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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between February 02, 2023, 12:00 a.m., and 
February 15, 2023, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the March 01, 2023, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least March 31, 2023.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through June 29, 2023, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R58-1 Filing ID:  
55241 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Animal Industry 
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@Utah.gov 

Amanda Price  801-
982-
2200 

amandaprice@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R58-1.  Admission, Identification, and Inspection of 
Livestock, Poultry, and Other Animals 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Changes are needed to bring the import requirements in 
line with current disease risks and federal movement 
requirements for all species.  Changes are also required 
to make the rule text more consistent with the 
requirements of the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Unnecessary and redundant language is removed 
throughout this rule to make it easier to understand. 
 
In Section R58-1-2, definitions are simplified and clarified, 
and unnecessary definitions are removed. 
 
Identification guidelines have been simplified by removing 
a portion of Section R58-1-3 and all of Section R58-1-4. 

Specific animal standards are already covered by 
Subsection R58-1-3(2)(e) and do not need to be listed in 
detail. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The changes clarify and make this rule consistent with 
current practice.  The Division of Animal Industry (Division) 
does not anticipate any impact on the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments do not participate in the Department of 
Agriculture and Food's (Department) animal health 
program and should not be impacted by the changes. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The changes clarify and make this rule consistent with 
current practice.  The Division does not anticipate any 
impact on small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The changes clarify and make this rule consistent with 
current practice.  The Division does not anticipate any 
impact on non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The changes clarify and make this rule consistent with 
current practice.  The Division does not anticipate any 
impact on other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected persons will not change.  
The fees charged by the Department and compliance 
requirements will remain the same. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in the 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 4, Chapter 31 Subsection 

4-2-103(1)(c)(i) 
Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(i) 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 02/09/2023 

 
R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
R58-1.  Admission, Identification, and Inspection of Livestock, 
Poultry, and Other Animals. 
R58-1-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under the authority of Title 4, Chapter 31, 
Control of Animal Disease, and Subsections 4-2-103(1)(c)(i), and 4-
2-103(1)(i). 
 (2)  [It is the intent of these rules]This rule intends to 
eliminate or reduce the spread of diseases among animals by 
providing standards to be met in the movement of animals within 
Utah and the importation of animals into the state. 
 
R58-1-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Accredited Veterinarian" means a veterinarian 
approved by the Deputy Administrator of Veterinary Services (VS), 
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services (APHIS), United States 
Department of Agriculture (USDA), in accordance with [the 
provisions of ]9 CFR 161 to perform functions required by 
cooperative [S]state-[F]federal disease control and eradication 
programs. 
 (2)  "Animal identification number (AIN)" means a 
numbering system for the official identification of individual animals 
in the United States that provides a nationally unique identification 
number for each animal.  The AIN consists of 15 digits, with the first 
[3]three being the country code.  The country code is [(]840 for the 
United States, or a unique country code may be used for any U.S. 
territory that has such a code and elects to use it in place of the 840 
code[)]. 
 (3)  "Animals" means vertebrates, except humans. 
[ (4)  "Approved livestock facility" means a stockyard, 
livestock market, buying station, concentration point, or any other 
premises under state or federal veterinary inspection where livestock 
are assembled and that has been approved by the department.] 
 ([5]4)  "Approved Livestock Market" means a livestock 
market that is licensed by the department under Title 4, Chapter 30, 
Livestock Markets. 
 ([6]5)  "Approved Slaughter Establishment" means a state 
or federally inspected slaughter establishment at which ante-mortem 
and [post-mortem]postmortem inspection [is]are conducted by state 
or federal inspectors. 
[ (7)  "Approved tagging site" means a premises, authorized 
by department, where livestock may be officially identified on behalf 
of their owner or the person in possession, care, or control of the 
animals when they are brought to the premises.] 
 ([8]6)  "Brand Inspection Certificate" means an official 
form, issued by a government agency or other agency responsible for 
animal identification in the state of origin, used to transfer the title of 
livestock[;], listing the identification marks of the animals as well as 
the consignor and consignee contact information. 
 ([9]7)  "Camelid[ae]" means a [term referring to members 
of the family of animals which for the purposes of these rules 
includes ]camel[s (camelus dromedarius and camelus bactrianus)], 
llama[s (lama glama)], alpaca[s (vicugna pacos) ], guanaco[s (lama 
guanicoe)], and vicuna[s (vicugna vicugna)]. 
 ([10]8)  "Captive Cervidae" means a term referring to 
captive-bred members of the cervid family [of animals which for the 
purposes of these rules includes]including [captive bred ]caribou, 
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[(]reindeer, [(rangifer tarandus)), captive bred ]elk, [(cervus 
canadensis nelsoni), ]and [captive bred ]fallow deer[ (dama dama)], 
or any other captive[ ]-bred cervidae allowed with permission from 
the State Veterinarian and the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources. 
 ([11]9)  "Certificate of Veterinary Inspection" means an 
official paper or electronic form completed by an accredited 
veterinarian that has examined the animal [or animals ]listed on the 
certificate and has completed any disease testing or vaccinations [as 
]required. 
 ([12]10)  "Commuter herd" means a herd of cattle or bison 
[located in two or more states that is documented as a valid ranching 
operation by those states in which the herd is located and which 
requires movement of cattle interstate from a farm of origin or 
returned interstate to a farm of origin in the course of normal ranching 
operations, without change of ownership, directly to or from another 
premise owned, leased, or rented by the same individual]moved 
interstate during normal livestock management operations and 
without change of ownership directly between two premises, as 
provided in a commuter herd agreement. 
 ([13]11)  "Commuter herd agreement" means a written 
agreement between the owner of a herd of cattle or bison and the 
animal health officials for the states or tribes of origin and destination 
specifying the conditions required for the interstate movement from 
one premises to another in the course of normal livestock 
management operations and specifying the[ time] period, up to one 
year, that the agreement is effective.  A commuter herd agreement 
may be renewed annually. 
 ([14]12)  "Dairy cattle" means any cattle, regardless of age[ 
or], sex, or current use, that are of a breed used to produce milk or 
other dairy products for human consumption[, including ayrshire, 
brown swiss, holstein, jersey, guernsey, milking shorthorn, and red 
and whites]. 
 ([15]13)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 ([16]14)  "Designated Brucellosis surveillance area" means 
an area within a state [that has been ]designated by the animal health 
official of that state as an area of increased disease risk for bovine 
Brucellosis. 
 ([17]15)  "Direct Movement" means the movement of[in 
which the] animals without[are not unloaded] unloading and enroute 
to their final destination, except for stops of less than 24 hours to 
feed, water, or rest the animals being moved, and [not commingled 
]without commingling with another producer's animals. 
[ (18)  "Exotic animal" means a rare or unusual animal pet or 
an animal, not commonly thought of as a pet, kept within a human 
household.  For this chapter, rodents, reptiles, and amphibians are 
considered exotic animals.] 
 ([19]16)  "Exposed Animal" means an animal that has been 
in contact with, [or ]on the same premises [of]as, or within a 
quarantine zone where animals with a contagious or communicable 
disease are present. 
[ (20)  "Farm of Origin" means the farm where the animal 
was born and remains prior to importation into the state.] 
 ([21]17)  "Flock-based number system" means the [flock-
based ]number system that combines a flock identification number 
(FIN) with a producer's unique livestock production numbering 
system to provide a nationally unique identification number for an 
animal. 
 ([22]18)  "Flock identification number (FIN)" means a 
nationally unique number assigned by a state, tribal, or federal animal 
health authority to a group of animals that are managed as a unit on 
one or more premises and are under the same ownership. 

 (19)  "Gamebird" means any captive raised animal 
identified as a Pen-Reared Gamebird in Section R657-4-2. 
 ([23]20)  "Group[/] or lot identification number (GIN)" 
means the identification number used to uniquely identify a "unit of 
animals" of the same species that [is]are managed together as one 
group throughout the preharvest production chain. 
 ([24]21)  "Import Permit" means a number given by the 
department to the issuing veterinarian that is recorded on the 
[c]Certificate of [v]Veterinary [i]Inspection if[and is] required before 
the movement of the animals into the state. 
 ([25]22)  "Interstate movement" means the movement of 
animals from one state into or through any other state. 
[ (26)  "Livestock Market Veterinarian" means a Utah 
licensed and USDA accredited veterinarian appointed by the 
department to work at approved livestock markets. 
 (27)  "Location identification (LID) number" means a 
nationally unique number issued by a state, tribal, or federal animal 
health authority to a location as determined by the state or tribe in 
which it is issued.  The LID number may be used in conjunction with 
a producer's own unique livestock production numbering system to 
provide a nationally unique and herd-unique identification number 
for an animal.  It may also be used as a component of a group/lot 
identification number (GIN).] 
 ([28]23)  "National Uniform Eartagging System (NUES)" 
means a numbering system for the official identification of individual 
animals in the United States that provides a nationally unique 
identification number for each animal. 
 ([29]24)  "Official [C]calfhood [V]vaccinate" means 
female bison or cattle vaccinated by a USDA Veterinary Services 
representative, state certified technician, or accredited veterinarian 
with an approved dose of RB51 vaccine or other USDA approved 
agent while from 4 to 12 months of age in accordance with its 
labeling.  These cattle shall be properly identified by official tattoos 
and ear tags or registration tattoos.[ and be reported on an official 
vaccination certificate (VS Form 4-24) within 30 days to the State 
Veterinarian.] 
 ([30]25)  "Official [eartag]ear tag" means an identification 
tag approved by the department that bears an official identification 
number for individual animals.  The official [eartag]ear tag shall be 
tamper-resistant and have a high retention rate in the animal. 
[ (31)  "Official eartag shield" means the shield shaped 
graphic of the U.S. Route Shield with "U.S." or the State postal 
abbreviation or tribal alpha code imprinted within the shield.] 
 ([32]26)  "Official identification device or method" means 
a means approved by the department of applying an official 
identification number to an animal of a specific species or associating 
an official identification number with an animal or group of animals 
of a specific species or otherwise officially identifying an animal or 
group of animals. 
 ([33]27)  "Official identification number" means a 
nationally unique number that is permanently associated with an 
animal or group of animals. 
 ([34]28)  "Officially identified" means identified [by means 
of]using an official identification device or method approved by the 
department. 
 ([35]29)  "Poultry" means domestic fowl [such as 
]including chickens, turkeys, [ducks, geese, and ]guinea fowl, [and 
]pea[ ]fowl, pigeons[ and doves, pheasants and other gamebirds], and 
ratites or other captive-bred birds not listed in Section R657-4-2 that 
are bred for the primary purposes of producing eggs or meat whether 
kept for production or exhibition. 
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 ([36]30)  "Premises identification number (PIN)" means a 
nationally unique number assigned by a state, tribal, or federal animal 
health authority to a premise[s] that [is]are, in the judgment of the 
state, tribal, or federal animal health authority a geographically 
distinct location from other premises. 
 ([37]31)  "Qualified [F]feedlot" means a feedlot approved 
by the department to handle [heifers, cows, or bulls]cattle [that are 
either official calfhood vaccinated, or Brucellosis unvaccinated 
animals ]confined to a [drylot]dry lot area that is used to upgrade or 
finish feeding animals going only to slaughter or another qualified 
feedlot.  Animals shall be kept separate from other animals not 
destined for slaughter. 
 ([38]32)  "Quarantine" means a verbal or written restriction 
of movement of animals into or out of an area or premise, issued by 
a [S]state [A]animal [H]health [O]official. 
 ([39]33)  "Reactor" means any animal that has been 
determined by an [designated Brucellosis ]epidemiologist to be 
infected with Brucellosis or Tuberculosis based on test results, herd 
or flock history, or culture results. 
 ([40]34)  "Suspect" means any animal that may be infected 
with a contagious, infectious, or communicable disease based on test 
results or herd or flock history but not confirmed by official 
laboratory tests. 
[ (41)  "Test Eligible Cattle and Bison" means cattle or bison 
six months of age or older, except: 
 (a)  steers, spayed heifers; or 
 (b)  official calfhood vaccinates of any breed under 24 
months of age that are not parturient, springers, or post parturient.] 
 (35)  "Travel permit" means a permit issued by the 
department for show horses and mules instead of a brand inspection 
certificate.  Travel permits do not exempt horses from health 
requirements as described in Section R58-1-6. 
 ([42]36)  "United States Department of Agriculture 
(USDA) approved backtag" means a backtag issued by APHIS that 
provides a temporary unique identification for each animal. 
[ (43)  "Zoological animal" means an animal kept at a 
zoological garden (zoo) or other exhibition that is inspected on a 
regular basis by the USDA.] 
 
R58-1-3.  Official Identification Devices and Methods. 
 (1)  Any state, tribe, accredited veterinarian, or other person 
or entity who distributes official identification devices shall maintain 
[for five years ]a record of the names and addresses of anyone to 
whom the devices were distributed for five years. 
 (2)  An official identification number is a nationally unique 
number that is permanently associated with an animal or group of 
animals, and that adheres to one of the following systems: 
 (a)  National Uniform Eartagging System (NUES); 
 (b)  [A]animal identification number (AIN); 
 (c)  location-based number system; 
 (d)  flock-based number system; or 
 (e)  any other numbering system approved by the animal 
health official of the state of origin for the official identification of 
animals. 
[ (3)  The department has approved the following official 
identification devices or methods for the species listed. 
 (a)  The department may authorize the use of additional 
devices or methods for a specific species if the department 
determines that the additional devices or methods will provide for 
adequate traceability. 
 (4)  Cattle and bison that are required to be officially 
identified for interstate movement must be identified by means of: 

 (a)  an official eartag; or 
 (b)  brands registered with a recognized brand inspection 
authority and accompanied by an official brand inspection certificate, 
when agreed to by the shipping and receiving state or tribal animal 
health authorities; or 
 (c)  tattoos and other identification methods acceptable to a 
breed association for registration purposes, accompanied by a breed 
registration certificate, when agreed to by the shipping and receiving 
state or tribal animal health authorities; or 
 (d)  group or lot identification when a group or lot 
identification number (GIN)  may be used. 
 (5)  Horses and other equine species that are required to be 
officially identified for interstate movement shall be identified by one 
of the following methods: 
 (a)  a description sufficient to identify the individual equine 
including name, age, breed, color, gender, distinctive markings, and 
unique and permanent forms of identification when present such as 
brands, tattoos, scars, cowlicks, blemishes or biometric 
measurements; 
 (b)  electronic identification that complies with ISO 
11784/11785; 
 (c)  non-ISO electronic identification injected to the equine 
on or before June 30, 2013; or 
 (d)  digital photographs sufficient to identify the individual 
equine. 
 (6)  Poultry that are required to be officially identified for 
interstate movement shall be identified by one of the following 
methods: 
 (a)  sealed and numbered leg bands; or 
 (b)  group and lot identification when a group/lot 
identification number (GIN) may be used. 
 (7)  sheep and goats that are required to be officially 
identified for interstate movement must be identified by one of the 
following methods: 
 (a)  electronic implants when accompanied by a certificate 
or owner statement that includes the electronic implant numbers and 
the name of the chip manufacturer; 
 (b)  official eartags, including tags approved for use in the 
Scrapie Flock Certification Program or APHIS-approved premises 
identification number eartags when combined with a unique animal 
identification number; 
 (c)  United States Department of Agriculture backtags or 
official premises identification backtags that include a unique animal 
identification number, when used on sheep or goats moving directly 
to slaughter and when applied within 3 inches of the poll on the dorsal 
surface of the head or neck; 
 (d)  legible official registry tattoos that have been recorded 
in the book of record of a sheep or goat registry association when the 
animal is accompanied by either a registration certificate or a 
certificate of veterinary inspection.  These tattoos may also be used 
as premises identification if they contain a unique premises prefix 
that has been linked in the National Scrapie Database with the 
assigned premises identification number of the flock of origin; 
 (e)  premises identification eartags or tattoos, if the 
premises identification method includes a unique animal number or 
is combined with a flock eartag that has a unique animal number and 
the animal is accompanied by an owner statement; 
 (f)  premises identification when premises identification is 
allowed and the animal is accompanied by an owner statement; or 
 (g)  any other official identification method or device 
approved by the animal health official of the state of origin. 
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 (8)  Swine that are required to be officially identified for 
interstate movement shall be identified by one of the following 
methods: 
 (a)  official eartags; 
 (b)  USDA backtags, when used on swine moving to 
slaughter;r 
 (c)  official swine tattoos, when used on swine moving to 
slaughter; 
 (d)  ear notching when used on any swine, if the ear 
notching has been recorded in the book of record of a purebred 
registry association; 
 (e)  tattoos on the ear or inner flank of any swine, if the 
tattoos have been recorded in the book of record of a swine registry 
association; 
 (f)  for slaughter swine and feeder swine, an eartag or tattoo 
bearing the premises identification number assigned by the state 
animal health official to the premises on which the swine originated; 
 (g)  any other official identification device or method that 
is approved by the animal health official of the state of origin; or 
 (h)  group or lot identification when a group or lot 
identification number (GIN) may be used. 
 (9)  Captive cervids that are required to be officially 
identified for interstate movement shall be identified by one of the 
following methods: 
 (a)  official eartag and a tattoo that is placed peri-anally or 
inside the right ear and consists of a number assigned by the animal 
health official of the state of origin; or 
 (c)  a microchip that has been placed in the right ear.] 
 
[R58-1-4.  Intrastate Cattle Movement - Rules - Brucellosis. 
 (1)  The State Veterinarian may require Brucellosis testing 
of cattle, bison, and elk, moving intrastate as necessary to protect 
against potential disease threat or outbreak. 
 (2)  department inspectors will help regulate intrastate 
movement of cattle according to Brucellosis rules at the time of 
change of ownership inspection.] 
 
R58-1-[5]4.  Interstate Importation Standards. 
 (1)  No animal, poultry, or bird of any species or other 
animal, including wildlife, that is known to be affected with or has 
been exposed to a contagious, infectious, or communicable disease, 
or that originates from a quarantined area, shall be shipped, 
transported, or moved into [the State of Utah]the state until written 
permission for entry is first obtained from the [USDA, Animal and 
Plant Health Inspection Service, Veterinary Services Division, and 
the department, ]State Veterinarian[, or Commissioner of 
Agriculture]. 
[ (a)]  Failure to obtain written permission may result in a 
citation. 
[ (2)  An official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection issued 
by an accredited veterinarian is required for importation of any 
animals.] 
 ([3]2)  A copy of the [certificate]Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection shall be immediately forwarded to the department by the 
issuing veterinarian or the animal health official of the state of origin 
within seven calendar days from the date on which the Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection [or other document ]is [received or ]issued. 
 ([4]3)  Import permits [for livestock, poultry, and other 
animals ]may be obtained by telephone [or via the internet to]by the 
accredited veterinarian responsible for issuing a Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection. 

 (4)  Import permits are required for the following 
movements: 
 (a)  exotic animals and wildlife, captive Cervidae, and 
aquatic animals: 
 (b)  animals under regulatory oversight for disease or 
infected with or exposed to a reportable disease; 
 (c)  animals coming from control areas for disease; 
 (d)  approved variances to import requirements; 
 (e)  international shipments; or 
 (f)  commuter permits. 
 (5)  Certificates of Veterinary Inspection are considered 
valid for 30 days from the [date of inspection]inspection date. 
 
R58-1-[6]5.  Cattle and Bison. 
 (1)  A Certificate of Veterinary Inspection [and an import 
permit ]shall accompany any cattle and bison imported into the state. 
 (a)  Cattle consigned by the direct movement to an 
approved slaughter establishment or a federally approved auction 
market do not require a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 (2)  [Any c]Cattle and bison [shall carry some form of 
individual identification as listed in Subsection R58-1-3(4)]are 
required to be individually identified for interstate movement. 
 (a)  Individual identification means:[shall be listed on the 
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.] 
 (i)  An [O]official [individual identification used for testing 
purposes shall be shown on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection; 
or]ear tag (RFID or metal NUES tag); 
 (ii)  [a copy of the official Brucellosis or Tuberculosis test 
sheets shall be stapled to each copy of the Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection.]Brands registered with a recognized brand inspection 
authority and accompanied by an official brand inspection certificate, 
when agreed to by participating states; 
 (A)  Animals with a brand and accompanied by official 
brand inspection certificates shall be individually identified but may 
be moved without listing the individual IDs on the Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection. 
 (B)  The official list of IDs shall be made available to the 
State Veterinarian upon request. 
 (iii)  tattoos and other identification methods acceptable to 
a breed association for registration purposes, accompanied by a breed 
registration certificate when agreed to by participating states; or 
 (iv)  group or lot identification when a group or lot 
identification number (GIN) may be used. 
 (b)  [Any cattle and bison imported into Utah from Canada, 
except those imported directly to slaughter, shall be permanently 
branded with the letters CAN, not less than two inches high nor more 
than three inches high, placed high on the right hip]international 
imports of cattle and bison to Utah shall meet federal import 
requirements for identification. 
 (3)  [The import permit number shall be listed on the 
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection]Import permits may be required 
by Subsection R58-1-4(4). 
 (4)  [The following cattle are exempted from Subsection 
R58-1-6(1): 
 (a)  cattle consigned directly to slaughter at an approved 
slaughter establishment; or 
 (b)  cattle consigned directly to a state or federal approved 
Auction Market. 
 (c)  Movements under Subsections R58-1-5(4)(a), and 
R58-1-5(4)(b) shall be in compliance with state and federal laws and 
regulations and shall be accompanied by a weighbill, brand 
certificate, or similar document showing some form of positive 
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identification, signed by the owner or shipper stating the origin, 
destination, number, and description of animals and purpose of 
movement. 
 (d)  Commuter cattle are exempt as outlined in Subsection 
R58-1-5(6)]A brand inspection certificate or proof of ownership that 
indicates the intended destination is required for cattle entering the 
state. 
[ (5)  A brand inspection certificate or proof of ownership, 
which indicates the intended destination, is required for cattle 
entering the state.] 
 ([6]5)  Commuter cattle may enter Utah or return to Utah 
after grazing if the following conditions are met. 
 (a)  A commuter permit approved by [the import state and 
the State of Utah]both states shall be obtained [prior to]before 
movement into Utah.  This will allow movements for grazing for the 
current season if the following conditions are met: 
 (i)  cattle shall meet testing requirements [as to state 
classification for interstate movements as outlined in 9 CFR 1-78, 
which is incorporated by reference; USDA, Animal and Plant Health 
Inspection Services (APHIS), Brucellosis Eradication, Uniform 
Methods and Rules, October 1, 2003, and approved by cooperating 
states]specified on the commuter permit application; 
 (ii)  commuter cattle shall not be mixed with quarantined 
cattle, [exposed,]cattle of unknown or positive trichomoniasis status,[ 
or suspect cattle] nor change ownership during the grazing period; 
and 
 (iii)  bulls used in the commuter herd shall be tested 
annually for trichomoniasis as required by [the State of Utah]Rule 
R58-21. 
[ (b)  No quarantined, exposed or reactor cattle shall enter 
Utah.] 
 ([7]6)  [Prior to]Before the importation of cattle or bison 
into Utah, the following health restrictions [must]shall be met: 
 (a)  Female bison and cattle [heifers of vaccination age 
between four and 12]over four months of age shall be officially 
calfhood vaccinated for Brucellosis with legible tattoos or tested 
negative for Brucella abortus within 30 days [prior to]before entering 
Utah, unless: 
 (i)  going directly to slaughter; 
 (ii)  going to a qualified feedlot to be sold for slaughter; or 
 (iii)  going to an approved [livestock]auction market to be 
sold for slaughter or testing and [for ]vaccination in accordance with 
Subsection R58-7-3(B)(5). 
[ (iv)  Bison and cattle heifers of vaccination age may be 
vaccinated upon arrival by special permit from the State 
Veterinarian.] 
 (b)  [Any female bison and cattle over 12 months of age 
imported to Utah shall have evidence of a Brucellosis calfhood 
vaccination tattoo to be imported or sold into the State of Utah, 
unless: 
 (i)  going directly to slaughter; 
 (ii)  going to a qualified feedlot to be sold for slaughter; 
 (iii)  going to an approved livestock market to be sold for 
slaughter; or 
 (iv)  they have tested negative for Brucella Abortus within 
30 days prior to entry]No reactor cattle or bison or cattle or bison 
from herds under quarantine for Brucellosis will be allowed to enter 
the state except when consigned to an approved slaughter 
establishment.  An import permit and a Veterinary Services Form 1-
27 before shipment are also required. 
 (c)  [Test eligible cattle imported from states designated as 
Brucellosis free, but that are coming from a designated Brucellosis 

surveillance area within that state, shall test negative for Brucellosis 
within 30 days prior to entry]A negative Tuberculosis test is required 
within 60 days before shipment for any dairy cattle two months of 
age and older and bison six months of age and older. 
[ (i)  Test eligible cattle may enter the state prior to testing 
with approval from the State Veterinarian but shall be tested 
immediately upon arrival and the cattle shall be kept isolated away 
from other cattle until testing negative.] 
 (d)  [Test eligible cattle imported from states that have not 
been designated as Brucellosis free shall test negative for Brucellosis 
within 30 days before movement into Utah]Cattle originating within 
a quarantined area, from a reactor or exposed herds, or from a site 
that is not classified as Tuberculosis free are required to be tested for 
tuberculosis within 60 days before entry to Utah unless moving 
directly to an approved slaughter establishment for immediate 
slaughter. 
 (e)  [Exceptions to the above testing requirements include 
exhibition animals and test eligible cattle imported to Utah and 
moving directly to: 
 (i)  an approved livestock market; 
 (ii)  a qualified feedlot; or 
 (iii)  an approved slaughter establishment for immediate 
slaughter]Rodeo bulls and roping steers shall be tested for 
tuberculosis within 12 months before entry to Utah. 
 (f)  [No reactor cattle, or cattle from herds under quarantine 
for Brucellosis will be allowed to enter the state except when 
consigned to an approved slaughter establishment.  An import permit 
and a Veterinary Services Form 1-27 prior to shipment are also 
required]No cattle infested with or exposed to scabies shall be moved 
into Utah.  Cattle from a county where scabies has been diagnosed 
during the past 12 months shall be officially treated within ten days 
before shipment into Utah.  The treatment date and products used 
shall be shown on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 (g)  [Entry of cattle that have been retattooed is not 
permitted unless they are moved for immediate slaughter to an 
approved slaughter establishment or to not more than one state or 
federal approved market for sale to a qualified feedlot or slaughtering 
establishment]Any bulls imported to Utah shall follow the 
trichomoniasis rule found in Section R58-21-5. 
[ (h)  A negative Tuberculosis test is required within 60 days 
prior to shipment for any dairy cattle two months of age and older 
and bison six months of age and older. 
 (i)  Breeding cattle originating within a quarantined area or 
from reactor or exposed herds and cattle from an area that is not 
classified as Tuberculosis free are required to be tested for 
tuberculosis within 60 days prior to entry to Utah. 
 (j)  Rodeo bulls and roping steers shall be tested annually 
during the calendar year for tuberculosis prior to entry to Utah. 
 (k)  No cattle infested with, or exposed to scabies shall be 
moved into Utah.  Cattle from a county where scabies has been 
diagnosed during the past 12 months shall be officially treated within 
ten days prior to shipment into Utah.  The date of treating and 
products used shall be shown on the Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection. 
 (l)  No cattle infested with ticks that can transmit splenic or 
tick fever, or exposed to tick infestations shall be imported into the 
State of Utah for any purpose. 
 (m)  Any bulls imported to Utah shall be in compliance with 
Subsection R58-21-3(A), that requires testing of bulls over 12 
months of age for Trichomoniasis prior to entry, with some 
exceptions for slaughter, rodeo, exhibition, and bulls kept in 
confinement.] 
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R58-1-[7]6.  Horses, Mules, Donkeys,[Asses,] and Other Equidae. 
 (1)  Equidae may be imported into[ the State of] Utah when 
accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or an 
electronic Extended Equine Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
created by a platform approved by the department. 
 (2)  [The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection shall show a 
negative Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA)(Coggins - AGID or 
ELISA) test within one year previous to the time the certificate was 
issued. 
 (a)  Entry of equidae into Utah shall not be allowed until 
the EIA test has been completed and reported negative. 
 (b)  Equidae that test positive to the EIA test shall not be 
permitted entry into Utah, except by special written permission from 
the State Veterinarian. 
 (c)  A nursing foal less than six months of age accompanied 
by its EIA negative dam, and equidae moving directly to an approved 
livestock market are exempt from the test requirements]Equines shall 
be accompanied by a brand inspection or proof of ownership and be 
officially identified by 9 CFR 86. 
 (3)  [Utah horses returning to Utah as part of a commuter 
livestock shipment are exempted from the Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection requirements; however, a valid Utah horse travel permit 
as outlined under Sections 4-24-405 or 4-24-406 and Section R58-9-
4 is required for re-entering Utah]Equines shall be tested for Equine 
Infectious Anemia (EIA) via AGID or ELISA test within one year 
before entry to Utah.  A nursing foal less than six months old 
accompanied by its EIA negative dam is exempt from the test 
requirements. 
 (4)  [An import permit issued by the department shall 
accompany any stallions or semen]Utah horses returning to Utah as 
part of a commuter livestock shipment are exempted from the 
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection requirements; however, a brand 
inspection or valid Utah horse travel permit as outlined under Section 
4-24-405 or Section 4-24-406 and a negative EIA test within one year 
are required. 
 (5)  Any stallions used for breeding that enter Utah or 
stallions whose semen will be shipped to Utah shall be tested for 
Equine Viral Arteritis (EVA) by an accredited veterinarian within 30 
days [prior to]before entry. 
 (a)  [Exceptions are stallions that have proof of negative 
EVA status prior to vaccination and proof of subsequent yearly 
vaccination]Stallions that have proof of negative EVA status before 
vaccination and evidence of subsequent annual vaccination are 
exempt from this requirement. 
 (b)  The EVA test or vaccination status shall be recorded on 
the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 (c)  [Breeding stallions and semen infected with Equine 
Arteritis Virus shall be handled only on an approved facility as 
required by Rule R58-23]No EVA carrier stallion used for breeding 
purposes or semen from an EVA carrier stallion shall be permitted to 
enter Utah without an import permit from the State Veterinarian. 
 (d)  EVA Carrier Stallions imported for breeding purposes 
into Utah shall be taken directly to an approved facility and shall 
remain in the facility until permission from the State Veterinarian is 
obtained to move the animal to another approved facility. 
 (e)  Semen from an EVA Carrier Stallion imported into 
Utah shall be shipped directly to an approved facility and shall remain 
in the facility until inseminated, transported to another approved 
facility, or disposed of. 
 (6)  Any quarter horses imported for racing purposes shall 
be tested for piroplasmosis within 30 days before entry. 
 

R58-1-[8]7.  Swine. 
 (1)  Swine may be shipped into the state if the following 
requirements are met: 
 (a)  [s]Swine shall be accompanied by an approved 
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection stating they have not been fed 
raw garbage. 
[ (i)  The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection shall show 
individual identification, ear tags, tattoos, registration numbers, 
microchips, or other permanent means.] 
 (b)  [An import permit issued by the department shall 
accompany any swine imported into the state]Swine shall have 
individual official identification such as an RFID or NUES tag.  Ear 
notches or tattoos are only allowed if registered with a purebred 
association. 
 (c)  Breeding and exhibition swine over the age of three 
months shipped into Utah [shall be tested negative for]that do not 
originate from a swine Brucellosis free state shall be tested negative 
for Brucellosis within 30 days [prior to]before movement into the 
state.[ or originate from a validated Brucellosis free herd or 
Brucellosis free state.] 
[ (i)  A validated Brucellosis free herd number and date of 
last test is required to be listed on the Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection.] 
 ([ii]i)  Swine from states with serious disease occurrences 
or known populations of feral or wild hogs may be required to be 
tested for Brucellosis [prior to]before entry to Utah. 
 (d)  Breeding, feeding, and exhibition swine shall be tested 
negative for Pseudorabies within [thirty]30 days unless they originate 
from a recognized qualified [p]Pseudorabies free herd or 
Pseudorabies Stage V state. 
 (i)  Swine [that have been ]vaccinated with any 
Pseudorabies vaccine shall not enter the state. 
 (ii)  Swine [that are ]infected or exposed to Pseudorabies 
may not enter the state, except swine consigned to a slaughterhouse 
for immediate slaughter that shall be moved in compliance with 9 
CFR 71, which is incorporated by reference. 
[ (iii)  Swine from states with known populations of feral or 
wild hogs may be required to be tested for Pseudorabies prior to entry 
to Utah.] 
 (2)  Prohibition of Non-domestic and Non-native Suidae 
and Tayassuidae and their hybrids. 
 (a)  Javelina or peccary, and feral or wild hogs such as 
Eurasian or Russian wild hogs (sus scrofa) are considered invasive 
species in Utah, capable of establishing wild reservoirs of diseases 
such as Brucellosis and Pseudorabies. 
 (b)  These animals and their hybrids are prohibited from 
entry to Utah except when approved by the State Veterinarian and 
[special application ]only for purposes of exhibition and after 
meeting the [above ]testing requirements listed in this rule. 
 (c)  Any person who imports javelina, peccary, or feral or 
wild hogs such as Eurasian or Russian wild hogs (sus scrofa) into 
Utah without prior approval by the department shall be subject to 
citation and fines as prescribed by the department or may be called 
to appear before an administrative proceeding by the department. 
 
R58-1-[9]8.  Sheep, Goats, and Camelids. 
 (1)  Sheep, goats, and camelids [I]imported [sheep]into 
Utah shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
[and an import permit]unless imported directly to an approved 
slaughter establishment. 
[ (a)  No sheep exhibiting clinical signs of blue tongue may 
enter Utah. 
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 (b)  Sheep shall be thoroughly examined for evidence of 
foot rot and verified that they are free from foot rot. 
 (c)  Sheep entering Utah shall comply with federal Scrapie 
identification requirements as listed in 9 CFR 79, which is 
incorporated by reference. 
 (d)  Sheep from scrapie infected, exposed, quarantined, or 
source flocks may not be permitted to enter the state unless an official 
post-exposure flock eradication and control plan has been 
implemented. 
 (e)  Breeding rams six months of age or older shall test 
negative for Brucella Ovis within 30 days of entry or originate from 
a certified Brucellosis free flock.  Rams entering Utah for exhibition 
purposes only and returning immediately to their home state are 
exempt from the testing requirement.] 
 (2)  Scrapie. 
 (a)  Sheep and goats entering Utah shall comply with 
federal Scrapie identification requirements as listed in 9 CFR 79 
 (b)  Sheep and goats from Scrapie infected, exposed, 
quarantined, or source flocks are not permitted to enter the state. 
 (3)  No sheep exhibiting clinical signs of bluetongue may 
enter Utah. 
 (4)  Breeding rams six months of age or older shall test 
negative for Brucella ovis within 30 days of entry or originate from 
a certified Brucella ovis free flock. 
 (5)  Dairy goats over six months of age used for milk 
production shall be tested for tuberculosis within 60 days before 
import. 
 
R58-1-[10]9.  Poultry and Gamebirds. 
 (1)  Poultry, gamebirds, and hatching eggs [being ]imported 
into Utah shall [meet the following requirements:]be accompanied by 
a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or a National Poultry 
Improvement Plan VS Form 9-3. 
[ (a)  Poultry and hatching eggs shall have an import permit 
from the department. 
 (b)  Poultry and hatching eggs entering Utah must have a 
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or a National Poultry 
Improvement Plan VS Form 9-3.] 
 ([c]2)  Poultry, gamebirds, and hatching eggs shall 
originate from flocks or hatcheries that [have a Pullorum-Typhoid 
Clean rating given by the official state agency of the National Poultry 
Improvement Plan (NPIP) of the state, or 
 (d)  Poultry entering Utah from a flock or hatchery that does 
not have a clean rating through NPIP certification shall have been 
tested negative for Pullorum-Typhoid within the last 30 days]are 
National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) certified for both 
Pullorum-Typhoid and Avian Influenza by their official state agency, 
or tested negative for Pullorum-Typhoid and Avian Influenza within 
the 30 days before entry. 
 (3)  Gamebirds imported for release shall meet the health 
requirements for release from the Division of Wildlife Resources 
found in Rule R657-4. 
 (4)  Poultry and gamebirds shall be identified by one of the 
following methods when required: 
 (a)  Sealed and numbered leg bands; or 
 (b)  Group or lot identification when a group or lot 
identification number (GIN) may be used. 
 
[R58-1-11.  Goats and Camelids. 
 (1)  Goats being imported into Utah shall meet the 
following requirements: 

 (a)  dairy goats shall have an import permit from the 
department and an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
showing a negative Tuberculosis test within 60 days, and a negative 
Brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry, or be from a certified 
Brucellosis free herd and accredited Tuberculosis free herd.  Thereto; 
there shall be no evidence of caseous Lymphadenitis (abscesses). 
 (b)  Meat type goats shall have an import permit from the 
department and an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
indicating they are free from any communicable diseases or exposure 
and that there is no evidence of caseous Lymphadenitis (abscesses). 
 (c)  Goats entering Utah shall comply with Federal Scrapie 
identification requirements as listed in 9 CFR 79, which is 
incorporated by reference. 
 (d)  Goats for slaughter may be shipped into Utah directly 
to an approved slaughter establishment or to an approved auction 
market without an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and an 
import permit but shall comply with Federal Scrapie identification 
requirements as listed in 9 CFR 79, which is incorporated by 
reference. 
 (2)  Camelids being imported into Utah shall have an 
import permit from the department and an official Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection showing a negative Tuberculosis test within 60 
days, and a negative Brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry or 
be from a certified Brucellosis free herd and accredited Tuberculosis 
free herd. 
 (3)  Test eligible age for both Brucellosis and Tuberculosis 
shall be 6 months of age or older for both goats and camelids. 
 (4)  Dairy goats and camelids entering Utah for exhibition 
purposes only and returning immediately to their home state are 
exempt from the testing requirement.] 
 
R58-1-[12]10.  Psittacine and Passerine Birds and Raptors. 
 (1)  No psittacine or passerine birds or raptors shall be 
shipped into[ the State of] Utah unless an official Certificate of 
Veterinary Inspection accompanies the birds. 
 (2)  The number and kinds of birds to be shipped into Utah, 
their origin, date to be shipped, and destination shall be listed on the 
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 
R58-1-1[3]1.  Dogs, Cats, and Ferrets. 
 (1)  Dogs, cats, and ferrets shall be [accompanied by an 
official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection]currently vaccinated 
against rabies before entering Utah.  The owner or shipper shall carry 
rabies vaccination proof, which shall be provided to the department 
upon request. 
 (2)  [Dogs, cats and ferrets over three months of age shall 
be currently vaccinated against rabies before entering Utah. 
 (a)  The date of vaccination, name of product used, and 
expiration date shall be written on the Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection]Animals undergoing treatment for contagious disease 
require a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and an import permit. 
 (3)  No puppies or kittens less than [8]eight weeks of age 
shall be imported into the state unless accompanied by the mother. 
 
[R58-1-14.  Exotic Animals. 
 (1)  It is unlawful for any person to import into the State of 
Utah any species of exotic animal that is prohibited for importation 
or possession as listed in Rule R657-3. 
 (2)  Exotic animals like birds, mammals, and reptiles shall 
be accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
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 (3)  Aquatic animals like fish, mollusk, crustacean, or 
amphibians shall fulfill the requirements of Rule R58-17 prior to 
importation into the State of Utah. 
 
R58-1-15.  Game and Fur-Bearing Animals. 
 (1)  No game or fur bearing animals shall be imported into 
Utah without an import permit obtained from the department. 
 (2)  Each shipment shall be accompanied by an official 
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 (3)  Mink entering Utah shall have originated on ranches 
where mink viral enteritis has not been diagnosed or exposed to 
within the past three years.] 
 
R58-1-1[6]2.  Captive Cervidae. 
[ ] (1)   Captive elk entering Utah shall: 
 (a)  meet the health and genetic purity requirements 
specified in Sections R58-18-11 and R58-18-7: and 
 (b)  be imported to [a ]premises licensed with the 
department. 
 (2)  Any caribou (reindeer) entering Utah shall meet the 
following requirements: 
 (a)  come from a state or province with a USDA approved 
herd certification program; 
 (b)  originate from a herd that is not affected with or is a 
trace[ ]back or forward herd for Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD); 
 (c)  originate from a herd that has participated in a National 
CWD Herd Certification program for at least 60 months and has 
received Certified CWD free status from the state or province of 
origin [prior to]before movement; and 
 (d)  each other requirement of this subsection. 
 (3)  Any captive cervidae entering Utah shall: 
 (a)  have a Certificate of Registration (COR) issued by the 
Utah Division of Wildlife Resources; 
 (b)  be permanently identified using an RFID tag[, metal 
NUES tag]; 
 (c)  have an import permit from the department; 
 (d)  have an import application approved by the 
department; and 
 (e)   have an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
showing the following: 
 (i)  if the cervidae is from the United States, they shall have 
a negative tuberculosis test (DPP or single cervical tuberculin) within 
60 days of import and shall come from an accredited tuberculosis- 
free state or zone; 
 (ii)  if the cervidae is from Canada, they shall be sourced 
from a herd officially recognized as free of [Turberculosis 
]Tuberculosis and Brucellosis according to [the provisions of ]the 
CFIA Captive Ungulate Program and shall have a negative 
Tuberculosis test within 60 days of import with the mid-
[cercival]cervical test; 
 (iii)  cervidae from the [Untied]United States shall have a 
negative Brucella [A]abortus test within 30 days of import and shall 
come from an accredited Brucellosis[-] free state or zone.  Cervidae 
coming from Brucellosis certified-free herds are exempted from the 
testing requirement; 
 (iv)  any cervidae six months of age or older originating 
from outside of the United States shall have negative Brucella 
[A]abortus test results from a single sample that has been tested by 
two USDA approved tests; and 
 (v)  a statement that the animals listed on the certificate are 
not known to be infected with Johne's Disease (Paratuberculosis) or 
Malignant Catarrhal Fever. 

[R58-1-17.  Zoological Animals. 
 (1)  The entry of zoological animals to be kept in zoological 
gardens, or shown at exhibitions is authorized when an import permit, 
subject to requirements established by the State Veterinarian, has 
been obtained from the department and the animals are accompanied 
by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 
 (2)  Movement of these animals shall also be in compliance 
with the Federal Animal Welfare Act, 7 USC 2131-2159. 
 
R58-1-18.  Wildlife. 
 (1)  It is unlawful for any person to import into the State of 
Utah any species of live native or exotic wildlife except as provided 
in Title 23, Chapter 13 and Rule R657-3. 
 (2)  Any wildlife imports shall meet the same department 
requirements as required for the importation of domestic animals.] 
 
R58-1-13.  Exotic Animals and Wildlife. 
 (1)  It is unlawful for any person to import into the state any 
species of animal that is prohibited from importation or possession as 
listed in Rule R657-3. 
 (2)  Animals that require a Certificate of Registration from 
the Division of Wildlife Resources for possession shall be 
accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and receive an 
import permit from the department. 
 (3)  Aquatic animals, including fish, mollusks, crustaceans, 
or amphibians, shall fulfill the requirements of Rule R58-17 before 
importation into the state. 
 (4)  Mink entering Utah shall have originated on ranches 
where mink viral enteritis has not been diagnosed or exposed to 
within the past three years.  Mink shall not be imported from a facility 
with a diagnosis of SARS-CoV-2 within 30 days of signs of illness. 
 (5)  Rabbits entering Utah shall have an import permit or 
be vaccinated for RHDV2. 
 (6)  Movement of animals to be kept in zoological gardens 
or shown at exhibitions shall also follow the Federal Animal Welfare 
Act, 7 USC 2131-2159. 
 (7)  Any imports of species susceptible to reportable 
diseases shall meet the same testing requirements as required for the 
importation of domestic animals. 
 
R58-1-1[9]4.  Duties of Carriers. 
 (1)  Owners and operators of railroads, trucks, airplanes, 
and other conveyances are forbidden to move any livestock, poultry, 
or other animals into or within the [S]state[ of Utah] or through the 
[S]state except in compliance with [the provisions set forth in these 
]this rule[s]. 
 ([1]2)  Sanitation.  Any railway cars, trucks, airplanes, and 
other conveyances used in [the transportation of]transporting 
livestock, poultry, or other animals shall be maintained in a clean, 
sanitary condition. 
 ([2]3)  Movement of Infected Animals.  Owners and 
operators of railway cars, trucks, airplanes, and other conveyances 
that have been used for the movement of any livestock, poultry, or 
other animals infected with or exposed to any infectious, contagious, 
or communicable disease as determined by the department, shall be 
required to have cars, trucks, airplanes, and other conveyances 
thoroughly cleaned and disinfected under official supervision before 
further use is permissible for the transportation of livestock, poultry, 
or other animals. 
 ([3]4)  Compliance with Laws and Rules.  Owners and 
operators of railroads, trucks, airplanes, or other conveyances used 
for the transportation of livestock, poultry, or other animals are 
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responsible [to see]for seeing that each consignment is prepared for 
shipment in keeping with[ the] state and federal laws and regulations.  
Certificates of Veterinary Inspection, brand certificates, and permits 
should be attached to the waybill accompanying the attendant in 
charge of the animals. 
 
KEY:  disease control, import requirements 
Date of Last Change:  [September 8, 2021]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  December 28, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-31; 4-2-
103(1)(i) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R58-3 Filing ID:  
55243 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Animal Industry 
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda Price 801-

982-
2244 

amandaprice@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Amber Brown 385-
245-
5222 

amberbrown@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R58-3.  Brucellosis Vaccination Requirements 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The proposed text will align the import requirements with 
current disease risks and federal movement requirements 
for all species. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 

substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule provides clarity to align the import requirements 
with current disease risks and federal movement 
requirements while aligning the text requirements with the 
Utah Rulewriting Manual.  This rule provides clarity per 
USDA's definition of a vaccination tag by including radio 
frequency identification device (RFID) tags.  This rule 
removes text that is confusing and is not common industry 
practice. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The changes to this rule update and clarify the text with 
federal requirements and do not change the procedures of 
the program and will not impact the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The changes to this rule are clarifying so they align with 
federal requirements and will not impact a local 
government's budget because the program costs are not 
changing. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The changes to this rule clarify text to align with the current 
federal requirements and will not impact costs for small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The changes to this rule clarify text to align with federal 
requirements and will not impact costs for non-small 
businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The changes to this rule clarify text to align with federal 
requirements and will not impact costs for a person 
because the program costs are not changing. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The changes to this rule clarify text to align with federal 
requirements and will not impact compliance costs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
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this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-31-109 Subsection 

4-2-103(1)(c)(i) 
Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(j) 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 02/09/2023 

 
R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
R58-3.  Brucellosis Vaccination Requirements. 
R58-3-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under the authority of Section 4-31-109 
and Subsections 4-2-103(1)(c)(i) and 4-2-103(1)(j). 
 (2)  [It is the intent of t]This rule intends to state the 
[b]Brucellosis vaccination requirements for cattle and bison [with]in 
Utah. 
 
R58-3-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Accredited [V]veterinarian" means a veterinarian 
approved by the Deputy Administrator of Veterinary Services (VS), 
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services (APHIS), United States 
Department of Agriculture (USDA), in accordance with the 
provisions of 9 CFR 161 to perform functions required by 
cooperative [S]state-[F]federal disease control and eradication 
programs. 
 (2)  "Bison" means a bovine-like animal, genus Bison, 
commonly referred to as American buffalo or buffalo. 
 (3)  "Brucellosis [T]technician" means an individual 
approved and trained by the State Veterinarian or designee to 
administer the Brucella abortus vaccine and appropriately identify 
the animal. 
 (4)  "Cattle" means [all ]domestic bovine, genus Bos. 
 (5)  "Official USDA vaccination tag" means a USDA 
approved official [metal ]identification eartag, metal or RFID, that 
provides a unique identification for each individual animal.[ by 
conforming to the nine character alpha-numeric national uniform 
eartagging system or any other unique identification device approved 
by the United States Department of Agriculture.] 
 (6)  "RFID" means a radio frequency identification device 
used [as]for individual identification of livestock. 
 
R58-3-3.  Utah Cattle and Bison Vaccination Requirements. 
 (1)  [All]Any Utah cattle and bison heifers intended for 
replacement breeding animals [must]shall be vaccinated against 
Brucella abortus. 
 (2)  Vaccination of cattle and bison heifer calves shall be 
administered by an accredited veterinarian or by a Utah Department 
of Agriculture and Food contracted [b]Brucellosis technician. 
 (3)  [All]Any cattle and bison heifers shall be vaccinated 
with strain RB-51 administered between 4 and 12 months of age. 
These heifers shall be properly identified by official tattoos and ear 
tag[ (], either an official USDA vaccination tag or an official USDA 
RFID tag, [of approved design) ]and shall be reported on an official 
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vaccination certificate, VS Form 4-24, within 30 days to the State 
Veterinarian. 
 (4)  Cattle and bison heifers not intended for replacement 
breeding are exempt from the vaccination requirement in Subsection 
R58-3-3(1). 
 
KEY:  brucellosis, vaccination, cattle, bison 
Date of Last Change:  [April 16, 2014]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  December 28, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-31-109; 4-
2-103(1)(c)(i); 4-2-103(1)(j) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R58-23 Filing ID:  
55228 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Animal Industry 
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kelly Pehrson 801-

982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Amber Brown 385-
245-
5222 

amberbrown@utah.gov 

Amanda Price 801-
982-
2244 

amandaprice@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R58-23.  Equine Viral Arteritis (EVA) 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The proposed text clarifies the import requirements by 
aligning them with the current disease risks for all species.  
The updated texts align with the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do?  If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 

substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The text clarifies import requirements to align them with 
the current disease risks for all species.  Specifically, 
unnecessary language is removed from this rule to make 
it easier to understand.  Minor clarifications are made to 
the definitions in Section R58-23-2.  Section R58-23-3 is 
removed because adequate requirements for stallion 
movement are included in the current Section R58-23-4.  
Section R58-23-7 has also been removed because the 
reporting requirements are not needed. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The text clarifies requirements, does not change the 
program's administration, and will not impact the state's 
budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The text clarifies requirements, does not change the 
program's administration, and will not impact local 
governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The text clarifies requirements, does not change the 
program's administration, and will not impact small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The text clarifies requirements, does not change the 
program's administration, and will not impact non-small 
businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The text clarifies requirements, does not change the 
program's administration, and will not impact other 
persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The compliance costs will not be impacted because the 
program's administration is not changing.  The proposed 
text is clarifying and aligns with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual. 
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G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in the 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-31-103 Subsection 

4-2-103(1)(i) 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 

agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 02/07/2023 

 
R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
R58-23.  Equine Viral Arteritis (EVA). 
R58-23-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under the authority of [Title 4]Section 4-
31-109, and Subsection 4-2-103(1)(i). 
 (2)  [It is the intent of t]This rule intends to eliminate or 
reduce the spread of Equine Viral Arteritis among equids by 
providing [for ]a protocol for the handling of equids and semen 
infected or exposed to Equine Arteritis Virus. 
 
R58-23-2.  Definitions. 
[ (A)  Accredited Veterinarian - means a veterinarian 
approved by the Deputy Administrator of the United States 
Department of Agriculture (USDA), Animal Plant Health Inspection 
Service (APHIS), Veterinary Services (VS) in accordance with 
provisions of 9 CFR Part 161.] 
 ([B]1)  "Approved Facility" [- ]means a facility that has 
currently written approval from the State Veterinarian to house 
and[/or] breed a carrier stallion or receive positive semen in [the state 
of ]Utah. 
 ([C]2)  "Approved Laboratory" [- ]means a state, federal, 
or private laboratory that has been approved for EVA testing by the 
State Veterinarian. 
 ([D]3)  "Carrier Stallion" [- ]means a[ny] clinically normal 
stallion that sheds [tests positive for ]EAV continuously in its 
semen.[, but has no proof of a negative semen test.] 
 ([E]4)  "Equine or Equid" [- ]means any animal in the 
family Equidae, including,[ but not limited to] horses, 
[asses]donkeys, mules, ponies, and zebras. 
 ([F]5)  "Equine Viral Arteritis (EVA)" [- ]means an 
infectious disease of equids caused by Equine Arteritis Virus (EAV).[  
The disease is characterized by abortion in pregnant mares, illness 
and death in young foals, inflammation of blood vessels resulting in 
edema and the potential of establishing a carrier state in stallions.] 
 ([G]6)  "Equine Arteritis Virus (EAV)" [- ]means the [viral 
organism]virus that causes Equine Viral Arteritis. 
 ([H]7)  "EVA Positive" [- ]means an equid who has been 
identified as having tested positive [to]for EAV. 
 
[R58-23-3.  Importation of Stallions. 
 (A)  All stallions used for breeding entering Utah shall be 
tested for Equine Viral Arteritis by an accredited veterinarian within 
30 days prior to entry. 
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 (B)  Exceptions to the above (Subsection R58-23-3(A)) are 
stallions that have proof of negative EVA status prior to vaccination 
and proof of subsequent yearly vaccination.] 
 
R58-23-[4]3.  Importation of EVA Positive Equids and Semen. 
 (A)  [All]Any equids imported into Utah shall be in 
compliance with Section R58-1-6. 
[ (B)  No EVA carrier stallion used for breeding purposes 
shall be permitted to enter into Utah without a prior permit from the 
State Veterinarian. 
 (C)  No semen from a carrier stallion shall be permitted to 
enter into Utah without a prior permit from the State Veterinarian. 
 (D)  All EVA Carrier Stallions, used for breeding purposes, 
imported into Utah shall be taken directly to an approved facility and 
shall remain on said facility until permission from the State 
Veterinarian is obtained to move the animal to another approved 
facility. 
 (E)  All semen from an EVA Carrier Stallion imported into 
Utah shall be shipped directly to an approved facility and shall remain 
on said facility until inseminated, transported to another approved 
facility and/or disposed of.] 
 
R58-23-[5]4.  Handling of EVA Positive Equids and Semen. 
 ([A]1)  [All]Any stallion[s] used for breeding purposes 
identified as EVA positive shall have their semen tested [by an 
accredited veterinarian ]at an approved laboratory [prior to]before the 
breeding of [said]the stallion. 
 ([B]2)  [All]Any carrier stallions used for breeding 
purposes shall be housed and maintained at an approved facility until 
permission from the State Veterinarian is given to move the stallion 
to another approved facility. 
 ([C]3)  [All]Any EVA infected semen shall only be 
collected, handled, evaluated, received, packaged, or administered 
[on]in an approved facility. 
 (4)  The State Veterinarian may require testing of any 
stallion suspected of being exposed to EAV. 
 
R58-23-[6]5.  Requirements for an Approved Facility. 
 ([A]1)  [All]Any equids, including [but not limited to 
]stallions, mares, and geldings, on approved facilities shall be 
vaccinated for EVA no less than 21 days before the start of the 
breeding season or no less than 21 days before arriving at an 
approved facility. 
 ([B]2)  Mares being bred to a carrier stallion, or 
inseminated with semen from a carrier stallion, shall remain [on]in 
the approved facility for a minimum of 21 days after the initial 
breeding date. 
 ([C]3)  Adequate biosecurity precautions shall be in place 
during the breeding season.  The adequacy of biosecurity may be 
monitored periodically by the [Utah ]Department[ of Agriculture]. 
 
[R58-23-7.  Equine Viral Arteritis is a Reportable Disease. 
 (A)  All EVA positive equids shall be reported to the State 
Veterinarian by the private veterinary practitioner immediately upon 
receiving a positive laboratory report on EVA. 
 (B)  All EVA positive test results processed at a state owned 
laboratory shall be immediately reported to the State Veterinarian. 
 (C)  The State Veterinarian may require testing of any 
stallion suspected of being exposed to EAV.] 
 
KEY:  Equine Viral Arteritis (EVA), inspections 
Date of Last Change:  2023[February 28, 2007] 

Notice of Continuation:  December 28, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-2-103(l)(i) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R68-26 Filing ID:  
55227 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, TSOB South Bldg, 

Floor 2 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Brandon Forsyth  801-
816-
3842 

bforsyth@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson  385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-26.  Cannabinoid Product Registration and Labeling 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Changes are needed to clarify the labeling requirements 
for different types of cannabinoid products to ensure that 
only necessary information is required and that it is 
appropriately accessible to the Department of Agriculture 
and Food (Department) consumers. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Duplicative language is removed.  Federal labeling 
requirements are removed from Section R68-26-5 and 
replaced with clearer state specific labeling requirements 
that better fit the needs of the program.  Language is 
added to address labeling requirements for products 
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intended for consumption by animals, with clarifications 
included to ensure such products are not characterized as 
animal feed. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These changes are clarifying in nature and will not impact 
the state budget because the costs of inspecting products 
will not change and no additional fees are being charged. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments do not administer this program or 
produce cannabinoid products and will not be impacted by 
the changes. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The changes clarify labeling requirements and make them 
easier to understand by removing references to federal 
code and will not have a fiscal impact on small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The changes clarify labeling requirements and make them 
easier to understand by removing references to federal 
code and will not have a fiscal impact on non-small 
businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The changes clarify labeling requirements and make them 
easier to understand by removing references to federal 
code and will not have a fiscal impact on other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs will not change.  Fees charged by the 
Department, as well as compliance requirements have 
remained the same.  The changes provide additional 
clarification. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-41-103(4) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 
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9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 02/03/2023 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-26.  Cannabinoid Product Registration and Labeling. 
R68-26-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Subsections 4-41-103(4) and 4-41-403(1), 
this rule establishes the requirements for labeling and registration of 
products made from and containing industrial hemp. 
 
R68-26-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Cannabinoid product" means a product that: 
 (a)  contains or is represented to contain one or more 
naturally occurring cannabinoids; and 
 (b)  contains less than the cannabinoid product THC level, 
by dry weight; and 
 (c)  after December 1, 2022, contains a combined amount 
of total THC and any THC analog that does not exceed 10% of the 
total cannabinoid content. 
 (2)  "Cannabinoid product THC level" means a combined 
concentration of total THC and any THC analog of less than 0.3% on 
a dry weight basis if laboratory testing confirms a result within a 
measurement of uncertainty that includes the combined 
concentration of 0.3%. 
 (3)  "CBD" or "Cannabidiol" means the cannabinoid 
identified as CAS# 13956-29-1. 
 (4)  "Certificate of Analysis" (COA) means a document 
produced by a testing laboratory listing the quantities of the various 
analytes for which testing was performed. 
 (5)  "Conventional Food" means: 
 (a)  an article used for food or drink for human consumption 
or the components of the article; or 
 (b)  chewing gum or chewing gum components. 
 (6)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (7)  "Industrial Hemp" means any part of a cannabis plant, 
whether growing or not, with a concentration of less than 0.3% 
tetrahydrocannabinol by weight. 
 (8)  "Industrial hemp product class" means group of 
cannabinoid products: 
 (a)  that have all ingredients in common; and 
 (b)  are produced by and for the same company. 
 (9)  "Label" means the display of each written, printed, or 
graphic matter upon the immediate container or statement 
accompanying an industrial hemp product. 
 (10)  "Manufacturer" means a person who makes any 
industrial hemp products. 
 (11)  "Non-compliant material" means: 
 (a)  a hemp plant that does not comply with this rule, 
including a cannabis plant with a concentration of 0.3% 
tetrahydrocannabinol or greater by dry weight; and 
 (b)  a cannabinoid product, chemical, or compound with a 
concentration that exceeds the cannabinoid product THC level. 

 (12)  "Person" means an individual, partnership, 
association, firm, trust, limited liability company, or corporation or 
any employees of such. 
 (13)  "THC"  or "Tetrahydrocannabinol" means delta-9-
tetrayhdrocannabinol, the cannabinoid identified as CAS # 1972-08-
3. 
 (14)[ ](a)  "THC analog" means a substance that is 
structurally or pharmacologically substantially similar to, or is 
represented as being similar to, delta-9-THC. 
 (b)  "THC analog" does not include the following 
substances or the naturally occurring acid forms of the following 
substances: 
 (i)  cannabichromene (CBC), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 20675-51-8; 
 (ii)  cannabicyclol (CBL), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 21366-63-2; 
 (iii)  cannabidiol (CBD), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 13956-29-1; 
 (iv)  cannabidivarol (CBDV), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 24274-48-4;cannabidiol (CBD), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 13956-29-1; 
 (v)  cannabielsoin (CBE), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 52025-76-0; 
 (vi)  cannabigerol (CBG), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 25654-31-3; 
 (vii)  cannabigerovarin (CBGV), the cannabinoid identified 
as CAS# 55824-11-8; 
 (viii)  cannabinol (CBN), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 521-35-7; 
 (ix)  cannabivarin (CBV), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 33745-21-0; or 
 (x)  delta-9-tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV), the 
cannabinoid identified as CAS# 31262-37-0. 
 (15)  "Third-party laboratory" means a laboratory with no 
direct interest in a grower or processor of industrial hemp or 
industrial hemp products that is capable of performing mandated 
testing utilizing validated methods. 
 
R68-26-3.  Product Registration. 
 (1)  Each cannabinoid product or industrial hemp product 
class distributed or available for distribution in Utah shall be 
officially registered annually with the department. 
 (2)  Application for registration shall be made to the 
department on a form provided by the department including the 
following information: 
 (a)  the name and address of the applicant and the name and 
address of the person whose name will appear on the label, if other 
than the applicants; 
 (b)  the name of the product; 
 (c)  the type and use of the product; 
 (d)  a complete copy of the label as it will appear on the 
product in a legible format; and 
 (e)  if the product has been assigned a National Drug Code 
in accordance with 21 CFR 207.33, the applicant shall provide the 
National Drug Code number. 
 (3)  The application shall include a certificate of analysis 
from a third-party laboratory for the product in compliance with 
Section R68-26-4.  The certificate of analysis shall show the 
cannabinoid profile of the product by percentage of mass. 
 (4)  A registration fee per product, as set forth in the fee 
schedule approved by the [l]Legislature, shall be paid to the 
department with the submission of the application. 
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 (5)  The department may deny registration for an 
incomplete application. 
 (6)  A new registration is required for any of the following: 
 (a)  any change in the cannabinoid product ingredients; 
 (b)  any change to the directions for use; and 
 (c)  any change of name for the product. 
 (7)  Other changes shall not require a new registration but 
the registrant shall submit copies of each label change to the 
department as soon as they are effective. 
 (8)  The person registering the cannabinoid product is 
responsible for the accuracy and completeness of information 
submitted. 
 (9)  A registration is good for one calendar year from the 
date of registration and shall be renewed through payment of an 
annual renewal fee before expiration. 
 (10)  A cannabinoid product that has been discontinued 
shall continue to be registered in the state until the product is no 
longer available for distribution. 
 (11)  A late fee shall be assessed for a renewal of an 
industrial hemp product registration submitted after June 30th and 
shall be paid before the registration renewal is issued. 
 (12)  The department shall not register a cannabinoid 
product if the product: 
 (a)  uses the cannabinoid as a food additive; or 
 (b)  is represented for use as a conventional food, with the 
exception of: 
 (i)  a gummy if the gummy is shaped as a gelatinous cube 
or gelatinous rectangular cuboid or in another basic geometric shape  
and not in a shape that could be considered appealing to children such 
as a star shape, fruit, or animal  shape; or 
 (ii)  a  liquid suspension under two ounces. 
 
R68-26-4.  Certificate of Analysis. 
[ 1)  A certificate of analysis for any industrial hemp product 
containing a cannabinoid shall be available through a QR code or 
website listed on the label.] 
 ([2]1)  Testing shall be conducted on the product in its final 
form for: 
 (a)  the cannabinoid profile by percentage of mass; 
 (b)  solvents; 
 (c)  pesticides; 
 (d)  microbials; 
 (e)  heavy metals; and 
 (f)  mycotoxins. 
 ([3]2)  The test results required in Subsection R68-26-4(1) 
shall be reported in accordance with the requirements for a 
cannabinoid product in Rule R68-[29]37 including the specified units 
of measure. 
 ([4]3)  The certificate of analysis shall include the 
following information: 
 (a)  the batch identification number; 
 (b)  the date received; 
 (c)  the date of completion; 
 (d)  the method of analysis for each test conducted; and 
 (e)  proof that the certificate of analysis is connected to the 
product. 
 
R68-26-5.  Label Requirements. 
 (1)  The label of a [C]cannabinoid product[s] [produced for 
oral human consumption ]shall contain the following information, 
legibly displayed:[ be labeled in accordance with: 

 a)  21 CFR 101.1, Principal display panel of package form 
food; 
 b)  21 CFR 101.2, Information panel of package form food; 
 c)  21 CFR 101.3, Identity labeling of food in packaged 
form; 
 d)  21 CFR 101.4, Food; designation of ingredients; 
 e)  21 CFR 101.5, Food; name and place of business of 
manufacturer, packer, or distributor; 
 f)  21 CFR 101.7, Declaration of net quantity of contents; 
 g)  21 CFR 101.9(j)(13) and (17), Nutrition labeling of 
food; 
 h)  21 CFR 101.15, Food; prominence of required 
statements; and 
 i)  21 CFR 101.36, Nutrition labeling of dietary 
supplements; 
 i)  a label may contain the term "product facts" in place of 
"supplement facts" provided the information required in 21 CFR 
101.36 is on the label; and] 
 (a)  product name or common name, on the front of the 
label; 
 (b)  brand name, on the front of the label; 
 (c)  the size of the container or net count of individual 
items, on the front of the label; 
 (d)  net weight; 
 (e)  the suggested use of the product; 
 (f)  list of ingredients, including the amount of any 
cannabinoid listed as present on the COA listed in milligrams per 
gram; 
 (g)  list of allergens; 
 (h)  manufacturer, packer, or distributor name and address; 
and 
 (i)  batch number. 
 (2)  A fact panel may be included on the product label if it 
is not identified as a Drug Fact Panel or Nutritional Fact Panel. 
 ([ii]3)  [t]The label of each product intended for human 
consumption or intended to be vaporized for inhalation shall include 
the following text, prominently displayed:  "This product has not 
been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product 
is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease." 
[ 2)  A cannabinoid product intended to be vaporized for 
inhalation shall: 
 a)  be labeled in accordance with Subsection R68-26-5(1); 
or 
 b)  be labeled in accordance with 21 CFR 101.1, 21 CFR 
101.2, 21 CFR 101.3, 21 CFR 101.4, 21 CFR 101.5, 21 CFR 101.7, 
21 CFR 101.15, and contain the following text, prominently 
displayed: "This product has not been evaluated by the Food and 
Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, 
cure, or prevent any disease."] 
 ([3]4)  [Industrial hemp]Cannabinoid products containing 
a cannabinoid other than CBD produced for absorption by humans 
[shall be labeled in accordance with 21 CFR 701, Cosmetic Labeling. 
 4)  Industrial hemp products containing cannabinoids other 
than CBD ]shall contain the following text, prominently displayed:  
"Warning - The safety of this product has not been determined." 
 (5)  Notwithstanding Subsection R68-26-5(1) [or R68-25-
5(3), ]an industrial hemp product containing a cannabinoid produced 
for human use that has a National Drug Code issued shall be labeled 
in accordance with 21 CFR 201.66. 
 (6)  In addition to the requirements of Subsections R68-26-
5(1) through R68-26-5([3]5) a[n industrial hemp product containing 
a cannabinoid] cannabinoid product shall have on the label a 
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scannable barcode, QR code, or web address with an easily 
identifiable link[linked] to a document containing the following 
information: 
 (a)  the total quantity produced; and 
 (b)  a downloadable link for a certificate of analysis for the 
batch identified. 
 (7)  Cannabinoid products shall not contain medical claims 
on the label unless the product has been registered with the FDA and 
is labeled in accordance with Subsection R68-26-5([4]5). 
 (8)  Cannabinoid product labeling shall clearly show that 
the product contains material derived from industrial hemp and not 
cannabis or medical cannabis. 
 (9)  Cannabinoid product labeling shall not: 
 (a)  have any likeness bearing resemblance to a cartoon 
character or fictional character; or 
 (b)  appear to imitate a food or other product that is 
typically marketed toward or appealing to children. 
 (10)  The label of cannabinoid products intended for oral 
consumption by animals shall include the amount of cannabinoids 
per serving determined by weight of the animal. 
 (11)  The label of cannabinoid products intended for 
consumption by animal shall not: 
 (a)  contain any feed claims; 
 (b)  be labeled as food; or 
 (c)  contain any Food and Drug Administration  evaluation 
statement. 
 
R68-26-6.  Inspection and Testing. 
 (1)  The department shall conduct randomized inspection 
of cannabinoid products distributed or available for distribution in the 
state for compliance with this rule. 
 (2)  The department shall periodically sample, analyze, and 
test industrial hemp products distributed within the state for 
compliance with registration and labeling requirements and the 
certificate of analysis. 
 (3)  The department may conduct inspection of cannabinoid 
products distributed or available for distribution for any reason the 
department deems necessary. 
 (4)  The sample taken by the department shall be the official 
sample. 
 
R68-26-7.  Violation. 
 (1)  Each improperly labeled cannabinoid product shall be 
a separate violation of this rule. 
 (2)  Cannabinoid products not meeting the labeling 
requirements shall be considered misbranded. 
 (3)  Cannabinoid products shall be considered falsely 
advertised if they do not meet the labeling requirements of this rule. 
 (4)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product that is not registered with the department. 
 (5)  It is a violation to distribute or market industrial hemp 
flower as a final product. 
 (6)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product that contains greater than 0.3% THC. 
 (7)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product that has not been tested as required by Rule R68-29. 
 (8)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product as a conventional food product, unless the product is 
exempted under Subsection R68-26-3(12)(b). 
 (9)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product as a food additive. 

 (10)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product that is marketed toward or is appealing to children. 
 (11)  It is a violation to market a cannabinoid product as 
cannabis or medical cannabis. 
 (12)  It is a violation to submit a fraudulent COA to the 
department. 
 
R68-26-8.  Violation Categories. 
 (1)  Public Safety Violations: Each person shall be fined 
$3,000-$5,000 per violation.  This category is for violations that 
present a direct threat to public health or safety including: 
 (a)  industrial hemp sold to an unlicensed source; 
 (b)  industrial hemp purchased from an unlicensed source; 
 (c)  refusal to allow inspection; 
 (d)  failure to comply with labeling requirements; 
 (e)  failure to comply with testing requirements; 
 (f)  possessing, manufacturing, or distributing a 
cannabinoid product that a person knows or should know appeals to 
children;[ or] 
 (g)  marketing a cannabinoid product that makes a medical 
claim; or 
 ([g]h)  engaging in or permitting a violation of the Title 4, 
Chapter 41, Hemp and Cannabinoid Act that amounts to a public 
safety violation as described in this subsection. 
 (2)  Regulatory Violations: Each person shall be fined 
$1,000-$5,000 per violation.  This category is for violations 
involving this rule and other applicable state rules under Title R68 
including: 
 (a)  failure to register an industrial hemp product; 
 (b)  failure to provide a certificate of analysis as required 
by Section R68-26-4; 
 (c)  failure to keep and maintain records; 
 (d)  engaging in or permitting a violation of Title 4, Chapter 
41a, Hemp and Cannabinoid Act or this rule that amounts to a 
regulatory violation as described in this subsection. 
 (3)  Licensing Violations:  Each person shall be fined $500-
$5,000 per violation.  This category is for violations involving 
licensing requirements including: 
 (a)  engaging in or permitting a violation of this rule, other 
applicable rules under Title R68, or Title 4, Chapter 41, Hemp and 
Cannabinoid Act, that amounts to a licensing violation; or 
 (b)  failure to respond to violations. 
 (4)  The department shall calculate penalties based on the 
level of violation and the adverse effect or potential adverse effect at 
the time of the incidents giving rise to the violation. 
 (5)  The department may enhance or reduce the penalty 
based on the seriousness of the violation. 
 
KEY:  CBD labeling, CBD products, cannabinoid product 
registration 
Date of Last Change:  [August 23, 2022]2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41-403(1); 
4-41-402(2); 4-41-103(4) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-115 Filing ID:  
55245 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-115.  LEA Supervision and Monitoring Requirements 
of Third Party Providers and Contracts 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being amended to clarify the responsibilities of 
Local Education Agencies (LEAs) in connection with third 
party providers providing instructional services directly to 
students. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
These amendments update definitions of "Education 
service provider and adds a definition for "Section 504".  
These amendments also add legal references for third 
party provider requirements and clarify the requirements 
for LEAs to maintain records and documentation. 
 
Furthermore, these amendments clarify requirements 
related to staff members of an education service provider. 
 
Finally, these amendments add clarification to the 
corrective actions which the Board or Superintendent may 
take. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  These 

changes largely relate to LEA responsibilities and do not 
create new reports or responsibilities for the Utah State 
Board of Education (USBE). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have major fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures.  
LEAs using education service providers may have minor 
impacts to increase monitoring of education service 
providers and maintain records and documentation.  LEAs 
generally have recordkeeping processes in place and 
these changes are not expected to add measurable costs 
for LEAs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This change 
only affects LEAs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
These changes mostly affect LEAs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  
USBE does not estimate measurable compliance costs for 
LEAs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(10) 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-115.  LEA Supervision and Monitoring Requirements of 
Third Party Providers and Contracts. 
R277-115-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(10), which allows the Board to 
[require]direct an LEA to require in a contract with a third party 
provider that the third party provider shall provide, upon request of 
the LEA, information necessary for the LEA to verify that the 
educational good or service complies with: 
 (i)  Titles 53E, 53F, and 53G; and 
 (ii)  Board rule. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is: 
 (a)  to provide standards for an LEA working with a third 
party provider to ensure the third party provider complies with 
applicable law. 
 
R277-115-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Educational good or service" means the same as that 
term is defined in Section 53E-3-401. 
 (2)  "Education service provider" means a third party 
provider that provides academic instruction to students that yields 
grades or credit. 
 (3)  "Section 504" means Section 504 of the Rehabilitation 
Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. 794. 
 ([2]4)  "Third party provider" means a third party who 
provides an educational good or service on behalf of an LEA. 
 
R277-115-3.  Third Party Provider Provision of Services. 
 (1)  An LEA that contracts with a third party provider to 
provide an educational good or service on behalf of the LEA shall: 
 (a)  require in the LEA's contract with a third party provider 
that the third party provider shall provide, upon request of the LEA, 
information necessary for the LEA to verify that the educational good 
or service complies with: 
 (i)  Titles 53E, 53F, and 53G; and 
 (ii)  Board rule; 
 (b)  establish monitoring and compliance procedures to 
ensure that a third party provider who provides educational services 
to a student on behalf of the LEA complies with [the provisions of 
]this rule; 
 (c)  develop a written monitoring plan to supervise the 
educational good or service provided by the third party provider; 
 (d)  ensure the third party provider is complying with: 
 (i)  federal law; 
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 (ii)  state law; and 
 (iii)  Board rules; 
 (e)  monitor and supervise all activities of the third party 
provider related to the educational good or service provided by the 
third party provider to the LEA; and 
 (f)  maintain documentation of the LEA's supervisory 
activities consistent with the LEA's administrative records retention 
schedule. 
 (2)  An LEA shall: 
 (a)  verify the accuracy and validity of a student's 
enrollment verification data, prior to enrolling a student in the LEA; 
and 
 (b)  provide a student and the student's parent or guardian 
with notification of the student's enrollment in a school or program 
within the LEA. 
 (3)  In accordance with Section 63A-12-103, an LEA shall 
maintain records documenting: 
 (a)  services provided by third party providers; and 
 (b)  payments made to third party providers. 
 (4)  An LEA has direct and full responsibility for all actions 
of its third party providers and the third party provider's employees 
for actions performed in the scope of services provided on behalf of 
the LEA. 
 
R277-115-4.  LEA Requirements of Education Service Providers. 
 (1)  An LEA shall ensure that each staff member of an 
education service provider: 
 (a)  receives a background check and has ongoing 
monitoring in accordance with Title 53G, Chapter 11, Part 4 
Background Checks; and 
 (b)  holds appropriate license, license areas of 
concentration, and endorsements as set forth in Rule R277-309. 
 (2)  An LEA shall ensure that a student identified as having 
a disability under the IDEA or Section 504 receiving instruction from 
an education service provider receives a free and appropriate public 
education. 
 (3)  An LEA shall require each education service provider 
provide the LEA with information about any student receiving 
services that the education service provider suspects of having a 
disability, so that the LEA can conduct child find responsibilities 
under the IDEA. 
 (4)(a)  An LEA shall register all students receiving services 
from an education service provider. 
 (b)  An education service provider may not register a 
student on behalf of an LEA. 
 (5)  An LEA shall pay an education service provider on a 
reimbursement basis. 
 (6)  An LEA may not record education service provider 
staff as teachers with an assignment in CACTUS or USIMS. 
 
R277-115-5.  Corrective Action. 
 [(3)  ]The Board or the Superintendent may withhold funds 
or require an LEA to repay public funds to the Superintendent if: 
 ([a]1)  the LEA fails to comply with [the provisions of ]this 
rule or the law; and 
 ([b]2)  the repayment is made in accordance with the 
procedures established in Rule R277-114. 
 
KEY:  third party providers, contracts, monitoring 
Date of Last Change:  2023[May 23, 2019] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4) and (10) 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-303 Filing ID:  
55246 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-303.  Educator Preparation Programs 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being amended in order to increase flexibility 
in demonstrating competencies in educator preparation 
programs. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
These amendments add a definition for "Flexibility".  These 
amendments clarify monitoring responsibilities of the 
Superintendent and also clarify that approved preparation 
programs must be based in Utah. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  This adds 
flexibility but does not create new programs or require 
additional staff time. 
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B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  These 
changes do not require additional resources from Local 
Education Agencies (LEAs) but allow for some flexibility in 
educator preparation programs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This only 
affects the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) and 
LEAs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses, revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
USBE does not anticipate any fiscal impact for other 
individuals as it mostly impacts LEAs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  This 
rule change does not add costs for USBE or LEAs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Subsection 
53E-6-201(3)(a) 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-303.  Educator Preparation Programs. 
R277-303-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; 
 (c)  Subsection 53E-6-201(3)(a), which directs the Board 
to establish the criteria for obtaining licenses; and 
 (d)  Section 53E-6-302, which requires the Board to 
establish standards for approval of educator preparation programs. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish flexible criteria 
for demonstration of competency in educator preparation programs 
in the State of Utah. 
 
R277-303-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)(a)  "Educator preparation program" means a 
comprehensive program administered by an entity that is intended to 
prepare individuals to meet the requirements for a Utah professional 
license or license area of concentration. 
 (b)  "Educator preparation program" may include a 
program developed by or associated with an institution of higher 
education, individual LEA, a consortium of LEAs, or the Board. 
 (2)  "Flexibility," for alternative preparation programs, 
means the process by which a program exercises local decision-
making to design and implement focused options to meet program 
and applicant licensing needs, without adding additional 
requirements beyond those outlined in Board rule, and allowing a 
teacher to demonstrate competency where reasonably possible in lieu 
of coursework or other requirements, consistent with the purpose of 
Board licensing rules. 
 ([2]3)  "LEA" includes, for purposes of this rule, the Utah 
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind. 
 ([3]4)  "License area" has the same meaning as set forth in 
Subsection R277-301-2(5)(a). 
 (4)  "Professional license" means the educator license 
described in Section R277-301-6. 
 
R277-303-3.  Educator Preparation Program Review and 
Approval. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall establish uniform procedures 
for initial approval and review of educator preparation programs to 
ensure compliance with this [R277-303]rule. 
 (2)  The Superintendent shall approve an educator 
preparation program that meets the requirements of this rule and the 
standards for program approval established in: 
 (a)  Rule R277-304; 
 (b)  Rule R277-305; 
 (c)  Rule R277-306; and 
 (d)  all other applicable Board rules. 
 (3)(a)  The Superintendent shall conduct an ongoing review 
of approved educator preparation programs and shall renew or deny 
approval for a program at least every seven years. 

 (b)  The review described in Subsection (3)(a) shall include 
monitoring whether: 
 (i)  an educational preparation program is in compliance 
with Board rules; and 
 (ii)  an alternative preparation program has reasonable 
flexibility for candidates to demonstrate required competencies. 
 (4)  The Superintendent may grant preliminary approval to 
a new educator preparation program within a Utah public college or 
university pending approval by the Utah [State Board of 
Regents]Board of Higher Education. 
 (5)  The Superintendent shall make a report to the Board 
when an educator preparation program's initial application for 
approval is granted or denied. 
 (6)  The Superintendent may place an approved educator 
preparation program on probation for: 
 (a)  failure to meet program requirements detailed in 
applicable Board rules; or 
 (b)  failure to submit complete and accurate information in 
a report required under this rule. 
 (7)  The Board may revoke the approval of a probationary 
program that fails to meet probationary requirements with at least one 
year's notice to the educator preparation program. 
 (8)  The Superintendent may require a program or subset of 
programs to submit reports to inform the annual report to the Board 
required in Section R277-301-10. 
 (9)  The Superintendent shall accept an approved educator 
preparation program's recommendations for a professional license or 
license area if the prospective licensee meets all other requirements 
of Board rule. 
 
R277-303-4.  Educator Preparation Programs. 
 (1)  An educator preparation program that applies for 
approval by the Superintendent shall demonstrate how it will ensure 
that participants: 
 (a)  are prepared to meet the Utah Effective Educator 
Standards established in Rule R277-530; 
 (b)  successfully complete or are prepared to complete the 
pedagogical performance assessment required in Rule R277-301; 
 (c)  have met the competencies required in all applicable 
Board rules; 
 (d)  have sufficiently demonstrated the ability to work in 
the applicable license area and subject area; and 
 (e)  successfully completed or are prepared to complete a 
pedagogical performance assessment meeting standards established 
by the Superintendent and approved by the Board for all new students 
enrolled in the program after January 1, 2020 and recommended for 
a Utah educator license after September 1, 2021 in all license areas 
for which such an assessment is available. 
 (2)  In addition to the requirements of Subsection (1), an 
educator preparation program that is not also a Utah LEA shall: 
 (a)  have a physical location in the state of Utah where 
participants attend classes; or 
 (b)  if the program provides only online instruction: 
 (i)  have the program's primary headquarters located in 
Utah; and 
 (ii)  be licensed to do business through the Utah 
Department of Commerce; and 
 (c)  establish entry requirements that are designed to ensure 
that only high quality individuals enter the preparation program, 
which include measures of: 
 (i)  previous academic success; 
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 (ii)  disposition for employment in an educational setting; 
and 
 (iii)  basic skills in reading, writing, and mathematics; and 
 (d)  include a pedagogical performance assessment meeting 
standards established by the Superintendent and approved by the 
Board for all new students enrolled in the program after January 1, 
2020 and recommended for a Utah educator license after August 1, 
2021 in all license areas for which such an assessment is available. 
 (3)(a)  If the Superintendent denies an application from an 
educator preparation program, the proposed educator preparation 
program may appeal the Superintendent's decision to the Board by 
submitting a written appeal to the Board Secretary. 
 (b)  The Board shall assign an appeal under Subsection 
(3)(a) to a standing committee to make a recommendation to the full 
Board for final action. 
 (4)  An approved educator preparation program may 
recommend an individual that completed the program for a 
professional license or license area for up to five years after the 
individual completed the program, as long as all current license 
requirements have been met. 
 (5)  If five years have passed since an individual completed 
an approved educator preparation program, the program may 
recommend the individual for a professional license or license area if 
the program: 
 (a)  reviews the individual's program; and 
 (b)  requires the individual to complete any additional 
necessary requirements to meet current programs standards [prior 
to]before making a licensing recommendation. 
 (6)(a)  An approved educator preparation program may 
recommend an individual who began the program before January 1, 
2020 for a professional license or license area without meeting the 
pedagogical performance assessment requirement in Rule R277-301, 
but must present documentation showing that the individual met the 
appropriate license requirements in effect [prior to]before that date. 
 (b)  Subsection (6)(a) supersedes Subsections (4) and (5). 
 
R277-303-5.  Superintendent Responsibilities. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall provide support to educator 
preparation programs and potential licensees to the extent that 
funding allows by: 
 (a)  maintaining a website to: 
 (i)  facilitate collaboration between educator preparation 
programs; 
 (ii)  facilitate communication between potential educators 
and approved programs; and 
 (iii)  provide access to up-to-date research on educator 
preparation and education practices; 
 (b)  reviewing third-party preparation materials for 
alignment with the Utah Effective Educator Standards in Rule R277-
530;[ and] 
 (c)  working with potential licensed educators to help them 
become licensed educators[.]; and 
 (d)  ensuring that alternative preparation program 
applicants be grandfathered from new program requirements added 
after an applicant's acceptance into the program. 
 (2)  The Superintendent shall design and maintain a model 
educator preparation program that: 
 (a)  meets all requirements of all applicable Board rules; 
 (b)  may be adopted by an LEA or an accredited private 
school, subject to Section R277-303-4; and 

 (c)  is overseen by staff distinct from the staff responsible 
for ensuring educator preparation program compliance with all 
applicable Board rules. 
 
KEY:  educator preparation program, pedagogical assessment, 
professional competency, programs 
Date of Last Change:  2023[April 8, 2021] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4); 53E-6-201(3)(a) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-463 Filing ID:  
55247 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-463.  Class Size Average and Pupil-Teacher Ratio 
Reporting 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
These funds are not used to reduce teacher to pupil ratios 
due to growth having been so high for so many years.  
With this repeal, Local Education Agencies (LEAs) will still 
be able to use these funds mainly to help sustain the 
classroom sizes/teacher to current pupil ratios, as much 
as possible, and to keep the classroom sizes from 
increasing exponentially. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The rule is being repealed in its entirety.  
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  Removal of 
this rule does not change the funds or distributions from 
the Utah State Board of Education (USBE). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  The rule 
being repealed does not change the allowable uses of the 
funds or distributions to LEAs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This only 
affects USBE and LEAs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
This only affects USBE and LEAs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  
There are no costs associated with the repeal. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 53E-3-301 Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 
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9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-463.  Class Size Average and Pupil-Teacher Ratio 
Reporting. 
R277-463-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which places 
general control and supervision of the public school system under the 
Board; 
 (b)  Section 53E-3-301, which directs the Board to report 
average class sizes and pupil-teacher ratios; and 
 (c)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish uniform class 
size and pupil-teacher ratio reporting procedures, including 
definitions and codes. 
 
R277-463-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Course" means the subject matter taught to students. 
 (a)  Elementary courses are designated by grade level. 
 (b)  Secondary courses are determined by course content. 
 (2)  "EL" means English Learner. 
 (3)(a)  "Individual class" means a group of students 
organized for instruction and assigned to one or more teachers or 
other staff members for a designated time period. 
 (b)  A class may include: 
 (i)  students from multiple grades; or 
 (ii)  students taking multiple courses. 
 (c)  The Superintendent shall determine an individual class 
from course data submitted to the Superintendent using a 
combination of course elements, such as: 
 (i)  CACTUS identification number; 
 (ii)  teacher of record; 
 (iii)  class period; 
 (iv)  term of student enrollment; and 
 (v)  course cycle. 
 (4)  "Pupil" means a student enrolled in a public school as 
of October 1 of the reported school year. 
 (5)  "Teacher" means a full-time equivalent licensed 
educator, such as: 
 (a)  a regular classroom teacher; 
 (b)  a school-based specialist; or 
 (c)  a special education teacher. 
 
R277-463-3.  Class Size Average for Elementary Classes. 
 (1)(a)  An LEA shall report student level course data 
providing sufficient course information to determine the number of 
students in individual classes. 

 (b)  An LEA shall calculate a class with students in multiple 
grades as one class. 
 (c)  An LEA shall calculate an extended day classes in 
which one portion of the class arrives early and the other portion stays 
late as one class. 
 (2)(a)  The Superintendent shall calculate average class size 
by grade. 
 (b)  The Superintendent shall exclude special education, 
EL, online, and other non-traditional classes from class size average 
calculations. 
 (3)  The Superintendent shall derive state and district-level 
class sizes from the median of school-level class sizes. 
 
R277-463-4.  Class Size Average for Secondary Classes. 
 (1)(a)  An LEA shall report student level course data 
providing sufficient course information to determine the number of 
students in individual classes. 
 (b)  An LEA shall calculate classes including students 
enrolled in multiple courses as one class. 
 (2)(a)  The Superintendent shall calculate average class size 
for core language arts, mathematics, and science courses. 
 (b)  The Superintendent shall exclude special education, 
EL, online, and other non-traditional classes from class size averages. 
 (3)  The Superintendent shall derive state and district-level 
class sizes from taking the median of school-level class sizes. 
 
R277-463-5.  Pupil-Teacher Ratio Calculation. 
 (1)(a)  The Superintendent shall calculate pupil-teacher 
ratios by school. 
 (b)  The Superintendent shall calculate the pupil-teacher 
ratio for each school by dividing the number of enrolled pupils by the 
number of full-time equivalent teachers assigned to the school. 
 (2)  The Superintendent shall derive district-level ratios by 
taking the median of school-level ratios. 
 (3)  The Superintendent shall derive state-level ratios for 
charter schools and traditional schools by taking the median of 
school-level data. 
 
R277-463-6.  Reporting Format and Timeline. 
 The Superintendent shall report school, district and state-
level ratios and class size averages to the public as required under 
Section 53E-3-301. 
 
KEY:  public schools, enrollment reporting, class size average 
reporting, pupil-teacher ratio reporting 
Date of Last Change:  July 2, 2019 
Notice of Continuation:  April 8, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art. X, Sec 
3; 53E-3-301; 53E-3-401(4)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-552 Filing ID:  
55248 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
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Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-552.  Charter School Timelines and Approval 
Processes 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being amended due to a motion made by the 
Legislature's Administrative Rules Review and General 
Oversight Committee (Administrative Rules Committee) to 
include not reauthorizing Rule R277-552 in the 
Legislature's annual bill to reauthorize administrative rules 
if the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) does not 
amend this rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
These amendments delete all of Subsection R277-552-
7(2) from this rule and include a provision requiring a 
charter schools' authorizer establish a standard for how 
the authorizer will determine that the school is 
academically high performing and in good standing and 
requiring a charter school requesting a large expansion or 
satellite school to meet the authorizer's standards.  The 
rule amendments also include the elimination of a two-step 
review process, provides more autonomy for authorizers 
to approve small expansion requests, and make other 
technical changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  These 
changes do not directly impact state budgets or revenue.  
Authorizers can now establish what determines a charter 

school is in good standing for expansion requests as it was 
unclear prior to this change. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  This relates 
only to expanding or satellite charter schools.  The charter 
school's authorizer can now determine what qualifies as 
being in good academic standing.  All other processes for 
expansion or satellites continue to apply.  Therefore, 
USBE does not estimate a measurable impact for Local 
Education Agencies (LEAs). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This only 
applies to USBE and LEAs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
This only applies to LEAs and USBE. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  This 
does not add any costs for USBE and LEAs; it will only 
apply to charter schools attempting to expand or create a 
satellite. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 53E-3-401 Section 53G-5-205 

Section 53F-2-702 Section 53G-6-503  
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-552.  Charter School Timelines and Approval Processes. 
R277-552-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities; 
 (c)  Subsection 53G-6-504(5), which requires the Board to 
make rules regarding a charter school expansion or satellite campus; 
 (d)  Sections 53G-5-304 through 53G-5-306, which require 
the Board to make a rule providing a timeline for the opening of a 
charter school; 
 (e)  Section 53F-2-702, which directs the Board to 
distribute funds for charter school students directly to the charter 
school; 
 (f)  the Charter School Expansion Act of 1998, 20 U.S.C. 
Sec. 8063, which directs the Board to submit specific information 
[prior to]before a charter school's receipt of federal funds; and 
 (g)  Subsection 53G-5-205(5), which requires the Board to 
make rules establishing minimum standards that an authorizer is 
required to apply in authorizing and monitoring charter schools. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  establish procedures for timelines and approval 
processes for new charter schools; and 
 (b)  provide criteria and standards for consideration of high 
performing charter schools to expand and request new schools that 
are satellite schools. 
 
R277-552-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Large expansion" means a charter school's request for 
expansion if the expansion request: 
 (a)  is for more than 50 students; 
 (b)  would necessitate significant renovation; or 
 (c)  is for more than one additional grade level. 
 (2)  "Market analysis" means a qualitative and quantitative 
analysis of the educational market near a proposed charter school, 
including: 
 [(1)](a)  the school's target demographics; 
 [(2)](b)  population and development trends in the area; 
 [(3)](c)  nearby competing public schools; 
 [(4)](d)  the proposed school's own forecasts, along with 
supporting data; and 
 [(5)](e)  any risks, barriers, or regulations that may impact 
a proposed school's success. 
 (3)  "Significant school remodel" means new construction 
or a renovation that requires: 
 (i)  a building permit from a local municipality or county; 
or 
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 (ii)  a project number from the Board as described in Rule 
R277-471. 
 (4)  "Small expansion request" means a charter school's 
request for expansion if the expansion request: 
 (a)  is for 50 or fewer students; 
 (b)  would not necessitate a significant renovation; and 
 (c)  is for no more than one additional grade. 
 
R277-552-3.  Charter School Authorization Process. 
 (1)  An individual or non-profit organization as described 
in Subsection 53G-5-302(2)(b) may apply to open a charter school 
from any statutorily approved authorizer. 
 (2)  An authorizer shall submit a process to the Board for 
approval of: 
 (a)  a new charter school; 
 (b)  a request from a school to change authorizers; 
 (c)  a charter school expansion; or 
 (d)  a satellite school. 
 (3)  A new authorizer shall submit a new charter school 
application process to the Board for approval at least six months 
[prior to]before accepting applications for a new charter school. 
 (4)  An existing authorizer may not authorize a new charter 
school for the 2021-22 school year and beyond until the Board 
approves the authorizer's application process. 
 (5)(a)  The Board shall approve or deny an authorizer's 
proposed application process, including expansion and satellite 
approval processes, within 90 days of receipt of the proposed process 
from an authorizer. 
 (b)  If the Board denies an application process, the 
Superintendent shall provide a written explanation of the reasons for 
the denial to the applicant within 45 days. 
 (c)  If an authorizer's application process is denied, the 
authorizer may submit a revised application process for approval at 
any time. 
 (6)  An authorizer shall have an application and charter 
agreement, which shall include all elements required by Title 53G, 
Chapter 5, Part 3, Charter School Authorization. 
 (7)  An authorizer shall maintain the official signed charter 
agreement, which shall presumptively be the final, and complete 
agreement between a school and the school's authorizer. 
 (8)  An authorizer's review process for a new charter school 
shall include: 
 (a)  a plan for mandatory pre-operational and other 
trainings; 
 (b)  an evaluation of the school's governing board, 
including: 
 (i)  a review of the resumes of and background information 
of proposed governing board members; and 
 (ii)  a capacity interview of the proposed governing board; 
 (c)  an evaluation of the school's financial viability, 
including: 
 (i)  a market analysis; 
 (ii)  anticipated enrollment; and 
 (iii)  anticipated and break even budgets; 
 (d)  an evaluation of the school's academic program and 
academic standards by which the authorizer will hold the school 
accountable; and 
 (e)  an evaluation of the school's proposed pre-operational 
plan, including implementation of: 
 (i)  applicable legal requirements for public schools; 
 (ii)  required policies; 

 (iii)  student data systems, including student data privacy 
requirements; 
 (iv)  reporting; and 
 (v)  financial management. 
 (9)  An authorizer's review process shall include contacting 
the school district in which a proposed charter school will be located 
and consideration of any feedback provided by the district. 
 (10)  An authorizer shall design its approval process so that 
the authorizer notifies the Superintendent of an authorizer approval 
of a request identified in Subsection (2) no later than October 1, one 
fiscal year [prior to]before the state fiscal year the charter school 
intends to serve students. 
 
R277-552-4.  Timelines - Charter School Starting Date and 
Facilities. 
 (1)  A charter school may receive state start-up funds if the 
charter school is approved as a new charter school by October 1, one 
fiscal year [prior to]before the state fiscal year the charter school 
intends to serve students. 
 (2)  [Prior to]Before receiving state start-up funds an 
authorizer, other than the State Charter School Board, shall certify in 
writing to the State Charter School Board that a charter school has: 
 (a)  completed all required financial documents; 
 (b)  completed background checks for each governing 
board member; and 
 (c)  executed a signed charter agreement, which includes 
academic goals. 
 (3)  [Prior to]Before an LEA [receiving]receives state start-
up funds, the State Charter School Board shall require the LEA to 
submit documentation supporting the information required in 
Subsections (2)(a) and (c) to the Superintendent. 
 (4)  A charter school may receive state funds, including 
minimum school program funds, if the charter school authorizer 
certifies in writing to the Superintendent by June 30 [prior to]before 
the school's first operational year that: 
 (a)  the charter school meets the requirements of Subsection 
(2); 
 (b)  the charter school's governing board has adopted all 
policies required by statute or Board rule, including a draft special 
education policies and procedures manual; 
 (c)  the charter school's governing board has adopted an 
annual calendar in an open meeting and has submitted the calendar 
to the Superintendent; 
 (d)  the authorizer has received the charter school's facility 
contract as required by Subsection 53G-5-404(9); 
 (e)  the charter school has met the requirements of 
Subsections (5) and (6) and that the school's building is scheduled for 
completion, including all required inspections, [prior to]before 
occupancy; 
 (f)(i)  the charter school has hired an executive director and 
a business administrator; or 
 (ii)(A)  the charter school governing board has designated 
an executive director or business administrator employed by a third 
party; and 
 (B)  the charter school governing board has established 
policies regarding the charter school's supervision of the charter 
school's third-party contractors; 
 (g)  the charter school's enrollment is on track to be 
sufficient to meet the school's financial obligations and implement 
the charter school agreement; 
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 (h)  the charter school has an approved student data system 
that has successfully communicated with UTREx, including meeting 
the compatibility requirements of Subsection R277-484-5(3); 
 (i)  the charter school has a functional accounting system; 
and 
 (j)  the charter school has a budgeted net lease adjusted debt 
burden ratio of under 30% based on the school's executed facility 
agreement; and 
 (k)  the charter school has complied with all legal 
requirements for new charter schools in a school's pre-operational 
year. 
 (5)  An authorizer shall: 
 (a)  create a process to verify the requirements in 
Subsection (4); 
 (b)  maintain documentation of Subsection (5)(a); and 
 (c)  provide the documentation described in Subsection 
(5)(b) to the Superintendent upon request; and 
 (d)  submit a copy of the process required in Subsection 
(5)(a) to the Board for approval along with the authorizer's process 
for approving new charters under Subsection R277-552-3(2). 
 (6)  A charter school shall begin construction on a new or 
existing facility requiring [major]significant renovation[, such as 
requiring a project number consistent with Rule R277-471,] no later 
than January 1 of the year the charter school is scheduled to open. 
 (7)  A charter school that intends to occupy a facility 
requiring only minimal renovation, such as renovation not requiring 
a project number according to Rule R277-471, shall enter into a 
written agreement no later than May 1 of the calendar year the charter 
school is scheduled to open. 
 (8)  If a charter school fails to meet the requirements of this 
section within 36 months of approval, the approval of the charter 
school shall expire. 
 
R277-552-5.  Charter Amendment Requests. 
 (1)  An authorizer shall have a policy establishing a process 
for consideration of proposed amendments to a school's charter 
agreement. 
 (2)  An authorizer's timeline for consideration of an 
amendment to a charter agreement may not conflict with any funding 
deadline established in Board rule. 
 
R277-552-6.  Charter School Small Expansion Requests. 
 (1)  An authorization process developed by an authorizer in 
accordance with Subsection R277-552-[2]3(2) shall comply with 
[this ]Sections R277-552-[5]6 and R277-552-7 for a charter school 
expansion. 
[ (2)  An authorizer may only consider an application from a 
charter school for an expansion if: 
 (a)  the charter school is in compliance with the 
requirements of federal and state law, regulations, and Board rule, 
including: 
 (i)  Title 53E, Chapter 9, Student Privacy and Data 
Protection; 
 (ii)  Title 53G, Chapter 7, Part 5, Student Fees; 
 (iii)  Title 53G, Chapter 9, Part 7, Suicide Prevention; 
 (iv)  Title 53G, Chapter 8, Discipline and Safety; 
 (v)  Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act; 
 (vi)  Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code; and 
 (vii)  the IDEA and Rule R277-750, with no unresolved 
audit exceptions; 
 (viii)  Rule R277-113, Local Education Agency (LEA) 
Fiscal and Auditing Policies; 

 (ix)  Section 53G-9-207, Child sexual abuse prevention; 
and 
 (x)  Subsection 63G-7-301(3) and Rule R277-322; 
 (b)  the request is consistent with the charter school's 
charter agreement; 
 (c)  the expanding school or LEA is performing: 
 (i)  consistent with or above the charter school's stated 
academic goals; and 
 (ii)  at or above the average student performance of other 
nearby schools on statewide assessments, unless serving a 
specialized population consistent with the school's charter 
agreement; 
 (d)  if the proposed expansion will require additional 
physical facilities, the charter school has maintained a net lease 
adjusted debt burden ratio of under 25% for each of the last three 
years; 
 (e)  the charter school's financial statements report revenues 
in excess of expenditures for at least three of the last four fiscal years; 
and 
 (f)  the charter school provides any additional information 
or documentation requested by the charter school authorizer. 
 (3)  An authorizer shall provide documentation of an 
applicant school's eligibility to apply under Subsection (2) to the 
Superintendent upon request.] 
 (2)  An authorizer may approve a small expansion request 
in accordance with an authorizer's standards and established criteria. 
 [(4)](3)  An authorizer may [only ]approve an application 
from a charter school for [an]a large expansion if the charter school 
meets the requirements for a satellite school described in Section 
R277-552-7.[if: 
 (a)  the charter school is meeting the terms of its charter 
agreement; 
 (b)  the charter school is academically and operationally 
successful, taking into consideration at least two years of academic 
performance data of students at the charter school; 
 (c)  the charter school: 
 (i)  provides educational services consistent with state law 
and Board rule; 
 (ii)  administers and has capacity to carry out statewide 
assessments including proctoring statewide assessments, consistent 
with Section 53E-4-303 and Rule R277-404; and 
 (iii)  provides evidence-based instruction for special 
populations as required by federal law; 
 (d)  the charter school has adequate qualified administrators 
and staff to meet the needs of the proposed student population at the 
school; 
 (e)  the school is in compliance with all applicable school 
legal obligations; 
 (f)  the charter school has maintained for each of the last 
three years: 
 (i)  a re-enrollment rate of at least 80%; 
 (ii)  a wait list of at least 40% of its annual enrollment; or 
 (iii)  other evidence of market demand satisfactory to the 
authorizer; 
 (g)  the charter school is financially viable, as evidenced by 
the charter school's financial records, including the charter school's: 
 (i)  most recent annual financial report (AFR); 
 (ii)  annual program report (APR); and 
 (iii)  audited financial statements; 
 (g)  the charter school's proposal provides an adequate 
facility for the school; and 
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 (h)  the charter school has appropriately dealt with student 
safety issues, if any.] 
 (4)  An authorizer may provide additional requirements in 
addition to the requirements described in Sections R277-552-6 and 
R277-552-7. 
 (5)  An authorizer shall provide documentation of an 
applicant school's eligibility for an expansion under Subsection (2) 
or Section R277-552-7 to the Superintendent upon request. 
 [(5)](6)  An authorizer shall: 
 (a)  approve a proposed expansion before October 1 of the 
state fiscal year [prior to]before the school year that the charter school 
intends to expand; and 
 (b)  provide the total number of students by grade that the 
charter school expansion is authorized to enroll to the Superintendent 
on or before October 1 of the state fiscal year [prior to]before the 
school year that the school intends to expand. 
 
R277-552-7.  Requests for a New Satellite School or Large 
Expansion[for an Approved Charter School]. 
 (1)  An authorization process developed by an authorizer in 
accordance with Subsection R277-552-3(2) shall comply with this 
Section R277-552-7 for a satellite school or large expansion request. 
[ (2)  An authorizer may only consider an application from a 
charter school for a satellite school if: 
 (a)  the charter school is in compliance with the 
requirements of federal and state law, regulations, and Board rule, 
including: 
 (i)  Title 53E, Chapter 9, Student Privacy and Data 
Protection; 
 (ii)  Title 53G, Chapter 7, Part 5, Student Fees; 
 (iii)  Title 53G, Chapter 9, Part 7, Suicide Prevention; 
 (iv)  Title 53G, Chapter 8, Discipline and Safety; 
 (v)  Title 52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act; 
 (vi)  Title 63G, Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code; and 
 (vii)  the IDEA and Rule R277-750, with no unresolved 
audit exceptions; 
 (viii)  Rule R277-113, Local Education Agency (LEA) 
Fiscal and Auditing Policies; 
 (ix)  Section 53G-9-207, Child sexual abuse prevention; 
and 
 (x)  Subsection 63G-7-301(3) and Rule R277-322; 
 (b)  the request is consistent with the charter school's 
charter agreement; 
 (c)  all schools operating under the governance of the 
existing charter school are performing: 
 (i)  consistent with or above the charter school's stated 
academic goals; or 
 (ii)  if no student performance goals have been established, 
above the standardized student assessment measures of other 
comparable nearby schools; 
 (d)  the charter school has maintained a net lease adjusted 
debt burden ratio of under 25% for each of the last three years; 
 (e)  the charter school's financial statements report revenues 
in excess of expenditures for at least three of the last four years; 
 (f)  the charter school provides a market analysis, including 
documentation of the school's potential for enrollment stability, 
covering all public schools within a ten mile radius, including 
analysis of whether nearby schools are at enrollment capacity; and 
 (g)  the charter school provides any additional information 
or documentation requested by the charter school authorizer.] 

 [(3)](2)  An authorizer may not consider an application for 
a satellite school from a charter school governed by a different 
authorizer. 
[ (4)  An authorizer shall provide documentation of an 
applicant school's eligibility to apply under Subsection (2) to the 
Superintendent upon request.] 
 [(5)](3)  An authorizer may only approve an application 
from a charter school for a satellite school or large expansion if: 
 (a)  the charter school is in compliance with the 
requirements of federal and state law, regulations, and Board rule; 
 (b)  the charter school meets the requirement of the charter 
school authorizer's standards and requirements; 
 (c)  the charter school is academically high performing and 
in good standing according to the standards established by the charter 
school's authorizer in the authorizer's process for charter school 
expansion or satellite school described in Subsection R277-552-3(2), 
including whether the charter LEA, as a whole, qualifies as high 
performing under the charter school's authorizer's approved 
definition of high performing; 
[ (a)  the charter school is meeting the terms of its charter 
agreement; 
 (b)  the charter school has maintained for each of the last 
three years: 
 (i)  a re-enrollment rate of at least 80%; 
 (ii)  a wait list of at least 40% of its annual enrollment; or 
 (iii)  there is a demonstrated demand for the proposed 
satellite, taking into consideration the market analysis required under 
Subsection (2)(f);] 
 [(c)](d)  subject to Subsection (4), the charter school is[ 
academically and] operationally successful, taking into consideration 
at least two years of [academic performance data of students at]data 
for every school under the charter agreement;[ the charter school, 
including whether the charter school is performing at or above: 
 (i)  the academic goals established in the charter school's 
agreement; and 
 (ii)  the average academic performance of other district and 
charter schools in the area or schools targeting similar populations or 
demographics;] 
 [(d)](e)  the charter school has plans for the new satellite 
school or large expansion to: 
 (i)  provide educational services consistent with state law 
and Board rule; 
 (ii)  administer and have capacity to carry out statewide 
assessments including proctoring statewide assessments, consistent 
with Section 53E-4-303 and Rule R277-404; and 
 (iii)  provide evidence-based instruction for special 
populations as required by federal law; 
 [(e)](f)  the charter school has adequate qualified 
administrators and staff to meet the needs of the proposed student 
population at the new school; 
 [(f)](g)  the school is in compliance with all public school 
legal obligations; 
 [(g)](h)  the charter school is in good standing with its 
authorizer;[ and] 
 (i)  the charter school has no outstanding corrective action 
that has not yet been resolved by the completion of a corrective action 
plan; 
[ (h)  the charter school is financially viable, as evidenced by 
the charter school's financial records, including the charter school's: 
 (i)  most recent annual financial report (AFR); 
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 (ii)  annual program report (APR); and 
 (iii)  audited financial statements.] 
 (j)  the charter school provides a market analysis, including 
documentation of the school's potential for enrollment stability; and 
 (k)  the charter school provides any additional information 
or documentation requested by the authorizer. 
 (4)(a)  For purposes of this Subsection (4), "debt coverage 
ratio" means: 
 (i)  a debt coverage ratio calculated using (revenue - 
expenditures + interest cost + depreciation) divided by annual debt 
service; or 
 (ii)  if the charter school's facilities are leased and not 
owned, a debt coverage ratio calculated using (revenue - expenditures 
+ facility lease payment + real property taxes + depreciation) divided 
by annual debt service. 
 (b)  A charter school is considered to be operationally 
successful if: 
 (i)   for each of the schools under the charter agreement, the 
charter school meets the following criteria: 
 (A)  for a school with 350 or less students enrolled in the 
school, at least 120% debt coverage ratio for each of the three years 
before the request for a satellite; 
 (B)  for a school with between 351 and 499 students 
enrolled in the school, at least 115% debt coverage ratio for each of 
the three years before the request for a satellite; 
 (C)  for a school with between 500 and 750 students 
enrolled in the school, at least 110% debt coverage ratio for each of 
the three years before the request for a satellite; or 
 (D)  for a school with more than 750 students enrolled in 
the school, at least 105% debt coverage ratio for each of the three 
years before the request for a satellite; 
 (ii)  the charter school is financially viable, as evidenced by 
the charter school's financial records, including the charter school's: 
 (A)  most recent annual financial report (AFR); 
 (B)  annual program report (APR); and 
 (C)  audited financial statements; 
 (iii)  the charter school has maintained a net lease adjusted 
debt burden ratio of under 25% for each of the last three years; and 
 (iv)  the charter school's financial statements report 
revenues in excess of expenditures for at least three of the last four 
years; 
 (v)  the charter school is meeting the terms of its charter 
agreement; 
 (vi)  the charter school has maintained for each of the last 
three years: 
 (A)  a re-enrollment rate of at least 80%; 
 (B)  a wait list of at least 40% of its annual enrollment; or 
 (C)  there is a demonstrated demand for the proposed 
satellite or large expansion, taking into consideration the market 
analysis required under Subsection (3)(j). 
 (5)  An authorizer may provide additional requirements for 
a charter school in addition to the minimum requirements described 
in this Section R277-552-7. 
 (6)  An authorizer shall provide documentation of an 
applicant school's eligibility for a satellite school or large expansion 
under Subsection (3) to the Superintendent upon request. 
 [(6)](7)  An authorizer shall: 
 (a)  approve a proposed large expansion request or satellite 
school before October 1 of the state fiscal year [prior to]before the 
school year that the proposed school intends to first serve students; 
 (b)  provide the total number of students by grade that the 
expanded or satellite school is authorized to enroll to the 

Superintendent on or before October 1 of the state fiscal year [prior 
to]before the school year that the proposed school intends to first 
serve students; and 
 (c)  ensure that a proposed school that will receive School 
LAND Trust funds has a charter trust land council and satisfies all 
requirements of Rule R277-477, including transparency of 
information for parents. 
 [(7)](8)  A charter school and all of the charter school's 
satellite schools are a single LEA for purposes of public school 
funding and reporting. 
 [(8)](9)  If a satellite charter school does not open within 
36 months of approval, the approval shall expire. 
 [(9)](10)  If an authorizer denies an application for a 
satellite school, the school may immediately apply for a new charter 
in accordance with an authorizer's approved processes. 
 
R277-552-8.  Procedures and Timelines to Change Charter 
School Authorizers. 
 (1)  A charter school may transfer to another charter school 
authorizer. 
 (2)  A charter school shall submit an application to the new 
charter school authorizer at least 90 days [prior to]before the 
proposed transfer. 
 (3)  The charter school authorizer transfer application shall 
include: 
 (a)  the name and contact information of all current 
governing board members; 
 (b)  financial records that demonstrate the charter school's 
financial position, including the following: 
 (i)  most recent annual financial report (AFR); 
 (ii)  annual program report (APR); and 
 (iii)  audited financial statements; 
 (c)  test scores, including all state required assessments; 
 (d)  current employees and assignments; 
 (e)  board minutes for the most recent 12 months; and 
 (f)  affidavits, signed by all board members certifying: 
 (i)  the charter school's compliance with all state and federal 
laws and regulations, including documentation if requested; 
 (ii)  all information on the transfer application is complete 
and accurate; 
 (iii)  the charter school is current with all required charter 
school governing board policies; 
 (iv)  the charter school is operating consistent with the 
charter school's charter agreement; and 
 (v)  there are no outstanding lawsuits, judgments, or liens 
against the charter school. 
 (4)  The current authorizer of a charter school seeking to 
transfer charter school authorizers shall submit a position statement 
to the new charter school authorizer about: 
 (a)  the charter school's status; 
 (b)  compliance with the charter school authorizer 
requirements; and 
 (c)  unresolved concerns. 
 (5)  If a school applies to change authorizer's, the existing 
authorizer shall advise the proposed authorizer if there is any 
outstanding debt to the existing authorizer or the state. 
 (6)  If a school applies to change authorizers, the request 
shall extend to all satellite schools. 
 (7)  A new charter school authorizer shall review an 
application for transferring to another charter school authorizer 
within 60 days of submission of a complete application, including all 
required documentation. 
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 (8)  [Prior to]Before accepting a charter school's transfer 
from another authorizer, the new authorizer shall request and 
consider information from the Board and current authorizer 
concerning the charter school's financial and academic performance. 
 (9)  The Superintendent and current authorizer shall 
provide the information described in Subsection (7) to a new charter 
authorizer within 30 days of request described in Subsection (7). 
 (10)  If an authorizer accepts the transfer of a charter 
school, the new authorizer shall notify the Superintendent within 30 
days. 
 
R277-552-9.  Requirements for Board Approval of Process 
Updates Due to Changes in Board Rule. 
 (1)  An authorizer with a previously Board approved 
process shall re-submit the authorizer's updated processes described 
in Subsection R277-552-3(2) within six months of the new effective 
date of this rule if the updates to this rule include new or amended 
requirements. 
 (2)  An authorizer may submit only those portions of the 
processes that were impacted by the updates to this rule. 
 
KEY:  training, timelines, expansion, satellite 
Date of Last Change:  2023[February 9, 2021] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401; 53G-5-205; 53F-2-702; 53G-6-503 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-600 Filing ID:  
55249 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-600.  Student Transportation Standards and 
Procedures 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being amended to add clarifications to the 
standards under which school districts may qualify for and 
receive state transportation funds. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
These amendments make a change to the general 
provisions specific to the approval of B Category costs, 
clarify the requirements needed to receive state 
transportation funds for transporting eligible students, and 
make updates to the student with disabilities transportation 
requirements for school districts, as well as the approval 
of bus routes and alternative transportation. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  This will not 
add costs for the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) 
or other state budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  These 
changes largely clarify transportation requirements for 
school districts.  These changes may have small impacts 
on which expenses are approved for reimbursement; 
however, these changes will not have large impacts on 
Local Education Agency (LEA) transportation budgets. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impacts on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This only 
affects LEA transportation. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
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E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impacts on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
This only affects LEA transportation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  This 
does not add any costs for USBE or LEAs to comply with 
the changes. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 

The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-501(1)(d) 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Section 53F-2-415 Section 53F-2-403  
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-600.  Student Transportation Standards and Procedures. 
R277-600-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public schools in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-501(1)(d), which directs the Board 
to establish rules for bus routes, bus safety and other transportation 
needs; 
 (c)  Sections 53F-2-402 and 53F-2-403, which provide for 
distribution of funds for transportation of public school students; 
 (d)  Section 53F-2-417, which directs the Board to make 
rules to implement rural school district transportation grants; and 
 (e)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to specify the standards 
under which school districts may qualify for and receive state 
transportation funds. 
 
R277-600-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "ADA" means average daily attendance. 
 (2)  "ADM" means average daily membership. 
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 (3)  "AFR" means a school district's annual financial report, 
one component of which is the AFR for all pupil transportation costs. 
 (4)  "Annual Program Report" or "APR" has the same 
meaning as defined in Section R277-484-2. 
 (5)(a)  "Approved costs" means the Board approved costs 
of transporting eligible students from home to school to home once 
each day, after-school routes, approved routes for students with 
disabilities and vocational students attending school outside their 
regularly assigned attendance boundary, and a portion of the bus 
purchase prices. 
 (b)  All approved costs are adjusted by the Superintendent 
consistent with a Board[-] approved formula per the annual 
legislative transportation appropriation. 
 (6)  "Deadhead miles" means miles traveled while 
operating a bus with no passengers on board. 
 (7)  "Extended school year" or "ESY" means an extension 
of the school district or charter school traditional school year to 
provide special education and related services to a student with a 
disability, in accordance with the student's IEP, and at no cost to the 
student's parent or guardian. 
 (8)  "Hazardous" means in a state of danger or potential 
danger, which may result in injury or death. 
 (9)  "Local school board" means a local school district 
board of education. 
 (10)  "Multipurpose passenger vehicle" or "MPV" means 
any motor vehicle with less than [10]ten passenger positions, 
including the driver's position, which cannot be certified as a bus. 
 (11)  "Public route" means a road, thoroughfare, walkway, 
or highway. 
 (12)  "Pupil Transportation Advisory Committee" means 
the committee described in Subsection 53F-2-403(5). 
 (13)  "Pupil Transportation Schedule A1" means a report 
submitted annually to the Superintendent covering all estimated 
miles and minutes of to[/] and from pupil transportation within an 
LEA. 
[ (14)  "Out-of-pocket expense" means gasoline, oil, and tire 
expenses.] 
 
R277-600-3.  General Provisions. 
 (1)(a)  The Superintendent shall use state transportation 
funds to reimburse school districts for the costs reasonably related to 
transporting students to and from school. 
 (b)  The Board shall define the limits of a school district's 
transportation costs reimbursable by state funds in a manner that 
encourages safety, economy, and efficiency. 
 (2)  Allowable transportation costs are divided into two 
categories: 
 (a)  A Category costs include expenditures for regular and 
special education bus routes established by the school district, and 
approved by the state. 
 (b)  B Category costs include other methods of transporting 
students to and from school. 
 (3)  The Superintendent shall develop a formula to allocate 
A Category costs based on a calculated rate. 
 (4)  The Superintendent shall approve reasonable and 
necessary B Category costs on a line-by-line basis.[ after: 
 (a)  comparing the costs submitted by a school district with 
the costs of alternative methods of performing the designated 
functions; and 
 (b)  accounting for legislative appropriation variations.] 
 (5)  The Superintendent shall develop a uniform accounting 
procedure for the financial reporting of transportation costs, which 

shall specify the methods used to calculate allowable transportation 
costs. 
 (6)  The Superintendent shall develop uniform forms for 
the administration of the transportation program. 
 (7)(a)  An LEA shall record all student transportation costs, 
including accurate mileage, minute, and trip records. 
 (b)  An LEA [may]shall maintain records and financial 
worksheets during the fiscal year for audit purposes. 
 
R277-600-4.  Eligibility. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall only disburse state 
transportation funds for transporting eligible students. 
 (2)  The Superintendent shall determine transportation 
eligibility for elementary students (k-6) and secondary students (7-
12) in accordance with the mileage from home, specified in 
Subsections 53F-2-403(1) and (2), to the school attended by 
assignment of the local school board. 
 (3)  A student whose IEP identifies transportation as a 
necessary related service is eligible for transportation regardless of 
distance from the school attended by assignment of the local school 
board. 
 (4)  A student who attends school for at least one-half day 
at a location other than the local school board designated school is 
not eligible for transportation for distances up to one and one-half 
miles. 
 (5)  A school district that implements double sessions as an 
alternative to new building construction may transport, one[-] way to 
or from school, with Board approval, affected elementary students 
residing less than one and one-half miles from school, if the local 
school board determines the transportation would improve safety 
affected by darkness or other hazardous conditions. 
 (6)  The distance from a student's home to the student's 
school or the student's bus stop is determined as follows:  From the 
center of the public route open to public use, opposite the regular 
entrance where the [pupil]student is living, over the nearest public 
route open regularly for use by the public, to the center of the public 
route open to public use, opposite the nearest public entrance to the 
school grounds which the student is attending, or the student's bus 
stop. 
 
R277-600-5.  Student with Disabilities Transportation. 
 (1)[(a)]  A student with a disability shall be transported on 
regular buses and regular routes when[ever] possible, unless the IEP 
team determines otherwise. 
[ (b)  A school district may request approval, prior to 
providing transportation, for reimbursement for transporting students 
with disabilities who cannot be safely transported on regular school 
bus runs.] 
 (2)  A school district may be reimbursed for the costs of 
transporting or for alternative transportation for students with 
disabilities whose severity of disability, or combination of 
disabilities, necessitates special transportation. 
 (3)  During the regular school year, an eligible special 
transportation route from the assigned school site to an alternative 
program location shall be for a minimum of [fifteen]15 days with 
primarily the same group of students. 
 (4)  During the ESY, an eligible special transportation route 
from the assigned school site to an alternative program location shall 
be for a minimum of ten days with primarily the same group of 
students. 
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 (5)  ESY services shall meet the standards of Part B of the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. 
1401(3) and Board Special Education Rules. 
 (6)  The Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind shall 
provide transportation for students who are transported to its self-
contained classes, unless an exception is approved by the 
Superintendent. 
 
R277-600-6.  Bus Route Approval. 
 (1)(a)  A local school board shall propose bus routes subject 
to approval by the Superintendent. 
 (b)  A local school board shall provide information 
requested by the Superintendent prior to approval of a route. 
 (c)  During the regular school year, an eligible route from 
the assigned school site to an alternative program location shall be 
for a minimum of [fifteen]15 days with primarily the same group of 
students. 
 (d)  The Superintendent may not approve a route for 
reimbursement if an equitable student transportation allowance or a 
subsistence allowance for the necessary transportation is more cost-
effective. 
[ (2)  The Superintendent may approve exceptions for good 
cause shown.] 
 ([3]2)  A bus route shall: 
 (a)  traverse the most direct public road; 
 (b)  be reasonably cost-effective in comparison to other 
feasible alternatives; 
 (c)  provide adequate safety for students; 
 (d)  traverse roads that are constructed and maintained in a 
manner that does not cause property damage; and 
 (e)  include an economically appropriate number of 
students. 
 ([4]3)(a)  The minimum number of general education 
students required to establish [a bus route]full eligibility for state-
supported transportation is ten. 
 (b)  The minimum number of students with disabilities 
required to establish [a bus route]full eligibility for state-supported 
transportation is five. 
 (c)  A bus route may be established for fewer students upon 
special permission of the Superintendent. 
 ([5]4)  A school district shall designate safe areas for bus 
stops[.], subject to the following, where possible: 
 (a)  a school district shall place bus stops at least 3/10 miles 
apart; and 
 (b)  a school district shall avoid placing bus stops on dead 
end roads. 
 ([6]5)(a)  A student's parent or guardian is responsible for 
the student's own transportation to bus stops up to one and one-half 
miles from home. 
 (b)  A parent or guardian with a student that has a disability 
is responsible for the student's own transportation to bus stops unless 
the IEP team determines otherwise. 
 ([7]6)(a)  A school district shall report changes made in 
existing routes or the addition of new routes to the Superintendent as 
they occur. 
 (b)  The Superintendent shall review and may refuse to 
fund route changes. 
 ([8]7)  The Superintendent may reimburse a school district 
for transporting another district's students across school district 
boundaries so long as: 
 (a)  the route promotes efficient transportation for both 
districts; 

 (b)  the route serves a group or community of students and 
families rather than a single student or a single family; 
 (c)  the local school boards of both participating districts 
vote in an open meeting that students who reside in one district can 
be better and more economically served by another district; and 
 (d)  both districts and the Superintendent maintain 
documentation annually of the boards' votes and [the map of ]the 
approved route. 
 ([9]8)  A school district may transport eligible students 
home after school activities held at the students' school of regular 
attendance and within a reasonable time period after the close of the 
regular school day and receive approved route mileage. 
 ([10]9)(a)  The Superintendent may approve atypical routes 
as alternatives to building construction if routes are needed to allow 
more efficient school district use of school facilities. 
 (b)  Building construction alternatives include: 
 (i)  [elementary ]double sessions; 
 (ii)  year-round school; and 
 (iii)  attendance across school district boundaries. 
 ([11]10)(a)  A school district may use local transportation 
funds to transport students across state lines or out-of-state for school 
sponsored activities or required field trips if: 
 (i)  the local school board has a policy that includes 
approval of trips at the appropriate administrative level; 
 (ii)  the school or school district has considered the purpose 
of the trip or activity and any competing risk or liability; 
 (iii)  given the distance, purpose, and length of the trip, the 
school district has determined that the use of a publicly owned school 
bus is appropriate for the trip or activity; and 
 (iv)  the local school board has consulted with State Risk 
Management. 
 (b)  If school bus routes transport students across Utah state 
lines or outside of Utah for required to and from routes, routes are 
reimbursable providing a school district maintains documentation 
that: 
 (i)  the routes are necessary; 
 (ii)  the routes are more cost-effective; or 
 (iii)  the routes provide greater safety for students than in-
state routes. 
 
R277-600-7.  Alternative Transportation. 
 (1)  [The Superintendent]A district shall analyze bus routes 
that involve a large number of deadhead miles to determine if an 
alternative method of transporting students is more efficient. 
 (2)  Approved alternatives include the alternatives 
described in Subsections (3) through (9). 
 (3)(a)  The costs incurred in transporting eligible pupils in 
a school district MPV are approved costs as long as the costs 
demonstrate efficiency; or 
 (b)  The costs incurred in paying a parent or guardian of an 
eligible student an allowance in lieu of school district-supplied 
transportation are approved costs. 
 (4)(a)  A parent or guardian of a student may be reimbursed 
for the mileage to the bus stop or school, whichever is closer to the 
student's home. 
 (b)  The allowance under this Subsection (4)(a) may not be 
less than $0.35 per mile, nor greater than the reimbursement 
allowance permitted by the Utah Department of [Administrative 
Services]Government Operations for use of privately owned vehicles 
set forth in the Utah Travel Regulations. 
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 (5)  A district shall annually perform a cost-benefit analysis 
as part of its determination of the LEA specific reimbursement rate 
and make this analysis available to the public. 
 (6)(a)  A district shall make a student mileage allowance 
under this Section R277-600-7 to only one student per family for each 
trip that is necessary for all the students within a family to attend 
school. 
 (b)  If siblings are on different school schedule or ride buses 
that are on significantly different schedules, a parent or guardian may 
claim and be paid for student mileage allowances for multiple 
students. 
 (7)  If a student eligible for reimbursement under this 
Section R277-600-7 or the student's parent or guardian [is unable 
to]cannot provide private transportation, with prior approval from the 
Superintendent[,]: 
 (a)  the Superintendent may reimburse an amount 
equivalent to the student allowance [may be paid ]to the school 
district to help pay the costs of school district transportation[.]; or 
 (b)  the Superintendent may reimburse a school district 
costs paid for school contracted transportation, commercial bus 
passes, or alternative specialized transportation services. 
 (8)(a)  A district shall measure and certify a student's 
mileage in school district records. 
 (b)  A student's ADA, as entered in school records, is used 
to determine the student's attendance. 
 (9)(a)  The cost incurred in providing a subsistence 
allowance is an approved cost under the following conditions: 
 (i)  a student lives more than 60 miles (one way) on well-
maintained roads from the student's assigned school, a parent or 
guardian may be reimbursed for the student's room and board if the 
student relocates temporarily to reside in close proximity to the 
student's assigned school; 
 (ii)  payment may not exceed the Substitute Care Rate for 
Family Services for the current fiscal year; 
 (iii)  adjustments for changes made in the rate during the 
year shall be included in the allowance; and 
 (iv)  in addition to the reimbursement for room and board, 
the subsistence allowance may include the costs of up to 18 round 
trips per year. 
 (b)(i)  A subsistence allowance is not available to a parent 
or guardian who maintains a separate home during the school year 
for the convenience of the family. 
 (ii)  A parent or guardian's primary residence during the 
school year is the residence of the child. 
 (10)  A school district may contract or lease with a third 
party provider for pupil transportation services. 
 (11)(a)  The cost incurred in engaging in a contract or 
leasing for transportation is an approved cost at the prorated amount 
available to school districts. 
 (b)  The Superintendent shall determine reimbursements 
for school districts using a leasing arrangement in accordance with 
the comparable cost for the school district to operate its own 
transportation. 
 (c)  Under a contract or lease, a school district's 
transportation administrator's time may not exceed [one percent]1% 
of the commercial contract cost. 
 (12)  If a school district contracts or leases with a third party 
provider or other LEA for pupil transportation services, it shall 
maintain and provide to the Superintendent upon request the 
following items as if it operated its own transportation: 
 (a)  eligible student counts; 
 (b)  bus route mileage; 

 (c)  bus route minutes; and 
 (d)  service to students with disabilities and bus inventory 
data. 
 
R277-600-8.  Other Reimbursable Expenses. 
 The Superintendent may reimburse a school district for the 
following costs with state transportation funds: 
 (1)  salaries of clerks, secretaries, trainers, drivers, a 
supervisor, mechanics, and other personnel necessary to operate the 
transportation program, subject to the following limitations: 
 (a)  a full time supervisor may be paid at the same rate as 
other professional directors in the school district; and 
 (b)  a school district shall ensure that a supervisor's salary 
is commensurate with the number of buses, number of eligible 
students transported, and total responsibility relative to other school 
district supervisory functions; 
 (2)  a school district may claim a percentage of the school 
district superintendent's or other supervisor's salary for 
reimbursement if the school district's eligibility count is less than 600 
and a verifiable record of administrative time spent in the 
transportation operation is maintained; and 
 (3)  the wage time for bus drivers may include to and from 
school time consisting of: 
 (i)  10 minute pre-trip inspection; 
 (ii)  actual driving time; 
 (iii)  10 minute post-trip inspection and bus cleanup; and 
 (iv)  10 minute bus servicing and fueling; 
 (4)  a proportionate amount of a superintendent's or 
supervisor's employee benefits [(health, accident, life 
insurance)]such as health, accident, or life insurance; 
 (5)  purchased property services; 
 (6)  property, comprehensive, and liability insurance; 
 (7)  communication expenses;[ and] 
 (8)  travel for supervisors to workshops or national 
conventions; 
 ([8]9)  supplies and materials for vehicles, the school 
district transportation office and the garage; 
 ([9]10)  training expenses to complete bus driver 
instruction and certification required by the Board; and 
 ([10]11)  other related costs approved by the 
Superintendent, which may include additional bus driver training. 
 
R277-600-9.  Non-reimbursable Expenses. 
 (1)  AFR for all pupil transportation costs may only include 
pupil transportation costs and other school district expenditures 
directly related to pupil transportation. 
 (2)  In determining expenditures for eligible to and from 
school transportation, all related costs shall be reduced on a pro rata 
basis for the miles not connected with approved costs. 
 (3)  Expenses determined by the Superintendent as not 
directly related to transportation of eligible students to and from 
school may not be reimbursed. 
 (4)(a)  A local school board may determine appropriate 
non-school uses of school buses. 
 (b)  A local school board may lease or rent public school 
buses to: 
 (i)  federal, state, county, or municipal entities; 
 (ii)  entities insured by State Risk Management; 
 (iii)  non-government entities; or 
 (iv)  entities not insured through State Risk Management. 
 (c)  As part of any agreement to allow non-school use of a 
school bus, a local school board shall: 
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 (i)  require full cost reimbursement for any non-public 
school use including: 
 (A)  cost per mile; 
 (B)  cost per minute; and 
 (C)  bus depreciation; 
 (ii)  require a non-school user to provide: 
 (A)  proof of insurance through State Risk Management or 
private insurance coverage; and 
 (B)  a fully executed agreement for full release of 
indemnification; 
 (iii)  require that any non-school use is revenue neutral; and 
 (iv)  consult with State Risk Management to determine 
adequacy of documentation of insurance and indemnity for any entity 
requesting use or rental of publicly owned school buses. 
 (5)  A local school board shall approve the use of school 
buses by a non-governmental entity or an entity not insured through 
State Risk Management in an open meeting. 
 (6)(a)  In the event of an emergency, local, regional, state 
or federal authorities may request the use of school buses or school 
bus drivers or both for the period of the emergency. 
 (b)  A local school board shall grant a request under 
Subsection (a) so long as the use can be accommodated consistent 
with continuing student transportation and student safety 
requirements. 
 
R277-600-10.  Board Local Levy. 
 (1)  Costs for school district transportation of students 
which are not reimbursable may be paid for from general school 
district funds or from the proceeds of the Board Local Levy 
authorized under Section 53F-8-302. 
 (2)  The revenue from the Board Local Levy may be used 
for transporting students and for school bus replacement. 
 (3)(a)  A local school board may approve the transportation 
of students in areas where walking constitutes a hazardous condition 
from general local school board funds or from the Board Local Levy. 
 (b)  A local school board shall determine hazardous 
walking conditions by an analysis of the following factors: 
 (i)  volume, type, and speed of vehicular traffic; 
 (ii)  age and condition of students traversing the area; 
 (iii)  condition of the roadway, sidewalks and applicable 
means of access in the area; and 
 (iv)  environmental conditions. 
 (c)  A local school board may designate hazardous 
conditions. 
 
R277-600-11.  Exceptions. 
 (1)(a)  When undue hardships and inequities are created 
through exact application of these standards, a school district may 
request an exception to [these]this rule[s] from the Superintendent for 
individual cases. 
 (b)  Hardships or inequities under Subsection (1)(a) may 
include written evidence demonstrating that no significant increased 
costs, [(]less than [one percent]1% of a school district's transportation 
budget,[)] is incurred due to a waiver or that students cannot be 
provided services consistent with the law due to transportation 
exigencies. 
 (c)  The Superintendent may consult with the Pupil 
Transportation Advisory Committee in considering the exemption. 
 (2)  A school district shall not be penalized in the 
computation of its state allocation for the presence on an approved to 
and from school route of an ineligible student who does not create an 
appreciable increase in the cost of the route. 

 (3)  There is an appreciable increase in cost under 
Subsection (2) if, because of the presence of ineligible students, any 
of the following occurs: 
 (a)  another route is required; 
 (b)  a larger or additional bus is required; 
 (c)  a route's mileage is increased; 
 (d)  the number of pick-up points below the mileage limits 
for eligible students exceeds one; and 
 (e)  significant additional time is required to complete a 
route. 
 (4)(a)  An ineligible student may ride a school bus on a 
space available basis. 
 (b)  An eligible student may not be displaced or required to 
stand in order to make room for an ineligible student. 
 
R277-600-12.  Rural School Transportation Reimbursement 
Program. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall annually determine which 
LEAs are eligible for rural school transportation reimbursement 
using the criteria described in S[ubs]ection 53F-2-520. 
 (2)  The Superintendent shall measure eligibility based on: 
 (a)  the most recent October 1 UTREx submission; and 
 (b)  the prior year's transportation data submitted in 
accordance with Section R277-484-3. 
 (3)  By November 1 annually, the Superintendent shall 
notify an LEA that the LEA may seek reimbursement. 
 (4)  An LEA eligible for reimbursement shall: 
 (a)  provide evidence to the Superintendent in the first year 
of the LEA's eligibility that the LEA has provided transportation to 
and from the school for the past five years; 
 (b)  submit to the Superintendent in the first year of the 
LEA's eligibility the LEA's current year pupil transportation 
Schedule A1 by December 30; and 
 (c)  in subsequent years of eligibility, submit all 
transportation reports in accordance with Section R277-484-3. 
 (5)  Submission of the pupil transportation Schedule A1 
shall constitute an annual application and request for reimbursement 
by an LEA with an eligible school. 
 (6)(a)  The Superintendent shall calculate and process 
reimbursements to LEAs once a year. 
 (b)  The Superintendent shall determine allowable costs 
eligible for reimbursement taking into account: 
 (i)  eligible routes; and 
 (ii)  eligible miles and minutes as reported on the pupil 
transportation Schedule A1. 
 (c)  The Superintendent shall reimburse an LEA based on 
the LEA's percentage of total unreimbursed eligible costs submitted. 
 (d)  If the annual appropriation is insufficient to fund all 
submitted eligible cost payments, the Superintendent shall prorate the 
reimbursement up to the amount of the appropriation. 
 (7)  An LEA shall permit the Superintendent to review 
accounting ledgers, student records, and transportation records upon 
request in order to determine: 
 (a)  a school's eligibility in accordance with Subsection (1); 
and 
 (b)  allowability of an LEA's submitted costs. 
 
R277-600-13.  Rural School District Transportation Grant 
Program. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall annually determine which 
school districts are eligible for the rural school district transportation 
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grant program using the criteria described in Subsection 53F-2-
417(2). 
 (2)  The Superintendent shall measure school district 
eligibility based on: 
 (a)  the prior year's transportation data submitted in 
accordance with Section R277-484-3; and 
 (b)  the most recent county classification. 
 (3)(a)  By November 1 annually, the Superintendent shall 
notify a school district that the school district may apply for a grant 
and the amount of available grant funds based on the prior[-] year 
eligible miles for unreimbursed costs associated with activities 
described in Subsection 53F-2-417(3). 
 (b)  The Superintendent shall prorate an eligible school 
district's award amount up to the amount of the appropriation. 
 (4)  A school district eligible for the grant program shall: 
 (a)  provide assurance within the school district's 
application that matching funds from the school district's board local 
levy will be utilized for the purposes outlined in Subsection 53F-2-
417(1); and 
 (b)  report revenue from the board local levy and related 
expenditures for the grant program in the school district's Annual 
Program Report for that specific fiscal year. 
 (5)(a)  The Superintendent shall process the grant award in 
the state's grants management system 
 (b)  The Superintendent shall allocate funds to eligible 
school districts once a year. 
 (6)  A school district shall permit the Superintendent to 
review accounting ledgers, student records, and transportation 
records upon request in order to determine: 
 (a)  a school's eligibility in accordance with Subsection (1); 
and 
 (b)  allowability of an LEA's submitted program costs. 
 (7)  If a school district does not comply with the 
requirements of the grant program, the Superintendent may impose 
corrective action in accordance with Rule R277-114. 
 
KEY:  school buses, school transportation 
Date of Last Change:  2023[August 19, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 4, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-501(1)(d); 53E-3-401(4); 53F-2-415; 53F-2-403 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-617 Filing ID:  
55250 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-617.  Smart School Technology Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being repealed because the Smart School 
Technology Program is no longer funded. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The rule is being repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  The funding 
has already been repealed by the Legislature so there is 
no need for this rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  The funding 
has already been repealed by the Legislature so there is 
no need for this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  The funding 
has already been repealed by the Legislature so there is 
no need for this rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
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not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  The 
funding has already been repealed by the Legislature so 
there is no need for this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  The 
funding has already been repealed by the Legislature so 
there is no need for this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Section 53F-6-202 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-617.  Smart School Technology Program. 
R277-617-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests the 
general control and supervision of public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
adopt rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Subsection 53F-6-202(8)(d), which directs the Board 
to make rules specifying procedures and criteria to be used for 
selecting schools that may participate in the Smart School 
Technology Program. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide criteria and 
procedures for the Board to select schools to participate in the Smart 
School Technology Program. 
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R277-617-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Independent Evaluating Committee" means the 
committee established under Subsection 53F-6-202(5). 
 (2)  "Smart School Technology Program" or "Program" 
means a three-year program developed by a selected technology 
provider for a customized whole-school technology deployment plan 
individualized for each school selected by the Board. 
 (3)  "Technology", means components provided as 
examples under Subsection 53F-6-202(7) or other components 
approved by the independent evaluating committee. 
 
R277-617-3.  School Selection Criteria. 
 (1)  A public school that includes any combination of 
grades K-12 shall be eligible for the Program 
 (2)  An applicant school shall provide a technology 
implementation plan with its application, which shall, at a minimum: 
 (a)  identify technologies that the school will employ; 
 (b)  estimate numbers of technology devices needed based 
on numbers of students expected to be in the school for identified 
school years; 
 (c)  provide a supported explanation about how technology 
will support the improvement of student achievement with respect to 
the core curriculum; 
 (d)  explain how technology will improve students' skill 
using technology; 
 (e)  explain what filtering devices or protections will be 
used by the school to protect students from inappropriate technology 
use and sites; 
 (f)  agree that the school will provide all data and 
information required by the Superintendent for evaluation purposes; 
 (g)  explain the current technology capabilities and 
equipment available at the applicant school; and 
 (h)  provide additional information requested by the 
Superintendent on the application. 
 
R277-617-4.  Required Matching Funds. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall provide an application form, 
which will require specific information about the level or amount of 
matching funds or resources that the school must provide and when 
the matching funds must be available. 
 (2)  An application shall explain how the school or LEA 
will provide matching funds to satisfy the requirement of Subsection 
53F-6-202(8)(d)(ii) for matching funds. 
 (3)  An application shall include assurance that a school or 
LEA will meet the requirement for matching local funds through the 
duration of the Program or may be obligated to repay the state funds 
to the Board. 
 
R277-617-5.  School Selection and Evaluation. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall set application and funding 
deadlines based on funding availability. 
 (2)  The Superintendent shall screen all applications for 
compliance with all state laws, this Rule R277-617, and application 
requirements. 
 (3)  The Superintendent shall seek the participation and 
advice of the independent evaluating committee in selecting final 
applications to recommend for funding. 
 (4)  The Board shall make final school selections. 
 (5)  To the extent possible, the independent evaluation 
committee shall recommend schools, which represent geographic, 
economic and demographic diversity, in addition to other criteria 
provided in the application. 

 (6)  The Board and the education technology provider shall 
evaluate the program consistent with Subsection 53F-6-202(9). 
 
KEY:  schools, technology 
Date of Last Change:  May 24, 2021 
Notice of Continuation:  June 7, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4); 53F-6-202] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R309-700 Filing ID:  
55217 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Drinking Water 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144830 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4830 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Grange 801-

674-
2563 

mgrange@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R309-700.  Financial Assistance: State Drinking Water 
State Revolving Fund (SRF) Loan Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Division of Drinking Water (Division) is proposing this 
rule change to correct outdated references, update 
language, and add new language to implement the 
requirements of H.B. 269, Capital Assets Related to Water, 
passed in the  2022 General Legislative Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule outlines the process for political subdivisions of 
the state to apply for and receive financial assistance for 
water system infrastructure improvement projects.  The 
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new language defines the elements of a capital asset 
management plan as required by H.B. 269 (2022). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enacting this rule could cost the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) up to $150,000 annually for 
one full-time FTE to manage the asset management 
program within the Division.  This position will be funded 
through a combination of set-aside funds from the annual 
Drinking Water State Revolving Fund capitalization grant 
authorized by Congress through the federal Safe Drinking 
Water Act and funds allocated to the Division from the 
state legislature. 
 
Program management activities include, but are not 
limited to, public outreach to water systems and other 
interested parties, working with water systems and 
consulting engineers to help them understand the benefits 
of and how to prepare and implement an acceptable asset 
management plan and program, and receiving and 
reviewing asset management plans submitted by water 
systems. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enacting this rule could have a fiscal impact for local 
governments required to develop, adopt, and implement a 
capital asset management plan and an asset management 
program.  Cost to develop such a plan could be as much 
as $100,000 depending on water system size and 
complexity.  Annual costs could be an additional $75,000 
for water system staff to manage the asset management 
program and maintain the asset management plan.  
Annual cost savings to local governments are expected 
but will vary depending on system size and complexity, as 
well as how effectively the asset management program is 
implemented. 
 
Cost savings may be realized through better asset 
maintenance, better planning for asset rehabilitation or 
replacement, establishing a proactive maintenance 
schedule based on the importance the asset has to system 
operation, as well as other operations and maintenance 
efficiencies gained through implementing the plan. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule applies only to political subdivisions.  No fiscal 
impact to small businesses is anticipated. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule applies only to political subdivisions.  No fiscal 
impact to non-small businesses is anticipated. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enacting this rule could have a fiscal impact for 
governmental entities, such as local districts, water 
conservation districts, and special service districts, 
required to develop, adopt, and implement a capital asset 
management plan and an asset management program. 
 
This rule applies only to political subdivisions . No fiscal 
impact to individuals, corporations, associations, or private 
organizations is expected. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Cost to develop an asset management plan and 
implement an asset management program at a 
governmental entity could be as much as $100,000 
depending on water system size and complexity. 
 
Annual costs could be an additional $75,000 for water 
system staff to manage the asset management program 
and maintain the asset management plan. 
 
Annual cost savings to local government entities are 
expected but will vary depending on system size and 
complexity, as well as how effectively the asset 
management program is implemented. 
 
Cost savings may be realized through better asset 
maintenance, better planning for asset rehabilitation or 
replacement, establishing a proactive maintenance 
schedule based on the importance the asset has to system 
operation, as well as other operations and maintenance 
efficiencies gained through implementing the plan. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $150,000 $150,250 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $175,000 $180,250 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $175,000 $180,250 
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Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $500,000 $510,750 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 ($500,000) ($500,000) 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 73-10g-5 Subsection 

73-10c-3(2) 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

05/31/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kim Shelley,  
Executive Director 

Date: 02/13/2023 

 

R309.  Environmental Quality, Drinking Water. 
R309-700.  Financial Assistance: State Drinking Water State 
Revolving Fund (SRF) Loan Program. 
R309-700-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes criteria for financial assistance to 
public drinking water systems in accordance with Title 73, Chapter 
10c, Water Development Coordinating Council [Utah Code 
Annotated ]using funds made available by the [Utah 
legislature]Legislature from time to time for this purpose. 
 
R309-700-2.  Statutory Authority. 
 The authority for the Department of Environmental Quality 
acting through the Drinking Water Board to issue loans to political 
subdivisions to finance all or part of drinking water project costs and 
to enter into ["]credit enhancement agreements,[", "] interest buy-
down agreements,[",] and ["]Hardship Grants["] is provided in Title 
73, Chapter 10c, Water Development Coordinating Council[, Utah 
Code]. 
 
R309-700-3.  Definitions and Eligibility. 
 Subsection 73-10c-4(2)(1)[Title 73, Chapter 10c, 
subsection 4(2)(a)] limits eligibility for financial assistance under this 
section to political subdivisions. 
 Definitions for terms used in this rule are given in Rule 
R309-110.  Definitions for terms specific to this rule are as follows:[ 
given below.] 
 "Asset Management Plan" A written plan developed by a 
water system to implement asset management or an asset 
management program within the system. The asset management plan 
describes the five core asset management components at Subsection 
R309-800-5(3) and provides an outline the water system can use to 
make appropriate improvements. 
 "Asset Management Program" The practice of managing 
infrastructure assets to maximize the efficiency and life expectancy 
of operating these assets while delivering the desired service levels. 
 "Board" means the Drinking Water Board. 
 "Credit Enhancement Agreement" means any agreement 
entered into between the Board, on behalf of the State, and an eligible 
water system to provide methods and assistance to eligible water 
systems to improve the security for and marketability of drinking 
water project obligations. 
 "Disadvantaged Communities" are defined as those 
communities located in an area which has a median adjusted gross 
income less than or equal to 80% of the State's median adjusted gross 
income, as determined by the Utah State Tax Commission from 
federal individual income tax returns excluding zero exemption 
returns, or where the estimated annual cost, including loan repayment 
costs, of drinking water service for the average residential user 
exceeds 1.75% of the median adjusted gross income.  If, in the 
judgment of the Board, the State Tax Commission data is insufficient 
the Board may accept other measurements of the water users' income 
including local income surveys or questionnaires when there is a 
significant difference between the number of service connections for 
a system and the number of tax filing for a given zip code or city. 
 "Drinking Water Project" means any work or facility that is 
necessary or desirable to provide water for human consumption and 
other domestic uses.  Its scope includes collection, treatment, storage, 
and distribution facilities; and also includes studies, planning, 
education activities, and design work that will promote protecting the 
public from waterborne health risks. 
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 "Drinking Water Project Obligation" means any bond, note, 
or other obligation issued to finance all or part of the cost of 
acquiring, constructing, expanding, upgrading, or improving a 
drinking water project, including preliminary planning studies, 
surveys, engineering or architectural fees, and preparation of plans 
and specifications. 
 "Eligible Water System" means any community drinking 
water system owned by a political subdivision of the State. 
 "Emergency" means an unexpected, serious occurrence or 
situation requiring urgent or immediate action resulting from the 
failure of equipment or other infrastructure, or contamination of the 
water supply, threatening the health or safety of the public or water 
users. 
 "Financial Assistance" means a project loan, credit 
enhancement agreement, interest buy-down agreement, or technical 
assistance. 
 "Interest" means an assessment applied to loan recipients.  
The assessment shall be calculated as a percentage of principal. 
 "Interest Buy-Down Agreement" means any agreement 
entered into between the Board, on behalf of the State, and an eligible 
water system, to reduce the cost of financing incurred by an eligible 
water system on bonds issued by the subdivision for project costs. 
 "Project Costs" include the cost of acquiring and 
constructing any project including, without limitation: the cost of 
acquisition and construction of any facility or any modification, 
improvement, or extension of such facility; any cost incident to the 
acquisition of any necessary project, easement or right of way, 
engineering or architectural fees, legal fees, fiscal agents' and 
financial advisors' fees; any cost incurred for any preliminary 
planning to determine the economic and engineering feasibility of a 
proposed project; costs of economic investigations and studies, 
surveys, preparation of designs, plans, working drawings, 
specifications and the inspection and supervision of the construction 
of any facility; interest accruing on loans made under this program 
during acquisition and construction of the project; costs for studies, 
planning, education activities, and design work that will promote 
protecting the public from waterborne health risks; and any other cost 
incurred by the Board or the Department of Environmental Quality, 
in connection with the issuance of obligation to evidence any loan 
made to it under the law. 
[ "Disadvantaged Communities" are defined as those 
communities located in an area which has a median adjusted gross 
income less than or equal to 80% of the State's median adjusted gross 
income, as determined by the Utah State Tax Commission from 
federal individual income tax returns excluding zero exemption 
returns, or where the estimated annual cost, including loan repayment 
costs, of drinking water service for the average residential user 
exceeds 1.75% of the median adjusted gross income.  If, in the 
judgment of the Board, the State Tax Commission data is insufficient 
the Board may accept other measurements of the water users' income 
(i.e. local income survey or questionnaire when there is a significant 
difference between the number of service connections for a system 
and the number of tax filing for a given zip code or city). 
 "Drinking Water Project Obligation" means any bond, note 
or other obligation issued to finance all or part of the cost of 
acquiring, constructing, expanding, upgrading or improving a 
drinking water project, including, but not limited to, preliminary 
planning, studies, surveys, engineering or architectural fees, and 
preparation of plans and specifications. 
 "Credit Enhancement Agreement" means any agreement 
entered into between the Board, on behalf of the State, and an eligible 
water system for the purpose of providing methods and assistance to 

eligible water systems to improve the security for and marketability 
of drinking water project obligations. 
 "Eligible Water System" means any community drinking 
water system owned by a political subdivision of the State. 
 "Interest Buy-Down Agreement" means any agreement 
entered into between the Board, on behalf of the State, and an eligible 
water system, for the purpose of reducing the cost of financing 
incurred by an eligible water system on bonds issued by the 
subdivision for project costs. 
 "Financial Assistance" means a project loan, credit 
enhancement agreement, interest buy-down agreement, or technical 
assistance. 
 "Interest" means an assessment applied to loan recipients.  
The assessment shall be calculated as a percentage of principal. 
 "Emergency" means an unexpected, serious occurrence or 
situation requiring urgent or immediate action resulting from the 
failure of equipment or other infrastructure, or contamination of the 
water supply, threatening the health and / or safety of the public / 
water users.] 
 
R309-700-4.  Application and Project Initiation Procedures. 
 The following procedures must normally be followed to 
obtain financial assistance from the Board: 
 (1)  It is the responsibility of the applicant to obtain the 
necessary financial, legal, and engineering counsel to prepare its 
application and an effective and appropriate financial assistance 
agreement. 
 (2)  The applicant[ is required to] shall submit a completed 
application form, an engineering report listing the project alternatives 
considered and including a justification for the chosen alternative, a 
project financing plan that includes an evaluation of credit 
enhancement, interest buy-down and loan methods applicable to the 
project, and documents necessary to perform a financial capability 
assessment, [(]when requested[)], and capacity assessment, if the 
Board determines such documentation will[ (when determined to] be 
beneficial for evaluating project feasibility[)].  Comments from the 
local health department [and/]or the Department of Environmental 
Quality's resident district engineer may accompany the application.  
Comments from other interested parties such as an association of 
governments will also be accepted.  Those costs incurred [subsequent 
to]after the submission of a completed funding application form to 
the Board and [prior to]before the execution of a financial assistance 
agreement and which meet the criteria for project costs are eligible 
for reimbursement from the proceeds of the financial assistance 
agreement. 
 (3)  Division staff will evaluate the application and 
supporting documentation, calculate proposed terms of financial 
assistance, prepare a report for review by the Board, and present said 
report to the Board for its consideration. 
 (4)  The Board may authorize financial assistance for the 
project on the basis of the staff's feasibility report and designate 
whether a loan, credit enhancement agreement, interest buy-down 
agreement, hardship grant or any combination thereof, is to be 
entered into, and approve the project schedule as described in Section 
[(see ]R309-700-13[)].  The Board shall authorize a hardship grant 
only if it determines that other financing alternatives are unavailable 
or unreasonably expensive to the applicant, as described in Section 
[(see ]R309-700-5[)].  If the applicant seeks financial assistance in 
the form of a loan of amounts in the security account established 
pursuant to [Chapter 10c, Title 73 Utah Code, ]Title 73, Chapter 10c, 
Water Security Council, which loan is intended to provide direct 
financing of projects costs, then the Board shall authorize such loan 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

46 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 05 

only if it determines that credit enhancement agreements, interest 
buy-down agreements and other financing alternatives are 
unavailable or unreasonably expensive to the applicant or that a loan 
represents the financing alternative most economically advantageous 
to the state and the applicant; provided, that for purposes of this 
[paragraph]subsection and for purposes of [Section]Subsection 73-
10c-4(2), [Utah Code, ]the term "loan" shall not include loans issued 
in connection with interest buy-down agreements as described in 
Subsection R309-700-10(2) or in connection with any other interest 
buy-down arrangement. 
 (5)  Planning Grant - The applicant must submit an 
application provided by the Division and attach a scope of work, 
project schedule, cost estimates, and a draft contract for planning 
services. 
 (6)  Planning Loan - The applicant requesting a Planning 
Loan must complete an application for a Planning Loan, prepare a 
plan of study, satisfactorily demonstrate procurement of planning 
services, and prepare a draft contract for planning services including 
financial evaluations and a schedule of work. 
 (7)  Design Grant or Loan - The applicant requesting a 
Design Grant or Loan must have completed an engineering plan 
meeting program requirements. 
 (8)  The applicant must demonstrate public support for the 
project.  As a minimum, for a loan to be secured by a revenue bond, 
the Sponsor must mail notices to each water user in the Sponsor's 
service area informing them of a public hearing.  In addition to the 
time and location of the public hearing the notice shall inform water 
users of the Sponsor's intent to issue a non-voted revenue bond to the 
Board, shall describe the face amount of the bond, the rate of interest, 
the repayment schedule and shall describe the impact of the project 
on the user including[:] any increase in user rates, and impact and 
connection fees.  The notice shall state that water users may respond 
to the Sponsor in writing or in the public hearing.  The public hearing 
shall be held within ten days after the date of the notice.  A copy of 
all written responses and a certified record of [a]the public hearing 
shall be forwarded to the Division of Drinking Water. 
 (9)  For financial assistance mechanisms when the 
applicant's bond is purchased by the Board, the project applicant's 
bond documentation, including an opinion from legal counsel 
experienced in bond matters that the drinking water project 
obligation is a valid and binding obligation of the applicant, as 
described in Subsection [(see ]R309-700-13(3)[)], must be submitted 
to the [Assistant Attorney General]Board's bond counsel for 
preliminary approval and the applicant shall publish a Notice of 
Intent to issue bonds in a newspaper of general circulation pursuant 
to [the Utah Code, ]Section 11-14-21.  For financial assistance 
mechanisms when the applicant's bond is not purchased by the Board, 
the applicant shall submit a true and correct copy of an opinion from 
legal counsel experienced in bond matters that the drinking water 
project obligation is a valid and binding obligation of the applicant. 
 (10)  Hardship Grant - The Board or its designee executes 
a grant agreement setting forth the terms and conditions of the grant. 
 (11)  As authorized in Subsection 19-4-106(2)(c)[ of the 
Utah Code,] the [Director]Executive Secretary may review plans, 
specifications, and other data pertinent to proposed or expanded 
water supply systems to [insure]ensure proper design and 
construction, as specified in [rule ]Section R309-500-4 General.  
Construction of a public drinking water project shall not begin until 
complete plans and specifications have been approved in writing by 
the [Director]Executive Secretary. 
 (12)  If a project is designated to be financed by the Board 
through a loan or an interest buy-down agreement as described in 

Subsection R309-700-10(2) to cover any part of project costs an 
escrow account supervised by the applicant and the Board will be 
established by the applicant to assure that loan funds are used only 
for qualified project costs. If financial assistance for the project is 
provided by the Board in the form of a credit enhancement or interest 
buy-down agreement as described in Subsection R309-700-10(1) all 
project funds will be maintained in a separate account and a quarterly 
report of project expenditures will be provided to the Board. 
 (13)  If a revenue bond is to be used to secure a loan, a User 
Charge Ordinance must be submitted to the Board for review and 
approval to [insure]ensure adequate provisions for debt retirement 
and[/or] infrastructure operation and maintenance.  If a general 
obligation bond is to be used to secure a loan, a User Charge 
Ordinance must be submitted to the Board for review and approval 
to [insure]ensure the system will have adequate resources to provide 
acceptable service. 
[ (14)  A plan of operation for the completed project, 
including staffing with an appropriately certified (in accordance with 
R309-300) operator, staff training, and procedures to assure efficient 
start-up, operation and maintenance of the project, must be submitted 
by the applicant and approved by the Board, its Director or other 
designee.] 
 [(15)]14  The applicant's contract with its engineer must be 
submitted to the Board for review to determine that there will be 
adequate engineering involvement, including project supervision and 
inspection, to successfully complete the project. 
 (15)  A position fidelity bond may be required by the Board 
insuring the treasurer or other local staff handling the repayment 
funds and revenues produced by the applicant's system and payable 
to the State of Utah through the Drinking Water Board. 
 (16)  The applicant's attorney must provide an opinion to 
the Board regarding legal incorporation of the applicant, valid legal 
title to easements and rights-of-way [and ]at the project site and 
throughout the system, and adequacy of bidding and contract 
documents. 
 (17)  CREDIT ENHANCEMENT AGREEMENT AND 
INTEREST BUY-DOWN AGREEMENT ONLY - The Board 
executes the credit enhancement agreement or interest buy-down 
agreement setting forth the terms and conditions of the security or 
other forms of assistance provided by the agreement and notifies the 
applicant to sell the bonds, as described in Sections R309-700-9 and 
R309-700-10[ (See R309-700-9 and -10)]. 
 (18)  CREDIT ENHANCEMENT AGREEMENT AND 
INTEREST BUY-DOWN AGREEMENT ONLY - The applicant 
sells the bonds and notifies the Board of the terms of sale.  If a credit 
enhancement agreement is utilized, the bonds shall contain the legend 
required by [Section]Subsection 73-10c-6(3)(d)[, Utah Code].  If an 
interest buy-down agreement is utilized, the bonds shall bear a legend 
which makes reference to the interest buy-down agreement and states 
that such agreement does not constitute a pledge of or charge against 
the general revenues, credit or taxing powers of the state and that the 
holder of any such bond may look only to the applicant and the funds 
and revenues pledged by the applicant for the payment of interest and 
principal on the bonds. 
 (19)  The applicant opens bids for the project. 
 (20)  LOAN ONLY - The Board approves purchase of the 
bonds and executes the loan contract, as described Subsection R309-
700-4(24)[ (see R309-700-4(24))]. 
 (21)  LOAN ONLY - The loan closing is conducted. 
 (22)  A preconstruction conference shall be held. 
 (23)  The applicant issues a written notice to proceed to the 
contractor. 
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 (24)  The applicant must have adopted a Water 
Conservation Plan before[ prior to] executing the loan agreement. 
 
R309-700-5.  Implementing an Asset Management Program. 
 (1)  Retail water suppliers seeking financial assistance 
through Utah's State Revolving Fund must commit to develop and 
implement an asset management program. An asset management 
program provides the following benefits to water systems: 
 (a)  Prolonging asset life. 
 (b)  Reducing overall costs for operations, maintenance, 
and capital expenditures. 
 (c)  Improving decisions about asset maintenance, 
rehabilitation, repair, and replacement. 
 (d)  Meeting consumer demands with a focus on system 
sustainability. 
 (e)  Meeting service expectations and regulatory 
requirements. 
 (f)  Improving responses to emergencies. 
 (g)  Improving the security and safety of assets. 
 (h)  Budgeting focused on critical activities for sustained 
performance. 
 (i)  Setting rates based on sound operational and financial 
planning. 
 (2)  An effective asset management program includes 
detailed asset inventories, operation and maintenance tasks, and long-
range financial planning. These items should be captured in an asset 
management plan, which can be tailored to fit individual water 
system size and complexity. 
 (3)  The asset management plan shall address the following 
five core components. 
 (a)  The current state of the utility's assets. 
 (i)  Prepare an asset inventory. 
 (ii)  Develop a system map. 
 (iii)  Develop a method to assess and prioritize assets based 
on condition. 
 (iv)  Assess remaining useful life of the asset. 
 (v)  Determine asset value and replacement cost. 
 (b)  The utility's required sustainable level of service. 
 (i)  Analyze current customer demand and satisfaction. 
 (ii)  Analyze anticipated customer demand and satisfaction. 
 (iii)  Understand current regulatory requirements. 
 (iv)  Communicate system performance goals with the 
public. 
 (v)  Identify standard levels of service and track system 
performance. 
 (c)  Assets that are critical to sustained performance. 
 (i)  Conduct a failure analysis on all assets. 
 (ii)  Determine probability of failure. 
 (iii)  Analyze risk and consequences of failure. 
 (iv)  Prioritize system assets based on criticality to system 
operation. 
 (v)  Develop specific response plans based on potential 
asset failure. 
 (d)  Minimum infrastructure life cycle cost. 
 (i)  Implement an appropriate maintenance schedule 
including costs for all assets. 
 (ii)  Identify life cycle costs for all assets. 
 (iii)  Develop a capital improvement plan and an operations 
and maintenance strategy. 
 (iv)  Identify and compare the cost of rehabilitation versus 
replacement. 

 (v)  Determine the related costs of responding to asset 
failure. 
 (e)  Long-term budgeting strategy. 
 (i)  Regularly review system budget. 
 (ii)  Establish and fund a capital facilities account. 
 (iii)  Implement a rate structure to ensure financial 
sustainability. 
 (iv)  Explore asset renewal and replacement financing. 
 (v)  Identify financial assistance options for major asset 
repair or replacement. 
 (vi)  Prioritize financial resources based on asset condition 
and importance. 
 (4)  All water systems subject to this rule shall complete the 
following: 
 (a)  Prepare an asset management plan as described in this 
subsection. 
 (b)  Systems governing body shall formally adopt the asset 
management plan. 
 (c)  System shall submit proof of adoption to the Division. 
 (5)  In addition to the requirements of this subsection, water 
systems applying for financial assistance under Utah's State 
Revolving Fund Financial Assistance Program must also submit their 
asset management plan to the Division of Drinking Water or request 
sufficient funds to create an asset management plan. 
 
R309-700-[5]6.  Loan, Credit Enhancement, Interest Buy-Down, 
and Hardship Grant Consideration Policy. 
 (1)  Board Priority Determination.  [In determining]To 
determine an applicant's [the ]priority for financial assistance, the 
Board shall consider[:] the following. 
 (a)  The [ability of the applicant]applicant's ability to obtain 
funds for the drinking water project from other sources or to finance 
such project from its own [resources;]resources. 
 (b)  The [ability of the applicant]applicant's ability to repay 
the loan or other project [obligations;]obligations. 
 (c)  Whether a good faith effort has been made to secure all 
or part of the services needed from the private sector.[ through 
privatization has been made; and] 
 (d)  Whether the drinking water project: 
 (i)  meets a critical local or state need; 
 (ii)  is cost effective; 
 (iii)  will protect against present or potential hazards; 
 (iv)  is needed to comply with the minimum standards of 
the Federal Safe Drinking Water Act, [42 USC, 300f,]42 U.S.C. 
Section 300(f) et. seq. or similar or successor statute; 
 (v)  is needed to comply with the minimum standards of the 
Utah Safe Drinking Water Act, Title 19, Chapter 4, or similar or 
successor statute[.]; or 
 (vi)  is needed [as a result of]due to an Emergency. 
 (e)  The overall financial impact of the proposed project on 
the citizens of the community, including direct and overlapping 
indebtedness, tax levies, user charges, impact or connection fees, or 
special assessments,[ etc.,] resulting from the proposed project, and 
anticipated operation and maintenance costs versus the median 
income of the community.[;] 
 (f)  Consistency with other funding source commitments 
which may have been obtained for the project.[;] 
 (g)  The point total from an evaluation of the criteria listed 
in Table 1.[;] 
 (h)  Other criteria that the Board may consider appropriate. 
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[TABLE 1 
 
NEED FOR PROJECT 
                                                  POINTS 
1. PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. There is evidence that waterborne 
   illnesses have occurred                          15 
B. There are reports of illnesses which 
   may be waterborne                                10 
C. No reports of waterborne illness, but 
   high potential for such exists                    5 
D. No reports of possible waterborne 
   illness and low potential for such exists         0 
 
2. WATER QUALITY RECORD (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. Primary Maximum Contaminant Level (MCL) 
   violation more than 6 times in preceding 
   12 months                                        15 
B. In the past 12 months violated a primary 
   MCL 4 to 6 times                                 12 
C. In the past 12 months violated a primary 
   MCL 2 to 3 times or exceeded the Secondary 
   Drinking Water Standards by double                9 
D. In the past 12 months violated MCL 1 time         6 
E. Violation of the Secondary Drinking Water 
   Standards                                         5 
F. Does not meet all applicable MCL goals            3 
G. Meets all MCLs and MCL goals                      0 
 
3. VERIFICATION OF POTENTIAL SHORTCOMINGS (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. Has had sanitary survey within the last 
   year                                              5 
B. Has had sanitary survey within the last 
   five years                                        3 
C. Has not had sanitary survey within last 
   five years                                        0 
4. GENERAL CONDITIONS OF EXISTING FACILITIES (SELECT ALL 
   THOSE WHICH ARE TRUE AND PROJECT WILL REMEDY) 
 
A. The necessary water treatment facilities do 
   not exist, not functioning, functioning but 
   do not meet the requirements of the Utah 
   Public Drinking Water Rules (UPDWR)              10 
B. Sources are not developed or protected 
   according to UPDWR                               10 
C. Source capacity is not adequate to meet 
   current demands and system occasionally 
   goes dry or suffers from low pressures           10 
D. Significant areas within distribution 
   system have inadequate fire protection            8 
E. Existing storage tanks leak excessively 
   or are structurally flawed                        5 
F. Pipe leak repair rate is greater than 
   4 leaks per 100 connections per year              2 
G. Existing facilities are generally sound 
   and meeting existing needs                        0 
5. ABILITY TO MEET FUTURE DEMANDS (Select One) 
 
A. Facilities have inadequate capacity and 
   cannot reliably meet current demands             10 
B. Facilities will become inadequate within 
   the next three years                              5 
C. Facilities will become inadequate within 
   the next five to ten years                        3 
 
6. OVERALL URGENCY  (Select One) 
 
A. System is generally out of water.  There 
   is no fire protection or water for 
   flushing toilets                                 10 
B. System delivers water which cannot be 
   rendered safe by boiling                         10 
C. System delivers water which can be 
   rendered safe by boiling                          8 
D. System is occasionally out of water               5 

E. Situation should be corrected, but is 
   not urgent                                        0 
 
TOTAL POSSIBLE POINTS FOR NEED FOR 
PROJECT                                            100] 

TABLE 1 
NEED FOR PROJECT 
1. PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE, SELECT ONE POINTS 
A. There is evidence that waterborne illnesses 
have occurred 15 
B. There are reports of illnesses which may be 
waterborne 10 
C. No reports of waterborne illness, but high 
potential for such exists 5 
D. No reports of possible waterborne illness and 
low potential for such exists 0 
  
2. WATER QUALITY RECORD, SELECT ONE  
A. Primary Maximum Contaminant Level (MCL) 
violation more than 6 times in preceding 12 
months 15 
B. In the past 12 months violated a primary MCL 
4 to 6 times 12 
C. In the past 12 months violated a primary MCL 
2 to 3 times or exceeded the Secondary Drinking 
Water Standards by double 9 
D. In the past 12 months violated MCL 1 time 6 
E. Violation of the Secondary Drinking Water 
Standards 5 
F. Does not meet all applicable MCL goals 3 
G. Meets all MCLs and MCL goals 0 
  
3. VERIFICATION OF POTENTIAL 
SHORTCOMINGS, SELECT ONE  
A. Has had sanitary survey within the last year 5 
B. Has had sanitary survey within the last five 
years 3 
C. Has not had sanitary survey within last five 
years 0 
  
4. GENERAL CONDITIONS OF EXISTING 
FACILITIES, SELECT ALL APPLICABLE THAT 
PROJECT WILL RESOLVE  
A. The necessary water treatment facilities do 
not exist, not functioning, functioning but do not 
meet the requirements of the Utah Public 
Drinking Water Rules (UPDWR) 10 
B. Sources are not developed or protected 
according to UPDWR 10 
C. Source capacity is not adequate to meet 
current demands and system occasionally goes 
dry or suffers from low pressures 10 
D. Significant areas within distribution system 
have inadequate fire protection 8 
E. Existing storage tanks leak excessively or are 
structurally flawed 5 
F. Pipe leak repair rate is greater than 4 leaks per 
100 connections per year 2 
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G. Existing facilities are generally sound and 
meeting existing needs 0 
  
5. ABILITY TO MEET FUTURE DEMANDS, SELECT 
ONE  
A. Facilities have inadequate capacity and cannot 
reliably meet current demands 10 
B. Facilities will become inadequate within the 
next three years 5 
C. Facilities will become inadequate within the 
next five to ten years 3 
  
6. OVERALL URGENCY, SELECT ONE  
A. System is generally out of water.  There is no 
fire protection or water for flushing toilets 10 
B. System delivers water which cannot be 
rendered safe by boiling 10 
C. System delivers water which can be rendered 
safe by boiling 8 
D. System is occasionally out of water 5 
E. Situation should be corrected, but is not 
urgent 0 
  
TOTAL POSSIBLE POINTS FOR NEED FOR PROJECT 100 

 
[ (h)  Other criteria that the Board may deem appropriate.] 
 (2)  Drinking Water Board Financial Assistance 
Determination.  The amount and type of financial assistance offered 
will be based on the following considerations[:]. 
 (a)  An evaluation based upon the criteria in Table 2 of the 
applicant's financial condition, the project's impact on the 
community, and the applicant's commitment to operating a 
responsible water system. 
 The interest rate to be charged by the Board for its financial 
assistance will be computed using the number of points assigned to 
the project from Table 2 to reduce, in a manner determined by Board 
resolution from time to time, the most recent Revenue Bond [Buyer 
]Index [(RBBI)]RBI as published by the Bond Buyer's Guide.  The 
interest rate so calculated will be assigned to the financial assistance.[  
To encourage rapid repayment of a loan the Board will increase the 
interest rate 0.02 per cent (0.02%) for each year the repayment period 
exceeds five (5.0) years.] 
 For hardship grant consideration, exclusive of planning and 
design grants or loans described in Sections 309-700-6 through 
R309-700-8[ Sections R309-700-6, 7 and 8], the estimated annual 
cost of drinking water service for the average residential user should 
exceed 1.75% of the median adjusted gross household income from 
the most recent available State Tax Commission records or the local 
median adjusted gross income (MAGI) is less than or equal to 
[eighty-percent (80.0%)]80% of the State's median adjusted gross 
income.  When considering funding for planning and design grants 
and loans described in Sections 309-700-6 through R309-700-
8[Sections R309-700-6, 7 and 8], the Board will consider whether or 
not the applicant's local MAGI meets the [above ]criteria for hardship 
grant funding.  If, in the judgment of the Board, the State Tax 
Commission data is insufficient, the Board may accept other 
measurements of the water users' income, including a [(i.e. ]local 
income survey or questionnaire when there is a significant difference 
between the number of service connections for a system and the 

number of tax filings for a given zip code or city[)].  The Board will 
also consider the applicant's level of contribution to the project. 
 

[TABLE 2 
 
FINANCIAL CONSIDERATIONS 
                                                  POINTS 
1. COST EFFECTIVENESS RATIO (SELECT ONE) 
A. Project cost $0 to $500 per benefitting 
   connection                                       16 
B. $501 to $1,500                                   14 
C. $1,501 to $2,000                                 11 
D. $2,001 to $3,000                                  8 
E. $3,001 to $5,000                                  4 
F. $5,001 to $10,000                                 1 
G. Over $10,000                                      0 
 
2. CURRENT LOCAL MEDIAN ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME (AGI) (SELECT ONE) 
A. Less than 70% of State Median AGI                19 
B. 71 to 80% of State Median AGI                    16 
C. 81 to 95% of State Median AGI                    13 
D. 96 to 110% of State Median AGI                    9 
E. 111 to 130% of State Median AGI                   6 
F. 131 to 150% of State Median AGI                   3 
G. Greater than 150% of State Median AGI             0 
 
3. APPLICANT'S COMMITMENT TO PROJECT 
PROJECT FUNDING CONTRIBUTED BY APPLICANT (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. Greater than 25% of project funds                17 
B. 15 to 25% of project funds                       14 
C. 10 to 15% of project funds                       11 
D. 5 to 10% of project funds                         8 
E. 2 to 5% of project funds                          4 
F. Less than 2% of project funds                     0 
 
4. ABILITY TO REPAY LOAN: 
 
4. WATER BILL (INCLUDING TAXES) AFTER PROJECT IS 
    BUILT RELATIVE TO LOCAL MEDIAN ADJUSTED GROSS 
    INCOME (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. Greater than 2.50% of local median AGI           16 
B. 2.01 to 2.50% of local median AGI                12 
C. 1.51 to 2.00% of local median AGI                 8 
D. 1.01 to 1.50% of local median AGI                 3 
E. 0 to 1.00% of local median AGI                    0 
 
5.  SPECIAL INCENTIVES:  Applicant (SELECT ALL THAT APPLY.) 
A. Has a replacement fund receiving annual deposits 
   of about 5% of the system's annual drinking water 
   (DW) budget and fund has already accumulated a 
   minimum of 10% of said annual DW budget in 
   this reserve fund.                                5 
B. Has, in addition to item 5.A., accumulated an 
   amount equal to at least 20% of its annual DW 
   budget in its replacement fund.                   5 
C. Is creating or enhancing a regionalization plan  16 
D. Has a rate structure encouraging conservation     6 
 
TOTAL POSSIBLE POINTS FOR FINANCIAL NEED           100] 

TABLE 2 
FINANCIAL CONSIDERATIONS 
1. COST EFFECTIVENESS RATIO, SELECT ONE POINTS 
Project Cost per benefitting connection  
A. $0 to $500 16 
B. $501 to $1,500 14 
C. $1,501 to $2,000 11 
D. $2,001 to $3,000 8 
E. $3,001 to $5,000 4 
F. $5,001 to $10,000 1 
G. Over $10,000 0 
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2. CURRENT LOCAL MEDIAN ADJUSTED GROSS 
INCOME (MAGI), SELECT ONE  
  
A. Less than 70% of State Median AGI 19 
B. 71 to 80% of State Median AGI 16 
C. 81 to 95% of State Median AGI 13 
D. 96 to 110% of State Median AGI 9 
E. 111 to 130% of State Median AGI 6 
F. 131 to 150% of State Median AGI 3 
G. Greater than 150% of State Median AGI 0 
  
3. APPLICANT'S COMMITMENT TO PROJECT  
PROJECT FUNDING CONTRIBUTED BY APPLICANT, 
SELECT ONE  
  
A. Greater than 25% of project funds 17 
B. 15 to 25% of project funds 14 
C. 10 to 15% of project funds 11 
D. 5 to 10% of project funds 8 
E. 2 to 5% of project funds 4 
F. Less than 2% of project funds 0 
  
4. WATER BILL, INCLUDING TAXES, AFTER PROJECT 
IS BUILT RELATIVE TO LOCAL MEDIAN ADJUSTED 
GROSS INCOME, SELECT ONE  
A. Greater than 2.50% of local median MAGI 16 
B. 2.01 to 2.50% of local median MAGI 12 
C. 1.51 to 2.00% of local median MAGI 8 
D. 1.01 to 1.50% of local median MAGI 3 
E. 0 to 1.00% of local median MAGI 0 
  
5.  SPECIAL INCENTIVES, SELECT ALL THAT APPLY: 
The Applicant has the following:  
A. A replacement fund receiving annual deposits 
of about 5% of the system's annual drinking water 
(DW) budget and fund has already accumulated a 
minimum of 10% of said annual DW budget in this 
reserve fund. 5 
B. In addition to item 5.A., accumulated an 
amount equal to at least 20% of its annual DW 
budget in its replacement fund. 5 
C. Created or enhanced, or will create or enhance, 
a regionalization plan. 16 
D. Implemented a rate structure encouraging 
conservation. 6 
  
TOTAL POSSIBLE POINTS FOR FINANCIAL NEED 100 

 
 (b)  Optimizing return on the security account while still 
allowing the project to proceed. 
 (c)  Local [political and ]economic conditions. 
 (d)  Cost effectiveness evaluation of financing alternatives. 
 (e)  Availability of funds in the security account. 
 (f)  Environmental need. 
 (g)  Other criteria the Board may consider[ deem] 
appropriate. 

R309-700-[6]7.  Planning Grant. 
 (1)  [A Planning Grant can only be made to a political 
subdivision with a population less than 10,000 people demonstrating 
an urgent need to evaluate its drinking water system's technical, 
financial and managerial capacity, and lacks the financial means to 
readily accomplish such an evaluation.]The Drinking Water Board 
may make loans or grants from the security account to political 
subdivisions for planning for drinking water projects. 
 (2)  Qualifying for a Planning Grant will be based on the 
criteria listed in Subsection R309-700-[5]6(2)(a). 
 (3)  The applicant must demonstrate that all funds 
necessary to complete project planning will be available [prior 
to]before commencing the planning effort.  The Planning Grant will 
be deposited with these other funds into a supervised escrow account 
[at the time]when the grant agreement between the applicant and the 
Board is executed or the Board may choose to provide the funds in 
incremental disbursements as the applicant incurs expenses on the 
project. 
 (4)  Failure [on the part of ]by the recipient of a Planning 
Grant to implement the findings of the plan may prejudice any future 
applications for drinking water project funding. 
 (5)  The recipient of a Planning Grant must first receive 
written approval for any cost increases or changes to the scope of 
work. 
 (6)  The Planning Grant recipient must provide a copy of 
the planning project results to the Division.  The planning effort shall 
conform to rules under Title R309. 
 
R309-700-[7]8.  Planning Loan. 
[ (1)  A Planning Loan can only be made to a political 
subdivision which demonstrates a financial hardship preventing the 
completion of project planning. 
 (2] (1)  A Planning Loan is made to a political 
subdivision with the intent to provide interim financial assistance for 
project planning until the long-term project financing can be secured.  
The Planning Loan must be repaid to the Board unless the payment 
obligation is waived by the Board. 
 ([3]2)  The applicant must demonstrate that all funds 
necessary to complete project planning will be available [prior 
to]before commencing the planning effort.  The Planning Loan will 
be deposited with these other funds into a supervised escrow account 
[at the time]when the loan agreement between the applicant and the 
Board is executed or the Board may choose to provide the funds in 
incremental disbursements as the applicant incurs expenses on the 
project. 
 ([4]3)  The recipient of a Planning Loan must first receive 
written approval from the Division Director for any cost increases or 
changes to the scope of work. 
 ([5]4)  [A copy of the document(s) prepared by means of 
the planning loan ]Copies of all prepared documents required by the 
planning loan shall be submitted to the Division. 
 
R309-700-[8]9.  Design Grant or Loan. 
[ (1)  A Design Grant or Loan can only be made to a political 
subdivision demonstrating financial hardship preventing completion 
of project design.  For purposes of this Section R309-700-8, project 
design means engineering plans and specifications, construction 
contracts, and associated work.] 
 (1)  For purposes of Section R309-700-9, project design 
means preparing engineering plans and specifications, construction 
contracts, and associated work. 
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 (2)  A Design Grant or Loan is made to a political 
subdivision with the intent to provide interim financial assistance for 
the completion of the project design until the long-term project 
financing can be secured.  The Design [Grant or ]Loan must be repaid 
to the Board unless the payment obligation is waived by the Board as 
authorized by Subsection 73-10c-4(3)(b). 
 (3)  The applicant must demonstrate that all funds 
necessary to complete the project design will be available [prior 
to]before commencing the design effort.  The Design Grant or Loan 
will be deposited with these other funds into a supervised escrow 
account [at the time]when the grant or loan agreement between the 
applicant and the Board is executed. 
 (4)  The recipient of a Design Grant or Loan must first 
receive written approval from the Board before incurring any cost 
increases or changes to the scope of work. 
 
R309-700-[9]10.  Credit Enhancement Agreements. 
 The Board will determine whether a project may receive all 
or part of a loan, credit enhancement agreement or interest buy-down 
agreement subject to the criteria in Section R309-700-[5]6.  To 
provide security for project obligations the Board may agree to 
purchase project obligations of applicants or make loans to the 
applicants to prevent defaults in payments on project obligations.  
The Board may also consider making loans to the applicants to pay 
the cost of obtaining letters of credit from various financial 
institutions, municipal bond insurance, or other forms of insurance or 
security for project obligations.  In addition, the Board may consider 
other methods and assistance to applicants to properly enhance the 
marketability of or security for project obligations. 
 
R309-700-[10]11.  Interest Buy-Down Agreements. 
 Interest buy-down agreements may consist of: 
 (1)  A financing agreement between the Board and 
applicant whereby a specified sum is loaned or granted to the 
applicant to be placed in a trust account. The trust account shall be 
used exclusively to reduce the cost of financing for the project. 
 (2)  A financing agreement between the Board and the 
applicant whereby the proceeds of bonds purchased by the Board is 
combined with proceeds from publicly issued bonds to finance the 
project.  The rate of interest on bonds purchased by the Board may 
carry an interest rate lower than the interest rate on the publicly issued 
bonds, which when blended together will provide a reduced annual 
debt service for the project. 
 (3)  Any other legal method of financing which reduces the 
annual payment amount on locally issued bonds.  After credit 
enhancement agreements have been evaluated by the Board and it is 
determined that this method is not feasible or additional assistance is 
required, interest buy-down agreements and loans may be 
considered.  Once the level of financial assistance required to make 
the project financially feasible is determined, a [cost effective]cost-
effective evaluation of interest buy-down options and loans must be 
completed.  The financing alternative chosen should be the one most 
economically advantageous for the state and the applicant. 
 
R309-700-[11]12.  Loans. 
 The Board may make loans to finance all or part of a 
drinking water project only after credit enhancement agreements and 
interest buy-down agreements have been evaluated and found either 
unavailable or unreasonably expensive.  The financing alternative 
chosen should be the one most economically advantageous for the 
state and its political subdivisions.  A loan origination fee is a fee 
assessed to the loan recipient as a percentage of the principal balance 

of the loan. This fee will not be charged to any disadvantaged 
community receiving a loan subsidy as part Drinking Water State 
Revolving Fund financial assistance. 
 
R309-700-[12]13.  Project Authorization (Reference R309-700-
4(4)). 
 A project may be "Authorized" for a loan, credit 
enhancement agreement, interest buy-down agreement, or hardship 
grant in writing by the Board following submission and favorable 
review of an application form, engineering report[ (if required)], 
financial capability assessment, staff feasibility report, and capacity 
assessment, if the Board determines the assessment [(when 
determined to]will be beneficial for evaluating project feasibility[)].  
The engineering report shall include a cost effectiveness analysis of 
feasible project alternatives capable of meeting State and Federal 
drinking water requirements.  It shall include consideration of 
monetary costs including the present worth or equivalent annual 
value of all capital costs, operation, maintenance, and replacement 
costs.  The alternative selected must be the most economical means 
of meeting applicable State and Federal drinking water requirements 
over the useful life of the facility while recognizing environmental 
and other nonmonetary considerations.  If it is anticipated that a 
project will be a candidate for financial assistance from the Board, 
[the Staff]Division staff should be contacted, and the plan of study 
for the engineering report [(if required) ]should be approved before 
the planning is initiated. 
 Once the application form and other related documents 
have been reviewed and assessments made, the staff will prepare a 
project feasibility report for the Board's consideration in Authorizing 
a project.  The project feasibility report will include a detailed 
evaluation of the project with regard to the Board's funding priority 
criteria[,] and will contain recommendations for the type of financial 
assistance which may be extended such as a loan,[(i.e., for a loan,] 
credit enhancement agreement, interest buy-down agreement, or 
hardship grant[)]. 
 Project Authorization is not a contractual commitment and 
is conditioned upon the availability of funds at the time of loan 
closing or signing of the credit enhancement, interest buy-down, or 
grant agreement and upon adherence to the project schedule approved 
at that time.  If the project is not proceeding according to the project 
schedule the Board may withdraw the project Authorization so that 
projects which are ready to proceed can obtain necessary funding.  
Extensions to the project schedule may be considered by the Board, 
but any extension requested must be fully justified. 
 
R309-700-[13]14.  Financial Evaluations. 
 (1)  The Board considers it a proper function to assist and 
give direction to project applicants in obtaining funding from such 
State, Federal or private financing sources as may be available to 
achieve the most effective utilization of resources in meeting the 
needs of the State.  This may also include joint financing 
arrangements with several funding agencies to complete a total 
project. 
 (2)  Hardship Grants will be evidenced by a grant 
agreement. 
 (3)  In providing any form of financial assistance in the 
form of a loan, the Board may purchase bonds of the applicant only 
if the bonds are accompanied by a legal opinion of recognized 
municipal bond counsel [to the effect ]that the bonds are legal and 
binding under applicable Utah law [(]including, if applicable, the 
Utah Municipal Bond Act[)].  For bonds of $150,000 or less the 
Board will not require this opinion. 
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 (a)  In providing any form of financial assistance in the 
form of a loan, the Board may purchase either [a ]taxable or non-
taxable bonds; provided that it shall be the general preference of the 
Board to purchase bonds issued by the applicant only if the bonds are 
tax exempt and are accompanied by a legal opinion of recognized 
municipal bond counsel [to the effect ]that interest on the bonds is 
exempt from federal income taxation.  Such an opinion must be 
obtained by the applicant in the following situations: 
 (i)  Bonds which are issued to finance a project which will 
also be financed in part at any time by the proceeds of other bonds 
which are exempt from federal income taxation. 
 (ii)  Bonds which are not subject to the arbitrage rebate 
[provisions ]of Section 148 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 
[(]or successor provision of similar intent[)], including, without 
limitation, bonds covered by the "small governmental units" 
exemption contained in Section 148(f)(4)(c) of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1986, [(]or any successor provision of similar intent[)], and 
bonds which are not subject to arbitrage rebate because the gross 
proceeds from the loan will be completely expended within six 
months after the issuance of such bonds. 
 (b)  In any other situations, the Board may purchase taxable 
bonds if it determines, after evaluating all relevant circumstances 
including the applicant's ability to pay, that the purchase of the 
taxable bonds is in the best interests of the State and applicant. 
 (c)  If more than [25 percent]25% of the project is to serve 
industry, bond counsel must evaluate the loan to ensure the [tax 
exempt]tax-exempt status of the loan fund. 
 (d)  Revenue bonds purchased by the Board shall be 
secured by a pledge of water system revenues, and it is the general 
policy of the Board that the pledge of water revenues for the payment 
of debt service, including principal, interest, and applicable fees[ 
(principal and/or interest)] on a particular revenue bond be on a parity 
with the pledge of those water revenues as security for the debt 
service payments on all other bonds or other forms of indebtedness 
which are secured by the water revenues. 
 (4)  The Board will consider the financial feasibility and 
cost effectiveness of the project in detail.  The financial capability 
assessment must be completed as a basis for the review.  The Board 
may require that a full capacity assessment be made for a given 
project.  The Board will generally use these reports and assessments 
to determine whether a project will be Authorized to receive a loan, 
credit enhancement agreement, interest buy-down agreement, or 
hardship grant, as described in Sections R309-700-9 through R309-
700-12[ (Reference R309-700-9, -10 and -11)].  If a project is 
Authorized to receive a loan, the Board will establish the portion of 
the construction cost to be included in the loan and will set the terms 
for the loan.  The Board will require the applicants to repay the loan 
as rapidly as is reasonably consistent with the financial capability of 
the applicant.  It is the Board's intent to avoid repayment schedules 
which would exceed the design life of the project facilities. 
 (5)  Normal engineering and investigation costs incurred by 
the Department of Environmental Quality or Board during 
preliminary project investigation and [prior to]before Board 
Authorization will not become a charge to the applicant if the project 
is found infeasible, denied by the Board, or if the applicant withdraws 
the [Application prior to]application before the Board's 
Authorization.[  If the credit enhancement agreement or interest buy-
down agreement does not involve a loan of funds from the Board, 
then administrative costs will not be charged to the project.  However, 
if the project is Authorized to receive a loan or grant of funds from 
the Board, all costs from the beginning of the project will be charged 
to the project and paid by the applicant as a part of the total project 

cost.  If the applicant decides not to build the project after the Board 
has Authorized the project, all costs accruing after the Authorization 
will be reimbursed by the applicant to the Board.] 
 (6)  The Board shall determine the date on which the 
scheduled payments of principal and interest will be made.  In fixing 
this date, all possible contingencies shall be considered, and the 
Board may allow the system [one year]up to 18 months of actual use 
of the project facilities before the first repayment of principal is 
required. 
 (7)  The applicant shall furnish the Board with acceptable 
evidence that the applicant is capable of paying its share of the 
construction costs during the construction period. 
 (8)  LOANS AND INTEREST BUY-DOWN 
AGREEMENTS ONLY - The Board may require, as part of the loan 
or interest buy-down agreement, that any local funds which are to be 
used in financing the project be committed to construction prior to or 
concurrent with the committal of State funds. 
 (9)  The Board will not forgive the applicant of any 
payment after the payment is due. 
 (10)  The Board will require a debt service reserve account 
be established by the applicant at or before the loan is closed.  
Deposits to that account shall be made at least annually in the amount 
of one-tenth of the annual payment on [the bond(s)]any bonds 
purchased by the Board and shall continue until the total amount in 
the debt service reserve fund is equal to the annual payment.  The 
debt service reserve account shall be continued until the bond is 
retired.  [Annual reports/statements will be required.  ]Failure to 
maintain the reserve account will constitute a technical default on the 
[bond(s)]any bonds and may result in penalties being assessed.  
Annual reports[/] or statements will be required. 
 (11)  The Board will require a capital facilities replacement 
reserve account be established at or before the loan is closed.  
Deposits to that account shall be made at least annually in the amount 
of [five percent (5%)]5% of the applicant's annual drinking water 
system budget, including depreciation, unless otherwise specified by 
the Board at the time of loan authorization, until the loan is repaid.  
This fund shall not serve as security for the payment of principal or 
interest on the loan.  The applicant shall adopt such resolutions as 
necessary to limit the use of the fund to construct capital facilities for 
its water system and to notify the Board [prior to]before making any 
disbursements from the fund so the Board can confirm that any 
expenditure is for an acceptable purpose.  The applicant will not need 
the consent of the Board [prior to]before making any expenditure 
from the fund.  Failure to maintain the reserve account will constitute 
a technical default on [the bond(s)]any bonds and may result in 
penalties being assessed. Annual reports[/] or statements will be 
required. 
 (12)  If the Board is to purchase a revenue bond, the Board 
will require that the applicant's water rates be established such that 
sufficient net revenue will be raised to provide at least 125% or such 
other amount as the Board may determine of the total annual debt 
service. 
 
R309-700-[14]15.  Committal of Funds and Approval of 
Agreements. 
[ After the has issued a Plan Approval and received the 
appropriate legal documents and other items required by Rule R309-
700, the Board will determine whether the project loan, interest buy-
down, credit enhancement, and/or grant meets the conditions of its 
authorization. If so, the Board will give its final approval.  The 
Executive Secretary or designee may then execute the financial 
assistance agreement if no aspects of the project have changed 
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significantly since the Board's authorization of the loan or credit 
enhancement, provided all conditions imposed by the Board have 
been met.  If significant changes have occurred the Board will then 
review the project and, if satisfied, the Board will then commit funds, 
approve the signing of the contract, credit enhancement agreement, 
interest buy-down agreement, or grant agreement, and instruct the 
Executive Secretary to submit a copy of the signed contract or 
agreement to the Division of Finance.] 
 (1)  The Executive Secretary, or designee, may execute the 
loan agreement, credit enhancement agreement, or interest buy-down 
agreement when the following are complete. 
 (i)  All financial assistance authorization conditions, as 
outlined in the Authorization Letter sent to the recipient, have been 
met; including Division approval of all submitted legal documents 
and other items required by this rule. 
 (ii)  The recipient has received written plan approval of the 
engineering plans and specifications for the authorized project from 
the Division of Drinking Water. 
 (2)  If the approved scope of work has changed 
significantly since the Board's initial authorization, the Board shall 
review the modified project scope of work to determine if it meets 
the Board's requirements.  If satisfied, the Board shall authorize the 
Executive Secretary, or designee, to proceed with executing the loan 
agreement, credit enhancement agreement or interest buy-down 
agreement. 
 
R309-700-[15]16.  Construction. 
 The Division of Drinking Water staff may conduct 
inspections and will report to the applicant and applicant's engineer.  
Contract change orders must be properly negotiated with the 
contractor and approved in writing.  [Change orders in excess of 
$10,000 must receive prior written approval by the Director before 
execution.]All Change orders must be reviewed by staff to determine 
eligibility for reimbursement within the SRF program requirements 
and determine there are sufficient funds in the amount authorized by 
the Drinking Water Board to complete the project as authorized.  The 
applicant shall notify the [Director]Executive Secretary when the 
project is near completion and request a final inspection.  [When the 
project is complete to the satisfaction of the applicant, the applicant's 
engineer, and the Director, written approval will be issued by the 
Director in accordance with R309-500-9 to commence using the 
project facilities.]When the project is complete, but before facilities 
can be placed into service, the recipient must request an operating 
permit in accordance with current Division of Drinking Water rules. 
 
KEY:  financial assistance, loans, interest buy-downs, credit 
enhancements, hardship grants 
Date of Last Change:  [July 1, 2011]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  March 12, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-4-104; 
73-10c; 73-10g-5 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R309-705 Filing ID:  
55218 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 

Agency: Drinking Water 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144830 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4830 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Grange 801-

674-
2563 

mgrange@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R309-705.  Financial Assistance:  Federal Drinking Water 
State Revolving Fund (SRF) Loan Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Division of Drinking Water (Division) is proposing this 
rule change to correct outdated references, update 
language, and add new language to implement the 
requirements of H.B. 269, Capital Assets Related to Water, 
passed in the 2022 General Legislative Session, and the 
federal America's Water Infrastructure Act (AWIA) of 2018. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule outlines the process for political subdivisions of 
the state to apply for and receive financial assistance for 
water system infrastructure improvement projects.  The 
new language defines the elements of a capital asset 
management plan as required by H.B. 269 (2022), and 
AWIA. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enacting this rule could cost the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) up to $150,000 annually for 
one full-time FTE to manage the asset management 
program within the Division.  This position will be funded 
through a combination of set-aside funds from the annual 
Drinking Water State Revolving Fund capitalization grant 
authorized by Congress through the federal Safe Drinking 
Water Act and funds allocated to the Division from the 
state legislature. 
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Program management activities include, but are not 
limited to, public outreach to water systems and other 
interested parties, working with water systems and 
consulting engineers to help them understand the benefits 
of and how to prepare and implement an acceptable asset 
management plan and program, and receiving and 
reviewing asset management plans submitted by water 
systems. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enacting this rule could have a fiscal impact for local 
governments required to develop, adopt, and implement a 
capital asset management plan and an asset management 
program.  Cost to develop such a plan could be as much 
as $100,000 depending on water system size and 
complexity. 
 
Annual costs could be an additional $75,000 for water 
system staff to manage the asset management program 
and maintain the asset management plan. 
 
Annual cost savings to local governments are expected 
but will vary depending on system size and complexity, as 
well as how effectively the asset management program is 
implemented. 
 
Cost savings may be realized through better asset 
maintenance, better planning for asset rehabilitation or 
replacement, establishing a proactive maintenance 
schedule based on the importance the asset has to system 
operation, as well as other operations and maintenance 
efficiencies gained through implementing the plan. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enacting this rule could have a fiscal impact for small 
businesses that own and operate public drinking water 
systems required to develop, adopt, and implement a 
capital asset management plan and implement an asset 
management program. 
 
Cost to develop such a plan could be as much as $100,000 
depending on water system size and complexity.  Annual 
costs could be an additional $75,000 for water system staff 
to manage the asset management program and maintain 
the asset management plan. 
 
Annual cost savings to small businesses that own and 
operate public drinking water systems are expected but 
will vary depending on system size and complexity as well 
as how effectively the asset management program is 
implemented.  Cost savings may be realized through 
better asset maintenance, better planning for asset 
rehabilitation or replacement, establishing a proactive 
maintenance schedule based on the importance the asset 
has to system operation, as well as other operations and 
maintenance efficiencies gained through implementing the 
plan. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enacting this rule could have a fiscal impact for non-small 
businesses that own and operate public drinking water 
systems required to develop, adopt, and implement a 
capital asset management plan and implement an asset 
management program.  Cost to develop such a plan could 
be as much as $100,000 depending on water system size 
and complexity. 
 
Annual costs could be an additional $75,000 for water 
system staff to manage the asset management program 
and maintain the asset management plan. 
 
Annual cost savings to non-small businesses that own and 
operate public drinking water systems are expected but 
will vary depending on system size and complexity, as well 
as how effectively the asset management program is 
implemented.  Cost savings may be realized through 
better asset maintenance, better planning for asset 
rehabilitation or replacement, establishing a proactive 
maintenance schedule based on the importance the asset 
has to system operation, as well as other operations and 
maintenance efficiencies gained through implementing the 
plan. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enacting this rule could have a fiscal impact for 
governmental entities, such as local districts, water 
conservation districts, and special service districts that 
own and operate public drinking water systems, required 
to develop, adopt, and implement a capital asset 
management plan and an asset management program. 
 
No fiscal impact to individuals, corporations, associations, 
or private organizations that do not own or operate public 
drinking water systems is expected. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Costs to affected persons to develop an asset 
management plan and implement an asset management 
program for a public drinking water system could be as 
much as $100,000 depending on water system size and 
complexity. 
 
Annual costs could be an additional $75,000 for water 
system staff to manage the asset management program 
and maintain the asset management plan. 
 
Annual cost savings to affected persons who own or 
operate public drinking water systems are expected but 
will vary depending on system size and complexity, as well 
as how effectively the asset management program is 
implemented.  Cost savings may be realized through 
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better asset maintenance, better planning for asset 
rehabilitation or replacement, establishing a proactive 
maintenance schedule based on the importance the asset 
has to system operation, as well as other operations and 
maintenance efficiencies gained through implementing the 
plan. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $150,000 $150,250 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $175,000 $180,250 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $175,000 $180,250 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $175,000 $180,250 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $175,000 $180,250 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $850,000 $871,250 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 ($850,000) ($871,250) 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 73-10g-5 Subsection 
73-10c-3(2) 

42 U.S.C. 300j, 
et seq. 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

05/31/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kim Shelley,  
Executive Director 

Date: 02/13/2023 

 
R309.  Environmental Quality, Drinking Water. 
R309-705.  Financial Assistance:  Federal Drinking Water State 
Revolving Fund (SRF) Loan Program. 
R309-705-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to establish criteria for financial 
assistance to public drinking water systems in accordance with a 
federal grant established under 42 U.S.C. 300j et seq., federal Safe 
Drinking Water Act (SDWA). 
 
R309-705-2.  Statutory Authority. 
 The authority for the Department of Environmental Quality 
acting through the Drinking Water Board to issue financial assistance 
for drinking water projects from a federal capitalization grant is 
provided in 42 U.S.C. 300j et seq.[, federal Safe Drinking Water Act,] 
and [Title 73, Chapter 10c, Utah Code.]Title 73, Chapter 10c, Water 
Development Coordinating Council. 
 
R309-705-3.  Definitions. 
 Definitions for general terms used in this rule are given in 
Rule R309-110.  Definitions for terms specific to this rule are given 
below. 
 "Asset Management Plan" A written plan developed by a 
water system to implement asset management or an asset 
management program within the system. The asset management plan 
describes the five-core asset management components at Subsection 
R309-800-5(3) and provides an outline the water system can use to 
make appropriate improvements. 
 "Asset Management Program" The practice of managing 
infrastructure assets to maximize the efficiency and life expectancy 
of operating these assets while delivering the desired service levels. 
 "Board" means the Drinking Water Board. 
 "Capacity Development" is a process for water systems to 
acquire and maintain adequate technical, managerial, and financial 
(TMF) capability. Capacity Development is a fundamental 
component of the SDWA Amendments that provides a framework for 
states and water systems to work together to protect public health. 
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Rule R309-800 Capacity Development Program governs the state's 
capacity development program. 
 "Credit Enhancement Agreement" means any agreement 
entered into between the Board, on behalf of the State, and an eligible 
water system to provide methods and assistance to eligible water 
systems to improve the security for and marketability of drinking 
water project obligations. 
 "Disadvantaged Communities" are defined as those 
communities located in an area which has a median adjusted gross 
income less than or equal to 80% of the State's median adjusted gross 
income, as determined by the Utah State Tax Commission from 
federal individual income tax returns excluding zero exemption 
returns, or where the estimated annual cost, including loan repayment 
costs, of drinking water service for the average residential user 
exceeds 1.75% of the median adjusted gross income. If, in the 
judgment of the Board, the State Tax Commission data is insufficient 
the Board may accept other measurements of the water users' income.  
Acceptable measurements may include a local income survey or 
questionnaire when there is a significant difference between the 
number of service connections for a system and the number of tax 
filing for a given zip code or city. 
 "Drinking Water Project" means any work or facility that is 
necessary or desirable to provide water for human consumption and 
other domestic uses.  Its scope includes collection, treatment, storage, 
and distribution facilities; and also includes studies, planning, 
education activities, and design work that will promote protecting the 
public from waterborne health risks. 
 "Drinking Water Project Obligation" means any bond, note 
or other obligation issued to finance all or part of the cost of 
acquiring, constructing, expanding, upgrading or improving a 
drinking water project, including, preliminary planning, studies, 
surveys, engineering or architectural fees, and preparation of plans 
and specifications. 
 "Eligible Water System" means any community drinking 
water system, either privately or publicly owned; and nonprofit 
noncommunity water systems. 
 "Emergency" means an unexpected, serious occurrence of 
situation requiring urgent or immediate action.  With regard to a water 
system this would be a situation resulting from the failure of 
equipment or other infrastructure, or contamination of the water 
supply, which threatens the public health and safety. 
 "Financial Assistance" means a project loan, credit 
enhancement agreement, interest buy-down agreement, or technical 
assistance. 
 "Hardship Grant Assessment" means an assessment applied 
to a loan.  The assessment shall be calculated as a percentage of 
outstanding principal balance of a loan, applied on an annual basis.  
Hardship grant assessment funds shall be subject to the requirements 
of Rule R309-700 for hardship grants. 
 "Interest" means an assessment applied to a loan.  The 
assessment shall be calculated as a percentage of outstanding 
principal balance of a loan, applied on an annual basis. 
 "Interest Buy-Down Agreement" means any agreement 
entered into between the Board, on behalf of the State, and an eligible 
water system, to reduce the cost of financing incurred by an eligible 
water system on bonds issued by the subdivision for project costs. 
 "Negative Interest" means a loan with an interest rate at less 
than 0%. The repayment schedule for loans having a negative interest 
rate will be prepared by the Drinking Water Board. 
 "Principal Forgiveness" means a loan wherein a portion of 
the loan amount is "forgiven" upon closing the loan. The terms for 

principal forgiveness will be as directed by Section R309-703-4 and 
by the Drinking Water Board. 
 "Programmatic Financing" is a financial assistance option 
under the DWSRF Program that is designed to provide funding for a 
water system's Capital Improvement Plan, or any portion thereof, so 
long as the projects are eligible and comply with DWSRF Program 
requirements. 
 "Project Costs" include the cost of acquiring and 
constructing any project including, without limitation:  the cost of 
acquisition and construction of any facility or any modification, 
improvement, or extension of such facility; any cost incident to the 
acquisition of any necessary property, easement or right of way, 
except property condemnation costs, which are not eligible costs; 
engineering or architectural fees, legal fees, fiscal agents' and 
financial advisors' fees; any cost incurred for any preliminary 
planning to determine the economic and engineering feasibility of a 
proposed project; costs of economic investigations and studies, 
surveys, preparation of designs, plans, working drawings, 
specifications and the inspection and supervision of the construction 
of any facility; asset management plans and related system software, 
Hardship Grant Assessments, fees and interest accruing on loans 
made under this program during acquisition and construction of the 
project; costs for studies, planning, education activities, and design 
work that will promote protecting the public from waterborne health 
risks; and any other cost incurred by the Board or the Department of 
Environmental Quality, in connection with the issuance of obligation 
to evidence any loan made to it under the law. 
 "SRF Technical Assistance Fund" means a fund or account 
that will be established for the express purpose of providing 
"Technical Assistance" to eligible drinking water systems. 
[ "Disadvantaged Communities" are defined as those 
communities located in an area which has a median adjusted gross 
income less than or equal to 80% of the State's median adjusted gross 
income, as determined by the Utah State Tax Commission from 
federal individual income tax returns excluding zero exemption 
returns, or where the estimated annual cost, including loan repayment 
costs, of drinking water service for the average residential user 
exceeds 1.75% of the median adjusted gross income.  If, in the 
judgment of the Board, the State Tax Commission data is insufficient 
the Board may accept other measurements of the water users' income 
(i.e. local income survey or questionnaire when there is a significant 
difference between the number of service connections for a system 
and the number of tax filing for a given zip code or city). 
 "Drinking Water Project Obligation" means any bond, note 
or other obligation issued to finance all or part of the cost of 
acquiring, constructing, expanding, upgrading or improving a 
drinking water project, including, but not limited to, preliminary 
planning, studies, surveys, engineering or architectural fees, and 
preparation of plans and specifications. 
 "Credit Enhancement Agreement" means any agreement 
entered into between the Board, on behalf of the State, and an eligible 
water system for the purpose of providing methods and assistance to 
eligible water systems to improve the security for and marketability 
of drinking water project obligations. 
 "Eligible Water System" means any community drinking 
water system, either privately or publicly owned; and nonprofit 
noncommunity water systems. 
 "Interest Buy-Down Agreement" means any agreement 
entered into between the Board, on behalf of the State, and an eligible 
water system, for the purpose of reducing the cost of financing 
incurred by an eligible water system on bonds issued by the 
subdivision for project costs. 
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 "Financial Assistance" means a project loan, credit 
enhancement agreement, interest buy-down agreement, or technical 
assistance. 
 "Hardship Grant Assessment" means an assessment applied 
to a loan.  The assessment shall be calculated as a percentage of 
outstanding principal balance of a loan, applied on an annual basis.  
Hardship grant assessment funds shall be subject to the requirements 
of UAC R309-700 for hardship grants. 
 "Negative Interest" means a loan with an interest rate at less 
than zero percent.  The repayment schedule for loans having a 
negative interest rate will be prepared by the Drinking Water Board. 
 "Principal Forgiveness" means a loan wherein a portion of 
the loan amount is "forgiven" upon closing the loan.  The terms for 
principal forgiveness will be as directed by section 4 of this rule and 
by the Drinking Water Board. 
 "Interest" means an assessment applied to a loan.  The 
assessment shall be calculated as a percentage of outstanding 
principal balance of a loan, applied on an annual basis. 
 "Emergency" means an unexpected, serious occurrence of 
situation requiring urgent or immediate action.  With regard to a water 
system this would be a situation resulting from the failure of 
equipment or other infrastructure, or contamination of the water 
supply, which threatens the health and / or safety of the public / water 
users.] 
 "Technical Assistance" means financial assistance 
provided for a feasibility study or master plan, to identify [and / or 
correct ]system deficiencies, or to help a water system overcome 
other technical problems.  The system receiving said technical 
assistance may or may not be required to repay the funds received.  If 
repayment is required, the Board will establish the terms of 
repayment. 
[ "SRF Technical Assistance Fund" means a fund (or 
account) that will be established for the express purpose of providing 
"Technical Assistance" to eligible drinking water systems.] 
 
R309-705-4.  Financial Assistance Methods. 
 (1)  Eligible Activities of the SRF. 
 Funds within the SRF may be used for loans and other 
authorized forms of financial assistance. Funds may be used for [the 
]construction of publicly or privately owned works or facilities, or 
any work that is an eligible project cost as defined by Section 73-10c-
2 [of the Utah Code ]or as allowed by 42 U.S.C.A. 300f et seq.  
[Those]Project costs which meet the criteria of Subsection R309-
705-4(1) that are incurred [subsequent to the submission of ]after the 
applicant's [a funding application to]funding application has been 
approved by the Board and [prior to the execution of a ]before the 
financial assistance agreement is executed[and which meet the above 
criteria] are eligible for reimbursement from the proceeds of the 
financial assistance agreement. 
 (2)  Types of Financial Assistance Available for Eligible 
Water Systems. 
 (a)  Loans. 
 To qualify for ["]negative interest["] or ["]principal 
forgiveness["], the system must qualify as a ["]disadvantaged 
community["] as defined in [section 3 of this rule]Section R309-705-
3.  Upon application, the Board will make a [case by case ]case-by-
case determination whether the system is a ["]disadvantaged 
community["].  To be eligible to be considered as a disadvantaged 
community, the system must meet the definition provided in [section 
3]Section R309-705-3.[ of this rule.]  Additionally, the Board will 
consider the type of community served by the system, the economic 
condition of the community, the population characteristics of those 

served by the system, factors relating to costs, charges and operation 
of the water system, and other such information as the Board 
determines relevant to making the decision to recognize the system 
as a ["]disadvantaged community["]. 
 (i)  Loan Origination Fee (LOF) is a fee assessed to the loan 
recipient as a percentage of the principal balance of the loan. This fee 
will not be charged to any disadvantaged community receiving a loan 
subsidy as part of DWSRF financial assistance. 
 (ii)  Hardship Grant Assessment. 
 The assessment will be calculated based on the procedures 
and formulas shown in Section R309-705-6[section 6 of this rule]. 
 (iii)  Repayment. 
 Annual repayments of principal, interest, fees [and/]or 
Hardship Grant Assessment generally commence [not later than one 
year]18 months after project completion.  Project completion [shall 
be]is defined as the date the funded project is capable of operation 
and a notice of ["]beneficial occupancy["] is given to the general 
contractor.  Where a project has been phased or segmented, the 
repayment requirement applies to the completion of individual 
phases or segments. 
 The loan must be fully amortized [not later than 20]30 
years after project completion or [not later than 30]40 years after 
project completion if the community served by the water system is 
determined to be a disadvantaged community.  The yearly amount of 
the principal repayment is set at the discretion of the Board. 
 ([iii]iv)  Principal Forgiveness. 
 Eligible water systems meeting the definition of 
["]disadvantaged community["] may qualify for financial assistance 
in the form of forgiveness of a portion of the principal loan amount. 
Terms for principal forgiveness will be determined by Board 
resolution. 
 Eligible applicants for ["]principal forgiveness["] financial 
assistance will be considered by the Board on a case-by-case basis.  
The Board will consider the type of community served by the system, 
the economic condition of the community, the population 
characteristics of those served by the system, factors relating to costs, 
charges and operation of the water system, and such other 
information as the Board determines relevant to making the decision 
to recognize the system as a disadvantaged community. 
 ([i]v)  Negative Interest Rate. 
 Eligible water systems meeting the definition of 
"disadvantaged community" may qualify for financial assistance in 
the form of a loan with a negative interest rate, as determined by 
Board resolution. 
 Eligible applicants for "negative interest" financial 
assistance will be considered by the Board on a case-by-case basis.  
The Board will consider the type of community served by the system, 
the economic condition of the community, the population 
characteristics of those served by the system, factors relating to costs, 
charges and operation of the water system, and such other 
information as the Board determines relevant to making the decision 
to recognize the system as a disadvantaged community. 
 (vi)  Dedicated Repayment Source and Security. 
 Loan recipients must establish one or more dedicated 
sources of revenue for repayment of the loan.  As a condition of 
financial assistance, the applicant must demonstrate a revenue source 
and security, as required by the Board. 
 (b)  Refinancing Existing Debt Obligations. 
 The Board may use funds from the SRF to buy or refinance 
debt obligations of municipal, inter-municipal or interstate agencies, 
where the initial debt was incurred and construction started after July 
1, 1993.  Refinanced projects must comply with the requirements 
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imposed by [the Safe Drinking Water Act(SDWA)]SDWA as though 
they were projects receiving initial financing from the SRF. 
 (c)  Credit Enhancement Agreements and Interest Buy-
Down Agreements. 
 The Board will determine whether a project's funding may 
receive all or part of a loan, credit enhancement agreement or interest 
buy-down agreement.  To provide security for project obligations, the 
Board may agree to purchase project obligations of applicants, or 
make loans to the applicants.  The Board may also consider making 
loans to the applicants to pay the cost of obtaining letters of credit 
from various financial institutions, municipal bond insurance, or 
other forms of insurance or security for project obligations.  The 
Board may also consider other methods of assistance to applicants to 
properly enhance the marketability of or security for project 
obligations. 
 Interest buy-down agreements may consist of any of the 
following: 
 (i)  A financing agreement between the Board and applicant 
whereby a specified sum is loaned to the applicant.  The loaned funds 
shall be placed in a trust account, which shall be used exclusively to 
reduce the cost of financing for the project. 
 (ii)  A financing agreement between the Board and the 
applicant whereby the proceeds of bonds purchased by the Board is 
combined with proceeds from publicly issued bonds to finance the 
project.  The rate of interest on bonds purchased by the Board may 
carry an interest rate lower than the interest rate on the publicly issued 
bonds, which when blended together will provide a reduced annual 
debt service for the project. 
 (iii)  Any other legal method of financing which reduces 
the annual payment amount on publicly issued bonds.  The financing 
alternative chosen should be the one most economically 
advantageous for the State and the applicant. 
 (d)  Technical Assistance. 
 The Board may establish a fund [(]or account[)] into which 
the proceeds of an annual fee on loans will be placed.  These funds 
will be used to finance technical assistance for eligible water systems. 
 This fund will provide low interest loans for technical 
assistance and any other eligible purpose as defined by [Section 1452 
of the Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA)]SDWA [Amendments of 
1996 ]to water systems that are eligible for Federal SRF loans.  
[Repayment of these loans may be waived in whole or in part (grant 
funds) by the Board whether or not the borrower is 
disadvantaged.]The Board may forgive the principal amount of a 
technical assistance loan, in whole or in part, for any eligible water 
system whether the system qualifies as a disadvantaged community 
or not. 
 (i)  The Board may establish a fee to be assessed against 
loans authorized under the Federal SRF Loan Program.  The revenue 
generated by this fee will be placed in a new fund called the ["]SRF 
Technical Assistance Fund["]. 
 (ii)  The amount will be assessed as a percentage of the 
Principal Balance of the loan on an annual basis, the same as the 
annual interest and hardship grant assessment are assessed.  The 
borrower will pay the fee annually when paying the principal and 
interest or hardship grant assessments. 
 (iii)  The Board may set [/]or change the amount of the fee 
from time to time as [they determine meets]it determines the needs 
of the program. 
 (iv)  This fee will be part of the ["]effective rate["] 
calculated for the loan using Table 2, Section R309-705-6.  This fee 
may be charged in lieu of or in addition to the interest rate or hardship 
grant assessment, but in no case will the total of the technical 

assistance fee, the interest rate, and hardship grant assessment exceed 
the ["]effective rate["]. 
 (v)  The proceeds of the fund will be used as defined 
[above] Subsection R309-705-4(2)(d) or as modified by the Board in 
compliance with [Section 1452 of ]the federal [SDWA Amendments 
of 1996]SDWA. 
 (3)  Ineligible Projects. 
 Projects [which are ]ineligible for financial assistance 
include[:] the following. 
 (a)  Any project for a water system in significant non-
compliance, [as ]measured by a ["]not approved["] [(R309-400) 
]rating defined in Rule R309-400, unless the project will resolve [all 
outstanding]the issues causing the non-compliance. 
 (b)  Any project where the Board determines that the 
applicant lacks the technical, managerial, or financial capability to 
achieve or maintain SDWA compliance, unless the Board determines 
that the financial assistance will allow or cause the system to maintain 
long-term capability to stay in compliance. 
 (c)  Any project meant to finance the expansion of a 
drinking water system to supply or attract future population growth.  
Eligible projects, however, can be designed and funded at a level 
which will serve the population that a system expects to serve over 
the useful life of the facility. 
 (d)  Projects which are specifically prohibited from 
eligibility by Federal guidelines.  These include the following: 
 (i)  Dams, or rehabilitation of dams; 
 [(ii)  Water rights, unless the water rights are owned by a 
system that is being purchased through consolidation as part of a 
capacity development strategy; 
 (iii)](ii)  Reservoirs, except for finished water reservoirs 
and those reservoirs that are part of the treatment process and are 
located on the property where the treatment facility is located; 
 [(iv)](iii)  Laboratory fees for monitoring; 
 [(v)](iv)  Operation and maintenance costs; 
 [(vi)](v)  Projects needed mainly for fire protection. 
 
R309-705-5.  Application and Project Initiation Procedures. 
 The following procedures must normally be followed to 
obtain financial assistance from the Board: 
 (1)  It is the responsibility of the applicant to obtain the 
necessary financial, legal and engineering counsel to prepare its 
application and an effective and appropriate financial assistance 
agreement. 
 (2)  A completed application form and project engineering 
report or [(]facility plan[)] listing the project alternatives considered 
and including a justification for the chosen alternative, a project 
financing plan including an evaluation of credit enhancement, 
interest buy-down and loan methods applicable to the project and 
financial capability assessment and a history of the applicant's 
compliance with the SDWA are submitted to the Board.  Comments 
from other interested parties such as an association of governments, 
the local health and planning departments, and the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) District Engineers will also be 
accepted.  [Those]Project costs which meet the criteria of Subsection 
R309-705-4(1) that are incurred [subsequent to the submission of 
]after the applicant's [a completed funding application form 
to]funding application has been approved by the Board and [prior to 
the execution of a ]before the financial assistance agreement is 
executed[and which meet the criteria for project costs] are eligible 
for reimbursement from the proceeds of the financial assistance 
agreement. 
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 (3)  An engineering and financial feasibility report and a 
capacity development analysis are prepared by Division staff for 
presentation to and consideration by the Board.  A Capacity 
Assessment, as required by Rule R309-800, will be made by Division 
staff [(See rule R309-352) ]for ["]equivalency["] projects, essentially, 
those funded by the annual federal Capitalization Grant as defined by 
federal regulations.  A capacity assessment may be prepared for a 
["]non-equivalency project when it is determined to be beneficial for 
evaluating project feasibility. 
 (4)  Retail water suppliers seeking financial assistance 
through the State Revolving Fund must commit to develop and 
implement an asset management program as defined in Rule R309-
800. Capacity Development Program. 
 (5)  The Board may authorize financial assistance for the 
project on the basis of the staff's feasibility report and designate 
whether a loan, credit enhancement agreement, interest buy-down 
agreement, or any combination thereof, is to be entered into, and 
approve the project schedule [(see section 7 of this rule)]as described 
in Section R309-705-7. 
 [(5)](6)  The applicant must demonstrate public support for 
the project [prior to]before bonding, as deemed acceptable by the 
Drinking Water Board.  As a minimum, for a loan to be secured by a 
revenue bond, the Sponsor must mail notices to each water user in 
the Sponsor's service area informing them of a public hearing.  In 
addition to the time and location of the public hearing the notice shall 
inform water users of the Sponsor's intent to issue a non-voted 
revenue bond to the Board, shall describe the face amount of the 
bond, the ["]effective rate["], the repayment schedule and shall 
describe the impact of the project on the user including: user rates, 
impact and connection fees.  The notice shall state that water users 
may respond to the Sponsor in writing or in the public hearing within 
ten days after the date of the notice.  A copy of all written responses 
and a certified record of the public hearing shall be forwarded to the 
Division of Drinking Water. 
 [(6)](7)  For financial assistance mechanisms where the 
applicant's bond is purchased by the Board, the project applicant's 
bond documentation must include an opinion from recognized bond 
counsel.  Counsel must be experienced in bond matters, and must 
include an opinion that the drinking water project obligation is a valid 
and binding obligation of the applicant[ (see section 8 of this rule)] 
as described in Section R309-705-8.  The opinion must be submitted 
to the [Assistant Attorney General]Board's Attorney for preliminary 
approval and the applicant shall publish a Notice of Intent to issue 
bonds in a newspaper of general circulation pursuant to Section 11-
14-21[ of the Utah Code].  For financial assistance mechanisms when 
the applicant's bond is not purchased by the Board, the applicant shall 
submit a true and correct copy of an opinion from legal counsel, 
experienced in bond matters, that the drinking water project 
obligation is a valid and binding obligation of the applicant. 
 [(7)](8)  As authorized in Subsection 19-4-106(2)(c)[ of the 
Utah Code], the Director may review plans, specifications, and other 
data pertinent to proposed or expanded water supply systems to 
insure proper design and construction, as specified in [rule]Section 
R309-500-4 General.  Construction of a public drinking water project 
shall not begin until complete plans and specifications have been 
approved in writing by the Director. 
 [(8)](9)  If a project is designated to be financed by the 
Board through a loan or an interest buy-down agreement, an account 
supervised by the applicant and the Board will be established by the 
applicant to assure that loan funds are used only for eligible project 
costs. If financial assistance for the project is provided by the Board 
in the form of a credit enhancement or interest buy-down agreement, 

all project funds will be maintained in a separate account, and a 
quarterly report of project expenditures will be provided to the Board. 
 Incremental disbursement bonds will be required.  Cash 
draws will be based on a schedule that coincides with the rate at 
which project related costs are expected to be incurred for the project. 
 [(9)](10)  If a revenue bond is to be used to secure a loan, a 
User Charge Ordinance, or water rate structure, must be submitted to 
the Board for review and approval to insure adequate provisions for 
debt retirement and[/or] infrastructure operation and maintenance. If 
a general obligation bond is to be used to secure a loan, a User Charge 
Ordinance must be submitted to the Board for review and approval 
to insure the system will have adequate resources to provide 
acceptable service. 
 [(10)](11)  A ["]Private Company["] will be required to 
enter into a Loan Agreement with the Board.  The loan agreement 
will establish the procedures for disbursement of loan proceeds and 
will set forth the security interests to be granted to the Board by the 
Applicant to secure the Applicant's repayment obligations. 
 (a)  The Board may require any of the following forms of 
security interest or [additional/]other forms of security interests it 
finds acceptable to guarantee repayment of the loan: deed of trust 
interests in real property, security interests in equipment and water 
rights, and personal guarantees. 
 (b)  The security requirements will be established after the 
Board's staff has reviewed and analyzed the Applicants financial 
condition. 
 (c)  These requirements may vary from project to project at 
the discretion of the Board. 
 (d)  The Applicant will also be required to execute a 
Promissory Note in the face amount of the loan, payable to the order 
of the lender, and file a Utah Division of Corporations and 
Commercial Code Financing Statement, Form UCC-1. 
 (e)  The Board may specify that loan proceeds be disbursed 
incrementally into an escrow account for expected construction costs, 
or it may authorize another acceptable disbursement procedure. 
 [(11)](12)  The applicant's contract with its engineer must 
be submitted to the Board for review to determine if there will be 
adequate engineering involvement, including project supervision and 
inspection, to successfully complete the project. 
 [(12)](13)  The applicant's attorney must provide an 
opinion to the Board regarding legal incorporation of the applicant, 
valid legal title to rights-of-way and the project site, validity and 
quantity of water rights, and adequacy of bidding and contract 
documents, as required. 
 [(13)](14)  A position fidelity bond may be required by the 
Board insuring the treasurer or other local staff handling the 
repayment funds and revenues produced by the applicant's system 
and payable to the State of Utah through the Drinking Water Board. 
 [(14)](15)  CREDIT ENHANCEMENT AGREEMENT 
AND INTEREST BUY-DOWN AGREEMENT ONLY - The Board 
shall execute the credit enhancement agreement or interest buy-down 
agreement setting forth the terms and conditions of the security or 
other forms of assistance provided by the agreement and shall notify 
the applicant to sell the bonds. 
 [(15)](16)  CREDIT ENHANCEMENT AGREEMENT 
AND INTEREST BUY-DOWN AGREEMENT ONLY - The 
applicant shall sell the bonds and shall notify the Board of the terms 
of sale. If a credit enhancement agreement is utilized, the bonds shall 
contain the legend required by Subsection 73-10c-6(3)(d)[ of the 
Utah Code].  If an interest buy-down agreement is being utilized, the 
bonds shall bear a legend referring to the interest buy-down 
agreement and state that such agreement does not constitute a pledge 
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of or charge against the general revenues, credit or taxing powers of 
the state and that the holder of any such bond may look only to the 
applicant and the funds and revenues pledged by the applicant for the 
payment of interest and principal on the bonds. 
 [(16)](17)  The applicant shall open bids for the project. 
 [(17)](18)  LOAN ONLY - The Board shall give final 
approval to purchase the bonds and execute the loan contract. 
 [(18)](19)  LOAN ONLY - The closing of the loan is 
conducted. 
 [(19)](20)  A preconstruction conference shall be held. 
 [(20)](21)  The applicant shall issue a written notice to 
proceed to the contractor. 
 
R309-705-6.  Applicant Priority System and Selection of Terms of 
Assistance. 
 (1)  Priority Determination. 
 The Board will use Table 1 to assign applicants for financial 
assistance a priority rank.  The Board may[, at its option,] modify [a 
project's priority rating]an applicant's priority rank based on the 
following considerations[:]. 
 (a)  The project plans, specifications, contract, financing, 
[etc.,]or other measures of a project's readiness to proceed to 
construction of a [lesser-rated project]lower priority applicant are 
ready for execution. 
 (b)  Available funding. 
 (c)  Acute health risk. 
 (d)  Capacity Development[ (], financial, technical, or 
managerial issues needing resolution to avoid EPA intervention[)]. 
 (e)  An Emergency. 
[ The Board will utilize Table 1 to prioritize loan applicants 
as may be modified by (a), (b), (c), or (d) above.] 
 

[TABLE 1 
Priority System 

 
Deficiency Description                                   Points 
                                                       Received 
 
                    Source Quality/Quantity 
 
Health Risk (select one) 
A.  There is evidence that waterborne illnesses have 
    occurred.                                                 25 
B.  There are reports of illnesses which may be waterborne.   20 
C.  High potential for waterborne illness exists.             15 
D.  Moderate potential for waterborne illness                  8 
E.  No evidence of potential health risks                      0 
 
Compliance with SDWA (select all that apply) 
A.  Source has been determined to be under the influence of 
    surface water.                                            25 
B.  System is often out of water due to inadequate source 
    capacity.                                                 20 
-or- 
    System capacity does not meet the requirements of UPDWR.  10 
C.  Source has a history of three or more confirmed 
    microbiological violations within the last year.          10 
D.  Sources are not developed or protected according          10 
    to UPDWR. 
E.  Source has confirmed MCL chemistry violations within 
    the last year.                                            10 
 
                                                  Total      100 
 
                          Treatment 
 
                                                           Points 
Deficiency Description                                  Available 
 

Health Risk/Compliance with SDWA (select all that apply) 
A.  Treatment system cannot consistently meet log removal 
    requirements, turbidity standards, or other 
    enforceable drinking water quality standards.             25 
B.  The required disinfection facilities are not 
    installed, are inadequate, or fail to provide adequate 
    water quality.                                            25 
C.  Treatment system is subject to impending failure,         25 
    or has failed. 
-or- 
    Treatment system equipment does not meet demands          20 
    of UPDWR including the lead and/or copper action levels. 
-or- 
    System equipment is projected to become inadequate         5 
    without upgrades. 
                                                     Total    75 
 
                           Storage 
 
                                                         Points 
Deficiency Description                                 Available 
 
Health Risk / Compliance with SDWA (select all that apply) 
A.  Storage system is subject to impending failure, or has    25 
    failed. 
-or- 
    System is old, cannot be easily cleaned, or subject       15 
    to contamination. 
B.  Storage system is inadequate for existing demands.        20 
-or- 
    Storage system demand exceeds 90% of storage capacity.    10 
C.  Applicable contact time requirements cannot be met 
    without an upgrade.                                       15 
D.  System suffers from low static pressures.                 15 
                                                    Total     75 
 
                         Distribution 
 
                                                           Points 
Deficiency Description                                  Available 
 
Health Risk/Compliance with SDWA (select all that apply) 
A.  Distribution system equipment is deteriorated or          20 
    inadequate for existing demands. 
-or- 
    Distribution system is inadequate to meet 5 year          10 
   projected demands. 
B.  Applicable disinfectant residual maintenance              20 
    requirements are not met or high backflow contamination 
    potential exists. 
C.  Project will replace pipe containing unsafe materials     15 
    (lead, asbestos, etc). 
D.  Minimum dynamic pressure requirements are not met.        10 
E.  System experiences a heavy leak rate in the               10 
    distribution lines. 
 
                                                       Total  75 
 
                         Emergencies 
 
Upon the Board finding of an emergency as required by 
R309-705-9.                                            Total 100] 

Table 1 
Priority System 

Deficiency Description Points Received 
  
Source Quality or Quantity   
Health Risk (select one)  
A.  There is evidence that waterborne 
illnesses have occurred. 25 
B.  There are reports of illnesses which 
may be waterborne. 20 
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C.  High potential for waterborne illness 
exists. 15 
D.  Moderate potential for waterborne 
illness. 8 
E.  No evidence of potential health risks. 0 
  
Compliance with SDWA (select all that 
apply)  
A.  Source has been determined to be 
under the influence of surface water. 25 
B.  System is often out of water due to 
inadequate source capacity. 20 
-or-  
    System capacity does not meet the 
requirements of UPDWR. 10 
C.  Source has a history of three or more 
confirmed microbiological violations 
within the last year. 10 
D.  Sources are not developed or 
protected according to UPDWR. 10 
E.  Source has confirmed MCL chemistry 
violations within the last year. 10 
  
Total 100 
  
Treatment  
  
Deficiency Description Points Available 
Health Risk or Compliance with SDWA 
(select all that apply)  
A.  Treatment system cannot consistently 
meet log removal requirements, turbidity 
standards, or other enforceable drinking 
water quality standards. 25 
B.  The required disinfection facilities are 
not installed, are inadequate, or fail to 
provide adequate water quality. 25 
C.  Treatment system is subject to 
impending failure or has failed. 25 
-or-  
Treatment system equipment does not 
meet demands of UPDWR including the 
lead or copper action levels. 20 
-or-  
System equipment is projected to 
become inadequate without upgrades. 5 
  
Total 75 
  
Storage  
  
Deficiency Description Points Available 
Health Risk and Compliance with SDWA 
(select all that apply)  
A.  Storage system is subject to impending 
failure or has failed. 25 
-or-  

System is old, cannot be easily cleaned, or 
is subject to contamination. 15 
B.  Storage system is inadequate for 
existing demands. 20 
-or-  
Storage system demand exceeds 90% of 
storage capacity. 10 
C.  Applicable contact time requirements 
cannot be met without an upgrade. 15 
D.  System suffers from low static 
pressures. 15 
Total 75 
  
Distribution  
  
Deficiency Description Points Available 
  
Health Risk and Compliance with SDWA 
(select all that apply)  
A.  Distribution system equipment is 
deteriorated or inadequate for existing 
demands. 20 
-or-  
Distribution system is inadequate to meet 
5-year projected demands. 10 
B.  Applicable disinfectant residual 
maintenance requirements are not met 
or high backflow contamination potential 
exists. 20 
C.  Project will replace pipe containing 
unsafe materials, such as lead or asbestos 15 
D.  Minimum dynamic pressure 
requirements are not met. 10 
E.  System experiences a heavy leak rate 
in the distribution lines. 10 
Total 75 
  
Emergencies  
  
Upon the Board finding of an emergency 
as required by Section R309-705-9. 100 

[Priority Rating = (Average Points Received) x (Rate Factor) x (AGI 
Factor) 
 
Where: 
*    Rate Factor = (Average System Water Bill/Average State 
Water Bill) 
**   AGI Factor = (State Median AGI/System Median AGI)] 

 
 (2)  Financial Assistance Determination.  The amount and 
type of financial assistance offered will be based upon the criteria 
shown in Table 2. As determined by Board resolution, disadvantaged 
communities may also receive [zero-percent]0% loans, or other 
financial assistance as described [herein]in this rule. 
 Effective rate calculation methods will be determined by 
Board resolution from time to time, using the Revenue Bond [Buyer 
]Index [(RBBI)]RBI as a basis point, the points assigned in Table 2, 
and a method to reduce the interest rate from a recent [RBBI ]rate 
down to a potential minimum of [zero percent]0%.[  To encourage 
rapid repayment of a loan the Board will increase the interest rate 
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0.02 per cent (0.02%) for each year the repayment period exceeds 
five (5.0) years.] 
 

[TABLE 2 
INTEREST, HARDSHIP GRANT FEE AND OTHER FEES REDUCTION FACTORS 

 
                                                         POINTS 
1. COST EFFECTIVENESS RATIO (SELECT ONE) 
A. Project cost $0 to $500 per benefitting 
   connection                                              16 
B. $501 to $1,500                                          14 
C. $1,501 to $2,000                                        11 
D. $2,001 to $3,000                                         8 
E. $3,001 to $5,000                                         4 
F. $5,001 to $10,000                                        1 
G. Over $10,000                                             0 
 
 
2. CURRENT LOCAL MEDIAN ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME (AGI) (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. Less than 70% of State Median AGI                       19 
B. 71 to 80% of State Median AGI                           16 
C. 81 to 95% of State Median AGI                           13 
D. 96 to 110% of State Median AGI                           9 
E. 111 to 130% of State Median AGI                          6 
F. 131 to 150% of State Median AGI                          3 
G. Greater than 150% of State Median AGI                    0 
 
3. APPLICANT'S COMMITMENT TO PROJECT 
PROJECT FUNDING CONTRIBUTED BY APPLICANT (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. Greater than 25% of project funds                       17 
B. 15 to 25% of project funds                              14 
C. 10 to 15% of project funds                              11 
D. 5 to 10% of project funds                                8 
E. 2 to 5% of project funds                                 4 
F. Less than 2% of project funds                            0 
 
4. ABILITY TO REPAY LOAN: 
 
4. WATER BILL (INCLUDING TAXES) AFTER PROJECT IS 
    BUILT RELATIVE TO LOCAL MEDIAN ADJUSTED GROSS 
    INCOME (SELECT ONE) 
 
A. Greater than 2.50% of local median AGI                  16 
B. 2.01 to 2.50% of local median AGI                       12 
C. 1.51 to 2.00% of local median AGI                        8 
D. 1.01 to 1.50% of local median AGI                        3 
E. 0 to 1.00% of local median AGI                           0 
 
5.  SPECIAL INCENTIVES:  Applicant (SELECT ALL THAT APPLY.) 
A. Has a replacement fund receiving annual deposits 
   of about 5% of the system's annual drinking water 
   (DW) budget and fund has already accumulated a 
   minimum of 10% of said annual DW budget in 
   this reserve fund.                                       5 
B. Has, in addition to item 5.A., accumulated an 
   amount equal to at least 20% of its annual DW 
   budget in its replacement fund.                          5 
C. Is creating or enhancing a regionalization plan         16 
D. Has a rate structure encouraging conservation            6 
 
TOTAL POSSIBLE POINTS FOR FINANCIAL NEED                  100] 

TABLE 2 
INTEREST, HARDSHIP GRANT FEE AND OTHER FEES 

REDUCTION FACTORS 
1. COST EFFECTIVENESS RATIO, SELECT ONE POINTS 
Project Cost per benefitting connection  
A. $0 to $500 16 
B. $501 to $1,500 14 
C. $1,501 to $2,000 11 
D. $2,001 to $3,000 8 
E. $3,001 to $5,000 4 

F. $5,001 to $10,000 1 
G. Over $10,000 0 
  
2. CURRENT LOCAL MEDIAN ADJUSTED GROSS 
INCOME (MAGI), SELECT ONE  
  
A. Less than 70% of State Median AGI 19 
B. 71 to 80% of State Median AGI 16 
C. 81 to 95% of State Median AGI 13 
D. 96 to 110% of State Median AGI 9 
E. 111 to 130% of State Median AGI 6 
F. 131 to 150% of State Median AGI 3 
G. Greater than 150% of State Median AGI 0 
  
3. APPLICANT'S COMMITMENT TO PROJECT  
PROJECT FUNDING CONTRIBUTED BY APPLICANT, 
SELECT ONE  
  
A. Greater than 25% of project funds 17 
B. 15 to 25% of project funds 14 
C. 10 to 15% of project funds 11 
D. 5 to 10% of project funds 8 
E. 2 to 5% of project funds 4 
F. Less than 2% of project funds 0 
  
4. WATER BILL, INCLUDING TAXES, AFTER 
PROJECT IS BUILT RELATIVE TO LOCAL MEDIAN 
ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME, SELECT ONE  
A. Greater than 2.50% of local median MAGI 16 
B. 2.01 to 2.50% of local median MAGI 12 
C. 1.51 to 2.00% of local median MAGI 8 
D. 1.01 to 1.50% of local median MAGI 3 
E. 0 to 1.00% of local median MAGI 0 
  
5.  SPECIAL INCENTIVES, SELECT ALL THAT APPLY: 
The Applicant has the following:  
A. A replacement fund receiving annual deposits 
of about 5% of the system's annual drinking 
water (DW) budget and fund has already 
accumulated a minimum of 10% of said annual 
DW budget in this reserve fund. 5 
B. In addition to item 5.A., accumulated an 
amount equal to at least 20% of its annual DW 
budget in its replacement fund. 5 
C. Created or enhanced, or will create or 
enhance, a regionalization plan. 16 
D. Implemented a rate structure encouraging 
conservation. 6 
  
TOTAL POSSIBLE POINTS FOR FINANCIAL NEED 100 

 
R309-705-7.  Project Authorization. 
 A project may receive written authorization for financial or 
technical assistance from the Board following submission and 
favorable review of an application form, an engineering report[ (if 
required)], a capacity development [(including financial capability) 
]assessment that include an assessment of financial capabilities, and 
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staff feasibility report.  The engineering report shall include a [cost 
effective]cost-benefit analysis of feasible project alternatives capable 
of meeting State and Federal drinking water requirements.  It shall 
include consideration of monetary costs including the present worth 
or equivalent annual value of all capital costs, operation, 
maintenance, and replacement costs.  The alternative selected must 
be the most economical means of meeting applicable State and 
Federal drinking water requirements over the useful life of the facility 
while recognizing environmental and other nonmonetary 
considerations. 
 Once the application submittals are reviewed, the staff will 
prepare a project feasibility report for the Board's consideration in 
Authorizing a project.  The project feasibility report will include an 
evaluation of the project with regard to the Board's funding priority 
criteria, and will contain recommendations for the type of financial 
assistance which may be extended [(i.e., for]including a loan, credit 
enhancement agreement, or interest buy-down agreement[)]. 
 The Board may authorize financial assistance for any work 
or facility to provide water for human consumption and other 
domestic uses.  Generally, work means planning, engineering design, 
or other eligible activities defined elsewhere in [these]this rule[s]. 
 Project Authorization is conditioned upon the availability 
of funds at the time of loan closing or signing of the credit 
enhancement, or interest buy-down and upon adherence to the project 
schedule approved at that time.  The Board, at its own discretion, may 
require the Applicant to enter into a "Commitment Agreement" with 
the Board [prior to]before execution of final loan documents or 
closing of the loan.  This Commitment Agreement or Binding 
Commitment may specify the date[(s)] or dates by which the 
Applicant must complete the requirements set forth in the Project 
Authorization Letter.  The Commitment Agreement shall state that if 
the Department of Environmental Quality acting through the 
Drinking Water Board [is unable to]cannot make the Loan by the 
Loan Date, this Agreement shall terminate without any liability 
accruing to the Department or the Applicant hereunder.  Also, if the 
project does not proceed according to the project schedule, the Board 
may withdraw project Authorization, so that projects which are ready 
to proceed can obtain necessary funding.  Extensions to the project 
schedule may be considered by the Board, but any extension 
requested must be fully justified. 
 
R309-705-8.  Financial Evaluations. 
 (1)  The Board considers it a proper function to assist 
project applicants in obtaining funding from such financing sources 
as may be available. 
 (2)  In providing financial assistance in the form of a loan, 
the Board may purchase bonds of the applicant only if the bonds are 
accompanied by a legal opinion of recognized municipal bond 
counsel.  Bond counsel must provide an opinion that the bonds are 
legal and binding under applicable Utah law [(]including, if 
applicable, the Utah Municipal Bond Act[)].  For bonds of $150,000 
or less the Board will not require this opinion. 
 (3)  In providing financial assistance in the form of a loan, 
the Board may purchase either taxable or non-taxable bonds; or a 
secured promissory note provided that it shall be the general 
preference of the Board to purchase bonds issued by the applicant 
only if the bonds are tax exempt.  Tax-exempt bonds must be 
accompanied by a legal opinion of recognized municipal bond 
counsel [to the effect ]that the Interest and the Hardship Grant 
Assessment, or [a fee (also interest)]other fee on the bonds is exempt 
from federal income taxation.  Such an opinion must be obtained by 
the applicant in the following situations: 

 (a)  Bonds which are issued to finance a project which will 
also be financed in part at any time by the proceeds of other bonds 
which are exempt from federal income taxation. 
 (b)  Bonds which are not subject to the arbitrage rebate 
[provisions ]of Section 148 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 
[(]or successor provision of similar intent[)], including, without 
limitation, bonds covered by the "small governmental units" 
exemption contained in Section 148(f)(4)(c) of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1986, [(]or any successor provision of similar intent[)], and 
bonds which are not subject to arbitrage rebate because the gross 
proceeds from the loan will be completely expended within six 
months after the issuance of such bonds. 
 (4)  If more than [25 percent]25% of the project is to serve 
industry, bond counsel must evaluate the loan to ensure the [tax 
exempt]tax-exempt status of the loan fund. 
 (5)  Revenue bonds purchased by the Board shall be 
secured by a pledge of water system revenues, and it is the general 
policy of the Board that the pledge of water revenues for the payment 
of debt service, including principal and interest or fees assessed on 
the principal,[ (principal and/or Hardship Grant Assessment)] on a 
particular revenue bond be on a parity with the pledge of those water 
revenues as security for the debt service payments on all other bonds 
or other forms of indebtedness which are secured by the water 
revenues. 
 (6)  If a project is Authorized to receive a loan, the Board 
will establish the portion of the construction cost to be included in 
the loan and will set the terms for the loan.  It is the Board's intent to 
avoid repayment schedules exceeding the design life of the project 
facilities. 
 (7)  Normal engineering and investigation costs incurred by 
the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) or Board during 
preliminary project investigation and [prior to]before Board 
Authorization will not become a charge to the applicant if the project 
is found infeasible, denied by the Board, or if the applicant withdraws 
the application [Application prior to]before the Board's 
Authorization. 
 If the credit enhancement agreement or interest buy-down 
agreement does not involve a loan of funds from the Board 
administrative costs will not be charged to the project. However, if 
the Board Authorizes a loan for the project, all costs incurred by the 
DEQ or Board on the project will be charged against the project and 
paid by the applicant as a part of the total project cost.  Generally, this 
will include all DEQ and Board costs incurred from the beginning of 
the preliminary investigations through the end of construction and 
close-out of the project.  If the applicant decides not to build the 
project after the Board has Authorized the project, all costs accrued 
after the Authorization date will be reimbursed by the applicant to the 
Board. 
 (8)  The Board shall determine the date on which the 
scheduled payments of principal, Hardship Grant Assessment, and 
interest will be made.  In fixing this date, all possible contingencies 
shall be considered, and the Board may allow the system up to one 
year of actual use of the project facilities before the first repayment 
of principal is required. 
 (9)  The applicant shall furnish the Board with acceptable 
evidence that the applicant is capable of paying its share of the 
construction costs during the construction period. 
 (10)  LOANS AND INTEREST BUY-DOWN 
AGREEMENTS ONLY - The Board may require, as part of the loan 
or interest buy-down agreement, that any local funds which are to be 
used in financing the project be committed to construction [prior 
to]before or concurrent with the committal of State funds. 
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 (11)  The Board will not forgive the applicant of any 
payment after the payment is due. 
 (12)  The Board will require that a debt service reserve 
account be established by the applicant at or before the time that the 
loan is closed.  Deposits to that account shall be made at least 
annually in the amount of one-tenth of the annual payment on the 
[bond(s)]bond or bonds purchased by the Board and shall continue 
until the total amount in the debt service reserve fund is equal to the 
annual payment.  The debt service reserve account shall be continued 
until the bond is retired.  Failure to maintain the reserve account will 
constitute a technical default on the [bond(s)]bond or bonds. 
 (13)  The Board will require a capital facilities replacement 
reserve account be established at or before the loan is closed.  
Deposits to that account shall be made at least annually in the amount 
of [five percent (5%) ]5% of the applicant's annual drinking water 
system budget, including depreciation, unless otherwise specified by 
the Board at the time of loan authorization, until the loan is repaid.  
This fund shall not serve as security for the payment of principal or 
Hardship Grant Assessment on the loan.  The applicant shall adopt 
such resolutions as necessary to limit the use of the fund to construct 
capital facilities for its water system.  The applicant will not need the 
consent of the Board [prior to]before making any expenditure from 
the fund.  Failure to maintain the reserve account will constitute a 
technical default on the [bond(s)]bond or bonds and may result in 
penalties being assessed. 
 (14)  If the Board is to purchase a revenue bond, the Board 
will require that the applicant's water rates be established such that 
sufficient net revenue will be raised to provide at least 125% or such 
other amount as the Board may determine of the total annual debt 
service. 
 (15)  The applicant must have adopted a Water 
Management and Conservation Plan [prior to]before executing the 
loan agreement. 
 
R309-705-9.  Emergency Assistance. 
 (1)  Authority: Title 73, Chapter 10c, Water Development 
Coordinating Council, [of State Statute ]and the SDWA Amendment 
of 1996 give the Board authority to provide emergency assistance to 
drinking water systems. 
 (2)  Eligibility: Generally, any situation occurring as 
defined in Section R309-705-3 would qualify for consideration for 
emergency funding.  However, [prior to]before authorizing funds for 
an emergency, the Board may consider one or more of the factors in 
Subsection R309-705-9(2).[ various factors listed below:] 
 (i)  Was the emergency preventable?  Did the [utility / 
]water system have knowledge that this emergency could be 
expected?  If not.  Should it have been aware of the potential for this 
problem?  Did its management take reasonable action to either 
prevent it or to be as financially and technically prepared as 
reasonably possible to correct the problem when it occurred[ 
(prepared financially and technically for the event causing the 
problem)]? 
 (ii)  Has the [utility / ]water system established a capital 
improvement replacement reserve fund?  Has the [utility / ]water 
system been charging reasonably high rates [in order ]to establish a 
reserve fund to cover normal infrastructure replacement and 
emergencies? 
 (iii)  Is the community a disadvantaged [(hardship) 
]community? 
 (iv)  While the state has no legal obligation to provide 
financial assistance, is[Is] the potential for illness, injury, or other 
harm to the public or system operators sufficiently high that the value 

of providing financial assistance outweighs other factors that would 
preclude providing this assistance.[  (Even though the State does not 
have any legal obligation to provide financial assistance to help 
correct the problem.).] 
 (3)  Requirements for the Applicant: The applicant will be 
required to do the following as a condition of receiving financial 
assistance to cope with a drinking water emergency: 
 (i)  To the extent feasible, the [utility / ]water system shall 
first use its own resources, [e.g.]such as a capital improvement 
replacement fund, to correct the problem. 
 (ii)  If the [utility / ]water system is not placing funds into 
a reserve fund on a regular basis [and / ]or is charging relatively low 
water rates it shall be required to examine its current rate structure 
and policies for placing funds into a reserve account.  The Board may 
require the [utility / ]water system to establish a reserve account [and 
/ ]or to revise its rate structure [(increasing its rate) ]as a condition of 
the loan. 
 (iii)  The Board may place other requirements on the [utility 
/]water system. 
 (4)  Financial Agreements[,] and Bonding.[, etc:] The State 
will work with the Applicant to help secure obligating documents.  
For example, the Board: 
 (i)  Could waive the 30-day notice period, if legally 
possible. 
 (ii)  Could accept a generic bond. 
 (iii)  Could accept an unsecured loan or bond. 
 (5)  Funding Alternatives: An Applicant may be authorized 
to receive a loan by any of the financial assistance methods specified 
in Section R309-705-4 for funding an emergency project.  The Board 
may set and revise the methodology and factors to be considered 
when determining the terms of any financial assistance it provides 
including assigning a priority it deems appropriate.  The terms of the 
loan, including length of repayment period, interest or hardship grant 
assessment, and principal forgiveness or grant, [(grant) ]or repayment 
waivers will be determined [at the time the]when the emergency 
funding is authorized. 
 (6)  Funding Process - The Board must find that an 
emergency exists according to the criteria in Subsection R309-705-
9(2).  It is anticipated that under normal emergency conditions time 
restraints will not allow a request for emergency funding to be placed 
on the agenda of a regularly scheduled Board meeting or adoption 
and advertisement of a project priority list.  Therefore, the following 
procedures will be followed in processing a loan application for 
emergency assistance: 
 (i)  Division staff will evaluate each application for 
emergency funding according to the criteria listed in Subsection 
R309-705-9(2).  Staff will solicit recommendations from the LHD 
and District Engineer about the proposed project to mitigate the 
emergency.  Staff will submit a report of its findings to the Board 
Chair[person] or designee. 
 (ii)  The Board Chair[person] or designee will arrange for 
a timely meeting of the Board to consider authorizing assistance for 
the emergency.  This meeting may be conducted by telephone or 
virtual means using readily available computer platforms. 
 
R309-705-10.  Committal of Funds and Approval of Agreements. 
[ After the Director has issued a Plan Approval, the loan, 
credit enhancement, interest buy-down, or hardship grant will be 
considered by the Board for final approval.  The Board will determine 
whether the agreement is in proper order. The Executive Secretary, 
or designee, may then execute the loan or credit enhancement 
agreement if no aspects of the project have changed significantly 
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since the Board's authorization of the loan or credit enhancement, 
provided all conditions imposed by the Board have been met.  If 
significant changes have occurred the Board will then review the 
project and, if satisfied, the Board will then commit funds, approve 
the signing of the contract, credit enhancement agreement, or interest 
buy-down agreement, and instruct the Executive Secretary to submit 
a copy of the signed contract or agreement to the Division of 
Finance.] 
 (1)  The Executive Secretary, or designee, may execute the 
loan agreement, credit enhancement agreement, or interest buy-down 
agreement when the following are complete: 
 (i)  all financial assistance authorization conditions, 
outlined in the Authorization Letter sent to the Recipient, have been 
met, including Division approval of all submitted legal documents 
and other items required by this rule; and 
 (ii)  the Recipient has received written plan approval of the 
engineering plans and specifications for the authorized project from 
the Division of Drinking Water. 
 (2)  If the approved scope of work has changed 
significantly since the Board's initial authorization, the Board shall 
review the modified project scope of work to determine if it meets 
the Board's requirements.  If satisfied, the Board shall authorize the 
Executive Secretary, or designee, to proceed with executing the loan 
agreement, credit enhancement agreement, or interest buy-down 
agreement. 
 
R309-705-11.  Construction. 
 The Division of Drinking Water staff may conduct 
inspections and will report to the applicant and applicant's engineer. 
Contract change orders must be properly negotiated with the 
contractor and approved in writing.  Change orders in excess of 
$10,000 must receive prior written approval by the Executive 
Secretary before execution.  When the project is complete to the 
satisfaction of the applicant, the applicant's engineer, and the 
Director, written approval will be issued by the Director in 
accordance with Section R309-500-9 to commence using the project 
facilities. 
 
R309-705-12.  Compliance with Federal Requirements. 
 (1)  Applicants must show the legal, institutional, 
managerial, and financial capability to construct, operate, and 
maintain the drinking water system or systems [system(s) ]that the 
project will serve. 
 (2)  [Applicant(s) ]Applicants shall require its contractors 
to comply with federal provisions for disadvantaged business 
enterprises and exclusions for businesses under suspension [and/]or 
debarment.  Any bidder not complying with these requirements shall 
be considered a non-responsive bidder. 
 (3)  As required by Federal Code, applicants may be subject 
to the following federal requirements. [(all assessments shall 
consider the impacts of the project twenty (20) years into the 
future):]Assessments made under the federal requirements in this 
section shall consider potential impacts at least 20 years into the 
future. 
 Archeological and Historic Preservation Act of 1974, Pub. 
L. 86-523, as amended 
 Build America, Buy America Act Pub. L. No. 117-58, 
Sections 70901-52 
 Clean Air Act, Pub.  L. 84-159, as amended 
 Coastal Barrier Resources Act, Pub.  L. 97-348 
 Coastal Zone Management Act, Pub. L. 92-583, as 
amended 

 Davis-Bacon Wage Act, Pub. L. 107-217 
 Endangered Species Act, Pub. L. 92-583 
 Environmental Justice, Executive Order 12898 
 Floodplain Management, Executive Order 11988 as 
amended by Executive Order 12148 
 Protection of Wetlands, Executive Order 11990 
 Farmland Protection Policy Act, Pub. L. 97-98 
 Fish and Wildlife Coordination Act, Pub. L. 85-624 
 National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (NEPA), Pub. 
L. 91-190 
 National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, PL 89-665, as 
amended 
 Safe Drinking Water Act, Pub. L. 93-523, as amended 
 Wild and Scenic Rivers Act, Pub. L. 90-542, as amended 
 Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Pub. L. 94-135 
 Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Pub. L. 88-352 
 Section 13 of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act 
Amendments of 1972, Pub. L. 92-500 (the Clean Water Act) 
 Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Pub. L. 93-
112, including Executive Orders 11914 and 11250[ (including 
Executive Orders 11914 and 11250)] 
[ The Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1988, Pub. L. 100-690 
(applies only to the capitalization grant recipient)] 
 Equal Employment Opportunity, Executive Order 11246 
 Women's and Minority Business Enterprise, Executive 
Orders 11625, 12138 and 12432 
 Section 129 of the Small Business Administration 
Reauthorization and Amendment Act of 1988, Pub. L. 100-590 
 Anti-Lobbying Provisions (40 CFR Part 30) 
 Demonstration Cities and Metropolitan Development Act 
of 1966, Pub. L. 89-754, as amended 
 Procurement Prohibitions under Section 306 of the Clean 
Water Act and Section 508 of the Clean Water Act, including 
Executive Order 11738, Administration of the Clean Air Act and the 
Federal Water Pollution Control Act with Respect to Federal 
Contracts, Grants, or Loans 
 Uniform Relocation and Real Property Acquisition Policies 
Act, Pub. L. 91-646, as amended 
 Debarment and Suspension, Executive Order 12549 
 Accounting procedures, whereby applicants agree to 
maintain a separate project account in accordance with Generally 
Accepted Accounting Standards and Utah State Uniform Accounting 
requirements. 
 
KEY:  SDWA, financial assistance, loans 
Date of Last Change:  [July 1, 2011]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  March 12, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-4-104; 
73-10c 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R309-800 Filing ID:  
55219 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Drinking Water 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
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Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144830 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4830 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Grange 801-

674-
2563 

mgrange@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R309-800.  Capacity Development Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The Division of Drinking Water (Division) is proposing this 
rule change to correct outdated references, update 
language, and add new language to implement the 
requirements of H.B. 269, Capital Assets Related to Water, 
passed in the 2022 General Legislative Session, and the 
federal America's Water Infrastructure Act (AWIA) of 2018. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule outlines the process for political subdivisions of 
the state to apply for and receive financial assistance for 
water system infrastructure improvement projects.  The 
reenacted rule language defines the elements of a capital 
asset management plan as required by H.B. 269 (2022), 
and AWIA.  The current rule did not contain asset 
management language compatible with H.B. 269 (2022) or 
AWIA. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enacting this rule could cost the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) up to $150,000 annually for 
one full-time FTE to manage the asset management 
program within the Division of Drinking Water.  This 
position will be funded through a combination of set-aside 
funds from the annual Drinking Water State Revolving 
Fund capitalization grant authorized by Congress through 
the federal Safe Drinking Water Act and funds allocated to 
the Division from the state legislature. 
 

Program management activities include, but are not 
limited to, public outreach to water systems and other 
interested parties, working with water systems and 
consulting engineers to help them understand the benefits 
of and how to prepare and implement an acceptable asset 
management plan and program, and receiving and 
reviewing asset management plans submitted by water 
systems. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enacting this rule could have a fiscal impact for local 
governments required to develop, adopt, and implement a 
capital asset management plan and an asset management 
program. 
 
Cost to develop such a plan could be as much as $100,000 
depending on water system size and complexity. 
 
Annual costs could be an additional $75,000 for water 
system staff to manage the asset management program 
and maintain the asset management plan. 
 
Annual cost savings to local government entities are 
expected but will vary depending on system size and 
complexity as well as how effectively the asset 
management program is implemented.  Cost savings may 
be realized through better asset maintenance, better 
planning for asset rehabilitation or replacement, 
establishing a proactive maintenance schedule based on 
the importance the asset has to system operation, as well 
as other operations and maintenance efficiencies gained 
through implementing the plan. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enacting this rule could have a fiscal impact for small 
businesses that own and operate public drinking water 
systems required to develop, adopt, and implement a 
capital asset management plan and implement an asset 
management program. 
 
Cost to develop such a plan could be as much as $100,000 
depending on water system size and complexity.  Annual 
costs could be an additional $75,000 for water system staff 
to manage the asset management program and maintain 
the asset management plan. 
 
Annual cost savings to small businesses that own and 
operate public drinking water systems are expected but 
will vary depending on system size and complexity, as well 
as how effectively the asset management program is 
implemented.  Cost savings may be realized through 
better asset maintenance, better planning for asset 
rehabilitation or replacement, establishing a proactive 
maintenance schedule based on the importance the asset 
has to system operation, as well as other operations and 
maintenance efficiencies gained through implementing the 
plan. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enacting this rule could have a fiscal impact for non-small 
businesses that own and operate public drinking water 
systems required to develop, adopt, and implement a 
capital asset management plan and implement an asset 
management program. 
 
Cost to develop such a plan could be as much as $100,000 
depending on water system size and complexity.  Annual 
costs could be an additional $75,000 for water system staff 
to manage the asset management program and maintain 
the asset management plan. 
 
Annual cost savings to non-small businesses that own and 
operate public drinking water systems are expected but 
will vary depending on system size and complexity, as well 
as how effectively the asset management program is 
implemented.  Cost savings may be realized through 
better asset maintenance, better planning for asset 
rehabilitation or replacement, establishing a proactive 
maintenance schedule based on the importance the asset 
has to system operation, as well as other operations and 
maintenance efficiencies gained through implementing the 
plan. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enacting this rule could have a fiscal impact for 
governmental entities, such as local districts, water 
conservation districts, and special service districts that 
own and operate public drinking water systems, required 
to develop, adopt, and implement a capital asset 
management plan and an asset management program. 
 
No fiscal impact to individuals, corporations, associations, 
or private organizations that do not own or operate public 
drinking water systems is expected. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Costs to affected persons to develop an asset 
management plan and implement an asset management 
program for a public drinking water system could be as 
much as $100,000 depending on water system size and 
complexity. 
 
Annual costs could be an additional $75,000 for water 
system staff to manage the asset management program 
and maintain the asset management plan.  Annual cost 
savings to affected persons who own or operate public 
drinking water systems are expected but will vary 
depending on system size and complexity, as well as how 
effectively the asset management program is 
implemented. 
 

Cost savings may be realized through better asset 
maintenance, better planning for asset rehabilitation or 
replacement, establishing a proactive maintenance 
schedule based on the importance the asset has to system 
operation, as well as other operations and maintenance 
efficiencies gained through implementing the plan. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $150,000 $150,250 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $175,000 $180,250 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $175,000 $180,250 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $175,000 $180,250 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $175,000 $180,250 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $850,000 $871,250 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 ($850,000) ($871,250) 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

68 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 05 

Section 73-10g-5 Subsection 
73-10c-3(2) 

42 U.S.C. 300j, 
et seq. 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

05/31/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kim Shelley,  
Executive Director 

Date: 02/13/2023 

 
R309.  Environmental Quality, Drinking Water. 
R309-800.  Capacity Development Program. 
R309-800-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Under authority granted in [Utah Code ]Subsection 19-
4-104(1)(a)(v), the Drinking Water Board adopts this rule 
implementing the capacity development program for new community 
and non-transient non-community systems and existing community, 
non-transient non-community, and transient non-community systems 
and governing the allotment of federal funds to public water systems 
to assist them to comply with the [Federal 1996 Reauthorized ]Safe 
Drinking Water Act (SDWA). 
 
R309-800-2.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The SDWA makes certain federal funds available to 
states, through the Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Financial 
Assistance Program[ Loan Program as defined in section 
1452(k)(2)(C)] to provide assistance to [any public water system 
]eligible public water systems as part of a capacity development 
strategy developed and implemented in accordance with [section]42 
U.S.C. 1420(c) to ensure all new public water systems will be able to 
comply with the SDWA, to enhance existing public water systems' 
capability to comply with the SDWA, and determine which public 
water systems applying for financial assistance are eligible to use the 
State Revolving Funds. 
 (2)  The purpose of the Capacity Development Program for 
new and existing systems is to enhance and ensure[ the] system 
technical, managerial, and financial capacity[ of water systems] and 
encourage water systems to develop and implement an asset 
management program.  The Program's goals are: 
 (a)  to promote long-term compliance with federal drinking 
water regulations[, and]; 
 (b)  to promote the public health protection objectives of 
the SDWA[.]; and 
 (c)  [to promote compliance with the requirements of the 
State of Utah's Groundwater Rule, R309-215-16, in identifying and 
correcting significant deficiencies in technical, managerial, and/or 

financial capacity]to promote and encourage water systems to 
implement best practices and other activities associated with an asset 
management program. 
 
R309-800-3.  Definitions. 
 [(1)  Definitions for terms used in this rule are given in 
R309-110, except as modified below.] 
[ (2)  ]"Asset Management Plan" A written plan developed 
by a water system to implement asset management or an asset 
management program within the system. The asset management plan 
describes the five core asset management components at Subsection 
R309-800-5(3) and provides an outline the water system can use to 
make appropriate improvements. 
 "Asset Management Program" The practice of managing 
infrastructure assets to maximize the efficiency and life expectancy 
of operating these assets while delivering the desired service levels. 
 "Capacity Development" means the technical, managerial, 
and financial capabilities of the water system to plan for, achieve, and 
maintain compliance with applicable drinking water standards. 
 "Community Water System" An existing system providing 
water for human consumption and other domestic uses through pipes 
or other constructed conveyances, which has at least 15 service 
connections or serves an average of at least 25 individuals at least 60 
days out of the year. 
[ (3)  "Drinking Water Region Planning" means a county 
wide water plan, administered locally by a coordinator, who 
facilitates the input of representatives of each public water system in 
the county with a selected consultant, to determine how each public 
water system will either collectively or individually comply with 
source protection, operator certification, monitoring including 
consumer confidence reports, capacity development including 
technical, financial and managerial aspects, environmental issues, 
available funding and related studies. 
 (4)  "Small Water System" means a water system with less 
than 3,300 people being served. 
 (5)  "Public Water System" means a system providing water 
for human consumption and other domestic uses through pipes or 
other constructed conveyances, which has at least 15 service 
connections or serves an average of at least 25 individuals daily at 
least 60 days out of the year. 
 (6)  "Non-Community Water System" (NCWS) means a 
public water system that is not a community water system.  There are 
two types of NCWS's: transient and non-transient.] 
 [(7)  ]"New Water System" means a system that will 
become a community water system or non-transient, non-community 
water system on or after October 1, 1999. 
 "Non-Transient Non-Community Water System" 
(NTNCWS) [means a]An existing public water system, that is not a 
community water system, that regularly serves at least 25 of the same 
nonresident persons per day for more than six months per year.  
Examples of such systems are those serving the same individuals 
such as [(]industrial workers, school children, or church members[) 
by means of] using a separate system. 
[ (8)  "New Water System" means a system that will become 
a community water system or non-transient, non-community water 
system on or after October 1, 1999.] 
 [(9)  ]"Required [reserve]Reserve" [means funds ]Funds set 
aside to meet requirements set forth in a loan or bond 
covenant[/bond] or indenture. 
 "Transient Non-community Water System" An existing 
public water system, that is not a community water system, that 
regularly serves at least 25 of the same people over 6 months per year. 
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Examples of such systems include commercial or not-for-profit 
establishments that have their own water supply such as restaurants, 
roadside stops, campgrounds, and hotels. 
 Additional definitions are provided in Rule R309-110. 
 
R309-800-4.  General. 
 (1)  Capacity development criteria[ are to be used as a 
guideline for all water systems.  These criteria] constitute a standard 
applied [when reviewing new systems applications, reviewing 
applications for financial assistance and assessing capacity of water 
systems rated unapproved or in significant non-compliance with 
SDWA requirements or State drinking water rules by the State or the 
EPA.]in the following situations: 
 (a)  when reviewing new or proposed water system 
applications, including newly discovered water systems previously 
unknown to the Division that are providing drinking water to the 
public; 
 (b)  when reviewing applications for financial assistance; 
or 
 (c)  when assessing capacity of all water systems that are 
rated unapproved or are in significant noncompliance with SDWA 
requirements or State drinking water rules as determined by the 
state's Improvement Priority System or the Environmental Protection 
Agency's (EPA) Enforcement Targeting Tool. 
 These criteria may be used as a guideline for other water 
systems. Water systems may refer to the State's Existing System 
Capacity Development Strategy, available on the Division's website, 
for additional information on capacity development and assessments. 
 (2)  [Water systems shall meet the following 
criteria]Capacity Development Criteria: 
 (a)  Technical Capacity.[ Criteria:] 
 (i)  Finished water shall meet all drinking water standards 
as required by Utah State Rules[;]. 
 (ii)  Personnel shall operate the system in accordance with 
the operations and maintenance manual[;]. 
 (iii)  [A valid water right shall be obtained;]Water systems 
shall provide proof of sufficient water rights or valid water purchase 
contracts. 
 (iv)  Water systems shall meet source, storage, and 
distribution requirements as per Utah State Rules[;]. 
 (v)  [Water system shall not be rated unapproved or in 
significant noncompliance by the State or the EPA.]Existing systems 
rated unapproved or with a history of significant noncompliance, as 
determined by the state or the EPA, shall agree to undertake 
appropriate action to resolve noncompliance or become an approved 
system. 
 (b)  Managerial Capacity[ Criteria:]. 
 (i)  The system owner[(s)] and any management or 
ownership changes shall be clearly identified to the 
[Director;]Executive Secretary of the Drinking Water Board. 
 (ii)  The system shall meet all [of the operator ]certification 
requirements [as per ]defined in Rules R309-300 and [backflow 
technician certification requirements as per ]R309-305. 
 (iii)  [A ]The system shall implement a program[or method 
shall be in-place] to effectively [maintain ]manage all 
[requisite]system records, such as distribution system histories, [/] 
maps, asset inventory, and compliance information.[; and] 
 (iv)  [An]The system shall develop and maintain an 
operating plan [shall include ]that includes system operator names 
and certification levels[ of the system operator(s)], facility operation 
and maintenance manuals, routine maintenance procedures, water 
quality monitoring plan and violations response procedures,[ water 

quality monitoring plan,] training plan, and emergency response 
plan.[;] 
[ (v)  The Director shall be informed of management 
changes.] 
 (c)  Financial Capacity[ Criteria:]. 
 (i)  Revenues shall be greater than expenses.[;] 
 (ii)  A [financial statement compilation by a ]Certified 
Public Accountant must prepare a financial statement or perform[, or] 
an audit if otherwise required of the water system,[ shall be 
completed] at least every three years.[;] 
 (iii)  The water system shall devise and implement a 
managerial budget and accounting process in accordance with 
generally accepted principals.[;] 
 (iv)  The operating ratio, calculated as the [(]operating 
revenue divided by operating expenses excluding depreciation and 
required reserves[)], shall be greater than 1.0.[;] 
 (v)  The coverage ratio, calculated as the [(]total revenues 
minus operating expenses excluding depreciation and required 
reserves divided by annual debt service[)], shall be greater than 1.0.[;] 
 (vi)  Customers shall be metered[; and] or the water system 
shall take action to install meters. 
 (vii)  [An]The water system shall create and fund an 
emergency account[/]or a replacement reserve account.[ shall be 
created and funded.] 
 (d)  Asset Management. 
 (i)  Existing systems are encouraged to develop and 
implement an asset management plan that addresses the technical, 
managerial, and financial aspects of the five core components of asset 
management defined in Subsection R309-800-5(3). 
 (ii)  Retail water suppliers seeking financial assistance 
through Utah's State Revolving Fund must commit to develop and 
implement an asset management program as referenced in Section 
R309-700-5. 
 (iii)  Retail water suppliers seeking financial assistance 
through the federal State Revolving Fund must commit to develop 
and implement an asset management program as referenced in 
Section R309-705-5. 
[ (3)  Public Water Systems that use ground water, except 
those that combine all of their ground water with surface water or 
with ground water under the direct influence of surface water prior to 
treatment, but including consecutive systems receiving finished 
ground water shall be subject to the sanitary survey requirements of 
R309-100-7 and the significant deficiency requirements of R309-
215-16(3) in order to be in compliance with the Capacity 
Development Program requirements.] 
 Capacity Development Worksheets are required for all 
systems seeking financial assistance from the Drinking Water State 
Revolving Fund Program. 
 
R309-800-5.  Implementing an Asset Management Program. 
 (1)  Water systems are encouraged to develop and 
implement an asset management program. An asset management 
program provides the following benefits to water systems: 
 (a)  Prolong asset life. 
 (b)  Reducing overall costs for operations, maintenance, 
and capital expenditures. 
 (c)  Improving decisions about asset maintenance, 
rehabilitation, repair, and replacement. 
 (d)  Meeting customer demands with a focus on system 
sustainability. 
 (e)  Meeting service expectations and regulatory 
requirements. 
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 (f)  Improving responses to emergencies. 
 (g)  Improving asset safety and security. 
 (h)  Budgeting focused on critical activities for sustained 
performance. 
 (i)  Setting rates based on sound operational and financial 
planning. 
 (2)  An effective asset management program includes 
detailed asset inventories, operation and maintenance tasks and long-
range financial planning. These items should be captured in an asset 
management plan, which can be tailored to fit individual water 
system size and complexity. 
 (3)  The asset management plan shall address the following 
five core components: 
 (a)  The current state of the utility's assets. 
 (i)  Prepare an asset inventory. 
 (ii)  Develop a system map. 
 (iii)  Develop a method to assess and prioritize assets based 
on condition. 
 (iv)  Assess the asset's remaining useful life. 
 (v)  Determine asset value and replacement cost. 
 (b)  The utility's required sustainable level of service. 
 (i)  Analyze current customer demand and satisfaction. 
 (ii)  Analyze anticipated customer demand and satisfaction. 
 (iii)  Understand current regulatory requirements. 
 (iv)  Communicate system performance goals with the 
public. 
 (v)  Identify standard levels of services and track system 
performance. 
 (c)  Assets that are critical to sustained performance. 
 (i)  Conduct a failure analysis on all assets. 
 (ii)  Determine probability of failure. 
 (iii)  Analyze risk and consequences of failure. 
 (iv)  Prioritize system assets based on importance to system 
operation. 
 (v)  Develop specific response plans based on potential 
asset failure. 
 (d)  Minimum infrastructure life-cycle costs. 
 (i)  Implement an appropriate maintenance schedule, 
including costs for all assets. 
 (ii)  Identify life-cycle costs for all assets. 
 (iii)  Develop a capital improvement plan and an operations 
and maintenance strategy. 
 (iv)  Identify and compare the cost of rehabilitation versus 
replacement. 
 (v)  Determine the related costs of responding to asset 
failure. 
 (e)  Long-term budgeting strategy. 
 (i)  Regularly review system budget. 
 (ii)  Establish and fund a capital facilities account. 
 (iii)  Implement a rate structure to ensure financial 
sustainability. 
 (iv)  Explore asset renewal and replacement financing. 
 (v)  Identify financial assistance resources based on asset 
condition and importance. 
 (4)  All water systems subject to this rule shall complete the 
following: 
 (a)  Prepare and asset management plan as described in 
Subsection R309-800-5(3). 
 (b)  System's governing body shall formally adopt the asset 
management plan. 
 (c)  Submit proof of adoption to the Division. 

 (5)  In addition to the requirements in Subsection R309-
800-5(4), water systems applying for financial assistance from either 
the federal or state Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Financial 
Assistance Program must also submit their asset management plan to 
the Division for review or request sufficient funds to create an asset 
management plan. Asset management plans prepared using financial 
assistance from the Drinking Water Board shall be submitted to the 
Division for review. 
 
R309-800-6.  Requirements for New Community and New Non-
transient, Non-community Water Systems. 
[ (1)  Feasibility Review, (See R309-100-6).] 
 [(2)](1)  Each proposed, new water system must 
demonstrate that it has adequate technical, managerial, and financial 
capacity before it may provide water for human consumption.  
[Proposed ]These water systems shall submit the following for 
Capacity Assessment Review[:]. 
 [(3)](a)  Project Notification form, available on the 
[Internet at 
www.drinkingwater.utah.gov/blank_forms.htm.]Division's website. 
 [(4)](b)  A business plan, which includes a facilities plan, 
management plan, [and ]financial plan, and an asset management 
plan. 
 [(a)](i)  Facilities plan.  The facilities plan shall describe 
the scope of the water services to be provided and shall include the 
following[:]. 
 [(i)](A)  A description of the nature and extent of the area 
to be served[,] and provisions for extending the water supply system 
to include additional area.  The description shall include population 
and land use projections and forecasts of water usage[;]. 
 [(ii)](B)  An assessment of current and expected drinking 
water compliance based on monitoring data from the proposed water 
source[;]. 
 [(iii)](C)  A description of the alternatives considered, 
including interconnections with other existing water systems, and the 
reasons for selecting the method of providing water service. This 
description shall include the technical, managerial, financial, and 
operational reasons for the selected method[, and]. 
 [(iv)](D)  An engineering description of the facilities to be 
constructed, including [the ]construction [phases ]and future phases, 
and [future ]plans for expansion.  This description shall include an 
estimate of the full cost of any required construction, operation, and 
maintenance[;]. 
 [(b)](ii)  Management plan.  The management plan shall 
describe what is needed to provide for effective management and 
operation of the system, and shall include the following: 
 [(i)](A)  Documentation that the [applicant ]water system 
has the legal right and authority to take the measures necessary for 
the construction, operation, and maintenance of the system.  The 
documentation shall include evidence of ownership.[ if the applicant 
is the owner of the system or, if the applicant is not the owner, legally 
enforceable management contracts or agreements;] 
 [(ii)](B)  An operating plan that describes the tasks to be 
performed in managing and operating the system.  The operating plan 
shall consist of administrative and management organization charts, 
plans for staffing the system with certified operators, and provisions 
for an operations and maintenance manual[; and]. 
 [(iii)](C)  Documentation of credentials of management 
and operations personnel, cooperative agreements, or service 
contracts including demonstration of compliance with Rule R309-
300 water system operator certification rule[; and]. 
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 [(c)](iii)  Financial plan.  The financial plan shall describe 
the water system's expected revenues, cash flow, [income ]and 
issuance and repayment of debt for meeting the costs of construction, 
and the estimated costs of operation and maintenance for at least five 
years from the date the [applicant ]water system expects to begin 
[system ]operation. 
 (iv)  Asset Management Plan. The asset management plan 
shall include all the elements described in Subsection R309-800-5(3). 
 [(5)](c)  After the information required in this section has 
been submitted by the [applicant ]water system and is deemed 
complete, the Division [of Drinking Water ]shall conduct a Capacity 
Assessment Review.  The [applicant ]water system shall be notified 
in writing whether or not the new system has demonstrated adequate 
capacity.  No new community or non-transient, non-community 
system will be approved if it lacks adequate capacity. 
 [(6)](d)  [Those systems ]Water systems constructed 
without approval shall be subject to[:]  points as specified in Rule 
R309-400, and[/or] administrative [and/]or civil penalties and fines. 
 
R309-800-[6]7.  Minimum Capacity Required for Financial 
Assistance Under [Provisions of]Rules R309-700 and R309-705. 
 (1)  Applicants for financial assistance shall complete an 
application form, available on the [Internet at 
www.drinkingwater.utah.gov/blank_forms.htm]Division website.  
The application shall include project information and water system 
financial information. [and ]This information will be used to 
determine project and water system eligibility, establish project 
priority ranking, and provide a basis for determining financial 
assistance parameters. 
[ (2)(a)  As described in (3) below, applicants for financial 
assistance from the Federal Drinking Water State Revolving Loan 
Program are required to complete and submit Capacity Development 
worksheets to the Executive Secretary. 
 (b)  As described in (4) below, the Executive Secretary may 
require an applicant for a loan from the State's Revolving Loan 
Program to complete and submit Capacity Development worksheets 
for review.] 
 [(3)](2)  Financial assistance under the [provisions of]Rule 
R309-705[,]. Financial Assistance: Federal Drinking Water State 
Revolving Fund Loan Program.  Applicants for financial assistance 
from the Federal Drinking Water State Revolving Loan Program are 
required to complete and submit Capacity Development worksheets 
to the Executive Secretary.  Financial assistance shall not be available 
to a water system that lacks the technical, managerial, or financial 
capability to maintain SDWA compliance, or is in significant [non-
compliance]noncompliance with [any provisions of]Rules R309-200 
through R309-225 or Rules R309-500 through R309-550, unless: 
 (a)  The use of the financial assistance will ensure 
compliance with SDWA and Utah rules; or 
 (b)  The owner of the system agrees to undertake feasible 
and appropriate changes in operation to ensure technical, managerial, 
and financial capacity to maintain long-term compliance with 
SDWA. 
 [(4)](3)  Financial assistance under [the provisions of ]Rule 
R309-700. Financial Assistance: State Drinking Water State 
Revolving Fund Loan Program.  [A Capacity Development 
Assessment may be necessary]The Executive Secretary may require 
an applicant for a loan from the state Revolving Loan Program to 
complete and submit Capacity Development worksheets for review 
before [the Executive Secretary considers]considering whether a 
project is eligible for financial assistance[ under the State's Revolving 
Loan Program].  The decision will be based on available water 

system information obtained through sanitary surveys, site visits, 
monitoring and reporting data, or other valid means.  If, after review 
of available information, the Executive Secretary determines that a 
Capacity Development Assessment is necessary, [he will require that 
]the applicant must complete and submit the Capacity Development 
worksheets to the Division.  Otherwise, a Capacity Development 
Assessment is not required. 
 
KEY:  drinking water, funding, regionalization, capacity 
development 
Date of Last Change:  [May 23, 2011]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  March 12, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-4-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R311-200 Filing ID:  
55229 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Environmental Response and 

Remediation 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4840 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-200.  Petroleum Storage Tanks:  Definitions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Refining the definition in statute to meet the intent of S.B. 
40 from the 2021 General Session.  This will exempt 
specific AST systems that had not been considered when 
the statute was proposed. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
In Subsection R311-200-1(2)(a)(iii)(A), removed a 
redundancy from this rule that is appropriate in statute but 
not in rule.  Added exceptions to the definition of an APST. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures because 
these AST systems are currently exempt and will remain 
exempt from regulations. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures because 
these AST systems are currently exempt and will remain 
exempt from regulations. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
to small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
these AST systems are currently exempt and will remain 
exempt from regulations. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
to non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures 
because these AST systems are currently exempt and will 
remain exempt from regulations. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on other persons' revenues or expenditures because 
these AST systems are currently exempt and will remain 
exempt from regulations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No compliance costs are anticipated to affected parties 
because these AST systems are currently exempt and will 
remain exempt from regulations. 
 

G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
No fiscal impacts on businesses are expected by this rule.  
Kim Shelley, Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-403  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
03/13/2023 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building, 195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT in Room 
1015 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/29/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brent Everett,  
Director 

Date: 02/09/2023 

 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-200.  Petroleum Storage Tanks:  Definitions. 
R311-200-1.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 19-6-402. 
 (2)  In addition, for purposes of this rule: 
 (a)  Aboveground petroleum storage tank" or "APST" 
means a storage tank that is, by volume, less than 10 % buried in the 
ground, including the pipes connected to the storage tank and: 
 (i)  has attached underground piping; or 
 (ii)  rests directly on the ground; 
 (A)  contains regulated substances; 
 (B)  has the capacity to hold 501 gallons or more; and 
 (iii)  is not: 
 (A)  used in agricultural operations[, as defined by the 
board by rule made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act]; 
 (B)  used for heating oil for consumptive use on the 
premises where stored; 
 (C)  related to a petroleum facility under SIC Code 2911 or 
5171 of the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification Manual of the 
federal Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and 
Budget; 
 (D)  directly related to oil or gas production, [and 
]gathering and transmission operations;[ or] 
 (E)  used in the fueling of aircraft or ground service 
equipment at a commercial airport that serves passengers or cargo, 
with commercial airport defined in Section 72-10-102;[.] 
 (F)  oil filled electrical equipment, including, but not 
limited to, transformers, circuit breakers, or capacitors; 
 (G)  a stationary aboveground storage tank that is installed, 
rendered immobile, and intended for use on a property for no more 
than 180 consecutive days; 
 (H)  an used oil collection tank regulated under Section 19-
6-710; 
 (I)  an airport hydrant fuel distribution system at a military 
facility; 

 (J)  any AST that contains a de minimis concentration of 
regulated substances; 
 (K)  an AST used to store liquefied petroleum gases that are 
not liquid at standard temperature and pressure; or 
 (L)  an aboveground hot-oil tank or container that is used 
to store petroleum products that will be manufactured into asphalt 
paving material. 
 (b)  "Actively participated" for the certification programs 
means that the individual applying for certification must have had 
operative experience for the entire project from start to finish, 
whether it be an installation or a removal. 
 (c)  "Agricultural operation" means any operation on a tract 
of land devoted to the production of crops, animals, or fowl; fruit or 
vegetable products; or the production of dairy, nuts, tobacco, nursery, 
or floral products. 
 (d)  "As-built drawing" for notification means a drawing to 
scale of newly constructed PSTs.  The PSTs shall be referenced to 
buildings, streets, and limits of the excavation.  The drawing shall 
show the locations of tanks, product lines, dispensers, vent lines, 
cathodic protection systems, and monitoring wells.  Drawing size 
must be limited to 8-1/2" x 11" if possible, but shall in no case be 
larger than 11" x 17". 
 (e)  "Backfill" means any foreign material, usually pea 
gravel or sand, which usually differs from the native soil and is used 
to support or cover the PST system. 
 (f)  "Certificate" means a document that evidences 
certification. 
 (g)  "Certification" means approval by the director or the 
board to engage in the activity applied for by the individual. 
 (h)  "Certified environmental laboratory" means a 
laboratory certified by the Utah Department of Health and Human 
Services as outlined in Rule R444-14 to perform analyses according 
to the laboratory methods identified for PST sampling in Subsection 
R311-205-2(5). 
 (i)  "Certified sampler" is the person who performs 
environmental media sampling for compliance with Utah PST rules. 
 (j)  "Change-in-service" means the continued use of a[n] 
PST to store a non-regulated substance. 
 (k)  "Claimant" means any person eligible to submit 
requests for reimbursement of costs against the Petroleum Storage 
Tank Fund as determined by the director. 
 (l)  "Community water system" means a public water 
system that serves at least 15 service connections used by year-round 
residents or regularly serves at least 25 year-round residents. 
 (m)  "Confirmation sample" means an environmental 
sample taken, excluding closure samples as outlined in Section R311-
205-2, during soil over-excavation or any other remedial or 
investigation activities conducted to determine the extent and degree 
of contamination. 
 (n)  "Consultant" is a person who is a certified PST 
consultant according to Subsection 19-6-402(7) and Section R311-
201-2. 
 (o)  "Cost Guidelines" refers to the Cost Guidelines for 
Utah Underground Storage Tank Sites document, dated June 3, 2021.  
This document contains personnel classifications, requirements, and 
rates, general tasks and responsibilities for personnel, maximum 
allowable equipment and laboratory rates, and specific items or 
activities that will and will not be reimbursed by the Petroleum 
Storage Tank Fund. 
 (p)  "Customary, reasonable, and legitimate expenses" 
means costs incurred during the investigation, abatement, and 
corrective actions that address a release which are normally charged 
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according to accepted industry standards, and which must be justified 
in an audit as an appropriate cost.  The costs must be directly related 
to the tasks performed. 
 (q)  "Customary, reasonable, and legitimate work" means 
work for investigation, abatement, and corrective action that shall 
reduce contamination at a site to levels that are protective of human 
health and the environment.  Acceptable levels may be established by 
risk-based analysis and considering current or probable land use as 
determined by the director following the criteria in Rule R311-211. 
 (r)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Environmental Quality. 
 (s)  "EAP" means the Environmental Assurance Program 
established in Section 19-6-410.5. 
 (t)  "Eligible exempt UST" for eligibility for the Petroleum 
Storage Tank Fund means a tank specified in Subsection 19-6-415(1). 
 (u)  "Environmental media sample" is a groundwater, 
surface water, air, or soil sample collected, using appropriate 
methods, for evaluating environmental contamination. 
 (v)  "EPA" means the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency. 
 (w)  "Expeditiously disposed of" means disposed of as soon 
as practical so as not to become a potential threat to human health or 
safety or the environment, whether foreseen or unforeseen as 
determined by the director. 
 (x)  "Fiscal year" means a period beginning July 1 and 
ending June 30 of the following year. 
 (y)  "Full installation" for the purposes of Subsection 19-6-
411(2) means the installation of a PST. 
 (z)  "Groundwater sample" is a sample of water from below 
the surface of the ground collected according to protocol established 
in Rule R311-205. 
 (aa)  "Historic contamination" as referenced in Subsections 
19-6-428(3)(c) and 19-6-428(3)(d) is petroleum contamination: 
 (i)  reported after the start of continuous participation in the 
EAP that has no apparent cause or source and for which the director 
reasonably determines to have occurred during a period of non-
participation; or 
 (ii)  a release which does not meet the definition of a new 
release. 
 (bb)  "Injury or damage from a release" means, for the 
purposes of Subsection 19-6-409(2)(e), any petroleum contamination 
that has migrated from the release onto or under a third party's 
property at concentrations exceeding Initial Screening Levels 
specified in Subsection R311-211-6(1). 
 (cc)  "In service" means an PST that is actively storing or 
dispensing regulated substances. 
 (dd)  "In use" means that an operational, inactive, or 
abandoned PST contains a regulated substance, sludge, dissolved 
fractions, or vapor which may pose a threat to the safety of human 
health or the environment, as determined by the director. 
 (ee)  "Lapse" in reference to the certificate of compliance 
and coverage under the EAP, means to terminate automatically. 
 (ff)  "Native soil" means any soil that is not backfill 
material, is naturally occurring, and is most representative of the 
localized subsurface lithology and geology. 
 (gg)  "New release" as referenced in Subsections 19-6-
428(3)(c) and 19-6-428(3)(d) are releases that occur on or after the 
start date for continuous participation in the EAP, which the director 
reasonably determines to have occurred due to an unusual operating 
condition, an apparent PST system equipment failure, a failed PST 
test, an overfill, or a surface spill during the time of program 
participation. 

 (hh)  "No further action determination" means that the 
director has evaluated information provided by responsible parties or 
others about the site and determined that any detectable petroleum 
contamination from a particular release does not present a threat to 
public health or the environment based upon board established 
criteria in Title R311.  If future evidence indicates contamination 
from that release may cause a threat, further corrective action may be 
required. 
 (ii)  "Occurrence" in reference to Section R311-208-4 
means a separate petroleum fuel delivery to a single tank. 
 (jj)  "Owners and operators" means either an owner or 
operator, or both owner and operator. 
 (kk)  "Over-excavation" means any soil removed in an 
effort to investigate or remediate in addition to the minimum amount 
required to remove the PST or take environmental media samples 
during PST closure activities as outlined in Section R311-205-2. 
 (ll)  "Permanently closed" means PSTs that are removed 
from service following guidelines in 40 CFR Part 280 Subpart G 
[adopted]incorporated by Rule R311-202. 
 (mm)  "Petroleum storage tank fee" means the fee which 
funds the Petroleum Storage Tank Fund as established in Section 19-
6-409. 
 (nn)  "Petroleum Storage Tank Fund" means the Fund 
created by Section 19-6-409. 
 (oo)  "Potable drinking water well" means any hole, dug, 
driven, drilled, or bored, that extends into the earth until it meets 
groundwater which supplies water for a non-community public water 
system, or otherwise supplies water for household use, consisting of 
drinking, bathing, and cooking, or other similar uses.  Such a well 
may provide water to entities such as a single-family residence, group 
of residences, businesses, schools, parks, campgrounds, and other 
permanent or seasonal communities. 
 (pp)  "PST" means petroleum storage tank as defined in 
Subsection 19-6-402(21). 
 (qq)  "PST inspection" is the inspection required by state 
and applicable federal underground storage tank rules and regulations 
during the installation, testing, repairing, operation or maintenance, 
and removal of regulated PSTs. 
 (rr)  "PST installation" means the installation of a PST, 
including any component that is critical to: 
 (i)  the integrity of the system; 
 (ii)  protection of the environment; and 
 (iii)  qualifying for a certificate of compliance. 
 (ss)  "PST testing" means: 
 (i)  a testing method which can detect leaks in a PST 
system; 
 (ii)  testing for compliance with corrosion protection 
requirements; 
 (iii)  testing or inspection for proper operation of overfill 
prevention devices and electronic or mechanical leak detection 
components; 
 (iv)  any testing requirements for exempt USTs or 
aboveground storage tanks that voluntarily participate in the EAP; or 
 (v)  testing methods that meet applicable performance 
standards: 
 (A)  40 CFR 280.40(a)(4), 280.43(c), and 280.44(b) for 
tank and product piping tightness testing; 
 (B)  40 CFR 280.35(a)(1)(ii) for testing of spill prevention 
equipment and containment sumps used for interstitial monitoring of 
piping; 
 (C)  40 CFR 280.31(b) for cathodic protection testing; 
 (D)  40 CFR 280.35(a)(2) for overfill device inspection; 
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 (E)  40 CFR 280.40(a)(3) for testing of mechanical and 
electronic release detection components; and 
 (F)  interstitial testing for tank and piping secondary 
containment. 
 (tt)  "Public water system" means a system for the provision 
to the public of water for human consumption through pipes or, after 
August 5, 1998, other constructed conveyances, if such system has at 
least 15 service connections or regularly serves an average of at least 
25 individuals daily at least 60 days out of the year.  It includes any 
collection, treatment, storage, and distribution facilities under control 
of the operator of the system and used primarily in connection with 
the system; and, any collection or pretreatment storage facilities not 
under such control which are used primarily in connection with the 
system. 
 (uu)  "Registration fee" means PST registration fee. 
 (vv)  "Related parties" for the purposes of Section R311-
207-4, means organizations or persons related to the consultant by 
any of the following:  marriage; blood; one or more partners in 
common with the consultant; one or more directors or officers in 
common with the consultant; more than 10% common ownership 
direct or indirect with the consultant. 
 (ww)  "Reportable release" means a spill, overfill, leak, 
discharge, leachate, or disposal of a regulated substance that results 
in a release to the environment. 
 (xx)  "Rests directly on the ground" means that at least 
some portion of a PST situated aboveground is in direct contact with 
soil. 
 (yy)  "Secondary containment" 
 (i)  for the purposes of Rule R311-202 and Section R311-
203-6, means a release prevention and detection system for a tank or 
piping that has an inner and outer barrier with an interstitial space 
between them for monitoring.  The monitoring of the interstitial space 
must meet the requirements of 40 CFR 280.43(g). 
 (ii)  for the purposes of Subsection R311-206-4(6), means 
a dike, vault, enclosure, berm, double-walled system, or any other 
barrier that meets the secondary containment standards listed in the 
International Fire Code (IFC) 2306.5 and 5704.2.10. 
 (zz)  "Site assessment" or "site check" is an evaluation of 
the level of contamination at a site which contains or has contained a 
PST. 
 (aaa)  "Site assessment report" is a summary of relevant 
information describing the surface and subsurface conditions at a 
facility following any abatement, investigation or assessment, 
monitoring, remediation or corrective action activities as outlined in 
Rule R311-202, incorporating 40 CFR 280 Subparts E and F. 
 (bbb)  "Site investigation" is work performed by the owner 
or operator, or their designee, when gathering information for reports 
required for Utah PST rules. 
 (ccc)  "Site plat" for notification or reporting, refers to a 
drawing to scale of PSTs in reference to the facility.  The scale should 
be dimensioned appropriately.  Drawing size shall be limited to 8-
1/2" x 11" if possible, but must in no case be larger than 11" x 17".  
The site plat should include the following:  property boundaries; 
streets and orientation; buildings or adjacent structures surrounding 
the facility; present or former PSTs; extent of any excavations; 
location and volume of any stockpiled soil; locations, depths, and 
analytical results of all environmental media samples collected; 
locations and total depths of borings or permanent wells, or other 
measurement or data points; type of ground-cover; utility conduits; 
local land use; surface water drainage; and other relevant features. 

 (ddd)  "Site under control" means that the site of a release 
has been actively addressed by the owner or operator who has taken 
the following measures: 
 (i)  fire and explosion hazards have been abated; 
 (ii)  free flow of the product out of the tank has been 
stopped; 
 (iii)  free product is being removed from the soil, 
groundwater, or surface water according to a work plan or corrective 
action plan approved by the director, except as allowed by 
Subsections 19-6-420(3)(b) and 19-6-420(6); 
 (iv)  alternative water supplies have been provided to 
affected parties whose original water supply has been contaminated 
by the release; and 
 (v)  a soil or groundwater management plan or both have 
been submitted for approval by the director. 
 (eee)  "Soil" as referenced in Subsection 19-6-402(28) 
means natural earthen material under which there is no secondary 
containment. 
 (fff)  "Soil sample" is a sample collected following the 
protocol established in Rule R311-205. 
 (ggg)  "Surface water sample" is a sample of water, other 
than a groundwater sample, collected according to protocol 
established in Rule R311-205. 
 (iii)  "Suspected release" means a release that may have 
occurred from a regulated PST system, for example:  petroleum 
contamination discovered at the PST site or in the surrounding area; 
unusual operating conditions of the PST system; release detection 
methods indicating a release may have occurred;  inventory control 
records indicating unexplained product loss; or, a spill or overfill that 
occurs outside secondary containment and exceeds 25 gallons. 
 (hhh)  "Tank" is a stationary device designed to contain an 
accumulation of regulated substances and constructed of non-earthen 
materials, such as concrete, steel, or plastic, that provide structural 
support. 
 (iii)  "Third-party Class B operator" is any individual who 
is not the facility owner or operator, or an employee of the owner or 
operator and who, by contract, provides the services outlined in 
Subsection R311-201-12(7). 
 (jjj)  "Under-dispenser containment," for the purposes of 
Section R311-203-6, means containment underneath a dispenser that 
will prevent leaks from the dispenser or transitional components that 
connect the piping to the dispenser, check valves, shear valves, 
unburied risers or flex connectors, or other components that are 
beneath the dispenser, from reaching soil or groundwater. 
 (kkk)  "UST inspector" is an individual who performs PST 
inspections for compliance with state and federal rules and 
regulations as authorized in Subsection 19-6-404(2)(c). 
 (lll)  "UST installation" means the installation of [an ]a 
PST, including construction, placing into operation, building, or 
assembling [an ]a PST in the field.  It includes any operation that is 
critical to the integrity of the system and to the protection of the 
environment, which includes: 
 (i)  pre-installation tank testing, tank site preparation 
including anchoring, tank placement, and backfilling; 
 (ii)  vent and product piping assembly; 
 (iii)  cathodic protection installation, service, and repair; 
 (iv)  internal lining; 
 (v)  secondary containment construction; and 
 (vi)  UST repair and service. 
 (mmm)  "UST installation permit fee" means the fee 
established by Subsection 19-6-411(2)(a)(ii). 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

76 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 05 

 (nnn)  "UST installer" means an individual who engages in 
PST installation. 
 (ooo)  "UST removal" means the removal or permanent 
closure of a PST system by taking out of service all or part of a PST 
system. 
 (ppp)  "UST remover" means an individual who engages in 
PST tank removal. 
 (qqq)  "UST tester" means an individual who engages in 
PST testing. 
 
KEY:  petroleum, underground storage tanks 
Date of Last Change:  2023[July 15, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-6-105; 
19-6-403 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R311-202 Filing ID:  
55230 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Environmental Response and 

Remediation 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4840 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-202.  Federal Underground Storage Tank 
Regulations 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Clarifying which Subparts of 40 CFR 280, the Division of 
Environmental Response and Remediation will use as the 
standards for APST release investigation, cleanup, and 

financial responsibility that were implemented by S.B. 40 
passed in the 2021 General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Format and numbering are updated to match the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual requirements.  Incorporates portions 
of the Federal Underground Storage Tank Regulations to 
be used as the standards for APST owners and operators 
to follow.  APST owners and operators must meet the 
same standards for release reporting, investigation, 
confirmation, corrective action, and financial responsibility 
as UST owners and operators. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Any fiscal cost to state government was accounted for in 
the fiscal note attached to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Any fiscal cost to local government was accounted for in 
the fiscal note attached to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Any fiscal cost to small businesses was accounted for in 
the fiscal note attached to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Any fiscal cost to non-small businesses was accounted for 
in the fiscal note attached to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Any fiscal cost to other persons was accounted for in the 
fiscal note attached to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any compliance costs for affected persons was accounted 
for in the fiscal note attached to S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
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this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
No fiscal impacts on businesses are expected by this rule.  
Kim Shelley, Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-403  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
03/13/2023 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building, 195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT in Room 
1015 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/29/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brent Everett,  
Director 

Date: 02/09/2023 

 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-202.  Federal Underground Storage Tank Regulations. 
R311-202-1.  Incorporation by Reference. 
 (1)  This rule incorporates by reference 40 CFR Part 280, 
the federal underground storage tank regulations, in effect as of 
October 13, 2015, except that: 
 ([1]a)  40 CFR 280 Subpart J is not incorporated by 
reference; 
 ([2]b)  the definitions of Class A operator, Class B operator, 
Class C operator, and Training program in 40 CFR 280.12 are not 
incorporated by reference; 
 ([3]c)  [T]the date October 13, 2015 in 280.10(a)(1)(ii), 
280.10(a)(1)(iii), 280.20(c)(3), 280.35(b)(1), 280.35(b)(2), 280.42(a) 
note, 280.42(e), 280.45(a), 280.251(a)(1), 280.251(a)(2), 280.251(b), 
280.252(b), 280.252(e), 40 CFR Part 280 appendix 1, and 40 CFR 
Part 280 appendix 2 is, in each instance, changed to January 1, 2017; 
and 
 ([4]d)  [T]the date April 11, 2016 in 280.20, 
280.20(f),280.41(a)(1), 280.41(a)(2), 280.41(b)(1), and 280.41(b)(2) 
is, in each instance, changed to January 1, 2017. 
 (2)  Owners or operators of APSTs must follow the 
requirements and standards as set forth in 40 CFR Part 280 Subparts 
E, F, and H. 
 (a)  Any references in these Subparts to USTs, UST 
systems, UST owners or operators, UST excavation zones, UST 
program, UST release, or UST sites also apply to APSTs. 
 (b)  Releases of hazardous substances, as referenced in 40 
CFR 280.12, from ASTs are not subject to Subsection R311-202-
1(2)(a). 
 
KEY:  hazardous substances, petroleum, underground storage 
tanks 
Date of Last Change:  2023[January 1, 2017] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-6-105; 
19-6-403 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R311-206 Filing ID:  
55231 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Environmental Response and 

Remediation 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144840 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4840 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
David Wilson 385-

251-
0893 

djwilson@utah.gov 

Therron Blatter 801-
554-
6762 

tblatter@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R311-206.  Petroleum Storage Tanks:  Certificate of 
Compliance and Financial Assurance Mechanisms 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Clarifying that APST owners or operators financial 
assurance amounts must meet the same amounts and 
scope defined in 40 CFR 280.93 for USTs.  The changes 
will specifically require owners or operators to declare on 
their application for a Certificate of Compliance whether 
they are participating in the EAP or demonstrate the FA 
meets the requirements in Subsection R311-206-2(1)(b) 
and Section R311-206-5. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
In Subsection R311-206-2(1)(b), in response to S.B. 40 
passed in the 2021 General Session, added FA for APST 
facilities must meet the same coverage amounts as USTs 
specified in 40 CFR 280.93. 
 
In Subsection R311-206-3(1)(e), added that owners or 
operators must declare on their application for a Certificate 

of Compliance that they are participating in the EAP or 
demonstrate their FA meets the requirements found in 
Subsection R311-206-2(1)(b) and Section R311-206-5. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures because 
all state owned facilities with PSTs are required to 
participate in the Environmental Assurance Program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures because 
all proposed changes to the rule are clarifications of what 
was required by S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on small businesses' revenues or expenditures because 
all proposed changes to the rule are just clarifications of 
what was required by S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures 
because all proposed changes to the rule are just 
clarifications of what was required by S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on other persons revenues or expenditures because 
proposed changes to the rule are clarifications of what was 
required by S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No compliance costs are anticipated to affected parties 
because proposed changes to this rule are clarifications of 
what was required by S.B. 40 (2021). 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
No fiscal impacts on businesses are expected by this rule.  
Kim Shelley, Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-403 Section 19-6-428 
Section 19-6-
410.5 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
On: At: At: 
03/13/2023 02:00 PM Multi Agency State 

Office Building, 195 
N 1950 W, Salt Lake 
City, UT in Room 
1015 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

06/29/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brent Everett,  
Director 

Date: 02/09/2023 

 
R311.  Environmental Quality, Environmental Response and 
Remediation. 
R311-206.  Petroleum Storage Tanks:  Certificate of Compliance 
and Financial Assurance Mechanisms. 
R311-206-1.  Definitions. 
 Definitions are found in Rule R311-200. 
 
R311-206-2.  Declaration of Financial Assurance Mechanism. 
 (1)  To demonstrate financial assurance, as required by 
Section 19-6-412 and Subsection 19-6-407(2)(c), owners or 
operators of petroleum storage tanks must: 
 (a)  declare they will participate in the EAP and meet the 
requirements for participation in the EAP under Sections 19-6-410.5, 
19-6-428 and R311-206-4; or 
 (b)  demonstrate financial assurance that meets the 
coverage amounts specified in 40 CFR 280.93, by an allowable 
method specified in Section R311-206-5. 
 (2)  For the purposes of Subsection 19-6-412(6), tanks at a 
facility must be covered by the same financial assurance mechanism, 
and must be considered to be in one area, unless the director 
determines there is sufficient information so that releases from 
different tanks at the facility could be accurately differentiated. 
 
R311-206-3.  Requirements for Issuance of Certificates of 
Compliance. 
 (1)  The director shall issue a certificate of compliance to 
an owner or operator for individual petroleum storage tanks at a 
facility if: 
 (a)  the owner or operator has a certificate of registration; 
 (b)  the owner or operator must certify that the PST is in 
substantial compliance with state and federal statutes, rules, and 
regulations applicable to PST systems; 
 (i)  APSTs using the EAP for financial responsibility, the 
owner or operator may meet the requirements outlined in Subsection 
R311-206-4(6). 
 (c)  the tank tightness test, as required by Section 19-6-413 
conducted within six months before the tank was registered or within 
60 days after the date the tank was registered, indicates that each 
individual PST is not leaking; 
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 (d)  the owner or operator has submitted a letter to the 
director stating that based on customary business inventory practices 
standards there has been no release from the tank; 
 (e)  the owner or operator has submitted a completed 
application according to a form provided and approved by the 
director, and participates in the EAP or demonstrates that the 
financial assurance that will be used meets the requirements of 
Subsection R311-206-2(1)(b) and Section R311-206-5[demonstrated 
the financial assurance mechanism that will be used]; 
 (f)  the owner or operator has met the requirements for the 
financial assurance mechanism chosen, including payment of 
applicable fees; 
 (g)  the owner or operator has submitted an as-built 
drawing, for newly-installed systems, that meets the requirements of 
Subsection R311-200-1(2)(d) or a site plat, for existing systems, that 
meets the requirements of Subsection R311-200-1(2)(ccc); and 
 (h)  the owner or operator has, for newly-installed tanks, 
submitted the completed tank manufacturer's installation checklist. 
 
R311-206-4.  Requirements for Environmental Assurance 
Program Participants. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 19-6-411(1)(a), the 
annual facility throughput rate, if reported, shall be reported to the 
director as a specific number of gallons, based on the throughput for 
the previous calendar year. 
 (2)  In accordance with Subsection 19-6-411(1)(b), when a 
petroleum storage tank is initially registered with the director, any 
petroleum storage tank fee for that tank for the current fiscal year is 
due when the tank is brought into use, as a requirement for receiving 
a certificate of compliance. 
 (3)  In accordance with Subsection 19-6-411(2)(a)(i), if an 
installation company receives its annual permit after the beginning of 
the fiscal year, the annual fee must be paid for the entire year. 
 (4)  Auditing of PST facility throughput records. 
 (a)  owners and operators must retain for seven years the 
monthly tank throughput records of the facility. 
 (b)  tank throughput records shall include financial and 
product documentation for receipts, deliveries, transfers, and 
inventories. 
 (c)  the director may audit or commission an audit, by an 
independent auditor, of records which support the amount of 
throughput, for each tank at a participant's facility. 
 (i)  records must be made available at the department for 
inspection within 30 calendar days after receiving notice from the 
director. 
 (ii)  audits may be determined by random selection or for 
particular reasons, including suspicion or discovery of inaccuracies 
in throughput reports, aggregating throughput reports, having a 
release, or filing a claim. 
 (iii)  auditing tank throughput may be accomplished by any 
method approved by the director. 
 (iv)  costs of an independent audit shall be paid by the 
owner or operator. 
 (5)  Owners or operators eligible for participation in the 
EAP must demonstrate financial assurance for the difference between 
coverage provided by the EAP and coverage amounts required by 40 
CFR 280 Subpart H. 
 (a)  if the owner or operator chooses self-insurance as the 
mechanism for demonstrating financial assurance for the difference, 
they must document a tangible net worth of $10,000 upon request and 
to the satisfaction of the director. 

 (i)  the director may require the owner or operator to submit 
an independent audit to demonstrate new worth for self-insurance. 
 (A)  the owner or operator will bear the expense for the 
audit. 
 (B)  the criteria for an audit are the same as set forth in 
Subsection R311-206-4(4)(b). 
 (b)  an owner or operator may also select and document 
another mechanism specified in 40 CFR 280.94 to demonstrate 
financial assurance for the difference. 
 (c)  the processing fee requirement referenced in 
Subsection R311-206-5(2) is not applicable because the 
administrative cost is covered by the EAP fee. 
 (6)  For a facility with an APST using the EAP for financial 
responsibility, the director shall issue a certificate of compliance to 
an owner or operator for individual APSTs, if: 
 (a)  before July 1, 2026, the owner or operator: 
 (i)  documents compliance with spill prevention equipment 
requirements and submits a spill prevention equipment test; and 
 (ii)  documents compliance with applicable leak detection 
and testing requirements outlined in Section R311-203-5. 
 (b)  on or after July 1, 2026, the owner or operator: 
 (i)  if applicable, documents compliance with cathodic 
protection requirements and submits a cathodic protection test, if 
required by Subsection R311-203-5(10)(d) indicating that the 
cathodic protection system is functioning properly; 
 (ii)  documents compliance with overfill prevention 
requirements and submits an overfill prevention equipment 
inspection per Subsection R311-203-5(10)(e); 
 (iii)  documents compliance with automatic line leak 
detector and submits an automatic line leak detector test, if required 
by Subsection R311-203-5(10)(f), indicating that each individual 
automatic line leak detector is functioning properly; and 
 (iv)  documents compliance with APST secondary 
containment requirements as outlined in International Fire Code 
2306.5 & 5704.2.10 referenced in the Utah State Fire Code pursuant 
to Section 15A-5-103. 
 
R311-206-5.  Requirements for Owners and Operators 
Demonstrating Financial Assurance by Other Methods. 
 (1)  Owners and operators who elect to utilize an alternate 
form of financial assurance must meet the minimum coverage 
amounts using one or a combination of mechanisms as outlined in 40 
CFR 280.94. 
 (a)  owners and operators must submit to the director the 
documents required by 40 CFR 280.111 to be kept and maintained 
for the mechanism used. 
 (b)  formats, calculations, letters, reporting, and record 
keeping shall be done in accordance with each applicable financial 
assurance mechanism specified in 40 CFR 280 subpart H. 
 (c)  if the financial assurance documentation submitted to 
the director is not in accordance with 40 CFR 280 subpart H, it shall 
be rejected and shall be invalid. 
 (2)  The processing fee established in Subsection 19-6-
408(2) for each new or changed financial assurance document 
submitted for approval shall be included with the financial assurance 
document and shall be payable to the Department. 
 (a)  processing fees for subsequent reviews of financial 
assurance documents are due on July 1 of the fiscal year for which 
the review is required. 
 (b)  pursuant to 40 CFR 280.97, if the financial assurance 
mechanism is an insurance policy, the insurer is liable for payment of 
amounts within any deductible applicable to the policy to the 
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provider of corrective action or a damaged third party, with right of 
reimbursement by the insured for such payment made by the insurer. 
 (i)  this provision does not apply with respect to that amount 
of any deductible for which coverage is demonstrated under another 
mechanism or combination of mechanisms as specified in 40 CFR 
280.95 through 280.102 and 280.104 through 280.107. 
 (ii)  a showing of financial assurance for the deductible, if 
such a showing is made, shall be treated as a separate financial 
assurance mechanism subject to the processing fee requirement 
referenced in Subsection R311-206-5(2). 
 (c)  if an owner or operator desires to make any material 
change to the financial assurance document, the change shall be 
approved by the director, and an additional processing fee shall be 
paid in circumstances as determined by the director. 
 (3)  Evidence of a current and approved financial assurance 
mechanism must be reported to the director as follows: 
 (a)  owners and operators using the financial test of self-
insurance must submit the "Letter from Chief Financial Officer" to 
the director within the maximum 120-day period specified in 40 CFR 
280.95. 
 (b)  owners and operators using insurance and risk retention 
group coverage for financial assurance must submit the coverage 
policy in its entirety, with the current Certificate of Insurance or 
Endorsement specified in 40 CFR 280.97(b), to the director within 
30 days of acceptance of such policy by the insurer or risk retention 
group. 
 (i)  if the insurance policy or risk retention group coverage 
is canceled, the insurer or risk retention group shall provide written 
notice of cancellation or other termination of coverage required by 
40 CFR 280.97(b)(1)2.d. and 280.97(b)(2)2.d. to the director as well 
as the insured. 
 (ii)  the insurer must have a rating of A- or greater by A.M. 
Best Co. 
 (c)  owners and operators using an irrevocable letter of 
credit must submit proof of the letter of credit, standby trust fund, and 
formal certification of acknowledgement to the director within 30 
days of issuance from the issuing institution. 
 (d)  owners and operators using a fully funded trust fund 
for financial assurance must submit proof of the trust fund and formal 
certification of acknowledgement to the director within 30 days after 
implementation of the trust fund. 
 (e)  owners and operators using a guarantee for financial 
assurance shall submit the Guarantee document, standby trust fund, 
and certification of acknowledgement to the director within 30 days 
of issuance. 
 (i)  the owner or operator must also submit the guarantor's 
letter from the chief financial officer within the 120-day period 
specified in 40 CFR 280.95. 
 (f)  owners and operators using a surety bond for financial 
assurance must submit the surety bond document, standby trust fund, 
and certification of acknowledgement to the director within 30 days 
of issuance. 
 (g)  guarantees and surety bonds may be used as financial 
assurance mechanisms in Utah only if the requirement of 40 CFR 
Part 280.94(b) is met. 
 (h)  owners and operators using one of the local 
government methods specified in 40 CFR 280.104 through 280.107 
must submit the letter from the chief financial officer and associated 
documents to the director within 120 days of the end of the owner, 
operator, or guarantor's fiscal year. 

 (4)  The director may require reports of financial condition 
or any other information relative to justification of the financial 
assurance mechanism from the owner or operator at any time. 
 (a)  information requested must be reported to the director 
within 30 calendar days after receiving the request. 
 (b)  owners and operators must maintain evidence of all 
financial assurance mechanisms as specified in 40 CFR 280.111. 
 (c)  owners and operators must keep records of all financial 
assurance mechanisms in accordance with 40 CFR 280.111 and 
280.113. 
 (d)  the director may audit or commission an audit of 
records supporting the financial assurance mechanism at any time. 
 (i)  audits may be determined by random selection or for 
specific reasons, including the occurrence of a release or suspected 
release, deficiencies in complying with regulations or orders, or the 
suspicion or discovery of inaccuracies. 
 (ii)  auditing of financial assurance methods may be 
accomplished by any method approved by the director. 
 (5)  Any costs of securing a selected financial assurance 
mechanism and generating and providing the necessary reporting 
evidence of an assurance mechanism to the director is the sole 
responsibility of the owner or operator. 
 (6)  Processing of the alternate financial assurance 
mechanism documents may be accomplished utilizing any method 
approved by the director. 
 
R311-206-6.  Voluntary Admission of Eligible Exempt 
Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks and Eligible Exempt 
Aboveground Storage Tanks Containing Petroleum to the 
Environmental Assurance Program. 
 (1)  Owners or operators of eligible exempt USTs specified 
in Subsection 19-6-415(1)(a) may voluntarily participate in the EAP 
by: 
 (a)  performing a site check in accordance with Rule R311-
205; 
 (b)  meeting the requirements of Subsections 19-6-
428(3)(a), 19-6-415(1) and R311-206-3(1); 
 (c)  properly performing release detection according to the 
requirements of 40 CFR Part 280 Subpart D; and 
 (d)  meeting the upgrade requirements in 40 CFR 280.21 or 
the new tank requirements in 40 CFR 280.20, as applicable. 
 (2)  Owners or operators of eligible exempt aboveground 
storage tanks containing petroleum may voluntarily participate in the 
EAP by 
 (a)  performing a site check in accordance with Rule R311-
205; and 
 (b)  meeting the requirements of Subsections 19-6-415(2) 
and 19-6-428(3)(a), and Sections R311-206-3 and R311-206-4. 
 
R311-206-7.  Revocation and Lapsing of Certificates. 
 (1)  The director shall revoke a certificate of compliance or 
registration if the director determines that the owner or operator has 
willfully submitted a fraudulent application or is not in compliance 
with any requirement pertaining to the certificate. 
 (2)  A PST owner or operator who has had a certificate of 
compliance revoked under Section 19-6-414 or Subsection R311-
206-7(1) may have the certificate reissued by the director after the 
owner or operator demonstrates compliance with Subsections 19-6-
412(2), 19-6-428(3), and Section R311-206-3. 
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 (3)  A PST owner or operator who has had a certificate of 
compliance lapse under Subsection 19-6-408(5)(c) may have the 
certificate reissued by the director after the owner or operator 
demonstrates compliance with Sections 19-6-412 and R311-206-3. 
 (4)  A PST owner or operator who has had eligibility to 
receive payments for claims against the fund lapse under Subsection 
19-6-411(3)(c)(ii) must: 
 (a)  meet the requirements of Subsection 19-6-428(3); and 
 (b)  pay fees, interest, and penalties due to reinstate 
eligibility. 
 (5)  Upon permanent closure of a tank which is covered by 
the Petroleum Storage Tank Fund, the eligibility to make a claim 
against the Petroleum Storage Tank Fund will terminate as specified 
in Section R311-207-2. 
 (a)  permanently closed tanks are not eligible to be reissued 
a certificate of compliance. 
 (6)  In accordance with Section 19-6-414, the director may 
revoke a certificate of compliance for the owner's or operator's failure 
to comply with the following requirements as outlined in 40 CFR 
280: 
 (a)  release reporting; 
 (b)  abatement; 
 (c)  investigation; 
 (d)  corrective action; or 
 (e)  other measures to bring the release site under control. 
 
R311-206-8.  Delivery Prohibition. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsections 19-6-411(7) and 19-6-
407(2)(d)(ii), the director shall authorize the placement of a delivery 
prohibition tag identifying a tank: 
 (a)  for which the certificate of compliance has been 
revoked in accordance with Section 19-6-414; 
 (b)  for which the certificate of compliance has lapsed for 
non-payment of fees in accordance with Subsection 19-6-408(5); 
 (c)  that has never qualified for a certificate of compliance, 
and is not a new installation under Subsection R311-206-8(1)(d); or 
 (d)  that is a new installation, and has not been issued a 
certificate of compliance. 
 (2)  For USTs, in accordance with Subsection 19-6-
403(1)(b)(i), the director shall authorize the placement of a delivery 
prohibition tag to be placed on the UST as soon as practicable after 
the determination is made that a tank does not have: 
 (a)  spill prevention equipment required under 40 CFR 
280.20(c) or 280.21(d); 
 (b)  overfill prevention equipment required under 40 CFR 
280.20(c) or 280.21(d); 
 (c)  equipment required for tank or piping leak detection in 
accordance with 40 CFR 280 Subpart D; or 
 (d)  equipment required for tank or piping corrosion 
protection in accordance with 40 CFR 280 Subpart B or C. 
 (3)  For APSTs, the director shall authorize the placement 
of a delivery prohibition tag to be placed on the APST as soon as 
practicable after the determination that the APST was not in service 
after May 5, 2021. 
 (4)  The delivery prohibition tag shall be placed on the tank 
fill or in a visible location near the tank fill. 
 (5)  A person who delivers or accepts delivery of a regulated 
substance or petroleum into a tank marked with a delivery prohibition 
tag shall be subject to the penalties outlined in Section 19-6-416, 
unless authorized under Subsection R311-206-8(5). 
 (6)  The director may issue written approval for a delivery 
of petroleum to: 

 (a)  provide ballast for a new tank during installation, or 
 (b)  allow for the tank tightness test required under Section 
19-6-413. 
 (7)  The delivery prohibition tag must remain in place until 
the director issues: 
 (a)  for tanks that have a tag in place in accordance with 
Subsection R311-206-8(1): 
 (i)  a new certificate of compliance for the tank; and 
 (ii)  written authorization to remove the delivery 
prohibition tag; or 
 (b)  for tanks that have a tag in place in accordance with 
Subsection R311-206-8(2): 
 (i)  written authorization to remove the delivery prohibition 
tag. 
 (8)  If a delivery prohibition tag is removed without the 
authorization specified in Subsection R311-206-8(6)(a)(ii) or R311-
206-8(6)(b)(i), the PST owner or operator is subject to: 
 (a)  a re-inspection and any applicable fees; and 
 (b)  placement of a new delivery prohibition tag on the tank. 
 
R311-206-9.  Removing Participating Tanks from the 
Environmental Assurance Program. 
 (1)  Owners and operators of PSTs who have voluntarily 
elected to participate in the EAP may cease participation in the EAP 
and be exempted from the requirements described in Section R311-
206-4 by: 
 (a)  permanently closing tanks as outlined in 40 CFR 280, 
subpart G and Rules R311-204 and R311-205; or 
 (b)  meeting the following requirements: 
 (i)  demonstrating compliance with Section R311-206-5; 
and 
 (ii)  notifying the director in writing at least 30 days before 
the date of cessation of participation in the EAP, and specifying the 
date of cessation. 
 (A)  the director may waive the 30-day requirement if the 
owner or operator has already documented current financial 
assurance under Section R311-206-5 for other petroleum storage 
tanks owned or operated by the owner or operator. 
 (B)  the date of cessation of participation in the EAP may 
occur after the date designated in Subsection R311-206-9(1)(b)(ii) if 
the owner or operator does not document compliance with Section 
R311-206-5 by the date originally designated. 
 (2)  prorata refunds will not be given. 
 (3)  For tanks being removed voluntarily from the EAP, the 
date of cessation of participation in the EAP shall be the date on 
which coverage under the EAP ends. 
 (a)  subsequent claims for payments from the Petroleum 
Storage Tank Fund must be made in accordance with Sections 19-6-
424 and R311-207-2. 
 (4)  For any facility that participates in the EAP and is sold 
to a company with facilities that do not participate in the EAP, the 
date of termination of coverage is the closing date for the real estate 
transaction. 
 (a)  the purchaser shall provide documentation of the 
closing date to the director within 30 days of closing. 
 
R311-206-10.  Participation in the Environmental Assurance 
Program After a Period of Non-participation. 
 (1)  Owners and operators not participating in the EAP 
must, before any subsequent participation in the EAP, meet the 
following requirements: 
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 (a)  notify the director of the intent to participate in the 
EAP; 
 (b)  comply with the requirements of Subsection 19-6-
428(3); and 
 (c)  meet the requirements of Section R311-206-3 to qualify 
for a new certificate of compliance. 
 
R311-206-11.  Environmental Assurance Fee Rebate. 
 (1)  To meet the requirements of Subsection 19-6-
410.5(5)(d), for each UST Facility participating in the EAP, a risk 
value will be calculated according to the "Environmental Assurance 
Program Risk Factor Table and Calculation," which is incorporated 
by reference. 
 (a)  the table, dated June 2, 2014, contains risk factors and 
the formula for risk value calculation. 
 (2)  The risk value for each facility participating in the EAP 
shall be: 
 (a)  calculated on a facility basis; 
 (b)  valid for the calendar year; 
 (c)  based on the facility characteristics as of December 15 
of the prior calendar year; and 
 (d)  determined, at sites with mixed equipment, by 
considering the highest risk-valued petroleum storage tank system 
component for each risk factor. 
 (3)  To qualify as secondarily contained for purposes of risk 
calculation, tanks shall: 
 (a)  meet the requirements for secondary containment in 40 
CFR 280.20; and 
 (b)  meet one of the following: 
 (i)  use an interstitial sensor and documentation of monthly 
interstitial monitoring; or 
 (ii)  documentation of monthly visual checks of a brine-
filled interstitial space. 
 (4)  To qualify as secondarily contained for purposes of risk 
calculation, piping shall: 
 (a)  meet the requirements for secondary containment 
outlined in 40 CFR 280.20; and 
 (b)  meet one of the following: 
 (i)  maintain monthly records of monitoring of the interstice 
by vacuum, pressure, or liquid filled interstitial space, or 
 (ii)  use an interstitial monitoring method not listed in 
Subsection R311-206-11(4)(b)(i). 
 (5)  To qualify as secondarily contained for purposes of risk 
calculation, piping containment sumps, and under-dispenser 
containment shall be double-walled with monthly documentation of 
monitoring of the space between the walls. 
 (6)  Each facility that participates in the EAP may be 
eligible for a rebate of a portion of the Environmental Assurance Fee 
according to the rebate schedule in "Environmental Assurance Fee 
Rebate Table," dated June 2, 2014, which is incorporated by 
reference. 
 (7)  A facility that begins participation in the EAP after 
January 1 of a calendar year shall have its risk value calculated for 
that year based on the risk factors in place at the facility on the date 
the facility begins participation in the EAP. 
 (8)  The Environmental Assurance Fee rebate does not 
apply to APSTs until July 1, 2026 as per Subsections 19-6-
410.5(5)(d) and 19-6-410.5(5)(e). 
 
KEY:  petroleum, underground storage tanks 
Date of Last Change:  2023[September 27, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 8, 2022 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-6-105; 
19-6-403; 19-6-410.5; 19-6-428 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R313-16-230 Filing ID:  
55240 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Waste Management and Radiation 

Control, Radiation 
Room number: 2nd Floor 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144880 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4880 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Tom Ball 801-

536-
0251 

tball@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R313-16-230.  Registration of Radiation Machines 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
As currently written, Subsection R313-16-230(3)(a) 
requires that a person wanting to register an ionizing 
radiation producing machine must use form DWMRC-10.  
The Division of Waste Management and Radiation 
Control, Radiation (Division) is in the process of 
developing an online, electronic system for the submission 
of a registration application that will be more efficient and 
more convenient for applicants.  The current rule does not 
allow for the electronic process. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
Subsection R313-16-230(3)(a) is being revised to provide 
flexibility to applicants by allowing applications to be 
submitted electronically or by using the paper form.  
Additionally, formatting errors are being corrected and 
minor wording changes are being made in this rule. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
It is not anticipated that there will be any cost or savings to 
the state budget due to this amended rule because the 
Division will still review and process registration 
applications no matter what method is used to submit 
them. 
 
Any state government agencies that need to submit an 
application to register or renew a registration that submit 
the application electronically may see a small savings due 
to not having to print, fill out, and mail a paper form, 
however; the Division does not have enough data to 
calculate these savings and it is believed that any savings 
will be minimal. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

It is not anticipated that there will be any cost to local 
governments because of this amended rule. 
 
Any local governments that need to submit an application 
to register or renew a registration that submit the 
application electronically may see a small savings due to 
not having to print, fill out, and mail a paper form, however; 
the Division does not have enough data to calculate these 
savings and it is believed that any savings will be minimal. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
It is not anticipated that there will be any cost to small 
businesses because of this amended rule. 
 
Small businesses that need to submit an application to 
register or renew a registration that submit the application 
electronically may see a small savings due to not having 
to print, fill out, and mail a paper form, however; the 
Division does not have enough data to calculate these 
savings and it is believed that any savings will be minimal. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
It is not anticipated that there will be any cost to non-small 
businesses because of this amended rule. 
 
Non-small businesses that need to submit an application 
to register or renew a registration that submit the 
application electronically may see a small savings due to 
not having to print, fill out, and mail a paper form, however; 
the Division does not have enough data to calculate these 
savings and it is believed that any savings will be minimal. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

It is not anticipated that there will be any cost to persons 
other than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, 
or local governments because of this amended rule. 
 
Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local governments that need to 
submit an application to register or renew a registration 
that submit the application electronically may see a small 
savings due to not having to print, fill out, and mail a paper 
form, however; the Division does not have enough data to 
calculate these savings and it is believed that any savings 
will be minimal. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There will not be any additional compliance costs for 
affected persons because of this amended rule. 
 
Persons who need to register an ionizing radiation 
producing machine must still submit an application.  This 
amended rule simply provides options for the submission 
of the application. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-3-104   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/17/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Douglas J.  
Hansen, Director 

Date: 02/09/2023 

 
R313.  Environmental Quality, Waste Management and 
Radiation Control, Radiation. 
R313-16.  General Requirements Applicable to the Installation, 
Registration, Inspection, and Use of Radiation Machines. 
R313-16-230.  Registration of Radiation Machines. 
 (1)  Ionizing radiation producing machines not exempted 
by Section R313-16-220 shall be registered with the [D]director. 
 (2)  Registration shall be required annually in accordance 
with a schedule established by the [D]director. 
 (3)  Registration [for the facility ]is achieved when the 
[D]director receives the following: 
 (a)  a current and complete application for registration of 
radiation machines submitted electronically through the division's 
website or using form DWMRC-10[ for registration of radiation 
machines]; and 
 (b)  annual registration fees. 
 (4)  Registration for the current fiscal year shall be 
acknowledged by the [D]director through receipts for the remittance 
of the registration fee. 
 

KEY:  x-rays, inspections 
Date of Last Change:  2023[December 13, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 8, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-3-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R392-100 Filing ID:  
55242 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Environmental Services 
Room number: Second Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building  
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Karl Hartman  801-

538-
6191 

khartman@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R392-100.  Food Service Sanitation 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Executive Order No. 2021-12 requires state agencies to 
amend rules that are inconsistent with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual.  As required, the amendments to Rule 
R392-100 provide technical and conforming changes in 
accordance with the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendments to Rule R392-100 provide technical and 
conforming changes throughout this rule and remove 
superfluous and repetitive language.  Other sections have 
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been changed to improve clarity and ease of use, and to 
reflect current food sanitation and safety practices. 
 
In Section R392-100-2: 
1) added definitions for: agritourism food establishment, 
Department, Local health department, Microenterprise 
home kitchen; and 
2) amended definition for: food truck, and Ice cream truck. 
 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) made numerous nonsubstantive revisions 
including the rewording and restructuring of these sections 
to simplify the language and to clarify the intent to align 
more closely with the authorizing statute and the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual.  The Department made substantive 
amendments are described below within each section 
description. 
 
Section R392-100-3 was amended to exempt certain food 
service establishments from this rule and to direct the 
reader to the applicable rule for each exempted food 
service establishment type. 
 
In Section R392-100-4: 
1) this section was amended to allow toilet rooms to be 
constructed without exterior doors under certain 
conditions; and 
2) this section was amended to allow dogs in the outdoor 
patio areas of a food establishment under certain 
conditions. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes do not result in a change in current practice or 
procedures at the Department of Health and Human 
Services. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes do not result in a change in current practice or 
procedures at the local health departments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Allowing toilet rooms to be constructed without exterior 
doors under certain conditions will result in an inestimable 
fiscal benefit to certain newly constructed food 
establishments.  There are no other fiscal impact because 
the amendments are reflective of current food safety and 
sanitation practices. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 

Allowing toilet rooms to be constructed without exterior 
doors under certain conditions will result in an inestimable 
fiscal benefit to certain newly constructed food 
establishments.  There are no other fiscal impact because 
the amendments are reflective of current food safety and 
sanitation practices. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no fiscal impact to persons because the 
amendments are reflective of current food safety and 
sanitation practices. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The proposed amendments will not result in additional 
compliance costs because the proposed substantive 
amendments are less restrictive than the currently enacted 
rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-15-2 Section 26-1-30 Section 26-1-5 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 01/28/2023 

 
R392.  Health and Human Services, Disease Control and 
Prevention, Environmental Services. 
R392-100.  Food Service Sanitation. 
[R392-100-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Sections 26-1-5, 26-1-30, and 
26-15-2. 
 (2)  This rule establishes definitions; sets standards for 
management and personnel, food operations, and equipment and 
facilities; and provides for food establishment plan review, permit 
issuance, inspection, employee restriction, and permit suspension to 
safeguard public health and provide consumers food that is safe, 
unadulterated, and honestly presented. 
 
R392-100-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Food Cart" means a cart: 
 (a)  that is not motorized; and 
 (b)  that a vendor, standing outside of the frame of the cart, 
uses to prepare, sell, or serve food or beverages for immediate human 
consumption. 

 (2)(a)  "Food Truck" means a fully encased food service 
establishment: 
 (i)  on a motor vehicle or on a trailer that a motor vehicle 
pulls to transport; and 
 (ii)  from which a food truck vendor, standing within the 
frame of the vehicle, prepares, cooks, sells, or serves food or 
beverages for immediate human consumption. 
 (b)  "Food Truck" does not include a food cart or an ice 
cream truck. 
 (3)  "Ice Cream Truck" means a fully encased food service 
establishment: 
 (a)  on a motor vehicle or on a trailer that a motor vehicle 
pulls to transport; 
 (b)  from which a vendor, from within the frame of the 
vehicle, serves prepackaged ice cream products; 
 (c)  that attracts patrons by traveling through a residential 
area and signaling the truck's presence in the area, including by 
playing music; and 
 (d)  that may stop the vehicle to serve packaged ice cream 
products at the signal of a patron. 
 (4)  "Recovery residence" has the same meaning as 
provided in Subsection 62A-2-101(33)(a). 
 (5)  "Residential support" has the same meaning as 
provided in Subsection 62A-2-101(35). 
 (6)  "Residential treatment" has the same meaning as 
provided in Subsection 62A-2-101(36). 
 
R392-100-3.  General Requirements. 
 (1)  The following food service establishments are exempt 
from the requirements of this rule: 
 (a)  Food trucks as defined in this rule and in Rule R392-
102; 
 (b)  Certified or licensed child care facilities, including 
residences, that provide care for 16 or fewer children; and 
 (c)  Residential treatment programs, residential support 
programs, and recovery residences as defined in this rule and in Rule 
R392-110. 
 (2)  Food trucks shall abide by the requirements of Rule 
R392-102. 
 (3)  Certified or licensed childcare facilities, including 
residences, that provide care for 16 or fewer children; residential 
treatment programs; residential support programs; and recovery 
residences shall abide by the requirements of Rule R392-110. 
 
R392-100-4.  Incorporation by Reference. 
 (1)  The Department incorporates by reference the 
following: 
 (a)  Section 402 of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic 
Act, 21 U.S.C. 342. 
 (b)  The 2013 version of the U.S. Public Health Service, 
Food and Drug Administration, Model Food Code ("Model Code"), 
Chapters 1 through 8, Annex 1 Parts 8-6 through 8-9, with the stated 
exceptions and amendments set out below. 
 (2)  Exceptions to Incorporation.  The following 
subsections of the Model Code are not incorporated into this rule: 
 (a)  Subsection 5-203.15(B); 
 (b)  Subsections 5-402.11(B), (C) and (D); 
 (c)  Subsections 8-302.14(D) and (E); 
 (d)  Subsection 8-304.11(K); 
 (e)  Annex 1, Section 8-905.40; 
 (f)  Annex 1, Subparagraphs 8-905.90(A)(1) and (2); 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

88 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 05 

 (g)  Annex 1, Section 8-909-20; 
 (h)  Annex 1, Subparagraphs 8-911.10(B)(1) and (2). 
 (3)  The following amendments and additions to the Model 
Code shall be made.  All other incorporated provisions remain the 
same. 
 (a)  In section 1-201.10(B), Terms Defined, a specified 
definition is added or the definitions or its specific subsections set out 
in the definition are amended as follows: 
 (i)  Core Item(1) is amended to read: 
 "(1)  "Core Item" also referred to as "non-critical" means a 
provision in the Model Code that is not designated as a Priority Item 
or a Priority Foundation Item." 
 (ii)  Food Establishment(2) is amended to add paragraph 
(C) to read: 
 "(2)(c)  Catering operation which is a business entity that 
operates from a permitted food establishment that contracts with a 
client for food service to be provided to a client, the client's guests 
and/or customers at a different location.  A catering operation may 
cook or perform final preparation of food at the service location.  A 
catering operation does not include routine services offered at the 
same location, or meal that are individually purchased with the 
exception of cash bars." 
 (iii)  A definition of Potentially Hazardous Food is added 
to read: 
 "Potentially Hazardous Food means the same as 
Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food." 
 (iv)  Priority Item(1) is amended to read: 
 "(1)  "Priority Item" also referred to as "critical 1" means a 
provision in the Model Code whose application contributes directly 
to the elimination, prevention or reduction to an acceptable level, 
hazards associated with food borne illness or injury and there is no 
provision that more directly controls the hazard." 
 (v)  Priority Foundation Item(1) is amended to read: 
 "(1)  "Priority Foundation Item" also referred to as "critical 
2" means a provision in the Model Code whose application supports, 
facilitates or enables one or more Priority Items." 
 (b)  After section 2-102.12, a new section is added to read: 
"2-102.13 Food Employee Training.  Food managers shall be trained 
and certified as required under Chapter 26-15a, UCA and R392-101.  
Food employees shall be trained in food safety as required under 
Section 26-15-5 and shall hold a valid food handler's card issued by 
a local health department." 
 (c)  Paragraph 3-201.16(A) is amended to read: 
 "(A)  Except as specified in paragraph (B) of this section, 
mushroom species picked in the wild shall not be offered for sale or 
service by a food establishment." 
 (d)  Section 3-501.17 is amended to include additional 
paragraph (H): 
 "(H)  A date marking system that meets the criteria stated 
in paragraph (A) of this section shall use one of two types of date 
marks, and that date mark must be used consistently throughout the 
food establishment.  The date mark will either be of the date: 
 (1)  before which food must be used as specified in 
paragraph (A) or this section; or 
 (2)  be the date of Day 1." 
 (e)  Subparagraph 3-501.19(B)(2) is amended to read: 
 "(2)  Only one time marking scheme may be used, and it 
must be used consistently throughout the food establishment.  The 
food shall be marked with either: 
 (a)  the time food is removed from temperature control; or 
 (b)  the time before which the food shall be cooked and 
served at any temperature if ready-to-eat, or discarded." 

 (f)  After Section 4-204-123 a new section is added to read: 
 "4-204.124 Restraint of Pressurized Containers. 
 Carbon dioxide, helium or other similar pressurized 
containers must be restrained or secured to prevent the tanks from 
falling over." 
 (g)  Section 5-101.12, shall be amended to add:  "The 
process shall be in accordance with the American Water Works 
Association (AWWA) C651-2005 for disinfection and testing." 
 (h)  Section 5-202.13 is deleted and replaced to read: 
 "(A)  Where the horizontal distance from the water supply 
inlet to an adjacent single wall or obstruction is greater than three 
times the diameter of the inlet, or greater than four times for 
intersecting walls, an air gap between the water supply inlet and the 
flood level rim of the plumbing fixture, equipment, or nonfood 
equipment shall be at least twice the diameter of the water supply 
inlet and may not be less than 25 millimeters ( 1 inch). 
 (B)  Where the horizontal distance from the water supply 
inlet to an adjacent single wall or obstruction is less than three times 
the diameter of the inlet, or less than four times for intersecting walls, 
and air gap between the water supply inlet and the flood level rim of 
the plumbing fixture, equipment, or nonfood equipment shall be at 
least three times the diameter of the water supply inlet and may not 
be less than 38 millimeters (1.5 inches)." 
 (i)  Paragraph 5-203.15(A) is amended to read: 
 "(A)  If not provided with an air gap as specified under 
Section 5-202.13, an American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) 
1022 dual check valve with an intermediate vent shall be installed 
upstream from a carbonating device and downstream from any 
copper in the water supply." 
 (j)  Paragraph 5-402.11(A) is amended to read: 
 "(A)  A direct connection may not exist between the sewage 
system and a drain originating from equipment in which food, 
portable equipment, or utensils are placed." 
 (k)  Section 8-103.10 Modifications and Waivers is 
amended to read: 
 "(A)  The regulatory authority may grant a variance by 
modifying or waiving the requirements of this Code if in the opinion 
of the regulatory authority a health hazard or nuisance will not result 
from the variance. If a variance is granted, the regulatory authority 
shall retain the information specified under section 8-103.11 in its 
records for the food establishment. 
 (B)  A copy of the variance or waiver issued by the 
regulatory authority and the documentation required in section 8-
103.11 shall be provided to the Utah Department of Health, Office of 
Epidemiology, Environmental Sanitation Program within 5 working 
days of issuance. 
 (C)  A variance or waiver intended for a food establishment 
which is of a chain with stores in more than one local health 
jurisdiction in the State must be approved by the Utah Department of 
Health prior to issuance." 
 (l)  Section 8-103.11 is amended to add paragraph (D) to 
read: 
 "(D)  In addition, a variance from section 3-301.11 may be 
issued only when: 
 (1)  the variance is limited to a specific task or work station; 
 (2)  the applicant has demonstrated good cause why section 
3-301.11 cannot be met; 
 (3)  suitable utensils are used to the fullest extent possible 
with ready-to-eat foods in the rest of the establishment; and 
 (4)  the applicant can demonstrate active managerial 
control of this risk factor at all times." 
 (m)  Paragraph 8-302.14(C) is amended to read: 
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 "A statement specifying whether the food establishment is 
mobile or stationary and temporary or permanent." 
 (n)  Paragraph 8-304.10(A) is amended to read: 
 "(A)  Upon request, the regulatory authority shall provide 
a copy of the food service sanitation rule according to the policy of 
the local regulatory agency." 
 (o)  Paragraph 8-401.10(A) is amended to read: 
 "(A)  Except as specified in paragraphs (B) and (C) of this 
section, the regulatory authority shall inspect a food establishment at 
least once every 6 months and twice in a season for seasonal 
operations." 
 (p)  Subparagraph 8-401.10(B)(2) is amended to read: 
 "(2)  The food establishment is assigned a less frequent 
inspection frequency based on a written risk-based inspection 
schedule that is being uniformly applied throughout the jurisdiction; 
or" 
 (q)  Section 8-501.10 is amended to read: 
 "(B)  Requiring appropriate medical examinations, 
including collection of specimens for laboratory analysis, of a 
suspected food employee or conditional employee; and 
 (C)  Meeting reporting requirements under Communicable 
Disease Rule R386-702 and Injury Reporting Rule R386-703." 
 (r)  Annex 1, Section 8-601.10 is amended to read: 
 "Due process and equal protection shall be afforded as 
required by law in all enforcement and regulatory actions." 
 (s)  Annex 1, Section 8-801.30 is amended to read: 
 "Service is effective at the time the notice is served or when 
service is made as specified in Paragraph 8-801-20(B)." 
 (t)  Annex 1, Section 8-903.10 is amended to read: 
 "8-903.10 Impoundment of Adulterated Food Products 
Authorized. 
 (A)  The impoundment of adulterated food is authorized 
under Section 26-15-9, UCA. 
 (B)  The regulatory authority may impound, by use of a 
hold order, any food product found in places where food or drink is 
handled, sold, or served to the public, but is found or is suspected of 
being adulterated and unfit for human consumption. 
 (C)  Upon five days notice and a reasonable opportunity for 
a hearing to the interested parties, to condemn and destroy the same 
if deemed necessary for the protection of the public health. 
 (D)  If the regulatory authority has reasonable cause to 
believe that the hold order will be violated, or finds that the order is 
violated, the regulatory authority may remove the food that is subject 
to the hold order to a place of safekeeping. 
 (E)  Within the limits set in paragraphs (B), (C), and (D) of 
this section, the regulatory authority may impound, by use of a hold 
order, molluscan shellfish that are not tagged or labeled according to 
Paragraph 3-202.18(A) of this code.  Other actions may be taken in 
accordance with Paragraph 3-202.18(B) of this code." 
 (u)  Annex 1, Section 8-903.60 is amended to read: 
 "The regulatory authority may examine, sample, and test 
food in order to determine its compliance with this Code in section 
8-402.11." 
 (v)  Annex 1, Section 8-903.90 is amended to read: 
 "The regulatory authority shall issue a notice of release 
from a hold order and shall physically remove the hold tags, labels, 
or other identification from the food if the hold order is vacated." 
 (w)  Annex 1 Section 8-904.30 heading is amended to read: 
 "8-904.30 Contents of the Summary Suspension Notice." 
 (x)  Annex 1, Paragraph 8-905.10(A) is amended to read: 
 "(A)  A person who receives a notice of hearing shall file a 
response within 10 calendar days from the date of service. Failure to 

respond may result in license suspension, license revocation, or other 
administrative penalties." 
 (y)  Annex 1, Section 8-905.20 is amended to read: 
 "A response to a hearing notice or a request for a hearing 
as specified in section 8-905.10 shall be in written form and contain 
the following: 
 (A)  Response to a notice of hearing must include: 
 (1)  An admission or denial of each allegation of fact; 
 (2)  A statement as to whether the respondent waives the 
right to a hearing; 
 (3)  A statement of defense, mitigation, or explanation 
concerning all claims; and 
 (4)  A statement as to whether the respondent wishes to 
settle some or all of the claims made by the regulatory authority. 
 (B)  A request for hearing must include: 
 (1)  A statement of the issues of fact specified in section 8-
905.30 paragraph (B) for which a hearing is requested; and 
 (2)  A statement of defense, mitigation, denial, or 
explanation concerning each allegation of fact. 
 (C)  Witnesses - In addition to the above requirements, if 
witnesses are requested, the response to a notice of hearing and a 
request for hearing must include the name, address, telephone 
number, and a brief statement of the expected testimony for each 
witness. 
 (D)  Legal Representation - Legal counsel is allowed, but 
not required. All documents filed by the respondent must include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the respondent's legal 
counsel, if any." 
 (z)  Annex 1, Subparagraph 8-905.50(A)(1) is amended to 
read: 
 "(1)  Except as provided in paragraph (B) of this section, 
within 5 calendar days after receiving a written request for an appeal 
hearing from:" 
 (aa)  Annex 1, Subparagraph 8-905.50(A)(2)is amended to 
read: 
 "(2)  Within 30 calendar days after the service of a hearing 
notice to consider administrative remedies for other matters as 
specified in section 8-905.10(C) or for matters as determined 
necessary by the regulatory authority." 
 (ab)  Annex 1, Section 8-905.60 heading is amended to 
read: 
 "8-905.60 Notice of Hearing Contents." 
 (ac)  Annex 1, Section 8-905.80 heading is amended to 
read: 
 "8-905.80  Expeditious and Impartial Hearing." 
 (ad)  Annex 1, Section 8-905.90 heading is amended to 
read: 
 "8-905.90 Confidentiality of Hearing and Proceedings." 
 (ae)  Annex 1, Paragraph 8-905.90(A) is amended to read: 
 "(A)  Hearings will be open to the public unless compelling 
circumstances, such as the need to discuss a person's medical or 
mental health condition, a food establishment's trade secrets, or any 
other matter private or protected under federal or state law." 
 (af)  Amend section 8-906.30 paragraph (B) to read: 
 "(B)  Unless a party appeals to the head of the regulatory 
authority within 10 calendar days of the hearing or a lesser number 
of days specified by the hearing officer:" 
 (ag)  Annex 1, Section 8-907.60 is amended to read: 
 "Documentary evidence may be received in the form of a 
copy or excerpt if provided to the hearing officer and opposing party 
prior to the hearing as ordered by the hearing officer." 
 (ah)  Annex 1, Section 8-908.20 is amended to read: 
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 "Respondents accepting a consent agreement waive their 
rights to a hearing on the matter, including judicial review." 
 (ai)  Annex 1, Subparagraphs(B)(1) and (2) are deleted and 
Paragraph 8-911.10(B) is amended to read: 
 "(B)  Any person who violates any provision of this rule 
may be assessed a civil penalty as provided in section 26-23-6, 
UCA." 
 (aj)  Annex 1, Section 8-913.10 headline is amended to 
read: 
 "8-913.10 Petitions, Penalties, Contempt, and Continuing 
Violations." 
 (ak)  Annex 1, Paragraph 8-913.10(B) is amended to read: 
 "In addition to any criminal fines and sentences imposed as 
specified in Paragraph 8-911.10, or to being enjoined as specified in 
Paragraph 8-912.10, a person who violates a provision of this code, 
any rule or regulation adopted in accordance with law related to food 
establishments within the scope of this code, or to any term, 
condition, or limitation of a permit issued as specified in Paragraphs 
8-303.10 and 8-303.20 is subject to a civil penalty not exceeding 
$5,000." 
 (al)  Annex 1, Section 8-913.10 is amended to add the 
paragraph (D) to read: 
 "(D)  The adjudicative body, upon proper findings, shall 
assess violators a fee for each day the violation remains in contempt 
of its order." 
 
R392-100-5.  Construction Standards. 
 (1)  All parts of the food establishment shall be designed, 
constructed, maintained, and operated to meet the requirements of 
Title 15A, State Construction and Fire Codes Act.] 
R392-100-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Sections 26-1-5, 26-1-30, and 26-15-2 authorize this 
rule. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to safeguard public health 
and provide consumers with food that is safe, unadulterated, and 
honestly presented by: 
 (a)  setting standards for management, personnel, food 
operations, equipment, and facilities; and 
 (b)  providing conditions for food establishment plan 
review, permit issuance, inspection, employee restriction, and permit 
suspension. 
 
R392-100-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Agritourism food establishment" has the same 
meaning as defined in Section 26-15b-102. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. 
 (3)  "FDA Food Code" or "Food Code" means the version 
of U.S. Public Health Service, Food and Drug Administration, Model 
Food Code as incorporated by reference with exceptions and 
amendments in this rule. 
 (4)  "Food Cart" has the same meaning as defined in 
Section 11-56-102. 
 (5)(a)  "Food Truck" has the same meaning as defined in 
Section 11-56-102. 
 (6)  "Ice Cream Truck" has the same meaning as defined in 
Section 11-56-102. 
 (7)  "Local health department" has the same meaning as 
defined in Section 26A-1-102. 
 (8)  "Microenterprise home kitchen" has the same meaning 
as defined in Section 26-15c-102. 

 (9)  "Recovery residence" has the same meaning as defined 
in Subsection 62A-2-101(33)(a). 
 (10)  "Residential support" has the same meaning as 
defined in Subsection 62A-2-101(35). 
 (11)  "Residential treatment" has the same meaning as 
defined in Subsection 62A-2-101(36). 
 
R392-100-3.  General Requirements. 
 (1)  The following food service establishments are exempt 
from the requirements of this rule: 
 (a)  a food truck; 
 (b)  a certified or licensed child care facility, including a 
residence, that provides care for 16 or fewer children; 
 (c)  a residential treatment program, residential support 
program, or recovery residence, as defined in this rule and in Rule 
R392-110, that provides a 24-hour group living environment for 
between four and 16 individuals unrelated to the owner or provider; 
 (d)  an agritourism food establishment; and 
 (e)  a microenterprise home kitchen. 
 (2)  A food truck operator shall comply with the 
requirements of Rule R392-102, Food Truck Sanitation. 
 (3)  Certified or licensed childcare facilities, including 
residences, that provide care for 16 or fewer children; residential 
treatment programs; residential support programs; and recovery 
residences providing a 24-hour group living environment for between 
four and 16 individuals unrelated to the owner or provider shall 
comply with the requirements of Rule R392-110, Food Service 
Sanitation in Residential Care Facilities. 
 (4)  An agritourism food establishment operator shall 
comply with the requirements of Rule R392-105, Agritourism Food 
Establishment Sanitation. 
 (5)  A microenterprise home kitchen shall comply with the 
requirements of Rule R392-106, Microenterprise Home Kitchen 
Sanitation. 
 
R392-100-4.  Incorporation by Reference. 
 (1)  The Department incorporates by reference the 
following: 
 (a)  Section 402 of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic 
Act, 21 U.S.C. 342; and 
 (b)  The 2013 version of the U.S. Public Health Service, 
Food and Drug Administration, Model Food Code ("Food Code"), 
Chapters 1 through 8, Annex 1 Parts 8-6 through 8-9, with the stated 
exceptions and amendments as established in Subsection R392-100-
4(2). 
 (2)  The following subparts of the Food Code are not 
incorporated into this rule: 
 (a)  Subpart 5-203.15(B); 
 (b)  Subparts 5-402.11(B), (C) and (D); 
 (c)  Subparts 8-302.14(D) and (E); 
 (d)  Subpart 8-304.11(K); 
 (e)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-905.40; 
 (f)  Annex 1, Subparagraphs 8-905.90(A)(1) and (2); 
 (g)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-909-20; and 
 (h)  Annex 1, Subparagraphs 8-911.10(B)(1) and (2). 
 (3)(a)  This rule incorporates by reference Subpart 1-
201.10(B) of the Food Code.: 
 (i)  "Core Item(1)" is changed to read, "'Core Item' also 
referred to as "non-critical" means a provision in the Food Code that 
is not designated as a Priority Item or a Priority Foundation Item; 
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 (ii)  "Food Establishment(2)" is changed to add Paragraph 
(c) to read: 
 "(2)(c)  A catering operation that is a licensed business 
entity that operates from a permitted food establishment that 
contracts with a client for food service to be provided to a client, or 
the client's guests or customers at a different location. A catering 
operation may cook or perform final preparation of food at the service 
location. A catering operation does not include routine services 
offered at the same location, or a meal that is individually purchased 
with the exception of cash bars." 
 (iii)  "Food Establishment(3)" is changed to add 
Subparagraph (h), (i), (j), and (k) to read: 
 "(3)(h)  an agritourism food establishment 
 (3)(i)  a food truck; 
 (3)(j)  a microenterprise home kitchen 
 (3)(k)  a certified or licensed childcare facility, including a 
residence, that provides care for 16 or fewer children; a residential 
treatment program; a residential support program; and recovery 
residence providing a 24-hour group living environment for between 
four and 16 individuals unrelated to the owner or provider" 
 (iv)  A definition of "Potentially Hazardous Food" is added 
to read: 
 "'Potentially Hazardous Food' means the same as 
'Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food.' 
 (v)  "Priority Item(1)" is changed to read: 
 "'Priority Item' also referred to as 'critical 1' means a 
provision in the Food Code whose application contributes directly to 
the elimination, prevention or reduction to an acceptable level, 
hazards associated with foodborne illness or injury and there is no 
provision that more directly controls the hazard." 
 (vi)  "Priority Foundation Item(1)" is changed to read: 
 "'Priority Foundation Item' also referred to as 'critical 2' 
means a provision in the Food Code whose application supports, 
facilitates or enables one or more priority items." 
 (b)  After Subpart 2-102.12 of the Food Code, a new 
subpart is added to read: 
 "2-102.13 Food Employee Training.  The person in charge 
shall obtain training and certification as required under Chapter 26-
15a, and Rule R392-101. Food employees shall obtain training in 
food safety as required under Section 26-15-5 and Rule R392-103, 
Food Handler Training and Certificate." 
 (c)  Paragraph 3-201.16(A) of the Food Code is changed to 
read: 
 "Except as specified in Paragraph (B), mushroom species 
picked in the wild shall not be offered for sale or service by a food 
establishment." 
 (d)  Subpart 3-501.17 of the Food Code is changed to 
include additional Paragraph (H): 
 "(H)  A date marking system that meets the criteria stated 
in Paragraph (A) shall use one of two types of date marks, and that 
date mark must be used consistently throughout the food 
establishment. The date mark will either be of the date: 
 (A)  before which food must be used as specified in 
Paragraph (A); or 
 (B)  be the date of Day 1." 
 (e)  Subparagraph 3-501.19(B)(2) of the Food Code is 
changed to read: 
 "Only one time-marking scheme may be used, and it must 
be used consistently throughout the food establishment. The food 
shall be marked with either: 
 (a)  the time food is removed from temperature control; or 

 (b)  the time before which the food shall be cooked and 
served at any temperature if ready-to-eat, or discarded." 
 (f)  Paragraph 3-603.11(A) of the Food Code is changed to 
read: 
 "(A)  Except as specified in Paragraphs 3-401.11(C) and  
3401.11(D)(4), and under Paragraph 3-801.11(C), if an animal food 
such as beef, eggs, fish, lamb, pork, poultry, or shellfish is served or 
sold raw, undercooked, or without otherwise being processed to 
eliminate pathogens, either in ready-to-eat form or as an ingredient 
in another ready-to-eat food, the permit holder shall inform 
consumers of the significantly increased risk of consuming such 
foods by way of a disclosure and reminder, as specified in Paragraphs 
(B) and (C) using brochures, deli case or menu advisories, label 
statements, table tents, placards, or other effective written means." 
 (g)  After Subpart 4-204.123 of the Food Code a new 
subpart is added to read: 
 "4-204.124 Restraint of Pressurized Containers. Carbon 
dioxide, helium, or other similar pressurized containers shall be 
restrained or secured to prevent the tanks from toppling." 
 (h)  Subpart 5-101.12 of the Food Code is changed to add: 
 "The process shall be in accordance with the American 
Water Works Association (AWWA) C651-2015 for disinfection and 
testing." 
 (i)  Subpart 5-202.13 of the Food Code is deleted and 
replaced to read: 
 "(A)  Where the horizontal distance from the water supply 
inlet to an adjacent single wall or obstruction is greater than three 
times the diameter of the inlet, or greater than four times for 
intersecting walls, an air gap between the water supply inlet and the 
flood level rim of the plumbing fixture, equipment, or nonfood 
equipment shall be at least twice the diameter of the water supply 
inlet and may not be less than 25 millimeters (1 inch); and 
 (B)  Where the horizontal distance from the water supply 
inlet to an adjacent single wall or obstruction is less than three times 
the diameter of the inlet, or less than four times for intersecting walls, 
and air gap between the water supply inlet and the flood level rim of 
the plumbing fixture, equipment, or nonfood equipment shall be at 
least three times the diameter of the water supply inlet and may not 
be less than 38 millimeters (1.5 inches)." 
 (j)  Subpart 5-203.14 of the Food Code is changed to read: 
 "(A)  a plumbing system shall be installed to preclude 
backflow of a solid, liquid, or gas contaminant into the water supply 
system at each point of use at the food establishment, including on a 
hose bibb if a hose is attached or on a hose bibb if a hose is not 
attached, by: 
 (1)  providing an air gap as specified under Subpart 5-
202.13; or 
 (2)  installing an approved backflow prevention device as 
specified under Subpart 5-202.14; and 
 (B)  Each chemical dispenser shall connect to a separate 
dedicated water supply line, and not a sink faucet." 
 (k)  Paragraph 5-203.15(A) of the Food Code is changed to 
read: 
 "(A)  If not provided with an air gap as specified under 
Subpart 5-202.13, an American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) 
1022 dual check valve with an intermediate vent shall be installed 
downstream from any copper in the water supply and upstream from 
any: 
 (i)  carbonated beverage dispenser; 
 (ii)  coffee machine; or 
 (iii)  noncarbonated drink dispenser." 
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 (l)  Paragraph 5-402.11(A) of the Food Code is changed to 
read: 
 "(A)  A direct connection may not exist between the sewage 
system and a drain originating from equipment in which food, 
portable equipment, or utensils are placed." 
 (m)  Subpart 6-202.14 of the Food Code is changed to read: 
 "6-202.14 Toilet Rooms, Enclosed. A toilet room shall be 
completely enclosed and provided with a solid self-closing door, 
except where a toilet room: 
 (A)  is located outside a food establishment; 
 (B)  does not open directly into the food establishment such 
as a toilet room that is provided in a shopping mall; or 
 (C)  does not open directly into the food preparation area, 
food service area, or a hallway leading directly into a food 
preparation or food service area." 
 (n)  Paragraph 6-501.115(B) is changed to read: 
 "(B)  Live animals may be allowed in the following 
situations if the contamination of food; clean equipment, utensils, and 
linens; and unwrapped single-service and single-use articles cannot 
result: 
 (1)  edible fish or decorative fish in aquariums, shellfish or 
crustacea on ice or under refrigeration, and shellfish and crustacea in 
display tank systems; 
 (2)  patrol dogs accompanying police or security officers in 
offices and dining, sales, and storage areas, and sentry dogs running 
loose in outside fenced areas; 
 (3)  In areas that are not used for food preparation and that 
are usually open for customers, such as dining and sales areas, service 
animals that are controlled by the disabled employee or person, if a 
health or safety hazard will not result from the presence or activities 
of the service animal; 
 (4)  Pets in the common dining areas of institutional care 
facilities such as nursing homes, assisted living facilities, group 
homes, or residential care facilities at times other than during meals 
if: 
 (a)  effective partitioning and self-closing doors separate 
the common dining areas from food storage or food preparation 
areas; 
 (b)  condiments, equipment, and utensils are stored in 
enclosed cabinets or removed from the common dining areas when 
pets are present; and 
 (c)  dining areas including tables, countertops, and similar 
surfaces are effectively cleaned before the next meal service. 
 (5)  In areas that are not used for food preparation, storage, 
sales, display, or dining, in which there are caged animals or animals 
that are similarly confined, such as in a variety store that sells pets or 
a tourist park that displays animals; and 
 (6)  Dogs other than service animals or patrol dogs in the 
outdoor patio areas of a food establishment if: 
 (a)  a separate entrance is provided from the outside of the 
food establishment to the outdoor patio to ensure that a dog will have 
direct access to the patio without entering the interior food 
preparation, storage, sales, display, or dining areas of the food 
establishment; 
 (b)  a dog is not allowed within eight feet of any entrance 
to an interior area of the food establishment, except as necessary to 
enter or exit the patio; 
 (c)  signs are conspicuously posted at the entrance of the 
food establishment and patio to notify patrons that dogs may be on 
the premises; 

 (i)  The signs shall state: "Notice to patrons, dogs may be 
on the premises but are restricted to the outdoor patio. Dog owners 
are responsible for keeping their animal under control at all times." 
 (ii)  Signs shall be at least 8" x 10" in size, and the lettering 
shall be high contrast and at least 5/8" in height. 
 (d)  doors equipped with self-closing devices are provided 
at all entrances to the outdoor patio from the interior of the food 
establishment; 
 (e)  no food preparation is done in the outdoor patio area, 
except that a beverage glass may be filled on the patio from a pitcher 
or other container that has been filled or otherwise prepared inside 
the food establishment; 
 (f)  the outdoor patio area is continuously maintained free 
of visible dog hair and other dog related wastes or debris; 
 (g)  while on duty, wait staff, servers, or food employees do 
not care for or handle a dog that may be present; 
 (h)  a dog is kept on a leash and remains in the control of 
the patron while on the outdoor patio; 
 (i)  a dog is wearing a collar or harness with a rabies tag 
attached to it; 
 (j)  a dog is not allowed on a chair, table, countertop, or 
similar surface in the outdoor patio area; and 
 (k)  a dog does not have contact with any of the food 
establishment's condiments, equipment, or reusable utensils." 
 (o)  Subpart 8-103.10 Modifications and Waivers is 
changed to read: 
 "(A)  The local health department may grant a variance by 
modifying or waiving the requirements of FDA Food Code if in the 
opinion of the local health department a health hazard or nuisance 
will not result from the variance. If a variance is granted, the local 
health department shall retain the information specified under 
Subpart 8-103.11 in its records for the food establishment. 
 (B)  A copy of any variance or waiver issued by the local 
health department and the documentation required in Subpart 8-
103.11 shall be provided to the Department, Environmental 
Sanitation Program within five working days of issuance. 
 (C)  A variance or waiver intended for a food establishment 
which is of a chain with stores in more than one local health 
department jurisdiction in the state shall be approved by the 
Department before issuance." 
 (p)  Subpart 8-103.11 is changed to add Paragraph (D) to 
read: 
 "(D)  In addition, a variance from Subpart 3-301.11 may be 
issued only when: 
 (1)  the variance is limited to a specific task or workstation; 
 (2)  the applicant has demonstrated good cause why 
Subpart 3-301.11 cannot be met; 
 (3)  suitable utensils are used to the fullest extent possible 
with ready-to-eat foods in the rest of the establishment; and 
 (4)  the applicant can demonstrate active managerial 
control of this risk factor at all times." 
 (q)  Paragraph 8-302.14(C) is changed to read: 
 "A statement specifying whether the food establishment is 
mobile or stationary and temporary or permanent." 
 (r)  Paragraph 8-304.10(A) is changed to read: 
 "(A)  Upon request, the local health department shall 
provide a copy of Rule R392-100 according to the policy of the local 
health department." 
 (s)  Subparagraph 8-401.10(B)(2) is changed to read: 
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 "(2)  The food establishment is assigned a less frequent 
inspection frequency based on a written risk-based inspection 
schedule that is being uniformly applied throughout the jurisdiction." 
 (t)  Subpart 8-501.10 is changed to read: 
 "(B)  Requiring appropriate medical examinations, 
including collection of specimens for laboratory analysis, of a 
suspected food employee or conditional employee; and 
 (C)  Meeting reporting requirements under Communicable 
Disease Rule R386-702 and Injury Reporting Rule R386-703." 
 (u)  Annex 1,Subpart 8-601.10 is changed to read: 
 "Due process and equal protection shall be afforded as 
required by law in all enforcement and regulatory actions." 
 (v)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-801.30 is changed to read; 
 "Service is effective when the notice is served or when 
service is made as specified in Paragraph 8-801-20(B)." 
 (w)  Annex 1,Subpart 8-903.10 is changed to read: 
 "8-903.10 Impoundment of Adulterated Food Products 
Authorized. 
 (A)  The impoundment of adulterated food is authorized 
under Section 26-15-9. 
 (B)  The local health department may impound, by use of a 
hold order, any food product found in places where food or drink is 
handled, sold, or served to the public, but is found or is suspected of 
being adulterated and unfit for human consumption. 
 (C)  Upon five days' notice and a reasonable opportunity 
for a hearing to the interested parties, to condemn and destroy the 
same if deemed necessary for the protection of the public health. 
 (D)  If the local health department has reasonable cause to 
believe that the hold order will be violated, or finds that the order is 
violated, the local health department may remove the food that is 
subject to the hold order to a place of safekeeping. 
 (E)  Within the limits set in Paragraphs (B), (C), and (D), 
the local health department may impound, by use of a hold order, 
molluscan shellfish that are not tagged or labeled according to 
Paragraph 3-202.18(A) of FDA Food Code.  Other actions may be 
taken in accordance with Paragraph 3-202.18(B) of Food Code." 
 (x)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-903.60 is changed to read: 
 "The local health department may examine, sample, and 
test food to determine its compliance with Food Code in Subpart 8-
402.11." 
 (y)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-903.90 is changed to read: 
 "The local health department shall issue a notice of release 
from a hold order and shall physically remove the hold tags, labels, 
or other identification from the food if the hold order is vacated." 
 (z)  Annex 1 Subpart 8-904.30 heading is changed to read, 
8-904.30 Contents of the Summary Suspension Notice. 
 (aa)  Annex 1, Paragraph 8-905.10(A) is changed to read: 
 "(A)  A person who receives a notice of hearing shall file a 
response within 10 calendar days from the date of service. Failure to 
respond may result in license suspension, license revocation, or other 
administrative penalties." 
 (ab)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-905.20 is changed to read: 
 "A response to a hearing notice or a request for a hearing 
as specified in Subpart 8-905.10 shall be in written form and contain 
the following: 
 (A)  Response to a notice of hearing must include: 
 (1)  An admission or denial of each allegation of fact; 
 (2)  A statement as to whether the respondent waives the 
right to a hearing; 
 (3)  A statement of defense, mitigation, or explanation 
concerning all claims; and 

 (4)  A statement as to whether the respondent wishes to 
settle some or all claims made by the local health department. 
 (B)  A request for hearing must include: 
 (1)  A statement of the issues of fact specified in Subpart 8-
905.30 Paragraph (B) for which a hearing is requested; and 
 (2)  A statement of defense, mitigation, denial, or 
explanation concerning each allegation of fact. 
 (C)  Witnesses - In addition to the above requirements, if 
witnesses are requested, the response to a notice of hearing and a 
request for hearing must include the name, address, telephone 
number, and a brief statement of the expected testimony for each 
witness. 
 (D)  Legal Representation - Legal counsel is allowed, but 
not required. All documents filed by the respondent must include the 
name, address, and telephone number of the respondent's legal 
counsel, if any." 
 (ac)  Annex 1, Subparagraph 8-905.50(A)(1) is changed to 
read: 
 "(1)  Except as provided in Paragraph (B) of this Subpart, 
within 5 calendar days after receiving a written request for an appeal 
hearing from:" 
 (ad)  Annex 1, Subparagraph 8-905.50(A)(2) is changed to 
read: 
 "(2)  Within 30 calendar days after the service of a hearing 
notice to consider administrative remedies for other matters as 
specified in Subpart 8-905.10(C) or for matters as determined 
necessary by the local health department." 
 (ae)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-905.60 heading is changed to read: 
 "8-905.60 Notice of Hearing Contents." 
 (af)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-905.80 heading is changed to read: 
 "8-905.80  Expeditious and Impartial Hearing." 
 (ag)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-905.90 heading is changed to 
read: 
 "8-905.90 Confidentiality of Hearing and Proceedings." 
 (ah)  Annex 1, Paragraph 8-905.90(A) is changed to read: 
 "(A)  Hearings will be open to the public unless compelling 
circumstances, such as the need to discuss a person's medical or 
mental health condition, a food establishment's trade secrets, or any 
other matter private or protected under federal or state law." 
 (ai)  Subpart 8-906.30 Paragraph (B) is changed to read: 
 "(B)  Unless a party appeals to the head of the local health 
department within 10 calendar days of the hearing or a lesser number 
of days specified by the hearing officer." 
 (aj)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-907.60 is changed to read: 
 "Documentary evidence may be received in the form of a 
copy or excerpt if provided to the hearing officer and opposing party 
before the hearing as ordered by the hearing officer." 
 (ak)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-908.20 is changed to read: 
 "Respondents accepting a consent agreement waive their 
rights to a hearing on the matter, including judicial review." 
 (al)  Annex 1, Subparagraphs(B)(1) and (2) are deleted and 
Paragraph 8-911.10(B) is changed to read: 
 "(B)  Any person who violates this rule may be assessed a 
civil penalty as provided in Section 26-23-6." 
 (am)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-913.10 headline is changed to 
read: 
 "8-913.10 Petitions, Penalties, Contempt, and Continuing 
Violations." 
 (an)  Annex 1, Paragraph 8-913.10(B) is changed to read: 
 "In addition to any criminal fines and sentences imposed as 
specified in Paragraph 8-911.10, or to being enjoined as specified in 
Paragraph 8-912.10, a person who violates a provision of this code, 
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any rule or regulation adopted in accordance with law related to food 
establishments within the scope of this code, or to any term, 
condition, or limitation of a permit issued as specified in Paragraphs 
8-303.10 and 8-303.20 is subject to a civil penalty not exceeding 
$5,000." 
 (ao)  Annex 1, Subpart 8-913.10 is changed to add 
Paragraph (D) to read: 
 "(D)  The adjudicative body, upon proper findings, shall 
assess violators a fee for each day the violation remains in contempt 
of its order." 
 
R392-100-5.  Construction Standards. 
 The food establishment shall be designed, constructed, 
maintained, and operated to meet the requirements of Title 15A, State 
Construction and Fire Codes Act. 
 
KEY:  public health, food services, sanitation 
Date of Last Change:  2023[December 12, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 1, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [26-1-
30(2);]26-1-5; 26-1-30(23); 26-15-2 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Repeal and Reenact 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R392-510 Filing ID:  
52237 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Environmental Services 
Room number: Second Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building  
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Karl Hartman  801-

538-
6191 

khartman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R392-510.  Utah Indoor Clean Air Act 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

Executive Order No. 2021-12 requires state agencies to 
amend rules that are inconsistent with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual.  As required, the amendments to Rule 
R392-510 provide technical and conforming changes in 
accordance with the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The amendments to Rule R392-510 provide technical and 
conforming changes throughout this rule and remove 
superfluous and repetitive language.  The Department of 
Health and Human Services (Department) made 
numerous nonsubstantive revisions including the 
rewording and restructuring of these sections to simplify 
the language and to clarify the intent to align more closely 
with the authorizing statute and the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual. 
 
The Department created new sections and moved existing 
provisions from other sections in this rule to improve 
readability and flow.  The Department made substantive 
amendments as described below within each section 
description. 
 
Section R392-510-1 was expanded to explain the purpose 
of this rule.  Authorizing statutory references were also 
revised. 
 
Section R392-510-2 was added to clearly designate areas 
in which this rule applies. 
 
In Section R392-510-3, added definitions for 
"Department", "Educational Facility", and "Premises".  
Amended definition for "local health officer".  Also, 
removed definitions for "Executive Director", "Lighted 
tobacco", "Nonsmoker", and "Non-tobacco shisha". 
 
Section R392-510-8 was removed because HVAC 
operation and maintenance requirements are specified in 
Building Code. 
 
In Section R392-510-13, the requirements of this section 
were modified from previous Section R392-510-14 
Enforcement action by Proprietors. 
 
In Section R392-510-14, a severability clause was added, 
consistent with other rules managed under Title R392. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes do not result in a change in current practice or 
procedures at the Department. 
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B)  Local governments: 

No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes do not result in a change in current practice or 
procedures at the local health departments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes do not result in a change in current practice or 
procedures within small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes do not result in a change in current practice or 
procedures within non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes continue to reflect current practice. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the substantive 
changes reflect current industry practice. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26-15-11 Section 26-15-12  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 02/08/2023 

 
R392.  Health and Human Services, Disease Control and 
Prevention, Environmental Services. 
R392-510.  Utah Indoor Clean Air Act. 
[R392-510-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Sections 26-1-30(2), 26-15-
12, and Title 26 Chapter 38. 
 (2)  This rule does not preempt other restrictions on 
smoking that are otherwise allowed by law. 
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R392-510-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Agent" means the person to whom a building owner 
has delegated the maintenance and care of the building. 
 (2)  "Area" means a three dimensional space. 
 (3)  "Building" means an entire free standing structure 
enclosed by exterior walls. 
 (4)  "Building owner" means the person(s) who has an 
ownership interest in any public or private building. 
 (5)  "E-cigarette" means any electronic oral device that 
provides a vapor of nicotine or other substance and which simulates 
smoking through its use or through inhalation of the device; and 
includes an oral device that is composed of a heating element, battery, 
or electronic circuit and marketed, manufactured, distributed, or sold 
as an e-cigarette, e-cigar, e-pipe, or any other product name or 
descriptor, if the function of the product meets the definition of an 
electronic oral device. 
 (6)  "Employer" means any individual, firm, corporation, 
partnership, business trust, legal representative, or other business 
entity which engages in any business, industry, profession, or activity 
in this state and employs one or more employees or who contracts 
with one or more persons, the essence of which is the personal labor 
of such person or persons. 
 (7)  "Enclosed" means space between a floor and ceiling 
which is designed to be surrounded on all sides at any time by solid 
walls, screens, windows or similar structures (exclusive of doors and 
passageways) which extend from the floor to the ceiling. 
 (8)  "Executive Director" means the Executive Director of 
the Utah Department of Health or his designee. 
 (9)  "Facility" means any part of a building, or an entire 
building. 
 (10)  "HVAC system" means the collective components of 
a heating, ventilation and air conditioning system. 
 (11)  "Lighted Tobacco" means both tobacco that is under 
self sustained combustion and tobacco that is heated to a point of 
smoking or vaporizing. 
 (12)  "Local Health Officer" means the director of the 
jurisdictional local health department as defined in Title 26A, 
Chapter 1, or his designee. 
 (13)  "Nonsmoker" means a person who has not smoked a 
tobacco product in the preceding 30 days. 
 (14)  "Non-tobacco shisha" means any product that does 
not contain tobacco or nicotine and is smoked or intended to be 
smoked in a hookah or water pipe. 
 (15)  "Operator" means a person who leases a place from a 
building owner or controls, operates or supervises a place. 
 (16)  "Place of public access" or "Place" means any 
enclosed indoor place of business, commerce, banking, financial 
service, or other service-related activity, whether publicly or 
privately owned and whether operated for profit or not, to which 
persons not employed at the place of public access have general and 
regular access or which the public uses, including: 
 (a)  buildings, offices, shops, elevators, or restrooms; 
 (b)  means of transportation or common carrier waiting 
rooms; 
 (c)  restaurants, cafes, or cafeterias; 
 (d)  taverns as defined in Section 32B-1-102, or cabarets; 
 (e)  shopping malls, retail stores, grocery stores, or arcades; 
 (f)  libraries, theaters, concert halls, museums, art galleries, 
planetariums, historical sites, auditoriums, or arenas; 
 (g)  barber shops, hair salons, or laundromats; 
 (h)  sports or fitness facilities; 

 (i)  common areas of nursing homes, hospitals, resorts, 
hotels, motels, "bed and breakfast" lodging facilities, and other 
similar lodging facilities, including the lobbies, hallways, elevators, 
restaurants, cafeterias, other designated dining areas, and restrooms 
of any of these; 
 (j)(i)  any child care facility or program subject to licensure 
or certification under this title, including those operated in private 
homes, when any child cared for under that license is present; and 
 (ii)  any child care, other than child care as defined in 
Section 26-39-102, that is not subject to licensure or certification 
under this title, when any child cared for by the provider, other than 
the child of the provider, is present; 
 (k)  public or private elementary or secondary school 
buildings and educational facilities or the property on which those 
facilities are located; 
 (l)  any building owned, rented, leased, or otherwise 
operated by a social, fraternal, or religious organization when used 
solely by the organization members or their guests or families; 
 (m)  any facility rented or leased for private functions from 
which the general public is excluded and arrangements for the 
function are under the control of the function sponsor; 
 (n)  any workplace that is not a place of public access or a 
publicly owned building or office but has one or more employees 
who are not owner-operators of the business; 
 (o)  any area where the proprietor or manager of the area 
has posted a conspicuous sign stating "no smoking", "thank you for 
not smoking", or similar statement; and 
 (p)  a holder of a bar establishment license, as defined in 
Section 32B-1-102. 
 (17)  "Publicly owned building or office" means any 
enclosed indoor place or portion of a place owned, leased, or rented 
by any state, county, or municipal government, or by any agency 
supported by appropriation of, or by contracts or grants from, funds 
derived from the collection of federal, state, county, or municipal 
taxes. 
 (18)  "Shisha" means any product that contains tobacco or 
nicotine and is smoked or intended to be smoked in a hookah or water 
pipe. 
 (19)  "Smoking" means: 
 (a)  the possession of any lighted or heated tobacco product 
in any form; 
 (b)  inhaling, exhaling, burning, or carrying any lighted or 
heated cigar, cigarette, pipe, or hookah that contains: 
 (i)  tobacco or any plant product intended for inhalation; 
 (ii)  shisha or non-tobacco shisha; 
 (iii)  nicotine; 
 (iv)  a natural or synthetic tobacco substitute; or 
 (v)  a natural or synthetic flavored tobacco product; 
 (c)  using an e-cigarette; or 
 (d)  using an oral smoking device intended to circumvent 
the prohibition of smoking in this rule. 
 (20)  "Workplace" means any enclosed space, including a 
vehicle, in which one or more individuals perform any type of service 
or labor for consideration of payment under any type of employment 
relationship.  This includes such places wherein individuals 
gratuitously perform services for which individuals are ordinarily 
paid. 
 
R392-510-3.  Responsibility for Compliance. 
 Where this rule imposes a duty on a building owner, agent, 
or operator, each is independently responsible to assure compliance 
and each may be held liable for noncompliance. 
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R392-510-4.  Proprietor Right to Prohibit Smoking. 
 (1)  The owner, agent or operator of a place may prohibit 
smoking anywhere on the premises. 
 (2)  The owner, agent or operator of a place may also 
prohibit smoking anywhere outdoors on the premises. 
 
R392-510-5.  Smoking Prohibited Entirely in Places of Public 
Access and Publicly Owned Buildings and Offices. 
 (1)  Places listed in Section 26-38-2(3)(a) through (p) are 
places of public access and smoking is prohibited in them except as 
provided for in Section 26-38-3(2). 
 (2)  It is the responsibility of the owner or operator to 
provide evidence to the local health department upon request that the 
facility is in compliance with this rule. 
 
R392-510-6.  Requirements for Smoking Permitted Areas. 
 (1)  Any enclosed area where smoking is permitted must be 
designed and operated to prevent exposure of persons outside the area 
to tobacco smoke generated in the area. 
 (2)  If a lodging facility permits smoking as provided in 
Section 26-38-3(2)(b) in designated smoking-allowed guest rooms, 
or if a nursing home, assisted living facility, small health care facility, 
or hospital with a certified swing-bed program permits smoking as 
provided in Section 26-38-3(2)(b) in designated smoking-allowed 
private residential sleeping rooms, the facility's air handling system 
or systems must not allow air from any smoking-allowed area to mix 
with air in or to be used in: 
 (a)  any part of the facility defined as a place of public 
access in Section 26-38-2(3); 
 (b)  another room designated as a non-smoking room; or 
 (c)  common areas of the facility, including dining areas, 
lobby areas and hallways. 
 (d)  If an operator of a lodging facility chooses to modify 
the status of a room from a smoking to a non- smoking room, then 
the operator shall perform a full deep cleaning of the room.  The deep 
cleaning shall include cleaning of carpets, bedding, drapes, walls, and 
any other object in the room which absorbs smoking particles or 
smoking fumes. 
 
R392-510-7.  HVAC System Documentation. 
 (1)  If a building has a smoking-permitted area under 
Section 26-38-3(2), the building owner must obtain and keep on file 
a signed statement from an air balancing firm certified by the 
Associated Air Balance Council or the National Environmental 
Balancing Bureau, or an industrial hygienist certified by the 
American Board of Industrial Hygiene that the smoking permitted 
area meets the requirements of Subsections R392-510-6(1).  If a 
building's HVAC System is altered in any way, the building owner 
must obtain new certification on the system. 
 (2)  The building owner must provide the information 
required in Subsection R392-510-7(1) within three working days 
upon request from the operator, executive director or local health 
officer. 
 (3)  The operator must provide the information required in 
Subsection R392-510-7(1)  within five working days upon the 
request of the executive director or local health officer. 
 (4)  The building owner must provide the HVAC operation 
specifications and maintenance guidelines to the HVAC operation 
and maintenance personnel or contractor.  The maintenance 
guidelines must include the manufacturer's recommended procedures 
and time lines for maintenance of HVAC system components.  If the 
manufacturer's recommended procedures for operation and 

maintenance of the HVAC system are not available, the building 
owner must obtain and use guidelines developed by a mechanical 
engineer licensed by the State of Utah who has expertise in the design 
and evaluation of HVAC systems or by a mechanical contractor 
licensed by the State of Utah who has expertise in the repair and 
maintenance of HVAC systems. 
 (5)  The building owner must maintain HVAC inspection 
and maintenance records or logs for the three previous years and must 
make them available to the operator, executive director or local health 
officer within three working days of a request. 
 (6)  The operator must make the record or logs required in 
Subsection R392-510-7(5) available to the executive director or local 
health officer within five working days of a request. 
 (7)  The records or logs required in Subsection R392-510-
7(5) must include: 
 (a)  The specific maintenance and repair action taken, and 
reasons for actions taken; 
 (b)  The name and affiliation of the individual performing 
the work; and 
 (c)  The date of the inspection or maintenance activity. 
 
R392-510-8.  Operation and Maintenance of HVAC Systems. 
 (1)  The building owner, agent, or operator of a place where 
smoking is permitted under Section 26-38-3(2) shall identify a person 
responsible for the operation and maintenance of the HVAC system. 
 (2)  The building owner, agent, or operator of a place where 
smoking is permitted under Section 26-38-3(2) must maintain and 
operate the HVAC system to meet the requirements of Subsections 
R392-510-6. 
 (3)  The building owner, agent, or operator of a place where 
smoking is permitted under Section 26-38-3(2) must cause the HVAC 
system components to be inspected, adjusted, cleaned, and calibrated 
according to the manufacturer's recommendations, or replaced as 
specified in the maintenance guidelines required in Subsection R392-
510-7(4).  The building owner, agent, or operator's experience with 
the HVAC system may establish that more frequent maintenance 
activities are required. 
 (4)  Visual or olfactory observation is sufficient to 
determine whether a smoking-permitted area meets the requirements 
of Section R392-510-6. 
 
R392-510-9.  Protection of Air Used for Ventilation. 
 (1)  Smoking is not permitted within 25 feet of any 
entrance-way, exit, open window, or air intake of a building where 
smoking is prohibited. 
 (2)  Ashtrays may be placed near entrances only if they 
have durable and easily readable signage indicating that the ashtray 
is provided for convenience only and the area around it is not a 
smoking area.  The sign shall include a reference to the 25 foot 
prohibition. 
 (3)  An employer shall establish a policy to prohibit 
employee smoking within 25 feet of any entrance-way, exit, open 
window, or air intake of a building where smoking is prohibited. 
 
R392-510-10.  Educational and Cultural Activities Not 
Exempted. 
 (1)  Educational facilities, as used in the Utah Indoor Clean 
Air Act, means any facility used for instruction of people, including 
preschools, elementary and middle schools, junior and senior high 
schools. 
 (2)  Smoking is prohibited in facilities used by, vocational 
schools, colleges and universities, and any other facility or 
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educational institution operated by a commercial enterprise or 
nonprofit entity, including hotel, motel, and convention center rooms, 
for the purpose of providing academic classroom instruction, trade, 
craft, computer or other technical or professional training, or 
instruction in dancing, artistic, musical or other cultural skills as well 
as all areas supportive of instruction including classrooms, lounges, 
lecture halls, study areas and libraries. 
 
R392-510-11.  Private Dwellings Which Are Places of 
Employment. 
 (1)  A private dwelling is subject to these rules while an 
individual who does not reside in the dwelling is engaged to perform 
services in the dwelling on a regular basis is present.  This includes 
situations where an individual performs services such as, but not 
limited to: 
 (a)  domestic services; 
 (b)  secretarial services for a home-based business; or 
 (c)  bookkeeping services for a home-based business. 
 (2)  In a private dwelling in which a business or service is 
operated and into which the public enters for purposes related to the 
business or service smoking is prohibited in the business or service 
area during hours when the dwelling is open to the public. 
 (3)  A private dwelling in which an individual is employed 
on a nonregular basis only is not subject to these rules.  This includes 
situations where individuals perform services such as: 
 (a)  baby-sitting services; 
 (b)  trade services for the owner of the dwelling or 
individuals residing in the dwelling such as those services performed 
by plumbers, electricians and remodelers; 
 (c)  emergency medical services; 
 (d)  home health services; and 
 (e)  part-time housekeeping services. 
 
R392-510-12.  Signs and Public Announcements. 
 Signs required in this section must be easily readable and 
must not be obscured in any way.  The words "No Smoking" must be 
not less than 1.5 inches in height.  If the international "No Smoking" 
symbol is used alone, it must be at least 4 inches in diameter. 
 (1)  In a place where smoking is prohibited entirely, the 
building owner, agent, or operator must conspicuously post a sign 
using the words, "No smoking is permitted in this establishment" or 
a similar statement, which shall also include the international no-
smoking symbol, on all entrances or in a position clearly visible on 
entry into the place. 
 (2)  In a place where smoking is partially allowed, the 
building owner, agent, or operator must conspicuously post a sign 
using the words, "No smoking is permitted except in designated 
areas" or a similar statement, which shall also include the 
international no-smoking symbol, on all entrances or in a position 
clearly visible on entry into the place. 
 (3)  In a place where smoking is allowed in its entirety, the 
building owner, agent, or operator must conspicuously post a sign 
using the words, "This establishment is a smoking area in its entirety" 
or similar statement. 
 (4)  The building owner, agent, or operator must post a sign 
at all smoking-permitted areas provided for under Section 26-38-
3(2)(a), (b), and (c).  The sign must have the words, "smoking 
permitted" or similar wording and include the international smoking 
symbol. 
 (5)  The building owner, agent, or operator must post a sign 
inside the exit of all smoking-permitted areas, if the exit leads to a 
smoking-prohibited area.  The sign must have the words, "smoking 

not permitted beyond this point" or similar wording and include the 
international no-smoking symbol. 
 (6)  In public lodging facilities that designate guest rooms 
as smoking allowed, the building owner, agent, or operator must 
conspicuously post a permanent sign on the smoking-allowed guest 
room door and meet the requirements of R392-510-6(1) and (2). 
 (7)  In nursing homes, assisted living facilities, small health 
care facilities and hospitals with a certified swing-bed program that 
designate private residential sleeping rooms as "smoking allowed," 
the building owner, agent, or operator must conspicuously post a 
permanent sign on the door and meet the requirements of R392-510-
6(1) and (2). 
 (8)  The building owner, agent, or operator of an airport 
terminal, bus station, train station, or similar place must provide 
announcements on a public address system as often as necessary but 
not less than four times per hour during the hours that the place is 
open to the public, as follows: 
 (a)  If smoking is not permitted, the announcements shall 
convey that the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act prohibits smoking in the 
place. 
 (b)  If smoking is partially permitted, the announcements 
shall convey that the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act requires smokers to 
smoke only in those areas specifically designated for smoking. 
 (9)  The building owner, agent, or operator of a sports 
arena, convention center, special events center, concert hall or other 
similar place must provide announcements on a public address 
system prior to the beginning of any event, at intermissions, at the 
conclusion of the event and any other break in the program or event, 
as follows: 
 (a)  If smoking is not permitted, the announcements shall 
convey that the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act prohibits smoking in the 
place. 
 (b)  If smoking is partially permitted, the announcements 
shall convey that the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act requires smokers to 
smoke only in those areas specifically designated for smoking. 
 (10)  The building owner, agent, or operator of a large 
place, such as an airport, university, hotel or motel, or sports arena 
may, in writing, request the assistance of the local health officer to 
establish an effective signage and public announcements plan.  The 
local health officer may cause the plan to be modified at any time to 
protect nonsmokers from being exposed to tobacco smoke. 
 (11)  Buildings that are places of worship operated by a 
religious organization are not required to post signs. 
 (12)  In a place of public access where the smoking of non-
tobacco products is allowed and smoking of tobacco is prohibited, a 
sign shall be posted indicating that tobacco products may not be 
smoked. 
 
R392-510-13.  Discrimination. 
 An employer may not discriminate or take any adverse 
action against an employee or applicant because that person has 
sought enforcement of the provisions of Title 26, Chapter 38, Rule 
R392-510, the smoking policy of the workplace or otherwise protests 
the smoking of others. 
 
R392-510-14.  Enforcement action by Proprietors. 
 An owner, agent, or employee of the owner of a place 
where smoking is prohibited by this rule who observes a person 
smoking in apparent violation of this rule shall request the person to 
stop smoking.  If the person fails to comply, the proprietor, agent, or 
employee shall ask the person to leave the premises.] 
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R392-510-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Sections 26-15-11 and 26-15-12 authorize this rule. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to implement the provisions 
of Title 26, Chapter 38, Utah Indoor Clean Air Act. 
 
R392-510-2.  Applicability. 
 (1)  This rule applies to any enclosed indoor place of public 
access and to publicly owned buildings and offices, except as 
described in Subsection (2). 
 (2)  Only Section R392-510-7, Section R392-510-12, and 
Subsection R392-510-11(7) of this rule apply to the following: 
 (a)  Native American ceremony as specified in Section 26-
38-3.5; and 
 (b)  Areas where smoking is permitted by Subsection 26-
38-3(2). 
 
R392-510-3.  Definitions. 
 For this rule: 
 (1)  "Agent" means the person to whom a building owner 
has delegated the maintenance and care of the building. 
 (2)  "Area" means a three-dimensional space. 
 (3)  "Building" means an entire free-standing structure 
enclosed by exterior walls. 
 (4)  "Building owner" means the individual who has an 
ownership interest in any public or private building. 
 (5)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. 
 (6)  "Educational facility" means any facility used for 
instruction of people, including a: 
 (a)  preschool; 
 (b)  elementary school; 
 (c)  middle school; 
 (d)  junior high school; or 
 (e)  senior high school. 
 (7)  "Employer" means any individual, firm, corporation, 
partnership, business trust, legal representative, or other business 
entity which engages in any business, industry, profession, or activity 
in this state and employs one or more employees or who contracts 
with one or more persons, the essence of which is the personal labor 
of such persons. 
 (8)  "Enclosed" means space between a floor and ceiling 
that is designed to be surrounded on each side at any time by solid 
walls, screens, windows, or similar structures, exclusive of doors and 
passageways, which extend from the floor to the ceiling. 
 (9)  "Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning system" or 
"HVAC "system" means the collective components of a heating, 
ventilation, and air conditioning system. 
 (10)  "Local Health Officer" means the director of the 
jurisdictional local health department, or a designated representative. 
 (11)  "Operator" means a person who leases a place of 
public access from a building owner or controls, operates, or 
supervises a place. 
 (12)  "Place of public access" has the same meaning as 
provided in Subsection 26-38-2(3). 
 (13)  "Premises" means any lot, parcel, or plot of land, 
including any buildings or structure. 
 (14)  "Public lodging facility" means a place that is 
maintained, advertised, offered, used, or kept to provide temporary 
lodging for the general public, including a hotel, motel, and bed and 
breakfast lodging facility. 
 (15)  "Publicly owned building" or "office" has the same 
meaning as provided in Section 26-38-2. 

 (16)  "Shisha" has the same meaning as provided in Section 
26-38-2. 
 (17)  "Smoking" means: 
 (a)  the possession of any lighted or heated tobacco product 
in any form; 
 (b)  inhaling, exhaling, burning, or carrying any lighted or 
heated cigar, cigarette, pipe, or hookah that contains: 
 (i)  tobacco or any plant product intended for inhalation; 
 (ii)  shisha or non-tobacco shisha; 
 (iii)  nicotine; 
 (iv)  a natural or synthetic tobacco substitute; or 
 (v)  a natural or synthetic flavored tobacco product; 
 (c)  using an electronic cigarette; or 
 (d)  using an oral smoking device intended to circumvent 
the prohibition of smoking in this chapter. 
 (18)  "Workplace" means any enclosed space, including: 
 (a)  a vehicle, in which one or more individuals perform 
any type of service or labor for consideration of payment under any 
type of employment relationship; and 
 (b)  places wherein individuals voluntarily perform 
services for which individuals are ordinarily paid. 
 
R392-510-4.  Proprietor Right to Prohibit Smoking. 
 The building owner, agent, or operator of a place of public 
access may prohibit smoking anywhere on the premises. 
 
R392-510-5.  Smoking Prohibition. 
 (1)  Except for areas where smoking is permitted by 
Subsection 26-38-3(2), smoking is prohibited in places of public 
access and publicly owned buildings and offices. 
 (2)  Upon request, the building owner, agent, or operator 
shall provide evidence to the local health officer that the facility is in 
compliance with this rule. 
 
R392-510-6.  Requirements for Smoking Permitted Areas. 
 (1)  Any enclosed area where smoking is permitted must be 
designed and operated to prevent exposure of persons outside the area 
to tobacco smoke generated in the area. 
 (2)  A building's HVAC system may not allow air from any 
smoking-permitted area to mix with air in or to be used in: 
 (a)  any part of the facility defined as a place of public 
access; 
 (b)  another room designated as a non-smoking room; or 
 (c)  any common area of the facility, including dining areas, 
lobby areas, and hallways. 
 (3)  If an operator of a public lodging facility chooses to 
modify the status of a guest room from a smoking to a non-smoking 
guest room, then the operator shall perform a full deep cleaning of 
the guest room, which shall include cleaning of: 
 (a)  carpets; 
 (b)  bedding; 
 (c)  drapes; 
 (d)  walls; and 
 (e)  any other object in the room that may have absorbed 
smoke particles or fumes. 
 (4)  Visual or olfactory observation is sufficient to 
determine whether a smoking-permitted area meets the requirements 
of this section. 
 
R392-510-7.  HVAC System Documentation. 
 (1)  In an area where smoking is permitted as specified in 
Subsection 26-38-3(2), the building owner shall: 
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 (a)  obtain and keep on file a signed statement from an air 
balancing firm certified by the Associated Air Balance Council or an 
industrial hygienist certified by the American Board of Industrial 
Hygiene that the smoking permitted area meets the requirements of 
Subsection R392-510-6(1); and 
 (b)  obtain new system certification if the HVAC system is 
altered in any way. 
 (2)  The building owner shall provide the information in 
Subsection (1) within three working days upon request from the 
operator, department, or local health officer. 
 (3)  The operator shall provide the information in 
Subsection (1) within five working days upon the request of the 
department or local health officer. 
 
R392-510-8.  Protection of Air Used for Ventilation. 
 (1)  Smoking is not permitted within 25 feet of any 
entranceway, exit, open window, or air intake of a building where 
smoking is prohibited. 
 (2)  Ashtrays may be placed near entrances if they have 
durable, and easily readable signage that: 
 (a)  refers to the 25-foot prohibition described in Subsection 
(1); 
 (b)  indicates that the ashtray is provided for convenience 
only; and 
 (c)  states that the area around the ashtray is not a smoking 
area. 
 (3)  An employer shall establish a written policy to prohibit 
employee smoking within 25 feet of any entranceway, exit, open 
window, or air intake of a building where smoking is prohibited. 
 
R392-510-9.  Smoking Prohibited in Educational Facilities and 
Cultural Activities. 
 (1)  Smoking is prohibited in any educational facility used 
by: 
 (a)  a vocational school, college, or university; and 
 (b)  any educational institution operated by a commercial 
enterprise or nonprofit entity, including any operating from a hotel, 
motel, or convention center room. 
 (2)  Smoking is prohibited in any educational facility used 
to provide academic classroom instruction in: 
 (a)  a trade, craft, computer, or other technical or 
professional training; 
 (b)  dance, art, music, or other cultural skill; and 
 (3)  Smoking is prohibited in each area of an educational 
facility that is supportive of instruction, including a classroom, 
lounge, lecture hall, study area, and library. 
 
R392-510-10.  Private Dwellings That Are Places of Employment. 
 (1)  An employer of a business located in a private dwelling 
shall comply with this rule for any individual who: 
 (a)  does not reside in the dwelling; 
 (b)  is present in the dwelling; and 
 (c)  is employed to perform work services on a regular basis 
in the dwelling including: 
 (i)  domestic services; 
 (ii)  secretarial services for a home-based business; or 
 (iii)  bookkeeping services for a home-based business. 
 (2)  In a private dwelling in which a business or service is 
operating, and which the public enters for purposes relating to the 
business or service, smoking is prohibited in the business or service 
area during hours when the dwelling is open to the public. 

 (3)  A private dwelling in which an individual is employed 
on a nonregular basis only to perform services, including baby-
sitting, trade service performed by a plumber, electrician or 
remodeler, emergency medical service, home health service, or part-
time housekeeping service, is not subject to this rule. 
 
R392-510-11.  Signs and Public Announcements. 
 (1)  Signs required in this section shall be easily readable 
and may not be obscured in any way. 
 (2)  The words "No Smoking" shall be at least one inch in 
height. 
 (3)  If the international "No Smoking" symbol is used 
alone, it shall be at least four inches in diameter. 
 (4)  In a place where smoking is prohibited entirely, the 
building owner, agent, or operator shall conspicuously post a sign: 
 (a)  using the words, "No smoking is permitted in this 
establishment," or a similar statement; 
 (b)  including the international no smoking symbol; and 
 (c)  placed at each entrance or in a position clearly visible 
on entry into the place of public access. 
 (5)  In a place where smoking is partially allowed, the 
building owner, agent, or operator shall conspicuously post a sign: 
 (a)  using the words, "No smoking is permitted except in 
designated areas" or a similar statement; 
 (b)  including the international no smoking symbol; and 
 (c)  placed at each entrance or in a position clearly visible 
on entry into the place of public access. 
 (6)  In a place where smoking is allowed in its entirety, the 
building owner, agent, or operator shall conspicuously post a sign 
using the words, "This establishment is a smoking area in its 
entirety," or similar statement. 
 (7)  The building owner, agent, or operator shall post a sign: 
 (a)  in each smoking-permitted area described in 
Subsection 26-38-3(2); 
 (b)  using the words, "smoking permitted" or similar 
wording; and 
 (c)  including the international smoking symbol. 
 (8)  The building owner, agent, or operator shall post a sign: 
 (a)  inside the exit of each smoking-permitted area, if the 
exit leads to a smoking-prohibited area; 
 (b)  using the words, "smoking not permitted beyond this 
point" or similar wording; and 
 (c)  including the international no smoking symbol. 
 (9)  In a public lodging facility that designates a public 
lodging unit as smoking allowed, the building owner, agent, or 
operator shall conspicuously post: 
 (a)  a permanent sign on the smoking-allowed unit door; 
and 
 (b)  meet the requirements of Subsection (7). 
 (10)  In a nursing home, assisted living facility, small health 
care facility, and a hospital with a certified swing-bed program that 
designates a private residential sleeping room as "smoking allowed," 
the building owner, agent, or operator shall conspicuously post a 
permanent sign on the door, and meet the requirements of Subsection 
(7). 
 (11)  The building owner, agent, or operator of an airport 
terminal, bus station, train station, or similar place shall provide 
announcements on a public address system as often as necessary, but 
not less than four times per hour, during the hours that the place of 
public access is open as follows: 
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 (a)  if smoking is not permitted, the announcements shall 
convey that the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act prohibits smoking in the 
place of public access. 
 (b)  if smoking is partially permitted, the announcements 
shall convey that the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act allows smoking only 
in those areas specifically designated for smoking. 
 (12)  The building owner, agent, or operator of a sports 
arena, convention center, special events center, concert hall or other 
similar place of public access shall provide announcements on a 
public address system: 
 (a)  before the beginning of any event; 
 (b)  at intermissions; 
 (c)  at the conclusion of the event; and 
 (d)  any other break in the program or event, as follows: 
 (i)  if smoking is not permitted, the announcements shall 
convey that the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act prohibits smoking in the 
place of public access; or 
 (ii)  if smoking is partially permitted, the announcements 
shall convey that the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act allows smoking only 
in those areas specifically designated for smoking. 
 (13)(a)  The building owner, agent, or operator of a large 
place of public access may request, in writing, the assistance of the 
local health officer to establish an effective signage and public 
announcements plan. 
 (b)  The local health officer may require modification of the 
plan described in Subsection (13) at any time. 
 (14)  Buildings that are places of worship operated by a 
religious organization are not required to post signs. 
 
R392-510-12.  Discrimination. 
 An employer may not discriminate against an employee or 
applicant because that person has protested the smoking of others or 
sought enforcement of: 
 (1)  Title 26, Chapter 38, Utah Indoor Clean Air Act; 
 (2)  this rule; or 
 (3)  the smoking policy of the workplace. 
 
R392-510-13.  Responsibility for Compliance. 
 (1)  A business owner, agent, operator, or employee of a 
place of public access, where smoking is prohibited, who observes a 
person smoking in apparent violation of this rule, shall request the 
person to stop smoking. 
 (2)  If the person fails to comply, the business owner, agent, 
operator, or employee shall ask the person to leave the premises. 
 
R392-510-14.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, or its application to any person 
or circumstance is declared invalid, the applications of such 
provisions to other persons or circumstances, and the remainder of 
this rule shall be given effect without the invalidated provision or 
application. 
 
KEY:  public health, indoor air pollution, smoking, ventilation 
Date of Last Change:  2023[December 12, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 16, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [26-1-30(2); 
26-15-1 et seq.; 26-38-1]26-15-11; 26-15-12 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
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jweinman@utah.gov 
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jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R432-9.  Specialty Hospital - Rehabilitation Construction 
Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this filing is to modify and replace outdated 
language and citations in accordance with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
All changes made to the rule text are nonsubstantive 
stylistic changes to adhere to the Utah Rulewriting Manual 
standards. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
State government process was thoroughly reviewed.  This 
change will not impact the current process for licensure 
and re-licensure surveys.  No change to the state budget 
is expected because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
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Manual standards.  None of the changes will result in any 
fiscal impact to the state. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local government city business licensing requirements 
were considered.  This proposed rule amendment should 
not impact local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because this amendment modifies and replaces outdated 
language with the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 
The Specialty Hospital Standards are regulated by the 
state health department and not local governments.  There 
will be no change in local business licensing or any other 
item(s) with which local government is involved.  None of 
the changes will result in any fiscal impact to local 
governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for small 
businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  None of the changes will result in any 
fiscal impact to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for non-
small businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  None of the changes will have any 
fiscal impact on non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  None of the changes will have any 
fiscal impact on persons other than small businesses, non-
small businesses, state or local government. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
compliance costs for affected persons because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards.  None of the 
changes will result in any fiscal impact to affected persons. 
 

G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 26, 
Chapter 21 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
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agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 01/12/2023 

 
R432.  Health and Human Services, Family Health and 
Preparedness, Licensing. 
R432-9.  Specialty Hospital - Rehabilitation Construction Rule. 
R432-9-1.  Legal Authority. 
 This rule is adopted pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 21,[.] 
Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act. 
 
R432-9-2.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to promote the public health and 
welfare through the establishment of construction standards for 
rehabilitation hospitals. 
 
[R432-9-3.  General Design Requirements. 
 R432-4-1 through 22 apply to this rule.] 
 
R432-9-[4]3.  General Construction Ancillary Support Facilities. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure that the facility is compliant 
with Rule R432-4[-23 applies] with the following modifications: 
 ([1]a)  [C]corridors in patient use areas shall be a minimum 
eight feet wide[.]; 
 ([2]b)  [H]handrails [shall comply with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act and Architectural Barriers Act Accessibility 
Guidelines and ]are located on both sides of hallways and corridors 
used by patients[.]; 
 ([a]c)  [T]the top of the rail [shall be]is 34-38 inches above 
the floor, except for areas serving children and other special care 
areas[.]; and 
 ([b]d)  [E]ends of handrails and grab bars [shall be]are 
constructed to prevent persons from snagging their clothes. 
 ([3]2)  [Standards for the Disabled.  All]Any fixtures in [all 
]toilet and bath[ ]room[s] areas, except those in the activities for daily 
living unit, [shall be]are wheelchair accessible with wheelchair 
turning space within the room. 
[ (4)  Plumbing.] 
 ([a]3)  Oxygen and suction systems [shall be]are installed 
to serve 25% [percent ]of [all ]patient beds. 
 ([b]a)  Installation [shall be]is in accordance with Rule 
R432-4[ and NFPA 99]. 
 ([c]b)  Systems serving additional patient beds are optional. 
[ (5)  Emergency Electrical Service.] 
 ([a]4)  [An on-site emergency generator shall be 
provided.]The licensee shall ensure an on-site emergency generator 
is provided and the following services are connected to the 
emergency generator: 

[ (b)  The following services shall be connected to the 
emergency generator:] 
 ([i]a)  life safety branch[, as defined in section 517-32 of 
the National Electric Code NFPA 70]; 
 ([ii]b)  critical branch[, as defined in 517-33 of the National 
Electrical Code NFPA 70]; 
 ([iii]c)  equipment system[, as defined in section 517-34 of 
the National Electric Code NFPA 70]; 
 ([iv]d)  telephone; 
 ([v]e)  nurse call; 
 ([vi]f)  heating equipment necessary to provide adequate 
heated space to house [all]any patients under emergency conditions; 
 ([vii]g)  one duplex convenience outlet in each patient 
room; 
 ([viii]h)  one duplex convenience outlet at each nurse 
station; and 
 ([ix]i)  duplex convenience outlets in the emergency heated 
area at a ratio of one for [each]every ten patients. 
 
R432-9-[5]4.  General Construction, Patient Facilities. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure compliance with the 
construction requirements listed in[The requirements of] Rule R432-
4.[-24 and the requirements of Sections 2.1 and 2.6 of Guidelines for 
Design and Construction of Health Care Facilities (Guidelines) 2010 
edition shall be met except as modified in this rule.  Where a 
modification is cited, the modification supersedes conflicting 
requirements of R432-4-24 and the Guidelines]  Rule R432-9 
supersedes any conflicting requirements of Rule R432-4. 
 (2)  [Other Required Units, Guidelines section 2.6-3.2 is 
modified to allow p]Psychological services, social services, and 
vocational services are permitted to share the same office space when 
the licensee provides evidence in the functional program that the 
needs of the population served are met in the proposed space 
arrangement. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure that a [R]rehabilitation 
[N]nursing [U]unit[, Section 2.6-2.2 is modified as follows] is 
compliant with the following: 
 (a)  [F]fixtures in patient rooms [shall be]are wheelchair 
accessible[.]; 
 (b)  [P]patient rooms [shall ]contain space for wheelchair 
storage separate from normal traffic flow areas[.]; 
 (c)  [T]toilet room doors [shall ]swing out from the toilet 
room or [shall be]are double[ ]-acting[.]; and 
 (d)  [P]patient rooms [shall ]provide each patient a 
wardrobe, closet, or locker, having minimum clear dimensions of 22 
inches by 36 inches, suitable for hanging full-length garments.  A 
clothes rod and adjustable shelf [shall be]are provided. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure [A]a clean workroom or clean 
holding room [shall be]is provided for preparing patient care items 
[which]and [shall ]contains a counter, handwashing facilities, and 
storage facilities.  The work counter and handwashing facilities may 
be omitted in rooms used only for storage and holding, as part of a 
larger system for distribution of clean and sterile supplies[y 
materials]. 
 (5)  The licensee shall ensure [A]a soiled workroom [shall 
be]is provided and contains[ing] a clinical sink, a sink equipped for 
handwashing, a work counter, waste receptacles, and a linen 
receptacle.  The work counter and handwashing facilities may be 
omitted in rooms used only for storage and holding. 
 (6)  [In addition to Guideline Section 2.6-2.2.6.6, t]The 
licensee shall ensure the medicine preparation room or unit [shall 
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be]is under visual control of the nursing staff and has[ve] the 
following: 
 (a)  a minimum area of 50 square feet[,]; and 
 (b)  a locking mechanism to prohibit unauthorized access. 
 (7)  The licensee shall ensure e[E]ach nursing unit [shall 
have]has equipment to provide ice for patient treatment and 
nourishment. 
 (a)  Ice-making equipment may be located in the clean 
workroom or at the nourishment station if access is controlled by 
staff. 
 (b)  Ice intended for human consumption shall be dispensed 
by self-dispensing ice makers. 
 (8)  The licensee shall ensure y[Y]ard equipment and 
supply storage areas [shall be]are located so that equipment may be 
moved directly to the exterior without passing through building 
rooms or corridors. 
 
[R432-9-6.  Exclusions from the Guidelines. 
 The following sections of the Guidelines do not apply: 
 (1)  Linen services, Section 2.6-5.2. 
 (2)  Patient Storage section 2.6-2.2.2.8(2).] 
 
R432-9-[7]5.  Penalties. 
 The [D]department may assess a civil money penalty of up 
to $10,000 and deny approval for patient utilization of new or 
remodeled areas if a health care provider does not submit 
architectural drawings to the [Bureau of Licensing]department.  The 
[D]department may assess a civil money penalty of up to $10,000 if 
the licensee fails to follow [D]department-approved architectural 
plans.  The [D]department may assess a civil money penalty of up to 
$1,000 per day for each day a new or renovated area is occupied 
before[prior to] licensing agency approval. 
 
KEY:  health care facilities 
Date of Last Change:  2023[February 21, 2012] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 28, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-21-5; 26-
21-2.1; 26-21-20 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R432-14 Filing ID: 
55192 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room number: 1st Floor 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Erica Pryor 801-

273-
2994 

ericapryor@utah.gov 

Janice Weinman 385-
321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R432-14.  Birthing Center Construction Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The purpose of this amendment is to modify and replace 
outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting Manual 
standards. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The revisions include more specific language consistent 
with the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
State government process was thoroughly reviewed.  This 
change will not impact the current process for licensure 
and re-licensure surveys.  No change to the state budget 
is expected because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local government city business licensing requirements 
were considered.  This proposed rule amendment should 
not impact local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because this amendment modifies and replaces outdated 
language with the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 
The Birthing Center Construction Rule Standards are 
regulated by the Department of Health and Human 
Services and not local governments.  There will be no 
change in local business licensing or any other item(s) with 
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which local government is involved.  There are no 
substantive changes being made regarding the fiscal 
impact of this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for small 
businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for non-
small businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
compliance costs for affected persons because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards.  There are no 
substantive changes being made regarding the fiscal 
impact of this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 26, 
Chapter 21 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 01/12/2023 

 
R432.  Health and Human Services, Family Health and 
Preparedness, Licensing. 
R432-14.  Birthing Center Construction Rule. 
R432-14-1.  Legal Authority. 
 This rule is [adopted pursuant to]authorized by Title 26, 
Chapter 21, Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act. 
 
R432-14-2.  Purpose. 
 This rule provides construction and physical plant 
standards for birthing centers. 
 
R432-14-3.  General Design Requirements. 
 (1)  [Birthing centers shall be constructed in accordance 
with the requirements of]The licensee shall ensure compliance with 
the construction requirements listed in Rule R432-4[-1 through 
R432-4-23 and the requirements of section 5.2 of the Guidelines for 
Design and Construction of Health Care Facilities, 2010 edition 
(Guidelines) and are adopted and incorporated by reference].  Rule 
R432-14 supersedes any conflicting requirements of Rule R432-4. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure [B]birthing centers [shall 
]consist of at least one, but not more than five birth rooms.  Licensure 
is not required for birthing centers with only one birth room. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure [B]birthing rooms and 
ancillary service areas [shall be]are organized in a contiguous 
physical arrangement. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure [B]birthing centers with 
[4]four [or]to [5]five birth rooms [shall ]comply with Rule R432-
4.[NFPA 101, Life Safety Code, Chapter 20, New Ambulatory Health 
Care Occupancies.  Birthing centers with one to three birth rooms 
shall comply with NFPA 101, Life Safety Code, Chapter 38, New 
Business Occupancies and NFPA 101 A.3.3.178.3, as indicated in 
section 5.2-7.1 of the Guidelines.] 
 (5)  The licensee shall ensure birthing centers with one to 
three birth rooms comply with Rule R432-4. 
 ([5]6)  A [B]birthing center located contiguous with a 
general hospital may share:[ radiology services, laboratory services, 
pharmacy services, engineering services, maintenance services, 
laundry services, housekeeping services, dietary services, and 
business functions.  The owner shall retain in the birthing center a 
written agreement for the shared services.] 
 (a)  radiology services; 
 (b)  laboratory services; 
 (c)  pharmacy services; 
 (d)  engineering services; 
 (e)  maintenance services; 
 (f)  laundry services; 
 (g)  housekeeping services; 
 (h)  dietary services; and 
 (i)  business functions. 
 (7)  The owner shall retain in the birthing center a written 
agreement for the shared services. 
 
R432-14-4.  General Construction Patient Facilities. 
[ (1)  Requirements of section 5.2 of the Guidelines shall be 
met except as modified in this section. 
 (2)  When a modification is cited, the modification 
supersedes conflicting requirements of the Guidelines.] 

 ([3]1)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the facility [shall be]is 
designed to allow access to service areas and common areas without 
compromising patient privacy. 
 ([4]2)  The licensee shall ensure [B]birth rooms and service 
areas [shall be]are grouped to form a physically defined service unit. 
 ([5]3)  The licensee shall ensure [S]spaces [shall be]are 
provided for each of the required services. 
 ([6]4)  The licensee shall ensure [I]interior finishes, 
lighting, and furnishings [shall ]reflect a residential rather than an 
institutional setting. 
 ([7]5)  The licensee shall ensure [M]maximum room 
occupancy [shall be]is one mother and her newborn infant or infants. 
 ([8]6)  The licensee shall ensure [W]windows in a birth 
room with a sight line [which ]that permit[s] observation from the 
exterior [shall be]are arranged or draped to ensure patient privacy. 
 ([9]7)  The licensee shall ensure [B]birth rooms [shall 
]provide each patient a wardrobe, closet, or locker, having minimum 
clearance dimensions of 24 inches by 20 inches, suitable for hanging 
full-length garments.  A clothes rod and adjustable shelf shall be 
provided. 
 ([10]8)  The licensee shall ensure [A]a toilet room with 
direct access from the birth room [shall be]is accessible.[ to each birth 
room.] 
 (a)  The toilet room shall contain a toilet and a lavatory. A 
shower or tub shall be accessible to each birth room and may be 
located in the toilet room. 
 (b)  A toilet room may serve two birth rooms. 
 (c)  [All]Each toilet room fixture[s] shall be handicap[ped 
]-accessible and shall have grab bars[ in compliance with 
ADA/ABA-AG]. 
 ([11]9)  The licensee shall ensure [N]newborn infant 
resuscitation equipment, including electrical receptacles, oxygen, 
and suction [shall be]are immediately available to each birth room in 
addition to resuscitation equipment provided for the mother. Portable 
oxygen and suction equipment shall be permitted. 
 ([12]10)  The licensee shall ensure [A]a mechanically 
exhausted area for storage of facility maintenance materials and 
equipment [shall be]is provided and may be combined with the 
environmental services room. 
[ (13)  Special surgical lighting is not required.] 
 ([14]11)  The licensee shall ensure [A]an examination light 
[shall be]is readily available in each birth room. Special surgical 
lighting is not required. 
 ([15]12)  The licensee shall ensure [A]an emergency 
lighting system is required and [must ]includes: 
 (a)  emergency exit signs; 
 (b)  [sufficient]enough lighting to safely exit the building; 
and 
 (c)  an examination light. 
 
[R432-14-5.  Excluded Guidelines and Administrative Code. 
 (1)  The following sections of the Guidelines do not apply: 
 (a)  Location, Subsection 5.2-1.3.1.1; 
 (b)  Soiled workroom 5.2-2.6.10.1; and 
 (c)  Soiled holding room 5.2-2.6.10.2; 
 (d)  Ventilation of Health Care Facilities, Part 6. 
 (2)  The following sections of Administrative Code do not 
apply: 
 (a)  General construction R432-4-23(5); and 
 (b)  General construction R432-4-23(17).] 
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R432-14-[6]5.  Penalties. 
 The [D]department may assess a civil money penalty of up 
to $10,000 and deny approval for patient utilization of new or 
remodeled areas if a health care provider does not submit 
architectural drawings to the department[Bureau of Licensing].  The 
[D]department may assess a civil money penalty of up to $10,000 if 
the licensee fails to follow [D]department-approved architectural 
plans.  The [D]department may assess a civil money penalty of up to 
$1,000 per day for each day a new or renovated area is occupied 
[prior to]before licensing agency approval. 
 
KEY:  health care facilities 
Date of Last Change:  2023[August 26, 2016] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 21, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-21-5; 26-
21-16 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R432-40 Filing ID:  
55251 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Family Health and Preparedness, 

Licensing 
Room number: 1st Floor 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Bldg 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Erica Pryor 801-

273-
2994 

ericapryor@utah.gov 

Kristi Grimes 385-
214-
9187 

kristigrimes@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R432-40.  Long-Term Care Facility Immunizations 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 

The purpose of this amendment is to modify and replace 
outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting Manual 
standards. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The revisions include more specific language consistent 
with the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
State government process was thoroughly reviewed.  This 
change will not impact the current process for licensure 
and re-licensure surveys.  No change to the state budget 
is expected because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local government city business licensing requirements 
were considered.  This proposed rule amendment should 
not impact local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because this amendment modifies and replaces outdated 
language with the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards. 
 
The Long-Term Care Facility Standards are regulated by 
the Department of Health and Human Services and not 
local governments.  There will be no change in local 
business licensing or any other item with which local 
government is involved.  There are no substantive 
changes being made regarding the fiscal impact of this 
rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for small 
businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for non-
small businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
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E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
compliance costs for affected persons because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards.  There are no 
substantive changes being made regarding the fiscal 
impact of this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 26, 
Chapter 21 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 01/26/2023 

 
R432.  Health and Human Services, Family Health and 
Preparedness, Licensing. 
R432-40.  Long-Term Care Facility Immunizations. 
[R432-40-1.  Legal Authority. 
 This rule is adopted pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 21.] 
 
R432-40-[2]1.  Purpose and Authority. 
[ Influenza and pneumococcal immunizations are 
recommended for persons aged 65 years and older and for persons of 
any age who have medical conditions that place them at high risk for 
complications of influenza.  The purpose of this rule is to require long 
term care facilities to have policies and procedures in place to protect 
vulnerable patients and residents from vaccine preventable illnesses.] 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to require long-term care 
facility licensees to have policies and procedures in place to protect 
vulnerable patients and residents from vaccine-preventable illnesses 
 (2)  This rule is adopted pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 21, 
Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act. 
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R432-40-[3]2.  Definitions. 
[ As used in this rule: 
 "Long-term care facility" means a nursing care facility, 
small health care facility, assisted living type I and type II, 
intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, and swing bed 
unit of a general acute care hospital 
 "Pneumococcal immunization" means an immunization 
using the 23-valent pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine (PPV23).] 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Long-term care facility" means a nursing care facility, 
small health care facility, assisted living type I and type II, 
intermediate care facility for the intellectually disabled; and 
 (2)  "Pneumococcal vaccination'' means use of Advisory 
Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) recommended 
vaccines to prevent pneumococcal disease, including pneumococcal 
conjugate vaccines PCV 13, PCV15, or PCV20, or the 23-valent 
pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine (PPSV23) administered per 
the recommendations. Recommendations may be found in the 
15-Valent Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine and 20-Valent 
Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine Among U.S. Adults: Updated 
Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization 
Practices --- United States, 2022 which is incorporated by reference. 
 
R432-40-[4]3.  Policy, [and ]Procedures, and Employee Training. 
 (1)  Each [long-term health care facility]licensee shall 
implement written policies and procedures that include: 
 ([1]a)  a comprehensive assessment and immunization 
program for residents and employees; 
 ([2]b)  how and when to provide the influenza, [and 
]pneumococcal, and COVID-19 [immunizations]vaccinations; 
 ([3]c)  standing orders from a qualified health care 
[practioner]practitioner to ensure residents obtain influenza, [and 
]pneumococcal, and COVID-19[ immunizations] vaccinations unless 
exempted as outlined in Section R432-40-4; and 
 ([4]d)  collection and recording of resident-specific 
immunization history information for each resident admitted to the 
facility[;]. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure that employees responsible 
for assessing, documenting, and reporting according to this rule 
complete an online training regarding Rule R432-40, as well as an 
overview of reporting requirements upon hire. 
 
R432-40-[5]4.  [Immunization]Vaccination Offer and 
Exemptions. 
[ (1)  Each long-term health care facility shall make available 
to all employees an influenza immunization during the recommended 
vaccine season.  The facility shall be deemed to have made influenza 
immunization available if the facility documents that each employee 
on staff had the opportunity to receive an influenza immunization 
under their existing health plan coverage.  If the employee does not 
have health plan coverage for influenza immunization, then the 
facility shall be deemed to have made influenza immunization 
available if the facility documents that each employee on staff had 
the opportunity to receive an influenza immunization at a cost to the 
employee that is at or below that charged by their local health 
department. 
 (2)  Each long-term health care facility shall document 
circumstances beyond its control that prevent it from providing 
immunizations, such as non-availability of vaccine.  If the facility is 
unable to obtain the necessary vaccines, it shall provide 
documentation and request an alternative plan from the local health 
department or Utah Department of Health. 

 (3)  The following are exempt from influenza and 
pneumococcal immunizations: 
 (a)  a resident, or the resident's responsible person if the 
resident is unable to act for himself, who has refused the 
immunization(s) after having been given the opportunity to be 
immunized and; 
 (b)  an employee who has refused the immunization(s) after 
having been given the opportunity to be immunized; 
 (c)  a resident or employee who has a condition 
contraindicated for immunization according to the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention's Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practice (ACIP) recommendations for influenza 
vaccine or for pneumococcal vaccine. 
 (2)  For each resident and employees who is not 
immunized, the facility shall document in the resident's or employee's 
respective files the reason for not becoming immunized.  The long-
term care facility shall annually make influenza and pneumococcal 
immunizations available to all residents and employees who have 
claimed an exemption.  The long-term care facility shall document 
each refusal to receive and medical contraindication to influenza and 
pneumococcal immunizations.] 
 (1)  Each licensee shall make an influenza immunization 
available to each employee during the recommended vaccine season. 
 (a)  The licensee shall be deemed to have made influenza 
immunization available if the licensee documents that each employee 
on staff had the opportunity to receive an influenza immunization 
under their existing health plan coverage. 
 (b)  If the employee does not have health plan coverage for 
influenza immunization, then the licensee shall be deemed to have 
made influenza immunization available if the licensee documents 
that each employee on staff had the opportunity to receive an 
influenza immunization at a cost to the employee that is at or below 
that charged by their local health department. 
 (2)  Each licensee shall document circumstances beyond its 
control that prevent it from providing immunizations, such as non-
availability of vaccine.  If the licensee cannot obtain the necessary 
vaccines, they shall provide documentation and request an alternative 
plan from the local health department or Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. 
 (3)  The following are exempt from the influenza and 
pneumococcal immunizations: 
 (a)  a resident, or the resident's responsible person if the 
resident cannot act for themselves, who has refused the immunization 
after having been given the opportunity to be immunized; 
 (b)  an employee who has refused the immunization after 
having been given the opportunity to be immunized; or 
 (c)  a resident or employee who has a condition 
contraindicated for immunization according to the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention's Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practice recommendations for influenza vaccine or for 
pneumococcal vaccine. 
 (4)  For each resident and employee who is not immunized, 
the licensee shall document in the resident's or employee's file the 
reason for not becoming immunized. 
 (a)  The licensee shall make influenza and pneumococcal 
immunizations annually available to all residents and employees who 
have claimed an exemption. 
 (b)  The licensee shall document the following: 
 (i)  each refusal to receive influenza and pneumococcal 
immunizations; and 
 (ii)  each medical contraindication to influenza and 
pneumococcal immunizations. 
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R432-40-[6]5.  Reporting of Data. 
[ By January 31 of each year, each long-term care facility 
shall report to the Utah Department of Health the number of residents 
who have received influenza and pneumococcal immunizations from 
May 1 to December 31 of the prior year, even if the resident is no 
longer in the facility.] 
 (1)  By April 30 of each year, each licensee shall report to 
the Department the number of residents who have received influenza, 
COVID-19, and pneumococcal vaccinations from October 1 of the 
prior year to March 31 of the reporting year, even if the residents are 
no longer in the facility. 
 (2)  By April 30 of each year, each licensee shall report to 
the Department the number of current and past employees who have 
received influenza and COVID-19 vaccinations from October 1 of 
the prior year to March 31 of the reporting year. 
 
R432-40-[7]6.  Civil Money Penalty. 
 The Department may assess up to a $500 civil money 
penalty for failure to maintain and report annual 
[immunization]vaccination data to the [Utah ]Department[ of 
Health], Immunization Program, by[ January] April 30 of each year.  
The Department may assess up to a $100 civil money penalty per 
resident or employee who, for reasons under the control of the 
facility, does not obtain[ an] appropriate 
vaccinations[immunization(s)] or if the facility does not have 
documentation of a refusal or medical contraindication. 
 
KEY:  health care facilities, vaccinations 
Date of Last Change:  2023[December 19, 2002] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 24, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-21 
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aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
State government process was thoroughly reviewed.  This 
change will not impact the current process for licensure 
and re-licensure surveys.  No change to the state budget 
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replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
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C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for small 
businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for non-
small businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual standards.  There are no substantive changes 
being made regarding the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
compliance costs for affected persons because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Utah Rulewriting Manual standards.  There are no 
substantive changes being made regarding the fiscal 
impact of this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
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R432.  Health and Human Services, Family Health and 
Preparedness, Licensing. 
R432-600.  Abortion Clinic Rule. 
R432-600-1.  Legal Authority. 
 This rule is [adopted pursuant to]authorized by Title 26, 
Chapter 21, Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act. 
 
R432-600-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  [The terms used in these rules are defined]Definitions 
in Rule R432-1[-3] additionally apply to abortion clinics. 
 (2)  [An ]"[a]Abortion [c]Clinic" (Clinic) means a facility[, 
including] or a physician's office [but not including a general acute 
or a specialty hospital ]that performs abortions. A general acute 
hospital or a specialty hospital that performs abortions is not an 
abortion clinic. 
 (3)  "Department" means the Department of Health and 
Human Services. 
 (4)  "Type I Abortion Clinic" is defined in Section 26-21-2. 
 (5)  "Type II Abortion Clinic" is defined in Section 26-21-
2. 
 
R432-600-3.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to promote the public health and 
welfare through the establishment and enforcement of licensure 
standards.  This rule sets standards for the operation and maintenance 
of abortion clinics for providing safe and effective facilities and 
services. 
 
R432-600-4.  Licensure. 
 (1)  A license is required to operate an abortion clinic.  The 
licensee [and facility ]shall maintain documentation that they are 
members in good standing with the National Abortion Federation or 
the Abortion Care Network, which is required for licensure. 
 (2)  A[n abortion] clinic may be licensed as a Type I 
[facility ]abortion clinic if the [facility]licensee only performs 
abortions as defined in Section 76-7-301 during the first trimester of 
pregnancy.[:] 
[ (a)  performs abortions, as defined in Section 76-7-301, 
during the first trimester of pregnancy; and 
 (b)  does not perform abortions, as defined in section 76-7-
301, after the first trimester of pregnancy.] 
 (3)  A[n abortion] clinic may be licensed as a Type II 
[facility]abortion clinic if the licensee[facility:] performs abortions, 
as defined in Section 76-7-301, during the first trimester of pregnancy 
or after the first trimester of pregnancy. 
[ (a)  performs abortions, as defined in Section 76-7-301, 
after the first trimester of pregnancy; or 
 (b)  performs abortions, as defined in section 76-7-301, 
during the first trimester of pregnancy and after the first trimester of 
pregnancy.] 
 (4)  An a[A]bortion clinic[s] licensee[must] shall comply 
with requirements of Title 76, Chapter 7, Part 3 Abortion. 
 
R432-600-5.  Construction. 
 (1)  Each [facility]licensee shall conform with the 
requirements of Rule R432-4[-1 through R432-4-22, with the 
exception of R432-4-8(1)(b)]. 
 (2)  Each [facility]licensee shall conform to the functional, 
space, and equipment construction requirements of Rule R432-4.[of 
the Guidelines for Design and Construction of Health Care Facilities, 
2010 edition, sections 3.1 and 3.2 with the following exceptions. 

 (a)  Section 3.1-6.1.1 Vehicular Drop-Off and Pedestrian 
Entrance is deleted; 
 (b)  Section 3.1-7.1.1.1 NFPA 101 is deleted; 
 (c)  Section3.1-7.2.2.1 Corridor Width is deleted; 
 (d)  Section 3.1-7.2.2.3(1)(b) is deleted; 
 (e)  Section 3.1-8.2.6 Heating Systems and Equipment is 
deleted; 
 (f)  3.2-6.2.4 Multipurpose Rooms is deleted; and] 
 ([g]3)  [Further modifications or deletion of space and 
functional requirements may be made with Departmental written 
approval.]Modifications of space and functional requirements may 
only be made with department approval. 
 ([3]4)  A licensee shall ensure that a t[T]reatment room[s 
shall be] measures a minimum of 110 square feet exclusive of 
vestibules or cabinets. 
 
R432-600-6.  Organization. 
 (1)  [Each clinic shall be operated by a licensee]A licensee 
shall operate each clinic.  If the licensee is not[other than] a single 
individual, there shall be an organized functioning governing body to 
[assure ]ensure accountability. 
 (2)  The licensee shall be responsible for the organization, 
management, operation, and control of the facility to include the 
following:[.] 
[ (3)  Responsibilities shall include at least the following:] 
 (a)  [C]comply with [all ]applicable federal, state and local 
laws, rules, and requirements; 
 (b)  [A]adopt and institute by-laws, protocols, policies, and 
procedures relative to the operation of the clinic; 
 (c)  [A]appoint, in writing, a qualified administrator to be 
responsible for the implementation of facility by-laws, policies and 
procedures, and for the overall management of the facility; 
 (d)  [A]appoint, in writing, a qualified medical director to 
be responsible for clinical services; 
 (e)  [E]establish a quality assurance committee in 
conjunction with the medical staff; 
 (f)  [S]secure contracts for services not provided directly by 
the clinic; 
 (g)  [R]receive and respond to the semi-annual inspection 
report by the [D]department; and 
 (h)  [C]compile statistics on the distribution of the informed 
consent material as required in Section 76-7-313. 
 
R432-600-7.  Clinic Protocols, Policies, and Procedures. 
 (1)  The licensee shall develop and implement written 
policies and procedures with the medical director and the 
administrator in accordance with [S]state law.[ including:] 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure that policies and procedures 
include the following: 
 (a)  [P]patient eligibility criteria; 
 (b)  [P]physician competency criteria; 
 (c)  [I]informed consent; 
[ (d)  For Type II Clinics, policy must indicate a limit on the 
number of weeks within the second trimester of pregnancy during 
which abortions can be safely performed in the clinic; 
 (e)  For Type II Clinics, an emergency treatment transfer 
plan which shall include: 
 (i)  patient acknowledgment of the transfer plan; 
 (ii)  notification to the receiving hospital when a patient 
requires emergency transfer; 
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 (iii)  explanation of how information will be provided to 
receiving hospital for proper care and treatment of the individual 
transferred; 
 (iv)  plan for security and accountability of the personal 
effects of the individual transferred; and 
 (v)  mode of transportation for the transfer. 
 (f)  If an abortion is performed when an unborn child is 
sufficiently developed to have any reasonable possibility of survival 
outside its mother's womb, the medical procedure used must be that 
which, in the best medical judgment of the physician, will give the 
unborn child the best chance of survival.  (Refer to Section 76-7-
307.)] 
 ([g]d)  [P]pre and post counseling; 
 ([h]e)  [C]clinic operational functions; 
 ([i]f)  [P]patient care and patient rights policies; 
 ([j]g)  [A]a quality assurance committee; 
 ([k]h)  [O]ongoing relevant training program for [all]any 
clinic personnel; 
 ([l]i)  [E]emergency and disaster plans; and 
 ([m]j)  [F]fire evacuation plans. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure a type II abortion clinic policy 
indicates a limit on the number of weeks within the second trimester 
of pregnancy when abortions can be safely performed in the clinic. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure a type II abortion clinic 
emergency treatment transfer plan includes: 
 (a)  patient acknowledgment of the transfer plan; 
 (b)  notification to the receiving hospital when a patient 
requires emergency transfer; 
 (c)  explanation of how information will be provided to the 
receiving hospital for proper care and treatment of the individual 
transferred; 
 (d)  plan for security and accountability of the personal 
effects of the individual transferred; and 
 (e)  mode of transportation for the transfer. 
 (5)  If an abortion is performed when an unborn child is 
developed enough to have any reasonable possibility of survival 
outside its mother's womb, the medical procedure used shall, in the 
best medical judgment of the physician, give the unborn child the best 
chance of survival in accordance with Section 76-7-307. 
 
R432-600-8.  Administrator. 
 (1)  Each [facility]licensee shall designate, in writing, an 
administrator who shall have [sufficient]enough freedom from other 
responsibilities to be on the premises of the clinic [a sufficient 
]enough [number of ]hours in the business day to permit attention to 
the management and administration of the facility. 
 (2)  The administrator shall designate a person to act as 
administrator in [his or her]their absence.  This person shall have 
[sufficient]enough power, authority, and freedom to act in the best 
interests of patient safety and well-being.  It is not the intent to permit 
a de facto administrator to supplant or replace the designated facility 
administrator. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the administrator [shall 
be]is 21 years of age or older. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the administrator [shall 
be]is experienced in administration and supervision of personnel, and 
[shall be]is knowledgeable about the medical aspects of abortions to 
interpret and be conversant in medical protocols. 
 (5)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the administrator's 
responsibilities [shall be]are included in a written job description. 
 (6)  Responsibilities [shall ]include [at least ]the following: 

 (a)  [D]develop and implement facility policies and 
procedures; 
 (b)  [M]maintain [an adequate number of]enough qualified 
and competent staff to meet the needs of clinic patients; 
 (c)  [D]develop clear and complete job descriptions for 
each position; 
 (d)  [I]implement recommendations made by the quality 
assurance committee; 
 (e)  [N]notify the [D]department [of Health, Bureau of 
Health Facility Licensing ]within [7]seven days in the event of the 
death of a patient; 
 (f)  [N]notify appropriate authorities when a reportable 
communicable disease is diagnosed; 
 (g)  [Administrator will ]ensure that a fetal death certificate 
is filed as required in Section 26-2-14, for each fetal death of 20 
weeks gestation or more calculated from the date the last normal 
menstrual period began to date of delivery; and 
 (h)  [R]review [all]any incident and accident reports and 
document [what ]the action [was ]taken. 
 
R432-600-9.  Medical Director. 
 (1)  The licensee of the abortion clinic shall retain, by 
formal agreement, a physician to serve as medical director. 
 (2)  The medical director shall meet the following 
qualifications: 
 (a)  [B]be currently licensed to practice medicine in Utah; 
 (b)  [H]have [sufficient]enough training and expertise in 
abortion procedures to enable supervision of the scope of service 
offered by the clinic; 
 (c)  [B]be a diplomat of the American Board of Obstetrics 
and Gynecology or the American Board of Surgery; or submit 
evidence to the [D]department that other training and experience will 
qualify [her or him ]them for admission to an examination by either 
board; or 
 (d)  [B]be certified by the American College of Osteopathic 
Obstetricians and Gynecologists or the American Board of 
Osteopathic Surgeons[;], or submit evidence to the [D]department 
that [his]their training and experience qualifies [him or her]them for 
admission to an examination by the College or Board; and 
 (e)  [B]be a member in good standing with the National 
Abortion Federation or the Abortion Care Network. 
 (3)  The medical director shall have overall responsibility 
for the administration of medication and treatment delivered in the 
facility.  Applicable laws relating to abortions, professional licensure 
acts, and clinic protocols shall govern both medical staff and 
employee performance. 
 (4)  The medical director [shall be]is responsible to[for at 
least the following]: 
 (a)  [To ]develop and review facility protocols; 
 (b)  [To ]establish competency criteria for staff physicians 
and personnel, including training in abortion procedures and abortion 
counseling; 
 (c)  [To ]supervise the performance of the medical staff; 
 (d)  [To ]serve as a member of the clinic's quality assurance 
committee; 
 (e)  [To ]act as consultant to the director of nursing; and 
 (f)  [E]ensure that a physician's report is filed as required in 
Section 76-7-313[,] for each abortion performed. 
 
R432-600-10.  Health Surveillance. 
 (1)  The [Facility]licensee shall establish a personnel health 
program through written personnel health policies and procedures 
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[which]that [shall ]protect the health and safety of personnel and 
clients.[ commensurate with the service offered.] 
 (2)  An employee placement health evaluation to include 
[at least ]a health inventory shall be completed when an employee is 
hired. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the health inventory [shall 
]obtains [at least ]the employee's history of the following: 
 (a)  conditions that predispose the employee to acquiring or 
transmitting infectious diseases; and 
 (b)  conditions [which]that may prevent the employee from 
performing [certain ]assigned duties[ satisfactorily;]. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure [E]employee health screening 
and immunization components of a personnel health program[s] 
[shall be]are developed in accordance with Rule R386-702.[ 
Communicable Disease Rules;] 
 (5)  The licensee shall ensure [E]employee skin testing by 
the Mantoux Method or other FDA approved in-vitro serologic test 
and follow up for tuberculosis [shall be]is done in accordance with 
Rule R388-804, Special Measures for control of [T]tuberculosis[;]. 
 (a)  The licensee shall ensure that [all]any employees are 
skin tested for tuberculosis within two weeks of: 
 (i)  initial hiring; 
 (ii)  suspected exposure to a person with active 
tuberculosis;[ and] or 
 (iii)  development of symptoms of tuberculosis. 
 (b)  Skin testing shall be exempted for [all]any employee[s] 
with a known positive reaction to skin tests. 
 (6)  The licensee shall ensure [All]any infections and 
communicable diseases reportable by law [shall be]are reported by 
the [facility]licensee to the local health department in accordance 
with Section R386-702-2. 
 
R432-600-11.  Personnel. 
 (1)  The [A]administrator shall employ [a sufficient number 
of ]enough professional and support staff who are competent to 
perform their respective duties, services, and functions. 
 (a)  [All]Each staff member shall be licensed, certified, or 
registered as required by the Utah Department of Commerce. 
 (b)  [Copies shall be maintained for Department review that 
all licenses, registration and certificates are current.]The licensee 
shall maintain current licenses, registration, and certificates for 
department review. 
[ (c)  Failure to ensure that all personnel are licensed, 
certified or registered may result in sanctions to the facility license.] 
 (2)  [There shall be planned, documented, in-service 
training program held regularly for all facility personnel.]The 
licensee shall plan, provide, and document and regularly hold an in-
service training program for facility personnel. 
 (3)  The training program shall address [all]any clinic 
protocols and policies. 
 (4)  [All ]Each clinic staff member [personnel ]shall have 
access to the facility's policies and procedures manuals and other 
information necessary to effectively perform assigned duties and 
carry out responsibilities. 
 
R432-600-12.  Contracts. 
 (1)  The licensee shall make arrangements for professional 
and other required services not provided directly by the facility. 
 (2)  If the [facility]licensee contracts for services, there 
shall be a signed[,] and dated agreement that details [all]any services 
provided[.] to include: 
[ (2)  The contract shall include:] 

 (a)  [T]the effective and expiration dates; 
 (b)  [A]a description of goods or services to be provided; 
and 
 (c)  [C]a copy of the professional license, if applicable. 
 
R432-600-13.  Quality Assurance. 
 (1)  The administrator, in conjunction with the medical 
[staff]director, shall establish a quality assurance committee and 
program.  This committee shall regularly review the following:[ 
regularly clinic operations, protocols, policies and procedures, 
incident reports, infection control, patient care policies and safety.] 
 (a)  clinic operations; 
 (b)  protocols; 
 (c)  policies and procedures; 
 (d)  incident reports; 
 (e)  infection control; 
 (f)  patient care policies; and 
 (g)  safety. 
 (2)  The committee shall include a representative from the 
clinic administration, a physician, and a nurse. 
 (3)  The committee shall meet at least quarterly and keep 
minutes of the proceedings.  The licensee shall ensure [T]the minutes 
[shall be]are available for department review.[ review by the 
Department.] 
 (4)  The committee shall initiate action to resolve identified 
quality assurance problems by filing a written report of findings and 
recommendations with the licensee. 
 
R432-600-14.  Emergency and Disaster. 
 (1)  Each licensee [facility has the responsibility to]shall 
[assure]ensure the safety and well-being of patients in the event of an 
emergency or disaster.  An emergency or disaster may include [but is 
not limited ]interruption of public utilities, explosion, fire, 
earthquake, bomb threat, flood, windstorm, epidemic, and injury. 
 (2)  The administrator shall be in charge of facility 
operations during any [significant ]emergency or disaster.  If not on 
the premises, the administrator shall make every reasonable effort to 
get to the facility to relieve subordinates and take charge during the 
emergency. 
 (3)  The licensee and the administrator shall be responsible 
for the development of [a]an emergency plan, coordinated with state 
and local emergency or disaster authorities, to respond to 
emergencies and disasters. 
 (a)  [This]The licensee shall ensure the emergency plan 
[shall be]is in writing and [shall be]is distributed or made available 
to [all]each facility staff member to [assure]ensure prompt and 
efficient implementation. 
 (b)  [The plan shall be reviewed and updated at least 
annually by the administrator and the licensee.]The administrator and 
licensee shall review and update the emergency plan at least annually. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the names and telephone 
numbers of clinic staff, emergency medical personnel, and 
emergency service systems [shall be]are posted. 
 (5)  The [facility's]licensee's emergency plan shall address 
the following: 
 (a)  [E]evacuation of occupants to a safe place within the 
facility or to another location; 
 (b)  [D]delivery of emergency care and services to facility 
occupants when staff is reduced by an emergency; 
 (c)  [T]the person[ or persons] with decision-making 
authority for fiscal, medical, and personnel management; 
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 (d)  [A]an inventory of available personnel, equipment, and 
supplies and instructions on how to acquire additional assistance; 
 (e)  [A]assignment of personnel to specific tasks during an 
emergency; 
 (f)  [N]names and telephone numbers of on-call physicians 
and staff[ shall be available]; and 
 (g)  [D]documentation of emergency events. 
 (6)  The licensee and administrator shall develop a written 
fire emergency and evacuation plan in consultation with qualified fire 
safety personnel. 
 (a)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the evacuation plan [shall 
]identif[y]ies evacuation routes, location of fire alarm boxes, fire 
extinguishers, and emergency telephone numbers of the local fire 
department and [shall be]are posted throughout the facility. 
 (b)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the written fire emergency 
plan [shall ]includes fire-containment procedures and instructions on 
how to use the facility alarm systems and signals. 
 (c)  The licensee shall ensure [F]fire drills and 
documentation [shall be]are conducted in accordance with Section 
R710-4-3, State of Utah Fire Protection Board.  The actual 
evacuation of patients during a drill is optional. 
 
R432-600-15.  Patients' Rights. 
 (1)  The [clinic]licensee shall provide informed consent 
material [(see Section 76-7-305.5) ]to any patient or potential patient 
in accordance with Section 76-7-305. 
 (2)  The licensee shall make w[W]ritten policies regarding 
the rights of patients [shall be made ]available to the patient, public, 
and the [D]department upon request. 
 (3)  Each patient admitted to the facility [shall have]has the 
[following rights]right to: 
 (a)  [To ]be fully informed, [prior to]before or at the time 
of admission and during stay, of these rights and of [all]any facility 
rules that pertain to the patient; 
 (b)  [To ]be fully informed, [prior to]before or at the time 
of admission and during stay, of services available in the facility and 
of any charges [for which]that the patient may be liable; 
 (c)  [To ]refuse to participate in experimental research; 
 (d)  [To ]refuse treatment and to be informed of the medical 
consequences of such refusal; 
 (e)  [To ]be assured of confidential treatment of personal 
and medical records and to approve or refuse release to any individual 
outside the facility, except in the case of transfer to another health 
facility, or as required by law or third -party payment contract; and 
 (f)  [To ]be treated as an individual with consideration, 
respect, and full recognition of personal dignity and individuality, 
including privacy in treatment and in care for personal needs. 
 
R432-600-16.  General Patient Care Policies. 
[ (1)  Each patient shall be treated as an individual with 
dignity and respect.] 
 ([2]1)  Each [clinic]licensee shall develop and implement 
patient care policies to be reviewed annually by the administrator or 
designee. 
 (a)  The licensee shall ensure [P]patient care policies [shall 
be]are developed and revised through patient[-] care conferences 
with [all]any professionals involved in patient care. 
 (b)  The licensee shall ensure [A]admission and discharge 
policies [shall be]are included in general patient care policies. 
 ([3]2)  The [facility]licensee shall have a policy to notify 
next of kin in the event of serious injury to, or death of, the patient. 

 ([4]3)  The licensee shall ensure [E]each patient [shall be]is 
under the care of a physician who is a member of the clinic staff. 
 
R432-600-17.  Nursing Services. 
 (1)  Each [facility]licensee shall provide nursing services 
commensurate with the needs of the patients served. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure [All]each non-medical patient 
service[s] [shall be]is under the general direction of the director of 
nursing, except as specifically exempted by facility policy. 
 (3)  Each Type II abortion clinic licensee, shall employ and 
designate in writing a director of nursing who will be responsible for 
the organization and functioning of the nursing staff and related 
service. 
 (a)  The director of nursing shall be a registered nurse who 
has academic or post graduate training acceptable to the medical 
director. 
 (b)  The director of nursing, in consultation with the 
medical director, shall plan and direct the delivery of nursing care by 
nursing staff. 
 (4)  Nursing service personnel shall assist the physician, 
plan and deliver nursing care, treatments, and procedures 
commensurate with the patient's needs and clinic protocols. 
 (5)  The [facility]licensee shall provide [adequate]enough 
equipment in good working order to meet the needs of patients. 
 (6)  The licensee shall ensure [D]disposable and single-use 
items [shall be]are properly disposed after use. 
 
R432-600-18.  Pharmacy Service. 
 (1)  [There shall be]The licensee shall have written policies 
and procedures, approved by the medical director and administrator, 
to govern the acquisition, storage, and disposal of medications. 
 (2)  [There shall be provision for the supply of]The licensee 
shall ensure necessary drugs and biologicals are provided on a 
prompt and timely basis. 
 (3)  The [clinic]licensee shall obtain reference material 
containing monographs on [all]any drugs used in the facility.  The 
drug monographs shall include:[ generic and brand names, available 
strengths, dosage forms, indications and side effects, and other 
pharmacological data.] 
 (a)  generic and brand names; 
 (b)  available strengths; 
 (c)  dosage forms; 
 (d)  indications and side effects; and 
 (e)  other pharmacological data. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure [All]any medications, 
solutions, and prescription items [shall be]are kept in a secure, 
controlled storage area and separate from non-medicine items. 
 (5)  The licensee shall ensure [A]an accessible emergency 
drug supply [shall be]is maintained in the facility. 
 (a)  Specific drugs and dosages to be included in the 
emergency drug supply shall be approved by the medical director. 
 (b)  Contents of the emergency drug supply shall be listed 
on the outside of the container. 
 (c)  The use and regular inventory of the contents shall be 
documented by nursing staff. 
 (6)  The licensee shall ensure [M]medications stored at 
room temperature [shall be]are maintained [within]between 59 
degrees [-]and 80 degrees [F]Fahrenheit (F) [(]or between 15 degrees 
[to]and 30 degrees Celsius (C)[)]. The licensee shall maintain 
[R]refrigerated medications [shall be maintained within]between 36 
degrees [-]and 46 degrees F [(]or between 2 degrees [to]and 8 degrees 
C[)]. 
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 (7)  The licensee shall ensure [M]medications and other 
items that require refrigeration [shall be]are stored securely and 
segregated from food items. 
 
R432-600-19.  Laboratory and Radiology Services. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall [make provisions]provide, 
as appropriate, for [L]laboratory and [R]radiology services. 
 (2)  [There shall be a valid order, documented in the 
patients medical record, from a physician or a person licensed to 
prescribe such services.]A physician or person licensed to prescribe 
services shall provide a valid order and document it in the patient's 
medical record. 
 (3)  [Services shall be performed by a qualified licensed 
provider.]A qualified licensed provider shall perform any services. 
 (4)  If the [facility]licensee provides its own laboratory 
service, these services shall be performed in compliance with[comply 
with] Section R432-100-23 in the General Hospital Facility Rules. 
 (5)  If the [facility]licensee provides its own radiology 
services, these services shall be performed in compliance with[shall 
comply with] Section R432-100-22. 
 (6)  If laboratory and radiology services are not provided 
directly, [provision shall be made for such services]these services 
shall be made available.  The licensee shall ensure [R]reports or 
results [shall be]are reported promptly to the attending physician and 
documented in the patient's medical record. 
 
R432-600-20.  Anesthesia Services. 
 The licensee shall ensure [A]anesthesia services provided 
in the clinic [shall ]are performed in compliance with[comply with] 
the General Hospital Rules Sections R432-100-[15]16 and [Utah 
Code ]76-7-305. 
 
R432-600-21.  Medical Records. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure a [M]medical record[s] [shall 
be]is complete, accurately documented, and systematically organized 
to facilitate storage and retrieval.  The[re] licensee shall have [shall 
be ]written policies and procedures to accomplish this[ese] 
purpose[s]. 
 (2)  The licensee shall maintain a permanent, individual 
medical record for each patient.[A permanent individual medical 
record shall be maintained for each patient.] 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure [All]any record entries [shall 
be]are permanent and [capable of being]able to be photocopied.  The 
licensee shall ensure [E]entries [must be]are authenticated 
[including]with the date, name or identified initials, and title of the 
person making the entry. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure a r[R]ecord[s] [shall be]is 
kept for [all]each patient[s] admitted or accepted for treatment and 
care.  The licensee shall ensure the [R]record[s] [shall be]is kept 
current and [shall ]conforms to [good medical and professional 
practice ]current professional standards based on the service provided 
to each patient. 
 (5)  The licensee shall ensure [All]a record[s] of a 
discharged patient[s] [shall be]is completed and filed as soon as 
possible or within 30 days of discharge. 
 (6)  The licensee shall ensure [E]each patient's medical 
record [shall ]includes the following: 
 (a)  an admission record including:[An admission record 
(face sheet) including the patient's name; age; date of admission; 
name, address, and telephone number of physician and responsible 
person;] 
 (i)  the patient's name; 

 (ii)  the patient's age; 
 (iii)  date of admission; and 
 (iv)  the name, address, and telephone number of the 
physician and responsible person; 
 (b)  [R]reports of physical examinations, laboratory tests 
and [X]x-rays prescribed and completed, including ultrasound 
reports; 
 (c)  [S]signed and dated physician orders for drugs and 
treatments; 
 (d)  [S]signed and dated nurse's notes regarding the care of 
the patient[.  The notes] that [shall ]includes vital signs, medications, 
treatments, and other pertinent information; 
 (e)  [D]discharge summary [which]that contains a brief 
narrative of conditions and diagnoses of the patient and final 
disposition; 
 (f)  [T]the pathologist's report of human tissue removed 
during an abortion; and 
 (g)  [All]any information [indicated in ]required by Section 
76-7-313. 
 (7)  The licensee shall ensure [M]medical records [shall 
be]are retained for at least seven years after the last date of patient 
care.  The licensee shall ensure [R]records of minors [shall be]are 
retained until the minor reaches age 18 or the age of majority plus an 
additional two years.  In no case shall the record be retained less than 
seven years. 
 (8)  The licensee shall ensure [All ]patient records [shall 
be]are retained within the clinic upon change of ownership. 
 (9)  [Provision shall be made for filing, safe storage, 
security, and easy accessibility of medical records.]The licensee shall 
ensure any medical records shall be filed, secured, safely stored, and 
be made easily accessible. 
 (10)  Medical record information [shall be]is confidential.  
The licensee shall ensure [T]there [shall be]are written procedures for 
the use and removal of medical records and the release of patient 
information. 
 (a)  Information may be disclosed only to authorized 
persons in accordance with federal and state laws, and clinic policy. 
 (b)  Requests for information [which]that may identify the 
patient, [(]including photographs,[)] shall require the written consent 
of the patient. 
 
R432-600-22.  Housekeeping Services. 
 (1)  The[re] licensee shall provide [shall be adequate 
]enough housekeeping services to maintain a clean, sanitary, and 
healthful environment in the facility. 
 (2)  [Written housekeeping policies and procedures shall be 
developed and implemented by each facility, and reviewed and 
updated as necessary.]The licensee shall: 
 (a)  develop and implement housekeeping policies and 
procedures and ensure these policies and procedures are reviewed 
and updated as necessary; 
 ([3]b)  [The facility shall ]employ housekeeping staff to 
maintain both the exterior and interior of the facility in a safe, clean, 
and orderly manner[.]; 
 ([4]c)  ensure that h[H]ousekeeping equipment [shall be ]is 
designed for institutional use and properly maintained[.]; 
 ([5]d)  prepare c[C]leaning solutions for floors [shall be 
prepared ]in proper strengths according to the manufacturer's 
instructions and [be]are checked to [i]ensure that [the ]proper 
germicidal concentrations are maintained[.]; and 
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 ([6]e)  [There shall be sufficient number of ]ensure there 
are enough noncombustible trash containers to meet facility needs[.  
Lids shall be provided] and provide lids where appropriate. 
 ([7]3)  The licensee shall ensure that any [S]storage area[s] 
containing cleaning agents, bleaches, insecticides, or poisonous, 
dangerous, or flammable materials, [shall be stored in a ]is locked 
[area ]to prevent unauthorized access.  A [T]toilet room[s] [shall]may 
not be used [as]for storage.[ places.] 
 
R432-600-23.  Laundry Services. 
 (1)  Each [facility]licensee shall [have provisions for 
storage and processing of]store and process clean and soiled linen as 
required for patient care and in accordance with the requirements of 
this subsection. 
 (2)  Processing may be done within the facility, in a 
separate building or in a commercial or shared laundry. 
 (3)  Each [facility]licensee shall develop and implement 
policies and procedures relevant to operation of the laundry. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure that clean linen is:[Clean 
linen shall be stored, handled, and transported in a manner to prevent 
contamination. 
 (a)  Clean linen shall be stored in clean ventilated closets, 
rooms, or alcoves used only for that purpose. 
 (b)  Clean linen shall be covered if stored in alcoves and 
transported through the facility. 
 (c)  Clean linen from a commercial laundry shall be 
delivered to a designated clean area in a manner that prevents 
contamination. 
 (d)  Linens shall be maintained in good condition. 
 (e)  A supply of clean washcloths and towels shall be 
provided and available to staff to meet the care needs of patients.] 
 (a)  stored, handled, and transported in a manner to prevent 
contamination; 
 (b)  stored in clean, ventilated closets, rooms, or alcoves 
used only for that purpose; 
 (c)  covered if stored in alcoves and transported through the 
facility; 
 (d)  delivered to a designated clean area in a manner that 
prevents contamination, if provided by a commercial laundry; and 
 (e)  maintained in good condition. 
 (5)  The licensee shall provide a supply of clean washcloths 
and towels available to staff to meet the care needs of patients. 
 ([5]6)  The licensee shall ensure that soiled linen is:[Soiled 
linen shall be handled, stored and processed in a manner that will 
prevent the spread of infections. 
 (a)  Soiled linen shall be sorted in a separate room by 
methods affording protection from contamination, according to 
facility policy and applicable rules. 
 (b)  Soiled linen shall be stored and transported in a closed 
container which prevents airborne contamination of corridors, areas 
occupied by patients, and precludes cross contamination of clean 
linens.] 
 (a)  handled, stored, and processed in a manner that will 
prevent the spread of infections; 
 (b)  sorted in a separate room by methods that offer 
protection from contamination, according to facility policy and 
applicable rules; and 
 (c)  stored and transported in a closed container that 
prevents airborne contamination of corridors, areas occupied by 
patients, and precludes cross contamination of clean linens. 
 ([6]7)  The licensee shall maintain l[L]aundry chutes [shall 
be maintained ]in a clean and sanitary state. 

R432-600-24.  Maintenance Services. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure there is[There shall be] 
adequate maintenance service to ensure that the facility, equipment, 
and grounds are maintained in a clean and sanitary condition and in 
good repair[ at all times], and in accordance with any manufacturer 
specifications for the safety and well-being of patients, staff, and 
visitors. 
 (2)  The administrator shall employ or contract with a 
person qualified by experience and training to be in charge of facility 
maintenance. 
 (3)  The [facility]licensee shall develop and implement a 
written maintenance program, including preventive maintenance, to 
ensure continued operation and sanitary practices throughout the 
facility. 
 (4)  [All ]The licensee shall ensure the 
following:[buildings, fixtures, equipment and spaces shall be 
maintained in operable conditions.] 
 (a) buildings, fixtures, equipment, and spaces are 
maintained in operable condition; 
 ([5]b)  [A]a pest control program [shall be]is conducted to 
ensure the facility is free from vermin and rodents[.]; 
 ([6]c)  [E]equipment used in the clinic [shall be]is approved 
by Underwriter's Laboratory and meet [all]any applicable United 
States Code, Title 69, Sections 651-678, Utah Occupational Safety 
and Health Act requirements in effect at the time of purchase[.]; 
 ([7]d)  [E]electrical systems including appliances, cords, 
equipment, call lights, and switches [shall be]are maintained to 
guarantee safe functioning and compliance with the National 
Electrical Code[.]; and 
 ([8]e)  [There shall be ]regular inspections[,] are scheduled 
to clean or replace [all]any filters installed in heating, air 
conditioning, and ventilation systems, to maintain the systems in 
operating condition. 
 
R432-600-25.  Emergency Electric Service. 
 (1)  The [clinic]licensee shall [make provision]ensure there 
is [for ]emergency electrical power to provide lighting and power to 
critical areas essential for patient safety in the event of an interruption 
of normal electrical power service. 
 (2)  The method utilized for emergency electrical power is 
subject to [D]departmental review and approval. 
 (3)  The licensee shall provide[There shall be provision for] 
emergency exit lighting.[ according to NFPA 101.] 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure the following:[Flashlights 
shall be available for emergency use by staff.] 
 (a)  flashlights are available for emergency use by staff; 
 ([5]b)  [All]any emergency electrical power systems [shall 
be]are maintained in operating condition and tested as follows: 
 ([a]i)  [E]emergency generators [shall be]are tested[ in 
accordance with NFPA 99.]; and 
 ([b]ii)  [T]transfer switches and battery -operated 
equipment shall be functionally tested every 30 days and load tested 
at least annually, for 90 minutes. 
 ([6]5)  The licensee shall maintain, for review, a[A] written 
record of inspection, performance, test period, and repair of the 
emergency electrical system[ shall be maintained] on the premises[ 
for review]. 
 
R432-600-26.  Storage and Disposal of Solid Wastes. 
 The licensee shall provide [F]facilities and equipment 
[shall be provided ]for the sanitary storage and treatment or disposal 
of [all]any categories of waste, including hazardous and infectious 
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wastes if applicable, using techniques acceptable to the Department 
of Environmental Quality, and the local health department.[ having 
jurisdiction.] 
 
R432-600-27.  Oxygen. 
 (1)  If oxygen is utilized the licensee shall ensure safe 
handling and storage of oxygen.[: 
 (1)  Provision shall be made for safe handling and storage 
of oxygen according to the NFPA 101, Life Safety Code and 
referenced NFPA standards.] 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure that p[P]iped oxygen systems 
[shall be]are tested and installed[ in accordance with NFPA 99.], and 
a written report is filed with the department as follows: 
[ (3)  A written report shall be filed with the Utah Department 
of Health as follows:] 
 (a)  [U]upon completion of initial piped oxygen system 
installation; 
 (b)  [W]when[ever] changes are made to a system; and 
 (c)  [W]when[ever] the integrity of the system has been 
breached. 
 
R432-600-28.  Lighting. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure [A]at least 30 foot-candles of 
light [shall ]illuminates reading, bed level patient care, [(bed level) 
]and working areas in patient treatment areas and not less than 20 
foot-candles of light [shall be]are provided in the rest of the room. 
 (2)  [All]The licensee shall ensure any accessible 
storeroom, stairway, ramp, exit, and entrance area[s shall be]is 
illuminated by at least 20 foot-candles of light at floor level. 
 (3)  [All]The licensee shall ensure any corridor[s shall be] 
are illuminated with a minimum of 20 foot-candles of light at floor 
level. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure any o[O]ther area[s shall be] 
is provided with the following minimum foot-candles of light at 
working surfaces: 
 (a)  [O]operating room[s] 50 [F]foot-candles; 
 (b)  [M]medication preparation area[s] 50 foot-candles; 
 (c)  [C]charting area[s] 50 foot-candles; 
 (d)  [R]reading room[s] 50 foot-candles; 
 (e)  [L]laundry area[s] 20 foot-candles; and 
 (f)  [B]bath and shower room[s] 20 foot-candles. 
 
R432-600-29.  Water Supply. 
[ (1)  Plumbing and drainage facilities shall be maintained in 
compliance with Utah Plumbing Code. 
 (2)  Backflow prevention devices shall be maintained in 
operating condition and tested when required by the Utah Plumbing 
Code and Utah Public Drinking Water Regulations.] 
 ([3]1)  The licensee shall ensure [H]hot water temperature 
controls [shall ]automatically regulate temperatures of hot water 
delivered to plumbing fixtures used by patients.  The 
[facility]licensee shall maintain hot water that is delivered to patient 
care areas at temperature between 105 degrees and 120 degrees F. 
 ([4]2)  The licensee shall ensure [T]there [shall be]are grab 
bars at each toilet, bathtub, and shower used by patients. 
[ (5)  Toilet, hand washing facilities, shall be maintained in 
operating condition and in the number and types specified in 
construction requirements.] 
 

R432-600-30.  Smoking Policy. 
 The licensee shall ensure [T]the smoking policy [shall]is 
compliant [comply ]with the ["]Utah Clean Air Act["], Title 26, 
Chapter 38[, and Section 20.7.4 of the Life Safety Code]. 
 
R432-600-31.  Penalties. 
 Any person who violates [any provision of ]this rule may 
be subject to the penalties enumerated in Sections 26-21-11 and 
R432-3-7 and be punished for violation of a class A misdemeanor as 
provided in Section 26-21-16. 
 
KEY:  health care facilities 
Date of Last Change:  2023[September 13, 2017] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 1, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-21-5; 26-
21-6; 26-21-16 
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TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-229.  Annuity Disclosure 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual standards.  Other changes make the 
language of this rule more clear, remove the Enforcement 
Date (the old R590-229-9) section, and update the 
Severability (the new R590-229-7) section to use the 
Department's current language.  The changes do not add, 
remove, or change any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 

this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-22-425 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 02/08/2023 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-229.  Annuity Disclosure. 
R590-229-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated [pursuant to Section 31A-22-425 
wherein the commissioner is to make rules to establish standards for 
buyer's guides and disclosures and Subsection 31A-2-201(3)(a) 
wherein the commissioner may make rules to implement the 
provisions of Title 31A]by the commissioner pursuant to Sections 
31A-2-201 and 31A-22-425. 
 
R590-229-2.  [Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (1)  provide standards for the disclosure of minimum 
information about annuity contracts to protect consumers by 
specifying: 
 (a)  the minimum information that must be disclosed; and 
 (b)  the method for disclosing it in connection with the sale 
of annuity contracts; and 
 (2)  foster consumer education by ensuring that purchasers 
of annuity contracts understand certain basic features of annuity 
contracts. 
 
R590-229-3.  ]Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to provide a standard for the 
disclosure of information in connection with the sale of an annuity 
contract to protect a consumer and foster consumer education. 
 (2)  This rule applies to an insurer when offering an 
individual [and ]or group annuity [contracts and certificates ]contract 
or certificate except: 
 (a)  a registered or non-registered variable [annuities 
]annuity or other registered product[s]; 
 [(b)(i)  annuities used to fund:](b)  a structured settlement 
annuity; 
 (c)  a funding agreement; or 
 (d)  an annuity used to fund: 
 [(A)](i)  an employee pension plan that is covered by the 
Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA); 
 [(B)](ii)  a plan described by [Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
Sections ]Section 401(a), 401(k), or 403(b) of the Internal Revenue 
Code where the plan is established or maintained by an employer; 
 [(C)](iii)  a government or church plan defined in [IRC 
Section 414 or ]Section 414, Internal Revenue Code; 
 (iv)  a deferred compensation plan [or ]of a state[ or ], a 
local government, or a tax[ ]-exempt organization under [IRC 
]Section 457, Internal Revenue Code; or 

 [(D)](v)  a nonqualified deferred compensation 
arrangement established or maintained by an employer or plan 
sponsor. 
 [(ii)](3)  Notwithstanding Subsection [(1)(b)(i) of this 
section](2)(d), this rule [shall apply to annuities ]applies to an annuity 
used to fund a plan or arrangement that: 
 (a)  is funded [solely ]only by contributions an employee 
elects to make [whether ]on a pre-tax or after-tax basis; and 
 (b)  where there is [a ]direct solicitation of an individual 
employee by a producer for the purchase of an annuity contract[. As 
used in this subsection, direct solicitation shall not include any 
meeting held by a producer solely for the purpose of educating or 
enrolling employees in the plan or arrangement; and 
 (c)  structured settlement annuities; and 
 (d)  funding agreements]. 
 [(2)  The ](4)  An immediate or deferred annuity that does 
not contain a nonguaranteed element is exempt from the disclosure 
document requirement[s] of this rule[ do not apply to immediate and 
deferred annuities that contain no nonguaranteed elements]. 
[ 
R590-229-4.  Incorporation by Reference. 
 The following Buyer's Guides are hereby incorporated by 
reference within this rule: 
 (1)  "Buyer's Guide for Deferred Annuities" dated 2013, as 
adopted by and available from the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners; 
 (2)  "Buyer's Guide for Deferred Annuities - Fixed" dated 
2013, as adopted by and available from the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners; and 
 (3)  "Buyer's Guide for Deferred Annuities - Variable" 
dated 2013 as adopted by and available from the National Association 
of Insurance Commissioners.] 
 
R590-229-[5]3.  Definitions. 
 [In addition to the definitions in Section 31A-1-301, the 
following definitions shall apply for the purpose of this rule]Terms 
used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301.  Additional terms 
are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "Buyer's [Guide]guide" means a document [which ]that 
contains, and is limited to, the language contained in the "Buyer's 
Guide for Deferred Annuities," [dated 2013, the ]"Buyer's Guide for 
Deferred Annuities - Fixed," [dated 2013, and the ]and "Buyer's 
Guide for Deferred Annuities - Variable" [dated 2013]as adopted and 
periodically amended by the NAIC. 
 (2)  "Contract owner" means the owner named in the 
annuity contract or certificate holder in the case of a group annuity 
contract. 
 (3)(a)  "Determinable element[s]" means [elements that are 
]an element derived from a process[es] or method[s] that [are ]is 
guaranteed at issue and not subject to company discretion, but where 
the value[s] or amount[s] cannot be determined until some point after 
issue.[ These elements include the premiums, credited interest rates 
with any applicable bonus, benefits, values, non-interest based 
credits, charges or elements of formulas used to determine any of 
these. These elements may be described as guaranteed but not 
determined at issue. ] 
 (b)  An element is considered determinable if all [of ]the 
underlying elements that go into its calculation are either guaranteed 
or determinable. 
[ (4)  "Disclosure document" means the document described 
in Subsection 6(2) of this rule.] 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 05 121 

 (4)(a)  "Direct solicitation" means a personalized 
solicitation to a specific individual through an insurer or producer 
that is not a direct-response solicitation. 
 (b)  "Direct solicitation" does not include a group meeting 
held by a producer solely educating or enrolling individuals or, when 
initiated by an individual member of the group, assisting with the 
selection of investment options offered by a single insurer in 
connection with enrolling that individual. 
 (5)  "Direct-response solicitation" means a solicitation 
through a sponsoring or endorsing entity or individually solely 
through mail, telephone, the internet, or other mass communication 
media. 
 (6)  "Disclosure document" means a document that 
describes, outlines, and specifies the required information to be 
provided to a prospective applicant. 
 [(5)](7)  "Funding agreement" means an agreement for an 
insurer to accept and accumulate funds and to make one or more 
payments at a future date[s] in amounts that are not based on a 
mortality or morbidity [contingencies]contingency. 
 [(6)](8)  "Generic name" means a short title [descriptive of 
the ]that describes the premium and benefit patterns of an annuity 
contract, [being applied for ]such as "single premium deferred 
annuity."[.] 
[ (7)  "Guaranteed elements" means premiums, credited 
interest rates with any applicable bonus, benefits, values, non-interest 
based credits, charges or elements of formulas used to determine any 
of these, that are guaranteed and determined at issue. An element is 
considered guaranteed if all of the underlying elements that go into 
its calculation are guaranteed.] 
 (9)(a)  "Guaranteed element" means any of the following 
elements that are guaranteed and determined at issue: 
 (i)  a premium; 
 (ii)  a credited interest rate with applicable bonus; 
 (iii)  a benefit; 
 (iv)  a value; 
 (v)  a non-interest-based credit; 
 (vi)  a charge; or 
 (vii)  an element of a formula used to determine an element 
in Subsections (9)(a)(i) through (9)(a)(vi). 
 (b)  An element is considered guaranteed if all the 
underlying elements that go into its calculation are guaranteed. 
[ (8)  "Non-guaranteed elements" means the premiums, 
credited interest rates with any applicable bonus, benefits, values, 
non-interest based credits, charges or elements of formulas used to 
determine any of these that are subject to company discretion and are 
not guaranteed at issue.  An element is considered non-guaranteed if 
any of the underlying elements that go into its calculation are non-
guaranteed.] 
 (10)(a)  "Nonguaranteed element" means any of the 
following elements that are subject to company discretion and are not 
guaranteed or not determined at issue: 
 (i)  a premium; 
 (ii)  a credited interest rate with applicable bonus; 
 (iii)  a benefit; 
 (iv)  a value; 
 (v)  a non-interest-based credit; 
 (iv)  a charge; or 
 (vii)  an element of a formula used to determine an element 
in Subsections (10)(a)(i) through (10)(a)(vi). 
 (b)  An element is considered nonguaranteed if any 
underlying element that goes into its calculation is nonguaranteed. 

 [(9)](11)  "Structured settlement annuity" means an annuity 
that is or would be a "qualified funding asset" as defined in [IRC 
Section 130(d) or an annuity that would be a qualified funding asset 
under IRC ]Section 130(d), Internal Revenue Code, but for the fact 
that it is not owned by an assignee under a qualified assignment. 
 
R590-229-[6]4.  Appropriate Buyer's Guide. 
 (1)  The "Buyer's Guide for Deferred Annuities" [shall be 
considered ]is the appropriate [Buyer's Guide ]buyer's guide for an 
annuity product. 
 (2)  Notwithstanding Subsection (1)[ for a non-variable 
annuity product, ]: 
 (a)  the "Buyer's Guide [to ]for Deferred Annuities - Fixed" 
may be used as the appropriate [Buyer's Guide.]buyer's guide for a 
non-variable annuity product; and 
 [(3)  If an insurer elects to provide a Buyer's Guide for a 
variable annuity product, the insurer may use either the "Buyer's 
Guide for Deferred Annuities" or ](b)  the "Buyer's Guide for 
Deferred Annuities - Variable[.]" may be used as the appropriate 
buyer's guide for a variable annuity product. 
 
R590-229-[7]5.  Standards for the Disclosure Document and 
Buyer's Guide. 
 (1)(a)  [Where the ]When an application for an annuity 
contract is taken in a face-to-face meeting, the applicant shall, at or 
before the time of application, be given both the disclosure document 
described in Subsection [7(2) of this section ](2) and the appropriate 
[Buyer's Guide, as described in Section 6]buyer's guide described in 
Section R590-229-4. 
 (b)  [Where the ]When an application for an annuity 
contract is not taken [by means other than ]in a face-to-face meeting, 
the applicant shall be sent both the disclosure document described in 
Subsection (2) and the appropriate [Buyer's Guide ]buyer's guide 
described in Section R590-229-4 no later than five business days 
after the completed application is received by the insurer. 
 (i)  [With respect to ]For an application received as a result 
of a [direct ]solicitation through the mail: 
 (A)  providing a [Buyer's Guide in a ]buyer's guide in the 
mailing inviting a prospective applicant[s] to apply for an annuity 
contract shall [be deemed to ]satisfy the requirement that the 
appropriate [Buyer's Guide be ]buyer's guide is provided no later than 
five business days after receipt of the application; and 
 (B)  providing a disclosure document in [a ]the mailing 
inviting a prospective applicant to apply for an annuity contract shall 
[be deemed to ]satisfy the requirement that the disclosure document 
[be ]is provided no later than five business days after receipt of the 
application. 
 (ii)  [With respect to ]For an application received via the 
i[I]nternet: 
 (A)  [taking reasonable steps to make ]making the 
appropriate [Buyer's Guide ]buyer's guide available for viewing and 
printing on the insurer's website shall [be deemed to ]satisfy the 
requirement that the appropriate [Buyer's Guide be ]buyer's guide is 
provided no later than five business days [of ]after receipt of the 
application; and 
 (B)  [taking reasonable steps to make ]making the 
disclosure document available for viewing and printing on the 
insurer's website shall [be deemed to ]satisfy the requirement that the 
disclosure document [be ]is provided no later than five business days 
after receipt of the application. 
 (c)  A solicitation for an annuity contract provided in other 
than a face-to-face meeting shall include a statement that the 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES  

122 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 05 

prospective applicant can obtain from the insurer a free annuity 
[Buyer's Guide ]buyer's guide upon request. 
 (2)  [At a minimum, the ]Disclosure document.  The 
following information shall be included in the disclosure document[ 
required to be provided under this rule]: 
 (a)  the generic name of the contract, the company product 
name, if different, the form number, and the fact that it is an annuity; 
 (b)  the insurer's name and address; 
 (c)  a description of the contract and its benefits, 
emphasizing its long-term nature, and examples, as appropriate, 
including[ examples where appropriate of]: 
 (i)  the guaranteed, non[-]guaranteed and determinable 
elements of the contract, [and ]their limitations, [if any, ]and an 
explanation of how they operate; 
 (ii)  an explanation of the initial crediting rate, specifying 
any bonus or introductory portion, the duration of the rate and the 
fact that the rate[s] may change from time to time and [are ]is not 
guaranteed; 
 (iii)  periodic income options, both on a guaranteed and 
non-guaranteed basis; 
 (iv)  any value reduction[s] caused by a withdrawal[s] from 
or surrender of the contract; 
 (v)  how [values in ]the value of the contract can be 
accessed; 
 (vi)  the death benefit, if available, and how it [will be ]is 
calculated; 
 (vii)  a summary of the federal tax status of the contract and 
any [penalties ]penalty applicable on a withdrawal of a value[s] from 
the contract; and 
 (viii)  the impact of any rider, such as a long-term care rider; 
 (d)  the specific dollar amount or percentage [charges and 
fees ]of any charge or fee shall be listed with an explanation of how 
[they apply]it applies; and 
 (e)  information about the current guaranteed rate for a new 
contract that contains a clear notice that the rate is subject to change. 
 (3)  An insurer shall define terms used in the disclosure 
[statement ]document in language that [facilitates the understanding 
]is understandable by a typical person within the segment of the 
public to which the disclosure [statement ]document is directed. 
 
R590-229-[8]6.  Report to Contract Owners. 
 (1)  The insurer shall provide to a contract owner, at least 
annually, a report on the status of an annuity contract for:[For ] 
 (a)  an annuity in the payout period with changes in non[-
]guaranteed elements[ and for ]; or 
 (b)  a deferred annuity in the accumulation period[ of a 
deferred annuity, the insurer shall provide the contract owner with a 
report, at least annually, on the status of the contract that contains ]. 
 (2)  The report shall contain at least the following 
information: 
 [(1)](a)  the beginning and end date of the current report 
period; 
 [(2)  the ](b)  any accumulation [and ]or cash surrender 
value[, if any,] at the end of the previous report period and at the end 
of the current report period; 
 [(3)  the total amounts, if any, that have ](c)  any amount 
that has been credited, charged to the contract value, or paid during 
the current report period; and 
 [(4)](d)  the amount of any outstanding loan[s, if any,] as of 
the end of the current report period. 
[ 

R590-229-9.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the provisions of 
this rule 65 days after the effective date.] 
 
R590-229-[10]7.  Severability. 
 [If any provision or clause of this rule or its application to 
any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect 
any other provision or application of this rule which can be given 
effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the 
provisions of this rule are declared to be severable.]If any provision 
of this rule, Rule R590-229, or its application to any person or 
situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other 
provision or application of this rule that can be given effect without 
the invalid provision or application. The remainder of this rule shall 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance, annuity disclosure 
Date of Last Change:  2023[May 27, 2014] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 20, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-22-425 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-244.  Individual and Agency Licensing 
Requirements 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual standards.  Other changes make the 
language of this rule more clear, remove the Penalties (the 
old R590-244-14) section, and update the Severability (the 
new R590-244-14) section to use the Department's current 
language.  The changes do not add, remove, or change 
any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-23a-102 
Section 
31A-23a-108 
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Section 
31A-23a-111 

Section 
31A-23a-115 

Section 
31A-23a-203.5 

Section 
31A-23a-302 

Section 
31A-23b-102 

Section 
31A-23b-205 

Section 
31A-23b-207 

Section 
31A-23b-209 

Section 
31A-23b-401 

Section 
31A-25-201 

Section 
31A-25-208 

Section 
31A-26-207 

Section 
31A-26-210 

Section 
31A-26-213 

Section 
31A-35-104 

Section 
31A-35-301 

Section 
31A-35-401 

Section 
31A-35-406 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 02/08/2023 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-244.  Individual and Agency Licensing Requirements. 
R590-244-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to: 
[ (1)  Subsection 31A-2-201(3) that authorizes the 
commissioner to adopt rules to implement the provisions of Title 
31A, Insurance Code; 
 (2)  Subsections 31A-23a-104(2), 31A-23a-110(1), 31A-
25-201(1), 31A-26-202(1), 31A-23b-203(2), 31A-23b-208(1), 31A-
35-104, 31A-35-301(1) and 31A-35-401(2)  that authorize the 
commissioner to prescribe the forms and manner in which an initial 
or renewal individual or agency license application under Title 31A, 
Chapters 23a, 23b, 25, 26, and 35 is to be made to the commissioner; 
 (3)  Subsections 31A-23a-111(10), 31A-23b-401(9), 31A-
25-208(9), 31A-26-213(10), and 31A-35-406(1) that authorize the 
commissioner to adopt a rule prescribing license renewal and 
reinstatement requirements for individual and agency licensees under 
Title 31A, Chapters 23a, 23b, 25, 26, and 35; 
 (4)  Subsections 31A-23a-108(1), 31A-23b-205(2), 31A-
23b-205(3), 31A-26-207(1), and 31A-26-207(5), that authorize the 
commissioner to adopt a rule prescribing how examination and 
training requirements may administered to licensees under Title 31A, 
Chapters 23a, 23b, and 26; 

 (5)  Subsections 31A-23a-115(1) and 31A-23a-115(2) that 
authorize the commissioner to adopt a rule prescribing reporting and 
notification requirements to be utilized by an insurer for the initial 
appointment or the termination of appointment of a person authorized 
to act on behalf of the insurer under Title 31A, Chapter 23a, Insurance 
Marketing - Licensing Producers, Consultants, and Reinsurance 
Intermediaries; 
 (6)  Subsection 31A-23a-203.5(3) that authorizes the 
commissioner to adopt a rule prescribing the terms and conditions of 
any required legal liability insurance coverage to be maintained by or 
on behalf of a licensed resident individual producer; 
 (7)  Subsection 31A-23b-207(1) that authorizes the 
commissioner to adopt a rule prescribing the amount of any surety 
bond required to be maintained by a licensed navigator to cover the 
legal liability of a navigator as the result of an erroneous act or failure 
to act in the navigator's capacity as a navigator; 
 (8)  Subsections 31A-23a-302(2), 31A-23a-302(3), 31A-
23b-209(3), 31A-23b-209(4), 31A-26-210(2), and 31A-26-210(3) 
that authorize the commissioner to adopt a rule prescribing reporting 
and notification requirements to be utilized by an agency for the 
initial designation or the termination of designation of a person 
authorized to act on behalf of the agency under Title 31A, Chapters 
23a, 23b, and 26; and 
 (9)  Subsections 31A-23a-102(10) and 31A-23b-102(7) 
that authorize the commissioner to adopt a rule to define the word 
"resident".] 
 (1)  Section 31A-2-201; 
 (2)  Section 31A-23a-102; 
 (3)  Section 31A-23a-108; 
 (4)  Section 31A-23a-111; 
 (5)  Section 31A-23a-115; 
 (6)  Section 31A-23a-203.5; 
 (7)  Section 31A-23a-302; 
 (8)  Section 31A-23b-102; 
 (9)  Section 31A-23b-205; 
 (10)  Section 31A-23b-207; 
 (11)  Section 31A-23b-209; 
 (12)  Section 31A-23b-401; 
 (13)  Section 31A-25-201; 
 (14)  Section 31A-25-208; 
 (15)  Section 31A-26-207; 
 (16)  Section 31A-26-210; 
 (17)  Section 31A-26-213; 
 (18)  Section 31A-35-104; 
 (19)  Section 31A-35-301; 
 (20)  Section 31A-35-401; and 
 (21)  Section 31A-35-406. 
 
R590-244-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to provide standards for: 
 (a)  an individual or agency licensee for: 
 (i)  obtaining, renewing, or reinstating a license; 
 (ii)  maintaining any legal liability coverage or surety bond 
requirements; and 
 (iii)  making other miscellaneous license amendments; 
 (b)  an insurer for the initial appointment or the termination 
of an appointment of an individual or agency licensee; and 
 (c)  an agency for the initial designation or the termination 
of a designation of an individual licensee to the agency's license. 
[ (2)  Scope. 
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 (a)  This rule applies to each individual and agency licensed 
under Title 31A, Chapters 23a, 23b, 25, 26, and 35. 
 (b)  This rule applies to any admitted insurer doing business 
in Utah.] 
 (2)  This rule applies to: 
 (a)  an individual or agency licensed under: 
 (i)  Title 31A, Chapter 23a, Insurance Marketing - 
Licensing Producers, Consultants, and Reinsurance Intermediaries; 
 (ii)  Title 31A, Chapter 23b, Navigator License Act; 
 (iii)  Title 31A, Chapter 25, Third Party Administrators; 
 (iv)  Title 31A, Chapter 26, Insurance Adjusters; and 
 (v)  Title 31A, Chapter 35, Bail Bond Act; and 
 (b)  an admitted insurer doing business in Utah. 
 
R590-244-3.  Definitions. 
 [For the purpose of this rule the commissioner adopts the 
definitions as set forth in ]Terms used in this rule are defined in 
Sections 31A-1-301, 31A-23a-102, 31A-23b-102, 31A-26-102, and 
31A-35-102[ and the following].  Additional terms are defined as 
follows: 
 (1)  "Active license" means [a license under which a 
licensee has been granted authority ]authorization by the 
commissioner to engage in [some ]an activity that is part of or related 
to the insurance business. 
 (2)  "Inactive license" means [a formerly active license 
where ]a licensee is no longer authorized by the commissioner to 
engage in [some ]an activity that is part of or related to the insurance 
business. 
 (3)  "Lapse" means the inactivation of an active license by 
expiration of the period for which the license was issued or by 
operation of law. 
 (4)  "License application" means information submitted by 
a license applicant [to provide information about the license applicant 
]that is used by the commissioner to evaluate the applicant's 
qualifications and decide whether to: 
 (a)  issue or decline to issue a license; 
 (b)  add or decline to add an additional line of authority to 
an active license; 
 (c)  renew or decline to renew an active license; or 
 (d)  reinstate or decline to reinstate an inactive license. 
 (5)  ["Line of authority" means a line of insurance of a 
particular subject matter area within a license type for which the 
commissioner may grant authority to do business.]"License type" 
means a category of license identifying a specific functional area of 
insurance activity for which the commissioner may grant authority to 
do business. 
 (6)  ["License type" means a category of license identifying 
a specific functional area of insurance activity for which the 
commissioner may grant authority to do business.]"Line of authority" 
means a line of insurance in a particular subject matter area within a 
license type for which the commissioner may grant authority to do 
business. 
 (7)  "NIPR" means an electronic application software 
provided by the National Insurance Producer Registry[ (NIPR)]. 
 (8)  "Reinstate" means the activation of an inactive license 
within 365 days of the inactivation date. 
 (9)  "Renewal" means the continuation of an active license 
from one two-year licensing period to another, except that the 
licensing period for a bail bond agency is one year. 
[ (10)  "Resident," for the purpose of a resident insurance 
license in this state, means a person who claims this state as the 
person's home state in which the person maintains the principal: 

 (a)  place of residence; or 
 (b)  place of business, and 
 (c)  is licensed to do insurance business.] 
 (10)  "Resident," for the purpose of a resident insurance 
license, means a person claims this state as the person's home state in 
which the person: 
 (a)  maintains the person's principal place of business or 
residence; and 
 (b)  is licensed to do insurance business. 
 (11)  "[SIRCON]Sircon" means an electronic application 
software provided by [Sircon Corporation ]Vertafore or its acquiring 
parent company[, Vertafore, Inc]. 
 (12)  "Termination for cause" means: 
 (a)  an insurer or an agency has ended its relationship with 
a licensee or has cancelled the licensee's authority to act on behalf of 
the insurer or agency for one of the reasons identified in Subsection 
31A-23a-111(5); or 
 (b)  a licensee has been found to have engaged in any of the 
activities identified in Subsection[s] 31A-23a-111(5), 31A-23b-
401(4), or 31A-26-213(5), by a court, government body, or self-
regulatory organization authorized by law. 
 
R590-244-4.  Requirement to Electronically Submit a License 
Application[s], Appointment[s], Designation[s, and ], or License 
Amendment[s]. 
 (1)  Except as otherwise provided in this rule, the following 
shall be submitted electronically to the department using SIRCON or 
NIPR: 
 (a)  [each ]an individual [and ]or agency license application 
[under Title 31A, Chapters 23a, 23b, 25, 26, and 35 ]for a person 
listed in Subsection R590-244-2(a) as prescribed in Sections R590-
244-7, R590-244-9, and R590-244-10 for: 
 (i)  a new license; 
 (ii)  an additional license type or line of authority; 
 (iii)  a license renewal; or 
 (iv)  a license reinstatement; 
 (b)  [any ]an appointment, termination of appointment, 
designation, [and ]or termination of designation as prescribed in 
Sections R590-244-11 and R590-244-12; 
 (c)  [all ]a miscellaneous license amendment[s] pertaining 
to an individual [and ]or agency license[s under Title 31A, Chapters 
23a, 23b, 25, 26 and 35 ] for a person listed in Subsection R590-244-
2(a) as prescribed in Section R590-244-13; 
 (d)  [all ]any document[s] related to reporting to the 
commissioner of criminal prosecution or administrative action taken 
against a licensee as required under[ Title 31A, Chapters 23a, 23b, 
25, 26 and 35]: 
 (i)  Title 31A, Chapter 23a, Insurance Marketing - 
Licensing Procedures, Consultants, and Reinsurance Intermediaries; 
 (ii)  Title 31A, Chapter 23b, Navigator License Act; 
 (iii)  Title 31A, Chapter 25, Third Party Administrator; 
 (iv)  Title 31A, Chapter 26, Insurance Adjusters; or 
 (v)  Title 31A, Chapter 35, Bail Bond Act; and 
 (e)  any additional documentation required in connection 
with an application, except as shown in Subsection (1)(e)(iv)[ 
below], including: 
 (i)  written explanation and documentation for positive 
responses to background questions[ on a license application]; 
 (ii)  evidence of [meeting ]specific experience, bonding, or 
other requirements for certain license types or lines of authority; or 
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 (iii)  evidence of [meeting ]continuing education 
requirements for a renewal or reinstatement application [when ]if 
there is a question regarding the number of course hours completed. 
 (iv)  If an electronic attachment function for attaching a 
document required [in connection ]with an application is not 
available in the attachment utility from [SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR, 
the document shall be submitted electronically via [a ]facsimile or as 
a PDF attachment to an email, until [such time that ]an electronic 
attachment function for submitting the document in connection with 
the application becomes available from [SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR. 
 (2)  [Attestation. ]Submission of an electronic application 
or other form under this rule constitutes the applicant's or submitter's 
attestation under penalties of perjury that the information contained 
in the application or form is true and correct. 
 [(3)  Any submission subject to this rule ](3)  A submission 
that does not comply with this rule, including an application that 
remains incomplete for a period of 30 days following the initial 
submission, may be rejected as incomplete and returned to the 
submitter without being processed, with any paid fees forfeited to the 
[State]state. 
 
R590-244-5.  Requirement of an Active License to Sell, Solicit, or 
Negotiate Insurance. 
[ (1)  A person must have the following to sell, solicit, or 
negotiate insurance: 
 (a)  an active license matching the type and line of 
insurance being sold, solicited, or negotiated; and 
 (b)  if the person is an agency, an appointment from an 
insurer; or 
 (c)  if the person is an individual: 
 (i)  an appointment from an insurer or a designation from 
an agency; and 
 (ii)  if the individual is a resident producer, legal liability 
errors and omissions insurance coverage in an amount not less than 
$250,000 per claim and $500,000 annual aggregate limit, as 
applicable in accordance with Section 31A-23a-203.5.] 
 (1)  To sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance, a person shall 
have an active license matching the type and line of insurance being 
sold, solicited, or negotiated. 
 (2)  If the person is an agency, the person shall have an 
appointment from an insurer in addition to an active license described 
in Subsection (1). 
 (3)(a)  If the person is an individual, the person shall have 
an appointment from an insurer or a designation from an agency in 
addition to an active license described in Subsection (1). 
 (b)  An individual licensed as a resident producer shall 
maintain legal liability errors and omissions insurance coverage not 
less than $250,000 per claim and $500,000 annual aggregate limit. 
 [(2)](4)  A licensee whose license is [inactivated for any 
reason shall ]inactive may not sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance 
from the date the active license is inactivated until the date the 
inactive license is reactivated. 
 
R590-244-6.  Requirement of an Active License to Act as a 
Navigator. 
 (1)  A person [must ]shall have the following to act as a 
navigator: 
 (a)(i)  an active navigator license issued under Chapter 
31A-23b, Navigator License Act, or 
 (ii)  an active producer license issued under Chapter 31A-
23a, Insurance Marketing - Licensing Producers, Consultants, and 

Reinsurance Intermediaries, with an accident and health line of 
authority; and 
 (b)(i)  a surety bond [in an amount ]not less than $50,000 
to cover the legal liability of the navigator as the result of an 
erroneous act or failure to act in the navigator's capacity as a 
navigator, as applicable[ in accordance with Section 31A-23b-207]; 
or 
 (ii)  legal liability errors and omissions insurance coverage 
[in an amount ]not less than $250,000 per claim and $500,000 annual 
aggregate limit, as applicable[ in accordance with Section 31A-23b-
207]. 
 (2)  A professional liability coverage plan is [considered to 
be ]a form of errors and omissions insurance coverage. 
 (3)  A navigator whose license is [inactivated for any reason 
shall ]inactive may not act as a navigator from the date the active 
license is inactivated until the date the inactive license is reactivated. 
 (4)  A navigator license includes the following lines of 
authority: 
 (a)  navigator; and 
 (b)  certified application counselor. 
 
R590-244-7.  New License Application. 
 [(1)  ]A resident or non-resident license application for a 
new license, or for the addition of an additional license type or line 
of authority, shall be submitted using either [SIRCON ]Sircon or 
NIPR, except[ as stated in Subsections R590-244-7(2) and R590-
244-7(3).]: 
 [(2)  An ](1)  an application for a navigator license shall be 
submitted using [SIRCON, except as stated in Subsection R590-244-
7(3).]Sircon; and 
 [(3)  A ](2)  a non-resident license application for a license 
type or line of authority not offered in the person's home state shall 
be submitted to the commissioner via facsimile or as a PDF 
attachment to an email using a form available through the 
[Department's website, until such time that ]department's website, 
https://insurance.utah.gov, until an electronic application becomes 
available from [SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR. 
 
R590-244-8.  Examination and Training. 
 (1)  Examination and training requirements may be 
administered by: 
 (a)  the commissioner; 
 (b)  a testing vendor approved and contracted by the 
commissioner; or 
 (c)  [navigator related examination and training 
administered through ]the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services for a navigator. 
 (2)  To act as a navigator in Utah, a person [must ]shall 
successfully complete the federal navigator training and certification 
program requirements [as established by federal regulation ]under 
PPACA and administered through the United States Department of 
Health and Human Services, including any applicable training, 
examination, certification or recertification requirements[ under that 
program]. 
 (3)  A person who has successfully completed the federal 
navigator training and certification [identified in Subsection R590-
244-8(2) is considered to have ]has successfully completed the 
required Utah training and examination requirements for a navigator 
license[ in accordance with Section 31A-23b-205. 
 (4)  An applicant for the crop insurance license class who 
has satisfactorily completed a national crop adjuster program is 
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exempt from an examination requirement under Section 31A-26-
207]. 
 
R590-244-9.  Renewal and Non-renewal of an Active License. 
 (1)  An active license shall be renewed on or before the 
license expiration date by submitting a resident or non-resident 
license renewal application online via [SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR. 
 (2)  A new individual license [shall expire ]expires on the 
last day of the licensee's birth month following the two-year 
anniversary of the license issue date, unless renewed, except as 
shown in Subsection [R590-244-9](4). 
 (3)  A renewed individual license [shall expire ]expires on 
the last day of the licensee's birth month every two years, unless 
renewed, except as shown in Subsection [R590-244-9](4). 
 (4)  An individual navigator license [shall expire ]expires 
annually on the last day of the month from the most recent license 
issue or renewal date, unless renewed. 
 (5)  An agency license [shall expire ]expires on the last day 
of the month every two years from the most recent license issue or 
renewal date, unless renewed, except as shown in Subsection [R590-
244-9](6). 
 (6)  A bail bond agency license [shall expire ]expires 
annually on August 14, unless renewed. 
 (7)  Renewal Notice. 
 (a)  [Prior to ]Before the license expiration date, the 
commissioner may, as a courtesy, send a renewal notice to the 
licensee's business email address as shown on the records of the 
department. 
 (b)  A renewal notice sent by the commissioner to the 
business email address, as shown on the records of the department, 
shall be considered received by the licensee. 
[ (c)  A licensee who fails to properly submit to, and maintain 
with, the commissioner a valid business email address may be subject 
to administrative penalties.] 
 (8)  A license shall non-renew effective the license 
expiration date if it is not renewed on or before the expiration date, 
and: 
 (a)  the non-renewed license shall be inactivated; 
 (b)  all agency designations and insurer appointments shall 
be terminated; and 
 (c)  a lapsed license notice will be sent to the affected 
licensee. 
 (9)  An active licensee [who ]that fails to renew a license 
shall not engage in the business of insurance during the period of time 
from the expiration date of the license until the date the inactive 
license is reinstated or a new license is issued. 
 
R590-244-10.  Reinstatement of Inactive License. 
 (1)  [An inactive ]A license that has been inactive for a 
period of one year or less following the license expiration date [can 
]may be reinstated [as stated in Subsections R590-244-10(3) through 
R590-244-10(7)]under the relevant provisions of this section. 
 (2)  An inactive license that has not been reinstated within 
one year following its expiration date [shall ]may not be reinstated 
and the inactive licensee [shall ]may apply as a new license applicant. 
 (3)  A reinstatement applicant shall: 
 (a)  comply with [all ]each requirement[s] for renewal of a 
license, including any applicable continuing education or 
examination requirements if the reinstatement applicant is an 
individual; and 
 (b)  pay a reinstatement fee[ as shown in Rule R590-102]. 

 (4)  A resident or non-resident license application for 
reinstatement of an inactive license shall be submitted using either 
[SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR, except as stated in Subsection [R590-
244-10](5). 
 (5)(a)  The following license applications for reinstatement 
of an inactive license [must ]shall be submitted to the department via 
facsimile or as a PDF attachment to an email using a form available 
through the department's website, until such time that an electronic 
application becomes available from [SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR: 
 [(a)](i)  a non-resident reinstatement application for a 
person whose license [has been inactivated ]is inactive for failure to 
maintain an active license in the person's home state; 
 [(b)](ii)  a resident or non-resident reinstatement 
application for a person whose license has been voluntarily 
surrendered; and 
 [(c)](iii)  a resident or non-resident reinstatement 
application for a person whose license [has been inactivated ]is 
inactive due to an incomplete renewal application, except as stated in 
Subsection [R590-244-10(5)(c)(i)](5)(b). 
 [(i)](b)  If a resident license [has been inactivated ]is 
inactive due to a renewal application that was incomplete solely for 
failure to meet the continuing education requirements, a resident 
reinstatement application [must ]shall be submitted to the 
department: 
 [(A)](i)  during the first 30 days after a license expiration 
date as a facsimile or as a PDF attachment to an email using a form 
available through the department's website; or 
 [(B)](ii)  31 days to one year after a license expiration date 
through [SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR. 
 [(7)](6)  A license that [has been ]is voluntarily 
surrendered: 
 (a)  may be reinstated: 
 (i)  during the license period in which the license was 
surrendered; and 
 (ii)  no later than one year from the date the license was 
surrendered; and 
 (b)  [must ]shall comply with the reinstatement 
requirements [stated ]in Subsection [R590-244-10](3), except that no 
continuing education requirement will apply for an individual license 
applicant because the reinstatement is within the current license 
period. 
 [(8)](7)  A reinstated license [shall expire ]expires on the 
same date it would have expired had the license not become inactive. 
 [(9)](8)  A person with a reinstated license [must ]shall 
complete any required insurer contracts and appointments or agency 
designations before the reinstated licensee can resume doing 
business. 
 
R590-244-11.  Appointment and Termination of Appointment by 
an Insurer. 
 (1)  Appointment. 
 (a)  An insurer shall appoint an individual or agency 
licensee with whom the insurer has a producer contract. 
 (b)  An appointment is continuous until terminated by the 
insurer or canceled by the department. 
 (c)  An insurer is not required to appoint an individual who 
is designated by an appointed agency. 
 (d)  To appoint, an insurer shall: 
 (i)  state the date on which the appointment is effective; and 
 (ii)  submit the appointment to the commissioner using 
[SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR no later than 15 days after: 
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 (A)  the date on which the producer contract is executed; or 
 (B)  the date on which the insurer receives the first 
insurance application from the licensee. 
 (2)  Terminating an Appointment. 
 (a)  An insurer shall terminate an appointment when a 
previously appointed individual or agency is no longer authorized to 
conduct business for the insurer in Utah. 
 (b)  To terminate an appointment, an insurer shall: 
 (i)  state the date on which the termination is effective; and 
 (ii)  submit the termination to the commissioner using 
[SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR no later than 30 days after the effective 
date of termination. 
 (c)  Within 15 days after submitting a termination, an 
insurer shall notify the licensee of the termination and the reason for 
it by mail or email at the licensee's last known address or email 
address. 
 (3)  Reporting Termination for Cause. 
 (a)  An insurer that terminates an appointment for cause 
shall report to the commissioner the cause of termination if required 
by Subsection 31A-23a-115(3)(a). 
 (b)  The report [with ]and attachments shall be submitted to 
licensing.uid@utah.gov within 15 days after submitting the notice of 
termination required by Subsection [R590-244-11](2)(c). 
 (c)  The report shall: 
 (i)  quote the specific reason or reasons from Subsection 
31A-23a-111(5)(b); 
 (ii)  state the specific facts and reasoning on which the 
decision to terminate was based; 
 (iii)  list and include any document, photograph, video [and 
]or audio recording, [and ]or other material[s] that supports the [facts 
and reasoning on which the insurer relied in deciding ]insurer's 
decision to terminate; 
 (iv)  include a copy of [every known ]each written finding 
or conclusion by a court, government body, agency, or self-regulatory 
organization that supports the [reason or reasons for ]termination; and 
 (v)  include a copy of the notice required by Subsection 
[R590-244-11](2)(c). 
[ (d)  A report of a termination for cause is not required to 
include information that is unknown to an insurer.] 
 
R590-244-12.  Designation and Termination of Designation by an 
Agency. 
 (1)  Designation. 
 (a)  An agency shall designate a licensed individual to the 
agency license to do business on behalf of the agency in Utah. 
 (b)  A designation is continuous until terminated by the 
agency or canceled by the department. 
 (c)  To designate, an agency shall: 
 (i)  state the date on which the designation is effective; and 
 (ii)  submit the designation to the commissioner using 
[SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR no later than 15 days after the designation 
effective date. 
 (2)  Terminating a Designation. 
 (a)  An agency shall terminate a designation when a 
previously designated individual is no longer authorized to conduct 
business for the agency in Utah. 
 (b)  To terminate a designation, an agency shall: 
 (i)  state the date on which the termination is effective; and 
 (ii)  submit the termination to the commissioner using 
[SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR no later than 30 days after the termination 
effective date. 

 (c)  Within 15 days after submitting a termination, an 
agency shall notify the licensee of the termination and the reason for 
it by mail or email at the licensee's last known address or email 
address. 
 (3)  Reporting Termination for Cause. 
 (a)  An agency that terminates a designation for cause shall 
report to the commissioner the cause of termination if required by 
Subsection 31A-23a-302(4). 
 (b)  The report [with ]and attachments shall be submitted to 
licensing.uid@utah.gov within 15 days after submitting the notice of 
termination required by Subsection [R590-244-12](2)(c). 
 (c)  The report shall: 
 (i)  quote the specific reason or reasons from Subsection 
31A-23a-111(5)(b); 
 (ii)  state the specific facts and reasoning on which the 
decision to terminate was based; 
 (iii)  list and include any document, photograph, video [and 
]or audio recording, [and ]or any other material[s] that supports the 
[facts and reasoning on which the agency relied in deciding ]agency's 
decision to terminate; 
 (iv)  include a copy of [every known ]each written finding 
or conclusion by a court, government body, agency, or self-regulatory 
organization that supports the [reason or reasons for ]termination; and 
 (v)  include a copy of the notice required by Subsection 
[R590-244-12](2)(c). 
[ (d)  A report of a termination for cause is not required to 
include information that is unknown to an agency.] 
 
R590-244-13.  Miscellaneous License Amendments and Changes 
to an Agency's Employer Identification Number[ (EIN)]. 
 [(1)  Miscellaneous ](1)  A miscellaneous license 
amendment[s] shall be submitted electronically. 
 (2)  The following [six ]miscellaneous license amendments 
shall be submitted via [SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR: 
 (a)  a change of residence, business, or mailing address 
within the same state; 
 (b)  a change of residence, business, or mailing address 
from one nonresident state to another nonresident state; 
 (c)  a change of email address; 
 (d)  a change of telephone number; 
 (e)  a change of an individual licensee's name; or 
 (f)  a change of the licensed individual designated as the 
person responsible for the regulatory compliance of the agency. 
 (3)  The following [four ]miscellaneous license 
amendments shall be submitted electronically via facsimile or as a 
PDF attachment to an email, except that the license amendment 
identified in Subsection [R590-244-13](3)(d) shall be submitted via 
[SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR once the amendment becomes available 
electronically from [SIRCON ]Sircon or NIPR: 
 (a)  a voluntary surrender of a license or line or authority; 
 (b)  a clearance letter request; 
 (c)  a change of an agency name; or 
 (d)  a change of an owner, partner, officer, or director of an 
agency. 
 (4)  A submitted miscellaneous license amendment 
[submitted in accordance with this section ]shall contain: 
 (a)  the name and title of the individual submitting the 
amendment; 
 (b)  the relationship to the licensee of the individual 
submitting the amendment; and 
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 (c)  the following attestation made by the individual 
submitting the amendment: "I hereby attest that the information 
submitted is true and correct, and that I am the individual licensee for 
whom the requested change is being submitted, or an authorized 
responsible representative of the individual or agency licensee for 
whom the requested change is being submitted." 
 (5)  A change of Employer Identification Number[ (EIN)]: 
 (a)  cannot be processed as a miscellaneous license 
amendment; and 
 (b)  requires the entity [must ]to apply as a new license 
applicant. 
 
R590-244-14.  [Penalties. 
 A person found to be in violation of this rule shall be 
subject to penalties as provided under Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R590-244-15.  ]Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-244, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule which 
can be given effect without the invalid provision or application. The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance licensing requirements 
Date of Last Change:  2023[January 8, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 10, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [31A-2-201; 
31A-23a-102(10); 31A-23a-104; 31A-23a-108; 31A-23a-110; 31A-
23a-111; 31A-23a-115; 31A-23a-302; 31A-23b-102; 31A-23b-
102(7); 31A-23b-203; 31A-23b-205; 31A-23b-207; 31A-23b-208; 
31A-23b-209; 31A-23b-401; 31A-25-201; 31A-25-208; 31A-26-
202; 31A-26-207; 31A-26-210; 31A-26-213; 31A-35-104; 31A-35-
301; 31A-35-401; 31A-35-406]31A-2-201; 31A-23a-102; 31A-23a-
111; 31A-23a-115; 31A-23a-203.5; 31A-23a-302; 31A-23b-102; 
31A-23b-205; 31A-23b-207; 31A-23b-209; 31A-23b-401; 31A-25-
201; 31A-25-208; 31A-26-207; 31A-26-210; 31A-26-213; 31A-35-
104; 31A-35-301; 31A-35-401; 31A-35-406 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R590-252 Filing ID:  
55234 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-252.  Use of Senior-Specific Certifications and 
Professional Designations 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12.  During the review of this rule, the 
Department of Insurance (Department) discovered a 
number of minor issues that needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the Utah 
Rulewriting Manual standards.  Other changes make the 
language of this rule more clear, remove the Penalties (the 
old R590-252-6) and Enforcement Date (the old R590-
252-7) sections, and update the Severability (the new 
R590-252-6) section to use the Department's current 
language.  The changes do not add, remove, or change 
any regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature, and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect small businesses. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature, 
and will not affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-23a-402 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 02/08/2023 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-252.  Use of Senior-Specific Certifications and Professional 
Designations. 
R590-252-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to[: 
 (1)  Subsection 31A-2-201(3)(a) wherein the commissioner 
may make rules to implement the provisions of Title 31A; and 
 (2)  Subsection 31A-23a-402(8)(a) that authorizes the 
commissioner to define by rule unfair methods of competition and 
unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the business of insurance] 
Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-23a-402. 
 
R590-252-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to [set forth ]establish 
standards to protect consumers from misleading or fraudulent 
marketing practices [with respect to ]concerning the use of senior-
specific certifications and professional designations in the 
solicitation, sale or purchase of, or advice made in connection with, 
an annuity, accident and health, or life insurance product. 
 (2)  This rule applies to a producer or consultant offering a 
solicitation, sale, purchase, or advice in connection with an annuity, 
accident and health, or life insurance product. 
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[R590-252-3.  Scope. 
 This rule shall apply to any solicitation, sale or purchase of, 
or advice made in connection with, an annuity, accident and health, 
or life insurance product by an insurance producer or consultant.] 
R590-252-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. 
 
R590-252-4.  Findings. 
 The commissioner finds that [the acts ]an act prohibited by 
this rule [are ]is unfair, misleading, and deceptive within the meaning 
of Section 31A-23a-402. 
 
R590-252-5.  Prohibited Uses of Senior-Specific Certifications 
and Professional Designations. 
[ (1)(a)  An insurance producer or consultant may not use a 
senior-specific certification or professional designation that indicates 
or implies, in such a way as to mislead a purchaser or prospective 
purchaser, that the insurance producer or consultant has special 
certification or training in advising or servicing seniors in connection 
with the solicitation, sale or purchase of any annuity, accident and 
health, or life insurance product or in the provision of advice as to the 
value of or the advisability of purchasing or selling an annuity, 
accident and health, or life insurance product, either directly or 
indirectly through publications or writings, or by issuing or 
promulgating analyses or reports related to an annuity, accident and 
health, or life insurance product.] 
 (1)(a)  A producer or consultant may not use a senior-
specific certification or professional designation that indicates or 
implies, in a way that misleads a consumer, that the producer or 
consultant has special certification or training in: 
 (i)  advising or servicing seniors in connection with the 
solicitation, sale, or purchase of any annuity, accident and health, or 
life insurance product; or 
 (ii)  the provision of advice as to the value of or the 
advisability of purchasing or selling an annuity, accident and health, 
or life insurance product. 
 (b)  The prohibited use of senior-specific certifications or 
professional designations may not be provided: 
 (i)  either directly or indirectly; 
 (ii)  through a publication or writing; or 
 (iii)  by issuing or promulgating an analysis or report 
related to an annuity, accident and health, or life insurance product. 
 [(b)](c)  The prohibited use of senior-specific certifications 
or professional designations includes[, but is not limited to, the 
following]: 
 (i)  use of a certification or professional designation by [an 
insurance ]a producer or consultant who has not [actually ]earned or 
is otherwise ineligible to use [such ]the certification or designation; 
 (ii)  use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 
professional designation; 
 (iii)  use of a certification or professional designation that 
indicates or implies a level of occupational qualification[s] obtained 
through education, training, or experience that the [insurance 
]producer or consultant using the certification or designation does not 
have; and 
 (iv)  use of a certification or professional designation that 
was obtained from a certifying or designating organization that: 
 (A)  is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 
sales or marketing; 
 (B)  does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
assuring the competency of its certificants or designees; 

 (C)  does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 
monitoring and disciplining its certificants or designees for improper 
or unethical conduct; or 
 (D)  does not have reasonable continuing education 
requirements for its certificants or designees in order to maintain the 
certificate or designation. 
 (2)  There is a rebuttable presumption that a certifying or 
designating organization is not disqualified solely for purposes of 
[subsection (1)(b)(iv) ]Subsection (1)(c)(iv) when the certification or 
designation issued from the organization does not primarily apply to 
sales or marketing and when the organization or the certification or 
designation in question has been accredited by: 
 (a)  the American National Standards Institute[ (ANSI)]; 
 (b)  the National Commission for Certifying Agencies; or 
 (c)  any organization that is on the U.S. Department of 
Education's list entitled "Accrediting Agencies Recognized for Title 
IV Purposes." 
 (3)  In determining whether a combination of words or an 
acronym standing for a combination of words constitutes a 
certification or professional designation indicating or implying that a 
person has special certification or training in advising or servicing 
seniors, factors to be considered shall include: 
 (a)  use of one or more words such as ["senior," 
"retirement," "elder," ]senior, retirement, elder or like words 
combined with one or more words such as ["certified," "registered," 
"chartered," "advisor," "specialist," "consultant," "planner," 
]certified, registered, chartered, advisor, specialist, consultant, 
planner or like words, in the name of the certification or professional 
designation; and 
 (b)  the manner in which those words are combined. 
 (4)(a)  For purposes of this rule, a job title within an 
organization that is licensed or registered by a state or federal 
financial services regulatory agency is not a certification or 
professional designation, unless it is used in a manner that would 
confuse or mislead a reasonable consumer, when the job title: 
 (i)  indicates seniority or standing within the organization; 
or 
 (ii)  specifies an individual's area of specialization within 
the organization. 
 (b)  For purposes of this subsection, financial services 
regulatory agency includes[, but is not limited to,] an agency that 
regulates insurers, insurance producers, insurance consultants, 
broker-dealers, investment advisers, or investment companies as 
defined under the Investment Company Act of 1940. 
 
R590-252-6.  [Penalties. 
 A person found to be in violation of this rule shall be 
subject to penalties as provided under Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R590-252-7.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule 45 days 
from the rule's effective date. 
 
R590-252-8.  ]Severability. 
 [If any provision of this rule or its application to any person 
or circumstances is for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder 
of the rule and the application of the provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected thereby.]If any provision of this 
rule, Rule R590-252, or its application to any person or situation is 
held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other provision or 
application of this rule that can be given effect without the invalid 
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provision or application. The remainder of this rule shall be given 
effect without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY:  senior-specific insurance designations 
Date of Last Change:  2023[February 25, 2009] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 11, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-23a-402 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF RULE: Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R926-12 Filing ID:  
55244 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Program Development 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton Bldg 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-

580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R926-12.  Share the Road Bicycle Support Restricted 
Account 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
The primary reason for the proposed rule change is to 
change the biannual distribution months from April and 
October to January and July.  Secondary purposes for 
proposing this rule change are to make the text more 

concise by dropping superfluous text and conform the text 
to requirements in the Utah Rulewriting Manual. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This proposed rule change does the following: 
1) changes the biannual distribution months from April and 
October to January and July; 
2) drops language that is redundant to state statute and 
unnecessary; and 
3) makes changes to conform with the Utah Rulewriting 
Manual. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This proposed change will not affect the state's budget.  
The change does not require the Department of 
Transportation (Department) to take on more responsibility 
or relieve the Department of responsibility.  The proposed 
change is housekeeping in nature. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This proposed change will not affect local governments 
because it does not apply to them. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This proposed change will not affect small businesses 
because it does not require anything from them or relieve 
them of a duty. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This proposed change will not affect non-small businesses 
because it does not require anything from them or relieve 
them of a duty. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This proposed change will not fiscally affect persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities because it does not require 
anything from them or relieve them of a duty. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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This proposed change will not cost affected persons 
anything.  The change alters when the Department will pay 
grant money to affected persons eligible for grants. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2023 FY2024 FY2025 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation, Carlos M. Braceras, PE, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 72-2-127   

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/17/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/24/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
R926.  Transportation, Program Development. 
R926-12.  Share the Road Bicycle Support Restricted Account. 
R926-12-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule describes the [provides procedures and 
]requirements for an organization to apply to the Department [of 
Transportation ]to receive money [a distribution ]from the Share the 
Road Bicycle Support Restricted Account. 
 
R926-12-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is enacted under the authority granted to the 
Department [of Transportation ]by Section 72-2-127[(6)(c)]. 
 
R926-12-3.  Definitions. 
 As used in Rule R926-12[Terms used in these rules are 
defined as follows]: 
 (1)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Transportation. 
 [(a)](2)  "Share the Road Bicycle Support Restricted 
Account" means the [restricted ]account created in Section 72-2-
127.[ the General Fund into which monies are deposited from the 
purchase of Share the Road special group license plates, 
appropriations by the Legislature, private contributions, and 
donations or grants.] 
 [(b)](3)  "Qualified applicant" means a charitable 
organization described in Section 72-2-127.[an organization that 
qualifies as being tax exempt under Section 501(c)(3), Internal 
Revenue Code, and has as part of their primary mission the 
promotion and education of safe bicycle operations, safe motor 
vehicle operation around bicycles, healthy lifestyles, and contributes 
to the start-up fees associated with providing a Share the Road special 
group license plate.] 
 
R926-12-4.  Proposals. 
 (1)  A qualified applicant may apply to the Department[ of 
Transportation] for funding from the Share the Road Bicycle Support 
Restricted Account[ for use in support of safe bicycle operation, safe 
motor vehicle operation around bicycles and healthy lifestyles]. 
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 (2)  An applicant shall provide to the Department as part of 
an application: 
 (a)  contact information for the applicant; 
 (b)  proof that the applicant is tax exempt under Section 
501(c)(3), Internal Revenue Code; 
 (c)  proof that the applicant promotes safe bicycle 
operation, safe motor vehicle operation and healthy lifestyles as a 
primary part of [its]the applicant's mission; 
 (d)  a statement of the purpose for which the application is 
submitted, including[along with] an explanation of how the applicant 
would use the funding[a disbursement of money to promote safe 
bicycle operation, safe motor vehicle operation around bicycles and 
healthy lifestyles]; and 
 (e)  an explanation of the internal management controls and 
financial controls of the applicant that would ensure[insure] that any 
funds received would be used only for authorized purposes. 
 (3)  A qualified applicant that receives funding from the 
Share the Road Bicycle Support Restricted Account may only spend 
the funding for a purpose described in Section 72-2-127. 
 
R926-12-5.  Selection of Recipients. 
 The Department shall select recipients based on available 
funds, eligibility of the applicant, and verification of effective and 
efficient use of funds to promote safe bicycle operation, safe motor 
vehicle operation around bicycles, and healthy lifestyles. 

 
R926-12-6.  Distribution of Funds. 
 (1)  In January[April] and July[October] of each year, the 
Department will: 
 (a)  review applications for funding from the Share the 
Road Bicycle Support Restricted Account; 
 (b)  [and approve funding distribution from the Share the 
Road Bicycle Support Restricted Account.]provide notice to each 
applicant regarding the status of the applicant's application; and 
 (c)  provide a distribution of funds to approved 
applicants.[Notice of request status will be provided to the applicant 
and funding distributions made by the end of the months specified in 
this section. 
 The Department is authorized to expend up to 5% of the 
monies appropriated to administer account distributions to eligible 
applicants.] 
 
KEY:  share the road, bicycle support, restricted, account 
Date of Last Change:  2023[October 22, 2009] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 18, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-2-127 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R25-5 Filing ID: 55028 
Effective Date: 02/07/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Finance 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W  
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141031 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1031 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janica Gines 801-

957-
7727 

jmgines@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R25-5.  Payment of Meeting Compensation (Per Diem) to 
Boards 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 63A-3-106 requires the director of the Division of 
Finance to make rules establishing per diem rates to 
defray subsistence costs for a board members attendance 
at an official meeting 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule continues to be necessary because as boards 
are created reference is made in the statute creating the 
board to Section 63A-3-106 if they are allowed to receive 
meeting per diem for their work.  This rule is set to define 
the allowed per diem rates for boards that are authorized 
to receive per diem.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jenney Rees,  
Executive 
Director. 

Date: 02/07/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R25-7 Filing ID: 54697 
Effective Date: 02/07/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
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Agency: Finance 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 141031 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1031 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janica Gines 801-

957-
7727 

jmgines@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R25-7.  Travel Related Reimbursements for State 
Travelers 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule defines travel related reimbursement 
requirements and rates for employees and for board 
members.  It is required by both Sections 63A-3-106 and 
63A-3-107.  Section 63A-3-107 requires the director of the 
Division of Finance to establish rules governing in-state 
and out-of-state travel expenses.  Section 63A-3-106 
allows board members to be reimbursed for travel 
expenses in accordance with Section 63A-3-107 for 
attendance at an official meeting. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required by statute and is adopted be reference 
throughout the code by boards, as well as political 
subdivisions of the state.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jenney Rees,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/06/2023 

 
 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R251-114 Filing ID: 50357 
Effective Date: 02/13/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Corrections 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 14717 S Minuteman Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Draper, UT 84020 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Matt Anderson 801-

545-
5589 

mattanderson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R251-114.  Offender Long-Term Health Care - Notice 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Sections 63G-3-201, 64-13-10, 
and 64-13-39.5. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments concerning this rule have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
That statute requires this rule to be in place to oversee 
long-term health care for offenders under the jurisdiction 
of the Utah Department of Corrections.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brian Nielson,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/13/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R512-100 Filing ID: 54240 
Effective Date: 02/14/2023 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-100.  In-Home Services 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 80-2-302 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to clarify the scope of services 
the Division provides to families in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order for the Division to clarify the 
scope of In-Home Services that the Division provides to 
families in Utah.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
The Department of Health and Human Services is working 
on a nonsubstantive change to update citations in this rule. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R512-200 Filing ID: 54284 
Effective Date: 02/14/2023 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-200.  Child Protective Services, Intake Services 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 80-2-302 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to clarify the scope of services 
the Division provides to families in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order for the Division to clarify the 
scope of Intake Services that the Division provides to families 
in Utah.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R512-201 Filing ID: 54285 
Effective Date: 02/14/2023 

 



FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION  

138 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 05 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-201.  Child Protective Services, Investigation 
Services 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 80-2-302 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to clarify the scope of services 
the Division provides to families in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order for the Division to clarify the 
scope of Investigation Services that the Division provides to 
families in Utah.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R512-202 Filing ID: 54286 
Effective Date: 02/14/2023 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-202.  Child Protective Services, General Allegation 
Categories 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 62A-4a-102 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to clarify the scope of services 
the Division provides to families in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order for the Division to clarify 
Allegation Categories used by the Division.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R512-300 Filing ID: 54243 
Effective Date: 02/14/2023 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-300.  Out-of-Home Services 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 80-2-302 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to clarify the scope of services 
the Division provides to families in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order for the Division to clarify the 
scope of Out-of-Home Services provided by the Division.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R512-301 Filing ID: 54244 
Effective Date: 02/14/2023 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-301.  Out-of-Home Services, Responsibilities 
Pertaining to a Parent or Guardian 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 80-2-302 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to clarify the scope of services 
the Division provides to families in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order for the Division to clarify the 
responsibilities of a parent or guardian while Out-of-Home 
Services are being provided by the Division.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R512-302 Filing ID: 54245 
Effective Date: 02/14/2023 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-302.  Out-of-Home Services, Responsibilities 
Pertaining to an Out-of-Home Caregiver 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 80-2-302 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to clarify the scope of services 
the Division provides to families in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order for the Division to clarify the 
responsibilities the Division provides and of an Out-of-Home 
Caregiver while Out-of-Home Services are being provided 
by the Division.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R512-305 Filing ID: 54246 
Effective Date: 02/14/2023 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-305.  Out-of-Home Services, Transition to Adult 
Living Services 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 80-2-302 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to clarify the scope of services 
the Division provides to families in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order for the Division to clarify the 
Transition to Adult Living Services provided by the Division.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R512-309 Filing ID: 54249 
Effective Date: 02/14/2023 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-309.  Out-of-Home Services, Foster Parent 
Reimbursement of Motor Vehicle Insurance Coverage for 
Youth in Foster Care 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 80-2-302 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to clarify the scope of services 
the Division provides to families in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order for the Division to clarify how 
foster parents get reimbursed by the Division for motor 
vehicle insurance coverage for youth in foster care.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head 
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R512-500 Filing ID: 54288 
Effective Date: 02/14/2023 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child and Family Services 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-500.  Kinship Services, Placement and Background 
Screening 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 80-2-302 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to clarify the scope of services 
the Division provides to families in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary in order for the Division to clarify the 
placement and background screening for Kinship Services 
provided by the Division.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R602-4 Filing ID: 51484 
Effective Date: 02/08/2023 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Adjudication 
Room number: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Aurora Holley 801-

530-
6865 

Auroraholley@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
362-
3113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R602-4.  Procedures for Termination of Temporary Total 
Disability Compensation Pursuant to Reemployment 
Under Section 34A-2-410 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 34A-1-104(1) and Section 34A-1-3-4 authorize 
the Labor Commission (Commission) to adopt rules and 
conduct adjudicative proceedings relating to the 
administration of the Utah Workers' Compensation Act 
(Act).  Section 34A-2-41.5 of the Act provides a means for 
an employer or its insurance carrier to request that 
Commission's permission to reduce or terminate an 
injured worker's temporary total disability compensation.  
In order to administer an orderly adjudication system, it is 
necessary for the Commission to establish rules that 
govern the adjudication of such a request. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during and since 
the last five-year review of this rule from interested 
persons. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This rule remains necessary in order to govern the 
adjudication of an employer's or insurance carrier's 
request to reduce or terminate an injured worker's 
temporary total disability compensation.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jaceson R  
Maughan,  
Commissioner 

Date: 02/06/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R602-5 Filing ID: 51490 
Effective Date: 02/08/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Adjudication 
Room number: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Aurora Holley 801-

530-
6865 

auroraholley@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
362-
3113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R602-5.  Procedures for Resolving Disputes Regarding 
"Cooperation" and "Diligent Pursuit" Under Subsection 
34A-2-413(6)(e)(iii) and Subsection 34A-2-413(9) 
Consistent with Utah Administrative Code Subsection 
R612-200-7(D)(4) 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
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Subsection 34A-1-104(1) and Section 34A-a-304 
authorize the Labor Commission (Commission) to adopt 
rules and conduct adjudicative proceedings relating to the 
administration of the Utah Workers' Compensation Act 
(Act).  Subsection 34A-2-413(6)(c)(iii) of the Act requires 
an administrative law judge to issue a decision on a claim 
for permanent total disability benefits based on an 
employer' failure to pursue a reemployment plant. 
 
Section 34A-2-413(9) of the Act requires an administrative 
law judge to dismiss a claim for permanent total disability 
benefits based on an employee's failure to cooperate with 
an approved reemployment plan.  In order to administer 
an orderly adjudication system, it is necessary for the 
Commission to establish procedural requirements for 
hearings related to an employer's failure to pursue a 
reemployment plant or an employee's failure to cooperate 
with a reemployment plan. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during and since 
the last five-year review of this rule from interested 
persons. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule remains necessary in order to govern the hearing 
process for decision related to an employer's failure to 
pursue a reemployment plan or an employee's failure to 
cooperate with a reemployment plane.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jaceson R  
Maughan,  
Commissioner 

Date: 02/06/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R602-6 Filing ID: 51485 
Effective Date: 02/08/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Adjudication 
Room number: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Aurora Holley 801-

530-
6865 

auroraholley@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
362-
3113 

chrill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R602-6.  Procedures Applicable for Approval of Settlement 
Agreements in Workers'' Compensation 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 34A-1-104(1) and Section 34A-1-304 
authorize the Labor Commission (Commission) to adopt 
rules and conduct adjudicative proceedings relating to the 
administration of the Utah Workers' Compensation Act.  
Section 34A-2-420 of the Act requires the Commission to 
review all settlement or commutation agreements for 
workers' compensation claims or occupational disease 
benefits.  It also grants the Commission the discretion to 
approve such agreements.  In order to administer an 
orderly adjudication system, it is necessary for the 
Commission to establish the procedural requirements for 
Commission approval of these agreements. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during and since 
the last five-year review of this rule from interested 
persons. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule remains necessary in order to govern the 
procedural requirements for Commission approval of 
settlement or commutation agreements.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jaceson R  
Maughan,  
Commissioner 

Date: 02/06/2023 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R653-9 Filing ID: 51715 
Effective Date: 02/06/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Water Resources 
Room number: 310 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Mailing address: PO Box 146201 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6201 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Lanli Pham 801-

538-
7235 

lpham@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R653-9.  Electronic Meetings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 52-4-207 authorizes the Division of Water Resources 
to convene or conduct electronic meetings provided written 
procedures are established for such meetings.  
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received since the last five-year 
review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it establishes the procedures 
for conducting Board of Water Resources meetings by 
electronic means.  The statute also requires it.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Candice  
Hasenyager,  
Director 

Date: 02/06/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R746-330 Filing ID: 51965 
Effective Date: 02/03/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Hammer 801-

530-
6729 

michaelhammer@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R746-330.  Rules for Water and Sewer Utilities Operating 
in Utah 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The Public Service Commission (PSC) is statutorily vested 
with power and jurisdiction to supervise and regulate every 
public utility in the state, including water and sewer utilities.  
Sections 54-4-1 and 54-2-1 define "public utilities" to 
include "water corporations" and "sewerage corporations". 
 
The PSC is charged with fixing just and reasonable 
standards for quality and terms of water and sewer utility 
service and to establish "reasonable rules" to ensure 
accuracy of meters and other appliances for 
measurement, Id. at Section 54-4-18. 
 
The PSC is also statutorily empowered to "establish a 
system of accounts to be kept by public utilities" and "to 
prescribe the manner in which such accounts [and 
records] shall be kept", Id. at Section 54-4-23. 
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This rule sets basic standards for water and meter quality, 
a uniform system of accounts, and recordkeeping 
consistent with these statutory provisions. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The PSC has received no written comments from any 
interested person supporting or opposing this rule since 
the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule establishes basic and uncontroversial standards 
and requirements that are necessary to fulfill the PSC's 
statutorily delegated responsibility with respect to water 
and sewer utilities as enumerated in Box 3, above.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC  
Chair 

Date: 02/03/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R746-332 Filing ID: 51966 
Effective Date: 02/03/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Hammer 801-

530-
6729 

michaelhammer@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R746-332.  Depreciation Rates for Water Utilities 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 54-4-24 provides the Public Service Commission 
(PSC) "shall have power to require any or all public utilities 
to carry a proper and adequate depreciation account in 
accordance with such rules, regulations and forms of 
account as the [PSC] may prescribe." 
 
Further, the PSC may "fix the proper and adequate rates 
of depreciation of the several classes of property of each 
public utility" and require utilities to "conform [their] 
depreciation accounts to the rates" fixed by the PSC. 
 
This rule establishes depreciation rates for various classes 
of property held by public water utilities as Section 54-4-
24 contemplates and authorizes. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The PSC has received no written comments from any 
interested person supporting or opposing this rule since 
the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The rate at which utility plant is depreciated is a significant 
factor in determining just and reasonable rates.  As 
expressly authorized by Section 54-4-24, this rule 
prescribes depreciation rates for classes of property used 
by public water utilities. 
 
Setting these rates in administrative rule is particularly 
cost-effective and convenient for the numerous small 
water companies that service customers in more rural 
areas of the state (i.e. areas that are not served by a 
municipal water utility). 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC  
Chair 

Date: 02/03/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R746-347 Filing ID: 51963 
Effective Date: 02/03/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Administration 
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Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Hammer 801-

530-
6729 

michaelhammer@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R746-347.  Extended Area Service (EAS) 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The Public Service Commission (PSC) is statutorily 
charged with "endeavor[ing] to make available high-
quality, universal telecommunications services at just and 
reasonable rates … throughout this state" and ensuring 
changes to rates and terms of service do not take effect 
without due notice, Sections 54-8b-11 and 54-3-3. 
 
This rule facilitates a petitioning process by which 
residential customers, the PSC, or a telecommunications 
carrier may seek to expand the area in which customers 
may make calls without incurring long distance charges. 
 
This rule further prescribes a cost-based methodology to 
ensure the telecommunications carrier recovers the costs 
of such an expansion through just and reasonable rates 
set by the PSC. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The PSC has received no written comments from any 
interested person supporting or opposing this rule since 
the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule was established in 2003 consistent with the 
PSC's statutory authority and in service of its statutory 
responsibility to establish just and reasonable rates as 
explained in Box 3, above. 
 

The Legislature later amended Title 54 such that 
telecommunications carriers may be exempted from the 
PSC's ratemaking jurisdiction, see Section 54-8b-3. 
 
Additionally, use of cellular phones and wireless service 
plans that do not incur long distance charges has become 
relatively ubiquitous among residential customers in the 
ensuing 20 years.  Nevertheless, telecommunications 
carriers are not exempt from the PSC's jurisdiction 
(including its ratemaking jurisdiction) unless the PSC has 
found certain statutory requirements are met (including the 
existence of effective competition).  That is, while the 
circumstances to which this rule applies are less likely to 
arise than they were in 2003, the PSC continues to have 
statutory responsibility to set just and reasonable rates for 
telecommunications carriers that have not been granted 
an exemption. 
 
This rule imposes no cost or burden on any stakeholder 
except in circumstances where this rule may be necessary 
for the PSC to fulfill its statutory responsibility to establish 
just and reasonable rates. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC  
Chair 

Date: 02/03/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R746-402 Filing ID: 51986 
Effective Date: 02/03/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Hammer 801-

530-
6729 

michaelhammer@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R746-402.  Rules Governing Reports of Accidents by 
Electric, Gas, Telephone, and Water Utilities 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The Public Service Commission (PSC) is "vested with 
power and jurisdiction to supervise and regulate every 
public utility in this state" and express statutory authority 
to adopt "rules or regulations" to require public utilities to 
operate in "such manner as to promote and safeguard the 
health and safety of [their] employees …and the public", 
see Sections 54-4-1 and 54-4-14. 
 
The PSC may, by rule, prescribe installation or use of 
appropriate safety equipment and "require the 
performance of any other acts which the health or safety" 
of the public may demand.  In service of this responsibility, 
this rule requires basic reporting of accidents that involve 
loss of life or significant damage to property to the PSC. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The PSC has received no written comments from any 
interested person supporting or opposing this rule since 
the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary for the PSC to exercise its statutory 
authority to regulate public utilities in a manner consistent 
with public safety.  This rule simply ensures that serious 
accidents are reported such that the PSC and other 
stakeholders are apprised and the PSC has an opportunity 
to consider whether some agency action, consistent with 
the PSC's statutory authority, is appropriate. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC  
Chair 

Date: 02/03/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R746-405 Filing ID: 51973 
Effective Date: 02/03/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 

Agency: Administration 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Hammer 801-

530-
6729 

michaelhammer@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R746-405.  Filing of Tariffs for Gas, Electric, Telephone, 
and Water Utilities 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The Public Service Commission (PSC) has jurisdiction to 
regulate every public utility in the state, including 
establishing just and reasonable rates, see Sections 54-4-
1 and 54-4-4.  "Under the rules and regulations made by 
the [PSC]," Utah law requires public utilities to file with the 
PSC schedules (i.e. tariffs) showing all rates, charges, and 
terms of service, Id. at Section 54-3-2. 
 
These filed tariffs must be available to the public for 
inspection and utilities may not modify them without giving 
30 days' notice to the PSC, Id. at Section 54-3-3.  Utah law 
also requires the PSC to allow utilities to jointly file tariffs, 
Id. at Section 54-3-4.  A tariff may not include a general 
rate increase unless the PSC holds a hearing and 
complies with the process mandated under Section 54-7-
12. 
 
This rule specifies the process and format for filing tariff 
sheets as the PSC is required and authorized to do under 
Section 54-3-2.  This rule ensures the process for utilities 
to file these essential documents is clear and the contents 
are comprehensible and complete for ratepayers to 
understand the rates and terms governing their service. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The PSC has received no written comments from any 
interested person supporting or opposing this rule since 
the last five-year review. 
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5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is essential to ensure ratepayers enjoy their 
statutory right to inspect the tariffs that govern the rates 
and terms of their utility service and that those rates and 
terms do not change absent a utility's compliance with 
statutory requirements, such as giving 30 days' notice and 
obtaining the PSC's approval after a hearing for general 
rate increases. 
 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC  
Chair 

Date: 02/03/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R926-12 Filing ID: 52133 
Effective Date: 02/14/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Program Development 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton Bldg 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-

580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Palmer 801-
965-
4197 

jimpalmer@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on this 
notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R926-12.  Share the Road Bicycle Support Restricted 
Account 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 72-2-127 authorizes the Department of 
Transportation (Department) to make rules providing 
procedures and requirements for an organization to apply 
to the Department to receive money from the Share the 
Road Bicycle Support Restricted Account. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received written comments 
during and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is needed to provide procedures and 
requirements for an organization to apply to the 
department to receive a distribution from the Share the 
Road Bicycle Support Restricted Account.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/14/2023 

 
 

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  If the agency finds that it will not meet 
the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW 
EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office of Administrative Rules.  The EXTENSION permits the agency to file the review 
up to 120 days beyond the anniversary date. 
 
Agencies have filed EXTENSIONS for the rules listed below.  The "Extended Due Date" is 120 days after the anniversary 
date. 
 
EXTENSIONS are governed by Subsection 63G-3-305(6). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R317-101 Filing ID: 50784 
New Deadline  
Date: 

07/18/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Water Quality 
Room number: DEQ Third Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144870 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4870 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Judy Etherington 801-

536-
4344 

jetherington@utah.gov 

Harry Campbell 385-
501-
9583 

hcampbell@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R317-101.  Utah Wastewater Project Assistance Program 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
The Division of Water Quality is requesting an extension 
before filing the five-year review because this rule has just 
been approved by the Water Quality Board to initiate 
rulemaking with an amendment to Section R317-101-3.  

The modifications are in response to legislative actions 
and should be included as soon as possible.  It would 
cause less confusion in the rulemaking process if the text 
of this rule could be modified using the current dates, 
rather than have the references change before the 
amendment process can be completed. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

John K. Mackey,  
PE, Director 

Date: 02/15/2023 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R651-407 Filing ID: 51642 
New Deadline  
Date: 

07/11/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: State Parks 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple, Suite 116 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146001 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Melanie Shepherd 801-

538-
7418 

melaniemshepherd@utah.go
v 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R651-407.  Off-Highway Vehicle Advisory Council 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
This rule is being repealed.  It is moving to the Division of 
Recreation.  The Division of State Parks needs additional 
time to make the repeal effective before this rule expires. 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jeff Rasmussen,  
Director 

Date: 02/15/2023 

 

 
End of the Notices of Five-Year Review Extensions Section 
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Education 
Administration 
No.  55157  (Amendment)  R277-306:  Educator Preparation 
Programs for School Psychologists, Audiologists, Speech-
Language Pathologists, Speech-Language Technicians, 
Counselors, and School Social Workers 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55158  (Amendment)  R277-317:  Incentives for National 
Board Certification 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55159  (Amendment)  R277-469:  Instructional Materials 
Commission Operating Procedures 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55160  (Amendment)  R277-477:  Distributions of Funds 
from the Trust Distribution Account and Administration of the 
School LAND Trust Program 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55161  (Amendment)  R277-609:  Standards for LEA 
Discipline Plans and Emergency Safety Interventions 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55162  (Repeal and Reenact)  R277-709:  Education 
Programs Serving Youth in Custody 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55163  (Amendment)  R277-920:  School Improvement 
and Leadership Development 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 

Environmental Quality 
Administration 
No.  55036  (Amendment)  R305-4:  Clean Fuels and 
Emission Reduction Technology Program 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  02/02/2023 
 
Air Quality 
No.  55037  (Amendment)  R307-123:  Clean Fuels and 
Vehicle Technology Grant and Loan Program 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  02/02/2023 
 
No.  55039  (Amendment)  R307-328:  Gasoline Transfer and 
Storage 
Published:  12/01/2022 
Effective:  02/02/2023 
 
 
Government Operations 
Facilities Construction and Management 
No.  55153  (Amendment)  R23-1:  Procurement Rules with 
Numbering Related to the Procurement Code 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55131  (Amendment)  R23-3:  Planning, Programming, 
Request for Capital Development Projects and Operation and 
Maintenance Reporting for State Owned Facilities 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55132  (Amendment)  R23-5:  Contingency Funds 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55133  (Amendment)  R23-6:  Value Engineering and 
Life Cycle Costing of State Owned Facilities Rules 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
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No.  55134  (Amendment)  R23-7:  State Construction 
Contracts and Drug and Alcohol Testing 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55135  (Amendment)  R23-10:  Naming of State 
Buildings 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55136  (Amendment)  R23-12:  Building Code Appeals 
Process 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55137  (Amendment)  R23-13:  State of Utah Parking 
Rules for Facilities Managed by the Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55138  (Amendment)  R23-14:  Management of Roofs 
on State Buildings 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55139  (Amendment)  R23-19:  Facilities Use Rules 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55140  (Amendment)  R23-20:  Free Speech Activities 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55141  (Amendment)  R23-21:  Division of Facilities 
Construction and Management Procedures for Leases, 
Purchases, and Exchanges of Real Property 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55142  (Amendment)  R23-22:  Disposal of Division 
owned Property -- Qualified Proposal Requirements 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55143  (Amendment)  R23-23:  Health Reform -- Health 
Insurance Coverage in State Contracts -- Implementation 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55144  (Amendment)  R23-24:  Capital Projects Utilizing 
Non-appropriated Funds 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55145  (Amendment)  R23-25:  Administrative Rules 
Adjudicative Proceedings 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 

No.  55146  (Amendment)  R23-26:  Dispute Resolution 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55150  (Amendment)  R23-29:  Categorical Delegation 
of Project Management 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55148  (Amendment)  R23-30:  State Facility Energy 
Efficiency Fund 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55147  (Amendment)  R23-31:  Executive Residence 
Commission 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
Finance 
No.  55020  (Repeal)  R25-6:  Relocation Reimbursement 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2023 
 
No.  55123  (Amendment)  R25-7:  Travel-Related 
Reimbursements for State Travelers 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2023 
 
No.  55179  (Amendment)  R25-21:  Medical Cannabis 
Payment Provider Standards 
Published:  01/15/2023 
Effective:  02/21/2023 
 
Fleet Operations 
No.  55168  (Amendment)  R27-1:  Definitions 
Published:  01/15/2023 
Effective:  02/21/2023 
 
No.  55169  (Amendment)  R27-3:  Vehicle Use Standards 
Published:  01/15/2023 
Effective:  02/21/2023 
 
No.  55170  (Amendment)  R27-4:  Vehicle Replacement and 
Expansion of State Fleet 
Published:  01/15/2023 
Effective:  02/21/2023 
 
No.  55171  (Amendment)  R27-5:  Fleet Tracking 
Published:  01/15/2023 
Effective:  02/21/2023 
 
No.  55172  (Amendment)  R27-6:  Fuel Dispensing Program 
Published:  01/15/2023 
Effective:  02/21/2023 
 
No.  55173  (Amendment)  R27-7:  Safety and Loss 
Prevention of State Vehicles 
Published:  01/15/2023 
Effective:  02/21/2023 
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No.  55174  (Amendment)  R27-8:  State Vehicle 
Maintenance Program 
Published:  01/15/2023 
Effective:  02/21/2023 
 
No.  55175  (Amendment)  R27-10:  Identification Markings 
for State Motor Vehicles 
Published:  01/15/2023 
Effective:  02/21/2023 
 
Risk Management 
No.  55178  (Amendment)  R37-1:  Risk Management 
General Rules 
Published:  01/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2023 
 
 
Governor 
Economic Opportunity 
No.  55107  (Amendment)  R357-3:  Economic Development 
Tax Increment Financing Rule 
Published:  12/15/2022 
Effective:  02/03/2023 
 
No.  53055  (Amendment)  R357-14:  Electronic Meetings 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  02/03/2023 
 
 
Health and Human Services 
Administration (Health) 
No.  54901  (Repeal)  R380-407:  Medical Cannabis 
Pharmacy Agent 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  03/01/2023 
 
No.  54969  (Repeal)  R380-408:  Home Delivery and Courier 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  03/01/2023 
 
Center for Medical Cannabis 
No.  54904  (New Rule)  R383-8:  Medical Cannabis 
Pharmacy Agent 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  03/01/2023 
 
No.  54958  (New Rule)  R383-9:  Home Delivery and Courier 
Published:  11/01/2022 
Effective:  03/01/2023 
 
Disease Control and Prevention; HIV/AIDS, Tuberculosis 
Control/Refugee Health 
No.  55119  (Amendment)  R388-805:  Ryan White Part B 
Program 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2023 
 
Center for Health Data, Health Care Statistics 
No.  55112  (Amendment)  R428-1:  Health Data Plan and 
Incorporated Documents 
Published:  12/15/2022 
Effective:  02/17/2023 

Insurance 
Administration 
No.  55164  (Amendment)  R590-164-5:  Electronic Data 
Interchange Transactions 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55165  (Amendment)  R590-271-4:  Reporting 
Requirements 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
No.  55166  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-273:  Continuing 
Care Provider Rule 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
 
Labor Commission 
Boiler, Elevator and Coal Mine Safety 
No.  55118  (Amendment)  R616-2-3:  Safety Codes and 
Rules for Boilers and Pressure Vessels 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
 
Lieutenant Governor 
Elections 
No.  55029  (New Rule)  R623-8:  Ballot Chain of Custody 
Published:  12/15/2022 
Effective:  02/21/2023 
 
No.  55029  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R623-8:  Ballot 
Chain of Custody 
Published:  01/15/2023 
Effective:  02/21/2023 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Oil, Gas and Mining; Non-Coal 
No.  55149  (Amendment)  R647-2-115:  Reports 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/24/2023 
 
No.  55154  (Amendment)  R647-2-117:  Mineral Exploration 
Tax Credit 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/24/2023 
 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  55125  (Amendment)  R657-5:  Taking Big Game 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/14/2023 
 
No.  55126  (Amendment)  R657-62:  Drawing Application 
Procedures 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/14/2023 
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Tax Commission 
Motor Vehicle Enforcement 
No.  55156  (Amendment)  R877-23V-7:  Misleading 
Advertising Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 41-3-210 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/09/2023 
 
Property Tax 
No.  55167  (Amendment)  R884-24P-66:  County Board of 
Equalization Procedures and Appeals Pursuant to Utah Code 
Ann. Sections 59-2-1001 and 59-2-1004 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/09/2023 
 
 
Transportation 
Preconstruction 
No.  55103  (Amendment)  R930-5:  Maintenance 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2023 

 
 
Workforce Services 
Employment Development 
No.  55155  (Amendment)  R986-700:  Child Care Assistance 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/08/2023 
 
Housing and Community Development 
No.  55024  (Amendment)  R990-200:  Private Activity Bonds 
Published:  11/15/2022 
Effective:  02/07/2023 
 
No.  55024  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R990-200:  Private 
Activity Bonds 
Published:  01/01/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2023 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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