including the time limitations to do so; 
 (vi)  the right to represent oneself, the right to legal counsel, 
or the right to use another representative at the hearing; and 
 (vii)  if applicable, an explanation of the circumstance under 
which the medical cannabis card, will be approved by the board, 
pursuant to this rule. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

44 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 15 

R380-412-8.  Hearing and a Request for a Hearing. 
 (1)  The presiding officer may convert the proceeding to a 
formal hearing, if an aggrieved person requests a hearing that meets the 
criteria pursuant to Section 63G-4-202.  If a hearing under this rule is 
converted to a formal hearing, pursuant to Section 63G-4-202, the 
formal hearing shall be conducted pursuant to these rules; except as 
otherwise provided in Sections 63G-4-204 through 63G-4-208, or other 
applicable statutes.  
 (2)  An aggrieved person shall request a hearing by submitting 
the request on a board "Request for Hearing" form and mailing it to the 
board.  The request shall explain why the aggrieved person is seeking 
department relief. 
 (3)  The board deems a request for hearing which an aggrieved 
person sends via mail filed on the date of the postmark.  If the postmark 
date is illegible, erroneous, or omitted, the board deems the request filed 
on the date that the board receives it, unless the sender can demonstrate 
through competent evidence of the mailing date. 
 (4)  Failure to submit a timely request for a hearing constitutes 
a waiver of an individual's due process rights. 
 (5)  The presiding officer shall conduct a hearing in 
connection with a board action, if the aggrieved person requests a 
hearing and there is a disputed issue of fact.  If there is no disputed issue 
of fact, the presiding officer may deny a request for a hearing, and issue 
a recommended decision without a hearing, based on the record.  There 
is no disputed issue of fact, if the aggrieved person submits facts that do 
not conflict with the facts that the board relies upon in taking action or 
seeking relief.  In the recommended decision, the presiding officer shall 
specifically set out all material, and relevant facts, that are not in dispute. 
 (6)  The presiding officer may dismiss a request for a hearing, 
if the aggrieved person: 
 (a)  withdraws the request in writing; 
 (b)  verbally withdraws the hearing request at a settlement 
conference, or prehearing conference; 
 (c)  fails to appear, or participate, in a scheduled proceeding 
without good cause; 
 (d)  prolongs the hearing process without good cause; 
 (e)  cannot be located, or mail is returned without a forwarding 
address; or 
 (f)  does not respond to any correspondence from the 
presiding officer, or fails to provide medical records that the board 
requests. 
 (7)  If the aggrieved person objects to the hearing denial, the 
person may raise that objection as grounds for relief, in a request for 
reconsideration pursuant to Section 63G-4-302. 
 
R380-412-9.  Prehearing Procedures. 
 (1)  The board shall conduct a settlement conference between 
the board, and the aggrieved party, within 30 calendar days from the date 
it receives a request for a hearing, or agency action.  If the parties cannot 
reach a settlement, including a withdrawal of the request for hearing or 
the dismissal or granting of the request for action, the board shall notify 
the presiding officer to set a date for the administrative hearing. 
 (2)  The presiding officer may elect to conduct a prehearing 
conference to: 
 (a)  formulate or simplify the issues; 
 (b)  obtain admissions of fact, and documents that will avoid 
unnecessary proof; 
 (c)  arrange for the exchange of proposed exhibits or prepared 
expert testimony; 
 (d)  outline procedures for the hearing; or 
 (e)  to agree to other matters that may expedite the orderly 
conduct of the hearing or settlement. 

 (3)  The presiding officer may require each party to submit a 
prehearing position statement setting forth the position of the party. 
 (4)  The parties may enter into a written stipulation resolving 
all, or part, of the adjudicative action during the prehearing conference, 
or at any time during the process. 
 (5)  This rule prohibits ex parte communication with the 
presiding officer.  If a party attempts ex parte communication, the 
presiding officer shall inform the offender that any communication that 
the hearing officer receives off the record, will become part of the 
record, and furnished to each party.  Ex parte communication does not 
apply to communication on the status of the hearing, and uncontested 
procedural matters. 
 (6)  The presiding officer shall allow the aggrieved person, or 
a representative, to examine each document and record relevant to the 
adjudicative proceeding, at least three days before the hearing. 
 (7)  The presiding officer may require each party to file a 
signed prehearing disclosure form, at least ten calendar days before the 
scheduled hearing that identifies: 
 (a)  any fact witness; 
 (b)  any expert witness; and 
 (c)  any exhibit and report that each party intends to offer into 
evidence at the hearing. 
 (8)  Each party shall supplement the disclosure form with 
information that shall become available after filing the original form. 
 
R380-412-10.  Notice of Hearing. 
 The presiding officer shall notify the aggrieved person, or 
representative, in writing of the date, time, and place of the hearing, at 
least ten calendar days before the date of the hearing; unless each party 
agrees to an alternative time frame.  Any aggrieved person shall inform 
the presiding officer of a current address, email address, and telephone 
number. 
 
R380-412-11.  Procedures for Informal Proceedings. 
 (1)  The presiding officer shall hold informal adjudicative 
proceedings in compliance with Section 63G-4-203. 
 (a)  Unless specified otherwise in another applicable rule, the 
respondent to a notice of agency action or request for agency action may, 
but is not required to, file an answer or responsive pleading to the 
allegations contained in the notice of agency action or the request for 
agency action within ten business days following receipt of the notice of 
agency action or request for agency action. 
 (b)  An attorney or a non-attorney may represent a party.  The 
department shall not appoint attorneys. 
 (c)  The parties may not engage in discovery, but the 
presiding officer may issue subpoenas or other orders to compel the 
production of necessary evidence.  The presiding officer may require 
that parties exchange documents before the hearing to expedite the 
process.  Each party to the proceedings shall be responsible for the 
appearance of witnesses. 
 (d)  Each party shall have access to information contained in 
the board’s files and to materials and information gathered in any 
investigation, to the extent permitted by law. 
 (e)  This rule prohibits intervention, except where a federal 
statute or rule requires that the state permit intervention. 
 (f)  The presiding officer shall provide a hearing to any party 
entitled to request a hearing in accordance with Section 63G-4-203. 
 (g)  In the hearing, the presiding officer shall take testimony 
under oath or affirmation. 
 (h)  In the hearing, the presiding officer shall permit parties 
to testify, present evidence, and comment on the issues. 
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 (i)  Each party may offer any relevant evidence, including 
hearsay evidence.  A party cannot base their case exclusively on 
inadmissible hearsay.  A party must present a residuum of evidence 
that would be admissible under the rules of procedure with the 
applicable court of competent jurisdiction.   
 (j)  The presiding officer may exclude irrelevant, 
immaterial and repetitious evidence. 
 (k)  The presiding officer may question any party or 
witness. 
 (l)  The presiding officer shall maintain order and may 
recess the hearing to regain order if a person engages in disrespectful, 
disorderly, or disruptive conduct.  The presiding officer may remove 
any person, including a party, from the hearing to maintain order.  If 
a person shows persistent disregard for order and procedure, the 
presiding officer may: 
 (i)  restrict the person's participation in the hearing; or 
 (ii)  issue an order of default. 
 (m)  When a party claims to possess but fails to introduce 
certain evidence, the presiding officer may infer that the evidence 
does not support the party's position. 
 (n)  The presiding officer may issue an order of default 
against any party that fails to obey an order entered by the presiding 
officer. 
 (o)  The presiding officer shall hold hearings only after the 
presiding officer mails a timely notice to each party. 
 (p)  Within a reasonable time after the close of the hearing, 
or after the party's failure to request a hearing within the time 
prescribed by the department’s rules, the presiding officer shall issue 
a signed order in writing that conforms to Subsection 63G-4-
203(1)(i).  This order shall be the final administrative order of the 
department. 
 (q)  Hearings shall be open to the parties.  Hearings are not 
open to the public. 
 (r)  The presiding officer shall base the order on the facts 
appearing in the board’s files that were available to the other party 
and on the facts presented in evidence at the hearings. 
 (s)  The presiding officer shall promptly mail a copy of the 
presiding officer's order to each of the parties. 
 (3)  When the board commences an informal adjudicative 
proceeding by a notice of agency action issued by the board, the 
board shall have the burden of providing, by a preponderance of the 
evidence, that the board’s decision was reasonable, unless statute or 
department rule specify otherwise.  The board may demonstrate this 
by showing that the board’s decision was not arbitrary and capricious. 
 (4)  The parties shall mail motions and pleadings filed with 
the presiding officer by a party to each of the other parties named in 
the action. 
 (5)  The presiding officer deems motions or pleadings 
received by the presiding officer after regular business hours of 
Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., excluding state holidays, 
received the following business day. 
 (6)  This rule prohibits ex parte communication with the 
presiding officer unless all other parties to the case have been given 
notice and opportunity to be present.  The prohibition against ex parte 
communication does not apply to communication on the status of the 
hearing, and uncontested procedural matters.  The presiding officer 
shall report any improper ex parte discussions at the time of the 
hearing or made a part of the record. 
 (7)  Any aggrieved person shall inform the presiding officer 
of their current address, email address, and telephone number. 
 

R380-412-12.  Record. 
 (1)  The presiding officer shall make a complete record of 
each hearing.  A hearing record is the sole property of the department. 
 (2)  The presiding officer may record any proceedings other 
than a hearing at their own discretion. 
 (3)  If a party requests a transcribed copy of the recording of 
a hearing, that party may request the audio recording of the hearing and 
have it transcribed at the party’s sole cost. 
 
R380-412-13.  Agency Review. 
 The department shall not allow agency review under Section 
63G-4-301. 
 
R380-412-14.  Amending Administrative Orders. 
 (1)  The presiding officer may amend an order if the presiding 
officer determines that the order contains a clerical error. 
 (2)  The presiding officer shall notify each party its intent to 
amend the order by serving a notice of agency action signed by the 
hearing officer. 
 (3)  The presiding officer shall review the amended order and 
the presiding officer shall issue a final agency amended order. 
 (4)  The presiding officer shall provide a copy of the final 
amended order to each party. 
 
R380-412-14.  Reconsideration. 
 A party to the proceeding may move for reconsideration of 
the final administrative order pursuant to Section 63G-4-302. 
 
R380-412-15.  Judicial Review. 
 A party to the proceeding may obtain judicial review pursuant 
to Section 63G-4-102, and Sections 63G-4-400 through 63G-4-405. 
 
KEY:  medical cannabis, [compassionate use board]medical 
cannabis hearing, [medical ]marijuana 
Date of Last Change:  2022[June 3, 2021] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-3; [26-
61a]63G-4-102; 26-1-[5(1)]24; 26-61a[-105(6)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R380-500 Filing ID: 
54732 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Administration (Health) 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jonah Shaw 385-

310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R380-500.  Agency Authority 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule clarifies the rule authority for the Department of 
Health and Human Services (Department). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule clarifies that the Department of Health and 
Human Services shall have the authority for all rules made 
effective under Title 26B, Department of Health and 
Human Services Code; Title 26, Utah Health Code; and 
Title 62A, Utah Human Services Code. 
(EDITOR'S NOTES:  A corresponding 120-day 
(emergency) filing for Rule R380-500 that is effective as of 
07/01/2022 is under ID 54733 in the July 15, 2022, issue 
of the Bulletin.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to the state 
budget associated with this rule.  This rule is the result of 
the consolidation of the Department and is technical in 
nature. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There are no anticipated costs or savings for local 
government agencies associated with this rule.  This rule 
is the result of the consolidation of the Department and is 
technical in nature. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings for small 
businesses associated with this rule.  This rule is the result 
of the consolidation of the Department and is technical in 
nature. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings for non-small 
businesses associated with this rule.  This rule is the result 
of the consolidation of the Department and is technical in 
nature. 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings for persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities, associated with this rule.  This 
rule is the result of the consolidation of the Department and 
is technical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
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The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-1-103 Section 

26B-1-1202 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 07/01/2022 

 
R380.  Health and Human Services, Administration. 
R380-500.  Agency Authority. 
R380-500-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule clarifies the rule authority for the Department of 
Health and Human Services. 
 
R380-500-2.  Authority. 
 (1)  Effective July 1, 2022, in accordance with Sections 
26B-1-103 and 26B-1-202 the Department of Health and Human 
Services shall have the authority for all rules made effective under: 
 (a)  Title 26B, Department of Health and Human Services 
Code; 
 (b)  Title 26, Utah Health Code; and 
 (c)  Title 62A, Utah Human Services Code. 
 (2)  Effective July 1, 2022 any rule reference to the 
Department of Health or the Department of Human Services will 
refer to the Department of Health and Human Services. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, health administration 
Date of Last Change:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26B-1-103; 
26B-1-202 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R432-31 Filing ID: 
54759 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room number: 1st Floor 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Bldg. 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Erica Pryor 801-

273-
2994 

ericapryor@utah.gov 

Kristi Grimes 385-
214-
9187 

kristigrimes@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R432-31.  Life with Dignity Order 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this amendment is to modify and replace 
outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting Manual 
standards. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The revisions include more specific language consistent 
with the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 
State government process was thoroughly reviewed.  This 
change will not impact the current process for licensure 
and re-licensure surveys.  No change to the state budget 
is expected because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local government city business licensing requirements 
were considered.  This proposed rule amendment should 
not impact local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because this amendment modifies and replaces outdated 
language with the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards.  
The Provider Order for Life Sustaining Treatment (POLST) 
Standards are regulated by the Department of Health and 
Human Services and not local governments.  There will be 
no change in local business licensing or any other items 
with which local government is involved.  There are no 
substantive changes being made regarding the fiscal 
impact of this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for small 
businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for non-
small businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
compliance costs for affected persons because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards.  There are no 
substantive changes being made regarding the fiscal 
impact of this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
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Title 26, 
Chapter 21 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive Director 

Date: 07/12/2022 

 
R432.  Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Licensing. 
R432-31.  [Life with Dignity Order]Provider Order for Life-
Sustaining Treatment. 
R432-31-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is adopted pursuant to [Utah Code ]Title 26, 
Chapter 21, Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act and 
Section 75-2a-106. 
 (2)  This rule establishes the forms and systems for [Life 
with Dignity Orders]Provider Order for Life-Sustaining Treatment 
(POLST). 
 
R432-31-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions found in Section[s] [UCA ]26-21-2 and 
Title 75,[-] Chapter 2a, Advance Health Care Directive Act apply to 
this rule. 
 (2)  [In addition, ]"[l]Licensed [h]Health [c]Care 
[f]Facility" means a facility or entity licensed pursuant to Title 26, 
Chapter 21, Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act. 
 
R432-31-3.  [Life with Dignity Order]POLST Forms. 
 (1)  An individual who desires to execute a [Life with 
Dignity Order]POLST [must]shall use a form or electronic format 
approved by the Department.  The form [may]shall not be altered in 
layout or style, including font style and size, without the express 
written permission of the Department. 
 (2)  Any person, health care provider, or health care facility 
may obtain a form from the Department and, if made available by the 
Department, from a website established for that purpose. 
 (3)  A health care provider, licensed health care facility, or 
EMS provider [may]shall act upon a copy of a [Life with Dignity 
Order]POLST as if it were the original. 
 
R432-31-4.  Facility Policies and Procedures. 
 (1)  Health care facilities [must]shall establish and 
implement policies and procedures that conform to Section 75-2a-
106. 

 (2)  Health care facilities policies and procedures 
[must]shall[ assure that]: 
 (a)  [the facility ]determine[s] upon admission whether 
each individual has a [Life with Dignity Order]POLST; 
 (b)  assure that the facility is not required to offer [all]each 
individual[s] the opportunity to complete a [Life With Dignity 
Order]POLST; 
 (c)  [the facility determines which]identify individuals who 
may be offered the opportunity to complete a [Life with Dignity 
Order]POLST, which may include individuals who; 
 (i)  have a serious illness and are likely to face a life-
threatening health crisis; 
 (ii)  have specific preferences for end -of -life treatments; 
or 
 (iii)  have declining cognitive abilities and lack a surrogate 
to make decisions for them; 
 (d)  [the facility identifies]identify circumstances under 
which an individual with a [Life with Dignity Order]POLST shall be 
offered the opportunity to [modify]change the order; 
 (e)  assure that the facility maintains the [Life with Dignity 
Order]POLST in the individual's medical record; 
 (f)  [the facility identifies]identify circumstances under 
which [it]the facility would not follow a [Life With Dignity 
Order]POLST; 
 (g)  assure that only qualified providers, as per [Utah 
Code]Subsection 75-2a-106(2), assist with the completion of a [Life 
With Dignity Order]POLST. Qualified providers include[;]: 
 (i)  the physician, APRN, [advanced practice registered 
nurse,] or [physician assistant]PA of the person to whom the [life with 
dignity order]POLST relates; or 
 (ii)  a health care provider who is acting under the 
supervision of a person described in Subsection (2)(g)(i) and is a 
licensed nurse, [physician assistant,]PA or mental health 
professional[.]; 
 (h)  assure that a [Life With Dignity order]POLST [shall 
]be signed personally by the physician[ or], APRN[,] or[, subject to 
75-2a-106(11),] [physician assistant]PA of the person to whom the 
[life with dignity order]POLST relates; and 
 (i)  assure that if the licensed health care facility's services 
do not include the supervision of a physician, [physician assistant]PA 
or [advanced practice registered nurse]APRN, the facility shall make 
a referral to the primary care provider to create, replace or 
[modify]change a [Life With Dignity Order]POLST. 
 
R432-31-5.  Training. 
 Each licensed health care facility shall appropriately train 
relevant health care, quality improvement[,] and record keeping staff 
on the requirements of Title 75, Chapter 2a, the Advance Health Care 
Directive Act[;], this rule[;] and the facility's policies and procedures 
established pursuant to this rule. 
 
R432-31-6.  Transferability of [Life with Dignity Orders]POLST. 
 (1)[(a)]  A [Life with Dignity Order]POLST is fully 
transferable between [all]any licensed health care facilities. 
 ([b]2)  The health care providers assuming the individual's 
care at the receiving licensed health care facility shall read the [Life 
with Dignity Order]POLST. 
 ([c]3)  The receiving provider [must]shall have policies and 
procedures to address the circumstances under which the provider 
will not follow the instructions contained in the [Life With Dignity 
Order]POLST. 
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 ([2)(a]4)  A licensed health care facility that discharges[, 
but does not transfer to another licensed health care facility, an 
individual who has a Life with Dignity Order,] a resident in any 
circumstance, shall provide a copy of the individual's [Life with 
Dignity Order]POLST to the individual. [or, i]If the individual lacks 
the capacity to make[ a] health care decisions, as defined in 
[s]Section 75-2a-104, the facility shall also provide a copy to the 
individual's surrogate. 
 ([b]5)  A licensed health care facility that transfers an 
individual with a [Life with Dignity Order]POLST to another 
licensed health care facility shall provide a copy of the [Life with 
Dignity Order]POLST to the receiving[ licensed health care] facility. 
 ([3]6)  A licensed health care facility shall allow an 
individual to complete, amend[,] or revoke a [Life with Dignity 
Order]POLST at any time upon request. 
 
R432-31-7.  Presentation of [Life with Dignity Orders]POLST to 
EMS Personnel. 
 (1)  Except for home health agencies, personal care 
agencies and home-based hospice agencies, a licensed health care 
facility in possession of a [Life with Dignity Order]POLST 
[must]shall present the individual's [Life with Dignity Order]POLST 
to EMS personnel upon [the ]arrival[ of EMS personnel who are 
present] to treat or transport the individual[; and]. 
 (2)  For an individual who resides at home, if the home 
health agency, personal care agency or home-based hospice 
personnel are present when EMS personnel arrive at the home, the 
personnel [must]shall present the individual's [Life with Dignity 
Order, upon the arrival of ]POLST to the EMS personnel[ who are 
present to treat or transport the individual]. 
 
R432-31-8.  Home Placement of [Life with Dignity 
Orders]POLST. 
 (1)  If an individual under the care of a home health agency, 
personal care agency or a hospice agency possesses a [Life with 
Dignity Order]POLST, the agency [must]shall ensure that a copy of 
the [Life with Dignity Order]POLST is left at the individual's place 
of residence. 
 (2)  For an individual adult who resides at home, including 
an emancipated minor, it is recommended that a copy of the [Life 
with Dignity Order]POLST be posted on the front of the refrigerator 
or over the individual's bed. 
 (3)  For a minor who resides at home, it is recommended 
that a copy of the [Life with Dignity Order]POLST be placed in a 
[tube]container and placed on the top shelf of the door [of]inside the 
refrigerator. 
 
R432-31-9.  [Life with Dignity]POLST Bracelets and Necklaces. 
 (1)  The Department may contract with a vendor or vendors 
to provide an approved [Life with Dignity]POLST bracelet or 
necklace. 
 (2)  An individual with a [Life with Dignity Order]POLST 
may obtain an approved [Life with Dignity]POLST bracelet or 
necklace from a vendor approved by the Department.  The approved 
[Life with Dignity]POLST bracelet or necklace identifies the 
individual to EMS or other health care providers as possessing a [Life 
with Dignity Order]POLST. 
 
R432-31-10.  Prior Orders and Out of State Orders. 
 (1)  EMS and other health care providers [may]shall 
recognize as valid [all]any POLST forms or Medical Orders for Life-
Sustaining Treatment, including the national POLST form. This also 

includes[, Life With Dignity and EMS/DNR orders, including] 
bracelets and necklaces, unless superseded by a subsequent [Life 
with Dignity Order or ]POLST. 
[ (2)  Licensed health care facilities must ensure that all 
individuals receiving services who have current POLST/Life With 
Dignity Orders, receive assistance to complete new orders to comply 
with current rule requirements by January 31, 2011.] 
 [(3)](2)  Physicians [may]shall complete and sign a new 
[Life With Dignity Orders]POLST for individuals with prior forms 
who no longer have capacity to complete new orders, and who do not 
have a surrogate[/] or guardian to authorize the new order.  The 
physician [must]shall [indicate]state on the new order that the 
individual's preferences from the prior order are still applicable. 
 [(4)](3)  A form that an individual executed while in 
another state may be honored as if it were executed in compliance 
with this rule and Section 75-2a-106 if it: 
 (a)  is substantially similar to a [Life with Dignity 
Order]POLST or a [Physician's Order for Life Sustaining 
Treatment]Medical Order for Life-Sustaining Treatment; and 
 (b)  was executed according to the laws of that state. 
 
R432-32-11.  Signature Requirement. 
 (1)  The POLST shall be signed by the patient or surrogate 
decision maker and by a medical provider, including an MD, DO, PA, 
or APRN to be valid. 
 (2)  For pediatric patients, two different medical providers 
shall sign the POLST to make it effective. 
 (3)  Electronic signatures are acceptable for POLST forms. 
 (4)  In the event the surrogate decision maker cannot sign 
in person or electronically, a verbal signature may be noted if 
confirmed by two medical professionals caring for the patient. 
 (5)  Photocopies and faxes of signed POLST forms are 
legal and valid. 
 
KEY:  POLST, do not resuscitate, Life with Dignity Order 
Date of Last Change:  2022[June 7, 2013] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 24, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-21; 75-
2a-106 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R714-570 Filing ID: 
54742 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Highway Patrol 
Building: Calvin Rampton Complex 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84119-5994 

Mailing address: PO Box 141100 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1100 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R714-570.  Mental Health Resources for First Responders 
Grant Funding 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is required as a result of the passage of H.B. 23 
during the 2022 General Session, and is authorized by 
Section 53-21-103. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule creates a program to assist first responder 
agencies through monetary grants using one-time funding 
appropriated by the legislature during the 2022 General 
Session.  This rule establishes the Mental Health 
Resources for First Responders Grant Funding Committee 
to assist the Department of Public Safety in awarding 
funds to first responder agencies, criteria for first 
responder agencies to apply for grant funding, criteria for 
awarding grant funding to first responder agencies, 
parameters for mental health resources to be provided to 
retirees of first responder agencies, and requirements to 
ensure accountability for funding provided to first 
responder agencies. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Utah Highway Patrol (UHP) anticipates a cost to the 
state budget of $5,000,000.  The Utah Legislature 
appropriated one-time funding in the amount of 
$5,000,000 to provide grant funding for first responder 
agencies to either establish a new program, or enhance 
an existing program, to provide mental health resources to 
first responders employed by the agencies. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

UHP anticipates a cost savings of $5,000,000 to local 
governments.  Local first responder agencies will have the 
ability to apply for grant funding from the $5,000,000 
appropriation in order to establish a new program, or 
enhance and existing program, to provide mental health 

resources to first responders employed by the agencies.  
Local law enforcement entities will apply for grant funding, 
and once approved, will be awarded grant funding.  Those 
agencies awarded grant funding will see an inestimable 
fiscal benefit.  In addition, this rule sets parameters for 
mental health resources to be provided to retirees of first 
responder agencies for a period of three years, which 
could result in an inestimable fiscal impact to local first 
responder agencies. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
In Utah, it is estimated that there are162 small business 
out-patient mental health centers (NAICS 621420), 138 
small business offices of mental health physicians (NAICS 
621112), 455 small business offices of mental health 
practitioners (NAICS 621330), and 1647 small business 
offices of physicians, ex. mental health (NAICS 621111).  It 
is not clear which of these businesses might be qualified 
to provide mental health services to first responders in 
compliance with the requirements under Section 53-21-
103. 
 
First responder agencies applying for grant funding will be 
required to submit a request for proposal, request for 
qualifications or program description that meets the 
statutory criteria under Subsection 53-21-103(2) for 
consideration prior to grant funding being awarded.  
Through this process it will be determined which of these 
small businesses would meet the statutory criteria to 
provide required services.  Those small businesses that 
meet statutory criteria and enter into a contract with a first 
responder agency to provide the required services could 
potentially see an inestimable fiscal benefit. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
In Utah, it is estimated that there are 7 non-small business 
out-patient mental health centers (NAICS 621420), 1 non-
small business offices of mental health physicians (NAICS 
621112), 2 non-small business offices of mental health 
practitioners (NAICS 621330), and 104 non-small 
business offices of physicians, ex. mental health (NAICS 
621111). 
 
First responder agencies applying for grant funding will be 
required to submit a request for proposal, request for 
qualifications or program description that meets the 
statutory criteria under Subsection 53-21-103(2) for 
consideration prior to grant funding being awarded.  
Through this process it will be determined which of these 
non-small businesses would meet the statutory criteria to 
provide required services.  Those small businesses that 
meet statutory criteria and enter into a contract with a first 
responder agency to provide the required services could 
potentially see an inestimable fiscal benefit. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
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association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
First responders who retire from a first responder agency 
or separate employment as a result of a critical incident 
will be entitled to mental health resources provided by the 
first responder agency for a period of three years.  This 
could result in a fiscal benefit to a person who retires or 
separates employment and seeks mental health resources 
from the first responder agency with whom they were 
previously employed. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because this rule identifies the process for first responder 
agency to seek grant funding to provide mental health 
resources to first responders employed by the agencies 
and establishes parameters for mental health resources to 
be provided to retirees of first responder agencies. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, 
Jess L. Anderson, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 53-21-103   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Mike Rapich, 
Colonel UHP 

Date: 07/08/2022 

 
R714.  Public Safety, Highway Patrol. 
R714-570.  Mental Health Resources for First Responders Grant 
Funding. 
R714-570-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to create a program to assist first 
responder agencies through monetary grants to provide mental health 
resources for first responders in accordance with Section 53-21-103. 
 
R714-570-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Section 53-21-103. 
 
R714-570-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are found in Section 53-21-103. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "assessment" means an in-depth clinical interview and 
ongoing process of information gathering conducted by a licensed 
mental health therapist to determine if an individual is in need of 
mental health or substance use disorder treatment and to develop a 
treatment plan; 
 (b)  "committee" means the Mental Health Resources for 
First Responders Grant Funding Committee established under this 
rule; 
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 (c)  "retired" means the status of an individual who has: 
 (i)  become eligible, applies for, and may receive an 
allowance under Title 49, Utah State Retirement and Insurance 
Benefit Act; or 
 (ii)  separated employment as a result of a critical incident; 
and 
 (d)  "screening" means a preliminary evaluation to 
determine whether key features of a substance use disorder or mental 
health disorder are present in an individual. 
 
R714-570-4.  Mental Health Resources for First Responders 
Grant Funding Committee. 
 This rule establishes the Mental Health Resources for First 
Responders Grant Funding Committee, which shall be responsible 
for assisting the department in awarding funds to first responder 
agencies to provide mental health resources for first responders in 
accordance with Section 53-21-103. 
 
R714-570-5.  Committee Membership. 
 (1)  The committee shall consist of seven members made 
up of one representative from each of the following groups or 
organizations: 
 (a)  Utah Department of Public Safety Commissioner or 
designee; 
 (b)  Utah Highway Patrol Colonel or designee; 
 (c)  Utah Sheriffs Association; 
 (d)  Utah Chiefs of Police Association; 
 (e)  Utah State Fire Chiefs Association; 
 (f)  Utah Association of Counties; and 
 (g)  League of Cities and Towns. 
 (2)  Members of the committee shall: 
 (a)  be approved by the Commissioner of the Utah 
Department of Public Safety; 
 (b)  be appointed for four-year terms; and 
 (c)  cease to be members of the committee immediately 
upon the termination of their membership in the group or 
organization they represent. 
 (3)  If a vacancy occurs during the four-year term of a 
committee member, a new member shall be appointed from the same 
group or organization to finish the term of that member. 
 (4)  The committee chair shall be the Utah Department of 
Public Safety Commissioner or designee. 
 (5)  Four members shall constitute a quorum for committee 
action. 
 (6)  The department's special counsel shall assist the 
committee as needed. 
 
R714-570-6.  Committee Meetings. 
 The committee shall meet at least quarterly to review and 
approve applications from first responder agencies. 
 
R714-570-7.  Applications. 
 (1)  Applications for grant funding shall: 
 (a)  be made on department forms; 
 (b)  include criteria required under Section 53-21-103; 
 (c)  ensure that peer confidentiality is addressed; 
 (d)  be sent to the committee in care of the department; and 
 (e)  be submitted before March 31, 2023. 
 (2)  A group of first responder agencies may jointly apply 
for grant funding to provide mental health resources for first 
responders. 

 (a)  The group of agencies shall designate one first 
responder agency as the lead agency. 
 (b)  The lead agency shall: 
 (i)  take responsibility for applying for grant funding in 
behalf of the group of first responder agencies in accordance with 
Subsection R714-570-7(1); 
 (ii)  provide oversight of the mental health resources 
program for the group of agencies; 
 (iii)  maintain accounting records; and 
 (iv)  ensure that mental health resources are available to 
first responders employed by the group of first responder agencies, 
their family members, and first responders that have retired from the 
group of first responder agencies, as required under Section 53-21-
102. 
 
R714-570-8.  Criteria and Awards. 
 (1)  The committee shall: 
 (a)  review timely applications submitted by first responder 
agencies; 
 (b)  prioritize grant funding as required under Subsection 
53-21-103(6); and 
 (c)  approve funding awards for first responder agencies 
that have submitted completed applications that meet the 
requirements under Section 53-21-103. 
 (2)  The committee shall notify each first responder agency 
that applied for grant funding of: 
 (a)  the approval or denial of the application for funding; 
and 
 (b)  the amount of funding that will be made available to 
first responder agency. 
 (3)  An agency awarded grant funding shall ensure that 
mental health resources are made available to first responders, family 
members of first responders and retired first responders within 60 
days of receipt of grant funding. 
 
R714-570-9.  Parameters for Services for Retirees. 
 A first responder agency shall provide mental health 
resources for at least three years to a first responder who has retired 
from the first responder agency. 
 
R714-570-10.  Agency Accountability. 
 (1)  First responder agencies that receive funding shall: 
 (a)  use the awarded resources only in the manner set forth 
in Section 53-21-103; 
 (b)  maintain records for five years sufficient to show how 
the funding is used; 
 (c)  cooperate with the committee if and when the 
committee determines it is necessary to audit agency records, and 
evaluate use of the funding; and 
 (d)  provide a quarterly report to the committee that 
includes: 
 (i)  the amount of grant funding awarded to the agency; 
 (ii)  the amount of grant funding spent by the agency, and 
the purposes for which the grant funding was spent; 
 (iii)  the amount of grant funding not yet spent by the 
agency; 
 (iv)  the number of first responders, family members, and 
retired first responders served; and 
 (v)  the types of services provided. 
 (2)  If the committee determines that an agency has used 
grant funding for purposes not specified in Section 53-21-103, the 
agency shall return the grant funding to the committee. 
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KEY:  mental health resources, first responder, first responder 
agency 
Date of Enactment:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53-21-103 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R986-300-306 Filing ID: 
54728 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Employment Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R986-300-306.  Time Limits 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This amendment adopts language to reflect changes 
adopted by the federal Office of Refugee Resettlement 
(ORR). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes clarify the date of eligibility for assistance in 
certain circumstances; and add language addressing 
Refugee Resettlement Program (RRP) assistance 
eligibility of Afghan and Ukrainian parolees and refugees 
due to changes in federal law and policy. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 
This rule amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state revenues or expenditures.  There are no 
additional state employees or resources needed to 
oversee the new subsections.  This new subsection will not 
increase workload and can be carried out with existing 
budget.  Any costs will be paid with funds granted to the 
state through the Federal ORR. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because the program is federally-funded and does not rely 
on local governments for funding, administration, or 
enforcement. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule amendment is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit for small businesses because covered individuals 
will be able to receive RRP assistance, thereby increasing 
the individuals' ability to purchase goods and services from 
small businesses.  The indirect benefit is not calculable, 
but it presumed to be a portion of the benefits to other 
persons as shown in the Regulatory Impact Table below. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule amendment is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit for non-small businesses because covered 
individuals will be able to receive RRP financial 
assistance, thereby increasing the individuals' ability to 
purchase goods and services from non-small businesses.  
The indirect benefit is not calculable, but it presumed to be 
a portion of the benefits to other persons as shown in the 
Regulatory Impact Table below. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Based on information provided by the U.S. State 
Department, the Department of Workforce Services 
(Department) estimates that approximately 64 Ukrainian 
refugees will be eligible for assistance in fiscal year 2023, 
with 21 eligible in fiscal year 2024.  The average amount 
of assistance provided is estimated to be $192 per month, 
based on the Department's recent experience.  In 2023, 
the monthly amount of assistance is estimated to be 
$12,288, and the 2024 estimate is $4,032 per month.  The 
Department therefore estimates the total amount provided 
to refugees to be $147,456 in FY2023 and $48,384.00 in 
FY2024. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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This rule amendment is not expected to cause any 
compliance costs for affected persons because this new 
section does not create any new administrative fees. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$147,436 $48,384 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$147,436 $48,384 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$147,436 $48,384 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 35A-3-103  45 CFR 400.65 

through 400.68 
 

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive Director 

Date: 06/30/2022 

 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-300.  Refugee Resettlement Program. 
R986-300-306.  Time Limits. 
 (1)  A refugee's eligibility date for RRP is the date of entry 
into the United States. 
 (a)  An asylee's entry date is determined to be the date that 
the individual was granted asylum in the United States. 
 (b)  The date of entry for a victim of trafficking is 
established by the certification date determined by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Refugee 
Resettlement (ORR). 
 (c)  "Afghan Humanitarian Parolee" means: 
 (i)  a citizen[s] or national[s] of Afghanistan paroled into 
the United States between July 31, 2021 and September 30, 2022[,]; 
or[including] 
 (ii)  a spouse[s and] or child[ren] of a paroled individual[s] 
described in Subsection R986-300-306(1)(c)(i) who is paroled into 
the United States after September 30, 2022.[, and parents or 
guardians of paroled individuals who are unaccompanied children.  
The eligibility date for Afghan Humanitarian Parolees is the date of 
entry into the community, as determined by the ORR.] 
 (d)  "Ukrainian Humanitarian Parolee" means: 
 (i)  a citizen or national of Ukraine paroled into the United 
States between February 24, 2022 and September 30, 2023; 
 (ii)  a non-Ukrainian individual who habitually resided in 
Ukraine and who was paroled into the United States between 
February 24, 2022 and September 30, 2023; 
 (iii)  a spouse or child of an individual described in 
Subsection R986-300-306(1)(d)(i) or (ii) who is paroled into the 
United States after September 30, 2023; or 
 (iv)  a parent, legal guardian, or primary caregiver of an 
unaccompanied refugee minor or an unaccompanied child described 
in Subsection R986-300-306(1)(d)(i) or (ii) who was paroled into the 
United States after September 30, 2023. 
 (2)(a)  A refugee with an eligibility date on or after October 
1, 2021, is eligible for RRP financial assistance only during the first 
12 months after the eligibility date. 
 (b)  A refugee with an eligibility date before October 1, 
2021, is eligible for RRP financial assistance only during the first 
eight months after the eligibility date. 
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 (c)(i)  Notwithstanding Subsections R986-300-303(2)(b), 
R986-300-306(2)(a), and (2)(b), an Afghan Humanitarian Parolee is 
eligible for RRP financial assistance only until March 31, 2023, or 
until the end of the individual's parole term, whichever is later. 
 (ii)  The eligibility date for an Afghan Humanitarian 
Parolee is October 1, 2021, or the date the parolee entered the 
community in the United States, as determined by the ORR, 
whichever date is later. 
 (d)(i)  Notwithstanding Subsections R986-300-303(2)(b), 
R986-300-306(2)(a), and (2)(b), a Ukrainian Humanitarian Parolee 
is eligible for RRP financial assistance only until the end of the 
individual's parole term. 
 (ii)  The eligibility date for a Ukrainian Humanitarian 
Parolee is May 21, 2022, or the date of humanitarian parole, 
whichever is later. 
 (3)  Regardless of eligibility date, RRP financial assistance 
cannot be paid for any months before the date of application for 
assistance. 
 
KEY:  refugee resettlement program, SNAP 
Date of Last Change:  [June 21], 2022 
Notice of Continuation:  August 31, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-103; 
45 CFR 400.65 through 400.68 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R986-700-721 Filing ID: 
54749 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Employment Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R986-700-721.  Eligible Provider 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

The change makes commercial preschools eligible to 
participate in the child care subsidy program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes provide that commercial preschools are 
eligible to participate in the child care subsidy program, 
and clarifies which child care centers are eligible. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state revenues or expenditures.  There are no 
additional state employees or resources needed due to the 
changes.  The changes will not increase workload and can 
be carried out with existing budget.  Any costs will be paid 
with funds granted to the state by federal funds. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule amendment is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because the program is federally-funded and does not rely 
on local governments for funding, administration, or 
enforcement. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule amendment is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit for small businesses because assistance for 
preschool enrollment will enable more individuals to work 
and purchase goods and services.  Most, if not all 
preschools are small businesses, who may receive an 
indirect benefit because more families will be able to afford 
preschool if they receive a subsidy and thus use a 
preschool's services.  The indirect benefit is not calculable, 
but it presumed to be a portion of the benefits to other 
persons as shown in the Regulatory Impact Table below.  
There are no compliance costs for small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule amendment is expected to have an indirect fiscal 
benefit for non-small businesses because assistance for 
preschool enrollment will enable more individuals to work 
and purchase goods and services.  Preschools that are 
non-small businesses may receive an indirect benefit 
because more families will be able to afford preschool if 
they receive a subsidy and thus use a preschool's 
services.  The indirect benefit is not calculable, but it 
presumed to be a portion of the benefits to other persons 
as shown in the Regulatory Impact Table below.  There are 
no compliance costs for non-small businesses. 
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E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Based on the best available information, the Department 
of Workforce Services (Department) estimates that an 
additional 127 children per year will be able to receive 
subsidy payments if this rule amendment is enacted.  The 
average subsidy payment is estimated to be $339 per 
month per child, based on the Department's recent 
payments.  The total subsidy is therefore estimated to be 
$43,053 per month, or $516,636 annually.  Subsidy 
payments are made using funds granted to the state by 
federal funds. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule amendment is not expected to cause any 
compliance costs for affected persons because this new 
subsection does not create any new administrative fees. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$516,636 $516,636 $516,636 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$516,636 $516,636 $516,636 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$516,636 $516,636 $516,636 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
This rule amendment provides financial assistance to 
parents seeking child care from commercial preschools in 
the form of child care subsidy payments.  The funding for 
child care subsidy payments is provided through federal 
funding.  Assistance for child care means that parents are 
more available to work, providing reliable employees for 
businesses.  The Executive Director of the Department of 
Workforce Services, Casey Cameron, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 35A-3-203 Section 35A-3-310  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

08/31/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

09/07/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive Director 

Date: 07/12/2022 

 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-700.  Child Care Assistance. 
R986-700-721.  Eligible Provider. 
 [(1)  ]A provider may only be eligible if the provider is: 
 (1[a])  a provider regulated through CCL including a 
licensed: 
 (a[i])  home provider; 
 (b[ii])  child care center, including an out-of-school time 
program and excluding an hourly center;[ or] 
 (c[iii])  commercial preschool; or 
 (d)  home with a residential certificate; or 
 (2[b])  a license exempt center,[ or] school-age program, or 
home provider which is not required by law to be licensed and is 
either; 
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 (a[i])  a license exempt center or school-age program as 
defined in Section R430-8-3, that has a current letter of exempt status 
from CCL identifying the provider as DWS Approved; or 
 (b[ii])  a DWS FFN provider as approved by CCL. 
 

KEY:  child care, grant programs 
Date of Last Change:  [July 1], 2022 
Notice of Continuation:  August 28, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-203; 
35A-3-310[; 53F-5-210] 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive comment that requires the 
PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to respond 
to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
While the law does not designate a comment period for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends August 31, 2022. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only those 
changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding them ([example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text, 
either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to 
print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print 
is available from the agency or from the Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
From the end of the 30-day waiting period through November 29, 2022, an agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a 
NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE becomes the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 
days nor more than 120 days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates 
a public comment period, the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public 
comment period nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE in response to additional comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive 
a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, 
the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, 
R15-4-5b, R15-4-7, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page 
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NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R307-508 Filing ID: 54500 

Date of Previous 
Publication: 

05/01/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Sheila Vance 801-
518-
3132 

svance@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R307-508.  Oil and Gas Industry: VOC Control Devices 
 
3.  Reason for this change (Why is the agency submitting 
this filing?): 
The Division of Air Quality is responding to comments 
received during the public comment period. 
 
4.  Summary of this change (What does this filing do?): 

Compliance date clarification for sources that have an 
Approval Order. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed amendment 
upon which this change in proposed rule (CPR) was based 
was published in the May 1, 2022, issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin, on page 85.  Underlining in the rule below 
indicates text that has been added since the publication of 
the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates 
text that has been deleted.  You must view the CPR and 
the proposed amendment together to understand all of the 
changes that will be enforceable should the agency make 
this rule effective.) 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These changes are not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on the state budget beyond those of the original 
amendment.  They provide clarification, but do not add any 
additional burdens. 
 
B)  Local government: 
These changes are not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments because this rule is not applicable to 
them. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These changes are not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on small businesses beyond those of the original 
amendment.  They provide clarification, but do not add any 
additional burdens. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These changes are not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses beyond those of the original 
amendment.  They provide clarification, but do not add any 
additional burdens. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These changes are not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because 
the proposed changes apply only to business operating in 
the gas and oil industry. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
Compliance costs for affected persons will not be impacted 
by these changes. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 



  NOTICES OF CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 15 61 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-2-104   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

No formal comment 
period 

 
9.  This rule change MAY become 
effective on:  

08/31/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 07/06/2022 

 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-508.  Oil and Gas Industry:  VOC Control Devices. 
R307-508-1.  Purpose. 
 Rule R307-508 establishes requirements for VOC control 
devices associated with well sites used to control emissions of VOCs. 
 
R307-508-2.  Applicability. 
 (1)  Rule R307-508 applies to each VOC control device 
located at a well site as defined in 40 CFR 60.5430a Subpart OOOOa 
Standards of Performance for Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production, 
Transmission and Distribution. 
 (2)  Rule R307-508 shall apply to centralized tank batteries, 
as defined in Section[Rule] R307-506-2. 
 (3)  Rule R307-508 shall apply to VOC control devices 
subject to an Approval Order issued under Section R307-401-8 
beginning December 1, 2023. 
 
R307-508-3.  VOC Control Device Requirements. 
 (1)  A VOC control device required by Rule R307-506 or 
R307-507 must have a control efficiency of 95% or greater. 
 (a)  The VOC control device shall operate with no visible 
emissions. 
 (b)  The VOC control device must comply with Rule R307-
503. 
 (2)  A well site shall demonstrate compliance by meeting 
the performance test methods and procedures specified in 40 CFR 
60.5413a. 
 (3)  VOC control devices and all associated equipment shall 
be inspected monthly by audio, visual, or olfactory (AVO) means to 
ensure the integrity of the equipment is maintained and is operational. 
If equipment is not operational, corrective action shall be taken 
within 15 days of discovery. 
 
R307-508-4.  Recordkeeping. 
 (1)  The owner or operator shall keep and maintain records 
of the VOC control device's control efficiency guaranteed by the 
manufacturer.  These records shall be retained for the life of the 
control equipment on site. 
 (2)  The owner or operator shall keep and maintain records 
of the manufacturer's written operating and maintenance instructions.  
These records shall be retained for the life of the control equipment. 
 (3)  The owner or operator shall keep and maintain records 
of the VOC control device AVO inspections.  These shall be retained 
for a minimum of three years.  These records shall include: 
 (a)  the date of the inspection; 
 (b)  the status of the control device and associated 
equipment; and 
 (c)  date of corrective action taken, if applicable. 
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KEY:  air pollution, oil, gas 
Date of Last Change:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-2-
104(1)(a) 
 
 
NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R307-509 Filing ID: 54501 

Date of Previous 
Publication: 

05/01/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Sheila Vance 801-
518-
3132 

svance@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R307-509.  Oil and Gas Industry: Leak Detection and 
Repair Requirements 
 
3.  Reason for this change (Why is the agency submitting 
this filing?): 
The Division of Air Quality is responding to comments 
received during the public comment period. 
 
4.  Summary of this change (What does this filing do?): 

These changes remove the proposed requirement to 
perform leak detection and repair (LDAR) inspections in 
specific months in Duchesne and Uintah counties and the 
requirement to perform a LDAR inspection after a 
temporary shut in of a well.  They also clarify the 
applicability of this rule to facilities with an Approval Order. 

(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed amendment 
upon which this change in proposed rule (CPR) was based 
was published in the May 1, 2022, issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin, on page 87.  Underlining in the rule below 
indicates text that has been added since the publication of 
the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates 
text that has been deleted.  You must view the CPR and 
the proposed amendment together to understand all of the 
changes that will be enforceable should the agency make 
this rule effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There may be a fiscal savings due to the removal of the 
LDAR inspection requirements, but the exact amount is 
inestimable since the original requirements were never 
effective. 
 
B)  Local government: 
These changes are not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments because this rule is not applicable to 
them. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There may be a fiscal savings due to the removal of the 
LDAR inspection requirements, but the exact amount is 
inestimable since the original requirements were never 
effective. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There may be a fiscal savings due to the removal of the 
LDAR inspection requirements, but the exact amount is 
inestimable since the original requirements were never 
effective. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These changes are not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because 
the proposed changes apply only to business operating in 
the gas and oil industry. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
Compliance costs for affected persons may be reduced 
due to the removal of the LDAR inspection requirements, 
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but the exact amount is inestimable since the original 
requirements were never effective. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-2-104   

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

No formal comment 
period 

 
9.  This rule change MAY become 
effective on:  

08/31/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 07/06/2022 

 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-509.  Oil and Gas Industry:  Leak Detection and Repair 
Requirements. 
R307-509-1.  Purpose. 
 Rule R307-509 establishes requirements for conducting 
leak detection and repairs at well sites to control emissions of volatile 
organic compounds. 
 
R307-509-2.  Definitions. 
 "Difficult-to-Monitor" means difficult-to-monitor as 
defined 40 CFR 60.5397a, which is incorporated by reference in Rule 
R307-210. 
 "Fugitive emissions" are considered any visible emissions 
observed using optical gas imaging or a Method 21 instrument 
reading of 500 ppm or greater. 
 "Fugitive emissions component" means any component 
that has the potential to emit fugitive emissions of VOC, including 
valves, connectors, pressure relief devices, open-ended lines, flanges, 
covers and closed vent systems, thief hatches or other openings, 
compressors, instruments, and meters. 
 "Shut-in or temporarily abandoned" means a well that is 
closed off such that it stops producing for longer than seven calendar 
days. 
 "Unsafe-to-Monitor" means unsafe-to-monitor as defined 
40 CFR 60.5397a, which is incorporated by reference in Rule R307-
210. 
 
R307-509-3.  Applicability. 
 (1)  Rule R307-509 applies to each fugitive emissions 
component at a well site as defined in 40 CFR 60.5430a, Subpart 
OOOOa, Standards of Performance for Crude Oil and Natural Gas 
Production, Transmission and Distribution and shall control 
emissions in accordance with Rules R307-506 and R307-507. 
 (a)  A source meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 60.5397a 
is meeting the requirements of this rule. 
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 (2)  Sources subject to Rule R307-509 are subject until the 
well is shut in.[Rule R307-509 does not apply to a fugitive emissions 
component at a well that is shut-in or temporarily abandoned.] 
 (3)  Rule R307-509 shall apply to a fugitive emissions 
component that is subject to an Approval Order issued under Section 
R307-401-8 beginning December 1, 2023. 
 
R307-509-4.  Leak Detection and Repair Requirements. 
 (1)  Applicable sources shall comply with the following: 
 (a)  The owner or operator shall develop an emissions 
monitoring plan that shall be available upon request to review for 
each individual well site. At a minimum, the plan shall include: 
 (i)  monitoring frequency; 
 (ii)  monitoring technique and equipment; 
 (iii)  procedures and timeframes for identifying and 
repairing leaks; 
 (iv)  recordkeeping practices; and 
 (v)  calibration and maintenance procedures for monitoring 
equipment. 
 (b)  The plan shall address monitoring for difficult-to-
monitor and unsafe-to-monitor components. 
 (c)  The owner or operator shall conduct monitoring 
surveys on site to observe each fugitive emissions component for 
fugitive emissions. 
 (d)  Monitoring surveys shall be conducted according to the 
following schedule: 
 (i)  No later than 60 days after startup of production, as 
defined in 40 CFR 60 Subpart OOOOa Standards of Performance for 
Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production, Transmission and 
Distribution. 
 (ii)  Semiannually after the initial monitoring survey.  
Consecutive semiannual monitoring surveys shall be conducted at 
least four months apart and no more than seven months apart.[  A 
fugitive emission component subject to Rule R307-509 in Duchesne 
and Uintah counties must perform one monitoring survey during the 
months of September, October, November or December.] 
 (iii)  Annually after the initial monitoring survey for 
"difficult-to-monitor" components. 
 (iv)  As required by the owner or operator's monitoring plan 
for "unsafe-to-monitor" components. 

[ (v)  Within seven days of a well site becoming operational 
after being shut-in or temporarily abandoned.] 
 (e)  Monitoring surveys shall be conducted using one or 
both of the following to detect fugitive emissions: 
 (i)  Optical gas imaging (OGI) equipment. OGI equipment 
shall be capable of imaging gases in the spectral range for the 
compound of highest concentration in the potential fugitive 
emissions source. 
 (ii)  Monitoring equipment that meets U.S. EPA Method 21, 
40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A. 
 (f)  If fugitive emissions are detected at any time, the owner 
or operator shall repair the fugitive emissions component as soon as 
possible but no later than 15 calendar days after detection. If the 
repair or replacement is technically infeasible, would require a vent 
blowdown, a well shutdown or well shut-in, or would be unsafe to 
repair during operation of the unit, the repair or replacement shall be 
completed during the next well shutdown, well shut-in, after an 
unscheduled, planned, or emergency vent blowdown or within 24 
months, whichever is earlier. 
 (g)  The owner or operator shall resurvey the repaired or 
replaced fugitive emission component no later than 30 calendar days 
after the fugitive emission component was repaired. 
 
R307-509-5.  Recordkeeping. 
 (1)  The owner or operator shall maintain records of the 
emissions monitoring plan. These records shall be retained for the life 
of the well site. 
 (2)  The owner or operator shall maintain records of the 
monitoring surveys, repairs, and resurveys. These records shall be 
retained for a minimum of three years. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, oil, gas 
Date of Last Change:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-2-
104(1)(a) 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Changes in Proposed Rules Section 
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES 

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 
 (a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 (b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
 (c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)). 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the 120-DAY RULE is printed.  New text is underlined (example) and text to 
be deleted is struck out with brackets surrounding the deleted text ([example]).  An emergency rule that is new is 
entirely underlined.  Likewise, an emergency rule that repeals an existing rule shows the text completely struck out.  
A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space. 
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective when filed with the Office of Administrative Rules, or on a later date designated by the 
agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.  Because of its 
temporary nature, a 120-DAY RULE is not codified as part of the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The law does not require a public comment period for 120-DAY RULES.  However, when an agency files a 120-DAY 
RULE, it may file a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements permanent. 
 
Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-304, and Section R15-4-8. 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R380-300 Filing ID: 54752 

Effective Date: 07/13/2022 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Administration (Health) 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Carmen Richins 801-
273-
2802 

carmenrichins@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R380-300.  Employee Background Screening 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The reason for the filing is to consolidate the Department 
of Health and the Department of Human Services 
employee background screening rules into one 
overarching rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do?): 
This filing repeals and reenacts the employee background 
screening rule for the consolidated Department of Health 
and Human Services (Department). 
 
5A)  The agency finds that regular rulemaking would: 
 cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
 cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
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X place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
B)  Specific reasons and justifications for this finding: 
In compliance with S.B. 45 passed in the 2022 General 
Session, the Department is officially consolidated 
beginning 07/01/2022 and the rule applying to employees 
of the Department needs to be enacted and in effect 
immediately as required by Section 26B-1-211, while the 
budgetary items are worked out for the regular proposed 
rule filing in September 2022. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There are no anticipated costs or savings because the 
changes reflected in this emergency rule filing will not 
substantively impact the process.  This emergency rule is 
a result of the Department's consolidation, this rule 
consolidates the employee background screening 
process.  Any remaining budgetary items will be 
coordinated with the regular proposed rule filing in 
September 2022. 
 
B) Local governments: 

There will be no aggregate cost or savings to local 
governments as a result of this rule enactment.  These 
changes will not substantively impact existing operations. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There will be no aggregate cost or savings to small 
businesses as a result of this rule enactment.  These 
changes will not substantively impact existing operations. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, state, or local 
government entities ("person" means any individual, 
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, 
or public or private organization of any character other 
than an agency): 
There will be no aggregate cost or savings to persons 
other than small businesses as a result of this rule 
enactment.  These changes will not substantively impact 
existing operations. 
 
E)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No compliance costs are associated with this filing.  These 
changes will not substantively impact existing operations. 
 
F) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 

After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy 
Gruber, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-1-211   

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 07/13/2022 

 
R380.  Health, Administration. 
R380-300.  Employee Background Screening. 
[R380-300-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted pursuant to Title 26 Chapter 1 Section 
17.1. 
 
R380-300-2.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to set forth the standards for 
the Department employee and volunteer background screening in 
accordance with Section 26-1-17.1. 
 
R380-300-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Title 26, Chapter 1. 
In addition: 
 (1)  "Current Employee" means all staff, contracted 
employees, and volunteers who: 
 (a)  have access to protected health information or personal 
identifying information; 
 (b)  have direct contact with patients, children, or 
vulnerable adults as defined in Section 62A-2-120; 
 (c)  work in areas of privacy and data security; 
 (d)  handle financial information, including receipt of 
funds, reviewing invoices, making payments, and other types of 
financial information; or 
 (e)  perform audit functions, whether internal or external, 
on behalf of the department. 
 (2)  "Employee" means a current employee of the 
Department 
 (3)  "New Employee" means job applicants who have been 
offered a position or reassignment with the department who: 
 (a)  have access to protected health information or personal 
identifying information; 
 (b)  have direct contact with patients, children, or 
vulnerable adults as defined in Section 62A-2-120; 
 (c)  work in areas of privacy and data security; 
 (d)  handle financial information, including receipt of 
funds, reviewing invoices, making payments, and other types of 
financial information; or 
 (e)  perform audit functions, whether internal or external, 
on behalf of the department. 
 (4)  "Office of Background Processing" means the 
background processing section within the department. 
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R380-300-4.  Background Screening Process - Current 
Employee. 
 (1)  The Department may conduct a background screening 
on current employees based on division's background screening 
guidelines determined by risk associated with the employees' work 
responsibilities. 
 (2)  Current employees who require screening must: 
 (a)  sign a criminal background screening authorization 
form; 
 (b)  provide personal demographics required; and 
 (c)  submit live scan fingerprints. 
 (3)  Current employees may continue to work during the 
department's implementation of the background screening process. 
 (4)  If the Office of Background Processing determines that 
a current employee is not eligible for continued employment, based 
on criminal record information obtained through the initial or 
ongoing background screening process, the Office of Background 
Processing shall send a notice of action to the employee and the 
employee's division director which shall include the action, the 
reconsideration process, and a statement that the information is 
confidential. 
 (5)  The department may allow a current employee to 
continue to work with conditions, during the reconsideration process 
as defined in each division's background screening guidelines if the 
employee can demonstrate the work arrangement does not pose a 
threat to the department and the safety and health of Utah citizens. 
 (6)  The department is responsible for the payment of all 
fees required and any fees required to be submitted to the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation by the bureau. 
 
R380-300-5.  Background Screening Process - New Employees. 
 (1)  Background screening is part of the department's hiring 
process and any offer of employment is conditional upon the results 
of the background screening. 
 (2)  An employee who is reassigned to the department will 
be informed in writing that their offer of employment with the 
department is conditional upon on the results of the background 
screening. 
 (3)  The Office of Background Processing shall determine 
if the new employee is eligible for employment prior to the new 
employee: 
 (a)  having access to protected health information or 
personal identifying information; 
 (b)  having direct contact with patients, children, or 
vulnerable adults as defined in Section 62A-2-120; 
 (c)  working in areas of privacy and data security; 
 (d)  handling financial information, including receipt of 
funds, reviewing invoices, making payments, and other types of 
financial information; or 
 (e)  performing audit functions, whether internal or 
external, on behalf of the department. 
 (4)  All new employees who have been offered employment 
with the department shall: 
 (a)  sign a criminal background screening authorization 
form; 
 (b)  provide personal demographics; and 
 (c)  submit live scan fingerprints. 
 (5)  If the Office of Background Processing determines that 
a new employee is not eligible for employment, based on information 
obtained through the background screening process, the Office of 
Background Processing shall send a notice of action to the employee, 

Human Resources and the employee's division director which shall 
include the action and a statement that the information is confidential. 
 (6)  The department is responsible for the payment of all 
fees required and any fees required to be submitted to the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation by the bureau. 
 
R380-300-6.  Sources for Background Review. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 26-1-17.1, the department 
may review relevant information obtained from the following 
sources: 
 (a)  Department of Public Safety arrest, conviction, and 
disposition records described in Title 53, Chapter 10, Criminal 
Investigations and Technical Services Act, including information in 
state, regional, and national records files; and 
 (b)  federal criminal background databases available to the 
state. 
 (2)  The department shall classify a crime committed in 
another state according to the closest matching crime under Utah law, 
regardless of how the crime is classified in the state where the crime 
was committed. 
 (3)  If the Office of Background Processing determines an 
employee is not eligible for continued employment based upon the 
criminal background screening and the employee disagrees with the 
information provided by the Criminal Investigations and Technical 
Services Division or court record, the employee may challenge the 
information obtained from the background screening process through 
the appropriate agency. 
 (4)  Ongoing monitoring of records referred to in 6(1) will 
immediately be discontinued upon separation of employment. 
 
R380-300-7.  Current Employee Exclusions. 
 (1)  Convictions or Pending Charges. 
 (a)  If an employee has been convicted, has pleaded no 
contest, or is subject to a plea in abeyance or diversion agreement, 
for deniable offenses outlined within each division's background 
screening guidelines, the employee may be terminated. 
 (b)  If an employee has a warrant for arrest or an arrest for 
any of the identified deniable offenses, the department may terminate 
employment based on: 
 (i)  the type of offense; 
 (ii)  the severity of offense; and 
 (iii)  potential risk to the department. 
 (2)  Review of Relevant Information. 
 (a)  Results of background screening, may be reviewed to 
determine under what circumstance, if any, the current employee may 
continue to be employed.  The following factors may be considered: 
 (i)  types and number; 
 (ii)  passage of time; 
 (iii)  surrounding circumstances; 
 (vi)  intervening circumstances; and 
 (v)  steps taken to correct or improve. 
 (3)  The Office of Background Processing may deny 
clearance based on the relevant information identified in subsection 
6(1).] 
R380-300-1.  Authority. 
 Section 26B-1-211 authorizes this rule. 
 
R380-300-2.  Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule clarifies the standards for background 
screenings for department staff, contracted employees and 
volunteers. 
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 (2)  Background screenings the department performs and 
maintains for the Office of Recovery Services and the Utah State 
Developmental center do not apply to this rule. 
 (3)  The department finds that a criminal history or 
identification as a perpetrator of abuse or neglect is directly relevant 
to certain individuals' employment or volunteer activities within the 
department 
 
R380-300-3.  Definitions. 
 The definitions in Section 26B-1-211 apply.  In addition: 
 (1)  "Background screening" means review of: 
 (a)  fingerprint-based local, regional, and national criminal 
history background check and ongoing monitoring; 
 (b)  the department's Management Information System 
created in Section 80-2-1001; 
 (c)  the department's Licensing Information System created 
in Section 80-2-1002; 
 (d)  the statewide database of the Division of Aging and 
Adult Services created by Section 62A-3-311.1; and 
 (e)  juvenile court records under Subsection 80-3-404(6). 
 (2)  "Department" means the Department of Health and 
Human Services. 
 (3)  "Director" means the director of each operational unit 
(OU) within the department, and includes each OU director's 
designee. 
 (4)  "Employee" means all employees, contracted 
employees, and volunteers of the department who: 
 (a)  have access to protected health information or personal 
identifying information; 
 (b)  have direct access to patients, children, or vulnerable 
adults as defined in Section 62A-2-101; 
 (c)  work in areas of privacy and data security; 
 (d)  handle financial information, including receipt of 
funds, reviewing invoices, making payments, and other types of 
financial information; 
 (e)  perform audit functions, whether internal or external, 
on behalf of the department; 
or 
 (f)  are job applicants who have been offered a position with 
the department and the job requirements include those described in 
Rule R380-300. 
 (5)  "Executive director" means the executive director of 
the department or a person designated by the executive director. 
 (6)  "Fingerprints" means an individual's fingerprints as 
copied electronically through a live-scan fingerprinting device or on 
two ten-print fingerprint cards. 
 (7)  "Non-criminal record" means any record within: 
 (a)  the department's Management Information System 
created in Section 80-2-1001; 
 (b)  the department's Licensing Information System created 
in Section 80-2-1002; or 
 (c)  the statewide database of the Division of Aging and 
Adult Services created by Section 62A-3-311.1. 
 (8)  "Office" means the Office of Background Processing 
within the department. 
 (9)  "Screening Agent" means the individual or individuals 
who are responsible for initiating, monitoring and maintaining 
background clearance communications with the Office, entering 
applications, verifying and protecting personally identifying 
information and ensuring information is current for their agency, 
applicants and provider in the online system. 

 (10)  "Volunteer" means an individual who donates services 
without pay or other compensation, except expenses actually and 
reasonably incurred and pre-approved by the supervising agency, and 
includes unpaid interns. 
 
R380-300-4.  General Background Screening Procedure. 
 (1)  The office shall run a background screening on every 
eligible employee and volunteer. 
 (2)  If the office runs a background screening and finds no 
charges or convictions against the employee within the past 10 years, 
the office will not take into consideration criminal record findings 
outside of 10 years old. If there is any charge or conviction against 
the applicant within the past 10 years then any record may be 
reviewed by the Office. 
 (3)  If the office runs a background screening and does not 
find any non-criminal record against the employee within the past 10 
years, the office will not take into consideration the non-criminal 
record findings outside of 10 years old. If there is any non-criminal 
record against the applicant within the past 10 years then any record 
may be reviewed by the Office. 
 (4)  An application that lacks a signed disclosure statement, 
applicant information, or applicable fees will not be processed by the 
Office until the requirements are provided to the office. 
 (5)  An application for an initial background screening shall 
be submitted to the Office no later than two weeks from the date the 
applicant is hired as a department employee. The applicant shall be 
directly supervised as defined in 62A-2-101, prior to receiving 
conditional or full clearance approval from the office. 
 (a)  An applicant is eligible to work unsupervised when the 
background screening is approved based on the standards established 
by this rule. 
 (b)  An applicant with a pending screening must be directly 
supervised as defined in 62A-2-101 until the final determination has 
been made. 
 (c)  An applicant initiating a Background Screening Review 
of a denied application shall work under direct supervision until there 
is a disposition made regarding the Background Screening Review. 
 (6)  Each applicant or background screening agent shall 
promptly notify the office of updated application details or new 
investigations of abuse or neglect or any new criminal charge by: 
 (a)  updating the online system with changes to name and 
contact information; and 
 (b)  emailing the office of any new allegations or 
investigations of abuse or neglect or new criminal charges. 
 (7)  The background screening agent shall verify the 
identity of the applicant via personally identifying information at the 
time that they enter the application. 
 (8)  The office may review an employee's juvenile record 
for any employee under 22 years of age that has been convicted of, 
has pleaded no contest to, or is currently subject to a plea in abeyance 
or diversion agreement for a felony or a misdemeanor described 
within this rule. . 
 (9)  The juvenile record may be reviewed by the Office for 
any employee under 22 years of age that has a record of adjudication 
in juvenile court for an act that, if committed by an adult would be a 
felony or misdemeanor described within this rule. 
 (10)  As described in Section R501-14-3(4), each employee 
must submit out of state child abuse and neglect registry records, or 
proof that they sought the record and were denied by the other state, 
for each state resided in during the 5 years immediately preceding the 
date of the screening application if the applicant intends to work for 
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the Division of Child and Family Services or will work in a youth 
residential program. 
 
R380-300-5.  Background Screening for Employees Prior To July 
1, 2022 Merger. 
 (1)  Every eligible employee and volunteer of the Utah 
Department of Health (UDOH) hired prior to the July 1, 2022 merger 
with the Utah Department of Human Services (DHS) who were 
subject to a background screening according to Section 26-1-17.1, 
Rule R380-300 and UDOH policy 08-21, shall not be subject to a 
new background screening solely based on the merger. 
 (a)  Background screenings conducted or retained on newly 
hired or current employees prior to the merger date of July 1, 2022, 
are considered eligible employees. Each eligible employee will 
require a new background check under this rule if: 
 (i)  the employee has any new arrests, charges, convictions 
or non-criminal events that occur on or after July 1, 2022; or 
 (ii)  the employee transfers to a new position within the 
department. 
 (2)  Every eligible employee and volunteer of the DHS 
hired prior to the merger with the UDOH on July 1, 2022 who were 
subject to background checks according to Section 62A-2-120 and 
Rule R495-885, shall not be subject to a new background screening 
solely based on the merger. 
 (a)  Background clearances conducted or retained, on 
newly hired or current employees, prior to the merger date of July 1, 
2022, are considered eligible employees.  Each eligible employee 
will require a new background screening under this rule if: 
 (i)  the employee has any new arrests, charges, convictions 
or non-criminal events that occur on or after July 1, 2022; or 
 (ii)  the employee transfers to a new position within the 
department. 
 (3)  Every eligible department employee hired on or after 
July 1, 2022 is subject to a complete background screening as 
outlined herein. 
 
R380-300-6.  All Employees Base Clearance. 
 (1)  The office shall deny a background screening for any 
employee who has been convicted, pleaded guilty or no contest, or is 
subject to a plea in abeyance or diversion agreement for any of the 
following offenses: 
 (a)  any felony within the past 2 years; 
 (b)  any felony or class A misdemeanor within the past 3 
years under the following codes: 
 (i)  Section 76-4-4 Enticement of a Minor; 
 (ii)  Section 76-5-100 Assault and Related Offenses; 
 (iii)  Section 76-5-200 Criminal Homicide; 
 (iv)  Section 76-5-300 Offenses Against the Person - 
Kidnapping, Trafficking and Smuggling; 
 (v)  Section 76-5-400 Offenses Against the Person - Sexual 
Offenses; 
 (vi)  Section 76-5b Sexual Exploitation Act; 
 (vii)  Section 76-6-103 Aggravated Arson; 
 (viii)  Section 76-6-203 Aggravated Burglary; 
 (ix)  Section 76-6-302 Aggravated Robbery; 
 (x)  Section 76-7-101 through 102 Offenses Against the 
Family -Bigamy and Incest 
 (xi)  Sections 76-7-2-1 through 203 Offenses Against the 
Family -Nonsupport and Sale of Children 
 (xii)  Sections 76-7-311 through 312 Offenses Against the 
Family - Abortion, Selling or Buying unborn child, Intimidation to 
obtain abortion; 

 (xiii)  Section 76-9-4 Offenses Against Privacy; 
 (xiv)  Section 76-9-702 Offenses Against Public Order and 
Decency - Lewdness; 
 (xv)  Section 76-9-702.1 Offenses Against Public Order 
and Decency - Sexual Battery; 
 (xvi)  Section 76-9-702.5 Offenses Against Public Order 
and Decency - Lewdness Involving a Child; 
 (xvii)  Section 76-9-702.7 Offenses Against Public Order 
and Decency Voyeurism offenses; or 
 (xviii)  a felony or misdemeanor offense committed outside 
of the state that, if committed in the state, would constitute a violation 
of an offense described above; or 
 (A)  any felony within the past 3 years under Title 77, 
Chapter 36, Cohabitant Abuse Procedures Act . 
 (2)  The department has the discretion to approve or deny a 
background screening for any employee who has a pending charge 
for any of the offenses in this section, or for any employee who meets 
any of the conditions that would grant the department discretion to 
approve or deny an employee's background screening under any 
other part of this rule. 
 
R380-300-7.  Employees with Direct Access. 
 (1)  The office will utilize the following standards to 
process the background screening for each employee who will have 
direct access to patients, children, or vulnerable adults.  The office 
has discretion to approve or deny the background screening for an 
employee who has been convicted, has a pending charge, has pleaded 
guilty or no contest, is subject to a plea in abeyance or diversion 
agreement under (a), (b) or (c) of this section, or has a supported or 
substantiated finding under (d) of this section for any of the 
following: 
 (a)  any felony or misdemeanor within the past 20 years 
under the following codes: 
 (i)  Section 76-4-4 Enticement of a Minor; 
 (ii)  Section 76-5-100 Assault and Related Offenses; 
 (iii)  Section 76-5-200 Criminal Homicide; 
 (iv)  Section 76-5-300 Offenses Against the Person - 
Kidnapping, Trafficking and Smuggling; 
 (v)  Section 76-5-400 Offenses Against the Person - Sexual 
Offenses; or 
 (vi)  Section 76-5b Sexual Exploitation Act; 
 (b)  any felony class A or B misdemeanor within the past 
10 years under the following codes: 
 (i)  Section 76-6-103 Aggravated Burglary; 
 (ii)  Section 76-6-106(2)(b)(i)(A) Criminal Mischief - 
Human Life; 
 (iii)  Sections 76-6-2 through 7 Offenses Against Property 
- Robbery, Theft, Fraud, Retail Theft, Utah Computer Crimes; 
 (iv)  Section 76-6-10-1003 Mail Theft; 
 (v)  Sections 76-6-11 through 12 Identity Fraud Act, Utah 
Mortgage Fraud Act; 
 (vi)  Section 76-7-1 Marital Violations; 
 (vii)  Sections 76-7-201 through 203 Offenses Against the 
Family - Nonsupport and Sale or Children; 
 (vii)  Sections 76-7-311 through 312 Offenses Against the 
Family - Abortion, Selling or Buying unborn child, Intimidation to 
obtain abortion; 
 (ix)  Section 76-8 Offenses Against the Administration of 
Government; 
 (x)  Section 76-9-2 Electronic Communication and 
Telephone Abuse; 
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 (xi)  Section 76-9-3 Cruelty to Animals; 
 (xii)  Section 76-9-4 Offenses Against Privacy; 
 (xiii)  Section 76-9-702 Offenses Against Public Order and 
Decency - Lewdness; 
 (xiv)  Section 76-9-702.1 Offenses Against Public Order 
and Decency - Sexual Battery; 
 (xv)  Section 76-9-702.5 Offenses Against Public Order 
and Decency - Lewdness Involving a child; 
 (xvi)  Section 76-9-702.7 Offenses Against Public Order 
and Decency Voyeurism offenses; 
 (xvii)  Section 76-9-704 Abuse or Desecration of a Dead 
Human Body; 
 (xviii)  Section 76-10-4 Weapons of Mass Destruction; 
 (xix)  Section 76-10-509.5 through 509.9 Offenses Against 
Public Health-Providing weapons to a minor- Sales of firearms to 
juveniles; 
 (xx)  Section 76-10-12 Offenses Against Public Health-
Safety, Welfare and Morals, Pornographic and Harmful Materials and 
Performances; 
 (xxi)  Section 76-10-1304 through 1306 Offenses Against 
Public Health, Safety, Welfare, and Morals, Aiding Prostitution, 
Exploiting Prostitution, Aggravated Exploitation of Prostitution; 
 (xxii)  Section 76-10-19 Offenses Against Public Health, 
Safety, Welfare and Moral - Money Laundering; 
 (xxiii)  Section 77-36 Cohabitant Abuse Procedures Act ; 
or 
 (xxiv)  Section 62A-3-305 Failure to Report Suspected 
Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation of a Vulnerable Adult; 
 (c)  any class C misdemeanor within the past 5 years under 
the following codes: 
 (i)  section 76-7-1 Marital Violations; 
 (ii)  Sections 76-7-201 through 203 Offenses Against the 
Family - Nonsupport and Sale or Children; 
 (iii)  Sections 76-7-311 through 312 Offenses Against the 
Family - Abortion, Selling or Buying unborn child, Intimidation to 
obtain abortion; 
 (iv)  Section 76-9-4 Offenses Against Privacy; 
 (v)  Section 76-9-702 Offenses Against Public Order and 
Decency - Lewdness; 
 (vi)  Section 76-9-702.1 Offenses Against Public Order and 
Decency - Sexual Battery;  
 (vii)  Section 76-9-702.5 Offenses Against Public Order 
and Decency - Lewdness Involving a child; 
 (viii)  Section 76-9-702.7 Offenses Against Public Order 
and Decency Voyeurism offenses; 
 (ix)  Section 76-9-704 Abuse or Desecration of a Dead 
Human Body; 
 (x)  Section 76-10-509.5 through 509.9 Offenses Against 
Public Health-Providing weapons to a minor- Sales of Firearms to 
Juveniles; 
 (xi)  Section 76-10-12 Offenses Against Public Health-
Safety, Welfare and Morals, Pornographic and Harmful Materials and 
Performances; 
 (xii)  Section 76-10-1304 through 1306 Offenses Against 
Public Health-Prostitution; or 
 (xiii)  Section 76-10-19 Offenses Against Public health, 
Safety, Welfare and Moral - Money Laundering; 
 (d)  a supported or substantiated finding within the past 10 
years under the following: 
 (i)  the department's Management Information System 
created in Section 80-2-1001; 

 (ii)  the department's Licensing Information System created 
in Section 80-2-1002; and 
 (iii)  the statewide database of the Division of Aging and 
Adult Services created by Section 62A-3-311.1. 
 
R380-300-8.  Employees that Handle Financial Information on 
Behalf of the Department. 
 (1)  The office will utilize the following standards to 
process the background screening for each employee who will handle 
financial information on behalf of the department.  The office has 
discretion to approve or deny the background screening for an 
employee who has been convicted, has a pending charge, has pleaded 
guilty or no contest, is subject to a plea in abeyance or diversion 
agreement under (a) or (b) of this section or has a supported or 
substantiated finding under (c) of this section for any of the 
following: 
 (a)  any felony class A or B misdemeanor within the past 
10 years under the following: 
 (i)  Section 76-6-103 Aggravated burglary; 
 (ii)  Section 76-6-106(2)(b)(i)(A) Criminal mischief - 
Human life; 
 (iii)  Section 76-6-2 through 7 Offenses Against Property - 
Robbery, Theft, Fraud, Retail Theft, Utah Computer Crimes; 
 (iv)  Section 76-6-10 through 12 Offenses Against Property 
- Mail Box Damage and Mail Theft, Identity Fraud Act, Utah 
Mortgage Fraud Act; 
 (v)  Section 76-6a Pyramid Scheme Act; 
 (vi)  Section 76-7-1 Marital Violations; 
 (vii)  Section 76-7-201 through 203 Offenses Against the 
Family - Nonsupport and Sale or Children; 
 (viii)  Section 76-7-311 through 312 Offenses Against the 
Family - Abortion, Selling and Buying unborn child, Intimidation to 
obtain abortion; 
 (ix)  Section 76-8 Offenses Against the Administration of 
Government; 
 (x)  Section 76-9-2 Electronic Communication and 
Telephone Abuse; 
 (xi)  Section 76-9-4 Offenses Against Privacy; 
 (xii)  Sections 76-10-509.5 through 509.9 Offenses Against 
Public Health-Providing weapons to a minor-sales of firearms to 
juveniles; 
 (xiii)  Section 76-10-7 Offenses Against Public Health, 
Safety, Welfare and Morals-Corporation Fraud; 
 (xiv)  Section 76-10-12 Offenses Against Public Health-
Safety, Welfare and Morals, Pornographic and Harmful Materials and 
Performances; or 
 (xv)  Section 76-10-19 Offenses Against Public health, 
Safety, Welfare and Moral - Money Laundering; 
 (b)  any class C misdemeanor within the past 5 years under 
the following codes: 
 (i)  Section 76-6-103 Aggravated Burglary; 
 (ii)  Section 76-6-106(2)(b)(i)(A) Criminal Mischief - 
Human Life; 
 (iii)  Sections 76-6-2 through 7 Offenses Against Property 
- Robbery, Theft, Fraud, Retail Theft, Utah Computer Crimes; 
 (iv)  Sections 76-6-10 through 12 Offenses Against 
Property - Mail Box Damage and Mail Theft, Identity Fraud Act, 
Utah Mortgage Fraud Act; 
 (v)  Section 76-6a Pyramid Scheme Act; or 
 (vi)  Section 76-8 Offenses Against the Administration of 
Government; or 
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 (c)  supported or substantiated finding within the past 10 
years under the following codes: 
 (i)  the department's Management Information System 
created in Section 62A-4a-1003 
 (ii)  the department's Licensing Information System created 
in Section 62A-4a-1006; and 
 (iii)  the statewide database of the Division of Aging and 
Adult Services created by Section 62A-3-311.1. 
 
R380-300-9.  Office Discretion. 
 (1)  When the office conducts an employee's background 
screening and finds circumstances described in this rule which grant 
the office discretion to approve or deny a background screening, the 
office shall consider the following factors: 
 (a)  the type and number of offenses; 
 (b)  the severity of the offenses; 
 (c)  passage of time; 
 (d)  surrounding circumstances; 
 (e)  intervening circumstances; 
 (f)  steps taken to correct or improve; and 
 (g)  potential risk to the department and the citizens of 
Utah. 
 
R380-300-10.  Background Screening Review. 
 (1)  The operational unit director may review the screening 
denial of an employee according to the guidelines for the employee's 
current position and job duties. 
 (2)  When an operational unit director reviews the findings 
and applicable guidelines they shall consider the following factors: 
 (a)  the date of the offense or incident; 
 (b) the nature and seriousness of the offense or incident; 
 (c)  whether the offense or incident was an isolated or 
repeated incident; 
 (d)  the age of the perpetrator when the offense or incident 
occurred; 
 (e) the circumstances under which the offense or incident 
occurred; and 
 (f)  whether the offense or incident directly relates to abuse 
of a child or vulnerable adult, including: 
 (i)  actual or threatened, non-accidental physical, mental, or 
financial harm; 
 (ii)  sexual abuse; 
 (iii)  sexual exploitation; 
 (iv)  negligent treatment; or 
 (v)  any evidence provided by the applicant of 
rehabilitation. 
 (3)  Upon completion of the above steps, the operational 
unit director may select any of the following options: 
 (a)  allow the employee to remain in the current position 
and document the reason for that decision; 
 (b)  allow the employee to remain in the current position 
with some level of oversight or monitoring for a set amount of time 
and may discuss possible terms; 
 (i)  if the employee accepts terms, no further action is 
required; or 
 (ii)  if the employee does not accept the terms, subsection 
5 applies; 
 (c)  modify the current position so that the employee would 
not be excluded based upon the background check and document the 
reason for that decision; 
 (d)  reassign the employee at their same salary level into a 
different position for which the employee is qualified and for which 

the employee would not be excluded based upon the background 
check; or 
 (e)  in consultation with the Department of Human 
Resources Management, terminate the employee. 
 (4)  To request an operational unit director's review, an 
employee must submit a written request to the office, including the 
employee's reason for making the request. During the period of 
reconsideration, the department may choose to grant the employee 
administrative leave based upon R477-7(7)(1)(b)(v) or may allow the 
employee to continue to work in the current position under 
supervision. 
 (5)  If an employee does not accept operational unit director 
terms, the employee may: 
 (a)  request a reconsideration through the Department 
Background Screening Review Committee; 
 (b)  request a reconsideration with the operational unit 
director; or 
 (c)  file a grievance with the Department of Human 
Resources Management. 
 (6)  The Department Background Screening Review 
Committee shall include three operational unit directors as voting 
members and three non-voting members to include: 
 (a) the appropriate operational unit director; 
 (b)  the Office director; and 
 (c)  a representative designated by the Division of Human 
Resource Management. 
 (7)  The Department Background Clearance Review 
Committee voting members' shall determine the decision by a 
majority vote. In case of a tie, the case will have to be heard again 
when all three voting members are present. 
 (8)  The Department Background Clearance Review 
Committee can decide to: 
 (a)  support the decision of the operational unit director; or 
 (b)  recommend that this case be reviewed by the executive 
director. 
 (9)  Reconsideration with the executive director may, in 
their sole discretion: 
 (a)  approve the employee for continued employment, 
including defining permissible and impermissible department-wide 
work-related activities; or 
 (b)  deny the employee for continued employment and 
consult the Division of Human Resources Management regarding 
changes in position or employment including termination of 
employment. 
 (c)  The determination of the executive director is final. 
 
R380-300-11.  Responsibilities. 
 The department shall notify the office upon the termination 
of employment for each employee for whom fingerprints have been 
retained so the retention of fingerprints can be removed. 
 
KEY:  employees, background screenings 
Date of Last Change:  July 13, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-17.1 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R380-411 Filing ID: 54747 

Effective Date: 07/12/2022 
 



NOTICES OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES  

72 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 15 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Administration (Health) 
Building: Martha Hughes Cannon Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 14100 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Richard Oborn 385-

232-
4259 

roborn@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R380-411.  Administrative Hearing Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) is filing emergency rules for Rules R380-411 
and R380-412, the Compassionate Use Board rule, to 
ensure the administrative hearing procedures are in place 
for the consolidated Department. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do?): 
This filing updates the administrative hearing procedures 
for the Center for Medical Cannabis with the consolidated 
Department's standards and procedures. 
(EDITOR'S NOTES:  The 120-day (emergency) filing for 
Rule R380-412 is under ID 54748; and a corresponding 
proposed repeal and reenactment of Rule R380-411 is 
under ID 54745 in this issue, August 1, 2022, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 
5A)  The agency finds that regular rulemaking would: 
X cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
 cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
 place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
B)  Specific reasons and justifications for this finding: 

This filing is to ensure that adjudicative proceedings are in 
place for the consolidated Department.  The Department 
is filing an emergency rule. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The Department does not anticipate that this rule will result 
in a fiscal impact to the state budget.  This filing updates 
the administrative hearing procedures with the 
consolidated Department's standards and is not fiscal in 
nature. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This repeal and reenactment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to local governments because this rule does not 
establish requirements for local agencies. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This repeal and reenactment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to small businesses because this rule does not 
establish requirements for small businesses. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, state, or local 
government entities ("person" means any individual, 
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, 
or public or private organization of any character other 
than an agency): 
This repeal and reenactment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because 
this amendment does not fiscally impact the requirements 
for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities. 
 
E)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this 
emergency rule filing. 
 
F) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
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Section 26-1-24 Section 
63G-4-102 

 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive  
Director 

Date: 07/11/2022 

 
R380.  Health, Administration. 
R380-411.  Administrative Hearing Procedures. 
[R380-411-1.  Introduction and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule establishes the administrative hearing 
procedures for the Center for Medical Cannabis. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized by Section 26-1-24 and Section 
63G-4-102. 
 
R380-411-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions in Section R380-400-2 and Section 
63G-4-103 apply to this rule. 
 (2)  The following definitions also apply: 
 (a)  "Action" means a denial, termination, suspension, or 
reduction of a license, or card, or issued, pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 
61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act; or the imposition of a penalty, or 
fine, authorized under Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical Cannabis 
Act.  An action does not include an issuance of a license to operate a 
medical cannabis pharmacy, pursuant to Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah 
Procurement Code. 
 (b)  "Agency" means the Center for Medical Cannabis 
within the Utah Department of Health. 
 (c)  "Aggrieved person" means any person affected by the 
agency's action. 
 (d)  "Applicant" means any person who has applied for a 
medical cannabis card or a registration, or license, other than a 
medical cannabis pharmacy license, pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 
61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act. 
 (e)  "Ex Parte" communication means direct or indirect 
communication in connection with an issue of fact, or law, between 
the hearing officer and one party only. 
 (f)  "Presiding Officer" means the agency head, or 
designee, as approved by the Executive Director; to conduct 
administrative a hearing pursuant to this rule. 
 (g)  "Medical record" means a record that contains medical 
data submitted by an applicant. 
 (h)  "Order" means a ruling by a hearing officer that 
determines the legal rights, duties, privileges, immunities, or other 
legal interests of one or more specific persons. 
 
R380-411-3.  Administrative Adjudicative Procedures. 
 (1)  Except as provided in this rule, or as otherwise 
designated by rule, or statute, or converted, pursuant to Subsection 
63G-4-202(3), all adjudicative proceedings conducted pursuant to 
this rule are informal proceedings. 
 (2)  The agency head shall serve as the presiding officer for 
an informal hearing, except that the agency head may designate a 
presiding officer, as approved by the executive director. 
 (3)  Closure of an application submitted to the agency, due 
to the applicant's failure to complete the application, or to provide 
required information, is not an action under this rule. 
 (4)  Any provision of this rule does not apply to an action 
that is governed by another statute that conflicts with the procedures 
in this rule. 

R380-411-4.  Commencement of Proceedings, Response. 
 (1)  If a person is aggrieved by an action of the agency, the 
person may file a request for agency action and hearing within the 
shortest of 30 calendar days, of either receiving the initial agency 
determination, or the agency's mailing, or electronic notification via 
email, of the initial agency determination.  The person shall request 
an agency action, and hearing, by submitting the request on a form 
created by the Center. 
 (2)  If the informal adjudicative proceeding is commenced 
by a notice of agency action, each party in the action, except the 
Center, shall file a response to the allegations contained in the notice 
of agency action, and state whether a hearing is requested. 
 (3)  Pursuant to this rule and Section 63G-4-201, if the 
informal adjudicative proceeding is commenced by a request for 
agency action, the Agency must consider the request, and grant or 
deny it, or set the request for further proceedings. 
 (4)  If a medical issue is in dispute, each request shall 
include supporting medical documentation.  The Agency shall 
schedule a hearing only when it receives sufficient medical records, 
and may dismiss a request for agency action, or strike the party's 
response, to a notice of agency action if it does not receive supporting 
medical documentation in a timely manner. 
 (5)  Notice of Agency Action: 
 (a)  An agency shall provide a written notice of action to 
each aggrieved person.  Such action includes, but is not limited to: 
 (i)  denial of an application for a medical cannabis card, or 
a QMP, PMP, pharmacy agent, or courier agent registration card; 
 (ii)  suspension, or revocation, of a medical cannabis card 
or a QMP, PMP, pharmacy agent, or courier agent registration card; 
 (iii)  suspension, or revocation, of a medical cannabis 
pharmacy license, or a home delivery medical cannabis pharmacy 
license; and 
 (iv)  imposition of a penalty, or fine, authorized under Title 
26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act. 
 (b)  The notice must include: 
 (i)  a statement of the action the agency intends to take; 
 (ii)  the date the intended action becomes effective; 
 (iii)  the reason for the intended action; 
 (iv)  the specific regulation that support the action, or the 
change in federal law, state law, or Department rule which requires 
the action; 
 (v)  the right to submit a response, and request an 
administrative hearing; 
 (vi)  the right to represent oneself, the right to legal counsel, 
or the right to use another representative at the hearing; and 
 (vii)  if applicable, an explanation of the circumstance 
under which the license, or card, will continue, or may be reinstated, 
pursuant to this rule. 
 (c)  The agency shall mail the notice, or electronically 
notify the person at the email address on file with the EVS; at least 
10 calendar days before the date of the intended action. 
 (6)  The agency may issue an order on an emergency basis 
pursuant to Section 63G-4-502.  The aggrieved party may request an 
administrative hearing, pursuant to this rule. 
 
R380-411-5.  Hearing and a Request for a Hearing. 
 (1)  The Center shall conduct an informal hearing for all 
issues, except those specifically designated as a formal hearing 
pursuant to this rule.  The presiding officer may convert the 
proceeding to a formal hearing, if an aggrieved person requests a 
hearing that meets the criteria pursuant to Section 63G-4-202.  If a 
hearing under this rule is converted to a formal hearing, pursuant to 
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Section 63G-4-202, the formal hearing shall be conducted pursuant 
to these rules; except as otherwise provided in Sections 63G-4-204 
through 63G-4-208, or other applicable statutes. 
 (2)  An aggrieved person shall request a hearing by 
submitting the request on a Center "Request for Hearing/Agency 
Action" form and mailing it to the Center.  The request must explain 
why the aggrieved person is seeking agency relief. 
 (3)  A Request for Hearing/Agency Action, or a Response, 
and Request for Hearing that response, which an aggrieved person 
sends via mail is deemed filed on the date of the postmark.  If the 
postmark date is illegible, erroneous, or omitted, the request is 
deemed filed on the date that the agency receives it; unless the sender 
can demonstrate through competent evidence of the mailing date. 
 (4)  Failure to submit a timely response, and request for a 
hearing, constitutes a waiver of an individual's due process rights. 
 (5)  The Agency shall conduct a hearing in connection with 
an agency action, if the aggrieved person requests a hearing and there 
is a disputed issue of fact.  If there is no disputed issue of fact, the 
presiding officer may deny a request for a hearing, and issue a 
recommended decision without a hearing, based on the record.  There 
is no disputed issue of fact, if the aggrieved person submits facts that 
do not conflict with the facts that the agency relies upon in taking 
action or seeking relief.  In the recommended decision, the presiding 
officer shall specifically set out all material, and relevant facts, that 
are not in dispute. 
 (6)  The Agency may dismiss a request for a hearing, if the 
aggrieved person: 
 (a)  withdraws the request in writing; 
 (b)  verbally withdraws the hearing request at a settlement 
conference, or prehearing conference; 
 (c)  fails to appear, or participate, in a scheduled proceeding 
without good cause; 
 (d)  prolongs the hearing process without good cause; 
 (e)  cannot be located, or agency mail is returned without a 
forwarding address; or 
 (f)  does not respond to any correspondence from the 
presiding officer, or fails to provide medical records that the agency 
requests. 
 (7)  If the aggrieved person objects to the hearing denial, 
the person may raise that objection as grounds for relief, in a request 
for reconsideration. 
 
R380-411-6.  Notice of Hearing. 
 (1)  The Agency shall notify the aggrieved person, or 
representative, in writing of the date, time, and place of the hearing, 
at least 10 calendar days before the date of the hearing; unless each 
party agrees to an alternative time frame.  Any aggrieved person must 
inform the Agency of a current address, email address, and telephone 
number. 
 
R380-411-7.  Prehearing Procedures. 
 (1)  The Agency shall conduct a Settlement Conference 
between the Agency, and the aggrieved party, within 30 calendar days 
from the date it receives a request for a hearing, or agency action.  If 
a settlement cannot be reached, including a withdrawal, dismissal or 
granting of the request for action, the Agency shall notify the 
presiding officer to set a date for the administrative hearing. 
 (2)  The presiding officer may elect to conduct a 
preliminary conference to: 
 (a)  formulate or simplify the issues; 
 (b)  obtain admissions of fact, and documents that will 
avoid unnecessary proof; 

 (c)  arrange for the exchange of proposed exhibits or 
prepared expert testimony; 
 (d)  outline procedures for the hearing; or 
 (e)  to agree to other matters that may expedite the orderly 
conduct of the hearing or settlement. 
 (3)  The presiding officer may require each party to submit 
a prehearing position statement setting forth the position of the party. 
 (4)  The party may enter into a written stipulation resolving 
all, or part, of the adjudicative action during the preliminary 
conference, or at any time during the process. 
 (5)  Ex parte communication with the presiding officer are 
prohibited.  If a party attempts ex parte communication, the presiding 
officer shall inform the offender that any communication that the 
hearing officer receives off the record, will become part of the record, 
and furnished to each party.  Ex parte communication does not apply 
to communication on the status of the hearing, and uncontested 
procedural matters. 
 (6)  The Agency shall allow the aggrieved person, or a 
representative, to examine each document and record relevant to the 
adjudicative proceeding; at least three days before the hearing. 
 (7)  The presiding officer may require each party to file a 
signed prehearing disclosure form, at least 10 calendar days before 
the scheduled hearing that identifies: 
 (a)  any fact witness; 
 (b)  any expert witness; 
 (c)  any exhibit and report that each party intends to offer 
into evidence at the hearing. 
 (8)  Each party shall supplement the disclosure form with 
information that shall become available after filing the original form. 
 
R380-411-8.  Conduct of Hearing. 
 (1)  The Agency shall conduct a hearing pursuant to Section 
63G-4-203 for an informal adjudicative proceeding. 
 (2)  The agency head shall appoint an impartial presiding 
officer to conduct a hearing.  Previous involvement in the initial 
determination of the action precludes an officer from appointment. 
 (3)  A telephonic hearing will be held at the discretion of 
the presiding officer. 
 (4)  The presiding officer shall take testimony under oath 
or affirmation. 
 (5)  Each party has the right to: 
 (a)  present evidence, argue, respond, conduct cross-
examination, and submit rebuttal evidence; 
 (b)  introduce exhibits; 
 (c)  impeach any witness, regardless of which party first 
called the witness to testify; and 
 (d)  rebut the evidence against the party. 
 (6)  Each party may admit any relevant evidence and use 
hearsay evidence to supplement, or explain other evidence, as may 
be required for full disclosure of each fact relevant to the disposition 
of the hearing.  Hearsay, however, is not sufficient by itself to support 
a finding, unless admissible over objection in civil actions.  The 
presiding officer shall give effect to the rules of privilege recognized 
by law, and may exclude irrelevant, immaterial, and unduly 
repetitious evidence. 
 (7)  The presiding officer shall control the evidence, to 
obtain full disclosure of the relevant facts, and to safeguard the rights 
of each party.  The presiding officer may determine the order in which 
he receives the evidence. 
 (8)  The presiding officer shall maintain order, and may 
recess the hearing to regain order if a person engages in disrespectful, 
disorderly, or disruptive conduct.  The presiding officer may remove 
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any person, including a participant, from the hearing to maintain 
order.  If a person shows persistent disregard for order and procedure, 
the presiding officer may: 
 (a)  restrict the person's participation in the hearing; 
 (b)  strike pleadings or evidence; or 
 (c)  issue an order of default. 
 (9)  If a party desires to employ a court reporter to make a 
record of the hearing, it must file an original transcript of the hearing 
with the hearing officer, at no cost to the agency. 
 (10)  The party who initiates the hearing process through a 
request for agency action, has the burden of proof as the moving 
party. 
 (11)  When a party possesses but fails to introduce certain 
evidence, the presiding officer may infer that the evidence does not 
support the party's position. 
 (12)  The presiding officer may issue an order of default 
against any party that fails to obey an order entered by the hearing 
officer. 
 
R380-411-9.  Record. 
 (1)  The presiding officer shall make a complete record of 
each hearing.  A hearing record is the sole property of the Center. 
 (2)  Any proceedings other than a hearing may be recorded 
at the discretion of the hearing officer. 
 (3)  If a party requests a copy of the recording of a hearing, 
that party may transcribe the recording at the party's sole cost. 
 
R380-411-10.  Proposed Decision and Final Agency Review. 
 (1)  At the conclusion of the hearing, the presiding officer 
shall take the matter under advisement, and submit a recommended 
decision to the Agency Head.  The recommended decision is based 
on the testimony and evidence entered at the hearing, Agency policy 
and procedure, and legal precedent. 
 (2)  The recommended decision must contain findings of 
fact and conclusions of law. 
 (3)  The Agency or the director's designee may: 
 (a)  adopt the recommended decision, or any portion of the 
decision; 
 (b)  reject the recommended decision, or any portion of the 
decision, and make an independent determination based upon the 
record; or 
 (c)  remand the matter to the presiding officer to take 
additional evidence; and the presiding officer thereafter shall submit 
to the Agency director or the director's designee, a new recommended 
decision. 
 (4)  The agency head or their designee's decision constitutes 
final administrative action, and is subject to judicial review. 
 (5)  The Agency shall send a copy of the final 
administrative action to each party, or representative, and notify them 
of their right to judicial review. 
 (6)  Each party shall comply with a final decision from the 
director reversing the agency's decision, within 10 calendar days. 
 
R380-411-11  Amending Administrative Orders. 
 (1)  The Agency may amend an order if the presiding 
officer determines that the order contains a clerical error. 
 (2)  The Agency shall notify each party its intent to amend 
the order by serving a notice of agency action signed by the hearing 
officer. 
 (3)  The Agency Director shall review the amended order 
and the Agency Director or the Agency Director's designee shall issue 
a final agency amended order. 

 (4)  The Agency shall provide a copy of the final amended 
order to each party. 
 
R380-411-12.  Reconsideration. 
 A party to the proceeding may move for reconsideration of 
the final administrative order pursuant to Section 63G-4-301. 
 
R380-411-13.  Judicial Review. 
 A party to the proceeding may obtain judicial review 
pursuant to Section 63G-4-102, and Sections 63G-4-400 through 
63G-4-400. 
 
R380-411-14.  Declaratory Orders. 
 (1)  The Agency may issue a declaratory order pursuant to 
Rule R380-1. 
 (2)  If the Agency does not issue a declaratory order within 
60 days after receipt of the request, the petition is denied. 
 (3)  The Agency may not issue a declaratory order if an 
adjudicative proceeding that involves the each party and the same 
issue is pending before the agency, or a federal, or state court.] 
R380-411-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule establishes administrative hearing procedures 
for the Center for Medical Cannabis that are in addition to the 
procedures contained in R497-100. 
 (2)  Sections 26-1-24 and 63G-4-102 authorize this rule. 
 (3)  If another statute governs an action that conflicts with 
the procedures in this rule, this rule does not apply. 
 
R380-411-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions in Sections R380-400-2, R497-100-2, 
and 63G-4-103 apply to this rule. 
 (2)  The following definitions also apply: 
 (a)  Action" means a denial, termination, suspension, or 
reduction of a license or card, under Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah 
Medical Cannabis Act; or the imposition of a penalty or fine 
authorized under Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act. 
An action does not include an issuance of a license to operate a 
medical cannabis pharmacy, pursuant to Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah 
Procurement Code.  Closure of an application submitted to the 
agency, due to the applicant's failure to complete the application, or 
to provide required information, is not an action under this rule. 
 (b)  "Agency" means the Center for Medical Cannabis 
within the Utah Department of Health and Human Services. 
 (c)  "Aggrieved person" means any person affected by the 
agency's action. 
 (d)  "Applicant" means any person who has applied for a 
medical cannabis card or a registration, or license, other than a 
medical cannabis pharmacy license, pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 
61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act. 
 (e)  "Medical record" means a record that contains medical 
data submitted by an applicant. 
 
R380-411-3.  Commencement of Proceedings, Response. 
 (1)  If an agency action aggrieves the person, the person 
may file a request for an administrative hearing within 30 calendar 
days of receiving notice of the agency action, by submitting the 
request on a form created by the agency. 
 (2)  When an aggrieved person submits a request for 
administrative hearing, they shall file a response to the allegations 
contained in the notice of agency action. 
 (3)  If a medical issue is in dispute, each request for hearing 
shall include supporting medical documentation. 
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 (4)(a)  An agency shall provide a written notice of action to 
each aggrieved person. Such actions include, but are not limited to: 
 (i)  denial of an application for a medical cannabis card, or 
a QMP, PMP, pharmacy agent, or courier agent registration card; 
 (ii)  suspension, or revocation, of a medical cannabis card 
or a QMP, PMP, pharmacy agent, or courier agent registration card; 
 (iii)  suspension, or revocation, of a medical cannabis 
pharmacy license, or a home delivery medical cannabis pharmacy 
license; and 
 (iv)  imposition of a penalty, or fine, authorized under Title 
26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical Cannabis Act. 
 (b)  The notice must include: 
 (i)  a statement of the action the agency intends to take; 
 (ii)  the date the intended action becomes effective; 
 (iii)  the reason for the intended action; 
 (iv)  the specific regulation that support the action, or the 
change in federal law, state law, or department rule which requires 
the action; 
 (v)  the right to submit a response, and request an 
administrative hearing; 
 (vi)  the right to represent oneself, the right to legal counsel, 
or the right to use another representative at the hearing; and 
 (vii)  if applicable, an explanation of the circumstance 
under which the license, or card, will continue, or may be reinstated, 
pursuant to this rule. 
 (c)  The agency shall mail the notice, or electronically 
notify the person at the email address on file with the EVS, at least 
ten calendar days before the date of the intended action. 
 (5)  The agency may issue an order on an emergency basis 
pursuant to Section 63G-4-502. The aggrieved party may request an 
administrative hearing, pursuant to this rule. 
 
R380-411-4.  Request for a Hearing. 
 (1)  An aggrieved person shall request a hearing by 
submitting the request on a center "Request for Hearing" form and 
mailing or emailing it to the Center. The request shall explain why 
the aggrieved person is seeking agency relief. 
 (2)  The agency deems a request for hearing which an 
aggrieved person sends via mail filed on the date of the postmark.  If 
the postmark date is illegible, erroneous, or omitted, the agency 
deems the request filed on the date that the agency receives it, unless 
the sender can demonstrate through competent evidence of the 
mailing date. 
 (3)  Failure to submit a timely response, and request for a 
hearing, constitutes a waiver of an individual's due process rights. 
 (4)  The presiding officer may dismiss a request for a 
hearing, if the aggrieved person: 
 (a)  withdraws the request in writing; 
 (b)  verbally withdraws the hearing request at a settlement 
conference, or prehearing conference; 
 (c)  fails to appear, or participate, in a scheduled proceeding 
without good cause; 
 (d)  prolongs the hearing process without good cause; 
 (e)  cannot be located, or agency mail is returned without a 
forwarding address; or 
 (f)  does not respond to any correspondence from the 
presiding officer, or fails to provide medical records that the agency 
requests. 
 (5)  If the aggrieved person objects to the hearing denial, 
the person may raise that objection as grounds for relief, in a request 
for reconsideration. 
 

R380-411-5.  Prehearing Procedures. 
 (1)  The agency shall conduct a settlement conference 
between the agency, and the aggrieved party, within 30 calendar days 
from the date it receives a request for a hearing. If the agency cannot 
reach a settlement, including a withdrawal, dismissal, or granting of 
the request for action, the agency shall notify the presiding officer to 
set a date for the administrative hearing. 
 (2)  The presiding officer may elect to conduct a prehearing 
conference to: 
 (a)  formulate or simplify the issues; 
 (b)  obtain admissions of fact, and documents that will 
avoid unnecessary proof; 
 (c)  arrange for the exchange of proposed exhibits or 
prepared expert testimony; 
 (d)  outline procedures for the hearing; or 
 (e)  to agree to other matters that may expedite the orderly 
conduct of the hearing or settlement. 
 (3)  The presiding officer may require each party to submit 
a prehearing position statement setting forth the position of the party. 
 (4)  The party may enter into a written stipulation resolving 
all, or part, of the adjudicative action during the prehearing 
conference, or at any time during the process. 
 (5)  The agency shall allow the aggrieved person, or a 
representative, to examine each document and record relevant to the 
adjudicative proceeding pursuant to the timeframes established by 
the presiding officer. 
 (6)  The presiding officer may require each party to file a 
signed prehearing disclosure form before the scheduled hearing that 
identifies: 
 (a)  any fact witness; 
 (b)  any expert witness; and 
 (c)  any exhibit and report that each party intends to offer 
into evidence at the hearing. 
 (7)  Each party shall supplement the disclosure form with 
information that shall become available after filing the original form. 
 
KEY:  medical cannabis, medical cannabis hearing, marijuana 
Date of Last Change:  July 12, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-3; 63G-
4-102; 26-1-24; 26-61a 
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Agency: Administration (Health) 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Richard Oborn 385-

232-
4259 

roborn@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R380-412.  Compassionate Use Board 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) is filing emergency rules for Rules R380-411 
and R380-412, the Compassionate Use Board rule, to 
ensure the administrative hearing procedures are in place 
for the consolidated Department. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do?): 
This filing updates the administrative hearing procedures 
for the Center for Medical Cannabis with the consolidated 
Department's standards and procedures. 
(EDITOR'S NOTES:  The 120-day (emergency) filing for 
Rule R380-411 is under ID 54747; and a corresponding 
proposed repeal and reenactment of Rule R380-412 is 
under ID 54746 in this issue, August 1, 2022, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 
5A)  The agency finds that regular rulemaking would: 
X cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
 cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
 place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
B)  Specific reasons and justifications for this finding: 
This filing is to ensure that adjudicative proceedings are in 
place for the consolidated Department.  The Department 
is filing an emergency rule. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 

The Department does not anticipate that this rule will result 
in a fiscal impact to the state budget.  This filing updates 
the administrative hearing procedures with the 
consolidated Department's standards and is not fiscal in 
nature. 
 
B) Local governments: 

This repeal and reenactment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to local governments because this rule does not 
establish requirements for local agencies. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
This repeal and reenactment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to small businesses because this rule does not 
establish requirements for small businesses. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, state, or local 
government entities ("person" means any individual, 
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, 
or public or private organization of any character other 
than an agency): 
This repeal and reenactment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because 
this amendment does not fiscally impact the requirements 
for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities. 
 
E)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this 
emergency rule filing. 
 
F) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposal will not result in a fiscal impact to 
businesses.  Tracy Gruber, Executive Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-1-24 Section 

63G-4-102 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 07/11/2022 
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R380.  Health, Administration. 
R380-412.  Compassionate Use Board. 
[R380-412-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Subsections 26-1-5(1) and 26-61a-105(6), this 
rule establishes a process and criteria for a petition to the Board to 
qualify for expedited final review and approval or denial by the 
Department. 
 
R380-412-2.  Compassionate Use Board Expedited Review 
Criteria. 
 To qualify for expedited review by the Department, an 
individual submitting the petition shall meet the following criteria: 
 (1)  diagnosis with a terminal illness and a life expectancy 
of six months or less; 
 (2)  present symptoms not adequately managed with 
standard therapies that may reasonably be expected to be alleviated 
by medical cannabis; and 
 (3)  have a QMP recommending medical cannabis who is 
directly and regularly involved in the individual's medical care. 
 
R380-412-3.  Compassionate Use Board Expedited Review 
Process. 
 (1)  Each individual submitting a petition for expedited 
review by the Department shall complete a form available from the 
Department. 
 (2)  Within five business days of receiving a complete 
petition for expedited review, the Department shall review the 
petition and either approve the petition and issue a medical cannabis 
card to the applicant or prepare the petition for Board review.] 
R380-412-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule establishes the administrative hearing 
procedures for the Center for Medical Cannabis Compassionate Use 
Board. 
 (2)  Sections 26-1-5, 26-61a-105, 26-1-24, and 63G-4-102, 
authorize this rule. 
 
R380-412-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions in Section R380-400-2 and Section 
63G-4-103 apply to this rule. 
 (2)  The following definitions also apply: 
 (a)  "Action" means a denial of a medical cannabis card for 
compassionate use or denial of a petition for expedited review under 
Section 26-61a-105. 
 (b)  "Aggrieved person" means any person affected by the 
department's action. 
 (c)  "Board" means the Compassionate Use Board in the 
Utah Department of Health and Human Services as created under 
Section 26-61a-105. 
 (d)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. 
 (e)  "Ex Parte" communication means direct or indirect 
communication in connection with an issue of fact, or law, between 
the hearing officer and one party only. 
 (f)  "Final administrative order" means a ruling by the 
presiding officer that determines the legal rights, duties, privileges, 
immunities, or other legal interests of one or more specific persons. 
 (g)  "Medical record" means a record that contains medical 
data submitted by an aggrieved person. 
 (h) "Presiding officer" means the department head, or a 
designee who is a licensed physician, as approved by the Executive 
Director; to conduct an administrative hearing pursuant to this rule. 
 

R380-412-3.  Administrative Adjudicative Procedures. 
 (1)  Except as provided in this rule, or as otherwise 
designated by rule, or statute, or converted, pursuant to Subsection 
63G-4-202(3), all adjudicative proceedings conducted pursuant to 
this rule are informal proceedings. 
 (2)  A presiding officer shall preside over the informal 
hearing. 
 (3)  Closure of a petition submitted to the presiding officer 
due to the aggrieved person's failure to complete the petition, or to 
provide required information, is not an action under this rule. 
 (4)  If another statute governs an action that conflicts with 
the procedures in this rule, this rule does not apply. 
 
R380-412-4.  Criteria for Expedited Review. 
 To qualify for expedited review by the board, an individual 
submitting the petition shall meet the criteria set forth in Subsection 
26-61a-105(6) as determined by the board. 
 
R380-412-5.  Timeframe for Expedited Review. 
 (1) Each individual submitting a petition for expedited 
review by the board shall complete a petition on a form available 
from the board. 
 (2) Within five business days of receiving a complete 
petition for expedited review, the board shall review the petition and 
either approve the petition and issue a medical cannabis card for 
compassionate use to the aggrieved person or deny the petition for 
expedited review and prepare the petition for board review on its 
regular schedule. 
 
R380-412-6.  Administrative Appeal from Denials for Expedited 
Review. 
 (1)  If the board denies a petition for expedited review, the 
aggrieved person may file a request for administrative hearing to 
challenge only the decision to deny expedited review. 
 (2)  The aggrieved person shall file a request for 
administrative hearing to the presiding officer within ten business 
days of receiving the notice of agency action Denying Expedited 
Review. 
 (3)  Upon receipt of a request for administrative hearing to 
challenge the denial of a petition for expedited review, the presiding 
officer shall review the petition, the decision of the board and any 
other documents submitted by the parties and issue a written decision 
upholding or overturning the board's decision to deny expedited 
review. 
 (4)  If the presiding officer upholds the board's decision to 
deny expedited review, the presiding officer shall submit the petition 
to the board for review on its regular schedule. 
 (5)  If the presiding officer overturns the board's decision 
to deny expedited review, the board shall review the petition to obtain 
a medical cannabis card for compassionate use within five business 
days after receiving the presiding officer's decision. The board shall 
either approve the petition and issue a medical cannabis card for 
compassionate use to the aggrieved person or deny the petition. 
 (6)  If the board denies the petition to issue a medical 
cannabis card for compassionate use, the board shall issue a notice of 
agency action that meets the requirements of Subsection R380-412-
7(4) to notify the aggrieved person of the denial. The aggrieved 
person may request an administrative hearing to challenge the denial 
by following the procedure set forth in Section R380-412-7 to R380-
412-11. 
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R380-412-7.  Commencement of Proceedings. 
 (1)  If the board denies recommendation of a medical 
cannabis card for compassionate use the aggrieved person may file a 
request for an administrative hearing within 30 calendar days of 
receiving the notice of the denial by submitting the request on a form 
created by the board. 
 (2)  Pursuant to this rule and Section 63G-4-201, if the 
informal adjudicative proceeding is commenced by a request for 
agency action, the board shall consider the request, and grant or deny 
it, or set the request for further proceedings. 
 (3)  If a medical issue is in dispute, each request shall 
include supporting medical documentation.  The board shall schedule 
a hearing only when it receives sufficient medical records, and may 
dismiss a request for agency action, or strike the party's response, to 
a notice of agency action if it does not receive supporting medical 
documentation in a timely manner. 
 (4)(a)  The board shall provide a written notice of action to 
each aggrieved person. The notice shall include: 
 (i)  a statement of the action the board intends to take; 
 (ii)  the date the intended action becomes effective; 
 (iii)  the reason for the intended action; 
 (iv)  the specific regulation that supports the action, or the 
change in federal law, state law, or department rule which requires 
the action; 
 (v)  the right to submit a response, and request an 
administrative hearing, including the time limitations to do so; 
 (vi)  the right to represent oneself, the right to legal counsel, 
or the right to use another representative at the hearing; and 
 (vii)  if applicable, an explanation of the circumstance 
under which the medical cannabis card, will be approved by the 
board, pursuant to this rule. 
 
R380-412-8.  Hearing and a Request for a Hearing. 
 (1)  The presiding officer may convert the proceeding to a 
formal hearing, if an aggrieved person requests a hearing that meets 
the criteria pursuant to Section 63G-4-202.  If a hearing under this 
rule is converted to a formal hearing, pursuant to Section 63G-4-202, 
the formal hearing shall be conducted pursuant to these rules; except 
as otherwise provided in Sections 63G-4-204 through 63G-4-208, or 
other applicable statutes. 
 (2)  An aggrieved person shall request a hearing by 
submitting the request on a board "Request for Hearing" form and 
mailing it to the board.  The request shall explain why the aggrieved 
person is seeking department relief. 
 (3)  The board deems a request for hearing which an 
aggrieved person sends via mail filed on the date of the postmark.  If 
the postmark date is illegible, erroneous, or omitted, the board deems 
the request filed on the date that the board receives it, unless the 
sender can demonstrate through competent evidence of the mailing 
date. 
 (4)  Failure to submit a timely request for a hearing 
constitutes a waiver of an individual's due process rights. 
 (5)  The presiding officer shall conduct a hearing in 
connection with a board action, if the aggrieved person requests a 
hearing and there is a disputed issue of fact.  If there is no disputed 
issue of fact, the presiding officer may deny a request for a hearing, 
and issue a recommended decision without a hearing, based on the 
record.  There is no disputed issue of fact, if the aggrieved person 
submits facts that do not conflict with the facts that the board relies 
upon in taking action or seeking relief.  In the recommended decision, 
the presiding officer shall specifically set out all material, and 
relevant facts, that are not in dispute. 

 (6)  The presiding officer may dismiss a request for a 
hearing, if the aggrieved person: 
 (a)  withdraws the request in writing; 
 (b)  verbally withdraws the hearing request at a settlement 
conference, or prehearing conference; 
 (c)  fails to appear, or participate, in a scheduled proceeding 
without good cause; 
 (d)  prolongs the hearing process without good cause; 
 (e)  cannot be located, or mail is returned without a 
forwarding address; or 
 (f)  does not respond to any correspondence from the 
presiding officer, or fails to provide medical records that the board 
requests. 
 (7)  If the aggrieved person objects to the hearing denial, 
the person may raise that objection as grounds for relief, in a request 
for reconsideration pursuant to Section 63G-4-302. 
 
R380-412-9.  Prehearing Procedures. 
 (1)  The board shall conduct a settlement conference 
between the board, and the aggrieved party, within 30 calendar days 
from the date it receives a request for a hearing, or agency action.  If 
the parties cannot reach a settlement, including a withdrawal of the 
request for hearing or the dismissal or granting of the request for 
action, the board shall notify the presiding officer to set a date for the 
administrative hearing. 
 (2)  The presiding officer may elect to conduct a prehearing 
conference to: 
 (a)  formulate or simplify the issues; 
 (b)  obtain admissions of fact, and documents that will 
avoid unnecessary proof; 
 (c)  arrange for the exchange of proposed exhibits or 
prepared expert testimony; 
 (d)  outline procedures for the hearing; or 
 (e)  to agree to other matters that may expedite the orderly 
conduct of the hearing or settlement. 
 (3)  The presiding officer may require each party to submit 
a prehearing position statement setting forth the position of the party. 
 (4)  The parties may enter into a written stipulation 
resolving all, or part, of the adjudicative action during the prehearing 
conference, or at any time during the process. 
 (5)  This rule prohibits ex parte communication with the 
presiding officer.  If a party attempts ex parte communication, the 
presiding officer shall inform the offender that any communication 
that the hearing officer receives off the record, will become part of 
the record, and furnished to each party.  Ex parte communication does 
not apply to communication on the status of the hearing, and 
uncontested procedural matters. 
 (6)  The presiding officer shall allow the aggrieved person, 
or a representative, to examine each document and record relevant to 
the adjudicative proceeding, at least three days before the hearing. 
 (7)  The presiding officer may require each party to file a 
signed prehearing disclosure form, at least 10 calendar days before 
the scheduled hearing that identifies: 
 (a)  any fact witness; 
 (b)  any expert witness; and 
 (c)  any exhibit and report that each party intends to offer 
into evidence at the hearing. 
 (8)  Each party shall supplement the disclosure form with 
information that shall become available after filing the original form. 
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R380-412-10.  Notice of Hearing. 
 The presiding officer shall notify the aggrieved person, or 
representative, in writing of the date, time, and place of the hearing, 
at least ten calendar days before the date of the hearing; unless each 
party agrees to an alternative time frame.  Any aggrieved person shall 
inform the presiding officer of a current address, email address, and 
telephone number. 
 
R380-412-11.  Procedures for Informal Proceedings. 
 (1)  The presiding officer shall hold informal adjudicative 
proceedings in compliance with Section 63G-4-203. 
 (a)  Unless specified otherwise in another applicable rule, 
the respondent to a notice of agency action or request for agency 
action may, but is not required to, file an answer or responsive 
pleading to the allegations contained in the notice of agency action 
or the request for agency action within ten business days following 
receipt of the notice of agency action or request for agency action. 
 (b)  An attorney or a non-attorney may represent a party.  
The department shall not appoint attorneys. 
 (c)  The parties may not engage in discovery, but the 
presiding officer may issue subpoenas or other orders to compel the 
production of necessary evidence.  The presiding officer may require 
that parties exchange documents prior to the hearing in order to 
expedite the process.  Each party to the proceedings shall be 
responsible for the appearance of witnesses. 
 (d)  Each party shall have access to information contained 
in the board's files and to materials and information gathered in any 
investigation, to the extent permitted by law. 
 (e)  This rule prohibits intervention, except where a federal 
statute or rule requires that the state permit intervention. 
 (f)  The presiding officer shall provide a hearing to any 
party entitled to request a hearing in accordance with Section 63G-4-
203. 
 (g)  In the hearing, the presiding officer shall take testimony 
under oath or affirmation. 
 (h)  In the hearing, the presiding officer shall permit parties 
to testify, present evidence, and comment on the issues. 
 (i)  Each party may offer any relevant evidence, including 
hearsay evidence. A party cannot base their case exclusively on 
inadmissible hearsay.  A party must present a residuum of evidence 
that would be admissible under the rules of procedure with the 
applicable court of competent jurisdiction. 
 (j)  The presiding officer may exclude irrelevant, 
immaterial and unduly repetitious evidence. 
 (k)  The presiding officer may question any party or 
witness. 
 (l)  The presiding officer shall maintain order and may 
recess the hearing to regain order if a person engages in disrespectful, 
disorderly, or disruptive conduct.  The presiding officer may remove 
any person, including a party, from the hearing to maintain order.  If 
a person shows persistent disregard for order and procedure, the 
presiding officer may: 
 (i)  restrict the person's participation in the hearing; or 
 (ii)  issue an order of default. 
 (m)  When a party claims to possess but fails to introduce 
certain evidence, the presiding officer may infer that the evidence 
does not support the party's position. 
 (n)  The presiding officer may issue an order of default 
against any party that fails to obey an order entered by the presiding 
officer. 
 (o)  The presiding officer shall hold hearings only after the 
presiding officer mails a timely notice to each party. 

 (p)  Within a reasonable time after the close of the hearing, 
or after the party's failure to request a hearing within the time 
prescribed by the department's rules, the presiding officer shall issue 
a signed order in writing that conforms to Subsection 63G-4-
203(1)(i). This order shall be the final administrative order of the 
department. 
 (q)  Hearings shall be open to the parties.  Hearings are not 
open to the public. 
 (r)  The presiding officer shall base the order on the facts 
appearing in the board's files that were available to the other party 
and on the facts presented in evidence at the hearings. 
 (s)  The presiding officer shall promptly mail a copy of the 
presiding officer's order to each of the parties. 
 (3)  When the board commences an informal adjudicative 
proceeding by a notice of agency action issued by the board, the 
board shall have the burden of providing, by a preponderance of the 
evidence, that the board's decision was reasonable, unless statute or 
department rule specify otherwise. The board may demonstrate this 
by showing that the board's decision was not arbitrary and capricious. 
 (4)  The parties shall mail motions and pleadings filed with 
the presiding officer by a party to each of the other parties named in 
the action. 
 (5)  The presiding officer deems motions or pleadings 
received by the presiding officer after regular business hours of 
Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., excluding state 
holidays, received the following business day. 
 (6)  This rule prohibits ex parte communication with the 
presiding officer unless all other parties to the case have been given 
notice and opportunity to be present.  The prohibition against ex parte 
communication does not apply to communication on the status of the 
hearing, and uncontested procedural matters.  The presiding officer 
shall report any improper ex parte discussions at the time of the 
hearing or made a part of the record. 
 (7)  Any aggrieved person shall inform the presiding officer 
of their current address, email address, and telephone number. 
 
R380-412-12.  Record. 
 (1)  The presiding officer shall make a complete record of 
each hearing.  A hearing record is the sole property of the department. 
 (2)  The presiding officer may record any proceedings other 
than a hearing at their own discretion. 
 (3)  If a party requests a transcribed copy of the recording 
of a hearing, that party may request the audio recording of the hearing 
and have it transcribed at the party's sole cost. 
 
R380-412-13.  Agency Review. 
 The department shall not allow agency review under 
Section 63G-4-301. 
 
R380-412-14.  Amending Administrative Orders. 
 (1)  The presiding officer may amend an order if the 
presiding officer determines that the order contains a clerical error. 
 (2)  The presiding officer shall notify each party its intent 
to amend the order by serving a notice of agency action signed by the 
hearing officer. 
 (3)  The presiding officer shall review the amended order 
and the presiding officer shall issue a final agency amended order. 
 (4)  The presiding officer shall provide a copy of the final 
amended order to each party. 
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R380-412-14.  Reconsideration. 
 A party to the proceeding may move for reconsideration of 
the final administrative order pursuant to Section 63G-4-302. 
 
R380-412-15.  Judicial Review. 
 A party to the proceeding may obtain judicial review 
pursuant to Section 63G-4-102, and Sections 63G-4-400 through 
63G-4-405. 

KEY:  medical cannabis, [compassionate use board]medical 
cannabis hearing, [medical ]marijuana 
Date of Last Change:  July 12, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-3; [26-
61a]63G-4-102; 26-1-[5(1)]24; 26-61a[-105(6)] 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R307-230 Filing ID: 50606 
Effective Date: 07/12/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bo Wood 385-

499-
3416 

rwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-230.  NOx Emission Limits for Natural Gas-Fired 
Water Heaters 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized by the Section 15A-6-102 of the 
Utah Code, which prohibits the sale or installation of 
natural gas water heaters that do not meet the criteria in 
the statute for controlling NOx emissions. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received regarding this 
rule since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Clean Air Act requires the state of Utah to establish, 
maintain, and enforce rules to meet air quality health 
standards through the State Implementation Plan (SIP).  
This rule is required as part of the PM2.5 SIP to reduce NOx, 
which is a precursor pollutant to PM2.5.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird, 
Director 

Date: 07/06/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R331-5 Filing ID: 50797 
Effective Date: 07/13/2022 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Financial Institutions  
Agency: Administration 
Room number: 201 
Street address: 324 S State St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2393 

Mailing address: PO Box 146800 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6800 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Paul Allred 801-

538-
8855 

pallred@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R331-5.  Rule Governing Sale of Securities by Persons 
Issuing Securities, Who Are Under the Jurisdiction of the 
Department of Financial Institutions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 7-1-503 authorizes the Commissioner of Financial 
Institutions (Department) to regulate the sale by financial 
institutions of securities including the solicitation of deposit 
accounts which is restricted.  Subsection 7-1-301(13) 
allows the Commissioner to regulate the issuance, 
advertising, offer for sale, and sale of a security to the 
extent authorized by Section 7-1-503. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No supporting or opposing written comments have been 
received by the agency concerning this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it covers registration with 
the Department, offering circular requirements, securities 
sale report, limitations on resale of "restricted securities", 
remuneration paid for solicitation or for sales, manipulative 
and deceptive devices, waivers, and penalties for 
violation.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Darryle Rude, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/13/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R331-7 Filing ID: 50796 
Effective Date: 07/13/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Financial Institutions 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: 201 
Street address: 324 S State St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2393 

Mailing address: PO Box 146800 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6800 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Paul Allred 801-

538-
8855 

pallred@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R331-7.  Rule Governing Leasing Transactions by 
Depository Institutions Subject to the Jurisdiction of the 
Department of Financial Institutions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 7-1-501 lists the persons and institutions subject 
to the jurisdiction of the Department of Financial 
Institutions (Department), and those under the jurisdiction 
of the Department who must comply with supervision and 
examination including, as the rule states, "acceptable 
employment of deposits and other funds involved in 
leasing or leasing transactions." 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No supporting or opposing written comments have been 
received by the agency concerning this rule. 
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5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule clearly defines acceptable leases and leasing 
transactions, residual dependence restrictions, salvage 
powers, sales-type capital lease restrictions, 
saleleaseback restrictions, leveraged lease restrictions, 
and account requirements.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Darryle Rude, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/13/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R331-9 Filing ID: 50798 
Effective Date: 07/13/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Financial Institutions 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: 201 
Street address: 324 S State St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2393 

Mailing address: PO Box 146800 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6800 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Paul Allred 801-

538-
8855 

pallred@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R331-9.  Rule Prescribing Rules of Procedure for Hearings 
Before the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of the 
State of Utah 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 7-1-309 expressly authorizes the Commissioner of 
Financial Institutions (Department) to conduct hearings 
relating to matters within his supervisory jurisdiction. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No supporting or opposing written comments have been 
received by the agency concerning this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Section 7-1-301 affords the Commissioner the functions, 
powers, duties, and responsibilities with respect to 
institutions, persons, or businesses subject to the 
jurisdiction of the department.  This rule lists the types of 
hearings the Commissioner may call in connection with 
any matter pending before the Department and how those 
hearings should commence.  It also covers confidential 
proceedings, pleadings, discovery, and subpoenas.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Darryle Rude, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/13/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R331-10 Filing ID: 50810 
Effective Date: 07/13/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Financial Institutions 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: 201 
Street address: 324 S State St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2393 

Mailing address: PO Box 146800 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6800 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Paul Allred 801-

538-
8855 

pallred@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R331-10.  Schedule for Retention or Destruction of 
Records of Financial Institutions Under the Jurisdiction of 
the Department of Financial Institutions 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 7-1-301(7) authorizes the Commissioner to 
adopt rules for the retention and destruction of financial 
institution records under the Department of Financial 
Institution's (Department) jurisdiction that are consistent 
with federal laws and regulations. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No supporting or opposing written comments have been 
received since the last notice of continuation. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
No other state rule establishes the schedule of retention 
and destruction of records for financial institutions under 
the Department's jurisdiction.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Darryle Rude, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/13/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R331-12 Filing ID: 50800 
Effective Date: 07/13/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Financial Institutions 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: 201 
Street address: 324 S State St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2393 

Mailing address: PO Box 146800 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6800 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Paul Allred 801-

538-
8855 

pallred@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R331-12.  Guidelines Governing the Purchase and Sale of 
Loans and Participations in Loans by all State Chartered 
Financial Institutions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 7-1-301 authorizes the Commissioner to establish 
guidelines for the purchase and sale of loans and 
participations in loans by state-chartered financial 
institutions. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No supporting or opposing written comments have been 
received since the last notice of continuation. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
No other state rule establishes the guidelines for the 
purchase and sale of loans and participations in loans by 
state-chartered financial institutions.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Darryle Rude, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/13/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R331-22 Filing ID: 50809 
Effective Date: 07/13/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Financial Institutions 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: 201 
Street address: 324 S State St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2393 

Mailing address: PO Box 146800 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6800 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Paul Allred 801-

538-
8855 

pallred@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R331-22.  Rule Governing Reimbursement of Costs of 
Financial Institutions for Production of Records 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 7-1-301(6) and Section 7-1-1004 expressly 
authorize the Commissioner of Financial Institutions to 
promulgate rules establishing rates and conditions under 
which financial institutions that supply information to 
requesting agencies may seek reimbursement of costs. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No supporting or opposing written comments have been 
received since the last notice of continuation. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
No other rule establishes cost-reimbursement guidelines 
for financial institutions that provide information to 
requesting agencies.  Section 7-1-1004 requires the 
Commissioner to have a rule establishing the cost-
reimbursement guidelines.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Darryle Rude, 
Commissioner 

Date: 07/13/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R380-41 Filing ID: 50876 
Effective Date: 07/08/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Administration (Health) 

Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jonah Shaw 385-

310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Heather Borski 801-
538-
9998 

hborski@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R380-41.  Governance Committee Electronic Meetings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 52-4-207 and Title 63G, 
Chapter 3, the Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.  
Section 26-1-5 and Subsection 26-1-4(2) are outdated due 
to the Department of Health and Human Services' 
(Department) consolidation and will be addressed in a 
subsequent nonsubstantive change. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Section 52-4-207 requires a state public body that holds 
electronic meeting to have a rule governing the use of 
electronic meetings.  This rule establishes procedures for 
conducting electronic meetings by the Governance 
Committee.  It will require at least a nonsubstantive 
change as a part of the Department consolidation.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 07/08/2022 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R602-3 Filing ID: 51482 
Effective Date: 07/06/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Adjudication 
Room number: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Aurora Holley 801-

530-
6865 

auroraholley@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
530-
6113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R602-3.  Procedure and Standards for Approval of 
Assignment of Benefits 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 34A-1-104 authorizes the Labor Commission 
(Commission) to adopt rules and conduct adjudicative 
proceedings to resolve workers' compensation and 
occupational disease claims.  Sections 34A-1-104 and 
34A-2-802 also authorize the Commission to adopt rules 
to carry out those adjudicative functions. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received since the last 
five year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

As part of the Commission's continuing responsibility to 
administer a system for adjudication of workers' 
compensation and occupational disease claims, it is 
necessary for the Commission to establish procedures for 
pleadings and discovery, standards for use and 
compensation of medical panels, as well as standards for 
evaluating settlement agreements.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Jaceson R. 
Maughan,  
Director 

Date: 07/06/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R746-310 Filing ID: 51957 
Effective Date: 07/15/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Hammer 801-

530-
6729 

michaelhammer@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R746-310.  Uniform Rules Governing Electricity Service by 
Electric Utilities 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Sections 54-3-1, 54-3-7, and 54-4-1 vests the Public 
Service Commission (PSC) with jurisdiction over public 
utilities and tasks the PSC with ensuring public utilities 
provide adequate service and charge just and reasonable 
rates stemming from PSC-approved tariffs that are on file 
with the PSC.  The PSC is also statutorily (Sections 54-4-8 
and 54-4-14) charged with ensuring public utilities maintain 
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and develop infrastructure to ensure adequate service and 
that they do so in a manner consistent with public safety.  
Finally, Section 54-4-23 charges the PSC with ensuring 
public utilities maintain accounts and records sufficient to 
fulfill these statutory mandates. 
 
Rule R746-310 is authorized under these statutory 
provisions and is necessary to fulfill these duties with respect 
to public utilities that provide electric service. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The PSC has received no comments from interested 
persons supporting or opposing this rule since the last five-
year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Rule R746-310 is necessary to facilitate the PSC's 
fulfillment of its statutory responsibilities, enumerated in 
responses in Box 3 above, with respect to public utilities 
that provide electric service.  This rule establishes 
technical and other parameters for utility infrastructure that 
serve to ensure safe and adequate service and adopts 
industry-standard accounting and record-keeping 
requirements necessary to establish just and reasonable 
rates.  This rule also implements processes to ensure 
customers are charged only for electricity they actually 
consume and provides an administrative mechanism for 
customers to seek redress for alleged overbilling.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC 
Chair 

Date: 07/15/2022 

 
 

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section



 

90 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 15 



 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 15 91 

 
NOTICES OF 

FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS 
 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  If the agency finds that it will not meet 
the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW 
EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office of Administrative Rules.  The EXTENSION permits the agency to file the review 
up to 120 days beyond the anniversary date. 
 
Agencies have filed EXTENSIONS for the rules listed below.  The "Extended Due Date" is 120 days after the anniversary 
date. 
 
EXTENSIONS are governed by Subsection 63G-3-305(6). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R277-120 Filing ID: 53396 
New Deadline 
Date: 

12/05/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-120.  Licensing of Material Developed with Public 
Education Funds 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) will be 
presenting this rule for review and approval during their 
08/04/2022 general meeting.  An extension is needed in 
order to have adequate time to file possible additional 
amendments that may be approved by the USBE before 
this rule is due to expire. 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 07/12/2022 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R277-121 Filing ID: 52556 
New Deadline 
Date: 

12/05/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-121.  Board Waiver of Administrative Rules 
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3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) will be 
presenting this rule for review and approval during their 
08/04/2022 general meeting.  An extension is needed in 
order to have adequate time to file possible additional 
amendments that may be approved by the USBE before 
this rule is due to expire. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 07/12/2022 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R277-514 Filing ID: 50483 
New Deadline 
Date: 

12/05/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-514.  Deaf Education in Public Schools 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) will be 
presenting this rule for review and approval during their 
08/04/2022 general meeting.  An extension is needed in 
order to have adequate time to file possible additional 
amendments that may be approved by the USBE before 
this rule is due to expire. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 07/12/2022 

 

 
End of the Notices of Five-Year Review Extensions Section 
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NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  The Office of Administrative Rules 
(Office) is required to notify agencies of rules due for review at least 180 days prior to the anniversary date.  If the 
agency finds that it will not meet the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office.  However, if the agency fails to file either the FIVE-YEAR 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION or the EXTENSION by the date provide by the Office, the rule 
expires. 
 
Upon expiration of the rule, the Office files a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATION (EXPIRATION) to document the action.  
The Office is required to remove the rule from the Utah Administrative Code.  The agency may no longer enforce the 
rule and it must follow regular rulemaking procedures to replace the rule if it is still needed. 
 
The Office has filed EXPIRATIONS for each of the rules listed below which were not reviewed in accordance with 
Section 63G-3-305.  These rules have expired and have been removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The expiration of administrative rules for failure to comply with the five-year review requirement is governed by 
Subsection 63G-3-305(8). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Rule Number: R356-3 Filing ID: 50852 
Effective Date: 07/12/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State 

Commission on) 
Room number: 330 
Building: Senate Building 
Street address: Utah State Capitol Complex 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330 

Contact persons: 

Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L. 
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R356-3.  Electronic Meetings 
 
3.  Summary: 
The five-year review and notice of continuation was not 
filed for this rule by the deadline.  This rule has expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 

 
 

End of the Notices of Notices of Five Year Expirations Section 



 

94 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 15 



 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 15 95 

 
NOTICES OF 

RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Animal Industry 
No.  54641  (Amendment)  R58-7:  Livestock Markets, 
Satelite Video Livestock Auction Market, Livestock Sales, 
Dealers, and Livestock Market Weighpersons 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/19/2022 
 
Regulatory Services 
No.  54614  (Repeal)  R70-440:  Egg Products Inspection 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 
 
Career Service Review Office 
Administration 
No.  54540  (Amendment)  R137-1:  Grievance Procedure 
Rules 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
 
Commerce 
Occupational and Professional Licensing 
No.  54610  (Amendment)  R156-55c:  Plumber Licensing Act 
Rule 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/14/2022 
 
 
Corrections 
Administration 
No.  54594  (New Rule)  R251-714:  Offender Sexual Assault 
Prevention 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/18/2022 
 
 

Education 
Administration 
No.  54623  (Amendment)  R277-122:  Board of Education 
Procurement 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
No.  54624  (Amendment)  R277-302:  Educator Licensing 
Renewal 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
No.  54628  (Amendment)  R277-404:  Requirements for 
Assessments of Student Achievement 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
No.  54634  (Amendment)  R277-406:  Early Learning 
Program and Benchmark Assessments 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
No.  54622  (Amendment)  R277-410:  Accreditation of 
Schools 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
No.  54629  (New Rule)  R277-465:  CPR in Schools 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
No.  54630  (Amendment)  R277-476:  Local Innovations 
Civics Education Pilot Program 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
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No.  54625  (Amendment)  R277-477:  Distributions of Funds 
from the Trust Distribution Acount and Administration of the 
School LAND Trust Program 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
No.  54626  (Amendment)  R277-491:  School Community 
Councils 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
No.  54627  (Amendment)  R277-605:  Coaching Standards 
and Athletic Clinics 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
No.  54631  (Amendment)  R277-606:  Dropout Prevention 
and Recovery Program 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
No.  54632  (Amendment)  R277-622:  School-based Mental 
Health Qualifying Grant Program 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
No.  54633  (Amendment)  R277-701:  Early College 
Programs 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
 
Environmental Quality 
Air Quality 
No.  54498  (Amendment)  R307-110:  General 
Requirements: State Implementation Plan 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  07/07/2022 
 
No.  54502  (Amendment)  R307-511:  Oil and Gas Industry: 
Associated Gas Flaring 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  07/07/2022 
 
Environmental Response and Remediation 
No.  54597  (Amendment)  R311-200:  Underground Storage 
Tanks:  Definitions. 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 
No.  54598  (Amendment)  R311-201:  Underground Storage 
Tanks:  Certification Programs and UST Operator Training. 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 
No.  54599  (Amendment)  R311-203:  Petroleum Storage 
Tanks:  Technical Standards 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 

No.  54601  (Amendment)  R311-204:  Underground Storage 
Tanks:  Closure and Remediation 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 
No.  54602  (Amendment)  R311-205:  Petroleum Storage 
Tanks:  Site Assessment Protocol and Release Reporting 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 
No.  54603  (Amendment)  R311-206:  Underground Storage 
Tanks:  Certificate of Compliance and Financial  Assurance 
Mechanisms 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 
No.  54604  (Amendment)  R311-207:  Accessing the 
Petroleum Storage Tank Fund for Leaking Petroleum Storage 
Tanks 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 
No.  54605  (Amendment)  R311-208:  Underground Storage 
Tanks Penalty Guidance 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 
No.  54606  (Amendment)  R311-211:  Corrective Action 
Cleanup Standards Policy - PST and CERCLA Sites 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 
No.  54607  (Amendment)  R311-212:  Administration of the 
Petroleum Storage Tank Fund Loan Program 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 
 
Governor 
Economic Opportunity 
No.  54617  (Amendment)  R357-5:  Motion Picture Incentive 
Rule 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/15/2022 
 
 
Health and Human Services 
Administration (Health) 
No.  54590  (Repeal)  R380-10:  Informal Adjudicative 
Proceedings 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
Children's Health Insurance Program 
No.  54587  (Amendment)  R382-1:  Benefits and 
Administration 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 



 NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 01, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 15 97 

No.  54588  (Amendment)  R382-2:  Electronic Personal 
Medical Records for the Children's Health Insurance Program 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/11/2022 
 
No.  54589  (Amendment)  R382-3:  Accountable Care 
Organization Incentives to Appropriately Use Emergency 
Room Services in the Children's Health Insurance Program 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/26/2022 
 
Disease Control and Prevention, Environmental Services 
No.  54379  (Amendment)  R392-600:  Illegal Drug 
Operations Decontamination Standards 
Published:  03/15/2022 
Effective:  07/13/2022 
 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
No.  54586  (Amendment)  R414-1:  Utah Medicaid Program 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
Family Health and Preparedness, Emergency Medical 
Services 
No.  54578  (Amendment)  R426-8:  Emergency Medical 
Services Ground Ambulance Rates and Charges 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
Administration, Administrative Hearings 
No.  54592  (Amendment)  R497-100:  Adjudicative 
Proceedings 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/01/2022 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  54613  (New Rule)  R590-288:  Limited Line Producer 
Line of Authority for Pet Insurance 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/08/2022 
 
 

Natural Resources 
Water Rights 
No.  54644  (Repeal and Reenact)  R655-4:  Water Wells 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/26/2022 
 
 
Public Service Commission 
Administration 
No.  54621  (Amendment)  R746-409-1:  General Provisions 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  07/22/2022 
 
 
Tax Commission 
Motor Vehicle Enforcement 
No.  54573  (Amendment)  R877-23V-14:  Dealer 
Identification of Fees Associated with Issuance of Temporary 
Permits Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 41-3-301 and 
41-3-302 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  07/16/2022 
 
No.  54574  (Amendment)  R877-23V-16:  Replacement or 
Renewal of Lost or Stolen Special Plates Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Section 41-3-507 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/16/2022 
 
Property Tax 
No.  54575  (Amendment)  R884-24P-66:  County Board of 
Equalization Procedures and Appeals Pursuant to Utah Code 
Ann. Sections 59-2-1001 and 59-2-1004 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  07/16/2022 
 
 
Workforce Services 
Employment Development 
No.  54665  (Amendment)  R986-700-707.1:  Initial 
Registration Fee Assistance 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  08/01/2022 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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