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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between November 16, 2023, 12:00 a.m., and 
December 01, 2023, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the December 15, 2023, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least January 17, 2024.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through April 15, 2024, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R35-1 Filing ID:  
56201 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Records Committee 
Street address: 346 S Rio Grande St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Rebekkah Shaw 801-

531-
3851 

rshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R35-1.  State Records Committee Appeal Hearing 
Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The changes here are intended to clarify how the 
Committee’s orders are created, specifically that the order 
can include legal analysis not mentioned during 
deliberation. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
A rewording of Section R35-1-3 is to clarify the petitioner 
has the burden of proof to show the governmental entity's 
search effort was not reasonable. 
 
A rewording of Subsection R35-1-5(2) is to explain how the 
Committee's orders are created. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  The changes clarify current 
practice. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  The changes clarify current 
practice. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  The changes clarify current 
practice. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  The changes clarify current 
practice. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  The changes clarify current 
practice. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  All other changes are to clarify 
current practice. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Marvin Dodge, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63G-2-502(2) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kenneth Williams,  
Director and State  
Archivist 

Date: 10/16/2023 

 
R35.  Government Operations, Records Committee. 
R35-1.  State Records Committee Hearing Procedures. 
R35-1-3.  Burden of Proof. 
 (1)(a)  In cases where the appeal concerns whether the 
governmental entity possesses or maintains the requested records, the 
governmental entity must show by a preponderance of the evidence 
that its search for the requested records was reasonable. 
 ([a]b)  Upon the governmental entity establishing by a 
preponderance of the evidence that its search was reasonable, the 
burden of proof shifts to the petitioner who must show by a 
preponderance of the evidence that the search efforts [lacked good 
faith.]were not reasonable. 

 (2)  In hearings concerning whether a person is a vexatious 
requester, the Committee shall examine the totality of the 
circumstances in determining that the person is a vexatious requester 
as outlined in Subsection 63G-2-209(9). 
 
R35-1-5.  Issuing the Committee Decision and Order. 
 (1)  The Committee may issue the following Orders: 
 (a)  grant the petitioner's appeal in whole or in part; 
 (b)  deny the petitioner's appeal in whole or in part; 
 (c) continue the hearing to a later date; 
 (d)  deny or allow a vexatious requester hearing; 
 (e)  declare a person a vexatious requester; or 
 (f)  require a governmental entity to make redactions in the 
record, [unredact]remove redactions[ information], or take other 
action necessary to carry out[effectuate] the Decision and Order. 
 (2)  [The Committee may collaboratively draft its Order 
privately after the hearing.]In its Orders, the Committee may, as 
needed to comply with Subsection 63G-2-403(12)(a), cite to and 
analyze legal authority not voiced in its deliberations as long as the 
cited authority supports the dispositive motion the Committee voted 
upon in the hearing. 
[ (a)  In its collaborative private drafting, the Committee may 
refine its reasoning to include legal authority, analysis, relevant facts, 
and other considerations not actually voiced in public deliberation. 
 (3)  The Decision and Order must be signed by the 
Committee Chair and distributed by the Executive Secretary within 
seven business days after the hearing.  Copies of each Decision and 
Order shall be distributed to the petitioner, the governmental entity 
and other interested parties.  The original Order shall be maintained 
by the Executive Secretary.  A copy of the Decision and Order shall 
be made available for public access at the Utah State Archives 
website.] 
 (3)(a)(i)  The Committee Chair or Chair pro tem shall sign 
the Decision and Order; and 
 (ii)  the Executive Secretary shall distribute the Decision 
and Order within seven business days after the hearing. 
 (b)  The Executive Secretary shall distribute copies of each 
Decision and Order to the petitioner, the governmental entity, and 
other interested parties. The Committee shall maintain the original 
Order. 
 (4)  The Committee shall make a copy of the Decision and 
Order available for public access on the Utah State Archives website. 
 ([4]5)  Before either party appeals an Order pursuant to 
Section 63G-2-404, the Committee may withdraw its Order by 
delivering notice to the parties of the withdrawal. Upon the 
withdrawal, the Executive Secretary shall add the withdrawn Order 
to the agenda of the next regularly scheduled public Committee 
meeting. 
 
KEY:  government documents, state records committee, records 
appeal hearings, vexatious requester hearings 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 11, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 3, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-2-
401(5)(c); 63G-2-403(9); 63G-2-403(4)(a); 63G-2-201; 63A-12-
101; 52-4-203 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R35-2 Filing ID:  
56201 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Records Committee 
Street address: 346 S Rio Grande St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Rebekkah Shaw 801-

531-
3851 

rshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R35-2.  Scheduling and Declining Hearings 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This change is to bring this rule more in line with statute, 
see Subsection 63G-2-403(4)(b). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
An update for Subsections R35-2-2(1)(a) and R35-2-
3(1)(a) removes a second member of the Committee when 
the Executive Secretary recommends an appeal be 
denied. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  The changes clarify current 
practice. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  The changes clarify current 
practice. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  The changes clarify current 
practice. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  The changes clarify current 
practice. 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  The changes clarify current 
practice. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no substantive changes being made regarding 
the fiscal impact of this rule.  All other changes are to clarify 
current practice. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
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The Director of the Department of Government 
Operations, Marvin Dodge, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
63G-2-502(2) 

Subsection 
63G-2-403(4)(b) 
(ii)(B) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kenneth Williams,  
Director and State  
Archivist 

Date: 10/16/2023 

 
R35.  Government Operations, Records Committee. 
R35-2.  Scheduling and Declining Hearings. 
R35-2-2.  Scheduling and Declining Requests for Appeal 
Hearings. 
 (1)(a)  To decline a request for a hearing under Subsection 
63G-2-403(4), the Executive Secretary shall consult with the 
Committee Chair and at least one other member of the Committee. 
 ([a]b)  The Committee Chair [and one other member of the 
Committee ]must [both ]agree with the Executive Secretary's 
recommendation to decline to schedule a hearing.  Such a decision 
shall consider the potential for a public interest claim as the petitioner 
may [be ]put forward [by the petitioner ]under Subsection 63G-2-
403(11)(b). 
 ([b]c)  The Executive Secretary's notice to the petitioner 
indicating that the Committee Chair declined the request for a 
hearing[ has been declined], as provided for in Subsection 63G-2-
403(4)(b)(ii)(A), shall include a copy of the previous Order of the 
Committee holding that the records at issue are appropriately 
classified. 
 (2)(a)  In any appeal to the Committee of a governmental 
entity's denial of access to records because the record is not 
maintained by the governmental entity, the petitioner shall provide 
sufficient evidence in the petitioner's statement of facts, reasons, and 
legal authority in support of the appeal, that the record was 
maintained by the governmental entity at one time, or that the 

governmental entity has concealed, or has not sufficiently or has 
improperly searched for the record. 
 (b)  The Committee Chair shall determine whether or not 
the petitioner has provided sufficient evidence. 
 (c)  If the Committee Chair determines that the petitioner 
provided sufficient evidence[ has been provided], the Chair shall 
direct the Executive Secretary to schedule a hearing. 
 (d)  If the Committee Chair determines that the petitioner 
has not provided sufficient evidence[ has not been provided], the 
Chair shall direct the Executive Secretary to not schedule a hearing 
and to inform the petitioner of the determination. 
 (e)  Evidence that a governmental entity has disposed of the 
record according to retention schedules is sufficient basis for the 
Chair to direct the Executive Secretary to not schedule a hearing. 
 (3)  To file an appeal, the petitioner must submit the 
following: 
 (a)  a copy of the petitioner's initial records request, or a 
statement of the specific records requested if a copy is unavailable to 
the petitioner; 
 (b)  a copy of any records appeals; 
 (c)  a copy of the final responses from the respondents 
containing their decisions regarding the records request and appeals; 
and 
 (d)  [and ]a statement of relief sought. 
 (4)(a)  If the petitioner fails to provide any of the documents 
under R35-2-2(3)[ have not been provided], the Executive Secretary 
shall notify the petitioner that until the proper information is 
submitted, a hearing cannot be scheduled[ until the proper 
information is submitted]. 
 (b)  Pursuant to Subsections 63G-2-403(2) and (4)(a), 
[T]the petitioner must provide the missing information within seven 
days of receipt of the notice [in order ]for the Executive Secretary to 
consider a notice of appeal [to be considered ]filed[ pursuant to 
Subsections 63G-2-403(2) and (4)(a)]. 
 (5)  Pursuant to Subsection 63G-2-403(1)(a), the Executive 
Secretary will not schedule an[An] appeal not timely received[ 
pursuant to Subsection 63G-2-403(1)(a) will not be scheduled]. 
 (6)  Pursuant to Title 63G, Chapter 2, Part 7, Applicability 
to Political Subdivisions, the Judiciary, and the Legislature, and to 
Subsection 63G-2-402(1)(b), the Executive Secretary may not 
schedule an[An] appeal pertaining to the Judiciary, Legislature, or to 
a political subdivision that has established a local appeals board that 
has not yet received and addressed the appeal, because it is not within 
the Committee's jurisdiction[ and will not be scheduled pursuant to 
Title 63G, Chapter 2, Part 7, Applicability to Political Subdivisions, 
the Judiciary, and the Legislature, and to Subsection 63G-2-
402(1)(b)]. 
 (7)  The Committee shall deny the request from[If] a 
governmental entity [requests ]to have an appeal dismissed due to 
lack of jurisdiction after a petitioner fails[by challenging the 
Committee's jurisdiction based on failure of the petitioner] to serve 
notice of appeal to the governmental entity pursuant to Subsection 
63G-2-403(3)(a)[, the Committee shall deny the request]. 
 (8)  The Executive Secretary shall report on appeals 
received at each regularly scheduled meeting of the Committee to 
provide a public record of the actions taken. 
 (9)(a)  If a Committee member has requested a discussion 
to reconsider the decision to decline or not schedule a hearing, the 
Committee may, after discussion and by a majority vote, choose to 
reverse the decision and hold a hearing. 
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 (b)  The discussion of reconsideration is restricted to 
Committee members currently present, and it shall include only[Any 
discussion of reconsideration shall be limited to those Committee 
members then present, and shall be based only on] the following two 
questions: 
 (i)  whether the records [being ]requested were covered by 
a previous Order of the Committee; and 
 (ii)  whether the petitioner has, or is likely to, put forth a 
public interest claim. 
[ (c)  Neither the petitioner nor the agency whose records are 
requested shall be heard at this time.] 
 (c[d])  If the Committee votes to hold a hearing, the 
Executive Secretary shall schedule it on the agenda of the next 
regularly scheduled Committee meeting. 
 (10)  The Executive Secretary shall compile and include in 
an annual report to the Committee a complete documented list of 
hearings held, withdrawn, and declined. 
 (11)(a)  A party may submit a brief statement of facts and 
arguments in support or against the requested relief that shall be no 
longer than 15 pages double-spaced. 
 (b)  The format should adhere to the  Utah Rules of Civil 
Procedure Rule 10(d). 
 (c)  Either party may request [Requests can be made of ]the 
Chair to allow a longer statement of facts. 
 
R35-2-3.  Scheduling and Declining Requests for Vexatious 
Requester Hearings. 
 (1)  To decline a request for a hearing under Section 63G-
2-209, the Executive Secretary shall consult with the Chair and one 
other member of the Committee. 
 (a)  The Committee Chair [and one other member of the 
Committee ]must [both ]agree with the Executive Secretary's 
recommendation to decline to schedule a hearing. 
 (b)  The Executive Secretary's notice to the petitioner and 
respondent shall include the reasons for the denial and notify the 
parties that the Committee will vote to accept or reject the 
recommendation to deny the petition without a hearing. 
 (c)  Upon notifying the parties of the denial, the Executive 
Secretary shall add an action item to the next meeting agenda when 
the Committee will vote to accept or reject the denial. 
 (2)  To request a hearing on whether an individual is a 
vexatious requester, the governmental entity must submit the 
following: 
 (a)  the name, phone number, mailing address, and email 
address of the respondent; 
 (b)  a description of the conduct that the governmental 
entity claims demonstrates that the respondent is a vexatious 
requester; 
 (c)  a statement of the relief sought; 
 (d)  a sworn or unsworn declaration; and 
 (e)  verification that the governmental entity sent a copy of 
the petition [was sent ]to the respondent. 
 (f)  If the governmental entity has not provided [any of ]the 
information required in Subsection R35-2-3(2)[ have not been 
provided], the Executive Secretary shall notify the governmental 
entity that a hearing may not [cannot ]be scheduled until the proper 
information is submitted. 
 
KEY:  government documents, state records committee, records 
appeal hearings, vexatious requester hearings 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 12, 2023] 

Notice of Continuation:  June 3, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-2-
402(1)(b); 63G-2-403(1); 63G-2-403(2); 63G-2-403(3)(a); 63G-2-
403(4); 63G-2-403(4)(b)(ii)(A); 63G-2-403(11)(b); 63G-2-502 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R156-60 Filing ID:  
56209 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Professional Licensing 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 

Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jana Johansen 801-

530-
6628 

janajohansen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-60.  Mental Health Professional Practice Act Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Division of Professional Licensing (Division) in 
collaboration with the Clinical Mental Health Licensing 
Board, Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Board, 
Social Worker Licensing Board, and the Substance Use 
Disorder Counselor Licensing Board makes this filing with 
the intent that the Mental Health Professional Practice Act 
Rule be repealed (Rule R156-60) and the provisions of this 
rule added in each of the professions existing rules, 
specifically Rules R156-60a, R156-60b, R156-60c, and 
R156-60d. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTES:  The proposed amendment to Rule 
R156-60a is under ID 56210, the proposed amendment to 
Rule R156-60b is under ID 56211, the proposed 
amendment to Rule R156-60c is under ID 56216, and the 
proposed amendment to Rule R156-60d is under ID 56217 
all in this issue, December 15, 2023, of the Bulletin.) 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is being repealed in its entirety due to statute 
changes in H.B. 250 passed in the 2023 General Session. 
 
 
Public Hearing Information: 
There will be a public hearing on 01/16/2024 at 9:00 AM at 
the Heber Wells Building, 160 E 300 S, Conference Room 
474, Salt Lake City, UT.  Also available via Google Meet 
(see below). 
 
Google Meeting link: 
meet.google.com/yfq-psko-xgt 
 
Or join by phone: 
(US) +1 304-691-0096 
PIN: 605869246 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
The requested changes reflect a repeal and moving 
provisions of current industry standards as approved by 
the Clinical Mental Health Licensing Board, Marriage and 
Family Therapist Licensing Board, Social Worker 
Licensing Board, and the Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Licensing Board and will continue to ensure 
that the minimum required standards have been met. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
The requested changes reflect a repeal and moving 
provisions of current industry standards as approved by 
the Clinical Mental Health Licensing Board, Marriage and 
Family Therapist Licensing Board, Social Worker 
Licensing Board, and the Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Licensing Board and will continue to ensure 
that the minimum required standards have been met. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
The requested changes reflect a repeal and moving 
provisions of current industry standards as approved by 
the Clinical Mental Health Licensing Board, Marriage and 
Family Therapist Licensing Board, Social Worker 
Licensing Board, and the Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Licensing Board and will continue to ensure 
that the minimum required standards have been met. 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures. 
 
The requested changes reflect a repeal and moving 
provisions of current industry standards as approved by 
the Clinical Mental Health Licensing Board, Marriage and 
Family Therapist Licensing Board, Social Worker 
Licensing Board, and the Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Licensing Board and will continue to ensure 
that the minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes for affected persons, so there is no fiscal 
impact. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on affected persons. 
 
The requested changes reflect a repeal and moving 
provisions of current industry standards as approved by 
the Clinical Mental Health Licensing Board, Marriage and 
Family Therapist Licensing Board, Social Worker 
Licensing Board, and the Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Licensing Board and will continue to ensure 
that the minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes for affected persons, so there is no fiscal 
impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As described above in Box 5(E) for other persons, the 
proposed changes are not expected to have any 
compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 
 
The Division proposes repealing this rule and moving the 
provisions of this rule into existing rules (R156-60a, R156-
60b, R156-60c, and R156-60d) separated for types of 
mental health professionals. 
 
The new provisions will incorporate part of this repealed 
rule, amend the separate rules in response to the statutory 
changes made by H.B. 250 (2023).  The amendments 
incorporate parts of the repealed rule, contain the 
proposed amendments, make nonsubstantive formatting 
changes to streamline and to update the rules, clarify and 
update definitions, and comply with the Rulewriting 
Manual for Utah. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees): 
Due to the repeal of this rule and as noted in the separate 
rules submitted concurrently, the Division does not expect 
any foreseeable impact on small businesses in the mental 
health professions in the state of Utah.  The proposed 
amendments are to conform to the requirements of H.B. 
250 (2023). 
 
The changes are to move the provisions of this rule due to 
the repeal of this rule (Rule R156-60) into the other rules 
to update and encompass current statutory requirements 
and practices in the profession. 
 

Further, the Division does not foresee any negative impact 
on small businesses since grammatical and formatting 
amendments are made to make the other rules comport 
with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses (50 or 
more employees): 
The Division finds that the non-small businesses in the 
mental health professions in the state of Utah will not suffer 
a negative fiscal impact from the repeal of Rule R156-60 
and the proposed incorporation of Rule R156-60 into 
Rules R156-60a, R156-60b, R156-60c, and R156-60d, 
along with the statutory amendments. 
 
However, these amendments will have no expected fiscal 
impact for non-small businesses in Utah for the same 
rationale as described above for small businesses. 
 
Further, any of these costs are either inestimable, for the 
reasons stated above, or there is no fiscal impact. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
58-1-106(1)(a) 

Subsection 
58-1-202(1)(a) 

Section 58-60-101 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical 

address or URL): 
01/16/2024 9:00 AM See information in 

Box 4 above. 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel,  
Division Director 

Date: 11/20/2023 
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R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
[R156-60.  Mental Health Professional Practice Act Rule. 
R156-60-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Mental Health Professional 
Practice Act Rule." 
 
R156-60-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions regarding mental health 
professional practice in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 60, as used in Title 
58, Chapters 1 and 60, the following rule definitions supplement the 
statutory definitions: 
 (1)  "Approved diagnostic and statistical manual for mental 
disorders" means the following: 
 (a)  Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fifth Edition: DSM-5 published by the American Psychiatric 
Association; 
 (b)  2015 ICD-10-CM for Physicians, Professional Edition 
published by the American Medical Association; or 
 (c)  ICD-10-CM 2019: The Complete Official Draft Code 
Set published by the American Medical Association. 
 (2)  "Client" or "patient" means an individual who if 
competent requests, or if not competent to request is lawfully 
provided professional services by a mental health therapist when the 
mental health therapist: 
 (a)  agrees verbally or in writing to provide professional 
services to that individual; or 
 (b)  without an overt agreement does in fact provide 
professional services to that individual. 
 (3)  "Direct supervision" of a supervisee in training, as used 
in Subsections 58-60-205(1)(f), 58-60-305(1)(f), 58-60-405(1)(f), 
and 58-60-502(3) means the supervisor meets with the supervisee: 
 (a)  when both are physically present in the same room at 
the same time; or 
 (b)  remotely via real-time electronic methods that allow 
for visual and audio interaction between the supervisor and 
supervisee, in accordance with the requirements of their supervision 
contract. 
 (4)  "Employee" means a W-2 employee as defined by the 
Internal Revenue Service. 
 (5)  "General supervision" means that the supervisor is 
available for consultation with the supervisee by personal face to face 
contact, or direct voice contact by telephone, radio, or some other 
means within a reasonable time consistent with the acts and practices 
in which the supervisee is engaged. 
 (6)  "On-the-job training program" means a program that: 
 (a)  applies to individuals who have completed courses 
required for graduation in a degree or formal training program that 
would qualify for licensure under this chapter; 
 (b)  starts immediately upon completion of courses required 
for graduation; 
 (c)  ends 45 days from the date it begins, or upon licensure, 
whichever is earlier, and may not be extended or used a second time; 
 (d)  is completed while the individual is an employee of a 
public or private agency engaged in mental health therapy or 
substance use disorder counseling; and 
 (e)  is supervised by a qualified individual licensed under 
this chapter, and includes supervision meetings on at least a weekly 
basis with the supervisee and supervisor physically present in the 
same room at the same time. 
 (7)  "Supervision contract" means a written, signed contract 
between a supervisor and a supervisee to complete supervised 

training requirements for licensure, which includes the provisions 
required by Subsection R156-60-302(1). 
 (8)  "Supervision form" means the form provided by the 
Division to document ongoing supervision, which at minimum 
includes: 
 (a)  the dates and duration of supervisory meetings; 
 (b)  the format of supervisory meetings; 
 (c)  the location of supervisory meetings; 
 (d)  an evaluation of supervisee performance; and 
 (e)  confirmation that the meetings took place. 
 (9)  "Verification of supervision form" means the form 
provided by the Division to document who is providing supervision 
to the supervisee, which at minimum includes: 
 (a)  the name and license number of the supervisee; 
 (b)  the name and license number of the supervisor; and 
 (c)  the supervisee's  place of employment. 
 
R156-60-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer Title 
58, Chapter 60. 
 
R156-60-104.  Organization - Relationship to Rule R156-1. 
 The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule 
R156-1 is as described in Section R156-1-107. 
 
R156-60-105.  Continuing Education. 
 In accordance with Section 58-60-105, the continuing 
professional education (CE) requirements for each two-year renewal 
cycle commencing on October 1 of each even-numbered year, are 
established as follows: 
 (1)  An individual licensed under Title 58, Chapter 60 shall 
complete at least 40 CE hours, or 20 hours for an SSW or CSW, to 
include: 
 (a)  six hours of education in ethics, law, or technology; 
 (b)  two hours of training in suicide prevention in 
accordance with Section R156-60-205; and 
 (c)  for a marriage and family therapist, the following 
required hours under this subsection shall be directly related to 
marriage and family therapy: 
 (i)  at least 15 hours of the 40 CE hours; and 
 (ii)  at least three hours of the six hours in ethics, law, or 
technology. 
 (2)  A licensee who completes more than the required 
number of CE hours during a two-year renewal cycle may carry over 
excess hours to the next two-year renewal cycle, as follows: 
 (a)  for an SSW or CSW, up to five hours of the excess; and 
 (b)  for other licensees, up to ten hours of the excess. 
 (3)  A licensee may not carry forward any CE hours 
received prior to being granted a license, including professional 
upgrades. 
 (4)  If a licensee first becomes licensed during the two-year 
renewal period, the licensee's required number of CE hours shall be 
decreased proportionately according to the date of licensure. 
 (5)  The Division may defer or waive CE requirements in 
accordance with Section R156-1-308d. 
 (6)  CE shall: 
 (a)  be relevant to the licensee's scope of practice; 
 (b)  have a method of verification of attendance and 
completion; 
 (c)  be prepared and presented by individuals who are 
qualified by education, training, and experience to provide CE; and 
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 (d)  be approved by, conducted by, or under the sponsorship 
of one of the following: 
 (i)  a recognized accredited college or university; 
 (ii)  a county, state, or federal agency; 
 (iii)  a professional association or similar body involved in 
mental health therapy; 
 (iv)  a mental health agency that provides mental health 
services; or 
 (v)  the Division. 
 (7)  A licensee may recognize CE credit as follows: 
 (a)  for the following forms of education, one CE hour for 
each 50 minutes of education: 
 (i)  lectures; 
 (ii)  seminars; 
 (iii)  conferences; 
 (iv)  training sessions; 
 (v)  real-time, interactive distance learning courses that are 
clearly documented as real-time and interactive; and 
 (vi)  specialty certifications; 
 (b)  for college or university credit courses directly related 
to the licensee's scope of practice, three CE hours per semester hour, 
or 1.5 CE hours per quarter hour; 
 (c)  for distance learning courses that are not real-time and 
interactive, one hour of CE for each hour, up to a maximum of: 
 (i)  15 CE hours for an LCSW; 
 (ii)  eight hours for an SSW or CSW; 
 (iii)  15 CE hours for an MFT; 
 (iv)  ten CE hours for a CMHC; and 
 (v)  15 CE hours for a SUDC; 
 (d)(i)  for each hour of lecturing or instructing a CE course 
or teaching in a college or university in the licensee's profession, two 
CE hours, or one hour for an SW, up to a maximum of: 
 (A)  ten CE hours for an LCSW; 
 (B)  five CE hours for an SSW or CSW; 
 (C)  14 CE hours for an MFT; 
 (D)  ten CE hours for a CMHC; and 
 (E)  ten CE hours for a SUDC; 
 (ii)  credit may be granted for lecturing or instructing the 
same course up to two times; 
 (e)  for each hour of certifiable clinical readings, one CE 
hour, up to a maximum of: 
 (i)  15 CE hours for a MFT; 
 (ii)  15 CE hours for a SUDC; and 
 (iii)  ten hours for a CMHC; 
 (f)  for each hour of direct supervision of an individual 
completing the experience requirement for licensure in a mental 
health therapist classification under Title 58, Chapter 60, one CE 
hour, up to a maximum of: 
 (i)  14 CE hours for a MFT; and 
 (ii)  ten CE hours for a CMHC; and 
 (g)  for each hour of volunteer service on boards, 
committees, or in leadership roles in any state, national, or 
international organization for the development and improvement of 
the licensee's profession, one CE hour, in whole or part of which may 
be counted as regular credit or ethics, law, or technology credit, up to 
a maximum of six CE hours during each two-year period. 
 (8)  A licensee shall maintain adequate documentation as 
proof of compliance with this section for a period of two years after 
the end of the renewal cycle for which the CE is due.  At minimum, 
the documentation for each course taken shall include: 
 (a)  name of attendee; 
 (b)  name of course provider; 

 (c)  name of instructor; 
 (d)  date of course; 
 (e)  title of course; 
 (f)  number of CE hours; 
 (g)  course objectives; and 
 (h)  type of CE albeit a seminar, real-time interactive 
distance learning, teaching. 
 
R156-60-205.  Qualifications for Licensure and License Renewal 
- Suicide Prevention Course. 
 The minimum two-hour suicide prevention course required 
as a qualification for licensure by Subsections 58-60-205(1)(e)(iii) 
for a social worker, 58-60-305(1)(e)(iv) for a marriage and family 
therapist, 58-60-405(1)(e)(iv) for a clinical mental health counselor, 
and 58-60-506(5)(b)(ii) for a substance use disorder counselor, and 
the minimum two-hour suicide prevention course required as a 
condition of license renewal by Subsection 58-60-105(3), shall meet 
the following standards: 
 (1)  The course shall be approved by, conducted by, or 
under the sponsorship of one of the following: 
 (a)  a recognized accredited college or university; 
 (b)  a county, state, or federal agency; 
 (c)  a professional association or similar body involved in 
mental health therapy; or 
 (d)  a mental health agency that provides mental health 
services. 
 (2)  The content of the course shall be relevant to mental 
health therapy, suicide prevention, consistent with the laws of this 
state, and include one or more of the following components: 
 (a)  suicide concepts and facts; 
 (b)  suicide risk assessment, crisis intervention, and first 
aid; 
 (c)  evidence-based intervention for suicide risk; 
 (d)  continuity of care and follow-up services for suicide 
risk; and 
 (e)  therapeutic alliances for intervention in suicide risk. 
 (3)  Each hour of education shall consist of 50 minutes of 
education in the form of classroom lectures and discussion, 
workshops, webinars, online self-paced modules, case study review, 
or simulations. 
 (4)  The course provider shall document and verify course 
attendance and completion. 
 (5)(a)  An applicant for licensure shall submit evidence of 
course completion to the Division as a prerequisite for licensure. 
 (b)  A licensee renewing their license shall maintain 
adequate documentation of course completion as required by 
Subsection R156-60-105(8). 
 
R156-60-302.  Supervised Training Requirements - Supervision 
Contract - Duties and Responsibilities of Supervisor and 
Supervisee. 
 The supervised training qualifications for licensure 
required by Subsections 58-60-204(1)(e)(ii) and (1)(f) for a social 
worker, Subsections 58-60-305(1)(e)(ii) and (1)(f) for a marriage and 
family therapist, Subsections 58-60-405(1)(d)(ii) and (1)(e) for a 
clinical mental health counselor, and Subsections 58-60-506(2)(c) 
and (5)(c) for a substance use disorder counselor, are established and 
clarified as follows: 
 (1)  Prior to beginning supervised training: 
 (a)  the prospective supervisor and supervisee shall enter 
into a written supervision contract signed by both parties; and 
 (b)  the prospective supervisor shall submit to the Division: 
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 (i)  a complete verification of supervision form; and 
 (ii)  certification that the supervision contract meets the 
requirements of Section R156-60-302. 
 (2)  A supervisee may not count any supervised training 
towards their supervision requirement until the Division notifies the 
supervisor it has received the verification of supervision form. 
 (3)  A supervision contract shall include at least the 
following provisions: 
 (a)  duties and responsibilities of the supervisor; 
 (b)  duties and responsibilities of the supervisee; 
 (c)  a plan to ensure accessibility of the supervisor to the 
supervisee; 
 (d)  a plan for meetings between the supervisor and 
supervisee, addressing: 
 (i)  frequency; 
 (ii)  duration; 
 (iii)  objectives; 
 (iv)  format, such as individual or small group; and 
 (v)  location, such as face-to-face or remotely; 
 (e)  a plan for documenting the ongoing supervision using 
the Division-provided supervision form, including objective and 
measurable circumstances where the supervisor will sign supervision 
forms; 
 (f)  a plan to address potential conflicts between the clinical 
recommendations of the supervisor and those of the representatives 
of the agency employing the supervisee; 
 (g)  remedies in the event of breach of contract by either 
the supervisor or supervisee, including procedures for contract 
termination; and 
 (h)  if any part of the supervision will be conducted 
remotely, plans for: 
 (i)  how the supervisor and supervisee will meet via real-
time electronic methods allowing visual or audio interaction, and 
protect the security of electronic, confidential data and information; 
 (ii)  how the supervisor will comply with the supervisor's 
duties and responsibilities as established in rule; 
 (iii)  how the supervisor will physically visit the location 
where the supervisee practices on at least a quarterly basis during the 
period of supervision, or at such lesser frequency as is approved in 
advance by the Division in collaboration with the Board; and 
 (iv)  how notice will be provided to the supervisee's clients 
or patients and employer regarding the supervisee's use of remote 
supervision. 
 (4)  A supervisor shall have the following duties and 
responsibilities: 
 (a)  prior to beginning any supervised training: 
 (i)  ensure that the supervisor and supervisee: 
 (A)  are both appropriately licensed; 
 (B)  enter into a written supervision contract together in 
accordance with Subsection (3); 
 (ii)  submit to the Division the verification of supervision 
form; and 
 (iii)  receive notice from the Division that it has received 
the supervision form; 
 (b)  ensure that during the period of supervised training: 
 (i)  the supervisee is employed as a W-2 employee by a 
public or private mental health agency; 
 (ii)  the supervisor and supervisee remain appropriately 
licensed; and 
 (iii)  the supervisor supervises no more than the maximum 
number of supervisees allowed by the licensee's licensing act or rule; 
 (c)  comply with the terms of the supervision contract; 

 (d)  maintain a relationship with the supervisee in which 
the supervisor is independent from control by the supervisee, and in 
which the ability of the supervisor to supervise and direct the practice 
of the supervisee is not compromised; 
 (e)  be available to the supervisee for advice, consultation, 
and direction consistent with the standards and ethics of the 
profession and the requirements suggested by the total 
circumstances, including consideration of the supervisee's level of 
training, diagnosis of patients, and other factors known to the 
supervisee and supervisor; 
 (f)  periodically review the client records assigned to the 
supervisee; 
 (g)  comply with the confidentiality requirements of 
Section 58-60-114; 
 (h)  monitor the supervisee's performance for compliance 
with the laws, rules, standards, and ethics of the profession, and 
report violations to the Division; and 
 (i)  upon completion of the supervised training, submit to 
the Division on the Division-provided supervision forms: 
 (i)  documentation of the training hours completed by the 
supervisee; and 
 (ii)  an evaluation of the supervisee with respect to the 
quality of the work performed and the supervisee's competency to 
practice in the profession. 
 (5)  A supervisee shall have the following duties and 
responsibilities: 
 (a)  prior to beginning any supervised training: 
 (i)  enter into a written supervision contract with the 
supervisor in accordance with Subsection (3); and 
 (ii)  ensure the required verification of supervision form is 
received by the Division; 
 (b)  maintain required licensure; 
 (c)  maintain employment as a W-2 employee with a public 
or private mental health agency; 
 (d)  comply with the terms of the supervision contract; 
 (e)  maintain a relationship with the supervisor in which the 
supervisor is independent from the supervisee's control, and in which 
the ability of the supervisor to supervise and direct the practice of the 
supervisee is not compromised; 
 (f)  be professionally responsible for the acts and practices 
of the supervisee that are a part of the required supervised training; 
 (g)  comply with the confidentiality requirements of 
Section 58-60-114; and 
 (h)  comply with applicable laws, rules, standards, and 
ethics of the profession. 
 (6)  A supervisor shall notify the Division in writing of any 
of the following changes, within 30 days of the change: 
 (a)  termination of a supervision contract; or 
 (b)  a change in the supervisee's placement of employment. 
 (7)(a)  If a supervisor does not support issuance of a license 
to a supervisee to practice unsupervised, or if the supervisor has other 
concerns regarding the supervisee that the supervisor believes 
requires input from the Division and Board, the supervisor shall 
submit to the Division a written explanation outlining the supervisor's 
concerns. 
 (b)  Upon receipt of written concerns from a supervisor 
with respect to a supervisee, the Division: 
 (i)  shall provide the supervisee an opportunity to respond 
in writing to the Division regarding the supervisor's concerns; 
 (ii)  shall review the written statements from the supervisor 
and supervisee with the Board; and 
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 (iii)  in consultation with the Board, may require the 
supervisee to obtain additional supervised hours, education, and 
training. 
 
R156-60-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  if providing services remotely: 
 (a)  failing to practice according to professional standards 
of care in the delivery of services remotely; 
 (b)  failing to protect the security of electronic, confidential 
data and information; or 
 (c)  failing to appropriately store and dispose of electronic, 
confidential data and information; 
 (2)  failing to follow the Model Standards of Practice for 
Child Custody Evaluation of the Association of Family and 
Conciliation Courts (AFCC) May 2006, which is incorporated by 
reference; or 
 (3)  violating a provision of Section R156-60-302 regarding 
supervised training. 
 
KEY:  licensing, mental health, therapists 
Date of Last Change:  May 1, 2023 
Notice of Continuation:  February 26, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-
106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a); 58-60-101] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R156-60a Filing ID:  
56210 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Professional Licensing 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 

Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jana Johansen 801-

530-
6628 

janajohansen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-60a.  Social Worker Licensing Act Rule 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Division of Professional Licensing (Division) in 
collaboration with Social Worker Licensing Board makes 
this filing with the intent that the amendments being 
proposed incorporate changes due to H.B. 250 passed 
during the 2023 General Session, merge provisions found 
in Rule R156-60, which is being recommended for repeal, 
and correct grammar and formatting errors. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Amendment to Section R156-60a-101 adds the remainder 
of a sentence that was missed in the last revision. 
 
Amendment to Section R156-60a-102 adds definitions 
from the Mental Health Practice Act Rule R156-60 (being 
repealed) which will provide clarity and continuity for 
readers.  This section also includes grammar and 
formatting corrections. 
 
Amendment to Section R156-60a-302a corrects grammar 
and citation number. 
 
Amendment to Section R156-60a-302b corrects grammar 
and citation number. 
 
Amendment to Section R156-60a-302c adds provisions 
regarding supervision being repealed with the Mental 
Health Practice Act Rule.  In addition, grammar, formatting, 
and citation corrections are proposed. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60a-302d reflect changes 
enacted with H.B. 250 (2023), as well as make grammar 
and citation corrections. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60a-302e remove this 
section as it is better incorporated in a later section of the 
rule. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60a-302f include the 
removal of the original Section R156-60a-302f which 
reflects changes made by H.B. 250 (2023).  The proposed 
Section R156-60a-302f clarifies what constitutes the 
required suicide prevention course, as well as 
incorporating provisions from the repealed Rule R156-60. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60a-303 correct grammar. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60a-304 add provisions 
regarding continuing education being repealed with the 
Mental Health Practice Act Rule. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60a-305a add provisions 
regarding supervisor eligibility being repealed with the 
Mental Health Practice Act Rule. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60a-305b add provisions 
regarding supervised experience, supervision contracts, 
and the duties and responsibilities of a supervisor and 
supervisee being repealed with the Mental Health Practice 
Act Rule. 
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Amendments to Section R156-60a-502 correct formatting, 
grammar, and citations. 
 
Amendments to R156-60a-601 remove this section as it is 
incorporated in Section R156-60a-302b. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed repeal of Rule R156-60 
is under ID 56209 in this issue, December 15, 2023, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 
 
Public Hearing Information: 
There will be a public hearing on 01/16/2024 at 9:00 AM at 
the Heber Wells Building, 160 E 300 S, Conference Room 
474, Salt Lake City, UT.  Also available via Google Meet 
(see below). 
 
Google Meeting link: 
meet.google.com/yfq-psko-xgt 
 
Or join by phone: 
(US) +1 304-691-0096 
PIN: 605869246 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
The requested changes reflect current industry standards 
as approved by the Social Worker Licensing Board and will 
continue to ensure that the minimum required standards 
have been met. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Social Worker Licensing 
Board and will continue to ensure that the minimum 
required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 

standards as approved by the Social Worker Licensing 
Board and will continue to ensure that the minimum 
required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Social Worker Licensing 
Board and will continue to ensure that the minimum 
required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on affected persons. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Social Worker Licensing 
Board and will continue to ensure that the minimum 
required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes for affected persons, so there is no fiscal 
impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on affected persons. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Social Worker Licensing 
Board and will continue to ensure that the minimum 
required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes for affected persons, so there is no fiscal 
impact. 
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G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 
 
The Division proposes these amendments in response to 
the statutory changes made by H.B. 250 (2023).  Because 
Rule R156-60 is being repealed, these proposed 
amendments reenact the provisions as they apply to social 
workers, make nonsubstantive formatting changes to 
streamline and to update this rule, clarify and update 
definitions and comply with the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees): 
The Division does not expect any foreseeable impact on 
small businesses in the practice of social work in the state 
of Utah.  The proposed amendments are to conform to the 

requirements of H.B. 250 (2023).  The changes are to 
amend this rule due to the repeal of Rule R156-60, update 
this rule to encompass current statutory requirements and 
practices in the profession. 
 
Further, the Division does not foresee any negative impact 
on small businesses since grammatical and formatting 
amendments are made to make this rule comport to the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Non-Small Businesses (50 or more employees): 
The Division finds that the non-small businesses in the 
social work industry in the state of Utah will not suffer a 
negative fiscal impact from the proposed rule 
amendments. 
 
However, these amendments will have no expected fiscal 
impact for non-small businesses in Utah for the same 
rationale as described above for small businesses. 
 
Further, any of these costs are either inestimable, for the 
reasons stated above, or there is no fiscal impact. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 58-60-201 Subsection 

58-1-106(1)(a) 
Subsection 
58-1-202(1)(a) 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Model Standards of Practice for Child  
Custody Evaluation  

Publisher Association of Family and  
Conciliation Courts (AFCC) 

Issue Date May 2006 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

NASW (National Association of Social 
Workers), ASWB (Association of  
Social Worker Boards), CSWE  
(Council on Social Work Education)  
and CSWA (Clinical Social Work  
Association) Standards for  
Technology in Social Work Practice 

Publisher National Association of Social 
Workers (NASW) 

Issue Date 2017 
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Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical 

address or URL): 
01/16/2024 9:00 AM See information in 

Box 4 above. 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel,  
Division Director 

Date: 11/20/2023 

 
R156.  Commerce, Professional Licensing. 
R156-60a.  Social Worker Licensing Act Rule. 
R156-60a-101.  Title - Authority - Organization and Relationship 
to Rule R156-1. 
 (1)  This rule is known as the "Social Worker Licensing Act 
Rule." 
 (2)  This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority 
of Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer 
Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 2, Social Worker Licensing Act. 
 (3)  The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule 
R156-1 is as described in Section R156-1-107. 
 
R156-60a-102.  Definitions. 
 [The following definitions supplement the statutory 
definitions]Terms used in this rule are defined in Title 58, Chapter 1, 
Division of Professional Licensing Act, and Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 
2, Social Worker Licensing Act.  In addition: 
 (1)  "Approved diagnostic and statistical manual for mental 
disorders" means the following: 
 (a)  Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fifth Edition: DSM-5-TR published by the American Psychiatric 
Association; 
 (b)  International Classification of Diseases, Tenth 
Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) for Physicians, 
Professional Edition published by the American Medical 
Association; or 
 (c)  International Classification of Diseases, Tenth 
Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM): The Complete 
Official Draft Code Set published by the American Medical 
Association. 
 (2)  "APRN" as used in Subsection R156-60a-305(1)(a)(i) 
means an advanced practice registered nurse who meets the 
requirements of Subsection 58-31b-302(5)(g) to practice within the 
psychiatric mental health nursing specialty. 

 ([1]3)  "ASWB" means the Association of Social Work 
Boards. 
 (4)  "Client" or "patient" means an individual who, if 
competent requests, or if not competent to request is lawfully 
provided professional services by a mental health therapist when the 
mental health therapist: 
 (a)  agrees verbally or in writing to provide professional 
services to that individual; or 
 (b)  without an overt agreement does in fact provide 
professional services to that individual. 
 (5)  "Clinical mental health therapy," as used in Subsections 
R156-60a-302c(1)(a) and (b), means the practice area of social work 
which focuses on the assessment, diagnosis, treatment, and 
prevention of mental disorder, emotional, and other behavioral 
disturbances using individual, group, and family therapy modalities. 
 ([4]6)  "Clinical social work concentration and practicum," 
["clinical concentration and practicum," ]"case[ ]work," "group 
work," or "family treatment course sequence with a clinical 
practicum," ["clinical practicum," or "practicum," ]as used in 
Subsections 58-60-205(1)(c)(ii), (1)(f), and (2)(c)(ii), means a track 
of professional education that is specifically established to prepare an 
individual to practice or engage in mental health therapy. 
 (7)  "Clinical social work experience," as used in Section 
R156-60a-302c includes clinical mental health therapy hours 
obtained direct with clients and: 
 (a)  conducting, with documentation, an intake interview, 
mental status evaluation, biopsychosocial history, mental health 
history, or assessment for treatment planning and caseload 
management; 
 (b)  obtaining knowledge related to techniques and 
interventions for the prevention and treatment of a broad range of 
mental health issues; 
 (c)  strategies for interfacing with the legal system 
regarding court-referred clients; 
 (d)  strategies for interfacing with integrated behavioral 
health care professionals; and 
 (e)  strategies to advocate for persons with mental health 
issues. 
 ([2]8)  "CSW" means a licensed certified social worker.[ 
 (3)  "CSWI" or "clinical social worker intern" means an 
individual who has been issued a temporary externship license under 
Section 58-60-117.] 
 (9)  "Direct supervision" of an individual in training, as 
used in Subsection 58-60-205(1)(e) means the supervisor meets with 
the supervisee: 
 (a)  when both are physically present in the same room at 
the same time; or 
 (b)  remotely via synchronous electronic methods that 
allow for visual and audio interaction between the supervisor and 
supervisee, in accordance with the requirements of their supervision 
contract. 
 (10)  "Employee" means a W-2 employee as defined by the 
Internal Revenue Service. 
 (11)  "General supervision" as used in Subsection 58-60-
202(2)(a) means that the supervisor is available for consultation with 
the supervisee by personal face-to-face contact, or direct voice 
contact by telephone, radio, or other electronic means within a 
reasonable time consistent with the acts and practices in which the 
supervisee is engaged. 
 ([5]12)  "Human growth and development," as used in 
Subsection 58-60-205([4]3)(c)(iii)(A)(II), means a course completed 
after July 1, 2024 from a Council for Social Work Education (CSWE) 
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[at an ]accredited bachelors of social work program if the course 
qualifies for a degree in social work, [college or university ]that 
includes an emphasis on human growth and development across the 
lifespan, from conception to death. 
 (13)  "Independent of control" as used in Subsections 
R156-60a-305b(4)(c) and (5)(c), means not being employed by the 
supervisee, or by an agency owned in total or in part by the 
supervisee, or in which the supervisee has any controlling interest. 
 (14)  "Intermediate treatment" as used in Subsection R156-
60a-302c(2)(c), means short-term intensive clinical mental health 
therapy provided to individuals at an institution designed to provide 
accommodation, board, and nursing care for a temporary period to 
three or more individuals, who primarily have a mental illness. 
 ([6]15)  "LCSW" means a licensed clinical social worker. 
 (16)  "Long-term treatment" as used in Subsection R156-
60a-302c(2)(d), means clinical mental health therapy provided to 
individuals at a nursing home, residential care home, group home, or 
other facility or institution that provides extended health care to a 
patient. 
 (17)  "On-the-job training program" as used in Subsection 
58-1-307(1)(c), means a program that: 
 (a)  applies to individuals who have completed courses 
required for graduation in a degree or formal training program that 
would qualify for licensure under this chapter; 
 (b)  starts immediately upon completion of courses required 
for graduation; 
 (c)  ends 45 days from the date it begins, or upon licensure, 
whichever is earlier, and may not be extended to used a second time; 
 (d)  is completed while the individual is an employee of a 
public or private mental health agency, in-patient or out-patient 
hospital, educational institution, or government agency, and is 
providing clinical mental health services; and 
 (e)  is supervised by a qualified individual licensed under 
this chapter, and includes supervision meetings on at least a weekly 
basis with the supervisee and supervisor physically present in the 
same room at the same time. 
 ([7]18)  "Social welfare policy," as used in Subsection 58-
60-205([4]3)(c)(iii)(A)(I), means a course completed after July 1, 
2024 from a CSWE accredited bachelors of social work program if 
the course qualifies for a degree in social work, [at an accredited 
college or university ]that includes emphasis on the following: 
 (a)  local, state, and federal social policy and how it impacts 
individuals, families, and communities; and 
 (b)  the diverse needs of social welfare recipients. 
 ([8]19)  "Social work practice methods," as used in 
Subsection 58-60-205([4]3)(c)(iii)(A)(III), means a course 
completed after July 1, 2024 from a CSWE accredited bachelors of 
social work program if the course qualifies for a degree in social 
work, [at a program accredited by the Council for Social Work 
Education as defined in Subsection 58-60-202(5) ]that includes 
emphasis on the following: 
 (a)  generalist social work practice at the individual, family, 
group, organization, and community levels; 
 (b)  planned client change process and social work roles at 
various levels; 
 (c)  application of key values and principles of the National 
Association of Social Workers (NASW) Code of Ethics and 
resolution of ethical dilemmas; and 
 (d)  evaluation of programs and direct practice in the social 
work field. 
 ([9]20)  "SSW" means a licensed social service worker. 

 (21)  "Supervision contract" means a written, signed 
contract between a supervisor and a supervised individual to facilitate 
the completion of the supervised clinical training requirements for 
licensure and includes the provisions required by Subsection R156-
60a-305b(3). 
 ([10]22)  "Supervised practice of mental health therapy[ by 
a clinical social worker]" as used in Subsection 58-60-202(4)(a), 
means that the CSW is under the direct and general supervision of 
[an LCSW]a license holder meeting the requirements of [Section 
R156-60a-302c]Subsection 58-60-205(1)(d)(i). 
 (23)  "Supervisor Association Verification form" means the 
form provided by the Division to document who is providing 
supervision to a supervised individual, which at a minimum includes: 
 (a)  the name and license number of the supervised 
individual; 
 (b)  the name and license number of the supervisor; and 
 (c)  the supervised individual's place of employment. 
 
R156-60a-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure as an SSW - 
Education Requirements. 
 Under Subsection 58-60-205([4]3)(c)(ii), a master's degree 
qualifying an applicant for licensure as an SSW shall be in [a]the field 
of social work, psychology, marriage and family therapy, or mental 
health counseling. 
 
R156-60a-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure as an SSW - 
Supervised Qualifying Experience Requirements. 
 Under Subsection 58-60-205([4]3)(c)(iii)(B), the 2,000 
hours of supervised qualifying experience for licensure as an SSW 
shall be performed: 
 (1)  [performed ]as a W-2 employee of an agency providing 
social work services and activities; 
 (2)  [performed ]according to a written social work job 
description approved by the licensed mental health therapist 
supervisor; and 
 (3)  [completed ]in not less than one year. 
 
R156-60a-302c.  Qualifications for Licensure as an LCSW - 
[Supervised Training]Experience Requirements. 
 (1)  Under Subsections 58-60-205(1)(d) and (e)[ and 58-
60-202(4)], the minimum 3,000 hours of clinical social work 
experience required shall include:[training and minimum 1,000 hours 
of supervised training in mental health therapy qualifying an 
applicant for licensure as an LCSW shall:] 
 (a)  1,000 hours providing clinical mental health therapy 
directly to clients; and 
 (b)  75 hours of clinical mental health therapy performed 
under direct supervision per Subsection R156-60a-102(9). 
 (2)  Clinical social work experience shall include the 
following: 
 (a)  individual, family, and group therapy; 
 (b)  crisis intervention; 
 (c)  intermediate treatment; and 
 (d)  long-term treatment. 
 (3)  Supervised training shall be obtained: 
 (a)  [be obtained ]after completion of the education in 
Subsections 58-60-205(1)(c) and [(1)](f), and may not include any 
clinical practicum hours[ obtained as part of the education program]; 
 (b)  unless Subsection ([2]4) applies, [be completed ]while 
the applicant is licensed as a CSW; 
 (c)  [be completed ]while the applicant is a W-2 employee 
providing clinical mental health services at one of the following 
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facilities:[of a public or private agency, educational institution, or 
hospital engaged in clinical mental health therapy;] 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 
 (iv)  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
 (d)[(i)  be completed]  in accordance with the supervised 
training requirements of Section R156-60-[302]305b;[ and 
 (ii)  as required by Subsection 58-60-205(1)(e), at least 100 
hours of the mental health therapy training shall be under direct 
supervision as defined in Subsection R156-60-102(4);] 
 (e)  [be completed ]under [the supervision of ]a supervisor 
who meets the requirements of Subsection 58-60-205(1)([e]d)(ii) and 
Section [R156-60-302e]R156-60a-305a; and 
 (f)  in not less than 18 months.[include the following 
training requirements: 
 (i)  individual, family, and group therapy; 
 (ii)  crisis intervention; 
 (iii)  intermediate treatment; and 
 (iv)  long term treatment.] 
 ([2]4)  Notwithstanding Subsection (3)(c), an individual 
may qualify for clinical mental health licensure when: 
 (a)  exempt [An applicant may apply for an LCSW license 
without complying with this Subsection (1)(c) if the applicant: 
 (a)  qualifies for a license exemption ]under Subsection 58-
1-307(1)(a); or 
 (b)  they completed training in another jurisdiction while: 
 (i)  licensed as the equivalent of a CSW; or 
 (ii)  engaged in the legal practice of certified social work 
while not required to be licensed. 
 ([3]5)  The exemption in Subsection 58-1-307(1)(b) does 
not permit an applicant to engage in the required hours of clinical 
social work training or clinical mental health therapy training without 
first becoming licensed as a CSW. 
 
R156-60a-302d.  Qualifications for Licensure as an LCSW - 
Examination Requirements. 
 (1)  Under Subsection 58-60-205(1)(g), [the examination 
requirements for licensure as an LCSW shall include passing the]the 
following examinations will meet this requirement: 
 (a)  ASWB Clinical Licensing Exam[ination]; or 
 (b)  [the ]Clinical Social Workers Examination of the State 
of California. 
 (2)  [Under Subsection 58-60-205(2)(d), the examination 
requirements for licensure as a CSW shall include passing the ASWB 
Masters, Advanced Generalist, or Clinical Examination. 
 (3)  Under Subsection 58-60-205(4)(d), the examination 
requirements for licensure as an SSW shall include passing the 
ASWB Bachelors Examination. 
 (4)  ]An applicant requesting additional testing time [to 
complete an ASWB exam ]under Subsection 58-60-205([5]4) shall 
complete an ASWB application for [special arrangements approved 
by the Division]non-standard testing arrangements.[ 
 
R156-60a-302e.  Qualifications to be a CSW Training Supervisor. 
 Under Subsections 58-60-202(3)(c) and 58-60-205(1)(e) 
and (f), to supervise a CSW, the supervisor shall: 
 (1)  be currently licensed in good standing; 
 (2)  for at least two consecutive years before beginning 
supervised training, have been licensed in good standing and engaged 
in lawful active practice, including providing mental health therapy; 

 (3)  supervise no more than six individuals who are 
lawfully engaged in training for the practice of mental health therapy, 
unless granted an exception in writing from the Division in 
collaboration with the Board; and 
 (4)  comply with all duties and responsibilities uniformly 
established in Section R156-60-302. 
 
R156-60a-302f.  Qualifications for Licensure as a CSWI. 
 Under Section 58-60-117, an applicant for licensure as a 
CSWI shall: 
 (1)  hold an earned master's degree from a Masters in Social 
Work program, as documented by a signed affidavit from the 
applicant's program director; and 
 (2)  be scheduled for the ASWB Masters Examination, as 
documented by the ASWB.] 
 
R156-60a-302e.  Qualifications for Licensure as an LCSW - 
Suicide Prevention Course. 
 (1)  Under Subsection 58-60-205(1)(d)(ii), the two hours 
suicide prevention course required to obtain licensure shall be: 
 (a)  approved, sponsored, or conducted by one of the 
following: 
 (i)  CSWE accredited college or university; 
 (ii)  county, state, or federal agency; 
 (iii)  professional association, or similar body, involved in 
clinical mental health therapy; or 
 (iv)  mental health agency that provides clinical mental 
health services; and 
 (b)  relevant to mental health therapy and suicide 
prevention, consistent with the laws of this state, and include one or 
more of the following components: 
 (i)  suicide concepts an facts; 
 (ii)  suicide risk assessment, crisis intervention, and first 
aid; 
 (iii)  evidence-based intervention for suicide risk; 
 (iv)  continuity of care and follow-up services for suicide 
risk; and 
 (v)  therapeutic alliances for intervention in suicide risk; 
and 
 (c)  completed in not less than 50-minute blocks of time in 
one of the following formats: 
 (i)  classroom lecture and discussion; 
 (ii)  workshops; 
 (iii)  synchronous webinars; 
 (iv)  asynchronous online self-pace modules; 
 (v)  case study reviews; or 
 (vi)  simulations; and 
 (d)  completed within two years of application. 
 (2)  The course provider shall provide certification of: 
 (a)  course attendance; 
 (b)  hours completed; 
 (c)  name of provider; and 
 (d)  date of completion. 
 (3)  An applicant for licensure shall submit certification of 
course completion, within the preceding two years, to the Division as 
a prerequisite for licensure. 
 
R156-60a-303.  [Term, Expiration, ]Renewal[.] and 
Reinstatement of License[ - Application Procedures]. 
 (1)  Under Subsection 58-1-308(1), the renewal date for the 
two-year renewal cycle for all licenses under Title 58, Chapter 60, 
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Part 2, Social Worker Licensing Act, is established in Subsection 
R156-1-308a(1). 
 (2)  Renewal and reinstatement procedures shall be in 
accordance with Sections R156-1-308a through R156-1-308l, except 
as provided in Subsection (3). 
 (3)  Under Subsection 58-1-308(5)(a)(ii)(B) and Section 
R156-1-308g, an applicant for reinstatement of licensure as an 
LCSW whose license has been expired [between two years and]over 
five years, shall upon the Division' request: 
 (a)  [upon request, ]meet with the Board to evaluate the 
applicant's ability to safely and competently practice clinical social 
work[ and mental health therapy]; and 
 (b)  complete one or more of the following[, if 
recommended by the Board to ensure the applicant can safely and 
competently practice clinical social work and mental health 
therapy;]: 
 (i)  establish a plan of supervision under an approved 
supervisor, which may include up to 3,000 hours of clinical social 
work and mental health therapy training as a CSW before qualifying 
for reinstatement of the LCSW license; 
 (ii)  pass the ASWB Clinical Licensing Exam[ination]; or 
 (iii)  complete up to 40 hours of continuing education in 
subjects determined by the Board. 
 
R156-60a-304.  Continuing Education. 
[ Under Sections 58-60-105 and 58-60-205.5, the continuing 
professional education requirements for a social worker licensed 
under Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 2, Social Worker Licensing Act, are 
established in Section R156-60-105.] 
 (1)  Under Sections 58-60-105 and 58-60-205.5, the 
continuing education (CE) requirements for each two-year renewal 
cycle beginning on October 1 of each even-numbered year, for an 
individual licensed under Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 2, Social Worker 
Licensing Act, shall: 
 (a)  be completed by an individual as follows: 
 (i)  20 hours for SSW; 
 (ii)  20 hours for CSW; 
 (iii)  40 hours for LCSW; and 
 (b)  include: 
 (i)  six hours of ethics of social work practice, law, or 
technology; and 
 (ii)  two hours in suicide prevention, this course shall meet 
the requirements of Section R156-60a-302f. 
 (2)  An individual who completes more than the required 
number of CE hours during a two-year renewal cycle may carry over 
excess hours to the next two-year renewal cycle, as follows: 
 (a)  five hours for SSW; 
 (b)  five hours for CSW; and 
 (c)  ten hours for LCSW. 
 (3)  CE shall be: 
 (a)  approved, conducted, or under the sponsorship of one 
of the following: 
 (i)  CSWE accredited college or university; 
 (ii)  county, state, or federal agency; 
 (iii)  professional association, or similar body, involved in 
clinical mental health therapy; or 
 (iv)  mental health agency that provides clinical mental 
health services; 
 (b)  completed in not less than 50-minute blocks of time in 
one of the following formats: 
 (i)  college or university lecture and discussion up to a 
maximum of: 

 (A)  three CE hours per semester hour; o 
 (B)  1.5 CE per quarter hour; 
 (ii)  conference; 
 (iii)  lecture or instruct up to a maximum of two times per 
course, up to a maximum of: 
 (A)  five hours for SSW; 
 (B)  five hours for CSW; and 
 (C)  ten hours for LCSW; 
 (iii)  seminar; 
 (iv)  training session; 
 (v)  synchronous distance learning course that is clearly 
documented as real-time and interactive; 
 (vi)  asynchronous distance learning course that is not real-
time and interactive, up to a maximum of: 
 (A)  eight hours for SSW; 
 (B)  eight hours for CSW; or 
 (C)  15 CE hours for an LCSW; 
 (vii)  specialty certification; or 
 (viii)  volunteer service on a board, committee, or in a 
leadership role in any state, national, or international organization for 
the development and improvement of the licensee's profession; one 
CE hour may be counted as a regular credit, ethics, law, or technology 
credit, up to a maximum of six CE hours during each two-year period; 
 (c)  prepared and presented by individuals who are 
qualified by education, training, and experience to provide CE; 
 (d)  relevant to the licensee's scope of practice; and 
 (e)  verified by a certificate of course completion, which 
shall include: 
 (i)  name of the attendee; 
 (ii)  name of course provider; 
 (iii)  name of instructor; 
 (iv)  date of the course; 
 (v)  title of the course; 
 (vi)  number of CE hours; 
 (vii)  course objectives; and 
 (viii)  type of CE, for example, seminar, real-time 
interactive, distance learning, teaching. 
 (4)  An individual shall maintain adequate documentation 
as proof of compliance with this section for a period of two years 
after the end of the renewal cycle for which the CE is due. 
 (5)  An individual may not carry forward any CE hours 
received before a granted license, including professional upgrades. 
 (6)  CE hours shall be decreased proportionately according 
to the date of licensure within the two-year renewal cycle. 
 (7)  The Division may defer or waive CE requirements in 
accordance with Section R156-1-308d. 
 
R156-60a-305a.  Supervisor Eligibility Requirements. 
 (1)  Under Subsections 58-60-202(3)(c) and 58-60-
205(1)(d) and (e), to be eligible to supervise a CSW, the supervisor 
shall be: 
 (a)  an active license holder in good standing, in one of the 
following classifications: 
 (i)  APRN specializing in psychiatric mental health nursing; 
 (ii)  clinical mental health counselor (CMHC); 
 (iii)  LCSW; 
 (iv)  marriage and family therapist; 
 (v)  psychiatrist; or 
 (vi)  psychologist; 
 (b)  licensed for at least two years outlined in Subsection 
(1)(a) before providing supervision; and 
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 (c)  engaged in the lawful practice of providing clinical 
mental health therapy; 
 (2)  A training supervisor shall comply with duties and 
responsibilities established in Section R156-60a-305a. 
 
R156-60a-305b.  Supervised Experience Requirements - 
Supervision Contract - Duties and Responsibilities of Supervisor 
and Supervisee. 
 Under Subsections 58-60-205(1)(e) and 58-60-
205(3)(c)(iii)(B), the supervised experience qualifications for 
licensure required under Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 2, Social Worker 
Licensing Act, are established and clarified as follows: 
 (1)  Before accruing supervised experience, an individual 
shall: 
 (a)  enter into a written supervision contract with a 
supervisor, signed by both parties; and 
 (b)  verify that the supervisor has received 
acknowledgment from the Division of receipt of the Supervisor 
Verification document. 
 (2)  Before providing supervision, a supervisor shall: 
 (a)  enter into a written supervision contract with a 
supervisee, signed by both parties; 
 (b)  ensure that during the period of supervised experience 
the supervisee is a  W-2 employee providing clinical mental health 
services at one of the following facilities: 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 
 (iv)  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
 (c)  submit to the Division: 
 (i)  a complete Supervisor Verification form; and 
 (ii)  certification that the supervision contract meets the 
requirements of Subsection (3); 
 (d)  receive an acknowledgment from the Division 
verifying receipt of the Supervisor Verification form. 
 (3)  A supervision contract shall include at least the 
following provisions: 
 (a)  a plan to ensure the supervised individual has 
accessibility to the supervisor; 
 (b)  a plan for meetings between the supervisor and 
supervisee, addressing: 
 (i)  frequency; 
 (ii)  duration; 
 (iii)  objectives; 
 (iv)  format, such as individual or small group; and 
 (v)  location, such as face-to-face or remotely; 
 (c)  a plan for documenting the ongoing supervision, 
including objective and measurable circumstances; 
 (d)  a plan to address potential conflicts between the clinical 
recommendations of the supervisor and those of the representatives 
of the agency employing the supervisee; 
 (e)  remedies in the event of a breach of contract by either 
the supervisor or supervisee, including procedures for contract 
termination; and 
 (f)  if any part of the supervision will be conducted 
remotely, plans for: 
 (i)  how the supervisor and supervisee will meet via real-
time electronic methods allowing visual or audio interaction, and 
protect the security of electronic, confidential data and information; 
 (ii)  how the supervisor will comply with the supervisor's 
duties and responsibilities as established in rule; 

 (iii)  how the supervisor will physically visit the location 
where the supervisee practices on at least a quarterly basis during the 
period of supervision, or at such lesser frequency as is approved in 
advance by the Division in collaboration with the Board; and 
 (iv)  how notice will be provided to the supervisee's clients 
or patients and employer regarding the supervisee's use of remote 
supervision. 
 (4)  A supervisor shall have the following duties and 
responsibilities: 
 (a)  ensure that during the period of supervision: 
 (i)  the supervisee is a W-2 employee providing clinical 
mental health services at one of the following facilities: 
 (A)  mental health agency; 
 (B)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (C)  educational institution; 
 (D)  non-profit organization; or 
 (E)  government agency; 
 (ii)  the supervisor and supervisee remain appropriately 
licensed; and 
 (iii)  the supervisor supervises no more than six individuals 
who are lawfully engaged in gathering experience for the practice of 
clinical mental health therapy; 
 (b)  comply with the terms of the supervision contract; 
 (c)  maintain a relationship with the supervisee in that the 
supervisor is independent of control by the supervised individual, and 
which the ability of the supervisor to supervise and direct the practice 
of that individual is not compromised; 
 (d)  be available to the supervisee for advice, consultation, 
and direction consistent with the standards and ethics of the 
profession and the requirements suggested by the total 
circumstances, including consideration of the supervisee's level of 
training, diagnosis of patients, and other factors known to the 
supervisor; 
 (e)  periodically review the client records assigned to the 
supervisee; 
 (f)  comply with the confidentiality requirements of Section 
58-60-114; 
 (g)  monitor the supervisee's performance for compliance 
with the laws, rules, standards, and ethics of the profession, and 
report violations to the Division; and 
 (h)  upon completion of the supervised training, submit to 
the Division on Division-provided forms: 
 (i)  documentation of the training hours completed by the 
supervisee; and 
 (ii)  an evaluation of the supervised individual with respect 
to the quality of the work performed and the individual's competency 
to practice in the profession. 
 (5)  A supervisee shall have the following duties and 
responsibilities: 
 (a)  before beginning any supervised training: 
 (i)  enter into a written supervision contract with the 
supervisor in accordance with Subsection (3); and 
 (ii)  ensure the required Supervisor Verification form is 
received by the Division; 
 (b)  maintain required licensure; 
 (c)  maintain employment as a W-2 employee providing 
clinical mental health services at one of the following facilities: 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 
 (iv)  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
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 (d)  comply with the terms of the supervision contract; 
 (e)  maintain a relationship with the supervisor that the 
supervisor is independent of the supervisee's control, and which the 
ability of the supervisor to supervise and direct the practice of the 
supervisee is not compromised; 
 (f)  be professionally responsible for the acts and practices 
of the supervisee that are a part of the required supervised training; 
 (g)  comply with the confidentiality requirements of 
Section 58-60-114; and 
 (h)  comply with the applicable laws, rules, standards, and 
ethics of the profession. 
 (6)  A supervisor shall notify the Division in writing of any 
of the following changes, within 30 days of the change: 
 (a)  termination of a supervision contract; or 
 (b)  a change in the supervisee's place of employment. 
 (7)(a)  If a supervisor does not support the issuance of a 
license to a supervisee to practice unsupervised, or if the supervisor 
has other concerns regarding the supervisee that the supervisor 
believes requires input from the Division and Board, the supervisor 
shall submit to the Division a written explanation outlining the 
supervisor's concerns. 
 (b)  Upon receipt of written concerns from a supervisor 
with respect to a supervisee, the Division: 
 (i)  shall provide the supervisee an opportunity to respond 
in writing to the Division regarding the supervisor's concerns; 
 (ii)  shall review the written statements from the supervisor 
and supervisee with the Board; and 
 (iii)  in consultation with the Board, the supervisee may be 
required to obtain additional supervised hours, education, and 
training. 
 
R156-60a-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 Under Subsection 58-60-110(2), "unprofessional conduct" 
includes: 
[ (1)  using the abbreviated title of LCSW unless licensed as 
a Licensed Clinical Social Worker; 
 (2)  using the abbreviated title of CSW unless licensed as a 
Certified Social Worker; 
 (3)  using the abbreviated title of SSW unless licensed as a 
Social Service Worker; 
 (4)  acting as a supervisor or accepting supervision of a 
supervisor without complying with or ensuring compliance with 
Sections R156-60-302, R156-60a-302c, and R156-60a-302e; 
 (5)  engaging in the supervised practice of mental health 
therapy as a licensed CSW unless: 
 (a)  the licensee has completed a clinical practicum as part 
of the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited 
master's degree program; and 
 (b)  the scope of practice is within the licensee's 
competency, abilities and education; 
 (6)  engaging in the supervised practice of mental health 
therapy while not in compliance with Sections R156-60a-302c and 
R156-60-302; 
 (7)  engaging in or aiding or abetting conduct or practices 
that are dishonest, deceptive or fraudulent; 
 (8)  engaging in or aiding or abetting deceptive or 
fraudulent billing practices; 
 (9)  failing to establish and maintain professional 
boundaries with a client or former client; 
 (10)  engaging in dual or multiple relationships with a client 
or former client in which there is a risk of or potential harm to the 
client; 

 (11)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with a 
client with or without client consent; 
 (12)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with a 
former client within two years of documented termination of 
services, even if there is no risk of exploitation or potential harm to 
the client; 
 (13)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with 
client's relative or other individual with whom the client maintains a 
personal relationship, if there is a risk of exploitation or potential 
harm to the client; 
 (14)  embracing, massaging, cuddling, caressing, or 
performing any other act of physical contact with a client, if there is 
a risk of exploitation or potential harm to the client resulting from the 
contact; 
 (15)  engaging in or aiding or abetting sexual harassment 
or any conduct that is exploitive or abusive with respect to a student, 
trainee, employee, or colleague with whom the licensee has 
supervisory or management responsibility; 
 (16)  failing to exercise professional discretion and 
impartial judgment required for the performance of professional 
activities, duties and functions; 
 (17)  failing to provide impartial, objective, and informed 
services, recommendations, or opinions with respect to custodial or 
parental rights, divorce, domestic relationships, adoptions, sanity, 
competency, mental health, or other determination concerning an 
individual's civil or legal rights; 
 (18)  exploiting a client or former client for personal gain; 
 (19)  exploiting a person who has a personal relationship 
with a client for personal gain; 
 (20)  failing to maintain client records including records of 
assessment, treatment, progress notes and billing information for a 
period of not less than ten years from the documented termination of 
services to the client; 
 (21)  failing to provide client records in a reasonable time 
upon written request of the client, or the client's legal guardian; 
 (22)  failing to obtain informed consent from the client or 
the client's legal guardian before taping, recording, or permitting 
third party observations of client activities or records; 
 (23)  failing to protect the confidences of persons named or 
identified in the client records; and 
 (24)  failing to abide by the Code of Ethics of the National 
Association of Social Workers (NASW) as approved by the 1996 
NASW Delegate Assembly and revised by the 2020 and 2021 NASW 
Delegate Assembly, which is incorporated by reference.] 
 (1)  using the abbreviated title of: 
 (a)  LCSW unless licensed as a Licensed Clinical Social 
Worker; 
 (b)  CSW unless licensed as a Certified Social Worker; 
 (C)  SSW unless licensed as a Social Service Worker; 
 (2)  acting as a supervisor or accepting supervision from a 
supervisor without complying with or ensuring compliance with 
Sections R156-60a-305a and R156-60a-305b; 
 (3)  directing one's mental health therapist supervisor to 
engage in a practice that would violate any statute, rule, or generally 
accepted professional or ethical standard of the supervisor's 
profession; 
 (4)  engaging in the supervised practice of clinical mental 
health therapy: 
 (a)  as a licensed CSW unless: 
 (i)  the licensee has completed a clinical practicum as part 
of the CSWE accredited master's degree program; and 
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 (ii)  the scope of practice is within the licensee's 
competency, abilities, and education; 
 (b)  while not in compliance with Section R156-60a-305b; 
 (5)  engaging in or aiding or abetting: 
 (a)  conduct or practices that are dishonest, deceptive, or 
fraudulent; 
 (b)  deceptive or fraudulent billing practices; 
 (c)  sexual harassment or any conduct that is exploitive or 
abusive with respect to a student, trainee, employee, or colleague 
with whom the licensee has supervisory or management 
responsibility; 
 (d)  physical contact with a client when there is a risk of 
exploitation or potential harm to the client resulting from the contact; 
 (6)  engaging in dual or multiple relationships with a client 
or former client when there is a risk of or potential harm to the client; 
 (7)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact at any 
point in time with a client, former client, or another individual with 
whom the client maintains a current, or has a past, close personal 
relationship with or without the client's consent; 
 (8)  exploiting for personal gain a: 
 (a)  client; 
 (b)  former client; or 
 (c)  person who has a personal relationship with a client; 
 (9)  failing to: 
 (a)  establish and maintain professional boundaries with a 
client or former client; 
 (b)  exercise professional discretion and impartial judgment 
required for the performance of professional activities, duties, and 
functions; 
 (c)  provide impartial, objective, and informed services, 
recommendations, or opinions with respect to: 
 (i)  custodial or parental rights; 
 (ii)  divorce; 
 (iii)  domestic relationships; 
 (iv)  adoptions; 
 (v)  sanity; 
 (vi)  competency; 
 (vii)  mental health; or 
 (viii)  other determination concerning an individual's civil 
or legal rights; 
 (d)  maintain client records including records of 
assessment, treatment, progress notes, and billing information for a 
period of not less than ten years from the documented termination of 
services to the client; 
 (e)  provide client records in a reasonable time upon written 
request of the client, or the client's legal guardian; 
 (f)  obtain informed consent from the client or the client's 
legal guardian before taping, recording, or permitting third-party 
observations of client activities or records; 
 (g)  protect the confidences of persons named or identified 
in the client records; 
 (h)  abide by the Code of Ethics of the NASW as approved 
by the 1996 NASW Delegate Assembly and revised by the 2020 and 
2021 NASW Delegate Assembly, which is incorporated by reference; 
 (i)  abide by the NASW, ASWB, CSWE, and Clinical 
Social Work Association (CSWA) Standards for Technology in Social 
Work Practice as approved by the 2017 NASW Delegate Assembly, 
which is incorporated by reference; 
 (j)  follow the Model Standards of Practice for Child 
Custody Evaluation of the Association of Family and Conciliation 
Courts (AFCC) May 2006, which is incorporated by reference; 

 (k)  cooperate with the Division during an investigation; 
and 
 (l)  obtain a thorough working knowledge of the Code of 
Ethics specifically related to a supervised individuals professional 
practice; 
 (10)  if providing services remotely, failing to: 
 (a)  practice according to professional standards of care in 
the delivery of services; 
 (b)  protect the security of electronic confidential data and 
information; or 
 (c)  appropriately store and dispose of electronic 
confidential data and information; and 
 (11)  violating: 
 (a)  Section R156-60a-305a regarding supervisor 
experience; or 
 (b)  Section R156-60a-305b as a supervisor or supervised 
individual. 
 
[R156-60a-601.  Supervision - Scope of Practice - SSW. 
 Under Subsections 58-60-202(2) and (6), supervision and 
scope of practice of an SSW is further defined as follows: 
 (1)  general supervision of an SSW by a licensed mental 
health therapist is only required when mental health therapy services 
are provided; and 
 (2)  the scope of practice of the SSW shall be in accordance 
with a written social work job description approved by the licensed 
mental health therapist supervisor, except that the SSW may not 
engage in the supervised or unsupervised practice of mental health 
therapy.] 
 
KEY:  licensing, social workers 
Date of Last Change:  [January 4, 2023]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  June 13, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-60-201; 
58-1-106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a) 
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Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-60b.  Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Act 
Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Division of Professional Licensing (Division) in 
collaboration with Marriage and Family Therapist 
Licensing Board makes this filing with the intent that the 
amendments being proposed incorporate changes due to 
H.B. 166 passed during the 2023 General Session, merge 
provisions found in Rule R156-60, the Mental Health 
Practice Act Rule, which is being recommended for repeal, 
and correct grammar and formatting errors. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Amendment to Section R156-60b-102 adds definitions 
from the Mental Health Practice Act Rule R156-60 (being 
repealed) which will provide clarity and continuity for 
readers.  This section also includes grammar, citation, and 
formatting corrections. 
 
Amendment to Section R156-60b-302b adds provisions 
regarding experience being repealed with the Mental 
Health Practice Act Rule.  In addition, grammar, formatting, 
and citation corrections are proposed.  Amendments in this 
section also reflect changes enacted with H.B. 166 (2023) 
as well. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60b-302d add sections of 
the Metal Health Practice Act Rule and clarifies what 
constitutes the required suicide prevention course, as well 
as incorporating provisions from the repealed Rule R156-
60.  Removal of the original section is also included as it is 
being incorporated into Section R156-60b-305a. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60b-303 correct grammar 
and clarifies requirements that the Board historically uses 
to determine reinstatement. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60b-304 add provisions 
regarding continuing education being repealed with the 
Mental Health Practice Act Rule. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60b-305a add provisions 
regarding supervisor eligibility being repealed with the 
Mental Health Practice Act Rule. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60b-305b add provisions 
regarding supervised experience, supervision contracts, 
and the duties and responsibilities of a supervisor and 
supervisee being repealed with the Mental Health Practice 
Act Rule. 
 
Amendment to Section R156-60b-306 removes section 
that is incorporated into Section R156-60b-303. 

Amendments to Section R156-60b-502 correct formatting, 
grammar, and citations. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed repeal of Rule R156-60 
is under ID 56209 in this issue, December 15, 2023, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 
 
Public Hearing Information: 
There will be a public hearing on 01/16/2024 at 9:00 AM at 
the Heber Wells Building, 160 E 300 S, Conference Room 
474, Salt Lake City, UT.  Also available via Google Meet 
(see below). 
 
Google Meeting link: 
meet.google.com/yfq-psko-xgt 
 
Or join by phone: 
(US) +1 304-691-0096 
PIN: 605869246 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
The requested changes reflect current industry standards 
as approved by the Marriage and Family Therapist 
Licensing Board and will continue to ensure that the 
minimum required standards have been met. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Marriage and Family 
Therapist Licensing Board and will continue to ensure that 
the minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Marriage and Family 
Therapist Licensing Board and will continue to ensure that 
the minimum required standards have been met. 
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None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures.  This rule has been amended to provide 
technical, conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance 
with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Marriage and Family 
Therapist Licensing Board and will continue to ensure that 
the minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on affected persons. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Marriage and Family 
Therapist Licensing Board and will continue to ensure that 
the minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes for affected persons, so there is no fiscal 
impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As described above in Box 5(E) for other persons, the 
proposed changes are not expected to have any 
compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 
 
The Division in collaboration with the Marriage and Family 
Therapist Licensing Board proposes these amendments in 
response to the statutory changes made in H.B. 166 
(2023).  Because Rule R156-60 is being repealed, these 
proposed amendments add the provisions to this rule as 
they apply to marriage and family therapists, make 
nonsubstantive grammar and formatting changes to 
streamline and update this rule, and comply with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees): 
The Division does not expect any foreseeable impact on 
small businesses in the practice of marriage and family 
therapy industry in the state of Utah.  The proposed 
amendments are to conform to the requirements of H.B. 
166 (2023).  The changes are to move the provisions of 
Rule R156-60, due to the repeal of Rule R156-60, to 
update this rule to encompass current statutory 
requirements and practices in the profession. 
 
Further, the Division does not foresee any negative impact 
on small businesses since grammatical and formatting 
amendments are made to make this rule comport to the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Non-Small Businesses (50 or more employees): 
The Division finds that the non-small businesses in the 
marriage and family therapy industry in the state of Utah 
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will not suffer a negative fiscal impact from the proposed 
rule amendments. 
 
However, these amendments will have no expected fiscal 
impact for non-small businesses in Utah for the same 
rationale as described above for small businesses. 
 
Further, any of these costs are either inestimable, for the 
reasons stated above, or there is no fiscal impact. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
58-1-106(1)(a) 

Subsection 
58-1-202(1)(a) 

Section 58-60-301 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Model Standards of Practice for Child  
Custody Evaluation 

Publisher Association of Family and  
Conciliation Courts (AFCC) 

Issue Date May 2006 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical 

address or URL): 
01/16/2024 9:00 AM See information in 

Box 4 above. 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel,  
Division Director 

Date: 11/20/2023 

 

R156.  Commerce, Professional Licensing. 
R156-60b.  Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Act Rule. 
R156-60b-102.  Definitions. 
 [The following definitions supplement the 
definitions]Terms used in this rule are defined in Title 58, Chapter 1, 
Division of Professional Licensing Act, and Title 58, Chapter 60, 
Mental Health Professional Practice Act.  In addition: 
 (1)  "AAMFT" means the American Association for 
Marriage and Family Therapy. 
 (2)  "AMFT" means an associate marriage and family 
therapist. 
 (3)  "Approved diagnostic and statistical manual for mental 
disorders" means the following: 
 (a)  Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fifth Edition: DSM-5 published by the American Psychiatric 
Association; 
 (b)  International Classification of Diseases, Tenth 
Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) for Physicians, 
Professional Edition published by the American Medical 
Association; or 
 (c)  International Classification of Diseases, Tenth 
Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM): The Complete 
Official Draft Code Set published by the American Medical 
Association. 
 (4)  "APRN" as used in Subsection R156-60b-305a(1)(a)(i) 
means an advanced practice registered nurse who meets the 
requirements of Subsection 58-31b-302(5)(g) to practice within the 
psychiatric mental health nursing specialty. 
 (5)  "Client" or "patient" means an individual who, if 
competent requests, or if not competent to request is lawfully 
provided professional services by a mental health therapist when the 
mental health therapist: 
 (a)  agrees verbally or in writing to provide professional 
services to that individual; or 
 (b)  without an overt agreement does in fact provide 
professional services to that individual. 
 ([2]6)  "Deficiency" as used in Subsection 58-60-117(1)(d), 
means the educational degree upon which licensure to be based fails 
to include no more than a combined total of six semester or eight 
quarter hours in coursework listed in one or more of Subsections 
R156-60b-302a[(20)(a)](2)(a) through (g). 
 ([3]7)  "Direct personal supervision" [is the same as defined 
under Subsection R156-60-102(4).]of a supervised individual in 
training, as used in Subsection 58-60-305(1)(e) means the supervisor 
meets with the supervisee: 
 (a)  when both are physically present in the same room at 
the same time; or 
 (b)  remotely via synchronous electronic methods that 
allow for visual and audio interaction between the supervisor and 
supervisee, in accordance with the requirements of their supervision 
contract. 
 ([4]8)  "Directly related to marriage and family therapy" as 
used in Section R156-60b-304 and Subsection R156-[60-
105(1)(c)]60b-304(1)(a), means that the continuing education 
course: 
 (a)  [is approved by]has the approval of an international, 
national, or state marriage and family therapy association, national or 
state marriage and family therapy regulatory board, or a Commission 
on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education 
accredited program; or 
 (b)  title, objective, or official description of the course 
indicates instruction on relationships, couples, or families. 
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 (9)  "Employee" means a W-2 employee as defined by the 
Internal Revenue Service. 
 (10)  "Independent of control" as used in Subsections 
R156-60b-305(4)(c) and (5)(e), means not being employed by the 
supervisee, or by an agency owned in total or in part by the 
supervisee, or that the supervisee has any controlling interest. 
 (11)  "Marriage and family therapy experience" as used in 
Subsection R156-60b-302b(1) includes clinical mental health 
therapy hours obtained direct with clients and: 
 (a)  conducting, with documentation, an intake interview, 
mental status evaluation, biopsychosocial history, mental health 
history, or assessment for treatment planning caseload management; 
 (b)  obtaining knowledge related to techniques and 
interventions for the prevention and treatment of a broad range of 
mental health issues; 
 (c)  strategies for interfacing with the legal system 
regarding court-referred clients; 
 (d)  strategies for interfacing with integrated behavioral 
health care professionals; and 
 (e)  strategies to advocate for persons with mental health 
issues. 
 (12)  "Marriage and family therapy" as used in Subsections 
R156-60b-302b(1)(a) and (b), means the practice area of marriage 
and family therapy, which focuses on the assessment, diagnosis, 
treatment, and prevention of mental disorder, emotional, and other 
behavioral disturbances using individual, couple, group, and family 
therapy modalities. 
 (13)  "MFT" means a marriage and family therapist. 
 (14)  "On-the-job training program" as used in Subsection 
58-1-307(1)(c), means a program that: 
 (a)  applies to individuals who have completed courses 
required for graduation in a degree or formal training program that 
would qualify for licensure under this chapter; 
 (b)  starts immediately upon completion of courses required 
for graduation; 
 (c)  ends 45 days from the date it begins, or upon licensure, 
whichever is earlier, and may not be extended to used a second time; 
 (d)  the individual is an employee of a public or private 
mental health agency, in-patient or out-patient hospital, educational 
institution, or government agency, and is providing clinical mental 
health services; and 
 (e)  is supervised by a qualified individual licensed under 
this chapter, and includes supervision meetings on at least a weekly 
basis with the supervisee and supervisor physically present in the 
same room at the same time. 
 ([5]15)  "Practicum" as used in Subsection R156-60b-
302a(2)(g), means a clinical program of training at an accredited 
school in a setting other than a student's supervised private practice. 
 (16)  "Supervision contract" means a written, signed 
contract between a supervisor and an individual being supervised to 
facilitate the completion of experience requirements for licensure and 
includes the provisions required by Subsection R156-60b-305b(3). 
 (17)  "Supervisor  Verification form" means the form, 
provided by the Division, to document who is providing supervision 
to a supervised individual, which at a minimum includes: 
 (a)  name and license number of the individual; 
 (b)  name and license number of the supervisor; and 
 (c)  supervised individuals place of employment. 
 ([6]18)  "Unprofessional conduct" is further defined, under 
Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in Section R156-60b-502. 
 

R156-60b-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure - Education 
Requirements. 
 (1)  Under Subsection 58-60-305(1)(c), an applicant 
applying for licensure as a marriage and family therapist shall 
produce certified transcripts evidencing completion of: 
 (a)  a clinical master's or doctorate degree in marriage and 
family therapy, from a program accredited by the Commission on 
Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education [at the 
time]when the applicant obtained the education; or 
 (b)  a clinical master's degree in marriage and family 
therapy or equivalent, from an institution accredited by a professional 
accrediting body approved by the Council for Higher Education 
Accreditation of the American Council on Education [at the 
time]when the applicant obtained the education. 
 (2)  Certified transcripts evidencing completion of a degree 
under Subsection (1)(b) shall include the following: 
 (a)  six semester hours or nine quarter hours of course work 
in theoretical foundations of marital and family therapy; 
 (b)  nine semester hours or 12 quarter hours of course work 
in assessment and treatment in marriage and family therapy, 
including Diagnostic Statistical Manual; 
 (c)  six semester hours or nine quarter hours of course work 
in human development and family studies that include ethnic 
minority issues, and gender issues including sexuality, sexual 
functioning, and sexual identity; 
 (d)  three semester hours or four quarter hours in 
professional ethics; 
 (e)  three semester hours or four quarter hours in research 
methodology and data analysis; 
 (f)  three semester hours or four quarter hours in electives 
in marriage and family therapy; and 
 (g)  a clinical practicum under supervision, as defined in 
Section 58-60-305a, [that]which includes at least 400 hours as 
follows: 
 (i)  100 hours of direct supervision; and 
 (ii)  300 hours of mental health therapy under direct 
supervised clinical practice, with at least 150 hours in couple or 
family therapy with two or more clients participating. 
 
R156-60b-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - [Supervised 
Training]Experience Requirements. 
 (1)  Under Subsection[s] 58-60-305(1)(d) [and 58-60-
305(1)(e) and Section R156-60-302, an applicant shall have 
completed a]the minimum [of ]3,000 hours of supervised marriage 
and family therapy[ training as follows] experience required to obtain 
marriage and family therapist licensure shall include: 
 (a)  1,000 hours providing marriage and family therapy as 
defined in Subsection 58-60-305(1)(e) with a minimum of 500 of 
those hours including two or more clients participating; and 
 (b)  75 hours of marriage and family therapy performed 
continually and uniformly under direct personal supervision per 
Subsection R156-60b-102(7). 
 (2)  Marriage and family therapy experience shall include: 
 (a)  individual, couple, family, and group therapy; 
 (b)  crisis intervention; 
 (c)  mediating relationships; and 
 (d)  breaking dysfunction cycles. 
 (3)  Supervised experience shall be obtained: 
 (a)  while the individual is a licensed associate marriage 
and family therapist or as a doctoral program student who is not paid 
as a 1 099 independent contractor; 
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 ([a]b)  while the applicant is a W-2 employee providing 
clinical[engaged in] mental health therapy[ as] at one of the following 
facilities: 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 
 (iv)  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
 (c)  in accordance with the supervision experience 
requirements of Section R156-60b-305b; 
 (d)  under a supervisor who meets the requirements of 
Section R156-60b-305a; and 
 (c)  in not less than 18 months. 
 (4)  Training and experience completed in group therapy 
sessions shall only be counted if the applicant functioned as the 
primary therapist or co-therapist. 
 (5)  Notwithstanding Subsection (3)(b), an individual may 
qualify for licensure when: 
 (a)  exempt under Subsection 58-1-307(1)(a); 
 (b)  they completed training in another jurisdiction while: 
 (i)  licensed as the equivalent of an AMFT; or 
 (ii)  engaged in the legal practice of marriage and family 
therapy while not required to be licensed; and 
 (c)  provides satisfactory evidence to the Division and 
Board documenting training is equivalent to and meets the 
experience requirements under this section and Subsections 58-60-
305(1)(d) and (e). 
 (5)  The exemption in Subsection 58-1-307(1)(b) does not 
permit an applicant to engage in the required hours of marriage and 
family therapy training and experience without first becoming 
licensed as an AMFT. 
[ (i)  a W-2 employee of a public or private agency; or 
 (ii)  a doctorate program student who is not paid as a 1099 
independent contractor; 
 (b)  under supervision that complies with Sections 58-60-
307, R156-60-302, and R156-60b-302d; 
 (c)  under Subsections 58-60-305(1)(d) and 58-60-
305(1)(e), include a minimum of 1,000 hours of supervised training 
in mental health therapy, with at least 500 hours in couple or family 
therapy with two or more clients participating; 
 (d)  count training hours completed in a group therapy 
session only if the applicant functioned as the primary therapist or 
co-therapist; and 
 (e)  100 hours of direct supervision, spread uniformly and 
continually throughout supervised training. 
 (2)  An applicant for licensure as a marriage and family 
therapist, who is not seeking licensure by endorsement based upon 
licensure in another jurisdiction, and who has completed in whole or 
in part the marriage and family therapy training requirements outside 
the state, may receive credit for that training if the applicant 
demonstrates, by evidence satisfactory to the Division and Board, 
that the training is equivalent to and meets the requirements for 
training under this section and Subsections 58-60-305(1)(d) and 58-
60-305(1)(e).] 
 
R156-60b-302d.  Qualifications for Licensure - Suicide 
Prevention Course. 
 (1)  Under Subsection 58-60-305(1)(d)(iii), the two-hour 
suicide prevention course required to obtain marriage and family 
therapist licensure shall be: 
 (a)  approved, sponsored, or conducted by one of the 
following: 

 (i)  accredited college or university; 
 (ii)  county, state, or federal agency; 
 (iii)  professional association, or similar body, involved in 
clinical mental health therapy; or 
 (iv)  mental health agency that provides clinical mental 
health services; 
 (b)  relevant to mental health therapy and suicide 
prevention, consistent with the laws of this state, and include one or 
more of the following components: 
 (i)  suicide concepts an facts; 
 (ii)  suicide risk assessment, crisis intervention, and first 
aid; 
 (iii)  evidence-based intervention for suicide risk; 
 (iv)  continuity of care and follow-up services for suicide 
risk; and 
 (v)  therapeutic alliances for intervention in suicide risk; 
 (c)  completed in not less than 50-minute blocks of time in 
one of the following formats: 
 (i)  classroom lecture and discussion; 
 (ii)  workshops; 
 (iii)  synchronous webinars; 
 (iv)  asynchronous online self-paced modules; 
 (v)  case study reviews; or 
 (vi)  simulations; and 
 (d)  completed within two years of application. 
 (2)  The course provider shall provide certification of: 
 (a)  course attendance; 
 (b)  hours completed; 
 (c)  name of provider; and 
 (d)  date of completion. 
 (3)  An applicant for licensure shall submit certification of 
course completion, within the preceding two years, to the Division as 
a prerequisite for licensure. 
 
[R156-60b-302d.  Qualifications to be a Marriage and Family 
Therapist Training Supervisor. 
 Under Subsection 58-60-307(1), to be qualified as a 
marriage and family therapist training supervisor under Subsections 
58-60-305(1)(d) and (e) and Section R156-60-302, an individual 
shall: 
 (1)  have been licensed in good standing as a marriage and 
family therapist, clinical mental health counselor, psychiatrist, 
psychologist, registered psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner, 
or clinical social worker for at least two consecutive years prior to 
beginning supervised training; 
 (2)  be currently licensed in good standing in the state that 
the training is being performed; 
 (3)(a)  be currently approved by AAMFT as a marriage and 
family therapist supervisor; 
 (b)  have successfully completed a supervision course in a 
Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy 
Education accredited marriage and family therapy program at an 
accredited university; or 
 (c)  have successfully completed 20 clock hours of 
instruction sponsored by AAMFT or the Utah Association for 
Marriage and Family Therapy as follows: 
 (i)  four hours of review of models of marriage and family 
therapy and supervision; 
 (ii)  eight hours of marriage and family therapy supervision 
processes and practice; 
 (iii)  four hours of research on effective outcomes and 
processes of supervision; and 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 15, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 24 27 

 (iv)  four hours of AAMFT Code of Ethics, state rules, and 
case studies related to marriage and family therapy supervision; 
 (4)(a)  enter into a written supervision contract with the 
supervisee under Section R156-60-302; and 
 (b)  comply with each of the duties and responsibilities 
uniformly established in Section R156-60-302; and 
 (5)  for a supervisor meeting criteria in Subsection (3)(b) or 
(3)(c), in each two-year renewal cycle, complete four hours of the 
required 40 hours of continuing professional education in topics 
directly related to marriage and family therapy supervisor training.] 
 
R156-60b-303.  Renewal [Cycle - Procedures]and Reinstatement 
of License. 
 (1)  Under Subsection 58-1-308(1), the renewal date for the 
two-year renewal cycle applicable to all licenses under Title 58, 
Chapter 60, Part 3, Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing 
Act[Mental Health Professional Practice Act], is established in 
S[ubs]ection R156-1-308a[(1)]. 
 (2)  Marriage and family therapist renewal[Renewal] and 
reinstatement procedures shall be in accordance with Sections R156-
1-308[b]a through R156-1-308l[ and R156-60b-306] except as 
provided in Subsection R156-60b-303(3). 
 (3)  Under Subsection 58-1-308(6)(a) and Section R156-1-
308g, an applicant for reinstatement of licensure as a marriage and 
family therapist whose license has been expired over five years, shall 
upon request: 
 (a)  meet with the Board to evaluate the applicant's ability 
to safely and competently practice as a marriage and family therapist; 
and 
 (b)  if recommended by the Board, complete one or more 
of the following: 
 (i)  establish a plan of supervision under an approved 
supervisor, which may include up to 3,000 hours of marriage and 
family therapist experience and training as an AMFT before 
qualifying for reinstatement of the MFT license; 
 (ii)  retake and pass the Marital and Family Therapy 
National Examination administered by the American Association of 
Marriage and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards; or 
 (iii)  complete up to 40 hours of continuing education in 
subjects determined by the Board. 
 
R156-60b-304.  Continuing Education. 
 (1)  Under Section 58-60-105, the continuing [professional 
]education (CE) requirements for each two-year renewal cycle 
beginning October 1 of each even-numbered year, for a marriage and 
family therapist licensed under Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 3, Marriage 
and Family Therapist Licensing Act,[ are in Section R156-60-105.] 
shall be 40 hours and include: 
 (a)  six hours in ethics of clinical practice, law, or 
technology with a minimum three of the hours directly related to 
marriage and family therapy; and 
 (b)  two hours in suicide prevention, this course shall meet 
the requirements of Section R156-60b-302d. 
 (2)  At least 15 of the required 40 CE hours must be directly 
related to the practice of marriage and family therapy. 
 (3)  An individual who completes more than the required 
number of CE hours during a two-year renewal cycle may carry over 
up to ten hours of excess to the next two-year renewal cycle. 
 (4)  CE shall be: 
 (a)  approved, conducted, or under the sponsorship of one 
of the following: 
 (i)  accredited college or university; 

 (ii)  county, state, or federal agency; 
 (iii)  professional association, or similar body, involved in 
clinical mental health therapy; or 
 (iv)  mental health agency that provides clinical mental 
health services; 
 (b)  completed in not less than 50-minute blocks of time in 
one of the following formats: 
 (i)  college or university lecture and discussion up to a 
maximum of: 
 (A)  three CE hours per semester hour; or 
 (B)  1.5 CE hours per quarter hour; 
 (ii)  conference; 
 (iii)  lecture or instruction up to a maximum of two times 
per course, up to a maximum of 14 CE hours for an MFT; 
 (iv)  seminar; 
 (v)  training session; 
 (vi)  synchronous distance learning course that is clearly 
documented as real-time and interactive; 
 (vii)  asynchronous distance learning course that is not real-
time and interactive, up to a maximum of 15 CE hours for an MFT; 
 (viii)  specialty certification; 
 (ix)  certifiable clinical readings, up to a maximum of 15 
hours; 
 (x)  direct supervision of an ACMHC, CSW, or AMFT 
completing the experience requirements for licensure, up to a 
maximum of 14 hours for an MFT; and 
 (xi)  volunteer service on a board, committee, or in a 
leadership role in any state, national, or international organization for 
the development and improvement of the licensee's profession; one 
CE hour may be counted as a regular credit, ethics of clinical practice, 
law, or technology credit, up to a maximum of six CE hours during 
each two-year period; 
 (c)  prepared and presented by individuals who are 
qualified by education, training, and experience to provide CE; 
 (d)  relevant to the licensee's scope of practice; and 
 (e)  verified by a certificate of course completion that shall 
include: 
 (i)  name of the attendee; 
 (ii)  name of the course provider; 
 (iii)  name of instructor; 
 (iv)  date of the course; 
 (v)  title of the course; 
 (vi)  number of CE hours; 
 (vii)  course objectives; and 
 (viii)  type of CE, for example seminar, real-time 
interactive, distance learning, teaching. 
 (5)  An individual shall maintain adequate documentation 
as proof of compliance with this section for a period of two years 
after the end of the renewal cycle for which the CE is due. 
 (6)  An individual may not carry forward any CE hours 
received before a granted license, including professional upgrades. 
 (7)  CE hours shall be decreased proportionately according 
to the date of obtaining marriage and family therapist licensure within 
the two-year renewal cycle. 
 (8)  The Division may defer or waive CE requirements in 
accordance with Section R156-1-308d. 
 
[R156-60b-306.  License Reinstatement - Between Two Years and 
Five Years After Expiration. 
 Under Subsection 58-1-308(5)(ii)(B) and subject to 
Subsection R156-1-308g(3)(b), an applicant for reinstatement of a 
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license between two years and five years after the date of expiration 
shall: 
 (1)  upon request, meet with the Board to evaluate the 
applicant's ability to safely and competently practice as a marriage 
and family therapist, and determine any additional education, 
experience, or examination requirements before reinstatement; and 
 (2)  if recommended by the Board, complete one or more 
of the following: 
 (a)  establish a plan of supervision under an approved 
supervisor that may include up to 3,000 hours of marriage and family 
therapy and mental health therapy training as a marriage and family 
therapist-temporary; 
 (b)  pass the Marital and Family Therapy National 
Examination administered by the American Association for Marriage 
and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards; and 
 (c)  complete up to 40 hours of professional education in 
subjects determined by the Board.] 
 
R156-60b-305a.  Supervisor Eligibility Requirements. 
 (1)  Under Subsections 58-60-305(1)(d) and (e), to be 
eligible to supervise an AMFT, the supervisor shall be: 
 (a)  an active license holder in good standing, in one of the 
following classifications: 
 (i)  APRN specializing in psychiatric mental health nursing; 
 (ii)  clinical mental health counselor (CMHC); 
 (iii)  clinical social worker (LCSW); 
 (iv)  psychiatrist; 
 (v)  psychologist; or 
 (vi)  marriage and family therapist; 
 (b)  licensed for at least two years as outlined in Subsection 
(1)(a) before providing supervision; 
 (c)  engaged in the lawful practice of providing marriage 
and family therapy; 
 (d)  a supervisor of no more than six individuals who are 
obtaining experience hours for further licensure, unless granted an 
exception in writing from the Division in collaboration with the 
Board; 
 (e)  employed by or have a contract with the facility that 
employs the individual being supervised; and 
 (f)  if supervising an AMFT, certified as a supervisor 
through the AAMFT or approved as a Utah supervisor by completion 
of one of the following: 
 (i)  a supervision course in a Commission on Accreditation 
for Marriage and Family Therapy Education accredited marriage and 
family therapy program at an accredited university; or 
 (ii)  20 clock hours of instruction sponsored by AAMFT or 
the Utah Association for Marriage and Family Therapy as follows: 
 (A)  four hours of review of models of marriage and family 
therapy and supervision; 
 (B)  eight hours of marriage and family therapy supervision 
processes and practice; 
 (C)  four hours of research on effective outcomes and 
processes of supervision; and 
 (D)  four hours of AAMFT Code of Ethics, state rules, and 
case studies related to marriage and family therapy supervision; 
 (2)  A supervisor of an AMFT shall complete four hours of 
continuing education directly related to marriage and family therapy 
supervision, during each two-year renewal cycle, to maintain 
supervisor eligibility. 
 (3)  A training supervisor shall comply with duties and 
responsibilities established in Section R156-60b-305b. 
 

R156-60b-305b.  Supervised Experience Requirements - 
Supervision Contract - Duties and Responsibilities of Supervisor 
and Supervisee. 
 Under Subsection 58-60-305(1)(d), the supervised 
experience qualifications for licensure required under Title 58, 
Chapter 60, Part 3, Marriage and Family Therapist Licensing Act are 
established and clarified as follows: 
 (1)  Before accruing supervised experience, an individual 
shall: 
 (a)  enter into a written supervision contract with a 
supervisor, signed by both parties; and 
 (b)  verify that the supervisor has received 
acknowledgment from the Division of receipt of the Supervisor 
Verification document. 
 (2)  Before providing supervision, a supervisor shall: 
 (a)  enter into a written supervision contract with a 
supervisee, signed by both parties; 
 (b)  ensure that during the period of supervised experience 
the supervisee is a W-2 employee providing clinical mental health 
services at one of the following facilities: 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 
 (iv)  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
 (c)  submit to the Division: 
 (i)  a complete Supervisor Verification form; and 
 (ii)  certification that the supervision contract meets the 
requirements of Subsection R156-60b-305(3); 
 (d)  receive an acknowledgment from the Division 
verifying receipt of the Supervisor Verification form. 
 (3)  A supervision contract shall include at least the 
following provisions: 
 (a)  a plan to ensure the supervised individual has 
accessibility to the supervisor; 
 (b)  a plan for meetings between the supervisor and 
supervisee, addressing: 
 (i)  frequency; 
 (ii)  duration; 
 (iii)  objectives; 
 (iv)  format, such as individual or small group; and 
 (v)  location, such as face-to-face or remotely; 
 (c)  a plan for documenting the ongoing supervision, 
including objective and measurable circumstances; 
 (d)  a plan to address potential conflicts between the clinical 
recommendations of the supervisor and those of the representatives 
of the agency employing the supervisee; 
 (e)  remedies in the event of a breach of contract by either 
the supervisor or supervisee, including procedures for contract 
termination; and 
 (f)  if any part of the supervision will be conducted 
remotely, plans for: 
 (i)  how the supervisor and supervisee will meet via real-
time electronic methods allowing visual or audio interaction, and 
protect the security of electronic, confidential data and information; 
 (ii)  how the supervisor will comply with the supervisor's 
duties and responsibilities as established in rule; 
 (iii)  how the supervisor will physically visit the location 
where the supervisee practices on at least a quarterly basis during the 
period of supervision, or at such less frequency as is approved in 
advance by the Division in collaboration with the Board; and 
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 (iv)  how notice will be provided to the supervisee's clients 
or patients and employer regarding the supervisee's use of remote 
supervision. 
 (4)  A supervisor shall have the following duties and 
responsibilities: 
 (a)  ensure that during the period of supervision: 
 (i)  the supervisee if a W-2 employee providing clinical 
mental health services at one of the following facilities: 
 (A)  mental health agency; 
 (B)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (C)  educational institution; 
 (D)  non-profit organization; or 
 (E)  government agency; 
 (ii)  the supervisor and supervisee remain appropriately 
licensed; and 
 (iii)  the supervisor supervises no more than six individuals 
who are lawfully engaged in gathering experience for the practice of 
clinical mental health therapy; 
 (b)  comply with the terms of the supervision contract; 
 (c)  maintain a relationship with the supervisee which the 
supervisor is independent of control by the supervised individual, and 
that the ability of the supervisor to supervise and direct the practice 
of that individual is not compromised; 
 (d)  be available to the supervisee for advice, consultation, 
and direction consistent with the standards and ethics of the 
profession and the requirements suggested by the total 
circumstances, including consideration of the supervisee's level of 
training, diagnosis of patients, and other factors known to the 
supervisor; 
 (e)  periodically review the client records assigned to the 
supervisee; 
 (f)  comply with the confidentiality requirements of Section 
58-60-114; 
 (g)  monitor the supervisee's performance for compliance 
with the laws, rules, standards, and ethics of the profession, and 
report violations to the Division; and 
 (h)  upon completion of the supervised training, submit to 
the Division on Division-provided forms: 
 (i)  documentation of the training hours completed by the 
supervised individual; and 
 (ii)  an evaluation of the supervised individual with respect 
to the quality of the work performed and the individual's competency 
to practice in the profession. 
 (5)  A supervisee shall have the following duties and 
responsibilities: 
 (a)  before beginning any supervised training: 
 (i)  enter into a written supervision contract with the 
supervisor in accordance with Subsection R156-60b-305b(3); and 
 (ii)  ensure that the required Supervisor Verification form is 
received by the Division; 
 (b)  maintain required licensure; 
 (c)  maintain employment as a W-2 employee providing 
clinical mental health services at one of the following facilities: 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 
 (iv)  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
 (d)  comply with the terms of the supervision contract; 
 (e)  maintain a relationship with the supervisor which the 
supervisor is independent of the supervised individuals control, and 

that the ability of the supervisor to supervise and direct the practice 
of that individual is not compromised; 
 (f)  be professionally responsible for the acts and practices 
of the supervisee that are a part of the required supervised training; 
 (g)  comply with the confidentiality requirements of 
Section 58-60-114; and 
 (h)  comply with applicable laws, rules, standards, and 
ethics of the profession. 
 (6)  A supervisor shall notify the Division in writing of any 
of the following changes, within 30 days of the change: 
 (a)  termination of a supervision contract; or 
 (b)  a change in the supervised individuals place of 
employment. 
 (7)(a)  If a supervisor does not support the issuance of a 
license to a supervised individual to practice unsupervised, or if the 
supervisor has other concerns regarding the individual that the 
supervisor believes requires input from the Division and Board, the 
supervisor shall submit to the Division a written explanation 
outlining the supervisor's concerns. 
 (b)  Upon receipt of written concerns from a supervisor 
with respect to a supervisee, the Division: 
 (i)  shall provide the supervised individual an opportunity 
to respond in writing to the Division regarding the supervisor's 
concerns; 
 (ii)  shall review the written statements from the supervisor 
and supervisee with the Board; and 
 (iii)  in consultation with the Board, the supervised 
individual may be required to obtain additional supervised 
experience hours, education, and training. 
 
R156-60b-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
[ "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  acting as a supervisor or accepting supervision duties 
of a supervisor without complying with or ensuring compliance with 
Sections R156-60-302 and R156-60b-302d; 
 (2)  engaging in the supervised practice of mental health 
therapy if not in compliance with Sections R156-60-302 and R156-
60b-302b; 
 (3)  engaging in or aiding or abetting conduct or practices 
that are dishonest, deceptive or fraudulent; 
 (4)  engaging in or aiding or abetting deceptive or 
fraudulent billing practices; 
 (5)  failing to maintain professional boundaries with a client 
by entering into a dual or multiple relationship without ensuring that 
there has been no exploitation or injury to the client or to the client's 
immediate family; 
 (6)  with or without client consent, failing to maintain 
professional boundaries with a client after the formal termination of 
therapy or last professional contact, including engaging in a 
romantic, intimate, or sexual relationship; 
 (7)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with a 
client's relative or other individual with whom the client maintains a 
relationship, if that individual is especially vulnerable or susceptible 
to being disadvantaged because of the personal history, current 
mental status, or any condition that could reasonably be expected to 
place that individual at a disadvantage recognizing the power 
imbalance that exists or may exist between the marriage and family 
therapist and that individual; 
 (8)  physical contact with a client when there is a risk of 
exploitation or potential harm to the client resulting from the contact; 
 (9)  engaging in or aiding or abetting sexual harassment or 
any conduct that is exploitive or abusive with respect to a student, 
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trainee, employee, or colleague with whom the licensee has 
supervisory or management responsibility; 
 (10)  failing to render impartial, objective, and informed 
services, recommendations or opinions with respect to custodial or 
parental rights, divorce, domestic relationships, adoptions, sanity, 
competency, mental health or any other determination concerning an 
individual's civil or legal rights; 
 (11)  exploiting a client for personal gain; 
 (12)  use of a professional client relationship to exploit a 
person that is known to have a personal relationship with a client for 
personal gain; 
 (13)  failing to maintain appropriate client records for a 
period of not less than ten years from the documented termination of 
services to the client; 
 (14)  failing to obtain informed consent from the client or 
legal guardian before taping, recording or permitting third party 
observations of client care or records; 
 (15)  failure to cooperate with the Division during an 
investigation; or 
 (16)  violating a provision of the Revised AAMFT Code of 
Ethics effective January 1, 2015, which is adopted and incorporated 
by reference.] 
 Under Subsection 58-60-110(2), "unprofessional conduct" 
includes: 
 (1)  using the abbreviated title of: 
 (a)  AMFT unless licensed as an associate marriage and 
family therapist; 
 (b)  AMFTE or AMFT-Extern unless licensed as an 
associate marriage and family therapist extern; or 
 (c)  MFT unless licensed as a marriage and family therapist; 
 (2)  acting as a supervisor or accepting supervision from a 
supervisor without complying with or ensuring compliance with 
Sections R156-60b-305a and 305b; 
 (3)  directing one's mental health therapist supervisor to 
engage in a practice that would violate any statute, rule, or generally 
accepted professional or ethical standard of the supervisor's 
profession; 
 (4)  engaging in the supervised practice of clinical mental 
health therapy: 
 (a)  as a licensed AMFT or AMFT-Extern unless: 
 (i)  the licensee has completed a clinical practicum program 
accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and 
Family  Therapy Education; and 
 (ii)  the scope of practice is within the licensee's 
competency, abilities, and education; 
 (b)  while not in compliance with Section R156-60b-305b; 
 (5)  engaging in or aiding or abetting: 
 (a)  conduct or practices that are dishonest, deceptive, or 
fraudulent; 
 (b)  deceptive or fraudulent billing practices; 
 (c)  sexual harassment or any conduct that is exploitive or 
abusive with respect to a student, trainee, employee, or colleague 
with whom the licensee has supervisory or management 
responsibility; or 
 (d)  physical contact with a client when there is a risk of 
exploitation or potential harm to the client resulting from the contact; 
 (6)  engaging in dual or multiple relationships with a client 
or former client when there is a risk of or potential harm to the client; 
 (7)  knowingly engaging in sexual activities or sexual 
contact with a client, former client, or another individual with whom 
the client maintains a close personal relationship with or without the 
client's consent; 

 (8)  exploiting for personal gain a: 
 (a)  client; 
 (b)  former client; or 
 (c)  person who has a personal relationship with a client; 
 (9)  failing to: 
 (a)  establish and maintain professional boundaries with a 
client or former client; 
 (b)  exercise professional discretion and impartial judgment 
required for the performance of professional activities, duties, and 
functions; 
 (c)  provide impartial, objective, and informed services, 
recommendations, or opinions with respect to: 
 (i)  custodial or parental rights; 
 (ii)  divorce; 
 (iii)  domestic relationships; 
 (iv)  adoptions; 
 (v)  sanity; 
 (vi)  competency; 
 (vii)  mental health; or 
 (viii)  other determination concerning an individual's civil 
or legal rights; 
 (d)  maintain client records including records of 
assessment, treatment, progress notes, and billing information for a 
period of not less than ten years from the documented termination of 
services to the client; 
 (e)  provide client records in a reasonable time upon written 
request of the client, or the client's legal guardian; 
 (f)  obtain informed consent from the client or the client's 
legal guardian before taping, recording, or permitting third-party 
observations of client activities or records; 
 (g)  protect the confidences of persons named or identified 
in the client records; 
 (h)  abide by the AAMFT Code of Ethics, effective January 
1, 2015, which is incorporated by reference; 
 (i)  follow the Model Standards of Practice for Child 
Custody Evaluation of the Association of Family and Conciliation 
Courts (AFCC) May 2006, which is incorporated by reference; and 
 (j)  cooperate with the Division during an investigation; 
 (10)  if providing services remotely, failing to: 
 (a)  practice according to professional standards of care in 
the delivery of services; 
 (b)  protect the security of electronic confidential data and 
information; or 
 (c)  appropriately store and dispose of electronic 
confidential data and information; 
 (11)  violating: 
 (a)  Section R156-60b-305a regarding supervisor 
experience; or 
 (b)  Section R156-60b-305b as a supervisor or supervised 
individual. 
 
KEY:  licensing, therapists, marriage and family therapist 
Date of Last Change:  [January 10, 2023]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  June 13, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-
106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a); 58-60-301 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R156-60c Filing ID:  
56216 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Professional Licensing 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 

Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jana Johansen 801-

530-
6628 

janajohansen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-60c.  Clinical Mental Health Counselor Licensing Act 
Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Division of Professional Licensing (Division) in 
collaboration with Clinical Mental Health Licensing Board 
makes this filing with the intent that the amendments being 
proposed incorporate changes due to H.B. 166 passed 
during the 2023 General Session, merge provisions found 
in Rule 156-60, Mental Health Practice Act Rule, which is 
being recommended for repeal, and correct grammar and 
formatting errors. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Amendment to Section R516-60c-102 adds definitions 
from the Mental Health Practice Act Rule (R156-60, being 
repealed) which will provide clarity and continuity for 
readers.  This section also includes grammar and 
formatting corrections. 
 
Amendment to Section R516-60c-302a adds provisions 
regarding experience being repealed with the Mental 
Health Practice Act Rule.  In addition, grammar, formatting, 
and citation corrections are proposed.  Amendments in this 
section also reflect changes enacted with H.B. 166 (2023) 
as well. 
 
Amendments to Section R516-60c-302b make a 
correction to grammar. 

Amendments to Section R516-60c-302c make grammar 
and citation corrections. 
 
Amendments to Section R516-60c-302d add sections of 
the Metal Health Practice Act Rule and clarify what 
constitutes the required suicide prevention course, as well 
as incorporating provisions from the repealed Rule R516-
60. 
 
Amendments to Section R516-60c-303 correct grammar 
and clarify requirements that the Board historically uses to 
determine reinstatement. 
 
Amendments to Section R516-60c-304 add provisions 
regarding continuing education being repealed with the 
Mental Health Practice Act Rule. 
 
Amendments to Section R516-60c-305a add provisions 
regarding supervisor eligibility being repealed with the 
Mental Health Practice Act Rule. 
 
Amendments to Section R516-60c-305b add provisions 
regarding supervised experience, supervision contracts, 
and the duties and responsibilities of a supervisor and 
supervisee being repealed with the Mental Health Practice 
Act Rule. 
 
Amendment to Section R156-60c-306 removes section 
that is incorporated into Section R156-60c-303. 
 
Amendments to Section R516-60c-502 corrects 
formatting, grammar, and citations. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed repeal of Rule R156-60 
is under ID 56209 in this issue, December 15, 2023, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 
 
Public Hearing Information: 
There will be a public hearing on 01/16/2024 at 9:00 AM at 
the Heber Wells Building, 160 E 300 S, Conference Room 
474, Salt Lake City, UT.  Also available via Google Meet 
(see below). 
 
Google Meeting link: 
meet.google.com/yfq-psko-xgt 
 
Or join by phone: 
(US) +1 304-691-0096 
PIN: 605869246 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures. 
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The requested changes reflect current industry standards 
as approved by the Clinical Mental Health Licensing Board 
and will continue to ensure that the minimum required 
standards have been met. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Clinical Mental Health 
Licensing Board and will continue to ensure that the 
minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively changes the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Clinical Mental Health 
Licensing Board and will continue to ensure that the 
minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses revenues or 
expenditures. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Clinical Mental Health 
Licensing Board and will continue to ensure that the 
minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on affected persons. 
 

This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Clinical Mental Health 
Licensing Board and will continue to ensure that the 
minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes for affected persons, so there is no fiscal 
impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As described above in Box 5(E) for other persons, the 
proposed changes are not expected to have any 
compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 
 
The Division in collaboration with the Clinical Mental 
Health Licensing Board proposes these amendments in 
response to the statutory changes made in H.B. 166 
(2023).  The changes are to move the provisions of Rule 
R156-60, due to the repeal of Rule R156-60, to update this 
rule to encompass current statutory requirements and 
practices as they apply to clinical mental health 
counselors, make nonsubstantive grammar and formatting 
changes to streamline and to update this rule, and comply 
with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees): 
The Division does not expect any foreseeable impact on 
small businesses in the practice of clinical mental health 
counselors in the state of Utah. 
 
The proposed amendments are to conform to the 
requirements of H.B. 166 (2023).  The changes are to 
move the provisions of Rule R156-60, due to the repeal of 
Rule R156-60, to update this rule to encompass current 
statutory requirements and practices in the profession. 
 
Further, the Division does not foresee any negative impact 
on small businesses since grammatical and formatting 
amendments are made to make the rule comport to the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Non-Small Businesses (50 or more employees): 
The Division finds that the non-small businesses in the 
clinical mental health counselor industry in the state of 
Utah will not suffer a negative fiscal impact from the 
proposed rule amendments. 
 
However, these amendments will have no expected fiscal 
impact for non-small businesses in Utah for the same 
rationale as described above for small businesses. 
 
Further, any of these costs are either inestimable, for the 
reasons stated above, or there is no fiscal impact. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 58-60-401 Subsection 58-1-

106(1)(a) 
Subsection 58-1-
202(1)(a) 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 

Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Model Standards for Practice of Child 
Custody Evaluation 

Publisher Association of Family and  
Conciliation Courts (AFCC) 

Issue Date May 2006 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical 

address or URL): 
01/16/2024 9:00 AM See information in 

Box 4 above. 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel,  
Division Director 

Date: 11/27/2023 

 
R156.  Commerce, Professional Licensing. 
R156-60c.  Clinical Mental Health Counselor Licensing Act Rule. 
R156-60c-102.  Definitions. 
 [The following rule definitions supplement the 
definitions]Terms used in this rule are defined in Title 58, Chapter 1, 
Division of Professional Licensing Act and Title 58, Chapter 60, 
Mental Health Professional Practice Act.  In addition: 
 (1)  "ACMHC" means an associate clinical mental health 
counselor. 
 (2)  "Approved diagnostic and statistical manual for mental 
disorders" means the following: 
 (a)  Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fifth Edition: DSM-5-TR published by the American Psychiatric 
Association; 
 (b)  International Classification of Diseases, Tenth 
Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) for Physicians, 
Professional Edition published by the American Medical 
Association; or 
 (c)  International Classification of Diseases, Tenth 
Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM): The Complete 
Official Draft Code Set published by the American Medical 
Association. 
 (3)  "APRN" as used in Subsection R156-60c-305a(1)(a)(i) 
means an advanced practice registered nurse who meets the 
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requirements of Subsection 58-31b-302(5)(g) to practice within the 
psychiatric mental health nursing specialty. 
 (4)  "Client" or "patient" means an individual who, if 
competent requests, or if not competent to request is lawfully 
provided professional services by a mental health therapist when the 
mental health therapist: 
 (a)  agrees verbally or in writing to provide professional 
services to that individual; or 
 (b)  without an overt agreement does in fact provide 
professional services to that individual. 
 (5)  "Clinical mental health experience," as used in 
Subsection R146-60c-302a(1) includes clinical mental health therapy 
hours obtained direct with clients and: 
 (a)  conducting, with documentation, an intake interview, 
mental status evaluation, biopsychosocial history, mental health 
history, or assessment for treatment planning and caseload 
management; 
 (b)  obtaining knowledge related to techniques and 
interventions for the prevention and treatment of a broad range of 
mental health issues; 
 (c)  strategies for interfacing with the legal system 
regarding court-referred clients; 
 (d)  strategies for interfacing with integrated behavioral 
health care professionals; and 
 (e)  strategies to advocate for persons with mental health 
issues. 
 (6)  "Clinical mental health therapy," as used in Subsections 
R156-60c-302a(1)(a) and (b), means the direct practice of mental 
health counseling, which focuses on the assessment, diagnosis, and 
treatment of mental disorder, emotional, and other behavioral 
disturbances using individual, group, and family therapy modalities. 
 (7)  "CMHC" means a clinical mental health counselor. 
 ([1]8)  "Deficiency," as used in Subsection 58-60-
117(1)(d), means that the educational degree upon which licensure is 
to be based fails to include coursework listed in any one or more of 
Subsections R156-60c-102([4]11)(b)(i) through (x) and R156-60c-
102([4]11)(c). 
 (9)  "Direct supervision" of a supervisee in training, as used 
in Subsection 58-60-405(1)(e) means the supervisor meets with the 
supervisee: 
 (a)  when both are physically present in the same room at 
the same time; or 
 (b)  remotely via synchronous electronic methods that 
allow for visual and audio interaction between the supervisor and 
supervisee, in accordance with the requirements of their supervision 
contract. 
 (10)  "Employee" means a W-2 employee as defined by the 
Internal Revenue Service. 
 (11)  "Equivalent field," as used in Subsection 58-60-
405(1)(c)(i)(B), means that the educational program: 
 (a)  prepares students to practice mental health counseling 
through the study of generally recognized clinical mental health 
counseling principles, methods, and procedures; 
 (b)  contains three semester or four quarter credit hours of 
graduate-level courses in the following subjects: 
 (i)  social and cultural diversity; 
 (ii)  group counseling and group work; 
 (iii)  human growth and development; 
 (iv)  career development; 
 (v)  counseling and helping relationships; 
 (vi)  substance-related and addictive disorders; 
 (vii)  assessment and testing; 

 (viii)  mental status examination and the appraisal of 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual maladaptive and 
psychopathological behavior; 
 (ix)  research and program evaluation; and 
 (x)  professional counseling orientation and ethical 
practice; and 
 (c)  includes 700 documented hours of supervised clinical 
training from at least one practicum or internship, of which 240 hours 
consists of providing therapy directly to clients. 
 (12)  "Independent control," as used in Subsections R156-
60c-305b(4)(c) and (5)(e), means not being employed by the 
supervisee, or by an agency owned in total or in part by the 
supervisee, or that the supervisee has any controlling interest. 
 ([2]13)  "Internship" means one or more courses completed 
as part of a graduate program at an accredited school: 
 (a)  [in a]obtained at one of the following public or private 
[agency]agencies: 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 
 (iv)  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
 (b)  while engaged in the clinical practice of mental health 
therapy as defined in Subsection 58-60-102(7); and 
 ([b]c)  under supervision provided by a qualified mental 
health training supervisor as defined in [Section R156-60c-
302a]Subsection R156-60c-305a(1)(a). 
 (14)  "On-the-job training program" means a program that: 
 (a)  applies to individuals who have completed courses 
required for graduation in a degree or formal training program that 
would qualify for licensure under this chapter; 
 (b)  starts immediately upon completion of courses required 
for graduation; 
 (c)  ends 45 days from the date it begins, or upon licensure, 
whichever is earlier, and may not be extended or used a second time; 
 (d)  the individual is an employee of a public or private 
mental health agency, in-patient or out-patient hospital, educational 
institution, or government agency, and is providing clinical mental 
health services; and 
 (e)  is supervised by a qualified individual licensed under 
this chapter, and includes supervision meetings on at least a weekly 
basis with the supervisee and supervisor physically present in the 
same room at the same time. 
 ([3]15)  "Practicum" means one or more courses completed 
as part of a graduate program at an accredited school: 
 (a)  [in a]obtained at one of the following public or private 
[agency]agencies: 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 
 (iv  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
 (b)  while engaged in the clinical practice of mental health 
therapy as defined in Subsection 58-60-102(7); and 
 ([b]c)  under supervision provided by a qualified mental 
health training supervisor as defined in Subsection [R156-60c-
302a(3)]R156-60c-305a(1)(a).[ 
 (4)  "Equivalent field," as used in Section 58-60-405, 
means that the educational program: 
 (a)  prepares students to practice mental health counseling 
through the study of generally recognized clinical mental health 
counseling principles, methods, and procedures; 
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 (b)  contains three semester or four quarter credit hours of 
graduate level courses in the following subjects: 
 (i)  social and cultural diversity; 
 (ii)  group counseling and group work; 
 (iii)  human growth and development; 
 (iv)  career development; 
 (v)  counseling and helping relationships; 
 (vi)  substance-related and addictive disorders; 
 (vii)  assessment and testing; 
 (viii)  mental status examination and the appraisal of 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual maladaptive and 
psychopathological behavior; 
 (ix)  research and program evaluation; and 
 (x)  professional counseling orientation and ethical 
practice; and 
 (c)  includes 700 documented hours of supervised clinical 
training from at least one practicum or internship, of which 240 hours 
consists of providing therapy directly to clients.] 
 (16)  "Supervision contract" means a written, signed 
contract between a supervisor and an individual being supervised to 
facilitate the completion of experience requirements for licensure and 
includes the provisions required by Subsection R156-60c-305b(3). 
 (17)  "Supervisor Verification form" means the form, 
provided by the Division, to document who is providing supervision 
to a supervised individual, that at a minimum includes: 
 (a)  name and license number of the individual; 
 (b)  name and license number of the supervisor; and 
 (c)  supervised individuals place of employment. 
 ([5]18)  "Unprofessional conduct" is further defined, in 
accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in Section R156-60c-
502. 
 
R156-60c-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure - [Supervised 
Training]Experience Requirements. 
 (1)  [The]Under Subsection 58-60-405(1)(d), the minimum 
3,000 hours of clinical mental health experience required shall 
include[counselor and mental health therapy training qualifying an 
applicant for licensure as a clinical mental health counselor under 
Subsections 58-60-405(1)(d) and (e) and Section R156-60-302 shall 
be completed]: 
 (a)  1,000 hours providing clinical mental health therapy as 
defined in Subsection 58-60-102(7), directly to clients; and 
 (b)  75 hours of clinical mental health therapy performed 
under direct supervision per Subsection R156-60c-102(9). 
 (2)  Clinical mental health experience may include the 
following: 
 (a)  individual, family, and group therapy; 
 (b)  crisis intervention; 
 (c)  intermediate treatment; and 
 (d)  long-term treatment. 
 (3)  Supervised experience shall be obtained: 
 (a)  after completion of the education in Section 58-60-405 
and may not include any clinical internship or practicum hours; 
 ([a]b)  unless Subsection (4) applies, while the applicant is 
licensed as an [associate clinical mental health counselor]ACMHC; 
 ([b]c)  while the applicant is a W-2 employee providing 
clinical mental health services at one of the following facilities:[, as 
defined in Subsection R156-60-102(5), of a public or private agency 
engaged in mental health therapy; and] 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 

 (iv)  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
 (d)  in accordance with the supervision experience 
requirements of Section R156-60c-305b; 
 ([c]e)  under [a program of supervision by ]a supervisor 
who meets the requirements of [Subsection (3) and ]Section [R156-
60-302]R156-60c-305a; and 
 (f)  in not less than 18 months 
 (4)  Notwithstanding Subsection R156-60c-302a(3)(c), an 
individual may qualify for licensure when: 
 (a)  exempt under Subsection 58-1-307(1)(b); or 
 (b)  they completed training in another jurisdiction while: 
 (i)  licensed as the equivalent of an ACMHC; or 
 (ii)  engaged in the practice of clinical mental health 
counselor while not required to be licensed; and 
 (c)  satisfactory evidence is provided to the Division and 
Board documenting training is equivalent to and meets the 
experience requirements under this section and Subsections 58-60-
405(1)(d) and (e). 
 (5)  The exemption in Subsection 58-1-307(1)(b) does not 
permit an applicant to engage in the required hours of clinical mental 
health training or mental health therapy training without first 
becoming licensed as an ACMHC.[ 
 (2)  An applicant for licensure as a clinical mental health 
counselor who is not seeking licensure by endorsement based upon 
licensure in another jurisdiction, and who has completed in whole or 
in part the clinical mental health counselor and mental health therapy 
training requirements under Subsection (1) outside the state, may 
receive credit for that training if the applicant demonstrates, by 
evidence satisfactory to the Division and Board, that the training is 
equivalent to and meets the requirements for training under this 
section and Subsections 58-60-405(1)(d) and 58-60-405(1)(e). 
 (3)  To qualify as a clinical mental health counselor training 
supervisor under Subsections 58-60-405(1)(d) and 58-60-405(1)(e), 
the supervisor shall: 
 (a)  be currently licensed in good standing as a clinical 
mental health counselor, psychiatrist, psychologist, clinical social 
workers, registered psychiatric mental health nurse specialist, or 
marriage and family therapist, in the state where the supervised 
training is performed; 
 (b)  be licensed in good standing and engaged in the lawful 
practice of mental health therapy for at least 4,000 hours in the two 
consecutive years before beginning supervision; 
 (c)(i)  be employed by or have a contract with the mental 
health agency that employs the supervisee; and 
 (ii)  comply with Subsection R156-60-302(4)(d) by not 
being employed by the supervisee, or by an agency owned in total or 
in part by the supervisee, or in which the supervisee has any 
controlling interest; 
 (d)  enter into a written supervising contract with the 
supervisee in accordance with Section R156-60-302; 
 (e)  supervise no more than six individuals who are lawfully 
engaged in training for the practice of mental health therapy unless 
otherwise approved by the Division in collaboration with the Board; 
and 
 (f)  comply with each of the duties and responsibilities 
uniformly established in Section R156-60-302.] 
 
R156-60c-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Examination 
Requirements. 
 Under Subsection 58-60-405(1)(f), an applicant for 
licensure as a clinical mental health counselor shall pass the 
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following National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) 
examinations: 
 (1)  [the ]National Clinical Mental Health Counseling 
Examination (NCMHCE); and 
 (2)  [the ]National Counselor Examination (NCE). 
 
R156-60c-302c.  Qualifications for Licensure - Post Degree 
Programs. 
 (1)  An individual whose educational degree is 
deficient,[has a deficiency] as defined in Subsection R156-60c-
102([1]8), in no more than 12 semesters or 18 quarter credits, may 
complete the missing coursework post-degree to obtain associate 
clinical mental health counselor or clinical mental health counselor 
licensure if: 
 (a)  full credit is awarded; 
 (b)  [all ]courses are taken through one institution; and 
 (c)  the coursework is obtained from a master's or doctoral 
program in: 
 (i)  clinical mental health counseling, clinical rehabilitation 
counseling, or counselor education and supervision, if the program is 
accredited by the Council for Accreditation Counseling and Related 
Education Programs (CACREP); or 
 (ii)  clinical mental health counseling or an equivalent field 
as defined in Subsection R156-60c-102([4]11), if the program is 
affiliated with an institution that has accreditation recognized by the 
Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). 
 (2)  An individual who qualifies to complete requirements 
post-degree under this section, and who qualifies for temporary 
licensure as an associate clinical mental health counselor extern 
under Section 58-60-117, may engage in clinical mental health 
counseling. 
 
R156-60c-302d.  Qualifications for Licensure - Suicide 
Prevention Course. 
 (1)  Under Subsection 58-60-405(1)(d)(iii), the two hour 
suicide prevention course required to obtain clinical mental health 
counselor licensure shall be: 
 (a)  approved, sponsored, or conducted by one of the 
following: 
 (i)  accredited college or university; 
 (ii)  county, state, or federal agency; 
 (iii)  professional association, or similar body, involved in 
clinical mental health therapy; or 
 (iv)  mental health agency that provides clinical mental 
health services; 
 (b)  relevant to mental health therapy and suicide 
prevention, consistent with the laws of this state, and include one or 
more of the following components: 
 (i)  suicide concepts and facts; 
 (ii)  suicide risk assessment, crisis intervention, and first 
aid; 
 (iii)  evidence-based intervention for suicide risk; 
 (iv)  continuity of care and follow-up services for suicide 
risk; and 
 (v)  therapeutic alliances for intervention in suicide risk; 
 (c)  completed in not less than 50-minute blocks of time in 
one of the following formats: 
 (i)  classroom lecture and discussion; 
 (ii)  workshops; 
 (iii)  synchronous webinars; 
 (iv)  asynchronous online self-pace modules; 
 (v)  case study reviews; or 

 (vi)  simulations; and 
 (d)  completed within two years of application. 
 (2)  The course provider shall provide certification of: 
 (a)  course attendance; 
 (b)  hours completed; 
 (c)  name of provider; and 
 (d)  date of completion. 
 (3)  An applicant for licensure shall submit certification of 
course completion, within the preceding two years, to the Division as 
a prerequisite for licensure. 
 
R156-60c-303.  Renewal and Reinstatement of License[Cycle - 
Procedures]. 
 (1)  Under Subsection 58-1-308(1), the renewal date for the 
two-year renewal cycle for licenses under Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 
4, Clinical Mental Health Counselor Licensing [Professional Practice 
]Act, is established in Section R156-1-308a. 
 (2)  Clinical mental health counselor license 
renewal[Renewal] and reinstatement procedures shall be in 
accordance with Sections R156-1-308[b]a through R156-1-308l[l 
and R156-60c-306], except as provided in Subsection (3). 
 (3)  Under Subsection 58-1-308(6)(a) and Section R156-1-
308g, an applicant for reinstatement of licensure as a CMHC whose 
license has been expired over five years, shall upon request: 
 (a)  meet with the Board to evaluate the applicant's ability 
to safely and competently practice clinical mental health therapy; and 
 (b)  if recommended by the Board, complete one or more 
of the following: 
 (i)  establish a plan of supervision under an approved 
supervisor, which may include up to 3,000 hours of clinical mental 
health experience and mental health therapy training as an ACMHC 
before qualifying for reinstatement of the CMHC license; 
 (ii)  retake and pass the NBCC's NCMHCE or NCE, or 
both; or 
 (iii)  complete up to 40 hours of continuing education in 
subjects determined by the Board. 
 
R156-60c-304.  Continuing Education. 
 (1)  Under Section 58-60-105, the continuing [professional 
]education (CE) requirements for each two-year renewal cycle 
beginning October 1 of each even-numbered year, for a [clinical 
mental health counselor]CMHC licensed under Title 58, Chapter 60, 
Part 4, Clinical Mental Health Counselor Licensing Act [are 
established in Section R156-60-105.]shall be 40 hours and include: 
 (a)  six hours in ethics of clinical practice, law, or 
technology; and 
 (b)  two hours in suicide prevention, this course shall meet 
the requirements of Section R156-60c-302d. 
 (2)  An individual who completes more than the required 
number of CE hours during a two-year renewal cycle may carry over 
up to ten hours of excess to the next two-year renewal cycle. 
 (3)  CE shall be: 
 (a)  approved, conducted, or under the sponsorship of one 
of the following: 
 (i)  accredited college or university; 
 (ii)  county, state, or federal agency; 
 (iii)  professional association, or similar body, involved in 
clinical mental health therapy; or 
 (iv)  mental health agency that provides clinical mental 
health services; 
 (b)  completed in not less than 50-minute blocks of time in 
one of the following formats: 
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 (i)  college or university lecture and discussion up to a 
maximum of: 
 (A)  three CE hours per semester hour; or 
 (B)  1.5 CE hours per quarter hour; 
 (ii)  conference; 
 (iii)  lecture or instruction up to a maximum of two times 
per course, up to a maximum of ten CE hours for a CMHC; 
 (iv)  seminar; 
 (v)  training session; 
 (vi)  synchronous distance learning course that is clearly 
documented as real-time and interactive; 
 (vii)  asynchronous distance learning course that is not real-
time and interactive, up to a maximum of ten CE hours for a CMHC; 
 (viii)  specialty certification; 
 (ix)  certifiable clinical readings, up to a maximum of ten 
hours; 
 (x)  direct supervision of an ACMHC, CSW, or AMFT 
completing the experience requirements for licensure, up to a 
maximum of ten hours for a CMHC; and 
 (xi)  volunteer service on a board, committee, or in a 
leadership role in any state, national, or international organization for 
the development and improvement of the licensee's profession; one 
CE hour may be counted as a regular credit, ethics of clinical practice, 
law, or technology credit, up to a maximum of six CE hours during 
each two-year period; 
 (c)  prepared and presented by individuals who are 
qualified by education, training, and experience to provide CE; 
 (d)  relevant to the licensee's scope of practice; and 
 (e)  verified by a certificate of course completion that shall 
include: 
 (i)  name of the attendee; 
 (ii)  name of course provider; 
 (iii)  name of instructor; 
 (iv)  date of the course; 
 (v)  title of the course; 
 (vi)  number of CE hours; 
 (vii)  course objectives; and 
 (viii)  type of CE, for example, seminar, real-time 
interactive, distance learning, teaching. 
 (4)  An individual shall maintain adequate documentation 
as proof of compliance with this section for a period of two years 
after the end of the renewal cycle for which the CE is due. 
 (5)  An individual may not carry forward any CE hours 
received before a granted license, including professional upgrades. 
 (6)  CE hours shall be decreased proportionately according 
to the date of obtaining clinical mental health counselor licensure 
within the two-year renewal cycle. 
 (7)  The Division may defer or waive CE requirements in 
accordance with Section R156-1-308d. 
 
R156-60c-305a.  Supervisor Eligibility Requirements. 
 (1)  Under Subsections 58-60-405(1)(d) and (e), to be 
eligible to supervise an ACMHC, the supervisor shall be: 
 (a)  an active license holder in good standing, in one of the 
following classifications: 
 (i)  APRN specializing in psychiatric mental health nursing; 
 (ii)  CMHC; 
 (iii)  clinical social worker (LCSW); 
 (iv)  psychiatrist; 
 (v)  psychologist; or 
 (vi)  marriage and family therapist; 

 (b)  licensed for at least two years as outlined in this 
Subsection (1)(a) before providing supervision; 
 (c)  engaged in the lawful practice of providing clinical 
mental health therapy; 
 (d)  a supervisor of no more than six individuals who are 
obtaining experience hours for further licensure, unless granted an 
exception in writing from the Division in collaboration with the 
Board; and 
 (e)  employed by or have a contract with the facility that 
employs the individual being supervised; 
 (2)  A training supervisor shall comply with duties and 
responsibilities established in Section R156-60c-305b. 
 
R156-60c-305b.  Supervised Experience Requirements - 
Supervision Contract - Duties and Responsibilities of Supervisor 
and Supervisee. 
 Under Subsection 58-60-405(1)(d), the supervised 
experience qualifications for licensure required under Title 58, 
Chapter 60, Part 4, Clinical Mental Health Counselor Licensing Act, 
are established and clarified as follows: 
 (1)  Before accruing supervised experience, an individual 
shall: 
 (a)  enter into a written supervision contract with a 
supervisor, signed by both parties; and 
 (b)  verify that the supervisor has received 
acknowledgment from the Division of receipt of the Supervisor 
Verification document. 
 (2)  Before providing supervision, a supervisor shall: 
 (a)  enter into a written supervision contract with a 
supervisee, signed by both parties; 
 (b)  ensure that during the period of supervised experience 
the supervisee is a W-2 employee providing clinical mental health 
services at one of the following facilities: 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 
 (iv)  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
 (c)  submit to the Division: 
 (i)  a complete Supervisor Verification form; and 
 (ii)  certification that the supervision contract meets the 
requirements of Subsection (3); 
 (d)  receive an acknowledgment from the Division 
verifying receipt of the Supervisor Verification form. 
 (3)  A supervision contract shall include at least the 
following provisions: 
 (a)  a plan to ensure the supervised individual has 
accessibility to the supervisor; 
 (b)  a plan for meetings between the supervisor and 
supervisee, addressing: 
 (i)  frequency; 
 (ii)  duration; 
 (iii)  objectives; 
 (iv)  format, such as individual or small group; and 
 (v)  location, such as face-to-face or remotely; 
 (c)  a plan for documenting the ongoing supervision, 
including objective and measurable circumstances; 
 (d)  a plan to address potential conflicts between the clinical 
recommendations of the supervisor and those of the representatives 
of the agency employing the supervisee; 
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 (e)  remedies in the event of a breach of contract by either 
the supervisor or supervisee, including procedures for contract 
termination; and 
 (f)  if any part of the supervision will be conducted 
remotely, plans for: 
 (i)  how the supervisor and supervisee will meet via real-
time electronic methods allowing visual or audio interaction, and 
protect the security of electronic, confidential data and information; 
 (ii)  how the supervisor will comply with the supervisor's 
duties and responsibilities as established in rule; 
 (iii)  how the supervisor will physically visit the location 
where the supervisee practices on at least a quarterly basis during the 
period of supervision, or at such lesser frequency as is approved in 
advance by the Division in collaboration with the Board; and 
 (iv)  how notice will be provided to the supervisee's clients 
or patients and employer regarding the supervisee's use of remote 
supervision. 
 (4)  A supervisor shall have the following duties and 
responsibilities: 
 (a)  ensure that during the period of supervision: 
 (i)  the supervisee is a W-2 employee providing clinical 
mental health services at one of the following facilities: 
 (A)  mental health agency; 
 (B)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (C)  educational institution; 
 (D)  non-profit organization; or 
 (E)  government agency; 
 (ii)  the supervisor and supervisee remain appropriately 
licensed; and 
 (iii)  the supervisor supervises no more than six individuals 
who are lawfully engaged in gathering experience for the practice of 
clinical mental health therapy; 
 (b)  comply with the terms of the supervision contract; 
 (c)  maintain a relationship with the supervisee which the 
supervisor is independent of control by the supervised individual, and 
that the ability of the supervisor to supervise and direct the practice 
of that individual is not compromised; 
 (d)  be available to the supervisee for advice, consultation, 
and direction consistent with the standards and ethics of the 
profession and the requirements suggested by the total 
circumstances, including consideration of the supervisee's level of 
training, diagnosis of patients, and other factors known to the 
supervisor; 
 (e)  periodically review the client records assigned to the 
supervisee; 
 (f)  comply with the confidentiality requirements of Section 
58-60-114; 
 (g)  monitor the supervisee's performance for compliance 
with the laws, rules, standards, and ethics of the profession, and 
report violations to the Division; and 
 (h)  upon completion of the supervised training, submit to 
the Division on Division-provided forms: 
 (i)  documentation of the training hours completed by the 
supervised individual; and 
 (ii)  an evaluation of the supervised individual with respect 
to the quality of the work performed and the individual's competency 
to practice in the profession. 
 (5)  A supervisee shall have the following duties and 
responsibilities: 
 (a)  before beginning any supervised training: 
 (i)  enter into a written supervision contract with the 
supervisor in accordance with Subsection (3); and 

 (ii)  ensure the required Supervisor Verification form is 
received by the Division; 
 (b)  maintain required licensure; 
 (c)  maintain employment as a W-2 employee providing 
clinical mental health services at one of the following facilities: 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 
 (iv)  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
 (d)  comply wit the terms of the supervision contract; 
 (e)  maintain a relationship with the supervisor which the 
supervisor is independent of the supervised individuals control, and 
that the ability of the supervisor to supervise and direct the practice 
of that individual is not compromised; 
 (f)  be professionally responsible for the acts and practices 
of the supervisee that are a part of the required supervised training; 
 (g)  comply with the confidentiality requirements of 
Section 58-60-114; and 
 (h)  comply with applicable laws, rules, standards, and 
ethics of the profession. 
 (6)  A supervisor shall notify the Division in writing of any 
of the following changes, within 30 days of the change: 
 (a)  termination of a supervision contract; or 
 (b)  a change in the supervised individuals place of 
employment. 
 (7)(a)  If a supervisor does not support the issuance of a 
license to a supervised individual to practice unsupervised, or if the 
supervisor has other concerns regarding the individual that the 
supervisor believes requires input from the Division and Board, the 
supervisor shall submit to the Division a written explanation 
outlining the supervisor's concerns. 
 (b)  Upon receipt of written concerns from a supervisor 
with respect to a supervisee, the Division: 
 (i)  shall provide the supervised individual an opportunity 
to respond in writing to the Division regarding the supervisor's 
concerns; 
 (ii)  shall review the written statements from the supervisor 
and supervisee with the Board; and 
 (iii)  in consultation with the Board, the supervised 
individual may be required to obtain additional supervised 
experience hours, education, and training.[ 
 
R156-60c-306.  License Reinstatement - Between Two Years and 
Five Years After Expiration. 
 Under Subsection 58-1-308(5) and Section R156-1-308g, 
an applicant for reinstatement of licensure between two years and 
five years after the date the license expired shall, at the request of the 
Division, meet with the Board to evaluate the applicant's ability to 
safely and competently practice as a clinical mental health counselor, 
and determine any additional education, experience, or examination 
requirements before reinstatement.  Additional requirements, as 
determined necessary by the Board, may include any one or more of 
the following: 
 (1)  an established plan of supervision under an approved 
supervisor, which may include up to 3,000 hours of clinical training 
as an associate clinical mental health counselor extern; 
 (2)  retake and pass the NBCC's National Clinical Mental 
Health Counseling Examination or National Counseling 
Examination, or both; or 
 (3)  complete a minimum of 40 hours of continuing 
education in subjects determined by the Board.] 
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R156-60c-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
[ "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  acting as a supervisor or accepting supervision duties 
of a supervisor without complying with or ensuring compliance with 
Sections R156-60-302 and R156-60c-302a; 
 (2)  engaging in the supervised practice of mental health 
therapy while not in compliance with Section R156-60-302 or R156-
60c-302a; 
 (3)  engaging in or aiding or abetting conduct or practices 
that are dishonest, deceptive, or fraudulent; 
 (4)  engaging in or aiding or abetting deceptive or 
fraudulent billing practices; 
 (5)  failing to establish and maintain appropriate 
professional boundaries with a client or former client; 
 (6)  engaging in dual or multiple relationships with a client 
or former client in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential 
harm to the client; 
 (7)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with a 
client with or without client consent; 
 (8)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with a 
former client within two years of documented termination of 
services; 
 (9)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact at any 
time with a former client who is especially vulnerable or susceptible 
to being disadvantaged because of the client's personal history, 
current mental status, or any condition that could reasonably be 
expected to place the client at a disadvantage recognizing the power 
imbalance that exists or may exist between the counselor and the 
client; 
 (10)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with a 
client's relative or another individual with whom the client maintains 
a relationship, if that individual is especially vulnerable or 
susceptible to being disadvantaged because of personal history, 
current mental status, or any condition that could reasonably be 
expected to place that individual at a disadvantage recognizing the 
power imbalance that exists or may exist between the counselor and 
that individual; 
 (11)  engaging in physical contact with a client if there is a 
risk of exploitation or potential harm to the client resulting from the 
contact; 
 (12)  engaging in or aiding or abetting sexual harassment 
or any conduct that is exploitive or abusive concerning a student, 
trainee, employee, or colleague with whom the licensee has 
supervisory or management responsibility; 
 (13)  failing to provide impartial, objective, and informed 
services, recommendations, or opinions concerning custodial or 
parental rights, divorce, domestic relationships, adoptions, sanity, 
competency, mental health, or any other determination concerning an 
individual's civil or legal rights; 
 (14)  exploiting a client for personal gain; 
 (15)  using a professional client relationship to exploit, for 
personal gain, an individual whom the licensee knows has a personal 
relationship with the client; 
 (16)  failing to maintain appropriate client records for a 
period of not less than ten years from the documented termination of 
services to the client; 
 (17)  failing to obtain informed consent from the client or 
legal guardian before taping, recording, or permitting third person 
observations of client care or records; 
 (18)  failing to cooperate with the Division during an 
investigation; and 

 (19)  failing to abide by the American Mental Health 
Counselors Association Code of Ethics, 2020, which is incorporated 
by reference.] 
 Under Subsection 58-60-110(2), "unprofessional conduct" 
includes: 
 (1)  using the abbreviated title of: 
 (a)  ACMHC unless licensed as an associate clinical mental 
health counselor; 
 (b)  ACMHCE or ACMHC-Extern unless licensed as an 
associate clinical mental health counselor extern; or 
 (c)  CMHC unless licensed as a clinical mental health 
counselor; 
 (2)  acting as a supervisor or accepting supervision from a 
supervisor without complying with or ensuring compliance with 
Sections R156-60c-305a and R156-60c-305b; 
 (3)  directing one's mental health therapist supervisor to 
engage in a practice that would violate any statute, rule, or generally 
accepted professional or ethical standard of the supervisor's 
profession; 
 (4)  engaging in the supervised practice of clinical mental 
health therapy: 
 (a)  as a licensed ACMHC or ACMHC-Extern unless: 
 (i)  the licensee has completed a clinical practicum as part 
of a CACREP or CHEA accredited master's degree program; and 
 (ii)  the scope of practice is within the licensee's 
competency, abilities, and education; 
 (b)  while not in compliance with Section R156-60c-305b; 
 (5)  engaging in or aiding or abetting: 
 (a)  conduct or practices that are dishonest, deceptive, or 
fraudulent; 
 (b)  deceptive or fraudulent billing practices; 
 (c)  sexual harassment or any conduct that is exploitive or 
abusive with respect to a student, trainee, employee, or colleague 
with whom the licensee has supervisory or management 
responsibility; or 
 (d)  physical contact with a client when there is a risk of 
exploitation or potential harm to the client resulting from the contact; 
 (6)  engaging in dual or multiple relationships with a client 
or former client when there is a risk of or potential harm to the client; 
 (7)  knowingly engaging in sexual activities or sexual 
contact with a client, former client, client's relative or another 
individual with whom the client maintains a relationship, if that 
individual is especially vulnerable or susceptible to being 
disadvantaged because of personal history, current mental status, or 
any condition that could reasonably be expected to place that 
individual at a disadvantage recognizing the power imbalance that 
exists or may exist between the counselor and that individual; 
 (8)  exploiting for personal gain a: 
 (a)  client; 
 (b)  former client; or 
 (c)  person who has a personal relationship with a client; 
 (9)  failing to: 
 (a)  establish and maintain professional boundaries with a 
client or former client; 
 (b)  exercise professional discretion and impartial judgment 
required for the performance of professional activities, duties, and 
functions; 
 (c)  provide impartial, objective, and informed services, 
recommendations, or opinions with respect to: 
 (i)  custodial or parental rights; 
 (ii)  divorce; 
 (iii)  domestic relationships; 
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 (iv)  adoptions; 
 (v)  sanity; 
 (vi)  competency; 
 (vii)  mental health; or 
 (viii)  other determination concerning an individual's civil 
or legal rights; 
 (d)  maintain client records including records of 
assessment, treatment, progress notes, and billing information for a 
period of not less than ten years from the documented termination of 
services to the client; 
 (e)  provide client records in a reasonable time upon written 
request of the client, or the client's legal guardian; 
 (f)  obtain informed consent from the client or the client's 
legal guardian before taping, recording, or permitting third-party 
observations of client activities or records; 
 (g)  protect the confidences of persons named or identified 
in the client records; 
 (h)  abide by the American Mental Health Counselors 
Association Code of Ethics, 2020 edition, which is incorporated by 
reference; 
 (i)  follow the Model Standards of Practice for Child 
Custody Evaluation of the Association of Family and Conciliation 
Courts (AFCC) May 2006, which is incorporated by reference; 
 (j)  cooperate with the Division during an investigation; 
 (10)  if providing services remotely, failing to: 
 (a)  practice according to professional standards of care in 
the delivery of services; 
 (b)  protect the security of electronic confidential data and 
information; or 
 (c)  appropriately store and dispose of electronic 
confidential data and information; and 
 (11)  violating: 
 (a)  Section R156-60c-305a regarding supervisor 
experience; or 
 (b)  Section R156-60c-305b as a supervisor or supervised 
individual. 
 
KEY:  licensing, counselors, mental health, clinical mental health 
counselor 
Date of Last Change:  [January 12, 2023]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  September 5, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-60-401; 
58-1-106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section 
Number: 

R156-60d Filing ID: 
56217 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Professional Licensing 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 

Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jana Johansen 801-

530-
6628 

janajohansen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-60d.  Substance Use Disorder Counselor Act Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Division of Professional Licensing (Division) in 
collaboration with the Substance Use Disorder Counselor 
Licensing Board makes this filing with the intent that the 
amendments being proposed incorporate changes due to 
S.B. 208 which passed in the 2023 General Session, 
merge provisions found in Rule R156-60, Mental Health 
Practice Act Rule, which is being recommended for repeal, 
and correct grammar and formatting errors. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Amendments to Section R156-60d-101 combine Sections 
R156-60d-103 and R156-60d-104 of this rule. 
 
Amendment to Section R156-60d-102 adds definitions 
from the Mental Health Practice Act Rule (R156-60, being 
repealed) which will provide clarity and continuity for 
readers.  This section also includes grammar, citation, and 
formatting corrections. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60d-302a correct grammar, 
and incorporate provisions found in Rule R156-60. 
 
Amendment to Section R156-60d-302b adds provisions 
regarding experience being repealed with the Mental 
Health Practice Act Rule.  In addition, grammar, formatting, 
and citation corrections are proposed. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60d-302d add sections of 
the Metal Health Practice Act Rule and clarify what 
constitutes the required suicide prevention course, as well 
as incorporating reenacted provisions from the repealed 
Rule R156-60. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60d-303 correct grammar 
and clarify requirements that the Board historically uses to 
determine reinstatement. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60d-304 add provisions 
regarding continuing education being repealed with the 
Mental Health Practice Act Rule. 
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Amendment to Section R156-60d-30t removes section 
that is incorporated into Section R156-60d-303. 
 
Amendments to Section R156-60d-502 incorporate 
conduct found across the behavioral health professions for 
continuity.  It also corrects formatting, grammar, and 
citations. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed repeal of Rule R156-60 
is under ID 56209 in this issue, December 15, 2023, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 
 
Public Hearing Information: 
There will be a public hearing on 01/16/2024 at 9:00 AM at 
the Heber Wells Building, 160 E 300 S, Conference Room 
474, Salt Lake City, UT.  Also available via Google Meet 
(see below). 
 
Google Meeting link: 
meet.google.com/yfq-psko-xgt 
 
Or join by phone: 
(US) +1 304-691-0096 
PIN: 605869246 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on state government revenues or expenditures.  
 
The requested changes reflect current industry standards 
as approved by the Substance Use Disorder Counselor 
Licensing Board and will continue to ensure that the 
minimum required standards have been met. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Licensing Board and will continue to ensure 
that the minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively changes the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 

This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Licensing Board and will continue to ensure 
that the minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Licensing Board and will continue to ensure 
that the minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes so there is no fiscal impact. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed changes are not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on affected persons. 
 
This rule has been amended to provide technical, 
conforming, and stylistic changes in accordance with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and current industry 
standards as approved by the Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Licensing Board and will continue to ensure 
that the minimum required standards have been met. 
 
None of these changes substantively change the 
processes for affected persons, so there is no fiscal 
impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As described above in Box 5(E) for other persons, the 
proposed changes are not expected to have any 
compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 
 
The Division in collaboration with the Substance Use 
Disorder Counselor Licensing Board proposes these 
amendments in response to the statutory changes made 
in S.B. 208 (2023).  Because Rule R156-60 is being 
repealed, these proposed amendments move provisions 
from Rule R156-60 into this rule as they apply to clinical 
mental health counselors, make nonsubstantive grammar 
and formatting changes to streamline and to update this 
rule, and to comply with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees): 
The Division does not expect any foreseeable impact on 
small businesses in the practice of substance use disorder 
counselor in the state of Utah.  The proposed amendments 
are to conform to the requirements of S.B. 208 (2023). 
 

The changes add provisions from the repeal of Rule R156-
60, update this rule to encompass current statutory 
requirements and practices in the profession. 
 
Further, the Division does not foresee any negative impact 
on small businesses since grammatical and formatting 
amendments are made to make this rule comport to the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Non-Small Businesses (50 or more employees): 
The Division finds that the non-small businesses in the 
substance use disorder counselor industry in the state of 
Utah will not suffer a negative fiscal impact from the 
proposed rule amendments. 
 
However, these amendments will have no expected fiscal 
impact for non-small businesses in Utah for the same 
rationale as described above for small businesses. 
 
Further, any of these costs are either inestimable, for the 
reasons stated above, or there is no fiscal impact. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 58-60-501 Subsection 

58-1-106(1)(a) 
Subsection 
58-1-202(1)(a) 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Deletes: NAADAC, the Association  
for Addiction Professionals NAADAC  
and NCC AP Code of Ethics 

Publisher Association for Addiction  
Professionals 

Issue Date October 9, 2016 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Adds: Code of Ethics of the NAADAC  
the Association for Addiction  
Professionals and the NCC AP 

Publisher Association for Addiction  
Professionals 

Issue Date January 1, 2021, edition 
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C) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Adds: Model Standards for Practice of 
Child Custody Evaluation 

Publisher Association of Family and  
Conciliation Courts (AFCC) 

Issue Date May 2006 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical 

address or URL): 
01/16/2024 9:00 AM See information in 

Box 4 above. 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel, 
Division Director 

Date: 11/27/2023 

 
R156.  Commerce, [Occupational and ]Professional Licensing. 
R156-60d.  Substance Use Disorder Counselor Act Rule. 
R156-60d-101.  Title - Authority - Organization and Relationship 
to Rule R156-1. 
 (1)  This rule is known as the "Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Act Rule." 
 (2)  This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority 
of Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer 
Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 5, Substance Use Disorder Counselor Act. 
 (3)  The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule 
R156-1 is as described in Section R156-1-107. 
 
R156-60d-102.  Definitions. 
 [In addition to the definitions regarding substance use 
disorder counseling practice in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 60, as used 
in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 60, the following rule definitions 
supplement the statutory definitions]Terms used in this rule are 
defined in Title 58, Chapter 1, Division of Professional Licensing 
Act, and Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 5, Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Act.  In addition: 
 (1)  "Accredited institution of higher education that meet 
division standards," as used in Subsections 58-60-506(2)(a)(i) and 

(5)(a)(i), means an educational institution that has accreditation [that 
is ]recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation 
(CHEA). 
 (2)  "ASAM" means the American Society of Addiction 
Medicine. 
 (3)  "ASUDC" means an advanced substance use disorder 
counselor. 
 (4)  "CASUDC" means a certified advanced substance use 
disorder counselor. 
 (5)  "CASUDCI" means a certified advanced substance use 
disorder counselor intern. 
 (6)  "CSUDC" means a certified substance use disorder 
counselor. 
 (7)  "CSUDCI" means a certified substance use disorder 
counselor intern. 
 (8)  "Client" or "patient" means an individual who, if 
competent, requests, or if not competent to request is lawfully 
provided professional services by a mental health therapist when the 
mental health therapist: 
 (a)  agrees verbally or in writing to provide professional 
services to that individual; or 
 (b)  without an overt agreement does in fact provide 
professional services to that individual. 
 ([3]9)  "DSM-[I]V or 5" is the approved diagnostic and 
statistical manual for mental disorders and means the 
following:[means the Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental Health 
Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association.] 
 (a)  Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fifth Edition: DSM-5-TR published by the American Psychiatric 
Association; 
 (b)  International Classification of Diseases, Tenth 
Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) for Physicians, 
Professional Edition published by the American Medical 
Association; or 
 (c)  International Classification of Diseases, Tenth 
Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM): The Complete 
Official Draft Code Set published by the American Medical 
Association. 
 (10)  "Human growth and development," as used in 
Subsection R156-60d-302a(1)(a), means a course at a college or 
university accredited by CHEA, that includes an emphasis on human 
growth and development across the lifespan, from conception to 
death. 
 ([4]11)  "IC&RC" means the International Certification and 
Reciprocity Consortium. 
 (12)  "Independent of control," as used in Subsection R156-
60d-302b(3)(e), means not being employed by the supervisee, or by 
an agency owned in total or in part by the supervisee, or that the 
supervisee has any controlling interest. 
 ([5]13)  "Initial assessment" means the procedure of 
gathering psycho-social information, including the application of the 
Addiction Severity Index, to recommend a level of treatment and to 
assist the mental health therapist supervisor in the information 
collection process, and may include a referral to an appropriate 
treatment program. 
 ([6]14)  "NAADAC" means the Association for Addiction 
Professionals. 
 (15)  "On-the-job training program," as used in Subsection 
58-1-307(1)(c) means a program that: 
 (a)  applies to individuals who have completed courses 
required for graduation in a degree or formal training program that 
would qualify for licensure under this chapter; 
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 (b)  starts immediately upon completion of courses required 
for graduation; 
 (c)  ends 45 days from the date it begins, or upon licensure, 
whichever is earlier, and may not be extended or used a second time; 
 (d)  the individual is an employee of a public or private 
mental health agency, in-patient or out-patient hospital, educational 
institution, or government agency, and is providing clinical mental 
health services; and 
 (e)  is supervised by a qualified individual licensed under 
this chapter, and includes supervision meetings on at least a weekly 
basis with the supervisee and supervisor physically present in the 
same room at the same time. 
 ([7]16)  "Prerequisite courses," as used in Subsections 58-
60-506(2)(a)(iii) and (5)(a)(iii), means courses completed before 
qualifying for licensure. 
 ([8]17)  "SASSI" means Substance Abuse Subtle Screening 
Inventory. 
 ([9]18)  "Screening," as used in Subsections 58-60-
502(9)(b) and (10)(b)(i), means a brief interview conducted in person 
or by [telephone]other electronic means used to determine [if there is 
a ]the potential of a substance abuse problem.  [If]When a potential 
problem is identified, the screening may include a referral for an 
initial assessment or a substance use disorder evaluation.  The 
screening may also include a preliminary ASAM Criteria 
recommendation [in order ]to expedite the subsequent assessment 
and evaluation process.  Screening instruments such as the SASSI 
may be included in the screening process. 
 ([11]19)  "Substance use disorder education program," as 
used in Subsections 58-60-506(2)(b) and (5)(b), means college or 
university coursework at an accredited institution. 
 ([10]20)  "Substance use disorder evaluation" means the 
process used to interpret information gathered from an initial 
assessment, other instruments as needed, and a face to face interview 
by a licensed mental health therapist [in order ]to determine if an 
individual meets the DSM-[I]V or 5 criteria for substance abuse or 
dependence and is in need of treatment.  If the need for treatment is 
determined, the substance use disorder evaluation process includes 
the determination of a DSM-[I]V or 5 diagnosis and the 
determination of an individualized treatment plan. 
 (21)  "SUDC" means a substance use disorder counselor. 
 (22)  "Supervised experience," as used in Subsections 58-
60-506(2)(c) and (5)(c), means experience gathered under the general 
supervision of a license holder meeting the requirements of Section 
58-60-508. 
 (23)  "Supervisor Verification form" means the form 
provided by the Division to document who is providing supervision 
to a supervised individual, which at a minimum includes: 
 (a)  name and license number of the individual; 
 (b)  name and license number of the supervisor; and 
 (c)  supervised individuals place of employment. 
 ([12]24)  "Unprofessional conduct", as defined in Title 58 
Chapter[s] 1, Division of Professional Licensing Act, and Title 58, 
Chapter 60, Mental Health Professional Practice Act, is further 
defined, in accordance with Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in Section 
R156-60d-502.[ 
 
R156-60d-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer Title 
58, Chapter 60, Part 5. 
 

R156-60d-104.  Organization - Relationship to Rule R156-1. 
 The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule 
R156-1 is as described in Section R156-1-107.] 
 
R156-60d-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure - Education 
Requirements. 
 (1)  [In accordance with]Under Subsections 58-60-
506(2)(a)(iii) and (5)(a)(iii), [two ]prerequisite courses [shall be 
completed at an accredited institution and ]shall cover the following 
subjects: 
 (a)  human growth development, completed at an 
accredited institution[ across the lifespan];[ and] 
 (b)  general psychology, completed at an accredited 
institution; and 
 (c)  a two hour suicide prevention course as described in 
Section R156-60d-302d. 
 (2)  [In accordance with ]Under Subsection 58-60-
506(5)(a)(ii), completion of the equivalent of an associate's degree 
includes not less than 90 quarter or 60 semester credit hours of course 
work from accredited institutions of higher education that have 
accreditation recognized by [the Council for Higher Education 
Accreditation (]CHEA[)]. 
 
R156-60d-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Supervised 
Experience Requirements. 
 (1)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-60-
506(2)(c), the 4,000 hours of supervised experience [in substance use 
disorder treatment required to qualify an applicant for the]for an 
advanced substance use disorder counselor license shall [consist of 
providing substance use disorder counseling services as defined 
in]meet the requirements of Subsection 58-60-502(9). 
 (2)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-60-
506(5)(c), the 2,000 hours of supervised experience [in substance use 
disorder treatment required to qualify an applicant for the]for a 
substance use disorder counselor license shall [consist of providing 
substance use disorder counseling services as defined in]meet the 
requirements of Subsection 58-60-502(10). 
 (3)  [In accordance with]Under Subsections 58-60-
506(2)(c)(i) and 58-60-506(5)(c)(i), supervised experience shall be 
[completed]obtained: 
 (a)  under direct supervision as defined in 
[Section]Subsection 58-60-502(3);[ and R156-60-102(4), by a 
supervisor who meets the requirements of Section 58-60-508 and 
Section R156-60-302; and 
 (b)  in accordance with Section R156-60-302, which 
requires a written supervision contract and establishes certain duties 
and responsibilities for the supervisor and supervisee.] 
 (b)  while the applicant is a W-2 employee providing 
substance use disorder treatment at one of the following facilities: 
 (i)  mental health agency; 
 (ii)  in-patient or out-patient hospital; 
 (iii)  educational institution; 
 (iv)  non-profit organization; or 
 (v)  government agency; 
 (c)  in accordance with the supervised training 
requirements of Section R156-60d-302b; 
 (d)  under a supervisor who meets the requirements of 
Section 58-60-508 and Section R156-60d-302b; 
 (e)  while maintaining a supervisor-supervisee relationship 
in which the supervisor is independent of control by the supervised 
individual, and that the ability of the supervisor to supervise and 
direct the practice of that individual is not compromised; and 
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 (f)  in not less than 2,000 hours per 12 month period. 
 (4)  Notwithstanding Subsection (3)(b), an individual may 
qualify for licensure when: 
 (a)  exempt under Subsection 58-1-307(1)(b); or 
 (b)  they completed training in another jurisdiction while: 
 (i)  licensed as the equivalent of a SUDC; or 
 (ii)  engaged in the practice of providing substance use 
disorder treatment while not required to be license. 
 (5)  The exemption in Subsection 58-1-307(1)(b) does not 
permit an applicant to engage in the required hours of substance use 
disorder treatment training without first becoming licensed as a 
SUDC. 
 
R156-60d-302c.  Qualifications for Licensure - Examination 
Requirements. 
 [In accordance with]Under Subsections 58-60-506(1)([e]d) 
and 58-60-115(5)(b), the following examinations [required is]will 
meet this requirement: 
 (1)  for [licensure as a ]certified advanced substance use 
disorder counselor [and an]or advanced substance use disorder 
counselor: 
 (a)  [the written NAADAC National Certification Exam 
Level II or MAC with a minimum criterion score set by NAADAC; 
or]National Certified Addiction Counselor, Level II (NCACII) 
administered by the National Certification Commissions for 
Addiction Professionals (NCC AP); 
 (b)  Master Addiction Counselor (MAC) administered by 
the NCC AP; or 
 ([b]c)  [the written ICRC ]Advanced Alcohol and Drug 
Counselor (AADC) [Examination with a minimum criterion score as 
set]administered by the IC&RC.[ by ICRC; and] 
 (2)  for [licensure as ]a certified substance use disorder 
counselor or substance use disorder counselor: 
 (a)  [the written NAADAC National Certification Exam 
Levels I, II or MAC with a minimum criterion score set by 
NAADAC; or]National Certified Addiction Counselor, Level 
I(NCACI) administered by the NCC AP; 
 (b)  National Certified Addiction Counselor, Level 
II(NCACII) administered by the NCC AP; 
 (c)  Master Addiction Counselor (MAC) administered by 
the NCC AP; 
 ([b]d)  [the written ICRC ]Alcohol and Drug Counselor 
(ADC) administered by the International Certification & Reciprocity 
Consortium (IC&RC); or 
 (e)  Advanced Alcohol and Drug Counselor (AADC) 
[Examination with a minimum criterion score as set by 
ICRC]administered by the IC&RC. 
 
R156-60d-302d.  Qualifications for Licensure - Suicide 
Prevention Course. 
 (1)  Under Subsections 58-60-506(2)(a)(iii) and (5)(a)(iii), 
the two hour suicide prevention course required to obtain substance 
use disorder counselor or advanced substance use disorder counselor 
licensure shall be: 
 (a)  approved, sponsored, or conducted by one of the 
following: 
 (i)  accredited college or university; 
 (ii)  county, state, or federal agency; 
 (iii)  professional association, or similar body, involved in 
clinical mental health therapy or substance use disorder treatment; or 
 (iv)  mental health agency that provides clinical mental 
health services or substance use disorder treatment; 

 (b)  relevant to mental health, substance use, and suicide 
prevention, consistent with the laws of this state, and include one or 
more of the following components: 
 (i)  suicide concepts and facts; 
 (ii)  suicide risk assessment, crisis intervention, and first 
aid; 
 (iii)  evidence-based intervention for suicide risk; 
 (iv)  continuity of care and follow-up services for suicide 
risk; and 
 (v)  therapeutic alliances for intervention in suicide risk; 
 (c)  completed in not less than 50-minute blocks of time in 
one of the following formats: 
 (i)  classroom lecture and discussion; 
 (ii)  workshops; 
 (iii)  synchronous webinars; 
 (iv)  asynchronous online self-pace modules; 
 (v)  case study reviews; or 
 (vi)  simulations; and 
 (d)  completed within two years of application. 
 (2)  The course provider shall provide certification of: 
 (a)  course attendance; 
 (b)  hours completed; 
 (c)  name of provider; and 
 (d)  date of completion. 
 (3)  An applicant for licensure shall submit certification of 
course completion, within the preceding two years, to the Division as 
a prerequisite for licensure. 
 
R156-60d-303.  Renewal and Reinstatement of License.[Cycle - 
Procedures.] 
 (1)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-308(1), the 
renewal date for the two-year renewal cycle applicable to 
[licensees]all licenses under Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 5, Substance 
Use Disorder Counselor Act, is established [by rule ]in S[ubs]ection 
R156-1-308a[(1)]. 
 (2)  Advanced substance use disorder counselor and 
substance use disorder counselor renewal[Renewal] and 
reinstatement procedures shall be in accordance with Sections R156-
1-308[c]a through R156-1-308l, except as provided in Subsection 
(3). 
 (3)  Under Subsection 58-1-308(6)(a) and Section R156-1-
308g, an applicant for reinstatement of licensure as a substance use 
disorder counselor or an advanced substance use disorder counselor 
whose license has expired over five years, shall upon request: 
 (a)  meet with the Board to evaluate the applicant's ability 
to safely and competently practice substance use disorder treatment; 
and 
 (b)  if recommended by the Board, complete one or more 
of the following: 
 (i)  establish a plan of supervision under an approved 
supervisor, which may include up to 2,000 hours of substance use 
disorder treatment training as an SUDC before qualifying for 
reinstatement of the ASUDC license; 
 (ii)  retake and pass an examination required in Section 
R156-60d-302c; or 
 (iii)  complete up to 40 hours of continuing education in 
subjects determined by the Board. 
 
R156-60d-304.  Continuing Education. 
 [In accordance with](1)  Under Section 58-60-105, the 
continuing [professional ]education (CE) requirements for each two-
year renewal cycle beginning October 1 of each even-numbered year, 
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for an individual[ substance use disorder counselor] licensed under 
Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 5[ are established in Section R156-60-
105.], Substance Use Disorder Counselor Licensing Act, shall: 
 (a)  be completed by an individual as follows: 
 (i)  20 hours for CSUDC; 
 (ii)  40 hours for SUDC; 
 (iii)  20 hours for CASUDC; or 
 (iv)  40 hours for ASUDC; 
 (b)  include: 
 (i)  six hours in ethics of substance use disorder treatment, 
law, or technology; and 
 (ii)  two hours in suicide prevention, this course shall meet 
the requirements of Section R156-60d-302d. 
 (2)  An individual who completes more than the required 
number of CE hours during a two-year renewal cycle may carry over 
excess hours to the next two-year renewal cycle, as follows: 
 (a)  five hours for a CSUDC or CASUDC; or 
 (b)  ten hours for a SUDC or ASUDC. 
 (3)  CE shall be: 
 (a)  approved, conducted, or under the sponsorship of one 
of the following: 
 (i)  accredited college or university; 
 (ii)  county, state, or federal agency; 
 (iii)  professional association, or similar body, involved in 
clinical mental health therapy or substance use disorder treatment; or 
 (iv)  mental health agency that provides clinical mental 
health services or substance use disorder treatment; 
 (b)  completed in not less than 50-minute blocks of time in 
one of the following formats: 
 (i)  college or university lecture and discussion up to a 
maximum of: 
 (A)  three CE hours per semester hour; or 
 (B)  1.5 CE hours per quarter hour; 
 (ii)  conference; 
 (iii)  lecture or instruction up to a maximum of two times 
per course, up to a maximum of: 
 (A)  five hours for a CSUDC or CASUDC; or 
 (B)  ten hours for a SUDC or ASUDC; 
 (iv)  seminar; 
 (v)  training session; 
 (vi)  synchronous distance learning course that is clearly 
documented as real-time and interactive; 
 (vii)  asynchronous distance learning course that is not real-
time and interactive, up to a maximum of: 
 (A)  eight hours for a CSUDC or CASUDC; or 
 (B)  15 hours for a SUDC or ASUDC; 
 (viii)  specialty certification; 
 (ix)  direct supervision of a CSUDC or CASUDC 
completing the experience requirements for licensure, up to a 
maximum of ten hours for a SUDC or ASUDC; or 
 (x)  volunteer service on a board, committee, or in a 
leadership role in any state, national, or international organization for 
the development and improvement of the licensee's profession; one 
CE hour may be counted as a regular credit, ethics, law, or technology 
credit, up to a maximum of six CE hours during each two-year period; 
 (c)  prepared and presented by individuals who are 
qualified by education, training, and experience to provide CE; 
 (d)  relevant to the licensee's scope of practice; and 
 (e)  verified by a certificate of course completion that shall 
include: 
 (i)  name of the attendee; 
 (ii)  name of course provider; 

 (iii)  name of instructor; 
 (iv)  date of the course; 
 (v)  title of the course; 
 (vi)  number of CE hours; 
 (vii)  course objectives; and 
 (viii)  type of CE, for example, seminar, real-time 
interactive, distance learning, teaching. 
 (4)  An individual shall maintain adequate documentation 
as proof of compliance with this section for a period of two years 
after the end of the renewal cycle for which the CE is due. 
 (5)  An individual may not carry forward any CE hours 
received before a granted license, including professional upgrades. 
 (6)  CE hours shall be decreased proportionately according 
to the date of licensure within the two-year renewal cycle. 
 (7)  The Division may defer or waive CE requirements in 
accordance with Section R156-1-308d.[ 
 
R156-60d-307.  License Reinstatement - Requirements. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(5) and subject to 
Section R156-1-308g, an applicant for reinstatement of a license 
more than two years after the date the license expired shall: 
 (1)  meet with the Board upon request for the purpose of 
evaluating the applicant's current ability to engage safely and 
competently in practice as a substance use disorder counselor and to 
make a determination of any additional education, experience or 
examination requirements that will be required before reinstatement; 
 (2)  pass the examination required in Section R156-60d-
302c if it is determined necessary by the Board to demonstrate the 
applicant's ability to engage safely and competently in practice as a 
substance use disorder counselor; and 
 (3)  complete at least 40 hours of continuing education in 
subjects determined by the Board as necessary to ensure the 
applicant's ability to engage safely and competently in practice as a 
substance use disorder counselor.] 
 
R156-60d-502.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
[ "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  violating of any provision of the NAADAC, the 
Association for Addiction Professionals (October 9, 2016) 
NAADAC and NCC AP Code of Ethics, which is hereby 
incorporated by reference; 
 (2)  violating any provision applicable to a supervisor under 
Section 58-60-508 or Section R156-60-302; 
 (3)  violating any provision applicable to a supervisee under 
Section R156-60-302; or 
 (4)  directing one's mental health therapist supervisor to 
engage in a practice that would violate any statute, rule, or generally 
accepted professional or ethical standard of the supervisor's 
profession.] 
 Under Subsection 58-60-110(2), "unprofessional conduct" 
includes: 
 (1)  using the abbreviated title of: 
 (a)  ASUDC unless licensed as an advanced substance use 
disorder counselor; 
 (b)  CASUDC unless licensed as a certified advanced 
substance use disorder counselor; 
 (c)  CASUDC unless licensed as a certified advanced 
substance use disorder counselor intern; 
 (d)  CSUDCI unless licensed as a certified substance use 
disorder counselor intern; 
 (e)  CSUDC unless licensed as a substance use disorder 
counselor; 
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 (f)  SUDC unless licensed as a substance use disorder 
counselor; 
 (2)  acting as a supervisor or accepting supervision from a 
supervisor without complying with or ensuring compliance with 
Subsection 58-60-502(10) and Section R156-60d-302b; 
 (3)  directing one's supervisor to engage in a practice that 
would violate any statute, rule, or generally accepted professional or 
ethical standard of the supervisor's profession; 
 (4)  engaging in the supervised practice of substance use 
disorder treatment: 
 (a)  as a licensed CASUDC or CSUDC unless: 
 (i)  the licensee has completed a substance use disorder 
education program from an accredited college or university; and 
 (ii)  the scope of practice is within the licensee's 
competency, abilities, and education; 
 (b)  while not in compliance with Section R156-60d-302b; 
 (5)  engaging in or aiding or abetting: 
 (a)  conduct or practices that are dishonest, deceptive, or 
fraudulent; 
 (b)  deceptive or fraudulent billing practices; 
 (c)  sexual harassment or any conduct that is exploitive or 
abusive with respect to a student, trainee, employee, or colleague 
with whom the licensee has supervisory or management 
responsibility; or 
 (d)  physical contact with a client when there is a risk of 
exploitation or potential harm to the client resulting from the contact; 
 (6)  engaging in dual or multiple relationships with a client 
or former client when there is a risk of or potential harm to the client; 
 (7)  engaging in sexual activities or sexual contact with a 
client, former client, or another individual with whom the client 
maintains a close personal relationship with or without the client's 
consent; 
 (8)  exploiting for personal gain a: 
 (a)  client; 
 (b)  former client; or 
 (c)  person who has a personal relationship with a client; 
 (9)  failing to: 
 (a)  establish and maintain professional boundaries with a 
client or former client; 
 (b)  exercise professional discretion and impartial judgment 
required for the performance of professional activities, duties, and 
functions; 
 (c)  provide impartial, objective, and informed services, 
recommendations, or opinions with respect to: 
 (i)  custodial or parental rights; 
 (ii)  divorce; 
 (iii)  domestic relationships; 
 (iv)  adoptions; 
 (v)  sanity; 
 (vi)  competency; 
 (vii)  mental health; or 
 (viii)  other determination concerning an individual's civil 
or legal rights; 
 (d)  maintain client records including records of 
assessment, treatment, progress notes, and billing information for a 
period of not less than ten years from the documented termination of 
services to the client; 
 (e)  provide client records in a reasonable time upon written 
request of the client, or the client's legal guardian; 
 (f)  obtain informed consent from the client or the client's 
legal guardian before taping, recording, or permitting third-party 
observations of client activities or records; 

 (g)  protect the confidences of persons named or identified 
in the client records; 
 (h)  abide by the Code of Ethics of the NAADAC, the 
Association for Addiction Professionals and the NCC AP, January 1, 
2021 edition, which is incorporated by reference; 
 (i)  follow the Model Standards of Practice for Child 
Custody Evaluation of the Association of Family and Conciliation 
Courts (AFCC) May 2006, which is incorporated by reference; 
 (j)  cooperate with the Division during an investigation; 
 (10)  if providing services remotely, failing to: 
 (a)  practice according to professional standards of care in 
the delivery of services; 
 (b)  protect the security of electronic confidential data and 
information; or 
 (c)  appropriately store and dispose of electronic 
confidential data and information; and 
 (11)  violating Section R156-60d-302b regarding 
supervised experience. 
 
KEY:  licensing, substance use disorder counselors 
Date of Last Change:  [November 10, 2020]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  July 14, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-60-501; 
58-1-106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R356-6 Filing ID:  
56220 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State 

Commission on) 
Room number: E330 
Building: Senate Building (at State Capitol) 
Street address: 350 N State Street 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angelo Perillo 801-

538-
1047 

aperillo@utah.gov 

Ken Matthews 801-
538-
1058 

kmatthews@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R356-6.  Electronic Meetings 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of these amendments is to ensure that all of 
the public bodies created under the Commission on 
Criminal and Juvenile Justice are subject to the same 
requirements for conducting an electronic meeting. 
 
Currently, this rule only applies to those public bodies 
created in Title 63M, Chapter 7.  These changes would 
also make this rule applicable to the public bodies created 
in Section 36-29-111, Section 64-13e-105, Section 77-37-
5, Section 78A-10a-302, Section 78A-10a-402, and 
Section 78B-22-401. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed changes to this rule add definitions in 
conformity with those found in Rule R356-7, including the 
definition of a designee and a representative. 
 
It also adds a definition of what it means to appear 
"electronically".  These definitions are then applied 
consistently throughout this rule which has resulted in 
minor changes.  However, the substantive provisions of 
this rule have not changed. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This program will create no cost burden or savings for the 
state budget.  The new language will not change the way 
electronic meetings are being conducted today.  It will not 
add any additional time or tasks that could lead to new 
costs. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This program will create no cost burden or savings for local 
governments.  The new language will not change the way 
electronic meetings are being conducted today.  It will not 
add any additional time or tasks that could lead to new 
costs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This program will create no cost burden or savings for 
small businesses.  The new language will not change the 
way electronic meetings are being conducted today.  It will 
not add any additional time or tasks that could lead to new 
costs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This program will create no cost burden or savings for non-
small businesses.  The new language will not change the 
way electronic meetings are being conducted today.  It will 
not add any additional time or tasks that could lead to new 
costs. 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This program will create no cost burden or savings for 
other persons.  The new language will not change the way 
electronic meetings are being conducted today.  It will not 
add any additional time or tasks that could lead to new 
costs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There should be no costs or saving for any affected 
persons as a result of this rule.  The new language will not 
change the way electronic meetings are being conducted 
today.  It will not add any additional time or tasks that could 
lead to new costs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the State Commission on 
Criminal and Juvenile Justice, Tom Ross, has reviewed 
and approved this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 52-4-202   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tom Ross,  
Executive Director 

Date: 11/28/2023 

 
R356.  Governor, Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State 
Commission on). 
R356-6.  Electronic Meetings. 
R356-6-1.  Authority. 
 [(1)  ]This rule is authorized by Section 52-4-207 which 
requires [any ]a public body [that convenes or conducts]which holds 
an electronic meeting to [establish written rules or procedures for 
such meetings]adopt a resolution, rule, or ordinance governing the 
use of electronic meetings. 
[ (2)  This rule is also authorized by the Utah Administrative 
Rulemaking Act at Section 63G-3-201 which requires an agency to 
make rules when agency action: 
 (a)  authorizes, requires, or prohibits an action; 
 (b)  provides or prohibits a material benefit; 
 (c)  applies to a class of persons or another agency; and 
 (d)  is explicitly or implicitly authorized by statute.] 
 
R356-6-2.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures for 
conducting an electronic meeting of any public body [created 
]established in[ Title 63M, Chapter 7, Criminal Justice and Substance 
Abuse]: 
 (1)  Section 36-29-111; 

 (2)  Title 63M, Chapter 7, Criminal Justice and Substance 
Abuse; 
 (3)  Section 64-13e-105; 
 (4)  Section 77-37-5; 
 (5)  Section 78A-10a-302; 
 (6)  Section 78A-10a-402; and 
 (7)  Section 78B-22-401. 
 
R356-6-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are found in Section 52-4-103. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "commission" means the Commission on Criminal and 
Juvenile Justice, established in Section 63M-7-201; 
 (b)  "designee" means an individual appointed by a member 
to represent the member when the member cannot appear at meetings 
of a public body; 
 (c)  "electronically" means to attend a meeting through the 
use of: 
 (i)  an online medium that allows for audio and video 
interactions; or 
 (ii)  a telecommunications medium that allows for audio 
interactions; and 
 (d)  "representative" means an individual appointed by an 
entity to represent that entity on a public body. 
 
[R356-6-3]R356-6-4.  Procedures. 
 (1)  A public body described in this rule may hold an open 
and public meeting where [members of the public body or the general 
public are allowed to]individuals may participate electronically[ or 
telephonically]. 
 (2)  When an electronic meeting is scheduled, the public 
notice required by Section 52-4-202 shall describe: 
 (a)  [the electronic or telephonic method by which members 
of the public body or the general public]how individuals may 
participate electronically; and 
 (b)  the anchor location where [members of the public body 
or the general public]individuals may attend, monitor, and participate 
in the open portions of the meeting. 
 (3)[(a)  The anchor location is the physical location from 
which the electronic meeting originates or from which the 
participants are connected. 
 (b)  ]The anchor location shall have sufficient space and 
facilities so [that interested persons and the public]anyone may 
attend, monitor, and participate in the open portions of the meeting. 
 (4)  At the commencement of the meeting the chair shall 
identify [for]on the record [those]the members, designees, and 
representatives who are appearing [telephonically or ]electronically. 
 (5)  A member, designee, or representative who appears 
electronically [or telephonically ]shall be counted as present for 
purposes of determining a quorum. 
 (6)(a)  A member, designee, or representative who appears 
electronically [or telephonically ]may fully participate and vote on 
any matter before the public body. 
 (b)  Votes by members, designees, or representatives who 
are appearing electronically [or telephonically ]shall be confirmed by 
the chair. 
 
KEY:  electronic meetings, procedures 
Date of Last Change:  2024[March 24, 2023] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  52-4-207 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R357-3 Filing ID:  
56228 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Room number: Suite 300 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R357-3.  Economic Development Tax Increment Financing 
Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule filing is to establish policies to 
implement Executive Order No. 2023-09, Requiring 
Service Hours for Economic Development Incentives and 
makes technical changes. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule filing: 
1)  defines corporate citizenry plan; 
2)  establishes if a company has had a prior agreement 
with the office, execution of a company's corporate 
citizenry plan may be evaluated; and 
3)  establishes failure to execute a corporate citizenry plan 
does not prohibit a company from receiving an incentive. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget, 
as this rule is codifying policies to implement Executive 
Order No. 2023-09. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures.  This rule 
change is codifying policies to implement Executive Order 
No. 2023-09. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on small 
businesses.  This rule is procedural in nature and 
participation in the program is optional. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule changes do not have a fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses, nor will a service be required of 
them to implement the amendments. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local 
government entities because this proposed rule does not 
create new obligations for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities, nor 
does it increase the costs associated with any existing 
obligation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  The 
changes simply add clarification to requirements and 
policy with no fiscal impact on other entities. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Governor's Office of 
Economic Opportunity, Ryan Starks, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 63N-2-110   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Ryan Starks,  
Executive Director  

Date: 11/30/2023 

 

R357.  Governor, Economic Opportunity. 
R357-3.  Economic Development Tax Increment Financing Rule. 
R357-3-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Economic Development Tax 
Increment Financing Rule." 
 
R357-3-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Sections 63N-1a-102 and 
63N-2-103 the following terms are defined: 
 (1)  "Apportionment" means a reduction in new state 
revenues in the period being assessed by the percentage of project 
employee wages against total employee wages. 
 (2)  "Corporate citizenry plan" includes: 
 (a)  applicants plan on how they will be involved with local 
communities through beneficial acts of charity, which may include: 
direct service, social entrepreneurship and responsibility, 
community-engaged learning and research, philanthropy, community 
organizing and activism or other supportive policies and initiatives 
which provide a positive environment of wellbeing, growth and 
learning; and 
 (b)  a commitment to attain at least 20 service hours per 
high paying job, per year during the incentive, within the state. 
 ([2]3)  "High paying job" includes adjusted wage 
percentages in counties experiencing economic distress as outlined in 
Section R357-3-108. 
 ([3]4)  "Leisure and Hospitality Industry" means 
businesses, as determined by the office, that relate to service-
providing industries consisting of: 
 (a)  arts, entertainment, and recreation under NAICS code 
71; 
 (b)  accommodation and food services under NAICS code 
72; and 
 (c)  resort, resort building, or resort boundary as defined in 
Section 32B-8-102. 
 ([4]5)  "New commercial project" does not include retail 
operations. 
 ([5]6)  "Retail operations" means a project with a physical 
location from which the general public may directly purchase 
merchandise or direct services and does not include distribution 
centers, the corporate functions associated with retailing, or other 
activities associated with retailing that may be accomplished from 
any physical location or that are not dependent on proximity to end 
consumers for retail sales. 
 
R357-3-103.  Authority. 
 [This rule is adopted by the office]The office adopts this 
rule under the authority of Subsection 63N-2-104(2). 
 
R357-3-104.  Application Content. 
 (1)  To determine a company's eligibility for an Economic 
Development Tax Increment Financing Incentive the company shall 
submit: 
 (a)  financial documents for the prior three years including: 
 (i)  balance sheets; 
 (ii)  income statements; and 
 (iii)  cash flow statements; or 
 (b)  other documentation demonstrating that the company 
has the ability to finance the project; 
 (c)  corporate structure; 
 (d)  workforce data; 
 (e)  corporate citizenry plan; 
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 (f)  plan to hire Utah employees; 
 (g)  forecasted new state revenue associated with the new 
commercial project; 
 (h)  forecasted incremental job creation associated with the 
new commercial project; and 
 (i)  forecasted wages associated with the new commercial 
project. 
 (2)  To determine a company's eligibility for an Economic 
Development Tax Increment Financing Incentive the office may 
review the company's: 
 (a)  incentive offers from other states; 
 (b)  remote work options for the project; 
 (c)  market analysis; 
 (d)  proof of fundraising; 
 (e)  tax filings; 
 (f)  reshoring plans; and 
 (g)  other information as determined by GO Utah. 
 (2)  GO Utah may deny an application for any reason. 
 (3)  Information provided by the business entity is subject 
to the Government Records Access and Management Act.  The 
business entity has the option to designate [what]whether the 
information provided is private or protected subject to Sections 63G-
2-302 and 63G-2-305. 
 
R357-3-105.  Factors to Be Considered in Authorizing an 
Economic Development Tax Credit Award. 
 (1)  The amount and duration of a tax credit award shall be 
determined on a case-by-case basis.  The factors that the office may 
[be ]consider[ed] include: 
 (a)  whether the company is projecting positive long-term 
growth; 
 (b)  whether the company is part of a targeted industry; 
 (c)  the overall benefit to the state from the new commercial 
project; 
 (d)  the uniqueness of the economic opportunity; 
 (e)  the economic environment at the time of the new 
commercial project or company applies including; 
 (i)  the job leakage to other counties; 
 (ii)  the relative value of a job; and 
 (iii)  the underemployment rate; 
 (f)  the location of the new commercial project; 
 (g)  the quality of financing the company has received; 
 (h)  comparison to previously incented projects in size, 
scope, and industry;[ and] 
 (i)  service hours completed per high paying job under a 
prior agreement with the office; and 
 ([i]j)  other factors as reasonably determined by the 
administrator. 
 (2)  The factors for an award higher than 30% of new state 
revenues for a project located in a county of the third-class, or a 
municipality with a population of 10,000 or less located within a 
county of the second class and that is experiencing economic 
hardship are: 
 (a)  factors in Subsection R357-3-105(1); 
 (b)  evidence of significant financial support of the local 
community for the project; 
 (c)(i)  capital expenditures of at least $500,000,000 for the 
new commercial project; 
 (ii)  the new capital project is in targeted industry as defined 
by the office; or 
 (iii)  local taxing entities are offering a tax increment 
agreement of at least 75% and 25 years of property tax rebates; 

 (d)(i)  the new capital project creates at least 2,000 new 
high-wage jobs; and 
 (ii)  the new capital project is in targeted industry as defined 
by the office; 
 (iii)  the average wages for the new high paying jobs are at 
least 300% of the average county wage; or 
 (iv)  local taxing entities are offering a tax increment deal 
over 75% and 25 years for property tax rebates; 
 (3)  A new commercial project within the leisure and 
hospitality industry sector, located in a county of the fifth or sixth 
class may receive an award up to 50% of new state revenues over 20 
years if the project: 
 (a)  has capital expenditure of at least $10,000,000; 
 (b)  creates a significant number of new high paying jobs; 
 (c)  is of strategic importance to the state, county and city; 
 (d)  is adjacent to a unique, high visitation tourist area; and 
 (e)  location would otherwise be underserved in leisure and 
hospitality without being provided an incentive. 
 (4)  If [a project has not been approved by the GO Utah 
Board]the Board has not approved a project within six months of 
submission the company must submit an updated application. 
 (5)  The Executive Director after consultation with the GO 
Utah Board may: 
 (a)  approve or deny an application; and 
 (b)  determine terms and conditions of an approved 
application. 
 
R357-3-106.  Economic Development Tax Credit Process. 
 (1)  Annual tax credits shall be based on [actual 
]incremental taxes paid by the business entity or withheld on behalf 
of employees of a new commercial project. 
 (2)(a)  GO Utah shall propose a tax credit structure based 
on the factors set forth in this rule in a combination GO Utah deems 
the most effective and beneficial in weighing the benefits of the 
[S]state, local community, and company. 
 ([a]b)  GO Utah shall propose the tax credit terms and 
structure to the Board before making a final offer to the business 
entity. 
 (3)  If the Executive Director approves an Economic 
Development Tax Credit, GO Utah shall provide a tax credit offer 
letter to a business entity that includes: 
 (a)  the proposed terms of the Economic Development Tax 
Credit, including the maximum amount of aggregate annual tax 
credits and the time period over which the tax credits may be claimed; 
 (b)  a statement that the company must demonstrate 
sufficient growth and supply; and 
 (c)  documentation that will be required each incentive year 
to claim a tax credit for the following tax year. 
 (4)  If the applicant intends to accept the incentive offer, it 
shall counter-execute the tax credit offer letter. 
 (5)  If the Executive Director denies an application for an 
Economic Development Tax Credit, GO Utah shall provide a letter to 
the business entity that includes: 
 (a)  notice of the application denial; 
 (b)  reason for denial; and 
 (c)  notice that if the business entity makes changes to the 
proposed new commercial project, they may reapply for a tax 
credit[the business entity can reapply for a tax credit if changes to the 
proposed new commercial project are made]. 
 (6)  GO Utah [will]shall establish a baseline with the 
company that consists of the count of full-time employees and state 
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revenue reflective of presence in the state before the Board approval 
date.  A [B]baseline must be established before awarding a tax credit. 
 (7)  A company with an active contract, who desires a tax 
credit, must provide an annual report for the incentive year in the 
format and method as directed by GO Utah, with a level of accuracy 
comparable with information GO Utah obtains from the Department 
of Workforce Services and the Tax Commission, that at a minimum 
must contain: 
 (a)  a list of individuals in Utah that received compensation 
at the company or project with their position, start date, termination 
date, hours paid, wages paid, benefits paid and employer withholding 
taxes paid or an aggregate list that provides qualification and 
legislative reporting required for Section 63N-2-106, as determined 
GO Utah[.]; 
 (b)  the requested amount of tax revenue to be rebated from 
withholding, sales and use, vendor paid sales tax and income tax 
verified as paid, remitted and receipted to the state[.]; and 
 (c)  a current authorization to disclose from the Utah State 
Tax Commission from the baseline period to three years after the end 
date of the contract. 
 (8)  The office may cause an apportionment for the 
following reasons: 
 (a)  a business entity's project scope is to create or develop 
a new good or service that is co-located within a current location that 
is not transparent with other operations, employees and revenue, 
which would not be included in the calculation of new state revenue; 
 (b)  a business entity has a material amount of employees 
operating the company's retail business; or 
 (c)  a company adjusts operations that create operations 
outside the scope of the agreement or boundaries of the economic 
development zone. 
 (9)  The office may consider sales and use tax paid for 
capital asset purchases of a business entity within the scope of the 
agreement up to 50% of the total amount of state tax. 
 (10)  A company who hires employees for the new 
commercial project through a professional employment organization 
shall require the professional employment organization to provide the 
office an employee report under attestation. 
 (11)  The projected employment and salary growth from the 
latest annual report period may be carried forward to additional 
periods when the Fiscal Impact Questionnaire omits this information. 
 (12)  A company who does not attain the 20 service hours 
per high paying job per year may be awarded a tax credit if other 
statutory or contracted terms are met to the satisfaction of the office. 
 
R357-3-107.  Modification of Agreement. 
 (1)  GOEO[o Utah] may change, or a business entity may 
request to change, the terms of a tax credit offer or contract as set 
forth in this section[:]. 
 ([a]2)  [Substantive Modifications:  u]Under extraordinary 
circumstances, a business entity may request substantive 
modifications to [change ]the terms of the tax credit agreement if: 
 ([i]a)  there is a substantial change to new commercial 
project plan; and 
 ([ii]b)  changing the terms of the tax credit would benefit 
the state. 
 ([b]3)  [Nonsubstantive Modifications: ]GOEO[o Utah] 
and the business entity may make nonsubstantive modifications to 
the tax credit contract to: 
 ([i]a)  correct clerical errors made in the initial application, 
the offer, the contract, or the tax credit; 

 ([ii]b)  make technical changes that do not alter the tax 
incentive amount or violate any state or federal law; or 
 ([iii]c)  adjust the timeline: 
 ([A]i)  less than 24 months; or 
 ([B]ii)  up to 48 months for unforeseen circumstances, as 
determined by the office. 
 ([2]4)  Substantive modifications require Board 
consultation before the Executive Director's approval or denial. 
 ([3]5)  [Requests and modifications shall be documented 
and maintained by ]GOEO[o Utah] shall document and maintain 
requests and modifications. 
 ([4]5)  When a business entity acquires another company 
with employees in Utah or if another Utah company acquires a 
business entity and the office can distinguish between both entities' 
employees and separate how much new state revenue is generated 
from the acquiree and acquirer, no changes to the baseline employees 
or new state revenues will be made. 
 ([5]7)  When a business entity acquires another company 
with employees in Utah or if another Utah company acquires a 
business entity and the office cannot separate the acquiree's and 
acquirer's employees or new state revenue the office shall: 
 (a)  increase the baseline to the lesser of the acquiree's 
number of full-time positions as determined by the office: 
 (i)  on the [Go Utah ]Board approval date; or 
 (ii)  at the time of acquisition; and 
 (b)  increase baseline state revenue to the same time period 
as chosen for baseline jobs. 
 ([6]8)  A company may request to exclude the 2020 EDTIF 
period.  If a request is granted the contract must be amended that: 
 (a)  establishes a one-year gap where no incentive is 
awarded; 
 (b)  delays annual job projections by one year moving 
forward[,]; and 
 (c)  extends the contract by one year. 
 ([7]9)  The office may deny a request to exclude the 2020 
EDTIF period for any reason. 
 
R357-3-108.  High Paying Jobs and Economic Distress. 
 [(1)  ]To establish that a county is experiencing economic 
distress a business entity or county shall submit to the office: 
 ([a]1)  evidence that the county's unemployment rate was 
at least 5% for the six consecutive months before the application date; 
 ([b]2)  evidence that the county experienced year over year 
economic decline; and 
 ([c]3)  other evidence as requested by the office. 
 
KEY:  economic development, jobs, tax credit 
Date of Last Change:  2024[February 3, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 30, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63N-2-110 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R452-100 Filing ID:  
56237 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Cultural and Community Engagement 
Agency: Arts and Museums, Museum Services 
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Street address: 3760 S Highland Drive 
City, state and 
zip: 

Millcreek, UT 84106 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristin Mead 218-

393-
2995 

kristinmead@utah.gov 

Sophia Riggs 801-
874-
7205 

sophiariggs@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R452-100.  Certified Local Museum Designation 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This filing is being submitted for the purpose of repealing 
this rule as the practice of certifying local museums is no 
longer part of statute and has been discontinued.  
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
In October 2020, the Utah Division of Arts and Museums 
reviewed all rules associated with the agency with the 
Attorney General's Office.  Regarding Rule R452-100, 
Certified Local Museum Designation, it was recommended 
that as this item was removed from statute that the Division 
of Arts and Museums, Museum Services (Division) allow 
the rule to expire. 
 
It was removed from statute because it was deemed 
unnecessary to the museum field. 
 
Normally certifications are overseen by member 
associations not by state agencies.  Thus, the Division 
suggested removing the requirement from state statute, 
which was approved by the Utah Legislature in 2020.  
Since that time, the agency has discontinued the practice 
of museum certification, thus this rule is no longer 
necessary. 
 
Therefore, this rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  A corresponding five-year review 
extension for Rule R452-100 is under ID 54458 in this 
issue, December 15, 2023, of the Bulletin.  This extends 
the expiration deadline to 04/18/2024 to allow the repeal 
to go through the proper process.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost to state budgets as the 
practice of Certifying Local Museums was discontinued in 
2020. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost to local governments as the 
practice of Certifying Local Museums was discontinued in 
2020 and did not involve local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost to small businesses as the 
practice of Certifying Local Museums was discontinued in 
2020 and did not involve small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost to non-small businesses as 
the practice of Certifying Local Museums was 
discontinued in 2020 and did not involve non-small 
businesses. 
  
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost to other persons as the 
practice of Certifying Local Museums was discontinued in 
2020 and did not involve persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons as the 
practice of Certifying Local Museums was discontinued in 
2020. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of Cultural and Community 
Engagement, Jill Love, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
9-6-603(8) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jill Love,  
Executive Director 

Date: 11/29/2023 

 
R452.  Cultural and Community Engagement, Arts and 
Museums, Museum Services. 
[R452-100.  Certified Local Museum Designation. 
R452-100-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is enacted pursuant to Subsection 9-6-603(8). 
 (2)  This rule establishes a program by which local 
museums may be designated as certified local museums. 
 
R452-100-2.  Requirements Museums Must Meet to Be 
Considered Eligible for Application as a Certified Local 
Museum. 
 (1)  To apply for certified local museum designation, a 
museum shall: 
 (a)  be located in Utah; 
 (b)  be a nonprofit organization that has tax-exempt status 
under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code; 
 (c)  be organized on a permanent basis for educational or 
aesthetic purposes; 
 (d)  have as its primary purpose the display or use of 
collections and exhibits; 
 (e)  display objects to the public through facilities that it 
owns or operates; and 
 (f)  have at least one paid or unpaid staff member, or the 
equivalent, whose primary duty is the care, acquisition, or exhibition 
to the public of objects owned or used by the museum. 
 (2)  A museum operated by a government entity need not 
satisfy the requirements of Subsection (1)(b). 
 
R452-100-3.  Application for Certified Local Museum 
Designation. 
 (1)  A museum wishing to apply for the certified local 
museum designation shall: 
 (a)  complete the form entitled "Certification Requirements 
for Museums" which is available from the Office of Museum 
Services; 
 (b)  obtain a letter from the Department of the Treasury 
confirming that: 
 (i)  the museum is registered as a nonprofit organization as 
described in Subsection R210-100-2(1)(b); and 
 (ii)  the museum has been assigned an Employee 
Identification Number; and 
 (c)  submit both the form and the letter to the Office of 
Museum Services. 
 (2)  A museum operated by a political subdivision of the 
state: 
 (a)  need not comply with the requirements of Subsection 
(1)(b); and 
 (b)  shall submit a letter to the Office of Museum Services: 
 (i)  indicating that it is operated by a political subdivision 
of the state; and 
 (ii)  providing an Employee Identification Number. 
 
R452-100-4.  Granting a Certified Local Museum Designation. 
 Upon receipt of the materials outlined in Section R210-
100-3, the Office of Museum Services will provide a letter of 
certification to the applying museum. 
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KEY:  certified local museums, museum services, museums 
Date of Last Change:  April 7, 2022 
Notice of Continuation:  December 20, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  9-6-603(8)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R495-861 Filing ID:  
56214 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Administration (Human Services) 
Room number: 4th Floor 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Curt Williams 385 

272-
4220 

chwilliams@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the agency. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R495-861.  Requirements for Local Discretionary Social 
Services Block Grant Funds 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change 
(Why is the agency submitting this filing?): 
Following the consolidation of the Department of Health 
and Human Services (Department), the Department is 
working to amend and consolidate the administrative 
rules. 
 
The Department is repealing this rule and will be 
reenacting it under Title R380.  The repeal of this rule is 
technical in nature and does not reflect substantive 
changes to the existing process for allocating social 
services block grant funds. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change (What does this 
filing do? If this is a repeal and reenact, explain the 
substantive differences between the repealed rule and the 
reenacted rule): 
This rule is repealed in its entirety and the provisions 
moved under Title R380. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This repeal of this rule will not result in a fiscal impact or 
benefit for the state budget.  It is technical in nature and 
does not impact existing operations. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This repeal of this rule will not result in a fiscal impact or 
benefit for local governments.  It is technical in nature and 
does not impact existing operations. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This repeal of this rule will not result in a fiscal impact or 
benefit for small businesses.  It is technical in nature and 
does not impact existing operations. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This repeal of this rule will not result in a fiscal impact or 
benefit for the non-small businesses.  It is technical in 
nature and does not impact existing operations. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This repeal of this rule will not result in a fiscal impact or 
benefit for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local governments.  It is technical in 
nature and does not impact existing operations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this 
proposed repeal. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-1-202   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 11/19/2023 

 
[R495.  Health and Human Services, Administration. 
R495-861.  Requirements for Local Discretionary Social Services 
Block Grant Funds. 
R495-861-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  The Department of Human Services is authorized to 
create rules necessary for the provision of social services by Section 
62A-1-111. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to specify the allocation of 
the Local Discretionary Social Services Block Grant Funds. 
 
R495-861-2.  Requirements for Local Discretionary Social 
Services Block Grant Funds. 
 A.  Social Services Block Grant funds allocated to local 
governments are distributed to either counties or associations of 
government.  These funds must be used as allowed by the Social 
Services Block Grant.  The following agencies receive local 
discretionary social services block grant funds:  Bear River 
Association of Governments, Weber/Morgan Counties, Davis 
County, Salt Lake County, Tooele County, Mountainlands 
Association of Governments, Six County Association of 
Governments, Five County Association of Governments, Uintah 
Basin Association of Governments, Southeastern Utah Association of 
Governments, and San Juan County. 
 B.  Social Services Block Grant funds identified for local 
discretionary use by the Department of Human Services shall be 
allocated annually to local governments based on the following 
formula: 
 1.  Each area with less than 15,000 population will receive 
a base of $54,000.00. 
 2.  Each area with less than 150,000 population will receive 
a base of $34,000.00. 
 3.  The remainder of the money will be allocated based on 
the percentage each area population is to the state population. 
 C.  Each local government shall provide non-federal local 
government funds of at least 25 percent of their award.  The 
additional 25 percent must be used for Social Services Block Grant 
Purposes. 
 
KEY:  social services, match requirements 
Date of Last Change:  July 16, 2015 
Notice of Continuation:  October 17, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-114] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R500-2 Filing ID:  
56207 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Ombudsman (Office of) 
Room number: 1091 
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Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
(MASOB) 

Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie McCourt 385-

505-
3502 

amccourt@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R500-2.  Disabilities Ombudsman Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule is to establish the program and 
conduct of the Disabilities Ombudsman within the 
Department of Health and Human Services (Department). 
 
The Disabilities Ombudsman was created for the purpose 
of promoting, advocating, and ensuring the rights and 
privileges of an individual with a disability are upheld. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The purpose of this rule is to outline the Disabilities 
Ombudsman Program and provide procedures for 
processing complaints and conducting investigations. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The implementation of this rule is not expected to have any 
fiscal impact on the state budget, revenues, or 
expenditures, as it implements the Disabilities 
Ombudsman Program in accordance with Section 26B-6-
703. 
 
Any costs that may be incurred by this program are 
inestimable at this time and would be appropriated through 
the legislative process. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no impact on local governments as they neither 
fund nor provide benefits to the Disabilities Ombudsman. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

There is no impact on small businesses as this rule 
establishes processes and procedures for the Disabilities 
Ombudsman but does not affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no impact on non-small businesses as this rule 
establishes processes and procedures for the Disabilities 
Ombudsman but does not affect non-small businesses. 
  
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no impact on persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities as this rule establishes processes and 
procedures for the Disabilities Ombudsman, but does not 
affect persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities. 
  
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The Department does not foresee any compliance costs 
associated with this proposed rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-6-703    

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 07/16/2023 

 
R500.  Health and Human Services, Ombudsman (Office of). 
R500-2.  Disabilities Ombudsman Program. 
R500-2-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to outline the Disabilities 
Ombudsman Program and provide procedures for processing 
complaints and conducting investigations. 
 (2)  Section 26B-6-703 authorizes this rule. 
 
R500-2-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Complainant" means a person who initiates a 
complaint. 

 (2)  "Complaint" means a complaint initiated with the 
ombudsman identifying a person who has violated the rights and 
privileges of an individual with a disability. 
 (3)  "Division" means the Division of Customer 
Experience. 
 (4)  "Investigative hearing" means a non-adversarial 
hearing held at the discretion of and presided over by the ombudsman 
to ascertain the facts necessary to resolve the complaint. 
 (5)  "Ombudsman" means the ombudsman appointed in 
Section 26B-6-702. 
 (6)  "Office" means the Department of Health and Human 
Services Office of the Ombudsman. 
 (7)  "Rights and privileges of an individual with a 
disability" means the rights and privileges of an individual with a 
disability described in Subsections 26B-6-802(1) through (3). 
 
R500-2-3.  Program Administration. 
 (1)  The Department of Health and Human Services shall 
establish an office of ombudsman, which includes the disabilities 
ombudsman program. The office shall be responsible for the 
administration of the disabilities ombudsman program. 
 (2)  The ombudsman shall meet the following minimum 
qualifications: 
 (a)  executive and administrative experience; 
 (b)  experience in laws and policies regarding individuals 
with a disability; 
 (c)  leadership and program management skills; and 
 (b)  negotiation and problem resolution skills. 
 (3)  The ombudsman shall ensure the rights and privileges 
of an individual with a disability are upheld. 
 (4)  The ombudsman shall review, as needed, procedures of 
state entities that serve individuals with a disability. 
 (5)  The ombudsman shall develop a website that includes 
training and information regarding: 
 (a)  the role and duties of the ombudsman; 
 (b)  the rights and privileges of an individual with a 
disability; and 
 (c)  services available in the state to an individual with a 
disability. 
 
R500-2-4.  Filing and Processing Complaints. 
 (1)  The complainant may file a written, oral, or electronic 
complaint with the office no later than three months from the date of 
the alleged circumstances giving rise to the complaint. The 
complainant may file at any of the following: 
 (a)  Multi-Agency State Office Building 
 Utah Department of Health and Human Services 
 Office of Ombudsman - 1st Floor 
 195 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84116; 
 (b)  dhhscustomerexp@utah.gov; or 
 (c)  (801) 538-4580. 
 (2)  The complaint shall include: 
 (a)  a detailed description of the alleged circumstances 
which caused the complaint, including dates and locations; 
 (b)  the names and contact information of any and all 
persons involved in those circumstances; 
 (c)  a detailed description of any actions taken by the 
complainant to address the complaint; and 
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 (d)  the desired result or outcome that the complainant is 
seeking from the office. 
 (3)  If a complaint does not include the information in 
Subsection (2), the office will contact the complainant for more 
information. 
 
R500-2-5.  Conducting an Investigation. 
 (1)  The office shall contact the complainant within three 
business days of receiving a properly filed complaint. 
 (2)  The ombudsman's investigation of a complaint may 
include one or more of the following: 
 (a)  a referral to a governmental entity or other services; 
 (b)  the collection of facts, information, or documentation; 
 (c)  holding an investigatory hearing; or 
 (d)  an inspection of the premises of the person named in 
the complaint. 
 (4)  The office will complete the investigation within 180 
days from the date of filing the complaint, taking into consideration 
extenuating circumstances such as the complexity of the case. 
 (5)  The office shall notify the complainant upon the 
completion of the investigation. 
 (6)  The complainant may appeal the result of the 
investigation by submitting a request to the division director within 
30 days of receiving the results of the investigation. 
 (7)  The office investigative hearing is not an adjudicative 
proceeding.  The Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and the Utah Rules 
of Evidence do not apply. No written decision will be issued and the 
ombudsman's determinations may not be appealed. 
 (8)  The ombudsman may decline to investigate a 
complaint.  If the ombudsman declines to investigate a complaint, the 
ombudsman shall notify the complainant and the division of the 
declination and reason. 
 
R500-2-6.  Confidentiality. 
 (1)  The office shall only disclose files maintained by the 
ombudsman program and at the discretion of the ombudsman. 
 (2)  The office may not disclose the identity of a 
complainant or party named in the complaint unless: 
 (a)  the complainant or the legal representative of the 
complainant consents in writing, orally, or through the use of 
auxiliary aids and services to the disclosure; 
 (b)  ordered by a court to disclose; or 
 (c)  approved by the ombudsman and is made, as part of an 
investigation involving the complainant, to an agency that: 
 (i)  has statutory responsibility for the complainant, over 
the action alleged in the complaint, or another party named in the 
complaint; 
 (ii)  is able to assist the ombudsman to achieve resolution 
of the complaint; or 
 (iii)  is able to provide expertise that would benefit the 
complainant. 
 
R500-2-7.  Complaints Regarding Ombudsman Program. 
 (1)  Complaints made about the office, the office shall 
notify the director of the division immediately. 
 (2)  The director or designee shall investigate the complaint 
within ten business days of receipt of the complaint. 
 (3)  The director or designee shall document the nature of 
the complaint and investigation. 
 (4)  The director or designee shall provide a response to the 
complainant within ten business days following completion of the 
investigation. 

 (5)  The director or designee shall document the response. 
 
KEY:  government documents, freedom of information, public 
records 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26B-6-703 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R590-171 Filing ID:  
56218 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-171.  Surplus Lines Procedures Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12. 
 
During the review of this rule, the Department of Insurance 
(Department) discovered a number of minor issues that 
needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards. 
 
Other changes make the language of this rule more clear, 
remove the Penalties section (old R590-171-10), and 
update the Severability section (new R590-171-10) to use 
the Department's current language. 
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The changes do not add, remove, or change any 
regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 

this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-15-103 
Section 
31A-15-111 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information  
Officer 

Date: 11/28/2023 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-171.  Surplus Lines Procedures Rule. 
R590-171-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
[the general rule making authority vested in the commissioner by 
Section 31A-2-201 and pursuant to the specific authority of Sections 
31A-15-103(3), 31A-15-103(11) and 31A-15-111]Sections 31A-2-
201, 31A-15-103, and 31A-15-111. 
 
R590-171-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 [A.](1)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 [(1)  to ](a)  recognize [The ]the Surplus Line Association 
of Utah as the advisory organization of surplus lines producers; 
 [(2)  to ](b)  authorize [The ]the Surplus Line Association 
of Utah to conduct the examination of surplus lines transactions; 
 [(3)  to ](c)  authorize [The ]the Surplus Line Association 
of Utah to collect a stamping fee; 
 [(4)  to ](d)  require that [each person licensed as ]a surplus 
lines producer [in Utah ]be a member of the advisory organization; 
 [(5)  to ](e)  regulate access and exceptions to the surplus 
lines market[, with exceptions made for substantial insureds who are 
presumed to be sophisticated insurance buyers who the commissioner 
finds can adequately protect their own interests because of their 
financial resources, business experience and insurance knowledge]; 
and 
 [(6)  to ](f)  prescribe procedures for the placement of 
insurance with a surplus lines [insurers]insurer. 
 [B.  This rule applies, pursuant to Section 31A-15-103, to 
the placement of insurance with surplus lines insurers on risks located 
in Utah.](2)  This rule applies to a person placing insurance with a 
surplus lines insurer on a risk located in Utah. 
 
R590-171-3.  Definitions. 
[ For the purpose of this rule the commissioner adopts the 
definitions as set forth in Section 31A-1-301 and in addition the 
following: 
 A.  "Export list" means a list published by the 
commissioner of coverages and classes of insurance for which the 
commissioner has determined no general market exists with admitted 
insurers.] 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301.  
Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 [B.](1)(a)  "Exempt [Commercial Purchaser]commercial 
purchaser" means [any ]a person purchasing commercial insurance 
from the surplus lines market that[, at the time of placement,] meets 
the following requirements: 

 [(i)  The ](i)  the person employs or retains a qualified risk 
manager to negotiate insurance coverage; 
 [(ii)  The ](ii)  the person [has ]paid aggregate nationwide 
commercial property and casualty insurance premiums [in excess ]of 
more than $100,000 in the immediately preceding 12 months; and 
 [(iii)  The ](iii)  the person meets [at least ]one or more of 
the following criteria: 
 [(A)  The ](A)  the person possesses a net worth [in excess 
]of more than $20,000,000 as [such amount is ]adjusted [pursuant to 
]under Subsection (1)(b); 
 [(B)  The ](B)  the person generates annual revenues [in 
excess ]of more than $50,000,000 as [such amount is ]adjusted 
[pursuant to ]under Subsection (1)(b); 
 [(C)  The ](C)  the person employs more than 500 full-time 
or full-time equivalent employees per individual insured or is a 
member of an affiliated group employing more than 1,000 employees 
in the aggregate; 
 [(D)  The ](D)  the person is a not-for-profit organization 
or public entity generating annual budgeted expenditures of at least 
$30,000,000 as [such amount is ]adjusted [pursuant to ]under 
Subsection (1)(b); or 
 [(E)  The ](E)  the person is a municipality with a 
population [in excess ]of more than 50,000 persons. 
 [(b) Effective on January 1, 2015, and each fifth January 
occurring thereafter, the amounts in R590-171-3.B (a)(iii)(A), (B), 
and (D) shall be adjusted to reflect the percentage change for such 5-
year period in the Consumer Price index for all Urban Consumers 
published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the Department of 
Labor, 15 U.S.C. 8206(5)](b)  The amounts in Subsections 
(1)(a)(iii)(A), (1)(a)(iii)(B), and (1)(a)(iii)(D) are adjusted each fifth 
January beginning January 1, 2015, to reflect the percentage change 
for such five-year period in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban 
Consumers published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the 
Department of Labor. 
[ C.  "Producer" means an insurance agent, broker or surplus 
lines broker as defined in Section 31A-1-301-91.] 
 (2)  "Export list" means a list, published and determined by 
the commissioner, of coverages and classes of insurance for which 
no general market exists with an admitted insurer. 
[ D.  "Surplus lines producer" means a licensee as defined in 
Section 31A-23a-106(2)(b) to place insurance with surplus lines 
insurers in accordance with Section 31A-15-103 and this rule.] 
 [E.](3)  "Surplus lines insurer" means a non-admitted 
insurer that may place business[, pursuant to Title 31A, Chapter 15, 
Part 1 and this rule, ] in Utah with a surplus lines producer. 
 (4)  "Surplus lines producer" means a licensee holding a 
license type described in Subsection 31A-23a-106(2)(b). 
 [F.](5)  "Surplus lines transaction" means: 
 (a)  the solicitation, negotiation, procurement, or 
effectuation with a surplus lines insurer of an insurance contract or 
certificate of insurance[.  It also means any ]; or 
 (b)  a renewal, cancellation, endorsement, audit, or other 
adjustment to [the ]an insurance contract. 
 
R590-171-4.  Surplus Line Association of Utah. 
 [A.  ](1)  The Surplus Line Association of Utah is 
recognized as the advisory organization of surplus lines producers 
[authorized by ]under Section 31A-15-111. 
 [B.  Each person licensed as a ](2)  A licensed surplus lines 
producer [in Utah must ]shall be a member of the Surplus Line 
Association of Utah. 
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 [C.](3)  The Surplus Line Association of Utah is authorized 
to: 
 [(1)  to ](a)  facilitate and encourage compliance by its 
members with: 
 (i)  the laws of Utah; and 
 (ii)  the rules of the commissioner [relative ]related to 
surplus lines insurance[ and to ]; 
 (b)  act in other matters [as ]specified by Section 31A-15-
111; 
 [(2)  to ](c)  conduct the examination of a surplus lines 
[transactions required ]transaction under Subsection 31A-15-
103(11); 
 [(3)  to make a determination that ](d)  determine if a 
surplus lines transaction [is in compliance ]complies with Subsection 
31A-15-103(11) and with Sections R590-171-6 and R590-171-7[ of 
this rule]; and 
 [(4)  to ](e)  collect the stamping fee [prescribed by ]under 
Subsection 31A-15-103(11)(d). 
 
R590-171-5.  Export List. 
 [A.  ](1)  The commissioner shall maintain an export list of 
insurance coverages and classes that may be placed with a surplus 
lines [insurers]insurer. 
 [(2)](a)  The commissioner [may consider ]considers the 
following in determining the insurance coverages and classes to be 
[listed]included on the export list: 
 [(a)](i)  the current marketplace; 
 [(b)](ii)  information from the Surplus Line Association 
[Board of Directors]of Utah's board of directors; 
 [(c)](iii)  information from admitted and surplus lines 
insurers doing business in Utah; 
 [(d)](iv)  information from other sources, including 
producers and consumers; and 
 [(e)  any ](v)  other relevant information[ the commissioner 
deems relevant]. 
 [(3)  Any ](b)(i)  A person may request, in writing, that[, at 
the next publication of the list,] the commissioner add or remove a 
coverage or a class of insurance from the export list. 
 (ii)  The person [must ]shall provide evidence of market 
conditions to substantiate the request. 
 [B.](2)  The export list shall be published at least annually 
but may be revised and republished at any time. 
 
R590-171-6.  Conditions for Placing Insurance with a Surplus 
Lines [Insurers]Insurer. 
 Placement of insurance with a surplus lines [insurers 
pursuant to Section 31A-15-103 may only be done in accordance 
with either Section A, B or C below]insurer is subject to Subsections 
(1) through (3).  All information relating to the placement of 
insurance pursuant to Section 31A-15-103 shall be made available to 
the commissioner upon request. 
 [A.](1)  Insurance coverages and classes included on the 
export list may be placed with a surplus lines [insurers]insurer. 
 [B.](2)(a)  Insurance coverages and classes not included on 
the export list may be placed with a surplus lines [insurers only under 
the following conditions]insurer only if: 
 [(1) A ](i)  a good faith effort [must be ]is made to place the 
insurance with an admitted [insurers ]insurer that the producer [has 
reason to believe will consider writing ]believes will write the type 
of coverage or class of insurance involved[.  If that effort shows that 
] consistent with the following: 

 (A)  the insurance cannot be obtained [because of ]due to 
underwriting reasons, or the insured requires specific terms and 
conditions of coverage [which ]that are unavailable through an 
admitted [insurers]insurer;[, the insurance may be placed with 
surplus lines insurers.  Placement ] 
 (B)  placement with [the ]a surplus lines insurer solely to 
obtain a better price does not constitute good faith unless the producer 
demonstrates that the price quoted by the admitted market is 
excessive [as defined in ]under Subsection 31A-19a-201(2)[.]; and 
 [(2) The ](C)  the inability to place [the ]insurance through 
an admitted insurer with whom the producer has an established 
relationship is not an exception to the obligation to place the 
insurance with an admitted insurer[.]; and 
 [(3) The ](ii)  the producer [must ]documents [his ]the good 
faith efforts made to place the insurance with an admitted 
[insurers]insurer. 
 (b)(i)  The good faith effort documentation [must ]in 
Subsection (2)(a)(ii) shall include [the ]a record of the efforts made 
to place the insurance [and ]together with a written explanation 
confirming that the effort [as being ]is made in good faith. 
 (ii)  The good faith effort documentation shall be 
maintained in the surplus lines producer's and the originating 
producer's files for at least three years from the inception date of 
coverage or renewal. 
 [C.](3)  An exempt commercial purchaser[, that, at the time 
of placement, meets the requirements as defined in R590-171-3(B),] 
may purchase commercial insurance from the surplus market. 
[ D.  All information relating to the placement of insurance 
pursuant to Section 31A-15-103 shall be made available to the 
commissioner upon his request.] 
 
R590-171-7.  Conditions for Marketing Insurance with a Surplus 
Lines [Insurers]Insurer. 
 [A.  Producers ]A producer may not solicit business on 
behalf of a surplus lines insurer[.  However:] except as allowed in 
this section. 
 [(1)  Producers ](1)  A producer may advertise the 
availability of an insurance [products ]product for the insurance 
coverages and classes included on the export list to potential insureds 
and other producers. 
 [(2)  Surplus ](2)(a)  A surplus lines [producers ]producer 
may advertise [their ]its services and product lines to other producers. 
 [(3)  Such advertisements ](b)  A surplus lines producer 
advertisement: 
 (i)  shall identify [the fact ]that the insurance will be placed 
with a surplus lines insurer[.  The advertisements must ]; 
 (ii)  may not identify the insurer by name[ nor ]; 
 (iii)  may not act as a solicitation on behalf of any surplus 
lines insurer[.  The advertisements shall ]; and 
 (iv)  may not identify specific rates or specific policy 
provisions. 
 [B.](3)  Once negotiations over the available terms and 
conditions for specific coverages and classes begin, [at least ]the 
producer shall disclose, in writing, [following facts must be disclosed 
in writing ]to the potential insured: 
 [(1)](a)  that the insurance will be placed through a surplus 
lines insurer[ and ]; 
 (b)  the name of the insurer; 
 [(2)](c)  that the producer is not a producer of the potential 
insurer because surplus lines insurers are not permitted to appoint 
producers; 
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 [(3)](d)  that the surplus lines market is a specialty market 
[that has ]with limited regulatory oversight by the commissioner, and 
specifically, there is no regulation of policy coverage forms or rates; 
and 
 [(4)](e)  that no protection is [afforded ]given under any 
Utah guaranty fund [mechanism]association. 
 [C.](4)  Subject to [the general provisions of ]Section 31A-
23a-501, a surplus lines producer may: 
 (a)  originate surplus lines insurance[ or ]; 
 (b)  accept [applications ]an application for surplus lines 
insurance from [any other ]a producer [duly ]licensed as to the kinds 
of insurance involved[.  The surplus lines producer may ]; and 
 (c)  compensate the originating producer involved in the 
transaction. 
 [D.](5)(a)  Only [that ]the portion of a risk that is 
unacceptable to the admitted market may be placed with a surplus 
lines insurer. 
 (b)  If it is not possible to obtain the full amount of 
insurance required by segmenting the risk, or if the only portion that 
the admitted market will write is incidental to the principal elements 
of coverage, it is permissible to place the full amount with a surplus 
lines insurer. 
 (c)  If a full amount is placed with a surplus lines insurer 
under Subsection (5)(b), an[An] explanation [must ]shall be provided 
in the submission documentation outlined in Section R590-171-8. 
 
R590-171-8.  Reporting and Examination. 
 [A.](1)  No later than 60 days after the effective date of a 
policy or a certificate of insurance [that has been ]placed with a 
surplus lines insurer, the surplus lines producer [must ]shall file with 
the Surplus Line Association of Utah a complete copy of the policy 
or certificate [and ]of insurance together with justification for 
placement with a surplus lines insurer[ with the Surplus Line 
Association for examination pursuant to Subsection 31A-15-
103(11)(a)]. 
 [B.](2)  Justification for placement with a surplus lines 
insurer shall include: 
 [(1)](a)  for insurance [exposures ]placed pursuant to 
[R590-171-6.A, consist of ]Subsection R590-171-6(1), identification 
of the specific coverage or class on the export list;[ or] 
 [(2)](b)  for insurance [exposures ]placed pursuant to 
[R590-171-6.B, consist of a copy of the ]Subsection R590-171-6(2), 
a record of the effort to place the insurance with an admitted [insurers 
required by R590-171-6.B(3); or]insurer under Subsection R590-
171-6(2)(a)(ii); 
 [(3)](c)  for insurance placed pursuant to [R590-171-6.C, 
consist of a copy of ]Subsection R590-171-6(3), an affidavit signed 
by the insured;[ and] 
 [(4)](d)  if applicable, [consist of the ]an explanation 
required by [R590-171-7.D]Subsection R590-171-7(5)(c); and 
 [(5)  consist of ](e)  any other information or documentation 
pertinent to the surplus lines placement. 
 [C.](3)  The Surplus Line Association of Utah shall provide 
submission forms [to be used for complying with R590-171-8.B]for 
compliance with Subsection (2). 
 [D.  If the contract ](4)  If a policy or certificate of insurance 
is not available within 60 days, a binder with sufficient detail to 
determine the subject of the insurance, coverages, insured, insurer, 
premium amount and the justification required by [R590-171-8B 
must ]Subsection (2) shall be filed with the Surplus [Lines ]Line 
Association of Utah. 

 [E.  If the ](5)(a)  If, during an examination performed by 
the Surplus Line Association of Utah, it determines that [the 
placement of ]a person placing a policy or certificate of insurance 
with a surplus lines insurer is [not in compliance ]noncompliant with 
[Section ]Subsection 31A-15-103(11)(a) or this rule, the Surplus Line 
Association of Utah shall take [such ]corrective action against the 
person[ as the Association Board of Directors considers appropriate, 
subject to the review of the commissioner.  The Association shall 
advise the commissioner of all cases of noncompliance.] 
 (b)(i)  The board of directors of the Surplus Line 
Association of Utah shall determine what corrective action is 
appropriate. 
 (ii)  The corrective action is subject to the review of the 
commissioner. 
 (c)  The Surplus Line Association of Utah shall inform the 
commissioner of all corrective action cases of noncompliance. 
 
R590-171-9.  Rule Distribution. 
 The Surplus Line Association of Utah shall distribute a 
copy of [this rule ]Rule R590-171 to every surplus lines producer and 
shall instruct [all ]the surplus lines producers [as to its scope and 
operation]of the scope, purpose, and operation of the rule. 
 
[R590-171-10.  Penalties. 
 A person found to be in violation of this rule shall be 
subject to penalties as provided under 31A-2-308. 
] 
R590-171-[11]10.  Severability. 
 [If a provision of this rule or its application to any person 
or situation is held to be invalid, that invalidity shall not affect any 
other provision or application of this rule which can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the 
provisions of this rule are declared to be severable.]If any provision 
of this rule, Rule R590-171, or its application to any person or 
situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect any other 
provision or application of this rule that can be given effect without 
the invalid provision or application. The remainder of this rule shall 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance 
Date of Last Change:  2024[January 22, 2013] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 23, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-15-103; 31A-15-111 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R590-281 Filing ID:  
56219 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 
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Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-281.  License Applications Submitted by Individuals 
Who Have a Criminal Conviction 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being changed in compliance with Executive 
Order No. 2021-12. 
 
During the review of this rule, the Department of Insurance 
(Department) discovered a number of minor issues that 
needed to be amended. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The majority of the changes are being done to fix style 
issues to bring this rule text more in line with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards. 
 
Other changes make the language of this rule clearer and 
make explicit that this rule also applies to proceedings that 
are pending. 
 
The changes do not add, remove, or change any 
regulations or requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
affect small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
affect non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons. 
 
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency 
head or 
designe
e and 
title: 

Steve Gooch, 
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 11/28/2023 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-281.  License [Applications ]Application Submitted by 
[Individuals ]an Individual Who [Have ]Has a Criminal 
Conviction or Pending Proceeding. 
R590-281-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
[Subsection 31A-2-201(3) which authorizes the commissioner to 
adopt rules to implement the provisions of Title 31A]Section 31A-2-
201. 

R590-281-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  [This rule sets ]The purpose of this rule is to set 
eligibility requirements for a license [applicants who have ]applicant 
who has a criminal conviction or a pending proceeding. 
 (2)  This rule applies to a license [applicants who have 
]applicant who has a criminal conviction or a pending proceeding. 
 
R590-281-3.  Definitions. 
 [The following definitions shall apply for the purpose of 
this rule:]Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301.  
Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "Criminal conviction" means a felony, or a 
misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or 
dishonesty, that results in: 
 (a)  judgment of guilt entered by a court; 
 (b)  an admission; 
 (c)  a guilty plea; 
 (d)  a no contest plea; 
 (e)  a proceeding involving a plea in abeyance; or 
 (f)  another deferred adjudication agreement that has not 
yet been dismissed. 
 (2)  "License" means an initial [resident individual or 
resident agency insurance ]license issued by the commissioner[; 
and]. 
 (3)  "License applicant" means an individual applying for a 
license under: 
 (a)  Title 31A, Chapter 23a, Insurance Marketing - 
Licensing Producers, Consultants, and Reinsurance Intermediaries; 
 (b)  Title 31A, Chapter 23b, Navigator License Act; 
 (c)  Title 31A, Chapter 25, Third Party Administrators; or 
 (d)  Title 31A, Chapter 26, Insurance Adjusters. 
 [(2)](4)  "Proceeding" means: 
 (a)  a criminal proceeding in which an individual is charged 
with a felony, or a misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, 
theft, or dishonesty[, including a proceeding involving a plea in 
abeyance]; or 
 (b)  [a ]an administrative, civil, or regulatory enforcement 
proceeding in which an individual is alleged to have engaged in 
conduct involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty. 
 
R590-281-4.  Eligibility to Apply for a License. 
 (1)  Except as provided in Subsections [(2)](3) through 
[(4)](5), [and except in the case of a juvenile adjudication, ]an 
individual who has [been convicted of or pleaded no contest to a 
felony, or a misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, 
or dishonesty ]a criminal conviction is eligible to apply for a license 
if: 
 (a)  the individual has completed probation, parole, or has 
been released from incarceration; 
 (b)  the individual has no criminal proceeding pending; 
 (c)  the individual has paid in full all fines and interest 
ordered by the court related to the criminal conviction; 
 (d)  the individual has paid in full all restitution ordered by 
the court related to the criminal conviction; and 
 (e)  the following time periods have elapsed from the date 
the individual was convicted[ or ], released from incarceration, 
parole, or probation, or the expiration of the probationary term, 
whichever occurred last: 
 (i)  seven years in the case of a felony; 
 (ii)  five years in the case of a class A misdemeanor; 
 (iii)  four years in the case of a class B misdemeanor; or 
 (iv)  three years in the case of any other misdemeanor. 
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 (2)  Any pending administrative, civil, or regulatory 
proceeding must be resolved before an individual is eligible to apply 
for a license. 
 (3)  Subsection (1) does not apply to: 
 (a)  a juvenile adjudication; or 
 (b)  an individual whose criminal charge was dismissed 
pursuant to a plea in abeyance agreement under Title 77, Chapter 2a, 
Pleas in Abeyance. 
 [(3)  In applying this rule, the ](4)  The department will give 
effect to a conviction for a lower degree of offense pursuant to 
Section 76-3-402. 
 [(4)](5)(a)(i)  An individual [who has been ]convicted of 
violating the federal Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement 
Act of 1994, 18 U.S.C. Sec. 1033, or who [is deemed ]under 18 
U.S.C. Sec. 1033 [to have ]has been convicted of a felony involving 
dishonesty or breach of trust, may not apply for a license without first 
obtaining written consent from the commissioner to engage or 
participate in the business of insurance. 
 (ii)  The policy and application for written consent are 
available on the department's website[ at www.insurance.utah.gov], 
https://insurance.utah.gov. 
 (b)  An individual who obtains written consent may apply 
for a license[. The individual remains], subject to all other license 
application requirements. 
 (c)  An application for written consent is required even if: 
 (i)  a felony [charge ]conviction involving dishonesty or 
breach of trust has been dismissed pursuant to a plea in abeyance 
agreement under Title 77, Chapter 2a, Pleas in Abeyance;[ or] 
 (ii)  a felony conviction involving dishonesty or breach of 
trust has been reduced to a lower degree of offense [pursuant to 
]under Section 76-3-402; or 
 (iii)  a felony conviction involving dishonesty or breach of 
trust has been expunged under Title 77, Chapter 40a, Expungement. 
 [(5)](6)  The department [will ]shall deny a license 
application submitted by an individual who is not eligible under this 
[S]section. 
 [(6)](7)  Eligibility to apply for a license under this Rule 
R590-281 is a separate determination from and does not affect 
eligibility to engage in the business of insurance under 18 U.S.C. Sec. 
1033. 
 
R590-281-5.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, R590-281, or its application to 
any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity does not affect 
any other provision or application of this rule which can be given 
effect without the invalid provision or application.  The remainder of 
this rule shall be given effect without the invalid provision or 
application. 
 
KEY:  insurance, licensing 
Date of Last Change:  2024[December 23, 2020] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-
201(3) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R909-19 Filing ID:  
56224 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Motor Carriers 
Room number: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton Building 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-8455 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-

580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Godin 801-
573-
7181 

jamesjgodin@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 385-
341-
3414 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R909-19.  Safety Regulations for Tow Truck Operations - 
Tow Truck Requirements for Equipment, Operation, and 
Certification 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Division of Motor Carrier (Division) is proposing 
revisions to Rule R909-19 due to continuing complaints 
regarding towing and fee charges. 
 
These revisions are being requested after consultation 
with the Department of Transportation's (Department) 
Motor Carrier Division, industry representatives, and the 
Motor Carrier Advisory Board. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
These proposed rule changes make clarifications to 
facilitate the administration of and compliance with this 
rule. 
 
Clarifications include: 
1)  changing the definition of a "drop fee" and the 
description of the circumstances for which a tower can 
charge a drop fee; 
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2)  stating that vehicle storage for towed vehicles must be 
in the county where the tow occurred; 
3)  affirming that storage fees may only be charged if a 
vehicle is placed in a facility that meets the requirements 
of Utah State Tax Commission rules; and 
4)  requiring consent of the tow charges to be reflected on 
a separate receipt. 
 
This proposal also requires the Department to annually 
index storage fees to the Consumer Price Index.  The tow 
truck service fee and administrative fee are already 
annually indexed.  This change has been recommended 
by the Motor Carrier Advisory Board. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated impact on the state budget. 
 
The Department is charged with regulating motor carrier 
tow trucks, and this proposed change is part of those 
duties.  This proposed rule change clarifies the current rule 
and will have no impact on how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule change does not apply to local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These proposed rule changes may positively or negatively 
impact small businesses that are tow truck motor carriers 
because they include, in part, clarification and a definition 
for the drop fee operators may charge vehicle owners. 
 
The Division is unable to accurately estimate the full 
impact the proposed changes will have on operators 
because it cannot predict how often operators will charge 
a drop fee. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These proposed rule changes may positively or negatively 
impact non-small businesses that are tow truck motor 
carriers because they include, in part, clarification and a 
definition for the drop fee operators may charge vehicle 
owners. 
 
The Division is unable to accurately estimate the full 
impact the proposed changes will have on operators 
because it cannot predict how often operators will charge 
a drop fee. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This proposed rule change may have a positive or 
negative impact on persons other than small businesses, 
non-small businesses, and state, or local government 
entities who own vehicles that will be subjected to the drop 
fee changes. 
 
However, the Division is unable to accurately estimate the 
full impact the proposed changes will have on vehicle 
owners because it cannot predict how many of these fees 
tow truck operators will charge. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There will be no compliance costs associated with these 
proposed changes. 
 
A fiscal impact will only occur if an operator imposes a drop 
fee. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in the 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation, Carlos M. Braceras, PE, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 72-9-601 Section 72-9-602 Section 72-9-603 
Section72-9-604 Section 53-1-106 Section 

41-6a-1405 
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive Director 

Date: 11/20/2023 

 
R909.  Transportation, Motor Carrier. 
R909-19.  Safety Regulations for Tow Truck Operations - Tow 
Truck Requirements for Equipment, Operation, and 
Certification. 
R909-19-1.  Authority. 
 Sections 72-9-601, 72-9-602, 72-9-603, 72-9-604, 53-1-
106, and 41-6a-1405 authorize the Department to make this rule. 
 
R909-19-2.  Applicability. 
 Tow truck motor carriers and employees must comply with 
and observe administrative rules, including Rule R909-1, federal 
regulations, state and local traffic laws and guidelines as prescribed 
by [L]law, including Sections 41-6a-401.9, 41-6a-1404, 41-6a-1405, 
41-6a-1406, 72-9-301, 72-9-303, 72-9-601, 72-9-602, 72-9-603, 72-
9-604, 72-9-701, 72-9-702, and 72-9-703. 

R909-19-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Consent tow" means any tow truck service done at the 
vehicle, vessel, or outboard motor owner's or its legal operator's 
knowledge or approval. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Transportation. 
 (3)  "Division" means the Motor Carrier Division. 
 (4)  "Emergency moves" means a tow operation initiated 
by law enforcement to move a wrecked or disabled motor vehicle. 
 (5)  "Drop Fee" means a fee a vehicle owner, authorized, 
operator, or authorized agent of a vehicle owner pays to a tow truck 
motor carrier to relinquish a vehicle 
 (a)  of which a tow truck motor carrier has taken possession 
to perform a non-consent tow; and 
 (b) the vehicle owner, authorized operator, or authorized 
agent of a vehicle owner is attempting to retrieve after the tow truck 
motor carrier is in possession of the vehicle but before the vehicle is 
removed from the property or scene. 
 (6)[(5)]  "Gross combination weight rating (GCWR)" 
means the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight 
of a combination articulated motor vehicle.  In the absence of a value 
specified by the manufacturer, GVCR will be determined by adding 
the GVWR of the power unit and the total weight of the towed unit, 
and any load thereon. 
 (7)[(6)]  "Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR)" means the 
value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single 
motor vehicle. 
 (8)[(7)]  "Life-essential personal property" includes those 
items essential to sustain life or health, including prescription 
medication, medical equipment, essential clothing, such as shoes, 
coat, food and water, child safety seats, and government-issued photo 
identification. 
 (9)[(8)]  "Non-consent police generated tow" means tow 
truck service that was ordered by a peace officer, or a person acting 
on behalf of a law enforcement agency, or highway authority, as 
defined in Section 72-1-102. 
 (10)[(9)]  "Non-consent non-police generated tow" means 
towing services performed without the prior consent or knowledge of 
the owner of the vehicle or the person authorized by the owner to 
operate the vehicle from private property.  The tow truck service must 
be from private property, at the request of the property landowner or 
agent for the landowner. 
 (11)[(10)]  "Normal office hours" means hours of operation 
where the office or yard shall be staffed and open for public business 
during normal business hours Monday [thru]through Friday, except 
for designated state and federal holidays. 
 (12)[(11)]  "Recovery operation" means a towing service 
that may require charges in addition to the normal one-truck one-
operator towing service requirements.  The additional charges may 
include charges for manpower, extra equipment, and supplies 
necessary for the recovery operation. 
 (13)[(12)]  "State impound yard" means a yard for the 
storage of a vehicle, vessel, or outboard motor that meets the 
requirements of rules made by the commission under Subsection 41-
1a-1101(5). 
 (14)[(13)]  "Tow truck" means a commercial vehicle 
constructed, designed, altered, or equipped primarily to tow or 
remove damaged, disabled, abandoned, seized, repossessed, or 
impounded vehicles from a highway or other place using a crane, 
hoist, tow bar, tow line, dolly tilt bed, or other similar means of 
vehicle transfer without its own power or control. 
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 (15)[(14)]  "Tow truck certification program" means a 
program to authorize and approve tow truck motor carriers, operators, 
and vehicles is the process by which the Department, acting under 
Section 72-9-602, shall verify compliance with the State and Federal 
Motor Carriers Safety Regulations. 
 (16)[(15)]  "Tow truck motor carrier" means a motor carrier 
as defined in Section 72-9-102.[ engaged in or transacting business 
for tow truck services.  It includes the company's agents, officers, and 
representatives as well as employees responsible for hiring, training, 
supervising, assigning, or dispatching of drivers and employees 
concerned with the installation, inspection, and maintenance of 
equipment or accessories.] 
 (17)[(16)]  "Tow truck operator" means an individual [that 
]who performs operations related to a tow truck service as an 
employee or as an independent contractor on behalf of a tow truck 
motor carrier. 
 (18)[(17)]  "Tow truck service" means the functions and 
ancillary operations associated with recovering, removing, and 
towing a vehicle and its load from a highway or other place using a 
tow truck. 
 (a)  Tow truck service, with regards to authorized towing 
fees, is determined by the type and size of the towed vehicle, not the 
type and size of the tow truck performing the service. 
 (b)  Towed vehicle classifications will be used when 
determining authorized fees.  Information regarding the GVWR to 
determine the classification category of towed vehicles can be found 
on the identification plate on the vehicle driver -side doorframe.  
Towed vehicle classifications are as follows: 
 (i)  "Light duty" means any towed vehicle with a GVWR 
10,000 pounds or less; 
 (ii)  "Medium duty" means any towed vehicle with a 
GVWR between 10,001 to 26,000 pounds; 
 (iii)  "Heavy duty" means any towed vehicle with a GVWR 
or GCWR 26,001 pounds and greater. 
 (19)[(18)]  "Tow truck motor carrier steering committee" 
means a committee established by the Motor Carrier Division and 
will include enforcement personnel, industry representatives, and 
other persons as deemed necessary. 
 
R909-19-4.  Duties - Enforcement - Complaints, Compliance 
Audits, Inspections, and Right of Entry. 
 The Department shall administer and, in cooperation with 
the Department of Public Safety, Utah Highway Patrol Division, as 
specified under Section 53-8-105, shall administer and enforce state 
and federal laws related to the operation of tow truck motor carriers 
within the state.  In addition, a tow truck motor carrier shall submit 
its lands, property, buildings, and equipment for inspection and 
examination.  It must submit its accounts, books, records, or other 
documents for inspection and copying to verify compliance as 
authorized by Section 72-9-301. 
 
R909-19-5.  Insurance. 
 (1)  Tow truck motor carriers performing emergency moves 
shall maintain liability insurance coverage of at least $750,000 per 
occurrence.  Tow truck motor carriers performing non-emergency 
moves shall maintain liability insurance coverage of at least 
$1,000,000 per occurrence. 
 (2)  [All t]Tow truck motor carriers performing consent or 
non-consent tows are required to obtain an MCS-90 endorsement for 
environmental restoration as required in 49 CFR Part 387 - Minimum 
Levels of Financial Responsibility for Motor Carriers. 

 (3)  Evidence of required insurance must be maintained at 
the principal place of business and made available to the Department 
or Investigator upon request and before issuance of the tow truck 
motor carrier certification. 
 
R909-19-6.  Penalties and Fines. 
 (1)  Any tow truck motor carrier that fails or neglects to 
comply with State or Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, other 
statutes, any part of this rule, any term or condition of the permit or 
any materials that it incorporates by reference or a Departmental 
order, is subject to: 
 (a)  a civil penalty as authorized by Sections 72-9-701, and 
72-9-703; 
 (b)  suspension or revocation of a carrier, operator, or tow 
truck certification, suspension, or revocation will be based upon the 
severity of violations to this rule, Sections 41-6a-1406 and 72-9-603; 
 (c)  issuance of a cease-and-desist order as authorized by 
Section 72-9-303; and 
 (d)  the revocation or suspension of registration by the Utah 
State Tax Commission under Section 72-9-303. 
 
R909-19-7.  Towing Notice Requirements. 
 (1)  [All ]N[n]on-consent police generated, and non-
consent non-police generated tows conducted by tow truck motor 
carriers must input required information in electronic form on the 
Division of Motor Vehicles [Utah ]State Tax Commission's website, 
at "https://secure.utah.gov/ivs/ivs" as required by Subsection 41-6a-
1406(11). 
 (2)  Tow truck motor carriers must notify the local 
enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the area from where the 
vehicle, vessel, or outboard motor was removed on [all ]non-consent 
non-police generated tows immediately upon arrival at the impound 
or storage yard. 
 (a)  For tows conducted on vehicles, vessels, and outboard 
motors and the owner information does not appear in the IVS or TLR 
(Title License Registration) systems, a tow truck motor carrier has 
met this requirement if they can provide proof that a letter has been 
sent to the Utah State Tax Commission Division of Motor Vehicle or 
the appropriate state where the vehicle, vessel, and outboard motor is 
registered, within two business days requesting the needed 
information to send the letter. 
 (3)  The tow truck motor carrier or the tow truck operator 
must provide a copy of the Utah Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding 
Towing at first contact with the owner of a vehicle, vessel, or 
outboard motor that was towed or for which a drop fee is paid. 
 (a)  The tow truck motor carrier must be able to verify that 
the consumer received their copy of the Utah Consumer Bill of Rights 
Regarding Towing. 
 (4)  The Utah Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding Towing 
shall contain the language and information as published at, 
https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-carriers/tow-
trucks/utah-bill-of-rights-regarding-towing/. 
 (a)  The consumer has a right to receive documentation 
from the tow truck motor carrier showing the date and time the 
storage began. 
 (b)  A consumer has the right to file a complaint alleging: 
 (i)  [O]overcharges; 
 (ii)  inadequate certification for the operator, truck or 
company, and; 
 (iii)  violations of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations, Utah Code Annotated, or Utah Administrative Code. 
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 (c)  Complaints may be filed online with the Utah 
Department of Transportation at https://app.udot.utah.gov/public/ 
mcs/f?p=345:3::::3 or by contacting the Motor Carrier Division at 
(801) 965-4892. 
 
R909-19-8.  [Certification.]Required Tow Truck Operator 
Certification. 
[ There are three certifications required by the Department. 
 (1)  Tow Truck Operator Certification.] 
 [(a)](1)  Effective July 1, 2004,[ all] tow truck operators 
will be tested and certified in accordance with Towing and Recovery 
Association of America Inc (TRAA) standards and carry evidence of 
certification for the appropriate level of vehicle they are operating.  
These standards of conduct and proficiency may be tested and 
certified through an accepted program approved by the Department. 
 [(b)](2)  Information on qualified certification programs 
may be obtained at the UDOT Motor Carrier Division website at 
https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-carriers/tow-
trucks/tow-truck-certification/ or by contacting the Motor Carrier 
Division at (801) 965-4892. 
 [(c)](3)  Tow truck motor carriers shall ensure that [all ]tow 
truck operators: 
 [(i)](a)  are properly trained and certified to operate tow 
truck equipment; 
 [(ii)](b)  are licensed, as required under Sections 53-3-101, 
through 53-3-909 Uniform Driver License Act; 
 [(iii)](c)  are complying with the requirements under 
Sections 41-6a-1406 and 72-9-603; 
 [(iv)](d)  have cleared the criminal background check 
required in Subsections 72-9-602(2) and (3). 
 (i)  In addition, a tow truck motor carrier must notify the 
Department of a tow truck operator who is not in compliance with 
Subsection 72-9-602(3) within two business days of obtaining 
knowledge from the Bureau of Criminal Identification. 
 [(v)](e)  obtain and maintain a valid medical examiner's 
certificate under 49 CFR Sec 391.45. 
[ (2)  Tow Truck Vehicle Certification.] 
 
R909-19-9.  Required Tow Truck Vehicle Certification. 
 [(a)](1)  [All t]Tow trucks shall receive and pass a tow truck 
certification inspection biannually. 
 [(b)](2)  [All t]Tow trucks must be equipped with the 
required safety equipment.  Safety Equipment List can be found at 
https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-carriers/tow-
trucks/tow-truck-certification/ or by calling 801-965-4892. 
 [(c)](3)  Upon vehicle certification, an UDOT certification 
sticker will be issued and shall be affixed to the driver's side rear 
window. 
 [(d)](4)  Documentation of UDOT tow truck vehicle 
certification shall be retained and available upon request by 
Department personnel. 
[ (3)  Tow truck motor carrier Certification.] 
 
R909-19-10.  Required Tow Truck Motor Carrier Certification. 
 [(a)  ]Tow truck motor carriers shall be certified bi-annually 
to ensure compliance as required by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations, Utah Code Annotated, Utah Administrative Code, and 
local laws [where ]when applicable. 
 

[R909-19-9.  Certification Fees.]R909-19-11.  Certification Fees. 
 The Department may charge tow truck motor carriers a fee 
biannually as authorized by Section 72-9-603 to cover costs 
associated with driver, vehicle, and carrier certifications. 
 
[R909-19-10.  Information Required on Towing Receipt.]R909-
19-12.  Information Required on Towing Receipt. 
 (1)  Charges for services provided must be clearly reflected 
on a company receipt and a copy shall be provided to the paying 
customer.  The receipt must include the following information: 
 (a)  company name; 
 (b)  address; 
 (c)  phone number; 
 (d)  transportation, administration, fuel surcharge, storage 
fees, and after-hours fees charged; 
 (e)  name of company driver; 
 (f)  unit number; 
 (g)  the license plate of the towed vehicle; 
 (h)  make, model, Vehicle Identification Number, and year 
of the towed vehicle; 
 (i)  start and end time with total hours for services provided; 
and 
 (j)  the date vehicle was retrieved from tow yard or other 
storage area. 
 (2)  Any charges for a consent tow should be listed on a 
separate towing receipt. 
 
[R909-19-11.  Non-Consent Towing Fee.]R909-19-13.  Non-
Consent Towing Fee. 
 (1)  A tow truck motor carrier may charge up to but not 
exceed the approved tow rate, based upon the type of non-consent 
tow, as indicated in the Towing Fee Schedule published online at 
https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-carriers/tow-
trucks/. 
 (a)  An additional 15% of the fee for tow truck service may 
be charged if the towed vehicle is used in the transportation of 
materials found to be hazardous [for the purposes of and ]in 
accordance with the Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and 
which require the motor vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous 
Materials Regulations, 49 CFR Part 172, subpart F. 
 (b)  If a tow truck apparatus is mechanically connected to a 
vehicle, the tow truck motor carrier shall be considered in possession 
of the vehicle. 
 (c)  If the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent 
of the owner of a motor vehicle is attempting to retrieve [said]that 
vehicle before the tow truck motor carrier is in possession of the 
vehicle, no fee shall be charged to the vehicle owner. 
 (d)(i)  If the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent 
of the owner of the vehicle is attempting to retrieve the vehicle after 
the tow truck motor carrier is in possession of the vehicle but before 
the vehicle is removed from the property or scene, the tow truck 
motor carrier shall relinquish the vehicle to the owner, authorized 
operator, or authorized agent of the owner upon payment of a drop 
fee.[the maximum fee shall not exceed 50% of the posted rate 
schedule.] 
 (ii)  A tow truck motor carrier may not charge a drop fee 
that exceeds 50% of the posted rate schedule. 
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 (e)  Charges for recovery operations, as defined by Section 
R909-19-3, shall be coordinated with the towed vehicle owner, or 
directed by law enforcement before initiating the additional charges 
relating to the recovery operation.  Coordination with the towed 
vehicle owner should result in an agreement between the towed 
vehicle owner and tow truck motor carrier. 
 (i)  If attempts to coordinate the recovery operation charges 
with the towed vehicle owner fail, law enforcement personnel may 
authorize the recovery operation. 
 (ii)  At least two attempts must be made to contact the 
towed vehicle owner. 
 (iii)  Record of owner coordination or law enforcement 
authorization shall be maintained by a tow truck motor carrier for 
each recovery operation.  The record shall include a contact name, 
entity, contact time and date, and agreement made. 
 (iv)  Uncoordinated or unauthorized recovery operation 
fees may be subject to penalty and reimbursement of recovery 
operation fees. 
 
[R909-19-12.  Police Generated Towing Fee Calculation.]R909-
19-14.  Police Generated Towing Fee Calculation. 
 (1)  Tows dispatched during business hours: Tow time shall 
be calculated from dispatch time to completion of tow service. 
 (2)  Tows dispatched after business hours:  Tow time shall 
be calculated from dispatch time to completion of tow service and 
return to dispatch location.  Time to return to the dispatch location 
[shall ]may not exceed the allowed rotation response time. 
 (3)  Time charged shall be to the nearest fifteen-minute 
increment. 
 (4)  Charges may not extend to include the towing notice 
requirement period pursuant to Subsections 72-9-603(1)(a)(i) and 41-
6a-1406(4)(a)(ii). 
 
[R909-19-13.  Non-consent Towing Storage Fee.]R909-19-15. 
Non-consent Towing Storage Fee. 
 (1)  Daily storage fees for non-consent [P]police generated 
tow service may not exceed: 
 (a)  Outside storage: light duty $40, medium duty $60, 
heavy duty $60. 
 (b)  Inside Storage: light duty $45, medium duty $85, heavy 
duty $85. 
 (c)  Outside hazardous materials: medium duty $115, heavy 
duty $115. 
 (d)  Inside hazardous materials: medium duty $165, heavy 
duty $165. 
 (2)  Daily storage fees for non-consent non-police 
generated tow service may not exceed: 
 (a)  Outside storage: light duty $40, medium duty $60, 
heavy duty $60. 
 (b)  Inside Storage: light duty $45, medium duty $85, heavy 
duty $85. 
 (c)  Outside hazardous materials: medium duty $115, heavy 
duty $115; and 
 (d)  Inside hazardous materials: medium duty $165, heavy 
duty $165. 
 (3)  A tow truck motor carrier may charge up to but not 
exceeding the amount for storage per day for the type of non-consent 
tow. 
 (a)  A tow truck motor carrier may charge a higher fee for 
inside storage per day per unit only if requested by the owners, or a 
law enforcement agency or highway authority. 

 (b)  Vehicles used in the transportation of materials found 
to be hazardous in accordance with [for the purposes of ]the 
Hazardous Materials Transportation Act and which require the motor 
vehicle to be placarded under the Hazardous Materials Regulations, 
49 CFR Part 172, subpart F may be charged a higher storage fee rate. 
 (c)  To calculate storage rates, if the first six hours of 
storage for a vehicle includes more than one day, the authorized 
storage fee is only the charge for one day. 
 (d)  Storage fees may only be charged if the place of storage 
is a state impound yard that meets the requirements of rules made by 
the commission under Subsection 41-1a-1101(5). 
 (e)  A tow truck motor carrier vehicle must store towed 
vehicles within the county where the tow occurred. 
 
[R909-19-14.  Non-consent Fuel Surcharge Fee.]R909-19-16.  
Non-consent Fuel Surcharge Fee. 
 (1)  A tow truck motor carrier may charge a fuel surcharge 
[when]if the daily Rocky Mountain Average, as determined by the 
Department of Energy, for the price of fuel reaches $3.25 per gallon, 
a tow truck motor carrier may charge a surcharge equal to 3% of the 
base tow rate.  An additional 3% shall be allowed for each $0.25 per 
gallon increase.  Conversely, as the price of fuel drops, the fuel 
surcharge shall decrease by the same rate. 
 (a)  To determine the Rocky Mountain daily average per 
gallon diesel cost, refer to the US Energy Information 
Administration's website at https://www.eia.gov/. 
 (b)  The fuel surcharge may be charged on non-consent 
police -generated tow [when ]if the vehicle is being used in the 
function of a tow vehicle such as travel to and from the scene and 
during the operation of equipment for the recovery operation.  Non-
consent non-police tows may charge a one-time fee. 
 (c)  Surcharge fee shall be listed as a separate fee on the 
tow bill. 
 
[R909-19-15.  Non-consent Administrative Fee.]R909-19-17.  
Non-consent Administrative Fee. 
 A tow truck motor carrier may charge an administrative fee 
for reporting the removal of up to but not exceeding the amount 
indicated in the Towing Fee Schedule as published online at, 
https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-carriers/tow-
trucks/ per vehicle notification for reporting non-consent tows to the 
Department of Motor Vehicles and for sending notifications to the 
owner and lien[-]holder, if applicable. 
 
[R909-19-16.  Non-consent After-Hours Fee.]R909-19-18.  Non-
consent After-Hours Fee. 
 (1)  A tow truck motor carrier may charge for the after-
hours release of a vehicle, vessel, or outboard motor stored in 
response to: 
 (a)  a peace officer dispatch call; 
 (b)  a motor vehicle division call; and 
 (c)  any other call or request where the owner of the vehicle, 
vessel, or outboard motor has not consented to the removal. 
 (2)  A tow truck motor carrier may charge up to but not 
exceed the approved tow rate, based upon the type of non-consent 
tow, as indicated in the Towing Fee Schedule published online at 
https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-carriers/tow-
trucks/ and the Utah Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding Towing 
published at https://site.utah.gov/connect/wp-
content/uploads/sites/50/2021/12/Tow-Truck-Bill-of-Rights-
Combined-2022-1.pdf. 
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 (3)  The After-hours fee shall be listed as a separate fee on 
the tow bill. 
 
[R909-19-17.  Tow Truck Service and Administrative Fee 
Adjustment.]R909-17-19.  Tow Truck Service and Administrative 
Fee Adjustment. 
 (1)  The Motor Carrier Division will establish the allowable 
maximum fee for a tow truck service and administrative fee for 
reporting the removal, as per Section 72-9-603. 
 The Towing Fees Schedule is published on the Division's 
website at https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-
carriers/tow-trucks/. 
 (2)  The allowable maximum fee for tow truck service and 
the maximum allowable administrative fee for reporting the removal 
shall be tied to the Consumer Price Index for [all ]Urban Wage 
Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W) in the West Urban Region of 
the US.  The CPI-W is calculated by the US Department of Labor, 
Bureau of Labor and Statistics (BLS), which publishes CPI Detailed 
Report Tables [every]each month on its website at 
https://www.bls.gov/cpi/tables/home.htm. 
 (3)  The Motor Carrier Division shall adjust the allowable 
maximum fees once annually as follows: 
 (a)  The base fee schedule for each calendar year after a 
year in which the Motor Carrier Division determines the allowable 
maximum fees pursuant to Subsection R909-19-11(1) shall be 
adjusted effective January 1 of each[ such] calendar year, the 
"Adjustment Date". 
 (b)  The adjustment amount of the allowable maximum fees 
shall be equal to the change in the CPI-W for the twelve-month period 
before the October CPI-W figure reported by the BLS immediately 
preceding the Adjustment Date in question. 
 (c)  If the twelve-month change in the CPI-W from October 
to October is negative, the allowable maximum fees shall remain 
unchanged until the next Adjustment Date. 
 (d)  The Division of Motor Carriers shall round the 
allowable maximum fees to the nearest whole number. 
 
[R909-19-18.  Public Consent Towing and Storage Rates.]R909-
19-20.  Public Consent Towing and Storage Rates. 
 Towing rates for public consent tows are the responsibility 
of the consumer and the tow truck motor carrier as contracted for 
services provided and are not regulated by the Department. 
 
[R909-19-19.  Rates and Storage Posting Requirements.]R909-
19-21.  Rates and Storage Posting Requirements. 
 Pursuant to Section 72-9-603, a tow truck motor carrier or 
impound yard shall clearly and conspicuously post and disclose [all 
]its current non-consent fees and rates for towing and storage of a 
vehicle at [all ]locations at which vehicles are retrieved, or payment 
is accepted. 
 
[R909-19-20.  Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Requirements.]R909-19-22.  Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Requirements. 
 [All t]Tow truck motor carriers that meet the definition of 
a commercial motor carrier shall comply with [all ]State and Federal 
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, in addition to any other legal 
requirements established in statute, rule, or permit. 
 

[R909-19-21.  Consumer Protection Information.]R909-19-23.  
Consumer Protection Information. 
 Pursuant to Section 72-9-602, the Department shall make 
consumer protection information available to the public that may use 
a tow truck motor carrier.  To obtain such information, including a 
list of tow truck motor carriers that are currently certified by the 
Department, the public can access this information online at 
https://www.udot.utah.gov/connect/business/motor-carriers/tow-
trucks/, or by calling the Motor Carrier Division at (801) 965-4892. 
 
[R909-19-22.  Establishment of Tow Truck Steering Committee 
and Work Group.]R909-19-24.  Establishment of Tow Truck 
Steering Committee and Work Group. 
 (1)  The Administrator for the Motor Carrier Division will 
establish a [S]steering [C]committee to provide advisory information 
and input. 
 (2)  The Motor Carrier Advisory Board, established by the 
[Governor]Department, will serve as the steering body for regulatory 
guidance and the Department's certification process. 
 
[R909-19-23.  Review of Rates, Fees, and Certification 
Process.]R909-19-25.  Review of Rates, Fees, and Certification 
Process. 
 (1)  During a regularly scheduled Motor Carrier Advisory 
Board meeting, the board may review rates, fees, tow truck motor 
carrier procedures, and the certification process.  The board is not 
required to review each of these items [every]each year. 
 (2)(a)  Interested parties must notify the Department of 
their desire to appear and be heard at a regularly scheduled Motor 
Carrier Advisory Board meeting.  To ensure placement on the agenda, 
notify the Motor Carrier Division at 801-965-4892, by the first day 
of the month of the scheduled meeting. 
 (b)  Interested parties must be present at the Motor Carrier 
Advisory Board meeting to submit evidence supporting or 
challenging proposed rate or fee adjustments, or issues related to 
procedures regarding the certification process. 
 
[R909-19-24.  Ability to Petition for Review.]R909-19-26.  Ability 
to Petition for Review. 
 Any tow truck motor carrier who believes the Division has 
acted wrongfully in denying or suspending certification or in 
imposing a cease-and-desist order may petition the Department for 
review of that action pursuant to [Utah Admin. Code ]Rule R907-1, 
Administrative Procedures. 
 
[R909-19-25.  Record Retention.]R909-19-27.  Record Retention. 
 Tow truck motor carriers shall retain records relating to 
rates charged for services for a period of six months after the service 
has been provided.  However, if the Division or the vehicle owner 
have notified the carrier that it disputes its ability to charge a 
particular fee, the carrier shall retain the record until six months after 
the dispute has concluded or a court rule or order requires a longer 
retention period. 
 
[R909-19-26.  Life-Essential Property.]R909-19-28.  Life-
Essential Property. 
 Property that is deemed as life-essential shall be given to 
the vehicle owner regardless of payment for services provided. 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R914-5 Filing ID:  
56221 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Transportation, Operations, 

Aeronautics 
Room number: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton Building 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-

580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Godin 801-
573-
7181 

jamesjgodin@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R914-5.  Advanced Air Mobility Aircraft Registration 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Department of Transportation (Department) proposes 
this new rule to establish a registration fee for an 
unmanned aircraft system and an advanced air mobility 
system, and to provide for the administration of that 
registration fee. 
 
This new rule is required by S.B. 24 passed in the 2023 
General Session. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This new rule establishes a registration and application 
process for aircraft that are part of an unmanned aircraft 
system or advanced air mobility system and that are used 
for commercial operations described under 14 C.F.R. Part 
107 or 135. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated substantial cost or savings to the 
state budget. 
 
However, pursuant to Subsection 72-10-110(7), after 
deducting the costs of administering aircraft inspections 
under this rule, the Department shall deposit all remaining 
registration fees into the Aeronautics Restricted Account, 
created by Section 72-2-126. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments, as this rule only pertains to commercial 
aircraft that are part of an advanced air mobility system or 
an unmanned aircraft system. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule may have a slight fiscal impact on small 
businesses that leverage advanced air mobility systems or 
unmanned aircraft systems for commercial purposes 
because this rule includes a registration fee for operating 
those aircraft. 
 
Because this is a new rule, the registration process has yet 
to commence, and the Department cannot ascertain how 
many small businesses this new rule might affect. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule may have a slight fiscal impact on non-small 
businesses that leverage advanced air mobility systems or 
unmanned aircraft systems for commercial purposes 
because this rule includes a registration fee for operating 
those aircraft. 
 
Because this is a new rule, the registration process has yet 
to commence, and the Department cannot ascertain how 
many non-small businesses this new rule might affect. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
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This rule may have a slight fiscal impact on other persons 
that leverage advanced air mobility systems or unmanned 
aircraft systems for commercial purposes because this 
rule includes a registration fee for operating those aircraft. 
 
Because this is a new rule, the registration process has yet 
to commence, and the Department cannot ascertain how 
many persons this new rule might affect. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
For persons registering an aircraft under this rule with a 
maximum gross operating weight of less than 55 pounds, 
compliance with this rule costs $15. 
 
For persons registering an aircraft under this rule with a 
maximum gross operating weight of 55 pounds or more, 
compliance with this rule costs $100. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation, Carlos M. Braceras, PE, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 72-10-102 Section 72-10-109 Section 72-10-110 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive Director 

Date: 11/20/2023 

 
R914.  Transportation, Operations, Aeronautics. 
R914-5.  Advanced Air Mobility Aircraft Registration. 
R914-5-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 The purpose of this rule is: 
 (1)  to establish a registration fee for an unmanned aircraft 
system and an advanced air mobility system as provided in Sections 
72-10-109 and 72-10-110; and 
 (2)  to provide for the administration of that registration fee. 
 
R914-5-2.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Advanced air mobility system" means the same as that 
term is defined in Section 72-10-102. 
 (2)  "Aircraft" means the same as that term is defined in 
Section 72-10-102. 
 (3)  "Maximum gross operating weight" means the 
maximum certified weight determined by the manufacturer at which 
the aircraft may operate, including everything that is on board or 
otherwise attached to the aircraft. 
 (4)  "Public aircraft" means the same as that term is defined 
in Section 72-10-102. 
 (5)(a)  "Qualifying aircraft" means an aircraft that is: 
 (i)  part of an advanced air mobility system or an unmanned 
aircraft system; and 
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 (ii)  used for commercial operation for which certification 
is required under 14 C.F.R. Part 107 or 135. 
 (b)  "Qualifying aircraft" does not include: 
 (i)  a public aircraft; 
 (ii)  an aircraft that is subject to property tax under Title 59, 
Chapter 2, Property Tax Act; 
 (iii)  an aircraft owned by a Utah institution of higher 
education or technical college unless the aircraft is used to carry 
persons or goods for commercial purposes; 
 (iv)  an aircraft which is owned by a nonresident and 
registered out of state, if the aircraft remains in the state for a period 
less than 90 days; or 
 (iv)  aircraft used exclusively for hobby or recreation. 
 (6)  "Unmanned aircraft system" means the same as that 
term is defined in Section 72-10-102. 
 
R914-5-3.  Registration Requirement--Application--Fee. 
 (1)(a)  A person may not operate a qualifying aircraft in this 
state unless the qualifying aircraft has a current certificate of 
registration issued by the department as provided in Section 72-10-
109. 
 (b)  A certificate of registration must be renewed annually 
with the department. 
 (2)  To receive an original certificate of registration for a 
qualifying aircraft or renew an existing certificate of registration, a 
person shall submit an application to the department as provided in 
this rule. 
 (3)  An application for aircraft registration under this rule 
shall contain: 
 (a)  a description of the aircraft, including: 
 (i)  manufacturer; 
 (ii)  model; 
 (iii)  current Federal Aviation Administration registration 
number; and 
 (iv)  maximum gross operating weight; 
 (b)  the legal name and address of each owner of the 
qualifying aircraft; 
 (c)  the legal name and address of the person responsible 
for payment of the registration fee; and 
 (d)  the location where the aircraft is usually used and the 
storage location of the aircraft when not in use. 
 (4)  As part of the application, an applicant shall include a 
registration fee as follows: 
 (a)  $15 for an aircraft with a maximum gross operating 
weight less than 55 pounds; or 
 (b)  $100 for an aircraft with a maximum gross operating 
weight of 55 pounds or more. 
 (5)  The department may send a notice to businesses that 
are reasonably likely to own and operate a qualifying aircraft 
informing the business that they may own an aircraft that is subject 
to registration under this rule. 
 (6)  The department, or its agent, may conduct compliance 
audits and inspections as needed to enforce applicable state laws and 
rules related to aircraft registration under this rule. 
 (7)  The department may suspend or revoke a registration 
described in this rule due to a failure to comply with federal or state 
aviation laws, rules, or regulations. 
 
KEY:  aircraft registration, drone, fee 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-10-102; 
72-10-109; 72-10-110 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal and Reenact 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R918-4 Filing ID:  
56225 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Operations, Maintenance 
Room number: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton Building 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-

580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Godin 801-
573-
7181 

jamesjgodin@agutah.gov 

Lori Lee Edwards 385-
341-
3414 

loriedwards@agutah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R918-4.  Using Volunteer Groups and Third-Party 
Contractors for the Adopt-a-Highway and Sponsor-a-
Highway Litter Pickup Programs 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Department of Transportation (Department) has 
discontinued its Adopt-a-Highway program, but a 
volunteer highway litter removal program will remain in 
place. 
 
The reenacted rule establishes a regulatory framework for 
individuals or groups who volunteer to remove litter from 
the state's highways. 
 
It also sets forth the requirements for entities participating 
in the Sponsor-a-Highway Program. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The repealed Rule R918-4 contained provisions 
establishing the application process and the conditions 
associated with the Adopt-a-Highway Program, see the 
current Sections R918-4-2 and R918-4-3.  These 
provisions do not exist in the reenacted Rule R918-4. 
 
The repealed Rule R918-4 contained explicit sections for 
the Department's discretion to allow use of right-of-way 
(Section R918-4-5); recognition signs (Section R918-4-6); 
and the Department's responsibilities (Section R918-4-8).  
These provisions no longer exist in explicit sections and 
are instead incorporated into the reenacted Sections 
R918-4-3 and R918-4-4. 
 
The provisions contained in the repealed Section R918-4-
7, Replacement of Signs, do not exist in the reenacted 
rule. 
 
The reenacted rule adds a definition section (Section 
R918-4-2), adds provisions establishing the requirements 
for individuals and groups participating in a volunteer litter 
removal program (Section R918-4-3), and expands upon 
the conditions of participating in the Sponsor-a-Highway 
Program (Section R918-4-4). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget, 
as this rule is clerical in nature and will have no impact on 
how the Department functions or the parties this applies 
to. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule change only sets forth the requirements for 
individuals or groups wishing to participate in a volunteer 
program for litter cleanup, or entities participating in the 
Sponsor-a-Highway Program.  There is no tangible cost 
associated with participating in such a program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on small 
businesses. 
 
This rule change only sets forth the requirements for 
individuals or groups wishing to participate in a volunteer 
program for litter cleanup, or entities participating in the 
Sponsor-a-Highway Program.  There is no tangible cost 
associated with participating in such a program. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on non-small 
businesses. 
 
This rule change only sets forth the requirements for 
individuals or groups wishing to participate in a volunteer 
program for litter cleanup, or entities participating in the 
Sponsor-a-Highway Program.  There is no tangible cost 
associated with participating in such a program. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on other 
persons. 
 
This rule change only sets forth the requirements for 
individuals or groups wishing to participate in a volunteer 
program for litter cleanup, or entities participating in the 
Sponsor-a-Highway Program.  There is no tangible cost 
associated with participating in such a program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule change does not create compliance costs for 
affected persons. 
 
This rule change only sets forth the requirements for 
individuals or groups wishing to participate in a volunteer 
program for litter cleanup, or entities participating in the 
Sponsor-a-Highway Program. There is no tangible cost 
associated with participating in such a program. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation, Carlos M. Braceras, PE, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 72-1-201   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive Director 

Date: 11/21/2023 

 
R918.  Transportation, Operations, Maintenance. 
[R918-4.  Using Volunteer Groups and Third-Party Contractors 
for the Adopt-a-Highway and Sponsor-a-Highway Litter Pickup 
Programs. 

R918-4-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 The purpose of this rule is to establish a procedure for using 
volunteer groups and third-party contractors for litter pickup and to 
provide additional resources to increase UDOT's litter control effort 
at a minimal cost.  This program is not operated to provide a highway 
signing program for a free speech forum.  This rule is enacted under 
the general rulemaking authority in Section 72-1-201. 
 
R918-4-2.  Application for the Adopt-A-Highway Program. 
 (1)  A group or person who wishes to participate in a 
program to pick up litter along UDOT right-of-way may apply with 
the UDOT Region in which the right-of-way is located.  The 
application will contain, at a minimum, the name of the organization 
or person, the right-of-way requested, along with alternatives if 
desired, the name and address of a contact person, and the name of 
the sponsoring organization requested to be placed on the 
Recognition Sign.  UDOT may provide an application form or 
agreement to formalize the terms and conditions of this rule. 
 (2)  If the name of an organization is to appear on the sign, 
the applicant must submit, upon request, documentation from the 
state showing the form, status, and official name of the entity.  Only 
the official name of the organization will be printed on the sign. 
 (3)  UDOT also coordinates a program similar to Adopt-A-
Highway, known as Sponsor-A-Highway, wherein a private 
contractor performs the actual litter pickup on behalf of local 
businesses or other entities ("sponsors") in return for a sponsorship 
fee.  The sponsoring entity is recognized with a sign.  A business, 
government entity, group, or person who wishes to participate in the 
Sponsor-A-Highway program may apply to the contractor.  The 
contractor must submit the name of the entity, sponsorship segment, 
and proposed Sponsor-A-Highway sign rendering to UDOT for 
approval. 
 
R918-4-3.  Conditions of Adopt-A-Highway Participation. 
 If the Adopt-A-Highway application is granted, UDOT will 
notify the applicant's contact person in writing and promptly send to 
him or her a contract that sets forth the following basic conditions: 
 (1)  the location of the right-of-way; 
 (2)  a hold harmless agreement, waiver of liability, and 
indemnification for third-party claims; 
 (3)  safety rules; 
 (4)  information concerning safety apparel that must be 
used and that which is recommended; 
 (5)  the name of the entity or organization that is applying 
for the permit; 
 (6)  an explanation of the condition in which UDOT 
expects the applicant to keep the roadway and notification that the 
decision whether the applicant has done so is solely within UDOT's 
discretion; 
 (7)  notification of reasons for termination, which include 
failure to comply with any part of the agreement, fraud in the 
application, failure to follow safety requirements or commands; 
 (8)  a date when the agreement will terminate, along with 
any automatic renewal provisions; 
 (9)  volunteer groups must provide a responsible supervisor 
to properly control the activities of the group, with the expertise and 
degree of supervision to be decided by UDOT; 
 (10)  no person under the age of fourteen years may 
participate in the litter pick-up program or be on the right-of-way; 
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 (11)  volunteers must accept and receive safety instructions 
by the Region Safety/Risk Manager, or designee; 
 (12)  volunteers must stay off the traveled area of the 
roadway, except when traveled area must be crossed, with any 
crossing being done by the entire group together along with the 
signing, flagging, or supervision directed by the Region Safety/Risk 
Manager or designee; 
 (13)  volunteers must stay off the traveled areas of Interstate 
Routes, Freeways, and divided highways at all times; 
 (14)  in areas where the Region Director or Safety/Risk 
Manager or Traffic Engineer believes it appropriate, the applicant 
must use advance warning signs; 
 (15)  work must be done during daylight hours; 
 (16)  such other information as UDOT believes may be 
required to adequately advise the applicant of its responsibilities and 
provide for the public safety; 
 (17)  clean up the assigned right-of-way at least three times 
a year as well as when UDOT specifically requests; and 
 (18)  notify UDOT as soon as reasonably possible if they 
find items that appear suspicious or unsafe, i.e., syringes, drug 
paraphernalia, or closed containers. 
 
R918-4-4.  Conditions of Sponsor-A-Highway Participation. 
 A business, government entity, group, or person 
participating in the Sponsor-A-Highway program must: 
 (1)  be legally empowered to enter a contract in the state of 
Utah; and 
 (2)  use their legal name or a registered DBA name. 
 
R918-4-5.  UDOT discretion to allow use of right-of-way. 
 (1)  Nothing in this rule or any other UDOT rule may be 
construed to require UDOT to make any portion of right-of-way 
available for litter pick up.  The decision whether to do so is 
exclusively within UDOT's discretion.  Similarly, the decision to take 
a route out of the litter pick-up program is also within UDOT's 
exclusive discretion even if the route is currently available and being 
used for litter pick-up. 
 (2)  Should UDOT determine that a route no longer 
qualifies for participation in the Adopt-a-Highway program, UDOT 
will notify the person or organization assigned the route of that 
determination.  The notification constitutes termination of the 
contract, regardless of how much time is left on the contract. 
 (3)  UDOT may also terminate a contract at any time if it 
determines that continuing the contract would be counterproductive 
to the program's purpose or have undesirable results such as 
vandalism, increased litter, or would otherwise jeopardize the safety 
of the participants, the traveling public, or UDOT employees. 
 
R918-4-6.  Recognition Signs. 
 (1)  If the applicant's authorized representative (contact 
person) signs the contract provided by UDOT, UDOT will place a 
recognition sign along the route, if all other conditions are met.  
UDOT will not place either slogans or logos on Adopt-A-Highway 
signs.  The name may be edited to comply with space limitations. 
 (2)  Slogans, DBA names, registered trademarks, and 
registered service marks may be included on Sponsor-A-Highway 
signs, subject to UDOT review and approval. 
 
R918-4-7.  Replacement of Signs. 
 (1)  Adopt-A-Highway Signs: UDOT will not replace 
damaged or missing signs unless the damage was due to weather or 

other natural cause and then only if there is sufficient funding.  In no 
case will UDOT replace a sign more than once every five years. 
 (2)  Sponsor-A-Highway Signs: Sponsor-A-Highway signs 
remain the property of the Sponsor-A-Highway contractor. 
 
R918-4-8.  UDOT's Responsibilities. 
 UDOT will: 
 (1)  furnish volunteers with UDOT-standard vests, which 
must be returned after cleanup activities are completed; 
 (2)  furnish litter bags, which, when filled, must be placed 
along the shoulder of the road for collection by UDOT personnel; 
 (3)  furnish advance warning signs in areas where the 
Region Director, Safety/Risk Manager, or Traffic Engineer believes 
it appropriate; and 
 (4)  install contractor furnished Sponsor-A-Highway signs 
at locations designated by the Region Traffic Engineer and maintain 
the sign base, posts, and mounting hardware.] 
R918-4.  Using Volunteers and Third-Party Contractors for 
Litter Control. 
R918-4-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 This rule establishes UDOT's requirements for authorizing 
volunteers and third-party contractors to assist in litter control in 
UDOT right-of-way, including along roadways and trails. This rule 
is enacted under the general rulemaking authority granted to UDOT 
in Section 72-1-201. 
 
R918-4-2.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  "Sponsor-a-Highway Program" means a program in 
which a third-party contractor, approved by UDOT, provides litter 
control along a segment of UDOT right-of-way on behalf of a 
sponsoring entity. 
 (2)  "UDOT" means the Utah Department of 
Transportation. 
 (3)  "Volunteer program" means a program in which an 
individual or group volunteers to provide one-time litter cleanup 
along a segment of UDOT right-of-way. 
 
R918-4-3.  Requirements for Individuals and Groups to 
Participate in a Volunteer Program for Litter Cleanup. 
 (1)  Before an individual or group may participate in a 
volunteer program to clean up litter along a segment of UDOT right-
of-way: 
 (a)  the individual or group must complete and submit an 
online application, in a form prescribed by UDOT, at UDOT's 
website; and 
 (b)  the individual or each member of a group seeking to 
participate in the volunteer program must sign, in a form prescribed 
by UDOT, a release and liability waiver. 
 (2)  At UDOT's discretion, UDOT may deny an application 
to participate in a volunteer program or revoke a previously approved 
application for any reason. 
 (3)  While participating in a volunteer program, each 
participant in the volunteer program shall agree to: 
 (a)  stay off traveled areas of interstate routes, freeways, 
and divided highways at all times, and only cross other roadways at 
designated crossings; 
 (b)  if required by UDOT, use advance warning signs 
furnished by UDOT; 
 (c)  perform litter cleanup only at the location and on the 
date and time agreed to by UDOT and, in any event, only during 
daylight hours; 
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 (d)  notify a UDOT representative as soon as practicable if 
suspicious or unsafe materials are noticed along the right-of-way, 
including syringes, drug paraphernalia, or closed containers; and 
 (e)  follow all other requirements required by UDOT to 
maintain the safety of volunteer program participants and other 
members of the public. 
 (4)(a)  At UDOT's discretion, or at the request of a 
participating individual or group, UDOT will furnish litter bags and 
safety equipment to volunteer program participants. 
 (b)  When UDOT supplies litter bags and safety equipment 
to volunteer program participants, volunteer program participants 
shall use the litter bags and safety equipment as instructed by UDOT. 
 (5)  To participate in a volunteer program, a participant 
must be at least 14 years of age. 
 
R918-4-4.  Requirements for the Sponsor-a-Highway Program. 
 (1)  UDOT may enter into an agreement with one or more 
third-party entities to operate a Sponsor-a-Highway Program. 
 (2)  After entering into an agreement with UDOT to operate 
a Sponsor-a-Highway Program, the third-party entity may enter into 
an agreement with one or more local businesses or other sponsoring 
entities whereby the third-party entity agrees, in exchange for 
payment from the local business or other sponsoring entity, to: 
 (a)  clean up litter on one or more segments of UDOT right-
of-way along a UDOT highway; and 
 (b)  to install and maintain on the corresponding segments 
of UDOT highway one or more acknowledgment signs with the name 
or logo of the local business or other sponsoring entity. 
 (3)  Any local business or other sponsoring entity 
participating in the Sponsor-a-Highway Program must: 
 (a)  be legally authorized to enter a contract in the state; and 
 (b)  use the entity's legal name or a registered DBA name. 
 (4)  Before installing an acknowledgment sign under 
Subsection (2), a third-party entity must obtain approval from UDOT 
regarding the size, information on, and location of the 
acknowledgment sign. 
 (5)  Before performing maintenance on an 
acknowledgment sign under Subsection (2), a third party must obtain 
approval from UDOT. 
 (6)  Subject to UDOT approval, an acknowledgment sign 
under the Sponsor-a-Highway Program may contain any combination 
of a local business's or other sponsoring entity's slogans, DBA names, 
registered trademarks, or registered service marks. 
 (7)  The Sponsor-a-Highway Program is not intended as a 
free speech forum. 
 (8)  UDOT may at any time and for any reason: 
 (a)  revoke the right for a third-party entity, a local business, 
or other sponsoring entity to participate in the Sponsor-a-Highway 
Program; and 
 (b)  remove a Sponsor-a-Highway Program 
acknowledgment sign. 
 
KEY:  adopt-a-highway, sponsor-a-highway, litter, volunteer 
Date of Last Change:  2024[March 26, 2019] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 15, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-1-201 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R940-6 Filing ID:  
56222 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton Building 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Name: 
Leif Elder 801-

580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Godin 801-
573-
7181 

jamesjgodin@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R940-6.  Prioritization of New Transportation Capacity 
Projects 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule change clarifies or otherwise updates the 
language in Rule R940-6 and incorporates changes to the 
prioritization process for transportation projects approved 
by the Transportation Commission at its August 2023 
meeting. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This is the rule that sets forth the process for prioritizing 
TIF highway projects, TIF active projects, TTIF transit 
projects, and TTIF first/last mile projects.  The Department 
of Transportation (Department) and Transportation 
Commission (Commission) have worked on revising these 
processes over the last year. 
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At its August 2023 meeting, the Commission gave final 
approval to the prioritization process changes.  This rule 
incorporates the document that describes the process and 
specifies the meeting at which the Commission approved 
it.  In the future, if the Commission approves changes to 
the prioritization document, this rule will have to be 
modified to reflect the new approval date. 
 
Other changes to the rule include: 
1) modifying the web address for the prioritization 
document; 
2) clarifying what capacity means for a TTIF transit project; 
3) harmonizing matching requirements with recently 
passed legislation; 
4) clarifying how the match requirement will be calculated; 
5) updating rule language dealing with projects that are 
included on the input list to be consistent with current 
practices; and 
6) updating language to conform with the Rulewriting 
Manual for Utah. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget, 
as this rule is clerical in nature. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule change only clarifies pre-existing requirements 
for local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on small 
businesses. 
 
This rule only affects the Department and local 
governments. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule change does not have a fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses nor will a service be required of 
them to implement the amendments. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

The proposed rule change does not have a fiscal impact 
on other persons nor will a service be required of them to 
implement the amendments. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
The changes simply add clarification to requirements and 
policy with no fiscal impact on other entities. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation, Carlos M. Braceras, PE, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
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Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 72-1-201 Section 72-1-304  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Section 72-1-304 Written project  
prioritization process for new  
transportation capacity projects - 
Rulemaking 

Publisher Utah Code Annotated 

Issue Date May 3, 2023 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive Director 

Date: 11/20/2023 

 
R940.  Transportation Commission, Administration. 
R940-6.  Prioritization of New Transportation Capacity Projects. 
R940-6-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  [Authority.  ]The commission makes this 
administrative rule pursuant to authority delegated by Subsection 72-
1-304(4). 
 (2)  [Purpose.  ]This administrative rule is to provide a 
procedure the commission will follow to satisfy the requirements of 
Section 72-1-304. 
 
R940-6-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commission" means the Utah Transportation 
Commission created by Subsection 72-1-301(1). 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Transportation created by Subsection 72-1-201(1). 
 (3)  "Department a[A]pproved a[A]ctive t[T]ransportation 
p[P]lan" means an active transportation plan approved by the 
d[D]epartment. 

 (4)  "District" means a p[P]ublic t[T]ransit d[D]istrict 
established in accordance with Title 17B Limited Purpose Local 
Government Entities - Special Districts. 
 (5)  "Fixed g[G]uideway p[P]ublic t[T]ransit" means a 
public transit facility that uses or occupies rail for the use of public 
transit or a separate right-of-way for the use of public transit such as 
bus rapid transit systems. 
 (6)  "Fund a[A]llocation p[P]ercentage" means the 
[percentage of funding ]fund request amount as a percentage of the 
total funding amount for a TIF a[A]ctive t[T]ransportation project, 
TTIF f[F]irst and l[L]ast m[M]ile project, or TTIF transit[Transit] 
project[ coming from TIF or TTIF funds]. 
 (7)  "Fund r[R]equest a[A]mount" means the funding 
amount requested by a local government or district from either TIF 
or TTIF for a TIF a[A]ctive t[T]ransportation project, TTIF f[F]irst 
and l[L]ast m[M]ile project, or TTIF t[T]ransit project. 
 (8)  "In-kind match" means a non-cash match[matches] 
including a service[s (labor)], right-of-way, construction materials, or 
labor/equipment time valued at fair market value. 
 (9)  "Input l[L]ist" means the list of projects that will be 
used in the prioritization process. 
 (10)  "Match" means the[ 40%] matching funds used to 
meet the matching requirement[required by and] described[detailed] 
in Section 72-2-124. 
 (11)  "Long-r[R]ange t[T]ransportation p[P]lan" or "LRP" 
means any one of the five plans developed by the department and the 
state's four MPOs that forecast the state's transportation needs for the 
next 20-plus years, also known as a[the] r[R]egional 
t[T]ransportation p[P]lan[s] or RTP[s]. 
 (12)  "Metropolitan p[P]lanning o[O]rganization" or 
"MPO" means the same as it is defined by Subsection 72-1-208.5(1). 
 (13)  "Required m[M]atch p[P]ercentage" means the match 
percentage required for TIF a[A]ctive t[T]ransportation projects, 
TTIF f[F]irst and l[L]ast m[M]ile projects, and TTIF t[T]ransit 
projects described in Section 72-2-124. 
 (14)  "Statewide s[S]trategic i[I]nitiative" or "SSI" means 
initiatives the d[D]epartment is required by Section 72-1-211 to 
develop and adopt[ by Section 72-1-211]. 
 (15)  "Strategic g[G]oals" means the department[Utah 
Department of Transportation]'s strategic goals. 
 (16)  "TIF a[A]ctive t[T]ransportation p[P]rojects" means 
paved pedestrian or paved nonmotorized transportation projects per 
Section 72-2-124. 
 (17)  "TIF h[H]ighway p[P]rojects" means projects on state 
and federal highways per Section 72-2-124. 
 (18)  "Total funding amount" means the summation of the 
fund request amount and the match, including the value of any in-
kind match. 
 (19[8])  "Transportation i[I]nvestment f[F]und" or "TIF" 
means the capital projects fund created in 2005 by Subsection 72-2-
124(1). 
 (20[19])  "Transit t[T]ransportation i[I]nvestment f[F]und" 
or "TTIF" means the fund within the Transportation Investment Fund 
of 2005 created by Subsection 72-2-124(9). 
 (21[0])  "TTIF f[F]irst and l[L]ast m[M]ile p[P]rojects" 
means pedestrian or nonmotorized transportation projects that 
provide[provides] connection to a public transit system as described 
in[per] Section 72-2-124. 
 (22[1])  "TTIF t[T]ransit p[P]rojects" means public transit 
capital development projects as described in[per] Section 72-2-124. 
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 (23[2])  "UDOT p[P]lanning" or "p[P]lanning" means the 
Planning Division of the Program Development Group of the 
department[Utah Department of Transportation]. 
 
R940-6-3.  Prioritization Requirements. 
 The commission, in consultation with the department and 
the MPOs, will develop a written prioritization process to determine 
priorities and funding levels of TIF active transportation, TTIF first 
and last mile, TIF highway, TTIF transit projects[ in the state 
transportation systems and capital development of new public transit 
facilities for each fiscal year], taking into consideration the 
department's s[S]tatewide s[S]trategic i[I]nitiatives described in 
Section 72-1-211 and the department's strategic goals. 
 
R940-6-4.  Prioritization Process. 
 (1)  The document "Prioritization Process Documentation," 
which was developed pursuant to the requirements of Section 72-1-
304 (May 3, 2023) and was approved by the commission at its August 
18, 2023 meeting, is incorporated by reference and may be accessed 
at https://projectprioritization.udot.utah.gov/models.[The 
commission's written prioritization process, developed pursuant to 
the requirements of Section 72-1-304 and called "New 
Transportation Capacity Project Prioritization Process," having been 
reviewed and its implementation voted on in a properly noticed 
public meeting, is incorporated by reference and may be accessed at 
this Internet address: udot.utah.gov/go/projectprioritizationprocess.] 
 (2)  The commission will provide notice of proposed 
amendments to the prioritization process in a public meeting, and 
provide an opportunity for public comments [prior to ]before 
amending the prioritization process.  Amendments to the 
prioritization process will not affect projects that have already been 
funded. 
 (3)(a)  If a state highway capacity project[TIF Highway 
Project] is identified in p[P]hase 1 of an[the] LRP and the total project 
cost estimate is more than $5,000,000 it will be included in the 
i[I]nput l[L]ist for TIF highway projects. 
 (b)  The commission may consider additional TIF highway 
projects for prioritization beyond those identified in p[P]hase I of 
an[the] LRP if during the development of the LRP the projects[they] 
were determined to be a p[P]hase I need. 
[ (3)  If a TIF Active Transportation Project is in a 
Department Approved Active Transportation Plan and designated by 
the department, in consultation with the MPOs, as regionally 
important it will be included in the Input List.] 
 (4)(a)  If a public transit capital development project of new 
capacity[TTIF Transit Project] is identified in p[P]hase 1 of an[the] 
LRP it will be included in the i[I]nput l[L]ist for TTIF transit projects. 
 (b[a])  The commission may consider additional TTIF 
transit projects for prioritization beyond those identified in p[P]hase 
I of an[the] LRP if during the development of the LRP the 
projects[they] were determined to be a p[P]hase I need. 
 
R940-6-5.  Requirements and Process for Project Nomination by 
Local Government or District. 
 (1)  Local governments or districts may nominate projects 
for prioritization. 
 (2)  The nomination requirements are[process is] as 
follows: 
 (a)  TIF Highway Projects. 
 (i)  A local government or district may nominate a project 
to the commission at this i[I]nternet address: 
https://projectprioritization.udot.utah.gov/nominations[udot.utah. 

gov/go/projectprioritizationprocess].  Nominations must identify the 
project sponsor's name, address, phone number, and email address 
and include a detailed description of the nominated project including 
why the project is important to the local government or district. The 
local government or district must also demonstrate that the 
nominated project: 
 (A)  is on a state highway; or 
 (B)  will likely result in a road that meets the criteria of a 
state highway as described in Section 72-4-102.5 and that the local 
government wants designated as a state highway. 
[ (ii)  The commission will determine if the nominated 
projects will be included in the Input List.  The factors used in this 
determination may include, but are not limited to the following: 
 (A)  If, during the development of the LRP, the Project was 
determined to be a Phase I need. 
 (B)  If there are any proposed additional funding sources.] 
 (b)  TIF Active Transportation Projects. 
 (i)  A local government or district may nominate a project 
to the commission[Transportation Commission] at this i[I]nternet 
address: 
https://projectprioritization.udot.utah.gov/nominations[udot.utah.go
v/go/projectprioritizationprocess].  Nominations must identify the 
project sponsor's name, address, phone number, and email address 
and include a detailed description of the nominated project.  The local 
government or district[nomination] must also demonstrate that the 
nominated project meets the following requirements: 
 (A)  [That ]the project is part of[in] a d[D]epartment 
a[A]pproved a[A]ctive t[T]ransportation p[P]lan;[ and] 
 (B)  [that ]the project will mitigate traffic congestion on the 
state highway system;[ and] 
 (C)  there is an ongoing funding plan for maintenance and 
operations;[that the local government or district will be responsible 
for the maintenance of the facility; and] 
 (D)  [how ]the match requirement will be met[match will 
be met.]; 
 (E)  there is a reasonable cost estimate for the project and 
sufficient information to explain the reasoning behind the estimate; 
and 
 (F)  there is a plan to address any costs that exceed the local 
government's or district's cost estimate. 
[ (I)  The match may be an in-kind match; and 
 (II)  The required match amount will be calculated as 
follows: 
 The Fund Request Amount divided by the Fund Allocation 
Percentage multiplied by the Required Match Percentage. 
 For example: 
 For a Fund Request Amount of $600,000 a Fund Allocation 
Percentage of 60 % and a Required Match Percentage of 40 % the 
required match amount would be $400,000. ($600,000 divided by 
0.6) times 0.4 equals $400,000. 
 (III)  If a nominated project meets the requirements it will 
be included in the Input List. 
 (IV)  The commission may request additional information 
from the project sponsor.] 
 (c)  TTIF Transit Projects. 
 (i)  A local government or district may nominate a project 
to the Transportation Commission at this i[I]nternet address: 
https://projectprioritization.udot.utah.gov/nominations[udot.utah.go
v/go/projectprioritizationprocess].  Nominations must identify the 
project sponsor's name, address, phone number, and email address 
and include a detailed description of the nominated project.  The local 
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government or district [nomination ]must also demonstrate that the 
nominated project meets the following requirements: 
 (A)  T[That t]here is an ongoing funding plan for 
maintenance and operations.  If the project sponsor is a local 
government, this will require documentation from the transit operator 
that the project will be accommodated within the transit operator's 
maintenance and operations plans. 
 (B)  The local government or district will meet the match 
requirement[How the match will be met]. 
[ (I)  The match may be an in-kind match; and 
 (II)  The required match amount will be calculated as 
follows: 
 The Fund Request Amount divided by the Fund Allocation 
Percentage multiplied by the Required Match Percentage. 
 For example: 
 For a Fund Request Amount of $600,000 a Fund Allocation 
Percentage of 60 % and a Required Match Percentage of 40 % the 
required match amount would be $400,000. ($600,000 divided by 
0.6) times 0.4 equals $400,000.] 
 (C)  If the nominated project would provide new fixed 
guideway public transit service within an MPO boundary, the project 
is identified in p[P]hase 1 of an[the] LRP or, during the development 
of an[the] LRP, the p[P]roject was determined to be a p[P]hase 1 
need. 
 (D)  The majority of project costs are for components that 
directly add capacity to a public transit system such as additional or 
more frequent bus, fixed guideway public transit, shuttle, street car, 
or vanpool service.[ (I)  If a nominated project meets the 
requirements it will be included in the Input List. 
 (II)  The commission may request additional information 
from the project sponsor.] 
 (d)  TTIF First and Last Mile Projects. 
 (i)  A local government or district may nominate a project 
to the commission[Transportation Commission] at this i[I]nternet 
address: 
https://projectprioritization.udot.utah.gov/nominations[udot.utah.go
v/go/projectprioritizationprocess].  Nominations must identify the 
project sponsor's name, address, phone number, and email address 
and include a detailed description of the nominated project.  The local 
government or district[nomination] must also demonstrate that the 
nominated project meets the following requirements: 
 (A)  there is an ongoing funding plan for maintenance and 
operations;[That the local government or district will be responsible 
for the maintenance of the facility; and] 
 (B[I])  the match requirement will be met[How the match 
will be met.]; and 
[ (II)  The match may be an in-kind match; and 
 (III)  The required match amount will be calculated as 
follows: 
 The Fund Request Amount divided by the Fund Allocation 
Percentage multiplied by the Required Match Percentage. 
 For example:  For a Fund Request Amount of $600,000 a 
Fund Allocation Percentage of 60 % and a Required Match 

Percentage of 40 % the required match amount would be $400,000. 
($600,000 divided by 0.6) times 0.4 equals $400,000.] 
 (C[B])  [That ]the project will connect and improve access 
to transit. 
[ (I)  If a nominated project meets the requirements it will be 
included in the Input List. 
 (II)  The commission may request additional information 
from the project sponsor.] 
 (3)(a)  With the exception of a nominated TIF highway 
project, the commission will include each nominated project that 
meets the requirements of Subsection (2) in the applicable input list. 
 (b)  The commission will determine if a nominated TIF 
highway project will be included in the input list. The factors used in 
this determination may include the following: 
 (i)  if, during the development of an LRP, a project was 
determined to be a phase I need; and 
 (ii)  if there are any proposed additional funding sources. 
 (4)  The commission may request additional information 
for a nominated project from the project sponsor. 
 (5)(a)  A match requirement for a nominated project may 
include an in-kind match. 
 (b)  To determine whether the match for a nominated 
project meets the required match percentage, the department will 
divide the match amount, including the value of any in-kind match, 
by the total funding amount. 
 (c)  If the amount calculated under Subsection (3)(b) is 
equal to or greater than the required match percentage, the 
department will determine the match requirement to be met. 
 (d)  For example, for a project with a required match 
percentage of 30%, a fund request amount of $700,000, and a match 
of $300,000, the amount calculated under Subsection (c) would be 
.30 ($300,000 divided by $1,000,000). Because .30 equals 30%, the 
local government or district would meet the match requirement. 
 
R940-6-6.  Commission Discretion. 
 The commission, in consultation with the department, may 
establish additional criteria or use other considerations in establishing 
funding levels for TIF active transportation, TTIF first and last mile, 
TIF highway, TTIF transit[capacity] projects.  As provided in Section 
72-1-305, if the commission approves funding for a project over 
another project that has a higher prioritization rank under the criteria 
set forth in Section R940-6-4, the commission will identify the 
change, and the reasons for it and accept public comment at a public 
meeting. 
 
KEY:  transportation commission, roads, transit capacity 
Date of Last Change:  2024[December 30, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 30, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-1-201; 
72-1-304 
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive comment that requires the 
PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to respond 
to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
While the law does not designate a comment period for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends January 17, 2024. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only those 
changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding them ([example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text, 
either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to 
print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print 
is available from the agency or from the Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
From the end of the 30-day waiting period through April 15, 2024, an agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE becomes 
the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor more than 120 
days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates a public comment period, 
the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more 
than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in 
response to additional comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, the CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, 
R15-4-5b, R15-4-7, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
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NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE (SECOND) 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R590-190 Filing ID: 55510 

Date of Previous  
Publications: 

07/15/2023 then 10/15/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-190.  Unfair Property, Casualty, and Title Claims 
Settlement Practices Rule 
 
3.  Reason for this change: 
The original proposed repeal and reenact and subsequent 
first change in proposed rule (CPR) of this rule is being 
changed because the Department of Insurance 
(Department) has determined that the amendments are 
more properly made in statute versus rule. 
 
4.  Summary of this change: 

This filing removes two protections for consumers from 
Subsection R590-190-11(9) in favor of strengthening the 
protections by adding them to statute.  The protections 
being removed are anticipated to be added to a bill during 
the 2024 General Session. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  This is the second change in proposed 
rule (CPR) for Rule R590-190, ID 55510.  The original 
proposed repeal and reenact upon which the first CPR was 
based was published in the July 15, 2023, issue of the 
Utah State Bulletin, on page 39.  The first CPR upon which 
this second CPR is based was published in the October 
15, 2023, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 233.  

Underlining in the rule below indicates text that has been 
added since the publication of the proposed rule 
mentioned above; strike-out indicates text that has been 
deleted.  You must view the first CPR, the second CPR, 
and the proposed repeal and reenact together to 
understand all of the changes that will be enforceable 
should the agency make this rule effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget; 
however, any budget estimates will be provided in a fiscal 
note during the legislative process. 
 
B)  Local government: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments; however, any budget estimates will be 
provided in a fiscal note during the legislative process. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses; however, any budget estimates will be 
provided in a fiscal note during the legislative process. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is an anticipated cost to certain non-small 
businesses; however, any budget estimates will be 
provided in a fiscal note during the legislative process. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons; however, any budget estimates will be provided 
in a fiscal note during the legislative process. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
There is a compliance cost for automobile insurers to the 
extent the change requires them to pay more in automobile 
insurance benefits; however, any budget estimates will be 
provided in a fiscal note during the legislative process. 
  
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 



  NOTICES OF CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, December 15, 2023, Vol. 2023, No. 24 87 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-21-312 
Section 
31A-26-301 

Section 
31A-26-303 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 

agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/17/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY become 
effective on:  

01/24/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information  
Officer 

Date: 11/28/2023 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-190.  Unfair Property, Casualty, and Title Claims 
Settlement Practices Rule. 
R590-190-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-21-312, 31A-26-301, and 31A-26-303. 
 
R590-190-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  set standards for the investigation and disposition of 
property, casualty, and title claims; and 
 (b)  identify an unfair claim practice. 
 (2)  This rule applies to: 
 (a)  a property and casualty insurer; 
 (b)  a title insurer; and 
 (c)  an authorized agent. 
 
R590-190-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301.  
Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "Authorized agent" means an individual, corporation, 
association, organization, partnership, or other legal entity authorized 
to represent an insurer with respect to a claim. 
 (2)  "Claim file" means a record either in its original form 
or as recorded by a process that can accurately and reliably 
reproducer the original material regarding a claim, its investigation, 
adjustment, and settlement. 
 (3)(a)  "Claimant" means a first party claimant, a third party 
claimant, or both. 
 (b)  "Claimant" includes a claimant's designated legal 
representative and an immediate family member. 
 (4)  "Day" means calendar day. 
 (5)  "Documentation" means a physical or an electronic 
record related to a claim. 
 (6)(a)  "First party claimant" means a person asserting a 
right to a benefit under a policy to which the person is a party. 
 (b)  "First party claimant" includes a person's designated 
legal representative and an immediate family member. 
 (7)  "General business practice" means a pattern of conduct 
in a business. 
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 (8)  "Investigation" means an activity by or on behalf of an 
insurer related to determining a claim under a policy. 
 (9)  "Notice of loss" means a claimant's notice that 
reasonably informs an insurer of facts related to a claim. 
 (10)  "Proof of loss" means an insured's reasonable 
documentation in support of a claim. 
 (11)  "Third party claimant" means a person asserting a 
claim against an insured. 
 
R590-190-4.  File and Record Documentation. 
 (1)  An insurer's claim file is subject to examination by the 
commissioner. 
 (2)  To aid in an examination, an insurer shall: 
 (a)  maintain claim data that is accessible and retrievable; 
and 
 (b)  maintain detailed documentation in each claim file 
permitting reconstruction of the insurer's activities related to the 
claim. 
 
R590-190-5.  Misrepresentation of Policy Provisions. 
 (1)  An insurer and its representatives shall fully disclose to 
a first party claimant any pertinent benefit, coverage, or other 
provision of a policy under which a claim is presented. 
 (2)  An insurer is prohibited from denying a claim based on 
a first party claimant's failure to make the property available for 
inspection unless there is documentation of a breach of a policy 
provision in the claim file. 
 
R590-190-6.  Failure to Acknowledge Communication. 
 (1)  An insurer shall acknowledge receiving a notice of loss 
within 15 days of receipt unless: 
 (a)  payment is made within 15 days of a notice of loss; or 
 (b)  the insurer reasonably explains the failure to 
acknowledge receipt. 
 (2)  Notice given to an agent of an insurer is notice to the 
insurer. 
 (3)  Within 15 days, an insurer shall provide a substantive 
response to a claimant if a response has been requested. 
 (4)  Upon receiving a notice of loss, an insurer shall, within 
15 days, provide any necessary claim forms, instructions, and 
reasonable assistance so that a first party claimant can comply with 
the policy. 
 
R590-190-7.  Notice of Loss. 
 (1)  If a notice of loss is required by an insurer, it is timely 
if made according to the terms of the policy, this rule, and Section 
31A-21-312. 
 (2)  A notice of loss may be given by an insured to an 
authorized agent, authorized adjuster, or other agent of an insurer 
unless the insurer directs otherwise pursuant to a specific disclosure. 
 (3)  The general business practice of an insurer when 
accepting a notice of loss shall be consistent for all policyholders. 
 
R590-190-8.  Proof of Loss. 
 If a proof of loss is required by an insurer, it is timely if 
made according to the terms of the policy, this rule, and Section 31A-
21-312. 
 

R590-190-9.  Unfair Claim Settlement Practices. 
 The commissioner finds that the following acts or general 
business practices are unfair claim settlement practices and are 
misleading, deceptive, unfairly discriminatory, overreaching, or an 
unreasonable restraint on competition in settling a claim: 
 (1)  denying or threatening to deny a claim, or rescinding, 
canceling, or threatening to rescind or cancel coverage under a policy 
for a reason that is not clearly described in a policy as a reason for 
denial, cancellation, or rescission; 
 (2)  failing to provide an insured or a beneficiary a written 
explanation of the evidence of an investigation or the claim file 
materials supporting a denial of a claim based on misrepresentation 
or fraud on an insurance application, if misrepresentation or fraud is 
the basis for the denial; 
 (3)  compensating an employee, producer, or contractor an 
amount based on savings to the insurer due to denying payment of a 
claim; 
 (4)  failing to deliver to the department a copy of an 
insurer's guidelines during an investigation of a claim, if requested; 
 (5)  refusing to pay a claim without conducting a reasonable 
investigation; 
 (6)  offering a first party claimant substantially less than a 
claim's reasonable value as established by an independent source; 
 (7)  making a claim payment to an insured or a beneficiary 
without a statement or explanation of benefits that describes the 
coverage under which a payment is made and how a payment amount 
is calculated; 
 (8)  failing to pay a first party claim within 30 days of 
receiving a proof of loss if liability is reasonably clear under one 
coverage to influence a settlement under another portion of the 
insurance policy or under another insurance policy; 
 (9)  refusing to pay a claim solely based on an insured's 
request unless: 
 (a)  the insured claims sovereign, eleemosynary, 
diplomatic, military service, or other immunity from suit or liability 
with respect to the claim; or 
 (b)  the insured is granted the right under the policy to 
consent to settlement of a claim; 
 (10)  advising a claimant not to obtain the services of an 
attorney or suggesting a claimant will receive less money if an 
attorney is used to pursue a claim or advise on the merits of a claim; 
 (11)  misleading a claimant about applicable statutes of 
limitation; 
 (12)  requiring an insured to sign a release that extends 
beyond the occurrence or cause of action that gave rise to a claim 
payment; 
 (13)  deducting from a loss or claim payment made under 
one policy the premiums owed by the insured on another policy, 
unless the insured consents; 
 (14)  failing to settle a first party claim on the basis that 
responsibility for payment of the claim should be assumed by others, 
except as provided by a policy provision; 
 (15)  issuing a check or a draft in partial settlement of a loss 
or a claim under a specified coverage if the check or draft contains 
language that releases an insurer from total liability; 
 (16)  refusing to provide a written basis for the denial of a 
claim upon demand of an insured; 
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 (17)  denying a claim for medical treatment after 
preauthorization is given, except in a case where an insurer obtains 
and provides to a claimant documentation of the pre-existing 
condition for which preauthorization was given or if a claimant is not 
eligible for coverage; 
 (18)  refusing to pay a reasonably incurred expense to an 
insured if the expense resulted from a delay, prohibited by this rule, 
in a claim settlement or a claim payment; 
 (19)  if an automobile insurer represents both a tort feasor 
and a claimant: 
 (a)  failing to advise a claimant under any coverage that the 
same insurance company represents both the tort feasor and the 
claimant as soon as such information becomes known to the insurer; 
and 
 (b)  allocating medical payments to the tort feasor's liability 
coverage before exhausting a claimant's personal injury protection 
coverage; 
 (20)  except for a failure to pay personal injury protection 
expenses when due, failing to pay interest at the legal rate, as 
provided in Title 15, Contracts and Obligations in General, on first 
party and third party claim amounts that are overdue under this rule; 
and 
 (21)  failing to deliver or mail the amount owed on a first 
party or third party claim within 30 days after the insurer receives 
written proof of a covered loss and its amount, except: 
 (a)  if the insurer does not receive written proof of the entire 
loss, the insurer shall deliver or mail a partial amount supported by 
written proof or investigation within 30 days; and 
 (b)  a payment is not overdue if the insurer has reasonable 
evidence to dispute its responsibility for payment. 
 
R590-190-10.  Minimum Standards for Prompt, Fair, and 
Equitable Settlement. 
 (1)  An insurer shall provide to a claimant a statement 
describing the time and way a claim shall be made and the type of 
proof of loss required by the insurer. 
 (2)(a)  Within 30 days after receiving a complete proof of 
loss, an insurer shall complete its investigation of the claim and shall 
notify the first party claimant of its acceptance or denial of the claim 
unless the investigation cannot reasonably be completed within that 
time. 
 (b)  If the insurer needs more time to determine whether the 
first party claim should be accepted or denied, it shall notify the first 
party claimant within 30 days after receipt of the proof of loss, giving 
the reasons more time is needed. 
 (c)  If the investigation remains incomplete, the insurer 
shall, within 45 days after sending the initial notification and within 
every 45 days thereafter, send to the first party claimant a letter 
setting forth the reasons additional time is needed for the 
investigation, unless the first party claimant is represented by legal 
counsel or a public adjuster. 
 (d)  Any basis for the denial of a claim shall be noted in the 
insurer's claim file and promptly communicated, in writing, to the 
first party claimant. 
 (e)  An insurer is prohibited from denying a claim on the 
grounds of a specific provision, condition, or exclusion unless 
reference to the provision, condition, or exclusion is included in the 
denial. 

 (3)(a)  If negotiations continue for settlement of a claim 
with a first party claimant or a third party claimant who is not 
represented by legal counsel or a public adjuster, an insurer shall 
notify the claimant of the date on which the applicable statute of 
limitation or other time limit expires. 
 (b)  The notice shall be given at least 60 days before the 
expiration date. 
 (4)  An insurer is prohibited from making a statement that 
the rights of a third party claimant may be impaired if a form or 
release is not completed within a given period, unless the statement 
is given to notify a third party claimant of a statute of limitation. 
 
R590-190-11.  Standards for Prompt, Fair, and Equitable 
Settlement for Automobile Insurance. 
 (1)  If an automobile insurance policy provides for an 
adjustment and settlement of a total loss for a first party claimant 
based on actual cash value or replacement with another automobile 
of like kind and quality, one of the methods in this Subsection (1) 
shall apply. 
 (a)(i)  An insurer may offer a replacement automobile that 
is comparable to the insured's automobile, with all applicable taxes, 
license fees, and transfer of ownership fees paid, at no cost, less any 
deductible provided in the policy; and 
 (ii)  an offer and any rejection shall be documented in the 
claim file. 
 (b)(i)  An insurer may offer a cash settlement based on the 
actual cost, less any deductible provided in the policy, to purchase a 
comparable automobile, including all applicable taxes, license fees, 
and transfer of ownership fees of a comparable automobile for a cost 
determined in this Subsection (1)(b)(i). 
 (A)  The cost of at least two comparable automobiles in the 
local market area, if an automobile was available within the last 90 
days to consumers in the local market area. 
 (B)  The cost of at least two comparable automobiles in 
areas proximate to the local market area, including the closest major 
metropolitan area in or out of the state, that were available within the 
last 90 days to consumers, if comparable automobiles are not 
available in the local market area. 
 (C)  At least two quotes from at least two qualified dealers 
located within the local market area, if a comparable automobile is 
not available in the local market area. 
 (D)  Any source to determine a statistically valid fair 
market value that meets the following criteria: 
 (I)  the source gives primary consideration to the value of 
vehicles in the local market area and may consider data on vehicles 
outside the area; 
 (II)  the source produces value for at least 85% of the makes 
and models for the last 15 model years, taking into account the value 
of all major options for such vehicles; and 
 (III)  the source produces fair market value based on current 
data available from the area surrounding the location where the 
insured vehicle was principally garaged or a necessary expansion of 
the parameters, such as time and area, to assure statistical validity. 
 (ii)  An insurer shall reopen its claim file and comply with 
the following procedures upon notice that a first party claimant 
cannot purchase a comparable vehicle at market value within 30 days 
of receiving a cash settlement payment under this Subsection (1)(b); 
and 
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 (A)  locate a comparable vehicle by the same manufacturer, 
same year, similar body style, and similar options and price range for 
an insured for the market value determined by the insurer at the time 
of settlement available through a licensed dealer or private seller; 
 (B)  either: 
 (I)  pay the difference between market value before 
applicable deductions and the cost of the comparable vehicle of like 
kind and quality that the insured has located; or 
 (II)  negotiate and effectuate the purchase of the vehicle for 
the insured; 
 (C)  elect to offer a replacement under Subsection (1)(a); or 
 (D)  conclude the loss settlement under the appraisal 
section of the policy in force at the time of the loss. 
 (iii)  An insurer is not required to take action under 
Subsection (1)(b)(ii) if its documentation to the first party claimant, 
at the time of settlement, included written notification of the 
availability and location of a specified and comparable vehicle of the 
same manufacturer, same year, similar body style, and similar options 
in as good or better condition as the total loss vehicle that could be 
purchased for the market value determined by the insurer before 
applicable deductions. 
 (c)  If a first party claimant automobile total loss is settled 
on a basis that deviates from the methods described in Subsection 
(1)(a) or (1)(b), the deviation shall be supported by documentation 
giving particulars of the automobile condition. 
 (i)  Any deduction from the cost, including a deduction for 
salvage, shall be measurable, itemized, and specified as to dollar 
amount and shall be reasonable in amount. 
 (ii)  The basis for the settlement shall be fully explained to 
the first party claimant. 
 (2)(a)  A total loss settlement with a third party claimant 
shall be based on the market value or actual cost of a comparable 
automobile at the time of loss. 
 (b)  Except for Subsection (1)(b)(ii), settlement procedures 
shall comply with Subsection (1)(b). 
 (3)  Where liability and damages are reasonably clear, an 
insurer is prohibited from recommending that a third party claimant 
make a claim under the third party claimant's own policy solely to 
avoid paying a claim under the insurer's policy. 
 (4)  An insurer is prohibited from requiring a claimant to 
travel an unreasonable distance to inspect a replacement automobile, 
to obtain a repair estimate, or to have an automobile repaired at a 
specific repair shop. 
 (5)(a)  An insurer shall include a first party claimant's 
deductible, if any, in a subrogation demand initiated by an insurer. 
 (b)  A subrogation recovery may be shared on a 
proportionate basis with a first party claimant if an agreement is 
reached for less than the full amount of the loss, unless the deductible 
amount has been otherwise recovered. 
 (c)  A subrogation recovery shall be applied first to 
reimburse a first party claimant for the amount or share of the 
deductible if the full amount or share of the deductible has been 
recovered. 
 (d)(i)  A deduction for expenses may not be made from the 
deductible recovery unless an outside attorney is retained to collect 
the recovery. 
 (ii)  If taken, a deduction shall be a pro rata share of the 
allocated loss adjustment expense. 

 (e)  If subrogation is initiated but discontinued, the insured 
shall be advised. 
 (6)(a)  If an insurer prepares or approves an estimate for 
automobile repairs, the estimated cost shall reasonably be expected 
to repair the damage to the automobile. 
 (b)  If an insurer prepares an estimate, it shall give a copy 
of the estimate to the claimant and may provide the claimant the 
names of one or more conveniently located repair shops. 
 (7)  If the amount claimed is reduced due to betterment or 
depreciation, all information for the reduction shall be contained in 
the claim file. 
 (a)  The deduction shall be itemized with specificity as to 
dollar amount and shall be reasonable. 
 (b)  The insurer shall provide a written explanation of the 
deductions to the claimant upon request. 
 (8)  If an insurer elects to repair an automobile and 
designates a specific repair shop for the repairs, the insurer shall 
cause the damaged automobile to be restored to its condition before 
the loss at no additional cost to the claimant other than as stated in 
the policy and within a reasonable period. 
 (9)(a)  If coverage exists, payment shall be made to a 
claimant for: 
 (i)  reasonably incurred cost of transportation; or 
 (ii)  reasonably incurred rental cost of a substitute vehicle, 
including collision damage waiver, unless the claimant has physical 
damage coverage available. 
 (b)  A payment under Subsection (9)(a) shall be made for: 
 (i)  the period the automobile is necessarily withdrawn from 
service to obtain parts or effect repair; or 
 (ii)  if the automobile is a total loss and the claim has been 
timely made, the period from the date of loss until a reasonable 
settlement offer has been made by the insurer. 
 (c)  An insurer may not refuse to pay for loss of use for the 
period that an insurer is examining the claim or making other 
determinations as to the validity of the loss, unless the delay reveals 
that an insurer is not liable to pay the claim. 
 (d)  A loss of use payment shall be an amount in addition to 
a payment for the value of an automobile. 
[ (9)  If coverage exists, compensation for loss of use of a 
damaged vehicle shall be provided to a claimant. 
 (a)(i)  Compensation for loss of use includes: 
 (A)  the reasonable cost incurred of substitute 
transportation: and 
 (B)  the cost of a collision damage waiver. 
 (ii)  Subsection (9)(a)(i)(B) does not apply when the 
claimant has physical damage coverage available. 
 (iii)  Subject to market availability, substitute transportation 
is transportation that may reasonably be used in a manner in which a 
claimant previously used the damaged vehicle. 
 (b)  Compensation for loss of use shall cover the period in 
which the vehicle is necessarily withdrawn from service to obtain 
parts or effect repair. 
 (c)  If the vehicle is a total loss, compensation for loss of 
use shall cover the period beginning on the date of loss and 
continuing until the insurer has made a reasonable settlement offer. 
 (d)  Unless the insurer is not liable to pay the claim, an 
insurer may not refuse to provide compensation for loss of use for the 
period in which the insurer is determining the validity of a claim. 
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 (e)  An insurer may not require that a claimant rent a 
substitute vehicle at the claimant's expense and then seek 
reimbursement from the insurer. 
 (f)  Compensation for loss of use shall be provided in 
addition to compensation for the value of the automobile.] 
 (10)  An insurer shall fairly, equitably, and in good faith 
attempt to compensate a first party claimant for all losses covered by 
the policy based on the following standards: 
 (a)  an offer of settlement may not be based solely on the 
useful life of the damaged part or vehicle; 
 (b)  an estimate of the amount of compensation for a 
claimant shall include the actual wear and tear, or lack thereof, of the 
damaged part or vehicle; 
 (c)  actual cash value shall consider the cost of replacement 
of the part or vehicle for which compensation is claimed; 
 (d)  an actual estimate of the true useful life remaining in 
the part or vehicle shall be considered in establishing the amount of 
compensation of a claim; and 
 (e)  actual cash value shall include taxes and other fees 
incurred by a claimant in replacing the part or vehicle or in 
compensating the claimant for the loss incurred. 
 (11)  An insurer may not demand reimbursement of a 
personal injury protection payment from a first party claimant from 
a settlement or judgment against a third party, except as provided by 
law. 
 (12)(a)  An insurer shall provide reasonable written notice 
to a claimant before termination of payment for automobile storage 
charges and claim documentation of the denial. 
 (b)  An insurer shall provide a reasonable time for the 
claimant to remove the vehicle from storage before terminating a 
payment. 
 
R590-190-12.  Unfair Claim Settlement Practices for Automobile 
Insurance. 
 The commissioner finds the following acts to be 
misleading, deceptive, unfairly discriminatory, overreaching, or an 
unreasonable restraint on competition in settling a claim: 
 (1)  settling a claim for an amount that is less than the 
amount the insurer would be charged if repairs were made, unless the 
amount is agreed to by the claimant or provided for by the policy; 
 (2)  refusing to settle a claim based solely upon a police 
agency issuing or failing to issue a traffic citation; 
 (3)  failing to disclose all coverages for which an 
application for benefits is required by the insurer; 
 (4)  failing to disclose all coverages, including loss of use, 
household services, and any other coverages available to the 
claimant; 
 (5)  requiring a claimant to use only the insurer's claim 
service to perfect a claim; 
 (6)  failing to provide to a claimant, if requested, the name 
and address of the salvage dealer who provided a salvage quote for 
the amount deducted by an insurer in a total loss settlement; 
 (7)  refusing to disclose policy limits if requested by a 
claimant; 
 (8)  using a release on the back of a check or draft that 
requires a claimant to release an insurer from an obligation on further 
claims to process a current claim if an insurer knows or reasonably 
should know that there may be future liability on the part of the 
insurer; 

 (9)  refusing to use a separate release of claim document, 
rather than one on the back of a check or draft, if requested to do so 
by a claimant; 
 (10)  intentionally offering less money to a first party 
claimant than the claim is reasonably worth; 
 (11)  refusing to offer to pay a claim based on comparative 
negligence without a reasonable basis for doing so; and 
 (12)  imputing the negligence of a permissive user of a 
vehicle to the owner of the vehicle in a bailment situation. 
 
R590-190-13.  Standards for Prompt, Fair, and Equitable 
Settlement for Fire and Extended Coverage Type Policies with 
Replacement Cost Coverage. 
 (1)(a)  If a policy provides for the adjustment and 
settlement of first party losses based on replacement cost, the 
following apply: 
 (i)  if a loss requires repair or replacement of an item or 
part, any significant physical damage incurred in making such repair 
or replacement not otherwise excluded by the policy shall be included 
in the loss; and 
 (ii)  if a loss requires repair or replacement of items and the 
repaired or replaced items do not match in color, texture, or size, the 
insurer shall repair or replace items to conform to a reasonably 
uniform appearance for both interior and exterior losses. 
 (b)  For a settlement described in Subsection (1)(a), an 
insured is only responsible for the applicable deductible. 
 (2)(a)(i)  If a policy provides for an adjustment and 
settlement of loss on an actual cash value basis on residential fire and 
extended coverage, an insurer shall determine actual cash value as 
the replacement cost of property at the time of the loss less 
depreciation, if any. 
 (ii)  Upon an insured's request, an insurer shall provide a 
copy of any relevant documentation from the claim file detailing each 
deduction for depreciation. 
 (b)(i)  If an insured's interest is limited because the property 
has nominal or no economic value, or a value disproportionate to 
replacement cost less depreciation, the determination of actual cash 
value is not required. 
 (ii)  In a case described in Subsection (2)(b)(i), an insurer 
shall provide, upon the insured's request, a written explanation of the 
basis for limiting the amount of recovery along with the amount 
payable under the policy. 
 
R590-190-14.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-190, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  insurance law 
Date of Last Change:  2024[2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 3, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-201; 
31A-26-301; 31A-26-303; 31A-21-312; 31A-2-308 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R277-927 Filing ID: 55292 
Effective Date: 11/16/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.uta
h.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-927.  Teacher and Student Success Act (TSSA) 
Program 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized pursuant to the Utah Constitution, 
Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and 
supervision over public education in the Board; and 
Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to make 
rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities 
under the Utah Constitution and state law; 
Section 53F-2-416, which requires the Board to calculate 
and distribute student and teacher success program 
money to LEAs; Section 53G-7-1304, which requires the 
Board to make rules for a Local Education Agency (LEA) 
governing board to calculate and distribute a school's 
allocation of program money for each school within the 
LEA; and Section 53G-7-1306, which require the Board to 
determine: 
(i)  a threshold of points under the statewide school 
accountability system that designates a school as 
succeeding in school performance and student academic 
achievement; and 
(ii)  performance standards for certain schools. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it sets standards for the 
Board's distribution of student and teacher success 
program money to LEAs; standards governing an LEA's 
distribution of student and teacher success program 
money to each school within the LEA; and establishes 
certain accountability standards related to the student and 
teacher success program.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 11/16/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R357-3 Filing ID: 55107 
Effective Date: 11/30/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Economic Opportunity 
Room number: Suite 300 
Building: World Trade Center 
Street address: 60 E South Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dane Ishihara 801-

792-
8764 

dishihara@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R357-3.  Economic Development Tax Increment Financing 
Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 63N-2-110 allows the office to make rules outlining 
the administration of the Economic Development Tax 
Increment Financing program. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is authorized by state law.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Ryan Stark,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/30/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R523-17 Filing ID: 51271 
Effective Date: 11/22/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thomas Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-17.  Behavioral Health Crisis Response Systems 
Standards 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 26B-5-610(3). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received by the Department of 
Health and Human Services (DHHS) concerning this rule 
after being made effective. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is statutorily mandated by the legislature.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
Following the consolidation and recodification of DHHS 
statute in the 2023 General Session, an amendment to this 
rule is being filed concurrently with this five-year review to 
update statutory citations and align this rule with the 
standards of the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/19/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R523-18 Filing ID: 51261 
Effective Date: 11/22/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thomas Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-18.  Mobile Crisis Outreach Teams Certification 
Standards 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsections 26B-5-112(5) 
and 26b-5-112.5(5), and Section 26B-5-609. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received by the Department of 
Health and Human Services (DHHS) concerning this rule 
since being made effective. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is statutorily mandated by the legislature.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
Following the consolidation and recodification of the 
DHHS statute in the 2023 General Session, an 
amendment to this rule is being filed concurrently with this 

five-year review to update statutory citations and align this 
rule with the standards of the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/19/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R523-19 Filing ID: 51263 
Effective Date: 11/22/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thomas Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801-
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R523-19.  Community Mental Health Crisis and Suicide 
Prevention Training Grant Standards 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Section 26B-5-111. 
 
An amendment to this rule is being filed concurrently with 
this five-year review to update statutory citations and align 
this rule with the standards of the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received by the Department of 
Health and Human Services concerning this rule since 
being made effective. 
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5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees 
with comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is essential as it establishes requirements and a 
process for communities to qualify for a grant that will allow 
them to provide specific training on mental health crises 
and suicide prevention.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/19/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R527-38 Filing ID: 54109 
Effective Date: 11/20/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Building: TSOB 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jodi Witte 801-

741-
7417 

jwitte@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jordan Miera 801 
538-
4171 

jmiera@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R527-38.  Unenforceable Cases 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Sections 26B-1-202 and 26b-9-108 give the Office of 
Recovery Services (ORS) the authority to adopt, amend, 
and enforce rules necessary to carry out its responsibilities 
under state law. 
 
Federal Regulations at 45 CFR 303.11 provide detailed 
case closure criteria for IV-D agencies.  This criteria has 
been adopted by ORS and incorporated by reference into 
this rule. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The clarifications and procedures provided in this rule are 
necessary for the appropriate implementation of federal 
regulations, which are still in effect and do not appear in 
state statute.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/19/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R746-350 Filing ID: 51972 
Effective Date: 11/30/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
John Delaney 801-

530-
6724 

jdelaney@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R746-350. Application to Discontinue Telecommunications 
Service 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 54-4-1 grants the Public Service Commission 
(PSC) the power to regulate and supervise all the business 
of every public utility in Utah. 
 
Section 54-3-1 requires that all charges made, demanded, 
or received by a public utility, or by any two or more public 
utilities, for any product or commodity furnished or to be 
furnished, or for any service rendered or to be rendered, 
shall be just and reasonable. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The PSC has received no written comments from any 
interested person supporting or opposing this rule since 
the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary so that the PSC may require 
telecommunications companies to provide notice of their 
intent to curtail services or exit the market.  This rule 
provides the steps telecommunications companies must 
take to inform the PSC, customers, other 
telecommunication carriers, and the general public, of 
changes in their operations in Utah's telecommunications 
and services market.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC  
Chair 

Date: 11/30/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R895-9 Filing ID: 53732 
Effective Date: 11/28/2023 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Technology Services 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Stephanie 
Weteling 

435-
720-
5315 

stephanie@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R895-9.  Utah Geographic Information Systems Advisory 
Council 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is issued by the Chief Information Officer under 
the authority of Section 63A-16-205 of the Technology 
Governance Act and Section 63G-3-201 of the Utah 
Rulemaking Act. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during and since 
the last five-year review of this rule from interested 
persons supporting or opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is needed to establish an advisory council to 
coordinate statewide geographic information systems data 
efforts for collection, creation, and access, and to mutual 
collaboration by state entities.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Marvin Dodge,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/28/2023 

 
 

End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section 
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NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  If the agency finds that it will not meet 
the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW 
EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office of Administrative Rules.  The EXTENSION permits the agency to file the review 
up to 120 days beyond the anniversary date. 
 
Agencies have filed EXTENSIONS for the rules listed below.  The "Extended Due Date" is 120 days after the anniversary 
date. 
 
EXTENSIONS are governed by Subsection 63G-3-305(6). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R392-101 Filing ID: 54412 
New Deadline  
Date: 

04/10/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Population Health, Environmental 

Health 
Room number: Second Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Sat Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142104 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Karl Hartman 801-

538-
6191 

kartman@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R392-101.  Food Safety Manager Certification 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) recently submitted this rule to the Office of 
Administrative Rules (OAR) for nonsubstantive changes.  
This rule is currently under codification review by OAR. 
 

The Department is waiting for the newly codified rule to be 
published before submitting the five-year review. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Heather Borski,  
Deputy Director 

Date: 12/01/2023 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R452-100 Filing ID: 54458 
New Deadline  
Date: 

04/18/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Cultural and Community Engagement 
Agency: Arts and Museums, Museum Services 
Street address: 3760 S Highland Drive  
City, state and 
zip: 

Millcreek, UT 84106 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kristin Mead 218-

393-
2995 

kristinmead@utah.gov 

Sophia Riggs 801-
874-
7205 

sophiariggs@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R452-100.  Certified Local Museum Designation 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
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The Division of Arts and Museums will be repealing this 
rule as the practice of Certifying Local Museums was 
discontinued and removed from statue, Subsection 9-6-
603(8), in 2020. 
 
This extension ensures this rule will have time to make it 
through the entire repeal process and will not expire on 
12/20/2023. 
 

(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed repeal of Rule R452-
100 is under ID 56237 in this issue, December 15, 2023, 
of the Bulletin.) 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jill Love,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 11/29/2023 

 
 

End of the Notices of Five-Year Review Extensions Section 
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Conservation Commission 
No.  55840  (Repeal and Reenact)  R64-4:  Agricultural Water 
Optimization Program 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
 
Commerce 
Consumer Protection 
No.  55843  (Amendment)  R152-21:  Credit Services 
Organizations Act Rule 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/08/2023 
 
Professional Licensing 
No.  55847  (Amendment)  R156-46a:  Hearing Instrument 
Specialist Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
No.  55846  (Amendment)  R156-69:  Dentist and Dental 
Hygienist Practice Act Rule 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
Crime Victim Reparations 
Administration 
No.  55794  (Amendment)  R270-1:  Relocation, Funeral and 
MH payment updates 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/08/2023 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  55852  (Amendment)  R277-113:  LEA Fiscal and 
Auditing Policies 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 

No.  55853  (Amendment)  R277-326:  Early Learning 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
No.  55854  (Amendment)  R277-495:  Electronic Devices in 
Public Schools 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
No.  55855  (Amendment)  R277-553:  Charter School 
Oversight, Monitoring and Appeals 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
No.  55856  (Amendment)  R277-604:  Private School, Home 
School, and Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) Student 
Participation in Public School Achievement Tests 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
 
Government Operations 
Finance 
No.  55718  (Amendment)  R25-5:  Payment of Meeting 
Compensation (Per Diem) to Boards 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  12/06/2023 
 
 
Governor 
Economic Opportunity 
No.  55838  (Amendment)  R357-29:  Rural County Grant 
Rule 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/29/2023 
 
No.  55839  (New Rule)  R357-46:  Rural Communities 
Opportunity Grant Rule 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/29/2023 
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Health and Human Services 
Administration 
No.  55664  (Repeal and Reenact)  R380-300:  Employee 
Background Screening 
Published:  09/15/2023 
Effective:  11/20/2023 
 
Integrated Healthcare 
No.  55527  (Amendment)  R414-505:  Participation in the 
Nursing Facility Non-State Government-Owned Upper 
Payment Limit Program 
Published:  08/01/2023 
Effective:  11/20/2023 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  55805  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-206:  Privacy of 
Consumer Financial and Health Information Rule 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55806  (Repeal)  R590-210:  Privacy of Consumer 
Information Exemption for Manufacturer Warranties and 
Service Contracts 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55807  (Amendment)  R590-223:  Rule to Recognize the 
2001 CSO Mortality Table for Use in Determining Minimum 
Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Benefits 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55861  (Amendment)  R590-230:  Suitability in Annuity 
Transactions 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/08/2023 
 
No.  55808  (Amendment)  R590-240:  Procedure to Obtain 
Exemption of Student Health Programs From Insurance Code 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55809  (Amendment)  R590-242:  Military Sales 
Practices 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55810  (Amendment)  R590-259:  Dependent Coverage 
to Age 26 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  55821  (Amendment)  R657-13:  Taking Fish and 
Crayfish 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 

No.  55822  (Repeal)  R657-59:  Private Fish Ponds, Short 
Term Fishing Events, Private Fish Stocking, and Institutional 
Aquaculture 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55823  (New Rule)  R657-59a:  Private Fish Ponds 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55824  (New Rule)  R657-59b:  Short Term Fishing 
Events 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55825  (New Rule)  R657-59c:  Aquaponics 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55826  (New Rule)  R657-59d:  Institutional Aquaculture 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55827  (New Rule)  R657-59e:  Stocking into Natural 
Lakes, Natural Flowing Streams, or Reservoirs on Natural 
Stream Channels 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
 
Public Safety 
Administration 
No.  55811  (New Rule)  R698-12:  Fallen Officer Memorial 
Scholarship Program 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
Driver License 
No.  55800  (Repeal and Reenact)  R708-7:  Functional 
Ability In Driving: Guidelines for Physicans 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55813  (Amendment)  R708-14:  Adjudicative 
Proceedings for Driver License Actions Involving Alcohol and 
Drugs 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55815  (Amendment)  R708-35:  Adjudicative 
Proceedings For Driver License Offenses Not Involving 
Alcohol or Drug Actions 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55802  (Amendment)  R708-41:  Requirements for 
Acceptable Documentation, Storage and Maintenance 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
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No.  55804  (Amendment)  R708-46:  Refugee, Asylee, or 
Covered Humanitarian Parolee Knowledge Test in Applicant's 
Native Language 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
Highway Patrol 
No.  55812  (New Rule)  R714-561:  Suicide Deterrence 
Grant Program 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
 
Transportation 
Operations, Traffic and Safety 
No.  55796  (Amendment)  R920-4:  Special Road Use or 
Event 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 

 
 
Transportation Commission 
Administration 
No.  55798  (Amendment)  R940-4:  Airports of Regional 
Significance 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
No.  55799  (New Rule)  R940-10:  Guidelines for Department 
Participation in Transportation Reinvestment Zones 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/21/2023 
 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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