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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between August 16, 2022, 12:00 a.m., and 
September 01, 2022, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the September 15, 2022, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least October 17, 2022.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through January 13, 2023, the agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days 
after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R58-18 Filing ID: 
54816 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Animal Industry 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB, South Bldg, 

Floor 2 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Dean Taylor  385-
290-
9462 

djtaylor@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R58-18.  Elk Farming 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Changes are needed to clarify this rule and make it more 
consistent with the requirements of the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The text has been updated to improve clarity and 
consistency and make the rule text more consistent with 
the requirements of the Utah Rulewriting Manual.  
Additionally, the definition of "CWD exposed herd" has 
been expanded to include herds exposed to infected 
herds.  The definition of "Epidemiologically linked herd" 
has been added.  Both of these definitions will help elk 
producers understand the department's responsibilities 
under the rule and when elk may be subject to department 
regulation. 
 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These changes are clarifying in nature and do not change 
Department of Agriculture and Food (Department) 
practices under the rule or regulation of elk in Utah.  There 
should be no impact on the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments are not impacted by this rule and will 
not be impacted by the rule changes. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These changes are clarifying in nature and do not change 
Department practices under the rule or regulation of elk in 
Utah.  There should be no impact on small businesses.  
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These changes are clarifying in nature and do not change 
Department practices under the rule or regulation of elk in 
Utah.  There should be no impact on non-small 
businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons will not impacted by the rule changes 
because they are clarifying Utah and will not change the 
elk program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected persons will not change.  
Administrative burden or fees charged by the Department 
will not change. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-39-106   

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference : 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Bovine Tuberculosis Eradication  
Uniform Methods and Rules 

Publisher University of Nebraska at Lincoln  

Issue Date January 22, 1999 

Issue or Version 1999 version 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 

agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 08/24/2022 

 
R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
R58-18.  Elk Farming. 
R58-18-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  [Regulations governing elk farming p]Promulgated 
under the authority of Section 4-39-106. 
 (2)  This rule establishes procedures for the application and 
renewal of licenses, standards and requirements, and health 
requirements and standards for operating a domesticated elk facility. 
 
R58-18-2.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions found in Sections 4-1-109, 4-
7-103, 4-24-102, 4-32-105, and 4-39-102, the following terms are 
defined for [purposes of ]this rule: 
 (1)  "Adjacent Herd" means a herd of Cervidae occupying 
premises that border an affected herd, including herds separated by 
fences, roads, or streams, herds occupying a premises where Chronic 
Wasting Disease (CWD) was previously diagnosed, and herds that 
share the same license as the affected or source herd, even if separate 
records are maintained and no commingling has taken place. 
 (2)  "Affected herd" means a herd of Cervidae [where]that 
includes an animal that has been diagnosed with CWD [and 
]confirmed by [means of ]an approved test, within the previous five 
years. 
 (3)  "Animal identification" means a device or means of 
individual animal identification. 
 (4)  "Approved test" means approved tests for CWD 
surveillance [which]that shall be those laboratory or diagnostic tests 
accepted nationally by the United States Department of Agriculture 
(USDA) and approved by the State Veterinarian. 
 (5)  "Commingled"[,] or "commingling" means [that 
animals are commingled if they]animals that have had any contact 
with a CWD-positive animal or contaminated premises within the 
last five years, and: 
 (a)  have direct contact with each other[,]; 
 (b)  have less than 10 feet of physical separation[,]; or 
 (c)  share equipment, pasture, feed, [or ]water sources[/], or 
watershed.[  Animals are considered to have commingled if they have 
had any such contact with a CWD positive animal or contaminated 
premises within the last five years.] 
 (6)  "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 ([6]7)  "CWD-exposed animal" means an animal that is part 
of a CWD-positive herd, or that has been exposed to a CWD-positive 
animal or contaminated premises within the previous five years. 
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 ([7]8)  "CWD-exposed herd" means a herd in which a 
CWD-positive animal or a CWD-exposed animal has resided for any 
period[ of time] within five years [prior to]before that animal's 
diagnosis as CWD-positive or exposure to CWD. 
 ([8]9)  "CWD Herd Certification Program" means the 
Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program. 
 ([9]10)  "CWD-positive animal" means an animal that has 
had a diagnosis of CWD confirmed by[ means of] an official CWD 
test. 
 ([10]11)  "CWD-positive herd" means a herd in which a 
CWD -positive animal resided [at the time]when it was diagnosed 
and which has not been released from quarantine. 
 ([11]12)  "CWD-suspect animal" means an animal for 
which it has been determined that laboratory evidence or clinical 
signs suggest a diagnosis of CWD. 
 ([12]13)  "CWD-suspect herd" means a herd in which a 
CWD -suspect animal resided [and which]that has not been released 
from quarantine. 
 ([13]14)  "Destination Herd" means the intended herd of 
residence[, which will] that shall be occupied by the animal [which 
]that is proposed for importation. 
 (15)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 ([14]16)  "Domestic elk" as used in this chapter, in addition 
to the definition in Section 4-39-102, means any elk [which]that has 
been born inside of, and has spent its entire life within captivity. 
 ([15]17)  "Elk" as used in this [chapter]rule, means North 
American Wapiti or Cervus Elaphus nelsoni. 
 (18)  "Epidemiologically-linked herd" means that an 
investigation has determined that CWD-exposed animals have 
resided with a CWD-positive animal within five years before the 
diagnosis of CWD in the positive herd or from the identified date of 
entry of CWD into the positive herd and have since moved to or 
through other herds.  Those herds are then considered 
epidemiologically-linked.  An epidemiologically-linked herd can be 
a Trace-back-Epi-linked Herd, Trace-forward-Epi-linked Herd or 
Pass-through Epi-linked Herd. 
 ([16]19)  "Herd of Origin" means the herd[, which] that an 
imported animal has resided in, or does reside in, [prior to]before 
importation. 
 ([17]20)  "Official slaughter facility" means a place where 
the slaughter of livestock occurs that is under the authority of the state 
or federal government and receives state or federal inspection. 
 ([18]21)  "Quarantine Facility" means a confined area 
where selected elk can be secured, contained, and isolated from 
[all]any other elk and livestock. 
 ([19]22)  "Raised" as used in [the act]this rule, means any 
possession of domestic elk for any purpose other than hunting. 
 ([20]23)  "Secure Enclosure" means a perimeter fence or 
barrier that is so constructed as to prevent domestic elk from escaping 
into the wild or the ingress of native wildlife into the facility. 
 ([21]24)  "Separate location" in addition to the definition[as 
used] in Subsection 4-39-203(5), means any facility that may be 
separated by two distinct perimeter fences, not more than 10 miles 
apart, owned by the same person. 
 ([22]25)  "Trace Back Herd"[/] or "Source Herd" means a 
herd of Cervidae where an animal affected with CWD has formerly 
resided. 
 ([23]26)  "Trace Forward Herd" means a herd of Cervidae 
[which]that has received exposed animals that originated from a 
CWD -positive herd within five years [prior to]before the diagnosis 

of CWD in the positive herd or from the identified date of entry of 
CWD into the positive herd. 
 
R58-18-3.  Application and Licensing Process. 
 (1)  Each applicant for a license to operate a domesticated 
elk facility or elk farm shall submit a signed, complete, accurate, and 
legible application on a department issued form. 
 (2)  In addition to the application, a general plot plan 
[should]shall be submitted showing the location of the proposed farm 
in conjunction with roads, towns, [etc.]and other points of interest in 
the immediate area. 
 (3)  A facility number shall be assigned to an elk farm [at 
the time]when a [completed]finished application is received by the 
department. 
 (4)  A complete facility inspection and approval shall be 
conducted [prior to]before the issuing of a license or entry of elk to 
any facility. 
 (a)  This inspection shall be made by an approved 
[D]department [of Agriculture and Food ]employee and Division of 
Wildlife Resources (DWR) employee. 
 (b)  It shall be the responsibility of the applicant to request 
this inspection at least three working days in advance. 
 (5)  Upon receipt of an application, inspection and approval 
of the facility, completion of the facility approval form, and receipt 
of the license fee, a license [will]shall be issued. 
 (6)  [All]Each license[s] expires on July 1st in the year 
following the year of issuance. 
 (7)  Elk may enter [into ]the facility only after a license is 
issued by the [D]department and received by the applicant. 
 
R58-18-4.  License Renewal. 
 (1)  Each elk farm [must make renewal application]shall 
apply for license renewal to the [D]department on the prescribed 
form no later than April 30th indicating its desire to continue as an 
elk farm.  This application shall be accompanied by the required fee.  
Any license renewal application received after April 30th will have a 
late fee assessed. 
 (2)  Any application received after July 1st is delinquent 
and any animals on the premises [will]shall be quarantined until due 
process of law against the current owner has occurred.  This may 
result in any[ or all] of the following: 
 (a)  revocation of the license; 
 (b)  loss of the facility number; 
 (c)  closure of the facility; or 
 (d)  removal of the elk from the premises. 
 (3)  [Prior to]Before renewal of the license, the facility 
[will]shall again be inspected by a [Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food]department employee. 
 (a)  The employee [will]shall document that [all]each 
fencing and facility requirement[s are] is met. 
 (b)  The licensee shall provide a copy of the complete 
inventory sheet of live animals to the inspector [at the time of 
inspection]when the elk farm is inspected. 
 (c)  The employee [will]shall perform a physical inventory 
count of [all]each elk on the premises. 
 (i)  The individual animal identification numbers shall 
match with the inventory records received from the owner or 
manager of the elk facility and those maintained by the department. 
 (d)  The employee [will]shall perform a visual general 
health check of [all]each animal[s]. 
 (e)  [Every]Each year, the employee [will]shall perform an 
inventory of [all]each elk by matching individual animal 
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identification with the inventory records received from the owner or 
manager of the elk facility. 
 (f)  The physical inventory and bookkeeping inventory 
[must]shall have at least a 95% match. 
 
R58-18-5.  Facilities. 
 (1)  [All]Each perimeter fence[s] and gate[s] shall meet the 
minimum standard [as ]defined in Section 4-39-201. 
 (a)  The perimeter fences and gates shall be constructed to 
prevent the movement of cervids, both captive and wild, into or out 
of the facility. 
 (2)  Internal handling facilities shall be capable of 
humanely restraining an individual animal for the applying or reading 
of any animal identification, the taking of blood or tissue samples, or 
conducting other required testing by an inspector or veterinarian. 
 (a)  [Any such]The restraint shall be properly constructed 
to protect inspection personnel while handling the animals. 
 (b)  Minimum requirements include a working pen, an 
alley[ ]way, and a restraining chute. 
 (3)  The licensee shall provide an isolation or quarantine 
holding facility [which]that is adequate to contain the animals and 
provide proper feed, water, and other care necessary for the physical 
well being of the animal for the period[ of time] necessary to separate 
the animal from other animals on the farm. 
 (4)  Each location of a licensed facility with separate 
perimeter fences [must]shall have its own separate loading facility. 
 
R58-18-6.  Records. 
 (1)  Licensed elk farms shall maintain accurate and legible 
office records showing the inventory of [all]each elk on the facility. 
 (2)  The inventory record of each animal shall include: 
 (a)  name and address of agent which the elk was 
[purchased]bought from; 
 (b)  official identification number on a tamper-resistant ear 
tag or USDA metal tag, and the secondary identification number; 
 (c)  age; 
 (d)  sex; 
 (e)  date of purchase or birth; 
 (f)  date of death or change of ownership , with the name of 
new owner and address recorded and retained; and 
 (g)  Certificate of Veterinary Inspection if 
[purchased]bought out of state. 
 (3)  The inventory sheet may be one that is either provided 
by the department or may be a personal design of similar format. 
 (4)  Any animal born on the property or transported into a 
facility [must]shall be added to the inventory sheet within seven days. 
 (5)  Any elk [purchased must]bought shall be shown on the 
inventory sheet within 30 days after acquisition, including source. 
 (6)  A death record of elk 12 months of age and over that 
die; or that are otherwise harvested, slaughtered, killed, or destroyed 
shall be submitted to the department within 48 hours [after]of the 
discovery of the death of the animal. 
 
R58-18-7.  Genetic Purity. 
 (1)  Elk entering Utah, except those going directly to 
slaughter, [must]shall have written evidence of genetic purity. 
 (2)  Written evidence of genetic purity [will]shall include[ 
one of the following]: 
 (a)  test charts from an approved lab that have run either a: 
 (i)  blood genetic purity test; or 
 (ii)  DNA genetic purity test; 

 (b)  registration papers from the North American Elk 
Breeders Association; or 
 (c)  herd purity certification papers issued by another state 
agency. 
 (3)  Genetic purity records [must]shall be kept on file and 
presented to the inspector [at the time]when elk are brought into the 
state.[ process.] 
 (4)  Any elk identified as having red deer genetic factor 
shall be destroyed, or immediately removed from the state. 
 
R58-18-8.  Acquisition of or Slaughter of Elk. 
 (1)  Only domesticated elk will be allowed to enter and be 
kept on any elk farm in Utah. 
 (2)  New elk brought into a facility shall be held in a 
quarantine facility until a livestock inspector has inspected the animal 
to verify that health, identification, and genetic purity requirements 
have been met.  New animals may not co[-]mmingle with any elk 
already on the premises until this verification is completed by the 
livestock inspector. 
 (3)  Elk presented for slaughter at an official slaughter 
facility[,] that have come from an out of state source, [must]shall 
arrive on a day when no Utah raised elk or elk carcasses are present 
at the plant. 
 (4)  Individual elk identification [must]shall be maintained 
throughout slaughter and processing until [such]a time that CWD test 
results have been returned from the laboratory. 
 (5)  Out of state elk shall be tested for Brucellosis [at the 
time of slaughter]when slaughtered. 
 
R58-18-9.  Identification. 
 (1)  [All]Each elk shall have two forms of identification 
attached to each animal. 
 (2)  Each animal shall be permanently identified with a 
tamper-resistant electronic radio-frequency identification (RFID) 
tag[ (RFID) or USDA metal tag]. 
 (3)  [If the identification method chosen to use is the RFID 
tag, a]A reader [must]shall be made available, by the owner, to the 
inspector [at the time of any inspection]when the animal is inspected 
to verify the electronic identification number.  The RFID tag shall be 
placed in the right ear. 
 (4)  Each newly purchased elk will not need to be re-tagged 
using the RFID tag if they already have this type of identification. 
 (5)  Any purchased elk not already identified shall have the 
RFID tag applied within 30 days after arriving on the premises. 
 (6)  [All]Each calf[ves] shall have the RFID tag applied 
within 15 days after weaning or in no case later than January 31st or 
before leaving the premises where they were born. 
 (7)  In addition to the RFID tag an additional form of 
identification either a metal tag with a number unique to the farm, or 
a visible dangle ear tag within 15 days after weaning or in no case 
later than January 31st or before leaving the premises where they 
were born or within 30 days after arriving on the premises. 
 
R58-18-10.  Inspections. 
 (1)  [All]Each facilit[ies]y [must]shall be inspected within 
60 days before a license or the renewal of an existing license is 
issued.  It is the responsibility of the applicant to arrange for an 
appointment with the [D]department for [such ]inspection, giving the 
[D]department ample time to respond to [such ]a request. 
 (2)  [All]Each elk must be inspected for inventory purposes 
within 60 days before a license renewal can be issued. 
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 (3)  [All]Each elk must be inspected when any change of 
ownership, movement out of state, leaving the facility, or slaughter 
occurs except as [indicated]shown in Subsection R58-18-10(3)(f). 
 (a)  It is the responsibility of the licensee to arrange for any 
inspection with the local state livestock inspector. 
 (b)  A[ minimum of]t least 48 hours advance notice shall be 
given to the inspector. 
 (c)  For the inspection, the licensee or [his]their 
representative shall make available [such]the records [as]that will 
certify ownership, genetic purity, and animal health. 
 (d)  Elk to be inspected shall be properly contained in 
facilities adequate to confine each individual animal for proper 
inspection. 
 (e)  Animals shall be inspected before being loaded or 
moved outside the facility. 
 (f)  Animals moving from one perimeter fence to another 
within the facility or from a licensed facility to another licensed 
facility owned by the same person within the state may move directly 
from one site to another site without a brand inspection, but 
[must]shall be accompanied with a copy of the facility license. 
 (4)  Any elk purchased or brought into the facility from an 
[out-of-state]out of state source shall be inspected upon arrival at a 
licensed farm before being released into an area inhabited by other 
elk.  [All]Each requirement[s] of Subsection R58-18-10(3) [above 
]shall apply to the inspection of the [such ]animals. 
 (5)  A Utah Brand Inspection Certificate shall accompany 
any shipment of elk [which]that are to be moved from a Utah elk 
farm. 
 (a)  Shed antlers are excluded from needing an inspection. 
 (6)  Proof of ownership and proper health papers shall 
accompany [all]any interstate movement of elk to a Utah destination. 
 (7)  Proof of ownership may include: 
 (a)  [A]a brand inspection certificate issued by another 
state[.]; 
 (b)  [A]a purchase invoice from a licensed public livestock 
market showing individual animal identification[.]; 
 (c)  [C]court orders[.]; 
 (d)  [R]registration papers showing individual animal 
identification[.]; or 
 (e)  [A]a[ duly executed] notarized bill of sale. 
 
R58-18-11.  Health Rules. 
 (1)  [Prior to]Before the importation of elk, whether by live 
animals, gametes, eggs, sperm, or other genetic material into [the 
State of ]Utah, the importing party [must]shall [obtain]get an import 
permit from the Utah State Veterinarian's office. 
 (a)  An import permit number shall be issued only if the 
destination is licensed as an elk farm by the [Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food]department or an official slaughter facility. 
 (b)  The import permit number for Utah shall be obtained 
by the local veterinarian conducting the official health inspection by 
contacting the [Utah Department of Agriculture and 
Food]department. 
 (2)  [All]Each elk imported into Utah [must]shall be 
examined by an accredited veterinarian [prior to]before importation 
and [must]shall be accompanied by a valid Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection, health certificate, certifying a disease free status. 
 (a)  Minimum specific disease testing results or health 
statements [must]shall be included on the Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection.  Minimum disease testing requirements may be waived 
on elk traveling directly to an official slaughter facility. 

 (b)  A negative tuberculosis test [must]shall be [completed 
]within 60 days [prior to]before entry into the state.  A retest is also 
optional at the discretion of the State Veterinarian. 
 (c)  If animals do not originate from a tuberculosis 
accredited, qualified, or monitored herd, they may be imported only 
if accompanied by a certificate stating that [such]the domestic 
[c]Cervidae have been classified negative to two official tuberculosis 
tests that were conducted not less than 90 days apart, that the second 
test was conducted within 60 days [prior to]before the date of 
movement.  The test eligible age is six months or older, or less than 
six months of age if not accompanied by a negative testing dam. 
 (d)  Elk being imported shall test negative for 
[b]Brucellosis if six months of age or older, by at least two types of 
official USDA [b]Brucellosis tests. 
 (e)  The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection [must 
also]shall include the [following ]signed statement: "To the best of 
my knowledge the elk listed herein are not infected with Johne's 
Disease (Paratuberculosis), CWD or Malignant Catarrhal Fever and 
have never been east of the 100 degree meridian." 
 (f)  The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection shall also 
contain the name and address of the shipper and receiver, the number, 
sex, age, and any individual identification on each animal. 
 (3)  Additional disease testing may be required at the 
discretion of the State Veterinarian [prior to]before importation or 
when there is reason to believe other disease[(s)]s, [or ]parasites, or 
[that some ]other health concerns are present. 
 (4)  Imported or existing elk may be required to be 
quarantined at an elk farm when the State Veterinarian determines the 
need for and the length of [such]a quarantine. 
 (5)  [Any movement of elk outside a licensed elk farm shall 
comply with standards as provided in the document entitled: 
"Uniform Methods and Rules (UM and R)", as approved and 
published by the USDA.  The documents, entitled: "Tuberculosis 
Eradication in Cervidae, Uniform Methods and Rules", the May 15, 
1994 edition, and "Brucellosis Cervidae, Uniform Methods and 
Rules", the September 30, 2003 edition as published by the USDA, 
are hereby incorporated by reference into this rule.  These are the 
standards for tuberculosis and brucellosis eradication in domestic 
cervidae.]The USDA published documents "Bovine Tuberculosis 
Eradication Uniform Methods and Rules, Effective January 22, 
1999" and "Brucellosis in Cervidae: Uniform Methods and Rules, 
Effective September 30, 2003" are incorporated by reference into this 
rule. Any movement of elk outside of a licensed elk farm shall 
comply with these documents. 
 (6)  Treatment of [all]each elk for internal and external 
parasites is required within 30 days [prior to]before entry, except elk 
going directly to slaughter. 
 (7)  [All]Each elk imported into Utah [must]shall originate 
from a state or province[, which] that requires that [all]any suspected 
or confirmed cases of [(]CWD[)], be reported to the State 
Veterinarian or regulatory authority.  The state or province of origin 
[must]shall have the authority to quarantine source herds and herds 
affected with or exposed to CWD. 
 (8)  Based on the State Veterinarian's approval, [all]each elk 
imported into Utah shall originate from states[, which] that have 
implemented a Program for Surveillance, Control, and Eradication of 
CWD in Domestic Elk. 
 (a)  [All]Each elk imported to Utah [must]shall originate 
from herds that have been participating in a verified CWD 
surveillance program for a[ minimum of 5]t least five years. 
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 (b)  Animals will be accepted for movement only if 
epidemiology based on vertical and horizontal transmission is in 
place. 
 (9)  No elk originating from a CWD affected herd, trace 
back herd[/], source herd, trace forward herd, adjacent herd, or from 
an area considered to be endemic to CWD, may be imported to Utah. 
 (10)  Elk semen, eggs, or gametes require a Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection verifying the individual source animal has 
genetic purity and certifying that it has never resided on a premises 
where CWD has been identified or traced.  An import permit obtained 
by the issuing veterinarian [must]shall be listed on the Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection. 
 
R58-18-12.  CWD Surveillance and Investigation. 
 (1)  The owner, veterinarian, or inspector of any elk 
[which]that is suspected or confirmed to be [affected]infected with 
CWD in Utah [is required to]shall report that finding to the State 
Veterinarian immediately upon finding. 
 (2)  The State Veterinarian [will]shall promptly investigate 
[all]any animals reported as CWD-exposed, CWD-suspect, or CWD-
positive animals[, including but not limited to] 
 (a)  The State Veterinarian may: 
 ([a]i)  [C]conduct an epidemiologic investigation of CWD-
positive, CWD-exposed, and CWD-suspect herds that includes the 
designation of suspect and exposed animals and that identifies 
animals to be traced; 
 ([b]ii)  [C]conduct tracebacks of CWD-positive animals 
and traceouts of CWD-exposed animals and report any [out-of-
State]out of state traces to the appropriate [S]state promptly after 
receipt of notification of a CWD-positive animal; and 
 ([c]iii)  [C]conduct tracebacks based on slaughter or other 
sampling promptly after receipt of notification of a CWD-positive 
animal at slaughter. 
 ([d]b)  With the approval of the [C]commissioner[ of 
Agriculture], the State Veterinarian [will]shall place the facility under 
quarantine and any trace-back or trace-forward -facility as needed. 
 ([e]c)  Any elk over 12 months of age that dies or is 
otherwise slaughtered or destroyed from a CWD-positive, CWD-
exposed, and CWD-suspect herd shall have the brain stem[ (], the 
obex portion of the medulla[)], and medial retropharyngeal lymph 
nodes collected for testing for CWD by an official test. 
 (i)  The samples shall be collected by an accredited 
veterinarian, or an approved laboratory, or person trained and 
approved by the State Veterinarian. 
 (ii)  Carcasses and tissues from these animals [will]shall be 
either secured by a state or federally inspected slaughter 
establishment until testing is [completed]finished. 
 (iii)  Carcasses and tissues from animals testing positive 
[must]shall be disposed of by incineration or other means approved 
by the State Veterinarian. 
 (3)  Each elk farm, licensed in Utah, shall be required to 
submit the brain stem[ (], obex portion of the medulla[)], and medial 
retropharyngeal lymph nodes of any elk over 12 months of age that 
dies or is otherwise slaughtered or destroyed, for testing for CWD by 
an official test. 
 (a)  The samples shall be collected by an accredited 
veterinarian, an approved laboratory, or person trained and approved 
by the State Veterinarian. 
 (b)  Farms owning 20 or more elk may be allowed up to a 
10% error rate on samples [per]each year; farms owning less than 20 
elk [will]shall not have an acceptable error rate. 

 (4)  Each hunting park[,] licensed in Utah[,] shall be 
required to submit the brain stem[ (], obex portion of the medulla[)], 
and medial retropharyngeal lymph nodes of [all]each elk over 12 
months of age that die, or that are otherwise harvested, slaughtered, 
killed, or destroyed, for testing for CWD with an official test. 
 (a)  The samples shall be collected by an accredited 
veterinarian, approved laboratory, or person trained and approved by 
the State Veterinarian. 
 (b)  Hunting parks may be allowed up to a 10% error rate 
on samples per year with consideration taken when elk are shot in an 
area of the elk that causes an unacceptable sample. 
 (5)  The CWD surveillance samples from elk residing on 
licensed elk farms and elk hunting parks shall be collected and 
preserved in formalin within 48 hours following the death of the 
animal, and submitted within [7]seven days to a laboratory approved 
by the State Veterinarian.  Training of approved personnel shall 
include collection, storing, handling, shipping, and identification of 
specimens for submission. 
 (6)  Laboratory fees and expenses incurred for collection 
and shipping of samples shall be the responsibility of the 
participating elk farm or hunting park. 
 (7)  The designation and disposition of CWD -exposed, 
positive, or suspect animals or herds in Utah shall be determined by 
the State Veterinarian. 
 
R58-18-13.  CWD Herd Certification Status. 
 (1)  Initial and subsequent status. 
 (a)  When a herd is first enrolled in the CWD Herd 
Certification Program, it [will]shall be placed in First Year status, 
except that; if the herd is comprised solely of animals obtained from 
herds already enrolled in the [P]program, the newly enrolled herd 
[will]shall have the same status as the lowest status of any herd that 
provided animals for the new herd. 
 (b)  If the herd continues to meet the requirements of the 
CWD Herd Certification Program, each consecutive year, on the 
anniversary of the enrollment date the herd status will be upgraded 
by [1]one year, [i.e.,]to Second Year status, Third Year status, Fourth 
Year status, [and]or Fifth Year status. 
 (c)  One year from the date a herd is placed in Fifth Year 
status, the herd status will be changed to "Certified" and the herd will 
remain in "Certified" status as long as it is enrolled in the program, 
provided its status is not lost or suspended in accordance with this 
section. 
 (2)  Loss or suspension of herd status. 
 (a)  If a herd is designated a CWD-positive herd or a CWD-
exposed herd, it [will]shall immediately lose its program status and 
may only re-enroll after entering into an approved herd plan. 
 (b)  If a herd is designated a CWD-suspect herd, a trace 
back herd, or a trace forward herd, it [will]shall immediately be 
placed in Suspended status pending an epidemiologic investigation. 
 (i)  If the epidemiologic investigation determines that the 
herd was not commingled with a CWD-positive animal, the herd 
[will]shall be reinstated to its former program status, and the time 
spent in Suspended status will count toward its promotion to the next 
herd status level or maintenance of [c]Certified status. 
 (ii)  If the epidemiologic investigation determines that the 
herd was commingled with a CWD-positive animal, the herd 
[will]shall lose its program status and will be designated a CWD-
exposed herd. 
 (iii)  If the epidemiological investigation [is unable 
to]cannot make a determination regarding the exposure of the herd, 
because the necessary animal or animals are no longer available for 



 

8 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 15, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 18 

testing, for example, because a trace animal from a known positive 
herd died and was not tested, or for other reasons, the herd status 
[will]shall continue as Suspended [unless and ]until a herd plan is 
developed for the herd. 
 (iv)  If a herd plan is developed and implemented, the herd 
[will]shall be reinstated to its former program status, and the time 
spent in Suspended status [will]shall count toward its promotion to 
the next herd status level; Except that, if the epidemiological 
investigation finds that the owner of the herd has not fully complied 
with program requirements for animal identification, animal testing, 
and recordkeeping, the herd [will]shall be reinstated into the CWD 
Herd Certification Program at the First Year status level, with a new 
enrollment date set at the date the herd entered into Suspended status. 
 (v)  Any herd reinstated after being placed in Suspended 
status [must]shall then comply with the requirements of the herd plan 
as well as the requirements of the CWD Herd Certification Program.  
The herd plan[ will]: 
 (A)  shall require testing of [all]any animals that die in the 
herd for any reason, regardless of the age of the animal[,]; 
 (B)  may require movement restrictions for animals in the 
herd based on epidemiologic evidence regarding the risk posed by 
the animals in question[,]; and 
 (C)  may include other requirements found necessary to 
control the risk of spreading CWD. 
 (c)  If the department determines that animals from a herd 
enrolled in the program have commingled with animals from a herd 
with a lower program status, the herd with the higher program status 
[will]shall be reduced to the status of the herd with which its animals 
commingled. 
 (3)  Cancellation of enrollment by the department. 
 (a)  The department may cancel the enrollment of an 
enrolled herd by giving written notice to the herd owner. 
 (b)  In the event of [such ]cancellation, the herd owner may 
not reapply to enroll in the CWD Herd Certification Program for five 
years from the effective date of the cancellation. 
 (c)  The department may cancel enrollment after 
determining that the herd owner failed to comply with any 
requirements of this section.  Before enrollment is cancelled, the 
department [will ]shall inform the herd owner of the reasons for the 
proposed cancellation in writing. 
 (d)  Herd owners may appeal cancellation of enrollment, 
loss, or suspension of herd status by writing to the [C]commissioner 
[of Agriculture ]within 10 days after being informed of the reasons 
for the proposed action. 
 (i)  The appeal [must]shall include [all of the ]the facts and 
reasons upon which the herd owner relies to show that the reasons for 
the proposed action are incorrect or do not support the action. 
 (ii)  The [C]commissioner [of Agriculture will]shall grant 
or deny the appeal in writing as promptly as circumstances permit, 
stating the reason for [his or her]the commissioner's decision. 
 (iii)  If there is a conflict as to any material fact, a hearing 
[will]shall be held to resolve the conflict. 
 (iv)  The cancellation of enrollment, loss, or suspension of 
herd status shall become effective pending final determination in the 
proceeding if the [C]commissioner [of Agriculture ]determines that 
[such]the action is necessary to prevent the possible spread of CWD. 
 (A)  [Such]The action shall become effective upon oral or 
written notification, whichever is earlier, to the herd owner. 
 (B)  In the event of oral notification, written confirmation 
shall be given as promptly as circumstances allow. 
 (v)  This cancellation of enrollment or loss or suspension 
of herd status shall continue in effect pending the completion of the 

proceeding, and any judicial review[ thereof], unless otherwise 
ordered by the [C]commissioner[ of Agriculture]. 
 (4)  Herd status of animals added to herds. 
 (a)  A herd may add animals from herds with the same or a 
higher herd status in the CWD Herd Certification Program with no 
negative impact on the certification status of the receiving herd. 
 (b)  If animals are acquired from a herd with a lower herd 
status, the receiving herd reverts to the program status of the sending 
herd. 
 (c)  If a herd participating in the CWD Herd Certification 
Program acquires animals from a nonparticipating herd, the receiving 
herd reverts to First Year status with a new enrollment date of the date 
of acquisition of the animal. 
 
R58-18-14.  Herd Plan. 
 (1)  A written herd plan [will]shall be developed by the 
State Veterinarian with input from the herd owner, USDA, and other 
affected parties. 
 (2)  The herd plan sets out the steps to be taken to eradicate 
CWD from a CWD -positive herd, to control the risk of CWD in a 
CWD-exposed or CWD-suspect herd, or to prevent introduction of 
CWD into another herd. 
 (3)  A herd plan [will]shall require: 
 (a)  specified means of identification for each animal in the 
herd; 
 (b)  regular examination of animals in the herd by a 
veterinarian for signs of disease; 
 (c)  reporting to a [S]state or USDA representative of any 
signs of central nervous system disease in herd animals; and 
 (d)  maintaining records of the acquisition and disposition 
of [all]any animals entering or leaving the herd, including the date of 
acquisition or removal, name and address of the person from whom 
the animal was acquired or to whom it was disposed, and cause of 
death, if the animal died while in the herd. 
 (4)  A herd plan may also contain additional requirements 
to prevent or control the possible spread of CWD, depending on the 
particular condition of the herd and its premises, including[ but not 
limited to]: 
 (a)  specifying the time for which a premises must not 
contain cervids after CWD -positive, exposed, or suspect animals are 
removed from the premises; 
 (b)  fencing requirements; 
 (c)  depopulation or selective culling of animals; 
 (d)  restrictions on sharing and movement of possibly 
contaminated livestock equipment; and 
 (e)  cleaning and disinfection requirements, or other bio[-
]security requirements. 
 (5)  The State Veterinarian [must]shall approve [all]any 
movement of cervids onto or off [of ]the facility. 
 (a)  Movement restriction of cervids [will]shall remain in 
place until requirements of the herd plan have been met. 
 (6)  The State Veterinarian may review and revise a herd 
plan at any time in response to changes in the situation of the herd or 
premises or improvements in understanding of the nature of CWD 
epidemiology or techniques to prevent its spread. 
 
R58-18-15.  Grounds for Denial, Suspension, or Revocation of 
Licenses for Domestic Elk Facilities. 
 (1)  A license to operate a domestic elk facility may be 
denied, suspended, or revoked by the department for any of the 
following reasons: 
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 (a)  [incomplete]unfinished application or incorrect 
application information; 
 (b)  incorrect records or failure to maintain required 
records; 
 (c)  not presenting animals for identification at the request 
of the department; 
 (d)  [F]failure to notify the department of movement of elk 
onto or off [of ]the facility; 
 (e)  failure to identify elk as required; 
 (f)  movement of imported elk onto facility without 
[obtaining]getting a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection [which]that 
has an import permit number obtained from the department; 
 (g)  importing animals that are prohibited or controlled as 
listed in Rule R657-3; 
 (h)  failure to notify the department concerning an escape 
of an animal from a domestic elk facility; 
 ([g]i)  failure to maintain a perimeter fence that prevents 
escape of domestic elk or ingress of wild cervids into the facility; 
 ([i]j)  failure to notify the [Division of Wildlife 
Resources]DWR that there are wild cervids inside a domestic elk 
farm or hunting park; 
 ([j]k)  failure to participate with the [Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food and the Utah Division of Wildlife 
Resources]department and DWR in a cooperative wild cervid 
removal program; 
 ([k]l)  failure to have inventories match with at least a 95% 
match; 
 ([l]m)  failure to submit the acceptable rate of CWD test 
samples; 
 ([m]n)  failure to have the minimum proper equipment 
necessary to safely and humanely handle animals in the facility; or 
 ([l]o)  inhumane handling or neglect of animals on the 
facility as determined by the department. 
 (2)  Once the department has notified the operator of a 
domestic elk facility of the denial, suspension, or revocation of a 
license to operate a domestic elk facility, the operator has 15 calendar 
days to request an appeal with the [C]commissioner[ of Agriculture]. 
 (3)  An operator of a domestic elk facility that has had their 
license revoked shall remove [all]any elk from the facility within 30 
calendar days by: 
 (a)  sending [all]any elk to an inspected facility for 
slaughter; or 
 (b)  selling elk to another facility. 
 (4)  Any elk remaining on the facility at the end of 30 days 
[will]shall be sold by the department during a special sale conducted 
for that purpose. 
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codyjames@utah.gov 

Brandon Forsyth  801-
710-
9945 

bforsyth@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-32.  Sale and Transfer of Industrial Hemp Waste to 
Medical Cannabis Cultivators 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Changes are needed to allow industrial hemp waste to 
enter the state of Utah following testing by a non-Utah 
laboratory.  This will codify current Department of 
Agriculture and Food (Department) practice and add 
additional clarity to help licensees more fully understand 
this rule requirements. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Subsection R68-32-4(1)(c) has been clarified to remove 
an outdated statutory reference (changed during 2022 
General Session) and allow for a certificate of analysis 
(COA) to be sumitted from a non-Utah laboratory.  
Similarly, "before transportation" has been removed from 
the beginning of Subsection R68-32-5(1) to allow for 
product to be received by a medical cannabis cultivator 
prior to meeting testing requirements of Rule R68-29.  
Rule R68-29 requires testing by a Utah laboratory which is 
not possible if product is coming in from out of state.  The 
same outdated reference has been removed from 
Subsection R68-32-5(1) as well. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These changes are clarifying in nature and make this rule 
consistent with current practice and should not have any 
fiscal impact to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments do not participate in this program and 
will not be impacted by this change. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These changes are clarifying in nature and make this rule 
consistent with current practice and should not have any 
fiscal impact to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These changes are clarifying in nature and make this rule 
consistent with current practice and should not have any 
fiscal impact to non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These changes are clarifying in nature and make this rule 
consistent with current practice and should not have any 
fiscal impact to other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs will not change because the 
requirements of the program will not change. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-41a-501   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 08/24/2022 
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R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-32.  Sale and Transfer of Industrial Hemp Waste to Medical 
Cannabis Cultivators.  
R68-32-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Subsection 4-41a-501(5), this rule establishes 
the procedures governing the sale of a cannabinoid concentrate by an 
industrial hemp processing facility to a cannabis cultivation facility, 
including procedures for sale approval, transportation, 
recordkeeping, testing, and inspection and recall. 
 
R68-32-2.  Definitions. 
 1)  "Batch" means a quantity of: 
 a)  cannabis extract produced on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which the same lots 
of cannabis are used; or 
 b)  cannabis product produced on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which cannabis 
extract is used. 
 2)  "Cannabinoid" means any: 
 a)  naturally occurring derivative of cannabigerolic acid 
(CAS 25555-57-1); or 
 b)  any chemical compound that is both structurally and 
chemically similar to a derivative of cannabigerolic acid. 
 3)  "Cannabis" means any part of the marijuana plant. 
 4)  "Cannabinoid concentrate" means the product of any 
chemical or physical process applied to naturally occurring biomass 
that concentrates or isolates the cannabinoids contained in the 
biomass. 
 5)  "Cannabis cultivation facility" means a person licensed 
by the department that: 
 a)  possesses cannabis; 
 b)i)  grows or intends to grow cannabis; or 
 ii)  acquires or intends to acquire industrial hemp waste 
from an industrial hemp processor; and 
 c)  sells or intends to sell cannabis to a cannabis cultivation 
facility or a cannabis processing facility. 
 6)  "Cannabis product" means a product that: 
 a)  is intended for human use; and 
 b)  contains cannabis or tetrahydrocannabinol. 
 7)  "Certificate of analysis" (COA) means a document 
produced by a testing laboratory listing the quantities of the various 
analytes for which testing was performed. 
 8)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 9)  "Final product" means a reasonably homogeneous 
cannabis product in its final packaged form created using the same 
standard operating procedures and the same formulation. 
 10)  "Industrial hemp" means any part of the cannabis plant, 
whether growing or not, with a concentration of less than 0.3% 
tetrahydrocannabinol by dry weight. 
 11)  "Industrial hemp waste" means[;]: 
 (a)  a cannabinoid concentrate; or 
 (b)  industrial hemp biomass. 
 12)  "Inventory Control System" means the system 
described in Section 4-41a-103. 
 
R68-32-3.  Sale of Industrial Hemp Requirements. 
 1)  Industrial hemp waste shall only be sold by an industrial 
hemp processing facility to a cannabis cultivation facility if: 
 a)  the industrial hemp waste is derived from industrial 
hemp biomass that has been certified as industrial hemp by a state 
department of agriculture or the U.S. Department of Agriculture; and 

 b)  the industrial hemp processing facility has records to 
substantiate the certification. 
 2)  A cannabis cultivation facility may not receive more 
than 120 kilograms of industrial hemp waste in a single license year. 
 
R68-32-4.  Sale of Industrial Hemp - Notification and Approval. 
 1)  Within ten days of the sale of industrial hemp waste by 
an industrial hemp processing facility to a cannabis cultivation 
facility, the industrial hemp processing facility shall: 
 a)  notify the department of the potential sale in writing; 
 b)  provide the department with a COA showing that the 
biomass from which the industrial hemp waste was derived was 
certified industrial hemp by a state department of agriculture or the 
U.S. Department of Agriculture; and 
 c)  provide the department with a COA or other 
documentation of test results showing that a representative sample of 
the industrial hemp waste has been tested [by a licensed cannabis 
testing laboratory ]as required by [Subsection 4-41a-
501(5)(a)(i)]Rule R68-29. 
 2)  The department will approve the sale following review 
of the records of the industrial hemp processing facility to ensure 
compliance with this rule. 
 3)  Upon approval of the sale, the department will issue a 
certificate to the industrial hemp processing facility allowing the sale 
to proceed. 
 4)  No industrial hemp waste may be sold by an industrial 
hemp processing facility unless the industrial hemp processing 
facility has a license in good standing with the department. 
 5)  The department may not approve the sale of 
cannabinoid concentrate with a THC concentration above 0.3%. 
 
R68-32-5.  Transportation. 
 1)  [Before transportation, i]Industrial hemp waste shall 
meet the testing requirements of [Subsection 4-41a-501(5)(a)(i) and 
]Rule R68-29. 
 2)  A printed certificate of sale shall accompany every 
transport of industrial hemp waste. 
 3)  The certificate of sale may not be voided or changed 
after departing from the original industrial hemp processing facility. 
 4)  The receiving cannabis cultivation facility shall ensure 
they are given a copy of the certificate of sale. 
 5)  The receiving cannabis cultivation facility shall ensure 
that the industrial hemp waste received is as described in the 
certificate of sale and shall record the amounts received into the 
inventory control system. 
 6)  The receiving cannabis cultivation facility shall 
document any differences between the quantity specified in the 
certificate of sale and the quantities received in the inventory control 
system. 
 7)  During transport, the industrial hemp waste shall be: 
 a)  shielded from the public view; 
 b)  in a secure container; and 
 c)  temperature-controlled if perishable. 
 8)  A cannabis cultivation facility shall contact the 
department within 24 hours if a vehicle transporting industrial hemp 
waste is involved in an accident that involves product loss. 
 
R68-32-6.  Recordkeeping Requirements. 
 1)  Following the purchase of industrial hemp waste from 
an industrial hemp processing facility, a cannabis cultivation facility 
shall ensure that each batch of industrial hemp waste has a unique 
identification number in the inventory control system. 
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 2)  A cannabis cultivation facility shall maintain a record of 
each purchase of industrial hemp waste, including: 
 a)  a copy of the certification that the industrial hemp waste 
is derived from certified industrial hemp; and 
 b)  if applicable, a copy of the record documenting that the 
extraction of the cannabinoid extract that qualifies as industrial hemp 
waste took place in Utah. 
 3)  Each record shall be made available for inspection by 
the department. 
 
R68-32-7.  Testing Requirements. 
 1)  Industrial hemp waste purchased by a cannabis 
cultivation facility shall be tested by a licensed cannabis testing 
laboratory pursuant to the requirements of Section R68-29-3 before 
transfer of the industrial hemp waste to a cannabis processing facility. 
 2)  Testing shall be documented on a COA and recorded in 
the inventory control system. 
 3)  Final products derived from industrial hemp waste are 
subject to the same testing requirements as other cannabis products. 
 
R68-32-8.  Inspection and Recall. 
 1)  The department has the right to conduct a random 
inspection of industrial hemp processing facilities and medical 
cannabis cultivators that are subject to this rule, including an audit of 
the following to ensure compliance with Utah state law, rules, and 
this rule: 
 a)  the records of an industrial hemp processing facility that 
has sold industrial hemp waste; and 
 b)  the records of a cannabis cultivation facility that has 
purchased industrial hemp waste. 
 2)  Inspection may take place at any time during normal 
business hours. 
 3)  Industrial hemp waste that is identified as out of 
compliance may be subject to recall and destruction by the 
department. 
 
R68-32-9.  Violations. 
 1)  Violations of this rule include: 
 a)  sale or transfer of industrial hemp waste without 
notifying the department; 
 b)  sale of cannabinoid concentrate with a THC level 
greater than 0.3%; 
 c)  a medical cannabis facility allowing industrial hemp 
waste into the facility without entering it into the inventory control 
system; 
 d)  a medical cannabis facility allowing industrial hemp 
waste into the facility without testing; 
 e)  a facility not keeping and maintaining each record 
required by this rule; 
 f)  a facility falsifying a record required to be kept under 
this rule; 
 g)  a facility denying the department access to the records; 
and 
 h)  transporting industrial hemp waste to a cannabis 
cultivation facility without a certificate of sale. 
 2)  The department shall assess fines of: 
 a)  $3,000 - $5,000 for public safety violations; 
 b)  $1,000 - $5,000 for regulatory violations; and 
 c)  $500 - $5,000 for licensing violations. 
 3)  The department shall calculate fines based on the level 
of violation and the adverse effect or potential adverse effect at the 
time of the incidents giving rise to the violation. 

 4)  The department may enhance or reduce the penalty 
based on the seriousness of the violation. 
 
KEY:  industrial hemp waste, industrial hemp processing facility, 
cannabis cultivation facility 
Date of Last Change:  [June 8,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41a-
501(5) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R82-1-102 Filing ID: 
54841 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Alcoholic Beverage Services 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 1625 S 900 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84104 

Mailing address: PO Box 30408 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Vickie Ashby 801-

977-
6801 

vickieashby@utah.gov 

Angela Micklos 801-
977-
6800 

afmicklos@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R82-1-102.  Definitions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 176, passed in the 2022 General Session, expanded 
the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services' ability to 
examine whether a producer who is applying for the 
reduced markup pursuant to Subsection 32B-2-304(3) is 
part of a "controlled group of manufacturers", and granted 
the commission rulemaking authority to define "controlled 
group of manufacturers."  In 2021, the commission defined 
"controlled group of breweries" pursuant to rulemaking 
authority granted in H.B. 371.  This amendment modifies 
this section to apply to all types of alcohol manufacturing. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
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substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment will modify the section to define 
"controlled group of manufacturers." 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
None--Any anticipated cost or savings to the state budget 
are a result of statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  
Costs and savings for administering this change were 
calculated as part of the fiscal note.  This section does not 
create additional cost or savings beyond what was 
anticipated during the legislative process. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

None--Any anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments are a result of statutory requirements of S.B. 
176 (2022).  Costs and savings for administering this 
change were calculated as part of the fiscal note.  This 
section does not create additional cost or savings beyond 
what was anticipated during the legislative process. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
None--Any anticipated cost or savings to small businesses 
are a result of statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  
Costs and savings for administering this change were 
calculated as part of the fiscal note.  This section does not 
create additional cost or savings beyond what was 
anticipated during the legislative process. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None--Any anticipated cost or savings are a result of 
statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  Costs and 
savings for administering this change were calculated as 
part of the fiscal note.  This section does not create 
additional cost or savings beyond what was anticipated 
during the legislative process. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--Any anticipated cost or savings are a result of 
statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  Costs and 
savings for administering this change were calculated as 
part of the fiscal note.  This section does not create 
additional cost or savings beyond what was anticipated 
during the legislative process. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no fees associated with this process.  Any 
anticipated cost or savings are a result of statutory 
requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  Costs and savings for 
administering this change were calculated as part of the 
fiscal note.  This section does not create additional cost or 
savings beyond what was anticipated during the legislative 
process. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Services, Tiffany Clason, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 32B-2-304 Section 32B-2-202  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tiffany Clason, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/24/2022 

 
R82.  Alcoholic Beverage [Control]Services, Administration. 
R82-1.  General. 
R82-1-102.  Definitions. 
 Definitions of terms in the Act are used in [these rules]Title 
R82, except where the context of the terms in [these rules]Title R82 
clearly indicates a different meaning. 
 (1)  "Act" means the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act, Title 
32B. 
 (2)  "Commission" means the Utah Alcoholic Beverage 
Services Commission. 
 (3)  "Controlled Group of [Breweries]Manufacturers" 
means a group of incorporated or non-incorporated 
[breweries]alcohol manufacturers that are related directly or 
indirectly through more than 50% common ownership or control by 
any person[ or persons].  Additionally, a[ ]n alcohol 
manufacturer[brewery] is considered to be part of a controlled group 
of [breweries]manufacturers if more than 50% of the 
[brewery]alcohol manufacturing entity is owned or controlled 
directly or indirectly either by, or in common with, another [brewery 
or breweries]alcohol manufacturer. 
 (4)  "Department " or "DABS" means the Utah Department 
of Alcoholic Beverage Services. 
 (5)  "Director" means the director of the Department of 
Alcoholic Beverage Services. 
 (6)  "Dispensing System" means a dispensing system or 
device which dispenses liquor in controlled quantities not exceeding 
1.5 ounces and has a meter which counts the number of pours served. 
 (7)  "Guest Room" means a space normally utilized by a 
natural person for occupancy, usually a traveler who lodges at an inn, 
hotel, or resort. 
 (8)  "Manager" means, depending on the context, a: 
 (a)  a person chosen or appointed to manage, direct, or 
administer the affairs of another person, corporation, or company; 

 (b)  an individual chosen or appointed to direct, supervise, 
or administer the operations at a licensed business; or 
 (c)  an individual who supervises the furnishing of an 
alcoholic product to another, regardless of the exact employment title 
that the person holds. 
 (9)  "Person" means the same as that term is defined in 
Section 68-3-12.5. 
 (10)  "Point of Sale" means that portion of a package 
agency, restaurant, limited restaurant, beer-only restaurant, airport 
lounge, on-premise banquet premises, reception center, recreational 
amenity on-premise beer retailer, tavern, single event permitted area, 
temporary special event beer permitted area, or public service special 
use permitted area that has been designated by the Department as an 
alcoholic beverage selling area.  It also means that portion of an 
establishment that sells beer for off-premises consumption where the 
beer is displayed or offered for sale. 
 (11)  "Respondent" means a Department licensee, or 
permittee, or employee or agent of a licensee or permittee, or other 
entity against whom a letter of admonishment or notice of agency 
action is directed. 
 (12)  "Staff" or "authorized staff member" means a person 
[duly ]authorized by the director of the Department to perform a 
particular act. 
 (13)  "subpart" refers to subparagraphs of this rule. 
 (14)  "Utah Alcoholic Beverage Control Laws" means any 
Utah statutes, Commission rules and municipal and county 
ordinances relating to the manufacture, possession, transportation, 
distribution, sale, supply, wholesale, warehousing, and furnishing of 
alcoholic beverages. 
 (15)  "Warning Sign" means a sign no smaller than 8.5 
inches high by 11 inches wide, clearly readable, stating:  "Warning: 
drinking alcoholic beverages during pregnancy can cause birth 
defects and permanent brain damage for the child.  Call the Utah 
Department of Health at [(insert most current toll-free 
number)]INSERT MOST CURRENT TOLL-FREE NUMBER with 
questions or for more information" and "Warning:  Driving under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious crime that is prosecuted 
aggressively in Utah."  The two warning messages shall be in the 
same font size but different font styles that are no smaller than 36 
point bold.  The font size for the health department contact 
information shall be no smaller than 20 point bold. 
 
KEY:  alcoholic beverages 
Date of Last Change:  [June 1,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  32B-2-202; 
32B-1-208; 32B-1-304(7)(a); 32B-1-304(7)(b) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R82-1-208 Filing ID: 
54842 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Alcoholic Beverage Services 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 1625 S 900 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84104 
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Mailing address: PO Box 30408 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Vickie Ashby 801-

977-
6801 

vickieashby@utah.gov 

Angela Micklos 801-
977-
6800 

afmicklos@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R82-1-208.  Percentage Lease Agreements 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Section 32B-1-208 provides that the commission shall 
make rules establishing the maximum percentage of 
revenue from alcohol sales a percentage lease agreement 
may require.  The current version of this rule provides that 
the maximum percentage of revenue from alcohol sales 
allowable in a percentage lease agreement is 20%.  The 
proposed modification in Subsections R82-1-208(4)(a) 
and (d) lowers the amount to 19%, as at the 20% level, the 
landlord would be considered to hold an ownership 
interest that would require them to undergo a background 
check. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment will modify the rule to reduce the 
maximum percentage of revenue from alcohol sales 
allowable in a percentage lease agreement from 20% to 
19%. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The fiscal impact of this amendment on the state budget is 
inestimable as it is unknown how many applicants will 
submit a percentage lease agreement where the landlord 
holds an ownership interest.  Additionally, the proposed 
change from a cap of 20% to 19% is minute, and any fiscal 
impact would be miniscule. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

The fiscal impact of this amendment for local governments 
is inestimable as it is unknown how many applicants will 
submit a percentage lease agreement where the landlord 
holds an ownership interest.  Additionally, the proposed 
change from a cap of 20% to 19% is minute, and any fiscal 
impact would be miniscule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The fiscal impact of this amendment for small businesses 
is inestimable as it is unknown how many applicants will 
submit a percentage lease agreement where the landlord 
holds an ownership interest.  Additionally, the proposed 
change from a cap of 20% to 19% is minute, and any fiscal 
impact would be miniscule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The fiscal impact of this amendment for non-small 
businesses is inestimable as it is unknown how many 
applicants will submit a percentage lease agreement 
where the landlord holds an ownership interest.  
Additionally, the proposed change from a cap of 20% to 
19% is minute, and any fiscal impact would be miniscule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The fiscal impact of this amendment is inestimable as it is 
unknown how many applicants will submit a percentage 
lease agreement where the landlord holds an ownership 
interest.  Additionally, the proposed change from a cap of 
20% to 19% is minute, and any fiscal impact would be 
miniscule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The fiscal impact of this amendment is inestimable as it is 
unknown how many applicants will submit a percentage 
lease agreement where the landlord holds an ownership 
interest.  Additionally, the proposed change from a cap of 
20% to 19% is minute, and any fiscal impact would be 
miniscule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Services, Tiffany Clason, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 32B-1-208 Section 32B-2-202  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tiffany Clason, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/24/2022 

 
R82.  Alcoholic Beverage Control, Administration. 
R82-1.  General. 
R82-1-208.  Percentage Lease Agreements. 
 (1)  The authority for this rule is Section 32B-1-208 
 (2)  This rule establishes the following: 
 (a)  the maximum percentage of revenue from alcohol sales 
a percentage lease agreement may require; and 
 (b)  the procedure for submitting a percentage lease to the 
department. 
 (3)  As used in this section, "Percentage lease" means the 
same as in Section 32B-1-208. 
 (4)(a)  The maximum percentage of revenue from alcohol 
sales allowed in a percentage lease is [20 ]19%[percent], whether that 
percentage is: 
 (i)  described through a rent-sharing or profit-sharing 
agreement; 
 (ii)  calculated in part on the gross sales or profits of the 
licensee, including profits from the sale of alcoholic beverages; or 
 (iii)  described in the percentage lease in some other 
manner. 
 (b)  Parties to a percentage lease must submit a copy to the 
department for review as part of the application for licensing. 
 (c)  If during the review process, the Department [is unable 
to]cannot determine how alcohol sales in a percentage lease 
agreement are being shared, based on the language in the percentage 
lease agreement, the department staff shall return the lease agreement 
and license application, and the Commission may decline to act on 
the application. 
 (d)  An applicant may resubmit a lease once the language 
in the lease is sufficiently clear for the Department to determine that 
no more than [20]19% of profits from the sale of alcoholic beverages 
will be distributed to a lessor. 
 (e)  The lessor cannot control or acquire an ownership 
interest in the business of the lessee. 
 (f)  An industry representative is prohibited from profit -
sharing and ownership of retail license operations. 
 
KEY:  alcoholic beverages 
Date of Last Change:  [June 1,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  32B-2-202; 
32B-1-208; 32B-1-304(7)(a); 32B-1-304(7)(b) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R82-2-202.1 Filing ID: 
54843 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Alcoholic Beverage Services 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 1625 S 900 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84104 
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Mailing address: PO Box 30408 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Vickie Ashby 801-

977-
6801 

vickieashby@utah.gov 

Angela Micklos 801-
977-
6800 

afmicklos@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R82-2-202.1.  Late License Renewals 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This new section replaces existing Section R82-5-202, 
which allowed for late renewals for retail licenses (defined 
in Subsection 32B-1-102(111)).  S.B. 176, passed in the 
2022 General Session, expanded this rulemaking 
authority to apply to all license types. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Section 
R82-5-202 is under ID 84847 in this issue, September 15, 
2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This new section will allow late renewals for all license 
types. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
None--Any anticipated cost or savings to the state budget 
are a result of statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  
Costs and savings for administering this change were 
calculated as part of the fiscal note.  This section does not 
create additional cost or savings beyond what was 
anticipated during the legislative process. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

None--Any anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments are a result of statutory requirements of S.B. 
176 (2022).  Costs and savings for administering this 
change were calculated as part of the fiscal note.  This 
section does not create additional cost or savings beyond 
what was anticipated during the legislative process. 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
None--Any anticipated cost or savings to small businesses 
are a result of statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  
Costs and savings for administering this change were 
calculated as part of the fiscal note.  This section does not 
create additional cost or savings beyond what was 
anticipated during the legislative process. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None--Any anticipated cost or savings are a result of 
statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  Costs and 
savings for administering this change were calculated as 
part of the fiscal note.  This section does not create 
additional cost or savings beyond what was anticipated 
during the legislative process. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--Any anticipated cost or savings are a result of 
statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  Costs and 
savings for administering this change were calculated as 
part of the fiscal note.  This section does not create 
additional cost or savings beyond what was anticipated 
during the legislative process. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any anticipated cost or savings are a result of statutory 
requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  Costs and savings for 
administering this change were calculated as part of the 
fiscal note.  This section does not create additional cost or 
savings beyond what was anticipated during the legislative 
process. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Services, Tiffany Clason, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 32B-2-202   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tiffany Clason, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/24/2022 

 
 

R82.  Alcoholic Beverage Services, Administration. 
R82-2.  Administration. 
R82-2-202.1.  Late License Renewals. 
 (1)  Authority.  This rule is adopted pursuant to Section 
32B-2-202, which authorizes the Commission to make rules 
permitting and establishing the parameters of late license renewals. 
 (2)  Definitions.  For purposes of this rule, "late renewal" 
means the Department's receipt, after the date of the statutory renewal 
deadline related to the license at issue, of the requisite documents and 
payment to renew a license. 
 (3)  Application: 
 (a)  The Department may accept a late renewal application 
for a license received at the Department's Administrative Office by 5 
p.m. the 10th day of the month that follows the statutory renewal 
deadline for that license type.  If the 10th of the month falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or state or federal holiday, the Department shall 
consider a completed renewal application that is received by 5 p.m. 
on the next business day following the weekend or holiday. 
 (b)  Licensees who fail to meet the deadline established in 
this rule must apply for a new license. 
 (c)  The licensee seeking late renewal shall submit to the 
Department: 
 (i)  Each document required for renewal for the specific 
license type; 
 (ii)  The statutory renewal fee for that license; and 
 (iii)  A late fee either prescribed in Section 32B-2-202 or 
adopted in accordance with Section 63J-1-504. 
 
KEY:  alcoholic beverages 
Date of Last Change:  [August 3,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  32B-2-202; 
32B-1-206 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R82-2-306 Filing ID: 
54844 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Alcoholic Beverage Services 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 1625 S 900 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84104 

Mailing address: PO Box 30408 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Vickie Ashby 801-

977-
6801 

vickieashby@utah.gov 

Angela Micklos 801-
977-
6800 

afmicklos@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R82-2-306.  Operational Matters 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 176, passed in the 2022 General Session, modified 
Subsection 32B-2-605(13) to allow Type 5 package 
agencies to sell alcohol on Sundays and holidays if the 
manufacturer associated with the package agency also 
had a bar or restaurant license.  This proposed rule simply 
reflects this change in statute. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment will modify the rule to allow Type 5 
package agencies to sell alcohol on Sundays and holidays 
if the manufacturer associated with the package agency 
also holds a bar or restaurant license. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
None--Any anticipated cost or savings to the state budget 
are a result of statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  
Costs and savings for administering this change were 
calculated as part of the fiscal note.  This section does not 
create additional cost or savings beyond what was 
anticipated during the legislative process. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

None--Any anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments are a result of statutory requirements of S.B. 
176 (2022).  Costs and savings for administering this 
change were calculated as part of the fiscal note.  This 
section does not create additional cost or savings beyond 
what was anticipated during the legislative process. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
None--Any anticipated cost or savings to small businesses 
are a result of statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  
Costs and savings for administering this change were 
calculated as part of the fiscal note.  This section does not 
create additional cost or savings beyond what was 
anticipated during the legislative process. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

None--Any anticipated cost or savings are a result of 
statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  Costs and 
savings for administering this change were calculated as 
part of the fiscal note.  This section does not create 
additional cost or savings beyond what was anticipated 
during the legislative process. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--Any anticipated cost or savings are a result of 
statutory requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  Costs and 
savings for administering this change were calculated as 
part of the fiscal note.  This section does not create 
additional cost or savings beyond what was anticipated 
during the legislative process. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no fees associated with this process.  Any 
anticipated cost or savings are a result of statutory 
requirements of S.B. 176 (2022).  Costs and savings for 
administering this change were calculated as part of the 
fiscal note.  This section does not create additional cost or 
savings beyond what was anticipated during the legislative 
process. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Services, Tiffany Clason, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 32B-2-605 Section 32B-2-202  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tiffany Clason, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/24/2022 

 
R82.  Alcoholic Beverage Services, Administration. 
R82-2.  Administration. 
R82-2-306.  Operational Matters. 
 (1)  This rule is made pursuant to Section 32B-2-202, which 
authorizes the Commission to make rules governing package 
agencies. 
 (2)  Hours of Operation. 
 (a)  Type 1[,] and 2[, and 5] package agencies may operate 
from 10 a.m. until [12 ]midnight, Monday through Saturday.  
However, the actual operating hours may be less in the discretion of 
the package agent with the approval of the Department.  Type 2 
agencies shall be open for business at least seven hours a day, five 
days a week, except where closure is otherwise required by law.[  

Type 5 package agencies may, at the discretion of the package agent, 
be open as early as 8 a.m. for sales to licensees with the approval of 
the Department.  Type 5 package agencies may also be open on 
Sundays and state and federal holidays if the package agency is 
located at a manufacturing facility licensed by the Commission and 
the manufacturing facility holds a full-service restaurant license, a 
limited-service restaurant license, a beer-only restaurant license, or a 
bar license.] 
 (b)  Type 3 package agencies may operate from 10 a.m. 
until 10 p.m., Monday through Saturday, but may remain closed on 
Mondays at the discretion of the package agent.  However, the actual 
operating hours may be less in the discretion of the package agent 
with the approval of the Department, provided the package agency 
operates at least seven hours a day. 
 (c)  Type 4 package agencies may operate from 10 a.m. 
until 1 a.m., Monday through Friday, and 10 a.m. until [12 ]midnight 
on Saturday.  However, the actual operating hours may be less at the 
discretion of the package agent with the approval of the Department.  
A Type 4 package agency in a resort that is licensed under Title 32B, 
Chapter 8, Resort License Act may operate 24 hours a day, Monday 
through Sunday to provide room service to the room of a guest of the 
resort. 
 (d)  Type 5 package agencies may operate from 10 a.m. 
until midnight, Monday through Sunday.  However, the actual 
operating hours may be less in the discretion of the package agent 
with the approval of the Department.  Type 5 package agencies may, 
at the discretion of the package agent, be open as early as 8 a.m. for 
sales to licensees with the approval of the Department.  Type 5 
package agencies may also be open on Sundays and state and federal 
holidays if the package agency is located at a manufacturing facility 
licensed by the Commission and only sells alcoholic products 
produced at the manufacturing facility. 
 ([d]e)  Any change in the hours of operation of any package 
agency requires prior Department approval and shall be submitted in 
writing by the package agent to the Department. 
 ([e]f)(i)  A package agency shall not operate on a Sunday 
or legal holiday except to the extent authorized by Section 32B-2-
605, which allows the following to operate on a Sunday or legal 
holiday: 
 (A)  a package agency located in certain licensed wineries, 
breweries, and distilleries; and 
 (B)  a package agency held by a resort that is licensed under 
Title 32B, Chapter 8, Resort License Act that does not sell liquor in 
a manner similar to a state store which is limited to a Type 4 package 
agency. 
 (ii)  If a legal holiday falls on a Sunday, the following 
Monday will be observed as the holiday by a Type 2 and 3 package 
agency. 
 (3)  Size of Outlet.  The retail selling space devoted to 
liquor sales in a Type 2 or 3 package agency must be at least one 
hundred square feet. 
 (4)  Inventory Size.  Type 2 and 3 package agencies must 
maintain at least 50 code numbers of inventory at a retail value of at 
least five thousand dollars and must maintain a representative 
inventory by brand, code, and size. 
 (5)  Access to General Public.  Type 1, 2, and 3 package 
agencies must be easily accessible to the general consuming public. 
 (6)  Purchase of Inventory.  Any new package agencies, at 
the discretion of the Department, will purchase and maintain their 
inventory of liquor. 
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 (7)  Recordkeeping.  Records required by the Department 
shall be kept current and available to the Department for auditing 
purposes for at least three years. 
 
KEY:  alcoholic beverages 
Date of Last Change:  [August 3,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  32B-2-202; 
32B-1-206 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R82-2-308 Filing ID: 
54845 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Alcoholic Beverage Services 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 1625 S 900 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84104 

Mailing address: PO Box 30408 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Vickie Ashby 801-

977-
6801 

vickieashby@utah.gov 

Angela Micklos 801-
977-
6800 

afmicklos@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R82-2-308.  Consignment Inventory Package Agencies 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Subsection R82-2-308(3)(e)(i) requires the Department of 
Alcoholic Beverage Services (DABS) to audit each 
consignment package agency at least twice each fiscal 
year.  A recent audit conducted by the State Auditor noted 
that "if inventory systems are functioning properly and 
providing DABS insight into in-store inventory, an annual 
audit may be sufficient."  This new requirement mandates 
only one audit per fiscal year but allows for additional 
audits if deemed necessary. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This amendment will modify the section to mandate only 
one audit per fiscal year but allows for additional audits if 
deemed necessary. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
None--There are only 26 consignment package agencies 
(PAs).  The majority of the cost in conducting an audit for 
these rural PAs is transportation, but we schedule audits 
in clusters by location such that we would be auditing the 
consignment PAs when DABS otherwise would be in their 
location.  Our finance director does not anticipate a 
measurable savings as staff and transportation costs will 
remain the same since staff will be in the rural areas 
conducting other audits. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

None--This section does not create additional cost or 
savings for local governments, as it does not regulate 
them. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
None--This section does not create additional cost or 
savings for small businesses, as it does not fiscally impact 
them.  At most, only 26 consignment package agencies 
could save personnel time if they are audited only once a 
year rather than twice, but the DABS is unable to calculate 
the fiscal impact of such. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None--This section does not create additional cost or 
savings for non-small businesses, as it does not regulate 
them. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--This section does not create additional cost or 
savings for persons other than small businesses, non-
small businesses, state, or local government entities as it 
does not regulate them. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no fees associated with this process.  This 
section does not create additional cost or savings. 
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G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Services, Tiffany Clason, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 32B-2-605 Section 32B-2-202  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tiffany Clason, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/24/2022 

 
R82.  Alcoholic Beverage Services, Administration. 
R82-2.  Administration. 
R82-2-308.  Consignment Inventory Package Agencies. 
 (1)  This rule is made pursuant to Section 32B-2-202, which 
authorizes the Commission to make rules governing package 
agencies. 
 (2)  Purpose.  At the discretion of the Department, liquor 
may be provided by the Department to a Type 2 and Type 3 Package 
Agency for sale on consignment pursuant to Subsection 32B-2-
605(5).  This rule provides the procedures for such consignment 
sales. 
 (3)  Application of the rule. 
 (a)  Consignment Inventory. 
 (i)  The initial amount of consignment inventory furnished 
to the Package Agency shall be established by the Department. 
 (ii)  The consignment inventory amount shall be posted to 
the Department's accounting system as "Consignment Inventory 
Account." 
 (iii)  The consignment inventory amount shall be stated in 
the Department's contract with the Package Agency. 
 (iv)  Any adjustment to the consignment inventory amount 
shall be done using a transfer, shipment, or payment of money.  A 
copy of the transfer, adjusting shipment, or evidence of payment shall 
be included in the Package Agency's file. 
 (v)  The consignment inventory amount may be adjusted 
from time to time based on the Package Agency's monthly average 
sales.  Any adjustment shall be made by a properly executed 
amendment to the Department's contract with the Package Agency.  
In the event 12-month average sales are lower than the Package 
Agency's current consignment amount the Department may lower the 
consignment amount.  If the consignment amount is to be reduced the 
Package Agency must pay for the difference through cash payment 
or returned inventory.  Any adjustment to the consignment amount 
will be handled through a contract amendment or a new contract. 
 (b)  Payments. 
 (i)  Agencies receiving shipments or transfers are required 
to have an [ACH (]Automated Clearing House (ACH) payment 
system set up with the Department. 
 (ii)  Statements showing unpaid debts and applied credits 
will be generated and emailed to the agencies on each Thursday after 
credit card payments have been posted that Wednesday to reflect 
credit card payments received.  Ordered liquor inventory will [now 
]reflect 30 days to pay from the order date, instead of being due upon 
order.  This generated weekly statement will reflect payments 
received against the oldest outstanding invoices first.  Payments 
received over those previous statement balances will be credited 
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chronologically against ordered inventory due after previous 
statements.  It is the agent's responsibility to review the statement and 
contact the Department with any discrepancies [prior to]before the 
payment date. 
 (iii)  Agents may, in advance of the Department drawing 
payments via ACH, remit payment to the Department on balances 
due from outstanding invoices which have not received enough credit 
card payments or other payments to cover those outstanding 
balances.  Payment will be for the statement total.  If no other 
payment has been received by the due date, payment will be 
automatically drawn through the ACH process on the due date unless 
prior arrangements have been made between the agent and the 
Department. 
 (iv)  Insufficient funds, returned checks, and unpaid 
balances from a previous statement are past due.  The Department 
may assess the legal rate of interest on the amount owed and the 
Package Agency may be referred to the Commission for possible 
termination of the contract and closure. 
 (v)  Any delivery discrepancies shall be resolved using the 
LQ9 form.  Debits or credits shall be issued based on proper 
completion and submission of the LQ9 form to the Department.  
Payment shall be made in accordance with the Package Agency's 
statement by the due date whether or not any discrepancies have been 
resolved. 
 (c)  Transfers. 
 (i)  Transfers, up or down, shall be adjusted to the Package 
Agency's payment due the Department. 
 (ii)  Transfers in to the Package Agency will add to the 
amount owed to the Department. 
 (iii)  Transfers out will subtract from the amount owed to 
the Department on the next check due to the Department. 
 (d)  Credit and Debit Card Credits. 
 (i)  Credit for credit and debit cards processed at the 
Package Agency will be posted to the Package Agency's statement. 
 (ii)  It is the agent's responsibility to mail in their settlement 
report and individual receipts to the Department to receive credit. 
 (e)  Audits. 
 (i)  The Department shall audit the Package Agency at least 
[twice]once each fiscal year, but may conduct additional audits if 
deemed necessary. 
 (ii)  The Package Agency is subject to a Department audit 
at any time. 
 
KEY:  alcoholic beverages 
Date of Last Change:  [August 3,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  32B-2-202; 
32B-1-206 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R82-2-309 Filing ID: 
54846 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Alcoholic Beverage Services 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 1625 S 900 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84104 

Mailing address: PO Box 30408 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Vickie Ashby 801-

977-
6801 

vickieashby@utah.gov 

Angela Micklos 801-
977-
6800 

afmicklos@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R82-2-309.  Type 4 Package Agency Room Service – Mini 
Bottle/187 ml Wine Sales 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Section 32B-2-303 prohibits the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Services (Department) from purchasing and 
stocking spirituous liquor in containers smaller than 200 
ml, unless otherwise allowed by the commission.  Allowing 
the sale of 50 ml and 187 ml bottles in a small pilot program 
aligns the state's retail operations with industry norms to 
meet reasonable consumer demand in a safe and 
responsible manner. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment will modify the rule to allow, not require:  
1) the Department to conduct a small pilot program 
whereby it can purchase and store as small as 50 ml 
bottles of spirituous liquor and as small as 187 ml bottles 
of wine; 2) package agencies the same authority, with 
specific parameters that apply to the different types of 
package agencies; and 3) Public Service Permittees to 
purchase, store, and sell these smaller bottles, with 
sales/service limited to the "public conveyance" (airline, 
train, etc.) that the permittee operates.  This section also 
requires package agencies to purchase by the case.  Type 
4 package agencies are limited to selling the small bottles 
in conjunction with room service.  Type 5 package 
agencies must sell by the case. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 
Cost or savings to the state budget is inestimable.  A 
planned small pilot program will assist with revenue data 
collection and analysis to better determine the revenue 
savings and/or increase to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

None--This section does not create additional cost or 
savings for local governments, because it does not 
regulate them. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Cost or savings to small businesses is inestimable, as 
there is no way to predict how many package agencies will 
desire the new product size after the pilot program 
concludes, and whether overall sales will increase or 
decrease. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Costs or savings is inestimable, as hotels and other larger 
alcohol licensees are already able to purchase and sell 
these smaller bottles in the course of providing room 
service. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Costs or savings to individual purchasers is inestimable, 
as there is no way to predict how a new product size will 
impact personal buying choices. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no fees associated with this process.  This 
section does not create additional cost or savings. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Services, Tiffany Clason, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 32B-2-303 Section 32B-2-202  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tiffany Clason, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/24/2022 
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R82.  Alcoholic Beverage Services, Administration. 
R82-2.  Administration. 
R82-2-309.  [Type 4 Package Agency Room Service - Mini-
Bottle]50 Milliliter Spirituous Liquor/187 [ml]Milliliter Wine 
Sales. 
 (1)(a)  Authority and Purpose.  Pursuant to [s]Section 32B-
2-303, the Department may not purchase or stock [alcoholic 
beverages]spirituous liquor in containers smaller than 200 milliliters, 
except as otherwise allowed by the Commission. 
 (b)  The Commission hereby [allows the limited use of 50 
milliliter "mini-bottles" of distilled spirits and 187 milliliter bottles 
of wine as one form of room service sales by Type 4 package agencies 
located in hotels and resorts.]authorizes: 
 (i)  The Department to purchase, store, and sell at its state 
stores spirituous liquor in bottles as small as 50 milliliters and wine 
in bottles as small as 187 milliliters; and 
 (ii)  Package agencies to purchase, store, and sell spirituous 
liquor in bottles as small as 50 milliliters and wine in bottles as small 
as 187 milliliters. 
[ (c)  The conditions outlined in this section are imposed to 
ensure that these smaller bottle sales are limited to patrons of sleeping 
rooms and are not offered to the general public.] 
 (2)  Application of Rule. 
[ (a)  The Department will not maintain a regular inventory 
of distilled spirits and wine in the smaller bottle sizes, but will accept 
special orders for these products from a Type 4 package agency.  
Special orders may be placed with the Department's purchasing 
division, any state store, or any Type 2 or 3 package agency. 
 (b)  The Type 4 package agency must order in full case lots 
and all sales are final. 
 (c)  If the hotel or resort has a Type 1 package agency with 
Type 4 privileges, the smaller bottle sized products must be stored in 
a secure area separate from the Type 1 package agency inventory. 
 (d)  Sale and use of alcohol in the smaller bottle sizes is 
restricted to providing one form of room service to guests in sleeping 
rooms in the hotel or resort, and may not be used for other purposes, 
or be sold to the general public. 
 (e)  Failure of the Type 4 package agency to strictly adhere 
to the provisions of this rule is grounds for the Department to 
terminate its contract with the Type 4 package agency.] 
 (a)  Type 1, 2, and 3 package agencies may purchase, store, 
and sell spirituous liquor in bottles as small as 50 milliliters and wine 
in bottles as small as 187 milliliters to the general public. 
 (b)  Type 4 package agencies located in hotels and resorts 
may serve spirituous liquor in bottles as small as 50 milliliters and 
wine in bottles as small as 187 milliliter bottles as one form of room 
service sales. 
 (i)  Sale and use of alcohol in the smaller bottle sizes is 
restricted to providing spirituous liquor and wine to guests in sleeping 
rooms in the hotel or resort as part of a food and beverage room 
service program adopted by the hotel or resort, and may not be used 
for other purposes, or be sold to the general public. 
 (ii)  Failure of the Type 4 package agency to strictly adhere 
to the provisions of this rule is grounds for the Department to 
terminate its contract with the Type 4 package agency. 
 (c)  Type 5 package agencies may store their own 
manufactured and branded spirituous liquor in bottles as small as 50 
milliliters and their own manufactured and branded wine in bottles as 
small as 187 milliliters.  Type 5 package agencies shall sell self-
manufactured spirituous liquor or wine in bottles smaller than 200 
milliliters only by the case. 

 (d)  Type 1, 2, 3, and 4 package agency purchases of  
spirituous liquor and wine in bottles smaller than 200 milliliters shall 
be  in full case lots and all sales are final. 
 
KEY:  alcoholic beverages 
Date of Last Change:  [August 3,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  32B-2-202; 
32B-1-206 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R82-5-202 Filing ID: 
54847 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Alcoholic Beverage Services 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 1625 S 900 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84104 

Mailing address: PO Box 30408 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Vickie Ashby 801-

977-
6801 

vickieashby@utah.gov 

Angela Micklos 801-
977-
6800 

afmicklos@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R82-5-202.  Retail License Renewals 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
In the 2022 General Session, S.B. 176 expanded the 
commission's rulemaking authority to enact rules related 
to "late renewals" for all license types, which encompasses 
all alcohol licenses issued by the commission.  Section 
R82-5-202 governs late renewals for only "retail licenses" 
as defined in Subsection 32B-1-102(111).  Since retail 
licenses are a subset of all alcohol licenses, there is no 
need to have a separate rule for only retail licenses.  
Section R82-5-202 will be replaced with Section R82-2-
202.1 which governs the process for late renewals for all 
license types. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Section 
R82-2-202.1 is under ID 54843 in this issue, September 
15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This section will be deleted and replaced with Section R82-
2-202.1 which incorporates the provisions for late retail 
license renewals that were previously in Section R82-5-
202 and expands them to include all alcohol license types, 
as mandated in S.B. 176 (2022). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
None--This rule will reduce the amount of fees that the 
department receives for late renewals, but not 
substantially, given that there are only a handful of 
licensees that renew late.  While the impact to an individual 
licensee may be several hundred dollars, the impact to the 
department's revenue, and therefore, the state budget, is 
miniscule.  The fiscal impact of this amendment on the 
state budget is inestimable as it is unknown how may 
licensees will renew late and be charged the reduced 
amount. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

None--This rule does not create additional cost or savings 
for local governments because it does not regulate them. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
None -- The deletion of this section and enactment of 
Section R82-2-202.1 could save alcohol licensees who 
miss the statutory renewal deadline for their license 
several hundred dollars.  However, the exact fiscal impact 
of this amendment is inestimable as it is unknown how 
may licensees will renew late and be charged the reduced 
amount. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The deletion of this section and enactment of Section R82-
2-202.1 could save alcohol licensees who miss the 
statutory renewal deadline for their license several 
hundred dollars.  However, the exact fiscal impact of this 
amendment is inestimable as it is unknown how may 
licensees will renew late and be charged the reduced 
amount. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

None--This rule does not create additional cost or savings 
for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state or local government entities.  The exact 
fiscal impact of this amendment is inestimable as it is 
unknown how many persons will renew late and be 
charged the reduced amount. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
None--This rule will save alcohol licensees who miss the 
statutory renewal deadline for their license several 
hundred dollars.  Currently, alcohol licensees who miss the 
renewal deadline must submit the higher fees associated 
with a new license application, which in most cases greatly 
exceeds $300. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Services, Tiffany Clason, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 32B-2-202   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tiffany Clason, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/24/2022 

 
R82.  Alcoholic Beverage Services, Administration. 
R82-5.  General Retail License Provisions. 
[R82-5-202.  Retail License Renewals. 
 This rule is adopted pursuant to Section 32B-5-202, which 
authorizes the Commission to make rules permitting and establishing 
the parameters of late retail license renewals. 
 For purposes of this rule, "late renewal" means the 
Department's receipt, after the date of the statutory renewal deadline 
related to the retail license at issue, of the requisite documents and 
payment to renew a retail license. 
 The Department may accept a late renewal application for 
a retail license received at the Department's Administrative Office by 
5 p.m. the 10th day of the month that follows the statutory renewal 
deadline for that retail license type.  If the 10th of the month falls on 
a Saturday, Sunday, or state or federal holiday, the Department shall 
consider a completed renewal application that is received by 5 p.m. 
on the next business day following the weekend or holiday. 
 Retail licensees who fail to meet the deadline established 
in Section R82-5-202 must apply for a new retail license. 
 The licensee seeking late renewal shall submit to the 
Department: 
 (1)  Each document required for renewal pursuant to 
Section 32B-5-202; 
 (2)  The statutory renewal fee for that retail license; and 
 (3)  A $300 late fee.] 

KEY:  alcoholic beverages 
Date of Last Change:  [August 3,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  32B-2-202 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R82-6-701 Filing ID: 
54848 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Alcoholic Beverage Services 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 1625 S 900 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84104 

Mailing address: PO Box 30408 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Vickie Ashby 801-

977-
6801 

vickieashby@utah.gov 

Angela Micklos 801-
977-
6800 

afmicklos@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R82-6-701.  On Premise Beer Retailer – Reserved 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Section 32B-6-702 grants the commission rulemaking 
authority to define "commission approved activity" related 
to an on-premise beer retailer license that is not a tavern.  
The statute clearly states that the activity may not involve 
the use of a dangerous weapon.  The proposed section 
adds a variety of recreational activities for which the 
commission may grant a "Beer Rec" license. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment will define "commission approved 
activity" related to an on-premise beer retailer license that 
is not a tavern.  The proposed section adds a variety of 
recreational activities for which the commission may grant 
a "Beer Rec" license. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
None--This amendment does not create additional cost or 
savings to the state budget as the amendment only 
provides a definition of a commission approved activity. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

None-- This amendment does not create additional cost or 
savings to local governments as the amendment only 
provides a definition of a commission approved activity. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
None--This amendment does not create additional cost or 
savings for small businesses as the amendment only 
provides a definition of a commission approved activity. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None-- This amendment does not create additional cost or 
savings for non-small businesses as the amendment only 
provides a definition of a commission approved activity. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--This amendment does not create additional cost or 
savings to persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state or local government entities as the 
amendment only provides a definition of a commission 
approved activity. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no fees associated with this process. This 
amendment does not create additional costs.  It only 
provides a definition of a commission approved activity. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Services, Tiffany Clason, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 32B-6-702 Section 32B-2-202  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 15, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 18 29 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tiffany Clason, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/24/2022 

 
R82.  Alcoholic Beverage [Control]Services, Administration. 
R82-6.  Specific Retail Provisions. 
R82-6-701.  On -Premise Beer Retailer -- [Reserved]Commission-
Approved Activity. 
[ Reserved.] 
 (1)  This rule is adopted pursuant to Section 32B-6-702, 
which authorizes the commission to define by rule "commission-
approved activity" related to an on-premise beer retailer license that 
is not a tavern. 
 (2)  A "commission-approved activity," for which the 
commission may grant an on-premise beer retailer license that is not 
a tavern, includes the following leisure activities that do not involve 
the use of a dangerous weapon: 
 (a)  A virtual version of any sport or activity enumerated in 
Subsection 32B-6-702(2)(a); 
 (b)  A video arcade; 
 (c)  Trail bike park involving off-road trails; 
 (d)  Historic and Scenic Railway; 
 (e)  Recreational climbing facility; 
 (f)  Pickleball; 
 (g)  Badminton; 
 (h)  Bocce ball; 
 (i)  An activity similar to the foregoing activities or similar 
to those specifically enumerated in Subsection 32B-6-702(2)(a); and 
 (j)  Any other activity that the commission deems 
recreational. 
 
KEY:  alcoholic beverages 
Date of Last Change:  2022[October 27, 2020] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  32B-2-202 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R82-9-201 Filing ID: 
54849 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Alcoholic Beverage Services 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 1625 S 900 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84104 

Mailing address: PO Box 30408 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0408 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Vickie Ashby 801-

977-
6801 

vickieashby@utah.gov 

Angela Micklos 801-
977-
6800 

afmicklos@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R82-9-201.  Application Requirements 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Section 32B-9-201 authorizes the commission to establish 
procedures and criteria for issuing and denying event 
permits.  The proposed changes to this rule clarify the 
timelines for submitting event permit applications and 
grant the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services 
(DABS) Executive Director more flexibility to consider late 
applications while still maintaining fidelity to public safety 
concerns. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This amendment will clarify the timelines for submitting 
event permit applications and grant the DABS Executive 
Director more flexibility to consider late applications while 
still maintaining fidelity to public safety concerns. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
None--The added discretion granted to the Department's 
Executive Director relates to the timeline for considering 
events.  DABS does not anticipate a measurable cost or 
savings due to this change. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

None--This amendment does not create additional costs 
or savings for local governments, as the adjusted timeline 
for the Department's Executive Director to consider events 
occurs after local government entity at issue has already 
reviewed and provided local consent, if appropriate. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
None--The added discretion granted to the Department's 
Executive Director relates to the timeline for considering 
events.  DABS does not anticipate a measurable cost or 
savings due to this change. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
None--The added discretion granted to the Department's 
Executive Director relates to the timeline for considering 
events.  DABS does not anticipate a measurable cost or 
savings due to this change. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
None--The added discretion granted to the Department's 
Executive Director relates to the timeline for considering 
events.  DABS does not anticipate a measurable cost or 
savings due to this change. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The added discretion granted to the Department's 
Executive Director relates to the timeline for considering 
events.  DABS does not anticipate a measurable cost or 
savings due to this change. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Alcoholic 
Beverage Services, Tiffany Clason, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 32B-9-201 Section 32B-2-202  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tiffany Clason, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/24/2022 

 
R82.  Alcoholic Beverage Services, Administration. 
R82-9.  Event Permits. 
R82-9-201.  Application Requirements. 
 (1)  The director will not consider an event permit 
application until the requirements of Sections 32B-1-304, 32B-9-
201-203, 32B-9-304 and 32B-9-405 have been met, including: 
 (a)  A complete application including all documents and 
supplemental materials listed on the department's application 
checklist has been submitted to the department [one month prior to 
the event]within the time periods delineated in this section; and 
 (b)  the department has conducted an investigation in 
compliance with Subsection 32B-9-202(1)(a). 
 (2)  Filing timelines: 
 (a)  Subject to Subsection R82-9-201(2)(b), applications 
shall be submitted 30 days before the event to allow sufficient time 
for processing and approval. 
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 (b)  A late application [will]may be accepted [up to seven 
business days prior to the event]if the director determines that public 
safety will not be compromised and sufficient time exists to ensure 
compliance with the notice requirements mandated in Section 32B-
9-202.  A late application will be reviewed as time allows and is not 
subject to the provisions in Subsections R82-9-201.1(1)(ii) and R82-
9-201.1(1)(iii). 
 (3)  For purposes of Subsection 32B-[2]9-201(2), a 
substantial change in an event application means a modification that 
seeks to alter the number of attendees, location, control measures, or 
any other substantive detail beyond changing the date of the event. 
 
KEY:  alcoholic beverages, event permits 
Date of Last Change:  [August 3,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  32B-2-202; 
32B-9 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R309-230 Filing ID: 
54837 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Drinking Water 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dylan Martinez 385-

278-
3807 

dylanmartinez@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R309-230.  Lead in School Sampling and Remediation 
Requirements 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Division of Drinking Water (Division) is proposing a 
rule to establish the time period to take steps to reduce the 
lead level below the action level as described in 
Subsection 5 of H.B. 21 (2022 General Session). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule stablishes what constitutes steps to reduce the 
lead level below the action level and the time period to take 
steps to reduce the lead level below the action level as 
described in Subsection 5 of H.B. 21 (2022). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this rule could cost the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) $1,650,000 in one-time 
previously authorized Federal Funds.  The Division 
estimated that $825,000 will be used for FY23 and 
$825,000 will be used for FY24.  This funding will be used 
to issue reimbursements to schools and child care centers 
to cover the expenses of testing consumable taps for lead 
and to provide staff to coordinate sampling and 
remediation efforts.  It will also be used to provide 
reimbursements for the costs of remediating for taps found 
above the action level for lead concentration.  Total 
reimbursement estimates are broken down in sections B 
and C. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this rule could have a fiscal impact for Local 
Education Agencies (LEAs) to collect and submit a sample 
from consumable taps in their facilities to a Certified 
Laboratory for lead testing.  The expense of testing would 
be paid by the DEQ.  It is estimated that there are 45,262 
consumable taps subject to testing, and 11% of those taps 
may require action.  The average cost for lead remediation 
is $281.  To the extent that consumable taps are found to 
be above the action level of 5 parts-per-billion, LEAs could 
incur expenses of up to $1,399,000 for remediation 
actions.  Subject to availability of funding from previously 
authorized Federal grants, these expenses may be 
reimbursable through DEQ.  This figure could be reduced 
if taps have been tested for lead since 01/01/2016.  The 
Division estimates that $699,500 will be reimbursed in 
FY23 and an additional $699,500 will be reimbursed in 
FY24. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this rule could result in a fiscal impact for 
private schools (which are required) and childcare centers 
(which have the option) to collect and submit a sample 
from each consumable tap in their facilities to a certified 
laboratory.  Under this bill, private schools and childcare 
centers are not required to pay for lead testing, however 
private schools will be financially responsible for 
remediation of taps that test above the action level of 5 
parts-per-billions and are required to report remedial 
actions to the DEQ.  It is estimated that there are 8,100 
taps in private schools and childcare centers subject to 
testing, and that 11% of those taps may require remedial 
actions.  The average cost for lead remediation is $281 
(these estimates are formulated based on the State of 
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Indiana's study (https://www.in.gov/ifa/files/Indiana-
School-Lead-Sampling-Program_FinalReport_IFA2019. 
pdf), resulting in a total possible cost to all private schools 
and child care centers (small and non-small) in the state of 
$250,400 (which may be reimbursable through DEQ, 
subject to the availability of previously authorized Federal 
grants).  This figure could be reduced if consumable taps 
have been tested for lead since January 1st, 2016.  The 
division estimates that $125,000 will be allocated for 
reimbursement in FY23 and $125,000 will be allocated for 
reimbursement in FY24.  
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Due to difficulties to differentiate between small and non-
small businesses, the Division has chosen to calculate the 
costs and benefits to all businesses as one sum. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed rule is anticipated to have no aggregate 
costs or savings to persons other than small businesses, 
non-small businesses, state government, or local 
governments.  This rule will only require schools and 
childcare centers to take actions to test and remediate lead 
in drinking water, it will not require any actions from 
individuals.  However, it will have huge impact on the 
health of children throughout Utah. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Enactment of this rule could have a fiscal impact for 
schools (who are required) and childcare centers (who 
have the option) to collect and submit a sample from each 
consumable tap in their facilities to a Certified Laboratory.  
It is estimated that each school will have on average 40 
consumable taps which will need to be sampled, and 11% 
of them will require remedial actions.  The average cost for 
lead remediation is $281, resulting in an estimated 
average of $1,235 per school.  This may be reimbursable 
through DEQ, subject to the availability of previously 
authorized federal grants. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$825,000 $825,500 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$825,000 $825,500 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$699,500 $699,500 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$125,500 $125,000 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$825,000 $825,000 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality Kim Shelley has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
19-4-115(4)(c) 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference : 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

3Ts for Reducing Lead in Drinking  
Water in Schools and Child Care  
Facilities 

Publisher EPA 

Issue Date October 2018 
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Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Kim Shelley, 
Executive Director 

Date: 10/31/2022 

 
R309.  Environmental Quality, Drinking Water. 
R309-230.  Lead in School Sampling and Remediation 
Requirements. 
R309-230-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (1)  Establish the procedure for schools and child care 
centers applying for a grant under Title 19, Environmental Quality 
Code, Chapter 4, Safe Drinking Water Act, Section 115, to establish 
the steps that must be taken and the time period that must be met to 
reduce the lead level to be below the action level; and 
 (2)  Outline the steps the Division of Drinking Water will 
take to make the results public. 
 
R309-230-2.  Authority. 
 This rule was authorized by Title 19, Environmental 
Quality Code, Chapter 4, Safe Drinking Water Act, Section 115. 
 
R309-230-3.  Applicability. 
 This rule applies to each public and private school and child 
care center that conducts sampling under Section 19-4-115. 
 
R309-230-4.  Definitions. 
 Definitions for certain terms used in this rule are given in 
Rule R309-110 but may be further clarified in Subsections R309-
230-4(1) and (2). 
 (1)  "Certified laboratory," "Child care center," 
"Consumable tap," "School," and "Action Level" are defined in 
Section 19-4-115; 
 (2)  "Third-party Certified" means a certifying body that is 
accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) 
National Accreditation Board (ANAB). 
 
R309-230-5.  Sampling Requirements. 
 (1)  Each public and private school shall, and child care 
center may, take a sample from each consumable tap for lead and 
have those samples evaluated by a certified laboratory by December 
31, 2023.  Sampling must comply with EPA's "3Ts for Reducing Lead 
in Drinking Water in Schools and Child Care Facilities" (October 
2018) which is incorporated by reference; and 

 (2)  The results of samples shall be submitted by the 
certified laboratory to the school or child care center and to the 
Division of Drinking Water. 
 
R309-230-6.  Immediate Response. 
 If a sample equals or exceeds a lead concentration of five 
parts per billion: 
 (1)  A school or child care center shall prevent use of the 
consumable tap that equals or exceeds a lead concentration of fifteen 
parts per billion within 24 hours after receiving the sample test result; 
 (2)  A school or child care center may develop and 
implement a flushing plan for a consumable tap  with a lead 
concentration equal to or greater than five and less than fifteen parts 
per billion until remediation and retesting is completed in accordance 
with Section R309-230-7; and 
 (3)  A school or child care center may apply for 
reimbursement for costs associated with the purchase of bottled water 
with the Division of Drinking Water until a permanent control 
measure is implemented. 
 
R309-230-7.  Permanent Control Measures. 
 Following receipt of results that show a consumable tap has 
five or more parts per billion of lead, a school or child care center 
shall: 
 (1)  Implement one of the following permanent control 
measures: 
 (a)  Replacement of the consumable tap with a replacement 
faucet that has been third-party certified to NSF or ANSI standard 
372 for lead-free compliance and NSF or ANSI standard 61 for 
material safety. 
 (b)  Installation of a water treatment device at the tap.  The 
water treatment device must be certified to capture lead according to 
NSF or ANSI standard 53 or NSF or ANSI standard 58.  Schools shall 
follow the manufacturer's instructions for installation, use, and 
maintenance.  For each water treatment device installed, schools shall 
create a maintenance schedule that identifies a point of contact to 
oversee making sure they are properly installed and maintained. 
 (c)  Permanently shut off and remove the consumable tap. 
 (2)  If control measures stated in Subsection (1)(a) or (1)(b) 
are completed, the school or child care center shall take a follow-up 
sample of the consumable tap and have those samples evaluated by a 
certified laboratory to demonstrate that lead is less than five parts per 
billion before access to the tap is resumed.  Each sample taken must 
comply with requirements in Section R309-230-5. 
 (3)  A school or child care center may apply for 
reimbursement for costs associated with permanent control measures 
for consumable taps with the Division of Drinking Water. 
 
R309-230-8.  Report to the Division of Drinking Water. 
 Schools and child care centers shall report to the Division 
of Drinking Water each permanent control measure taken under 
Section R309-230-7 no later than 30 days after they are implemented. 
 
R309-230-9.  Publication of Data. 
 The Division shall post each sample result and remediation 
step on the Division of Drinking Water website 90 days after the 
Division receives them. 
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R309-230-10.  Time Period to Take Steps to Reduce the Lead 
Level Below the Action Level and Report to the Division of 
Drinking Water. 
 For each consumable tap that equals or exceeds a lead 
concentration of five parts per billion: 
 (1)  Schools and child care centers shall complete 
permanent control measures within 90 days of receiving results 
unless an alternative schedule is approved by the Division of 
Drinking Water; 
 (2)  Schools and child care centers shall resample within 30 
days of completing permanent control measures under Subsection 
R309-230-7(1); 
 (3)  If a sample taken as required in Subsection R309-230-
7(2) has a lead concentration greater than or equal to five parts per 
billion, the school or child care center shall implement additional 
permanent control measures as required in Section R309-230-7 until 
either the consumable tap is permanently removed or post mitigation 
results are below a lead concentration equal to five parts per billion; 
and 
 (4)  Schools and child care centers shall report to the 
Division of Drinking Water resample results as well as permanent 
control measures taken within 30 days after taking steps under 
Subsection R309-230-7(1). 
 
KEY:  drinking fountain, remediation, Environmental Protection 
Agency 
Date of Last Change:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-4-115 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R317-1-7 Filing ID: 
54828 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Water Quality 
Room number: DEQ, Third Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 

(MASOB) 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144870 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4870 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jodi Gardberg 801-

536-
4372 

jgardberg@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R317-1-7.  TMDLs 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this amendment is to incorporate by 
reference into Section R317-1-7, the Jordan River 
Watershed E. coli Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) as 
approved by the Water Quality Board. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This section incorporates by reference the Jordan River 
Watershed E. coli TMDL into Rule R317-1-7.  The Water 
Quality Board initiated rulemaking to adopt the Jordan 
River Watershed E. coli TMDL on 08/24/2022. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The proposed rule is not expected to have any impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  TMDL 
implementation will be addressed with existing state 
resources. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Fourteen municipalities will be affected by the Jordan 
River Watershed E. coli TMDL through additional 
requirements in the Municipal Separate Storm Sewer 
System (MS4) individual and general permits.  It is 
estimated that each municipality will have an annual 
increase of $23,920 for a part-time worker to implement 
the MS4 stormwater best management practices to 
comply with the TMDL.  TMDL implementation for nonpoint 
source pollution is voluntary and addressed through 
existing incentive grants.  The total annual cost is 
estimated at $334,880. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed rule is not expected to have any impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
TMDL implementation for nonpoint source pollution is 
voluntary and addressed through existing incentive grants. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule is not expected to have any impact on 
non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
TMDL implementation for nonpoint source pollution is 
voluntary and addressed through existing incentive grants. 
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E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The benefit to persons other than small businesses, non-
small businesses, state, or local government entities 
would be that for each of the affected municipalities, an 
individual would be employed part-time to implement the 
MS4 stormwater best management practices to comply 
with the TMDL and E. coli concentrations will be reduced 
in waterways in the Jordan River watershed and thus safe 
for recreation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs to impacted entities 
associated with this TMDL. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$334,880 $334,880 $334,880 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$334,880 $334,880 $334,880 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

($334,880) ($334,880) ($334,880) 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Utah Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelly, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 19, Chapter 5   

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference : 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references : 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Jordan River Watershed E. coli 
TMDL: Main Report, Jordan River  
Watershed E. coli TMDL: Appendices 

Publisher Utah Division of Water Quality 

Issue Date October 26, 2022 

Issue or Version First 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/26/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

John K. Mackey, 
Director 

Date: 08/28/2022 

 
R317.  Environmental Quality, Water Quality. 
R317-1.  Definitions and General Requirements. 
R317-1-7.  TMDLs. 
 The following TMDLs are approved by the Board and 
[hereby ]incorporated by reference into [these]this rule[s]: 
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 7.1  Middle Bear River -- February 23, 2010; 
 7.2  Chalk Creek -- December 23, 1997; 
 7.3  Otter Creek -- December 23, 1997; 
 7.4  Little Bear River -- May 23, 2000; 
 7.5  Mantua Reservoir -- May 23, 2000; 
 7.6  East Canyon Creek -- September 14, 2010; 
 7.7  East Canyon Reservoir -- September 14, 2010; 
 7.8  Kents Lake -- September 1, 2000; 
 7.9  LaBaron Reservoir -- September 1, 2000; 
 7.10  Minersville Reservoir -- September 1, 2000; 
 7.11  Puffer Lake -- September 1, 2000; 
 7.12  Scofield Reservoir -- September 1, 2000; 
 7.13  Onion Creek (near Moab) -- July 25, 2002; 
 7.14  Cottonwood Wash -- September 9, 2002; 
 7.15  Deer Creek Reservoir -- September 9, 2002; 
 7.16  Hyrum Reservoir -- September 9, 2002; 
 7.17  Little Cottonwood Creek -- September 9, 2002; 
 7.18  Lower Bear River -- September 9, 2002; 
 7.19  Malad River -- September 9, 2002; 
 7.20  Mill Creek (near Moab) -- September 9, 2002; 
 7.21  Spring Creek -- September 9, 2002; 
 7.22  Forsyth Reservoir -- September 27, 2002; 
 7.23  Johnson Valley Reservoir -- September 27, 2002; 
 7.24  Lower Fremont River -- September 27, 2002; 
 7.25  Mill Meadow Reservoir -- September 27, 2002; 
 7.26  UM Creek -- September 27, 2002; 
 7.27  Upper Fremont River -- September 27, 2002; 
 7.28  Deep Creek -- October 9, 2002; 
 7.29  Uinta River -- October 9, 2002; 
 7.30  Pineview Reservoir -- December 9, 2002; 
 7.31  Browne Lake -- February 19, 2003; 
 7.32  San Pitch River -- November 18, 2003; 
 7.33  Newton Creek -- June 24, 2004; 
 7.34  Panguitch Lake -- June 24, 2004; 
 7.35  West Colorado -- August 4, 2004; 
 7.36  Silver Creek -- August 4, 2004; 
 7.37  Upper Sevier River -- August 4, 2004; 
 7.38  Lower and Middle Sevier River -- August 17, 2004; 
 7.39  Lower Colorado River -- September 20, 2004; 
 7.40  Upper Bear River -- August 4, 2006; 
 7.41  Echo Creek -- August 4, 2006; 
 7.42  Soldier Creek -- August 4, 2006; 
 7.43  East Fork Sevier River -- August 4, 2006; 
 7.44  Koosharem Reservoir -- August 4, 2006; 
 7.45  Lower Box Creek Reservoir -- August 4, 2006; 
 7.46  Otter Creek Reservoir -- August 4, 2006; 
 7.47  Thistle Creek -- July 9, 2007; 
 7.48  Strawberry Reservoir -- July 9, 2007; 
 7.49  Matt Warner Reservoir -- July 9, 2007; 
 7.50  Calder Reservoir -- July 9, 2007; 
 7.51  Lower Duchesne River -- July 9, 2007; 
 7.52  Lake Fork River -- July 9, 2007; 
 7.53  Brough Reservoir -- August 22, 2008; 
 7.54  Steinaker Reservoir -- August 22, 2008; 
 7.55  Red Fleet Reservoir -- August 22, 2008; 
 7.56  Newcastle Reservoir -- August 22, 2008; 
 7.57  Cutler Reservoir -- February 23, 2010; 
 7.58  Pariette Draw -- September 28, 2010; 
 7.59  Emigration Creek -- September 1, 2011; 
 7.60  Jordan River -- June 27, 2012; 
 7.61  Colorado River -- December 5, 2013; 
 7.62  Echo Reservoir -- March 26, 2014; 

 7.63  Rockport Reservoir -- March 26, 2014; 
 7.64  Nine Mile Creek -- October 27, 2016; 
 7.65  North Fork Virgin River -- May 23, 2018; 
 7.66  Fremont River -- October 28, 2020;[ and] 
 7.67  Spring Creek (Heber) -- December 15, 2021[.]; and 
 7.68  Jordan River Watershed -- October 26, 2022. 
 
KEY:  TMDL, water pollution 
Date of Last Change:  2022[December 15, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 30, 2017 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-5 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-3 Filing ID: 
54817 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-3.  Economic Development Tax Increment Financing 
Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this rule filing is to expand the 
documentation that the office may request for a company 
to establish that it is financially secure and can finance the 
proposed project related to the tax incentive. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Section R357-3-104 is amended to include financial 
documents for the prior three years or other 
documentation that the company has the ability to finance 
the project. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
the state budget.  This rule is merely updating program 
participation requirements. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
local governments because local governments are not 
required to comply with or enforce this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
small businesses because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for small businesses, nor 
does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation.  Participation in the program is optional. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
non-small businesses because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for non-small businesses, 
nor does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation.  Participation in the program is optional. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities, nor does it increase the costs associated with any 
existing obligation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no new compliance costs for affected persons 
because participation in the program is optional. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-2-104 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 
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9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/23/2022 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Opportunity. 
R357-3.  Economic Development Tax Increment Financing Rule. 
R357-3-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Economic Development Tax 
Increment Financing Rule." 
 
R357-3-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Sections 63N-1a-102 and 
63N-2-103 the following terms are defined: 
 (1)  "Apportionment" means a reduction in new state 
revenues in the period being assessed by the percentage of project 
employee wages against total employee wages. 
 (2)  "High paying job" includes adjusted wage percentages 
in counties experiencing economic distress as outlined in Section 
R357-3-108. 
 (3)  "Leisure and Hospitality Industry" means businesses, 
as determined by the office, that relate to service-providing industries 
consisting of: 
 (a)  arts, entertainment, and recreation under NAICS code 
71; 
 (b)  accommodation and food services under NAICS code 
72; and 
 (c)  resort, resort building, or resort boundary as defined in 
Section 32B-8-102. 
 (4)  "New commercial project" does not include retail 
operations. 
 (5)  "Retail operations" means a project with a physical 
location from which the general public may directly purchase 
merchandise or direct services and does not include distribution 
centers, the corporate functions associated with retailing, or other 
activities associated with retailing that may be accomplished from 
any physical location or that are not dependent on proximity to end 
consumers for retail sales. 
 
R357-3-103.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted by the office under the authority of 
Subsection 63N-2-104(2). 
 
R357-3-104.  Application Content. 
 (1)  To determine a company's eligibility for an Economic 
Development Tax Increment Financing Incentive the company shall 
submit: 
 (a)  financial documents for the prior three years including: 
 ([a]i)  balance sheets; 
 ([b]ii)  income statements; and 
 ([c]iii)  cash flow statements; or 
 (b)  other documentation demonstrating that the company 
has the ability to finance the project; 
 ([d]c)  corporate structure; 
 ([e]d)  workforce data; 

 ([f]e)  corporate citizenry plan; 
 ([g]f)  plan to hire Utah employees; 
 ([h]g)  forecasted new state revenue associated with the 
new commercial project; 
 ([i]h)  forecasted incremental job creation associated with 
the new commercial project; and 
 ([j]i)  forecasted wages associated with the new 
commercial project. 
 (2)  To determine a company's eligibility for an Economic 
Development Tax Increment Financing Incentive the office may 
review the company's: 
 (a)  incentive offers from other states; 
 (b)  remote work options for the project; 
 (c)  market analysis; 
 (d)  proof of fundraising; 
 (e)  tax filings; 
 (f)  reshoring plans; and 
 (g)  other information as determined by GO Utah. 
 (2)  GO Utah may deny an application for any reason. 
 (3)  Information provided by the business entity is subject 
to the Government Records Access and Management Act.  The 
business entity has the option to designate what information provided 
is private or protected subject to Sections 63G-2-302 and 63G-2-305. 
 
R357-3-105.  Factors to Be Considered in Authorizing an 
Economic Development Tax Credit Award. 
 (1)  The amount and duration of a tax credit award shall be 
determined on a case-by-case basis.  The factors that may be 
considered include: 
 (a)  whether the company is projecting positive long -term 
growth; 
 (b)  whether the company is part of a targeted industry; 
 (c)  the overall benefit to the state from the new commercial 
project; 
 (d)  the uniqueness of the economic opportunity; 
 (e)  the economic environment at the time of the new 
commercial project or company applies including; 
 (i)  the job leakage to other counties; 
 (ii)  the relative value of a job; and 
 (iii)  the underemployment rate; 
 (f)  the location of the new commercial project; 
 (g)  the quality of financing the company has received; 
 (h)  comparison to previously incented projects in size, 
scope, and industry; and 
 (i)  other factors as reasonably determined by the 
administrator. 
 (2)  The factors for an award higher than 30% of new state 
revenues for a project located in a county of the third-class, or a 
municipality with a population of 10,000 or less located within a 
county of the second class and that is experiencing economic 
hardship are: 
 (a)  factors in Subsection R357-3-105 (1); 
 (b)  evidence of significant financial support of the local 
community for the project; 
 (c)(i)  capital expenditures of at least $500,000,000 for the 
new commercial project; 
 (ii)  the new capital project is in targeted industry as defined 
by the office; or 
 (iii)  local taxing entities are offering a tax increment 
agreement of at least 75% and 25 years of property tax rebates; 
 (d)(i)  the new capital project creates at least 2,000 new 
high-wage jobs; 
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 (ii)  the new capital project is in targeted industry as defined 
by the office; 
 (iii)  the average wages for the new high paying jobs are at 
least 300% of the average county wage; or 
 (iv)  local taxing entities are offering a tax increment deal 
over 75% and 25 years for property tax rebates; 
 (3)  A new commercial project within the leisure and 
hospitality industry sector, located in a county of the fifth or sixth 
class may receive an award up to 50% of new state revenues over 20 
years if the project: 
 (a)  has capital expenditure of at least $10,000,000; 
 (b)  creates a significant number of new high paying jobs; 
 (c)  is of strategic importance to the state, county and city; 
 (d)  is adjacent to a unique, high visitation tourist area; and 
 (e)  location would otherwise be underserved in leisure and 
hospitality without being provided an incentive. 
 (4)  If a project has not been approved by the G[o]O Utah 
Board within six months of submission the[y] company must submit 
an updated application. 
 (5)  The Executive Director after consultation with the 
G[o]O Utah Board may: 
 (a)  approve or deny an application[:]; and 
 (b)  determine terms and conditions of an approved 
application. 
 
R357-3-106.  Economic Development Tax Credit Process. 
 (1)  Annual tax credits shall be based on actual incremental 
taxes paid by the business entity or withheld on behalf of employees 
of a new commercial project. 
 (2)  GO Utah shall propose a tax credit structure based on 
the factors set forth in this rule in a combination GO Utah deems the 
most effective and beneficial in weighing the benefits of the State, 
local community, and company. 
 (a)  GO Utah shall propose the tax credit terms and 
structure to the Board before making a final offer to the business 
entity. 
 (3)  If the Executive Director approves an Economic 
Development Tax Credit, GO Utah shall provide a tax credit offer 
letter to a business entity that includes: 
 (a)  the proposed terms of the Economic Development Tax 
Credit, including the maximum amount of aggregate annual tax 
credits and the time period over which the tax credits may be claimed; 
 (b)  a statement that the company must demonstrate 
sufficient growth and supply; and 
 (c)  documentation that will be required each incentive year 
to claim a tax credit for the following tax year. 
 (4)  If the applicant intends to accept the incentive offer, it 
shall counter-execute the tax credit offer letter. 
 (5)  If the Executive Director denies an application for an 
Economic Development Tax Credit, GO Utah shall provide a letter to 
the business entity that includes: 
 (a)  notice of the application denial; 
 (b)  reason for denial; and 
 (c)  notice that the business entity can reapply for a tax 
credit if changes to the proposed new commercial project are made. 
 (6)  GO Utah will establish a baseline with the company 
that consists of the count of full-time employees and state revenue 
reflective of presence in the state before Board approval date.  
Baseline must be established before awarding a tax credit. 
 (7)  A company with an active contract, who desires a tax 
credit, must provide an annual report for the incentive year in the 
format and method as directed by GO Utah, with a level of accuracy 

comparable with information GO Utah obtains from the Department 
of Workforce[s] Services and the Tax Commission, that at a minimum 
must contain: 
 (a)  a list of individuals in Utah that received compensation 
at the company or project with their position, start date, termination 
date, hours paid, wages paid, benefits paid and employer withholding 
taxes paid or an aggregate list that provides qualification and 
legislative reporting required for Section 63N-2-106, as determined 
GO Utah. 
 (b)  the requested amount of tax revenue to be rebated from 
withholding, sales and use, vendor paid sales tax and income tax 
verified as paid, remitted and receipted to the state. 
 (c)  [maintains ]a current authorization to disclose from the 
Utah State Tax Commission from the baseline period to three years 
after the end date of the contract. 
 (8)  The office may cause an apportionment for the 
following reasons: 
 (a)  a business entity's project scope is to create or develop 
a new good or service that is co-located within a current location that 
is not transparent with other operations, employees and revenue, 
which would not be included in the calculation of new state revenue; 
 (b)  a business entity has a material amount of employees 
operating the company's retail business; or 
 (c)  a company adjusts operations that create operations 
outside the scope of the agreement or boundaries of the economic 
development zone. 
 (9)  The office may consider sales and use tax paid for 
capital asset purchases of a business entity within the scope of the 
agreement up to 50% of the total amount of state tax. 
 (10)  A company who hires employees for the new 
commercial project through a professional employment organization 
shall require the professional employment organization to provide the 
office an employee report under attestation. 
 (11)  The projected employment and salary growth from the 
latest annual report period may be carried forward to additional 
periods when the Fiscal Impact Questionnaire omits this information. 
 
R357-3-107.  Modification of Agreement. 
 (1)  GO Utah may change, or a business entity may request 
to change, the terms of a tax credit offer or contract as set forth in this 
section: 
 (a)  Substantive Modifications:  under extraordinary 
circumstances, a business entity may request to change the terms of 
the tax credit agreement if: 
 (i)  there is a substantial change to new commercial project 
plan; and 
 (ii)  changing the terms of the tax credit would benefit the 
state. 
 (b)  Nonsubstantive Modifications: GO Utah and the 
business entity may make nonsubstantive modifications to the tax 
credit contract to: 
 (i)  correct clerical errors made in the initial application, the 
offer, the contract, or the tax credit; 
 (ii)  make technical changes that do not alter the tax 
incentive amount or violate any state or federal law; or 
 (iii)  adjust the timeline less than 24 months. 
 (2)  Substantive modifications require Board consultation 
before the Executive Director's approval or denial. 
 (3)  Requests and modifications shall be documented and 
maintained by GO Utah. 
 (4)  When a business entity acquires another company with 
employees in Utah or if another Utah company acquires a business 
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entity and the office can distinguish between both entities' employees 
and separate how much new state revenue is generated from the 
acquiree and acquirer, no changes to the baseline employees or new 
state revenues will be made. 
 (5)  When a business entity acquires another company with 
employees in Utah or if another Utah company acquires a business 
entity and the office cannot separate the acquiree's and acquirer's 
employees or new state revenue the office shall: 
 (a)  increase the baseline to the lesser of the acquiree's 
number of full-time positions as determined by the office: 
 (i)  on the GO Utah Board approval date; or 
 (ii)  at the time of acquisition; and 
 (b)  increase baseline state revenue to the same time period 
as chosen for baseline jobs. 
 (6)  A company may request to exclude the 2020 EDTIF 
period.  If a request is granted the contract must be amended that: 
 (a)  establishes a one year gap where no incentive is 
awarded; 
 (b)  delays annual job projections by one year moving 
forward, and 
 (c)  extends the contract by one year. 
 (7)  The office may deny a request to exclude the 2020 
EDTIF period for any reason. 
 
R357-3-108.  High Paying Jobs and Economic Distress. 
 (1)  To establish that a county is experiencing economic 
distress a business entity or county shall submit to the office: 
 (a)  evidence that the county's unemployment rate was at 
least 5% for the six consecutive months before the application date; 
 (b)  evidence that the county experienced year over year 
economic decline; and 
 (c)  other evidence as requested by the office. 
 
KEY:  economic development, jobs, tax credit 
Date of Last Change:  [April 8,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-2-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-11 Filing ID: 
54826 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-11.  Technology Commercialization and Innovation 
Program (TCIP) 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
H.B. 333 passed during the 2022 General Session and 
changed the technology commercialization and innovation 
program into Utah technology innovation funding program.  
The purpose of this rule filing is to align this rule with the 
statutory modifications. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule will codify definitions, authority, awards amounts, 
contract requirements, contract modification process, and 
funding distribution for the Utah technology innovation 
funding program. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
the state budget.  This rule is merely updating program 
participation requirements. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
local governments because local governments are not 
required to comply with or enforce this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
small businesses because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for small businesses, nor 
does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation.  Participation in the program is optional. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
non-small businesses because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for non-small businesses, 
nor does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation.  Participation in the program is optional. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
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association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities, nor does it increase the costs associated with any 
existing obligation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no new compliance costs for affected persons 
because participation in the program is optional. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 

The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-3-204 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/23/2022 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic [Development]Opportunity. 
[R357-11.  Technology Commercialization and Innovation 
Program (TCIP). 
R357-11-1.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of the Technology Commercialization and 
Innovation Act is to catalyze and enhance growth of technologies by 
encouraging interdisciplinary research activity and targeted areas, 
facilitating the transition of technologies out of the higher education 
to enhance job creation, and to support the commercialization of 
technologies developed by small businesses to enhance job creation. 
 
R357-11-2.  Authority. 
 (1)  UCA 63N-3-204(2)(b) requires the office to make rules 
to regulate the Technology Commercialization Innovation Program 
("TCIP") grant structure and awards and to recapture awards when a 
recipient fails to maintain a presence in Utah for at least five years 
after the award is made, as set forth in these rules. 
 
R357-11-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  This rule adopts the definitions set forth in 63N-3-203. 
 (2)  "Board" means the Board of Business Development set 
forth in 63N-1-301. 
 (3)  "Derivative Technology" means: Incremental advance 
or new of application of an existing technology. 



 

42 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 15, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 18 

 (4)  "Developmental Research Phase" means:  A phase in 
which the technology is not beyond a basic concept as determined by 
the office. 
 (5)  "New technology means" Intellectual property not 
previously marketed or generated revenue for any entity. 
 (6)  Qualified Pre-screening entity "means" A University's 
Technology Transfer Office or the USTAR Technology Outreach 
Innovation Program.  This term only applies to University team 
applicants. 
 (7)  "Service location" means a location where a grant 
recipient is developing and/or commercializing the new technology 
in a way that provides economic impact to the state; including but not 
limited to: job creation, new state revenue, and new local revenue. 
 (8)  Solicitation Cycle Means:  A granting cycle from 
application to grant distribution to be held at least once a year or more 
depending on availability of funds.  All dates for any solicitation may 
be found on the TCIP website. 
 (9)  "TCIP" means the Technology Commercialization and 
Innovation Program as defined in Utah Code Section 63N-3-203(6). 
 
R357-11-4.  General Grant Requirements. 
 (1)  An applicant can only receive a TCIP award totaling an 
amount defined in policy per new technology.  Policy shall be 
available on the TCIP website. 
 (2)  An applicant may not submit more than one application 
in the same solicitation cycle if the applicant has more than one new 
technology that meets the eligibility requirement for a TCIP grant. 
 (a)  Only one new technology project per applicant will be 
funded in a solicitation cycle. 
 (3)  An applicant that has generated more than $500,000 in 
revenue from the proposed new or derivative technology is not 
eligible for a TCIP grant. 
 (4)  An applicant that has raised more than $3,000,000 at 
the time of application in total prior funding, including equity and 
debt based financing, is not eligible for the TCIP grant. 
 (5)  An applicant may apply for a TCIP grant up to three 
times.  If an applicant has not been awarded a grant for that specific 
technology within three different solicitations, TCIP will reject 
subsequent applications without review.  If an applicant who has 
previously received TCIP funding within the past three years wishes 
to apply for additional funding they can, however once that same 
technology has been reviewed and rejected three times without being 
funded it may no longer be considered for review.  Executive Director 
of GOED or the director's designee has the right to review and accept 
or reject a technology that has been submitted over three times to 
ensure it meets these criteria. 
 
R357-11-5.  Matching Funds. 
 (1)  Matching funds may be considered in granting an 
award if the Office provides notice of such a requirement in the 
application.  If considered a grant recipient must show proof of the 
matching funds. 
 (2)  Matching funds may be raised and spent at any time 
prior to submitting an invoice to the TCIP 
 (a)  Grant recipient must submit bank statements (for 
Licensees)  or financial statements (for Universities)  demonstrating 
that the matching funds were available during the match period. 
 (b)  If matching funds have been required by the Office to 
be a condition precedent to a grant award, matching funds do not have 
to be in place at the time of the application, but must be in place 
before TCIP funds are disbursed within the contract period of one 
year. 

R357-11-6.  Applicant Specific Requirements. 
 (1)  University Teams: In order to apply for a grant or loan 
under the TCIP program, a University Team must satisfy the 
following initial criteria: 
 (a)  The technology must be organized by faculty led 
university team; 
 (b)  The technology must have completed the 
developmental research phase; and 
 (c)  The applicant must be pre-screened by a qualified pre-
screening entity. 
 (d)  The qualified pre-screening entity must certify that the 
technology meets the criteria set forth in (a)  and (b)  of this section, 
and the certification must be provided before grant is awarded. 
 (2)  Small Businesses: In order to apply for a grant or loan 
under the TCIP program, a small business must satisfy the following 
initial criteria: 
 (a)  The applicant must be a "small business" as defined by 
the Federal Small Business Administration's definition and meet the 
criteria set forth in UCA Section 63N-3-203(5). 
 (3)  A University-licensee is also be eligible if it meets the 
definitions in (a) above. 
 
R357-11-7.  Review of Applications and Awards. 
 (1)  Applicants who successfully meet the eligibility 
requirements set forth in R357-11-4 and R357-11-5 and R357-11-6 
may submit their application for the TCIP grant through the online 
registration portal. 
 (2)  The Executive Director of GOED or the director's 
designee will evaluate the applications received in each solicitation 
cycle.  The Executive Director or the designee may use the following 
criteria, as defined by the Executive Director or the designee, to 
evaluate applications for TCIP grants: 
 (a)  Quality, diversity, and number of jobs created in Utah, 
 (b)  Quality of Management and Leadership, including 
experience with commercialization of new technologies as 
demonstrated by grant applicant's application and proposal; 
 (c)  Strength of the new technology and potential for 
commercialization; 
 (d)  Size and Growth of the market of the proposed 
technology 
 (e)  Applicant's ability to market the technology and the 
credibility of their "go-to-market" strategy. 
 (f)  Availability of matching funds and the source and 
relevance of those funds as set forth in R357-11-5 
 (g)  Whether the project combines or coordinates related 
research at two or more institutions of higher education; 
 (h)  Any other criteria deemed necessary or valuable to the 
selection process. 
 (3)  Additionally, each applicant's application will be 
compared against and with the strength of all other applicants' 
applications and proposals within the same solicitation cycle. 
 (4)  The Executive Director may assemble an outside 
review team to review the criteria set forth above and to make 
recommendations regarding the application. 
  (5 )   The  Executive  Director  or  his  designee  shall  propose 
funding allocations to the Board. 
  (6 )   After  the  Board  provides  its  advice,  the  Executive 
Director  or  the  designee  shall  determine which applications should 
be prioritized for funding. 
 (7)  Applications will be prioritized and funded based on 
the criteria set forth in (1)-(3).  Award letters will be provided setting 
forth the terms of the grant offer. 
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R357-11-8.  Requirements for Grant Recipients. 
 (1)  Contract 
 (a)  An applicant who is awarded a TCIP grant must sign a 
contract with the State of Utah prior to receiving any funds 
 (2)  Sub-Contracts 
 (a)  Grant Recipients are prohibited from subcontracting 
with another entity to administer the new technology funded by the 
Grant. 
 (3)  Time in State 
 (a)  Grant recipients will be expected to retain their 
company, and supported technology, and exploit the technology in 
the State of Utah for a minimum period of five years from the date of 
their agreement with the State. 
 (b)  Any applicant who fails to maintain a manufacturing or 
service location in the state or who fails to exploit the new technology 
from a location in the state will be subject to recapture of the grant 
funding, subject to the provisions of Utah Code Section 63N-3-
204(2)(d)  and R357-11-8. 
 (4)  Authorization to disclose tax information 
 (a)  Licensee grant recipients will be required to sign an 
authorization to disclose tax records for up to five years from the date 
of their agreement with the State. 
 (5)  Mentoring Program 
 (a)  Grant awardees may be required to participate in the 
TCIP Mentoring Program in order to secure funding. 
 (b)  If a grant award is contingent on participation in the 
TCIP Mentoring Program, an awardee will be required to show active 
participation in the program prior to receiving any or part of the grant 
funding as outlined in recipient's contract. 
 
R357-11-9.  Funding. 
 (1)  TCIP funding is for developing existing research to the 
point of commercialization, bridging the "funding gap" between 
research dollars and manufacturing dollars. 
 (2)  TCIP funding may be used to: 
 (a)  Purchase equipment; 
 (b)  Purchase supplies; 
 (c)  Fund graduate/undergraduate students for time directly 
applicable to center commercialization activities related to the new 
technology; 
 (d)  Fund faculty salaries directly applicable to center 
commercialization and related to the new technology; 
 (e)  Fund technology transfer activities (trade shows, 
brochures, etc.); 
 (f)  Fund market analysis; 
 (g)  Pay for consulting fees directly applicable to center 
commercialization; 
 (h)  Pay for business manager or marketing manager 
salaries directly applicable to center commercialization activities; or 
 (i)  Other purposes approved by GOED in writing. 
 (3)  Carryover Funds 
 (a)  The budget described in the contract is designated for 
the particular fiscal year and is an integral part of the contract.  Upon 
the expiration of the contract, residual funds under the contract can 
only be accessed by amending the contract as described above. 
 (4)  Invoicing Requirement 
 (a)  To receive funds from the program, an invoice should 
be submitted by the awardee upon completion of the milestones or 
the mentor program with verification from the TCIP manager. 
 (b)  Every invoice must include: 
 (i)  Contract Number; 
 (ii)  Name of entity and Principal Investigator.; 

 (iii)  Billing Period; and 
 (iv)  Current and Cumulative Amounts. 
 
R357-11-10.  Reporting Requirements. 
 (1)  Reporting and Monitoring 
 (a)  Grant awardees or mentor will be required to submit a 
report of activities, achievements and expenses, etc.  as specified in 
the awardees contract. 
 (b)  Grant awardees or mentor will be required to comply 
with the State's request for information pertaining to the economic 
impact to the State, at least annually for up to five years from date of 
the agreement. 
 (c)  Grant awardees or mentor will also be required to 
respond to additional periodic reporting to the TCIP Director, 
Governor's Office of Economic Development and GOED Board, and 
the Legislature, at any time during the agreement period and 
thereafter for two additional years. 
 (d)  Universities and Small Businesses should also expect 
periodic site visits from TCIP Director or board members.  Such visits 
will be scheduled at mutually convenient times. 
 
R357-11-11.  Recapture. 
 (1)  In order to receive grant funding under these 
provisions, an applicant must commit to maintain a manufacturing 
location or service location in the State of Utah for at least five years 
from the date that the grant award letter is issued. 
 (2)  Maintaining a manufacturing and service location 
means that the applicant will perform at least 51% percent of the 
grant activities listed above in the State of Utah, will exploit the 
technology into a commercial project in Utah and will maintain 
working operations in the State for at least five years from the date 
the grant award letter is issued. 
 (3)  If the applicant fails to maintain a manufacturing a 
service location in Utah for at least five years from the date the grant 
award letter is issued, the entire grant amount may be subject to 
recapture. 
 (4)  A repayment by an applicant shall be prorated based on 
the number of full years the applicant operated in the state from the 
date of the awarded grant. 
 (5)  Should an applicant fail to comply with the 
requirements to maintain a manufacturing and service location in 
Utah for the purpose of exploiting the new technology that is the 
subject of the grant, the Office will issue a Notice of Agency Action 
for Recapture. 
 (6)  The Notice of Agency Action shall contain the grounds 
for recapture, and the prorated amount of the recapture, if any.] 
R357-11.  Utah Technology Innovation Funding Rule. 
R357-11-101.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of the Utah Technology Innovation 
Funding is to leverage Utah small business success with the federal 
Small Business Innovation Research and Small Business Technology 
Transfer programs. 
 
R357-11-102.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The following terms are defined: 
 (a)  "Micro-grant" means a grant awarded to offset the cost 
of a SBIR or STTR Phase I proposal; 
 (b)  "Nonrecourse loan" means a loan awarded to a 
company that has received Phase I SBIR or STTR funding and has 
submitted a corresponding Phase II proposal; 
 (c)  "Rural County" means a county of the third, fourth, 
fifth, or sixth class; 
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 (d)  "SBIR" means the federal small business innovation 
research program; and 
 (e)  "STTR" means the small business technology transfer 
program. 
 
R357-11-103.  Authority. 
 (1)  This rule is adopted by the office under the authority of 
Subsection 63G-3-201(2)(d) and Section 63N-3-204 
 
R357-11-104.  Award Amounts. 
 (1)  Subject to available funds, a micro-grant may be 
awarded under the following terms: 
 (a)  a company may not be awarded more than one SBIR or 
STTR micro-grant within a 5 year period; 
 (b)  a company must work with the Utah Innovation Center 
to prepare and submit a Phase I proposal; 
 (c)  a standard award may not exceed $3,000; and 
 (d)  a company that is minority- or women-owned or 
located in a rural county may receive an additional award of $2,000 
for a total award amount of $5,000. 
 (2)  Subject to available funds, a nonrecourse loan may be 
awarded under the following terms: 
 (a)  a company must have received a prior SBIR or STTR 
Phase I award; 
 (b)  a company must work with the Utah Innovation Center 
to prepare and submit a corresponding Phase II proposal; 
 (c)  a company shall receive no more than two nonrecourse 
loans; 
 (d)  a standard award shall not exceed $50,000; and 
 (e)  a company that is minority- or women-owned or 
located in a rural county may receive an additional award of $10,000 
for a total award amount of $60,000. 
 
R357-11-105.  Required Contract. 
 (1)  The office reserves the right to award funding for any 
proposal in full or in part, to request additional information, or to 
reject proposals. 
 (2)  Upon award of a nonrecourse loan, and prior to 
disbursement of funds, awardee shall enter into a contract with the 
office governing the use of funding. 
 (3)  Unless addressed in the terms and conditions of the 
contract between awardee and the office, the following provisions 
shall apply: 
 (a)  funding may not be used to provide a primary benefit 
to any state other than Utah; and 
 (b)  for all other eligibility requirements, awardees must 
maintain eligibility status until the collaboration is complete, scope 
of work requirements have been met, final disbursement of funding 
has been made, and reporting has been completed. 
 
R357-11-106.  Contract Modifications. 
 (1)  An awardee may request a modification to the terms of 
a contract. 
 (2)  The office may deny a modification request for any 
reason. 
 (3)  Approved changes shall be made in writing and through 
an amendment modifying the terms of the contract. 
 (4)  Awardees refusal or failure to sign the contract within 
90 days of receipt of the contract constitutes a rejection of the award 
and a waiver of any rights and benefits. 
 

R357-11-107.  Funding Distribution. 
 (1)  The office shall reimburse the awardee for no more 
than the total amount specified in the contract. 
 (2)  Payment will only be made for those costs authorized 
and approved by the office after sufficient documentation is provided 
in accordance with the terms and conditions provided in the contract. 
 (3)  Misrepresentation to the office or violations of the 
agreement may result in forfeiture of funding, repayment of all or a 
portion of the funding received, or disqualification from continued 
funding. 
 (4)  The office reserves the right to audit the use of grant 
funding. 
 
KEY:  technology, innovations, commercialization, small 
businesses 
Date of Last Change:  2022[October 13, 2017] 
Notice of Continuation:  July 20, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-3-
204[(2)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-16 Filing ID: 
54819 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-16.  Utah Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Grant 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is no longer necessary as a result of the passage 
of H.B. 305 passed during the 2022 General Session 
which moved and renumbered provisions related to the 
Utah Works Program from the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity.  The Department of Natural 
Resources will file a new rule under the correct title should 
it determine a rule is required. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
any fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal 
note of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
other persons' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule requires no action or compliance by 
any persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 

this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-9-203 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/25/2022 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Development. 
[R357-16.  Utah Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Grant. 
R357-16-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Subsection 63N-9-203 requires the office to make rules 
establishing the eligibility and reporting criteria for an entity to 
receive an infrastructure grant. 
 
R357-16-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms in these rules are defined in Utah Code Section 
63N-9-102. 
 
R357-16-3.  Application Form and Submission Procedure. 
 (1)  The application will be provided by the Office and 
contain the following content: 
 (a)  General submission instructions; 
 (b)  Grants available to be claimed; 
 (c)  Criteria for qualification of a grant; 
 (d)  Instructions regarding a project description including 
timeline; 
 (e)  Instructions for providing an outlined budget for total 
project cost, highlight of funds already procured for the project; and 
an itemized budget showing planned use of the grant funds being 
requested; 
 (f)  Instructions for reporting project impacts including 
community and economic impacts; 
 (g)  The application scoring system; 
 (h)  Any required deadlines, reports, and relevant timelines; 
and 
 (i)  All required documents and information necessary for 
verification and approval of the application. 
 (2)  The application shall be created in an electronic form 
available to the public at business.utah.gov 
 (3)  The application shall also be available in paper form 
for any person or entity that requests it. 
 (4)  Applications must be submitted to Office of Outdoor 
Recreation staff on or before the specified deadline in the application. 
 (5)  Staff will review final applications for completeness 
and the program manager of the Office of Outdoor Recreation will 
verify that the documentation is complete and that it meets the 
program criteria as outlined in statute and this rule. 
 (6)  All completed documentations will be reviewed and 
awardees selected via the criteria and method as outlined in in this 
rule. 
 

R357-16-4.  Eligible Entities. 
 (1)  Grants may be awarded to the following entities within 
the state of Utah: 
 (a)  Non-profit corporations physically located within the 
State with a 501(c)(3) and (c)(6) status; 
 (b)  Municipalities; 
 (c)  Counties; and 
 (d)  Tribal governments. 
 (2)  The following entities may not receive an infrastructure 
grant: 
 (a)  a federal government entity; 
 (b)  a state agency; and 
 (c)  a for-profit entity. 
 
R357-16-5.  Infrastructure Project Eligibility Criteria. 
 (1)  Budget/Costs/Matching Requirements:  The Office will 
not fund more than 50% of the proposed project's eligible costs.  The 
grant recipient shall provide matching funds having a value equal to 
or greater than the amount of the infrastructure grant. 
 (a)  The maximum grant request is dependent on available 
funds and will be outlined in the grant application. 
 (b)  Up to 50% of the grant recipient match may be 
provided through an in-kind contribution by the grant recipient, if: 
 (i)  approved by the executive director after consultation 
with the director and the board; and 
 (ii)  the in-kind donation does not include real property. 
 (c)  Matching requirements, eligible and ineligible 
matching costs, and other matching funding requirements will be 
provided in the grant application. 
 (d)  At least 75% of the matching funds for the project must 
be secured in order to apply. 
 (2)  Economic Development or Tourism Endorsement:  The 
infrastructure project shall have an endorsement from the local 
economic development office and/or local tourism director stating 
that the project will have the ability to attract growth and retention in 
the community/area and/or have the potential for increased visitation 
to the area. Endorsement:  The infrastructure project endorsement 
should be provided in writing at the time of application. 
 (a)  Statement of Responsibility:  The applicant must 
include a Statement of Responsibility from the entity who will 
maintain the recreational infrastructure in the future.  This will be 
required by the Office as a condition to receiving a grant. 
 (3)  Public Lands:  If the project is located on public lands, 
it must have approval from the appropriate public entity. 
 (a)  The applicant may be required to show approval from 
the agency that follows the National Environmental Policy Act 
(NEPA) process as a condition to receiving the grant. 
 (4)  Property Ownership: All projects must be located on 
land that is owned by or under the control of the applicant or a partner 
(e.g. local government or conservancy.) 
 (a)  If the project crosses private property, as in the case of 
a trail, a binding agreement must be reached with the property owners 
for a minimum of 10 years. 
 (5)  Sensitive Wildlife Areas: Applicant must coordinate 
with the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources (DWR) to determine if 
the project is located in a special management area for sensitive 
species such as the greater sage grouse. 
 (a)  If the project is in or near a Sage Grouse Management 
Area (SGMA), the project proponent shall coordinate with DWR to 
make reasonable accommodations to avoid, minimize or mitigate the 
impacts to greater sage-grouse and their habitats. 
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 ( 6)  infrastructure projects may include but are not limited 
to: 
 (a)  The establishment, construction, or renovation of trails, 
trail facilities, and trail infrastructure (e.g. trail kiosk, trail 
wayfinding signage, trailhead parking, restroom facilities, bridge or 
tunnel); 
 (b)  The construction of a project for water-related outdoor 
recreational activities; 
 (c)  The development of a project for wildlife watching 
opportunities, including bird watching; 
 (d)  The development of a project that provides winter 
recreation amenities; 
 (e)  the construction or improvement of a community park 
that has amenities for outdoor recreation; 
 (f)  The construction or improvement of a naturalistic and 
accessible playground; 
 (g)  the construction of a community owned or sponsored 
campground; or 
 (h)  The establishment or construction of a community 
owned outdoor shooting or archery range. 
 (8)  Ineligible Infrastructure projects may include but are 
not limited to: 
 (a)  A private business such as outdoor service concession, 
amusement park, tubing park, etc.; 
 (b)  Outdoor education programming; 
 (c)  Outdoor swimming pools; 
 (d)  Golf Courses; 
 (e)  Athletic fields or courts; 
 (f)  Outdoor amphitheaters; 
 (g)  General community wayfinding signage; or 
 (h)  Harbor dredging projects. 
 
R357-16-7.  Method and Formula for Determining Grant 
Recipients. 
 (1)  The Office shall use a weighted scoring system to 
enable the Utah Outdoor Recreation Grant Advisory Committee 
(pursuant to 63N-9-204) to analyze and advise on the awarding of 
grant and grant amounts. 
 (a)  The scoring system shall be made available in the 
application; 
 (b)  The scoring system will assess and value general 
categories including: 
 i.  Community need; 
 ii.  Economic impact including the potential to increase 
area tourism; 
 iii.  Recreation access and value; 
 iv.  Project readiness; and 
 v. 
 vi.  Location within an underserved population or area. 
 (2)  The Office shall distribute the grant applications among 
the committee members and ensure that each application will be 
reviewed and scored by members of the advisory committee. 
 (3)  The Office will use the average of the scores to create 
a prioritization matrix ranking the applications in ascending order. 
 (4)  Committee Review Procedure 
 (a)  The Office shall convene the advisory committee for a 
meeting for the purpose of selecting the projects which will be 
recommended for the review 
 i.  Method and formula for determining grant awards in 
committee meeting: 
 A.  A prioritization matrix will be utilized to rank the 
projects 

 B.  All but the lowest ranked projects will receive a review 
during the meeting of the committee 
 1.  Subject to procedural rules, a member and a second may 
request a vote to bring a low scored project that was not scheduled 
for review to receive consideration by the committee 
 2.  Subject to procedural rules, a member and a second may 
request a full committee vote for recommendation of an award 
 ii.  Prioritization may be given to projects that: 
 A.  Conform to the criteria and eligibility as set forth in the 
program guide; and 
 B.  can increase visitation; or 
 C.  will serve an underprivileged or underserved 
community; or 
 D.  will provide geographic parity; or 
 E.  are trails that are "family friendly"or 
 F.  are trail segments that complete trail gap; or 
 G.  will add to connect trails for a larger trail network; or 
 H.  enhance an outdoor recreation amenity that draws 
tourists; and 
 I.  have coordinated with the local tourism office to market 
the project as a tourism attraction. 
 (b)  Rules for scoring during Grant scoring meeting 
 i.  No committee member shall vote on a project in which 
he/she has substantial interest and shall leave the room while the 
project is being reviewed and voted on. 
 ii.  To aid in the meeting evaluation, a synopsis of each of 
the projects will be provided and each reviewer will have access to 
all scored evaluations 
 (c)  In accordance with available funds, the committee will 
give proposals for funding 
 (d)  The recommendations for grant awards will be 
forwarded to the executive director who will consult with the director 
and the Governor's Office of Economic Development board and give 
final approval. 
 (e)  In the event an awardee's project no long qualifies for 
the grant, the grant award may be awarded to the highest scored 
project of the denied applicants. 
 (f)  The office will notify applicants of the funding decision 
within two weeks of the final decision 
 i.  Winning applicants will be notified of expected 
contractual requirements 
 ii.  The grant applicants who were unsuccessful in winning 
a grant award will be notified of the rejection. 
 A.  A copy of the reviewers written comments with 
redacted names shall be provided to rejected applicants upon request. 
 
R357-16-8.  Reporting and Cooperation Requirements. 
 (1)  Grant recipient will cooperate with reasonable requests 
for site visits during and after completion of the Project. 
 (2)  Grant recipient will provide any additional financial 
records related to the grant project upon the Office's request.  Grant 
recipient will give a progress report twice yearly until project is 
completed. 
 (3)  Grant recipient will provide economic development 
information and supporting documentation of economic development 
goals achieved at minimum on an annual basis or upon the Office's 
request. 
 (a)  Such information shall be provided for up to 10 years 
following completion of the Project. 
 (4)  Grant recipient shall provide a description and an 
itemized report detailing the expenditure of the grant or the intended 
expenditure of any grant funds that has not been spent. 
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 (5)  Grant recipient shall provide the Office with a final 
written itemized report when the entire grant is spent. 
 (6)  The reports referenced in (4) and (5) shall be provided 
at least annually, and no later than 60 days after the grant agreement 
has expired. 
 (a)  Each report shall include: 
 i.  an accounting of project expenditures; and 
 ii.  assurances that all monies paid to the grant recipient 
were used for planning, construction, or improvements as describe in 
the recipient's grant application and grant agreement. 
 
R357-16-9.  Appeal of Application Denial. 
 (1)  A denial of an applicant's request for a grant may be 
appealed by written request pursuant to Utah Code Section 63G-4-
201, and in accordance with this rule. 
 (2)  Hearings must be requested within 30 calendar days 
from the date that the Office sends written notice of its denial of grant. 
 (3)  Failure to submit a timely request for a hearing 
constitutes a waiver of due process rights.  The request must explain 
why the party is seeking agency relief, and the party must submit the 
request on the "Request for Hearing/Agency Action" form.  The party 
must mail or email a scanned copy of the form to the address or email 
address contained on the denial. 
 (4)  The Office considers a hearing request that a recipient 
sends via mail to be filed on the date of the postmark.  If the postmark 
date is illegible, erroneous, or omitted, the Office considers the 
request to be filed on the date that the Office receives it, unless the 
sender can demonstrate through convincing evidence that it was 
mailed before the date of receipt. 
 (5)  The Office shall hold informal adjudicative 
proceedings in accordance with Utah Code Sections 63G-4-202 and 
203.  The Office shall notify the petitioner and Office representative 
of the date, time and place of the hearing at least ten days in advance 
of the hearing.  Continuances of scheduled hearings are not favored, 
but may be for good cause shown.  Failure by any party to appear at 
the hearing after notice has been given shall be grounds for default 
and shall waive both the right to contest the allegations and the right 
to the hearing. 
 (6)  The Petitioner named in the notice of agency action and 
the Office shall be permitted to testify, present evidence, and 
comment on the issues. Formal rules of evidence shall not apply; 
however, 
 (a)  Testimony may be taken under oath. 
 (b)  All hearings are open to all parties. 
 (c)  Discovery is prohibited; informal disclosures will be 
ruled on at the pre-hearing conference. 
 (d)  A respondent shall have access to relevant information 
contained in the Office's files and to material gathered in the 
investigation of respondent to the extent permitted by law. 
 (e)  The Office may cause an official record of the hearing 
to be made, at the Office's expense. 
 (7)  Within a reasonable time, not to exceed 60 days after 
the close of the informal proceeding, the Office shall issue a signed 
decision in writing that includes a findings of fact and conclusions of 
law, and time limits for appeals rights, and administrative or judicial 
review in accordance with Utah Code Subsection 63G-4-203(i). 
 
KEY:  Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Grant, outdoor 
recreation, grants 
Date of Last Change:  January 17, 2018 
Notice of Continuation:  March 11, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-9-203] 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-16a Filing ID: 
54820 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-16a.  Restoration Recreation Infrastructure Grant 
Program Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is no longer necessary as a result of the passage 
of H.B. 305 passed during the 2022 General Session 
which moved and renumbered provisions related to the 
Restoration Recreation Infrastructure Grant Program from 
the Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity.  The 
Department of Natural Resources will file a new rule under 
the correct title should it determine a rule is required. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
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B)  Local governments: 

The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
any fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal 
note of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
other persons' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule requires no action or compliance by 
any persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63N-9-302(3) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/25/2022 
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R357.  Governor, Economic Development. 
[R357-16a.  Restoration Recreation Infrastructure Grant 
Program Rule. 
R357-16a-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Restoration Recreation 
Infrastructure Grant Program Rule." 
 
R357-16a-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the terms defined in 63N-9-102 and R357-
16-3, the following terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "Developed campground" includes those which have 
been improved or developed from a moderate to a highly developed 
level. 
 (2)  "Developed recreation site" means an area which has 
been improved or developed for recreation. 
 (3)  "Developed trail" includes those that are considered 
developed, highly developed or fully developed trails which 
commonly have constructed features of either native or imported 
materials and incorporate route identification signage as needed for 
user reassurance. 
 (4)  "Developed water recreation facilities" includes those 
with recreational facilities for water based recreation opportunities 
for the use, enjoyment and safety of visitors. 
 (5)  "OOR" means the Utah Office of Outdoor Recreation. 
 (6)  "Partner" means two or more entities collaborating with 
a common interest or goal in restoring or rehabilitating recreational 
infrastructure. 
 
R357-16a-103.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted by OOR under the authority of 
Subsection 63N-9-302 (3). 
 
R357-16a-104.  Application Form and Submission Process. 
 (1)  The application will be provided by OOR and contain 
the following content: 
 (a)  general submission instructions; 
 (b)  grants available to be claimed; 
 (c)  criteria for qualification of a grant; 
 (d)  instructions regarding a project description including 
timeline; 
 (e)  instructions for providing a budget for total project cost, 
highlight of funds already procured for the project; and an itemized 
accounting showing planned use of the grant funds being requested; 
 (f)  instructions for reporting project impacts including 
community and economic impacts; 
 (g)  the application scoring system; 
 (h)  any required deadlines, reports, and relevant timelines; 
and 
 (i)  all required documents and information necessary for 
verification and approval of the application. 
 (2)(a)  The application shall be created in an electronic form 
available to the public on OOR's website; and 
 (b)  shall be available in paper upon request. 
 (4)  To be considered for review an application must be 
received by OOR on or before the specified deadline in the 
application. 
 (5)  Staff will review applications for completeness. 
 
R357-16a-105.  Eligible Entities. 
 (1)  Grants may be awarded to the following entities within 
the state of Utah: 

 (a)  non-profit corporations physically located within the 
State classified under 501 (c); 
 (b)  municipalities; 
 (c)  counties; and 
 (d)  tribal governments. 
 (2)  For projects on Federal or State lands, grant applicants 
must be partnered with the appropriate public land management 
agency for projects on those lands.  Such partners may include. 
 (3)  For-profit entities may not receive a recreation 
restoration infrastructure grant. 
 
R357-16a-106.  Recreation Restoration Eligibility Criteria. 
 (1)  Budget/Costs/Matching Requirements:  The Office will 
not fund more than 50% of the proposed project's eligible costs.  The 
grant recipient and/or their partners shall provide matching funds 
having a value equal to or greater than the amount of the 
infrastructure grant. 
 (2)  The maximum grant request is dependent on available 
annual funds and will be outlined in the grant application. 
 (3)  Non-profit corporation applicants may provide an in-
kind match in lieu of cash, provided applicant partners provide the 
necessary cash match to qualify for the match requirement. 
 (4)  Up to 50% of the grant recipient's match may be 
provided through an in-kind contribution by the grant recipient, if: 
 (a)  approved by the executive director after consultation 
with the director and the advisory committee; 
 (b)  the in-kind donation meets the requirements for an 
eligible match; and 
 (d)  the in-kind donation is for services or materials that are 
directly related to the construction of the project. 
 (5)  Matching requirements, eligible and ineligible 
matching costs, and other matching funding requirements will be 
provided in the grant application. 
 (6)  At least 75% of the matching funds for the project must 
be secured in order for the application to be considered. 
 (7)  Recreation restoration infrastructure projects are 
limited to projects that are for the reconstruction, rehabilitating, 
replacing, and restoration of existing recreation infrastructure to meet 
visitor needs. 
 (8)  Projects that are exclusively for the construction of new 
infrastructure are not eligible, however projects in which a minor 
portion of project funds are for the construction of new infrastructure 
in conjunction with a restoration project may be considered. 
 (9)  Project sites that are primitive or semi-primitive are not 
eligible. 
 (10)  Rehabilitation projects shall include those in which an 
existing trail is re-routed for sustainability or a campsite is moved. 
 (11)  Eligible recreational infrastructure projects include: 
 (a)  Trail improvements such as the realignment, rerouting, 
and reconstruction of existing or destroyed developed trail and trail 
systems; 
 (b)  the updating, repair, replacement, or improvement of 
existing or destroyed developed trailside amenities; 
 (c)  the restoration or rehabilitation of developed 
campground infrastructure to meet the needs of visitors and improve 
their safety; 
 (d)  the restoration or rehabilitation of developed recreation 
site for day use sites which shall include such as picnic tables, fire 
pit/grill areas, shade structures including pavilions for larger groups, 
and restrooms; and 
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 (e)  The restoration or rehabilitation of developed water 
recreation facilities include: pier, dock, boat ramp. 
 
R357-16a-107.  Method and Formula for Determining Grant 
Recipients. 
 (1)  OOR shall use a weighted scoring system to enable the 
advisory committee to analyze and advise on the awarding of grant 
and grant amounts.  The scoring system shall: 
 (a)  be made available in the application; and 
 (b)  assess and value general categories. 
 (2)  OOR shall distribute the grant applications among the 
advisory committee members and ensure that each application will 
be reviewed and scored by members of the advisory committee. 
 (3)  OOR will use the average of the scores provided by the 
advisory committee members to create a prioritization matrix ranking 
the applications in descending order. 
 (4)  OOR will provide a synopsis of each scored project to 
the advisory committee. 
 (5)  In accordance with available funds, the advisory 
committee shall prioritize projects that the: 
 (a)  advisory committee considers to be high demand 
outdoor recreation amenities or high priority trails; and 
 (b)  data demonstrates that the project area receives or has 
received high visitation. 
 (6)  The recommendations for grant awards will be 
forwarded to the executive director for final approval. 
 (7)  OOR will notify applicants of the funding decision 
within two weeks of the final decision and: 
 (a)  successful applicants will be notified of expected 
contractual requirements; and 
 (8)  unsuccessful applicants will be notified of the rejection. 
 (9)  Upon request an applicant may receive a redacted copy 
of the reviewers comments. 
 (10)  An advisory committee member shall redact 
themselves from a project in which they have substantial interest. 
 
R357-16a-108.  Reporting and Reimbursement Requirements. 
 (1)  Awarded entities will be required to submit, at 
minimum, the following documentation upon reimbursement 
request: 
 (a)  a reimbursement request form on a format provided by 
the Office. 
 (b)  copies of all invoices and evidence of payment (checks, 
bank statements or loan agreements) as well as records of volunteer 
labor or other in-kind donations for work completed on the project; 
and 
 (c)  several photos that show the project is complete. 
 (d)  a final report with the description of the project and 
data requested by the Office. 
 (2)  Partial reimbursement payment may be made through 
the course of the terms of the contract, not to exceed 50% of expenses 
incurred during the development of the project.  A request-for-funds 
form and itemization sheet will be required to be signed and 
submitted to receive the initial 50% of funds. 
 (3)  Grant recipient shall provide a description and an 
itemized report detailing the expenditure of the grant or the intended 
expenditure of any grant funds that has not been spent. 
 (4)  Project reports shall be provided at least every six 
months, and no later than 60 days after the grant agreement has 
expired. 
 (a)  Each project report shall include: 
 (i)  an accounting of project expenditures; and 

 (ii)  assurances that all monies paid to the grant recipient 
were used for planning, construction, or improvements as describe in 
the recipient's grant application and grant agreement. 
 (5)  Grant recipients will cooperate with reasonable 
requests for site visits during and after completion of the project. 
 
KEY:  economic development, recreation restoration, 
infrastructure grant, outdoor recreation 
Date of Last Change:  January 1, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-9-
302(3)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-16b Filing ID: 
54823 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-16b.  Utah Children's Outdoor Recreation and 
Education Grant Program Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is no longer necessary as a result of the passage 
of H.B. 305 passed during the 2022 General Session 
which moved and renumbered provisions related to the 
Utah Children's Outdoor Recreation and Education Grant 
Program from the Governor's Office of Economic 
Opportunity.  The Department of Natural Resources will file 
a new rule under the correct title should it determine a rule 
is required. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
any fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal 
note of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
other persons' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 305 (2022). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule requires no action or compliance by 
any persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63N-9-403(1) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/25/2022 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Development. 
[R357-16b.  Utah Children's Outdoor Recreation and Education 
Grant Program Rule. 
R357-16b-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Utah Children's Outdoor 
Recreation and Education Grant Program Rule." 
 
R357-16b-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the terms defined in Section 63N-9-102, the 
following terms are defined for this rule: 
 (1)  "Advisory committee" means the Utah Outdoor 
Recreation Grant Advisory Committee created in Section 63N-9-204. 
 (2)  "Board" means the Board of Business and Economic 
Development created in Section 63N-1-401. 
 (3)  "Director" means the director of the Utah Office of 
Outdoor Recreation. 
 (4)  "Executive director" means the executive director of 
the Governor's Office of Economic Development. 
 (5)  "Nonprofit corporation" means an entity registered and 
in good standing with the Internal Revenue Service as a 501(c)(3), 
501(c)(4), 501(c)(5), 501(c)(6), 501(c)(7), or 501(c)(8). 
 (6)  "Office" means the Utah Office of Outdoor Recreation. 
 (7)  "Participant" means children, as defined in Subsection 
63N-9-102 (2), who are participating in a UCORE funded program. 
 (8)  "Partner" means two or more entities collaborating with 
a common interest or goal in providing youth with high-quality 
outdoor recreation or nature-based learning programming. 
 (9)  "Recipient" means the organization or entity that is 
awarded a UCORE grant. 
 
R357-16b-103.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted under Subsection 63N-9-403 (1) which 
requires the office to make rules for administration of the UCORE 
grant program. 
 
R357-16b-104.  Application Form and Submission Process. 
 (1)  The application will be provided by the Office and, at 
minimum, contain the following content: 
 (a)  general submission instructions including: 
 (i)  deadlines 
 (ii)  reports; and 
 (iii)  relevant timelines. 
 (b)  grants available to be claimed; 
 (c)  instructions for providing: 
 (i)  a project description; 
 (ii)  timeline; 
 (iii)  a budget for total project cost; 
 (iv)  funds already procured for the project; 
 (v)  an itemized accounting showing planned use of the 
grant funds being requested; 
 (vi)  reporting project impacts including community and 
economic impacts; and 
 (vii)  required documents and information necessary for 
verification and approval of the application; and 
 (d)  the application scoring system. 
 (2)  (a)  The application shall be created in an electronic 
form available to the public on the Office's website; and 

 (b)  be available in paper upon request. 
 (3)  To be considered for review the Office must receive the 
application on or before the deadline specified in the application. 
 
R357-16b-105.  Eligible Entities. 
 (1)  Grants may be awarded to the following entities Utah: 
 (a)   nonprofit corporations, as defined in Subsection R357-
16b-102(5), physically located within Utah; 
 (b)  Utah municipalities; 
 (c)  Utah counties; 
 (d)  tribal governments; and 
 (e)  educational institutions, including public colleges, 
universities, primary and secondary public schools and school 
districts. 
 (2)  For-profit entities may not receive a UCORE grant. 
 
R357-16b-106.  UCORE Grant Eligibility Criteria. 
 (1)  The Office will not fund more than 50% of the 
proposed program's eligible costs. 
 (2)  The maximum grant request is dependent on available 
funds and will be outlined in the grant application. 
 (3)  Applicants and their partners may use both in-kind 
resources and cash, provided the cash match makes up 50% or more 
of the match requirement. 
 (4)  Up to 50% of the grant recipient's match may be 
provided through an in-kind contribution by the grant recipient, if: 
 (a)  approved by the executive director after consultation 
with the director; and 
 (b)  the in-kind donation is for services or materials that are 
directly related to the objectives of the program. 
 (5)  At least 75% of the matching funds for the project must 
be secured in order for the application to be considered. 
 (6)  Programs that teach a difficult skill with some inherent 
risk may begin the skill-building in an indoor controlled environment 
before the program moves the youth into the appropriate outdoor 
space during the program. 
 (7)  To qualify for participation in UCORE programs shall: 
 (a)  maintain any certification or training required by law 
or facility for all staff members or volunteers supervising 
participants; 
 (b)  ensure their program staff and volunteers have received 
the appropriate screenings or applicable background checks before 
taking a role interacting with the youth; 
 (c)  ensure the equipment is in good, working condition and 
that all safety precautions are being followed to minimize the 
inherent risks of outdoor activities; and 
 (d)  carry the appropriate insurance coverage. 
 
R357-16b-107.  Method and Formula for Determining Grant 
Recipients. 
 (1)  The Office shall: 
 (a)  use a weighted scoring system to enable the advisory 
committee to analyze and advise on the awarding of grant and grant 
amounts. The scoring system shall: 
 (i)  be made available in the application; and 
 (ii)  assess and value general categories. 
 (b)  distribute the grant applications among the advisory 
committee members and ensure that each application will be 
reviewed and scored by members of the advisory committee. 
 (c)  use the average of the scores provided by the advisory 
committee members to create a prioritization matrix ranking the 
applications in ascending order. 
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 (d)  provide a synopsis of each scored program to the 
advisory committee. 
 (2)  In awarding UCORE funds, consideration shall be 
given to entities that implement programs that align with the 
priorities outlined in Subsection 63N-9-403(5). 
 (3)  The advisory committee shall make recommendations 
for grant awards and shall forward the recommendations to the 
executive director and the board for final approval. 
 (4)  The Office shall notify applicants of the funding 
decision within two weeks of the final decision and: 
 (a)  successful applicants will be notified of expected 
contractual requirements; and 
 (b)  unsuccessful applicants will be notified of the rejection. 
 (5)  Upon request an applicant may receive feedback as to 
why the application was denied. 
 (6)  An advisory committee member shall recuse 
themselves from voting on a program in which they have substantial 
interest. 
 
R357-16b-108.  Reporting and Reimbursement Requirements. 
 (1)  A grant recipient who is awarded a UCORE grant must 
sign a contract with the Utah prior to receiving any funds. After the 
contract has been signed by both parties, the recipient may receive 
half of the grant funding in order to cover the initial costs of the 
program. 
 (2)  To receive the remaining funds upon completion of the 
project, the grant recipient shall make the request for reimbursement, 
using the request form provided by the Office. The remaining funds 
of the grant award will be given upon completion of the program and 
the following conditions: 
 (a)  the program shall provide a detailed final report 
including required measured data as described in the UCORE 
Program Guide and application and photos or videos that document 
the program's highlights. 
 (b)  invoice from the recipient for the remainder of the 
funds. 
 (c)  supporting documentation to show proof of monies 
spent on programming, as well as documentation of in-kind services 
or other donations or work on the project 
 (3)  The contracts for youth programs will limit the 
applicant to complete the program within 18 months. 
 (4)  If a recipient has a legitimate reason to amend the 
contract, a written request should be submitted to the Office. If 
approved, the contract may be amended at the discretion of the 
Office. 
 (5)  A brief program report shall be provided to the Office 
at least every six months until the completion of the program.  The 
report shall include a description and an itemized report detailing the 
expenditure of the grant or the intended expenditure of any grant 
funds that has not been spent, in addition to a description of any work 
completed and work remaining. 
 
KEY:  outdoor recreation and education 
Date of Last Change:  March 11, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-9-
403(1)] 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-21 Filing ID: 
54825 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-21.  Rural Jobs Act 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
H.B. 25 passed during the 2022 General Session modified 
the Rural Jobs Act.  The purpose of this rule filing is to align 
this rule with the statutory modifications. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule filing makes technical changes and clarifies the 
process for participating in the program. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
the state budget.  This rule is merely updating program 
participation requirements. 
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B)  Local governments: 

There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
local governments because local governments are not 
required to comply with or enforce this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
small businesses because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for small businesses, nor 
does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation.  Participation in the program is optional. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
non-small businesses because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for non-small businesses, 
nor does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation.  Participation in the program is optional. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities, nor does it increase the costs associated with any 
existing obligation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no new compliance costs for affected persons 
because participation in the program is optional. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-4-304 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/23/2022 
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R357.  Governor, Economic Opportunity. 
R357-21.  Rural Jobs Act. 
R357-21-1.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to define and clarify the 
standards required to apply for and receive a non-refundable tax 
credit under the Rural Jobs Act. 
 
R357-21-2.  Authority. 
 (1)  Rulemaking authority is provided in Subsection 63N-
4-304(4). 
 
R357-21-3.  Definitions. 
[ Terms used in this rule are defined under Section 63N-4-
302.] 
 The following terms are defined: 
 (1)  "Same day" means applications received on or before 
11:59 p.m. on November 1, 2022. 
 
R357-21-4.  Calculation of Time. 
 (1)  For the Utah Rural Jobs Act time will be calculated 
beginning the business day after the initial or triggering event. 
 (2)  [If the time within which an act is to be performed is 
60 days or less, the calculation of time will include business days and 
will not include weekends and holidays, unless otherwise indicated. 
 (3)  If the time in which an act is to be performed is 61 days 
or more, weekends or holidays are included. 
 ]If the ending day or due date occurs on a weekend day or 
a state or federal holiday, the due date shall be 11:59 p.m. on the next 
business day following the weekend day or holiday. 
 
R357-21-5.  Applications. 
[ (1)  Applications received on or before 11:59 pm on 
November 1, 2017 shall be considered received on November 1, 
2017. 
 For the evidence required to qualify applicants are 
encouraged to show at least five individual rural investments, of 
$5,000,000 or less, as part of $50,000,000 total investments in 
nonpublic companies located in counties with fewer than 50,000 
inhabitants.] 
 (1)  To qualify applicants shall provide: 
 (a)  at least five individual rural investments of $5,000,000 
or less as part of the $50,000,000 total investments in nonpublic 
companies located in counties with fewer than 50,000 inhabitants; 
and 
 (b)  the most recent Annual Determination letter from the 
office documenting the creation of at least 117 jobs from the 2017 
Rural Jobs Act, if the applicant was approved during the November 
1, 2017 application process. 
 (2)  For any applications received on the same day: 
 (a)  If there is additional investment authority to allocate 
after considering the applications received on the [first]same day of 
submissions, then those applications will be considered on a first 
come first served basis until the total investment authority of 
$42,000,000 has been allocated, except as outlined in Subsection 
63N-4-303(8); and 
 (b)  If there is no additional investment authority to allocate 
after considering the applications received on the [first]same day of 
applications, then the applicants who were not considered will be 
notified of eligibility approval and these applicants will stand in a 
first come first served basis for any recaptured allocation that may 
occur during the program, except as outlined in Subsections 63N-4-
303(8) and 63N-4-305(4). 

 (3)  Notice of Allocation Approval shall be delivered 
through electronic mail and be considered received at the time stamp 
within the electronic mail notice, not when it is read. 
 (4)  [If, after an allocation is made, an applicant withdraws 
its request for investment authority, the amount that was allocated to 
the withdrawing applicant will be redistributed to any approved 
applicant that has not received the full amount of its requested 
investment authority on a pro rata basis with any approved applicants 
that have not received the full amount of their requested investment 
authority.  If there are no approved applicants that have not received 
the full amount of their requested investment authority then other 
approved applicants may receive allocations, using the same priority 
and method as set forth within this rule and the Utah Rural Jobs 
Act:]If an approved applicant withdraws its request for investment 
authority after an allocation is made, the amount allocated to the 
withdrawing applicant will be redistributed to approved applicants 
that have not yet received the full amount of their requested 
investment authority on a pro rata basis. If all approved applicants 
have received the full amount of their requested investment authority, 
then other eligible applicants may be approved and receive 
allocations; 
 (a)  approved applicants will be notified of an additional 
investment authority amount in writing.  The applicant will have ten 
days to either accept the additional investment authority or decline 
the additional investment authority.  Failure to accept in writing will 
be deemed a declination of additional investment authority; 
 (b)  if the additional investment authority is declined, the 
amount will be redistributed to the remaining approved applicants 
that have not received the full amount of their requested investment 
authority and if none then to other approved applicants; and 
 (c)  timing of issuance of additional investment authority:  
Any additional amounts received by approved applicants who have 
already received an allocation of investment authority shall have a 
new independent timeline from the original allocation amount unless 
the approved applicant requests to aggregate the timelines as set forth 
in Subsections R357-21-5(4)(c)(i), (ii), and (iii): 
 (i)  an applicant receiving additional investment authority 
may request to have the additional amount aggregated with the initial 
allocation by making such a request on official letter head to the 
office and by agreeing to waive the independent timeline of the 
additional investment authority amount; 
 (ii)  if aggregation of an original allocation amount with an 
additional investment authority allocation amount may occur without 
violating the Utah Rural Jobs Act or this rule, the office will approve 
the request to aggregate the allocations; and 
 (iii)  [I]if the allocations are aggregated, allocations shall 
be subject to the deadline for the original investment authority 
allocation. 
 (5)  Once the maximum amount of funding has been 
allocated, applicants will be notified that there is no other allocation 
amount available for the fiscal year unless or until an applicant's 
certification lapses, an applicant withdraws its request, or if funding 
is recaptured. 
 (6)  A partnership, limited liability company or S-
corporation will be considered a claimant and may file the affidavit 
set forth in Subsection 63N-4-303(2), provided it includes a list of its 
partners, members, or shareholders and one of its partners, members, 
or shareholders has state tax liability.  No penalty or fine will be 
assessed on a claimant that fails to make the investment set forth in 
an affidavit. 
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R357-21-6.  Annual Fees. 
 (1)  Each applicant will be notified of any recalculation of 
any annual fee at least ten days before each annual reporting date.  If 
no notice of recalculation is received, then the annual fee will be the 
same amount as it was the previous year and will be due along with 
the annual report. 
 
R357-21-7.  Full Funded Applicant. 
 (1)  A notice of full funding pursuant to Subsection 63N-4-
303(7) shall be provided by the applicant on official letterhead of the 
applicant and follow the format, documentation, and other 
requirements in Section R357-21-7: 
 (a)  bank statements, credit instruments, and other 
supporting documentation to show full funding was achieved under 
the requirements outlined in Subsection 63N-4-303(7); and 
 (b) any other documentation the office may request. 
 (2)  If the approved applicant does not meet the 
requirements found in Subsection 63N-4-303(7) or is found to have 
lacking documentation as described in Subsection R357-21-7(1), the 
office shall notify the applicant that its investment authority 
allocation has lapsed by issuing a Notice of Agency Action for 
Lapsed Allocation. 
 (3)  The applicant will have ten business days to submit to 
the executive director a challenge to a Notice of Agency Action for 
Lapsed Allocation: 
 (4)  Any challenge to a Notice of Agency Action for Lapsed 
Allocation shall provide documentation that the requirements of 
Subsection 63N-4-303(7) were met within 65 days of notice of 
approval for investment authority allocation; 
 (5)  The executive director shall issue a final determination 
within five business days of receipt of such a challenge. 
 
R357-21-8.  Form and Notice for Tax Credits. 
 (1)  An approved applicant that has fully funded its 
investment authority allocation and has provided the evidence 
required in Subsection 63N-4-303(7) shall notify the office annually 
of the entities that are eligible to use tax credits as follows: 
 (a)  by submitting the a "Notification of Investment 
Authority Allocation for Rural Jobs Act Tax Credits" to the office on 
official letterhead; 
 (b)  each notice shall be accompanied by documentation of 
the investment made in the fund raised by the approved applicant 
with respect to the entity claiming a tax credit including investment 
amount, entity name, and entity federal employer identification 
number; 
 (c)  each notice shall be accompanied by any documents 
requested by the office; and 
 (d)  for tax credits allowed to a partnership, limited liability 
company or S-corporation, the notice shall be accompanied by any 
necessary documentation or agreements to demonstrate how the 
credits will be used by the partners, members, or shareholders. 
 (2)  Each tax credit certificate shall contain the following 
contingencies: 
 (a)  certification provision requiring the entity receiving the 
tax credit to certify: 
 (i)  it is subject to the recapture provisions set forth in 
Section 63N-4-305; and 
 (ii)  it will not sell the tax credit on the open market; 
 (b)  be available for use annually in accordance with the 
applicable percentages to the entity receiving the tax credit after 
receipt and acceptance of the approved applicant's annual report to 
the office; and 

 (c)  [A]any event of recapture outlined by the Utah Small 
Business Jobs Act or this rule shall prevent the use of an annual tax 
credit certificate to the entity receiving the tax credit. 
 
R357-21-9.  Reports. 
 (1)  The annual reports required by Section 63N-4-307 shall 
include information required in statute and must also include, with 
respect to the first report for any eligible small business: 
 (a)  a baseline of the number of employees at each eligible 
small business that receives an investment based on a payroll report 
of the eligible small business; 
 (b)  new state revenue generated by the eligible small 
business for the previous taxable year of the annual report; 
 (c)  NAICS Code designations the eligible small business 
is officially subscribed to; and 
 (d)  a brief description of the eligible small business 
including general business activities; how investment funds are being 
utilized by the eligible small business, and any other information the 
approved applicant feels relevant. 
 (e)  the amount of funding that the eligible small business 
has received through Title 63N, Chapter 3, Part 8, State Small 
Business Credit Initiative Program Fund; and 
 (f)  an authorization to disclose tax information for each 
eligible small business that accurately reports new state revenue. 
 (2)  New annual jobs shall be calculated on an annual basis 
by subtracting the baseline number of employees reported in Section 
R357-21-9 from annual employment level of the eligible small 
business calculated by averaging the monthly payroll reports of the 
eligible small business for the applicable year, provided that such 
average with respect to the initial annual report for an eligible small 
business shall only include payroll reports for the months following 
the initial growth investment and shall be multiplied by 50% if such 
initial growth investment occurs after June 30 of the applicable year.  
New annual jobs reported may not be less than zero. 
 (3)  Within five days of its investment of 100% of its rural 
investment authority in growth investments in this state with at least 
70% invested in rural counties, the approved applicant must notify 
the office of [the achievement of such ]milestone achievements on a 
report that includes: 
 (a)  the name and location of each eligible small business; 
 (b)  the amount invested in each eligible small business; 
and 
 (c)  whether the eligible small business is located in a rural 
county. 
 (4)  [For the initial and subsequent annual reports. 
 (5)  ]An approved applicant may submit the reports on its 
own forms, but reports must be presented in plain language and 
simple to navigate. 
 (5)  The office will apply a proration of job creation for 
each company that received investment from multiple Rural Jobs Act 
applicants, determined by investment duration for the year and 
amount. 
 
R357-21-10.  Recapture (Revocation). 
 (1)  If the office determines recapture is necessary pursuant 
to Section 63N-4-305, the office shall issue a Provisional Notice of 
Agency Action for Recapture to both the approved applicant and the 
taxpayer that claimed the tax credit. Such notice shall be delivered to 
the approved applicant by electronic mail and certified mail, and shall 
state under Section 63N-4-305 the recapture is sought. 
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 (2)  The 90 -day cure period provided for in Section 63N-
4-305 begins on the day following receipt of the Provisional Notice 
of Agency Action for Recapture.  If the action or omission upon 
which the recapture is based is cured during the 90 day cure period, 
the office shall issue a notice of cure to the approved applicant.[  If 
the action or omission upon which the recapture is based is not cured 
within the 90 cure period, the office shall issue a final Notice of 
Agency Action for Recapture to the approved applicant, the taxpayer 
that claimed the tax credit, and the Utah Tax Commission.] 
 (3)  If after the 90 -day cure period, the action or omission 
upon which the recapture is based is not cured, the office shall issue 
a final Notice of Agency Action for Recapture. 
 The Final Notice of Agency Action for Recapture shall also 
be sent to the Utah Tax Commission. 
 (4)  To remain 100% invested during the compliance 
period, if fund losses occur due to an eligible small business' inability 
to meet their investment obligation, the rural investment company 
shall satisfy the 100% investment requirements of Subsection 63N-
4-305(1) by reinvesting any capital that is recovered. Investment 
amounts not recovered will not have to be reinvested to satisfy the 
100% investment requirements of Subsection 63N-4-305(1). 
 
R357-21-11.  Exit. 
 (1)  An approved applicant may exit the program pursuant 
to requirements outlined in Section 63N-4-309. 
 (2)  The request for exit must be made on official letterhead 
of the approved applicant and contain the following: 
 (a)  the calculation used to determine the state 
reimbursement amount; 
 (b)  the aggregate new annual jobs reported in earlier 
annual reports; and 
 (c)  the calculation used to determine the excess return 
amount including: 
 (i)  relevant documentation used to show the present value 
of each growth investment made by the approved applicant on the 
day the approved applicant applies for exit from the program.  
Relevant documentation must show from verifiable sources how the 
present value of each growth investment is determined and additional 
documentation may be requested by the office to verify values 
provided; and 
 (ii)  relevant documentation that shows how any projected 
increase in an equity holder's federal or state tax liability including 
penalties and interest, related to the equity holder's ownership, 
management, or operation of the rural investment company, was 
determined.  This may include actual tax filings of the equity holder 
whose increase is utilized in the excess return calculation. 
 
KEY:  rural development, rural jobs, tax credit 
Date of Last Change:  [January 21,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-4-
304(4) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-24 Filing ID: 
54824 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-24.  Utah Works Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is no longer necessary as a result of the passage 
of H.B. 333 passed during the 2022 General Session 
which moved and renumbered provisions related to the 
Utah Works Program from the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity.  The Utah System of Higher 
Education will file a new rule under the correct title should 
it determine a rule is required. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
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C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
any fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal 
note of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
other persons' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule requires no action or compliance by 
any persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-12-505 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/25/2022 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Opportunity. 
[R357-24.  Utah Works Program. 
R357-24-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Utah Works Program Rule." 
 
R357-24-102.  Purpose and Goals. 
 (1)  The Talent Ready Utah Center's Utah Works Program 
promotes partnerships between companies and post-secondary 
institutions to fill high demand positions and provide skills training.  
This program teams industry, post-secondary institutions, and state 
agencies to address specific workforce gaps identified by companies. 
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 (2)  The goal of UWP is to accelerate hiring and skills 
training that will lead to economic growth. 
 
R357-24-103.  Definitions. 
 The following terms are defined: 
 (1)  "Applicant" means a collaboration between one or 
more companies and one or more post-secondary institutions for a 
particular hiring program. 
 (2)  "Awardee" means an applicant that has been awarded 
a UWP grant. 
 (3)  "Collaboration" means the strategic coordination 
between a company and post-secondary institution to address a 
skilled labor gap. 
 (4)  "Company" means a corporation, limited liability 
company, partnership, association, or other business entity and may 
include a federal military installation when such entity otherwise 
meets UWP eligibility requirements and does not include an 
individual, sole proprietorship, or educational institution. 
 (5)  "Company representative" means a representative from 
a company that is designated to support the efforts of the 
collaboration. 
 (6)  "High demand position" means a position in which 
there are hard to fill jobs with a lack of skilled labor employees or a 
large number of skilled labor positions needed in a short amount of 
time. 
 (7)  "Pre-hire program" means an applicant's plan to vet 
potential hires prior to the skills training. The pre-hire program will 
typically consist of a training lasting from two days to two weeks. 
 (8)  "Post-secondary institution" means an entity under the 
Utah System of Higher Education. 
 (9)  "Skilled labor" means jobs that require skills training 
and a level of skill. 
 (10)  "Skilled labor gap" means the disparity between a 
company's existing or future skill needs. 
 (11)  "Skills training program" means a training plan 
developed and agreed upon between the post-secondary institution 
and a company. 
 (12)  "TRU" means the Talent Ready Utah Center. 
 (13)  "UWP" means the Utah Works Program. 
 (14)  "UWP grant" means the competitive grants awarded 
and administered under this Rule. 
 
R357-24-104.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted by the office under the authority of 
Section 63N-1b-307. 
 
R357-24-105.  Eligibility Criteria. 
 (1)  Proposal must be jointly developed by a company and 
a post-secondary institution. 
 (2)  Applicants must submit proposals as outlined in 
Section R357-24-106, and otherwise specified in TRU. 
 (3)  A company representative must certify that: 
 (a)  the company has a skilled labor gap; 
 (b)  the proposed post-secondary institution partnership 
will meet that gap need; 
 (c)  the company has significant one time or ongoing hiring 
demands; and 
 (d)  the company commits to provide a cost-share 
contribution as outlined in Subsection R357-24-105(5). 
 (4)  The company must have a substantial presence in Utah. 
 (a)  A substantial presence, for purposes of UWP requires: 

 (i)  the company must be properly registered with the Utah 
Division of Corporations as an active, for-profit business entity, in 
good standing; and 
 (ii)  the company must be properly licensed in the 
appropriate city or county. 
 (b)  TRU shall, according to its judgment and discretion, 
determine whether a company has a substantial presence for purposes 
of a UWP grant by weighing; 
 (i)  total workforce and percentage of company's workforce 
in Utah; 
 (ii)  amount of business taxes paid to the state; 
 (iii)  relative size of the company; 
 (iv)  whether the company's principal place of business is 
Utah; 
 (v)  likelihood that the company will maintain a significant 
presence in the state; 
 (vi)  a commitment of capital expenditure and new job 
creation in the state; and 
 (vii)  the degree to which the company's activities and 
operations positively impact Utah's economy. 
 (5)  The company must fulfill the following cost-sharing 
requirements: 
 (a)  provide a company representative to support the 
collaboration; 
 (b)  provide an "in-kind" contribution, approved by TRU, 
which may include: 
 (i)  company representative's time spent on the 
collaboration; 
 (ii)  materials and equipment; 
 (iii)  work or research space; 
 (iv)  travel and other company expenses budgeted for the 
collaboration; or 
 (v)  other contributions approved by TRU; and 
 (c)  make available for audit reported cost-share activities. 
 (6)  Applicants may coordinate with the Department of 
Workforce Services when building pre-hire program objectives. 
 
R357-24-106.  Proposal and Submission Process. 
 (1)  TRU will accept proposals for UWP grants on an 
ongoing basis subject to available funds. 
 (2)  Applicants shall submit proposals in a form and manner 
specified by TRU. 
 (3)  The proposal must include: 
 (a)  a description of the applicant's eligibility; 
 (b)  a detailed description of pre-hire program, if 
applicable, and skills training program; 
 (c)  description of skilled labor positions; 
 (d)  projected number of individuals who will start the 
program, finish the program and be successfully hired; 
 (e)  potential economic impact on the Utah economy; 
 (f)  an executed collaboration agreement between the 
company and post-secondary institution; and 
 (g)  an outlined budget for total program cost, including: 
 (i)  a description of any funds already secured for activities 
related to the program; 
 (ii)  breakdown of costs to complete the scope of work; 
 (iii)  an itemized budget detailing planned use of grant 
funds, including how the funding will be allocated, tracked, and 
reported; and 
 (iv)  awardee must use grant funds for expenses specific to 
the program and may include: 
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 (A)  instructors; 
 (B)  marketing; 
 (C)  equipment; 
 (D)  equipment maintenance; 
 (E)  tuition reimbursements; 
 (F)  curriculum and program development; 
 (G)  program management; 
 (H)  US security clearances; and 
 (I)  travel for training from rural areas as approved by TRU. 
 (4)  Completed proposals will be reviewed and awardees 
selected via the criteria and method outlined in this Rule. 
 
R357-24-107.  Method for Selecting Awardees. 
 (1)  TRU will evaluate grant proposals and recommend 
grant amounts. 
 (2)  TRU will, according to its discretion and judgment, 
review the applicant's proposal by considering: 
 (a)  statewide or regional importance of the industry to 
Utah's economy; 
 (b)  relative size of the sector, its stability, and growth 
potential; 
 (c)  characteristics of the state's workforce including 
education and training; 
 (d)  the current availability of other sources of funding; 
 (e)  the potential for the industry to develop new jobs and 
business opportunities in the state; 
 (f)  likelihood that skilled labor in this sector will result in 
the creation of a company in Utah or growth of existing Utah 
company; 
 (g)  number of positions to be trained and filled; 
 (h)  impact on the local economy; and 
 (i)  any other factor TRU deems relevant, considering the 
mission of UWP and the purpose of the UWP grant. 
 (3)  The criteria will be designed to assess each proposal 
and may include: 
 (a)  completeness of proposal; 
 (b)  thorough pre-hire program and skills training program; 
 (c)  reasonableness of proposal; 
 (d)  reasonableness of the proposed timeline; 
 (e)  reasonableness of the proposed budget; 
 (f)  availability of UWP grant funds; 
 (g)  potential for economic impact, as measured by: 
 (i)  skilled labor gap mitigation; 
 (ii)  meeting target head count; 
 (iii)  potential revenue due to expansion of current business 
or development of new businesses; 
 (iv)  projected time to fill job needs; 
 (v)  market need or industry impact; 
 (h)  any other factor of the applicant's ability to produce 
measurable and timely benefits to the state; and 
 (i)  any factor relating to eligibility requirements. 
 (4)  UWP grants must be used to mitigate gaps and meet 
company hiring demands.  The program proposals referenced in 
Section R357-24-106 must identify specific pre-hire program and 
skills training. 
 (5)  In the event of a favorable recommendation by TRU 
the proposal will be reviewed by the Talent, Education, and Industry 
Alignment Subcommittee using the same criteria. 
 (6)  An applicant will become an awardee only upon 
approval by TRU and the Talent, Education, and Industry Alignment 
Subcommittee. 
 

R357-24-108.  Grant Amount, Award, and Required Contract. 
 (1)  TRU will have the discretion to limit the maximum 
amount of funding that may be awarded for each UWP grant based 
on available funds, scope of the collaboration, and quality of 
proposal. 
 (2)  TRU reserves the right to award funding for any 
proposal in full or in part, to request additional information, or to 
reject any proposals based on the eligibility and evaluation criteria 
set forth in these Rules, Utah law, and according to the judgment and 
discretion of TRU.  TRU also reserves the right to certify any 
agreements between post-secondary institution and company on IP 
terms and confidentiality. 
 (3)  Upon award of a UWP grant, and prior to disbursement 
of any funds, awardee must enter into a contract with Go Utah 
governing the use of UWP grant funding. 
 (4)  Unless addressed in the terms and conditions of the 
contract between awardee and Go Utah the following provisions shall 
apply: 
 (a)  UWP grant funding may not be used to provide a 
primary benefit to any state other than Utah; 
 (b)  Subject to TRU approval, TRU may, via supplemental 
contract, allocate grant funds directly to an awardee company to pay 
for the cost of US security clearances for UWP grant program hires 
where a US security clearance is required as a condition of the 
position; and 
 (c)  for any other eligibility requirements, awardees must 
maintain eligibility status for UWP program until the collaboration is 
complete, scope of work requirements have been met, final 
disbursement of funding has been made, and first year reporting has 
been completed. 
 (5)  Any misrepresentation to TRU or violations of this 
Rule may result in forfeiture of UWP grant funding and require 
repayment of the funding received as part of UWP grant or 
disqualification from continued funding. 
 (6)  TRU reserves the right to audit the use of any UWP 
grant funding. 
 
R357-24-109.  Contract Modifications. 
 (1)  Awardee may request a modification to the terms of a 
UWP contract. 
 (2)  TRU may deny a modification request for any reason. 
 (3)  TRU shall have discretion to agree to reasonable, 
nonsubstantive changes which may include: 
 (a)  changes to timelines within the scope of work; 
 (b)  corrections to clerical errors in the proposal materials; 
and 
 (c)  technical changes to conditions that do not alter the 
budget, company's eligibility status, or violate any state or federal 
law. 
 (4)  Substantive changes must be approved by TRU in 
consultation with the Talent, Education, and Industry Alignment 
subcommittee. 
 (5)  Approved changes shall be made in writing and through 
an amendment modifying the terms of the grant contract. 
 (6)  Awardees refusal or failure to sign the contract within 
90 days of receipt of contract constitutes a rejection of the UWP grant 
and a waiver of any rights and benefits. 
 
R357-24-110.  Funding Distribution. 
 (1)  TRU shall reimburse the awardee for no more than the 
total amount specified in the contract. 
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 (2)  Payment will only be made for those costs authorized 
and approved by TRU after providing sufficient documentation in 
accordance with the terms and conditions provided in the contract. 
 (3)  After execution of the contract between Go Utah and 
awardee: 
 (a)  awardee may receive up to 50% of the total grant 
amount, subject to TRU approval; and 
 (b)  remaining funds to be disbursed on a reimbursement 
basis, as outlined in scope of work and after company provides 
sufficient evidence of initial expenditures. 
 (4)  Failure to successfully complete the scope of work 
requirements may result in a recapture of any of the grant funding 
and will be grounds to terminate the contract and any future funding. 
 
R357-24-111.  Reporting and Cooperation Requirements. 
 (1)  The awardee shall report to TRU and provide 
documentation evidencing metrics for inclusion in the annual report 
described in Section 63N-1a-306: 
 (a)  the number of participants in the program; 
 (b)  the number of participants who have completed 
training offered by the program; 
 (c)  the number of participants who have been hired by a 
business participating in the program; and 
 (d)  any additional data needed as required and outlined in 
the terms of the contract. 
 (2)  Awardee shall submit to any audit, by TRU or a third-
party, to verify reported data. 
 
KEY:  economic development, Talent Ready Utah, Utah Works 
Program 
Date of Last Change:  December 3, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-12-505] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-26 Filing ID: 
54821 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-26.  Rural Rapid Manufacturing Grant Program 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
H.B. 333 passed during the 2022 General Session which 
repealed the Rural Rapid Manufacturing Grant Program.  
Thus, this rule is no longer necessary. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
any fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal 
note of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
other persons' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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The repeal of this rule requires no action or compliance by 
any persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63N-4-604(1) 

  

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/25/2022 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Opportunity. 
[R357-26.  Rural Rapid Manufacturing Grant Program. 
R357-26-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Rural Rapid Manufacturing 
Grant Program Rule." 
 
R357-26-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Section 63N-4-602 as 
defined or used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Office" means the Governor's Office of Economic 
Opportunity. 
 (2)  "Project" means: 
 (a)  construction or renovation of a rapid manufacturing 
clothing production laboratory, engineering and computer graphics 
laboratory, manufacturing systems laboratory, or textile science 
laboratory designed to train students and employees; 
 (b)  the building and improvement of equipment to provide 
opportunities for students and employees to train and participate in 
rapid manufacturing; or 
 (c)  training and scholarships for students and employees to 
participate in rapid manufacturing employment opportunities. 
 
R357-26-103.  Authority. 
 (1)  Subsection 63N-4-604(1) requires the office to make 
rules establishing the eligibility and reporting criteria for an entity to 
receive a grant. 
 
R357-26-104.  Content of Application. 
 The following content shall, at minimum, be included in 
each entity's application for a grant: 
 (1)  organizational information including: 
 (a)  entity name; 
 (b)  entity address; 
 (c)  entity telephone number; 
 (d)  entity Tax ID; 
 (e)  entity contacts; 
 (f)  contact email addresses; 
 (g)  contact telephone numbers; and 
 (h)  amount of grant funding request. 
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 (2)  Supporting documentation including: 
 (a)  list stakeholders and partners involved in the grant 
project and the roles they will perform; 
 (b)  letters of support from any entities involved in the 
project; 
 (c)  letter of support from the community in which the 
project will take place; 
 (d)  quotes and bids for proposed project; 
 (e)  drafts or renderings of the proposed construction or 
renovation projects, or pictures of existing property to be modified to 
accommodate a laboratory; 
 (f)  the entity's W9 form, or the applicant's State if the 
applicant is currently a state vendor; and 
 (g)  project plan that includes: 
 (i)  project proposal; 
 (ii)  scope of work; 
 (iii)  itemized budget; 
 (iv)  timeline; 
 (v)  deliverables and outcomes; and 
 (vi)  how the deliverable and outcomes will be gathered and 
tracked. 
 (3)  In addition to the requirements in this section, non-
profit entities that apply for grant funding are required to submit: 
 (a)  IRS designation letter; 
 (b)  non-profit organization W-9; 
 (c)  charitable Solicitation Permit; 
 (d)  certificate of good standing; 
 (e)  Articles of Incorporation; 
 (f)  by-laws; 
 (g)  list of board members; 
 (h)  GRAMA form; and 
 (i)  letter of support from the Economic Development 
Director or County or City Official in the designated area. 
 
R357-26-105.  Application and Approval Procedure. 
 (1)  The office will use a scoring system to analyze the 
awarding of grants and grant amounts.  The scoring system will be 
made available in the instructions to the application. 
 (2)  If, after review of an application provided by an entity 
the office determines that the application provides reasonable 
justification for authorizing a grant and if there are available funds 
for the grant, the office shall enter into a written agreement with the 
entity for a term no longer than 18 months. 
 (3)  An entity, without earlier written approval from the 
office, may not begin performance on the contract until the contract 
agreement is completely executed. 
 
R357-26-106.  Project Reimbursement. 
 (1)  Awarded entities will be required to submit, at 
minimum, the following documentation upon reimbursement 
request: 
 (a)  a letter of request on entity letterhead specifying the 
amount requested and certifying that the project is either partially 
completed, up to 50%, or fully completed and each invoice has been 
paid.  The letter of request shall be signed and the accuracy of the 
information verified by a company officer; 
 (b)  copies of invoices and evidence of payment for work 
on the project; 
 (c)  photo evidence that the project is partially completed 
or fully completed. Provide several photos of the project, the 
building, expansion, installed and functioning equipment. 

 (2)  Partial reimbursement payment may be made through 
the course of the 18-month term of the contract, not to exceed 50% 
of expenses incurred during the development of the project.  A 
request-for-funds form and itemization sheet will be required to be 
signed and submitted to receive the initial 50% of funds. 
 
KEY:  rural manufacturing, economic development 
Date of Last Change:  December 29, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-4-
604(1)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-28 Filing ID: 
54822 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-28.  Talent Ready Connections Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is no longer necessary as a result of the passage 
of H.B. 333 passed during the 2022 General Session 
which moved and renumbered provisions related to the 
Talent Ready Connections Program from the Governor's 
Office of Economic Opportunity.  The Utah System of 
Higher Education will file a new rule under the correct title 
should it determine a rule is required. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
any fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal 
note of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
other persons' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule requires no action or compliance by 
any persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-1b-306 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/25/2022 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Opportunity. 
[R357-28.  Talent Ready Connections Program. 
R357-28-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Talent Ready Connections 
Program Rule." 
 
R357-28-102.  Purpose. 
 (1)  Within the Center the Talent Ready Connections 
Program is created to support a system of youth apprenticeships and 
work based learning opportunities tailored to the specific workforce 
needs of high demand industries. 
 
R357-28-103.  Definitions. 
 The following terms are defined: 
 (1)  "Coordinator" means a full-time employee who has 
been authorized by the center under Subsection 63N--1b-306 (5). 
 (2)  "Educational Administration" means any institutional 
administration percentage costs associated with TRC. 
 (3)  "Education Partner" means a public high school, 
technical college, or institution of higher education that partners with 
a participating employer and has received a TRC grant. 
 (4)  "Go Utah" means the Governor's Office of Economic 
Opportunity. 
 (5)  "High demand Industry" means an industry in which 
there are hard to fill jobs with a lack of skilled labor employees or a 
large number of skilled labor positions. 
 (6)  "TRC" means the Talent Ready Connections Program. 
 (7)  "TRC grant" means the competitive grants awarded and 
administered under Section 63N-1b-306 and this rule. 
 
R357-28-104.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted by the office under Section 63N-1b-
306. 
 
R357-28-105.  Method for Selecting Education Partners. 
 (1)  Subject to available funds the center will accept 
proposals for TRC grants on a rolling basis. 
 (2)  Proposals shall be submitted in a form and manner 
specified by the center. 
 (3)  The center will evaluate grant proposals and 
recommended grant amounts prior to board review. 
 
R357-28-106.  Grant Amount, Award, and Required Contract. 
 (1)  The center will have the discretion to limit the 
maximum amount of funding that may be awarded for each TRC 
grant. 
 (2)  Upon award of a TRC grant, and prior to disbursement 
of any funds, an education partner shall enter into a contract with Go 
Utah governing the use of TRC grant funding. 
 (3)  Unless addressed in the terms and conditions of the 
contract an education partner shall maintain eligibility status for TRC 
participation until: 
 (a)  the partnership is complete; 
 (b)  scope of work requirements have been met; 
 (c)  final disbursement of funding has been made; and 
 (d)  reporting requirements have been met. 

 (4)  Any misrepresentation to the center may result in: 
 (a)  forfeiture of TRC grant funding; 
 (b)  repayment of funding received; and 
 (c)  disqualification from continued funding. 
 (5)  The center reserves the right to audit the use of any 
TRC grant funding. 
 (6)  TRC grant funding may not be used to provide a 
primary benefit to a participating employer's operations outside the 
state. 
 
R357-28-107.  Contract Modifications. 
 (1)  An education partner may request a modification to the 
terms of a contract. 
 (2)  The center may deny a modification request for any 
reason. 
 (3)  The center shall have discretion to agree to reasonable, 
non-substantive changes that may include: 
 (a)  changes to timelines within the scope of work; 
 (b)  corrections to clerical errors in the proposal materials; 
and 
 (c)  technical changes to conditions that do not alter the 
budget, participating employer's eligibility status, or violate any state 
or federal law. 
 (4)  Substantive changes must be approved by the center in 
consultation with the board. 
 (5)  Approved changes shall be made in writing and through 
an amendment modifying the terms of the contract. 
 (6)  At the discretion of the center an education partner's 
refusal or failure to sign the contract within 90 days of receipt of 
contract may constitute a rejection of the TRC grant and a waiver of 
any rights and benefits. 
 
R357-28-108.  Funding Distribution. 
 (1)  The center shall reimburse the education partner for no 
more than the total amount specified in the contract. 
 (2)  Payment will only be made for those costs authorized 
and approved by the center in accordance with the terms and 
conditions provided in the contract and as reasonably requested. 
 (3)  After execution of the contract between an education 
partner and Go Utah an education partner may receive: 
 (a)  up to 50% of the total grant amount or as specified in 
the contract; and 
 (b)  the remaining funds after the education partner 
provides sufficient evidence of expenditures as outlined in the 
contract. 
 (4)  Failure to successfully complete the scope of work 
requirements may result in: 
 (a)  repayment of the grant funding received; 
 (b)  termination of the contract; and 
 (c)  disqualification of continued funding. 
 
R357-28-109.  Reporting and Cooperation Requirements. 
 (1)  The education partner shall report to the center 
annually and on a regular basis as reasonably requested by the center. 
 (2)  At a minimum, the education partner shall provide 
documentation of the following: 
 (a)  the number of participants in the program; 
 (b)  the number of participants who have completed each 
phase offered by the program; 
 (c)  the number of participants who have been hired by a 
business participating in the program; and 
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 (d)  any additional data as required and outlined in the terms 
of the contract. 
 (3)  An education partner shall submit to any audit 
requested to verify reported data including a third-party audit at the 
request of the center. 
 
R357-28-110.  Coordinator Duties and Responsibilities. 
 (1)  A coordinator shall: 
 (a)  oversee youth apprenticeship program expansion for 
dedicated career and technical education region; 
 (b)  coordinate with potential participating employers; 
 (c)  understand both registered and non-registered 
apprenticeship efforts in the area; 
 (d)  hold and convene working group meetings for each 
partnership; 
 (e)  prepare marketing materials for featured programs; 
 (f)  coordinate student outreach efforts between industry 
and education partners; 
 (g)  apply for funding opportunities where available; 
 (h)  learn best practices from other states; 
 (i)  facilitate memorandum of understanding discussions 
for local partnerships; 
 (j)  organize training and marketing events; 
 (k)  develop strong relationships with education and 
industry partners; and 
 (l)  any other duties as determined by the center. 
 (2)  A coordinator is responsible for the following 
interactions with the center: 
 (a)  weekly calls with TRC program manager at Go Utah; 
 (b)  monthly group conversations or training sessions with 
other TRC coordinators; 
 (c)  yearly tracking report due at end of fiscal year; 
 (d)  collaboration on program replication and expansion; 
 (e)  involving TRC program manager in prospective 
partnership discussions; 
 (f)  shared marketing effort; 
 (g)  using established messaging for program and shared 
marketing material when applicable; and 
 (h)  sharing success stories and events with the center. 
 
KEY:  Talent Ready Utah, apprenticeships, work based-learning 
Date of Last Change:  August 24, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-1b-306] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-41 Filing ID: 
54818 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-41.  Utah Main Street Program Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is no longer necessary as a result of the passage 
of H.B. 333 passed during the 2022 General Session 
which moved and renumbered provisions related to the 
Utah Main Street Program from the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity.  The Utah Department of Cultural 
and Community Engagement will file a new rule under the 
correct title should it determine a rule is required. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
any fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal 
note of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
other persons' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule requires no action or compliance by 
any persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-3-702 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/25/2022 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Opportunity. 
[R357-41.  Utah Main Street Program Rule. 
R357-41-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Utah Main Street Program Rule". 
 
R357-41-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the terms defined under Section 63N-3-701 
the following terms are defined: 
 (1)  "UMSP" means the Utah Main Street Program. 
 
R357-41-103.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted by the office under the authority of 
Section 63N-3-702. 
 
R357-41-107.  Award and Required Contract. 
 (1)  The office reserves the right to award funding for any 
proposal in full or in part, to request additional information, or to 
reject any proposals. 
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 (2)  Upon award, and prior to disbursement of funds, 
awardee shall enter into a contract with the office governing the use 
of funding. 
 (3)  Unless addressed in the terms and conditions of the 
contract between awardee and the office the following provisions 
shall apply: 
 (a)  funding may not be used to provide a primary benefit 
to any state other than Utah; and 
 (b)  for any other eligibility requirements, awardees must 
maintain eligibility status until the collaboration is complete, scope 
of work requirements have been met, final disbursement of funding 
has been made, and reporting has been completed. 
 
R357-41-108.  Contract Modifications. 
 (1)  Awardee may request a modification to the terms of a 
contract. 
 (2)  The office may deny a modification request for any 
reason. 
 (3)  The office shall have discretion to agree to: 
 (a)  changes to timelines within the scope of work; 
 (b)  corrections to clerical errors in the proposal materials; 
and 
 (c)  technical changes to conditions that do not alter the 
budget, business's eligibility status, or violate any state or federal law. 
 (4)  Substantive changes shall be approved by the office in 
consultation with the main street program advisory committee. 
 (5)  Approved changes shall be made in writing and through 
an amendment modifying the terms of the contract. 
 (6)  Awardees refusal or failure to sign the contract within 
90 days of receipt of the contract constitutes a rejection of 
participation in UMSP and a waiver of any rights and benefits. 
 
R357-41-109.  Funding Distribution. 
 (1)  The office shall reimburse the awardee for no more 
than the total amount specified in the contract. 
 (2)  Payment will only be made for those costs authorized 
and approved by the office after sufficient documentation is provided 
in accordance with the terms and conditions provided in the contract. 
 (3)  Misrepresentation to the office or violations of the 
agreement may result in forfeiture of UMSP participation, repayment 
of the funding received, or disqualification from continued funding. 
 (4)  The office reserves the right to audit the use of funding. 
 
R357-41-110.  Reporting and Cooperation Requirements. 
 (1)  At a minimum the awardee shall report to the office and 
provide documentation evidencing the following: 
 (a)  number of: 
 (i)  buildings rehabilitated; 
 (ii)  main street jobs created; and 
 (iii)  businesses created; and 
 (b)  amount of: 
 (ii)  private investment; and 
 (iii)  public investment. 
 
KEY:  economic opportunity, main street 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  September 
22, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-3-702] 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-43 Filing ID: 
54839 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-43.  Housing and Transit Reinvestment Zone Act 
Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
S.B. 140 passed during the 2022 General Session and 
modified the Housing and Transit Reinvestment Zone Act.  
The purpose of this rule filing is to define a term used in 
the new language.  
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule filing defines Light Rail or Bus Rapid Transit 
Station. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
the state budget.  This amendment is merely defining a 
term. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
local governments because local governments are not 
required to comply with or enforce this rule. 
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C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
small businesses because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for small businesses, nor 
does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation.  Participation in the program is optional. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
non-small businesses.  Participation in the program is 
optional. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities, nor does it increase the costs associated with any 
existing obligation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no new compliance costs for affected persons 
because participation in the program is optional. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-1a-303 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/23/2022 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Opportunity. 
R357-43.  Housing and Transit Reinvestment Zone Act Rule. 
R357-43-1.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to define and clarify a term 
relating to the Housing and Transit Reinvestment Zone Act. 
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R357-43-2.  Authority. 
 (1)  Rulemaking authority is provided in Section 63N-1a-
303.  
 
R357-43-3.  Definitions. 
 The following term is defined: 
 (1)  "Light Rail or Bus Rapid Transit Station” means an 
existing or proposed station, stop, or terminal along an existing or 
proposed light rail or bus rapid transit line and in which the line is 
included in a metropolitan planning organization's adopted long-
range transportation plan. 
 
KEY: housing and transit reinvestment zone, affordable housing 
Date of Enactment: 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 63N-1a-303 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R357-44 Filing ID: 
54855 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-44.  State Small Business Credit Initiative Program 
Fund 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
H.B. 17 passed during the 2022 General Session which 
moved and renumbered provisions related to the State 
Small Business Credit Initiative Program Fund from the 
Department of Workforce Services to the Governor's 
Office of Economic Opportunity. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 

This rule will codify authority, definitions, boards, 
committees, eligibility, and application requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
the state budget because any fiscal impact would have 
been addressed in the fiscal note of H.B. 17 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
local governments because local governments are not 
required to comply with or enforce this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
small businesses because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for small businesses, nor 
does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation.  Participation in the program is optional. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
non-small businesses.  Participation in the program is 
optional. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities because this proposed amendment 
does not create new obligations for persons other than 
small businesses, businesses, or local government 
entities, nor does it increase the costs associated with any 
existing obligation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no new compliance costs for affected persons 
because participation in the program is optional. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63N-3-802  

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/23/2022 

 
R357.  Governor, Economic Opportunity. 
R357-44.  State Small Business Credit Initiative Program Fund. 
R357-44-101.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted by the office under the authority of 
Section 63N-3-802. 
 
R357-44-102.  Definitions. 
 (1)  As used in this program: 
 (a)  "USBCI" means the State Small Business Credit 
Initiative Program Fund; 
 (b)  "Financial institution" means an organization that 
meets USBCI requirements to participate as a lending institution; 
 (c)(i)  "Annual receipts" means grants made by the federal 
government and state legislative appropriations; 
 (ii)  "Annual receipts" does not include program income; 
 (d)  "Program income" means fees and interest income 
generated by participation in the program; 
 (e)  "USBCI Advisory Board" means a Board consisting of 
members of industry and Go Utah; 
 (f)  "USBCI Loan Review Committee" means an 
operational Committee, consisting of members of the Go Utah 
operations team and at least one member from industry; and 
 (g)  "Red-flag" means an occurrence when a loan, 
borrower, or lender exceeds a threshold or violates a term and is sent 
to the USBCI Loan Review Committee for review. 
 
R357-44-103.  USBCI Advisory Board. 
 (1)  The USBCI Advisory Board may review Quarterly and 
Annual reports drafted by the Office, ensure program objectives are 
met, and recommend changes 
 (2)  The USBCI Advisory Board may advise on application 
processes and procedure of the Fund to ensure program objectives 
are met and partners are represented. 
 
R357-44-104.  USBCI Loan Review Committee. 
 (1)  The USBCI Loan Review Committee may: 
 (a)  evaluate the application and make recommendations to 
the Office on the size, scope, and participation or loan loss reserve 
participation amount suitable for the applicant; 
 (b)  advise on application processes, underwriting criteria 
and procedure of the Fund to ensure that program objectives are met; 
and 
 (c)  review all lenders before their approval into the 
program. 
 
R357-44-105.  Lender Eligibility. 
 (1)  To be eligible for participation in the USBCI Capital 
Access Program, a lender shall: 
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 (a)  qualify under federal guidelines; 
 (b)  demonstrate total losses to their portfolio under 10% 
over the last 12 months; and 
 (c)  demonstrate a reasonable expectation that they will be 
a responsible steward of public funds and follow both federal and 
state rules and regulations. 
 (2)  To be eligible for participation in the USBCI Loan 
Participation Program, a financial institution must: 
 (a)  be a CDFI or revolving loan fund; 
 (b)  demonstrate total losses to their portfolio of under 10% 
over the last 12 months; and 
 (c)  demonstrate a reasonable expectation that they will be 
a responsible steward of public funds; and 
 (d)  follow both federal and state rules and regulations. 
 
R357-44-106.  Lender Application Requirements. 
 (1)  Applications shall be submitted on forms required by 
the office and in accordance with the procedures outlined by the 
Office. 
 (2)  Completed applications shall be placed on the next 
available Committee agenda for review and recommendation. 
 
KEY:  small business credit initiative, small business 
Date of Enactment:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-3-802 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R359-1 Filing ID: 
54827 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity, Pete Suazo 

Utah Athletic Commission 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R359-1.  Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is no longer necessary as a result of the passage 
of H.B. 333 passed during the 2022 General Session 

which moved and renumbered provisions related to the 
Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act Rule from the 
Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity.  The Utah 
Department of Cultural and Community Engagement will 
file a new rule under the correct title should it determine a 
rule is required. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
any fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal 
note of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal is not expected to have any fiscal impact on 
other persons revenues or expenditures because any 
fiscal impact would have been addressed in the fiscal note 
of H.B. 333 (2022). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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The repeal of this rule requires no action or compliance by 
any persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Dan Hemmert, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63C-11-101 

  

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Hemmert, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/25/2022 

 
R359.  Governor, Economic Development, Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission. 
[R359-1.  Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act Rule. 
R359-1-101.  Title. 
 This Rule is known as the "Pete Suazo Utah Athletic 
Commission Act Rule." 
 
R359-1-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 63C, Chapter 11, the 
following definitions are adopted for the purpose of this Rule: 
 (1)  "Boxing" means the sport of attack and defense using 
the fist, covered by an approved boxing glove. 
 (2)  "Designated Commission member" means a member 
of the Commission designated as supervisor for a contest and 
responsible for the conduct of a contest, as assisted by other 
Commission members, Commission personnel, and others, as 
necessary and requested by the designated Commission member. 
 (3)  "Drug" means a controlled substance, as defined in 
Title 58, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled Substances Act, or alcohol. 
 (4)  "Elimination Tournament" means a contest involving 
unarmed combat in which contestants compete in a series of matches 
until not more than one contestant remains in any weight category. 
 (5)  "Mandatory count of eight" means a required count of 
eight that is given by the referee of a boxing contest to a contestant 
who has been knocked down. 
 (6)  "Unprofessional conduct" is as defined in Subsection 
63C-11-302(25), and is defined further to include the following: 
 (a)  as a promoter, failing to promptly inform the 
Commission of all matters relating to the contest; 
 (b)  as a promoter, substituting a contestant in the 24 hours 
immediately preceding the scheduled contest without approval of the 
Commission; 
 (c)  violating the rules for conduct of contests; 
 (d)  testing positive for drugs or alcohol in a random body 
fluid screen before or after participation in any contest; 
 (e)  testing positive for HIV, Hepatitis B or C; 
 (f)  failing or refusing to comply with a valid order of the 
Commission or a representative of the Commission; and 
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 (g)  entering into a secret contract that contradicts the terms 
of the contract(s)  filed with the Commission. 
 (h)  providing false or misleading information to the 
Commission or a representative of the Commission; 
 (i)  behaving at any time or place in a manner which is 
deemed by the Commission to reflect discredit to unarmed combat; 
 (j)  engaging in any activity or practice that is detrimental 
to the best interests of unarmed combat; 
 (k)  knowing that an unarmed contestant suffered a serious 
injury prior to a contest or exhibition and failing or refusing to inform 
the Commission about that serious injury. 
 (l)  conviction of a felony or misdemeanor, except for 
minor traffic violations. 
 (7)  A "training facility" is a location where ongoing, 
scheduled training of unarmed combat contestants is held. 
 
R359-1-201.  Authority - Purpose. 
 The Commission adopts this Rule under the authority of 
Subsection 63C-11-304(1)(b), to enable the Commission to 
administer Title 63C, Chapter 11, of the Utah Code. 
 
R359-1-202.  Scope and Organization. 
 Pursuant to Title 63C, Chapter 11, general provisions 
codified in Sections R359-1-101 through R359-1-512 apply to all 
contests or exhibitions of "unarmed combat," as that term is defined 
in Subsection 63C-11-302(23).  The provisions of Sections R359-1-
601 through R359-1-623 shall apply only to contests of boxing, as 
defined in Subsection R359-1-102(1).  The provisions of Sections 
R359-1-701 through R359-1-702 shall apply only to elimination 
tournaments, as defined in R359-1-102(4).  The provisions of Section 
R359-1-801 shall apply only to martial arts contest and exhibitions.  
The provisions of Section 859-1-901 shall apply only to "White-
Collar Contests".  The provisions of Sections R359-1-1001 through 
R359-1-1004 shall apply only to grants for amateur boxing. 
 
R359-1-301.  Qualifications for Licensure. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 63C-11-308, a license is 
required for a person to act as or to represent that the person is a 
promoter, timekeeper, manager, contestant, second, matchmaker, 
referee, or judge. 
 (2)  A licensed amateur contestant shall not compete against 
a professional unarmed combat contestant, or receive a purse, or a 
percentage of ticket sales, and/or other remuneration (other than for 
reimbursement for reasonable travel expenses and per diem, 
consistent with IRS guidelines). 
 (3)  A licensed manager or contestant shall not referee or 
judge any event or contestant affiliated with a gym or training facility 
they have been involved with during the past 12 months. 
 (4)  A promoter shall not hold a license as a referee, judge, 
second or contestant. 
 
R359-1-302.  Licensing - Procedure. 
 In accordance with the authority granted in Section 63C-
11-309, the expiration date for licenses issued by the Commission 
shall be one year from the date of issuance. 
 
R359-1-401.  Designation of Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 (1)  An adjudicative proceeding before the commission of 
any of the following proceeding is designated as an informal 
adjudicative proceeding: 
 (a)  any action to revoke, suspend, restrict, place on 
probation or enter a reprimand as to a license; 

 (b)  approval or denial of applications for: 
 (i)  initial licensure; 
 (ii)  reinstatement of a license; and 
 (iii)  renewal of a license; 
 (c)  any proceeding conducted subsequent to the issuance 
of a cease and desist order; 
 (d)  the withholding of a purse by the Commission under 
Section 63N-10-313. 
 (e)  protests against the results of a contest. 
 (2)  An individual may seek an adjudicated hearing before 
the Commission for the matters listed in Subsection (1) above by 
submitting a written request to the Director within 30 days from the 
date of the action or result. 
 (3)  Subject to the exception under Subsection 63G-4-
202(3) or unless otherwise stipulated by all parties, any other 
adjudicative proceeding before the Commission not specifically 
listed in under Subsection (1) above, is designated as an informal 
adjudicative proceeding. 
 
R359-1-402.  Adjudicative Proceedings in General. 
 (1)  The procedure for an adjudicative proceeding is under 
Section 63G-4-201; and this Rule. 
 (5)  Unless the Commission determines otherwise, the 
Commission shall be designated as the sole presiding officer in any 
adjudicative proceeding and where applicable serve as the fact finder 
in any adjudicative proceeding. 
 (6)  A majority vote of the Commission shall constitute its 
decision.  Orders of the Commission shall be signed by the Director 
or, in the Director's absence, the Chair of the Commission. 
 
R359-1-403.  Additional Procedures for Immediate License 
Suspension. 
 (1)  Under Subsection 63N-10-303 (7), the designated 
Commission member, or in the absence of a designated Commission 
member the Director may issue an order immediately suspending the 
license of a licensee upon a finding that the licensee presents an 
immediate and significant danger to the licensee, other licensees, or 
the public. 
 (2)  The suspension shall be at such time and for such 
period as the Commission believes is necessary to protect the health, 
safety, and welfare of the licensee, other licensees, or the public. 
 (3)  A licensee whose license has been immediately 
suspended may, within 30 days after the decision of the designated 
Commission member, challenge the suspension by submitting a 
written request for a hearing to the Director.  The Commission shall 
schedule the hearing as soon as is reasonably practical but not later 
than 30 days from the receipt of the written request, unless the 
Commission and the party requesting the hearing agree to conduct 
the hearing at a later date. 
 
R359-1-405.  Reconsideration and Judicial Review. 
 Agency review is not available as to any order or decision 
entered by the Commission.  However, any person aggrieved by an 
adverse determination by the Commission may either seek 
reconsideration of the order pursuant to Section 63NG-4-302 or seek 
judicial review of the order pursuant to Section 63G-4-401. 
 
R359-1-501.  Promoter's Responsibilities in Arranging a Contest. 
 (1)  Before a licensed promoter may hold a contest or single 
contest as part of a single promotion, the promoter shall file with the 
Commission an application for a permit to hold the contest not less 
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than 15 days before the date of the proposed contest, or not less than 
seven days for televised contests. 
 (2)  The application shall include the date, time, and place 
of the contest as well as information concerning the on-site 
emergency facilities, personnel, and transportation. 
 (3)  The permit application must be accompanied by a 
contest registration fee determined by the Department under Section 
63-38-32. 
 (4)  Before a permit to hold a contest is granted, the 
promoter shall post a surety bond with the Commission in the amount 
of $10,000. or total sum of the contestant purses, officials fees and 
estimated commission fees, whichever is greater.  Promoters who 
have held less than 5 unarmed combat events in the state of Utah shall 
deposit an additional $10,000 minimum Cashier's Check or Bank 
Draft with the commission no later than 7 days prior to the event or 
the event may be cancelled by the commission. 
 (5)  Prior to the scheduled time of the contest, the promoter 
shall have available for inspection the completed physical facilities 
which will be used directly or indirectly for the contest. The 
designated Commission member shall inspect the facilities in the 
presence of the promoter or the promoter's authorized representative, 
and all deficiencies cited upon inspection shall be corrected before 
the contest. 
 (6)  A promoter shall be responsible for verifying the 
identity, record, and suspensions of each contestant. A promoter shall 
be held responsible for the accuracy of the names and records of each 
of the participating contestants in all publicity or promotional 
material. 
 (7)  A promoter shall be held responsible for a contest in 
which one of the contestants is disproportionately outclassed. 
 (8)  Before a contest begins, the promoter shall give the 
designated Commission member the funds necessary for payment of 
contestants, referees, judges, timekeeper and the attending 
physician(s). The designated Commission member shall pay each 
contestant, referee, and judge in the presence of one witness. 
 (9)  A promoter shall be not under the influence of alcohol 
or controlled substances during the contest and until all purses to the 
contestants and all applicable fees are paid to the commission, 
officials and ringside physician. 
 (10)  The promoter shall be responsible for payment of any 
commission fee(s) deducted from a contestant's purse, if the fees are 
not collected directly from the contestant at the conclusion of the bout 
or if the contestant fails to compete in the event. 
 (11)  At the time of an unarmed combat contest weigh-in, 
the promoter of a contest shall provide primary insurance coverage 
for each uninsured contestant and secondary insurance for each 
insured contestant in the amount of $10,000 for each licensed 
contestant to provide medical, surgical and hospital care for licensed 
contestants who are injured while engaged in a contest or exhibition: 
 (a)  The term of the insurance coverage must not require 
the contestant to pay a deductible, for the medical, surgical or hospital 
care for injuries he sustains while engaged in a contest of exhibition. 
 (b)  If a licensed contestant pays for the medical, surgical 
or hospital care for injuries sustained during a contest or exhibition, 
the insurance proceeds must be paid to the contestant or his 
beneficiaries as reimbursement for the payment. 
 (c)  The promoter shall also provide life insurance coverage 
of $10,000 for each contestant in case of death resulting from injuries 
sustained during a contest or exhibition. 
 (d)  The required medical insurance and life insurance 
coverage shall not be waived by the contestant or any other party. 

 (e)  A contestant seeking medical insurance reimbursement 
for injuries sustained during an unarmed combat event shall obtain 
medical treatment for their injuries within 72 hours of their bout and 
maintain written records of their treatment, expenses and 
correspondence with the insurance provider and promoter to ensure 
coverage. 
 (f)  The promoter shall not delay or circumvent the timely 
processing of a claim submitted by a contestant injured during a 
contest or exhibition. 
 (12)  In addition to the payment of any other fees and 
money due under this part, the promoter shall pay the following event 
fees: 
 (a)  The event attendance fee established in the adopted fee 
schedule on the date of the event. 
 (b)  3% of the first $500,000, and one percent of the next 
$1,000,000, of the total gross receipts from the sale, lease, or other 
exploitation of internet, broadcasting, television, and motion picture 
rights for any contest or exhibition thereof, without any deductions 
for commissions, brokerage fees, distribution fees, advertising, 
contestants' purses or any other expenses or charges, except in no 
case shall the fee be more than $25,000.  These fees shall be paid to 
the commission within 45 days of the event.  The promoter shall 
notify and provide the commission with certified copies of any 
contracts, agreements or transfers of any internet, broadcasting, 
television, and motion picture rights for any contest or exhibition 
within seven days of any such agreements.  The commission may 
require a surety deposit be provided to the commission to ensure 
these requirements are met. 
 (c)  the applicable fees assessed by the Association of 
Boxing Commission designated official record keeper, if not 
previously paid by the promoter. 
 (d)  the commission may exempt from the payment of all 
or part of the assessed fees under this section for a special contest or 
exhibition based on factors which include: 
 (i)  a showcase event promoting a greater interest in 
contests in the state; 
 (ii)  attraction of the optimum number of spectators; 
 (iii)  costs of promoting and producing the contest or 
exhibition; 
 (iv)  ticket pricing; 
 (v)  committed promotions and advertising of the contest 
or exhibition; 
 (vi)  rankings and quality of the contestants; and 
 (vii)  committed television and other media coverage of the 
contest or exhibition. 
 (viii)  contribution to a 501(c)(3) charitable organization. 
 
R359-1-502.  Ringside Equipment. 
 (1)  Each promoter shall provide all of the following: 
 (a)  commission-approved gloves in whole, clean and in 
sanitary condition for each contestant; 
 (b)  stools for use by the seconds; 
 (c)  rubber gloves for use by the referees, seconds, ringside 
physicians, and Commission representatives; 
 (d)  a stretcher, which shall be available near the ring and 
near the ringside physician; 
 (e)  a portable resuscitator with oxygen; 
 (f)  an ambulance with attendants on site at all times when 
contestants are competing. Arrangements shall be made for a 
replacement ambulance if the first ambulance is required to transport 
a contestant for medical treatment. The location of the ambulance and 
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the arrangements for the substitute ambulance service shall be 
communicated to the physician; 
 (g)  seats at ringside for the assigned officials; 
 (h)  seats at ringside for the designated Commission 
member; 
 (i)  ring (cage) cleaning supplies, including bucket, towels 
and disinfectant; 
 (j)  a public address system; 
 (k)  a separate dressing room for each sex, if contestants of 
both sexes are participating; 
 (l)  a separate room for physical examinations; 
 (m)  a separate dressing room shall be provided for 
officials, unless the physical arrangements of the contest site make 
an additional dressing room impossible; 
 (n)  adequate security personnel; and 
 (o)  sufficient bout sheets for ring officials and the 
designated Commission member. 
 (2)  A promoter shall only hold contests in facilities that 
conform to the laws, ordinances, and regulations regulating the 
county, city, town, or village where the bouts are situated. 
 (3)  Restrooms shall not be used as dressing rooms, for 
physical examinations or weigh-ins. 
 
R359-1-503.  Contracts. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Section 63C-11-320, a copy of the contract 
between a promoter and a contestant shall be filed with the 
Commission before a contest begins.  The contract that is filed with 
the Commission shall embody all agreements between the parties. 
 (2)  A contestant's manager may sign a contract on behalf 
of the contestant.  If a contestant does not have a licensed manager, 
the contestant shall sign the contract. 
 (3)  A contestant shall use his own legal name to sign a 
contract.  However, a contestant who is licensed under another name 
may sign the contract using his licensed name if the contestant's legal 
name appears in the body of the contract as the name under which the 
contestant is legally known. 
 (4)  The contract between a promoter and a contestant shall 
be for the use of the contestant's skills in a contest and shall not 
require the contestant to sell tickets in order to be paid for his 
services. 
 
R359-1-504.  Complimentary Tickets. 
 (1)  Limitation on issuance, calculation of price, and service 
charge for payment to contestant working on percentage basis. 
 (a)  A promoter may not issue complimentary tickets for 
more than 4 percent of the seats in the house without the 
Commission's written authorization.  The Commission shall not 
consider complimentary tickets which it authorizes under this Section 
to constitute part of the total gross receipts from admission fees for 
the purposes of calculating the license fee prescribed in Subsection 
63C-11-311(1). 
 (b)  If complimentary tickets are issued for more than 4 
percent of the seats in the house, each contestant who is working on 
a percentage basis shall be paid a percentage of the normal price of 
all complimentary tickets in excess of 4 percent of the seats in the 
house, unless the contract between the contestant and the promoter 
provides otherwise and stipulates the number of complimentary 
tickets which will be issued.  In addition, if a service fee is charged 
for complimentary tickets, the contestant is entitled to be paid a 
percentage of that service fee, less any deduction for federal taxes 
and fees. 

 (c)  Pursuant to Subsection 63C-11-311(3)(a) a promoter 
shall file, within 10 days after the contest, a report indicating how 
many complimentary tickets the promoter issued and the value of 
those tickets. 
 (2)  Complimentary ticket and tickets at reduced rate, 
persons entitled or allowed to receive such tickets, duties of promoter, 
disciplinary action, fees and taxes. 
 (a)  Each promoter shall provide tickets without charge to 
the following persons who shall not be liable for the payment of any 
fees for those tickets: 
 (i)  the Commission members, Director and 
representatives; 
 (ii)  principals and seconds who are engaged in a contest or 
exhibition which is part of the program of unarmed combat; and 
 (iii)  holders of lifetime passes issued by the Commission. 
 (b)  Each promoter may provide tickets without charge or 
at a reduced rate to the following persons who shall be liable for 
payment of applicable fees on the reduced amount paid, unless the 
person is a journalist, police officer or fireman as provided in this 
Subsection: 
 (i)  Any of the promoter's employees, and if the promoter is 
a corporation, to a director or officer who is regularly employed or 
engaged in promoting programs of unarmed combat, regardless of 
whether the director or officer's duties require admission to the 
particular program and regardless of whether the director or officer 
is on duty at the time of that program; 
 (ii)  Employees of the Commission; 
 (iii)  A journalist who is performing a journalist's duties; 
and 
 (iv)  A fireman or police officer that is performing the duties 
of a fireman or police officer. 
 (c)  Each promoter shall perform the following duties in 
relation to the issuance of complimentary tickets or those issued at a 
reduced price: 
 (i)  Each ticket issued to a journalist shall be clearly marked 
"PRESS."  No more tickets may be issued to journalists than will 
permit comfortable seating in the press area; 
 (ii)  Seating at the press tables or in the press area must be 
limited to journalists who are actually covering the contest or 
exhibition and to other persons designated by the Commission; 
 (iii)  A list of passes issued to journalists shall be submitted 
to the Commission prior to the contest or exhibition; 
 (iv)  Only one ticket may be sold at a reduced price to any 
manager, second, contestant or other person licensed by the 
Commission; 
 (v)  Any credential issued by the promoter which allows an 
admission to the program without a ticket, shall be approved in 
advance by a member of the Commission or the Director.  Request 
for the issuance of such credentials shall be made at least 5 hours 
before the first contest or exhibition of the program. 
 (d)  Admission of any person who does not hold a ticket or 
who is not specifically exempted pursuant to this Section is grounds 
for suspension or revocation of the promoter's license or for the 
assessment of a penalty. 
 (e)  The Commission shall collect all fees and taxes due on 
any ticket that is not specifically exempt pursuant to this Section, and 
for any person who is admitted without a ticket in violation of this 
Section. 
 (3)  Reservation of area for use by Commission.  For every 
program of unarmed combat, the promoter of the program shall 
reserve seats at ringside for use by the designated Commission 
member and Commission representatives. 
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R359-1-505.  Physical Examination - Physician. 
 (1)  Not less than one hour before a contest, each contestant 
shall be given a medical examination by a physician who is appointed 
by the designated Commission member.  The examination shall 
include a detailed medical history and a physical examination of all 
of the following: 
 (a)  eyes; 
 (b)  teeth; 
 (c)  jaw; 
 (d)  neck; 
 (e)  chest; 
 (f)  ears; 
 (g)  nose; 
 (h)  throat; 
 (i)  skin; 
 (j)  scalp; 
 (k)  head; 
 (l)  abdomen; 
 (m)  cardiopulmonary status; 
 (n)  neurological, musculature, and skeletal systems; 
 (o)  pelvis; and 
 (p)  the presence of controlled substances in the body. 
 (2)  If after the examination the physician determines that 
a contestant is unfit for competition, the physician shall notify the 
Commission of this determination, and the Commission shall 
prohibit the contestant from competing. 
 (3)  The physician shall provide a written certification of 
those contestants who are in good physical condition to compete. 
 (4)  Before a bout, a female contestant shall provide the 
ringside physician with the results of a pregnancy test performed on 
the contestant within the previous 14 days.  If the results of the 
pregnancy test are positive, the physician shall notify the 
Commission, and the Commission shall prohibit the contestant from 
competing. 
 (5)  A female contestant with breast implants shall be 
denied a license. 
 (6)  A contestant who has had cardiac surgery shall not be 
issued a license unless he is certified as fit to compete by a 
cardiovascular surgeon. 
 (7)  A contest shall not begin until a physician and an 
attended ambulance are present.  The physician shall not leave until 
the decision in the final contest has been announced and all injured 
contestants have been attended to. 
 (8)  The contest shall not begin until the physician is seated 
at ringside.  The physician shall remain at that location for the entire 
fight, unless it is necessary for the physician to attend to a contestant. 
 
R359-1-506.  Drug Testing. 
 In accordance with Section 63C-11-309, the following 
shall apply to drug testing: 
 (1)  The administration of or use of any: 
 (a)  Alcohol; 
 (b)  Illicit drug; 
 (c)  Stimulant; or 
 (d)  Drug or injection that has not been approved by the 
Commission, including, but not limited to, the drugs or injections 
listed R359-1-506(2), in any part of the body, either before or during 
a contest or exhibition, to or by any unarmed combatant, is 
prohibited. 
 (2)  The following types of drugs, injections or stimulants 
are prohibited for any unarmed combatant pursuant to R359-1-506 
(1): 

 (a)  Afrinol or any other product that is pharmaceutically 
similar to Afrinol. 
 (b)  Co-Tylenol or any other product that is 
pharmaceutically similar to Co-Tylenol. 
 (c)  A product containing an antihistamine and a 
decongestant. 
 (d)  A decongestant other than a decongestant listed in 
R359-1-506 (4). 
 (e)  Any over-the-counter drug for colds, coughs or sinuses 
other than those drugs listed in R359-1- 506 (4).  This paragraph 
includes, but is not limited to, Ephedrine, Phenylpropanolamine, and 
Mahuang and derivatives of Mahuang. 
 (f)  Any drug or substance identified on the 2012 edition of 
the Prohibited List published by the World Anti-Doping Agency, 
which is hereby incorporated by reference. The 2012 edition of the 
Prohibited List may be obtained, free of charge, at www.wada-
ama.org. 
 (3)  The following types of drugs or injections are not 
prohibited pursuant to R359-1-506 (1), but their use is discouraged 
by the Commission for any unarmed combatant: 
 (a)  Aspirin and products containing aspirin. 
 (b)  Nonsteroidal anti-inflammatories. 
 (4)  The following types of drugs or injections are accepted 
by the Commission: 
 (a)  Antacids, such as Maalox. 
 (b)  Antibiotics, antifungals or antivirals that have been 
prescribed by a physician. 
 (c)  Antidiarrheals, such as Imodium, Kaopectate or Pepto-
Bismol. 
 (d)  Antihistamines for colds or allergies, such as 
Bromphen, Brompheniramine, Chlorpheniramine Maleate, Chlor-
Trimeton, Dimetane, Hismal, PBZ, Seldane, Tavist-1 or Teldrin. 
 (e)  Antinauseants, such as Dramamine or Tigan. 
 (f)  Antipyretics, such as Tylenol. 
 (g)  Antitussives, such as Robitussin, if the antitussive does 
not contain codeine. 
 (h)  Antiulcer products, such as Carafate, Pepcid, Reglan, 
Tagamet or Zantac. 
 (i)  Asthma products in aerosol form, such as Brethine, 
Metaproterenol (Alupent) or Salbutamol (Albuterol, Proventil or 
Ventolin). 
 (j)  Asthma products in oral form, such as Aminophylline, 
Cromolyn, Nasalide or Vanceril. 
 (k)  Ear products, such as Auralgan, Cerumenex, 
Cortisporin, Debrox or Vosol. 
 (l)  Hemorrhoid products, such as Anusol-HC, Preparation 
H or Nupercainal. 
 (m)  Laxatives, such as Correctol, Doxidan, Dulcolax, 
Efferyllium, Ex-Lax, Metamucil, Modane or Milk of Magnesia. 
 (n)  Nasal products, such as AYR Saline, HuMist Saline, 
Ocean or Salinex. 
 (o)  The following decongestants: 
 (i)  Afrin; 
 (ii)  Oxymetazoline HCL Nasal Spray; or 
 (iii)  Any other decongestant that is pharmaceutically 
similar to a decongestant listed in R359-1-506 (1)or (2). 
 (5)  At the request of the Commission, the designated 
Commission member, or the ringside physician, a licensee shall 
submit to a test of body fluids to determine the presence of drugs or 
other prohibited substances.  A licensee shall give an adequate sample 
or it will deem to be a denial. The promoter shall be responsible for 
any costs of testing. 
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 (6)  If the test results in a finding of the presence of a 
prohibited substance or metabolite or if the licensee is unable or 
unwilling to provide a sample of body fluids for such a test within 60 
minutes of notification, the Commission may take one or more of the 
following actions: 
 (a)  immediately suspend the licensee's license in 
accordance with Section R359-1-403; 
 (b)  stop the contest in accordance with Subsection 63C-11-
316(2); 
 (c)  initiate other appropriate licensure action in accordance 
with Section 63C-11-303; or 
 (d)  withhold the contestant's purse in accordance with 
Subsection 63C-11-303. 
 (7)  A contestant who is disciplined pursuant to the 
provisions of this Rule and who was the winner of a contest shall be 
disqualified and the decision of the contest shall be changed to "no 
contest" and shall be fined a minimum of their win bonus. 
 (8)  Unless the commission determines otherwise at a 
scheduled meeting, a licensee who tests positive for prohibited 
substances or their metabolites shall be penalized as follows: 
 (a)  First offense - 180 day suspension. 
 (b)  Second offense - 1 year suspension, and mandatory 
completion of a supervisory treatment program approved by the 
commission that licensed the event. 
 (c)  Third offense - 2 year suspension, and mandatory 
completion of a supervisory treatment program approved by the 
commission that licensed the event. 
 (d)  Failure by the contestant to fully disclose all 
medications taken within 30 days of their pre-fight physical, prior to 
their bout, shall be deemed unprofessional conduct and double the 
length of any applicable suspension. 
 (10)  Therapeutic Use Exemptions (TUEs). 
 (a)  An applicant or licensee who believes he or she has a 
therapeutic reason to use a substance described in R359-1-506(2) 
may request a Therapeutic Use Exemption (TUE) to permit continued 
use of that substance.  Such a request may only be granted by the 
commission itself after a public hearing. The applicant or licensee 
shall submit the request in writing to the commission. The request 
shall be accompanied by supporting medical information sufficient 
to allow the commission to determine whether to grant their request.  
In reaching its decision, the commission will, at a minimum, 
determine whether all of the following criteria have been met: 
 (i)  The applicant or licensee would experience a significant 
impairment to health if the prohibited substance were to be withheld 
in the course of treating an acute or chronic medical condition; 
 (ii)  The therapeutic use of the prohibited substance would 
produce no additional enhancement of performance other than that 
which might be anticipated by a return to a state of normal health 
following the treatment of a legitimate medical condition; 
 (iii)  The Use of any Prohibited Substance or Prohibited 
Method to increase "low-normal" levels of any endogenous hormone 
is not considered an acceptable Therapeutic intervention; 
 (iv)  Either reasonable therapeutic alternatives to the use of 
the otherwise prohibited substance have been tried or no reasonable 
alternative exists; and 
 (v)  The necessity for the use of the otherwise prohibited 
substance is not a consequence, wholly or in part, of a prior non-
therapeutic use of any substance described in R359-1-506(2). 
 (b)  The commission may, in its sole discretion, either grant 
or deny the request or refer the request to the Voluntary Anti-Doping 
Association (VADA) or similar evaluating body for a 
recommendation. The evaluating body shall obtain such evaluation 

and expert consultation as the body deems necessary. The evaluating 
body shall present the commission with a written recommendation 
and a detailed basis for that recommendation. 
 (c)  The applicant shall be responsible to pay any costs 
associated with the TUE evaluation and all subsequent mandated 
compliance testing. 
 (d)  The TUE shall be cancelled, if: 
 (i)  The contestant does not promptly comply with any 
requirements or conditions imposed by the commission. 
 (ii)  The term for which the TUE was granted has expired. 
 (iii)  The contestant is advised that the TUE has been 
withdrawn by the commission. 
 (11)  Failure to disclose the use of a substance described in 
Rule R359-1-506(2) constitutes unprofessional conduct and subject 
to additional disciplinary action under Section 63C-11-303. 
 
R359-1-507.  HIV Testing. 
 In accordance with Section 63C-11-317, contestants shall 
produce evidence of a clear test for HIV as a condition to 
participation in a contest as follows: 
 (1)  All contestants shall provide evidence in the form of a 
competent laboratory examination certificate verifying that the 
contestant is HIV negative at the time of the weigh-in. 
 (2)  The examination certificate shall certify that the HIV 
test was completed within 180 days prior to the contest. 
 (3)  Any contestant whose HIV test is positive shall be 
prohibited from participating in a contest. 
 
R359-1-508.  Hepatitis B Surface Antigen (HBsAg)  and Hepatitis 
C Virus (HCV)  Antibody Testing. 
 In accordance with Section 63C-11-317(d), contestants 
shall produce evidence of a negative test for HBsAg and HCV 
antibody as a condition to participation in a contest as follows: 
 (1)  All contestants shall provide evidence in the form of a 
competent laboratory examination certificate verifying that the 
contestant is negative at the time of the weigh-in. 
 (2)  The examination certificate shall certify that the 
HBsAg and HCV antibody testing was completed within one year 
prior to the contest.  The period may be reduced by the commission 
to protect public safety in the event of an outbreak. 
 (3)  Any contestant whose HBV or HCV result is positive 
shall be prohibited from participating in a contest. 
 (4)  In lieu of a negative HBsAg test result, a contestant 
may present laboratory testing evidence of immunity against 
Hepatitis B virus based on a positive hepatitis B surface antibody 
(anti-HBs)  test result or of having received the complete hepatitis B 
vaccine series as recommended by the Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices. 
 
R359-1-509.  Contestant Use or Administration of Any 
Substance. 
 (1)  The use or administration of drugs, stimulants, or non-
prescription preparations by or to a contestant during a contest is 
prohibited, except as provided by this Rule. 
 (2)  The giving of substances other than water to a 
contestant during the course of the contest is prohibited. 
 (3)  The discretional use of petroleum jelly may be allowed, 
as determined by the referee. 
 (4)  The discretional use of coagulants, adrenalin 1/1000, 
avetine, and thrombin, as approved by the Commission, may be 
allowed between rounds to stop the bleeding of minor cuts and 
lacerations sustained by a contestant.  The use of monsel solution, 
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silver nitrate, "new skin," flex collodion, or substances having an iron 
base is prohibited, and the use of any such substance by a contestant 
is cause for immediate disqualification. 
 (5)  The ringside physician shall monitor the use and 
application of any foreign substances administered to a contestant 
before or during a contest and shall confiscate any suspicious foreign 
substance for possible laboratory analysis, the results of which shall 
be forwarded to the Commission. 
 
R359-1-510.  Weighing-In. 
 (1)  Unless otherwise approved by the Commission for a 
specific contest, the weigh-in shall occur not less than six nor more 
than 24 hours before the start of a contest. The designated 
Commission member or authorized Commission representative(s), 
shall weigh-in each contestant in the presence of other contestants. 
 (2)  Contestants shall be licensed at the time they are 
weighed-in. 
 (3)  Only those contestants who have been previously 
approved for the contest shall be permitted to weigh-in. 
 (4)  Each contestant must weigh in the presence of his 
opponent, a representative of the commission and an official 
representing the promoter, on scales approved by the commission at 
any place designed by the commission. 
 (5)  The contestant must have all weights stripped from his 
body before he is weighed in, but may wear shorts.  Female 
contestants are permitted to wear a singlet and/or sports bra for 
modesty. 
 (6)  The commission may require contestants to be 
weighted more than once for any cause deemed sufficient by the 
commission. 
 (7)  A contestant who fails to make the weight agreed upon 
in his bout agreement forfeits: 
 (a)  Twenty five percent of his purse if no lesser amount is 
set by the commission's representative: or 
 (b)  A lesser amount set by the secretary and approved by 
the commission, unless the weight difference is 1 pound or less. 
 
R359-1-511.  Event Officials. 
 (1)  Selection and approval of event officials for a contest, 
bout, program, match, or exhibition. 
 (a)  The event officials are the referee(s), judges, 
timekeeper and physician(s). 
 (b)  The commission shall approve all event officials. 
 (c)  The number of event officials assigned is dependent on 
the number of rounds, bouts and/or championship bouts. 
 (d)  The number of event officials required or the 
substitution of officials for any reason or at any time during the event 
shall be solely within the power and discretion of the Commission. 
 (2)  Event officials are prohibited from being under the 
influence of alcohol and/or illicit drugs. 
 (a)  At the request of the Commission, an event official 
shall submit to a test of body fluids to determine the presence of drugs 
and/or alcohol.  The event official shall give an adequate sample or it 
will deem to be a denial and prohibited from participating in future 
events.  The promoter shall be responsible for any costs of testing. 
 (b)  Unless the commission determines otherwise at a 
scheduled meeting, an event official who tests positive for alcohol 
and/or illegal drugs shall be penalized as follows: 
 (i)  First offense - 180 day prohibition from participating in 
unarmed combat events. 
 (ii)  Second offense - 1 year prohibition from participating 
in unarmed combat events. 

 (iii)  Third offense - 2 year prohibition from participating 
in unarmed combat events. 
 (3)  Event officials shall be stationed at places designated 
by the Commissioner in Charge or Director. 
 (4)  Referees, judges, timekeepers and physicians shall be 
deemed to be independent contractors of the Commission. 
 (5)  The Judges, Referee(s) and Timekeeper officiating at 
any event, bout, program, match, or exhibition shall be paid by the 
licensed promoter for the event in accordance with the fee schedule 
approved by the Commission. 
 (6)  The promoter shall pay to the Commission the total fees 
set by the Commission for all officials whom the Commission 
approves to officiate in a contest or exhibition. 
 (7)  Event Officials' Minimum Fee Schedule: 
 

TABLE 
 
  NUMBER OF BOUTS    REFEREE      JUDGE    TIMEKEEPER 
        1-5          $100.00     $50.00      $35.00 
         >5          $100.00    $100.00      $50.00 
 

 (8) If any licensee of the Commission protests the 
assignment of a referee or judge, the matter will be reviewed by two 
Commissioners or a Commissioner and the Commission Director 
and/or Chief Inspector in order to make such disposition of the protest 
as the facts may justify. Protests not made in a timely manner may be 
denied. 
 
R359-1-512.  Announcer. 
 (1)  The promoter may select the event announcer. 
 (2)  At the beginning of a contest, the announcer shall 
announce that the contest is under the auspices of the Commission. 
 (3)  The announcer shall announce the names of the referee, 
judges, and timekeeper when the competitions are about to begin, and 
shall also announce the changes made in officials as the contest 
progresses. 
 (4)  The announcer shall announce the names of all 
contestants, their weight, professional record, their city and state of 
residence, and country of origin if not a citizen. 
 (3)  An announcer shall not engage in unprofessional 
conduct. 
 (4)  The announcer is prohibited from being under the 
influence of alcohol and/or illicit drugs. 
 (a)  At the request of the Commission, an announcer shall 
submit to a test of body fluids to determine the presence of drugs 
and/or alcohol.  The event official shall give an adequate sample or it 
will deem to be a denial and prohibited from participating in future 
events.  The promoter shall be responsible for any costs of testing. 
 (b)  Unless the commission determines otherwise at a 
scheduled meeting, an announcer who tests positive for alcohol 
and/or illegal drugs shall be penalized as follows: 
 (i)  First offense - 180 day prohibition from participating in 
unarmed combat events. 
 (ii)  Second offense - 1 year prohibition from participating 
in unarmed combat events. 
 (iii)  Third offense - 2 year prohibition from participating 
in unarmed combat events. 
 
R359-1-513.  Timekeeper. 
 (1)  A timekeeper shall indicate the beginning and end of 
each round by the gong. 
 (2)  A timekeeper shall possess a whistle and a stopwatch. 
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 (3)  Ten seconds before the beginning of each round, the 
timekeeper shall warn the contestants of the time by blowing a 
whistle. 
 (4)  If a contest terminates before the scheduled limit of 
rounds, the timekeeper shall inform the announcer of the exact 
duration of the contest. 
 (5)  The timekeeper shall keep track of and record the exact 
amount of time that any contestant remains on the canvas. 
 
R359-1-514.  Stopping a Contest. 
 In accordance with Subsections 63C-11-316(2) and 63C-
11-302(14)(b), authority for stopping a contest is defined, clarified or 
established as follows. 
 (1)  The referee may stop a contest to ensure the integrity 
of a contest or to protect the health, safety, or welfare of a contestant 
or the public for any one or more of the following reasons: 
 (a)  injuries, cuts, or other physical or mental conditions 
that would endanger the health, safety, or welfare of a contestant if 
the contestant were to continue with the competition. 
 (b)  one-sided nature of the contest; 
 (c)  refusal or inability of a contestant to reasonably 
compete; and 
 (d)  refusal or inability of a contestant to comply with the 
rules of the contest. 
 (2)  If a referee stops a contest, the referee shall disqualify 
the contestant, where appropriate, and recommend to the designated 
Commission member that the purse of that professional contestant be 
withheld pending an impoundment decision in accordance with 
Section 63C-11-321. 
 (3)  The designated Commission member may stop a 
contest at any stage in the contest when there is a significant question 
with respect to the contest, the contestant, or any other licensee 
associated with the contest, and determine whether the purse should 
be withheld pursuant to Section 63C-11-321. 
 
R359-1-515.  Competing in an Unsanctioned Unarmed Combat 
Event. 
 (1)  The Commission shall deny issuing a license to a 
contestant who has competed in an unarmed combat event not 
sanctioned by an Association of Boxing Commission (ABC) member 
commission for a period of 60 days from the date of the event. 
 (2)  Unarmed combat contestants who are currently 
licensed by the Commission shall not be approved to compete in an 
unarmed combat event until 60 days from the date of their last 
competition in an unarmed combat event not sanctioned by an ABC 
member commission. 
 (3)  After competing in an unsanctioned unarmed combat 
event, a contestant must submit new blood tests results drawn within 
30 days of their scheduled event. 
 
R359-1-601.  Boxing - Contest Weights and Classes. 
 (1)  Boxing weights and classes are established as follows: 
 (a)  Strawweight:  up to 105 lbs. (47.627 kgs.) 
 (b)  Light-Flyweight: over 105 to 108 lbs. (47.627 to 48.988 
kgs.) 
 (c)  Flyweight: over 108 to 112 lbs. (48.988 to 50.802 kgs.) 
 (d)  Super Flyweight: over 112 to 115 lbs. (50.802 to 52.163 
kgs.) 
 (e)  Bantamweight: over 115 to 118 lbs. (52.163 to 53.524 
kgs.) 
 (f)  Super Bantamweight: over 118 to 122 lbs. (53.524 to 
55.338 kgs.) 

 (g)  Featherweight: over 122 to 126 lbs. (55.338 to 57.153 
kgs.) 
 (h)  Super Featherweight: over 126 to 130 lbs. (57.153 to 
58.967 kgs.) 
 (i)  Lightweight: over 130 to 135 lbs. (58.967 to 61.235 
kgs.) 
 (j)  Super Lightweight: over 135 to 140 lbs. (61.235 to 
63.503 kgs.) 
 (k)  Welterweight: over 140 to 147 lbs. (63.503 to 66.678 
kgs.) 
 (l)  Super Welterweight: over 147 to 154 lbs. (66.678 to 
69.853 kgs.) 
 (m)  Middleweight: over 154 to 160 lbs. (69.853 to 72.574 
kgs.) 
 (n)  Super Middleweight: over 160 to 168 lbs. (72.574 to 
76.204 kgs.) 
 (o)  Light-heavyweight: over 168 to 175 lbs. (76.204 to 
79.378 kgs.) 
 (p)  Cruiserweight: over 175 to 200 lbs. (79.378 to 90.80 
kgs.) 
 (q)  Heavyweight: all over 200 lbs. (90.80 kgs.) 
 (2)  A contestant shall not fight another contestant who is 
outside of the contestant's weight classification unless prior approval 
is given by the Commission. 
 (3)  A contestant who has contracted to box in a given 
weight class shall not be permitted to compete if he or she exceeds 
that weight class at the weigh-in, unless the contract provides for the 
opposing contestant to agree to the weight differential.  If the weigh-
in is held the day before the contest and if the opposing contestant 
does not agree or the contract does not provide for a weight 
exception, the contestant may have two hours to attempt to lose not 
more than three pounds in order to be reweighed. 
 (4)  The Commission shall not allow a contest in which the 
contestants are not fairly matched.  In determining if contestants are 
fairly matched, the Commission shall consider all of the following 
factors with respect to the contestant: 
 (a)  the win-loss record of the contestants; 
 (b)  the weight differential; 
 (c)  the caliber of opponents; 
 (d)  each contestant's number of fights; and 
 (e)  previous suspensions or disciplinary actions. 
 
R359-1-602.  Boxing - Number of Rounds in a Bout. 
 (1)  A contest bout shall consist of not less than four and 
not more than twelve scheduled rounds.  Three minutes of boxing 
shall constitute a round for men's boxing, and two minutes shall 
constitute a round for women's boxing.  There shall be a rest period 
of one minute between the rounds. 
 (2)  A promoter shall contract with a sufficient number of 
contestants to provide a program consisting of at least 30 and not 
more than 56 scheduled rounds of boxing, unless otherwise approved 
by the Commission. 
 
R359-1-603.  Boxing - Ring Dimensions and Construction. 
 (1)  The ring shall be square, and the sides shall not be less 
than 16 feet nor more than 22 feet.  The ring floor shall extend not 
less than 18 inches beyond the ropes.  The ring floor shall be padded 
with a base not less than 5/8 of an inch of ensolite or another similar 
closed-cell foam.  The padding shall extend beyond the ring ropes 
and over the edge of the platform, and shall be covered with canvas, 
duck, or a similar material that is tightly stretched and laced securely 
in place. 
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 (2)  The ring floor platform shall not be more than four feet 
above the floor of the building, and shall have two sets of suitable 
stairs for the use of contestants, with an extra set of suitable stairs to 
be used for any other activities that may occur between rounds.  Ring 
posts shall be made of metal and shall be not less than three nor more 
than four inches in diameter, extending a minimum of 58 inches 
above the ring floor.  Ring posts shall be at least 18 inches away from 
the ropes. 
 (3)  The ring shall not have less than four ring ropes which 
can be tightened and which are not less than one inch in diameter.  
The ring ropes shall be wrapped in a soft material.  The turnbuckles 
shall be covered with a protective padding.  The ring ropes shall have 
two spacer ties on each side of the ring to secure the ring ropes.  The 
lower ring rope shall be 18 inches above the ring floor.  The ring shall 
have corner pads in each corner. 
 
R359-1-604.  Boxing - Gloves. 
 (1)  A boxing contestant's gloves shall be examined before 
a contest by the referee and the designated Commission member.  If 
gloves are found to be broken or unclean or if the padding is found 
to be misplaced or lumpy, they shall be changed before the contest 
begins. 
 (2)  A promoter shall be required to have on hand an extra 
set of gloves that are to be used if a contestant's gloves are broken or 
damaged during the course of a contest. 
 (3)  Gloves for a main event may be put on in the ring after 
the referee has inspected the bandaged hands of both contestants. 
 (4)  During a contest, male contestants shall wear gloves 
weighing not less than eight ounces each if the contestant weighs 147 
1bs. (66.678 kgs.) or less.  Contestants who weigh more than 147 1bs. 
(66.678 kgs.) shall wear gloves weighing ten ounces each.  Female 
contestants' gloves shall be ten-ounce gloves.  The designated 
Commission member shall have complete discretion to approve or 
deny the model and style of the gloves before the contest. 
 (5)  The laces shall be tied on the outside of the back of the 
wrist of the gloves and shall be secured.  The tips of the laces shall 
be removed. 
 
R359-1-605.  Boxing - Bandage Specification. 
 (1)  Except as agreed to by the managers of the contestants 
opposing each other in a contest, a contestant's bandage for each hand 
shall consist of soft gauze not more than 20 yards long and not more 
than two inches wide.  The gauze shall be held in place by not more 
than eight feet of adhesive tape not more than one and one-half inches 
wide.  The adhesive tape must be white or a light color. 
 (2)  Bandages shall be adjusted in the dressing room under 
the supervision of the designated Commission member. 
 (3)  The use of water or any other substance other than 
medical tape on the bandages is prohibited. 
 (4)  The bandages and adhesive tape may not extend to the 
knuckles, and must remain at least three-fourths of an inch away from 
the knuckles when the hand is clenched to make a fist. 
 
R359-1-606.  Boxing - Mouthpieces. 
 A round shall not begin until the contestant's form-fitted 
protective mouthpiece is in place.  If, during a round, the mouthpiece 
falls out of the contestant's mouth, the referee shall, as soon as 
practicable, stop the bout and escort the contestant to his corner.  The 
mouthpiece shall be rinsed out and replaced in the contestant's mouth 
and the contest shall continue.  If the referee determines that the 
contestant intentionally spit the mouthpiece out, the referee may 

direct the judges to deduct points from the contestant's score for the 
round. 
 
R359-1-607.  Boxing - Contest Officials. 
 (1)  The officials for each boxing contest shall consist of 
not less than the following: 
 (a)  one referee; 
 (b)  three judges; 
 (c)  one timekeeper; and 
 (d)  one physician licensed in good standing in Utah. 
 (2)  A licensed referee, judge, or timekeeper shall not 
officiate at a contest that is not conducted under the authority or 
supervision of the designated Commission member. 
 (3)  A referee or judge shall not participate or accept an 
assignment to officiate when that assignment may tend to impair the 
referee's or judge's independence of judgment or action in the 
performance of the referee's or judge's duties. 
 (4)  A judge shall be seated midway between the ring posts 
of the ring, but not on the same side as another judge, and shall have 
an unimpaired view of the ring. 
 (5)  A referee shall not be assigned to officiate more than 
32 scheduled rounds in one day, except when substituting for another 
referee who is incapacitated. 
 (6)  A referee shall not wear jewelry that might cause injury 
to the contestants.  Glasses, if worn, shall be protective athletic 
glasses or goggles with plastic lenses and a secure elastic band around 
the back of the head. 
 (7)  Referees, seconds working in the corners, the 
designated Commission member, and physicians may wear rubber 
gloves in the performance of their duties. 
 (8)  No official shall be under the influence of alcohol or 
controlled substances while performing the official's duties. 
 
R359-1-608.  Boxing - Contact During Contests. 
 (1)  Beginning one minute before the first round begins, 
only the referee, boxing contestants, and the chief second may be in 
the ring.  The referee shall clear the ring of all other individuals. 
 (2)  Once a contest has begun, only the referee, contestants, 
seconds, judges, Commission representatives, physician, the 
announcer and the announcer's assistants shall be allowed in the ring. 
 (3)  At any time before, during or after a contest, the referee 
may order that the ring and technical area be cleared of any individual 
not authorized to be present in those areas. 
 (4)  The referee, on his own initiative, or at the request of 
the designated Commission member, may stop a bout at any time if 
individuals refuse to clear the ring and technical area, dispute a 
decision by an official, or seek to encourage spectators to object to a 
decision either verbally, physically, or by engaging in disruptive 
conduct.  If the individual involved in disruptive conduct or 
encouraging disruptive conduct is the manager or second of a 
contestant, the referee may disqualify the contestant or order the 
deduction of points from that contestant's score.  If the conduct 
occurred after the decision was announced, the Commission may 
change the decision, declare no contest, or pursue disciplinary action 
against any licensed individual involved in the disruptive conduct. 
 
R359-1-609.  Boxing - Referees. 
 (1)  The chief official of a boxing contest shall be the 
referee.  The referee shall decide all questions arising in the ring 
during a contest that are not specifically addressed in this Rule. 
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 (2)  The referee shall, before each contest begins, determine 
the name and location of the physician assigned to officiate at the 
contest and each contestant's chief second. 
 (3)  At the beginning of each contest, the referee shall 
summon the contestants and their chief seconds together for final 
instructions.  After receiving the instructions, the contestants shall 
shake hands and retire to their respective corners. 
 (4)  Where difficulties arise concerning language, the 
referee shall make sure that the contestant understands the final 
instructions through an interpreter and shall use suitable gestures and 
signs during the contest. 
 (5)  No individual other than the contestants, the referee, 
and the physician when summoned by the referee, may enter the ring 
or the apron of the ring during the progress of a round. 
 (6)  If a contestant's manager or second steps into the ring 
or onto the apron of the ring during a round, the fight shall be halted 
and the referee may eject the manager or second from the ringside 
working area.  If the manager or second steps into the ring or onto the 
apron a second time during the contest, the fight may be stopped and 
the decision may be awarded to the contestant's opponent due to 
disqualification. 
 (7)  A referee shall inspect a contestant's body to determine 
whether a foreign substance has been applied. 
 
R359-1-610.  Boxing - Stalling or Faking. 
 (1)  A referee shall warn a contestant if the referee believes 
the contestant is stalling or faking.  If after proper warning, the 
referee determines the contestant is continuing to stall or pull his 
punches, the referee shall stop the bout at the end of the round. 
 (2)  A referee may consult the judges as to whether or not 
the contestant is stalling or faking and shall abide by a majority 
decision of the judges. 
 (3)  If the referee determines that either or both contestants 
are stalling or faking, or if a contestant refuses to fight, the referee 
shall terminate the contest and announce a no contest. 
 (4)  A contestant who, in the opinion of the referee, 
intentionally falls down without being struck shall be immediately 
examined by a physician.  After conferring with the physician, the 
referee may disqualify the contestant. 
 
R359-1-611.  Boxing - Injuries and Cuts. 
 (1)  When an injury or cut is produced by a fair blow and 
because of the severity of the blow the contest cannot continue, the 
injured boxing contestant shall be declared the loser by technical 
knockout. 
 (2)  If a contestant intentionally fouls his opponent and an 
injury or cut is produced, and due to the severity of the injury the 
contestant cannot continue, the contestant who commits the foul shall 
be declared the loser by disqualification. 
 (3)  If a contestant receives an intentional butt or foul and 
the contest can continue, the referee shall penalize the contestant who 
commits the foul by deducting two points.  The referee shall notify 
the judges that the injury or cut has been produced by an intentional 
unfair blow so that if in the subsequent rounds the same injury or cut 
becomes so severe that the contest has to be suspended, the decision 
will be awarded as follows: 
 (a)  a technical draw if the injured contestant is behind on 
points or even on a majority of scorecards; and 
 (b)  a technical decision to the injured contestant if the 
injured contestant is ahead on points on a majority of the scorecards. 
 (4)  If a contestant injures himself trying to foul his 
opponent, the referee shall not take any action in his favor, and the 

injury shall be considered as produced by a fair blow from his 
opponent. 
 (5)  If a contestant is fouled accidentally during a contest 
and can continue, the referee shall stop the action to inform the judges 
and acknowledge the accidental foul.  If in subsequent rounds, as a 
result of legal blows, the accidental foul injury worsens and the 
contestant cannot continue, the referee shall stop the contest and 
declare a technical decision with the winner being the contestant who 
is ahead on points on a majority of the scorecards.  The judges shall 
score partial rounds.  If a contestant is accidentally fouled in a contest 
and due to the severity of the injury the contestant cannot continue, 
the referee shall rule as follows: 
 (a)  if the injury occurs before the completion of four 
rounds, declare the contest a technical draw; or 
 (b)  if the injury occurs after the completion of four rounds, 
declare that the winner is the contestant who has a lead in points on 
a majority of the scorecards before the round of injury.  The judges 
shall score partial rounds. 
 (6)  If in the opinion of the referee, a contestant has suffered 
a dangerous cut or injury, or other physical or mental condition, the 
referee may stop the bout temporarily to summon the physician.  If 
the physician recommends that the contest should not continue, the 
referee shall order the contest to be terminated. 
 (7)  A fight shall not be terminated because of a low blow.  
The referee may give a contestant not more than five minutes if the 
referee believes a foul has been committed.  Each contestant shall be 
instructed to return to his or her respective corner by the referee.  The 
contestants may sit in their respective corners with their mouthpiece 
removed.  After removing their contestant's mouthpiece, the seconds 
must return to their seats.  The seconds may not coach, administer 
water, or in any other way attend to their contestant, except to replace 
the mouthpiece when the round is ready to resume. 
 (8)  A physician shall immediately examine and administer 
aid to a contestant who is knocked out or injured. 
 (9)  When a contestant is knocked out or rendered 
incapacitated, the referee or second shall not handle the contestant, 
except for the removal of a mouthpiece, unless directed by the 
physician to do so. 
 (10)  A contestant shall not refuse to be examined by a 
physician. 
 (11)  A contestant who has been knocked out shall not leave 
the site of the contest until one hour has elapsed from the time of the 
examination or until released by the physician. 
 (12)  A physician shall file a written report with the 
Commission on each contestant who has been knocked out or injured. 
 
R359-1-612.  Boxing - Knockouts. 
 (1)  A boxing contestant who is knocked down shall take a 
minimum mandatory count of eight. 
 (2)  In the event of a knockdown, the timekeeper shall 
immediately start the count loud enough to be heard by the referee, 
who, after waving the opponent to the farthest neutral corner, shall 
pick up the count from the timekeeper and proceed from there.  The 
referee shall stop the count if the opponent fails to remain in the 
corner.  The count shall be resumed when the opponent has returned 
to the corner. 
 (3)  The timekeeper shall signal the count to the referee. 
 (4)  If the boxing contestant taking the count is still down 
when the referee calls the count of ten, the referee shall wave both 
arms to indicate that the boxing contestant has been knocked out.  The 
referee shall summon the physician and shall then raise the 
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opponent's hand as the winner.  The referee's count is the official 
count. 
 (5)  If at the end of a round a boxing contestant is down and 
the referee is in the process of counting, the gong indicating the end 
of the round shall not be sounded.  The gong shall only be sounded 
when the referee gives the command to box indicating the 
continuation of the bout. 
 (6)  In the final round, the timekeeper's gong shall terminate 
the fight. 
 (7)  A technical knockout decision shall be awarded to the 
opponent if a boxing contestant is unable or refuses to continue when 
the gong sounds to begin the next round.  The decision shall be 
awarded in the round started by the gong. 
 (8)  The referee and timekeeper shall resume their count at 
the point it was suspended if a boxing contestant arises before the 
count of ten is reached and falls down again immediately without 
being struck. 
 (9)  If both boxing contestants go down at the same time, 
counting will be continued as long as one of them is still down or 
until the referee or the ringside physician determines that one or both 
of the boxing contestants needs immediate medical attention.  If both 
boxing contestants remain down until the count of ten, the bout will 
be stopped and the decision will be scored as a double knockout. 
 
R359-1-613.  Boxing - Procedure After Knockout or Contestant 
Sustaining Damaging Head Blows. 
 (1)  A boxing contestant who has lost by a technical 
knockout shall not fight again for a period of 30 calendar days or until 
the contestant has submitted to a medical examination.  The 
Commission may require such physical exams as necessary. 
 (2)  A ringside physician shall examine a boxing contestant 
who has been knocked out in a contest or a contestant whose fight 
has been stopped by the referee because the contestant received hard 
blows to the head that made him defenseless or incapable of 
continuing immediately after the knockout or stoppage.  The ringside 
physician may order post-fight neurological examinations, which 
may include computerized axial tomography (CAT) scans or 
magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) to be performed on the contestant 
immediately after the contestant leaves the location of the contest.  
Post-fight neurological examination results shall be forwarded to the 
Commission by the ringside physician as soon as possible. 
 (3)  A report that records the amount of punishment a 
fighter absorbed shall be submitted to the Commission by the 
ringside physician within 24 hours of the end of the fight. 
 (4)  A ringside physician may require any boxing contestant 
who has sustained a severe injury or knockout in a bout to be 
thoroughly examined by a physician within 24 hours of the bout.  The 
physician shall submit his findings to the Commission.  Upon the 
physician's recommendation, the Commission may prohibit the 
contestant from boxing until the contestant is fully recovered and 
may extend any such suspension imposed. 
 (5)  All medical reports that are submitted to the 
Commission relative to a physical examination or the condition of a 
boxing contestant shall be confidential and shall be open for 
examination only by the Commission and the licensed contestant 
upon the contestant's request to examine the records or upon the order 
of a court of competent jurisdiction. 
 (6)  A boxing contestant who has been knocked out or who 
received excessive hard blows to the head that made him defenseless 
or incapable of continuing shall not be permitted to take part in 
competitive or noncompetitive boxing for a period of not less than 60 
days.  Noncompetitive boxing shall include any contact training in 

the gymnasium.  It shall be the responsibility of the boxing 
contestant's manager and seconds to assure that the contestant 
complies with the provisions of this Rule.  Violation of this Rule 
could result in the indefinite suspension of the contestant and the 
contestant's manager or second. 
 (7)  A contestant may not resume boxing after any period 
of rest prescribed in Subsections R359-1-613(1) and (6), unless 
following a neurological examination, a physician certifies the 
contestant as fit to take part in competitive boxing.  A boxing 
contestant who fails to secure an examination prior to resuming 
boxing shall be automatically suspended until the results of the 
examination have been received by the Commission and the 
contestant is certified by a physician as fit to compete. 
 (8)  A boxing contestant who has lost six consecutive fights 
shall be prohibited from boxing again until the Commission has 
reviewed the results of the six fights or the contestant has submitted 
to a medical examination by a physician. 
 (9)  A boxing contestant who has suffered a detached retina 
shall be automatically suspended and shall not be reinstated until the 
contestant has submitted to a medical examination by an 
ophthalmologist and the Commission has reviewed the results of the 
examination. 
 (10)  A boxing contestant who is prohibited from boxing in 
other states or jurisdictions due to medical reasons shall be prohibited 
from boxing in accordance with this Rule.  The Commission shall 
consider the boxing contestant's entire professional record regardless 
of the state or country in which the contestant's fights occurred. 
 (11)  A boxing contestant or the contestant's manager shall 
report any change in the contestant's medical condition which may 
affect the contestant's ability to fight safely.  The Commission may, 
at any time, require current medical information on any contestant. 
 
R359-1-614.  Boxing - Waiting Periods. 
 (1)  The number of days that shall elapse before a boxing 
contestant who has competed anywhere in a bout may participate in 
another bout shall be as follows: 
 

TABLE 
 
     Length of Bout               Required Interval 
 (In scheduled Rounds)               (In Days) 
            4                            3 
            5-9                          5 
           10-12                         7 
 

R359-1-615.  Boxing - Fouls. 
 (1)  A referee may disqualify or penalize a boxing 
contestant by deducting one or more points from a round for the 
following fouls: 
 (a)  holding an opponent or deliberately maintaining a 
clinch; 
 (b)  hitting with the head, shoulder, elbow, wrist, inside or 
butt of the hand, or the knee; 
 (c)  hitting or gouging with an open glove; 
 (d)  wrestling, spinning or roughing at the ropes; 
 (e)  causing an opponent to fall through the ropes by means 
other than a legal blow; 
 (f)  gripping at the ropes when avoiding or throwing 
punches; 
 (g)  intentionally striking at a part of the body that is over 
the kidneys; 
 (h)  using a rabbit punch or hitting an opponent at the base 
of the opponent's skull; 
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 (i)  hitting on the break or after the gong has sounded; 
 (j)  hitting an opponent who is down or rising after being 
down; 
 (k)  hitting below the belt line; 
 (l)  holding an opponent with one hand and hitting with the 
other; 
 (m)  purposely going down without being hit or to avoid a 
blow; 
 (n)  using abusive language in the ring; 
 (o)  un-sportsmanlike conduct on the part of the boxing 
contestant or a second whether before, during, or after a round; 
 (p)  intentionally spitting out a mouthpiece; 
 (q)  any backhand blow; or 
 (r)  biting. 
 
R359-1-616.  Boxing - Penalties for Fouling. 
 (1)  A referee who penalizes a boxing contestant pursuant 
to this Rule shall notify the judges at the time of the infraction to 
deduct one or more points from their scorecards. 
 (2)  A boxing contestant committing a deliberate foul, in 
addition to the deduction of one or more points, may be subject to 
disciplinary action by the Commission. 
 (3)  A judge shall not deduct points unless instructed to do 
so by the referee. 
 (4)  The designated Commission member shall file a 
complaint with the Commission against a boxing contestant 
disqualified on a foul.  The Commission shall withhold the purse until 
the complaint is resolved. 
 
R359-1-617.  Boxing - Contestant Outside the Ring Ropes. 
 (1)  A boxing contestant who has been knocked, wrestled, 
pushed, or has fallen through the ropes during a contest shall not be 
helped back into the ring, nor shall the contestant be hindered in any 
way by anyone when trying to reenter the ring. 
 (2)  When one boxing contestant has fallen through the 
ropes, the other contestant shall retire to the farthest neutral corner 
and stay there until ordered to continue the contest by the referee. 
 (3)  The referee shall determine if the boxing contestant has 
fallen through the ropes as a result of a legal blow or otherwise.  If 
the referee determines that the boxing contestant fell through the 
ropes as a result of a legal blow, he shall warn the contestant that the 
contestant must immediately return to the ring.  If the contestant fails 
to immediately return to the ring following the warning by the 
referee, the referee shall begin the count that shall be loud enough to 
be heard by the contestant. 
 (4)  If the boxing contestant enters the ring before the count 
of ten, the contest shall be resumed. 
 (5)  If the boxing contestant fails to enter the ring before 
the count of ten, the contestant shall be considered knocked out. 
 (6)  When a contestant has accidentally slipped or fallen 
through the ropes, the contestant shall have 20 seconds to return to 
the ring. 
 
R359-1-618.  Boxing - Scoring. 
 (1)  Officials who score a boxing contest shall use the 10-
point must system. 
 (2)  For the purpose of this Rule, the "10-point must 
system" means the winner of each round received ten points as 
determined by clean hitting, effective aggressiveness, defense, and 
ring generalship.  The loser of the round shall receive less than ten 
points.  If the round is even, each boxing contestant shall receive not 
less than ten points.  No fraction of points may be given. 

 (3)  Officials who score the contest shall mark their cards 
in ink or in indelible pencil at the end of each round. 
 (4)  Officials who score the contest shall sign their 
scorecards. 
 (5)  When a contest is scored on the individual score sheets 
for each round, the referee shall, at the end of each round, collect the 
score sheet for the round from each judge and shall give the score 
sheets to the designated Commission member for computation. 
 (6)  Referees and judges shall be discreet at all times and 
shall not discuss their decisions with anyone during a contest. 
 (7)  A decision that is rendered at the termination of a 
boxing contest shall not be changed without a hearing, unless it is 
determined that the computation of the scorecards of the referee and 
judges shows a clerical or mathematical error giving the decision to 
the wrong contestant.  If such an error is found, the Commission may 
change the decision. 
 (8)  After a contest, the scorecards collected by the 
designated Commission member shall be maintained by the 
Commission. 
 (9)  If a referee becomes incapacitated, a time-out shall be 
called and the other referee who is assigned to the contest shall 
assume the duties of the referee. 
 (10)  If a judge becomes incapacitated and is unable to 
complete the scoring of a contest, a time-out shall be called and an 
alternate licensed judge shall immediately be assigned to score the 
contest from the point at which he assumed the duties of a judge.  If 
the incapacity of a judge is not noticed during a round, the referee 
shall score that round and the substitute judge shall score all 
subsequent rounds. 
 
R359-1-619.  Boxing - Seconds. 
 (1)  A boxing contestant shall not have more than four 
seconds, one of whom shall be designated as the chief second.  The 
chief second shall be responsible for the conduct in the corner during 
the course of a contest.  During the rest period, one second shall be 
allowed inside the ring, two seconds shall be allowed on the apron 
and one second shall be allowed on the floor. 
 (2)  All seconds shall remain seated during the round. 
 (3)  A second shall not spray or throw water on a boxing 
contestant during a round. 
 (4)  A boxing contestant's corner shall not heckle or in any 
manner annoy the contestant's opponent or the referee, or throw any 
object into the ring. 
 (5)  A second shall not enter the ring until the timekeeper 
has indicated the end of a round. 
 (6)  A second shall leave the ring at the timekeeper's whistle 
and shall clear the ring platform of all obstructions at the sound of the 
gong indicating the beginning of a round.  Articles shall not be placed 
on the ring floor until the round has ended or the contest has 
terminated. 
 (7)  A referee may eject a second from a ring corner for 
violations of the provisions of Subsections R359-1-609(6) and R359-
1-608(4) of this Rule (stepping into the ring and disruptive behavior) 
and may have the judges deduct points from a contestant's corner. 
 (8)  A second may indicate to the referee that the second's 
boxing contestant cannot continue and that the contest should be 
stopped.  Only verbal notification or hand signals may be used; the 
throwing of a towel into the ring does not indicate the defeat of the 
second's boxing contestant. 
 (9)  A second shall not administer alcoholic beverages, 
narcotics, or stimulants to a contestant, pour excessive water on the 
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body of a contestant, or place ice in the trunks or protective cup of a 
contestant during the progress of a contest. 
 
R359-1-620.  Boxing - Managers. 
 A manager shall not sign a contract for the appearance of a 
boxing contestant if the manager does not have the boxing contestant 
under contract. 
 
R359-1-621.  Boxing.  Identification - Photo Identification Cards. 
 (1)  Each boxing contestant shall provide two pieces of 
identification to the designated Commission member before 
participation in a fight.  One of the pieces of identification shall be a 
recent photo identification card issued or accepted by the 
Commission at the time the boxing contestant receives his original 
license. 
 (2)  The photo identification card shall contain the 
following information: 
 (a)  the contestant's name and address; 
 (b)  the contestant's social security number; 
 (c)  the personal identification number assigned to the 
contestant by a boxing registry; 
 (d)  a photograph of the boxing contestant; and 
 (e)  the contestant's height and weight. 
 (3)  The Commission shall honor similar photo 
identification cards from other jurisdictions. 
 (4)  Unless otherwise approved by the Commission, a 
boxing contestant will not be allowed to compete if his or her photo 
identification card is incomplete or if the boxing contestant fails to 
present the photo identification card to the designated Commission 
member prior to the bout. 
 
R359-1-622.  Boxing - Dress for Contestants. 
 (1)  Boxing contestants shall be required to wear the 
following: 
 (a)  trunks that are belted at the contestant's waistline.  For 
the purposes of this Subsection, the waistline shall be defined as an 
imaginary horizontal line drawn through the navel to the top of the 
hips.  Trunks shall not have any buckles or other ornaments on them 
that might injure a boxing contestant or referee; 
 (b)  a foul-proof protector for male boxing contestants and 
a pelvic area protector and breast protector for female boxing 
contestants; 
 (c)  shoes that are made of soft material without spikes, 
cleats, or heels; 
 (d)  a fitted mouthpiece; and 
 (e)  gloves meeting the requirements specified in Section 
R359-1-604. 
 (2)  In addition to the clothing required pursuant to 
Subsections R359-1-622(1)(a) through (e), a female boxing 
contestant shall wear a body shirt or blouse without buttons, buckles, 
or ornaments. 
 (3)  A boxing contestant's hair shall be cut or secured so as 
not to interfere with the contestant's vision. 
 (4)  A boxing contestant shall not wear corrective lenses 
other than soft contact lenses into the ring.  A bout shall not be 
interrupted for the purposes of replacing or searching for a soft 
contact lens. 
 
R359-1-623.  Boxing - Failure to Compete. 
 A boxing contestant's manager shall immediately notify the 
Commission if the contestant is unable to compete in a contest due to 

illness or injury.  A physician may be selected as approved by the 
Commission to examine the contestant. 
 
R359-1-701.  Elimination Tournaments. 
 (1)  In general.  The provisions of Title 63C, Chapter 11, 
and Rule R359-1 apply to elimination tournaments, including 
provisions pertaining to licenses, fees, stopping contests, impounding 
purses, testing requirements for contestants, and adjudicative 
proceedings.  For purposes of identification, an elimination 
tournament contestant shall provide any form of identification that 
contains a photograph of the contestant, such as a state driver's 
license, passport, or student identification card. 
 (2)  Official rules of the sport.  Upon requesting the 
Commission's approval of an elimination tournament in this State, 
the sponsoring organization or promoter of an elimination 
tournament may submit the official rules for the particular sport to 
the Commission and request the Commission to apply the official 
rules in the contest. 
 (3)  The Commission shall not approve the official rules of 
the particular sport and shall not allow the contest to be held if the 
official rules are inconsistent, in any way, with the purpose of the Pete 
Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act, Title 63C, Chapter 11, or with 
the Rule adopted by the Commission for the administration of that 
Act, Rule R359-1. 
 
R359-1-702.  Restrictions on Elimination Tournaments. 
 Elimination tournaments shall comply with the following 
restrictions: 
 (1)  An elimination tournament must begin and end within 
a period of 48 hours. 
 (2)  All matches shall be scheduled for no more than three 
rounds.  A round must be one minute in duration. 
 (3)  A contestant shall wear 16 oz. boxing gloves, training 
headgear, a mouthpiece and a large abdominal groin protector during 
each match. 
 (4)  A contestant may participate in more than one match, 
but a contestant shall not compete more than a total of 12 rounds. 
 (5)  The promoter of the elimination tournament shall be 
required to supply at the time of the weigh-in of contestants, a 
physical examination on each contestant, conducted by a physician 
not more than 60 days prior to the elimination tournament in a form 
provided by the Commission, certifying that the contestant is free 
from any physical or mental condition that indicates the contestant 
should not engage in activity as a contestant. 
 (6)  The promoter of the elimination tournament shall be 
required to supply at the time of the weigh-in of the contestants HIV 
test results for each contestant pursuant to Subsection R359-1-507 of 
this Rule and Subsection 63C-11-317(1). 
 (7)  The Commission may impose additional restrictions in 
advance of an elimination tournament. 
 
R359-1-801.  Martial Arts Contests and Exhibitions. 
 (1)  In general.  All full-contact martial arts are forms of 
unarmed combat.  Therefore, the provisions of Title 63C, Chapter 11, 
and Rule R359-1 apply to contests or exhibitions of such martial arts, 
including provisions pertaining to licenses, fees, stopping contests, 
impounding purses, testing requirements for contestants, and 
adjudicative proceedings.  For purposes of identification, a contestant 
in a martial arts contest or exhibition shall provide any form of 
identification that contains a photograph of the contestant, such as a 
state driver's license, passport, or student identification card. 
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 (2)  Official rules of the art.  Upon requesting the 
Commission's approval of a contest or exhibition of a martial art in 
this State, the sponsoring organization or promoter may submit the 
official rules for the particular art to the Commission and request the 
Commission to apply the official rules in the contest or exhibition. 
 (3)  The Commission shall not approve the official rules of 
the particular art and shall not allow the contest or exhibition to be 
held if the official rules are inconsistent, in any way, with the purpose 
of the Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act, Title 63C, Chapter 
11, or with the Rule adopted by the Commission for the 
administration of that Act, Rule R359-1. 
 
R359-1-802.  Martial Arts Contest Weights and Classes. 
 Martial Arts Contest Weights and Classes: 
 (a)  flyweight is up to and including 125 lbs. (56.82 kgs.); 
 (b)  bantamweight is over 125 lbs. (56.82 kgs.) to 135 lbs. 
(61.36 kgs.); 
 (c)  featherweight is over 135 lbs (61.36 kgs.) to 145 lbs. 
(65.91 kgs.); 
 (d)  lightweight is over 145 lbs. (65.91 kgs.) to 155 lbs. 
(70.45 kgs.); 
 (e)  welterweight is over 155 lbs. (70.45 kgs.) to 170 lbs. 
(77.27 kgs.); 
 (f)  middleweight is over 170 lbs. (77.27 kgs.) to 185 lbs. 
(84.09 kgs.); 
 (g)  light-heavyweight is over 185 lbs. (84.09 kgs.) to 205 
lbs. (93.18 kgs.); 
 (h)  heavyweight is over 205 lbs. (93.18 kgs.) to 265 lbs. 
(120.45 kgs.); and 
 (i)  super heavyweight is over 265 lbs. (120.45 kgs.). 
 
R359-1-901.  "White-Collar Contests". 
 Pursuant to Section 63C-11-302 (26), the Commission 
adopts the following rules for "White-Collar Contests": 
 (1)  Contestants shall be at least 21 years old on the day of 
the contest. 
 (2)  Competing contestants shall be of the same gender. 
 (3)  The heaviest contestant's weight shall be no greater 
than 15 percent more than their opponent. 
 (4)  A ringside physician (M.D. or D.O.) must be present at 
the ringside or cageside during each bout and emergency medical 
response must be within 5 minutes to the training center venue. 
 (5)  Ticket sales, admission fees and/or donations are 
prohibited. 
 (6)  Concession sales are prohibited. 
 (7)  No more than 4 bouts at an event on a single day are 
permitted. 
 (8)  Knee strikes to the head to a standing or grounded 
opponent are prohibited. 
 (9)  Elbow, forearm and triceps strikes to a standing or 
grounded opponent are prohibited. 
 (10)  Strikes to the head of a grounded opponent are 
prohibited. 
 (11)  All twisting leg submissions are prohibited. 
 (12)  All spine attacks, including spine strikes and locks are 
prohibited. 
 (13)  All neck attacks, including strikes, chokes and cranks 
are prohibited. 
 (14)  Linear kicks to and around the knee joint are 
prohibited. 
 (15)  Dropping your opponent on his or her head or neck at 
any time is prohibited. 

 (16)  Medical insurance coverage for each contest 
participant that meets the requirements of R359-1-501(10) shall be 
provided at no expense to the contest participant. 
 (17)  Full legal names, birthdates and addresses of all 
contestants shall be provided to the commission no later than 72 
hours before the scheduled event. 
 
R359-1-1001.  Authority - Purpose. 
 These rules are adopted to enable the Commission to 
implement the provisions of Section 63C-11-311 to facilitate the 
distribution of General Fund monies to Organizations Which 
Promote Amateur Boxing in the State. 
 
R359-1-1002.  Definitions. 
 Pursuant to Section 63C-11-311, the Commission adopts 
the following definitions: 
 (1)  For purposes of Subsection 63C-11-311, "amateur 
boxing" means a live boxing contest conducted in accordance with 
the standards and regulations of USA Boxing, Inc., and in which the 
contestants participate for a non-cash purse. 
 (2)  "Applicant" means an Organization Which Promotes 
Amateur Boxing in the State as defined in this section. 
 (3)  "Grant" means the Commission's distribution of 
monies as authorized under Section 63C-11-311(3). 
 (4)  "Organization Which Promotes Amateur Boxing in the 
State" means an amateur boxing club located within the state, 
registered with USA Boxing Incorporated. 
 (5)  "State Fiscal Year" means the annual financial 
reporting period of the State of Utah, beginning July 1 and ending 
June 30. 
 
R359-1-1003.  Qualifications for Applications for Grants for 
Amateur Boxing. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 63C-11-311, each applicant 
for a grant shall: 
 (a)  submit an application in a form prescribed by the 
Commission; 
 (b)  provide documentation that the applicant is an 
"organization which promotes amateur boxing in the State"; 
 (c)  Upon request from the Commission, document the 
following: 
 (i)  the financial need for the grant; 
 (ii)  how the funds requested will be used to promote 
amateur boxing; and 
 (iii)  receipts for expenditures for which the applicant 
requests reimbursement. 
 (2)  Reimbursable Expenditures - The applicant may 
request reimbursement for the following types of eligible 
expenditures: 
 (a)  costs of travel, including meals, lodging and 
transportation associated with participation in an amateur boxing 
contest for coaches and contestants; 
 (b)  Maintenance costs; and 
 (c)  Equipment costs. 
 (3)  Eligible Expenditures - In order for an expenditure to 
be eligible for reimbursement, an applicant must: 
 (a)  submit documentation supporting such expenditure to 
the Commission showing that the expense was incurred during the 
State Fiscal Year at issue; and 
 (b)  submit such documentation no later than June 30 of the 
current State Fiscal Year at issue. 
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 (4)  the Commission will review applicants and make a 
determination as to which one(s) will best promote amateur boxing 
in the State of Utah. 
 
R359-1-1004.  Criteria for Awarding Grants. 
 The Commission may consider any of the following criteria 
in determining whether to award a grant: 
 (1)  whether any funds have been collected for purposes of 
amateur boxing grants under Section 63C-11-311; 
 (2)  the applicant's past participation in amateur boxing 
contests; 
 (3)  the scope of the applicant's current involvement in 
amateur boxing; 
 (4)  demonstrated need for the funding; or 
 (5)  the involvement of adolescents including rural and 
minority groups in the applicant's amateur boxing program. 
 
KEY:  licensing, boxing, unarmed combat, white-collar contests 
Date of Last Change:  April 8, 2020 
Notice of Continuation:  June 29, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63C-11-101 
et seq.] 
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TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
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54850 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-164.  Uniform Health Billing Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended.  It 
also updates several standards that are incorporated by 
reference. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with current 
Rulewriting Manual.  Other changes make the language of 
this rule more clear, and update the new Section R590-
164-6 to use the Department's current language.  The 
changes do not add, remove, or change any regulations or 
requirements. 
 
Several standards published by the Utah Health 
Information Network and incorporated by reference in this 
rule are also being updated.  They are: 
999 Implementation Acknowledgement For Health Care 
Insurance Standard 3.4. Updates the name of the 
standard. 
 
Adaptive Behavior Services/Applied Behavioral Analysis 
(ABA) Billing Standard 3.1.  Updated to include the 
permanent national codes published in late 2018. 
 
Benefits Enrollment and Maintenance Standard 3.1. 
Updates the name of the standard. 
 
Dental Claim Billing Standard -- J430 4.0. Revised to point 
to external resources as applicable and to ensure the 
standard does not conflict with those resources. 
 
Eligibility Inquiry and Response Standard 3.3. Updated for 
readability and to remove an outdated statement. 
 
Health Plan Identifier (HPID) and Other Entity Identifier 
(OEID) Standard 1.1.  Updates the name of the standard. 
 
Home Health Standard 3.1. Updated for readability and 
accuracy, and makes changes to the implementation 
section, "Table 2 - Line Item Codes", and "Table 3 - Per 
Diem Codes". 
 
NPI and Atypical Provider Standard 3.1. Updated for 
readability and accuracy, and to update the name of the 
standard. 
 
Transparency Administration Performance Standard 1.8. 
Updated for readability, and to require that data be 
submitted directly to the UID rather than through UHIN. 
 
Patient Identification Number 3.0.  Updates the name of 
the standard. 
 
Premium Payment 3.0.  Updates the name of the standard. 
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Transparency Denial Standard 1.8.  Updated for 
readability, and to require that data be submitted directly 
to the UID rather than through UHIN. 
 
UB04 Form Locator Elements 3.0.  Updates the name of 
the standard. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-22-614.5 
 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

999 Implementation  
Acknowledgement For Health Care  
Insurance Standard 
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Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 11/06/2013 

Issue or Version 3.4 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Adaptive Behavior Services/Applied  
Behavioral Analysis (ABA) Billing  
Standard 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 02/02/2019 

Issue or Version 3.1 

 
C) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Benefits Enrollment and Maintenance 
Standard 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 11/05/2014 

Issue or Version 3.1 

 
D) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Dental Claim Billing Standard -- J430 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 09/07/2019 

Issue or Version 4 

 
E) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Eligibility Inquiry and Response 
Standard 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 11/03/2021 

Issue or Version 3.3 

 
F) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references : 

Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Health Care Claim/Encounter 
Standard 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 06/18/2011 

Issue or Version 3.2 

 
G) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Health Plan Identifier (HPID) and 
Other Entity Identifier (OEID)  
Standard 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 06/06/2015 

Issue or Version 1.1 

 
H) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Home Health Standard 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 06/27/2020 

Issue or Version 3.1 

 
I) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

NPI and Atypical Provider Standard 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 09/07/2019 

Issue or Version 3.1 

 
J) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Patient Identification Number 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 03/02/2011 

Issue or Version 3.0 
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K) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Premium Payment 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 03/02/2011 

Issue or Version 3.0 

 
L) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Transparency Administration 
Performance Standard 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 12/03/2021 

Issue or Version 1.8 

 
M) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Transparency Denial Standard 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 12/03/2021 

Issue or Version 1.8 

 
N) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of 
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

UB04 Form Locator Elements 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 06/18/2011 

Issue or Version 3.0 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 09/01/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-164.  Uniform Health Billing Rule. 
R590-164-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the [Insurance C]commissioner 
pursuant to [Subsection ]Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-22-614.5[ 
which authorizes the commissioner to adopt uniform claim forms, 
billing codes, and compatible systems of electronic billing]. 
 
R590-164-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to designate uniform claim 
forms, billing codes, and compatible electronic data interchange 
standards for use by health payers and providers. 
[ 
R590-164-3.  Applicability and Scope.] 
 ([1]2)  This rule applies to a health claim[s], a health 
encounter[s], and any electronic data interchange between a payer[s] 
and a provider[s]. 
 ([2]3)  Except as otherwise specifically provided, [the 
requirements of ]this rule [apply ]applies to a payer[s] and a 
provider[s]. 
 ([3]4)  This rule does not prohibit a payer from requesting 
additional information [required ]to determine eligibility of [the]a 
claim under the terms of the policy or certificate issued to the 
claimant. 
 ([4]5)  This rule does not prohibit a payer or provider from 
using alternative forms or procedures specified in a written contract 
between the payer and provider. 
 ([5]6)  This rule does not exempt a payer or provider from 
data reporting requirements under state or federal law or regulation. 
 
R590-164-[4]3.  Definitions. 
 [As used in this rule: 
 (1)  Uniform Claim Forms are defined as: 
 (a)  "UB-04" means the health insurance claim form 
maintained by NUBC for use by institutional care providers. 
 (b)  "Form CMS 1500" means the health insurance claim 
form maintained by NUCC for use by health care providers. 
 (c)  "J400" means the uniform dental claim form approved 
by the American Dental Association for use by dentists. 
 (d)  "NCPDP" means the National Council for Prescription 
Drug Program's Claim Form or its electronic counterpart. 
 (2)  Uniform Claim Codes are defined as: 
 (a)  "ASA Codes" means the codes contained in the ASA 
Relative Value Guide developed and maintained by the American 
Society of Anesthesiologists to describe anesthesia services and 
related modifiers. 
 (b)  "CDT Codes" means the current dental terminology 
prescribed by the American Dental Association. 
 (c)  "CPT Codes" means the current physicians procedural 
terminology, published by the American Medical Association. 
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 (d)  "DRG Codes" means Diagnosis Related Group codes.  
DRG's are universal grouping that are used to clarify the type of 
inpatient care received.  The DRG code, along with a diagnosis code 
and the length of the inpatient stay, are used to determine payment 
and reimbursement for claims. 
 (e)  "HCPCS" means HCFA's Common Procedure Coding 
System, a coding system that describes products, supplies, 
procedures and health professional services and includes, the 
American Medical Association's (AMA's) Physician Current 
Procedural Terminology, codes, alphanumeric codes, and related 
modifiers.  This includes: 
 (i)  "HCPCS Level 1 Codes" which are the AMA's CPT 
codes and modifiers for professional services and procedures. 
 (ii)  "HCPCS Level 2 Codes" which are national 
alphanumeric codes and modifiers for health care products and 
supplies, as well as some codes for professional services not included 
in the AMA's CPT codes. 
 (f)  "ICDCM Codes" means the diagnosis and procedure 
codes in the International Classification of Diseases, clinical 
modifications published by the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services. 
 (g)  "NDC" means the National Drug Codes of the Food 
and Drug Administration. 
 (h)  "UB04 Rate Codes" means the code structure and 
instructions established for use by the National Uniform Billing 
Committee. 
 (3)  "Electronic Data Interchange Standard" means the: 
 (a)  ASC X12N standard format developed by the 
Accredited Standards Committee X12N Insurance Subcommittee of 
the American National Standards Institute and the ASC X12N 
implementation guides as modified by the Utah Health Information 
Network (UHIN) Standards Committee; 
 (b)  other standards developed by the UHIN Standards 
Committee at the request of the commissioner; and 
 (c)  as adopted by the commissioner by rule. 
 (4)  "HPID" means Health Plan Identifier.  HPID is the 
national unique health plan identifier assigned to identify individual 
health plans. 
 (5)  "NPI" means National Provider Identifier.  A NPI is a 
unique ten digit identification number required by HIPAA for all 
health care providers in th3e United States.  Providers must use their 
NPI to identify themselves in all HIPAA transactions. 
 (6)  "Payer" means an insurer or third party administrator 
that pays for, or reimburses for the costs of health care expense. 
 (7)  "Provider" means any person, partnership, association, 
corporation or other facility or institution that renders or causes to be 
rendered health care or professional services, and officers, employees 
or agents of any of the above acting in the course and scope of their 
employment. 
 (8)  "UHIN Standards Committee" means the Standards 
Committee of the Utah Health Information Network. 
 (9)  "CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  
CMS replaced HCFA. 
 (10)  "HIPAA" means the federal Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act. 
 (11)  "NUBC" means the National Uniform Billing 
Committee. 
 (12)  "NUCC" means the National Uniform Claim 
Committee]Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. 
Additional terms are defined as follows: 

 (1)  "CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 
 (2)  "Electronic Data Interchange Standard" means: 
 (a)  the ASC X12N standard format developed by the 
Accredited Standards Committee X12N Insurance Subcommittee of 
the American National Standards Institute and the ASC X12N 
implementation guides as modified by the UHIN Standards 
Committee; and 
 (b)  any other standard developed by the UHIN Standards 
Committee at the request of the commissioner and incorporated by 
the commissioner in rule. 
 (3)  "HIPAA" means the federal Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act. 
 (4)  "HPID" means Health Plan Identifier, which is the 
national unique health plan identifier assigned to identify each 
individual health plan. 
 (5)  "NUBC" means the National Uniform Billing 
Committee. 
 (6)  "NUCC" means the National Uniform Claim 
Committee. 
 (7)  "Payer" means an insurer or third-party administrator 
that pays, or reimburses for, the costs of health care. 
 (8)  "Provider" means any person, partnership, association, 
corporation, or other facility or institution that renders health care or 
professional services, and any officer, employee, or agent of any of 
the above acting in the course and scope of their employment. 
 (9)  "UHIN Standards Committee" means the Standards 
Committee of the Utah Health Information Network. 
 (10)  Uniform Claim Codes are defined as: 
 (a)  "ASA codes" means the codes contained in the ASA 
Relative Value Guide maintained by the American Society of 
Anesthesiologists to describe anesthesia services and related 
modifiers. 
 (b)  "CDT codes" means the Current Dental Terminology 
published by the American Dental Association. 
 (c)  "CPT codes" means the Current Procedural 
Terminology published by the American Medical Association. 
 (d)  "DRG codes" means Diagnosis Related Group codes, 
which are universal grouping codes used to clarify the type of 
inpatient care received, and, when used with a diagnosis code and the 
length of the inpatient stay, to determine payment and reimbursement 
for claims. 
 (e)  "HCPCS" means Healthcare Common Procedure 
Coding System, a coding system that describes products, supplies, 
procedures, and health professional services, including: 
 (i)  "HCPCS Level 1 codes," which are CPT codes and 
modifiers for professional services and procedures; and 
 (ii)  "HCPCS Level 2 codes," which are national 
alphanumeric codes and modifiers for health care products and 
supplies, as well as some codes for professional services not included 
in CPT codes. 
 (f)  "ICD-CM codes" means the diagnosis and procedure 
codes in the International Classification of Diseases, Clinical 
Modifications published by the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services. 
 (g)  "NDC" means the National Drug Codes of the Food 
and Drug Administration. 
 (h)  "UB-04 Rate Codes" means the code structure and 
instructions established for use by the NUBC. 
 (12)  Uniform Claim Forms are defined as: 
 (a)  "UB-04" means the health insurance claim form 
maintained by NUBC for use by institutional care providers. 
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 (b)  "Form CMS 1500" means the health insurance claim 
form maintained by NUCC for use by health care providers. 
 (c)  "J400" means the uniform dental claim form approved 
by the American Dental Association for use by dentists. 
 (d)  "NCPDP" means the National Council for Prescription 
Drug Program's Claim Form or its electronic counterpart. 
 
R590-164-[5]4.  Paper Claim Transactions. 
 [Payers shall accept and may require the applicable 
uniform claim forms completed with the uniform claim codes](1)  A 
payer may require the applicable uniform claim forms competed with 
the uniform claim codes. 
 (2)  A payer shall accept the applicable uniform claim forms 
completed with the uniform claim codes. 
 
R590-164-[6]5.  Electronic Data Interchange Transactions. 
 (1)(a)  The commissioner shall use the UHIN Standards 
Committee to develop electronic data interchange standards for use 
by payers and providers transacting health insurance business 
electronically. 
 (b)  In developing standards for the commissioner, the 
UHIN Standards Committee shall consult with national standard[ ]-
setting entities including [but not limited to Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), the National Uniform Claim Form 
Committee, ASC X12, NCPDP, and the National Uniform Billing 
Committee]CMS, NUCC, ASC X12N, NCPDM, and NUBC. 
 (2)  [S]A standard[s developed and] adopted by the UHIN 
Standards Committee [shall ]may not be required for use by payers 
and providers[,] until [adopted ]incorporated by the commissioner 
[by ]in rule. 
 (3)  [P]A payer[s] shall accept the applicable electronic data 
if transmitted in accordance with the [adopted ]electronic data 
interchange standard that is incorporated in rule. 
 (4)  A payer[  Payers] may reject electronic data if not 
transmitted in accordance with the [adopted ]electronic data 
interchange standard that is incorporated in rule. 
 ([4]5)  The following HIPAA+ electronic data interchange 
standards [developed and ]adopted by the UHIN Standards 
Committee [and adopted by the commissioner are hereby ]are 
incorporated by reference by the commissioner[with this rule] and 
are available [for public inspection at the department during normal 
business hours or at www.]at https://insurance.utah.gov. 
 (a)  "999 Implementation Acknowledgement For Health 
Care Insurance Standard v3.4."  Purpose:  To detail the standard 
transaction for the reporting of transmission receipt and transaction 
or functional group X12 and implementation guide error[.  This 
standard]; adopts the use of the ASC X12 999 transaction. 
 (b)  "Adaptive Behavior Services/Applied Behavior 
Analysis (ABA) Billing Standard" v3.1."  Purpose:  To detail the 
billing for the transmission of ABA services. 
 (c)  "Administrative Transaction Acknowledgements 
Standard v3.1."  Purpose:  To create a process for acknowledging all 
electronic transactions between trading partners based on the 
communication, syntax, semantic, and business process 
specifications. 
 [(c)](d)  "Anesthesia Standard v3.1."  Purpose:  [t]To 
standardize the transmission of anesthesia data for health care 
services[.  This standard]; does not alter any contractual agreement 
between providers and payers. 
[ (d)  "Applied Behavioral Analysis, ABA, Billing Standard 
V3.0."  Purpose:  To provide detail of the billing for the transmission 
of ABA services.] 

 (e)  "Benefits [and ]Enrollment and Maintenance Standard 
v3.1."  Purpose:  To detail the standard transactions for the 
transmission of health care benefits enrollment and maintenance. 
 (f)  "Claim Acknowledgement Standard v3.2."  Purpose:  
To provide a standardized claim acknowledgement in response to a 
claim submission[. This transaction is]; used to report on the status 
of a claim[/] or encounter at the pre-adjudication processing stage, 
for example, before the payer is legally required to keep a history of 
the claim or encounter. 
 (g)  "Claim Status Inquiry and Response Standard v3.2."  
Purpose:  To detail the standard transactions for the transmission of 
health care claim status inquiries and response[. The transaction is 
intended to]; allows the provider to reduce the need for claim follow-
up and facilitate the correction of claims. 
 (h)  "CMS 1500 Paper Claim Form Standard v3.3."  
Purpose:  To [clearly ]describe the standard use of each Box, for print 
images, and its crosswalk to the HIPAA 837 005010X222A1 
Professional implementation guide. 
 (i)  "Coordination of Benefits Standard v3.2."  Purpose:  To 
streamline the coordination of benefits process between payers and 
providers or payer to payers[. The standard is to]; defines the data to 
be exchanged for coordination of benefits and to increase effective 
communications. 
 (j)  "Dental Claim Billing Standard -- J430 v[3.2]4"  
Purpose:  To describe the standard use of each item number, for print 
images, and its crosswalk to the HIPAA 837 005010x02241A1 dental 
implementation guide[.  This standard]; adopts the ADA dental Claim 
Form J340. 
 (k)  "Electronic Remittance Advice Standard v3.5."  
Purpose:  To detail the standard transactions for the transmission of 
health care remittance advices. 
 (l)  "Eligibility Inquiry and Response Standard v3.[2]3."  
Purpose:  To detail the standard transactions for the transmission of 
health care eligibility inquiries and responses. 
 (m)  "Health Care Claim[ ]/Encounter Standard v3.2."  
Purpose:  To detail the standard transactions for the transmission of 
health care claims and encounters and associated transactions. 
 (n)  "Health Identification Card Standard v1.2."  Purpose:  
To standardize the patient health identification card information[. 
This identification card]; addresses the human-readable appearance 
and machine-readable information used by the healthcare industry to 
obtain eligibility. 
 (o)  "Health Plan Identifier[, ] (HPID) [, ]and Other Entity 
Identifier[, ] (OEID) [, ]Standard v1.1."  Purpose:  [The purpose of 
the standard is to ]To inform providers of the HIPD and OEID and 
their usage within the administrative transactions. 
 (p)  "Home Health Standard v3.[0]1."  Purpose:  To provide 
a uniform standard of billing for home health care claims and 
encounters. 
 (q)  "ICD-10 Standard v1.2."  Purpose: To create the 
business requirement for payers and providers to implement the 
International Classification of Diseases 10th Revisions, ICD-10, 
within the administrative transaction. 
 (r)  "Individual Name Standard v2.1."  Purpose: To provide 
guidance for entering names into provider, payer, or sponsor systems 
for patients, enrollees, [as well as all]and any other people associated 
with these records. 
 (s)  "[National Provider Identifier Standard v3.0]NPI and 
Atypical Provider Standard v3.1."  Purpose:  To inform providers of 
the national provider identifier requirements and the usage within the 
transactions. 
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 (t)  "Pain Management Standard v3.1."  Purpose:  To 
provide a uniform method of submitting pain management claims, 
encounters, pre-authorizations, and notifications. 
 (u)  "Patient Identification Number [Standard ]v3.0."  
Purpose:  To describe the standard for the patient identification 
number. 
 (v)  "Premium Payment [Standard ]v3.0."  Purpose:  To 
detail the standard transactions for the transmission of premium 
payments. 
 (w)  "Prior Authorization/Referral Standard v3.0."  
Purpose:  To provide general recommendations to payers and 
providers about handling electronic prior authorization and referrals. 
 (x)  "Required Unknown Values Standard v3.0."  Purpose:  
To provide guidance for the use of common data values that can be 
used within the HIPAA transactions when a required data element is 
not known by the provider, payer, or sponsor for patients, enrollees, 
[as well as all]and any other people associated with these 
transactions[. T]; these data values should only be used when the data 
is [truly ]not available or known[. These values should not to ] and 
may not be used to replace known data. 
 (y)  "Telehealth Standard v3.2."  Purpose:  To provide a 
uniform standard of billing for health care claims and encounters 
delivered via telehealth. 
 (z)  "Transparency Administration Performance Standard 
v1.[4,]8."  Purpose:  To establish performance measures that report 
the average telephone answer time and claim turnaround time. 
 (aa)  "Transparency Denial Standard v1.[4]8."  Purpose:  To 
establish performance measures that report the number and cost of an 
insurer's denied health claims and to provide guidance pertaining to 
the reporting method and timeline. 
 (ab)  "UB04 Form Locator Elements [Standard ]v3.0."  
Purpose: To [clearly ]describe the use of each form locator in the UB-
04 claim billing form and its crosswalk to the HIPAA 837 
005010X223A2 institutional implementation guide. 
 
R590-164-[7]6.  Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or the application to any 
person or situation is held to be invalid, that invalidity shall not affect 
any other provision or application of this rule which can be given 
effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the 
provisions of this rule are declared to be severable.]If any provision 
of this rule, Rule R590-164, or its application to any person or 
situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other 
provision or application of this rule that can be given effect without 
the invalid provision or application. The remainder of this rule shall 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance law 
Date of Last Change:  2022[August 14, 2018] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 6, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-22-
614.5 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R590-208 Filing ID: 
54851 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-208.  Uniform Application for Certificates of Authority 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with Rulewriting 
Manual.  Other changes make the language of this rule 
more clear, and update the Section R590-208-5 to use the 
Department's current language.  The changes do not add, 
remove, or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
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B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 31A-2-202  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 09/01/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-208.  Uniform Application for Certificates of Authority. 
R590-208-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated [pursuant to Subsections 31A-2-
201(2), 31A-2-201(3)(a), and 31A-2-202(2) wherein the 
commissioner is empowered to administer and enforce Title 31A; to 
make administrative rules to implement the provisions of Title 31A; 
to prescribe forms for information needed to enforce Title 31A and to 
implement uniformity between states and other jurisdictions as may 
apply to the admission and organization of insurance companies in 
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Utah]by the commissioner pursuant to Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-
2-202. 
 
R590-208-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to ensure [that ]consistency 
between the commissioner's requirements for a domestic, foreign, 
[and ]or alien insurer application[s] to obtain a certificate of authority 
in Utah [shall be consistent with ]and the requirements of: 
 (a)  other states[, ]; 
 (b)  the information included in the Uniform Certificate of 
Authority Primary Application[,]; and 
 (c)  the Uniform Certificate of Authority Expansion 
Application of the [National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners]NAIC. 
 (2)  This rule applies to each applicant seeking to obtain: 
 (a)  a certificate of authority for an insurer; or 
 (b)  an application for an organization permit to organize 
an insurer under Title 31A, Insurance Code. 
 
R590-208-3.  [Applicability and Scope]Definitions. 
 [This rule shall apply to all applicants seeking to obtain a 
certificate of authority for an insurer or an application for an 
organization permit to organize an insurer under Title 31A, Chapters 
5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 or 14]Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 
31A-1-301. 
 
R590-208-4.  Uniform Application for Admission as an Insurer. 
 [In order to promote efficiency and uniformity between the 
Utah Insurance Department, its sister states and other jurisdictions, 
the commissioner hereby requires the ](1)  The information included 
in the Uniform Certificate of Authority Primary Application and 
Uniform Certificate of Authority Expansion Application of the 
[National Association of Insurance Commissioners ]NAIC shall be 
submitted in accordance with [the requirements of ]Sections 31A-5-
204, 31A-7-201, 31A-8-205, 31A-9-205, 31A-10-203, 31A-11-105, 
and 31A-14-201. 
 [To the extent that the above sections ](2)  If a section 
specified in Subsection (1) requires [other ]information that is not 
required in these uniform applications, an applicant for a certificate 
of authority [and ]or organization permit shall furnish the additional 
information as a supplement to the information required in the 
uniform applications. 
 
R590-208-5.  Severability. 
 [If a provision of this rule or its application to any person 
or circumstance is or for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder 
of the rule and the application of these provisions shall not be 
affected.]If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-208, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance certificate of authority 
Date of Last Change:  2022[January 24, 2002] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 16, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-2-202 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R590-283 Filing ID: 
54852 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-283.  Defrayal of State-Required Benefits 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed to institute additional reporting 
requirements and change the date that a mandate defrayal 
payment is made by the state.  This will allow the 
Department of Insurance (Department) to more accurately 
predict costs to the state for the defrayal payment, and will 
provide the legislature the ability to budget up front for the 
costs each fiscal year. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The rule changes update the defrayal request due date, 
update the information to be included in a request for 
defrayal, provide more specificity and an example 
regarding when defrayal payments will be made, and 
provide specific dates for required reporting. 
 
Virtual Meeting ID: 
September 19, 2022, 1:00 PM 
meet.google.com/kte-eogh-msx 
Phone: 575-904-0792 
PIN: 481 569 486 #  
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes will help the legislature more accurately 
budget state expenses. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  This rule governs the relationship between 
the Department and insurers licensed by it.  It does not 
affect local governments in any way. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  This rule governs the relationship between 
the Department and insurers licensed by it, of which none 
have 1 - 49 employees.  It does not affect small businesses 
in any way. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are currently four insurers affected by this rule 
change.  Each insurer will have to compile information and 
submit two additional filings per year.  These filings include 
the same data that is currently reported.  The cost to 
submit a filing is $17.  The Department estimates that the 
additional costs for an insurer to compile the reporting 
information an additional two times per year is $1,000 
since the information is already being collected and the 
rule change only increases the frequency with which 
insurers will submit the data (4 x $1,017 x 2 = $8,136). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
person.  This rule governs the relationship between the 
Department and insurers licensed by it.  It does not affect 
any other person in any way. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are currently four insurers affected by this rule 
change.  Each insurer will have to compile information and 
submit two additional filings per year.  These filings include 
the same data that is currently reported.  The cost to 
submit a filing is $17.  The Department estimate that the 
additional costs for an insurer to compile the reporting 
information an additional two times per year is $1,000 
since the information is already being collected and the 

rule change only increases the frequency with which 
insurers will submit the data (4 x $1,017 x 2 = $8,136). 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$8,136 $8,136 $8,136 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$8,136 $8,136 $8,136 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

($8,136) ($8,136) ($8,136) 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-22-642 
Section 
31A-30-118 
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Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
09/19/2022 01:00 PM See details above in 

Box 4 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 09/01/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-283.  Defrayal of State-Required Benefits. 
R590-283-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-22-642, and 31A-30-118. 
 
R590-283-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish the method and 
timing for the defrayal of the cost of a state-required benefit enacted 
on or after January 1, 2012, that is subject to 45 CFR 155.170 of 
PPACA. 
 (2)  This rule applies to a health benefit plan that: 
 (a)  is a qualified health plan; 
 (b)  is offered on the exchange in the individual or small 
group market; 
 (c)  has an effective date of coverage on or after January 1, 
2020; and 
 (d)  offers a state-required benefit in excess of the Utah 
Essential Health Benefits Package. 
 
R590-283-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301 
and 31A-30-103, and Rule R590-266. Additional terms are defined 
as follows: 
 (1)  "Defrayal payment" means the amount payable to a 
carrier from the state for expenses incurred for a state-required 
benefit under: 
 (a)  45 C.F.R. 155.170(b); 
 (b)  Section 31A-30-118; and 
 (c)  this rule. 
 (2)  "EHB" means essential health benefits. 
 (3)  "Exchange" means exchange as defined in 45 CFR 
155.20. 
 (4)  "Member month" means a count of one for each month 
during a calendar year during which an individual has coverage under 

a plan subject to this rule where coverage is evaluated on the first of 
the month. 
 (5)  "Qualified health plan" means a qualified health plan 
as defined in 45 CFR 155.20. 
 (6)  "State-required benefit" means a benefit required by 
the state: 
 (a)  on or after January 1, 2012; 
 (b)  for a purpose other than compliance with a federal 
requirement; 
 (c)  that is in excess of the Utah Essential Health Benefits 
Package; and 
 (d)  that is eligible for a defrayal payment. 
 
R590-283-4.  Defrayal of a State-Required Benefit. 
 (1)  A health benefit plan offering a state-required benefit 
that is offered exclusively off-exchange is not eligible for a defrayal 
payment. 
 (2)  A carrier seeking a defrayal payment shall, on or before 
[April 30 ]September 1 of each year, submit to the commissioner a 
request that includes the following information: 
 (a)  the state-required benefit for which the carrier is 
seeking a defrayal payment; 
 (b)  [the total member months of individuals who received 
state-required benefit services during the preceding calendar year; 
and 
 (c)  the amount allowed and the amount incurred and paid 
by the carrier for the state-required benefit services during the 
preceding calendar year.]the Mandate Defrayal Data template with 
the final data submission tab completed; 
 (c)  an explanation for any increase in the allowable amount 
in the per unit cost for each CPT code that increased more than 5%; 
 (d)  a description of any treatment plan review under 
Subsection 31A-22-642(6); and 
 (e)  a certification stating: 
 (i)  any durational limit, amount limit, deductible, 
copayment, and coinsurance for the treatment of autism spectrum 
disorder are similar to, or identical to, coverage provided for other 
illnesses or diseases; and 
 (ii)  the defrayal payment request complies with Subsection 
31A-30-118(1)(b). 
 (3)(a)  The total defrayal payments are based on an 
aggregate of the data received under Subsection (2) from all carriers. 
 (b)  The defrayal payment is calculated based on the sum 
of the total state-required benefit defrayable costs incurred across all 
carriers divided by the sum of the total member months of individuals 
receiving state-required benefit services across all carriers, and the 
result is multiplied by the sum of the member months of individuals 
receiving state-required benefit services for each carrier. 
 (c)  A carrier may not receive a defrayal payment in excess 
of the amount the carrier incurred for a state-required benefit during 
the preceding calendar year. 
 (4)  A request for defrayal payment shall be submitted via 
the System for Electronic Rate and Form Filings, SERFF. 
 (5)(a)  Each defrayal payment is paid in arrears[ for the 
prior calendar year]. 
 (b)  The defrayal payment will be paid in the first quarter 
of the state's fiscal year following the submission of a valid request 
for a defrayal payment submitted under Subsection (2). 
 (c)  For example, a carrier submits a request for a defrayal 
payment in August 2023 for claims incurred during calendar year 
2022.  The defrayal payment will be paid during the first quarter of 
the state's fiscal year 2025, July 1, 2024, through September 30, 2024. 
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[ (6)(a)  If legislative funding is less than the total amount of 
requested defrayal payments, each defrayal payment will be prorated. 
 (b)  A carrier may include an adjustment to the next pricing 
year's rates to account for a legislative funding deficit. 
 (c)  An adjustment shall be clearly delineated in the 
actuarial memorandum.] 
 
R590-283-5.  Unified Rate Review Template, Rate Data Template, 
and Plans and Benefits Template Modifications. 
 (1)  A carrier that expects to be eligible to receive a defrayal 
payment shall modify a federal rate filing template as follows: 
 (a)  exclude the expected defrayal payment from the rates 
submitted on both the Unified Rate Review Template and the Rate 
Data Template; 
 (b)  indicate in the rate filing's actuarial memorandum: 
 (i)  whether the carrier anticipates a defrayal payment from 
the state for the cost of an eligible state-required benefit; 
 (ii)  that the cost of the state-required benefit is not included 
in the premiums; and 
 (iii)  the defrayal payment amount the carrier expects to 
receive; and 
 (c)  indicate in the "Benefits Information" field on the Plans 
and Benefits Template that the carrier covers the state-required 
benefits, selecting the state-required benefit of "Not EHB" for the 
"EHB Variance Reason" field. 
 (2)(a)  A carrier may not factor a state-required benefit into 
the calculation for the "EHB Percent of Total Premium" field on the 
Plans and Benefits Template. 
 (b)  A state-required benefit may not be included in the total 
premium from which the "EHB Percent of Total Premium" field is 
calculated. 
 
R590-283-6.  Reporting. 
 (1)  This rule incorporates by reference the Utah Health 
Information Network's (UHIN) "Adaptive Behavior Services / 
Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) Billing Standard" version 3.1, 
which is available on the department's website at 
https://insurance.utah.gov or on UHIN's website at https://uhin.org. 
 (2)  A carrier shall use the UHIN "Adaptive Behavior 
Services / Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) Billing Standard" 
version 3.1 to identify and report state-required benefit claims subject 
to defrayal under Subsection R590-283-4(2)(c) and this section. 
 (3)(a)  To project the state's defrayal payments, a carrier 
anticipating a defrayal payment shall submit to the commissioner on 
a quarterly basis the Mandate Defrayal Data template for the current 
reporting period.[: 
 (a)  on or before April 15 of each year: 
 (i)  the state-required benefit for which the carrier is 
seeking a defrayal payment; 
 (ii)  the total member months of individuals who received 
services for the state-required benefit during the current calendar 
year; and 
 (iii)  the amount allowed and the amount incurred and paid 
by the carrier for the state-required benefit during the current 
calendar year. 
 (b)  on or before November 15 of each year: 
 (i)  the state-required benefit for which the carrier is 
seeking a defrayal payment; 
 (ii)  the total member months of individuals who received 
services for the state-required benefit during the current calendar 
year; and 

 (iii)  the amount allowed and the amount incurred and paid 
by the carrier for the state-required benefit during the current 
calendar year.] 
 [(c)  ](b)  A report shall be filed: 
 (i)  on or before April 15 of each year for the period January 
1 through March 31; 
 (ii)  on or before August 15 of each year for the period 
January 1 through June 30; 
 (iii)  on or before November 15 of each year for the period 
January 1 through October 31; 
 (iv)  on or before February 15 of each year for the period 
January 1 through December 31 of the previous year; and 
 (v)  for the purpose of Section R590-283-4, on or before 
September 1 of each year for the period January 1 through December 
31 of the previous year. 
 (4)  Reports shall be submitted via the System for 
Electronic Rate and Form Filings, SERFF. 
 
R590-283-7.  Claims Auditing. 
 The commissioner may audit a carrier's: 
 (1)  state-required benefit claims that are eligible for a 
defrayal payment; and 
 (2)  process for determining which state-required benefit 
claims are eligible for a defrayal payment. 
 
R590-283-8.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-283, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application.  The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance 
Date of Last Change:  [February 8,] 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-30-
118(4) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R592-15 Filing ID: 
54853 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Title and Escrow Commission 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R592-15.  Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being repealed because it conflicts with 
proposed Rule R592-18, Cost of Doing the Escrow 
Business.  The Title and Escrow Commission approved 
the repeal of this rule in its 05/09/2022 meeting by a vote 
of 4 to 0. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The change in proposed rule (CPR) to 
Rule R592-18 is under ID 54616 in this issue, September 
15, 2022, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This filing repeals this rule in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
Similar information will continue to be reported to the 
Department of Insurance (Department) and reviewed by 
the Department as part of the annual report. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  This rule governs the relationship between 
the Department and its licensees and has no bearing on 
local governments in any way. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  Under this rule, licensees only report their 
minimum escrow service charges when they began 
performing escrow services, and any time they change 
their prices for those services.  Repealing the rule will 
mean they will no longer report at those times, but rather 
as part of the annual report. 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  Under this rule, licensees only report their 
minimum escrow service charges when they began 
performing escrow services, and any time they change 
their prices for those services.  Repealing the rule will 
mean they will no longer report at those times, but rather 
as part of the annual report. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  Under this rule, licensees only report their 
minimum escrow service charges when they began 
performing escrow services, and any time they change 
their prices for those services.  Repealing the rule will 
mean they will no longer report at those times, but rather 
as part of the annual report. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
An affected person will just not report to us when its escrow 
service charges change. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-404   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 09/01/2022 

 
R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission. 
[R592-15.  Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services. 
R592-15-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Title and Escrow 
Commission pursuant to Section 31A-2-404. 
 
R592-15-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures for 
filing a Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services pursuant 
to Section 31A-19a-209. 
 (2)  This rule applies to a title insurer, an agency title 
insurance producer, and an individual title insurance producer who is 
not an employee of a title insurer or who is not designated to an 

agency title insurance producer that provides escrow services in 
Utah. 
 
R592-15-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301, 
31A-2-402, and 31A-19a-102. Additional terms are defined as 
follows: 
 (1)  "Certification" means a statement that a filing complies 
with Utah laws and rules. 
 (2)  "Charge" means a dollar amount charged for a service 
rendered by a title licensee. 
 (3)  "Document preparation" means preparing or compiling 
documents in connection with an escrow service. 
 (4)  "Electronic filing" or "file electronically" means: 
 (a)  a filing submitted via the internet by a title insurer using 
the System for Electronic Rate and Forms Filings (SERFF); or 
 (b)  a filing submitted via an email system by an agency 
title insurance producer or an individual title insurance producer. 
 (5)  "Escrow charge" means a dollar amount charged for an 
escrow service shown in the Schedule of Minimum Charges for 
Escrow Services. 
 (6)  "Escrow service" means a service related to a 
settlement of a real estate transaction. 
 (7)  "File and use" means a filing can be used, sold, or 
offered for sale after it has been filed with the department. 
 (8)  "File before use" means a filing can be used, sold, or 
offered for sale after it has been filed with the department, and a 
stated period of time has elapsed from the date filed. 
 (9)  "Filer" means a person who submits a filing. 
 (10)(a)  "Filing Objection Letter" means a letter issued by 
the commissioner when a review determines that the filing fails to 
comply with Utah laws and rules. 
 (b)  The Filing Objection Letter may require correction of 
non-compliant items and request clarification or additional 
information pertaining to the filing. 
 (11)  "Letter of Authorization" means a letter signed on 
behalf of a title licensee that gives an individual filing authority. 
 (12)  "Minimum escrow fee" means the minimum amount 
that must be charged for escrow settlement services rendered. 
 (13)  "Order to Prohibit Use" means an order issued by the 
commissioner that prohibits the use of a filing. 
 (14)  "Other settlement service" means an additional 
service not specifically listed in the Schedule of Minimum Charges 
for Escrow Services. 
 (15)  "Rejected" means a filing is: 
 (a)  not submitted in accordance with Utah laws and rules; 
 (b)  returned to the filer by the department, with the reasons 
for rejection; and 
 (c)  not considered filed with the department. 
 (16)  "Title licensee", for purposes of this rule, means a title 
insurance company, an agency title insurance producer, or an 
individual title insurance producer. 
 
R592-15-4.  Required Documents. 
 The following documents shall be used for each filing and 
are available on the department's website, https://insurance.utah.gov: 
 (1)  "Transmittal Document for Agency Title Insurance 
Producer or Individual Title Insurance Producer"; and 
 (2)  "Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services. 
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R592-15-5.  General Filing Information. 
 (1)(a)  A filing shall be accurate, consistent, complete, and 
contain all required documents for the filing to be processed in a 
timely and efficient manner. 
 (b)  The commissioner may request additional information 
as necessary. 
 (2)(a)  A filing that does not comply with this rule is 
rejected and returned to the filer. 
 (b)  A rejected filing: 
 (i)  is not considered filed with the department; 
 (ii)  shall be submitted as a new filing; and 
 (iii)  will be charged a new filing fee. 
 (3)  Prior filings are not researched to determine the 
purpose of the filing. 
 (4)  The department does not review or proofread every 
filing. 
 (a)  A filing may be reviewed: 
 (i)  when submitted; 
 (ii)  as a result of a complaint; 
 (iii)  during a regulatory examination or investigation; or 
 (iv)  any time the department determines a review is 
necessary. 
 (b)  When a Filing Objection Letter or Order to Prohibit 
Use is issued, a title licensee may be required to disclose the 
deficiencies to each affected consumer. 
 (5)  Filing corrections. 
 (a)  If the filing is in an open status, correction can be made 
at any time. 
 (b)  If the filing is in a closed status, a new filing is required. 
 (c)  The filer must reference the original filing in the filing 
description. 
 (6)  When responding to a Filing Objection Letter or an 
Order to Prohibit Use, a filer shall comply with Section R592-15-9. 
 (7)  A filer must notify the department when withdrawing a 
previous filing. 
 
R592-15-6.  Filing Requirements. 
 (1)  The following shall electronically file a Schedule of 
Minimum Escrow Service Charges: 
 (a)  a title insurer; 
 (b)  an agency title insurance producer; and 
 (c)  an individual title insurance producer who is: 
 (i)  not an employee of a title insurer; or 
 (ii)  not designated to an agency title insurance producer. 
 (2)  Only an individual who is authorized to act on behalf 
of a title licensee may submit a filing. 
 (3)(a)  An initial Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services filing is a file and use filing and is effective the day it is 
filed. 
 (b)  A revised Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services filing is a file before use filing and is effective: 
 (i)  30 calendar days after the revised Schedule of 
Minimum Charges for Escrow Services is filed; or 
 (ii)  a date specified by the filer that is later than 30 calendar 
days after the revised Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services is filed. 
 (4)  Each filing must be submitted as an electronic filing 
via: 
 (a)  email; or 
 (b)  SERFF. 

 (5)  A complete email filing consists of the following: 
 (a)  an email naming the filer and stating that it is an escrow 
rate filing in the title of the email; 
 (b)  a complete Transmittal Document for Agency Title 
Insurance Producer or Individual Title Insurance Producer, 
containing a complete filing description in the following order: 
 (i)  Certification. 
 (A)  A filer shall certify that a filing is complete and 
complies with Utah laws and rules. 
 (B)  The filing shall include the following statement in the 
filing description:  "BY SUBMITTING THIS FILING I CERTIFY 
THAT THE ATTACHED FILING HAS BEEN COMPLETED IN 
ACCORDANCE WITH UTAH ADMINISTRATIVE RULE R592-
15 AND IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH APPLICABLE UTAH LAWS 
AND RULES". 
 (C)  A filing will be rejected if the certification is false, 
missing, or incomplete. 
 (ii)  Indicate if the filing is: 
 (A)  new; 
 (B)  replacing or modifying a previous submission, 
describing the changes; 
 (C)  previously rejected, with reasons for rejection and 
previous filing's submission date; or 
 (D)  previously objected to or prohibited, with reasons for 
resubmission; 
 (c)  a Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services, 
completed as follows: 
 (i)  each blank field must be completed; 
 (ii)  if a listed service is not performed by a title licensee, 
the field must show "N/A" or "Not Applicable"; and 
 (iii)  the Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services may not be altered; and 
 (d)  a Letter of Authorization. 
 (i)  When the filer is not a title licensee, a Letter of 
Authorization from the title licensee shall be included with the filing. 
 (ii)  The title licensee is responsible for ensuring that the 
filing complies with Utah laws and rules. 
 (e)  Under Subsection 31A-19a-203(1)(e)(i), a rate filing 
fee shall be received by the department within five days of the 
electronic submission or the filing will be rejected. 
 (6)  A complete SERFF filing consists of the following: 
 (a)  a complete description section on the general 
information tab, presented in the following order: 
 (i)  Certification. 
 (A)  A filer shall certify that a filing is complete and 
complies with Utah laws and rules. 
 (B)  The filing shall include the following statement in the 
filing description:  "BY SUBMITTING THIS FILING I CERTIFY 
THAT THE ATTACHED FILING HAS BEEN COMPLETED IN 
ACCORDANCE WITH UTAH ADMINISTRATIVE RULE R592-
15 AND IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH APPLICABLE UTAH LAWS 
AND RULES". 
 (C)  A filing will be rejected if the certification is false, 
missing, or incomplete. 
 (ii)  Indicate if the filing is: 
 (A)  new; 
 (B)  replacing or modifying a previous submission, 
describing the changes; 
 (C)  previously rejected, with reasons for rejection, and 
previous filing's submission date; or 
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 (D)  previously objected to or prohibited, with reasons for 
resubmission; 
 (b)  a Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services 
completed as follows: 
 (i)  attach the filing to the rate and rule schedule tab; 
 (ii)  each blank field must be completed; 
 (iii)  if a listed service is not performed by a title licensee, 
the field must show "N/A" or "Not Applicable"; and 
 (iv)  the Schedule of Minimum Charges for Escrow 
Services may not be altered; and 
 (c)  a Letter of Authorization. 
 (i)  When the filer is not a title licensee, a Letter of 
Authorization from the title licensee shall be included with the filing. 
 (ii)  The title licensee is responsible for ensuring that the 
filing complies with Utah laws and rules. 
 (d)  Under Subsection 31A-19a-203(1)(e)(i), a rate filing 
fee shall be received by the department within five days of the 
electronic submission or the filing will be rejected. 
 
R592-15-7.  Charges. 
 (1)  Only minimum escrow charges shown in the Schedule 
of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services shall be filed. 
 (2)  Other settlement service charges will be used for 
services not specifically shown in the Schedule of Minimum Charges 
for Escrow Services. 
 (3)  Other settlement service charges shall be filed as a per 
hour charge. 
 (4)  Only document charges shown in the Schedule of 
Minimum Charges for Escrow Services shall be filed. 
 (5)  Other services not specifically listed on the Schedule 
of Minimum Charges for Escrow Services may be provided if a 
justifiable charge is filed. 
 
R592-15-8.  Correspondence and Status Checks. 
 (1)  To identify the original filing, the following 
information shall be provided: 
 (a)  type of filing; 
 (b)  date of filing; and 
 (c)  submission method. 
 (2)  A filer may request the status of its filing 60 days after 
the filing date. 
 
R592-15-9.  Responses. 
 (1)  A response to a Filing Objection Letter shall include: 
 (a)  a cover letter identifying the changes made; and 
 (b)  revised documents with each change highlighted. 
 (2)(a)  An Order to Prohibit Use becomes final 15 days after 
the date of the Order. 
 (b)  Use of the filing shall be discontinued by the date 
specified in the Order. 
 (c)  To contest an Order to Prohibit Use, the commissioner 
must receive a written request for a hearing no later than 15 days after 
the date of the Order. 
 (d)  Once the Order to Prohibit Use has been issued, a new 
filing is required if the title licensee chooses to make the requested 
changes addressed in the original Filing Objection Letter. 
 
R592-15-10.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R592-15, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application.  The 

remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  title escrow filings 
Date of Last Change:  December 23, 2021 
Notice of Continuation:  March 30, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-404] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R653-11 Filing ID: 
54854 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Water Resources 
Room number: 310 
Building: Natural Resources Building  
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Martin Bushman 801-

538-
7273 

martinbushman@agutah.gov 

Joel Williams 801-
538-
7349 

joelwilliams@utah.gov 

Shelby Ericksen 801-
300-
1623 

shelbyericksen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R653-11.  Water Conservation Requirements and 
Incentives 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Utah Legislature enacted H.B. 121 in the 2022 
General Session establishing new water conservation 
measures directed at reducing outdoor water use at state 
government facilities and establishing a program 
administered by the Division of Water Resources to 
financially assist private landowners that convert lawn to 
drought resistant landscaping.  This rule is necessary to 
define terms and specify procedures not fully covered in 
H.B. 121. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The proposed rule language does not amend or repeal 
existing administrative rule.  It is a new rule in an existing 
Title of the Administrative Code (R653) and is singularly 
devoted to the purposes identified in the response to Box 
3.  This rule defines terms, identifies the criteria under 
which the Division of Water Resources may grant 
exceptions to the outdoor water use limitations imposed in 
Subsection 63A-5b-1108(4), establishes a uniform 
measure for outdoor water use at state facilities under 
Subsection 63A-5b-1108(3), and specifies the procedures 
and conditions for obtaining financial assistance from the 
Division of Water Resources for replacing lawn with 
drought resistant landscaping under Section 73-10-37.  
This rule will enable the Division of Water Resources to 
better perform the responsibilities and administer the 
program it is charged to undertake in H.B. 121 (2022). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The rule implements conservation requirements imposed 
in Section 63A-5b-1108 on outdoor water use at state 
facilities.  More specifically, it identifies the unit of 
measurement for water conservation and parameters 
under which the Division may exempt state facilities from 
certain water conservation requirements.  Reviewing 
exemption requests will be administered by existing staff 
at the Division of Water Resources--no new hires or 
overtime pay will be required. 
 
The Legislature appropriated $5,000,000 in ARPA one-
time funding to the Department of Natural Resources, 
Division of Water Resources to distribute to private 
landowners as an incentive to convert existing lawn to 
drought resistant landscaping (see Section 73-10-37).  
The rule governs the distribution of that $5,000,000 to 
reimburse some costs incurred in converting lawn to 
drought resistant landscaping.  The incentive program will 
be administered by existing staff at the Division of Water 
Resources--no new hires or overtime pay will be required. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The proposed rule's exemption provisions to outdoor water 
use restrictions in Section 65A-5b-1108 are exclusive to 
state facilities and will have no impact on local 
governments.  
 
The lawn conversion incentive program will not fiscally 
impact local governments negatively.  The program simply 
makes funding available to private property owners in Utah 
as an incentive to convert lawns into drought resistant 
landscaping.  The rule does not require private landowners 
to convert their lawns to drought resistant landscaping or 

to seek reimbursement of costs for such conversions from 
the Division.  Participation in the program is completely 
voluntary under the rule.  Those that choose to participate 
and receive funding, however, must pay whatever portion 
of the conversion's costs not covered by the incentive 
award.  The cost to convert lawn to drought resistant 
landscaping varies considerably depending on contractor, 
region of the state, and actual work performed--but 
average costs are generally between $4 and $12 a square 
foot.  The state incentive provided in the rule is $1.50 a 
square foot.  A lawn conversion, once completed, will 
reduce the landowner's outdoor water use and the 
associated costs, and eliminate lawn maintenance.  It will 
also conserve water supplies in the community, reduce the 
likelihood of shortages, and delay the need for further 
water development by water providers. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed rule's exemption provisions to outdoor water 
use restrictions in Section 65A-5b-1108 are exclusive to 
state facilities and will have no impact on small 
businesses. 
 
To the extent a private landowner is not a local government 
and more closely related to a small or non-small business, 
it will be impacted similarly to that described in the local 
governments section.  A residual benefit of the rule and the 
incentive program it implements to small and large 
businesses will be increased demand for: 1) landscaping 
services by qualified contractors; and 2) organic and 
inorganic materials (plants, shrubs, trees, gravel, rock, 
etc.) used in drought resistant landscaping  In total, the 
incentive program over the next couple years will infuse 
$5,000,000 in state incentive money and participant's 
corresponding cost share into the purchase of landscaping 
services and associated materials. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Impacts to non-small businesses is anticipated to be no 
different than to small businesses.  See small businesses 
impact response in box 5C. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No anticipated impacts to others different than local 
governments, small businesses, or non-small businesses.  
See previous responses. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The proposed rule's exemption provisions to outdoor water 
use restrictions in Section 65A-5b-1108 are exclusive to 
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state facilities and do not cost anything to state facilities 
that seek an exemption.  
 
This rule does not require private landowners to convert 
their lawns to drought resistant landscaping or to seek 
reimbursement of costs for such conversions from the 
Division.  Participation in the program is completely 
voluntary under this rule.  Those that choose to participate 
and receive funding, however, must pay whatever portion 
of the conversion's costs not covered by the incentive 
award.  The cost to convert lawn to drought resistant 
landscaping varies considerably depending on contractor, 
region of the state, and actual work performed--but 
average costs are generally between $4 and $12 a square 
foot.  The state incentive provided in the rule is $1.50 a 
square foot.  A lawn conversion, once completed, will 
reduce the landowner's outdoor water use and the 
associated costs, and the need for eliminate lawn 
maintenance.  It will also conserve water supplies in the 
community, reduce the likelihood of shortages, and delay 
the need for further water development by water providers.  
Again, participation in the program under the rule is 
voluntary. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has approved the regulatory impact 
analysis provided in this submission. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63A-5b-1108 

Section 73-10-37  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

11/01/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Candice 
Hasenyager, 
Director 

Date: 08/31/2022 

 
R653.  Natural Resources, Water Resources. 
R653-11.  Water Conservation Requirements and Incentives. 
R653-11-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is promulgated to: 
 (a)  define terms, identify exemptions, and further the 
objectives of Section 63A-5b-1108 in reducing outdoor water use at 
state government facilities; and 
 (b)  clarify terms and further the implementation and 
administration of the water conservation program created in Section 
73-10-37 that financially incentivizes private landowners to replace 
lawn with drought resistant landscaping. 
 
R653-11-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule and not otherwise defined in 
this section are defined in Subsections 63A-5b-1108(1) and 73-10-
37(1). 
 (2)  As used in this section: 
 (a)  "Division" means the Division of Water Resources. 
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 (b)  "Outdoor water use" means water used for outdoor 
landscape irrigation and ornamental landscape water features. 
 (c)  "Owner" means a person who: 
 (i)  holds legal or rightful title, or a controlling interest 
in that title, to nonagricultural land; 
 (ii)  is the water end user on the property; and 
 (iii)  whose residence or place of employment is located 
on the property. 
 (d)  "Drip irrigation system" means a system of narrow 
distribution tubes or pipes that deliver water from a dedicated low 
pressure supply valve to individual plants and trees through drip 
emitters.  Drip emitters do not include micro spray, fogger, or 
bubbler emitters. 
 (e)  "Good standing" means to have no past due water 
bills with a retail water provider.  
 (f)  "Lawn" means nonagricultural land planted in closely 
mowed, managed grasses, excluding golf courses, parks, athletic 
fields, and sod farms. 
 (g)  "Nonagricultural land" means privately owned real 
property immediately surrounding a home, apartment, business 
building, or similar structure routinely occupied by people for 
dwelling, business, employment, or recreation; and that is not 
used to grow crops or to hold, house, or feed livestock. 
 (h)  "Project area" means the total area of lawn proposed 
for removal on a given property and replacement with drought 
resistant landscaping under Sections 73-10-37 and R653-11-6. 
 (i)  "Retail water provider" means a person or entity that 
supplies culinary water or secondary water to a water end user. 
 
R653-11-3.  Lawn Limitations at State Government Facilities. 
 (1)  As provided in Subsection 63A-5b-1108(2), a state 
agency that owns or occupies a state government facility built or 
reconstructed on or after May 4, 2022, may not have more than 
20% of the grounds of the state government facility be in lawn. 
 (2)  The 20% lawn limitation in Subsection 63A-5b-
1108(2) does not apply to state government facilities under 
construction or reconstruction and incomplete as of May 4, 2022. 
 (3)  Upon written request to the division, the division 
may exempt a state government facility from the 20% lawn 
limitations in Subsection 63A-5b-1108(2) where it determines 
that the purpose of the requesting state agency that occupies the 
facility requires additional lawn. 
 
R653-11-4.  Reductions in Outdoor Water Use at State 
Government Facilities. 
 (1)  As provided in Subsection 63A-5b-1108(3)(a), a 
state agency shall reduce its outdoor water use compared to the 
state agency's outdoor water use for fiscal year 2020: 
 (a)  5% or more by June 30, 2023; and 
 (b)  25% or more by June 30, 2026. 
 (2)  The unit of measurement for outdoor water use 
under Subsection 63A-5b-1108(3) is gallons of use per fiscal year. 
 
R653-11-5.  Timing of Landscape Irrigation at State 
Government Facilities. 
 (1)  As provided in Subsection 63A-5b-1108(4), a state 
agency may not water outdoor landscaping at a state government 
facility between the hours of 10 a.m. and 6 p.m. 
 (2)  Upon written request to the division, the division 
may authorize a state agency to water landscapes at a state 
government facility between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m. where nighttime 
watering is: 

 (a)  infeasible due to water availability, insufficient 
water pressure, landscape use patterns or events, or similar 
impediments; or 
 (b)  detrimental to establishing and maintaining a 
landscape or landscape element in a condition that fulfills its 
fundamental purpose or ensures its perennial survival. 
 
R653-11-6.  State Incentives for Drought Resistant 
Landscaping. 
 (1)  As provided in Subsection 73-10-37(2), the division 
or its contractor may provide a financial incentive to an owner of 
private property to remove lawn from the property and replace it 
with drought resistant landscaping, as described in Subsection 
R653-11-6(7). 
 (2)  An owner may not receive an incentive under this 
rule if: 
 (a)  the owner has previously received an incentive under 
this section for the same property; 
 (b)  the project area is less than 200 square feet; or 
 (c)  the project area is located within a municipality or 
unincorporated area of a county that has not adopted or imposed 
water use efficiency standards satisfying the minimum benchmarks 
in Subsection (8). 
 (3)  To obtain an incentive under this section an applicant 
must submit an application to the division or its designated 
contractor that includes the following: 
 (a)  the applicant's name, mailing address, email address, 
and phone number; 
 (b)  a description of the property where the proposed 
lawn removal and replacement will occur; 
 (c)  a description of the lawn area proposed for removal 
and replacement, including its dimensions and location on the 
property, ie. project area; 
 (d)  the applicant's acknowledgement and verification 
that: 
 (i)  applicant holds legal or rightful title or a controlling 
interest in the title to the project area; 
 (ii)  the project area is nonagricultural land; 
 (iii)  the project area consists of lawn that is living, 
mowed, and actively managed; 
 (iv)  the project area is not part of or located on a golf 
course, park, athletic field, or sod farm; 
 (v)  applicant's residence or place of employment is 
located on the property where the project area is located; 
 (vi)  applicant contracts with and is in good standing 
with a retail water provider for residential, commercial, industrial, 
or institutional use of water on the project area; 
 (vii)  the project area is currently irrigated with water 
supplied by the retail water provider under contract with the 
applicant; 
 (viii)  the applicant has legal authority to authorize lawn 
removal and replacement on the project area; 
 (ix)  the applicant voluntarily seeks to remove the lawn in 
the project area and replace it with drought resistant landscaping, and 
is not required to do so by government code or policy; 
 (x)  the applicant has not previously received an incentive 
under Section 73-10-37 and this rule for the same property; 
 (xi)  the applicant agrees not to return a project area to lawn 
after replacing it with drought resistant landscaping and receiving an 
incentive to do so; 
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 (xii)  the lawn conversion project will not violate any 
applicable law, regulation, ordinance, zoning requirement, 
contractual obligation, or other legal limitation; and 
 (xiii)  the applicant understands and acknowledges that 
neither the lawn removal incentive program, its requirements, nor the 
award of an incentive by the division supersede applicable laws, 
regulations, ordinances, or contract terms to the contrary; and 
 (e)  submission of the following documents: 
 (i)  billing statement showing that the applicant contracts 
with and is in good standing with the retail water provider that 
services the project area; and 
 (ii)  drought resistant landscaping plan for the project area 
detailing the: 
 (A)  location on the property and square footage of lawn 
planned for removal and conversion to drought resistant landscaping, 
including drawings with dimensional measurements, aerial imagery, 
and photographs of the project area; 
 (B)  types and locations of the inorganic ground cover, 
weed barriers, plants, shrubs, trees, and irrigation systems satisfying 
the requirements in Subsection (7); and 
 (C)  projected costs for the project. 
 (f)  Upon request by the division, submission of 
documentation showing the applicant is the owner of the property and 
possesses legal authority to authorize the lawn removal and 
replacement. 
 (4)(a)  The division or its contractors will receive and 
review lawn conversion incentive applications for completeness 
and compliance with the requirements of Section 73-10-37 and 
this rule. 
 (b)  Before approving an incentive application, the 
division or its contractors will verify the location and eligibility 
of the project area for an incentive by: 
 (i)  reviewing information submitted with the 
application; or 
 (ii)  physically or virtually inspecting the project area. 
 (c)  The division or its contractors will approve 
incentives to qualified applicants under Section 73-10-37 and this 
rule in the order that eligible applications are filed. 
 (d)  An incentive authorized for any single application 
under Section 73-10-37 and this rule shall not exceed: 
 (i)  $50,000 in the aggregate; and 
 (ii)  the lessor of: 
 (A)  50% of the cost of replacing the lawn with drought 
resistant landscaping; or 
 (B)  $1.50 for each square foot of lawn replaced with 
drought resistant landscaping. 
 (e)  Incentives offered under Section 73-10-37 and this 
rule are subject to a $5,000,000 aggregate cap. 
 (5)  Upon approval of an incentive and as a condition to 
receiving the incentive, the participant shall: 
 (a)  provide the division the information required to 
complete a federal W-9 tax form; 
 (b)  execute a lawn conversion incentive contract with the 
division detailing the parties' mutual obligations and responsibilities, 
including: 
 (i)  terms and conditions for receiving the incentive 
payment; 
 (ii)  participant's commitment to: 
 (A)  complete the project consistent with the approved 
drought resistant landscaping plan within 365 days of approval of the 
application; and 

 (B)  never return the project area to lawn after replacing it 
with drought resistant landscaping and receiving an incentive to do 
so; 
 (iii)  other matters determined by the division necessary to 
effectively administer the incentive program; and 
 (iv)  participant's acknowledgement that incentive 
payments received may be subject to state and federal taxation. 
 (6)  Before the division disburses any portion of an 
incentive to a participant, the division or its contractors will visit the 
project area and verify the lawn conversion to drought resistant 
landscaping is completed and consistent with: 
 (a)  the requirements of Section 73-10-37 and this rule; 
 (b)  the approved drought resistant landscaping plan; and 
 (c)  the lawn conversion incentive contract between the 
participant and the division. 
 (7)(a)  Except as otherwise determined by the division, 
drought resistant landscaping is a mixture of inorganic and organic 
ground cover that: 
 (i)  controls the invasion of common weeds and grasses; 
 (ii)  includes perennial, drought resistant plants, shrubs, or 
trees; and 
 (iii)  drought resistant plants and shrubs cover 50% or more 
of the project area at maturity; 
 (A)  tree canopy may not be used to satisfy the 50% plant 
and shrub coverage requirement; 
 (iv)  has a drip irrigation system that: 
 (A)  replaces the existing irrigation system servicing the 
project area; 
 (B)  minimizes evapotranspiration losses; and 
 (C)  maintains the drought resistant plants, shrubs, and trees 
in the project area in a healthy state; and 
 (v)  is officially approved by the division or its contractors. 
 (b)  All treatment locations in the project area, not 
otherwise covered in artificial turf, concrete, brick, or stone shall be 
covered in 3-4 inches of permeable gravel, rock, bark, compost 
mulch, or similar material to control weeds and improve the 
appearance of the landscaping. 
 (c)  Drought resistant landscaping may include permeable: 
 (i)  weed barrier fabric; 
 (ii)  configurations of pavers, brick, stone, and similar hard 
surfaced materials, provided the project area satisfies the 50% plant 
and shrub cover requirement with the treated area counted as 
contributing nothing towards that cover; or 
 (iii)  artificial turf, provided the project area satisfies the 
50% plant and shrub cover requirement with treated area counted as 
contributing nothing toward that cover. 
 (8)  For purposes of Subsection (2), water use efficiency 
standards for counties and municipalities within a county consist 
of the following outdoor lawn limitations on new residential 
development. 
 (a)  Statewide requirements: 
 (i)  No lawn on parking strips or areas less than eight feet 
in width in new residential development. 
 (b)  Regional requirements: 
 (i)  Washington County - no more than 15% of the lot 
size in new residential development is lawn; 
 (ii)  Salt Lake, Utah, Weber, and Davis counties - no 
more than 35% of the front and side yard landscaped area in new 
residential development is lawn; and 
 (iii)  All other counties in Utah - no more than 50% of 
the front and side yard landscaped area in new residential 
development is lawn. 
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 (c)  The lawn limitations in Subsections (a) and (b) do 
not apply to small residential lots with less than 250 square feet in 
landscaped area. 
 
KEY:  water conservation measures 
Date of Last Change:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-5b-
1108; 73-10-37 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Tax Commission 
Agency: Property Tax 
Building: Utah State Tax Commission 
Street address: 210 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chantay Asper 801-

297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R884-24P-33.  2022 Personal Property Valuation Guides 
and Schedules Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-
10743 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The valuation guides and schedules contained in this 
section are reviewed and updated annually by the 
Property Tax Division.  The personal property guides and 
schedules are used for property tax valuation and 
assessment of business personal property and certain 
motor vehicles. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Section 59-2-107 authorizes the State Tax Commission to 
make rules that define classes of items considered to be 
personal property and provide valuation percent good 
schedules to value personal property.  County assessors 
must use the percent good schedules as contained in this 
section.  Any deviation that affects an entire class or type 

of personal property requires a written report documenting 
the schedule change to be submitted to the Tax 
Commission for approval prior to use.  The proposed rule 
amendment modifies the percent good tables. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amount of savings or cost to state government is not 
affected by this section.  Tax revenue generated by taxing 
personal property is distributed to local governments to 
finance public services, programs, school districts and 
local districts.  No tax revenues generated by taxation of 
personal property will be retained by state government. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The amount of saving or cost to local governments is 
undetermined.  Local governmental entities receive tax 
revenue based on increased or decreased personal 
property values and the change in the annual property tax 
rate.  Increases or decreases in 2023 property tax revenue 
cannot be determined, even if there were no changes in 
the percent good tables, because taxpayer acquisitions 
and deletions of personal property during 2023 are 
unknown.  The proposed personal property schedules in 
this amendment are raised, lowered, or remain the same 
for 2023 based upon the type and age of the personal 
property assessed.  Schedules used to value business 
personal property increase or decrease based upon the 
calculation of economic trends from cost indexes 
published by the Marshall Valuation Service.  It is 
anticipated that the change in the annual property tax rate 
will have a larger impact on revenue than will the proposed 
amendments to this section. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
In the aggregate, the amount of savings or cost to small 
businesses is undetermined.  Affected businesses pay 
property taxes based on increased or decreased personal 
property values and the change in the annual property tax 
rate.  The proposed personal property schedules in this 
rule are raised, lowered, or remain the same for 2023 
based upon the type and age of the property.  Since some 
schedules are increased and some decreased, it is not 
possible to determine the change to affected persons 
without knowing the 2023 personal property mix compared 
to the previous year. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
In the aggregate, the amount of savings or cost to non-
small businesses is undetermined.  Affected non-small 
businesses pay property taxes based on increased or 
decreased personal property values and the change in the 
annual property tax rate.  The proposed personal property 
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schedules in this rule are raised, lowered, or remain the 
same for 2023 based upon the type and age of the 
property.  Since some schedules are increased and some 
decreased, it is not possible to determine the change to 
affected persons without knowing the 2023 personal 
property mix compared to the previous year. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
In the aggregate, the amount of savings or cost to persons 
other than small businesses, non-small businesses, and 
state or local government entities is undetermined.  
Affected persons pay property taxes based on increased 
or decreased personal property values and the change in 
the annual property tax rate.  The proposed personal 
property schedules in this rule are raised, lowered, or 
remain the same for 2023 based upon the type and age of 
the property.  Since some schedules are increased and 
some decreased, it is not possible to determine the change 
to affected persons without knowing the 2023 personal 
property mix compared to the previous year. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Local business owners and property tax practitioners will 
be required to be aware of new percent good figures.  This 
is an annual occurrence; therefore, the ongoing 
compliance cost to complete this assessment process will 
not change.  The change in taxes charged for these 
persons depends entirely on the owner's mix of personal 
property since some percent good schedules are 
increasing and others decreasing.  For example, the 
owner of a business may discard some personal property 
items and add new equipment or replace equipment which 
may increase or decrease personal property values.  In 
addition, the personal property percent good schedule 
percentages often change from the previous year due to 
current economic conditions. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
A Commissioner of the Utah State Tax Commission, 
Rebecca L. Rockwell, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 59-2-107   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/01/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Rebecca L. 
Rockwell, 
Commissioner 

Date: 08/29/2022 
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R884.  Tax Commission, Property Tax. 
R884-24P.  Property Tax. 
R884-24P-33.  [2022]2023 Personal Property Valuation Guides 
and Schedules Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-107. 
 (1)  Definitions. 
 (a)  "Acquisition cost" means the same as that term is 
defined in Section 59-2-102. 
 (b)(i)  "Actual cost" includes the value of components 
necessary to complete the vehicle, such as tanks, mixers, special 
containers, passenger compartments, special axles, installation, 
engineering, erection, or assembly costs. 
 (ii)  Actual cost does not include sales or excise taxes, 
maintenance contracts, registration and license fees, dealer charges, 
tire tax, freight, or shipping costs. 
 (c)  "Cost new" means the actual cost of the property when 
purchased new. 
 (i)  Except as otherwise provided in this rule, the Tax 
Commission and assessors shall rely on the following sources to 
determine cost new: 
 (A)  documented actual cost of the new or used vehicle; or 
 (B)  recognized publications that provide a method for 
approximating cost new for new or used vehicles. 
 (ii)  For the following property purchased used, the taxing 
authority may determine cost new by dividing the property's actual 
cost by the percent good factor for that class: 
 (A)  Class 6 heavy and medium duty trucks; 
 (B)  Class  13 heavy equipment; 
 (C)  Class  17 vessels equal to or greater than 31 feet in 
length; and 
 (D)  Class  21 commercial trailers. 
 (d)  For purposes of Sections 59-2-108 and 59-2-1115, 
"item of taxable tangible personal property" means a piece of 
equipment, machinery, furniture, or other piece of tangible personal 
property that is functioning at its highest and best use for the purpose 
it was designed and constructed and is generally capable of 
performing that function without being combined with other items of 
personal property.  An item of taxable tangible personal property is 
not an individual component part of a piece of machinery or 
equipment, but the piece of machinery or equipment.  For example, 
a fully functioning computer is an item of taxable tangible personal 
property, but the motherboard, hard drive, tower, or sound card are 
not. 
 (e)  "Percent good" means an estimate of value, expressed 
as a percentage, based on a property's acquisition cost or cost new, 
adjusted for depreciation and appreciation. 
 (i)  The percent good factor is applied against the 
acquisition cost or the cost new to derive taxable value for the 
property. 
 (ii)  Percent good schedules are derived from an analysis of 
the Internal Revenue Service Class Life, the Marshall and Swift Cost 
index, other data sources or research, and vehicle valuation guides 
such as Penton Price Digests. 
 (2)  Each year the Property Tax Division shall update and 
publish percent good schedules for use in computing personal 
property valuation. 
 (a)  Proposed schedules shall be transmitted to county 
assessors and interested parties for comment before adoption. 
 (b)  A public comment period will be scheduled each year 
and a public hearing will be scheduled if requested by ten or more 
interested parties or at the discretion of the Commission. 
 (c)  County assessors may deviate from the schedules when 
warranted by specific conditions affecting an item of personal 

property.  When a deviation will affect an entire class or type of 
personal property, a written report, substantiating the changes with 
verifiable data, must be presented to the Commission.  Alternative 
schedules may not be used without prior written approval of the 
Commission. 
 (d)  A party may request a deviation from the value 
established by the schedule for a specific item of property if the use 
of the schedule does not result in the fair market value for the 
property at the retail level of trade on the lien date, including any 
relevant installation and assemblage value. 
 (3)  This rule does not apply to: 
 (a)  a vehicle subject to the age-based uniform fee under 
Section 59-2-405.1; 
 (b)  the following personal property subject to the age-
based uniform fee under Section 59-2-405.2: 
 (i)  an all-terrain vehicle; 
 (ii)  a camper; 
 (iii)  an other motorcycle; 
 (iv)  an other trailer; 
 (v)  a personal watercraft; 
 (vi)  a small motor vehicle; 
 (vii)  a snowmobile; 
 (viii)  a street motorcycle; 
 (ix)  a tent trailer; 
 (x)  a travel trailer; and 
 (xi)  a vessel, including an outboard motor of the vessel, 
that is less than 31 feet in length; 
 (c)  a motorhome subject to the uniform statewide fee under 
Section 59-2-405.3; and 
 (d)  an aircraft subject to the uniform statewide fee under 
Section 72-10-110.5. 
 (4)  Other taxable personal property that is not included in 
the listed classes includes: 
 (a)  Supplies on hand as of January 1 at [12:00 ]noon, 
including office supplies, shipping supplies, maintenance supplies, 
replacement parts, lubricating oils, fuel and consumable items not 
held for sale in the ordinary course of business.  Supplies are assessed 
at total cost, including freight-in. 
 (b)  Equipment leased or rented from inventory is subject 
to ad valorem tax.  Refer to the appropriate property class schedule 
to determine taxable value. 
 (c)  Property held for rent or lease is taxable, and is not 
exempt as inventory.  For entities primarily engaged in rent-to-own, 
inventory on hand at January 1 is exempt and property out on rent-
to-own contracts is taxable. 
 (5)  Personal property valuation schedules may not be 
appealed to, or amended by, county boards of equalization. 
 (6)  Taxable personal property, other than personal property 
subject to an age-based uniform fee under Sections 59-2-405.1 
through 59-2-405.3, or a uniform statewide fee under Section 59-2-
405, is classified by expected economic life as follows: 
 (a)  Class 1 - Short Life Property.  Property in this class has 
a typical life of more than one year and less than four years. It is 
fungible in that it is difficult to determine the age of an item retired 
from service. 
 (i)  Examples of property in the class include: 
 (A)  [barricades/warning]barricades or warning signs; 
 (B)  library materials; 
 (C)  patterns, jigs and dies; 
 (D)  pots, pans, and utensils; 
 (E)  canned computer software; 
 (F)  hotel linen; 
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 (G)  wood and pallets; 
 (H)  video tapes, compact discs, and DVDs; and 
 (I)  uniforms. 
 (ii)  With the exception of video tapes, compact discs, and 
DVDs, taxable value is calculated by applying the percent good 
factor against the acquisition cost of the property. 
 (iii)  A licensee of canned computer software shall use one 
of the following substitutes for acquisition cost of canned computer 
software if no acquisition cost for the canned computer software is 
stated: 
 (A)  retail price of the canned computer software; 
 (B)  if a retail price is unavailable, and the license is a 
nonrenewable single year license agreement, the total sum of 
expected payments during that 12-month period; or 
 (C)  if the licensing agreement is a renewable agreement or 
is a multiple year agreement, the present value of expected licensing 
fees paid pursuant to the agreement. 
 (iv)  Video tapes, compact discs, and DVDs are valued at 
$15 per tape or disc for the first year and $3 per tape or disc thereafter. 
 

[TABLE 1 
 
       Year of            Percent Good 
     Acquisition      of Acquisition Cost 
 
           21                      76% 
           20                      44% 
           19 and prior            11%] 

Table 1 
Short Life Property 

Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 79% 
2021 49% 
2020 and prior 12% 

 
 (b)  Class 2 - Computer Integrated Machinery. 
 (i)  Machinery shall be classified as computer integrated 
machinery if the following conditions are met: 
 (A)  The equipment is sold as a single unit.  If the invoice 
breaks out the computer separately from the machine, the computer 
must be valued as Class 12 property and the machine as Class 8 
property. 
 (B)  The machine cannot operate without the computer and 
the computer cannot perform functions outside the machine. 
 (C)  The machine can perform multiple functions and is 
controlled by a programmable central processing unit. 
 (D)  The total cost of the machine and computer combined 
is depreciated as a unit for income tax purposes. 
 (E)  The capabilities of the machine cannot be expanded by 
substituting a more complex computer for the original. 
 (ii)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  CNC mills; 
 (B)  CNC lathes; or 
 (C)  high-tech medical and dental equipment such as MRI 
equipment, CAT scanners, and mammography units. 
 (iii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the acquisition cost of the property. 
 

[TABLE 2 
 
       Year of            Percent Good 
     Acquisition      of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                          96% 
         20                          86% 

         19                          74% 
         18                          62% 
         17                          51% 
         16                          40% 
         15                          26% 
         14 and prior                13%] 

Table 2 
Computer Integrated Machinery 

Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 97% 
2021 90% 
2020 82% 
2019 71% 
2018 58% 
2017 45% 
2016 30% 
2015 and prior 15% 

 
 (c)  Class 3 - Short Life Trade Fixtures.  Property in this 
class generally consists of electronic types of equipment and includes 
property subject to rapid functional and economic obsolescence or 
severe wear and tear. 
 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  office machines; 
 (B)  alarm systems; 
 (C)  shopping carts; 
 (D)  ATM machines; 
 (E)  small equipment rentals; 
 (F)  rent-to-own merchandise; 
 (G)  telephone equipment and systems; 
 (H)  music systems; 
 (I)  vending machines; 
 (J)  video game machines; and 
 (K)  cash registers. 
 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the acquisition cost of the property. 
 

[TABLE 3 
 
       Year of            Percent Good 
     Acquisition      of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                       90% 
         20                       74% 
         19                       55% 
         18                       37% 
         17 and prior             18%] 

Table 3 
Short Life Trade Fixtures 

Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 94% 
2021 81% 
2020 61% 
2019 42% 
2018 and prior 22% 

 
 (d)  Class 5 - Long Life Trade Fixtures.  Class 5 property is 
subject to functional obsolescence in the form of style changes. 
 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  furniture; 
 (B)  bars and sinks: 
 (C)  booths, tables and chairs; 
 (D)  beauty and barber shop fixtures; 
 (E)  cabinets and shelves; 
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 (F)  displays, cases and racks; 
 (G)  office furniture; 
 (H)  theater seats; 
 (I)  water slides; 
 (J)  signs, mechanical and electrical; and 
 (K)  LED component of a billboard. 
 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the acquisition cost of the property. 
 

[TABLE 5 
 
       Year of            Percent Good 
     Acquisition      of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                          96% 
         20                          88% 
         19                          78% 
         18                          67% 
         17                          58% 
         16                          47% 
         15                          35% 
         14                          24% 
         13 and prior                13%] 

Table 5 
Long Life Trade Fixtures 

Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 97% 
2021 91% 
2020 86% 
2019 76% 
2018 66% 
2017 54% 
2016 40% 
2015 27% 
2014 and prior 14% 

 
 (e)  Class 6 - Heavy and Medium Duty Trucks. 
 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  heavy duty trucks; 
 (B)  medium duty trucks; 
 (C)  crane trucks; 
 (D)  concrete pump trucks; and 
 (E)  trucks with well-boring rigs. 
 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the cost new. 
 (iii)  Cost new of vehicles in this class is defined as follows: 
 (A)  the documented actual cost of the vehicle for new 
vehicles; or 
 (B)  75% of the manufacturer's suggested retail price. 
 (iv)  For state assessed vehicles, cost new shall include the 
value of attached equipment. 
 (v)  The [2022]2023 percent good applies to [2022]2023 
models purchased in [2021]2022. 
 (vi)  Trucks weighing two tons or more have a residual 
taxable value of $1,750. 
 

[TABLE 6 
 
                              Percent Good 
       Model Year            of Cost New 
 
         22                 90% 
         21                 85% 
         20                 79% 
         19                 74% 
         18                 68% 
         17                 62% 

         16                 56% 
         15                 50% 
         14                 44% 
         13                 39% 
         12                 33% 
         11                 27% 
         10                 21% 
         09 and prior       15%] 

Table 6 
Heavy and Medium Duty Trucks 

Model Year Percent Good of Cost New 
2023 98% 
2022 96% 
2021 94% 
2020 91% 
2019 88% 
2018 83% 
2017 78% 
2016 65% 
2015 59% 
2014 54% 
2013 48% 
2012 42% 
2011 36% 
2010 and prior 30% 

 
 (f)  Class 7 - Medical and Dental Equipment.  Class 7 has 
been merged into Class 8. 
 (g)  Class 8 - Machinery and Equipment and Medical and 
Dental Equipment. 
 (i)  Machinery and equipment is subject to considerable 
functional and economic obsolescence created by competition as 
technologically advanced and more efficient equipment becomes 
available. Examples of machinery and equipment include: 
 (A)  manufacturing machinery; 
 (B)  amusement rides; 
 (C)  bakery equipment; 
 (D)  distillery equipment; 
 (E)  refrigeration equipment; 
 (F)  laundry and dry cleaning equipment; 
 (G)  machine shop equipment; 
 (H)  processing equipment; 
 (I)  auto service and repair equipment; 
 (J)  mining equipment; 
 (K)  ski lift machinery; 
 (L)  printing equipment; 
 (M)  bottling or cannery equipment; 
 (N)  packaging equipment; and 
 (O)  pollution control equipment. 
 (ii)  Medical and dental equipment is subject to a high 
degree of technological development by the health industry. 
Examples of medical and dental equipment include: 
 (A)  medical and dental equipment and instruments; 
 (B)  exam tables and chairs; 
 (C)  microscopes; and 
 (D)  optical equipment. 
 (iii)  Except as provided in Subsection (6)(g)(iv), taxable 
value is calculated by applying the percent good factor against the 
acquisition cost of the property. 
 (iv)[(A)]  Notwithstanding Subsection (6)(g)(iii), the 
taxable value of [the following oil refinery ]pollution control 
equipment as defined in Section 59-2-301.9,[required by the federal 
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Clean Air Act] shall be calculated pursuant to [Subsection 
(6)(g)(iv)(B):]Section 59-2-301.9. 
[ (I)  VGO (Vacuum Gas Oil)  reactor; 
 (II)  HDS (Diesel Hydrotreater)  reactor; 
 (III)  VGO compressor; 
 (IV)  VGO furnace; 
 (V)  VGO and HDS high pressure exchangers; 
 (VI)  VGO, SRU (Sulfur Recovery Unit), SWS (Sour Water 
Stripper), and TGU; (Tail Gas Unit)  low pressure exchangers; 
 (VII)  VGO, amine, SWS, and HDS separators and drums; 
 (VIII)  VGO and tank pumps; 
 (IX)  TGU modules; and 
 (X)  VGO tank and VGO tank air coolers. 
 (B)  The taxable value of the oil refinery pollution control 
equipment described in Subsection (6)(g)(iv)(A)  shall be calculated 
by: 
 (I)  applying the percent good factor in Table 8 against the 
acquisition cost of the property; and 
 (II)  multiplying the product described in Subsection 
(6)(g)(iv)(B)(I) by 50%.] 
 

[TABLE 8 
 
       Year of                 Percent Good 
     Acquisition           of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                      97% 
         20                      92% 
         19                      83% 
         18                      75% 
         17                      67% 
         16                      59% 
         15                      49% 
         14                      40% 
         13                      31% 
         12                      22% 
         11 and prior            12%] 

Table 8 
Machinery and Equipment Including Medical and Dental 

Equipment 
Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 98% 
2021 94% 
2020 90% 
2019 85% 
2018 77% 
2017 67% 
2016 55% 
2015 45% 
2014 34% 
2013 23% 
2012 and prior 12% 

 
 (h)  Class 9 - Off-Highway Vehicles.  Because Section 59-
2-405.2 subjects off-highway vehicles to an age-based uniform fee, a 
percent good schedule is not necessary. 
 (i)  Class 10 - Railroad Cars.  The Class 10 schedule was 
developed to value the property of railroad car companies.  
Functional and economic obsolescence is recognized in the 
developing technology of the shipping industry.  Heavy wear and tear 
is also a factor in valuing this class of property.  Taxable value is 
calculated by applying the percent good factor against the acquisition 
cost of the property. 
 

[TABLE 10 
 
       Year of              Percent Good 
     Acquisition        of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                     97% 
         20                     95% 
         19                     89% 
         18                     82% 
         17                     77% 
         16                     71% 
         15                     63% 
         14                     57% 
         13                     50% 
         12                     44% 
         11                     37% 
         10                     30% 
         09                     21% 
         08 and prior           10%] 

Table 10 
Railroad Cars 

Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 98% 
2021 96% 
2020 94% 
2019 91% 
2018 88% 
2017 81% 
2016 71% 
2015 63% 
2014 54% 
2013 46% 
2012 38% 
2011 29% 
2010 19% 
2009 and prior 10% 

 
 (j)  Class 11 - Street Motorcycles.  Because Section 59-2-
405.2 subjects street motorcycles to an age-based uniform fee, a 
percent good schedule is not necessary. 
 (k)  Class 12 - Computer Hardware. 
 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  data processing equipment; 
 (B)  personal computers; 
 (C)  main frame computers; 
 (D)  computer equipment peripherals; 
 (E)  cad or cam systems; and 
 (F)  copiers. 
 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the acquisition cost of the property. 
 

[TABLE 12 
 
       Year of            Percent Good 
     Acquisition      of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                     62% 
         20                     46% 
         19                     21% 
         18                      9% 
         17 and prior            7%] 

Table 12 
Computer Hardware 

Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 62% 
2021 46% 
2020 21% 
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2019 9% 
2018 and prior 7% 

 
 (l)  Class 13 - Heavy Equipment. 
 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  construction equipment; 
 (B)  excavation equipment; 
 (C)  loaders; 
 (D)  batch plants; 
 (E)  snow cats; and 
 (F)  pavement sweepers. 
 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the acquisition cost of the property. 
 (iii)  [2022]2023 model equipment purchased in 
[2021]2022 is valued at [100 percent]100% of acquisition cost. 
 

[TABLE 13 
 
       Year of            Percent Good 
     Acquisition      of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                 61% 
         20                 59% 
         19                 56% 
         18                 54% 
         17                 52% 
         16                 50% 
         15                 48% 
         14                 46% 
         13                 43% 
         12                 41% 
         11                 39% 
         10                 37% 
         09                 35% 
         08 and prior       33%] 

Table 13 
Heavy Equipment 

Model Year Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 70% 
2021 67% 
2020 65% 
2019 62% 
2018 60% 
2017 58% 
2016 55% 
2015 53% 
2014 50% 
2013 48% 
2012 45% 
2011 43% 
2010 40% 
2009 and prior 38% 

 
 (m)  Class 14 - Motor Homes.  Because Section 59-2-405.3 
subjects motor homes to an age-based uniform fee, a percent good 
schedule is not necessary. 
 (n)  Class 15 - Semiconductor Manufacturing Equipment.  
Class 15 applies only to equipment used in the production of 
semiconductor products.  Equipment used in the semiconductor 
manufacturing industry is subject to significant economic and 
functional obsolescence due to rapidly changing technology and 
economic conditions. 
 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  crystal growing equipment; 
 (B)  die assembly equipment; 

 (C)  wire bonding equipment; 
 (D)  encapsulation equipment; 
 (E)  semiconductor test equipment; 
 (F)  clean room equipment; 
 (G)  chemical and gas systems related to semiconductor 
manufacturing; 
 (H)  deionized water systems; 
 (I)  electrical systems; and 
 (J)  photo mask and wafer manufacturing dedicated to 
semiconductor production. 
 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the acquisition cost of the property. 
 

[TABLE 15 
 
       Year of            Percent Good 
     Acquisition      of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                      47% 
         20                      34% 
         19                      24% 
         18                      15% 
         17 and prior             6%] 

Table 15 
Semiconductor Manufacturing Equipment 

Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 47% 
2021 34% 
2020 24% 
2019 15% 
2018 and prior 6% 

 
 (o)  Class 16 -- Long Life Property.  Class 16 property has 
a long physical life with little obsolescence. 
 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  billboards , excluding LED component; 
 (B)  sign towers; 
 (C)  radio towers; 
 (D)  ski lift and tram towers; 
 (E)  non-farm grain elevators; 
 (F)  bulk storage tanks; 
 (G)  underground fiber optic cable; 
 (H)  solar panels and supporting equipment; and 
 (I)  pipe laid in or affixed to land. 
 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the acquisition cost of the property. 
 

[TABLE 16 
 
       Year of            Percent Good 
     Acquisition       of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                     97% 
         20                     96% 
         19                     94% 
         18                     89% 
         17                     86% 
         16                     83% 
         15                     77% 
         14                     73% 
         13                     65% 
         12                     64% 
         11                     59% 
         10                     58% 
         09                     54% 
         08                     47% 
         07                     40% 
         06                     32% 
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         05                     24% 
         04                     16% 
         03 and prior            8%] 

Table 16 
Long Life Property 

Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 98% 
2021 97% 
2020 95% 
2019 92% 
2018 91% 
2017 90% 
2016 87% 
2015 81% 
2014 74% 
2013 69% 
2012 59% 
2011 58% 
2010 54% 
2009 47% 
2008 40% 
2007 33% 
2006 26% 
2005 18% 
2004 and prior 9% 

 
 (p)  Class 17 - Vessels Equal to or Greater Than 31 Feet in 
Length. 
 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  houseboats equal to or greater than 31 feet in length; 
 (B)  sailboats equal to or greater than 31 feet in length; and 
 (C)  yachts equal to or greater than 31 feet in length. 
 (ii)  A vessel, including an outboard motor of the vessel, 
under 31 feet in length: 
 (A)  is not included in Class 17; 
 (B)  may not be valued using Table 17; and 
 (C)  is subject to an age-based uniform fee under Section 
59-2-405.2. 
 (iii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the cost new of the property. 
 (iv)  The Tax Commission and assessors shall rely on the 
following sources to determine cost new for property in this class: 
 (A)  the following publications or valuation methods: 
 (I)  the manufacturer's suggested retail price listed in the 
ABOS Marine Blue Book; 
 (II)  for property not listed in the ABOS Marine Blue Book 
but listed in the NADA Marine Appraisal Guide, the NADA average 
value for the property divided by the percent good factor; or 
 (III)  for property not listed in the ABOS Marine Blue Book 
or the NADA Appraisal Guide: 
 (aa)  the manufacturer's suggested retail price for 
comparable property; or 
 (bb)  the cost new established for that property by a 
documented valuation source; or 
 (B)  the documented actual cost of new or used property in 
this class. 
 (v)  The [2022]2023 percent good applies to [2022]2023 
models purchased in [2021]2022. 
 (vi)  Property in this class has a residual taxable value of 
$1,000. 
 

[TABLE 17 
 
                              Percent Good 
       Model Year             of Cost New 
 
          22                       90% 
          21                       72% 
          20                       69% 
          19                       67% 
          18                       65% 
          17                       62% 
          16                       60% 
          15                       58% 
          14                       55% 
          13                       53% 
          12                       51% 
          11                       48% 
          10                       46% 
          09                       44% 
          08                       41% 
          07                       39% 
          06                       37% 
          05                       34% 
          04                       32% 
          03                       30% 
          02                       27% 
          01 and prior             25%] 

Table 17 
Vessels Equal to or Greater Than 31 Feet in Length 

Model Year Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2023 90% 
2022 70% 
2021 67% 
2020 65% 
2019 63% 
2018 61% 
2017 59% 
2016 57% 
2015 54% 
2014 52% 
2013 50% 
2012 48% 
2011 46% 
2010 43% 
2009 41% 
2008 39% 
2007 37% 
2006 35% 
2005 33% 
2004 30% 
2003 28% 
2002 and prior 26% 

 
 (q)  Class 17a - Vessels Less Than 31 Feet in Length.  
Because Section 59-2-405.2 subjects vessels less than 31 feet in 
length to an age-based uniform fee, a percent good schedule is not 
necessary. 
 (r)  Class 18 - Travel Trailers and Class 18a -- Tent Trailers 
or Truck Campers.  Because Section 59-2-405.2 subjects travel 
trailers and tent trailers or truck campers to an age-based uniform fee, 
a percent good schedule is not necessary. 
 (s)  Class 20 - Petroleum and Natural Gas Exploration and 
Production Equipment.  Class 20 property is subject to significant 
functional and economic obsolescence due to the volatile nature of 
the petroleum industry. 
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 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  oil and gas exploration equipment; 
 (B)  distillation equipment; 
 (C)  wellhead assemblies; 
 (D)  holding and storage facilities; 
 (E)  drill rigs; 
 (F)  reinjection equipment; 
 (G)  metering devices; 
 (H)  cracking equipment; 
 (I)  well-site generators, transformers, and power lines; 
 (J)  equipment sheds; 
 (K)  pumps; 
 (L)  radio telemetry units; and 
 (M)  support and control equipment. 
 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the acquisition cost of the property. 
 

[TABLE 20 
 
       Year of            Percent Good 
     Acquisition      of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                97% 
         20                89% 
         19                84% 
         18                76% 
         17                68% 
         16                63% 
         15                57% 
         14                48% 
         13                42% 
         12                35% 
         11                28% 
         10                20% 
         09 and prior      11%] 

Table 20 
Petroleum and Natural Gas Exploration and Production 

Equipment 
Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 98% 
2021 96% 
2020 94% 
2019 91% 
2018 85% 
2017 77% 
2016 68% 
2015 58% 
2014 49% 
2013 39% 
2012 30% 
2011 20% 
2010 and prior 11% 

 
 (t)  Class 21 - Commercial Trailers. 
 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  dry freight van trailers; 
 (B)  refrigerated van trailers; 
 (C)  flat bed trailers; 
 (D)  dump trailers; 
 (E)  livestock trailers; and 
 (F)  tank trailers. 
 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the cost new of the property.  For state assessed 
vehicles, cost new shall include the value of attached equipment. 

 (iii)  The [2022]2023 percent good applies to [2022]2023 
models purchased in [2021]2022. 
 (iv)  Commercial trailers have a residual taxable value of 
$1,000. 
 

[TABLE 21 
 
                                 Percent Good 
       Model Year                 of Cost New 
 
         22                      95% 
         21                      80% 
         20                      77% 
         19                      74% 
         18                      71% 
         17                      67% 
         16                      64% 
         15                      61% 
         14                      57% 
         13                      54% 
         12                      51% 
         11                      48% 
         10                      46% 
         09                      43% 
         08                      40% 
         07                      37% 
         06 and prior            35%] 

Table 21 
Commercial Trailers 

Model Year Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2023 95% 
2022 80% 
2021 77% 
2020 74% 
2019 71% 
2018 67% 
2017 64% 
2016 61% 
2015 60% 
2014 57% 
2013 53% 
2012 50% 
2011 47% 
2010 43% 
2009 40% 
2008 37% 
2007 and prior 33% 

 
 (u)  Class 21a -- Other Non-Commercial Trailers.  Because 
Section 59-2-405.2 subjects this class of trailers to an age-based 
uniform fee, a percent good schedule is not necessary. 
 (v)  Class 22 - Passenger Cars, Light Trucks/Utility 
Vehicles, and Vans. 
 (i)  Class 22 vehicles fall within four subcategories:  
domestic passenger cars, foreign passenger cars, light trucks, 
including utility vehicles, and vans. 
 (ii)  Because Section 59-2-405.1 subjects Class 22 property 
to an age-based uniform fee, a percent good schedule is not necessary. 
 (w)  Class 22a - Small Motor Vehicles. Because Section 59-
2-405.2 subjects small motor vehicles to an age-based uniform fee, a 
percent good schedule is not necessary. 
 (x)  Class 23 - Aircraft Required to be Registered With the 
State. Because Section 59-2-404 subjects aircraft required to be 
registered with the state to a statewide uniform fee, a percent good 
schedule is not necessary. 
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 (y)  Class 24 - Leasehold Improvements on Exempt Real 
Property. 
 (i)  The Class 24 schedule is to be used only for those 
leasehold improvements where the underlying real property is owned 
by an entity exempt from property tax under Section 59-2-1101.  See 
Tax Commission Section R884-24P-32.  Leasehold improvements 
include: 
 (A)  walls and partitions; 
 (B)  plumbing and roughed-in fixtures; 
 (C)  floor coverings other than carpet; 
 (D)  store fronts; 
 (E)  decoration; 
 (F)  wiring; 
 (G)  suspended or acoustical ceilings; 
 (H)  heating and cooling systems; and 
 (I)  iron or millwork trim. 
 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the cost of acquisition, including installation. 
 (iii)  The Class 3 schedule is used to value short life 
leasehold improvements. 
 

[TABLE 24 
 
       Year of            Percent of 
     Installation      Installation Cost 
 
         21                      94% 
         20                      88% 
         19                      82% 
         18                      77% 
         17                      71% 
         16                      65% 
         15                      59% 
         14                      54% 
         13                      48% 
         12                      42% 
         11                      36% 
         10 and prior            30%] 

Table 24 
Leasehold Improvements on Tax Exempt Real Property 

Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 94% 
2021 88% 
2020 82% 
2019 77% 
2018 71% 
2017 65% 
2016 59% 
2015 54% 
2014 48% 
2013 42% 
2012 36% 
2011 and prior 30% 

 
 (z)  Class 25 - Aircraft Parts Manufacturing Tools and Dies.  
Property in this class is generally subject to rapid physical, 
functional, and economic obsolescence due to rapid technological 
and economic shifts in the airline parts manufacturing industry.  
Heavy wear and tear is also a factor in valuing this class of property. 
 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  aircraft parts manufacturing jigs and dies; 
 (B)  aircraft parts manufacturing molds; 
 (C)  aircraft parts manufacturing patterns; 
 (D)  aircraft parts manufacturing taps and gauges; and 
 (E)  aircraft parts manufacturing test equipment. 

 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the acquisition cost of the property. 
 

[TABLE 25 
 
       Year of            Percent Good 
     Acquisition      of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                   90% 
         20                   74% 
         19                   56% 
         18                   38% 
         17                   20% 
         16 and prior          4%] 

Table 25 
Aircraft Parts Manufacturing Tools and Dies 

Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 94% 
2021 82% 
2020 62% 
2019 44% 
2018 23% 
2017 and prior 4% 

 
 (aa)  Class 26 - Personal Watercraft.  Because Section 59-
2-405.2 subjects personal watercraft to an age-based uniform fee, a 
percent good schedule is not necessary. 
 (bb)  Class 27 - Electrical Power Generating Equipment 
and Fixtures 
 (i)  Examples of property in this class include: 
 (A)  electrical power generators; and 
 (B)  control equipment. 
 (ii)  Taxable value is calculated by applying the percent 
good factor against the acquisition cost of the property. 
 

[TABLE 27 
 
       Year of            Percent Good 
     Acquisition      of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                      97% 
         20                      95% 
         19                      92% 
         18                      90% 
         17                      87% 
         16                      84% 
         15                      82% 
         14                      79% 
         13                      77% 
         12                      74% 
         11                      71% 
         10                      69% 
         09                      66% 
         08                      64% 
         07                      61% 
         06                      58% 
         05                      56% 
         04                      53% 
         03                      51% 
         02                      48% 
         01                      45% 
         00                      43% 
         99                      40% 
         98                      38% 
         97                      35% 
         96                      32% 
         95                      30% 
         94                      27% 
         93                      25% 
         92                      22% 
         91                      19% 
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         90                      17% 
         89                      14% 
         88                      12% 
         87 and prior             9%] 

Table 27 
Electrical Power Generating Equipment and Fixtures 

Year of Acquisition Percent Good of Acquisition Cost 
2022 97% 
2021 95% 
2020 92% 
2019 90% 
2018 87% 
2017 84% 
2016 82% 
2015 79% 
2014 77% 
2013 74% 
2012 71% 
2011 69% 
2010 66% 
2009 64% 
2008 61% 
2007 58% 
2006 56% 
2005 53% 
2004 51% 
2003 48% 
2002 45% 
2001 43% 
2000 40% 
1999 38% 
1998 35% 
1997 32% 
1996 30% 
1995 27% 
1994 25% 
1993 22% 
1992 19% 
1991 17% 
1990 14% 
1989 12% 
1988 and prior 9% 

 
 (cc)  Class 28 - Noncapitalized Personal Property.  The 
taxable value of noncapitalized personal property as defined in 
Section 59-2-108, shall be calculated pursuant to Section 59-2-
108.[Property shall be classified as noncapitalized personal property 
if the following conditions are met: 
 (i)  the property is an item of taxable tangible personal 
property with an acquisition cost of $1,000 or less; and 
 (ii)  the property is eligible as a deductible expense under 
Section 162 or Section 179, Internal Revenue Code, in the year of 
acquisition, regardless of whether the deduction is actually claimed. 
 

TABLE 28 
 
       Year of           Percent Good 
     Acquisition      of Acquisition Cost 
 
         21                      75% 
         20                      50% 
         19                      25% 
         18 and prior             0%] 

 
 This rule shall be implemented and become binding on 
taxpayers beginning January 1, [2022]2023. 
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59-2-1109; 59-2-1113; 59-2-1115; 59-2-1202; 59-2-1202(5); 59-2-
1302; 59-2-1303; 59-2-1308.5; 59-2-1317; 59-2-1328; 59-2-1330; 
59-2-1347; 59-2-1351; 59-2-1365; 59-2-1703 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R986-200-239 Filing ID: 
54840 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Employment Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B. 
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R986-200-239.  How to Determine the Amount of the 
Financial Assistance Payment 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The amendment removes the amounts of standard 
financial assistance from this section, allowing the 
Department of Workforce Services (Department) flexibility 
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to update the assistance amount periodically without 
needing a rule amendment. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Removes Subsection R986-200-239(7), the table of 
standard financial assistance; also adds definitions and 
clarifying language, and makes stylistic and organizational 
changes consistent with the Rulewriting Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The rule change will not have any fiscal impact on state 
revenues or expenditures.  Funding for this program is 
from the Federal government.  The amendment requires 
no action or expenditure by state employees or resources, 
and does not require additional staff.  The method of 
determining a household's eligibility for assistance has not 
changed.  This amendment allows the Department to 
establish the amount of standard financial assistance 
available based on changing circumstances from year to 
year without needing a rule amendment.  The Department 
made a report to the Social Services Appropriations 
Subcommittee during the 06/14/2022, interim session 
regarding proposed increases in the standard financial 
assistance amount. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The rule change will not have any fiscal impact on local 
governments' revenues or expenditures.  This amendment 
requires no action or expenditure by local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to small 
businesses.  This amendment requires no action or 
expenditure by small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to non-small 
businesses.  This amendment requires no action or 
expenditure by non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no anticipated costs to other persons as the 
amendment requires no action or expenditure by any 

person, and the Department will not decrease the 
assistance amount as a result of this rule change.  There 
is an anticipated inestimable fiscal benefit to potential 
financial assistance recipients, as the Department plans to 
increase the assistance amount during the time period 
reflected in the regulatory impact table.  However, the 
Department cannot accurately predict the total number of 
eligible recipients in the future, as the circumstances which 
lead to the need and eligibility for such assistance is not 
predictable.  Therefore, the Department cannot accurately 
estimate the fiscal benefit to potential recipients when and 
if the standard assistance amount increases in the next 
three years. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This amendment is not expected to cause any compliance 
costs for affected persons because it does not create any 
new administrative fees or requirements for financial 
assistance recipients. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 35A, 
Chapter 3, Part 3 

PRWORA Pub. L. 
No. 104-193 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/24/22 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Casey Cameron, 
Executive Director 

Date: 08/30/2022 

 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-200.  Family Employment Program. 
R986-200-239.  [How to Determine]Determining the Amount of 
the Financial Assistance Payment. 
 (1)(a)  [Once the household's size and income have been 
determined, the]To be eligible for financial assistance, the 
household's gross countable income must be less than or equal to 
185% of the Standard Needs Budget [(SNB) ]for the size of the 
household.[  This is referred to as the "gross test".] 
 (b)  "Standard Needs Budget" or "SNB" means the budget 
level determined by the Department based on a survey of basic living 
expenses. 
 (2)  If the gross countable income is less than or equal to 
185% of the SNB, the following deductions are allowed: 
 (a)  a work expense allowance of $100 for each person in 
the household unit who is employed; 
 (b)  fifty percent of the remaining earned income after 
deducting the work expense allowance as provided in Subsection 
R986-200-239(2)(a)[paragraph (a) of this subsection], if the 
individual has received a financial assistance payment from the 
Department for one or more of the immediately preceding four 
months; and 

 (c)  after deducting the amounts in Subsections R986-200-
239(2)(a) and (b)[paragraphs (a) and (b) of this subsection, if 
appropriate,] the following [deductions can be made]are deducted: 
 (i)  a dependent care deduction as described in 
S[s]ubsection R986-200-239(3)[ of this section]; and 
 (ii)  child support paid by a household member if legally 
owed to someone not included in the household. 
 (3)  The amount of the [dependant]dependent care 
deduction is set by the Department and based on the number of hours 
worked by the parent and the age of the [dependant]dependent 
needing care.[  It can] 
 (a)  Dependent care may only be deducted when each of the 
following elements can be shown.[if the dependant care:] 
 [(a)](i)  The care is paid for the care of a child or adult 
member of the household assistance unit, or a child or adult who 
would be a member of the household assistance unit [except that this 
person receives]if the person did not receive SSI.[  An adult's need 
for care must be verified by a doctor; and] 
 [(b)](ii)  The care is not subsidized, in whole or in part, by 
a CC payment from the Department.[; and] 
 [(c)](iii)  The care is not paid to an individual who is in the 
household assistance unit. 
 (b)  An adult's need for care must be verified by a doctor. 
 (4)(a)  After deducting the amounts allowed under 
[paragraph]Subsection R986-2002-239[ ](2)[ above], the resulting 
net income must be less than 100% of SNB for the size of the 
household assistance unit. 
 (b)  If the net income is equal to or greater than the SNB, 
the household is not eligible. 
 (5)  If the net income is less than 100% of the SNB the 
following amounts are deducted.[:] 
 (a)  Fifty percent of earned countable income for all 
employed household assistance unit members if the household was 
not eligible for the 50% deduction under [paragraph ]Subsection 
R986-200-239(2)(b).[ above; and/or] 
 (b)  All [of the ]earned income of all children in the 
household assistance unit, if not previously deducted, who are: 
 (i)  in school or training full-time;[,] or 
 (ii)  in part-time education or training if they are employed 
less than 100 hours per month. 
 (c)  For the purposes of this section, "[P]part-time 
education or training" means enrolled for at least one-half the number 
of hours or periods considered by the institution to be customary to 
complete the course of study within the minimum time period.  If no 
schedule is set by the school, the course of study must be no less than 
an average of two class periods or two hours [per]a day, whichever is 
less. 
 (6)(a)  The amount of the standard financial assistance 
payment is set by the Department.[The resulting net countable 
income is compared to the full financial assistance payment for the 
household size.] 
 (b)  If the household's net countable income following all 
deductions is more than the full financial assistance payment for the 
household size, the household is not eligible.  If it is less, the net 
countable income is deducted from the financial assistance payment 
and the household is paid the difference. 
 (c)  The current standard financial assistance payment 
amounts are available from the Department. 
 (d)  Pursuant to Subsection 35A-3-302(8), the department 
shall make a report to the Social Services Appropriations 
Subcommittee on any proposed changes to the amount of cash 
assistance a family is eligible to receive. 
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[ (7)  The amount of the standard financial assistance 
payment is set by the Department.  The current amount is in the table 
that follows: 
 

TABLE 
 
Household Size               Payment Amount 
 
         1                       $288 
         2                       $399 
         3                       $498 
         4                       $583 
         5                       $663 
         6                       $731 
         7                       $765 

         8                       $801 
 

 Amounts for household sizes larger than 8 are available at 
all Department offices.] 
 
KEY:  family employment program, SNAP 
Date of Last Change:  2022[June 1, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 21, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Title 35A, 
Chapter 3, Part 3; PRWORA Pub. L. No. 104-193[35A-3-301 et 
seq.] 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive comment that requires the 
PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to respond 
to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
While the law does not designate a comment period for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends October 17, 2022. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only those 
changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding them ([example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text, 
either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to 
print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print 
is available from the agency or from the Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
From the end of the 30-day waiting period through January 13, 2023, an agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE becomes 
the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor more than 120 
days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates a public comment period, 
the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more 
than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in 
response to additional comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, the CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, 
R15-4-5b, R15-4-7, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page 
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NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R68-28 Filing ID: 54735 

Date of Previous 
Publication: 

07/15/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry  
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB, South Bldg, 

Floor 2  
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Brandon Forsyth  801-
816-
3842 

bforsyth@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-28.  Cannabis Processing 
 
3.  Reason for this change (Why is the agency submitting 
this filing?): 
A change is needed to the filing based on feedback the 
Department of Agriculture and Food (Department) 
received from a licensee during the public comment period 
regarding confusion they had based on our use of the word 
"derived" when referring to "derivative" cannabinoids.  
Derivative cannabinoid is a defined term in the statute, so 
changes are needed to ensure it is referred to consistently 
in the rule. 
 
4.  Summary of this change (What does this filing do?): 

The word "derived" is changed to the word "derivative" in 
Subsection R68-28-13(11) in two locations to ensure 
consistency with Subsection 4-41a-102(19). 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed amendment 
upon which this change in proposed rule (CPR) was based 

was published in the July 15, 2022, issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin, on page 12.  Underlining in the rule below 
indicates text that has been added since the publication of 
the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates 
text that has been deleted.  You must view the CPR and 
the proposed amendment together to understand all of the 
changes that will be enforceable should the agency make 
this rule effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This is a clarification to promote understanding of the 
requirements of the program and will not have a fiscal 
impact. 
 
B)  Local government: 
Local governments do not administer the program and are 
not licensed under the cannabis program so they will not 
be impacted by this change. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This is a clarification to promote understanding of the 
requirements of the program and will not have a fiscal 
impact on small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This is a clarification to promote understanding of the 
requirements of the program and will not have a fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This is a clarification to promote understanding of the 
requirements of the program and will not have a fiscal 
impact on other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
Compliance costs will not be affected by this change.  The 
fees charged by the Department will not change. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of Utah Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-41a-103 Section 4-41a-302 Section 4-41a-404 
Section 4-41a-405   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY become 
effective on:  

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 08/17/2022 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-28.  Cannabis Processing. 
R68-28-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 1)  Pursuant to Subsections 4-41a-103(5), 4-41a-
302(3)(b)(ii), 4-41a-404(3), 4-41a-405(2)(b)(iv), 4-41a-701(3), 4-
41a-801(1), and 4-2-103(1)(i), this rule establishes the application 
process, qualifications, and requirements to obtain and maintain a 
cannabis processing license. 
 
R68-28-2.  Definitions. 
 1)  "Appealing to children" means: 
 a)  has a likeness bearing resemblance to a cartoon 
character or fictional character; or 
 b)  appears to imitate a food or other product that is 
typically marketed toward or is appealing to children. 
 2)  "Applicant" means any person or business entity who 
applies for a cannabis processing facility license. 
 3)  "Batch" means a quantity of: 
 a)  cannabis extract produced on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which lots of 
cannabis are used; 
 b)  cannabis product produced on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which cannabis 
extract is used; or 
 c)  cannabis flower packaged on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which lots of 
cannabis are being used. 
 4)  "Board" means the Cannabis Production Establishment 
Licensing Advisory Board, created in Section 4-41a-201.1. 
 5a)  "Cannabis" means any part of a marijuana plant. 
 b)  "Cannabis" does not mean, for the purposes of this rule, 
industrial hemp. 
 6)  "Cannabis concentrate" means the product of any 
chemical or physical process applied to cannabis biomass that 
concentrates or isolates the cannabinoids contained in the biomass. 
 7)  "Cannabis cultivation byproduct" means any portion of 
a cannabis plant that is not intended to be sold as a cannabis plant 
product. 
 8)  "Cannabis cultivation facility" means a person that: 
 a)  possesses cannabis; 
 b)  grows or intends to grow cannabis; and 
 c)  sells or intends to sell cannabis to a cannabis cultivation 
facility or to a cannabis processing facility. 
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 9)  "Cannabis derivative product" means a product made 
using cannabis concentrate. 
 10)  "Cannabis fact panel" means a part of the label that 
contains the information described in Subsections R68-28-13(6) and 
R68-28-13(7). 
 11)  "Cannabis plant product" means any portion of a 
cannabis plant intended to be sold by a medical cannabis pharmacy 
in a form that is recognizable as a portion of a cannabis plant. 
 12)  "Cannabis processing facility" means a person that: 
 a)  acquires or intends to acquire cannabis from a cannabis 
production establishment; 
 b)  possesses cannabis with the intent to manufacture a 
cannabis product; 
 c)  manufactures or intends to manufacture a cannabis 
product from unprocessed cannabis or a cannabis concentrate; and 
 d)  sells or intends to sell a cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis pharmacy. 
 13)  "Cannabis processing facility agent" means an 
individual who: 
 a)  is an employee of a cannabis processing facility; and 
 b)  holds a valid cannabis production establishment agent 
registration card. 
 14)  "Cannabis production establishment agent registration 
card" means a registration card that the department issues that: 
 a)  authorizes an individual to act as a cannabis production 
establishment agent; and 
 b)  designates the type of cannabis production 
establishment for which an individual may act as an agent. 
 15)  "COA" means Certificate of Analysis from an 
independent cannabis testing laboratory. 
 16)  "Complaint" means any negative feedback received 
from a medical cannabis patient or medical cannabis or industrial 
hemp licensee. 
 17)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 18)  "Label" means a written, printed, or graphic display on 
the immediate container of a  product. 
 19)  "Labeling" means a label and other written, printed, or 
graphic display: 
 a)  on the product or the product's container or wrapper; or 
 b)  accompanying the product. 
 20)  "Lot" means the quantity of: 
 a)  flower produced on a particular date and time, following 
clean up until the next clean up during which the same materials are 
used; or 
 b)  trim, leaves, or other plant matter from cannabis plants 
produced on a particular date and time, following clean up until the 
next clean up. 
 21)  "Product face" means the part of a label that is most 
likely to be displayed, presented, or shown under customary 
conditions of display for retail sale. 
 22)  "Total THC" means the sum of the determined amounts 
of delta-9-THC and delta-9-THCA, according to the formula: Total 
THC = delta-9-THC + (delta-9-THCA x 0.877). 
 
R68-28-3.  Cannabis Processing Facility License. 
 1)  A cannabis processing facility license allows the 
licensee to receive cannabis from a cannabis production facility. 

 2)  A Tier 1 cannabis processing facility license allows the 
licensee to: 
 a)  create cannabis concentrate; 
 b)  create cannabis derivative product; and 
 c)  package and label final product. 
 3)  A Tier 2 cannabis processing facility license allows the 
licensee to package and label cannabis and cannabis final product. 
 4)  A complete application shall include the required fee, 
statements, forms, diagrams, operation plans, copy of current Utah 
manufactured food establishment registration, and other applicable 
documents required in the application packet to be accepted and 
processed by the department. 
 5)  Before approving an application, the department may 
contact the applicant and request additional supporting 
documentation or information. 
 6)  Before issuing a license, the department shall inspect 
the proposed premises to determine if the applicant complies with 
state laws and rules. 
 7)  Each cannabis processing facility license shall expire 
one calendar year from the date of licensure. 
 8)  An application for renewals shall be submitted to the 
department 30 days before expiration. 
 9)  If the renewal application is not submitted 30 days 
before the expiration date, the licensee may not continue to operate. 
 10)  A cannabis production establishment license is not 
transferable or assignable.  If the ownership of a cannabis production 
establishment changes by 50% or more, the requirements of 
Subsection 4-41a-201(15) shall be followed. 
 
R68-28-4.  Cannabis Processing Facility Requirements. 
 1)  A cannabis processing facility operating plan shall 
contain a blueprint of the facility containing the following 
information: 
 a)  the square footage of the areas where cannabis is to be 
extracted; 
 b)  the square footage of the areas where cannabis or 
cannabis products are to be packaged and labeled; 
 c)  the square footage of the areas where cannabis products 
are manufactured; 
 d)  the square footage and location of storerooms for 
cannabis awaiting extraction; 
 e)  the square footage and location of storerooms for 
cannabis awaiting further manufacturing; 
 f)  the area where finished cannabis and cannabis products 
are stored; 
 g)  the location of toilet facilities and hand washing 
facilities; 
 h)  the location of a break room and location of personal 
belonging lockers; 
 i)  the location of the areas to be used for loading and 
unloading of cannabis and cannabis products; and 
 j)  the total square footage of the overall cannabis 
processing facility. 
 2)  A cannabis processing facility shall have written 
emergency procedures to be followed in case of: 
 a)  fire; 
 b)  chemical spill; or 
 c)  other emergency at the facility. 
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 3)  A cannabis processing facility shall have a written plan 
to handle potential recall and destruction of cannabis due to 
contamination. 
 4)  A cannabis processing facility shall use a standardized 
scale that is registered with the department when cannabis is: 
 a)  packaged for sale by weight; 
 b)  bought and sold by weight; or 
 c)  weighed for entry into the inventory control system. 
 5)  A cannabis processing facility shall compartmentalize 
each area in the facility based on function and shall limit access 
between compartments. 
 6)  A cannabis processing facility shall limit access to the 
compartments to the appropriate agents. 
 7)  A cannabis processing facility creating cannabis 
derivative product shall develop standard operating procedures. 
 8)  Pursuant to Subsection 4-41a-403(4)(b), a cannabis 
processing facility may use signage on the property that includes a 
logo, as long as the logo does not include: 
 a)  unprofessional terms, slang, phrasing, or verbiage 
associated with the recreational use of cannabis; 
 b)  any image bearing resemblance to a cartoon character 
or fictional character whose target audience is children or minors; 
 c)  content, symbol, or imagery that the cannabis processing 
facility knows or should know appeals to children; 
 d)  imagery featuring a person using the product in any 
way; 
 e)  any recreationally oriented subject; or 
 f)  any statement, design, or representation, picture, or 
illustration that is obscene or indecent. 
 9)  A cannabis processing facility shall keep records of any 
complaints received and make those records available to the 
department upon request. 
 
R68-28-5.  Separation of Cannabis and Hemp Processed in a 
Single Facility. 
 1)  Any facility that has both an industrial hemp processing 
license and a license for medical cannabis processing shall ensure 
physical separation of medical cannabis and industrial hemp in their 
facility. 
 2)  Processing of industrial hemp material and cannabis 
material shall not occur on the same equipment on the same day, 
unless cleaned between runs. 
 3)  Processing equipment may be considered neutral 
territory for hemp and cannabis if: 
 a)  only one material is present in neutral territory at a time; 
 b)  packaging tables in neutral territory are only used for 
the material being processed that day; and 
 c)  if packaging tables are used for another material they 
shall be moved to the respective side of the facility. 
 4)  If the facility uses the same machinery to process both 
industrial hemp and medical cannabis: 
 a)  the machinery shall be cleaned in between hemp and 
cannabis days; 
 b)  cleaning logs shall be kept and monitored by the 
department upon inspection of the facility; and 
 c)  cleaning logs shall include the machines used, the date 
cleaned, and the name of the employee that conducted the cleaning. 
 5)  Packaging of medical cannabis and industrial hemp may 
occur: 

 a)  in a neutral zone; or 
 b)  in a designated side of the facility. 
 6)  Freezer separation. 
 a)  Each licensee that processes both medical cannabis and 
industrial hemp shall have a separate freezer for each material. 
 b)  Cannabis and hemp material shall be clearly labeled 
pursuant to the requirements of this rule and Rule R68-25 and shall 
be in sealed containers. 
 7)  Storage separation. 
 a)  Industrial hemp and medical cannabis shall be stored in 
separate secure locations. 
 b)  Storage shall include storage for: 
 i)  final product; 
 ii)  raw material; and 
 iii)  processed material. 
 8)  Upon request, the licensee shall inform the department 
of how separation of materials is implemented, including the facility's 
separation procedures for raw material, extract, and final products. 
 
R68-28-6.  Cannabis Extraction Requirements. 
 1)  A cannabis processing facility shall ensure 
hydrocarbons n-butane, isobutane, propane, or heptane are of at least 
99% purity. 
 2)  A cannabis processing facility shall use a professional 
grade closed loop extraction system designed to recover the solvents, 
work in an environment with proper ventilation, and control each 
source of ignition where a flammable atmosphere is or may be 
present. 
 3)  A cannabis processing facility using carbon dioxide 
(CO2) gas extraction system shall use a professional grade closed 
loop CO2 gas extraction system where each vessel is rated to a 
minimum of six hundred pounds per square inch and CO2 shall be at 
least 99% purity. 
 4)  Closed loop hydrocarbon, alcohol, or CO2 extraction 
systems shall be commercially manufactured and bear a permanently 
affixed and visible serial number. 
 5)  A cannabis processing facility using a closed loop 
system shall, upon request, provide the department with certification 
from a licensed engineer stating the system is: 
 a)  safe for its intended use; 
 b)  commercially manufactured; and 
 c)  built to conform to recognized and generally accepted 
good engineering practices, such as: 
 i)  the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME); 
 ii)  American National Standards Institute (ANSI); 
 iii)  Underwriters Laboratories; or 
 iv)  The American Society for Testing and Materials. 
 6)  The certification document shall contain the signature 
and stamp of the certifying professional engineer and the serial 
number of the extraction unit being certified. 
 7)  A cannabis processing facility may use an alternative 
extraction method with prior approval from the department. 
 8)  A cannabis processing facility shall use food grade 
ingredients to create cannabis derivative product. 
 9)  A cannabis processing facility may use heat, screens, 
presses, steam distillation, ice water, and other mechanical methods 
which do not use solvents or gasses. 
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 10)  A cannabis processing facility shall ensure each 
solvent, with the exception of CO2, is extracted in a manner to 
recapture the solvent and ensure that it is not vented into the 
atmosphere. 
 11)  A cannabis establishment agent using solvents or 
gasses in a closed loop system shall be fully trained in the use of the 
system and have direct access to applicable material safety data 
sheets. 
 12)  Parts per million for one gram of finished extract 
cannot exceed residual solvent or gas levels provided in Rule R68-
29. 
 
R68-28-7.  Security Requirements. 
 1)  At a minimum, each cannabis processing facility shall 
have a security alarm system on each perimeter entry point and 
perimeter window. 
 2)  At a minimum, a licensed cannabis processing facility 
shall have a complete video surveillance system: 
 a)  with minimum camera resolution of 1280 x 720 pixels 
or pixel equivalent for analog; and 
 b)  that retains footage for at least 45 days. 
 3)  Each camera shall be fixed and placement shall allow 
for the clear and certain identification of any person and activities in 
controlled areas. 
 4)  Controlled areas included: 
 a)  any entrances and exits, or ingress and egress vantage 
points; 
 b)  any areas where cannabis or cannabis products are 
stored; 
 c)  any areas where cannabis or cannabis products are 
extracted; 
 d)  any areas where cannabis or cannabis products are 
manufactured, packaged, or labeled; and 
 e)  any areas where cannabis waste is being moved, 
processed, stored, or destroyed. 
 5)  Each camera shall record continuously. 
 6)  For locally stored footage, the surveillance system 
storage device shall be secured in the facility in a lockbox, cabinet, 
closet, or secured in another manner to protect from employee 
tampering or theft. 
 7)  For footage stored on a remote server, access shall be 
restricted to protect from employee tampering. 
 8)  Any gate or entry point must have lighting sufficient to 
record activity occurring in low light conditions. 
 9)  Each visitor to a cannabis processing facility shall be 
required to display an identification badge issued by the facility while 
on the premises. 
 10)  At any time, visitors shall be escorted by a cannabis 
processing facility agent. 
 11)  A cannabis processing facility shall keep and maintain 
a visitors log showing: 
 a)  the full name of each visitor entering the facility; 
 b)  badge number issued; 
 c)  the time of arrival; 
 d)  the time of departure; and 
 e)  the purpose of the visit. 
 12)  The cannabis processing facility shall keep the visitors 
log for a minimum of one year. 

 13)  The cannabis processing facility shall make the visitor 
log available to the department upon request. 
 
R68-28-8.  Inventory Control. 
 1)  Each batch or lot of cannabis, cannabis derivative 
product, cannabis product, test sample, or cannabis waste shall have 
a unique identifier in the inventory control system. 
 2)  Each batch or lot of cannabis, cannabis derivative 
product, cannabis product, sample, or cannabis waste shall be 
traceable to the lot. 
 3)  Unique identification numbers may not be reused. 
 4)  Each batch, lot, or sample of cannabis shall have a 
unique identification number that is displayed on a physical tag. 
 5)  The tag shall be legible and placed in a position that can 
be clearly read. 
 6)  The following shall be reconciled in the inventory 
control system at the close of each business each day: 
 a)  date and time material containing cannabis are being 
transported to a cannabis production establishment or medical 
cannabis pharmacy; 
 b)  each sample used for testing and the test results; 
 c)  a complete inventory of material containing cannabis; 
 d)  cannabis product by unit count; 
 e)  weight per unit of product; 
 f)  weight and disposal of cannabis waste materials; 
 g)  the identity of who disposed of the cannabis waste and 
the location of the waste receptacles; and 
 h)  theft or loss or suspected theft or loss of material 
containing cannabis. 
 7)  A receiving cannabis processing facility shall document 
in the inventory control system any material containing cannabis 
received, and any difference between the quantity specified in the 
transport manifest and the quantity received. 
 8)  A cannabis processing facility shall immediately upon 
receipt of THC extract from a licensed industrial hemp processor 
enter the following information into the inventory control system: 
 a)  the amount of THC extract received; 
 b)  the name, address, and licensing number of the 
industrial hemp processor; 
 c)  the weight per unit of product received; and 
 d)  the assigned unique identification number. 
 
R68-28-9.  Cannabis Processing Facility Agents. 
 1)  A cannabis processing facility shall apply to the 
department for a cannabis establishment agent on a form provided by 
the department. 
 2)  An application is not considered complete until the 
background check has been completed and the facility has paid the 
registration fee. 
 3)  The cannabis processing facility agent registration card 
shall contain: 
 a)  the full name of the agent; 
 b)  the name of the cannabis processing establishment; 
 c)  the job title or position of the agent; and 
 d)  a photograph of the agent. 
 4)  A cannabis processing facility is responsible to ensure 
that each agent has received: 
 a)  the department approved training as specified in Section 
4-41a-301; and 
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 b)  any task specific training as outlined in the operating 
plan submitted to the department. 
 5)  A cannabis processing facility agent shall have a 
properly displayed identification badge which has been issued by the 
department at all times while on the facility premises or while 
engaged in the transportation of cannabis. 
 6)  Each cannabis production establishment agent shall 
have their state issued identification card in their possession to certify 
the information on their badge is correct. 
 7)  Upon termination, the identification badge of an agent 
shall be immediately returned to the department by the cannabis 
processing facility. 
 
R68-28-10.  Minimum Storage and Handling Requirements. 
 1)  A cannabis processing facility shall store cannabis, 
cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product in a separate location from 
outdated, damaged, deteriorated, misbranded, or adulterated product 
or product whose containers or packaging have been opened or 
breached. 
 2)  Cannabis, cannabis concentrate, and cannabis product 
shall be stored at least six inches off the ground. 
 3)  Storage areas shall: 
 a)  be maintained in a clean and orderly condition; and 
 b)  be free from infestation by insects, rodents, birds, or 
vermin. 
 4)  A cannabis processing facility shall: 
 a)  track and label each cannabis plant product and cannabis 
concentrate; 
 b)  ensure each unfinished product is stored in a secure 
location; and 
 c)  immediately after completion of the process or at the 
end of the scheduled business day return to a secure location. 
 5)  Cannabis shall be stored away from other chemicals, 
lubricants, pesticides, or other potential contaminants. 
 6)  If a manufacturing process cannot be completed at the 
end of a working day, the processor shall securely lock the processing 
area or tanks, vessels, bins, or bulk containers containing cannabis 
inside an area or room that affords adequate security. 
 
R68-28-11.  Product Appearance and Flavor. 
 1)  A cannabis processing facility may not produce a 
cannabis product that is designed to mimic a candy product. 
 2)  A cannabis processing facility may not shape a cannabis 
product in any way to appeal to children. 
 
R68-28-12.  Processing of Cannabis and Cannabis Product. 
 1)  A cannabis processing facility shall process, 
manufacture, package, and label cannabis and cannabis product in 
accordance with 21 CFR 111, "Current Good Manufacturing, 
Packaging, Labeling, or Holding Operation for Dietary 
Supplements." 
 2)  Cannabis and cannabis product shall be packaged in 
child-resistant packaging in accordance with 16 CFR 1700. 
 3)  A cannabis processing facility shall package cannabis or 
cannabis product in accordance with this rule and Section 4-41a-602 
before transportation to a medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 4)  Any container or packaging containing cannabis or 
cannabis product shall protect the product from contamination and 

shall not impart any toxic or deleterious substance to the cannabis or 
cannabis product. 
 5)  Cannabis cultivation byproduct shall either be: 
 a)  chemically or physically processed to produce a 
cannabis concentrate for incorporation into cannabis derivative 
product; or 
 b)  destroyed according to Section 4-41a-405. 
 6)  Cannabis concentrate and product produced by cannabis 
processing facilities shall be tested pursuant to Rule R68-29. 
 7)  If a cannabis product contains derivative or synthetic 
cannabinoids they shall be isolated to a purity of greater than 95%, 
as required by Subsection 4-41a-603(3). 
 8)  A cannabis product may vary in the cannabis product's 
labeled cannabinoid profile by up to 10% of the indicated amount of 
a given cannabinoid, by weight. 
 
R68-28-13.  Labeling and Packaging of Cannabis and Cannabis 
Product. 
 1)  Cannabis product labeling  shall contain the following 
information: 
 a)  the common or usual name of the product; 
 b)  the name and license number of the cannabis processing 
facility; 
 c)  directions for consumers to contact the department with 
product complaints by going to 
medicalcannabis.utah.gov/production; 
 d)  for products containing THC, a warning symbol 
provided by the department; 
 e)  the amount of total THC contained in the package, in 
milligrams; and 
 f)  the following warning: "WARNING: Cannabis has 
intoxicating effects and may be addictive.  Do not operate a vehicle 
or machinery under its influence.  KEEP OUT OF REACH OF 
CHILDREN.  This product is for medical use only.  Use only as 
directed by a recommending medical provider." 
 2)  A cannabis processing facility may include a QR code 
on the cannabis  product labeling that contains a COA from a licensed 
independent cannabis testing laboratory. 
 3)  Any  information appearing on the cannabis product 
labeling  shall be: 
 a)  displayed in any legible font, that is not a script or 
decorative font, provided that the lowercase letter "o" is at least one-
sixteenth inch in height; 
 b)  displayed in a color that contrasts conspicuously with 
its background; and 
 c)  displayed in English, although a licensee may also 
choose to display required information in additional languages. 
 4)  A cannabis processing facility shall place a cannabis fact 
panel on a cannabis product before the sale of the  cannabis product 
to a medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 5)  The cannabis fact panel shall be printed in black and 
white. 
 6)  The cannabis fact panel shall be securely affixed to the 
package. 
 7)  The cannabis fact panel for cannabis plant product shall 
include the following information in the order as listed: 
 a)  the name of the cannabis cultivation facility; 
 b)  the lot number; 
 c)  the date of harvest; 
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 d)  the date of final testing; 
 e)  the batch number; 
 f)  the date on which the product was packaged; 
 g)  the quantity of any cannabinoid listed as present on the 
COA; 
 h)  the expiration date; and 
 i)  the net weight. 
 8)  THC potency levels for cannabis flower shall be listed 
as total THC in milligrams per gram. 
 9)  The cannabis fact panel for cannabis derivative product 
shall include the following information in the order listed: 
 a)  the batch number; 
 b)  the date of the final testing; 
 c)  the date on which the product was packaged; 
 d)  the quantity of any cannabinoid listed as present on the 
COA; 
 e)  the expiration date; 
 f)  the total amount of THC measured in milligrams per 
gram; 
 g)  a list of each ingredient and each major food allergen as 
identified in 21 U.S.C. 343; 
 h)  the identity and quantity of any derivative or synthetic 
cannabinoid present in the product; 
 i)  the net weight of the product and number of pieces, if 
applicable; and 
 j)  a disclosure of the type of extraction process used and 
any solvent, gas, or other chemical used in the extraction process. 
 10)  The label of a cannabis derivative product may include 
a flavor name if it is not candy-like or a name the facility knows or 
should know appeals to children. 
 11)  The label of a cannabis product that contains a 
[derived]derivative or synthetic cannabinoid shall clearly display the 
following text : "This product contains [derived]derivative or 
synthetic cannabinoids." 
 12)  Any terpene listed on a cannabis product package shall 
be verified as present by a licensed independent cannabis testing 
laboratory and have its quantity listed on the fact panel. 
 13)  A cannabis processing facility may include the 
licensee's logo and product brand name on the cannabis product label 
that is exempt from the requirements of Subsection R68-28-13(3) and 
that: 
 a)  does not exceed 20% of the product face; 
 b)  does not obscure the information required on the label; 
and 
 c)  does not include: 
 i)  unprofessional terms, slang, phrasing, or verbiage 
associated with the recreational use of cannabis; 
 ii)  any image bearing resemblance to a cartoon character 
or fictional character whose target audience is children or minors; 
 iii)  content, symbol, or imagery that the cannabis 
processing facility knows or should know appeals to children; 
 iv)  imagery featuring a person using the product in any 
way; 
 v)  any recreationally oriented subject; or 
 vi)  any statement, design, or representation, picture, or 
illustration that is obscene or indecent. 
 14)  No other information, illustration, or depiction with the 
exception of directions for use shall appear on the labeling. 

 15)  After January 1, 2023, cannabis product packaging, 
logos, and brand names shall be pre-approved by the department. 
 
R68-28-14.  Transportation. 
 1)  A printed transport manifest shall accompany each 
transport of cannabis. 
 2)  The manifest shall contain the following information: 
 a)  the cannabis production establishment address and 
license number of the departure location; 
 b)  physical address and license number of the receiving 
location; 
 c)  strain name, quantities by weight, and unique 
identification numbers of each cannabis material to be transported; 
 d)  date and time of departure; 
 e)  estimated date and time of arrival; and 
 f)  name and signature of each agent accompanying the 
cannabis. 
 3)  The transport manifest may not be voided or changed 
after departing from the original cannabis production establishment. 
 4)  A copy of the transport manifest shall be given to the 
receiving cannabis production establishment or medical cannabis 
pharmacy. 
 5)  The receiving cannabis processing facility, independent 
laboratory, or medical cannabis pharmacy shall ensure that the 
cannabis material received is as described in the transport manifest 
and shall: 
 a)  record the amounts received for each strain into the 
inventory control system; and 
 b)  document any differences between the quantity 
specified in the transport manifest and the quantities received in the 
inventory control system. 
 6)  During transportation, cannabis shall be: 
 a)  shielded from the public view; 
 b)  secured; and 
 c)  temperature controlled if perishable. 
 7)  A cannabis production facility shall contact the 
department within 24 hours if a vehicle transporting cannabis is 
involved in an accident that involves product loss. 
 8)  Only the registered agents of the cannabis processing 
facility may occupy a transporting vehicle. 
 
R68-28-15.  Recall Protocol. 
 1)  The department may initiate a recall of cannabis or 
cannabis products if: 
 a)  evidence exists that pesticides not approved by the 
department are present on or in the cannabis or cannabis product; 
 b)  evidence exists that residual solvents are present on or 
in cannabis or cannabis product; 
 c)  evidence exists that harmful contaminants are present 
on or in cannabis or cannabis product; or 
 d)  the department believes or has reason to believe the 
cannabis or cannabis product is unfit for human consumption. 
 2)  The recall plan of a cannabis processing facility shall 
include, at a minimum: 
 a)  a designation of at least one member of the staff who 
serves as the recall coordinator; 
 b)  procedures for identifying and isolating product to 
prevent or minimize distribution to patients; 
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 c)  procedures to retrieve and destroy product; and 
 d)  a communications plan to notify those affected by the 
recall. 
 3)  The cannabis processing facility shall track the total 
amount of affected cannabis or cannabis product and the amount of 
affected cannabis or cannabis product returned to the facility as part 
of the recall. 
 4)  The cannabis processing facility shall coordinate the 
destruction of the cannabis or cannabis product with the department 
and allow the department to oversee the destruction of the affected 
product. 
 5)  The department has authority to monitor the progress of 
the recall until the department declares an end to the recall. 
 6)  A cannabis production facility shall notify the 
department before initiating a voluntary recall. 
 
R68-28-16.  Cannabis Waste Disposal. 
 1)  Solid and liquid wastes generated during cannabis 
processing shall be stored, managed, and disposed of in accordance 
with applicable state laws and regulations. 
 2)  Wastewater generated during the cannabis production 
and processing shall be disposed of in compliance with applicable 
state laws and regulations. 
 3)  Cannabis waste generated from the cannabis plant, trim, 
and leaves is not considered hazardous waste unless it has been 
treated or contaminated with a solvent, or pesticide. 
 4)  Cannabis waste shall be rendered unusable before 
leaving the cannabis processing facility. 
 5)  Cannabis waste, which is not designated as hazardous, 
shall be rendered unusable by grinding and incorporating the 
cannabis waste with other ground materials so the resulting mixture 
is at least 50% non-cannabis waste by volume or other methods 
approved by the department before implementation. 
 6)  Materials used to grind and incorporate with cannabis 
fall into two categories: 
 a)  compostable; or 
 b)  non-compostable. 
 7)  Compostable waste is cannabis waste to be disposed of 
as compost or in another organic waste method mixed with: 
 a)  food waste; 
 b)  yard waste; or 
 c)  vegetable-based grease or oils. 
 8)  Non-compostable waste is cannabis waste to be 
disposed of in a landfill or another disposal method, such as 
incineration, mixed with: 
 a)  paper waste; 
 b)  cardboard waste; 
 c)  plastic waste; or 
 d)  soil. 
 9)  Cannabis waste includes: 
 a)  cannabis plant waste, including roots, stalks, leaves, and 
stems; 
 b)  excess cannabis or cannabis products from any quality 
assurance testing; 
 c)  cannabis or cannabis products that fail to meet testing 
requirements; and 
 d)  cannabis or cannabis products subject to a recall. 
 

R68-28-17.  Change in Operation Plans. 
 1)  A cannabis processing facility shall submit a notice, on 
a form provided by the department, before making any changes to: 
 a)  ownership or financial backing of the facility; 
 b)  the facility's name; 
 c)  a change in location; 
 d)  any modification, remodeling, expansion, reduction or 
physical, non-cosmetic alteration of a facility; or 
 e)  change to the number of production lines. 
 2)  A cannabis processing facility may not implement 
changes to the initial approved operation plan without board 
approval. 
 3)  The board shall approve of requested changes unless 
approval would lead to a violation of the applicable laws and rules of 
the state. 
 4)  The department shall specify the reason for the denial 
of approval for a change to the operation plan. 
 5)  Before the board's review of a cannabis production 
establishment license under Subsection 4-41a-201.1(7)(e), the 
cannabis production establishment shall provide the board with: 
 a)  blueprints that show that there will be physical 
separation between medical cannabis and industrial hemp produced 
in their facility, including demonstrating storage and packaging areas 
on separate sides of the same room; and 
 b)  any information requested by the board that shall allow 
the board to determine if the requirements of Section R68-28-5 will 
be met before the medical cannabis production establishment 
processes industrial hemp or industrial hemp products. 
 
R68-28-18.  Renewals. 
 1)  A cannabis processing facility shall submit a notice of 
intent to renew and the licensing fee to the department within 30 days 
of license expiration. 
 2)  If the licensing fee and intent to renew are not submitted 
within 30 days of license expiration, the licensee may not continue to 
operate. 
 3)  The board may take into consideration significant 
violations issued in determining license renewals. 
 
R68-28-19.  Violation Categories. 
 1)  Public Safety Violations: $3,000- $5,000 per violation.  
This category is for violations which present a direct threat to public 
health or safety including: 
 a)  cannabis sold to an unlicensed source; 
 b)  cannabis purchased from an unlicensed source; 
 c)  refusal to allow inspection; 
 d)  failure to comply with testing requirements; 
 e)  a test result for high pesticide residue in the cannabis 
produced or cannabis product; 
 f)  a test result for high residual solvents, heavy metal, 
microbials, molds, or other harmful contaminants; 
 g)  failure to maintain required cleanliness and sanitation 
standards; 
 h)  unauthorized personnel on the premises; 
 i)  permitting criminal conduct on the premises; 
 j)  possessing, manufacturing, or distributing cannabis 
products that the person knows or should know appeal to children; 
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 k)  failure to follow an approved recall protocol; or 
 l)  engaging in or permitting a violation of the Title 4, 
Chapter 41a, Cannabis Production Establishments, which amounts to 
a public safety violation as described in this subsection. 
 2)  Regulatory Violations: $1,000-$5,000 per violation.  
This category is for violations involving this rule and other applicable 
state rules including: 
 a)  failure to maintain alarm and security systems; 
 b)  failure to keep and maintain records for at least two 
years; 
 c)  failure to maintain traceability; 
 d)  failure to follow transportation requirements; 
 e)  failure to follow the waste and disposal requirements; 
 f)  failure to maintain separation between cannabis and 
hemp; 
 g)  failure to follow labeling and packaging requirements; 
 h)  failure to meet extraction requirements; 
 i)  distributing a final cannabis product with an actual 
weight that is lower than the net weight listed on the cannabis fact 
panel; 
 j)  engaging in or permitting a violation of Title 4, Chapter 
41a, Cannabis Production Establishments or this rule which amounts 
to a regulatory violation as described in this subsection; or 
 k)  failure to maintain standardized scales. 
 3)  Licensing Violations:  $500- $5,000 per violation.  This 
category is for violations involving licensing requirements including: 
 a)  an unauthorized change to the operating plan; 
 b)  failure to notify the department of changes to the 
operating plan; 
 c)  failure to notify the department of changes to financial 
or voting interests of greater than 2%; 
 d)  failure to follow the operating plan as approved by the 
department; 
 e)  engaging in or permitting a violation of this rule or Title 
4, Chapter 41a, Cannabis Production Establishments which amounts 
to a licensing violation as described in this subsection; or 
 f)  failure to respond to violations. 
 4)  The department shall calculate penalties based on the 
level of violation and the adverse effect or potential adverse effect at 
the time of the incidents giving rise to the violation. 
 5)  The department may enhance or reduce the penalty 
based on the seriousness of the violation. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R592-18.  Cost of Doing the Escrow Business 
 
3.  Reason for this change (Why is the agency submitting 
this filing?): 
The Title and Escrow Commission held a rule hearing on 
07/11/2022, to accept additional public and industry 
comment on the proposed rule.  The Commission 
determined that changes were needed.  The Commission 
approved the filing of this change in proposed rule at an 
08/26/2022, meeting by a vote of 5 to 0. 
 
4.  Summary of this change (What does this filing do?): 

The change makes a number of clarifications regarding to 
whom the rule pertains, what must be reported, when the 
required report is due, and how the Department of 
Insurance (Department) will notify title insurance licensees 
of the results.  It also add two definitions, and removes a 
requirement that would require two separate reports. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed new rule upon 
which this change in proposed rule (CPR) was based was 
published in the June 1, 2022, issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin, on page 94.  Underlining in the rule below 
indicates text that has been added since the publication of 
the proposed new rule mentioned above; strike-out 
indicates text that has been deleted.  You must view the 
CPR and the proposed new rule together to understand all 
of the changes that will be enforceable should the agency 
make this rule effective.) 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The information required by the CPR is largely the same 
as what was required by the original filing. 
 
B)  Local government: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  This rule governs the relationship between 
the Department and its licensees and has no bearing on 
local governments in any way. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The data that agency title insurance 
producers are required to file under this CPR are the same 
as under the original filing.  The CPR does not change 
what must be filed, but it does remove the requirement to 
file a number for the buyer side and another for the seller 
side.  Both sides will be reported in one combined number. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The data that title insurers are required to file 
under this CPR are the same as under the original filing.  
The CPR does not change what must be filed, but it does 
remove the requirement to file a number for the buyer side 
and another for the seller side.  Both sides will be reported 
in one combined number. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The data that individual title insurance producers 
are required to file under this CPR are the same as under 
the original filing.  The CPR does not change what must 
be filed, but it does remove the requirement to file a 
number for the buyer side and another for the seller side.  
Both sides will be reported in one combined number. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
Title licensees already track the cost of escrow per 
transaction.  Creating an average from that information will 
not require any additional cost. 
 

G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-404   
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Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/17/2022 

 
9.  This rule change MAY become 
effective on:  

10/24/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 09/01/2022 

 
R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission. 
R592-18.  Cost of Doing the Escrow Business. 
R592-18-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Title and Escrow 
Commission pursuant to Section 31A-2-404. 
 
R592-18-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish the standard for 
determining compliance with Subsection 31A-19a-209(3)(a)(ii). 
 (2)  This rule applies to a title insurer[ and a ], an agency 
title insurance producer, and an individual title insurance producer. 
 
R592-18-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301[ 
and ], 31A-2-402, and 31A-19a-102.  Additional terms are defined as 
follows: 
 (1)  "Residential transaction" means the sale or financing 
of: 
 (a)  a building or structure, or a portion of a building or 
structure, occupied as, designed as, or intended for occupancy as a 
one to four family residence; or 
 (b)  vacant land that is offered for sale for the construction 
or location of a building or structure, or a portion of a building or 
structure, described in Subsection (1)(a). 
 (2)  "Filer" means a person who submits a filing. 
 
R592-18-4.  Calculating the Cost of Doing the Escrow Business 
Under Subsection 31A-19a-209(3)(a)(ii). 
 (1)(a)  A title insurer, an agency title insurance producer, or 
an individual title insurance producer who is not an employee of a 
title insurer or who is not designated by an agency title insurance 
producer, shall file with the commissioner[, to be submitted with its 
annual report,] a certified statement of the average residential escrow 
fee charged by the filer for a residential transaction closed in this state 
for the prior calendar year. 
 (b)[  Submitting the certified statement in Subsection (1)(a) 
satisfies the requirement of filing with the commissioner a schedule 

of escrow charges in Section 31A-19a-209](i)  For the calendar year 
2022, the statement referred to in Subsection (1)(a) shall be filed with 
the commissioner no later than December 1, 2022. 
 (ii)  Beginning in 2023, the statement referred to in 
Subsection (1)(a) shall be filed with the annual report. 
 (2)(a)  The commissioner shall establish an industry 
average residential escrow fee by calculating the average of the 
residential escrow fees submitted under Subsection (1). 
 (b)  [The industry average residential escrow fee shall be 
calculated for the buyer side and the seller side of a transaction. 
 (c)  ]The industry average residential escrow fee shall 
include the sum of the fees charged by a filer for conducting escrow 
services on [any ]a residential transaction[ involving a dwelling as 
defined in Section 57-21-2]. 
 [(d)](c)(i)  The industry average residential escrow fee shall 
[exclude any pass-through ]include any cost incurred incident to [the 
]escrow services [or the issuance of the title insurance ]and separately 
charged to [the consumer]a party to the transaction. 
 (ii)  The industry average residential escrow fee may not 
include a recording fee or a closing protection letter fee. 
 (3)(a)  On January 1, 2023, the commissioner shall issue a 
bulletin that notifies title insurers, agency title insurance producers, 
and individual title insurance producers of the industry average 
residential escrow fee that is based on the certified statements 
referred to in Subsection (1)(b)(i). 
 (b)  The average fee referred to in Subsection (3)(a) is 
effective on February 1, 2023. 
 [(3)  On ](4)(a)  Beginning in 2023, on June 1 of each year, 
the commissioner shall issue a bulletin that notifies title insurers, 
agency title insurance producers, and individual title insurance 
producers of the industry average residential escrow fee [for the 
buyer side and the seller side of a transaction]that is based on the 
certified statements referred to in Subsection (1)(b)(ii). 
 [(4)  The industry average residential escrow fee calculated 
under Subsection (2) shall take effect ](b)  The average fee referred 
to in Subsection (4)(a) is effective on September 1 following the 
issuance of the bulletin. 
 (5)  Under Subsection 31A-19a-209(3)(a)(ii), the Title and 
Escrow Commission determines that the cost of doing the escrow 
business is not less than 50% of the industry average residential 
escrow fee [for the buyer side and the seller side ]as calculated under 
Subsection (2). 
 
R592-18-5.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R592-18, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  title insurance 
Date of Last Change:  2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-
404(2)(a); 31A-19a-209(2)(a)(iii) 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R23-5 Filing ID: 53614 
Effective Date: 08/30/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141160 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1160 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-957-

7239 
mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-5.  Contingency Funds 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 63A-5b-305(c), 
which authorizes the director of the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management (DFCM) to make rules 
necessary for DFCM or the director to perform DFCM's or 
the director's duties. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule facilitates the director of DFCM's exercise of the 
director's powers and duties with respect to establishing 
and administering the statewide contingency reserve 
required by Section 63A-5b-609.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell, 
Director 

Date: 08/22/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R23-6 Filing ID: 53615 
Effective Date: 08/30/2022 

 
Agency Information 
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1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141160 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1160 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-957-

7239 
mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-6.  Value Engineering and Life Cycle Costing of State 
Owned Facilities Rules and Regulations 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 63A-5b-305(c), 
which authorizes the director of the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management (DFCM) to make rules 
necessary for DFCM or the director to perform DFCM's or 
the director's duties.  This rule is required by Subsection 
63A-5b-702(2). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required by Subsection 63A-5b-702(2).  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell, 
Director 

Date: 08/31/2022 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R23-10 Filing ID: 53618 
Effective Date: 08/31/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141160 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1160 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-957-

7239 
mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-10.  Naming of State Buildings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 63A-5b-305(c), 
which authorizes the director of the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management (DFCM) to make rules 
necessary for DFCM or the director to perform DFCM's or 
the director's duties. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary to establish a procedure for the 
naming of State buildings.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 



  FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 15, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 18 137 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell, 
Director 

Date: 08/31/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R23-12 Filing ID: 53619 
Effective Date: 08/30/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141160 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1160 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-957-

7239 
mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-12.  Building Code Appeals Process 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 63A-5b-305(c), 
which authorizes the director of the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management (DFCM) to make rules 
necessary for DFCM or the director to perform DFCM's or 
the director's duties.  This rule is required by Section 15A-
1-207. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required by Section 15A-1-207.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell, 
Director 

Date: 08/31/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R23-14 Filing ID: 53621 
Effective Date: 08/30/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141160 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1160 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-957-

7239 
mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-14.  Management of Roofs on State Buildings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 63A-5b-305(c), 
which authorizes the director of the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management (DFCM) to make rules 
necessary for DFCM or the director to perform DFCM's or 
the director's duties. 



FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION  

138 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 15, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 18 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary for DFCM to manage access to and 
work on the roofs of state buildings.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell, 
Director 

Date: 08/31/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R23-21 Filing ID: 53624 
Effective Date: 08/30/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141160 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1160 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-957-

7239 
mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-21.  Division of Facilities Construction and Management 
Lease Procedures 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 63A-5b-305(c), 
which authorizes the director of the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management (DFCM) to make rules 
necessary for DFCM or the director to perform DFCM's or 
the director's duties. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary to implement Section 63A-5b-802 – 
Leasing Responsibilities of the Director.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell, 
Director 

Date: 08/31/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R23-24 Filing ID: 53627 
Effective Date: 08/30/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141160 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1160 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-957-

7239 
mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-24.  Capital Projects Utilizing Non-Appropriated Funds 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 63A-5b-305(c), 
which authorizes the director of the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management (DFCM) to make rules 
necessary for DFCM or the director to perform DFCM's or 
the director's duties. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary to implement Section 63A-5b-404 – 
Exceptions to requirement of legislative approval for 
capital development projects.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell, 
Director 

Date: 08/31/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R65-13 Filing ID: 52631 
Effective Date: 08/31/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Marketing and Economic 

Development 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB, South Bldg, 

Floor 2  
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114  

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Caroline 
Hargraves  

801-
982-
2353 

carolinehargraves@utah.go
v 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R65-13.  Utah's Own 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized pursuant to Subsection 4-8-104(5) 
which gives the Department of Agriculture and Food 
authority to make rules to create a program dedicated to 
the promotion of local agriculture. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it provides guidelines 
under which the Utah's Own Program is able to operate, 
including membership eligibility requirements, 
requirements surrounding the use of the Utah's Own logo, 
and termination and revocation rules.  Having these set 
forth in rule and subject to public comment provides 
transparency.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 08/31/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R317-8 Filing ID: 53244 
Effective Date: 08/29/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Water Quality 
Room number: DEQ, Third Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 

(MASOB) 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 



FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION  

140 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 15, 2022, Vol. 2022, No. 18 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144870 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4870 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jeanne Riley 801-

536-
4369 

jriley@utah.gov 

Judy Etherington 801-
536-
4344 

jetherington@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R317-8.  Utah Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(UPDES) 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 19-5-107 authorizes the Utah Water Quality Board 
to require discharge permits to control the management of 
sewage sludge and to prevent or control the discharge of 
pollutants into the Waters of the state.  Section 19-5-108 
authorizes the Utah Water Quality Board to make rules 
and require the submission of plans, specifications, and 
other information to the director in connection with the 
issuance of discharge permits. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
This rule has been amended three times since the last five-
year review.  All amendments are subject to public 
comment.  Public comments received during those 
rulemaking actions since the last five-year review 
addressed technical issues specific to those amendments.  
Comments received during hearings and the public 
comment period for rule changes have been addressed 
through preparation of responsiveness summaries by 
Division of Water Quality staff and have been presented to 
the Water Quality Board for their consideration during the 
rulemaking process. 
 
The Division of Water Quality has not received written 
comments since the last five-year review supporting or 
opposing this rule on the whole. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

Utah was delegated primacy for implementation of the 
federal Clean Water Act (CWA) National Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) in 1989.  This rule 
is required by the Utah Water Quality Board to implement 
Utah's Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (UPDES).  
It provides the general framework and requirements for the 
UPDES surface water discharge permits.  This rule is 
essential to controlling the discharge of pollutants to 
waters of the state under the Utah Water Quality Act and 
compliance with the federal Clean Water Act.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

John K. Mackey, 
Director 

Date: 08/29/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R333-7 Filing ID: 50807 
Effective Date: 08/29/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Financial Institutions 
Agency: Banks 
Room number: 201 
Street address: 324 S State St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2393 

Mailing address: PO Box 146800 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6800 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Paul Allred 801-

538-
8855 

pallred@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R333-7  Investment by a State-Chartered Bank in Shares of 
Open-End Investment Companies 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 7-1-301(8)(b)(i) authorizes the Commissioner 
to establish eligible classes and types of investments for 
the deposits and funds for financial institutions if the 
restrictions or requirements are not more stringent than 
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those applicable under federal law or regulation to 
federally-chartered institutions of the same class. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No supporting or opposing written comments have been 
received by the agency concerning this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule permits a state-chartered bank to purchase for its 
own account shares of open-end investment companies 
subject to certain restrictions.  This rule expands eligible 
classes and types of investments for state-chartered 
banks and gives them rights, privileges, and powers 
granted to national banks.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Darryle Rude, 
Commissioner 

Date: 08/29/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R337-2 Filing ID: 50828 
Effective Date: 08/28/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Financial Institutions 
Agency: Credit Unions 
Room number: 201 
Street address: 324 S State St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2393 

Mailing address: PO Box 146800 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6800 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Paul Allred 801-

538-
8855 

pallred@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R337-2.  Conversion from a Federal to a State-Chartered 
Credit Union 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 7-1-301 authorizes rulemaking authority to the 
Commissioner; Section 7-1-706 grants the Commissioner 
authority to exercise procedural power; and Subsection 7-
1-713(4) authorizes the conversion of financial institutions 
from federal to state-chartered. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No supporting or opposing written comments have been 
received by the agency concerning this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule establishes the requirements and procedures for 
converting from a federally-chartered credit union to a 
state-chartered credit union.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Darryle Rude, 
Commissioner 

Date: 08/29/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R337-5 Filing ID: 50819 
Effective Date: 08/29/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Financial Institutions 
Agency: Credit Unions 
Room number: 201 
Street address: 324 S State St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2393 

Mailing address: PO Box 146800 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6800 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Paul Allred 801-

538-
8855 

pallred@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R337-5.  Allowance for Loan and Lease Losses -- Credit 
Unions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 7-9-29 states that credit unions shall establish an 
allowance account for loan losses subject to regulation as 
the commissioner may prescribe. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No supporting or opposing written comments have been 
received by the agency concerning this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it requires an allowance 
account for loan losses and prescribes the optional 
methods of determining the required amount.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Darryle Rude, 
Commissioner 

Date: 08/29/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R362-1 Filing ID: 50867 
Effective Date: 08/22/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Energy Development (Office of) 
Street address: 60 E. South Temple St, Suite 300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144845 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chris Reisinger 801-

538-
8682 

creisinger@utah.gov 

Matt Anderson 801-
538-
8724 

manderson2@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R362-1.  Qualification for the Alternative Energy 
Development Tax Credit 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The Office of Energy Development is required by 
Subsection 79-6-503(1)(a) to make rules establishing 
standards an alternative energy entity shall meet to qualify 
for a tax credit.  Section 79-6-503 provides eligibility 
guidelines for alternative energy entities to receive the tax 
credit. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Office of Energy Development has not received any 
written comments either supporting or opposing this rule 
since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
As the tax credit still exists and the Office of Energy 
Development is statutorily required to make rules 
regarding the tax credit, this rule is still necessary.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Greg Todd, 
Director 

Date: 08/22/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R362-2 Filing ID: 52672 
Effective Date: 08/22/2022 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Energy Development (Office of) 
Street address: 60 E. South Temple St, Suite 300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144845 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chris Reisinger 801-

538-
8682 

creisinger@utah.gov 

Matt Anderson 801-
538-
8724 

manderson2@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R362-2.  Renewable Energy Systems Tax Credits 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The Office of Energy Development is required by 
Subsection 59-7-614(8)(c) to make rules establishing 
standards a taxpaying entity shall meet to qualify for a tax 
credit.  Section 59-7-614 provides eligibility guidelines for 
taxpaying entities to receive the tax credit. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Office of Energy Development has not received any 
written comments either supporting or opposing this rule 
since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
As the tax credit still exists and the Office of Energy 
Development is statutorily required to make rules 
regarding the tax credit, this rule is still necessary.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Greg Todd, 
Director 

Date: 08/22/2022 

 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R362-3 Filing ID: 50880 
Effective Date: 08/22/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Energy Development (Office of) 
Street address: 60 E. South Temple St, Suite 300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144845 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chris Reisinger 801-

538-
8682 

creisinger@utah.gov 

Matt Anderson 801-
538-
8724 

manderson2@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R362-3.  Energy Efficiency Fund 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The Office of Energy Development is required by 
Subsection 11-45-204(1) to make rules determining the 
eligibility for a loan and priorities among energy efficiency 
projects.  Section 11-45 provides eligibility guidelines for 
political subdivisions to receive the loan. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Office of Energy Development has not received any 
written comments either supporting or opposing this rule 
since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
As the loan program still exists and the Office of Energy 
Development is statutorily required to make rules 
regarding the loan program, this rule is still necessary.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Greg Todd, 
Director 

Date: 08/22/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R414-29  Filing ID: 53836 
Effective Date: 08/22/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-29.  Client Review and Restriction Policy 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26-18-3 requires the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) to implement Medicaid 
policy through administrative rules.  In addition, 42 CFR 
431.54(e) authorizes restrictions on Medicaid members 
who overutilize Medicaid services, and 42 CFR 456.3 
requires the Department to implement safeguards that 
prevent unnecessary or inappropriate use of Medicaid 
services. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Department did not receive any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Department has determined this rule is necessary 
because it implements a restriction program for Medicaid 
members who overutilize Medicaid services, and allows 
the Department to provide cost effective and medically 
necessary services.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/20/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R414-70 Filing ID: 51021 
Effective Date: 08/22/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-70.  Medical Supplies, Durable Medical Equipment, 
and Prosthetic Devices 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26-18-3 requires the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) to implement Medicaid 
policy through administrative rules, and 42 CFR 440.70 
authorizes the use of medical supplies and durable 
medical equipment (DME) as home health services. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department did not receive any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Department has determined this rule is necessary 
because it allows Medicaid members to receive medical 
supplies, DME, and prosthetic devices as either optional 
services, mandatory services, or services provided in long-
term care facilities.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber, 
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/20/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R590-96 Filing ID: 53876 
Effective Date: 08/17/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-96.  Mortality Tables for Determining Reserve 
Liabilities for Annuities 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code.  Section 31A-17-505 authorizes the 
insurance commissioner to make rules to approve 
mortality tables used in determining the minimum standard 
of valuation for an annuity contract.  This rule approves 
specific mortality tables for an individual group annuity or 
pure endowment contract. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it sets reserving standards.  
In the absence of this rule, an insurer would be able to hold 
lower, inadequate reserves that could result in the 
insolvency of the insurance company.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 08/17/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R590-216 Filing ID: 51403 
Effective Date: 08/17/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-216.  Standards for Safeguarding Customer 
Information 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code.  Subsection 31A-23a-417(3) authorizes 
the insurance commissioner to adopt rules to implement 
Title V, Section 501(b) of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act of 
1999 (15 U.S.C. 6801 through 6820).  Title V, Section 505 
(15 U.S.C. 6805) authorizes the insurance commissioner 
to enforce Subtitle A of Title V of the federal act, and to 
issue rules to implement Title V, Section 501(b) of the 
federal act. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule implements the requirements of federal law 
regarding the disclosure of nonpublic personal 
information.  It establishes standards applicable to 
department licensees to help them develop and implement 
administrative, technical, and physical safeguards to 
protect the security, confidentiality, and integrity of 
customer information.  As long as the federal law regarding 
the privacy of non-public personal information is in force, 
and as long as the insurance industry continues to collect 
this type of information regarding their customers, this rule 
will be necessary.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 08/17/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R590-274 Filing ID: 53381 
Effective Date: 08/23/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-274.  Submission and Required Disclosures of 
Public Adjuster Contracts 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-26-401 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules governing prominent display 
requirements for notices.  Section 31A-26-403 authorizes 
the insurance commissioner to write rule addressing 
forms, notice, and contracts used by public adjusters. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
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This rule is necessary because it provides guidance to 
public adjusters regarding disclosures that must be 
contained in a consumer contract.  These required 
disclosures ensure that consumers understand their rights 
and outlines what a public adjuster can and cannot do 
regarding a public adjuster's conduct and compensation.  
Without this rule, public adjusters may not display vital 
disclosures in a way that informs and protects consumers.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 08/23/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R652-121 Filing ID: 51705 
Effective Date: 08/24/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: State Parks 
Room number: 352 
Building: DNR 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO BOX 145703 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-5703 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Brianne Emery 385-

239-
0791 

brianneemery@utah.gov 

Jamie Barnes 385-
222-
1536 

jamiebarnes@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R652-121.  Wildland Fire Suppression Fund 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule implements Article XVIII of the Utah Constitution 
and Section 65A-8-204 and provides for administration of the 

Wildland Fire Suppression Fund under the authority of 
Section 65A-8-207. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule implements Article XVIII of the Utah Constitution 
and Section 65A-8-204 and provides for administration of the 
Wildland Fire Suppression Fund under the authority of 
Section 65A-8-207, which allows for the payment of costs of 
wildland fire suppression on state-owned land and for 
wildland fire suppression costs except initial attack costs on 
non-federal land within the jurisdiction of a county, 
municipality, or other eligible entity that has entered into a 
cooperative agreement with the Division of State Parks and 
is complying with the terms of the cooperative agreement.  It 
also outlines the terms participation as a cooperating entity.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Jamie Barnes, 
Director and State 
Forester 

Date: 08/29/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R657-13 Filing ID: 54396 
Effective Date: 08/24/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
Building: DNR – Salt Lake Complex 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R657-13.  Taking Fish and Crayfish 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Under Sections 23-14-8 and 23-14-19, the Wildlife Board 
is authorized to provide standards and procedures for 
taking fish and crayfish. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments supporting or opposing Rule R657-
13 were received since October 2017, when this rule was 
last reviewed. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R657-13 provides the procedures, standards, and 
requirements for taking fish and crayfish in the state of 
Utah.  The provisions adopted in this rule are effective.  
This rule is necessary for continued success for allowing 
anglers of Utah to take fish and to protect the resource.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

J Shirley, Director Date: 08/22/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R657-52 Filing ID: 52554 
Effective Date: 08/24/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
Building: DNR – Salt Lake Complex 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R657-52.  Commercial Harvesting of Brine Shrimp and 
Brine Shrimp Eggs 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Under Sections 23-14-3, 23-14-18, and 23-14-19, the 
Wildlife Board is authorized and required to regulate and 
prescribe the means by which wildlife may be taken. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments supporting or opposing Rule R657-
52 were received since 2017, when this rule was last 
reviewed. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R657-52, provides the procedures, standards, and 
requirements for commercially harvesting brine shrimp 
and brine shrimp eggs.  The provisions adopted in this rule 
are effective.  This rule is necessary for continued success 
in protecting, conserving, and managing the brine shrimp 
resource.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

J Shirley, Director Date: 08/24/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R671-313 Filing ID: 51830 
Effective Date: 08/30/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
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Street address: 448 E Winchester, Suite 300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Haddon 801-

261-
6467 

mikehaddon@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R671-313.  Commutation Hearings (Non-Death Penalty 
Cases) 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The Utah Constitution in Article VII, Section 12, 
establishes the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) and 
provides for its authority.  Section 77-27-5 outlines the 
Board's statutory authority associated with commutation, 
and Section 77-27-9 outlines the Board's parole 
proceeding processes associated with commutation. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received by the Board 
regarding Rule R671-205 during or since the last five-year 
review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Although not frequently used, the Board is given authority 
to commute punishments in the Utah Constitution in Article 
VII, Section 12.  Within rule, the Board's commutation 
processes are different between non-death penalty cases 
and death penalty cases.  This rule outlines the Board's 
commutation processes when the case being considered 
for commutation is a non-death penalty case.  This rule 
provides necessary information regarding commutation 
application requirements, an individual's commutation 
eligibility, Board's considerations when reviewing a 
commutation petition, commutation hearing processes if a 
hearing is granted, and the Board's decision process as it 
relates to commutation in non-death penalty cases.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Mike Haddon, 
Director 

Date: 08/29/2022 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R914-1 Filing ID: 52105 
Effective Date: 08/23/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Operations, Aeronautics 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-580-

8296 
lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R914-1.  Rules and Regulations 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 72-10-103 requires the Department of 
Transportation (Department) to make rules: 
(a)  governing the establishment, location, and use of air 
navigation facilities; 
 
(b)  regulating the use, licensing, and supervision of 
airports; 
 
(c)  establishing minimum standards with which all air 
navigation facilities, flying clubs, aircraft, gliders, pilots, 
and airports must comply; and 
 
(d)  safeguarding from accidents and protecting the safety 
of persons operating or using aircraft and persons and 
property on the ground. 
 
Rule R914-1 is to satisfy that requirement. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
during and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule satisfies the requirements of Section 72-10-103.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M. 
Braceras, PE,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/23/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R914-2 Filing ID: 52115 
Effective Date: 08/23/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Operations, Aeronautics 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-580-

8296 
lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R914-2.  Safety Rules and Procedures for Aircraft 
Operations on Roads 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 72-10-117 requires the Department of 
Transportation (Department) to make rules for the landing 
and taking off of aircraft to which permits have been issued 
under this section, which may include annual reports of 
activities of the aircraft.  This rule satisfies that mandate. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
during and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule satisfies the requirements of Section 72-10-117.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M. 
Braceras, PE,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/23/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R930-7 Filing ID: 52146 
Effective Date: 08/23/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Preconstruction 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 
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Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-580-

8296 
lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R930-7.  Utility Accommodation 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted under the authority of Subsection 72-
6-116(2), which authorizes the Department of 
Transportation (Department) to regulate and make rules 
for the installation, construction, maintenance, repair, 
renewal, system upgrade, and relocation of utility facilities 
within state-owned and administered highway rights of 

way, including ordering their relocation as may become 
necessary. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received written comments 
during and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Subsection 72-6-116(2)(a) requires the Department may 
maintain rules to regulate the installation, construction, 
maintenance, repair, renewal, system upgrade, and 
relocation of all utilities within highway rights of way.  This 
rule satisfies that mandate.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M. 
Braceras, PE,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/23/2022 

 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  If the agency finds that it will not meet 
the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW 
EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office of Administrative Rules.  The EXTENSION permits the agency to file the review 
up to 120 days beyond the anniversary date. 
 
Agencies have filed EXTENSIONS for the rules listed below.  The "Extended Due Date" is 120 days after the anniversary 
date. 
 
EXTENSIONS are governed by Subsection 63G-3-305(6). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R23-4 Filing ID: 53613 
New Deadline 
Date: 

01/05/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141160 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1160 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-

957-
7239 

mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-
957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.go
v 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-4.  Suspension/Debarment 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
The Division of Facilities Construction and Management 
(DFCM) needs an extension so DFCM can file a repeal 
and make the repeal effective before the rule expired. 

 
 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell, 
Director 

Date: 08/31/2022 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R23-9 Filing ID: 53617 
New Deadline 
Date: 

01/05/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 141160 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1160 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-

957-
7239 

mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-
957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.go
v 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
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2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-9.  Cooperation with Local Government Planning 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
The Division of Facilities Construction and Management 
(DFCM) needs an extension so DFCM can file a repeal 
and make the repeal effective before the rule expired. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell, 
Director 

Date: 08/31/2022 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R277-420 Filing ID: 50413 
New Deadline 
Date: 

01/11/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-420.  Aiding Financially Distressed School Districts 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
This rule's five-year review is currently due on 09/13/2022.  
The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) meeting when 
this rule will be presented will be held on 09/08/2022.  An 
extension is therefore needed in order to have adequate 
time to prepare and then file possible amendments and/or 
other changes to this rule status that may be approved by 
the USBE, before this rule is due to expire. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/22/2022 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R277-422 Filing ID: 50411 
New Deadline 
Date: 

01/11/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-422.  State Supported Voted Local Levy, Board Local 
Levy and Reading Improvement Program 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
This rule's five-year review is currently due on 09/13/2022.  
The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) meeting when 
this rule will be presented will be held on 09/08/2022.  An 
extension is therefore needed in order to have adequate 
time to prepare and then file possible amendments and/or 
other changes to this rule status that may be approved by 
the USBE, before this rule is due to expire. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/22/2022 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
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Rule Number: R277-426 Filing ID: 50420 
New Deadline 
Date: 

01/11/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-426.  Definition of Private and Non-Profit Schools for 
Federal Program Services 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
This rule's five-year review is currently due on 09/13/2022.  
The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) meeting when 
this rule will be presented will be held on 09/08/2022.  An 
extension is therefore needed in order to have adequate 
time to prepare and then file possible amendments and/or 
other changes to this rule status that may be approved by 
the USBE, before this rule is due to expire. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/22/2022 

 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R277-454 Filing ID: 50429 
New Deadline 
Date: 

01/11/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 

Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-454.  Construction Management of School Building 
Projects 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
This rule's five-year review is currently due on 09/13/2022.  
The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) meeting when 
this rule will be presented will be held on 09/08/2022.  An 
extension is therefore needed in order to have adequate 
time to prepare and then file possible amendments and/or 
other changes to this rule status that may be approved by 
the USBE, before this rule is due to expire. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/22/2022 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R277-474 Filing ID: 53786 
New Deadline 
Date: 

01/11/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
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Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-474.  School Instruction and Sex Education 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
This rule's five-year review is currently due on 09/13/2022.  
The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) meeting when 
this rule will be presented will be held on 09/08/2022.  An 
extension is therefore needed in order to have adequate 
time to prepare and then file possible amendments and/or 
other changes to this rule status that may be approved by 
the USBE, before this rule is due to expire. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/22/2022 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R277-496 Filing ID: 50453 
New Deadline 
Date: 

01/19/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-496.  K-3 Reading Software Licenses 

 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
This rule's five-year review is currently due on 09/21/2022.  
The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) meeting when 
this rule will be presented will be held on 09/08/2022.  An 
extension is therefore needed in order to have adequate 
time to prepare and then file possible amendments and/or 
other changes to this rule status that may be approved by 
the USBE, before this rule is due to expire. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings, 
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/22/2022 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R277-522 Filing ID: 50476 
New Deadline 
Date: 

01/11/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-522.  Entry Years Enhancements (EYE) for Quality 
Teaching - Level 1 Utah Teachers 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
This rule's five-year review is currently due on 09/13/2022.  
The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) meeting when 
this rule will be presented will be held on 09/08/2022.  An 
extension is therefore needed in order to have adequate 
time to prepare and then file possible amendments and/or 
other changes to this rule status that may be approved by 
the USBE, before this rule is due to expire. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  

Angie Stallings, Date: 08/22/2022 

and title: Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

 
 

End of the Notices of Five-Year Review Extensions Section 
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NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  The Office of Administrative Rules 
(Office) is required to notify agencies of rules due for review at least 180 days prior to the anniversary date.  If the 
agency finds that it will not meet the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office.  However, if the agency fails to file either the FIVE-YEAR 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION or the EXTENSION by the date provide by the Office, the rule 
expires. 
 
Upon expiration of the rule, the Office files a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATION (EXPIRATION) to document the action.  
The Office is required to remove the rule from the Utah Administrative Code.  The agency may no longer enforce the 
rule and it must follow regular rulemaking procedures to replace the rule if it is still needed. 
 
The Office has filed EXPIRATIONS for each of the rules listed below which were not reviewed in accordance with 
Section 63G-3-305.  These rules have expired and have been removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The expiration of administrative rules for failure to comply with the five-year review requirement is governed by 
Subsection 63G-3-305(8). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Rule Number: R651-227 Filing ID: 51631 
Effective Date: 08/29/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: State Parks 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple, Suite 100 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L. 
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R651-227.  Boating Safety Course Fees 
 
3.  Summary: 
The five-year review and notice of continuation was not 
filed for this rule by the deadline.  This rule has expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 

 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 

Rule Number: R856-7 Filing ID: 52058 
Effective Date: 08/16/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Science Technology and Research 

Governing Authority (Utah) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: Not Applicable 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Not Applicable 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L. 
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R856-7.  USTAR Definition of High-Quality Job 
 
3.  Summary: 
The Utah Science Technology and Research Governing 
Authority (USTAR) was repealed by S.B. 95 in the 2020 
General Session.  Since there is no entity to repeal this 
rule and there is not a mechanism in the Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act that allows the Office of 
Administrative Rules (OAR) to remove this rule, OAR is 
letting it expire as the five-year review and notice of 
continuation comes due.  This rule has now expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Plant Industry 
No.  54754  (Amendment)  R68-7:  Utah Pesticide Control 
Rule 
Published:  08/01/2022 
Effective:  09/07/2022 
 
No.  54706  (Amendment)  R68-25:  Industrial Hemp Program 
- Cannabinoid Product Processors 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/23/2022 
 
No.  54705  (Amendment)  R68-26:  Cannabinoid Product 
Registration and Labeling 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/23/2022 
 
No.  54700  (Amendment)  R68-29:  Quality Assurance 
Testing on Cannabis 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/23/2022 
 
 
Commerce 
Administration 
No.  54753  (Amendment)  R151-4:  Department of 
Commerce Administrative Procedures Act Rule 
Published:  08/01/2022 
Effective:  09/07/2022 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  54716  (New Rule)  R277-125:  Small School District 
Capital Projects 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 

No.  54710  (Amendment)  R277-309:  Appropriate Licensing 
and Assignment of Teachers 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54711  (Amendment)  R277-415:  School Nurses 
Matching Funds 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54712  (Amendment)  R277-609:  Standards for LEA 
Discipline Plans and Emergency Safety Interventions 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  09/09/2022 
 
No.  54722  (Amendment)  R277-726:  Statewide Online 
Education Program 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54713  (New Rule)  R277-918:  Education Innovation 
Program 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54714  (Amendment)  R277-922:  Digital Teaching and 
Learning Grant Program 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
 
Environmental Quality 
Air Quality 
No.  54500  (Amendment)  R307-508:  Oil and Gas Industry:  
VOC Control Devices 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  09/06/2022 
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No.  54500  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R307-508:  Oil and 
Gas Industry:  VOC Control Devices 
Published:  08/01/2022 
Effective:  09/06/2022 
 
No.  54501  (Amendment)  R307-509:  Oil and Gas Industry: 
Leak Detection and Repair Requirements 
Published:  05/01/2022 
Effective:  09/06/2022 
 
No.  54501  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R307-509:  Oil and 
Gas Industry: Leak Detection and Repair Requirements 
Published:  08/01/2022 
Effective:  09/06/2022 
 
 
Government Operations 
Fleet Operations 
No.  54618  (Amendment)  R27-1:  Definitions 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  08/15/2022 
 
 
Health and Human Services 
Administration (Health) 
No.  54662  (New Rule)  R380-65:  Public Health Emergency 
Protocols 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  08/24/2022 
 
No.  54664  (New Rule)  R380-66:  Medical Rationing 
Procedures 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  08/24/2022 
 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
No.  54619  (Amendment)  R414-40:  Private Duty Nursing 
Services 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  08/24/2022 
 
No.  54720  (Amendment)  R414-49:  Dental, Oral and 
Maxillofacial Surgeons and Orthodontia 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  09/08/2022 
 
Center for Health Data, Health Care Statistics 
No.  54579  (Amendment)  R428-2:  Health Data Authority 
Standards for Health Data 
Published:  05/15/2022 
Effective:  09/01/2022 
 
Family Health and Preparedness, Licensing 
No.  54593  (Amendment)  R432-32:  Licensing Exemption 
for Non-Profit Volunteer End-of-Life Care 
Published:  06/01/2022 
Effective:  09/08/2022 
 
Administration, Administrative Services, Licensing 
No.  54731  (Repeal)  R501-2:  Core Rules 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  09/09/2022 

 
Aging and Adult Services 
No.  54292  (Repeal and Reenact)  R510-104:  Nutrition 
Programs 
Published:  02/01/2022 
Effective:  09/08/2022 
 
No.  54292  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R510-104:  Nutrition 
Programs 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  09/08/2022 
 
 
Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Administration 
No.  54661  (New Rule)  R765-119:  Utah Board of Higher 
Education Qualifications 
Published:  06/15/2022 
Effective:  08/19/2022 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  54701  (Amendment)  R590-131:  Accident and Health 
Coordination of Benefits Rule 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54702  (Amendment)  R590-219:  Credit Scoring 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
 
Money Management Council 
Administration 
No.  54723  (Amendment)  R628-17:  Limitations on 
Commercial Paper and Corporate Notes 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/23/2022 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Oil, Gas and Mining; Oil and Gas 
No.  54721  (Amendment)  R649-1:  Tar Sands Change 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/24/2022 
 
State Parks 
No.  54736  (New Rule)  R651-104:  State Park Designations 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54708  (Amendment)  R651-601:  Definitions as Used in 
These Rules 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54707  (Amendment)  R651-603:  Animals 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
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No.  54734  (Amendment)  R651-606:  Camping, Overnight 
Facilities, and Park Lodging 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54678  (Amendment)  R651-612:  Veteran's with 
Disabilities Honor Pass 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54729  (Amendment)  R651-633:  Special Closures or 
Restrictions 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
 
Public Safety 
Highway Patrol 
No.  54742  (New Rule)  R714-570:  Mental Health 
Resources for First Responders Grant Funding 
Published:  08/01/2022 
Effective:  09/07/2022 
 
 
Transportation 
Administration 
No.  54704  (Repeal and Reenact)  R907-1:  Agency Actions, 
Administrative Procedures 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
 

Workforce Services 
Employment Development 
No.  54728  (Amendment)  R986-300-306:  Time Limits 
Published:  08/01/2022 
Effective:  09/07/2022 
 
No.  54749  (Amendment)  R986-700-721:  Commercial 
Preschool Subsidy 
Published:  08/01/2022 
Effective:  10/01/2022 
 
Homeless Services 
No.  54724  (Repeal)  R988-200:  Homeless Shelter Cities 
Mitigation Restricted Account 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54725  (New Rule)  R988-400:  Homeless Shelter Cities 
Mitigation Restricted Account 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54726  (New Rule)  R988-500:  Overflow Plan 
Requirements 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 
No.  54727  (New Rule)  R988-600:  Administration of 
COVID-19 Homeless Housing and Services Grant Program 
Published:  07/15/2022 
Effective:  08/22/2022 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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