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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between August 02, 2023, 12:00 a.m., and August 
15, 2023, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the September 01, 2023, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least October 02, 2023.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through January 02, 2024, the agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days 
after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R35-1 Filing ID:  
55612 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Records Committee 
Street address: 346 S Rio Grande St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Rebekkah Shaw 801-

531-
3851 

rshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R35-1.  State Records Committee Appeal Hearing 
Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
S.B, 231 from the 2023 General Session added Section 
63G-2-209.  This new section created an additional 
mandate for the State Records Committee. 
 
The bill also required rules to be created for these new 
hearings, what is generally referred to as "vexatious 
requester hearings".  These changes are in anticipation of 
those hearings, along with some grammatical updates to 
be compliant with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The catchline for Rule R35-1 is changed for both appeal 
and vexatious hearings. 
 
A specific change is that all parties at a hearing are sworn 
in, and the time to present at the hearing is set. 
 
What happens when the Records Committee (Committee) 
votes in a tie is explained. 
 
The Committee may vote to compel a third-party to attend 
a hearing. 
 
Various types of motions and orders the Committee may 
issue are added. 
 
Two new sections are added: R35-1-3, Burden of Proof, 
and R35-1-4, Vexatious Requester Hearing Procedures.  
This requires the rest of the sections in Rule R35-1 to be 
renumbered. 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
The changes in this rule are created to come into 
compliance with Section 63G-2-209. 
 
All other changes are to clarify current practice. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
The changes in this rule are created to come into 
compliance with Section 63G-2-209. 
 
All other changes are to clarify current practice. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
The changes in this rule are created to come into 
compliance with Section 63G-2-209. 
 
All other changes are to clarify current practice. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
The changes in this rule are created to come into 
compliance with Section 63G-2-209. 
 
All other changes are to clarify current practice. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
The changes in this rule are created to come into 
compliance with Section 63G-2-209. 
 
All other changes are to clarify current practice. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule. 
 
The changes in this rule are created to come into 
compliance with Section 63G-2-209. 
 
All other changes are to clarify current practice. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Marvin Dodge, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Subsection 
63G-2-209(12) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kenneth Williams,  
Director and State  
Archivist 

Date: 05/08/2023 

 
R35.  Government Operations, Records Committee. 
R35-1.  State Records Committee [Appeal ]Hearing Procedures. 
R35-1-1.  Scheduling Committee Meetings. 
 (1)  The Executive Secretary shall respond in writing to the 
notice of appeal within seven business days. 
 (2)  Two weeks [prior to]before the Committee meeting or 
appeal hearing, the Executive Secretary shall post a notice of the 
meeting on the Utah Public Notice Website. 
 (3)  The Executive Secretary sets the agenda for the 
meeting. If the Committee Chair determines necessary, the Executive 
Secretary may postpone appeals to the next available meeting. 
[ (3)  One week prior to the Committee meeting or appeal 
hearing, the Executive Secretary shall post a notice of the meeting, 
indicating the agenda, date, time, and place of the meeting at the 
building where the meeting is to be held and at the Utah State 
Archives.] 
 
R35-1-2.  Procedures for Appeal Hearings. 
 (1)  The meeting shall be called to order by the Committee 
Chair. 
 (2)  The Committee Chair shall swear in the parties. 
 (3)  The petitioner and respondent are allowed up to 15 
minutes to present their case. Either party may request more time 
from the Chair at the hearing. 
 (a)  The petitioner's and governmental entity's cases may 
consist of testimony, argument, relevant evidence, and any relevant 
witnesses. 
[ (2)  Testimony shall be presented by the petitioner and the 
governmental entity.  Presentations shall be limited to records access 
issues and alleged unreasonable denials of requests for fee waivers.  
Each party shall be allowed twenty minutes to present testimony and 
evidence, to call witnesses, and to respond to questions from 
Committee members.] 
 (b[3])  Witnesses providing testimony shall be sworn in by 
the Committee Chair. 
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 (c[4])  Questioning of the witnesses and parties by 
Committee members is permitted. 
 (4)(a[5])  If the appeal involves proper classification of a 
record, the[The] governmental entity must bring the disputed records 
to the hearing to allow the Committee to view records in camera if it 
deems an in camera inspection necessary pursuant to Subsection 
63G-2-403(9). 
 (b)[(a)]  If the records withheld are voluminous or the 
governmental entity contends they have not been identified with 
reasonable specificity, the governmental entity shall notify the 
Committee via the Executive Secretary [and the adverse party ]at 
least seven[two] days before the hearing and obtain approval from 
the Committee Chair to bring a representative sample of the 
potentially responsive records to the hearing, if it is possible to do so. 
 (c)[(b)]  Records provided by the governmental entity for 
in camera review by the Committee remain in the custody of the 
governmental entity. Records for in camera review are retained by 
the Committee for only the period of in camera review and [all 
records ]are returned to the governmental entity or destroyed, 
provided they are not the record copy, at the conclusion of the in 
camera review. 
 (5[6])  Third party presentations may be permitted.  No 
later than three days before[Prior to] the hearing, the third party shall 
notify the Executive Secretary of their intent to present.  Third party 
presentations are[shall be] limited to three[five] minutes, and 
will[must] be presented [prior to]before closing arguments. 
 (6[7])  Closing arguments may be presented by the 
petitioner and the governmental entity.  Each party shall be allowed 
up to five minutes to present a closing argument and make rebuttal 
statements. 
 (7)(a[8])  After the conclusion of the closing 
arguments[presentation of the evidence], the Committee shall 
[commence]start deliberations.  A Committee Member shall make a 
motion described in the list under  Subsection R35-1-5(1).[to grant 
or to deny the petitioner's request in whole or in part.  Following 
discussion of the motion, the Committee Chair shall call for the 
question.  The motion shall serve as the basis for the Committee 
Decision and Order.]  The Committee shall vote and make public the 
decision of the Committee during the hearing. 
 (b)  In the event of a tie vote, the Committee Chair shall ask 
if the Committee wishes to continue deliberation. If so, deliberation 
continues and another motion may be made. If a tie vote occurs a 
second time, the Chair shall withdraw their vote to break the tie. 
 (8[9])  At any time, the[The] Committee may adjourn, 
reschedule, continue, or reopen a hearing on the motion of a member. 
 (9[10])  Except as expressly authorized by law, there shall 
be no communication between the parties and the members of the 
Committee concerning the subject matter of the appeal before the 
hearing or [prior to]before the issuance of an [final Decision And 
]Order.  Any other oral or written communication from the parties to 
the members of the Committee, or from the members of the 
Committee to the parties, shall be directed to the Executive Secretary 
for transmittal. 
 (10[11])  The following provisions govern any meeting at 
which one or more members of the Committee or a party appears 
telephonically or electronically, pursuant to Section 52-4-207. 
 (a)  The anchor location is the physical location from which 
the electronic meeting originates as indicated on the public notice.[or 
from which the participants are connected.  The anchor location, 
unless otherwise designated in the notice, shall be at the offices of the 
Division of State Archives, Salt Lake City, Utah.] 

 (b)  Public notices of the meeting shall show if[If] one or 
more Committee members or parties may be participating 
electronically or telephonically[, public notices of the meeting shall 
so indicate].  In addition, the notice shall specify the anchor location 
where the members of the Committee not participating electronically 
or telephonically will be meeting and where interested persons and 
the public may attend and monitor the open portions of the meeting. 
 (c)  When notice is given of the possibility of a member of 
the Committee appearing electronically or telephonically, any 
member of the Committee may do so and shall be counted as present 
for purposes of a quorum and may fully participate and vote on any 
matter coming before the Committee.  At the commencement of the 
meeting, or at such time as any member of the Committee initially 
appears electronically or telephonically, the Committee Chair shall 
identify for the record each of those who are appearing telephonically 
or electronically.  [Votes by members of the Committee who are not 
at the physical location of the meeting shall be confirmed by the 
Committee Chair.]When conducting a meeting with any Board 
members participating telephonically or electronically, the 
Committee Chair will take votes by roll call. 
 (11[12])(a)  Pursuant to Subsection 63G-2-401(5)(c) a 
petitioner may request a postponement of a hearing, with the 
consensus of the governmental entity.  If the petitioner wishes to 
postpone the hearing or withdraw the appeal, the petitioner shall 
notify the Committee via the Executive Secretary and the 
governmental entity in writing no later than five days [prior to]before 
the scheduled hearing date. 
 (b)  The Committee Chair has the discretion to grant or 
deny a petitioner's request to postpone a hearing based upon:  (i) the 
reasons given by the petitioner in [his or her]the request, (ii) the 
timeliness of the request, (iii) whether petitioner has previously 
requested and received a postponement, (iv) any other factor 
determined to protect the equitable interests of the parties.  If the 
request is granted, the Chair shall instruct the Executive Secretary to 
schedule the appeal for the next available hearing date pursuant to 
Subsection 63G-2-403(4)(a). 
 (c)  The Chair will ordinarily deny a governmental entity's 
request to postpone the hearing, unless the governmental entity has 
obtained the petitioner's prior consent to reschedule the hearing date. 
 (12)  If the Committee determines at any time before, or 
during a hearing, that a necessary third party must either be added as 
a party to the appeal or otherwise be present or testify, the Committee 
may vote to continue the hearing to a later date, if necessary, and 
compel the third party's attendance by way of a subpoena. 
 (13)  Nothing in this section precludes the Committee Chair 
from taking appropriate measures necessary to maintain the order and 
integrity of the hearing. 
 
R35-1-3.  Burden of Proof. 
 (1)  In cases where the appeal concerns whether the 
governmental entity possesses or maintains the requested records, the 
governmental entity must show by a preponderance of the evidence 
that its search for the requested records was reasonable. 
 (a)  Upon the governmental entity establishing by a 
preponderance of the evidence that its search was reasonable, the 
burden of proof shifts to the petitioner who must show by a 
preponderance of the evidence that the search effort lacked good 
faith. 
 (2)  In hearings concerning whether a person is a vexatious 
requester, the Committee shall examine the totality of the 
circumstances in determining that the person is a vexatious requester 
as outlined in Subsection 63G-2-209(9). 
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R35-1-4.  Vexatious Requester Hearing Procedures. 
 (1)  When hearing a petition to declare a person a vexatious 
requester, the Committee shall hold the hearing in accordance with 
Section R35-1-2. 
 (2)  If at any time the Committee determines that the matter 
being heard involves issues outlined in Subsection 52-4-205(1), then 
the Committee may move to close the hearing to the public. 
 
R35-1-5[3].  Issuing the Committee Decision and Order. 
 (1)  The Committee may issue the following Orders: 
 (a)  grant the petitioner's appeal in whole or in part; 
 (b)  deny the petitioner's appeal in whole or in part; 
 (c) continue the hearing to a later date; 
 (d)  deny or allow a vexatious requester hearing; 
 (e)  declare a person a vexatious requester; 
 (f)  require a governmental entity to make redactions in the 
record, unredact information, or take other action necessary to 
effectuate the Decision and Order. 
 (2)  The Committee may collaboratively draft its Order 
privately after the hearing. 
 (a)  In its collaborative private drafting, the Committee may 
refine its reasoning to include legal authority, analysis, relevant facts, 
and other considerations not actually voiced in public deliberation. 
 ([1]3)  The Decision and Order must[shall] be signed by the 
Committee Chair and distributed by the Executive Secretary within 
seven business days after the hearing.  Copies of each Decision and 
Order shall be distributed to the petitioner, the governmental entity 
and other interested parties.  The original [o]Order shall be 
maintained by the Executive Secretary.  A copy of the Decision and 
[o]Order shall be made available for public access at the Utah State 
Archives website. 
 (4)  Before either party appeals an Order pursuant to 
Section 63G-2-404, the Committee may withdraw its Order by 
delivering notice to the parties of the withdrawal. Upon the 
withdrawal, the Executive Secretary shall add the withdrawn Order 
to the agenda of the next regularly scheduled public Committee 
meeting. 
 
R35-1-6[4].  Committee Minutes. 
 (1)  Purpose.  Section 52-4-203 requires any public body to 
establish and implement procedures for the public body's approval of 
the written minutes of each meeting.  This rule establishes procedures 
for the State Records Committee to approve the written minutes of 
each meeting. 
 (2)  Authority.  This rule is enacted under the authority of 
Sections 52-4-203, 63G-3-201, and 63A-12 Division of Archives and 
Records Service. 
 (3)  Meetings of the Committee shall be recorded.  The 
recording of the open meeting shall be made available to the public 
within three business days.  Access to the audio recordings shall be 
provided by the Executive Secretary on the Utah Public Notice 
Website. 
 (4)(a)  Approved written minutes shall be the official record 
of the meetings and appeal hearings and shall be maintained by the 
Executive Secretary. 
 (b)[(a)]  Written minutes shall be read by members 
before[prior to] the next scheduled meeting, including electronic 
meetings. 
 (c)[(b)]  Written minutes from meetings shall be made 
available no later than one week before[prior to] the date of the next 
regularly scheduled Committee meeting. 

 (d)[(c)]  When minutes are complete but awaiting official 
approval, they are a public record and must be marked as "Draft." 
 (e)[(d)]  At the next meeting, at the direction of the 
Committee Chair, minutes shall be amended [and/]or approved with 
individual votes recorded in the minutes.  The minutes shall be then 
marked as "Approved." 
 (f)[(e)]  When the minutes are "Approved" they will be [so 
]noted in the printed and online versions.  A copy of the approved 
minutes shall be made available for public access on the Utah Public 
Notice Website. 
 
KEY:  government documents, state records committee, records 
appeal hearings, vexatious requester hearings 
Date of Last Change:  [September 8, 2021]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  June 3, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-2-
401(5)(c); 63G-2-403(9); 63G-2-403(4)(a); 63G-2-201; 63A-12-
101; 52-4-203 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R68-25 Filing ID:  
55653 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Building: TSOB, South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W  
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov  

Cody James  385-
515-
1485 

codyjames@utah.gov  

Kelly Pehrson  385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-25.  Industrial Hemp Program - Cannabinoid Product 
Processors 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Changes are needed to clarify the allowances of a Tier 
Four processing licensee to ensure product safety. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Rule R68-25 is updated to clarify that a Tier Four licensee 
may only sell finished product to a retailer. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the Department 
of Agriculture and Food (Department).  The changes make 
this rule consistent with current Department practice and 
are clarifying only. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments are not licensed under the industrial 
hemp program and will not be impacted by the changes. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses should not be impacted by this change 
because the changes are clarifying licensing requirements 
and the costs to participate in the program should not 
change. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses should not be impacted by this 
change because the changes are clarifying licensing 
requirements and the costs to participate in the program 
should not change. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons should not be impacted by this change 
because the changes are clarifying licensing requirements 
and the costs to participate in the program should not 
change. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs should not change.  Fees charged by 
the Department and compliance requirements will not be 
impacted. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 

are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-41-103(4) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 08/14/2023 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-25.  Industrial Hemp Program - Cannabinoid Product 
Processors. 
R68-25-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Subsection 4-41-103(4), this rule establishes 
the standards, practices, procedures, and requirements for 
participation in the Utah Industrial Hemp Program for the processing 
and handling of cannabinoid products. 
 
R68-25-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)(a)  "Artificially derived cannabinoid" means a chemical 
substance that is created by a chemical reaction that changes the 
molecular structure of any chemical substance derived  from the 
cannabis plant. 
 (b)  "Artificially derived cannabinoid" does not include: 
 (i)  a naturally occurring chemical substance that is 
separated from the cannabis plant by a chemical or mechanical 
extraction process; or 
 (ii)  a cannabinoid that is produced by decarboxylation 
from a naturally occurring cannabinoid acid without the use of a 
chemical catalyst. 
 (2)  "Bulk cannabinoid Product" means cannabinoid 
product that has been prepped and is ready for final packaging. 
 (3)  "CBD" means cannabidiol (CAS #13956-29-1). 
 (4)  "Cannabinoid" means any: 
 (a)  naturally occurring derivative of cannabigerolic acid 
(CAS #25555-57-1); or 
 (b)  any chemical compound that is both structurally and 
chemically similar to a derivative of cannabigerolic acid. 
 (5)  "Cannabinoid concentrate" means: 
 (a)  the product of any chemical or physical process applied 
to naturally occurring biomass that concentrates or isolates the 
cannabinoids contained in the biomass; and 
 (b)  any amount of a natural, derivative, or synthetic 
cannabinoid in the synthetic cannabinoid's purified state. 
 (6)  "Cannabinoid product" means a product that: 
 (a)  contains one or more cannabinoids; 
 (b)  contains less than the cannabinoid product THC level 
by dry weight;[ and] 
 (c)  contains a combined amount of total THC and any THC 
analog that does not exceed 10% of the total cannabinoid content; 
and 
 (d)  does not exceed a total of THC and any THC analog 
that is greater than: 
 (i)  5 milligrams per serving; and 
 (ii)  150 milligrams per package. 

 (7)  "Cannabinoid product THC level" means a combined 
concentration of total THC and any THC analog of less than 0.3% on 
a dry weight basis if laboratory testing confirms a result within a 
measurement of uncertainty that includes the combined 
concentration of 0.3%. 
 (8)  "Community location" " means a public or private 
elementary or secondary school, a church, a public library, a public 
playground, or a public park. 
 (9)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (10)  "Final product" means a reasonably homogenous 
cannabinoid product in its final packaged form created using the 
same standard operating procedures and the same formulation. 
 (11)  "Industrial hemp" means any part of a cannabis plant, 
whether growing or not, with a concentration of less than 0.3% 
tetrahydrocannabinol by weight. 
 (12)  "Industrial hemp material" means raw concentrate, 
raw plant material, or materials made from raw plant material or raw 
concentrates that are not in a final packaged form. 
 (13)  "Key participant" means any of the following: 
 (a)  a licensee; 
 (b)  an operations manager; 
 (c)  a site manager; or 
 (d)  an employee who has access to any industrial hemp 
material with a THC concentration above 0 .3%. 
 (14)  "Handle" or "Handling" means possessing, 
transporting, or storing industrial hemp for any period. 
 (15)  "Processing" means any action taken to prepare 
industrial hemp, or material derived from industrial hemp, for 
market. 
 (16)  "Processor" means a person licensed by the 
department to process industrial hemp or a material derived from 
industrial hemp. 
 (17)  "Manufacturing" means storing, preparing, 
packaging, or labeling of industrial hemp, industrial hemp material, 
or cannabinoid products. 
 (18)  "Non-compliant material" means: 
 (a)  a hemp plant or plant material that does not comply 
with this rule, including a cannabis plant with a concentration of 0.3% 
tetrahydrocannabinol or  greater by dry weight; and 
 (b)  a cannabinoid product, chemical, or compound with a 
concentration that exceeds the cannabinoid product THC level. 
 (19)  "Raw plant material" or "Raw concentrate" means 
industrial hemp plant material or concentrate that is not in final 
product form. 
 (20)  "Tetrahydrocannabinol" or "THC" means delta-9-
tetrahydrocannabinol, the cannabinoid identified as CAS #1972-08-
3. 
 (21)  "Third-party laboratory" means a laboratory that has 
no direct interest in a grower or processor of industrial hemp or 
cannabinoid products that is capable of performing mandated testing 
utilizing validated methods. 
 
R68-25-3.  Cannabinoid Product Processor Licenses. 
 (1)  The department shall issue the following cannabinoid 
product processor licenses: 
 (a)  a Tier One license, which allows a licensee to receive, 
store, extract, transport, and sell industrial hemp material and 
manufacture finished cannabinoid product; 
 (b)  a Tier Two license, which allows a licensee to receive 
raw plant material and extract it into raw concentrate to store, sell, or 
transport; 



 

8 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 

 (c)  a Tier Three license, which allows a licensee to receive 
bulk cannabinoid product and store, package, and label finished 
cannabinoid product; and 
 (d)  a Tier Four license, which allows a licensee to receive, 
store, transport, or sell raw concentrate[ under 0.3% THC 
concentration, industrial hemp], raw plant material, or sell finished 
cannabinoid product[ to act as a broker, distributor, or wholesaler] to 
a retailer, and perform minimal processing for storage only. 
 (2)  A Tier One processor may accept raw concentrate with 
greater than 0.3% THC concentration from another Tier One 
processor or a Tier Two processor. 
 
R68-25-4.  Application Requirements. 
 (1)  The applicant shall be a minimum of 18 years old. 
 (2)  The applicant is not eligible to receive a license if they 
have been convicted of a drug-related felony or its equivalent. 
 (3)  An applicant seeking an industrial hemp processing 
license shall submit the following to the department: 
 (a)  a complete application form provided by the 
department; 
 (b)  a physical description of the processing facility; 
 (c)  a plan review of the building, facilities, and equipment; 
 (d)  a street address for each building or site where 
industrial hemp or cannabinoid products will be processed, handled, 
or stored; 
 (e)  the planned source of industrial hemp material; and 
 (f)  a statement of the intended end use or disposal for each 
part of the industrial hemp plant and hemp material. 
 (4)  An applicant and any key participants shall submit a 
nationwide criminal history from the FBI completed within three 
months of their application. 
 (5)  The applicant shall submit a fee as approved by the 
Legislature in the fee schedule. 
 (6)  The department shall deny any applicant who does not 
submit the required information. 
 (7)  Each applicant for a Tier one, Tier Two, or Tier Three 
license shall be required to register as a food establishment under 
Section 4-5-301 pursuant to the requirements of Section R68-25-7. 
 
R68-25-5.  Processing Facility Restrictions. 
 (1)  A licensee shall not process or store raw plant material 
or raw concentrate from industrial hemp in any structure that is used 
for residential purposes. 
 (2)  A licensee shall not process or store industrial hemp 
within 1,000 feet of a community location. 
 (3)  A licensee shall not process or handle industrial hemp 
or hemp material from any person who is not licensed by the 
department or the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) 
or from a person outside the state who is not authorized by the laws 
of that state. 
 (4)  A licensee shall not permit a person under the age of 18 
to access industrial hemp or cannabinoid products. 
 (5)  A licensee shall submit a nationwide criminal history 
from the FBI to the department for each employee with access to 
material which contains, or may contain, over 0.3% THC within the 
first month of employment. 
 (6)  The licensee shall notify the department if a key 
participant  separates from the licensee within two weeks following 
the separation. 
 

R68-25-6.  Extraction Methods. 
 (1)  In addition to the requirements of Section R68-25-4, an 
applicant seeking to engage in the extraction of cannabinoid 
concentrate from industrial hemp shall submit to the department a 
detailed description of the proposed extraction method. 
 (2)  The applicant shall describe the proposed process for 
the removal of any solvents added during the extraction process, if 
applicable. 
 (3)  The applicant shall describe the safety measures 
proposed to protect the public and employees from dangers 
associated with extraction methods. 
 (4)  The department may deny a license for methods that 
pose a significant risk to public health and safety. 
 (5)  Each licensee shall adhere to the following extraction 
guidelines: 
 (a)  ensure hydrocarbons n-butane, isobutane, propane, or 
heptane are of at least 99% purity; 
 (b)  use a professional grade closed loop extraction system 
designed to recover the solvents, work in an environment with proper 
ventilation, and control each source of ignition where a flammable 
atmosphere is or may be present; 
 (c)  ensure that any carbon dioxide (CO2) gas extraction 
system uses a professional grade closed loop CO2 gas extraction 
system where each vessel is rated to a minimum of six hundred 
pounds per square inch and CO2 shall be at least 99% purity; 
 (d)  ensure that closed loop hydrocarbon, alcohol, or CO2 
extraction systems are commercially manufactured and bear a 
permanently affixed and visible serial number; and 
 (e)  upon request, provide the department with 
documentation showing that the system is: 
 (i)  safe for its intended use; and 
 (ii)  commercially manufactured. 
 (6)  The applicant shall state whether they will be  using 
derivative or synthetic cannabinoids and how they will produce or  
procure them. 
 
R68-25-7.  Processing Practices. 
 (1)  The department incorporates by reference 21 CFR 111, 
2007 version, Current Good Manufacturing Practice in 
Manufacturing, Packaging, Labeling, or Holding Operations for 
Dietary Supplements for a licensee engaged in processing a 
cannabinoid product intended for human consumption. 
 (2)  The department incorporates by reference 21 CFR 507, 
2015 version, Current Good Manufacturing Practice, Hazard 
analysis, and Risk-Based Preventive Controls for Food for Animals 
for a licensee engaged in processing cannabinoid products for animal 
consumption. 
 (3)  A licensee that manufactures cannabinoid products for 
human consumption shall be registered with the Division of 
Regulatory Services within the department. 
 (4)  A licensee  shall use a standardized scale that is 
registered with the department when industrial hemp or cannabinoid 
products are: 
 (a)  packaged for sale by weight; or 
 (b)  bought and sold by weight. 
 (5)  A licensee that also is a holder of a medical cannabis 
processing license  shall adhere to the separation requirements of 
Section R68-28-5 to ensure physical separation of medical cannabis 
and industrial hemp in their facility. 
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 (6)  A licensee that manufactures cannabinoid products 
shall ensure that the facility meets basic cleanliness standards, 
including: 
 (a)  buildings are of suitable size, design, and construction 
to permit unobstructed placement of equipment, orderly storage of 
materials, sanitary operation, and proper cleaning and maintenance; 
 (b)  floors, walls, and ceilings are constructed of smooth, 
easily cleanable surfaces and are kept clean and in good repair; 
 (c)  fixtures, ducts, and pipes are installed in such a manner 
that drip or condensate does not contaminate materials, utensils,  
contact surfaces of equipment, or finished products in bulk; 
 (d)  lighting and ventilation are sufficient for the intended 
operation and comfort of personnel; 
 (e)  water supply, washing and toilet facilities, floor 
drainage, and sewage system are adequate for sanitary operation and 
cleaning of facilities, equipment, and utensils, as well as to satisfy 
employee needs and facilitate personal cleanliness; and 
 (f)  adequate filth and pest controls are in place. 
 
R68-25-8.  Required Reports. 
 (1)  A licensee shall submit a completed Production Report 
on a form provided by the department by December 31st. 
 (2)  The failure to submit a timely completed form may 
result in the denial of a renewal license. 
 
R68-25-9.  Additional Records. 
 (1)  The licensee shall keep records of receipt for any 
industrial hemp material obtained including: 
 (a)  the date of receipt; 
 (b)  quantity received; 
 (c)  an identifying lot number created by the licensee; and 
 (d)  the seller's information including: 
 (i)  the seller's department license number; 
 (ii)  seller's contact information; and 
 (iii)  the address of the facility or growing area from which 
the industrial hemp material was shipped. 
 (2)  The licensee shall keep records that include the 
following information for each batch of industrial hemp material 
processed; 
 (a)  the date of processing; 
 (b)  the lot number of the material; 
 (c)  the amount processed; 
 (d)  the type of processing; and 
 (e)  any lab test conducted on the industrial hemp material 
or product during the processing. 
 (3)  The licensee shall keep records of any derivative or 
synthetic cannabinoids procured or produced and the products they 
are used for. 
 (4)  The licensee shall keep records of any tests conducted 
with the identifying lot number. 
 (5)  A licensee processing a cannabinoid product for human 
consumption shall keep records required by 21 CFR 111  including: 
 (a)  written procedures for preventing microbial 
contamination; 
 (b)  documentation of training of employees; 
 (c)  cleaning logs of equipment; 
 (d)  procedures for cleaning the physical facility; 
 (e)  documentation of your qualification of supplier; and 
 (f)  documentation of calibration of machinery. 
 (6)  A licensee processing a cannabinoid product for 
animals shall keep records as required by 21 CFR 507 including: 

 (a)  written procedures for preventing microbial 
contamination; 
 (b)  documentation of training of employees; 
 (c)  cleaning logs of equipment; 
 (d)  procedures for cleaning the physical facility; and 
 (e)  documentation of calibration of machinery. 
 (7)  The licensee shall keep records of any products  they 
have manufactured and the disposition of any cannabinoid material 
that leaves the facility. 
 (8)  Records shall be maintained for a minimum of three 
years. 
 (9)  Records are subject to review by department officials 
at the time of inspection or upon request. 
 
R68-25-10.  Testing. 
 (1)  Cannabinoid products shall be tested for the following 
before being made available for retail sale: 
 (a)  cannabinoid profile; 
 (b)  solvents; 
 (c)  pesticides; 
 (d)  microbials; 
 (e)  heavy metals; and 
 (f)  foreign matter. 
 (2)  The testing shall be completed by a third-party 
laboratory. 
 (3)  The department shall conduct random testing of 
cannabinoid products and materials. 
 (4)  The sample taken by the department shall be the official 
sample. 
 
R68-25-11.  Inspections and Sampling. 
 (1)  The department shall have complete and unrestricted 
access to industrial hemp plants, seeds, and materials and any land, 
buildings, and other structures used to process industrial hemp. 
 (2)  Samples of industrial hemp or cannabinoid product 
may be randomly taken from the facility by department officials. 
 (3)  The department may review records kept in accordance 
with rule requirements. 
 (4)  The department shall notify a licensee of test results 
greater than 0.3% THC. 
 (5)  Any laboratory test with a result greater than 0.3% THC 
may be considered a violation of the terms of the license and may 
result in an immediate license revocation. 
 (6)  Any laboratory test of a final product with a result of 
1% THC or greater shall be turned over to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency and revocation of the processor license shall be 
immediate. 
 (7)  The department shall notify the licensee of any 
solvents, metals, microbials, pesticides, or foreign matter found 
during testing. 
 (8)  The presence of deleterious or harmful substances may 
be considered a violation of the terms of the license and may result 
in a license revocation. 
 
R68-25-12.  Storage of Industrial Hemp Material and 
Cannabinoid Products. 
 (1)  A licensee may store industrial hemp material and 
cannabinoid products at their licensed facility provided: 
 (a)  the licensee informs the department of the type and 
amount of the product being stored in the storage facility; 
 (b)  the storage facility is outside of the public view; and 
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 (c)  the storage facility is secured with physical 
containment such as walls, fences, locks, and with an alarm system 
to provide maximum reasonable security. 
 (2)  A Tier One or Tier Two licensee may store a raw 
concentrate that exceeds 0.3% THC provided: 
 (a)  the concentrate is kept in a secure room; 
 (b)  the concentrate is kept separate from other hemp and 
cannabinoid products; 
 (c)  access to the concentrate is limited; and 
 (d)  a record is kept of the amount of concentrate being 
stored and when it is being moved. 
 (3)  Storage facilities shall be maintained in accordance 
with the practice adopted in Section R68-25-7. 
 (4)  Storage facilities and records are subject to random 
inspection by department officials. 
 
R68-25-13.  Transportation of Industrial Hemp Material. 
 (1)  Each movement of industrial hemp material shall 
include a transport manifest that includes the following information: 
 (a)  a copy of the COA for each batch included in the 
shipment; 
 (b)  the location of the sending and receiving parties; 
 (c)  proof of  registration or licensure for the sending and 
receiving parties; and 
 (d)  a bill of lading for the transported material. 
 
R68-25-14.  Restriction on the Sale and Transfer of Industrial 
Hemp Material. 
 (1)  A licensee shall not sell or transfer living plants, viable 
plants, viable seed, industrial hemp material to any person not 
licensed by the department or the USDA. 
 (2)  A licensee may sell stripped stalks, fiber, and nonviable 
seed to the general public provided the material's THC level is less 
than 0.3%. 
 
R68-25-15.  Renewal. 
 (1)  A licensee shall resubmit the documents required in 
Section R68-25-4, with updated information, before December 31st 
of the current year. 
 (2)  The department may deny a renewal for an incomplete 
application. 
 (3)  The department may deny renewal for any licensee 
who has violated any portion of this rule or state law. 
 
R68-25-16.  Violation. 
 (1)  It is a violation to process industrial hemp or industrial 
hemp material on a site not approved by the department. 
 (2)  It is a violation to process industrial hemp or industrial 
hemp material on a site within 1,000 feet of a community location. 
 (3)  It is a violation to process industrial hemp or industrial 
hemp material from a source that is not approved by the department. 
 (4)  A licensee shall not allow unsupervised public access 
to hemp processing facilities. 
 (5)  It is a violation to employ a person under the age of 18 
in the processing or handling of industrial hemp or cannabinoid 
products. 
 (6)  It is a violation to sell a cannabinoid product to the 
general public or another licensee in violation of this section or state 
laws governing the final product. 
 (7)  It is a violation to process raw concentrate without the 
appropriate industrial hemp processor license. 

 (8)  It is a violation to fail to keep records required by this 
rule or to fail to adhere to the notification requirements of this rule. 
 (9)  It is a violation to use artificially derived cannabinoids 
in cannabinoid products without notifying the department. 
 (10)  It is a violation for a licensee to allow an employee 
that has been convicted of a drug-related felony or its equivalent 
access to industrial hemp material or cannabinoid product that 
contains over 0.3% THC or has the potential to contain over 0.3% 
THC. 
 (11)  It is a violation to have cannabinoid concentrate 
without a cannabinoid product processing license. 
 (12)  It is a violation to store cannabinoid concentrate with 
greater than 0.3% THC concentration without following the 
requirements of Subsection R68-25-12(2). 
 (13)  It is a violation to store industrial hemp material 
without a processor license from the department or a cultivator 
license from the USDA. 
 (14)  It is a violation to have non-compliant material. 
 (15)  It is a violation for a licensee to engage in practices 
outside of the scope of their license. 
 (16)  It is a violation to use an extraction method that is not 
authorized by Section R68-25-6. 
 (17)  It is a violation to employ a key participant without a 
background check for longer than 30 days. 
 (18)  It is a violation to operate a facility that does not meet 
current Good Manufacturing Practice requirements. 
 (19)  For holders of industrial hemp and medical cannabis 
processing licenses, it is a violation to operate a facility that does not 
adhere to the separation requirements of Section R68-28-5. 
 (20)  It is a violation to sell a cannabinoid product that has 
not been tested as required by Section R68-25-10. 
 (21)  It is a violation to deny the department the ability to 
take a sample of a cannabinoid product during an inspection or as 
part of an investigation. 
 (22)  It is a violation to deny the department access to a 
cannabinoid product processing facility or cannabinoid product 
processing facility records during regular business hours. 
 
KEY:  cannabidiol, hemp products, hemp extraction, hemp oil 
Date of Last Change:  [July 31, 2023]2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41-103(4) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R68-26 Filing ID:  
55652 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Building: TSOB, South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Cody James  385-
515-
1485 

codyjames@utah.gov  

Kelly Pehrson  385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-26.  Cannabinoid Product Registration and Labeling 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Clarity is needed in labeling requirements for registered 
cannabinoid products due to feedback the Department of 
Agriculture and Food (Department) has received from 
licensees regarding difficulty of including all cannabinoids 
on the label and questions regarding the need for this 
information. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The changes add clarifying text to Section R68-26-5, 
requiring that products must only be labeled with the 
amounts of any advertised and primary cannabinoids and 
THC or THC analogs identified in the Certificate of 
Analysis. 
 
A definition is also added to Section R68-26-2 for the term 
"primary cannabinoid", which is defined as the top three 
cannabinoids present in a product if the percentage of that 
cannabinoid is 0.5% or higher. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the Department.  
This change clarifies labeling requirements but does not 
add any additional cost to the department to review labels 
or change the fee revenue that comes into the department.   
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule changes does not impact local governments 
because they are not licensed under the industrial hemp 
program or administer the program. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change will not impact small businesses.  The 
labeling changes are very small and will not lead to more 
expense.  Label requirements should be less stringent 
overall. 
 
The Department also allows flexibility to let licensees use 
existing labels if necessary.  
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change will not impact non small businesses.  
The labeling changes are very small and will not lead to 
more expense.  
Label requirements should be less stringent overall. 
 
The Department also allows flexibility to let licensees use 
existing labels if necessary. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change will not impact other persons.  The 
labeling changes are very small and will not lead to more 
expense. Label requirements should be less stringent 
overall. 
 
The Department also allows flexibility to let licensees use 
existing labels if necessary. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected persons will not change.  
Requirements for product labels will be less stringent and 
changes required will be small overall. 
 
Fees charged by the Department will not change. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Department of Agriculture 
and Food, Craig W Buttars, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-41-103(4) 

Subsection 
4-41-403(1) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 08/14/2023 

 

R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-26.  Cannabinoid Product Registration and Labeling. 
R68-26-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Subsections 4-41-103(4) and 4-41-403(1), this 
rule establishes the requirements for labeling and registration of 
cannabinoid products made from and containing industrial hemp. 
 
R68-26-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Cannabinoid product" means the same as the term is 
defined in Subsection 4-41-102(6). 
 (2)  "Cannabinoid product class" means group of 
cannabinoid products: 
 (a)  that have all ingredients in common; and 
 (b)  are produced by or for the same company. 
 (3)  "Cannabinoid product THC level" means a combined 
concentration of total THC and any THC analog of less than 0.3% on 
a dry weight basis if laboratory testing confirms a result within a 
measurement of uncertainty that includes the combined 
concentration of 0.3%. 
 (4)  "CBD" or "Cannabidiol" means the cannabinoid 
identified as CAS# 13956-29-1. 
 (5)  "Certificate of Analysis" (COA) means a document 
produced by a testing laboratory listing the quantities of the various 
analytes for which testing was performed. 
 (6)  "Conventional Food" means: 
 (a)  an article used for food or drink for human consumption 
or the components of the article; or 
 (b)  chewing gum or chewing gum components. 
 (7)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (8)  "Industrial Hemp" means any part of a cannabis plant, 
whether growing or not, with a concentration of less than 0.3% 
tetrahydrocannabinol by weight. 
 (9)  "Label" means the display of each written, printed, or 
graphic matter upon the immediate container or statement 
accompanying a cannabinoid product. 
 (10)  "Non-compliant material" means: 
 (a)  a hemp plant that does not comply with this rule, 
including a cannabis plant with a concentration of 0.3% 
tetrahydrocannabinol or greater by dry weight; and 
 (b)  a cannabinoid product, chemical, or compound with a 
concentration that exceeds the cannabinoid product THC level. 
 (11)  "Person" means an individual, partnership, 
association, firm, trust, limited liability company, or corporation or 
any employees of such. 
 (12)  "Primary cannabinoid" means the three cannabinoids 
contained in the greatest quantity in the product that are each present 
above 0.5%. 
 (1[2]3)  "Registrant" means a person who manufactures, 
packages, or distributes cannabinoid product and assumes 
responsibility for the compliance of the product registration. 
 (1[3]4)  "THC"  or "Tetrahydrocannabinol" means delta-9-
tetrayhdrocannabinol, the cannabinoid identified as CAS # 1972-08-
3. 
 (1[4]5)(a)  "THC analog" means a substance that is 
structurally or pharmacologically substantially similar to, or is 
represented as being similar to, delta-9-THC. 
 (b)  "THC analog" does not include the following 
substances or the naturally occurring acid forms of the following 
substances: 
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 (i)  cannabichromene (CBC), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 20675-51-8; 
 (ii)  cannabicyclol (CBL), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 21366-63-2; 
 (iii)  cannabidiol (CBD), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 13956-29-1; 
 (iv)  cannabidivarol (CBDV), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 24274-48-4;cannabidiol (CBD), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 13956-29-1; 
 (v)  cannabielsoin (CBE), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 52025-76-0; 
 (vi)  cannabigerol (CBG), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 25654-31-3; 
 (vii)  cannabigerovarin (CBGV), the cannabinoid identified 
as CAS# 55824-11-8; 
 (viii)  cannabinol (CBN), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 521-35-7; 
 (ix)  cannabivarin (CBV), the cannabinoid identified as 
CAS# 33745-21-0; or 
 (x)  delta-9-tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV), the 
cannabinoid identified as CAS# 31262-37-0. 
 (1[5]6)  "Third-party laboratory" means a laboratory with 
no direct interest in a grower or processor of industrial hemp or 
cannabinoid products that is capable of performing mandated testing 
utilizing validated methods. 
 
R68-26-3.  Product Registration. 
 (1)  Each cannabinoid product distributed or available for 
distribution in Utah shall be officially registered annually with the 
department. 
 (2)  Application for registration shall be made to the 
department on a form provided by the department including the 
following information: 
 (a)  the name and address of the applicant and the name and 
address of the person whose name will appear on the label, if other 
than the applicants; 
 (b)  the name of the product; 
 (c)  the type and use of the product; 
 (d)  a complete copy of the label as it will appear on the 
product in a legible format; and 
 (e)  if the product has been assigned a National Drug Code 
in accordance with 21 CFR 207.33, the applicant shall provide the 
National Drug Code number. 
 (3)  The application shall include a certificate of analysis 
from a third-party laboratory for the product in compliance with 
Section R68-26-4.  The certificate of analysis shall show the 
cannabinoid profile of the product by percentage of mass. 
 (4)  A registration fee per product, as set forth in the fee 
schedule approved by the Legislature, shall be paid to the department 
with the submission of the application. 
 (5)  The department may deny registration for an 
incomplete application. 
 (6)  A new registration is required for any of the following: 
 (a)  any change in the cannabinoid product ingredients; 
 (b)  any change to the directions for use; and 
 (c)  any change of name for the product. 
 (7)  Other changes may not require a new registration but 
the registrant shall submit copies of each label change to the 
department as soon as they are effective. 
 (8)  The registrant is responsible for the accuracy and 
completeness of information submitted. 

 (9)  A registration is good for one calendar year from the 
date of registration and shall be renewed through payment of an 
annual renewal fee before expiration. 
 (10)  A cannabinoid product that has been discontinued 
shall continue to be registered in the state until the product is no 
longer available for distribution. 
 (11)  A late fee shall be assessed for a renewal of a 
cannabinoid product registration submitted after the day of expiration 
and shall be paid before the registration renewal is issued. 
 (12)  The department may not register a cannabinoid 
product if the product: 
 (a)  uses the cannabinoid as a food additive; or 
 (b)  is represented for use as a conventional food, with the 
exception of: 
 (i)  a gummy if the gummy is shaped as a gelatinous cube 
or gelatinous rectangular cuboid or in another basic geometric shape  
and not in a shape that could be considered appealing to children such 
as a star shape, fruit, or animal  shape; or 
 (ii)  a  liquid suspension under two ounces. 
 
R68-26-4.  Certificate of Analysis. 
 (1)  Testing shall be conducted on the product in its final 
form for: 
 (a)  the cannabinoid profile by percentage of mass, 
performed by the Department's analytical laboratory; 
 (b)  solvents; 
 (c)  pesticides; 
 (d)  microbials; 
 (e)  heavy metals; and 
 (f)  mycotoxins. 
 (2)  The test results required in Subsection R68-26-4(1) 
shall be reported in accordance with the requirements for a 
cannabinoid product in Rule R68-37 including the specified units of 
measure. 
 (3)  The certificate of analysis shall include the following 
information: 
 (a)  the batch identification number; 
 (b)  the date received; 
 (c)  the date of completion; 
 (d)  the method of analysis for each test conducted; and 
 (e)  proof that the certificate of analysis is connected to the 
product. 
 
R68-26-5.  Label Requirements. 
 (1)  The label of a cannabinoid product shall contain the 
following information, legibly displayed: 
 (a)  product name or common name, on the front of the 
label; 
 (b)  brand name, on the front of the label; 
 (c)  the size of the container or net count of individual 
items, on the front of the label; 
 (d)  net weight; 
 (e)  the suggested use of the product, including serving size 
if the product is intended for consumption; 
 (f)  list of ingredients, including: 
 (i)  the amount of any advertised cannabinoid listed as 
present on the COA[ listed in milligrams per gram]; 
 (ii)  the amount of any primary cannabinoid listed as 
present on the COA; and 
 (iii)  the amount of any THC or any THC analog listed as 
present on the COA; 
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 (g)  list of allergens; 
 (h)  manufacturer, packer, or distributor name and address; 
and 
 (i)  batch number. 
 (2)  A fact panel may be included on the product label if it 
is not identified as a Drug Fact Panel or Nutritional Fact Panel. 
 (3)  The label of each product intended for human 
consumption or intended to be vaporized for inhalation shall include 
the following text, prominently displayed:  "This product has not 
been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product 
is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease." 
 (4)  Cannabinoid products containing a cannabinoid other 
than CBD produced for absorption by humans shall contain the 
following text, prominently displayed:  "Warning - The safety of this 
product has not been determined." 
 (5)  Notwithstanding Subsection R68-26-5(1) a 
cannabinoid product produced for human use that has a National 
Drug Code issued shall be labeled in accordance with 21 CFR 201.66. 
 (6)  In addition to the requirements of Subsections R68-26-
5(1) through R68-26-5(5) a cannabinoid product shall have on the 
label a scannable barcode, QR code, or web address with an easily 
located certificate of analysis for the batch identified, containing the 
information required in Section R68-26-4. 
 (7)  Cannabinoid products may not contain medical claims 
on the label unless the product has been registered with the FDA and 
is labeled in accordance with Subsection R68-26-5(5). 
 (8)  Cannabinoid product labeling shall clearly show that 
the product contains material derived from industrial hemp and not 
cannabis or medical cannabis. 
 (9)  Cannabinoid product labeling may not: 
 (a)  have any likeness bearing resemblance to a cartoon 
character or fictional character; or 
 (b)  appear to imitate a food or other product that is 
typically marketed toward or appealing to children. 
 (10)  A cannabinoid product that is designed to be inhaled 
shall include a warning on the label regarding the possible health 
effects of inhaling cannabinoid products. 
 (11)  The label of cannabinoid products intended for oral 
consumption by animals shall include the amount of cannabinoids 
per serving determined by weight of the animal. 
 (12)  The label of cannabinoid products intended for 
consumption by animal may not: 
 (a)  contain any feed claims; 
 (b)  be labeled as food; or 
 (c)  contain any Food and Drug Administration  evaluation 
statement. 
 (13)  A cannabinoid product is considered misbranded if its 
label is false or misleading in any way. 
 
R68-26-6.  Inspection and Testing. 
 (1)  The department shall conduct randomized inspection 
of cannabinoid products distributed or available for distribution in the 
state for compliance with this rule. 
 (2)  The department shall periodically sample, analyze, and 
test cannabinoid products distributed within the state for compliance 
with registration and labeling requirements and the certificate of 
analysis. 
 (3)  The department may conduct inspection of cannabinoid 
products distributed or available for distribution for any reason the 
department deems necessary. 
 (4)  The sample taken by the department shall be the official 
sample. 

R68-26-7.  Violation. 
 (1)  Each improperly labeled cannabinoid product shall be 
a separate violation of this rule. 
 (2)  Cannabinoid products not meeting the labeling 
requirements shall be considered misbranded. 
 (3)  Cannabinoid products shall be considered falsely 
advertised if they do not meet the labeling requirements of this rule. 
 (4)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product that is not registered with the department. 
 (5)  It is a violation to distribute or market industrial hemp 
flower as a final product. 
 (6)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product that contains greater than 0.3% THC. 
 (7)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product that has not been tested as required by Rule R68-29. 
 (8)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product as a conventional food product, unless the product is 
exempted under Subsection R68-26-3(12)(b). 
 (9)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product as a food additive. 
 (10)  It is a violation to distribute or market a cannabinoid 
product that is marketed toward or is appealing to children. 
 (11)  It is a violation to market a cannabinoid product as 
cannabis or medical cannabis. 
 (12)  It is a violation to submit a fraudulent COA to the 
department. 
 
R68-26-8.  Violation Categories. 
 (1)  Public Safety Violations: Each person shall be fined 
$3,000-$5,000 per violation.  This category is for violations that 
present a direct threat to public health or safety including: 
 (a)  industrial hemp sold to an unlicensed source; 
 (b)  industrial hemp purchased from an unlicensed source; 
 (c)  refusal to allow inspection; 
 (d)  failure to comply with labeling requirements; 
 (e)  failure to comply with testing requirements; 
 (f)  possessing, manufacturing, or distributing a 
cannabinoid product that a person knows or should know appeals to 
children; 
 (g)  marketing a cannabinoid product that makes a medical 
claim; or 
 (h)  engaging in or permitting a violation of the Title 4, 
Chapter 41, Hemp and Cannabinoid Act that amounts to a public 
safety violation as described in this subsection. 
 (2)  Regulatory Violations: Each person shall be fined 
$1,000-$5,000 per violation.  This category is for violations 
involving this rule and other applicable state rules under Title R68 
including: 
 (a)  failure to register a cannabinoid product; 
 (b)  failure to provide a certificate of analysis as required 
by Section R68-26-4; 
 (c)  failure to keep and maintain records; or 
 (d)  engaging in or permitting a violation of Title 4, Chapter 
41a, Hemp and Cannabinoid Act or this rule that amounts to a 
regulatory violation as described in this subsection. 
 (3)  Licensing Violations:  Each person shall be fined $500-
$5,000 per violation.  This category is for violations involving 
licensing requirements including: 
 (a)  engaging in or permitting a violation of this rule, other 
applicable rules under Title R68, or Title 4, Chapter 41, Hemp and 
Cannabinoid Act, that amounts to a licensing violation; or 
 (b)  failure to respond to violations. 
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 (4)  The department shall calculate penalties based on the 
level of violation and the adverse effect or potential adverse effect at 
the time of the incidents giving rise to the violation. 
 (5)  The department may enhance or reduce the penalty 
based on the seriousness of the violation. 
 
KEY:  CBD labeling, CBD products, cannabinoid product 
registration 
Date of Last Change:  [July 11,] 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41-403(1); 
4-41-402(2); 4-41-103(4) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R156-28 Filing ID:  
55594 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Professional Licensing 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 

Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Lisa Martin 801-

530-
7632 

lmartin@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-28.  Veterinary Practice Act Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Division of Professional Licensing (Division) in 
collaboration with the Veterinary Licensing Board is filing 
these proposed amendments to update this rule and clarify 
existing continuing education requirements. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
 
The proposed amendments to Section R156-28-304a 
clarify the continuing education requirements to obtain one 
hour of communication-specific continuing education. 
 

The remaining amendments are clerical in nature to 
update this rule to conform to the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah. 
 
 
Public hearing Information 
The hearing will be 09/05/2023 at 9 AM at the Heber M 
Wells Bldg, 160 E 300 S, in Conference Room 474, Salt 
Lake City, UT, or Google Meet per the information below. 
 
Google Meeting link: 
meet.google.com/ugu-zhub-wwy 
Or Join by phone: 
(US) +1 208-820-4330 
PIN: 676547280 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget 
because the proposed amendments only update and 
clarify existing continuing education requirements and will 
not impact any state agency practices or procedures. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments because the proposed amendments only 
clarify existing continuing education requirements and will 
not impact any local government practices or procedures. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are approximately 231 small businesses in Utah 
owned by individuals in the veterinary industry (NAICS 
541940).  As described below for other persons, small 
businesses are not expected to be impacted by this filing 
because the proposed amendments only update and 
clarify existing continuing education requirements. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are approximately five non-small businesses in 
Utah owned by individuals in the veterinary industry 
(NAICS 541940).  As described below for other persons, 
non-small businesses are not expected to be impacted by 
this filing because the proposed amendments only update 
and clarify existing continuing education requirements. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
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There are approximately 1,148 licensed veterinarians and 
232 state certified veterinary technicians who will be 
impacted by these proposed amendments, but they are 
not expected to experience any cost or savings from the 
proposed amendments because the amendments only 
update and clarify existing continuing education 
requirements. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As described above for other persons in Box 5E, no 
compliance costs are anticipated for any affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 

 
Comments: The Division proposes amendments to update 
Rule R156-28.  The proposed amendments are to clarify 
the continuing education requirements to obtain one hour 
of communication-specific continuing education.  The 
remaining amendments are clerical.  The Division has 
made formatting changes throughout this rule to conform 
this rule to the Rulewriting Manual for Utah in accordance 
with Executive Orders No. 2021-1 and 2021-12. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees): 
The Division does not foresee any foreseeable impact on 
small businesses since these amendments are made to 
make the rule comport to the Office of Administrative Rules 
Rule Writing Manual.  There are approximately 231 small 
businesses in Utah performing veterinary services (NAICS 
541940).  There are no substantial changes to this rule 
beyond clarification to language. 
 
Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses (50 or more 
employees): 
There are approximately five non-small businesses in 
Utah performing veterinary services (NAICS 541940).  
These amendments will have no expected fiscal impact for 
non-small businesses in Utah for the same rationale as 
described above for small businesses.  These costs are 
either inestimable, for the reasons stated above, or there 
is no fiscal impact. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
58-1-106(1)(a) 

Subsection 
58-1-202(1)(a) 

Section 58-28-101 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical 

address or URL): 
09/05/2023 9:00 AM See information in 

Box 4 above. 
To the agency: If more space is needed for a physical 
address or URL, refer readers to Box 4 in General 
Information. If more than two hearings will take place, 
continue to add rows. 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 
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NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel,  
Division Director 

Date: 08/08/2023 

 
R156.  Commerce, [Occupational and ]Professional Licensing. 
R156-28.  Veterinary Practice Act Rule. 
R156-28-101.  Title - Authority - Organization and Relationship 
to Rule R156-1. 
 (1)  This rule is known as the "Veterinary Practice Act 
Rule." 
 (2)  This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority 
of Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer 
Title 58, Chapter 28, Veterinary Practice Act. 
 (3)  The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule 
R156-1 is as described in Section R156-1-107. 
 
R156-28-102.  Definitions. 
 [The following definitions supplement]In addition to the 
definitions in Title 58, Chapter 1, Division of [Occupational and 
]Professional Licensing Act, and Title 58, Chapter 28, Veterinary 
Practice Act: 
 (1)  "In association with licensed veterinarians[,]" as used 
in Subsection 58-28-307(6), means an out of state licensed 
veterinarian who performs veterinarian services in this state at the 
request of a Utah licensed veterinarian regarding a specific client or 
patient, and the services provided by the out of state licensed 
veterinarian are limited to that specific request. 
 (2)  "NBEC" means the National Board Examination 
Committee of the American Veterinary Medical Association. 
 (3)  "Patient" means any animal receiving veterinarian 
services. 
 (4)  "Practice of veterinary medicine, surgery, and 
dentistry" as defined in Subsection 58-28-102(11) does not include 
implanting an electronic device to establish and maintain positive 
identification of animals. 
 (5)  "Unprofessional conduct," as defined in Title 58, 
Chapter 1, Division of [Occupational and ]Professional Licensing 
Act, and Title 58, Chapter 28, Veterinary Practice Act, is further 
defined in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in Section 
R156-28-502. 
 (6)  "Working under[,]" as used in Subsection 58-28-
102(17)[,] means: 
 (a)  unlicensed assistive personnel perform the delegated 
tasks in Utah, while supervised by a veterinarian licensed under Title 
58, Chapter 28, Veterinary Practice Act; 
 (b)  the manner and means of performance of the delegated 
tasks are subject to the right of control of, or are controlled by, the 
supervising veterinarian; and 
 (c)  the delegated tasks are recorded in the supervising 
veterinarian's medical records.[ 
 
R156-28-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer Title 
58, Chapter 28Veterinary Practice Act. 
 

R156-28-104.  Organization - Relationship to Rule R156-1. 
 The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule 
R156-1 is as described in Section R156-1-107.] 
 
R156-28-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Experience 
Requirements. 
 Under Subsection 58-1-203(1), the experience 
requirements for licensure in Subsection 58-28-302(1) are defined, 
clarified, or established as follows: 
 (1)(a)  Each applicant for licensure as a veterinarian shall 
complete 1,000 hours of experience while licensed as a veterinarian 
intern under the supervision of a licensed veterinarian. 
 (b)  Experience shall be earned in not less than six months 
and completed within two years of the date of the application. 
 (c)  Experience in the following settings may not fulfill this 
experience requirement: 
 (i)  temporary employment experiences of less than eight 
weeks in duration; 
 (ii)  part-time experience of fewer than 20 hours per week; 
or 
 (iii)  experience completed while employed as unlicensed 
assistive personnel. 
 (d)  If the experience is completed in a jurisdiction outside 
of Utah that does not issue veterinarian, veterinarian intern, or 
comparable licenses, or completed in a setting that does not require 
licensure, the applicant shall demonstrate that the experience was: 
 (i)  lawfully obtained; 
 (ii)  obtained after the applicant met the education 
requirement in Subsection 58-28-302(1)(b); 
 (iii)  supervised by a licensed veterinarian, or by a person 
who was exempted from licensure but possessed substantially 
equivalent qualifications; and 
 (iv)  comparable to experience that would be obtained in a 
standard veterinarian practice setting in Utah. 
 (e)  Supervision may be obtained by ["]indirect 
supervision["] as defined in Section 58-28-102, if the supervisor 
supplements the indirect supervision with routine face to face contact 
as the supervisor considers appropriate in the supervisor's 
professional judgment. 
 (f)  Each applicant shall demonstrate completion of the 
experience required by submitting a verification of experience signed 
by the applicant and by the applicant's supervisor on forms approved 
by the Division. 
 (g)  If a supervisor is unavailable or refuses to provide a 
verification of experience, the applicant shall: 
 (i)  submit a complete explanation of why the supervisor is 
unavailable; and 
 (ii)  submit verification of the experience by alternative 
means acceptable to the Board, which shall demonstrate that the 
experience was: 
 (A)  profession-related work; 
 (B)  competently performed; and 
 (C)  sufficient accumulated experience for the applicant to 
be granted a license without jeopardy to the public health, safety, or 
welfare. 
 (2)  Under Subsection 58-37-6(1)(a), a veterinary intern is 
not eligible to obtain a controlled substance license during the 
internship. 
 
R156-28-304a.  Continuing Education - Veterinarian. 
 Under Section 58-28-306, there is created a continuing 
education requirement as a condition for renewal or reinstatement of 
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licenses issued under Title 58, Chapter 28, Veterinary Practice Act.  
Continuing education shall comply with the following criteria: 
 (1)(a)  During each two-year period commencing on 
September 30 of each even-numbered year, a licensee shall complete 
at least 24 hours of qualified continuing education directly related to 
the licensee's professional practice. 
 (b)  At least one hour of the 24 hours shall be specifically 
related to recognizing opioid use and dependency in office staff, 
clients, and co[-]workers. 
 (c)[(i)]  At least one hour of the 24 hours shall be devoted 
to topics that improve [diversity, equity, and inclusion in the 
veterinary workplace for clients, employees, and recruitment. 
 (ii)  Topics may relate to race, ethnicity, religion, gender, 
gender identity, sexual orientation, and disability, and may include 
issues such as: 
 (A)  unconscious bias; 
 (B)  cross-cultural communication; and 
 (C)  access and legal aspects of anti-
discrimination.]communication in the veterinary workplace for 
clients, employees, or recruitment, such as for example: 
 (i)  clinician-patient relationships; 
 (ii)  employee engagement and team building; 
 (iii)  diversity, equity, and inclusion, such as topics relating 
to culture, race, ethnicity, religion, gender, gender identity, sexual 
orientation, disability, or issues such as unconscious bias, cross-
culture communication, or access and legal aspects of anti-
discrimination; 
 (iv)  business writing or other professional communication; 
or 
 (v)  communication skills training, such as topics relating 
to active listening, non-verbal communication, or communication 
styles. 
 (2)  If a licensee is initially licensed during the two-year 
period, the licensee's required number of continuing education hours 
shall be decreased proportionately according to the date of licensure. 
 (3)  Continuing education shall: 
 (a)  have an identifiable clear statement of purpose and 
defined objective for the educational program directly related to the 
practice of a veterinarian; 
 (b)  be relevant to the licensee's professional practice; 
 (c)  be presented in a competent, well organized, and 
sequential manner consistent with the stated purpose and objective of 
the program; 
 (d)  be prepared and presented by individuals who are 
qualified by education, training, and experience; and 
 (e)  have a competent method of registration of individuals 
who [actually ]completed the professional education program, with 
records of that registration and completion available for review. 
 (4)  The Division shall recognize continuing education as 
follows: 
 (a)  unlimited hours for continuing education as a student 
or presenter, completed in blocks of time of not less than one hour in 
formally established classroom courses, seminars, lectures, wet labs, 
or specific veterinary conferences approved or sponsored by one or 
more of the following: 
 (i)  the American Veterinary Medical Association; 
 (ii)  the Utah Veterinary Medical Association; 
 (iii)  the American Animal Hospital Association; 
 (iv)  the American Association of Equine Practitioners; 
 (v)  the American Association of Bovine Practitioners; 
 (vi)  certifying boards recognized by the AVMA; 

 (vii)  other state veterinary medical associations or state 
licensing boards; or 
 (viii)  the Registry of Continuing Education (RACE) of the 
AASVB; 
 (b)  up to five continuing education hours for being the 
primary author of an article published in a peer reviewed scientific 
journal, and up to two continuing education hours for being a 
secondary author; 
 (c)  up to six continuing education hours in practice 
management courses; and 
 (d)  if the course has no instructor or the instructor is not 
physically present, such as for internet, audio and visual recordings, 
broadcast seminars, mail, or other correspondence courses, the 
course shall assure the licensee's participation and acquisition of the 
knowledge and skills intended by an examination. 
 (5)  A licensee shall maintain documentation sufficient to 
prove compliance with this section for [a period of ]two years after 
the end of the two-year renewal cycle [that]for which the continuing 
education is due. 
 (6)  A licensee who cannot complete the continuing 
education requirement for reasons such as a medical or related 
condition, humanitarian or ecclesiastical services, or extended 
presence in a geographical area where continuing education is not 
available, may be excused from the requirement for [a period of ]up 
to three years under Section R156-1-308d. 
 
R156-28-304b.  Continuing Education - State Certified 
Veterinary Technician. 
 Under Section 58-28-310, there is created a continuing 
education requirement as a condition for renewal or reinstatement of 
a state certification issued under Title 58, Chapter 28, Veterinary 
Practice Act.  Continuing education shall comply with the following 
criteria: 
 (1)(a)  During each two-year period commencing on 
September 30 of each even-numbered year, a state certified 
veterinary technician shall complete at least 12 hours of qualified 
continuing education directly related to their professional practice. 
 (b)  At least nine of the 12 continuing education hours shall 
be specific to medical practices. 
 (2)  The Division shall recognize continuing education as 
outlined in Subsection R156-28-304a(4). 
 (3)  A state certified veterinary technician shall maintain 
documentation sufficient to prove compliance with this section for 
two years after the end of the two-year renewal cycle for which the 
continuing education is due. 
 (4)  A state certified veterinary technician who cannot 
complete the continuing education requirement for reasons such as a 
medical or related condition, humanitarian or ecclesiastical services, 
or extended presence in a geographical area where continuing 
education is not available, may be excused from the requirement for 
up to three years under Section R156-1-308d. 
 
R156-28-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 (1)  Unprofessional conduct includes: 
 ([1]a)  deviating from the minimum standards of veterinary 
practice [set forth ]in Section R156-28-503; 
 ([2]b)  permitting unlicensed assistive personnel to perform 
duties that the individual is not competent by education, training, or 
experience to perform; [and]or 
 ([3]c)  failing to conform to the generally accepted and 
recognized standards and ethics of the profession, including[: 
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 (a) ] the Principles of Veterinary Medical Ethics of the 
American Veterinarian Medical Association (AVMA), as approved 
by the AVMA Executive Board, revised August 2019, which are 
[hereby ]incorporated by reference (["]Principles["])[; and]. 
 ([b]2)  [if]If a licensee fails to establish the veterinarian-
client-patient relationship as required in Section II of the Principles, 
[such]the failure [shall]may not excuse the veterinarian from 
complying with other duties that would be imposed on the 
veterinarian if the veterinarian had properly established the 
veterinarian-client-patient relationship. 
 
R156-28-503.  Minimum Standards of Practice. 
 [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-28-102(18) and 
Section 58-28-603, a veterinarian shall comply with the following 
minimum standards of practice in addition to the generally 
recognized standards and ethics of the profession: 
 (1)  A veterinarian shall compile and maintain records on 
each patient [to minimally include]that include at least the following 
information: 
 (a)  client's name, address, and phone number, if telephone 
is available; 
 (b)  patient's identification, such as name, number, tag, 
species, age, and gender, except for herds, flocks, or other large 
groups of animals, [that]which may be more generally defined; 
 (c)  veterinarian's diagnosis or evaluation of the patient; 
 (d)  treatments [rendered]provided, including drugs used 
and dosages; and 
 (e)  date of service. 
 (2)  A veterinarian shall: 
 (a)  maintain veterinary medical records under Subsection 
(1) so that any veterinarian coming into a veterinary practice may, by 
reading the veterinary medical record of a particular animal, be able 
to proceed with the proper care and treatment of the animal; and 
 (b)  maintain veterinary medical records under Subsection 
(1) for at least five years from the date that the veterinarian last 
treated the animal. 
 (3)  A veterinarian shall maintain a sanitary environment to 
avoid sources and transmission of infection, including: 
 (a)  proper routine disposal of waste materials; and 
 (b)  proper sterilization or sanitation of equipment used in 
diagnosis and treatment. 
 (4)  A veterinarian who holds a controlled substance license 
shall comply with Title 58, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled Substances 
Act, and Rule R156-37, Utah Controlled Substances Act Rule. 
 
KEY:  veterinary medicine, licensing, veterinarian 
Date of Last Change:  [February 9, 2022]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  June 22, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-
106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a); 58-28-101 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R251-107 Filing ID:  
55547 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Corrections 
Agency: Administration 

Street address: 14727 Minuteman Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Draper, UT 84020 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Matt Anderson  801-

556-
8199 

mattanderson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R251-107.  Executions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The prison relocated to Salt Lake City from Draper.  The 
Department of Corrections internally identified that rules 
would need to be changed to reflect this move. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule change corrects the previous naming of the 
prison, South Point, to the current naming, Utah State 
Correctional Facility. 
 
Nonsubstantive style and formatting changes were also 
made to this rule to conform with the Rulewriting Manual 
for Utah per EO No. 2021-12. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the state 
budget, as this rule provides policy guidelines for the state 
facility vehicle direction stations and does not have a fiscal 
impact. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the local 
governments, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to small 
businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to non-
small businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
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E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to other 
persons, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons, as 
this does not apply to this group and this rule has no fiscal 
impact regardless. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 

The Executive Director of the Department of Corrections, 
Brian Redd, has reviewed and approved this regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63G-3-201 

Section 64-13-10 Section 77-19-10 

Section 77-19-11   
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brian Redd,  
Executive Director 

Date: 07/05/2023 

 
R251.  Corrections, Administration. 
R251-107.  Executions. 
R251-107-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Sections 63G-3-201, 64-13-
10, 77-19-10, and 77-19-11, [of the Utah Code, ]in which the 
Department shall adopt and enforce rules governing procedures for 
the execution of judgments of death and attendance of persons at the 
execution. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to address public safety and 
security within prison facilities [prior to]before, during and 
immediately following an execution. 
 
R251-107-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Department" means Utah Department of Corrections. 
 (2)  "DPO" means Division of Prison Operations. 
 (3)  "[news]News media" includes persons engaged in 
news gathering for newspapers, news magazines, radio, television, 
online news sources, excluding personal blogs, or other news 
services. 
 (4)  "[news]News media members" means persons over the 
age of [eighteen]18 who are primarily employed in the business of 
gathering or reporting news for newspapers, news magazines, 
national or international news services, radio or television stations 
licensed by the Federal Communications Commission or other 
recognized news services, such as online media. 
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 (5)  "[newspaper]Newspaper" means a publication that 
circulates among the general public, and contains information of 
general interest to the public regarding political, commercial, 
religious or social affairs. 
 (6)  "[press]Press" means the print media, news media, or 
both. 
 (7)  "[USP]USCF" means Utah State [Prison]Correctional 
Facility. 
 
R251-107-3.  Crowd Control. 
 (1)  Persons arriving at or driving past the [USP]USCF 
shall be routed and controlled in a manner which does not 
compromise or inhibit: 
 (a)  security; 
 (b)  official escort or movement; 
 (c)  the functions necessary to carry out the execution; or 
 (d)  safety. 
 (2)  Persons routed and controlled[controlled/handled] 
through this process shall be [handled]routed and controlled in a 
manner with no more restriction than is necessary to carry out the 
legitimate interests of the Department. 
 (3)  Procedures for crowd control shall be consistent with 
federal, state and local laws. 
 (4)  Only persons specifically authorized shall be permitted 
on [USP]USCF property, except those persons congregating at a 
designated demonstration[/public] area. 
 (5)  Persons entering [USP]USCF property without 
authorization shall be ordered to leave and may be arrested if: 
 (a)  the trespass was intentional; 
 (b)  the individual failed to immediately leave the 
[USP]USCF property following a warning; 
 (c)  the trespass jeopardized safety or security [(or)]or 
interfered with the lawful business of the Department or its staff or 
agents; or 
 (d)  it involves entry onto areas clearly posted with signs 
prohibiting access or trespass. 
 
R251-107-4.  Location and Procedures. 
 (1)  The [executive director]Executive Director of the 
Department of Corrections or [his]their designee shall ensure that the 
method of judgment of death specified in the warrant is carried out at 
a secure correctional facility operated by the [d]Department and at an 
hour determined by the [department]Department on the date 
specified in the warrant. 
 (2)  When the judgment of death is to be carried out by 
lethal intravenous injection, the [executive director]Executive 
Director of the [d]Department or [his]their designee shall select two 
or more persons trained in accordance with accepted medical 
practices to administer intravenous injections, who shall each 
administer a continuous intravenous injection, one of which shall be 
of a lethal quantity of sodium thiopental or other equally or more 
effective substance to cause death. 
 (3)  If the judgment of death is to be carried out by firing 
squad under Subsection 77-18-5.5(3) or (4), [of the Utah Code, ]the 
[executive director]Executive Director or [his]their designee shall 
select a five-person firing squad of peace officers. 
 (4)  Death shall be certified by a physician. 
 
R251-107-5.  Demonstration and Public Access. 
 (1)  The Executive Director may permit limited access to a 
designated portion of state property [on Minuteman Drive at or near 

the Fred House Academy ]for the public to gather or demonstrate 
during an execution event. 
 (2)  No person may violate the intent of clearly marked 
signs, fences, doors or other [indicant]indicators relative to 
prohibitions against entering any prison property or facility for which 
permission to enter may not be marked. 
 (3)  The Department neither recognizes, nor is bound by, 
the policies, allowances or arrangements which may have occurred 
at prior executions, events or on prior occasions, and by this rule any 
arrangement provided for public access at previous executions or 
demonstrations is invalidated. 
 (4)  The Executive Director or Warden may at any time 
withdraw permission without notice in the event of riot, disturbance, 
or other factors that in the opinion of the Warden[/] or their designee 
or Executive Director[/] or their designee jeopardizes the security, 
peace, order or any function of the prison. 
 
R251-107-6.  Witnesses. 
 (1)  The Department will implement the standards and 
procedures for inmate witnesses outlined in Section 77-19-11[, of the 
Utah Code]. 
 (2)  As a condition to attending the execution, each 
designated witness shall be required by the Department to sign an 
agreement setting forth their willingness to conduct themselves while 
on prison property in a manner consistent with the legitimate 
[penelogical]penological, security and safety concerns as delineated 
by the Department. 
 (3)  Witnesses shall be searched [prior to]before being 
allowed to witness the execution. 
 
R251-107-7.  News Media. 
 (1)  The Department shall permit press access to the 
execution and information concerning the execution consistent with 
the requirements of the constitutions and laws of the United States 
and State of Utah. 
 (2)  The Department and the Utah Code recognize the need 
for the public to be informed concerning executions. The Department 
will cooperate with the new media to inform the public concerning 
the execution in a timely manner. 
[ (a)  The Department will participate and cooperate with the 
news media to inform the public concerning the execution; and 
 (b)  information should be provided in a timely manner.] 
 (3)  The Executive Director shall be responsible for 
selecting the members of the news media who will be permitted to 
witness the execution. 
 (a)  After the court sets a date for the execution of the death 
penalty, news directors or editors [desirous]who wish to have a staff 
member witness the execution may submit, in writing, such request 
for no more than one news media staff member.  The request shall be 
addressed to the Executive Director and received at least 30 days 
[prior to]before the execution. 
 (b)  When administrative convenience or fairness to the 
news media dictates, the Department, in its discretion, may extend 
the request deadline. 
 (c)  Requests for consideration may be granted by the 
Executive Director provided they contain the following: 
 (i)  a statement setting forth facts showing that the 
requesting individual falls within the definition of member of the 
"press" and "news media" as set forth in this rule; 
 (ii)  an agreement to act as a pool representative for other 
news gathering agencies desiring information on the execution; and 
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 (iii)  an agreement that the media member will abide by [all 
of the]any condition[s, rules and regulations] while in attendance at 
the execution. 
 (d)  Upon receipt of a news director's or editor's request for 
permission for news media witnesses to attend the execution, the 
Executive Director may take the steps necessary to verify the 
statements made in the request.  After verifying the information in 
the request, selection of witnesses shall be made by the Executive 
Director. 
 (e)  As a condition to attending the execution, each 
designated media witness shall be required by the 
[department]Department to execute an agreement setting forth their 
willingness to conduct themselves while on prison property in a 
manner consistent with the legitimate penological, security and 
safety concerns as delineated by the [department]Department. 
 (f)  Media witnesses shall be searched [prior to]before 
being allowed to witness the execution. 
 (g)  The Department shall arrange for pre-execution 
briefings, distribution of media briefing packages, briefings 
throughout the execution event, and post-execution briefings by the 
news media who witnessed the execution. 
 (4)  Persons representing the news media witnessing the 
execution shall be required to sign a statement or release absolving 
the institution or any of its staff from any legal recourse resulting 
from the exercise of search requirements or other provisions of the 
witness agreement. 
 (5)  News media representatives shall, after being returned 
from the execution to the staging area, act as pool representatives for 
other media representatives covering the event. 
 (a)  The pool representatives shall meet at the designated 
media center and provide an account of the execution and shall freely 
answer all questions put to them by other media members and 
[shall]may not be permitted to report their coverage of the execution 
back to their respective news organizations until after the non-
attending media members have had the benefit of the pool 
representatives' account of the execution. 
 (b)  News media members attending the post-execution 
briefing shall agree to remain in the briefing room and not leave nor 
communicate with persons outside the briefing room until the 
briefing is over. 
 (c)  The briefing shall end when the attending news media 
members are through asking questions or after 60 minutes, whichever 
comes first. 
 (d)  Any film[/] or videotape obtained by a pool 
photographer [shall]may not be used in any news or other broadcast 
until made available to all agencies participating in the pool.  All 
agencies receiving the film[/] or videotape will be permitted to use 
them in news coverage and to retain the film[/] or videotape for file 
footage. 
 (6)  The Department may alter these processes to impose 
additional conditions, restrictions, and limitations on media coverage 
of the execution when requirements become necessary for the 
preservation of prison security, personal safety or other legitimate 
interests which may be in jeopardy. 
 (7)  If extraordinary circumstances develop, additional 
conditions and restrictions shall be no more restrictive than required 
to meet the exigent circumstances. 
 
R251-107-8.  Authority of Executive Director. 
 The Executive Director[/] or their designee shall be 
authorized to make changes in policies and procedures that are 
necessary to ensure the interest of security, safety, and 

professionalism is maintained during the planning, training, and 
administering of the execution order. 
 
KEY:  corrections, executions, prisons 
Date of Last Change:  [April 9, 2012]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  February 24, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  77-19-10; 
77-19-11 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R251-108 Filing ID:  
55546 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Corrections 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 14727 Minuteman Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Draper, UT 84020 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Matt Anderson  801-

556-
8199 

mattanderson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R251-108.  Adjudicative Proceedings 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this filing is to establish a procedure by 
which informal adjudicative proceedings shall be 
conducted. 
 
Changes to this rule were made to accommodate the 
prison relocation from Draper to Salt Lake City and to 
identify the new prison name. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The Department of Corrections made nonsubstantive style 
and formatting changes to this rule to conform with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah per EO No. 2021-12. 
 
Changes to this rule will not cause any negative impacts. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the state 
budget, as this rule provides policy guidelines for the 
procedure of holding informal adjudicative proceedings. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the local 
governments, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to small 
businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to non-
small businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to other 
persons, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons, as 
this does not apply to this group and this rule has no fiscal 
impact regardless. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Corrections, 
Brian Redd, has reviewed and approved this regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63G-3-201 

Section 
63G-4-202 

Section 
63G-4-203 

Section 64-13-10   
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brian Redd,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/01/2023 
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R251.  Corrections, Administration. 
R251-108.  Adjudicative Proceedings. 
R251-108-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish a procedure by 
which informal adjudicative proceedings shall be conducted as a 
result of a notice of agency action, or a request by a person for agency 
action regarding Department of Corrections rules, orders, policies, or 
procedures.  This rule [shall]may not apply to internal personnel 
actions conducted within the Department. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized by Sections 63G-3-201, 63G-4-
202, 63G-4-203, and 64-13-10.[, of the Utah Code.] 
 
R251-108-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Adjudicative proceeding" means a departmental 
action or proceeding. 
 (2)  "Department" means Department of Corrections. 
 (3)  "Hearing" means an adjudicative proceeding 
[which]that may include not only a face-to-face meeting, but also a 
proceeding[/] or meeting conducted by telephone, television, or other 
electronic means. 
 (4)  "Person" means an individual, group of individuals, 
partnership, corporation, association, political subdivision or its 
units, governmental subdivision or its units, public or private 
organization or entity[ of any character], or another agency. 
 (5)  "Personnel actions" means any administrative hearings, 
grievance proceedings and dispositions, staff disciplinary process, 
promotions, demotions, transfers, or terminations within the 
Department[department]. 
 (6)  "Presiding officer" means an agency head, or an 
individual or body of individuals designated by the agency head, by 
the agency's rules, or by statute to conduct an adjudicative 
proceeding; if fairness to the parties is not compromised, an agency 
may substitute one presiding officer for another during any 
proceeding. 
 (7)  "Petition" means a request for the 
Department[department] to determine the legality of agency action 
or the applicability of policies, procedures, rules, or federal 
regulations relating to agency actions associated with the governing 
of persons or entities outside the Department. 
 
R251-108-3.  Policy. 
[ It is the policy of the Department that:] 
 (1)  [all]All adjudicative proceedings not exempted under 
[the provisions of ]Section 63G-4-202[, of the Utah Code,] shall be 
informal[;]. 
 (2)  [upon]Upon receipt of a petition, the Department shall 
conduct an informal hearing regarding its actions or the applicability 
of Department policies, rules, orders, or procedures that relate to 
particular actions[;]. 
 (3)  [the]The Department shall provide forms and 
instructions for persons or entities who request a hearing[;]. 
 (4)  [hearings]Hearings shall be held in accordance with 
procedures outlined in Section 63G-4-203.[, of the Utah Code;] 
 (5)  [the]The provisions of this rule do not affect any legal 
remedies otherwise available to a person or an entity to: 
 (a)  compel the Department to take action; or 
 (b)  challenge a rule of the Department; 
 (6)  [the]The provisions of this rule do not preclude the 
Department, or the presiding officer, [prior to]before or during an 
adjudicative proceeding, from requesting or ordering conferences 
with parties and interested persons to: 

 (a)  encourage settlement; 
 (b)  clarify the issues; 
 (c)  simplify the evidence; 
 (d)  expedite the proceedings; or 
 (e)  grant summary judgment or a timely motion to 
dismiss[;]. 
 (7)  [a]A presiding officer may lengthen or shorten any time 
period prescribed in this rule, with the exception of those time periods 
established in Title 63G, Chapter 4, [of the Utah 
Code]Administrative Procedures Act, applicable to this rule[;]. 
 (8)  [the]The Executive Director[/] or their designee shall 
appoint a presiding officer to consider a petition within five working 
days after its receipt[;]. 
 (9)  [the]The presiding officer shall conduct a hearing 
regarding allegations contained in the petition within 30 working 
days after notification by the Executive Director[;]. 
 (10)  [the]The presiding officer shall issue a ruling subject 
to the final approval of the Executive Director within 15 working 
days following the hearing and forward a copy [of same]of the ruling 
by certified mail to the petitioner[;]. 
 (11)  [the]The petition and a copy of the ruling shall be 
retained in the Department's records for a minimum of two years[;]. 
 (12)  [the]The ruling issued by the presiding officer 
terminates the informal adjudicative proceeding process.[; and] 
 (13)  [appeals]Appeals shall be submitted to a court of 
competent jurisdiction as outlined in Sections 63G-4-401 and 63G-
4-402. 
 
KEY:  corrections, administrative procedures 
Date of Last Change:  2023[April 9, 2012] 
Notice of Continuation:  July 13, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-3-201; 
63G-4-202; 63G-4-203 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R251-705 Filing ID:  
55544 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Corrections 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 14727 Minuteman Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Draper, UT 84020 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Matt Anderson  801-

556-
8199 

mattanderson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R251-705.  Inmate Mail Procedures 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose for making changes to this rule are to provide 
updated building names following the prison move from 
Draper to Salt Lake City. 
 
Topics were changed to sentence form and many 
semicolons were changed to periods. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The Department of Corrections made nonsubstantive style 
and formatting changes to this rule to conform with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah per EO No. 2021-12. 
 
Changes include building name changes to accommodate 
the prison move from Draper to Salt Lake City. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the state 
budget, as this rule provides policy guidelines for the 
procedure handling inmate mail. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the local 
governments, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to small 
businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to non-
small businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to other 
persons, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons, as 
this does not apply to this group and this rule has no fiscal 
impact regardless. 
 

G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Corrections, 
Brian Redd, has reviewed and approved this regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63G-3-201 

Subsection 
64-13-17(4) 

Section 64-13-10 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
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agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brian Redd,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/01/2023 

 
R251.  Corrections, Administration. 
R251-705.  Inmate Mail Procedures. 
R251-705-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Sections 63G-3-201[,] and 
64-13-10 and Subsection 64-13-17(4), [of the Utah Code, ]which 
allows the Department to adopt standards and rules in accordance 
with its responsibilities. 
 (2)  The purpose of this section is to establish the 
[UDC's]department's policies and procedures for processing mail 
received in the DPO Mail Unit. 
 
R251-705-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Catalog" means a systematized list whose sole 
purpose is to feature descriptions of items for sale. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Department of Corrections. 
 (3)  "DPO" means Division of Prison Operations. 
 (4)  "Inspect" means open and examine a letter, 
correspondence, or other material with the primary objective to detect 
false labeling, contraband, currency, or negotiable instruments. 
 (5)  "Inter-department mail" means mail sent between 
departments within the state. 
 (6)  "Inter-[department]office mail" means mail sent from 
office to office within a department. 
 (7)  "Mail" means written material sent or received by 
inmates through the United States Postal Service. 
 (8)  "Money instruments" means currency, coin, personal 
checks, money orders and cashier's, or non-personal checks. 
 (9)  "Nuisance contraband" means items that may include[, 
but are not limited to,] paper fasteners, hair, ribbons, pins, rubber 
bands, pressed leaves [and/]or flowers, promotional gimmicks, gum, 
stickers, computer disks, maps, calendars, balloons, and other such 
items having no intrinsic value, or not approved by the department 
administration to be in the possession of the inmates. 
 (10)  "Privileged mail" means correspondence with a 
person identified by this chapter [relating to the official capacity of 
that person, which]that has been properly labeled to claim privileged 
status. 
 (11)  "Publisher-only rule" means a rule limiting books, 
audio media, magazines, or newspapers[, etc.] to those sent directly 
from the publisher, a book or tape club or a licensed book store.[  All 
media shall be new and audio shall be factory sealed and the return 
address should be commercially printed or stamped.] 
 (12)  "Reasonable cause" means information that could 
prompt a reasonable person to believe or suspect that there is or might 

be a threat to the safety, security, or management of the 
[UDC]department facility or that could be harmful to persons. 
 (13)  ["UDC" means Utah Department of Corrections. 
 (14)  ]"USP" means either the Utah State [Prison 
]Correctional Facility in Salt Lake City or the Central Utah 
Correctional Facility in Gunnison. 
 
R251-705-3.  Standards and Procedures. 
[ It is the policy of the Department that:] 
 (1)  [inmate]Inmate mail procedures shall comply with: 
 (a)  the Constitution; 
 (b)  the [and ]Laws of the United States[,]; 
 (c)  the Constitution; 
 (d)  the [and L]laws of the state[State of Utah,]; and 
 (e)  the authorized written policies and procedures of the 
[UDC]Department. 
 (2)  [inmates]Inmates shall be permitted to send and receive 
mail while in custody of the [UDC]Department in the manner defined 
by this rule. 
 (3)  [nothing in this rule should be interpreted as creating a 
greater entitlement for inmates or those with whom they correspond 
than that currently required by law. 
 (4)  inmate]Inmate mail regulations shall[:] further the 
legitimate interests of UDC and balance UDC's interest with those of 
the general public and inmates. 
[ (a)  further the legitimate interests of the UDC; while 
 (b)  balancing the UDC's interests with those of the general 
public and inmates.] 
 ([5]4)  [mail]Mail received for inmates at the USP shall be 
delivered to the USP Mail Unit for processing and: 
 (a)  shall be opened and inspected; 
 (b)  may be read at the discretion of the Department; 
 (c)  may be photocopied when such copying is reasonably 
related to the furtherance of a legitimate Department interest; 
 (d)  may be refused, denied, or confiscated where 
reasonable cause exists to believe the contents may adversely impact 
the safety, security, order, or treatment goals of the Department; 
 (e)  may be used as evidence in criminal, civil, or 
administrative trials or hearings; 
 (f)  is entitled to no expectation of privacy; 
 (g)  all forms of nuisance contraband shall be confiscated 
and disposed of without notice or opportunity for appeal; and 
 (h)  shall be delivered to inmates without unreasonable 
delay[;]. 
 ([6]5)  [catalog]Catalog purchases other than through the 
DPO Commissary catalog are not authorized and catalogs [shall]may 
not be accepted through the mail, except when sent 1st or 2nd class 
or from a legal, school, religious, or government printing office. 
 ([7]6)  [staff]Staff-to-inmate mail [shall]may not be sent in 
"Inter[/] or Intra-department Delivery" envelopes, but in regular 
mailing envelopes[;]. 
 ([8]7)  [outgoing]Outgoing inmate mail and inmate inter[/] 
or intra-department mail shall be deposited in the housing units' 
outgoing mail depository, picked up by USP Mail Unit staff, and 
delivered to the USP Mail Unit for processing[;]. 
 ([9]8)  [an]An inmate [shall]may not direct nor establish a 
new business through the mail unless authorized by the Warden of 
the facility[;]. 
 ([10]9)  [an]An inmate who corresponds concerning a 
legitimately held business, shall correspond through [his]their 
attorney or a party holding a power of attorney[;]. 
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 ([11]10)  [an]An inmate is not authorized to establish credit 
transactions through the mail while confined unless authorized by the 
Warden of the facility[;]. 
 ([12]11)  [fund]Fund raising by inmates for personal gain 
is prohibited[;]. 
 ([13]12)  [envelopes]Envelopes received by the USP Mail 
Unit displaying threatening, negative gestures or comments, 
extraneous materials, or grossly offensive sexual comments, shall be 
confiscated, declared contraband, placed into evidence, and the 
inmate shall receive disciplinary action[;]. 
 ([14]13)  [the]The publisher-only rule shall govern the 
receipt of all incoming books, audio media, magazines, and 
newspapers[;]. 
 ([15]14)  [certain]Certain types of mail are entitled to 
constitutionally protected confidentiality, [(]or privilege[)]; 
accordingly, this privilege prohibits qualifying correspondence 
material from being read without cause by staff[;]. 
 ([16]15)  [incoming]Incoming privileged mail: 
 (a)  shall be inspected, but only in the presence of the 
inmate addressee; 
 (b)  [shall]may not be perused; 
 (c)  [shall]may not be photocopied; and 
 (d)  may be denied only for reasonable cause and upon 
instruction of the DPO Director[/] or their designee[;]. 
 ([17]16)  [outgoing]Outgoing privileged mail: 
 (a)  shall be inspected only when there is reasonable cause 
to believe that the correspondence: 
 (i)  contains material [which]that would significantly 
endanger the security or safety of the Institution; or 
 (ii)  is misrepresented as legal material[;]. 
 (b)  shall only be inspected in the presence of the inmate 
sender; 
 (c)  shall not be perused; 
 (d)  shall not be photocopied; 
 (e)  may only be denied for a reasonable cause, and upon 
instruction of the DPO Director[/] or their designee; and 
 (f)  from an inmate that cannot be identified, shall be 
forwarded to the deputy warden who supervises the mail unit, or [his 
or her]their designee, who will make a determination of the 
disposition. 
 ([18]17)  [all]All inmate inter[/] or intra-departmental mail 
shall be processed through the USP Mail Unit[;]. 
 ([19]18)  [inmate]Inmate-to-inmate correspondence 
[shall]may not be permitted, unless: 
 (a)  there is a compelling justification for an exception; 
 (b)  there is no alternate means of accomplishing that 
compelling need; and 
 (c)  the inmates present a minimal risk, according to 
[UDC]Department standards, to security, order, [and/]or safety[;]. 
 ([20]19)  [inmates]Inmates have no entitlement to inmate-
to-inmate correspondence created by the constitutions of the United 
States or the state[State of Utah;]. 
 ([21]20)  [personal]Personal mail written in a language 
other than English may be delayed for purposes of translation[;]. 
 ([22]21)  [the]The USP Mail Unit [shall]may not accept 
postage-due mail unless payment is waived by the deliverer[;]. 
 ([23]22)  [the]The USP Mail Unit [shall]may not accept 
letters, cards, money instruments, or property items for which there 
is reasonable cause to believe the items are contaminated, defaced, or 
handled in such a way as to be offensive. 

 ([24]23)  [items]Items received that cannot be searched 
without destruction or alteration, such as[ (e.g.,] electronic greeting 
cards, multilayered cards, and polaroid photographs[, etc.)] shall be 
denied and returned to the sender[;]. 
 ([25]24)  [inmates]Inmates are prohibited from receiving 
currency or personal checks[; and]. 
 ([26]25)  [to]To be identified as incoming privileged mail, 
the correspondence shall be from an attorney or other sender 
qualified for privileged correspondence, be properly labeled as 
claiming privileged status, and have a return address clearly 
indicating a judicial agency, law firm, individual attorney, or other 
approved agency or person. 
 (26)  All publisher-only media shall be new and audio shall 
be factory sealed and the return address should be commercially 
printed or stamped. 
 (27)  Nothing in this rule should be interpreted as creating 
a greater entitlement for inmates or those with whom they correspond 
than that currently required by law. 
 
KEY:  corrections, prisons 
Date of Last Change:  2023[April 9, 2012] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 28, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  64-13-10; 
64-13-17(3) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R251-707 Filing ID:  
55549 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Corrections 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 14727 Minuteman Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Draper, UT 84020 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Matt Anderson  801-

556-
8199 

mattanderson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R251-707.  Legal Access 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Since the prison relocated to Salt Lake City from Draper, 
the agency internally identified that rules would need to be 
changed to reflect this move. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule change corrects the previous naming of the 
prison buildings to the current naming, Utah State 
Correctional Facility. 
 
Nonsubstantive style and formatting changes were also 
made to this rule to conform with the Rulewriting Manual 
for Utah per EO No. 2021-12. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the state 
budget, as this rule provides policy guidelines legal access 
and does not have a fiscal impact. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the local 
governments, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to small 
businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to non-
small businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to other 
persons, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons, as 
this does not apply to this group and this rule has no fiscal 
impact regardless. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Corrections, 
Brian Redd, has reviewed and approved this regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 63G-3-
201 

Section 64-13-10 Section 64-13-17 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 
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9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brian Redd,  
Executive Director 

Date: 06/05/2023 

 
R251.  Corrections, Administration. 
R251-707.  Legal Access. 
R251-707-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Sections 63G-3-201, 64-13-
7, 64-13-10 and 64-13-17, [of the Utah Code, ]which allow the 
Department to adopt procedures in accordance with its 
responsibilities. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide the policy and 
procedures for inmates under the control of Division of Prison 
Operations regarding access to courts and counsel. 
 
R251-707-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Attorney" means a member of the legal profession 
who has been licensed by a state and who has a current and valid 
license or bar card allowing him to practice law; lawyer; counsel; 
esquire[;]. 
 (2)  "Attorney Representatives" means paralegals, law 
clerks, investigators and other attorneys who are acting under the 
authority and supervision of the attorney of record[;]. 
 (3)  "CUCF" means Central Utah Correctional Facility 
located in Gunnison[;]. 
 (4)  "DPO" means Division of Prison Operations[;]. 
[ (5)  "Draper Site" means collectively, Timpanogos, Lone 
Peak, Promontory, Olympus, Oquirrh, Wasatch, Uinta, and SSD 
facilities;] 
 ([6]5)  "Out-Count Status" means any inmate under legal 
supervision or confinement of the Utah Department of Corrections 
who is housed at any location other than the [Draper]Salt Lake or 
Gunnison sites[;]. 
 ([7]6)  "Prison" means the [Utah State Prison in 
Draper]Utah State Correctional Facility in Salt Lake City and 
[CUCF]Central Utah Correctional Facility in Gunnison[;]. 
 ([8]7)  "Probable Cause" means sufficient knowledge of 
articulable facts or circumstances to lead a reasonable person to 
conclude that another person has committed, is committing, or is 
about to commit a crime or a violation of a legally enforceable policy 
or rule[;]. 
 ([9]8)  "Service of Process" means the service of writs, 
summonses, warrants and subpoenas to inmate or UDC members[;].[ 
and] 
 ([10]9)  "UDC" means the Utah Department of Corrections. 
 (10)  "USCF" means the Utah State Correctional Facility in 
Salt Lake City. 
 
R251-707-3.  Policy. 
[ It is the policy of the Department that:] 
 (1)  [legal]UDC shall provide legal assistance [shall be 
provided ]to [assist ]inmates in preparing and filing of an initial 
pleading in habeas corpus and civil rights suits challenging 
conditions of confinement arising from incarceration at the prison[;]. 

 (2)  [i]Inmates incarcerated at UDC facilities shall be 
allowed reasonable access to courts and counsel regarding any type 
of legal matter[;]. 
 (3)  [access]Inmates in out-count status shall have extended 
access to courts and counsel.[ shall be extended to those inmates in 
out-count status;] 
 (4)  [the]UDC shall pay for and provide the primary means 
of access to legal services, [shall be provided by contract attorneys 
paid by the Department, ]though inmates may secure legal counsel at 
their own expense if they prefer not to use the contracted legal firm 
or they may choose to represent themselves[;]. 
 (5)  [inmate]Inmate writ writers may represent themselves 
but may not represent other inmates[;]. 
 (6)  [a]A law library [shall]may not be provided, except that 
law books may be included among the books in the general inmate 
library system[;]. 
 (7)  [before]Attorneys shall present a current state bar card 
and photo ID before being admitted to the prison.[, attorneys shall 
present a current state bar card and photo I.D.;] 
 (8)  [before]Attorney representatives shall present a letter 
of introduction from the attorney of record and photo ID before being 
admitted to the prison.[, attorney representatives shall present a letter 
of introduction from the attorney of record and a photo I.D.;] 
 (9)  [attorneys]Attorneys and their representatives 
[shall]may not interfere with the safety, security or orderly operation 
of the prison[;]. 
 (10)  [attorneys]Attorneys and their representatives shall be 
cleared through the Bureau of Criminal Identification [prior to]before 
being approved for visitation; individuals with a criminal record shall 
be allowed to visit only with the approval of the Director of Prison 
Operations[/] or designee[;]. 
 (11)  [attorneys]Attorneys may elect to have an attorney 
representative visit an inmate client instead of visiting personally[;]. 
 (12)  [attorney]Attorney representatives: 
 (a)  have no standing on their own; their standing to visit is 
granted only in their role as representatives of the attorney of record; 
 (b)  may be cleared for visits[, if] for the attorneys they 
represent: 
 (i)  submit a request, in writing, to the warden of the facility 
where the inmate is housed; 
 (ii)  provide the name and title of the person assigned to 
represent the attorney of record; and 
 (iii)  provide the name of the inmate to be visited[;]. 
 (c)  who have been cleared shall be [afforded]given the 
same basic rights and privileges as those extended to the attorney of 
record[;]. 
 (13)  [attorneys]Attorneys[/] or their representatives should 
not be denied visits, nor face inordinate delays when visits are 
prescheduled within the hours designated by the institution[;]. 
 (14)  [in]In the event of exigent circumstances requiring an 
attorney[/] or their representative visit before appropriate screening 
can be completed, temporary approval for a visit may be approved by 
the DPO Director[ of Prison Operations/] or their designee[;]. 
 (15)  [inmate]Inmate attorney[/] or their representative 
telephone calls shall originate from inside the institution and 
[should]may not exceed [thirty]30 minutes in duration[;]. 
 (16)  [attorneys]Attorneys[/] or their representatives may 
leave telephone messages requesting return calls[;]. 
 (17)  [visits]Visits between inmates and counsel [shall]may 
not be monitored and shall occur in facilities which permit privacy; 
however, privacy requirements [shall]may not prohibit visual 
observation[;]. 
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 (18)  [attorneys]Attorneys[/] or their representatives should 
schedule on-site visits in advance, when possible[;]. 
 (19)  [attorneys]Attorneys[/] or their representatives may 
schedule appointments with their inmate clients: 
 (a)  at [Draper Site]USCF and CUCF, Monday through 
Friday, [0800 to 1100 hours and 1300 to 1500 hours]8 a.m. to 11 a.m. 
and 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.; 
 (b)  on weekends, holidays, and evenings with prior written 
clearance from the DPO Director[/] or their designee[ of Prison 
Operations]; 
 (c)  at county jails as requested; 
 (d)  in out-of-state institutions, consistent with receiving 
agencies' policies and procedures; and 
 (e)  during non-visiting hours without prior approval in 
exigent circumstances if authorized by DPO Director[/] or their 
designee[;]. 
 (20)  [attorneys]Attorneys[/] or their representatives shall: 
 (a)  follow [Department]UDC and prison rules during visits 
to the institution; 
 (b)  conduct themselves in a manner consistent with safety 
and security requirements; and 
 (c)  comply with instructions of staff members while in the 
institution[;]. 
 (21)  [physical]Physical inspections shall be made of all 
material brought into and out of any facility by any attorney[/] or their 
representative and shall be performed only in the presence of the 
attorney[/] or their representative[;]. 
 (22)  [if]If any written material is declared privileged, it 
[shall]may not be read; however, the attorney[/] or their 
representative may be required to leaf through these materials in the 
presence of staff, to assist in inspecting for contraband[;]. 
 (23)  [if]If a reasonable suspicion exists to believe an 
attorney[/] or their representative possesses contraband, a rub search 
may be required before permitting the visit and an incident report 
shall be filed documenting the reasonable suspicion and incident[;]. 
 (24)  [refusal]Refusal to submit to search may result in the 
visit being denied and the attorney[/] or their representative being 
asked to leave the premises[;]. 
 (25)  [strip]Strip searches of attorneys[/] or their 
representatives shall be conducted only if there is reasonable 
suspicion of a particularized nature; an incident report shall be filed 
documenting the reasonable suspicion, incident and reason a strip 
search was necessary under the circumstances[;]. 
 (26)  [if]If a warden[/] or their designee determines that a 
safety, security, control or management problem could result by 
allowing an attorney[/] or their representative access to a facility, the 
warden[/] or their designee may place reasonable restrictions upon 
access or deny access when necessary; an incident report shall be 
filed articulating the justification for denying access and 
documenting the incident[;]. 
 (27)  [an]An attorney[/] or their representative may request 
a hearing before the Executive Director if [he]they believe[s] the 
denial of access for [him]them or [his]their legal representative was 
arbitrary, capricious, unreasonable or in violation of law or 
[Department]UDC policy[;]. 
 (28)  [any]Any attorney[/] or their representative who 
violates any [Department]UDC policy or rule or who provides false 
information may be denied access to the facility[;].[ and] 
 (29)  [staff]Staff members authorized to accept service of 
process shall ensure that the requirements of proper service are 
appropriately satisfied at the DPO. 
 

KEY:  corrections, prisons, legal aid 
Date of Last Change:  2023[October 12, 2011] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 24, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63-46a-3; 
64-13-7; 64-13-10; 64-13-17 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R251-708 Filing ID:  
55545 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Corrections 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 14727 Minuteman Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Draper, UT 84020 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Matt Anderson  801-

556-
8199 

mattanderson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R251-708.  Perimeter Patrol 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this filing is to establish a procedure for 
perimeter patrol of the prison facilities. 
 
The changes are to facilitate the Draper prison move to 
Salt Lake and identify it by its new name. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The Department of Corrections made nonsubstantive style 
and formatting changes to this rule to conform with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah per EO No. 2021-12. 
 
The changes are to facilitate the Draper prison move to 
Salt Lake and identify it by its new name..  
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the state 
budget, as this rule provides policy guidelines for the 
procedure for perimeter patrol of the prison facilities. 
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B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the local 
governments, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to small 
businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to non-
small businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to other 
persons, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons, as 
this does not apply to this group and this rule has no fiscal 
impact regardless. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Corrections, 
Brian Redd, has reviewed and approved this regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63G-3-201 

Section 64-13-10 Section 64-13-14 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brian Redd,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/01/2023 

 
R251.  Corrections, Administration. 
R251-708.  Perimeter Patrol. 
R251-708-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized under Sections 63G-3-201, 64-
13-10 and 64-13-14.[, of the Utah Code.] 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide the Department's 
policies and procedures for perimeter patrol of prison facilities. 
 
R251-708-2.  Definitions. 
 "Contraband" means any material, substance, or other item 
not approved by the Department administration to be in the 
possession of inmates. 
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 "Department" means the Department of Corrections. 
 "Perimeter patrols" means correctional officers assigned to 
observe and maintain security around the boundary of the prison. 
 "Prison" means the Utah State [Prison at 
Draper]Correctional Facility in Salt Lake City, Utah and the Central 
Utah Correctional Facility [at]in Gunnison, Utah. 
 
R251-708-3.  Policy. 
 (1)  The Department shall maintain perimeter patrols to: 
 (a)  provide security; 
 (b)  prevent escape; 
 (c)  restrict access to Prison property; 
 (d)  control visitor traffic; 
 (e)  provide escape pursuit when necessary; 
 (f)  maintain order; and 
 (g)  prevent introduction of contraband. 
 (2)  Perimeter patrols shall assist the facilitation of traffic 
through the secure perimeter at various access points by verifying the 
identity of persons at those points. 
 (3)  Perimeter patrols shall: 
 (a)  respond to all persons including hunters, walkers, 
joggers, off-road vehicle riders, and other vehicles on prison property 
or immediately adjacent areas; 
 (b)  investigate any suspicious person or circumstance; and 
 (c)  arrest or cite violators when required. 
 (4)  Perimeter patrols [shall]may not allow non-prison 
personnel to wait in vehicles, in parking lots, or other areas of prison 
property. 
 (5)  Perimeter patrols shall investigate unoccupied vehicles 
on or near the prison perimeter and may impound any vehicle which 
appears to present a security risk to the prison. 
 
KEY:  corrections, prisons, security measures 
Date of Last Change:  2023[January 21, 1997] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 20, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  64-13-10; 
64-13-14 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R251-711 Filing ID:  
55597 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Corrections 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 14727 Minuteman Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Draper, UT 84020 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Matt Anderson  801-

556-
8199 

mattanderson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R251-711.  Admission and Intake 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The prison relocated to Salt Lake City from Draper.  The 
Department of Corrections internally identified that rules 
would need to be changed to reflect this move. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule change corrects the previous naming of the 
prison, South Point, to the current naming, Utah State 
Correctional Facility. 
 
The Department of Corrections also made nonsubstantive 
style and formatting changes to this rule to conform with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah per EO No. 2021-12. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the state 
budget, as this rule provides policy guidelines for the state 
facility inmate admissions and intake and does not have a 
fiscal impact. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings change to the local 
governments, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to small 
businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to non-
small businesses, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings change to other 
persons, as this rule does not apply to this group. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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There are no compliance costs for affected persons, as 
this does not apply to this group and this rule has no fiscal 
impact regardless. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Corrections, 
Brian Redd, has reviewed and approved this regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63G-3-201 

Section 64-13-10 Section 64-13-15 

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brian Redd,  
Executive Director 

Date: 07/05/2023 

 
R251.  Corrections, Administration. 
R251-711.  Admission and Intake. 
R251-711-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized under Sections 63G-3-201, 64-
13-10, 64-13-14, and 64-13-15[, of the Utah Code]. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide admission and 
intake policies applying to individuals committed to [the ]Utah State 
Correctional Facilities[ Prison]. 
 
R251-711-2.  Policy. 
[ It is the policy of the Department that:] 
 (1)  [persons]Persons committed for incarceration in a state 
correctional facility[to the Utah State Prison] should be received at 
the [Draper facility]Utah State Correctional Facility or Central Utah 
Correctional Facility during normal business hours, designated by the 
facility. If exigent circumstances exist, prisoner intakes can be 
determined by the shift commander.[ during the hours of 0700-1730 
Monday through Friday, if possible;] 
[ (2)  if it is not possible to deliver inmates to the Draper 
facility during the normal receiving hours, or if exigent 
circumstances are present, the Draper facility shall receive them at 
any time; 
 (3)  for central and southern Utah commitments, male 
inmates should be received at the Central Utah Correctional facility 
during the hours of 0800-1700 Monday through Friday, if possible; 
 (4)  if it is not possible to deliver male inmates to the 
Central Utah Correctional facility during the normal receiving hours, 
they may be taken to the Draper facility as described in (1) and (2) 
above;] 
 ([5]2)  [money]Money and personal property [shall]should 
be inventoried and receipted by the receiving and transporting 
officers in the presence of the inmate[;]. 
 ([6]3)  [inmates]Inmates may release property for personal 
pickup by a relative or friend, or they may mail the property at their 
own expense.[; and] 
 ([7]4)  [if]If property has not been mailed out or picked up 
within 30 days, it shall be donated to a charitable organization. 
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KEY:  corrections, prisons 
Date of Last Change:  [October 18, 1996]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  November 20, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  64-13-10; 
64-13-14; 64-13-15 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-303 Filing ID:  
55654 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-303.  Educator Preparation Programs 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended to incorporate new educator 
preparation program standards and related definitions. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
These amendments add definitions and the new Educator 
Preparation Program standards. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
The changes to incorporate new educator preparation 
program standards do not add staff time or costs for the 
Utah State Board of Education (USBE). 

Higher education institutions may need to make 
adjustments to meet the educator preparation standards; 
however, USBE estimates that the institutions can 
implement changes with existing resources and is unable 
to quantify any additional costs for higher education 
institutions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  Local 
Education Agencies (LEAs) will not be impacted by 
changes to standards for higher education educator 
preparation programs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.   This only 
affects USBE and higher education institutions. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
Educators in educator preparation programs are not likely 
to see increased costs due to the rule change.  This affects 
the educator preparation programs themselves. 
 
The USBE is unaware of any further impacts to individuals 
or other entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  The 
changes affect higher education educator preparation 
programs. 
 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 35 

The USBE is unable to quantify any additional costs for the 
programs or educators due to the changes. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Subsection 
53E-6-201(3)(a) 

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-303.  Educator Preparation Programs. 
R277-303-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; 
 (c)  Subsection 53E-6-201(3)(a), which directs the Board 
to establish the criteria for obtaining licenses; and 
 (d)  Section 53E-6-302, which requires the Board to 
establish standards for approval of educator preparation programs. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish flexible criteria 
for demonstration of competency in educator preparation programs 
in[ the State of] Utah. 
 
R277-303-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Candidate" means an individual enrolled in an 
approved educator preparation program who is working 
towardcompleting the requirements for a Utah professional educator 
license. 
 (2)  "Clinical experience" means a structured opportunity 
in which: 
 (a)  a licensed educator mentors a program candidate; 
 (b)  a school or district administrator or university 
preparation program faculty member with appropriate training 
evaluates program candidates; and 
 (c)  a program candidate develops and demonstrates 
competency in the skills and knowledge necessary to be an effective 
educator. 
 (3)  "Competency" means evidence of successful 
application of knowledge and skills shown through demonstration in 
a higher education or prek-12 classroom setting. 
 (4)  "Completer" means a candidate who has completed 
licensure requirements and been endorsed for licensure by an 
approved educator preparation program. 
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 ([1]5)(a)  "Educator preparation program" means a 
comprehensive program administered by an entity that is intended to 
prepare individuals to meet the requirements for a Utah professional 
license or license area of concentration. 
 (b)  "Educator preparation program" may include a 
program developed by or associated with an institution of higher 
education, individual LEA, a consortium of LEAs, or the Board. 
 ([2]6)  "Flexibility," for alternative preparation programs, 
means the process by which a program exercises local decision-
making to design and implement focused options to meet program 
and applicant licensing needs, without adding additional 
requirements beyond those outlined in Board rule, and allowing a 
teacher to demonstrate competency where reasonably possible in lieu 
of coursework or other requirements, consistent with the purpose of 
Board licensing rules. 
 ([3]7)  "LEA" includes, for purposes of this rule, the Utah 
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind. 
 ([4]8)  "License area" has the same meaning as set forth in 
Subsection R277-301-2(5)(a). 
 (9)  "Mentor" means an educator with a professional license 
with training that may include how to advise, coach, consult, and 
guide the development of a new educator. 
 ([4]10)  "Professional license" means the educator license 
described in Section R277-301-6. 
 
R277-303-3.  Utah Educator Preparation Program Standards. 
 An approved Utah Educator Preparation Program shall 
meet the following standards: 
 (1)  Program completer competency: 
 (a)  a completer can effectively demonstrate the educator 
preparation competencies established in Board rule; 
 (b)  a completer has the experience, knowledge, and skills 
needed to serve students with a variety of educational needs; and 
 (c)  a completer establishes goals for their own professional 
growth and engages in self-assessment, goal setting, and reflection. 
 (2)  Systems of support for candidate competency: 
 (a)  a program provides high quality learning experiences 
aligned to Utah competencies and standards while offering multiple 
opportunities for a candidate to demonstrate that the candidate has 
the knowledge and skills to serve all students; 
 (b)  a program seeks out and supports high quality clinical 
experiences for a candidate where the candidate has opportunities to 
practice and receive feedback on their knowledge and skills; 
 (c)  a program develops and supports high quality mentors 
who support program candidates in demonstrating competencies in 
Board rule; and 
 (d)  a program prioritizes capacity to support candidates as 
reflected in staffing and institutional resources. 
 (3)  Program continuous improvement and impact: 
 (a)  a program engages in thoughtful continuous 
improvement practices by reviewing program performance data and 
seeking opportunities for innovations and enhancement; and 
 (b)  a program seeks partnerships with stakeholders to 
strengthen the Utah education system. 
 
R277-303-[3]4.  Educator Preparation Program Review and 
Approval. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall establish uniform procedures 
for initial approval and review of educator preparation programs to 
ensure compliance with this rule. 

 (2)  The Superintendent shall approve an educator 
preparation program that meets the requirements of this rule and the 
standards for program approval established in: 
 (a)  Rule R277-304; 
 (b)  Rule R277-305; 
 (c)  Rule R277-306; and 
 (d)  all other applicable Board rules. 
 (3)(a)  The Superintendent shall conduct an ongoing review 
of approved educator preparation programs and shall renew or deny 
approval for a program at least every seven years. 
 (b)  The review described in Subsection (3)(a) shall include 
monitoring whether: 
 (i)  an educational preparation program is in compliance 
with Board rules; and 
 (ii)  an alternative preparation program has reasonable 
flexibility for candidates to demonstrate required competencies. 
 (4)  The Superintendent may grant preliminary approval to 
a new educator preparation program within a Utah public college or 
university pending approval by the Utah Board of Higher Education. 
 (5)  The Superintendent shall make a report to the Board 
when an educator preparation program's initial application for 
approval is granted or denied. 
 (6)  The Superintendent may place an approved educator 
preparation program on probation for: 
 (a)  failure to meet program requirements detailed in 
applicable Board rules; or 
 (b)  failure to submit complete and accurate information in 
a report required under this rule. 
 (7)  The Board may revoke the approval of a probationary 
program that fails to meet probationary requirements with at least one 
year's notice to the educator preparation program. 
 (8)  The Superintendent may require a program or subset of 
programs to submit reports to inform the annual report to the Board 
required in Section R277-301-10. 
 (9)  The Superintendent shall accept an approved educator 
preparation program's recommendations for a professional license or 
license area if the prospective licensee meets all other requirements 
of Board rule. 
 
R277-303-[4]5.  Educator Preparation Programs. 
 (1)  An educator preparation program that applies for 
approval by the Superintendent shall demonstrate how it will ensure 
that participants: 
 (a)  are prepared to meet the Utah Effective Educator 
Standards established in Rule R277-[530]330; 
 (b)  successfully complete or are prepared to complete the 
pedagogical performance assessment required in Rule R277-301; 
 (c)  have met the competencies required in all applicable 
Board rules; 
 (d)  have sufficiently demonstrated the ability to work in 
the applicable license area and subject area; and 
 (e)  successfully completed or are prepared to complete a 
pedagogical performance assessment meeting standards established 
by the Superintendent and approved by the Board for all new students 
enrolled in the program after January 1, 2020 and recommended for 
a Utah educator license after September 1, 2021 in all license areas 
for which such an assessment is available. 
 (2)  In addition to the requirements of Subsection (1), an 
educator preparation program that is not also a Utah LEA shall: 
 (a)  have a physical location in[ the state of] Utah where 
participants attend classes; or 
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 (b)  if the program provides only online instruction: 
 (i)  have the program's primary headquarters located in 
Utah; and 
 (ii)  be licensed to do business through the Utah 
Department of Commerce; and 
 (c)  establish entry requirements that are designed to ensure 
that only high quality individuals enter the preparation program, 
which include measures of: 
 (i)  previous academic success; 
 (ii)  disposition for employment in an educational setting; 
and 
 (iii)  basic skills in reading, writing, and mathematics; and 
 (d)  include a pedagogical performance assessment meeting 
standards established by the Superintendent and approved by the 
Board for all new students enrolled in the program after January 1, 
2020 and recommended for a Utah educator license after August 1, 
2021 in all license areas for which such an assessment is available. 
 (3)(a)  If the Superintendent denies an application from an 
educator preparation program, the proposed educator preparation 
program may appeal the Superintendent's decision to the Board by 
submitting a written appeal to the Board Secretary. 
 (b)  The Board shall assign an appeal under Subsection 
(3)(a) to a standing committee to make a recommendation to the full 
Board for final action. 
 (4)  An approved educator preparation program may 
recommend an individual that completed the program for a 
professional license or license area for up to five years after the 
individual completed the program, as long as all current license 
requirements have been met. 
 (5)  If five years have passed since an individual completed 
an approved educator preparation program, the program may 
recommend the individual for a professional license or license area if 
the program: 
 (a)  reviews the individual's program; and 
 (b)  requires the individual to complete any additional 
necessary requirements to meet current programs standards before 
making a licensing recommendation. 
 (6)(a)  An approved educator preparation program may 
recommend an individual who began the program before January 1, 
2020 for a professional license or license area without meeting the 
pedagogical performance assessment requirement in Rule R277-301, 
but must present documentation showing that the individual met the 
appropriate license requirements in effect before that date. 
 (b)  Subsection (6)(a) supersedes Subsections (4) and (5). 
 
R277-303-[5]6.  Superintendent Responsibilities. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall provide support to educator 
preparation programs and potential licensees to the extent that 
funding allows by: 
 (a)  maintaining a website to: 
 (i)  facilitate collaboration between educator preparation 
programs; 
 (ii)  facilitate communication between potential educators 
and approved programs; and 
 (iii)  provide access to up-to-date research on educator 
preparation and education practices; 
 (b)  reviewing third-party preparation materials for 
alignment with the Utah Effective Educator Standards in Rule R277-
[530]330; 
 (c)  working with potential licensed educators to help them 
become licensed educators; and 

 (d)  ensuring that alternative preparation program 
applicants be grandfathered from new program requirements added 
after an applicant's acceptance into the program. 
 (2)  The Superintendent shall design and maintain a model 
educator preparation program that: 
 (a)  meets all requirements of all applicable Board rules; 
 (b)  may be adopted by an LEA or an accredited private 
school, subject to Section R277-303-[4]5; and 
 (c)  is overseen by staff distinct from the staff responsible 
for ensuring educator preparation program compliance with all 
applicable Board rules. 
 
KEY:  educator preparation program, pedagogical assessment, 
professional competency, programs 
Date of Last Change:  [April 7,] 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4); 53E-6-201(3)(a) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-330 Filing ID:  
55655 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-330.  Utah Effective Educator Standards 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being created to replace Rule R277-530, which 
is being repealed. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed repeal of Rule R277-
530 is under ID 55660 in this issue, September 1, 2023, of 
the Bulletin.) 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This new rule updates standards for teachers and 
administrators and incorporate relevant standards for 
other license areas. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This proposed rule is not expected to have fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
This proposed rule updates standards for teachers and 
administrators.  It does not add any costs to the Utah State 
Board of Education (USBE) or other state entities as it 
generally affects Local Education Agencies (LEAs) and 
educators. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This proposed rule is not expected to have fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
Some LEAs may need to update their policies; however, 
this is within the scope of their budgets and will not 
necessarily add costs to the LEA. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This proposed rule is not expected to have fiscal impact 
on small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
The educator standards only affect the USBE, LEAs, and 
educators. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed new rule is not expected to have 
any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures because there are no applicable non-small 
businesses, and it does not require any expenditures of, 
or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This proposed rule is not expected to have fiscal impact 
on revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
Teachers and administrators may wish to review the 
updated standards, but there are no additional costs for 
USBE, LEAs, or educators.  The standards outline 
expected behavior and performance. 
 
The USBE is unaware of any impacts to other individuals 
or entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  
Affected educators have no quantifiable costs associated 
with complying with the updated standards for conduct. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Subsection 
53E-3-501(1)(a) 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

NASW Standards for School Social  
Work Services 

Publisher National Association of Social  
Workers 

Issue Date 2012 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

ASCA School Counselor Professional 
Standards & Competencies 

Publisher American School Counselor  
Association 

Issue Date 2019 

 
C) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Standards and Implementation  
Procedures for the Certificate of  
Clinical Competence in Audiology 

Publisher American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association 

Issue Date 2020 

 
D) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

The Professional Standards of the  
National Association of School  
Psychologists 

Publisher National Association of School  
Psychologists 

Issue Date 2020 

 
E) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Standards and Implementation  
Procedures for the Certificate of  
Clinical Competence in Speech- 
Language Pathology 

Publisher American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association 

Issue Date 2020 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-330.  Utah Effective Educator Standards. 
R277-330-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Subsection 53E-3-501(1)(a), which requires the Board 
to establish rules and minimum standards for the qualification and 
certification educators and for required school administrative and 
supervisory services. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish statewide 
effective educational standards for: 
 (a)  teachers; 
 (b)  administrators; 
 (c)  school counselors; 
 (d)  school psychologists; 
 (e)  speech-language pathologists; 
 (f)  speech-language technicians; 
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 (g)  audiologists; and 
 (h)  school social workers. 
 
R277-330-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Administrator" has the same meaning as defined in 
Subsection 53G-11-501(1). 
 (2)  "Educator" has the same meaning as defined  in 
Subsection 53G-11-501(6). 
 (3)  "Utah Effective Educator Standards means: 
 (a)  the Effective Teaching Standards described in Section 
R277-330-6; 
 (b)  the Educational Leadership Standards described in 
Section R277-330-7; 
 (c)  the Speech-Language Technician standards described 
in Subsection R277-306-5(1)(c); 
 (d)  the 2019 American School Counselors Association 
Professional Standards and Competencies; 
 (e)  the 2020 National Association of School Psychologists 
Professional Standards; 
 (f)  the 2020 American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association Standards and Implementation Procedures for the 
Certificate of Clinical Competence in Speech-Language Pathology; 
 (g)  the 2020American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association Standards and Implementation Procedures for the 
Certificate of Clinical Competence in Audiology; and 
 (h)  the 2012 National Association of Social Workers 
Standards for School Social Work Services. 
 
R277-330-3.  Incorporation by Reference. 
 (1)  This rule incorporates by reference: 
 (a)  the 2019 American School Counselor Association 
Professional Standards and Competencies; 
 (b)  the 2020 National Association of School Psychologists 
Professional Standards; 
 (c)  the 2020 American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association Standards and Implementation Procedures for the 
Certificate of Clinical Competence in Speech-Language Pathology; 
 (d)  the 2020 American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association Standards and Implementation Procedures for the 
Certificate of Clinical Competence in Audiology; and 
 (e)  the 2012 National Association of Social Workers 
Standards for School Work Services. 
 (2)  A copy of these resources can be located at the offices 
of the Utah State Board of Education, https://schools.utah. 
gov/administrativerules/documentsincorporated, and: 
 (a)  for Subsection (1)(a), https://www.schoolcounselor. 
org/getmedia/a8d59c2c-51de-4ec3-a565-a3235f3b93c3/SC-
Competencies.pdf; 
 (b)  for Subsection (1)(b), https://www.nasponline. 
org/standards-and-certification/nasp-2020-professional-standards-
adopted; 
 (c)  for Subsection (1)(c), https://www.asha.org/ 
certification/2020-slp-certification-standards/; 
 (d)  for Subsection (1)(d), https://www.asha.org/ 
certification/2020-audiology-certification-standards/; and 
 (e)  for Subsection (1)(e), https://www.socialworkers. 
org/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=1Ze4-9-Os7E%3D&portalid=0. 
 
R277-330-4.  Establishment of Standards. 
 (1)  The Board hereby establishes the Utah Effective 
Educator Standards as the foundation of educator development, 
which includes: 

 (a)  alignment of teacher and school administrator 
programs; 
 (b)  expectations for licensure; and 
 (c)  screening, hiring, induction, and mentoring of 
beginning educators in all license areas. 
 (2)  The Utah Effective Educator Standards: 
 (a)  ensure implementation of Utah's core standards; and 
 (b)  serve as the basis for evaluation. 
 (3)  The Superintendent shall: 
 (a)  base the model educator assessment system described 
in Subsection R277-323-8(1) on the Utah Effective Educator 
Standards; and 
 (b)  provide resources, including professional learning 
opportunities, which assist LEAs in integrating the Utah Effective 
Educator Standards into educator practices. 
 
R277-330-5.  LEA Responsibilities. 
 (1)  An LEA shall develop policies to support teachers, 
school administrators, and other licensees in implementation of the 
Utah Effective Educator Standards. 
 (2)  An LEA shall develop and support professional 
learning experiences in connection with an educator's professional 
learning plan for re-licensure using the Effective Educator Standards 
to assess educator progress toward implementation of the standards. 
 (3)  An LEA shall adopt educator assessment systems 
aligned with the Utah Effective Educator Standards and consistent 
with Rule R277-323. 
 (4)  An LEA shall use the Utah Effective Educator 
Standards as a basis for the development of a collaborative 
professional culture to facilitate student learning. 
 (5)  An LEA shall implement induction and mentoring 
activities for beginning educators that support implementation of the 
Utah Effective Educator Standards. 
 
R277-330-6.  Effective Teaching Standards. 
 (1)  The Effective Teaching Standards described in this 
Section: 
 (a)  describe the knowledge, skills, and dispositions that are 
the hallmark of effective instruction; and 
 (b)  highlight practices associated with effective teaching. 
 (2)  A Utah educator shall demonstrate a commitment to 
ongoing growth and development of instructional competency within 
the following areas: 
 (a)  Learners and Learning -- demonstrating attention to the 
impact of unique learner characteristics on development and growth; 
 (b)  Instructional Design Clarity: 
 (i)  previewing classroom content; 
 (ii)  demonstrating clarity in organizing and sequencing 
instruction; and 
 (iii)  effective planning for learning and student 
engagement. 
 (c)  Instructional Practice: 
 (i)  engaging in high quality instructional practices that are 
data informed; 
 (ii)  exhibiting a collaborative approach to teaching and 
learning; and 
 (iii)  meeting the learning needs of each student. 
 (d)  Classroom Climate -- creating academic, physical, 
social, and emotional conditions with emphasis on academic 
performance; and 
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 (e)  Professional Responsibility -- demonstrating an 
awareness of and adherence to professional and ethical standards 
within their school and with families and communities, as required in 
Rule R277-217, Educator Standards and LEA Reporting. 
 
R277-330-7.  Educational Leadership Standards. 
 (1)  The Educational Leadership Standards described in this 
Section describe expectations for school administrators, including: 
 (a)  meeting the Effective Teaching standards; 
 (b)  having the knowledge and skills to guide and supervise 
the work of educators; 
 (c)  leading the school learning community; and 
 (d)  managing the school's learning environment in order to 
provide effective, high quality instruction to all Utah students. 
 (2)  In addition to meeting the Effective Teaching 
Standards, a school administrator shall demonstrate the traits, skills, 
and work functions designated in the following areas: 
 (a)  Visionary Leadership -- promoting the success of every 
student by facilitating the development, articulation, implementation, 
and stewardship of a vision of learning that is largely shared and 
supported by stakeholders; 
 (b)  Teaching and Learning - promoting the success of 
every student by advocating, nurturing, and sustaining a school 
focused on teaching and learning conducive to student, faculty, and 
staff growth; 
 (c)  Management for Learning -- promoting the success of 
every student by ensuring management of the organization, 
operation, and resources for a safe, efficient, and effective learning 
environment; 
 (d)  Community Collaboration: 
 (i)  promoting the success of every student by collaborating 
with faculty, staff, parents, and community members; 
 (ii)  responding to diverse community interests; and 
 (iii)  mobilizing community resources; 
 (e)  Ethical Leadership -- promoting the success of every 
student by acting with, and ensuring a system of, integrity, fairness, 
equity, and ethical behavior; and 
 (f)  Systems Leadership -- promoting the success of every 
student by understanding, responding to, and influencing the 
interrelated systems of political, social, economic, legal, and policy 
contexts affecting education. 
 
KEY:  effective, standards 
Date of Last Change:  2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Article X, 
Section 3; 53E-3-401(4); 53E-3-501(1)(a) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-433 Filing ID:  
55656 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-433.  Disposal of Textbooks in the Public Schools 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being repealed due to the passage of H.B. 494 
in the 2023 General Session, which removed the 
requirement that Local Education Agencies (LEAs) notify 
all other local education agencies before disposing of 
undamaged textbooks. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This proposed repeal is not expected to have fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
There are no further impacts outside what was captured in 
the fiscal note to H.B. 494 (2023). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This proposed repeal is not expected to have fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures.  There 
are no further impacts outside what was captured in the 
fiscal note to H.B. 494 (2023). 
 
LEAs can continue to notify other LEAs of textbook 
disposal but are not required to do so. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This proposed repeal is not expected to have fiscal impact 
on small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This only 
impacts LEAs. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed repeal is not expected to have 
any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures because there are no applicable non-small 
businesses, and it does not require any expenditures of, 
or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This proposed repeal is not expected to have fiscal impact 
on revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
This only impacts LEAs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  This 
only impacts LEAs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Section 
53G-7-606 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-433.  Disposal of Textbooks in the Public Schools. 
R277-433-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution, Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
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 (c)  Section 53G-7-606, which requires the Board to make 
rules providing for the disposal or reuse of useable textbooks in the 
public schools. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide procedures for 
LEA policies for the reuse or disposal of textbooks in the public 
schools. 
 
R277-433-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "LEA" includes, for purposes of this rule, the Utah 
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind. 
 (2)(a)  "Textbook" has the same meaning as described in 
Subsection 53G-7-601(5). 
 (b)  Textbook includes any printed book that is required for 
participation in a course of instruction. 
 
R277-433-3.  LEA Policies on Disposal of Textbooks. 
 (1)  Each LEA shall develop policies regarding the reuse or 
disposal of textbooks consistent with Section 53G-7-606. 
 (2)  An LEA's policies shall provide procedures for 
notification to other LEAs of available textbooks and timelines for 
disposal of textbooks. 
 (3)  An LEA's policies shall provide procedures for 
negotiating the exchange of the textbooks. 
 
KEY:  textbooks 
Date of Last Change:  June 7, 2022 
Notice of Continuation:  April 15, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4); 53G-7-606] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-465 Filing ID:  
55657 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-465.  CPR in Schools 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended to allow schools to have more 
flexibility when they apply and then reimburse through the 
Utah State Board of Education's Utah Grants Management 
system, beginning in September 2023.  
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
These amendments make specific updates to the 
requirements that allow schools to use funds to pay an 
existing teacher or staff a stipend for ongoing training. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  Local 
Education Agencies (LEAs) are given additional flexibility 
to use the CPR Training Grants funds. 
 
There are no changes to the Utah State Board of 
Education (USBE) budgets for staff or other costs. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have major fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures.  
LEAs are afforded to additional flexibility to compensate 
staff for training students outside their normal duties with 
the CPR Training grant funds. 
 
There are no changes to the amounts for student. 
 
Some LEAs may now qualify for additional funds.  The 
exact amount is not known at this time. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This only 
affects LEAs and USBE. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
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have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
This only affects LEAs and USBE. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  This 
only affects LEAs and USBE. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Subsection 
53G-10-408(2) 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-465.  CPR in Schools. 
R277-465-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Subsection 53G-10-408(2), which requires the Board 
to make rules to develop and implement cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation (CPR) training as part of the core curriculum standards 
for instruction in health. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide: 
 (a)  the requirements for the teaching of CPR in the health 
standards; and 
 (b)  the criteria and distribution method for CPR training 
grants. 
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R277-465-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Cardiopulmonary resuscitation" or "CPR" means the 
same as the term is defined in Subsection 53G-10-408(1)(b). 
 (2)  "Psychomotor skills" means the same as the term is 
defined Subsection 53G-10-408(1)(e). 
 (3)  "Specific material" means any material used by an LEA 
to comply with the Health Education Core Standards related to CPR. 
 
R277-465-3.  CPR Health Standards Requirements. 
 (1)  An LEA shall provide the CPR instruction consistent 
with the Health Education Core Standards and as required in 
Subsection 53G-10-408(5): 
 (a)  using a certified CPR instructor; 
 (b)  following a current Emergency Cardiovascular Care 
(ECC) guidelines for CPR; and 
 (c)  using cognitive and psychomotor skills training. 
 (2)  An LEA shall provide the CPR instruction using the 
following ratios as closely as possible: 
 (a)  a student to instructor ratio of no greater than 15:1; and 
 (b)  a mannequin to student ratio no greater than 1:6. 
 (3)  An LEA shall provide the CPR instruction at least once 
to each student between grades 9 through 12 except as provided for 
in Subsection 53G-10-408(7). 
 (4)  An LEA is not required to provide the psychomotor 
skills instruction if the student is in an online-only educational 
experience. 
 
R277-465-4.  CPR Training Grant Program. 
 (1)  An LEA may apply to receive CPR training grant funds. 
 (2)  If an LEA chooses to apply for grant funds the LEA 
shall submit the following information as part of the LEA's 
application: 
 (a)  LEA name; 
 (b)  point of contact to oversee the use of the funds; 
 (c)  the number of students the LEA will provide training; 
 (d)  the total amount of requested funds; and 
 (e)  which of the allowable uses of funding as described in 
Subsection (4) of this [part]section the LEA plans to utilize. 
 (3)  Except as provided for in Subsection (6), an LEA may 
not receive more than $6 per student as the LEA's total award under 
this grant program. 
 (4)  An LEA may only use awarded funds for the following 
purposes: 
 (a)  to contract with the local emergency management 
system for a certified instructor; 
 (b)  to certify an LEA employee as an instructor;[ or] 
 (c)  compensate certified staff for training students in 
hands-on, high-quality CPR and AED training that is outside of their 
normal duties; or 
 [(c)](d)  to contract with a third party or group who 
specializes in CPR and AED instruction to provide the instruction. 
 (5)  Subject to legislative appropriation, an LEA may also 
apply to receive funds to replace or purchase specific materials or 
equipment for the CPR instruction. 
 (6)  The Superintendent shall distribute the funds described 
in Subsection (5) to an LEA in an amount proportionate to the LEA's 
number of students compared to the total number of students of all 
LEAs applying for specific materials or equipment grant. 
 (7)  The Superintendent may adjust the amount an LEA 
receives for a specific materials or equipment grant if the LEA 
demonstrates greater need through: 

 (i)  lack of enough necessary materials or equipment; 
 (ii)  low quality or deteriorated materials or equipment; and 
 (iii)  an extended period since the last update or purchase 
of materials or equipment. 
 
KEY:  health standards; CPR; cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
Date of Last Change:  2023[July 22, 2022] 
Authorizing, and Implemented, or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 
3; 53E-3-401(4); 53G-10-408(2) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-469 Filing ID:  
55658 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-469.  Instructional Materials Commission Operating 
Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended due to the passage of H.B. 427 
in the 2023 General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
These amendments include a reference to Section 53G-
10-206 and update terms used that pertain to digital 
resources. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 



 

46 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 

A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  There are no 
additional costs beyond what was captured in the fiscal 
note to H.B. 427 (2023). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.    There are 
no additional costs beyond what was captured in the fiscal 
note to H.B. 427 (2023). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  There are no 
additional costs beyond what was captured in the fiscal 
note to H.B. 427 (2023). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
There are no additional costs beyond what was captured 
in the fiscal note to H.B. 427 (2023). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  
There are no additional costs beyond what was captured 
in the fiscal note to H.B. 427 (2023). 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 53E-4-402 Section 53E-4-408 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-469.  Instructional Materials Commission Operating 
Procedures. 
R277-469-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitutional Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; 
 (c)  Section 53E-4-402, which directs the Board to appoint 
an Instructional Materials Commission and directs the Commission 
to evaluate instructional materials for recommendation by the Board; 
and 
 (d)  Section 53E-4-408, which directs the Board to make 
rules that establish the qualifications of the independent parties who 
may evaluate and map the alignment of the primary instructional 
materials and requirements for the detailed summary of the 
evaluation. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  provide definitions, operating procedures and criteria 
for recommending instructional materials for use in Utah public 
schools; 
 (b)  provide for mapping and alignment of primary 
instructional materials to the Core consistent with Utah law; and 
 (c)  provide rules for purchase and distribution of 
instructional materials within the state. 
 
R277-469-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commission" means the Instructional Materials 
Commission established in accordance with Section 53E-4-402. 
 (2)  "Core" means the core standards adopted by the Board 
in Rule R277-700. 
 (3)  "Curriculum alignment" means the assurance that the 
material taught in a course or grade level matches the standards, and 
assessments set by the state for specific courses or grade levels. 
 (4)  "Depository" means a business dedicated to storing and 
distributing resources or materials in sufficient quantities to insure 
rapid and efficient delivery to LEAs. 
 (5)(a)  "Instructional materials" means systematically 
arranged content in text, digital, Braille and large print, or audio 
format which may be used within the state curriculum framework for 
courses of study by students in public schools. 
 (b)  "Instructional materials" include: 
 (i)  textbooks; 

 (ii)  workbooks; 
 (iii)  [computer software]digital resources; 
 (iv)  online [or internet ]courses; 
 (v)  CDs or DVDs; and 
 (vi)  multiple forms of communication media. 
 (c)  "Instructional materials" may be used by students or 
teachers or both as principal sources of study to cover any portion of 
a course. 
 (d)  "Instructional materials": 
 (i)  are designed for student use; 
 (ii)  may be accompanied by or contain teaching guides and 
study helps; 
 (iii)  shall include all textbooks, workbooks, student 
materials, supplements, and online and digital materials necessary for 
a student to fully participate in coursework; 
 (iv)  shall be high quality, research-based materials for 
supporting student learning; and 
 (v)  may not be sensitive materials as defined by Subsection 
53G-10-103(1)(g). 
 (6)  "Independent party" means an entity that is not part of 
or related to: 
 (a)  the Board; 
 (b)  Board staff; 
 (c)  an employee or governing board member of an LEA; 
 (d)  the creator or publisher of instructional materials under 
review; or 
 (e)  anyone with a financial interest, however minimal, in 
instructional materials under review. 
 (7)  "Instructional Materials Commission" or 
"Commission" means the commission appointed by the Board in 
accordance with Section 53E-4-402. 
 (8)  "Integrated instructional program" means any 
combination of instructional materials for students, including: 
 (a)  textbooks; 
 (b)  workbooks; 
 (c)  [software]digital resources; 
 (d)  videos; 
 (e)  electronic devices; or 
 (f)  similar resources. 
 (9)  "Instructional materials provider" means a publisher or 
author and self-publisher who sells or provides instructional 
materials for use in Utah public schools. 
 (10)  "LEA" includes, for purposes of this rule, the Utah 
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind. 
 (11)  "Mapping" means creating a visual representation 
listing topics in instructional materials in correlation to the standards 
of the Utah Core. 
 (12)  "National Instructional Materials Access Center" or 
"NIMAC" means the same as that term is defined in Subsection 
R277-800-2(14). 
 (13)  "National Instructional Materials Accessibility 
Standard" or "NIMAS" means the same as that term is defined in 
Subsection R277-800-2(15). 
 (14)  "Not sampled" means instructional materials that 
were included in a publisher bid for evaluation by the Instructional 
Materials Commission, but which were not sampled to the 
Superintendent or the Commission. 
 (15)  "Primary instructional material" means a 
comprehensive basal or Core textbook or integrated instructional 
program for which a publisher seeks a recommendation for Core 
subjects designated in Sections R277-700-4 through R277-700-6. 
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 (16)  "Recommended instructional materials" or "RIMs" 
means the recommended instructional materials searchable database 
provided as a free service by the Board for the posting of evaluations 
and alignments to the Core of instructional materials submitted by 
publishers for review by the Commission and approval of the Board. 
 (17)  "Recommended limited" means instructional 
materials that are in limited alignment with the Core requirements or 
are narrow or restricted in their scope and sequence. 
 (18)  "Recommended primary" means instructional 
materials that: 
 (a)  are in alignment with content, philosophy, and 
instructional strategies of the Core; 
 (b)  have been mapped and aligned to the Core, consistent 
with Section 53E-4-408; 
 (c)  are appropriate for use by students as principal sources 
of study; and 
 (d)  support Core requirements. 
 (19)  "Recommended student resource" means instructional 
materials aligned to the Core that are developmentally appropriate, 
but not intended to be the primary instructional resource, which may 
provided valuable content information for students. 
 (20)  "Recommended teacher resource" means instructional 
materials that are appropriate as resource materials for use by 
teachers. 
 (21)  "Reviewed, but not recommended" means 
instructional materials that an LEA is strongly cautioned against 
using because the materials: 
 (a)  do not align with the Core; 
 (b)  are inaccurate in content; 
 (c)  include misleading connotations; 
 (d)  contain undesirable presentation; or 
 (e)  are in conflict with existing law or rule. 
 (22)  "Utah State Instructional Materials Access Center" or 
"USIMAC" means the same as that term is defined in Subsection 
R277-800-2(21). 
 
R277-469-3.  Use of State Funds for Instructional Materials. 
 (1)  An LEA may use state funds for any primary 
supplemental or supportive instructional materials that support Core 
requirements. 
 (2)  An LEA shall select and approve instructional materials 
consistent with: 
 (a)  established local board procedures and timelines; 
 (b)  Utah Code and Board rule, including Section 53G-10-
103; 
 (c)  Subsection 53G-10-402(1)(c)(iii); and 
 (d)  Subsection 53E-4-403(4). 
 (3)  A school or school district that uses any funding source 
to purchase materials that have not been recommended or selected 
consistent with state law, may have funds withheld to the extent of 
the actual costs of those materials pursuant to Subsection 53E-3-
401(8)(a)(ii). 
 (3)(a)  An LEA may use free instructional materials that are 
used as primary instructional materials or that are part of primary 
integrated instructional programs subject to the same independent 
party evaluation and Core mapping as basal or Core material. 
 (b)  If an LEA receives free materials, the LEA may use the 
materials as student instructional materials only consistent with the 
law and this rule. 
 (4)  An LEA shall include a requirement in all publisher 
contracts for instructional materials that the publisher shall: 

 (a)  prepare and provide electronic files of all instructional 
materials in the NIMAS format to NIMAC on or before delivery of 
print instructional materials; or 
 (b)  provide instructional materials that are produced in, or 
may be made in, specialized formats; and 
 (c)  provide materials consistent with the Utah Code and 
administrative rules. 
 (5)(a)  An LEA shall provide timely notice to all publishers 
with whom the LEA contracts for instructional materials that all 
materials shall be provided consistent with Subsection (4). 
 (b)  An LEA's notice shall include a copy of this rule. 
 
R277-469-4.  Instructional Materials Commission Members 
Terms of Service. 
 (1)  The Board shall appoint members of the Instructional 
Materials Commission in accordance with Section 53E-4-402. 
 (2)(a)  A member appointed in accordance with Subsection 
(1) shall serve four year terms, staggered to ensure continuity in the 
efficient operation of the Commission. 
 (b)  A member may apply for reappointment to one 
additional term. 
 (3)  The Commission may establish subcommittees as 
needed. 
 
R277-469-5.  Commission Review of Materials. 
 (1)  The Instructional Materials Commission shall 
primarily focus on reviewing materials used in subjects aligned with 
Core requirements to include reading, language arts, mathematics 
through geometry, science, in kindergarten through 12th grade, 
effectiveness of written expression, and other Core subject areas as 
assigned by the Board. 
 (2)  The Commission shall determine subject areas and 
timelines for review based on school district and charter school needs 
and requests, using forms and procedures provided by the 
Superintendent. 
 (3)  The Commission shall meet to review materials at least 
semi-annually. 
 (4)  Following its evaluation of a submitted item, the 
Commission shall recommend that the Board classify materials in 
one of the following categories: 
 (a)  Recommended primary; 
 (b)  Recommended limited; 
 (c)  Recommended teacher resource; 
 (d)  Recommended student resource; 
 (e)  Reviewed, but not recommended; or 
 (f)  Not sampled. 
 
R277-469-6.  Criteria for Recommendation of Instructional 
Materials Following Mid-Party Evaluation of Core Curriculum. 
 (1)  The Instructional Materials Commission and the Board, 
in reviewing whether to recommend instructional materials, may 
consider whether the instructional materials: 
 (a)  are consistent with Core requirements; 
 (b)  are mapped and aligned to the Core and state adopted 
assessments if planned for use as primary materials; 
 (c)  are high quality, research-based, and proven to be 
effective in supporting student learning; 
 (d)  provide an objective and balanced viewpoint on issues; 
 (e)  include enrichment and extension possibilities; 
 (f)  are appropriate to varying levels of learning; 
 (g)  are accurate and factual; 
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 (h)  are arranged chronologically or systematically, or both; 
 (i)  reflect the pluralistic character and culture of the 
American people and provide accurate representation of diverse 
ethnic groups; 
 (j) are not sensitive materials as defined in Subsection 53G-
10-103(1)(g); 
 (k)  are consistent with the principles of individual freedom 
as defined in Section 53G-10-206; and 
[ (k)  are free from sexual, ethnic, age, gender or disability 
bias and stereotyping; and] 
 (l)  are of acceptable technical quality. 
 (2)  A publisher, when submitting new primary material to 
be evaluated by the Superintendent, shall submit an electronic 
version of that material in NIMAS file format to NIMAC for use in 
conversion into Braille, large print, and other formats for students 
with print disabilities. 
 (3)  The Superintendent may require an LEA to provide a 
report of instructional materials purchased by the LEA or a school in 
the previous five years. 
 (4)  The Superintendent may initiate a formal or informal 
audit of instructional materials purchased to determine purchase or 
use of instructional materials consistent with the law or this rule. 
 
R277-469-7.  Agreements and Procedures for LEAs. 
 (1)  A local board shall establish a policy for selection and 
purchase of instructional materials. 
 (2)  As part of any materials adoption process or 
procurement contract for purchasing instructional materials, an LEA 
shall provide instructional materials to all students, including blind 
students and other students with disabilities, in a timely manner. 
 (a)  A publisher shall provide materials in electronic files to 
NIMAC to make materials available to eligible students. 
 (b)  An LEA shall include NIMAS contract language in all 
contracts with publishers for Core materials. 
 (c)  An LEA may purchase instructional materials from the 
publisher that are produced in, or may be in, specialized formats for 
eligible students. 
 (3)  An LEA shall require a detailed Core curriculum 
alignment before the purchase of primary instructional materials. 
 
R277-469-8.  Qualifications for Core Curriculum Alignment 
Independent Parties. 
 (1)  A primary instructional materials provider shall 
contract with an independent party in accordance with Subsection 
53E-4-408(1)(a). 
 (2)  An independent party may only employ or contract 
with a reviewer who has a degree or an endorsement specific to the 
subject area of the primary instructional materials. 
 (3)  A publisher shall provide proof of an independent 
party's credentials to the Superintendent upon request. 
 
R277-469-9.  Detailed Summary Requirements. 
 (1)  An independent party shall submit a summary required 
under Subsection 53E-4-408(1)(b) in a searchable, [software]digital 
resource database format designated by the Superintendent. 
 (2)  A summary required under Subsection 53E-4-408(1)(b) 
shall: 
 (a)  include detailed alignment information that includes, at 
a minimum: 
 (i)  the title of the material; 
 (ii)  the ISBN number; 
 (iii)  the publisher's name; 

 (iv)  the name and grade of the Core document used to align 
the material; 
 (v)  the overall percentage of coverage of the Core; 
 (vi)  the overall percentage of coverage in ancillary 
resources of the material to the Core; 
 (vii)  the percentage of coverage of the Core in the material 
for each standard, objective and indicator in the Core with 
corresponding page numbers; 
 (viii)  percentage of coverage of the Core not covered in the 
material but covered in the ancillary resources for each standard; and 
 (ix)  objective and indicator in the Core with corresponding 
page numbers or URLs; and 
 (b)  provide the detailed alignment information listed in 
Subsection (a)(iv) for the student text for all editions of the text that 
are used in Utah public schools; 
 (c)  provide the detailed alignment information listed in 
Subsection (a)(iv) for a teacher edition of text, if a teacher edition is 
used in Utah public schools; and 
 (d)  provide an assurance, including a personal signature, 
that the work was completed personally and as required by the 
licensed and endorsed reviewer. 
 
R277-469-10.  Agreements and Procedures for Publishers. 
 (1)  A publisher desiring to sell primary instructional 
materials to Utah school districts shall comply with the requirements 
of Section 53E-4-408 and this rule. 
 (2)(a)  A publisher seeking to sell recommended materials 
to Utah schools or school districts shall [have ten books and tangible 
adopted materials or such other amount as required by a depository 
based on anticipated need on deposit within the state at an 
instructional materials depository in the business of selling 
instructional materials to schools or school districts in Utah]maintain 
on deposit the number of books necessary to meet the anticipated 
needs within the state at an instructional materials depository in the 
business of selling instructional materials to schools or school 
districts in Utah. 
 (b)  A publisher shall submit verification of compliance 
with Subsection (2)(a) to the Superintendent through the publisher's 
contracted depository prior to the Superintendent posting a review of 
the materials on RIMs. 
 (3)  A publisher may make a depository agreement with one 
or more depository. 
 (4)  Notwithstanding Subsection (2), a publisher may sell 
instructional materials to schools or school districts in Utah directly 
or through means other than a designated depository. 
 (5)  A publisher need not store digital and online resources 
within the state, but shall guarantee timely resource availability of a 
placed order and shall provide digital and online resource orders 
without shipping charges. 
 (6)  If a revised edition of recommended materials retains 
the original title and authorship, the publisher may request its 
substitution for the edition currently recommended providing that: 
 (a)  the original contract price and contract date do not 
change and the original contract price applies for the substituted 
materials; 
 (b)  the revised edition is compatible with the earlier 
edition, permitting use of either or both in the same classroom; 
 (c)  a sample copy of the revised edition is provided to the 
Superintendent for examination purposes; and 
 (d)  the publisher submits a revised electronic edition in 
NIMAS file format to the NIMAC if the Superintendent approves the 
substitution request. 
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 (7)  The Commission shall make the final determination 
about the substitution of a new edition for a previously recommended 
edition with assistance from the Superintendent. 
 (8)  A publisher's contract price for materials recommended 
by the Commission and the Board shall apply for five years from the 
contract date. 
 
R277-469-11.  Request for Reconsideration of Recommendation. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall provide a school district, 
school, or publisher with the evaluations and recommendations 
resulting from the initial review of the Commission. 
 (2)  A school district, school, or publisher may, within 30 
days of the Commission's initial recommendation, request to have 
materials reviewed again during the Commission's next review cycle. 
 (3)(a)  During the period of the reconsideration request, the 
Superintendent shall classify materials only tentatively. 
 (b)  The Superintendent shall not post tentatively classified 
materials to RIMs until recommended through the official 
Commission process. 
 (4)  A school district, school, or publisher may be asked to 
send a second set of sample materials to the Superintendent as part of 
a reconsideration request. 
 (5)  Any written information provided by a school district, 
school, or publisher shall be available to the advisory committees 
during the second review. 
 (6)  After the second review by the subject area advisory 
committee, the Commission shall vote on the advisory committee's 
recommendation at the next scheduled meeting. 
 (7)  If the Commission votes to change the 
recommendation, the Superintendent shall notify the Board of the 
action at the next scheduled Board meeting. 
 (8)  The Superintendent shall send a school district, school, 
or publisher written notification of the final recommendation and 
new evaluation. 
 (9)  If the Commission and Board approve materials 
following a request for reconsideration, the Superintendent shall post 
the evaluation to RIMs. 
 
KEY:  instructional materials 
Date of Last Change:  [February 8,] 2023 
Notice of Continuation:  September 15, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X, Sec 
3; 53E-4-402; 53E-4-408; 53E-3-401(4) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-494 Filing ID:  
55659 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-494.  Charter, Online, Home, and Private School 
Student Participation in Extracurricular and Co-curricular 
School Activities 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended due to the passage of H.B. 209 
in the 2023 General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
These amendments make updates so that this rule is 
consistent with changes adopted by the Legislature in H.B. 
209 (2023), specifically regarding where students can 
participate in extracurricular activities. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  There are no 
changes to the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) 
budgets due to the changes required by H.B. 209 (2023). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  There are 
no further impacts to Local Education Agencies (LEAs) 
from the rule change outside the fiscal note to H.B. 209 
(2023). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This rule 
change only affects LEAs and the USBE. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
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There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
This rule change only affects the USBE and LEAs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  This 
rule change only affects the USBE and LEAs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Subsection 
53G-6-704(5) 

Subsection 
53G-6-705(6) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-494.  Charter, Online, Home, and Private School Student 
Participation in Extracurricular or Co-curricular School 
Activities. 
R277-494-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision of public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which permits the Board to 
adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities; 
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 (c)  Subsection 53G-6-704([6]7)[(a)], which directs the 
Board to make rules establishing fees for a charter school student's 
participation in extracurricular or co-curricular activities at certain 
public schools; and 
 (d)  Subsection 53G-6-705(6), which directs the Board to 
make rules establishing fees for an online student's participation in 
extracurricular or co-curricular activities at certain public schools. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to inform school districts, 
charter schools, [and ]online schools, private schools, and parents of: 
 (a)  school participation fees; and 
 (b)  state-determined requirements for a charter school, [or 
a ]public online school, or private school student to participate in an 
extracurricular activity at [a student's boundary ]another public 
school. 
 
R277-494-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Activity fee" means a fee that: 
 (a)  is approved by a local school board or public school; 
 (b)  is charged to all students to participate in an 
extracurricular or co-curricular activity sponsored by or through the 
public school; and 
 (c)  entitles a public school student to: 
 (i)  participate in a school activity; 
 (ii)  try out for an extracurricular or co-curricular school 
activity; 
 (iii)  receive transportation to an activity; and 
 (iv)  attend a regularly scheduled public school activity. 
 (2)  "Association" has the same meaning as defined in 
Section 53G-7-1101. 
 ([2]3)  "Co-curricular activity" means the same as that term 
is defined in Section 53G-7-501. 
 ([3]4)  "Extracurricular activity" means the same as that 
term is defined in Section 53G-7-501. 
 ([4]5)  "Online school" means a formally constituted public 
school that offers full-time education delivered primarily over the 
internet. 
 ([5]6)  "Qualifying school" means: 
 (a)  for purposes of a charter school student, a school 
described in Subsection 53G-6-704([1]2); 
 (b)  for purposes of an online school student, a school 
described in Subsection 53G-6-705(2); and 
 (c)  for purposes of a private or home school student, a 
school described in Subsection 53G-6-703(2)(c). 
 ([6]7)  "School of enrollment" means the public school that 
maintains the student's cumulative file, enrollment information, and 
transcript for purposes of high school graduation. 
 ([7]8)  "School participation fee" means the fee paid by a 
charter or online school to a qualifying school consistent with 
Subsection[s] R277-494-3(2) or R277-494-4(2) for the charter or 
online school student's participation in an extracurricular or co-
curricular activity. 
 ([8]9)  "Student activity specific fee" means the activity fee 
charged to all participating students by a qualifying school for a 
designated extracurricular or co-curricular activity consistent with 
Rule R277-407. 
 
R277-494-3.  Charter and Online School Student Participation in 
Extracurricular Activities at Another Public School. 
 (1)  A charter or online school student may participate in an 
extracurricular activity at a qualifying school if: 
 (a)  the extracurricular activity is not offered by the 
student's charter or online school; 

 (b)  the student satisfies: 
 (i)  for a charter school student, the requirements of 
[Subsection]Section 53G-6-704[(3)]; 
 (ii)  for an online school student, the requirements of 
[Subsection]Section 53G-6-705[(3)]; 
 (iii)  any participation requirements established by an 
association for a sanctioned interscholastic activity; and 
 ([iii]iv)  the requirements of this rule; 
 (c)  the student meets the qualifying school's standards and 
requirements; and 
 (d)  the student's parent agrees to provide the student 
transportation to the qualifying school for the extracurricular activity. 
 (2)(a)  A charter or online school student's school of 
enrollment shall pay a one-time annual school participation fee of 
$75[.00] per student to the qualifying school at which the charter or 
online school student desires to participate. 
 (b)  Upon annual payment of the school participation fee, 
the student may participate in all extracurricular or co-curricular 
school activities at the school during the school year for which the 
student is qualified and eligible. 
 (3)  The school participation fee described in Subsection 
(2)(a) is in addition to: 
 (a)  a student activity specific fee for a specific 
extracurricular activity; and 
 (b)  the activity fee charged to all students in a qualifying 
school to supplement a school activity as assessed by the school 
consistent with this rule. 
 (4)  Except as provided in Subsection (7), a charter or 
online school student who participates in an extracurricular activity 
at a qualifying school shall pay all required student activity specific 
fees to the qualifying school in accordance with deadlines set by the 
qualifying school. 
 (5)  All fees, including school participation fees and student 
activity specific fees shall be paid prior to a charter or online school 
student's participation in an activity at the qualifying school. 
 (6)  A charter or online school of enrollment shall cooperate 
fully with all qualifying schools: 
 (a)  regarding students' participation in try-outs, practices, 
pep rallies, team fund raising efforts, scheduled games, and required 
travel; and 
 (b)  by providing complete and prompt reports of student 
academic and citizenship progress or grades, upon request. 
 (7)(a)  If a participating charter or online school student 
qualifies for a fee waiver, in accordance with Rule R277-407, the 
charter or online student's school of enrollment shall pay the school 
participation fee described in Subsection (2)(a) and any waived 
student activity specific fees to the qualifying school. 
 (b)  A charter or online school that is required to pay a fee 
waiver student's participation fee or student activity specific fee as 
described in Subsection (7)(a) shall pay the student participation fee 
and any student activity specific fees to the qualifying school before 
the charter or online school student may begin to participate in the 
extracurricular activity at the qualifying school. 
 
R277-494-4.  Charter or Online School Student Participation in 
Co-Curricular Activities. 
 (1)(a)  A charter or online school student may participate in 
a co-curricular activity at a qualifying school if: 
 (i)  the co-curricular activity is not offered by the student's 
charter or online school; 
 (ii)  the student satisfies: 
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 (A)  for a charter school student, the requirements of 
[Subsection]Section 53G-6-704[(3)]; 
 (B)  for an online school student, the requirements of 
[Subsection]Section 53G-6-705[(3)]; 
 (C)  any participation requirements established by an 
association for a sanctioned interscholastic activity; and 
 ([C]D)  the requirements of this rule; 
 (iii)  the student meets the qualifying school's standards and 
requirements; and 
 (iv)  the student's parent agrees to provide the student 
transportation to the qualifying school for the co-curricular activity. 
 (b)  A charter or online school may negotiate with a public 
school other than a school described in Subsection (1) to participate 
in a co-curricular activity at the other public school, including: 
 (i)  a debate, drama, or choral program; 
 (ii)  a specialized course or program offered during the 
regular school day; and 
 (iii)  a school's sponsored enrichment program or activity. 
 (c)  A student who participates in a co-curricular activity 
described in Subsection (1)(b) shall meet: 
 (i)  the same attendance, discipline, and course 
requirements expected of the public school's full-time students; 
 (ii)  for a charter school student, the requirements of 
[Subsection]Section 53G-6-704[(3)]; and 
 (iii)  for an online school student, the requirements of 
[Subsection]Section 53G-6-705[(3)]. 
 (2)(a)  A charter or online school of enrollment shall 
determine if the school will allow students to participate in co-
curricular school activities at qualifying schools. 
 (b)  If a charter or online school allows one student to 
participate in a co-curricular activity at a qualifying school, the 
charter or online school shall allow all interested students to 
participate. 
 (3)(a)  A charter or online school student's school of 
enrollment shall pay a one-time annual school participation fee of 
$75[.00] per student to the qualifying school at which the charter or 
online school student desires to participate. 
 (b)  If a charter or online school of enrollment pays a 
$75[.00] school participation fee to a qualifying school as described 
in Subsection R277-494-3(2)(a), the charter or online school of 
enrollment is not required to pay an additional $75[.00] school 
participation fee described in Subsection (3)(a) to the qualifying 
school in the same year. 
 (4)  A charter or online school student participating under 
this rule shall: 
 (a)  pay the required student activity specific fees for each 
co-curricular activity; and 
 (b)  meet all eligibility requirements and timelines of the 
public school. 
 (5)(a)  If a participating charter or online school student 
qualifies for a fee waiver, in accordance with Rule R277-407, the 
charter or online student's school of enrollment shall pay any waived 
student activity specific fees to the qualifying school. 
 (b)  A charter or online school that is required to pay a fee 
waiver student's activity specific fees as described in Subsection 
(5)(a), shall pay the student activity specific fees to the qualifying 
school before the charter or online school student may begin to 
participate in the co-curricular activity at the qualifying school. 
 

R277-494-5.  Private or Home School Student Participation in 
Extracurricular Activities. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 53G-6-703, a private or 
home school student may participate in an extracurricular activity at 
a qualifying school if: 
 (a)  for a private school student, the extracurricular activity 
is not offered by the student's private school; 
 (b)  the student satisfies the requirements of: 
 (i)  Section 53G-6-703;[ and] 
 (ii)  any participation requirements established by an 
association for a sanctioned interscholastic activity;  and 
 ([ii]iii)  this rule; and 
 (c)  the student meets the qualifying school's standards and 
requirements. 
 (2)  Except as provided in Subsection (3), a private or home 
school student shall pay the required student activity specific fees for 
each extracurricular activity to the qualifying school: 
 (a)  before the student may participate in the extracurricular 
activity at the qualifying school; and 
 (b)  in accordance with deadlines set by the qualifying 
school. 
 (3)  If a private or home school student qualifies for a fee 
waiver in accordance with Rule R277-407, the qualifying school 
shall waive any required student activity specific fees in accordance 
with the requirements of Rule R277-407, School Fees. 
 
R277-494-6.  Private or Home School Student Participation in 
Co-curricular Activities. 
 A private or home school student may participate in a co-
curricular activity at a public school in accordance with the dual 
enrollment provisions of [r]Rule R277-438. 
 
KEY:  extracurricular, co-curricular, activities, student 
participation 
Date of Last Change:  2023[December 16, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 15, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4); 53G-6-704(5); 53G-6-705(6) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-530 Filing ID:  
55660 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-530.  Utah Effective Educator Standards 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being repealed because it will be superseded 
by Rule R277-330, the updated Effective Educator 
Standards rule. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R277-330 is 
under ID 55655 in this issue, September 1, 2023, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  There are no 
changes to the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) 
budgets associated with the repeal of Rule R277-530 and 
change to Rule R277-330. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  There are 
no changes to Local Education Agency (LEA) budgets 
associated with the update of educator standards. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This only 
affects the USBE, LEAs, and educators. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 

not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed repeal is not expected to have 
any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures because there are no applicable non-small 
businesses, and it does not require any expenditures of, 
or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
This only affects USBE, LEAs, and educators. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  
There are no costs for educators or LEAs associated with 
Rule R277-530 being superseded by Rule R277-330.  The 
educator standards outline acceptable conduct by 
teachers and administrators. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Subsection 
53E-3-501(1)(a)(i) 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-530.  Utah Effective Educator Standards. 
R277-530-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Subsections 53E-3-501(1)(a)(i) and (ii), which require 
the Board to establish rules and minimum standards for the 
qualification and certification of educators and for required school 
administrative and supervisory services. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish: 
 (a)  statewide effective teaching standards for Utah public 
education teachers; 

 (b)  statewide educational leadership standards for Utah 
public education administrators; and 
 (c)  statewide educational school counselor standards for 
Utah public education school counselors. 
 
R277-530-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Educator" means an individual licensed by the Board 
under Section 53E-6-102(8). 
 (2)  "School administrator" means an educator serving in a 
position that requires a Utah Educator License with an Educator 
Leadership license area of concentration and who supervises Level 2 
educators. 
 (3)  "The Utah Effective Educator Standards" means: 
 (a)  the Effective Teaching Standards described in R277-
530-5; 
 (b)  the Educational Leadership Standards described in 
R277-530-6; and 
 (c)  the Educational School Counselor Standards described 
in R277-530-7. 
 
R277-530-3.  Board Expectations for Effective Teaching, 
Educational Leadership, and Educational School Counselor 
Standards. 
 (1)  The Board hereby establishes the Effective Educator 
Standards as the foundation of educator development, which 
includes: 
 (a)  alignment of teacher and school administrator 
preparation programs; 
 (b)  expectations for licensure; and 
 (c)  the screening, hiring, induction, and mentoring of 
beginning teachers, school administrators, and other licensed 
educators. 
 (2)  The Board uses the Effective Educator Standards to 
direct and ensure the implementation of Utah's Core Standards. 
 (3)  The Board relies on the Effective Educator Standards 
as the basis for an evaluation system and tiered-licensing system. 
 (4)  The Board's model educator assessment system, for use 
by LEAs, is based on the Effective Educator Standards. 
 (5)  The Board provides resources, including professional 
learning, which assist LEAs in integrating the Effective Educator 
Standards into educator practices. 
 
R277-530-4.  LEA Responsibilities for Effective Educator 
Standards. 
 (1)  An LEA shall develop policies to support educators, 
school administrators, and school counselors in implementation of 
the Effective Educator Standards. 
 (2)  An LEA shall develop professional learning 
experiences and professional learning plans for relicensure using the 
Effective Educator Standards to assess educator progress toward 
implementation of the standards. 
 (3)  An LEA shall adopt formative and summative educator 
assessment systems based on the Effective Educator Standards to 
facilitate educator growth toward expert practice. 
 (4)  An LEA shall use the Effective Educator Standards as 
a basis for the development of a collaborative professional culture to 
facilitate student learning. 
 (5)  An LEA shall implement induction and mentoring 
activities for beginning teachers and school administrators that 
support implementation of the Effective Educator Standards. 
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R277-530-5.  Effective Teaching Standards. 
 (1)  The Effective Teaching Standards focus on the high-
leverage concepts of: 
 (a)  personalized learning for diverse learners; 
 (b)  a strong focus on application of knowledge and skills; 
 (c)  improved assessment literacy; 
 (d)  a collaborative professional culture; and 
 (e)  leadership roles for teachers. 
 (2)  Utah educators shall demonstrate the following skills 
and work functions designated in the following ten standards: 
 (a)  Learner Development - An educator understands 
cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional, and physical areas of student 
development; 
 (b)  Learning Differences - An educator understands 
individual learner differences and cultural and linguistic diversity; 
 (c)  Learning Environments - An educator works with 
learners to create environments that support individual and 
collaborative learning, encouraging positive social interaction, active 
engagement in learning, and self motivation; 
 (d)  Content Knowledge - An educator understands the 
central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline; 
 (e)  Assessment - An educator uses multiple methods of 
assessment to engage learners in their own growth, monitor learner 
progress, guide planning and instruction, and determine whether the 
outcomes described in content standards have been met; 
 (f)  Instructional Planning - An educator plans instruction 
to support students in meeting rigorous learning goals by drawing 
upon knowledge of content areas, core curriculum standards, 
instructional best practices, and the community context; 
 (g)  Instructional Strategies - An educator uses various 
instructional strategies to ensure that all learners develop a deep 
understanding of content areas and their connections, and build skills 
to apply and extend knowledge in meaningful ways; 
 (h)  Reflection and Continuous Growth - An educator is a 
reflective practitioner who uses evidence to continually evaluate and 
adapt practice to meet the needs of each learner; 
 (i)  Leadership and Collaboration - An educator is a leader 
who engages collaboratively with learners, families, colleagues, and 
community members to build a shared vision and supportive 
professional culture focused on student growth and success; and 
 (j)  Professional and Ethical Behavior - An educator 
demonstrates the highest standards of legal, moral, and ethical 
conduct as required in the Utah Educator Professional Standards 
described in Rule R277-217. 
 
R277-530-6.  Educational Leadership Standards. 
 (1)(a)  The Board expects that school administrators shall 
meet the standards of effective teaching and have the knowledge and 
skills to guide and supervise the work of educators, lead the school 
learning community, and manage the school's learning environment 
in order to provide effective, high quality instruction to all of Utah's 
students. 
 (b)  The Educational Leadership Standards focus on: 
 (i)  visionary leadership; 
 (ii)  advocacy for high levels of student learning; 
 (iii)  leading professional learning communities; and 
 (iv)  the facilitation of school and community 
collaboration. 
 (2)  In addition to meeting the standards of an effective 
teacher, school administrators shall demonstrate the following traits, 
skills, and work functions designated in the following six standards: 

 (a)  Visionary Leadership - A school administrator 
promotes the success of every student by facilitating the 
development, articulation, implementation, and stewardship of a 
vision of learning that is largely shared and supported by 
stakeholders; 
 (b)  Teaching and Learning - A school administrator 
promotes the success of every student by advocating, nurturing and 
sustaining a school focused on teaching and learning conducive to 
student, faculty, and staff growth; 
 (c)  Management for Learning - A school administrator 
promotes the success of every student by ensuring management of 
the organization, operation, and resources for a safe, efficient, and 
effective learning environment; 
 (d)  Community Collaboration - A school administrator 
promotes the success of every student by collaborating with faculty, 
staff, parents, and community members, responding to diverse 
community interests and needs and mobilizing community resources; 
 (e)  Ethical Leadership - A school administrator promotes 
the success of every student by acting with, and ensuring a system of, 
integrity, fairness, equity, and ethical behavior; and 
 (f)  Systems Leadership - A school administrator promotes 
the success of every student by understanding, responding to, and 
influencing the interrelated systems of political, social, economic, 
legal, policy, and cultural contexts affecting education. 
 
R277-530-7.  Educational School Counselor Standards. 
 In addition to meeting the Effective Teaching Standards 
described in Section R277-530-5 and the Educational Leadership 
Standards described in Section R277-530-6, an educational school 
counselor shall demonstrate the following traits, skills, and work 
functions designated in the following seven standards: 
 (1)  Collaboration, Leadership and Advocacy - An 
educational school counselor is a leader who engages collaboratively 
with learners, families, colleagues, and community members to build 
a shared vision and supportive professional culture focused on 
student growth and success; 
 (2)  Collaborative Classroom Instruction - An educational 
school counselor delivers a developmental and sequential guidance 
curriculum prioritized according to the results of the school needs 
assessment; 
 (3)  The Plan for College and Career Readiness Process - 
An educational school counselor implements the individual planning 
component by guiding individuals and groups of students and their 
parents or guardians through the development of educational and 
career plans; 
 (4)  Systemic Approach to Dropout Prevention with Social 
and Emotional Supports - An educational school counselor provides 
responsive services through the effective use of individual and small-
group counseling, consultation and referral skills and implements 
programs for student support in dropout prevention; 
 (5)  Data-Driven Accountability and Program Evaluation - 
An educational school counselor collects and analyzes data to guide 
program direction and emphasis; 
 (6)  Systemic School Counseling Program Management - 
An educational school counselor is involved in management 
activities that establish, maintain and enhance the total school 
counseling program; and 
 (7)  Professional and Ethical Behavior - An educational 
school counselor demonstrates the highest standard of legal, moral 
and ethical conduct, as required in the Utah Educator Professional 
Standards described in R277-217. 
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KEY:  educators, effectiveness, leadership, standards 
Date of Last Change:  October 11, 2016 
Notice of Continuation:  June 4, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-501(1)(a)(i) and (ii); 53E-3-401(4)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-550 Filing ID:  
55661 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-550.  Charter Schools - Definitions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended due to recent amendments to 
related charter school rules. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
These rule amendments add definitions for large and small 
expansions. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 

The rule change differentiates charter school expansions 
as "small" and "large" and may save a small amount of 
administrative time for the Utah State Board of Education 
(USBE) and the State Charter School Board.  The USBE 
is unable to quantify the administrative savings at this time. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  Expanding 
charter schools may see a small savings in administrative 
time. 
 
There are no added costs for expanding charter schools 
or other Local Education Agencies (LEAs). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This only 
affects USBE and expanding charter schools. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
This only affects USBE and expanding charter schools. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  This 
only affects USBE and expanding charter schools. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 53E-3-401 Section 53G-5-205 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-550.  Charter Schools - Definitions. 
R277-550-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Title 53G, Chapter 5, Charter Schools, which allows 
the Board to make rules governing aspects of operations of charter 
schools. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish definitions for 
rules governing charter schools. 
 (3)  The definitions contained in this rule apply to Rules 
R277-550 through R277-555. 
 
R277-550-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Amendment" means a change or addition to a charter 
agreement. 
 (2)  "Authorizer" means an entity approved to authorize the 
establishment of a charter school under Sections 53G-5-304 through 
53G-5-306. 
 (3)  "Charter school" means a public school created in 
accordance with the provisions of Title 53G, Chapter 5, Charter 
Schools. 
 (4)(a)  "Charter school agreement" or "Charter agreement" 
means a written agreement between a charter school and its 
authorizer containing the terms and conditions for the operation of a 
charter school. 
 (b)  The charter school agreement maintained by a charter 
school's authorizer is the final, official, and complete agreement. 
 (5)  "Charter school deficiency" means: 
 (a)  failure of a charter school to comply with its charter 
agreement, including governance, financial, academic, or operational 
obligations; 
 (b)  failure of a charter school to comply with the 
requirements of state or federal law or board rule; 
 (c)  failure of a charter school to meet terms established by 
the school's authorizer as part of a remediation process; or 
 (d)  fraud or misuse of funds by charter school governing 
board members or employees. 
 (6)  "Charter school governing board" means the local 
board that governs a charter school. 
 (7)  "Expansion" means: 
 (a)  an increase in the number of grade levels offered by a 
charter school identified by a single school number; or 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 59 

 (b)  an increase in the number of students for which a 
charter school identified by a single school number is authorized to 
receive funding. 
 (8)  "Large expansion" means a charter school's request for 
expansion if the expansion request: 
 (a)  is for more than 100 students; 
 (b)  would necessitate significant school remodel; or 
 (c)  is for more than one additional grade level. 
 (9)  "Market analysis" means a qualitative and quantitative 
analysis of the educational market near a proposed charter school, 
including: 
 (a)  the school's target demographics; 
 (b)  population and development trends in the area; 
 (c)  nearby competing public schools; 
 (d)  the proposed school's own forecasts, along with 
supporting data; and 
 (e)  any risks, barriers, or regulations that may impact a 
proposed school's success. 
 ([8]10)  "Mentor" means an individual or organization with 
expertise or demonstrated competence, approved by the State Charter 
School Board to advise charter schools in the Mentoring Program. 
 ([9]11)  "Mentoring program" means the State Charter 
School Board mentoring program. 
 ([10]12)  "New school" means any school receiving a new 
school number, including a new charter school, or a new satellite 
school. 
 ([11]13)  "Net lease adjusted debt burden ratio" means a 
school's cumulative annual debt service payments, inclusive of loans 
and facility lease payments, divided by the school's unrestricted 
annual operating revenue. 
 ([12]14)  "Non-operating charter school" means a charter 
school that has not received minimum school program funds or 
federal funds and is not providing educational services during a fiscal 
year, such as a charter school in a start-up period. 
 ([13]15)  "Operating charter school" means a charter school 
that has received minimum school program funds or federal funds 
and is providing educational services during a fiscal year. 
 ([14]16)  "Probation" means a written formal action and 
notification through which a school is required to demonstrate the 
school's compliance with the authorizer's probationary requirements. 
 ([15]17)  "Restricted revenue" means the same as the term 
is defined in Section 63J-1-102. 
 ([16]18)  "Satellite school" means a charter school 
affiliated with an existing charter school physically located within 
[the state of ]Utah that: 
 (a)  has the same governing board as the existing charter 
school; 
 (b)  has the same authorizer as the existing charter school; 
 (c)  may have a similar or different program of instruction 
or grades served from the existing charter school; 
 (d)  is located at a different site or in a different 
geographical area than the existing charter school; and 
 (e)  has a separate school number than the existing charter 
school. 
 ([17]19)  "School number" means a number assigned by the 
Superintendent in accordance with National Center for Education 
Statistics criteria that identifies a distinct school within an LEA. 
 (20)  "Significant school remodel" means new construction 
or a renovation that requires a project number from the Board as 
described in Rule R277-471. 
 (21)  "Small expansion" means a charter school's request 
for expansion if the expansion request: 

 (a)  is for 50-100 students; 
 (b)  would not necessitate a significant school remodel; and 
 (c)  is for no more than one additional grade. 
 ([18]22)  "State Charter School Board" means the board 
established in Section 53G-5-201. 
 ([19]23)  "Unrestricted revenue" means revenue that is: 
 (a)  not restricted revenue; or 
 (b)  restricted revenue that may be used for purposes of 
paying for annual debt service payments, including loans and facility 
lease payments. 
 ([20]24)  "Utah Consolidated Application" or "UCA" 
means the web-based grants management tool employed by the 
Superintendent through which LEAs submit plans and budgets for 
approval by the Superintendent or Board. 
 ([21]25)  "Utah eTranscript and Record Exchange" or 
"UTREx" has the same meaning as described in Subsection R277-
484-2([11]17). 
 
KEY:  education, charter schools 
Date of Last Change:  2023[February 9, 2021] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401; 53G-5-205 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-554 Filing ID:  
55662 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-554.  State Charter School Board Grants and 
Mentoring Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended due to recent amendments to 
related charter school rules. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments update language for the Start-up grant 
and broadens the allowable uses of charter school start-
up and implementation grant funds. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures.  The rule 
change broadens uses for the charter school start-up and 
implementation grant funds. 
 
It does not add any costs for the Utah State Board of 
Education (USBE) or other state entities.  
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  Small and 
large expanding charter schools can now qualify for 
charter school startup and implementation grants. 
 
Previously, expanding charter schools would need to use 
fund balances or other financing to fund expansions.  
There may be a savings to expanding charter schools, but 
USBE is unable to quantify the savings as it occurs on a 
case-by-case basis. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This only 
affects Local Education Agencies (LEAs) and USBE. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impacts on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
This only affects LEAs and USBE. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  This 
only affects LEAs and USBE. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 53E-3-401 Section 53G-5-205 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-554.  State Charter School Board Grants and Mentoring 
Program. 
R277-554-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; 
 (c)  Title 53G, Chapter 5, Charter Schools, which allows 
the Board to make rules governing aspects of operations of charter 
schools; and 
 (d)  Section 53F-2-705, which requires the Board to make 
rules regarding start-up and implementation grants and a mentoring 
program. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish rules for the State 
Charter School Board to operate: 
 (a)  a start-up and implementation grant for charter schools; 
and 
 (b)  a mentoring program for charter schools. 
 
R277-554-2.  Charter School Start-up and Implementation 
Grants. 
 (1)  A charter school that desires to receive State Charter 
School Board start-up and implementation grant funds shall comply 
with the requirements of this [S]section[ R277-554-2]. 
 (2)  To receive a State Charter School Board start-up or 
implementation grant, a charter school may be eligible if the charter 
school: 
 (a)  meets the requirements of Section 53G-5-404; 

 (b)  has a finalized charter agreement with the school's 
authorizer; 
 (c)  submits an application for the grant within six months 
of approval by the school's authorizer; and 
 (d)  demonstrates a plan to use the funds within the next 
two full school years. 
 (3)  New, [replication, ]large and small expansions, and 
satellite schools may be eligible for start-up and implementation 
grant funds. 
[ (4)  A charter school may not receive start-up and 
implementation grant funds for school expansion.] 
 ([5]4)  Only schools that have not received state start-up or 
implementation grant funds in prior years are eligible. 
 ([6]5)  The State Charter School Board shall determine 
amounts and conditions for distribution of state start-up or 
implementation grant funds. 
 ([7]6)  Grant funds may only be used for allowable 
expenditures as established by the State Charter School Board annual 
application form. 
 ([8]7)  Grant recipients shall participate in monitoring 
activities and shall provide monitoring information to the 
Superintendent, as directed. 
 ([9]8)(a)  A charter school shall repay grant funds to the 
State Charter School Board if recipients change to non-charter status 
within ten years of receiving grant funds. 
 (b)  The State Charter School Board may grant an exception 
to the requirements of Subsection (9)(a) for a school that converts 
status, due to either federal or state law requirements, for academic 
purposes. 
 
R277-554-3.  Charter School Mentoring Program. 
 (1)  The State Charter School Board shall identify critical 
mentoring needs of charter schools and, through an appropriate 
procurement process, allocate mentoring funds to one or more 
qualified individuals or organizations to meet identified needs. 
 (2)  Mentoring program participants shall provide 
information to the State Charter School Board as requested. 
 (3)  A participating mentor shall submit an annual program 
report to the State Charter School Board. 
 (4)  The State Charter School Board shall evaluate the 
mentoring program annually. 
 
KEY:  charter schools, startup, implementation, mentoring 
Date of Last Change:  2023[January 9, 2019] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401; 53G-5-205 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R381-60 Filing ID:  
55615 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child Care Center Licensing 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 

(MASOB) 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Simon Bolivar 801-
803-
4618 

sbolivar@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R381-60.  Hourly Child Care Centers 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this amendment is to update language, 
clarify processes, and update citations following the 
consolidation and recodification of the Department of 
Health and Human Services' statute in 2023 General 
Session. 
 
Additionally, this amendment incorporates changes based 
on the input and approval of the Child Care Licensing 
Committee. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment adds clarifying language compliant with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Additionally, this aligns terminology and processes with 
current enforcement standards.  It also updates citations 
following the recodification and consolidation of the 
Department of Health and Human Services' statute. 
 
Substantive changes include new language to comply with 
S.B. 123 retitling "Childcare Licensing Committee" to 
"Childcare Licensing Provider Committee". 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
State government process was thoroughly reviewed.  This 
change will not impact the current process for licensure 
and re-licensure surveys. 
 
No change to the state budget is expected because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards. 

 
Substantive changes add clarification with no fiscal impact 
to enforcement or state government. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The Child Care Center Licensing (Agency) does not 
expect any costs or savings to the local governments 
caused by the proposed rule amendments because they 
are mostly changes that will facilitate and clarify the current 
process. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The Agency does not expect any costs or savings to small 
businesses caused by the proposed rule amendments 
because they are mostly changes that will facilitate and 
clarify the current process. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The Agency does not expect any costs or savings to non-
small businesses caused by the proposed rule 
amendments because they are mostly changes that will 
facilitate and clarify the current process. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Agency does not expect any costs or savings to other 
persons caused by the proposed rule amendments 
because they are mostly changes that will facilitate and 
clarify the current process. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There will be no costs generated by the proposed rule 
changes because they are mostly changes that will 
facilitate and clarify the current process. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-2-402   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/09/2023 

R381.  Health and Human Services, Child Care Center 
Licensing.[ Committee.] 
R381-60.  Hourly Child Care Centers. 
R381-60-1.  Legal Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is enacted and enforced in accordance with 
[Title 26, Chapter 39, Utah Child Care Licensing Act.]Section 26B-
2-402. 
 (2)  This rule establishes the foundational standards 
necessary to protect the health and safety of children in hourly child 
care centers and defines the general procedures and requirements to 
get and maintain a license to provide child care. 
 
R381-60-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Applicant" means a person or business who has 
applied for a new or a renewal of a license from Child Care Licensing. 
 (2)  "Background Finding" means information in a 
background check that Child Care Licensing uses to determine if a 
covered individual is or is not eligible to be involved with child care. 
 (3)  "Barrier" means an enclosing structure [such 
as]including a fence, wall, bars, railing, or solid panel to prevent 
accidental or deliberate movement through or access to something. 
 (4)  "Body Fluid" means blood, urine, feces, vomit, mucus, 
or saliva. 
 (5)  "Business Days and Hours" means the days of the week 
and times the facility is open for business. 
 (6)  "Caregiver" means a covered individual who protects 
the health and safety of children. A covered individual is a caregiver 
when they: 
 (a)  count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; 
 (b)  meet the physical or emotional needs of the children, 
including diapering, toileting, feeding, or protecting them from harm; 
or 
 (c)  supervise children. 
 (7)  "Capacity" means the maximum number of children 
the provider is allowed to care for at any given time. 
 (8)  " Caregiver-to-Child Ratio" means the number of 
caregivers responsible for a specific number of children. 
 (9)  "CCL" means the Child Care Licensing Program under 
the Office of Licensing that is delegated with the responsibility to 
enforce the [Utah Child Care Licensing Act.]rules under Titles R381 
and R430. 
 (10)  "Child Care" means continuous care and supervision 
of [five]one or more qualifying children that is: 
 (a)  in place of care ordinarily provided by a parent in the 
parent's home; 
 (b)  for less than 24 hours a day; and 
 (c)  for direct or indirect compensation. 
[ (11)  "Child Care Center Licensing Committee" means the 
Child Care Center Licensing Committee created in the Utah Child 
Care Licensing Act.] 
 (1[2]1)  "Child Care Program" means a person or business 
that offers child care. 
 (12)  "Child Care Provider Licensing Committee" means 
the Child Care Provider Licensing Committee created in Section 
26B-1-414. 
 (13)  "Choking Hazard" means an object or a removable 
part on an object with a diameter of less than 1-1/4 inches and a length 
of less than 2-1/4 inches that could be caught in a child's throat 
blocking their airway and making it difficult or impossible to breathe. 
 (14)  "Conditional Status" means that the provider is at risk 
of losing their child care license because compliance with licensing 
any laws or administrative rules has not been maintained. 
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 (15)  "Covered Individual" means any of the following 
individuals involved with a child care program: 
 (a)  an owner; 
 (b)  a director; 
 (c)  a member of the governing body; 
 (d)  an employee; 
 (e)  a caregiver; 
 (f)  a volunteer, except a parent of a child enrolled in the 
child care program; 
 (g)  an individual age 12 years old or older who resides in 
the facility; and 
 (h)  anyone who has unsupervised contact with a child in 
care. 
 (16)  "Crib" means an infant's bed with sides to protect 
them from falling including a bassinet, porta-crib, or play pen. 
 (17)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. 
 (18)  "Designated Play Surface" means any accessible 
elevated surface for standing, walking, crawling, sitting or climbing; 
or an accessible flat surface at least two by two inches in size and 
having an angle less than 30 degrees from horizontal. 
 (19)  "Director" means an individual who meets the director 
qualifications in this rule, and who assumes the child care program's 
day-to-day responsibilities for compliance with Child Care Licensing 
rules. 
 (20)  "Eligible" means that there were no findings in a 
covered individual's background check that [c]would prohibit that 
covered individual from being involved with child care. 
 (21)  "Emotional Abuse" is defined in Subsection R512-80-
2(12) and also means behavior that could harm a child's emotional 
development, [such as]including threatening, intimidating, 
humiliating, demeaning, criticizing, rejecting, using profane 
language, or using inappropriate physical restraint. 
 (22)  "Entrapment Hazard" means an opening greater than 
3-1/2 by 6-1/4 inches and less than nine inches in diameter where a 
child's body could fit through but the child's head could not fit 
through, potentially causing a child's entrapment and strangulation. 
 (23)  "Facility" means a child care program or the premises 
approved by the department to be used for child care. 
 (24)  "Group" means the children who the provider assigns 
to one or more caregivers for their care and supervision.[ are assigned 
to and supervised by one or more caregivers.] 
 (25)  "Group Size" means the total number of children in a 
group per room or area. 
 (26)  "Guest" means an individual who is not a covered 
individual and is at the child care facility for a short time with the 
provider's permission. 
 (27)  "Health Care Provider" means a licensed health 
professional, [such as]including a physician, dentist, nurse 
practitioner, or physician's assistant. 
 (28)  "Homeless" means anyone who lacks a fixed, regular, 
and adequate nighttime residence. 
 (29)  "Inaccessible" means out of reach of children by 
being: 
 (a)  locked, [such as]including in a locked room, cupboard, 
or drawer; 
 (b)  secured with a child safety device, [such as]including 
a child safety cupboard lock or doorknob device; 
 (c)  behind a properly secured child safety gate; 
 (d)  located at least 36 inches above the floor; or 
 (e)  if in a bathroom, at least 36 inches above any surface 
from where a child could stand or climb. 

 (30)  "Infant" means a child who is younger than 12 months 
old. 
 (31)  "Infectious Disease" means an illness that is capable 
of being spread from one individual to another. 
 (32)  "Involved with Child Care" means to do any of the 
following at or for a child care program: 
 (a)  care for or supervise children; 
 (b)  volunteer; 
 (c)  own, operate, direct; 
 (d)  reside; 
 (e)  count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; or 
 (f)  have unsupervised contact with a child in care. 
 (33)  "License" means a license issued by the department 
to provide child care services. 
 (34)  "Licensee" means the legally responsible person or 
business that holds a valid license from [Child Care Licensing]the 
department. 
 (35)  "LIS Supported Finding" means a supported finding 
of child abuse or neglect [background check information from]in the 
Licensing Information System (LIS) database for child abuse and 
neglect, maintained by the [Utah D]department[ of Human Services]. 
 (36)  "Older Toddler" means a child age 18 through 23 
months old. 
 (37)  "Over-the-Counter Medication" means medication 
that an individual can purchase [can be bought ]without a written 
prescription including herbal remedies, vitamins, and mineral 
supplements. 
 (38)  "Parent" means the parent or legal guardian of a child 
in care. 
 (39)  "Person" means an individual or a business entity. 
 (40)  "Physical Abuse" is defined in Subsection R512-80-
2(25) and also means causing nonaccidental physical harm to a child. 
 (41)  "Play Equipment Platform" means a flat surface on a 
piece of stationary play equipment intended for more than one child 
to stand on, and upon which the children can move freely. 
 (42)  "Preschooler" means a child age two through four 
years old. 
 (43)  "Protective Barrier" means a structure [such 
as]including bars, lattice, or a panel that is around an elevated 
platform and is intended to prevent accidental or deliberate 
movement through or access to something. 
 (44)  "Protective Cushioning" means a shock-absorbing 
surface under and around play equipment that reduces the severity of 
injuries from falls. 
 (45)  "Provider" means the legally responsible person or 
business that holds a valid license or certification from [Child Care 
Licensing]the department. 
 (46)  "Qualifying Child" means: 
 (a)  a child who is younger than 13 years old and is the child 
of an individual other than the child care provider or caregiver; 
 (b)  a child with a disability who is younger than 18 years 
old and is the child of an individual other than the provider or 
caregiver; or 
 (c)  a child who is younger than four years old and is the 
child of the provider or a caregiver. 
 (47)  "Related Child" means a child for whom a provider is 
the parent, legal guardian, step[-]parent, grandparent, step-
grandparent, great-grandparent, sibling, step-sibling, aunt, step-aunt, 
great-aunt, uncle, step-uncle, or great-uncle. 
 (48)  "Room" is defined [by the department ]as follows: 
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 (a)  i[I]f a large room is divided into smaller rooms or areas 
with barriers [such as]including furniture or with half walls, the room 
or area is considered: 
 ([a]i)  [O]one room, if the room is divided by a solid barrier 
that is less than 24 inches, whether the barrier is movable or 
immovable[.]; 
 ([b]ii)  [O]one room, if the room is divided by a solid 
barrier that is between 24 and 40 inches in height and there is an 
opening in the barrier through which caregivers and children can 
move freely[.]; 
 ([c]iii)  [T]two rooms, if the room is divided by a solid 
barrier that is between 24 and 40 inches in height and there is no 
opening in the barrier through which caregivers and children can 
move freely, or there is an opening between the two sides but the 
opening is blocked [such as]including with a child safety gate, 
including [.  This also applies to ]a diaper changing station that is 
located behind a closed gate[.]; 
 ([d]iv)  [T]two rooms, if the room is divided by a solid 
barrier that is over 40 inches in height and there is no opening in the 
barrier through which caregivers and children can move freely, or 
there is an opening between the two sides but the opening is blocked 
[such as]including with a child safety gate[.]; or[  If there is an 
opening through which caregivers and children can move freely and 
the opening is not blocked, refer to the instructions for a large 
opening, archway, or doorway.] 
 (v)  if there is an opening through which caregivers and 
children can move freely and the opening is not blocked, refer to the 
instructions for a large opening, archway, or doorway; 
 (b)  i[I]f two rooms or areas are connected by a large 
opening, archway, or doorway, the rooms or areas are considered: 
 ([e]i)  [O]one room, if the width of the opening or archway 
is equal to or greater than the combined width of the walls on each 
side of the opening or archway, in the larger of the two rooms or 
areas, and there is no furniture or other dividers blocking the opening 
or archway[.  O], otherwise the department shall consider this to be 
two rooms[.]; or 
 ([f]ii)  [T]two rooms, if the width of the opening or archway 
is smaller than the combined width of the walls on each side of the 
opening or archway, in the larger of the two rooms or areas[.]; and 
 (c)  i[I]f in outdoor areas separated by interior fences, the 
department considers it: 
 ([g]i)  [O]one area, if the interior fence is lower than 24 
inches in height, whether or not the fence has an opening[.]; 
 ([h]ii)  [O]one area, if the interior fence is 40 inches or 
lower in height with an opening through which caregivers and 
children can move freely[.]; 
 (iii)  [T]two areas if the interior fence is higher than 24 
inches and there is no opening[.]; or 
 ([j]iv)  [T]two areas, if the interior fence is higher than 40 
inches whether or not the fence has an opening. 
 (49)  "Sanitize" means to use a product or process to reduce 
contaminants and bacteria to a safe level. 
 (50)  "School-Age Child" means a child age five through 
12 years old. 
 (51)  "Sexual Abuse" is defined in Subsection R512-80-
2(30) and also means to take indecent liberties with a child with the 
intention to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of an individual or to 
cause pain or discomfort. 
 (52)  "Sexually Explicit Material" means any depiction of 
actual or simulated sexually explicit conduct. 
 (53)  "Sleeping Equipment" means a cot, mat, crib, 
bassinet, porta-crib, playpen, or bed. 

 (54)  "Stationary Play Equipment" means equipment [such 
as]including a climber, slide, swing, merry-go-round, or spring 
rocker that is meant to stay in one location when a child uses it.  
Stationary play equipment does not include: 
 (a)  a sandbox; 
 (b)  a stationary circular tricycle; 
 (c)  a sensory table; or 
 (d)  a playhouse that sits on the ground or floor and does 
not have an attached slide, swing, or climber. 
 (55)  "Strangulation Hazard" means something on which a 
child's clothes or drawstrings could become caught, or something in 
which a child could become entangled [such as]including: 
 (a)  a protruding bolt end that extends more than two 
threads beyond the face of the nut; 
 (b)  hardware that forms a hook or leaves a gap or space 
between components [such as]including a protruding open S-hook; 
or 
 (c)  a rope, cord, or chain that is attached to a structure and 
is long enough to encircle a child's neck. 
 (56)  "Unsupervised Contact" means being with, caring for, 
communicating with, or touching a child in the absence of a caregiver 
or other employee who is at least 18 years old and is considered 
eligible by CCL[has passed a Child Care Licensing background 
check]. 
 (57)  "Use Zone" means the area beneath and surrounding 
a play structure or piece of equipment that is designated for 
unrestricted movement around the equipment, and onto which a child 
falling from or exiting the equipment could be expected to land. 
[ (58)  "Volunteer" means an individual who receives no 
form of direct or indirect compensation for their service.] 
 (5[9]8)  "Working Days" means the days of the week the 
department is open for business. 
 ([60]59)  "Younger Toddler" means a child age 12 through 
17 months old. 
 
R381-60-3.  License Required. 
 (1)  A person shall [be licensed as ]obtain a license for an 
hourly child care center from the department if they provide care: 
 (a)  in the absence of the child's parent; 
 (b)  in a place other than the provider's home or the child's 
home; 
 (c)  for five or more unrelated children; 
 (d)  for four or more hours per day, and no child is cared for 
on a regular schedule; 
 (f)  for each individual child for less than 24 hours a day; 
 (f)  on an ongoing basis for four or more weeks in a year; 
and 
 (g)  for direct or indirect compensation. 
 (2)  A person who [is not required to be licensed]does not 
meet licensing requirements may voluntarily become licensed, 
except for care that is for related children only or on a sporadic basis. 
 (3)  [A provider may be licensed to provide child care in a 
facility that is also licensed to offer foster or respite care services, or 
another licensed or certified human services program if the part of 
the building requesting a CCL license is physically separated from 
the other building services.]The department may license a provider 
to provide child care in a facility that the department licensed to offer 
foster or respite care services, or another licensed or certified human 
services program, if the part of the building requesting a CCL license 
is physically separate from the other building services. 
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R381-60-4.  License Application, Renewal, Changes, and 
Variances. 
 (1)  Each applicant for a new child care license shall: 
 (a)  submit a CCL online application; 
 (b)  submit a copy of a current local fire clearance or a 
written statement from the local fire authority that a fire inspection is 
not required; 
 (c)  submit a copy of a current local health department 
kitchen clearance for a facility providing food service or a written 
statement from the local health department that a kitchen inspection 
is not required; 
 (d)  submit a copy of a current local business license or a 
written statement from the city that a business license is not required; 
 (e)  submit a copy of the educational credentials of the 
individual who will be the director as required in Section R381-60-
7; 
 (f)  complete CCL background checks for covered 
individuals as required in Section R381-60-8; 
 (g)  complete CCL new provider training no more than six 
months before becoming licensed; and 
 (h)  pay any required fees, [which]that are nonrefundable. 
 (2)  Each applicant shall pass a department's inspection of 
the facility before a new license or a renewal is issued. 
 (3)  If the local fire authority states in writing that an 
applicant for a new license or a renewal does not require a fire 
inspection, the department shall verify the applicant's compliance 
with the following: 
 (a)  address numbers and letters are readable from the 
street; 
 (b)  exit doors operate properly and are well maintained; 
 (c)  there are no obstructions in exits, aisles, corridors, and 
stairways; 
 (d)  exit doors are unlocked from the inside during business 
hours; 
 (e)  exits are clearly identified; 
 (f)  there is at least one unobstructed fire extinguisher on 
each level of the building, currently charged and serviced, and 
mounted not more than five feet above the floor; 
 (g)  there are working smoke detectors that are properly 
installed on each level of the building; and 
 (h)  boiler, mechanical, and electrical panel rooms are not 
used for storage. 
 (4)  If an applicant for a new license or a renewal serves 
food and the local health department states in writing that a kitchen 
inspection is not required, the department shall verify the applicant's 
compliance with the following: 
 (a)  the refrigerator is clean, in good repair, and working at 
or below 41 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (b)  there is a working thermometer in the refrigerator; 
 (c)  there is a working stem thermometer available to check 
cooking and hot hold temperatures; 
 (d)  cooks have a current food handler's permit available 
on-site for review by the department; 
 (e)  cooks use hair restraints and wear clean outer clothing; 
 (f)  only necessary staff are present in the kitchen; 
 (g)  reusable food holders, utensils, and food preparation 
surfaces are washed, rinsed, and sanitized before each use; 
 (h)  chemicals are stored away from food and food service 
items; 
 (i)  food is properly stored, kept to the proper temperature, 
and in good condition; and 

 (j)  there is a working handwashing sink in the kitchen and 
handwashing instructions posted by the sink. 
 (5)(a)  Each applicant for a new license shall [have 
]complete the licensing process within six months from the time any 
portion of the application is submitted to the department.[finish the 
licensing process. If unsuccessful, the applicant shall reapply. Any 
resubmission must include the required documentation, payment of 
licensing fees, and a new inspection of the facility to be licensed.] 
 (b)  If successful licensure is not achieved by the applicant 
within six months, the applicant shall reapply. 
 (c)  Any resubmission shall include the required 
documentation and payment of licensing fees. 
 (d)  The department shall conduct a new inspection of the 
facility before issuing a license. 
 (6)  The department may deny an application for a license 
if, within the five years preceding the application date, the applicant 
held a license or a certificate that was: 
 (a)  closed under an immediate closure; 
 (b)  revoked; 
 (c)  closed as a result of a settlement agreement resulting 
from a notice of intent to revoke, a notice of revocation, or a notice 
of immediate closure; 
 (d)  voluntarily closed after an inspection of the facility 
found a rule violation that would have resulted in a notice of intent to 
revoke or a notice of revocation had the provider not closed 
voluntarily; or 
 (e)  voluntarily closed having unpaid fees or civil money 
penalties issued by the department. 
 (7)  Each child care license expires at midnight on the last 
day of the month shown on the license, unless the department revokes 
the license[ was previously revoked by the department,] or the 
provider voluntarily closes the license[d by the provider]. 
 (8)  Within 30 to 90 days before a current license expires, 
each provider shall submit for renewal: 
 (a)  an online renewal request; 
 (b)  applicable renewal fees; 
 (c)  any previous unpaid fees; and 
 (d)  a copy of a current fire inspection report. 
 (9)  The department may grant a provider who fails to 
renew their license by the expiration date an additional 30 days to 
complete the renewal process if the provider pays a late fee. 
 (10)  The department may deny renewal of a license for a 
provider who is no longer caring for children. 
 (11)  Each provider shall submit a complete application for 
a new license at least 30 days before any of the following changes 
occur: 
 (a)  a change of the child care facility's location; or 
 (b)  a change that transfers 50% or more ownership or 
controlling interest to a new individual or entity. 
 (12)  A provider shall submit a complete online changes 
request to amend an existing license at least 30 days before any of the 
following changes: 
 (a)  an increase or decrease of licensed capacity, including 
any change to the amount of usable indoor or outdoor space where 
child care is provided; 
 (b)  a change in the name of the program; 
 (c)  a change in the regulation type of the program; 
 (d)  a change in the name of the provider; 
 (e)  an addition or loss of a director; or 
 (f)  a change in ownership that does not require a new 
license. 
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 (13)  The department may amend a license after verifying 
that the applicant is in compliance with any applicable rules and has 
paid the required fees.[ have been paid.]  The expiration date of the 
amended license remains the same as the previous license. 
 (14)  Only the department may assign, transfer, or amend a 
license. 
 (15)(a)  If an applicant or provider cannot comply with a 
rule under Rule R381-40 but can meet the intent of the rule in another 
way, the applicant or provider may apply for a variance to that rule 
by submitting a request to the department. 
 ([16]b)  The department may: 
 ([a]i)  require additional information before acting on [the]a 
variance request; and 
 ([b]ii)  impose health and safety requirements as a 
condition of granting a variance. 
 ([17]c)  Each provider shall comply with the existing 
[rules]Rule R381-40 [until ]unless the department approves a 
variance.[ is approved by the department.] 
 ([18]d)  If [a]the department approves a variance[ is 
approved], the provider shall keep a copy of the written approval on-
site for review by parents and the department. 
 ([19]e)  The department may grant variances for up to 12 
months. 
 ([20]f)  The department may revoke a variance if: 
 ([a]i)  the provider is not meeting the intent of the rule as 
stated in their approved variance; 
 ([b]ii)  the provider fails to comply with the conditions of 
the variance; or 
 ([c]iii)  a change in statute, rule, or case law affects the basis 
for the variance. 
 
R381-60-5.  Rule [Violations]Noncompliance, Penalties, and 
[Appeals]Agency Action Reviews. 
 (1)  The department may place a program's child care 
license on a conditional status for the following causes: 
 (a)  chronic, ongoing noncompliance with rules; 
 (b)  unpaid fees; or 
 (c)  a serious rule violation that places children's health or 
safety in immediate jeopardy. 
 (2)  The department shall establish the length of the 
conditional status and set the conditions that the child care provider 
shall satisfy to remove the conditional status. 
 (3)  The department may increase monitoring of the 
program that is on conditional status to verify compliance with rules. 
 (4)  The department may deny or revoke a license if the 
child care provider: 
 (a)  fails to meet the conditions of a license on conditional 
status; 
 (b)  violates [the Child Care Licensing Act]any part of Title 
26B, Chapter 2, Part 4, Child Care Licensing; 
 (c)  provides false or misleading information to the 
department; 
 (d)  misrepresents information by intentionally altering a 
license or any other document issued by the department; 
 (e)  fails to allow authorized representatives of the 
department access to the facility to ensure compliance with this rule; 
 (f)  fails to submit or make available to the department any 
written documentation required to verify compliance with this rule; 
 (g)  commits a serious rule violation that results in death or 
serious harm to a child, or that places a child at risk of death or serious 
harm; or 

 (h)  has committed an illegal act that would exclude an 
individual from having a license. 
 (5)  Within ten working days of receipt of a revocation 
notice, the provider shall submit to the department the names and 
mailing addresses of the parents of each enrolled child so the 
department can notify the parents of the revocation. 
 (6)  The department may order the immediate closure of a 
facility if conditions create a clear and present danger to any child in 
care and may require immediate action to protect the children's health 
or safety. 
 (7)  Upon receipt of an immediate closure notice, the 
provider shall give the department the names and mailing addresses 
of the parents of each enrolled child so the department can notify the 
parents of the immediate closure. 
 (8)  If there is a severe injury or the death of a child in care, 
the department may order a child care provider to suspend services 
and prohibit new enrollments, pending a review by the DHHS Child 
Fatality Review Committee or a determination of the probable cause 
of death or injury by a medical professional. 
 [(9)  If a person is providing care for more than four 
unrelated children without the appropriate license, the department 
may: 
 (a)  issue a cease and desist order; or 
 (b)  allow the person to continue operation if: 
 (i)  the person was unaware of the need for a license; 
 (ii)  conditions do not create a clear and present danger to 
the children in care; and 
 (iii)  the person agrees to apply for the appropriate license 
within 30 calendar days of notification by the department.](9)  An 
unlicensed person providing care that requires a license may be 
charged with a civil money penalty and a class A misdemeanor unless 
they: 
 (a)  stop providing child care that requires a license; or 
 (b)  apply for the appropriate license within 30 calendar 
days of notification by the department. 
 (10)  If a person providing care without the appropriate 
license agrees to apply for a license but does not submit an 
application and the required application documents within 30 days, 
the department may issue a cease and desist order. 
 (11)  A violation of any rule is punishable by an 
administrative civil money penalty of up to $5,000 a day as provided 
in Section [26-39-601]26B-2-409. 
 (12)  The department may assess a civil money penalty and 
also take action to deny, place on conditional status, revoke, 
immediately close, or refuse to renew a license. 
 (13)  The department may deny an application or revoke a 
license for failure to pay any required fees, including fees for 
applications, late fees, returned checks, license changes, additional 
inspections, conditional monitoring inspections, background checks, 
civil money penalties, and other fees assessed by the department. 
 (14)  An applicant or provider may request an agency 
review for[ hearing to appeal] any department decision within [15]ten 
working days of being informed in writing of the decision. 
 
R381-60-6.  Administration and Children's Records. 
 (1)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  be at least 21 years old; 
 (b)  be considered eligible by a CCL background check 
before becoming involved with child care; and 
 (c)  complete the new provider training offered by the 
department. 
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 (2)  If the owner is not a sole proprietor, the business entity 
shall submit to the department the name and contact information of 
the individual or individuals who shall legally represent them and 
who shall comply with the requirements stated in Subsection R381-
60-6(1). 
 (3)  The provider shall protect children from conduct that 
endangers children in care, or is contrary to the health, [morals, 
]welfare, and safety of the public. 
 (4)  The provider shall know and comply with each 
applicable federal, state, and local law, ordinance, and rule, and [shall 
be]is responsible for the operation and management of a child care 
program. 
 (5)  The provider shall comply with licensing rules any time 
a child in care is present. 
 (6)  The provider shall post their unaltered child care 
license on the facility premises in a place readily visible and 
accessible to the public. 
 (7)  The provider shall post a current copy of the 
department's Parent Guide at the facility for parent review during 
business hours. 
 (8)  The provider shall inform parents and the department 
of any changes to the program's telephone number and other contact 
information within 48 hours of the change. 
 (9)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  have liability insurance; or 
 (b)  inform parents in writing that the provider does not 
have liability insurance. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that a parent completes an 
admission and health assessment form for their child before the child 
is admitted into the child care program. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that each child's admission 
and health assessment form includes the following information: 
 (a)  child's name; 
 (b)  child's date of birth; 
 (c)  parent's name, address, and phone number, including a 
daytime phone number; 
 (d)  names of individuals authorized by the parent to sign 
the child out from the facility; 
 (e)  name, address, and phone number of an individual to 
be contacted if an emergency happens and the provider cannot 
contact the parent; 
 (f)  any special health instructions for the caregiver; and 
 (g)  certification that immunizations for the child are 
current or an exemption for foster children and children who are 
homeless. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that the admission and 
health assessment form is: 
 (a)  signed by the parent; and 
 (b)  kept on-site for review by the department. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that each child's information 
is [kept ]confidential and not released without written parental 
permission except to the department. 
 
R381-60-7.  Personnel and Training Requirements. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that employees and 
volunteers are supervised, qualified, and trained to: 
 (a)  meet the needs of the children as required by rule; and 
 (b)  be in compliance with licensing requirements under 
Rule R381-60. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that the center has a qualified 
director as required by licensing rules. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the director: 

 (a)  is at least 21 years old; 
 (b)  is considered eligible by a CCL background check 
before becoming involved with child care; 
 (c)  [receives at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice training 
before beginning job duties;]if hired after January 1, 2023, has 
completed the 2-1/2 hour preservice training offered by the 
department; 
 (d)  completes the new director training offered by the 
department within 60 working days of assuming director duties; 
 (e)  knows and follows any applicable laws and 
requirements under Rule R381-60; and 
 (f)  completes at least [10]ten hours of child care training 
each year based on the facility's license date, or at least 45 minutes of 
child care training each month they work if hired partway through the 
facility's licensing year. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that each new director has 
one of the following educational credentials: 
 (a)  any bachelor's or higher education degree, and at least 
60 clock hours of [approved Utah Early Childhood Career Ladder 
courses]coursework in child development, social and emotional 
development, and the child care environment[;], or 60 clock hours of 
equivalent training as approved by the department; 
 (b)  at least 12 college credit hours of child development 
courses; 
 (c)  a currently valid national certification [such 
as]including a Certified Childcare Professional [(CCP) ]issued by the 
National Child Care Association, a Child Development Associate 
[(CDA) ]issued by the Council for Early Childhood Professional 
Recognition, or other equivalent credential as approved by the 
department; 
 (d)  at least [a Level 9 from the Utah Early Childhood 
Career Ladder system]an associate degree in early childhood 
development or related field; or 
 (e)  a National Administrator Credential [(NAC) ]and at 
least 60 clock hours of [approved Utah Early Childhood Career 
Ladder courses]course work in child development, social and 
emotional development, and the child care environment[;], or 60 
clock hours of equivalent training as approved by the department. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that there is a director 
designee with authority to act on behalf of the director in the 
director's absence. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that the director designee: 
 (a)  is at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  is considered eligible by a CCL background check 
before becoming involved with child care; 
 (c)  [receives at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice training]if 
hired after January 1, 2023, has completed the 2-1/2 hour preservice 
training offered by the department before beginning job duties; 
 (d)  knows and follows any applicable laws and 
requirements under Rule R381-60; 
 (e)  completes at least [10]ten hours of child care training 
each year based on the facility's license date, or at least 45 minutes of 
child care training each month they work if hired partway through the 
facility's licensing year; and 
 (f)  has current first aid and cardio pulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR) certification. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that the director or the 
director designee is present at the facility when the center is open for 
care. 
 (8)  The provider shall have on-site for review by the 
department documentation of having employees who are on call and, 
when needed, can arrive at the facility within 20 minutes. 
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 (9)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers: 
 (a)  are at least 16 years old; 
 (b)  are considered eligible by a CCL background check 
before becoming involved with child care; 
 (c)  [receive at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice 
training]complete the 2-1/2 hour preservice training offered by the 
department before caring for children; 
 (d)  know and follow any applicable laws and requirements 
under Rule R381-60; 
 (e)  are introduced to other program staff and to the 
caregiver's assigned group of children; 
 (f)  review the information in each child's health assessment 
in the caregiver's assigned group, including allergies, food 
sensitivities, and other individual needs; and 
 ([e]g)  complete at least [10]ten hours of child care training 
each year, based on the facility's license date, or at least 45 minutes 
of child care training each month they work if hired partway through 
the facility's licensing year. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that any other staff [such 
as]including drivers, cooks, and clerks: 
 (a)  are considered eligible by a CCL background check 
before becoming involved with child care; 
 (b)  [receive at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice 
training]complete the 2-1/2 hour preservice training offered by the 
department before beginning job duties; and 
 (c)  know and follow any applicable laws and requirements 
under Rule R381-60. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that volunteers are 
[considered ]eligible by a CCL background check before becoming 
involved with child care. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that student interns who are 
registered and participating in a high school or college child care 
course and guests wear a guest nametag. 
 (1[4]3)  The provider shall ensure that household members 
who are: 
 (a)  12 to 17 years old are considered eligible by a CCL 
background check; and 
 (b)  18 years old or older are [considered ]eligible by a CCL 
background check that includes fingerprints. 
 (1[5]4)  The provider shall ensure that individuals who 
provide Individualized Educational Plan [(IEP) ]or Individualized 
Family Service plan [(IFSP) ]services [such as]including physical, 
occupational, or speech therapists: 
 (a)  provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or to a child at the facility; and 
 (b)  have received the child's parent's permission for 
services to take place at the facility. 
 (1[6]5)  The provider shall ensure that individuals from law 
enforcement, Child Protective Services, the department, and any 
similar entities provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or to a child at the facility. 
 [(17)  The provider shall ensure that preservice training 
includes at least the following topics: 
 (a)  job description and duties; 
 (b)  current department rule Sections R381-60-7 through 
R381-60-24; 
 (c)  disaster preparedness, response, and recovery; 
 (d)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (e)  children with special needs; 
 (f)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials; 

 (g)  prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (h)  principles of child growth and development, including 
brain development; 
 (i)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 
trauma, and coping with crying babies; 
 (j)  prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 
the use of safe sleeping practices; 
 (k)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance; 
 (l)  a review of the information in each child's health 
assessment in the caregiver's assigned group, including allergies, 
food sensitivities, and other special needs; and 
 (m)  an introduction and orientation to the children in 
care.](16)  The provider shall ensure that each covered individual 
required to complete preservice training receives the 2-1/2 hour 
preservice training offered by the department that includes at least the 
following topics: 
 (a)  applicable laws and requirements under Rule R381-60; 
 (b)  children whose special needs may include disabilities; 
 (c)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance; 
 (d)  building and physical premises safety; 
 (e)  prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (f)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (g)  emergency preparedness, response, and recovery plan; 
 (h)  prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 
and allergy reactions; 
 (i)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials and 
bio contaminants; 
 (j)  prevention and control of infectious diseases including 
immunizations; 
 (k)  administration of medication; 
 (l)  child  and brain development, including the social, 
emotional, physical, cognitive, and language principles of child 
growth; 
 (m)  precautions in transporting children; 
 (n)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome, abusive head 
trauma, child maltreatment, and coping with crying babies; and 
 (o)  prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and the 
use of safe sleeping practices. 
[ (18)  The provider shall keep documentation of each 
individual's preservice training on-site for review by the department 
and shall ensure that documentation includes at least the following: 
 (a)  training topics; 
 (b)  date of the training; and 
 (c)  total hours or minutes of training.] 
 (1[9]7)  The provider shall ensure that annual child care 
training includes at least the following topics: 
 (a)  current department rule Sections R381-60-7 through 
R381-60-24; and 
 [(b)  disaster preparedness, response, and recovery; 
 (c)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (d)  children with special needs; 
 (e)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials; 
 (f)  the prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
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 (g)  principles of child growth and development, including 
brain development; 
 (h)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 
trauma, and coping with crying babies; 
 (i)  prevention of SIDS and use of safe sleeping practices; 
and 
 (j)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance.](b)  each topic listed in Subsections R381-60-7(16)(a) 
through (o). 
 ([20]18)  The provider shall ensure that documentation of 
each individual's annual child care training is [kept ]on-site for 
review by the department and includes the following: 
 (a)  training topic; 
 (b)  date of the training; 
 (c)  name of the individual or organization that presented 
the training; and 
 (d)  total hours or minutes of training. 
 ([21]19)  The provider shall ensure that at least one staff 
member with a current Red Cross, American Heart Association, or 
equivalent pediatric first aid and CPR certification is present when 
children are in care: 
 (a)  at the facility; 
 (b)  in each vehicle transporting children; and 
 (c)  at each offsite activity. 
 (2[2]0)  The provider shall ensure that CPR certification 
includes hands-on testing. 
 (2[3]1)  The provider shall ensure that the following 
records for each covered individual are [kept ]on-site for review by 
the department: 
 (a)  the date of initial employment or association with the 
program; 
 (b)  a current pediatric first aid and CPR certification, if 
required in this rule; and 
 (c)  a six-week record of the times worked each day. 
 
R381-60-8.  Background Checks. 
[ (1)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved 
with child care in the program, the provider shall use the CCL 
provider portal search to: 
 (a)  verify that the individual is eligible; and 
 (b)  associate that individual with their facility if the 
covered individual appears in the search.] 
 (1)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved 
with child care, the provider shall use the CCL provider portal search 
to verify that the individual is eligible and: 
 (a)  associate that individual with their facility; or 
 (b)  not associate the individual if the individual is 
associated with another CCL facility and the new individual will be 
at the facility for no more than one business day. 
 (2)  Before a new covered individual who does not appear 
in the CCL provider portal search becomes involved with child care 
in the program, the provider shall: 
 (a)  [have ]require the individual to submit an online 
background check form and fingerprints for individuals age 18 years 
old and older; 
 (b)  authorize the individual's background check through 
the CCL provider's portal; 
 (c)  pay any required fees; and 
 (d)  receive written notice from CCL that the individual is 
eligible. 
 (3)  To keep their background check eligibility current, the 
provider shall require a covered individual to submit a new 

background check form, fingerprints, and fees if the covered 
individual has[also ensure that a new background check form and 
fingerprints are submitted and authorized and fees are paid for any 
covered individual who has]: 
 (a)  resided outside of Utah since their last background 
check was completed; 
 (b)  not been associated with an active, CCL approved child 
care facility within the past 180 days; or 
 (c)  [has ]turned 18 years old and has not previously 
submitted fingerprints for a CCL background check[.], except 
[If]when the 18-year-old has previously submitted fingerprints for a 
CCL background check, then only a new background check form will 
be required. 
 (4)  Within ten working days from when a child who resides 
in the facility turns 12 years old, the provider shall: 
 (a)  ensure that an online background check form is 
submitted; 
 (b)  authorize the child's background check through the 
CCL provider's portal; and 
 (c)  pay any required fees. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that fingerprints are prepared 
by a local law enforcement agency or an agency approved by local 
law enforcement. 
 (6)  If a covered individual submits fingerprints [are 
submitted ]electronically through live scan, the provider shall ensure 
that the agency taking the fingerprints is one that follows the 
department's guidelines. 
 (7)  The department may consider a covered individual not 
eligible for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  LIS supported findings; 
 (b)  the covered individual's name appears on the Utah or 
national sex offender registry; 
 (c)  the covered individual refuses to consent to the criminal 
background check; 
 (d)  the covered individual knowingly makes a false 
statement in connection with their background check; 
 (e)  any felony convictions; or 
 (f)  for any of the reasons listed under Subsection R381-60-
8(8). 
 (8)  The department may also consider a covered individual 
not eligible for any of the following convictions regardless of 
severity: 
 (a)  child pornography; 
 (b)  sexual enticing of a minor; 
 (c)  voyeurism; 
 (d)  a sexual exploitation act; 
 (e)  pornographic material or performance; 
 (f)  any crime against an individual; 
 (g)  providing dangerous weapons or fire arms to a minor; 
or 
 (h)  driving under the influence [(DUI) ]while a child is 
present in the vehicle. 
 (9)  The department shall consider a covered individual 
eligible if the only background finding is a conviction or plea of no 
contest to a nonviolent drug offense that occurred ten or more years 
before the CCL background check[ was conducted]. 
 (10)  If the provider is [considered ]not eligible by CCL, 
the department may suspend or deny their license until the reason for 
the background check finding is resolved. 
 (11)  If a covered individual is considered not eligible by 
CCL, including that the individual has been convicted, has pleaded 
no contest, or is currently subject to a plea in abeyance or diversion 
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agreement for a felony or misdemeanor, the provider shall prohibit 
that individual from being employed by the child care program or 
residing at the facility until the reason for the background check 
finding is resolved. 
 (12)  If the department denies a covered individual [is 
denied ]a license or employment by the provider based upon the 
criminal background check and disagrees with the information 
provided by the Department of Public Safety, the covered individual 
may appeal the information to the Department of Public Safety. 
 (13)  [If a covered individual disagrees with a supported 
finding on the Department of Human Services LIS, the covered 
individual may appeal the finding to the Department of Human 
Services. 
 (14)  ]The provider and the covered individual shall notify 
the department within 48 hours of becoming aware of the covered 
individual's arrest warrant, felony or misdemeanor arrest, charge, 
conviction, or supported LIS finding.  Failure to notify the 
department within 48 hours may result in disciplinary action, 
including revocation of the license. 
 (1[5]4)  The Executive Director of the department, or their 
designee may overturn a CCL background check decision if they 
[Executive Director ]determine[s] that the nature of the background 
finding or mitigating circumstances do not pose a risk to children. 
 
R381-60-9.  Facility. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least 35 square 
feet of indoor space for each child in care, including the provider's 
and employees' children. 
 (2)  The department may include floor space used for 
furniture, fixtures, or equipment as indoor space per child if the 
furniture, fixture, or equipment is used: 
 (a)  by children; 
 (b)  for the care of children; or 
 (c)  to store materials for children. 
 (3)  The department may not include the following areas 
when measuring indoor space for children's use: 
 (a)  bathrooms; 
 (b)  closets and staff lockers; 
 (c)  hallways; 
 (d)  lobbies and entryways; 
 (e)  kitchens; and 
 (f)  staff offices. 
[ (4)  The department may limit the maximum allowed 
capacity for a child care facility based on local ordinances.] 
 ([5]4)  The provider shall ensure that the number of 
children in care at any given time does not exceed the capacity 
identified on the license. 
 ([6]5)  The provider shall ensure that any building or play 
structure on the premises constructed before 1978 that has peeling, 
flaking, chalking, or failing paint is tested for lead.  If lead-based 
paint is found, the provider shall contact their local health department 
within five working days and follow required procedures for 
remediation of the lead hazard. 
 ([7]6)  The provider shall ensure that each room and indoor 
area that is used by children is ventilated by mechanical ventilation, 
or by windows that open and have screens. 
 ([8]7)  The provider shall ensure that rooms and areas have 
adequate light intensity for the safety of the children and the type of 
activity being conducted. 
 ([9]8)  The provider shall maintain the indoor temperature 
between 65 and 82 degrees Fahrenheit. 

 ([10]9)  The provider shall ensure that there is a working 
telephone at the facility, in each vehicle while transporting children, 
and during offsite activities. 
 (1[1]0)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least one 
working handwashing sink used exclusively for handwashing that is 
accessible to the children. 
 (1[2]1)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least one 
working toilet and one working sink for each group of one to 25 
children in the center who are two years old and older. 
 (1[3]2)  The provider shall ensure that there is a bathroom 
that provides privacy available for use by school-age children. 
 (1[4]3)  If there is an outdoor area used by the children in 
care, the provider shall ensure that the area: 
 (a)  is safely accessible to children; 
 (b)  has at least 40 square feet of space for each child using 
the area at one time; and 
 (c)  is enclosed within a fence, wall, or solid natural barrier 
that is at least four feet high and that has no gap five by five inches 
or greater in or under. 
 (1[5]4)  The provider shall ensure that when outdoors: 
 (a)  children are in an enclosed area, except during offsite 
activities; and 
 (b)  there is shade available to protect the children from 
excessive sun and heat. 
 (1[6]5)  If there is a swimming pool on the premises that 
the provider does [is ]not empty[ied] after each use, the provider 
shall: 
 (a)  meet applicable state and local laws and ordinances 
related to the operation of a swimming pool; 
 (b)  maintain the pool in a safe manner; and 
 (c)  when not in use, cover the pool with a commercially-
made safety enclosure that is installed according to the 
manufacturer's instructions, or enclose the pool within at least a four-
foot-high fence or solid barrier that is kept locked and that separates 
the pool from any other areas on the premises. 
 (1[7]6)  The provider shall maintain buildings and outdoor 
areas in good repair and safe condition including: 
 (a)  ceilings, walls, and floor coverings; 
 (b)  lighting, bathroom, and other fixtures; 
 (c)  draperies, blinds, and other window coverings; 
 (d)  indoor and outdoor play equipment; 
 (e)  furniture, toys, and materials accessible to the children; 
and 
 (f)  entrances, exits, steps, and walkways including keeping 
them free of ice, snow, and other hazards. 
 (1[8]7)  The provider shall ensure that accessible raised 
decks or balconies that are five feet or higher, and open stairwells that 
are five feet or deeper have protective barriers that are at least three 
feet high. 
 (1[9]8)  If the facility is subdivided, any part of the building 
is rented out, or any area of the facility is shared including the outdoor 
area, the department may inspect the entire facility and the provider 
shall ensure that covered individuals in the facility comply with the 
rules, except when[ the following conditions are met]: 
 (a)  there is a separate entrance for the child care program; 
 (b)  there are no connecting interior doorways that can be 
used by unauthorized individuals; and 
 (c)  there is no shared access to the outdoor area used for 
child care. 
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R381-60-10.  Ratios and Group Size. 
 (1)  As listed in Table 1 for any group of children, the 
provider shall: 
 (a)  maintain at least the number of caregivers and not 
exceed the number of children in the caregiver-to-child ratio; and 
 (b)  not exceed the group sizes. 
 

TABLE 1 
Caregiver-to-Child Ratios 

Number 
of 
caregivers 

Number of 
Children 

Limits for Mixed Ages 

1 4 per group No more than 4 children 
younger than 2 years old 

1 12 per group No children younger than 
2 years old 

1 8 per group 2 children younger than 2 
years old 

1 6 in the facility 3 children younger than 2 
years old 

2 24 per group No children younger than 
2 years old 

2 16 per group 4 Children younger than 2 
years old 

 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that there are at least two 
caregivers with a mixed-age group if: 
 (a)  there are more than six children in the facility; 
 (b)  there are more than two infants or toddlers included in 
the mixed-age group; and 
 (c)  the group has more than six children total. 
 (3)  When caring for children younger than two years old, 
the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  there are no more than four children with one caregiver; 
and 
 (b)  children are cared for in an area that is physically 
separated from older children. 
 (4)  If there is only one caregiver in the facility and no 
children younger than two years old are present, the provider can be 
temporarily out of ratio if: 
 (a)  a second caregiver arrives within 20 minutes from 
when the 13th child arrived[,]; and 
 (b)  the total number of children present does not exceed 
16. 
 (5)  The provider shall include the provider's and 
employees' children age four years old or older in care: 
 (a)  in the group size when the parent of the child is working 
at the facility; and 
 (b)  in the group size and the caregiver-to-child ratio when 
the parent of the child is not working at the facility. 
 (6)  The provider may include caregivers, student interns 
who are registered in a high school or college child care course, and 
volunteers who are 16 or 17 years old in the caregiver-to-child ratio. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that guests do not count in 
caregiver-to-child ratios. 
 
R381-60-11.  Child Supervision and Security. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers provide and 
maintain active supervision of each child, including: 
 (a)  for children younger than five years old, a caregiver is 
physically present in the room or area with the children; 

 (b)  for school-age children, a caregiver can hear the 
children and is close enough to intervene; 
 (c)  caregivers know the number of children in their care at 
any time; 
 (d)  caregivers' attention is focused on the children and not 
on caregivers' personal interests; 
 (e)  caregivers are aware of the entire group of children 
even when interacting with a smaller group or an individual child; 
and 
 (f)  caregivers position themselves so each child in their 
assigned group is actively supervised. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that staff and household 
members who are 16 or 17 years old only have unsupervised contact 
with any child in care, including during offsite activities and 
transportation when: 
 (a)  they are left unsupervised for no more than two 
consecutive hours per group; 
 (b)  the director or the director designee is physically 
present and available as needed; and 
 (c)  they are not volunteers. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that staff, volunteers, and 
household members who are younger than 16 years old are not 
assigned to care for or supervise any child in care. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that student interns who are 
registered and participating in a high school or college child care 
course and guests do not have unsupervised contact with any child in 
care, including during offsite activities and transportation. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that parents of children in 
care do not have unsupervised contact with any child in care, except 
with their own children. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that when video cameras or 
mirrors are used to supervise napping children: 
 (a)  the napping room is adjacent to a non-napping room; 
 (b)  there is a staff member in the non-napping room; 
 (c)  cameras or mirrors are positioned so that the staff 
member can see and hear each child; 
 (d)  there is an open door without a barrier, [such 
as]including a gate, between the napping room and the non-napping 
room; and 
 (e)  the staff member moves children who wake up to the 
non-napping room. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that a blanket or other item 
is not placed over sleeping equipment in a way that prevents the 
caregiver from seeing the sleeping child. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that parents have access to 
their child and the areas used to care for their child when their child 
is in care. 
 (9)  To maintain security and supervision of children, the 
provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  each child is signed in and out in accordance with this 
section; 
 (b)  only parents or individuals with written authorization 
from the parent may sign-out a child; 
 (c)  photo identification is required if the individual signing 
the child out is unknown to the provider; 
 (d)  individuals signing children in and out use identifiers, 
[such as]including a signature, initials, or electronic code; 
 (e)  the sign-in and sign-out records include the date and 
time each child arrives and leaves; and 
 (f)  there is written permission from the child's parent if 
school-age children sign themselves in or out. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 73 

 (10)  In an emergency, the provider shall accept the parent's 
verbal authorization to release a child if the provider can confirm the 
identity of: 
 (a)  the individual giving verbal authorization; and 
 (b)  the individual picking up the child. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that a six-week record of 
each child's daily attendance, including sign-in and sign-out records, 
is kept on-site for review by the department. 
 
R381-60-12.  Child Guidance and Interaction. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that no child is subjected to 
physical, emotional, or sexual abuse while in care. 
 (2)  The provider shall inform parents, children, and those 
who interact with the children of the center's behavioral expectations 
and how any misbehavior will be handled. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that individuals who interact 
with the children guide children's behavior by using positive 
reinforcement, redirection, and by setting clear limits that promote 
children's ability to become self-disciplined. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers use gentle, 
passive restraint with children only when it is needed to protect 
children from injuring themselves or others, or to stop them from 
destroying property. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that interactions with the 
children do not include: 
 (a)  any form of corporal punishment or any action that 
produces physical pain or discomfort [such as]including hitting, 
spanking, shaking, biting, or pinching; 
 (b)  restraining a child's movement by binding, tying, or any 
other form of restraint that exceeds gentle, passive restraint; 
 (c)  shouting at children; 
 (d)  any form of emotional abuse; 
 (e)  forcing or withholding food, rest, or toileting; or 
 (f)  confining a child in a closet, locked room, or other 
enclosure [such as]including a box, cupboard, or cage. 
 (6)  Any individual who witnesses or suspects that a child 
has been subjected to abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall 
immediately notify Child Protective Services or law enforcement as 
required in [state law]Section 80-2-602. 
 
R381-60-13.  Child Safety and Injury Prevention. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that children and staff use 
[that ]the building, outdoor area, toys, and equipment safely and as 
intended by the manufacturer to prevent injury to children[are used 
in a safe manner and as intended by the manufacturer to prevent 
injury to children]. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that poisonous and harmful 
plants are inaccessible to children. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that sharp objects, edges, 
corners, or points that could cut or puncture skin are inaccessible to 
children. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that choking hazards are 
inaccessible to children younger than three years old. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that strangulation hazards 
[such as]including ropes, cords, chains, and wires attached to a 
structure and long enough to encircle a child's neck are inaccessible 
to children. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that tripping hazards [such 
as]including unsecured flooring, rugs with curled edges, or cords in 
walkways are inaccessible to children. 

 (7)  The provider shall ensure that empty plastic bags large 
enough for a child's head to fit inside, latex gloves, and balloons are 
inaccessible to children younger than five years old. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that standing water that 
measures two inches or deeper and five by five inches or greater in 
diameter is inaccessible to children. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that toxic or hazardous 
chemicals [such as]including cleaners, insecticides, lawn products, 
and flammable, corrosive, and reactive materials are: 
 (a)  inaccessible to children; 
 (b)  used according to manufacturer instructions; 
 (c)  stored in containers labeled with the contents of the 
container; and 
 (d)  disposed of properly. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that the following items are 
inaccessible to children: 
 (a)  matches or cigarette lighters; 
 (b)  open flames; 
 (c)  hot wax or other hot substances; and 
 (d)  when in use, portable space heaters, wood burning 
stoves, and fireplaces. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that the following items are 
inaccessible to children: 
 (a)  live electrical wires; and 
 (b)  for children younger than five years old, electrical 
outlets and surge protectors without protective caps or safety devices 
when not in use. 
 (12)  Unless used and stored [in compliance with the Utah 
Concealed Weapons Act or ]as [otherwise ]allowed by any state or 
federal law, the provider shall ensure that firearms [such as]including 
guns, muzzleloaders, rifles, shotguns, hand guns, pistols, and 
automatic guns are: 
 (a)  locked in a cabinet or area using a key, combination 
lock, or fingerprint lock; and 
 (b)  stored unloaded and separate from ammunition. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that weapons [such 
as]including paintball guns, BB guns, airsoft guns, sling shots, 
arrows, and mace are inaccessible to children. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that alcohol, illegal 
substances, and sexually explicit material are inaccessible, and not 
used on the premises, during offsite activities, or in center vehicles 
any time a child is in care. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that an outdoor source of 
drinking water, [such as]including individually labeled water bottles, 
a pitcher of water and individual cups, or a working water fountain is 
available to each child when the outside temperature is 75 degrees or 
higher. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that areas accessible to 
children are free of heavy or unstable objects that children could pull 
down on themselves, [such as]including furniture, unsecured 
televisions, and standing ladders. 
 (17)  The provider shall ensure that hot water accessible to 
children does not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (18)  The provider shall ensure that highchairs that are used 
by children have T-shaped safety straps or safety devices that are used 
when a child is in the chair. 
 (19)  The provider shall ensure that infant walkers with 
wheels are inaccessible to children. 
 (20)  The provider shall ensure that tobacco, e-cigarettes, 
e-juice, e-liquids, and similar products are inaccessible and, in 
compliance with Title 26, Chapter 38,[the] Utah Indoor Clean Air 
Act, are not used: 
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 (a)  in the facility or any other building when a child is in 
care; 
 (b)  in any vehicle that is being used to transport a child in 
care; 
 (c)  within 25 feet of any entrance to the facility or other 
building occupied by a child in care; or 
 (d)  in any outdoor area or within 25 feet of any outdoor 
area occupied by a child in care. 
 
R381-60-14.  Emergency Preparedness, Response, and Recovery. 
 (1)  The provider shall [have]develop and follow a written 
emergency preparedness, response, and recovery plan that: 
 (a)  includes procedures for evacuation, relocation, shelter 
in place, lockdown, communication with and reunification of 
families, and continuity of operations; 
 (b)  includes procedures for accommodations for infants 
and toddlers, children with disabilities, and children with chronic 
medical conditions; 
 (c)  includes instructions to follow in case of an allergy or 
serious reaction to food or any other trigger that may affect the child's 
health; 
 ([c]d)  is available for review by parents, staff, and the 
department during business hours; and 
 ([d]e)  is followed if an emergency happens, unless 
otherwise instructed by emergency personnel. 
 (2)  The provider shall post the center's street address and 
emergency numbers, including at least fire, police, and poison 
control, near each telephone in the center or in an area clearly visible 
to anyone needing the information. 
 (3)  The provider shall keep first aid supplies in the center, 
including at least antiseptic, bandages, and tweezers. 
 (4)  The provider shall conduct fire evacuation drills 
monthly and make sure drills include a complete exit of each child, 
staff, and volunteers from the building. 
 (5)  The provider shall document each fire drill, including: 
 (a)  the date and time of the drill; 
 (b)  the number of children participating; 
 (c)  the name of the individual supervising the drill; 
 (d)  the total time to complete the evacuation; and 
 (e)  any problems encountered and remediation. 
 (6)  The provider shall conduct drills for disasters other 
than fires at least once every six months. 
 (7)  The provider shall document each disaster drill, 
including: 
 (a)  the type of disaster, [such as]including earthquake, 
flood, prolonged power or water outage, or tornado; 
 (b)  the date and time of the drill; 
 (c)  the number of children participating; 
 (d)  the name of the individual supervising the drill; and 
 (e)  any problems encountered and remediation. 
 (8)  The provider shall vary the days and times [on which 
]when fire and other disaster drills are held. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep documentation of the previous 
12 months of fire and disaster drills on-site for review by the 
department. 
 (10)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  give parents a written report on the day of occurrence 
of each incident, accident, or injury involving their child; 
 (b)  ensure the report has the signatures of the caregivers 
involved, the center director or director designee, and the individual 
picking up the child; and 

 (c)  if school-age children sign themselves out of the center, 
send a copy of the report to the parent on the day following the 
occurrence. 
 (11)  If a child is injured and the injury appears serious but 
not life-threatening, the provider shall contact the child's parent 
immediately. 
 (12)  If a life-threatening injury to a child, or an injury that 
poses a threat of the loss of vision, hearing, or a limb happens, the 
provider shall: 
 (a)  call emergency personnel immediately; 
 (b)  contact the parent after emergency personnel are called; 
and 
 (c)  if the parent cannot be reached, try to contact the child's 
emergency contact individual. 
 (13)  If a child is injured while in care and receives medical 
attention, or for a child fatality, the provider shall: 
 (a)  submit a completed accident report form to the 
department within the next business day of the incident; or 
 (b)  contact the department within the next business day and 
submit a completed accident report form within five business days of 
the incident. 
 (14)  The provider shall keep a six-week record of each 
incident, accident, and injury report on-site for review by the 
department. 
 
R381-60-15.  Health and Infection Control. 
 (1)  The provider shall keep the building, furnishings, 
equipment, and outdoor area clean and sanitary including: 
 (a)  walls and flooring clean and free of spills, dirt, and 
grime; 
 (b)  areas and equipment used for the storage, preparation, 
and service of food clean and sanitary; 
 (c)  surfaces free of rotting food or a build-up of food; 
 (d)  the building and grounds free of a build-up of litter, 
trash, and garbage; 
 (e)  frequently touched surfaces, including doorknobs and 
light switches, cleaned and sanitized; and 
 (f)  the facility free of animal feces. 
 (2)  The provider shall take safe and effective measures to 
prevent and eliminate the presence of insects, rodents, and other 
pests. 
 (3)  The provider shall clean and sanitize any toys and 
materials used by children: 
 (a)  at least once a week or more often if needed; 
 (b)  after being put in a child's mouth and before another 
child plays with the toy; and 
 (c)  after being contaminated by a body fluid. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that fabric toys and items 
[such as]including stuffed animals, cloth dolls, pillow covers, and 
dress-up clothes are machine washable and if used, washed at least 
each week or as needed. 
 (5)  The provider shall clean and sanitize highchair trays 
before each use. 
 (6)  The provider shall clean and sanitize water play tables 
or tubs daily if used by the children. 
 (7)  The provider shall clean and sanitize bathroom surfaces 
including toilets, sinks, faucets, toilet and sink handles, and counters 
each day the facility is open for business. 
 (8)  The provider shall clean and sanitize potty chairs after 
each use. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep toilet paper in a dispenser that 
is accessible to children. 
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 (10)  The provider shall post handwashing procedures that 
are readily visible from each handwashing sink and shall ensure that 
each staff follow the procedures[ are followed]. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that staff and volunteers 
wash their hands thoroughly with liquid soap and running water: 
 (a)  upon arrival; 
 (b)  before handling or preparing food or bottles; 
 (c)  before and after eating meals and snacks or feeding a 
child; 
 (d)  after using the toilet or helping a child use the toilet; 
 (e)  after contact with a body fluid; 
 (f)  when coming in from outdoors; and 
 (g)  after cleaning up or taking out garbage. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers teach 
children how to wash their hands thoroughly and oversee 
handwashing when possible. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that children wash their 
hands thoroughly with liquid soap and running water: 
 (a)  upon arrival; 
 (b)  before and after eating meals and snacks; 
 (c)  after using the toilet; 
 (d)  after contact with a body fluid; 
 (e)  before using a water play table or tub; and 
 (f)  when coming in from outdoors. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that only single-use towels 
from a covered dispenser or an electric hand dryer is used to dry 
hands. 
 (15)  The provider shall store personal hygiene items, [such 
as]including toothbrushes, combs, and hair accessories separate, so 
they do not touch each other, and ensure they are not shared or they 
are sanitized between each use. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that pacifiers, bottles, and 
nondisposable drinking cups are: 
 (a)  labeled with each child's name or individually 
identified; and 
 (b)  not shared, or washed and sanitized before being used 
by another child. 
 (17)  The provider shall ensure the[at] prompt change of a 
child's clothing [is promptly changed ]if the child has a toileting 
accident. 
 (18)  The provider shall ensure that children's clothing that 
is wet or soiled from a body fluid is: 
 (a)  not rinsed or washed at the center; 
 (b)  placed in a leakproof container that is labeled with the 
child's name; and 
 (c)  returned to the parent, or thrown away with parental 
consent. 
 (19)  The provider shall take precautions when cleaning 
floors, furniture, and other surfaces contaminated by blood, urine, 
feces, or vomit, and ensure that, except for diaper changes and 
toileting accidents, staff cleaning these bodily fluids: 
 (a)  wear waterproof gloves; 
 (b)  clean the surface using a detergent solution; 
 (c)  rinse the surface with clean water; 
 (d)  sanitize the surface; 
 (e)  throw away in a leakproof plastic bag the disposable 
materials, [such as]including paper towels, that were used to clean up 
the body fluid; 
 (f)  wash and sanitize any nondisposable materials used to 
clean up the body fluid, [such as]including cleaning cloths, mops, or 
reusable rubber gloves, before reusing them; and 
 (g)  wash their hands after cleaning up the body fluid. 

 (20)  The provider may not care for a child who is ill with 
an infectious disease at the center except when the child shows signs 
of illness after arriving at the center. 
 (21)  If a child becomes ill while in care: 
 (a)  the provider shall contact the child's parent or, if the 
parent cannot be reached, an individual listed as the emergency 
contact to immediately pick up the child; and 
 (b)  if the child is ill with an infectious disease, the provider 
shall make the child comfortable in a safe, supervised area that is 
separated from the other children until the parent arrives. 
 (22)  If any child or employee has an infectious disease, an 
unusual or serious illness, or a sudden onset of an illness, the provider 
shall notify the local health department on the day the provider 
discovers the illness[ is discovered]. 
 (23)  If any staff member or child has an infectious disease 
or parasite, the provider shall post a notice at the center that: 
 (a)  does not disclose any personal identifiable information; 
 (b)  is posted in a conspicuous place where it can be seen 
by parents; 
 (c)  is posted and dated on the same day that the disease or 
parasite is discovered; and 
 (d)  remains posted for at least five business days. 
 (24)  To prevent contamination of food, the spread of 
foodborne illnesses, and other diseases, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  individuals who prepare food in the kitchen do not 
change diapers or help in toileting children; 
 (b)  caregivers who care for diapered children only prepare 
food for the children in their care, and they do not prepare food 
outside of the room used by the diapered children or prepare food for 
other children and adults in the facility; and 
 (c)  individuals with an infectious disease or showing 
symptoms [such as]including diarrhea, fever, coughing, or vomiting 
do not prepare or serve foods. 
 
R381-60-16.  Food and Nutrition. 
[ If food service is provided:] 
 (1)  The provider shall offer a meal or snack to each child 
age two years old and older at least once every three hours. 
 (2)  If the provider supplies food for children's meals or 
snacks[ is supplied by the provider], the provider shall ensure that[ 
the meal service meets local health department food service 
regulations.]: 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the individual who 
serves food to children: 
 (a)  is aware of the children in their assigned group who 
have food allergies or sensitivities; and 
 (b)  ensures that the children are not served the food or 
drink they are allergic or sensitive to. 
 (4)  The provider may not place children's food on a bare 
table, and shall serve children's food on dishes, napkins, or sanitary 
highchair trays, except an individual finger food [such as]including a 
cracker, [which]that may be placed directly in a child's hand. 
 (5)  If parents bring food and drink for their child's use, the 
provider shall ensure that the food is: 
 (a)  labeled with the child's name; 
 (b)  refrigerated if needed; and 
 (c)  consumed only by that child. 
 
R381-60-17.  Medications. 
 (1)  The provider shall lock nonrefrigerated medications or 
store them at least 48 inches above the floor. 
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 (2)  The provider shall lock refrigerated medications or 
store them at least 36 inches above the floor and, if liquid, store them 
in a separate leakproof container. 
 (3)  If parents supply any over-the-counter or prescription 
medications, the provider shall ensure those medications:[ are:] 
 (a)  are labeled with the child's full name; 
 (b)  are stored[kept] in the original or pharmacy container; 
 (c)  have the original label; and 
 (d)  have child safety caps. 
 (4)  The provider shall have a written medication 
permission form completed and signed by the parent before 
administering any medication supplied by the parent for their child. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that the medication 
permission form includes at least: 
 (a)  the name of the child; 
 (b)  the name of the medication; 
 (c)  written instructions for administration; and 
 (d)  the parent signature and the date signed. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that instructions for 
administering the medication include at least: 
 (a)  the dosage; 
 (b)  how the medication will be given; 
 (c)  the times and dates to administer the medication; and 
 (d)  the disease or condition being treated. 
 (7)  If the provider supplies an over-the-counter medication 
for children's use, the provider shall ensure that no staff administer 
the medication to any child [is not administered to any child ]without 
previous parental consent for each instance it is given. The provider 
shall ensure that the consent is: 
 (a)  written; or 
 (b)  verbal, if the date and time of the consent is 
documented and signed by the parent upon picking up their child. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that the staff administering 
the medication: 
 (a)  washes their hands; 
 (b)  check the medication label to confirm the child's name 
if the parent supplied the medication; 
 (c)  checks the medication label or the package to ensure 
that a child is not given a dosage larger than that recommended by 
the health care professional or manufacturer; and 
 (d)  administers the medication. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that immediately after 
administering a medication, the staff giving the medication records 
the following information: 
 (a)  the date, time, and dosage of the medication given; 
 (b)  any error in administering the medication or adverse 
reactions; and 
 (c)  their signature or initials. 
 (10)  The provider shall report to the parent a child's 
adverse reaction to a medication or error in administration of the 
medication immediately upon recognizing the reaction or error, or 
after notifying emergency personnel if the reaction is life-threatening. 
 (11)  The provider shall notify the parent before the 
scheduled medication dosage[ time a medication needs to be given] 
to a child if the provider chooses not to administer medication as 
instructed by the parent. 
 (12)  The provider shall keep a six-week record of 
medication permission and administration forms on-site for review 
by the department. 
 

R381-60-18.  Activities. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer daily activities that support 
each child's healthy physical, social, emotional, cognitive, and 
language development. 
 (2)  If an approved outdoor area is available, the provider 
shall ensure that daily activities include outdoor play as weather and 
air quality allow. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that physical development 
activities include light, moderate, and vigorous physical activity for 
a daily total of at least 15 minutes for every two hours children spend 
in the program. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that toys, materials, and 
equipment needed to support children's healthy development are 
available to the children. 
 (5)  Except for occasional special events, the provider shall 
ensure that the children's primary screen time activity on media [such 
as]including television, cell phones, tablets, and computers is: 
 (a)  not allowed for children zero to 17 months old; 
 (b)  limited for children 18 months to four years old to one 
hour a day, or five hours a week with a maximum screen time of two 
hours per activity; and 
 (c)  planned to address the needs of children five to 12 years 
old. 
 (6)  If the provider offers swimming activities [are offered 
]or if wading pools are used, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the parent gives permission before their child in care 
uses the pool; 
 (b)  caregivers stay at the pool supervising when a child is 
in the pool or has access to the pool, and when an accessible pool has 
water in it; 
 (c)  diapered children wear swim diapers when they are in 
the pool; 
 (d)  wading pools are emptied and sanitized after use by 
each group of children; 
 (e)  if the pool is over four feet deep, there is a lifeguard on 
duty who is certified by the Red Cross or other approved certification 
program any time children have access to the pool; and 
 (f)  lifeguards and pool personnel do not count toward the 
caregiver-to-child ratio. 
 (7)  If the provider offers swimming[offsite] activities [are 
offered]or if wading pools are used, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the parent gives written consent before each activity; 
 (b)  the required caregiver-to-child ratio and supervision 
are maintained during the entire activity; 
 (c)  first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
bandages, and tweezers are available; 
 (d)  children wear or carry with them the name and phone 
number of the center; 
 (e)  children's names are not used on nametags, t-shirts, or 
in other visible ways; and 
 (f)  there is a way for caregivers and children to wash their 
hands with soap and water, or with wet wipes and hand sanitizer if 
there is no source of running water. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure a caregiver with the children 
takes the written emergency information and releases for each child 
in the group on each offsite activity, and that the information includes 
at least: 
 (a)  the child's name; 
 (b)  the parent's name and phone number; 
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 (c)  the name and phone number of an individual to notify 
if an emergency happens and the parent cannot be contacted; 
 (d)  the names of people authorized by the parents to pick 
up the child; and 
 (e)  current emergency medical treatment and emergency 
medical transportation releases. 
 
R381-60-19.  Play Equipment. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that children using play 
equipment use it safely and in the manner intended by the 
manufacturer. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that the highest designated 
play surface on stationary play equipment used by infants or toddlers 
does not exceed three feet in height. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that swings used by infants 
or toddlers have enclosed seats. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that stationary play 
equipment has a surrounding use zone that extends from the 
outermost edge of the equipment and that, with the exception of 
swings, stationary play equipment that is: 
 (a)  used by infants or toddlers has at least a three-foot use 
zone if any designated play surface is higher than 18 inches; 
 (b)  used by preschoolers has at least a six-foot use zone if 
any designated play surface is higher than 20 inches; and 
 (c)  used by school-age children has at least a six-foot use 
zone if any designated play surface is higher than 30 inches. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone in the front 
and rear of a single-axis, enclosed swing extends at least twice the 
distance of the swing pivot point to the swing seat. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone in the front 
and rear of a single-axis swing extends at least twice the distance of 
the swing pivot point to the ground. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone for a multi-
axis swing, [such as]including a tire swing, extends: 
 (a)  at least the measurement of the suspending rope or 
chain plus three feet, if the swing is used by infants or toddlers; or 
 (b)  at least the measurement of the suspending rope or 
chain plus six feet, if the swing is used by preschoolers or school-age 
children. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone for a merry-
go-round extends at least six feet in any direction from its outermost 
edge. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone for a spring 
rocker extends: 
 (a)  at least three feet from the outermost edge of the rocker 
when at rest; or 
 (b)  at least six feet from the outermost edge of the rocker 
when at rest if the seat is higher than 20 inches, and the rocker is used 
by preschoolers or school-age children. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that the following use zones 
do not overlap the use zone of any other piece of play equipment: 
 (a)  the use zone in front of a slide; 
 (b)  the use zone in the front and rear of any single-axis 
swing, including a single-axis enclosed swing; 
 (c)  the use zone of a multi-axis swing; and 
 (d)  the use zone of a merry-go-round if the platform 
diameter measures 20 inches or more. 
 (11)  Unless prohibited in Subsection R381-60-19(10), the 
provider shall ensure that the use zones of play equipment only 
overlap when: 

 (a)  the equipment is used by infants or toddlers, and there 
is at least three feet between the pieces of equipment; or 
 (b)  the equipment is used by preschoolers or school-age 
children and there is at least six feet between the pieces of equipment 
if the designated play surface is 30 inches or lower, or there is at least 
nine feet between the pieces of equipment if the designated play 
surface is higher than 30 inches. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that, when in use, stationary 
play equipment is not placed on a hard surface [such as]including 
concrete, asphalt, dirt, or the bare floor. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that protective cushioning 
covers the entire surface of each required use zone and that its depth 
or thickness is determined by the highest designated play surface of 
the equipment. 
 (14)  If the provider uses sand, gravel, or shredded tires[ are 
used] as protective cushioning, the provider shall: 
 (a)  ensure that the cushioning is periodically checked for 
compaction and loosened to the depth listed in Table 2 if compacted; 
 (b)  if the material cannot be loosened due to extreme 
weather conditions, not allow children to play on the equipment until 
the material can be loosened to the required depth; and 
 (c)  ensure that the depth of the material meets the 
guidelines in Table 2. 
 

TABLE 2 
Depths of Protective Cushioning Required for sand, Gravel, and 

Shredded Tires and Rubber Products 
Highest 
Designated 
Play 
Surface, 
Climbing 
Bar, or 
Swing 
Pivot Point 

Fine 
sand 

Coarse 
Sand 

Fine 
Gravel 

Medium 
Gravel 

Shredded 
Tires and 
Rubber 
Products 

Up to 5' 
high 

6" 6" 6" 6" 6" 

Over 5' up 
to 6' 

6" 9" 6" 9" 6" 

Over 6' up 
to 9' 

9" Not 
allowe
d 

9" Not 
allowed 

6" 

Over 9' up 
to 10' 

Not 
allow
ed 

Not 
allowe
d 

9" Not 
allowed 

6" 

Over 10' up 
to 12' 

Not 
allow
ed 

Not 
allowe
d 

Not 
allowe
d 

Not 
allowed 

6" 

 
 (15)  If the provider uses sand, gravel, or shredded [wood 
products]tires[ are used] as protective cushioning, the provider shall: 
 (a)  keep on-site for review by the department 
documentation from the manufacturer that the wood product is 
protective cushioning; 
 (b)  ensure there is adequate drainage under the material; 
and 
 (c)  ensure the depth of the shredded wood meets the 
guidelines in Table 3. 
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TABLE 3 
Depths of Protective Cushioning Required for Shredded 

Wood Products 
Highest 
Designated Play 
Surface, 
Climbing Bar, 
or Swing Pivot 
Point 

Engineered 
Wood 
fibers 

Wood 
Chips 

Double 
Shredded 
Bark Mulch 

Up to 6' high 6" 6" 6" 
Over 6' up to 7' 9" 6" 9" 
Over 7' up to 11' 9" 9" 9" 
Over 11' 9" Not 

allowed 
Not allowed 

 
 (16)  If the provider uses a unitary cushioning[ is used], the 
provider shall maintain on-site for review by the department 
documentation from the manufacturer that the material is cushioning 
for playgrounds. 
 (17)  If the provider uses a unitary cushioning[ is used], the 
provider shall ensure that the cushioning material is securely 
installed, so that it cannot become displaced when children jump, run, 
walk, land, or move on it, or be moved by children picking it up. 
 (18)  The provider shall ensure that a play equipment 
platform that is more than: 
 (a)  18 inches above the floor or ground and used by infants 
or toddlers has a protective barrier that is at least 24 inches high; 
 (b)  30 inches above the floor or ground and used by 
preschoolers has a protective barrier that is at least 29 inches high; 
and 
 (c)  48 inches above the floor or ground and used by school-
age children has a protective barrier that is at least 38 inches high. 
 (19)  The provider shall ensure that there is no gap greater 
than 3-1/2 inches in or under a required protective barrier on a play 
equipment platform. 
 (20)  The provider shall ensure that stationary play 
equipment is stable or securely anchored. 
 (21)  The provider shall ensure that there are no trampolines 
on the premises that are accessible to any child in care. 
 (22)  The provider shall ensure that there are no entrapment 
hazards on or within the use zone of any piece of stationary play 
equipment. 
 (23)  The provider shall ensure that there are no 
strangulation hazards on or within the use zone of any piece of 
stationary play equipment. 
 (24)  The provider shall ensure that there are no crush, 
shearing, or sharp edge hazards on or within the use zone of any piece 
of stationary play equipment. 
 (25)  The provider shall ensure that there are no tripping 
hazards [such as]including concrete footings, tree stumps, tree roots, 
or rocks within the use zone of any piece of stationary play 
equipment. 
 
R381-60-20.  Transportation. 
[ If transportation services are offered:] 
 (1)  For each child that the licensee transports[being 
transported], the provider shall [have]obtain a transportation 
permission form: 
 (a)  signed by the parent; and 
 (b)  on-site for review by the department. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that each vehicle used for 
transporting children: 

 (a)  is enclosed with a roof or top; 
 (b)  is equipped with safety restraints; 
 (c)  has a current vehicle registration; 
 (d)  is maintained in a safe and clean condition; and 
 (e)  contains first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
band-aids, and tweezers. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the safety restraints in 
each vehicle that transports children are: 
 (a)  appropriate for the age and size of each child who is 
transported, as required by Utah law; 
 (b)  properly installed; and 
 (c)  in safe condition and working order. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that the driver of each vehicle 
who is transporting children: 
 (a)  is at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  has and carries with them a current, valid driver's 
license for the type of vehicle being driven; 
 (c)  has with them the[ written] emergency contact 
information for each child being transported; 
 (d)  ensures that each child being transported is in an 
individual safety restraint that is used according to Utah law; 
 (e)  ensures that the inside vehicle temperature is between 
60-85 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (f)  never leaves a child in the vehicle unattended by an 
adult; 
 (g)  ensures that children stay seated while the vehicle is 
moving; 
 (h)  never leaves the keys in the ignition when not in the 
driver's seat; and 
 (i)  ensures that the vehicle is locked during transport. 
 (5)  If the provider walks or uses public transportation to 
transport children to or from the facility, the provider shall ensure 
that: 
 (a)  each child being transported has a completed 
transportation permission form signed by their parent; 
 (b)  a caregiver goes with the children and actively 
supervises the children; 
 (c)  the caregiver-to-child ratio is maintained; and 
 (d)  a caregiver with the children has[ written] emergency 
contact information and releases for the children being transported. 
 (6)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  have transport liability insurance; or 
 (b)  inform parents in writing that the provider does not 
have transport liability insurance. 
 
R381-60-21.  Animals. 
 (1)  The provider shall inform parents of the kinds of 
animals allowed at the facility. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that there is no animal on the 
premises that: 
 (a)  is naturally aggressive; 
 (b)  has a history of dangerous, attacking, or aggressive 
behavior; or 
 (c)  has a history of biting even one individual. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that animals at the facility are 
clean and free of obvious disease or health problems that could 
adversely affect children. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that there is no animal or 
animal equipment in food preparation or eating areas. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that children younger than 
five years old do not assist with the cleaning of animals or animal 
cages, pens, or equipment. 
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 (6)  If school-age children help in the cleaning of animals 
or animal equipment, the provider shall ensure that the children wash 
their hands immediately after cleaning the animal or equipment. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that children and staff wash 
their hands immediately after playing with or touching reptiles and 
amphibians. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that dogs, cats, and ferrets 
that are housed at the facility have current rabies vaccinations. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep current animal vaccination 
records on-site for review by the department. 
 
R381-60-22.  Rest and Sleep. 
[ If sleeping equipment is used for rest and sleep time:] 
 (1)  The provider shall use a separate crib, cot, mat, or other 
sleeping equipment for each child during nap times. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that each crib: 
 (a)  has a tight-fitting mattress; 
 (b)  has slats spaced no more than 2-3/8 inches apart; 
 (c)  has at least 20 inches from the top of the mattress to the 
top of the crib rail, or at least 12 inches from the top of the mattress 
to the top of the crib rail if the child using the crib cannot sit up 
without assistance; 
 (d)  does not have strings, cords, ropes, or other 
entanglement hazards on the crib or within reach of the child; and 
 (e)  has documentation from the manufacturer or retailer 
stating that the crib was built after June 28, 2011, or that the crib is 
certified if the crib was manufactured before that date. 
 (3)  When in use, the provider shall place sleeping 
equipment [such as]including cribs, cots, and mats at least two feet 
apart. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that sleeping equipment does 
not block exits. 
 (5)  The provider shall clean and sanitize sleeping 
equipment before each use. 
 
R381-60-23.  Diapering. 
[ If the provider accepts children who wear diapers:] 
 (1)  This section applies only to a provider that accepts 
children who wear diapers. 
 ([1]2)  The provider shall post diapering procedures at each 
diapering station and ensure that each staff member follows those 
procedures.[ they are followed.] 
 ([2]3)  The provider shall ensure that each child's diaper is: 
 (a)  checked at least once every two hours; 
 (b)  promptly changed if wet or soiled; and 
 (c)  checked as soon as a sleeping child awakens. 
 ([3]4)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers change 
children's diapers at a diapering station and not on surfaces used for 
any other purpose. 
 ([4]5)  The provider shall ensure that the diapering surface 
is smooth, waterproof, and in good repair. 
 ([5]6)  The provider shall ensure that each diapering station 
is equipped with railings to prevent a child from falling when being 
diapered. 
 ([6]7)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers do not 
leave children unattended on the diapering surface. 
 ([7]8)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers clean and 
sanitize the diapering surface after each diaper change, or use a 
disposable, waterproof diapering surface that is thrown away after 
each diaper change. 
 ([8]9)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers who 
change diapers wash their hands after each diaper change. 

 ([9]10)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers place wet 
and soiled disposable diapers: 
 (a)  in a container that has a disposable plastic lining and a 
tight-fitting lid; 
 (b)  directly in an outdoor garbage container that has a tight-
fitting lid; or 
 (c)  in a container that is inaccessible to children. 
 (1[0]1)  Each day, the provider shall clean and sanitize 
indoor containers where wet and soiled diapers are placed. 
 ([11]12)  If cloth diapers are used, the provider shall: 
 (a)  not rinse cloth diapers at the facility; and 
 (b)  place cloth diapers directly into a leakproof container 
that is inaccessible to any child and labeled with the child's name; or 
 (c)  place the cloth diapers in a leakproof diapering service 
container. 
 
R381-60-24.  Infant and Toddler Care. 
 If the provider cares for infants or toddlers: 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that each awake infant and 
toddler receives positive physical and verbal interaction with a 
caregiver at least once every 20 minutes. 
 (2)  To stimulate their healthy development, the provider 
shall ensure that infants receive daily interactions with adults; 
including on the ground interaction and closely supervised time spent 
in the prone position for infants less than six months old. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers respond 
promptly to infants and toddlers who are in emotional distress due to 
conditions [such as]including hunger, fatigue, a wet or soiled diaper, 
fear, teething, or illness. 
 (4)  For their healthy development, the provider shall make 
safe toys available and accessible for each infant and toddler to 
engage in play. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that mobile infants and 
toddlers have freedom of movement in a safe area. 
 (6)  The provider may not confine an awake infant or 
toddler in any piece of equipment, [such as]including a swing, high 
chair, crib, playpen, or other similar piece of equipment for more than 
30 minutes. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that only one infant or toddler 
occupies any one piece of equipment at a time, unless the equipment 
has individual seats for more than one child. 
 (8)  The provider shall make objects made of styrofoam 
inaccessible to infants and toddlers. 
 (9)  The provider shall allow each infant and toddler to eat 
and sleep on their own schedule. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that baby food, formula, or 
breast milk that is brought from home for an individual child's use is: 
 (a)  labeled with the child's name; 
 (b)  labeled with the date and time of preparation or opening 
of the container, [such as]including a jar of baby food; 
 (c)  kept refrigerated if needed; and 
 (d)  discarded within 24 hours of preparation or opening, 
except for unprepared powdered formula or dry food. 
[ (11)  If an infant cannot sit upright and hold their own 
bottle, the provider shall ensure that a caregiver holds the infant 
during bottle feeding and that bottles are not propped.] 
 (11)  If an infant cannot sit upright and hold their own 
bottle, the provider shall ensure that a caregiver is within arm's reach 
of each infant during bottle feeding and that bottles are not propped. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that the caregiver swirls and 
tests warm bottles for temperature before feeding to children. 
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 (13)  The provider shall discard formula and milk, 
including breast milk, after feeding or within two hours of starting a 
feeding. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers cut solid 
foods for infants into pieces no larger than 1/4 inch in diameter, and 
cut solid foods for toddlers into pieces no larger than 1/2 inch in 
diameter. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that infants sleep in 
equipment designed for sleep [such as]including a crib, bassinet, 
porta-crib or playpen, and that infants are not placed to sleep on a 
mat, cot, pillow, bouncer, swing, car seat, or other similar piece of 
equipment. 
 (16)  The provider shall place infants on their backs for 
sleeping unless there is documentation from a health care provider 
requiring a different sleep position. 
 (17)  The provider may not place soft toys, loose blankets, 
or other objects in sleep equipment while in use by sleeping infants. 
 
KEY:  child care, child care facilities, hourly child care centers 
Date of Last Change:  2023[June 1, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 14, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [26-39-
203(1)(a)]26B-2-402 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R381-100 Filing ID:  
55614 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Child Care Center Licensing 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 

(MASOB) 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Simon Bolivar 801-
803-
4618 

sbolivar@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R381-100.  Child Care Centers 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this amendment is to update language, 
clarify processes, and update citations following the 
consolidation and recodification of the Department of 
Health and Human Services' statute in 2023 General 
Session. 
 
Additionally, this amendment incorporates changes based 
on the input and approval of the Child Care Licensing 
Committee 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment adds clarifying language compliant with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Additionally, this aligns terminology and processes with 
current enforcement standards.  It also updates citations 
following the recodification and consolidation of the 
Department of Health and Human Services' statute. 
 
Substantive changes include new language to comply with 
S.B. 123 from the 2023 General Session retitling 
"Childcare Licensing Committee" to "Childcare Provider 
Licensing Committee". 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
State government process was thoroughly reviewed.  This 
change will not impact the current process for licensure 
and re-licensure surveys. 
 
No change to the state budget is expected because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards. 
 
Substantive changes add clarification with no fiscal impact 
to enforcement or state government. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The Child Care Licensing Committee (Agency) does not 
expect any costs or savings to the local governments 
caused by the proposed rule amendments because they 
are mostly changes that will facilitate and clarify the current 
process. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The Agency does not expect any costs or savings caused 
by the proposed rule amendments because they are 
mostly changes that will facilitate and clarify the current 
process. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
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The Agency does not expect any costs or savings to non-
small businesses caused by the proposed rule 
amendments because they are mostly changes that will 
facilitate and clarify the current process. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Agency does not expect any costs or savings to other 
persons caused by the proposed rule amendments 
because they are mostly changes that will facilitate and 
clarify the current process. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There will be no costs generated by the proposed rule 
changes because they are mostly changes that will 
facilitate and clarify the current process. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-2-402   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/10/2023 

 
R381.  Health and Human Services, Child Care Center 
Licensing.[ Committee.] 
R381-100.  Child Care Centers. 
R381-100-1.  Legal Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is enacted and enforced in accordance with 
[Title 26, Chapter 39, Utah Child Care Licensing Act.]Section 26B-
1-414. 
 (2)  This rule establishes the foundational standards 
necessary to protect the health and safety of children in child care 
centers and defines the general procedures and requirements to get 
and maintain a license to provide child care. 
 
R381-100-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Applicant" means a person or business who has 
applied for a new or a renewal of a license from [Child Care 
Licensing]the department. 
 (2)  "Background Finding" means information in a 
background check that [Child Care Licensing]the department uses to 
determine if a covered individual is or is not eligible to be involved 
with child care. 
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 (3)  "Barrier" means an enclosing structure [such 
as]including a fence, wall, bars, railing, or solid panel to prevent 
accidental or deliberate movement through or access to something. 
 (4)  "Body Fluid" means blood, urine, feces, vomit, mucus, 
or saliva. 
 (5)  "Business Days and Hours" means the days of the week 
and times the facility is open for business. 
 (6)  "Caregiver" means a covered individual who protects 
the health and safety of children. A covered individual is a caregiver 
when they: 
 (a)  count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; 
 (b)  meet the physical or emotional needs of the children, 
including diapering, toileting, feeding, or protecting them from harm; 
or 
 (c)  supervise children. 
 (7)  "Capacity" means the maximum number of children 
allowable for the provider [is allowed ]to care for at any given time. 
 (8)  "Caregiver-to-Child Ratio" means the number of 
caregivers responsible for a specific number of children. 
 (9)  "CCL" means the Child Care Licensing Program under 
the Office of Licensing that is delegated with the responsibility to 
enforce the [Utah Child Care Licensing Act.]rules under Titles R381 
and R430. 
 (10)  "Child Care" means continuous care and supervision 
of [five]one or more qualifying children that is: 
 (a)  in place of care ordinarily provided by a parent in the 
parent's home; 
 (b)  for less than 24 hours a day; and 
 (c)  for direct or indirect compensation. 
[ (11)  "Child Care Center Licensing Committee" means the 
Child Care Center Licensing Committee created in the Utah Child 
Care Licensing Act.] 
 (1[2]1)  "Child Care Program" means a person or business 
that offers child care. 
 (12)  "Child Care Provider Licensing Committee" means 
the Child Care Provider Licensing Committee created in Section 
26B-1-414. 
 (13)  "Choking Hazard" means an object or a removable 
part on an object with a diameter of less than 1-1/4 inches and a length 
of less than 2-1/4 inches that could be caught in a child's throat 
blocking their airway and making it difficult or impossible to breathe. 
 (14)  "Conditional Status" means that the provider is at risk 
of losing their child care license because compliance with any laws 
or administrative rules[licensing rules] has not been maintained. 
 (15)  "Covered Individual" means any of the following 
individuals involved with a child care program: 
 (a)  an owner; 
 (b)  a director; 
 (c)  a member of the governing body; 
 (d)  an employee; 
 (e)  a caregiver; 
 (f)  a volunteer, except a parent of a child enrolled in the 
child care program; 
 (g)  an individual age 12 years old or older who resides in 
the facility; and 
 (h)  anyone who has unsupervised contact with a child in 
care. 
 (16)  "Crib" means an infant's bed with sides to protect 
them from falling including a bassinet, porta-crib, or play pen. 
 (17)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. 

 (18)  "Designated Play Surface" means any accessible 
elevated surface for standing, walking, crawling, sitting or climbing; 
or an accessible flat surface at least two by two inches in size and 
having an angle less than 30 degrees from horizontal. 
 (19)  "Director" means an individual who meets the director 
qualifications in this rule, and who assumes the child care program's 
day-to-day responsibilities for compliance with Child Care Licensing 
rules. 
 (20)  "Eligible" means that there were no findings in a 
covered individual's background check that [c]would prohibit that 
covered individual from being involved with child care. 
 (21)  "Emotional Abuse" is defined in Subsection R512-80-
2(12) and also means behavior that could harm a child's emotional 
development, [such as]including threatening, intimidating, 
humiliating, demeaning, criticizing, rejecting, using profane 
language, or using inappropriate physical restraint. 
 (22)  "Entrapment Hazard" means an opening greater than 
3-1/2 by 6-1/4 inches and less than nine inches in diameter where a 
child's body could fit through but the child's head could not fit 
through, potentially causing a child's entrapment and strangulation. 
 (23)  "Facility" means [a child care program or ]the 
premises approved by the department to be used for child care. 
 (24)  "Group" means the children who the provider assigns 
to one or more caregivers for their care and supervision.[are assigned 
to and supervised by one or more caregivers.] 
 (25)  "Group Size" means the total number of children in a 
group per room or area. 
 (26)  "Guest" means an individual who is not a covered 
individual and is at the child care facility for a short time with the 
provider's permission. 
 (27)  "Health Care Provider" means a licensed health 
professional, [such as]including a physician, dentist, nurse 
practitioner, or physician's assistant. 
 (28)  "Homeless" means anyone who lacks a fixed, regular, 
and adequate nighttime residence. 
 (29)  "Inaccessible" means out of reach of children by 
being: 
 (a)  locked, [such as]including in a locked room, cupboard, 
or drawer; 
 (b)  secured with a child safety device, [such as]including 
a child safety cupboard lock or doorknob device; 
 (c)  behind a properly secured child safety gate; 
 (d)  located at least 36 inches above the floor; or 
 (e)  if in a bathroom, at least 36 inches above any surface 
from where a child could stand or climb. 
 (30)  "Infant" means a child who is younger than 12 months 
old. 
 (31)  "Infectious Disease" means an illness that is capable 
of being spread from one individual to another. 
 (32)  "Involved with Child Care" means to do any of the 
following at or for a child care program: 
 (a)  care for or supervise children; 
 (b)  volunteer; 
 (c)  own, operate, direct; 
 (d)  reside; 
 (e)  count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; or 
 (f)  have unsupervised contact with a child in care. 
 (33)  "License" means a license issued by the department 
to provide child care services. 
 (34)  "Licensee" means the legally responsible person or 
business that holds a valid license from the department[Child Care 
Licensing]. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 83 

 (35)  "LIS Supported Finding" means a supported finding 
of child abuse or neglect [background check information from]in the 
Licensing Information System (LIS) database for child abuse and 
neglect, maintained by the [Utah D]department[ of Human Services]. 
 (36)  "Older Toddler" means a child age 18 through 23 
months old. 
 (37)  "Over-the-Counter Medication" means medication 
that an individual can purchase [can be bought ]without a written 
prescription including herbal remedies, vitamins, and mineral 
supplements. 
 (38)  "Parent" means the parent or legal guardian of a child 
in care. 
 (39)  "Person" means an individual or a business entity. 
 (40)  "Physical Abuse" is defined in Subsection R512-80-
2(25) and also means causing nonaccidental physical harm to a child. 
 (41)  "Play Equipment Platform" means a flat surface on a 
piece of stationary play equipment intended for more than one child 
to stand on, and upon which the children can move freely. 
 (42)  "Preschooler" means a child age two through four 
years old. 
 (43)  "Protective Barrier" means a structure [such 
as]including bars, lattice, or a panel that is around an elevated 
platform and is intended to prevent accidental or deliberate 
movement through or access to something. 
 (44)  "Protective Cushioning" means a shock-absorbing 
surface under and around play equipment that reduces the severity of 
injuries from falls. 
 (45)  "Provider" means the legally responsible person or 
business that holds a valid license or certification from [Child Care 
Licensing]the department. 
 (46)  "Qualifying Child" means: 
 (a)  a child who is younger than 13 years old and is the child 
of an individual other than the child care provider or caregiver; 
 (b)  a child with a disability who is younger than 18 years 
old and is the child of an individual other than the provider or 
caregiver; or 
 (c)  a child who is younger than four years old and is the 
child of the provider or a caregiver. 
 (47)  "Related Child" means a child for whom a provider is 
the parent, legal guardian, step[-]parent, grandparent, step-
grandparent, great-grandparent, sibling, step-sibling, aunt, step-aunt, 
great-aunt, uncle, step-uncle, or great-uncle. 
 (48)  "Room" is defined [by the department ]as follows: 
 (a)  [I]if a large room is divided into smaller rooms or areas 
with barriers [such as]including furniture or with half walls, the room 
or area is considered: 
 ([a]i)  [O]one room, if the room is divided by a solid barrier 
that is less than 24 inches, whether the barrier is movable or 
immovable[.]; 
 ([b]ii)  [O]one room, if the room is divided by a solid 
barrier that is between 24 and 40 inches in height and there is an 
opening in the barrier through which caregivers and children can 
move freely[.]; 
 ([c]iii)  [T]two rooms, if the room is divided by a solid 
barrier that is between 24 and 40 inches in height and there is no 
opening in the barrier through which caregivers and children can 
move freely, or there is an opening between the two sides but the 
opening is blocked [such as]including with a child safety gate, 
including [.  This also applies to ]a diaper changing station that is 
located behind a closed gate[.]; 
 ([d]iv)  [T]two rooms, if the room is divided by a solid 
barrier that is over 40 inches in height and there is no opening in the 

barrier through which caregivers and children can move freely, or 
there is an opening between the two sides but the opening is blocked 
[such as]including with a child safety gate[.]; or[  If there is an 
opening through which caregivers and children can move freely and 
the opening is not blocked, refer to the instructions for a large 
opening, archway, or doorway.] 
 (v)  if there is an opening through which caregivers and 
children can move freely and the opening is not blocked, refer to the 
instructions for a large opening, archway, or doorway; 
 (b)  i[I]f two rooms or areas are connected by a large 
opening, archway, or doorway, the rooms or areas are considered: 
 ([e]i)  [O]one room, if the width of the opening or archway 
is equal to or greater than the combined width of the walls on each 
side of the opening or archway, in the larger of the two rooms or 
areas, and there is no furniture or other dividers blocking the opening 
or archway[.  O], otherwise the department shall consider this to be 
two rooms[.]; or 
 ([f]ii)  [T]two rooms, if the width of the opening or archway 
is smaller than the combined width of the walls on each side of the 
opening or archway, in the larger of the two rooms or areas[.]; 
 (c)  i[I]f in outdoor areas separated by interior fences, the 
department considers it: 
 ([g]i)  [O]one area, if the interior fence is lower than 24 
inches in height, whether or not the fence has an opening[.]; 
 ([h]ii)  [O]one area, if the interior fence is 40 inches or 
lower in height with an opening through which caregivers and 
children can move freely[.]; 
 ([i]iii)  [T]two areas if the interior fence is higher than 24 
inches and there is no opening[.]; or 
 ([j]iv)  [T]two areas, if the interior fence is higher than 40 
inches whether or not the fence has an opening. 
 (49)  "Sanitize" means to use a product or process to reduce 
contaminants and bacteria to a safe level. 
 (50)  "School-Age Child" means a child age five through 
12 years old. 
 (51)  "Sexual Abuse" is defined in Subsection R512-80-
2(30) and also means to take indecent liberties with a child with the 
intention to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of an individual or to 
cause pain or discomfort. 
 (52)  "Sexually Explicit Material" means any depiction of 
actual or simulated sexually explicit conduct. 
 (53)  "Sleeping Equipment" means a cot, mat, crib, 
bassinet, porta-crib, playpen, or bed. 
 (54)  "Stationary Play Equipment" means equipment [such 
as]including a climber, slide, swing, merry-go-round, or spring 
rocker that is meant to stay in one location when a child uses it.  
Stationary play equipment does not include: 
 (a)  a sandbox; 
 (b)  a stationary circular tricycle; 
 (c)  a sensory table; or 
 (d)  a playhouse that sits on the ground or floor and does 
not have an attached slide, swing, or climber. 
 (55)  "Strangulation Hazard" means something on which a 
child's clothes or drawstrings could become caught, or something in 
which a child could become entangled [such as]including: 
 (a)  a protruding bolt end that extends more than two 
threads beyond the face of the nut; 
 (b)  hardware that forms a hook or leaves a gap or space 
between components [such as]including a protruding open S-hook; 
or 
 (c)  a rope, cord, or chain that is attached to a structure and 
is long enough to encircle a child's neck. 
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 (56)  "Unsupervised Contact" means being with, caring for, 
communicating with, or touching a child in the absence of a caregiver 
or other employee who is at least 18 years old and is considered 
eligible by CCL[has passed a Child Care Licensing background 
check]. 
 (57)  "Use Zone" means the area beneath and surrounding 
a play structure or piece of equipment that is designated for 
unrestricted movement around the equipment, and onto which a child 
falling from or exiting the equipment could be expected to land. 
[ (58)  "Volunteer" means an individual who receives no 
form of direct or indirect compensation for their service.] 
 (5[9]8)  "Working Days" means the days of the week the 
department is open for business. 
 ([60]59)  "Younger Toddler" means a child age 12 through 
17 months old. 
 
R381-100-3.  License Required. 
 (1)  A person shall [be licensed as ]obtain a license for a 
child care center from the department if they provide care: 
 (a)  in the absence of the child's parent; 
 (b)  in a place other than the provider's home or the child's 
home; 
 (c)  for five or more unrelated children; 
 (d)  for each individual child for less than 24 hours a day; 
 (e)  on an ongoing basis for four or more weeks in a year; 
and 
 (f)  for direct or indirect compensation. 
 (2)  A person who [is not required to be licensed]does not 
meet licensing requirements may voluntarily become licensed, 
except for care that is for related children only or on a sporadic basis. 
 (3)  [A provider may be licensed to provide child care in a 
facility that is also licensed to offer foster or respite care services, or 
another licensed or certified human services program if the part of 
the building requesting a CCL license is physically separated from 
the other building services.]The department may license a provider 
to provide child care in a facility that the department licensed to offer 
foster or respite care services, or another licensed or certified human 
services program, if the part of the building requesting a CCL license 
is physically separate from the other building services. 
 
R381-100-4.  License Application, Renewal, Changes, and 
Variances. 
 (1)  Each applicant for a new child care license shall: 
 (a)  submit a CCL online application; 
 (b)  submit a copy of a current local fire clearance or a 
written statement from the local fire authority that a fire inspection is 
not required; 
 (c)  submit a copy of a current local health department 
kitchen clearance for a facility providing food service or a written 
statement from the local health department that a kitchen inspection 
is not required; 
 (d)  submit a copy of a current local business license or a 
written statement from the city that a business license is not required; 
 (e)  submit a copy of the educational credentials of the 
individual who will be the director as required in Section R381-100-
7; 
 (f)  complete CCL background checks for covered 
individuals as required in Section R381-100-8; 
 (g)  complete CCL new provider training no more than six 
months before becoming licensed; and 
 (h)  pay any required fees, which are nonrefundable. 

 (2)  Each applicant shall pass a department's inspection of 
the facility before the department issues a new license or a renewal[ 
is issued]. 
 (3)  If the local fire authority states in writing that an 
applicant for a new license or a renewal does not require a fire 
inspection, the department shall verify the applicant's compliance 
with the following: 
 (a)  address numbers and letters are readable from the 
street; 
 (b)  exit doors operate properly and are well maintained; 
 (c)  there are no obstructions in exits, aisles, corridors, and 
stairways; 
 (d)  exit doors are unlocked from the inside during business 
hours; 
 (e)  exits are clearly identified; 
 (f)  there is at least one unobstructed fire extinguisher on 
each level of the building, currently charged and serviced, and 
mounted not more than five feet above the floor; 
 (g)  there are working smoke detectors that are properly 
installed on each level of the building; and 
 (h)  boiler, mechanical, and electrical panel rooms are not 
used for storage. 
 (4)  If an applicant for a new license or a renewal serves 
food and the local health department states in writing that a kitchen 
inspection is not required, the department shall verify the applicant's 
compliance with the following: 
 (a)  the refrigerator is clean, in good repair, and working at 
or below 41 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (b)  there is a working thermometer in the refrigerator; 
 (c)  there is a working stem thermometer available to check 
cooking and hot hold temperatures; 
 (d)  cooks have a current food handler's permit available 
on-site for review by the department; 
 (e)  cooks use hair restraints and wear clean outer clothing; 
 (f)  only necessary staff are present in the kitchen; 
 (g)  reusable food holders, utensils, and food preparation 
surfaces are washed, rinsed, and sanitized before each use; 
 (h)  chemicals are stored away from food and food service 
items; 
 (i)  food is properly stored, kept to the proper temperature, 
and in good condition; and 
 (j)  there is a working handwashing sink in the kitchen and 
handwashing instructions posted by the sink. 
 (5)(a)  Each applicant for a new license shall [have 
]complete the licensing process within six months from the time any 
portion of the application is submitted to the department.[finish the 
licensing process. If unsuccessful, the applicant shall reapply. Any 
resubmission must include the required documentation, payment of 
licensing fees, and a new inspection of the facility to be licensed.] 
 (b)  If the applicant cannot achieve successful licensure 
within six months, the applicant shall reapply. 
 (c)  Any resubmission shall include the required 
documentation and payment of licensing fees. 
 (d)  The department shall conduct a new inspection of the 
facility before issuing a license. 
 (6)  The department may deny an application for a license 
if, within the five years preceding the application date, the applicant 
held a license or a certificate that was: 
 (a)  closed under an immediate closure; 
 (b)  revoked; 
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 (c)  closed as a result of a settlement agreement resulting 
from a notice of intent to revoke, a notice of revocation, or a notice 
of immediate closure; 
 (d)  voluntarily closed after an inspection of the facility 
found a rule violation that would have resulted in a notice of intent to 
revoke or a notice of revocation had the provider not closed 
voluntarily; or 
 (e)  voluntarily closed having unpaid fees or civil money 
penalties issued by the department. 
 (7)  Each child care license expires at midnight on the last 
day of the month shown on the license, unless the department revokes 
the license [was previously revoked by the department, ]or the 
provider voluntarily closes the license[d by the provider]. 
 (8)  Within 30 to 90 days before a current license expires, 
each provider shall submit for renewal: 
 (a)  an online renewal request; 
 (b)  applicable renewal fees; 
 (c)  any previous unpaid fees; and 
 (d)  a copy of a current fire inspection report. 
 (9)  The department may grant a provider who fails to 
renew their license by the expiration date an additional 30 days to 
complete the renewal process if the provider pays a late fee. 
 (10)  The department may deny renewal of a license for a 
provider who is no longer caring for children. 
 (11)  Each provider shall submit a complete application for 
a new license at least 30 days before any of the following changes 
occur: 
 (a)  a change of the child care facility's location; or 
 (b)  a change that transfers 50% or more ownership or 
controlling interest to a new individual or entity. 
 (12)  A provider shall submit a complete online changes 
request to amend an existing license at least 30 days before any of the 
following changes: 
 (a)  an increase or decrease of licensed capacity, including 
any change to the amount of usable indoor or outdoor space where 
child care is provided; 
 (b)  a change in the name of the program; 
 (c)  a change in the regulation type of the program; 
 (d)  a change in the name of the provider; 
 (e)  an addition or loss of a director; or 
 (f)  a change in ownership that does not require a new 
license. 
 (13)  The department may amend a license after verifying 
that the applicant is in compliance with any applicable rules and has 
paid the required fees. [have been paid. ] The expiration date of the 
amended license remains the same as the previous license. 
 (14)  Only the department may assign, transfer, or amend a 
license. 
 (15)(a)  If an applicant or provider cannot comply with [a 
rule]Rule R381-40 but can meet the intent of the rule in another way, 
the applicant or provider may apply for a variance to that rule by 
submitting a request to the department. 
 ([16]b)  The department may: 
 ([a]i)  require additional information before acting on [the]a 
variance request; and 
 ([b]ii)  impose health and safety requirements as a 
condition of granting a variance. 
 ([17]c)  Each provider shall comply with the existing 
[rules]Rule R381-40 [until ]unless the department approves a 
variance.[ is approved by the department.] 

 ([18]d)  If the department approves a variance[ is 
approved], the provider shall keep a copy of the written approval on-
site for review by parents and the department. 
 ([19]e)  The department may grant variances for up to 12 
months. 
 ([20]f)  The department may revoke a variance if: 
 ([a]i)  the provider is not meeting the intent of the rule as 
stated in their approved variance; 
 ([b]ii)  the provider fails to comply with the conditions of 
the variance; or 
 ([c]iii)  a change in statute, rule, or case law affects the basis 
for the variance. 
 
R381-100-5.  Rule [Violations]Noncompliance, Penalties, and 
[Appeals]Agency Action Reviews. 
 (1)  The department may place a program's child care 
license on a conditional status for the following causes: 
 (a)  chronic, ongoing noncompliance with rules; 
 (b)  unpaid fees; or 
 (c)  a serious rule violation that places children's health or 
safety in immediate jeopardy. 
 (2)  The department shall establish the length of the 
conditional status and set the conditions that the child care provider 
shall satisfy to remove the conditional status. 
 (3)  The department may increase monitoring of the 
program that is on conditional status to verify compliance with rules. 
 (4)  The department may deny or revoke a license if the 
child care provider: 
 (a)  fails to meet the conditions of a license on conditional 
status; 
 (b)  violates [the Child Care Licensing Act]any part of Title 
26B, Chapter 2, Part 4, Child Care Licensing; 
 (c)  provides false or misleading information to the 
department; 
 (d)  misrepresents information by intentionally altering a 
license or any other document issued by the department; 
 (e)  fails to allow authorized representatives of the 
department access to the facility to ensure compliance with this rule; 
 (f)  fails to submit or make available to the department any 
written documentation required to verify compliance with this rule; 
 (g)  commits a serious rule violation that results in death or 
serious harm to a child, or that places a child at risk of death or serious 
harm; or 
 (h)  has committed an illegal act that would exclude an 
individual from having a license. 
 (5)  Within ten working days of receipt of a revocation 
notice, the provider shall submit to the department the names and 
mailing addresses of the parents of each enrolled child so the 
department can notify the parents of the revocation. 
 (6)  The department may order the immediate closure of a 
facility if conditions create a clear and present danger to any child in 
care and may require immediate action to protect the children's health 
or safety. 
 (7)  Upon receipt of an immediate closure notice, the 
provider shall give the department the names and mailing addresses 
of the parents of each enrolled child so the department can notify the 
parents of the immediate closure. 
 (8)  If there is a severe injury or the death of a child in care, 
the department may order a child care provider to suspend services 
and prohibit new enrollments, pending a review by the DHHS Child 
Fatality Review Committee or a determination of the probable cause 
of death or injury by a medical professional. 
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 [(9)  If a person is providing care for more than four 
unrelated children without the appropriate license, the department 
may: 
 (a)  issue a cease and desist order; or 
 (b)  allow the person to continue operation if: 
 (i)  the person was unaware of the need for a license; 
 (ii)  conditions do not create a clear and present danger to 
the children in care; and 
 (iii)  the person agrees to apply for the appropriate license 
within 30 calendar days of notification by the department.](9)  An 
unlicensed person providing care that requires a license may be 
charged with a civil money penalty and a class A misdemeanor unless 
they: 
 (a)  stop providing child care that requires a license; or 
 (b)  apply for the appropriate license within 30 calendar 
days of notification by the department. 
 (10)  If a person providing care without the appropriate 
license agrees to apply for a license but does not submit an 
application and the required application documents within 30 days, 
the department may issue a cease and desist order. 
 (11)  A violation of any rule is punishable by an 
administrative civil money penalty of up to $5,000 a day as provided 
in Section [26-39-601]26B-2-409. 
 (12)  The department may assess a civil money penalty and 
also take action to deny, place on conditional status, revoke, 
immediately close, or refuse to renew a license. 
 (13)  The department may deny an application or revoke a 
license for failure to pay any required fees, including fees for 
applications, late fees, returned checks, license changes, additional 
inspections, conditional monitoring inspections, background checks, 
civil money penalties, and other fees assessed by the department. 
 (14)  An applicant or provider may request an agency 
review for[ hearing to appeal] any department decision within [15]ten 
working days of being informed in writing of the decision. 
 
R381-100-6.  Administration and Children's Records. 
 (1)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  be at least 21 years old; 
 (b)  be considered eligible by a CCL background check 
before becoming involved with child care; and 
 (c)  complete the new provider training offered by the 
department. 
 (2)  If the owner is not a sole proprietor, the business entity 
shall submit to the department the name and contact information of 
the individual or individuals who shall legally represent them and 
who shall comply with the requirements stated in Subsection R381-
100-6(1). 
 (3)  The provider shall protect children from conduct that 
endangers children in care, or is contrary to the health, [morals, 
]welfare, and safety of the public. 
 (4)  The provider shall know and comply with each 
applicable federal, state, and local law, ordinance, and rule, and shall 
be responsible for the operation and management of a child care 
program. 
 (5)  The provider shall comply with licensing rules any time 
a child in care is present. 
 (6)  The provider shall post their unaltered child care 
license on the facility premises in a place readily visible and 
accessible to the public. 
 (7)  The provider shall post a current copy of the 
department's Parent Guide at the facility for parent review during 
business hours. 

 (8)  The provider shall inform parents and the department 
of any changes to the program's telephone number and other contact 
information within 48 hours of the change. 
 (9)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  have liability insurance; or 
 (b)  inform parents in writing that the provider does not 
have liability insurance. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that a parent completes an 
admission and health assessment form for their child before the child 
is admitted into the child care program. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that each child's admission 
and health assessment form includes the following information: 
 (a)  child's name; 
 (b)  child's date of birth; 
 (c)  parent's name, address, and phone number, including a 
daytime phone number; 
 (d)  names of individuals authorized by the parent to sign 
the child out from the facility; 
 (e)  name, address, and phone number of an individual to 
be contacted if an emergency happens and the provider cannot 
contact the parent; 
 (f)  if available, the name, address, and phone number of an 
out-of-area emergency contact individual for the child; 
 (g)  parent's permission for emergency transportation and 
emergency medical treatment; 
 (h)  any known allergies of the child; 
 (i)  any known food sensitivities of the child; 
 (j)  any chronic medical conditions that the child may have; 
 (k)  instructions for special or nonroutine daily health care 
of the child; 
 (l)  current ongoing medications that the child may be 
taking; and 
 (m)  any other special health instructions for the caregiver. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that the admission and 
health assessment form is: 
 (a)  reviewed, updated, and signed or initialed by the parent 
at least annually; and 
 (b)  kept on-site for review by the department. 
 (13)  Before admitting any child younger than five years 
old into the child care program, including the provider's and 
employees' own children, the provider shall get the following 
documentation from the child's parent: 
 (a)  current immunizations; 
 (b)  a medical schedule to receive required immunizations; 
 (c)  a legal exemption; or 
 (d)  a 90-day exemption for foster children and children 
who are homeless. 
 (14)  For each child younger than five years old, including 
the provider's and employees' own children, the provider shall keep 
their current immunization records on-site for review by the 
department. 
 (15)  The provider shall submit the annual immunization 
report to the Immunization Program in the Utah Department of 
Health and Human Services by the date specified by the department. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that each child's information 
is [kept ]confidential and not released without written parental 
permission except to the department. 
 
R381-100-7.  Personnel and Training Requirements. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that employees and 
volunteers are supervised, qualified, and trained to: 
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 (a)  meet the needs of the children as required by rule; and 
 (b)  be in compliance with licensing requirements under 
Rule R381-100. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that the center has a qualified 
director as required by licensing rules. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the director: 
 (a)  is at least 21 years old; 
 (b)  is considered eligible by a CCL background check 
before becoming involved with child care; 
 (c)  [receives at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice training 
before beginning job duties;]if hired after January 1, 2023, has 
completed the 2-1/2 hour preservice training offered by the 
department; 
 (d)  completes the new director training offered by the 
department within 60 working days of assuming director duties; 
 (e)  knows and follows any applicable laws and 
requirements under Rule R381-100; and 
 (f)  completes at least 20 hours of child care training each 
year based on the facility's license date, or at least 1-1/2 hours of child 
care training each month they work if hired partway through the 
facility's licensing year. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that each new director has 
one of the following educational credentials: 
 (a)  any bachelor's or higher education degree, and at least 
60 clock hours of [approved Utah Early Childhood Career Ladder 
courses]coursework in child development, social and emotional 
development, and the child care environment[;], or 60 clock hours of 
equivalent training as approved by the department; 
 (b)  at least 12 college credit hours of child development 
courses; 
 (c)  a currently valid national certification [such 
as]including a Certified Childcare Professional [(CCP) ]issued by the 
National Child Care Association, a Child Development Associate 
[(CDA) ]issued by the Council for Early Childhood Professional 
Recognition, or other equivalent credential as approved by the 
department; 
 (d)  at least [a Level 9 from the Utah Early Childhood 
Career Ladder system]an associate degree in early childhood 
development or related field; or 
 (e)  a National Administrator Credential [(NAC) ]and at 
least 60 clock hours of [approved Utah Early Childhood Career 
Ladder courses]course work in child development, social and 
emotional development, and the child care environment[;]; or 60 
clock hours of equivalent training as approved by the department. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that the director is on duty at 
the facility for at least 20 hours a week during operating hours and 
has sufficient freedom from other responsibilities to manage the 
center and respond to emergencies. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that there is a director 
designee with authority to act on behalf of the director in the 
director's absence. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that the director designee: 
 (a)  is at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  is considered eligible by a CCL background check 
before becoming involved with child care; 
 (c)  [receives at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice training ]if 
hired after January 1, 2023, has completed the 2-1/2 hour preservice 
training offered by the department before beginning job duties; 
 (d)  knows and follows any applicable laws and 
requirements under Rule R381-100; 
 (e)  completes at least 20 hours of child care training each 
year based on the facility's license date, or at least 1-1/2 hours of child 

care training each month they work if hired partway through the 
facility's licensing year; and 
 (f)  has current first aid and cardio pulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR) certification. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that the director or the 
director designee is present at the facility when the center is open for 
care. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers: 
 (a)  are at least 16 years old; 
 (b)  are considered eligible by a CCL background check 
before becoming involved with child care; 
 (c)  [receive at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice 
training]complete the 2-1/2 hour preservice training offered by the 
department before caring for children; 
 (d)  know and follow any applicable laws and requirements 
under Rule R381-100;[ and] 
 (e)  are introduced to other program staff and to the 
caregiver's assigned group of children; 
 (f)  review the information in each child's health assessment 
in the caregiver's assigned group, including allergies, food 
sensitivities, and other individual needs; and 
 ([e]g)  complete at least 20 hours of child care training each 
year, based on the facility's license date, or at least 1-1/2 hours of 
child care training each month they work if hired partway through the 
facility's licensing year. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that any other staff [such 
as]including drivers, cooks, and clerks: 
 (a)  are considered eligible by a CCL background check 
before becoming involved with child care; 
 (b)  [receive at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice 
training]complete the 2-1/2 hour preservice training offered by the 
department before beginning job duties; and 
 (c)  know and follow any applicable laws and requirements 
under Rule R381-100. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that volunteers are 
[considered ]eligible by a CCL background check before becoming 
involved with child care. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that student interns who are 
registered and participating in a high school or college child care 
course and guests wear a guest nametag. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that household members 
who are: 
 (a)  12 to 17 years old are considered eligible by a CCL 
background check; and 
 (b)  18 years old or older are [considered ]eligible by a CCL 
background check that includes fingerprints. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that individuals who 
provide Individualized Educational Plan [(IEP) ]or Individualized 
Family Service plan [(IFSP) ]services [such as]including physical, 
occupational, or speech therapists: 
 (a)  provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or to a child at the facility; and 
 (b)  have received the child's parent's permission for 
services to take place at the facility. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that individuals from law 
enforcement, Child Protective Services, the department, and any 
similar entities provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or to a child at the facility. 
 [(16)  The provider shall ensure that preservice training 
includes at least the following topics: 
 (a)  job description and duties; 
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 (b)  current department rule Sections R381-100-7 through 
R381-100-24; 
 (c)  disaster preparedness, response, and recovery; 
 (d)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (e)  children with special needs; 
 (f)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials; 
 (g)  prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (h)  principles of child growth and development, including 
brain development; 
 (i)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 
trauma, and coping with crying babies; 
 (j)  prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 
the use of safe sleeping practices; 
 (k)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance; 
 (l)  a review of the information in each child's health 
assessment in the caregiver's assigned group, including allergies, 
food sensitivities, and other special needs; and 
 (m)  an introduction and orientation to the children in 
care.](16)  The provider shall ensure that each covered individual 
required to complete preservice training receives the 2-1/2 hour 
preservice training offered by the department that includes at least the 
following topics: 
 (a)  applicable laws and requirements under Rule R381-
100; 
 (b)  children whose special needs may include a disability; 
 (c)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance; 
 (d)  building and physical premises safety; 
 (e)  prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (f)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (g)  emergency preparedness, response, and recovery plan; 
 (h)  prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 
and allergy reactions; 
 (i)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials and 
bio contaminants; 
 (j)  prevention and control of infectious diseases including 
immunizations; 
 (k)  administration of medication; 
 (l)  child  and brain development, including the social, 
emotional, physical, cognitive, and language principles of child 
growth; 
 (m)  precautions in transporting children; 
 (n)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome, abusive head 
trauma, child maltreatment, and coping with crying babies; and 
 (o)  prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and the 
use of safe sleeping practices. 
[ (17)  The provider shall keep documentation of each 
individual's preservice training on-site for review by the department 
and shall ensure that documentation includes at least the following: 
 (a)  training topics; 
 (b)  date of the training; and 
 (c)  total hours or minutes of training.] 
 (1[8]7)  The provider shall ensure that annual child care 
training includes at least the following topics: 
 (a)  current department rule Sections R381-100-7 through 
R381-100-24; and 
[ (b)  disaster preparedness, response, and recovery; 

 (c)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (d)  children with special needs; 
 (e)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials; 
 (f)  the prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (g)  principles of child growth and development, including 
brain development; 
 (h)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 
trauma, and coping with crying babies; 
 (i)  prevention of SIDS and use of safe sleeping practices; 
and 
 (j)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance.](b)  each topic listed in Subsections R381-100-7(16)(a) 
through (o). 
 (1[9]8)  The provider shall ensure that documentation of 
each individual's annual child care training is [kept ]on-site for 
review by the department and includes the following: 
 (a)  training topic; 
 (b)  date of the training; 
 (c)  name of the individual or organization that presented 
the training; and 
 (d)  total hours or minutes of training. 
 ([20]19)  The provider shall ensure that at least one staff 
member with a current Red Cross, American Heart Association, or 
equivalent pediatric first aid and CPR certification is present when 
children are in care: 
 (a)  at the facility; 
 (b)  in each vehicle transporting children; and 
 (c)  at each offsite activity. 
 (2[1]0)  The provider shall ensure that CPR certification 
includes hands-on testing. 
 (2[2]1)  The provider shall ensure that the following 
records for each covered individual are [kept ]on-site for review by 
the department: 
 (a)  the date of initial employment or association with the 
program; 
 (b)  a current pediatric first aid and CPR certification, if 
required in this rule; and 
 (c)  a six-week record of the times worked each day. 
 
R381-100-8.  Background Checks. 
[ (1)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved 
with child care in the program, the provider shall use the CCL 
provider portal search to: 
 (a)  verify that the individual is eligible; and 
 (b)  associate that individual with their facility if the 
covered individual appears in the search.] 
 (1)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved 
with child care, the provider shall use the CCL provider portal search 
to verify that the individual is eligible and: 
 (a)  associate that individual with their facility; or 
 (b)  not associate the individual if the individual is 
associated with another CCL facility and the new individual will be 
at the facility for no more than one business day. 
 (2)  Before a new covered individual who does not appear 
in the CCL provider portal search becomes involved with child care 
in the program, the provider shall: 
 (a)  [have]require the individual to submit an online 
background check form and fingerprints for individuals age 18 years 
old and older; 
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 (b)  authorize the individual's background check through 
the CCL provider's portal; 
 (c)  pay any required fees; and 
 (d)  receive written notice from CCL that the individual is 
eligible. 
 (3)  To keep their background check eligibility current, the 
provider shall require a covered individual to submit a  new 
background check form, fingerprints, and fees if the covered 
individual has[also ensure that a new background check form and 
fingerprints are submitted and authorized and fees are paid for any 
covered individual who has]: 
 (a)  resided outside of Utah since their last background 
check was completed; 
 (b)  not been associated with an active, CCL approved child 
care facility within the past 180 days; or 
 (c)  [has ]turned 18 years old and has not previously 
submitted fingerprints for a CCL background check[.], except 
[If]when the 18-year-old has previously submitted fingerprints for a 
CCL background check, then only a new background check form will 
be required. 
 (4)  Within ten working days from when a child who resides 
in the facility turns 12 years old, the provider shall: 
 (a)  ensure that an online background check form is 
submitted; 
 (b)  authorize the child's background check through the 
CCL provider's portal; and 
 (c)  pay any required fees. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that fingerprints are prepared 
by a local law enforcement agency or an agency approved by local 
law enforcement. 
 (6)  If a covered individual submits fingerprints [are 
submitted ]electronically through live scan, the provider shall ensure 
that the agency taking the fingerprints is one that follows the 
department's guidelines. 
 (7)  The department may consider a covered individual not 
eligible for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  LIS supported findings; 
 (b)  the covered individual's name appears on the Utah or 
national sex offender registry; 
 (c)  the covered individual refuses to consent to the criminal 
background check; 
 (d)  the covered individual knowingly makes a false 
statement in connection with their background check; 
 (e)  any felony convictions; or 
 (f)  for any of the reasons listed under Subsection R381-
100-8(8). 
 (8)  The department may also consider a covered individual 
not eligible for any of the following convictions regardless of 
severity: 
 (a)  child pornography; 
 (b)  sexual enticing of a minor; 
 (c)  voyeurism; 
 (d)  a sexual exploitation act; 
 (e)  pornographic material or performance; 
 (f)  any crime against an individual; 
 (g)  providing dangerous weapons or firearms to a minor; 
or 
 (h)  driving under the influence [(DUI) ]while a child is 
present in the vehicle. 
 (9)  The department shall consider a covered individual 
eligible if the only background finding is a conviction or plea of no 

contest to a nonviolent drug offense that occurred ten or more years 
before the CCL background check[ was conducted]. 
 (10)  If the provider is [considered ]not eligible by CCL, 
the department may suspend or deny their license until the reason for 
the background check finding is resolved. 
 (11)  If a covered individual is considered not eligible by 
CCL, including that the individual has been convicted, has pleaded 
no contest, or is currently subject to a plea in abeyance or diversion 
agreement for a felony or misdemeanor, the provider shall prohibit 
that individual from being employed by the child care program or 
residing at the facility until the reason for the background check 
finding is resolved. 
 (12)  If the department denies a covered individual [is 
denied ]a license or employment by the provider based upon the 
criminal background check and disagrees with the information 
provided by the Department of Public Safety, the covered individual 
may appeal the information to the Department of Public Safety. 
 (13)  [If a covered individual disagrees with a supported 
finding on the Department of Human Services LIS, the covered 
individual may appeal the finding to the Department of Human 
Services. 
 (14)  ]The provider and the covered individual shall notify 
the department within 48 hours of becoming aware of the covered 
individual's arrest warrant, felony or misdemeanor arrest, charge, 
conviction, or supported LIS finding.  Failure to notify the 
department within 48 hours may result in disciplinary action, 
including revocation of the license. 
 (1[5]4)  The Executive Director or designee of the 
department may overturn a CCL background check decision if they[ 
Executive Director] determines that the nature of the background 
finding or mitigating circumstances do not pose a risk to children. 
 
R381-100-9.  Facility. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least 35 square 
feet of indoor space for each child in care, including the provider's 
and employees' children. 
 (2)  The department may include floor space used for 
furniture, fixtures, or equipment as indoor space per child if the 
furniture, fixture, or equipment is used: 
 (a)  by children; 
 (b)  for the care of children; or 
 (c)  to store materials for children. 
 (3)  The department may not include the following areas 
when measuring indoor space for children's use: 
 (a)  bathrooms; 
 (b)  closets and staff lockers; 
 (c)  hallways; 
 (d)  lobbies and entryways; 
 (e)  kitchens; and 
 (f)  staff offices. 
[ (4)  The department may limit the maximum allowed 
capacity for a child care facility based on local ordinances.] 
 ([5]4)  The provider shall ensure that the number of 
children in care at any given time does not exceed the capacity 
identified on the license. 
 ([6]5)  The provider shall ensure that any building or play 
structure on the premises constructed before 1978 that has peeling, 
flaking, chalking, or failing paint undergoes a test [is tested ]for lead.  
If there is lead-based paint at the facility[ is found], the provider shall 
contact their local health department within five working days and 
follow required procedures for remediation of the lead hazard. 
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 ([7]6)  The provider shall ensure that each room and indoor 
area that is used by children is ventilated by mechanical ventilation, 
or by windows that open and have screens. 
 ([8]7)  The provider shall ensure that windows and glass 
doors within 36 inches from the floor or ground are made of safety 
or tempered glass, or have a protective guard. 
 ([9]8)  The provider shall ensure that rooms and areas have 
adequate light intensity for the safety of the children and the type of 
activity the provider is conducting.[ being conducted.] 
 ([10]9)  The provider shall maintain the indoor temperature 
between 65 and 82 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (1[1]0)  The provider shall ensure that there is a working 
telephone at the facility, in each vehicle while transporting children, 
and during offsite activities. 
 (1[2]1)  The provider shall ensure that there is a working 
handwashing sink in each classroom or next to each classroom in 
buildings constructed after July 1, 1997. 
 (1[3]2)  The provider shall ensure that rooms where infants 
or toddlers are cared for have: 
 (a)  one sink that is used exclusively for the preparation of 
food and bottles and handwashing before food preparation, and 
another sink that is used only for handwashing after diapering and 
nonfood activities; or 
 (b)  one working sink that is used only for handwashing in 
the room, and bottle and food preparation is done in the kitchen and 
brought to the infant and toddler area by a non-diapering staff 
member. 
 (1[4]3)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least one 
working toilet and one working sink for each group of one to 25 
children in the center who are two years old and older. 
 (1[5]4)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least one 
bathroom that provides privacy available for use by school-age 
children. 
 (1[6]5)  The provider shall ensure that there is an outdoor 
area that is safely accessible to children. 
 (1[7]6)  The provider shall ensure that the outdoor area has 
at least 40 square feet of space for each child using the area at one 
time. 
 (1[8]7)  The provider shall ensure that the total square 
footage of the outdoor area accommodates at least one-third of the 
approved capacity at one time or is at least 1,600 square feet. 
 (1[9]8)  The provider shall ensure that a fence encloses the 
outdoor area[ is enclosed within a fence], wall, or solid natural barrier 
that is at least four feet high. 
 ([20]19)  The provider shall ensure that there is no gap five 
by five inches or greater in or under the fence or barrier. 
 (2[1]0)  The provider shall ensure that children are in an 
enclosed area when children are outdoors, except during offsite 
activities. 
 (2[2]1)  The provider shall ensure that there is shade 
available to protect the children from excessive sun and heat when 
children are in the outdoor area. 
 (2[3]2)  If there is a swimming pool on the premises that 
the provider does [is ]not empty[ied] after each use, the provider 
shall: 
 (a)  meet applicable state and local laws and ordinances 
related to the operation of a swimming pool; 
 (b)  maintain the pool in a safe manner; and 
 (c)  when not in use, cover the pool with a commercially-
made safety enclosure that is installed according to the 
manufacturer's instructions, or enclose the pool within at least a four-

foot-high fence or solid barrier that is kept locked and that separates 
the pool from any other areas on the premises. 
 (2[4]3)  The provider shall maintain buildings and outdoor 
areas in good repair and safe condition including: 
 (a)  ceilings, walls, and floor coverings; 
 (b)  lighting, bathroom, and other fixtures; 
 (c)  draperies, blinds, and other window coverings; 
 (d)  indoor and outdoor play equipment; 
 (e)  furniture, toys, and materials accessible to the children; 
and 
 (f)  entrances, exits, steps, and walkways including keeping 
them free of ice, snow, and other hazards. 
 (2[5]4)  The provider shall ensure that accessible raised 
decks or balconies that are five feet or higher, and open stairwells that 
are five feet or deeper have protective barriers that are at least three 
feet high. 
 (2[6]5)  If the facility is subdivided, any part of the building 
is rented out, or any area of the facility is shared including the outdoor 
area, the department may inspect the entire facility and the provider 
shall ensure that covered individuals in the facility comply with the 
rules, except when[ the following conditions are met]: 
 (a)  there is a separate entrance for the child care program; 
 (b)  there are no connecting interior doorways that can be 
used by unauthorized individuals; and 
 (c)  there is no shared access to the outdoor area used for 
child care. 
 
R381-100-10.  Ratios and Group Size. 
 (1)  As listed in Table 1 for single-age groups of children, 
the provider shall: 
 (a)  maintain at least the number of caregivers and not 
exceed the number of children in the caregiver-to-child ratio; and 
 (b)  not exceed the maximum group sizes. 
 

TABLE 1 
Age Group Caregiver-

to-Child 
ratio 

Maximum 
Group Size 

0-11 Months - Infant 1:4 8 
12-17 Months -- Younger 
Toddler 

1:4 8 

18-23 Months -- Older Toddler 1:5 10 
2 Years - Twos 1:7 14 
3 Years - Threes 1:12 24 
4 Years - Fours 1:15 30 
5 Years and older -- School-age 1:20 40 

 
 (2)  For any mixed-age groups of children, the provider 
shall: 
 (a)  maintain at least the number of required caregivers; 
 (b)  not exceed the number of children in the caregiver-to-
child ratio; 
 (c)  not exceed the maximum group sizes; and 
 (d)  separate any single-age group that reaches their 
maximum group size from the mix. 
 (3)  For mixed-age groups of children including infants and 
toddlers, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  infants are only mixed with toddlers, unless: 
 (i)  the group has eight or fewer children; 
 (ii)  there are no more than three children younger than two 
years old in the group with one caregiver; and 
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 (iii)  there are at least two caregivers with the group if more 
than two children who are younger than 18 months old are present 
and the group has more than four children; 
 (b)  if older toddlers and two-year-old children are mixed, 
there is at least one caregiver for up to seven children and at least two 
caregivers for eight and up to 14 children in the group; and 
 (c)  [O]older toddlers and older children are only mixed, 
besides when only mixed with two-year-old children, when: 
 (i)  the group has eight or fewer children; 
 (ii)  there are no more than three older toddlers in the group; 
and 
 (iii)  there are at least two caregivers with the group if more 
than three younger toddlers are present and the group has more than 
five children. 
 (4)  For mixed-age groups of children not including infants 
and toddlers, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the caregiver-to-child ratio is determined by the age of 
the oldest child present in the group minus one child of that age 
group; and 
 (b)  the maximum group size is determined by the age of 
the oldest child present in the group, minus two children of that same 
age group. 
 (5)  During nap time, the provider shall ensure that the 
caregiver-to-child ratio is doubled only if: 
 (a)  the children in the group are at least 18 months old; 
 (b)  the children in the group are in a restful and nonactive 
state; and 
 (c)  the caregiver supervising the napping children can 
contact another on-site caregiver without leaving the children 
unattended. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that there are at least two 
caregivers present when there is only one group of children on the 
premises and that group has more than eight children, or more than 
two infants or toddlers. 
 (7)  The provider shall include the provider's and 
employees' children age four years old or older in care: 
 (a)  in the group size when the parent of the child is working 
at the facility; and 
 (b)  in the group size and the caregiver-to-child ratio when 
the parent of the child is not working at the facility. 
 (8)  The provider may include caregivers, student interns 
who are registered in a high school or college child care course, and 
volunteers who are 16 or 17 years old in the caregiver-to-child ratio. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that guests do not count in 
caregiver-to-child ratios. 
 (10)  The department may exempt a center from maximum 
group sizes if: 
 (a)  the center has been constructed, licensed, and 
continuously operated since January 1, 2004; 
 (b)  the caregiver-to-child ratio is maintained; and 
 (c)  the required square footage for each group of children 
is maintained. 
 
R381-100-11.  Child Supervision and Security. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers provide and 
maintain active supervision of each child, including: 
 (a)  for children younger than five years old, a caregiver is 
physically present in the room or area with the children; 
 (b)  for school-age children, a caregiver can hear the 
children and is close enough to intervene; 
 (c)  caregivers know the number of children in their care at 
any time; 

 (d)  caregivers' attention is focused on the children and not 
on caregivers' personal interests; 
 (e)  caregivers are aware of the entire group of children 
even when interacting with a smaller group or an individual child; 
and 
 (f)  caregivers position themselves so each child in their 
assigned group is actively supervised. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that staff and household 
members who are 16 or 17 years old only have unsupervised contact 
with any child in care, including during offsite activities and 
transportation when: 
 (a)  they are left unsupervised for no more than two 
consecutive hours per group; 
 (b)  the director or the director designee is physically 
present and available as needed; and 
 (c)  they are not volunteers. 
 (3)  The provider shall [ensure that]not assign staff, 
volunteers, and household members who are younger than 16 years 
old [are not assigned ]to care for or supervise any child in care. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that student interns who are 
registered and participating in a high school or college child care 
course and guests do not have unsupervised contact with any child in 
care, including during offsite activities and transportation. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that parents of children in 
care do not have unsupervised contact with any child in care, except 
with their own children. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that when video cameras or 
mirrors are used to supervise napping children: 
 (a)  the napping room is adjacent to a non-napping room; 
 (b)  there is a staff member in the non-napping room; 
 (c)  cameras or mirrors are positioned so that the staff 
member can see and hear each child; 
 (d)  there is an open door without a barrier, [such 
as]including a gate, between the napping room and the non-napping 
room; and 
 (e)  the staff member moves children who wake up to the 
non-napping room. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that a blanket or other item 
is not placed over sleeping equipment in a way that prevents the 
caregiver from seeing the sleeping child. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that parents have access to 
their child and the areas used to care for their child when their child 
is in care. 
 (9)  To maintain security and supervision of children, the 
provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  each child is signed in and out in accordance with this 
section; 
 (b)  only parents or individuals with written authorization 
from the parent may sign-out a child; 
 (c)  photo identification is required if the individual signing 
the child out is unknown to the provider; 
 (d)  individuals signing children in and out use identifiers, 
[such as]including a signature, initials, or electronic code; 
 (e)  the sign-in and sign-out records include the date and 
time each child arrives and leaves; and 
 (f)  there is written permission from the child's parent if 
school-age children sign themselves in or out. 
 (10)  In an emergency, the provider shall accept the parent's 
verbal authorization to release a child if the provider can confirm the 
identity of: 
 (a)  the individual giving verbal authorization; and 
 (b)  the individual picking up the child. 
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 (11)  The provider shall ensure that a six-week record of 
each child's daily attendance, including sign-in and sign-out records, 
is kept on-site for review by the department. 
 
R381-100-12.  Child Guidance and Interaction. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that no child is subjected to 
physical, emotional, or sexual abuse while in care. 
 (2)  The provider shall inform parents, children, and those 
who interact with the children of the center's behavioral expectations 
and how any misbehavior will be handled. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that individuals who interact 
with the children guide children's behavior by using positive 
reinforcement, redirection, and by setting clear limits that promote 
children's ability to become self-disciplined. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers use gentle, 
passive restraint with children only when it is needed to protect 
children from injuring themselves or others, or to stop them from 
destroying property. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that interactions with the 
children do not include: 
 (a)  any form of corporal punishment or any action that 
produces physical pain or discomfort [such as]including hitting, 
spanking, shaking, biting, or pinching; 
 (b)  restraining a child's movement by binding, tying, or any 
other form of restraint that exceeds gentle, passive restraint; 
 (c)  shouting at children; 
 (d)  any form of emotional abuse; 
 (e)  forcing or withholding food, rest, or toileting; or 
 (f)  confining a child in a closet, locked room, or other 
enclosure [such as]including a box, cupboard, or cage. 
 (6)  Any individual who witnesses or suspects that a child 
has been subjected to abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall 
immediately notify Child Protective Services or law enforcement as 
required in [state law]Section 80-2-602. 
 
R381-100-13.  Child Safety and Injury Prevention. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that children and staff use 
[that ]the building, outdoor area, toys, and equipment safely and as 
intended by the manufacturer to prevent injury to children[are used 
in a safe manner and as intended by the manufacturer to prevent 
injury to children]. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that poisonous and harmful 
plants are inaccessible to children. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that sharp objects, edges, 
corners, or points that could cut or puncture skin are inaccessible to 
children. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that choking hazards are 
inaccessible to children younger than three years old. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that strangulation hazards 
[such as]including ropes, cords, chains, and wires attached to a 
structure and long enough to encircle a child's neck are inaccessible 
to children. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that tripping hazards [such 
as]including unsecured flooring, rugs with curled edges, or cords in 
walkways are inaccessible to children. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that empty plastic bags large 
enough for a child's head to fit inside, latex gloves, and balloons are 
inaccessible to children younger than five years old. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that standing water that 
measures two inches or deeper and five by five inches or greater in 
diameter is inaccessible to children. 

 (9)  The provider shall ensure that toxic or hazardous 
chemicals [such as]including cleaners, insecticides, lawn products, 
and flammable, corrosive, and reactive materials are: 
 (a)  inaccessible to children; 
 (b)  used according to manufacturer instructions; 
 (c)  stored in containers labeled with the contents of the 
container; and 
 (d)  disposed of properly. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that the following items are 
inaccessible to children: 
 (a)  matches or cigarette lighters; 
 (b)  open flames; 
 (c)  hot wax or other hot substances; and 
 (d)  when in use, portable space heaters, wood burning 
stoves, and fireplaces. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that the following items are 
inaccessible to children: 
 (a)  live electrical wires; and 
 (b)  for children younger than five years old, electrical 
outlets and surge protectors without protective caps or safety devices 
when not in use. 
 (12)  Unless used and stored [in compliance with the Utah 
Concealed Weapons Act or ]as [otherwise ]allowed by any state or 
federal law, the provider shall ensure that firearms [such as]including 
guns, muzzleloaders, rifles, shotguns, hand guns, pistols, and 
automatic guns are: 
 (a)  locked in a cabinet or area using a key, combination 
lock, or fingerprint lock; and 
 (b)  stored unloaded and separate from ammunition. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that weapons [such 
as]including paintball guns, BB guns, airsoft guns, sling shots, 
arrows, and mace are inaccessible to children. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that alcohol, illegal 
substances, and sexually explicit material are inaccessible, and not 
used on the premises, during offsite activities, or in center vehicles 
any time a child is in care. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that an outdoor source of 
drinking water, [such as]including individually labeled water bottles, 
a pitcher of water and individual cups, or a working water fountain is 
available to each child when the outside temperature is 75 degrees or 
higher. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that areas accessible to 
children are free of heavy or unstable objects that children could pull 
down on themselves, [such as]including furniture, unsecured 
televisions, and standing ladders. 
 (17)  The provider shall ensure that hot water accessible to 
children does not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (18)  The provider shall ensure that highchairs that are used 
by children have T-shaped safety straps or safety devices that are used 
when a child is in the chair. 
 (19)  The provider shall ensure that infant walkers with 
wheels are inaccessible to children. 
 (20)  The provider shall ensure that tobacco, e-cigarettes, 
e-juice, e-liquids, and similar products are inaccessible and, in 
compliance with Title 26, Chapter 38, [the ]Utah Indoor Clean Air 
Act, are not used: 
 (a)  in the facility or any other building when a child is in 
care; 
 (b)  in any vehicle that is being used to transport a child in 
care; 
 (c)  within 25 feet of any entrance to the facility or other 
building occupied by a child in care; or 
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 (d)  in any outdoor area or within 25 feet of any outdoor 
area occupied by a child in care. 
 
R381-100-14.  Emergency Preparedness, Response, and 
Recovery. 
 (1)  The provider shall [have]develop and follow a written 
emergency preparedness, response, and recovery plan that: 
 (a)  includes procedures for evacuation, relocation, shelter 
in place, lockdown, communication with and reunification of 
families, and continuity of operations; 
 (b)  includes procedures for accommodations for infants 
and toddlers, children with disabilities, and children with chronic 
medical conditions; 
 (c)  includes instructions to follow in case of an allergy or 
serious reaction to food or any other trigger that may affect the child's 
health; 
 ([c]d)  is available for review by parents, staff, and the 
department during business hours; and 
 ([d]e)  is followed if an emergency happens, unless 
otherwise instructed by emergency personnel. 
 (2)  The provider shall post the center's street address and 
emergency numbers, including at least fire, police, and poison 
control, near each telephone in the center or in an area clearly visible 
to anyone needing the information. 
 (3)  The provider shall keep first aid supplies in the center, 
including at least antiseptic, bandages, and tweezers. 
 (4)  The provider shall conduct fire evacuation drills 
monthly and make sure drills include a complete exit of each child, 
staff, and volunteers from the building. 
 (5)  The provider shall document each fire drill, including: 
 (a)  the date and time of the drill; 
 (b)  the number of children participating; 
 (c)  the name of the individual supervising the drill; 
 (d)  the total time to complete the evacuation; and 
 (e)  any problems encountered and remediation. 
 (6)  The provider shall conduct drills for disasters other 
than fires at least once every six months. 
 (7)  The provider shall document each disaster drill, 
including: 
 (a)  the type of disaster, [such as]including earthquake, 
flood, prolonged power or water outage, or tornado; 
 (b)  the date and time of the drill; 
 (c)  the number of children participating; 
 (d)  the name of the individual supervising the drill; and 
 (e)  any problems encountered and remediation. 
 (8)  The provider shall vary the days and times on which 
fire and other disaster drills are held. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep documentation of the previous 
12 months of fire and disaster drills on-site for review by the 
department. 
 (10)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  give parents a written report on the day of occurrence 
of each incident, accident, or injury involving their child; 
 (b)  ensure the report has the signatures of the caregivers 
involved, the center director or director designee, and the individual 
picking up the child; and 
 (c)  if school-age children sign themselves out of the center, 
send a copy of the report to the parent on the day following the 
occurrence. 
 (11)  If a child is injured and the injury appears serious but 
not life-threatening, the provider shall contact the child's parent 
immediately. 

 (12)  If a life-threatening injury to a child, or an injury that 
poses a threat of the loss of vision, hearing, or a limb happens, the 
provider shall: 
 (a)  call emergency personnel immediately; 
 (b)  contact the parent after emergency personnel are called; 
and 
 (c)  if the parent cannot be reached, try to contact the child's 
emergency contact individual. 
 (13)  If a child is injured while in care and receives medical 
attention, or for a child fatality, the provider shall: 
 (a)  submit a completed accident report form to the 
department within the next business day of the incident; or 
 (b)  contact the department within the next business day and 
submit a completed accident report form within five business days of 
the incident. 
 (14)  The provider shall keep a six-week record of each 
incident, accident, and injury report on-site for review by the 
department. 
 
R381-100-15.  Health and Infection Control. 
 (1)  The provider shall keep the building, furnishings, 
equipment, and outdoor area clean and sanitary including: 
 (a)  walls and flooring clean and free of spills, dirt, and 
grime; 
 (b)  areas and equipment used for the storage, preparation, 
and service of food clean and sanitary; 
 (c)  surfaces free of rotting food or a build-up of food; 
 (d)  the building and grounds free of a build-up of litter, 
trash, and garbage; 
 (e)  frequently touched surfaces, including doorknobs and 
light switches, cleaned and sanitized; and 
 (f)  the facility free of animal feces. 
 (2)  The provider shall take safe and effective measures to 
prevent and eliminate the presence of insects, rodents, and other 
pests. 
 (3)  The provider shall clean and sanitize any toys and 
materials used by children: 
 (a)  at least once a week or more often if needed; 
 (b)  after being put in a child's mouth and before another 
child plays with the toy; and 
 (c)  after being contaminated by a body fluid. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that fabric toys and items 
[such as]including stuffed animals, cloth dolls, pillow covers, and 
dress-up clothes are machine washable and if used, washed at least 
each week or as needed. 
 (5)  The provider shall clean and sanitize highchair trays 
before each use. 
 (6)  The provider shall clean and sanitize water play tables 
or tubs daily if used by the children. 
 (7)  The provider shall clean and sanitize bathroom surfaces 
including toilets, sinks, faucets, toilet and sink handles, and counters 
each day the facility is open for business. 
 (8)  The provider shall clean and sanitize potty chairs after 
each use. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep toilet paper in a dispenser that 
is accessible to children. 
 (10)  The provider shall post handwashing procedures that 
are readily visible from each handwashing sink and shall ensure that 
each staff follow the procedures[ are followed]. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that staff and volunteers 
wash their hands thoroughly with liquid soap and running water: 
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 (a)  upon arrival; 
 (b)  before handling or preparing food or bottles; 
 (c)  before and after eating meals and snacks or feeding a 
child; 
 (d)  after using the toilet or helping a child use the toilet; 
 (e)  after contact with a body fluid; 
 (f)  when coming in from outdoors; and 
 (g)  after cleaning up or taking out garbage. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers teach 
children how to wash their hands thoroughly and oversee 
handwashing when possible. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that children wash their 
hands thoroughly with liquid soap and running water: 
 (a)  upon arrival; 
 (b)  before and after eating meals and snacks; 
 (c)  after using the toilet; 
 (d)  after contact with a body fluid; 
 (e)  before using a water play table or tub; and 
 (f)  when coming in from outdoors. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that only single-use towels 
from a covered dispenser or an electric hand dryer is used to dry 
hands. 
 (15)  The provider shall store personal hygiene items, [such 
as]including toothbrushes, combs, and hair accessories separate, so 
they do not touch each other, and ensure they are not shared or they 
are sanitized between each use. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that pacifiers, bottles, and 
nondisposable drinking cups are: 
 (a)  labeled with each child's name or individually 
identified; and 
 (b)  not shared, or washed and sanitized before being used 
by another child. 
 (17)  The provider shall ensure the[at] prompt change of a 
child's clothing [is promptly changed ]if the child has a toileting 
accident. 
 (18)  The provider shall ensure that children's clothing that 
is wet or soiled from a body fluid is: 
 (a)  not rinsed or washed at the center; 
 (b)  placed in a leakproof container that is labeled with the 
child's name; and 
 (c)  returned to the parent, or thrown away with parental 
consent. 
 (19)  The provider shall take precautions when cleaning 
floors, furniture, and other surfaces contaminated by blood, urine, 
feces, or vomit, and ensure that, except for diaper changes and 
toileting accidents, staff cleaning these bodily fluids: 
 (a)  wear waterproof gloves; 
 (b)  clean the surface using a detergent solution; 
 (c)  rinse the surface with clean water; 
 (d)  sanitize the surface; 
 (e)  throw away in a leakproof plastic bag the disposable 
materials, [such as]including paper towels, that were used to clean up 
the body fluid; 
 (f)  wash and sanitize any nondisposable materials used to 
clean up the body fluid, [such as]including cleaning cloths, mops, or 
reusable rubber gloves, before reusing them; and 
 (g)  wash their hands after cleaning up the body fluid. 
 (20)  The provider may not care for a child who is ill with 
an infectious disease at the center except when the child shows signs 
of illness after arriving at the center. 
 (21)  If a child becomes ill while in care: 

 (a)  the provider shall contact the child's parent or, if the 
parent cannot be reached, an individual listed as the emergency 
contact to immediately pick up the child; and 
 (b)  if the child is ill with an infectious disease, the provider 
shall make the child comfortable in a safe, supervised area that is 
separated from the other children until the parent arrives. 
 (22)  If any child or employee has an infectious disease, an 
unusual or serious illness, or a sudden onset of an illness, the provider 
shall notify the local health department on the day the provider 
discovers the illness[ is discovered]. 
 (23)  If any staff member or child has an infectious disease 
or parasite, the provider shall post a notice at the center that: 
 (a)  does not disclose any personal identifiable information; 
 (b)  is posted in a conspicuous place where it can be seen 
by parents; 
 (c)  is posted and dated on the same day that the disease or 
parasite is discovered; and 
 (d)  remains posted for at least five business days. 
 (24)  To prevent contamination of food, the spread of 
foodborne illnesses, and other diseases, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  individuals who prepare food in the kitchen do not 
change diapers or help in toileting children; 
 (b)  caregivers who care for diapered children only prepare 
food for the children in their care, and they do not prepare food 
outside of the room used by the diapered children or prepare food for 
other children and adults in the facility; and 
 (c)  individuals with an infectious disease or showing 
symptoms [such as]including diarrhea, fever, coughing, or vomiting 
do not prepare or serve foods. 
 
R381-100-16.  Food and Nutrition. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer a meal or snack to each child 
age two years old and older at least once every three hours. 
 (2)  If the provider supplies food for children's meals or 
snacks[ is supplied by the provider], the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the meal service meets local health department food 
service rules; 
 (b)  the foods that are served meet the nutritional 
requirements of the USDA Child and Adult Care Food Program 
(CACFP) whether or not the provider participates in the CACFP; 
 (c)  the provider uses the CACFP meal pattern 
requirements, the standard department-approved menus, or menus 
approved by a registered dietitian, and that dietitian approval is noted 
and dated on the menus, and current within the past five years; 
 (d)  the current week's menu is posted for review by parents 
and the department; and 
 (e)  if not participating or in good standing with the CACFP, 
keep a six-week record of foods served at each meal and snack. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the individual who 
serves food to children: 
 (a)  is aware of the children in their assigned group who 
have food allergies or sensitivities; and 
 (b)  ensures that the children are not served the food or 
drink they are allergic or sensitive to. 
 (4)  The provider may not place children's food on a bare 
table, and shall serve children's food on dishes, napkins, or sanitary 
highchair trays, except an individual finger food [such as]including a 
cracker, which may be placed directly in a child's hand. 
 (5)  If parents bring food and drink for their child's use, the 
provider shall ensure that the food is: 
 (a)  labeled with the child's name; 
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 (b)  refrigerated if needed; and 
 (c)  consumed only by that child. 
 
R381-100-17.  Medications. 
 (1)  The provider shall lock nonrefrigerated medications or 
store them at least 48 inches above the floor. 
 (2)  The provider shall lock refrigerated medications or 
store them at least 36 inches above the floor and, if liquid, store them 
in a separate leakproof container. 
 (3)  If parents supply any over-the-counter or prescription 
medications, the provider shall ensure those medications:[ are:] 
 (a)  are labeled with the child's full name; 
 (b)  are stored[kept] in the original or pharmacy container; 
 (c)  have the original label; and 
 (d)  have child safety caps. 
 (4)  The provider shall have a written medication 
permission form completed and signed by the parent before 
administering any medication supplied by the parent for their child. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that the medication 
permission form includes at least: 
 (a)  the name of the child; 
 (b)  the name of the medication; 
 (c)  written instructions for administration; and 
 (d)  the parent signature and the date signed. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that instructions for 
administering the medication include at least: 
 (a)  the dosage; 
 (b)  how the medication will be given; 
 (c)  the times and dates to administer the medication; and 
 (d)  the disease or condition being treated. 
 (7)  If the provider supplies an over-the-counter medication 
for children's use, the provider shall ensure that no staff administer 
the medication to any child [is not administered to any child ]without 
previous parental consent for each instance it is given. The provider 
shall ensure that the consent is: 
 (a)  written; or 
 (b)  verbal, if the date and time of the consent is 
documented and signed by the parent upon picking up their child. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that the staff administering 
the medication: 
 (a)  washes their hands; 
 (b)  check the medication label to confirm the child's name 
if the parent supplied the medication; 
 (c)  checks the medication label or the package to ensure 
that a child is not given a dosage larger than that recommended by 
the health care professional or manufacturer; and 
 (d)  administers the medication. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that immediately after 
administering a medication, the staff giving the medication records 
the following information: 
 (a)  the date, time, and dosage of the medication given; 
 (b)  any error in administering the medication or adverse 
reactions; and 
 (c)  their signature or initials. 
 (10)  The provider shall report to the parent a child's 
adverse reaction to a medication or error in administration of the 
medication immediately upon recognizing the reaction or error, or 
after notifying emergency personnel if the reaction is life-threatening. 
 (11)  The provider shall notify the parent before the 
scheduled medication dosage[ time a medication needs to be given] 
to a child if the provider chooses not to administer medication as 
instructed by the parent. 

 (12)  The provider shall keep a six-week record of 
medication permission and administration forms on-site for review 
by the department. 
 
R381-100-18.  Activities. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer daily activities that support 
each child's healthy physical, social, emotional, cognitive, and 
language development. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that daily activities include 
outdoor play as weather and air quality allow. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that physical development 
activities include light, moderate, and vigorous physical activity for 
a daily total of at least 15 minutes for every two hours children spend 
in the program. 
 (4)  For each preschool and school-age group, the provider 
shall post a daily schedule that includes: 
 (a)  activities that support children's healthy development; 
and 
 (b)  the times activities occur including at least meal, snack, 
nap or rest, and outdoor play times. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that toys, materials, and 
equipment needed to support children's healthy development are 
available to the children. 
 (6)  Except for occasional special events, the provider shall 
ensure that the children's primary screen time activity on media [such 
as]including television, cell phones, tablets, and computers is: 
 (a)  not allowed for children zero to 17 months old; 
 (b)  limited for children 18 months to four years old to one 
hour a day, or five hours a week with a maximum screen time of two 
hours per activity; and 
 (c)  planned to address the needs of children five to 12 years 
old. 
 (7)  If the provider offers swimming activities, [are offered 
]or if wading pools are used, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the parent gives permission before their child in care 
uses the pool; 
 (b)  caregivers stay at the pool supervising when a child is 
in the pool or has access to the pool, and when an accessible pool has 
water in it; 
 (c)  diapered children wear swim diapers when they are in 
the pool; 
 (d)  wading pools are emptied and sanitized after use by 
each group of children; 
 (e)  if the pool is over four feet deep, there is a lifeguard on 
duty who is certified by the Red Cross or other approved certification 
program any time children have access to the pool; and 
 (f)  lifeguards and pool personnel do not count toward the 
caregiver-to-child ratio. 
 (8)  If the provider offers offsite activities[ are offered], the 
provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the parent gives written consent before each activity; 
 (b)  the required caregiver-to-child ratio and supervision 
are maintained during the entire activity; 
 (c)  first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
bandages, and tweezers are available; 
 (d)  children wear or carry with them the name and phone 
number of the center; 
 (e)  children's names are not used on nametags, t-shirts, or 
in other visible ways; and 
 (f)  there is a way for caregivers and children to wash their 
hands with soap and water, or with wet wipes and hand sanitizer if 
there is no source of running water. 
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 (9)  The provider shall ensure that a caregiver with the 
children takes the written emergency information and releases for 
each child in the group on each offsite activity, and that the 
information includes at least: 
 (a)  the child's name; 
 (b)  the parent's name and phone number; 
 (c)  the name and phone number of an individual to notify 
if an emergency happens and the parent cannot be contacted; 
 (d)  the names of people authorized by the parents to pick 
up the child; and 
 (e)  current emergency medical treatment and emergency 
medical transportation releases. 
 
R381-100-19.  Play Equipment. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that children using play 
equipment use it safely and [in the manner]as intended by the 
manufacturer. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that the highest designated 
play surface on stationary play equipment used by infants or toddlers 
does not exceed three feet in height. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that swings used by infants 
or toddlers have enclosed seats. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that stationary play 
equipment has a surrounding use zone that extends from the 
outermost edge of the equipment and that, with the exception of 
swings, stationary play equipment that is: 
 (a)  used by infants or toddlers has at least a three-foot use 
zone if any designated play surface is higher than 18 inches; 
 (b)  used by preschoolers has at least a six-foot use zone if 
any designated play surface is higher than 20 inches; and 
 (c)  used by school-age children has at least a six-foot use 
zone if any designated play surface is higher than 30 inches. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone in the front 
and rear of a single-axis, enclosed swing extends at least twice the 
distance of the swing pivot point to the swing seat. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone in the front 
and rear of a single-axis swing extends at least twice the distance of 
the swing pivot point to the ground. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone for a multi-
axis swing, [such as]including a tire swing, extends: 
 (a)  at least the measurement of the suspending rope or 
chain plus three feet, if the swing is used by infants or toddlers; or 
 (b)  at least the measurement of the suspending rope or 
chain plus six feet, if the swing is used by preschoolers or school-age 
children. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone for a merry-
go-round extends at least six feet in any direction from its outermost 
edge. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that the use zone for a spring 
rocker extends: 
 (a)  at least three feet from the outermost edge of the rocker 
when at rest; or 
 (b)  at least six feet from the outermost edge of the rocker 
when at rest if the seat is higher than 20 inches, and the rocker is used 
by preschoolers or school-age children. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that the following use zones 
do not overlap the use zone of any other piece of play equipment: 
 (a)  the use zone in front of a slide; 
 (b)  the use zone in the front and rear of any single-axis 
swing, including a single-axis enclosed swing; 
 (c)  the use zone of a multi-axis swing; and 

 (d)  the use zone of a merry-go-round if the platform 
diameter measures 20 inches or more. 
 (11)  Unless prohibited in Subsection R381-100-19(10), the 
provider shall ensure that the use zones of play equipment only 
overlap when: 
 (a)  the equipment is used by infants or toddlers, and there 
is at least three feet between the pieces of equipment; or 
 (b)  the equipment is used by preschoolers or school-age 
children and there is at least six feet between the pieces of equipment 
if the designated play surface is 30 inches or lower, or there is at least 
nine feet between the pieces of equipment if the designated play 
surface is higher than 30 inches. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that, when in use, stationary 
play equipment is not placed on a hard surface [such as]including 
concrete, asphalt, dirt, or the bare floor. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that protective cushioning 
covers the entire surface of each required use zone and that its depth 
or thickness is determined by the highest designated play surface of 
the equipment. 
 (14)  If the provider uses sand, gravel, or shredded tires [are 
used ]as protective cushioning, the provider shall: 
 (a)  ensure that the cushioning is periodically checked for 
compaction and loosened to the depth listed in Table 2 if compacted; 
 (b)  if the material cannot be loosened due to extreme 
weather conditions, not allow children to play on the equipment until 
the material can be loosened to the required depth; and 
 (c)  ensure that the depth of the material meets the 
guidelines in Table 2. 
 

TABLE 2 
Depths of Protective Cushioning Required for sand, Gravel, and Shredded 

Tires and Rubber Products 
Highest 
Designated 
Play 
Surface, 
Climbing 
Bar, or 
Swing Pivot 
Point 

Fine 
sand 

Coarse 
Sand 

Fine 
Gravel 

Medium 
Gravel 

Shredded 
Tires and 
Rubber 
Products 

Up to 5' high 6" 6" 6" 6" 6" 
Over 5' up to 
6' 

6" 9" 6" 9" 6" 

Over 6' up to 
9' 

9" Not 
allowed 

9" Not 
allowed 

6" 

Over 9' up to 
10' 

Not 
allowed 

Not 
allowed 

9" Not 
allowed 

6" 

Over 10' up 
to 12' 

Not 
allowed 

Not 
allowed 

Not 
allowed 

Not 
allowed 

6" 

 
 (15)  If the provider uses shredded wood products [are used 
]as protective cushioning, the provider shall: 
 (a)  keep on-site for review by the department 
documentation from the manufacturer that the wood product is 
protective cushioning; 
 (b)  ensure there is adequate drainage under the material; 
and 
 (c)  ensure the depth of the shredded wood meets the 
guidelines in Table 3. 
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TABLE 3 
Depths of Protective Cushioning Required for Shredded 

Wood Products 
Highest 
Designated Play 
Surface, 
Climbing Bar, or 
Swing Pivot Point 

Engineered 
Wood fibers 

Wood 
Chips 

Double 
Shredded 
Bark Mulch 

Up to 6' high 6" 6" 6" 
Over 6' up to 7' 9" 6" 9" 
Over 7' up to 11' 9" 9" 9" 
Over 11' 9" Not 

allowed 
Not allowed 

 
 (16)  If the provider uses a unitary cushioning[ is used], the 
provider shall maintain on-site for review by the department 
documentation from the manufacturer that the material is cushioning 
for playgrounds. 
 (17)  If a unitary cushioning[ is used], the provider shall 
ensure that the cushioning material is securely installed, so that it 
cannot become displaced when children jump, run, walk, land, or 
move on it, or be moved by children picking it up. 
 (18)  The provider shall ensure that a play equipment 
platform that is more than: 
 (a)  18 inches above the floor or ground and used by infants 
or toddlers has a protective barrier that is at least 24 inches high; 
 (b)  30 inches above the floor or ground and used by 
preschoolers has a protective barrier that is at least 29 inches high; 
and 
 (c)  48 inches above the floor or ground and used by school-
age children has a protective barrier that is at least 38 inches high. 
 (19)  The provider shall ensure that there is no gap greater 
than 3-1/2 inches in or under a required protective barrier on a play 
equipment platform. 
 (20)  The provider shall ensure that stationary play 
equipment is stable or securely anchored. 
 (21)  The provider shall ensure that there are no trampolines 
on the premises that are accessible to any child in care. 
 (22)  The provider shall ensure that there are no entrapment 
hazards on or within the use zone of any piece of stationary play 
equipment. 
 (23)  The provider shall ensure that there are no 
strangulation hazards on or within the use zone of any piece of 
stationary play equipment. 
 (24)  The provider shall ensure that there are no crush, 
shearing, or sharp edge hazards on or within the use zone of any piece 
of stationary play equipment. 
 (25)  The provider shall ensure that there are no tripping 
hazards [such as]including concrete footings, tree stumps, tree roots, 
or rocks within the use zone of any piece of stationary play 
equipment. 
 
R381-100-20.  Transportation. 
[ If transportation services are offered:] 
 (1)  For each child that the licensee transports[being 
transported], the provider shall [have]obtain a transportation 
permission form: 
 (a)  signed by the parent; and 
 (b)  on-site for review by the department. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that each vehicle used for 
transporting children: 

 (a)  is enclosed with a roof or top; 
 (b)  is equipped with safety restraints; 
 (c)  has a current vehicle registration; 
 (d)  is maintained in a safe and clean condition; and 
 (e)  contains first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
bandages, and tweezers. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the safety restraints in 
each vehicle that transports children are: 
 (a)  appropriate for the age and size of each child who is 
transported, as required by Utah law; 
 (b)  properly installed; and 
 (c)  in safe condition and working order. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that the driver of each vehicle 
who is transporting children: 
 (a)  is at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  has and carries with them a current, valid driver's 
license for the type of vehicle being driven; 
 (c)  has with them the [written ]emergency contact 
information for each child being transported; 
 (d)  ensures that each child being transported is in an 
individual safety restraint that is used according to Utah law; 
 (e)  ensures that the inside vehicle temperature is between 
60-85 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (f)  never leaves a child in the vehicle unattended by an 
adult; 
 (g)  ensures that children stay seated while the vehicle is 
moving; 
 (h)  never leaves the keys in the ignition when not in the 
driver's seat; and 
 (i)  ensures that the vehicle is locked during transport. 
 (5)  If the provider walks or uses public transportation to 
transport children to or from the facility, the provider shall ensure 
that: 
 (a)  each child being transported has a completed 
transportation permission form signed by their parent; 
 (b)  a caregiver goes with the children and actively 
supervises the children; 
 (c)  the caregiver-to-child ratio is maintained; and 
 (d)  a caregiver with the children has [written ]emergency 
contact information and releases for the children being transported. 
 (6)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  have transport liability insurance; or 
 (b)  inform parents in writing that the provider does not 
have transport liability insurance. 
 
R381-100-21.  Animals. 
 (1)  The provider shall inform parents of the kinds of 
animals allowed at the facility. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that there is no animal on the 
premises that: 
 (a)  is naturally aggressive; 
 (b)  has a history of dangerous, attacking, or aggressive 
behavior; or 
 (c)  has a history of biting even one individual. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that animals at the facility are 
clean and free of obvious disease or health problems that could 
adversely affect children. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that there is no animal or 
animal equipment in food preparation or eating areas. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that children younger than 
five years old do not assist with the cleaning of animals or animal 
cages, pens, or equipment. 
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 (6)  If school-age children help in the cleaning of animals 
or animal equipment, the provider shall ensure that the children wash 
their hands immediately after cleaning the animal or equipment. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that children and staff wash 
their hands immediately after playing with or touching reptiles and 
amphibians. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that dogs, cats, and ferrets 
that [are housed at ]the facility houses have current rabies 
vaccinations. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep current animal vaccination 
records on-site for review by the department. 
 
R381-100-22.  Rest and Sleep. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer children in care a daily 
opportunity for rest or sleep in an environment with subdued lighting, 
a low noise level, and freedom from distractions. 
 (2)  The provider shall not schedule nap or rest times for 
more than two hours a day. 
 (3)  The provider shall use a separate crib, cot, mat, or other 
sleeping equipment for each child during nap times. 
 (4)  The provider shall keep sleeping equipment in good 
repair, including that mats and mattresses have smooth, waterproof 
surfaces. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that each crib: 
 (a)  has a tight-fitting mattress; 
 (b)  has slats spaced no more than 2-3/8 inches apart; 
 (c)  has at least 20 inches from the top of the mattress to the 
top of the crib rail, or at least 12 inches from the top of the mattress 
to the top of the crib rail if the child using the crib cannot sit up 
without assistance; 
 (d)  does not have strings, cords, ropes, or other 
entanglement hazards on the crib or within reach of the child; and 
 (e)  has documentation from the manufacturer or retailer 
stating that the crib was built after June 28, 2011, or that the crib is 
certified if the crib was manufactured before that date. 
 (6)  When in use, the provider shall place sleeping 
equipment [such as]including cribs, cots, and mats at least two feet 
apart. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that sleeping equipment does 
not block exits. 
 (8)  The provider shall make a sheet and blanket or 
acceptable alternative available to each child 12 months or older 
during nap time, and ensure that these items are: 
 (a)  clearly assigned to one child; 
 (b)  stored separately from other children's bedding; and 
 (c)  laundered as needed, but at least once a week, and 
before use by another child. 
 (9)  The provider shall clean and sanitize sleeping 
equipment that is not clearly assigned to and used by an individual 
child before each use. 
 (10)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  store sleeping equipment in a way the surfaces children 
sleep on do not touch each other; or 
 (b)  clean and sanitize sleeping equipment before each use. 
 
R381-100-23.  Diapering. 
[ If the provider accepts children who wear diapers:] 
 (1)  This section applies only to a provider that accepts 
children who wear diapers. 
 ([1]2)  The provider shall post diapering procedures at each 
diapering station and ensure that each staff member follows these 
procedures[ they are followed]. 

 ([2]3)  The provider shall ensure that each child's diaper is: 
 (a)  checked at least once every two hours; 
 (b)  promptly changed if wet or soiled; and 
 (c)  checked as soon as a sleeping child awakens. 
 ([3]4)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers change 
children's diapers at a diapering station and not on surfaces used for 
any other purpose. 
 ([4]5)  The provider shall ensure that the diapering surface 
is smooth, waterproof, and in good repair. 
 ([5]6)  The provider shall ensure that each diapering station 
is equipped with railings to prevent a child from falling when being 
diapered. 
 ([6]7)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers do not 
leave children unattended on the diapering surface. 
 ([7]8)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers clean and 
sanitize the diapering surface after each diaper change, or use a 
disposable, waterproof diapering surface that is thrown away after 
each diaper change. 
 ([8]9)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers who 
change diapers wash their hands after each diaper change. 
 ([9]10)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers place wet 
and soiled disposable diapers: 
 (a)  in a container that has a disposable plastic lining and a 
tight-fitting lid; 
 (b)  directly in an outdoor garbage container that has a tight-
fitting lid; or 
 (c)  in a container that is inaccessible to children. 
 (1[0]1)  Each day, the provider shall clean and sanitize 
indoor containers where wet and soiled diapers are placed. 
 ([11]12)  If cloth diapers are used, the provider shall: 
 (a)  not rinse cloth diapers at the facility; and 
 (b)  place cloth diapers directly into a leakproof container 
that is inaccessible to any child and labeled with the child's name; or 
 (c)  place the cloth diapers in a leakproof diapering service 
container. 
 
R381-100-24.  Infant and Toddler Care. 
[ If the provider cares for infants or toddlers:] (1)  This 
section only applies to a provider that accepts infants or toddlers. 
 ([1]2)  The provider shall ensure that each awake infant and 
toddler receives positive physical and verbal interaction with a 
caregiver at least once every 20 minutes. 
 ([2]3)  To stimulate their healthy development, the provider 
shall ensure that infants receive daily interactions with adults; 
including on the ground interaction and closely supervised time spent 
in the prone position for infants less than six months old. 
 ([3]4)  The provider shall ensure that infant and toddler 
areas are not used to pass through or access other indoor and outdoor 
areas. 
 ([4]5)  The provider shall ensure that infants and toddlers 
play in the same enclosed outdoor space with older children only 
when there are eight or fewer children in the group. 
 ([5]6)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers respond 
promptly to infants and toddlers who are in emotional distress due to 
conditions [such as]including hunger, fatigue, a wet or soiled diaper, 
fear, teething, or illness. 
 ([6]7)  For their healthy development, the provider shall 
make safe toys available and accessible for each infant and toddler to 
engage in play. 
 ([7]8)  The provider shall ensure that mobile infants and 
toddlers have freedom of movement in a safe area. 
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 ([8]9)  The provider may not confine an awake infant or 
toddler in any piece of equipment, [such as]including a swing, high 
chair, crib, playpen, or other similar piece of equipment for more than 
30 minutes. 
 ([9]10)  The provider shall ensure that only one infant or 
toddler occupies any one piece of equipment at a time, unless the 
equipment has individual seats for more than one child. 
 ([10]11)  The provider shall make objects made of 
styrofoam inaccessible to infants and toddlers. 
 ([11]12)  The provider shall allow each infant and toddler 
to eat and sleep on their own schedule. 
 ([12]13)  The provider shall ensure that baby food, formula, 
or breast milk that is brought from home for an individual child's use 
is: 
 (a)  labeled with the child's name; 
 (b)  labeled with the date and time of preparation or opening 
of the container, [such as]including a jar of baby food; 
 (c)  kept refrigerated if needed; and 
 (d)  discarded within 24 hours of preparation or opening, 
except for unprepared powdered formula or dry food. 
[ (13)  If an infant cannot sit upright and hold their own 
bottle, the provider shall ensure that a caregiver holds the infant 
during bottle feeding and that bottles are not propped.] 
 (14)  If an infant cannot sit upright and hold their own 
bottle, the provider shall ensure that a caregiver is within arm's reach 
of each infant during bottle feeding and that bottles are not propped. 
 ([14]15)  The provider shall ensure that the caregiver swirls 
and tests warm bottles for temperature before feeding to children. 
 ([15]16)  The provider shall discard formula and milk, 
including breast milk, after feeding or within two hours of starting a 
feeding. 
 ([16]17)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers cut solid 
foods for infants into pieces no larger than 1/4 inch in diameter, and 
cut solid foods for toddlers into pieces no larger than 1/2 inch in 
diameter. 
 ([17]18)  The provider shall ensure that infants sleep in 
equipment designed for sleep [such as]including a crib, bassinet, 
porta-crib or playpen, and that infants are not placed to sleep on a 
mat, cot, pillow, bouncer, swing, car seat, or other similar piece of 
equipment. 
 ([18]19)  The provider shall place infants on their backs for 
sleeping unless there is documentation from a health care provider 
requiring a different sleep position. 
 ([19]20)  The provider may not place soft toys, loose 
blankets, or other objects in sleep equipment while in use by sleeping 
infants. 
 ([20]21)  The provider shall document each infant's eating 
and sleeping patterns each day infants are at the facility, and make 
sure the record: 
 (a)  is completed within an hour of each feeding or nap; and 
 (b)  includes the infant's name, the food and beverages 
eaten, and the times the infant slept. 
 ([21]22)  Within an hour of each infant or toddler's diaper 
change, the provider shall record: 
 (a)  the infant or toddler's name; 
 (b)  the time of the diaper change; and 
 (c)  whether the diaper was dry, wet, soiled, or both. 
 ([22]23)  The provider shall maintain on-site for review by 
the department a six-week record of: 
 (a)  the eating and sleeping patterns for each infant; and 
 (b)  the diaper changes for each infant and toddler. 
 

KEY:  child care facilities, child care, child care centers 
Date of Last Change:  2023[June 1, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 14, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [26-39-
203(1)(a)]26B-2-402 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R414-522 Filing ID:  
55616 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Financing, Coverage and 

Reimbursement Policy 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R414-522.  Electronic Visit Verification Requirements for 
Personal Care and Home Health Care Services 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this change is to correct the effective date 
of the electronic visit verification (EVV) requirement. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment updates the effective date of the EVV 
requirement and clarifies when providers must submit EVV 
records. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 
There is no impact to the state budget as this amendment 
only clarifies current EVV requirements, and is covered 
under previous appropriations for EVV compliance.  
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no impact on local governments as they neither 
fund nor provide benefits under the Medicaid program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no impact on small businesses as this 
amendment only clarifies current EVV requirements, and 
is covered under previous appropriations for EVV 
compliance. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no impact on non-small businesses as this 
amendment only clarifies current EVV requirements, and 
is covered under previous appropriations for EVV 
compliance. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no impact to other persons or entities as this 
amendment only clarifies current EVV requirements, and 
is covered under previous appropriations for EVV 
compliance. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs to a single person or entity 
as this amendment only clarifies current EVV 
requirements, and is covered under previous 
appropriations for EVV compliance. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 
Businesses will see neither costs nor revenue as this 
amendment only clarifies current EVV requirements, and 
is covered under previous appropriations for EVV 
compliance. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-1-213 Section 26B-3-108  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/09/2023 

 
R414.  Health and Human Services, Health Care Financing, 
Coverage and Reimbursement Policy. 
R414-522.  Electronic Visit Verification Requirements for 
Personal Care and Home Health Care Services. 
R414-522-1.  Introduction and Authority. 
 This rule implements the electronic visit verification 
requirements for personal care services and home health care services 
in accordance with Section 12006 of the 21st Century Cures Act.  
Electronic visit verification requirements apply to [all ]personal care 
services or home health care services provided under the Medicaid 
State Plan or under a Medicaid waiver[ of the State Plan], which 
require an in-home visit by a provider.  [This rule is authorized by 
]Section 26B-[18]3-[3]108 authorizes this rule. 
 
R414-522-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Electronic visit verification" (EVV) means the use of 
telephone or computer-based technology to verify the data elements 
related to the delivery of a Medicaid-covered service. 
 (2)  "EVV system" means the combination of the data 
collection component and the aggregator component used by a 
provider to comply with EVV requirements established by the 
Department. 
 (3)  "Home health care services" (HHCS) means services 
described in Subsection 1905(a)(7) of the Social Security Act, and 
provided under the Medicaid State Plan or under a Medicaid 1915(c) 
waiver[ of the State Plan]. 
 (4)  "Personal care services" (PCS) means personal care 
services provided under the Medicaid State Plan or under a Medicaid 
waiver[ of the State Plan]. 
 (5)  "EVV technical specifications means the Department's 
technical specifications located at https://medicaid.utah.gov/evv/. 
 
R414-522-3.  Electronic Visit Verification Requirements. 
 An EVV record is required for [all ]personal care services 
(PCS) effective July 1, 2021.  An EVV record is required for HHCS 
effective January 1, 2023.[and home health care services effective 
July 1, 2019.]  Each PCS and HHCS[A] provider must select an EVV 
service vendor and submit EVV records to accompany each PCS or 
HHCS claim within three months of submitting the claim or 
payment.[have records available for review upon request.  While a 
specific type of software is not mandated,]  The provider's [an ]EVV 
system must comply with the [provisions of the ]21st Century Cures 
Act, [and ]meet the standards of privacy set forth in the Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), and 
the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health 
(HITECH) Act[. ], and the EVV technical specifications.  The 21st 

Century Cures Act requires [A]an EVV data system [must]to include: 
 (1)  the type of service performed; 
 (2)  the individual receiving the service; 
 (3)  the date of the service; 
 (4)  the location of service delivery; 
 (5)  the individual providing the service; 
 (6)  the time the service begins and ends; and 
 (7)  the date of creation of the electronic record. 
 

R414-522-4.  Corrections to Electronic Visit Verification Records. 
 Guidance on submission of corrected records can be found 
at https://medicaid.utah.gov/evv/. 
 
R414-522-[4]5.  Evaluation of Provider Compliance with 
Electronic Visit Verification Requirements. 
 (1)  The Department shall conduct annual post-payment 
reviews of claims requiring EVV for [all ]home health care service 
and personal care service providers to assess compliance with the 
requirements. 
 (2)  At random, and for each provider, the Department [will 
]selects a calendar month within the previous 12-month period and 
[will ]includes as part of its audit, [all ]claims for which a provider 
has service dates and has received reimbursement in the selected 
month.  The Department [will ]also includes in the audit, encounters 
paid through contracted managed care entities within the selected 
month. 
 (3)  For any claims and encounters for which an associated 
EVV record cannot be located, or when the EVV record may not be 
sufficient to meet the requirements in Section R414-522-3, the 
Department shall present [the findings ]an audit report to the provider 
and allow for an opportunity to refute the findings[ or request 
consideration through the fair-hearing process]. 
 (4)(a)  [Claim and encounter disallowances for personal 
care services, which do not meet EVV requirements, shall become 
effective January 1, 2020.]The Department may issue the provider a 
corrective action plan and recover funds for claims that do not 
comply with Section 26B-3-129.  Accordingly, the Department may 
apply the financial penalties established in this subsection. 
 (b)  The Department may withhold payments to a provider 
that misses deadlines for data submission until the provider submits 
the required data. 
 (c)  The Department may issue an audit finding to a 
provider found to have performed PCS or HHCS without submitting 
EVV records by the required date of compliance.  The provider is 
subject to recoupment of up to 25% of paid amounts for services that 
require EVV records for the month audited as well as up to the two 
months before the month audited. 
 (d)  The Department may impose, for a provider that fails 
to remedy an audit finding, a recoupment of up to 100% of paid 
amounts for services that require EVV records for the month audited 
as well as up to the two months before the month audited. 
 (5)  [Claim and encounter disallowances for home health 
care services, which do not meet EVV requirements, shall become 
effective January 1, 2023.]A provider may request an exemption from 
penalties if the provider makes a good faith effort, but could not 
implement an EVV solution in time due to circumstances beyond the 
provider's control.  A provider must submit an exemption request to 
the EVV email within two weeks of being notified of the finding and 
recoupment.  The Department reviews exemption requests and 
decides within two weeks of receiving the request whether the 
request meets exemption requirements.  Exemption requests are 
handled on a case-by case basis. 
 (6)  [The Department shall recover funds for claims that do 
not comply with the provisions of Section 26-18-20.]A provider may 
request consideration through the fair hearing process. 
 
KEY:  Medicaid 
Date of Last Change:  2023[July 1, 2019] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26B-1-
[5]213; 26B-[18]3-[3]108 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R430-8 Filing ID:  
55617 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Residential Child Care Licensing 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 

(MASOB) 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Simon Bolivar 801-
803-
4618 

sbolivar@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R430-8.  Exemptions from Child Care Licensing 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this amendment is to update language, 
clarify processes, and update citations following the 
consolidation and recodification of the Department of 
Health and Human Services' statute in 2023 General 
Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment adds clarifying language compliant with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Additionally, this aligns terminology and processes with 
current enforcement standards. 
 
It also updates citations following the recodification and 
consolidation of the Department of Health and Human 
Services' statute. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 
State government process was thoroughly reviewed.  This 
change will not impact the current process for licensure 
and re-licensure surveys. 
 
No change to the state budget is expected because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards. 
 
Substantive changes add clarification with no fiscal impact 
to enforcement or state government. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The Residential Child Care Licensing (Agency) does not 
expect any costs or savings to the local governments 
caused by the proposed rule amendments because they 
are mostly changes that will facilitate and clarify the current 
process. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The Agency does not expect any costs or savings caused 
by the proposed rule amendments because they are 
mostly changes that will facilitate and clarify the current 
process. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The Agency does not expect any costs or savings to non-
small businesses caused by the proposed rule 
amendments because they are mostly changes that will 
facilitate and clarify the current process. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Agency does not expect any costs or savings to other 
persons caused by the proposed rule amendments 
because they are mostly changes that will facilitate and 
clarify the current process. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There will be no costs generated by the proposed rule 
changes because they are mostly changes that will 
facilitate and clarify the current process. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-2-402   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/10/2023 

 
R430.  Health and Human Services, [Family Health and 
Preparedness, ]Residential Child Care Licensing. 
R430-8.  Exemptions From Child Care Licensing. 
R430-8-1.  Legal Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  [This rule is enacted and enforced in accordance with 
Title 26, Chapter 39, Utah Child Care Licensing Act.]Section 26B-2-
402 authorizes this rule. 
 (2)  This rule defines what constitutes child care that is 
excluded from any of the regulatory requirements of the Utah 
Department of Health and Human Services, Child Care Licensing 
Program. 
 
R430-8-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Background Finding" means information in a 
background check that Child Care Licensing uses to determine if a 
covered individual is or is not eligible to be involved with child care. 
 (2)  "Calendar Week" means from Sunday through 
Saturday. 
 (3)  "Caregiver" means a covered individual who protects 
the health and safety of children. A covered individual is a caregiver 
when they: 
 (a)  count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; 
 (b)  meet the physical or emotional needs of the children, 
including diapering, toileting, feeding, or protecting them from harm; 
or 
 (c)  supervise children. 
 (4)  "CCL" means the Child Care Licensing Program in the 
Department of Health and Human Services that is delegated with the 
responsibility to enforce [the Utah Child Care Licensing Act.]rules 
under Titles R381 and R430. 
 (5)  "Child Care" means continuous care and supervision of 
[five]one or more qualifying children that is: 
 (a)  in place of care ordinarily provided by a parent in the 
parent's home; 
 (b)  for less than 24 hours a day; and 
 (c)  for direct or indirect compensation. 
 (6)  "Child Care Program" means a person or business that 
offers child care. 
 (7)  "Covered Individual" means any of the following 
individuals involved with a child care program: 
 (a)  an owner; 
 (b)  a director; 
 (c)  a member of the governing body; 
 (d)  an employee; 
 (e)  a caregiver; 
 (f)  a volunteer, except a parent of a child enrolled in the 
child care program; 
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 (g)  an individual age 12 years old or older who resides in 
the facility; and 
 (h)  anyone who has unsupervised contact with a child in 
care. 
 (8)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. 
 (9)  "Eligible" means that there were no findings in a 
covered individual's background check that could prohibit that 
covered individual from being involved with child care. 
 (10)  "Facility" means a child care program or the premises 
used for child care. 
 (11)  "Involved with Child Care" means to do any of the 
following at or for a child care program: 
 (a)  care for or supervise children; 
 (b)  volunteer; 
 (c)  own, operate, direct; 
 (d)  reside; 
 (e)  count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; or 
 (f)  have unsupervised contact with a child in care. 
 (12)  "LIS Supported Finding" means a supported finding 
of child abuse or neglect [background check information from ]in the 
Licensing Information System (LIS) database for child abuse and 
neglect, maintained by the [Utah D]department[ of Human Services]. 
 (13)  "Parochial Education Institution" means an institution 
that meets the following criteria: 
 (a)  operates as a substitute for, and gives the equivalent of, 
instruction required in public schools for any grade from first through 
twelfth grade; 
 (b)  has a governing board that actively supervises and 
directs the educational curriculum used by the institution and 
exercises oversight over the health and safety of the children in the 
program; 
 (c)  is owned and operated by a religious institution that is 
registered with the federal government as an 501(c)(3) religious 
organization; 
 (d)  is not directly funded at public expense; 
 (e)  does not receive: 
 (i)  child care grant or subsidy funds, directly or indirectly, 
from the Department of Workforce Services; or 
 (ii)  child care food program funds, directly or indirectly, 
from the State Office of Education; and 
 (f)  does not provide instruction in the home in lieu of 
instruction required in public schools for any grade from first through 
twelfth grade. 
 (14)  "Private Education Institution" means an institution 
that meets the following criteria: 
 (a)  operates as a substitute for, and gives the equivalent of, 
instruction required in public schools for any grade from first through 
twelfth grade; 
 (b)  has a governing board that actively supervises and 
directs the educational curriculum used by the institution, and 
exercises oversight over the health and safety of the children in the 
program; 
 (c)  is not directly funded at public expense; 
 (d)  does not receive: 
 (i)  child care grant or subsidy funds, directly or indirectly, 
from the Department of Workforce Services; or 
 (ii)  child care food program funds, directly or indirectly, 
from the State Office of Education; and 
 (e)  does not provide instruction in the home in lieu of 
instruction required in public schools for any grade from first through 
twelfth grade. 

 (15)  "Public School" means a school, including a charter 
school, that is directly funded at public expense and is regulated by a 
board of education governed by Title 53A, Chapter 3, Local School 
Boards. 
 (16)  "Qualifying Child" means: 
 (a)  a child who is younger than 13 years old and is the child 
of an individual other than the child care provider or caregiver; 
 (b)  a child with a disability who is younger than 18 years 
old and is the child of an individual other than the provider or 
caregiver; or 
 (c)  a child who is younger than four years old and is the 
child of the provider or a caregiver. 
 (17)  "Related Child" means a child for whom a provider is 
the parent, legal guardian, step-parent, grandparent, step-
grandparent, great-grandparent, sibling, step-sibling, aunt, step-aunt, 
great-aunt, uncle, step-uncle, or great-uncle. 
 (18)  "Relative Care" means care provided to a qualifying 
child by or in the home of the parent, legal guardian, step-parent, 
grandparent, step-grandparent, great-grandparent, sibling, step-
sibling, aunt, uncle, step-aunt, step-uncle, great-aunt, or great-uncle. 
[ (19)  "Volunteer" means an individual who receives no 
form of direct or indirect compensation for their service.] 
 
R430-8-3.  License or Certificate, Exemption, and Background 
Check Not Required. 
 (1)  The following types of care do not require a child care 
license, certificate, exemption, or the submission of background 
check documents to the department: 
 (a)  care provided on no more than two days during any 
calendar week; 
 (b)  care provided in the home of the provider for less than 
four hours a day, or for fewer than [five]seven unrelated children in 
the home at one time; 
 (c)  care provided in the home of the provider on a sporadic 
basis only; 
 (d)  care provided by a facility or program owned or 
operated by an agency of the United States government; 
 (e)  a group counseling provided by a mental health 
therapist who is licensed to practice in this state; 
 (f)  a health care facility licensed pursuant to [Title 26, 
Chapter 21, Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act;]Title 
26B, Chapter 2, Part 4 Child Care Licensing; or 
 (g)  care provided at a residential support program that is 
licensed by the [D]department[ of Human Services]. 
 
R430-8-4.  Exempt Application and Public Notice Required. 
 (1)  The following types of care do not require a child care 
license or certificate from the department, but do require the provider 
to meet the application and public notice requirements outlined in this 
rule: 
 (a)  care provided to a qualifying child as part of a course 
of study at or a program administered by an educational institution 
that is regulated by the boards of education of this state, a private 
education institution that provides education in lieu of that provided 
by the public education system, or by a parochial education 
institution; 
 (b)  care provided to a qualifying child by a public or 
private institution of higher education, if the care is provided in 
connection with a course of study or program, relating to the 
education or study of children, that is provided to students of the 
institution of higher education; 
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 (c)  care provided to a qualifying child at a public school 
by an organization other than the public school, if: 
 (i)  the care is provided under contract with the public 
school or on school property; or 
 (ii)  the public school accepts responsibility and oversight 
for the care provided by the organization; 
 (d)  care provided to a qualifying child as part of a summer 
camp that operates on federal land pursuant to a federal permit; 
 (e)  care provided by an organization that: 
 (i)  qualifies for tax exempt status under Section 501(c)(3), 
[of the ]Internal Revenue Code; 
 (ii)  provides care pursuant to a written agreement with: 
 (A)  a municipality that provides oversight for the program; 
or 
 (B)  a county that provides oversight for the program; and 
 (iii)  provides care to a child who is over the age of four and 
under the age of 13; 
 (f)  care provided to a qualifying child at a facility where: 
 (i)  the parent or guardian of the qualifying child is 
physically present in the building where the care is provided while 
the child is in care and the parent or guardian is near enough to reach 
the child within five minutes if needed; 
 (ii)  the duration of the care is less than four hours for an 
individual qualifying child in any one day[,]; 
 (iii)  the care is provided on a sporadic basis[,]; 
 (iv)  the care does not include diapering a qualifying 
child[,]; and 
 (v)  the care does not include preparing or serving meals to 
a qualifying child. 
 (2)  Providers listed in this subsection shall submit to the 
department, each year the program is open for business, an 
application for verification of license exempt status on the form 
provided by the department. 
 (3)  Providers listed in this subsection shall post, in a 
conspicuous location near the entrance of the provider's facility, a 
notice prepared by the department that: 
 (a)  states that the facility is exempt from licensure and 
certification; and 
 (b)  provides the department's contact information for 
submitting a complaint. 
 (4)  Substantiated complaint allegations against providers 
listed in this subsection will be available to the public and posted by 
the department on the Child Care Licensing website. 
 
R430-8-5.  Background Check Requirements and 
[Appeals]Agency Action Reviews. 
 (1)  An exempt provider who cares for a qualifying child as 
part of a program administered by an educational institution that is 
regulated by the State Board of Education is not subject to the 
background check requirements listed under this section, unless 
required by the United States Code, Title 42, Sections 9857-9858r, 
Child Care and Development Block Grant.[, 42 U.S.C. Secs. 9857-
9858r.] 
 (2)  Except as [provided ]outlined in Subsection R430-8-
5(1), the requirements of this subsection apply to each facility listed 
in Section R430-8-4. 
 (3)  The provider shall submit to the department 
background checks and fees for each covered individual as defined 
in Subsection R430-8-2(7). 
[ (4)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved 
with child care in the program, the provider shall use the CCL 
provider portal search to: 

 (a)  verify that the individual is eligible; and 
 (b)  associate that individual with their facility if the 
covered individual appears in the search.] 
 (4)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved 
with child care, the provider shall use the CCL provider portal search 
to verify that the individual is eligible and either: 
 (a)  associate that individual with their facility; or 
 (b)  not associate the individual if the individual is 
associated with another CCL facility and the new individual will be 
at the facility for no more than one business day. 
 (5)  Before a new covered individual who does not appear 
in the CCL provider portal search becomes involved with child care 
in the program, the provider shall: 
 (a)  have the individual submit an online background check 
form and fingerprints for individuals age 18 years old and older; 
 (b)  authorize the individual's background check through 
the CCL provider's portal; 
 (c)  pay any required fees; and 
 (d)  receive written notice from CCL that the individual is 
eligible. 
 (6)  To keep their background check eligibility current, the 
provider shall also ensure that a new background check form and 
fingerprints are submitted and authorized and fees are paid for any 
covered individual who has: 
 (a)  resided outside of Utah since their last background 
check was completed; 
 (b)  not been associated with an active, CCL approved child 
care facility within the past 180 days; or 
 (c)  has turned 18 years old and has not previously 
submitted fingerprints for a CCL background check. If the 18-year-
old has previously submitted fingerprints for a CCL background 
check, only a new background check form will be required. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that fingerprints are prepared 
by a local law enforcement agency or an agency approved by local 
law enforcement. 
 (8)  If fingerprints are submitted electronically through live 
scan, the provider shall ensure that the agency taking the fingerprints 
is one that follows the department's guidelines. 
 (9)  The department may consider a covered individual not 
eligible for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  LIS supported findings; 
 (b)  the covered individual's name appears on the Utah or 
national sex offender registry; 
 (c)  the covered individual refuses to consent to the criminal 
background check; 
 (d)  the covered individual knowingly makes a false 
statement in connection with their background check; 
 (e)  any felony convictions; or 
 (f)  for any of the reasons listed under Subsection R430-8-
5(10). 
 (10)  The department may also consider a covered 
individual not eligible for any of the following convictions regardless 
of severity: 
 (a)  child pornography; 
 (b)  sexual enticing of a minor; 
 (c)  voyeurism; 
 (d)  a sexual exploitation act; 
 (e)  pornographic material or performance; 
 (f)  any crime against an individual; 
 (g)  providing dangerous weapons or fire arms to a minor; 
or 
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 (h)  driving under the influence [(DUI) ]while a child is 
present in the vehicle. 
 (11)  The department shall consider a covered individual 
eligible if the only background finding is a conviction or plea of no 
contest to a nonviolent drug offense that occurred ten or more years 
before the CCL background check was conducted. 
 (12)  If the provider is deemed not eligible by CCL, the 
department may suspend or deny their license until the reason for the 
background check finding is resolved. 
 (13)  If a covered individual is deemed not eligible by CCL, 
including that the individual has been convicted, has pleaded no 
contest, or is currently subject to a plea in abeyance or diversion 
agreement for a felony or misdemeanor, the provider shall prohibit 
that individual from being employed by the child care program or 
residing at the facility until the reason for the background check 
finding is resolved. 
 (14)  If a covered individual is denied a license or 
employment based upon the criminal background check and 
disagrees with the information provided by the Department of Public 
Safety, the covered individual may appeal the information to the 
Department of Public Safety. 
 (15)  [If a covered individual disagrees with a supported 
finding on the Department of Human Services LIS, the covered 
individual may appeal the finding to the Department of Human 
Services. 
 (16)  ]The provider and the covered individual shall notify 
the department within 48 hours of becoming aware of the covered 
individual's arrest warrant, felony, or misdemeanor arrest, charge, 
conviction, or supported LIS finding.  Failure to notify the 
department within 48 hours may result in disciplinary action, 
including revocation of the license. 
 (1[7]6)  The Executive Director or designee of the 
department may overturn a CCL background check decision if they 
[Executive Director ]determine[s] that the nature of the background 
finding or mitigating circumstances do not pose a risk to children. 
 (1[8]7)  An applicant or exempt provider may request an 
agency review for [appeal ]any department decision within [15]ten 
working days of being informed in writing of the decision. 
 
R430-8-6.  Voluntary Licensure. 
 [(1)  ]A child care provider who is not required to be 
licensed or certified under this rule may voluntarily receive a license 
and agree to be subject to each of the terms and conditions of the 
license, except for the following: 
 ([a]1)  relative care only[ as defined in Subsection R430-8-
2(17)]; [and]or 
 ([b]2)  care provided in the home of the provider on a 
sporadic basis only. 
 
KEY:  child care facilities, exemptions from Child Care Licensing 
Date of Last Change:  2023[June 1, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 17, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [26-39]26B-
2-402 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R430-50 Filing ID:  
55618 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Residential Child Care Licensing 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 

(MASOB) 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Simon Bolivar 801-
803-
4618 

sbolivar@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R430-50.  Residential Certificate Child Care 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this amendment is to update language, 
clarify processes, updates terms and requirements as 
required by H.B. 15 from the 2022 General Session and 
updates citations following the consolidation and 
recodification of the Department of Health and Human 
Services' statute introduced in S.B. 38 in the 2023 General 
Session. 
 
This amendment incorporates changes based on the input 
and approval of the Child Care Provider Licensing 
Committee. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment adds clarifying language compliant with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Additionally, this aligns terminology and processes with 
current enforcement standards. 
 
It also updates citations following the recodification and 
consolidation of the Department of Health and Human 
Services' (Department) statute. 
 
Substantive changes to comply with H.B. 15 (2022) 
include: 
1)  the definition of child care; 
2)  the Department's authority over municipalities and 
counties related to requirements for child care providers; 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 107 

3)  allowing additional school-age children without 
requesting an increase in capacity; 
4)  an increase in the number of children an individual can 
care for without a license; 
5)  removing the limitations on the number children under 
age two for certified providers; and 
6)  establishing a limit on the total number of children that 
a person may care for in the person's home without a 
license or certificate. 
  

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Increasing the minimum number of children required for a 
provider to for a residential certificate may result in a fiscal 
impact for the Department. 
 
Some providers who are currently required to be certified 
for a lower number of children may decide to relinquish 
their residential certificate and operate without one.  
However, there is no way for the Department to calculate 
the fiscal impact of these changes because there is not a 
requirement for providers to report, and implementation of 
these changes is optional for providers. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The Residential Child Care Licensing (Agency) does not 
expect any costs or savings to the local governments 
caused by the proposed rule amendments because there 
is no oversight of local governments in these programs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Giving providers the option to add school-age children 
without requesting a capacity change and increasing the 
number of children under age two will potentially impact 
these providers' income.  This would be a benefit based 
on the number of children they add and would not result in 
a cost to them. 
 
In addition, changing the language for the number of 
children under age two will give residential certificate 
providers more options to address the demand of care for 
infants and toddlers.  The benefit amounts are inestimable 
due to the individualized capacities and preferences of 
each provider. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The Agency does not expect any costs or savings to non-
small businesses caused by the proposed rule 
amendments because residential care providers do not 
exceed 50 employees in any setting. 
  

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Giving providers the option to add school-age children 
without requesting a capacity change and increasing the 
number of children under age two will potentially impact 
these providers' income.  This would be a benefit based 
on the number of children they add and would not result in 
a cost to them. 
 
In addition, changing the language for the number of 
children under age two will give residential certificate 
providers more options to address the demand of care for 
infants and toddlers.  The benefit amounts are inestimable 
due to the individualized capacities and preferences of 
each provider. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There will be no costs generated by the proposed rule 
changes because they are mostly changes that will 
facilitate and clarify the current process and do not require 
action. 
 
The changes do not require action unless the provider 
chooses to relinquish and provide care without a 
residential certificate due to no longer meeting the 
minimum threshold for licensure. 
 
They additionally could add children under age two under 
the new capacity allowance, but are not required to do so. 
  
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
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State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-2-402   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/09/2023 

 
R430.  Health and Human Services, [Family Health and 
Preparedness, ]Residential Child Care Licensing. 
R430-50.  Residential Certificate Child Care. 
R430-50-1.  Legal Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is enacted and enforced in accordance with 
[Title 26, Chapter 39, Utah Child Care Licensing Act.]Section 26B-
2-402. 

 (2)  This rule establishes the foundational standards 
necessary to protect the health and safety of children in residential 
child care facilities and defines the general procedures and 
requirements to get and maintain a residential certificate to provide 
child care. 
 
R430-50-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Applicant" means a person or business who has 
applied for a new or a renewal of a residential certificate from [Child 
Care Licensing]the department. 
 (2)  "Background Finding" means information in a 
background check that [Child Care Licensing ]the department uses to 
determine if a covered individual is or is not eligible [to be]for 
involvement [involved ]with child care. 
 (3)  "Barrier" means an enclosing structure [such 
as]including a fence, wall, bars, railing, or solid panel to prevent 
accidental or deliberate movement through or access to something. 
 (4)  "Body Fluid" means blood, urine, feces, vomit, mucus, 
or saliva. 
 (5)  "Business Days and Hours" means the days of the week 
and times the facility is open for business. 
 (6)  "Caregiver" means a covered individual who protects 
the health and safety of children. A covered individual is a caregiver 
when they: 
 a)  count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; 
 b)  meet the physical or emotional needs of the children, 
including diapering, toileting, feeding, or protecting them from harm; 
or 
 c)  supervise children. 
 (7)  "Capacity" means the maximum number of children 
the provider is allowed to care for at any given time. 
 (8)  "Caregiver-to-Child Ratio" means the number of 
caregivers responsible for a specific number of children. 
 (9)  "CCL" means the Child Care Licensing Program under 
the Office of Licensing that is delegated with the responsibility to 
enforce the [Utah Child Care Licensing Act.]rules under Titles R381 
and R430. 
 (10)  "Child Care" means continuous care and supervision 
of [five]one or more qualifying children that is: 
 (a)  in place of care ordinarily provided by a parent in the 
parent's home; 
 (b)  for less than 24 hours a day; and 
 (c)  for direct or indirect compensation. 
 (11)  "Child Care Program" means a person or business that 
offers child care. 
 (12)  "Choking Hazard" means an object or a removable 
part on an object with a diameter of less than 1-1/4 inches and a length 
of less than 2-1/4 inches that could be caught in a child's throat 
blocking their airway and making it difficult or impossible to breathe. 
 (13)  "Conditional Status" means that the provider is at risk 
of losing their child care residential certificate because compliance 
with [licensing ]any laws or administrative rules has not been 
maintained. 
 (14)  "Covered Individual" means any of the following 
individuals involved with a child care program: 
 (a)  an owner; 
 (b)  an employee; 
 (c)  a caregiver; 
 (d)  a volunteer, except a parent of a child enrolled in the 
child care program; 
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 (e)  an individual age 12 years old or older who resides in 
the facility; and 
 (f)  anyone who has unsupervised contact with a child in 
care. 
 (15)  "Crib" means an infant's bed with sides to protect 
them from falling, including a bassinet, porta-crib, or play pen. 
 (16)  "Cushioning" means a shock-absorbing surface under 
and around play equipment that reduces the severity of injuries from 
falls. 
 (17)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. 
 (18)  "Designated Play Surface" means any accessible 
elevated surface for standing, walking, crawling, sitting or climbing; 
or an accessible flat surface at least two by two inches in size and 
having an angle less than 30 degrees from horizontal. 
 (19)  "Eligible" means that there were no findings in a 
covered individual's background check that could prohibit that 
covered individual from being involved with child care. 
 (20)  "Emotional Abuse" is defined in Subsection R512-80-
2(12) and also means behavior that could harm a child's emotional 
development, [such as]including threatening, intimidating, 
humiliating, demeaning, criticizing, rejecting, using profane 
language, or using inappropriate physical restraint. 
 (21)  "Entrapment Hazard" means an opening greater than 
3-1/2 by 6-1/4 inches and less than nine inches in diameter where a 
child's body could fit through but the child's head could not fit 
through, potentially causing a child's entrapment and strangulation. 
 (22)  "Facility" means [a child care program or ]the 
premises approved by the department [to be used ]for child care. 
 (23)  "Group" means the children who are assigned to and 
supervised by one or more caregivers. 
 (24)  "Group Size" means the total number of children in a 
group. 
 (25)  "Guest" means an individual who is not a covered 
individual and is at the child care facility for a short time with the 
provider's permission. 
 (26)  "Health Care Provider" means a licensed health 
professional, [such as]including a physician, dentist, nurse 
practitioner, or physician's assistant. 
 (27)  "Homeless" means anyone who lacks a fixed, regular, 
and adequate nighttime residence. 
 (28)  "Inaccessible" means out of reach of children by 
being: 
 (a)  locked, [such as]including in a locked room, cupboard, 
or drawer; 
 (b)  secured with a child safety device, [such as]including 
a child safety cupboard lock or doorknob device; 
 (c)  behind a properly secured child safety gate; 
 (d)  located at least 36 inches above the floor; or 
 (e)  if in a bathroom, at least 36 inches above any surface 
from where a child could stand or climb. 
 (29)  "Infant" means a child who is younger than 12 months 
old. 
 (30)  "Infectious Disease" means an illness that is capable 
of being spread from one individual to another. 
 (31)  "Involved with Child Care" means to do any of the 
following at or for a child care program: 
 (a)  care for or supervise children; 
 (b)  volunteer; 
 (c)  own, operate, direct; 
 (d)  reside; 
 (e)  count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; or 

 (f)  have unsupervised contact with a child in care. 
 (32)  "LIS Supported Finding" means a supported finding 
of child abuse or neglect in[background check information from] the 
Licensing Information System (LIS) database for child abuse and 
neglect, maintained by the [Utah D]department[ of Human Services]. 
 (33)  "Over-the-Counter Medication" means medication 
that can be bought without a written prescription including herbal 
remedies, vitamins, and mineral supplements. 
 (34)  "Parent" means the parent or legal guardian of a child 
in care. 
 (35)  "Physical Abuse" is defined in Subsection R512-80-
2(25) and also means causing nonaccidental physical harm to a child. 
 (36)  "Play Equipment Platform" means a flat surface on a 
piece of stationary play equipment intended for more than one child 
to stand [on, ]and [upon which the children can ]move freely on. 
 (37)  "Preschooler" means a child age two through four 
years old. 
 (38)  "Provider" means the legally responsible person or 
business that holds a valid residential certificate from [Child Care 
Licensing]the department. 
 (39)  "Qualifying Child" means: 
 (a)  a child who is younger than 13 years old and is the child 
of an individual other than the child care provider or caregiver; 
 (b)  a child with a disability who is younger than 18 years 
old and is the child of an individual other than the provider or 
caregiver; or 
 (c)  a child who is younger than four years old and is the 
child of the provider or a caregiver. 
 (40)  "Related Child" means a child for whom a provider is 
the parent, legal guardian, step-parent, grandparent, step-
grandparent, great-grandparent, sibling, step-sibling, aunt, step-aunt, 
great-aunt, uncle, step-uncle, or great-uncle. 
 (41)  "Residential Child Care" means care that takes place 
in a child care provider's home. 
 (42)  "Sanitize" means to use a product or process to reduce 
contaminants and bacteria to a safe level. 
 (43)  "School-Age Child" means a child age five through 
12 years old. 
 (44)  "Sexual Abuse" is defined in Subsection R512-80-
2(30) and also means to take indecent liberties with a child with the 
intention to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of an individual or to 
cause pain or discomfort. 
 (45)  "Sexually Explicit Material" means any depiction of 
actual or simulated sexually explicit conduct. 
 (46)  "Sleeping Equipment" means a cot, mat, crib, 
bassinet, porta-crib, playpen, or bed. 
 (47)  "Stationary Play Equipment" means equipment [such 
as]including a climber, slide, swing, merry-go-round, or spring 
rocker that is meant to stay in one location when a child uses it.  
Stationary play equipment does not include: 
 (a)  a sandbox; 
 (b)  a stationary circular tricycle; 
 (c)  a sensory table; or 
 (d)  a playhouse that sits on the ground or floor and does 
not have an attached slide, swing, or climber. 
 (48)  "Strangulation Hazard" means [something on 
which]an item where a child's clothes or drawstrings could become 
caught[,] or [something in which a child could become ]entangled 
[such as]including: 
 (a)  a protruding bolt end that extends more than two 
threads beyond the face of the nut; 
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 (b)  hardware that forms a hook or leaves a gap or space 
between components [such as]including a protruding open S-hook; 
or 
 (c)  a rope, cord, or chain that is attached to a structure and 
is long enough to encircle a child's neck. 
 (49)  "Toddler" means a child age 12 through 23 months 
old. 
 (50)  "Unsupervised Contact" means being with, caring for, 
communicating with, or touching a child in the absence of a caregiver 
or other employee who is at least 18 years old and is considered 
eligible by CCL[has passed a Child Care Licensing background 
check]. 
 (51)  "Use Zone" means the area beneath and surrounding 
a play structure or piece of equipment that is designated for 
unrestricted movement around the equipment, and [onto 
which]where a child falling from or exiting the equipment could be 
expected to land. 
[ (52)  "Volunteer" means an individual who receives no 
form of direct or indirect compensation for their service.] 
 (5[3]2)  "Working Days" means the days of the week the 
department is open for business. 
 
R430-50-3.  Residential Certificate Required. 
 (1)  An individual shall [be ]become certified as a 
residential child care provider if they provide care: 
 (a)  in the provider's home[ where they reside];  
 (b)  in the absence of the child's parent; 
 (c)  for [five to]seven or eight unrelated children; 
 (d)  for four or more hours a day; 
 (e)  for each individual child for less than 24 hours a day; 
 (f)  on a regularly scheduled, ongoing basis; and 
 (g)  for direct or indirect compensation. 
 (2)  An individual shall become certified by the department 
as a child care provider if they provide child care in the person's home 
for more than ten children in total under the age of 13, or under the 
age of 18 if a child has a disability, regardless of whether a child is 
related to the person providing child care. 
 ([2]3)  A person who is not required to become certified 
may voluntarily become certified, except for care that is for related 
children only or on a sporadic basis. 
 
R430-50-4.  Residential Certificate Application, Renewal, 
Changes, and Variances. 
 (1)  Each applicant for a new residential certificate shall: 
 (a)  submit a CCL online application; 
 (b)  submit a copy of a current local fire clearance or a 
written statement from the local fire authority that a fire inspection is 
not required; 
 (c)  submit a copy of a current local health department 
kitchen clearance for a facility providing food service or a written 
statement from the local health department that a kitchen inspection 
is not required; 
 (d)  submit a copy of a current local business license or a 
written statement from the city that a business license is not required; 
 (e)  complete CCL background checks for covered 
individuals as required in Section R430-50-8; 
 (f)  complete CCL new provider training no more than six 
months before becoming certified; and 
 (g)  pay any required fees, [which]that are nonrefundable. 
 (2)  Each applicant shall pass a department's inspection of 
the facility before a new residential certificate or a renewal is issued. 

 (3)  If the local fire authority states in writing that an 
applicant for a new residential certificate or a renewal does not 
require a fire inspection, the department shall verify the applicant's 
compliance with the following: 
 (a)  address numbers and letters are readable from the 
street; 
 (b)  exit doors operate properly and are well maintained; 
 (c)  there are no obstructions in exits, aisles, corridors, and 
stairways; 
 (d)  there is at least one unobstructed fire extinguisher that 
is currently charged, serviced, and mounted not more than five feet 
above the floor; 
 (e)  there are working smoke detectors that are properly 
installed on each level of the building; and 
 (f)  boiler, mechanical, and electrical panel rooms are not 
used for storage. 
 (4)  If an applicant for a new residential certificate [or a 
renewal ]serves food and the local health department states in writing 
that a kitchen inspection is not required, the department shall verify 
the applicant's compliance with the following: 
 (a)  the refrigerator is clean, in good repair, and working at 
or below 41 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (b)  there is a working thermometer in the refrigerator; 
 (c)  there is a working stem thermometer available to check 
cooking and hot hold temperatures; 
 (d)  reusable food holders, utensils, and food preparation 
surfaces are washed, rinsed, and sanitized before each use; 
 (e)  chemicals are stored away from food and food service 
items; 
 (f)  food is properly stored, [kept to]maintained at the 
proper temperature, and in good condition; and 
 (g)  there is a working handwashing sink in the kitchen. 
 (5)  Each applicant shall have six months from the time any 
portion of the application is submitted to finish the residential 
certificate process. If unsuccessful, the applicant shall reapply. Any 
resubmission [must]shall include the required documentation, 
payment of certification fees, and a new inspection of the facility to 
become certified. 
 (6)  The department may deny an application for a 
residential certificate if, within the five years preceding the 
application date, the applicant held a license or a residential 
certificate that was: 
 (a)  closed under an immediate closure; 
 (b)  revoked; 
 (c)  closed as a result of a settlement agreement resulting 
from a notice of intent to revoke, a notice of revocation, or a notice 
of immediate closure; 
 (d)  voluntarily closed after an inspection of the facility 
found a rule violation that would have resulted in a notice of intent to 
revoke or a notice of revocation had the provider not closed 
voluntarily; or 
 (e)  voluntarily closed having unpaid fees or civil money 
penalties issued by the department. 
 (7)  Each child care residential certificate expires at 
midnight on the last day of the month shown on the residential 
certificate, unless the residential certificate was previously revoked 
by the department, or voluntarily closed by the provider. 
 (8)  Within 30 to 90 days before a current residential 
certificate expires, each provider shall submit for renewal: 
 (a)  an online renewal request; 
 (b)  applicable renewal fees; 
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 (c)  any previous unpaid fees; and 
 (d)  a copy of a current fire inspection report. 
 (9)  The department may grant a provider who fails to 
renew their residential certificate by the expiration date an additional 
30 days to complete the renewal process if the provider pays a late 
fee. 
 (10)  The department may deny renewal of a residential 
certificate for a provider who is no longer caring for children. 
 (11)  Each provider shall submit a complete application for 
a new residential certificate at least 30 days before a change of the 
child care facility's location. 
 (12)  A provider shall submit a complete online changes 
request to amend an existing residential certificate at least 30 days 
before any of the following changes: 
 (a)  an increase or decrease of residential certificate 
capacity, including any change to the amount of usable indoor space 
where child care is provided; 
 (b)  a change in the name of the program; 
 (c)  a change in the regulation type of the program; 
 (d)  a change in the name of the provider; or 
 (e)  a transfer of business ownership. 
 (13)  The department may amend a residential certificate 
after verifying that the applicant is in compliance with all applicable 
rules and required fees have been paid.  The expiration date of the 
amended residential certificate remains the same as the previous 
residential certificate. 
 (14)  Only the department may assign, transfer, or amend a 
residential certificate. 
 (15)  If an applicant or provider cannot comply with a rule 
but can meet the intent of the rule in another way, the applicant or 
provider may apply for a variance to that rule by submitting a request 
to the department. 
 (16)  Until the department approves a variance [E]each 
provider shall comply with the existing rules[ until a variance is 
approved by the department]. 
 (17)  If the department approves a variance[ is approved], 
the provider shall keep a copy of the written approval on-site for 
review by parents and the department. 
 (18)  The department may grant variances for up to 12 
months. 
 (19)  The department may revoke a variance if: 
 (a)  the provider is not meeting the intent of the rule as 
stated in their approved variance; 
 (b)  the provider fails to comply with the conditions of the 
variance; or 
 (c)  a change in statute, rule, or case law affects the basis 
for the variance. 
 
R430-50-5.  Rule [Violations]Noncompliance, Penalties, and 
[Appeals]Agency Action Reviews. 
 (1)  The department may place a program's child care 
residential certificate on a conditional status for the following causes: 
 (a)  chronic, ongoing noncompliance with rules; 
 (b)  unpaid fees; or 
 (c)  a serious rule violation that places children's health or 
safety in immediate jeopardy. 
 (2)  The department shall establish the length of the 
conditional status and set the conditions that the child care provider 
shall satisfy to remove the conditional status. 
 (3)  The department may increase monitoring of the 
program that is on conditional status to verify compliance with rules. 

 (4)  The department may deny or revoke a residential 
certificate if the child care provider: 
 (a)  fails to meet the conditions of a residential certificate 
on conditional status; 
 (b)  violates the [Child Care Licensing Act]any part of Title 
26B, Chapter 2, Part 4, Child Care Licensing; 
 (c)  provides false or misleading information to the 
department; 
 (d)  misrepresents information by intentionally altering a 
residential certificate or any other document issued by the 
department; 
 (e)  fails to allow authorized representatives of the 
department access to the facility to ensure compliance with this rule; 
 (f)  fails to submit or make available to the department any 
written documentation required to verify compliance with this rule; 
 (g)  commits a serious rule violation that results in death or 
serious harm to a child, or that places a child at risk of death or serious 
harm; or 
 (h)  has committed an illegal act that would exclude an 
individual from having a residential certificate. 
 (5)  Within ten working days of receipt of a revocation 
notice, the provider shall submit to the department the names and 
mailing addresses of the parents of each enrolled child so the 
department can notify the parents of the revocation. 
 (6)  The department may order the immediate closure of a 
facility if conditions create a clear and present danger to any child in 
care and may require immediate action to protect the children's health 
or safety. 
 (7)  Upon receipt of an immediate closure notice, the 
provider shall give the department the names and mailing addresses 
of the parents of each enrolled child so the department can notify the 
parents of the immediate closure. 
 (8)  If there is a severe injury or the death of a child in care, 
the department may order a child care provider to suspend services 
and prohibit new enrollments, pending a review by the Child Fatality 
Review Committee or a determination of the probable cause of death 
or injury by a medical professional. 
[ (9)  If a person is providing care for more than four 
unrelated children without the appropriate license, the department 
may: 
 (a)  issue a cease and desist order; or 
 (b)  allow the person to continue operation if: 
 (i)  the person was unaware of the need for a license; 
 (ii)  conditions do not create a clear and present danger to 
the children in care; and 
 (iii)  the person agrees to apply for the appropriate license 
or residential certificate within 30 calendar days of notification by 
the department.] 
 (9)  An unlicensed person providing care that requires a 
license or certificate may be charged with a civil money penalty and 
a class A misdemeanor unless they: 
 (a)  stop providing child care that requires a license or 
certificate; or 
 (b)  apply for the appropriate license or certificate within 
30 calendar days of notification by the department. 
 (10)  If a person providing care without the appropriate 
license agrees to apply for a license but does not submit an 
application and the required application documents within 30 days, 
the department may issue a cease and desist order. 
 (11)  A violation of any rule is punishable by an 
administrative civil money penalty of up to $5,000 a day as provided 
in Section [26-39-601]26B-2-409. 
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 (12)  The department may assess a civil money penalty and 
also take action to deny, place on conditional status, revoke, 
immediately close, or refuse to renew a residential certificate. 
 (13)  The department may deny an application or revoke a 
residential certificate for failure to pay any required fees, including 
fees for applications, late fees, returned checks, license changes, 
additional inspections, conditional monitoring inspections, 
background checks, civil money penalties, and other fees assessed by 
the department. 
 (14)  An applicant or provider may request an agency 
review for[ hearing to appeal] any department decision within [15]ten 
working days of being informed in writing of the decision. 
 
R430-50-6.  Administration and Children's Records. 
 (1)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  be at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  be [deemed]considered eligible by a CCL background 
check before becoming involved with child care; 
 (c)  complete the new provider training offered by the 
department; and 
 (d)  complete at least 10 hours of child care training each 
year, based on the facility's residential certificate date. 
 (2)  The provider shall protect children from conduct that 
endangers children in care, or is contrary to the health,[ morals,] 
welfare, and safety of the public. 
 (3)  The provider shall know and comply with each 
applicable federal, state, and local law, ordinance, and rule, and [shall 
be]maintain responsibil[e]ity for the operation and management of a 
child care program. 
 (4)  The provider shall comply with licensing rules any time 
a child in care is present. 
 (5)  The provider shall post their unaltered child care 
residential certificate on the facility premises in a place readily 
visible and accessible to the public during business hours. 
 (6)  The provider shall post a current copy of the 
department's Parent Guide at the facility for parent review during 
business hours or give a current copy to each parent. 
 (7)  The provider shall inform parents and the department 
of any changes to the program's telephone number and other contact 
information within 48 hours of the change. 
 (8)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  have liability insurance; or 
 (b)  inform parents in writing that the provider does not 
have liability insurance. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that a parent completes an 
admission and health assessment form for their child before the child 
is admitted into the child care program. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that each child's admission 
and health assessment form includes the following information: 
 (a)  child's name; 
 (b)  child's date of birth; 
 (c)  parent's name, address, and phone number, including a 
daytime phone number; 
 (d)  names of individuals authorized by the parent to sign 
the child out from the facility; 
 (e)  contact name, address, and phone number [of an 
individual to be contacted ]if an emergency happens and the provider 
cannot contact the parent; 
 (f)  if available, the name, address, and phone number of an 
out-of-area emergency contact individual for the child; 
 (g)  parent's permission for emergency transportation and 
emergency medical treatment; 

 (h)  any known allergies of the child; 
 (i)  any known food sensitivities of the child; 
 (j)  any chronic medical conditions that the child may have; 
 (k)  instructions for special or nonroutine daily health care 
of the child; 
 (l)  current ongoing medications that the child may be 
taking; and 
 (m)  any other special health instructions for the caregiver. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that the admission and 
health assessment form is: 
 (a)  reviewed, updated, and signed or initialed by the parent 
at least annually; and 
 (b)  [kept ]on-site for review by the department. 
 (12)  Before admitting any child younger than five years 
old into the child care program, including the provider's and 
employees' own children, the provider shall get the following 
documentation from the child's parent: 
 (a)  current immunizations; 
 (b)  a medical schedule to receive required immunizations; 
 (c)  a legal exemption; or 
 (d)  a 90-day exemption for foster children and children 
who are homeless. 
 (13)  For each child younger than five years old, including 
the provider's and employees' own children, the provider shall keep 
their current immunization records on-site for review by the 
department. 
 (14)  The provider shall submit the annual immunization 
report to the Immunization Program in the Utah Department of 
Health and Human Services by the date specified by the department. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that each child's information 
is [kept ]confidential and not released without written parental 
permission except to the department. 
 
R430-50-7.  Personnel and Training Requirements. 
 (1)  The provider shall [be]remain present at the home at 
least 50% of the time each week the program is open for business. 
 (2)  If the provider is not present, the provider shall ensure 
that there is at least one covered individual who is 18 years old or 
older present at the facility when there is a child in care. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that any covered individual 
caring for the children is supervised, qualified, and trained to: 
 (a)  meet the needs of the children as required by this rule; 
and 
 (b)  be in compliance with licensing requirements under 
Rule R430-50. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers: 
 (a)  are at least 16 years old; 
 (b)  are [deemed]considered eligible by a CCL background 
check before becoming involved with child care; 
 (c)  [receive at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice training 
]complete the 2-1/2 hour preservice training offered by the 
department before caring for children; 
 (d)  know and follow any applicable laws and requirements 
under Rule R430-50; and 
 (e)  complete at least [10]ten hours of child care training 
each year, based on the facility's residential certificate date, or at least 
45 minutes of child care training each month they work if hired 
partway through the facility's licensing year. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that any other staff [such 
as]including drivers, cooks, and clerks: 
 (a)  are [deemed]considered eligible by a CCL background 
check before becoming involved with child care; 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 113 

 (b)  [receive at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice training 
]complete the 2-1/2 hour preservice training offered by the 
department before beginning job duties; 
 (c)  know and follow any applicable laws and requirements 
under Rule R430-50[.]; 
 (d)  are introduced to other staff and to the caregiver's 
assigned group; and 
 (e)  review the information in each child's health 
assessment in the caregiver's assigned group, including allergies, 
food sensitivities, and other individual needs. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that volunteers are 
[deemed]considered eligible by a CCL background check before 
becoming involved with child care. 
 (7)  The provider shall submit a background check as 
required in Section R430-50-8 for each guest who is 12 years old and 
older and stays in the home for more than two weeks. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that household members who 
are: 
 (a)  12 to 17 years old are [deemed]considered eligible by 
a CCL background check; and 
 (b)  18 years old or older are [deemed]considered eligible 
by a CCL background check that includes fingerprints. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that individuals who provide 
Individualized Educational Plan [(IEP) ]or Individualized Family 
Service plan (IFSP) services [such as]including physical, 
occupational, or speech therapists: 
 (a)  provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or to a child at the facility; and 
 (b)  have received the child's parent's permission for 
services to take place at the facility. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that individuals from law 
enforcement, Child Protective Services, the department, and any 
similar entities provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or to a child at the facility. 
[ (11)  The provider shall ensure that preservice training 
includes at least the following topics: 
 (a)  job description and duties; 
 (b)  current department rule Sections R430-50-7 through 
R430-50-24; 
 (c)  disaster preparedness, response, and recovery; 
 (d)  pediatric first aid and cardio pulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR); 
 (e)  children with special needs; 
 (f)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials; 
 (g)  prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (h)  principles of child growth and development, including 
brain development; 
 (i)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 
trauma, and coping with crying babies; 
 (j)  prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 
the use of safe sleeping practices; 
 (k)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance; 
 (l)  a review of the information in each child's health 
assessment in the caregiver's assigned group, including allergies, 
food sensitivities, and other special needs; and 
 (m)  an introduction and orientation to the children in care.] 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that each covered individual 
required to complete preservice training receives the 2-1/2 hour 

preservice training offered by the department that includes at least the 
following topics: 
 (a)  applicable laws and requirements under Rule R430-50; 
 (b)  children whose special needs may include disabilities; 
 (c)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance; 
 (d)  building and physical premises safety; 
 (e)  prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (f)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (g)  emergency preparedness, response, and recovery plan; 
 (h)  prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 
and allergy reactions; 
 (i)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials and 
bio contaminants; 
 (j)  prevention and control of infectious diseases including 
immunizations; 
 (k)  administration of medication; 
 (l)  child  and brain development, including the social, 
emotional, physical, cognitive, and language principles of child 
growth ; 
 (m)  precautions in transporting children; 
 (n)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome, abusive head 
trauma, child maltreatment, and coping with crying babies; and 
 (o)  prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and the 
use of safe sleeping practices. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that annual child care 
training includes at least the following topics: 
 (a)  current department rule Sections R430-50-7 through 
R430-50-24; and 
[ (b)  disaster preparedness, response, and recovery; 
 (c)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (d)  children with special needs; 
 (e)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials; 
 (f)  the prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (g)  principles of child growth and development, including 
brain development; 
 (h)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 
trauma, and coping with crying babies; 
 (i)  prevention of SIDS and use of safe sleeping practices; 
and 
 (j)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance.] 
 (b)  each topic listed in Subsections R430-50-7(11)(a) 
through (o). 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that at least half of the 
required annual training is interactive. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that at least one covered 
individual with a current Red Cross, American Heart Association, or 
equivalent pediatric first aid and CPR certification is present when 
children are in care: 
 (a)  at the facility; 
 (b)  in each vehicle transporting children; and 
 (c)  at each offsite activity. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that CPR certification 
includes hands-on testing. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that current pediatric first 
aid and CPR certification records for each covered individual 
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required by this rule to have them are [kept ]on-site for review by the 
department. 
 
R430-50-8.  Background Checks. 
[ (1)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved 
with child care in the program, the provider shall use the CCL 
provider portal search to: 
 (a)  verify that the individual is eligible; and 
 (b)  associate that individual with their facility if the 
covered individual appears in the search.] 
 (1)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved 
with child care, the provider shall use the CCL provider portal search 
to verify that the individual is eligible and: 
 (a)  associate that individual with their facility; or 
 (b)  not associate the individual if the individual is 
associated with another CCL facility and the new individual will be 
at the facility for no more than one business day. 
 (2)  Before a new covered individual who does not appear 
in the CCL provider portal search becomes involved with child care 
in the program, the provider shall: 
 (a)  have the individual submit an online background check 
form and fingerprints for individuals age 18 years old and older; 
 (b)  authorize the individual's background check through 
the CCL provider's portal; 
 (c)  pay any required fees; and 
 (d)  receive written notice from CCL that the individual is 
eligible. 
 (3)  To keep their background check eligibility current, the 
provider shall also ensure that a new background check form and 
fingerprints are submitted and authorized and fees are paid for any 
covered individual who has: 
 (a)  resided outside of Utah since their last background 
check was completed; 
 (b)  not been associated with an active, CCL approved child 
care facility within the past 180 days; or 
 (c)  [has ]turned 18 years old and has not previously 
submitted fingerprints for a CCL background check[.], except 
[If]when the 18-year-old has previously submitted fingerprints for a 
CCL background check, then only a new background check form will 
be required. 
 (4)  Within ten working days from when a child who resides 
in the facility turns 12 years old, the provider shall: 
 (a)  ensure that an online background check form is 
submitted; 
 (b)  authorize the child's background check through the 
CCL provider's portal; and 
 (c)  pay any required fees. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that fingerprints are prepared 
by a local law enforcement agency or an agency approved by local 
law enforcement. 
 (6)  If the provider submits fingerprints [are submitted 
]electronically through live scan, the provider shall ensure that the 
agency taking the fingerprints is one that follows the department's 
guidelines. 
 (7)  The department may consider a covered individual not 
eligible for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  LIS supported findings; 
 (b)  the covered individual's name appears on the Utah or 
national sex offender registry; 
 (c)  the covered individual refuses to consent to the criminal 
background check; 

 (d)  the covered individual knowingly makes a false 
statement in connection with their background check; 
 (e)  any felony convictions; or 
 (f)  for any of the reasons listed under Subsection R430-50-
8(8). 
 (8)  The department may also consider a covered individual 
not eligible for any of the following convictions regardless of 
severity: 
 (a)  child pornography; 
 (b)  sexual enticing of a minor; 
 (c)  voyeurism; 
 (d)  a sexual exploitation act; 
 (e)  pornographic material or performance; 
 (f)  any crime against an individual; 
 (g)  providing dangerous weapons or fire arms to a minor; 
or 
 (h)  driving under the influence [(DUI) ]while a child is 
present in the vehicle. 
 (9)  The department shall consider a covered individual 
eligible if the only background finding is a conviction or plea of no 
contest to a nonviolent drug offense that occurred ten or more years 
before the CCL background check was conducted. 
 (10)  If CCL finds the provider is [deemed ]not eligible, [by 
CCL, ]the department may suspend or deny their license until the 
reason for the background check finding is resolved. 
 (11)  If CCL finds a covered individual is [deemed ]not 
eligible by CCL, including that the individual has been convicted, has 
pleaded no contest, or is currently subject to a plea in abeyance or 
diversion agreement for a felony or misdemeanor, the provider shall 
prohibit that individual from being employed by the child care 
program or residing at the facility until the reason for the background 
check finding is resolved. 
 (12)  If CCL denies a covered individual [is denied ]a 
license or employment based upon the criminal background check 
and disagrees with the information provided by the Department of 
Public Safety, the covered individual may appeal the information to 
the Department of Public Safety. 
 (13)  [If a covered individual disagrees with a supported 
finding on the Department of Human Services LIS, the covered 
individual may appeal the finding to the Department of Human 
Services. 
 (14)  ]The provider and the covered individual shall notify 
the department within 48 hours of becoming aware of the covered 
individual's arrest warrant, felony or misdemeanor arrest, charge, 
conviction, or supported LIS finding.  Failure to notify the 
department within 48 hours may result in disciplinary action, 
including revocation of the [license]certificate. 
 (1[5]4)  The Executive Director of the department or their 
designee may overturn a CCL background check decision if they 
[Executive Director ]determine[s] that the nature of the background 
finding or mitigating circumstances do not pose a risk to children. 
 
R430-50-9.  Facility. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least 35 square 
feet of indoor space for each child in care, including the provider's 
and employees' children. 
 (2)  The department may include floor space used for 
furniture, fixtures, or equipment as indoor space per child if the 
furniture, fixture, or equipment is used: 
 (a)  by children; 
 (b)  for the care of children; or 
 (c)  to store materials for children. 
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 (3)  The department may not include the following areas 
when measuring indoor space for children's use: 
 (a)  bathrooms; 
 (b)  closets; 
 (c)  hallways; 
 (d)  lobbies; and 
 (e)  entryways. 
[ (4)  The department may limit the maximum allowed 
capacity for a child care facility based on local ordinances.] 
 ([5]4)  The provider shall ensure that the number of 
children in care at any given time does not exceed the capacity 
identified on the residential certificate[.], except when providing after 
school child care for up to two additional school-age children. 
 ([6]5)  The provider shall ensure that any building or play 
structure on the premises constructed before 1978 that has peeling, 
flaking, chalking, or failing paint is tested for lead.  If lead-based 
paint is found, the provider shall contact their local health department 
within five working days and follow required procedures for 
remediation of the lead hazard. 
 ([7]6)  The provider shall ensure that each room and indoor 
area that is used by children is ventilated by mechanical ventilation, 
or by windows that open and have screens. 
 ([8]7)  The provider shall ensure that rooms and areas have 
adequate light intensity for the safety of the children and the type of 
activity being conducted. 
 ([9]8)  The provider shall maintain the indoor temperature 
between 65 and 82 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 ([10]9)  The provider shall ensure that there is a working 
telephone at the facility, in each vehicle while transporting children, 
and during offsite activities. 
 (1[1]0)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least one 
working toilet and at least one working handwashing sink accessible 
to each nondiapered child in care. 
 (1[2]1)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least one 
bathroom that provides privacy available for use by school-age 
children. 
 (1[3]2)  If there is a swimming pool on the premises that 
the provider does not empty after each use, [is not emptied after each 
use, ]the provider shall: 
 (a)  meet applicable state and local laws and ordinances 
related to the operation of a swimming pool; 
 (b)  maintain the pool in a safe manner; and 
 (c)  when not in use, cover the pool with a commercially-
made safety enclosure that is installed according to the 
manufacturer's instructions, or enclose the pool within at least a four-
foot-high fence or solid barrier that is [kept ]locked and that separates 
the pool from any other areas on the premises. 
 (1[4]3)  If there is a hot tub with water in it on the premises, 
the provider shall make the hot tub inaccessible to children by: 
 (a)  keeping the hot tub locked with a properly working 
cover; or 
 (b)  enclosing the hot tub within at least a four-foot-high 
fence or solid barrier that is [kept ]locked and that separates the hot 
tub from any other areas on the premises. 
 (1[5]4)  The provider shall maintain buildings and outdoor 
areas in good repair and safe condition including: 
 (a)  ceilings, walls, and floor coverings; 
 (b)  lighting, bathroom, and other fixtures; 
 (c)  draperies, blinds, and other window coverings; 
 (d)  indoor and outdoor play equipment; 
 (e)  furniture, toys, and materials accessible to the children; 
and 

 (f)  entrances, exits, steps, and walkways including keeping 
them free of ice, snow, and other hazards. 
 (1[6]5)  The provider shall ensure that accessible raised 
decks or balconies that are five feet or higher, and open stairwells that 
are five feet or deeper have protective barriers that are at least three 
feet high. 
 (1[7]6)  If the house is subdivided, any part of the building 
is rented out, or any area of the facility is shared including the outdoor 
area, the department may inspect the entire facility and the provider 
shall ensure that covered individuals in the facility comply with this 
rule, except when the following conditions are met: 
 (a)  there is a signed rental or lease agreement for the rented 
area; 
 (b)  there is a separate mailing address for the rented area; 
 (c)  there is a separate entrance for the child care program; 
 (d)  there are no connecting interior doorways that can be 
used by unauthorized individuals; and 
 (e)  there is no shared access to the outdoor area, unless a 
qualified caregiver is with the children each time children in care are 
using the outdoor area. 
 (1[8]7)  If there is an outdoor area used by children in care, 
the provider shall comply with Subsections R430-50-9(19) through 
R430-50-9(24). 
 (1[9]8)  The provider shall ensure that the outdoor area is 
safely accessible to children. 
 ([20]19)  The provider shall ensure that the outdoor area 
has at least 40 square feet of space for each child using the area at 
one time. 
 (2[1]0)  The provider shall ensure that the outdoor area is 
enclosed within a fence, wall, or solid natural barrier that is at least 
four feet high if the facility is on a street or within a half mile of a 
street that: 
 (a)  has a speed of 25 miles per hour or higher; or 
 (b)  has more than two lanes of traffic. 
 (2[2]1)  The provider shall ensure that the following 
hazards are separated from the children's outdoor area with a fence, 
wall, or solid natural barrier that is at least four feet high: 
 (a)  barbed wire that is within 30 feet of the children's play 
area; 
 (b)  livestock on or within 50 yards of the property line; 
 (c)  dangerous machinery, [such as]including farm 
equipment, on or within 50 yards of the property line; 
 (d)  a drop-off of more than five feet on or within 50 yards 
of the property line; and 
 (e)  a water hazard, [such as]including a swimming pool, 
pond, ditch, lake, reservoir, river, stream, creek, or animal watering 
trough, on or within 100 yards of the property line. 
 (2[3]2)  The provider shall ensure that there is no gap five 
by five inches or greater in or under the fence or barrier. 
 (2[4]3)  The provider shall ensure that there is shade 
available to protect the children from excessive sun and heat when 
children are in the outdoor area. 
 
R430-50-10.  Ratios and Group Size. 
 (1)  The provider shall maintain at least one caregiver for 
up to eight children in care. 
 (2)  [The provider shall ensure that there are no more than 
two children younger than two years old in care including the 
provider's and employee's own children.]When caring for children 
younger than two years old, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  there is at least one caregiver for every three children 
younger than two years old; 



 

116 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 

 (b)  each caregiver cares for no more than two children 
younger than 18 months old; and 
 (c)  there are at least two caregivers if more than three 
children younger than two years old are present and there are more 
than six children in care. 
 (3)  The provider shall include the provider's and 
employees' children age four years old or older in care: 
 (a)  in the group size when the parent of the child is working 
at the facility; and 
 (b)  in the group size and the caregiver-to-child ratio when 
the parent of the child is not working at the facility. 
 
R430-50-11.  Child Supervision and Security. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers provide and 
maintain active supervision of each child, including: 
 (a)  a caregiver is inside the home when a child in care is 
inside the home; 
 (b)  a caregiver is in the outdoor area when a child younger 
than five years old is in the outdoor area; 
 (c)  caregivers know the number of children in their care at 
any time; and 
 (d)  caregivers' attention is focused on the children and not 
on caregivers' personal interests. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that staff and household 
members who are 16 or 17 years old only have unsupervised contact 
with any child in care, including during offsite activities and 
transportation when: 
 (a)  the provider or an eligible adult is physically present 
and available as needed; and 
 (b)  they are not volunteers. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that staff, volunteers, and 
household members who are younger than 16 years old are not 
assigned to care for or supervise any child in care. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that guests do not have 
unsupervised contact with any child in care, including during offsite 
activities and transportation. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that parents of children in 
care do not have unsupervised contact with any child in care, except 
with their own children. 
 (6)  The provider may allow school-age children to [be]go 
outdoors while caregivers are indoors if: 
 (a)  a caregiver can hear the children when children are 
outdoors; and 
 (b)  the children are in an area completely enclosed within 
a fence, wall, or solid natural barrier that is at least four feet high. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that a caregiver monitors 
each sleeping infant by: 
 (a)  placing each infant to sleep within the sight and hearing 
of a caregiver; or 
 (b)  personally observing each sleeping infant at least once 
every 15 minutes. 
 (8)  The provider may allow a child to participate in 
supervised offsite activities without a caregiver if: 
 (a)  the provider has prior written permission from the 
child's parent for the child's participation; and 
 (b)  the provider has clearly assigned the responsibility for 
the child's whereabouts and supervision to a responsible adult who 
accepts that responsibility throughout the period of the offsite 
activity. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that parents have access to 
their child and the areas used to care for their child when their child 
is in care. 

 (10)  To maintain security and supervision of children, the 
provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  each child is signed in and out; 
 (b)  only parents or individuals with written authorization 
from the parent may sign-out a child; 
 (c)  photo identification is required if the individual signing 
the child out is unknown to the provider; 
 (d)  individuals signing children in and out use identifiers, 
[such as]including a signature, initials, or electronic code; 
 (e)  the sign-in and sign-out records include the date and 
time each child arrives and leaves; and 
 (f)  there is written permission from the child's parent if 
school-age children sign themselves in or out. 
 (11)  In an emergency, the provider shall accept the parent's 
verbal authorization to release a child if the provider can confirm the 
identity of: 
 (a)  the individual giving verbal authorization; and 
 (b)  the individual picking up the child. 
 
R430-50-12.  Child Guidance and Interaction. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that no child is subjected to 
physical, emotional, or sexual abuse while in care. 
 (2)  The provider shall inform parents, children, and those 
who interact with the children of the facility's behavioral expectations 
and how any misbehavior will be handled. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that individuals who interact 
with the children guide children's behavior by using positive 
reinforcement, redirection, and by setting clear limits that promote 
children's ability to become self-disciplined. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers use gentle, 
passive restraint with children only when it is needed to protect 
children from injuring themselves or others, or to stop them from 
destroying property. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that interactions with the 
children do not include: 
 (a)  any form of corporal punishment or any action that 
produces physical pain or discomfort [such as]including hitting, 
spanking, shaking, biting, or pinching; 
 (b)  restraining a child's movement by binding, tying, or any 
other form of restraint that exceeds gentle, passive restraint; 
 (c)  shouting at children; 
 (d)  any form of emotional abuse; 
 (e)  forcing or withholding food, rest, or toileting; or 
 (f)  confining a child in a closet, locked room, or other 
enclosure [such as]including a box, cupboard, or cage. 
 (6)  Any individual who witnesses or suspects that a child 
has been subjected to abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall 
immediately notify Child Protective Services or law enforcement as 
required in [state law]Section 80-2-602. 
 
R430-50-13.  Child Safety and Injury Prevention. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that the building, outdoor 
area, toys, and equipment are used in a safe manner and as intended 
by the manufacturer to prevent injury to children. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that poisonous and harmful 
plants are inaccessible to children. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that sharp objects, edges, 
corners, or points that could cut or puncture skin are inaccessible to 
children. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that choking hazards are 
inaccessible to children younger than three years old. 
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 (5)  The provider shall ensure that strangulation hazards 
[such as]including ropes, cords, chains, and wires attached to a 
structure and long enough to encircle a child's neck are inaccessible 
to children. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that tripping hazards [such 
as]including unsecured flooring, rugs with curled edges, or cords in 
walkways are inaccessible to children. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that empty plastic bags large 
enough for a child's head to fit inside, latex gloves, and balloons are 
inaccessible to children younger than five years old. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that standing water that 
measures two inches or deeper and five by five inches or greater in 
diameter is inaccessible to children. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that toxic or hazardous 
chemicals [such as]including cleaners, insecticides, lawn products, 
and flammable, corrosive, and reactive materials are: 
 (a)  inaccessible to children; 
 (b)  used according to manufacturer instructions; 
 (c)  stored in containers labeled with the contents of the 
container; and 
 (d)  disposed of properly. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that the following items are 
inaccessible to children: 
 (a)  matches or cigarette lighters; 
 (b)  open flames; 
 (c)  hot wax or other hot substances; and 
 (d)  when in use, portable space heaters, wood burning 
stoves, and fireplaces. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that the following items are 
inaccessible to children: 
 (a)  live electrical wires; and 
 (b)  for children younger than five years old, electrical 
outlets and surge protectors without protective caps or safety devices 
when not in use. 
 (12)  Unless used and stored [in compliance with the Utah 
Concealed Weapons Act or ]as [otherwise ]allowed by law, the 
provider shall ensure that firearms [such as]including guns, 
muzzleloaders, rifles, shotguns, hand guns, pistols, and automatic 
guns are: 
 (a)  locked in a cabinet or area using a key, combination 
lock, or fingerprint lock; and 
 (b)  stored unloaded and separate from ammunition. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that weapons [such 
as]including paintball guns, BB guns, airsoft guns, sling shots, 
arrows, and mace are inaccessible to children. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that alcohol, illegal 
substances, and sexually explicit material are inaccessible, and not 
used on the premises, during offsite activities, or in facility vehicles 
any time a child is in care. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that an outdoor source of 
drinking water, [such as]including individually labeled water bottles, 
a pitcher of water and individual cups, or a working water fountain is 
available to each child when the outside temperature is 75 degrees or 
higher. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that areas accessible to 
children are free of heavy or unstable objects that children could pull 
down on themselves, [such as]including furniture, unsecured 
televisions, and standing ladders. 
 (17)  The provider shall ensure that hot water accessible to 
children does not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit. 

 (18)  The provider shall ensure that highchairs that are used 
by children have T-shaped safety straps or safety devices that are used 
when a child is in the chair. 
 (19)  The provider shall ensure that infant walkers with 
wheels are inaccessible to children. 
 (20)  The provider shall ensure that tobacco, e-cigarettes, 
e-juice, e-liquids, and similar products are inaccessible and, in 
compliance with the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act, not used: 
 (a)  in the facility or any other building when a child is in 
care; 
 (b)  in any vehicle that is being used to transport a child in 
care; 
 (c)  within 25 feet of any entrance to the facility or other 
building occupied by a child in care; or 
 (d)  in any outdoor area or within 25 feet of any outdoor 
area occupied by a child in care. 
 
R430-50-14.  Emergency Preparedness, Response, and Recovery. 
 (1)  The provider shall have an emergency preparedness, 
response, and recovery plan that: 
 (a)  includes procedures for evacuation, relocation, shelter 
in place, lockdown, communication with and reunification of 
families, and continuity of operations; 
 (b)  includes procedures for accommodations for infants 
and toddlers, children with disabilities, and children with chronic 
medical conditions;[ and] 
 (c)  includes instructions to follow in case of an allergy or 
serious reaction to food or any other trigger that may affect the child's 
health; and 
 ([c]d)  is followed if an emergency happens, unless 
otherwise instructed by emergency personnel. 
 (2)  The provider shall post the home's street address and 
emergency numbers, including at least fire, police, and poison 
control, near the telephone or in an area clearly visible to anyone 
needing the information. 
 (3)  The provider shall keep first aid supplies in the facility, 
including at least antiseptic, bandages, and tweezers. 
 (4)  The provider shall conduct fire evacuation drills every 
six months and make sure drills include a complete exit of each child, 
staff, and volunteers from the building. 
 (5)  The provider shall conduct drills for disasters other 
than fires at least once every 12 months. 
 (6)  The provider shall vary the days and times [on 
which]when fire and other disaster drills are held. 
 (7)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  give parents a written report on the day of occurrence 
of each incident, accident, or injury involving their child; 
 (b)  ensure the report has the signatures of the caregivers 
involved, the provider, and the individual picking up the child; and 
 (c)  if school-age children sign themselves out of the 
facility, send a copy of the report to the parent on the day following 
the occurrence. 
 (8)  If a child is injured and the injury appears serious but 
not life-threatening, the provider shall contact the child's parent 
immediately. 
 (9)  If a life-threatening injury to a child, or an injury that 
poses a threat of the loss of vision, hearing, or a limb happens, the 
provider shall: 
 (a)  call emergency personnel immediately; 
 (b)  contact the parent after emergency personnel are called; 
and 
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 (c)  if the parent cannot be reached, try to contact the child's 
emergency contact individual. 
 (10)  If a child is injured while in care and receives medical 
attention, or for a child fatality, the provider shall: 
 (a)  submit a completed accident report form to the 
department within the next business day of the incident; or 
 (b)  contact the department within the next business day and 
submit a completed accident report form within five business days of 
the incident. 
 (11)  If the provider must leave the children due to an 
emergency and a background checked covered individual who is at 
least 18 years old or older is not available to stay with the children, 
the provider may leave the children in the care of an emergency 
substitute who: 
 (a)  is at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  substitutes the caregiver for the minimum time possible 
and for less than one business day; and 
 (c)  signs a written background statement before being left 
alone with the children. 
 (12)  Before leaving for the emergency, the provider shall 
obtain a signed, written background statement from the emergency 
substitute stating that the emergency substitute: 
 (a)  has not been convicted of a felony; 
 (b)  has not been convicted of a crime against a person; 
 (c)  is not listed on the state or national sex offender 
registry; and 
 (d)  is not being investigated for abuse or neglect by any 
federal, state, or local government agency. 
 (13)  Within five working days after the occurrence, the 
provider shall submit emergency substitute's written background 
statements to the department for review. 
 
R430-50-15.  Health and Infection Control. 
 (1)  The provider shall keep the building, furnishings, 
equipment, and outdoor area clean and sanitary including: 
 (a)  walls and flooring clean and free of spills, dirt, and 
grime; 
 (b)  areas and equipment used for the storage, preparation, 
and service of food clean and sanitary; 
 (c)  surfaces free of rotting food or a build-up of food; 
 (d)  the building and grounds free of a build-up of litter, 
trash, and garbage; 
 (e)  frequently touched surfaces, including doorknobs and 
light switches, cleaned and sanitized; and 
 (f)  the facility free of animal feces. 
 (2)  The provider shall take safe and effective measures to 
prevent and eliminate the presence of insects, rodents, and other 
pests. 
 (3)  The provider shall clean and sanitize any toys and 
materials used by children: 
 (a)  at least once a week or more often if needed; 
 (b)  after being put in a child's mouth and before another 
child plays with the toy; and 
 (c)  after being contaminated by a body fluid. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that fabric toys and items 
[such as]including stuffed animals, cloth dolls, pillow covers, and 
dress-up clothes are machine washable and if used, washed at least 
each week or as needed. 
 (5)  The provider shall clean and sanitize highchair trays 
before each use. 
 (6)  The provider shall clean and sanitize water play tables 
or tubs daily if used by the children. 

 (7)  The provider shall clean and sanitize bathroom surfaces 
including toilets, sinks, faucets, toilet and sink handles, and counters 
each day the facility is open for business. 
 (8)  The provider shall clean and sanitize potty chairs after 
each use. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep toilet paper in a dispenser that 
is accessible to children. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that staff and volunteers 
wash their hands thoroughly with soap and running water: 
 (a)  upon arrival; 
 (b)  before handling or preparing food or bottles; 
 (c)  before and after eating meals and snacks or feeding a 
child; 
 (d)  after using the toilet or helping a child use the toilet; 
 (e)  after contact with a body fluid; 
 (f)  when coming in from outdoors; and 
 (g)  after cleaning up or taking out garbage. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers teach 
children how to wash their hands thoroughly and oversee 
handwashing when possible. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that children wash their 
hands thoroughly with soap and running water: 
 (a)  upon arrival; 
 (b)  before and after eating meals and snacks; 
 (c)  after using the toilet; 
 (d)  after contact with a body fluid; 
 (e)  before using a water play table or tub; and 
 (f)  when coming in from outdoors. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that only single-use towels, 
an electric hand dryer, or individually labeled cloth towels are used 
to dry hands. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that if cloth towels are used, 
cloth towels are: 
 (a)  not shared; and 
 (b)  washed daily. 
 (15)  The provider shall store personal hygiene items, [such 
as]including toothbrushes, combs, and hair accessories separate, so 
they do not touch each other, and ensure they are not shared or they 
are sanitized between each use. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that pacifiers, bottles, and 
nondisposable drinking cups are: 
 (a)  labeled with each child's name or individually 
identified; and 
 (b)  not shared, or washed and sanitized before being used 
by another child. 
 (17)  The provider shall ensure that a child's clothing is 
promptly changed if the child has a toileting accident. 
 (18)  The provider shall ensure that children's clothing that 
is wet or soiled from a body fluid is: 
 (a)  washed and dried; or 
 (b)  placed in a leakproof container that is labeled with the 
child's name and returned to the parent. 
 (19)  The provider shall take precautions when cleaning 
floors, furniture, and other surfaces contaminated by blood, urine, 
feces, or vomit, and ensure that, except for diaper changes and 
toileting accidents, staff cleaning these bodily fluids: 
 (a)  wear waterproof gloves; 
 (b)  clean the surface using a detergent solution; 
 (c)  rinse the surface with clean water; 
 (d)  sanitize the surface; 
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 (e)  throw away in a leakproof plastic bag the disposable 
materials, [such as]including paper towels, that were used to clean up 
the body fluid; 
 (f)  wash and sanitize any nondisposable materials used to 
clean up the body fluid, [such as]including cleaning cloths, mops, or 
reusable rubber gloves, before reusing them; and 
 (g)  wash their hands after cleaning up the body fluid. 
 (20)  If a child becomes ill while in care, the provider shall: 
 (a)  as soon as the illness is observed or suspected, contact 
the child's parent or, if the parent cannot be reached, an individual 
listed as the emergency contact; and 
 (b)  if the child is ill with an infectious disease, make the 
child comfortable in a safe, supervised area that is separated from the 
other children until the parent arrives. 
 (21)  The provider shall notify the parents of each child in 
care if any child, employee, or person in the home has an infectious 
disease or parasite, on the day the illness is discovered. 
 (22)  If any child or employee has an infectious disease, an 
unusual or serious illness, or a sudden onset of an illness, the provider 
shall notify the local health department on the day the illness is 
discovered. 
 (23)  To prevent contamination of food, the spread of 
foodborne illnesses, and other diseases, the provider shall ensure that 
individuals with an infectious disease or showing symptoms [such 
as]including diarrhea, fever, coughing, or vomiting do not prepare or 
serve foods. 
 
R430-50-16.  Food and Nutrition. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer a meal or snack to each child 
age two years old and older at least once every three hours. 
 (2)  If the provider supplies the food for children's meals or 
snacks[ is supplied by the provider], the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the meal service meets local health department food 
service rules; 
 (b)  the foods that are served meet the nutritional 
requirements of the USDA Child and Adult Care Food Program 
(CACFP) whether or not the provider participates in the CACFP; 
 (c)  the provider uses the CACFP meal pattern 
requirements, the standard department-approved menus, or menus 
approved by a registered dietitian, and that dietitian approval is noted 
and dated on the menus, and current within the past five years; 
 (d)  the current week's menu is posted for review by parents 
and the department; and 
 (e)  if not participating or in good standing with the CACFP, 
keep a six-week record of foods served at each meal and snack. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the individual who 
serves food to children: 
 (a)  is aware of the children in their assigned group who 
have food allergies or sensitivities; and 
 (b)  ensures that the children are not served the food or 
drink they are allergic or sensitive to. 
 (4)  The provider may not place children's food on a bare 
table, and shall serve children's food on dishes, napkins, or sanitary 
highchair trays, except an individual finger food [such as]including a 
cracker, [which]that may be placed directly in a child's hand. 
 (5)  If parents bring food and drink for their child's use, the 
provider shall ensure that the food is: 
 (a)  labeled with the child's name; 
 (b)  refrigerated if needed; and 
 (c)  consumed only by that child. 
 

R430-50-17.  Medications. 
 (1)  The provider shall make medications inaccessible to 
children in care. 
 (2)  The provider shall lock refrigerated medications or 
store them at least 36 inches above the floor and, if liquid, store them 
in a separate leakproof container. 
 (3)  If parents supply any over-the-counter or prescription 
medications, the provider shall ensure those medications are: 
 (a)  labeled with the child's full name; 
 (b)  [kept ]in the original or pharmacy container; 
 (c)  have the original label; and 
 (d)  have child safety caps. 
 (4)  The provider shall have a written medication 
permission form completed and signed by the parent before 
administering any medication supplied by the parent for their child. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that the medication 
permission form includes at least: 
 (a)  the name of the child; 
 (b)  the name of the medication; 
 (c)  written instructions for administration; and 
 (d)  the parent signature and the date signed. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that instructions for 
administering the medication include at least: 
 (a)  the dosage; 
 (b)  how the medication will be given; 
 (c)  the times and dates to administer the medication; and 
 (d)  the disease or condition being treated. 
 (7)  If the provider supplies an over-the-counter medication 
for children's use, the provider shall ensure that the medication is not 
administered to any child without previous parental consent for each 
instance it is given. The provider shall ensure that the consent is: 
 (a)  written; or 
 (b)  verbal, if the date and time of the consent is 
documented and signed by the parent upon picking up their child. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that the staff administering 
the medication: 
 (a)  washes their hands; 
 (b)  check the medication label to confirm the child's name 
if the parent supplied the medication; 
 (c)  checks the medication label or the package to ensure 
that a child is not given a dosage larger than that recommended by 
the health care professional or manufacturer; and 
 (d)  administers the medication. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that immediately after 
administering a medication, the staff giving the medication records 
the following information: 
 (a)  the date, time, and dosage of the medication given; 
 (b)  any error in administering the medication or adverse 
reactions; and 
 (c)  their signature or initials. 
 (10)  The provider shall report to the parent a child's 
adverse reaction to a medication or error in administration of the 
medication immediately upon recognizing the reaction or error, or 
after notifying emergency personnel if the reaction is life-threatening. 
 (11)  The provider shall notify the parent before the time a 
child requires medication,[medication needs to be given to a child] if 
the provider chooses not to administer medication as instructed by 
the parent. 
 (12)  The provider shall keep a six-week record of 
medication permission and administration forms on-site for review 
by the department. 
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R430-50-18.  Activities. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer daily activities that support 
each child's healthy physical, social, emotional, cognitive, and 
language development. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that physical development 
activities include light, moderate, and vigorous physical activity for 
a daily total of at least 15 minutes for every two hours children spend 
in the program. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that toys, materials, and 
equipment needed to support children's healthy development are 
available to the children. 
 (4)  Except for occasional special events, the provider shall 
ensure that the children's primary screen time activity on media [such 
as]including television, cell phones, tablets, and computers is: 
 (a)  not allowed for children zero to 17 months old; 
 (b)  limited for children 18 months to four years old to one 
hour a day, or five hours a week with a maximum screen time of two 
hours per activity; and 
 (c)  planned to address the needs of children five to 12 years 
old. 
 (5)  If swimming activities are offered or if wading pools 
are used, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the parent gives permission before their child in care 
uses the pool; 
 (b)  caregivers stay at the pool supervising when a child is 
in the pool or has access to the pool, and when an accessible pool has 
water in it; 
 (c)  diapered children wear swim diapers when they are in 
the pool; 
 (d)  wading pools are emptied and sanitized after use by 
each group of children; 
 (e)  if the pool is over four feet deep, there is a lifeguard on 
duty who is certified by the Red Cross or other approved certification 
program any time children have access to the pool; and 
 (f)  lifeguards and pool personnel do not count toward the 
caregiver-to-child ratio. 
 (6)  If the provider offers offsite activities[ are offered], the 
provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the parent gives written consent before each activity; 
 (b)  the required caregiver-to-child ratio and supervision 
are maintained during the entire activity; 
 (c)  first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
bandages, and tweezers are available; 
 (d)  children's names are not used on nametags, t-shirts, or 
in other visible ways; and 
 (e)  there is a way for caregivers and children to wash their 
hands with soap and water, or with wet wipes and hand sanitizer if 
there is no source of running water. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that a caregiver with the 
children takes the [written ]emergency information and releases for 
each child in the group on each offsite activity, and that the 
information includes at least: 
 (a)  the child's name; 
 (b)  the parent's name and phone number; 
 (c)  the name and phone number of an individual to notify 
if an emergency happens and the parent cannot be contacted; 
 (d)  the names of people authorized by the parents to pick 
up the child; and 
 (e)  current emergency medical treatment and emergency 
medical transportation releases. 
 

R430-50-19.  Play Equipment. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that children using play 
equipment use it safely and [in the manner]as intended by the 
manufacturer. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that, when in use, stationary 
play equipment is not placed on a hard surface [such as]including 
concrete, asphalt, dirt, or the bare floor. 
 (3)  Except for trampolines, the provider shall ensure that 
stationary play equipment with a designated play surface that is 18 
inches high or higher: 
 (a)  has a surrounding three-foot use zone, free of  hard 
objects or surfaces, that extends from the outermost edge of the 
equipment; 
 (b)  has cushioning that covers the entire required use zone; 
and 
 (c)  is stable or securely anchored. 
 (4)  The department may consider a trampoline on the 
premises [to be]is inaccessible to children in care if the trampoline: 
 (a)  is enclosed behind a locked fence or safety net that is 
at least three feet high; 
 (b)  has no jumping mat; or 
 (c)  is placed upside down. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that each accessible 
trampoline without a safety net enclosure has at least a six-foot use 
zone that is measured from the outermost edge of the trampoline 
frame, and that is free from any structure or object including play 
equipment, trees, and fences. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that each accessible 
trampoline with a properly installed, used as specified by the 
manufacturer, and in good repair safety net enclosure has at least a 
three-foot use zone that is measured from the outermost edge of the 
trampoline frame, and that is free from any structure or object 
including play equipment, trees, and fences. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that each accessible 
trampoline with or without a safety net enclosure is placed over: 
 (a)  grass; 
 (b)  a six-inch deep cushioning; or 
 (c)  other commercial cushioning. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that cushioning for each 
accessible trampoline covers the entire required use zone. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that each accessible 
trampoline has: 
 (a)  no ladders or other objects within the use zone a child 
could use to climb on the trampoline; and 
 (b)  shock absorbing pads that completely cover the 
trampoline springs, hooks, and frame. 
 (10)  The provider shall receive written permission from a 
child's parent or legal guardian before that child uses the trampoline. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that if a child uses an 
accessible trampoline: 
 (a)  a caregiver is at the trampoline supervising; 
 (b)  only one person at a time uses the trampoline; 
 (c)  no child in care is allowed to do somersaults or flips on 
the trampoline; 
 (d)  no one is [allowed to be]permitted under the trampoline 
while the trampoline is in use; and 
 (e)  only school-age children in care are allowed to use a 
trampoline. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that there are no entrapment 
hazards on or within the use zone of any piece of stationary play 
equipment. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 121 

 (13)  The provider shall ensure that there are no 
strangulation hazards on or within the use zone of any piece of 
stationary play equipment. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that there are no crush, 
shearing, or sharp edge hazards on or within the use zone of any piece 
of stationary play equipment. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that there are no tripping 
hazards [such as]including concrete footings, tree stumps, tree roots, 
or rocks within the use zone of any piece of stationary play 
equipment. 
 
R430-50-20.  Transportation. 
[ If transportation services are offered:] 
 (1)  For each child being transported by the provider, the 
provider shall have a transportation permission form: 
 (a)  signed by the parent; and 
 (b)  on-site for review by the department. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that each vehicle used for 
transporting children: 
 (a)  is enclosed with a roof or top; 
 (b)  is equipped with safety restraints; 
 (c)  has a current vehicle registration; 
 (d)  is maintained in a safe and clean condition; and 
 (e)  contains first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
bandages, and tweezers. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the safety restraints in 
each vehicle that transports children are: 
 (a)  appropriate for the age and size of each child who is 
transported, as required by Utah law; 
 (b)  properly installed; and 
 (c)  in safe condition and working order. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that the driver of each vehicle 
who is transporting children: 
 (a)  is at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  has and carries with them a current, valid driver's 
license for the type of vehicle being driven; 
 (c)  has with them the [written ]emergency contact 
information for each child being transported; 
 (d)  ensures that each child being transported is in an 
individual safety restraint that is used according to Utah law; 
 (e)  ensures that the inside vehicle temperature is between 
60-85 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (f)  never leaves a child in the vehicle unattended by an 
adult; 
 (g)  ensures that children stay seated while the vehicle is 
moving; 
 (h)  never leaves the keys in the ignition when not in the 
driver's seat; and 
 (i)  ensures that the vehicle is locked during transport. 
 (5)  If the provider walks or uses public transportation to 
transport children to or from the facility, the provider shall ensure 
that: 
 (a)  each child being transported has a completed 
transportation permission form signed by their parent; 
 (b)  a caregiver goes with the children and actively 
supervises the children; 
 (c)  the caregiver-to-child ratio is maintained; and 
 (d)  a caregiver with the children has written emergency 
contact information and releases for the children being transported. 
 (6)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  have transport liability insurance; or 

 (b)  inform parents in writing that the provider does not 
have transport liability insurance. 
 
R430-50-21.  Animals. 
 (1)  The provider shall inform parents of the kinds of 
animals allowed at the facility. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that there is no animal on the 
premises that: 
 (a)  is naturally aggressive; 
 (b)  has a history of dangerous, attacking, or aggressive 
behavior; or 
 (c)  has a history of biting even one individual. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that animals at the facility are 
clean and free of obvious disease or health problems that could 
adversely affect children. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that there is no animal or 
animal equipment in food preparation or eating areas. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that children younger than 
five years old do not assist with the cleaning of animals or animal 
cages, pens, or equipment. 
 (6)  If school-age children help in the cleaning of animals 
or animal equipment, the provider shall ensure that the children wash 
their hands immediately after cleaning the animal or equipment. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that children and staff wash 
their hands immediately after playing with or touching reptiles and 
amphibians. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that dogs, cats, and ferrets 
that are housed at the facility have current rabies vaccinations. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep current animal vaccination 
records on-site for review by the department. 
 
R430-50-22.  Rest and Sleep. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer children in care a daily 
opportunity for rest or sleep in an environment with subdued lighting, 
a low noise level, and freedom from distractions. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that each crib: 
 (a)  has a tight-fitting mattress; 
 (b)  has slats spaced no more than 2-3/8 inches apart; 
 (c)  has at least 20 inches from the top of the mattress to the 
top of the crib rail, or at least 12 inches from the top of the mattress 
to the top of the crib rail if the child using the crib cannot sit up 
without assistance; 
 (d)  does not have strings, cords, ropes, or other 
entanglement hazards on the crib or within reach of the child; and 
 (e)  has documentation from the manufacturer or retailer 
stating that the crib was built after June 28, 2011, or that the crib is 
certified if the crib was manufactured before that date. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that sleeping equipment does 
not block exits. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that sleeping equipment and 
bedding items are: 
 (a)  clearly assigned to one child; and 
 (b)  laundered as needed, but at least once a week, and 
before use by another child. 
 (5)  Before each use t[T]he provider shall clean and sanitize 
sleeping equipment that is not clearly assigned to and used by an 
individual[ child before each use]. 
 
R430-50-23.  Diapering. 
[ If the provider accepts children who wear diapers:] 
 (1)  If the provider accepts children who wear diapers, 
t[T]he provider shall ensure that each child's diaper is: 
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 (a)  checked at least once every two hours; 
 (b)  promptly changed if wet or soiled; and 
 (c)  checked as soon as a sleeping child awakens. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers do not change 
children's diapers directly on the floor, in a food preparation or eating 
area, or on any surface used for another purpose. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the diapering surface is 
smooth, waterproof, and in good repair. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers clean and 
sanitize the diapering surface after each diaper change, or use a 
disposable, waterproof diapering surface that is thrown away after 
each diaper change. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers who change 
diapers wash their hands after each diaper change. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers place wet and 
soiled disposable diapers: 
 (a)  in a container that has a disposable plastic lining and a 
tight-fitting lid; 
 (b)  directly in an outdoor garbage container that has a tight-
fitting lid; or 
 (c)  in a container that is inaccessible to children. 
 (7)  Each day, the provider shall clean and sanitize indoor 
containers where wet and soiled diapers are placed. 
 (8)  If cloth diapers are used, the provider shall: 
 (a)  not rinse cloth diapers at the facility; and 
 (b)  place cloth diapers directly into a leakproof container 
that is inaccessible to any child and labeled with the child's name, or 
place the cloth diapers in a leakproof diapering service container. 
 
R430-50-24.  Infant and Toddler Care. 
[ If the provider cares for infants or toddlers:] 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that each awake infant and 
toddler receives positive physical and verbal interaction with a 
caregiver at least once every 20 minutes. 
 (2)  To stimulate their healthy development, the provider 
shall ensure that infants receive daily interactions with adults[;], 
including on the ground interaction and closely supervised time spent 
in the prone position for infants less than six months old. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers respond 
promptly to infants and toddlers who are in emotional distress due to 
conditions [such as]including hunger, fatigue, a wet or soiled diaper, 
fear, teething, or illness. 
 (4)  For their healthy development, the provider shall make 
safe toys available and accessible for each infant and toddler to 
engage in play. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that mobile infants and 
toddlers have freedom of movement in a safe area. 
 (6)  The provider may not confine an awake infant or 
toddler in any piece of equipment, [such as]including a swing, high 
chair, crib, playpen, or other similar piece of equipment for more than 
30 minutes. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that only one infant or toddler 
occupies any one piece of equipment at a time, unless the equipment 
has individual seats for more than one child. 
 (8)  The provider shall make objects made of styrofoam 
inaccessible to infants and toddlers. 
 (9)  The provider shall allow each infant and toddler to eat 
and sleep on their own schedule. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that baby food, formula, or 
breast milk that is brought from home for an individual infant and 
toddlers [child's ]use is: 
 (a)  labeled with the child's name; 

 (b)  labeled with the date and time of preparation or opening 
of the container, [such as]including a jar of baby food; 
 (c)  [kept ]refrigerated if needed; and 
 (d)  discarded within 24 hours of preparation or opening, 
except for unprepared powdered formula or dry food. 
 [(11)  If an infant cannot sit upright and hold their own 
bottle, the provider shall ensure that a caregiver holds the infant 
during bottle feeding and that bottles are not propped.](11)  If an 
infant cannot sit upright and hold their own bottle, the provider shall 
ensure that a caregiver is within arm's reach of each infant during 
bottle feeding and that bottles are not propped. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that the caregiver swirls and 
tests warm bottles for temperature before feeding to children. 
 (13)  The provider shall discard formula and milk, 
including breast milk, after feeding or within two hours of starting a 
feeding. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers cut solid 
foods for infants into pieces no larger than 1/4 inch in diameter, and 
cut solid foods for toddlers into pieces no larger than 1/2 inch in 
diameter. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that infants sleep in 
equipment designed for sleep [such as]including a crib, bassinet, 
porta-crib or playpen, and that infants are not placed to sleep on a 
mat, cot, pillow, bouncer, swing, car seat, or other similar piece of 
equipment. 
 (16)  The provider shall place infants on their backs for 
sleeping unless there is documentation from a health care provider 
requiring a different sleep position. 
 (17)  The provider may not place soft toys, loose blankets, 
or other objects in sleep equipment while in use by sleeping infants. 
 
KEY:  child care facilities, residential certification 
Date of Last Change:  2023[June 1, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 4, 2023 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Residential Child Care Licensing 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 

(MASOB) 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
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Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Simon Bolivar 801-
803-
4618 

sbolivar@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R430-90.  Licensed Family Child Care 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this amendment is to update language, 
clarify processes, updates terms and requirements as 
required by H.B. 15 from the 2022 General Session and 
updates citations following the consolidation and 
recodification of the Department of Health and Human 
Services' (Department) statute in 2023 General Session. 
 
This amendment incorporates changes based on the input 
and approval of the Residential Child Care Licensing 
(Agency). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment adds clarifying language compliant with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Additionally, this aligns terminology and processes with 
current enforcement standards. 
 
It also updates citations following the recodification and 
consolidation of the Department of Health and Human 
Services' statute. 
 
Substantive changes to comply with H.B. 15 (2022) 
include: 
1)  the definition of child care; 
2)  the Department's authority over municipalities and 
counties related to requirements for child care providers; 
3)  allowing additional school-age children without 
requesting an increase in capacity; 
4)  an increase in the number of children an individual can 
care for without a license; 
5)  removing the limitations on the number children under 
age two for certified providers; and 
6)  establishing a limit on the total number of children that 
a person may care for in the person's home without a 
license or certificate. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 
Increasing the minimum number of children required for a 
provider to become licensed may result in a fiscal impact 
for the Department. 
 
Some providers who are currently required to be licensed 
for a lower number of children may decide to relinquish 
their license and operate without one.  However, there is 
no way for the Department to calculate the fiscal impact of 
these changes because there is not a requirement for 
providers to report, and implementation of these changes 
is optional for providers. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The Agency does not expect any costs or savings to local 
governments caused by the proposed rule amendments 
because there is no oversight of local governments in 
these programs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Giving providers, small businesses, the option to add 
school-age children without requesting a capacity change 
will potentially impact these providers' income. 
 
This would be a benefit based on the number of children 
they add and would not result in a cost to them.  The 
benefit amounts are inestimable due to the individualized 
capacities and preferences of each provider. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The Agency does not expect any costs or savings to non-
small businesses caused by the proposed rule 
amendments because residential care providers do not 
exceed 50 employees in any setting. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Giving providers, other persons, the option to add school-
age children without requesting a capacity change will 
potentially impact these providers' income. 
 
This would be a benefit based on the number of children 
they add and would not result in a cost to them.  The 
benefit amounts are inestimable due to the individualized 
capacities and preferences of each provider. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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There will be no costs generated by the proposed rule 
changes because they are mostly changes that will 
facilitate and clarify the current process and do not require 
action unless the provider wishes to relinquish and provide 
care without a license due to no longer meeting the 
minimum threshold for licensure. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-2-402   

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/09/2023 

 
R430.  Health and Human Services, [Family Health and 
Preparedness,]Residential Child Care Licensing. 
R430-90.  Licensed Family Child Care. 
R430-90-1.  Legal Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is enacted and enforced in accordance with 
[Title 26, Chapter 39, Utah Child Care Licensing Act.]Section 26B-
2-402. 
 (2)  This rule establishes the foundational standards 
necessary to protect the health and safety of children in residential 
child care facilities and defines the general procedures and 
requirements to get and maintain a license to provide child care. 
 
R430-90-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Applicant" means a person or business who has 
applied for a new or a renewal of a license from Child Care Licensing. 
 (2)  "Background Finding" means information in a 
background check that Child Care Licensing uses to determine if a 
covered individual is or is not eligible to be involved with child care. 
 (3)  "Barrier" means an enclosing structure [such 
as]including a fence, wall, bars, railing, or solid panel to prevent 
accidental or deliberate movement through or access to something. 
 (4)  "Body Fluid" means blood, urine, feces, vomit, mucus, 
or saliva. 
 (5)  "Business Days and Hours" means the days of the week 
and times the facility is open for business. 
 (6)  "Caregiver" means a covered individual who protects 
the health and safety of children. A covered individual is a caregiver 
when they: 
 (a)  count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; 
 (b)  meet the physical or emotional needs of the children, 
including diapering, toileting, feeding, or protecting them from harm; 
or 
 (c)  supervise children. 
 (7)  "Capacity" means the maximum number of children 
the provider is allowed to care for at any given time. 
 (8)  " Caregiver-to-Child Ratio" means the number of 
caregivers responsible for a specific number of children. 
 (9)  "CCL" means the Child Care Licensing Program that 
is delegated with the responsibility to enforce [the Utah Child Care 
Licensing Act.]rules under Titles R381 and R430. 
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 (10)  "Child Care" means continuous care and supervision 
of [five]one or more qualifying children that is: 
 (a)  in place of care ordinarily provided by a parent in the 
parent's home; 
 (b)  for less than 24 hours a day; and 
 (c)  for direct or indirect compensation. 
 (11)  "Child Care Program" means a person or business that 
offers child care. 
 (12)  "Choking Hazard" means an object or a removable 
part on an object with a diameter of less than 1-1/4 inches and a length 
of less than 2-1/4 inches that could be caught in a child's throat 
blocking their airway and making it difficult or impossible to breathe. 
 (13)  "Conditional Status" means that the provider is at risk 
of losing their child care license because compliance with licensing 
rules has not been maintained. 
 (14)  "Covered Individual" means any of the following 
individuals involved with a child care program: 
 (a)  an owner; 
 (b)  an employee; 
 (c)  a caregiver; 
 (d)  a volunteer, except a parent of a child enrolled in the 
child care program; 
 (e)  an individual age 12 years old or older who resides in 
the facility; and 
 (f)  anyone who has unsupervised contact with a child in 
care. 
 (15)  "Crib" means an infant's bed with sides to protect 
them from falling including a bassinet, porta-crib, or play pen. 
 (16)  "Cushioning" means a shock-absorbing surface under 
and around play equipment that reduces the severity of injuries from 
falls. 
 (17)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. 
 (18)  "Designated Play Surface" means any accessible 
elevated surface for standing, walking, crawling, sitting or climbing; 
or an accessible flat surface at least two by two inches in size and 
having an angle less than 30 degrees from horizontal. 
 (19)  "Eligible" means that there were no findings in a 
covered individual's background check that could prohibit that 
covered individual from being involved with child care. 
 (20)  "Emotional Abuse" means behavior that could harm a 
child's emotional development, [such as]including threatening, 
intimidating, humiliating, demeaning, criticizing, rejecting, using 
profane language, or using inappropriate physical restraint. 
 (21)  "Entrapment Hazard" means an opening greater than 
3-1/2 by 6-1/4 inches and less than nine inches in diameter where a 
child's body could fit through but the child's head could not fit 
through, potentially causing a child's entrapment and strangulation. 
 (22)  "Facility" means a child care program or the premises 
approved by the department to be used for child care. 
 (23)  "Group" means the children who are assigned to and 
supervised by one or more caregivers. 
 (24)  "Group Size" means the total number of children in a 
group. 
 (25)  "Guest" means an individual who is not a covered 
individual and is at the child care facility for a short time with the 
provider's permission. 
 (26)  "Health Care Provider" means a licensed health 
professional, [such as]including a physician, dentist, nurse 
practitioner, or physician's assistant. 
 (27)  "Homeless" means anyone who lacks a fixed, regular, 
and adequate nighttime residence. 

 (28)  "Inaccessible" means out of reach of children by 
being: 
 (a)  locked, [such as]including in a locked room, cupboard, 
or drawer; 
 (b)  secured with a child safety device, [such as]including 
a child safety cupboard lock or doorknob device; 
 (c)  behind a properly secured child safety gate; 
 (d)  located at least 36 inches above the floor; or 
 (e)  if in a bathroom, at least 36 inches above any surface 
from where a child could stand or climb. 
 (29)  "Infant" means a child who is younger than 12 months 
old. 
 (30)  "Infectious Disease" means an illness that is capable 
of being spread from one individual to another. 
 (31)  "Involved with Child Care" means to do any of the 
following at or for a child care program: 
 (a)  care for or supervise children; 
 (b)  volunteer; 
 (c)  own, operate, direct; 
 (d)  reside; 
 (e)  count in the caregiver-to-child ratio; or 
 (f)  have unsupervised contact with a child in care. 
 (32)  "License" means a license issued by the department 
to provide child care services. 
 (33)  "Licensee" means the legally responsible person or 
business that holds a valid license from Child Care Licensing. 
 (34)  "LIS Supported Finding" means background check 
information from the Licensing Information System (LIS) database 
for child abuse and neglect, maintained by the [Utah D]department[ 
of Human Services]. 
 (35)  "Older Toddler" means a child age 18 through 23 
months old. 
 (36)  "Over-the-Counter Medication" means medication 
that can be bought without a written prescription including herbal 
remedies, vitamins, and mineral supplements. 
 (37)  "Parent" means the parent or legal guardian of a child 
in care. 
 (38)  "Physical Abuse" means causing nonaccidental 
physical harm to a child. 
 (39)  "Play Equipment Platform" means a flat surface on a 
piece of stationary play equipment intended for more than one child 
to stand on, and upon which the children can move freely. 
 (40)  "Preschooler" means a child age two through four 
years old. 
 (41)  "Provider" means the legally responsible person or 
business that holds a valid license from Child Care Licensing. 
 (42)  "Provider Designee" means the adult delegated by the 
provider to take the provider's responsibility in the provider's 
absence. 
 (4[2]3)  "Qualifying Child" means: 
 (a)  a child who is younger than 13 years old and is the child 
of an individual other than the child care provider or caregiver; 
 (b)  a child with a disability who is younger than 18 years 
old and is the child of an individual other than the provider or 
caregiver; or 
 (c)  a child who is younger than four years old and is the 
child of the provider or a caregiver. 
 (4[3]4)  "Related Child" means a child for whom a provider 
is the parent, legal guardian, step-parent, grandparent, step-
grandparent, great-grandparent, sibling, step-sibling, aunt, step-aunt, 
great-aunt, uncle, step-uncle, or great-uncle. 
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 (4[4]5)  "Residential Child Care" means care that takes 
place in a child care provider's home. 
 (4[5]6)  "Sanitize" means to use a product or process to 
reduce contaminants and bacteria to a safe level. 
 (4[6]7)  "School-Age Child" means a child age five through 
12 years old. 
 (4[7]8)  "Sexual Abuse" means to take indecent liberties 
with a child with the intention to arouse or gratify the sexual desire 
of an individual or to cause pain or discomfort. 
 (4[8]9)  "Sexually Explicit Material" means any depiction 
of actual or simulated sexually explicit conduct. 
 ([49]50)  "Sleeping Equipment" means a cot, mat, crib, 
bassinet, porta-crib, playpen, or bed. 
 (5[0]1)  "Stationary Play Equipment" means equipment 
[such as]including a climber, slide, swing, merry-go-round, or spring 
rocker that is meant to stay in one location when a child uses it.  
Stationary play equipment does not include: 
 (a)  a sandbox; 
 (b)  a stationary circular tricycle; 
 (c)  a sensory table; or 
 (d)  a playhouse that sits on the ground or floor and does 
not have an attached slide, swing, or climber. 
 (5[1]2)  "Strangulation Hazard" means something on which 
a child's clothes or drawstrings could become caught, or something 
in which a child could become entangled [such as]including: 
 (a)  a protruding bolt end that extends more than two 
threads beyond the face of the nut; 
 (b)  hardware that forms a hook or leaves a gap or space 
between components [such as]including a protruding open S-hook; 
or 
 (c)  a rope, cord, or chain that is attached to a structure and 
is long enough to encircle a child's neck. 
 (5[2]3)  "Unsupervised Contact" means being with, caring 
for, communicating with, or touching a child in the absence of a 
caregiver or other employee who is at least 18 years old and is 
considered eligible by CCL[has passed a Child Care Licensing 
background check]. 
 (5[3]4)  "Use Zone" means the area beneath and 
surrounding a play structure or piece of equipment that is designated 
for unrestricted movement around the equipment, and onto which a 
child falling from or exiting the equipment could be expected to land. 
[ (54)  "Volunteer" means an individual who receives no 
form of direct or indirect compensation for their service.] 
 (55)  "Working Days" means the days of the week the 
department is open for business. 
 (56)  "Younger Toddler" means a child age 12 through 17 
months old. 
 
R430-90-3.  License Required. 
 (1)  An individual shall [be licensed as ]obtain a [licensed 
]family child care provider license from the department if they 
provide care: 
 (a)  in the provider's home[ where they reside]; 
 (b)  in the absence of the child's parent; 
 (c)  for [five to 16]nine or more unrelated children; 
 (d)  for four or more hours a day; 
 (e)  for each individual child for less than 24 hours a day; 
 (f)  on a regularly scheduled, ongoing basis; and 
 (g)  for direct or indirect compensation. 
 (2)  A person who [is not required to be licensed]does not 
meet licensing requirements may voluntarily become licensed, 
except for care that is for related children only or on a sporadic basis. 

 (3)  A provider may be licensed to provide child care in a 
facility that is also licensed to offer foster or respite care services, or 
another licensed or certified human services program if the part of 
the building requesting a CCL license is physically separated from 
the other building services. 
 (4)  A residential child care provider may not be licensed 
for more than two facilities at the same time. 
 (5)  An individual shall be licensed by the department as a 
child care provider if they provide child care in the person's home for 
more than ten children in total under the age of 13, or under the age 
of 18 if a child has a disability, regardless of whether a child is related 
to the person providing child care. 
 
R430-90-4.  License Application, Renewal, Changes, and 
Variances. 
 (1)  Each applicant for a new child care license shall: 
 (a)  submit a CCL online application; 
 (b)  submit a copy of a current local fire clearance or a 
written statement from the local fire authority that a fire inspection is 
not required; 
 (c)  submit a copy of a current local health department 
kitchen clearance for a facility providing food service or a written 
statement from the local health department that a kitchen inspection 
is not required; 
 (d)  submit a copy of a current local business license or a 
written statement from the city that a business license is not required; 
 (e)  complete CCL background checks for covered 
individuals as required in Section R430-90-8; 
 (f)  complete CCL new provider training no more than six 
months before becoming licensed; and 
 (g)  pay any required fees, which are nonrefundable. 
 (2)  Each applicant shall pass a department's inspection of 
the facility before a new license or a renewal is issued. 
 (3)  If the local fire authority states in writing that an 
applicant for a new license or a renewal does not require a fire 
inspection, the department shall verify the applicant's compliance 
with the following: 
 (a)  address numbers and letters are readable from the 
street; 
 (b)  exit doors operate properly and are well maintained; 
 (c)  there are no obstructions in exits, aisles, corridors, and 
stairways; 
 (d)  there is at least one unobstructed fire extinguisher on 
each level of the building, currently charged and serviced, and 
mounted not more than five feet above the floor; 
 (e)  there are working smoke detectors that are properly 
installed on each level of the building; and 
 (f)  boiler, mechanical, and electrical panel rooms are not 
used for storage. 
 (4)  If an applicant for a new license [or a renewal ]serves 
food and the local health department states in writing that a kitchen 
inspection is not required, the department shall verify the applicant's 
compliance with the following: 
 (a)  the refrigerator is clean, in good repair, and working at 
or below 41 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (b)  there is a working thermometer in the refrigerator; 
 (c)  there is a working stem thermometer available to check 
cooking and hot hold temperatures; 
 (d)  reusable food holders, utensils, and food preparation 
surfaces are washed, rinsed, and sanitized before each use; 
 (e)  chemicals are stored away from food and food service 
items; 
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 (f)  food is properly stored, [kept to]maintained at the 
proper temperature, and in good condition; and 
 (g)  there is a working handwashing sink in the kitchen. 
 (5)(a)  Each applicant for a new license shall [have 
]complete the licensing process within six months from the time any 
portion of the application is submitted to the department.[finish the 
licensing process. If unsuccessful, the applicant shall reapply. Any 
resubmission must include the required documentation, payment of 
licensing fees, and a new inspection of the facility to be licensed.] 
 (b)  If successful licensure is not achieved by the applicant 
within six months, the applicant shall reapply. 
 (c)  Any resubmission shall include the required 
documentation and payment of licensing fees. 
 (d)  The department shall conduct a new inspection of the 
facility before issuing a license. 
 (6)  The department may deny an application for a license 
if, within the five years preceding the application date, the applicant 
held a license or a certificate that was: 
 (a)  closed under an immediate closure; 
 (b)  revoked; 
 (c)  closed as a result of a settlement agreement resulting 
from a notice of intent to revoke, a notice of revocation, or a notice 
of immediate closure; 
 (d)  voluntarily closed after an inspection of the facility 
found a rule [violation]noncompliance that would have resulted in a 
notice of intent to revoke or a notice of revocation had the provider 
not closed voluntarily; or 
 (e)  voluntarily closed having unpaid fees or civil money 
penalties issued by the department. 
 (7)  Each child care license expires at midnight on the last 
day of the month shown on the license, unless the license was 
previously revoked by the department, or voluntarily closed by the 
provider. 
 (8)  Within 30 to 90 days before a current license expires, 
each provider shall submit for renewal: 
 (a)  an online renewal request; 
 (b)  applicable renewal fees; 
 (c)  any previous unpaid fees; and 
 (d)  a copy of a current fire inspection report. 
 (9)  The department may grant a provider who fails to 
renew their license by the expiration date an additional 30 days to 
complete the renewal process if the provider pays a late fee. 
 (10)  The department may deny renewal of a license for a 
provider who is no longer caring for children. 
 (11)  Each provider shall submit a complete application for 
a new license at least 30 days before a change of the child care 
facility's location. 
 (12)  A provider shall submit a complete online changes 
request to amend an existing license at least 30 days before any of the 
following changes: 
 (a)  an increase or decrease of licensed capacity, including 
any change to the amount of usable indoor or outdoor space where 
child care is provided; 
 (b)  a change in the name of the program; 
 (c)  a change in the regulation type of the program; 
 (d)  a change in the name of the provider; or 
 (e)  a transfer of business ownership. 
 (13)  The department may amend a license after verifying 
that the applicant is in compliance with all applicable rules and 
required fees have been paid.  The expiration date of the amended 
license remains the same as the previous license. 

 (14)  Only the department may assign, transfer, or amend a 
license. 
 (15)(a)  If an applicant or provider cannot comply with a 
rule under Rule R381-90 but can meet the intent of the rule in another 
way, the applicant or provider may apply for a variance to that rule 
by submitting a request to the department. 
 (b)  The department may: 
 (i)  require additional information before acting on a 
variance request; and 
 (ii)  impose health and safety requirements as a condition 
of granting a variance. 
 ([16]c)  Each provider shall comply with the existing 
[rules]Rule R381-90 [until ]unless the department approves a 
variance.[ is approved by the department.] 
 ([17]d)  If a variance is approved, the provider shall keep a 
copy of the written approval on-site for review by parents and the 
department. 
 ([18]e)  The department may grant variances for up to 12 
months. 
 ([19]f)  The department may revoke a variance if: 
 ([a]i)  the provider is not meeting the intent of the rule as 
stated in their approved variance; 
 ([b]ii)  the provider fails to comply with the conditions of 
the variance; or 
 ([c]iii)  a change in statute, rule, or case law affects the basis 
for the variance. 
 
R430-90-5.  Rule [Violations]Noncompliance, Penalties, and 
[Appeals]Agency Action Reviews. 
 (1)  The department may place a program's child care 
license on a conditional status for the following causes: 
 (a)  chronic, ongoing noncompliance with rules; 
 (b)  unpaid fees; or 
 (c)  a serious rule [violation]noncompliance that places 
children's health or safety in immediate jeopardy. 
 (2)  The department shall establish the length of the 
conditional status and set the conditions that the child care provider 
shall satisfy to remove the conditional status. 
 (3)  The department may increase monitoring of the 
program that is on conditional status to verify compliance with rules. 
 (4)  The department may deny or revoke a license if the 
child care provider: 
 (a)  fails to meet the conditions of a license on conditional 
status; 
 (b)  violates the Child Care Licensing Act; 
 (c)  provides false or misleading information to the 
department; 
 (d)  misrepresents information by intentionally altering a 
license or any other document issued by the department; 
 (e)  fails to allow authorized representatives of the 
department access to the facility to ensure compliance with this rule; 
 (f)  fails to submit or make available to the department any 
written documentation required to verify compliance with this rule; 
 (g)  commits a serious rule [violation]noncompliance that 
results in death or serious harm to a child, or that places a child at risk 
of death or serious harm; or 
 (h)  has committed an illegal act that would exclude an 
individual from having a license. 
 (5)  Within ten working days of receipt of a revocation 
notice, the provider shall submit to the department the names and 
mailing addresses of the parents of each enrolled child so the 
department can notify the parents of the revocation. 
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 (6)  The department may order the immediate closure of a 
facility if conditions create a clear and present danger to any child in 
care and may require immediate action to protect the children's health 
or safety. 
 (7)  Upon receipt of an immediate closure notice, the 
provider shall give the department the names and mailing addresses 
of the parents of each enrolled child so the department can notify the 
parents of the immediate closure. 
 (8)  If there is a severe injury or the death of a child in care, 
the department may order a child care provider to suspend services 
and prohibit new enrollments, pending a review by the DHHS Child 
Fatality Review Committee or a determination of the probable cause 
of death or injury by a medical professional. 
 [(9)  If a person is providing care for more than four 
unrelated children without the appropriate license, the department 
may: 
 (a)  issue a cease and desist order; or 
 (b)  allow the person to continue operation if: 
 (i)  the person was unaware of the need for a license; 
 (ii)  conditions do not create a clear and present danger to 
the children in care; and 
 (iii)  the person agrees to apply for the appropriate license 
within 30 calendar days of notification by the department.](9)  An 
unlicensed person providing care that requires a license or certificate 
may be charged with a civil money penalty and a class A 
misdemeanor unless they: 
 (a)  stop providing child care that requires a license or 
certificate; or 
 (b)  apply for the appropriate license or certificate within 
30 calendar days of notification by the department. 
 (10)  If a person providing care without the appropriate 
license agrees to apply for a license but does not submit an 
application and the required application documents within 30 days, 
the department may issue a cease and desist order. 
 (11)  A [violation]noncompliance of any rule is punishable 
by an administrative civil money penalty of up to $5,000 a day as 
provided in Section [26-39-601]26B-2-409. 
 (12)  The department may assess a civil money penalty and 
also take action to deny, place on conditional status, revoke, 
immediately close, or refuse to renew a license. 
 (13)  The department may deny an application or revoke a 
license for failure to pay any required fees, including fees for 
applications, late fees, returned checks, license changes, additional 
inspections, conditional monitoring inspections, background checks, 
civil money penalties, and other fees assessed by the department. 
 (14)  An applicant or provider may request an agency 
review for[ hearing to appeal] any department decision within [15]ten 
working days of being informed in writing of the decision. 
 
R430-90-6.  Administration and Children's Records. 
 (1)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  be at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  be [deemed]considered eligible by a CCL background 
check before becoming involved with child care; 
 (c)  complete the new provider training offered by the 
department; and 
 (d)  complete at least 20 hours of child care training each 
year, based on the facility's license date. 
 (2)  The provider shall protect children from conduct that 
endangers children in care, or is contrary to the health, morals, 
welfare, and safety of the public. 

 (3)  The provider shall know and comply with each 
applicable federal, state, and local law, ordinance, and rule, and shall 
be responsible for the operation and management of a child care 
program. 
 (4)  The provider shall comply with licensing rules any time 
a child in care is present. 
 (5)  The provider shall post their unaltered child care 
license on the facility premises in a place readily visible and 
accessible to the public during business hours. 
 (6)  The provider shall post a current copy of the 
department's Parent Guide at the facility for parent review during 
business hours or give a current copy to each parent. 
 (7)  The provider shall inform parents and the department 
of any changes to the program's telephone number and other contact 
information within 48 hours of the change. 
 (8)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  have liability insurance; or 
 (b)  inform parents in writing that the provider does not 
have liability insurance. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that a parent completes an 
admission and health assessment form for their child before the child 
is admitted into the child care program. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that each child's admission 
and health assessment form includes the following information: 
 (a)  child's name; 
 (b)  child's date of birth; 
 (c)  parent's name, address, and phone number, including a 
daytime phone number; 
 (d)  names of individuals authorized by the parent to sign 
the child out from the facility; 
 (e)  name, address, and phone number of an individual to 
be contacted if an emergency happens and the provider cannot 
contact the parent; 
 (f)  if available, the name, address, and phone number of an 
out-of-area emergency contact individual for the child; 
 (g)  parent's permission for emergency transportation and 
emergency medical treatment; 
 (h)  any known allergies of the child; 
 (i)  any known food sensitivities of the child; 
 (j)  any chronic medical conditions that the child may have; 
 (k)  instructions for special or nonroutine daily health care 
of the child; 
 (l)  current ongoing medications that the child may be 
taking; and 
 (m)  any other special health instructions for the caregiver. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that the admission and 
health assessment form is: 
 (a)  reviewed, updated, and signed or initialed by the parent 
at least annually; and 
 (b)  [kept ]on-site for review by the department. 
 (12)  Before admitting any child younger than five years 
old into the child care program, including the provider's and 
employees' own children, the provider shall get the following 
documentation from the child's parent: 
 (a)  current immunizations; 
 (b)  a medical schedule to receive required immunizations; 
 (c)  a legal exemption; or 
 (d)  a 90-day exemption for foster children and children 
who are homeless. 
 (13)  For each child younger than five years old, including 
the provider's and employees' own children, the provider shall keep 
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their current immunization records on-site for review by the 
department. 
 (14)  The provider shall submit the annual immunization 
report to the Immunization Program in the Utah Department of 
Health and Human Services by the date specified by the department. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that each child's information 
is [kept ]confidential and not released without written parental 
permission except to the department. 
 
R430-90-7.  Personnel and Training Requirements. 
 (1)  The provider or the provider designee shall be present 
at the home when a child is in care[ at least 50% of the time each 
week the program is open for business]. 
 (2)  [If the provider is not present, the provider shall ensure 
that there is at least one covered individual who is 18 years old or 
older present at the facility when there is a child in care.]The provider 
shall ensure that, before being left alone with the children, the 
provider designee: 
 (a)  completes the department's new provider training; and 
 (b)  has current first aid and pediatric CPR certifications. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that any covered individual 
caring for the children is supervised, qualified, and trained to: 
 (a)  meet the needs of the children as required by this rule; 
and 
 (b)  be in compliance with licensing requirements under 
Rule R430-90. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers: 
 (a)  are at least 16 years old; 
 (b)  are [deemed]considered eligible by a CCL background 
check before becoming involved with child care; 
 (c)  [receive at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice training 
]complete the 2-1/2 hour preservice training offered by the 
department before caring for children; 
 (d)  know and follow any applicable laws and requirements 
under Rule R430-90;[ and] 
 (e)  are introduced to other staff and to the caregiver's 
assigned group of children; 
 (f)  review the information in each child's health assessment 
in the caregiver's assigned group, including allergies, food 
sensitivities, and other individual needs; and 
 ([e]g)  complete at least 20 hours of child care training each 
year, based on the facility's license date, or at least 1-1/2 hours of 
child care training each month they work if hired partway through the 
facility's licensing year. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that any other staff [such 
as]including drivers, cooks, and clerks: 
 (a)  are [deemed]considered eligible by a CCL background 
check before becoming involved with child care; 
 (b)  [receive at least 2-1/2 hours of preservice 
training]complete the 2-1/2 hour preservice training offered by the 
department before beginning job duties; and 
 (c)  know and follow any applicable laws and requirements 
under Rule R430-90. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that volunteers are 
[deemed]considered eligible by a CCL background check before 
becoming involved with child care. 
 (7)  The provider shall submit a background check as 
required in Section R430-90-8 for each guest who is 12 years old and 
older and stays in the home for more than two weeks. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that household members who 
are: 

 (a)  12 to 17 years old are [deemed]considered eligible by 
a CCL background check; and 
 (b)  18 years old or older are [deemed]considered eligible 
by a CCL background check that includes fingerprints. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that individuals who provide 
Individualized Educational Plan [(IEP) ]or Individualized Family 
Service plan (IFSP) services [such as]including physical, 
occupational, or speech therapists: 
 (a)  provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or to a child at the facility; and 
 (b)  have received the child's parent's permission for 
services to take place at the facility. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that individuals from law 
enforcement, Child Protective Services, the department, and any 
similar entities provide proper identification before having access to 
the facility or to a child at the facility. 
 [(11)  The provider shall ensure that preservice training 
includes at least the following topics: 
 (a)  job description and duties; 
 (b)  current department rule Sections R430-90-7 through 
R430-90-24; 
 (c)  disaster preparedness, response, and recovery; 
 (d)  pediatric first aid and cardio pulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR); 
 (e)  children with special needs; 
 (f)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials; 
 (g)  prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (h)  principles of child growth and development, including 
brain development; 
 (i)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 
trauma, and coping with crying babies; 
 (j)  prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 
the use of safe sleeping practices; 
 (k)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance; 
 (l)  a review of the information in each child's health 
assessment in the caregiver's assigned group, including allergies, 
food sensitivities, and other special needs; and 
 (m)  an introduction and orientation to the children in 
care.](11)  The provider shall ensure that each covered individual 
required to complete preservice training receives the 2-1/2 hour 
preservice training offered by the department which includes at least 
the following topics: 
 (a)  applicable laws and requirements under Rule R430-90; 
 (b)  children with special needs; 
 (c)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance; 
 (d)  building and physical premises safety; 
 (e)  prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (f)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (g)  emergency preparedness, response, and recovery plan; 
 (h)  prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 
and allergy reactions; 
 (i)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials and 
biocontaminants; 
 (j)  prevention and control of infectious diseases including 
immunizations; 
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 (k)  administration of medication; 
 (l)  child  and brain development, including the social, 
emotional, physical, cognitive, and language principles of child 
growth; 
 (m)  precautions in transporting children; 
 (n)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome, abusive head 
trauma, child maltreatment, and coping with crying babies; and 
 (o)  prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and the 
use of safe sleeping practices. 
[ (12)  The provider shall keep documentation of each 
individual's preservice training on-site for review by the department 
and shall ensure that documentation includes at least the following: 
 (a)  training topics; 
 (b)  date of the training; and 
 (c)  total hours or minutes of training.] 
 (1[3]2)  The provider shall ensure that annual child care 
training includes at least the following topics: 
 (a)  current department rule Sections R430-90-7 through 
R430-90-24; 
[ (b)  disaster preparedness, response, and recovery; 
 (c)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (d)  children with special needs; 
 (e)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials; 
 (f)  the prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (g)  principles of child growth and development, including 
brain development; 
 (h)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 
trauma, and coping with crying babies; 
 (i)  prevention of SIDS and use of safe sleeping practices; 
and 
 (j)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance.] 
 (b)  children with special needs; 
 (c)  recognizing the signs of homelessness and available 
assistance; 
 (d)  building and physical premises safety; 
 (e)  prevention, signs, and symptoms of child abuse and 
neglect, including child sexual abuse, and legal reporting 
requirements; 
 (f)  pediatric first aid and CPR; 
 (g)  emergency preparedness, response, and recovery plan; 
 (h)  prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 
and allergy reactions; 
 (i)  safe handling and disposal of hazardous materials and 
biocontaminants; 
 (j)  prevention and control of infectious diseases including 
immunizations; 
 (k)  administration of medication; 
 (l)  child and brain development, including the social, 
emotional, physical, cognitive, and language principles of child 
growth; 
 (m)  precautions in transporting children; 
 (n)  prevention of shaken baby syndrome, abusive head 
trauma, child maltreatment, and coping with crying babies; and 
 (o)  prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and the 
use of safe sleeping practices. 
 (1[4]3)  The provider shall ensure that at least half of the 
required annual training is interactive. 

 (1[5]4)  The provider shall ensure that documentation of 
each individual's annual child care training is [kept ]on-site for 
review by the department and includes the following: 
 (a)  training topic; 
 (b)  date of the training; 
 (c)  name of the individual or organization that presented 
the training; 
 (d)  whether the training was interactive or not; and 
 (d)  total hours or minutes of training. 
 (1[6]5)  The provider shall ensure that at least one covered 
individual with a current Red Cross, American Heart Association, or 
equivalent pediatric first aid and CPR certification is present when 
children are in care: 
 (a)  at the facility; 
 (b)  in each vehicle transporting children; and 
 (c)  at each offsite activity. 
 (1[7]6)  The provider shall ensure that CPR certification 
includes hands-on testing. 
 (1[8]7)  The provider shall ensure that the following 
records for each caregiver and volunteer are [kept ]on-site for review 
by the department: 
 (a)  the date of initial employment or association with the 
program; 
 (b)  a current pediatric first aid and CPR certification, if 
required in this rule; and 
 (c)  a six-week record of the times worked each day. 
 
R430-90-8.  Background Checks. 
[ (1)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved 
with child care in the program, the provider shall use the CCL 
provider portal search to: 
 (a)  verify that the individual is eligible; and 
 (b)  associate that individual with their facility if the 
covered individual appears in the search.] 
 (1)  Before a new covered individual becomes involved 
with child care, the provider shall use the CCL provider portal search 
to verify that the individual is eligible and: 
 (a)  associate that individual with their facility; or 
 (b)  not associate the individual if the individual is 
associated with another CCL facility and the new individual will be 
at the facility for no more than one business day. 
 (2)  Before a new covered individual who does not appear 
in the CCL provider portal search becomes involved with child care 
in the program, the provider shall: 
 (a)  [have]require the individual to submit an online 
background check form and fingerprints for individuals age 18 years 
old and older; 
 (b)  authorize the individual's background check through 
the CCL provider's portal; 
 (c)  pay any required fees; and 
 (d)  receive written notice from CCL that the individual is 
eligible. 
 (3)  To keep their background check eligibility current, the 
provider shall also ensure that a new background check form and 
fingerprints are submitted and authorized and fees are paid for any 
covered individual who has: 
 (a)  resided outside of Utah since their last background 
check was completed; 
 (b)  not been associated with an active, CCL approved child 
care facility within the past 180 days; or 
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 (c)  [has ]turned 18 years old and has not previously 
submitted fingerprints for a CCL background check[.], except 
[If]when the 18-year-old has previously submitted fingerprints for a 
CCL background check, then only a new background check form will 
be required. 
 (4)  Within ten working days from when a child who resides 
in the facility turns 12 years old, the provider shall: 
 (a)  ensure that an online background check form is 
submitted; 
 (b)  authorize the child's background check through the 
CCL provider's portal; and 
 (c)  pay any required fees. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that fingerprints are prepared 
by a local law enforcement agency or an agency approved by local 
law enforcement. 
 (6)  If fingerprints are submitted electronically through live 
scan, the provider shall ensure that the agency taking the fingerprints 
is one that follows the department's guidelines. 
 (7)  The department may consider a covered individual not 
eligible for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  LIS supported findings; 
 (b)  the covered individual's name appears on the Utah or 
national sex offender registry; 
 (c)  the covered individual refuses to consent to the criminal 
background check; 
 (d)  the covered individual knowingly makes a false 
statement in connection with their background check; 
 (e)  any felony convictions; or 
 (f)  for any of the reasons listed under Subsection R430-90-
8(8). 
 (8)  The department may also consider a covered individual 
not eligible for any of the following convictions regardless of 
severity: 
 (a)  child pornography; 
 (b)  sexual enticing of a minor; 
 (c)  voyeurism; 
 (d)  a sexual exploitation act; 
 (e)  pornographic material or performance; 
 (f)  any crime against an individual; 
 (g)  providing dangerous weapons or fire arms to a minor; 
or 
 (h)  driving under the influence [(DUI) ]while a child is 
present in the vehicle. 
 (9)  The department shall consider a covered individual 
eligible if the only background finding is a conviction or plea of no 
contest to a nonviolent drug offense that occurred ten or more years 
before the CCL background check was conducted. 
 (10)  If the provider is [deemed]considered not eligible by 
CCL, the department may suspend or deny their license until the 
reason for the background check finding is resolved. 
 (11)  If a covered individual is [deemed]considered not 
eligible by CCL, including that the individual has been convicted, has 
pleaded no contest, or is currently subject to a plea in abeyance or 
diversion agreement for a felony or misdemeanor, the provider shall 
prohibit that individual from being employed by the child care 
program or residing at the facility until the reason for the background 
check finding is resolved. 
 (12)  If a covered individual is denied a license or 
employment based upon the criminal background check and 
disagrees with the information provided by the Department of Public 
Safety, the covered individual may appeal the information to the 
Department of Public Safety. 

 (13)  [If a covered individual disagrees with a supported 
finding on the Department of Human Services LIS, the covered 
individual may appeal the finding to the Department of Human 
Services. 
 (14)  ]The provider and the covered individual shall notify 
the department within 48 hours of becoming aware of the covered 
individual's arrest warrant, felony or misdemeanor arrest, charge, 
conviction, or supported LIS finding.  Failure to notify the 
department within 48 hours may result in disciplinary action, 
including revocation of the license. 
 (1[5]4)  The Executive Director of the department may 
overturn a CCL background check decision if the Executive Director 
determines that the nature of the background finding or mitigating 
circumstances do not pose a risk to children. 
 
R430-90-9.  Facility. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least 35 square 
feet of indoor space for each child in care, including the provider's 
and employees' children. 
 (2)  The department may include floor space used for 
furniture, fixtures, or equipment as indoor space per child if the 
furniture, fixture, or equipment is used: 
 (a)  by children; 
 (b)  for the care of children; or 
 (c)  to store materials for children. 
 (3)  The department may not include the following areas 
when measuring indoor space for children's use: 
 (a)  bathrooms; 
 (b)  closets; 
 (c)  hallways; 
 (d)  lobbies; and 
 (e)  entryways. 
[ (4)  The department may limit the maximum allowed 
capacity for a child care facility based on local ordinances.] 
 ([5]4)  The provider shall ensure that the number of 
children in care at any given time does not exceed the capacity 
identified on the license[.], except when providing after school child 
care for up to three additional school-age children. 
 ([6]5)  The provider shall ensure that any building or play 
structure on the premises constructed before 1978 that has peeling, 
flaking, chalking, or failing paint is tested for lead.  If lead-based 
paint is found, the provider shall contact their local health department 
within five working days and follow required procedures for 
remediation of the lead hazard. 
 ([7]6)  The provider shall ensure that each room and indoor 
area that is used by children is ventilated by mechanical ventilation, 
or by windows that open and have screens. 
 ([8]7)  The provider shall ensure that rooms and areas have 
adequate light intensity for the safety of the children and the type of 
activity being conducted. 
 ([9]8)  The provider shall maintain the indoor temperature 
between 65 and 82 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 ([10]9)  The provider shall ensure that there is a working 
telephone at the facility, in each vehicle while transporting children, 
and during offsite activities. 
 (1[1]0)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least one 
working toilet and at least one working handwashing sink accessible 
to each nondiapered child in care. 
 (1[2]1)  The provider shall ensure that there is at least one 
bathroom that provides privacy available for use by school-age 
children. 
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 (1[3]2)  The provider shall ensure that there is an outdoor 
area that is safely accessible to children. 
 (1[4]3)  The provider shall ensure that the outdoor area has 
at least 40 square feet of space for each child using the area at one 
time. 
 (1[5]4)  The provider shall ensure that the outdoor area is 
enclosed within a fence, wall, or solid natural barrier that is at least 
four feet high if the facility is on a street or within a half mile of a 
street that: 
 (a)  has a speed of 25 miles per hour or higher; or 
 (b)  has more than two lanes of traffic. 
 (1[6]5)  The provider shall ensure that the following 
hazards are separated from the children's outdoor area with a fence, 
wall, or solid natural barrier that is at least four feet high: 
 (a)  barbed wire that is within 30 feet of the children's play 
area; 
 (b)  livestock on or within 50 yards of the property line; 
 (c)  dangerous machinery, [such as]including farm 
equipment, on or within 50 yards of the property line; 
 (d)  a drop-off of more than five feet on or within 50 yards 
of the property line; and 
 (e)  a water hazard, [such as]including a swimming pool, 
pond, ditch, lake, reservoir, river, stream, creek, or animal watering 
trough, on or within 100 yards of the property line. 
 (1[7]6)  The provider shall ensure that there is no gap five 
by five inches or greater in or under the fence or barrier. 
 (1[8]7)  The provider shall ensure that there is shade 
available to protect the children from excessive sun and heat when 
children are in the outdoor area. 
 (1[9]8)  If there is a swimming pool on the premises that is 
not emptied after each use, the provider shall: 
 (a)  meet applicable state and local laws and ordinances 
related to the operation of a swimming pool; 
 (b)  maintain the pool in a safe manner; and 
 (c)  when not in use, cover the pool with a commercially-
made safety enclosure that is installed according to the 
manufacturer's instructions, or enclose the pool within at least a four-
foot-high fence or solid barrier that is [kept ]locked and that separates 
the pool from any other areas on the premises. 
 ([20]19)  If there is a hot tub with water in it on the 
premises, the provider shall make the hot tub inaccessible to children 
by: 
 (a)  keeping the hot tub locked with a properly working 
cover; or 
 (b)  enclosing the hot tub within at least a four-foot-high 
fence or solid barrier that is [kept ]locked and that separates the hot 
tub from any other areas on the premises. 
 (2[1]0)  The provider shall maintain buildings and outdoor 
areas in good repair and safe condition including: 
 (a)  ceilings, walls, and floor coverings; 
 (b)  lighting, bathroom, and other fixtures; 
 (c)  draperies, blinds, and other window coverings; 
 (d)  indoor and outdoor play equipment; 
 (e)  furniture, toys, and materials accessible to the children; 
and 
 (f)  entrances, exits, steps, and walkways including keeping 
them free of ice, snow, and other hazards. 
 (2[2]1)  The provider shall ensure that accessible raised 
decks or balconies that are five feet or higher, and open stairwells that 
are five feet or deeper have protective barriers that are at least three 
feet high. 

 (2[3]2)  If the house is subdivided, any part of the building 
is rented out, or any area of the facility is shared including the outdoor 
area, the department may inspect the entire facility and the provider 
shall ensure that covered individuals in the facility comply with this 
rule, except when[ the following conditions are met]: 
 (a)  there is a signed rental or lease agreement for the rented 
area; 
 (b)  there is a separate mailing address for the rented area; 
 (c)  there is a separate entrance for the child care program; 
 (d)  there are no connecting interior doorways that can be 
used by unauthorized individuals; and 
 (e)  there is no shared access to the outdoor area, unless a 
qualified caregiver is with the children each time children in care are 
using the outdoor area. 
 
R430-90-10.  Ratios and Group Size. 
 (1)  The provider shall maintain at least: 
 (a)  one caregiver for up to eight children in care; and 
 (b)  two caregivers for nine to 16 children in care. 
 (2)  The provider shall include the provider's and 
employees' children age four years old or older in care: 
 (a)  in the group size when the parent of the child is working 
at the facility; and 
 (b)  in the group size and the caregiver-to-child ratio when 
the parent of the child is not working at the facility. 
 (3)  When caring for children younger than two years old, 
the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  there is at least one caregiver for every three children 
younger than two years old; 
 (b)  each caregiver cares for no more than two children 
younger than 18 months old; and 
 (c)  there are at least two caregivers if more than three 
children younger than two years old are present and there are more 
than six children in care. 
 (4)  The provider may not exceed the group sizes found in 
Table 1 and Table 2. 
[ 

TABLE 1 
 

MAXIMUM GROUP SIZE WITH 1 CAREGIVER 
 
# of Provider's      Maximum Allowed          Total # of Children 
and Caregivers'      # of Children in         Present in the Home 
Own Children         Care, Including the      During Child Care 
Ages 4-12 Years      Provider's and           Hours 
Present During       Caregivers' Own 
Child Care Hours     Children Younger than 
                     4 years old 
 
0-4 Children         8 children               12 Children 
5 Children           7 children               12 Children 
6 Children           6 children               12 Children 
7 Children           5 children               12 Children 
8 Children           4 children               12 Children 
9 Children           3 children               12 Children 
10 Children          2 children               12 Children 

11 Children          1 child                  12 Children] 
TABLE 1 

MAXIMUM GROUP SIZE WITH 1 CAREGIVER 
Number of 
provider's and  
caregiver's own  
children ages 4-12  
years present during 
child care hours  

Maximum allowed  
number of children  
in care, including  
the provider's and  
caregivers' own  
children younger  
than 4 years old 

Total number  
of children  
present in the  
home during  
child care  
hours 
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0-4 Children 8 Children 12 Children 
5 Children 7 Children 12 Children 
6 Children 6 Children 12 Children 
7 Children 5 Children 12 Children 
8 Children 4 Children 12 Children 
9 Children 3 Children 12 Children 
10 Children 2 Children 12 Children 
11 Children 1 Child 12 Children 

 
[TABLE 2 

 
MAXIMUM GROUP SIZE WITH 2 CAREGIVERS 

 
# of Provider's      Maximum Allowed          Total # of Children 
and Caregivers'      # of Children in         Present in the Home 
Own Children         Care, Including the      During Child Care 
Ages 4-12 Years      Provider's and           Hours 
Present During       Caregivers' Own 
Child Care Hours     Children Younger than 
                     4 years old 
 
0-8 Children         16 children              24 Children 
9   Children         15 children              24 Children 
10  Children         14 children              24 Children 
11  Children         13 children              24 Children 
12  Children         12 children              24 Children 
13  Children         11 children              24 Children 
14  Children         10 children              24 Children 
15  Children          9 children              24 Children 
16  Children          8 children              24 Children 
17  Children          7 children              24 Children 
18  Children          6 children              24 Children 
19  Children          5 children              24 Children 
20  Children          4 children              24 Children 
21  Children          3 children              24 Children 
22  Children          2 children              24 Children 

23  Children          1 child                 24 Children] 
TABLE 2 

MAXIMUM GROUP SIZE WITH 2 CAREGIVERS 
Number of  
provider's and  
caregiver's own  
children ages 4-12  
years present during  
child care hours  

Maximum 
allowed number  
of children in  
care, including  
the provider's and  
caregivers' own  
children younger  
than 4 years old 

Total number of  
children present  
in the home  
during child care  
hours 

0-8 Children 16 Children 24 Children 
9 Children 15 Children 24 Children 
10 Children 14 Children 24 Children 
11 Children 13 Children 24 Children 
12 Children 12 Children 24 Children 
13 Children 11 Children 24 Children 
14 Children 10 Children 24 Children 
15 Children 9 Children 24 Children 
16 Children 8 Children 24 Children 
17 Children 7 Children 24 Children 
18 Children 6 Children 24 Children 
19 Children 5 Children 24 Children 
20 Children 4 Children 24 Children 
21 Children 3 Children 24 Children 
22 Children 2 Children 24 Children 
23 Children 1 Child 24 Children 

 
 (5)  The provider may include caregivers and volunteers 
who are 16 or 17 years old in the caregiver-to-child ratio. 

 (6)  The provider shall ensure that guests do not count in 
caregiver-to-child ratio. 
 
R430-90-11.  Child Supervision and Security. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers provide and 
maintain active supervision of each child, including: 
 (a)  a caregiver is inside the home when a child in care is 
inside the home; 
 (b)  a caregiver is in the outdoor area when a child younger 
than five years old is in the outdoor area; 
 (c)  caregivers know the number of children in their care at 
any time; and 
 (d)  caregivers' attention is focused on the children and not 
on caregivers' personal interests. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that staff and household 
members who are 16 or 17 years old only have unsupervised contact 
with any child in care, including during offsite activities and 
transportation when: 
 (a)  the provider or an eligible adult is physically present 
and available as needed; and 
 (b)  they are not volunteers. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that staff, volunteers, and 
household members who are younger than 16 years old are not 
assigned to care for or supervise any child in care. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that guests do not have 
unsupervised contact with any child in care, including during offsite 
activities and transportation. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that parents of children in 
care do not have unsupervised contact with any child in care, except 
with their own children. 
 (6)  The provider may allow school-age children to be 
outdoors while caregivers are indoors if: 
 (a)  a caregiver can hear the children when children are 
outdoors; and 
 (b)  the children are in an area completely enclosed within 
a fence, wall, or solid natural barrier that is at least four feet high. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that a caregiver monitors 
each sleeping infant by: 
 (a)  placing each infant to sleep within the sight and hearing 
of a caregiver; or 
 (b)  personally observing each sleeping infant at least once 
every 15 minutes. 
 (8)  The provider may allow a child to participate in 
supervised offsite activities without a caregiver if: 
 (a)  the provider has prior written permission from the 
child's parent for the child's participation; and 
 (b)  the provider has clearly assigned the responsibility for 
the child's whereabouts and supervision to a responsible adult who 
accepts that responsibility throughout the period of the offsite 
activity. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that parents have access to 
their child and the areas used to care for their child when their child 
is in care. 
 (10)  To maintain security and supervision of children, the 
provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  each child is signed in and out in accordance with this 
section; 
 (b)  only parents or individuals with written authorization 
from the parent may sign-out a child; 
 (c)  photo identification is required if the individual signing 
the child out is unknown to the provider; 



 

134 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 

 (d)  individuals signing children in and out use identifiers, 
[such as]including a signature, initials, or electronic code; 
 (e)  the sign-in and sign-out records include the date and 
time each child arrives and leaves; and 
 (f)  there is written permission from the child's parent if 
school-age children sign themselves in or out. 
 (11)  In an emergency, the provider shall accept the parent's 
verbal authorization to release a child if the provider can confirm the 
identity of: 
 (a)  the individual giving verbal authorization; and 
 (b)  the individual picking up the child. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that a six-week record of 
each child's daily attendance, including sign-in and sign-out records, 
is [kept ]on-site for review by the department. 
 
R430-90-12.  Child Guidance and Interaction. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that no child is subjected to 
physical, emotional, or sexual abuse while in care. 
 (2)  The provider shall inform parents, children, and those 
who interact with the children of the program's behavioral 
expectations and how any misbehavior will be handled. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that individuals who interact 
with the children guide children's behavior by using positive 
reinforcement, redirection, and by setting clear limits that promote 
children's ability to become self-disciplined. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers use gentle, 
passive restraint with children only when it is needed to protect 
children from injuring themselves or others, or to stop them from 
destroying property. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that interactions with the 
children do not include: 
 (a)  any form of corporal punishment or any action that 
produces physical pain or discomfort [such as]including hitting, 
spanking, shaking, biting, or pinching; 
 (b)  restraining a child's movement by binding, tying, or any 
other form of restraint that exceeds gentle, passive restraint; 
 (c)  shouting at children; 
 (d)  any form of emotional abuse; 
 (e)  forcing or withholding food, rest, or toileting; or 
 (f)  confining a child in a closet, locked room, or other 
enclosure [such as]including a box, cupboard, or cage. 
 (6)  Any individual who witnesses or suspects that a child 
has been subjected to abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall 
immediately notify Child Protective Services or law enforcement as 
required in state law. 
 
R430-90-13.  Child Safety and Injury Prevention. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that the building, outdoor 
area, toys, and equipment are used in a safe manner and as intended 
by the manufacturer to prevent injury to children. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that poisonous and harmful 
plants are inaccessible to children. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that sharp objects, edges, 
corners, or points that could cut or puncture skin are inaccessible to 
children. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that choking hazards are 
inaccessible to children younger than three years old. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that strangulation hazards 
[such as]including ropes, cords, chains, and wires attached to a 
structure and long enough to encircle a child's neck are inaccessible 
to children. 

 (6)  The provider shall ensure that tripping hazards [such 
as]including unsecured flooring, rugs with curled edges, or cords in 
walkways are inaccessible to children. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that empty plastic bags large 
enough for a child's head to fit inside, latex gloves, and balloons are 
inaccessible to children younger than five years old. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that standing water that 
measures two inches or deeper and five by five inches or greater in 
diameter is inaccessible to children. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that toxic or hazardous 
chemicals [such as]including cleaners, insecticides, lawn products, 
and flammable, corrosive, and reactive materials are: 
 (a)  inaccessible to children; 
 (b)  used according to manufacturer instructions; 
 (c)  stored in containers labeled with the contents of the 
container; and 
 (d)  disposed of properly. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that the following items are 
inaccessible to children: 
 (a)  matches or cigarette lighters; 
 (b)  open flames; 
 (c)  hot wax or other hot substances; and 
 (d)  when in use, portable space heaters, wood burning 
stoves, and fireplaces. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that the following items are 
inaccessible to children: 
 (a)  live electrical wires; and 
 (b)  for children younger than five years old, electrical 
outlets and surge protectors without protective caps or safety devices 
when not in use. 
 (12)  Unless used and stored [in compliance with the Utah 
Concealed Weapons Act or ]as [otherwise ]allowed by any state or 
federal law, the provider shall ensure that firearms [such as]including 
guns, muzzleloaders, rifles, shotguns, hand guns, pistols, and 
automatic guns are: 
 (a)  locked in a cabinet or area using a key, combination 
lock, or fingerprint lock; and 
 (b)  stored unloaded and separate from ammunition. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that weapons [such 
as]including paintball guns, BB guns, airsoft guns, sling shots, 
arrows, and mace are inaccessible to children. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that alcohol, illegal 
substances, and sexually explicit material are inaccessible, and not 
used on the premises, during offsite activities, or in facility vehicles 
any time a child is in care. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that an outdoor source of 
drinking water, [such as]including individually labeled water bottles, 
a pitcher of water and individual cups, or a working water fountain is 
available to each child when the outside temperature is 75 degrees or 
higher. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that areas accessible to 
children are free of heavy or unstable objects that children could pull 
down on themselves, [such as]including furniture, unsecured 
televisions, and standing ladders. 
 (17)  The provider shall ensure that hot water accessible to 
children does not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (18)  The provider shall ensure that highchairs that are used 
by children have T-shaped safety straps or safety devices that are used 
when a child is in the chair. 
 (19)  The provider shall ensure that infant walkers with 
wheels are inaccessible to children. 
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 (20)  The provider shall ensure that tobacco, e-cigarettes, 
e-juice, e-liquids, and similar products are inaccessible and, in 
compliance with the Utah Indoor Clean Air Act, not used: 
 (a)  in the facility or any other building when a child is in 
care; 
 (b)  in any vehicle that is being used to transport a child in 
care; 
 (c)  within 25 feet of any entrance to the facility or other 
building occupied by a child in care; or 
 (d)  in any outdoor area or within 25 feet of any outdoor 
area occupied by a child in care. 
 
R430-90-14.  Emergency Preparedness, Response, and Recovery. 
 (1)  The provider shall [have]develop and follow a written 
emergency preparedness, response, and recovery plan that: 
 (a)  includes procedures for evacuation, relocation, shelter 
in place, lockdown, communication with and reunification of 
families, and continuity of operations; 
 (b)  includes procedures for accommodations for infants 
and toddlers, children with disabilities, and children with chronic 
medical conditions; 
 (c)  includes instructions to follow in case of an allergy or 
serious reaction to food or any other trigger that may affect the child's 
health; 
 ([c]d)  is available for review by parents, staff, and the 
department during business hours; and 
 ([d]e)  is followed if an emergency happens, unless 
otherwise instructed by emergency personnel. 
 (2)  The provider shall post the facility's street address and 
emergency numbers, including at least fire, police, and poison 
control, near the telephone in the home or in an area clearly visible 
to anyone needing the information. 
 (3)  The provider shall keep first aid supplies in the facility, 
including at least antiseptic, bandages, and tweezers. 
 (4)  The provider shall conduct fire evacuation drills 
quarterly and make sure drills include a complete exit of each child, 
staff, and volunteers from the building. 
 (5)  The provider shall document each fire drill, including: 
 (a)  the date and time of the drill; 
 (b)  the number of children participating; 
 (c)  the name of the individual supervising the drill; 
 (d)  the total time to complete the evacuation; and 
 (e)  any problems encountered and remediation. 
 (6)  The provider shall conduct drills for disasters other 
than fires at least once every 12 months. 
 (7)  The provider shall document each disaster drill, 
including: 
 (a)  the type of disaster, [such as]including earthquake, 
flood, prolonged power or water outage, or tornado; 
 (b)  the date and time of the drill; 
 (c)  the number of children participating; 
 (d)  the name of the individual supervising the drill; and 
 (e)  any problems encountered and remediation. 
 (8)  The provider shall vary the days and times on which 
fire and other disaster drills are held. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep documentation of the previous 
12 months of fire and disaster drills on-site for review by the 
department. 
 (10)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  give parents a written report on the day of occurrence 
of each incident, accident, or injury involving their child; 

 (b)  ensure the report has the signatures of the caregivers 
involved, the provider, and the individual picking up the child; and 
 (c)  if school-age children sign themselves out of the 
facility, send a copy of the report to the parent on the day following 
the occurrence. 
 (11)  If a child is injured and the injury appears serious but 
not life-threatening, the provider shall contact the child's parent 
immediately. 
 (12)  If a life-threatening injury to a child, or an injury that 
poses a threat of the loss of vision, hearing, or a limb happens, the 
provider shall: 
 (a)  call emergency personnel immediately; 
 (b)  contact the parent after emergency personnel are called; 
and 
 (c)  if the parent cannot be reached, try to contact the child's 
emergency contact individual. 
 (13)  If a child is injured while in care and receives medical 
attention, or for a child fatality, the provider shall: 
 (a)  submit a completed accident report form to the 
department within the next business day of the incident; or 
 (b)  contact the department within the next business day and 
submit a completed accident report form within five business days of 
the incident. 
 (14)  The provider shall keep a six-week record of each 
incident, accident, and injury report on-site for review by the 
department. 
 (15)  If the provider must leave the children due to an 
emergency and a background checked covered individual who is at 
least 18 years old or older is not available to stay with the children, 
the provider may leave the children in the care of an emergency 
substitute who: 
 (a)  is at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  substitutes the caregiver for the minimum time possible 
and for less than one business day; and 
 (c)  signs a written background statement before being left 
alone with the children. 
 (16)  Before leaving for the emergency, the provider shall 
obtain a signed, written background statement from the emergency 
substitute stating that the emergency substitute: 
 (a)  has not been convicted of a felony; 
 (b)  has not been convicted of a crime against a person; 
 (c)  is not listed on the state or national sex offender 
registry; and 
 (d)  is not being investigated for abuse or neglect by any 
federal, state, or local government agency. 
 (17)  Within five working days after the occurrence, the 
provider shall submit emergency substitute's written background 
statements to the department for review. 
 
R430-90-15.  Health and Infection Control. 
 (1)  The provider shall keep the building, furnishings, 
equipment, and outdoor area clean and sanitary including: 
 (a)  walls and flooring clean and free of spills, dirt, and 
grime; 
 (b)  areas and equipment used for the storage, preparation, 
and service of food clean and sanitary; 
 (c)  surfaces free of rotting food or a build-up of food; 
 (d)  the building and grounds free of a build-up of litter, 
trash, and garbage; 
 (e)  frequently touched surfaces, including doorknobs and 
light switches, cleaned and sanitized; and 
 (f)  the facility free of animal feces. 
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 (2)  The provider shall take safe and effective measures to 
prevent and eliminate the presence of insects, rodents, and other 
pests. 
 (3)  The provider shall clean and sanitize any toys and 
materials used by children: 
 (a)  at least once a week or more often if needed; 
 (b)  after being put in a child's mouth and before another 
child plays with the toy; and 
 (c)  after being contaminated by a body fluid. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that fabric toys and items 
[such as]including stuffed animals, cloth dolls, pillow covers, and 
dress-up clothes are machine washable and if used, washed at least 
each week or as needed. 
 (5)  The provider shall clean and sanitize highchair trays 
before each use. 
 (6)  The provider shall clean and sanitize water play tables 
or tubs daily if used by the children. 
 (7)  The provider shall clean and sanitize bathroom surfaces 
including toilets, sinks, faucets, toilet and sink handles, and counters 
each day the facility is open for business. 
 (8)  The provider shall clean and sanitize potty chairs after 
each use. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep toilet paper in a dispenser that 
is accessible to children. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that staff and volunteers 
wash their hands thoroughly with soap and running water: 
 (a)  upon arrival; 
 (b)  before handling or preparing food or bottles; 
 (c)  before and after eating meals and snacks or feeding a 
child; 
 (d)  after using the toilet or helping a child use the toilet; 
 (e)  after contact with a body fluid; 
 (f)  when coming in from outdoors; and 
 (g)  after cleaning up or taking out garbage. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers teach 
children how to wash their hands thoroughly and oversee 
handwashing when possible. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that children wash their 
hands thoroughly with soap and running water: 
 (a)  upon arrival; 
 (b)  before and after eating meals and snacks; 
 (c)  after using the toilet; 
 (d)  after contact with a body fluid; 
 (e)  before using a water play table or tub; and 
 (f)  when coming in from outdoors. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that only single-use towels, 
an electric hand dryer, or individually labeled cloth towels are used 
to dry hands. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that if cloth towels are used, 
cloth towels are: 
 (a)  not shared; and 
 (b)  washed daily. 
 (15)  The provider shall store personal hygiene items, [such 
as]including toothbrushes, combs, and hair accessories separate, so 
they do not touch each other, and ensure they are not shared or they 
are sanitized between each use. 
 (16)  The provider shall ensure that pacifiers, bottles, and 
nondisposable drinking cups are: 
 (a)  labeled with each child's name or individually 
identified; and 
 (b)  not shared, or washed and sanitized before being used 
by another child. 

 (17)  The provider shall ensure that a child's clothing is 
promptly changed if the child has a toileting accident. 
 (18)  The provider shall ensure that children's clothing that 
is wet or soiled from a body fluid is: 
 (a)  washed and dried; or 
 (b)  placed in a leakproof container that is labeled with the 
child's name and returned to the parent. 
 (19)  The provider shall take precautions when cleaning 
floors, furniture, and other surfaces contaminated by blood, urine, 
feces, or vomit, and ensure that, except for diaper changes and 
toileting accidents, staff cleaning these bodily fluids: 
 (a)  wear waterproof gloves; 
 (b)  clean the surface using a detergent solution; 
 (c)  rinse the surface with clean water; 
 (d)  sanitize the surface; 
 (e)  throw away in a leakproof plastic bag the disposable 
materials, [such as]including paper towels, that were used to clean up 
the body fluid; 
 (f)  wash and sanitize any nondisposable materials used to 
clean up the body fluid, [such as]including cleaning cloths, mops, or 
reusable rubber gloves, before reusing them; and 
 (g)  wash their hands after cleaning up the body fluid. 
 (20)  If a child becomes ill while in care, the provider shall: 
 (a)  as soon as the illness is observed or suspected, contact 
the child's parent or, if the parent cannot be reached, an individual 
listed as the emergency contact; and 
 (b)  if the child is ill with an infectious disease, make the 
child comfortable in a safe, supervised area that is separated from the 
other children until the parent arrives. 
 (21)  The provider shall notify the parents of each child in 
care if any child, employee, or person in the home has an infectious 
disease or parasite, on the day the illness is discovered. 
 (22)  If any child or employee has an infectious disease, an 
unusual or serious illness, or a sudden onset of an illness, the provider 
shall notify the local health department on the day the illness is 
discovered. 
 (23)  To prevent contamination of food, the spread of 
foodborne illnesses, and other diseases, the provider shall ensure that 
individuals with an infectious disease or showing symptoms [such 
as]including diarrhea, fever, coughing, or vomiting do not prepare or 
serve foods. 
 
R430-90-16.  Food and Nutrition. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer a meal or snack to each child 
age two years old and older at least once every three hours. 
 (2)  If food for children's meals or snacks is supplied by the 
provider, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the meal service meets local health department food 
service rules; 
 (b)  the foods that are served meet the nutritional 
requirements of the USDA Child and Adult Care Food Program 
(CACFP) whether or not the provider participates in the CACFP; 
 (c)  the provider uses the CACFP meal pattern 
requirements, the standard department-approved menus, or menus 
approved by a registered dietitian, and that dietitian approval is noted 
and dated on the menus, and current within the past five years; 
 (d)  the current week's menu is posted for review by parents 
and the department; and 
 (e)  if not participating or in good standing with the CACFP, 
keep a six-week record of foods served at each meal and snack. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the individual who 
serves food to children: 
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 (a)  is aware of the children in their assigned group who 
have food allergies or sensitivities; and 
 (b)  ensures that the children are not served the food or 
drink they are allergic or sensitive to. 
 (4)  The provider may not place children's food on a bare 
table, and shall serve children's food on dishes, napkins, or sanitary 
highchair trays, except an individual finger food [such as]including a 
cracker, which may be placed directly in a child's hand. 
 (5)  If parents bring food and drink for their child's use, the 
provider shall ensure that the food is: 
 (a)  labeled with the child's name; 
 (b)  refrigerated if needed; and 
 (c)  consumed only by that child. 
 
R430-90-17.  Medications. 
 (1)  The provider shall make medications inaccessible to 
children in care. 
 (2)  The provider shall lock refrigerated medications or 
store them at least 36 inches above the floor and, if liquid, store them 
in a separate leakproof container. 
 (3)  If parents supply any over-the-counter or prescription 
medications, the provider shall ensure those medications:[ are:] 
 (a)  are labeled with the child's full name; 
 (b)  are stored[kept] in the original or pharmacy container; 
 (c)  have the original label; and 
 (d)  have child safety caps. 
 (4)  The provider shall have a written medication 
permission form completed and signed by the parent before 
administering any medication supplied by the parent for their child. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that the medication 
permission form includes at least: 
 (a)  the name of the child; 
 (b)  the name of the medication; 
 (c)  written instructions for administration; and 
 (d)  the parent signature and the date signed. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that instructions for 
administering the medication include at least: 
 (a)  the dosage; 
 (b)  how the medication will be given; 
 (c)  the times and dates to administer the medication; and 
 (d)  the disease or condition being treated. 
 (7)  If the provider supplies an over-the-counter medication 
for children's use, the provider shall ensure that the medication is not 
administered to any child without previous parental consent for each 
instance it is given. The provider shall ensure that the consent is: 
 (a)  written; or 
 (b)  verbal, if the date and time of the consent is 
documented and signed by the parent upon picking up their child. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that the staff administering 
the medication: 
 (a)  washes their hands; 
 (b)  check the medication label to confirm the child's name 
if the parent supplied the medication; 
 (c)  checks the medication label or the package to ensure 
that a child is not given a dosage larger than that recommended by 
the health care professional or manufacturer; and 
 (d)  administers the medication. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that immediately after 
administering a medication, the staff giving the medication records 
the following information: 
 (a)  the date, time, and dosage of the medication given; 

 (b)  any error in administering the medication or adverse 
reactions; and 
 (c)  their signature or initials. 
 (10)  The provider shall report to the parent a child's 
adverse reaction to a medication or error in administration of the 
medication immediately upon recognizing the reaction or error, or 
after notifying emergency personnel if the reaction is life-threatening. 
 (11)  The provider shall notify the parent before the time a 
medication needs to be given to a child if the provider chooses not to 
administer medication as instructed by the parent. 
 (12)  The provider shall keep a six-week record of 
medication permission and administration forms on-site for review 
by the department. 
 
R430-90-18.  Activities. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer daily activities that support 
each child's healthy physical, social, emotional, cognitive, and 
language development. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that daily activities include 
outdoor play as weather and air quality allow. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that physical development 
activities include light, moderate, and vigorous physical activity for 
a daily total of at least 15 minutes for every two hours children spend 
in the program. 
 (4)  For each child two years old and older, the provider 
shall post a daily schedule that includes: 
 (a)  activities that support children's healthy development; 
and 
 (b)  the times activities occur including at least meal, snack, 
nap or rest, and outdoor play times. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that toys, materials, and 
equipment needed to support children's healthy development are 
available to the children. 
 (6)  Except for occasional special events, the provider shall 
ensure that the children's primary screen time activity on media [such 
as]including television, cell phones, tablets, and computers is: 
 (a)  not allowed for children zero to 17 months old; 
 (b)  limited for children 18 months to four years old to one 
hour a day, or five hours a week with a maximum screen time of two 
hours per activity; and 
 (c)  planned to address the needs of children five to 12 years 
old. 
 (7)  If swimming activities are offered or if wading pools 
are used, the provider shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the parent gives permission before their child in care 
uses the pool; 
 (b)  caregivers stay at the pool supervising when a child is 
in the pool or has access to the pool, and when an accessible pool has 
water in it; 
 (c)  diapered children wear swim diapers when they are in 
the pool; 
 (d)  wading pools are emptied and sanitized after use by 
each group of children; 
 (e)  if the pool is over four feet deep, there is a lifeguard on 
duty who is certified by the Red Cross or other approved certification 
program any time children have access to the pool; and 
 (f)  lifeguards and pool personnel do not count toward the 
caregiver-to-child ratio. 
 (8)  If offsite activities are offered, the provider shall ensure 
that: 
 (a)  the parent gives written consent before each activity; 
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 (b)  the required caregiver-to-child ratio and supervision 
are maintained during the entire activity; 
 (c)  first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
bandages, and tweezers are available; 
 (d)  children's names are not used on nametags, t-shirts, or 
in other visible ways; and 
 (e)  there is a way for caregivers and children to wash their 
hands with soap and water, or with wet wipes and hand sanitizer if 
there is no source of running water. 
 (9)  The provider shall ensure that a caregiver with the 
children takes the [written ]emergency information and releases for 
each child in the group on each offsite activity, and that the 
information includes at least: 
 (a)  the child's name; 
 (b)  the parent's name and phone number; 
 (c)  the name and phone number of an individual to notify 
if an emergency happens and the parent cannot be contacted; 
 (d)  the names of people authorized by the parents to pick 
up the child; and 
 (e)  current emergency medical treatment and emergency 
medical transportation releases. 
 
R430-90-19.  Play Equipment. 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that children using play 
equipment use it safely and [in the manner ]as intended by the 
manufacturer. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that, when in use, stationary 
play equipment is not placed on a hard surface [such as]including 
concrete, asphalt, dirt, or the bare floor. 
 (3)  Except for trampolines, the provider shall ensure that 
stationary play equipment with a designated play surface that is 18 
inches high or higher: 
 (a)  has a surrounding three-foot use zone, free of  hard 
objects or surfaces, that extends from the outermost edge of the 
equipment; 
 (b)  has cushioning that covers the entire required use zone; 
and 
 (c)  is stable or securely anchored. 
 (4)  The department may consider a trampoline on the 
premises to be inaccessible to children in care if the trampoline: 
 (a)  is enclosed behind a locked fence or safety net that is 
at least three feet high; 
 (b)  has no jumping mat; or 
 (c)  is placed upside down. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that each accessible 
trampoline without a safety net enclosure has at least a six-foot use 
zone that is measured from the outermost edge of the trampoline 
frame, and that is free from any structure or object including play 
equipment, trees, and fences. 
 (6)  The provider shall ensure that each accessible 
trampoline with a properly installed, used as specified by the 
manufacturer, and in good repair safety net enclosure has at least a 
three-foot use zone that is measured from the outermost edge of the 
trampoline frame, and that is free from any structure or object 
including play equipment, trees, and fences. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that each accessible 
trampoline with or without a safety net enclosure is placed over: 
 (a)  grass; 
 (b)  a six-inch deep cushioning; or 
 (c)  other commercial cushioning. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that cushioning for each 
accessible trampoline covers the entire required use zone. 

 (9)  The provider shall ensure that each accessible 
trampoline has: 
 (a)  no ladders or other objects within the use zone a child 
could use to climb on the trampoline; and 
 (b)  shock absorbing pads that completely cover the 
trampoline springs, hooks, and frame. 
 (10)  The provider shall receive written permission from a 
child's parent or legal guardian before that child uses the trampoline. 
 (11)  The provider shall ensure that if a child uses an 
accessible trampoline: 
 (a)  a caregiver is at the trampoline supervising; 
 (b)  only one person at a time uses the trampoline; 
 (c)  no child in care is allowed to do somersaults or flips on 
the trampoline; 
 (d)  no one is allowed to be under the trampoline while the 
trampoline is in use; and 
 (e)  only school-age children in care are allowed to use a 
trampoline. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that there are no entrapment 
hazards on or within the use zone of any piece of stationary play 
equipment. 
 (13)  The provider shall ensure that there are no 
strangulation hazards on or within the use zone of any piece of 
stationary play equipment. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that there are no crush, 
shearing, or sharp edge hazards on or within the use zone of any piece 
of stationary play equipment. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that there are no tripping 
hazards [such as]including concrete footings, tree stumps, tree roots, 
or rocks within the use zone of any piece of stationary play 
equipment. 
 
R430-90-20.  Transportation. 
[ If transportation services are offered:] 
 (1)  For each child that the licensee transports[being 
transported], the provider shall [have]obtain a transportation 
permission form: 
 (a)  signed by the parent; and 
 (b)  on-site for review by the department. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that each vehicle used for 
transporting children: 
 (a)  is enclosed with a roof or top; 
 (b)  is equipped with safety restraints; 
 (c)  has a current vehicle registration; 
 (d)  is maintained in a safe and clean condition; and 
 (e)  contains first aid supplies, including at least antiseptic, 
bandages, and tweezers. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that the safety restraints in 
each vehicle that transports children are: 
 (a)  appropriate for the age and size of each child who is 
transported, as required by Utah law; 
 (b)  properly installed; and 
 (c)  in safe condition and working order. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that the driver of each vehicle 
who is transporting children: 
 (a)  is at least 18 years old; 
 (b)  has and carries with them a current, valid driver's 
license for the type of vehicle being driven; 
 (c)  has with them the [written ]emergency contact 
information for each child being transported; 
 (d)  ensures that each child being transported is in an 
individual safety restraint that is used according to Utah law; 
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 (e)  ensures that the inside vehicle temperature is between 
60-85 degrees Fahrenheit; 
 (f)  never leaves a child in the vehicle unattended by an 
adult; 
 (g)  ensures that children stay seated while the vehicle is 
moving; 
 (h)  never leaves the keys in the ignition when not in the 
driver's seat; and 
 (i)  ensures that the vehicle is locked during transport. 
 (5)  If the provider walks or uses public transportation to 
transport children to or from the facility, the provider shall ensure 
that: 
 (a)  each child being transported has a completed 
transportation permission form signed by their parent; 
 (b)  a caregiver goes with the children and actively 
supervises the children; 
 (c)  the caregiver-to-child ratio is maintained; and 
 (d)  a caregiver with the children has [written ]emergency 
contact information and releases for the children being transported. 
 (6)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  have transport liability insurance; or 
 (b)  inform parents in writing that the provider does not 
have transport liability insurance. 
 
R430-90-21.  Animals. 
 (1)  The provider shall inform parents of the kinds of 
animals allowed at the facility. 
 (2)  The provider shall ensure that there is no animal on the 
premises that: 
 (a)  is naturally aggressive; 
 (b)  has a history of dangerous, attacking, or aggressive 
behavior; or 
 (c)  has a history of biting even one individual. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that animals at the facility are 
clean and free of obvious disease or health problems that could 
adversely affect children. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that there is no animal or 
animal equipment in food preparation or eating areas. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that children younger than 
five years old do not assist with the cleaning of animals or animal 
cages, pens, or equipment. 
 (6)  If school-age children help in the cleaning of animals 
or animal equipment, the provider shall ensure that the children wash 
their hands immediately after cleaning the animal or equipment. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that children and staff wash 
their hands immediately after playing with or touching reptiles and 
amphibians. 
 (8)  The provider shall ensure that dogs, cats, and ferrets 
that are housed at the facility have current rabies vaccinations. 
 (9)  The provider shall keep current animal vaccination 
records on-site for review by the department. 
 
R430-90-22.  Rest and Sleep. 
 (1)  The provider shall offer children in care a daily 
opportunity for rest or sleep in an environment with subdued lighting, 
a low noise level, and freedom from distractions. 
 (2)  The provider may not schedule nap or rest times for 
more than two hours a day. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that each crib: 
 (a)  has a tight-fitting mattress; 
 (b)  has slats spaced no more than 2-3/8 inches apart; 

 (c)  has at least 20 inches from the top of the mattress to the 
top of the crib rail, or at least 12 inches from the top of the mattress 
to the top of the crib rail if the child using the crib cannot sit up 
without assistance; 
 (d)  does not have strings, cords, ropes, or other 
entanglement hazards on the crib or within reach of the child; and 
 (e)  has documentation from the manufacturer or retailer 
stating that the crib was built after June 28, 2011, or that the crib is 
certified if the crib was manufactured before that date. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure that sleeping equipment does 
not block exits. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that sleeping equipment and 
bedding items are: 
 (a)  clearly assigned to one child; and 
 (b)  laundered as needed, but at least once a week, and 
before use by another child. 
 (6)  The provider shall clean and sanitize sleeping 
equipment that is not clearly assigned to and used by an individual 
child before each use. 
 
R430-90-23.  Diapering. 
[ If the provider accepts children who wear diapers:] 
 (1)  This section applies only to a provider that accepts 
children who wear diapers. 
 ([1]2)  The provider shall ensure that each child's diaper is: 
 (a)  checked at least once every two hours; 
 (b)  promptly changed if wet or soiled; and 
 (c)  checked as soon as a sleeping child awakens. 
 ([2]3)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers do not 
change children's diapers directly on the floor, in a food preparation 
or eating area, or on any surface used for another purpose. 
 ([3]4)  The provider shall ensure that the diapering surface 
is smooth, waterproof, and in good repair. 
 ([4]5)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers clean and 
sanitize the diapering surface after each diaper change, or use a 
disposable, waterproof diapering surface that is thrown away after 
each diaper change. 
 ([5]6)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers who 
change diapers wash their hands after each diaper change. 
 ([6]7)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers place wet 
and soiled disposable diapers: 
 (a)  in a container that has a disposable plastic lining and a 
tight-fitting lid; 
 (b)  directly in an outdoor garbage container that has a tight-
fitting lid; or 
 (c)  in a container that is inaccessible to children. 
 ([7]8)  Each day, the provider shall clean and sanitize 
indoor containers where wet and soiled diapers are placed. 
 ([8]9)  If cloth diapers are used, the provider shall: 
 (a)  not rinse cloth diapers at the facility; and 
 (b)  place cloth diapers directly into a leakproof container 
that is inaccessible to any child and labeled with the child's name, or 
place the cloth diapers in a leakproof diapering service container. 
 
R430-90-24.  Infant and Toddler Care. 
[ If the provider cares for infants or toddlers:] 
 (1)  The provider shall ensure that each awake infant and 
toddler receives positive physical and verbal interaction with a 
caregiver at least once every 20 minutes. 
 (2)  To stimulate their healthy development, the provider 
shall ensure that infants receive daily interactions with adults[;], 
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including on the ground interaction and closely supervised time spent 
in the prone position for infants less than six months old. 
 (3)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers respond 
promptly to infants and toddlers who are in emotional distress due to 
conditions [such as]including hunger, fatigue, a wet or soiled diaper, 
fear, teething, or illness. 
 (4)  For their healthy development, the provider shall make 
safe toys available and accessible for each infant and toddler to 
engage in play. 
 (5)  The provider shall ensure that mobile infants and 
toddlers have freedom of movement in a safe area. 
 (6)  The provider may not confine an awake infant or 
toddler in any piece of equipment, [such as]including a swing, high 
chair, crib, playpen, or other similar piece of equipment for more than 
30 minutes. 
 (7)  The provider shall ensure that only one infant or toddler 
occupies any one piece of equipment at a time, unless the equipment 
has individual seats for more than one child. 
 (8)  The provider shall make objects made of styrofoam 
inaccessible to infants and toddlers. 
 (9)  The provider shall allow each infant and toddler to eat 
and sleep on their own schedule. 
 (10)  The provider shall ensure that baby food, formula, or 
breast milk that is brought from home for an individual 
[child's]infants and toddlers use is: 
 (a)  labeled with the child's name; 
 (b)  labeled with the date and time of preparation or opening 
of the container, [such as]including a jar of baby food; 
 (c)  [kept ]refrigerated if needed; and 
 (d)  discarded within 24 hours of preparation or opening, 
except for unprepared powdered formula or dry food. 
 [(11)  If an infant cannot sit upright and hold their own 
bottle, the provider shall ensure that a caregiver holds the infant 
during bottle feeding and that bottles are not propped.](11)  If an 
infant cannot sit upright and hold their own bottle, the provider shall 
ensure that a caregiver is within arm's reach of each infant during 
bottle feeding and that bottles are not propped. 
 (12)  The provider shall ensure that the caregiver swirls and 
tests warm bottles for temperature before feeding to children. 
 (13)  The provider shall discard formula and milk, 
including breast milk, after feeding or within two hours of starting a 
feeding. 
 (14)  The provider shall ensure that caregivers cut solid 
foods for infants into pieces no larger than 1/4 inch in diameter, and 
cut solid foods for toddlers into pieces no larger than 1/2 inch in 
diameter. 
 (15)  The provider shall ensure that infants sleep in 
equipment designed for sleep [such as]including a crib, bassinet, 
porta-crib or playpen, and that infants are not placed to sleep on a 
mat, cot, pillow, bouncer, swing, car seat, or other similar piece of 
equipment. 
 (16)  The provider shall place infants on their backs for 
sleeping unless there is documentation from a health care provider 
requiring a different sleep position. 
 (17)  The provider may not place soft toys, loose blankets, 
or other objects in sleep equipment while in use by sleeping infants. 
 
KEY:  child care facilities, licensed family child care 
Date of Last Change:  2023[June 1, 2022] 
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2-402 
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1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing 
Room number: 1st Floor 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Bldg 
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Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R432-150.  Nursing Care Facility 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this amendment is to modify and replace 
outdated language with Rulewriting Manual for Utah 
standards, update citations in response to S.B.38 in the 
2023 General Session for statute recodification, and re-
title rules to the new Division of Health Care Facility, 
Licensing titles that are consistent with Rulewriting 
standards. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The revisions include more specific language consistent 
with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Additionally, this amendment updates titles and citations 
due to the recodification of the Department of Health and 
Human Services' (Department) statute. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 141 

A)  State budget: 
This change will not impact the current process for 
licensure and re-licensure surveys. 
 
No change to the state budget is expected because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This proposed rule amendment should not impact local 
governments' revenues or expenditures because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards. 
 
Nursing Care Facilities are regulated by the Department 
and not local governments.  There will be no change in 
local business licensing or any other item(s) with which 
local government is involved. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment should not impact costs for small 
businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Rulewriting Manual 
for Utah standards. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule amendment should not impact costs for non-
small businesses because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Rulewriting Manual 
for Utah standards. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
affected persons because this amendment modifies and 
replaces outdated language with the Rulewriting Manual 
for Utah standards. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
compliance costs for affected persons because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
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6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-2-202 
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8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 
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9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/07/2023 

 
R432.  Health and Human Services, [Family Health and 
Preparedness,]Health Care Facility Licensing. 
R432-150.  Nursing Care Facility. 
R432-150-1.  [Legal ]Authority. 
 [This rule is adopted pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 
21]Section 26B-2-202 authorizes this rule. 
 
R432-150-2.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of [R432-150]this rule is to establish health 
and safety standards to provide for the physical and psycho[-]social 
well -being of individuals receiving services in nursing care facilities. 
 
R432-150-3.  Construction Standard. 
 The licensee shall ensure [Nursing Care Facilities shall 
be]the facility is constructed and maintained in accordance with Rule 
R432-5, [Nursing Facility Construction]Nursing Care and Pediatric 
Respite Care Facility Construction. 
 
R432-150-4.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions found in Section R432-1-3 [apply to 
this rule]apply to this rule. 
[ (2)  The following definitions apply to nursing care 
facilities.] 
 (2)  "Adult Day Care" means nonresidential care and 
supervision for at least four but less than 24 hours a day, that meets 
the needs of functionally impaired adults through a comprehensive 
program that provides a variety of health, social, recreational, and 
related support services in a protective setting. 
 ([a]3)  ["Skilled Nursing Care" means a level of care that 
provides 24 hour inpatient care to residents who need licensed 
nursing supervision.  The complexity of the prescribed services must 
be performed by or under the close supervision of licensed health care 
personnel.]"Certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)" 
refers to certification issued after completion of an in- person course, 
to include skills testing and evaluation on-site with a licensed 
instructor. 
 ([b]4)  ["Intermediate Care" means a level of care that 
provides 24-hour inpatient care to residents who need licensed 
supervision and supportive care, but do not require continuous 
nursing care.]"Chemical Restraint" means any medication 
administered to a resident to control or restrict the resident's physical, 
emotional, behavioral functioning for the convenience of staff, 
punishment, discipline, or as a substitute for direct resident care. 
 ([c]5)  ["Medically-related Social Services" means 
assistance provided by the facility licensed social worker to maintain 
or improve each resident's ability to control everyday physical, 
mental and psycho-social needs.]"Dining Assistant" means an 
individual unrelated to a resident who meets the training 
requirements outlined in this rule to assist nursing care residents with 
eating and drinking. 

 ([d]6)  ["Nurse's Aide" means any individual, other than an 
individual licensed in another category, providing nursing or nurse 
related services to residents in a facility.  This definition does not 
include an individual who volunteers to provide such services 
without pay.]"Governing Body" means the board of trustees, owner, 
and individuals designated by the owner with the legal authority and 
ultimate responsibility for the management, control, conduct, and 
functioning of the health care facility or agency. 
 ([e]7)  ["Unnecessary Drug" means any drug when used in 
excessive dose, for excessive duration, without adequate monitoring, 
without adequate indications for its use, in the presence of adverse 
consequences which indicate the dose should be reduced or 
discontinued, or any combinations of these reasons.]"Intermediate 
Care" means a level of care that provides 24-hour inpatient care to 
residents who need licensed supervision and supportive care, but do 
not require continuous nursing care. 
[ (f)  "Chemical Restraint" means any medication 
administered to a resident to control or restrict the resident's physical, 
emotional, or behavioral functioning for the convenience of staff, for 
punishment or discipline, or as a substitute for direct resident care.] 
[ (g)  "Physical Restraint" means any physical method or 
physical or mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or 
adjacent to the resident's body that the resident cannot remove easily 
which restricts the resident's freedom of movement or normal access 
to his own body.] 
 ([h]8)  ["Significant Change" means a major change in a 
resident's status that impacts on more than one area of the resident's 
health status.]"Medically-Related Social Services" means assistance 
provided by the licensed social worker to maintain or improve each 
resident's ability to control everyday physical, mental, and 
psychosocial needs. 
 ([i]9)  ["Therapeutic Leave" means leave pertaining to 
medical treatment planned and implemented to attain an objective 
that is specified in the individual plan of care.]"Nurse Aide" means 
any individual, other than an individual licensed in another category, 
providing nursing or nurse related services to residents in a facility.  
This definition does not include an individual who volunteers to 
provide such services without pay. 
 ([j]10)  ["Licensed Practitioner" means a health care 
practitioner whose license allows assessment, treatment, or 
prescribing practices within the scope of the license and established 
protocols.]"Nursing Staff" means nurse aides that are in the process 
of becoming certified, certified nurse aides, and those individuals that 
are licensed, including licensed practical nurses and registered 
nurses, to provide nursing care in Utah. 
 ([k]11)  ["Governing Body" means the board of trustees, 
owner, person or persons designated by the owner with the legal 
authority and ultimate responsibility for the management, control, 
conduct and functioning of the health care facility or 
agency.]"Palatable" means food that has a pleasant and agreeable 
taste and is acceptable to eat. 
 ([l]12)  ["Nursing Staff" means nurses aides that are in the 
process of becoming certified, certified nurses aides, and those 
individuals that are licensed (e.g. licensed practical nurses and 
registered nurses) to provide nursing care in the State of 
Utah.]"Physical Restraint" means any physical method, physical or 
mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or adjacent to the 
resident's body that the resident cannot easily remove and restricts 
the resident's freedom of movement or normal access to their body. 
[ (m)  "Licensed Practical Nurse" as defined in the Nurse 
Practice Act, Title 58, Chapter 31.] 
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 (13)  "Pre-Admission Screening Resident Review" is a 
preliminary assessment completed for each individual before 
admission to a Medicaid-certified Nursing Facility to determine 
whether an individual might have a mental illness or intellectual 
disability. 
 (14)  "Respite" means to provide intermittent, time-limited 
care to give primary caretakers relief from the demands of caring for 
a person. 
 ([n]15)  ["Registered Nurse" as defined in the Nurse 
Practice Act, Title 58, Chapter 31.]"Significant Change" means a 
major change in a resident's status that impacts more than one area of 
the resident's health status. 
 ([o]16)  ["Palatable" means food that has a pleasant and 
agreeable taste and is acceptable to eat.]"Skilled Level of Nursing 
Care" means a level of care that provides 24-hour inpatient care to 
residents who need licensed nursing supervision. Licensed health 
care personnel shall closely supervise or perform the prescribed 
services. 
 ([p]17)  ["Dining Assistant" means an individual unrelated 
to a resident or patient who meets the training requirements defined 
in this rule to assist nursing care residents with eating and 
drinking.]"Therapeutic Leave" means leave pertaining to planned 
medical treatment that is implemented to meet an objective that is 
specified in the individual plan of care. 
 ([q]18)  [Certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation 
(CPR) refers to certification issued after completion of a course that 
is consistent with the most current version of the American Heart 
Association Guidelines for Health Care Provider CPR.]"Unnecessary 
Drug" means any drug used: 
 (a)  excessive in dose; 
 (b)  for excessive duration; 
 (c)  without monitoring; 
 (d)  without indications for its use; 
 (e)  in the presence of adverse consequences that indicate 
the dose should be reduced or discontinued; or 
 (f)  for any combination of these reasons. 
 
R432-150-5.  Scope of Services. 
[ (1)  An intermediate level of care facility must provide 24-
hour licensed nursing services. 
 (a)  The facility shall ensure that nursing staff are present 
on the premises at all times to meet the needs of residents. 
 (b)  The facility shall provide at least one registered nurse 
either by direct employ or by contract to provide direction to nursing 
services. 
 (c)  The facility may employ a licensed practical nurse to 
act as the health services supervisor in lieu of a director of nursing 
provided that a registered nurse consultant meets regularly with the 
health services supervisor. 
 (d)  The facility shall provide at least the following: 
 (i)  medical supervision; 
 (ii)  dietary services; 
 (iii)  social services; and 
 (iv)  recreational therapy. 
 (e)  The following services shall be provided as required in 
the resident care plan: 
 (i)  physical therapy; 
 (ii)  occupational therapy; 
 (iii)  speech therapy; 
 (iv)  respiratory therapy; and 
 (v)  other therapies.] 

 (1)  For an immediate care facility, the licensee:  
 (a)  shall provide 24-hour licensed nursing services; 
 (b)  shall ensure nursing staff are present on the premises 
24 hours a day to meet the needs of residents; 
 (c)  shall provide at least one registered nurse either by 
direct employ or by contract to provide direction to nursing services; 
 (d)  may employ a licensed practical nurse to act as the 
health services supervisor instead of a director of nursing if a 
registered nurse consultant meets regularly with the health services 
supervisor; and 
 (e)  shall provide at least the following: 
 (i)  medical supervision; 
 (ii)  dietary services; 
 (iii)  social services; and 
 (iv)  recreational therapy. 
 (2)  The licensee shall provide the following services as 
required in the resident care plan: 
 (a)  physical therapy; 
 (b)  occupational therapy; 
 (c)  speech therapy; 
 (d)  respiratory therapy; and 
 (e)  other therapies as ordered by the licensed practitioner. 
[ (2)  A skilled level of care facility must provide 24-hour 
licensed nursing services. 
 (a)  The facility shall ensure that nursing staff are present 
on the premises at all times to meet the needs of residents. 
 A licensed nurse shall serve as charge nurse on each shift. 
 (b)  The facility shall employ a registered nurse for at least 
eight consecutive hours a day, seven days a week. 
 (c)  The facility shall designate a registered nurse to serve 
as the director of nursing on a full-time basis.  A person may not 
concurrently serve as the director of nursing and as a charge nurse. 
 (d)  A skilled level of care facility shall provide services to 
residents that preserve current capabilities and prevent further 
deterioration including the following: 
 (i)  medical supervision; 
 (ii)  dietary services; 
 (iii)  physical therapy; 
 (iv)  social services; 
 (v)  recreation therapy; 
 (vi)  dental services; and 
 (vii)  pharmacy services; 
 (e)  The facility shall provide the following services as 
required by the resident care plan: 
 (i)  respiratory therapy, 
 (ii)  occupational therapy, and 
 (iii)  speech therapy.] 
 (3)  For a skilled level of care nursing facility, the licensee 
shall: 
 (a)  provide 24-hour licensed nursing services; 
 (b)  ensure nursing staff are present on the premises 24 
hours a day to meet the needs of residents; 
 (c)  ensure a licensed charge nurse is present on each shift; 
 (d)  employ a registered nurse for at least eight consecutive 
hours a day, seven days a week; 
 (e)  designate a registered nurse to serve as the director of 
nursing on a full-time basis; 
 (f)  not permit a person to concurrently serve as the director 
of nursing and as a charge nurse; and 
 (g)  provide services to the residents that preserve current 
capabilities and prevent further deterioration including the following: 
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 (i)  medical supervision; 
 (ii)  dietary services; 
 (iii)  physical therapy; 
 (iv)  social services; 
 (v)  recreation therapy; 
 (vi)  dental services; and 
 (vii)  pharmacy services. 
 (4)  The licensee shall provide the following services as 
required by the resident care plan: 
 (a)  respiratory; 
 (b)  occupational therapy; and 
 (c)  speech therapy. 
 ([3]5)(a)  The licensee shall ensure any [R]respite services 
[may be provided in nursing care facilities]comply with this 
subsection. 
[ (a)  The purpose of respite is to provide intermittent, time-
limited care to give primary caretakers relief from the demands of 
caring for a person.] 
 (b)  The licensee may provide respite services [Respite 
services may be provided ]at an hourly rate or daily rate, but 
[shall]may not exceed 14[-] days for any single respite stay.  A respite 
stay [which]that exceeds 14 days is considered a nursing facility 
admission and is subject to the requirements of this rule applicable to 
non-respite residents. 
 (c)  The [facility ]licensee shall coordinate the delivery of 
respite services with the recipient[ of services], the case manager, if 
[one exists]applicable, and the family member, or primary caretaker. 
 (d)  [The facility shall document the person's response to 
the respite placement and coordinate with all provider agencies to 
ensure an uninterrupted service delivery program.]The licensee shall 
document and coordinate with each provider agency to ensure 
uninterrupted service delivery. 
 ([e]6)  The licensee shall[The facility must] complete[ the 
following]: 
 ([i]a)  a Level 1 Pre-admission Screening upon the persons 
admission for respite services;[ and] 
 (b)  a record for each person receiving respite services; 
 ([ii]c)  a service agreement to serve as the plan of care, 
[which shall]that identif[y]ies the prescribed medications, physician 
treatment orders, need for assistance with activities of daily living, 
and diet orders[.]; and 
 (d)  written respite care policies and procedures that are 
available to staff. 
 ([f]7)  [The facility must have written respite care policies 
and procedures that are available to staff.  R]The licensee shall ensure 
respite care policies and procedures [must ]address the following: 
 ([i]a)  medication administration; 
 ([ii]b)  notification of a responsible party in the case of an 
emergency; 
 ([iii]c)  service agreement and admission criteria; 
 ([iv]d)  behavior management interventions; 
 ([v]e)  philosophy of respite services; 
 ([vi]f)  post-service summary; 
 ([vii]g)  training and in-service requirement for employees; 
and 
 ([viii]h)  handling personal funds. 
 ([g]8)  [Persons]The licensee shall ensure the individual 
receiving respite services [must ]receives a copy of the [R]resident 
[R]rights documents upon admission. 
 ([h]9)  [The facility must maintain a record for each person 
receiving respite services.  The ]The licensee shall ensure respite 
records [shall ]contain the following: 

 ([i]a)  the service agreement; 
 ([ii]b)  resident demographic information; 
 ([iii]c)  nursing notes; 
 ([iv]d)  physician treatment orders; 
 ([v]e)  daily staff notes; 
 ([vi]f)  accident and injury reports; 
 ([vii]g)  a post -service summary; and 
 ([viii]h)  an advanced directive, if available. 
 ([i]10)  The licensee shall ensure [R]retention and storage 
of respite records [shall ]compl[y]ies with Subsection R432-150-
25(3). 
 ([j]11)  The licensee shall ensure [C]confidentiality and 
release of information [shall ]compl[y]ies with Subsection R432-
150-25(4). 
 ([4]12)  Hospice care may only be arranged and provided 
by a licensed hospice agency in accordance with Rule R432-750.[  
The facility shall be licensed as a hospice if it provides hospice care.] 
 ([5]13)  A nursing care facility may provide terminal care. 
 
R432-150-6.  Adult Day Care Services. 
 (1)  [Nursing Care Facilities may offer adult day care and 
are not required to obtain a license from Utah Department of Human 
Services.  If a facility provides adult day care, it shall submit policies 
and procedures for Department approval.]A licensed nursing care 
facility may provide adult day care without an additional license from 
the department. 
 (2)  The licensee shall submit policies and procedures for 
adult day care to the department for approval. 
[ (2)  In this section: 
 (a)  "Adult Day Care" means nonresidential care and 
supervision for at least four but less than 24 hours per day, that meets 
the needs of functionally impaired adults through a comprehensive 
program that provides a variety of health, social, recreational, and 
related support services in a protective setting. 
 (b)  "Consumer" means a functionally impaired adult 
admitted to or being evaluated for admission in a facility offering 
adult day care.] 
 (3)  The governing [board]body shall designate a qualified 
[D]director to be responsible for the day-to-day program operation. 
 (4)  The [D]director shall maintain written records on-site 
for each [consumer]client and staff person, [which]that [shall 
]includes the following: 
 (a)  demographic information; 
 (b)  an emergency contact with name, address, and 
telephone number; 
 (c)  [consumer]client health records, including the 
following: 
 (i)  record of medication including dosage and 
administration; 
 (ii)  a current health assessment, signed by a licensed 
practitioner; and 
 (iii)  level of care assessment[.]; 
 (d)  signed [consumer]client agreement and service plan[.]; 
and 
 (e)  employment file for each staff person [which]that 
includes: 
 (i)  health history; 
 (ii)  background clearance consent and release form; 
 (iii)  orientation completion; and 
 (iv)  in-service requirements. 
 (5)  The [facility]licensee shall have a written eligibility, 
admission, and discharge policy that includes the following: 
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 (a)  intake process; 
 (b)  notification of responsible party; 
 (c)  reasons for admission refusal, including the 
[D]director's written, signed statement; 
 (d)  resident rights notification; and 
 (e)  reason for discharge or dismissal. 
 (6)  [Before a facility admits a consumer, it must first 
assess, in writing, the consumer's current health and medical history, 
immunizations, legal status, and social psychological factors to 
determine whether the consumer may be placed in the 
program.]Before the licensee admits a client to the facility, the 
licensee shall ensure the following are addressed in writing to 
determine client eligibility for the program: 
 (a)  current health status; 
 (b)  medical history; 
 (c)  immunizations; 
 (d)  legal status; and 
 (e)  psychological factors. 
 (7)  The licensee shall ensure that [T]the [D]director or 
designee, the responsible party, and the [consumer]client if 
competent [shall ]develops a written, signed [consumer]client 
agreement[.  The agreement shall] that includes: 
 (a)  rules of the program; 
 (b)  services to be provided and cost of service, including 
refund policy; and 
 (c)  arrangements regarding the following:[ absenteeism, 
visits, vacations, mail, gifts and telephone calls.] 
 (i)  absenteeism; 
 (ii)  visits; 
 (iii)  vacations; 
 (iv)  mail; 
 (v)  gifts; and 
 (vi)  telephone calls. 
 (8)  [Within three days of admission to the program, the 
Director or designee, shall develop an individual consumer service 
plan that the facility shall implement for the consumer.  The service 
plan shall include the specification of daily activities and services. 
The Director or designees shall reevaluate, and modify if necessary, 
the consumer's service plan at least every six months.]The licensee 
shall ensure the following: 
 (a)  the director or designee develops an individual client 
service plan that is implemented for the client within three days of 
admission to the program; 
 (b)  the director or designee ensures the service plan 
includes the specification of daily activities and services; and 
 (c)  the director or designees shall reevaluate, and change 
if necessary, the client's service plan at least every six months. 
 (9)  The [facility]licensee shall maintain the following 
incident report documentation that outlines the actions taken, 
including actions taken to avoid future incident or injury following 
any:[ make written incident and injury reports to document consumer 
death, injuries, elopement, fights or physical confrontations, 
situations which require the use of passive physical restraint, 
suspected abuse or neglect, and other situations or circumstances 
affecting the health, safety or well-being of a consumer while in care.  
The facility shall document the actions taken, including actions taken 
to avoid future incident or injury, and keep the reports on file.  The 
Director shall notify and review the incident or injury report with the 
responsible party no later than when the consumer is picked up at the 
end of the day.] 
 (a)  client death; 
 (b)  injuries; 

 (c)  elopement; 
 (d)  fights or physical confrontations; 
 (e)  situations that require the use of passive physical 
restraints; 
 (f)  suspected abuse or neglect; and 
 (g)  other situations or circumstances affecting the health, 
safety, or well-being of a client while in care. 
 (10)  The director shall notify and review the incident 
report with the responsible party no later than when the client is 
picked up at the end of the day. 
 (1[0]1)  The [facility]licensee shall post and implement a 
daily activity schedule. 
 (1[1]2)  The licensee shall:[Consumers shall receive direct 
supervision at all times and be encouraged to participate in activities.] 
 (a)  ensure clients are directly supervised at all times and 
are encouraged to participate in activities; 
 ([12]b)  [There shall be a minimum of]provide at least 50 
square feet of indoor floor space, excluding hallways, office, storage, 
kitchens, and bathrooms, per [consumer]client designated for adult 
day care during program operational hours[.]; 
 ([13]c)  [All]maintain any indoor and outdoor areas [shall 
be maintained ]in a clean, secure, and safe condition[.]; 
 ([14]d)  [There shall be]provide at least one bathroom 
designated for [consumers]client use during business hours[.];[  For 
facilities serving more than 10 consumers, there shall be separate 
male and female bathrooms designated for consumer use.] 
 (e)  provide separate male and female bathrooms designed 
for client use if serving more than ten clients; 
[ (15)  Staff supervision shall be provided continually when 
consumers are present.] 
 (f)  ensure staff supervision is provided continually when 
clients are present; 
 ([a]g)  [W]ensure one staff member provides continuous, 
direct supervision when eight or fewer [consumers]clients are 
present[,];[ one staff member shall provide continuous, direct 
supervision.] 
 ([b]h)  [For each eight additional consumers, or fraction 
thereof, the facility shall ]provide [an additional staff 
member]continuous, direct supervision at a ratio of one staff to every 
eight clients; and[ to provide continuous, direct supervision.  For 
example, ten consumers require two staff members.] 
 ([c]i)  [I]if one-half or more of the [consumers]clients 
[is]are diagnosed by a physician's assessment with Alzheimer's or 
other dementia, the ratio [shall be]is one staff for [each]every six 
[consumers]clients, or fraction thereof. 
 
R432-150-7.  Governing Body. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall have a governing 
body[,] or designated persons functioning as a governing body. 
 ([1]2)  The licensee shall ensure that [T]the governing body 
[must ]establishes and implements policies regarding the 
management and operation of the facility. 
 ([2]3)  The governing body shall institute bylaws, policies, 
and procedures relative to the general operation of [all]any 
[facility]licensee services including the health care of the residents 
and the protection of resident rights. 
 ([3]4)  The governing body [must]shall appoint the 
administrator in writing. 
 
R432-150-8.  Administrator. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure that [T]the administrator[ 
must comply with the following requirements.]: 
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 (a)  [The administrator must be licensed]holds a current 
license as a health facility administrator by the Utah Department of 
Commerce pursuant to Title 58, Chapter 15, Health Facility 
Administrator Act[.]; 
 (b)  [The administrator's]posts the license [shall be posted 
]in a place readily visible to the public[.]; 
 (c)  [The administrator may supervise no more]does not 
supervise more than one nursing care facility[.]; 
 (d)  [The administrator shall have sufficient]has enough 
freedom from other responsibilities to permit attention to the 
management and administration of the facility[.]; 
 (e)  [The administrator shall ]designates, in writing, the 
name and title of the person who has the authority and freedom to act 
in the best interests of resident safety and well-being [who shall]to 
act as administrator in any temporary absence of the administrator[.]; 
and[  This person shall have the authority and freedom to act in the 
best interests of resident safety and well-being.  It is not the intent of 
this paragraph to permit an unlicensed de facto administrator to 
supplant or replace the designated, licensed administrator.] 
 (f)  is not superseded by an unlicensed administrator 
designee. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the administrator's 
responsibilities [must be]are defined in a written job description on 
file in the facility[.  The job description] that [shall ]includes [at least 
]the following responsibilities: 
 (a)  the completion, submission, and filing of [complete, 
submit, and file all]any required reports, including a monthly census 
report to the Division of [Medicaid and Health Financing]Integrated 
Healthcare as required by Section R414-401-4, by the end of the 
succeeding month[;] to avoid department issued sanctions, including 
civil money penalties, in accordance with Section R432-3-7, for 
failure to report the required census information; 
[ (i)  The Department may issue sanctions, including civil 
money penalties, in accordance with R432-3-7, for failure to report 
the required census information.] 
 (b)  to act as a liaison between the licensee, medical and 
nursing staffs, and other supervisory staff of the facility; 
 (c)  to respond to recommendations made by the quality 
assurance committee; 
 (d)  to implement policies and procedures governing the 
operation of [all]any functions of the facility;[ and] 
 (e)  to review [all]any incident, [and ]accident report,[s] and 
document the action taken or reason for no action[.]; 
 ([3]f)  [The administrator shall ]to ensure that facility 
policies and procedures reflect current facility practice, and are 
revised and updated as needed[.]; and 
 ([4]g)  [The administrator shall ]secure and update 
contracts for required professional services that are not provided 
directly by the facility[.] that document the following: 
[ (a)  Contracts shall document the following:] 
 (i)  the effective and expiration date of contract; 
 (ii)  a description of goods or services provided by the 
contractor to the facility; 
 (iii)  a statement that the contractor shall conform to the 
standards required by Utah law or rules; 
 (iv)  a provision to terminate the contract with advance 
notice; 
 (v)  the financial terms of the contract; 
 (vi)  a copy of the business or professional license of the 
contractor;[ and] 
 (vii)  a provision to report findings, observations, and 
recommendations to the administrator on a regular basis[.]; and 

 ([b]viii)  [C]contracts [shall be]are signed, dated, and 
maintained for review by the [D]department. 
 ([5]3)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the administrator [shall 
]maintains a written transfer agreement with one or more hospitals to 
facilitate the transfer of residents and essential resident information[.  
The transfer agreement must] that includes: 
 (a)  criteria for transfer; 
 (b)  method of transfer; 
 (c)  transfer of information needed for proper care and 
treatment of the resident transferred; 
 (d)  security and accountability of personal property of the 
resident transferred; 
 (e)  proper notification of hospital and responsible person 
before transfer; 
 (f)  the facility responsible for resident care during the 
transfer; and 
 (g)  resident confidentiality. 
 
R432-150-9.  Medical Director. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure that [T]the administrator 
[must ]retains, by formal agreement, a licensed physician to serve as 
medical director or advisory physician according to resident and 
facility needs. 
 (2)  The medical director or advisory physician shall: 
 (a)  [be responsible for the development of ]develop 
resident care policies and procedures including the delineation of 
responsibilities of attending physicians; 
 (b)  review current resident care policies and procedures 
with the administrator; 
 (c)  serve as a liaison between resident physicians and the 
administrator; 
 (d)  review incident and accident reports at the request of 
the administrator to identify health hazards to residents and 
employees; and 
 (e)  act as consultant to the director of nursing or the health 
services supervisor in matters relating to resident care policies. 
 
R432-150-10.  Staff and Personnel. 
 (1)  The administrator shall employ personnel who are able 
and competent to perform their respective duties, services, and 
functions. 
 ([a]2)  The administrator, director of nursing or health 
services supervisor, and [department]facility supervisors shall 
develop job descriptions for each position including job title, job 
summary, responsibilities, qualifications, required skills and licenses, 
and physical requirements. 
 (3)  The licensee shall monitor staff to ensure compliance 
with each applicable rule under Title R432. 
 ([b]4)  [All]The licensee shall ensure each 
[personnel]employee has [must have ]access to facility policy and 
procedure manuals and other information necessary to effectively 
perform duties and carry out responsibilities. 
 ([c]5)  [All]The licensee shall ensure each 
[personnel]employee [must be]is licensed, certified, or registered as 
required by the Utah Department of Commerce[. ], and [A]a copy of 
the license, certification or registration [shall be]is maintained for 
[D]department review. 
 ([2]6)  The [facility]licensee shall:[ maintain staffing 
records, including employee performance evaluations, for the 
preceding 12 months.] 
 (a)  maintain staffing records, including employee 
performance evaluations, for the preceding 12 months; 
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 ([3]b)  [The facility shall ]establish a personnel health 
program through written personnel health policies and procedures[.]; 
 ([4]c)  [The facility shall ]complete a health evaluation [and 
inventory ]for each employee upon hire[.] that includes the 
employee's history of the following: 
[ (a)  The health inventory shall obtain at least the employee's 
history of the following:] 
 (i)  conditions that predispose the employee to acquiring or 
transmitting infectious diseases; and 
 (ii)  conditions [which]that may prevent the employee from 
performing certain assigned duties satisfactorily[.]; 
 ([b]d)  [The health inventory shall include]ensure a health 
screening and immunization component[s] of the employee's 
personnel health program is included[.]; 
 ([c]e)  ensure [I]infection control [shall ]includes staff 
immunization as necessary to prevent the spread of disease[.]; 
 ([d]f)  ensure [E]employee skin testing by the Mantoux 
method or other FDA approved in-vitro serologic test and follow up 
for tuberculosis [shall be]is done in accordance with Rule R388-804, 
Special Measures for the Control of Tuberculosis,[.] and each 
employee is skin-tested for tuberculosis within two weeks of: 
[ (i)  The licensee shall ensure that all employees are skin-
tested for tuberculosis within two weeks of:] 
 ([A]i)  initial hiring; 
 ([B]ii)  suspected exposure to a person with active 
tuberculosis; and 
 ([C]iii)  development of symptoms of tuberculosis[.]; 
 ([ii]g)  exempt [S]skin testing [shall be exempted ]for 
[all]each employee[s] with a known positive reaction to skin tests[.]; 
 ([e]h)  ensure [All]any infections and communicable 
diseases reportable by law [shall be]are reported [by the facility ]to 
the local health department in accordance with Section R386-702-
3[.]; 
 ([5]i)  [The facility shall ]plan and document in-service 
training for [all]each [personnel]staff member[.] and address the 
following topics annually: 
[ (a)  The following topics shall be addressed at least 
annually:] 
 (i)  fire prevention; 
 (ii)  review and drill of emergency procedures and 
evacuation plan; 
 (iii)  the reporting of resident abuse, neglect, or exploitation 
to the proper authorities; 
 (iv)  prevention and control of infections; 
 (v)  accident prevention and safety procedures including 
instruction in body mechanics for [all]any employees required to lift, 
turn, position, or ambulate residents; and proper safety precautions 
when floors are wet or waxed; 
 (vi)  proper use and documentation of restraints; 
 (vii)  resident rights; 
 (viii)  [A]a basic understanding of the various types of 
mental illness, including symptoms, expected behaviors and 
intervention approaches; and 
 (ix)  confidentiality of resident information[.]; 
 ([6]j)  ensure [A]any person who provides nursing care, 
including nurse aides and orderlies, [must ]works under the 
supervision of an RN or LPN and shall demonstrate competency and 
dependability in resident care[.]: 
 ([a]k)  [A facility]prohibit any person from [may not have 
an employee ]working in the facility as a nurse aide for more than 
four months, on full-time, temporary, per diem, or other basis, unless 

that individual has successfully completed a State Department of 
Education-approved training and testing program[.]; 
 ([b]l)  verify through the nurse aid registry before offering 
employment, [The facility shall verify through the nurse aide registry 
prior to employment ]that nurse aide applicants do not have a verified 
report of abuse, neglect, or exploitation[.  I] and if such a verified 
report exists, the [facility]licensee may not hire the applicant[.]; 
 ([c]m)  require a person to complete a new training and 
competency evaluation program [I]if an individual has not performed 
paid nursing or nursing related services for a continuous period of 24 
consecutive months since the most recent completion of a training 
and competency evaluation program[,];[ the facility shall require the 
individual to complete a new training and competency evaluation 
program.] 
 ([d]n)  [The facility shall ]conduct regular performance 
reviews and regular in-service education to ensure that individuals 
used as nurse aides are competent to perform services as nurse 
aides[.]; and 
 ([7]o)  [The facility shall ]ensure[ that on all shifts,] staff 
are available on each shift, who are CPR certified, trained in 
emergency procedures and basic first aid, including the Heimlich 
maneuver. 
 ([8]7)  The [facility]licensee may utilize volunteers in the 
daily activities of the [facility]licensee provided that volunteers are 
not included in the [facility]licensee's staffing plan in lieu of facility 
employees[.] if the licensee ensures: 
 (a)  [V]volunteers [shall be]are supervised and familiar 
with resident's rights and the [facility]licensee's policies and 
procedures[.]; and 
 (b)  [V]volunteers who provide personal care to residents 
[shall be]are screened according to facility policy and under the direct 
supervision of a qualified employee. 
 ([9]8)  The licensee shall ensure [A]an employee who 
reports suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation [shall not be]is not 
subject to retaliation, disciplinary action, or termination by the 
[facility]licensee for making the report. 
 
R432-150-11.  Quality Assurance. 
 (1)  The administrator [must ]shall [implement]develop and 
follow a well-defined quality assurance plan designed to improve 
resident care[.  The plan must] that: 
 (a)  includes a system for the collection of data indicators; 
 (b)  includes an incident reporting system to identify 
problems, concerns, and opportunities for improvement of resident 
care; 
 (c)  implements a system to assess identified problems, 
concerns, and opportunities for improvement; and 
 (d)  implements actions that are designed to eliminate 
identified problems and improve resident care. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure the quality assurance plan 
[must ]includes a quality assurance committee that functions as 
follows: 
 (a)  documents committee meeting minutes including 
[all]any corrective actions and results; 
 (b)  conducts quarterly meetings and reports findings, 
concerns and actions to the administrator and governing body; and 
 (c)  coordinates input of data indicators from [all]any 
provided services and other departments as determined by the 
resident plan of care and facility scope of services. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure [I]incident and accident 
reports[ shall]: 
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 (a)  [be]are available for [D]department and quality 
assurance committee review; 
 (b)  [be]are numbered and logged in a manner to account 
for [all]each filed report[s]; and 
 (c)  have space for written comments by the administrator 
or medical director. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure [I]infection reporting [must 
be]is integrated into the quality assurance plan and [must be]is 
reported to the [D]department in accordance with Rule R386-702, 
Communicable Disease Rule. 
 
R432-150-12.  Resident Rights. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall establish written resident[s'] 
rights. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee shall post resident rights in areas 
accessible to residents.[  A copy of the residents' rights document 
shall be available to the residents, the residents' guardian or 
responsible person, and to the public and the Department upon 
request.] 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure a copy of the resident rights 
document is available to the residents, the residents' guardian, or 
responsible person, and to the public and the department upon 
request. 
 ([3]4)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure that each resident 
admitted to the facility has the right to: 
 (a)  be informed, [prior to or ]at the time of admission and 
[for the duration of]during the stay, of resident rights and of [all]any 
rules and regulations governing resident conduct[.]; 
 (b)  be informed, [prior to or ]at the time of admission and 
[for the duration of]during the stay, of services available in the 
facility and of related charges, including any charges for services not 
covered by the [facility]licensee's basic per diem rate or not covered 
under Titles XVIII or XIX of the Social Security Act[.]; 
 (c)  be informed by a licensed practitioner of current total 
health status, including current medical condition, unless medically 
contraindicated, the right to refuse treatment, and the right to 
formulate an advance directive in accordance with[ UCA] Section 
75-[2-1101]2a-107; 
 (d)  be transferred or discharged only for medical reasons, 
for personal welfare or that of other residents, or for nonpayment for 
the stay, and to be given reasonable advance notice to ensure orderly 
transfer or discharge; 
 (e)  be encouraged and assisted throughout the period of 
stay to exercise [all]any rights as a resident and as a citizen, and to 
voice grievances and recommend changes in policies and services to 
facility staff and outside representatives of personal choice, free from 
restraint, interference, coercion, discrimination, or reprisal; 
 (f)  manage personal financial affairs or to be given at least 
a quarterly accounting of financial transactions made on [his]their 
behalf should the [facility]licensee accept [his]their written 
delegation of this responsibility; 
 (g)  be free from mental and physical abuse, and from 
chemical and physical restraints; 
 (h)  be assured confidential treatment of personal and 
medical records, including photographs, and to approve or refuse 
their release to any individual outside the facility, except in the case 
of transfer to another health facility, or as required by law or third- 
party payment contract; 
 (i)  be treated with consideration, respect, and full 
recognition of dignity and individuality, including privacy in 
treatment and in care for personal needs; 

 (j)  not be required to perform services for the facility that 
are not included for therapeutic purposes in the plan of care; 
 (k)  associate and communicate privately with persons of 
the resident's choice, and to send and receive personal mail 
unopened; 
 (l)  meet with social, religious, and community groups and 
participate in activities provided that the activities do not interfere 
with the rights of other residents in the facility; 
 (m)  retain and use personal clothing and possessions as 
space permits, unless to do so would infringe upon rights of other 
residents; 
 (n)  if married, to be assured privacy for visits by the 
spouse[;] and if both are residents in the facility, to be permitted to 
share a room; 
 (o)  have members of the clergy admitted at the request of 
the resident or responsible person at any time; 
 (p)  allow relatives or responsible persons to visit critically 
ill residents at any time; 
 (q)  be allowed privacy for visits with family, friends, 
clergy, social workers, or for professional or business purposes; 
 (r)  have confidential access to telephones for both free 
local calls and for accommodation of long -distance calls according 
to facility policy; 
 (s)  have access to the [S]state [L]long [T]term [C]care 
[O]ombudsman [P]program or representatives of the [L]long [T]term 
[C]care [O]ombudsman [P]program; 
 (t)  choose activities, schedules, and health care consistent 
with individual interests, assessments, and care plan; 
 (u)  interact with members of the community both inside 
and outside the facility; and 
 (v)  make choices about [all]any aspects of life in the 
facility that are significant to the resident. 
 ([4]5)(a)  A resident has the right to organize and participate 
in resident and family groups in the facility. 
 ([a]b)  A resident's family has the right to meet in the 
facility with the families of other residents in the facility. 
 ([b]c)  The [facility]licensee shall provide a resident or 
family group, if one exists, with private space. 
 ([c]d)  Staff or visitors may attend meetings at the group's 
invitation. 
 ([d]e)  The [facility]licensee shall designate a staff person 
responsible for providing assistance and responding to written 
requests that result from group meetings. 
 ([e]f)  If a resident or family group exists, the 
[facility]licensee shall listen to the views and act upon the grievances 
and recommendations of residents and families concerning proposed 
policy and operational decisions affecting resident care and life in the 
facility. 
 ([5]6)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall:[ accommodate 
resident needs and preferences, except when the health and safety of 
the individual or other residents may be endangered.  A resident must 
be given at least a 24-hour notice before an involuntary room move 
is made in the facility.] 
 (a)  accommodate resident needs and preferences, except 
when the health and safety of the individual or other residents may 
be endangered; 
 (b)  ensure a resident is given at least a 24-hour notice 
before an involuntary room move is made in the facility; 
 ([a]c)  ensure that [I]in an emergency when there is actual 
or threatened harm to others, property, or self, the 24 hour notice 
requirement for an involuntary room move may be waived[.  The] 
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and the circumstances requiring the emergency room change [must 
be]are documented for [D]department review[.]; and 
 ([b]d)  [The facility must ]make and document efforts to 
accommodate the resident's adjustment and choices regarding room 
and roommate changes. 
 ([6]7)  If a [facility]licensee is entrusted with residents' 
[monies]funds or valuables, the [facility]licensee or staff may not use 
resident funds or valuables or mingle them with their own and shall 
comply with the following: 
 (a)  [The licensee or facility staff may not use residents' 
monies or valuables as his own or mingle them with his own. ]ensure 
[R]residents' [monies]funds and valuables [shall be]are separate, 
intact, and free from any liability that the licensee incurs in the use of 
[his]their own or the institution's funds and valuables[.]; 
 (b)  [The facility shall ]maintain adequate safeguards and 
accurate records of residents' monies and valuables entrusted to the 
licensee's care[.]; 
 ([i]c)  ensure [R]records of residents' [monies]funds 
[which]that are maintained as a drawing account [must ]include a 
control account for [all]any receipts and expenditures, an account for 
each resident, and supporting vouchers filed in chronological 
order[.]; 
 ([ii]d)  ensure [E]each account [shall be]is kept current with 
columns for debits, credits, and balance[.]; 
 ([iii]e)  ensure [R]records of residents' [monies]funds and 
other valuables entrusted to the licensee for safekeeping [must 
]include a copy of the receipt furnished to the resident or to the person 
responsible for the resident[.]; 
 ([c]f)  [The facility must ]deposit residents' [monies]funds 
not kept in the facility within five days of receipt of such funds in an 
interest-bearing, insured account in a local bank or savings and loan 
association authorized to do business in Utah;[, the deposits of which 
shall be insured.] 
 ([d]g)  [A]a person, firm, partnership, association, or 
corporation [which]that is licensed to operate more than one health 
facility [shall ]maintains a separate account for each [such ]facility 
and [shall]may not commingle resident funds from one facility with 
another[.]; 
 ([e]h)  [If the amount of residents' money entrusted to a 
licensee exceeds $100, the facility must ]deposit [all]any money [in 
excess of]over $100 in an interest-bearing account[.]; 
 ([f]i)  [Upon license renewal, the facility shall ]provide 
evidence of the purchase of a surety bond or other equivalent 
assurance to secure [all]any resident funds, upon license renewal;[.] 
 ([g]j)  surrender upon discharge any resident money and 
valuables that have been entrusted to the licensee[When a resident is 
discharged, all money and valuables of that resident which have been 
entrusted to the licensee must be surrendered to the resident] in 
exchange for a signed receipt; [.]and[  Money and valuables kept 
within the facility shall be surrendered upon demand and those kept 
in an interest-bearing account shall be made available within three 
working days.] 
 (k)  surrender any money and valuables kept within the 
facility upon demand and make available any money kept in an 
interest-bearing account within three working days. 
 ([h]8)  Within 30 days following the death of a resident, 
except in a case under investigation by the medical examiner,[ case,] 
the [facility]licensee [must]shall surrender [all]any money and 
valuables of [that]the resident [which]that have been entrusted to the 
licensee to the person responsible for the resident or to the executor 
or the administrator of the estate in exchange for a signed receipt. If 
a resident dies without a representative or known heirs, the 

[facility]licensee [must]shall immediately notify [in writing ]the 
local probate court and the [D]department in writing. 
 
R432-150-13.  Resident Assessment. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall, upon resident admission, 
obtain physician orders for the resident's immediate care. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall:[ complete a 
comprehensive assessment of each resident's needs including a 
description of the resident's capability to perform daily life functions 
and significant impairments in functional capacity.] 
 (a)  [The comprehensive assessment must include at least 
the following information:]complete a comprehensive assessment of 
each resident's needs including a description of the resident's 
capability to perform daily life functions and significant impairments 
in functional capacity that includes the following: 
 (i)  medically defined conditions and prior medical history; 
 (ii)  medical status measurement; 
 (iii)  physical and mental functional status; 
 (iv)  sensory and physical impairments; 
 (v)  nutritional status and requirements; 
 (vi)  special treatments or procedures; 
 (vii)  mental and psycho social status; 
 (viii)  discharge potential; 
 (ix)  dental condition; 
 (x)  activities potential; 
 (xi)  rehabilitation potential; 
 (xii)  cognitive status; and 
 (xiii)  drug therapy[.]; 
 (b)  [The facility must complete]ensure the initial 
assessment is completed within 14 calendar days of admission and 
any revisions to the initial assessment within 21 calendar days of 
admission[.]; 
 (c)  [A significant change in a resident's physical or mental 
condition requires an interdisciplinary team review and may require 
the facility to complete a new assessment within 14 calendar days of 
the condition change.]ensure that an interdisciplinary team review 
any significant change in a resident's physical or mental health and 
the team may require a new assessment within 14 days of the 
condition change; 
 (d)  [At a minimum, the facility must ]complete three 
quarterly reviews and one full assessment in each 12-[ ]month 
period[.]; and 
 (e)  [The facility shall ]use the results of the assessment to 
develop, review, and revise the resident's comprehensive care plan. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure [E]each individual who 
completes a portion of the assessment [must ]signs and certif[y]ies 
the accuracy of that portion of the assessment. 
 (4)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall develop a 
comprehensive care plan for each resident that includes measurable 
objectives and timetables to meet a resident's medical, nursing, and 
mental and psycho[-]social needs as identified in the comprehensive 
assessment. 
 ([a]5)  The licensee shall ensure the comprehensive care 
plan [shall be]is: 
 ([i]a)  developed within seven days after completion of the 
comprehensive assessment; 
 ([ii]b)  prepared with input from an interdisciplinary team 
that includes the attending physician, the registered nurse having 
responsibility for the resident, and other appropriate staff in 
disciplines determined by the resident's needs, and with the 
participation of the resident, and the resident's family or guardian, to 
the extent practicable; and 
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 ([iii]c)  periodically reviewed and revised by a team of 
qualified persons at least after each assessment and as the resident's 
condition changes. 
 ([b]6)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the services provided 
or arranged [by the facility shall ]meet professional standards of 
quality and be provided by qualified persons in accordance with the 
resident's written care plan. 
 ([5]7)(a)  The [facility]licensee [must ]shall ensure [prepare 
at the time of discharge ]a final summary of the resident's status, to 
include items in Subsection R432-150-13(2)(a), is prepared at the 
time of discharge[.  The final summary shall be] and is available for 
release to authorized persons and agencies, with the consent of the 
resident or representative. 
 ([a]b)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the final summary 
[must ]includes a post-discharge care plan developed with the 
participation of the resident and resident's family or guardian. 
 ([b]c)  [If the discharge of the resident is based on the 
inability of the facility to meet the resident's needs, the final summary 
must contain a detailed explanation of why the resident's needs could 
not be met.]If the licensee discharges a resident because they cannot 
meet the resident's needs, the licensee shall include a detailed 
explanation of why the resident's needs could not be met in the final 
summary. 
 
R432-150-14.  Restraint Policy. 
 (1)  Each resident has the right to be free from physical 
restraints imposed for purposes of discipline or convenience, or not 
required to treat the resident's medical symptoms. 
 (2)(a)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall have written 
policies and procedures regarding the proper use of restraints. 
 ([a]b)  The licensee shall ensure [P]physical and chemical 
restraints [may only be]are only used to assist residents to attain and 
maintain optimum levels of physical and emotional functioning. 
 ([b]c)  The licensee shall ensure [P]physical and chemical 
restraints [must]are not [be ]used as substitutes for direct resident 
care, activities, or other services. 
 ([c]d)  The licensee shall ensure [R]restraints [must]do not 
unduly hinder evacuation of the resident in the event of fire or other 
emergency. 
 ([d]e)  If use of a physical or a chemical restraint is 
implemented, the [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure[ inform] the 
resident, next of kin, and the legally designated representative is 
informed of the reasons for the restraint, the circumstances [under 
which]that allow the restraint [shall]to be discontinued, and the 
hazards of the restraint, including potential physical side effects. 
 (3)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall develop and 
implement policies and procedures that govern the use of physical 
and chemical restraints.  The licensee shall ensure [T]these policies 
[shall ]promote optimal resident function in a safe, therapeutic 
manner and minimize adverse consequences of restraint use[.] and 
incorporate and address the following: 
[ (4)  Physical and chemical restraint policies must 
incorporate and address at least the following:] 
 (a)  resident assessment criteria [which]that includes: 
 (i)  appropriateness of use; 
 (ii)  procedures for use; 
 (iii)  purpose and nature of the restraint; 
 (iv)  less restrictive alternatives [prior to]before the use of 
more restrictive measures; and 
 (v)  behavior management and modification protocols 
including possible alterations to the physical environment; 

 (b)  examples of the types of restraints and safety devices 
that are acceptable for the use indicated and possible resident 
conditions [for which]when the restraint may be used; and 
 (c)  physical restraint guidelines for periodic release and 
position change or exercise, with instructions for documentation of 
this action. 
 ([5]4)  The licensee shall ensure [E]emergency use of 
physical and chemical restraints [must ]comply with the following: 
 (a)  [A]a physician, a licensed health practitioner, the 
director of nursing, or the health services supervisor [must 
]authorizes the emergency use of restraints[.]; 
 (b)  [The facility must notify ]the attending physician is 
notified as soon as possible, but at least within 24 hours of the 
application of the restraints[.]; 
 (c)  [The facility must notify ]the director of nursing or 
health services supervisor is notified no later than the beginning of 
the next day shift of the application of the restraints[.]; and 
 (d)  [The facility must document in ]the resident's record 
the circumstances necessitating emergency use of the restraint is 
documented and the resident's response. 
 ([6]5)  The licensee shall ensure:[Physical restraints must 
be authorized in writing by a licensed practitioner and incorporated 
into the resident's plan of care.] 
 (a)  physical restraints are authorized in writing by a 
licensed practitioner and incorporated in the resident's plan of care; 
 ([a]b)  [T]the interdisciplinary team [must ]reviews and 
documents the use of physical restraints, including simple safety 
devices, during each resident care conference, and upon receipt of 
renewal orders from the licensed practitioner[.]; 
 ([b]c)  [T]the resident care plan [must ]indicates the type of 
physical restraint or safety device, the length of time to be used, the 
frequency of release, and the type of exercise or ambulation to be 
provided[.]; 
 ([c]d)  [S]staff application of physical restraints [must 
]ensures minimal discomfort to the resident and allow sufficient body 
movement for proper circulation[.]; 
 ([d]e)  [S]staff application of physical restraints [must]do 
not cause injury or allow a potential for injury[.]; 
 ([e]f)  [L]leather restraints, straight jackets, or locked 
restraints are prohibited[.]; 
 ([7]g)  [C]chemical restraints [must be]are authorized in 
writing by a licensed practitioner and incorporated into the resident's 
plan of care in conjunction with an individualized behavior 
management program[.]; 
 ([a]h)  [T]the interdisciplinary team [must ]reviews and 
documents the use of chemical restraints during each resident care 
conference and upon receipt of renewal orders from the licensed 
practitioner[.]; 
 ([b]i)  [The facility must monitor ]each resident receiving 
chemical restraints is monitored for adverse effects that significantly 
hinder verbal, emotional, or physical abilities[.]; and 
 ([c]j)  [A]any medication given to a resident [must be]is 
administered according to the requirements of professional and 
ethical practice and according to the policies and procedures of the 
facility. 
 ([d]6)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall initiate gradual 
drug dosage reductions as outlined in Subsection R432-150-
15(13)(c)[drug holidays in accordance with R432-150-15(13)(b)]. 
 ([8]7)  [Facility policy must include criteria for admission 
and retention of residents who require behavior management 
programs.]The licensee shall include criteria for admission and 
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retention of residents who require behavior management program in 
the facility policy. 
 
R432-150-15.  Quality of Care. 
 (1)(a)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall [provide to]ensure 
each resident[,] is provided the necessary care and services to attain 
or maintain the highest practicable physical, mental, and psycho[-
]social well-being, in accordance with the comprehensive assessment 
and care plan. 
 ([a]b)  Necessary care and services under Subsection (1)(a) 
include the resident's ability to: 
 (i)  bathe, dress, and groom; 
 (ii)  transfer and ambulate; 
 (iii)  use the toilet; 
 (iv)  eat; and 
 (v)  use speech, language, or other functional 
communication systems. 
 ([b]c)  Based on the resident's comprehensive assessment, 
the [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure that: 
 (i)  each resident's abilities in activities of daily living do 
not diminish unless circumstances of the individual's clinical 
condition demonstrates that diminution was unavoidable; 
 (ii)  each resident is given the treatment and services to 
maintain or improve [his]their abilities; and 
 (iii)  a resident who [is unable to]cannot carry out these 
functions receives the necessary services to maintain good nutrition, 
grooming, and personal and oral hygiene. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall assist residents in 
scheduling appointments and arranging transportation for vision and 
hearing care as needed. 
 (3)  The [facility's]licensee's comprehensive assessment of 
a resident [must ]shall include an assessment of pressure sores. The 
[facility must ]licensee shall additionally ensure[ that]: 
 (a)  a resident who enters the facility without pressure sores 
does not develop pressure sores unless the individual's clinical 
condition demonstrates that they were unavoidable; and 
 (b)  a resident having pressure sores receives the necessary 
treatment and services to promote healing, prevent infection, and 
prevent new sores from developing. 
 (4)  The [facility's]licensee's comprehensive assessment of 
the resident [must ]shall include an assessment of incontinence. The 
[facility must]licensee shall additionally ensure that: 
 (a)  a resident who is incontinent of [either ]bowel or 
bladder[, or both,] receives the treatment and services to restore as 
much normal functioning as possible; 
 (b)  a resident who enters the facility without an indwelling 
catheter is not catheterized unless the resident's clinical condition 
demonstrates that catheterization is necessary; 
 (c)  a resident who is incontinent of bladder receives 
appropriate treatment and services to prevent urinary tract infections; 
and 
 (d)  a licensed nurse [must ]completes a written assessment 
to determine the resident's ability to participate in a bowel and 
bladder management program. 
 (5)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall assess each resident 
to ensure that: 
 (a)  a resident who enters the facility without a limited 
range of motion does not experience reduction in range of motion 
unless the resident's clinical condition demonstrates that a reduction 
in range of motion is unavoidable; and 

 (b)  a resident with a limited range of motion receives 
treatment and services to increase range of motion or to prevent 
further decrease in range of motion. 
 (6)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure that the 
psycho[-]social function of the resident remains at or above the level 
at the time of admission, unless the individual's clinical condition 
demonstrates that a reduction in psycho[-]social function was 
unavoidable[. The facility shall ensure that:] and psychosocial 
practices adhere to the following: 
 (a)  a resident who displays psycho[-]social adjustment 
difficulty receives treatment and services to achieve as much re-
motivation and reorientation as possible; and 
 (b)  a resident whose assessment does not reveal a psycho[-
]social adjustment difficulty does not display a pattern of decreased 
social interaction, increased withdrawn anger, or depressive 
behaviors, unless the resident's clinical condition demonstrates that 
such a pattern is unavoidable. 
 (7)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall assess alternative 
feeding methods to ensure that: 
 (a)  a resident who has been able to eat enough alone or 
with assistance is not fed by naso-gastric tube unless the resident's 
clinical condition demonstrates that use of a naso-gastric tube is 
unavoidable; and 
 (b)  a resident who is fed by a naso-gastric or gastrostomy 
tube receives the treatment and services to prevent aspiration 
pneumonia, diarrhea, vomiting, dehydration, metabolic 
abnormalities, and nasal-pharyngeal ulcers and to restore, if possible, 
normal feeding function. 
 (8)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall maintain the 
resident's environment and is [to be as ]free of accident hazards[ as 
is possible]. 
 (9)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide each resident 
with [adequate ]supervision and assistive devices to prevent 
accidents. 
 (10)  [Each resident's comprehensive assessment must 
include an assessment on nutritional status.  The facility must ensure 
that each resident:]The licensee shall ensure that each resident's 
comprehensive assessment includes an assessment of nutritional 
status and nutritional practices ensure that each resident: 
 (a)  maintains acceptable nutritional status parameters, 
[such as]including body weight and protein levels, unless the 
resident's clinical condition demonstrates that this is not possible; and 
 (b)  receives a therapeutic diet when there is a nutritional 
problem. 
 (11)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide each 
resident with sufficient fluid intake to maintain proper hydration and 
health. 
 (12)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure that residents 
receive proper treatment and care for the following special services: 
 (a)  injections; 
 (b)  parenteral and enteral fluids; 
 (c)  colostomy, ureterostomy, or ileostomy care; 
 (d)  tracheostomy care; 
 (e)  tracheal suctioning; 
 (f)  respiratory care; 
 (g)  foot care; and 
 (h)  prostheses care. 
 (13)  The licensee shall ensure:[Each resident's drug 
regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs and the facility shall 
ensure that:] 
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 (a)  each resident's drug regimen is free from unnecessary 
drugs; 
 ([a]b)  residents who have not used anti[-]psychotic drugs 
are not given these drugs unless anti[-]psychotic drug therapy is 
necessary to treat a specific condition as diagnosed and documented 
in the clinical record; and 
 ([b]c)  residents who use anti[-]psychotic drugs receive 
gradual dose reductions and behavioral interventions, unless 
clinically contraindicated in an effort to discontinue these drugs. 
 (14)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the quality assurance 
committee [must ]monitors medication errors to ensure that: 
 (a)  the [facility]licensee does not have medication error 
rates of [five percent]5% or greater; and 
 (b)  residents are free of any significant medication errors. 
 
R432-150-16.  Physician Services. 
 (1)(a)  The licensee shall ensure a[A] physician [must 
personally ]approves, in writing, a recommendation that an 
individual be admitted to [a]the nursing care facility. 
 ([a]b)  Each resident [must]shall remain under the care of a 
physician licensed in Utah to deliver the scope of services required 
by the resident. 
 ([b]c)  Nurse practitioners or physician assistants, working 
under the direction of a licensed physician may initiate admission to 
a nursing care facility pending personal review by the physician. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide supervision 
to ensure that the medical care of each resident is supervised by a 
physician. When a resident's attending physician is unavailable, 
another qualified physician [must]shall supervise the medical care of 
the resident. 
 (3)  The physician that supervises the resident's care[ must] 
shall: 
 (a)  review the resident's total program of care, including 
medications and treatments, at each visit; 
 (b)  write, sign, and date progress notes at each visit; 
 (c)  indicate, in writing, direction and supervision of health 
care provided to residents by nurse practitioners or physician 
assistants; and 
 (d)  sign [all]each order[s]. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure that p[P]hysician visits [must 
conform to]comply with the following: 
 (a)  [T]the physician [shall ]notif[y]ies the facility of the 
name of the nurse practitioner or physician assistant who is providing 
care to the resident at the facility[.]; 
 (b)  [Each resident must be seen by a]a physician sees each 
resident at least once every 30 days for the first 90 days after 
admission, and at least every 60 days thereafter[.]; 
 (c)  [P]physician visits [must be]are completed within ten 
days of the date the visit is required[.]; 
 (d)  [E]except as [required by ]permitted in Subsection 
R432-150-16(4)(e), [all required physician visits must be made by 
the physician.]the physician makes each required visit; and 
 (e)  [A]at the option of the physician, required visits after 
the initial visit may alternate between personal visits by the physician 
and visits by a physician assistant or nurse practitioner. 
 (5)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide or arrange 
for [the provision of ]physician services 24 hours a day in case of an 
emergency. 
 
[R432-150-17.  Social Services. 
 Each nursing care facility must provide or arrange for 
medical social services sufficient to meet the needs of the residents.  

Social services must be under the direction of a therapist licensed in 
accordance with Title 58 Chapter 60 of the Mental Health Practice 
Act. 
] 
R432-150-17[8].  Laboratory Services. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide laboratory 
services in accordance with the size and needs of the facility. 
 (2)  [Laboratory services must comply with the 
requirements of the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments 
of 1988 (CLIA).  CLIA inspection reports shall be available for 
Department review.]The licensee shall comply with and maintain the 
Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA) 
inspection reports for department review. 
 
R432-150-18[9].  Pharmacy Services. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide, or obtain by 
contract, routine and emergency drugs, biologicals, and 
pharmaceutical services to meet each resident's physician's orders for 
medications[ needs]. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall employ or obtain the 
services of a licensed pharmacist who: 
 (a)  provides consultation on [all aspects of]the pharmacy 
services in the facility; 
 (b)  establishes a system of records of receipt and 
disposition of[ all] any controlled substances [which]that documents 
an accurate reconciliation; and 
 (c)  determines that drug records are in order and that an 
account of[ all] controlled substances is maintained and reconciled 
monthly. 
 (3)(a)  A licensed pharmacist shall review the drug regimen 
of each resident at least monthly.[The drug regimen of each resident 
must be reviewed at least once a month by a licensed pharmacist.] 
 ([a]b)  [The pharmacist must report any irregularities to the 
attending physician and the director of nursing or health services 
supervisor]The pharmacist shall provide reports of any drug regimen 
irregularities to the attending physician and the director of nursing or 
health services supervisors. 
 ([b]c)  [The physician and the director of Nursing or health 
services supervisor must indicate acceptance or rejection of the report 
and document any action taken]The physician and director of nursing 
or health services supervisor shall indicate acceptance or rejection of 
the pharmacist's irregularity report and document any action taken. 
 (4)  Pharmacy personnel [must ]shall ensure that labels on 
drugs and biologicals are in accordance with currently accepted 
professional principles, and include the appropriate accessory and 
cautionary instructions, and the expiration date. 
 (5)(a)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall store [all]any 
drugs and biologicals in locked compartments under proper 
temperature controls [according to ]in accordance with Subsections 
R432-150-18(5)(c)(iii) and (iv)[19 (5)(e)], and permit only 
authorized personnel to have access to the keys. 
 ([a]b)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide separately 
locked, permanently affixed compartments for storage of controlled 
substances [listed in Schedule II of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse 
Prevention and Control Act of 1976 ]and other drugs subject to abuse, 
except when the [facility]licensee uses single unit dose package drug 
distribution systems [in which]where the quantity stored is minimal 
and a missing dose can be readily detected. 
 ([b]c)  The licensee may not store n[N]on-medication 
materials that are poisonous or caustic [may not be stored ]with 
medications. 
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 ([c]d)  The licensee shall ensure:[Containers must be 
clearly labeled.] 
 (i)  containers are clearly labeled; 
 ([d]ii)  [M]medication intended for internal use [shall be]is 
stored separately from medication intended for external use[.]; 
 ([e]iii)  [M]medications stored at room temperature [shall 
be]are maintained within 59 and 80 degrees F[.]; and 
 ([f]iv)  [R]refrigerated medications [shall be]are 
maintained within 36 and 46 degrees F. 
 (6)  [The facility must maintain an emergency drug 
supply.]The licensee shall maintain an emergency drug supply and 
ensure emergency drug practices adhere to the following: 
 (a)  [E]emergency drug containers [shall be]are sealed to 
prevent unauthorized use[.]; 
 (b)  [C]contents of the emergency drug supply [must be]are 
listed on the outside of the container and the use of contents [shall 
be]is documented by the nursing staff[.]; 
 (c)  [T]the emergency drug supply [shall be]is stored and 
located for access by the nursing staff[.]; 
 (d)  [T]the pharmacist [must ]inventor[y]ies the emergency 
drug supply monthly[.]; and 
 (e)  [U]used or outdated items [shall be]are replaced within 
72 hours by the pharmacist. 
 (7)  [The pharmacy must dispense and the facility must 
ensure that necessary drugs and biologicals are provided on a timely 
basis.]The licensee shall ensure that the pharmacy dispenses drugs 
and biologicals on a timely basis. 
 (8)  The [facility]licensee [must ]shall limit the duration of 
a drug order in the absence of the prescriber's specific instructions. 
 (9)  The licensee shall ensure [D]drug references [must 
be]are available for [all]any drugs used in the facility[. ] and 
[R]references [shall ]include generic and brand names, available 
strength and dosage forms, indications and side effects, and other 
pharmacological data. 
 (10)  [Drugs may be sent with the resident upon discharge 
if so ordered by the discharging physician provided that a record of 
the drugs sent with the resident is documented in the resident's health 
record.]The licensee may send drugs with the resident upon 
discharge, if ordered by the discharging physician provided that a 
record of the drugs sent with the resident is documented in the 
resident's health record. 
 (11)  The licensee shall ensure [D]disposal of controlled 
substances [must be]are in accordance with the Pharmacy Practice 
Act. 
 
R432-150-19[20].  Recreation Therapy. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall provide [for ]an ongoing 
program of individual and group activities and therapeutic 
interventions designed to meet the interests, and attain or maintain 
the highest practicable physical, mental, and psycho[-]social well-
being of each resident in accordance with the comprehensive 
assessment. 
 (2)  Additionally, the licensee shall ensure: 
 (a)  [R]recreation therapy [shall be]is provided in 
accordance with Title 58, Chapter 40, Recreational Therapy Practice 
Act[.]; and 
 (b)  [T]the recreation therapy staff[ must:] develops and 
conspicuously posts monthly resident activity calendars for residents, 
staff, and visitors to reference. 
[ (i)  develop monthly activity calendars for residents 
activities; and 

 (ii)  post the calendar in a prominent location to be available 
to residents, staff, and visitors.] 
 ([2]3)  Each [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure [provide 
]sufficient space and a variety of supplies and resource equipment to 
meet the recreational needs and interests of the residents are 
provided. 
 ([3]4)  The licensee shall ensure [S]storage [must be]is 
provided for recreational equipment and supplies. 
 (5)  The licensee shall ensure [L]locked storage [must be]is 
provided for potentially dangerous items [such as]including scissors, 
knives, and toxic materials. 
 
R432-150-2[1]0.  Pet Policy. 
 (1)  [Each]The [facility]licensee [must]shall develop a 
written policy regarding pets in accordance with local ordinances. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure that [T]the administrator or 
designee [must ]determines which pets may be brought into the 
facility[.  Family members may bring resident's pets to visit provided 
they have approval from the administrator and offer assurance that 
the pets are clean, disease free, and vaccinated.] and ensures that pet 
policy and practices adhere to the following: 
 (a)  family members may bring pets to visit provided they 
have approval from the administrator and offer assurance that the pets 
are clean, disease free, and vaccinated; 
 ([3]b)  [P]pets are not permitted in food preparation or 
storage areas; and[.  Pets are not permitted in any area where their 
presence would create a health or safety risk.] 
 (c)  pets are not permitted in any area where their presence 
would create a health or safety risk. 
 
R432-150-2[2]1.  Admission, Transfer, and Discharge. 
 (1)  Each [facility]licensee [must]shall develop written 
admission, transfer, and discharge policies and make these policies 
available to the public upon request.[  The facility must permit each 
resident to remain in the facility, and not transfer or discharge the 
resident from the facility unless:] 
 (2)  The licensee shall permit each resident to remain in the 
facility, and not transfer or discharge the resident from the facility 
unless: 
 (a)  [T]the transfer or discharge is necessary for the 
resident's welfare and the resident's needs cannot be met in the 
facility; 
 (b)  [T]the transfer or discharge is appropriate because the 
resident's health has improved sufficiently so the resident no longer 
needs the services provided by the facility; 
 (c)  [T]the health or safety of an individual[s] in the facility 
is endangered; 
[ (d)  The health of individuals in the facility is endangered;] 
 ([e]d)  [T]the resident has failed, after reasonable and 
appropriate notice, to pay for a stay at the facility; or 
 ([f]e)  [T]the licensee [facility ]ceases to operate the 
facility. 
 ([2]3)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure [document 
]resident transfers or discharges are documented under any of the 
circumstances specified in Subsection R432-150-22(1)[(a) through 
(f)], in the resident's medical record.  The licensee shall ensure [T]the 
transfer or discharge documentation [must be]is made by: 
 (a)  the resident's physician if transfer or discharge is 
necessary under Subsections R432-150-22(1)(a) and (b); or 
 (b)  a physician if transfer or discharge is necessary under 
Subsection R432-150-22(1)(c)[ and(d)]. 
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 ([3]4)  [Prior to ]Before the transfer or discharge of a 
resident, the [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure: 
 (a)  [provide]a written notification of the transfer or 
discharge and the reasons for the transfer or discharge to the 
resident[,] is provided in a language and manner the resident 
understands, and, if known, to a family member or legal 
representative of the resident; 
 (b)  [record ]the reasons are recorded in the resident's 
clinical record; and 
 (c)  [include in ]the notice includes the following:[items 
described in R432-150-22(6).] 
 (i)  the reason for transfer or discharge; 
 (ii)  the effective date of transfer or discharge; 
 (iii)  the location where the resident is transferred or 
discharged; and 
 (iv)  the name, address, and telephone number of the state 
and local long term care ombudsman programs. 
 ([4]5)(a)  Except when specified in Subsection R432-150-
[22(5)]21-(6)(a), the licensee shall ensure the notice of transfer or 
discharge required under Subsection R432-150-[22(3)](21)(4), [must 
be]is made by the [facility]licensee at least 30 days before the 
resident is transferred or discharged. 
 ([5]b)  The licensee may issue the notice of transfer or 
discharge[Notice may be made] as soon as practicable before transfer 
or discharge if: 
 ([a]i)  the safety or health of individuals in the facility 
would be endangered if the resident is not transferred or discharged 
sooner; 
 ([b]ii)  the resident's health improves sufficiently to allow 
a more immediate transfer or discharge; 
 ([c]iii)  an immediate transfer or discharge is required by 
the resident's urgent medical needs; or 
 ([d]iv)  a resident has not resided in the facility for 30 days. 
[ (6)  The contents of the written transfer or discharge notice 
must include the following: 
 (a)  the reason for transfer or discharge; 
 (b)  the effective date of transfer or discharge; 
 (c)  the location to which the resident is transferred or 
discharged; and 
 (d)  the name, address, and telephone number of the State 
and local Long Term Care Ombudsman programs.] 
 ([e]c)  [For nursing facility residents with developmental 
disabilities, the notice must ]The licensee shall ensure that the notice 
for nursing facility residents with developmental disabilities contains 
the mailing address and telephone number of the [agency 
responsible]Disability Law Center that is responsible for the 
protection and advocacy of developmentally disabled individuals; 
and[ established under part C of the Developmental Disabilities 
Assistance and Bill of Rights Act.] 
 ([f]d)  [For nursing facility residents who are mentally ill, 
the notice must ]The licensee shall ensure that the notice for nursing 
facility residents who are mentally ill contains the mailing address 
and telephone number of the [agency]Disability Law Center who is 
responsible for the protection and advocacy of mentally ill 
individuals established under the Protection and Advocacy for 
Mentally Ill Individuals Act. 
 ([7]6)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide discharge 
planning to prepare and orient a resident to ensure safe and orderly 
transfer or discharge from the facility. 
[ (8)  Notice of resident bed-hold policy, transfer and re-
admission must be documented in the resident file.] 

 ([a]7)  Before a [facility]licensee transfers a resident to a 
hospital or allows a resident to go on therapeutic leave, the 
[facility]licensee [must]shall ensure: 
 (a)  [provide ]written notification and information is 
provided to the resident and a family member or legal representative 
that specifies: 
 (i)  the [facility's ]policies regarding bed-hold periods 
permitting a resident to return; and 
 (ii)  the duration of the bed-hold policy, if any, [during 
which]and the resident is permitted to return and resume residence in 
the facility[.]; 
 (b)  [At the time of transfer of a resident to a hospital or for 
therapeutic leave, the facility must provide ]written notice is provided 
to the resident and a family member or legal representative, 
[which]that specifies the duration of the bed-hold policy[.] at the time 
of transfer of a resident to a hospital or for therapeutic leave; 
 (c)  [If transfers necessitated by medical emergencies 
preclude notification at the time of transfer, notification shall take 
place as soon as possible after transfer.]notification is provided as 
soon as possible following a transfer necessitated by a medical 
emergency; and 
 (d)  [The facility must establish and follow ]a written policy 
is established and followed for when [under which ]a resident whose 
hospitalization or therapeutic leave exceeds the bed-hold period 
[is]may be readmitted to the facility. 
 ([9]8)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall establish and 
maintain identical policies and practices regarding transfer, 
discharge, and the provision of services for [all]each individual[s] 
regardless of pay source. 
 ([10]9)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall have [in effect ]a 
written transfer agreement in effect with one or more hospitals to 
ensure that: 
 (a)  residents are transferred from the facility to the hospital 
and ensured of timely admission to the hospital when transfer is 
medically necessary as determined by the attending physician; 
 (b)  medical and other information needed for care and 
treatment of residents is exchanged between facilities including 
documentation of reasons for a less expensive setting; and 
 (c)  security and accountability of personal property of the 
individual transferred is maintained. 
 
R432-150-2[3]2.  Ancillary Health Services. 
[ (1)  If the nursing care facility provides its own radiology 
services, these facility must comply with R432-100-22, Radiology 
Services, in the General Acute Hospital Rule. 
 (2)  A facility that provides specialized rehabilitative 
services may offer these services either directly or through 
agreements with outside agencies or qualified therapists.  If provided, 
these services must meet the needs of the residents. 
 (a)  The facility must provide space and equipment for 
specialized rehabilitative services in accordance with the needs of the 
residents. 
 (b)  Specialized rehabilitative services may only be 
provided by therapists licensed in accordance with Utah law. 
 (c)  All therapy assistants must work under the direct 
supervision of the licensed therapist at all times. 
 (d)  Speech pathologists must have a "Certificate of 
Clinical Compliance" from the American Speech and Hearing 
Association. 
 (e)  Specialized rehabilitative services may be provided 
only if ordered by the attending physician. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 155 

 (i)  The plan of treatment must be initiated by an attending 
physician and developed by the therapist in consultation with the 
nursing staff. 
 (ii)  An initial progress report must be submitted to the 
attending physician two weeks after treatment is begun or as 
specified by the physician. 
 (iii)  The physician and therapist must review and evaluate 
the plan of treatment monthly unless the physician recommends an 
alternate schedule in writing. 
 (f)  The facility must document the delivery of 
rehabilitative services in the resident record.] 
 (1)  A licensee that provides its own radiology services shall 
comply with Section R432-100-23. 
 (2)  A licensee may provide specialized rehabilitative 
services directly or through agreements with outside agencies or 
qualified therapists. 
 (3)  A licensee that directly provides specialized 
rehabilitative services shall ensure: 
 (a)  there is space and equipment provided to meet the 
prescribed needs of the residents; 
 (b)  specialized rehabilitative services are only provided by 
therapists licensed in Utah; 
 (c)  each therapy assistant works under the direct 
supervision of the licensed therapist at all times; 
 (d)  each speech pathologist has a certificate of clinical 
compliance issued by the American Speech and Hearing Association; 
 (e)  specialized rehabilitative services are only provided 
upon order of the attending physician; 
 (f)  an attending physician initiates the plan of treatment; 
 (g)  the therapist, in consultation with the nursing staff 
develops and implements the plan of treatment and provides an initial 
progress report to the attending physician within two weeks of the 
start of treatment, or as specified by the attending physician; 
 (h)  the physician and therapist review the plan of treatment 
at least monthly unless the physician recommends an alternate 
schedule in writing; and 
 (g)  delivery of any specialized rehabilitative services are 
documented in the resident record. 
 ([3]4)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide or arrange 
for regular and emergency dental care for residents. Dental care 
practices include: 
[ (a)  Dental care provisions shall include:] 
 ([b]a)  development of oral hygiene policies and procedures 
with input from dentists; 
 ([c]b)  presentation of oral hygiene in-service programs to 
staff by knowledgeable persons; 
 ([d]c)  development of referral service for [those]any 
resident[s] who do not have a personal dentist; and 
 ([e]d)  arrangement for transportation to and from the 
dentist's office. 
 (5)  The licensee shall ensure that medical social services 
are sufficient to meet the needs of the residents and provided or 
arranged by the nursing care facility.  The licensee shall ensure that 
social services are under the direction of a therapist licensed in 
accordance with Title 58 Chapter 60 of the Mental Health Practice 
Act. 
 
R432-150-2[4]3.  Food Services. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide each resident 
with a safe, palatable, well-balanced diet that meets the daily 
nutritional and special dietary needs of each resident. 

 (2)  The licensee shall employ [T]there [must be 
adequate]enough staff [employed by the facility ]to meet the dietary 
needs of the residents. 
 (3)  For food services and practices, the licensee shall 
ensure: 
 (a)  [The facility must employ]there is a dietitian employed 
either full-time, part-time, or on a consultant basis[.]; 
 (b)  [T]the dietitian [must be]is certified in accordance with 
Title 58, Chapter 49, Dietitian Certification Act[.]; 
 (c)  [I]if a dietitian is not employed full-time, the 
administrator [must ]designates a full-time person to serve as the 
dietetic supervisor[.]; 
 (d)  [I]if the dietetic supervisor is not a certified dietitian, 
[the facility must document at least monthly consulation by ]the 
licensee consults a certified dietitian at least monthly, according to 
the needs of the residents and documents the consultations[.]; and 
 (e)  [T]the dietetic supervisor [shall be]is available when 
the consulting dietitian visits the facility. 
 ([3]4)  The [facility]licensee shall [must ]develop menus 
that meet the nutritional needs of residents to the extent medically 
possible[.] and ensure the menus are: 
[ (a)  Menus shall be:] 
 ([i]a)  prepared in advance; 
 ([ii]b)  followed; 
 ([iii]c)  different each day; 
 ([iv]d)  posted for each day of the week; 
 ([v]e)  approved and signed by a certified 
[dietician]dietitian; and[;] 
 ([vi]f)  cycled no less than every three weeks. 
 ([b]5)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall retain 
documentation for at least three months [of all]for any served 
substitutions to the menu. 
 ([4]6)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure [make 
available for Department review all]any food sanitation inspection 
reports of [S]state or local health department inspections are available 
for department review. 
 ([5]7)  [All therapeutic diets must be ordered in writing by 
the attending physician or by a qualified registered dietitian in 
consultation with the physician, if allowed by facility policy.]The 
licensee shall ensure the attending physician or qualified registered 
dietitian in consultation with the physician, orders each therapeutic 
diet in writing, if allowed by facility policy. 
 ([6]8)  The licensee shall ensure [T]there [must be]is no 
more than a 14-hour interval between the evening meal and breakfast, 
unless a substantial snack is served in the evening. 
 ([7]9)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide special 
eating equipment and assistive devices for residents who need them. 
 ([8]10)  The licensee shall ensure the facility's food service 
[must ]compl[y]ies with [the Utah Department of Health Food 
Service Sanitation Regulations ]Rule R392-100. 
 ([9]11)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure [maintain 
]a one-week supply of nonperishable staple foods and a three-day 
supply of perishable foods are maintained to complete the established 
menu for three meals per day, per resident. 
 ([10]12)  A nursing care [facility]licensee may use trained 
dining assistants to aid residents in eating and drinking if: 
 (a)  a licensed practical nurse-geriatric care manager, 
registered nurse[ ], advance practice registered nurse, speech 
pathologist, occupational therapist, or dietitian has assessed that the 
resident does not have complicated feeding problems, [such 
as]including recurrent lung aspirations, behaviors [which]that 
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interfere with eating, difficulty swallowing, or tube or parenteral 
feeding; and 
 (b)  [T]the service plan or plan of care documents that the 
resident needs assistance with eating and drinking and defines who is 
qualified to offer the assistance. 
 ([11]13)  If the nursing care facility uses a dining assistant, 
the [facility]licensee [must]shall [assure]ensure that the dining 
assistant: 
 (a)  has completed a training course from a [D]department-
approved training program; 
 (b)  has completed a background screening pursuant to Rule 
R432-35; and 
 (c)  performs duties only for those residents who do not 
have complicated feeding problems. 
 ([12]14)  [A long-term care facility, employee organization, 
person, governmental entity, or private organization must submit the 
following to the Department to become Department-approved 
training program:]A long term care licensee shall submit the 
following to the department to become an approved training 
program: 
 (a)  a copy of the curriculum to be implemented that meets 
the requirements of [s]Subsection (13); and 
 (b)  the names and credentials of the trainers. 
 ([13]15)  [The training course for the dining assistant shall 
provide eight hours of instruction and one hour of observation by the 
trainer to ensure competency.  The course shall include the following 
topics:]The long term care licensee shall ensure a dietitian training 
program is approved by the department if it includes the following: 
 (a)  eight hours of instruction for the dining assistant and 
one hour of observation by the trainer to ensure competency; 
 ([a]b)  feeding techniques; 
 ([b]c)  assistance with eating and drinking; 
 ([c]d)  communication and interpersonal skills; 
 ([d]e)  safety and emergency procedures including the 
Heimlich [manuever]maneuver; 
 ([e]f)  infection control; 
 ([f]g)  resident rights; 
 ([g]h)  recognizing resident changes inconsistent with their 
normal behavior and the importance in reporting those changes to the 
supervisory nurse; 
 ([h]i)  special diets; 
 ([i]j)  documentation of type and amount of food and 
hydration intake; 
 ([j]k)  appropriate response to resident behaviors[,]; and 
 ([k]l)  use of adaptive equipment. 
 ([14]16)  [The training program shall issue a certificate of 
completion and maintain a list of the dining assistants.  The certifcate 
shall include the training program provider and provider's telephone 
number at which a long-term care facility may verify the training, and 
the dining assistant's name and address.]The licensee shall issue a 
training certificate of completion and maintain a list of the dining 
assistants that identifies: 
 (a)  the training program provider; 
 (b)  the telephone number where the licensee may verify 
the training; and 
 (c)  each dining assistant's name and address. 
 ([15]17)  To provide dining assistant training in a 
[D]department-approved training program, the licensee shall ensure 
a trainer [must ]holds a current valid license to practice as: 
 (a)  a registered nurse, advanced practice registered nurse 
or licensed practical nurse-geriatric care manager pursuant to Title 
58, Chapter 31b, Nurse Practice Act; 

 (b)  a registered dietitian, pursuant to Title 58, Chapter 49, 
Dietitian Certification Act; 
 (c)  a speech-language pathologist, pursuant to Title 58, 
Chapter 41, Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Licensing 
Act; or 
 (d)  an occupational therapist, pursuant to Title 58, Chapter 
42a, Occupational Therapy Practice Act. 
 ([16]18)  The [Department]licensee may suspend a training 
program if the program's courses do not meet the requirements of this 
rule. 
 ([17]19)  The [Department]licensee may suspend a training 
program operated by a nursing care facility if: 
 (a)  a federal or state survey reveals failure to comply with 
federal regulations or state rules regarding feeding or dining assistant 
programs; 
 (b)  the [facility]licensee fails to provide sufficient, 
competent staff to respond to emergencies; 
 (c)  the [D]department sanctions the facility for any reason; 
or 
 (d)  the [D]department determines that the [facility]licensee 
is in continuous or chronic non-compliance under state rule or that 
the [facility]licensee has provided sub-standard quality of care under 
federal regulation. 
 
R432-150-2[5]4.  Medical Records. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall implement a medical 
records system to ensure complete and accurate retrieval and 
compilation of information. 
 (2)(a)  The administrator [must ]shall designate an 
employee to be responsible and accountable for the processing of 
medical records. 
 ([a]b)  [The medical records department must be under the 
direction of a registered record administrator, RRA, or an accredited 
record technician, ART.]The administrator shall ensure that a 
registered record administrator (RRA) or accredited record 
technician (ART) directs the medical records department. 
 ([b]c)  If an RRA or ART is not employed at least part- time, 
the [facility]administrator [must]shall consult with an RRA or ART 
according to the needs of the facility, [but not]and no less than semi-
annually. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure resident medical records 
are:[The resident medical record and its contents must be retained, 
stored and safeguarded from loss, defacement, tampering, and 
damage from fires and floods.] 
 (a)  retained, stored, and safeguarded from loss, 
defacement, tampering, and damage from fires and floods; 
 ([a]b)  [Medical records must be ]protected against access 
by unauthorized individuals[.]; and 
 ([b]c)  [Medical records must be ]retained for at least seven 
years[. ] and [M]medical records of minors [must be]are kept until 
the age of eighteen plus four years, but in no case less than seven 
years. 
 (4)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall maintain an 
individual medical record for each resident[.  The medical record 
must ] that contains written documentation of the following: 
 (a)  records made by staff regarding daily care of the 
resident; 
 (b)  informative progress notes by staff to record changes 
in the resident's condition and response to care and treatment in 
accordance with the care plan; 
 (c)  a pre-admission screening; 
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 (d)  an admission record with demographic information and 
resident identification data; 
 (e)  a history and physical examination up-to-date at the 
time of the resident's admission; 
 (f)  written and signed informed consent; 
 (g)  orders by clinical staff members; 
 (h)  a record of assessments, including the comprehensive 
resident assessment, care plan, and services provided; 
 (i)  nursing notes; 
 (j)  monthly nursing summaries; 
 (k)  quarterly resident assessments; 
 (l)  a record of medications and treatments administered; 
 (m)  laboratory and radiology reports; 
 (n)  a discharge summary for the resident to include a note 
of condition, instructions given, and referral as appropriate; 
 (o)  a service agreement if respite services are provided; 
 (p)  physician treatment orders;[ and] 
 (q)  information pertaining to incidents, accidents, and 
injuries[.]; and 
 (r)  [If a resident has an advanced directive, the resident's 
record must contain a copy of the advanced directive.]a copy of an 
advanced directive, if a resident has one. 
 (5)  [All]The licensee shall ensure any entries into the 
medical record [must be]are authenticated including date, name or 
identifier initials, and title of the person making the entries. 
 (6)  The licensee shall ensure [R]resident respite records 
[must be]are maintained within the facility. 
 
R432-150-2[6]5.  Housekeeping Services. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall [must ]provide a safe, clean, 
comfortable environment, allowing the resident to use personal 
belongings to create a homelike environment. 
 ([a]2)  The licensee shall ensure [C]cleaning agents, 
bleaches, insecticides, poisonous, dangerous, or flammable materials 
[must be]are stored in a locked area to prevent unauthorized access. 
 ([b]3)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall:[ provide adequate 
housekeeping services and sufficient personnel to maintain a clean 
and sanitary environment.] 
 (a)  provide enough housekeeping services and personnel 
to maintain a clean and sanitary environment; 
 ([i]b)  ensure [P]personnel engaged in housekeeping or 
laundry services [cannot]are not [be ]engaged concurrently in food 
service or resident care[.]; and 
 ([ii]c)  [If housekeeping personnel also work in food 
services or direct patient care services, the facility must ]develop and 
implement employee hygiene and infection control measures to 
maintain a safe, sanitary environment if housekeeping personnel also 
work in food services or direct patient care services. 
 
R432-150-2[7]6.  Laundry Services. 
 (1)  [T]the administrator [must ]shall designate a person to 
direct the facility's laundry service[.  The designee must have] that 
has experience, training , or knowledge of the following: 
 (a)  proper use of chemicals in the laundry; 
 (b)  proper laundry procedures; 
 (c)  proper use of laundry equipment; 
 (d)  facility policies and procedures; and 
 (e)  federal, state, and local rules and regulations. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall provide clean linens, 
towels, and wash[ ]cloths for resident use. 

 (3)  If the [facility]licensee contracts for laundry services, 
[there must be]there is a signed, dated agreement that details [all]any 
services provided. 
 (4)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall inform the resident 
and family of facility laundry policy for personal clothing. 
 (5)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure:[ that each 
resident's personal laundry is marked for identification.] 
 (a)  each resident's personal laundry is marked for 
identification; 
 ([6]b)  [T]there [must be]are enough clean linen, towels, 
and washcloths for at least three complete changes of the facility's 
licensed bed capacity[.]; 
 ([7]c)  [T]there [must be]is a bed[ ]spread for each resident 
bed[.]; 
 ([8]d)  [C]clean linen [must be]is handled and stored in a 
manner to minimize contamination from surface contact or airborne 
deposition[.]; 
 ([9]e)  [S]soiled linen [must be]is handled, stored, and 
processed in a manner to prevent contamination and the spread of 
infections[.]; 
 ([10]f)  [S]soiled linen [must be]is sorted in a separate room 
by methods affording protection from contamination[.]; and 
 ([11]g)  [T]the laundry area [must be]is separate from any 
room where food is stored, prepared, or served. 
 
R432-150-2[8]7.  Maintenance Services. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure that buildings, 
equipment, and grounds are maintained in a clean and sanitary 
condition and in good repair [at all times ]for the safety and well-
being of residents, staff, and visitors. 
 ([a]2)  For facility maintenance services the licensee shall 
ensure:[The administrator shall employ a person qualified by 
experience and training to be in charge of facility maintenance.] 
 (a)  the administrator employs a person, qualified by 
experience and training, to be in charge of facility maintenance; 
 (b)  [I]if the [facility]licensee contracts for maintenance 
services, there [must be]is a signed[,] and dated agreement that 
details [all ]each service[s] provided[.] and [ T]the contracted 
maintenance service [must ]meets [all]each requirement[s] of this 
section[.]; 
 (c)  [T]the [facility]licensee [must ]develops and 
implements a written maintenance program, [(including]that includes 
preventive maintenance,[)] to ensure the continued operation of the 
facility and sanitary practices throughout the facility[.]; 
 ([2]d)  [T]the [facility must ensure that the ]premises [is]are 
free from vermin and rodents[.]; 
 ([3]e)  [E]entrances, exits, steps, ramps, and outside 
walkways [must be]are maintained in a safe condition with regard to 
snow, ice, and other hazards[.]; 
 ([4]f)  [Facilities which provide care for residents who 
cannot be relocated in an emergency must make provision for 
]emergency lighting and heat are provided to meet the needs of 
residents[.] in a facility that provides care for residents who are 
unable to be relocated in an emergency; 
 ([5]g)  [F]functional flashlights [shall be]are available for 
emergency use by staff[.]; 
 ([6]h)  [All]any facility equipment [must be]is tested, 
calibrated and maintained in accordance with manufacturer 
specifications[.]; 
 ([a]i)  [T]testing frequency and calibration documentation 
[shall be]is available for [D]department review[.]; 
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 ([b]j)  [D]documentation of testing or calibration 
conducted by an outside agency [must be]is available for 
[D]department review[.]; 
 ([7]k)  [All]any spaces within buildings [which]that house 
people, machinery, equipment, approaches to buildings, and parking 
lots [must have]have lighting[.]; 
 ([8]l)  [H]heating, air conditioning, and ventilating systems 
[must be]are maintained to provide comfortable temperatures[.]; 
 ([9]m)  [B]back-flow prevention devices [must be]are 
maintained in operating condition and tested according to 
manufacturer specifications[.]; 
 ([10]n)  [H]hot water temperature controls [must 
]automatically regulate temperatures of hot water delivered to 
plumbing fixtures used by residents[.] and [H]hot water [must be]is 
delivered to public and resident care areas at temperatures between 
105-115 degrees F[.]; 
 ([11]o)  [D]disposable and single use items [must be]are 
properly disposed of after use[.]; 
 ([12]p)  [N]nursing equipment and supplies [must be ]are 
available as determined by facility policy in accordance with the 
needs of the residents[.]; 
 ([13]q)  [The facility must have ]there is at least one first 
aid kit [and a first aid manual ]available at a specified location in the 
facility[.  The] accompanied by a current edition of a first aid manual[ 
must be a current edition of a basic first aid manual] approved by the 
American Red Cross or the American Medical Association[.]; 
 ([14]r)  [The facility must have]there is at least one 
[OSHA-]Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 
approved spill or clean-up kit for blood-borne pathogens[.]; and 
 ([15]s)  [V]vehicles used to transport residents [must 
be]are: 
 ([a]i)  licensed with a current vehicle registration and safety 
inspection; 
 ([b]ii)  equipped with individual, size-appropriate safety 
restraints [such as]including seat belts [which are defined in the 
federal motor vehicle safety standards contained in the Code of 
Federal Regulations, Title 49, Section 571.213, and ]that are installed 
and used in accordance with manufacturer specifications; 
 ([c]iii)  equipped with a first aid kit and current version of 
a first aid manual approved by the American Red Cross or the 
American Medical Association[as specified in R432-150-28(13)]; 
and 
 ([d]iv)  equipped with an OSHA-approved spill or clean-up 
kit.[ as specified in R432-150-28(14).] 
 
R432-150-2[9]8.  Emergency Response and Preparedness Plan. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall ensure the safety and 
well-being of residents and [make provisions]provide for a safe 
environment in the event of an emergency or disaster.  An emergency 
or disaster may include utility interruption, explosion, fire, 
earthquake, bomb threat, flood, windstorm, epidemic, and injury. 
 (2)(a)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall develop an 
emergency and disaster plan that is approved by the governing 
body[board]. 
 ([a]b)  The [facility's ]emergency and disaster plan shall 
delineate: 
 (i)  the person[ or persons] with decision-making authority 
for fiscal, medical, and personnel management; 
 (ii)  on-hand personnel, equipment, and supplies and how 
to acquire additional help, supplies, and equipment after an 
emergency or disaster; 

 (iii)  assignment of personnel to specific tasks during an 
emergency; 
 (iv)  methods of communicating with local emergency 
agencies, authorities, and other appropriate individuals; 
 (v)  individuals [who shall]to be notified in an emergency 
in order of priority; and 
 (vi)  methods of transporting and evacuating residents and 
staff to other locations. 
 ([b]c)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall have emergency 
phone numbers at each nursing station with responsible staff listed in 
the order of priority contact.[ have available at each nursing station 
emergency telephone numbers including responsible staff persons in 
the order of priority.] 
 ([c]d)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall document resident 
emergencies and responses, emergency events and responses, and the 
location of residents and staff evacuated from the facility during an 
emergency. 
 ([d]e)  The [facility]licensee [must]shall conduct and 
document simulated disaster drills semi-annually. 
 (3)  The administrator [must]shall develop a written fire 
emergency and evacuation plan in consultation with qualified fire 
safety personnel[.] that: 
 (a)  [The evacuation plan must ]delineates evacuation 
routes, location of fire alarm boxes, fire extinguishers, and 
emergency telephone numbers of the local fire department[.]; 
 (b)  [The facility must ]ensures the evacuation plan is 
posted [the evacuation plan ]in prominent locations in exit access 
ways throughout the building[.]; 
 (c)  [The written fire or emergency plan must ]includes fire 
containment procedures and how to use the facility alarm systems 
and signals[.]; and 
 (d)  ensures [F]fire drills and fire drill documentation [must 
be]are completed in accordance with the State of Utah Fire 
Prevention Board, Rule R710-4. 
 
R432-150-[30]29.  Penalties. 
 Any person who violates [any provision of ]this rule may 
be subject to the penalties enumerated in Sections 26B-2-208 and 
26B-2-216 [26-21-11 ]and Section R432-3-7[ and be punished for 
violation of a class A misdemeanor as provided in Section 26-21-16]. 
 
KEY:  health care facilities 
Date of Last Change:  2023[January 11, 2018] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 24, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [26-21-5; 
26-21-16]26B-2-202 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R432-270 Filing ID:  
55593 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing 
Room number: 1st Floor 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Bldg 
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Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144103 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4103 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R432-270.  Assisted Living Facility 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this amendment is to modify and replace 
outdated language with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah 
standards, update citations in response to S.B. 38 in the 
2023 General Session for statute recodification, and re-
title rules to the new Division titles that are consistent with 
Rulewriting standards. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The revisions include more specific language consistent 
with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Additionally, this amendment updates titles and citations 
due to the recodification of the Department of Health and 
Human Services' (Department) statute. 
 
Only one substantive change clarifies the administrator 
training requirements.  The change was approved by the 
Health Facility Committee on 11/05/2022. 
 
If facilities are members of any association, there is no 
charge for any of the trainings offered.  If not members of 
an association, free trainings can be found. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This change will not impact the current process for 
licensure and re-licensure surveys. 
 
No change to the state budget is expected because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards which will not 
impact the state's oversight of these facilities. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

This proposed rule amendment should not impact local 
governments' revenues or expenditures because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language with 
the Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards. 
 
The Assisted Living Standards are regulated by the 
Department, and not local governments. 
 
There will be no change in local business licensing or any 
other item(s) with which local government is involved. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Most Assisted Living Facilities are already participating in 
Association Membership.  It is impossible to estimate a 
fixed cost to the affected businesses because the 
membership is per bed per facility, which varies greatly 
across the state. 
 
If a facility is not a member of an association, membership 
in Utah Assisted Living Association (UALA) is $15 per bed 
per year.  Training is free to members. 
 
Training is $35 per hour for non members, but the facilities 
are at liberty to locate other cheaper (or free) trainings to 
satisfy the requirement. 
 
Beehive Association charges $35 per year, but only accept 
their own franchise members at $32.50 per bed. 
 
The maximum a small business would pay would be $735 
per year for a UALA membership for a facility with 49 beds. 
 
The minimum a small business would pay would be $0 if 
they find a free training that the association approves.  The 
maximum a small business would pay would be $210 to 
attend UALA training without membership (this is the fixed 
estimated cost for all affected parties in the table below). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The costs for non-small businesses are the same for as 
small business, however $750 per year would be the 
minimum a non-small business would pay for a 
membership at $15 per bed and the per-hour maximum 
cost would remain $210 per year. 
 
Minimums could be $0 if the facility can locate a free 
training that's approved.  It is impossible to estimate a fixed 
cost to the affected businesses because the membership 
is per bed per facility, which varies greatly across the state. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
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No persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state or local government entities should be 
impacted by the substantive or nonsubstantive changes 
introduced in this amendment. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The minimum to an affected administrator would be $0 if 
their facility pays for either their membership or per class. 
 
If the facility does not pay for the training or membership, 
the maximum per-training cost to an administrator would 
be $210 or a minimum of $0 if they can locate an approved 
free trainings. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-2-202 

 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/07/2023 

 
R432.  Health and Human Services, [Family Health and 
Preparedness, ]Health Care Facility Licensing. 
R432-270.  Assisted Living Facilities. 
R432-270-1.  Legal Authority. 
 [This rule is adopted pursuant to Title 26, Chapter 21.]This 
rule is authorized by Section 26B-2-202. 
 
R432-270-2.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes the licensing and operational 
standards for assisted living facilities.[ Type I and Type II.] Assisted 
living is intended to enable [persons]an individual experiencing 
functional impairments to receive 24-hour personal and health-
related services in a place of residence with [sufficient]enough 
structure to meet the care needs in a safe manner. 
 
R432-270-3.  Compliance and Responsibility. 
 The licensee shall comply with each Section of Rule R432-
270. 
 
R432-270-[3]4.  Definitions. 
 (1)  [The terms used in these rules are defined in ]Section 
R432-1-3 additionally applies. 
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 (2)  [In addition:]"Activities of Daily Living" (ADL) means 
those personal functional activities required for an individual for 
continued well-being, including: 
 (a)  personal grooming, including oral hygiene and denture 
care; 
 (b)  dressing; 
 (c)  bathing; 
 (d)  toileting and toilet hygiene; 
 (e)  eating and nutrition; 
 (f)  administration of medication; and 
 (g)  transferring, ambulation and mobility. 
 (3)  ADL's are divided into the following levels: 
 (i)  "Assistance" means the resident can perform some part 
of an ADL, but cannot do it entirely alone; 
 (ii)  "Dependent" means the resident cannot perform any 
part of an ADL and it is done entirely by someone else; and 
 (iii)  "Independent" means the resident can perform the 
ADL without help. 
 (4)  "Adult Day Care" means the care and support to three 
or more functionally impaired adults through a comprehensive 
program that provides a variety of social, recreational, and related 
support services in a licensed health care setting. 
 ([a]5)  "Assessment" means documentation of each 
resident's ability or current condition in the following areas: 
 ([i]a)  memory and daily decision[ ]-making ability; 
 ([ii]b)  ability to communicate effectively with others; 
 ([iii]c)  physical functioning and ability to perform 
[activities of daily living]ADLs; 
 ([iv]d)  continence; 
 ([v]e)  mood and behavior patterns; 
 ([vi]f)  weight loss; 
 ([vii]g)  medication use and the ability to self-medicate; 
 ([viii]h)  special treatments and procedures; 
 ([ix]i)  [disease]medical diagnoses that have a relationship 
to current [activities of daily living]ADL status, behavior status, 
medical treatments, or risk of death; 
 ([x]j)  leisure patterns and interests; 
 ([xi]k)  assistive devices; and 
 ([xii]l)  prosthetics. 
[ (b)  "Activities of daily living (ADL)": 
 (i)  means those personal functional activities required for 
an individual for continued well-being, including: 
 (A)  personal grooming, including oral hygiene and denture 
care; 
 (B)  dressing; 
 (C)  bathing; 
 (D)  toileting and toilet hygiene; 
 (E)  eating and nutrition; 
 (F)  administration of medication; and 
 (G)  transferring, ambulation and mobility. 
 (ii)  Are divided into the following levels: 
 (A)  "Independent" means the resident can perform the 
ADL without help. 
 (B)  "Assistance" means the resident can perform some part 
of an ADL, but cannot do it entirely alone. 
 (C)  "Dependent" means the resident cannot perform any 
part of an ADL; it must be done entirely by someone else.] 
 ([c]6)  [Certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation 
(CPR) refers to certification issued after completion of a course that 
is consistent with the most current version of the American Heart 
Association Guidelines for Health Care Provider CPR.]"Certification 
in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)" refers to certification 

issued after completion of an in-person course, to include skills 
testing and evaluation on-site with a licensed instructor. 
 ([d]7)  "Core competencies" mean: 
 ([i]a)  communication; 
 ([ii]b)  person centered care principles and practices; 
 ([iii]c)  observation; 
 ([iv]d)  crisis prevention and intervention; 
 ([v]e)  safety; 
 ([vi]f)  professionalism and ethics; 
 ([vii]g)  empowerment and advocacy; 
 ([viii]h)  health and wellness; 
 ([ix]i)  community living skills and supports; 
 ([x]j)  cultural competency and community inclusion; 
 ([xi]k)  dementia care competencies; and 
 ([xii]l)  training and self-development. 
 ([e]8)  "Home-like" [as used in statute and this rule ]means 
a place of residence, [which]that creates an atmosphere supportive of 
the resident's preferred lifestyle.  Home-like is also supported by the 
use of residential building materials and furnishings. 
 ([f]9)  "Hospice patient" means an individual who is 
admitted to a hospice program or agency. 
 ([g]10)  "Legal representative" means an individual who is 
legally authorized to make health care decisions on behalf of another 
individual. 
 ([h]11)  "Monitoring device"[:] means a video surveillance 
camera, microphone, or other device that captures audio, but does not 
include: 
[ (i)  means a video surveillance camera or a microphone or 
other device that captures audio; and 
 (ii)  does not include:] 
 ([A]a)  a device that is specifically intended to intercept 
wire, electronic, or oral communication without notice to or the 
consent of a party to the communication; or 
 ([B]b)  a device that is connected to the [I]internet or that 
is set up to [transmit]send data via an electronic communication. 
 ([i]12)  "Licensed health care professional" means a 
registered nurse, physician assistant, advanced practice registered 
nurse, or physician licensed by the Utah Department of Commerce 
who has education and experience to assess and evaluate the health 
care needs of the resident. 
 ([j]13)  "Responsible person" means an individual who: 
 ([i]a)  is designated in writing by a resident to receive 
communication on behalf of the resident; or 
 ([ii]b)  a legal representative. 
 ([k]14)  "Self-direct medication administration" means the 
resident can: 
 ([i]a)  recognize medications offered by color or shape; and 
 ([ii]b)  [question]identify and report differences in the usual 
routine of medications. 
 ([l]15)  "Service Plan" means a written plan of care for 
services that meets the requirements of Section R432-270-[13]14. 
 ([m]16)  "Services" means activities[, which] that help the 
residents develop skills to increase or maintain their level of psycho-
social and physical functioning, or, [which]that assists them in 
activities of daily living. 
 ([n]17)  ["Significant change" means a major change in a 
resident's status that is self-limiting or impacts on more than one area 
of the resident's health status.]"Significant assistance" means the 
resident cannot perform any part of an ADL and is dependent upon 
staff or others to accomplish the ADL. 
 ([o]18)  ["Significant assistance" means the resident is 
unable to perform any part of an ADL and is dependent upon staff or 
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others to accomplish the ADL as defined in Subsection R432-270-
3(2)(b).]"Significant change" means a major change in a resident's 
status that is self-limiting or impacts on more than one area of the 
resident's health status. 
 ([p]19)  "Social care" means: 
 ([i]a)  providing opportunities for social interaction in the 
facility or in the community; or 
 ([ii]b)  providing services to promote independence or a 
sense of self-direction. 
 ([q]20)  "Unit" means an individual living space, including 
living and sleeping space, bathroom, and optional kitchen area. 
 ([r]21)  "Vulnerable adult" is defined in Subsection 26B-6-
201(30).[means an elder adult, or a dependent adult who has a mental 
or physical impairment that substantially affects the person's ability 
to: 
 (i)  provide personal protection; 
 (ii)  provide necessities such as food, shelter, clothing, or 
mental or other health care; 
 (iii)  obtain services necessary for health, safety, or welfare; 
 (iv)  carry out the activities of daily living; 
 (v)  manage their own financial resources; or 
 (vi)  comprehend the nature and consequences of remaining 
in a situation of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.] 
 
R432-270-[4]5.  Licensing. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure [A]a person who offers or 
provides care to two or more unrelated individuals in a residential 
facility [must be]is [minimally ]licensed as an assisted living facility 
if: 
 (a)  the individuals stay in the facility for more than 24 
hours; and 
 (b)  the facility provides or arranges for [the provision of 
]assistance with one or more [activity of daily living]ADL for any of 
the individuals. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure [A]an assisted living facility 
[shall be]is licensed as a [T]type I facility if the individuals under 
care are capable of achieving enough mobility [sufficient ]to exit the 
facility without the assistance of another person. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure [A]an assisted living facility 
[shall be]is licensed as a [T]type II facility if the individuals under 
care are capable of achieving mobility enough[sufficient] to exit the 
facility only with the limited assistance of one person. 
 (4)  A [T]type I assisted living facility licensee shall provide 
social care to the individuals under care. 
 (5)  A [T]type II assisted living facility licensee shall 
provide care in a home-like setting that provides an array of 
coordinated supportive personal and health care services available 24 
hours [per]a day to residents who need any of these services as 
required by department rule. 
 (6)  Type I and II assisted living facility[ies] licensees shall 
provide each resident with a separate living unit.  Two residents may 
share a unit upon written request of both residents. 
 (7)  An individual may continue to remain in an assisted 
living facility [provided]if: 
 (a)  the facility construction [can ]meets the individual's 
needs; 
 (b)  the individual's physical and mental needs are 
appropriate to the assisted living criteria; and 
 (c)  the [facility]licensee provides adequate staffing to meet 
the individual's needs. 

 (8)  The licensee shall ensure [A]assisted living facilities 
[shall be]are licensed as one of the following:[large, small or limited 
capacity facilities.] 
 (a)  [A]a large assisted living facility hous[es]ing 17 or 
more residents[.]; 
 (b)  [A]a small assisted living facility hous[es]ing six to 16 
residents[.]; or 
 (c)  [A]a limited capacity assisted living facility 
hous[es]ing two to five residents. 
 
R432-270-[5]6.  Licensee. 
 (1)  The licensee shall: 
 (a)  ensure compliance with [all]each federal, state, and 
local law[s]; 
 (b)  assume responsibility for the overall organization, 
management, operation, and control of the facility; 
 (c)  establish policies and procedures for the welfare of 
residents, the protection of their rights, and the general operation of 
the facility; 
 (d)  implement a policy that ensures the facility does not 
discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, religion, ancestry, or 
national origin in accordance with state and federal law; 
 (e)  secure and update contracts for required services not 
provided directly by the facility; 
 (f)  respond to requests for reports from the [D]department; 
and 
 (g)  appoint, in writing, a qualified administrator who shall 
assume full responsibility for the day-to-day operation and 
management of the facility.  The licensee and administrator may be 
the same person. 
 (2)  The licensee shall implement a quality assurance 
program to include a [Q]quality [A]assurance [C]committee.  The 
committee shall: 
 (a)  consist of at least the facility administrator and a health 
care professional; and 
 (b)  meet at least quarterly to identify and act on quality 
issues. 
 (3)  If the licensee is a corporation or an association, it shall 
maintain an active and functioning governing body to fulfill licensee 
duties and to ensure accountability. 
 
R432-270-[6]7.  Administrator Qualifications. 
 (1)  The administrator shall[ have the following 
qualifications]: 
 (a)  be 21 years of age or older; 
 (b)  [have knowledge of]know applicable laws and rules; 
 (c)  have the ability to deliver, or direct the delivery of, 
appropriate care to residents; 
 (d)  successfully complete the criminal background 
screening process defined in Rule R432-35; and 
 (e)  [for Type II facilities, ]complete a [D]department[ ]-
approved national certification program within six months of hire for 
type II facilities. 
 (2)  [In addition to Subsection R432-270-6(1) t]The 
administrator of a [T]type I facility shall have an associate degree or 
two years experience in a health care facility. 
 (3)  [In addition to Subsection R432-270-6(1) t]The 
administrator of a [T]type II small or limited[-] capacity assisted 
living facility shall have one or more of the following: 
 (a)  an associate degree in a health care field; 
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 (b)  two years or more management experience in a health 
care field; or 
 (c)  one year experience in a health care field as a licensed 
health care professional. 
 (4)  [In addition to Subsection R432-270-6(1) t]The 
administrator of a [T]type II large assisted living facility shall have 
one or more of the following: 
 (a)  a [State of ]Utah health facility administrator license; 
 (b)  a bachelor's degree in a health care field, to include 
management training or one or more years of management 
experience; 
 (c)  a bachelor's degree in any field, to include management 
training or one or more years of management experience and one year 
or more experience in a health care field; or 
 (d)  an associate degree and four years or more 
management experience in a health care field. 
 
R432-270-[7]8.  Administrator Duties. 
 (1)  The administrator shall: 
 (a)  be on the premises [a sufficient]enough [number of 
]hours in the business day, and at other times as necessary, to manage 
and administer the facility; 
 (b)  designate, in writing, a competent employee, 21 years 
of age or older, to act as administrator when the administrator is 
unavailable for immediate contact[.  I] and it is not the intent of this 
subsection to permit a de facto administrator to replace the designated 
administrator[.]; 
[ (2)  The administrator is responsible for the following:] 
 ([a]c)  recruit, employ, and train the number of licensed and 
unlicensed staff needed to provide services; 
 ([b]d)  verify required licenses and permits of staff and 
consultants at the time of hire or the effective date of contract; 
 ([c]e)  maintain facility staffing records for the preceding 
12 months; 
 ([d]f)  admit and retain only those residents who meet 
admissions criteria and whose needs can be met by the facility; 
 ([e]g)  review at least quarterly every injury, accident, and 
incident to a resident or employee and document appropriate 
corrective action; 
 ([f]h)  maintain a log indicating any significant change in a 
resident's condition and the facility's action or response; 
 ([g]i)  complete an investigation when[ever] there is reason 
to believe a resident has been subject to abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation; 
 ([h]k)  report [all]any suspected abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation in accordance with Section 62A-3-305, and document 
appropriate action if the alleged violation is verified; 
 ([i]l)  notify the resident's responsible person within 24 
hours of significant changes or deterioration of the resident's health, 
and ensure the resident's transfer to an appropriate health care facility 
if the resident requires services beyond the scope of the facility's 
license; 
 ([j]m)  conduct and document regular inspections of the 
facility to ensure it is safe from potential hazards; 
 ([k]n)  complete, submit, and file records and reports 
required by the [D]department; 
 ([l]o)  participate in a quality assurance program; and 
 ([m]p)  secure and update contracts for required 
professional and other services not provided directly by the facility. 
 ([3]2)  The licensee shall maintain the administrator's 
responsibilities [shall be included ]in a written and signed job 
description on file in the facility. 

R432-270-[8]9.  Personnel. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure that [Q]qualified [competent 
]direct-care personnel [shall be]are on the premises 24 hours a day to 
meet residents' needs as determined by the residents' assessment and 
service plans.  The licensee shall employ [A]additional staff [shall be 
employed ]as necessary to perform:[ office work, cooking, 
housekeeping, laundering and general maintenance.] 
 (a)  office work; 
 (b)  cooking; 
 (c)  housekeeping; 
 (d)  laundering; and 
 (e)  general maintenance. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure qualified staff perform[The] 
services [provided or arranged by the facility shall be provided by 
qualified persons ]in accordance with the resident's written service 
plan. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure that [P]personnel who 
provide personal care to residents in a [T]type I and [T]type II facility 
[shall be]are at least 18 years of age or may be a certified nurse aide 
in accordance with Section 58-31b-3 and shall have related 
experience or on the job training for[in] the job assigned.[ or receive 
on the job training.] 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure that [P]personnel [shall be]are 
licensed, certified, or registered in accordance with applicable state 
laws. 
 (5)  The administrator shall maintain written job 
descriptions for each position, including job title, job responsibilities, 
qualifications or required skills. 
 (6)  The licensee shall make [F]facility policies and 
procedures [shall be ]available to personnel[ at all times]. 
 (7)  The licensee shall ensure [E]each employee [shall 
]receives documented orientation to the facility for their hired 
position. The licensee shall provide [O]orientation [shall be 
completed ]within 30 days of hire [and ]that includes the following: 
 (a)  job description; 
 (b)  ethics, confidentiality, and residents' rights; 
 (c)  fire and disaster plan; 
 (d)  policy and procedures; 
 (e)  reporting responsibility for abuse, neglect and 
exploitation; and 
 (f)  a [D]department-approved core competency training. 
 (8)  In addition to completing facility orientation and 
demonstration of core competency skills, the licensee shall provide 
each direct-care employee [shall receive]with 16 hours of 
documented one-on-one job training with a direct-care employee, 
with at least [3]three months of experience and who has completed 
orientation, or with the supervising nurse at the facility. Additionally, 
the licensee shall ensure: 
 (a)  [This ]training [is not transferable ]is not transferred to 
another facility and [must ]includes: 
 (i)  transfer assistance and safety; and 
 (ii)  activities of daily living[.]; 
 (b)  [D]direct-care employees hired from a staffing agency 
[must be]are certified nurse aides and are exempt from the 16 hours 
of one-on-one training[.]; and 
 (c)  [E]employees who are certified nurse aides are exempt 
from the 16 hours of one-on-one job training. 
 (9)  The licensee shall ensure [E]each employee [shall 
]receives documented in-service training[.  The] and tailor the 
training [shall be tailored ]to annually include the following subjects 
[that are ]relevant to the employee's job responsibilities: 
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 (a)  principles of good nutrition, menu planning, food 
preparation, and storage; 
 (b)  principles of good housekeeping and sanitation; 
 (c)  principles of providing personal and social care; 
 (d)  proper procedures in assisting residents with 
medications; 
 (e)  recognizing early signs of illness and determining if 
there is a need for professional help; 
 (f)  accident prevention, including safe bath and shower 
water temperatures; 
 (g)  communication skills, [which]that enhance resident 
dignity; 
 (h)  first aid; 
 (i)  resident's rights; 
 (j)  abuse and neglect reporting requirements of Section 
26B-6-205[62A-3-305]; 
 (k)  dementia and Alzheimer's specific training; and 
 (l)  review of core competency training. 
 (10)  The facility administrator shall annually 
[receive]complete a minimum of [4]four hours of core competency 
training that includes [D]dementia and Alzheimer's specific training. 
 (11)  [An employee who reports suspected abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation may not be subject to retaliation, disciplinary action, 
or termination by the facility for that reason alone.]In addition to core 
competency training, the facility administrator shall: 
 (a)  complete a minimum of six hours of approved 
continuing professional education (CPE) annually as follows: 
 (i)  complete a minimum of five hours in person; and 
 (ii)  complete a minimum of one additional hour either in 
person or online; 
 (b)  ensure CPE courses under Subsection (11) are: 
 (i)  approved by the Utah Assisted Living Association 
(UALA), Utah Health Care Association (UHCA), or Beehive Homes; 
or 
 (ii)  require prior approval under Subsection (11)(b)(i) for 
courses offered by other entities or organizations; and 
 (c)  calculate 50 minutes of CPE as one hour. 
 (12)  The licensee shall ensure employees who report 
suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation are not subject to retaliation, 
disciplinary action, or termination by the facility for that reason 
alone. 
 ([12]13)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure [establish ]a 
personnel health program is established through written personnel 
health policies and procedures that protect the health and safety of 
personnel, residents, and the public. 
 ([13]14)  [The facility shall complete an employee 
placement health evaluation to include at least a health inventory 
when an employee is hired.  Facilities may use their own evaluation 
or a Department approved form. 
 (a)  A health inventory shall include at least the employee's 
history of the following: 
 (i)  conditions that may predispose the employee to 
acquiring or transmitting infectious diseases; and 
 (ii)  conditions that may prevent the employee from 
performing certain assigned duties satisfactorily. 
 (b)  The facility shall develop employee health screening 
and immunization components of the personnel health program. 
 (c)  Employee skin testing by the Mantoux Method or other 
FDA approved in-vitro serologic test and follow up for tuberculosis 
shall be done in accordance with Rule R388-804, Special Measures 
for the Control of Tuberculosis. 

 (i)  The licensee shall ensure employees are skin-tested for 
tuberculosis within two weeks of: 
 (A)  initial hiring; 
 (B)  suspected exposure to a person with active 
tuberculosis; and 
 (C)  development of symptoms of tuberculosis. 
 (ii)  Skin testing shall be exempted for employees with 
known positive reaction to skin tests. 
 (d)  Infections and communicable diseases reportable by 
law shall be reported to the local health department in accordance 
with Section R386-702-3.]The licensee shall: 
 (a)  ensure an employee health inventory is completed 
when an employee is hired; 
 (b)  use a department-approved form for the health 
inventory evaluation or their own form if it includes at least the 
employee's history of the following: 
 (i)  conditions that may predispose the employee to 
acquiring or transmitting infectious diseases; and 
 (ii)  conditions that may prevent the employee from 
performing certain assigned duties satisfactorily; 
 (c)  develop an employee health screening and 
immunization components of for its personnel health program; 
 (d)  ensure employee skin testing: 
 (i)  uses the Mantoux Method or other Food and Drug 
Administration, (FDA) approved in-vitro serologic test; and 
 (ii)  perform follow-up procedures for tuberculosis in 
accordance with Rule R388-804, Special Measures for the Control of 
Tuberculosis; 
 (e)  ensure employees are skin-tested for tuberculosis 
within two weeks of: 
 (i)  initial hiring; 
 (ii)  suspected exposure to a person with active 
tuberculosis; and 
 (iii)  development of symptoms of tuberculosis; 
 (f)  report any infections and communicable diseases 
reportable by law to the local health department in accordance with 
Section R386-702-3; and 
 (g)  allow employees with known positive reaction to skin 
tests to be exempt from skin testing. 
 ([14]15)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[develop and 
implement] policies and procedures governing an infection control 
program are developed and implemented to protect residents, family, 
and personnel[; that includes] including appropriate task[ ]-related 
employee infection control procedures and practices. 
 ([15]16)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure compl[y]iance 
with the Occupational Safety and Health Administration's Blood[-
]borne Pathogen Standard. 
 
R432-270-[9]10.  Residents' Rights. 
 (1)  Assisted living [facilities]licensees shall develop a 
written resident's rights statement based on this section. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the administrator or 
designee [shall ]gives [the]each resident a written description of the 
resident's legal rights upon admission, including the following: 
 (a)  a description of the manner of protecting personal 
funds[, in accordance with Section R432-270-20]; and 
 (b)  a statement that the resident may file a complaint with 
the state long[ ]-term care ombudsman and any other advocacy group 
concerning resident abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of resident 
property in the facility. 
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 (3)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the administrator or 
designee [shall ]notif[y]ies the resident or the resident's responsible 
person at the time of admission, in writing and in a language and 
manner that the resident or the resident's responsible person 
understands, of the resident's rights and rules governing resident 
conduct and responsibilities during the stay in the facility. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the administrator or 
designee [shall ]promptly notif[y]ies in writing the resident or the 
resident's responsible person when there is a change in resident rights 
under state law. 
 (5)  The licensee shall ensure [R]resident rights include the 
[following]right to: 
 (a)  [the right to ]be treated with respect, consideration, 
fairness, and full recognition of personal dignity and individuality; 
 (b)  [the right to ]be transferred, discharged, or evicted by 
the facility only in accordance with the terms of the signed admission 
agreement; 
 (c)  [the right to ]be free of mental and physical abuse, and 
chemical and physical restraints; 
 (d)  [the right to ]refuse to perform work for the facility; 
 (e)  [the right to ]perform work for the facility if the facility 
consents and if: 
 (i)  the facility has documented the resident's need or desire 
for work in the service plan; 
 (ii)  the resident agrees to the work arrangement described 
in the service plan; 
 (iii)  the service plan specifies the nature of the work 
performed and whether the services are voluntary or paid; and 
 (iv)  compensation for paid services is at or above the 
prevailing rate for similar work in the surrounding community; 
 (f)  [the right to ]privacy during visits with family, friends, 
clergy, social workers, ombudsmen, resident groups, and advocacy 
representatives; 
 (g)  [the right to ]share a unit with a spouse if both spouses 
consent, and if both spouses are facility residents; 
 (h)  [the right to ]privacy when receiving personal care or 
services; 
 (i)  [the right to ]keep personal possessions and clothing as 
space permits; 
 (j)  [the right to ]participate in religious and social activities 
of the resident's choice; 
 (k)  [the right to ]interact with members of the community 
both inside and outside the facility; 
 (l)  [the right to ]send and receive mail unopened; 
 (m)  [the right to ]have access to telephones to make and 
receive private calls; 
 (n)  [the right to ]arrange for medical and personal care; 
 (o)  [the right to ]have a family member or responsible 
person informed by the facility of significant changes in the resident's 
cognitive, medical, physical, or social condition or needs; 
 (p)  [the right to ]leave the facility at any time and not be 
locked into any room, building, or on the facility premises during the 
day or night: 
 (i)  assisted living [T]type II residents who have been 
assessed to require a secure environment may be housed in a secure 
unit, provided the secure unit is approved by the fire authority having 
jurisdiction; and 
 (ii)  this right does not prohibit the locking of facility 
entrance doors if egress is maintained; 
 (q)  [the right to ]be informed of complaint or grievance 
procedures and to voice grievances and recommend changes in 

policies and services to facility staff or outside representatives 
without restraint, discrimination, or reprisal; 
 (r)  [the right to ]be encouraged and assisted throughout the 
period of a stay to exercise these rights as a resident and as a citizen; 
 (s)  [the right to ]manage and control personal funds, or to 
be given an accounting of personal funds entrusted to the facility, as 
provided in Section R432-270-20 concerning management of 
resident funds; 
 (t)  [the right, ]upon oral or written request, to access within 
24 hours records pertaining to the resident, including clinical records; 
 (u)  [the right, ]two working days after the day of the 
resident's oral or written request, to purchase at a cost not to exceed 
the community standard photocopies of the resident's records or any 
portion thereof; 
 (v)  [the right to ]personal privacy and confidentiality of 
personal and clinical records; 
 (w)  [the right to ]be fully informed in advance about care 
and treatment and of any changes in that care or treatment that may 
affect the resident's well-being; and 
 (x)  [the right to ]be fully informed in a language and in a 
manner the resident understands of the resident's health status and 
health rights, including the following: 
 (i)  medical condition; 
 (ii)  the right to refuse treatment; 
 (iii)  the right to formulate an advance directive in 
accordance with Title 75, Chapter 2a, Advance Health Care Directive 
Act; and 
 (iv)  the right to refuse to participate in experimental 
research. 
 (6)  The licensee shall ensure the following items [must be 
posted]are posted in a public area of the facility that is easily 
accessible and visible by residents and the public: 
 (a)  the long[ ]-term care ombudsmen's notification poster; 
 (b)  information on Utah protection and advocacy systems; 
and 
 (c)  a copy of the resident's rights. 
 (7)  [The facility shall have available in a public area of the 
facility the results of the current survey of the facility and any plans 
of correction.]The licensee shall make the results of the current 
facility survey with any plans of correction available in a public area 
of the facility. 
 (8)(a)  A resident may organize and participate in resident 
groups in the facility, and a resident's family may meet in the facility 
with the families of other residents. 
 ([a]b)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[provide] private 
space is provided for resident groups or family groups. 
 ([b]c)  Facility personnel or visitors may attend resident 
group or family group meetings only at the group's invitation. 
 ([c]d)  The administrator shall designate an employee to 
provide assistance and [to ]respond to written requests that result 
from group meetings. 
 
R432-270-[10]11.  Admissions. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall have written admission, 
retention, and transfer policies that are available to the public upon 
request. 
 (2)  Before accepting a resident, the [facility]licensee shall 
ensure [obtain sufficient]enough information is obtained about the 
person's ability to function in the facility through the following: 
 (a)  an interview with the resident and the resident's 
responsible person; and 
 (b)  the completion of the resident assessment. 
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 (3)  If the [D]department determines during inspection or 
interview that the facility knowingly and willfully admits or retains 
residents who do not meet license criteria, then the [D]department 
may, for a time period specified, require that resident assessments be 
conducted by an individual who is independent from the facility. 
 (4)  A [T]type I [facility]licensee: 
 (a)  shall accept and retain residents who meet the 
following criteria: 
 (i)  are ambulatory or mobile and are capable of taking life[ 
]-saving action in an emergency without the assistance of another 
person; 
 (ii)  have stable health; 
 (iii)  require no assistance or only limited assistance [in the 
activities of daily living (ADL)]with ADLs; and 
 (iv)  do not require total assistance from staff or others with 
more than three ADLs[.] and 
 (b)  may accept and retain residents who meet the following 
criteria: 
 (i)  are cognitively impaired or physically disabled but able 
to evacuate from the facility without the assistance of another person; 
and 
 (ii)  require and receive intermittent care or treatment in the 
facility from a licensed health care professional either through 
contract or by the facility, if permitted by facility policy. 
 (5)  A [T]type II [facility]licensee may accept and retain 
residents who meet the following criteria: 
 (a)  require total assistance from staff or others in more than 
three ADLs, provided that: 
 (i)  the staffing level and coordinated supportive health and 
social services meet the needs of the resident; and 
 (ii)  the resident is capable of evacuating the facility with 
the limited assistance of one person. 
 (b)  are physically disabled but able to direct their own care; 
or 
 (c)  are cognitively impaired or physically disabled but able 
to evacuate from the facility with the limited assistance of one person. 
 (6)  Type I and [T]type II assisted living [facilities]licensees 
may not admit or retain a person who: 
 (a)  manifests behavior that is suicidal, sexually or socially 
inappropriate, assaultive, or poses a danger to self or others; 
 (b)  has active tuberculosis or other chronic communicable 
diseases that cannot be treated in the facility or on an outpatient basis; 
or may be transmitted to other residents or guests through the normal 
course of activities; or 
 (c)  requires inpatient hospital, long-term nursing care or 
24-hour continual nursing care that will last longer than 15 calendar 
days after the day that the nursing care begins. 
 (7)  Type I and [T]type II assisted living [facilities]licensees 
may not deny an individual admission to the facility for the sole 
reason that the individual or the individual's legal representative 
requests to install or operate a monitoring device in the individual's 
room in accordance with Title 26, Chapter 21, Part 304, Monitoring 
Device -- Facility admission, patient discharge, and posted notice. 
 (8)  The licensee shall ensure [T]the prospective resident or 
the prospective resident's responsible person [shall ]signs a written 
admission agreement [prior to]before admission.  The licensee shall 
maintain the admission agreement [shall be kept ]on file [by the 
facility ]and shall specify at least the following: 
 (a)  room and board charges and charges for basic and 
optional services; 
 (b)  provision for a 30-day notice [prior to]before any 
change in established charges; 

 (c)  admission, retention, transfer, discharge, and eviction 
policies; 
 (d)  conditions when the agreement may be terminated; 
 (e)  the name of the responsible party; 
 (f)  notice that the [D]department has the authority to 
examine resident records to determine compliance with licensing 
requirements; and 
 (g)  refund [provisions ]procedures that address the 
following: 
 (i)  thirty-day notices for transfer or discharge given by the 
facility or by the resident[,]; 
 (ii)  emergency transfers or discharges; 
 (iii)  transfers or discharges without notice; and 
 (iv)  the death of a resident. 
 (9)  A type I assisted living [facility]licensee may accept 
and retain residents who have been admitted to a hospice program, 
under the following conditions: 
 (a)  the [facility]licensee keeps a copy of the physician's 
diagnosis and orders for care; 
 (b)  the [facility]licensee makes the hospice services part of 
the resident's service plan that shall explain who is responsible to 
meet the resident's needs; and 
 (c)  a [facility]licensee may retain hospice patient residents 
who are not capable of exiting the facility without assistance with the 
following conditions: 
 (i)  [the facility shall assure that ]a worker or an individual 
is assigned solely to each specific hospice patient and is on-site to 
assist the resident in emergency evacuation 24 hours a day, seven 
days a week; 
 (ii)  [the facility shall train ]the assigned worker or 
individual is trained to specifically assist in the emergency 
evacuation of the assigned hospice patient resident; 
 (iii)  the worker or individual [shall be]is physically capable 
of providing emergency evacuation assistance to the particular 
hospice patient resident; and 
 (iv)  hospice residents who are not capable of exiting the 
facility without assistance comprise no more than 25[ ]% of the 
facility's resident census. 
 (10)  A type II assisted living [facility]licensee may accept 
and retain hospice patient residents under the following conditions: 
 (a)  the [facility]licensee keeps a copy of the physician's 
diagnosis and orders for care; 
 (b)  the [facility]licensee makes the hospice services part of 
the resident's service plan that [shall ]explains who is responsible to 
meet the resident's needs; and 
 (c)  if the hospice patient resident cannot evacuate the 
facility without significant assistance, the [facility]licensee shall: 
 (i)  develop an emergency plan to evacuate the hospice 
resident in the event of an emergency; and 
 (ii)  integrate the emergency plan into the resident's service 
plan. 
 
R432-270-[11]12.  Transfer or Discharge Requirements. 
 (1)  The licensee[A resident] may [be ]discharge[d], 
transfer[red], or evict[ed] a resident for one or more of the following 
reasons: 
 (a)  [the facility is no longer able to meet the resident's 
needs because the resident poses a threat to health or safety to self or 
others, or the facility is not able to provide required medical 
treatment;]the resident's needs are no longer able to be met because 
the resident poses a threat to the health or safety to self or others, or 
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the resident's required medical treatment is no longer able to be 
provided; 
 (b)  the resident fails to pay for services as required by the 
admission agreement; 
 (c)  the resident fails to comply with written policies or 
rules of the facility; 
 (d)  the resident wishes to transfer; or 
 (e)  the facility ceases to operate. 
 (2)  [Prior to the facility initiating a transfer or discharge of 
a resident]Before a resident transfer or discharge is initiated, the 
[facility]licensee shall ensure [serve ]a transfer or discharge notice is 
served upon the resident and the resident's responsible person. Before 
a resident transfer or discharge is initiated, the licensee shall: 
 (a)  [The ]ensure the notice [shall be]is delivered either by 
hand[-delivered] or [sent ]by certified mail[.]; and 
 (b)  [The ]ensure the notice [shall be made]is served at least 
30 days before the day [that the facility plans to]of planned resident 
transfer or discharge[ the resident], unless[;] notice for a shorter 
period of time is necessary to protect: 
 (i)  the safety of individuals in the facility from 
endangerment due to the medical or behavioral status of the resident; 
 (ii)  the health of the individuals in the facility from 
endangerment due to the resident's continued residency; 
 (iii)  an immediate transfer or discharge is required by the 
resident's urgent medical needs; or 
 (iv)  the resident has not resided in the facility for at least 
30 days. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure that the notice of transfer or 
discharge[ shall]: 
 (a)  [be]is in writing with a copy placed in the resident file; 
 (b)  [be]is phrased in a manner and in a language that is 
most likely to be understood by the resident and the resident's 
responsible person; 
 (c)  details the reasons for transfer or discharge; 
 (d)  states the effective date of transfer or discharge; 
 (e)  states the location where the resident will be transferred 
or discharged, if known; 
 (f)  states that the resident may request a conference to 
discuss the transfer or discharge; and 
 (g)  contains the following information: 
 (i)  the name, mailing address, email address, and telephone 
number of the [S]state [L]long [T]term [C]care [O]ombudsman; 
 (ii)  for facility residents with developmental disabilities, 
the mailing address and telephone number of the agency responsible 
for the protection and advocacy of developmentally disabled 
individuals established under the Developmental Disabilities 
Assistance and Bill of Rights Act, Part C; and 
 (iii)  for facility residents who are mentally ill, the mailing 
address and telephone number of the agency responsible for the 
protection and advocacy of mentally ill individuals established under 
the Protection and Advocacy for Mentally Ill Individuals Act. 
 (4)  The [facility]licensee shall: 
 ([i]a)  update the transfer or discharge notice as soon as 
practicable before the transfer or discharge if information in the 
notice changes before the transfer or discharge; 
 ([ii]b)  [orally]verbally explain to the resident, the services 
available through the ombudsman and the contact information for the 
ombudsman; and 
 ([iii]c)  send a copy[, in English,] of the notice described in 
Subsection R432-270-12(2) to the [S]state [L]long- [T]term [C]care 
[O]ombudsman: 

 ([A]i)  on the same day that the facility delivers the notice 
described in Subsection R432-270-12(2) to the resident and the 
resident's responsible person; and 
 ([B]ii)  provide the notice described in Subsection R432-
270-12(2) at least 30 days before the day that the resident is 
transferred or discharged, unless notice for a shorter period[ of time] 
is necessary to protect the safety of individuals in the facility from 
endangerment due to the medical or behavioral status of the resident. 
 (5)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[provide and 
document] the [provisions of ]preparation and orientation is provided 
and documented, in a language and manner the resident is most likely 
to understand, for a resident to ensure a safe and orderly transfer or 
discharge from the facility. 
 (6)(a)  The resident or the resident's responsible person may 
contest a transfer or discharge.  If the transfer or discharge is 
contested, the [facility]licensee shall provide an informal conference, 
except where undue delay might jeopardize the health, safety, or 
well-being of the resident or others. 
 ([a]b)  The resident or the resident's responsible person 
shall request the conference within five calendar days of the day of 
receipt of notice of discharge to determine if a satisfactory resolution 
can be reached. 
 ([b]c)  Participants in the conference shall include the 
facility representatives, the resident or the resident's responsible 
person, and any others requested by the resident or the resident's 
responsible person. 
 (7)  In the event of a facility closure, the licensee shall 
provide written notification of the closure to the [S]state [L]long- 
[T]term [C]care [O]ombudsman, each resident of the facility, and 
each resident's responsible person. 
 (8)  The [facility]licensee may not discharge a resident for 
the sole reason that the resident or the resident's legal representative 
requests to install or operate a monitoring device in the individual's 
room in accordance with [Chapter 26, Title 21, Part 304]Section 26B-
2-236 Monitoring Device -- [Facility admission, patient discharge, 
and posted notice.]Installation, notice, and consent--Liability. 
 
R432-270-[12]13.  Resident Assessment. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure a[A] signed and dated 
resident assessment is completed[shall be completed on] for each 
resident [prior to]before admission and at least every six months 
thereafter. 
 (2)  In [T]type I and [T]type II facilities, a licensed health 
care professional shall complete and sign the initial and six-month 
resident assessment.[ shall be completed and signed by a licensed 
health care professional.] 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure that the resident assessment:[ 
must accurately reflect the resident's status at the time of assessment.] 
 (a)  accurately reflects the resident's status at the time of 
assessment; and 
 ([4]b)  [The resident assessment must ]includes a statement 
signed by the licensed health care professional completing the 
resident assessment that the resident meets the admission and level 
of assistance criteria for the facility. 
 ([5]4)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure [use a]the resident 
assessment form [that ]is approved and reviewed by the 
[D]department to document the resident assessments. 
 ([6]5)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[revise and 
update] each resident's assessment is revised and updated when there 
is a significant change in the resident's cognitive, medical, physical, 
or social condition and update the resident's service plan to reflect the 
change in condition. 
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R432-270-[13]14.  Service Plan. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure that e[E]ach resident [shall 
have]has an individualized service plan that is consistent with the 
resident's unique cognitive, medical, physical, and social needs, and 
is developed within seven calendar days of the day the facility admits 
the resident.  The [facility]licensee shall ensure [periodically revise 
]the service plan is periodically revised as needed. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure [use ]the resident 
assessment is used to develop, review, and revise the service plan for 
each resident. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure that the service plan [shall 
]includes a written description of the following: 
 (a)  [what services are]the services to be provided; 
 (b)  who will provide the services, including the resident's 
significant others who may participate in the delivery of services; 
 (c)  how the services are provided; 
 (d)  the frequency of services; and 
 (e)  changes in services and reasons for those changes. 
 
R432-270-[14]15.  Nursing Services. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[develop] written 
policies and procedures are developed defining the level of nursing 
services provided by the facility. 
 (2)  A [T]type I assisted living [facility]licensee shall 
employ or contract with a registered nurse to provide or delegate 
medication administration for any resident who [is unable]cannot to 
self-medicate or self-direct medication management. 
 (3)  A [T]type II assisted living [facility]licensee shall 
employ or contract with a registered nurse to provide or supervise 
nursing services to include: 
 (a)  a nursing assessment on each resident; 
 (b)  general health monitoring on each resident; and 
 (c)  routine nursing tasks, including those that may be 
delegated to unlicensed assistive personnel in accordance with 
Section R156-31B-701. 
 (4)  A [T]type I assisted living [facility]licensee may 
provide nursing care according to facility policy.  If a [T]type I 
assisted living facility chooses to provide nursing services, the 
nursing services shall be provided in accordance with Subsections 
R432-270-15(3)(a) through (c). 
 (5)  Type I and [T]type II assisted living [facilities]licensees 
may not provide skilled nursing care, but shall assist the resident in 
obtaining required services.  To determine whether a nursing service 
is skilled, the following criteria shall apply: 
 (a)  the complexity or specialized nature of the prescribed 
services can be safely or effectively performed only by, or under the 
close supervision of licensed health care professional personnel; or 
 (b)  care is needed to prevent, to the extent possible, 
deterioration of a condition or to sustain current capacities of a 
resident. 
 (6)  At least one certified nurse aide [must]shall be on duty 
in a [T]type II facility 24 hours [per]a day. 
 
R432-270-[15]16.  Secure Units. 
 (1)  A [T]type II assisted living [facility]licensee with 
approved secure units may admit residents with a diagnosis of 
Alzheimer's or dementia if the resident [is able to]can exit the facility 
with limited assistance from one person. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure that e[E]ach resident admitted 
to a secure unit [must have ]has an admission agreement that 
indicates placement in the secure unit. The licensee shall ensure the 
secure admission agreement: 

 (a)  [The secure unit admission agreement must ]documents 
that a wander risk management agreement has been negotiated with 
the resident or resident's responsible person[.]; and 
 (b)  [The secure unit admission agreement must 
]identif[y]ies discharge criteria that would initiate a transfer of the 
resident to a higher level of care than the assisted living facility [is 
able to]can provide. 
 (3)  In addition to completing the facility orientation and 
demonstration of core competency skills, the licensee shall ensure 
each direct-care employee in the secure unit is provided[shall 
receive] a minimum of four hours of the 16 required hours of 
documented one-on-one job training in the secure unit. 
 (4)  There licensee shall ensure that there is [shall be ]at 
least one direct-care staff in the secure unit [at all times]continuously. 
 (5)  The licensee shall provide an emergency evacuation 
plan on each secure unit that addresses the ability of the secure unit 
staff to evacuate the residents in case of emergency.[Each secure unit 
shall have an emergency evacuation plan that addresses the ability of 
the secure unit staff to evacuate the residents in case of emergency.] 
 
R432-270-[16]17.  Arrangements for Medical or Dental Care. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[assist] residents are 
assisted in arranging access for ancillary services for medically 
related care including:[ physician, dentist, pharmacist, therapy, 
podiatry, hospice, home health, and other services necessary to 
support the resident.] 
 (a)  physician; 
 (b)  dentist; 
 (c)  pharmacist; 
 (d)  therapy; 
 (e)  podiatry; 
 (f)  hospice; 
 (g)  home health; and 
 (h)  other services necessary to support the resident. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[arrange for] care 
through one or more of the following methods is arranged: 
 (a)  notifying the resident's responsible person; 
 (b)  arranging for transportation to and from the 
practitioner's office; or 
 (c)  arrange for a home visit by a health care professional. 
 (3)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[notify] a physician 
or other health care professional is notified when the resident requires 
immediate medical attention. 
 
R432-270-[17]18.  Activity Program. 
 (1)  The licensee shall ensure r[R]esidents [shall be 
encouraged ]are encouraged to maintain and develop their fullest 
potential for independent living through participation in activity and 
recreational programs. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[provide] 
opportunities for the following are provided: 
 (a)  socialization activities; 
 (b)  independent living activities to foster and maintain 
independent functioning; 
 (c)  physical activities; and 
 (d)  community activities to promote resident participation 
in activities away from the facility. 
 (3)  The administrator shall designate an activity 
coordinator to direct the facility's activity program.  The activity 
coordinator's duties include the following: 
 (a)  coordinate recreational activities, including volunteer 
and auxiliary activities; 
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 (b)  plan, organize, and conduct the residents' activity 
program with resident participation; and 
 (c)  develop and post monthly activity calendars, including 
information on community activities, based on residents' needs and 
interests. 
 (4)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[provide sufficient] 
enough equipment, supplies, and indoor and outdoor space to meet 
the recreational needs and interests of residents are provided. 
 (5)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[provide] storage for 
recreational equipment and supplies is provided.  The licensee shall 
ensure [L]locked storage [shall be]is provided for potentially 
dangerous items such as scissors, knives, and toxic materials. 
 
R432-270-[18]19.  Medication Administration. 
 (1)  A licensed health care professional shall assess each 
resident to determine what level and type of assistance is required for 
medication administration.  The health care professional shall 
document t[T]he level and type of assistance the health care 
professional provides[provided shall be documented] in[on] each 
resident's assessment. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure each resident's medication 
program is administered by one of the methods described 
Subsections R432-270-19(2) through (9).[Each resident's medication 
program shall be administered by means of one of the methods 
described in Subsections (2)(a) through (f):] 
[ (a)  The resident is able to self-administer medications.] 
 [(i)  Residents who have been assessed to be able to self- 
administer medications](3)  A resident assessed to be able to self-
administer medication may keep prescription medications in their 
room[s]. 
 [(ii)](4)  If more than one resident resides in a unit, the 
[facility]licensee shall ensure [assess ]each person's ability is 
assessed to safely have medications in the unit.  If safety is a factor, 
the licensee shall ensure a resident stores their [shall keep his 
]medication in a locked container in the unit. 
 [(b)](5)(a)  [The resident is]A resident may be assessed to 
be able to self-direct medication administration.[  Facility staff may 
assist residents who self-direct medication administration by:] 
 (b)  Facility staff may assist a resident assessed to self-
direct medication by: 
 (i)  reminding the resident to take the medication; 
 (ii)  opening medication containers; and 
 (iii)  reminding the resident or the resident's responsible 
person when the prescription needs to be refilled. 
 ([c]6)(a)  A resident may be assessed to allow [F]family 
members or a designated responsible person [may]to administer 
medications.[  If a family member or designated responsible person 
assists with medication administration, they shall sign a waiver 
indicating that they agree to assume the responsibility to fill 
prescriptions, administer medication, and document that the 
medication has been administered.  Facility staff may not serve as the 
designated responsible person.] 
 (b)  If a family member or designated responsible person 
assists with medication administration, the licensee shall ensure they 
sign a waiver indicating that they agree to assume the responsibility 
to fill prescriptions, administer medication, and document that the 
medication has been administered. 
 (c)  Facility staff may not serve as the designated 
responsible person. 
 [(d)](7)(a)  A resident may be assessed as [For residents 
who are ]unable to self-administer or self-direct medications.[, 

facility staff may administer medications only after delegation by a 
licensed health care professional under the scope of their practice.] 
 (b)  Facility staff may administer medications only after 
delegation by a licensed health care professional under the scope of 
their practice. 
 ([i]c)  If a licensed health care professional delegates the 
task of medication administration to unlicensed assistive personnel, 
the licensee shall ensure the delegation [shall be]is in accordance 
with Title 58, Chapter 31b, Nurse Practice Act and Section R156-
31B-701. 
 ([ii]d)  The licensee shall ensure medications are 
administered[must be administered] according to the prescribing 
order. 
 ([iii]e)  The delegating authority shall provide and 
document supervision, evaluation, and training of unlicensed 
assistive personnel assisting with medication administration. 
 ([iv]f)  The delegating authority or another registered nurse 
shall be readily available either in person or by telecommunication. 
 ([e]8)  A [R]resident[s] may independently administer their 
own personal injections if they have been assessed to be independent 
in that process. This may be done in conjunction with the 
administration of medication in methods Subsections R432-270-
19(3) through (6).[(2)(a) through (d).] 
 ([f]9)  [h]Home health or hospice agency staff may provide 
medication administration to facility residents exclusively, or in 
conjunction with Subsections R432-270-19(2)[(a)] through (9)[(e)]. 
 ([3]10)  The [facility]licensee shall [have]ensure a licensed 
health care professional or licensed pharmacist reviews resident 
medications at least every six months. 
 ([4]11)  The licensee shall ensure that m[M]edication 
records [shall ]include the following: 
 (a)  the resident's name; 
 (b)  the name of the prescribing practitioner; 
 (c)  medication name including prescribed dosage; 
 (d)  the time, dose, and dates administered; 
 (e)  the method of administration; 
 (f)  signatures of personnel administering the medication; 
and 
 (g)  the review date. 
 ([5]12)(a)  The licensee shall ensure that a licensed health 
care professional or licensed pharmacist [shall ]documents any 
change in the dosage or schedule of medication in the medication 
record.[  When changes in the medication are documented by the 
facility staff the licensed health care professional shall co-sign within 
72 hours.  The licensed health care professional shall notify 
unlicensed assistive personnel who administer medications of the 
medication change.] 
 (b)  When the facility staff documents changes in the 
medication, the licensed health care professional shall co-sign within 
72 hours. 
 (c)  The licensee shall ensure that the licensed health care 
professional notifies unlicensed assistive personnel who administer 
medications of the medication change. 
 ([6]13)  The [facility]licensee shall have access to a 
reference for possible reactions and precautions for prescribed 
medications in the facility. 
 ([7]14)  The [facility]licensee shall [notify]ensure the 
licensed health care professional is notified when medication errors 
occur. 
 ([8]15)  The licensee shall ensure that m[M]edication error 
incident reports [shall be]are completed if a medication error occurs 
or is identified. 
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 ([9]16)  The licensee shall incorporate m[M]edication 
errors [must be incorporated ]into the facility quality improvement 
process. 
 ([10]17)  The licensee shall ensure that m[M]edications 
stored in a central storage area [shall be]are: 
 (a)  locked to prevent unauthorized access; and 
 (b)  available for the resident to have timely access to the 
medication. 
 ([11]18)  The licensee shall ensure m[M]edications that 
require refrigeration [shall be stored]are stored separately from food 
items and at temperatures between 36 - 46 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 ([12]19)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[develop and 
implement] policies governing the following are developed and 
implemented[;]: 
 (a)  security and disposal of controlled substances by the 
licensee or facility staff that are consistent with the [provisions of 
]Code of Federal Regulations, Title 21, Chapter II, Part 1307; and 
 (b)  destruction and disposal of unused, outdated, or 
recalled medications. 
 ([13]20)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[document] the 
return of resident's medication to the resident or to the resident's 
responsible person is documented upon discharge. 
 
R432-270-[19]20.  Management of Resident Funds. 
 (1)  Residents have the right to manage and control their 
financial affairs.  The [facility]licensee may not require a 
resident[residents] to deposit their personal funds or valuables with 
the facility. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee is not required to handle a 
resident's[residents'] cash resources or valuables.  However, upon 
written authorization by the resident or the resident's responsible 
person, the facility may hold, safeguard, manage, and account for the 
resident's personal funds or valuables deposited with the facility, in 
accordance with [the following:]this section. 
 ([a]3)  The licensee shall establish and maintain, on the 
resident's[residents'] behalf, a system that [assures]ensures a full, 
complete, and separate accounting according to generally accepted 
accounting principles of each resident's personal funds entrusted to 
the facility.  The system shall: 
 ([i]a)  preclude any commingling of resident funds with 
facility funds or with the funds of any person other than another 
resident, and preclude facility personnel from using a resident's['] 
[monies]funds or valuables as their own; 
 ([ii]b)  separate a resident's['] [monies]funds and valuables 
intact and free from any liability that the licensee incurs in the use of 
its own or the facility's funds and valuables; 
 ([iii]c)  maintains a separate account for resident funds for 
each facility and does not commingle such funds with resident funds 
from another facility; 
 ([iv]d)  for records of a resident's[residents'] [monies]funds 
that are maintained as a drawing account, include a control account 
for receipts and expenditures and an account for each resident and 
supporting receipts filed in chronological order; 
 ([v]e)  keep each account with columns for debits, credits, 
and balance; and 
 ([vi]f)  include a copy of the receipt that it furnished to the 
resident[s] for funds received and other valuables entrusted to the 
licensee for safekeeping. 
 ([b]4)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[make] individual 
financial records are made available on request through quarterly 
statements to the resident or the resident's legal representative. 

 ([c]5)  The [facility]licensee shall purchase a surety bond 
or otherwise provide assurance satisfactory to the [D]department that 
resident personal funds deposited with the facility are secure. 
 ([d]6)  [The facility shall deposit, within five days of 
receipt, resident monies that are in excess of $150 in an interest-
bearing bank account, that is separate from any of the facility's 
operating accounts, in a local financial institution. 
 (i)  Interest earned on a resident's bank account shall be 
credited to the resident's account. 
 (ii)  In pooled accounts, there shall be a separate accounting 
for each resident's share, including interest. 
 (e)  The facility shall maintain a resident's personal funds 
that do not exceed $150 in a non-interest-bearing account, interest-
bearing account, or petty cash fund.]The licensee shall ensure: 
 (a)  resident funds over $150 are deposited within five days 
of receipt in an interest-bearing bank account at a local financial 
institution separate from any of the facility's operating accounts; 
 (b)  interest earned on a resident's bank account is credited 
to the resident's account; 
 (c)  each resident's share, including interest, has separate 
accounting in pooled accounts; and 
 (d)  resident personal funds that do not exceed $150 are 
kept in either a non-interest-bearing account, an interest-bearing 
account, or a petty cash fund. 
 ([f]7)  Upon discharge of a resident[resident] with funds or 
valuables deposited with the facility, the [facility]licensee shall 
ensure [that day convey ]the resident's funds are conveyed the same 
day, and a final accounting of those funds[,] provided to the resident 
or the resident's legal representative.[ Funds and valuables kept in an 
interest-bearing account shall be accounted for and made available 
within three working days.] 
 (8)  Upon discharge of a resident with funds or valuables 
kept in an interest-bearing account, the licensee shall ensure the funds 
or valuables are accounted for and made available to the resident or 
resident's legal representative within three working days. 
 ([g]9)  Within 30 days following the death of a resident, 
except in a medical examiner case, the [facility]licensee shall ensure 
[convey ]the resident's valuables and funds entrusted to the facility 
are conveyed, and a final accounting of those funds, to the individual 
administering the resident's estate. 
 
R432-270-[20]21.  [Facility ]Records. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall [maintain]ensure accurate 
and complete records are maintained.  The licensee shall safely 
[Records shall be ]file[d,] and store[d safely,] records and [be]ensure 
they remain easily accessible to staff and the [D]department. 
 (2)  The licensee shall ensure records [Records shall be 
protected]are protected against access by unauthorized individuals. 
 (3)  The [facility]licensee shall [maintain]ensure personnel 
records are maintained for each employee and [shall]are retained 
[such records ]for at least three years following termination of 
employment.  The licensee shall ensure [P]personnel records [must 
]include the following: 
 (a)  employee application; 
 (b)  date of employment; 
 (c)  termination date; 
 (d)  reason for leaving; 
 (e)  documentation of CPR and first aid training; 
 (f)  health inventory; 
 (g)  food handlers permits; 
 (h)  TB skin test documentation; 
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 (i)  documentation of criminal background screening; and 
 (j)  documentation of core competency initial and annual 
training. 
 (4)  The [facility]licensee shall [maintain in the 
facility]ensure a separate record for each resident is maintained at the 
facility that includes the following: 
 (a)  the resident's name, date of birth, and last address; 
 (b)  the name, address, and telephone number of:[ the 
person who administers and obtains medications, if this person is not 
facility staff;] 
 ([c]i)  [the name, address, and telephone number of the 
individual to be notified in case of accident or death;]the person who 
administers and obtains medications, if this person is not facility 
staff; 
 ([d]ii)  [the name, address, and telephone number of a 
physician and dentist to be called in an emergency;]the individual to 
be notified in case of accident or death; and 
 (iii)  a physician and dentist to be called in an emergency; 
 ([e]c)  the admission agreement; 
 ([f]d)  the resident assessment; and 
 ([g]e)  the resident service plan. 
 (5)  The licensee shall retain resident records [Resident 
records must be retained ]for at least three years following discharge. 
 (6)  [There shall be]The licensee shall ensure written 
incident and injury reports are maintained to document 
[consumer]resident death, injuries, elopement, fights or physical 
confrontations, situations that require the use of passive physical 
restraint, suspected abuse or neglect, and other situations or 
circumstances affecting the health, safety, or well-being of residents.  
The licensee shall ensure [T]the reports [shall be]are kept on file for 
at least three years. 
 
R432-270-[21]22.  Food Services. 
 (1)  [Facilities]The licensee shall ensure:[have the 
capability to provide three meals a day, seven days a week, to 
residents, plus snacks.] 
 (a)  residents are provided three meals a day, seven days a 
week, plus snacks; 
 ([a]b)  [The facility shall maintain onsite ]a one-week 
supply of nonperishable food and a three[ ]-day supply of perishable 
food is maintained, as required to prepare the planned menus[.]; 
 ([b]c)  [There shall be ]no more than a 14[ ]-hour interval 
occurs between the evening meal and breakfast, unless a nutritious 
snack is available in the evening[.]; and 
 ([c]d)  [The facility ]food service [shall ]compl[y]ies with 
the following: 
 (i)  [F]food [shall be]is of good quality and [shall be]is 
prepared by methods that [conserve]retain nutritive value, flavor, and 
appearance[.]; 
 (ii)  [The facility shall ensure ]food is palatable, attractively 
served, and delivered to the resident at the appropriate temperature[.]; 
and 
 (iii)  [P]powdered milk may only be used as a beverage, 
upon the resident's request, but may be used in cooking and baking. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee shall [provide]ensure adaptive 
eating equipment and utensils are provided for residents as needed. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure a[A] different menu [shall 
be]is planned and followed for each day of the week[.] and that: 
 (a)  a certified dietitian approves and signs any 
menu;[Menus must be approved and signed by a certified dietitian.] 
 (b)  a c[C]ycle menu[s shall] covers a minimum of three 
weeks[.]; 

 (c)  [T]the current week's menu [shall be]is posted for 
resident[s'] viewing[.]; and 
 (d)  any s[S]ubstitution[s] to the menu that are actually 
served to a resident is[the residents shall be] recorded and retained 
for three months for review by the [D]department. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure meals [Meals shall be 
served]are served in a designated dining area suitable for that purpose 
or in resident rooms upon request by the resident. 
 (5)  The licensee shall ensure each resident [Residents shall 
be encouraged]is encouraged to eat their meals in the dining room 
with other residents. 
 (6)  The licensee shall ensure any i[I]nspection report[s] by 
the local health department [shall be]are maintained at the facility for 
review by the [D]department. 
 (7)  If [the facility admits ]a resident[residents] is admitted 
requiring a therapeutic or special diet[s], the [facility]licensee shall 
[have]ensure there is an approved dietary manual for reference when 
preparing meals. The licensee shall ensure [D]dietitian consultation 
[shall be]is provided at least quarterly and documented for any 
resident[residents] requiring a therapeutic diet[s]. 
 (8)(a)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure [employ ]food 
service personnel are employed to meet the needs of residents. 
 ([a]b)  While on duty in food service, the cook and other 
kitchen staff may not be assigned concurrent duties outside the food 
service area. 
 ([b]c)  The licensee shall ensure [P]personnel who prepare 
or serve food [shall ]have a current [F]food [H]handler's [P]permit. 
 (9)  The licensee shall ensure[Food service shall] 
compl[y]iance with the Rule R392-100, Food Service Sanitation. 
 (10)  If food service personnel also work in housekeeping 
or provide direct resident care, the [facility]licensee shall [develop 
and implement]ensure employee hygiene and infection control 
measures are developed and implemented to maintain a safe, sanitary 
food service. 
 
R432-270-[22]23.  Housekeeping Services. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall employ housekeeping staff 
to maintain both the exterior and interior of the facility. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee shall designate a person to direct 
housekeeping services[.  This person] who shall: 
 (a)  post routine laundry, maintenance, and cleaning 
schedules for housekeeping staff; and 
 (b)  ensure furniture, bedding, linens, and equipment are 
clean before use by another resident. 
 (3)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure control odors by 
maintaining cleanliness. 
 (4)  The[re] licensee shall provide[ shall be] a trash 
container in every occupied room. 
 (5)  The licensee shall ensure c[C]leaning agents, bleaches, 
insecticides, or poisonous, dangerous, or flammable materials [shall 
be stored]are stored in a locked area to prevent unauthorized access. 
 (6)  The licensee shall ensure h[H]ousekeeping personnel 
are trained regarding:[shall be trained in preparing and using cleaning 
solutions, cleaning procedures, proper use of equipment, proper 
handling of clean and soiled linen, and procedures for disposal of 
solid waste.] 
 (a)  preparing and using cleaning solutions; 
 (b)  cleaning procedures; 
 (c)  proper use of equipment; 
 (d)  proper handling of clean and soiled linen; and 
 (e)  procedures for disposal of waste. 
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 (7)  The licensee shall ensure [B]bathtubs, shower stalls, or 
lavatories [may]are not [be ]used as storage places. 
 (8)  The licensee shall ensure [T]throw or scatter rugs that 
present a tripping hazard to residents [are not permitted]are not used. 
 
R432-270-[23]24.  Laundry Services. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure:[provide laundry 
services to meet the needs of the residents, including a sufficient 
supply of linens.] 
 (a)  laundry services are provided to meet the needs of the 
residents, including an adequate supply of linens; 
 ([2]b)  [The facility shall inform ]the resident or the 
resident's responsible person is informed in writing of the facility's 
laundry policy for residents' personal clothing[.]; and 
 (c)  at least one washing machine and one clothes dryer are 
made available for resident use. 
 ([3]2)  The licensee shall ensure food is not stored, 
prepared, or served in any laundry area.[Food may not be stored, 
prepared, or served in any laundry area.] 
[ (4)  The facility shall make available for resident use at 
least one washing machine and one clothes dryer.] 
 
R432-270-[24]25.  Maintenance Services. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee shall [conduct]ensure 
maintenance, including preventive maintenance, is conducted 
according to a written schedule to ensure that the facility equipment, 
buildings, fixtures, spaces, and grounds are safe, clean, operable, in 
good repair and in compliance with Rule R432-6. 
 ([a]2)  The licensee shall ensure the maintenance of the 
following:[Fire rated construction and assemblies must be 
maintained in accordance with Rule R710-3, Fire Marshal. 
 (b)  Entrances, exits, steps, and outside walkways shall be 
maintained in a safe condition, free of ice, snow, and other hazards. 
 (c)  Electrical systems, including appliances, cords, 
equipment call lights, and switches shall be maintained to guarantee 
safe functioning. 
 (d)  Air filters installed in heating, ventilation and air 
conditioning systems must be inspected, cleaned or replaced in 
accordance with manufacturer specifications.] 
 (a)  fire rated construction and assemblies are maintained 
in accordance with Rule R710-3, Fire Marshal; 
 (b)  entrances, exits, steps, and outside walkways are 
maintained in a safe condition, free of ice, snow, and other hazards; 
 (c)  electrical systems, including appliances, cords, 
equipment call lights, and switches are maintained to guarantee safe 
functioning; and 
 (d)  air filters installed in heating, ventilation, and air 
conditioning systems must be inspected, cleaned, or replaced in 
accordance with manufacturer specifications. 
 ([2]3)  The licensee shall ensure that a pest control program 
is[A pest control program shall be] conducted in the facility buildings 
and on the grounds by a licensed pest control contractor or a qualified 
employee, certified by this state, to ensure the absence of vermin and 
rodents.[  Documentation of the pest control program shall be 
maintained for Department review.] 
 ([3]4)  The [facility]licensee shall document any 
maintenance work or pest control that is performed. 
 ([4]5)  The licensee shall ensure that h[H]ot water 
temperature controls [shall ]automatically regulate temperatures of 
hot water delivered to plumbing fixtures used by residents.  The 
[facility]licensee shall [maintain]ensure hot water delivered to public 

and resident care areas is maintained at temperatures between 105 - 
120 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 
R432-270-[25]26.  Disaster and Emergency Preparedness. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee is responsible for the safety and 
well-being of residents in the event of an emergency or disaster. 
 (2)  The licensee and the administrator are responsible to 
develop and coordinate plans with state and local emergency disaster 
authorities to respond to potential emergencies and disasters.  The 
plan shall outline: 
 (a)  the protection or evacuation of residents; 
 (b)  arrangements for staff response or [provisions for 
]providing additional staff to ensure the safety of any resident with 
physical or mental limitations; and 
 (c)  when to notify the Silver Alert program for missing and 
endangered adults and the resident's emergency contacts. 
[ (3)  Emergencies and disasters include fire, severe weather, 
missing residents, death of a resident, interruption of public utilities, 
explosion, bomb threat, earthquake, flood, windstorm, epidemic, or 
mass casualty.] 
 ([4]3)  The licensee shall ensure that the emergency and 
disaster response plan [shall be ]is in writing and distributed or made 
available to facility staff and residents to [assure]ensure prompt and 
efficient implementation. 
 (4)  Emergencies and disasters include: 
 (a)  fire; 
 (b)  severe weather; 
 (c)  missing residents; 
 (d)  death of residents; 
 (e)  interruption of public utilities; 
 (f)  explosion; 
 (g)  bomb threat; 
 (h)  earthquake; 
 (i)  windstorm; 
 (j)  epidemic; or 
 (k)  mass casualty. 
 (5)  The licensee and the administrator shall review and 
update the plan as necessary to conform with local emergency plans.  
The licensee shall ensure [T]the plan [shall be]is available for review 
by the [D]department. 
 (6)  The [facility's]licensee shall ensure the emergency and 
disaster response plan [must ]addresses the following: 
 (a)  the names of the person in charge and persons with 
decision-making authority; 
 (b)  the names of persons who shall be notified in an 
emergency in order of priority; 
 (c)  the names and telephone numbers of emergency 
medical personnel, fire department, paramedics, ambulance service, 
police, and other appropriate agencies; 
 (d)  instructions on how to contain a fire and how to use the 
facility alarm systems; 
 (e)  assignment of personnel to specific tasks during an 
emergency; 
 (f)  the procedure to evacuate and transport residents and 
staff to a safe place within the facility or to other prearranged 
locations; 
 (g)  instructions on how to recruit additional help, supplies, 
and equipment to meet the residents' needs after an emergency or 
disaster; 
 (h)  delivery of essential care and services to facility 
occupants by alternate means; 
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 (i)  delivery of essential care and services if additional 
persons are housed in the facility during an emergency; and 
 (j)  delivery of essential care and services to facility 
occupants if personnel are reduced by an emergency. 
 (7)(a)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[maintain] safe 
ambient air temperatures are maintained within the facility. 
 ([a]b)  The local fire department shall approve the facility's 
e[E]mergency heating.[ must have the approval of the local fire 
department.] 
 ([b]c)  Ambient air temperatures of 58 degrees Fahrenheit 
or below may constitute an imminent danger to the health and safety 
of the residents in the facility.  The person in charge shall take 
immediate action in the best interests of the residents. 
 ([c]d)  The [facility]licensee shall have, and be capable of 
implementing, contingency plans regarding excessively high ambient 
air temperatures within the facility that may exacerbate the medical 
condition of residents. 
 (8)  The licensee shall provide p[P]ersonnel and residents 
[shall receive]with instruction and training in accordance with the 
plans to respond appropriately in an emergency.  The 
[facility]licensee shall: 
 (a)  annually review the procedures with existing staff and 
residents and carry out unannounced drills using those procedures; 
 (b)  hold simulated disaster drills semi-annually; 
 (c)  hold simulated fire drills quarterly on each shift for staff 
and residents in accordance with Rule R710-3; and 
 (d)  document drills, including date, participants, problems 
encountered, and the ability of each resident to evacuate. 
 (9)  The licensee shall ensure that [T]the administrator 
[shall be]is in charge during an emergency.  If not on the premises, 
the licensee shall ensure the administrator [shall ]makes every effort 
to report to the facility, relieve subordinates and take charge. 
 (10)  The [facility]licensee shall provide in-house 
equipment and supplies required in an emergency including:[ 
emergency lighting, heating equipment, food, potable water, extra 
blankets, first aid kit, and radio.] 
 (a)  emergency lighting; 
 (b)  heating equipment; 
 (c)  food; 
 (d)  potable water; 
 (e)  extra blankets; 
 (f)  first aid kit; and 
 (g)  radio. 
 (11)  The licensee shall ensure the following information 
[shall be posted]is posted in [prominent]public locations throughout 
the facility: 
 (a)  [T]the name of the person in charge and names and 
telephone numbers of emergency medical personnel, agencies, and 
appropriate communication and emergency transport systems; and 
 (b)  evacuation routes, location of fire alarm boxes, and fire 
extinguishers. 
 
R432-270-[26]27.  First Aid. 
 (1)  The[re shall be] licensee shall ensure that there is one 
staff person on duty at all times, who has:[ training in basic first aid, 
the Heimlich maneuver, certification in cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation and emergency procedures to ensure each resident 
receives prompt first aid as needed.] 
 (a)  training in basic first aid; 
 (b)  training in the Heimlich maneuver; 
 (c)  certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation; and 

 (d)  training in emergency procedures to ensure each 
resident receives prompt first aid as needed. 
[ (2)  First aid training refers to any basic first aid course.] 
 ([3]2)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure [have]there is a:[ 
first aid kit available at a specified location in the facility.] 
 (a)  first aid kit available at a specified location in the 
facility; 
 ([4]b)  [The facility shall have a ]current edition of a basic 
first aid manual approved by the American Red Cross, the American 
Medical Association, or a state or federal health agency[.]; and 
 ([5]c)  [The facility shall have a ]clean-up kit for blood[ ]-
borne pathogens. 
 
R432-270-[27]28.  Pets. 
 (1)  The [facility]licensee may allow residents to keep 
household pets such as dogs, cats, birds, fish, and hamsters if 
permitted by local ordinance and by facility policy. 
 (2)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure pets are kept clean 
and disease-free. 
 (3)  The licensee shall ensure pets' environment [shall be 
kept]is kept clean. 
 (4)  The licensee shall ensure small[Small] pets, such as 
birds and hamsters, [shall be kept]are kept in appropriate enclosures. 
 (5)  The licensee may not permit pets[Pets] that display 
aggressive behavior [are not permitted ]in the facility. 
 (6)  The licensee shall ensure that pets[Pets] that are kept at 
the facility or are frequent visitors [must ]have current vaccinations. 
 (7)  Upon approval of the administrator, family members 
may bring residents' pets to visit. 
 (8)  Each [facility]licensee [with]that permits birds shall 
have procedures that prevent the transmission of psittacosis.  The 
licensee shall ensure that [P]procedures [shall ensure ]involve the 
minimum handling and placing of droppings into a closed plastic bag 
for disposal. 
 (9)  The licensee may not permit pets[Pets are not 
permitted] in central food preparation, storage, or dining areas or in 
any area where their presence would create a significant health or 
safety risk to others. 
 
R432-270-[28]29.  Respite Services. 
 (1)  Assisted [L]living [facilities]licensees may offer 
respite services and are not required to obtain any additional license[ 
respite license] from the Utah Department of Health and Human 
Services. 
 (2)  The purpose of respite is to provide intermittent, time[ 
]-limited care to give primary caretakers relief from the demands of 
caring for a person. Respite services may also be provided for 
emergency shelter placement of vulnerable adults requiring 
protection by Adult Protective Services. 
 (3)  The licensee may provide r[R]espite services [may be 
provided ]at an hourly rate or daily rate, but may not exceed 14[-] 
days for any single respite stay.  Stays that exceed 14 days shall be 
considered a non-respite assisted living facility admission[, subject 
to the requirements of Rule R432-270]. 
 (4)  The [facility]licensee shall coordinate the delivery of 
respite services with the recipient of services, case manager, if one 
exists, and the family member or primary caretaker. 
 (5)  The [facility]licensee shall ensure[document] the 
person's response to the respite placement is documented and 
coordinated with [all]each provider agenc[ies]y to ensure an 
uninterrupted service delivery program. 
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 (6)  The [facility]licensee shall [complete]ensure a service 
agreement is completed to serve as the plan of care.  The licensee 
shall ensure the service agreement [shall ]identif[y]ies the prescribed 
medications, physician treatment orders, need for assistance for 
activities of daily living and diet orders. 
 (7)  The [facility]licensee shall [have]ensure there are 
written policies and procedures approved by the [D]department [prior 
to]before providing respite care.  The licensee shall make 
policies[Policies] and procedures [shall be ]available to staff 
regarding the respite care for [clients]residents that include: 
 (a)  medication administration; 
 (b)  notification of a responsible party in the case of an 
emergency; 
 (c)  service agreement and admission criteria; 
 (d)  behavior management interventions; 
 (e)  philosophy of respite services; 
 (f)  post-service summary; 
 (g)  training and in-service requirement for employees; and 
 (h)  handling personal funds. 
 (8)  Persons receiving respite services shall be provided a 
copy of the Resident Rights documents upon admission. 
 (9)  The [facility]licensee shall [maintain]ensure a record 
for each person receiving respite services is maintained that includes: 
 (a)  a service agreement; 
 (b)  demographic information and resident identification 
data; 
 (c)  nursing notes; 
 (d)  physician treatment orders; 
 (e)  records made by staff regarding daily care of the person 
in service; 
 (f)  accident and injury reports; and 
 (g)  a post-service summary. 
[ (10)  Retention and storage of respite records shall comply 
with Subsections R432-270-20(1), (2), and (5).] 
 ([11]10)  If a person has an advanced directive, the licensee 
shall ensure a copy [shall be filed]is maintained in the respite record 
and inform staff [shall be informed ]of the advanced directive. 
 
R432-270-[29]30.  Adult Day Care Services. 
 (1)  Type I and type II [A]assisted [L]living [Facilities Type 
I and II]licensees may offer adult day care services and are not 
required to obtain a separate license from Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. If the licensee[facilities] provides adult day 
care services, they shall submit policies and procedures for 
[D]department approval. 
[ (2)  "Adult Day Care" means the care and support to three 
or more functionally impaired adults through a comprehensive 
program that provides a variety of social, recreational and related 
support services in a licensed health care setting.] 
 ([3]2)  The licensee shall ensure that [A]a qualified 
[D]director [shall be]is designated by the governing board to be 
responsible for the day[ ]-to[ ]-day program operation. 
 ([4]3)  The licensee shall ensure that [T]the [D]director 
[shall have]has written records on-site for each [consumer]resident 
and staff person, to include the following: 
 (a)  demographic information; 
 (b)  an emergency contact with name, address, and 
telephone number; 
 (c)  [consumer]resident health records, including the 
following: 
 (i)  record of medication including dosage and 
administration; 

 (ii)  a current health assessment, signed by a licensed 
practitioner; and 
 (iii)  level of care assessment; 
 (d)  signed [consumer]resident agreement and service plan; 
and 
 (e)  [E]employment file for each staff person that includes: 
 (i)  health history; 
 (ii)  background clearance consent and release form; 
 (iii)  orientation completion[,]; and 
 (iv)  in-service training requirements. 
 ([5]4)  The [program]licensee shall [have a]ensure there is 
a written eligibility, admission, and discharge policy to include the 
following: 
 (a)  intake process; 
 (b)  notification of responsible party; 
 (c)  reasons for admission refusal that includes a written, 
signed statement; 
 (d)  resident rights notification; and 
 (e)  reason for discharge or dismissal. 
 ([6]5)  Before a [program]licensee admits a 
[consumer]resident, a written assessment shall be completed to 
evaluate current health and medical history, immunizations, legal 
status, and social psychological factors. 
 ([7]6)  The licensee shall ensure that the director or 
designee develops a[A] written [consumer]resident agreement, 
[developed ]with the [consumer]resident, the responsible party and 
the [D]director or designee, [shall be ]that is completed[,] and signed 
by [all]each part[ies]y and include the following: 
 (a)  rules of the program; 
 (b)  services to be provided and cost of service, including 
refund policy; and 
 (c)  arrangements regarding absenteeism, visits, vacations, 
mail, gifts, and telephone calls. 
 ([8]7)  The [D]director, or designee, shall develop, 
implement, and review the individual [consumer]resident service 
plan.  The licensee shall ensure [T]the plan[ shall]:[ include the 
specification of daily activities and services.  The service plan shall 
be developed within three working days of admission and evaluated 
semi-annually.] 
 (a)  includes the specification of daily activities and 
services; 
 (b)  is developed within three working days of admission; 
and 
 (c)  is evaluated semi-annually. 
 ([9]8)  The[re shall be] licensee shall ensure that written 
incident and injury reports [to ]document the following:[consumer 
death, injuries, elopement, fights or physical confrontations, 
situations that require the use of passive physical restraint, suspected 
abuse or neglect, and other situations or circumstances affecting the 
health, safety or well-being of a consumer while in care.  Each report 
will be reviewed by the Director and responsible party. The reports 
shall be kept on file.] 
 (a)  resident death; 
 (b)  injuries; 
 (c)  elopement; 
 (d)  fights or physical confrontations; 
 (e)  situations that require the use of passive physical 
restraint; 
 (f)  suspected abuse or neglect; and 
 (g)  other situations or circumstances affecting the health, 
safety, or well-being of residents while in care. 
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 (9)  The licensee shall ensure that the director and 
responsible party reviews each injury report and ensures that each 
report is kept on file. 
 (10)  The[re shall be] licensee shall ensure a daily activity 
schedule is provided, posted, and implemented as designed. 
 (11)  The licensee ensure residents are provided 
[Consumers shall receive ]direct supervision at all times and [be 
encouraged to ]encouraged to participate in activities. 
 (12)(a)  The[re shall be] licensee shall ensure a minimum 
of 50 square feet of indoor floor space is provided per 
[consumer]resident designated for adult day care during program 
operational hours. 
 ([a]b)  Hallways, office, storage, kitchens, and bathrooms 
may not be included in the calculation. 
 ([b]c)  The licensee shall ensure i[I]ndoor and outdoor areas 
[shall be maintained]are maintained in a clean, secure, and safe 
condition. 
 ([c]d)  The[re shall be] licensee shall ensure at least one 
bathroom designated for [consumers ]resident use is provided during 
business hours.  For [facilities ]licensees serving more than ten [10 
consumers]residents, the licensee shall ensure there [shall be]are 
separate male and female bathrooms designated for 
[consumer]resident use. 
 (13)  The licensee shall ensure; 
 (a)  continual s[S]taff supervision is provided[shall be 
provided continually] when [consumers]residents are present[.]; 
 ([a]b)  a staff to resident ratio of[Staff ratios shall be 
maintained at] one staff for every eight [consumers]residents is 
maintained[.]; and 
 (c)  a ratio of one staff for every six residents is maintained 
when [In programs where ]one-half or more of the 
[consumers]residents are diagnosed by a physician's assessment with 
Alzheimer's, or related dementia.[, the ratio shall be one staff for 
every six consumers.] 
 
R432-270-[30]31.  Penalties. 
 Any person who violates [any provision of ]this rule may 
be subject to the penalties enumerated in Sections 26B-2-208 and 
26B-2-216[26-21-11] and Section R432-3-[6]8[ and be punished for 
violation of a class A misdemeanor as provided in Section 26-21-16]. 
 
KEY:  health care facilities 
Date of Last Change:  2023[September 15, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 20, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [26-21-5; 
26-21-1]26B-2-202 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R501-3 Filing ID:  
55600 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Human Services Program Licensing 
Building: MASOB 

Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R501-3.  Inspection and Enforcement 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This new rule is for the Department of Health and Human 
Services (Department) to outline a balanced process for 
the Office of Human Services Program Licensing (Office) 
to initiate immediate protections for clients while 
preserving the human services program's rights. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule establishes the standard for emergency agency 
actions taken by the Department following a serious injury or 
death in a human services program. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Office already issues and monitors conditional 
licenses under notices of agency actions, the addition of 
an emergency agency action allows staff to take these 
measures with more immediacy for the protection of 
clients. 
 
It is not anticipated that there will be any cost benefit or 
loss to state budget as a result of this rule filing.  
 
B)  Local governments: 

Human services programs are regulated by the 
Department and not local governments.  There will be no 
change in local business licensing or any other item(s) with 
which local government is involved. 
 
There are no fiscal impact to local governments resulting 
from the changes in this rule content. 
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C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Fiscal impact to small business is immeasurable, as this 
rule requires a significant critical incident to occur before it 
can be initiated. 
 
A chronically noncompliant human services program could 
be subject to license sanctions or civil money penalties of 
up to $10,000.00 (as authorized by Section 26B-2-113) 
and a compliant human services program may appeal the 
action and have it reversed with no civil money penalties 
or license sanctions. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Fiscal impact to non-small business is immeasurable, as 
this rule requires a significant critical incident to occur 
before it can be initiated. 
 
A chronically noncompliant human services program could 
be subject to license sanctions or civil money penalties up 
to $10,000.00 (as authorized by Section 26B-2-113) and a 
compliant human services program may appeal the action 
and have it reversed with no civil money penalties or 
license sanctions.  
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Fiscal impact to other persons (for example foster parents) 
is immeasurable, as this rule requires a significant critical 
incident to occur before it can be initiated 
 
It is not the Office's practice to issue civil money penalties 
to foster parents and their cost could amount to revocation 
of license as a most stringent penalty. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
It is impossible to determine what the fiscal impact on 
affected persons might be due to the variables contributing 
to each specific incident. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-2-104    

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/03/2023 

 
R501.  Health and Human Services, Human Services Program 
Licensing. 
R501-3.  Inspection and Emergency Enforcement. 
R501-3-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Section 26B-2-104 authorizes this rule. 
 (2)  This rule establishes the standard for an emergency 
agency action taken by the office following a serious injury or death 
in a human services program. 
 
R501-3-2.  Scope. 
 Each human services program licensee is subject to this 
rule. 
 
R501-3-3.  Definitions. 
 The terms used in Title R501 are defined in Section 26B-2-
101 and Section R501-1-3. In addition, the following terms are 
defined: 
 (1)  "Notice of Emergency Agency Action (NEAA)" means 
the notice issued by the office which places a human services 
program license on immediate conditional status. 
 (2)  "Serious Injury" means significant disfigurement or 
loss or impairment of function of a bodily member, organ, or mental 
faculty. 
 
R501-3-4.  Notice of Emergency Agency Actions. 
 (1)  A human services program licensee that experiences a 
serious injury or death shall report the critical incident to the office 
in accordance with Subsection R501-1-11(2). 
 (2)  The office shall make the determination of whether or 
not to issue an NEAA with consideration of: 
 (a)  any known facts of the event; 
 (b)  the human services program licensee's adherence to 
licensing rules leading up to and during the critical incident; and 
 (c)  the immediate health and safety of the remaining 
clients. 
 (3)  The known facts of the event are deemed proof of 
conduct adverse to the standards required to provide services and 
promote public trust in accordance with Section 26B-2-112. 
 (4)(a)  If the office determines that an NEAA is necessary 
for the protection of clients, it may place emergency conditions on 
the license to include restricting new admissions and increased 
monitoring of human services program operations. 
 (b)  An NEAA shall expire 30 days after the date of 
issuance. 
 (c)  The office may dismiss the NEAA at any time before 
the 30-day expiration. 
 (d)  Issuance of an NEAA does not prevent the office from 
issuing a subsequent notice of agency action or any other sanction. 
 (5)  The human services program licensee may appeal an 
NEAA by filing a written request for an administrative hearing with 
the office within five business days of receipt of the NEAA. 
 (6)  NEAA conditions are immediately in effect and the 
human services program licensee shall adhere to any listed conditions 
unless reversed by a hearing with the department or under written 
authorization from  the office. 
 

R501-3-5.  Compliance. 
 A human services program licensee found in 
noncompliance with any part of this rule may be subject to a civil 
money penalty or other sanctions as authorized by Section 26B-2-
104 and as outlined in Section R501-1-12. 
 
KEY:  licensing, human services 
Date of Last Change:  2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26B-2-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R501-20 Filing ID:  
55611 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Human Services Program Licensing 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R501-20.  Day Treatment Programs 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this amendment is to modify and replace 
outdated language with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah 
standards. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The revision includes more specific language and 
formatting consistent with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Additionally, it removes outdated citations and aligns with 
current industry standards.  Most of the stricken content is 
now located in Rule R501-1.  New content for clubhouses 
(a program accredited by Clubhouse International), 
Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA), and the Division of 
Services for People with Disabilities (DSPD) providers is 
added upon collaboration with representatives of each of 
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those groups to better outline regulations and industry 
standards pertaining specifically to them. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
State government process was thoroughly reviewed.  This 
change will not impact the current process for licensure 
and re-licensure. 
 
No change to the state budget is expected because this 
amendment modifies and replaces outdated language and 
citations. 
 
New content aligns with federal and industry standards 
already in practice. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local government city business licensing requirements 
were considered.  This proposed rule amendment should 
not impact local governments' revenues or expenditures 
because this amendment modifies and replaces outdated 
language with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards. 
 
The Day Treatment Programs are regulated by the 
Department of Health and Human Services and not local 
governments. 
 
There will be no change in local business licensing or any 
other item(s) with which local government is involved. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses impacted will be insignificant, as the 
new rule content was specifically tailored to address small 
businesses who operate distinct versions of Day 
Treatment. 
 
These entities have always fit into the statutory definition 
requiring licensure, so the new content just better 
addresses their services and clarifies and guides them 
toward compliance.  Stakeholders were involved in the 
creation of this rule. 
 
There are no fiscal impacts to small businesses resulting 
from the substantive or nonsubstantive changes in this 
rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses impacted will be insignificant, as the 
new rule content was specifically tailored to address non-
small businesses who operate distinct versions of Day 
Treatment. 
 

These entities have always fit into the statutory definition 
requiring licensure, so the new content just better 
addresses their services and clarifies and guides them 
toward compliance. 
 
There are no fiscal impacts to small businesses resulting 
from the substantive or nonsubstantive changes in this 
rule content. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this rule amendment will not result in a fiscal impact to 
any affected persons because this amendment modifies 
and replaces outdated language with Rulewriting Manual 
for Utah standards. 
 
The substantive and nonsubstantive changes being made 
clarify and outline existing industry standards and 
requirements for the protection of clients in day treatment 
programs. 
 
There will be no fiscal impacts on any affected persons as 
a result of this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule amendment does not introduce any new 
processes that will incur a cost for affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
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State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-2-104   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 08/06/2023 

 
R501.  Health and Human Services, [Administration, 
Administrative Services,]Human Services Program Licensing. 
R501-20.  Day Treatment Programs. 
R501-20-1.  Authority. 
 [Pursuant to Section 62A-2-101 et seq., the Office of 
Licensing, shall license day treatment programs according to the 
following rules.]Section 26B-2-104 authorizes this rule. 
 

R501-20-2.  Purpose. 
 [A day treatment program provides services to individuals 
who have emotional, psychological, developmental, physical, or 
behavioral dysfunctions, impairments, or chemical dependencies.  
Day treatment is provided in lieu of, or in coordination with, a more 
restrictive residential or inpatient environment or service in 
accordance with Subsection 62A-2-101(4).]The purpose of this rule 
is to set foundational health and safety standards for licensed 
programs providing day treatment services. 
 
R501-20-3.  Definitions. 
[ Day treatment program means specialized treatment for 
less than 24 hours a day, for four or more persons who are unrelated 
to the owner or provider pursuant to Subsection 62A-2-101(4).] 
 (1)  "ABA" means Applied Behavioral Analysis as defined 
in Rule R539-4. The practice of Applied Behavior Analysis is 
regulated through Title 58, Chapter 61, Part 7, Behavior Analyst 
Licensing Act. 
 (2)  "Activity Plan" means goal plan and encourages 
optimal mental or physical function that may consist of: 
 (a)  behavioral training; 
 (b)  community living skills; 
 (c)  work activity; 
 (d)  work adjustment; 
 (e)  recreation; 
 (f)  self-feeding; 
 (g)  self-care; 
 (h)  toilet training; 
 (i)  social appropriateness; 
 (j)  development of gross and fine motor skills; 
 (k)  interpersonal adjustment; 
 (l)  mobility training; 
 (m)  self-sufficiency training; 
 (n)  speech, audiology; 
 (o)  physical therapy; 
 (p)  psychological services; 
 (q)  counseling; 
 (r)  vocational training; 
 (s)  education; and 
 (t)  socialization. 
 (3)  "Behavior Interventions" is defined in Rule R539-4. 
 (4)  "Client" is defined in Section 26B-2-101 and includes 
members in a clubhouse setting or participants in a DSPD setting. 
 (5)  "Clubhouse" means a program accredited by 
Clubhouse International that is organized to support people living 
with mental illness in community centers that offer supportive 
membership that provides: 
 (a)  a work-ordered day in which the talents and abilities of 
clients are recognized and utilized within the clubhouse; 
 (b)  participation in consensus-based decision-making 
regarding all important matters relating to the running of the 
clubhouse; 
 (c)  opportunities to obtain paid employment in the local 
labor market through a clubhouse-created transitional employment 
program; 
 (d) opportunity to participate in clubhouse-supported and 
independent programs; 
 (e)  assistance in accessing community-based educational 
resources; 
 (f)  access to crisis intervention services when needed; 
 (g)  evening and weekend social and recreational events; 
and 
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 (h)  assistance in securing and sustaining safe and 
affordable housing. 
 (6)  "Day treatment" is defined in Section 26B-2-101. Day 
treatment may be considered "partial hospitalization" in the 
American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) continuum of 
care. 
 (7)  "DSPD" means the Division of Services for People 
with Disabilities within the Department of Health and Human 
Services. 
 (8)  "DSPD Worksheet" means the mechanism used by 
DSPD to calculate hours and staffing ratios for programs serving 
DSPD clients. 
 (9)  "Settings Rule" means the Home and Community 
Based Services (HCBS) Settings Final Rule as identified in 42 CFR 
430 and 431. 
 
R501-20-4.  Administration and Direct Service. 
 (1)[A.]  In addition to the following rules, [all Day 
Treatment Programs]each day treatment licensee shall comply with 
Rules R501-1 and R501-14.[2, Core Standards]. 
[ B.  A list of current consumers shall be available and on-
site at all times.] 
 (2)  Non-residential licensees may meet less frequently 
than weekly only with individualized justification in the client record. 
 (3)  A licensee shall: 
 (a)  ensure that activity plans are prepared to meet 
individual client needs or link to applicable resources in the 
community; 
 (b)  design and implement a daily activity or service 
schedule based on client needs and not staff convenience; 
 (c)  ensure clients are supervised onsite and encouraged to 
participate in activities; and 
 (d)  ensure all clients are given the same quality of care. 
 (4)  Except as outlined in Subsections R501-20-6(2) and 
R501-20-7(3), a licensee shall ensure that the minimum staffing ratio 
is one direct care staff to ten clients at all times. 
 (5)  Day treatment or day support services may not be 
offered within a residential setting unless: 
 (a)  each resident is a recipient of the day support services; 
or 
 (b)  the residential setting has a current residential treatment 
license. 
 (6)  A licensee who utilizes restraints shall report each 
incident of restraint resulting in injury beyond basic first aid to the 
office as a critical incident. 
 
[R501-20-5.  Staffing. 
 A.  The program shall have an employed manager who is 
responsible for the day to day supervision and operation of the 
facility.  The responsibilities of the manager shall be clearly defined.  
Whenever the manager is absent, there shall be a substitute available. 
 B.  The program shall have a staff person trained, by a 
certified instructor, in first aid and CPR on duty with the consumers 
at all times. 
 C.  Staffing Ratios 
 1.  The minimum ratio shall be one direct care staff to ten 
consumers.  In Division of Services for People With Disabilities 
programs, consumer ratios shall be determined by type of activity. 
 2.  When 10% or more of the consumers are non-
ambulatory, the ratio shall be one direct care staff to seven 
consumers. 

 D.  Professional staff shall include the following 
individuals who have received training in the specific area listed 
below: 
 1.  Mental Health 
 a.  a licensed physician, or consulting licensed physician, 
 b.  a licensed psychologist, or consulting licensed 
psychologist, 
 c.  a licensed mental health therapist or consulting licensed 
mental health therapist, and 
 d.  a licensed advanced practice registered nurse-
psychiatric mental health nurse specialist, or a consulting licensed 
advanced practice registered nurse-psychiatric mental health nurse 
specialist. 
 e.  If unlicensed staff are used they shall be supervised by 
a licensed clinical professional. 
 2.  Substance Abuse 
 a.  a licensed physician or consulting licensed physician, 
 b.  a licensed psychologist or consulting licensed 
psychologist, 
 c.  a licensed mental health therapist or consulting licensed 
mental health therapist, and 
 d.  a licensed substance abuse counselor or unlicensed staff 
who work with substance abuses shall be supervised by a licensed 
clinical professional. 
 3.  Children and Youth 
 a.  a licensed physician, or consulting licensed physician, 
 b.  a licensed psychologist, or consulting licensed 
psychologist, 
 c.  a licensed mental health therapist or consulting licensed 
mental health therapist, to provide a minimum of one hour of service 
per week per consumer enrolled in the program, and 
 d.  a licensed advanced practice registered nurse-
psychiatric mental health nurse specialist, or consulting licensed 
advanced practice registered nurse-psychiatric mental health nurse 
specialist. 
 e.  If unlicensed staff are used, they shall be trained to work 
with emotionally and behaviorally disturbed, or conduct disordered 
children and youth and shall be under the supervision of a licensed 
clinical professional. 
 4.  Services for People With Disabilities 
 a.  a staff person responsible for consumer supervision and 
operation of the facility, and 
 b.  trained staff to provide the services and treatment stated 
in the consumer's plan. 
 
R501-20-6.  Direct Service. 
 A.  Day treatment activity plans shall be prepared to meet 
individual consumer needs.  Daily activity plans may include 
behavioral training, community living skills, work activity, work 
adjustment, recreation, self-feeding, self-care, toilet training, social 
appropriateness, development of gross and fine motor skills, 
interpersonal adjustment, mobility training, self-sufficiency training, 
and to encourage optimal mental or physical function, speech, 
audiology, physical therapy, and psychological services, counseling, 
and socialization. 
 B.  A daily activity or service schedule shall be designed 
and implemented. 
 C.  While on-site, consumers shall be supervised as 
necessary and encouraged to participate in activities. 
 D.  All consumers shall be afforded the same quality of 
care. 
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R501-20-7.  Physical Environment. 
 A.  The program shall provide written documentation of 
compliance with the following: 
 1.  local zoning ordinances, 
 2.  local business license requirements, 
 3.  local building codes, 
 4.  local fire safety regulations, 
 5.  local health codes, and 
 6.  local approval from the appropriate government agency 
for new program services or increased consumer capacity. 
 B.  Building and Grounds 
 1.  The program shall ensure that the appearance and 
cleanliness of the building and grounds are maintained. 
 2.  The program shall take reasonable measures to ensure a 
safe physical environment for consumers and staff.] 
 
R501-20-[8]5.  Physical Facility. 
 [A.](1)  Except as outlined in Subsection R501-20-6(3), a 
licensee shall ensure that the facility has[The program shall have] a 
minimum of [fifty]50 square feet of floor space per [consumer]client 
designated specifically for day treatment services.  Hallways, office, 
storage, kitchens, and bathrooms [will]may not be included in 
computation. 
 [B.](2)  A licensee shall ensure that [O]outdoor recreational 
space and compatible recreational equipment [shall be]are available 
when necessary to meet treatment plans. 
[ C.  Furniture and equipment shall be of sufficient quantity, 
variety, and quality to meet program and consumer needs and shall 
be maintained in a clean and safe condition. 
 D.  The program shall have locked storage for hazardous 
chemicals and materials, according to the direction of the local fire 
authorities. 
 E.  Equipment 
 Equipment for work activities shall be kept in safe 
operating condition. 
 1.  Power equipment shall be installed and maintained in 
accordance with the National Electrical Code. 
 2.  When operating power equipment, the operator shall 
wear safe clothing and protective eye gear. 
 3.  Rings and watches are not to be worn, and long hair shall 
be confined when operating power equipment. 
 4.  Consumer exposure to hazardous materials shall be 
controlled as defined in Utah State Industrial Regulations. 
 F.  Bathrooms 
 1.  The program shall have one or more bathrooms each for 
males and females in accordance with current uniform building 
codes.  They shall be maintained in good operating order and in a 
clean and safe condition. 
 2.  Bathrooms shall accommodate consumers with physical 
disabilities as required. 
 3.  Bathrooms shall be properly equipped with toilet paper, 
towels, soap, and other items required for personal hygiene. 
 4.  Bathrooms shall be ventilated by mechanical means or 
equipped with a screened window that opens. 
 
R501-20-9.  Food Service. 
 A.  One person shall be responsible for food service.  If this 
person is not a professionally qualified dietitian, regularly scheduled 
consultation with a professionally qualified dietitian shall be 
obtained.  Meals served shall be from dietitian approved menus. 
 B.  The person responsible for food service shall maintain 
a current list of consumers with special nutritional needs and record 

in the consumers service record information relating to special 
nutritional needs and provide for nutrition counseling where 
indicated. 
 C.  When meals are prepared by consumers, there shall be 
a written policy to include the following: 
 1.  rules of kitchen privileges, 
 2.  menu planning and procedures, 
 3.  nutritional and sanitation requirements, and 
 4.  schedule of responsibilities. 
 D.  The program shall provide adequate storage and 
refrigeration for meals carried to the program by consumers. 
 E.  Kitchens shall have clean, operational equipment for the 
preparation, storage, serving, and clean up of all meals. 
 F.  Adequate dining space shall be provided for consumers.  
The dining space shall be maintained in a clean and safe condition. 
 
R501-20-10.  Medication. 
 A.  Prescriptive medication shall be provided as prescribed 
by a qualified person according to the Medical Practices Act. 
 B.  The program shall have locked storage for medication. 
 C.  The program shall have written policy and procedure to 
include the following: 
 1.  self administered medication, 
 2.  storage, 
 3.  control, and 
 4.  release and disposal of drugs in accordance with federal 
and state regulations.] 
 
R501-20-6.  Additional Considerations for Professional Licensees 
Providing ABA Day Treatment Services. 
 (1)  An ABA licensee shall additionally adhere to Rule 
R539-4, if contracted for providing services to DSPD clients. 
 (2)  A licensee shall ensure that behavior support plans 
outline individual behaviors and staff responses to them. 
 (3)  The licensee shall submit a critical incident to the office 
for: 
 (a)  any self-directed violence not identified in the behavior 
support plan; and 
 (b)  any staff responses outside of the behavior support 
plan. 
 
R501-20-7.  Additional Considerations for Licensees Providing 
Clubhouse Day Treatment Services. 
 (1)  This section of rule supersedes any conflicting 
requirements of Rules R501-1 and R501-20. 
 (2)(a)  A clubhouse licensee accredited by Clubhouse 
International may apply a staff to client ratio of 1 staff to 15 clients 
in accordance with national standards. 
 (b)  A clubhouse licensee may apply the higher ratio only 
for specialized activities involving transports or for clients and their 
guests when: 
 (i)  staff and client safety has been assessed; and 
 (ii)  there is identified back-up for the staff in case of 
emergency. 
 (3)  Square footage calculations in a clubhouse may include 
hallways, office, storage, kitchens, and bathrooms. 
 (4)  A clubhouse licensee may offer clients the option to 
bring their own food or purchase meals or snacks at a reduced rate. 
 (5)  A clubhouse licensee may allow clients cleaning 
chemicals as part of their work-ordered day. Clubhouse staff shall 
follow suicide prevention policy and safety protocols when assessing 
and allowing client access to chemicals. 
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 (6)  Visitors to the clubhouse may only be exempt from 
background clearance in accordance with Subsection 26B-2-120(10). 
 
R501-20-8.  Additional Considerations for DSPD Home and 
Community Based Medicaid Waiver Licensees. 
 (1)  This section of rule supersedes any conflicting 
requirements of Rules R501-1 and R501-20. 
 (2)  A licensee serving clients of DSPD shall ensure staff to 
client ratios are determined by the DSPD worksheet and are 
individualized based on the person's need. 
 (3)  A licensee shall ensure a ratio of one staff to six persons 
is maintained at all times. 
 (4)  A licensee serving Home and Community Based 
Services (HCBS) Medicaid Waiver clients shall: 
 (a)  identify themselves as a Waiver provider on their 
licensing application and follow all attestation and survey 
requirements therein; 
 (b)  comply with the HCBS Settings rule and Rule R414-
519 to include: 
 (i)  providing non-segregated bathrooms; 
 (ii)  providing individually stalled bathrooms with locking 
capability with only trained and authorized staff having access to 
keys for safety; 
 (iii)  ensuring the setting is fully accessible and affords 
access to the community; 
 (iv)  ensuring client information is not posted or stored in 
public spaces; 
 (v)  not restricting client access to food unless documented 
in the person-centered service plan or behavior support plan; 
 (vi)  allowing clients individual initiative, autonomy, 
independence and choices in regard to their daily activities, physical 
environment and with whom they interact as much as safely possible; 
and 
 (vii)  supervising clients and maintaining supporting 
documentation according to the person-centered service plan or 
behavior support plan; and 
 (c)  when there is a conflict between a rule under Title R501 
and Settings rule, Settings rule shall supersede. 
 (5)  A licensee shall identify any community-based 
supports provided under the day treatment license and ensure that 
community-based services are provided safely and in consideration 
of weather, transportation, emergencies and overall client needs for 
food, medicine and any other assistance necessary for safe 
participation in the program. 
 
KEY:  human services, licensing 
Date of Last Change:  [May 2, 2000]2023 
Notice of Continuation:  March 30, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [62A-2-101 
et seq.]26B-2-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R623-9 Filing ID:  
55535 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Lieutenant Governor 
Agency: Elections 

Room number: 220 
Building: Capitol 
Street address: 350 N State Street 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Mailing address: PO Box 142325 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2325 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Ryan Cowley 801-

538-
1041 

elections@utah.gov 

Shelly Jackson 801-
538-
1041 

elections@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R623-9.  Ballot Printing, Handling, and Envelope 
Standards 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Sections 20A-6-108 and 20A-3a-106 require the director 
of elections within the Office of the Lieutenant Governor to 
establish requirements for ballot printing, handling, and 
ballot envelopes. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Rule R623-9 establishes minimum requirements a vendor 
must meet and follow to be eligible to print ballots to be 
used in elections in Utah. 
 
This rule also establishes standards for what is printed on 
ballot envelopes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule simply provides requirements and guidelines for 
ballot printing, handling, and envelope standards and does 
not include any direct fiscal cost or savings to the state 
budget. 
 
The state has a supervisory role in these functions but 
does not perform them. 
 
B)  Local governments: 
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Since this rule proposes guidelines and has a future 
effective date and provides the opportunity for counties to 
use existing envelope stock prior to complying with this 
rule, it is not believed there is an addition burden or cost 
savings for local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not apply to small businesses and as such 
has no fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not apply to non-small businesses and as 
such has no fiscal cost or savings to non-small 
businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not apply to other persons and as such has 
no fiscal cost or savings to other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to affected persons 
as none apply to this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Lieutenant Governor of the Office of the Lieutenant 
Governor, Deidre M. Henderson, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 20A-6-108 Section 

20A-3a-106 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Ryan Cowley,  
Director 

Date: 07/17/2023 

 
R623.  Lieutenant Governor, Elections. 
R623-9.  Ballot Printing, Handling, and Envelope Standards. 
R623-9-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes minimum requirements a vendor must 
meet and follow to be eligible to print ballots to be used in an election 
in Utah. This rule establishes standards for what is printed on ballot 
envelopes. 
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R623-9-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Sections 20A-6-108 and 20A-3a-
106, and is enacted under the authority of Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act. 
 
R623-9-3.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the terms defined in Section 20A-1-102, the 
following definitions apply to this rule: 
 (1)  "Chain of custody" means the sequence of custody, 
control, and transfer of materials. 
 (2)  "Intelligent mail barcode services" or "IMb" means 
using a barcode that complies with USPS standards for IMb which 
provides tracking data for ballots through the postal system. 
 (3)  "Personally identifiable information" or "PII" means 
information that can be used to identify, or infer the identity of the 
person to which the information belongs. 
 (4)  "Vendor" means a company that prints, handles, sorts, 
or mails ballots on behalf of an election officer. 
 (5)  "Subcontractor" means a business or person that carries 
out any portion of the work described in this rule that is not performed 
by the vendor. 
 
R623-9-4.  Vendor Requirements. 
 (1)  A vendor shall have: 
 (a)  a secure facility that, includes: 
 (i)  processing areas where public access is restricted 
through badge access with logging of the date, time, and operator of 
each ballot process; 
 (ii)  24-hour facility security through on-site security 
staffing, alarm system, or video surveillance; or 
 (iii)  another method of similar security with logging of the 
date, time, and operator of each ballot process. 
 (b)  documented continuity of operations plan that includes: 
 (i)  secure data transfer, storage, backups, and redundancy; 
 (ii)  printer and equipment redundancy; and 
 (iii)  documented disaster recovery plan; and 
 (c)  a documented chain of custody plan describing how 
ballots will be printed and delivered to a postal facility for mailing. 
 (2)  A vendor may not subcontract any portion of the ballot 
printing processes described in this section without obtaining written 
consent from the contracting county. 
 (3)  A vendor shall: 
 (a)  disclose to the election officer any subcontractors, 
including freight handlers along with their primary point of contact; 
 (b)  maintain the ability to track ballots through each 
process while ballots are in the custody of a subcontractor; 
 (c)  disclose the following: 
 (i)  how blank ballot stock and printed ballot stock are 
securely stored; 
 (ii)  the process for securely destroying spoiled ballots; 
 (iii)  the policy on conducting any employee background 
checks; and 
 (iv)  how they encrypt and protect the data stated in 
Subsection R623-9-4(3)(d); 
 (d)  encrypt and protect any sensitive data or PII of voters; 
and 
 (e)  provide full access to the ballot processing facility and 
full access to any of the records described in this rule to the lieutenant 
governor, legislative auditors, and any county clerk for which they 
provide ballot printing services while contracted work is being 
performed including access to facilities and records of 
subcontractors. 

 (4)  A vendor subcontractor shall maintain the ability to 
provide to the vendor and election officer a log that shows the date, 
time, and quantity of ballots each time ballots are transferred between 
the vendor and a subcontractor. 
 
R623-9-5.  Ballots. 
 (1)  A vendor shall ensure that the initial mailing of ballots 
for an election is mailed from a location within Utah in accordance 
with Section 20A-6-108. 
 (2)  A vendor shall ensure that transportation to and within 
Utah is secure and trackable with the capability of regular updates or 
real-time location information provided to the election officer. 
 (3)  A vendor shall provide IMb services for the mailing of 
ballots and adhere to industry standards for election mail. 
 (4)  A vendor shall create a postal record for the mailing of 
each county's ballots. A vendor shall ensure that ballots are never 
comingled with other non-election mail. 
 (5)  Subsections R623-9-5(1) and R623-9-5(2) do not apply 
to ballots subject to Federal UOCAVA requirements. 
 
R623-9-6.  Envelopes. 
 The county clerk shall ensure that envelopes used to mail 
out and return ballots meet the requirements of this section. The 
provisions in this section take effect by the sooner of the 2024 
General Election or the next time ballot envelopes are ordered. 
 (1)  Return and ballot envelopes must meet USPS Official 
Election Mail -- Graphic Guidelines and Logos standards, 
Publication 631, incorporated by reference in this rule. 
 (2)  Return ballot envelopes must comply with Subsection 
20A-3a-202(4). 
 (3)  Return envelopes must contain the address of the 
election office or county clerk where the ballots are to be returned as 
both the addressee and the return address. 
 (4)  The addresses described in Subsection (3), or any 
envelope used to deliver or return ballots, may contain the position 
title of the election officer, but not the name of any candidate running 
for political office. 
 (5)  Each envelope must contain markings that show the 
election to which the envelope belongs. If the affidavit is removed 
from the envelope, both the envelope and the affidavit must contain 
the date of the election. 
 (6)  Each return envelope must contain the unique 
identifying number which corresponds to a ballot record issued to a 
voter in the voter registration system. If the affidavit is removed from 
the envelope, both the envelope and the affidavit must contain the 
unique identifying number. 
 (7)  Return ballot envelopes must contain cross-hatching 
unless other measures are taken to ensure that a ballot cannot be read 
through the envelope. 
 
KEY:  ballot, ballot envelope, ballot printing 
Date of Last Change:  2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  20A-6-108, 
20A-3a-106 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R623-10 Filing ID:  
55536 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Lieutenant Governor 
Agency: Elections 
Room number: 220 
Building: Capitol 
Street address: 350 N State Street 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Mailing address: PO Box 142325 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2325 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Ryan Cowley 801-

538-
1041 

elections@utah.gov 

Shelly Jackson 801-
538-
1041 

elections@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R623-10.  Voter Registration Database Security and Voter 
List Maintenance 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Section 20A-2-507 requires the director of elections within 
the Office of the Lieutenant Governor to make rules 
regulating the use, security, maintenance, data entry, and 
updates to the voter registration system.  Section 20A-2-
507 also requires the rule to establish requirements to 
maintain the registration system by identifying tools and 
utilities for county clerks to run, as well as documenting 
and reporting compliance. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Rule R623-10 establishes requirements for users, training, 
and access to the voter registration system for both county 
and state users. 
 
This rule outlines the Division of Technology Services 
(DTS) policies that are used for system hosting and 
maintenance. 
 
This rule identifies the voter list maintenance utilities used 
but the Lieutenant Governor and county clerks that exist 
within the voter registration system and outlines a monthly 
compliance certification process for the clerks. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule adds additional staffing needs to monitor the 
requirements and oversee compliance. 
 
Funding was provided in H.B. 448, passed in the 2023 
General Session, for the additional staffing needs. 
 
This rule does not add any additional fiscal impact, nor 
does it provide any cost savings. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

It is estimated that this can impact county governments 
with an additional hour of labor per month for compliance 
certification. 
 
The utilities identified in this rule are already required in 
the state code. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not apply to small businesses and as such 
has no fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not apply to non-small businesses and as 
such has no fiscal cost or savings to non-small 
businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not apply to other persons and as such has 
no fiscal cost or savings to other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to affected persons 
as none apply to this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$600 $600 $600 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Lieutenant Governor of the Office of the Lieutenant 
Governor, Deidre M. Henderson, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 20A-2-507   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Ryan Cowley,  
Director 

Date: 07/17/2023 

 
R623.  Lieutenant Governor, Elections. 
R623-10.  Voter Registration Database Security and Voter List 
Maintenance Rule. 
R623-10-1.  Purpose. 
 Section 20A-2-507 requires the director of elections within 
the Office of the Lieutenant Governor to: 
 (1)  make rules regulating the use, security, maintenance, 
data entry, and updates to the voter registration system; and 
 (2)  make rules to establish requirements to maintain the 
registration system by identifying tools and utilities for county clerks 
to run as well as documenting and reporting compliance. 
 
R623-10-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Section 20A-2-507, and enacted 
under the authority of Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative 
Rulemaking Act. 
 
R623-10-3.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the terms defined in Section 20A-1-102, the 
following definitions apply to this rule: 
 (1)  "Registration system" means the voter registration 
database described in Subsection 20A-2-502(1)(a). 
 (2)  "Registration form" means a form described in Section 
20A-2-104 or 20A-2-206 that is submitted to an election official for 
registering to vote. 
 (3)  "NCOA" means the National Change of Address data 
set maintained by the United States Postal Service. 
 (4)  "Voter verification utility" means the functionality 
within the registration system that verifies the information of the 
voter in the registration system with information from the Driver 
License Division. 
 
R623-10-4.  County Registration System Users. 
 (1)  Before receiving access to the county registration 
system, county registration system users shall: 
 (a)  be employed by the county clerk with job duties that 
are directly related to elections and require access to the registration 
system; 
 (b)  be authorized by the county clerk and approved by the 
Lieutenant Governor; and 
 (c)  complete security training is required and provided by 
the Lieutenant Governor before using the registration system. 
 (2)  A county clerk shall: 
 (a)  ensure county users have completed training before the 
user performs an election process for which an online training 
module has been developed under Section 20A-1-107; 
 (b)  agree to abide by a disclosure agreement provided by 
the Lieutenant Governor that outlines how data from within the 
registration system is protected, including: 
 (i)  only using voter registration data for election related 
purposes as outlined and in accordance with Utah law; 
 (ii)  only sharing registration data with those that are 
authorized under Utah law; and 
 (iii)  never using voter registration data for personal use; 
 (c)(i)  immediately disable any user account that is no 
longer active or authorized to have access; 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 187 

 (ii)  complete a monthly review of the list of authorized 
users in their county; 
 (iii)  certify monthly reviews and disabled accounts with 
the Lieutenant Governor no later than the 5th day of the following 
month; 
 (d)  conduct an annual review of county users by the last 
business day in December as directed by the Lieutenant Governor 
that includes: 
 (i)  verification that each active user meets the criteria of a 
county user as outlined in this section; 
 (ii)  the job title of each county user; 
 (iii)  a brief description of the election related duties of each 
county user; and 
 (iv)  removal of users that have not accessed the system 
within the calendar year of the annual review. 
 (3)  A county clerk's failure to complete the annual review 
under Subsection (2)(d)(iv) will result in the revocation of access to 
the registration system for that county until the necessary review has 
been completed. 
 
R623-10-5.  State Registration System Users. 
 (1)  Before receiving access to the state registration system, 
state registration system users shall: 
 (a)  be employed by the Lieutenant Governor with job 
duties that are directly related to elections and require access to the 
registration system; 
 (b)  complete security training required and provided by the 
Lieutenant Governor before using the registration system; 
 (c)  agree to abide by a disclosure agreement provided by 
the Lieutenant Governor that outlines how data in the registration 
system is protected including: 
 (i)  using voter registration data for election related 
purposes as outlined in accordance with Utah law; 
 (ii)  only sharing registration data with those that are 
authorized under Utah law; and 
 (iii)  never using voter registration data for personal use. 
 (2)  The Lieutenant Governor shall: 
 (a)  ensure state registration system users have completed 
training before the user performs an election process for which an 
online training module has been developed under Section 20A-1-107; 
and 
 (b)  immediately disable access for users that no longer 
meet the requirements of Subsection (1). 
 (3)  Each month, the Lieutenant Governor shall review the 
list of authorized state registration system users and remove any user 
account that does not meet the requirements of Subsection (1). 
 
R623-10-6.  Other System Users. 
 (1)  If a request for access is received by the Lieutenant 
Governor for someone that is not a county or state user, the 
Lieutenant Governor will review that request and determine whether 
to grant access. 
 (2)  If the Lieutenant Governor grants access under 
Subsection (1), the user must follow the security procedures outlined 
for a state user in Section R623-10-5. 
 
R623-10-7.  Registration System Hosting and Maintenance. 
 Hosting and maintenance of the registration system must 
follow the rules and policies, incorporated by reference in this rule, 
set forth by the Division of Technology Services (DTS) governing 
the hosting, maintenance, security requirements, development, and 

usage of the registration system and its components, including 
storage and transmission of any related data policy: 
 (1)  DTS POLICY 4000-0001 - Enterprise Application and 
Database Deployment Policy, Last Revised October 2015; 
 (2)  DTS POLICY 4000-0002 - Enterprise User 
Authentication Standards Policy, Last Revised November 2021; and 
 (3)  DTS POLICY 5000-0002 - Information Security 
Policy, Last Revised June 2023. 
 
R623-10-8.  Voter List Maintenance Tools and Utilities. 
 (1)  A county clerk shall maintain the registration system 
by using the following utilities: 
 (a)  process each voter registration form within 7 days of 
receiving the form and certify to the Lieutenant Governor that each 
registration form received within 7 days of the end of the month has 
been processed, unless the registration was received during the period 
from the voter registration deadline described in Section 20A-2-
102.5 through the canvass as outlined in Section 20A-4-301; 
 (b)  run the voter verification utility each time a clerk 
receives a voter registration form; 
 (c)  process and remove a deceased voter from the voter 
rolls in accordance with Section 20A-2-504; 
 (d)  perform a duplicate voter check in accordance with 
Subsection 20A-2-503(4); and 
 (e)  perform the annual maintenance utility in accordance 
with Subsection 20A-2-503(4)(a). 
 (2)  90 days before each election, a county clerk shall 
certify to the Lieutenant Governor that the county clerk has 
performed, or will perform, an NCOA check before mailing the 
county's main ballot extract. 
 (3)(a)  A county clerk shall certify monthly to the 
Lieutenant Governor that they have properly run each utility listed in 
Subsection (1). 
 (b)  Certification shall be made to the Lieutenant Governor 
no later than the 5th day of the following month. 
 (4)  The Lieutenant Governor shall maintain a record of the 
certifications made by the county clerks on the Lieutenant Governor's 
website in accordance with Subsection 20A-2-502(4). 
 
KEY:  voter registration, election, voter list maintenance 
Date of Last Change:  2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  20A-2-507 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R650-302 Filing ID:  
55589 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Outdoor Recreation 
Room number: 100 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 

Building 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Tara McKee  801-

538-
5500 

tmckee@utah.gov 

Patrick Morrison 801-
538-
5500 

patrickmorrison@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R650-302.  Utah Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Grant 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This is to promulgate what has been an emergency rule 
(R650-302) as a permanent rule. 
 
This has been an emergency rule because the Division of 
Outdoor Recreation (Division) has been working to finalize 
the Utah Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Grant rule 
pursuant to this statutory mandate but was unable to 
finalize the rule prior to the 2023 grant cycle.  The Division 
believes the emergency rule was necessary given the 
Utah Code provides the Division shall make rules to 
establish the eligibility and reporting criteria for this cycle's 
grants. 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The 120-day (emergency) rule of 
R650-302 is under ID 55407 and was published in the 
June 1, 2023, issue of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule establishes eligibility and reporting criteria for an 
entity to receive a Utah Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure 
Grant, including: 
1)  the form and process of submitting an application to the 
Division for an infrastructure grant; 
2)  which entities are eligible to apply for an infrastructure 
grant; 
3)  specific categories of recreational infrastructure 
projects that are eligible for an infrastructure grant; 
4)  the method and formula for determining grant amounts; 
and 
5)  the reporting requirements of grant recipients. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to the state 
budget associated with this rule because this rule had 
existed under the Office of Outdoor Recreation (under the 
Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity) prior to 
merging the Office of Outdoor Recreation (from the 
Governor's Office) into the Division of Outdoor Recreation 

(under the Department of Natural Resources) and the 
content of this rule is the same/what entities have been 
functioning under. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There are no anticipated costs or savings to local 
governments associated with this rule because this rule 
had existed under the Office of Outdoor Recreation (under 
the Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity) prior to 
merging the Office of Outdoor Recreation into the Division 
of Outdoor Recreation and the content of this rule is the 
same/what entities have been functioning under. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to the small 
businesses associated with this rule because this rule had 
existed under the Office of Outdoor Recreation (under the 
Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity) prior to 
merging the Office of Outdoor Recreation into the Division 
of Outdoor Recreation and the content of this rule is the 
same/what entities have been functioning under. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule does not have a fiscal impact on non-
small businesses nor will a service be required of them to 
implement the grants. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to persons other 
than small businesses, state, or local government entities 
associated with this emergency rule because this rule had 
existed under the Office of Outdoor Recreation (under the 
Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity) prior to 
merging the Office of Outdoor Recreation into the Division 
of Outdoor Recreation and the content of this rule is the 
same/what entities have been functioning under. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no anticipated compliance costs associated with 
this rule because this rule had existed under the Office of 
Outdoor Recreation (under the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity) prior to merging the Office of 
Outdoor Recreation into the Division of Outdoor 
Recreation and the content of this rule is the same/what 
entities have been functioning under. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
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this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
79-8-402(1) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jason Curry,  
Director 

Date: 08/02/2023 

 
R650.  Natural Resources, Outdoor Recreation. 
R650-302.  Utah Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Grant. 
R650-302-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Section 79-8-402 requires the division to establish by 
rule eligibility and reporting criteria for entities receiving an 
infrastructure grant. 
 (2)  Pursuant to Section 79-8-401, the division seeks to 
accomplish the following objectives in administering the grant 
program: 
 (a)  build, maintain, and promote recreational infrastructure 
to provide greater access to low-cost outdoor recreation for the state's 
citizens; 
 (b)  encourage residents and nonresidents of the state to 
take advantage of the beauty of Utah's outdoors; 
 (c)  encourage individuals and businesses to relocate to the 
state; 
 (d)  promote outdoor exercise; and 
 (e)  provide outdoor recreational opportunities to an 
underserved community in the state. 
 
R650-302-2.  Definitions as Used In This Rule. 
 (1)  "Accessible to the general public," when used in 
relation to the awarding of an infrastructure grant, means that: 
 (a)  the public may use the infrastructure in accordance with 
federal regulations and state rules; and 
 (b)  no individual, community, group, or organization 
retains exclusive rights to access the infrastructure. 
 (2)  "Advisory committee" means the Utah Outdoor 
Recreation Infrastructure Advisory Committee created in Section 79-
7-206. 
 (3)  "Director" means the director of the Division of 
Outdoor Recreation. 
 (4)  "Division" means the Division of Outdoor Recreation. 
 (5)  "Executive director" means the executive director of 
the Department of Natural Resources. 
 (6)  "Infrastructure grant" means an outdoor recreational 
infrastructure grant described in Section 79-8-401. 
 (7)  "Mini-grant category" means an infrastructure grant 
award that is $15,000 or less. 
 (8)(a)  "Project" means a recreational infrastructure project 
that undertakes the build or improvement of facilities and 
installations needed for the public to access and enjoy the state's 
outdoors. 
 (b)  "Project" may include: 
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 (i)  the establishment, construction, or renovation of trails, 
trail facilities, and trail infrastructure, including trail kiosks, trail 
wayfinding signage, trailhead parking, restroom facilities, and trail 
bridges or tunnels; 
 (ii)  construction of a project for water-related outdoor 
recreational activities; 
 (iii)  development of a project for wildlife watching 
opportunities, including bird watching; 
 (iv)  development of a project that provides winter 
recreation amenities, including groomed recreation trails or warming 
huts for motorized or non-motorized winter recreation activities, 
outdoor ice skating rinks or loops, sledding hill infrastructure, or 
other improvements that further winter recreation activities; 
 (v)  construction or improvement of a community park that 
has amenities for outdoor recreation; 
 (vi)  construction or improvement of an accessible 
playground or a playground that includes improvements that 
resemble naturally occurring features like logs and boulders, or other 
improvements made with or made to resemble natural materials; 
 (vii)  the construction of a community-owned or sponsored 
campground; 
 (viii)  the establishment or construction of a community-
owned outdoor shooting or archery range; 
 (ix)  projects similar to those listed in Subsections (8)(b)(i) 
through (viii); or 
 (x)  except for ineligible projects listed under Subsection 
(8)(c), projects that increase outdoor recreation facilities available for 
public use. 
 (c)  Ineligible  projects include: 
 (i)  outdoor education programming; 
 (ii)  golf courses; 
 (iii)  athletic fields or courts; 
 (iv)  general community wayfinding signage; 
 (v)  harbor dredging projects; or 
 (vi)  projects similar to those listed in Subsections (8)(c)(i) 
through (v). 
 (9)  "Underserved or underprivileged community" means a 
group of people, including a subset of the population of a 
municipality, county, or American Indian tribe, that is economically 
disadvantaged. 
 (a)  "Underserved or underprivileged community" includes 
an economically disadvantaged community that has limited access to, 
or has demonstrated a low use of, recreational infrastructure. 
 
R650-302-3.  Application Form and Submission Procedure. 
 (1)  The division shall supply an infrastructure grant 
application form which shall contain the following: 
 (a)  general application submission instructions; 
 (b)  infrastructure grants available for application; 
 (c)  the criteria a recipient must meet to be eligible to 
receive a infrastructure grant; 
 (d)  instructions to applicants regarding submission of a 
project description, including a project timeline; 
 (e)  instructions to applicants for submitting an outlined 
budget for total project costs, highlight of funds already procured for 
the project, and an itemized budget showing the planned use of the 
requested infrastructure grant funds; 
 (f)  instructions to applicants for reporting project impacts, 
including community and economic impacts; 
 (g)  the scoring system the division will use to score the 
application; 

 (h)  any deadlines or relevant timelines applicable to 
submission of the application; 
 (i)  any reports the applicant must submit with the 
application; and 
 (j)  all other documents and information the applicant must 
submit with the application. 
 (2)  The division shall: 
 (a)  create an application in an electronic format and make 
it available to the public at http://recreation.utah.gov; and 
 (b)  supply a paper application to any person or entity 
requesting one. 
 (3)  The applicant shall submit the application to the 
division on or before the deadline specified in the application. 
 (4)  Division staff shall review the submitted application, 
and all documentation submitted with the application, and shall: 
 (a)  verify that the application is complete and meets the 
program criteria outlined in the statute and this rule; and 
 (b)  select recipients using the criteria and method outlined 
in this rule. 
 
R650-302-4.  Eligible Entities. 
 The division shall award infrastructure grants only to the 
following entities: 
 (1)  Utah non-profit corporations with a 501(c)(3) or 
501(c)(6) status; 
 (2)  Utah political subdivisions; 
 (3)  Utah state agencies; 
 (4)  federal government agencies; and 
 (5)  tribal governments. 
 
R650-302-5.  Project Eligibility Criteria. 
 (1)(a)  The infrastructure grant recipient shall provide 
matching funds based on an algorithm determined by the division and 
made available in the infrastructure grant application or the program 
guide. 
 (b)  The algorithm under Subsection (1)(a) shall consider 
the total population and per capita income of the county where the 
project will be located. 
 (c)  For infrastructure grant awards within the mini-grant 
category, the infrastructure grant recipient shall provide matching 
funds having a value equal to or greater than the amount of the 
infrastructure grant. 
 (d)  The maximum infrastructure grant award available: 
 (i)  shall depend on available funds; and 
 (ii)  shall be specified in the infrastructure grant 
application. 
 (e)  Up to 50% of the infrastructure grant recipient match 
may be provided through an in-kind contribution by the infrastructure 
grant recipient, if: 
 (i)  approved by the director and the executive director after 
consultation with the advisory committee; and 
 (ii)  the in-kind donation does not include real property. 
 (f)  The division shall include the following information in 
the application form: 
 (i)  matching funding requirements; and 
 (ii)  eligible and ineligible matching costs. 
 (g)  An applicant shall secure at least 75% of the project's 
matching funds before submitting an application. 
 (h)  An applicant's budget estimates may be rounded to the 
nearest $500 increment. 
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 (2)(a)  For applications over $15,000, an applicant shall 
include a letter of support from the local economic development 
office or local tourism director. 
 (b)  The letter of support shall state that the project has the 
potential to attract growth and retention in the community or area or 
increase visitation to the region. 
 (c)  Applicants shall include a statement of responsibility 
from any entity responsible for maintaining the recreational 
infrastructure. 
 (3)  An applicant shall obtain approval from the appropriate 
land management entity for any recreational infrastructure project if 
the project is physically located on public lands. 
 (4)  If required by law, the infrastructure grant applicant 
shall comply with the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) 
and, upon written request of the division, shall provide to the division 
written certification of NEPA compliance from the land management 
authority where the project is physically located. 
 (5)(a)  All projects shall be: 
 (i)  wholly located within the state; and 
 (ii)  on land owned by or under the applicant's control or on 
land owned by a management agency partner, including federal, state, 
or local government entities, or a conservancy. 
 (b)  If the project crosses private property, the applicant 
shall ensure that public access is maintained for a minimum of 10 
years. This guarantee shall be in the form of an easement, right-of-
way, or other negotiated written agreement acceptable to the division. 
 (6)  Applicants shall: 
 (a)  consult with the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources 
to determine if the project is located within a special management 
area for sensitive species; and 
 (b)  coordinate with the Utah Division of Wildlife 
Resources to ensure the project complies with statutes and rules 
applicable to special management areas if the project is located 
within a special management area. 
 (7)  An infrastructure grant applicant shall comply with the 
requirements of Sections 9-8-401 through 9-8-405 before beginning 
any project. 
 (8)  An infrastructure grant may not be awarded if the 
awarded funds, or the infrastructure grant recipient's matching funds, 
will be used for the purchase of real property or for the purchase or 
transfer of a conservation easement. 
 
R650-302-6.  Method and Formula for Determining 
Infrastructure Grant Amounts. 
 (1)(a)  The division shall use a weighted scoring system to 
enable the advisory committee to analyze, advise, and make 
recommendations to the division regarding the award of an 
infrastructure grant and infrastructure grant amount. 
 (b)  The application shall include the scoring system. 
 (c)  The scoring system shall assess and value general 
categories, including: 
 (i)  needs of the community where the project will be 
physically located; 
 (ii)  economic impact, including the potential to increase 
area tourism; 
 (iii)  recreation access and value; 
 (iv)  project readiness; and 
 (v)  whether the project is located within an underserved or 
underprivileged community. 
 (2)  The division shall distribute the infrastructure grant 
applications among the advisory committee members and ensure that 

each application is reviewed and scored by members of the advisory 
committee. 
 (3)  The division shall use the average of the scores to create 
a prioritization matrix ranking the infrastructure grant applications. 
 (4)  The division shall convene the advisory committee to 
review the ranked infrastructure grant applications. 
 (5)  In determining infrastructure grant awards, advisory 
committee members shall: 
 (a)  use the prioritization matrix referenced in Subsection 
(3) to rank the applications; and 
 (b)  review all but the lowest ranked applications, as 
determined by a threshold determined by the Division. 
 (6)  An advisory committee member may move the 
advisory committee to review a low-scoring application that was not 
scheduled to receive consideration by the advisory committee. 
 (7)  An advisory committee member may move the 
advisory committee to vote to recommend a infrastructure grant be 
awarded. 
 (8)  The advisory committee may prioritize projects: 
 (a)  that conform to the criteria and eligibility as outlined in 
the program guide; 
 (b)  that are likely to increase visitation to the project area; 
 (c)  that will serve an underserved or underprivileged 
community; 
 (d)  that will further the goal of providing geographic 
distribution of recreation infrastructure throughout the state; 
 (e)  that are for trails that are accessible to all members of 
the public, including trails that are usable with adaptive equipment; 
 (f)  that are for trail segments that complete trail gaps; 
 (g)  that will add to connect trails for a more extensive trail 
network; 
 (h)  that will enhance an outdoor recreation amenity that 
draws tourists; or 
 (i)  where project applicants have coordinated with the local 
tourism office to market the project as a tourism attraction. 
 (9)  The division shall provide a synopsis of each project 
proposed in each application and each reviewer shall have access to 
all scored evaluations. 
 (10)  In accordance with available funds, the advisory 
committee shall advise and make recommendations to the division 
regarding proposals for funding. 
 (11)  The advisory committee shall forward 
recommendations for infrastructure grant awards to the executive 
director, who shall approve infrastructure grants to be awarded after 
consulting with the division director. 
 (12)  If an infrastructure grant recipient declines an 
awarded infrastructure grant, the division may give the funding to 
another high-scoring application upon a recommendation from the 
advisory committee and approval of the division director and 
executive director. 
 (13)  The division shall notify the infrastructure grant 
applicant of the funding decision within two weeks of the executive 
director's final decision. 
 (14)  The division shall notify each successful 
infrastructure grant applicant of expected contractual requirements. 
 (15)  The division shall notify each infrastructure grant 
applicant who was unsuccessful in obtaining a Infrastructure grant 
award that the applicant's application was unsuccessful. 
 (16)  A copy of the reviewers' written comments, with 
reviewers' names redacted, shall be provided to rejected 
infrastructure grant applicants upon request. 
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R650-302-7.  Reporting and Reimbursement Cooperation 
Requirements. 
 (1)  An infrastructure grant recipient shall: 
 (a)  cooperate with the division's reasonable requests for 
site visits during and after the completion of the project; 
 (b)  provide any financial records related to the project 
upon the division's request; 
 (c)  provide the division with a progress report twice yearly 
until the project's completion; 
 (d)  provide economic development information and 
supporting documentation of economic development goals achieved 
on an annual basis or upon the division's request; 
 (e)  provide economic development information for up to 
10 years following completion of the project; and 
 (f)  provide the division with a description and an itemized 
report detailing infrastructure grant expenditures or the intended cost 
of any unspent awarded funds. 
 (2)  An infrastructure grant recipient shall provide the 
division with a final written itemized report after the project's 
completion. 
 (3)(a)  An applicant shall provide the reports referenced in 
Subsections (1) and (2) at least annually and no later than 60 days 
after the infrastructure grant agreement has expired; and 
 (b)  Each report shall include assurances that all monies 
awarded to the infrastructure grant recipient were spent on planning, 
construction, or improvements in accordance with the recipient's 
infrastructure grant application and the infrastructure grant 
agreement. 
 (4)  The division, upon receipt of a reimbursement request, 
shall require recipients to submit the following documentation: 
 (a)  a reimbursement request on a form provided by the 
division; 
 (b)  copies of all invoices and evidence of payment as well 
as records of volunteer labor or other in-kind donations for work 
completed on the project; 
 (c)  several photos that show the recipient completed the 
project in accordance with the recipient's application and the 
infrastructure grant agreement; 
 (d)  a final report with a detailed description of the project 
and any other information requested by the division; and 
 (e)  any other documentation the division deems necessary 
to ensure compliance with the infrastructure grant agreement. 
 (5)  The division may make partial advance reimbursement 
payments pursuant to the terms of the grant agreement.  
 (6)  partial advance reimbursement payments may not 
exceed 75% of expenses incurred during the development of the 
project. 
 (7)(a)  The division shall in the program guide provide a 
reference to which an applicant may refer to make a request and be 
granted advance funding up to 75% of the award. 
 (b)  The applicant shall state within the application that they 
intend to request advance funding so that the advisory committee 
may consider the advance funding request. 
 (c)  The division may advance no more than 75% of the 
infrastructure grant award to the recipient before the project is 
completed. 
 (d)  The recipient shall make a written request to the 
division, outlining the need and use for advance funds needed for 
project costs over the subsequent six month period. 
 (e)  The infrastructure grant recipient shall provide the 
division with an itemized report detailing the expenditure of the 
advance funds or the intended expenditure of the advanced funds. 

 (8)  All project spending shall occur during the contract 
period. 
 (a)  The division shall not reimburse the recipient for costs 
incurred before or after the contract period. 
 (b)  The infrastructure grant recipient shall submit 
reimbursement documentation within 60 days following the contract 
expiration. 
 
R650-302-8.  Modifications to the Original Contract. 
 The applicant may modify the original Infrastructure grant 
agreement only by subsequent, written amendment, approved by the 
program director and division director, and signed by all parties to 
the original grant agreement. 
 
KEY:  Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Grant, outdoor 
recreation grants 
Date of Last Change:  2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  79-8-402(1) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R651-102 Filing ID:  
55650 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: State Parks 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146001 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Melanie 
Shepherd 

801-538-
7418 

melaniemshepherd@utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R651-102.  Government Records Access Management 
Act 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is coved in the statute, therefore, there is no need 
for this rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the state budget.  
This rule is covered in statute and will have no fiscal affect 
with the repeal of this rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal of this rule does not affect the local 
governments.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the small 
businesses.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the non-small 
businesses.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities.  This rule is covered in statute 
and will have no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the compliance costs 
for affected persons.  This rule is covered in statute and 
will have no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63G-2-204 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jeff Rasmussen,  
Director 

Date: 08/10/2023 

 
R651. Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation. 
[R651-102.  Government Records Access Management Act. 
R651-102-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule prescribes where and to whom requests for 
information shall be directed and provides procedures for access to 
division records as allowed under Subsection 63G-2-204(2). 
 (2)  Specific procedures for requesting division records are 
provided in Chapter 2, Title 63G, Government Records Access and 
Management Act. 
 
R651-102-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 63G-2-
103. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Records officer" means the individual located in the 
Salt Lake division office designated by the director of the division to 
work with state archives in the care, maintenance, scheduling, 
designation, classification, disposal, and preservation of records. 
 (b)  "Division" means the Division of Parks and Recreation. 
 
R651-102-3.  Allocation of Responsibility Within the Division. 
 The division is considered a governmental entity and the 
director of the division is considered the head of the governmental 
entity. 
 
R651-102-4.  Requesting Information. 
 (1)  A person making a request for any record shall furnish 
the division with a written request as provided in Subsection 63G-2-
204(1) on a form provided by the division. 
 (2)(a)  A request for any record shall be made only to the 
records officer in the Salt Lake division office located at 1594 West 
North Temple Salt Lake City, Utah. 
 (b)  Response to a request submitted to any person other 
than the records officer in the Salt Lake division office may be 
delayed. 
 (3)(a)  The records officer shall respond to each request 
according to Section 63G-2-204. 
 (b)  Under authority of Subsection 63G-2-201(5)(b) the 
director may, in his discretion, disclose records that are private under 
Subsection 63G-2-302(2) or protected under Section 63G-2-304 to 
persons other than those specified in Section 63G-2-202 or 63G-2-
206 if he determines there is no interest in restricting access to the 
record, or that the interests favoring access outweighs the interest 
favoring restriction of access. 
 
R651-102-5.  Requests for Access for Research Purposes. 
 (1)  Access to private or controlled records for research 
purposes is allowed under Section 63G-2-202(8). 
 (2)  Requests for access to private or controlled records for 
research purposes may be made to the records officer in the Salt Lake 
division office. 
 
R651-102-6.  Intellectual Property Records. 
 (1)  The division may duplicate and distribute an 
intellectual property right that is owned by the division in accordance 
with Subsection 63G-2-201(10). 

 (2)  Decisions with regard to these rights shall be made by 
the records officer in the Salt Lake division office. 
 (3)  Any request regarding the duplication and distribution 
of such materials shall be made in writing to the records officer in the 
Salt Lake division office. 
 
R651-102-7.  Fees. 
 (1)  The division, pursuant to Section 63G-2-203, may 
charge a reasonable fee to cover the actual cost of duplicating a record 
or compiling a record in a form other than that maintained by the 
division. 
 (2)  The division shall establish fees according to 
Subsection 63G-2-203(3). 
 (3)  Fees must be paid at the time of the request or before 
the records are provided to the requester. 
 (4)  The records officer may fulfill a record request without 
charge according to the guidelines established in Subsection 63G-2-
203(3). 
 (5)  Requests for a fee waiver may be made to the records 
officer in the Salt Lake division office. 
 
R651-102-8.  Denials. 
 (1)  If the records officer denies a request in whole or in 
part, he shall send a notice of denial to the requester either in person 
or by sending the notice to the requester's address. 
 (2)  The notice of denial shall contain the information 
required in Subsection 63G-2-205(2). 
 
R651-102-9.  Appeal of Access Determination. 
 (1)  Any person aggrieved by an access determination made 
by the records officer, including a person not a party to the division 
proceeding may, within 30 days after the determination, appeal the 
determination to the director by submitting a notice of appeal on a 
form provided by the division. 
 (2)  The notice of appeal shall contain the information 
provided in Subsection 63G-2-401(2). 
 (3)  Upon receiving the notice of appeal the director shall 
make a determination according to the guidelines and within the time 
periods specified in Section 63G-2-401. 
 
R651-102-10.  Appeal of Request to Amend a Record. 
 (1)  Any individual contesting the accuracy or 
completeness of any public, private, or protected record concerning 
him may request the division amend the record according to the 
guidelines specified in Subsection 63G-2-603(2). 
 (2)  The request to amend shall be considered a request for 
agency action as prescribed in Subsection 63G-46b-3 and the 
adjudicative proceeding shall be conducted informally according to 
the procedures prescribed in Section 63G-46b-5 and R651-101, 
Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 (3)  Any request to amend a record must be made to the 
records officer in the Salt Lake division office on a form provided by 
the division. 
 
KEY:  government documents, freedom of information, public 
records 
Date of Last Change:  1993 
Notice of Continuation:  March 23, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-2-204] 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R651-103 Filing ID:  
55649 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: State Parks 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146001 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Melanie 
Shepherd 

801-538-
7418 

melaniemshepherd@utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R651-103.  Electronic Meetings 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is coved in the statute, therefore, there is no need 
for this rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the state budget.  
This rule is covered in statute and will have no fiscal affect 
with the repeal of this rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal of this rule does not affect the local 
governments.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the small 
businesses.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the non-small 
businesses.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities.  This rule is covered in statute 
and will have no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the compliance costs 
for affected persons.  This rule is covered in statute and 
will have no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 52-4-207   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jeff Rasmussen,  
Director 

Date: 08/10/2023 

 
R651.  Natural Resources, State Parks. 
[R651-103.  Electronic Meetings. 
R651-103-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 This rule is established under the authority of Section 52-
4-207 to provide the standards and procedures for electronic 
meetings of the Board of State Parks. 
 
R651-103-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined as follows: 
 (a)  "Anchor location" means the physical location from 
which: 
 (i)  An electronic meeting originates; or 
 (ii)  The participants are connected. 
 (b)  "Electronic meeting" means a public meeting convened 
or conducted by a conference using electronic communications. 
 
R651-103-3.  Electronic Meetings. 
 (1)  Section 52-4-207 authorizes a public body to convene 
or conduct an electronic meeting provided written procedures are 

established for such meetings.  This rule establishes procedures for 
conducting Board meetings by electronic means. 
 (2)  The following provisions govern any meeting at which 
one or more Board members appear telephonically or electronically 
pursuant to Section 52-4-207: 
 (a)  If one or more members participate in a public meeting 
electronically or telephonically, public notices of the meeting shall 
specify: 
 (i)  The members participating in the meeting electronically 
and how they will be connected to the meeting; 
 (ii)  The anchor location where interested persons and the 
public may attend, monitor, and participate in the open portions of 
the meeting; 
 (iii)  The meeting agenda; and 
 (iv)  The date and time of the meeting. 
 (b)  Written or electronic notice of the meeting and the 
agenda shall be posted or provided no less than 24 hours before the 
meeting: 
 (i)  At the anchor location; 
 (ii)  On the Utah Public Notice Website; and 
 (iii)  To at least one newspaper of general circulation within 
the state or to a local media correspondent.  These notices shall be 
provided at least 24 hours before the meetings. 
 (c)  Notice of the possibility of an electronic meeting shall 
be given to board members at least 24 hours before the meeting.  In 
addition, the notice shall describe how a member may participate in 
the meeting electronically or telephonically. 
 (d)  When notice is given of the possibility of a board 
member appearing electronically or telephonically, any board 
member may do so and shall be counted as present for purposes of a 
quorum and may fully participate and vote on any matter coming 
before the board. 
 (i)  At the commencement of the meeting, or at such time 
as any board member initially appears electronically or 
telephonically, the chair should identify for the record all those who 
are appearing telephonically or electronically. 
 (ii)  Votes by members of the board who are not at the 
physical location of the meeting shall be confirmed by the chair. 
 (e)  The anchor location, unless otherwise designated in the 
notice, shall be at the offices of the Utah Department of Natural 
Resources, 1594 West North Temple, Salt Lake City, Utah. 
 (i)  The anchor location is the physical location from which 
the electronic meeting originates or from which the participants are 
connected. 
 (ii)  The anchor location shall have space and facilities so 
that interested persons and the public may attend, monitor, and 
participate in the open portions of the meeting. 
 
R651-103-4.  Board and Council Emergency Meetings. 
 (1)  There are times when, due to the necessity of 
considering matters of an emergency or urgent nature, the public 
notice Subsection 52-4-202(1) cannot be met.  Pursuant to Subsection 
52-4-202(5), the notice requirements in Subsection 52-4-202(1) may 
be disregarded when unforeseen circumstances require the board to 
meet and consider matters of an emergency or urgent nature. 
 (2)  The following procedure shall govern any emergency 
meeting: 
 (a)  No emergency meeting shall be held unless an attempt 
has been made to notify the members of the board of the proposed 
meeting and a majority of the convened members vote in the 
affirmative to hold such an emergency meeting. 
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 (b)  Public notice of the emergency meeting shall be 
provided as soon as practicable and shall include at a minimum the 
following: 
 (i)  Posting of the date, time, and place of the meeting and 
the topics to be considered: 
 (A)  At the offices of the division; 
 (B)  On the division's web page; and 
 (C)  At the location where the emergency meeting will be 
held. 
 (ii)  If members of the board appear electronically or 
telephonically, notice shall comply with the requirements of Section 
R651-103-3 to the extent practicable. 
 (c)  In convening the meeting and voting in the affirmative 
to hold such an emergency meeting, the board shall affirmatively 
state and find what unforeseen circumstances have made it necessary 
for the board to hold an emergency meeting to consider matters of an 
emergency or urgent nature such that the ordinary public notice of 
meetings Section 52-4-202 could not be followed. 
 
KEY:  electronic meetings, procedures 
Date of Last Change:  January 11, 2023 
Notice of Continuation:  April 17, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  52-4-207] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R651-607 Filing ID:  
55651 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: State Parks 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146001 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Melanie 
Shepherd 

801-538-
7418 

melaniemshepherd@utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R651-607.  Disorderly Conduct 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is coved in the statute, therefore, there is no need 
for this rule.  Section R651-607-2 is duplicative and 
covered in Section R651-633-1. 

(EDITOR;S NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule 
R651-633 is under ID 55646 in this issue, September 1, 
2023, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the state budget.  
This rule is covered in statute and will have no fiscal affect 
with the repeal of this rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal of this rule does not affect the local 
governments.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the small 
businesses.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the non-small 
businesses.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities.  This rule is covered in statute 
and will have no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the compliance costs 
for affected persons.  This rule is covered in statute and 
will have no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 79-4-501   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jeff Rasmussen,  
Director 

Date: 08/10/2023 

 
R651.  Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation. 
[R651-607.  Disorderly Conduct. 
R651-607-1.  Applicability of the Utah Criminal Code. 
 Offenses against persons and property shall be handled 
through the Utah Criminal Code. 
 
R651-607-2.  Restricted Activities. 
 No person shall participate in a posted restricted activity. 
 
KEY:  parks 
Date of Last Change:  October 4, 1999 
Notice of Continuation:  April 17, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  79-4-501] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R651-632 Filing ID:  
55648 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: State Parks 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146001 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Melanie 
Shepherd 

801-538-
7418 

melaniemshepherd@utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R651-632.  Enforcement 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is coved in the statute, therefore, there is no need 
for this rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the state budget.  
This rule is covered in statute and will have no fiscal affect 
with the repeal of this rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal of this rule does not affect the local 
governments.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the small 
businesses.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the non-small 
businesses.  This rule is covered in statute and will have 
no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities.  This rule is covered in statute 
and will have no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the compliance costs 
for affected persons.  This rule is covered in statute and 
will have no fiscal affect with the repeal of this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 79-4-501 Section 53-13-103  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 
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9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jeff Rasmussen,  
Director 

Date: 08/10/2023 

 
R651.  Natural Resources, State Parks. 
[R651-632.  Enforcement. 
R651-632-1.  Authorized Law Enforcement Officers. 
 Any law enforcement officer authorized under Section 53-
13-103 may enforce the rules promulgated under Title R651. 
 
KEY:  parks 
Date of Last Change:  January 11, 2023 
Notice of Continuation:  April 17, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  79-4-501; 
53-13-103] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R651-633 Filing ID:  
55646 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: State Parks 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146001 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Melanie 
Shepherd 

801-538-
7418 

melaniemshepherd@utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R651-633.  Special Closures or Restrictions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The addition to this rule is needed for the protection of the 
Bighorn Sheep population at Antelope Island State Park. 
 

Additionally, the change adds additional protection for 
visitors and animals that use the park to train pack 
animals. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule filing restricts trail use in sensitive locations 
during peak sheep lambing, prohibits domestic sheep, 
pack goats, and camelids from the island to prevent 
transmittable pathogens (Pasteurella spp.) from domestic 
livestock and pneumonia from infecting the Bighorn Sheep 
population. 
 
During the fall of 2018, an outbreak of Pasteurella spp. 
decimated the population of Bighorn on Antelope Island.  
Domestic sheep, goats, and camelids are known carriers 
of this disease.  With the recent explosion of visitation at 
Antelope Island the trails are becoming more and more 
crowded. 
 
Recently there have been incidents of horse trainers 
bringing out horses or mules untethered to try and "train" 
them to pack.  On several occasions these animals have 
run away and injured other horses or riders.  The current 
park code says to keep "pets" on a leash.  The argument 
is being made that these horses and mules are not "pets".  
This rule would make it mandatory to keep them on a lead 
line or tethered. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
With the proposed rule amendment, there is no to little 
anticipated cost to the state budget. 
 
Grazing is not allowed on Antelope Island State Park and 
there are no concession activities on the park related to 
domestic sheep, pack goats, or camelids. 
 
Some additional signage may be required and an update 
to the park's printed materials.  Closing sections of the trail 
from March 15 to May 15 will not dramatically impact park 
visitation or revenue as there are many alternate trails 
available to the public. 
 
There could be cost savings in the future as this rule could 
help ensure there is not a recurrence of the 2018 incident 
where the entire Bighorn Sheep population was decimated 
and was replaced the following years by the Division of 
Wildlife Resources (DWR).  The herd at Antelope Island 
State Park is a nursery herd for DWR and used to 
repopulate other areas of the state. 
 
This rule amendment does not change legislation 
accounting for any agency as nothing is changed related 
to that. 
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B)  Local governments: 

With the proposed rule amendment, there is no to little 
anticipated cost to local governments. 
 
Grazing is not allowed on Antelope Island State Park and 
there are no concession activities on the park related to 
domestic sheep, pack goats, or camelids. 
 
Some additional signage may be required and an update 
to the park's printed materials.  Closing sections of the trail 
from March 15 to May 15 will not dramatically impact park 
visitation or revenue as there are many alternate trails 
available to the public. 
 
There could be cost savings in the future as this rule could 
help ensure there is not a recurrence of the 2018 incident 
where the entire Bighorn Sheep population was decimated 
and was replaced the following years by the DWR.  The 
herd at Antelope Island State Park is a nursery herd for 
DWR and used to repopulate other areas of the state. 
 
This rule amendment does not change legislation 
accounting for any agency as nothing is changed related 
to that. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
With the proposed rule amendment, there is no to little 
anticipated cost to small businesses. 
 
Grazing is not allowed on Antelope Island State Park and 
there are no concession activities on the park related to 
domestic sheep, pack goats, or camelids. 
 
Some additional signage may be required and an update 
to the park's printed materials.  Closing sections of the trail 
from March 15 to May 15 will not dramatically impact park 
visitation or revenue as there are many alternate trails 
available to the public. 
 
There could be cost savings in the future as this rule could 
help ensure there is not a recurrence of the 2018 incident 
where the entire Bighorn Sheep population was decimated 
and was replaced the following years by the DWR.  The 
herd at Antelope Island State Park is a nursery herd for 
DWR and used to repopulate other areas of the state. 
 
This rule amendment does not change legislation 
accounting for any agency as nothing is changed related 
to that. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
With the proposed rule amendment, there is no to little 
anticipated cost to non-small businesses. 
 
Grazing is not allowed on Antelope Island State Park and 
there are no concession activities on the park related to 
domestic sheep, pack goats, or camelids. 

Some additional signage may be required and an update 
to the park's printed materials.  Closing sections of the trail 
from March 15 to May 15 will not dramatically impact park 
visitation or revenue as there are many alternate trails 
available to the public. 
 
There could be cost savings in the future as this rule could 
help ensure there is not a recurrence of the 2018 incident 
where the entire Bighorn Sheep population was decimated 
and was replaced the following years by the DWR.  The 
herd at Antelope Island State Park is a nursery herd for 
DWR and used to repopulate other areas of the state. 
 
This rule amendment does not change legislation 
accounting for any agency as nothing is changed related 
to that. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
With the proposed rule amendment, there is no to little 
anticipated cost to persons other than small businesses, 
non-small business, state, or local government entities. 
 
Grazing is not allowed on Antelope Island State Park and 
there are no concession activities on the park related to 
domestic sheep, pack goats, or camelids. 
 
Some additional signage may be required and an update 
to the park's printed materials.  Closing sections of the trail 
from March 15 to May 15 will not dramatically impact park 
visitation or revenue as there are many alternate trails 
available to the public. 
 
There could be cost savings in the future as this rule could 
help ensure there is not a recurrence of the 2018 incident 
where the entire Bighorn Sheep population was decimated 
and was replaced the following years by the DWR.  The 
herd at Antelope Island State Park is a nursery herd for 
DWR and used to repopulate other areas of the state. 
 
This rule amendment does not change legislation 
accounting for any agency as nothing is changed related 
to that. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
With the proposed rule amendment, there is no to little 
anticipated compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
Grazing is not allowed on Antelope Island State Park and 
there are no concession activities on the park related to 
domestic sheep, pack goats, or camelids. 
 
Some additional signage may be required and an update 
to the park's printed materials.  Closing sections of the trail 
from March 15 to May 15 will not dramatically impact park 
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visitation or revenue as there are many alternate trails 
available to the public. 
 
There could be cost savings in the future as this rule could 
help ensure there is not a recurrence of the 2018 incident 
where the entire Bighorn Sheep population was decimated 
and was replaced the following years by the DWR.  The 
herd at Antelope Island State Park is a nursery herd for 
DWR and used to repopulate other areas of the state. 
 
This rule amendment does not change legislation 
accounting for any agency as nothing is changed related 
to that. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 79-4-203 Section 79-4-304 Section 79-4-501 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

10/02/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

10/10/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jeff Rasmussen,  
Director 

Date: 08/10/2023 

 
R651.  Natural Resources, State Parks. 
R651-633.  Special Closures or Restrictions. 
R651-633-1.  Emergency Closures or Restrictions. 
 [No person shall]Persons may not be in a closed area or 
participate in a restricted activity which has been posted by the park 
manager, with the approval of the region manager, to protect public 
safety or park resources during a temporary emergency situation. 
 
R651-633-2.  General Closures or Restrictions. 
 Persons are prohibited from being in a closed area or 
participating in a restricted activity as listed for the following park 
areas: 
 (1)  Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park:[ - ] 
 (a)  [Motorized vehicle use is prohibited in t]The non-
motorized area of the sand dunes prohibits motorized vehicle use, 
except for the outlined in (1)(b).[, except for limited and restricted 
access through the travel corridor;] 
 (b)  Limited and restricted motorized vehicle use through 
the travel corridor is permitted in the non-motorized area of the sand 
dunes. 
 (2)  Dead Horse State Park: 
 (a)  prohibits [H]hang gliding, para[ ]gliding, and B.A.S.E. 
jumping[ is prohibited.]; 
 (b)  prohibits [D]dogs on the Interpid Mountain Bike Trail 
System[ are prohibited.]; and 
 (c)  prohibits [B]bicycling on Rim Hiking Trails[ is 
prohibited] unless posted open. 
 (3)  Snow Canyon State Park: 
 (a)  limits [H]hiking and walking in the park[ is limited] to 
roadways, designated trails,[ and] slick rock areas, and the Sand 
Dunes area[.]; 
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 (b)(i)  except for the activities listed under Subsection 
(3)(b)(ii), [T]the last half-mile of the Johnson Canyon Trail is closed 
annually from March 15 through September 14; 
 (ii)  [except]the trail is open by permit or guided walks[; 
this portion of trail is open] from September 15 through March 14[.]; 
and 
 (iii)  the last half-mile of the Johnson Canyon Trail is open 
from September 15 through March 14. 
 (c)  closes Black Rocks Canyon[ is closed] annually from 
March 15 to June 30[.]; 
 (d)  closes West Canyon climbing routes[ are closed] 
annually from February 1 to June 1[.]; and 
 (e)  prohibits [H]hang gliding, para[ ]gliding, and B.A.S.E. 
jumping[ is prohibited]. 
 (4)  Antelope Island State Park; 
 (a)  prohibits domestic sheep, pack goats, and camelids 
from the park; 

 (b)  closes the West Side Trail annually from March 15 
through May 15 from the top of Sentry to the switchbacks for 
Bighorn Sheep lambing; 
 (c)  requires any horse and mule, if not being ridden, to be 
secured with a lead rope or by other similar means; and 
 (d)  requires all other domesticated animals, pets, or service 
animals to be on a leash, tethered, or otherwise under the physical 
control of their handlers, except for dogs actively engaged in 
waterfowl hunting activities if they are under the voice control of 
their handler. 
 
KEY:  parks 
Date of Last Change:  2023[August 22, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 17, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  79-4-203; 
79-4-304; 79-4-501 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R68-25 Filing ID: 55439 
Effective Date: 08/08/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry  
Building: TSOB, South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W  
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Cody James 385-
515-
1485 

codyjames@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R68-25.  Industrial Hemp Program-Cannabinoid Product 
Processors 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 4-41-103.1(1)(a) 
that requires that the Department of Agriculture and Food 
(Department) makes rules establishing the requirement for 
a cannabinoid processor license to process cannabinoid 
products. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
on this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it is statutorily required and 
because it provides guidance to prospective cannabinoid 
product processors regarding the requirements to get and 
maintain a license to process products in Utah.  It helps to 
ensure that products on the market are safe and honestly 
presented by ensuring accountability for processors.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 08/08/2023 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R68-26 Filing ID: 55411 
Effective Date: 08/08/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Building: TSOB, South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Cody James 385-
515-
1485 

codyjames@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R68-26.  Cannabinoid Product Registration and Labeling 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 4-41-103.1(1)(a) 
that requires that the Department of Agriculture and Food 
(Department) makes rules establishing the requirement for 
a cannabinoid processor license to process cannabinoid 
products, as well as Subsection 4-41-103.1(1)(b) that 
requires the Department to make rules establishing 
requirements for a permit to market or sell industrial hemp 
products. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
During the prior five years, the Department has received 
comments expressing concerns regarding the frequency 
of rule changes and cost of product registration. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because by requiring that all 
cannabinoid products be registered with the department 
and adhere to minimum labeling requirements the 
department is able to track products in the event of 
potential health and safety concerns as well as help 
ensure products are safe and honestly presented.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 08/08/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R154-100 Filing ID: 54777 
Effective Date: 08/10/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Corporations and Commercial Code 
Room number: Second Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146705 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6705 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leigh Veillette 801-

530-
6162 

lveillette@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R154-100.  Administrative Procedures Act Rule 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 13-1a-5 states the director of the Division of 
Corporations and Commercial Code (Division) "has 
authority: to make rules in accordance with Title 63G, 
Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, to 
administer the responsibilities of the division". 
 
Section 63G-4-202 permits an agency, by rule, to 
"designate categories of adjudicative proceedings to be 
conducted informally".  The Division has made this rule 
pursuant to the authorization in these statutory provisions. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments about Rule R154-100 have been 
received by the agency. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it provides procedural 
clarity for adjudicative proceedings.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Leigh Veillette,  
Division Director 

Date: 08/10/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R156-44a Filing ID: 52254 
Effective Date: 08/08/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Professional Licensing 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 

Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jeff Busjahn 801-

530-
6628 

jbusjahn@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R156-44a.  Nurse Midwife Practice Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 58, Chapter 44a, provides for the licensure and 
regulation of certified nurse midwives. 
 
Subsection 58-1-106(1) provides that the Division of 
Professional Licensing (Division) may adopt and enforce 
rules to administer Title 58. 
 
Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) provides that the Certified 
Nurse Midwife Board's duties, functions, and 
responsibilities includes recommending to the director 
appropriate rules. 
 
This rule was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 58, 
Chapter 44a, with respect to certified nurse midwives. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Since this rule was last reviewed in August 2018, this rule 
has been amended one time in November/December 
2019.  The Division did receive a December 1, 2019, email 
inquiry from Angela Anderson relating to the proposed fine 
schedule for certified nurse midwives as it pertained to 
opioid prescriptions.  Division Bureau Manager Jeff 
Busjahn responded to Ms. Anderson's questions raised in 
the email on December 2, 2019. 
 
The Division then made the proposed rule amendments in 
OAR File No. 44117 effective on December 9, 2019 with 
no further amendments/changes being filed.  The Division 
has received no other written comments relating to this 
rule since the December 1, 2019 email from Angela 
Anderson. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary as it provides a mechanism to 
inform potential licensees of the requirements for licensure 
as allowed under statutory authority provided in Title 58, 
Chapter 44a. 
 
This rule is also necessary as it provides information to 
ensure applicants for licensure are adequately trained and 
meet minimum licensure requirements, and provides 
licensees with information concerning unprofessional 
conduct, definitions, and ethical standards relating to the 
profession.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel,  
Division Director 

Date: 08/08/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R251-105 Filing ID: 50347 
Effective Date: 08/14/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Corrections 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 14727 Minuteman Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Draper, UT 84020 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Wendy Horlacher-
Aldrich 

435-
590-
2048 

wendyha@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R251-105.  Applicant Qualifications for Employment with 
Department of Corrections 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 63G-3-201, 64-13-10, and 
64-13-25. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Corrections has not received any written comments in the 
past five years pertaining to this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The purpose of this rule is to provide policies and procedures 
for the screening, testing, interviewing, and selecting of 
applicants for Department of Corrections employment.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Brian Redd,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 08/09/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R277-550 Filing ID: 53247 
Effective Date: 08/15/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.uta
h.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-550.  Charter Schools - Definitions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized pursuant to the Utah Constitution, 
Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and 
supervision over public education in the Board; Subsection 
53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to execute rules to 
carry out its duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law; and Title 53G, Chapter 5, Charter 
Schools, which allows the Board to make rules governing 
aspects of operations of charter schools. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
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5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it establishes definitions for 
Rules R277-550 through R277-555 that govern charter 
schools.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R277-554 Filing ID: 50498 
Effective Date: 08/15/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.uta
h.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-554.  State Charter School Board Grants and 
Mentoring Program 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized pursuant to the Utah Constitution, 
Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and 
supervision over public education in the Board; Subsection 
53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to execute rules to 
carry out its duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law; Title 53G, Chapter 5, Charter 
Schools, which allows the Board to make rules governing 
aspects of operations of charter schools; and Section 53F-2-

705, which requires the Board to make rules regarding start-
up and implementation grants and a mentoring program. 
  
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it establishes rules for the 
State Charter School Board to operate a start-up and 
implementation grant for charter schools, and a mentoring 
program for charter schools.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R602-7 Filing ID: 51487 
Effective Date: 08/15/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Adjudication 
Room number: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M. Wells Bldg 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Aurora Holley 801-

530-
6865 

auroraholley@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
530-
6113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 



FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION  

210 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R602-7  Adjudication of Discrimination Claims 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 34A-5-107 authorizes the Labor Commission to 
conduct adjudicative proceedings to resolve claims of 
discrimination. 
 
Section 34A-5-107 also authorized the Labor Commission 
to adopt rules to carry out those adjudicative functions. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during or since 
the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
As part of the Labor Commission's continuing 
responsibility to administer a system for adjudication of 
discrimination claims, it is necessary for the Labor 
Commission to establish procedures for handling these 
claims.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jaceson R.  
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R602-8 Filing ID: 51489 
Effective Date: 08/15/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Adjudication 
Room number: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells Bldg 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Aurora Holley 801-

530-
6865 

Auroraholley@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
530-
6113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R602-8  Adjudication of Utah Occupational Safety and 
Health Citation Claims 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Sections 34A-6-105, 34A-6-303, and 34A-6-304 authorize 
the Labor Commission to conduct adjudicative 
proceedings to resolve contests of Utah Occupational 
Safety and Health Citation.  These sections also authorize 
the Labor Commission to adopt rules to carry out those 
adjudicative functions. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during or since 
the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
As part of the Labor Commission's continuing 
responsibility to administer a system for adjudication of 
contests of Utah Occupational Safety and Health citations, 
it is necessary for the Labor Commission to establish 
procedures for handling these claims.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jaceson R.  
Maughan, 
Commissioner 

Date: 08/15/2023 

 
 

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section



 

211  UTAH STATE BULLETIN, September 01, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 17 

NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  If the agency finds that it will not meet 
the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW 
EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office of Administrative Rules.  The EXTENSION permits the agency to file the review 
up to 120 days beyond the anniversary date. 
 
Agencies have filed EXTENSIONS for the rules listed below.  The "Extended Due Date" is 120 days after the anniversary 
date. 
 
EXTENSIONS are governed by Subsection 63G-3-305(6). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R945-1 Filing ID: 52603 
New Deadline  
Date: 

01/05/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: 5th Floor 
Building: Board of Regents Building, The 

Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Alison Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R945-1.  UTech Technical College Scholarship 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
The Utah Board of Higher Education is considering the 
repeal of Rule R945-1 and an extension will allow the 
board time to make the repeal effective before this rule 
expires. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 08/11/2023 

 

 
End of the Notices of Five-Year Review Extensions Section 
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Plant Industry 
No.  55345  (Amendment)  R68-29:  Quality Assurance 
Testing on Cannabis 
Published:  05/15/2023 
Effective:  08/01/2023 
 
No.  55345  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R68-29:  Quality 
Assurance Testing on Cannabis 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/01/2023 
 
No.  55442  (New Rule)  R68-39:  Industrial Hemp Producer 
Registration 
Published:  06/15/2023 
Effective:  08/01/2023 
 
Regulatory Services 
No.  55403  (Amendment)  R70-330:  Raw Milk for Retail 
Published:  06/01/2023 
Effective:  08/01/2023 
 
Commerce 
Real Estate 
No.  55495  (Amendment)  R162-2c:  Utah Residential 
Mortgage Practices and Licensing Rules 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/08/2023 
 
No.  55454  (Amendment)  R162-2f:  Real Estate Licensing 
and Practices Rules 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/16/2023 
 
Cultural and Community Engagement 
Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission 
No.  55449  (New Rule)  R457-1:  Pete Suazo Utah Athletic 
Commission Act Rule 
Published:  06/15/2023 
Effective:  08/18/2023 

Education 
Administration 
No.  55486  (Amendment)  R277-110:  Educator Salary 
Adjustment 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/08/2023 
 
No.  55515  (New Rule)  R277-314:  Provider-Specific 
Licenses 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/22/2023 
 
No.  55516  (Amendment)  R277-461:  Elementary School 
Counselor Grant Program 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/22/2023 
 
No.  55487  (Amendment)  R277-496:  K-3 Reading Software 
Licenses 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/08/2023 
 
No.  55488  (Amendment)  R277-497:  School Accountability 
System 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/08/2023 
 
No.  55517  (Repeal)  R277-522:  Entry Years Enhancements 
(EYE) for Quality Teaching - Level 1 Teachers 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/22/2023 
 
No.  55489  (Amendment)  R277-607:  Absenteeism and 
Truancy Prevention 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/08/2023 
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No.  55490  (Amendment)  R277-613:  LEA Policies and 
Training Regarding Bullying, cyber-bullying, Hazing, 
Retaliation, and Abusive Conduct 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/08/2023 
 
No.  55518  (Amendment)  R277-618:  Homeless Teen 
Center Grant Program 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/22/2023 
 
No.  55491  (Repeal)  R277-619:  Student Leadership Skills 
Development 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/08/2023 
 
No.  55519  (Amendment)  R277-721:  PRIME Pilot Program 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/22/2023 
 
No.  55492  (Amendment)  R277-726:  Statewide Online 
Education Program 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/08/2023 
 
No.  55520  (Amendment)  R277-750:  Education Programs 
for Students with Disabilities 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/22/2023 
 
 
Government Operations 
Finance 
No.  55521  (Amendment)  R25-7:  Travel-Related 
Reimbursements for State Travelers 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/22/2023 
 
Records Committee 
No.  55398  (Amendment)  R35-1a:  State Records 
Committee Definitions 
Published:  06/15/2023 
Effective:  08/23/2023 
 
No.  55399  (Amendment)  R35-2:  Scheduling and Declining 
Hearings 
Published:  06/15/2023 
Effective:  08/23/2023 
 
No.  55400  (Amendment)  R35-4:  Compliance with State 
Records Committee Decisions and Orders 
Published:  06/15/2023 
Effective:  08/23/2023 
 
No.  55401  (Amendment)  R35-5:  Subpoenas Issued by the 
Records Committee 
Published:  06/15/2023 
Effective:  08/23/2023 
 
No.  55402  (Amendment)  R35-6:  Expedited Hearing 
Published:  06/15/2023 
Effective:  08/23/2023 

 
Health and Human Services 
Population Health, Environmental Health 
No.  55392  (Repeal and Reenact)  R392-302:  Design, 
Construction and Operation of Public Pools 
Published:  06/01/2023 
Effective:  08/21/2023 
 
Health Care Facility Licensing 
No.  55415  (Amendment)  R432-13:  Freestanding 
Ambulatory Surgical Center Construction Rule 
Published:  06/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55494  (Amendment)  R432-35:  Background Screening 
-- Health Facilities 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/22/2023 
 
No.  55434  (Amendment)  R432-500:  Freestanding 
Ambulatory Surgical Center Rules 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
Human Services Program Licensing 
No.  55380  (Amendment)  R501-11:  Social Detoxification 
Programs 
Published:  05/15/2023 
Effective:  08/02/2023 
 
No.  55383  (Amendment)  R501-18:  Recovery Residence 
Services 
Published:  05/15/2023 
Effective:  08/02/2023 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  55511  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-191:  Unfair Life 
Insurance Claims Settlement Practices Rule 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/22/2023 
 
No.  55512  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-192:  Unfair 
Accident and Health Claims Settlement Practices 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/22/2023 
 
No.  55513  (Repeal)  R590-248:  Mandatory Fraud Reporting 
Rule 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/22/2023 
 
Title and Escrow Commission 
No.  55514  (Repeal)  R592-15:  Schedule of Minimum 
Charges for Escrow Services 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/21/2023 
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Natural Resources 
Outdoor Recreation 
No.  55500  (New Rule)  R650-101:  Procedures for 
Applications to Receive Funds from the Zion National Park 
Support Programs Restricted Account 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/21/2023 
 
No.  55445  (New Rule)  R650-301:  Off Highway Vehicle 
Recreation Grant Program 
Published:  06/15/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  55462  (Repeal)  R657-3:  Collection, Importation, 
Transportation, and Possession of Animals 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55463  (New Rule)  R657-3a:  Collection, Importation, 
Transportation, and Possession of Animals 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55464  (New Rule)  R657-3b:  Certification of 
Registration – Birds and Mammals 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55465  (New Rule)  R657-3c:  Certification of 
Registration – Fish, Mollusks, and Crustaceans 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55467  (Amendment)  R657-5:  Taking Big Game 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55468  (Amendment)  R657-6:  Taking Upland Game 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55469  (Amendment)  R657-9:  Taking Waterfowl, Snipe 
and Coot 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55470  (Amendment)  R657-10:  Taking Cougar 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55471  (Amendment)  R657-11:  Taking Furbearers and 
Trapping 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55472  (Amendment)  R657-13:  Taking Fish and 
Crayfish 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 

 
No.  55473  (Amendment)  R657-14:  Commercial Harvesting 
of Protected Aquatic Wildlife 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55476  (Amendment)  R657-33:  Taking Bear 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55477  (Amendment)  R657-37:  Cooperative Wildlife 
Management Units for Big Game or Turkey 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55478  (Amendment)  R657-42:  Fees, Exchanges, 
Surrenders, Refunds and Reallocation of Wildlife Documents 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55480  (Amendment)  R657-54:  Taking Wild Turkey 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55481  (Amendment)  R657-59:  Private Fish Ponds, 
Short Term Fishing Events, Private Fish Stocking, and 
Institutional Aquaculture 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55482  (Amendment)  R657-62:  Drawing Application 
Procedures 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55483  (Amendment)  R657-67:  Utah Hunter Mentoring 
Program 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
No.  55484  (Amendment)  R657-69:  Turkey Depredation 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/10/2023 
 
 
Transportation 
Administration 
No.  55508  (Amendment)  R907-67:  Debarment of 
Contractors from Work on Department Projects -- Reasons 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  08/23/2023 
 
 
Workforce Services 
Housing and Community Development 
No.  55499  (Amendment)  R990-300:  Review Process for 
Plan for Moderate Income Housing Reports 
Published:  07/01/2023 
Effective:  08/24/2023 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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