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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between December 16, 2022, 12:00 a.m., and 
January 03, 2023, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the January 15, 2023, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least February 14, 2023.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through May 15, 2023, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R25-21 Filing ID: 
55179 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Finance 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, Floor 3 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141031 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janica Gines 801-

957-
7727 

jmgines@utah.gov 

Ally Branch 801-
597-
3523 

abranch@utah.gov 

Todd Darrington 801-
957-
7742 

tadarrington@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R25-21.  Medical Cannabis Payment Provider Standards 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Further examination of payment providers resulted in the 
industry being more nuanced than originally understood.  
The broad scope of payment provider types meant that the 
rule needed to be amended to catch the scope of ways 
that payments can be made. 
Additionally, new standards and expectations from card 
brands resulted in some payment providers being out of 
compliance with the card brands but technically in 
compliance with the rule's request.  The amendments 
made bring this rule and card brands into agreement and 
ensure that solutions approved by the Division of Finance 
(Division) can operate in compliance with card brands. 
Lastly, the Division noted that this rule did not have any 
caveats for payment providers who willingly or knowingly 
misrepresent their company and added in a section to 
capture the need to honest in the communication. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 

substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The changes are clarification for new contacts, and 
department names, as well as clarification on the available 
documentation that can be provided.  The amendment 
also tightens restrictions to ensure solutions are compliant 
with card brands and honest in their representation. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There are not anticipated costs to state government 
because the change does not affect state government. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There are not anticipated costs to local governments 
because the change does not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The relevant data is unavailable because affected small 
businesses will be able to choose among authorized 
payment providers and costs are unknown and may vary.  
Costs are not estimable.  Products affected by this rule are 
optional for businesses affected.  Marijuana-related 
businesses choosing a payment provider would have 
similar costs with or without this rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The relevant data is unavailable because affected non-
small businesses will be able to choose among authorized 
payment providers and costs are unknown and may vary.  
Costs are not estimable.  Products affected by this rule are 
optional for businesses affected.  Marijuana-related 
businesses choosing a payment provider would have 
similar costs with or without this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This proposed rule applies only to participating payment 
providers for Utah cannabis-related businesses.  There 
are not anticipated direct costs or savings to other 
persons.  Costs incurred by Utah cannabis-related 
businesses will likely be passed on to their customers 
(indirect costs).  However, the costs are not estimable 
because the relevant data necessary to determine how the 
costs will be allocated to customers is not available.  The 
Division also expect customers would have similar costs 
passed on them with or without this rule. 
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F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The costs to payment providers cannot reasonably be 
estimated because the relevant data necessary to 
determine how the costs will be allocated to customers is 
not available.  The cost to the payment providers would 
depend on the type of establishment and service each 
provider offers. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
26-61a-603(2)(a) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/2022 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jenney Rees,  
Executive Director 

Date: 12/22/2022 

 
R25.  Government Operations, Finance. 
R25-21.  Medical Cannabis Payment Provider Standards. 
R25-21-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Purpose.  This rule establishes the functional, technical 
and other standards a payment provider must meet to be approved to 
conduct financial transactions for Utah cannabis-related businesses. 
 (2)  Authority.  This rule is enacted under the authority of 
Subsection 26-61a-603(2)(a). 
 
R25-21-2.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 26-61a-102. 
 In addition: 
 (1)  "Utah MRB" means any cannabis production 
establishment, medical cannabis pharmacy, or home delivery medical 
cannabis pharmacy licensed within the in accordance with the Utah 
Medical Cannabis Act. 
 (2)  "Bank" means any federal or state chartered and 
regulated depository financial institution. 
 (3)  "Bank of First Deposit" means the first bank that 
receives funds from Utah MRB related transactions. 
 (4)  "Payment Provider" means a third-party company that 
assist a business in accepting funds or goods or services. The method 
of payment can include credit card, debit card, cash card, bank 
transfer, ACH, e-wallet, wire transfer, or any other known or 
unknown method. 
 (5)  "Processor" means the business or mechanism that 
facilitates the transfer of funds from the consumer's financial 
institution to the Utah MRB's financial institution. 
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R25-21-3.  Payment Provider Standards. 
 (1)  Prerequisite to consideration of a payment provider 
under this rule, a Utah MRB must provide the Division of Finance 
and State Treasurer documentation associated with the payment 
provider in accordance with Subsection 26-61a-603(1). 
 (2)  A payment provider must provide certification signed 
by an officer of the bank of first deposit acknowledging that the 
payment provider is facilitating cannabis-related transactions legal 
under Utah law on behalf of a Utah MRB. 
 (3)  A payment provider must provide certification from the 
bank of first deposit that data transmitted to the bank is adequate and 
transparent for the following regulatory requirements: 
 (a)  Certification as to Know Your Customer compliance 
pursuant to the Federal USA Patriot Act, Public Law 107-56. 
 (b)  Certification as to due diligence pursuant to the Federal 
Department of Treasury, Financial Crimes Enforcement Network 
(FinCEN) guidance given in FIN-2014-G001, "BSA Expectations 
Regarding Marijuana-Related Businesses," Issued February 14, 
2014[.]; and 
 (c)  Certification as to compliance with Suspicious Activity 
Report (SAR) and Currency Transaction Report (CTR) filings 
pursuant to the Federal Bank Secrecy Act. 
 (4)  A payment provider must provide certification and 
supporting documentation that Automated Clearing House (ACH) 
transactions are compliant with National Automated Clearing House 
Association Rules and Operating Guidelines. 
 (5)  The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards 
(PCI-DSS) comprise the security framework the Division of Finance 
will use to evaluate information security of payment provider 
solutions.  A payment provider must provide PCI-DSS assessments, 
as applicable, including: 
 (a)  PA-DSS certification for devices with a signature from 
a Payment Application Qualified Security Assessor (PA-QSA); and 
 (b)  PCI-DSS Report on Compliance or Attestation of 
Compliance with a signature from a Qualified Security Assessor 
(QSA) or Internal Security Assessor (ISA). 
 (6)  A payment provider facilitating cash transfers to a Utah 
MRB's Bank must: 
 (a)  certify that the payment provider supplies detailed 
records of cash transfers to Utah MRBs and their respective banks; 
 (b)  provide written policies and procedures that 
demonstrate that the payment provider adequately protects the safety 
of Utah MRB employees and the payment provider's drivers; and 
 (c)  certify that the payment provider supplies data 
sufficient for Suspicious Activity Report for cash transfers to bank of 
first deposit. 
 (7)  payment providers that use more than one processor 
must submit the required documentation and be compliant for all 
processors the Provider may utilize. 
 (8)  payment providers must adhere to the standards and 
rules established by the governing entity for the funds transfer 
system. 
 (9)  A payment provider will supply documentation, 
information, data, and a response to a written request for information 
that the Division of Finance perceives as necessary to ensure 
compliance. 
 
R25-21-4.  Approved Payment Providers. 
 (1)  A payment provider must submit evidence of 
compliance with Section R25-21-3 to the Department of Government 
Operations, Division of Finance for consideration for approval and 
on an annual basis thereafter. 

 (2)  A payment provider must notify the Division of 
Finance within 30 days of any changes in information reported for 
compliance to this rule.  If required, time to cure non-compliance will 
be assigned by the Division of Finance upon notification. 
 (3)  Failure to comply with [Subsection R25-21-4(2) ]the 
standards of Rule R25-21 will result in automatic removal from the 
approved payment provider list. 
 (4)  Any misrepresentation or incorrect information 
submitted by the Payment Provider either in the application for 
approval or other communication is grounds for termination of 
approval as a Payment Provider. 
 [(4)](5)  A payment provider that is removed from the 
approved payment provider list may appeal to the [d]Director of the 
Division of Finance for reinstatement subject to Rule R25-2. 
 [(5)](6)  A list of approved payment providers is available 
at finance.utah.gov/cannabispaymentproviders. 
 
KEY:  marijuana, medical cannabis, payment provider 
Date of Last Change:  2023[April 29, 2022] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-61a-
603(2)(a) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R27-1 Filing ID:  
55168 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Fleet Operations 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Cory Weeks 801-

957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gob 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R27-1.  Definitions 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
While completing an annual rule review, the Division of 
Fleet Operations determined that some definitions needed 
a modification. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule clarifies the definition of employee at the request 
of the Department of Corrections.  The changes also 
remove requirements that do not belong in definitions.  
Those statements have been moved to the appropriate 
rule under Title R27. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Because definitions were only modified without changing 
functionality, there are no anticipated costs or savings. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Because definitions were only modified without changing 
functionality, there are no anticipated costs or savings. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Because definitions were only modified without changing 
functionality, there are no anticipated costs or savings. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Because definitions were only modified without changing 
functionality, there are no anticipated costs or savings. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Because definitions were only modified without changing 
functionality, there are no anticipated costs or savings. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Because definitions were only modified without changing 
functionality, there are no anticipated costs or savings. 
 

G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has no comments and has 
reviewed and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63A-9-401(1)(d) 
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Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Cory Weeks,  
Director 

Date: 12/19/2022 

 
R27.  Government Operations, Fleet Operations. 
R27-1.  Definitions. 
R27-1-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is established pursuant to Subsection 63A-9-
401(1)(d), which requires the division to create rules governing 
procedures and policies used for managing the state's vehicle fleet. 
 
R27-1-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The following terms are defined for use under Title 
R27. 
 (a)  "Accident" means any mishap in which a state vehicle 
is involved, which results in harm or injury to persons, or damage to 
property, regardless of fault, total cost of treatments, or repairs. 
 (b)  "Agency" has the same meaning as provided in 
Subsections 63A-9-101(1)(a), (b), and (c). 
 (c)  "Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV)" means a vehicle 
designed and manufactured by an original equipment manufacturer 
to operate on one or more fuels other than traditional gasoline or 
diesel fuel.  Examples of alternative fuels include electricity, bio[-
]diesel, compressed natural gas, propane, hydrogen, methanol, 
ethanol, and any other vehicle fuel source approved by the federal 
government's Department of Energy (DOE). 
 (d)  "Authorized Driver" means any agency employee who 
has been identified as having the authority, within their scope of 
employment, to operate a state vehicle on the agency's behalf.  An 
authorized driver shall hold a valid driver license and shall 
successfully complete the specific authorized driver training and 
other criteria required by the division, Risk Management, and the 
employing agency for the vehicle type that will be operated.  An 
authorized driver may also be referred to as operator, driver, 
employee, or customer. 
 (e)  "Authorized Passenger" means any state employee 
acting within the scope of their employment, or any other person or 
animal whose transport is either necessary for the performance of the 
authorized driver's or passenger's employment duties[,] or has been 
pre-approved by the agency head to accompany an authorized driver 
or passenger. 
 (f)  "Capital Lease Vehicle" means any vehicle with a lease 
designed to recover the vehicle cost.  The division also charges rates 
for administrative costs.  Maintenance, repair, and safety recalls costs 

are the responsibility of the agency that leases the vehicle from the 
division.  Capital leases are subject to division approval. 
 (g)  "Citizen Complaint" means a complaint reported by a 
citizen to the division. 
 (h)  "Commute Use" means use of a state vehicle by an 
employee driving between the employee's residence and the 
employee's assigned work location more than one calendar day per 
month.  Commute use is subject to the Commuting Rule as outlined 
in 26 CFR 1.61-21. 
 (i)  "Department" means the Department of Government 
Operations. 
 (j)  "Division" means the Division of Fleet Operations. 
 (k)  "Driver Eligibility Board" means the panel formed [for 
the purpose of ]to determine[ing] an authorized driver's state vehicle 
driving privileges. 
 (l)  "Emergency Vehicle" means a state vehicle which is 
primarily used for providing law enforcement and public safety 
services, including fire services or emergency medical services. 
 (m)(i)  "Employee" includes: 
 (A)  a governmental entity's officers, employees, servants, 
trustees, or commissioners; 
 (B)  members of a governing body; 
 (C)  members of a governmental entity's board; 
 (D)  members of a governmental entity's commission; 
 (E)  members of an advisory body, officers, and employees 
of a Children's Justice Center; 
 (F)  student teachers holding a license issued by the State 
Board of Education; 
 (G)  educational aides; 
 (H)  students engaged in internships; 
 (I)  volunteers as defined by Subsection 67-20-2(3); and 
 (J)  tutors. 
 (ii)  "Employee" includes the positions identified in 
Subsection (m)(i) whether or not the individual holding that position 
receives compensation. 
 (iii)  "Employee" does not include an independent 
contractor. 
 (iv)  "Employee" does not include an individual serving in 
a correctional program. 
 (n)  "Expansion Vehicle" means an additional permanent 
vehicle requested by an agency.  The purchase of an expansion 
vehicle requires legislative approval. 
 (o)  "Feature" means any option or accessory that is 
available from the vehicle manufacturer. 
 (p)  "Full-[ ]Service Lease" means a type of lease designed 
to recover vehicles costs.  The division also charges rates to cover 
administrative costs, maintenance and repair costs, and other variable 
costs. 
 (q)  "Heavy-duty Vehicle" means any motor vehicle having 
a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) greater than 26,001 pounds. 
 (r)  "Light-duty Vehicle" means any motor vehicle having 
a GVWR of 10,000 pounds or less. 
 (s)  "Medium-duty Vehicle" means any motor vehicle 
having a GVWR of 10,001 to 26,000 pounds. 
 (t)  "Miscellaneous Equipment" means any equipment, 
enhancement, or accessory that is installed on or in a motor vehicle 
by persons other than the original vehicle manufacturer, and other 
non-fleet related equipment.  Includes light bars, 800 MHz radios, 
transits, surveying equipment, traffic counters, semaphores, and 
diagnostic-related equipment.[  Miscellaneous equipment shall be 
tracked in the division's fleet information system.] 
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 (u)  "Motor Pool" means a centrally located group of state 
vehicles that is made available to agencies for lease on a short-term 
basis. 
 (v)(i)  "Motor Vehicle" has the same meaning as provided 
in Subsection 63A-9-101(7). 
 (w)  "Motor Vehicle Review Committee (MVRC)" means 
the committee created under Section 63A-9-301. 
 (x)  "Moving Violation" means a breach of traffic laws 
which occurs while the driver's vehicle is in motion. 
 (y)  "Non-preventable Accident" means any occurrence 
involving a state vehicle which results in an accident in which 
everything that could have been reasonably done to prevent it was 
done and the accident still occurred.  Non-preventable accidents shall 
include vandalism of state vehicles being used to conduct state 
business. 
 (z)  "Non-road Vehicle" means a vehicle, regardless of 
GVWR, that is not licensed for on-road use.  Non-road vehicles 
include vehicles used principally for construction, golf carts, 
airplanes, farm tractors, snowmobiles, forklifts, off-highway 
vehicles, and boats. 
 (aa)  "Personal Use" means the use of a state vehicle to 
conduct an employee's personal affairs, not related to state business. 
 (bb)  "Preventable Accident" means any occurrence 
involving a state vehicle, which results in property damage or 
personal injury, regardless of who was injured, what property was 
damaged, to what extent, or where it occurred, in which the 
authorized driver in question failed to do everything that could have 
reasonably been done to prevent it. 
 (i)  Preventable accidents are not limited to collisions. 
 (ii)  Preventable accidents include damage to the interior of 
the state vehicle due to improperly locked doors, smoke or burn 
damage caused by smoking in the vehicle, or lack of general care of 
the vehicle's interior. 
 (cc)  "Preventive Maintenance (PM)" means vehicle 
services conducted at regular time intervals to deter mechanical 
breakdowns, including lube, oil, and filter changes. 
 (dd)  "Replacement Cycle" means the criteria established 
by the division to determine when the replacement of a state vehicle 
is necessary. 
 (ee)  "Replacement Vehicle" means a vehicle purchased to 
replace a state vehicle that has met replacement cycle criteria. 
 (ff)  "SSFV" means a "Standard State Fleet Vehicle," which 
is the vehicle designated by the division as the default replacement 
vehicle for the state fleet. 
 (gg)  "State Fuel Network" means the state program that 
provides an infrastructure for fueling state vehicles. 
 (hh)  "State of Utah Fuel Card" means a purchase card 
assigned to a vehicle person or other motorized equipment by the 
State Fuel Network program, to be used when purchasing fuel.[  
Fluids and minor miscellaneous items that may also be purchased 
with the fuel card cannot exceed the monthly monetary limits placed 
on such purchases by the division unless otherwise authorized.] 
 (ii)  "State Vehicle" means each motor vehicle owned, 
operated, or in the possession of an agency, also to include any 
vehicle procured with state funds for state business such as a rental 
vehicle. 
 (jj)  "Take-home Use" means use of a state vehicle by an 
employee driving a state vehicle between the employee's place of 
residence and the employee's assigned work location more than one 
calendar day per month.  Take-home use is exempt from the 
Commuting Rule as outlined in 26 CFR 1.61-21. 

 (kk)  "Variable Costs" means costs including, fuel, oil, tires, 
services, repairs, maintenance, and PM. 
 (ll)  "Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)" means the 
number issued by the vehicle manufacturer to identify the vehicle in 
the event of a theft. This number can be found on the driver's side of 
the dashboard below the windshield. 
 (mm)  "Vendor" means any third party[person] offering 
sales or services for state vehicles, such as PM or repair services. 
 
KEY:  definitions 
Date of Last Change:  [August 15, 2022]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  October 20, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-9-401 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R27-3 Filing ID:  
55169 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Fleet Operations 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Cory Weeks 801-

957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gob 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R27-3.  Vehicle Use Standards 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This filing largely cleans up language and organization.  
The change to Section R27-3-6 enables the Division of 
Fleet Operations to reduce administrative burden on 
agency customers. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This filing clarifies this rule.  It allows agencies applying to 
authorize taking home state vehicles to have an easier 
process for managing this information. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This change will have an inestimable savings to state 
agencies due to time and effort saved in completing 
training and tracking. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule does not impact local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not impact small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not impact non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not impact other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No compliance costs are anticipated. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has no comments and has 
reviewed and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63A-9-401(1)(d) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Cory Weeks,  
Director 

Date: 12/19/2022 

 
R27.  Government Operations, Fleet Operations. 
R27-3.  Vehicle Use Standards. 
R27-3-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is established pursuant to Subsection 63A-9-
401(1)(d), which authorizes the division to establish the requirements 
for the use of state vehicles, including business and personal use 
practices, and commute standards. 
 (2)  This rule defines the vehicle use standards for state 
employees while operating a state vehicle. 
 
R27-3-2.  Agency Contact. 
 (1)  Each agency shall appoint and designate, in writing to 
the division, a main contact person from within the agency to act as 
a liaison between the division and the agency. 
 
R27-3-3.  Agency Authorization of Drivers. 
 (1)  Agencies authorized to enter information into the 
division's fleet information system shall enter the agency's authorized 
driver information into the division's fleet information system, to 
include the following: 
 (a)  driver's name; 
 (b)  driver license number; 
 (c)  state that issued the driver license; 
 (d)  each Risk Management-approved driver training 
program taken; 
 (e)  date each driver training program was completed; 
 (f)  the type of vehicle used for each training program. 
 (2)  Agencies without authorization to enter information 
into the division's fleet information system shall provide the 
information required in Subsection R27-3-3(1) to the division for 
entry into the division's fleet information system. 
 (3)  Any employee whose fleet information system record 
does not have all[ of] the information required in Subsection R27-3-
3(1) shall be deemed unauthorized to drive state vehicles. 
 (4)  To operate a state vehicle, authorized drivers whose 
names have been entered into the division's fleet information system 
shall have: 
 (a)  a valid driver license for the class of vehicle being 
operated; and 
 (b)  completed an approved driver training course as 
required by the Division of Risk Management for the class of vehicle 
being operated. 
 (5)  Agencies shall develop and establish procedures to 
prevent driving for business by [ensure that ]any employee that does 
not meet the qualifications of an authorized driver as defined in this 
rule.[listed as an authorized driver is not allowed to operate a state 
vehicle when the employee:] 
[ (a)  does not have a valid driver license for the class of 
vehicle being operated; or 
 (b)  has not completed all training programs required by 
either the division or the Division of Risk Management for the class 
of vehicle being operated.] 
 (6)  The division shall conduct a Utah driver license 
verification check on a regular basis to verify the validity of the driver 
license of each authorized driver whose name appears in the 
division's fleet information system.  The agency is responsible for 

verifying the license of an authorized driver with a driver license 
issued outside of Utah. 
 (7)  If an authorized driver is found not to have a valid 
driver license, the division shall notify the agency within three 
business days of the results of the driver license verification check. 
 (8)  Any employee whose driver license has become invalid 
shall have their authorized state vehicle driving privileges 
immediately withdrawn. 
 (9)  Any authorized driver who has an invalid driver license 
shall not have the authority to operate a state vehicle reinstated until 
the authorized driver provides proof to the division that their driver 
license is once again valid. 
 (10)  Authorized drivers shall operate a state vehicle in 
accordance with the restrictions or limitations imposed upon their 
driver license. 
 (11)  Agencies shall comply with the requirements set forth 
in Subsection R37-1-8 (9). 
 (12)  If an agency has only approved driving a non-road 
vehicle, the driver does not need to be an authorized driver under this 
rule. 
 
R27-3-4.  Authorized and Unauthorized Use of State Vehicles. 
[ (1)  State vehicles shall only be used for official state 
business.] 
 ([4]1)  Unless otherwise authorized by the agency head, the 
following are examples of the unauthorized use of a state vehicle: 
 (a)  transporting family, friends, pets, associates, or other 
persons who are not state employees or are not serving the interests 
of the state; 
 (b)  transporting hitchhikers; 
 (c)  transporting acids, explosives, hazardous materials, 
flammable materials, [and ]weapons, [and]or ammunition except as 
authorized by federal or state laws.  Otherwise, the transport of the 
[above-referenced]these items or materials is authorized when it is 
specifically related to employment duties; 
 (d)  extending the length of time that the state vehicle is in 
the operator's possession beyond the time needed to complete the 
official purposes of the trip; 
 (e)  operating a state vehicle for personal use [as defined in 
Subsection R27-1-2(37).  E]except [for approved personal uses ]as 
set forth in in this rule;[Section R27-3-5 and ] 
 (f)  except as [when] necessary for the performance of 
employment duties, the use of a state vehicle for activities such as 
shopping, participating in sporting events, hunting, or fishing[, or any 
activity that is not included in the employee's job description,] is not 
authorized; and 
 (f)  using a state vehicle for personal convenience, such as 
when a personal vehicle is not operational. 
 ([5]2)  Pursuant to Section R27-7-3, the unauthorized use 
of a state vehicle may result in the suspension or revocation of state 
driving privileges. 
 ([2]3)  Except in cases where it is customary to travel out 
of state to perform an employee's regular employment duties and 
responsibilities, the use of a state vehicle outside of the state shall 
[require the approval of the authorized driver's agency head]be 
included in the description of out-of-state travel requests. 
 ([3]4)  [The use of a s]State vehicle use for travel outside 
of the continental United States shall be included in the travel plan 
description and approval required for non-CONUS travel.[require the 
approval of the director of the employing department, the director of 
the division, the director of the Division of Risk Management and the 
governor's chief of staff.  Approvals must be obtained at least 30 days 
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prior to the departure date.]  The employing agency shall, [prior 
to]before the departure date, provide the division and the Division of 
Risk Management with proof that proper automotive insurance has 
been obtained.  The employing agency shall be responsible for any 
damage to vehicles operated outside of the United States regardless 
of fault. 
 (5)  Under no circumstances shall the total number of 
occupants exceed the maximum number of passengers recommended 
by the manufacturer or the Division of Rick Management. 
 
R27-3-5.  Personal Use Standards. 
 (1)  Except as described in this rule, [P]personal use of state 
vehicles requires statutory authorization[is not allowed without the 
direct authorization of the Legislature]. 
 (2)  An employee or representative of the state spending at 
least one night on approved travel to conduct state business may use 
a state vehicle in the general vicinity of the overnight lodging for the 
following approved activities: 
 (a)  travel to and from restaurants and stores for meals, 
breaks, and personal needs; 
 (b)  travel to and from grooming, medical, fitness, or 
laundry facilities; and 
 (c)  travel to and from recreational activities, such as to 
theaters, parks, or to the home of friends or relatives, provided the 
employee or representative has received prior approval for such 
travel from their supervisor. 
[ (3)  Pursuant to Section R27-7-3, the unauthorized personal 
use of a state vehicle may result in the suspension or revocation of 
state driving privileges.] 
 
R27-3-6.  Application for Commute or Take-Home Use. 
 (1)  Each petitioning agency shall be responsible for 
submitting names and applicable information to the division for 
authorized drivers granted commute or take-home privileges along 
with proof of the agency executive director's or designee's approval. 
 (2)  The division shall enter the approved commute or take-
home use request into the fleet information system and shall make 
the assigned identification number available to both the driver and 
the agency. 
[ (3)  Approvals for commute or take-home use privileges 
shall expire at the end of the calendar year for which they were 
issued.] 
 ([4]3)  Agencies are responsible for notifying the division 
when adjustments to approvals need to be made, including 
terminations and reassignments. 
 
R27-3-7.  Criteria for Commute or Take-Home Use Approval. 
 (1)  An agency executive director or designee may approve 
commute or take-home use when one or more of the following 
conditions exist: 
 (a)  ["]24-hour On-call Emergency.["] When the agency 
clearly demonstrates that the nature of a potential emergency is such 
that an increase in response time, if a commute or take-home use 
privilege is not authorized, could endanger a human life or cause 
significant property damage.  Each driver [is required to]shall keep a 
complete list of call[-]outs.  The authorized driver shall create and 
maintain a trip log beginning with the first trip of the day and ending 
with the last trip of the day for commute use vehicles.  The trip log 
must contain at least the starting and ending points of the commute; 
 (b)  Virtual Office.  When the agency clearly demonstrates 
that an employee is required to work out of a vehicle a minimum of 

80% of the time and the assigned vehicle is required to perform the 
critical duties assigned to the employee; 
 (c)  Practicality.  When the agency clearly demonstrates that 
it is more practical for the employee to go directly to an alternate 
work site rather than report to a specific office to pick up a state 
vehicle; 
 (d)  Compensation Vehicle.  When a vehicle is provided to 
appointed or elected government officials who are specifically 
allowed by law to have an assigned vehicle as part of their 
compensation package. 
 
R27-3-8.  Exemptions from IRS-Imputed Daily Fringe Benefits. 
 (1)  Commute use is considered a taxable fringe benefit as 
outlined in 26 CFR 1.61-21.  Approved commute use drivers shall be 
assessed the IRS-imputed daily fringe benefit rate while using a state 
vehicle for commute use.  The division shall notify the Division of 
Finance of this authorization.  The Division of Finance shall then 
enter the authorized driver's commute fringe benefit into the payroll 
system. 
 (2)  Exemptions from the Commuting Rule for take-home 
use must be in accordance with 26 CFR 1.61-21 and must be 
approved by the employing agency.  Any agency with an exemption 
to the Commuting Rule must maintain a file justifying the exemption 
and must be prepared to explain the agency's position in the case of 
an IRS audit. 
 
R27-3-9.  Enforcement of Commute, Take-Home, and Personal 
Use Standards. 
 (1)  Agencies with drivers who have been granted 
commute, take-home, or personal use privileges shall establish 
internal policies to enforce the commute, take-home, and personal 
use standards established in this rule, in IRS internal revenue 
bulletins, and in 26 CFR 1.61-21.  Agencies shall not adopt policies 
that are less stringent than the standards established in this rule. 
 (2)  Agencies are responsible for keeping appropriate 
records, including call out and trip logs where applicable. 
 (3)  Commute, take-home, or personal use that is 
unauthorized shall result in the suspension or revocation of the 
commute, take-home, or personal use privilege by the agency.  
Additional instances of unauthorized commute or take-home use may 
result in the suspension or revocation of the state driving privilege by 
the agency. 
 
R27-3-10.  Use Requirements for Monthly Lease Vehicles. 
 (1)  Agencies that lease state vehicles from the division on 
a monthly basis shall: 
 (a)  ensure that only authorized drivers operate the vehicles; 
 (b)  report the correct odometer reading when refueling the 
vehicle.  If an incorrect odometer reading is reported, agencies may 
be assessed a fee when[ever] the agency fails to correct the mileage 
within three business days of the agency's receipt of the notification 
that the incorrect mileage was reported.  When circumstances 
indicate that there was an intentional falsification of the vehicle's 
actual odometer reading at the time of refueling, a fee may be 
assessed to the agency even if the agency corrected the error; 
 (c)  return the vehicle to the division in good repair and in 
clean condition at the completion of the replacement cycle period or 
when the agency and the division have agreed to return the vehicle 
for replacement, reassignment, or reallocation; 
 (i)  Agencies shall be assessed the total cost of the detailing 
fee for returned vehicles that need extensive cleaning; and 
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 (ii)  Agencies shall pay the insurance deductible associated 
with repairs made to a vehicle that has been damaged. 
 (d)  return the vehicle unaltered and in conformance with 
the manufacturer's specifications with the exception of agencies 
whose jobs require altering of the vehicle.  The agency and the 
division will come to a written agreement as to which alterations can 
be made to the division's vehicles; 
 (e)  pay the applicable insurance deductible if a monthly 
lease vehicle in their possession or control is involved in an accident; 
 (f)  not place advertising or bumper stickers on state 
vehicles without prior approval of the division. 
 (2)  Section R27-4-9 shall govern agencies when requesting 
a monthly lease. 
[ (3)  Under no circumstances shall the total number of 
occupants in a monthly lease full-size passenger van exceed the 
maximum number of occupants recommended by the manufacturer 
or the Division of Risk Management.] 
 
R27-3-11.  Use Requirements for Daily Motor Pool Vehicles. 
 (1)  The division, at select locations, offers state vehicles 
for use on a daily basis at an approved daily rental rate.  Authorized 
drivers renting a state vehicle offered through the daily pool shall: 
 (a)  read and obey any instructions provided by the division, 
containing information regarding the use and rental of the vehicle; 
 (b)  verify the current condition of the rental vehicle and 
notify the division of any current damages and any damages that 
occur during the rental period; 
 (c)  report the correct odometer reading when refueling the 
vehicle at authorized refueling sites, and when the vehicle is returned.  
If an incorrect odometer reading is reported, agencies may be 
assessed a fee when[ever] the agency fails to correct the mileage 
within three business days of the agency's receipt of the notification 
that the incorrect mileage was reported.  When circumstances 
indicate that there was an intentional falsification of the vehicle's 
actual odometer reading at the time of refueling, a fee may be 
assessed to the agency even if the agency corrected the error; 
 (d)  return vehicles with a full tank of fuel and if the vehicle 
has a plug-in charge, begin the charge cycle.  Agencies shall be 
assessed a fee for vehicles that are returned with less than a full tank 
of fuel; 
 (e)  return rental vehicles in good repair and in clean 
condition; 
 (i)  agencies shall be assessed a detailing fee for returned 
vehicles that need extensive cleaning; and 
 (ii)  notify the division if[agencies shall pay the insurance 
deductible associated with repairs made to] a vehicle [that ]is 
damaged[ when returned]. 
 (f)  call to extend the reservation if they need to keep rental 
vehicles longer than scheduled.  Agencies shall be assessed a late fee, 
in addition to applicable daily rental fees, for vehicles that are not 
returned on time; 
 (g)  use their best efforts to return rented vehicles during 
regular office hours.  Agencies may be assessed a late fee equal to 
one day's rental for vehicles that are not returned on time; 
 (h)  call the daily pool location, at least one hour before the 
scheduled pick-up time, to cancel the reservation.  Agencies shall be 
assessed a fee for any unused reservation that has not been canceled; 
 (i)  not place advertising or bumper stickers on state 
vehicles without prior approval from the division. 
 (2)  The vehicle shall be inspected upon its return.  The 
agency shall either be held responsible for any damages not 

acknowledged [prior to]before rental, or any applicable insurance 
deductibles associated with any repairs to the vehicle. 
 (3)  Agencies are responsible for paying applicable 
insurance deductibles when[ever] a vehicle operated by an authorized 
driver is involved in an accident. 
 (4)  The division shall hold items left in daily rental 
vehicles for ten days.  Items not retrieved within the ten-day period 
shall be turned over to the State Surplus Property Program for sale or 
disposal. 
 
[R27-3-12.  Lease criteria for Daily Motor Pool Sedans, Four-
Wheel-Drive Sport Utility Vehicles (4x4 SUVs), Cargo Vans, 
Multi-Passenger Vans, and Alternative Fuel Vehicles. 
 (1)  The SSFV is a compact sedan, which shall be the 
vehicle type most commonly used when conducting state business. 
 (2)  Requests for vehicles other than a compact sedan may 
be honored in instances where the agency or driver is able to identify 
a specific need in accordance with Subsection R27-4-4(4). 
 (a)  Requests for a 4x4 SUV may be granted with written 
approval from an employee's supervisor; and 
 (b)  requests for full-size passenger vans may be granted if 
the driver is going to be transporting more than six authorized 
passengers.  Under no circumstances shall the total number of 
occupants exceed the maximum number of passengers recommended 
by the manufacturer or the Division of Risk Management. 
 (3)  Cargo vans shall be used to transport cargo only.  
Passengers shall not be transported in the cargo area. 
 (4)  Alternative fuel shall be, when practical, the primary 
fuel used when driving a bi-fuel or dual-fuel state vehicle.] 
 
R27-3-[13]12.  Alcohol and Drugs. 
 (1)  While under the influence or with any detectable 
amount of alcohol, illegal drugs, or impairment from legal 
medication in their body, no authorized driver shall operate or be in 
actual physical control of a state vehicle. 
 (2)  No operator of a state vehicle shall transport alcohol or 
illegal drugs of any type in a state vehicle unless they are: 
 (a)  a law enforcement officer, as defined in Section 53-13-
103, in the process of investigating criminal activities; 
 (b)  an employee of the Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control conducting business within the guidelines of their daily 
operations; or 
 (c)  an investigator for the Department of Commerce in the 
process of enforcing Title 58, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled 
Substances Act. 
 (3)  Except as provided in Subsection R27-3-13(2), any 
authorized driver who uses a state vehicle for the transportation of 
alcohol or drugs may have their state driving privileges withdrawn, 
suspended, or revoked. 
 
R27-3-[14]13.  Violations of Motor Vehicle Laws. 
 (1)  Authorized drivers shall obey motor vehicle laws while 
operating a state vehicle. 
[ (2)  Any authorized driver who, while operating a state 
vehicle, receives a citation for violating a motor vehicle law shall 
immediately report the receipt of the citation to their respective 
supervisor.  Failure to report the receipt of a citation may result in the 
withdrawal, suspension, or revocation of state driving privileges.] 
[ (3)  Any authorized driver who receives a citation for 
violating a motor vehicle law while operating a state vehicle shall 
attend an additional Risk Management-approved mandatory 
defensive driver training program.  Failure to attend the additional 
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mandatory defensive driver training program shall result in the loss 
of state driving privileges.] 
 ([4]2)  Any authorized driver who receives a citation for a 
violation of motor vehicle laws shall be personally responsible for 
paying fines associated with citations.  Failure to pay fines associated 
with citations for the violation of motor vehicle laws shall result in 
the loss of state driving privileges. 
[ (5)  Any employee on the list of authorized drivers who is 
convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI), 
reckless driving, or any felony in which a motor vehicle is used, 
either on or off duty, and whether in the state vehicle or their personal 
vehicle, may have their state driving privileges withdrawn, 
suspended, or revoked.] 
 
R27-3-[15]14.  Seat Restraint Use. 
 (1)  Authorized drivers and passengers in state vehicles 
shall wear seat belt restraints while in the vehicle. 
 (2)  Children being transported in state vehicles shall be 
placed in proper safety restraints for their age and size as stated in 
Section 41-6a-1803. 
 
[R27-3-16.  Driver Training. 
 (1)  An authorized driver shall, prior to the use of a state 
vehicle, complete all training required by the Division of Risk 
Management, including the defensive driver training program offered 
through the Division of Risk Management or an approved equivalent. 
 (2)  Each agency shall coordinate with the Division of Risk 
Management to provide specialty training for vehicles known to 
possess unique safety concerns. 
 (3)  Each agency shall require that employees possess a 
valid driver license to operate a state vehicle, or their own vehicles, 
on state business as an essential function of the job. 
 (4)  Agencies shall maintain a list of employees who have 
completed the training courses required by the division, the Division 
of Risk Management, and their respective agency. 
 (5)  Employees operating state vehicles must have the 
correct license and any special endorsements required for the vehicle 
they are operating.] 
 
R27-3-[17]15.  Smoking in State Vehicles. 
 [(1)  ]State vehicles are designated as "nonsmoking."[.]  
Agencies shall be assessed fees for any damage and detailing costs 
incurred as a result of smoking in vehicles. 
 
KEY:  state vehicle use 
Date of Last Change:  [November 25, 2021]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  October 20, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-9-
401(1)(d) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R27-4 Filing ID:  
55170 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Fleet Operations 
Room number: Third Floor 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Cory Weeks 801-

957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.go 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R27-4.  Vehicle Replacement and Expansion of State 
Fleet 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this filing is to simplify rules and reduce 
administrative burden on customers, and give the Division 
of Fleet Operations and its customers more flexibility in 
acquiring fleet vehicles. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Simplifies complex rule requirements, removes 
requirements that have been cumbersome, and adds rules 
aimed to improve air quality. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These changes will result in an inestimable savings to the 
state budget because agencies will have more flexibility to 
adjust to changing circumstances and will be better 
positioned to respond to the needs that arise in their 
programs. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule does not impact local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not impact small businesses. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not impact non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not impact other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No compliance costs are anticipated. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has no comments and has 
reviewed and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63A-9-401(5) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Cory Weeks,  
Director 

Date: 12/19/2022 

 
R27.  Government Operations, Fleet Operations. 
R27-4.  Vehicle Replacement and Expansion of State Fleet. 
R27-4-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 [(1)  ]This rule is established pursuant to Subsection 63A-
9-401(5). 
[ (2)  All agencies exempted from the division's replacement 
program shall provide the division with a complete list of intended 
state vehicle purchases before placing the order with the vendor. 
 (3)  The division shall work with each agency to coordinate 
vehicle purchases to ensure all applicable mandates are met. 
 (4)  The division shall assist agencies, including agencies 
exempted from the division's replacement program, in their efforts to 
ensure that all vehicles in the possession, control, and ownership of 
agencies are entered into the fleet information system. 
 (5)  Pursuant to Subsections 63J-1-410(8)(f)(ii),(iii), and 
(iv), vehicles acquired by agencies, or monies appropriated to 
agencies for vehicle purchases, may be transferred to the division 
and, when transferred, become part of the Fleet Internal Service 
Fund.] 
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R27-4-2.  Fleet Standards. 
[ (1)  Before purchasing replacement and legislatively 
approved expansion vehicles for each fiscal year, the division's staff 
shall, on the basis of input from user agencies, recommend to the 
division: 
 (a)  an SSFV; and 
 (b)  a standard replacement vehicle and the features and 
miscellaneous equipment to be included in said vehicle for each 
vehicle class in the fleet. 
 (2)  The division shall, after reviewing the 
recommendations made by the agency's staff, determine and 
establish, for each fiscal year: 
 (a)  an SSFV; 
 (b)  a standard replacement vehicle, along with included 
features and miscellaneous equipment for each vehicle class in the 
fleet; 
 (3)  The division shall establish lease rates designed to 
recover, in addition to overhead and variable costs, the capital cost of 
each state vehicle. 
 (4)  The division shall establish replacement cycles for state 
vehicles.  The replacement cycles shall be based on vehicle time in 
service.  Factors including a vehicle's intended use, agreements with 
an agency, and the intended miles per year may be used in 
determining the appropriate time in service.  Vehicles may be 
replaced subject to negotiations with the agency, regardless of 
whether the time in service criterion is met.] 
 (1)  The division shall ensure that the state can obtain 
optimal utilization of, and the greatest residual value for all state 
vehicles 
 (2)  The division shall review agency motor vehicle 
utilization on an annual basis to identify state vehicles that, on the 
basis of the applicable replacement cycle, are either being under or 
over utilized. 
 (3)  The division shall provide the results of the motor 
vehicle utilization review to each agency for use in agency efforts to 
ensure full utilization of all state vehicles. 
 (4)  The division shall establish replacement cycles for state 
vehicles. The replacement cycles shall be based on vehicle time in 
service. 
 (a)  Factors including a vehicle's intended use, agreements 
with an agency, and the intended miles per year may be used in 
determining the appropriate time in service. 
 (b)  Vehicles may be replaced subject to negotiations with 
the agency, regardless of whether the time in service is met. 
 (5)  If a vehicle is turned in for replacement as scheduled 
but did not reach mileage intended under the applicable replacement 
cycle, the division shall conduct a utilization review of that agency's 
fleet to ensure the vehicle is needed. The review may result in the 
vehicle being: 
 (a)  replaced with a new vehicle; 
 (b)  sold; or 
 (c)  repurposed within the division's fleet. 
 (6)  Pursuant to Subsections 63J-I-410(8)(f)(ii), (iii), and 
(iv), vehicles acquired by agencies, or monies appropriated to 
agencies for vehicle purchases, may be transferred to the division 
and, when transferred, become part of the Fleet Internal Services 
Fund. 
 (7)  An agency may transfer vehicles throughout its agency 
as needs change. 
 (8)  Vehicles that are used exclusively in education for the 
purposes of teaching automotive technology or developing and 

testing new automotive technologies are outside the scope of this 
rule. 
 (9)  The SSFV is a compact sedan, which shall be the 
vehicle type most commonly used when conducting state business. 
When adequate infrastructure is available, the SSFV will be an AFV. 
 
R27-4-3.  Vehicle Acquisition Criteria.[Delegation of Division 
Duties.] 
 (1)  All state vehicles shall, subject to budgetary or market 
constraints, be replaced in accordance with the established 
replacement cycle for that vehicle, unless the division and the leasing 
agency agree to other terms. 
 (2)  Before purchasing expansion or replacement vehicles, 
the division shall provide each agency contact with a list identifying 
any underutilized vehicles within their fleet, all vehicles that are due 
for replacement, and the SSFV that will be purchased to take the 
place of each vehicle that is on the list as due for replacement. 
 (3)  The division shall work with the agency to determine 
the appropriate vehicle to purchase. 
 (4)  Agencies may request a non-SSFV only if one or more 
of the following justifications are cited: 
 (a)  passenger space; 
 (b)  type of items carried; 
 (c)  hauling or towing capacity; 
 (d)  police pursuit capacity; 
 (e)  off-road capacity; 
 (f)  4x4 capacity; 
 (g)  emergency service capacity; 
 (h)  attached equipment capacity; 
 (i)  average driving range; or 
 (j)  other justifications as approved by the division director 
or designee. 
 (5)  If a non-SSFV is replaced, it will be replaced with a 
non-SSFV matching the specification of the prior vehicle unless the 
agency requests a change. 
 (6)  Agencies may petition the executive director of the 
department, or the executive director's designee, for a review if the 
division director or designee denies a request to replace a state 
vehicle with a non-SSFV. 
 (7)  Where practical, an AFV will be purchased for use in 
the state fleet. 
 (a)  The division is responsible for ensuring that the state 
fleet complies with federal AFV and Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) mandates. 
 (b)  The division may require that a certain number of 
vehicles, regardless of the requesting agency, be alternative fuel 
vehicles to ensure compliance with these mandates. 
 (8)  All agencies exempted from the division's replacement 
program shall provide the division with a complete list of intended 
state vehicle purchases before placing the order with the vendor. 
 (1)  With the approval of the executive director of the 
department, the division may delegate state vehicle procurement and 
disposal functions to institutions of higher education by contract or 
other means authorized by law, provided that: 
 (a)  the funding for the procurement of state vehicles that 
are subject to the agreement comes from funding sources other than 
state appropriations, or the vehicle is procured through the federal 
surplus property donation program; 
 (b)  state vehicles acquired with funding from sources other 
than state appropriations or acquired through the federal surplus 
property donation program may be transferred to the division and, 
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when transferred, become part of the division's Internal Service Fund; 
and 
 (c)  if the institution of higher education is unable to comply 
with (b), the institution warrants that it shall not use state 
appropriations to procure replacements without legislative approval. 
 (2)  Agreements between the division and the institution of 
higher education shall, at a minimum, contain: 
 (a)  a precise definition of each delegated duty or function; 
 (b)  a clear description of the standards to be met in 
performing each delegated duty or function; 
 (c)  a provision for periodic administrative audits by either 
the division or the department; 
 (d)  a representation by the institution of higher education 
that the procurement or disposal of state vehicles that are the subject 
matter of the agreement shall be coordinated with the division.  The 
institution of higher education shall, at the request of the division, 
provide the division with a list of all conventional fuel and alternative 
fuel vehicles it anticipates to procure or dispose of in the coming year.  
Alternative fuel vehicles shall be purchased by the agency or 
institution of higher education, when necessary, to ensure state 
compliance with United States Department of Energy Alternative 
Fuel Vehicle (AFV) mandates; 
 (e)  a representation by the institution of higher education 
that the purchase price is less than or equal to the state contract price 
for the make and model being purchased; 
 (f)  a representation that the agreement is subject to Section 
63J-1-410, Internal Service Funds - Governance and Review; 
 (g)  a representation by the institution of higher education 
that it shall enter into the division's fleet information system all 
information that would be otherwise required for state vehicles 
owned, leased, operated or in the possession of the institution of 
higher education; 
 (h)  a representation by the institution of higher education 
that it shall follow state surplus rules, policies and procedures 
regarding related parties, conflict of interest, vehicle pricing, 
retention, sales, and negotiations; and 
 (i)  a date on which the agreement shall terminate if the 
agreement has not been previously terminated or renewed. 
 (3)  The division may terminate an agreement if the results 
of administrative audits conducted by either the division or the 
department reveal that the institution did not comply with the terms 
of the agreement.] 
 
R27-4-4.  Vehicle Replacement. 
[ (1)  All state vehicles shall, subject to budgetary 
constraints, be replaced in accordance with the established 
replacement cycle for that vehicle, unless the division and the leasing 
agency agree to other terms. 
 (2)  Prior to purchasing replacement vehicles, the division 
shall provide each agency contact with a list identifying any 
underutilized vehicles within their fleet, all vehicles that are due for 
replacement, and the SSFV that will be purchased to take the place 
of each vehicle that is on the list as due for replacement. 
 (3)  Agencies may request a non-SSFV only if one or more 
of the following justifications are cited: 
 (a)  passenger space; 
 (b)  type of items carried; 
 (c)  hauling or towing capacity; 
 (d)  police pursuit capacity; 
 (e)  off-road capacity; 
 (f)  4x4 capacity; 
 (g)  emergency service capacity; 

 (h)  attached equipment capacity; or 
 (i)  other justifications as approved by the division director 
or designee. 
 (4)  Agencies may petition the executive director of the 
department, or the executive director's designee, for a review if the 
division director or designee denies a request to replace a state 
vehicle with a non-SSFV.] 
 ([5]1)  Agencies may request replacement of vehicles with 
a history of excessive repairs.  A request to replace vehicles with a 
history of excessive repairs is subject to budgetary constraints and 
the approval of the division director or their designee. 
 ([6]2)  Agencies may petition the department's executive 
director, or the executive director's designee, for a review if the 
division director or their designee denies a request for the 
replacement of state vehicles with a history of excessive repairs. 
 ([7]3)  [If the vendor does not deliver the replacement 
vehicle to the agency, the agency shall have five working days to pick 
up the replacement vehicle from the division, after receiving official 
notification of its availability.  If the vehicles involved are not 
exchanged within the five-day period, a daily storage fee will be 
assessed and the agency will be charged the monthly lease fee for 
both vehicles]The division and agency shall coordinate timely 
exchange of vehicles upon delivery of a new vehicle. 
[ (8)  The division is responsible for ensuring that the state 
fleet complies with federal AFV and Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) mandates. The division may require that a certain 
number of replacement vehicles, regardless of the requesting agency, 
be alternative fuel vehicles to ensure compliance with these 
mandates.] 
 (4)  Agencies that have a need to keep an already replaced 
vehicles are to inform the division in writing of this need. The 
division shall offer a Memorandum of Understanding to the agency 
to allow the agency to continue to lease the already replaced vehicle 
for an agreed upon term, typically 18 months. When the term expires, 
the vehicle must be returned to the division for disposal. 
 (5)(a)  If the requesting agency receives legislative 
approval for placing a do not replace vehicle on a replacement cycle, 
the requesting agency shall provide the division with proof of 
approval. 
 (b)  In no event shall the division purchase a replacement 
for the do not replace vehicle if the requesting agency fails to provide 
funds necessary to cover the depreciation costs. 
 
R27-4-5.  Fleet Expansion. 
 (1)  Any expansion of the state fleet requires legislative 
approval. 
 (2)  Before seeking legislative approval, Agency must 
contact division to discuss available options. 
 ([2]3)  Agencies shall provide proof to the division of the 
requisite legislative approval and funding for any requests to 
purchase a vehicle which will expand the state fleet, or for any 
requests to place ["]do not replace["] vehicles on a replacement cycle.  
An agency shall be deemed to have the requisite legislative approval 
for purchasing expansion vehicles or for placing ["]do not replace["] 
vehicles on a replacement cycle only if these actions are explicitly 
authorized by the Legislature.[Executive Appropriations Committee] 
 ([3]4)  The following constitute acceptable proof of 
[l]Legislative approval of the requested expansion or placement of a 
["]do not replace["] vehicle on a replacement cycle: 
 (a)  written communication with the agency confirming 
authorization and citing the specific line item in the appropriations 
bill providing said authorization; 
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 (b)  written verification from the agency's analyst in the 
Governor's Office of Planning and Budget or the Legislative Fiscal 
Analyst indicating that the request for expansion was authorized by 
the [l]Legislature; or 
 (c)  a motion passed by the executive appropriations 
committee indicating approval for vehicle expansion. 
[ (4)  Prior to purchasing an expansion vehicle, the division 
shall provide each agency contact with the SSFV that will be 
purchased. 
 (5)  Agencies may request a non-SSFV only if one or more 
of the following justifications are cited: 
 (a)  passenger space; 
 (b)  type of items carried; 
 (c)  hauling or towing capacity; 
 (d)  police pursuit capacity; 
 (e)  off-road capacity; 
 (f)  4x4 capacity; 
 (g)  emergency service capacity; 
 (h)  attached equipment capacity; or 
 (i)  other justifications as approved by the division director 
or their designee. 
 (6)  Agencies may petition the executive director of the 
department, or the executive director's designee, for a review in the 
event that the director of the division or their designee denies a 
request for the expansion vehicle to be a non-SSFV.] 
 ([7]5)  [The requesting agency shall provide proof to the 
division of legislative approval for purchasing an expansion vehicle. 
]When needed, the division shall provide copies of the proof to the 
[D]division of Finance to transfer funds from the requesting agency 
to the division. 
[ (8)(a)  If the requesting agency receives legislative 
approval for placing a "do not replace" vehicle on a replacement 
cycle, the requesting agency shall; 
 (i)  provide the division with proof of approval and funding; 
and 
 (ii)  request the Division of Finance transfer funds to the 
division. The amount of transferred funds shall equal the depreciation 
the division would have collected for the number of months between 
the time that the "do no replace" vehicle was put into the service and 
the time that the requesting agency begins paying the applicable 
monthly lease rate for the replacement cycle chosen. 
 (b)  In no event shall the division purchase a replacement 
for the "do not replace" vehicle if the requesting agency fails to 
provide funds necessary to cover the depreciation costs in Subsection 
(8)(a)(ii).] 
 ([9]6)  Upon purchase, the expansion vehicle shall be added 
to the state fleet and a replacement cycle shall be established. 
[ (10)  The division is responsible for ensuring that the state 
fleet complies with federal AFV mandates. The division may require 
that a certain number of expansion vehicles, regardless of the 
requesting agency, be alternative fuel vehicles to ensure compliance 
with these mandates.] 
 
R27-4-6.  Vehicle Feature and Miscellaneous Equipment 
Upgrade. 
 (1)  Any additional vehicle features or miscellaneous 
equipment added to [SSFVs]vehicle which increase the overall cost 
of the vehicle shall be deemed vehicle feature and miscellaneous 
equipment upgrades.  A feature or miscellaneous equipment upgrade 
occurs when an agency requests: 
 (a)  that a replacement vehicle have a non-standard feature.  
For example, when an agency requests that an otherwise standard 

replacement vehicle have a diesel rather than a gasoline engine; 
[and]or 
 (b)  the installation of additional miscellaneous equipment 
is not installed by the vehicle manufacturer. For example, when an 
agency requests that light bars or water tanks be installed on an 
otherwise standard replacement vehicle. 
 (2)  Requests for miscellaneous equipment upgrades shall 
be made in writing by the agency's assigned fleet contact and, shall[: 
 (a) ] present reasons why the upgrades are necessary to 
meet the agency's needs.[; and] 
[ (b)  be signed by the requesting agency's director or the 
appropriate budget or accounting officer.] 
 (3)  All requests for miscellaneous equipment upgrades 
shall be subject to review and approval by the division director or 
their designee.  The division director or their designee shall approve 
any vehicle feature or miscellaneous equipment upgrades upon 
determining that they are necessary and appropriate for meeting the 
agency's needs. 
 (4)  Agencies may petition the executive director of the 
department, or the executive director's designee, for a review if the 
division director or their designee denies a request for a 
miscellaneous equipment upgrade. 
 (5)  Miscellaneous equipment upgrades must be [approved 
and ]paid for by the agency[ prior to purchasing a state vehicle].  A 
miscellaneous equipment upgrade fee shall be assessed to the agency, 
which will cover the total cost associated with providing the 
additional miscellaneous equipment.  [Upon approval of the division 
director, t]The agency may [agree to ]pay the fee in installments[, 
provided the installment agreement does not delay the payment of the 
general debt] or upon purchase as agreed upon with the division. 
 (6)  Agencies that agree to installment payments shall 
indemnify and make the division whole for any losses incurred from 
damage to or loss associated with the state vehicle or its 
miscellaneous equipment. 
 
R27-4-7.  Agency Installation of Miscellaneous Equipment. 
 (1)  The division [director, with the approval of the 
executive director of the department, ]may enter into a Memorandum 
of Understanding allowing agencies to install miscellaneous 
equipment on state vehicles if[: 
 (a) ] the agency has the necessary resources and skills to 
perform the installations.[; and 
 (b)  the agency has received approval for installing 
miscellaneous equipment as required by Subsection R27-4-6(5). 
 (2)  Each Memorandum of Understanding for the 
installation of miscellaneous equipment shall, at a minimum, contain 
the following provisions: 
 (a)  monthly lease fees shall be charged to the agency from 
the date the agency receives the state vehicle; 
 (b)  the agency shall indemnify and hold the division 
harmless for any claims made by a third party related to the 
installation of miscellaneous equipment on state vehicles while the 
vehicle is in the agency's possession and control; 
 (c)  the agency shall indemnify the division for any damage 
to state vehicles resulting from installation or de-installation of 
miscellaneous equipment; and] 
 ([d]2)  [t]The agency shall enter the following information 
regarding the miscellaneous equipment into the division's fleet 
information system, regardless of whether the item is held in 
inventory, currently installed on a vehicle, or sent to surplus: 
 (i)  item description or nomenclature; 
 (ii)  manufacturer of item; 
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 (iii)  item identification information for ordering purposes; 
 (iv)  procurement source; 
 (v)  purchase price of item; 
 (vi)  expected life of item in years; 
 (vii)  warranty period; 
 (viii)  serial number; 
 (ix)  initial installation date; 
 (x)  current location of item; 
 (xi)  anticipated replacement date of item; 
 (xii)  actual replacement date of item; 
 (xiii)  date item was sent to surplus; and 
 (xiv)  SP-1 number; 
[ (e)  a provision requiring the agency to obtain insurance 
from the Division of Risk Management in amounts sufficient to 
protect the agency from damage to, or loss of, miscellaneous 
equipment installed on state vehicles.] 
 ([f]3)  Agencies shall indemnify the division for any 
damage to, or loss of, miscellaneous equipment installed on state 
vehicles; 
 ([g]4)  [that t]The division shall provide training and 
support services for the fleet information system and charge agencies 
a Management Information System (MIS) fee to recover these 
costs.[; and] 
[ (h)  a date on which the agreement shall terminate if the 
agreement has not been previously terminated or renewed. 
 (3)  Agreements permitting agencies to install 
miscellaneous equipment on state vehicles may be terminated if the 
agency fails to comply with the terms of the agreement.] 
 
[R27-4-8.  Vehicle Class Differential Upgrade. 
 (1)  Requests for vehicles other than the SSFV established 
by the division that result in an increase in vehicle cost shall be 
deemed a vehicle class differential upgrade.  A vehicle class 
differential upgrade occurs when, regardless of additional features or 
miscellaneous equipment: 
 (a)  the requested replacement vehicle, although within the 
same vehicle class as the vehicle being replaced, is not the standard 
replacement vehicle established by the division for that class; or 
 (b)  the agency requests that a vehicle be replaced with a 
more expensive vehicle belonging to another class.  For example, 
when an agency requests to have a standard 1/2-ton truck replaced 
with a standard 3/4-ton truck, or to have a compact sedan replaced 
with a mid-size sedan. 
 (2)  Requests for vehicle class differential upgrades shall be 
made in writing and shall: 
 (a)  present reasons why the upgrades are necessary to meet 
the agency's needs; and 
 (b)  be signed by the requesting agency's director or the 
appropriate budget or accounting officer. 
 (3)  All requests for vehicle class differential upgrades shall 
be subject to review and approval by the division director or their 
designee.  Vehicle class differential upgrades shall be approved only 
when: 
 (a)  the division director or their designee deems that the 
planned replacement vehicle is clearly inadequate or inappropriate 
for meeting the demands of changing operational needs; and 
 (b)  the division director or their designee deem that the 
requested vehicle upgrade is necessary and appropriate for meeting 
safety, environmental, or health or other special needs for drivers or 
passengers. 
 (4)  Agencies may petition the executive director of the 
department, or the executive director's designee, for a review if the 

division director or their designee denies a request for a vehicle class 
differential upgrade.] 
 
R27-4-[9]8.  Cost Recovery. 
 (1)  State vehicles shall be assessed rates designed to 
recover vehicle costs; a division administrative fee; MIS fee; and 
where applicable, the variable costs associated with each vehicle. 
 (2)  The division shall calculate the vehicle payback[lease] 
and associated rates according to the vehicle's cost, the vehicle's 
expected service period, and any agreement made with the 
agency[the type of lease applicable]. 
[ (3)  The division shall review agency motor vehicle 
utilization on an annual basis to identify state vehicles that, on the 
basis of the applicable replacement cycle, are either being under or 
over utilized. 
 (4)  The division shall provide the results of the motor 
vehicle utilization review to each agency for use in agency efforts to 
ensure full utilization of all state vehicles.] 
 ([5]3)  If a vehicle is turned in for replacement earlier than 
expected under the applicable replacement cycle:[, a rate containing 
a shorter replacement cycle period shall be implemented for the 
replacement vehicle.] 
 (a)  the division may require the agency to pay the 
remaining balance of the vehicle; and 
 (b)  a rate containing a shorter replacement cycle period 
may be implemented for the replacement vehicle. 
[ (6)  If a vehicle is turned in for replacement as scheduled, 
but did not reach mileage intended under the applicable replacement 
cycle, the division shall conduct a utilization review of that agency's 
fleet to ensure the vehicle is needed.  The review may result in the 
vehicle being: 
 (a)  replaced with a new vehicle; 
 (b)  sold; or 
 (c)  repurposed within the division's fleet.] 
 ([7]4)  The division shall begin the monthly billing process 
when the agency receives notice in writing that the vehicle is ready 
for service. 
[ (8)  Agencies that have a need to keep an already replaced 
vehicle are to inform the division in writing of this need.  The division 
shall offer a Memorandum of Understanding to the agency to allow 
the agency to continue to lease the already replaced vehicle for an 
agreed upon term, typically up to 18 months.  When the term expires, 
the vehicle must be returned to the division for disposal.] 
 
R27-4-[10]9.  Executive Vehicle Replacement. 
 (1)  Executive vehicles are available only to employees 
who are assigned a vehicle as part of their compensation package, in 
accordance with state statute. 
 (2)  [Each fiscal year the division shall establish a standard 
executive vehicle purchase price.]Executives may select any vehicle 
that is reasonable, allowed within purchasing code and rule, and 
within the budget available from their agency. 
 (3)  Executives may elect to replace their assigned vehicle 
at the beginning of each elected term or appointment period, or as 
deemed necessary for the personal safety and security of the elected 
or appointed official. 
 (4)  [When the executive leaves office, the]An executive 
vehicle shall be sold in accordance with State Surplus Property 
Program policies and procedures. 
 (5)  The agency shall budget and pay for executive vehicles 
the same as other vehicles in their fleet.[Executives shall have the 
option of choosing a vehicle other than the standard executive 
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vehicle, with the cost being based on the standard executive vehicle 
purchase price. 
 (a)  The alternative vehicle selection should not exceed the 
standard executive vehicle purchase price parameter guidelines. 
 (b)  If the agency chooses an alternative vehicle that 
exceeds the standard vehicle purchase price guidelines, the agency 
shall pay the difference in price between the vehicle requested and 
the standard executive vehicle purchase price.] 
 
R27-4-[11]10.  Capital Credit or Reservation of Vehicle 
Allocation for Surrendered Vehicles. 
 (1)  If an agency voluntarily surrenders a vehicle to the 
division under the capitalization credit program, the agency shall 
receive a capital credit allowing the agency to retain authorization 
toward a replacement vehicle. 
 (2)  If an agency voluntarily surrenders a vehicle to the 
division the division shall: 
 (a)  hold the vehicle allocation open; and 
 (b)  maintain the surrendering agency's capital credit for a 
period not to exceed the remainder of the fiscal year within which the 
surrender took place, plus an additional five fiscal years. 
 (3)  [The surrendering agency's failure to request the return 
of the vehicle surrendered prior to the end of the period established 
in this section shall result in:]If the surrendering agency does not use 
the credit within the timeframe established in Subsection (2)(b), the 
credit will be transferred to the Division for an additional five fiscal 
years. The division may use the credits to: 
 (a)  [removal of the surrendered vehicle or allotment from 
the state fleet;]expand shared motor pools; or 
 (b)  [loss of the agency's capital credit; and]reallocate an 
authorized vehicle count to another agency. 
[ (c)  a reduction in state fleet size.] 
 (4)  Before reallocation under Subsection (3)(b), the 
following requirement shall be met: 
 (a)  the requesting agency shall undergo a utilization 
assessment lead by the Division; and 
 (b)  the division shall report the reallocation to the Office 
of the Legislative Fiscal Analyst. 
 (5)  Upon expiration of an unused credit transferred to the 
division under Subsection (3), the authorized count of vehicles in the 
state fleet shall be reduced. 
 ([4]6)  The division shall not hold vehicle allocations or 
provide capital credit to an agency when the vehicle that is being 
surrendered: 
 (a)  has been identified for removal from the state fleet to 
comply with legislatively mandated reductions in state fleet size; 
 (b)  is identified as a ["]do not replace["] vehicle in the fleet 
information system; 
 (c)  is a state vehicle not purchased by the division; or 
 (d)  is a seasonal vehicle that has already been replaced. 
 ([5]7)  Any agency that fails to request the return of a 
voluntarily surrendered vehicle [prior to]before the end of the period 
set forth in this section must comply with the requirements of Section 
R27-4-5, Fleet Expansion, to obtain a vehicle to replace the one 
surrendered. 
 
R27-4-[12]11.  Inter-agency Vehicle Reassignment or 
Reallocation Guidelines. 
[ (1)  The division shall ensure that the state is able to obtain 
optimal utilization of, and the greatest residual value for all state 
vehicles. 

 (2)  The division shall, on an annual basis, conduct a review 
of state fleet motor vehicle utilization to determine whether the 
vehicles are being utilized in accordance with the mileage 
requirements contained in the applicable replacement cycles. 
 (3)  The division shall provide the results of the utilization 
review to each agency for use in agency efforts to ensure optimal 
utilization of state vehicles in their possession or control. 
 (4)  In conducting the review, the division shall collect the 
following information on each state fleet vehicle: 
 (a)  year, make and model; 
 (b)  VIN; 
 (c)  actual miles traveled per month; 
 (d)  as applicable, the authorized driver or program each 
vehicle is assigned to; 
 (e)  location of the vehicle; and 
 (f)  class code and replacement cycle. 
 (5)  Agencies shall be responsible for verifying the 
information gathered by the division. 
 (6)  The division shall compare actual vehicle utilization 
with the mileage requirements contained in the applicable 
replacement cycle. This comparison shall be used to identify vehicles 
that may be candidates for reassignment, reallocation, 
reclassification, or elimination.] 
 ([7]1)  The division may reassign, reallocate, or eliminate 
the replacement of vehicles that are chronically out of compliance 
with the applicable utilization standards when: 
 (a)  intra-agency reassignment or reallocation of vehicles 
fails to bring vehicles into compliance with applicable replacement 
cycle mileage schedules within a replacement cycle; or 
 (b)  a cost-benefit analysis on the time the vehicle is used 
does not warrant the vehicle to remain within the agency. 
 ([8]2)  If the division requires an agency to relinquish a 
vehicle due to a reassignment or reallocation, the agency may petition 
the executive director of the GOPB, or the executive director's 
designee, for a review.  Vehicles that are the subject matter of 
petitions for review shall remain with the agency until[ such time as] 
the executive director of the GOPB or the executive director's 
designee renders a decision on the matter. 
 
KEY:  fleet expansion, vehicle replacement 
Date of Last Change:  2023[January 3, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 22, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-9-
401(1)(a); 63A-9-401(1)(d)(v); 63A-9-401(1)(d)(ix); 63A-9-
401(1)(d)(x); 63A-9-401(1)(d)(xi); 63A-9-401(1)(d)(xii); 63A-9-
401(4)(ii) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R27-5 Filing ID:  
55171 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Fleet Operations 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Cory Weeks 801-

957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gob 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R27-5.  Fleet Tracking 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Division of Fleet Operations reviews its rules annually.  
The change in this rule was to improve the logical 
placement of the subsection. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Moving a subsection from a different rule within Title R27.  
This change does not change the audience or compliance 
requirements for the audience.  The change is only meant 
to improve the placement. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Because this is just moving an existing subsection from 
another Title R27 rule, there is no impact to this rule 
change. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Because this is just moving an existing subsection from 
another Title R27 rule, there is no impact to this rule 
change. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Because this is just moving an existing subsection from 
another Title R27 rule, there is no impact to this rule 
change. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

Because this is just moving an existing subsection from 
another Title R27 rule, there is no impact to this rule 
change. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Because this is just moving an existing subsection from 
another Title R27 rule, there is no impact to this rule 
change. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this 
change. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has no comments and has 
reviewed and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 63A-9-
401(1)(d) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Cory Weeks,  
Director 

Date: 12/19/2022 

 
R27.  Government Operations, Fleet Operations. 
R27-5.  Fleet Tracking. 
R27-5-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is established pursuant to Subsection 63A-9-
401(1)(d). 
 (2)  The purpose of this section is to ensure that all state 
vehicles and miscellaneous equipment are accounted for and properly 
inventoried.  Proper management of this inventory supports the 
requirements in Subsection R27-5-1(1). 
 
R27-5-2.  Items Tracked in the Fleet Information System. 
 (1)  All state vehicles shall be tracked in the division's fleet 
information system. 
 (2)  Each vehicle in the fleet information system must be 
assigned a category according to definitions established in Section 
R27-1-2. A vehicle may be assigned one of the following categories 
of state vehicles: 
 (a)  "Light-duty Vehicle;"[;] 
 (b)  "Medium-duty Vehicle;"[;] 
 (c)  "Heavy-duty Vehicle;"[;] and 
 (d)  "Non-road Vehicle."[.] 
 (3)  Miscellaneous equipment shall be tracked in the 
division's fleet information system. 

 (4)  Each agency shall be responsible for entering and 
maintaining accurate data about each state vehicle that it owns, 
operates, or otherwise controls into the division's fleet information 
system. 
 (5)  The division shall provide each agency with program 
access, software updates, licensing fee requirements, system reports, 
local area network coordination, user manuals, help desk access, and 
any user training necessary to maintain and operate the division's 
fleet information system. 
 (6)  The division shall assist agencies, including agencies 
exempted from the division's replacement program, in their efforts to 
ensure that all vehicles in the possession, control, and ownership of 
agencies are entered into the fleet information system. 
 
KEY:  state fleet information system 
Date of Last Change:  2023[March 14, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 22, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-9-
402(1)(b) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R27-6 Filing ID:  
55172 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Fleet Operations 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Cory Weeks 801-

957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gob 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R27-6.  Fuel Dispensing Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Division of Fleet Operations reviews its rules annually.  
These changes were made to conform to changes in 
process. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Only minor changes simplifying language were made; no 
material changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Because the changes were immaterial, no impact is 
expected for state budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Because the changes were immaterial, no impact is 
expected for local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not impact small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not impact non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not impact other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this 
change. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has no comments and has 
reviewed and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63A-9-401(5)(a) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Cory Weeks,  
Director 

Date: 12/19/2022 

 
R27.  Government Operations, Fleet Operations. 
R27-6.  Fuel Dispensing Program. 
R27-6-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 [(1)  ]This rule is established pursuant to Subsection 63A-
9-401(5) which requires the division to make rules establishing 
requirements for fuel dispensing. 
 
R27-6-2.  State Fuel Network. 
 [(1)  ]The State Fuel Network consists of: 
 ([a]1)  all fuel sites owned, leased, or under the control of 
the division; 
 ([b]2)  all state agencies including institutions of higher 
education; 
 ([c]3)  counties, municipalities, school districts, and special 
districts that subscribe to the services provided by the division; and 
 ([d]4)  privately owned fuel sites that participate in the 
State of Utah Fuel Card program. 
 
[R27-6-3.  Cost Recovery. 
 (1)  The division shall establish, for each fiscal year, fuel 
rates designed to recover the costs associated with the purchase of 
fuels, site maintenance, and other costs associated with running the 
state fuel dispensing network.] 
 
R27-6-[4]3.  Authority to Issue a State of Utah Fuel Card. 
 (1)  Unless otherwise authorized by the division, the 
authority to issue State of Utah Fuel Cards and assign Personal 
Identification Numbers (PIN) resides exclusively with the division. 
 (2)  Fuel cards associated with vehicles shall be 
documented in the fleet information system.  Only one fuel card shall 
be issued to each vehicle. Use of the fuel cards [and PIN ]are 
restricted to [fueling ]the vehicles to which the fuel card was issued. 
 (3)  Standard State Fuel Network Vehicle and Employee 
PIN worksheets provided by the division, shall be used when 
requesting fuel cards and PINs. 
 (4)  [Agencies may request a fuel card history report by 
emailing fuelrequests@utah.gov.]If a fuel card is either lost or stolen, 
the authorized driver shall immediately report the loss or theft of the 
fuel card to the division. 
 (5)  If a fuel card is expired, malfunctioned, lost, misused, 
or the vehicle is disposed of, the card shall be deleted from the fleet 
fuel card system and shall be identified as "expired" in the fleet 
information system. No modifications to the fuel card shall be 
allowed. 
 (6)  Unless otherwise authorized by the division, only state 
fuel technicians have the authority to make changes to fuel card 
information and to delete fuel cards from the system. 
[ (7)  If a fuel card is either lost or stolen, the authorized 
driver shall immediately report the loss or theft of the fuel card to the 
division.] 
 
R27-6-[5]4.  Authorized Use of a State of Utah Fuel Card. 
 (1)  The following procedures shall be followed when 
purchasing fuel from either a state-run or a participating commercial 
fueling site: 
 (a)  verify that the vendor is a participant in the State Fuel 
Network Program; and 

 (b)  follow the fueling site's procedures and enter the 
correct information when prompted to purchase fuel. 
 (2)  Except as provided in Subsection R27-6-5(3), the fuel 
card shall only be used to purchase: 
 (a)  fuel; and 
 (b)  fluids, car washes, and minor miscellaneous items for 
vehicles whose value, taken together, shall not exceed the monthly 
monetary limits determined by the division. 
 (3)  Agency requests for a fuel card for use by a supervisor 
for emergency purposes, or for use with small miscellaneous 
equipment shall be approved provided the agency: 
 (a)  represents that they have a reconciliation or fuel 
transaction auditing processes in place for the review of 
miscellaneous transactions to prevent theft, abuse, and fraud relating 
to the use of the card; and 
 (b)  cooperates with the division to ensure that fuel 
dispensed into a fleet vehicle using [fuel ]cards not assigned to 
specific vehicles is properly documented in the fleet information 
system[ through the use of a manual fuel ticket]. 
 
R27-6-[6]5.  Reimbursements. 
 [(1)  ]Reimbursements for the use of the authorized driver's 
personal funds to purchase fuel or other services shall be granted at 
the discretion of the agency paying for the fuel. 
 
R27-6-[7]6.  Meter Rejects. 
 (1)  Drivers of state vehicles are required to enter the 
correct mileage, excluding tenths of miles, when using the fuel card 
assigned to the vehicle. 
 (2)  If the driver makes an error in the mileage update, the 
driver or the agency's contact shall provide the division with a correct 
mileage update. 
 (3)  Repeated or blatant reports of vehicle mileage may 
result in a charge to the agency[ in accordance with the applicable 
rate schedule established in the annual State Agency Fees and 
Internal Service Fund Rate Authorization and Appropriations bill]. 
 (4)  Agency contacts shall, within three business days of the 
request, respond to a division request to investigate a meter reject.  If 
the agency fails to respond or make arrangements for an extension of 
the time period in which to investigate the meter reject, the division 
may impose a charge upon the agency[ in accordance with the 
applicable rate schedule established in the annual State Agency Fees 
and Internal Service Fund Rate Authorization and Appropriations 
bill]. 
 
R27-6-[8]7.  Bulk Fuel Purchases. 
 [(1)  ]For fuel sites for which the division purchases fuel: 
 (a)  the authority to purchase bulk fuel resides exclusively 
with the division; and 
 (b)  fuel that is stored at, or contained in, fuel sites for which 
the division purchases fuel shall be the division's property. 
 
R27-6-[9]8.  Fuel Site Maintenance. 
 (1)  The division shall manage fuel sites in the State Fuel 
Network for which the division purchases fuel.  Fuel sites for which 
the division does not purchase fuel shall be managed by the agency, 
subscribing county, municipality, school district, or special district 
that has ownership, possession, or control of the site. 
 (2)  Except for privately owned, leased, or controlled fuel 
sites, maintenance at all other fuel sites in the State Fuel Network 
shall be performed by the division or their authorized agents. 
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 (3)  Only the division and their authorized agents shall be 
authorized to disconnect power to or communication from any 
fueling equipment, including tanks and monitoring equipment. 
 (4)  Agency personnel, subscribing counties, 
municipalities, school districts and special districts shall not perform, 
or give authorization to perform, any fuel site maintenance. 
 (5)  Agency personnel, subscribing counties, 
municipalities, school districts, and special districts shall report any 
fuel site maintenance concerns to the division. 
 (6)  Agency personnel, subscribing counties, 
municipalities, school districts, and special districts shall provide the 
division, and authorized agents 24-hour access to fuel sites for any 
maintenance or service needs. 
 (7)  If a fuel site operated by an agency, subscribing county, 
municipality, school district, or special district is not part of the Utah 
Fuel Card system, it shall be the responsibility of the fuel site 
personnel to keep records of the following information for entry into 
the fleet information system: 
 (a)  a correct odometer reading; 
 (b)  the authorized driver's PIN; 
 (c)  VIN or license plate number; and 
 (d)  any other information as required by the division. 
 
R27-6-[10]9.  Abuse and Neglect of Fueling Equipment. 
 [(1)  ]Damage to fuel equipment that results from an 
authorized driver's abuse or neglect shall be the responsibility of the 
agency employing the authorized driver at the time of the incident. 
 
KEY:  fuel dispensing 
Date of Last Change:  2023[March 14, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 22, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-9-
401(1)(c)(vi); 63A-9-401(1)(e) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R27-7 Filing ID:  
55173 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Fleet Operations 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Cory Weeks 801-

957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R27-7.  Safety and Loss Prevention of State Vehicles 
 
3.  Reason for this change (Why is the agency submitting 
this filing?): 
The Division of Fleet Operations (Division) reviews rules 
on an annual basis.  In this review, several rules seemed 
to be out of place.  Most the changes in this rule are simply 
a reorganization, having moved to or from other locations 
in Title R27.  The Division also identified ways to reduce 
administrative burdens placed on its customers, in line 
with the rule review order made by Governor Cox. 
 
4.  Summary of this change (What does this filing do?): 
The Division changed rules from an organizational 
standpoint.  Some changes are designed simplify 
requirements for driver safety committees and add 
flexibility for how a driver safety committee applies 
penalties for improper driver behavior. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change should result in an inestimable savings to 
state budgets due to the flexibility offered to agencies in 
how a driver safety committee operates and determines 
discipline to employees. 
 
B)  Local government: 

This rule does not impact local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not impact small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not impact non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not impact other persons. 
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F)  Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There are no compliance costs associated with this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has no comments and has 
reviewed and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63A-9-401(d)(iii) 

  

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/02023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Cory Weeks,  
Director 
 

Date: 12/19/2022 

 
R27.  Government Operations, Fleet Operations. 
R27-7.  Safety and Loss Prevention of State Vehicles. 
R27-7-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 [(1)  ]This rule is established pursuant to Subsection 63A-
9-401(1)(d)(iii) which requires the division to make rules 
establishing requirements for fleet safety and loss prevention 
programs. 
 
R27-7-2.  Reporting Accidents and Violations of Motor Vehicle 
Laws. 
 (1)  If an accident involving a state vehicle occurs, either 
the authorized driver of the vehicle or the employing agency shall 
notify the division, the Division of Risk Management, and the 
agency's management, within 24 hours. 
 (2)  [Authorized drivers shall also follow Subsection R27-
3-14(2) regarding reporting their own violations of motor vehicle 
laws.]Any authorized driver who, while operating a state vehicle, 
receives a citation for violating a motor vehicle law shall immediately 
report the receipt of the citation to their respective supervisor. Failure 
to report the receipt of a citation may result in the withdrawal, 
suspension, or revocation of state driving privileges. 
 (3)  The agency shall determine if an accident was 
preventable. 
 (a)  A driver may appeal an agency determination to the 
Driver Safety Committee in writing within 30 days from the date the 
agency decision is issued. 
 
R27-7-3.  Driver Eligibility to Operate a State Vehicle. 
 (1)  The authority to operate a state vehicle is subject to 
withdrawal, suspension, or revocation. 
 (2)  Any employee on the list of authorized drivers who is 
convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI), 
reckless driving, or any felony in which a motor vehicle is used, 
either on or off duty, and whether in the state vehicle or their personal 
vehicle, may have their state driving privileges withdrawn, 
suspended, or revoked. 
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 (3)  Any authorized driver who receives a citation for 
violating a motor vehicle law while operating a state vehicle shall 
attend an additional Risk Management-approved mandatory 
defensive driver training program. Failure to attend the additional 
mandatory defensive driver training program shall result in the loss 
of state driving privileges. 
 ([2]4)  The authority to operate a state vehicle shall be 
automatically withdrawn, suspended, or revoked if an authorized 
driver's license is not in a valid status. 
 ([3]5)  The authority to operate a state vehicle shall, at a 
minimum, be withdrawn, suspended, or revoked for the period of 
denial, cancellation, disqualification, suspension, or revocation of the 
authorized driver's license. 
 ([4]6)  The authority to operate a state vehicle shall not be 
reinstated until the authorized driver provides proof that their driver 
license has been reinstated or the division verifies the license has 
been reinstated. 
 ([5]7)  The authority to operate a state vehicle may be 
suspended or revoked for up to three years by the Driver Safety 
Committee or the Driver Eligibility Board.[ for any of the following 
reasons: 
 (a)  the authorized driver, while acting within the scope of 
employment, has been involved in three or more preventable 
accidents during a three- year period; 
 (b)  the authorized driver has had three or more moving 
violations while driving a state vehicle within a 12-month period; 
 (c)  the authorized driver has been convicted of any of the 
following: 
 (i)  alcohol-related driving violations; 
 (ii)  reckless, careless, or negligent driving, including 
excessive speed violations; 
 (iii)  driving violations that have resulted in injury or death; 
 (iv)  felony-related driving violations; 
 (v)  hit-and-run violations; 
 (vi)  impaired driving; 
 (vii)  using a handheld wireless communication device 
while operating a state vehicle in violation of Subsection 41-6A-
1716(2); or 
 (viii)  any other driving violation determined by the Driver 
Safety Committee or the Driver Eligibility Board as posing a 
significant risk to the safety or loss prevention of state vehicles; 
 (d)  an authorized driver uses a state vehicle in an 
unauthorized way or misuses, abuses or neglects a state vehicle as 
validated by the authorized driver's agency; or 
 (e)  an authorized driver violates any major threshold as 
defined by the division in this rule or by the employing agency's 
policies.] 
 ([6]8)  The Driver Safety Committee or the Driver 
Eligibility Board may withdraw an authorized driver's authority to 
operate a state vehicle. The withdrawal of authority shall be in 
addition to agency-imposed disciplinary, corrective, or remedial 
action, except when the withdrawal of authority conflicts with an 
internal review and disciplinary process that is approved by the 
division and substantially meets the requirements outlined in rule. 
 ([7]9)  An authorized driver declared ineligible to operate a 
state vehicle by the Driver Safety Committee may appeal that 
determination to the Driver Eligibility Board. An appeal to the Driver 
Eligibility Board must be made in writing within 30 days from the 
date the Driver Safety Committee issues its decision. 
 

R27-7-4.  Driver Safety Committee. 
 (1)  Each agency utilizing a state vehicle shall establish and 
maintain a Driver Safety Committee or an internal review and 
disciplinary process that is approved by the division and substantially 
meets the requirements outlined in rule. 
 (2)  The purpose of the Driver Safety Committee is to 
increase the safe operation of state vehicles.[ The Driver Safety 
Committee shall review any accident involving state vehicles that are 
in the possession or under the control of an agency.  The Driver Safety 
Committee also reviews the eligibility of a driver to operate a state 
vehicle based on Section R27-7-3.] 
 (3)  The Driver Safety Committee shall have no less than 
three voting members. The members shall consist of, at a minimum, 
from a participating agency, a risk coordinator, a human resource 
representative, and a fleet manager. In the absence of the fleet 
manager the authorized driver's supervisor may fill the 
position[determine if the accident was preventable]. 
 (4)  Each agency's Driver Safety Committee shall meet 
regularly[monthly], except in cases when there are no items to 
review. 
 (a)  The items to review and act on are:[ the preventability 
determination of any accidents and any major threshold violations 
committed in the previous month.  The Driver Safety Committee 
shall report to the division its accident and major threshold 
determination and any actions taken.] 
 (i)  any major threshold violations committee in the 
previous period; 
 (ii)  driver appeals of preventable accident determinations; 
 (iii)  the validity of citizen complaints; and 
 (iv)  imposing driving suspensions under this rule. 
 (b)  If meeting less than monthly, the regular schedule 
determined by the agency must be approved by the division. 
 (5)  The agency shall report to the division its determination 
and any actions taken. 
 ([5]6)  The Driver Safety Committee has discretion in 
assessing penalties as guided by Section R27-7-5[Any major 
threshold violations will receive the minimum driver eligibility 
suspension as outlined in Subsection R27-7-5(6).  A driver may 
appeal this accident determination to the Driver Eligibility Board 
pursuant to Subsection R27-7-3(7)]. 
 ([6]7)  The Driver Eligibility Board may recommend 
disciplinary actions for authorized drivers to the agency when the 
Board is acting on behalf of the agency Driver Safety Committee. 
 ([7]8)  If an agency has fewer than five employees, the 
agency head may perform the duties of the Driver Safety Committee 
as outlined in rule.  If the agency head is the driver to be reviewed, 
the review may be done by the Driver Eligibility Board.  Appeals 
from the affected agency head will be heard by the executive director 
of the department, or the executive director's designee and shall 
follow the appeal process outlined in rule. 
 (9)  State vehicle driving eligibility suspensions should 
begin within two weeks of the Driver Safety Committee meeting 
unless a differing timeline is outlined in rule. 
 
R27-7-5.  [Driver Safety Committee]Determination Standards. 
[ (1)  The Driver Safety Committee shall have no less than 
three voting members.  The members shall consist of, at a minimum, 
from a participating agency, a risk coordinator, a human resource 
representative, and a fleet manager.  In the absence of the fleet 
manager the authorized driver's supervisor may fill the position. 
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 (2)  The Driver Safety Committee shall review: 
 (a)  the initial accident preventability determination as 
outlined in Subsections R27-7-5(3) and (4); 
 (b)  moving violations committed in the state vehicle; 
 (c)  any moving violations outlined in Subsection R27-7-
3(5)(c); 
 (d)  the validity of citizen complaints; and 
 (e)  any other major threshold violations.] 
 ([3]1)  An accident shall be classified as preventable if any 
of the following factors are involved: 
 (a)  driving too fast for current road conditions; 
 (b)  failure to observe clearance; 
 (c)  failure to yield; 
 (d)  failure to properly lock the vehicle; 
 (e)  following too closely; 
 (f)  improper care of the vehicle; 
 (g)  improper backing; 
 (h)  improper parking; 
 (i)  improper turn or lane change; 
 (j)  reckless driving as defined in Section 41-6a-528; 
 (k)  unsafe driving practices, including: 
 (i)  using electronic equipment or cellular phone while 
driving in violation of Subsection 41-6A-1716(2); 
 (ii)  smoking while driving; 
 (iii)  engaging in personal grooming; 
 (iv)  initiating a U[u]-turn; or 
 (v)  driving with an animal loose in the vehicle. 
 ([4]2)  An accident shall be classified as non-preventable 
when: 
 (a)  the state vehicle is struck while properly parked; 
 (b)  the state vehicle is vandalized while parked at an 
authorized location; or 
 (c)  if the state vehicle is an emergency vehicle and: 
 (i)  at the time of the accident the authorized driver was in 
the line of duty and was operating the vehicle in accordance with their 
respective agency's applicable policies, guidelines, or regulations; 
 (ii)  damage to the vehicle occurred during the chase or 
apprehension of people engaged in or potentially engaged in 
unlawful activities; or 
 (iii)  damage to the vehicle occurred in the course of 
responding to an emergency to save or protect the lives, property, 
health, welfare, and safety of the public. 
 ([5]3)  Major threshold violations committed by an 
authorized driver shall be determined as follows: 
 (a)  Preventable Accidents: 
 (i)  preventable accidents may be considered major 
threshold violations if three preventable accidents as determined by 
the agency[Driver Safety Committee or the Driver Eligibility Board], 
are committed within a three-year period; or 
 (ii)  any single preventable accident is committed and 
aggravating factors as defined in this rule are determined to be a 
factor[, as determined by the Driver Safety Committee or Driver 
Eligibility Board utilizing the aggravating factors outlined in 
Subsection R27-7-5(9)]. 
 (b)  Moving Violations: 
 (i)  moving violations may be considered major threshold 
violations if three moving violations are committed in a state vehicle 
within a 12-month period[, not specifically outlined in Subsection 
R27-7-3(5)(c)]; or 
 (ii)  [any moving violation is committed as outlined in 
Subsection R27-7-3(5)(c).]the authorized driver has been convicted 
of any of the following: 

 (i)  alcohol-related driving violations; 
 (ii)  reckless, careless, or negligent driving, including 
excessive speed violations; 
 (iii)  driving violations that have resulted in injury or death; 
 (iv)  felony-related driving violations; 
 (v)  hit-and-run violations; 
 (vi)  impaired driving; 
 (vii)  using a handheld wireless communication device 
while operating a state vehicle in violation of Subsection 41-6A-
1716(2). 
 (c)  Validated Citizen Complaints: Validated citizen 
complaints may be considered a major threshold violation at the 
discretion of the Driver Safety Committee or Driver Eligibility Board 
utilizing the aggravating factors outlined in this rule[Subsection R27-
7-5(9)]. 
 (d)  [Telematics Threshold Violations: 
 (i)  ]Telematics threshold violations may be considered 
major threshold violations if: 
 (i)  three telematics threshold violations are committed 
within a 12-month period; or 
 (ii)  any single telematics threshold violation is committed 
and aggravating factors as defined in this rule are determined to be a 
factor.[as determined by the Driver Safety Committee or Driver 
Eligibility Board utilizing the aggravating factors outlined in 
Subsection R27-7-5(9); or] 
 ([iii]e)  Agencies collecting telematics data must track 
violations reported through telematics and review in the [d]Driver's 
[s]Safety [c]Committee. 
 ([6]4)  Major threshold violations committed by an 
authorized driver [will]may result[, at a minimum,] in the following 
state vehicle driving privilege suspensions. Reducing or increasing 
the penalty may be considered due to other factors. 
 (a)  First major threshold violation [shall]may receive a 
[minimum ]driving suspension of two working days. 
 (b)  The second major threshold violation committed within 
12 months of the first major threshold violation [shall]may receive a 
[minimum ]driving suspension of 14 calendar days.  If the second 
major threshold violation does not occur within a 12-month period of 
the first, then it is at the discretion of the Driver Safety Committee as 
to whether it is considered the first or second major threshold 
violation.[  The Driver Safety Committee shall consider aggravating 
factors outlined in Section R27-7-5.] 
 (c)  The third major threshold violation committed within 
12 months of the second major threshold violation [shall]may receive 
a [minimum ]driving suspension of 30 calendar days.  If the third 
major threshold violation does not occur within a 12-month period of 
the second, then it is at the discretion of the Driver Safety Committee 
as to whether it will be considered the second or third major threshold 
violation.[  The aggravating factors outlined in Section R27-7-5 
should be considered.] 
 (d)  The[a] fourth major threshold violation committed 
within 12 months of the third major threshold violation [shall]may 
receive a [minimum ]driving suspension of 60 calendar days.  If the 
fourth major threshold violation does not occur within a 12-month 
period of the third, then it is at the discretion of the Driver Safety 
Committee as to whether it will be considered the third or fourth 
major threshold violation.[  The aggravating factors outlined in 
Subsection R27-7-5(9) should be considered.] 
[ (e)  An agency may, at its discretion, impose penalties more 
strict than those outlined in this section. 
 (f)  An agency may, with approval from the Division, 
impose lesser penalties than those outlined in this section. 
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 (7)  The members of the Driver Safety Committee shall act 
on the following matters: 
 (a)  classifying the preventability of an accident in 
accordance with the standards in rule and the facts surrounding the 
accident and as to whether an accident should be classified as a major 
threshold violation.  The aggravating factors outlined in Subsection 
R27-7-5(9) should be considered; and 
 (b)  any other item brought before the Driver Safety 
Committee and under its discretion, including imposing driving 
suspension longer than the minimums outlined in rule. 
 (8)  The Driver Safety Committee may impose a driving 
suspension for a period less than what is in rule, but only after the 
recommended driving suspension period has been reviewed and 
approved by the Driver Eligibility Board before the suspension takes 
effect. 
 (9)  The Driver Safety Committee shall recommend 
appropriate disciplinary action to the employing agency.] 
 ([10]5)  The following aggravating factors are items the 
agency[Driver Safety Committee] shall consider when reviewing 
[the ]whether a single accident should be considered a major 
threshold violation and the Driver Safety Committee when 
determining driver eligibility suspension to be imposed[ or whether 
a single accident should be considered a major threshold violation]: 
 (a)  the accident resulted in bodily harm; 
 (b)  the accident had a high likelihood of causing bodily 
harm; 
 (c)  the amount of damage caused by the accident; 
 (d)  the accident had a high likelihood of causing damage; 
 (e)  the accident damaged the reputation of the state or 
agency; 
 (f)  the accident had a high likelihood of damaging the 
reputation of the state or agency; and 
 (g)  the frequency of the accidents under consideration. 
 ([10]6)  [State vehicle driving eligibility suspensions 
should begin within two weeks of the Driver Safety Committee 
meeting, unless a differing timeline is outlined in rule]If the agency 
becomes aware of unlawful driving behavior on personal time or in a 
personal vehicle, the Driver Safety Committee shall address those 
actions under this rule. 
 
R27-7-6.  Effects of [Driver Safety Committee ]Accident 
Preventability Classification. 
 (1)  If the [Driver Safety Committee]agency determines 
that an accident was preventable and not a major threshold violation, 
they [Driver Safety Committee ]shall require the following: 
 (a)  after the first preventable accident, the authorized 
driver shall attend a Division of Risk Management-approved driver 
safety program; 
 (b)  after the second preventable accident, the authorized 
driver shall attend, at their own expense, a state-certified or nationally 
recognized defensive driving course and; 
 (c)  after the third preventable accident within a three-year 
period, the authorized driver shall receive a major threshold violation 
and be subject to the standards of the Driver Safety Committee. 
 
R27-7-7.  Driver Eligibility Board. 
 (1)  The Driver Eligibility Board shall have at least four 
voting members.  Members of the Board shall include a 
representative from the division, the Division of Risk Management, 
the Division[epartment] of Human Resource Management and a 
representative of the authorized driver's agency.  Each member of the 

Board shall be assigned by the executive director of the department 
or designee. 
 (2)  The Driver Eligibility Board shall meet within 30 
calendar days of an appeal to the Driver Eligibility Board. 
 (3)  The employing agency supervisor and the authorized 
driver being reviewed shall be notified of the Driver Eligibility 
Board's meeting place and the date and time of the meeting.  Each 
authorized driver reviewed by the Driver Eligibility Board will be 
given the opportunity to speak to the Board and answer questions 
during the meeting if they choose to attend the Board meeting. 
 (4)  The Driver Eligibility Board may uphold, modify, or 
overturn a Driver Safety Committee decision within the guidelines of 
this rule[or the Driver Safety Committee may suspend state vehicle 
driving privileges for up to three years, according to Section 27-7-3 
and Subsections R27-7-5(6), (7)(b), and (10)]. 
 
KEY:  accidents, incidents, tickets, Driver Safety Committee 
Date of Last Change:  [March 14, 2022]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  October 20, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-9-
401(1)(d)(iii) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R27-8 Filing ID:  
55174 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Fleet Operations 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Cory Weeks 801-

957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.go 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R27-8.  State Vehicle Maintenance Program 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Division of Fleet Operations reviews rules annually 
and determined some changes that would clarify the intent 
of the rules. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Only minor wording changes were made; no material 
changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Because changes included only minor wording changes, 
there is no impact to state budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule does not impact local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not impact small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not impact non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Because changes included only minor wording changes.  
This rule does not affect other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Because changes included only minor wording changes.  
This rule change does not affect compliance costs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has no comments and has 
reviewed and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63A-9-401(1)(d)(i) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Cory Weeks,  
Director 

Date: 12/19/2022 

 
R27.  Government Operations, Fleet Operations. 
R27-8.  State Vehicle Maintenance Program. 
R27-8-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is established pursuant to Subsections 63A-9-
401(1)(d)(i) and (iv), which require the [the ]division to establish 
rules governing maintenance operations and PM programs for state 
vehicles. 
 (2)  Unless specifically exempted in writing by the division, 
agencies shall comply with this rule. 
 
R27-8-2.  Preventive Maintenance. 
 (1)  PM shall be performed in accordance with the schedule 
set forth in the Preventive Maintenance Program Coupon Book that 
accompanies each full-service lease vehicle.  The Preventive 
Maintenance Program Coupon Book is located in the glove 
compartment of each full-service lease vehicle. 
 (2)  The authorized driver or agency shall take the state 
vehicle to a vendor that participates in the division's service network. 
If an authorized driver needs to locate a service facility, the division 
will direct the authorized driver to the nearest service facility that 
participates in the division's service network. 
 (3)  Agencies leasing state vehicles are responsible for 
complying with annual inspections. 
 (a)  Inspection compliance certificates shall be forwarded 
to the division's offices for vehicle registration. 
 (4)  When taking a state vehicle [in ]for PM, the authorized 
driver shall present the Preventive Maintenance Coupon Book to the 
vendor. 
 
R27-8-4.  Repairs. 
 (1)  If a state vehicle is in need of repairs, either the 
authorized driver or the service facility shall contact the division 
before having any services performed.  A toll-free telephone number 
is listed on the front cover of the Driver Operating Manual and the 
Program Information Booklet located in the glove compartment. 
 (2)  The authorized driver or the service facility shall 
provide the VIN and the odometer reading to the division. 
 (3)  If a driver needs to locate a service facility, the division 
will direct the driver to the nearest service facility that participates in 
the division's service network. 
 (4)  If the vehicle is already in a service facility, the 
authorized driver shall direct the service facility to contact the 
division. Authorization to perform the required repairs shall be given 
by the division. 

 (5)  When taking a state vehicle in for repairs, the 
authorized driver shall identify the vehicle as belonging to the 
division, and not to the agency or department to which the vehicles 
are leased. 
 
R27-8-5.  Agency-Maintained Repair Shop. 
 (1)  Agencies with capital lease vehicles may, at their own 
expense, maintain and operate maintenance and repair facilities to 
care for leased vehicles. 
 (2)  Maintenance and repair shop personnel working on 
capital lease vehicles shall be trained in the use of the division's fleet 
information system, specifically for the system's work-order ticket 
module. 
 (3)  All maintenance and repairs performed on capital-only 
lease vehicles shall be entered into the fleet information system work-
order module within 24 hours of the next business day, following the 
completion of the work. 
 (4)  All maintenance and repairs performed or done on full-
service leased vehicles shall require prior approval from the division 
for PM and repair services. The agency maintenance and repair 
facility shall bill the division for services rendered. 
 (5)  Agency maintenance and repair facilities shall comply 
with state and federal laws, rules and regulations governing vehicle 
maintenance and repair facilities. 
 
KEY:  vehicle maintenance, repair, vendor approval 
Date of Last Change:  2023[March 14, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 22, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-9-
401(1)(d)(i); 63A-9-401(1)(d)(iv) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R27-10 Filing ID:  
55175 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Fleet Operations 
Room number: Third Floor 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141117 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1117 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Cory Weeks 801-

957-
7261 

coryweeks@utah.gob 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R27-10.  Identification Markings for State Motor Vehicles 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Division of Fleet Operations (Division) annually 
reviews rules.  In this rule review, changes were made that 
could reduce the administrative burden the Division places 
on its customers.  Fleet had previously stopped enforcing 
this rule, due to its burden.  After seeing no adverse effects 
from non-enforcement, this rule is being modified. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The Division removed a requirement that required certain 
authorizations. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Because the requirement being removed had not been 
enforced for some time, there is no anticipated savings to 
state budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule does not impact local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not impact small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not impact non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not impact other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 

are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has no comments and has 
reviewed and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63A-9-601(1)(c) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Cory Weeks,  
Director 

Date: 12/19/2022 

 
R27.  Government Operations, Fleet Operations. 
R27-10.  Identification Markings for State Motor Vehicles. 
R27-10-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Subsection 63A-9-601(5), the division is 
responsible for ensuring that state vehicles for agencies are marked 
as required by Section 41-1a-407.  If "EX" license plates are required, 
then the identification mark is also required. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized by Subsection 63A-9-601(1)(c). 
 
R27-10-2.  Identification Markings. 
 (1)  The standard identification mark shall be a likeness of 
the Great Seal of the state of Utah. 
 (a)  Light-, Medium-, and Heavy-duty trucks, service 
vehicles, and off-road equipment shall be clearly marked, on each 
front door, with an eight-inch State Seal.  At the option of the entity 
operating the state vehicle or equipment, the identification mark may 
include a banner not more than four inches high which may bear the 
agency's logo and the name of the department or division.  All 
identification markings must be approved by the division before use. 
 (b)  Non-law enforcement passenger vehicles shall be 
marked with a translucent identification sticker, four inches in 
diameter on the furthest rearward window in the lower-most rearward 
corner, on each side of the vehicle. 
 (2)  Identification mark requirements are not intended to 
preclude other markings used to identify special purpose vehicles. 
 (3)  Vehicles used for law enforcement purposes may, at the 
discretion of the operating agency, display a likeness of the Great 
Seal of the state of Utah in the center of a gold star for identification 
purposes.  Other emergency response vehicles are not precluded from 
displaying additional appropriate markings.  At the option of the 
agency, the State Seal may be placed on the front door above any 
molding and, where practicable, shall be at least four inches below 
the window.  The optional banner portion of the identification mark 
shall be placed immediately below the State Seal. 
 (4)  [It is the intent of these rules that these i]Identification 
markings shall clearly identify[ the] vehicles or equipment as being 
the property of the state.  Additional markings should be applied with 
discretion so as not to detract from that intent. 
 
R27-10-3.  License Plates. 
 (1)  Every vehicle owned, operated, or leased for the 
exclusive use of the state shall bear a license plate displaying the 
letters "EX."[.] 

 (2)  Plates issued to Utah Highway Patrol vehicles may bear 
the capital letters "UHP" a beehive logo, and the call number of the 
vehicle for which the plate is issued.  In lieu of the identification mark 
described in this rule, the Utah Highway Patrol may use a substitute 
identification mark of its own specification. 
 
R27-10-4.  Exceptions. 
 (1)  Neither the "EX" license plates nor the standard 
identification marks need be displayed on state vehicles if: 
 (a)  the state vehicle is in the direct service of the Governor, 
Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, State Auditor, or State 
Treasurer; 
 (b)  the state vehicle is used in official investigative work 
where secrecy is essential; 
 (c)  the state vehicle is provided to an official as part of a 
compensation package allowing unlimited personal use of that 
vehicle; or 
 (d)  the personal security of the state vehicle's occupants 
would be jeopardized if the identification mark were in place. 
 (2)  If a vehicle does not have EX plates, the agency must 
assist the division with annual registration requirements.[State 
vehicles which meet the criteria described in Subsection R27-10-4(1) 
may be excused from these rules to display the identification mark 
and "EX" license plates.  Any exceptions shall be requested in writing 
from the Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations.  Granted exceptions shall continue so long as the use of 
the state vehicle continues. 
 (3)  Exceptions shall expire when state vehicles are 
replaced.  New exceptions shall be requested when new state vehicles 
are placed in use. 
 (4)  No state vehicle required to display "EX" license plates 
shall be exempt from displaying the standard identification mark.] 
 ([5]3)  An agency marker that does not meet the 
specifications of Section R27-10-3 must be approved by the division. 
 
KEY:  motor vehicles 
Date of Last Change:  2023[March 14, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 22, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  41-1a-407; 
63A-9-401; 63A-9-601(1)(c) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R37-1 Filing ID:  
55178 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Risk Management  
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 2315 South 2700 West, 3rd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141321 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1321 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Darin Dennis 801-

520-
0670 

darindennis@utah.gov 

Steven Hughes 801-
707-
2644 

swhughes@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R37-1.  Risk Management General Rules 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
These amendments were made to simplify the Division of 
Risk Management's rules, reduce obligations of the Risk 
Management Fund's covered entities, and reflect recent 
statutory changes regarding the creation of one or more 
captive insurance companies. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendments add clarifying definitions and 
descriptions; address implications for captive insurance 
companies that are  created by the risk manager; simplify 
coverage and condition provisions; clarify risk control 
standards; and both simplify and eliminate requirements of 
covered entities. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments will result in savings to state agencies 
and institutions of higher education, inasmuch as they will 
no longer be required to complete an annual self-
inspection survey.  Moreover, state agencies will no longer 
receive a rate penalty for failure to complete the annual 
self-inspection survey. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments will result in savings to school districts 
and charter schools, inasmuch as they will no longer be 
required to complete an annual self-inspection survey.  
Moreover, school districts and charter schools will no 
longer receive a rate penalty for failure to complete the 
annual self-inspection survey. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments have no application to small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments have no application to non-small 
businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments have no application to persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state 
government, or local government entities. 
  
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There will be no compliance costs for affected persons; 
rather, there will be a reduction of compliance costs for the 
participating entities of the State Risk Management Fund 
(state agencies, institutions of higher education, school 
districts, and charter schools) because they will no longer 
be required to complete an annual self-inspection survey 
to avoid a 10% premium penalty. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Jenney Rees, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63A-4-101.5(b) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brian Nelson,  
Director 

Date: 12/29/2022 

 
R37.  Government Operations, Risk Management. 
R37-1.  Risk Management General Rules. 
R37-1-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to describe[establish the liability 
and property insurance coverage provided by] the Risk Management 
Fund, hereafter referred to as the "Fund," and prescribe the 
conditions, underwriting standards, and other rules that govern or 
control the use of [this ]coverage provided or purchased by the Fund 
and any captive insurance company created by the risk manager. 
 

R37-1-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is established pursuant to Section 63A-4-101.5, 
which authorizes the [State's R]risk [M]manager [to recommend 
rules to the Director of the Department of Government Operations 
who is authorized ]to enact rules. 
 
R37-1-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Captive" means a captive insurance company created 
by the risk manager under Title 31A, Chapter 37, Captive Insurance 
Companies Act. 
 (2)  "Conditions" means specific policy requirements the 
violation of which will invalidate coverage. 
 [(2)](3)  "Coverage or coverage provision" means the type 
of protection provided against specific risks or losses. 
 [(3)](4)  "Covered Entity" means a state department or 
other state agency not within a state department, a state college or 
university, a public school district, a participating charter school, or 
other entity which is covered under the terms of a coverage document 
issued to it by the Risk Management Fund. 
 [(4)](5)  "Fund" means the Risk Management Fund created 
by Section 63A-4-201. 
 (6)  "Risk manager" means the Director of the Division of 
Risk Management. 
 (7)  "Underwriting Standard" or "Risk Control Standard" 
means an action or procedure which must be performed by a covered 
entity [in order ]to reduce the risk of loss or to avoid imposition of 
coverage restrictions, deductibles, increased premiums, or loss of 
credits or dividends. 
 
R37-1-4.  Description of the Fund and its Activities. 
 (1)  The [Risk Management ]Fund[, hereafter referred to as 
the Fund,] is a self-insurance mechanism established by statute to 
handle losses to or claims against its covered entities.[the state, its 
agencies, institutions of higher education, participating school 
districts, participating charter schools, and other entities, which are 
treated as state agencies when participating, all hereafter referred to 
as covered entities.] 
 (2)  Although coverage through the Fund may be written in 
formats like [or similar to ]insurance policies, the relationship 
between the Fund and covered entities is not that of insurer and 
insured. 
 (3)  No special duties, rules of construction or other legal 
doctrines recognized by the courts or created by statute with respect 
to the relationship of an insurer to its insured shall apply to the Fund 
or entities covered by it, except those which are specifically required 
by Title 31A, Chapter 12, State Risk Management Fund, with respect 
to some coverage provided to school districts, or those that may be 
required for a captive under Title 31A, Chapter 37, Captive Insurance 
Companies Act. 
 (4)  The duty to defend covered entity employees, as 
defined in Section 63G-7-902[63-30d-102], or volunteers, as defined 
in Section 67-20-2, [of covered entities ]extends only as far as the 
covered entities' duty to employees or volunteers under Title 63G, 
Chapter 7,[the "] Governmental Immunity Act["] of Utah, and no 
special relationship of insurer to insured exists between the Fund and 
employees or volunteers of covered entities, unless otherwise 
required for a captive under Title 31A, Chapter 37, Captive Insurance 
Companies Act. 
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R37-1-5.  Coverage[, Deductibles, Duties] and Conditions. 
 (1)  Coverage - Specific risks covered, properties covered, 
coverage limits, exclusions, deductibles, conditions and other 
[coverage ]provisions for coverage through the [Risk Management 
]Fund, or through any captive, shall apply in accordance with the 
terms of annual coverage agreements or policies issued or procured 
by the Fund, or in accordance with any policies issued by a captive.[ 
to each covered entity.  Subject to specific provisions of the coverage 
policies, the Fund provides the following coverage:] 
[ (1)  Liability 
 (a)  Risks Covered - General, automobile, personal injury, 
errors and omissions, malpractice and garage keepers' liability, and 
personal injury protection coverage applying to all premises, 
operations, approved contracts, products and completed operations; 
owned, non-owned and hired automobiles, other than personal use 
automobiles; employees, volunteers, and students in the scope of 
employment or approved services to the public. 
 (b)  Limits - Typically, the limits are the maximum liability 
calculated pursuant to Section 63G-7-604; lower or higher limits for 
other situations as indicated in coverage policies issued to each 
covered entity. 
 (c)  Deductible - Deductibles apply to some specific 
property coverages and situations as noted in the coverage document, 
but there is no general deductible with regard to liability coverage.] 
 [(d)](2)  Conditions - The following conditions apply to 
[liability]each line of coverage[s:] provided by the Fund or any 
captive: 
 [(i)](a)  In the event of an occurrence, loss, personal injury, 
act, error, omission, incident, or any other situation likely to give rise 
to a claim covered by the Fund or any captive, each covered entity 
shall immediately provide written notice to the Fund or captive. 
 (i)  Written notice shall include: 
 (A)  [containing ]particulars sufficient to identify the 
covered entity or covered persons[person]; 
 (B)  [and also ]reasonably obtainable information with 
respect to the time, place and circumstances thereof; and 
 (C)  [, and] the names and addresses of [the ]potential 
claimants[,] and [of available]all known witnesses.[, shall be given 
by or for the covered entity or person to the Fund or any of its 
authorized agents as soon as practicable.] 
 (ii)  The covered entity shall promptly take all reasonable 
steps to prevent additional injury or damage arising out of the same 
or similar conditions. 
 (iii)  A covered entity's failure to take preventive measures 
shall not constitute a breach of this condition unless the Fund has 
requested the covered entity, in writing, to undertake the preventive 
measures. 
 (iv)  Costs incurred by a covered entity to implement 
preventive measures shall not be recoverable from the Fund or any 
captive. 
 [(ii)](b)(i)  If claim is made or suit is brought against the 
covered entity or person, whether in court or through an 
administrative proceeding with the Utah Anti-discrimination 
Division, the Federal Equal Employment Opportunity Commission 
or similar body, the covered entity or person shall immediately 
forward to the Fund or captive a copy of [every]each demand, notice, 
summons or other process received by it or its representative. 
 (ii)  Any covered person who is an employee or volunteer 
of the covered entity shall comply with [all provisions of ]Sections 
63G-7-902 [or]and 63G-7-903[, or both] before the Fund or any 
captive shall have any duty to defend or pay any judgment against 
such covered person. 

 [(iii)](c)  The covered entity or person shall: 
 (i)  cooperate with the Fund or captive; and[,] 
 (ii)  upon the Fund or captive's request[,]; 
 (A)  provide the [f]Fund or captive with requested 
information[,]; 
 (B)  assist in making settlements[,]; 
 (C)  assist in making rule 68 settlement offers of judgment 
per Utah Rules of Civil Procedure[,];[ and] 
 (D)  assist in the conduct of suits;[ and] 
 (E)  assist in enforcing any right of contribution or 
indemnity against any person or organization who may be liable to 
the covered entity or person because of bodily injury or property 
damage with respect to which coverage is afforded by the Fund or 
captive;[ and the covered entity or person shall] 
 (F)  attend hearings and trials; and 
 (G)  assist in securing and providing evidence and 
obtaining the attendance of witnesses. 
 (d)  The covered entity or person [shall]may not, except at 
its own cost[,]: 
 (i)  voluntarily make any payment[,]; 
 (ii)  assume any obligation; or 
 (iii)  incur any expense other than for qualified first aid to 
others [at the time of the ]immediately following an injury or 
accident. 
 [(iv)](e)(i)  In the event any employees or volunteers 
request[s] under the terms of Section 63G-7-902 that the covered 
entity defend [him]them relative to any action or claim which would 
be covered by the Fund or captive, the covered entity shall 
immediately forward the request to the Fund or captive, which[and 
the Fund] shall have the right to determine on behalf of the covered 
entity whether to: 
 (A)  defend[,]; 
 (B)  defend under a reservation of rights[,]; or 
 (C)  decline to defend. 
 [(v)](f)  The covered entity or person shall share [with the 
Fund all]each record[s] requested by the Fund or captive, relative to 
any claim under [this]their coverage, to the fullest extent permitted 
by [the]Title 63G, Chapter 2, [Utah ]Government Records Access 
and Management Act[ (GRAMA)].[  If the covered entity falls under 
the provisions of Sections 63-2-701, 63-2-702 or 63-2-703, the 
covered entity shall adopt an ordinance or policy, or make rules 
which allow the sharing of records with the Fund to at least the extent 
permitted by GRAMA and shall share with the Fund all records 
requested relative to any claim under this coverage to the fullest 
extent permitted by the ordinance, policy or rule. 
 (vi)  This coverage does not apply to any claim under the 
Americans With Disabilities Act, as amended, Section 504 of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, or similar laws based in 
whole or in part on the failure of any covered entity to provide a 
reasonable accommodation unless the covered entity has notified the 
Fund of its preliminary intention not to provide the requested 
accommodation, has allowed the Fund a reasonable opportunity to 
consult with the covered entity before the covered entity denies the 
requested accommodation, and the Fund agrees with the proposed 
denial.] 
 [(2)](3)  Coverage Disputes and Subrogation -- The 
following [C]conditions are applicable to all lines of coverage[s] 
provided by the Fund and any captive: 
 (a)  [In accordance with Subsection 63A-4-101(2)(b)(v), 
i]In the event of any coverage dispute between the Fund or any 
captive and any covered entity or person, there shall be no right of 
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legal action against the Fund or any captive unless otherwise required 
by Title 31A, Chapter 37, Captive Insurance Companies Act. 
 (b)  In the event of any payment under any coverage 
provided through the Fund or any captive[,]: 
 (i)  the Fund or captive shall be subrogated to all [of ]the 
covered entity or person's rights of recovery [therefor ]against any 
person or organization;[ and] 
 (ii)  the covered entity or person shall execute and deliver 
instruments and papers and do whatever else is necessary to secure 
these rights; and[.] 
 (iii)  [T]the covered entity or person [shall do nothing after 
the loss to]may not prejudice these rights. 
 
R37-1-6.  Premium Establishment. 
 In addition to other actuarially sound factors, the r[R]isk 
m[M]anager may use the following in determining the appropriate 
premiums for coverage provided to each covered entity: 
 (1)  [Entity e]Efforts at exposure management including 
completion of self-inspection surveys, employee training, agency 
attendance at Fund-sponsored seminars, agency risk control 
meetings, risk-related policy development and implementation[, etc]. 
 (2)  [Entity accidents, c]Claims and loss history. 
 (3)  [Recent s]State and federal statutes or court decisions 
affecting covered entities and operations. 
 (4)  Number of employees in the entity and size of the 
entity's budget. 
 (5)  Value, protection, exposures, and other characteristics 
of the entity's buildings and contents. 
 (6)  Number, type, and value of entity vehicles. 
 (7)  Characteristics and exposures of[Entity] operations and 
activities. 
 (8)  Actuarial studies. 
 
R37-1-7.  Risk Control Standards. 
 In accordance with Subsection 63A-4-101(2)(b)(i), each 
covered entity shall comply with the following risk control standards: 
 (1)(a)  Covered entities shall appoint an entity risk 
coordinator who shall report directly to the covered entity's director, 
school superintendent or university[/] or college president, or to 
another individual who reports directly to the covered entity's 
director, school superintendent or college[/] or university president. 
 (b)  Subordinate risk coordinators or other individuals may 
be appointed at the division, school or lower levels of the 
organization as the entity deems appropriate. 
 (c)  The day -to -day implementation or management of the 
entity's risk management duties may be assigned by the risk 
coordinator to subordinate individuals, committees, or groups as 
necessary for efficient operation and implementation. 
 (2)  The covered entity risk coordinator shall be responsible 
for the following duties: 
 (a)  [I]identifying, evaluating and resolving risk exposures 
for the entity[,]; 
 (b)  [C]coordinating with the Fund and any captive on the 
reporting and investigation of all claims or losses[,]; 
 (c)  [C]coordinating with the Fund and any captive on all 
liability prevention and loss control and prevention activities[.]; 
 (d)  [E]ensuring that the Fund and any captive is provided 
with all reasonable information necessary to compute premiums[.]; 
 (e)  [E]ensuring that premium billings are processed and 
paid[.]; 
 (f)  [E]ensuring that notification is made to the Fund and 
any captive on all incidents, issues or informal or administrative 

claims, including claims originating at the EEOC [and/]or UALD that 
may result in a formal claim against the Fund or any captive[.]; 
 (g)  [Internally ]supervising or managing all loss prevention 
activities[.]; and 
 (h)  [Normally ]chairing the entity Risk Control Committee 
and ensuring staff support to the Risk Control Committee. 
 (3)  Each covered entity shall appoint a Risk Control 
Committee, hereinafter referred to as the committee. 
 (a)  Each covered entity shall include on its committee 
those positions deemed necessary by the r[R]isk c[C]oordinator 
and/or the entity director, president, or superintendent to provide 
comprehensive review and risk management services to [all of ]the 
[entities]entity's operations. 
 (b)  [It is recommended that t]The following positions 
should be included on the committee: 
 [(a)](i)  [Entity ]Risk [C]coordinator[.]; 
 [(b)](ii)  [The covered entity's m]Maintenance director or 
manager;[and/or] 
 (iii)  facilities director or manager;[, where the entity owns 
or manages its own buildings or in the case where the building is 
leased the DFCM manager assigned to that building.] 
 [(c)](iv)  [The covered entity's ]Human 
[R]resource[/Personnel] director or manager;[.] 
 [(d)](v)  [The covered entity's ]Americans with Disabilities 
Act Coordinator;[, or other entity] 
 (vi)  Civil Rights coordinator or director[.]; 
 [(e)](vi)  [The covered entity's ]Safety [D]director or 
manager[.]; 
 [(f)](vii)  [The covered entity's ]legal counsel; and[ or 
attorney as an ex-officio member.] 
 [(g)](viii)  Staff from the Fund or any captive[, who may 
attend the meetings in an ex officio capacity]. 
 (c)  The covered entity should also[may] appoint on either 
a permanent or ad hoc basis other individuals whose job duties or 
special expertise may be of use to the committee, and may include:[.  
These individuals may include the covered entity's] 
 (i)  internal auditor[,];[ the covered entity's] 
 (ii)  security director[,];[ the] 
 (iii)  transportation or motor pool director or manager;[,] 
 (iv)  a representative from the [entity's ]finance and 
accounting section; and 
 (v)  employee representatives. 
 (d)  School districts may also [wish to ]include [on the 
committee ]representatives from the district's athletic, vocational, 
science and other high -risk programs.[curriculum areas.] 
 (e)  [The Fund, u]Upon request of the covered entity risk 
coordinator, the Fund or any captive will provide recommendations 
on the makeup of the committee. 
 (f)  The committee shall be normally chaired by the covered 
entity's risk coordinator. 
 (g)  The committee shall be responsible for oversight and 
supervision of the entity's risk coordination and management 
program and shall meet at least once each quarter.[  In advance of the 
meeting, the committee shall publish an agenda of its meetings and 
shall forward a copy of the agenda to the Fund.]  The entity or its 
committee may appoint other ad hoc or standing committees, or 
subcommittees to deal with specific issues and problems such as 
safety, risk control training, civil rights, accident review[ etc]. 
 (4)  The duties of the committee shall include the following 
activities: 
 (a)  [I]identifying, evaluating and resolving entity risk 
exposures[.]; 
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 (b)  [R]reviewing the hazards and corrective actions 
identified during the annual Risk Management self-inspection survey 
and developing effective and timely plans to eliminate those 
hazards[.]; 
 (c)  [S]serving as a liaison between the Fund, any captive, 
and the entity at the discretion of the r[R]isk c[C]oordinator[.]; 
 (d)  [R]reviewing inspection and other reports from the 
Fund and any captive and, where applicable, implementing the 
proposed recommendations[.]; 
 (e)  [R]reviewing and analyzing investigation reports and 
recommendations regarding all claims, accidents, worker[s] injuries 
or near accidents, and making recommendations to entity 
management [at appropriate levels on methods ]for reducing 
accidents or claims[.]; 
 [(i)](f)  [Where appropriate, the committee may 
r]recommend disciplinary [and/]or corrective action for employees 
who violate safety standards including [but not limited to ]OSHA, 
health, hazardous materials, fire and entity -specific standards 
and[/or] other standards, policies or rules that result in claims, 
accidents, worker injuries, or near accidents.  Any disciplinary or 
corrective action imposed shall be taken in accordance with the 
entity's rules[.]; 
 [(ii)](g)  receiving and reviewing recommendations from 
the entity's driver safety committee to reduce auto accidents and 
improve driver safety;[The committee, acting as the agency's 
Accident Review committee, shall review reports and 
recommendations from subcommittees and others regarding the 
driving and accident records of employees and may restrict 
employees from using entity vehicles or the employee's own vehicle 
on entity business.] 
 [(f)](h)  [D]developing policies related to risk reduction 
and accident prevention and [shall ]recommending their adoption by 
entity management[.]; 
 [(g)](i)  [C]conducting appropriate evaluations or audits of 
entity operations and developing findings and recommendations for 
resolution of identified problems or risk exposures[.]; 
 [(h)](j)  [C]conducting an annual review or evaluation of 
the entity's risk reduction efforts and providing the Fund or any 
captive with a copy of this evaluation[.]; and 
 [(i)](k)  [P]performing other related duties as assigned by 
the entity risk coordinator, by entity management, or as requested by 
the Fund or any captive. 
 
R37-1-8.  Underwriting Standards. 
 In accordance with Subsection 63A-4-101(2)(b)(i), 
covered entities shall comply with the following underwriting 
standards:[.] 
 (1)  [Covered entities shall a]Annually review, update, and 
submit a Statement of Values to the Fund before July 1st[.]; 
 (2)  [Furthermore, w]Within 90 days of acquisition, 
[covered entities shall ]report to the Fund or any captive the 
description and value of any after-acquired [personal ]property in 
excess of [$20,000 and real property in excess of $250]$25,000,000.[  
If a covered entity fails to comply with this standard, the Fund may 
deny coverage with respect to any loss associated with a non-reported 
asset.] 
 [(2)](3)  Within 30 days of receipt, report each leased, 
donated, or other non-owned asset with a value in excess of 
$500,000, and report collections of art or other valuables with an 
aggregate value in excess of $500,000, located in a single 
location;[Covered entities shall accurately complete and annually 
submit the Risk Management Online Self-Inspection Survey before 

June 1st , unless special exemption has been granted by the State Risk 
Manager.] 
 [(3)](4)  [Covered entities shall p]Provide each[all] 
volunteer[s] and employee[s] with training approved by the Fund on 
unlawful discrimination and harassment in the workplace and other 
civil rights and liability issues as required by the Fund[.]: 
 (a)  After initial training all covered entities shall provide 
updated or refresher training to all staff members every two [(2) 
]years[.]; 
 (b)  For state entities this training shall be coordinated[the 
Fund shall coordinate the required training] with the 
[Department]Division of Human Resource Management [as 
appropriate.  This training]and shall be developed and provided by 
qualified individuals[.]; and 
 (c)  Covered entities shall keep records of the training, 
including who provided the training, who attended the training and 
when they attended it. 
 [(4)](5)  Covered entities shall implement the following 
driver safety standards: 
 (a)  conduct or facilitate[shall have conducted for them] 
driver's license verification checks on all new employees and 
volunteers who will operate entity vehicles or their own vehicles on 
entity business at time of employment[.]; 
 (b)  [Covered entities shall, at least ]annually[,] verify the 
status of the driver's license of all employees and volunteers who 
operate entity vehicles or their own vehicles on entity business[.]; 
 (c)  [(5)  Covered entities shall ]establish procedures to 
ensure that any employee or volunteer who does not have a valid 
driver's license is not allowed to operate an entity vehicle or [his]their 
own vehicle on entity business[.]; 
 (d)  [(6)  Covered entities shall ]develop procedures to 
ensure that records of driver's license checks [and the results of these 
checks shall be]are kept confidential[.]; 
 (e)  [(7)  Covered entities shall ]include a requirement for 
maintenance of a valid and appropriate driver's license in all written 
job descriptions or other job analysis documents or individual 
performance plans where use of a vehicle is an essential function of 
the job;[, a requirement for maintenance of a valid and appropriate 
driver's license.] 
 (f)  [(8)  Covered entities shall ]require and document that 
all employees and volunteers who operate entity vehicles, or their 
own vehicles on entity business, complete a Fund-approved or Fund-
provided driver safety program at the time of initial employment and 
[at least once ]every two years thereafter;[.] 
 (g)  [(9)  Covered entities shall ]develop and enforce 
policies and procedures to deal with [problem drivers ]unsafe driving 
behavior and [other ]hazardous driving situations, including the 
following:[.  In addition to other appropriate provisions, these 
policies shall contain the following:] 
 (i)[(a)]  prohibit [E]employees or volunteers who are 
involved in an at-fault accident[, shall not be allowed to] from 
operat[e]ing entity vehicles[,] or their own vehicles on entity 
business[, beyond] for a reasonable time, not to exceed [thirty]30 
days[.]; 
 (ii)  [During this time the]require each at-fault employee or 
volunteer [must]to complete the Fund -approved driver safety 
program [in order to maintain]before restoring driving privileges[.];[  
This training shall not take the place of any agency imposed 
discipline or corrective action.] 
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 (iii)  ensure [(b)  E]employees and volunteers who are 
required to operate entity vehicles or their own vehicles [while ]on 
entity business [shall ]operate [the ]those vehicles within the limits 
or restrictions of their individual licenses[.]; and 
 (iv)  prohibit [(c)  E]employees and volunteers who are 
convicted of Driving under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs[,] or 
Reckless Driving[, shall not be allowed to] from operat[e]ing entity 
vehicles or their own vehicles on entity business[,] until their driving 
privileges are legally restored. 
[ (10)  Covered entities shall develop return to work and 
temporary transitional duty procedures.  Entities shall ensure that 
these procedures are in accordance with the requirements of the 
"Americans With Disabilities Act", as amended, and other applicable 
laws and rules.  The procedures shall provide for the return of injured 
employees to work at the earliest appropriate date.] 
 (6)  comply with Rule R27-7 if the covered entity is a state 
agencies or institution of higher education; 
 (7)  if the covered entity is a school district or a charter 
school, establish and maintain a driver safety committee, composed 
of three or more employees, including the risk coordinator, to 
perform the following functions: 
 (a)  evaluate, within 30 days of occurrence, each vehicle 
accident and traffic violation involving entity-owned vehicles or 
personal vehicles on entity business; 
 (b)  provide reasonable notice to each employee or 
volunteer, whose accident or traffic violation will be evaluated, of the 
driver safety committee meeting and ensure the employee or 
volunteer can participate in person, via video conference, or by 
telephone; 
 (c)  determine whether each accident was preventable; 
 (d)  determine whether each traffic violation resulted from 
the employee's or volunteers' hazardous driving behavior; 
 (e)  document the determination of the driver safety 
committee as to accident preventability and hazardous driving 
behavior; 
 (f)  develop recommendations regarding driving privileges, 
remediation, and discipline; 
 (g)  promptly report documented determinations and 
recommendations to entity management; 
 (h)  promptly notify the employee or volunteer of findings 
regarding accident preventability and hazardous driving behavior; 
and 
 (i)  maintain driver safety committee determinations, 
recommendations, and all reviewed records for a minimum of four 
years. 
 [(11)](8)  [Covered entities shall ]review the performance 
standards and job descriptions[or evaluation plan] of each employee 
and where appropriate add a standard requiring the use of required 
safety equipment, adherence to safety standards, or other liability and 
risk reduction requirements appropriate to the position and duties 
performed by the employee[.]; and 
 [(12)](9)  [All new construction, remodels, additions to 
existing facilities shall ]comply with the adopted editions of the 
International Building Code, International Fire Code, and other 
applicable codes in all new construction, remodels, or additions to 
existing facilities;[.] 
 (10)  ensure [E]existing facilities known to be out of 
compliance at the time of construction with the adopted edition of the 
International Building Code, International Fire Code and all other 
applicable codes [at the time of construction, shall be]are brought up 
to compliance as a condition of insurability[, ]; 

 (11)  covered entities that fail to comply with Subsections 
(9) and (10) will receive[otherwise] an appropriate premium 
surcharge or coverage restriction [may be instituted upon]after 
reasonable notice and an opportunity to [correct]cure areas of 
noncompliance. 
 
KEY:  risk management 
Date of Last Change:  2023[September 9, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 21, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63A-4-101 
et seq. 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R307-315 Filing ID:  
55176 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mat Carlile 385-

306-
6535 

mcarlile@utah.gov 

Ryan Bares  rbares@utah.gov 
Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R307-315.  NOx Emission Controls for Natural Gas-Fired 
Boilers 2.0-5.0 MMBtu 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
On 10/07/2022, the EPA finalized the reclassification of the 
Northern Wasatch Front Nonattainment Area (NAA) from 
marginal to moderate status for the 2015 NAAQS 8-hour 
ozone concentration.  The moderate classification means 
that the state of Utah must identify and implement 
reductions of ozone precursor emissions, including 
Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs) and Oxides of 
Nitrogen (NOx), in the designated NAA area as part of its 
State Implementation Plan (SIP) obligations under section 
172(c)(2) of the Clean Air Act. 
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Rule R307-315 will reduce emissions of NOx from 
industrial, commercial, and institutional natural gas-fired 
boilers in Salt Lake, Weber, Davis, Tooele, and Utah 
counties by requiring any new boiler, or burner installed on 
a boiler in these areas to be certified to emit no more than 
9 parts per million by volume (ppmv) while operating.  This 
rule does not require retrofits or replacements of existing 
boilers.  This rule will help reduce emissions from existing 
boilers within the nonattainment and surrounding areas 
over time as the existing boiler stock is replaced with 
compliant boilers.  Future emissions will also be curbed as 
the areas continue to grow by requiring new boiler 
installations to comply. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Rule R307-315 will require a source operating a natural 
gas-fired boiler in an industrial, institutional or commercial 
setting in Salt Lake, Davis, Weber, Tooele, and Utah 
counties to install a unit certified to emit no more than 9 
ppmv and retain the following records: a copy of the boilers 
emission rate specifications, the manufacturer's 
recommendations for proper operation and maintenance 
of the equipment, records showing proper operation and 
maintenance of equipment, and the manufacturer's 
certification for any burners replaced. 
 
 
Public hearing information: 
A hearing will be held on 02/15/2023 at 1:00 PM. 
 
Video call link: https://meet.google.com/urd-most-osq 
Or dial: 1005-586-321 +1 (US)  
PIN: 792 476 770 # 
 
The scheduled hearing will be canceled if no request is 
received. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The fiscal impact of this rule on state budgets is unknown.  
This rule will eventually impact all boilers between 2.0 and 
5.0MMBtu in impacted counties, a portion of which are 
owned and operated by the state.  This rule does not 
require retrofits to existing boilers, so the near-term impact 
of this rule will be limited to new installations, burner 
replacements, and boilers reaching the end of their useful 
life.  A Division of Air Quality (DAQ) analysis identified 
2,026 boilers in the 2.0- 5.0MMBtu range located in the 
impacted counties, but the proportion owned and operated 
by state government is not known.  DAQ estimates a cost 
difference of approximately $19,000 for replacing a 
3.34MMBtu standard boiler with an Ultra-Low NOx boiler 
rated at 9ppmv.  However, the timing of replacements is 

unknown and therefore, the fiscal impact cannot be 
accurately estimated. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The fiscal impact of this rule on local governments is 
unknown.  This rule will eventually impact all boilers 
between 2.0 and 5.0 MMBtu in impacted counties, a 
portion of which are owned and operated by local 
governments.  This rule does not require retrofits to 
existing boilers, so the near-term impact of this rule will be 
limited to new installations, burner replacements, and 
boilers reaching the end of their useful life.  A DAQ analysis 
identified 2,026 boilers in the 2.0- 5.0MMBtu range located 
in the impacted counties, but the proportion owned and 
operated by local governments is not known.  DAQ 
estimates a cost difference of approximately $19,000 for 
replacing a 3.34MMBtu standard boiler with an Ultra-Low 
NOx boiler rated at 9ppmv.  However, the timing of 
replacements is unknown and therefore, the fiscal impact 
cannot be accurately estimated. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The fiscal impact of this rule on small business is unknown.  
This rule will eventually impact all boilers between 2.0 and 
5.0MMBtu in impacted counties, a portion of which are 
owned and operated by small businesses.  This rule does 
not require retrofits to existing boilers, so the near-term 
impact of this rule will be limited to new installations, 
burner replacements, and boilers reaching the end of their 
useful life.  A DAQ analysis identified 2,026 boilers in the 
2.0-5.0MMBtu range located in the impacted counties, but 
the proportion owned and operated by small businesses is 
not known.  DAQ estimates a cost difference of 
approximately $19,000 for replacing a 3.34MMBtu 
standard boiler with an Ultra-Low NOx boiler rated at 
9ppmv.  However, the timing of replacements is unknown 
and therefore, the fiscal impact cannot be accurately 
estimated. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The fiscal impact of this rule on non-small business is 
unknown.  This rule will eventually impact all boilers 
between 2.0 and 5.0MMBtu in impacted counties, a 
portion of which are owned and operated by non-small 
businesses.  This rule does not require retrofits to existing 
boilers, so the near-term impact of this rule will be limited 
to new installations, burner replacements, and boilers 
reaching the end of their useful life.  A DAQ analysis 
identified 2,026 boilers in the 2.0-5.0MMBtu range located 
in the impacted counties, but the proportion owned and 
operated by non-small businesses is not known.  DAQ 
estimates a cost difference of approximately $19,000 for 
replacing a 3.34MMBtu standard boiler with an Ultra-Low 
NOx boiler rated at 9ppmv.  However, the timing of 
replacements is unknown and therefore, the fiscal impact 
cannot be accurately estimated. 
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E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The fiscal impact of this rule on other persons is unknown.  
This rule will eventually impact all boilers between 2.0 and 
5.0MMBtu in impacted counties, a portion of which are 
owned and operated persons other than small businesses, 
non-small businesses, state, or local governments.  This 
rule does not require retrofits to existing boilers, so the 
near-term impact of the rule will be limited to new 
installations, burner replacements, and boilers reaching 
the end of their useful life.  A DAQ analysis identified 2,026 
boilers in the 2.0-5.0MMBtu range located in the impacted 
counties, but the proportion owned and operated by other 
persons is not known.  DAQ estimates a cost difference of 
approximately $19,000 for replacing a 3.34MMBtu 
standard boiler with an Ultra-Low NOx boiler rated at 
9ppmv.  However, the timing of replacements is unknown 
and therefore, the fiscal impact cannot be accurately 
estimated. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The cost of compliance with this rule is estimated as the 
total cost difference between a boiler rated at 30ppmv and 
a boiler rated at 9ppmv for the same design value.  A staff 
analysis of comparable models with a design value of 
3.34MMBtu found this difference to be $19,000. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kimberly D. Shelley, has reviewed 
and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-2-104   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/15/2023 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
02/15/2023 1:00 PM See information in  

Box 4 above 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/02/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird,  
Director 

Date: 12/07/2022 

 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

40 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 15, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 02 

R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-315.  NOx Emission Controls for Natural Gas-Fired Boilers 
2.0-5.0 MMBtu. 
R307-315-1.  Purpose. 
 Rule R307-315 establishes maximum emission thresholds 
for the emissions of oxides of nitrogen (NOx) for new or modified 
natural gas-fired boilers with a total rated heat input of at least 2.0 
million British Thermal Units per hour (MMBtu/hr) and not more 
than 5.0 MMBtu/hr. 
 
R307-315-2.  Applicability. 
 Rule R307-315 applies to each boiler that commences 
construction or modification after the compliance date defined in 
Section R307-315-6 that: 
 (1)  is fueled by natural gas; 
 (2)  has a total rated heat input greater than 2.0 MMBtu/hr 
and not more than 5.0 MMBtu/hr; 
 (3)  is operated in an industrial, institutional, or commercial 
setting; 
 (4)  is located in Salt Lake, Utah, Davis, Weber, or Tooele 
County; and 
 (5)  is not a temporary boiler. 
 
R307-315-3.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 "Boiler" means boiler as defined in 40 CFR 63.11237, 
Subpart JJJJJJ National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants for Industrial, Commercial, and Institutional Boilers Area 
Sources, which is incorporated by reference in Rule R307-210. 
 "Burner" means the functional component of a boiler that 
provides the heat input by combustion of a fossil fuel, with air or 
oxygen. Burners are available either as part of the boiler package 
from the manufacturer, as stand-alone products for custom 
installations, or as replacement products. 
 "Construction" means any physical change or change in the 
method of operation including fabrication, erection, installation, 
demolition, or modification of a source which would result in a 
change in actual emissions. 
 "Modification" means any planned change in a source 
which results in a potential increase of emission. 
 "Natural gas" means: 
 (1)  A naturally occurring mixture of hydrocarbon and 
nonhydrocarbon gases found in geologic formations beneath the 
earth's surface, of which the principal constituent is methane; 
 (2)  Liquefied petroleum gas, as defined by the American 
Society for Testing and Materials in ASTM D1835, Section 63.14; 
 (3)  A mixture of hydrocarbons that maintains a gaseous 
state at ISO conditions.  For example, a temperature of 288 Kelvin, a 
relative humidity of 60%, and a pressure of 101.3 kilopascals.  
Additionally, natural gas must either be composed of at least 70% 
methane by volume or have a gross calorific value between 35 and 
41 megajoules (MJ) per dry standard cubic meter (950 and 1,100 Btu 
per dry standard cubic foot); or 
 (4)  Propane or propane-derived synthetic natural gas. 
Propane means a colorless gas derived from petroleum and natural 
gas, with the molecular structure C3H8. 
 "Temporary boiler" means any gaseous or liquid fuel-fired 
steam generating unit that is designed to, and is capable of, being 
carried or moved from one location to another. A steam generating 
unit is not a temporary boiler if any one of the following conditions 
exists: 
 (1)  The equipment is attached to a foundation. 

 (2)  The steam generating unit or a replacement remains at 
a location for more than 180 consecutive days. Any temporary boiler 
that replaces a temporary boiler at a location and performs the same 
or similar function will be included in calculating the consecutive 
time period. 
 (3)  The equipment is located at a seasonal facility and 
operates during the full annual operating period of the seasonal 
facility, remains at the facility for at least two years, and operates at 
that facility for at least three months each year. 
 (4)  The equipment is moved from one location to another 
in an attempt to circumvent the residence time requirements of this 
definition. 
 
R307-315-4.  Requirements. 
 (1)  A person that: 
 (a)  commences construction, or modification of a boiler; 
 (b)  replaces a burner in a boiler, or 
 (c)  replaces 50% or more of the burners in a multi-burner 
boiler for a boiler meeting the requirements of Section R307-315-2 
shall: 
 (2)  Install a burner that is certified to meet a NOx emission 
rate of nine parts per million by volume (ppmv) or less at 3% volume 
stack gas oxygen on a dry basis averaged over a 24-hour period. 
 (3)  An owner or operator of a boiler subject to Subsection 
R307-315-4(1) shall operate and maintain the boiler and boiler 
subsystems, including burner or burners, according to the 
manufacturer's instructions. 
 (4)  A manufacturer of a boiler or boiler burner meeting the 
requirement of Subsection R307-315-4(2) shall certify the boiler or 
boiler burner as complying with the emission rate in Subsection 
R307-315-4(2). 
 (5)  Manufacturer's operational specifications, records, and 
testing of any control system shall use the applicable EPA Reference 
Methods of 40 CFR Part 60, the most recent EPA test methods, or 
EPA-approved state methods, to determine the efficiency of the 
control device. 
 (6)  The owner or operator must meet the applicable 
recordkeeping requirements for any control device. 
 
R307-315-5.  Recordkeeping. 
 (1)  The owner or operator of any unit subject to Rule R307-
315 shall: 
 (a)  Retain documentation of the unit's emission rate 
specifications; 
 (b)  Retain a copy of the manufacturer's recommendations 
for proper operation and maintenance of units covered by Rule R307-
315; 
 (c)  Maintain records showing proper operation and 
maintenance of units covered by Rule R307-315 following 
manufacturer's recommendations; and 
 (d)  Retain a copy of the manufacturer's certification for any 
replacement burner. 
 (2)  Operation and maintenance records shall be retained 
for five years and shall be made available to the director upon request. 
 
R307-315-6.  Compliance Schedule. 
 The compliance schedule for this rule shall begin on May 
1, 2023. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, boiler, NOx, nitrogen oxides 
Date of Last Change:  2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-2-104 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R307-316 Filing ID:  
55177 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mat Carlile 385-

306-
6535 

mcarlile@utah.gov 

Ryan Bares  rbares@utah.gov 
Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R307-316.  NOx Emission Controls for Natural Gas-Fired 
Boilers Greater Than 5.0 MMBtu 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
On 10/07/2022, EPA finalized the reclassification of the 
Northern Wasatch Front Nonattainment Area (NAA) from 
marginal to moderate status for the 2015 NAAQS 8-hour 
ozone concentration.  The moderate classification means 
that the state of Utah must identify and implement 
reductions of ozone precursor emissions, including 
Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs) and Oxides of 
Nitrogen (NOx), in the designated NAA area as part of its 
State Implementation Plan (SIP) obligations under section 
172(c)(2) of the Clean Air Act. 
 
Rule R307-316 will reduce emissions of NOx from 
industrial, commercial, and institutional natural gas-fired 
boilers in Salt Lake, Weber, Davis, Tooele, and Utah 
counties by requiring any new boiler, or burner installed on 
a boiler in these areas to be certified to emit no more than 
9 parts per million by volume (ppmv) while operating.  This 
rule does not require retrofits or replacements of existing 
boilers.  This rule will help reduce emissions from existing 
boilers within the nonattainment and surrounding areas 
over time as the existing boiler stock is replaced with 
compliant boilers.  Future emissions will also be curbed as 
the areas continue to grow by requiring new boiler 
installations to comply. 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Rule R307-316 will require a source operating a natural 
gas-fired boiler in an industrial, institutional, or commercial 
setting in Salt Lake, Davis, Weber, Tooele, and Utah 
counties to install a unit certified to emit no more than 9 
ppmv and retain the following records: a copy of the boilers 
emission rate specifications, the manufacturer's 
recommendations for proper operation and maintenance 
of the equipment, records showing proper operation and 
maintenance of equipment, the manufacturer's 
certification for any burners replaced, records of any 
testing as required on boilers greater than 40 MMBtu, and 
a record of approval for any approved alternative method 
of control. 
 
 
Public hearing information: 
A hearing will be held on 02/15/2023 at 1:00 PM. 
 
Video call link: https://meet.google.com/urd-most-osq 
Or dial: 1005-586-321 +1 (US)  
PIN: 792 476 770 # 
 
The scheduled hearing will be canceled if no request is 
received. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The fiscal impact of this rule on state budgets is unknown.  
This rule will eventually impact all boilers above 5 MMBtu 
in impacted counties, a portion of which are owned and 
operated by the state.  This rule does not require retrofits 
to existing boilers, so the near-term impact of this rule will 
be limited to new installations, burner replacements, and 
boilers reaching the end of their useful life.  A Division of 
Air Quality (DAQ) analysis identified 620 boilers greater 
than 5 MMBtu located in the impacted counties, but the 
proportion owned and operated by state government is not 
known.  DAQ estimates a cost difference between $13,000 
and $26,000 for a 6.7MMBtu standard boiler that is 
replaced with an Ultra-Low NOx boiler rated at 9 ppmv.  
However, since the timing of replacement is unknown, the 
fiscal impact cannot be accurately estimated.  For boilers 
over 40 MMBtu, verification of the required testing will 
occur as part of the regular compliance inspection process 
and will have no fiscal impact for DAQ or other state 
agency. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The fiscal impact of this rule on local governments is 
unknown.  This rule will eventually impact all boilers above 
5 MMBtu in impacted counties, a portion of which are 
owned and operated by local governments.  This rule does 
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not require retrofits to existing boilers, so the near-term 
impact of this rule will be limited to new installations, 
burner replacements, and boilers reaching the end of their 
useful life.  A DAQ analysis identified 620 boilers over 5 
MMBtu located in the impacted counties, but the 
proportion owned and operated by local governments is 
not known.  DAQ estimates a cost difference between 
$13,000 and $26,000 for a 6.7MMBtu standard boiler that 
is replaced with an Ultra-Low NOx boiler rated at 9 ppmv.  
However, since the timing of replacement is unknown, the 
fiscal impact cannot be accurately estimated. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The fiscal impact of this rule on small business is unknown.  
This rule will eventually impact all boilers above 5 MMBtu 
in impacted counties, a portion of which are owned and 
operated by small businesses.  This rule does not require 
retrofits to existing boilers, so the near-term impact of this 
rule will be limited to new installations, burner 
replacements, and boilers reaching the end of their useful 
life.  A DAQ analysis identified 620 boilers over 5 MMBtu 
located in the impacted counties, but the proportion owned 
and operated by small businesses is not known.  DAQ 
estimates a cost difference between $13,000 and $26,000 
for a 6.7MMBtu standard boiler that is replaced with an 
Ultra-Low NOx boiler rated at 9 ppmv.  However, since the 
timing of replacement is unknown, the fiscal impact cannot 
be accurately estimated. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The fiscal impact of this rule on non-small business is 
unknown.  This rule will eventually impact all boilers above 
5 MMBtu in impacted counties, a portion of which are 
owned and operated by non-small businesses.  This rule 
does not require retrofits to existing boilers, so the near-
term impact of this rule will be limited to new installations, 
burner replacements, and boilers reaching the end of their 
useful life.  A DAQ analysis identified 620 boilers over 5 
MMBtu located in the impacted counties, but the 
proportion owned and operated by non-small businesses 
is not known.  DAQ estimates a cost difference between 
$13,000 and $26,000 for a 6.7MMBtu standard boiler that 
is replaced with an Ultra-Low NOx boiler rated at 9 ppmv.  
However, since the timing of replacement is unknown, the 
fiscal impact cannot be accurately estimated. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The fiscal impact of this rule on other persons is unknown.  
This rule will eventually impact all boilers above 5 MMBtu 
in impacted counties, a portion of which are owned and 
operated persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local governments.  This rule does 
not require retrofits to existing boilers, so the near-term 

impact of the rule will be limited to new installations, burner 
replacements, and boilers reaching the end of their useful 
life.  A DAQ analysis identified 620 boilers over 5 MMBtu 
located in the impacted counties, but the proportion owned 
and operated by other persons is not known.  DAQ 
estimates a cost difference between $13,000 and $26,000 
for a 6.7MMBtu standard boiler that is replaced with an 
Ultra-Low NOx boiler rated at 9 ppmv.  However, since the 
timing of replacement is unknown, the fiscal impact cannot 
be accurately estimated. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The cost of compliance with this rule is estimated as the 
total cost difference between a boiler rated at 30 ppmv and 
a boiler rated at 9 ppmv for the same design value.  A staff 
analysis of comparable models with a design value of 
6.7MMBtu found this difference to be $12,759.50.  Larger 
boiler installations are expected to be greater, but 
proportionately similar to this estimate. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kimberly D. Shelley, has reviewed 
and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-2-104   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/15/2023 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
02/15/2023 1:00 PM See information in  

Box 4 above 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/02/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird,  
Director 

Date: 12/07/2022 

 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-316.  NOx Emission Controls for Natural Gas-Fired Boilers 
Greater Than 5.0 MMBtu. 
R307-316-1.  Purpose. 
 Rule R307-316 establishes maximum emission thresholds 
for the emissions of oxides of nitrogen (NOx) for new or modified 
natural gas-fired boilers with a total rated heat input greater than 5.0 
million British Thermal Units per hour (MMBtu/hr). 
 
R307-316-2.  Applicability. 
 Rule R307-316 applies to each boiler that commences 
construction or modification after the compliance date defined in 
Section R307-316-6 that: 
 (1)  is fueled by natural gas; 
 (2)  has a total rated heat input greater than 5.0 MMBtu/hr; 
 (3)  is operated in an industrial, institutional, or commercial 
setting; 

 (4)  is located in Salt Lake, Utah, Davis, Weber, or Tooele 
County; and 
 (5)  is not a temporary boiler. 
 
R307-316-3.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 "Boiler" means boiler as defined in 40 CFR 63.11237, 
Subpart JJJJJJ National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants for Industrial, Commercial, and Institutional Boilers Area 
Sources, which is incorporated by reference in Rule R307-210. 
 "Burner" means the functional component of a boiler that 
provides the heat input by combustion of a fossil fuel with air or 
oxygen. Burners are available either as part of the boiler package 
from the manufacturer, as stand-alone products for custom 
installations, or as replacement products. 
 "Construction" means any physical change or change in the 
method of operation including fabrication, erection, installation, 
demolition, or modification of a source which would result in a 
change in actual emissions. 
 "Modification" means any planned change in a source that 
results in a potential increase of emission. 
 "Natural gas" means: 
 (1)  A naturally occurring mixture of hydrocarbon and 
nonhydrocarbon gases found in geologic formations beneath the 
earth's surface of which the principal constituent is methane; 
 (2)  Liquefied petroleum gas, as defined by the American 
Society for Testing and Materials in ASTM D1835, Section 63.14; 
 (3)  A mixture of hydrocarbons that maintains a gaseous 
state at ISO conditions.  For example, a temperature of 288 Kelvin, a 
relative humidity of 60%, and a pressure of 101.3 kilopascals. 
Additionally, natural gas must either be composed of at least 70% 
methane by volume or have a gross calorific value between 35 and 
41 megajoules (MJ) per dry standard cubic meter (950 and 1,100 Btu 
per dry standard cubic foot); or 
 (4)  Propane or propane-derived synthetic natural gas. 
Propane means a colorless gas derived from petroleum and natural 
gas, with the molecular structure C3H8. 
 "Temporary boiler" means any gaseous or liquid fuel-fired 
steam generating unit that is designed to, and is capable of, being 
carried or moved from one location to another.  A steam generating 
unit is not a temporary boiler if any one of the following conditions 
exists: 
 (1)  The equipment is attached to a foundation. 
 (2)  The steam generating unit or a replacement remains at 
a location for more than 180 consecutive days. Any temporary boiler 
that replaces a temporary boiler at a location and performs the same 
or similar function will be included in calculating the consecutive 
time period. 
 (3)  The equipment is located at a seasonal facility and 
operates during the full annual operating period of the seasonal 
facility, remains at the facility for at least two years, and operates at 
that facility for at least three months each year. 
 (4)  The equipment is moved from one location to another 
in an attempt to circumvent the residence time requirements of this 
definition. 
 
R307-316-4.  Requirements. 
 (1)  Except as provided in Subsection R307-316-4(8), a 
person that: 
 (a)  commences construction, or modification of a boiler; 
 (b)  replaces a burner in a boiler; or 
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 (c)  replaces 50% or more of the burners in a multi-burner 
boiler for a boiler meeting the requirements of Section R307-316-2 
shall: 
 (2)  Install a burner that is certified to meet a NOx emission 
rate of nine parts per million by volume (ppmv) or less at 3% volume 
stack gas oxygen on a dry basis averaged over a 24-hour period. 
 (3)  An owner or operator of a boiler subject to Subsection 
R307-316-4(1) shall operate and maintain the boiler and boiler 
subsystems, including burner or burners, according to the 
manufacturer's instructions. 
 (4)  A manufacturer of a boiler or boiler burner meeting the 
requirement of Subsection R307-316-4(2) shall certify the boiler or 
boiler burner as complying with the emission rate in Subsection 
R307-316-4(2). 
 (5)  Boilers over 40 MMBtu/hr shall be tested for 
compliance with the emission limit in Subsection R307-316-4(2) no 
less than once every three years using EPA Reference Method 7E. 
 (6)  Manufacturer's operational specifications, records, and 
testing of any control system shall use the applicable EPA Reference 
Methods of 40 CFR Part 60, the most recent EPA test methods, or 
EPA-approved state methods, to determine the efficiency of the 
control device. 
 (7)  The owner or operator must meet the applicable 
recordkeeping requirements for any control device. 
 (8)  Any person may apply to the director for approval of 
an alternate method of control. The application must include a 
demonstration that the proposed alternate produces an equal air 
quality benefit as required by Subsection R307-316-4(2) or the best 
achievable level of control available. 
 
R307-316-5.  Recordkeeping. 
 (1)  The owner or operator of any unit subject to Rule R307-
316 shall: 
 (a)  Retain documentation of the unit's emission rate 
specifications; 
 (b)  Retain a copy of the manufacturer's recommendations 
for proper operation and maintenance of units covered by Rule R307-
316; 
 (c)  Maintain records showing proper operation and 
maintenance of units covered by Rule R307-316 following 
manufacturer's recommendations; 
 (d)  Retain a copy of the manufacturer's certification for any 
replacement burner; 
 (e)  Retain records of any certification testing as required 
under Subsection R307-316-4(5); and 
 (f)  Retain a record of approval of any alternative method 
of control as outlined in Subsection R307-316-4(8). 
 (2)  Operation and maintenance records shall be retained 
for five years and shall be made available to the director upon request. 
 
R307-316-6.  Compliance Schedule. 
 The compliance schedule for this rule shall begin on May 
1, 2023. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, boiler, NOx, nitrogen oxides 
Date of Last Change:  2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-2-104 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R590-102 Filing ID:  
55180 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-102.  Insurance Department Fee Payment Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being amended to clarify certain fees charged 
by the Department of Insurance (Department). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendments clarify the total fee for a late assessment 
paid by a guaranteed asset protection provider, clarify that 
the annual health insurance actuarial review assessment 
is appropriated by the legislature, and remove a fee for 
accessing the Department's rate and form filing database 
because the database is freely available on the 
Department's website. 
 
 
Public hearing information: 
A hearing will be held on 01/17/2023 at 9:00 AM. 
 
Virtual Meeting ID: 
meet.google.com/cky-sfnf-yda 
Phone: 443-892-2797 
PIN: 585 732 559# 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The late assessment fee is already being collected, the 
rate and form database fee is not being collected because 
the information is freely available on the Department's 
website, and the actuarial review change merely provides 
clarification. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  Local governments are not subject to these 
fees. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The late assessment fee is already being 
collected, the rate and form database fee is not being 
collected because the information is freely available on the 
Department's website, and the actuarial review change 
merely provides clarification. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The late assessment fee is already being 
collected, the rate and form database fee is not being 
collected because the information is freely available on the 
Department's website, and the actuarial review change 
merely provides clarification. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The late assessment fee is already being 
collected, the rate and form database fee is not being 
collected because the information is freely available on the 
Department's website, and the actuarial review change 
merely provides clarification. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The late assessment fee is already being collected, the 
rate and form database fee is not being collected because 
the information is freely available on the Department's 
website, and the actuarial review change merely provides 
clarification. 
 

G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 31A-3-103  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
01/17/2023 09:00 AM See details above in 

Box 4 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 12/23/2022 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-102.  Insurance Department Fee Payment Rule. 
R590-102-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-3-103. 
 
R590-102-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  publish the schedule of fees approved by the 
legislature; 
 (b)  establish fee deadlines; and 
 (c)  disclose this information to licensees and the public. 
 (2)  This rule applies to: 
 (a)  any person engaged in the business of insurance in 
Utah; 
 (b)  any person holding an insurance license in Utah; 
 (c)  any applicant for a license, registration, certificate, or 
other similar filing; and 
 (d)  any person requesting any service provided by the 
department for which a fee is required. 
 
R590-102-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 31A-1-301 
and 63G-4-106. Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "Captive insurance company" means the same as under 
Section 31A-37-102. 
 (2)  "Deadline" means the final date or time: 
 (a)  imposed by: 
 (i)  statute; 
 (ii)  rule; or 
 (iii)  order; and 
 (b)  by which: 
 (i)  a payment must be received by the department without 
incurring a penalty for late payment or non-payment; or 
 (ii)  required information must be received by the 
department without incurring a penalty for late receipt or non-receipt. 
 (3)  "Fee" means an amount set by the commissioner, by 
statute, or by rule, and approved by the legislature for a license, 
registration, certificate, or other filing or service provided by the 
department. 

 (4)  "Electronic payment" means a credit card or automated 
clearinghouse payment. 
 (5)  "Other organization" includes a home warranty, joint 
underwriter, purchasing group, rate service organization, risk 
retention group, service contract provider, and health discount 
program. 
 (6)  "Medicare prescription drug plan insurer" means an 
insurer that offers exclusively Medicare Part D coverage. 
 (7)  "Received" means: 
 (a)  the date delivered to and stamped received by the 
department, if delivered in person; 
 (b)  the postmark date, if delivered by mail; 
 (c)  the delivery service's postmark date or pickup date, if 
delivered by a delivery service; or 
 (d)  the received date recorded on an item delivered, if 
delivered by: 
 (i)  facsimile; 
 (ii)  email; or 
 (iii)  another electronic method; or 
 (e)  a date specified in: 
 (i)  a statute; 
 (ii)  a rule; or 
 (iii)  an order. 
 
R590-102-4.  General Instructions. 
 (1)  Due Date. A fee payable to the department not included 
in Sections R590-102-5 through R590-102-24 is due when service is 
requested or by the due date on the invoice. 
 (2)  Payment. 
 (a)  A processing fee will be added to a non-electronic 
payment if the department provides an electronic payment process. 
 (b)  Check. 
 (i)  A check shall be made payable to the Utah Insurance 
Department. 
 (ii)  A person will be charged all fees associated with a 
dishonored check. 
 (iii)  A dishonored check will not constitute payment of the 
fee for which the check was issued and any action taken based on the 
payment will be voided. 
 (iv)  A late fee or penalty resulting from a voided check will 
apply until proper payment is received. 
 (c)  Cash.  The department is not responsible for a cash 
payment that is lost or misdelivered [prior to ]before a receipt [being 
]is issued. 
 (d)  Electronic Payment. 
 (i)  An electronic payment may be used to pay any fee due 
to the department. 
 (ii)  A person will be charged all fees associated with a 
dishonored electronic payment. 
 (iii)  A dishonored electronic payment will not constitute 
payment of the fee for which the electronic payment was issued and 
any action taken based on the payment will be voided. 
 (iv)  A late fee or penalty resulting from a voided electronic 
payment will apply until proper payment is received. 
 (3)  Retaliation.  The fees enumerated in this rule are not 
subject to retaliation under Section 31A-3-401 if other states or 
countries impose higher fees. 
 (4)  Refund. 
 (a)  A fee enumerated in this rule is non-refundable. 
 (b)  An overpayment of a fee is refundable. 
 (c)  A request for a refund of an overpayment shall be 
submitted in writing. 
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 (5)  A payment made in error to another agency or that is 
not deposited into the department's account will not constitute 
payment and any action taken based on the payment will be voided. 
 (6)  An annual or biennial license fee, service fee, or 
assessment described in this rule is for services the department will 
provide during the year and is paid in advance of providing the 
services. 
 (7)  An electronic commerce dedicated fee described in 
Section R590-102-23 may be added to the fees required by Sections 
R590-102-5 through R590-102-20. 
 
R590-102-5.  Admitted Insurer Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees for a certificate of authority: 
 (a)  initial license application, due with license application 
-- $1,000; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $300; 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the date on 
the invoice -- $350; and 
 (d)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $1,000. 
 (2)  Other license fees for a certificate of authority: 
 (a)  amendment, due with request for amendment -- $250; 
 (b)(i)  Form A application for merger, acquisition, or 
change of control, due with filing -- $2,000; and 
 (ii)  expenses incurred for consultant services necessary to 
evaluate a Form A will be charged to the applicant and due by the due 
date on the invoice; 
 (c)  redomestication filing, due with filing -- $2,000; and 
 (d)  application for organizational permit for a mutual 
insurer to solicit applications for qualifying insurance policies or 
subscriptions for mutual bonds or contribution notes, due with 
application -- $1,000. 
 (3)  The annual license fee includes the following: 
 (a)  filing annual statement and report of Utah business, due 
annually on March 1; 
 (b)  filing holding company registration statement, Form B; 
 (c)  filing application for material transactions between 
affiliated companies, Form D; and 
 (d)  applications for: 
 (i)  stock solicitation permit; 
 (ii)  public offering filing; 
 (iii)  SEC filing; 
 (iv)  private placement offering; and 
 (v)  individual license to solicit with the stock solicitation 
permit. 
 (4)  Annual service fee. 
 (a)  The annual service fee is due by the due date on the 
invoice. 
 (b)  A Medicare prescription drug plan insurer is exempted 
from payment of a service fee. 
 (c)  The annual service fee is based on the Utah premium 
as shown in the insurer's prior year annual statement on file with the 
NAIC and the department. 
 (d)  Fee schedule based on premium volume: 
 (i)  $0 premium volume - no service fee; 
 (ii)  more than $0 but less than $1 million -- $700; 
 (iii)  $1 million but less than $3 million -- $1,100; 
 (iv)  $3 million but less than $6 million -- $1,550; 
 (v)  $6 million but less than $11 million -- $2,100; 
 (vi)  $11 million but less than $15 million -- $2,750; 
 (vii)  $15 million but less than $20 million -- $3,500; and 
 (viii)  $20 million or more -- $4,350. 

 (e)  The annual service fee includes the following services: 
 (i)  filing of amendments to articles of incorporation, 
charter, or bylaws; 
 (ii)  filing a power of attorney; 
 (iii)  filing of registered agent; 
 (iv)  affixing the commissioner's seal and certifying any 
paper; 
 (v)  filing of authorization to appoint and remove agents; 
 (vi)  initial filing of a producer's or agency's appointment 
with an insurer; 
 (vii)  terminating a producer's or agency's appointment with 
an insurer; 
 (viii)  report filing; 
 (ix)  rate filing; and 
 (x)  form filing. 
 (5)  Actual costs plus overhead expenses incurred during an 
examination of an insurer shall be paid by the examined insurer by 
the due date on the invoice. 
 
R590-102-6.  Foreign Surplus Lines Insurer and Reinsurer Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $1,000; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $500; 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal payment paid after 
the due date on the invoice -- $550; and 
 (d)  reinstatement, due with application -- $1,000. 
 (2)  The annual license fee includes the following services: 
 (a)  filing a power of attorney; and 
 (b)  filing of registered agent. 
 
R590-102-7.  Other Organization Fees. 
 (1)(a)  Annual license fees: 
 (i)  initial, due with application -- $250; 
 (ii)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $200; 
 (iii)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due 
date on the invoice -- $250; and 
 (iv)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $250. 
 (b)  The annual other organization initial or renewal fee 
includes the risk retention group annual statement filing, due 
annually on March 1. 
 (2)  Annual service fee, due by the due date on the invoice 
-- $200. 
 (a)  The annual service fee includes the following services: 
 (i)  filing a power of attorney; 
 (ii)  filing of registered agent; 
 (iii)  rate filing; 
 (iv)  form filing; 
 (v)  report filing; and 
 (vi)  service contract filing. 
 
R590-102-8.  Captive Insurance Company Fees. 
 (1)  Initial license application, due with license application 
-- $200. 
 (2)  Actual costs incurred by the department during the 
initial license application review shall be paid by the captive 
insurance company by the due date on the invoice. 
 (3)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due by the due date on the invoice -- $7,250; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $7,250; 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due date 
on the invoice -- $7,300; and 
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 (d)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $7,300. 
 (4)  Actual costs plus overhead expenses incurred during an 
examination of a captive insurance company shall be paid by the 
examined captive insurance company by the due date on the invoice. 
 
R590-102-9.  Captive Cell Fees. 
 (1)  Initial license application, due with license application 
-- $200. 
 (2)  Actual costs incurred by the department during the 
initial license application review shall be paid by the captive 
insurance company by the due date on the invoice. 
 (3)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, without proration, due by the due date on the 
invoice -- $1,000; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $1,000; 
and 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due date 
on the invoice -- $1,050. 
 
R590-102-10.  Life Settlement Provider Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $1,000; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $300; 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due date 
on the invoice -- $350; and 
 (d)  reinstatement, due with reinstatement application -- 
$1,000. 
 (2)  Annual service fee, due by the due date on the invoice 
-- $600. 
 (a)  The annual service fee includes: 
 (i)  rate filing; 
 (ii)  form filing; 
 (iii)  report filing; and 
 (iv)  service contract filing. 
 (3)  Actual costs plus overhead expenses incurred during an 
examination of a life settlement provider shall be paid by the 
examined life settlement provider by the due date on the invoice. 
 
R590-102-11.  Professional Employer Organization (PEO) Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  PEO not certified by an assurance organization: 
 (i)  initial, due with application -- $2,000; 
 (ii)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $2,000; 
 (iii)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due 
date on the invoice -- $2,050; and 
 (iv)  reinstatement, due with reinstatement application -- 
$2,050. 
 (b)  PEO certified by an assurance organization: 
 (i)  initial, due with application -- $2,000; 
 (ii)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $1,000; 
 (iii)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due 
date on the invoice -- $1,050; and 
 (iv)  reinstatement, due with reinstatement application -- 
$1,050. 
 (c)  PEO small operator: 
 (i)  initial, due with application -- $2,000; 
 (ii)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $1,000; 
 (iii)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due 
date on the invoice -- $1,050; and 
 (iv)  reinstatement, due with reinstatement application -- 
$1,050. 

R590-102-12.  Individual Resident and Non-Resident License 
Fees, Other Than Individual Navigators. 
 (1)  Biennial license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $70; 
 (b)  renewal, due with renewal application -- $70; and 
 (c)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $120. 
 (2)  Biennial limited line license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $45; 
 (b)  renewal, due with renewal application -- $45; and 
 (c)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $95. 
 (3)  Other fees: 
 (a)  addition of producer classification or line of authority 
to individual producer license, due with request for additional 
classification or line of authority -- $25; and 
 (b)  title insurance product or service approval for dual 
licensed title licensee form filing, due with filing -- $25. 
 (4)  The biennial license fee includes the following 
services: 
 (a)  issuing a letter of certification; 
 (b)  issuing a letter of clearance; 
 (c)  issuing a duplicate license; and 
 (d)  individual continuing education services. 
 
R590-102-13.  Individual Navigator Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $35; 
 (b)  renewal, due with renewal application -- $35; and 
 (c)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $60. 
 (2)  The annual license fee includes the following services: 
 (a)  issuing a letter of certification; 
 (b)  issuing a letter of clearance; 
 (c)  issuing a duplicate license; and 
 (d)  individual continuing education services. 
 
R590-102-14.  Agency License Fees, Other Than Navigator or 
Bail Bond Agency. 
 (1)  Biennial resident and non-resident agency and limited 
line agency license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $75; 
 (b)  renewal, due with renewal application -- $75; and 
 (c)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $125. 
 (2)  Biennial resident title agency license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $100; 
 (b)  renewal, due with renewal application -- $100; and 
 (c)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $150. 
 (3)  Addition of producer classification or line of authority 
to agency license, due with request for additional classification or line 
of authority -- $25. 
 (4)  The biennial license fee includes the following 
services: 
 (a)  issuing a letter of certification; 
 (b)  issuing a letter of clearance; 
 (c)  issuing a duplicate license; 
 (d)  initial filing of a producer's designation to an agency 
license; 
 (e)  terminating a producer' designation to an agency 
license; 
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 (f)  filing an amendment to an agency license; and 
 (g)  filing a power of attorney. 
 
R590-102-15.  Navigator Agency Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $40; 
 (b)  renewal, due with renewal application -- $40; and 
 (c)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $65. 
 (2)  The annual license fee includes the following services: 
 (a)  issuing a letter of certification; 
 (b)  issuing a letter of clearance; 
 (c)  issuing a duplicate license; 
 (d)  initial filing of a producer's designation to an agency 
license; 
 (e)  terminating a producer's designation to an agency 
license; 
 (f)  filing an amendment to an agency license; and 
 (g)  filing a power of attorney. 
 
R590-102-16.  Bail Bond Agency Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fees: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $250; 
 (b)  renewal, due with renewal application -- $250; and 
 (c)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $300. 
 (2)  The annual license fee includes the following services: 
 (a)  issuing a letter of certification; 
 (b)  issuing a letter of clearance; 
 (c)  issuing a duplicate license; 
 (d)  initial filing of a producer's designation to an agency 
license; 
 (e)  terminating a producer's designation to an agency 
license; 
 (f)  filing an amendment to an agency license; and 
 (g)  filing a power of attorney. 
 
R590-102-17.  Continuing Care Provider Fees. 
 (1)  Annual registration fee: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $6,900; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $6,900; 
and 
 (c)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $6,950. 
 (2)  Annual disclosure statement fee: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $600; and 
 (b)  renewal, due with annual renewal disclosure statement 
-- $600. 
 
R590-102-18.  Pharmacy Benefit Manager Licensing Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fee: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $1,000; 
 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $1,000; 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due date 
on the invoice -- $1,050; and 
 (d)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $1,000. 
 
R590-102-19.  Guaranteed Asset Protection Provider Fees. 
 (1)  Annual provider registration fee: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $1,000; 

 (b)  renewal, due by the due date on the invoice -- $1,000; 
and 
 (c)  late renewal, due for any renewal paid after the due date 
on the invoice -- $1,050. 
 (2)  Annual retail seller assessment: 
 (a)  annual assessment, due by the due date on the invoice 
-- $50; and 
 (b)  late [fee]assessment, due for a retail seller assessment 
[fee ]paid after the due date on the invoice -- $[50]100. 
 
R590-102-20.  Continuing Education Fees. 
 (1)  Annual license fee: 
 (a)  initial, due with application -- $250; 
 (b)  renewal, due with renewal application -- $250; and 
 (c)  reinstatement, due with application for reinstatement -
- $300. 
 (2)  Continuing education course post-approval fee, due 
with request for approval -- $5 per credit hour, minimum fee $25. 
 
R590-102-21.  Non-Electronic Processing or Payment Fees. 
 (1)  Non-electronic filing processing fee, due with each 
non-electronic filing or by the due date on the invoice -- $5. 
 (2)  Non-electronic paper application processing fee, due 
with each non-electronic paper application or by the due date on the 
invoice -- $25. 
 (3)  Non-electronic payment processing fee, due with each 
non-electronic payment or by the due date on the invoice -- $25. 
 
R590-102-22.  Dedicated Fees. 
 The fees listed in this section are dedicated to specific uses. 
 (1)  Fraud assessment: 
 (a)  annual assessment under Section 31A-31-108, due by 
the due date on the invoice -- per invoice; and 
 (b)  late fee, due for a fraud assessment fee paid after the 
due date on the invoice -- $50. 
 (2)  Annual title insurance regulation assessment: annual 
assessment under Section 31A-23a-415 and Rule R592-10, due by 
the due date on the invoice -- per invoice. 
 (3)  Annual Title Recovery, Education, and Research Fund 
assessment under Section 31A-41-202: 
 (a)  individual title insurance producer; 
 (i)  initial, due with application -- $15; and 
 (ii)  renewal, due with renewal application -- $15; 
 (b)  agency title insurance producer, due with the initial 
application -- $1,000; and 
 (c)  annual agency title insurance producer assessment 
based on annual written title insurance premium, due by the due date 
on the invoice: 
 (i)  Band A, $0 to $1 million -- $125; 
 (ii)  Band B, more than $1 million to $10 million -- $250; 
 (iii)  Band C, more than $10 million to $20 million -- $375; 
and 
 (iv)  Band D,  more than $20 million -- $500. 
 (4)  Health insurance actuarial review assessment under 
Section 31A-30-115 as appropriated by the legislature, due by the due 
date on the invoice -- per invoice. 
 (5)  Code book fee: 
 (a)  code book, due at time of purchase or by the due date 
on the invoice -- $57; and 
 (b)  mailing fee, due at time of purchase or by the due date 
on the invoice -- $3. 
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 (6)  Fingerprint fees, due with application for individual 
license: 
 (a)  Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) -- $15; and 
 (b)  Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) -- $13.25. 
 
R590-102-23.  Electronic Commerce Dedicated Fees. 
 (1)  Electronic commerce, e-commerce, and internet 
technology services fee: 
 (a)  admitted insurer and surplus lines insurer, due with the 
initial, renewal, or reinstatement application -- $75; 
 (b)  captive insurance company, due with the initial, 
renewal, or reinstatement application -- $250; 
 (c)  other organization including professional employer 
organization, continuing care provider, pharmacy benefit manager, 
and life settlement provider, due with the initial, renewal, or 
reinstatement application -- $50; 
 (d)  continuing education provider, due with the initial, 
renewal, or reinstatement application -- $20; 
 (e)  agency, due with the initial, renewal, or reinstatement 
application -- $10; and 
 (f)  individual, due with the initial, renewal, or 
reinstatement application -- $5. 
[ (2)  Database access fees:] 
 [(a)  ](2)  Database access fee for information accessed 
through an electronic portal set up for that purpose, due when the 
department's database is accessed to input or acquire data -- $3 per 
transaction[; and 
 (b)  rate and form filing database access to an electronic 
public rate and form filing, due at time of service or by the due date 
on the invoice: 
 (i)  a separate fee is assessed per line of insurance accessed, 
for example, accident and health, life and annuity, or property and 
casualty; 
 (ii)  each line of insurance accessed is charged the 
following fees: 
 (A)  a base fee, which entitles the user to up to 30 minutes 
of access, the assistance of staff during that time, and one DVD -- 
$45; and 
 (B)  each additional 30 minutes of access time or fraction 
thereof, including the assistance of staff during that time -- $45; and 
 (iii)  each additional DVD -- $2]. 
 
R590-102-24.  Other Fees. 
 (1)  Photocopy fee -- $0.50 per page. 
 (2)  Complete annual statement copy fee -- $40 per 
statement. 
 (3)  Accepting service of legal process -- $10. 
 (4)  Production of information list: 
 (a)  printed list, if the information is already in list format 
and only needs to be printed or reprinted -- $1 per page; and 
 (b)  electronic list compiled by accessing information 
stored in the department's database: 
 (i)  a separate fee is assessed for each list compiled; 
 (ii)  each list is assessed one or more of the following fees: 
 (A)  a base fee, which entitles the requestor to up to 30 
minutes of staff time to draft the information query, compile the 
information, prepare a CD, and prepare a CD for mailing to the 
requestor, due with request for information -- $50; and 
 (B)  each additional 30 minutes or fraction thereof to draft 
the information query, compile the information, prepare a CD, and 
prepare a CD for mailing to the requestor, due by the due date on the 
invoice -- $50; and 

 (iii)  additional CD, due by the due date on the invoice -- 
$1. 
 (5)  Returned check fee -- $20. 
 (6)  Workers compensation loss cost multiplier schedule -- 
$5. 
 (7)  Address correction fee, assessed when department 
researches and enters a new address for a licensee, due by the due 
date on the invoice -- $35. 
 (8)  Independent review organization initial application fee, 
due with application -- $250. 
 (9)  Withdrawal from writing a line of insurance or 
reducing total annual premium volume by 75% or more, due with 
plan of orderly withdrawal submission -- $50,000. 
 (10)  Removing an administrative disciplinary action from 
a state-controlled website available to the public, due with 
application -- $185. 
 
R590-102-25.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, R590-102, or its application to 
any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect 
any other provision or application of this rule that can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application.  The remainder of this 
rule shall be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance fees 
Date of Last Change:  2023[June 21, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 8, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-3-103 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R920-60 Filing ID: 55183 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Operations, Traffic and Safety 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-

580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 
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James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R920-60.  Amusement Ride Safety 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Department of Transportation proposes these 
changes to Rule R920-60 to incorporate further 
regulations for zip lines and add Association for Challenge 
Course Technology (ACCT) specifications specifically 
involved with requirements for zip line inspections and 
operation.  It is also being modified to address the process 
for inspecting attractions that have received a major 
modification.  ASTM references are being updated to the 
most current versions F770, F2959, and F3054.  
Additionally, various unneeded definitions are being 
removed, and technical and grammar changes are made 
to comply with the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
These proposed changes clarify definitions and delete 
unneeded definitions, clarify required information for 
amusement ride operators, establish the ACCT 
requirements for use with zip lines, updates ASTM 
specification references, and makes technical and 
grammar changes to comply with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These proposed changes may cause a measurable fiscal 
impact on the state's budget because they adopt new 
standards by which inspectors will conduct amusement 
rides safety inspections.  However, the director of the 
amusement ride safety committee is not able to project 
what this impact may be before the changes are in place 
and being followed by the inspectors. 
  
B)  Local governments: 

These proposed changes may cause a measurable fiscal 
impact on local governments that operate amusement 

rides because they adopt new standards by which 
inspectors will conduct amusement rides safety 
inspections.  However, the director of the safety committee 
is not able to project what this impact may be before the 
changes are in place and being followed by the inspectors. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These proposed changes may cause a measurable fiscal 
impact on small businesses that operate amusement rides 
because they adopt new standards by which inspectors 
will conduct amusement rides safety inspections.  
However, the director of the amusement ride safety 
committee is not able to project what this impact may be 
before the changes are in place and being followed by the 
inspectors. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These proposed changes may cause a measurable fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses that operate amusement 
rides because they adopt new standards by which 
inspectors will conduct amusement rides safety 
inspections.  However, the director of the amusement ride 
safety committee is not able to project what this impact 
may be before the changes are in place and being followed 
by the inspectors. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These proposed changes may cause a measurable fiscal 
impact on persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities that run 
amusement rides because they adopt new standards by 
which inspectors will conduct amusement rides safety 
inspections.  However, the director of the amusement ride 
safety committee is not able to project what this impact 
may be before the changes are in place and being followed 
by the inspectors. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
These proposed changes may result in compliance costs 
for affected persons because they adopt new standards by 
which inspectors will conduct amusement rides safety 
inspections.  However, the director of the amusement ride 
safety committee is not able to project what these costs 
may be before the changes are in place and being followed 
by the inspectors. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
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this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation, Carlos M. Braceras, PE, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 72-16-203   

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference : 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

F770-22 Standard Practice for  
Ownership, Operation, Maintenance, 
and Inspection of Amusement Rides 
and Devices 

Publisher ASTM International (ASTM) 

Issue Date June 1, 2022 

Issue or Version F770-22 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

F2959-22 Standard Practice for Aerial 
Adventure Courses 

Publisher ASTM International (ASTM) 

Issue Date June 1, 2022 

Issue or Version F2959-22 

 
C) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

F3054-18 Standard Practice for  
Operations of Amusement Railway  
Rides, Devices, and Facilities 

Publisher ASTM International (ASTM) 

Issue Date March 1, 2018 

Issue or Version F3054-18 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

02/14/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/21/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive Director 

Date: 01/03/2023 

 
R920.  Transportation, Operations, Traffic and Safety. 
R920-60.  Amusement Ride Safety. 
R920-60-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes standards for the inspection and 
operation of amusement rides operated in Utah in the interest and 
safety of the [general ]public.  This rule also provides a permitting 
process for amusement rides, a certification process for [Q]qualified 
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[S]safety [I]inspectors, and implementation of powers and duties of 
the Utah Amusement Ride Safety Committee and its director. 
 
R920-60-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Section 72-16-203 to implement 
Title 72, Chapter 16, Amusement Ride Safety Act. 
 
R920-60-3.  Scope. 
 (1)  This rule shall apply to all amusement rides operated 
in Utah and owned[/] or operated by any individual, corporation, 
company, firm, partnership, association, or state or local government 
agency. 
 (2)  This rule shall not apply to: 
 (a)  a coin-operated amusement ride that: 
 (i)  is manually, mechanically, or electrically operated; 
 (ii)  is customarily placed in a public location; and 
 (iii)  does not typically require the supervision or services 
of an operator; 
 (b)  playground equipment including swings, seesaws, 
stationary spring-mounted animal features, rider propelled merry-go-
rounds, climbers, slides, swing sets, and physical fitness devices; 
 (c)  a live animal ride or live animal show; 
 (d)  a challenge, exercise, or obstacle course, including 
competitive events and participant propelled aerial adventure courses 
and ropes courses; 
 (e)  a trampoline; 
 (f)  an inflatable device; 
 (g)  a water-based recreational attraction where complete 
or partial immersion is intended, including a water slide, wave pool, 
or water park; 
 (h)  a race-kart designed for the sole purpose of racing on a 
track, street, or another area of competition, and not to be used by the 
[general ]public in an amusement facility setting; 
 (i)  a skating rink, arcade, laser paintball game, bowling 
alley, miniature golf course, ball crawl, an item of exercise 
equipment, jet ski, paddleboat, airboat, hot air balloon whether 
tethered or untethered, batting cage, game, and sideshow; 
 (j)  an amusement ride operated at a private event that is not 
open to the [general ]public and not subject to a separate admission 
charge or any amusement ride owned and operated by a non-profit 
organization [which]that meets all the requirements in this rule and 
operates their amusement rides less than eight days in any calendar 
year; 
 (k)  a passenger ropeway as defined in Section 72-11-102; 
 (l)  a tractor ride and wagon ride; or 
 (m)  a  motion seat in a movie theater for which the 
manufacturer does not require a restraint. 
 
R920-60-4.  Definitions. 
 In addition to terms defined [at]in Section 72-16-102, the 
following terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "ACCT" means the Association for Challenge Course 
Technology. 
 [(1)](2)  "Aerial Adventure Course" means a patron 
participatory facility or facilities consisting of one or more elevated 
walkways, platforms, [Z]zip [L]lines, nets, ropes, or other elements 
that require the use of fall hazard [P]personal [S]safety [E]equipment 
(PSE).  Aerial [A]adventure [C]courses are typically referred to as 
ropes courses, [F]free [F]fall [D]devices, and [Z]zip [L]lines in [the 
regulation]this rule. 
 [(2)](3)  "AIMS International" means Amusement Industry 
Manufacturers and Suppliers International. 

 [(3)](4)  "Amusement Ride" means a device or 
combination of devices or elements that carries or conveys one or 
more riders along, around, or over a fixed or restricted route or course 
or allows the riders to steer or guide the device within an established 
area to give the riders amusement, pleasure, thrills, or excitement. 
 [(4)](5)  "Amusement Ride, Kiddie Ride" means an 
amusement ride designed primarily for children up to 12 years of age. 
 [(5)](6)  "Amusement Ride, Non-Kiddie Ride" means an 
amusement ride not defined as a [K]kiddie [R]ride amusement ride. 
 [(6)](7)  "Annual Permit" means the amusement ride 
operating permit issued for a [P]permanent [A]amusement [R]ride or 
a [M]mobile [A]amusement [R]ride and is issued by the director and 
is valid for a period of one year. 
 [(7)](8)  "Certificate of Inspection" means the 
documentation of an amusement ride [I]inspection conducted by a 
[Q]qualified [S]safety [I]inspector. 
[ (8)  "Climbing Wall" means an artificially constructed wall 
with holds for hands and feet used for climbing.  Regulated climbing 
walls include climbing walls located in amusement settings and fixed 
or portable climbing walls for use by the general public as amusement 
rides and not for sport or fitness training.] 
 (9)  "Concession Go-Karts" means a single-vehicle that is 
powered without connection to a common energy source, which is 
driver-controlled for acceleration, speed, braking, and steering, 
which operates within the containment system of a defined track, 
which simulates competitive motorsports, and which is used by the 
[general ]public.  Concession go-karts typically operate at speeds of 
up to 25 miles per hour. 
 (10)  "Director" means the director of the Amusement Ride 
Safety Committee, [in]facilitated by the Utah Department of 
Transportation, or a designee thereof, which may include an 
employee of the [D]department of [T]transportation or another 
person. 
[ (11)  "Free Fall Device" means a component of an Aerial 
Adventure Course used to control a patron's intentional descent from 
an elevated structure and engineered to allow the patron to experience 
a rapid initial drop while ensuring a controlled landing. 
 (12)  "Information Plate" means a manufacturer-issued 
information plate, printed in English, which is permanently affixed 
to an amusement ride in a visible location and designed to remain 
legible for the expected life of an amusement ride.  The plate shall 
include the following applicable items: 
 (a)  "Ride Serial Number" means a manufacturer-issued 
unique identifying number or code affixed to the amusement ride in 
a permanent fashion. 
 (b)  "Ride Name and Manufacturer" means a manufacturer-
issued unique identifying ride name, including the manufacturer's 
name by city, state, and country. 
 (c)  "Ride Model Number" means a manufacturer-issued 
unique identifying number or code assigned to each manufactured 
type of amusement ride having the same structural design or 
components. 
 (d)  "Date of Manufacture" means the date determined by 
the manufacturer that the given amusement ride met the required 
construction specifications. 
 (e)  "Ride Speed" means maximum and minimum 
revolutions per minute, feet per second, or miles per hour, as 
applicable. 
 (f)  "Direction of Travel" means when the proper direction 
of travel is essential to the amusement ride's design operation, the 
manufacturer shall designate the direction of travel, including a 
reference point for this designation. 
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 (g)  "Rider Capacity by Weight" means the maximum total 
rider weight per rider position. 
 (h)  "Rider Capacity by Number" means the maximum total 
number of adult or child riders per rider position and per amusement 
ride.] 
 [(13)](11)  "Inspection for Annual Permit" means a 
procedure to be conducted before applying for an [A]annual 
[P]permit, or at the time of a [M]major [M]modification, by a 
[Q]qualified [S]safety [I]inspector to determine whether an 
amusement ride complies with the standards under this rule. 
 [(14)](12)  "Inspection, Daily" means a procedure to be 
performed and recorded by the owner-operator of an amusement ride, 
or the operator's designee on days the amusement ride will be 
operated for the [general ]public that confirms the current operational 
safety of the amusement ride following this rule and the 
manufacturer's recommendations, as applicable. 
 [(15)](13)  "Major Modification" means any change in 
either the structural or operational characteristics of the amusement 
ride that will alter its performance from that specified in the 
manufacturer's design criteria. 
 [(16)](14)  "Mobile Amusement Ride" means an 
amusement ride that is: 
 (a)  designed or adapted to be moved from one location to 
another; 
 (b)  not fixed at a single location; and 
 (c)  relocated at least once each calendar year. 
 [(17)](15)  "Muti Ride Annual Permit" means the 
amusement ride operating permit issued for multiple rides at an 
amusement park that employs more than 1,000 individuals in a 
calendar year and is issued by the director and is valid for a period of 
one year. 
 [(18)](16)  "NAARSO" means National Association of 
Amusement Ride Safety Officials. 
 [(19)](17)  "Operator" means an individual who controls 
the starting, stopping, or speed of an amusement ride. 
 [(20)](18)  "Owner-Operator" means an individual who has 
control over and responsibility for the maintenance, setup, and 
operation of an amusement ride. 
 [(21)](19)  "Permanent Amusement Ride" means an 
amusement ride that is not a mobile amusement ride. 
 [(22)](20)  "Qualified Safety Inspector[s (QSI)]" means an 
individual who holds a valid qualified Utah safety inspector 
certification. 
 [(23)](21)  "Race-Karts" means go-karts designed for the 
sole purpose of racing on tracks, streets, or other areas of 
competition, and not to be used by the [general ]public in an 
amusement facility setting. 
 [(24)](22)  "Reportable Serious Injury" means an injury to 
a rider that: 
 (a)  occurs when there is a failure or malfunction of an 
amusement ride; and 
 (b)  results in death, dismemberment, permanent 
disfigurement, permanent loss of the use of a body organ, member, 
function or system, or a compound fracture. 
 [(25)](23)  "Serious Injury" means an injury to a rider that: 
 (a)  occurs when there is a failure or malfunction of an 
amusement ride; and 
 (b)  requires immediate admission to a hospital and 
overnight hospitalization and observation by a licensed physician. 
[ (26)  "Service Proven" means, as defined in ASTM F2291-
18, "an amusement ride or  to an amusement ride of which units have 
been in service to the public for a minimum of five years and units 

that have been in service have done so without any significant design-
related failures or significant design-related safety issues that have 
not been mitigated." 
 (27)  "Service Proven Practice" means as defined in ASTM 
F2291-18, "a policy or procedure used in association with an 
amusement ride or device, which (1) has been in service to the public 
for a minimum of five years, and (2) has done so without any 
significant safety-related issues that have not been mitigated."] 
 [(28)](24)  "Zip Line" means an aerial adventure course 
element over an open span consisting of an inclined wire or fiber rope 
on which a harnessed patron suspended from a pulley or trolley 
traverses with the primary force for propulsion being gravity[a 
concession, commercial amusement device where participants 
attached to a pulley traverse by gravity from one point to another by 
use of a cable or rope line suspended between support structures]. 
[ (29)  "Zip Line Tour or Zip Line Course" means a guided 
aerial exploration or transit of a landscape employing a series of Zip 
Lines and platforms typically supported by human-made structures.] 
 
R920-60-5.  General Requirements for Amusement Rides. 
 (1)  General Requirements for Amusement Ride Operation.  
Beginning on April 1, 2022, a person may not operate an amusement 
ride in the state that is open to the public until they meet the following 
general requirements: 
 (a)  apply for and receive a valid permit to operate an 
amusement ride in the state; 
 (b)  to apply for a permit, provide certification of an 
inspection completed following Section R920-60-8 for each 
inspection conducted by a [Q]qualified [S]safety [I]inspector; 
 (c)  report serious injuries as required by statute and rule; 
 (d)  not operate a mobile amusement ride after a 
[R]reportable [S]serious [I]injury until authorized by the director; 
 (e)  maintain insurance on amusement rides as required by 
statute and rule; and 
 (f)  conduct daily inspections and maintain documentation 
for daily inspections for one year. 
 (2)  General [R]requirements for [Q]qualified [S]safety 
[I]inspectors: 
 (a)  become certified by the director as a [Q]qualified 
[S]safety [I]inspector; 
 (b)  as a [Q]qualified [S]safety [I]inspector, conduct 
inspections following this rule; and 
 (c)  as a [Q]qualified [S]safety [I]inspectors, maintain 
insurance as required by this rule. 
 (3)  The Amusement Ride Safety Committee incorporates 
by reference the following STM International standards: 
 (a)  F770-22 Standard Practice for Ownership, Operation, 
Maintenance, and Inspection of Amusement Rides and Devices; 
 (b)  F2959-22 Standard Practice for Aerial Adventure 
Courses; and 
 (c)  F3054-18 Standard Practice for Operations of 
Amusement Railway Rides, Devices, and Facilities. 
 
R920-60-6.  Application for Annual Permit. 
 To obtain or renew an [A]annual [P]permit or [M]multi -
[R]ride [A]annual [P]permit, the owner-operator shall submit an 
application to the director that contains the following information: 
 (1)  Annual Permit for Mobile Amusement Ride.  The 
owner-operator shall submit an application to the director that 
contains the following information and is in a form prescribed by the 
director: 
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 (a)  the owner-operator's name and address; 
 (b)  a description of the mobile amusement ride, including 
the manufacturer's name, [the ]serial number, and model number; 
 (c)  each known location in the state where the owner-
operator intends to operate the mobile amusement ride during the 12-
month period for which the [A]annual [P]permit is valid; 
 (d)  the name and contact information of the fair, show, 
landlord, or property owner for each location of operation; 
 (e)  the dates on which the owner-operator intends to set up 
the mobile amusement ride at each location; 
 (f)  the dates on which the owner-operator intends to 
operate the mobile amusement ride for use by the [general ]public at 
each location listed; 
 (g)  proof of compliance with insurance requirements as 
described in Subsection R920-60-6(6); 
 (h)  a safety inspection certification in a form approved by 
the director, signed by a [Q]qualified [S]safety [I]inspector dated no 
more than 30 days before the day on which the owner-operator 
submits the application for an [A]annual [P]permit; and 
 (i)  a fee established by the committee. 
 (2)  Owner-operators of mobile amusement rides shall 
update the information described in Subsection R920-60-6(1)(c) if 
the owner-operator learns of a new location where the owner-
operator intends to operate the mobile amusement ride.  A mobile 
amusement ride [cannot]shall not be operated unless the owner-
operator includes the location of the ride: 
 (a)  in the owner-operator's application or renewal for an 
[A]annual [P]permit; or 
 (b)  in an update that the owner-operator submits to the 
director at least 30 days before the day on which the owner-operator 
sets up the mobile amusement ride at the location. 
 (3)  Annual Permit for Permanent Amusement Ride.  The 
owner-operator shall submit an application to the director that 
contains the following and is in a form prescribed by the director: 
 (a)  the owner-operator's name and address; 
 (b)  a description of the permanent amusement ride, 
including the manufacturer's name, [the ]serial number, and model 
number; 
 (c)  the location in the state where the owner-operator will 
operate the permanent amusement ride; 
 (d)  the first date on which the owner-operator intends to 
operate the permanent amusement ride for use by the [general 
]public; 
 (e)  proof of compliance with insurance requirements as 
described in Subsection R920-60-6(6)  Insurance; 
 (f)  a safety inspection certification in a form approved by 
the director, signed by a [Q]qualified [S]safety [I]inspector dated no 
more than 30 days before the day on which the owner-operator 
applies for an [A]annual [P]permit; and 
 (g)  a fee established by the committee. 
 (4)  Multi Ride Annual Permit.  For each amusement ride 
located at an amusement park that employs more than 1,000 
individuals in a calendar year, the owner-operator shall submit an 
application to the director that contains the following and is in a form 
prescribed by the director: 
 (a)  the amusement park's name and address; 
 (b)  a list of each amusement ride located at the amusement 
park, including a description of each amusement ride; 
 (c)  the first date on which the owner-operator intends to 
operate the permanent amusement ride for use by the [general 
]public; 

 (d)  proof of compliance with insurance requirements as 
described in Subsection R920-60-6(6)  Insurance; 
 (e)  safety inspection certification in a form approved by 
the director, signed by a [Q]qualified [S]safety [I]inspector dated no 
more than 30 days before the day on which the owner-operator 
submits the application for an [A]annual [P]permit; and 
 (f)  a fee established by the committee. 
 (5)  Permit Fees. 
 (a)  Annual Permit: 
 (i)  Kiddie Ride:  $100.00; or 
 (ii)  Non-Kiddie Ride:  $100.00. 
 (b)  Multi -Ride Annual Permit.  For each amusement ride 
located at an amusement park that employs more than 1,000 
individuals in a calendar year: 
 (i)  Kiddie Ride:  $100.00; or 
 (ii)  Non-Kiddie Ride:  $100.00. 
 (6)  Insurance.  Amusement ride owner-operators shall be 
covered by liability insurance in not less than[ ] the following 
minimum amounts: 
 (a)  Owner-operators with 1,000 employees or fewer: 
 (i)  $1,000,000 for bodily injury per occurrence; 
 (ii)  $250,000 for property damage per occurrence; and 
 (iii)  $3,000,000 annual aggregate limit. 
 (b)  Owner-operators  with more than 1,000 employees: 
 (i)  $5,000,000 for bodily injury per occurrence: 
 (ii)  $1,000,000 for property damage per occurrence; and 
 (iii)  $10,000,000 annual aggregate limit. 
 (c)  An owner-operator or amusement park must maintain 
proof of insurance covering each amusement ride and make the 
documentation available to the director upon request. 
 (7)  Issuance of Annual Permit.  If the director provides 
written notice of deficiency in the application, the director will 
provide the [A]annual [P]permit or a written denial within a 
reasonable amount of time. 
 
R920-60-7.  Safety Inspection Certification. 
 (1)  Daily [i]Inspection.  Each day an amusement ride is to 
be operated for the [general ]public, the owner-operator, or the 
owner-operator's designee, shall conduct a daily documented and 
signed pre-opening inspection, based upon provided instructions, to 
verify the proper operation of the amusement ride.  Daily [P]pre-
[O]opening [I]inspections shall be consistent with the [I]inspection 
[P]program [R]requirements outlined in practices ASTM F770-
[19]22 Sections 7.1 and 7.2, or the other applicable standards in 
[s]Section R920-60-9.  A record of each daily inspection shall be 
maintained for at least one year after the day on which the inspection 
is performed. 
 (2)  Inspection for Annual Permit Application.  Each 
amusement ride intending to operate in the [S]state [ ]must be 
inspected by a qualified safety inspector [(QSI) ]no more than 30 
days [prior to]before the submittal of the application for an Annual 
Permit in the [S]state.  Upon successfully completing the inspection, 
the [QSI]qualified safety inspector shall provide the owner-operator 
with a certificate of inspection in a form approved by the director for 
submission with the application for an [A]annual [P]permit. 
 
R920-60-8.  Qualified Safety Inspector Requirements. 
 (1)  Certification Requirements.  To obtain a qualified 
safety inspector certification from the director, the applicant shall 
submit an application and fee as established by the committee that 
must include the following information that demonstrates the 
applicant: 
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 (a)  is a professional engineer, licensed under Title 58, 
Chapter 22, Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors 
Licensing Act, or an engineer with a comparable license from another 
state as determined by the committee; and has at least three years of 
experience in the amusement ride industry, at least two of which 
include actual inspection of amusement rides for an owner-operator, 
manufacturer, government agency, amusement park, carnival, or 
insurer; or 
 (b)  has at least three years of experience inspecting 
amusement rides for an owner-operator, manufacturer, government 
agency, amusement park, carnival, or insurer; and has obtained and 
maintains at least a current Level II NAARSO, [or ]Level II AIMS[,] 
[I]international certification, or an ACCT Level II Professional 
Inspector, which shall only be accepted for zip line inspections; or 
 (c)  has at least three years of experience inspecting 
amusement rides for an owner-operator, manufacturer, government 
agency, amusement park, carnival, or insurer; and is a member of and 
actively participates in an entity that develops standards applicable to 
the operation of amusement rides and: 
 (i)  is employed by an amusement park that employs more 
than 1,000 individuals in a calendar year; or 
 (ii)  the individual is an employee or authorized agent of an 
insurance company. 
 (2)  The director may deny, suspend, or revoke a qualified 
safety inspector certification if an individual fails to satisfy a 
requirement of this rule. 
 (3)  A [Q]qualified [S]safety [I]inspector shall pay the 
following Registration Fees: 
 (a)  initial application fee:  $50.00; or 
 (b)  renewal fee, every two years:  $40.00. 
 (4)  A [Q]qualified [S]safety [I]inspector shall:  
 (a)  maintain insurance in not less than the following 
minimum amounts: 
 (i)  $1,000,000 bodily injury; 
 (ii)  $250,000 property damage; and 
 (iii)  $2,000,000 aggregate; and 
 (b)  maintain proof of insurance and make the 
documentation available to the director upon request. 
 (5)  Certification Renewal.  To obtain a renewal of a 
qualified safety inspector certification, a qualified safety inspector 
shall submit to the director a fee established by the committee and a 
renewal application that demonstrates that the qualified safety 
inspector: 
 (a)  satisfies the requirements described in [s]Subsection 1 
of this section; and 
 (b)  during the previous two-year period, completed at least 
12 hours of continuing education instruction provided by: 
 (i)  a nationally recognized amusement industry 
organization; 
 (ii)  a nationally recognized organization in a relevant 
technical field; 
 (iii)  an owner-operator, through an owner-operator-run 
safety program approved by the committee; or 
 (iv)  an amusement park that employs more than 1,000 
individuals in a calendar year. 
 (6)  Certification [i]Issuance.  The director shall issue a 
[Q]qualified [S]safety [I]inspector certification to each individual 
who submits an application or a renewal application in a form 
prescribed by the director and complies with the requirements of this 
section and any applicable rules and fees. 

 (7)  Certification expiration.  A qualified safety inspector 
certification expires two years after the day on which the director 
issues the qualified inspector certification. 
 (8)  Suspension or Revocation of Certification.  
Notification of Suspension.  The director shall notify a [Q]qualified 
[S]safety [I]inspector of the suspension of a certification.  The 
director may suspend the certification of a [QSI]qualified safety 
inspector with intent to revoke for the following reasons: 
 (a)  The [QSI]qualified safety inspector has been convicted 
of or entered a plea of guilty or no contest to a crime related to the 
performance of amusement ride safety inspections in any court in the 
United States. 
 (b)  The [QSI]qualified safety inspector [has admitted ]to 
conduct constituting a crime related to the performance of an 
amusement ride safety inspection. 
 (c)  The [QSI]qualified safety inspector has falsified 
information or submitted a deceptive or fraudulent statement or 
document connected with certification as a [QSI]qualified safety 
inspector or inspection of an amusement ride. 
 (d)  The [QSI]qualified safety inspector has demonstrated 
willful wrongdoing that reflects a lack of integrity in certification as 
a [QSI]qualified safety inspector or Inspection of an amusement ride. 
 (e)  The [QSI]qualified safety inspector has been suspended 
as a [QSI]qualified safety inspector in another state. 
 (f)  The [QSI]qualified safety inspector has performed 
previous or current work in an unsatisfactory manner as determined 
by the director. 
 (g)  Failure of the [QSI]qualified safety inspector to 
observe the owner or operator of an amusement ride facility's safety 
practices and policies. 
 (h)  The director reasonably believes and finds that the 
public health, welfare, or safety requires suspension. 
 (9)  The [QSI]qualified safety inspector may not perform 
inspections of amusement rides during a suspension of their 
certification. 
 (10)  Right to Appeal.  Upon notification of suspension, the 
[QSI]qualified safety inspector has 30 days to appeal to the director.  
The director will promptly schedule a hearing with the Amusement 
Ride Safety Committee to hear the appeal.  The committee may 
choose to uphold the suspension and revoke the certificate or return 
the [QSI]qualified safety inspector to good standing.  The committee 
shall determine the length of the revocation and notify the 
[QSI]qualified safety inspector in writing.  If the [QSI]qualified 
safety inspector chooses not to appeal within the stated time frame, 
the director may issue the certificate's written revocation. 
 
R920-60-9.  Amusement Ride Operating Requirements and 
Governing Standards. 
 (1)  The operation of an amusement ride in the [S]state shall 
comply with the following applicable sections of the ASTM F-24 
standards: 
 (a)  F770-[19]22 Standard Practice for the Ownership, 
Operation, Maintenance, and Inspection of Amusement Rides and 
Devices: 
 (i)  Section 4. Owner[/]-Operator's Responsibility; 
 (ii)  Section 5. Operations Program Requirements; 
 (iii)  Section 6. Maintenance Program Requirements; 
 (iv)  Section 7. Inspection Program Requirements; and 
 (v)  Section 8. Training Program Requirements; 
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 (b)  F2007-18 Standard Practice for Design, Manufacture, 
and Operation of Concession Go-Karts and Facilities, Section 7. 
Concession Go-Kart Facility Operations; 
 (c)  F2460-19 Standard Practice for Special Requirements 
for Bumper Boats: 
 (i)  Section 6. Ownership and Operation Requirements; 
 (ii)  Section 7. Operational Requirements; and 
 (iii)  Section 8. Maintenance Requirements; 
 (d)  F2959-[19]22 Standard Practice for Aerial Adventure 
Courses, Section 5. Ownership, Operation, Maintenance, Inspection, 
and Training Requirements; and 
 (e)  F3054-[19]18 Standard Practice for Operations of 
Amusement Railway Rides, Devices, and Facilities. 
 
R920-60-10.  Rider Responsibility. 
 Section 78B-4-507 governs rider responsibility. 
 
R920-60-11.  Reporting of Injuries. 
 (1)  Reporting of Injuries.  As defined in Section 72-16-
102, every reportable serious injury must be reported to the director 
within eight hours after the owner-operator learns of the reportable 
serious injury.  The report to the director must include the following 
information: 
 (a)  the owner-operator's name and contact information; 
 (b)  the location of the amusement ride [at the time 
the]when reportable serious injury occurred; 
 (c)  a description of the amusement ride; 
 (d)  a description of the nature of the reportable serious 
injury; and 
 (e)  other information required by this rule. 
 (2)  In addition to the report to the director required by 
Subsection R920-60-11(1), an owner-operator of a mobile 
amusement ride shall report each known reportable serious injury and 
serious injury to the fair, show, landlord, or owner of the property 
upon which the mobile amusement ride was located [at the time 
the]when reportable serious injury or serious injury occurred. 
 (3)  After a reportable serious injury, the owner-operator 
may not operate the mobile amusement ride until the owner-operator 
receives written authorization from the director. 
 
R920-60-12.  Modification of an Amusement Ride. 
[ Intentionally left blank.] 
 (1)  The owner-operator shall inform the qualified safety 
inspector at the time of the inspection if an amusement ride has 
undergone a major modification. 
 (2)  The qualified safety inspector shall indicate on the 
certificate of inspection if an amusement ride has undergone a major 
modification. 
 
R920-60-13.  Penalty for Violation. 
 (1)  If an owner-operator or operator violates [a provision 
of ]this rule concerning an amusement ride, the director may: 
 (a)  deny, suspend, or revoke, in whole or in part, the owner-
operator's annual amusement ride permit or multi-ride permit for the 
amusement ride; 
 (b)  impose fines or administrative penalties per this rule; 
or 
 (c)  both. 
 (2)  The director may file an action in district court to enjoin 
the operation of an amusement ride if the director finds an owner-
operator has violated [a provision of ]this rule. 

 (3)  If the director finds an owner-operator has violated this 
rule, the director may issue a citation according to the following 
schedule, maximum by type of violation: 
 (a)  Operating an amusement ride without a current permit, 
the director may issue a citation per violation, per amusement ride, 
per day of: 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $500.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $1,000.00. 
 (b)  Owner-operator fails to notify the director of intent to 
operate within the state; 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $500.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $1,000.00. 
 (c)  Operating an amusement ride without proper liability 
insurance, the director may issue a citation per violation, per 
amusement ride, per day of: 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $500.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $1,000.00. 
 (d)  Operating an amusement ride without current safety 
inspection certification, the director may issue a citation per 
violation, per amusement ride, per day of: 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $500.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $1,000.00. 
 (e)  Operating an amusement ride in violation of a cease -
and -desist order, the director may issue a citation per violation, per 
amusement ride, per day of: 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $1,000.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $2,500.00. 
 (f)  Failing to report a reportable injury to the director 
within eight hours after the owner-operator learns of the reportable 
serious injury, the director may issue a citation per violation, per 
amusement ride, per day of; 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $1,000.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $1,500.00. 
 (g)  Operating an amusement ride by an unqualified person, 
the director may issue a citation per violation, per amusement ride, 
per day of: 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $500.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $1,000.00. 
 (h)  Failing to maintain records of an amusement ride 
following this rule: 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $500.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $1,000.00. 
 (i)  Failing to report a serious physical injury to a fair, show, 
landlord, or property owner, the director may issue a citation per 
violation, per amusement ride, per day of: 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $500.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $750.00. 
 (j)  Failing to update operation locations with the director 
before operating, the director may issue a citation per violation, per 
amusement ride, per day of: 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $250.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $500.00. 
 (k)  Falsifying an application to the director: 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $1,000.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $1,500.00. 
 (l)  Denying the director access to an amusement ride: 
 (i)  1st Offense:  $1,000.00; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $1,500.00. 
 (m)  Other violations of Title 72, Chapter 16, Amusement 
Ride Safety Act or this rule not listed: 
 (i)  1st Offense Warning; or 
 (ii)  2nd Offense:  $250.00. 
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 (4)  The director will not renew an annual permit if the 
owner-operator has unresolved outstanding violations or unpaid 
fines. 
 

KEY:  transportation safety, amusement ride, amusement ride 
permit, amusement ride penalty 
Date of Last Change:  2023[March 19, 2021] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-16-203 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive comment that requires the 
PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to respond 
to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
While the law does not designate a comment period for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends February 14, 2023. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only those 
changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding them ([example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text, 
either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to 
print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print 
is available from the agency or from the Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
From the end of the 30-day waiting period through May 15, 2023, an agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE becomes 
the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor more than 120 
days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates a public comment period, 
the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more 
than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in 
response to additional comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, the CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, 
R15-4-5b, R15-4-7, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page 
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NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R623-8 Filing ID: 55029 

Date of Previous 
Publication: 

12/15/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Lieutenant Governor 
Agency: Elections 
Room number: 220 
Street address: 350 N State Street 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Mailing address: PO Box 142325 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Ryan Cowley 801-

538-
1041 

elections@utah.gov 

Shelly Jackson 801-
538-
1041 

elections@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R623-8.  Ballot Chain of Custody 
 
3.  Reason for this change (Why is the agency submitting 
this filing?): 
The statement requiring identification for election officials 
should only apply to those officials engaged in ballot 
collection.  Under Section R623-8-4, General Duties, the 
sentence requiring an election official to be identifiable 
through the use of a badge, uniform, or other marking was 
moved to Section R623-8-5, Ballot Collection.  This 
clarifies the original intent. 
 
4.  Summary of this change (What does this filing do?): 

This filing limits the requirement of identification to election 
officials doing ballot collection only. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed new rule upon 
which this change in proposed rule (CPR) was based was 
published in the December 15, 2022, issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin, on page 44.  Underlining in the rule below 
indicates text that has been added since the publication of 
the proposed new rule mentioned above; strike-out 
indicates text that has been deleted.  You must view the 

CPR and the proposed new rule together to understand all 
of the changes that will be enforceable should the agency 
make this rule effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This change clarifies the original intention.  There is no 
fiscal impact. 
 
B)  Local government: 
This change clarifies the original intention.  There is no 
fiscal impact. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This change clarifies the original intention.  There is no 
fiscal impact. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This change clarifies the original intention.  There is no 
fiscal impact. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This change clarifies the original intention.  There is no 
fiscal impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
This change clarifies the original intention.  There is no 
fiscal impact. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Lieutenant Governor of the Governor's Office, Deidre 
M. Henderson, has reviewed and approved this regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
20A-3a-404 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

No Formal Comment 
Period 

 
9.  This rule change MAY become 
effective on:  

02/14/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Ryan Cowley,  
Director 

Date: 12/22/2022 

 
R623.  Lieutenant Governor, Elections. 
R623-8.  Ballot Chain of Custody. 
R623-8-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes requirements and guidelines for an 
election official regarding ballot security, including the custody, 
documentation of custody, handling, processing, disposition, and 
tabulation of ballots. 
 
R623-8-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Section 20A-3a-404 and enacted 
under the authority of Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative 
Rulemaking Act. 
 
R623-8-3.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the terms defined in Section 20A-1-102, the 
following definitions apply to this rule: 
 "Active ballot" means a ballot that is being processed for a 
current election. 
 "Chain of Custody" means the sequence of custody, 
control, and transfer of materials. 
 
R623-8-4.  General Duties. 
 [(1)  ]An election official shall be accompanied by at least 
one additional election official when active ballots are handled, 
collected, delivered to ballot processing centers, or processed. 
[ (2)  An election official shall be identifiable as an election 
official through the use of a badge, uniform, or other markings.] 
 
R623-8-5.  Ballot Collection. 
 (1)  An election official shall document the following 
information each time active ballots are collected: 
 (a)  names of any election official collecting ballots; 
 (b)  the name of the collection site, for example, drop box 
or post office; 
 (c)  date and time of the ballot collection; 
 (d)  the seal number used to secure the ballots; and 
 (e)  any damage to ballots, ballot box, and concerns, 
including unusual situations or irregularities. 
 (2)  An election official shall document the following 
information each time active ballots are received by the ballot 
processing center: 
 (a)  the time and date active ballots are returned to the ballot 
processing center; 
 (b)  seal numbers when received at the ballot processing 
center; and 
 (c)  the recorded number of active ballots received at the 
ballot processing center. 
 (3)  An election official shall be identifiable as an election 
official through the use of a badge, uniform, or other markings when 
engaging in ballot collection. 
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R623-8-6.  Ballot Processing.. 
 (1)  Active ballots shall be processed in a secure location 
where access is controlled by an election official. 
 (2)  An election official shall ensure that active ballots in a 
processing center are secured or monitored. 
 (3)  An election official shall ensure that active ballots are: 
 (a)  divided into batches and separated from other active 
ballots through each step of the process; and 
 (b)  clearly identified as to which stage of the process they 
are in. 
 (4)  On each day that tabulation is performed, tabulated 
active ballots shall be reconciled by an election official at least once 
a day against: 
 (a)  the statewide voter registration database; and 
 (b)  the number of processed active ballots for that 
processing session. 
 (5)  An election official shall ensure that each batch of 
active ballots is documented, noting the completion of each step 
according to Section R623-8-10. 
 (6)  An election official shall ensure that the name of each 
watcher is documented, potentially via a sign in and out with the date 
and time. 
 (7)  An election official shall provide clear and consistent 
instructions to watchers when checking in in accordance with Section 
20A-3a-801. 
 (8)  An election official shall ensure that counted and 
uncounted active ballots are clearly marked as such and are 
segregated from each other. 
 (9)  An election official shall ensure that each replicated 
active ballot is documented in accordance with Subsection 20A-4-
104(3). 
 (10)  An election official shall document the following 
when adjudicating active ballots: 
 (a)  the names of each election official adjudicating the 
active ballot; and 
 (b)  a record of which active ballots the official adjudicated. 
 (11)  Ballot processing centers may be monitored by 
cameras; if so, a retention policy shall be developed and implemented 
regarding the storage of camera footage. 
 (12)  Ballot processing centers shall be viewable to the 
public, but accessible only to authorized personnel. 
 
R623-8-7.  Polling Place Ballots. 
 (1)  An election official shall ensure that the number of 
voters checked in at a polling place shall be reconciled with the 
number of voted active ballots received at the polling place. 
 (2)  At the polling place, an election official shall ensure 
that the following information is documented: 
 (a)  the name of each election official receiving and 
delivering active ballots; and 
 (b)  how many active ballots were received at the ballot 
processing center. 
 
R623-8-8.  Equipment. 
 (1)  The county clerk, or a designee, shall document each 
election official that has access to each piece of equipment and the 
level of access maintained by each election official. 

 (2)  An election official shall ensure the following: 
 (a)  each piece of election equipment has a barcode or 
control number on an access point that can be tracked; and 
 (b)  each barcode or control number is documented. 
 (3)  An election official shall ensure that any election 
equipment maintenance is documented in accordance with 
Subsection 20A-5-902(2). 
 (4)  An election official shall be present for any equipment 
maintenance. 
 
R623-8-9.  Certificate of Compliance. 
 A certificate of compliance shall be included with any 
election return in accordance with Subsection 20A-3a-404(2). 
 
R623-8-10.  Election Return Archiving. 
 (1)  An election official shall ensure that archived material, 
including every ballot after an election, is stored and sealed in a 
receptacle and clearly labeled with the following information: 
 (a)  a description of the contents; 
 (b)  the name and date of the election; and 
 (c)  the destruction date. 
 (2)  Archived material shall include: 
 (a)  any electronic or physical ballot images and back-ups; 
and 
 (b)  any external storage medium used to collect ballot 
images or back-ups. 
 (3)  Archived material containers shall be sealed and seal 
numbers, if used, shall be documented. 
 (4)  Any access to archived material containers shall be 
documented. 
 (5)  The storage area shall be secure and accessible only to 
authorized County Clerk staff and personnel. 
 (6)  Chain of custody documentation shall be retained in 
accordance with Section 20A-4-202. 
 
R623-8-11.  Physical Areas. 
 The county clerk or designees shall ensure that any party 
who accesses the ballot processing center or server rooms shall be 
properly authorized to enter. 
 
R623-8-12.  Documenting Problems. 
 Any documentation required in this rule shall include any 
reporting problems or irregularities, and, if applicable shall include: 
 (1)  details of any observed issues or problems; 
 (2)  the date and time of when issues or problems occurred; 
 (3)  any action taken in response to issues or problems; and 
 (4)  any resolution to issues or problems. 
 
KEY:  elections, custody, Lieutenant Governor, ballots 
Date of Last Change:  2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  20A-3a-404 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R356-4 Filing ID: 50839 
Effective Date: 01/03/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State 

Commission on) 
Room number: E330 
Building: Senate Building (at State Capitol) 
Street address: 350 N State Street 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kayley Richards 801-

538-
1050 

ktrichards@utah.gov 

Ken Matthews 801-
538-
1058 

kmatthews@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R356-4.  Juvenile Detention or Confinement in Adult Jails 
and Lockups 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The purpose of this rule is to establish standards and 
certification procedures for the detention or confinement of 
juveniles in adult jails and lockups consistent with the 
requirements of Sections 62A-7-201 and 63M-7-204. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There are no written comments received about this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Failure to enact this rule would place the Criminal and 
Juvenile Justice (State Commission on) in violation of 
Sections 62A-7-201 and 63M-7-204.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tom Ross,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 01/04/2023 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R414-27 Filing ID: 50968 
Effective Date: 12/30/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-27.  Medicaid Enrollment Process for Nursing Care 
Facilities 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26-18-3 requires the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) to implement the Medicaid 
program through administrative rules, and Section 26-18-
503 authorizes the Department to grant Medicaid 
certification to new nursing care facility programs when 
there is a transfer of ownership. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department did not receive any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

The Department has determined that this rule is necessary 
because it governs the enrollment of nursing care facilities 
to receive Medicaid payments after a change of 
ownership, and outlines the duties of the transferor and 
transferee following the change.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 12/30/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R414-516 Filing ID: 54080 
Effective Date: 12/30/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-516.  Nursing Facility Non-State Government-Owned 
Upper Payment Limit Quality Improvement Program 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-1-213 grants the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) the power to adopt, amend, 
or rescind rules, while Section 26-18-3 requires the 
Department to implement the Medicaid program through 
administrative rules. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department did not receive any written comments 
regarding this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Department has determined that this rule is necessary 
because it sets forth provisions for non-state government-
owned nursing facilities to improve the quality of life for 
their residents.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 12/30/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R590-157 Filing ID: 54320 
Effective Date: 12/23/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-157.  Surplus Lines Insurance Premium Tax and 
Stamping Fee 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 31A-3-303 requires the insurance commissioner 
to write rules to prescribe accounting and reporting forms 
and procedures to be used in calculating and paying the 
surplus lines premium tax.  Section 31A-15-103 requires 
the insurance commissioner to write rules to specify the 
stamping fee amount and how it is to be collected. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule provides procedures and reporting forms to be 
used by insurers, brokers, and policyholders in calculating 
tax due.  As a result of the regulation, all who charge the 
tax use the same calculation to determine the amount of 
the fee.  It makes the payment uniform and fair.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 12/23/2022 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R590-243 Filing ID: 54583 
Effective Date: 12/23/2022 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-243.  Commercial Motor Vehicle Insurance 
Coverage 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code.  Section 31A-22-315 requires the 
Department of Insurance (Department) to write rules 
defining commercial motor vehicle insurance coverage. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

The Department has received no written comments 
regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it defines commercial 
motor vehicle insurance coverage as it applies to motor 
vehicle insurance reporting.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 12/23/2022 

 
 

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Animal Industry 
No.  54866  (Repeal and Reenact)  R58-17:  Aquatic Animal 
Health Rule 
Published:  10/01/2022 
Effective:  12/15/2022 
 
No.  54868  (New Rule)  R58-27:  Aquaculture, Brokering, 
Aquatic Animal Processing, and Fee Fishing Licensing 
Published:  10/01/2022 
Effective:  12/15/2022 
 
Plant Industry 
No.  55031  (Amendment)  R68-29:  Quality Assurance 
Testing on Cannabis 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  54946  (Amendment)  R68-33:  Industrial Hemp Retailer 
Permit 
Published:  10/15/2022 
Effective:  12/15/2022 
 
Regulatory Services 
No.  54876  (Amendment)  R70-350:  Ice Cream and Frozen 
Dairy Foods Standards 
Published:  10/01/2022 
Effective:  12/15/2022 
 
No.  54877  (Amendment)  R70-360:  Procedure for Obtaining 
a License to Test Milk for Payment 
Published:  10/01/2022 
Effective:  12/15/2022 
 
 

Commerce 
Consumer Protection 
No.  55019  (Repeal and Reenact)  R152-15:  Business 
Opportunity Disclosure Act Rule 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  12/22/2022 
 
No.  55018  (Repeal and Reenact)  R152-26:  Telephone 
Fraud Prevention Act Rule 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  12/22/2022 
 
Professional Licensing 
No.  55001  (Amendment)  R156-17b:  Pharmacy Practice Act 
Rule 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  01/05/2023 
 
No.  55007  (Amendment)  R156-37:  Utah Controlled 
Substances Act Rule 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  01/05/2023 
 
No.  55002  (Amendment)  R156-55a:  Utah Construction 
Trades Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  01/03/2023 
 
No.  55006  (Amendment)  R156-60a:  Social Worker 
Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  01/03/2023 
 
No.  55081  (Amendment)  R156-60b:  Marriage and Family 
Therapist Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
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No.  55023  (New Rule)  R156-70b:  Anesthesiologist 
Assistant Practice Act Rule 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  01/05/2023 
 
No.  55074  (New Rule)  R156-88a:  Dispensing Practice 
Rule 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
 
Corrections 
Administration 
No.  54907  (Repeal)  R251-704:  North Gate 
Published:  10/15/2022 
Effective:  01/11/2023 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  55095  (Repeal)  R277-412:  State Capitol Visit Program 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/11/2023 
 
No.  54992  (Amendment)  R277-419:  Pupil Accounting 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  12/22/2022 
 
No.  55096  (Amendment)  R277-471:  School Construction 
Oversight, Inspections, Training and Reporting 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/11/2023 
 
No.  55097  (Amendment)  R277-479:  Funding for Charter 
School Students With Disabilities on an IEP 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/11/2023 
 
No.  54999  (New Rule)  R277-630:  Child Sex Abuse and 
Human Trafficking Prevention Training and Instruction 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  12/22/2022 
 
No.  55098  (Amendment)  R277-705:  Secondary School 
Completion and Diplomas 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/11/2023 
 
No.  55099  (Amendment)  R277-750:  Education Programs 
for Students with Disabilities 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/11/2023 
 
No.  55000  (Repeal and Reenact)  R277-911:  Secondary 
Career and Technical Education 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  12/22/2022 
 
No.  54995  (Amendment)  R277-919:  Regulatory Sandbox 
Innovation Schools 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  12/22/2022 

No.  54996  (Amendment)  R277-925:  Effective Teachers in 
High Poverty Schools Incentive Program 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  12/22/2022 
 
 
Environmental Quality 
Water Quality 
No.  54828  (Amendment)  R317-1-7:  TMDLs 
Published:  09/15/2022 
Effective:  12/15/2022 
 
 
Government Operations 
Facilities Construction and Management 
No.  54830  (Repeal)  R23-4:  Suspension / Debarment 
Published:  10/01/2022 
Effective:  12/12/2022 
 
No.  54834  (Repeal)  R23-9:  Cooperation with Local 
Government Planning 
Published:  10/01/2022 
Effective:  12/12/2022 
 
No.  54998  (Repeal)  R23-32:  Rules of Procedure for 
Conduct of Utah State Building Board Meetings 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  12/22/2022 
 
Finance 
No.  54909  (New Rule)  R25-25:  Digital User Asset Service 
Provider and Agency Standards Rule 
Published:  10/15/2022 
Effective:  12/16/2022 
 
 
Governor 
Economic Opportunity 
No.  54822  (Repeal)  R357-28:  Talent Ready Connections 
Program 
Published:  09/15/2022 
Effective:  12/21/2022 
 
 
Health and Human Services 
Administration (Health) 
No.  54963  (Repeal)  R380-400:  Utah Medical Cannabis Act 
Rule 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54964  (Repeal)  R380-401:  Electronic Verification 
System and Inventory Control System 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54965  (Repeal)  R380-402:  Medical Cannabis Cards 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
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No.  54966  (Repeal)  R380-403:  Qualified Medical Providers 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54967  (Repeal)  R380-404:  Dosing Parameters 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54968  (Repeal)  R380-405:  Pharmacy Medical 
Providers 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54905  (Repeal)  R380-406:  Medical Cannabis 
Pharmacy 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54970  (Repeal)  R380-409:  State Central Patient Portal 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54971  (Repeal)  R380-410:  Agreement With a Tribe 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54972  (Repeal)  R380-411:  Administrative Hearing 
Procedures 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54973  (Repeal)  R380-412:  Compassionate Use Board 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54974  (Repeal)  R380-413:  Administrative Penalties 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
Center for Medical Cannabis 
No.  54952  (New Rule)  R383-1:  Definitions 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54953  (New Rule)  R383-2:  Electronic Verification 
System and Inventory Control System 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54954  (New Rule)  R383-3:  Medical Cannabis Cards 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54955  (New Rule)  R383-4:  Qualified Medical Providers 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54956  (New Rule)  R383-5:  Dosing Guidelines 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 

No.  54957  (New Rule)  R383-6:  Pharmacy Medical 
Providers 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54906  (New Rule)  R383-7:  Medical Cannabis 
Pharmacy 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54959  (New Rule)  R383-10:  State Central Patient 
Portal 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54960  (New Rule)  R383-11:  Agreement With a Tribe 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54975  (New Rule)  R383-12:  Administrative Hearing 
Procedures 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54961  (New Rule)  R383-13:  Compassionate Use 
Board 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  54962  (New Rule)  R383-14:  Administrative Penalties 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
No.  54770  (Amendment)  R414-305-9:  Transfer of 
Resources for Institutional Medicaid and Home and 
Community Based Services Waivers 
Published:  10/01/2022 
Effective:  12/30/2022 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  55089  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-194:  Coverage of 
Dietary Products for Inborn Errors of Amino Acid or Urea 
Cycle Metabolism 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  55045  (Amendment)  R590-239:  Exemption of Student 
Health Centers From Insurance Code 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  55090  (Repeal)  R590-246:  Professional Employer 
Organization (PEO) License Application Rule 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
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No.  55091  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-250:  PEO 
Assurance Organization Designation 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  55092  (Amendment)  R590-254:  Annual Financial 
Reporting Rule 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  55046  (Amendment)  R590-258:  Email Address 
Requirement 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  55093  (Amendment)  R590-265:  Hazardous Financial 
Condition Rule 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  55047  (Amendment)  R590-269:  Individual Open 
Enrollment Period 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  55094  (Amendment)  R590-272:  Commission 
Compensation Reporting 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  55048  (Amendment)  R590-276:  Record Retention for 
Foreign Insurers, Alien Insurers, Commercially Domiciled 
Insurers, Foreign Title Insurers, and Foreign Fraternals 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  55049  (Amendment)  R590-279:  Rule Designating 
Fraud Division Offices as a Secured Area 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  55050  (Amendment)  R590-280:  Counting Short-Term 
Funds 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
No.  55051  (Amendment)  R590-282:  Pharmacy Benefit 
Managers 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
 
Labor Commission 
Industrial Accidents 
No.  55017  (Amendment)  R612-300-4:  General Method of 
Computing Medical Fees 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 

No.  55014  (Amendment)  R612-400-5:  Premium Rates for 
the Uninsured Employers' Fund and the Employers' 
Reinsurance Fund 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
No.  55015  (Amendment)  R612-400-4:  Waivers 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  12/27/2022 
 
 
Natural Resources 
State Parks 
No.  55084  (Amendment)  R651-103:  Electronic Meetings 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/11/2023 
 
No.  55088  (Amendment)  R651-601:  Definitions as Used in 
These Rules 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/11/2023 
 
No.  55085  (Amendment)  R651-619:  Possession of 
Alcoholic Beverages or Controlled Substances 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/11/2023 
 
No.  55086  (Amendment)  R651-629:  Unattended Property 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/11/2023 
 
No.  55087  (Amendment)  R651-632:  Enforcement 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/11/2023 
 
 
Tax Commission 
Administration 
No.  54937  (Amendment)  R861-1A-42:  Waiver of Penalty 
and Interest for Reasonable Cause Pursuant to Utah Code 
Ann. Section 59-1-401 
Published:  10/15/2022 
Effective:  12/13/2022 
 
No.  54939  (Amendment)  R861-1A-43:  Electronic Meetings 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 52-4-207 
Published:  10/15/2022 
Effective:  12/13/2022 
 
Auditing 
No.  54935  (Amendment)  R865-19S-92:  Computer 
Software and Other Related Transactions Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Sections 59-12-103 and 59-12-211 
Published:  10/15/2022 
Effective:  12/13/2022 
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Motor Vehicle Enforcement 
No.  54941  (Amendment)  R877-23V-24:  Advisory Board 
Procedures Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 41-3-106 
Published:  10/15/2022 
Effective:  12/13/2022 
 
Property Tax 
No.  54938  (Amendment)  R884-24P-53:  2022 Valuation 
Guides for Valuation of Land Subject to the Farmland 
Assessment Act Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-
515 
Published:  10/15/2022 
Effective:  12/13/2022 
 

No.  54940  (Amendment)  R884-24P-72:  State Farmland 
Evaluation Advisory Committee Procedures Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Section 59-2-514 
Published:  10/15/2022 
Effective:  12/13/2022 
 
 
Transportation 
Motor Carrier 
No.  54997  (Amendment)  R909-2:  Utah Size and Weight 
Rule 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  01/10/2023 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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