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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between December 02, 2023, 12:00 a.m., and 
December 15, 2023, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the January 01, 2024, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least January 31, 2024.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through April 30, 2024, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal and Reenact 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R58-7 Filing ID:  
56244 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Animal Industry 
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kelly Pehrson 801-

982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Amber Brown 385-
245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Leann Hunting 385-
977-
2158 

leannhunting@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R58-7.  Livestock Markets, Satellite Video Livestock 
Auction Market, Livestock Sales, Dealers, and Livestock 
Market Weighpersons 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being updated to include a late fee for livestock 
auctions that do not provide sufficient notice to the 
Department of Agriculture and Food (Department). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Subsection R58-7-4(3) clarifies that any person shall notify 
the Department within ten days of a livestock sale, or the 
Department will impose a late fee. 
 
Currently, the Department fee schedule allows a $25 late 
fee, and the Department will charge that fee within the 
requirements of this rule.  In FY 2025 and FY 2026, the fee 
is anticipated to increase to $100. 
 
The rule was also revised to align with the Rulewriting 
Manual for Utah and reduce passive voice throughout.  
Updating this rule to align with the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah required over 50% edits. 

The Department found it was best to repeal and reenact 
this rule to ensure the accuracy of the changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The new late fee will have minimal impact on the state 
budget because this rule intends to encourage the 
notification of livestock sales greater than ten days before 
the sale. 
 
The department intends that the Department will not need 
to impose the new fee regularly.  The current late fee in the 
fee schedule is $25, and the Department anticipates less 
than two occurrences in FY 2024. 
 
In FY2025, the Department anticipates increasing the fee 
to $100 for a total fiscal impact of $200.  The collected fee 
revenue will be used to cover the cost of an inspector who 
may be pulled away from their scheduled duties to 
accommodate a livestock auction with minimal notice.  
This cost is estimated at $200 per year. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change does not impact local governments 
because they do not administer the program or collect the 
fees from the livestock auctions. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule may affect a small business if they don't notify the 
Department at least ten days of a livestock sale.  The late 
fee is $25.  The Department does not anticipate that small 
businesses will be charged a fee. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses would be impacted only if a late fee 
is imposed.  The Department does not anticipate non-
small businesses will be charged a fee. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change could impact other persons who hold 
livestock sales without properly informing the Department. 
 
The Department anticipates that two individuals will be 
charged a late fee per year for a total cost of $50 in FY 
2024 and $200 in FY 2025 and FY 2026 when the late fee 
increases. 
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F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule change could impact persons who hold livestock 
sales without properly informing the Department. 
 
The Department anticipates that two individuals will be 
charged a late fee per year for a total cost of $50 in FY 
2024 and $200 in FY 2025 and FY 2026 when the late fee 
increases. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$200 $200 $200 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$50 $200 $200 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$250 $400 $400 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$50 $200 $200 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$50 $200 $200 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$(200) $(200) $(200) 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-30-104 Section 4-2-103  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 12/07/2023 

 
R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
[R58-7.  Livestock Markets, Satellite Video Livestock Auction 
Market, Livestock Sales, Dealers, and Livestock Market 
Weighpersons. 
R58-7-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under authority of Section 4-30-104 and 
Section 4-2-103. 
 (2)  It is the intent of these rules to provide uniformity and 
fairness in the marketing of livestock within the state, whether sold 
through regularly established livestock markets or other types of 
sales. 
 
R58-7-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (3)  "Livestock" means cattle, domestic elk, swine, equines, 
sheep, goats, camelids, ratites, and bison. 
 (4)  "Livestock dealer" means a person engaged in the 
business of purchasing livestock for immediate resale or interstate 
shipment for immediate resale. 
 (5)  "Livestock market" means a public market place 
consisting of pens or other enclosures where each class of livestock 
or poultry are received on consignment and kept for subsequent sale, 
either through public auction or private sale. 
 (6)  "Representative" means a dealer licensed in Utah under 
Section 4-7-107 who is a resident of this state, or who is a 
representative of, or who in any capacity conducts business with a 
livestock auction market licensed under Section 4-30-105, that does 
business with an in state or out of state satellite video livestock 
auction market. 



 

4 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 01 

 (7)  "Satellite video livestock auction market" means a 
place or establishment or business conducted or operated for 
compensation or profit as a public market where livestock or other 
agricultural related products located in this state are sold or offered 
for sale at a facility within or outside the state through the use of an 
electronically televised or recorded media presentation, which is, or 
can be exhibited at a public auction. 
 
R58-7-3.  Livestock Markets. 
 (1)  Standards for Approved and Non-approved Markets.  
The operator of a livestock market shall maintain the following 
standards to get, keep, or renew a livestock market license: 
 (a)  follow procedures outlined in Title 4, Chapter 30, 
Livestock Markets, and any state and federal laws pertaining to 
livestock health and movement; 
 (b)  keep records on any animals purchased sufficient to 
enable the department to satisfactorily trace those animals to their 
herd of origin and destination; 
 (i)  livestock markets shall maintain the identity of 
ownership of each animal as set forth in Section 4-24-402, and this 
rule; 
 (ii)  records shall be kept for at least two years; 
 (c)  identify each animal as required in 9 CFR 71.18, 9 CFR 
71.19, and 9 CFR 79.  Tags are not to be removed in trading channels; 
 (d)  permit authorized state or federal inspectors to review 
each phase of the livestock market operations including records of 
origin and destination of livestock handled by the livestock market; 
 (e)  provide adequate space for pens, alleyways, chutes, and 
sales ring; cover sales ring with a leak-proof roof; 
 (f)  construct each pen, alleyway, chute, and sales ring to be 
safe, easily cleaned, and properly drained in any type of weather; 
 (g)  maintain the facility in a clean and sanitary manner; 
and 
 (h)  provide specially designated isolation pens to 
quarantine animals suspected of having a contagious disease. 
 (2)  Livestock sold through livestock markets shall comply 
with Utah law and rules including Rule R58-3 Brucellosis 
Vaccination Requirements, Rule R58-21 Trichomoniasis, Rule R58-
22 Equine Infectious Anemia, and Section R58-2-3 Reportable and 
Quarantinable Animal Diseases. 
 (a)  Auction owners or veterinarians shall report any 
suspected cases of diseases from the Utah List of Reportable 
Conditions for Animals to the State Veterinarian. 
 (b)  These animals shall not be released until approved for 
movement by the department or its authorized representative. 
 (c)  The List of Reportable Conditions is available from the 
State Veterinarian's office or the department website. 
 (3)  Additional Standards for Approved Markets. 
 (a)  Approved livestock markets shall: 
 (i)  provide the department with a schedule of sale days that 
have been previously approved by the commissioner, giving the 
beginning hour; 
 (ii)  provide and maintain one or more chutes, in addition 
to the loading chute, at a convenient and usable place in a covered 
area, suitable for restraining, inspecting, examining, testing, tagging, 
branding, and other treatments and procedures ordinarily required in 
providing livestock sanitary or health service at markets in a safe 
manner; 
 (iii)  provide personnel as required to assist department or 
federal inspectors; 
 (iv)  provide specially designated isolation pens to 
quarantine animals suspected of contagious disease and animals 

classified as reactors, exposed, suspects, "V" branded, or "S" 
branded; 
 (v)  limit the sale of restricted animals to a slaughtering 
establishment where federal or state inspection is maintained or a 
qualified feedlot approved by the department; and 
 (vi)  arrange with an accredited veterinarian to provide 
services to ensure compliance with state and federal laws for 
intrastate and interstate movement. 
 (b)  Brucellosis testing and vaccination of female cattle not 
sold for slaughter. 
 (i)  Unvaccinated female cattle from four to 12 months of 
age shall be vaccinated prior to leaving the auction. 
 (ii)  Unvaccinated female cattle over 12 months of age not 
going to slaughter shall be tested for brucellosis and vaccinated if not 
pregnant prior to leaving the auction. 
 (iii)  Unvaccinated pregnant cattle shall be tested for 
brucellosis prior to leaving the auction.  Each buyer shall vaccinate 
the cattle within 30 days after calving. 
 (iv)  Testing and vaccination results shall be reported to the 
department. 
 (4)  Denial, Suspension, or Cancellation of Registration.  
The department may, after due notice and opportunity for a hearing 
to the livestock market involved, deny an application for registration, 
or suspend or cancel the registration when the department is satisfied 
that the market has: 
 (a)  violated state law or rules governing the interstate or 
intrastate movement, shipment or transportation of livestock; 
 (b)  made false or misleading statements in their application 
for licensing, or false or misleading statements as to the health or 
physical conditions of livestock regarding official test results or 
status of the herd of origin; 
 (c)  knowingly sold animals that exhibit signs of a 
communicable disease for purposes other than slaughter; 
 (d)  demonstrated their inability or unwillingness to carry 
out the record keeping requirements contained in this rule; 
 (e)  failed to comply with any law or rule pertaining to 
livestock health or movement; 
 (f)  failed to maintain market facilities in a safe, clean and 
sanitary manner; or 
 (g)  operated as a livestock market without proper 
licensing. 
 
R58-7-4.  Temporary Livestock Sale License. 
 (1)  A temporary livestock sales license shall be required 
for each sale where: 
 (a)  livestock is offered for public bidding and sold on a 
yardage, commission, or percentage basis; 
 (b)  sales are conducted by or for a person when livestock 
owned by the person are sold on their own premises pursuant to 
Sections R58-7-3 and R58-7-4; 
 (c)  sales are conducted for liquidation of livestock by a 
farmer, dairyman, livestock breeder, or feeder; 
 (d)  sales are conducted by non-profit breed or livestock 
associations or clubs: 
 (i)  It is not the intent of this rule to require a bond from 
non-profit breed or livestock associations or clubs, or from 
liquidation sales if they conduct sales themselves and do not assume 
any financial responsibility between the seller and the buyer; 
 (ii)  if sales are conducted by outside or professional 
management, a license and either a bond, trust fund agreement, or 
letter of credit shall be required; and 
 (e)  other sales as approved by the department. 
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 (2)  A temporary license shall not be required for: 
 (a)  sales conducted by Future Farmers of America or 4H 
Club groups; or 
 (b)  sales conducted in conjunction with state, county, or 
private fairs. 
 (3)  The department shall be notified ten days before any 
sales that do not require a temporary license. 
 (4)  A temporary livestock sales license shall be issued 
when the department finds: 
 (a)  that an application approved by the department has 
been received, along with the payment of a licensing fee included in 
the fee schedule approved by the legislature pursuant to Section 63J-
1-504; and 
 (b)  that the applicant has filed with the department, where 
applicable, a bond as required by the department or in accordance 
with the Packers and Stockyards Act, 7 U.S.C. 181 et seq., except that 
a letter of credit or a trust fund agreement approved by the 
department, may replace the bonding requirements. 
 
R58-7-5.  Dealers. 
 (1)  Dealer Licensing and Bonding.  No person shall 
operate as a livestock dealer in the state without a license and bond 
pursuant to Title 4, Chapter 7, Livestock Dealers' Act. 
 (a)  Upon receipt of a proper application and payment of 
the license fee included in the fee schedule approved by the 
legislature pursuant Section 63J-1-504, and meeting current bonding 
requirements, the department shall issue a license allowing the 
applicant to operate as a livestock dealer through December 31 of 
each year. 
 (b)  The department, after due notice and opportunity for 
hearing to the dealer involved, may deny an application for license, 
suspend, or cancel the license when the department is satisfied that 
the applicant or dealer has: 
 (i)  violated state law or rules governing the interstate or 
intrastate movement, shipment, or transportation of livestock; 
 (ii)  made false or misleading statements in their application 
for licensing, or false or misleading statements as to the health or 
physical conditions of livestock regarding official test results or 
status of the herd of origin; 
 (iii)  knowingly sold for dairy or breeding purposes cattle 
that were affected with a communicable disease; 
 (iv)  demonstrated their inability or unwillingness to carry 
out the record keeping requirements contained in this rule; 
 (v)  failed to comply with any law or rule pertaining to 
livestock health or movement; or 
 (vi)  operated as a dealer without meeting proper licensing 
and bonding requirements. 
 (2)  Record Keeping. 
 (a)  Each livestock dealer shall keep adequate records to 
allow accurate trace back of livestock to the prior owner under 
Section 4-7-109. 
 (b)  Dealers shall permit the department or its authorized 
representative to review each phase of the livestock dealer operations 
including records of origin and destination of livestock handled by 
the livestock dealer. 
 (c)  Dealers shall retain records for two years. 
 
R58-7-6.  Responsibilities of a Bonded and Licensed 
Weighperson. 
 (1)  Weighperson operator to be competent, licensed, and 
bonded. 

 (a)  Stockyard owner, market agencies, and dealers shall 
employ only competent, licensed, and bonded persons of good 
character and known integrity to operate scales for weighing 
livestock to purchase or sell.  Any person found to be operating scales 
incorrectly, carelessly, in violation of instructions, or in a manner as 
to favor or injure any party or agency through incorrect weighing or 
incorrect weight recording shall be removed from weighing duties. 
 (b)  The primary responsibility of a weigher is to determine 
and accurately record the weight of a livestock draft without 
prejudice or favor to any person or agency and without regard for 
livestock ownership, price condition, fill, shrink, or other 
considerations.  A weigher shall not permit the representations or 
attitudes of any persons or agencies to influence their judgment or 
action in performing their duties. 
 (c)  Unused scale tickets, or those that are partially executed 
but without a printed weight value, shall not be left exposed or 
accessible to unauthorized personnel.  Tickets shall be kept under 
lock when the weigher is not at their duty station. 
 (d)  Accurate weighing and correct weight recording 
require that a weigher shall not permit the operations to be hurried to 
the extent that inaccurate weights or incorrect weight records may 
result. 
 (i)  Each draft of livestock shall be weighed accurately to 
the nearest minimum weight value that can be indicated or recorded. 
 (ii)  Manual operations connected with balancing, 
weighing, and recording shall be performed with the care necessary 
to prevent damage to the accurately machined and adjusted part of 
weigh-beams, poses, and printing devices. 
 (e)  Livestock owners, buyers, or others having legitimate 
interest in a livestock draft shall be permitted to observe the 
balancing, weighing, and recording procedures, and a weigher shall 
not deny them that right or withhold from them any information 
pertaining to the weight of that draft.  They shall check the zero 
balance of the scale or reweigh a draft of livestock when requested 
by the parties. 
 (2)  Balancing the empty scale. 
 (a)  The empty scale shall be balanced each day before 
weighing begins, and maintained in correct balance while weighing 
operations continue. 
 (i)  The zero balance shall be verified at intervals of not 
more than 15 drafts or 15 minutes, whichever is completed first. 
 (ii)  The zero balance of the scale shall be verified when a 
weigher resumes weighing duties after an absence from the scale and 
also when a load exceeding half the scale capacity or 10,000 pounds, 
whichever is less, has been weighed and is followed by a load of less 
than 1,000 pounds, verification to occur before the weighing of the 
load of less than 1,000 pounds. 
 (b)  The time at which the empty scale is balanced or its 
zero balance verified shall be recorded on scale tickets or other 
permanent records.  Balance tickets shall be filed with other scale 
tickets issued on that date. 
 (c)  Before balancing the empty scale, the weigher shall 
verify that the scale gates are closed and that no persons or animals 
are on the scale platform or in contact with the stock rack, gates, or 
platform. 
 (i)  If the scale is balanced with persons on the scale 
platform, the zero balance shall be verified when there is a change in 
persons. 
 (ii)  When the scale is properly balanced and ready for 
weighing, the weigher shall show by an appropriate signal. 
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 (3)  Weighing the load.  Before weighing a draft of 
livestock, the weigher shall verify that the entire draft is on the scale 
platform with the gates closed and that no persons or animals off the 
scale are in contact with the platform, gates, or stock rack. 
 (4)  Sale of livestock by weight.  Livestock sold by weight 
through a satellite video auction market shall be sold based on the 
weight of the livestock on the day of delivery.  Livestock sold by 
weight shall be weighed on scales that have been tested and inspected 
by the Division of Weights and Measures in the manner prescribed 
by law. 
 
R58-7-7.  Satellite Video Livestock Auction Market. 
 (1)  Before entering into business as or with a satellite video 
livestock auction market, and annually, on or before January 1, each 
market or representative shall file an application for a license to 
transact business as or with a satellite video livestock auction market 
with the department on a form prescribed by the department.  The 
application shall show: 
 (a)  the nature of the business for which a license is desired; 
 (b)  the name of the representative applying for the license; 
 (c)  the name and address of the proposed satellite video 
auction or the name and address of the satellite video auction the 
representative proposes to transact business with; and 
 (d)  other information the department may require as listed 
in Section 4-7-106. 
 (2)  The application for a license or for a renewal for a 
license shall be accompanied by: 
 (a)  a license fee set in accordance with Section 4-30-105, 
determined by the department pursuant to Subsection 4-2-103(2); 
 (b)  evidence of proper security bonding as required in 
Subsection 4-30-105(3) for the satellite video auction and Section 4-
7-107 for the representative; 
 (c)  a schedule of fees and commissions that will be charged 
to owners, sellers, or their agents; and 
 (d)  other information the department may require as listed 
in Section 4-7-106. 
 (3)  Each satellite video auction shall be considered a 
temporary livestock sale unless licensed under this chapter as a 
satellite video auction market.  Sales operated by a representative 
shall be required to apply as designated in Section R58-7-4. 
 (4)  A copy of each contract between the representative and 
the satellite video auction market with which the representative 
proposes to transact business or a contract with the proposed satellite 
video auction market shall be supplied to the department. 
 (5)  The contract shall include a provision authorizing the 
department to have access to the books, papers, accounts, financial 
records held by financial institutions, accountants or other sources; 
and other documents relating to the activities of the satellite video 
livestock market and requiring the satellite video auction market to 
make documents reasonably available upon the request of the 
department. 
 (a)  If the contract between a representative and the satellite 
video auction market is terminated, rescinded, breached, or 
materially altered, the representative and the satellite video auction 
market shall immediately notify the department. 
 (b)  Failure to notify will be deemed failure to keep and 
maintain suitable records and be be a false entry or statement of fact 
in application filed with the department, pursuant to Section 4-7-201. 
 
R58-7-8.  Livestock Market Committee. 
 (1)  Hearing on License Application; Notice of Hearing. 

 (a)  Upon filing of an application as a satellite video auction 
livestock market, the chair of the department's Livestock Market 
Committee shall set a time and place for a hearing to review the 
application and determine whether a license will be issued. 
 (b)  Upon filing of an application as a representative of a 
satellite video auction market, the chair of the department's Livestock 
Market Committee may elect to hold a hearing to review the 
application and determine whether a license will be issued. 
 (2)  Guidelines delineated for decision on application shall 
be in accordance with Section 4-30-107 and shall apply to the 
livestock auction market and the satellite video livestock auction 
market.] 
R58-7.  Livestock Markets, Satellite Video Livestock Market, 
Livestock Sales, Dealers, and Livestock Market Weighpersons. 
R58-7-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under the authority of Section 4-30-104 
and Section 4-2-103. 
 (2)  It is the intent of this rule to provide uniformity and 
fairness in the marketing of livestock within the state, whether sold 
through regularly established livestock markets or other types of 
sales. 
 
R58-7-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (3)  "Livestock" means cattle, swine, equines, sheep, 
Camelidae, ratites, bison, goats, and domesticated elk, as defined in 
Section 4-39-102. 
 (4)  "Livestock dealer" means a person engaged in the 
business of purchasing livestock for immediate resale or interstate 
shipment for immediate resale. 
 (5)  "Livestock market" means the same as defined in 
Subsection 4-30-102(2). 
 (6)  "Livestock market licensee" means a person licensed 
under Section 4-30-105. 
 (7)  "Representative" means a dealer licensed in Utah under 
Section 4-7-107 who: 
 (a)  is a Utah resident; or 
 (b)  is a representative of, or who in any capacity conducts 
business with, a livestock market licensed under Section 4-30-105 
and does business with an in state or out of state satellite video 
livestock market. 
 (8)  "Satellite video livestock market" means a business that 
conducts or operates, for compensation or profit, as a public market 
where livestock or other agricultural products are sold or offered for 
sale using an electronically televised or recorded media presentation 
that can be exhibited at a public auction. 
 
R58-7-3.  Livestock Markets. 
 (1)  The operator of a livestock market shall maintain the 
following standards to get, keep, or renew a livestock market license: 
 (a)  follow procedures outlined in Title 4, Chapter 30, 
Livestock Markets, and any state and federal laws pertaining to 
livestock health and movement; 
 (b)  keep records on any animals purchased sufficient to 
enable the department to satisfactorily trace those animals to their 
herd of origin and destination: 
 (i)  livestock markets shall maintain the identity of 
ownership of each animal as set forth in Section 424-402, and this 
rule; and 
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 (ii)  shall keep records for at least two years; 
 (c)  identify each animal as required in 9 CFR 71.18, 9 CFR 
71.19, and 9 CFR 79; 
 (d)  ensure a person does not remove tags in trading 
channels; 
 (e)  permit authorized state or federal inspectors to review 
each phase of the livestock market operations, including records of 
the origin and destination of livestock handled by the livestock 
market; 
 (f)  provide adequate space for pens, alleyways, chutes, and 
sales ring; and cover sales ring with a leak-proof roof; 
 (g)  construct each pen, alleyway, chute, and sales ring to 
be safe, easily cleaned, and properly drained in any weather; 
 (h)  maintain the facility in a clean and sanitary manner; 
and 
 (i)  provide specially designated isolation pens to 
quarantine animals suspected of having a contagious disease. 
 (2)  Each livestock market licensee shall ensure that 
livestock sold through livestock markets complies with Utah law and 
rules, including Rule R58-3 Brucellosis Vaccination Requirements, 
Rule R58-21 Trichomoniasis, Rule R58-22 Equine Infectious 
Anemia, and Section R58-2-3 Reportable and Quarantinable Animal 
Diseases. 
 (3)  Livestock market licensees or veterinarians shall: 
 (a)  report any suspected cases of diseases from the Utah 
List of Reportable Conditions for Animals to the State Veterinarian; 
and 
 (b)  not release animals suspected to be infected until the 
department or its authorized representative approves the movement. 
 (4)  The List of Reportable Conditions is available from the 
State Veterinarian's office or the department website. 
 (5)  A livestock market licensee shall: 
 (a)  provide the department with a schedule of sale days that 
the commissioner has not previously approved, giving the beginning 
hour; 
 (b)  provide and maintain one or more chutes, in addition 
to the loading chute, at a convenient and usable place in a covered 
area suitable for restraining, inspecting, examining, testing, tagging, 
branding, and other treatments and procedures ordinarily required to 
provide livestock sanitary, healthy, and safe service at markets; 
 (c)  provide personnel as required to assist department or 
federal inspectors; 
 (d)  provide specially designated isolation pens to 
quarantine animals suspected of contagious disease and animals 
classified as reactors, exposed, suspects, "V" branded, or "S" 
branded; 
 (e)  limit the sale of restricted animals to a slaughtering 
establishment where the establishment maintains federal or state 
inspections or a qualified feedlot approved by the department; and 
 (f)  arrange with an accredited veterinarian to provide 
services to ensure compliance with state and federal laws for 
intrastate and interstate movement. 
 (6)  Each livestock market licensee shall adhere to 
brucellosis testing and vaccination standards for female cattle not 
sold for slaughter, including : 
 (a)  vaccinating unvaccinated female cattle from four to 12 
months of age before leaving the livestock market; 
 (b)  testing unvaccinated female cattle over 12 months of 
age not going to slaughter for brucellosis and vaccinated if not 
pregnant before leaving the livestock market; 
 (c)  testing unvaccinated pregnant cattle for brucellosis 
before leaving the livestock market; 

 (d)  ensuring that each buyer vaccinates cattle within 30 
days after calving; and 
 (e)  ensuring that the testing and vaccination results are 
reported to the department. 
 (7)  The department may, after due notice to the livestock 
market licensee involved and opportunity for a hearing, deny an 
application for a license or suspend or cancel a license when the 
department is satisfied that the licensee has: 
 (a)  violated state law or rules governing the interstate or 
intrastate movement, shipment, or transportation of livestock; 
 (b)  made false or misleading statements in their application 
for licensing, or false or misleading statements as to the health or 
physical conditions of livestock regarding official test results or 
status of the herd of origin; 
 (c)  knowingly sold animals that exhibit signs of a 
communicable disease for purposes other than slaughter; 
 (d)  demonstrated their inability or unwillingness to carry 
out the record keeping requirements contained in this rule; 
 (e)  failed to comply with any law or rule pertaining to 
livestock health or movement; 
 (f)  failed to maintain livestock market facilities in a safe, 
clean, and sanitary manner; or 
 (g)  operated as a livestock market without proper 
licensing. 
 
R58-7-4.  Temporary Livestock Sale License. 
 (1)  The department requires a temporary livestock sales 
license for each temporary livestock sale where: 
 (a)  a livestock market licensee offers livestock for public 
bidding and sale on a yardage, commission, or percentage basis; 
 (b)  a person conducts livestock sales for livestock owned 
by them, selling livestock on their premises pursuant to Sections R58-
7-5 and R58-7-6; 
 (c)  a farmer, dairyman, livestock breeder, or feeder 
conducts sales for the liquidation of livestock or 
 (d)  a non-profit breed or livestock association or club 
conducts a sale. 
 (2)(a)  This rule does not intend to require a bond from non-
profit breed or livestock associations or clubs or from liquidation 
sales if they conduct sales themselves and do not assume any 
financial responsibility between the seller and the buyer. 
 (b)  If outside or professional management conducts the 
sales, the department shall require a temporary livestock sales license 
and either a bond, trust fund agreement or letter of credit. 
 (c)  Sales other than those described in Subsections R58-7-
4(2)(a) and R58-7-4(2)(b) may be permissible if approved by the 
department. 
 (3)  The department may not require a temporary livestock 
sales license for: 
 (a)  sales conducted by Future Farmers of America or 4H 
Club groups; or 
 (b)  sales conducted in conjunction with state, county, or 
private fairs. 
 (4)  Any person conducting a sale that does not require a 
temporary livestock license shall notify the department ten days 
before the sale. 
 (5)  The department may impose a late fee for notifications 
of livestock sales with less than ten days' notice. 
 (6)  A temporary livestock sales license shall be issued 
when the department: 
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 (a)  receives and approves a livestock market license 
application, payment of the licensing fee included in the fee schedule 
approved by the Legislature pursuant to Section 63J-1-504; and 
 (b)  where applicable, receives the bond required by the 
department or in accordance with the Packers and Stockyards Act, 7 
U.S.C. Sec. 181 et seq. 
 (7)  A letter of credit or a trust fund agreement approved by 
the department may replace the bonding requirements. 
 
R58-7-5.  Dealers. 
 (1)(a)  Pursuant to Title 4, Chapter 7, Livestock Dealers' 
Act, a person may not operate as a livestock dealer in the state 
without a dealer's license and bond. 
 (b)  If the applicant meets current bonding requirements, 
the department shall issue a dealer's license after receiving a complete 
application and payment of the license fee included in the fee 
schedule approved by the Legislature pursuant to Section 63J-1-504. 
 (2)  The dealer's license shall allow the applicant to operate 
as a livestock dealer through December 31 of each year. 
 (3)  The department may deny an application for a dealer's 
license, suspend, or cancel the dealer's license after due notice and 
opportunity for hearing to the dealer involved if the applicant or 
dealer has: 
 (a)  violated state law or rules governing the interstate or 
intrastate movement, shipment, or transportation of livestock; 
 (b)  made false or misleading statements in their application 
for licensing or false or misleading statements as to the health or 
physical conditions of livestock regarding official test results or 
status of the herd of origin; 
 (c)  knowingly sold for dairy or breeding purposes cattle 
infected with a communicable disease; 
 (d)  demonstrated their inability or unwillingness to carry 
out the record keeping requirements contained in this rule; 
 (e)  failed to comply with any law or rule pertaining to 
livestock health or movement; or 
 (f)  operated as a dealer without meeting proper licensing 
and bonding requirements. 
 (4)  Each dealer shall keep two years of records to trace 
livestock back to the prior owner under Section 4-7-109. 
 (5)  A dealer shall permit the department or its authorized 
representative to review each phase of the livestock dealer 
operations, including records of the origin and destination of 
livestock handled by the livestock dealer. 
 
R58-7-6.  Responsibilities of a Bonded and Licensed 
Weighperson. 
 (1)(a)  A Stockyard owner, market agency, or dealer shall 
employ only competent, licensed, and bonded weighpersons of good 
character and known integrity to operate scales for weighing 
livestock to purchase or sell. 
 (b)  The department shall remove any weighperson found 
to be operating scales incorrectly, carelessly, in violation of 
instructions, or in a manner as to favor or injure any group or agency 
through incorrect weighing or incorrect weight recording from 
weighing duties. 
 (2)(a)  The primary responsibility of a weighperson is to 
determine and accurately record the weight of a livestock draft 
without prejudice or favor to any person or agency and without regard 
for livestock ownership, price condition, fill, shrink, or other 
considerations. 

 (b)  A weighperson may not permit the representations or 
attitudes of any persons or agencies to influence their judgment or 
action in performing their duties. 
 (3)(a)  A weighperson may not leave any unused or partially 
executed scale tickets without a printed weight value exposed or 
accessible to unauthorized personnel. 
 (b)  Each weighperson shall keep tickets under lock when 
the weighperson is not at their duty station. 
 (4)  Accurate weighing and correct weight recording 
require that a weighperson not permit the operations to be hurried to 
the extent that inaccurate weights or incorrect weight records may 
result. 
 (5)  A weighperson shall: 
 (a)  weigh each draft of livestock accurately by indicating 
or recording the nearest minimum weight value; and 
 (b)  perform any manual operations connected with 
balancing, weighing, and recording with the care necessary to prevent 
damage to the accurately machined and adjusted part of weigh-
beams, poses, and printing devices. 
 (6)(a)  A weighperson shall permit livestock owners, 
buyers, or others having a legitimate interest in a livestock draft to 
observe the balancing, weighing, and recording procedures, and a 
weighperson may not deny them that right or withhold from them any 
information pertaining to the weight of that draft. 
 (b)  Owners, buyers, or others shall check the scale's zero 
balance or reweigh a livestock draft when requested by the parties. 
 (7)  A weighperson's responsibilities for balancing the 
empty scale shall include: 
 (a)  balancing the empty scale each day before weighing 
begins and maintaining the scale in correct balance while weighing 
operations continue; 
 (b)  verifying the zero balance at intervals of not more than 
15 drafts or 15 minutes, whichever is first; and 
 (c)  verifying the zero balance of the scale when: 
 (i)  the weighperson resumes weighing duties after an 
absence from the scale; and 
 (ii)  when the weighperson weighs a load exceeding half 
the scale capacity or 10,000 pounds, whichever is less, and the 
following load is fewer than 1,000 pounds; 
 (d)  recording the time at which the weighperson balances 
the empty scale or verifies its zero balance and shall  record it on 
scale tickets or other permanent records; and 
 (e)  filing balance tickets with other scale tickets issued on 
that date. 
 (8)  When a load exceeding half of the scale capacity has 
been weighed, followed by a load of fewer than 1,000 pounds, 
verification shall occur before weighing a load of fewer than 1,000 
pounds. 
 (9)(a)  Before balancing the empty scale, the weighperson 
shall close or verify that the scale gates are closed and that a person 
or animal is not on the scale platform or in contact with the stock 
rack, gates, or platform. 
 (b)  If the weighperson balances the scale with persons on 
the scale platform, the weighperson shall verify the zero balance 
when there is a change in persons. 
 (c)  When the scale is properly balanced and ready for 
weighing, the weighperson shall show an appropriate signal. 
 (10)  Before weighing a draft of livestock, the weighperson 
shall verify that the entire draft is on the scale platform with the gates 
closed and that any person or animal off the scale is not in contact 
with the platform, gates, or stock rack. 
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 (11)(a)  Any person selling livestock sold by weight 
through a satellite video livestock market shall sell the livestock 
based on the weight of the livestock on the day of delivery. 
 (b)  A weighperson shall weigh livestock sold by weight on 
scales that the Division of Weights and Measures has tested and 
inspected in the manner prescribed by law. 
 
R58-7-7.  Satellite Video Livestock Market. 
 (1)(a)  A person may apply to the department annually, on 
or before January 1, for an online production sale license to transact 
business as or with a satellite video livestock market. 
 (b)  The application described in Subsection R58-7-7(1)(a) 
shall include: 
 (i)  the nature of the business for which a license is desired; 
 (ii)  the name of the person applying for the license; 
 (iii)  the name and address of the proposed satellite video 
livestock market or the name and address of the satellite video 
livestock market the person proposes to transact business with; and 
 (iv)  other information the department may require as listed 
in Section 4-7-106. 
 (2)  The application for an online product sale license or a 
renewal of a license shall include: 
 (a)  a license fee set in accordance with Section 4-30-105, 
determined by the department pursuant to Subsection 4-2-103(2); 
 (b)  evidence of proper security bonding as required in 
Subsection 4-30-105(3) for the satellite video  and Section 4-7-107 ; 
 (c)  a schedule of fees and commissions that the satellite 
video livestock market will charge owners, sellers, or their agents; 
and 
 (d)  other information the department may require as listed 
in Section 4-7-106. 
 (3)(a)  The department will consider each satellite video 
livestock market a temporary livestock sale unless licensed under this 
rule as a satellite video livestock market. 
 (b)  The department requires sales operated by a 
representative to apply as designated in Section R58-7-4. 
 (4)  Any representative shall supply a copy of each contract 
between the representative and the satellite video livestock market 
with which the representative proposes to transact business with to 
the department. 
 (5)(a)  The contract described in Subsection R58-7-7(4) 
shall include a provision authorizing the department to have access 
to the books, papers, accounts, and financial records held by financial 
institutions, accountants, or other sources. 
 (b)  Other documents relating to the activities of the 
satellite video livestock market and requiring the satellite video 
livestock market shall be reasonably available to the department. 
 (c)  If a representative and the satellite video livestock 
market terminate, rescind, breach, or materially alter the contract 
described in Subsection R58-7-7(4), the representative and the 
satellite video livestock market shall immediately notify the 
department. 
 (d)  The department shall consider it a failure to notify and 
a failure to keep and maintain suitable records and be a false entry or 
statement of fact in the application filed with the department, 
pursuant to Section 4-7-201. 
 
R58-7-8.  Livestock Market Committee. 
 (1)  The chair of the department's Livestock Market 
Committee may hold a hearing to review each application to operate 
a satellite video livestock market and determine whether the 
department will issue a license. 

 (2)  The livestock market committee shall approve an 
application in accordance with Section 4-30-107 and shall apply their 
decision to the livestock market and the satellite video livestock 
market. 
 
KEY:  livestock 
Date of Last Change:  [September 27, 2022]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  December 26, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-2-2103; 4-
30-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R58-11 Filing ID:  
56256 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Animal Industry 
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kelly Pehrson 801-

982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Amber Brown 385-
245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Leann Hunting 385-
977-
2158 

leannhunting@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R58-11.  Slaughter of Livestock and Poultry 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Specific poultry producers are federally exempt from 
obtaining a farm custom slaughter license. 
 
The proposed changes remove that requirement in this 
rule to align with Subsections 4-32-109(11) and (12). 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed changes in Section R58-11-8 remove the 
licensing requirement for federally exempt poultry 
producers to obtain a farm custom slaughter license. 
 
The changes also update this rule to be consistent with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah standards.  The definitions 
have been alphabetized, subsections have been updated 
to the correct order, and most of the language has been 
updated to be in active voice rather than passive. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The changes do not impact the state budget because they 
do not impact the administration of the program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The proposed changes do not change the administration 
of the program. 
 
Local governments will not be impacted by the changes. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses register for the custom slaughter 
exemption with the Department of Agriculture and Food 
(Department), but they do not apply for a license. 
 
The requirement and language for the license are being 
removed from this rule since it was not part of the 
administration of the program. 
 
The changes will not impact small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The changes would not affect a non-small business 
because they don't apply for a custom slaughter 
exemption. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons may continue to register their custom 
slaughter facility with the Department and not apply for a 
license. 
 
The language that mentions the license is being removed 
from this rule to provide clarity to the requirements. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Unnecessary language is being removed from this rule 
because the Department does not require a license for the 
custom slaughter exemption, and compliance costs will 
not be affected by this change. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
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Subsection 
4-32-109(1) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2023 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig Buttars, 
Commissioner 

Date: 12/14/2023 

 
R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
R58-11.  Slaughter of Livestock and Poultry. 
R58-11-1.  Authority. 
 Promulgated under authority of Section 4-32-109. 
 
R58-11-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Adulterated" means [any meat or poultry product as 
described]the same as defined in Subsection 4-32-105(1). 
 (2)  "Bill of Sale for Hides" means a hide release or other 
formal means of transferring the title of a hide. 
 (3)  "Business" means an individual or organization 
receiving remuneration for a service. 
 (4)  "Commerce" means the exchange transportation of 
poultry products between states and U.S. territories, including Guam, 
the Virgin Islands of the United States, American Samoa, and the 
District of Columbia. 
 ([4]5)  "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of 
Agriculture or their designee. 
 ([5]6)  "Custom Slaughter-Release Permit" means a permit 
that serves as a Brand Inspection Certificate and [ ]allows an animal 
owner to have their animal farm custom slaughtered. 
 ([6]7)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 ([7]8)  "Detain or Embargo" means the holding of a food or 
food product for legal verification of adulteration, misbranding, or 
proof of ownership. 
[ (8)  "Emergency Slaughter" for the purpose of this rule, 
does not include slaughter of non-ambulatory injured cattle.  For the 
purposes of this chapter, non-ambulatory disabled cattle that cannot 
rise from a recumbent position or cannot walk, including, those with 
broken appendages, severed tendons or ligaments, nerve paralysis, 
fractured vertebral column or metabolic conditions, are not allowed 
to be slaughtered for food.] 
 (9)  "Farm Custom Slaughtering" means the slaughtering, 
skinning, and preparing of livestock and poultry by humane means 
for [the purpose of ]human consumption that is done at a place other 

than a licensed slaughtering house by a person who is not the animal 
owner[ of the animal]. 
 (10)  "Food" means a product intended for human 
consumption. 
 (11)  "Immediate Family" means persons and their sons and 
daughters living together in a single dwelling unit[ and their sons and 
daughters]. 
 (12)  "License" means a license issued by the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food to allow farm custom 
slaughtering. 
 (13)  "Licensee" means a person [who possesses ]with a 
valid [f]Farm [c]Custom [s]Slaughtering [l]License. 
 (14)  "Misbranded" means [any meat or poultry product as 
described]the same as defined in Subsection 4-32-105 (27). 
 (15)  "Official establishment" means an establishment at 
which inspection of the slaughter of animals, or the preparation of 
meat or poultry products is maintained under the authority of Chapter 
4-32, Utah Meat and Poultry Products Inspection and Licensing Act. 
 (1[5]6)  "Owner" means a person holding legal title to 
[the]an animal. 
[ (17)  "Commerce" means the exchange transportation of 
poultry product between states, U.S. territories, including Guam, 
Virgin Islands of the United States, American Samoa, and the District 
of Columbia.] 
 
R58-11-3.  Sanitation Standards. 
[ Sanitation standards shall include: 
 (1)  Sanitary operating conditions:] 
 (1)  Any person operating in an official establishment shall 
clean and sanitize [F]food-contact surfaces and non-food-contact 
surfaces [shall be cleaned and sanitized ]as frequently as necessary to 
prevent the creation of insanitary conditions and the adulteration of 
products. 
 (a)  Cleaning compounds, sanitizing agents, processing 
aids, and other chemicals used shall be safe and effective under the 
conditions of use. 
 (b)  [These]Any chemicals [shall be ]used[, handled, and 
stored ] shall be used in a manner that will not adulterate products or 
create insanitary conditions. 
 (c)  Documentation substantiating the safety of a chemical's 
use in a food processing environment shall be made available to 
inspection program employees for review. 
 (d)  Product shall be protected from adulteration during 
processing, handling, storage, loading, [and ]unloading, and [during 
]transportation. 
[ (2)  Grounds and pest control:] 
 (2)  [Grounds shall be maintained]Any person operating in 
an official establishment shall maintain grounds to prevent conditions 
that could lead to insanitary conditions or adulteration of product. 
 (a)  A pest management program shall be in place to prevent 
the harborage and breeding of pests on the grounds and within 
buildings. 
 (b)  The pest control program shall [be capable of 
preventing]prevent product adulteration. 
 (c)(i)  [Every]The grounds shall be maintained to [effort 
shall be made to ]prevent the entry of rodents, insects, or animals into 
areas where there is product[ is handled, processed, or stored]. 
 (ii)  Each opening leading to the outside or [to ]an area 
holding an inedible product shall have an effective closure that 
completely fills the opening. 
 (d)  Each area inside and outside shall be maintained to 
prevent harborage of rodents and insects. 
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 (e)  Any pest control substance used shall be safe and 
effective under the conditions of use and [shall]may not be applied or 
stored in a manner that would result in the adulteration of product or 
the creation of insanitary conditions. 
 (3)  Any person operating in an official establishment shall 
ensure that [E]each sewage and waste disposal system shall properly 
remove sewage and waste material such as feces, feathers, trash, 
garbage, and paper. 
 (a)  Sewage shall be disposed of into a sewage system 
separate from other drainage lines or [disposed of ]through other 
means sufficient to prevent backup of sewage into areas where a 
product is processed, handled, or stored. 
 (b)  If the sewage disposal system is a private system 
requiring approval by a state or local health authority, a letter of 
approval from that authority to the inspector shall be provided upon 
request. 
 (4)  An official establishment shall supply [of ]running 
water that complies with the National Primary Drinking Water 
[r]Regulations, 40 CFR 141, at a suitable temperature and under 
pressure as needed, [shall be provided ]in any area where required for 
processing products; for cleaning rooms and equipment, utensils, and 
packaging materials; and for employee sanitary facilities. 
 (a)  If a municipal water supply is used, the supplier shall 
provide a water report, issued under the authority of the state or local 
health agency, certifying or attesting to the potability of the water 
supply, and make the [report ]information available to the inspector, 
upon request. 
 (b)  [If ]An official establishment using a private well [is 
used, the potability of the water supply ]shall[ be] document[ed] at 
least semi-annually, the potability of the water supply and 
[documentation shall be made]make the documentation available to 
the inspector[,] upon request. 
 (5)  Each official establishment shall be [Maintenance of 
facilities ]maintained during slaughtering and processing [shall be 
accomplished ]in a manner to ensure the production of wholesome, 
unadulterated products. 
 (6)(a)  Dressing rooms, toilet rooms, and urinals shall be 
sufficient in number, ample in size, conveniently located, and 
maintained in a sanitary condition and in good repair to ensure the 
cleanliness of any person handling any product. 
 (b)  Dressing rooms, lavatories, and toilets shall be separate 
from the rooms and compartments [in which]where products are 
processed, stored, or handled. 
 (7)  Any person operating in an official establishment shall 
handle and maintain [I]inedible material [shall be handled and 
maintained in a manner that ]to prevent[s] the diversion of inedible 
animal products into human food channels and prevent[s] the 
adulteration of human food. 
 
R58-11-4.  Farm Custom Slaughtering License. 
 (1)  Anyone [person ]who desires to do farm custom 
slaughtering shall apply [to the department ]for a Farm Custom 
Slaughtering License. 
 (2)(a)  An application for a Farm Custom Slaughtering 
[l]License shall be on a form provided by the department. 
 (b)  The application shall show: 
 (a)  the name, address, and telephone number of the owner 
of the facility; 
 (b)  the name, address, and telephone number of the 
operator if it is different than the owner; and 
 (c)  a brief description of the vehicle to be used[, along 
with] and the license number. 

 (3)(a)  Farm Custom Slaughtering [l]Licenses will be valid 
for the calendar year. 
 (b)  Each licensee will be required to re-apply for a license 
each calendar year. 
 (c)  Any [C]change of ownership or [change of ]vehicle 
license will require a person to file a new application [to be filed ]with 
the department. 
 (4)  The department will not recognize a Farm Custom 
Slaughtering [l]Licensure [will not be recognized ]as complete until 
the applicant has demonstrated the ability to slaughter and has 
completed and signed the license application form. 
 (5)  An applicant shall pay the applicable fee, as set forth in 
the fee schedule approved by the [l]Legislature, [shall be paid prior 
to]before license issuance. 
 
R58-11-5.  Equipment and Sanitation Requirements[-Farm 
Custom Slaughter]. 
[ The following equipment and sanitation requirements shall 
apply to farm custom slaughtering:] 
 (1)  [The unit or ]Any vehicle or unit used for farm custom 
slaughtering shall be [constructed so as to permit 
maintenance]maintained consistent with the sanitation standards[ 
listed] in Section R58-11-3. 
 (2)(a)  Any vehicle or unit shall incorporate a tripod or rail 
that can lift [capable of lifting ]a carcass to a height that enables the 
carcass to clear the ground for bleeding and evisceration[ shall be 
incorporated into the unit or vehicle]. 
 (b)  Any hook, gamble, or rack used to hoist and eviscerate 
animals shall be of easily cleanable metal construction. 
 (3)(a)  Knives, scabbards, saws, and other equipment [ 
]shall be made of rust resistant metal or other impervious, easily 
cleanable material. 
 (b)  A clean, dust proof container shall be used to transport 
and store each instrument and utensil used in slaughtering animals. 
 (4)(a)  A water tank shall be an integral part of the unit or 
vehicle. 
 (b)  The water tank[It] shall be of approved construction 
with a minimum capacity of 40 gallons.[  Each] 
 (c)  A licensee shall maintain each water system [shall be 
maintained ]according to sanitary standards[,] and use only potable 
water[ shall be used]. 
 (5)  A licensee shall fill a sanitation tank large enough to 
allow complete immersion of each tool used for slaughtering[ shall 
be filled] during slaughter operations with potable water and 
maintained at a temperature of at least 180 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (a)(i)  In lieu of 180 degrees Fahrenheit water, a licensee 
may use chemical sterilization [may be used ]with an approved 
chemical agent after thoroughly cleaning the equipment[ has been 
thoroughly cleaned]. 
 (ii)  Chloramine, hypochlorite, [and ]quaternary 
ammonium [compounds ]or other approved chemical compounds 
may be used for this purpose, and a concentration shall be maintained 
[at a ]sufficient [level ]to disinfect each utensil. 
 (b)  Hot water, cleaning agents, and disinfectant shall be 
available if chemicals are used in lieu of 180 degrees Fahrenheit 
water. 
 (6)  Cleaning agents and paper towels shall be available so 
any person can clean their hands and equipment [may be cleaned ]as 
needed. 
 (7)  Any apron, frock, or other outer clothing worn by a 
person who handles meat shall be clean and of material that is easily 
cleanable. 
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 (8)  [Any inedible product and offal will be denatured, 
p]Pursuant to 9 CFR 325.13, any licensee may denature inedible 
product and offal with either an approved denaturing agent or [by use 
of]using pounch material as a natural denaturing agent. 
 (9)  When a licensee transports uninspected meat to an 
establishment for processing, they shall: 
 (a)  do so in a manner whereby the product will not be 
adulterated, [or ]misbranded, or mislabeled; 
 (b)  transport the meat in such a way that it is properly 
protected; and 
 (c)  deliver carcasses [in a way that they shall]to be placed 
under refrigeration at [a temperature at ]or below 40 degrees 
Fahrenheit within one hour [of the time ]of slaughter. 
[ (10)  Sanitation. 
 (a)  Unit or Vehicle.] 
 ([i]10)  A licensee shall thoroughly clean [E]each unit or 
vehicle after each daily use[shall be thoroughly cleaned after each 
daily use]. 
 ([ii]11)  A licensee shall clean and sanitize any [F]food-
contact and non-food-contact surfaces of utensils and equipment 
[shall be cleaned and sanitized ]as necessary to prevent the creation 
of insanitary conditions and the adulteration of carcasses and parts. 
 ([iii]12)  A licensee shall protect [C]carcasses [shall be 
protected ]from adulteration during processing, handling, storage, 
loading, unloading, and [during ]transportation to processing 
establishments. 
[ (b)  Equipment.] 
 ([i]13)  A licensee shall clean and sanitize [K]knives, 
scabbards, saws, and other food-contact surfaces [shall be cleaned 
and sanitized prior to]before slaughter and as needed to prevent 
adulteration. 
 ([ii]14)  A licensee shall clean and sanitize [E]equipment 
[shall be cleaned and sanitized ]after each slaughter and immediately 
before each slaughter. 
[ (c)  Inedible.] 
 ([i]15)  A licensee shall place and properly denature 
[I]inedible [shall be placed ]in designated containers.  [ and be 
properly denatured, and t]The inedible containers shall be: 
 (i)  [clearly ]marked "Inedible Not For Human 
Consumption" in letters not less than 4 inches in height[.]; and 
 (ii)  [Containers for inedible shall be ]kept clean and 
properly separated from edible carcasses to prevent adulteration. 
[ (d)  Personal Cleanliness.] 
 ([i]16)  A licensee shall take [A]adequate care[ shall be 
taken] to prevent contamination of the carcasses from fecal material, 
ingesta, milk, perspiration, hair, cosmetics, medication, and similar 
substances. 
 ([ii]17)  Outer clothing [worn by ]a [permittee]licensee 
wears while handling exposed carcasses shall be clean. 
 ([iii]18)  [No ]A licensee with a communicable disease,[ or] 
who is a disease carrier, or who [is ]infected with boils, infected 
wounds, sores, or an acute respiratory infection [shall ]may not 
participate in livestock slaughtering. 
 ([iv]19)  A licensee shall use the [H]hand wash facilities 
[shall be used ]as needed to maintain good personal hygiene. 
 
R58-11-6.  Slaughtering Procedures of Livestock. 
[ License holders shall ensure the following procedures are 
followed: 
 (1)  Slaughter Area] 
 ([a]1)  Slaughtering may not take place under adverse 
conditions such as blowing dirt, dust, or[ in] mud. 

 ([b]2)  If a licensee uses a slaughter area [is used ]for 
repeated kills, the licensee shall maintain the area [should be 
maintained ]to prevent blood from collecting, running off on[ ]to 
adjacent property, or contaminating a water source. 
 ([c]3)  A licensee shall remove and dispose of any [H]hides, 
viscera, blood, pounch material, and tissue [shall be removed and 
disposed ]at a rendering facility, landfill, composting, or [by ]burial 
as allowed by law. 
 ([2]4)  [Humane Slaughter.  ]A licensee shall make [E]each 
animal [shall be rendered ]insensible to pain by a single blow, [or 
]gun[ ]shot,[ or] electrical shock, or other means that is instantaneous 
and effective before the animal is [being ]shackled, hoisted, thrown, 
cast, or cut. 
 ([3]5)(a)  [Hoisting and Bleeding.  ]A licensee shall hoist 
and bleed [E]each animal [shall be hoisted and bled ]as soon after 
stunning as possible to utilize post-stunning heart action and to obtain 
complete bleeding. 
 (b)  A licensee shall move [C]carcasses [shall be moved 
]away from the bleeding area for skinning and butchering. 
 ([4]6)  [Skinning.  ]A licensee shall: 
 (a)  handle the [C]carcass and head skin [shall be handled 
]without contaminating the neck tissue [contamination.  This may be 
done ]by leaving the ears on the hide and tying the head skin[.]; 
 (b)  remove the [F]feet [shall be removed ]before the 
carcass is otherwise cut[.]; 
 (c)  [E]except for skinning and starting skinning 
procedures, cut the skin [should be cut ]from the inside outward to 
prevent carcass contamination with cut hair[.]; and 
 (d)  carefully roll or reflect away the [H]hair side of the hide 
[should be carefully rolled or reflected away ]from the carcass during 
skinning[.  W]-when the carcass is moved from the skinning bed, 
caution should be taken to prevent exposed parts from [coming in 
contact with]contacting adulterating surfaces. 
 ([5]7)(a)  [Evisceration.  ]Before evisceration, a licensee 
shall tie the rectum, [shall be tied to include]including the bladder 
neck, [and ]to prevent urine and fecal leakage. 
 (b)  A licensee shall take [C]care [should also be taken 
]while opening abdominal cavities to prevent carcass or viscera 
contamination. 
 ([6]8)(a)  [Carcass washing.  ]A licensee shall trim [H]hair, 
dirt, and other accidental contamination [should be trimmed prior 
to]before washing. 
 (b)  Washing should proceed from the carcass top 
downward to [move away]remove any possible contaminants from 
clean areas. 
 (9)  Emergency slaughter does not include the slaughter of 
non-ambulatory injured cattle.  For this rule, the department does not 
allow non-ambulatory disabled cattle that cannot rise from a 
recumbent position or cannot walk, including, those with broken 
appendages, severed tendons or ligaments, nerve paralysis, fractured 
vertebral column, or metabolic conditions to be slaughtered for food. 
 
R58-11-7.  Identification and Records. 
 (1)  [Livestock Identification.  ]Pursuant to Section 4-24-
304, it shall be unlawful for any licensee[ holder] to slaughter 
livestock [which]that does not have a Brand Inspection Certificate or 
Farm Custom Slaughter Tag filled out at the time of slaughter. 
 (a)  Animal owners shall have a Brand Inspection 
Certificate for livestock intended to be farm custom slaughtered, 
issued by a department Brand Inspector [prior to]before slaughter, 
and shall pay the legal brand inspection fee and beef promotion fee.  
This is accomplished by the animal owner contacting a department 
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Brand Inspector and obtaining a Brand Inspection Certificate, and a 
Custom Slaughter-Release Permit. 
 (b)(i)  Animal owners shall obtain [f]Farm [c]Custom 
[s]slaughter identification tags from a department Brand Inspector for 
a fee of $1 each. 
 (ii)  The department requires [T]these tags [will be required 
]on beef, pork, and sheep. 
[ (2)  Records.] 
 ([a]2)(a)  The Custom Slaughter-Release Permit or Farm 
Custom Slaughter Tag shall include [the following information: 
 (i)  A]an affidavit with a signed statement that [shall ]reads: 
"I hereby certify ownership of this animal to be slaughtered by ('insert 
name').  I fully understand that having my animal farm custom 
slaughtered means my animal will not receive meat inspection and is 
for my use, the use of my immediate family, non-paying guests, or 
full-time employees.  The carcass will be stamped "NOT FOR 
SALE" and will not be sold."[  This statement shall be signed by the 
owner or designee;] 
 ([ii]b)  In addition to this affidavit, the owner or designee 
will record the following information[ will be recorded]: 
 ([A]i)  date; 
 ([B]ii)  owner's name, address, and telephone number; 
 ([C]iii)  animal description, including brands and marks; 
 ([D]iv)  Farm Custom Slaughter Tag number; 
 ([E]v)  location of slaughter; 
 ([F]vi)  name of licensee; 
 ([G]vii)  licensee permit number; and 
 ([H]viii)  carcass destination. 
 ([b]3)  [Prior to ]Before slaughter, the licensee shall prepare 
the Farm Custom Slaughter Tag with complete and accurate 
information. 
 ([i]a)  One tag shall stay in the license holder's file for at 
least one year. 
 ([ii]b)  One tag plus a copy of the Farm Custom Slaughter-
Release Permit shall be sent [in]to the department by the 10th of each 
month for the preceding month's slaughter by the licensee. 
 ([iii]4)  After slaughter, any licensee shall stamp the 
carcasses [must be stamped ]"NOT FOR SALE" on each quarter with 
letters at least 3/8" in height; [further, ]and affix a Farm Custom 
Slaughter "NOT FOR SALE" tag [shall be affixed ]to each quarter of 
beef and each half of pork and sheep. 
 ([c]5)  [Hide Purchase.  ]A [L]licensee receiving hides for 
slaughtering services shall obtain a copy of the Custom Slaughter-
Release Permit to record the transfer of ownership, pursuant to 
Section 4-24-18. 
 
R58-11-8.  Poultry Slaughter. 
 (1)(a)  Personal Use Exemption. 
 (b)  A person who raises poultry may slaughter or process 
the poultry under a personal use exemption if: 
 (i)  local ordinances do not prohibit slaughtering or 
processing poultry[ is not prohibited by local ordinance]; 
 (ii)  the person or the person's immediate family, regular 
employees of the person, or non-paying guests exclusively consume 
the poultry product derived from the slaughtered poultry[ is 
consumed exclusively by the person or the person's immediate 
family, regular employees of the person, or non-paying guests]; 
 (iii)  only the owner or an employee performs the 
slaughtering or processing [the slaughtering and processing ]of the 
poultry[ is performed only by the owner or an employee]; 
 (iv)  the poultry is healthy when slaughtered; 

 (v)  the exempt poultry is not sold or donated for use as 
human food; and 
 (vi)  the immediate container bears the statement, "NOT 
FOR SALE". 
 (2)(a)  Farm Custom Slaughter and Processing. 
 (b)  Per Subsections 4-32-105(10) and 4-32-105(11)(a), 
[A]a person may slaughter or process poultry belonging to another 
person if: 
[ (i)  the person holds a valid farm custom slaughter license 
issued by the department;] 
 ([i]i)  local ordinances do not prohibit slaughtering or 
processing poultry[ is not prohibited by local ordinance]; 
 ([ii]i)  the [licensee]person does not engage in the business 
of buying or selling poultry products capable [for]of use as human 
food; 
 ([iv]iii)  the poultry is healthy when slaughtered; 
 ([v]iv)  the person conducts the slaughtering or processing[ 
is conducted] in accordance with sanitation standards that produce 
poultry product that is sound, clean, and fit for human food; 
 ([vi]v)  the person using a unit or vehicle [used ]for farm 
custom slaughtering [shall be so constructed as ]constructs the unit 
or vehicle to permit maintenance according to sanitation standards; 
and 
 ([vii]vi)  the immediate container bears the following 
information: 
 (A)  the owner's name and address; 
 (B)  the licensee's name and address[,]; and[;] 
 (C)  the statement, "NOT FOR SALE". 
 (3)(a)  Producer or Grower 1,000 Bird Limit Exemption. 
 [(a)](b)  A poultry producer or grower may slaughter no 
more than 1,000 birds of their [own ]raising in a calendar year for 
distribution as human food if: 
 (i)  the poultry producer or grower does not engage in 
buying or selling poultry products other than products produced from 
poultry raised on their own farm, including  rented or leased property; 
 (ii)  the producer or grower slaughter[ing]s [and ]or 
process[ing]es [are conducted ]under the sanitation standards capable 
of producing poultry products that are sound, clean, fit for human 
food, and not adulterated; 
 (iii)  the producer or grower keeps slaughter records and 
records covering the sales of poultry products to customers for the 
current calendar year; 
 (iv)  the poultry products do not move in commerce; and 
 (v)  as required by the U.S. Public Health Service, Food and 
Drug Administration, Food Code 2013, [adopted]incorporated by the 
department in Section R70-530-3, the immediate container bears the 
following information: 
 (A)  name of product; and 
 (B)  name and place of business of the processor; and 
 (vi)  the immediate container bears the statement "Exempt 
R58-11-8(3)." 
 (b)  The department shall maintain a registry of persons 
who slaughter or process fewer than 1,000 poultry during the 
calendar year. 
 (4)(a)  Producer or Grower 20,000 Bird Limit Exemption. 
 [(a)](b)  A poultry producer or grower may slaughter no 
more than 20,000 healthy birds of their [own ]raising in a calendar 
year for distribution as human food if: 
 (i)  the poultry producer or grower does not engage in 
buying or selling poultry products other than that produced from 
poultry raised on their own farm, including  rented or leased property; 
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 (ii)  the poultry producer or grower slaughter[ing]s or 
process[ing]es [is conducted ]in a fixed establishment and in 
accordance with sanitation standards that produce poultry product 
that is sound, clean, and fit for human food; 
 (iii)  the producer or grower keeps slaughter records and 
records covering the sales of poultry products to customers for the 
current calendar year; 
 (iv)  the poultry product does not move in commerce, as 
[the term is ]defined in 9 CFR 381.1; and 
 (v)  the immediate container bears the following 
information: 
 (A)  name of product; 
 (B)  name and address of the processor; 
 and 
 (C)  the statement "Exempt R58-11-8(4)." 
 (b)  The department shall maintain a registry of persons 
who slaughter or process fewer than 20,000 poultry during the 
calendar year. 
 (5)(a)  Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption. 
 [(a)](b)  The term "Producer or Grower or Other Person" in 
this section means a single entity, [which]that may be: 
 (i)  [A]a poultry grower who slaughters and processes 
poultry [that they ]raised for sale directly to household consumers, 
restaurants, hotels, and boarding houses to be used in[ those] homes 
and dining rooms [for the preparation of]to prepare meals served or 
sold directly to customers[.]; or 
 (ii)  [A]a person who purchases live poultry from a grower 
and then slaughters these poultry and processes [such ]poultry for 
sale direct[ly] to household consumers, restaurants, hotels, and 
boarding houses to be served in those homes or dining rooms [for the 
preparation of]to prepare meals sold directly to customers. 
 ([b]c)  A business may slaughter and process poultry under 
this exemption if; 
[ (i)  the person holds a valid poultry exemption license 
issued by the department;] 
 ([ii]i)  local ordinances do not prohibit slaughtering or 
processing poultry[ is not prohibited by local ordinance]; 
 ([iii]ii)  the producer or grower or other person slaughters 
for processing and sale direct[ly] to household consumers, 
restaurants, hotels, and boarding houses for use in dining rooms or 
[in ]the preparation of meals sold directly to customers; 
 ([iv]iii)  the producer or grower or other person slaughters 
no more than 20,000 birds in a calendar year that the producer or 
grower or other person raised or purchased; 
 ([v]iv)  the producer or grower or other person does not 
engage in the business of buying or selling poultry or poultry 
products prepared under any other exemptions in the same calendar 
year they claim the Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption; 
 ([vi]v)  the poultry products do not move in commerce[.]; 
 (vi)  [D]distribution is directly to household consumers, 
restaurants, hotels, and boarding houses for use in their dining rooms 
or in the preparation of meals sold directly to consumers within the 
jurisdiction where it is prepared; 
 (vii)  the business slaughter[ing]s or process[ing]es [is 
conducted ]in a fixed establishment and in accordance with sanitation 
standards that produce poultry products that are sound, clean, and fit 
for human food; 
 (viii)  the producer keeps slaughter records and records 
covering the sales of poultry products to customers for the current 
calendar year; and 
 (ix)  the immediate containers bear the following 
information: 

 (A)  name of product; 
 (B)  ingredients statement if applicable; 
 (C)  net weights statement; 
 (D)  name and address of the processor; 
 (E)  safe food handling statement; 
 (F)  date of the package or Lot number[,]; and[;] 
 (G)  the statement "Exempt R58-11-8(5)". 
 ([c]d)  A business preparing poultry products under the 
Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption may not slaughter, 
or process poultry owned by another person. 
 ([d]e)  A business preparing poultry products under the 
Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption may not sell poultry 
products to a retail store or other producer or grower. 
 (6)(a)  Small Enterprise Exemption. 
 [(a)](b)  A business that qualifies for the Small Enterprise 
Exemption may be: 
 (i)  a producer or grower who raises, slaughters, and dresses 
poultry for use as human food whose processing of dressed exempt 
poultry is limited to cutting up; 
 (ii)  a business that purchases live poultry that it slaughters 
and [whose processing of ]limits the processing of the slaughtered 
poultry [is limited ]to the cutting up; or 
 (iii)  a business that purchases dressed poultry[,] that it 
distributes as carcasses and [whose]limits processing [is limited ]to 
the cutting up of inspected or exempted poultry products[,] for 
distribution for use as human food. 
 ([b]c)  [a]A business may slaughter, dress, and cut up 
poultry for distribution as human food if: 
[ (i)  the person holds a valid poultry exemption license 
issued by the department;] 
 (i[i])  local ordinances do not prohibit slaughtering or 
processing poultry[ is not prohibited by local ordinance]; 
 (ii[i])  the business limits the processing of federal or state 
inspected, or exempt poultry products [is limited ]to the cutting up of 
carcasses or the business slaughters and dresses or cuts up no more 
than 20,000 birds in a calendar year; 
 (iii[v])  the business slaughter[ing]s [and ]or 
process[ing]es[ is conducted] in a fixed establishment and in 
accordance with sanitation standards that produce poultry product 
that is sound, clean, and fit for human food; 
 (iv)  the facility [used to slaughter or process poultry is ]is 
not used to slaughter or process another person's poultry; and 
 (v[i])  the immediate containers bear the following 
information: 
 (A)  name of product; 
 (B)  ingredients statement if applicable; 
 (C)  net weights statement; 
 (D)  name and address of processor; 
 (E)  safe food handling statement; 
 (F)  date of package or Lot number, and; 
 (G)  the statement "Exempt R58-11-8(6)." 
 ([c]d)  A business may not cut up and distribute poultry 
products produced under the Small Enterprise Exemption to a 
business operating under the following exemptions: 
 (i)  Producer or Grower or PGOP Exemption; 
 (ii)  Retail Dealer; or 
 (iii)  Retail Store. 
 
R58-11-9.  Producer and Grower Sharing a Fixed Facility. 
 (1)  Each producer or grower shall comply with the laws 
and regulations governing establishments as set forth in Title 4, 
Chapter 32, Utah Meat and Poultry and Poultry Products Inspection 
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and Licensing Act, this rule, the United States Department of 
Agriculture Poultry Exemptions, and federal regulations that apply. 
[ (2)  The poultry producer or grower shall hold a valid 
Custom Exempt Meat Establishment License (2202) issued by the 
department. The individual who holds the 2202 license shall be 
present when slaughter and processing operations are being 
performed.] 
 ([3]2)(a)  Each producer or grower shall notify [T]the 
department [shall be notified ]five business days [prior to]before 
slaughtering and processing. 
 (b)  The individual shall provide the department with the 
following information pertaining to the slaughtering and processing 
of birds: 
 ([a]i)  the date; 
 ([b]ii)  the time; and 
 ([c]iii)  the location. 
 ([4]3)  The producer or grower shall: 
 (a)  conduct a pre-operational inspection on any food-
contact surfaces; 
 (b)  document the findings of the pre-operational inspection 
and corrective actions pursuant to 9 CFR 416.12(a) and 416.15 [prior 
to]before the commencement of operations; 
 (c)  maintain records for at least one year and have them 
available for inspection by department officials; 
 (d)  fully label the product in accordance with this rule 
before leaving the facility; 
 (e)  maintain the product temperature at 40 degrees F or less 
during transport; and 
 (f)  keep a written recall plan pursuant to 9 CFR 418 and 
have it available for inspection by department officials. 
 ([5]4)  Producers or growers [shall]may not process on the 
same day as any other producer or grower. 
 
R58-11-10.  Enforcement Procedures. 
[ (1)  Livestock and Poultry Slaughtering License.] 
 ([a]1)  [It shall be]It is unlawful for any person to slaughter 
or assist in slaughtering livestock and poultry as a business outside 
of a licensed slaughterhouse unless they hold a valid Farm Custom 
Slaughtering License issued by the department. 
 ([b]2)  Only persons who comply with Title 4, Chapter 32, 
Utah Meat and Poultry Products Inspection and Licensing Act and 
associated rules, and Title 4, Chapter 24, Utah Livestock Brand and 
Anti-Theft Act, shall be entitled to receive and retain a license. 
 ([c]3)  A license may be renewed annually and shall expire 
on the 31st of December of each year. 
 ([2]4)  A license may be suspended when[ever]: 
 (a)  the department has reason to believe that an eminent 
public health hazard exists; 
 (b)  insanitary conditions are such that carcasses would be 
[rendered]made adulterated and or contaminated; 
 (c)  the license holder has interfered with the department in 
the performance of its duties; or 
 (d)  the licensee violates Title 4, Chapter 32, the Utah Meat 
and Poultry Products Inspection and Licensing Act or Title 4, Chapter 
24, Utah Livestock Brand and Anti-Theft Act or associated rules. 
 ([3]5)(a)  The department may, pursuant to 9 CFR 500, 
suspend or terminate any exemption with respect to any person 
when[ever] the department finds that the action will aid in 
effectuating the purposes of the Act. 
 (b)  Failure to comply with the conditions of the exemption, 
including failure to process poultry and poultry products under 

sanitation standards, may result in termination of an exemption, in 
addition to other penalties consistent with 9 CFR 318.13. 
 ([4]6)  [Warning letter.  In instances w]When a violation 
may have occurred, the department may send a warning letter [may 
be sent ]to the licensee that specifies the violations and affords the 
holder a reasonable opportunity to correct them. 
 ([5]7)  [Hearings.  ]When[ever] a licensee has been [given 
notice]notified by the department that suspected violations [may 
]have occurred or when the department suspends a license[ is 
suspended], the[y] licensee may have an opportunity for a hearing to 
state their views before the department. 
 ([6]8)(a)  [Reinstatement of Suspended Permit.  ]Any 
person whose license has been suspended may [make 
application]apply for reinstatement[ of the license]. 
 (b)  The department may [then ]re-evaluate the applicant 
and conditions. 
 (c)  The department may reinstate the license if[If] the 
applicant has demonstrated to the department that they will comply 
with the rules[, the license may be reinstated]. 
 ([7]9)  [Detainment or Embargo.  ]The department or detain 
or embargo [A]any meat found in a food establishment that does not 
have the proper identification or any uninspected meat slaughtered 
by a licensee that does not meet the requirements of this rule [these 
rules ]may [be ]detained or embargo[ed]. 
 ([8]10)  [Condemnation. ]The department may denature or 
destroy [M]meat [that is ]determined to be unfit for human 
consumption[ may be denatured or destroyed]. 
 
KEY:  food inspections, slaughter, livestock, poultry 
Date of Last Change:  [January 12, 2022]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  December 19, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-32-109 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-126 Filing ID:  
56254 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-126.  Utah Fits All Scholarship 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being created due to passage of H.B. 215 
during the 2023 General Session, which required the Utah 
State Board of Education (USBE) to make rules to help 
implement the Utah Fits All Scholarship program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This new rule is necessary to create an appeals process 
for administrative decisions of the contract program 
manager, specifically the appeals procedure for parents 
who apply for or are recipients of this scholarship. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule does not add any measurable costs for the USBE 
or other agencies outside of the fiscal impacts for H.B. 215 
(2023), already identified in the fiscal note to H.B. 215. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule applies to individual parents and appeals to the 
Utah Fits All program which has a program manager but 
does not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule only impacts USBE, the program manager, and 
individual parents. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-

small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
The program manager of the Utah Fits All program will not 
have any measurable costs added through the appeals 
process as outlined in this rule. 
 
Any fiscal impacts were already captured in the fiscal note 
to H.B. 215. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
There are no measurable costs for USBE, parents, or the 
program manager outside the fiscal note to H.B. 215. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Subsection 
53F-6-404(7) 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 12/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-126.  Utah Fits All Scholarship.  
R277-126-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Subsection 53F-6-404(7), which directs the Board to 
establish an appeals process for parents under the Utah Fits All 
Scholarship program. 

 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish an appeals 
process as required by Subsection 53F-6-404(7). 
 
R277-126-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Program manager" means the contract organization 
chosen by the Board in accordance with Subsection 53F-6-404(1). 
 (2)  "Utah Fits All Scholarship" means the program 
established by the Legislature in Title 53F, Chapter 6, Part 4, Utah 
Fits All Scholarship Program. 
 
R277-126-3.  Appeals Process. 
 (1)  A parent may appeal an administrative decision of the 
program manager consistent with Subsection 53F-6-404(7) by filing 
a request as provided in this section. 
 (2)  The program manager shall: 
 (a)  notify a parent of the right to file a request under this 
section; and 
 (b)  provide a form for a parent to file a request under this 
section. 
 (3)  A parent shall file a written request with the program 
manager within ten days of the administrative decision at issue. 
 (4)  The program manager shall forward the request to the 
Superintendent along with any information or evidence that may be 
required to consider the review within five business days of receiving 
a request under Subsection (3). 
 (5)  The Superintendent shall review the request to 
determine if the program manager followed the law and the program 
manager's policies and procedures in making its administrative 
decision. 
 (6)  The Superintendent shall either: 
 (a)  uphold the program manager's decision; or 
 (b)  grant the parent's request and provide direction to the 
program manager for any action to be taken. 
 (7)  The Superintendent shall provide notice in writing to 
the parent and the program manager of the decision under Subsection 
(6) within 30 days of the date the parent submits a request to the 
program manager under Subsection (3). 
 (8)  The Superintendent shall provide a quarterly report to 
the Board via email with information regarding appeals. 
 
KEY:  utah fits all, appeal 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented, or Interpreted Law:  Article X, 
Section 3; 53E-3-401(4); 53F-6-404(7) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-925 Filing ID:  
56255 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
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Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-925.  Effective Teachers in High Poverty Schools 
Incentive Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being updated due to the passage of S.B. 222 
in the 2023 General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment specifically updates the definition for 
"Benchmark assessment" and makes a couple of changes 
to help clarify the requirements pertaining to administration 
of the Effective Teachers in High Poverty Schools 
Incentive Program. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule does not add any measurable costs for the Utah 
State Board of Education (USBE) outside the fiscal 
impacts captured in the fiscal note to S.B. 222 (2023). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This does not create any measurable costs for Local 
Education Agencies (LEAs) outside the fiscal impacts 
captured in the fiscal note to S.B. 222 (2023). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures.  This rule 
change only affects USBE and educators. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
Educators are not affected outside the impacts already 
captured in the fiscal note to S.B. 222 (2023). 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
USBE and educators are not affected outside the impacts 
already captured in the fiscal note to S.B. 222 (2023) 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4)  

Section 53F-2-513 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 12/15/2023 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-925.  Effective Teachers in High Poverty Schools Incentive 
Program. 

R277-925-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Subsection 53F-2-513(2)(b), which requires the Board 
to make rules for the administration of the Effective Teachers in High 
Poverty Schools Incentive Program. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  provide standards and procedures for the administration 
of the Effective Teachers in High Poverty Schools Incentive 
Program; and 
 (b)  establish a method for determining teacher eligibility 
for salary bonuses awarded in the 2022-2023 school year for teachers 
in grade 4 as required in Subsection 53F-2-513(2)(b)(iv). 
 
R277-925-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Benchmark assessment" means the same as that term 
is defined[assessment described] in Section [53E-4-307]53F-2-513. 
 (2)  "Eligible teacher" means: 
 (a)  the same as that term is defined in Section 53F-2-513; 
and 
 (b)  a teacher who is a regular or special education 
classroom teacher. 
 (3)  "High poverty school" means the same as that term is 
defined in Section 53F-2-513. 
 (4)  "Local education agency" or "LEA" includes, for 
purposes of this rule, the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind. 
 (5)  "Median growth percentile" or "MGP" means the same 
as that term is defined in Section 53F-2-513. 
 (6)  "Program" means the Effective Teachers in High 
Poverty Schools Incentive Program. 
 (7)  "Standards assessment" means the assessment 
described in Section 53E-4-303. 
 (8)  "State-assessed subject" means English language arts, 
mathematics, or science. 
 
R277-925-3.  Administration of the Program. 
 (1)  On or before December 1, the Superintendent shall: 
 (a)  identify high poverty schools and eligible teachers in 
accordance with Subsection (2); 
 (b)  distribute a list of eligible teachers to LEAs; and 
 (c)  inform LEAs of program requirements and the timeline 
for applying on behalf of an eligible teacher. 
 (2)  The Superintendent shall identify: 
 (a)  high poverty schools based on the proportion of 
students who: 
 (i)  qualify for free or reduced lunch in the current school 
year, based on: 
 (A)  the most recent end of school year enrollment 
headcounts for existing schools; or 
 (B)  the October 1 enrollment headcounts for new schools; 
and 
 (ii)  are classified as children affected by intergenerational 
poverty, as determined by the Utah Department of Workforce 
Services, for the most recent year data is available; and 
 (b)  eligible teachers by determining: 
 (i)  whether the teacher's MGP was greater than or equal to 
70: 
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 (A)  for at least one state-assessed subject taught by the 
teacher; 
 (B)  as measured by student performance on a standards 
assessment restricted to those students who were taught by the 
teacher for a full academic year; 
 (C)  two years before the current school year; and 
 (D)  excluding subjects or teachers with less than ten tested 
students; or 
 (ii)  for a teacher in kindergarten or grade 1, 2, or 3, whether 
at least 85% of the teacher's students assess as typical or better on an 
end of year benchmark assessment. 
 (3)  An eligible teacher who is part-time in a regular or 
special education classroom assignment in the current year shall 
receive a partial salary bonus based on the number of hours worked 
in the classroom assignment. 
 (4)  To receive matching funds for the program, on or 
before January 15, an LEA shall: 
 (a)  apply on behalf of an eligible teacher; and 
 (b)  provide assurances that the LEA will pay half of the: 
 (i)  teacher salary bonus; and 
 (ii)  employer-paid benefits described in Section 53F-2-
513. 
 (5)(a)  Subject to legislative appropriations, on or before 
June 1, the Superintendent shall: 
 (i)  ensure that a teacher who was determined eligible under 
Subsections (1) and (2) taught at a high poverty school for the full 
school year; and 
 (ii)  distribute to an LEA that meets the criteria described 
in Subsection (4) half of the: 
 (A)  teacher salary bonus; and 
 (B)  employer-paid benefits described in Section 53F-2-
513. 
 (b)  Consistent with Section 53F-2-513, the Superintendent 
may distribute the funds on a pro rata basis if the number of eligible 
applicants exceeds the amount of available funds. 
 (6)(a)  An LEA or an eligible teacher may appeal eligibility 
to the Superintendent on the basis that the teacher: 
 (i)  is teaching at a high poverty school; 
 (ii)  is an eligible teacher; or 
 (iii)  has less than ten tested students, but can demonstrate 
extenuating circumstances that merit an exception. 
 (b)  An LEA or eligible teacher shall provide 
documentation to the Superintendent to assist the Superintendent in 
deciding on the appeal. 
 (7)  For purposes of determining whether a teacher who 
teaches grade 4 is 
eligible for a salary bonus in the 2022-2023 school year, a teacher is 
eligible if at least 85% of the teacher's students' progress is assessed 
as typical or better based on the beginning of year to end of year 
benchmark assessment [described in Section 53F-2-503 ]for 2020-
2021 school year. 
 (8)  An LEA that intends to apply on behalf of an eligible 
teacher who teaches grade 4 for a salary bonus for the 2022-2023 
school year, shall provide the Superintendent grade 4 benchmark 
assessment data necessary to determine whether the LEA's grade 4 
teachers meet the criteria described in Subsection (7). 
 
KEY:  teachers, poverty schools, incentives, student growth 
Date of Last Change:  2024[December 22, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 5, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4); 53F-2-513 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R414-310 Filing ID:  
56259 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Integrated Healthcare 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R414-310.  Medicaid Primary Care Network Demonstration 
Waiver 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) needs to repeal this rule as the Primary Care 
Network (PCN) no longer exists. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule governs PCN implementation.  PCN, however, no 
longer exists, so the rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Department will see neither costs nor revenue as this 
repeal simply removes a rule that no longer implements a 
non-existent program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments will see neither costs nor revenue as 
they neither fund nor provide services under Medicaid. 
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C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses will see neither costs nor revenue as this 
repeal simply removes a rule that no longer implements a 
non-existent program. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses will see neither costs nor revenue 
as this repeal simply removes a rule that no longer 
implements a non-existent program. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons will see neither costs nor revenue as this 
repeal simply removes a rule that no longer implements a 
non-existent program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs as this repeal simply 
removes a rule that no longer implements a non-existent 
program. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 
Businesses will see neither costs nor revenue as this 
repeal simply removes a rule that no longer implements a 
non-existent program. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-1-213 Section 26B-3-108  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 12/13/2023 

 
R414.  Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and 
Reimbursement Policy. 
[R414-310.  Medicaid Primary Care Network Demonstration 
Waiver. 
R414-310-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Sections 26-1-5 and 26-18-
3.  The Primary Care Network Demonstration is authorized by a 
waiver of federal Medicaid requirements approved by the Centers for 
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Medicare and Medicaid Services and allowed under Section 1115(a) 
of the Social Security Act. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish eligibility 
requirements for enrollment under the Medicaid Primary Care 
Network Demonstration Waiver. 
 
R414-310-2.  Definitions. 
 The definitions in Rules R414-1 and R414-301 apply to 
this rule.  In addition, the following definitions apply throughout this 
rule: 
 (1)  "Avenue H" means Utah's Health Insurance 
Marketplace for Utah employers and their employees where the 
employees can find information about available employer-sponsored 
health insurance plans, select a plan and enroll online. 
 (2)  "Best estimate" means the eligibility agency's 
determination of a household's income for the upcoming certification 
period based on past and current circumstances and anticipated future 
changes. 
 (3)  "Children's Health Insurance Program" or (CHIP) 
means the program for medical benefits under Title 26, Chapter 40, 
Utah Children's Health Insurance Act. 
 (4)  "Copayment and coinsurance" means a portion of the 
cost for a medical service for which the enrollee is responsible to pay 
for services received under the Primary Care Network. 
 (5)  "Creditable Health Coverage" means any health 
insurance coverage as defined in 45 CFR 146.113. 
 (6)  "Employer-sponsored health plan" means a health 
insurance plan offered by an employer either directly or through 
Avenue H. 
 (7)  "Enrollee" means an individual who has applied for and 
has been found eligible for the Primary Care Network program. 
 (8)  "Open enrollment" means a period during which the 
eligibility agency accepts applications for the Primary Care Network 
program. 
 (9)  "Primary Care Network" or (PCN) means the program 
for benefits under the Medicaid Primary Care Network 
Demonstration Waiver. 
 (10)  "Review month" means the last month of the review 
period for an enrollee during which the eligibility agency shall 
redetermine eligibility for a new review period if the enrollee 
completes the review process timely. 
 (11)  "Student health insurance plan" means a health 
insurance plan that is offered to students directly through a university 
or other educational facility. 
 (12)  "Utah's Premium Partnership for Health Insurance" or 
(UPP) means the program described in Rule R414-320. 
 
R414-310-3.  Applicant and Enrollee Rights and Responsibilities. 
 (1)  The provisions of Section R414-301-4 apply to 
applicants and enrollees of the PCN program except that reportable 
changes for PCN applicants and enrollees are defined in Subsection 
R414-310-3(2). 
 (2)  An applicant or enrollee must report certain changes to 
the eligibility agency within ten calendar days of the day the change 
becomes known.  The eligibility agency shall notify the applicant at 
the time of application of the changes that the enrollee must report.  
Reportable changes include: 
 (a)  An enrollee in PCN begins to receive coverage or to 
have access to coverage under a group health plan or other health 
insurance coverage; 

 (b)  An enrollee in PCN begins to receive coverage under, 
or begins to have access to student health insurance, Medicare, or the 
Veteran's Administration Health Care System; 
 (c)  Changes in household income; 
 (d)  Changes in household composition; 
 (e)  Changes in tax filing status; 
 (f)  Changes in the number of dependents claimed as tax 
dependents; 
 (g)  An enrollee or the household moves out of state; 
 (h)  Change of address of an enrollee or the household; or 
 (i)  An enrollee enters a public institution or an institution 
for mental diseases. 
 (3)  An applicant or enrollee has a right to request an agency 
conference or a fair hearing as described in Sections R414-301-6 and 
R414-301-7. 
 (4)  An enrollee in PCN is responsible for paying any 
required copayments or coinsurance amounts to providers for 
medical services that the enrollee receives that are covered under 
PCN. 
 
R414-310-4.  General Eligibility Requirements. 
 (1)  The provisions of Sections R414-302-3, R414-302-4, 
R414-302-7, and R414-302-8 concerning United States (U.S.) 
citizenship, alien status, state residency, use of social security 
numbers, and applying for other benefits, apply to applicants and 
enrollees of PCN. 
 (2)  An individual who is not a U.S. citizen or national, or 
who does not meet the alien status requirements of Section R414-
302-3 is not eligible for any services or benefits under PCN. 
 (3)  An individual must be at least 19 and not yet 65 years 
of age to enroll in PCN. 
 (a)  The month in which an individual turns 19 years of age 
is the first month that the person may enroll in PCN. 
 (b)  An individual must apply for the PCN program before 
he turns 65 years of age. 
 (c)  Enrollment shall end effective the end of the month in 
which an individual turns 65 years of age. 
 (4)  The eligibility agency only accepts applications during 
open enrollment periods.  The eligibility agency limits the number it 
enrolls according to the funds available for the program and may stop 
enrollment at any time. 
 (a)  The open enrollment period may be limited to: 
 (i)  individuals with children under the age of 19 in the 
home; 
 (ii)  individuals without children under the age of 19 in the 
home. 
 (b)  The eligibility agency may not accept applications or 
maintain waiting lists during a period that enrollment of new 
individuals is stopped. 
 (5)  The provisions of Subsection R414-302-6(1) and (4) 
apply to applicants and enrollees of PCN who are residents of 
institutions. 
 (6)  An applicant or enrollee is not required to provide Duty 
of Support information to enroll in PCN.  An adult whose eligibility 
for Medicaid has been denied or terminated for failure to cooperate 
with Duty of Support requirements may not enroll in the PCN 
program. 
 
R414-310-5.  Verification and Information Exchange. 
 (1)  The provisions of Section R414-308-4 regarding 
verification of eligibility factors apply to applicants and enrollees of 
PCN. 
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 (2)  The Department shall safeguard information about 
applicants and enrollees to comply with the provisions of Section 
R414-301-5. 
 (3)  The Department shall enter into agreements with other 
government agencies as outlined in Section R414-301-3. 
 
R414-310-6.  Creditable Health Coverage. 
 (1)  The Department adopts and incorporates by reference 
42 CFR 433.138(b) and 435.610, October 1, 2015 ed., and Section 
1915(b) of the Compilation of the Social Security Laws, in effect 
January 1, 2016. 
 (2)  An applicant who is covered under a group health plan 
or other creditable health insurance coverage as defined in 29 CFR 
2590.701-4, July 1, 2013 ed., is not eligible for enrollment in PCN.  
This includes coverage under student health insurance and the 
Veteran's Administration Health Care System. 
 (a)  An individual who is enrolled in the Utah Health 
Insurance Pool or who can receive health coverage through Indian 
Health Services may enroll in PCN. 
 (b)  An individual who could enroll in Medicare is not 
eligible for enrollment in PCN, even if the individual must wait for a 
Medicare open enrollment period to apply. 
 (c)  An individual who is eligible to enroll in the VA Health 
Care System, but who has not yet enrolled, may be eligible for PCN 
as long as the individual applies for and takes all necessary steps to 
enroll.  Eligibility for PCN ends once the individual's coverage in the 
VA Health Care System begins. 
 (d)  Individuals who are full-time students and who can 
enroll in student health insurance coverage are not eligible to enroll 
in PCN. 
 (3)  An individual is not eligible for PCN if the individual 
becomes eligible for Refugee Medical without a spenddown as 
defined in Section R414-303-10.  An individual who is eligible for 
Refugee Medical with a spenddown may choose to enroll in either 
Refugee Medical or PCN. 
 (4)  An individual who has access to but has not yet enrolled 
in employer-sponsored health insurance coverage through an 
employer or a spouse's employer is not eligible for PCN if the 
individual's cost for the least expensive health insurance plan offered 
by the employer directly, or for the employer's default plan offered 
through Avenue H, does not exceed 15% of the countable MAGI-
based income for the individual's household. 
 (a)  The cost of coverage includes a deductible if the 
employer-sponsored plan has a deductible. 
 (b)  The eligibility agency will include in the cost of 
coverage for the spouse, the cost to enroll the employee, if the 
employee must be enrolled to enroll the spouse. 
 (c)  The eligibility agency considers the individual to have 
access to coverage if the individual has had at least one opportunity 
to enroll 
 (5)  An individual who voluntarily terminates health 
insurance coverage is ineligible to enroll in PCN for 180 days from 
the date the coverage ended.  The eligibility agency may not apply a 
180-day ineligibility period in the following situations: 
 (a)  Voluntary termination of COBRA. 
 (b)  Voluntary termination of coverage through the 
Federally Facilitated Marketplace due to the loss of Advanced 
Premium Tax Credits (APTC). 
 (6)  To be eligible to enroll in PCN, the 180-day ineligibility 
period must end by the earlier of the following dates or the eligibility 
agency shall deny the application: 

 (a)  the last day of the open enrollment period during which 
the individual applies for PCN; or 
 (b)  the last day of the month that follows the month in 
which the individual applies for PCN, if the open enrollment period 
does not expire before that following month ends. 
 (c)  Enrollment in PCN may not begin before the 180-day 
ineligibility period ends. 
 
R414-310-7.  Household Composition and Income Provisions. 
 (1)  The eligibility agency determines household 
composition and countable household income according to the 
provisions in R414-304-5. 
 (2)  For an individual to be eligible to enroll in PCN, 
countable MAGI-based income for the individual must be equal to or 
less than 95% of the federal poverty guideline for the applicable 
household size. 
 
R414-310-8.  Budgeting. 
 (1)  The Department shall apply the MAGI-based 
budgeting methodology defined at 42 CFR 435.603(c), (d), (e), (g) 
and (h), October 1, 2013 ed., which it adopts and incorporates by 
reference. 
 (2)  The eligibility agency determines an individual's 
eligibility prospectively at application and at each review for 
continuing eligibility. 
 (a)  The eligibility agency determines prospective 
eligibility by using the best estimate of the household's average 
monthly income that the agency expects the household to receive or 
to become available to the household during the upcoming review 
period. 
 (b)  The eligibility agency shall include in the best estimate, 
reasonably predictable income expected to be received during the 
review period, such as seasonal income, contract income, income 
received at irregular intervals, or income received less often than 
monthly.  The income will be prorated over the review period to 
determine an average monthly income. 
 (3)  Methods of determining the best estimate are income 
averaging, income anticipating, and income annualizing.  The 
eligibility agency may use a combination of methods to obtain the 
best estimate.  The best estimate may be a monthly amount that the 
agency expects the household to receive each month of the review 
period, or an annual amount that is prorated over the review period.  
The eligibility agency may use different methods for different types 
of income that the same household receives. 
 (4)  The eligibility agency determines farm and self-
employment income by using the individual's most recent tax return 
forms or other verification the individual can provide.  If tax returns 
are not available, or are not reflective of the individual's current farm 
or self-employment income, the eligibility agency may request 
income information from the most recent time period during which 
the individual had farm or self-employment income.  The eligibility 
agency shall deduct the same expenses from gross income that the 
Internal Revenue Service allows as self-employment expenses to 
determine net self-employment income, if those expenses are 
expected to occur in the future. 
 (5)  The eligibility agency may request additional 
information and verification about how a household is meeting 
expenses if the average household income appears to be insufficient 
to meet the household's living expenses. 
 
R414-310-9.  Assets. 
 An asset test is not required for PCN eligibility. 
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R414-310-10.  Application and Signature. 
 (1)  The provisions of Section R414-308-3 apply to PCN 
applicants, except for paragraph (9), (10) and the three months of 
retroactive coverage. 
 (2)  A Medicaid or CHIP recipient may make a request 
during the open enrollment period for the agency to determine the 
individual's eligibility for PCN without completing a new 
application. 
 (3)  The eligibility agency shall reinstate a medical case 
without requiring a new application if the agency closes the case in 
error. 
 (4)  An applicant may withdraw an application for PCN any 
time before the eligibility agency completes an eligibility decision on 
the application. 
 
R414-310-11.  Eligibility Decisions and Reviews. 
 (1)  The Department adopts and incorporates by reference 
42 CFR 435.911 and 435.912, October 1, 2013 ed., regarding 
eligibility determinations. 
 (2)  At application and review, the eligibility agency shall 
determine whether the individual is eligible for Medicaid, Refugee 
Medical or CHIP. 
 (a)  An individual who qualifies for Medicaid or Refugee 
Medical without paying a spenddown or for Medicaid Work 
Incentive (MWI) without paying an MWI premium may not enroll in 
PCN. 
 (b)  An applicant who is eligible for Medicaid, Refugee 
Medical or CHIP during the application month, or a Medicaid, 
Refugee Medical or CHIP recipient who requests PCN enrollment 
during an open enrollment period, may enroll in PCN in accordance 
with Subsection R414-310-12(1). 
 (3)  An individual open on Medicaid, Refugee Medical or 
UPP may request to enroll in PCN. 
 (a)  A new application form is not required. 
 (b)  The rules in Section R414-310-12 govern the effective 
date of enrollment. 
 (c)  If the individual is moving from UPP, the eligibility 
agency shall waive the open enrollment requirement if there is no 
break in coverage. 
 (d)  If the individual is moving from Medicaid or Refugee 
Medical, the eligibility agency shall waive the open enrollment 
period if the individual was previously on PCN, became eligible for 
Medicaid or Refugee Medical, and requests to reenroll in PCN 
without a break in coverage. 
 (e)  If the individual is moving from Medicaid or Refugee 
Medical and was not previously on PCN, or there has been a break in 
coverage of one or more months, the individual must reapply during 
an open enrollment period. 
 (f)  All other eligibility requirements must be met. 
 (4)  The eligibility agency shall complete an eligibility 
determination for each application unless: 
 (a)  the applicant voluntarily withdraws the application and 
the eligibility agency sends a notice to the applicant to confirm the 
withdrawal; 
 (b)  the applicant dies; 
 (c)  the applicant cannot be located; or 
 (d)  the applicant does not respond to requests for 
information within the 30-day application period or by the 
verification due date, if the verification date is later. 
 (5)  The eligibility agency shall complete a periodic review 
of an enrollee's eligibility for medical assistance in accordance with 
the requirements of 42 CFR 435.916. 

 (a)  The agency may request a recipient to contact the 
agency to complete the eligibility review. 
 (b)  The agency shall provide the recipient a written request 
for verification needed to complete the review. 
 (c)  The agency shall provide proper notice of an adverse 
decision. 
 (d)  If the agency cannot provide proper notice of an 
adverse decision, the agency extends eligibility to the following 
month to allow for proper notice. 
 (6)  If a recipient fails to respond to a request to complete 
the review or fails to provide all requested verification to complete 
the review, the eligibility agency shall end eligibility effective the end 
of the month for which the agency sends proper notice to the 
recipient. 
 (a)  If the recipient contacts the agency to complete the 
review or returns all requested verification within three calendar 
months of the closure date, the eligibility agency shall treat such 
contact or receipt of verification as a new application.  The agency 
may not require a new application form. 
 (b)  The application processing period applies to this 
request to reapply. 
 (c)  Eligibility can begin in the month the client contacts 
the agency to complete the review if all verification is received within 
the application processing period. 
 (d)  If the recipient fails to return the verification timely, 
but before the end of the three calendar months, eligibility becomes 
effective the first day of the month in which all verification is 
provided and the individual is found eligible. 
 (e)  The eligibility agency may not continue eligibility 
while it makes a new eligibility determination. 
 (f)  The eligibility agency shall waive the open enrollment 
requirement during these three calendar months. 
 (g)  If the enrollee does not respond to the request to 
complete the review for PCN during the three calendar months 
immediately following the review closure date, the enrollee must 
reapply for PCN and meet all eligibility criteria. 
 (7)  If the individual files a new application or makes a 
request to reenroll within the calendar month that follows the 
effective closure date when the closure is for a reason other than 
incomplete review, the eligibility agency shall waive the open 
enrollment period and process the request as a new application. 
 (8)  The enrollee must reapply if the case closes for one or 
more calendar months for any reason other than an incomplete 
review. 
 (9)  The eligibility agency shall comply with the 
requirements of 42 CFR 435.1200(e), regarding transfer of the 
electronic file for the purpose of determining eligibility for other 
insurance affordability programs. 
 
R414-310-12.  Effective Date of Enrollment and Enrollment 
Period. 
 (1)  Subject to the limitations in Sections R414-306-4 and 
R414-310-6, the effective date of PCN enrollment is the first day of 
the application month with the following exceptions: 
 (a)  An applicant may be eligible for PCN if the applicant 
applies during an open enrollment period and will turn 19 before the 
end of the month in which open enrollment ends. 
 (i)  Enrollment in PCN may not begin before an individual 
turns 19 years of age. 
 (ii)  If an applicant qualifies for Medicaid or CHIP in the 
application month, enrollment in PCN begins the month after 
eligibility for Medicaid or CHIP ends. 
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 (b)  If the individual is moving from UPP, the effective date 
of enrollment is the first day after the health insurance coverage ends. 
 (c)  If the individual is moving from Medicaid, or is eligible 
for Medicaid in the application month or the month following the 
application month, the effective date of enrollment is the first day of 
the month after Medicaid coverage ends.  To enroll in PCN, Medicaid 
eligibility must end by the end of the month following the application 
month. 
 (2)  The effective date of reenrollment for PCN after the 
eligibility agency completes the periodic review is the first day after 
either the review month or due process month.  Subsection R414-
310-11(5) defines the effective date of reenrollment when the 
enrollee completes the review process in the three calendar months 
after the case is closed for incomplete review. 
 (3)  The eligibility agency shall end eligibility for any of 
the following reasons: 
 (a)  the individual turns 65 years of age; 
 (b)  the individual enrolls in a health coverage plan as 
defined in Subsection 414-310-6(2); 
 (c)  the individual gains access to an employer-sponsored 
health plan that meets the requirements of Subsection R414-310-
6(2); 
 (d)  a change in income or household composition results 
in the individual exceeding the income limit; 
 (e)  the individual dies; 
 (f)  the individual moves out of state or cannot be located; 
or 
 (g)  the individual enters a public institution or an 
Institution for Mental Disease. 
 (4)  An enrollee who gains access to or enrolls in an 
employer-sponsored health plan may switch to the UPP program if 
the enrollee meets UPP eligibility requirements. 
 
R414-310-13.  Change Reporting and Benefit Changes. 
 (1)  Unless otherwise stated, the provisions in Section 
R414-308-7 apply to the PCN program. 
 (2)  Reportable changes are defined in Subsection R414-
310-3(2). 
 (3)  For a decrease in income, the following provisions 
apply: 
 (a)  If a change is already anticipated in a best estimate of 
income, the eligibility agency may only re-determine eligibility if the 
enrollee requests a redetermination of benefits. 
 (b)  If a change is not anticipated, the agency shall re-
determine eligibility. 
 (c)  If a change makes the enrollee eligible for Medicaid, 
the effective date of the change is the first day of the month of report, 
if the change is verified timely. 
 (d)  If a change is not verified timely, the change is effective 
on the first day of the month the change is verified. 
 (4)  If an enrollee requests enrollment for a spouse, the 
application date for the spouse is the date of the request, and the 
following provisions apply: 
 (a)  The eligibility agency does not require a new 
application; 
 (b)  Eligibility is determined in accordance with Section 
R414-310-11; 
 (c)  The effective date of enrollment is determined in 
accordance with Section R414-310-12; and 
 (d)  The applicant must meet all other eligibility 
requirements. 
 

R414-310-14.  Notice and Termination. 
 (1)  The Department adopts and incorporates by reference 
42 CFR 431.206, 431.210, 431.211, 431.213, 431.214, and 435.919, 
October 1, 2013 ed. 
 (2)  The eligibility agency shall notify an applicant or 
enrollee in writing of the eligibility decision made on the application 
or the review. 
 (3)  The eligibility agency shall end an individual's 
enrollment upon enrollee request or upon discovery that the 
individual is no longer eligible. 
 
R414-310-15.  Improper Medical Coverage. 
 (1)  Improper medical coverage occurs when: 
 (a)  an individual receives medical assistance for which the 
individual is not eligible, including benefits that the individual 
receives pending a fair hearing or during an undue hardship waiver if 
the enrollee fails to act as required by the eligibility agency; 
 (b)  an individual receives a benefit or service that is not 
part of the benefit package for which the individual is eligible; 
 (c)  an individual pays too much or too little for medical 
assistance benefits; or 
 (d)  the Department pays too much or too little for medical 
assistance benefits on behalf of an eligible individual. 
 (2)  An individual who receives benefits under PCN for 
which the individual is not eligible must repay the Department for the 
cost of the benefits that the individual receives. 
 (3)  An alien and the alien's sponsor are jointly liable for 
benefits that an individual receives for which the individual is not 
eligible. 
 (4)  An overpayment of benefits includes all amounts paid 
by the Department for medical services or other benefits on behalf of 
an enrollee, or for the benefit of the enrollee during a period in which 
the enrollee is not eligible to receive the benefits. 
 
KEY:  Medicaid, primary care, demonstration 
Date of Last Change:  March 28, 2017 
Notice of Continuation:  March 11, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-18-1; 26-
1-5; 26-18-3] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R414-504 Filing ID:  
56260 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Integrated Healthcare 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R414-504.  Nursing Facility Payments 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this change is to include provisions, under 
a moratorium exception, for major renovation in nursing 
care facilities. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment includes an additional definition for major 
renovation and specifies payment methodology and 
procedures under a moratorium exception. 
 
It also restructures and renumbers the definitions in 
Section R414-504-2 to be in alphabetical order. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no impact to the state budget as these changes 
are covered under previous allocations by the Legislature. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no impact on local governments as they neither 
fund nor administer nursing facilities under the Medicaid 
program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no impact on small businesses as these changes 
are covered under previous allocations by the Legislature. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no impact on non-small businesses as these 
changes are covered under previous allocations by the 
Legislature. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

There is no impact to other persons or entities as these 
changes are covered under previous allocations by the 
Legislature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs to a single person or entity 
as these changes are covered under previous allocations 
by the Legislature. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
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Businesses will see neither costs nor revenue as these 
changes are covered under previous allocations by the 
Legislature. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-1-213 Title 26B, 

Chapter 3 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 12/13/2023 

 
R414.  Health and Human Services, [Health Care Financing, 
Coverage and Reimbursement Policy]Integrated Healthcare. 
R414-504.  Nursing Facility Payments. 
R414-504-2.  Definitions. 
 The definitions in Sections R414-1-2 and R414-501-2 
apply to this rule.  In addition: 
 (1)  "Bed addition" means, as used in the fair rental value 
calculation, a capitalized project that adds additional beds to the 
facility.  This must be new and complete construction.  An increase 
in total licensed beds and new construction costs support a claim of 
additional beds. 
 (2)  "Bed replacement" means, as used in the fair rental 
value calculation, a capitalized project that furnishes a bed in the 
place of another, previously existing bed.  Room remodeling is not a 
replacement of beds.  This must be new and complete construction. 
 ([1]3)  "Behaviorally complex resident" means a long-term 
care resident with a severe, medically based behavior disorder, 
including traumatic brain injury, dementia, Alzheimer's, Huntington's 
Chorea, which causes diminished capacity for judgment, retention of 
information or decision-making skills, or a resident, who meets the 
Medicaid criteria for nursing facility level of care and who has a 
medically based mental health disorder or diagnosis and has a high 
level resource use in the nursing facility not currently recognized in 
the case mix. 

 ([2]4)  "Case mix index" means a score assigned to each 
facility based on the average of the Medicaid patients' case mix scores 
for that facility. 
 ([3]5)  "Case mix score" means the acuity or frailty of a 
resident based on medical needs resulting in a weight used to 
calculate rates. 
 (6)  "Exception qualifying major renovation" means for 
purposes of a moratorium exception, a project in a facility that 
undergoes major renovations that involve significant structural 
changes of the physical facility and requires review and approval 
under Rule 432-4.  The renovation includes a cost greater than or 
equal to $5,000 for total licensed beds and excludes flooring and 
paint. 
 ([4]7)  "Facility case mix rate" means the rate the 
Department issues to a facility for a specified period.  This rate 
utilizes the case mix index for a provider, labor wage index 
application, and other case mix-related costs. 
 (8)  "Fair rental value (FRV) data report" means a report 
that provides the Department with information related to capital 
improvements to be included in the FRV calculation. 
 ([5]9)  "FCP" means the facility cost profile report filed by 
the provider on an annual basis. 
 (10)  "Major renovation" means, as used in the fair rental 
value calculation, a capitalized project with a cost equal to or greater 
than $500 for a licensed bed.  A renovation extends the life, increases 
the productivity, or significantly improves the safety, such as by 
asbestos removal, of a facility as opposed to repairs and maintenance 
that either restore the facility to, or maintain it at its normal or 
expected service life.  Vehicle costs are not a major renovation capital 
expenditure. 
 ([6]11)  "Minimum data set" (MDS) means a set of 
screening, clinical, and functional status elements, including 
common definitions and coding categories, that form the foundation 
of the comprehensive assessment for residents of long-term care 
facilities certified to participate in Medicaid. 
 ([7]12)  "Nursing costs" means the current costs from the 
annual FCP report reported on lines 070-012 Nursing Admin Salaries 
and Wages, 070-013 Nursing Admin Tax and Benefits, 070-040 
Nursing Direct Care Salaries and Wages, 070-041 Nursing Direct 
Care Tax and Benefits, and 070-050 Purchased Nursing Services. 
 ([8]13)  "Nursing facility" or "facility" means a Medicaid-
participating nursing facility, skilled nursing facility, or a 
combination thereof, as defined in 42 USC 1396r (a), 42 CFR 
440.150, 42 CFR 442.12, and Section 26B-2-201. 
 ([9]14)  "Patient day" means the care of one patient during 
a day of service, excluding the day of discharge. 
 (1[0]5)  "Patient-driven payment model" (PDPM) means 
the Medicare prospective payment system for classifying skilled 
nursing facility patients in a covered Medicare Part A stay. 
 (1[1]6)  "Property costs" means the fair rental value (FRV) 
established by this rule. 
[ (12)  "Fair rental value (FRV) data report" means a report 
that provides the Department with information related to capital 
improvements to be included in the FRV calculation. 
 (13)  "Bed addition" means, as used in the fair rental value 
calculation, a capitalized project that adds additional beds to the 
facility.  This must be new and complete construction.  An increase 
in total licensed beds and new construction costs support a claim of 
additional beds. 
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 (14)  "Bed replacement" means, as used in the fair rental 
value calculation, a capitalized project that furnishes a bed in the 
place of another, previously existing bed.  Room remodeling is not a 
replacement of beds.  This must be new and complete construction. 
 (15)  "Major renovation" means, as used in the fair rental 
value calculation, a capitalized project with a cost equal to or greater 
than $500 for a licensed bed.  A renovation extends the life, increases 
the productivity, or significantly improves the safety, such as by 
asbestos removal, of a facility as opposed to repairs and maintenance 
that either restore the facility to, or maintain it at its normal or 
expected service life.  Vehicle costs are not a major renovation capital 
expenditure.] 
 
R414-504-6.  Moratorium Exception for Major Renovation as 
Allowable. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 26B-3-311(7), a facility 
that requests to include beds as part of an exception qualifying major 
renovation, must submit to the Division of Integrated Healthcare an 
application within six months of approval of completing the 
renovation. 
 (2)  The requirement of $5,000 for each bed excludes 
interest payments, and calculates costs related only to the exception 
qualifying major renovation as prescribed under Subsection 26B-3-
311(7). 
 
KEY:  Medicaid 
Date of Last Change:  2024[July 1, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 12, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26B-1-213; 
26B-3 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R429-3 Filing ID:  
56263 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Patient Safety Program 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Srimoyee Bose 385-

332-
1720 

sbose@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R429-3.  Adverse Events from the Administration of 
Sedation or Anesthesia; Recording and Reporting 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Following the recodification and consolidation of the 
Department of Health and Human Services (Department) 
statute in the 2023 General Session, the Department 
identified this rule as no longer necessary, and is 
proceeding with a repeal. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This filing repeals Rule R429-3 Adverse Events from the 
Administration of Sedation or Anesthesia; Recording and 
Reporting. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This repeal will not fiscally impact the state budget. 
 
This filing is to update this rule with current and existing 
processes. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This repeal will not fiscally impact local governments. 
 
This filing is to update this rule with current and existing 
processes. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This repeal will not impact small businesses. 
 
This filing is to update this rule with current and existing 
processes. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This repeal will not impact non-small businesses. 
 
This filing is to update this rule with current and existing 
processes. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This repeal will not fiscally impact the persons other than 
small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities. 
 
This filing is to update this rule with current and existing 
processes. 
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F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs associated with this repeal. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-1-202   

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 12/13/2023 

 
R429.  Health, Patient Safety Program. 
[R429-3.  Adverse Events from the Administration of Sedation or 
Anesthesia; Recording and Reporting. 
R429-3-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish reporting 
requirements to the Utah Department of Health Anesthesia Adverse 
Events Database that include the format of the reports and what 
constitutes a reportable adverse event. 
 (2)  This rule is authorized by Title 26, Chapter 1, Part 40, 
Reports of anesthesia adverse events -- Whistle blower protections. 
 
R429-3-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Adverse event" means a reportable event that occurs: 
 (a)  due to the administration of sedation or anesthesia; 
 (b)  in an outpatient, non-emergency room setting; 
 (c)  resulting in harm, escalation of care, or rescuing of the 
patient; and 
 (d)  while under the direct care of the provider at the facility 
or within 24 hours of discharge. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health. 
 (3)  "Escalation of care or rescue of a patient" means efforts 
made to rescue a patient from levels of sedation deeper than intended 
in order to prevent harm or death to a patient. This may include the 
use of: 
 (a)  a rescue or reversal agent; 
 (b)  aborting a procedure secondary to complications of 
sedation or anesthesia; 
 (c)  unplanned assisted airway management; 
 (d)  911 call for Emergency Medical Services; 
 (e)  transfer to a higher level of care; or 
 (f)  any other intervention. 
 (4)  "Harm scale" means a systematic method of 
designating a patient's level of harm that includes: 
 (a)  unsafe conditions; 
 (b)  near miss; 
 (c)  no harm; 
 (d)  additional monitoring or treatment to prevent harm; 
 (e)  temporary harm requiring intervention; 
 (f)  temporary harm requiring hospitalization; 
 (g)  permanent patient harm; 
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 (h)  intervention to sustain life; or 
 (i)  patient death. 
 (5)  "Healthcare Provider" means any healthcare provider 
who uses sedation or anesthesia and is located in any outpatient 
location,including office settings, urgent care facilities, dental 
offices, and podiatry offices. 
 (6)  "Levels of sedation" means physiologic states that are 
induced through the administration of medication by any route as 
established with standards associated with differing level of sedation 
set out  in 42 CFR Subsection 482.51(b)(5).  These interpretive 
guidelines are the expected standards of practice, unless otherwise 
specified by the individual practitioner's scope of practice as defined 
in Title 58, Chapter 67-502(5) Utah Medical Practice Act. 
 (7)  "Near miss" means stopping or aborting a procedure 
for the safety of the patient. 
 (8)  "Unprofessional Conduct" is defined in statute for each 
Utah Department of Professional licensure category in Sections 58-
5a-502, 58-31b-502.5, 58-67-502.5, 58-68-502.5, and 58-69-502.5. 
 
R429-3-3.  Event Reporting. 
 (1)  Once an adverse event has been determined by a 
licensed healthcare provider, and the provider or providers who 
administered the sedation or anesthesia involved in the event have 
been notified, the adverse event shall be reported to the Department 
within 72 hours. 
 (2)  An individual reporting an event to the Anesthesia 
Adverse Event Database must register with the state. 
 (3)  The reporting individual shall submit the following 
data and information at the time of the report: 
 (a)  the person who reports the event; 
 (b)  the healthcare provider and facility type that conducted 
the procedure; 
 (c)  the healthcare provider and facility type that 
administered the anesthesia; 
 (d)  a description of the event; 
 (e)  a description of the sedation used; 
 (f)  the level of harm experienced; 
 (g)  the patient's demographics, including birthdate, gender, 
weight, race, and ethnicity if available; 
 (h)  the surgical classification of the procedure, using 
American Society of Anesthesiologist physical status classification 
system; 
 (i)  a description of rescue activities; 
 (j)  a description of monitoring that took place: 
 (k)  a description of escalation of care; 
 (l)  a description of emergency equipment and supplies 
available at the time of the event; and 
 (m)  any additional or concluding remarks. 
 
R429-3-4.  Confidentiality. 
 (1)  Information received and stored by the Department 
under this rule may only be disclosed with Department approval 
under specific, enumerated conditions provided by Section 26-3-7.  
The Department is authorized to exercise its discretion to disclose 
information under the conditions of Section 26-3-8. 
 (2)  The Department may not release information collected 
under this rule to any person pursuant to Subsections 26-3-7(1) and 
26-3-7(8). 
 (3)  Information provided by a facility to the Department 
under this rule is privileged, as provided by Title 26, Chapter 25, 
Confidential Information Release, and is not subject to discovery, 

use, or receipt in evidence in any legal proceeding of any kind or 
character. 
 
R429-3-5.  Extensions and Waivers. 
 (1)  The Department may grant an extension of any 
reporting time requirement of this rule, if the facility demonstrates 
that: 
 (a)  the delay is due to factors beyond its control; 
 (b)  the delay will not adversely affect the purposes of this 
rule; or 
 (c)  any other reason acceptable to the Department. 
 (2)  A facility requesting a waiver shall submit its request 
to the Department representative prior to the deadline for the required 
action. 
 (3)  The Department may grant a waiver of any other 
provision of this rule if the facility demonstrates that the waiver will 
not adversely affect the Department's root cause analysis and the 
purposes of this rule. 
 
R429-3-6.  Annual Aggregate Reports. 
 (1)  The Department's Anesthesia Adverse Event Database 
program manager shall report the following information to the 
legislature annually: 
 (a)  a number of deaths and adverse events; 
 (b)  a distribution of provider types involved in events by 
license category and specialty; 
 (c)  the types of facility where events occurred; 
 (d)  the number of non-provider reports; 
 (e)  the procedures being performed when events occurred; 
and 
 (f)  an analysis of the impact of these reporting 
requirements in reducing adverse events. 
 
R429-3-7.  Penalties. 
 Any association, or corporation, or the officers of any of 
them, that violates any provision of this rule may be assessed a 
judicial civil or administrative money penalty not to exceed the sum 
of $5,000 or be punished for violation of a class B misdemeanor for 
the first violation and for any subsequent similar violation within two 
years for violation of a class A misdemeanor as provided in Section 
26-23-6. 
 
KEY:  anesthesia adverse events, patient safety, sedation related 
events 
Date of Last Change:  August 18, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-40; 26-
3-7] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R457-1 Filing ID:  
56203 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Cultural and Community Engagement 
Agency: Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission 
Building: Highland Office 
Street address: 3760 S Highland Drive 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Millcreek, UT 84106 

Contact persons: 
 Phone: Email: 
Kristin Mead 218-

393-
2995 

kristinmead@utah.gov 

Sophia Riggs 801-
874-
7205 

sophiariggs@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R457-1.  Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Event Officials, such as referees, timekeepers and judges, 
have not received a compensation increase for several 
years, and their compensation is out of pace with 
comparable market rates in other states. 
 
The rule amendments will increase the compensation fees 
paid to referees, timekeepers and judges.  *Note: The 
compensation fees for Event Officials are paid by Event 
Promoters, and not paid by the Commission.  The 
amendments update the compensation fees, and increase 
costs to Event Promoters (small businesses). 
 
In the summer of 2023, the national Association of Boxing 
Commissions (ABC) approved unified model rules for the 
sport of bare knuckle fighting.  The amendments 
incorporate the ABC model rules adding some customized 
Utah rules for the sport. 
 
Other licensing fees for contestants and for drug tests 
were increased by $10 to account or adjust for inflation and 
the associated operation costs of the Commission. 
 
Pregnancy test requirements are eliminated by the 
amendments, so the costs of such tests are also 
eliminated. 
 
Other typos and formatting errors needed correction. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments: 
1)  correct errors; 
2)  update and increase compensation for commission 
officials; 
3)  increase drug testing fees from $10 to $20 each; 
4)  eliminate pregnancy tests for female athletes; and 
5)  incorporate Unified rules for Bare Knuckle Fighting. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The state budget for the Pete Suazo Utah Athletic 
Commission (PSUAC) program is $271,200 for FY24. 
 
The fiscal impact of the amendments will increase revenue 
to the Commission/State by approximately $2,340 per 
year going forward.  This increased revenue will come 
from the $10 increase to the fees charged by the 
Commission for drug tests (increase from $10 to $20). 
 
Drug test costs are paid to the Commission by Event 
Promoters.  On average, 9 athletes are tested at each 
event.  $10 cost increase x 9 athletes x 26 events = 
$2,340.  Thus, there will be an additional $2,340 revenue 
to the Commission/State, generated each year from the 
increased drug test fee. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no new aggregate anticipated cost or savings to 
local governments because local governments are not 
required to comply with or enforce this rule. 
 
Consequently, there is no fiscal impact from these 
amendments to affect local governments expenditures or 
revenues. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The amendments will have a fiscal impact on the Event 
Promoters, who are small businesses.  The total cost 
increases over one year are estimated as shown below. 
 
Increased costs for Event Officials 
The Event Promoters for fights or bouts incur and pay the 
costs for the compensation fees of Event Officials: 
timekeepers, judges and referees.  The cost breakdown is 
listed below, with the pre and post amendment cost effect 
shown.  The Commission conducts approximately 26 
events per year. 
Timekeeper compensation fee increase from $100 to $125 
per event.  $25 cost increase x 26 events = $650 
Referee compensation fee increase from $250 to $325 per 
event.  $75 cost increase x 26 events = $1,950 
Judges compensation fee increase from $150 to $250, 
with 3 average of judges per event.  $100 cost increase x 
3 judges x 26 events = $7,800 
*Note: Event promoters pay the compensation fees to 
Event Officials. 
 
Increased costs for Drug Tests: 
Cost per drug test increase from $10 to $20.  On average, 
9 athletes are tested at each event. 
$10 cost increase x 9 athletes x 26 events = $2,340 
*Note: Drug test costs are paid to the Commission by 
Event Promoters, so $2,340 will be additional revenue 
paid to the State. 
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Elimination of costs for Pregnancy Tests, Cost 
Savings:  
Tests cost $1.25 each, approximately 60 tests conducted 
per year.  $1.25 x 60 = $75 cost savings. 
 
Total Cost Increase for Small Business per event: 
  $  25 = 1 Timekeeper cost increase 
  $  75 = 1 Referee cost increase 
  $300 = 3 Judges cost increase 
  $  90 = 9 Drug test cost increase 
------------------------------------------------------- 
  $490  Total 
 
Annual Total of Fiscal Impact for Small Businesses 
(Event Promoters) 
 $   650 -- Timekeeper cost increase 
 $1,950 -- Referee cost increase 
 $7,800 -- Judges cost increase 
 $2,340 -- Drug test cost increase 
($    75) -- Pregnancy cost decrease/elimination 
-------------------------------------------------------------- 
$10,815  Total 
 
For events with more than 11 bouts or fights, the number 
of judges increases from 3 to 4, and the number of 
referees increases from 1 to 2.  Most events have less than 
11 bouts or fights. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Almost all events are held by small business Event 
Promoters.  Any non-small business or Event Promoter 
holding an event would incur the same cost increases and 
savings as shown in the analysis above for Small 
Businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no estimated fiscal impact to other persons.  The 
persons affected by costs increases from the amendments 
have been identified above in box 5C Small Businesses. 
  
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The compliance costs or fiscal impact for affected persons, 
per event, is show above in box 5C Small Businesses 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$10,815 $10,815 $10,815 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$10,815 $10,815 $10,815 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$2,340 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$2,340 $2,340 $2,340 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of Community and Cultural 
Engagement, Jill Love, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Sections 9-23-101 
through 9-23-301 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Bare Knuckle Fighting Unified Rules 
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Publisher Association of Boxing Commission 
and Combative Sports 

Issue Date July 3, 2023 

Issue or Version August 2, 2023 (adopted) 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Pete Suazo Utah Athletic  
Commission Fee Schedule 

Publisher Pete Suazo Utah Athletic  
Commission 

Issue Date August 18, 2023 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2023 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/10/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jill Love,  
Executive Director 

Date: 11/22/2023 

 
R457.  Cultural and Community Engagement, Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission. 
R457-1.  Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act Rule. 
R457-1-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Pete Suazo Utah Athletic 
Commission Act Rule." 
 
R457-1-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 9, Chapter 23 Pete 
Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act, the Commission adopts 
following definitions [are adopted ]to this rule: 
 (1)  For purposes of Section 9-23-304, "amateur boxing" 
means a live boxing contest conducted in accordance with the 
standards and regulations of USA Boxing, Inc., and in which the 
contestants participate for a non-cash purse. 
 (2)  "Applicant" means an Organization Which Promotes 
Amateur Boxing in the State as defined in this section. 
 (3)  "Boxing" means the sport of attack and defense using 
the fist, covered by an approved boxing glove. 

 (4)  "Designated Commission member" means a member 
of the Commission designated as supervisor for a contest and 
responsible for the conduct of a contest, as assisted by other 
Commission members, Commission personnel, and others, as 
necessary and requested by the designated Commission member. 
 (5)  "Drug" means a controlled substance, as defined in 
Title 58, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled Substances Act, or alcohol. 
 (6)  "Elimination Tournament" means a contest involving 
unarmed combat in which contestants compete in a series of matches 
until not more than one contestant remains in any weight category. 
 (7)  "Grant" means the Commission's distribution of 
monies as authorized under Subsection 9-23-304(3). 
 (8)  "Organization Which Promotes Amateur Boxing in the 
State" means an amateur boxing club located within the state, 
registered with USA Boxing Incorporated. 
 (9)  "State Fiscal Year" means the annual financial 
reporting period of the state, beginning July 1 and ending June 30. 
 (10)  "Unprofessional conduct" is as defined in Subsection 
9-23-101(25), and is defined further to include the following: 
 (a)  as a promoter, failing to promptly inform the 
Commission of all matters relating to the contest; 
 (b)  as a promoter, substituting a contestant in the 24 hours 
immediately preceding the scheduled contest without approval of the 
Commission; 
 (c)  violating the rules for conduct of contests; 
 (d)  testing positive for drugs or alcohol in a random body 
fluid screen before or after participation in any contest; 
 (e)  testing positive for HIV, Hepatitis B or C; 
 (f)  failing or refusing to comply with a valid order of the 
Commission or a representative of the Commission; and 
 (g)  entering into a secret contract that contradicts the terms 
of the contracts filed with the Commission; 
 (h)  providing false or misleading information to the 
Commission or a representative of the Commission; 
 (i)  behaving at any time or place in a manner [which is 
]deemed by the Commission to reflect discredit to unarmed combat; 
 (j)  engaging in any activity or practice that is detrimental 
to the best interests of unarmed combat; 
 (k)  knowing that an unarmed contestant suffered a serious 
injury before a contest or exhibition and failing or refusing to inform 
the Commission about that serious injury; and 
 (l)  conviction of a felony or misdemeanor, except for 
minor traffic violations. 
 (11)  A "training facility" is a location [where 
ongoing,]which holds scheduled training of unarmed combat 
contestants[ is held]. 
 
R457-1-201.  Authority - Purpose. 
 The Commission adopts this rule under the authority of 
Sections 9-23-308 and 9-23-318, to enable the Commission to 
administer Title 9, Chapter 23 Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission 
Act. Title R457 [is adopted ]to enable the Commission to implement 
Section 9-23-304 to facilitate the distribution of General Fund 
monies to Organizations Which Promote Amateur Boxing in the 
state. 
 
R457-1-202.  Scope and Organization. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Title 9, Chapter 23 Pete Suazo Utah 
Athletic Commission Act, general provisions codified in Sections 
R457-1-101 through R457-1-512 apply to all contests or exhibitions 
of "unarmed combat," as that term is defined in Subsection 9-23-
101(23). 
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 (2)  Sections R457-1-601 through R457-1-623 shall apply 
only to contests of boxing, as defined in Subsection R457-1-102(1). 
 (3)  S[ubs]ections R457-1-701 through R457-1-702 shall 
apply only to elimination tournaments, as defined in Subsection 
R457-1-102(4). 
 (4)  Section R457-1-801 shall apply only to martial arts 
contests and exhibitions.  Section R457-1-901 shall apply only to 
White-Collar Contests. 
 (5)  The Sections R457-1-1001 through R457-1-1004 shall 
apply only to grants for amateur boxing. 
 
R457-1-203.  Adoption of the "Unarmed Combat" Rules. 
 (1)  The Commission [adopts and ]incorporated[s] by 
reference the following unified rules for unarmed combat set forth by 
the Association of Boxing Commission and Combative Sports: 
 (a)  Unified Rules of Boxing, approved August 3, 2016; 
 (b)  Unified Rules of Mixed Martial Arts, approved August 
1, 2019; 
 (c)  Unified Rules of Professional Kickboxing, approved 
July 26, 2017; 
 (d)  Mixed Martial Arts Judging Criteria, approved August 
2, 2016; and 
 (e)  Unified Rules Mixed Martial Arts Fouls, approved 
2017. 
 (2)  The Commission [adopts and ]incorporated[s] by 
reference the following rules, as [they may be ]amended, for unarmed 
combat: 
 (a)  PSUAC Unified Rules for Muay Thai, approved 2017; 
 (b)  International Kickboxing Federation Rules for Muay 
Thai, 2023;[ and] 
 (c)  International Federation of Muay [t]Thai Associations 
Rules for Muay Thai, revised April 10, 2023[.]; and 
 (d)  Association of Boxing Commissions (ABC) Bare 
Knuckle Fighting Unified Rules, adopted August 2, 2023. 
 (3)  In advance of an event, the promoter shall identify to 
the Director the set of rules to which the entire event will adhere. 
 
R457-1-301.  Qualifications for Licensure. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 9-23-301, a license is 
required for a person to act as or represent that they are a: 
 (a)  promoter; 
 (b)  timekeeper; 
 (c)  manager; 
 (d)  contestant; 
 (e)  second; 
 (f)  matchmaker; 
 (g)  referee; or 
 (h)  judge. 
 (2)  A licensed amateur contestant may not: 
 (a)  compete against a professional unarmed combat 
contestant; 
 (b)  receive a purse, or a percentage of ticket sales; or 
 (c)  other remuneration, other than for reimbursement for 
reasonable travel expenses and per diem, consistent with IRS 
guidelines. 
 (3)  A licensed manager or contestant [is prohibited from 
being]may not act as a referee or judge for any event or contestant 
affiliated with a gym or training facility they have been involved with 
during the past 12 months. 
 (4)  A promoter [shall]may not hold a license as a referee, 
judge, second or contestant. 
 

R457-1-302.  Licensing - Procedure. 
 (1)  In accordance with the authority granted in Section 9-
23-308, the expiration date for licenses issued by the Commission 
shall be one year from the date of issuance. 
 (2)  A contestant may designate a manager as outlined in 
Section R457-1-504. 
 
R457-1-401.  Designation of Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 (1)  The Commission designates any of the following as an 
informal adjudicative proceeding[An adjudicative proceeding before 
the Commission of any of the following proceeding is designated as 
an informal adjudicative proceeding]: 
 (a)  any action to revoke, suspend, restrict, place on 
probation or enter a reprimand as to a license; 
 (b)  approval or denial of applications for: 
 (i)  initial licensure; 
 (ii)  reinstatement of a license; and 
 (iii)  renewal of a license[.]; 
 (c)  any proceeding conducted after the issuance of a cease 
and desist order; 
 (d)  the withholding of a purse by the Commission under 
Section 63N-10-313; or 
 (e)  protests against the results of a contest. 
 (2)  An individual may seek an adjudicated hearing before 
the Commission for the matters listed in Subsection (1) by submitting 
a written request to the Director within 30 days from the date of the 
action or result. 
 (3)  Subject to the exception under Subsection 63G-4-
202(3) or unless otherwise stipulated to, the Commission designates 
any other adjudicative proceeding before the Commission not 
specifically listed in under Subsection (1), [is designated ]as an 
informal adjudicative proceeding. 
 (4)  The Commission may designate any adjudicative 
proceeding as a formal adjudicated proceeding at the outset. 
 (5)  The Commission may convert any informal 
adjudicative proceeding to a formal adjudicative proceeding, and any 
formal adjudicative proceeding to an informal adjudicative 
proceeding, in accordance with Section 63G-4-202. 
 
R457-1-402.  Adjudicative Proceedings in General. 
 (1)  The procedure for an adjudicative proceeding is under 
Section 63G-4-203 for an informal adjudicative proceeding and 
Section 63G-4-204 for a formal adjudicative proceeding; and this 
rule. 
 (2)  Unless the Commission determines otherwise, the 
Commission shall [be designated]act as the sole presiding officer in 
any adjudicative proceeding, and where applicable, serve as the fact 
finder in any adjudicative proceeding. 
 (3)  A majority vote of the Commission shall constitute its 
decision.  [Orders of the Commission shall be signed by the Director 
]The Director may sign the order or, in the Director's absence, the 
Chair of the Commission in accordance with Section 63G-4-208 for 
formal proceedings and Subsection 63G-4-203(1) for informal 
proceedings. 
 
R457-1-403.  Additional Procedures for Immediate License 
Suspension. 
 (1)  Under Section 9-23-303, the designated Commission 
member, or in the absence of a designated Commission member the 
Director may issue an order immediately suspending the license of a 
licensee upon a finding that the licensee presents an immediate and 
significant danger to the licensee, other licensees, or the public. 
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 (2)  The suspension shall be at such time and for such 
period as the Commission believes is necessary to protect the health, 
safety, and welfare of the licensee, other licensees, or the public. 
 (3)  A licensee whose license has been immediately 
suspended may, within 30 days after the decision of the designated 
Commission member, challenge the suspension by submitting a 
written request for a hearing to the Director.  The Commission shall 
schedule the hearing as soon as is reasonably practical but before 30 
days from the receipt of the written request, unless the Commission 
and the party requesting the hearing agree to conduct the hearing at a 
later date. 
 
R457-1-404.  Evidentiary Hearings in Informal Adjudicative 
Proceedings. 
 (1)  A request for an evidentiary hearing in an informal 
adjudicative proceeding shall be submitted in writing no later than 20 
days following the issuance of the Commission's notice of agency 
action if the proceeding was initiated by the Commission, or together 
with the request for agency action, if the proceeding was not initiated 
by the Commission, in accordance with the requirements set forth in 
the Utah Administrative Procedures Act, Title 63G, Chapter 4. 
 (2)  Unless otherwise agreed upon by the parties, no 
evidentiary hearing shall be [held in ]an informal adjudicative 
proceeding unless the Commission served timely notice of the 
hearing [has been served ]upon the parties as required by Subsection 
63G-4-203(1)(d). Timely notice means service of a Notice of Hearing 
upon all parties no later than ten days before any scheduled 
evidentiary hearing. 
 (3)  Parties [shall be permitted to ]may testify, present 
evidence, and comment on the issues at an evidentiary hearing in an 
informal adjudicative proceeding. 
 
R457-1-405.  Reconsideration and Judicial Review. 
 Agency review is not available as to any order or decision 
entered by the Commission.  However, any person aggrieved by an 
adverse determination by the Commission may either seek 
reconsideration of the order pursuant to Section 63G-4-302 or seek 
judicial review of the order pursuant to Sections 63G-4-401 through 
63G-4-404. 
 
R457-1-501.  Promoter's Responsibilities in Arranging a Contest. 
 (1)  Before a licensed promoter may hold a contest or single 
contest as part of a single promotion, the promoter shall file with the 
Commission an application for a permit to hold the contest not less 
than 15 days before the date of the proposed contest, or not less than 
seven days for televised contests. 
 (2)  The application shall include the date, time, and place 
of the contest as well as information concerning the on-site 
emergency facilities, personnel, and transportation. 
 (3)  The permit application must [be accompanied 
by]include a contest registration fee determined by the Department 
under Section 63J-1-504. 
 (4)  [Before]To grant a permit to hold a contest[ is granted], 
the promoter shall post a surety bond with the Commission in the 
amount of $20,000[.], or total sum of the contestant purses, official's 
fees and estimated Commission fees, whichever is greater.  
Promoters who have held less than five unarmed combat events in 
the state shall deposit an additional $20,000 minimum Cashier's 
Check or Bank Draft with the Commission no later than seven days 
before the event or the [event may be canceled by the 
Commission]Commission may cancel the event. 

 (5)  Before the scheduled time of the contest, the promoter 
shall have available for inspection the completed physical facilities 
[which will be ]used directly or indirectly for the contest. The 
designated Commission member shall inspect the facilities in the 
presence of the promoter or the promoter's authorized 
representative[, and].  The promoter may correct all deficiencies cited 
upon inspection [shall be corrected ]before the contest. 
 (6)  A promoter shall verify[be responsible for verifying] 
the identity, record, and suspensions of each contestant. A promoter 
[shall be held]remains responsible for the accuracy of the names and 
records of each of the participating contestants in all publicity or 
promotional material. 
 (7)  A promoter[ shall be held] shall ensure that a contestant 
is not disproportionately outclassed in a contest.[ responsible for a 
contest in which one of the contestants is disproportionately 
outclassed.] 
 (8)  Before a contest begins, the promoter shall give the 
designated Commission member the funds necessary for payment of 
contestants, referees, judges, timekeeper, and the attending 
physicians. The designated Commission member shall pay each 
contestant, referee, and judge in the presence of one witness. 
 (9)  A promoter [maybe not under]shall remain free of the 
influence of alcohol or controlled substances: 
 (a)  during the contest; 
 (b)  until after the Commission pays all contestants[ are 
paid]; and 
 (c)  until after the promoter pays all applicable fees [are 
paid ]to the Commission, officials, and ringside physician. 
 (10)  The promoter shall be responsible for payment of any 
Commission fees deducted from a contestant's purse, if the fees are 
not collected directly from the contestant at the conclusion of the bout 
or if the contestant fails to compete in the event. 
 (11)(a)  At the time of an unarmed combat contest weigh-
in, the promoter of a contest shall provide primary insurance 
coverage for each uninsured contestant and secondary insurance for 
each insured contestant in the amount of $[10]20,000 for each 
licensed contestant, to provide medical, surgical and hospital care for 
licensed contestants who are injured while engaged in a contest or 
exhibition[:]. 
 ([a]b)  The term of the insurance coverage [must]shall not 
require the contestant to pay a deductible for the medical, surgical or 
hospital care for injuries the contestant sustains while engaged in a 
contest of exhibition[.]; 
 ([b]c)  If a licensed contestant pays for the medical, surgical 
or hospital care for injuries sustained during a contest or exhibition, 
then the insurance proceeds [must be paid to]shall reimburse the 
contestant or the contestant's beneficiaries as reimbursement for the 
payment. 
 ([c]d)  The promoter shall also provide life insurance 
coverage of $[10]20,000 for each contestant in case of death resulting 
from injuries sustained during a contest or exhibition[.]; 
 ([d]e)  The contestant, or any other party, may not waive 
the required medical insurance and life insurance coverage[ shall not 
be waived by the contestant or any other party]. 
 ([e]f)  A contestant seeking medical insurance 
reimbursement for injuries sustained during an unarmed combat 
event shall obtain medical treatment for their injuries within 72 hours 
of their bout and maintain written records of their treatment, expenses 
and correspondence with the insurance provider and promoter to 
ensure coverage. 
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 ([f]g)  The promoter [shall]may not delay or circumvent the 
timely processing of an insurance claim submitted by a contestant 
injured during a contest or exhibition. 
 (12)  In addition to the payment of any other fees and 
money due under this part, the promoter shall pay the following event 
fees: 
 (a)  [T]the event attendance fee established in the adopted 
Fee Schedule on the date of the event[.]; 
[ (b)  3% of the first $500,000, and 1% of each of the next 
$1,000,000 increments, of the total gross receipts from the sale, lease, 
or other exploitation of internet, broadcasting, television, and motion 
picture rights for any contest or exhibition thereof, without any 
deductions for Commissions, brokerage fees, distribution fees, 
advertising, contestants' purses or any other expenses or charges, 
except in no case shall the fee be more than $50,000.  These fees shall 
be paid to the Commission within 45 days of the event.  The promoter 
shall notify and provide the Commission with certified copies of any 
contracts, agreements or transfers of any internet, broadcasting, 
television, and motion picture rights for any contest or exhibition 
within seven days of any such agreements.  The Commission may 
require a surety deposit to be provided to the Commission to ensure 
these requirements are met.] 
 (b)  the applicable fees assessed by the Association of 
Boxing Commissions and Combative Sports designated official 
record keeper, if not previously paid by the promoter; and 
 (c)  3% of the first $500,000 and 1% of each of the next 
$1,000,000 increments, of the total gross receipts from the sale, lease, 
or other exploitation of internet, broadcasting, television, and motion 
picture rights for any contest or exhibition thereof, without any 
deductions for Commissions, brokerage fees, distribution fees, 
advertising, contestants' purses or any other expenses or charges, 
except in no case shall the fee be more than $50,000. 
[ (c)  The applicable fees assessed by the Association of 
Boxing Commission designated official record keeper, if not 
previously paid by the promoter. 
 (d)  The Commission may exempt from the payment of all 
or part of the assessed fees under this section for a special contest or 
exhibition based on factors which include: 
 (i)  a showcase event promoting a greater interest in 
contests in the state; 
 (ii)  attraction of the optimum number of spectators; 
 (iii)  costs of promoting and producing the contest or 
exhibition; 
 (iv)  ticket pricing; 
 (v)  committed promotions and advertising of the contest 
or exhibition; 
 (vi)  rankings and quality of the contestants; 
 (vii)  committed television and other media coverage of the 
contest or exhibition; and 
 (viii)  contribution to a 501(c)(3) charitable organization.] 
 (13)  The Commission may: 
 (a)  exempt from the payment any of the assessed fees 
under this section for a special contest or exhibition based on factors 
which include: 
 (i)  a showcase event promoting a greater interest in 
contests in the state; 
 (ii)  attraction of the optimum number of spectators; 
 (iii)  costs of promoting and producing the contest or 
exhibition; 
 (iv)  ticket pricing; 
 (v)  committed promotions and advertising of the contest 
or exhibition; 

 (vi)  rankings and quality of the contestants; 
 (vii)  committed television and other media coverage of the 
contest or exhibition; and 
 (viii)  contribution to a 501(c)(3) charitable organization; 
and 
 (b)  require the promoter to provide a surety deposit to the 
Commission to fulfill the requirements of subsection(a). 
 (14)  The promoter shall pay the Commission within 45 
days of the event. 
 (15)  The promoter shall notify and provide the 
Commission with certified copies of any contracts, agreements or 
transfers of any internet, broadcasting, television, and motion picture 
rights for any contest or exhibition within seven days of any such 
agreements. 
 
R457-1-502.  Ringside Requirements and Equipment. 
 (1)  Each promoter shall provide all the following: 
 (a)  Commission-approved gloves in whole, clean and in 
sanitary condition for each contestant; 
 (b)  stools for use by the seconds; 
 (c)  rubber gloves for use by the referees, seconds, ringside 
physicians, and Commission representatives; 
 (d)  a stretcher, which shall be available near the ring and 
near the ringside physician; 
 (e)  a portable resuscitator with oxygen; 
 (f)  seats at ringside for the assigned officials; 
 (g)  seats at ringside for the designated Commission 
member; 
 (h)  ring, cage, cleaning supplies, including bucket, towels, 
and disinfectant; 
 (i)  a public address system; 
 (j)  a separate dressing room for each sex[,] if contestants 
of both sexes are participating; 
 (k)  a separate room for physical examinations; 
 (l)  [a separate dressing room shall be provided for officials, 
]the promoter shall provide a separate dressing room for event 
officials unless the physical arrangements of the contest site make an 
additional dressing room impossible; 
 ([n]m)  adequate security personnel who are either licensed 
as a security guard by the Division of Professional Licensing, or who 
are off duty police officers; and 
 ([o]n)  sufficient bout sheets for ring officials and the 
designated Commission member. 
 (2)  An ambulance with attendants will [be on site at all 
times]always be on site when contestants are competing. The 
promoter shall make arrangements [Arrangements shall be made ]for 
a replacement ambulance if the first ambulance is required to 
transport a contestant for medical treatment. The promoter shall 
communicate the location of the ambulance and the arrangements for 
the substitute ambulance service [shall be communicated ]to the 
physician. 
 (3)  A promoter shall only hold contests in facilities that 
conform to the laws, ordinances, and regulations regulating the 
county, city, town, or village where the bouts are situated. 
 (4)  A promoter or contestant shall not utilize [R]restrooms 
[shall not be used ]as dressing rooms, for physical examinations or 
weigh-ins. 
 
R457-1-503.  Contracts. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Section 9-23-312, the promoter shall file a 
copy of the contract between a promoter and a contestant [shall be 
filed ]with the Commission before a contest begins.  The contract 
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[that is filed with ]received by the Commission shall embody all 
agreements between the parties. 
 (2)  A contestant's manager may sign a contract on behalf 
of the contestant.  If a contestant does not have a licensed manager, 
the contestant shall sign the contract. 
 (3)  A contestant shall use the contestant's own legal name 
to sign a contract.  However, a contestant [who is ]licensed under 
another name may sign the contract using the contestant's licensed 
name if the contestant's legal name appears in the body of the contract 
as the name under which the contestant is legally known. 
 (4)  The contract between a promoter and a contestant shall 
be for the use of the contestant's skills in a contest, and [shall]a 
promoter may not require the contestant to sell tickets [to be paid]to 
pay for the contestant's services. 
 
R457-1-504.  Manager. 
 (1)(a)  Managers, as designated by the contestant and 
applicant, [shall be granted the ability to]may submit and request 
transfer of medical records between athletic Commissions for 
licensure within the Association of Boxing Commissions and 
Combative Sports[ recognized Commissions]. 
 (b)  This ability to submit and request transfer of medical 
records does not grant managers access to medical records with the 
Commission licensing system. 
 (2)  To obtain a manager license, an applicant must: 
 (a)  file an affidavit with the Commission to recognize the 
manager, signed by both parties; and 
 (b)  submit the l[L]icense application fee as set forth by the 
Commission Fee Schedule[ adopted on February 24, 2017], 
incorporated by reference on August 18, 2023. 
 
R457-1-505.  Complimentary Tickets. 
 (1)(a)  Limitation on issuance, calculation of price, and 
service charge for payment to contestant working on percentage 
basis. 
 ([a]b)  A promoter may not issue complimentary tickets for 
more than 4% of the seats in the house without the Commission's 
written authorization.  The Commission [shall]may not consider 
complimentary tickets which it authorizes under this section to 
constitute part of the total gross receipts from admission fees for the 
purposes of calculating the license fee prescribed in Section 9-23-
304. 
 ([b]c)  If complimentary tickets are issued for more than 
4% of the seats in the house, then for each contestant who [is 
working]works on a percentage basis[ shall be paid], the promoter 
shall pay the contestant a percentage of the normal price of all 
complimentary tickets more than 4% of the seats in the house, unless 
the contract between the contestant and the promoter provides 
otherwise and stipulates the number of complimentary tickets [which 
will be ]issued.  In addition, if a promoter or its agent charges a 
service fee [is charged ]for complimentary tickets, then the promoter 
may pay the contestant [may be paid ]a percentage of that service fee, 
less any deduction for federal taxes and fees. 
 ([c]d)  Pursuant to Section 9-23-304 a promoter shall file, 
within 10 days after the contest, a report indicating how many 
complimentary tickets the promoter issued and the value of those 
tickets. 
 (2)(a)  Complimentary ticket and tickets at reduced rate, 
persons entitled or allowed to receive such tickets, duties of promoter, 
disciplinary action, fees and taxes. 

 ([a]b)  Each promoter shall provide tickets without charge 
to the following persons who [shall]may not be liable for the payment 
of any fees for those tickets: 
 (i)  the Commission members, Director and 
representatives; 
 (ii)  principals and seconds who are engaged in a contest or 
exhibition which is part of the program of unarmed combat; and 
 (iii)  holders of lifetime passes issued by the Commission, 
and any lifetime passes shall be subject to the following: 
 (A)  [shall be approved subject to the ]approval based on 
the sole discretion of the Commission by majority vote; 
 (B)  holder shall notify the Director of their intent to attend 
an event; 
 (C)  promoter shall arrange seating; 
 (D)  any Commission Member [of ]or [Executive ]Director 
may nominate an individual to receive a lifetime pass; and 
 (E)  [may be revoked ]Revocation by a majority vote of the 
Commission. 
 ([b]c)  Each promoter may provide tickets without charge 
or at a reduced rate to the following persons who shall be liable for 
payment of applicable fees on the reduced amount paid, unless the 
person is a journalist, police officer or firefighter as provided in this 
subsection: 
 (i)  any of the promoter's employees, and if the promoter is 
a corporation, to a director or officer who is regularly employed or 
engaged in promoting programs of unarmed combat, regardless of 
whether the Director or officer's duties require admission to the 
particular program and regardless of whether the Director or officer 
is on duty at the time of that program; 
 (ii)  employees of the Commission; 
 (iii)  a journalist who is performing a journalist's duties; and 
 (iv)  a firefighter or police officer that is performing the 
duties of a firefighter or police officer. 
 ([c]d)  Each promoter shall perform the following duties in 
relation to the issuance of complimentary tickets or those issued at a 
reduced price: 
 (i)  the promoter will issue [each ticket issued to a journalist 
shall be ]clearly marked "PRESS[.]" badges to the press.  No more 
tickets may be issued to journalists than will permit comfortable 
seating in the press area; 
 (ii)  seating at the press tables or in the press area must be 
[limited to ]journalists who are [actually ]covering the contest or 
exhibition and to other persons designated by the Commission; 
 (iii)  the promoter shall submit a list of passes issued to 
journalists [shall be submitted ]to the Commission before the contest 
or exhibition; 
 (iv)  the promoter may sell only one ticket [may be sold ]at 
a reduced price to any manager, second, contestant or other person 
licensed by the Commission; 
 (v)  the Commission or Director may approve, in advance, 
any credential issued by the promoter which allows an admission to 
the program without a ticket[, shall be approved in advance by a 
member of the Commission or the Director]; and 
 (iv)  the promoter shall request for the issuance of such 
credentials [shall be made ]at least 5 hours before the first contest or 
exhibition of the program. 
 ([d]e)  Admission of any person who does not hold a ticket 
or who is non-exempt[not specifically exempted] pursuant to this 
section is grounds for suspension or revocation of the promoter's 
license or for the assessment of a penalty. 
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 ([e]f)  The Commission shall collect all fees and taxes due 
on any ticket that is not specifically exempt pursuant to this section, 
and for any person [who is ]admitted without a ticket in violation of 
this section. 
 (3)  Reservation of area for use by Commission.  For every 
program of unarmed combat, the promoter of the program shall 
reserve seats at ringside for use by the designated Commission 
member and Commission representatives. 
 
R457-1-506.  Physical Examination - Physician. 
 (1)  The ringside physician, designated by the Commission, 
shall exam each contestant [N]not less than one hour before a 
contest[, each contestant shall be given a medical examination by a 
physician who is appointed by the designated Commission member].  
The examination shall include a detailed medical history and a 
physical examination of all the following: 
 (a)  eyes; 
 (b)  teeth; 
 (c)  jaw; 
 (d)  neck; 
 (e)  chest; 
 (f)  ears; 
 (g)  nose; 
 (h)  throat; 
 (i)  skin; 
 (j)  scalp; 
 (k)  head; 
 (l)  abdomen; 
 (m)  cardiopulmonary status; 
 (n)  neurological, musculature, and skeletal systems; 
 (o)  pelvis; and 
 (p)  the presence of controlled substances in the body. 
 (2)  If after the examination the physician determines that 
a contestant is unfit for competition, the physician shall notify the 
Commission of this determination, and the Commission shall 
prohibit the contestant from competing. 
 (3)  The physician shall provide a written certification of 
those contestants who are in good physical condition to compete. 
 (4)  Before a bout, a female contestant [shall]may provide 
the ringside physician with a signed pregnancy waiver. If not 
provided[the results of a pregnancy test performed on the contestant 
within the previous 14 days.  If the results of the pregnancy test are 
positive, the physician shall notify the Commission, and] the 
Commission [shall ]may prohibit the contestant from competing. 
 (5)  [A contestant who has had cardiac surgery shall not be 
issued a license unless the contestant is certified as fit to compete by 
a cardiovascular surgeon.]The Commission may not issue a license 
to a contestant who has had cardiac surgery, unless a cardiovascular 
surgeon has certified the contestant as fit to compete. 
 (6)  A contest [shall ]may not begin until a physician and 
an attended ambulance are present.  The physician [shall]may not 
leave until the decision in the final contest has been announced and 
all injured contestants have been attended to. 
 (7)  The contest [shall ]may not begin until the physician 
[is seated at ]ringside.  The physician shall remain at that location for 
the entire fight, unless it is necessary for the physician to attend to a 
contestant. 
 
R457-1-507.  Drug Testing. 
[ In accordance with Section 9-23-309, the following shall 
apply to drug testing:] 

 (1)  The Commission prohibits administration of or use of 
any of the following, before or during a contest or exhibition to or by 
any unarmed combatant: 
 (a)  alcohol; 
 (b)  illicit drug; 
 (c)  stimulant; or 
 (d)  drug or injection [that has ]not [been ]approved by the 
Commission, including the drugs or injections listed by The 
Association of Boxing Commission for Boxing and Mixed Martial 
Arts in any part of the body[, either before or during a contest or 
exhibition, to or by any unarmed combatant, is prohibited]. 
 (2)  The Commission prohibits the following types of 
drugs, injections or stimulants [are prohibited ]for any unarmed 
combatant[ pursuant to Subsection R457-1-506(1)]: 
[ (a)  Afrinol or any other product that is pharmaceutically 
similar to Afrinol. 
 (b)  Co-Tylenol or any other product that is 
pharmaceutically similar to Co-Tylenol. 
 (c)  A product containing an antihistamine and a 
decongestant. 
 (d)  A decongestant other than a decongestant listed in 
Subsection R457-1-506(4). 
 (e)  Any over-the-counter drug for colds, coughs or sinuses.  
This subsection includes Ephedrine, Phenylpropanolamine, and 
Mahuang and derivatives of Mahuang.] 
 ([f]a)  [A]any drug or substance identified on the World 
Anti-Doping Code International Standard Prohibited List, effective 
January 1, 2023, published by the World Anti-Doping Agency, which 
is incorporated by reference[. The Prohibited List may be obtained] 
and made available, free of charge, at www.wada-ama.org[.]; and 
 ([g]b)  World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) thresholds[ 
will be recognized as] set the standard level on prohibited substances 
unless otherwise prescribed by the Commission rules[.]; 
 (3)  The Commission discourages the following types of 
drugs or injections [are not prohibited, but their use is discouraged by 
the Commission ]for any unarmed combatant: 
 (a)  [A]aspirin and products containing aspirin[.]; and 
 (b)  [N]nonsteroidal anti-inflammatories. 
 (4)  The Commission allows the use of the following types 
of drugs or injections[ are accepted by the Commission]: 
 (a)  [A]antacids, such as Maalox[.]; 
 (b)  [A]antibiotics, antifungals or antivirals that have been 
prescribed by a physician[.]; 
 (c)  [A]antidiarrheals, such as Imodium, Kaopectate or 
Pepto-Bismol[.]; 
 (d)  [A]antihistamines for colds or allergies, such as 
Bromphen, Brompheniramine, Chlorpheniramine Maleate, Chlor-
Trimeton, Dimetane, Hismal, PBZ, Seldane, Tavist-1 or Teldrin[.]; 
 (e)  [A]antinauseants, such as Dramamine or Tigan[.]; 
 (f)  [A]antipyretics, such as Tylenol[.]; 
 (g)  [A]antitussives, such as Robitussin, if the antitussive 
does not contain codeine[.]; 
 (h)  [A]antiulcer products, such as Carafate, Pepcid, 
Reglan, Tagamet or Zantac[.]; 
 (i)  [A]asthma products in aerosol form, such as Brethine, 
Metaproterenol, Alupent, Salbutamol, Albuterol, Proventil or 
Ventolin[.]; 
 (j)  [A]asthma products in oral form, such as 
Aminophylline, Cromolyn, Nasalide or Vanceril[.]; 
 (k)  [E]ear products, such as Auralgan, Cerumenex, 
Cortisporin, Debrox or Vosol[.]; 



 

40 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 01 

 (l)  [H]hemorrhoid products, such as Anusol-HC, 
Preparation H or Nupercainal[.]; 
 (m)  [L]laxatives, such as Correctol, Doxidan, Dulcolax, 
Efferyllium, Ex-Lax, Metamucil, Modane or Milk of Magnesia[.]; 
 (n)  [N]nasal products, such as AYR Saline, HuMist Saline, 
Ocean or Salinex[.]; and 
 (o)  [T]the following decongestants: 
 (i)  Afrin; 
 (ii)  Oxymetazoline HCL Nasal Spray; or 
 (iii)  [A]any other decongestant that is pharmaceutically 
similar to the decongestants in this subsection. 
 (5)  At the request of the Commission, the designated 
Commission member, or the ringside physician, a licensee shall 
submit to a test of body fluids to determine the presence of drugs or 
other prohibited substances.  A licensee shall give an adequate 
sample, or [it will be considered a denial]the Commission shall 
consider the sample inadequate and a denial by the licensee. The 
promoter shall [be responsible]pay for any costs of testing. 
 (6)  If the test results in a finding of the presence of a 
prohibited substance or metabolite or if the licensee is unable or 
unwilling to provide a sample of body fluids for such a test within 60 
minutes of notification, the Commission may take one or more of the 
following actions: 
 (a)  immediately suspend the licensee's license in 
accordance with Section R457-1-403; 
 (b)  stop the contest in accordance with Section 9-23-309; 
 (c)  initiate other appropriate licensure action in accordance 
with Section 9-23-303; or 
 (d)  withhold the contestant's purse in accordance with 
Section 9-23-313. 
 (7)  A contestant who is disciplined pursuant to this rule and 
who was the winner of a contest shall be disqualified and the decision 
of the contest shall be changed to "no contest" and shall be fined a 
minimum of their win bonus. 
 (8)  Unless the Commission determines otherwise at a 
scheduled meeting, a licensee who tests positive for prohibited 
substances or their metabolites shall be penalized as follows: 
 (a)  First offense - 180 day suspension[.]; 
 (b)  Second offense - 1 year suspension, and mandatory 
completion of a supervisory treatment program approved by the 
Commission that licensed the event[.]; 
 (c)  Third offense - 2 year suspension, and mandatory 
completion of a supervisory treatment program approved by the 
Commission that licensed the event[.]; and 
 (d)  in the case of [F]failure by the contestant to fully 
disclose all medications taken within 30 days of their pre-fight 
physical, before their bout, the Commission shall deem this as[be 
deemed] unprofessional conduct and double the length of any 
applicable suspension, or any other combination of remedies as 
defined by the Commission based upon mitigating or aggravating 
circumstances. 
 (9)  Medical Cannabis.  For a[A] [C]contestant who for the 
first-time tests positive for medical cannabis above the threshold 
level set by USADA/WADA (15ng/mL) the Commission shall [be 
]fine[d] up to[ not more than] $100. The fine shall escalate to $200 if 
in the future, a contestant again tests positive for cannabis above the 
threshold. 
 (10)(a)  Therapeutic Use Exemptions (TUEs).[ 
 (a) ] An applicant or licensee who believes the applicant or 
licensee has a therapeutic reason to use a substance described in 
Subsection R457-1-506(2) may apply in advance using a form 

approved by the Director, for a TUE to permit continued use of that 
substance. 
 (b)  The Director may approve an application for a TUE for 
medical cannabis prescribed by a registered qualified medical 
provider[ who is registered] in accordance with the Utah Medical 
Cannabis Act, or if a contestant is a resident of another state, then 
medical cannabis prescribed as allowed by the statute of another 
state. [For ]After an application, the Commission may grant [all 
]other substances, [an application may only be granted by the 
Commission itself ]after a public hearing. 
 (c)  The applicant or licensee shall submit the request in 
writing to the Commission. 
 (d)  Supporting medical information shall accompany the 
[The ]request [shall be accompanied by supporting medical 
information ]sufficient to allow the Commission to determine 
whether to grant their request. 
 (e)  In reaching its decision, the Commission will, at a 
minimum, determine whether the licensee satisfied all of the 
following criteria[ have been met]: 
 (i)  [T]the applicant or licensee would experience a 
significant impairment to health if the prohibited substance were to 
be withheld in the course of treating an acute or chronic medical 
condition; 
 (ii)  [T]the therapeutic use of the prohibited substance 
would produce no additional enhancement of performance other than 
that [which might be ]anticipated by a return to a state of normal 
health following the treatment of a legitimate medical condition; 
 (iii)  [T]the [U]use of any Prohibited Substance or 
Prohibited Method to increase "low-normal" levels of any 
endogenous hormone is not [considered ]an acceptable Therapeutic 
intervention; 
[ (iv)  Either reasonable therapeutic alternatives to the use of 
the otherwise prohibited substance have been tried or no reasonable 
alternative exists; and] 
 (iv)  the applicant or licensee has attempted to use 
reasonable therapeutic alternatives to the prohibited substance or no 
reasonable alternative exists; and 
 (v)  [T]the necessity for the use of the otherwise prohibited 
substance is not a result, wholly or in part, of a prior non-therapeutic 
use of any substance described in Subsection R457-1-506(2). 
 ([b]f)  The Commission may, in its sole discretion, either 
grant or deny the request or refer the request to the Voluntary Anti-
Doping Association (VADA) or similar evaluating body for a 
recommendation. The evaluating body shall obtain such evaluation 
and expert consultation as the body deems necessary. The evaluating 
body shall present the Commission with a written recommendation 
and a detailed basis for that recommendation. 
 ([c]g)  The applicant shall be responsible to pay any costs 
associated with the TUE evaluation and all subsequent mandated 
compliance testing. 
 ([d]h)  The Commission shall cancel the TUE[ shall be 
canceled], if: 
 (i)  [T]the contestant does not promptly comply with any 
requirements or conditions imposed by the Commission[.]; 
 (ii)  [T]the TUE's term [for which the TUE was granted ]has 
expired[.]; or 
 (iii)  [T]the [contestant is advised that the TUE has been 
withdrawn by the ]Commission withdraws the TUE and notifies the 
contestant. 
 (11)  Failure to disclose the use of a substance described in 
Subsection R457-1-506(2) constitutes unprofessional conduct and 
subject to additional disciplinary action under Section 9-23-303. 
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R457-1-508.  HIV Testing. 
[ In accordance with Subsection 9-23-309(1)(a), contestants 
shall produce evidence of a clear test for HIV as a condition to 
participation in a contest as follows:] 
 (1)  All contestants shall provide evidence in the form of a 
competent laboratory examination certificate verifying that the 
contestant is HIV negative at the time of the weigh-in. 
 (2)  The Commission shall only recognize as valid an 
examination certificate for a[shall certify that the] HIV test [was 
]completed within 180 days before the contest. 
 (3)  Any contestant [whose HIV test is positive shall be 
prohibited from participating]with a positive HIV test shall not 
participate in a contest. 
 
R457-1-509.  Hepatitis B Surface Antigen (HBsAg) and Hepatitis 
C Virus (HCV) Antibody Testing. 
 [In accordance with Subsection 9-23-309(1)(c) 
c]Contestants shall produce evidence of a negative test for HBsAg 
and HCV antibody as a condition to participation in a contest as 
follows: 
 (1)  [All contestants shall provide evidence in the form of 
a]A competent laboratory examination certificate, completed at most 
one year before the contest, verifying that the contestant is negative 
at the time of the weigh-in. 
 (2)  [The examination certificate shall certify that the 
HBsAg and HCV antibody testing was completed within one year 
before the contest.  ]The Commission may reduce the one year 
expiration time period for testing[may be reduced by the 
Commission] to protect public safety in the event of an outbreak. 
 (3)  Any contestant whose HBV or HCV result is positive 
shall [be prohibited from participating]not participate in a contest. 
 (4)  In lieu of a negative HBsAg test result, a contestant 
may present laboratory testing evidence of immunity against 
Hepatitis B virus based on a positive Hepatitis B surface antibody 
(anti-HBs) test result or of having received the complete Hepatitis B 
vaccine series as recommended by the Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices. 
 
R457-1-510.  Contestant Use or Administration of Any 
Substance. 
 (1)  The Commission only allows use or administration of 
drugs, stimulants, or non-prescription preparations by or to a 
contestant during a contest [is prohibited, except ]as provided by this 
rule. 
 (2)  [The giving of substances other than water to a 
contestant during the contest is prohibited.]A contestant may 
consume only water during a contest. 
 (3)  [The discretional use of ]A contestant may use 
petroleum jelly[ may be allowed], as determined by the referee. 
 (4)  [The discretional use of]A contestant may use 
coagulants, adrenaline 1/1000, avetine, and thrombin, as approved by 
the Commission, [may be allowed ]between rounds to stop the 
bleeding of minor cuts and lacerations sustained by a contestant[.], 
except as follows: 
 (i)  [The use of ]contestants may not use Monsel's solution, 
silver nitrate, flex collodion also known as new skin, or substances 
having an iron base[ is prohibited]; and 
 (ii)  [T]the use of any [such ]substance described in 
subsection (i)[by a contestant] is cause for immediate 
disqualification. 
 (5)  The ringside physician shall monitor the use and 
application of any foreign substances administered to a contestant 

before or during a contest and shall confiscate any suspicious foreign 
substance for [possible ]laboratory analysis, and the physician or 
laboratory shall forward the results [of which shall be forwarded ]to 
the Commission. 
 
R457-1-511.  Weighing-In. 
 (1)  Unless otherwise approved by the Commission for a 
specific contest, the weigh-in shall occur not less than six nor more 
than 36 hours before the start of a contest. The designated 
Commission member or authorized Commission representative shall 
weigh-in each contestant in the presence of other contestants. 
 (2)  The Commission may grant licenses when the 
contestants [Contestants shall be licensed when they ]are weighed in. 
 (3)  Only contestants [who have been ]previously approved 
by the Commission for the contest [shall be permitted to weigh 
in]may weigh-in. 
 (4)  Each contestant must weigh- in, in the presence of the 
contestant's opponent, a representative of the Commission and an 
official representing the promoter, on scales approved by the 
Commission at any place designed by the Commission. 
 (5)  The contestant must have all weights stripped from the 
contestant's body before the contestant is weighed[,] but may wear 
shorts.  The Commission may permit a c[C]ontestant[s are permitted] 
to wear a singlet or sports bra for modesty. 
 (6)  The Commission may require a contestant[s] to [be 
weighted ]weigh in more than once for any cause deemed sufficient 
by the Commission. 
 (7)  A contestant who fails to make the weight agreed upon 
in the contestant's bout agreement forfeits: 
 (a)  25% of the contestant's purse if no lesser amount is set 
by the Commission's representative; or 
 (b)  a lesser amount set by the [secretary ]Director and 
approved by the Commission, unless the weight difference is 1 pound 
or less. 
 
R457-1-512.  Event Officials. 
 (1)]  Selection and approval of event officials for a contest, 
bout, program, match, or exhibition shall occur as outlined in this 
rule. 
 [(a)](2)  The event officials are the referees, judges, 
timekeeper and physicians. 
 [(b)](3)  Any event official participating in a contest, bout, 
match, or exhibition must obtain the approval of the Commission. 
 [(c)](4)  The Commission shall decide the number of 
officials assigned to the event based on the number of rounds, bouts, 
or championship bouts. 
 [(d)](5)  The number of event officials required or the 
substitution of officials for any reason or at any time during the event 
shall be solely within the power and discretion of the Commission. 
 [(2)](6)(a)  Event officials [are prohibited from being ]may 
not be under the influence of alcohol [and ]or illicit drugs. 
 ([a]b)(i)  At the request of the Commission, an event 
official shall submit to a test of body fluids to determine the presence 
of prohibited drugs or alcohol. 
 (ii)  The event official shall give an adequate sample or it 
will be considered a denial, and the event official may not 
participate[prohibited from participating] in future events. 
 (iii)  The promoter shall [be responsible]pay for any costs 
of testing. 
 ([b]c)  Unless the Commission determines otherwise at a 
scheduled meeting, the Commission shall penalize an event official 



 

42 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 01 

who tests positive for alcohol or illegal drugs [shall be penalized ]as 
follows: 
 (i)  First offense - 180 day prohibition from participating in 
unarmed combat events[.]; 
 (ii)  Second offense - 1 year prohibition from participating 
in unarmed combat events[.]; and 
 (iii)  Third offense - 2 year prohibition from participating 
in unarmed combat events. 
 [(3)](7)  Event officials shall station themselves [be 
stationed ]at places designated by the Commissioner in Charge or 
Director. 
 ([4]8)  Referees, judges, timekeepers, and physicians shall 
be independent contractors of the Commission. 
 [(5)](9)  The licensed promoter for the event shall pay the 
[J]judges, [R]referees and [T]timekeepers officiating at any event, 
bout, program, match, or exhibition [shall be]are [paid by the licensed 
promoter for the event ]in accordance with the Fee Schedule 
approved by the Commission. 
 [(6)](10)  The promoter shall pay to the Commission the 
total fees set by the Commission for all officials whom the 
Commission approves to officiate in a contest or exhibition. 
 [(7)](11)  Event Officials' Minimum Fee Schedule: Refer 
to Fee Schedule approved by the Commission on [2-24-2017.]August 
18, 2023.  Event Officials' Compensation amount per event, day or 
night shall be: 
 (a)  Referees $325; 
 (b)  Judges $225; and 
 (c)  Timekeepers $125. 
 [(8)](12)  If any licensee of the Commission protests the 
assignment of a referee or judge, the Commission will review the 
matter [will be reviewed ]by two Commissioners, or a Commissioner 
and the Commission Director or Chief Inspector, to make such 
disposition of the protest as the facts may justify. [Protests not made 
in a timely manner may be denied]The Commission may deny 
untimely protests. 
 
R457-1-513.  Announcer. 
 (1)  The promoter [will]shall select the event announcer. 
 (2)  At the beginning of a contest, the announcer shall 
announce that the contest is under the auspices of the Commission. 
 (3)  The announcer shall announce the names of the referee, 
judges, and timekeeper when the competitions are about to begin, and 
any changes made in officials as the contest progresses. 
 (4)  The announcer shall announce the names of all 
contestants, their weight, professional record, their city and state of 
residence, and country of origin if not a citizen. 
 (5[3])  An announcer [shall]may not engage in 
unprofessional conduct. 
 (6[4])(a)  The announcer [is prohibited from being ]may not 
be under the influence of alcohol or illicit drugs. 
 ([a]b)(i)  At the request of the Commission, an announcer 
shall submit to a test of body fluids to determine the presence of drugs 
or alcohol. 
 (ii)  The event official shall give an adequate sample or it 
will be considered a denial and the official shall be prohibited from 
participating in future events. 
 (iii)  The promoter shall [be responsible]pay for any costs 
of testing. 
 ([b]c)  Unless the Commission determines otherwise at a 
scheduled meeting, an announcer who tests positive for alcohol or 
illegal drugs shall be penalized as follows: 

 (i)  First offense - 180 -day prohibition from participating 
in unarmed combat events. 
 (ii)  Second offense - 1 -year prohibition from participating 
in unarmed combat events. 
 (iii)  Third offense - 2 -year prohibition from participating 
in unarmed combat events. 
 
R457-1-514.  Timekeeper. 
 (1)  A timekeeper shall [indicate]announce the beginning 
and end of each round by striking the gong. 
 (2)  A timekeeper shall have an alerting device and a 
stopwatch. 
 (3)  Ten seconds before the beginning of each round, the 
timekeeper shall warn the contestants of the time by sounding the 
alert device. 
 (4)  If a contest terminates before the scheduled limit of 
rounds, the timekeeper shall inform the announcer of the exact 
duration of the contest. 
 (5)  The timekeeper shall keep track of and record the exact 
amount of time that any contestant remains on the canvas. 
 
R457-1-515.  Stopping a Contest. 
[ In accordance with Sections 9-23-318 and 9-23-303, 
authority for stopping a contest is defined, clarified or established as 
follows.] 
 (1)  The referee may stop a contest to ensure the integrity 
of a contest or to protect the health, safety, or welfare of a contestant 
or the public for any one or more of the following reasons: 
 (a)  injuries, cuts, or other physical or mental conditions 
that would endanger the health, safety, or welfare of a contestant if 
the contestant were to continue with the competition; 
 (b)  one-sided nature of the contest; 
 (c)  refusal or inability of a contestant to reasonably 
compete; and 
 (d)  refusal or inability of a contestant to comply with the 
rules of the contest. 
 (2)  If a referee stops a contest, the referee shall disqualify 
the contestant, where appropriate, and recommend to the designated 
Commission member [that]to withhold the purse of that professional 
contestant [be withheld ]pending an impoundment decision in 
accordance with Section 9-23-313. 
 (3)  The designated Commission member may stop a 
contest at any stage in the contest to decide to withhold the purse 
when there is a significant question with respect to the contest, the 
contestant, or any other licensee associated with the contest, [and 
determine whether the purse should be withheld ]pursuant to Section 
9-23-313. 
 
R457-1-516.  Ringside Physician. 
 (1)  "Ringside Physician" as used in this section, means a 
physician [who is ]approved by the Commission to attend boxing and 
martial arts contests as required by Section R457-1-506. 
 (2)  Ringside physicians shall meet all the following 
criteria: 
 (a)  [H]have a current and unrestricted license issued by the 
Utah Division of Professional Licensing[.]; 
 [(i)](b)  [Shall ]complete a license application; and 
 [(ii)](c)  [S]submit the fee set forth in the License Fee 
Schedule, annually. 
 [(b)](3)  Ringside Physicians [who have ]not previously 
[been ]approved as a ringside physician[;] shall: 
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 ([i]a)  [shall ]hold staff privileges in medicine, surgery, or 
emergency medicine in a general acute care facility accredited by the 
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Health Organizations; 
 ([ii]b)  [A]attend a ringside physician training clinic before 
a licensure; and 
 ([iii]c)  act under the supervision of another ringside 
physician for two contests[Be precepted by two contests by a ringside 
physician. The ]. 
 (4)  Notwithstanding Subsection (3)(c) a supervised 
physician [preceptee ]may act as the second physician in attendance 
at a contest. 
 
R457-1-517.  Competing in an Unsanctioned Unarmed Combat 
Event. 
 (1)  The Commission shall deny issuing a license to a 
contestant who has competed in an unarmed combat event not 
sanctioned by an Association of Boxing Commission (ABC) member 
Commission for a period of 60 days from the date of the event. 
 (2)  Unarmed combat contestants[ who are], currently 
licensed by the Commission[ shall not be approved to] cannot 
compete in an unarmed combat event until 60 days from the date of 
their last competition in an unarmed combat event not sanctioned by 
an ABC member Commission. 
 (3)  After competing in an unsanctioned unarmed combat 
event, a contestant must submit new blood tests results drawn within 
30 days of their scheduled event. 
 
R457-1-601.  Boxing - Contest Weights and Classes. 
 The Commission adopts the Boxing Contest Weights and 
Classes as established by the Association of Boxing Commission and 
Combative Sports. 
[ (1)  Boxing weights and classes are established as follows: 
 (a)  Strawweight:  up to 105 lb. (47.627 kgs.); 
 (b)  Light-Flyweight: over 105 to 108 lb. (47.627 to 48.988 
kgs.); 
 (c)  Flyweight: over 108 to 112 lb. (48.988 to 50.802 kgs.); 
 (d)  Super Flyweight: over 112 to 115 lb. (50.802 to 52.163 
kgs.); 
 (e)  Bantamweight: over 115 to 118 lb. (52.163 to 53.524 
kgs.); 
 (f)  Super Bantamweight: over 118 to 122 lb. (53.524 to 
55.338 kgs.); 
 (g)  Featherweight: over 122 to 126 lb. (55.338 to 57.153 
kgs.); 
 (h)  Super Featherweight: over 126 to 130 lb. (57.153 to 
58.967 kgs.); 
 (i)  Lightweight: over 130 to 135 lb. (58.967 to 61.235 
kgs.); 
 (j)  Super Lightweight: over 135 to 140 lb. (61.235 to 
63.503 kgs.); 
 (k)  Welterweight: over 140 to 147 lb. (63.503 to 66.678 
kgs.); 
 (l)  Super Welterweight: over 147 to 154 lb. (66.678 to 
69.853 kgs.); 
 (m)  Middleweight: over 154 to 160 lb. (69.853 to 72.574 
kgs.); 
 (n)  Super Middleweight: over 160 to 168 lb. (72.574 to 
76.204 kgs.); 
 (o)  Light-heavyweight: over 168 to 175 lb. (76.204 to 
79.378 kgs.); 
 (p)  Cruiserweight: over 175 to 200 lb. (79.378 to 90.80 
kgs.); and 

 (q)  Heavyweight: all over 200 lb. (90.80 kgs.). 
 (2)  A contestant shall not fight another contestant who is 
outside of the contestant's weight classification unless prior approval 
is given by the Commission. 
 (3)  A contestant who has contracted to box in a given 
weight class shall not be permitted to compete if the contestant 
exceeds that weight class at the weigh-in, unless the contract provides 
for the opposing contestant to agree to the weight differential.  If the 
weigh-in is held the day before the contest and if the opposing 
contestant does not agree or the contract does not provide for a weight 
exception, the contestant may have two hours to try to lose not more 
than three pounds to be reweighed. 
 (4)  The Commission will not allow a contest in which the 
contestants are not fairly matched.  In determining if contestants are 
fairly matched, the Commission shall consider all the following 
factors with respect to the contestant: 
 (a)  the win-loss record of the contestants; 
 (b)  the weight differential; 
 (c)  the caliber of opponents; 
 (d)  each contestant's number of fights; and 
 (e)  previous suspensions or disciplinary actions. 
 
R457-1-602.  Boxing - Number of Rounds in a Bout. 
 (1)  A contest bout shall consist of not less than four and 
not more than 12 scheduled rounds. 
 (a)  Three minutes of boxing shall constitute a round for 
men's boxing; 
 (b)  Two minutes shall constitute a round for women's 
boxing; 
 (c)  There shall be a rest period of one minute between the 
rounds. 
 (2)  A promoter shall contract with enough contestants to 
provide a program consisting of at least 30 and not more than 56 
scheduled rounds of boxing, unless otherwise approved by the 
Commission. 
 
R457-1-603.  Boxing - Ring Dimensions and Construction. 
 (1)  The ring shall be square, and the sides shall not be less 
than 16 feet nor more than 22 feet. 
 (2)  The ring floor shall: 
 (a)  extend not less than 18 inches beyond the ropes; and 
 (b)(i)  be padded with a base not less than 5/8 of an inch of 
ensolite or another similar closed-cell foam; and 
 (ii)  the padding shall extend beyond the ring ropes and over 
the edge of the platform, and shall be covered with canvas, duck, or 
a similar material that is tightly stretched and laced securely in place; 
and 
 (c)  not be more than four feet above the floor of the 
building; 
 (d)  have two sets of suitable stairs for the use of 
contestants, with an extra set of suitable stairs to be used for any other 
activities that may occur between rounds; and 
 (e)  not have less than four ring ropes which can be 
tightened, and which are not less than one inch in diameter; and 
 (i)  ring posts shall be made of metal and shall be not less 
than three nor more than four inches in diameter, extending a 
minimum of 58 inches above the ring floor and be at least 18 inches 
away from the ropes; 
 (ii)  ring posts shall be wrapped in a soft material; 
 (iii)  the turnbuckles shall be covered with protective 
padding; 
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 (iv)  ring posts shall have two spacer ties on each side of 
the ring to secure the ring ropes; and 
 (v)  the lower ring rope shall be 18 inches above the ring 
floor; and 
 (f)  have corner pads in each corner. 
 
R457-1-604.  Boxing - Gloves. 
 (1)  A contestant's gloves shall be examined before a contest 
by the referee and the designated Commission member.  If gloves are 
found to be broken or unclean or if the padding is found to be 
misplaced or lumpy, they shall be changed before the contest begins. 
 (2)  A promoter shall be required to have on hand an extra 
set of gloves that are to be used if a contestant's gloves are broken or 
damaged during a contest. 
 (3)  Gloves for a main event may be put on in the ring after 
the referee has inspected the bandaged hands of both contestants. 
 (4)  The laces shall be tied on the outside of the back of the 
wrist of the gloves and shall be secured.  The tips of the laces shall 
be removed. 
 
R457-1-605.  Boxing - Bandage Specification. 
 (1)  Except as agreed to by the managers of the contestants 
opposing each other in a contest, a contestant's bandage for each hand 
shall consist of soft gauze not more than 20 yards long and not more 
than two inches wide.  The gauze shall be held in place by not more 
than eight feet of adhesive tape not more than one and one-half inches 
wide.  The adhesive tape must be white or a light color. 
 (2)  Bandages shall be adjusted in the dressing room under 
the supervision of the designated Commission member. 
 (3)  The use of water or any other substance other than 
medical tape on the bandages is prohibited. 
 (4)  The bandages and adhesive tape may not extend to the 
knuckles, and must remain at least three-fourths of an inch away from 
the knuckles when the hand is clenched to make a fist. 
 
R457-1-606.  Boxing - Mouthpieces. 
 A round shall not begin until the contestant's form-fitted 
protective mouthpiece is in place.  If, during a round, the mouthpiece 
falls out of the contestant's mouth, the referee shall, as soon as 
practicable, stop the bout and escort the contestant to that contestant's 
corner.  The mouthpiece shall be rinsed out and replaced in the 
contestant's mouth and the contest shall continue.  If the referee 
determines that the contestant intentionally spit the mouthpiece out, 
the referee may direct the judges to deduct points from the 
contestant's score for the round.] 
 
R457-1-602[7].  Boxing - Contest Officials. 
 (1)  The officials for each boxing contest shall consist of 
not less than the following: 
 (a)  one referee; 
 (b)  three judges; 
 (c)  one timekeeper; and 
 (d)  one physician licensed in good standing in Utah. 
 (2)  A licensed referee, judge, or timekeeper [shall]may not 
officiate at a contest [that is not]unless conducted under the authority 
or supervision of the designated Commission member. 
 (3)  A referee or judge [shall]may not participate or accept 
an assignment to officiate when that assignment may tend to impair 
the referee's or judge's independence of judgment or action in the 
performance of the referee's or judge's duties. 

 (4)  A judge [shall be seated]shall sit midway between the 
ring posts of the ring, but not on the same side as another judge, and 
shall have an unimpaired view of the ring. 
 (5)  A referee [shall]may not be assigned to officiate more 
than 32 scheduled rounds in one day, except when substituting for 
another referee who is incapacitated. 
 (6)  A referee [shall]may not wear jewelry that might cause 
injury to the contestants.  Glasses, if worn, shall be protective athletic 
glasses or goggles with plastic lenses and a secure elastic band around 
the back of the head. 
 (7)  Referees, seconds working in the corners, the 
designated Commission member, and physicians may wear rubber 
gloves in the performance of their duties. 
 (8)  No official shall be under the influence of alcohol or 
controlled substances while performing the official's duties. 
 
R457-1-603[8].  Boxing - Contact During Contests. 
 (1)  Beginning one minute before the first round begins, 
only the referee, contestants, and the chief second may be in the ring.  
The referee shall clear the ring of all other individuals. 
 (2)  Once a contest has begun, only the referee, contestants, 
seconds, judges, Commission representatives, physician, the 
announcer and the announcer's assistants shall be allowed in the ring. 
 (3)  At any time before, during or after a contest, the referee 
may order unauthorized individuals to clear [that ]the ring and 
technical area[ be cleared of any individual not authorized to be 
present in those areas]. 
 (4)  The referee, on the referee's own initiative, or at the 
request of the designated Commission member, may stop a bout at 
any time if individuals refuse to clear the ring and technical area, 
dispute a decision by an official, or seek to encourage spectators to 
object to a decision either verbally, physically, or by engaging in 
disruptive conduct. 
 (a)  If the individual involved in disruptive conduct or 
encouraging disruptive conduct is the manager or second of a 
contestant, the referee may disqualify the contestant or order the 
deduction of points from that contestant's score. 
 (b)  If the conduct occurred after the decision 
announcement[was announced], the Commission may change the 
decision, declare no contest, or pursue disciplinary action against any 
licensed individual involved in the disruptive conduct. 
 
R457-1-604[9].  Boxing - Referees. 
 (1)  The chief official of a boxing contest shall be the 
referee. 
 (2)  The referee shall: 
 (a)  decide all questions arising in the ring during a contest 
that are not [specifically ]addressed in this rule; 
 (b)  before each contest begins, determine the name and 
location of the physician assigned to officiate at the contest and each 
contestant's chief second; 
 (c)  summon the contestants and their chief seconds 
together for final instructions; 
 (d)  make sure that the contestants understand the final 
instructions through an interpreter and shall use suitable gestures and 
signs during the contest, when necessary; and 
 (e)  inspect a contestant's body [to determine whether]for 
application of a foreign substance[ has been applied]. 
 (3)  After receiving the final instructions under Subsection 
(2), the contestants shall shake hands and retire to their respective 
corners. 
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 (4)  No individual other than the contestants, the referee, 
and the physician when summoned by the referee, may enter the ring 
or the apron of the ring during the progress of a round. 
 (5)  If a contestant's manager or second steps into the ring 
or onto the apron of the ring during a round, the fight shall be halted 
and the referee may eject the manager or second from the ringside 
working area.  If the manager or second steps into the ring or onto the 
apron a second time during the contest, the fight may be stopped and 
the decision may be awarded to the contestant's opponent due to 
disqualification. 
 
[R457-1-610.  Boxing - Stalling or Faking. 
 (1)  A referee shall warn a contestant if the referee believes 
the contestant is stalling or faking.  If after proper warning, the 
referee determines the contestant is continuing to stall or pull the 
contestant's punches, the referee shall stop the bout at the end of the 
round. 
 (2)  A referee may consult the judges as to whether or not 
the contestant is stalling or faking and shall abide by a majority 
decision of the judges. 
 (3)  If the referee determines that either or both contestants 
are stalling or faking, or if a contestant refuses to fight, the referee 
shall end the contest and announce a no contest. 
 (4)  A contestant who, in the opinion of the referee, 
intentionally falls down without being struck shall be immediately 
examined by a physician.  After conferring with the physician, the 
referee may disqualify the contestant.] 
 
R457-1-605[11].  Boxing - Injuries and Cuts. 
 (1)  When a fair blow causes an injury or cut[ is produced 
by a fair blow], and because of the severity of the blow the contest 
cannot continue, then the injured contestant shall be declared the 
loser by technical knockout. 
 (2)  If a contestant intentionally fouls the opponent and 
produces an injury or cut[ is produced], and due to the severity of the 
injury the injured contestant cannot continue, then the contestant who 
commits the foul shall be declared the loser by disqualification. 
 (3)  If a contestant receives an intentional butt or foul and 
the contest can continue, the referee shall penalize the contestant who 
commits the foul by deducting two points.  The referee shall notify 
the judges that the injury or cut has been produced by an intentional 
unfair blow so that if in the subsequent rounds the same injury or cut 
becomes so severe that the contest has to be suspended, the decision 
will be awarded as follows: 
 (a)  a technical draw if the injured contestant is behind on 
points or even on a majority of scorecards; and 
 (b)  a technical decision to the injured contestant if the 
injured contestant is ahead on points on a majority of the scorecards. 
 (4)  If a contestant injures [the contestant's own self]himself 
or herself while trying to foul the opponent, the referee [shall]may 
not take any action in the contestant's favor, and the referee shall 
consider the injury the[shall be considered as] product[ed] [by]of a 
fair blow from the opponent. 
 (5)(a)  In the event of an accidental foul,[If a contestant is 
fouled accidentally] the referee shall stop the action to inform the 
judges and acknowledge the accidental foul during a contest and then 
can continue the contest[, the referee shall stop the action to inform 
the judges and acknowledge the accidental foul]. 
 (b)  If in subsequent rounds, as a result of legal blows, the 
accidental foul injury worsens and the contestant cannot continue, the 
referee shall stop the contest and declare a technical decision with the 

winner being the contestant who is ahead on points on a majority of 
the scorecards. 
 (c)  The judges shall score partial rounds. 
 (6)  If a contestant [is accidentally fouled]receives an 
unintentional foul in a contest and due to the severity of the injury the 
contestant cannot continue, the referee shall rule as follows: 
 (a)  if the injury occurs before the completion of four 
rounds, declare the contest a technical draw; or 
 (b)  if the injury occurs after the completion of four rounds, 
declare that the winner is the contestant who has a lead in points on 
a majority of the scorecards before the round of injury. 
 (7)  If in the opinion of the referee, a contestant has suffered 
a dangerous cut or injury, or other physical or mental condition, the 
referee may stop the bout temporarily to summon the physician.  If 
the physician recommends that the contest should not continue, the 
referee shall [order ]terminate the contest[ to be terminated]. 
 (8)  A low blow does not terminate a fight[fight shall not be 
terminated because of a low blow].  The referee may give a contestant 
not more than five minutes if the referee believes a foul has been 
committed.  [Each]The referee will instruct each contestant [shall be 
instructed ]to return to the contestant's respective corner[ by the 
referee].  The contestants may sit in their respective corners with their 
mouthpiece removed.  After removing their contestant's mouthpiece, 
the seconds must return to their seats.  The seconds may not coach, 
administer water, or in any other way attend to their contestant, 
except to replace the mouthpiece when the round is ready to resume. 
 (9)  A physician shall immediately examine and administer 
aid to a contestant who is knocked out or injured. 
 (10)  When a contestant is knocked out or made 
incapacitated, the referee or second [shall]may not handle the 
contestant, except for the removal of a mouthpiece, unless directed 
by the physician to do so. 
 (11)  A contestant [shall]may not refuse [to be examined]an 
examination by [a]the ringside physician. 
 (12)  A contestant [who has been knocked out shall]may not 
leave the site of the contest until one hour has elapsed from the time 
of the examination after a knock out or until released by the 
physician. 
 (13)  A physician shall file a written report with the 
Commission on each contestant who has been knocked out or injured. 
 
R457-1-606[12].  Boxing - Knockouts. 
 (1)  A knocked down contestant [who is knocked down 
]shall take a minimum mandatory count of eight. 
 (2)  In the event of a knockdown, the timekeeper shall 
immediately start the count loud enough [to be heard by]for the 
referee, who, after waving the opponent to the farthest neutral corner, 
shall pick up the count from the timekeeper and proceed from there.  
The referee shall stop the count if the opponent fails to remain in the 
corner[.  The count shall be resumed], which will resume when the 
opponent has returned to the corner. 
 (3)  The timekeeper shall signal the count to the referee. 
 (4)  If the contestant taking the count is still down when the 
referee calls the count of ten, the referee shall wave both arms to show 
that the contestant has been knocked out.  The referee shall summon 
the physician and shall then raise the opponent's hand as the winner.  
The referee's count is the official count. 
 (5)  If at the end of a round, a contestant is down and the 
referee is in the process of counting, the timekeeper[gong indicating 
the end of the round shall] may not [be sounded]sound the gong.  The 
[gong shall only be sounded]timekeeper may only sound the gong 
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when the referee gives the command to box indicating the 
continuation of the bout. 
 (6)  In the final round, the timekeeper's gong shall end the 
fight. 
 (7)  The referee shall award a[A] technical knockout 
decision [shall be awarded ]to the opponent if a contestant is unable 
or refuses to continue when the gong sounds to begin the next round.  
The referee shall award the decision [shall be awarded ]in the round 
started by the gong. 
 (8)  The referee and timekeeper shall resume their count at 
the point it was suspended if a contestant arises before the count of 
ten is reached and falls down again immediately without being struck. 
 (9)  If both contestants go down at the same time, counting 
will be continued as long as one of them is still down or until the 
referee or the ringside physician determines that one or both of the 
contestants needs immediate medical attention.  If both contestants 
remain down until the count of ten, the bout will be stopped and the 
decision will be scored as a double knockout. 
 
R457-1-607[13].  Boxing - Procedure After Knockout or 
Contestant Sustaining Damaging Head Blows. 
 (1)  A contestant who has lost by a technical knockout 
[shall]may not fight again for a period of 30 calendar days or until 
the contestant has submitted to a medical examination.  The 
Commission may require such physical exams as necessary. 
 (2)  A ringside physician shall examine a contestant who 
has been knocked out in a contest or a contestant whose fight has 
been stopped by the referee because the contestant received hard 
blows to the head that made the contestant defenseless or incapable 
of continuing immediately after the knockout or stoppage.  The 
ringside physician may order post-fight neurological examinations, 
which may include computerized axial tomography (CAT) scans or 
magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) [to be ]performed on the 
contestant immediately after the contestant leaves the location of the 
contest.  [Post]The ringside physician shall forward all post-fight 
neurological examination results [shall be forwarded ]to the 
Commission [by the ringside physician ]as soon as possible. 
 (3)  The ringside physician shall submit a[A] report that 
records the amount of punishment a fighter absorbed [shall be 
submitted ]to the Commission [by the ringside physician ]within 24 
hours of the end of the fight. 
 (4)  A ringside physician may require any contestant who 
has sustained a severe injury or knockout in a bout to [be thoroughly 
examined]have a thorough examination by a physician within 24 
hours of the bout.  The physician shall submit the physician's findings 
to the Commission.  Upon the physician's recommendation, the 
Commission may prohibit the contestant from boxing until the 
contestant [is fully recovered ]recovers and may extend any such 
suspension imposed. 
 (5)  All medical reports that are submitted to the 
Commission relative to a physical examination or the condition of a 
contestant shall be confidential and shall be open for examination 
only by the Commission and the licensed contestant upon the 
contestant's request to examine the records or upon the order of a 
court of competent jurisdiction. 
 (6)(a)  A contestant who has been knocked out or who 
received excessive hard blows to the head that made the contestant 
defenseless or incapable of continuing [shall]may not be permitted to 
take part in competitive or noncompetitive boxing for a period of not 
less than 60 days.  Noncompetitive boxing shall include any contact 
training in the gymnasium. 

 ([a]b)  [It shall be the responsibility of t]The contestant's 
manager and seconds have the responsibility to assure that the 
contestant complies with [this rule]the rule in this subsection. 
 ([b]c)  Violation of this rule could result in the indefinite 
suspension of the contestant and the contestant's manager or second. 
 (7)  A contestant may not resume boxing after any period 
of rest prescribed in Subsections R457-1-613(1) and (6), unless 
following a neurological examination, a physician certifies the 
contestant as fit to take part in competitive boxing.  [A contestant who 
fails to secure an examination before resuming boxing shall be 
automatically suspended until the results of the examination have 
been received by the Commission and the contestant is certified by a 
physician as fit to compete.]Failure to secure and return to the 
Commission, a certified examination clearing the contestant as fit to 
compete, by a physician before resuming boxing, shall result in an 
automatic suspension. 
 (8)  A contestant who has lost six consecutive fights [shall 
be prohibited from boxing]cannot compete again until the 
Commission has reviewed the results of the six fights or the 
contestant has submitted to a medical examination by a physician. 
 (9)  A contestant who has suffered a detached retina shall 
result in an automatic suspension.[be automatically suspended and] 
The Commission [shall ]may not [be ]reinstate[d] the contestant until 
the contestant[ has submitted to] submits a medical certified 
examination by an ophthalmologist clearing the contestant fit to 
compete.[and the Commission has reviewed the results of the 
examination.] 
 (10)  A contestant who is prohibited from boxing in other 
states or jurisdictions due to medical reasons shall be prohibited from 
boxing in accordance with this rule.  The Commission shall consider 
the contestant's entire professional record regardless of the state or 
country in which the contestant's fights occurred. 
 (11)  A contestant or the contestant's manager shall report 
any change in the contestant's medical condition [which]that may 
affect the contestant's ability to fight safely. 
 (12)  The Commission may, at any time, require current 
medical information on any contestant. 
 
R457-1-608[14].  Boxing - Waiting Periods. 
 The number of days that shall elapse before a contestant 
who has competed anywhere in a bout may participate in another bout 
shall be as follows: 
 

TABLE 1 
Length of Bout (In 
scheduled rounds) 

Required Interval (In days) 

4 6 
5-9 6 
10-12 13 

 
[R457-1-615.  Boxing - Fouls. 
 A referee may disqualify or penalize a contestant by 
deducting one or more points from a round for the following fouls: 
 (1)  holding an opponent or deliberately maintaining a 
clinch; 
 (2)  hitting with the head, shoulder, elbow, wrist, inside or 
butt of the hand, or the knee; 
 (3)  hitting or gouging with an open glove; 
 (4)  wrestling, spinning or roughing at the ropes; 
 (5)  causing an opponent to fall through the ropes by means 
other than a legal blow; 
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 (6)  gripping at the ropes when avoiding or throwing 
punches; 
 (7)  intentionally striking at a part of the body that is over 
the kidneys; 
 (8)  using a rabbit punch or hitting an opponent at the base 
of the opponent's skull; 
 (9)  hitting on the break or after the gong has sounded; 
 (10)  hitting an opponent who is down or rising after being 
down; 
 (11)  hitting below the belt line; 
 (12)  holding an opponent with one hand and hitting with 
the other; 
 (13)  purposely going down without being hit or to avoid a 
blow; 
 (14)  using abusive language in the ring; 
 (15)  unsportsmanlike conduct by the contestant or a second 
whether before, during, or after a round; 
 (16)  intentionally spitting out a mouthpiece; 
 (17)  any backhand blow; or 
 (18)  biting. 
 
R457-1-616.  Boxing - Penalties for Fouling. 
 (1)  A referee who penalizes a contestant pursuant to this 
rule shall notify the judges when the infraction occurs to deduct one 
or more points from their scorecards. 
 (2)  A contestant committing a deliberate foul, in addition 
to the deduction of one or more points, may be subject to disciplinary 
action by the Commission. 
 (3)  A judge shall not deduct points unless instructed to do 
so by the referee. 
 (4)  The designated Commission member shall file a 
complaint with the Commission against a contestant disqualified on 
a foul. 
 (5)  The Commission shall withhold the purse until the 
complaint is resolved.] 
 
R457-1-609[17].  Boxing - Contestant Outside the Ring Ropes. 
 (1)  A contestant who has been knocked[,] out, wrestled, 
pushed, or has fallen through the ropes during a contest [shall]may 
not be helped back into the ring, nor shall the contestant be hindered 
in any way by anyone when trying to reenter the ring. 
 (2)  When one contestant has fallen through the ropes, the 
other contestant shall retire to the farthest neutral corner and stay 
there until ordered to continue the contest by the referee. 
 (3)(a)  The referee shall determine if the contestant has 
fallen through the ropes as a result of a legal blow or otherwise. 
 (b)  If the referee determines that the contestant fell through 
the ropes as a result of a legal blow the referee shall warn the 
contestant that the contestant must immediately return to the ring. 
 (4)  If the contestant fails to immediately return to the ring 
following the warning by the referee, the referee shall begin the loud 
ten count[ that shall be loud enough to be heard by the contestant]. 
 (5)  The contest shall resume if [If ]the contestant enters the 
ring before the count of ten[, the contest shall be resumed]. 
 (6)  The referee shall consider the contestant knocked out 
[I]if the contestant fails to enter the ring before the count of ten[, the 
contestant shall be considered knocked out]. 
 (7)  When a contestant has accidentally slipped or fallen 
through the ropes, the contestant shall have 20 seconds to return to 
the ring. 
 

[R457-1-618.  Boxing - Scoring. 
 (1)  Officials who score a boxing contest shall use the 10-
point must system. 
 (2)  For this rule, the "10-point must system" means the 
winner of each round received 10 points as determined by clean 
hitting, effective aggressiveness, defense, and ring generalship.  The 
loser of the round shall receive less than 10 points.  If the round is 
even, each contestant shall receive not less than 10 points.  No 
fraction of points may be given. 
 (3)  Officials who score the contest shall mark their cards 
in ink or in indelible pencil at the end of each round. 
 (4)  Officials who score the contest shall sign their 
scorecards. 
 (5)  When a contest is scored on the individual score sheets 
for each round, the referee shall, at the end of each round, collect the 
score sheet for the round from each judge and shall give the score 
sheets to the designated Commission member for computation. 
 (6)  Referees and judges shall be discreet at all times and 
shall not discuss their decisions with anyone during a contest. 
 (7)  A decision that is made at the end of a boxing contest 
shall not be changed without a hearing, unless it is determined that 
the computation of the scorecards of the referee and judges shows a 
clerical or mathematical error giving the decision to the wrong 
contestant.  If such an error is found, the Commission may change 
the decision. 
 (8)  After a contest, the scorecards collected by the 
designated Commission member shall be maintained by the 
Commission. 
 (9)  If a referee becomes incapacitated, a time-out shall be 
called and the other referee who is assigned to the contest shall 
assume the duties of the referee. 
 (10)  If a judge becomes incapacitated and cannot complete 
the scoring of a contest, a time-out shall be called and an alternate 
licensed judge shall immediately be assigned to score the contest 
from the point at which the duties of a judge were assumed  If the 
incapacity of a judge is not noticed during a round, the referee shall 
score that round and the substitute judge shall score all subsequent 
rounds.] 
 
R457-1-610[19].  Boxing - Seconds. 
 (1)  A contestant [shall]may not have more than four 
seconds, and a contestant shall designate one second [one of whom 
shall be designated ]as the chief second.  The chief second [shall be 
responsible]remains responsible for the conduct in the corner during 
a contest.  During the rest period, one second shall be allowed inside 
the ring, two seconds shall be allowed on the apron and one second 
shall be allowed on the floor. 
 (2)  All seconds shall remain seated during the round. 
 (3)  A second [shall]may not spray or throw water on a 
contestant during a round. 
 (4)  A contestant's corner [shall]may not heckle or in any 
manner annoy the contestant's opponent or the referee, or throw any 
object into the ring. 
 (5)  A second [shall]may not enter the ring until the 
timekeeper has indicated the end of a round. 
 (6)  A second shall leave the ring at the timekeeper's whistle 
and shall clear the ring platform of all objects or obstructions at the 
sound of the gong indicating the beginning of a round.  [Articles 
shall]Objects may not occupy[be placed on] the ring floor until the 
round has ended or the contest has terminated. 
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 (7)  A referee may eject a second from a ring corner for 
violations of the Subsections R457-1-609(6) and R457-1-608(4) of 
this rule, stepping into the ring and disruptive behavior, and may have 
the judges deduct points from a contestant's corner. 
 (8)  A second may state to the referee that the second's 
contestant cannot continue and that [the contest should be 
stopped]referee should stop the contest.  Only verbal notification or 
hand signals may indicate defeat[be used]; the throwing of a towel 
into the ring does not [state]indicate the defeat of the contestant. 
 (9)  A second [shall]may not administer alcoholic 
beverages, narcotics, or stimulants to a contestant, pour excessive 
water on the body of a contestant, or place ice in the trunks or 
protective cup of a contestant during the progress of a contest. 
 
R457-1-611[20].  Boxing - Managers. 
 A manager [shall]may not sign a contract for the 
appearance of a contestant if the manager does not have the 
contestant under contract. 
 
R457-1-612[21].  Boxing.  Identification - Photo Identification 
Cards. 
 (1)  Each contestant shall provide two pieces of 
identification to the designated Commission member before 
participation in a fight.  One of the pieces of identification shall be a 
recent photo identification card issued or accepted by the 
Commission when the contestant receives the contestant's original 
license. 
 (2)  The photo identification card shall contain the 
following information: 
 (a)  the contestant's name and address; 
 (b)  the contestant's social security number; 
 (c)  the personal identification number assigned to the 
contestant by a boxing registry; 
 (d)  a photograph of the contestant; and 
 (e)  the contestant's height and weight. 
 (3)  The Commission shall honor similar photo 
identification cards from other jurisdictions. 
 (4)  Unless otherwise approved by the Commission, a 
contestant [will not be allowed to]may not compete if the contestant's 
photo identification card is incomplete or if the contestant fails to 
present the photo identification card to the designated Commission 
member before the bout. 
 
R457-1-613[22].  Boxing - Dress for Contestants. 
 (1)  Contestants shall [be required to ]wear the following: 
 (a)  trunks [that are ]belted at the contestant's waistline[.  
For the purposes of this subsection, the]: 
 (i)  waistline, [shall be defined as ]means an imaginary 
horizontal line drawn through the navel to the top of the hips[.]; and 
 (ii)  [T]trunks [shall]may not have any buckles or other 
ornaments on them that might injure a contestant or referee; 
 (b)  a foul-proof pelvic area protector for male contestants; 
 (c)  shoes [that are ]made of soft material without spikes, 
cleats, or heels; 
 (d)  a fitted mouthpiece; and 
 (e)  gloves meeting the requirements specified in Section 
R457-1-604. 
 (2)  In addition to the clothing required pursuant to 
Subsections R457-1-622(1)(a) through (e), a contestant shall wear a 
body shirt or blouse without buttons, buckles, or ornaments. 
 (3)  A contestant['s] shall cut or secure hair [shall be cut or 
secured ]so as not to interfere with the contestant's vision. 

 (4)(a)  A contestant [shall]may not wear corrective lenses 
other than soft contact lenses into the ring. 
 (b)  An interruption for the purpose of replacing or 
searching for a soft contact lens may not occur.[A bout shall not be 
interrupted for the purposes of replacing or searching for a soft 
contact lens.] 
 
R457-1-614[23].  Boxing - Failure to Compete. 
 A contestant's manager shall immediately notify the 
Commission if the contestant cannot compete in a contest due to 
illness or injury.  [A physician may be selected as approved by the 
Commission to examine the contestant.]The Commission may 
approve a physician to examine the contestant. 
 
R457-1-615[24].  Boxing -- Change of Decision After Contest or 
Exhibition: Factors Considered by Commission. 
 Except as otherwise provided in Subsection R457-1-
507(6), the Commission will not change a decision made at the end 
of any contest or exhibition unless: 
 (1)  the Commission determines that there was collusion 
affecting the result of the contest or exhibition; 
 (2)  the compilation of the scorecards of the judges 
discloses an error which shows that the decision [was 
given]incorrectly awarded a win to the wrong contestant; or 
 (3)  as the result of an error in interpreting this section, the 
referee has made an incorrect decision. 
 
R457-1-701.  Elimination Tournaments. 
 (1)  [In general.  ]The Pete Suazo Utah Athletic 
Commission Act, Title 9, Chapter 23, and Rule R457-1 apply to 
elimination tournaments, including provisions pertaining to licenses, 
fees, stopping contests, impounding purses, testing requirements for 
contestants, and adjudicative proceedings.  For purposes of 
identification, an elimination tournament contestant shall provide any 
form of identification that contains a photograph of the contestant, 
such as a state driver's license, passport, or student identification 
card. 
 (2)  Official rules of the sport.  Upon requesting the 
Commission's approval of an elimination tournament in this state, the 
sponsoring organization or promoter of an elimination tournament 
may submit the official rules for the sport to the Commission and 
request the Commission to apply the official rules in the contest. 
 (3)  The Commission [shall]may not approve the official 
rules of the sport and [shall]may not allow the contest to be held if 
the official rules are inconsistent, in any way, with the purpose of the 
Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act, Title 9, Chapter 23, or 
with the rule adopted by the Commission for the administration of 
that Act, Rule R457-1. 
 
R457-1-702.  Restrictions on Elimination Tournaments. 
 Elimination tournaments shall comply with the following 
restrictions: 
 (1)  An elimination tournament must begin and end within 
a period of 48 hours. 
 (2)  [All matches shall be scheduled for ]A match shall last 
no more than three rounds.  A round [must be]shall last one minute 
in duration. 
 (3)  A contestant shall wear 16 oz. boxing gloves, training 
headgear, a mouthpiece and a large abdominal groin protector during 
each match. 
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 (4)  A contestant may participate in more than one match, 
but a contestant [shall]may not compete in more than a total of 12 
rounds. 
 (5)  The promoter of the elimination tournament shall be 
required to supply at the time of the weigh-in of contestants, a 
physical examination on each contestant, conducted by a physician 
not more than 60 days before the elimination tournament in a form 
provided by the Commission, certifying that the contestant is free 
from any physical or mental condition that indicates the contestant 
should not engage in activity as a contestant. 
 (6)  The Commission shall require the promoter of the 
elimination tournament [shall be required ]to supply at the time of the 
weigh-in [of ]the [contestants ]HIV test results for each contestant 
pursuant to Section R457-1-507 of this rule and Section 9-23-317. 
 (7)  The Commission may impose additional restrictions in 
advance of an elimination tournament. 
 
R457-1-801.  Martial Arts Contests and Exhibitions. 
 (1)  All full-contact martial arts are forms of unarmed 
combat.  Therefore, the Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act, 
Title 9, Chapter 23, and Rule R457-1 apply to contests or exhibitions 
of such martial arts, including provisions pertaining to licenses, fees, 
stopping contests, impounding purses, testing requirements for 
contestants, and adjudicative proceedings.  For purposes of 
identification, a contestant in a martial arts contest or exhibition shall 
provide any form of identification that contains a photograph of the 
contestant, such as a state driver's license, passport, or student 
identification card. 
 (2)  Upon requesting the Commission's approval of a 
contest or exhibition of a martial art in this state, the sponsoring 
organization or promoter may submit the official rules for the 
particular art to the Commission and request the Commission to 
apply the official rules in the contest or exhibition. 
 (3)  The Commission [shall]may not approve the official 
rules of the particular art and [shall]may not allow the contest or 
exhibition to be held if the official rules are inconsistent, in any way, 
with the purpose of the Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act, 
Title 9, Chapter 23, or with the rule adopted by the Commission for 
the administration of that Act, Rule R457-1. 
 (4)  A Contestant [shall]may not compete in more than one 
contest every six days unless otherwise cleared by a ringside 
physician and pending Commission approval. 
 
R457-1-802.  Martial Arts Contest Weights and Classes. 
 The Commission adopts Martial Arts Contest Weights and 
Classes as established by the Association of Boxing Commission and 
Combative Sports. 
[ Martial Arts Contest Weights and Classes: 
 (1)  flyweight is up to and including 125 lb. (56.82 kgs.); 
 (2)  bantamweight is over 125 lb. (56.82 kgs.) to 135 lb. 
(61.36 kgs.); 
 (3)  featherweight is over 135 lb. (61.36 kgs.) to 145 lb. 
(65.91 kgs.); 
 (4)  lightweight is over 145 lb. (65.91 kgs.) to 155 lb. (70.45 
kgs.); 
 (5)  welterweight is over 155 lb. (70.45 kgs.) to 170 lb. 
(77.27 kgs.); 
 (6)  middleweight is over 170 lb. (77.27 kgs.) to 185 lb. 
(84.09 kgs.); 
 (7)  light-heavyweight is over 185 lb. (84.09 kgs.) to 205 
lb. (93.18 kgs.); 

 (8)  heavyweight is over 205 lb. (93.18 kgs.) to 265 lb. 
(120.45 kgs.); and 
 (9)  super heavyweight is over 265 lb. (120.45 kgs.).] 
 
R457-1-901.  White-Collar Contests. 
 Pursuant to Sections 9-23-316 and 9-23-318 the 
Commission adopts the following [rules]guidelines for White-Collar 
Contests: 
 (1)  Contestants shall be at least 21 years old on the day of 
the contest. 
 (2)  Competing contestants shall be of the same gender. 
 (3)  The heaviest contestant's weight shall be no greater 
than 15% more than their opponent. 
 (4)  A ringside physician, doctor of medicine or doctor of 
osteopathic medicine, must be present at the ringside or cage-side 
during each bout, and emergency medical response must be within 
five minutes of the training center venue. 
 (5)  The Commission prohibits the following[ are 
prohibited]: 
 (a)  ticket sales, admission fees, and donations; 
 (b)  concession sales; 
 (c)  more than four bouts at an event on a single day; 
 (d)  knee strikes to the head to a standing or grounded 
opponent; 
 (e)  elbow, forearm and triceps strikes to a standing or 
grounded opponent; 
 (f)  strikes to the head of a grounded opponent; 
 (g)  twisting leg submissions; 
 (h)  spine attacks, including spine strikes and locks; 
 (i)  neck attacks, including strikes, chokes and cranks; 
 (j)  linear kicks to and around the knee joint; or 
 (k)  dropping an opponent on the opponent's head or neck. 
 (6)  Medical insurance coverage for each contestant that 
meets the requirements of Subsection R457-1-501(11), which the 
promoter shall [be provided]provide at no expense to the contestant. 
 (7)  The promoter shall provide [F]full legal names, 
birthdates, and addresses of all contestants [shall be provided ]to the 
Commission no later than 72 hours before the scheduled event. 
 
R457-1-1001.  Qualifications for Applications for Grants for 
Amateur Boxing. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 9-23-304, each applicant 
for a grant shall: 
 (a)  submit an application in a form prescribed by the 
Commission; 
 (b)  provide documentation that the applicant is an 
"organization which promotes amateur boxing in the state"; and 
 (c)  upon request from the Commission, document the 
following: 
 (i)  the financial need for the grant; 
 (ii)  how the applicant will utilize the grant funds [requested 
will be used ]to promote amateur boxing; and 
 (iii)  receipts for expenditures for which the applicant 
requests reimbursement. 
 (2)  [Reimbursable Expenditures - ]The applicant may 
request reimbursement for the following types of eligible 
expenditures: 
 (a)  costs of travel, including meals, lodging and 
transportation associated with participation in an amateur boxing 
contest for coaches and contestants; 
 (b)  maintenance costs; and 
 (c)  equipment costs. 
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 (3)  [Eligible Expenditures - ]In order for the Commission 
to determine an expenditure [to be ]as eligible for reimbursement, an 
applicant [must]shall: 
 (a)  submit documentation supporting such expenditure to 
the Commission showing [that ]the expense [was ]incurred during the 
State Fiscal Year at issue; and 
 (b)  submit such documentation no later than June 30 of the 
current State Fiscal Year at issue. 
 (4)  The Commission will review grant applicants and 
select applicants will best promote amateur boxing in the state. 
 
R457-1-1002.  Criteria for Awarding Grants. 
 The Commission may consider any of the following criteria 
in determining whether to award a grant: 
 (1)  whether the Commission holds any funds [have been 
collected ]for purposes of amateur boxing grants under Section 9-23-
304; 
 (2)  the applicant's past participation in amateur boxing 
contests; 
 (3)  the scope of the applicant's current involvement in 
amateur boxing; 
 (4)  demonstrated need for the funding; or 
 (5)  the involvement of adolescents including rural and 
minority groups in the applicant's amateur boxing program. 
 
R457-1-1101.  Bareknuckle Rules. 
 The Commission adopts the Association of Boxing 
Commission Bare Knuckle Fighting Unified Rules. 
 
R457-1-1102.  Bareknuckle Fighting Contest Weights and 
Classes. 
 The Commission adopts the weights and classes 
established by the Association of Boxing Commission and 
Combative Sports. 
 
R457-1-1103.  Bareknuckle Ring. 
 (1)  All bareknuckle contests must occur in a boxing style 
ring. 
 (2)  The commission must inspect and approve the cages or 
rings before an event may commence. 
 
R457-1-1104.  Bareknuckle Approved Attire and Protective 
Equipment. 
 (1)  Contestants shall wear the following: 
 (a)  trunks belted at the contestant's waistline: 
 (i)  waistline means an imaginary horizontal line drawn 
through the navel to the top of the hips; and 
 (ii)  trunks may not have any buckles or other ornaments 
on them that might injure a contestant or referee; 
 (b)  a foul-proof pelvic area protector for male contestants; 
 (c)  shoes made of soft material without spikes, cleats, or 
heels; and 
 (d)  a fitted mouthpiece. 
 (2)  In addition to the clothing required pursuant to 
Subsections R457-1-622(1)(a) through (c), a contestant shall wear a 
body shirt or blouse without buttons, buckles, or ornaments. 
 (3)  A contestant shall cut or secure hair shall so as not to 
interfere with the contestant's vision. 
 (4)  A contestant may not wear jewelry. 
 (5)(a)  Hand wraps shall include the wrist and are restricted 
to 12 yards of soft gauze bandage per hand and not more than two 

inches in width, held in place by not more than10 yards of surgical 
tape, no more than one inch width. 
 (b)  The surgical tape may not be applied within one inch 
of the knuckles. 
 (c)  No tape or gauze will extend past the contestant's 
knuckle with a clenched fist. 
 (d)  No tape or gauze is allowed between the contestant's 
fingers with the exception of the thumb where a single wrap of tape 
is placed when the wrist is being wrapped. 
 (e)  Wrapping of the wrist may not extend more than three 
inches past the wrist juncture. 
 (6)  A contestant may use soft neoprene-type sleeves to 
cover only the knee or elbow. Approved sleeves may not have: 
padding, Velcro, plastic, metal, ties, or any other material considered 
unsafe or that may create an unfair advantage other than the 
competitor's hands, as previously listed, there will be no taping, 
covering, or protective gear of any kind on the upper body. This 
includes: 
 (a)  joint sleeves; 
 (b)  padding; 
 (c)  any form of brace; and 
 (d)  body gauze or tape. 
 
R457-1-1105.  Bareknuckle Legal and Illegal Techniques. 
 (1)  The only legal technique allowed in Bare Knuckle 
Fighting is Bare Knuckle Hand Strikes with a clenched fist, which is 
a punch thrown with bare fists between opponents. 
 (2)  Standard face-to-face punches are legal from the waist 
to the top of the head, including fighting in the clinch. 
 (3)  Participants in the clinch may hold their opponent by 
the back of the neck in a downward position and punch to any legal 
strike zone of the opponent, with the exception of punches to the back 
of the head. 
 (4)  Illegal techniques, strikes, and punches in Bare 
Knuckle Fighting are as follows: 
 (a)  hitting the opponent below the belt; 
 (b)  hitting an opponent who is down or is getting up after 
being down; 
 (c)  deliberately maintaining a clinch without other action; 
 (d)  wrestling or kicking the opponent; 
 (e)  putting a finger into any orifice of the opponent or into 
any cut or laceration on an opponent, including fish hooking; 
 (f)  pulling the opponent's hair; 
 (g)  manipulating the opponent's fingers; 
 (h)  striking an opponent who is helpless as the result of 
blows, but supported by the ropes and does not fall; 
 (i)  butting the opponent with the head, shoulder, knee, or 
elbow; 
 (j)  hitting the opponent with the elbow or forearm; 
 (k)  striking the opponent's body over the kidneys; 
 (l)  hitting the opponent on the back of the head or neck; 
 (m)  gouging the opponent's eye in any manner; 
 (n)  hitting during a break, signaled by the referee's 
command or physical act to separate the fighters; 
 (o)  hitting the opponent after the bell has sounded, ending 
the round; 
 (p)  using the ropes or cage to gain an advantage over the 
opponent; 
 (q)  pushing the opponent around the fighting area or into 
the ropes or cage; 
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 (r)  timidity, excessive clenching, including intentionally 
spitting out the mouthpiece, running from an opponent, or other 
similar behavior; 
 (s)  biting the opponent; 
 (t)  headlocks; 
 (u)  throat punches or strikes directly toward the throat of 
an opponent; 
 (v)  fingers outstretched toward an opponent's face or eyes; 
 (w)  no throws or takedowns; 
 (x)  engaging in any other action not described in this 
subsection, deemed an intentional foul by the referee on the basis that 
the action poses a danger to the safety of either fighter, impedes fair 
and competitive play, or is unsportsmanlike; 
 (y)  spinning back fists; and 
 (z)  hammer-fists. 
 
R457-1-1106.  Bareknuckle - Before the Start Bell. 
 (1)  The referee shall immediately ensure each fighter has 
removed any unnecessary clothing, such as warm-up suit, robe, and 
body piercings before the final instruction. 
 (2)  A bout may not start or continue unless the ringside 
physician is at the ringside. 
 
R457-1-1107.  Bareknuckle - Knockdown. 
 (1)  A knockdown occurs when any part of the contestant's 
body touches the mat other than the sole of their feet following a legal 
strike or is defenselessly hanging on the ropes preventing the body 
from falling to the mat. 
 (2)  The referee is the only individual to determine if a 
knockdown occurs. 
 (3)  If a contestant goes to the ground from anything other 
than a knockdown, the referee shall only restart the fight with both 
contestants standing. 
 (4)  There is no three knockdown rule unless approved by 
the Commission. 
 
R457-1-1108.  Bareknuckle - Count. 
 (1)  There is no standing eight count. When a contestant is 
knocked down from a legal strike, the referee will order the standing 
opponent to a neutral point in the ring and pick up count from the 
timekeeper. The referee will announce the count verbally and with 
motion to the downed contestant at each second of the count. 
 (2)  If the standing opponent leaves the neutral point, the 
referee will stop the count and redirect them back to the neutral point, 
then continue counting where they left off in the count. 
 (3)  If the downed contestant stands up at the count of eight, 
the referee shall evaluate if the contestant can continue. 
 (4)  If the contestant remains down to the count of ten, the 
referee shall deem the contestant knocked out. 
 
R457-1-1109.  Bareknuckle - Referee. 
 (1)  The referee if the sole arbiter of the assigned bout 
 (2)  The referee, as the arbiter, is the only individual 
allowed to stop a contest. 
 (3)  In the event of server injury, the referee will seek advice 
from the ringside physician to determine if the bout will continue. 
 (4)  The referee is the only individual authorized to: 
 (a)  interpret the rules and situation inside the ring; 
 (b)  determine if a blow was legal or a foul, intentional or 
unintentional; 
 (c)  declare when an unintentional injury has occurred; and 
 (d)  determine a knockdown. 

 (5)  The referee has the authority to disqualify a contestant. 
for attempting to commit a foul without warning. 
 (6)  No referee or promoter has the authority to override a 
ringside physicians' authority to stop a fight. 
 
R457-1-1110.  Bareknuckle - Fouls. 
 (1)  A contestant hit with an accidental low blow must 
continue within the allowed five minutes, or the contestant will lose 
the fight. 
 (2)  A referee has discretion to disqualify a contestant who 
commits an intentional foul. 
 (3)  Fouls may result in point deduction. The number of 
points deducted will vary depending on severity of the foul. 
 (4)  The referee will clearly show to the judges that a foul 
occurred and the number of points to deduct. 
 
R457-1-1111.  Bareknuckle - Bouts. 
 (1)  Bare Knuckle Fighting Bouts may not extend past a 
total of six rounds and a total of Eighteen 18 Minutes of fighting with 
one-minute rest period between rounds. The one-minute rest period 
does not count as part of the 18 minutes of fighting. 
 (2)  Promoters are authorized to mix bout cards and 
schedule bouts for two or three-minute rounds. Regulatory 
Commissions shall consider the following information when 
approving bouts: 
 (a)  fighter Record; 
 (b)  combative Sports Experience; 
 (c)  skill level; and 
 (d)  physical Condition. 
 (3)  Participant must have competed as a professional in 
another martial arts discipline before competing in a bareknuckle 
contest. 
 (4)  Rounds shall last for either two or three minutes. 
 (5)  Professional debut participants shall compete in four 
rounds, lasting two minutes each. 
 

TABLE 2 
Rounds 1 2 3 4 5 6 MAX 

Minutes 3:00 3:00 3:00 3:00 3:00 3:00 18:00 
Minutes 2:00 2:00 2:00 2:00 2:00 2:00 12:00 
    Pro Debut Standard Title  

 
 (6)  Female participants shall only participate in two-
minute rounds. 
 (7)  Amateur fighters cannot participate in Bareknuckle 
Fighting events. 
 (8)  Bareknuckle events are stand-alone events. The 
Commission prohibits hybrid events. 
 
R457-1-1112.  Bareknuckle- Judges. 
 (1)  All bouts will be evaluated by three judges using the 
ten point must system. 
 (2)  The Commission will collect Scorecards from each 
judge between each round. 
 (3)  Scoring criteria and decisions will follow the 
Association of Boxing Commission Bare Knuckle Fighting Unified 
Rules adopted by the Commission. 
 
KEY:  licensing, boxing, unarmed combat, White-collar contests 
Date of Last Change:  2024[August 18, 2023] 
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Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  9-23-101 et 
seq. 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R495-890 Filing ID:  
56261 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Administration (Human Services) 
Room number: Fourth Floor 
Building: Multi-agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 W 1950 N 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Shannon 
Thoman-Black 

385-
223-
2941 

Sthomanblack@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R495-890.  Department of Human Services Conflict 
Investigation Procedure 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being repealed as the process is internal and 
appropriately handled through internal procedures 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This filing repeals Rule R495-890 in its entirety. 
 
It does not change internal conflict investigation 
procedures. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings with this repeal as 
it does not impact any existing procedures. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule repeal does not have any impact on local 
governments. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule repeal will not have any fiscal impact on small 
businesses. 
 
It only involves the Department of Health and Human 
Services (DHHS). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule repeal will not have any fiscal impact on non-
small businesses or require anything from them upon 
repeal. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule repeal will not have any fiscal impact on any 
entity or require anything from them upon repeal. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for the repeal.  No entity 
will be impacted by its repeal. 
 
Internal processes to DHHS will not significantly change. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 62A-1-110 Section 62A-1-111 Subsection 

62A-202-6(4) 
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 12/13/2023 

 
R495.  Human Services, Administration. 
[R495-890.  Department of Human Services Conflict 
Investigation Procedure. 
R495-890-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Sections 62A-1-110, 62A-1-
111, 62A-4a-202.6(4). 
 
R495-890-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The definitions contained in Sections 62A-4a-101, 
62A-4a-402 and 62A-4a-1002 apply to this rule and to the child 
abuse, neglect, or dependency DHS conflict investigations.  The 
definitions contained in Section 62A-3-301 apply to this rule and to 

the vulnerable adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation DHS conflict 
investigations.  In addition, the following terms are defined for the 
purposes of this Rule: 
 (a)  "Accepted referral" means a referral that has been 
screened by APS or DCFS intake and has met the agency's 
requirements for accepting a referral. 
 (b)  "APS" means Adult Protective Services. 
 (c)  "Case" means a referral that has been accepted for an 
investigation. 
 (d)  "Child" means a person under eighteen years of age. 
 (e)  "Client" means any person receiving services from 
DHS. 
 (f)  "Conflict" means that there is an accepted referral 
alleging child abuse neglect and dependency OR abuse, neglect or 
exploitation of a vulnerable adult, and DHS has a relationship with 
either the victim, alleged perpetrator, or another person named in the 
investigation such that there might be a perceived or actual conflict 
of interest or a perceived or actual appearance of impropriety if the 
referral is investigated by DCFS or APS.  Potential conflicts of 
interest include: 
 (i)  There is an accepted referral alleging child abuse, 
neglect or dependency and an employee, volunteer, board member, 
provider, or contractor of DHS either is the alleged perpetrator or has 
a relationship with the alleged victim, alleged perpetrator, or another 
person named in the investigation. 
 (ii)  There is an accepted referral alleging abuse, neglect or 
exploitation of a vulnerable adult, and an employee, volunteer, board 
member, provider, or contractor of DHS either is the alleged 
perpetrator or has a relationship with the alleged victim, alleged 
perpetrator, or another person named in the investigation. 
 (iii)  There is an accepted referral and a person's 
relationship with DHS may influence an investigation of abuse, 
neglect or dependency of a child, or abuse, neglect or exploitation of 
a vulnerable adult. 
 (iv)  An accepted referral alleges child abuse, neglect, or 
dependency by a professional partner of DCFS, including but not 
limited to: an Assistant Attorney General, a Guardian ad Litem, or a 
law enforcement officer who works directly with DCFS. 
 (v)  An accepted referral alleges that a child in the custody 
of DCFS has been abused or neglected, and there is a lapse in the 
contract for an independent CPS investigation from the private sector. 
 (vi)  An accepted referral alleges that a child has been 
abused and/or neglected while in the custody or guardianship of 
DJJS, while placed in the USH or USDC, or while placed with a 
contracted provider of any of these agencies, and the alleged 
perpetrator is an employee, volunteer or board member with DHS, or 
a provider or contractor of DCFS. 
 (vii)  An accepted referral alleges that an adult has been 
abused, neglected or exploited while in the guardianship of OPG, 
placed at the USH or the USDC, or placed with a DHS contracted 
provider of any of these agencies, and the alleged perpetrator is an 
employee, volunteer, or board member of DHS, or a provider, or 
contractor of DAAS. 
 (viii)  Any other conflict exists that may prevent the 
assigned agency from making an objective determination based on 
the facts of the case. 
 (ix)  The Executive Director of DHS designates a case a 
"DHS Conflict Investigation" and directs that the case be assigned to 
a DHS Conflict Investigator. 
 (g)  "DHS Conflict Case" means that a conflict has been 
identified, and the case has been referred to a DHS Conflict 
Investigator for a DHS Conflict Investigation. 
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 (h)  "DHS Conflict Investigation" means the investigation 
of a CPS case by a DHS Conflict Investigator or the screening of an 
APS case to determine whether a conflict exists. 
 (i)  "DHS Conflict Investigator" means an employee of 
DHS assigned to OSR to conduct DHS Conflict Investigations. 
 (j)  "CPS" means Child Protective Services. 
 (k)  "DHS" means the Department of Human Services, and 
includes all of the agencies and offices within the Department. 
 (l)  "DCFS" means the Division of Child and Family 
Services, including its regional offices. 
 (m)  "DAAS" means the Utah Division of Aging and Adult 
Services. 
 (n)  "DJJS" means the Division of Juvenile Justice 
Services. 
 (o)  "DJJS Investigator" means an employee of DJJS who 
conducts internal affairs investigations for DJJS. 
 (p)  "DSPD" means the Division of Services for People 
with Disabilities. 
 (q)  "Executive Director" is as defined in 62A-1-104 and 
includes the designee of the Executive Director. 
 (r)  "OPG" means the Office of the Public Guardian. 
 (s)  "OSR" means the Office of Services Review within the 
Utah Department of Human Services. 
 (t)  "Reasonable Restraint" means:  Justifiable restraint to 
protect the client or to protect others from the client's acts. Supported 
physical abuse does not include the use of reasonable and necessary 
physical restraint by an educator in accordance with Section 53A-11-
802(2) or 76-2-401. Nor does it include conduct that constitutes the 
use of reasonable and necessary physical restraint or force in self-
defense or otherwise appropriate to the circumstances to obtain 
possession of a weapon or other dangerous object in the client's 
possession or control, or to protect the client or another person from 
physical injury. 
 (i)  In determining whether "reasonable restraint" was used 
in a DHS facility, the DHS Conflict Investigator shall take into 
account the nature and purpose of the facility. 
 (u)  "Referral" means information provided to DCFS intake 
alleging abuse, neglect, or dependency of a child, or to APS intake 
alleging abuse, neglect or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. 
 (v)  "Secondary worker" means a DCFS employee or an 
APS employee assigned to a DHS Conflict Investigation to conduct 
limited casework activities requested by the DHS Conflict 
Investigator, including but not limited to the following:  making 
priority face to face contact when the DHS Conflict Investigator is 
unable to do so; assisting with the removal of a child; booking the 
child into a shelter facility; and filing a petition for ongoing In-Home 
or Out-of-Home services. 
 (w)  "USDC" means the Utah State Developmental Center. 
 (x)  "USH" means the Utah State Hospital. 
 (y)  "Vulnerable Adult" is the same as defined in 62A-3-
301(28). 
 
R495-890-3.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to establish the criteria used 
to determine: 
 (a)  when a conflict investigation is necessary; and 
 (b)  how conflict investigations will be conducted; 
 (2)  It is the Department of Human Services' goal to avoid 
any impropriety or appearances of impropriety that may arise when 
a conflict exists and to ensure that investigations involving an 
employee, volunteer, board member, provider, or contractor of DHS 

are conducted fairly.  DHS conflict investigations shall be conducted 
in a manner consistent with CPS and APS procedures and policies. 
 
R495-890-4.  Procedure Used When a DHS Conflict Investigation 
Is Necessary for Children. 
 (1)  In general, OSR shall be notified whenever a conflict, 
as defined above, exists. 
 (2)  When a CPS intake worker identifies a potential 
conflict, the intake worker shall staff the referral with OSR to 
determine if a conflict exists. OSR shall determine whether there is a 
conflict, and will notify the CPS Intake Worker of its decision. 
 (a)  If OSR determines that no conflict exists, the case shall 
be referred back to CPS intake for investigation by DCFS no later 
than the next business day after OSR's determination. 
 (b)  If a conflict is identified after the initial referral, OSR 
shall be notified on the next business day after the conflict is 
identified.  If the DCFS or APS worker is responding to an emergency 
or priority one call, the worker shall complete whatever protective 
actions are necessary and then staff the conflict with a supervisor.  
The assigned CPS worker and/or the CPS worker's supervisor shall 
notify OSR no later than the next business day after the conflict is 
identified. 
 (c)  Once the accepted case is assigned to OSR, a conflict 
investigator shall be assigned and all investigation activities from that 
point forward shall be supervised by OSR. 
 (3)  If the conflict case involves a child in the custody of 
DCFS it shall be assigned to an independent CPS investigator from 
the private sector.  If there is a lapse in the contract for an independent 
CPS investigator from the private sector, the case will be assigned to 
a DHS Conflict Investigator. 
 (4)  DHS Conflict Investigator shall have training that is 
substantially similar to the training received by CPS workers. 
 (5)  DHS Conflict Investigators have the same rights, 
duties, and authority to investigate referrals as CPS workers. 
 (6)  The following duties are to remain the duties of CPS 
Intake: receipt of the referral; research; disposition of the referral; 
establish priority of the referral; and, establish allegation categories. 
 (7)  A DCFS investigator may act as a secondary worker 
and assist the DHS Conflict Investigator. 
 (8)  The DHS Conflict Investigator shall determine whether 
the allegations are supported, unsupported, or without merit,. 
 (9)  If the Executive Director has designated a case as a 
conflict case, OSR shall assign the case to a (DHS) Conflict 
Investigator. 
 
R495-890-5.  Procedure Used When a DHS Conflict Investigation 
Is Necessary for Adults. 
 (1)  Allegations of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a 
vulnerable adult shall be referred to APS Intake. 
 (a)  If APS Intake accepts the referral and identifies a 
potential conflict, the Intake worker shall staff the referral with OSR 
to determine if a conflict exists. 
 (b)  OSR shall determine whether there is a conflict and 
will notify APS intake of its decision. 
 (c)  In cases where a conflict exists, OSR shall accept the 
case, and consult with the APS Director or designee in determining 
the appropriate APS investigator that APS intake will assign to the 
case. 
 (d)  If OSR determines that no conflict exists, the case shall 
be referred back to APS intake for investigation by APS no later than 
the next business day after OSR's determination. 
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 (2)  If any concerns arise during the investigation around 
conflict issues, APS may consult with OSR as how to handle the 
conflict. 
 (3)  If a conflict is identified after APS has initiated an 
investigation, OSR shall be notified on the next business day after the 
conflict is identified.  If the APS worker is responding to an 
emergency, the worker shall complete whatever protective actions are 
necessary and then staff the conflict with a supervisor.  The 
supervisor shall notify OSR of the conflict and OSR shall consult 
with the APS Director or designee in determining the appropriate 
APS investigator that APS intake will assign to the case. 
 (4)  If the Executive Director has designated a case as a 
conflict case, OSR shall consult with the APS Director or designee in 
determining the appropriate APS investigator that APS intake will 
assign to the case. 
 
R495-890-6.  Special Procedures for DHS Conflict Investigations. 
 (1)  Nothing in this rule is intended to limit an agency's 
ability to conduct its own internal investigation of any incident that 
occurs in a facility or by an employee during working hours. 
 (2)  The DHS conflict investigation is meant to determine 
whether abuse, neglect or dependency of a child, or abuse, neglect or 
exploitation of an adult occurred.  If, during the course of the 
investigation, the DHS Conflict Investigator or APS investigator 
believes that a separate investigation into policy or personnel matters 
is warranted, the DHS Conflict Investigator or APS investigator may 
notify the agency of its concerns. 
 (3)  A DHS Conflict Investigator or APS investigator may 
determine that a person was not abused or neglected if reasonable 
restraint was used in a DJJS facility, the USH, the USDC, or other 
contracted facility or program of DJJS or DSPD. 
 (4)  The DHS Conflict Investigator or APS investigator 
may notify the agency of the initiation of an investigation and/or the 
conclusion of an investigation. 
 
KEY:  investigations, conflict 
Date of Last Change:  December 10, 2012 
Notice of Continuation:  June 15, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  62A-1-110; 
62A-1-111; 62A-1-115; 62A-4A-101; 62A-4a-202.6; 62A-4a-
202.6(4)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R523-14 Filing ID:  
56215 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Substance Use and Mental Health 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Thomas Dunford 801-

538-
4181 

tdunford@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 801 
538-
4219 

jshaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R523-14.  Suicide Prevention 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Office of Substance Use and Mental Health is required 
to amend this rule because of statutory changes made in 
the creation of the new Department of Health and Human 
Services. 
 
Also, this rule has not met all the requirements stated in 
Subsection 26B-5-611(8) and Section 26B-5-110, so those 
items have been added. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule updates statutory citations, clarifies input 
requirements to the statewide suicide prevention plan, and 
clarifies eligibility requirements for the suicide prevention 
grant. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These amendments to this rule clarify input requirements 
from non-state entities to the statewide suicide prevention 
plan, which is a cost neutral process that already exists in 
the office's normal functions and activities, and add 
eligibility requirements that require no action by the office 
unless funds are provided by the legislature to distribute 
for the suicide prevention grant. 
 
Therefore, these amendments do not increase or 
decrease financial costs or savings on state budgets 
beyond those that existed prior to this filing. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

These amendments to this rule clarify input requirements 
from non-state entities to the statewide suicide prevention 
plan, which is a cost neutral process, and add eligibility 
requirements that require no fees for the suicide 
prevention grant. 
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Therefore, these amendments do not increase or 
decrease financial costs or savings on local governments 
beyond those that existed prior to this filing. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
These amendments to this rule clarify input requirements 
from non-state entities to the statewide suicide prevention 
plan, which is a cost neutral process, and add eligibility 
requirements that require no fees for the suicide 
prevention grant. 
 
Therefore, these amendments do not increase or 
decrease financial costs or savings on small-businesses 
beyond those that existed prior to this filing. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These amendments to this rule clarify input requirements 
from non-state entities to the statewide suicide prevention 
plan, which is a cost neutral process, and add eligibility 
requirements that require no fees for the suicide 
prevention grant. 
 
Therefore, these amendments do not increase or 
decrease financial costs or savings on non-small-
businesses beyond those that exist prior to this filing. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments to this rule clarify input requirements 
from non-state entities to the statewide suicide prevention 
plan, which is a cost neutral process, and add eligibility 
requirements that require no fees for the suicide 
prevention grant. 
 
Therefore, these amendments do not increase or 
decrease financial costs or savings on persons other than 
small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities budgets beyond those that existed 
prior to this filing. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No compliance costs are associated with this rule 
amendment, because no fees or charges are required to 
provide input on the statewide suicide prevention plan, or 
on the eligibility requirements for an entity to qualify for a 
suicide prevention grant. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 

this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
26B-5-611(8) 

Section 26B-5-110  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 11/19/2023 

 
R523.  Health and Human Services, Substance [Abuse]Use and 
Mental Health. 
R523-14.  Suicide Prevention. 
R523-14-1.  [Statutory ]Authority. 
 [Statutory Authority.  ]This rule is authorized by[ 
promulgated by the State of Utah, Department of Human Services, 
Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (division) as 
authorized by] Subsection 26B-5-611(8) and Section 26B-5-
110[62A-15-1101(8)]. 
 
R523-14-2.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes the requirements for: 
 (1)  implementing the state suicide prevention plan; and 
 (2)  the suicide prevention education grant that was created 
to fund suicide prevention education. 
 
R523-14-[2]3.  Requirements Governing Implementation of the 
State Suicide Prevention Plan. 
 [In order to implement a state suicide prevention strategy, 
t]The [division will provide]Office of Substance Use and Mental 
Health shall provide an annual opportunity for the Utah Suicide 
Prevention Coalition and the Utah Behavioral Health Planning and 
Advisory Council to [provide]make recommendations [input ]on 
current community needs and current best practices for suicide 
prevention activities[ on a minimum of a yearly basis].  The Office 
of Substance Use and Mental Health shall consider any 
recommendation made by May 30 of each year. 
 
R523-14-4.  Suicide Prevention Education Grant. 
 (1)  A qualifying agency for a suicide prevention grant shall 
be any federally licensed firearms dealer that operates a retail 
establishment open to the public within the state. 
 (2)  In conjunction with the Bureau of Criminal 
Identification, the Office of Substance Use and Mental Health shall 
provide a suicide prevention grant when the legislature allocates 
funding to the Suicide Prevention Education Program for this 
purpose. 
 (3)  To qualify for a grant under the Suicide Prevention 
Education Program described in Section 26B-5-110, an employer 
shall attend the suicide prevention education course and distribute 
firearm safety brochures or packets as described in Subsections 26B-
5-611(8)(b)(i) and 26B-5-611(8)(b)(ii). 
 
KEY:  suicide prevention; suicide prevention education grant 
Date of Last Change:  2024[December 22, 2015] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 8, 2020 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [62A-15-
1101]26B-5-611(8))b)(i); 26B-5-110; 26B-5-611(8)(b)(ii) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R623-11 Filing ID:  
56238 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Lieutenant Governor 
Agency: Elections 
Room number: 220 
Street address: 350 N State Street 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Mailing address: PO Box 142325 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2325 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Ryan Cowley 801-

538-
1041 

elections@utah.gov 

Shelly Jackson 801-
538-
1041 

elections@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R623-11.  Signature Verification Standards 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is authorized by Subsection 20A-3a-401(9) and 
enacted under the authority of Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act. 
 
This rule is required by H.B. 448 passed in the 2023 
General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule establishes minimum standards for county clerks 
to verify signatures on ballot envelopes and to comply with 
Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 
U.S.C. Secs. 12131. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated impact to state government for this 
rule as it is purely administrative. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule will have minor costs for election officials to 
contact voters with a disability and to track who those 
voters are. 
 
It is estimated that the combined cost to counties would be 
less than $500 per election. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not apply to small businesses and as such 
has no fiscal cost or savings to small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not apply to non-small businesses and as 
such has no fiscal cost or savings to non-small 
businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not apply to other persons and as such has 
no fiscal cost or savings to other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to affected persons 
as none apply to this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$500 $500 $500 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

($500) ($500) ($500) 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Lieutenant Governor of the Office of the Lieutenant 
Governor, Deidre M. Henderson, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
20A-3a-401(11) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Ryan Cowley,  
Director of  
Elections 

Date: 12/01/2023 

 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 01 59 

R623.  Lieutenant Governor, Elections. 
R623-11.  Signature Verification Standards. 
R623-11-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes minimum standards for county clerks 
to verify signatures on ballot envelopes and to comply with Title II 
of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. Secs. 
12131. 
 
R623-11-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Subsection 20A-3a-401(9) and 
enacted under the authority of Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act. 
 
R623-11-3.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the terms defined in Section 20A-1-102, the 
following definitions apply to this rule: 
 (1)  "ADA box" means the information required under 
Subsection 20A-3a-401(5). 
 (2)  "Cured ballot" means a ballot for which the notice 
described in Subsection 20A-3a-401(6) has been returned and is 
eligible to be counted. 
 
R623-11-4.  Signature Verification Standards. 
 (1)  The election officer shall ensure that each signature on 
the affidavit of each ballot is reviewed and that it is reasonably 
consistent with any signature found in the voter's registration record. 
 (2)  The election officer shall ensure that each election 
worker reviewing ballot affidavit signatures has completed the 
training required under Subsection 20A-3a-401(9) before reviewing 
the signatures on any ballot affidavit. 
 
R623-11-5.  Alternative Verification for Voters with a Qualifying 
Disability. 
 (1)  Each rejected affidavit required under Subsection 20A-
3a-401(5) shall include an ADA box. 
 (2)  The election officer shall contact a voter that has a 
cured ballot where the ADA box was marked and mutually agree 
upon a method to affirmatively know that the voter themself has cast 
their ballot. 
 (3)  The election officer shall mark in the voter's record that 
they are a voter with a disability and maintain a list of voters that 
meet the qualifications of Subsection 20A-3a-401(5)(v). The election 
officer shall ensure that a voter who marks the ADA box and has 
complied with this section does not receive the notice described in 
Subsection 20A-3a-401(6). 
 
KEY:  Elections, Lieutenant Governor, signature, verification, 
ADA, disability, voting 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  20A-3a-
401(9) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R651-633 Filing ID:  
56188 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: State Parks 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146001 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Melanie 
Shepherd 

801-
538-
7418 

melaniemshepherd@utah.go
v 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R651-633.  Special Closures or Restrictions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The change in this rule is to allow dogs on the Interpid 
Mountain Bike Trail System at Dead Horse Point State 
Park. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule filing removes the sentence that prohibits dogs 
on the Interpid Mountain Bike Train System. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This proposed rule amendment is not expected to have a 
fiscal impact on the state budget. 
 
This rule change only clarifies dogs will be allowed on a 
trail. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This proposed rule amendment is not expected to have a 
fiscal impact on local governments. 
 
This rule change only clarifies dogs will be allowed on a 
trail. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This proposed rule amendment is not expected to have a 
fiscal impact on small businesses. 
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This rule change only clarifies dogs will be allowed on a 
trail. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This proposed rule amendment is not expected to have a 
fiscal impact on non-small businesses. 
 
This rule change only clarifies dogs will be allowed on a 
trail. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This proposed rule amendment is not expected to have a 
fiscal impact on persons other than small businesses, non-
small businesses, state or local government entities. 
 
This rule change only clarifies dogs will be allowed on a 
trail. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This proposed rule amendment is not expected to have a 
fiscal impact on affected persons. 
 
This rule change only clarifies dogs will be allowed on a 
trail. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 79-4-203 Section 79-4-304 Section 79-4-501 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jeff Rasmussen,  
Director 

Date: 11/02/2023 

 
R651.  Natural Resources, State Parks. 
R651-633.  Special Closures or Restrictions. 
R651-633-1.  Emergency Closures or Restrictions. 
 (1)  In order to protect public safety or park resources, a 
park manager may, during an emergency situation and with the 
approval of the region manager, temporarily close a park area or 
restrict a park activity within a park area. 
 (2)  A p[P]erson[s] may not: 
 (a)  enter[be] into an [closed ]area a park manager has 
closed pursuant to Subsection (1); or 
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 (b)  participate in an[ restricted] activity which a park 
manager has restricted pursuant to Subsection (1)[has been posted by 
the park manager, with the approval of the region manager, to protect 
public safety or park resources during a temporary emergency 
situation]. 
 
R651-633-2.  General Closures or Restrictions at Coral Pink 
Sand Dunes State Park. 
[ Persons are prohibited from being in a closed area or 
participating in a restricted activity as listed for the following park 
areas:] 
 (1)(a)  At Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park a person may 
not use a motorized vehicle in [: 
 (a)  T]the non-motorized area of the sand dunes[ prohibits 
motorized vehicle use,] except as provided[for the outlined] in 
Subsection (1)(b). 
 (b)  A person may engage in l[L]imited and restricted 
motorized vehicle use through the travel corridor[ is permitted] in the 
non-motorized area of the sand dunes. 
 
R651-633-3.  General Closures or Restrictions at Dead Horse 
Point State Park. 
 (1[2])  At Dead Horse Point State Park a person may not 
engage in: 
 (a)  [prohibits ]hang gliding, paragliding, or[and] B.A.S.E. 
jumping; or 
[ (b)  prohibits dogs on the Interpid Mountain Bike Trail 
System; and] 
 ([c]b)  [prohibits ]bicycling on a Rim Hiking Trail[s] unless 
the trail is posted as open to bicycling. 
 
R651-633-4.  General Closures or Restrictions at Snow Canyon 
State Park. 
 (1[3])  At Snow Canyon State Park a person may only walk 
or hike[: 
 (a)  limits hiking and walking in the] on park[ to] roadways, 
designated trails, slick rock areas, or[and] the Sand Dunes area[;]. 
 (2)(a)  A person may only enter the last half-mile of the 
Johnson Canyon Trail at Snow Canyon State Park pursuant to a 
permit or guided walk from September 15 through March 15. 
 (b)[(i)  except for the activities listed under Subsection 
(3)(b)(ii),]  A person may not enter the last half-mile of the Johnson 
Canyon Trail[ is closed annually] from March 1[5]6 through 
September 14.[; 
 (ii)  the trail is open by permit or guided walks from 
September 15 through March 14; and 
 (iii)  the last half-mile of the Johnson Canyon Trail is open 
from September 15 through March 14.] 
 (3[c])  At Snow Canyon State Park a person may not: 
 (a)  enter[closes] Black Rocks Canyon[ annually] from 
March 15 to June 30; 
 (b[d])  engage in climbing on the[closes] West Canyon 
climbing routes[ annually] from February 1 t[o]hrough June 1; 
or[and] 
 (c[e])  engage in[prohibits] hang gliding, paragliding, 
or[and] B.A.S.E. jumping. 
 
R651-633-5.  General Closures or Restrictions at Antelope Island 
State Park. 
 (1[4])  A person may not possess a domestic sheep, a pack 
goat, or a camelid at Antelope Island State Park[;]. 

 (2[a])  In order to protect bighorn sheep lambing at 
Antelope Island State Park, a person may not enter the West Side 
Trail from the top of Sentry to the switchbacks from March 15 
through May 15.[prohibits domestic sheep, pack goats, and camelids 
from the park; 
 (b)  closes the West Side Trail annually from March 15 
through May 15 from the top of Sentry to the switchbacks for 
Bighorn Sheep lambing;] 
 (3)  At Antelope Island State Park a person in possession of 
a: 
 (a[c])  [requires any ]horse or[and] mule[, if not being 
ridden, to be] must secure[d] the horse or mule with a lead rope or by 
other similar means, when the animal is not being ridden; and 
 (b[d])  [requires all other ]domesticated animals, pets, or 
service animals must secure the animal[to be] on a leash or[,] 
tether[ed], or must otherwise keep the animal under the person's 
physical control[ of their handlers], except for a dog[s] actively 
engaged in waterfowl hunting activities if [they are]the dog is under 
the person's voice control[ of their handler]. 
 
KEY:  parks 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 12, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 17, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  79-4-203; 
79-4-304; 79-4-501 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R657-5 Filing ID:  
56245 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R657-5.  Taking Big Game 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory 
Council and Wildlife Board meetings conducted annually 
for taking public input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife 
Resources' (Division) rule pursuant to taking Big Game. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed amendments to this rule: 
1)  restrict the use of magnified scopes on muzzleloaders 
during the muzzleloader season; and 
2)  implement the mandatory harvest reporting 
requirement for all big game species. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
With the rule amendment, approximately 130,000 
mandatory harvest surveys will be added, which in turn 
would affect approximately 130,000 hunters. 
 
The administrative cost for the contracting company to 
make these required changes, which includes emails, 
programming needs, customer service and being the point 
of contact, will cost the Division approximately $50,000 to 
implement. 
 
The Division has determined that these changes can be 
initiated within the current workload and resources of the 
Division. 
 
Therefore, the Division believes that these amendments 
can be enacted without a cost or savings impact to the 
state budget or the Division's budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments are not directly or indirectly impacted 
by these proposed amendments because this rule does 
not create a situation requiring services from local 
governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
non-small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 

("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments do have the potential to create a cost 
impact to those individuals wishing to participate in the 
hunting of big game in Utah, however, because the 
Division will be waiving the late fee for the 2024 season, 
there will be no immediate additional cost to the public. 
 
Moving forward, about 9% of the public does not report so 
in 2025 it could cost the public up to $585,000 in late fees.  
That could change with the potential of E-tagging going 
into effect in 2025 which could lower the cost the public 
since the compliance rate should be higher. 
 
The restriction of magnified scopes on muzzleloaders 
during the muzzleloader season will not create a cost 
impact or savings, as the scopes would still be legal for 
use on a muzzleloader during the Any-Legal Weapon 
seasons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The Division has determined that this amendment will not 
create additional costs for those participating in the taking 
of big game for the 2024 season but could result in a $50 
per late survey beginning with the 2025 season. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$50,000 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $585,000 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$50,000 $585,000 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $585,000 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $585,000 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$(50,000) $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a 
measurable fiscal impact to businesses. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 23A-2-304 Section 23A-2-305  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Justin Shirley,  
Division Director 

Date: 12/11/2023 

 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-5.  Taking Big Game. 
R657-5-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under authority of Sections 23A-2-304 and 23A-2-
305, the Wildlife Board has established: 
 (a)  this rule for taking deer, elk, pronghorn, moose, bison, 
bighorn sheep, and Rocky Mountain goat. 
 (b)  appropriate weapons or devices to take big game and 
restrictions to weapons or devices to take big game. 

 (2)  Specific dates, areas, methods of take, requirements, 
and other administrative details which may change annually are 
published in the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking big game. 
 
R657-5-8.  Rifles, Shotguns, Airguns, and Crossbows. 
 (1)  A rifle used to hunt big game must: 
 (a)  fire centerfire cartridges and expanding bullets; and 
 (b)  have no attachment capable of electronic function, 
other than illuminated reticles. 
 (2)  A shotgun used to hunt big game must: 
 (a)  be 20 gauge or larger; 
 (b)  fire only 00 or larger buckshot or slug ammunition; and 
 (c)  have no attachment capable of electronic function, 
other than illuminated reticles. 
 (3)  An airgun used to hunt big game must: 
 (a)  be pneumatically powered; 
 (b)  be pressurized solely through a separate charging 
device; and 
 (c)  may only fire a bolt or arrow: 
 (i)  [no less than 16 inches long; 
 (ii)  ]with a fixed or expandable broadhead at least 7/8 inch 
wide at its widest position; and 
 ([i]ii)  traveling no less than 400 feet per second at the 
muzzle; and 
 (d)  have no attachment capable of electronic function, 
other than illuminated reticles. 
 (4)  A crossbow used to hunt big game must have a 
minimum draw weight of 125 pounds and a positive mechanical 
safety mechanism. 
 (b)  A crossbow arrow or bolt used to hunt big game must[ 
be at least 16 inches long and] have: 
 (i)  fixed broadheads that are at least 7/8 inch wide at the 
widest point; or 
 (ii)  expandable, mechanical broadheads that are at least 7/8 
inch wide at the widest point when the broadhead is in the open 
position; and 
 (iii)  no electronic function other than an illuminated nock. 
 (c)  Unless otherwise authorized by the division through a 
certificate of registration, it is unlawful for any person to: 
 (i)  hunt big game with a crossbow or airgun during a big 
game archery hunt; 
 (ii)  carry a cocked crossbow containing an arrow or a bolt 
while in or on any motorized vehicle on a public highway or other 
public right-of-way; or 
 (iii)  hunt any protected wildlife with a crossbow utilizing 
a bolt that has any chemical, explosive, or electronic device attached. 
 (5)  A crossbow used to hunt big game may have a 
telescopic sight only during an any weapon hunt [But]but no other 
attachment capable of electronic function, other than illuminated 
reticles. 
 
R657-5-10.  Muzzleloaders. 
 (1)  A muzzleloader may be used during any big game hunt, 
except an archery hunt, provided the muzzleloader: 
 (a)  has both the powder and bullet loaded from the muzzle; 
 (b)  has open sights, peep sights, or [a variable or fixed 
power scope, including]not more than a [magnifying]1x scope or 
sight which contains no internal or external components that make it 
capable of magnifications; 
 (c)  has a single barrel; 
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 (d)  has a minimum barrel length of 18 inches; 
 (e)  is capable of being fired only once without reloading; 
 (f)  powder and bullet, or powder, sabot and bullet are not 
bonded together as one unit for loading; 
 (g)  is loaded with black powder or black powder substitute, 
which must not contain smokeless powder; and 
 (h)  has no attachment capable of electronic function, other 
than illuminated reticles. 
 (2)(a)  A lead or expanding bullet or projectile of at least 40 
caliber must be used to hunt big game. 
 (b)  A bullet 130 grains or heavier, or a sabot 170 grains or 
heavier, must be used for taking deer and pronghorn. 
 (c)  A 210 grain or heavier bullet must be used for taking 
elk, moose, bison, bighorn sheep, and Rocky Mountain goat, except 
sabot bullets used for taking these species must be a minimum of 240 
grains. 
 (3)  A person who has obtained a muzzleloader permit for 
a big game hunt may use only muzzleloader equipment authorized in 
Subsections (1) and (2) to take the species authorized in the permit. 
 (4)  A person who has obtained an any weapon permit for a 
big game hunt may: 
 (a)  use muzzleloader equipment authorized in this section[ 
to take the species authorized in the permit]; and 
 (b)  use a fixed or variable magnifying scope. 
 
R657-5-11.  Archery Equipment. 
 (1)  Archery equipment may be used during any big game 
hunt, except a muzzleloader hunt, provided: 
 (a)  the minimum bow pull is 30 pounds at the draw or the 
peak, whichever comes first; 
 (b)  arrowheads used have two or more sharp cutting edges 
that cannot pass through a 7/8 inch ring; 
 (c)  expanding arrowheads cannot pass through a 7/8 inch 
ring when expanded; and 
 (d)  arrows must: 
 (i[)  be a minimum of 20 inches in length from the tip of 
the arrowhead to the tip of the nock; and] 
[ (ii])  have no electronic function other than illuminated 
nocks; and 
 ([iii]ii)  the bow does not include, have attached ,or use any 
electronic device other than: 
 (A)  illuminated sight pins; or 
 (B)  a device capable of capturing picture or video data 
provided the given device cannot aid in the take of a big game animal. 
 (2)  The following equipment or devices may not be used 
to take big game: 
 (a)  a crossbow, except as provided in Subsection (5) and 
Rule R657-12; 
 (b)  arrows with chemically treated or explosive 
arrowheads; 
 (c)  a mechanical device for holding the bow at any 
increment of draw, except as provided in Subsection (5) and Rule 
R657-12; 
 (d)  a release aid that is not hand held or that supports the 
draw weight of the bow, except as provided in Subsection (5) and 
Rule R657-12; 
 (e)  a bow with a magnifying aiming device, a single lens, 
peep-mounted glass does not constitute a magnified aiming device; 
or 
 (f)  an airgun, except as provided in Subsection (5). 
 (3)  Arrows carried in or on a vehicle where a person is 
riding must be in an arrow quiver or a closed case. 

 (4)  A person who has obtained an archery permit for a big 
game hunt may only use archery equipment authorized in 
Subsections (1) and (2) to take the species authorized in the permit. 
 (5)  A person who has obtained an any weapon permit for a 
big game hunt may use archery equipment authorized in this section 
to take the species authorized in the permit, and may also use a 
crossbow, draw-lock, or airgun satisfying the minimum requirements 
of this rule. 
 (6)  A person hunting an archery-only season on a once-in-
a-lifetime hunt may only use archery equipment authorized in 
Subsections (1) and (2) to take the species authorized in the permit. 
 
R657-5-33.  Limited Entry Bull Elk Hunts. 
 (1)  To hunt in a limited entry bull elk area, a hunter must 
obtain a limited entry bull elk permit for the area. 
 (2)(a)  A limited entry bull elk permit allows a person, using 
the prescribed legal weapon, to take one bull elk within the area and 
season specified on the permit, except as provided in Subsection (5) 
and excluding elk cooperative wildlife management units located 
within a limited entry unit.  Spike bull elk restrictions do not apply to 
limited entry elk permittees. 
 (3)(a)  The Wildlife Board may establish a multi-season 
hunting opportunity in the big game guidebooks for selected limited 
entry bull elk units. 
 (b)  A person that obtains a limited entry bull elk permit 
with a multi-season opportunity may hunt during any of the following 
limited entry bull elk seasons established in the Wildlife Board 
guidebooks for the unit specified on the limited entry bull elk permit: 
 (i)  August and September archery seasons, using only 
archery equipment prescribed in Section R657-5-11 for taking elk; 
 (ii)  muzzleloader season, using only muzzleloader 
equipment prescribed in Section R657-5-10 for taking elk; 
 (iii)  any weapon season, using any legal weapon 
prescribed in Rule R657-5 for taking elk; and 
 (iv)  multi-season permit holders may not hunt during late 
season, December archery limited entry bull elk seasons. 
 (c)  A landowner association under Rule R657-43 is not 
eligible to receive a multi-season hunting opportunity for limited 
entry units nor late season, December archery limited entry bull elk 
seasons. 
 (4)  A limited entry bull elk permit, including a permit with 
a multi-season opportunity, is valid only within the boundaries of the 
unit designated on the permit, excluding: 
 (a)  areas closed to hunting; 
 (b)  elk cooperative wildlife management units; and 
 (c)  Indian tribal trust lands. 
 (5)  A person who possesses any limited entry archery bull 
elk permit, including a permit with a multi-season opportunity, may 
hunt bull elk within any extended archery area during the established 
extended archery season for that area, provided the person: 
 (a)  did not take a bull elk during the limited entry hunt; 
 (b)  uses the prescribed archery equipment for the extended 
archery area; 
 (c)  completes the annual Archery Ethics Course required 
to hunt extended archery areas during the extended archery season; 
and 
 (d)  possesses on their person while hunting: 
 (i)  the limited entry bull elk permit; and 
 (ii)  the Archery Ethics Course Certificate of Completion. 
 (6)  "Prescribed legal weapon" means for purposes of this 
subsection: 
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 (a)  archery equipment, as defined in Section R657-5-11, 
when hunting the archery season, excluding a crossbow, draw-lock, 
and airgun; 
 (b)  muzzleloader equipment, as defined in Section R657-
5-10, when hunting the muzzleloader season; and 
 (c)  any legal weapon, including a muzzleloader with a 
fixed or variable magnifying scope, crossbow with a fixed or variable 
magnifying scope or draw-lock, or airgun when hunting during the 
any weapon season. 
 (7)(a)  A person who has obtained a limited entry or 
cooperative wildlife management unit bull elk permit must report 
hunt information within 30 calendar days after the end of the hunting 
season, whether the permit holder was successful or unsuccessful in 
harvesting a bull elk. 
 (b)  Limited entry and cooperative wildlife management 
unit bull elk permit holders must report hunt information by 
telephone, or through the division's website. 
 (c)  A person who fails to comply with the requirement in 
Subsection (a) shall be ineligible to apply for any once-in-a-lifetime, 
premium limited entry, limited entry, or cooperative wildlife 
management unit permit or bonus point in the following year. 
 (d)  Late questionnaires may be accepted pursuant to 
Subsection R657-42-9(2). 
 (8)  A person who has obtained a limited entry bull elk 
permit may not hunt during any other elk hunt or obtain any other elk 
permit, except as provided in Subsections R657-5-33(5) and R657-
5-34(3). 
 
R657-5-52. Harvest Reporting. 
 (1)(a)  A person who has obtained any big game or 
antlerless permit, including CWMU, conservation, LOA and expo 
permits must report hunt information by filling out the harvest survey 
on the division's website within 30 calendar days after the end of the 
season date listed on the permit, whether the permit holder was 
successful or unsuccessful in harvesting. 
 (b)  The following types of big game permits must report 
hunt information by filling out the harvest survey designated on a 
division's web page within 30 calendar days after the end of the 
extended archery season: 
 (i)  general season buck deer archery; 
 (ii)  youth general season buck deer any legal weapon; 
 (iii)  dedicated hunter; 
 (iv)  general season bull elk archery; 
 (v)  youth general season bull elk; and 
 (vi)  multi-season spike bull elk. 
 (c)  A harvest survey will not be required for mitigation 
permits or mitigation vouchers issued under Rule R657-44. 
 (d)  Permit holders must report hunt information by filling 
out the harvest survey on the division's website or by contacting the 
division office by telephone. 
 (e)  A person who fails to comply with the requirement in 
Subsection (a) shall be ineligible to apply for any big game species 
permits and bonus or preference points in either the big game 
application or antlerless application the following year. 
 (f)  Late questionnaires may be accepted pursuant to 
Subsection R657-42-9(2). 
 
KEY:  wildlife, game laws, big game seasons 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 1, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 8, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23A-2-304; 
23A-2-305; 23A-11-201; 23A-11-202 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R657-38 Filing ID:  
56246 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R657-38.  Dedicated Hunter Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory 
Council and Wildlife Board meetings conducted annually 
for taking public input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife 
Resources' (Division) rule pursuant to the Dedicated 
Hunter Program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed amendments to this rule: 
1)  add "Enrollment" into definitions; 
2)  modify the definition of "Program Harvest" to 
accommodate reporting process changes; 
3)  clarify that a Dedicated Hunter may not switch hunting 
areas during the 3-year program; 
4)  clarify that changes or special regulations occurring on 
general season hunting areas will also apply to Dedicated 
Hunters; 
5)  redistribute minimum service hour requirements, 
allowing 6 hour minimum for year one and an additional 16 
hours for year two with an additional 10 hours in year 
three; the total number of hours remains unchanged; 
6)  revise the procedure for 1-year extensions given to 
Dedicated Hunters who draw a limited entry buck deer 
permit from the Utah Big Game drawing, this amendment 
automatically applies a 1-year extension; 
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7)  remove the requirement for returning paper permits in 
order to report a non-harvest; and 
8)  allow for online harvest reporting. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendments to Rule R657-38 are program changes 
that are administrative in nature for the Division, the 
Division determines that these changes can be initiated 
within the current workload and resources of the Division, 
therefore, the Division does not believe that these 
amendments would create a cost or savings impact to the 
state budget or the Division's budget since the changes 
will not increase workload and can be carried out with 
existing budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Since the proposed amendments clarify existing program 
requirements and restrictions this filing does not create 
any direct cost or savings impact to local governments. 
 
Nor are local governments indirectly impacted because 
this rule does not create a situation requiring services from 
local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Since the proposed amendments clarify existing program 
requirements and restrictions this filing does not create 
any direct cost or savings impact to small businesses. 
 
Nor are small businesses indirectly impacted because this 
rule does not create a situation requiring services from 
them. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Since the proposed amendments clarify existing program 
requirements and restrictions this filing does not create 
any direct cost or savings impact to non-small businesses. 
 
Nor are non-small businesses indirectly impacted because 
this rule does not create a situation requiring services from 
them. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The rule amendments do not have the potential to create 
a cost impact or savings to those participating in the 
Dedicated Hunter program as they are administrative in 
nature and only clarify requirements already in place. 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The Division has determined that there will be no change 
in cost for those wishing to participate in the Dedicated 
Hunter program. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a 
measurable fiscal impact to businesses. 
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Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 23A-2-305   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Justin Shirley,  
Division Director 

Date: 12/11/2023 

 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-38.  Dedicated Hunter Program. 
R657-38-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under the authority of Section 23A-2-305, this rule 
provides the standards and requirements for qualified deer hunters to 
participate in the Dedicated Hunter Program by obtaining a certificate 
of registration. 
 (2)  The Dedicated Hunter Program is a program that: 
 (a)  provides expanded hunting opportunities; 
 (b)  requires participation in wildlife conservation projects; 
and 
 (c)  provides educational training in hunter ethics and 
wildlife management principles. 
 
R657-38-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23A-1-
101. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Dedicated Hunter Permit" means a general buck deer 
permit issued to a participant in the Dedicated Hunter Program, 
which authorizes the participant to hunt deer during the general 
archery, general muzzleloader, and general any weapon open seasons 
in the hunt area specified on the permit. 
 (b)  "Division" means the Utah Division of Wildlife 
Resources. 
[ (c] (c)  "Enrollment" means the three year term 
which the certificate of registration is valid. 
 (d)  "Hunt area" means an area prescribed by the Wildlife 
Board where general archery, general muzzleloader, and general any 
legal weapon buck deer hunting is open to permit holders for taking 
deer. 

 ([d]e)  "Participant" means a person who has remitted the 
appropriate fee and has been issued a Dedicated Hunter certificate of 
registration. 
 ([e]f)  "Program" means the Dedicated Hunter Program. 
 ([f]g)  "Program harvest" means using a Dedicated Hunter 
permit to tag a harvested deer or failing to [return]submit a 
[Dedicated Hunter permit with the kill tag attached]harvest report as 
required, while enrolled in the program. 
 ([g]h)  "Wildlife conservation project" means any project 
that provides wildlife habitat protection or enhancement, improves 
public hunting or fishing access, or directly benefits wildlife or the 
[D]division's current needs and is pre-authorized by the [D]division. 
 
R657-38-3.  Dedicated Hunter Certificates of Registration. 
 (1)(a)  To participate in the Dedicated Hunter Program, a 
person must apply for, be issued, and sign a certificate of registration 
as prescribed by the [D]division. 
 (b)  Certificates of registration for a designated hunt area 
are issued by the [D]division through a drawing as prescribed in the 
guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking big game and Rule R657-
62. 
 (c)  Certificates of registration are valid for three 
consecutive years, except as provided by Sections R657-38-10 and 
R657-38-13, beginning on the date the big game drawing results are 
released and ending on the last day of the general season hunt for the 
third year of enrollment. 
 (d)  The quantity of certificates of registrations for the 
Dedicated Hunter Program available in the big game drawing is 
limited to: 
 (i)  15%[ percent] of the total annual general season buck 
deer quota for each respective hunt area, inclusive of those 
certificates of registration that are within [their effective term]active 
enrollments; or 
 (ii)  one resident and one non[-]resident certificate of 
registration if the 15%[ percent] total on that hunt area is met or 
exceeded. 
 (e)  Certificates of registration remaining unissued from the 
Dedicated Hunter portion of the big game drawing shall be 
redistributed as general single-season permits for their respective 
hunt areas in the general buck deer drawing. 
 (2)  The [D]division may deny issuance of a certificate of 
registration for the Dedicated Hunter Program for any of the reasons 
identified as a basis for suspension in Subsection 23A-4-1106(7) and 
Section R657-38-15. 
 (3)(a)  A certificate of registration for the Dedicated Hunter 
Program conditionally authorizes the participant to obtain a 
Dedicated Hunter permit, which may be used to hunt deer within the 
area listed on the permit, during the general archery, general 
muzzleloader and general any legal weapon buck deer seasons 
according to the dates and boundaries established by the Wildlife 
Board. 
 (b)  When available, the certificate of registration may also 
authorize the Dedicated Hunter permit to include the general deer 
archery extended area during the extended season dates. 
 (c)  The person must use the appropriate weapon type 
specified by each season and boundary. 
 (4)  The participant['s] may not change to a different hunt 
area[, as issued through the drawing, shall remain the same for the 
entire duration of the certificate of registration] during the 
enrollment. 
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[ (5)  Participants in the] (5)(a)  The division may 
make changes including, season opportunity, season length, 
boundaries, allowable weapon types, or other special restrictions to 
all or any portion of a hunt area or management unit, when in the 
interest of the wildlife resource or as necessary for the division to 
accomplish its management objectives, and may not guarantee each 
hunt area remains unchanged during the Dedicated Hunter's 
enrollment period. 
 (b)  Dedicated [Hunter Program]Hunters shall be subject to 
any changes subsequently made to this or other rules 
[during]pertaining to the [term of enrollment]hunt area they have 
drawn. 
 
R657-38-4.  Applications for Certificates of Registration. 
 (1)  Applications to obtain a Dedicated Hunter certificate 
of registration are made pursuant to Section R657-62-16. 
 (2)  To apply for a Dedicated Hunter certificate of 
registration, applicants must: 
 (a)  have a valid Utah hunting or combination license; 
 (b)  meet all age, hunter education, and license 
requirements in Sections 23A-4-1001, 23A-4-703, 23A-4-706, and 
23A-4-707 and[ in] applicable rules, except that: 
 (i)  A person 11 years of age may apply for and obtain a 
Dedicated Hunter certificate of registration if that person's twelfth 
birthday falls in the calendar year the certificate of registration is 
issued; and 
 (ii)  a person may not hunt big game [prior to]before their 
twelfth birthday; and 
 (c)  be compliant with the restrictions in Subsection (2). 
 (3)  A person under any wildlife suspension may not apply 
for a certificate of registration until their suspension period has 
ended. 
 
R657-38-5.  Dedicated Hunter Preference Point System. 
 Dedicated Hunter Preference points are issued pursuant to 
Section R657-62-10. 
 
R657-38-6.  Fees. 
 (1)  Any person who is 17 years of age or younger on July 
31 of the application year shall pay the youth participant fees. 
 (2)  Any person who is 18 years of age or older on July 31 
of the application year, or is a Lifetime License holder, shall pay the 
associated participant fees. 
 (3)(a)  A participant who enters the program as a Utah 
resident and thereafter becomes a nonresident shall be changed to a 
nonresident status and may be issued nonresident permits for the 
[remainder]rest of the enrollment period. 
 (i)  No additional fee shall be applied to the nonresident 
certificate of registration or its respective permits following this 
residency change. 
 ([5]4)(a)  A participant who enters the program as a 
nonresident and thereafter becomes a Utah resident, shall be changed 
to a resident status and may be issued resident permits for the 
[remainder]rest of the enrollment period. 
 (i)  No refund will be issued for the difference of the 
resident certificate of registration fee or its respective permits 
following this residency change. 
 
R657-38-9.  Service Hour Requirement. 
 (1)(a)  A participant must complete the minimum annual 
required service hours as a volunteer on [D]division -approved 

wildlife conservation projects [in order ]to obtain a Dedicated Hunter 
permit. 
 (b)  A participant must complete a minimum of [8]6 service 
hours [prior to]before receiving a Dedicated Hunter permit in the first 
year of the program. 
 (c)  A participant must complete a minimum total of [24]22 
service hours [prior to]before receiving a Dedicated Hunter permit in 
the second year of the program. 
 (d)  A participant must complete a minimum total of 32 
service hours [prior to]before receiving a Dedicated Hunter permit in 
the third year of the program. 
 (e)  If the participant has two program harvests, the full 32 
hours must be completed [prior to]before the expiration of the 
certificate of registration. 
 (f)  If a participant having two program harvests fails to 
complete the required hours of service [prior to]before expiration of 
the certificate of registration, the participant is ineligible to apply for 
or obtain any Utah hunting license or permit until the remaining 
service hours have been completed. 
 (g)  After a certificate of registration has expired, 
incomplete service hours may be completed through [D]division 
approved projects or by payment at the established purchase rate. 
 (2)  A participant who has not been issued any Dedicated 
Hunter permits during the enrollment [shall]may not be required to 
complete the service hour requirement. 
 (3)(a)  Residents and nonresidents may complete service 
hour requirements through service, purchase, or a combination of the 
two options. 
 (b)  Wildlife conservation projects may be provided by the 
[D]division, or any other individual or entity, but must be pre-
approved by the [D]division. 
 (c)  Goods or services donated to the [D]division by a 
participant may be, at the discretion of the [D]division, substituted 
for service hours based upon current market values or comparative 
state contract rates for the goods or services, and the approved service 
hour purchase rate. 
 (d)  The [D]division shall publicize the dates, times, 
locations and description of approved wildlife conservation projects 
and activities on the [D]division's Website. 
 (4)(a)  Service hours performed [prior to]before an 
enrollment [shall]may not be accepted as service credit. 
 (b)  Service hours exceeding the minimum requirement 
[shall]may not be applicable beyond the enrollment period and 
[shall]may not be credited to any subsequent certificate of 
registration. 
 (5)(a)  Participants are required to perform their own 
service hours. 
 (b)  Service hours are not transfer[r]able to other 
participants or certificates of registration. 
 
R657-38-10.  Certificate of Registration Extension. 
 (1)(a)  A participant who is a member of the United States 
Armed Forces or public safety organization that is mobilized or 
deployed on orders in the interest of national defense or declared state 
of emergency while enrolled in the program may request a one-year 
program extension if: 
 (i)  the person is mobilized or deployed for a minimum 
period of three consecutive months; or 
 (ii)  the participant is mobilized or deployed during the 
general buck deer season. 
 (b)  The participant must provide evidence of the 
mobilization or deployment period and that the mobilization or 
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deployment precluded the participant from using the Dedicated 
Hunter permit. 
 (c)  An extension may not be granted if the participant 
hunted during the general deer season. 
 (d)  If an extension is granted due to mobilization or 
deployment: 
 (i)  the minimum annual program requirements shall be 
postponed into the subsequent year of the enrollment; 
 (ii)  a permit will not be issued in the year the qualifying 
mobilization or deployment occurs. 
 (2)(a)  A person who is enrolled in the program and obtains 
a limited entry buck deer permit through the Utah Big Game drawing 
or accepts a poaching reported reward limited entry buck deer permit, 
[may request]will receive a one-year extension to the Dedicated 
Hunter [p]Program enrollment period[ be extended one additional 
year]. 
[ (b)  The extension request must be received by the Division 
before the established deadline, as published on the Division's 
website.] 
[ (c)  An extension is not available to participants who have 
two program harvests.] 
 (i)  If the limited entry deer permit is surrendered during 
the enrollment, the extension will be retracted and the original three- 
year enrollment restored. 
 (ii)  The minimum annual program requirements shall be 
postponed into the subsequent year of the enrollment. 
 
R657-38-11.  Allowable Harvest and [Permit Return]Reporting 
Requirements. 
 (1)(a)  A program participant may take a maximum of two 
general season deer within the enrollment period.  Only one deer may 
be harvested in a single year. 
 (b)  The harvest of an antlerless deer using a Dedicated 
Hunter permit, when permissible in the extended archery areas and 
seasons established in the big game guidebook, shall be considered a 
program harvest. 
 (2)  Upon issuance of a Dedicated Hunter permit, the 
participant is credited with a program harvest. 
 (a)  Two program harvests are allowed within an enrollment 
period. 
 (b)  If program harvests accrue during the first year and 
second year of the enrollment, a permit [shall]may not be issued for 
the third year. 
 (c)  [In order t]To remove a program harvest[ credit], the 
participant must: 
 (i)  not have harvested a deer with the Dedicated Hunter 
permit; and 
 (ii)  [return the permit with the attached tag, or a qualifying 
affidavit as proof of non-harvest to a Division office.  A handling fee 
and notarization may be required for processing an affidavit.]must 
submit a harvest report before the annual deadline established by the 
division pursuant to Rule R657-5. 
 
R657-38-12.  Dedicated Hunter Permits. 
 (1)(a)  Pursuant to Sections 23A-4-706 and 23A-4-707 a 
person must have a valid Utah hunting or combination license to 
apply for or obtain a big game permit. 
 (b)  Except as provided in [s]Subsection (c), a permit may 
not be issued if the participant does not [possess]have a valid hunting 
or combination license at the time of permit issuance. 
 (c)  A valid hunting or combination license is not required 
to obtain a permit in the first year of the enrollment period, provided 

the participant possessed a valid license when applying for the 
Dedicated Hunter certificate of registration. 
 (2)  The participant must have a valid Dedicated Hunter 
permit in possession while hunting. 
 (3)  Upon completion of the minimum annual 
requirements, a Dedicated Hunter permit may be issued as published 
on the [D]division's website. 
 (4[)  The Division may exclude multiple season 
opportunities on specific management units, or may close or reduce 
a season on part or all of a management unit, when in the interest of 
the wildlife resource or as necessary for the Division to accomplish 
its management objectives.] 
[ (5])(a)  The [D]division may issue a duplicate Dedicated 
Hunter permit pursuant to Section 23A-4-208. 
 (b)  If a participant's unused Dedicated Hunter permit and 
tag is destroyed, lost, or stolen [prior to]before, or during the hunting 
season in which the permit is valid, a participant may obtain a 
duplicate after paying the associated handling fee. 
 (c)  A duplicate Dedicated Hunter permit [shall]may not be 
issued after the closing date of the general buck deer season. 
 ([6]5)(a)  A participant may surrender a Dedicated Hunter 
permit in accordance with Rule R657-42. 
 (b)  A participant may not surrender a Dedicated Hunter 
permit after the earliest season allowed by the permit has begun, 
unless the [D]division can verify that the permit was never in the 
participant's possession. 
 ([7]6)(a)  Lifetime license holders may participate in the 
program. 
 (b)  A lifetime license holder shall apply for a certificate of 
registration in the same manner as all other prospective participants. 
 (c)  A lifetime license holder participating in the program 
agrees to for[e]go any rights to receive a lifetime license buck deer 
permit as provided in Section 23A-4-402 while enrolled in the 
program and until all outstanding service hours owed from a period 
of enrollment are complete. 
 (d)  A refund or credit is not issued for a forgone lifetime 
license permit. 
 
R657-38-13.  Obtaining Other Permits. 
 (1)(a)  Participants may not apply for or obtain any other 
Utah general season buck deer permit, including general landowner 
buck deer permits, or respective preference points issued by the 
[D]division through the big game drawing, license agents, over-the-
counter sales, or the internet during an enrollment period in the 
program. 
 (b)  Any other Utah general season deer permit obtained is 
invalid and must be surrendered [prior to]before the beginning season 
date for that permit. 
 (c)  Refunds for surrendered permits are governed by 
Sections 23A-4-207 and 23A-4-301 and Rule R657-42. 
 (2)(a)  Participants may apply for or obtain a limited entry 
buck deer permit, including CWMU, limited entry landowner, 
conservation, expo, and poaching reported rewards permits. 
 (b)  A limited entry buck deer permit may be obtained 
without completion of the annual program requirements but does not 
exempt the participant from fulfilling the minimum requirements of 
the enrollment. 
 (c)  If the participant obtains a limited entry buck deer 
permit and has been issued a Dedicated Hunter permit, either the 
limited entry buck deer permit or the Dedicated Hunter permit must 
be surrendered as permissible by Section R657-38-12 and Rule 
R657-42. 
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 (d)  A participant who obtains a limited entry buck deer 
permit may only use that permit in the prescribed area and season 
listed on the permit, but Dedicated Hunter privileges are not extended 
to that permit. 
 (e)  A limited entry buck deer permit may not be obtained 
if the Dedicated Hunter permit has been issued and the general buck 
deer season has started. 
 (f)  Harvest of a limited entry buck deer as permitted 
[shall]may not be counted as a program harvest. 
 (3)(a)  Participants may apply for or obtain antlerless deer 
permits as provided in Rule R657-5 and the guidebook of the Wildlife 
Board for taking big game. 
 (b)  Except as provided in Section R657-38-11, harvest of 
an antlerless deer with an antlerless deer permit [shall]may not be 
considered a program harvest. 
 
R657-38-14.  Certificate of Registration Surrender. 
 (1)  A participant may request to withdraw from the 
Dedicated Hunter [p]Program by surrendering the Dedicated Hunter 
certificate of registration pursuant to Rule R657-42, provided the 
participant does not have two program harvests within the enrollment 
period. 
 (2)  A participant who has two program harvests during the 
program enrollment may not withdraw from the program and [is 
required to]shall complete the program minimum requirement of 32 
service hours. 
 (3)  The [D]division may reinstate preference point[(]s[)] 
for a participant successfully surrendering in the first year of the 
enrollment period, provided the surrender occurs [prior to]before the 
start of the general deer season[.] and meets all relating conditions set 
forth in Rule R657-42. 
 
R657-38-15.  Certificate of Registration Suspension. 
 (1)  The [D]division may suspend a Dedicated Hunter 
certificate of registration pursuant to Section 23A-4-1106 and Rule 
R657-26. 
 (2)  A certificate of registration may also be suspended if 
the participant: 
 (a)  fraudulently [submits a time sheet for]claims service 
hours the participant did not perform; or 
 (b)  fraudulently completes any of the program 
requirements; or 
 (c)  is under a judicial or administrative order suspending 
any wildlife hunting or fishing privilege within Utah or elsewhere; or 
 (d)  provides false information on the drawing application; 
or 
 (e)  has violated the terms of any certificate of registration 
issued by the [D]division or an associated agreement. 
 (3)  A Dedicated Hunter permit is invalid if a participant's 
certificate of registration is suspended. 
 (4)  The program enrollment period [shall]may not be 
extended in correlation with any suspension. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, hunting, recreation, wildlife conservation 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 2, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 8, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23A-2-305 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R657-42 Filing ID:  
56247 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R657-42.  Fees, Exchanges, Surrenders, Refunds and 
Reallocation of Wildlife Documents 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory 
Council and Wildlife Board meetings conducted annually 
for taking public input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife 
Resources' (Division) rule regulating the fees, exchanges, 
surrenders, refunds and reallocations of Wildlife 
Documents. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed amendments to this rule set the requirement 
for late fee payments incurred with the required mandatory 
reporting for all big game species. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendments to Rule R657-42 are required due to the 
proposed changes in Rule R657-5, Taking Big Game.  
With this rule amendment, approximately 130,000 
mandatory harvest surveys will be added, which in turn 
would affect approximately 130,000 hunters. 
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The administrative cost for the contracting company to 
make these required changes, which includes emails, 
programming needs, customer service and being the point 
of contact, will cost the division approximately $50,000 to 
implement. 
 
The Division has determined that these changes can be 
initiated within the current workload and resources of the 
Division. 
 
Therefore, the Division believes that these amendments 
can be enacted without a cost or savings impact to the 
state budget or the Division's budget. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule 
R657-5 is under ID 56243 in this issue, January 1, 2024, 
of the Bulletin.) 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Since the proposed amendments do not require a service 
from local governments, this filing does not create any 
direct or indirect cost or savings impact to local 
governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
non-small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments do have the potential to create a cost 
impact to those individuals wishing to participate in the 
hunting of big game in Utah, however, because the 
Division will be waiving the late fee for the 2024 season 
there will be no immediate additional cost to the public. 
 
Moving forward, about 9% of the public does not report so 
in 2025 it could cost the public up to $585,000 in late fees.  
That could change with the potential of E-tagging going 
into effect in 2025 which could lower the cost the public 
since the compliance rate should be higher. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 

The Division has determined that this amendment will not 
create additional costs for those participating in the taking 
of big game for the 2024 season but could result in a $50 
per late survey beginning with the 2025 season. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$50,000 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $585,000 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$50,000 $585,000 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $585,000 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $585,000 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$(50,000) $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 23A-4-201 Section 23A-4-207  
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Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Justin Shirley,  
DWR Director 

Date: 12/11/2023 

 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-42.  Fees, Exchanges, Surrenders, Refunds, and 
Reallocation of Wildlife Documents. 
R657-42-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under the authority of Sections 23A-4-201 and 23A-4-
207 the division may issue wildlife documents in accordance with the 
rules of the Wildlife Board. 
 (2)  This rule provides the standards and procedures for the: 
 (a)  exchange of permits; 
 (b)  surrender of wildlife documents; 
 (c)  refund of wildlife documents; 
 (d)  reallocation of permits; and 
 (e)  assessment of late fees. 
 
R657-42-9.  Assessment of Late Fees. 
 (1)  Any wildlife application submitted under the Utah 
Administrative Code Rules provided in Subsections (a) through (e), 
within 30 days of the applicable application deadline established in 
such rules, in the guidebooks of the Wildlife Board, or by the division 
may be processed only upon payment of a late fee as provided by the 
approved fee schedule. 
 (a)  Rule R657-52, Commercial Harvesting of Brine 
Shrimp and Brine Shrimp Eggs; 
 (b)  Rule R657-21, Cooperative Wildlife Management 
Units for Small Game; 
 (c)  Rule R657-22, Commercial Hunting Areas; 
 (d)  Rule R657-37, Cooperative Wildlife Management 
Units for Big Game; or 
 (e)  Rule R657-43, Landowner Permits. 
 (2)  Any person who fails to report their Big Game hunt 
information pursuant to Rule R657-5 [Taking Big Game, within 30 
calendar days of the ending season date for their once-in-a-lifetime, 
premium limited entry, limited entry, or cooperative wildlife 
management unit hunt may]may reinstate their eligibility to apply for 
a Big Game or antlerless permit[ or], bonus point[ in], or preference 
point the following year provided: 
 (a)  the survey is completed and submitted to the division 
[prior to]before the close of the [Big Game]relevant application 
period established in the guidebook[ of the Wildlife Board for taking 
big game]. 

 (b)  [the late fee established in the approved fee schedule 
is]appropriate fees are paid to the [Division.]division: and 
 (c)  [The]the accepted [method of ]payment [of fee]method 
is [only a]done via credit or debit card. 
 (3)  Any person who fails to report their Swan hunt 
information pursuant to Section R657-9-7, within 30 calendar days 
of the ending season date for their Swan hunt may apply for a Swan 
permit in the following year provided: 
 (a)  the survey is completed and submitted to the division 
[prior to]before the close of the Swan application period established 
in the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking waterfowl[.]; or 
 (b)  the late fee established in the approved fee schedule is 
paid to the Division[.]; and 
 (c)  [T]the accepted method of payment of fee is only a 
credit or debit card. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, permits 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 1, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 15, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23A-4-201; 
23A-4-207; 23A-4-301 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R657-43 Filing ID:  
56248 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R657-43.  Landowner Permits 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory 
Council and Wildlife Board meetings conducted annually 
for taking public input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife 
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Resources' (Division) rule pursuant to Landowner 
Association Program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed amendments to this rule: 
1)  allow a landowner association (LOA) to hunt only the 
private property participating in the program and removes 
the public access requirement; 
2)  create a special drawing for landowners on limited-
entry units that are not enrolled in an LOA and have the 
minimum 640 acres of habitat; 
3)  establish up to 5% above the total number of unit 
permits be available in the drawing and restricts the 
permits from being sold or a trespass fee being charged; 
4)  create a general-season landowner permit that is only 
valid on private property; and 
5)  establish up to 10% above the total unit permits can be 
issued over the counter and allows for the sale of these 
permits. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendments to Rule R657-43 are program changes 
that are administrative in nature for the Division, the 
Division determines that these changes can be initiated 
within the current workload and resources of the Division, 
therefore, the Division  does not believe that these 
amendments would create a cost or savings impact to the 
state budget or the Division's budget since the changes 
will not increase workload and can be carried out with 
existing budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Since the proposed amendments clarify an existing 
program requirements and restrictions, this filing does not 
create any direct cost or savings impact to local 
governments. 
 
Nor are local governments indirectly impacted because 
this rule does not create a situation requiring services from 
local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This amendment clarifies an existing LOA. 
 
The LOA's are not regulated as a small business, 
therefore, this rule does not impose any additional 
financial requirements on small businesses, nor generate 
a cost or saving impact to small businesses because this 
rule does not create a situation requiring services from 
them. 
 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This amendment clarifies an existing Landowner program. 
 
The LOA's are not regulated as a non-small business nor 
do they have an employer/employee relationship, 
therefore, this rule does not impose any additional 
financial requirements on small non-businesses, nor 
generate a cost or saving impact to small non-businesses 
because this rule does not create a situation requiring 
services from them. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The rule amendments do have the potential to affect the 
number of vouchers being issued to each LOA.  Because 
the vouchers are based on the market, the LOA's that may 
decrease in permit numbers may actually see an increase 
in the tag price and may not have a financial loss. 
 
A majority of the LOA's were receiving vouchers 
recommended at the same rate and will see no change.  
There has always been potential for the vouchers to 
increase or decrease each year, however, some of the 
vouchers consistently sell for more than $40,000.  The 
Division has determined that this could remain the same. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The Division determines that there will be no change in 
cost for those wishing to participate as a LOA in the 
program. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that this proposed rule amendment will not result in a 
measurable fiscal impact to businesses. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 23A-2-304 Section 23A-2-305  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Justin Shirley,  
Division Director 

Date: 12/11/2023 

 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-43.  Landowner Permits. 

R657-43-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under authority of Sections 23A-2-304 and 23A-2-
305, this rule provides the standards and procedures for landowners 
to qualify for and obtain big game hunting opportunities in 
recognition of the benefits their private properties provide to wildlife 
resources in Utah. 
[ (2)] (2)  The Private Landowners may apply for and 
obtain Vouchers from the division through one of the following three 
programs, and as further outlined in this rule: 
 (a)  The division [shall offer a program providing 
opportunities for general season big game hunts, "]may provide one 
of the following permits to individual landowners for the General 
Season Landowner [Permits", and a program providing limited entry 
big game hunts, "Limited Entry Landowner Permits".] 
[ (b)  The division shall offer buck deer permits under both 
programs.]Permit Program: 
 (i)  A General Season Landowner - Private Land - Buck 
Deer Permit may be provided for Landowners to use only on their 
private land; or 
 (ii)  A General Season Landowner - Unit Wide - Buck Deer 
Permit that Landowners can seek through a draw process and is 
usable throughout the general season unit. 
 (b)  The division may provide permits to individual 
Landowners on limited entry units with eligible lands that are not 
enrolled in a Landowner Association to hunt Buck Deer, Bull Elk, 
and Buck Pronghorn on their own private land. 
 (c)  The division [shall offer buck pronghorn]may provide 
Buck Deer, Bull Elk, and [bull elk]Buck Pronghorn permits [under]to 
Landowner Associations through the Limited Entry Landowner 
[Permit program]Association Program that can be: 
 (i)  used unit wide for a Landowner Association that allow 
public access; or 
 (ii)  used only on private land within the Landowner 
Association if no public access is allowed. 
 (3)  The Landowner permit programs are intended to: 
 (a)  provide an incentive for private landowners to manage 
their lands as quality habitat for public wildlife; 
 (b)  assist and support the division in managing big game 
populations; 
 (c)  increase private Landowner tolerance of big game on 
their Private Lands; 
 (d)  increase big game hunting opportunities; 
 (e)  increase and secure public hunting access on 
participating Landowners' Private Lands; 
 (f)  reduce the division's obligations in responding to and 
compensating for depredation events occurring on participating 
Private Lands; 
 (g)  use objective criteria to determine how hunting 
opportunities are allocated under the programs; and 
 (h)  allocate hunting opportunities in a manner that 
fluctuates in proportion to variations in public draw permit numbers. 
 
R657-43-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23A-1-
101. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Applicant" means a Landowner applying to participate 
in the General Season Buck Deer Landowner Permit program, the 
Limited Entry Landowner Association Permit program, or the 
program for Landowners on limited entry units with eligible land that 
is not enrolled in a Limited Entry Landowner [Permit 
program]Association. 
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 (b)  "Cropland" means agricultural Private Land that is 
cultivated and mechanically harvested and upon which the division 
has determined that migratory deer rely to meet herd management 
objectives. 
 (c)  "Draw Application" means [that]an application for 
Permits submitted to the division after the Applicant has been 
approved to participate in the program. 
 (d)  "Eligible Property" means Private Land that: 
 (i)(A)  [Private Land that ]provides habitat for deer, elk or 
pronghorn as determined by the division; 
 ([ii]B)  [Private Land that ]is not used in the operation of a 
Cooperative Wildlife Management Unit for the same species; 
 ([iii]C)  [Private Land that ]is not used in the operation of 
an elk farm or elk hunting park; and 
 ([iv]D)  [Private Land]is in agricultural use as provided in 
Section 59-2-502 and eligible for agricultural use valuation as 
provided in Sections 59-2-503 and 59-2-504[; and]. 
 ([v]ii)  [Private Land having]In addition to subsection 
(d)(i), Eligible Property must have one or more of the following 
attributes: 
 (A)  for [the purpose of ]receiving [general buck deer 
permits]General Season Private Land Landowner Buck Deer 
Vouchers or General Season Unit Wide Landowner Buck Deer 
Permits, a minimum of 100 acres of [Private Land that is ]Cropland, 
or a minimum of 640 acres of other Private Land meeting the criteria 
in Subsection (d)(i) through (iv) that is owned or leased by one 
Landowner or leased by one landowner within the general season unit 
hunt boundary; or[;] 
 (B)  for the purposes of receiving a Limited Entry 
Landowner Permit Voucher, Private Land owned or leased [by 
members of a Landowner Association that is ]within a limited entry 
[unit]elk, deer or pronghorn unit for land that is enrolled in a Limited 
Entry Landowners Association. 
 (C)  for the purposes of receiving a Limited Entry 
Landowner Permit Voucher for Private Land owned or leased within 
a limited entry elk, deer or pronghorn unit for land that is not enrolled 
in a Limited Entry Landowners Association, a minimum of 640 acres 
of Private Land meeting the criteria in Subsection (d)(i)(A) through 
(D) that is owned or leased by one Landowner or leased by one 
landowner within the limited entry unit hunt boundary. 
 (e)  "Governing Documents" mean the legal documents 
executed by a Legal Entity Owners that govern the formation, 
operation, management, rules, duties, responsibilities, decision -
making [#]and dissolution of [such]said Legal Entity. 
 (f)  "Immediate Family" means a Landowner's, a Lessee's, 
or a Legal Entity Owner's spouse, children, sons-in-law, daughters-
in-law, father, mother, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brothers, sisters, 
brothers-in-law, sisters-in-law, stepchildren, and grandchildren. 
 (g)  "Landowner" means, for the purposes of this rule, any 
person or Legal Entity which: 
 (i)  owns Private Land in Utah as evidenced by such deeds 
vesting title in such Landowner; 
 (ii)  is the purchaser of Private Land pursuant to a recorded 
contract of sale; or 
 (iii)  is [a]an agricultural Lessee of Private Land, being any 
person or legal entity with a written lease whose terms permit the 
lessee to be in [actual ]physical control of such Private Land. 
 (h)  "Landowner Association" means a Legal Entity created 
by Landowners who own Eligible Property within a limited entry 
unit, which Legal Entity is organized for  working with the division 
as outlined in this rule. 

 (i)  "Legal Entity" means an entity such as a corporation, 
partnership, limited liability company, or trust that is organized under 
the laws of the state[State of Utah] and otherwise qualified to do 
business within [the State of ]Utah. 
 (j)  "Legal Entity Owner" means a person or other Legal 
Entity which has ownership in a Legal Entity, such as a shareholder 
of a corporation, a member of a limited liability company, a partner 
in a partnership, or trustee or beneficiary of a trust. 
 (k)  "Permit" means a hunting authorization obtained 
through a draw or purchased from the division by a person who is the 
holder of a Voucher, pursuant to the terms and authorizations 
contained in such Voucher. 
 (l)  "Private Land" means, for the purposes of this rule, any 
real property owned or leased by a Landowner, excluding: 
 (i)  land owned by the state or federal government; 
 (ii)  land owned by a county or municipality; 
 (iii)  land owned by an Indian tribe; 
 (iv)  land enrolled in a Cooperative Wildlife Management 
Unit for the same species under Rule  R657-37; and 
 (v)  land where public access for big game hunting has been 
secured. 
 (m)  "Qualifier Application" means the initial application 
submitted to the division to determine if a Landowner meets the 
necessary requirements to participate in the landowner permit 
program. 
 (n)  "Voucher" means an authorization issued by the 
division to a Landowner that entitles such Landowner or its permitted 
transferees, if allowed pursuant to this rule, to purchase a Permit from 
the division. 
 

TABLE 
Landowner Permit Programs Table 

Permit/ 
Voucher 
 Type 

Hunt 
Boundary Species Requirements Stipulations 

Public 
Access 

Permit 
Quantity 

General 
Season 

Private 
Lands Only Deer 

640 acres of 
Agricultural 
Land or Range 
Land Can be sold 

Not 
required 

Up to 10% 
above 
total unit 
permits 

General 
Season Unit Wide Deer 

100 acres 
Agricultural 
Land, or 640 
acres of Range 
Land 

Owner or 
immediate 
family only 
- cannot be 
sold 

Not 
required 

Up to 3% 
above 
total 

Limited 
Entry - 
Non-LOA 

Owners 
Private 
Lands Only 

Deer, 
Elk, 
Prongho
rn 

640 acres of 
Agricultural 
Land or Range 
Land 

For anyone 
- cannot be 
sold 

Not 
required 

Up to 5% 
above 
total unit 
permits 

Limited 
Entry - 
LOA 1 Unit Wide 

Deer, 
Elk, 
Prongho
rn 

>50% of 
eligible land 
enrolled Can be sold 

Require
d 

Percentag
e of 
habitat = 
percentag
e of LOA 
permits 

Limited 
Entry - 
LOA 2 

Private 
Lands Only 

Deer, 
Elk, 
Prongho
rn 

>50% of 
eligible land 
enrolled Can be sold 

Not 
required 

Percentag
e of 
habitat = 
percentag
e of LOA 
permits 
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R657-43-3.  General Season Landowner [Permits --]Program - 
Private Land Only Buck Deer Vouchers -- Availability and 
Eligibility. 
 (1)[(a)]  The division [will]shall establish the maximum 
number of General Season Landowner [Permits for buck deer]- 
Private Land Only Buck Deer Vouchers annually by: 
 (a)  identifying the number of public draw permits available 
in a hunting unit; and[ allocate] 
 (b)  allocating up to an additional [3]10% of that number to 
the [program.  Vouchers for ]General Season Landowner [Permits for 
buck deer will be issued through the General Season Landowner 
Permit draw.  Vouchers may only be redeemed by the Landowner or 
Immediate Family members.]- Private Land Only Buck Deer 
program. 
 (2)  An Applicant must meet the following eligibility 
criteria to apply for or obtain [permits]vouchers under the General 
Season Landowner Program for a Private Land Buck Deer Voucher: 
 (a)  own the minimum quantity of Eligible Property in the 
proper general season unit boundaries as identified in this rule; 
 (b)  be able to lawfully obtain and use a hunting license and 
big game permit; 
 (c)  submit a complete application by the deadline; and 
 (d)  pay necessary fees. 
 (3)  An Applicant may apply for General Season 
Landowner - Private Land Only Buck Deer Vouchers according to 
the following limitations: 
 (a)  one General Season Landowner - Private Land Only 
Buck Deer Voucher may be issued for 640 acres of Eligible Property 
owned or leased by the Applicant; 
 (b)  one additional General Season Landowner - Private 
Land Only Buck Deer Voucher may be issued for each additional 640 
acres of Eligible Property owned or leased by the Applicant. 
 (4)  General Season Landowner - Private Land Only Buck 
Deer Vouchers may be transferred or sold. 
 (5)  Any remaining permits for the General Season 
Landowner - Private Land Only Buck Deer Vouchers may be issued 
to qualifying landowners over-the-counter at the same time the other 
over-the-counter big game permits go on sale. 
 
R657-43-4.  General Season Landowner Program - Private Land 
Buck Deer Vouchers -- Applications and Permit Use. 
 (1)  Qualifier Applications for General Season Landowner 
- Private Land Only Buck Deer Vouchers are available from division 
offices and on the division website before the draw. 
 (2)(a)  Only one Applicant may submit a Qualifier 
Application for a parcel of Private Land. 
 (b)  The division may reject all Qualifier Applications if 
more than one application is received for the same parcel of Private 
Land. 
 (c)  A Landowner may only submit one Qualifier 
Application, regardless of whether there are: 
 (i)  multiple individual persons owning the Eligible 
Property; 
 (ii)  multiple Legal Entity Owners in the Legal Entity 
owning the Eligible Property; or 
 (iii)  similar instances of split ownership of the Eligible 
Property. 
 (3)  Qualifier Applications for General Season Landowner 
- Private Land Only Buck Deer Vouchers must include: 
 (a)  total acres of Eligible Property within the respective 
general season unit hunt boundary area; 

 (b)  the signature of all Landowners having an interest in 
the Eligible Property; and 
 (c)  a digital map of the Eligible Property indicating the 
parcel numbers, county, and general season hunt unit within which it 
is located. 
 (4)  Qualifier Applications must be submitted to the 
regional division office with management responsibilities where the 
Eligible Property is located. 
 (5)  Vouchers will be issued on a first come, first serve basis 
when over-the-counter permits go on sale. 
 (6)  The Applicant will select the season and weapon type 
when issued the voucher. 
 (7)  Any person issued a General Season Landowner - 
Private Land Only Buck Deer Permit under this rule is subject to all 
season dates, weapon restrictions, and any other rules, specifically 
Rule R657-5, and fees as provided in the guidebook of the Wildlife 
Board for taking big game. 
 (8)  General Season Landowner - Private Land Only Buck 
Deer Permits are only valid on private property in the unit in 
accordance with Sections 23A-5-310 and 23A-5-317. 
 (9)  A General Season Landowner - Private Land Only 
Buck Deer Permit may be used to hunt the entirety of the 
Landowner's adjoining Private Land even when the Landowner's 
Private Land is in more than one general unit hunt boundary area. 
 
R657-43-5.  General Season Landowner Program - Unit Wide 
Buck Deer Permits -- Availability and Eligibility. 
 (1)(a)  The division will establish the number of General 
Season Landowner - Unit Wide Buck Deer Permits annually by 
identifying the number of public draw permits available in a unit and 
allocate an additional 3% of that number to the program. 
 (b)  Vouchers for General Season Landowner - Unit Wide 
Buck Deer Permits will be issued through the General Season 
Landowner Permit draw. 
 (c)  Vouchers for General Season Landowner - Unit Wide 
Buck Deer Permits may only be redeemed by the Landowner or 
Immediate Family members. 
 (2)  An Applicant must meet the following eligibility 
criteria to apply for or obtain permits under the General Season 
Landowner - Unit Wide Buck Deer Permit program: 
 (a)  own the minimum quantity of Eligible Property in the 
proper general season unit boundaries as identified in this rule; 
 (b)  be able to lawfully obtain and use a hunting license and 
big game permit; 
 (c)  submit a complete application by the deadline; 
 (d)  participate in the General Season Landowner - Unit 
Wide Buck Deer Permit drawing; and 
 (e)  pay necessary fees. 
 (3)(a)  An Applicant may apply for General Season 
Landowner - Unit Wide Buck Deer Permits according to the 
following limitations: 
 (i)  One General Season Landowner - Unit Wide Buck Deer 
Permit may be issued for 640 acres of Eligible Property owned or 
leased, for agricultural purposes, by the Applicant; or 
 (ii)  One General Season Landowner - Unit Wide Buck 
Deer Permit may be issued for 100 acres or more of Cropland owned 
or leased, for agricultural purposes, by the Applicant. 
 ([i]b)[  one](i)  One additional General Season Landowner 
- Unit Wide Buck Deer Permit may be issued for each additional 640 
acres of Eligible Property owned or leased, for agricultural purposes, 
by the Applicant; 
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[ (ii)  one additional General Season Landowner Permit may 
be issued for each additional 640 acres of Eligible Property owned or 
leased by the Applicant;] and 
[ (iii)  one General Season Landowner Permit may be issued 
for 100 acres or more of Cropland owned or leased by the Applicant.] 
[ (b] (ii)  Only one General Season Landowner - Unit 
Wide Buck Deer Permit may be issued to a Landowner based on 
Cropland acreage, regardless of whether that Applicant owns or 
leases for agricultural purposes more than 100 acres of Cropland. 
[ (c)  Only one General Season Landowner Permit may be 
issued per parcel of Eligible Property.] 
 (d)  General Season Landowner - Unit Wide Buck Deer 
Permits cannot be sold and may only be transferred to Immediate 
Family members. 
 (e)  An Applicant may apply for and receive a maximum of 
five General Season Landowner - Unit Wide Buck Deer Permits in a 
single hunt year. 
 (4)  Vouchers for General Season Landowner - Unit Wide 
Buck Deer Permits will be issued following the draw and [are valid 
for]may only be claimed by the Landowners and their Immediate 
Family members. 
 (5)  Remaining General Season Landowner - Unit Wide 
Buck Deer Permits may be issued to qualifying landowners over-the-
counter at the same time the other over-the-counter big game permits 
go on sale. 
 
R[657-43-4]657-43-6.  General Season Landowner Program - 
Unit Wide Buck Deer Permits -- Applications, Drawing, and 
Permit Use. 
 (1)  Qualifier Applications for General Season Landowner 
- Unit Wide Buck Deer Permits are available from division offices 
and on the division website before the draw. 
 (2)(a)  Only one Applicant may submit a Qualifier 
Application for [the same]a parcel of Private Land. 
 (b)  The division may reject all Qualifier Applications if 
more than one application is received for the same parcel of Private 
Land. 
 (c)  Where the Landowner's Private Land is in more than 
one general unit hunt boundary area, the Landowner may select only 
one of those units from which to receive the Permit. 
 (d)  A Landowner may only submit one Qualifier 
Application, regardless of whether there are: 
 (i)  multiple individual persons owning the Eligible 
Property; 
 (ii)  multiple Legal Entity Owners in the Legal Entity 
owning the Eligible Property; or 
 (iii)  similar instances of split ownership of the Eligible 
Property. 
 (3)  Qualifier Applications for General Season Landowner 
Permits must include: 
 (a)  total acres of Eligible Property within the respective 
general season unit hunt boundary area; 
 (b)  the signature of all Landowners having an interest in 
the Eligible Property; and 
 (c)  a digital map of the Eligible Property indicating the 
parcel numbers, county, and general season hunt unit within which it 
is located[;]. 
 (4)  Qualifier Applications must be submitted to the 
regional division office with management responsibilities where the 
Eligible Property is located. 

 (5)  The signatures of the Landowners on the Draw 
Application serve as an affidavit by such Landowner certifying 
ownership of the Eligible Property enrolled. 
 (6)[(a)]  After Qualifier Applications are reviewed and 
approved, Draw Applications will be submitted pursuant to Section 
R657-62-27. 
 ([b)  When submitting the Draw Application, the Applicant 
will select the season and weapon type]7)  Any person issued a 
General Season Landowner - Unit Wide Buck Deer Permit under this 
rule is subject to all season dates, weapon restrictions, and any other 
rules, specifically Rule R657-5, and fees as provided in the 
guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking big game. 
 ([7]8)  [Any person issued a]A General Season Landowner 
- Unit Wide Buck Deer Permit is valid unit wide under [this rule is 
subject to all]the same season dates[, weapon restrictions, and any 
other regulations, specifically Rule R657-5, and fees as provided in 
the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking big game.] and unit 
boundary as a general draw buck deer permit would be. 
 (9)  Individuals that obtain a General Season Landowner - 
Unit Wide Buck Deer Permit must choose a weapon type with season 
for their permit when redeeming a General Season Landowner - Unit 
Wide Buck Deer Permit. 
 
R657-43-7.  Limited Entry Landowner Program - Permit 
Vouchers for Lands not Participating in a Landowner 
Association -- Availability and Eligibility. 
 (1)  The division shall establish the number of Limited 
Entry Landowner Program Permit Vouchers for private lands not 
enrolled in a Landowner Association for buck deer, bull elk, and buck 
pronghorn annually by: 
 (a)  identifying the number of public draw limited entry 
permits available in a unit; and 
 (b)  allocating up to an additional 5%, by weapon type, of 
that number to the program. 
 (2)  Vouchers for Limited Entry Landowner Program 
Permits for lands not participating in a Landowner Association will 
be issued through the Limited Entry Landowner Program Permit 
Voucher draw. 
 (3)  An Applicant must meet the following eligibility 
criteria to apply for or obtain permits under the Limited Entry 
Landowner Program: 
 (a)  own the minimum quantity of Eligible Property in the 
proper Limited Entry unit boundaries as identified in this rule; 
 (b)  be able to lawfully obtain and use a hunting license and 
big game permit; 
 (c)  submit a complete application by the deadline; 
 (d)  participate in the Limited Entry Landowner Permit 
drawing; and 
 (e)  pay necessary fees. 
 (4)  An Applicant may apply for Limited Entry Landowner 
Permit Vouchers according to the following limitations: 
 (a)  A minimum of 640 acres of Eligible Property is 
required to submit an application; 
 (b)  Only one Limited Entry Landowner Program Permit 
may be issued per parcel of Eligible Property; and 
 (c)  An Applicant may apply for and receive a maximum of 
one Limited Entry Landowner Program Permit Vouchers in a single 
hunt year. 
 (5)  A landowner or lessee transferring a permit voucher to 
another individual may not receive any form of compensation or 
remuneration for the transfer or for allowing access to the private land 



 

78 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 01 

for hunting on a permit redeemed with that voucher on the landowner 
or lessee's eligible property. 
 
R657-43-8.  Limited Entry Landowner Program - Permit 
Vouchers for Lands not Participating in a Landowner 
Association, -- Drawing, and Permit Use. 
 (1)  Qualifier Applications for Limited Entry Landowner 
Program Permit Vouchers are available from division offices and on 
the division website before the draw. 
 (2)(a) Only one Applicant may submit a Qualifier 
Application for a parcel of Private Land. 
 (b)  The division may reject all Qualifier Applications if 
more than one application is received for the same parcel of Private 
Land. 
 (c)  A Landowner may only submit one Qualifier 
Application, regardless of whether there are: 
 (i)  multiple individual persons owning the Eligible 
Property; 
 (ii)  multiple Legal Entity Owners in the Legal Entity 
owning the Eligible Property; or 
 (iii)  similar instances of split ownership of the Eligible 
Property. 
 (3)  Qualifier Applications for Limited Entry Landowner 
Permits must include: 
 (a)  total acres of Eligible Property within the respective 
Limited Entry unit hunt boundary area; 
 (b)  the signature of all Landowners having an interest in 
the Eligible Property; and 
 (c)  a digital map of the Eligible Property indicating the 
parcel numbers, county, and limited entry hunt unit within which it is 
located. 
 (4)  Qualifier Applications must be submitted to the 
regional division office with management responsibilities where the 
Eligible Property is located. 
 (5)  The signatures of the Landowners on the Draw 
Application serve as an affidavit by such Landowner certifying 
ownership of the Eligible Property in the Qualifier Application. 
 (6)  After Qualifier Applications are reviewed and 
approved, Draw Applications will be submitted pursuant to Section 
R657-62-27. 
 (7)  Any person issued a Limited Entry Landowner 
Program Permit under this rule is subject to all season dates, weapon 
restrictions, and any other rules, specifically Rule R657-5, and fees 
as provided in the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking big 
game. 
 (8)  Limited Entry Landowner Program Permit Vouchers 
are not valid for: 
 (a)  multi-season hunting opportunities; 
 (b)  public land; 
 (c)  private land outside of the property for which the 
application was submitted for; and 
 (d)  late season limited entry buck deer permits on a general 
season unit. 
 
[R657-43-5.  Limited Entry Landowner Permits -- Availability 
and Eligibility.]R657-43-9.  Limited Entry Landowner 
Association Program Permit Vouchers -- Availability and 
Eligibility. 
 (1)(a)  Landowners in a limited entry unit may join together 
to form a Landowner Association for participation in the Limited 
Entry Landowner Association Permit program. 

 (b)  To qualify as a Landowner Association, participating 
Landowners must: 
 ([a]i)  own more than 50% of the Private Lands that are 
Eligible Property within the limited entry herd unit; 
 ([b]ii)  form a Landowner Association; 
 ([c]iii)  limit participation to Private Lands within a limited 
entry hunt unit serving as habitat for that species; and 
 ([d]iv)  the president of the Landowner Association must 
participate in a division training annually. 
 (2)  The division will establish the number of [limited entry 
permits]Limited Entry Landowner Association Program Permits 
available[ under the program] on an annual basis by: 
 (a)  identifying the number of public draw permits in a unit 
for the previous hunt year; 
 (b)  identifying the total acreage of Private Land in a unit 
enrolled in the Landowner Association; 
 (c)  calculating the percentage of habitat in the unit 
represented by the Landowner Association by dividing the habitat 
acreage represented by the Landowner Association by the habitat 
acreage in the whole unit; 
 (d)  applying that percentage to the total number of 
available public draw permits from the previous year to determine 
the number of [permits]Limited Entry Landowner Association 
Program Permit Vouchers to be allocated to the Landowner 
Association; 
 (e)  applying standard rounding will be practiced when 
determining permit numbers - .49 rounds down and .5 rounds up; and 
 (f)  an approved Landowner Association that qualifies for 
less than one permit voucher every year will receive one permit 
voucher the first year after approval. 
 (3)  To form a Landowner Association, Landowners must: 
 (a)  elect a president; 
 (b)  enter into Governing Documents signed by all 
participating Landowners that: 
 (i)  agree to the formation of a Landowner Association for 
the purposes of participating in the program; 
 (ii)  establish membership qualifications; 
 (iii)  identify any yearly dues, if any, necessary to 
participate and how those funds will be utilized; 
 (iv)  establish a distribution plan for allocating Vouchers or 
revenue from Vouchers to members; 
 (v)  describe the process for adding and removing members 
in a fair and impartial process; 
 (vi)  describe how the Landowner Association will provide 
notice of upcoming meetings and how members can participate; 
 (vii)  establish how voting and decisions on behalf of the 
Landowner Association will be made; 
 (viii)  establish rules and guidelines outlining permit holder 
conduct on Landowner Association property; 
 (ix)  describe how the Landowner Association will 
complete compliance requirements for the program; 
 (x)  describe how the members will elect a president to 
represent the landowner association and the president's length of 
term; 
 (xi)  include a written waiver from each participating 
Landowner of all depredation claims due to big game damage during 
the term of such Landowner's membership in the Landowner 
Association; 
 (xii)  if option 1, Subsection R657-43-9(5)(a), is chosen 
include a written agreement from each participating member to allow 
free public access onto all participating Landowner's Private Lands 
as required by Subsections R657-43-5(5) and R657-43-5(6); and 
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 ([xii]xiii)  other items deemed necessary and appropriate to 
administer the Landowner Association. 
 (4)  Limitations on the eligibility of Private Lands in 
Landowner Associations: 
 (a)  [private lands]Private Lands enrolled in a Cooperative 
Wildlife Management Unit for the same species are not eligible to 
participate in a Landowner Association under this rule; 
 (b)  [public]Public and state lands are not eligible to be 
included in a Landowner Association; 
 (c)  [only]Only Private Lands that qualify as Eligible 
Property will be considered for Limited Entry Landowner Permits; 
 (d)  [only]Only one Landowner Association, per species, 
may be formed for each limited entry unit; and 
 (e)  [a]A Landowner or Landowner Association may not 
restrict legally established passage through Private Land to access 
public lands for hunting. 
 (5)  A Landowner Association may choose one of two 
Voucher options during the term of its certificate of registration: 
 (a)  Option 1[.]: 
 (i)  The Landowner Association will be issued Vouchers 
valid for the entire limited entry hunting unit; 
 (ii)  an equivalent number of public hunters to the number 
of Vouchers received by the Landowner Association shall be 
provided complete access to hunt all [of the ]Landowner 
Association's Private Lands at no charge for the species during the 
season dates identified on the Limited Entry Landowner Association 
Permit; and 
 (iii)  the division will notify the lowest draw numbers of 
public hunters in that unit who will be given access to the Landowner 
Association's Private Lands pursuant to this section. 
 (b)  Option 2[.]: 
 (i)  The Landowner Association will be issued Vouchers 
valid only for Private Lands enrolled in the Landowner Association; 
 (ii)  the number of Vouchers allocated to a Landowner 
Association will be [initially ]calculated using the formula in 
Subsection (2), [then reduced by 20%, ]rounded up to the nearest 
whole number[;]. 
[ (iii)  an equivalent number of public hunters to the number 
of Vouchers reduced by 20%, rounded up to the nearest whole 
number shall be provided complete access to hunt all Landowner 
Association's Private Lands at no charge for the species and during 
the season dates identified on the limited entry permit; and] 
 (c)  Limited Entry Landowner Association Program Permit 
Vouchers are not valid for: 
 (i)  multi-season hunting opportunities; 
 ([iv]ii)[  the division will notify the lowest draw numbers 
of public hunters in that unit who will be given access to]  private 
land not enrolled in the Landowner Association['s Private Lands 
pursuant to this section.]; or 
[ (c)  Vouchers are not valid for:] 
[ (i)  multi-season hunting opportunities; or] 
 ([ii]iii)  late season limited entry buck deer permits on a 
general season unit. 
 (6)(a)[(i)]  Public draw permit holders specified in 
Subsection (5)(a) will have access to all enrolled Landowner 
Association lands for the entirety of the hunt[;]. 
 ([ii]b)[  the](i)  The Landowner Association will be 
responsible for ensuring those public draw permit holders identified 
in [paragraph]Subsection (5)(a) [above ]are given access to all private 
lands; and 

 ([iii]ii)  Landowner Associations may determine how to 
disperse public hunters by seasons. If all public hunters are in one 
season it will be the any-weapon season. 
 ([b]c)  The Landowner Association must provide a written 
copy of its guidelines used to regulate a permit holder's conduct as a 
guest on the Landowner Association land. These guidelines will go 
through the RAC and Wildlife Board process to ensure they are fair 
and reasonable. 
 (7)  Performance metrics will be established by the 
division, with recommendations from the Landowner Association 
Advisory Committee, to determine if the purposes of the program are 
being met. 
 
R[657-43-6]657-43-10.  Limited Entry Landowner Association 
Program Permits -- Application. 
 (1)  Applications for a limited entry Landowner 
Association certificate of registration are available at division offices 
and on the division website. 
 (2)  Applications must include: 
 (a)  total acres providing habitat for the species in question 
that are participating in the Landowner Association; 
 (b)  signature of each of the Landowners within the 
Landowner Association including acres owned, with said signature 
serving as an affidavit certifying ownership; 
 (c)  a copy of the Landowner Association's Governing 
Documents; 
 (d)  a digital map of the Private Lands participating in the 
Landowner Association and indicating the Private Lands which serve 
as habitat for the species in question; and 
 (e)  a non-refundable handling fee. 
 (3)  The division may aid the Landowner Association in 
preparing the application, but the division is not responsible for errors 
in the application or a failure to properly or completely submit an 
application. 
 (4)  Applications must be completed and submitted to the 
regional division office managing the limited entry hunting unit 
where the Landowner Association is located by September 1 of the 
year before the hunting is to occur. 
 (5)  The division shall review the application and determine 
its completeness and formulate a recommendation[;]: 
 (a)  the division may reject any application that is 
incomplete or completed incorrectly; and 
 (b)  [a]Applicants must notify the division in writing 
regarding any changes to the substance of their application while it is 
under consideration, or it may be considered incomplete or incorrect. 
 (6)  After evaluating the application, the Wildlife Board 
shall consider: 
 (a)  the contents of the application; 
 (b)  the division's recommendation; and 
 (c)  any violations of  Title 23A, the Wildlife Resources 
[Code]Act, by the Landowner Association, its operator, its president, 
or any of its members that would reasonably influence whether the 
[a]Applicant should be approved to participate in the program. 
 (7)  Upon receiving the application and recommendation 
from the division, the Wildlife Board may: 
 (a)  authorize the issuance of a three-year certificate of 
registration allowing the Landowner Association to operate; or 
 (b)  deny or partially deny the application and provide the 
Landowner Association with reasons for the decision. 
 (8)(a)  The certificate of registration for a Landowner 
Association must be renewed every three years through the process 
outlined in this rule. 
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 (b)  In evaluating a certificate of registration renewal 
application, the Wildlife Board shall consider: 
 (i)  the Landowner Association's fulfillment of public 
access requirements, if applicable, during the term of the prior 
certificate of registration; 
 (ii)  the Landowner Association's fulfillment of antlerless 
harvest access and success, if a condition of its prior certificate of 
registration; 
 (iii)  the contents of its renewal application; and 
 (iv)  a recommendation provided by the division. 
 (9)  The Wildlife Board may deny a certificate of 
registration application or renewal application if: 
 (a)  the Landowner Association has failed to supply the 
necessary documentation specified in [Subsection]Section R657-43-
6; 
 (b)  a member of the Landowner Association has been 
convicted of a wildlife violation; 
 (c)  the president of the Landowner Association has 
engaged in conduct that results in the conviction of, a plea of no 
contest to, or a plea held in abeyance to a crime of moral turpitude, 
or any other crime that when considered with the functions and 
responsibilities of a Landowner Association president bears a 
reasonable relationship to their ability to responsibly operate a 
Landowner Association; 
 (d)  the Landowner Association has failed to abide by the 
terms of their Governing Documents in a manner that undermines the 
purposes of the program; or 
 (e)  the Landowner Association's president or its designee 
fails to complete mandatory annual training. 
 (10)(a)  An [a]Applicant may appeal a denial of an 
application, renewal application, or request for certificate of 
registration amendment by submitting an appeal to the division 
[D]director. 
 (b)  An appeal must be submitted to the division within 30 
days of receiving the notice of denial. 
 (11)(a)  If a Landowner Association is cited for violating 
this rule, Title 23A, the Wildlife Resources Act, or any other 
proclamation or guidebook by the Wildlife Board, the 
[Division]division may suspend or revoke the Landowner 
Association certificate of registration pursuant to Rule R657-26; and 
 ([a]b)  if an individual landowner who is part of a 
Landowner Association violates this rule, Title 23A, the Wildlife 
Resources Act, or any other proclamation or guidebook by the 
Wildlife Board, the [Division]division may remove the individual 
landowner from the Landowner Association's certificate of 
registration pursuant to Rule R657-26. 
 (12)(a)  The division shall annually review the permit 
types, numbers, and seasons authorized by a certificate of registration 
issued under this section and implement modifications for the 
following hunt season. 
 (b)  Landowner Associations and the [Division]division 
will work cooperatively to achieve desired management directives, 
including antlerless management objectives. 
 (13)(a)  A Landowner Association may petition to amend a 
certificate of registration upon submitting a written request to the 
regional division office where the Landowner Association's Private 
Land is located; and 
 (b)  A Landowner Association shall submit an application 
to amend their certificate of registration for changes in: 
 (i)  the Landowner Association's Governing Documents; or 
 (ii)  acreage; 

 (A)  [if]If during a term of its certificate of registration, a 
Landowner Association's Eligible Property decreases but remains at 
least equal to  50% of the Eligible Property in the limited entry unit, 
such Landowner Association shall submit an amendment outlining 
the new acreage to update their current certificate of registration; or 
 (B)  if during a term of its certificate of registration, a 
Landowner Association's Eligible Property decreases and equals less 
than 50% of the Eligible Property in the limited entry unit, such 
Landowner Association's certificate of registration shall be deemed 
non-compliant and shall terminate at the end of the certificate of 
registration's term; provided, however, such Landowner Association 
may reapply for a certificate of registration as a new application. 
 (iii)  Private Land ownership; or 
 (iv)  any other matter related to the management and 
operation of the Landowner Association not originally included in the 
certificate of registration. 
 (c)  If approved, an amendment to the certificate of 
registration shall be issued in writing. 
 (14)(a)  Upon approval of the certificate of registration, 
Limited Entry Landowner Association Program Permit Vouchers 
may be issued and redeemed to purchase Limited Entry Landowner 
Permits from division offices. 
 (b)  The fee for any Limited Entry Landowner Association 
Program Permit is the same as the cost of similar limited entry buck 
deer, bull elk, or buck pronghorn limited entry permits. 
 (c)  A Landowner receiving a Voucher for a Limited Entry 
Landowner Permit may sell or otherwise transfer such Voucher to any 
legal hunter so long as that person possesses or obtains a Utah 
hunting or combination license. 
 (d)  Any recipient of a Limited Entry Landowner 
Association Program Permit must follow the season dates, weapon 
restrictions, and any other regulation governing the taking of big 
game as specified in Rule R657-5 and the guidebook of the Wildlife 
Board for taking big game. 
 (e)  Nothing in this rule permits the take of more than one 
buck deer, one bull elk, or one buck pronghorn during any one year. 
 
R[657-43-7]657-43-11.  Landowner Association Advisory 
Committee. 
 (1)  A Landowner Association Advisory Committee shall 
be created consisting of seven members nominated by the director 
and approved by the Wildlife Board. 
 (2)  The committee shall include: 
 (a)  two sportsmen representatives; 
 (b)  two landowner representatives; 
 (c)  one agriculture representative; 
 (d)  one at large public representative; and 
 (e)  one Regional Advisory Council chair[person] or 
member. 
 (3)  The committee shall be chaired by the Wildlife Section 
Chief, or their designee, and shall be a non-voting member. 
 (4)  The committee shall: 
 (a)  hear complaints dealing with fair and equitable 
treatment of hunters on Landowner Association lands; 
 (b)  review the operation of the Landowner Association 
program; and 
 (c)  make advisory recommendations to the director and 
Wildlife Board on the matters in Subsections (a)[, (b), (c), (d),] and 
([e]b). 
 (5)(a)  The committee may, after hearing evidence of 
complaints or violations, place a Landowner Association on 
probation. 
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 (b)  A Landowner Association placed on probation status 
must provide the Landowner Association Advisory Committee a plan 
of corrective action to address concerns regarding operation of the 
Landowner Association, and report annually to the Landowner 
Association Committee during the probationary period regarding 
their progress in addressing such concerns. 
 (c)  The Landowner Association Advisory Committee shall 
report to the Wildlife Board any Landowner Association that remains 
on probation during a certificate of registration renewal process. 
 (6)  The Wildlife Section Chief shall determine the agenda, 
time, and location of the meetings. 
 (7)  The director shall set [staggerd]staggered terms of 
appointment of members such that there is rotating representation 
and that all committee members' terms shall expire after four years. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, landowner permits, big game seasons 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 2, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 1, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23A-2-304; 
23A-2-305 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R657-62 Filing ID:  
56249 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R657-62.  Drawing Application Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory 
Council and Wildlife Board meetings conducted annually 
for taking public input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife 

Resources' (Division) rule pursuant to application 
procedures. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed amendments to this rule: 
1)  remove the mandatory Dedicated Hunter orientation 
course; and 
2)  add the process for the Limited Entry Landowner 
Program drawing. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendments to Rule R657-62 are administrative in 
nature, the Division determines that these changes can be 
initiated within the current workload and resources of the 
Division, therefore, the Division believes that these 
amendments can be enacted without a cost or savings 
impact to the state budget or the Division's budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Since the proposed amendments do not require a service 
from local governments, this filing does not create any 
direct or indirect cost or savings impact to local 
governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
non-small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments do not have the potential to create a 
cost impact to those individuals wishing to participate in 
hunting in Utah because there are no additional costs 
associated with the filing. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The Division has determined that this amendment will not 
create additional costs for those participating in hunting in 
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Utah because there are no additional costs associated 
with the filing. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 23A-2-304 Section 23A-2-305  

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Justin Shirley,  
DWR Director 

Date: 12/11/2023 

 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-62.  Drawing Application Procedures. 
R657-62-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under authority of Sections 23A-2-304 and 23A-2-
305, the Wildlife Board has established this rule for drawing 
applications and procedures. 
 (2)  Specific season dates, bag and possession limits, areas 
open, number of permits and other administrative details that may 
change annually are published in the respective guidebooks of the 
Wildlife Board. 
 
R657-62-16.  Dedicated Hunter Certificates of Registration. 
 (1[)(a])  Applicants for a dedicated hunter certificate of 
registration must meet all age requirements, proof of hunter 
education requirements and youth restrictions as provided in Rule 
R657-38. 
[ (b)  Each prospective participant must complete Dedicated 
Hunter program orientation course annually before submitting an 
application.] 
 (2)  Group applications are accepted.  Up to four applicants 
may apply as a group. 
 
R657-62-27.  Unit Wide Landowner Buck Deer Permits. 
 (1)(a)  The division will evaluate draw applications and 
calculate the number of general season hunting opportunities the 
landowner qualifies for per Rule R657-43. 
 (b)  The applicant will be charged a handling fee for every 
draw application, up to 5, that is entered into the drawing. 
 (c)  The division will issue vouchers to the landowner based 
on the drawing results. 
 (d)  The division is not responsible for identifying 
recipients of the vouchers after vouchers are awarded to a landowner 
by the drawing process. 
 (2)  For an individual to redeem the drawn voucher, they 
must: 
 (a)(i)  be the landowner, an immediate family member, or 
lessee. If the Applicant is a business entity, the person eligible for the 
permit must be a shareholder, or immediate family member of a 
shareholder, as designated by the business entity; and 
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 (ii)  non-shareholder employees of the business entity are 
not eligible to receive a general season landowner permit; 
 (b)  possess or obtain a valid hunting or combination 
license; 
 (c)  meet all age requirements, proof of hunter education 
requirements and youth restrictions as provided in Rule R657-5; and 
 (d)  not already obtained a buck deer permit per Section 
R657-62-18. 
 (3)  Any permits remaining after the drawing are available 
at division offices on a first come, first serve basis. 
 
R657-62-28.  Limited Entry Landowner Program -- Lands not 
Participating in a Landowner Association. 
 (1)  Permit applications. 
 (a)  A person must possess or obtain a valid hunting or 
combination license to apply for or obtain a limited entry landowner 
permit. 
 (b)  Applicants must meet all age requirements, proof of 
hunter education requirements and youth restrictions as provided in 
Rule R657-5. 
 (c)  Applicants must meet the requirements pursuant to 
Rule R657-43 to be able to submit a draw application. 
 (d)  The applicant will be charged a handling fee to be 
entered into the drawing. 
 (e)  Applicants will select the season and weapon type for 
their application. 
 (i)  The division will calculate the number of limited entry 
hunting opportunities qualified for per Rule R657-43. 
 (ii)  Voucher allocation will be broken up by season and 
weapon type within that unit. 
 (2)  A random drawing or selection process must be 
conducted for each limited entry permit. 
 (3)  Bonus points are neither awarded nor applied in this 
drawing. 
 (4)  Waiting periods do not apply. 
 (5)  The division will issue voucher to the landowner based 
on the drawing results. 
 (a)  The division is not responsible for identifying 
recipients of the vouchers after vouchers are awarded to a landowner 
by the drawing process. 
 (b)  A landowner or lessee transferring a permit voucher to 
another individual may not receive any form of compensation or 
remuneration for the transfer or for allowing access to the private land 
for hunting on a permit redeemed with that voucher on the landowner 
or lessee's eligible property. 
 (c)  A person may obtain only one permit per species of big 
game, including limited entry, cooperative wildlife management unit, 
once-in-a-lifetime, conservation, landowner and general permits, 
except antlerless permits as provided in the Antlerless Addendum and 
permits as provided in Rule R657-42. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, permits 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 1, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 9, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23A-2-304; 
23A-2-305 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R765-264 Filing ID:  
56252 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-264.  Student Religious Accommodations 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule is to provide a process for any 
student at a Utah System of Higher Education (USHE) 
institution who seeks a religious accommodation in the 
student's scheduling. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule defines religious accommodations made to the 
schedule of a student's course at a USHE institution, 
establishes how a student seeking an accommodation 
shall provide notice, and outlines the circumstances under 
which an institution must grant an accommodation. 
 
This rule does not cover religious accommodations for 
employees or religious accommodation requests beyond 
scheduling. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this rule likely will not materially impact the 
state budget because it does not affect state revenue or 
expenditures. 
 
This rule requires USHE institutions to establish a process 
that each student who seeks a religious accommodation 
in the student's scheduling must follow to obtain an 
accommodation. 
 
The enactment of the rule does not require funding from 
the state since it does not require the institutions to acquire 
additional staff nor incur any set-up costs. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The only persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities who are 
affected by this rule are students who seek a religious 
accommodation in scheduling at a USHE institution. 
 
The enactment of this rule will likely not result in 
expenditures of those affected because this rule does not 
impose fees on them. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any compliance costs imposed on affected persons is 
limited to the time they will expend in following the process 
of seeking a religious accommodation, which is nominal. 
 

There are no fees imposed on affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
53B-27-405 

  

 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 01 85 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 12/11/2023 

 
R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-264.  Student Religious Accommodations. 
R765-264-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule defines religious accommodations made to the 
schedule of a student's course at a Utah system of higher education 
institution, establishes how a student seeking an accommodation 
shall provide notice, and outlines the circumstances under which an 
institution must grant an accommodation. This policy does not cover 
religious accommodations for employees or religious 
accommodation requests beyond scheduling. 
 
R765-264-2.  Authority. 
 Section 53B-27-405 authorizes this rule. 
 
R765-264-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Designated employee" means the person designated 
by an institution to handle requests for religious accommodations. At 
a degree-seeking institution, the designated employee shall be the 
instructor for the course for which a student seeks a religious 
accommodation. At a technical college the designated employee may 
be someone given responsibility to work with instructors to address 
requests for religious accommodations. 
 (2)  "Institution" means an institution of higher education 
under Subsection 53B-2-101(1). 
 (3)(a)  "Religious accommodation" means a schedule 
modification of an examination or academic requirement because of 
the student's faith, conscience, or participation in an organized 
activity under the student's religious tradition or religious 
organization. 
 (b)  "Religious accommodation" may include rescheduling 
or providing a make-up exam, rescheduling a student's in-class 
presentation, allowing a make-up assignment to substitute for missed 
class work, changing a course assignment's due date, or excusing an 
absence from the course. 
 (4)  "Religious tradition" means a religious, non-religious, 
theistic, or non-theistic moral or ethical tradition. 
 (5)  "Sincerely held belief" means a religious, non-
religious, theistic, or non-theistic moral or ethical belief. 
 (6)  "Undue hardship" means significant difficulty. 

R765-264-4.  Religious Accommodations. 
 (1)  Each institution shall reasonably accommodate a 
student's absence from an examination or other academic 
requirement if the student provides a written notice to the designated 
employee that the date and time that an examination or academic 
requirement is scheduled creates an undue hardship for the student 
due to the student's sincerely held belief based on the student's: 
 (a)  faith or conscience; or 
 (b)  participation in an organized activity conducted under 
the student's religious tradition or organization. 
 (2)  Each designated employee who receives a student's 
written notice requesting a religious accommodation may: 
 (a)  provide an alternative examination time before or after 
the regularly scheduled examination; or 
 (b)  make any scheduling accommodation for other 
academic requirements related to the accommodation. 
 
R765-264-5.  Institution Requirements for the Religious 
Accommodations Process. 
 Each institution shall: 
 (1)  identify an employee at the institution from whom any 
student can seek information about student religious 
accommodations; 
 (2)  establish a process for a student to request a religious 
accommodation that complies with Section 53B-27-405; and 
 (3)  establish a process for a student to grieve the denial of 
a request for a religious accommodation. 
 
R765-264-6.  Institution's Website. 
 Each institution shall publish the following information on 
its website and update the information annually: 
 (1)  this policy; 
 (2)  the name and contact information of the employee at 
the institution from whom a student can seek information about 
student religious accommodations; 
 (3)  the list of major religious holidays described in Section 
R765-264-9. 
 (4)  a description of the general procedures for a student to 
request a religious accommodation; and 
 (5)  the grievance process described in Section R765-264-
5. 
 
R765-264-7  Confidentiality. 
 Each institution shall require its employees to keep a 
student's request for a religious accommodation and the student's 
beliefs and practices confidential and only share the information 
needed to evaluate or grant the request, or to process a grievance of 
a denial of a request. 
 
R765-264-8  Retaliation Prohibited. 
 Under the institution's antidiscrimination policies, each 
institution shall prohibit its employees and students from engaging in 
retaliation against a student who has requested or is receiving a 
religious accommodation. 
 
R765-264-9  Religious Holidays. 
 By December 1, 2023 and July 1 every year, the Utah Board 
of Higher Education shall distribute to each institution a list of the 
dates of religious holidays for the subsequent two years. A student 
may seek, and an institution may grant, a religious accommodation 
for a holiday that is not on the list. 
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KEY:  Utah Board of Higher Education, Student Religious 
Accommodations 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-27-405 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R765-545 Filing ID:  
56231 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T. 
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-545.  Prohibitions on and Disclosures of Foreign 
Donations to Higher Education Institutions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule is to establish requirements for the 
disclosure of foreign gifts to higher education institutions. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule establishes the threshold for institutions of higher 
education to report foreign gifts and the information that 
must be disclosed in the report. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this rule likely will not materially impact the 
state budget because it does not affect state revenue or 
expenses. 
 
The rule provides only for disclosure reports to be made 
by institutions of higher education. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule  does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not change the regulatory 
burden for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because it 
applies only to the institutions of higher education. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The rule creates an additional report that an institution of 
higher education is required to make to the Utah Board of 
Higher Education. 
 
However, the report is a disclosure of information that the 
institution already has as part of its accounting.  Therefore, 
any compliance cost to the institutions is nominal. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
53B-1-202(5). 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 11/29/2023 

 
R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-545.  Prohibitions on and Disclosures of Foreign Donations 
to Higher Education Institutions. 
R765-545-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule provides direction on required reporting of 
foreign gifts to Utah system of higher education institutions and a 
prohibition on certain funding support. 
 
R765-545-2.  Authority. 
 Subsection 53B-1-202(5) authorizes this rule. 
 
R765-545-3.  Definition. 
 "Gift" means the same as is defined by Subsection 53B-1-
201(4) and does not include payments for contract services, or tuition 
or fees paid for a specific student. 
 
R765-545-4.  Restriction on Accepting Funds. 
 A USHE institution may not seek or accept foreign funding 
support, including gifts, in violation of Subsection 53B-1-202(6). 
 
R765-545-5.  Disclosure Report. 
 (1)  When required by Subsections 53B-1-202(1)(a) and 
(c), a USHE institution shall file a disclosure report with the Office 
of the Commissioner of Higher Education no later than July 31 of 
each year, for the recently concluded fiscal year. The report shall 
include all information required by Subsection 53B-1-202(2). 
 (2)  When determining whether an entity or person is 
foreign, each institution shall make good faith efforts using the 
institution's first-hand knowledge or the best and most reliable 
information that is readily available to it. 
 
KEY:  Utah Board of Higher Education, Foreign Donations. 
Disclosures 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-1-
202(5) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R765-611 Filing ID:  
56230 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T. 
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-611.  Veterans Tuition Gap Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This amendment updates this rule to improve efficiencies 
in the administration of the Veterans Tuition Gap Program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule adds two new definitions and eliminates one; 
expands the ability to use the funds of the program to pay 
for tuition, fees, books, education-related supplies, and a 
housing allowance at an eligible; establishes criteria for a 
student to be eligible; adds a reporting requirement; 
eliminates Free Application for Federal Student Aid 
(FAFSA) financial reporting form training; and makes other 
clarifications. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendment of this rule likely will not materially impact 
the state budget because it does not affect state revenue 
or expenditures. 
 
Although the Veterans Tuition Gap Program is funded by 
appropriations of the Legislature, this rule does not require 
any funding.  This rule only establishes the criteria for 
participating in the grant program. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

The amendment of this rule likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The amendment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The amendment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendment of this rule likely will not change the 
regulatory burden for persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities because it applies only to those 
individuals who wish to participate in the Veterans Tuition 
Gap Program. 
 
Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any compliance costs imposed on affected persons is 
limited to the completion of forms that are required to be 
eligible to participate in the Veterans Tuition Gap Program 
and is nominal. 
 
There are no fees imposed on affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
53B-13b-104(3)(c) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 11/30/2023 

 
R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-611.  Veterans Tuition Gap Program. 
R765-611-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to provide the rules and 
procedures for implementing Title 53B, Chapter 13b, Veterans 
Tuition Gap Program Act. 
 
R765-611-2.  Authority. 
 [This rule is authorized by ]Subsection 53B-13b-104(3)(c) 
authorizes this rule. 
 
R765-611-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Board" means the Utah Board of Higher Education. 
 (2)  ["Eligible institution" means a higher education 
institution that grants baccalaureate degrees and is: 
 (a)  a public institution of higher education described in 
Subsection 53B-2-101(1); or 
 (b)  a private, nonprofit, postsecondary institution that is: 
 (i)  recognized by the Internal Revenue Service or the state; 
 (ii)  located within the state; and 
 (iii)  accredited by an accrediting organization recognized 
by the U.S. Department of Education.]"Education-related supplies" 
means necessary supplies to complete required courses. 
 (3)  ["Eligible student" means a student attending an 
eligible institution who: 
 (a)  is a resident student of the state as established under 
Section 53B-8-102 and Board Policy R512 or exempt from paying 
the nonresident portion of total tuition under Section 53B-8-106; 
 (b)  is a veteran as defined by Section 68-3-12.5; 
 (c)  is unconditionally admitted and currently enrolled in an 
eligible program leading to a bachelor's degree at an eligible 
institution; 
 (d)  is maintaining satisfactory academic progress, as 
defined by the institution, toward the degree in which enrolled; 
 (e)  has exhausted the federal benefit under any veterans 
educational assistance program or such benefits are unavailable; 
 (f)  has not completed a bachelor's degree; 
 (g)  is in the final year of the student's academic 
baccalaureate program; and 
 (h)  has completed the FAFSA to the extent that it will 
benefit the student's ability to maximize financial aid opportunities, 
except that the student may opt out of this requirement due to: 
 (i)  financial ineligibility for any potential grant or other 
financial aid; 
 (ii)  personal privacy concerns; or 
 (iii)  advice of the institution based on its assessment of the 
factors that may impact the student's ability to access maximum 
financial aid opportunities]"Eligible housing allowance" means the 
amount established by each institution for housing. 
 (4)  "FAFSA" means the financial reporting form known as 
Free Application for Federal Student Aid that is administered by the 
U.S. Department of Education to determine the need and eligibility 
of a higher education student for financial aid. 
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 (5)  ["Institutional Participation agreement" means a 
written agreement between the program administrator and an eligible 
institution that is needed for the eligible institution to participate in 
VeT Gap]"OCHE" means the Office of the Commissioner of Higher 
Education. 
[ (6)  "Program administrator" means the Associate 
Commissioner for Student Financial Aid, or a person designated in a 
formal delegation of authority by the Associate Commissioner, under 
executive direction of the Commissioner of Higher Education.] 
 ([7]6)  "VeT Gap" means Veterans Tuition Gap Program 
established under Section 53B-13b-103. 
 
R765-611-4.  Program Description and Length of Award Year. 
 (1)  VeT Gap [is a state supplement grant to provide tuition 
assistance ]may cover tuition, fees, books, education-related 
supplies, and a housing allowance at an eligible institution for 
veterans who are attending institutions of higher education in Utah 
and whose benefits under the federal program have been exhausted 
or are not available. 
 (2)  [This program]VeT Gap shall be [only ]available only 
to [eligible]higher education institutions that grant 
[baccalaureate]bachelor's degrees. 
 (3)  OCHE shall determine the maximum amount for 
education-related supplies each year. 
 (4)  Based on available program funds, OCHE may 
establish a fixed cap for the housing allowance or a percentage of the 
equivalent housing allowance amount allowed under the GI Bill. 
 ([2]5)  The award year for VeT Gap [is]shall be the twelve-
month period coinciding with the state fiscal year beginning July 1 
and ending June 30. 
 ([3]6)  An eligible student may receive a VeT Gap grant 
until[ the earlier of the following occurs]: 
 (a)  the eligible student completes the requirements for a 
bachelor's degree; or 
 (b)  [12 months from the beginning of the initial academic 
term for which ]the eligible student receives an initial program grant 
for the maximum award amount set by the board. 
 
R765-611-5.  Availability of Program Funds. 
 (1)  Funds available for VeT Gap allocations to eligible 
institutions may come from specifically earmarked state 
appropriations, or from other sources such as private contributions.[ 
An eligible institution's ability to participate in VeT Gap shall be 
determined each year as follows:] 
 ([a]2)  To participate in VeT Gap, each eligible 
institution[Annually, by March 1st, the director of financial aid of an 
eligible institution, in consultation with the institution's veterans 
affairs officer,] shall demonstrate its intention to continue 
[participation]participating in VeT Gap by submitting annually, by 
March 1st, to the program administrator a certification, subject to 
audit, of the total number of veterans who were resident students of 
the state under Section 53B-8-102 and Board Policy R512 who have 
graduated from the institution with a [baccalaureate]bachelor's 
degree in the most recently completed academic year. 
 ([b]3)  An eligible institution's [F]failure to submit the 
certification required in Subsection ([1)(a]2) by the requested date 
shall constitute an automatic decision by the eligible institution to not 
participate in the program for the next fiscal year. 
 

R765-611-6.  Allocation of Program Funds to Eligible 
Institutions. 
 (1)  Allocation of program funds to an eligible institution 
shall be based on the proportion of the institution's Utah resident 
students who are veterans who graduated with a baccalaureate degree 
in the most recently completed academic year when compared to the 
total population of such students in each of the other eligible 
institutions that are participating in VeT Gap that year.[  For example, 
a particular eligible institution's number of Utah resident students 
who are veterans and graduated with a baccalaureate degree during 
the most recently completed academic year divided by the total 
number of Utah resident students who are veterans and graduated 
from each of the other participating eligible institutions with a 
baccalaureate degree during the most recently completed academic 
year equals the percent of VeT Gap funds allocated to that particular 
eligible institution.] 
 (2)  The program administrator shall send official 
notification of each participating eligible institution's allocation to the 
institution's director of financial aid each fiscal year. 
 
R765-611-7.  Student Eligibility to Participate. 
 (1)  To be eligible for assistance from VeT Gap funds, each 
student shall: 
 (a)  be a resident student of the state under Section 53B-8-
102 and Board Policy R512, or exempt from paying the nonresident 
portion of total tuition under Section 53B-8-106; 
 (b)  be a veteran as defined by Section 68-3-12.5; 
 (c)  be unconditionally admitted and currently enrolled in 
an eligible program leading to a bachelor's degree at an eligible 
institution; 
 (d)  maintain satisfactory academic progress, as defined by 
the institution, toward the degree in which the student is enrolled; 
 (e)  have exhausted the federal benefit under any veterans' 
educational assistance program or such benefits are unavailable; 
 (f)  have not completed a bachelor's degree; 
 (g)  be in the final year of the student's academic bachelor's 
program; and 
 (h)  have completed the FAFSA as required by Board 
Policy R623. 
 
R765-611-[7]8.  Institutional Participation Agreement. 
 Each participating eligible institution shall enter into an 
institutional participation agreement with the program administrator 
or assigned designee and agree to abide by the program rules, accept 
and disburse funds per program rules, and [retain]keep 
documentation for the program to support the awards and actions 
taken. 
 
R765-611-[8]9.  Use of Program Funds Received by an Eligible 
Institution. 
 (1)  An eligible institution may at its discretion place up to, 
but in no case more than, 3.0% of the total amount of program funds 
allocated to it for the award year in a budget for student financial aid 
administrative expenses of the institution. 
 (2)  If an eligible institution determines that it cannot use 
any portion of its VeT Gap allocation in an award year, the institution 
may return that portion of its allocation to the program administrator 
and the program administrator may redistribute the returned funds to 
other eligible institutions that it determines have unmet needs for that 
same award year. 
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 (3)  An eligible institution may not carry forward or carry 
back from one fiscal year to another any of its VeT Gap allocation for 
a fiscal year.[ Any unused funds shall be returned to the program 
administrator as directed. Returned] 
 (4)  OCHE may redistribute forfeited funds [shall be 
redistributed ]to other eligible institutions mid-year or as regular VeT 
Gap allocations [for disbursement ]the next award year. 
 ([4]5)  An eligible institution may establish processes to 
determine the distribution of funds to students so long as it does so in 
accordance with the provisions established in this rule. 
 
R765-611-[9]10.  Determination of Awards to Eligible Students. 
 (1)  Each eligible institution shall establish [S]student cost 
of attendance budgets[ shall be established by the eligible institution], 
in accordance with [20 U.S.C. Sec. 1087ll]federal regulations 
applicable to student aid programs under Title IV of the Higher 
Education Act as amended, for specific student categories authorized 
in the federal regulations, and providing for the total of costs payable 
to the institution plus other direct educational expenses, 
transportation and living expenses. 
 (2)  An eligible institution may not award VeT Gap funds 
to [A]an eligible student [who receives a program grant may only use 
the grant toward]in excess of the total amount of the student's tuition, 
fees, [and ]books, education-related supplies, and a housing 
allowance at an eligible institution for that academic year. 
 (3)  Each eligible institution shall: 
 (a)  award and package VeT Gap funds [shall be awarded 
and packaged ]on an annual award year basis unless the remaining 
period of enrollment until completion of the academic program is less 
than one award year[.]; 
 (b)  pay VeT Gap [F]funds [shall be paid ]one quarter or 
semester at a time or in thirds, if applicable to some other enrollment 
basis such as total months or total clock hours, contingent upon the 
student's maintaining satisfactory progress as defined by the 
institution in published policies or rules[.]; and 
 ([4]c)  make [E]each award under the program [shall be 
made ]in accordance with the non-discrimination requirements of 34 
C.F.R. Part 100. 
[ (5)  Each eligible student receiving financial aid under the 
program shall be required to agree in writing to use the funds received 
for expenses covered in the student's cost of attendance budget. The 
student's signature on the FAFSA shall satisfy this requirement.] 
[ (6)  If the eligible institution determines, after opportunity 
for a hearing on appeal according to established institutional 
procedures, that an eligible student used VeT Gap funds for other 
purposes, the institution shall disqualify the student from VeT Gap 
eligibility beginning with the quarter, semester or other defined 
enrollment period after the one in which the determination is made.] 
 ([7]5)  An eligible institution may not initially award 
program funds in amounts which, with Federal Direct, Federal Direct 
PLUS or Perkins Loans or other financial aid from any source, both 
need and merit-based, and with [expected ]family and individual 
contributions, exceed the cost of attendance for the student at the 
institution for the award year. 
 ([8]6)  If, after the eligible student's financial aid has been 
packaged and awarded, the student later receives other financial 
assistance, such as, for example, merit or program-based scholarship 
aid or the student's cost of attendance budget changes, resulting in a 
later over-award of more than $[3]500, the eligible institution shall 
appropriately reduce the amount of financial aid disbursed to the 
student so that the total does not exceed the cost of attendance. 
 

R765-611-[10]11.  Records, Retention and Cooperation in 
Program Reviews. 
 (1)  Each eligible institution shall: 
 (a)  cooperate with [the program administrator]OCHE in 
providing records and information requested for any scheduled audits 
or program reviews[,]; and[ shall] 
 (b)  maintain records substantiating its compliance with all 
terms of the institutional participation agreement for three years after 
the end of the award year, or until completion of a program review 
[has been completed ]and any exceptions raised in the review have 
been resolved, whichever occurs first. 
 (2)  If at the end of the three-year retention period, an audit 
or program review exception is pending resolution, the institution 
shall [retain ]keep records for the award year involved until the 
institution has resolved the exception[ has been resolved]. 
 
R765-611-12.  Reporting. 
 (1)  As specified by OCHE, each institution shall provide, 
as part of an annual institutional financial aid file submission by 
February 28 of each year, data pertaining to applications, awards, 
program enrollments, utilization, funding, and other scholarship 
information for the most recently completed fiscal year. 
 (2)  For each institution that does not participate in the 
annual institutional financial aid file submission, data shall be 
submitted directly to OCHE no later than June 30 each year. 
 (3)  OCHE may, at any time, request additional 
documentation or data related to the scholarship program and may 
review or formally audit an institution's documentation and 
compliance with this rule. 
 
[R765-611-11.  FAFSA Training. 
 To assist eligible students with the FAFSA requirement, 
each institution shall ensure that: 
 (1)  each institution advisor encourages, to the extent 
practicable, each eligible student to annually complete the FAFSA; 
and 
 (2)  the staff and faculty who advise eligible students on 
financial aid are properly trained on the benefits of completing the 
FAFSA.] 
 
KEY:  financial aid, higher education, veterans benefits 
Date of Last Change:  2024[January 20, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 27, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-13b-
104(3); 53B-8-102; 53B-8-106; Pub. L. No. 110-252 
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Number: 

R765-612 Filing ID:  
56253 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-612.  Opportunity Scholarship 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule is to establish procedures for the 
Opportunity Scholarship program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule outlines award requirements, application 
procedures, and other information for the Opportunity 
Scholarship. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this rule likely will not materially impact the 
state budget because it does not affect state revenue or 
expenditures. 
 
Although the Opportunity Scholarship is funded by 
appropriations of the Legislature, this rule does not require 
any funding.  This rule only establishes the criteria for 
participating in the scholarship program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 

D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule applies only to those individuals who wish to 
participate in the Opportunity Scholarship program. 
 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in a financial 
burden for these individuals because it does not impose 
any fees on them. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any compliance costs for affected persons will be limited 
to the time that they will expend to participate in the 
Opportunity Scholarship program, which is nominal. 
 
There are no fees imposed on affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 53B-8-201   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 12/14/2023 

 
R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-612.  Opportunity Scholarship. 
R765-612-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule outlines award requirements, application 
procedures, and other information for the Opportunity Scholarship. 
 
R765-612-2.  Authority. 
 Section 53B-8-201 authorizes this rule. 
 
R765-612-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Advanced course" means a course offered via 
concurrent enrollment or CE, advanced placement or AP, or 
international baccalaureate or IB, and identified by the Utah State 
Board of Education as earning core credit in the required subject area. 

 (2)  "Board" means the Utah Board of Higher Education. 
 (3)  "Eligible institution" means a degree-granting 
institution of higher education listed in Section 53B-2-102, or a Utah 
private, nonprofit postsecondary institution that is accredited by a 
regional accrediting organization recognized by the board. 
 (4)  "Excusable neglect" means a failure to take proper 
steps at the proper time, not as a result of willful disregard of the 
scholarship application process, but as a result of some unexpected 
or unavoidable circumstances. 
 (5)  "Good cause" means the applicant's failure to meet a 
scholarship application process requirement was due to 
circumstances beyond the student's control or circumstances that are 
compelling and reasonable. 
 (6)  "High school" means a Utah public school established 
by the board or a private high school accredited by a regional 
accrediting body approved by the board. 
 (7)  "Scholarship appeals committee" means a committee 
designated by the Commissioner of Higher Education to review 
appeals of Opportunity Scholarship award decisions and take final 
agency action regarding awards. 
 (8)  "Scholarship award" means a scholarship awarded to 
each applicant who meets the eligibility requirements of Section 
R765-612-4. 
 (9)  "Scholarship staff" means the employees assigned to 
review Opportunity Scholarship applications and make decisions 
awarding the scholarships. 
 (10)  "Substantial compliance" means the applicant, in 
good faith, demonstrated clear intent to comply with the scholarship 
application requirements and has demonstrated likely eligibility, but 
failed to precisely comply with the application specifics. 
 
R765-612-4.  Award Requirements. 
 (1)  To qualify for the Opportunity Scholarship, the 
applicant shall satisfy the following criteria: 
 (a)  graduate from a Utah high school with a minimum, 
non-weighted GPA of 3.3; 
 (b)  complete one advanced Mathematics course; 
 (c)  complete one advanced Language Arts course; 
 (d)  complete one advanced Science course; and 
 (e)  complete and submit either the Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid or the alternative financial form approved by the 
board. 
 (2)  Under Section 63G-12-402, verification of lawful 
presence in the United States is 
not required to be eligible for a scholarship under this rule. 
 (3)  A student who graduated from a Utah high school in 
2022 may alternatively qualify for the Opportunity Scholarship if the 
student satisfies the following criteria: 
 (a)  graduate from a Utah high school with a minimum, 
non-weighted GPA of 3.3; 
 (b)  complete four credits of English; 
 (c)  complete four credits of math, including one course of 
advanced math; 
 (d)  complete three credits of lab-based biology, chemistry, 
and physics; 
 (e)  complete two credits of world languages; 
 (f)  complete three credits of social science; and 
 (g)  complete and submit either the Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid or the scholarship alternative financial form 
available. 
 (4)  For purposes of Subsections R765-612-4(1)(b) and 
R765-612-4(3)(c), advanced mathematics means any of the 
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following courses: pre-calculus, calculus, statistics, AP calculus AB, 
AP calculus BC, AP statistics, college courses Math 1030 and higher, 
IB Math SL, HL, and Further Math. 
 (5)  The following requirements apply only to a student 
who graduated from a Utah high school in 2022: 
 (a)  Each student must apply for the Opportunity 
Scholarship using the eligibility criteria in either Subsection R765-
612-4(1) or Subsection R765-612-4(2) exclusively. 
 (b)  The student may not qualify for the Opportunity 
Scholarship by mixing courses from both sets of criteria in 
Subsections R765-612-4(1) and R765-612-4(2). 
 (c)  Because the courses listed in Subsections R765-612-
4(1) and R765-612-4(2) are not always analogous, each student who 
graduated in 2022 shall confirm the courses the student is completing 
meet the eligibility requirements under the subsection through which 
the student elects to apply. 
 (6)  An award recipient shall enroll at an eligible institution 
full time, as defined by the institution, beginning with the fall 
semester after high school graduation. 
 (7)  The institution which the student attends shall verify 
the recipient has met the enrollment requirements before disbursing 
payment. 
 
R765-612-5.  Application Procedures. 
 (1)  Each applicant shall submit an official scholarship 
application no later than February 1 of the year that the student 
graduates from high school. 
 (2)  The board may establish a priority deadline each year. 
 (3)(a)  The scholarship staff may give each applicant who 
meets the priority deadline first priority or consideration for the 
scholarship. 
 (b)  Subject to funding, the scholarship staff may consider 
each student based on the date the student completed and submitted 
the student's application. 
 (c)  Additional criteria to prioritize awarding may be 
established by the board. 
 (4)  Each applicant shall submit the following documents: 
 (a)  the online Opportunity Scholarship application; 
 (b)  a completed online Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid or the board approved financial form; and 
 (c)  if graduating from a private high school in Utah, an 
official high school transcript. 
 (5)  If there is an error with the student's transcript, the 
student shall work with the student's high school or district to rectify 
the information to complete the application. 
 
R765-612-6.  Award Amounts and Ongoing Eligibility. 
 (1)  The board shall determine eligibility criteria and 
maximum award amounts annually, based on legislative 
appropriations and the number of eligible applicants. 
 (2)  Each student who meets the eligibility criteria shall 
receive up to a four-semester scholarship award. 
 (3)  Each institution shall determine individual recipient 
award amounts in accordance with Subsection 53B-8-201(3). 
 (4)  If a student receives an award disbursement, the 
recipient must enroll at an eligible institution full time and maintain 
satisfactory academic progress as defined by the institution to remain 
eligible for any future disbursement. 
 (5)  Each institution shall verify the recipient has met the 
requirements of Subsection (3). 
 (6)  Each recipient who does not maintain eligibility shall 
forfeit any remaining award amount. 

R765-612-7.  Time Limitations and Deferrals. 
 (1)  Each recipient may only receive scholarship funds: 
 (a)  for five years after the recipient's high school 
graduation date; or 
 (b)  for academic semesters that begin within five years 
after the recipient's high school graduation date. 
 (2)  Each recipient who will not enroll as a student shall 
apply for a deferral or leave of absence with the recipient's institution. 
 (3)  An approved deferral or leave of absence may not 
extend the time limits of the scholarship. 
 (4)  A recipient who elects to attend a USHE technical 
college may defer the Opportunity Scholarship during that period of 
enrollment subject to the time limitations of Subsection R765-612-
7(1). 
 
R765-612-8.  Transfers. 
 (1)  Each recipient may transfer to another eligible 
institution and keep the scholarship award. 
 (2)  Each recipient who transfers to another eligible 
institution and who desires to keep the scholarship award shall inform 
the institution from which the recipient transfers and the institution 
to which the recipient is transferring of the recipient's intent to 
transfer. 
 (3)  Each institution shall: 
 (i)  coordinate the transfer of scholarship funds and 
information; and 
 (ii)  report this information to the Office of the 
Commissioner of Higher Education. 
 
R765-612-9.  Appeals. 
 (1)  Each applicant shall have the right to appeal an adverse 
decision. 
 (2)  When the scholarship staff denies eligibility, they shall 
issue a written determination that includes instructions on how to file 
an appeal. 
 (3)  The applicant shall submit a written appeal to the 
scholarship appeals committee within 30 days of the date on which 
the scholarship staff's adverse decision was issued. 
 (4)  In the appeal, the applicant shall provide: 
 (a)  the applicant's contact information; 
 (b)  the high school that the applicant attended; 
 (c)  a statement of the reason for the appeal; and 
 (d)  all information or evidence that supports the appeal. 
 (5)  The scholarship appeals committee may not consider 
an appeal filed before the applicant receives official notification from 
the scholarship staff of their decision. 
 (6)  If an applicant fails to file the appeal on time, the 
scholarship appeals committee shall notify the applicant of the late 
filing and give the applicant an opportunity to provide a written 
explanation of the reasons for failing to file the appeal by the 
deadline. 
 (7)  The scholarship appeals committee may not have 
jurisdiction to consider the merits of an appeal that is filed beyond 
the deadline unless it determines the applicant established excusable 
neglect. 
 (8)  The scholarship appeals committee shall review the 
appeal to determine if the scholarship staff's decision was made in 
error, or if the applicant demonstrated substantial compliance with 
the scholarship application requirements but failed to meet one or 
more requirements for good cause. 
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 (9)  If the scholarship appeals committee determines the 
applicant has shown by a preponderance of the evidence that the 
scholarship staff's decision was made in error, the scholarship appeals 
committee shall either reverse the decision or remand it back to the 
scholarship staff for further review in accordance with the 
scholarship appeals committee's instructions. 
 (10)  If the scholarship appeals committee determines the 
applicant has shown by a preponderance of the evidence that the 
applicant demonstrated substantial compliance with the application 
process requirements and good cause for failing to meet one or more 
of the requirements, the scholarship appeals committee may grant the 
applicant a reasonable period to complete the remaining requirements 
and to resubmit the completed application to the scholarship staff for 
a redetermination or grant the application eligibility for an award. 
 (11)  The scholarship appeals committee's decision shall be 
in writing and contain: 
 (a)  the scholarship appeals committee's findings of facts, 
reasoning, and conclusions of law; and 
 (b)  notice of the applicant's right to judicial review. 
 (12)  The scholarship appeals committee's decision 
represents the final agency action. 
 (13)  An applicant who disagrees with the scholarship 
appeal committee's decision may seek judicial review in accordance 
with Section 63G-4-402. 
 
R765-612-10.  Reporting. 
 (1)  As specified by the Office of the Commissioner of 
Higher Education, each institution shall provide, as part of an annual 
institutional financial aid file submission by February 28 of each 
year, data pertaining to applications, awards, program enrollments, 
utilization, funding, and other technical education scholarship 
information for the most recently completed fiscal year. 
 (2)  The Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education 
or the board may, at any time, request additional documentation or 
data related to the Opportunity Scholarship program and may review 
or formally audit an institution's documentation and compliance with 
this rule. 
 
KEY:  Utah Board of Higher Education, Opportunity 
Scholarship Program, Student Financial Aid 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-8-201 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
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Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-614.  Public Safety Officer Career Advancement 
Grant Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule is to establish requirements for the 
administration of the Public Safety Officer Career 
Advancement Grant (PSOCAG) Program established 
under Section 53B-8-112. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule outlines the application process and procedures 
for the PSOCAG Program. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this rule likely will not materially impact the 
state budget because it does not affect state revenue or 
expenditures. 
 
Although the PSOCAG Program is funded by 
appropriations of the Legislature, this rule does not require 
any funding. 
 
This rule only establishes the criteria for participating in the 
grant program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
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Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not change the regulatory 
burden for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because it 
applies only to those individuals who wish to benefit from 
the PSOCAG Program. 
 
Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any compliance costs imposed on affected persons are 
limited to the completion of forms that are required to be 
eligible to participate in the PSOCAG Program and is 
nominal. 
 
There are no fees imposed on affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
53B-8-112. 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 11/30/2023 
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R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-614.  Public Safety Officer Career Advancement Grant 
Program. 
R765-614-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule outlines the application process and procedures 
for the Public Safety Officer Career Advancement Grant Program. 
 
R765-614-2.  Authority. 
 Section 53B-8-112 authorizes this rule. 
 
R765-614-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "FAFSA" means the Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid. 
 (2)  "Post-Secondary Degree" means an associate, 
bachelor's, master's, or doctoral degree. 
 (3)  "PSOCAG" means the Public Safety Officer Career 
Advancement Grant Program. 
 (4)  "PSOCAR" means the Public Safety Officer Career 
Advancement Reimbursement Program. 
 
R765-614-4.  Qualifications. 
 (1)  To qualify for PSOCAG, an applicant shall be: 
 (a)  a certified peace officer; 
 (b)  currently employed by a Utah law enforcement agency; 
and 
 (c)  seeking a post-secondary degree in a criminal justice-
related program from a USHE institution. 
 (2)  Institutions shall annually revise and publish eligibility 
criteria in all publications referencing the grant. 
 (3)  A student who receives the Karen Mayne Public Safety 
Officer Scholarship Program, as described in Section 53B-8-112.5, is 
not eligible to participate in PSOCAG for the same degree. 
 
R765-614-5.  Application Process. 
 (1)  Each institution shall establish processes for receiving 
and reviewing applications and distributing awards consistent with 
this policy and shall set application deadlines that accommodate both 
full-time and part-time students. 
 (2)  The application described in Subsection (1) shall 
include: 
 (a)  information about other means an applicant may 
finance the applicant's education; and 
 (b)  a notice to students that the amount of the award is 
subject to available funding and may be reduced. 
 (3)  Each applicant must complete and submit: 
 (a)  the FAFSA in accordance with Board Policy R623, Free 
Application for Federal Student Aid; 
 (b)  the application; and 
 (c)  include all required documentation requested by the 
institution. 
 
R765-614-6.  Grant Amounts. 
 (1)  Subject to funding, each institution may grant each 
qualified applicant up to the cost of tuition and fees with a maximum 
of $5,000 each academic year. 
 (2)  A student may participate in PSOCAG for a maximum 
of four academic years. 
 
R765-614-7.  Distribution of Funds to Institutions. 
 The board shall allocate 50% of program funds to eligible 
institutions equally and allocate the remaining 50% of program funds 
in proportion to each eligible institution's percentage of total 

PSOCAR or PSOCAG awards by all participating institutions in the 
most recently completed award year. 
 
R765-614-8.  Appeals. 
 An applicant has the right to appeal an adverse decision. 
Upon the applicant's request, the institution shall provide an 
opportunity that aligns with institutional policy for the student to 
appeal an adverse decision. 
 
R765-614-9.  Reporting. 
 (1)  As specified by OCHE, each institution shall provide, 
as part of an annual institutional financial aid file submission by 
February 28 of each year, data pertaining to applications, awards, 
program enrollments, utilization, funding, and other scholarship 
information for the most recently completed fiscal year. 
 (2)  OCHE may, at any time, request additional 
documentation or data related to the scholarship program and may 
review or formally audit an institution's documentation and 
compliance with this rule. 
 
KEY:  Utah Board of Higher Education, Public Safety Officer 
Career Advancement Grant Program, Student Financial Aid 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-8-112 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R765-616 Filing ID:  
56233 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-616.  Adult Learner Grant Program 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule is to provide financial assistance 
for adult learners pursuing an online degree in a field of 
industry need. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule establishes the criteria for being eligible to 
participate in the Adult Learner Grant Program. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this rule likely will not materially impact the 
state budget because it does not affect state revenue or 
expenditures. 
 
Although the Adult Learner Grant Program is funded by 
appropriations of the Legislature, this rule does not require 
any funding. 
 
This rule only establishes the criteria for participating in the 
grant program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not change the regulatory 
burden for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because it 
applies only to those individuals who wish to benefit from 
the Adult Learner Grant Program. 
 

Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any compliance costs imposed on affected persons are 
limited to the completion of forms that are required to be 
eligible to participate in the Adult Learner Grant Program 
and is nominal. 
 
There are no fees imposed on affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah State Board of Higher 
Education, Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
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Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
53B-13c-102(2). 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 11/30/2023 

 
R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-616.  Adult Learner Grant Program. 
R765-616-1.  Purpose. 
 To provide financial assistance for adult learners pursuing 
an online degree in a field of industry need. 
 
R765-616-2.  Authority. 
 Subsection 53B-13c-102(2) authorizes this rule. 
 
R765-616-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Board" means the Utah Board of Higher Education. 
 (2)(a)  "Cost of attendance" means the estimated costs 
associated with taking an online course, as established by an eligible 
institution in accordance with board policies. 
 (b)  "Cost of attendance" includes tuition, costs payable to 
the eligible institution, and other direct educational expenses related 
to taking an online course. 
 (3)  "Eligible institution" means an institution that offers a 
postsecondary level course of instruction using digital technology. 
 (4)  "Eligible Student" means a student who meets the 
eligibility criteria established in Section R765-616-4. 
 (5)  "Fiscal year" means the fiscal year of the state. 
 (6)  "Institution" means an institution described in Section 
53B-1-102 or a Utah private, nonprofit postsecondary institution that 
is accredited by a regional accrediting organization that the board 
recognizes. 
 (7)  "OCHE" means the Office of the Commissioner of 
Higher Education. 

 (8)  "Online course" means a postsecondary level course of 
instruction offered by an eligible institution using digital technology. 
 (9)  "Program" means a sequence of online courses that lead 
to a certificate or other recognized educational credential that; 
 (a)  is made up of only online courses, meaning a student 
can complete the program through online course offerings; and 
 (b)  prepares students for employment in four-star or five-
star jobs as defined by the Department of Workforce Services. 
 (10)  "Tuition" means tuition and fees at the rate charged 
for residents of the state. 
 
R765-616-4.  Grant Eligibility. 
 (1)  To be eligible for a grant under this section, each 
student shall: 
 (a)  be 26 years or older; 
 (b)  be enrolled in an online program at an eligible 
institution in a field designed to meet industry needs and leading to a 
certificate or other recognized educational credential; 
 (c)  be a Utah resident as determined by the board's Policy 
R512; 
 (d)  complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid; 
and 
 (e)  demonstrate financial need by being eligible for a Pell 
Grant. 
 (2)  The board shall prioritize grant funding for each 
student who is: 
 (a)  from a rural area of the state, as defined by the Utah 
Department of Health and Human Services, which includes all 
counties except Utah, Salt Lake, Davis & Weber; 
 (b)  a member of a racial or ethnic minority; 
 (c)  classified as low income; or 
 (d)  pursuing education in degree programs aligned to four- 
or five- star jobs as established by the Department of Workforce 
Services. 
 
R765-616-5.  Process for Allocating Grant Funding to Eligible 
Institutions. 
 The Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education shall 
allocate the funding based on the proportional number of graduates 
from eligible programs at participating institutions in the most recent 
year for which data is available on or before July 1 of each year. 
 
R765-616-6.  Process for Awarding Grants to Eligible Students. 
 (1)  An eligible institution that receives grant funding shall 
be responsible for establishing a process to award grants along with 
other financial aid. 
 (2)  When establishing a process for award grants, the 
institution shall: 
 (a)  award grants on an annual basis and distribute grant 
money on a quarter or semester basis; 
 (b)  except as provided in Subsection R765-616-4(2)(b), 
award grants without regard to an applicant's race, creed, color, 
religion, sex, or ancestry; 
 (c)  ensure the total sum of program grant, and financial aid 
from any source, do not exceed the cost of attendance for an eligible 
student at an eligible institution for a fiscal year; 
 (d)  determine award amounts within the minimum and 
maximum award range as established annually by the board; and 
 (e)  ensure all funds received from the grant are applied 
toward the cost of attendance. 
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R765-616-7.  Process for Allocating Grant Funding to Eligible 
Institutions Reporting. 
 (1)  As specified by OCHE, each institution shall provide, 
as part of an annual institutional financial aid file submission by 
February 28 of each year, data pertaining to applications, awards, 
program enrollments, utilization, funding, and other scholarship 
information for the most recently completed fiscal year. 
 (2)  For institutions that do not participate in the annual 
institutional financial aid file submission, data shall be submitted 
directly no later than June 30 each year. 
 (3)  OCHE may, at any time, request additional 
documentation or data related to the scholarship program and may 
review or formally audit an institution's documentation and 
compliance with this rule. 
 (4)  The board shall annually report data and information 
collected under this section to the Higher Education Appropriations 
Subcommittee. 
 
KEY:  Utah Board of Higher Education, Adult Learner Grant 
Program, Student Financial Aid 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-13c-102 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R765-620 Filing ID:  
56239 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-620.  Access Utah Promise Scholarship Program 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of the amendment is to update this rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment updates and clarifies the requirements 
for the administration of the Utah Promise Program Grant. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this amendment likely will not materially 
impact the state budget because it does not affect state 
revenue or expenditures. 
 
Although the Utah Promise Program Grant.is funded by 
appropriations of the Legislature, this rule does not require 
any funding. 
 
This rule only establishes the criteria for participating in the 
grant program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this amendment likely will not change the 
regulatory burden for small businesses because it applies 
only to those small businesses that wish to participate in 
the Utah Promise Program Grant. 
 
Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program and the costs are 
nominal. 
 
The amendment does not impose fees on small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this amendment likely will not change the 
regulatory burden for non-small businesses because it 
applies only to those non-small businesses that wish to 
participate in the Utah Promise Program Grant. 
 
Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program and the costs are 
nominal. 
 
The amendment does not impose fees on non-small 
businesses. 
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E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this amendment likely will not change the 
regulatory burden for small businesses because it applies 
only to those individuals and entities that wish to 
participate in the Utah Promise Program Grant. 
 
Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program and the costs are 
nominal. 
 
The amendment does not impose fees on small 
businesses. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any compliance costs imposed on affected persons is 
limited to the completion of forms that are required to be 
eligible to participate in the grant program and is nominal. 
 
The amendment updates and clarifies the requirements for 
participating in the Utah Promise Program Grant. 
 
No fees are imposed on affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 53B, 
Chapter 13a 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 12/01/2023 

 
R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-620.  [Access ]Utah Promise [Scholarship ]Program Grant. 
R765-620-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to  provide the rules and 
procedures for implementing the [Access ]Utah Promise 
[Scholarship ]Program Grant.[  This program provides a statewide 
needs-based scholarship program to expand access to postsecondary 
opportunities for each student who faces financial barriers in paying 
for college.  The program provides an eligible student an award for 
up to full tuition and fees in qualifying circumstances.] 
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R765-620-2.  Authority. 
 [This rule is authorized by Subsections 53B-8-303(8) and 
53B-8-304(5)]Title 53B, Chapter 13a, Utah Promise Program Act, 
authorizes this rule. 
 
R765-620-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Board" means the Utah Board of Higher Education. 
[ (2)  "EFC" means Expected Family Contribution based on 
the Free Application for Federal Student Aid.] 
 (2)  "Cost of attendance" means the estimated costs 
associated with attending an institution, including costs payable to 
the institution for tuition and fees, other direct educational expenses, 
transportation, and living expenses while attending the institution. 
 (3)  "FAFSA" means Free Application for Federal Student 
Aid. 
 ([3]4)  "Institution" means an institution[s] of higher 
education [listed in ]under Subsection 53B-2-101(1). 
[ (4)  "Promise Partner" means an employer that has 
 (a)  applied to the Board, and 
 (b)  established a Memorandum of Understanding with the 
Board.] 
 (4)  "OCHE" means the Office of the Commissioner of 
Higher Education. 
 (5)  "Promise [Scholarship]grant" means [the scholarship 
described in Section 53B-8-303]a grant awarded under Title 53B, 
Chapter 13a, Utah Promise Program Act, and administered under this 
rule. 
 (6)  "Utah Promise Program" means the grant program 
established under Title 53B, Chapter 13a, Utah Promise Program Act. 
 
[R765-620-4.  Scholarship Administration. 
 (1)  To qualify for a Promise Scholarship, an applicant must 
meet the following criteria: 
 (a)  have a high school diploma or equivalent; 
 (b)  not have previously earned an associate degree or 
higher postsecondary degree; 
 (c)  be a resident of the state under Section 53B-8-102 and 
board policy R512. 
 (d)  demonstrate financial need, in accordance with 
Subsections R765-620-4(2) and R765-620-4(7); 
 (e)  accept all other grants, tuition and fee waivers, and 
scholarships offered to the applicant to attend the institution in which 
the applicant enrolls; and 
 (f)  maintain academic good standing as defined by the 
institution at which the applicant attends. 
 (2)  An institution shall establish criteria to assess an 
applicant's financial need.  The criteria shall use quantifiable, needs-
based measures.  For example, institutions may establish a range with 
a minimum and maximum EFC within which an eligible recipient's 
EFC must fall to be eligible for an award.  An institutions shall 
annually revise and publish eligibility criteria by February 1 in all 
publications referencing the scholarship. 
 (3)  The institution may award an amount to each eligible 
recipient up to the cost of published tuition and fees. 
 (4)  When determining the award amount, the institution 
shall first apply the total value of all grants, tuition waivers, fee 
waivers, and scholarships the recipient has received.  The institution 
may then award an amount not to exceed the recipient's remaining 
cost of tuition and fees.  If, after the recipient's aid has been packaged 
and awarded, the recipient later receives other financial assistance of 
more than $500, the institution shall appropriately reduce the amount 

of financial aid disbursed to the recipient so that the total Promise 
Scholarship does not exceed the cost of tuition and fees. 
 (5)  A recipient may receive scholarship funds until the 
earliest of the following events occurs: 
 (a)  two years after the initial award; 
 (b)  the recipient uses the scholarship for four semesters; 
 (c)  the recipient meets the academic qualifications for an 
associate degree; or 
 (d)  for institutions that do not offer an associate degree, a 
recipient earns a cumulative total of 60 credits. 
 (6)  An institutions shall establish an application process 
that an applicant can easily access and complete.  The board may 
require an institution to modify an application form or process that is 
overly cumbersome or confusing. 
 (7)  If an institution does not have enough appropriated 
Promise Scholarship funds or other funding sources to award each 
eligible applicant, it may establish procedures to prioritize which 
applicants will receive awards based on financial need. 
 (8)  An institution shall evaluate a recipient's knowledge, 
skills, and competencies acquired through formal or informal 
education outside the traditional postsecondary academic 
environment, and award appropriate credit for the recipient's prior 
learning. 
 (9)  An institutions may advertise the Promise Scholarship 
under another name.  Any publication about the Promise Scholarship 
shall include disclosure that program funds are limited and subject to 
change. 
 
R765-620-5.  Transfers. 
 (1)  A recipient may transfer to another institution and 
retain eligibility for the scholarship, if the recipient meets the 
qualifications defined in Subsection R765-620-4(2) at the institution 
to which the recipient is transferring.  The recipient is responsible to 
inform the financial aid office at the institution to which the recipient 
is transferring that the recipient is receiving the Promise Scholarship 
at the recipient's current institution. 
 (2)  Each financial aid office at the respective institutions 
shall coordinate the transfer of scholarship information.  Upon 
transfer, the institution shall prioritize the award of any eligible 
recipient before all others awarded in accordance with Subsection 
R765-620-4(7).  The institution to which the recipient is transferring 
shall make adjustments in the recipient's award in accordance with 
Subsection R765-620-4(3). 
 
R765-620-6.  Distribution of Award Funds to Institutions. 
 (1)  As a condition of program participation, an eligible 
institution's financial aid director shall report to the board the total 
dollar amount of Federal Pell Grant funds awarded to resident 
students at the institution for the most recently completed academic 
year by March 1 each year. 
 (2)  An institution that fails to report the total amount of 
Pell Grant funds by March 1 is ineligible to participate in the program 
for the next fiscal year. 
 (3)  The board shall allocate program funds to eligible 
institutions in proportion to each eligible institution's percentage of 
the total Federal Pell Grant funds received for Utah resident students 
in the most recently completed award year by each participating 
institution. 
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R765-620-7.  Deferral or Leave of Absence. 
 (1)  A recipient shall apply for a deferral or leave of absence 
if they do not continuously enroll and wish to continue to receive the 
scholarship. 
 (2)  An institutions shall develop a process for each 
recipient to apply for a deferral or leave of absence, which may be 
granted for military service, humanitarian or religious service, 
documented medical reasons, and other exigent reasons. 
 
R765-620-8.  Utah Promise Partners. 
 (1)  The board, in consultation with the Talent Ready Utah 
Center at the Governor's Office of Economic Development, may 
select employers as Promise Partners whose employees may be 
eligible to receive a partner award.  The board shall establish a 
Memorandum of Understanding with any selected Promise Partner 
that includes requirements related to an employer providing 
reimbursement to an employee who receives an award.  The 
reimbursement of a Promise Partner to a corresponding recipient 
employed by that Promise Partner must be applied during the eligible 
term of the award in accordance with Subsection R765-620-4(4). 
 (2)  An employee is eligible to receive an award in 
accordance with the requirements of Subsection R765-620-4(1) in 
addition to any criteria and limitations established through a 
corresponding Memorandum of Understanding with a Promise 
Partner. 
 (3)  A recipient of an award who is an employee of a 
Promise Partner is subject to the same conditions as any other 
recipient under this rule. 
 
R765-620-9.  Reporting. 
 (1)  During the first year of the program, no later than 
October 1, 2019, a participating institution shall report to the board 
all requested data on Promise Scholarships awarded to date. 
 (2)  Annually, the board shall distribute a Promise 
Scholarship performance report template to the director of financial 
aid of each participating institution before the end of each fiscal year.  
The institution shall submit the completed report by July 31 of each 
year. 
 (3)  The board may, at any time, request additional 
documentation or data related to the Promise Scholarship and may 
review or formally audit an institution's compliance with this rule.  
The institution shall cooperate with the board in providing records 
and information requested for any scheduled audits or program 
reviews.  Each participating institution shall maintain records 
substantiating its compliance with the program's terms for three years 
after the end of the award year, or until a program review has been 
completed and any exceptions raised in the review have been 
resolved, whichever occurs first.  If at the end of the three-year 
retention period, an audit or program review exception is pending 
resolution, the institution shall retain records for the award year 
involved until the exception has been resolved. 
 
R765-620-10.  Institutional Participation Agreement. 
 (1)  Each participating institution shall enter into a written 
agreement with the board or assigned designee agreeing to abide by 
the program rules, accept and disburse funds per program rules, 
provide the required report each year, and retain documentation for 
the program to support the awards and actions taken.  By accepting 
the funds, the participating institution agrees to the additional 
following terms and conditions: 

 (a)  The institution may at its discretion use up to three 
percent of the allocated program funds for its student financial aid 
administrative expenses. 
 (b)  The institution may not carry forward or carry back 
from one award year to another any of its Promise Scholarship 
allocation.  Any exception to this rule must be approved in advance 
by the board.  The institution shall inform the board immediately if it 
determines it will not be able to utilize all program funds allotted to 
it for an award year.  Absent any exception for a carry forward 
amount, each institution shall return unused funds to the board.  The 
board shall redistribute unused funds to the other eligible institutions 
as supplemental Promise Scholarship allocations for disbursement 
during the same award year.  The portion of Promise Scholarship 
allocations budgeted for administrative expenses pursuant to 
Subsection (1)(a) shall not be part of any carryover.] 
R765-620-4.  Qualifications. 
 (1)  To qualify for a promise grant, an applicant shall: 
 (a)  be enrolled at an institution; 
 (b)  be either: 
 (i)  a resident of Utah under Section 53B-8-102 and Board 
Policy R512; or 
 (ii)  qualify for resident tuition under Section 53B-8-106; 
 (c)  demonstrate financial need, in accordance with 
Subsection R765-620-6; 
 (d)  accept all other grants, tuition and fee waivers, and 
scholarships offered to the applicant to attend the institution in which 
the applicant enrolls; and 
 (e)  maintain academic good standing as defined by the 
institution the applicant attends. 
 (2)(a)  Each institution shall annually revise and publish 
eligibility criteria in all publications referencing the grant. 
 (b)  Each institution shall disclose in any publications about 
the promise grant that program funds are limited and subject to 
change. 
 (3)  Under Section 63G-12-402, verification of lawful 
presence in the United States may not required to be eligible for a 
grant under this policy. 
 
R765-620-5.  Application Process. 
 (1)(a)  Each institution shall establish an application 
process consistent with this policy that applicants can easily access 
and complete. 
 (b)  The board may require an institution to modify an 
application or process that is overly cumbersome or confusing. 
 (2)  The institution shall set deadlines by which each 
applicant is required to submit all required materials. 
 (3)  The institution shall: 
 (a)  determine the most efficient method for issuing grant 
funds: and 
 (b)  collect the information necessary for that purpose. 
 (4)  Each applicant shall complete and submit: 
 (a)  either 
 (i)  the FAFSA; or 
 (ii)  the alternative financial form approved by the board; 
 (b)  the grant application; and 
 (c)  any required documentation. 
 
R765-620-6.  Prioritization. 
 Each institution shall: 
 (1)  prioritize grants based primarily on financial need; and 
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 (2)  establish criteria to assess an applicant's financial need, 
which shall use quantifiable, need-based measures. For example, an 
institution may establish a range with a minimum and maximum need 
index based on the FAFSA within which an eligible recipient's 
expected contribution must fail to be eligible for an award. 
 
R765-620-7.  Grant Award and Calculation. 
 (1)  An institution shall use other funding sources, tuition 
waivers, and fee waivers, when possible, to fully fund awards. 
 (2)  In determining awards, the institution shall consider all 
other loans, grants, employment, and family and individual 
contributions the applicant can put toward financing the cost of 
attendance. 
 (3)  Each institution shall prioritize the grant based 
primarily on financial need as outlined in R765-620-6. 
 (4)  The institution may award an amount to an eligible 
recipient up to the cost of attendance, after taking into account the 
total value of other financial aid the recipient receives toward the cost 
of attendance. 
 
R765-620-8.  Grant Duration. 
 Each eligible recipient may receive a promise grant until 
the recipient: 
 (a)  earns a first bachelor's degree; or 
 (b)  attempts 120 credit hours. 
 
R765-620-9.  Competency-based Assessment. 
 Each Institution shall evaluate a recipient's knowledge, 
skills, and competencies acquired through formal or informal 
education outside the traditional postsecondary academic 
environment, and award appropriate credit for the recipient's prior 
learning. 
 
R765-620-10.  Grant Transfers. 
 (1)  A recipient may transfer to another institution and 
retain eligibility for the grant, if the recipient meets the qualifications 
defined in Section R765-620-4 at the institution to which the 
recipient is transferring. 
 (2)  Each recipient shall be responsible to inform the 
financial aid office at the institution to which the recipient is 
transferring that the recipient is receiving the promise grant at the 
recipient's current institution. 
 (3)  The financial aid offices at each respective institution 
shall coordinate the transfer of scholarship information. 
 (4)  Upon transfer, the institution shall prioritize the award 
of any eligible recipient before all others awarded in accordance with 
Subsection R765-620-6. 
 (5)  The institution to which the recipient is transferring 
shall make adjustments in a recipient's award in accordance with 
Section R765-620-7. 
 
R765-620-11.  Distribution of Funds to Institutions. 
 (1)  In determining how to allocate program funds to an 
institution, the board shall consider: 
 (a)  the costs of attendance of programs offered by the 
institution; and 
 (b)  the number of eligible students who attend each 
institution. 
 (2)  The board shall allocate program funds to eligible 
institutions in proportion to each eligible institution's percentage of 
the total Federal Pell Grant funds received for Utah resident students 

and students who qualified for resident tuition in the most recently 
completed award year by all participating institutions. 
 
R765-620-12.  Grant Cancellation. 
 If a recipient no longer meets the eligibility requirements, 
the institution shall cancel the recipient's grant, and no remaining 
funds shall be released. 
 
R765-620-13.  Reporting. 
 (1)  As specified by the Office of the Commissioner of 
Higher Education, each institution shall provide, as part of an annual 
institutional financial aid file submission by February 28 of each 
year, data pertaining to applications, awards, program enrollments, 
utilization, funding, and other promise grant award information for 
the most recently completed fiscal year. 
 (2)  The Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education 
may, at any time, request additional documentation or data related to 
the program grant and may review or formally audit an institution's 
documentation and compliance with this rule. 
 (3)  By March 1 of each year, any participating institution's 
financial aid directors shall report to the board the total dollar amount 
of Federal Pell Grant funds awarded to resident students and students 
who qualified for resident tuition under Section 53B-8-106 at the 
institution for the most recently completed academic year. 
 (4)  An institution that fails to submit the required reports 
by the required deadlines may be ineligible to participate in the 
program for the next fiscal year. 
 
R765-620-14.  Administrative Costs. 
 The board may use up to 3% of the money appropriated for 
the Utah Promise Program to cover administrative costs. 
 
R765-620-15.  Funding Sources. 
 The board may supplement state appropriations for the 
program with private contributions and may name an award after the 
donor. 
 
R765-620-16.  Institutional Participation Agreement. 
 (1)  Each participating institution shall enter into a written 
agreement with the board or assigned designee agreeing to abide by 
the program policies, accept and disburse funds per program rules, 
provide the required report each year, and retain documentation for 
the program to support the awards and actions taken. 
 (2)  By accepting the funds, the participating institution 
agrees to the additional following terms and conditions: 
 (a)  The institution may at its discretion use up to 3% of the 
funds it receives for the Utah Promise Program to cover 
administrative costs. 
 (b)  The institution may not carry forward or carry back 
from one award year to another any of its promise grant allocation. 
 (c)  The institution shall inform the board immediately if it 
determines it will not be able to utilize all program funds allotted to 
it for an award year. 
 (d)  Absent any exception for a carry forward amount, each 
institution shall return unused funds to the board. 
 (e)  The board shall redistribute unused program funds to 
the other eligible institutions as supplemental promise grant 
allocations for disbursement during the same award year. 
 (f)  Promise grant allocations budgeted for administrative 
expenses may not be part of any carryover. 
 (g)  There shall be no exception to these terms and 
conditions unless approved in advance by the board. 
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R765-620-17. Report to Higher Education Appropriations 
Subcommittee. 
 The board shall submit an electronic report annually to the 
Higher Education Appropriations Subcommittee about the Utah 
Promise Program 
 
KEY:  financial aid, higher education, scholarship 
Date of Last Change:  2024[September 10, 2019] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [53B-8-114; 
53B-8-102; 53B-8-301-304; 53B-2-101(1)]Title 53B, Chapter 13a, 
Utah Promise Program Act 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R765-621 Filing ID:  
56240 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-621.  Terrell H. Bell Education Scholarship Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of the amendment is to update this rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment states that verification of lawful presence 
in the United States is not required to be eligible for this 
scholarship and clarifies other provisions of this rule. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this amendment likely will not materially 
impact the state budget because it does not affect state 
revenue or expenditures. 
 
Although the Terrell H. Bell Education Scholarship 
Program is funded by appropriations of the Legislature, 
this rule does not require any funding. 
 
This rule only establishes the criteria for participating in the 
grant program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this amendment likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this amendment likely will not change the 
regulatory burden for persons other than small 
businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities because it applies only to those 
individuals and institutions of higher education who wish to 
benefit from the Terrell H. Bell Education Scholarship 
Program. 
 
Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any compliance costs imposed on affected persons are 
limited to the completion of forms that are required to be 
eligible to participate in the Terrell H. Bell Education 
Scholarship Program and is nominal. 
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The amendment only updates and clarifies the 
requirements for the Terrell H. Bell Education Scholarship 
Program and imposes no fees. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
53B-8-116(6). 

  

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 12/01/2023 

 
R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-621.  Terrell H. Bell Education Scholarship Program. 
R765-621-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to provide the rules and 
procedures for administration of the Terrell H. Bell Teaching 
Education Scholarship Program, ensuring it recruits first-generation 
students into teaching careers, encourages outstanding students to 
teach in high needs areas in Utah's public schools, and to recognize 
teaching as a critically important career choice for the state[ of Utah]. 
 
R765-621-2.  Authority. 
 [This rule is authorized by ]Subsection 53B-8-116(6) 
authorizes this rule. 
 
R765-621-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Approved Program" means: 
 (a)  a teacher preparation program that meets the education 
profession licensure standards described in Section 53E-6-302, and 
provides enhanced clinical experiences, or prepares an individual to 
become a speech-language pathologist or another licensed 
professional providing services in a public school to students with 
disabilities; or 
 (b)  courses taken at Salt Lake Community College or 
Snow College that lead students to make reasonable progress to meet 
institutional criteria for admission into a program in accordance with 
Subsection R765-621-3(1)(a). 
 (2)  "Average scholarship amount" means average USHE 
undergraduate resident tuition and general student fees for the 
corresponding academic year. 
 ([2]3)  "Board" means Utah Board of Higher Education. 
 ([3]4)  "Eligible institution" means a public or private 
institution of higher education in Utah that offers an approved 
program. 
 ([4]5)  "FAFSA" means the [financial reporting form 
known as ]Free Application for Federal Student Aid[ that is 
administered by the U.S Department of Education to determine the 
need and eligibility of a college student for financial aid]. 
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 ([5]6)  "High [N]needs [A]area" means a subject area or 
field in public education that has a high need for teachers or other 
employees, determined annually by the [B]board in consultation with 
the Utah State Board of Education. 
 ([6]7)  "First-generation student" means a student [for 
whom no parent or guardians attained a bachelor's degree]whose 
parents never completed college or beyond. 
 ([7]8)  "Full-time enrollment" means 12 semester hours or 
such other number of hours as determined by the recipient's 
institution. 
 ([8]9)  "Part-time enrollment" means a minimum of [6]six 
credits in a semester. 
 (9)  "Average scholarship amount" means average Utah 
System of Higher Education undergraduate resident tuition and 
general student fees for the corresponding academic year. 
 (10)  "Scholarship staff" means staff in the Office of the 
Commissioner of Higher Education assigned to administer state 
scholarships on behalf of the board. 
 
R765-621-4.  General Award Conditions. 
 [(1)  Scholarship Award. 
 (a)  Under this program, a](1)  An eligible institution may 
award a scholarship to an individual for an amount up to the cost of 
resident tuition, fees, and books for the number of credit hours in 
which the individual is enrolled each semester. 
 ([b]2)  An eligible private institution may not award a 
scholarship for an amount that exceeds the average scholarship 
amount granted by a public institution of higher education. 
 ([c]3)  [A]a recipient may receive a scholarship for up to 
four consecutive years, or equivalent when considering institution-
approved leaves of absence. 
 ([d]4)  An [E]eligible institution[s] may award scholarships 
to any full-time or part-time enrolled student[s]. 
[ (2)  Application and Award Procedures.] 
 ([a]5)  An eligible institution shall: 
 (a)  develop processes for promoting and distributing 
awards consistent with this rule[,]; and[ shall] 
 (b)  set application deadlines that accommodate [both]any 
full-time [and]or part-time student[s]. 
 ([b]6)  Each [A]application[s] [must]shall require a 
student's declaration to earn a degree in an approved program. 
[ (3)  Prioritizing Awards.] 
 ([a]7)  Each [I]institution[s] shall prioritize scholarship 
awards as follows: 
 ([i]a)  [F]first, to first-generation students who intend to 
work in any area in a Utah public school[.]; 
 ([ii]b)  [S]second, to each student[s] who [are]is not a first 
-generation student[s] but intends to work in a high needs area in a 
Utah public school[.]; and 
 ([iii]c)  [T]third, to each student[s] who meets the 
requirements in Section R765-621-5. 
 
R765-621-5.  Initial and Continuing Eligibility. 
 (1)  To be eligible for a scholarship awarded under this rule, 
an applicant [must]shall do the following: 
 (a)  declare the intent to earn a degree in an approved 
program and to teach in a Utah public school after graduation; and 
 (b)  complete the FAFSA [to the extent that it will benefit 
the student's ability to maximize financial aid opportunities, except 
that a student may opt out of this requirement due to: 
 (i)  financial ineligibility for any potential grant or other 
financial aid; 

 (ii)  personal privacy concerns; or 
 (iii)  advice of the institution based on its assessment of the 
factors that may impact the student's ability to access maximum 
financial aid opportunities]in accordance with Board Policy R623, 
Free Application for Federal Student Aid. 
 (2)  To remain eligible for a scholarship awarded under this 
rule, each[Award] recipient[s] must: 
 (a)  maintain satisfactory academic progress in accordance 
with the[ir] recipient's institution's policies[.]; 
 ([3]b)  [A recipient must ]make reasonable progress to meet 
institutional criteria for admission to an approved program[. ]; 
and[Once admitted to an approved program a recipient must ] 
 (c)  maintain reasonable progress toward[s] completion of 
an approved program once admitted to an approved program. 
 ([4]3)  A recipient who transfers to another eligible 
institution shall retain an award if they continue to meet criteria 
established for recipients at the receiving institution. 
 ([5]4)  After no more than four semesters of full-time, or 
eight semesters of part-time postsecondary course work, [a]the 
recipient [must]shall apply to and [be accepted]gain acceptance into 
an approved program at an eligible institution. 
 ([6]5)  [A recipient who has not been accepted into an 
approved program at an eligible institution may be granted a 
temporary deferment of an award for up to two years while seeking 
acceptance into an approved program.]An eligible institution may 
grant a temporary deferment of an award for up to two years to a 
recipient who has not been accepted into an approved program, while 
they seek acceptance into the program. 
 ([7]6)  After providing a recipient notice and an opportunity 
to respond, an institution may rescind a recipient's scholarship if the 
dean of education or the director of financial aid determines the 
recipient: 
 (a)  is failing to make reasonable progress toward 
completion of program requirements; or 
 (b)  has demonstrated to a reasonable certainty that the 
recipient does not intend to teach at a public school in Utah after 
graduation. 
 (8)  Under Section 63G-12-402, verification of lawful 
presence in the United States may not by required to be eligible for 
this scholarship. 
 ([8]9)  Upon request by the student, the institution shall 
provide an opportunity for the student to appeal a dean or director's 
determination to rescind the scholarship to a committee of at least 
three impartial persons. 
 ([9]10)  A recipient may seek leave of absence from 
attending an institution in accordance with applicable deferral 
policies at a corresponding eligible institution. 
 
R765-621-6.  Transfer of Award Funds. 
 (1)  A recipient may transfer to another eligible institution 
and [retain]keep the scholarship if the recipient meets all 
requirements of the receiving institution. 
 (2)  The recipient who is transferring shall be responsible 
for communicating with the recipient's college or school of education 
and the financial aid office at the receiving institutions well in 
advance. 
 (3)  A recipient who is transferring and does not meet 
application deadlines or demonstrate satisfactory academic progress 
may have the recipient's scholarship rescinded. 
 (4)  The receiving institution shall be responsible to make 
any adjustments in the transfer of a recipient's award. 
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R765-621-7.  Distribution of Award Funds to Institutions. 
 (1)  The [B]board shall annually distribute available funds 
to eligible institutions proportionally equal to the total number of 
teachers who graduated from [an]the eligible institution and were 
hired by a Utah public school district for the most recent three cohort 
years available, minus funds for Snow College and Salt Lake 
Community College allocated at the discretion of the [B]board. 
 (2)  The board shall annually distribute amounts allocated 
to institutions with new programs without the required three-year 
history of graduates to fit in the allocation formula, who will receive 
a minimum allocation amount to be set by scholarship staff. 
 
R765-621-8.  Reporting. 
 [(1)  On or before June 30 each year, eligible institutions 
shall report to the Board the following: 
 (a)  any new or procedures, application materials; 
 (b)  the name and student identification number, first-
generation status, and specific enrolled program of each recipient to 
whom the institution awarded scholarship funds the current academic 
year; 
 (c)  the scholarship amount each recipient received; and 
 (d)  the number of first-generation recipients.]As specified 
by the Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education, each 
institution shall provide, as part of an annual institutional financial 
aid file submission by February 28 of each year, data pertaining to 
applications, awards, program enrollments, utilization, funding, and 
other Terrell H. Bell Education Scholarship information for the most 
recently completed fiscal year. The board may, at any time, request 
additional documentation or data related to the Terrell H. Bell 
Education Scholarship and may review or formally audit an 
institution's compliance with this rule. 
 
[R765-621-9.  FAFSA Completion Requirement. 
 To assist students with the FAFSA requirement, each 
institution shall ensure that: 
 (1)  each institution advisor encourages, to the extent 
practicable, each student to annually complete the FAFSA; and 
 (2)  the staff and faculty who advise students on financial 
aid are properly trained on the benefits of completing the FAFSA.] 
 
KEY:  education, [scholarship, ]teaching 
Date of Last Change:  2024[July 15, 2021] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Title 53B, 
Chapter 8, Part 116 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R765-624 Filing ID:  
56241 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-624.  Utah Promise Partner Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule outlines the procedures for the Utah Promise 
Partner Program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule establishes employee qualifications and the 
process for receiving an award under the Utah Promise 
Partner Program. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this rule likely will not materially impact the 
state budget because it does not affect state revenue or 
expenditures. 
 
Although the Utah Promise Partner Program is funded by 
appropriations of the Legislature, this rule does not require 
any funding. 
 
This rule only establishes the criteria for participating in the 
grant program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not change the regulatory 
burden for small businesses because it applies only to 
those individuals and entities that wish to participate in the 
Utah Promise Partner Program. 
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Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not change the regulatory 
burden for non-small businesses because it applies only 
to those individuals and entities that wish to participate in 
the Utah Promise Partner Program. 
 
Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not change the regulatory 
burden for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because it 
applies only to those individuals and entities who wish to 
participate in the Utah Promise Partner Program. 
 
Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any compliance costs imposed on affected persons is 
limited to the completion of forms that are required to be 
eligible to participate in the grant program and is nominal. 
 
This rule only establishes the requirements for 
participating in the Utah Promise Partner Program. 
 
No fees are imposed on affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
53B-13a-106 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 12/01/2023 
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R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-624.  Utah Promise Partner Program. 
R765-624-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule outlines the procedures for the Utah Promise 
Partner Program. 
 
R765-624-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Section 53B-13a-106. 
 
R765-624-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Board" means the Utah Board of Higher Education. 
 (2)  "Eligible program" means an academic program 
defined by the board and the promise partner. 
 (3)  "Institution" means an institution of higher education 
under Subsection 53B-2-101(1). 
 (4)  "Promise partner award" means an award given to an 
eligible employee or dependent of a promise partner under this 
policy. 
 (5)  "Promise partner" means an employer that has applied 
to, and established a memorandum of understanding with, the board. 
 (6)  "Dependent" means a person who meets the Internal 
Revenue Service's qualifying child or qualifying relative test. 
 
R765-624-4.  Utah Promise Partners. 
 The board may select, as a promise partner, an employer 
who applies to the board and meets other requirements established by 
the board. The board may name a specific promise grant after the 
donating promise partner. 
 
R765-624-5.  Employee Qualifications. 
 (1)  An employee who works for a promise partner, or who 
is a dependent of an employee of a promise partner, shall be eligible 
to receive an award under this policy if the individual: 
 (a)  completes the application process approved by the 
board; 
 (b)  is admitted to, and enrolled in or intends to enroll in 
and eligible program at an institution; and 
 (c)  meets other requirements established by the Office of 
the Commissioner of Higher Education. 
 (2)  The student must meet the eligibility requirements 
outlined in Subsection R765-621-5(1) for the full-length of time the 
student receives the award. 
 
R765-624-6.  Application Process. 
 (1)  The promise partner shall establish an application 
process consistent with this rule that an applicant can easily access 
and complete. 
 (2)  The board, in consultation with the partner, shall set 
deadlines by which each applicant must submit all required materials. 
 
R765-624-7.  Award. 
 (1)  Subject to funding, the board may: 
 (a)  give a promise partner award for the portion of tuition 
and fees for a program at an institution that is not covered by the 
promise partner; 
 (2)  Prioritize awarding promise partner awards if an 
appropriation for promise partner awards is insufficient to provide a 
promise partner award to each eligible applicant. 
 
R765-624-8.  Award Duration. 
 The board may continue to award a promise partner award 
to an eligible recipient until the earlier of: 

 (1)  four years after the day on which the recipient receives 
a promise partner award; 
 (2)  the recipient's use of the promise partner award to 
attend an institution for eight semesters; or 
 (3)  the recipient's completion of an eligible program. 
 
KEY:  Utah Board of Higher Education, Utah Promise Partner 
Program, student financial aid 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-13a-
106 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R765-625 Filing ID:  
56234 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-625.  International Internship Scholarship Pilot 
Program Fund 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule is to outline the requirements of 
and application process for the International Internship 
Scholarships Pilot Program Fund. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule establishes the criteria for eligibility to participate 
in the International Internship Scholarships Pilot Program 
Fund. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this rule likely will not materially impact the 
state budget because it does not affect state revenue or 
expenditures. 
 
Although the International Internship Scholarship Pilot 
Program Fund is funded by appropriations of the 
Legislature, this rule does not require any funding. 
 
This rule only establishes the criteria for participating in the 
grant program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not change the regulatory 
burden for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because it 
applies only to those individuals who wish to benefit from 
the International Internship Scholarship Pilot Program 
Fund. 
 
Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any compliance costs imposed on affected persons is 
limited to the completion of forms that are required to be 
eligible to benefit from the International Internship 
Scholarships Pilot Program Fund and is nominal. 
 

There are no fees imposed on affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Senate Bill 3,  
Appropriations  
Adjustments  
(2023) 
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Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 11/30/2023 

 
R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-625.  International Internship Scholarship Pilot Program 
Fund. 
R765-625-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule outlines the requirements of and application 
process for International Internship Scholarships Pilot Program Fund. 
 
R765-625-2.  Authority. 
 Senate Bill 3, Appropriations Adjustments (2023) 
authorizes this rule. 
 
R765-625-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Board" means the Utah Board of Higher Education 
described in Section 53B-1-402. 
 (2)  "FAFSA" means the Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid. 
 (3)  "OCHE" means the Office of the Commissioner of 
Higher Education. 
 (4)  "Scholarship staff" means OCHE staff assigned to 
administer state scholarships on behalf of the board. 
 (5)  "USHE degree-granting institution" means a degree-
granting institution of higher education within the state system of 
higher education, as identified in Section 53B-2-101(1). 
 
R765-625-4.  Award Requirements. 
 (1)  To qualify for the International Internship Scholarship 
Program, an applicant shall: 
 (a)  be enrolled at a USHE degree-granting institution; 
 (b)  complete the International Internship Scholarship 
Program application, published by OCHE; 
 (c)  complete and submit either the FAFSA or the 
alternative financial form that the board has approved; and 
 (d)  demonstrate financial need based on the expected 
family contribution or student aid index from the FAFSA or 
equivalent from a board approved alternative. 
 

R765-625-5.  Application Process. 
 (1)  Each applicant shall submit an official scholarship 
application no later than the annual deadline established by 
scholarship staff. 
 (2)  Each applicant shall submit the following documents: 
 (a)  the completed official International Internship 
Scholarship Program application published by scholarship staff; 
 (b)  proof of enrollment at a USHE degree-granting 
institution; 
 (c)  proof of completion of either the FAFSA or an 
alternative financial form the board has approved; and 
 (d)  other documentation as outlined on the scholarship 
application or requested by scholarship staff. 
 
R765-625-6.  Grant Amount. 
 (1)  Subject to available funding, OCHE shall award each 
qualified applicant a scholarship up to $5,000 for the International 
Internship Scholarship Program. 
 (2)  Scholarship staff shall determine award amounts based 
on available funding and the number of qualified applicants. A 
student who demonstrates greater financial need may receive a higher 
award. 
 (3)  Each institution shall combine available state or federal 
grants, designated institution funds, internship income, student 
employment, and family and individual contributions toward 
financing the cost of the internship. 
 
R765-625-7.  Appeals Process. 
 (1)  An applicant has the right to appeal an adverse 
decision. 
 (2)  Upon request by the applicant, scholarship staff shall 
provide an opportunity for the applicant to appeal an adverse decision 
to a committee of at least three impartial persons. 
 (3)  The applicant shall submit the appeal in writing within 
30 days of notice of an adverse decision. 
 
R765-625-8.  Reporting. 
 (1)  As specified by OCHE, each institution shall provide, 
as part of an annual institutional financial aid file submission by 
February 28 of each year, data pertaining to applications, awards, 
program enrollments, utilization, funding, and other scholarship 
information for the most recently completed fiscal year. 
 (2)  OCHE may, at any time, request additional 
documentation or data related to the scholarship program and may 
review or formally audit an institution's documentation and 
compliance with this rule. 
 
KEY:  Utah Board of Higher Education, International Internship 
Scholarship Pilot Program Fund, Student Financial Aid 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Senate Bill 
3, Appropriations Adjustments (2023) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R765-627 Filing ID:  
56235 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-627.  First Responder Mental Health Services Grant 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule is to outline the requirements of 
and application process for First Responder Mental Health 
Services Grant Program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule establishes the criteria for participating in the First 
Responder Mental Health Services Grant Program. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this rule likely will not materially impact the 
state budget because it does not affect state revenue or 
expenditures. 
 
Although the First Responder Mental Health Services 
Grant Program is funded by appropriations of the 
Legislature, this rule does not require any funding. 
 
This rule only establishes the criteria for participating in the 
grant program. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not change the regulatory 
burden for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because it 
applies only to those individuals who wish to benefit from 
the First Responder Mental Health Services Grant 
Program. 
 
Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Any compliance costs imposed on affected persons are 
limited to the completion of forms that are required to be 
eligible to participate in the grant program and are nominal. 
 
There are no fees imposed on affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 53B-8-117   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 11/30/2023 

 
R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-627.  First Responder Mental Health Services Grant. 
R765-627-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule outlines the requirements of and application 
process for First Responder Mental Health Services Grant Program. 
 
R765-627-2.  Authority. 
 Section 53B-8-117 authorizes this rule. 
 
R765-627-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Academic year" means the calendar year starting July 
1 and ending June 30. For degree-granting institutions, this includes 
Fall, Summer, and Spring semesters of the corresponding academic 
year. 
 (2)  "Board" means the Utah Board of Higher Education 
described in Section 53B-1-402. 
 (3)  "Eligible institution" means an institution of higher 
education as defined in Section 53B-1-102. 
 (4)  "OCHE" means the Office of the Commissioner of 
Higher Education. 
 (5)  "Scholarship staff" means OCHE staff assigned to 
administer state scholarships on behalf of the board. 
 
R765-627-4.  Award Requirements. 
 (1)  To qualify for the First Responder Mental Health 
Services Grant, an applicant shall: 
 (a)  be a full-time employee or a retiree, as defined in 
Section 49-11-102, who is an active member of or has qualified for 
an allowance under the requirements of: 
 (i)  Title 49, Chapter 14, Public Safety Contributory 
Retirement Act; 
 (ii)  Title 49, Chapter 15, Public Safety Noncontributory 
Retirement Act; 
 (iii)  Title 49, Chapter 16, Firefighters' Retirement Act; or 
 (iv)  Title 49, Chapter 23, New Public Safety and 
Firefighter Tier II Contributory Retirement Act; and 
 (b)  be seeking a post-secondary degree or certification to 
become a mental health therapist, as Section 58-60-102 defines that 
term, at an eligible institution. 
 
R765-627-5.  Application Process. 
 (1)  Each applicant shall submit a grant application no later 
than June 30 before the fiscal year during which awards are made. 
 (2)  Each applicant shall submit the following documents: 
 (a)  the completed First Responder Mental Health Services 
Grant application published by OCHE; 
 (b)  documentation demonstrating enrollment in eligible 
public safety retirement program, as described in Subsection R765-
627-4(1)(a); 
 (c)  a description of the applicant's mental health services 
career objectives; 
 (d)  a declaration of the applicant's intention to enroll in a 
program that leads to certification as a mental health professional at 
an eligible institution; and 
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 (e)  other documents as outlined on the annual grant 
application or as requested by scholarship staff. 
 (3)  The applicant may include the documents described 
Subsections (2)(b) through (2)(e) in the grant application described 
in Subsection (2)(a). 
 (4)  Each applicant shall reapply annually to be considered 
for the award each year. 
 
R765-627-6.  Grant Amounts. 
 (1)  Subject to available funding, OCHE may award each 
qualified applicant a grant up to the cost of tuition and fees, with a 
maximum award of $6,000 each academic year. 
 (2)  Each student may participate in First Responder Mental 
Health Services Grant for a maximum of four academic years. 
 (3)  If the legislative appropriation is insufficient to cover 
the costs associated with the First Responder Mental Health Services 
Grant Program, the board may: 
 (a)  reduce the amount of a grant; or 
 (b)  distribute grants on a pro rata basis to all eligible 
applicants who submitted all application material, as described in 
Subsection 765-627-5(2), before the application deadline. 
 (4)  Each institution shall combine state or federal loans or 
grants, internships, student employment, and family and individual 
contributions toward financing the cost of attendance. 
 (5)  OCHE may reduce the grant amounts based on funding. 
 (6)  OCHE shall disclose on the application form that the 
grants are subject to funding and may be reduced. 
 
R765-627-7.  Transfers. 
 (1)  Each recipient may transfer to the same program at 
another eligible institution and retain grant eligibility if the recipient 
meets all requirements in Section R765-627-4. 
 (2)  Each transfer student shall be responsible for 
communication with financial aid offices at each institution and with 
scholarship staff in advance of the application deadline. 
 
R765-627-8.  Appeals Process. 
 (1)  An applicant has the right to appeal an adverse 
decision. 
 (2)  Upon request by the applicant, the scholarship staff 
shall provide the applicant an opportunity to appeal an adverse 
decision to a committee of at least three impartial persons. 
 (3)  Each appeal request shall be submitted in writing 
within 30 days of the notice of adverse decision. 
 
R765-627-9.  Reporting. 
 (1)  As specified by OCHE, each institution shall provide, 
as part of an annual institutional financial aid file submission by 
February 28 of each year, data pertaining to applications, awards, 
program enrollments, utilization, funding, and other grant 
information for the most recently completed academic year. 
 (2)  OCHE may, at any time, request additional 
documentation or data related to the scholarship program and may 
review or formally audit an institution's documentation and 
compliance with this rule. 
 
KEY:  Utah Board of Higher Education, First Responder Mental 
Health Services Grant. Student Financial Aid 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-8-117 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R765-628 Filing ID:  
56236 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-628.  WICHE Professional Student Exchange 
Program 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule is to outline the application 
requirements and funding procedures for the Western 
Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) 
Professional Student Exchange Program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule establishes the criteria for participating in the 
WICHE Professional Student Exchange Program (PSEP). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this rule likely will not materially impact the 
state budget because it does not affect state revenue or 
expenditures. 
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Although the WICHE PSEP is funded by appropriations of 
the Legislature, this rule does not require any funding. 
 
This rule only establishes the criteria for participating in the 
grant program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not change the regulatory 
burden for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because it 
applies only to those individuals who wish to participate in 
the WICHE PSEP. 
 
Even in those cases, this rule only establishes the criteria 
for participating in the grant program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule does not create any compliance costs for affected 
persons because it establishes the criteria for participating 
in the WICHE PSEP. 
 
There are no fees imposed on affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 53B-4-101   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 
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9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 11/30/2023 

 
R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-628.  WICHE Professional Student Exchange Program. 
R765-628-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule outlines the application requirements and funding 
procedures for the WICHE Professional Student Exchange Program. 
 
R765-628-2.  Authority. 
 Section 53B-4-101authorizes this rule.  
 
R765-628-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Certifying officer" means the designated 
Commissioner's Office employee who: 
 (a)  promotes PSEP opportunities to Utah residents; 
 (b)  processes certification applications for prospective 
students seeking to enroll through eligible PSEP programs; and 
 (c)  serves as the office liaison with WICHE staff for the 
purposes of processing funds for each student and tracking the 
student's academic progress through graduation. 
 (2)  "Commissioner's Office" means the Office of the 
Commissioner of Higher Education. 
 (3)  "Domicile" means the student's residence for the 
purpose of determining resident student status, as determined by the 
student's: 
 (a)  bodily presence; 
 (b)  fixed permanent home and principal establishment to 
which, if absent, the student intends to return; and 
 (c)  concurrent intent to voluntarily reside permanently in 
that location, and not for a special or temporary purpose. 
 (4)  "PSEP" means the WICHE Professional Student 
Exchange Program, which is a regional exchange program for 
students pursuing certain professional healthcare degrees at 
participating universities in other WICHE states and territories 
whereby the student pays reduced tuition because the student's home 
state pays a fee to the enrolling institution to reduce tuition costs. 
 (5)  "Support fee" means the agreed upon award amount set 
for each eligible program and academic year, as negotiated between 
WICHE and the cooperating programs and approved biennially, in 
even years, by the WICHE Commission. 
 (6)  "WICHE" means the Western Interstate Commission 
for Higher Education. 
 
R765-628-4.  Application. 
 (1)  Each new applicant shall submit the following to the 
certifying officer by October 15th of the year before admission to an 
eligible professional program: 
 (a)  a completed WICHE PSEP application for Utah as 
published by the Utah Board of Higher Education; 
 (b)  a signed consent and waiver form; 
 (c)  undergraduate college transcripts; and 

 (d)  additional documentation to verify domicile, as 
requested. 
 (2)  The certifying officer shall give each applicant who is 
certified as meeting the residency requirement in Subsection R765-
628-4(6) one of the following certification statuses: 
 (a)  "Certified/Incoming" when the applicant submits the 
application by October 15th and the applicant will be enrolling as a 
first-year student; 
 (b)  "Alternate Certified/Enrolled" when the applicant 
submits the application by October 15th and the applicant is enrolled 
in 2nd year or beyond of professional program; 
 (c)  "Alternate Late Certified/Incoming" when the applicant 
submits the application after October 15 and the applicant will be 
enrolling as a first-year student; and 
 (d)  "Alternate Late Certified/Enrolled" when the applicant 
submits the application after October 15th and the applicant is 
enrolled in 2nd year or beyond of professional program. 
 (3)  Each applicant shall notify the certifying officer of any 
admission offers to cooperating programs. 
 (4)  Each WICHE school shall notify WICHE's central 
office of any offers. 
 (5)  WICHE and the certifying officer shall monitor the 
number of certified applicants and each applicant's admission offers. 
 (6)  To be eligible for certification, a student shall have 
established domicile in Utah for five full consecutive years before the 
time of application. 
 (7)  If a student does not receive funding and wishes to 
recertify for the following year, the student shall reapply and submit 
all required documentation for Utah certification. 
 
R765-628-5.  Funding Applicants. 
 (1)  The number of new students funded in each approved 
field shall be determined by available funding. 
 (2)  The certifying officer shall give priority for funding, 
before new applicants are considered, to each returning PSEP student 
who was awarded in prior academic years and who has remained in 
good academic standing. 
 (3)  WICHE shall: 
 (a)  track academic progress; and 
 (b)  report concerns to the certifying officer. 
 (4)(a)  If insufficient funding exists to award each new 
applicant with an admission offer, the certifying officer shall rank 
each new applicant, as follows: 
 (i)  Certified/Incoming students shall be given first 
consideration; 
 (ii) then Alternate Certified/Enrolled students; 
 (iii)  then Alternate Late Certified/Incoming, and 
 (iv)  lastly Alternate Late Certified/Enrolled students. 
 (b)  If further ranking is required within the groups set forth 
in Subsection R765-628-4(2), the certifying officer shall rank each 
student by the following categories until all available funding is 
awarded: 
 (i)  student institutional rankings for Utah applicants, 
provided to WICHE confidentially; 
 (ii)  application submission date; 
 (iii)  cumulative undergraduate GPA; and 
 (iv)  length of Utah residency. 
 (5)  If offered funding, each student shall return the 
following documents no later than the deadline set by the certifying 
officer: 
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 (a)  a signed contract accepting the funding, agreeing to the 
terms of funding, and acknowledging intent to return to Utah to 
practice their profession upon completion of the program; and 
 (b)  a copy of the student's final acceptance letter to an 
approved optometry or podiatry program. 
 (6)  If the student fails to submit the required 
documentation by the established deadline, the student may forfeit 
the student's PSEP eligibility. 
 (7)  Each student receiving military, federal, or private 
scholarships or full fellowships that cover tuition shall be ineligible 
to receive WICHE support. 
 (8)  The certifying officer shall consider each case in which 
tuition is partially covered on an individual basis. 
 
R765-628-6.  Continued Eligibility. 
 (1)  Upon certifying and awarding a student, the Utah 
Board of Higher Education shall continue to provide a support fee for 
that student through the normal duration of the program, as defined 
by WICHE with the standard program in optometry and podiatry 
being four years in duration, and subject to; 
 (a)  the appropriation of necessary funds; and 
 (b)  the student being in good academic standing, as defined 
by the attending institution. 
 (2)  WICHE shall: 
 (a)  monitor academic progress annually until each degree 
requirement has been met; and 
 (b)  communicate any changes in status, such as leave of 
absence or academic probation, with the certifying officer. 
 (3)  The Commissioner's Office may not support any 
student for duplicative coursework. 
 (4)  The certifying officer may request documentation to 
verify continued enrollment, Utah residency, intent to return to Utah 
post-graduation, or other pertinent information to remain eligible for 
funding. 
 
R765-628-7.  Leave of Absence. 
 (1)  A student may request a leave of absence for 
unexpected or sudden circumstances that arise after the student 
enrolls in an eligible program. 
 (2)  The student shall obtain an approved leave of absence 
from the student's enrolling program. 
 (3)  Once institutional approval is obtained, the certifying 
officer may approve a leave of absence for purposes of PSEP for no 
more than one year at a time. 
 (4)  The certifying officer and the enrolling program shall 
notify WICHE of the approved leave of absence. 
 (5)  The certifying officer may reduce a student's funding 
upon return to enrollment if funding has been provided for 
incomplete or failed coursework. 
 (6)  The certifying officer may require a student to reapply 
for PSEP funding upon return if the student's leave of absence 
extends for more than one year. 
 
KEY:  Utah Board of Higher Education, WICHE Professional 
Student Exchange Program, Student Financial Aid 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-4-101 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R765-1010 Filing ID:  
56251 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 
Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R765-1010.  Data Breaches 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule is to define a significant data 
breach as required by Section 53B-28-504 and to 
establish standards to protect the data of students at 
USHE institutions as required by Subsection 53B-28-
502(5)(b)(1). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule defines "significant data breach" under 
Subsection 53B-28-504(1) and establishes standards for 
an education entity to protect student data by notifying 
students of significant data breaches under Subsections 
53B-28-502(5)(b)(1) and 53B-28-504(1). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
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A)  State budget: 
Enactment of this rule likely will not materially impact the 
state budget because it does not affect state revenue or 
expenditures. 
 
This rule defines "significant data breach," establishes 
standards to protect the data of students, and requires the 
institutions in the state system of higher education to 
provide notice to students of significant data breaches. 
 
Although the cost to the institutions of providing the notices 
could be significant, this rule restates that requirement 
from Section 53B-28-504.  As a result, any affect on the 
state budge is the result of Section 53B-28-504 and not 
this rule. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct, 
measurable costs for local governments because this rule 
does not apply to or affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for small businesses 
because this rule does not apply to or affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not result in direct 
expenditures from tax or fee changes for non-small 
businesses because this rule does not apply to or affect 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Enactment of this rule likely will not change the regulatory 
burden for persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities because it 
applies only to education entities that are part of the Utah 
system of higher education. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The costs associated with notification of data breaches 
could be significant.  However, these costs are possible 
without enactment of this rule since Section 53B-28-504 
already requires the institutions of higher education to 
notify each student of a significant data breach. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 

are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Board of Higher Education, 
Geoff Landward, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
53B-28-504 

Subsection 
53B-28-502(5)(b) 
(1) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 12/12/2023 

 
R765.  Higher Education (Utah Board of), Administration. 
R765-1010.  Data Breaches. 
R765-1010-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule defines "significant data breach" under 
Subsection 53B-28-504(2) and establishes standards for an education 
entity to protect student data by notifying students of significant data 
breaches under Subsections 53B-28-502(5)(b)(1) and 53B-28-
504(1). 
 
R765-1010-2.  Authority. 
 Section 53B-28-504 authorizes this rule. 
 
R765-1010-3.  Definitions. 
 The definitions set forth in Section 53B-28-501 shall apply 
to this rule, except that the definition of "personally identifiable 
student data" shall not include information designated as directory 
information in accordance with the education entity's directory 
information policy, as described in 34 C.F.R. Section 99.37. 
 
R765-1010-4.  Significant Data Breaches. 
 (1)  Except as provided in Subsection (2), a data breach 
shall be significant if the education entity that maintains the 
personally identifiable student data released, accessed, or disclosed 
in the breach determines that there is a moderate or high probability 
of substantial harm to the student based on a risk assessment 
considering the following factors based on the totality of the 
circumstances: 
 (a)  the nature and extent of the personally identifiable 
student data involved, including the types of identifiers and the 
likelihood of re-identification; 
 (b)  the degree to which the release, access, or disclosure of 
the personally identifiable student data breached could be used for 
unlawful purposes including subjecting an affected student to an 
invasion of privacy, heightened risk of unlawful discrimination, or 
identity theft or fraud; 
 (c)  the unauthorized person who used the personally 
identifiable student data or to whom the disclosure was made; 
 (d)  the likelihood that an unauthorized person acquired or 
viewed the personally identifiable student data; 
 (e)  the extent to which the education entity has mitigated 
the potential harm and risk to the student; 
 (f)  the extent to which prompt notification would allow 
affected students to further mitigate the harm and risk to them in 
addition to the actions that the education entity can take itself; and 

 (g)  other factors that affect the likelihood that the incident 
is likely to result in substantial harm to the student. 
 (2)  A data breach may not be significant to the extent that 
the breach involves: 
 (a)  any inadvertent or unintentional acquisition, access, or 
use of personally identifiable student data by an employee or other 
person acting under the authority of an education entity or third-party 
contractor to another employee or other person acting under the 
authority of an education entity or third-party contractor, if such 
acquisition, access, or use was made in good faith and within the 
scope of authority and does not result in further use or disclosure in 
a manner not permitted under 53B, Chapter 28, Part 5, Higher 
Education Student Data Protection, or 34 CFR Part 99, Family 
Educational Rights and Privacy; 
 (b)  a disclosure of personally identifiable student data 
where an education entity or third-party contractor has a good faith 
belief that an unauthorized person to whom the disclosure was made 
would not reasonably have been able to retain, use, or disclose such 
student data; 
 (c)  a disclosure of personally identifiable student data 
where the education entity has implemented safeguards, such as 
encryption, which the education entity has a good faith belief that 
makes the personally identifiable student data unreadable or 
unusable; 
 (d)  a disclosure of personally identifiable student data that 
the education entity lawfully published or was otherwise lawfully in 
the public domain before the disclosure; or 
 (e)  a disclosure of the personally identifiable student data 
of fewer than 25 individuals. 
 
R765-1010-5.  Notification of Significant Data Breaches. 
 (1)(a)  If a significant data breach occurs either at an 
educational entity or a third-party contractor using data disclosed by 
an educational entity, the educational entity shall notify each student 
in writing whose personally identifiable student data was disclosed. 
 (b)  The notification shall include all components of the 
model data breach notification prepared under Subsection 53B-28-
502(4)(b)(iii). An education entity may add additional content to the 
notification. 
 (c)  The educational entity may communicate the 
notification by any written means that the education entity routinely 
uses for official communications with individual students. 
 (2)  An education entity that provides notice of a data 
breach to affected individuals as required under any other law is 
deemed to have met the requirements of this rule with regard to the 
individuals so notified. 
 (3)  For notifications regarding release, access, or 
disclosure of a record containing protected health information as 
defined in 45 CFR Part 164, Standards for Privacy of Individually 
Identifiable Health Information, the education entity shall comply 
with that part. 
 (4)  The Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education 
may develop and communicate to each institution guidelines for 
compliance with this rule. 
 
KEY:  Utah Board of Higher Education, Data Breaches, Student 
Data Protection 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53B-28-504 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R909-1 Filing ID:  
56223 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Motor Carrier 
Room number: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton Building 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Leif Elder 801-

580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Godin 801-
573-
7181 

jamesjgodin@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 385-
341-
3414 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R909-1.  Safety Regulations for Motor Carriers 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Motor Carrier Division (Division) proposes these 
revisions to Rule R909-1 to adopt the Safety Regulations 
for Motor Carriers as of October 1, 2022, as amended by 
the Federal Register through June 22, 2023. 
 
The Division adopts 49 CFR Parts 350 through 384, Part 
385.4, Parts 387 through 399, and Part 40.  The need to 
adopt this rule was required by H.B. 440 passed in the 
2023 General Session, which defined a commercial motor 
vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross 
vehicle weight of 26,001 or more pounds. 
 
H.B. 440 also required that a motor vehicle with a gross 
vehicle weight or gross combination weight of 26,001 or 
more pounds, whichever is greater, shall stop at a port-of-
entry. 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Proposed revisions to this rule: 
1)  update the definition of "intrastate commercial vehicle" 
to mean "having a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight 
rating or gross combination weight rating of 26,0001 or 
more pounds, whichever is greater, and revising 
Subsection R909-1-2(1)(c) clarify the current text; 
2)  revise Section R909-1-3 to update the citation of federal 
regulations to 49 CFR to October 1, 2022, as amended by 
the Federal Register through June 22, 2023; and 
3)  revise Subsection R909-1-4(3) to correct a current 
federal regulation citation to 49 CFR 171.8. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget 
because this proposed change is clerical in nature and will 
have no impact on how the Department of Transportation 
functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This proposed rule change is not expected to have a fiscal 
impact on local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule regulates the motor carrier industry and does not 
affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The Division does not believe this proposed rule change 
will impact small businesses that operate as motor carriers 
because it likely will not lead to direct expenditures from 
tax or fee changes for small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The Division does not believe this proposed rule change 
will impact non-small businesses that operate as motor 
carriers because it likely will not lead to direct expenditures 
from tax or fee changes for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The Division does not believe this proposed rule change 
will impact persons other than small businesses, non-
small businesses, state, or local government entities 
because it likely will not lead to direct expenditures from 
tax or fee changes. 
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F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
attributable to this proposed rule change because it likely 
will not lead to direct expenditures from tax or fee changes. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation, Carlos M. Braceras, PE, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Section 72-9-103 Section 72-9-301  
 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

49 CFR Parts 350--384; 385.4; 387-- 
399 (exc. 391.11(b)(1) and 391.49);  
and 40 

Publisher The Federal Register 

Issue Date June 22, 2023 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

01/31/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

02/07/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive Director 

Date: 11/20/2023 

 
R909.  Transportation, Motor Carrier. 
R909-1.  Safety Regulations for Motor Carriers. 
R909-1-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 The [D]department makes this rule under Section 72-9-103 
to enable the [D]department to enforce the Federal Motor Carrier 
Safety Regulations as contained in Title 49, Code of Federal 
Regulations related to the operation of a motor carrier within the 
state, as required by Section 72-9-301. 
 
R909-1-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Intrastate commercial vehicle" means the same as that 
term is defined in Section 72-9-102.[a motor vehicle, vehicle, trailer, 
or semitrailer used or maintained for business, compensation, or 
profit to transport passengers or property on a highway only within 
the boundaries of this state if the commercial vehicle: 
 (a)(i)  has a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating or 
gross combination weight rating of 26,000 or more pounds and is 
operated by an individual who is 18 years old or older; or 
 (ii)  has a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating or 
gross combination weight rating of 16,001 or more pounds and is 
operated by an individual who is under 18 years old; 
 (b)(i)  is designed to transport more than 15 passengers, 
including the driver; or 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, January 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 01 123 

 (ii)  is designed to transport more than 12 passengers, 
including the driver, and has a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight 
rating or gross combination weight rating of 13,000 or more pounds; 
or 
 (c)  is used to transport hazardous materials and must be 
placarded according to 49 CFR Part 172, Subpart F.] 
 
R909-1-3.  Adoption of Federal Regulations. 
 (1)  Safety Regulations for Motor Carriers, 49 CFR Parts 
350 through 384, Part 385.4, Parts 387 through 399, and Part 40, 
[January 2, 2020, ]as amended by the Federal Register through [June 
24, 2020]June 22, 2023, are incorporated by reference, except for 49 
CFR Parts 391.11(b)(1) and 391.49 as they apply to intrastate drivers 
only.  Therefore, these requirements apply to a motor carrier as 
defined in 49 CFR Part 390.5, and intrastate commercial motor 
carriers as defined in Subsection 72-9-102(3), excluding passenger 
vehicles designed to transport 12 or fewer passengers, including the 
driver, and [has]have a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating or 
gross combination weight rating of less than 13,000 pounds. 
 (2)  An intrastate trucking operation in which the carriers 
operate double trailer combinations only is not required to comply 
with 49 CFR Part 380.203(a)(2). 
 (3)  Exceptions to Part 391.41, Physical Qualification may 
be granted under the Department of Public Safety Rules, Driver's 
License Division, Section 53-3-303.5 for intrastate drivers under 
Rule R708-34. 
 (4)  A driver involved wholly in intrastate commerce shall 
be at least 18 years old, unless they are transporting placarded 
amounts of hazardous materials or carrying 16 or more passengers, 
including the driver, in which case they must be at least 21 years old. 

 (5)  A licensed childcare provider operating a passenger 
vehicle with a seating capacity of not more than 30 passengers, 
wholly in intrastate commerce, is exempt from 49 CFR Part 387 
Subpart B but is subject to the minimum coverage requirements in 
Section 72-9-103. 
 
R909-1-4.  Insurance for Private Intrastate or Interstate Motor 
Carriers. 
 (1)  "Private Motor Carrier" means a person who provides 
transportation of property or passengers by commercial motor 
vehicle and is not a for-hire motor carrier. 
 (2)  Each intrastate private motor carrier must have a 
minimum amount of $750,000 liability. 
 (3)  Each interstate and intrastate for-hire and private motor 
carriers transporting any quantities of oil listed in 49 CFR 172.101; 
hazardous waste, hazardous material, and hazardous substances 
defined in [49 CFR 171.101]49 CFR 171.8, must have a $1,000,000 
minimum level of financial responsibility, and an MCS-90 
endorsement maintained at the principal place of business. 
 
R909-1-5.  Implements of Husbandry. 
 "Implements of Husbandry" is defined in Subsection 41-
1a-102(23) and must comply with Title 41, Chapter 6a, Traffic Code. 
Vehicles meeting this definition are exempt from 49 CFR Part 393 - 
Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operations. 
 
KEY:  trucks, transportation safety, implements of husbandry 
Date of Last Change:  2024[January 5, 2022] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 14, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-9-103; 
72-9-104; 72-9-101; 72-9-301; 72-9-303; 72-9-701; 72-9-703 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R156-80a Filing ID: 50312 
Effective Date: 12/04/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Professional Licensing 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 

Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Larry Marx 801-

530-
6628 

lmarx@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R156-80a.  Medical Language Interpreter Act Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Title 58, Chapter 80a, provides for the certification and 
regulation of medical language interpreters. 

Subsection 58-1-106(1) provides that the Division of 
Professional Licensing (Division) may adopt and enforce 
rules to administer Title 58. 
 
This rule was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 58, 
Chapter 80a, with respect to medical language 
interpreters. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Since this rule was last reviewed in January 2019, the 
Division has received no written comments with respect to 
this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary as it provides a mechanism to 
inform potential certificate holders of the requirements for 
certification as allowed under statutory authority provided 
in Title 58, Chapter 80a.  This rule is also necessary as it 
provides information to ensure applicants for certification 
are adequately trained and meet minimum certification 
requirements, and provides certificate holders with 
information concerning unprofessional conduct, 
definitions, and ethical standards relating to the 
profession.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel,  
Division Director 

Date: 11/14/2023 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R527-275 Filing ID: 55565 
Effective Date: 12/12/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Recovery Services 
Building: TSOB 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 45033 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0033 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jodi Witte 801-

471-
7417 

jwitte@utah.gov 

Casey Cole 801-
741-
7523 

cacole@utah.gov 

Jonah Shaw 385-
310-
2389 

jonahshaw@utah.gov 

Jordan Miera 801 
538-
4171 

jmiera@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R527-275.  Passport Release 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Sections 26B-9-102 and 26B-9-108 give the Office of 
Recovery Services (ORS) the authority to adopt, amend, 
and enforce rules necessary to carry out its responsibilities 
under state law. 
 
Federal Regulations at 22 CFR 51.60 provide detailed 
procedures for ORS to release a passport after it has been 
denied for failure to pay child support.  This criteria has 
been adopted by ORS and incorporated by reference into 
this rule. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The clarifications and procedures provided in this rule 
continue to be necessary for the appropriate 
implementation of federal regulations, which are still in 
effect and do not appear in state statute.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 12/11/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R746-450 Filing ID: 51980 
Effective Date: 12/14/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Hammer 801-

530-
6729 

michaelhammer@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R746-450.  Procedural and Informational Requirements 
for Solar Resource Solicitations and Acquisitions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 54-17-807 exempts certain solar generation 
facilities from competitive solicitation and selection 
requirements that are otherwise applicable under the 
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Energy Resource Procurement Act, see, e.g., Sections 54-
17-201 and 54-17-302.  These exemptions exist to 
facilitate certain customers exercising their right, under 
Section 54-17-802, to enter a contract with their utility 
whereby a customer may select renewable energy 
facilities and enter a contract with the utility to purchase 
electricity from the selected facilities for the purpose of 
supplying it to the customer. 
 
Section 54-17-807 requires the utility to file an application 
to acquire such resources on a customer's behalf and it 
mandates a process the Public Service Commission 
(PSC) must undertake to evaluate and approve the 
applications.  Subsection 54-17-807(11) provides that the 
PSC "shall adopt rules" addressing the filing and contents 
of such applications, establishing the solicitation process 
and criteria used to identify competitive market prices and 
to select an energy resource, and addressing other factors 
the PSC determines to be relevant to implement Section 
54-17-807. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The PSC has received no written comments from any 
interested person supporting or opposing this rule since 
the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The rule is required by law.  Specifically, Subsection 54-
17-807(11), which requires the PSC to adopt rules to 
implement the section.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Thad LeVar, PSC  
Chair 

Date: 12/14/2023 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R765-615 Filing ID: 53430 
Effective Date: 12/15/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Utah Board of Higher Education 

Building, The Gateway 

Street address: 60 S 400 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84101 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kevin V. Olsen 801-

556-
3461 

kvolsen@agutah.gov 

Alison A. Adams 801-
643-
5535 

Alison.Adams@ushe.edu 

Geoffrey T.  
Landward 

801-
321-
7136 

glandward@ushe.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R765-615.  Talent Development Incentive Loan Program 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 53B-10-205 requires the Utah Board of Higher 
Education (Board) to make a rule relating to the 
administration of the Talent Development Incentive Loan 
Program. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received to summarize. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is justified because the Talent Development 
Incentive Loan Program continues to be in effect and 
Section 53B-10-205 requires the Board to have this rule to 
administer the program.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kevin V. Olsen,  
Assistant Attorney  
General and  
Designee 

Date: 12/15/2023 

 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  The Office of Administrative Rules 
(Office) is required to notify agencies of rules due for review at least 180 days prior to the anniversary date.  If the 
agency finds that it will not meet the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office.  However, if the agency fails to file either the FIVE-YEAR 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION or the EXTENSION by the date provide by the Office, the rule 
expires. 
 
Upon expiration of the rule, the Office files a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATION (EXPIRATION) to document the action.  
The Office is required to remove the rule from the Utah Administrative Code.  The agency may no longer enforce the 
rule and it must follow regular rulemaking procedures to replace the rule if it is still needed. 
 
The Office has filed EXPIRATIONS for each of the rules listed below which were not reviewed in accordance with 
Section 63G-3-305.  These rules have expired and have been removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The expiration of administrative rules for failure to comply with the five-year review requirement is governed by 
Subsection 63G-3-305(8). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R651-636 ID No. 51675 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: State Parks 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L.  
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 

General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R651-636.  Procedures for Application to Receive Funds 
From the Zion National Park Restricted Account 
 
3.  Effective  
Date: 

12/20/2023 

4.  Summary: 
The five-year review and notice of continuation was not 
filed for this rule by the deadline.  This rule has expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
This program had been moved from the Division of State 
Parks to the Division of Outdoor Recreation (DOR).  DOR 
became a new agency on 07/01/2022.  This rule is now 
R650-101 under DOR. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The new Rule R650-101 was 
published in the July 15, 2023, issue of the Bulletin under 
ID 55500 and was made effective 08/23/2023.) 
 

 
 

End of the Notices of Notices of Five-Year Expirations Section 
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Alcoholic Beverage Services 
Administration 
No.  55828  (Amendment)  R82-1:  General 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/22/2023 
 
No.  55830  (Amendment)  R82-2:  Administration 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/22/2023 
 
No.  55835  (Amendment)  R82-3:  Disciplinary Actions and 
Enforcement 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/22/2023 
 
No.  55836  (Amendment)  R82-6:  Specific Retail Provisions 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/22/2023 
 
No.  55837  (Amendment)  R82-9:  Event Permits 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/22/2023 
 
 
Commerce 
Consumer Protection 
No.  55843  (Amendment)  R152-21:  Credit Services 
Organizations Act Rule 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/08/2023 
 
No.  56105  (Repeal and Reenact)  R152-34:  Utah 
Postsecondary Proprietary School Act Rule 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
No.  56118  (Repeal)  R152-34a:  Utah Postsecondary School 
State Authorization Act Rule 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 

 
Corporations and Commercial Code 
No.  56130  (New Rule)  R154-3:  Decentralized Autonomous 
Organization Act Rule 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
Professional Licensing 
No.  55904  (Amendment)  R156-31b:  Nurse Practice Act 
Rule 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/28/2023 
 
No.  55847  (Amendment)  R156-46a:  Hearing Instrument 
Specialist Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
No.  56068  (Amendment)  R156-47b:  Massage Therapy 
Practice Act Rule 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/28/2023 
 
No.  55846  (Amendment)  R156-69:  Dentist and Dental 
Hygienist Practice Act Rule 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
 
Crime Victim Reparations 
Administration 
No.  55794  (Amendment)  R270-1:  Relocation, Funeral and 
MH payment updates 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/08/2023 
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Cultural and Community Engagement 
History 
No.  56025  (New Rule)  R455-18:  Policy for Deaccessioning 
of Artifacts and Documentary Materials for Education and 
Cultural Use 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/27/2023 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  55852  (Amendment)  R277-113:  LEA Fiscal and 
Auditing Policies 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
No.  55853  (Amendment)  R277-326:  Early Learning 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
No.  55854  (Amendment)  R277-495:  Electronic Devices in 
Public Schools 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
No.  55855  (Amendment)  R277-553:  Charter School 
Oversight, Monitoring and Appeals 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
No.  55856  (Amendment)  R277-604:  Private School, Home 
School, and Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) Student 
Participation in Public School Achievement Tests 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/11/2023 
 
 
Government Operations 
Finance 
No.  55718  (Amendment)  R25-5:  Payment of Meeting 
Compensation (Per Diem) to Boards 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  12/06/2023 
 
 
Governor 
Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State Commission on) 
No.  56026  (New Rule)  R356-7:  Appointing a Designee, 
Representative, or Proxy 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/23/2023 
 
Economic Opportunity 
No.  55838  (Amendment)  R357-29:  Rural County Grant 
Rule 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/29/2023 
 
No.  55839  (New Rule)  R357-46:  Rural Communities 
Opportunity Grant Rule 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  11/29/2023 

Health and Human Services 
Administration 
No.  55818  (New Rule)  R380-600:  Licensing General 
Provisions - Enforcement 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  12/19/2023 
 
Center for Medical Cannabis 
No.  55868  (Amendment)  R383-1:  Definitions 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
No.  55869  (Amendment)  R383-2:  Electronic Verification 
System and Inventory Control System 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
No.  55870  (Amendment)  R383-4:  Qualified Medical 
Providers 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
No.  55871  (Amendment)  R383-5:  Dosing Guidelines 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
No.  55872  (Repeal)  R383-7:  Medical Cannabis Pharmacy 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
No.  55873  (Repeal)  R383-8:  Medical Cannabis Pharmacy 
Agent 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
No.  55874  (Repeal)  R383-9:  Home Delivery and Courier 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
No.  55875  (Repeal)  R383-14:  Administrative Penalties 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
Family Health, Children with Special Health Care Needs 
No.  55696  (Amendment)  R398-2:  Newborn Hearing 
Screening: Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) 
Program 
Published:  09/15/2023 
Effective:  12/19/2023 
 
No.  55801  (Repeal)  R398-3:  Children's Hearing Aid 
Program 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  12/20/2023 
 
No.  55685  (Amendment)  R398-5:  Birth Defects and Critical 
Congenital Heart Disease Reporting 
Published:  09/15/2023 
Effective:  12/19/2023 
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No.  55680  (Repeal)  R398-20:  Early Intervention 
Published:  09/15/2023 
Effective:  12/19/2023 
 
Family Health, Early Childhood 
No.  55688  (New Rule)  R402-1:  Early Intervention 
Published:  09/15/2023 
Effective:  12/19/2023 
 
No.  55859  (New Rule)  R402-2:  Early Childhood Utah 
Advisory Council Membership, Duties and Procedures 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/28/2023 
 
Family Health, WIC Services 
No.  55962  (Amendment)  R406-100:  Special Supplemental 
Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/22/2023 
 
Integrated Healthcare 
No.  56054  (Amendment)  R414-401:  Nursing Care Facility 
Assessment 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
No.  56029  (Repeal and Reenact)  R414-510:  Intermediate 
Care Facility for Persons with Intellectual Disabilities 
Transition Program and Education 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
Residential Child Care Licensing 
No.  55617  (Amendment)  R430-8:  Exemptions from Child 
Care Licensing 
Published:  09/01/2023 
Effective:  12/12/2023 
 
Health Care Facility Licensing 
No.  55819  (Amendment)  R432-1:  General Health Care 
Facility Rules 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  12/28/2023 
 
No.  55816  (Repeal)  R432-2:  General Licensing Provisions 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  12/12/2023 
 
No.  55817  (Repeal)  R432-3:  General Health Care Facility 
Rules Inspection and Enforcement 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  12/12/2023 
 
No.  55595  (Amendment)  R432-150:  Nursing Care Facility 
Published:  09/01/2023 
Effective:  12/12/2023 
 
No.  55595  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R432-150:  Nursing 
Care Facility 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  12/12/2023 
 

No.  55687  (Repeal and Reenact)  R432-152:  Intermediate 
Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities 
Published:  09/15/2023 
Effective:  12/19/2023 
 
Family Health, Maternal and Child Health 
No.  55860  (Repeal)  R433-2:  Early Childhood Utah 
Advisory Council Membership, Duties and Procedures 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/28/2023 
 
Administration (Human Services) 
No.  55683  (Repeal)  R495-882:  Termination of Parental 
Rights 
Published:  09/15/2023 
Effective:  12/15/2023 
 
No.  55681  (Repeal)  R495-883:  Children in Care Support 
Services 
Published:  09/15/2023 
Effective:  12/19/2023 
 
No.  55677  (Repeal)  R495-884:  Kinship Locate 
Published:  09/15/2023 
Effective:  12/19/2023 
 
No.  55663  (Repeal)  R495-885:  Employee Background 
Screenings 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  12/28/2023 
 
Human Services Program Licensing 
No.  55820  (Repeal and Reenact)  R501-1:  General 
Provisions for Licensing 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  12/19/2023 
 
No.  55611  (Amendment)  R501-20:  Day Treatment 
Programs 
Published:  09/01/2023 
Effective:  12/19/2023 
 
Child and Family Services 
No.  56038  (Amendment)  R512-80:  Definitions of Abuse, 
Neglect, and Dependency 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/28/2023 
 
No.  55987  (Amendment)  R512-202:  Child Protective 
Services, General Allegation Categories 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/28/2023 
 
No.  55989  (Amendment)  R512-306:  Out-of-Home 
Services, Transition to Adult Living Services, Education and 
Training Voucher Program 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/28/2023 
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No.  55988  (Amendment)  R512-308:  Out-of-Home 
Services, Guardianship Services and Placements 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/28/2023 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  55861  (Amendment)  R590-230:  Suitability in Annuity 
Transactions 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  12/08/2023 
 
No.  56020  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-238:  Captive 
Insurance Companies 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/22/2023 
 
No.  55862  (Amendment)  R590-267:  Personal Injury 
Protection Relative Value Study Rule 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
 
Labor Commission 
Industrial Accidents 
No.  56016  (Amendment)  R612-200-6:  Burial Expenses 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/27/2023 
 

No.  56019  (Amendment)  R612-300-4:  General Method For 
Computing Medical Fees 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/27/2023 
 
No.  56017  (Amendment)  R612-400-5:  Premium Rates for 
the Uninsured Employers' Fund and the Employers' 
Reinsurance Fund 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/27/2023 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Water Rights 
No.  55705  (Repeal and Reenact)  R655-5:  Maps Submitted 
to the Division of Water Rights 
Published:  09/15/2023 
Effective:  12/14/2023 
 
 
Tax Commission 
Property Tax 
No.  55866  (Amendment)  R884-24P-53:  2023 Guides for 
Valuation of Land Subject to the Farmland Assessment Act 
Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-2-515 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/22/2023 
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