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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between January 03, 2024, 12:00 a.m., and 
January 16, 2024, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the February 01, 2024, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least March 04, 2024.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through May 31, 2024, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal and Reenact 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R65-1 Filing ID:  
56278 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Marketing and Development 
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kelly Pehrson 801-

982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Amber Brown 385-
245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Caroline 
Hargraves 

801-
982-
2353 

carolinehargraves@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R65-1.  Utah Apple Marketing Order 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being repealed and reenacted because the rule 
revisions were more than 50% of this rule to align with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and the changes needed to 
align with passed legislation in FY 2023. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The repealed rule had information that was not relevant to 
the current order or relevant to the updated Subsection 4-
2-103(3). 
 
The reenacted rule has been updated to align with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah, aligns with legislation that 
was passed in 2023, and removes information that did not 
pertain to the marketing order. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost to the state budget because 
the state is not involved with the marketing order and is 
clerical only. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments are not involved in the marketing order 
and are not impacted by this rule. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not change the impact to small businesses 
because the changes are clerical and do not change 
assessment fees. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule does not impact non-small businesses 
because the changes are clerical and do not change the 
assessment fees they have already been paying. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not impact other persons because only 
producers pay the assessment fee. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because the assessment fee is not changing and there is 
not a compliance cost with this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(e) 

Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(i) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 01/09/2024 

 
R65.  Agriculture and Food, Marketing and Development. 
R65-1.  Utah Apple Marketing Order. 
[R65-1-1.  Authority. 
 Promulgated under authority of Subsection 4-2-103(1)(e). 
 
R65-1-2.  Definitions of Terms. 
 A.  "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Food of the State of Utah. 
 B.  "Person" means an individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, legal representative, or any organized group of 
individuals. 
 C.  "Apples" means apples produced for market. 
 D.  "Producer" means any person in this State in the 
business of producing or causing to be produced apples for the 
commercial market, provided such producers shall not include 
producers who sell all the commodity direct to the consumer. 
 E.  "Handler" means any person engaged in the operation 
of selling, marketing, or distributing in commerce, or affecting 
commerce, apples which are produced in Utah; but no rule under this 
Order shall apply to the sale of such apples to Retail Outlets. 
 F.  "Registered" producers means a producer who has 
indicated that he/she wants to be included in the marketing order 
voting process by registering to vote in the referendum.  Registration 
forms may be mailed out with the ballots. 
 G.  "Known" producers means a producer of a specific 
commodity who has been identified by the commodity group, 
her/himself, or a third party as being eligible to register to vote in a 
referendum affecting that specific commodity. 
 
R65-1-3.  Board. 
 A.  A Board of Control is hereby established consisting of 
seven members, two of whom shall be handlers to carry out the 
provisions of this order. 
 B.  The original members of the Board of Control shall be 
selected by the Commissioner from a list of names submitted by the 
industry.  Two grower members and one handler shall be appointed 
for a period of two years - the first appointment only.  Three grower 
members and one handler member shall be appointed for a period of 
four years.  All appointments after the first year shall be for a period 
of four years. 
 C.  Successors to original members shall be appointed by 
the Commissioner from names submitted by the industry. 
 D.  No member of such Board shall receive a salary but 
each shall be entitled to his actual expenses incurred while engaged 
in performing his duties herein authorized in accordance with 
Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107. 
 E.  The duties of the Board shall be administrative only and 
may include only the acts mentioned in this order. 
 F.  A majority of the Board of Control must attend a meeting 
to conduct business.  All decisions of the Board of Control shall be 
by majority vote. 
 G.  The officers of the Board shall be selected from the 
seven Board members at their first meeting after reorganization.  The 
officers shall consist of a Chairman and a Vice Chairman, to be 
elected yearly by the members of the Board.  In the event of a vacancy 
or unfilled office; it shall be filled by the Commissioner from a list 
of names submitted by the industry. 
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 H.  No member of the Board, nor any employee of the 
Board, shall be deemed responsible individually in any way 
whatsoever to any producer, distributor, handler, processor, or any 
other person, for errors of judgment, mistakes, or other acts, either of 
commission or omission of principal, agent, person, or employee, 
except for his own individual acts of dishonesty or crime.  No such 
person or employee shall be held responsible individually for any act 
or omission of any other member of the Board.  The liability of the 
members of such Board shall be several and not joint, and no member 
shall be liable for the default of any other member. 
 
R65-1-4.  Provisions of the Order. 
 A.  This order provides for: 
 1.  Advertising and sales promotion to create and expand 
the market of Utah Apples.  This shall be done without reference to 
brand or trade names. 
 2.  Research projects and experiments for the purpose of 
improving the quality, size, health and general conditions of the 
apples grown in the State of Utah and for the purpose of protecting 
the health of the citizens of the State. 
 3.  Uniform grading of apples sold or offered for sale by 
producers or handlers.  Such grading standards shall not be 
established below any minimum standards now prescribed by law for 
this State. 
 4.  The Board may cooperate with any other state or federal 
agency whose activities may be deemed beneficial to the purpose of 
this Order which is to strengthen the apple businesses in the state. 
 B.  Expenses - Assessments - Collection and Disbursement 
 1.  Each producer or handler subject to this order shall pay 
to the Board of Control such producer's or handler's pro rata share of 
such expenses as the Commissioner may find will necessarily be 
incurred by the Board for the maintenance and functioning of said 
Board.  Each producer shall pay up to 5 cents per 40 lb. box to the 
Board annually.  The discretionary assessment shall be set by 
majority vote of the board, and approved by the Commissioner.  The 
pro rata share of the expenses payable by a cooperative association 
of producers shall be computed on the basis of the quantity of the 
product covered by the Order which is distributed, sold, or shipped 
in commerce by such cooperative association of producers.  The 
Board may maintain in its own name, or in the name of its members, 
a suit against any handler or producer, subject to this Order, for the 
collection of such handler's or producer's pro rata share of expenses. 
 2.  The Board shall retain records of the receipt of the 
assessment.  The records shall be audited annually by an auditor 
approved by the Commissioner.  Copies of the audit shall be available 
to any contributor upon request. 
 3.  The Board of Control is required to reimburse the 
Commissioner for funds which are expended by the Commissioner 
in performing his duties, as provided in this Order, such 
reimbursement to include only funds actually expended in connection 
with this Order. 
 4.  The Board is authorized to incur such expenses as are 
necessary to carry out its functions subject to the approval of the 
Commissioner.  The Board shall receive and disburse all funds 
received by it pursuant to paragraph 5.  Any funds remaining at the 
end of any year over and above the necessary expenses of said Board 
of Control may be divided among all persons from whom such funds 
were collected, or, at the discretion of the Board, such amounts may 
be applied to the necessary expenses of the Board for the continuation 
of its program during the next succeeding year, and in such case the 
Board shall credit all persons from whom such funds were collected 
with their proper proportions thereof. 

R65-1-5.  Division of Funds. 
 Assessments made and monies collected under provisions 
of this Order shall be divided into assessments and funds for 
 A.  administrative purposes, 
 B.  advertising and promotional purposes, and 
 C.  research purposes.  Such assessments and funds shall be 
used solely for the purposes for which they are collected; provided, 
that funds remaining at the end of any year may be used in the 
succeeding year and provided, that no funds be used for political or 
lobbying activities. 
 
R65-1-6.  Complaints for Violations - Procedure. 
 Complaints for violations shall be handled by the 
responsible legal agencies and shall be enforced in the civil courts of 
the State. 
 
R65-1-7.  Refund. 
 Any producer who wishes a refund of their assessments 
may receive such by notifying the Board in writing of their request 
by December 31 for apples harvested in that harvest year. 
 
R65-1-8.  Termination of Order. 
 The Commissioner may terminate the Marketing Order at 
such time as he may determine there is no longer an industry need for 
such order.  This order shall be reviewed or amended at least every 
five years by the industry, Subsection 4-2-2(3)(a).  Once a year, a 
referendum vote may be called at the request of the producers through 
a petition of ten percent of the producers.] 
R65-1-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under the authority of Subsection 4-2-
103(1)(e) and Subsection 4-2-103(1)(i). 
 (2)  This rule establishes a marketing order for Utah apples 
to promote orderly market conditions, give Utah producers a fair 
return on their investment in the marketplace, and promote the 
marketing of Utah apples. 
 (3)  Pursuant to Subsection 4-2-103(3)(b)(i), a board of 
control is created, and the board shall ensure; 
 (a)  proceeds from assessments are placed in an account in 
the board of control's name in a depository institution; and 
 (b)  an independent auditor approved by the commissioner 
annually audits the account. 
 
R65-1-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Board" or "Board of Control" means the Board of 
Control for Apple Marketing. 
 (2)  "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food. 
 (3)  "Person" means an individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, legal representative, or any organized group of 
individuals. 
 (4)  "Apples" means apples produced for the market. 
 (5)  "Producer" means a person in the business of producing 
or causing to be produced apples for the commercial market.  
Producers who sell commodities directly to the consumer are not 
included. 
 (6)  "Handler" means any person engaged in the operation 
of selling, marketing, distributing, in commerce, or affecting 
commerce of apples produced in Utah, but no rule under this Order 
shall apply to the sale of apples to retail outlets. 
 (7)  "Independent auditor" means a certified public 
accountant or chartered accountant who examines a company's 
financial records and business transactions with which they are not 
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affiliated.  An independent auditor may not be a person employed by 
the department. 
 (8)  "Registered producer" means a producer who registers 
to vote in the referendum, creates the marking order, and indicates 
they want to be included in the marketing order voting process. 
 (9)  "Known producer" means a producer of a specific 
commodity who the commodity group identifies as eligible to 
register to vote in a referendum affecting that commodity. 
 
R65-1-3.  Board. 
 (1)  The Board of Control shall consist of seven members, 
two of whom shall be handlers to implement the duties of the board, 
plus the commissioner. 
 (2)(a)  The commissioner shall select the original board 
members from a list of names submitted by the industry. 
 (b)  The board shall consist of: 
 (i)  two producer members and one handler for two years - 
the first appointment only; 
 (ii)  three producer members and one handler for four years; 
and 
 (iii)  each appointment shall be for four years after the first 
year. 
 (3)  The commissioner shall appoint successors to original 
members from names submitted by the industry. 
 (4)  Pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107, board 
members may receive per diem and travel expenses incurred by the 
board member for attendance at an official meeting. 
 (5)(a)  A majority of the board members plus the chair shall 
constitute a quorum. 
 (b)  Each decision of the board shall be by majority vote. 
 (6)  A designee from the Agricultural Cooperative 
Association may serve as an ex officio member to complete the duties 
of the board. 
 
R65-1-4.  Duties of the Board. 
 (1)(a)  The board may engage in advertising and sales 
promotion programs to create new or larger markets for apples grown 
in Utah. 
 (b)  Marketing programs; 
 (i)  shall promote the sale of apples without any reference 
to a particular brand or trade name; and 
 (ii)  may not use false or unwarranted claims on behalf of 
apples or disparage the quality, value, sale, or use of any other 
agricultural commodity to supply the market demands of consumers 
of the commodity. 
 (2)  The board may research projects and experiments to 
improve the quality, size, health, and general conditions to grow 
apples in Utah. 
 (3)  Labeling, marketing, or branding of apples may not 
conflict with any rules of the department or state law. 
 (4)  The board shall cooperate with any other state or 
federal agency to consider activities that may benefit this rule or 
marketing order. 
 (5)  The duties of the board shall be administrative only and 
may include only the acts mentioned in this rule. 
 (6)  With the commissioner's approval, the board may 
establish policies necessary and incidental to the administration of 
this rule. 
 

R65-1-5.  Expenses, Assessments, Collections, and Disbursement. 
 (1)(a)  Each producer or handler shall pay to the board the 
producer's or handler's pro rata share of expenses as the 
commissioner of expenses the board finds necessary. 
 (b)  The discretionary assessment shall be set by a majority 
vote of the board and approved by the commissioner. 
 (c)  The pro rata share of the expenses payable by a 
cooperative association of producers shall be computed based on the 
quantity of the product covered by the marketing order that is 
distributed, sold, or shipped in commerce by the cooperative 
association of producers. 
 (2)  Each producer shall pay up to $1 per bin of apples 
distributed, sold, or shipped in Utah commerce, to the board annually. 
 (3)  The board shall retain records of the receipt of the 
assessment. 
 (4)  The commissioner may require the board to reimburse 
funds that the commissioner spends performing duties, as listed in 
Section R65-1-4. 
 (5)(a)  The board may incur expenses as necessary to carry 
out its functions, subject to the commissioner's approval. 
 (b)  The board shall receive and disburse any funds it 
receives pursuant to Section R65-1-5. 
 (6)(a)  An independent auditor shall audit the board's 
financial records at least once in the department's fiscal year and 
when the commissioner requests. 
 (b)  The board must complete the annual audit and provide 
it to the department's Administrative Services Division within 180 
days of the end of the department's fiscal year. 
 (c)  The audit shall examine the receipt of assessments, the 
disbursement of funds, and any reimbursements, as well as a review 
of the board's financial documents, including bank statements, bank 
account reconciliations, and board meeting minutes. 
 (d)  The board shall make copies of the audits and financial 
statements available to producers and processors for examination 
after the removal of any confidential individual producer or processor 
information. 
 (7)(a)  The board shall divide assessments made, and 
money collected into funds for administrative, advertising, and 
research purposes. 
 (b)  The board may use funds as described in Subsection 4-
2-103(1)(e) and may not use funds for political or lobbying activities. 
 (8)(a)  If, at the end of the department's fiscal year, the 
assessments collected exceed the expenses incurred, the board, with 
the commissioner's approval, may carry over a portion of the excess 
into subsequent years as a reserve. 
 (b)  The reserve funds may cover any expenses authorized 
by this rule, and necessary expenses of liquidation if the 
commissioner terminates the order or dissolves the board. 
 (c)  The board shall refund any excess not kept in reserve 
proportionately to the producers or processors that paid the excess. 
 (d)  Without an additional amount reserve level approved 
by the commissioner, the amount held may not exceed one year's 
operations expenses. 
 (9)(a)  Within 30 days after the board collects the 
assessment, the board may receive a written request for a refund from 
a producer objecting to the payment; 
 (b)  The board shall approve and pay each refund claim 
from its account. 
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 (c)  The board may deny refund claims filed more than 30 
days after the assessment's collection date; 
 (d)(i)  If the board determines the expense to send postcards 
will exceed their budget, they may electronically notify each 
producer subject to the assessment and allow them to request a refund 
by responding to the electronic notification. 
 (ii)  The board may verify electronic notifications through 
reading receipt verification processes. 
 (iii)  Producers must provide accurate and complete email 
addresses to the board to allow electronic notifications. 
 (e)  The board shall notify the department each time a 
producer requests a refund. 
 
R65-1-6.  Complaints for Violations - Procedure. 
 Responsible legal agencies shall handle complaints for 
violations of this rule, and the civil courts shall enforce it. 
 
R65-1-7.  Termination of Order. 
 (1)  The commissioner may terminate the Utah Apple 
Marketing Order when there is no longer an industry need for the 
order. 
 (2)  Upon the termination of the Order, the then functioning 
members of the board shall: 
 (a)  continue in their capacity until discharged by the 
commissioner upon dissolution of the board; 
 (b)  dispose of any remaining funds in a manner as the 
commissioner may determine to be appropriate and 
 (c)  to the extent practicable, proportionally return funds to 
the producers who may have paid in excess. 
 (3)  The department shall review or amend this rule at least 
every five years. 
 (4)  Producers may request a referendum vote once a year 
through a petition of 25% of the registered producers. 
 
R65-5-8.  Rights of the Commissioner. 
 (1)  Members of the board and any agents, employees, or 
representatives of the board shall be subject to removal or suspension 
by the commissioner at any time. 
 (2)(a)  Each rule, decision, determination, or other act of 
the board shall be subject to the commissioner's veto at any time. 
 (b)  Upon veto, the board will consider the board's action 
as void, except for acts done before the veto by the commissioner. 
 
KEY:  promotions 
Date of Last Change:  [1987]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  August 30, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-2-
103(1)(e) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal and Reenact 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R65-5 Filing ID:  
56279 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Marketing and Development 
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Caroline 
Hargraves 

801982
-2353 

carolinehargraves@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Amber Brown 385-
245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R65-5.  Utah Red Tart and Sour Cherry Marketing Order 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being repealed and reenacted because the rule 
revisions were more than 50% of the rule to align with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah and the changes needed to 
align with passed legislation in FY 2023. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The repealed rule had information that was not relevant to 
the current order or relevant to the updated Subsection 4-
2-103(3). 
 
The reenacted rule has been updated to align with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah, aligns with legislation that 
was passed in 2023, and removes information that did not 
pertain to the marketing order. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost to the state budget because 
the state is not involved with the marketing order and is 
clerical only. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments are not involved in the marketing order 
and are not impacted by this rule. 
 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 03 7 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not change the impact on small businesses 
because the changes are clerical and do not change 
assessment fees. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule does not impact non-small businesses 
because the changes are clerical and do not change the 
assessment fees they have already been paying. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not impact other persons because only 
producers pay the assessment fee. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because the assessment fee is not changing and there is 
not a compliance cost with this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(e) 

Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(i) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 01/09/2024 

 
R65.  Agriculture and Food, Marketing and Development. 
R65-5.  Utah Red Tart and Sour Cherry Marketing Order. 
[R65-5-1.  Authority. 
 Promulgated under authority of Section 4-2-103(1)(e). 
 
R65-5-2.  Definitions of Terms. 
 A.  "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Food of the State of Utah. 
 B.  "Person" means an individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, legal representative, or any organized group of 
individuals. 
 C.  "Cherries" mean all marketable Red Tart and Sour 
cherries produced and sold to manufacturers or consumers. 
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 D.  "Producer" means any person in this state in the 
business of producing or causing to be produced Red Tart or Sour 
cherries, that has a minimum of 300 trees or has received $500.00 or 
more from a processor for the previous year's production. 
 E.  "Registered" producer means a producer who has 
indicated that he/she wants to be included in the marketing order 
voting process by registering to vote in the referendum.  Registration 
forms may be mailed out with the ballots.  Only registered voting 
producers will be counted. 
 F.  "Known" producers means a producer of a specific 
commodity who has been identified by the commodity group, 
her/himself, or a third party as being eligible to register to vote in a 
referendum affecting that specific commodity. 
 G.  "Processor" means any person engaged in canning, 
freezing, dehydrating, fermenting, distilling, extracting, preserving, 
grinding, crushing, or in any other way preserving or changing the 
form of cherries for the purpose of marketing them. 
 H.  "Board" means Red Tart and Sour Cherry Marketing 
Board. 
 
R65-5-3.  Board. 
 A.  A Board is hereby established consisting of seven 
members, two of whom shall be processors to carry out the provisions 
of the order. 
 B.  The original members of the Board of Control shall be 
selected by the Commissioner from a list of names submitted by the 
industry.  Three grower members and one processor member shall be 
appointed for a term of four years.  Two grower members and one 
processor member shall be appointed for four years. 
 C.  Successors to original members may be appointed by 
the Commissioner from names submitted by the industry. 
 D.  No member of such Board shall receive a salary but 
each shall be entitled to his actual expenses incurred while engaged 
in performing his duties herein authorized in accordance with 
Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107. 
 E.  The duties of the Board shall be administrative only and 
may include only the acts mentioned in this Marketing Order. 
 F.  All decisions of the Board of Control shall be by 
majority vote. 
 G.  No member of the Board, nor any employee of the 
Board, shall be deemed responsible individually in any way 
whatsoever to any producer, distributor, handler, processor, or any 
other person, for errors of judgment, mistakes, or other acts, either of 
commission or omission of principal, agent, person, or employee, 
except for his own individual acts of dishonesty or crime.  No such 
person or employee shall be held responsible individually for any act 
or omission of any other member of the Board.  The liability of the 
members of such Board shall be several and not joint, and no member 
shall be liable for the default of any other member. 
 
R65-5-4.  Provisions of the Order. 
 A.  This order shall provide for: 
 1.  Uniform grading Red Tart and Sour cherries for fresh or 
frozen markets, sold or offered for sale by producers or processors.  
Such grading standards shall not be established below any minimum 
standards now prescribed by law for this state. 
 2.  Advertising and sales promotion to create new or larger 
markets for cherries grown in Utah, provided that any such plan shall 
be directed towards increasing the sale of such commodity without 
any reference to a particular brand or trade name.  Provided further, 
that no advertising or sales promotion program shall be authorized 
which shall make use of false or unwarranted claims in behalf of the 

product covered by this Order, or disparage the quality, value, sale or 
use of any other agricultural commodity to supply the market 
demands of consumers of such commodity. 
 3.  Labeling, marketing, or branding of cherries which does 
not conflict with any rules of the Commissioner or laws of the State 
of Utah. 
 4.  The Board of Control to cooperate with any other state 
or federal agency whose activities may be deemed beneficial to the 
purposes of the Order. 
 B.  Expenses-Assessments-Collections and Disbursement. 
 1.  Each producer or processor subject to this Order shall 
pay to the Board his or her pro rata share (as approved by the 
Commissioner) of such expenses as the Board may find necessary to 
be incurred for the functioning of said Marketing Order.  This 
assessment levied in the specified amount shall constitute a personal 
debt of every person so assessed and shall be due and payable when 
payment is called for thereby.  The pro rata share of the expenses 
payable by a cooperative association of producers shall be computed 
on the basis of the quantity of the product covered by the Order which 
is distributed, sold, or shipped in commerce by such cooperative 
association of producers or processors.  The Board may maintain in 
its own name, or in the name of its members, a suit against any 
producer, or processor subject to this Order, for the collection of such 
producer's pro rata share of expenses. 
 2.  This assessment shall be determined to be up to $10.00 
per ton for Red Tart and Sour cherries.  The discretionary assessment 
shall be set by majority vote of the board, as approved by the 
Commissioner.  The assessment is effective May 1, 1983. 
 3.  The assessment of each producer shall be deducted from 
the producer's gross receipt of Red Tart and Sour cherries by the 
producer-processor.  All proceeds from the deducted portion shall be 
paid annually to the Board on or before October 1, for that crop year. 
 4.  The Board shall retain records of the receipt of the 
assessment which will be available for public inspection upon 
request.  The Board shall issue an annual financial statement to the 
Commissioner showing receipts and reimbursement.  This statement 
shall be made available to any contributor upon request. 
 5.  The Board is required to reimburse the Commissioner 
for any funds as are expended by him in performing his duties as 
provided in this Order.  Such reimbursement shall include only funds 
actually expended in connection with this Order. 
 6.  The Board is authorized to incur such expenses as are 
necessary to carry out its functions subject to the approval of the 
Commissioner.  The Board shall receive and disburse all funds 
received by it pursuant to Section R65-5-5. 
 7.  The Board shall retain records of the receipt of the 
assessment.  These records shall be audited annually by an auditor 
approved by the Commissioner.  Copies of the audit shall be available 
to any contributor upon request. 
 
R65-5-5.  Division of Funds. 
 Assessment made and monies collected under provisions of 
this order shall be divided into assessments and funds for 
administrative, advertising and research purposes.  Such assessments 
and funds shall be used solely for the purposes for which they are 
collected; provided, that no funds be used for political or lobbying 
activities. 
 
R65-5-6.  Complaints for Violation - Procedure. 
 Complaints for violation shall be handled by the 
responsible legal agencies and shall be enforced in the civil courts of 
the State. 
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R65-5-7.  Termination of Order. 
 The Commissioner may terminate the Marketing Order at 
such time as he may determine there is no longer an industry need for 
such order.  This order shall be reviewed or amended at least every 
five years by the industry.  Once a year, a referendum vote may be 
called at the request of the producers through a petition of ten percent 
of the registered producers.] 
R65-5-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Promulgated under authority of Subsection 4-2-
103(1)(e) and Subsection 4-2-103(1)(i). 
 (2)  This rule establishes a marketing order for Utah Red 
Tart and Sour Cherries to promote orderly market conditions, give 
Utah producers a fair return on their investment in the marketplace, 
and promote the marketing of Utah Red Tart and Sour Cherries. 
 (3)  A board of control is created, pursuant to Subsection 4-
2-103(3)(b)(i), to ensure: 
 (a)  proceeds from any assessments are placed in an account 
in the board of control's name in a depository institution; and 
 (b)  the account is annually audited by an independent 
auditor approved by the commissioner. 
 
R65-5-2.  Definitions of Terms. 
 (1)  "Board" or "Board of Control" means the Red Tart and 
Sour Cherry Marketing Board. 
 (2)  "Cherries" means the same as defined in 7 CFR 930; 
means all tart and sour cherry varieties grown in the production area 
classified botanically as Prunus cerasas, or hybrids of Prunus cerasas 
by Prunus avium, or Prunus cerasas by Prunus fruticosa. 
 (3)  "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food or the commissioner's designee. 
 (4)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (5)  "Independent auditor" means a certified public 
accountant or chartered accountant who examines a company's 
financial records and business transactions with which they are not 
affiliated.  An independent auditor may not be a person employed by 
the department. 
 (6)  "Order" or "marketing order" means the mechanism 
that levies the assessment. 
 (7)  "Person" means an individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, legal representative, or any organized group of 
individuals. 
 (8)  "Processor" means any person in Utah engaged in 
canning, freezing, dehydrating, fermenting, distilling, extracting, 
preserving, grinding, crushing, or in any other way preserving or 
changing the form of cherries to market them. 
 (9)  "Producer" means any person in Utah in the business 
of producing or causing Red Tart or Sour cherries to be produced that 
have at least 300 trees or have received at least $500 from a processor 
for the previous year's production. 
 (10)  "Registered producer" means a producer who 
registers to vote in the referendum, creates the marking order, and 
indicates they want to be included in the marketing order voting 
process. 
 
R65-5-3.  Board of Control. 
 (1)  The board of control shall consist of seven members 
plus the commissioner or the commissioner's designee. 
 (2)(a)  The commissioner shall select the original board 
members from a list of names submitted by the industry. 

 (b)  The board shall consist of: 
 (i)  three producer members and one processor member 
appointed for a term of four years; and 
 (ii)  two producer members and one processor member are 
appointed for two years. 
 (A)  the appointed term shall be four years after the first 
two years. 
 (B)  Board members may be appointed for repeat terms. 
 (3)  The commissioner shall appoint successors to original 
members from names submitted by the industry. 
 (4)  Board members may not receive a salary, but each may 
receive a per diem and travel expenses in accordance with Sections 
63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107. 
 (5)(a)  A majority of the board members plus the chair shall 
constitute a quorum. 
 (b)  Each decision of the board shall be by majority vote. 
 (6)  A designee from the Agricultural Cooperative 
Association may serve as an ex officio member to complete the duties 
of the board. 
 
R65-5-4.  Duties of Board. 
 (1)(a)  The board may engage in advertising and sales 
promotion programs to create new or larger markets for cherries 
grown in Utah. 
 (b)  Marketing programs; 
 (i)  shall promote the sale of cherries without any reference 
to a particular brand or trade name; and 
 (ii)  may not use false or unwarranted claims on behalf of 
cherries or disparage the quality, value, sale, or use of any other 
agricultural commodity to supply the market demands of consumers 
of the commodity. 
 (2)  The board may research projects and experiments to 
improve the quality, size, health, and general conditions of growing 
cherries in Utah. 
 (3)  Labeling, marketing, or branding of cherries may not 
conflict with any rules of the department or state law. 
 (4)  The board shall cooperate with any other state or 
federal agency to consider activities that may benefit this rule or 
marketing order. 
 (5)  The duties of the board shall be administrative only and 
may include only the acts mentioned in this rule. 
 (6)  With the commissioner's approval, the board may 
establish policies necessary and incidental to the administration of 
this rule. 
 
R65-5-5.  Expenses, Assessments, Collections, and Disbursement. 
 (1)(a)  Each producer or processor shall pay the board an 
assessment equal to a pro rata share, as approved by the 
commissioner, of expenses the board finds necessary. 
 (b)  The board shall compute the pro rata share of the 
expenses payable by a cooperative association of producers or 
processors based on the quantity of the product covered by the order 
that is distributed, sold, or shipped in commerce by the cooperative 
association of producers or processors. 
 (2)  This assessment shall be up to $10 per ton of cherries. 
 (3)(a)  Each producer shall deduct the assessment from the 
producer's gross receipt of cherries from a processor and pay the 
board upon sale. 
 (b)  Any proceeds the processor receives from the deducted 
portion, the processer shall pay annually to the board on or before 
February 1 for each crop year. 
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 (4)  The board shall keep records of the receipt of the 
assessment that shall be available for public inspection upon request. 
 (5)(a)  The commissioner or the department may require 
the board to reimburse the department or commissioner for any funds 
spent by the department or commissioner in performing duties under 
this rule. 
 (b)  Reimbursement shall include only funds spent in 
connection with this rule. 
 (6)(a)  The board may incur expenses necessary to carry out 
its functions, subject to the commissioner's approval. 
 (b)  The board shall receive and disburse any funds it 
receives pursuant to Section R65-5-5. 
 (7)(a)  An independent auditor shall audit the board's 
financial records at least once in the department's fiscal year and 
when the commissioner requests. 
 (b)  The board must complete the annual audit and provide 
it to the department's Administrative Services Division within 180 
days of the end of the department's fiscal year. 
 (c)  The audit shall examine the receipt of assessments, the 
disbursement of funds, and any reimbursements, as well as a review 
of the board's financial documents, including bank statements, bank 
account reconciliations, and board meeting minutes. 
 (d)  The board shall make copies of the audits and financial 
statements available to producers and processors for examination 
after the removal of any confidential individual producer or processor 
information. 
 (8)(a)  The board shall divide assessments made and money 
collected into funds for administrative, advertising, and research 
purposes. 
 (b)  The board may use funds as described in Subsection 4-
2-103(1)(e) and may not use funds for political or lobbying activities. 
 (9)(a)  If, at the end of the department's fiscal year, the 
assessments collected exceed the expenses incurred, the board, with 
the commissioner's approval, may carry over a portion of the excess 
into subsequent years as a reserve. 
 (b)  The reserve funds may cover any expenses authorized 
by this rule and necessary expenses of liquidation if the 
commissioner terminates the order or dissolves the board. 
 (c)  The board shall refund any excess not kept in reserve 
proportionately to the producers or processors that paid the excess. 
 (d)  Without an additional amount reserve level approved 
by the commissioner, the amount held may not exceed one year's 
operations expenses. 
 (10)(a)  Within 30 days after the board collects the 
assessment, the board may receive a written request for a refund from 
a producer objecting to the payment. 
 (b)  The board shall approve and pay each refund claim 
from its account. 
 (c)  The board may deny refund claims filed more than 30 
days after the assessment's collection date. 
 (d)  The board may send a postage-paid, self-addressed 
postcard to each producer subject to the assessment, allowing them 
to request a refund by returning the postcard. 
 (e)(i)  If the board determines the expense to send postcards 
will exceed their budget, they may electronically notify each 
producer subject to the assessment and allow them to request a refund 
by responding to the email notification. 
 (ii)  The board may verify electronic notifications through 
reading receipt verification processes. 

 (iii)  Producers must provide accurate and complete email 
addresses to the board to allow electronic notifications. 
 (f)  The board shall notify the department each time a 
producer requests a refund. 
 
R65-5-6.  Complaints for Violation - Procedure. 
 Responsible legal agencies shall handle complaints for 
violation of this rule, and civil courts shall enforce it. 
 
R65-5-7.  Termination of Order. 
 (1)  The commissioner may terminate the order at a time as 
it is determined there is no longer an industry need for the order. 
 (2)  Upon the termination of the Order, the then functioning 
members of the board shall: 
 (a)  continue in their capacity until discharged by the 
commissioner upon dissolution of the board. 
 (b)  dispose of any remaining funds in a manner as the 
commissioner may determine to be appropriate; and 
 (c)  to the extent practicable, proportionally return funds to 
the producers who may have paid in excess. 
 (3)  The department shall review or amend this rule at least 
every five years. 
 (4)  Producers may request a referendum vote once a year 
through a petition of 25% of the registered producers. 
 
R65-5-8.  Rights of the Commissioner. 
 (1)  Members of the board and any agents, employees, or 
representatives of the board shall be subject to removal or suspension 
by the commissioner at any time. 
 (2)(a)  Each rule, decision, determination, or other act of 
the board shall be subject to the commissioner's veto at any time. 
 (b)  Upon veto, the board will consider the vetoed action as 
void, except for acts done before the veto by the commissioner. 
 
KEY:  promotions 
Date of Last Change:  [1989]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  March 21, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-2-
103(1)(e) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-100 Filing ID:  
56284 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-100.  Definitions for Utah State Board of Education 
(Board) Rules 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being updated to amend the definition of the 
term "monitoring" to align with the amendments to Rule 
R277-114, which creates the Utah State Board of 
Education (USBE) Oversight Framework. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule 
R277-114 is under ID 56286 in this issue, February 1, 
2024, of the Bulletin.) 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments specifically add a definition for the "Utah 
Schools Information Management System" (USIMS). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
There are no direct or measurable costs associated with 
clarifying the term "monitoring" or adding a definition for 
USIMS as described in Section 53E-3-518. 
 
The changes help the Utah State Board of Education 
(USBE) clearly explain monitoring and oversight of 
educational programs.  
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
The changes provide clarity for Local Education Agencies 
(LEAs) but do not add costs or savings for LEA budgets. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 

This only impacts USBE and LEAs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
This only affects USBE and LEAs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
There are no measurable costs associated with adding the 
definitions. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 01/16/2024 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-100.  Definitions for Utah State Board of Education 
(Board) Rules. 

R277-100-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision of public education in the Board; and 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide definitions that 
are used in the Board rules beginning with Rule R277. 
 
R277-100-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Accreditation" means the formal process for internal 
and external review and approval under the standards of an 
accrediting entity adopted by the Board. 
 (2)  "Agency" means: 
 (a)  an entity governed by the Board; 
 (b)  an LEA; or 
 (c)  a grant sub-recipient. 
 (3)  "Board" means the 15 elected members of the State 
Board of Education. 
 (4)  "Charter school" means a school established as a 
charter school by a charter school authorizer under Title 53G, Chapter 
5, Charter Schools, and Board rule. 
 (5)  "Comprehensive dropout intervention and prevention 
program" means a program that: 
 (a)  addresses needs of students who are not succeeding in 
a traditional school environment; 
 (b)  provides targeted instruction that increases student 
credit-earning rates toward graduation; and 
 (c)  partners with community entities to provide a 
continuum of services with the focus of preparing students for life 
after high school. 
 (6)(a)  "Cumulative file" or "cumulative folder" means a 
physical or digital record maintained by an LEA for each student 
containing, at a minimum, the following information: 
 (i)  evidence of the student's legal name and date of birth; 
 (ii)  student demographic data, including race, ethnicity, 
and gender; 
 (iii)  name and contact information for the student's parents; 
 (iv)  a record of the student's courses, teachers, and grades 
or progress; 
 (v)  a record of the student's performance on statewide 
assessments; 
 (vi)  documentation concerning a student's eligibility for 
IDEA or 504 services; 
 (vii)  a record of suspensions and expulsions, in accordance 
with Subsection 53G-8-208(4)(a); 
 (viii)  known allergies; 
 (ix)  a record of vision and health screening results; and 
 (x)  a record of required student immunizations; and 
 (xi)  pertinent legal documents, including protective orders, 
custody orders, and parenting or education plans. 
 (b)  "Cumulative file" may include additional student 
information in accordance with an LEA's policies. 
 (7)  "District school" means a public school under the 
control of a local school board elected under Title 20A, Chapter 14, 
Nomination and Election of State and Local School Boards. 
 (8)  "Dual enrollment student" means a student who: 
 (a)  is enrolled simultaneously in: 
 (i)  a private school or home school; and 
 (ii)  a public school; and 
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 (b)  is counted by an LEA in membership for purposes of 
generating state or federal funding for only those courses or subjects 
for which the LEA provides instruction. 
 (9)  "Educator" means an individual licensed under Section 
53E-6-201 and who meets the requirements of Board rule. 
 (10)  "ESSA" or the "Every Student Succeeds Act" means 
the congressional act, which reauthorized the Elementary and 
Secondary Education Act of 1965, which is found at 20 U.S.C. 6301, 
et seq. 
 (11)(a)  "Evaluate" or "review" means to observe and assess 
a program or set of requirements with an objective of making 
recommendations, if appropriate, for necessary changes or 
improvement. 
 (b)  An "evaluation" or "review" may include providing 
training and technical assistance on program-related matters and 
performing on-site reviews of program operations. 
 (12)(a)  "External audit" means an appraisal activity 
established under the direction of an individual or entity outside of 
the subject agency to examine and evaluate the adequacy and 
effectiveness of: 
 (i)  agency control systems; 
 (ii)  compliance; 
 (iii)  performance; and 
 (iv)  financial position. 
 (b)  An external audit is conducted in accordance with 
current professional and industry technical standards, as applicable, 
for external audits. 
 (13)(a)  "Home school student" means a student who: 
 (a)  attends a home school pursuant to Section 53G-6-204; 
and 
 (b)  is not counted by an LEA in membership for purposes 
of generating state or federal funding. 
 (14)  "Individualized education program" or "IEP" means a 
written statement for a student with a disability that is developed, 
reviewed, and revised in accordance with Part B of the Individuals 
with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. Section 1400 
(2004), and rule. 
 (15)  "Individuals with Disabilities Education Act" or 
"IDEA," 20 U.S.C. Section 1400 et seq. (2004), is a four part (A-D) 
piece of federal legislation that ensures a student with a disability is 
provided with a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) that is 
tailored to the student's individual needs. 
 (16)(a)  "Internal audit" means an independent appraisal 
activity established within an agency as a control system to examine 
and objectively evaluate the adequacy and effectiveness of other 
internal control systems within the agency or the public education 
system. 
 (b)  An "internal audit" is conducted in accordance with the 
current: 
 (i)  International Standards for the Professional Practice of 
Internal Auditing; or 
 (ii)  Government Auditing Standards, issued by the 
Comptroller General of the United States. 
 (17)(a)  "LEA" or "local education agency" means a school 
district or charter school. 
 (b)  For purposes of certain rules, "LEA" or "local 
education agency" may include the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the 
Blind (USDB) if indicated in the specific rule. 
 (18)(a)  "LEA governing board" or "local board" means: 
 (i)  for a school district, a local school board; and 
 (ii)  for a charter school, a charter school governing board. 

 (b)  For purposes of certain rules, "LEA governing board" 
or "local board" may include the State Board of Education as the 
governing board for the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind if 
indicated in the specific rule. 
 (19)(a)  "Monitor" [or "oversee" ]means to formally 
supervise, inspect, or examine the compliance, performance, or 
finances of a program or set of requirements. 
 (b)  A monitoring [or oversight ]program may include: 
 (i)  review of financial and performance reports required of 
the subject program; 
 (ii)  follow-up to ensure the subject program takes timely 
and appropriate actions to correct identified deficiencies; 
 (iii)  supervising remedial action recommended by audit or 
monitoring findings or required by Board rule; and 
 (iv)  any function performed in an evaluation or review. 
 (20)(a)  "Multidisciplinary team" means a group of 
individuals from multiple disciplines who meet to: 
 (i)  pursue the common goal of evaluating and triaging the 
academic, social, emotional, physical, and behavioral needs of a 
student or group of students; and 
 (ii)  create individualized strategies and interventions to 
address identified needs. 
 (b)  An LEA's multidisciplinary school team as described 
in Subsection (20)(a) may include: 
 (i)  administrative personnel; 
 (ii)  a local law enforcement officer or school resource 
officer; 
 (iii)  a mental health professional; 
 (iv)  a general education or special education teacher; and 
 (v)  other community members as determined by the LEA. 
 (21)  "Parent" means a parent or guardian who has 
established residency of a child under Section[s] 53G-6-302, 53G-6-
303, or 53G-6-402, or another applicable Utah guardianship 
provision. 
 (22)  "Plan for College and Career Readiness" or "SEOP" 
means a student education occupation plan for college and career 
readiness that is a developmentally organized intervention process 
that includes: 
 (a)  a written plan, updated annually, for a secondary 
student's (grades 7-12) education and occupational preparation; 
 (b)  all Board, local board and local charter board 
graduation requirements; 
 (c)  evidence of parent or guardian, student, and school 
representative involvement annually; 
 (d)  attainment of approved workplace skill competencies, 
including job placement when appropriate; and 
 (e)  identification of post secondary goals and approved 
sequence of courses. 
 (23)  "Preschool" means a school in which all the students 
enrolled are pre-kindergarten. 
 (24)(a)  "Private school student" means a student who: 
 (a)  attends a private school; and 
 (b)  is not counted by an LEA in membership for purposes 
of generating state or federal funding. 
 (25)  "Program" means an instructional environment that 
does not meet the criteria to be classified as a school, as described in 
Subsection (27). 
 (26)  "Public school student" means a student who: 
 (a)  attends an LEA governed public school; and 
 (b)  is counted by an LEA in membership for purposes of 
generating state or federal funding. 
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 (27)  "School" means an instructional environment that: 
 (a)  is governed by an LEA board; 
 (b)  has an assigned administrator; 
 (c)  has enrolled students that generate average daily 
membership hours during the school year; 
 (d)  has assigned instructional staff; 
 (e)  provides instruction in the Utah core standards; 
 (f)  has one or more grade groups in the range from 
kindergarten through grade 12; and 
 (g)  is not a program for students enrolled in another public 
school. 
 (28)  "Social emotional learning" or "SEL" means the 
process through which students acquire and effectively apply the 
knowledge, attitude, and skills necessary to: 
 (a)  understand and manage emotions; 
 (b)  set and achieve positive goals; 
 (c)  feel and show empathy for others; 
 (d)  establish and maintain positive relationships; 
 (e)  make responsible decisions; and 
 (f)  self-advocate. 
 (29)  "Split enrollment student" means a student who is: 
 (a)  regularly enrolled at two schools within two LEAs at 
the same time; 
 (b)  eligible for graduation and other services at both 
schools; and 
 (c)  subject to the split enrollment [provisions 
of]requirements in Rule R277-419, counted by each LEA in 
membership for purposes of generating state or federal funding for 
only those courses or subjects for which each LEA provides 
instruction. 
 (30)  "State Charter School Board" or "SCSB" means the 
State Charter School Board created in Section 53G-5-201. 
 (31)  "Student Threat assessment" means a prevention 
strategy that involves: (a) identifying student threats including to 
commit a violent act, (b) determining the seriousness of the threat, 
and (c) developing intervention plans that protect potential victims 
and address the underlying problem or conflict that stimulated the 
threatening behavior. 
 (32)  "Superintendent" means the State Superintendent of 
Public Instruction or the Superintendent's designee. 
 (33)  "Suspension" means: 
 (a)  an in-school suspension that is a temporary removal of 
a student from the student's regular classroom for disciplinary 
reasons for at least half a school day but remains under the direct 
supervision of school personnel; or 
 (b)  an out-of-school suspension that is the removal of a 
student from school grounds for disciplinary reasons unless the 
student removed is: 
 (i)  served solely under a Section 504 plan, where an out-
of-school suspension is the excluding of the student from school for 
disciplinary purposes for one day or longer; or 
 (ii)  a student with disabilities under IDEA, where an out-
of-school suspension is the temporary removal of the student from 
the student's regular school for disciplinary reasons to another setting. 
 (34)  "Threat" means an expression of intent to harm 
someone that is direct, indirect, or implied and may be spoken, 
written, or expressed in some other way. 
 (35)  "USDB" means the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the 
Blind. 

 (36)  "USIMS" or "Utah Schools Information Management 
System" means a software system maintained by the Superintendent 
for collecting, processing, providing oversight, and reporting on 
education data for the state as required by Section 53E-3-518. 
 
KEY:  Board of Education, rules, definitions 
Date of Last Change:  2024[August 22, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  July 14, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-111 Filing ID:  
56285 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-111.  Board Oversight Framework 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being created to provide a Utah State Board of 
Education (USBE) oversight framework. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This new rule is necessary to define minimum USBE 
oversight standards, including establishing an oversight 
framework for public education-related requirements 
which includes four categories of oversight. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
The new framework for oversight and monitoring gives 
guidelines for USBE to categorize programs but does not 
add any specific measurable costs to USBE budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
Local Education Agencies (LEAs) may see a slightly 
reduced administrative burden as a result of USBE 
providing clarity to oversight and monitoring processes. 
 
There are no measurable savings or costs associated with 
these changes for LEAs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This only affects USBE and LEAs.   
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
This only affects USBE and LEAs. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
There are no measurable savings or costs associated with 
USBE providing clarity through the oversight framework. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Section 
53E-3-301 

Section 53F-1-104   
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 01/16/2024 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-111.  Board Oversight Framework. 
R277-111-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; 
 (c)  Section 53F-1-104, which requires the Board to 
monitor state-funded education programs and the expenditure of state 
funds in accordance with certain statutory provisions; and 
 (d)  Section 53E-3-301, which requires the Superintendent 
to: 
 (i)  administer programs assigned to the state board in 
accordance with the policies and the standards established by the 
state board; and 
 (ii)  investigate matters pertaining to public schools. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to define minimum Board 
oversight standards, including establishing an oversight framework 
for public education-related requirements. 
 
R277-111-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Framework" means the Board Oversight Framework 
established in this rule. 
 (2)  "Oversight entity" means: 
 (a)  an LEA; 
 (b)  a regional service agency, as that term is defined in 
Section 53G-4-410; 

 (c)  an entity that enters into a contract with the Board: 
 (i)  to provide an educational good or service; or 
 (ii)  as the Board is directed by the Legislature; 
 (d)  a charter school authorizer, as that term is defined in 
Section 53G-5-102, if the charter school authorizer has an approved 
charter school; 
 (e)  an institution of higher education that is associated with 
an educator preparation program, as defined in Section R277-303-2; 
 (f)  an entity that receives a distribution of state funds 
through a grant program funded by the state board; or 
 (g)  a nonfederal entity that receives an award through the 
Board to carry out part of a federal program. 
 (3)  "Program or set of requirements" means a requirement 
or set of requirements in state or federal law that is related to: 
 (a)  the public education system; and 
 (b)  an oversight entity. 
 
R277-111-3.  Board Oversight of Public Education Programs and 
Requirements. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall create a framework, as 
described in Section R277-114-4, that sets minimum standards for 
oversight of a program or set of requirements. 
 (2)  In accordance with Section R277-111-4, the 
Superintendent shall: 
 (a)  on or before July 31, 2029, designate each program or 
set of requirements into a framework category for the Board's 
consideration and codification in Board rule, that corresponds to the 
Board's oversight role for that program or set of requirements; and 
 (b)  fulfill related oversight duties as described in rule and 
internal policy and procedures. 
 (3)  In accordance with Rule R277-114, the Board or 
Superintendent may take investigative or corrective action with 
regard to any program or set of requirements. 
 (4)  An oversight entity shall provide all information and 
documents requested by the Board or the Superintendent in a timely 
manner. 
 
R277-111-4.  Board Oversight Framework. 
 (1)  The framework shall consist of four categories that 
represent an increasing degree of Board oversight for each 
subsequent category. 
 (2)  Before categorizing a program or set of requirements 
for the Board's consideration, the Superintendent shall analyze the 
program or set of requirements based on the following factors: 
 (a)  the quantity and content of the legal requirements, 
including explicit monitoring requirements in state or federal law; 
 (b)  the risk inherent in: 
 (i)  the requirements; and 
 (ii)  the individual oversight entities subject to the 
requirements, with regard to the effectiveness of each oversight 
entity's internal control system; 
 (c)  all general and dedicated resources available to carry 
out the requirements, including: 
 (i)  the restricted or unrestricted nature of applicable 
funding; and 
 (ii)  options for using dedicated staff; and 
 (d)  any other factors the Superintendent considers relevant 
to the analysis. 
 (3)  Based on the analysis described in Subsection (2), the 
Superintendent shall categorize a program or set of requirements in 
the framework as follows: 
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 (a)  a program or set of requirements belongs in category 
one if the Superintendent determines that: 
 (i)  the Superintendent will not dedicate specific staff to the 
program or set of requirements; and 
 (ii)  either: 
 (A)  local control is critical to the purpose of the 
requirements; or 
 (B)  the Superintendent will not use resources for 
implementing the requirements and will typically refer complaints 
and allegations back to the oversight entity for resolution; 
 (b)  a program or set of requirements belongs in category 
two if the Superintendent determines that: 
 (i)  the Superintendent will not specifically dedicate staff to 
the program or set of requirements; and 
 (ii)  the Superintendent will provide assistance as needed to 
an oversight entity implementing the requirements; 
 (c)  a program or set of requirements belongs in category 
three if the Superintendent determines: 
 (i)  that the Superintendent will dedicate staff to the 
program or set of requirements; and 
 (ii)  at least one of the following: 
 (A)  that less frequent than annual desk monitoring is 
sufficient to fulfill the requirements; or 
 (B)  that resources are limited to either completely fulfill 
monitoring requirements or to appropriately mitigate identified risks; 
and 
 (d)  a program or set of requirements belongs in category 
four if the Superintendent determines that: 
 (i)  the Superintendent will dedicate staff to the program or 
set of requirements; 
 (ii)  annual or more frequent monitoring is necessary to 
ensure accountability of the oversight entity; 
 (iii)  monitoring may include on-site visits; and 
 (iv)  resources are sufficient to fulfill the requirements. 
 (4)  When the Board makes, amends, or continues a rule 
regarding a program or set of requirements, the rule: 
 (a)  shall state the Board's oversight objectives and related 
duties, based on the 
Superintendent's analysis and recommended framework 
categorization of the program or set of requirements; and 
 (b)  may include, as necessary for the intended category of 
oversight: 
 (i)  designing an internal control system to achieve the 
Board's oversight objectives and creating an implementation plan; 
 (ii)  creating a mechanism to check the effectiveness of the 
oversight process; and 
 (iii)  setting a standard for satisfactory outcomes for the 
program or set of requirements. 
 (5)  For a program or set of requirements that needs 
monitoring, the details of the monitoring system shall be described: 
 (a)  in the rule relating to the program or set of 
requirements; or 
 (b)  in contract, if the program or set of requirements is 
established in contract. 
 
R277-111-5.  Framework Standards. 
 (1)  The framework does not supersede or limit the Board's 
power of general control and supervision and the Board may vote to 
change part or all of the framework or categorizations within the 
framework at any time. 
 (2)  The Board's internal audit function is not part of the 
framework and is not limited by the framework. 

R277-111-6.  Superintendent Status Reports on Framework. 
 The Superintendent shall provide a report to the Board that 
reviews and evaluates the effectiveness of the framework: 
 (1)  before December 15, 2024; and 
 (2)  at the request of the Board thereafter. 
 
KEY:  monitoring, oversight 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4); 53E-3-301; 53F-1-104 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-114 Filing ID:  
56286 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-114.  Corrective Action and Withdrawal or Reduction 
of Program Funds 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being updated to provide updates based on 
work done in coordination with the development of Rule 
R277-111. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments specifically change the title of the rule to 
"Response to Compliance and Related Issues". 
 
The amendments also add definitions for "Framework" and 
"Oversight" and update related requirements. 
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(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R277-111 is 
under ID 56285 in this issue, February 1, 2024, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
As part of the Utah State Board of Education's (USBE) new 
oversight and monitoring framework, the changes provide 
clarity to USBE processes but do not add any measurable 
costs or savings for the USBE. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule change is intended to provide clarity in USBE 
oversight and monitoring for Local Education Agencies 
(LEAs).  It could lead to slightly reduced administrative 
burdens for LEAs but there are no measurable costs or 
savings. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This only applies to USBE and LEAs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 

This only applies to USBE and LEAs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
There are no measurable costs associated with 
compliance to the rule changes for USBE or LEAs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
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Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Section 53E-3-401 Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Section 53F-1-104   
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 01/16/2024 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-114.  [Corrective Action and Withdrawal or Reduction of 
Program Funds]Response to Compliance and Related Issues. 
R277-114-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision of public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law;[ and] 
 (c)  Subsection 53E-3-401(8)[(c)], which allows the Board 
to make rules setting forth the procedures to be followed for 
enforcing Board rules[.]; 
 (d)  Section 53F-1-104, which requires the Board to 
monitor state-funded education programs and the expenditure of state 
funds in accordance with certain statutory provisions; and 
 (e)  Section 53E-3-301, which requires the Superintendent 
to: 
 (i)  administer programs assigned to the state board in 
accordance with the policies and the standards established by the 
state board; and 
 (ii)  investigate matters pertaining to public schools. 
 (2)  The purpose of the rule is to provide procedures for 
[public education program monitoring and corrective action for 
noncompliance with identified: 
 (a)  program requirements; 
 (b)  program accountability standards; and 

 (c)  financial propriety.]responses to compliance and 
related issues, including corrective action and related appeals 
procedures. 
 
R277-114-2.  Definitions. 
[ (1)  "Program" means a public education project, plan, or 
other activity required by: 
 (a) administrative rule; 
 (b) state law; or 
 (c) federal law. 
 (2)  "Recipient" means an LEA, school, or subrecipient. 
 (3) "Subrecipient" means a non-Federal entity that receives 
an award through the Board to carry out part of a Federal program, 
or a non-Federal entity that is the direct awardee of other federal 
awards from a Federal awarding agency.] 
 (1)  "Framework" means the Board Oversight Framework 
established in Rule R277-111. 
 (2)  "Oversight entity" means the same as that term is 
defined in Rule R277-111. 
 (3)  "Program or set of requirements" means the same as 
that term is defined in Rule R277-111. 
 
R277-114-3.  Use of Framework for Compliance and Related 
Issues. 
 (1)(a)  Except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), for an 
alleged compliance issue regarding a program or set of requirements 
in framework category one or two, the Superintendent shall refer 
reports and complaints back to the oversight entity for resolution. 
 (b)  The Superintendent may work informally with an 
oversight entity to resolve an alleged compliance issue arising under 
a program or set of requirements in framework category one or two, 
including discussing whether: 
 (i)  the oversight entity had adequate time to comply; or 
 (ii)  the oversight entity needs additional training. 
 (2)  For a compliance issue arising under a program or set 
of requirements in framework category three or four, the 
Superintendent shall pursue formal corrective action: 
 (a)  as described in Section R277-114-4 or R277-114-5; and 
 (b)  in accordance with a state law, administrative rule, or a 
contract associated with the program or set of requirements. 
 (3)(a)  In response to an alleged compliance issue regarding 
a program or set of requirements, Board leadership may work 
informally with the oversight entity toward resolving the issue, which 
efforts may include: 
 (i)  for an issue regarding an LEA, meeting with the chair 
of the LEA's governing board, the LEA's superintendent, or charter 
director; or 
 (ii)  considering whether training or additional time will 
allow the oversight entity to resolve the issue. 
 (b)  Before Board leadership works informally with an 
oversight entity as described in Subsection (3)(a), Board leadership 
shall notify the Board member or members who represent the area 
where the oversight entity is located. 
 (c)(i)  For an alleged compliance issue regarding a program 
or set of requirements uncategorized or in framework category one 
or two, the Board's audit committee may determine an appropriate 
method to investigate the alleged compliance issue, including 
requesting the Board's internal audit function to investigate the 
alleged issue in accordance with Rule R277-116. 
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 (ii)  If the Board's audit committee directs an investigation 
as described in Subsection (3)(c)(i), the entity conducting the 
investigation shall notify  the oversight entity that the investigation 
will review an alleged compliance issue in accordance with this 
section. 
 (d)  Based on the results of an investigation described in 
Subsection (3)(c), the Board may: 
 (i)  take no further action; 
 (ii)  resolve the issue informally; 
 (iii)  direct the Superintendent to pursue corrective action 
as described in Section R277-114-4 or R277-114-5; or 
 (iv)  take other action. 
 
R277-114-[3]4.  [Program Monitoring.]Corrective Action for 
Contract Requirements. 
[ (1)  For each program, the Superintendent shall design and 
implement a consistent monitoring plan or process that includes 
standards for both program outcomes and program financial 
compliance. 
 (2)  The Superintendent shall notify all recipients of the 
initiation of or changes to any monitoring plan or process. 
 (3)  The Superintendent shall monitor compliance with: 
 (a)  program outcomes and requirements; 
 (b)  reporting requirements; and 
 (c)  financial requirements. 
 (4)  An LEA shall provide the Superintendent all requested 
information or documents to comply with this Section.] 
 For corrective action related to a program or set of 
requirements established or culminating in a contract between the 
Board and an oversight entity, the Superintendent shall take 
corrective action in accordance with the provisions of the contract. 
 
R277-114-[4]5.  [Corrective Action Plans.]Corrective Action for 
Non-Contractual Requirements. 
 (1)  For corrective action related to a program or set of 
requirements not established in contract, the Superintendent may take 
corrective action as described in this section. 
 (2)(a)  In taking corrective action under this section, the 
Superintendent shall act in accordance with state and federal law 
applicable to the program or set of requirements. 
 (b)  Before the Superintendent places an oversight entity on 
a corrective action plan as described in Subsection (3), the 
Superintendent shall: 
 (i)  provide written notice of initiating the process 30 days 
before the day on which the corrective action plan is finalized; and 
 (ii)  during the 30 days, discuss with the LEA's 
superintendent, charter director or the oversight entity's primary 
contact the nature of the issue and try to resolve the issue informally, 
including discussing whether: 
 (A)  the oversight entity has adequate time to comply; or 
 (B)  the oversight entity needs additional training. 
 (c)  If the corrective action plan is due to an oversight 
entity's failure to provide information, the notice described in 
Subsection (2)(b)(i) shall include a statement confirming that the 
information is not available elsewhere. 
 [(1)](3)  The Superintendent [shall]may place [a 
recipient]an oversight entity on a corrective action plan [when a 
recipient]if the Board, the Superintendent, or an external or internal 
audit determines that the oversight entity: 
 [(a)  does not demonstrate satisfactory program outcomes 
as described by the monitoring plan or process; 

 (b)](a)  demonstrates non-compliance with published 
expectations for program [requirements]outcomes or allowable 
program expenditures;[ or] 
 (b)  demonstrates unsatisfactory outcomes in performance 
as evidenced by audit results or framework category three or four 
monitoring; 
 (c)  demonstrates financial fraud, waste, or abuse; or 
 [(c)](d)  [does]did not comply with a request[s] to provide 
timely, accurate and complete program or financial information, [as 
described by the monitoring plan or process]in accordance with 
oversight procedures. 
 [(2)](4)  [The Superintendent shall clearly outline in a]A 
corrective action plan shall contain the following elements: 
 (a)  [all areas of noncompliance]the background 
information that led to corrective action; 
 (b)  each identified issue, including the reasons for the 
corrective action plan as described in Subsection (3); 
 (c)  details of the identified issue, based on evidence 
gathered, including dates; 
 [(b)](d)  the specific conditions [to be met as a result of 
noncompliance]the oversight entity must meet as a result of the 
issues; 
 [(c)](e)  steps required to satisfy the corrective action plan 
and estimated time frame for completing the steps;[ and 
 (d)  a reasonable time frame for the recipient to correct 
identified issues.] 
 (f)  a procedure for communication during the course of the 
corrective action, including: 
 (i)  designation of a primary contact at the oversight entity; 
 (ii)  a schedule for the frequency of updates provided by the 
contact; 
 (iii)  the format of required updates; and 
 (iv)  the designated recipient of the updates; 
 (g)  a procedure to close the corrective action, including: 
 (i)  designation of an individual authorized to close the 
corrective action; 
 (ii)  the criteria for closing the corrective action; 
 (iii)  an estimated schedule for closing the corrective action; 
and 
 (iv)  how the authorized individual will communicate 
closure to the oversight entity; and 
 (h)  notice of the option for appeal as described in Section 
R277-114-6. 
 (5)  In creating a corrective action plan, the Superintendent 
shall emphasize providing technical support to assist the oversight 
entity to achieve compliance and performance. 
 [(3)](6)  The specific conditions described in Subsection 
[(2)](4)(b) may include: 
 (a)  requiring the oversight entity to obtain technical or 
management support, including program assistance such as 
mentoring; 
 (b)  requiring the oversight entity to receive payment[s] as 
a reimbursement[s] [rather than]instead of advance payment[s]; 
 [(b)](c)  [withholding authority to proceed to the next step 
until receipt of]requiring evidence of acceptable performance within 
a given period [of performance]before the oversight entity may 
proceed to the next corrective action step; 
[ (c)  requiring additional, more detailed financial reports;] 
 (d)  requiring [additional project monitoring]more frequent 
or more intensive monitoring than what is required from the related 
program or set of requirements; 
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 (e)  requiring [the recipient to obtain technical or 
management assistance; or]additional or more detailed financial or 
compliance reports; or 
 (f)  establishing additional prior approvals. 
 [(4)  A](7)  The Superintendent may also include in a 
corrective action plan [may also include ]a provision and [a ]timeline 
for: 
 (a)  training for the oversight entity's staff; 
 (b)  a referral for risk-based monitoring, for a program or 
set of requirements that does not already perform risk-based 
monitoring; 
 [(b)](c)  a referral for an audit or other agreed-upon 
procedure by: 
 (i)  an external auditor; or 
 (ii)  the Board's internal audit [department]section, with 
approval of the Board's Audit Committee; 
 [(c)](d)  periodic meetings between [a recipient]an 
oversight entity administrator or governing board member and the 
[State ]Superintendent [of Public Instruction ]or a Deputy 
Superintendent; and 
 [(d)](e)  a planned appearance[s] before the Board or a 
Board committee to provide status updates[; and 
 (e)  training for the recipient's staff. 
 (5)  If the recipient ](8) For an oversight entity that is a 
charter school[,] the Superintendent shall: 
 (a)  consult with the charter authorizer in the creation of the 
corrective action plan; and 
 (b)  report regularly to the charter authorizer about the 
status of the [noncompliant program recipient]oversight entity. 
 [(6)](9)  The Superintendent may [employ]implement 
escalating restrictive conditions in a corrective action plan based on: 
 (a)  the severity of the violation as determined by the 
program's monitoring plan or process; or 
 (b)  repeated violations by [a recipient]an oversight entity. 
 [(7)](10)(a)  The Superintendent may include penalties for 
non-compliance with a corrective action plan in accordance with 
Subsection 53E-3-401(8). 
 (b)  If the Superintendent determines to withhold funding 
as part of a corrective action plan, the corrective action plan will state: 
 (i)  the circumstances that led to the determination; 
 (ii)  a timeline for withholding funds; and 
 (iii)  the steps the oversight entity is required to satisfy to 
reinstate funding. 
 [(8)](11)  The Superintendent shall give notice and a hard 
or electronic copy of the corrective action plan [in writing ]to: 
 (a)  [the recipient's administrators;]the designated primary 
contact described in Subsection (4)(d)(i); 
 (b)  the respective [recipient's]oversight entity's governing 
board; and 
 (c)  the charter school authorizer, [if applicable]in 
accordance with Subsection (8). 
 [(9)  The ](12)  As requested, the Superintendent shall 
report to the Board [regularly ]about the status of [noncompliant 
program recipients]a corrective action plan in force for an oversight 
entity. 
 
R277-114-[5]6.  [Recipient Appeals.]Corrective Action Appeals. 
 (1)  [A recipient ]An oversight entity may [file]submit an 
appeal to the Board [of any adverse decision of the Superintendent 
resulting from a corrective action plan or penalty.]relating to: 

 (a)  a reason the Superintendent is imposing the corrective 
action plan; 
 (b)  the requirements of a corrective action plan; or 
 (c)  an action the Superintendent takes to impose or 
implement a corrective action plan. 
 (2)  [An appeal must be made in writing and within 30 days 
of the date of the Superintendent's action.]For an appeal described in 
Subsection (1), the oversight entity shall: 
 (a)  state in the appeal the plan requirement or action with 
which the oversight entity disagrees; and 
 (b)  submit the appeal to the Board in accordance with 
Section R277-102-3. 
 (3)  Except for corrective action subject to 34 CFR 76.783, 
the Board may: 
 (a)  review the appeal as a full board;[ or] 
 (b)  refer the matter to the Board audit committee to make 
a recommendation to the Board for action; or 
 (c)  identify another method to review the appeal. 
 
KEY:  monitoring, corrective action, oversight[programs, 
noncompliance, corrective action] 
Date of Last Change:  2024[March 12, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 13, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401; 53E-3-401(4); 53F-1-104[Art X Sec 3; 53E-3-401(4)] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-304 Filing ID:  
56287 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-304.  Teacher Preparation Programs 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being updated to incorporate by reference new 
General Teaching Preparation Competencies and 
Elementary Content competencies, and to also make 
updates to the requirements related to General Teacher 
Preparation. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments specifically incorporate the General 
Teacher Preparation Competencies dated January 2024, 
and the Elementary Content Competencies dated January 
2024. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
The updates to educator preparation competencies and 
the requirement to provide the Utah State Board of 
Education (USBE) with evidence that a teacher 
preparation program complies with requirements do not 
add specific or measurable costs for USBE or any other 
state entity. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
Local Education Agencies (LEAs) with educator 
preparation programs may need to submit evidence to 
USBE to be approved as a program; USBE does not 
estimate a measurable fiscal impact as they programs can 
simply submit a syllabus or program outline to USBE for 
consideration.  There are no measurable fiscal impacts for 
LEAs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This only affects USBE and LEAs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 

have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
This only affects USBE and LEAs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
There are no measurable compliance costs for USBE or 
LEAs to update the reference to educator competencies 
and provide evidence a preparation program can prepare 
educators prior to approval by USBE. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X 
 Section 3 

Section 53E-3-401 Section 53E-6-201 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

General Teacher Preparation  
Competencies 

Publisher Utah State Board of Education 

Issue Date January 2024 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Educator Preparation Program  
Competencies for Elementary  
Literacy 

Publisher Utah State Board of Education 

Issue Date May 2022 

 
C) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

The Elementary Content  
Competencies 

Publisher Utah State Board of Education 

Issue Date January 2024 

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 01/16/2024 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-304.  Teacher Preparation Programs. 
R277-304-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Subsection 53E-6-201(3)(a), which [allows ]directs the 
Board to make rules to establish the criteria for obtaining an educator 
license. 
 (2)(a)  The purpose of this rule is to specify the standards 
which the Board expects of a teacher preparation institution [prior 
to]before program approval in specified areas. 
 (b)  The standards in this rule apply to the specific 
educational area and grade level for which the preparation program 
is designed. 
 
R277-304-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)(a)  "Career and technical education" or "CTE" means 
organized educational programs or competencies which directly or 
indirectly prepare students for employment, or for additional 
preparation leading to employment, in occupations where entry 
requirements do not generally require a baccalaureate or advanced 
degree. 
 (b)  CTE programs provide all students a continuous 
education system, driven by a student's college and career readiness 
plan, through competency-based instruction, culminating in essential 
life skills, certified occupational skills, and meaningful employment. 
 (2)  "Clinical experience" means a structured opportunity 
in which a program candidate is mentored by a licensed educator and 
evaluated by a teacher leader, school administrator, or university 
preparation program faculty member, in order to develop and 
demonstrate competency in the skills and knowledge necessary to be 
an effective teacher, in a physical classroom, which may include 
experiences in a virtual classroom. 
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 (3)  "Competency" means evidence through demonstration 
in a higher education or prek-12 classroom setting of successful 
application of knowledge and skills. 
 (4)(a)  "Council for Exceptional Children" or "CEC" means 
an international professional organization dedicated to improving the 
educational success of both individuals with disabilities and 
individuals with gifts and talents. 
 (b)  CEC advocates for appropriate governmental policies, 
sets professional standards, provides professional development, 
advocates for individuals with exceptionalities, and helps 
professionals obtain conditions and resources necessary for effective 
professional practice. 
 (5)  "Essential Elements" means the alternate academic 
achievement standards for students with significant cognitive 
disabilities, established by the Board in the Special Education Rules 
Manual, dated October 2016, incorporated by reference in Section 
R277-750-2. 
 (6)  "Diverse student populations" means unique student 
groups as identified by: 
 (a)  gender; 
 (b)  race; 
 (c)  ethnicity; 
 (d)  disability; 
 (e)  sexual orientation; 
 (f)  academic learning needs; or 
 (g)  linguistic needs. 
 (7)(a)  "Multi-tiered system of supports" or "MTSS" means 
a framework for integrating assessment and intervention to maximize 
student achievement, reduce behavior problems, and increase long-
term success. 
 (b)  The combination of systematic implementation of 
increasingly intensive intervention, sometime referred to as tiers, and 
carefully monitoring students' progress, distinguishes MTSS from 
typical prevention measures. 
 (c)  Emphasis, in MTSS, is placed on ensuring 
interventions are implemented effectively. 
 (8)  "Personalize" means to engage all students with high 
expectations for their learning goals and to empower each learner to 
take ownership of their individual strengths, needs, and interests, 
while tailoring flexible supports to maximize student growth and 
competence. 
 (9)  "Utah Core Standards" means the core standards 
established by the Board in Rule R277-700 for grades K-12 and the 
Utah Early Childhood Core Standards, February 2013 edition. 
 
R277-304-3.  Incorporation by Reference of Educator 
Preparation Program Competencies[ for Elementary Literacy]. 
 (1)  This rule incorporates by reference: 
 (a)  the General Teacher Preparation Competencies dated 
January 2024; 
 (b)  the Educator Preparation Program Competencies for 
Elementary Literacy dated May 2022[.]; and 
 (c)  the Elementary Content Competencies dated January 
2024. 
 (2)  A copy of [this]these documents is located at: 
 (a)  
https://schools.utah.gov/administrativerules/documentsincorporated; 
and 
 (b)  the offices of the Utah State Board of Education. 
 

R277-304-4.  General Teacher Preparation. 
 [Prior to]Before approval by the Board, a teacher 
preparation program shall provide evidence that the program: 
 (1)  prepares candidates to meet the Utah Effective 
Teaching Standards in Rule R277-[530]330; 
 (2)  prepares candidates to teach: 
 (a)  the Utah Core Standards; and 
 (b)  the Essential Elements, as appropriate to a candidate's 
prospective area of licensure as established by the Board; 
 (3)  includes school-based clinical experiences for a 
candidate to observe, practice skills, and reflect on teaching that: 
 (a)  are significant in number, depth, breadth, and duration; 
 (b)  are progressively more complex; and 
 (c)  include working with all types of students; 
 (4)  for candidates who enroll in a preparation program 
before September 1, 2025, requires competency in: 
 (a)  content and content[-] specific pedagogy appropriate 
for the area of licensure; 
 (b)  knowledge of the Educator Standards contained in Rule 
R277-217; 
 (c)  designing, administering, and reviewing formative and 
summative assessments in a meaningful and ethical manner; 
 (d)  improving student outcomes by: 
 (i)  using student assessment data, both formative and 
summative; 
 (ii)  analyzing instructional practices; and 
 (iii)  making necessary adjustments to personalize learning; 
 (e)  using strategies to promote active student engagement; 
 (f)  systematically designing instruction toward a specific 
learning goal by: 
 (i)  providing tier one and tier two instruction and 
intervention on the Utah core standards including the use of 
competency-based learning; 
 (ii)  using a variety of evidence-based instructional 
strategies, including explicit instruction and scaffolded supports; 
 (iii)  integrating technology to support and meaningfully 
supplement the learning of students; 
 (iv)  designing developmentally appropriate and authentic 
learning experiences; 
 (v)  developing higher order thinking and metacognitive 
skills; and 
 (vi)  integrating cross-disciplinary skills, such as literacy 
and numeracy, into instruction; 
 (g)  providing positive and constructive feedback to guide 
students' learning and behavior; 
 (h)  establishing a consistent, organized, and respectful 
learning environment, including: 
 (i)  positive behavior interventions and supports within a 
multi-tiered system of support; 
 (ii)  classroom procedures and routines; 
 (iii)  trauma-informed practices; and 
 (iv)  restorative practices; 
 (i)  knowledge and skills to assist in the identification of 
and instruction for students with disabilities in the general classroom, 
including: 
 (i)  knowledge of the IDEA and Section 504 of the 
Rehabilitation Act; 
 (ii)  knowledge of the role of non-special-education 
teachers in the education of students with disabilities; 
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 (iii)  knowledge and skills in implementing least restrictive 
behavior interventions; 
 (iv)  skills in implementing and assessing the results of 
interventions; and 
 (v)  skills in the implementation of an educational program 
with accommodations, modifications, services, and supports 
established by an IEP or a 504 plan for students with disabilities in 
the general education classroom; 
 (j)  knowledge and skills designed to meet the needs of 
diverse student populations in the general education classroom, 
including: 
 (i)  allowing students alternative ways to demonstrate 
learning that are sensitive to student diversity; 
 (ii)  creating an environment that is sensitive to multiple 
experiences and diversity; 
 (iii)  designing, adapting, and delivering instruction to 
address each student's diverse learning strengths and needs; and 
 (iv)  incorporating language development into planning, 
instruction, and intervention for students learning English, using their 
first language as an asset while supporting development of English 
proficiency; and 
 (k)  effectively communicating and collaborating with 
parents, colleagues, and administration[.]; 
 (5)  for candidates who enroll in a preparation program on 
or after September 1, 2025, requires competence in the General 
Teacher Preparation Competencies; 
 ([5]6)  for a program [applicant]candidate accepted on or 
after January 1, 2020, [require]provides multiple opportunities for a 
program [applicant]candidate to successfully demonstrate 
application of knowledge and skills gained through the program in 
one or more clinical experiences in collaboration with a licensed 
teacher over an extended period[ of time] in each of the following 
competencies: 
 (a)  implementing the planning and design, delivery, 
facilitation, assessment, evaluation, and reflection of a unit of 
instruction;  
 (b)  revising instructional plans for future implementation 
or reteaching concepts as appropriate; 
 (c)  implementing the accommodations, modifications, 
services, and supports as outlined in a student's IEP or 504 plan; 
 (d)  evaluating student artifacts and assessments; 
 (e)  establishing and maintaining classroom procedures and 
routines that include positive behavior interventions and supports; 
 (f)  establishing and maintaining a positive learning 
climate; 
 (g)  reflecting on the teaching process and justifying 
instructional decisions; 
 (h)  participating in at least one IEP meeting or parental 
consultation regarding a student that the program 
[applicant]candidate has instructed; and 
 (i)  consulting and collaborating with qualified personnel, 
such as a [mental health or behavior professional]school counselor or 
school social worker, regarding the emotional well-being of students[ 
and responding appropriately]; 
 ([6]7)  include consideration of a candidate's dispositions 
and suitability for teaching; and 
 ([7]8)  include plans for candidate remediation and exit 
counseling, if [applicable]appropriate. 
 

R277-304-5.  Early Childhood and Elementary Preparation 
Programs. 
 (1)  [Prior to]Before approval by the Board, a preparation 
program for early childhood education or elementary education shall 
demonstrate how the program requires candidate competency in: 
 (a)  the areas outlined in Section R277-304-3; 
 (b)  early childhood development and learning; 
 (c)  for candidates who enroll in a preparation program 
before September 1, 2025, the appropriate content knowledge needed 
to teach: 
 (i)  the science of literacy instruction including: 
 (A)  phonemic awareness; 
 (B)  phonics; 
 (C)  fluency; 
 (D)  vocabulary; 
 (E)  comprehension; and 
 (vi)  the Educator Preparation Program Competencies for 
Elementary Literacy; 
 (ii)  the science of mathematics instruction, including: 
 (A)  quantitative reasoning; 
 (B)  problem solving; 
 (C)  representation; 
 (D)  numeracy; and 
 (E)  a balance of procedural and conceptual understanding; 
 (iii)  physical and life science; 
 (iv)  health and physical education; 
 (v)  social studies; and 
 (vi)  fine arts; or 
 (2)  for candidates who enroll in a preparation program on 
or after September 1, 2025, the Elementary Content Competencies 
and the Educator Preparation Program Competencies for Early 
Literacy. 
 ([2]3)  For a program [applicant]candidate accepted after 
January 1, 2020, a preparation program for early childhood or 
elementary education shall [require]provide multiple opportunities 
for a program [applicant]candidate to successfully demonstrate 
application of knowledge and skills gained through the program in a 
school-based setting in each of the following: 
 (a)  all requirements outlined in Subsections R277-304-
3(4) through (7); 
 (b)  demonstrating content specific pedagogy in each of the 
areas outlined in Subsection R277-304-5(1); 
 (c)  diagnosing students struggling with reading and 
planning and implementing remediation for those students; and 
 (d)  diagnosing students struggling with mathematics and 
planning and implementing remediation for those students. 
 ([3]4)  An educator preparation program shall apply the 
standards in this Section R277-304-4 to the specific age group or 
grade level for which the preparation program [of preparation ]is 
designed. 
 (a)  An early childhood education program shall focus 
primarily on early childhood development and learning in 
kindergarten through grade 3. 
 (b)  An elementary program shall include both early 
childhood development and learning and elementary content and 
pedagogy in kindergarten through grade 6. 
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R277-304-6.  Secondary Preparation Programs. 
 (1)  [Prior to]Before approval by the Board, a secondary 
preparation program shall demonstrate that it requires competency 
in: 
 (a)  all content competencies established by the 
Superintendent for a professional educator license in at least one 
endorsement; 
 (b)  all areas outlined in Subsections R277-304-3(4) 
through (7); 
 (c)  including literacy and quantitative learning objectives 
in content specific classes in alignment with the Utah Core Standards; 
and 
 (d)  planning instruction and assessment in content-specific 
teams and in cross-curricular teams. 
 (2)  For a program [applicant]candidate accepted after 
January 1, 2020, a secondary preparation program shall 
[require]provide multiple opportunities for a program 
[applicant]candidate to successfully demonstrate application of 
knowledge and skills gained through the program in a school-based 
setting in each of the following: 
 (a)  all requirements outlined in Subsections R277-304-
3(4) through (7); and 
 (b)  ensuring student safety and learning in educational labs 
or shops and extra-curricular settings. 
 
R277-304-7.  Special Education and Preschool Special Education 
Programs. 
 (1)  [Prior to]Before approval by the Board, a special 
education or preschool special education preparation program shall 
demonstrate that: 
 (a)  [be ]the program is operated by or partnered with a 
Utah institution of higher education or the Utah State Board of 
Education; 
 (b)  aligned with the 2012 Council for Exceptional Children 
Initial Preparation Standards as informed by the Council for 
Exceptional Children Specialty Sets for Initial Preparation Programs 
in one or more of the following special education areas: 
 (i)  Mild/Moderate Disabilities; 
 (ii)  Severe Disabilities; 
 (iii)  Deaf and Hard of Hearing; 
 (iv)  Blind and Visually Impaired; 
 (v)  Deafblind; or 
 (vi)  Preschool Special Education (Birth-Age 5); 
 (c)  the program requires the passage of a special education 
content knowledge assessment approved by the Superintendent; 
 (d)  the program requires the passage of a Braille 
assessment approved by the Superintendent for a program in the 
Blind and Visually Impaired area; 
 (e)  the program requires competency in: 
 (i)  all areas detailed in Subsections R277-304-[3]4(4) 
through (7); 
 (ii)  legal and ethical issues surrounding special education, 
including: 
 (A)  the IDEA; 
 (B)  the Special Education Rules Manual incorporated by 
reference in Section R277-750-2; and 
 (C)  all other applicable statutes and Board rules; 
 (iii)  working with other school personnel to implement and 
evaluate academic, behavioral, and developmental supports and 
interventions for students with disabilities within a multi-tiered 
system of supports as appropriate for the area of licensure; 

 (iv)  training in and supervising the services and supports 
provided to students with disabilities by general education teachers, 
related service providers, and paraprofessionals; and 
 (v)  providing specially designed instruction, including 
content specific pedagogy, as per IEPs, to students with disabilities, 
including: 
 (A)  the Utah Core Standards; and 
 (B)  the Essential Elements as appropriate to a candidate's 
prospective area of licensure as established by the Board; 
 (C)  skills in assessing and addressing the educational, 
developmental, and functional needs and progress of students with 
disabilities; 
 (D)  skills in implementing and assessing the results of 
research and evidence-based interventions for students with 
disabilities; and 
 (E)  skills in implementing an educational program with 
accommodations, modifications, services, and supports established 
by an IEP for students with disabilities. 
 (2)  For a program [applicant]candidate accepted after 
January 1, 2020, a special education or preschool special education 
preparation program shall require multiple opportunities for a 
program [applicant]candidate to successfully demonstrate 
application of knowledge and skills gained through the program in a 
school-based setting in each of the following: 
 (a)  all requirements outlined in Subsections R277-304-
3(4) through (7); 
 (b)  creating learning goals and objectives for a student with 
disabilities that are specific, measurable, time-bound, and aligned to 
identified student needs and the Utah Core Standards; 
 (c)  designing or adapting learning environments for 
diverse student populations that encourage active participation in 
individual and group activities; 
 (d)  monitoring school compliance with the provisions of 
multiple student's IEP and Section 504 plans; 
 (e)  conducting a student IEP meeting under the supervision 
of a licensed special education teacher; 
 (f)  using knowledge of measurement principles and 
practices to interpret assessment information in making instructional, 
eligibility, program, and placement decisions for students with 
disabilities, including those from culturally or linguistically diverse 
backgrounds; 
 (g)  communicating with parents of students with 
disabilities to ensure they are informed regarding the progress of their 
student and their right to due process; and 
 (h)  if the program is designed to prepare an individual for 
a special education license area, developing and implementing a 
secondary transition plan as it related to post-secondary education 
and training, competitive employment, and independent living. 
 
R277-304-8.  Deaf Education Preparation Programs. 
 (1)  [Prior to]Before approval by the Board, a deaf 
education preparation program shall: 
 (a)  be operated by or partnered with a Utah institution of 
higher education or the Utah State Board of Education; 
 (b)  be aligned with the National Association of State 
Directors of Special Education, Inc., Optimizing Outcomes for 
Students who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing, Educational Service 
Guidelines, Third Edition; 
 (c)  be focused on one or more of the following areas: 
 (i)  teaching students who are deaf or hard of hearing from 
birth to age five using both listening and spoken language strategies 
and American Sign Language; 
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 (ii)  teaching students who are deaf or hard of hearing with 
listening and spoken language strategies; or 
 (iii)  teaching students who are deaf or hard of hearing with 
strategies that promote the development of American Sign Language 
and English literacy across the curriculum; 
 (d)  require the passage of a deaf education content 
knowledge assessment approved by the Superintendent; 
 (e)  require competency in: 
 (i)  the areas detailed in Subsections R277-304-3(4) 
through (7). 
 (ii)  legal and ethical issues surrounding special education, 
including: 
 (A)  the IDEA; 
 (B)  the Special Education Rules Manual incorporated by 
reference in Section R277-750-2; and 
 (C)  all other applicable statutes and Board rules; 
 (iii)  addressing specific linguistic and cultural needs of 
deaf and hard of hearing students throughout the curriculum; 
 (iv)  skills for incorporating language into all aspects of the 
curriculum; 
 (v)  pedagogical skills unique to teaching reading, writing, 
mathematics, and other content areas to deaf and hard of hearing 
students; 
 (vi)  basic fluency in the use of American Sign Language; 
 (vii)  knowledge of the audiological and physiological 
components of audition; 
 (viii)  skills for teaching speech to deaf and hard of hearing 
students; 
 (ix)  the socio-cultural and psychological implications of 
hearing loss; and 
 (x)  assessing and addressing the educational needs and 
educational progress of deaf and hard of hearing students. 
 (2)  For a program [applicant]candidate accepted after 
January 1, 2020, a deaf or hard of hearing education preparation 
program shall require multiple opportunities for a program 
[applicant]candidate to successfully demonstrate application of 
knowledge and skills gained through the program in a school-based 
setting in each of the following: 
 (a)  all requirements outlined in Subsections R277-304-
3(4) through (7); 
 (b)  for a program focused on Subsection R277-304-
7(1)(c)(i): 
 (i)  assessing early childhood language development and 
assessment in American Sign Language and spoken English; 
 (ii)  working with families with students who are deaf or 
hard of hearing while respecting a variety of communication 
modalities; 
 (iii)  integrating language, speech, and listening everyday 
activities; 
 (iv)  sharing knowledge with families with students who 
are deaf or hard of hearing about the complexities of deaf culture, 
including norms and behaviors of the deaf community; 
 (v)  developing auditory perception in children and 
educating parents about developmental milestones for listening 
skills; and 
 (vi)  proficiency in American Sign Language as 
demonstrate by passing an assessment approved by the 
Superintendent; 
 (c)  for a program focused on Subsection R277-304-
7(1)(c)(ii): 

 (i)  developing auditory perception in children and 
strategies for developing listening and spoken language in deaf and 
hard of hearing students; 
 (ii)  demonstrating understanding and expertise regarding 
early childhood spoken language development; 
 (iii)  involving family members with students who are deaf 
or hard of hearing in learning and therapeutic activities; 
 (iv)  integrating speech, listening, and spoken language in 
preschool and early elementary content areas; and 
 (v)  integrating current listening technology, including 
troubleshooting such technology; and 
 (d)  for a program focused on Subsection R277-304-
7(1)(c)(iii): 
 (i)  integrating American Sign Language into instruction of 
core academic content for all school-age students; 
 (ii)  enhancing bilingual literacy of students who are deaf 
or hard of hearing in both American Sign Language and English; 
 (iii)  integrating respect and understanding of deaf culture 
into instruction; 
 (iv)  demonstrating understanding and expertise regarding 
American Sign Language, language development; and 
 (v)  proficiency in American Sign Language as 
demonstrated by passing an assessment approved by the 
Superintendent. 
 
R277-304-9.  Career and Technical Education Preparation 
Programs. 
 (1)  [Prior to]Before approval by the Board, a CTE teacher 
preparation program designed for individuals that do not hold a 
bachelor's degree or higher shall: 
 (a)  focus on one or more of the following areas: 
 (i)  family and consumer sciences; 
 (ii)  health sciences; 
 (iii)  information technology; 
 (iv)  skilled and technical sciences; or 
 (v)  work-based learning; 
 (b)  require that candidates have six years of documented, 
related occupational experiences within the 10 years [prior to]before 
the program application in an approved CTE license area; 
 (c)  require competency in all areas detailed in Section 
R277-304-5; 
 (d)  [F]for a program [applicant]candidate accepted after 
January 1, 2020, a CTE preparation program shall require multiple 
opportunities for a program [applicant]candidate to successfully 
demonstrate application of knowledge and skills gained through the 
program in a school-based setting in all requirements outlined in 
Section R277-304-5; and 
 (e)  require candidates to hold the applicable license or 
certificate issued by the Utah State Department of Commerce, 
Division of[ Occupational and] Professional Licensing in any area 
where such licensure or certification exists. 
 (2)  A program may count an associate's degree in a related 
area for up to two years of occupational experience to satisfy the 
requirement in Subsection R277-304-8(1)(b). 
 (3)(a)  An approved program may request a waiver from 
the Superintendent of the occupational experience required for a 
candidate if the candidate has passed an approved competency 
examination in the respective field at or above the passing score 
established by the Superintendent. 
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 (b)  The Superintendent may grant a waiver under 
Subsection (2)(a) for up to five years from the date the candidate 
passed the examination. 
 
KEY:  teacher preparation, programs, educators 
Date of Last Change:  2024[June 22, 2020] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401; 53E-6-201 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-716 Filing ID:  
56288 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-716.  Alternative Language Services for Utah 
Students 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being updated to bring it into alignment with 
changes to the state-wide Elementary and Secondary 
Education Act (ESEA) plan. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments specifically add the definition for 
"Board", and make updates regarding LEA responsibilities. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule change largely clarifies requirements for Local 
Education Agencies (LEAs) and does not add any 
measurable costs or savings for the Utah State Board of 
Education (USBE). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule change clarifies LEA responsibilities related to 
language placement services in this rule.  These 
responsibilities have already been federal requirements 
and do not add measurable costs for LEAs. 
 
Also, notice requirements are clarified to be within 30 days 
of the beginning of school.  As the notice requirements 
have already been in existence, this will not add costs for 
LEAs. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This only affects USBE and LEAs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
This only affects USBE and LEAs. 
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F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
The changes for clarity in this rule do not add measurable 
costs for USBE or LEAs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 

Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 01/16/2024 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-716.  Alternative Language Services for Utah Students. 
R277-716-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision of public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Title III; and 
 (c)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is: 
 (a)  to address the requirements of Title III and 
implementing regulations and case law; 
 (b)  to clearly define the respective responsibilities of the 
Superintendent and LEAs: 
 (i)  in identifying students learning English who are 
currently enrolled in Utah schools; and 
 (ii)  in providing evidence-based language instruction 
educational programs to identified students; and 
 (c)  [in order ]to: 
 (i)  meet Title III requirements; 
 (ii)  meet funding eligibility requirements; and 
 (iii)  appropriately distribute Title III funds for students 
learning English to LEAs with approved plans in the Utah Grants 
Management System. 
 
R277-716-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Alternative language services program" or "ALS 
program" means an evidence-based language instruction educational 
program used to achieve English proficiency and academic progress 
of identified students. 
 (2)  "Alternative language services" or "ALS" means 
language services designed to meet the education needs of all 
students learning English so that students are able to participate 
effectively in the regular instruction program. 
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 (3)  "Board" means the same as defined in Subsection 
R277-100-2(3). 
 [(3)](4)  "Consolidated State Plan" means the application 
for federal funds authorized under the Elementary and Secondary 
Education Act, or ESEA, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1001, et seq., as amended, 
and other federal sources submitted annually to the Superintendent. 
 [(4)](5)  "Evidence-based language instruction education 
program" means evidence-based methods, recommended by the 
Superintendent, that meet the "Non-Regulatory Guidance:  Using 
Evidence to Strengthen Education Investments" developed by the 
U.S. Department of Education. 
 [(5)](6)  "Immigrant children and youth" for purposes of 
this rule means individuals who: 
 (a)  are ages 3 through 21; 
 (b)  were born outside of the United States; and 
 (c)  have not been attending one or more schools in any one 
or more states of the United States for more than three full academic 
years. 
 [(6)](7)  "Instructional Materials Commission" means a 
Commission appointed by the Board to evaluate instructional 
materials for recommendation by the Board consistent with Title 53E, 
Chapter 4, State Instructional Materials Commission. 
 [(7)](8)  "Language instruction educational program" 
means an instructional course: 
 (a)  in which a student learning English is placed for [the 
purpose of ]developing and attaining English proficiency, while 
meeting challenging state academic standards; 
 (b)  that may make instructional use of both English and a 
child's native language to enable the child to attain and develop 
English proficiency; and 
 (c)  that may include the participation of English proficient 
children if the course is designed to enable all participating children 
to become proficient in English and a second language. 
 [(8)](9)  "Student learning English" means an individual 
who: 
 (a)  who has sufficient difficulty speaking, reading, writing, 
or understanding the English language, and whose difficulties may 
deny the individual the opportunity to: 
 (i)  learn successfully in classrooms where the language of 
instruction is English; or 
 (ii)  participate fully in society; 
 (b)  who was not born in the United States or whose native 
language is a language other than English and who comes from an 
environment where a language other than English is dominant; or 
 (c)  who is an American Indian or Alaskan native or who is 
a native resident of the outlying areas and comes from an 
environment where a language other than English has had a 
significant impact on such individual's level of English language 
proficiency. 
 [(9)](10)  "TESOL" means Teachers of English to Speakers 
of Other Languages. 
 [(10)](11)  "TESOL Standards" mean the Pre-K-12 English 
Language Proficiency Standards established by TESOL 
International. 
 [(11)](12)  "Title III" means federal provisions for 
providing language instruction to students learning English and 
immigrant children and youth under 20 U.S.C. 6801, et seq. 
 
R277-716-3.  Superintendent Responsibilities. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall make available in Utah's 
approved Consolidated State Plan for Title III [plan]and require all 
LEAs to adhere to identification and placement procedures to support 

evidence-based language instruction education programs for students 
learning English. 
 (2)  The Superintendent shall develop and require all LEAs 
to administer a Board approved annual English language proficiency 
assessment to measure fluency level and progress in: 
 (a)  listening; 
 (b)  speaking; 
 (c)  reading; and 
 (d)  writing. 
 (3)  The Superintendent shall apply a formula and distribute 
funds to LEAs for identification and services to students learning 
English and their families. 
 (a)  The formula shall provide an amount based upon 
eligible students and available funds, to be distributed to all eligible 
LEAs and consortia consistent with Title III requirements. 
 (b)  The formula shall provide for an additional amount to 
qualifying LEAs based on numbers of immigrant children and youth. 
 (4)  An LEA that receives Title III funds under this rule 
shall provide the following to the Superintendent: 
 (a)  assurances and documentation maintained of services 
or a program used to serve students; and 
 (b)  assurances and documentation maintained of required 
parent notification. 
 [(7)](5)  The Superintendent shall provide timelines to 
LEAs for meeting Title III requirements. 
 [(8)](6)  The Superintendent shall assist and provide 
training to LEAs in development of ALS and Title III services to 
students learning English who do not meet the state designated 
annual growth goals in both increased English proficiency and 
academic standards. 
 [(9)](7)  An LEA shall maintain: 
 (a)  an ALS budget plan; 
 (b)  a plan for delivering student instruction as a 
requirement in the monitoring section of the Utah Grants 
Management System; 
 (c)  ALS assessments to date; 
 (d)  a sample of parent notification required under 
Subsection R277-716-4(7); and 
 (e)  documentation or evidence of progress in the state 
accountability system. 
 [(10)](8)  The Superintendent shall conduct on-site 
monitoring of all funded ALS programs at least once every five years. 
 [(11)](9)  The Superintendent shall provide technical 
assistance during on-site monitoring and as the Superintendent deems 
necessary. 
 
R277-716-4.  LEA Responsibilities. 
 (1)  An LEA that receives funds under Title III shall assure 
that the LEA has a written plan that: 
 (a)  includes an identification process for students learning 
English, including a Board approved home language survey and a 
language proficiency for program placement, that is implemented 
with student registration; 
 (b)  uses a Board approved valid and reliable assessment of 
a student's English proficiency in: 
 (i)  listening; 
 (ii)  speaking; 
 (iii)  reading; and 
 (iv)  writing; 
 (c)  provides an evidence-based language instruction 
educational program based on Board[-] approved [Utah ]English 
Language Proficiency Standards; 
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 (d)  [establishes]uses the Board approved student exit 
criteria from ALS programs or services; and 
 (e)  includes the count of students learning English, by 
classification, [prior to]before July 1 of each year. 
 (2)  Following receipt of Title III funds, an LEA shall: 
 (a)  determine what type of Title III ALS services are 
available and appropriate for each student identified in need of ALS 
services, including: 
 (i)  dual immersion; 
 (ii)  ESL content-based; and 
 (iii)  sheltered instruction; 
 (b)  implement an approved language instruction 
educational program designed to achieve English proficiency and 
academic progress of an identified student; 
 (c)  ensure that all identified students learning English 
receive English language instructional services in the least segregated 
environment, consistent with Subsection R277-716-4 (1)(c); 
 (d)  provide adequate staff development to assist a teacher 
and staff in supporting students learning English; and 
 (e)  provide necessary staff with: 
 (i)  curricular materials approved by the Instructional 
Materials Commission consistent with Rule R277-469; and 
 (ii)  facilities for adequate and effective training. 
 (3)  Following evaluation of student achievement and 
services, an LEA shall: 
 (a)  analyze results and determine the program's success or 
failure; and 
 (b)  modify a program or services that are not effective. 
 (4)  An LEA shall have a policy to identify and serve 
students who qualify for services under IDEA, including: 
 (a)  implementing procedures and training, consistent with 
federal regulations and state special education rules, that ensure 
students learning English are not misidentified as students with 
disabilities due to their inability to speak and understand English; 
 (b)  reviewing the assessment results of a student's 
language proficiency in English and other language [prior to]before 
initiating evaluation activities, including selecting additional 
assessment tools; 
 (c)  conducting assessments for IDEA eligibility 
determination and educational programming in a student's native 
language when appropriate; 
 (d)  using nonverbal assessment tools when appropriate; 
 (e)  ensuring that accurate information regarding a student's 
language proficiency in English and another language is considered 
in evaluating assessment results; 
 (f)  considering results from assessments administered both 
in English and in a student's native language; 
 (g)  ensuring that all required written notices and 
communications with a parent who is not proficient in English are 
provided in the parent's preferred language, including utilizing 
interpretation services; and 
 (h)  coordinating the language instruction educational 
program and special education and related services to ensure that the 
IEP is implemented as written. 
 (5)  An LEA shall provide information and training to staff 
that: 
 (a)  limited English proficiency is not a disability; and 
 (b)  if there is evidence that a student with limited English 
proficiency has a disability, the staff shall refer the student for 
possible evaluation for eligibility under IDEA. 
 (6)(a)  An LEA shall notify a parent who is not proficient 
in English of the LEA's required activities. 

 (b)  A school shall provide information about required and 
optional school activities in a parent's preferred language. 
 (c)  An LEA shall provide interpretation and translation 
services for a parent at: 
 (i)  registration; 
 (ii)  an IEP meeting; 
 (iii)  an SEOP meeting; 
 (iv)  a parent-teacher conference; and 
 (v)  a student disciplinary meeting. 
 (d)  An LEA shall provide annual notice to a parent of a 
student placed in a language instruction educational program [at the 
beginning of the school year or no later than 30 days after 
identification]within 30 days of the first day of school. 
 (e)  If a student has been identified as requiring ALS 
services after the [school year has started]first month of school, the 
LEA shall notify the student's parent within [14]ten school days of 
the student's identification and placement. 
 (7)  A required notice described in Subsection (6) shall 
include: 
 (a)  the student's English proficiency level; 
 (b)  how the student's English proficiency level was 
assessed; 
 (c)  the status of the student's academic achievement; 
 (d)  the methods of instruction proposed to increase 
language acquisition, including using both the student's native 
language and English if necessary; 
 (e)  specifics regarding how the methods of instruction will 
help the child learn English and meet age-appropriate academic 
achievement standards for grade promotion and graduation; and 
 (f)  the specific exit requirements for the program 
including: 
 (i)  the student's expected rate of transition from the 
program into a classroom that is not tailored for a student learning 
English; and 
 (ii)  the student's expected high school graduation date if 
funds appropriated consistent with this rule are used for a secondary 
school student. 
 
R277-716-5.  Teacher Qualifications. 
 (1)  A Utah educator who is assigned to provide instruction 
in a language acquisition instructional program shall comply with 
state ESL endorsement requirements. 
 (2)  A Utah educator whose primary assignment is to 
provide English language instruction to a student learning English 
shall have: 
 (a)  an ESL endorsement, through an approved program 
based on the TESOL Standards; 
 (b)  an advanced degree or certification in teaching English 
as a Second Language, including an approved competency program 
consistent with Board rule; or 
 (c)  a bilingual endorsement consistent with the educator's 
assignment. 
 
R277-716-6.  Miscellaneous Provisions. 
 (1)(a)  An LEA that generates less than $10,000 from the 
LEA's count of students learning English, may form a consortium 
with other similar LEAs. 
 (b)  A consortium described in Subsection (1)(a) shall 
designate a fiscal agent and shall submit all budget and reporting 
information from all [of ]the member LEAs of the consortium. 
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 (c)  Each member of a consortium shall submit plans and 
materials to the fiscal agent of the consortium for final reporting 
submission to the Superintendent. 
 (d)  A fiscal agent of a consortium described in Subsection 
(1)(a) shall assume all responsibility of an LEA under Section R277-
716-4. 
 (2)  No LEA or consortium may withhold more than [two 
percent]2% of Title III funding for administrative costs in serving 
students learning English. 
 
KEY:  alternative language services 
Date of Last Change:  2024[April 8, 2021] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 10, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R392-304 Filing ID:  
56273 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Population Health, Environmental 

Health 
Room number: Second Floor  
Building: Cannon Health Building  
Street address: 288 N 1460 W  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Karl Hartman  801-

538-
6191 

khartman@utah.gov 

Sarah Cheshire  801-
538-
6191 

scheshire@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R392-304.  Artificial Swimming Lagoons 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Currently, there is no rule to regulate design, construction, 
sanitation, and safety of recreational bodies of water 
intended for swimming that have more than 30,000 square 
feet of surface area. 

An artificial swimming lagoon (ASL) is an artificial body of 
water used for recreational purposes, including swimming, 
with more than 30,000 square feet of surface area that 
includes one or more designated swimming areas (DSA), 
which are areas located within an artificial swimming 
lagoon that are visually separated from other areas of a 
lagoon by a rope, float line, or another method. 
 
Section 26B-7-402 charges the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) to establish and enforce, or 
provide for the enforcement of, minimum rules of 
sanitation necessary to protect public health at public 
swimming pools, among other listed public facilities. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This is a new rule to regulate aquatic designs and 
technologies specific to ASLs. 
 
This proposed rule establishes minimum standards for the 
sanitation, design, construction, operation, and 
maintenance of an ASL, as defined by this rule, and 
provides for the prevention and control of hazards 
associated with ASLs that are likely to adversely affect 
public health and wellness including risk factors 
contributing to injury, sickness, death, disability, and the 
spread of disease. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No anticipated cost or savings.  This rule is not expected 
to have any impact on state government revenues or 
expenditures because it does not affect existing 
operations at the state level. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

No anticipated cost or savings.  This rule is not expected 
to have any impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures because it does not affect existing 
operations at the local level. 
 
For example, the proposed rule does not require the local 
health department to review plans, conduct inspections, or 
issue permits. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule is not expected to have any impact on small 
businesses because there is only one business currently 
operating, and it is considered a non-small business. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The single ASL facility currently operating in Utah meets 
the definition of a non-small business. 
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This rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact on this 
non-small business due to coming into compliance 
because the provisions of this rule are a compilation of 
current industry standards.  The non-small business is 
currently operating in compliance with the provisions of 
this proposed rule. 
 
Though the proposed rule does not require a permit, a 
regulating agency may opt to require a permit at a future 
date.  There may be costs associated with operating 
permit fees, though the exact cost is inestimable due to a 
lack of data, but it is unlikely to be higher than $2,500 
annually. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No anticipated cost or savings because the changes do 
not affect existing operations. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$2,500 $2,500 $2,500 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$2,500 $2,500 $2,500 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

($2,500) ($2,500) ($2,500) 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-1-202 Section 26B-7-402  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

American National Standard for  
Suction Outlet Fitting Assemblies  
(SOFA) for Use in Pools, Spas, and  
Hot Tubs 

Publisher ANSI/APSP/ICC-16 

Issue Date March 19, 2021 

Issue or Version 2017 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 01/03/2024 
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R392.  Health and Human Services, Population Health, 
Environmental Health. 
R392-304.  Artificial Swimming Lagoons. 
R392-304-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by Sections 26B-1-202 and 26B-
7-402. 
 (2)  This rule establishes minimum standards for the 
sanitation, design, construction, operation, and maintenance of an 
artificial swimming lagoon, as defined by this rule, and provides for 
the prevention and control of hazards associated with artificial 
swimming lagoons that are likely to adversely affect public health 
and wellness including risk factors contributing to injury, sickness, 
death, disability, and the spread of disease. 
 
R392-304-2.  Applicability. 
 (1)  Unless exempted in Subsection R392-304-2(2), this 
rule applies to any person who owns or operates an artificial 
swimming lagoon. 
 (2)  This rule does not apply to: 
 (a)  natural water bodies, including public ponds, lakes, 
reservoirs, streams, rivers, or canals; 
 (b)  privately owned waters that do not fit the definition of 
an artificial swimming lagoon, such as: 
 (i)  privately owned water ski parks; or 
 (ii)  privately owned ponds, lakes, reservoirs, streams, 
canals, rivers, or other similar bodies of water; or 
 (c)  a body of water whose primary intent is already 
regulated by another rule promulgated under Title R392, Health and 
Human Services, Population Health, Environmental Health. 
 
R392-304-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Artificial swimming lagoon" or "ASL" means an 
artificial body of water used for recreational purposes, including 
swimming, with more than 30,000 square feet of surface area that: 
 (a)  is a man-made water impoundment designed to visually 
mimic a natural body of water, such as a large pond or small lake; 
 (b)  includes at least one or more designated swimming 
areas; 
 (c)  incorporates a water containment system constructed 
of an impervious material such as a liner, concrete shell, or another 
impervious material; 
 (d)  provides an artificial water treatment system to control 
water quality, including pathogenic microorganisms, that includes a 
disinfection system and a method or combination of methods for: 
 (i)  circulation; 
 (ii)  filtration; 
 (iii)  skimming; or 
 (iv)  turbidity control; and 
 (e)  prevents the growth or habitat of aquatic animal life 
and aquatic vegetation. 
 (2)  "Bather" means a person at an artificial swimming 
lagoon who has contact with water of a designated swimming area 
through spray or partial or total immersion. The term bather as 
defined, also includes staff members, and refers to those users who 
can be exposed to contaminated water and those who can potentially 
contaminate the water. 
 (3)  "Bather load" means the number of persons allowed by 
the operator to use the designated swimming area of an artificial 
swimming lagoon at any one time or specified period. 

 (4)  "Closed-loop system" means a water recirculation 
system in which water is introduced into the lagoon and is treated and 
recirculated for continuous use in the lagoon. A closed-loop system 
is not a flow-through system. 
 (5)  "Deck" means an area immediately adjacent to or 
attached to the lagoon that is specifically constructed or installed for 
sitting, standing, or walking. The term does not include a sandy beach 
area adjacent to a sloped entry. 
 (6)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health 
and Human Services. 
 (7)  "Designated swimming area" or "DSA" means a pool 
located within an artificial swimming lagoon that is visually 
separated from other areas of a lagoon by a rope, float line, or another 
method except when the entire artificial lagoon is identified as a 
designated swimming area. 
 (8)  "Diving area" means the area of a DSA that is 
designated and designed for diving. 
 (9)  "Executive committee" means the applicable 
Governance executive committee. 
 (10)  "Executive Director" means the Utah Department of 
Health and Human Services executive director or a designated 
representative. 
 (11)  "Facility" means any premises, building, equipment, 
and accessory object related to the operation of an artificial 
swimming lagoon. 
 (12)  "Free available chlorine" or "free chlorine residual" 
means the portion of the total available chlorine that is not combined 
with other molecules and is present as hypochlorous acid (HOCl) and 
hypochlorite ion (OCl). 
 (13)  "Governance" means the committee described in 
Subsection 26B-1-207(3). 
 (14)  "Local health officer" means the health officer of the 
local health department having jurisdiction or a designated 
representative. 
 (15)  "Local health department" has the meaning defined in 
Subsection 26A-1-102(5). 
 (16)  "mg/L" means milligrams per liter and is an 
equivalent measure to parts per million (ppm). 
 (17)  "Operator" means a person who owns, manages, or 
controls an artificial swimming lagoon or a designated 
representative. 
 (18)  "Oxidation" means the process of changing the 
chemical structure of water contaminants to allow the contaminant to 
be more readily removed from the water or made more soluble in the 
water. 
 (19)  "Oxidation Reduction Potential" or "ORP" means a 
measure of the tendency for a solution to either gain or lose electrons; 
higher, or more positive, oxidation-reduction potential indicates more 
potential for oxidation. This technology is commonly used in 
automatic disinfectant feed controllers. 
 (20)  "Plumbing Code" means International Plumbing Code 
as incorporated and amended in Title 15A, State Construction and 
Fire Codes Act. 
 (21)  "Plumbing fixture" means a receptacle or device that 
is connected to the potable water supply system of the facility, 
including drinking fountains, handwashing stations, and showers. 
 (22)  "Pool" means an artificially constructed structure 
designed for total or partial bather immersion in, or contact with 
water, that is designated for recreational swimming, wading, or 
bathing. 
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 (23)  "Requester" means a person who requests a variance 
on behalf of a regulated individual, business, or entity. 
 (24)  "Restroom facility" means a room or space that 
contains not less than one toilet and one handwashing station. 
 (25)(a)  "Shower" means a device that sprays non-
recirculated, potable water on the body to remove biological, 
physical, or chemical contaminants from bathers. 
 (b)  "Cleansing Shower" means a shower within a hygiene 
facility using warm water and soap. The purpose of this type of 
shower is to remove contaminants, including perianal fecal material, 
sweat, skin cells, personal care products, and dirt, before bathers 
enter an artificial swimming lagoon. 
 (c)  "Rinse Shower" means a shower typically located on 
the pool deck area with ambient temperature water. The primary 
purpose is to remove dirt, sand, or organic material before entering 
the designated swimming area of an artificial swimming lagoon to 
reduce the introduction of contaminants and the formation of 
disinfection by-products. 
 (26)  "Underwater shelf" means a horizontal non-sloping 
floor connected to the edge of the designated swimming area of an 
artificial swimming lagoon that is between four and 24 inches below 
the deck surface, which creates a shallow area for bathers to lounge 
and play. 
 (27)  "Variance" means a written document issued by the 
Department in response to a request meeting the requirements of 
Section R392-304-23 that authorizes a modification or waiver of one 
or more requirements of a rule promulgated under Title R392, Health 
and Human Services, Population Health, Environmental Health." 
 
R392-304-4.  General Requirements. 
 (1)  Any artificial swimming lagoon regulated under 
Section R392-304-2 shall meet the requirements of this rule. 
 (2)  If the Executive Director or local health officer 
determines that any facility is dangerous, unsafe, unsanitary, a 
nuisance, or a menace to life, health, or property, the Executive 
Director or local health officer may order construction or operational 
changes consistent with the requirements of this rule to existing 
facilities. 
 
R392-304-5.  Design Requirements and Plan Approval. 
 The operator shall ensure that: 
 (1)  construction plans are certified and stamped by a 
designing engineer or architect who is licensed by the Utah Division 
of Professional Licensing (DOPL) and contains the following 
verifications: 
 (a)  the structure is stable; 
 (b)  the shape of a DSA and location of appurtenances are 
designed such that the following are not impaired: 
 (i)  DSA water circulation; 
 (ii)  DSA water quality; and 
 (iii)  bather safety; 
 (c)  each DSA is designed with a circulation system, 
meeting the requirements of Section R392-304-16, that incorporates 
treatment and filtration equipment, as required in Sections R394-304-
17 and R392-304-18; 
 (d)  in climates where a facility is subject to freezing 
temperatures, parts of the facility subject to freezing damage is 
designed to provide protection from damage due to freezing; and 
 (e)  the facility has adequate fencing and barriers, showers, 
hand sinks, toilets, and dressing areas; and 

 (2)  the DSA is constructed in accordance with the certified 
and stamped plans required in Subsection (1)(a). 
 
R392-304-6.  Plumbing. 
 The operator shall ensure that: 
 (1)  each plumbing fixture is: 
 (a)  supplied with potable water adequate for human 
consumption and other domestic uses; and 
 (b)  designed, installed, and operated according to the 
requirements set forth by: 
 (i)  Plumbing Code; 
 (ii)  the Utah Department of Environmental Quality, 
Division of Drinking Water under Title R309, Drinking Water; and 
 (iii)  local health department regulations; and 
 (2)  the drinking water system is protected against backflow 
contamination. 
 
R392-304-7.  Artificial Swimming Lagoon Source Water Quality. 
 (1)  If the source water for the DSA of an artificial 
swimming lagoon is not from a public drinking water system as 
described in Rule R309-100, Administration: Drinking Water 
Program, the operator shall: 
 (a)  collect a sample of the source water; 
 (b)  submit the collected sample for analysis to a laboratory 
that is certified under Rule R444-14, Certification of Environmental 
Laboratories; and 
 (c)  have laboratory analysis performed initially and for 
each five-year period thereafter to determine the levels of 
contaminants listed in Table 1. 
 (2)  If the source water analysis report described in 
Subsection (1) indicates that a contaminant level is greater than or 
equal to any of the standards in Table 1, the operator shall: 
 (a)  discontinue the use of the source water; or 
 (b)  implement an ongoing treatment process to provide 
source water that complies with Table 1. 
 

Table 1 
Source Water Contaminants and MCLs 

Contaminant  Maximum Contaminant Level (MCL) 
Antimony 0.006 mg/L 
Arsenic 0.010 mg/L 
Barium  2 mg/L 
Beryllium  0.004 mg/L 
Cadmium  0.005 mg/L  
Chromium  0.1 mg/L 
Copper  1.3 mg/L 
Cyanide, as free  
cyanide  

0.2 mg/L 

Fluoride  4.0 mg/L  
Lead 0.015 mg/L  
Mercury  0.002 mg/L  
Nitrate  10 mg/L 
Nitrite  1 mg/L 
Selenium  0.05 mg/L  
Thallium  0.002 mg/L  

 
 (3)  The operator shall maintain a closed-loop system for 
water recirculation. 
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 (4)  If the water source for the DSA of an artificial 
swimming lagoon is connected to a public or private potable water 
source, the operator shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the water source system is protected from a backflow 
or back-siphonage event with a backflow preventer, such as an air 
gap, a mechanical backflow prevention device, or another means or 
method in accordance with Plumbing Code; and 
 (b)  the backflow preventer does not connect to the 
discharge side of a recirculation pump of an artificial swimming 
lagoon. 
 
R392-304-8.  Wastewater. 
 The operator shall ensure that an artificial swimming 
lagoon facility complies with Section R392-302-7. 
 
R392-304-9.  Solid Waste. 
 The operator shall ensure that an artificial swimming 
lagoon facility complies with Section R392-302-8. 
 
R392-304-10.  Construction Materials. 
 The operator shall ensure that each DSA of an artificial 
swimming lagoon and the appurtenances necessary for its proper 
function and operation comply with the construction material 
requirements described in Section R392-302-9. 
 
R392-304-11.  Floor Slopes. 
 The operator shall ensure that the floor slope of each DSA 
of an artificial swimming lagoon complies with Section R392-302-
10. 
 
R392-304-12.  Walls. 
 The operator shall ensure that the walls of each DSA of an 
artificial swimming lagoon comply with Section R392-302-11. 
 
R392-304-13.  Underwater Seating and Underwater Shelves. 
 (1)  The operator shall ensure that each underwater seat or 
bench located in a DSA complies with Subsection R392-302-11(6). 
 (2)  The operator shall ensure that each underwater lounge 
chair is: 
 (a)  specifically designed and constructed for immersion in 
water; 
 (b)  constructed with slip-resistant materials; 
 (c)  installed in such a manner that: 
 (i)  the chair back is above the designed water level; and 
 (ii)  the underwater lounge chair does not constitute a safety 
hazard for bathers; and 
 (d)  visually set apart to be visible to persons on the ground 
above the lounge chair. 
 (3)  The operator shall ensure that each underwater shelf; 
 (a)  has a line that marks the extent of the shelf within two 
inches of its leading edge on both the horizontal and vertical surface, 
except in the case of a horizontal shelf that terminates with a sloping 
floor surface, and the line is: 
 (i)  two inches in width; and 
 (ii)  a contrasting dark color for maximum visual 
distinction; 
 (b)  has a maximum depth of 24 inches; and 
 (c)  does not constitute a safety hazard. 
 (4)  If the underwater shelf terminates with a sloping floor 
surface, the operator shall ensure that the floor surface complies with 
Section R392-304-11. 
 

R392-304-14.  Designated Swimming Area Entry and Exits. 
 (1)  The operator shall ensure that, except for a DSA with a 
sloped entry, each DSA with a perimeter greater than 75 feet: 
 (a)  has no fewer than two means of entry and exit, such as 
a wheelchair ramp, a set of stairs with a handrail, recessed steps with 
grab rails, or a ladder; 
 (b)  has entry and exit points that are not more than 75 feet 
apart from each other; and 
 (c)  has entry and exit points that comply with Section 
R392-302-13. 
 (2)  The operator shall ensure that each sloped entry and 
exit point complies with Subsection R392-302-13(7). 
 (3)  A DSA may have fewer than two means of entry and 
exit if the perimeter of a DSA is less than 75 feet. 
 
R392-304-15.  Decks and Walkways. 
 The operator shall ensure that: 
 (1)  a deck or walkway is provided at each entry or exit into 
the DSA, except for a sloped entry, zero entry, or beach entry; and 
 (2)  where a deck is provided, each deck shall: 
 (a)  be at least four feet wide; 
 (b)  slope away from the artificial swimming lagoon to a 
deck drain at a grade of 1/4 inch to 3/8 inch per linear foot; 
 (c)  be constructed of material that is: 
 (i)  rated to withstand frequent and heavy exposure to 
water; 
 (ii)  rated for outdoor use; and 
 (iii)  slip-resistant; and 
 (d)  be free of open joints or gaps larger than 1/4 inch or 
vertical elevations exceeding 1/4 inch, except for expansion joints, 
which shall be filled with appropriate materials to allow for 
expansion. 
 
R392-304-16.  Circulation. 
 The operator shall ensure that: 
 (1)  except for periods of maintenance, a circulation system 
is provided and in continuous operation that provides skimming, 
filtration, and water circulation; 
 (2)  the circulation system is designed and constructed to 
comply with Subsections R392-302-19(1)(h) through R392-302-
19(1)(l); 
 (3)  the piping in an artificial swimming lagoon complies 
with Subsection R392-302-19(3); and 
 (4)  any suction outlet fitting assembly used in the DSA of 
an artificial swimming lagoon circulation system complies with the 
ANSI/APSP/ICC-16 2017, American National Standard for Suction 
Outlet Fitting Assemblies (SOFA) for Use in Pools, Spas, and Hot 
Tubs along with the provisional amendment approved on March 19, 
2021, which is incorporated by reference. 
 
R392-304-17.  Filtration. 
 The manager shall ensure that an artificial swimming 
lagoon has a filtration system serving a DSA that complies with 
Section R392-302-23, except for requirements for design rate of flow, 
and that: 
 (1)  each filter is designed to be easily cleaned according to 
the manufacturer's instructions; and 
 (2)  the operator has easy access to the filtration surfaces 
for inspection and maintenance. 
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R392-304-18.  Designated Swimming Area Water Quality and 
Disinfection. 
 (1)  The operator shall ensure that the DSA of an artificial 
swimming lagoon has sufficient clarity to easily see the deepest part 
of the DSA.  This may be measured by a Secchi disk or a four-inch 
by four-inch marker tile. 
 (2)  The operator shall ensure that the DSA of an artificial 
swimming lagoon is treated by a disinfectant that complies with 
Subsections R392-302-25(1)(a) through R392-302-25(1)(f), except 
that: 
 (a)  the minimum concentrations for the DSA treatment 
chemicals are found in Table 2 in this rule rather than Table 3 in Rule 
R392-302; and 
 (b)  the maximum concentration for cyanuric acid 
described in Subsection R392-302-25(1)(f)(ii)(B) is reduced to 50 
milligrams per liter. 
 (3)  The operator shall install automated, manual, or 
remotely managed chemical feed controllers that comply with 
Subsections R392-302-24(1)(a), R392-302-24(3)(c), and R392-302-
24(4)(b). 
 (4)  The operator shall install an ORP controller that 
complies with Subsection R392-302-24(2) to monitor the oxidizing 
potential of the water if an oxidizer is used for disinfection. 
 (5)  The operator shall provide a portable poolside water 
quality test kit that is: 
 (a)  compatible with the disinfectant in use; 
 (b)  maintained in and stored according to the 
manufacturer's instructions; and 
 (c)  protected from extreme heat and cold, exposure to 
water, chemicals, or any other element or environment that could 
adversely affect the efficacy of the test kit. 
 (6)  The operator may use a remote water quality testing 
system but may not substitute the remote testing system results for 
onsite operation and maintenance. 
 (7)(a)  The operator shall perform testing at a frequency 
that verifies the DSA is meeting the water quality conditions required 
in Table 2. 
 (b)  At a minimum, tests for disinfectant levels and pH in 
each DSA shall be performed before the area is open for bather use 
and at least every 24 hours of operation. 
 (8)  The operator shall: 
 (a)  collect a water sample from each DSA at least once per 
month; 
 (b)  submit the sample to a laboratory approved under Rule 
R444-14, Certification of Environmental Laboratories, to perform 
total coliform and heterotrophic plate count testing; and 
 (c)  ensure that the collected sample is analyzed in a 
laboratory for total coliform and heterotrophic plate count using 
methods allowed under Section R444-14-4. 
 (9)  The operator shall review the sample results to 
determine if the sample has failed the bacteriological quality standard 
as determined by the following sample failure criteria: 
 (a)  the sample contains more than 200 colony forming 
units (CFUs) per milliliter, as determined by the heterotrophic plate 
count; or 
 (b)  the sample indicates the presence of coliform bacteria 
or contains more than one CFU of coliform bacteria per 100 
milliliters. 
 (10)(a)  For any test that does not meet the chemical, 
bacteriological, or physical parameters described in this section, the 
operator shall repeat the test within 24 hours of receiving the initial 
test results. 

 (b)  If the repeat testing shows that the water continues to 
be outside of the parameters described in this section, the manager 
shall close any DSA to swimming and contact recreation until 
additional testing results show that the water quality parameters are 
within the required range. 
 

TABLE 2 
Chemical parameters in each DSA of an ASL 

Parameter  Minimum Value  Maximum Value  

Free chlorine  0.5 ppm  10.0 ppm  

Bromine  2.5 ppm  8.0 ppm  

Combined 
chlorine  

None  0.5 ppm  

pH  7.0  7.8 

Cyanuric acid  None  50 ppm  

 
R392-304-19.  Bather Load. 
 (1)  The operator shall ensure that 15 square feet of surface 
area per bather is provided if the depth of the DSA is four feet or less. 
 (2)  The operator shall ensure that 25 square feet of surface 
area per bather is provided if the depth of the DSA is greater than four 
feet. 
 (3)  The operator shall post a sign, as required in Subsection 
R392-304-22(1), stating the maximum bather load for each DSA. 
 
R392-304-20.  Facility Operations. 
 (1)  The operator shall ensure that: 
 (a)  each bather has access to a toilet and handwashing 
station in a restroom facility that: 
 (i)  is located with convenient access for bathers; 
 (ii)  is located no further than 200 feet walking distance and 
in clear view of each DSA; and 
 (iii)  is clearly identified; and 
 (b)  the minimum number of toilets, handwash sinks, and 
drinking fountains provided complies with Plumbing Code. 
 (2)  The operator shall ensure that: 
 (a)  each restroom facility is supplied with: 
 (i)  soap and toilet tissue in suitable dispensers; 
 (ii)  individual disposable towels or other hand drying 
fixture, such as an air dryer; and 
 (iii)  a solid, durable, covered, and easily cleanable waste 
receptacle; and 
 (b)  each plumbing fixture is: 
 (i)  designed to be easily cleanable, and withstand frequent 
cleaning and disinfecting; and 
 (ii)  maintained in an operable, clean, and sanitary 
condition. 
 (3)  The operator shall ensure that: 
 (a)  each restroom is constructed of materials that have 
smooth, non-slip surfaces, and are impervious to moisture; 
 (b)  the floor of a restroom and shower facility slopes to a 
drain and is constructed to prevent accumulation of water; 
 (c)  carpeting is not installed on restroom or shower floors; 
and 
 (d)  junctions between walls and floors are coved. 
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 (4)  The operator shall ensure that a minimum of one rinse 
shower is provided for each DSA of an artificial swimming lagoon 
that: 
 (a)  is located near an entry point to the DSA; and 
 (b)  the floor is sloped to drain wastewater away from the 
DSA into a sanitary sewer or storm sewer, according to applicable 
plumbing codes. 
 (5)  If the operator provides a cleansing shower, the 
cleansing shower facility shall comply with Subsection R392-302-
28(4). 
 (6)  If the operator provides dressing rooms, the dressing 
room facility shall comply with Section R392-302-27. 
 (7)  The operator shall ensure that when a DSA is open for 
bather use, the following auxiliary facilities are available: 
 (a)  restroom facilities; 
 (b)  rinse showers; 
 (c)  dressing rooms, if applicable; and 
 (d)  cleansing showers, if applicable. 
 (8)  The operator shall ensure that a DSA open during 
nighttime hours, as described in Subsection (8), has the following 
areas illuminated for visibility: 
 (a)  depth markers; 
 (b)  safety signs; 
 (c)  facility entrances; 
 (d)  restroom facilities; 
 (e)  safety equipment; and 
 (f)  deck areas and walkways. 
 (9)  If a DSA is open to bathers during nighttime hours, 
which are 30 minutes before sunset to 30 minutes after sunrise, the 
operator shall ensure that: 
 (a)  15 horizontal foot candles (161 lux) are provided at the 
water surface of the designated swimming area; and 
 (b)  each auxiliary facility described in Subsection (6) is 
illuminated. 
 (10)  The operator shall ensure that an artificial swimming 
lagoon is managed by a qualified technician who has been certified 
or recertified by a training and testing program approved by the 
Department. 
 (11)  The operator shall develop an operation, maintenance, 
and sanitation plan that includes: 
 (a)  the following staffing roles and responsibilities: 
 (i)  individuals assigned to perform and record testing; 
 (ii)  location within the DSA where the testing parameters 
are collected; 
 (iii)  testing frequency; and 
 (iv)  record keeping of testing results; and 
 (b)  an emergency action plan with: 
 (i)  procedures for daily bather supervision; 
 (ii)  injury prevention and response; 
 (iii)  emergency actions; and 
 (iv)  response to an accidental fecal release. 
 (12)  The operator shall ensure that records pertaining to 
the daily operation of the artificial swimming lagoon are retained 
according to Subsection R392-302-34(2). 
 (13)  The operator shall ensure that food or drink is not 
consumed within ten feet of the water's edge of any DSA of an 
artificial swimming lagoon. 
 (14)  The operator shall ensure that glass, ceramic, or 
breakable containers are not allowed within the interior of the 
artificial swimming lagoon fencing or barrier described in Subsection 
R392-304-21(11)(a). 
 

R392-304-21.  Safety Standards. 
 (1)  The operator shall ensure that each chemical used for 
water treatment, including disinfection and pH control, is labeled, 
stored, and handled according to the manufacturer's chemical Safety 
Data Sheet (SDS). 
 (2)  The operator shall ensure that chemicals are stored in 
an area that is: 
 (a)  closed to unauthorized access; and 
 (b)  protected from: 
 (i)  exposure to moisture; 
 (ii)  extreme temperatures; 
 (iii)  accidental spills; and 
 (iv)  exposure to incompatible materials. 
 (3)  The operator shall ensure that trained individuals 
handling water quality chemicals are provided with personal 
protective equipment. 
 (4)  The operator shall ensure that trained lifeguard service 
personnel are provided for a DSA of an artificial swimming lagoon 
during periods of use that: 
 (a)  the DSA is open to the general public; 
 (b)  the DSA is used for recreation of youth groups, such as 
youth camps, childcare, or school groups; 
 (c)  bathers enter the water from any height above the deck 
or wall, including diving boards, drop slides, zip lines, or climbing 
walls; 
 (d)  the DSA allows unsupervised children under the age of 
14 years; or 
 (e)  alcohol is sold or served within the artificial swimming 
lagoon fencing or barrier described in Subsection R392-304-
21(11)(a). 
 (5)  If lifeguard service is not required as described in 
Subsection (4), the operator shall post a sign, as required in 
Subsection R392-304-22(3), near each entrance of a DSA indicating 
that there is no lifeguard on duty. 
 (6)  If lifeguard service is required as outlined in Subsection 
(4), the operator shall have a lifeguard action plan that: 
 (a)  defines the number of lifeguards necessary for proper 
surveillance of each DSA; 
 (b)  establishes lifeguard certifications and qualifications; 
and 
 (c)  describes the zones of surveillance, rotation 
procedures, and alteration of lifeguard tasks. 
 (7)  The operator shall ensure that lifesaving equipment 
described in Subsection (7)(c): 
 (a)  is placed in a conspicuous location near each DSA; 
 (b)  complies with Subsections R392-302-30(2) and R392-
302-30(3); and 
 (c)  includes the following equipment; 
 (i)  a Coast Guard-approved ring buoy with an attached 
rope at least 50 feet in length; 
 (ii)  a life pole or shepherd's crook-type pole with blunted 
ends that is a minimum length of 12 feet; and 
 (iii)  a first aid kit that: 
 (A)  is accessible to bathers; 
 (B)  is stored in a manner that prevents contamination; 
 (C)  is restocked as needed; and 
 (D)  includes a minimum of the following unexpired items: 
 (I)  adhesive bandages of various sizes and applications; 
 (II)  compression bandages; 
 (III)  sterile gauze pads; 
 (IV)  medical tape; 
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 (V)  scissors; 
 (VI)  instant cold packs; 
 (VII)  antiseptic wipes; 
 (VIII)  sting relief wipes; 
 (IX)  eyewash solution; 
 (X)  single-use gloves; and 
 (XI)  tweezers. 
 (8)  The operator shall ensure that emergency phone 
numbers, including 911, are posted to comply with Subsection R392-
304-22(3). 
 (9)  The operator shall ensure that: 
 (a)  the DSA maximum water depth is plainly marked; and 
 (b)  depth markings are placed in a manner that notifies 
bathers of water depths before entering the DSA of an artificial 
swimming lagoon. 
 (10)  If diving areas are included in the design of a DSA, 
the operator shall ensure that each diving area and appurtenance 
complies with Subsection R392-302-12(1). 
 (11)  The operator shall ensure that fencing or barriers: 
 (a)  are installed to prevent unauthorized entry into the 
artificial swimming lagoon from the perimeter of the facility; and 
 (b)  comply with the applicable local regulations and 
ordinances. 
 
R392-304-22.  Signs. 
 (1)  The operator shall ensure that: 
 (a)  signs required in this rule are placed in a conspicuous 
area, as described in Subsection (1)(c), to alert and inform bathers of 
expected and prohibited behaviors and other applicable information; 
 (b)  signs are written in a lettering style, stroke width, 
spacing, and contrast with the background such that the sign is clearly 
visible; and 
 (c)  a sign that states the location of restroom facilities, 
emergency exits, and safety rules is placed: 
 (i)  at the entrance of the artificial swimming lagoon 
facility; and 
 (ii)  at access points of each DSA; 
 (2)  The operator shall ensure that each rules of conduct 
sign complies with Subsection (1) and includes the following 
language: 
 (a)  "Animals are prohibited inside the artificial swimming 
lagoon facility"; 
 (b)  "Glass or ceramic containers are prohibited inside the 
artificial swimming lagoon facility"; 
 (c)  "Bathers must shower before entering the water"; 
 (d)  "Entering the water if ill with diarrhea is prohibited"; 
and 
 (e)  "Diapering shall only be done in designated restroom 
facilities". 
 (3)  The operator shall ensure that each safety sign complies 
with Subsection (1) and includes the following: 
 (a)  maximum bather load; 
 (b)  emergency phone numbers, including 911; 
 (c)  "No lifeguard on duty", if applicable; 
 (d)  hours of operation; 
 (e)  maximum depth of the artificial swimming lagoon; and 
 (f)  any other additional restrictions such as: 
 (i)  watercraft rules; 
 (ii)  personal flotation device recommendations; or 
 (iii)  floating platform rules. 
 

R392-304-23.  Variances. 
 (1)  A person may request a variance when a technology, 
process, procedure, or other variation otherwise not allowed by this 
rule would provide alternative design, construction, or operational 
conditions that maintain protection of the health and safety of the 
public and the environment in a manner that is at least equivalent to 
the current requirements. 
 (2)  Any request for a variance shall follow the process 
outlined in this section. 
 (3)  The requester shall provide data showing that any 
alternative technology, process, or procedure will be at least as 
protective of the health and safety of the public and the environment 
as the current requirements. Each variance request shall be submitted 
to the Department and shall include at least the following: 
 (a)  name of the business for which the variance is being 
requested; 
 (b)  designated point of contact and contact information of 
the business for which the variance is being requested; 
 (c)  location of the facility or establishment for which the 
variance is being requested; 
 (d)  citation of each section or subsection of rule to which 
the variance is being requested; 
 (e)  a statement as to why the applicant cannot comply with 
the section or subsection of rule to which the variance is being 
requested; 
 (f)  the nature and duration of the variance being requested; 
 (g)  a statement of how the intent of the rule will be met and 
the reasons why the health and safety of the public and the 
environment would not be endangered or jeopardized if the variance 
was granted; 
 (h)  technical justification or a detailed explanation of the 
variance conditions that provide the protection of the health and 
safety of the public and the environment for each applicable section 
or subsection of rule; 
 (i)  a full description of any policies, procedures, or 
equipment that the applicant proposes to use to rectify any potential 
increase in risks to the health and safety of the public and the 
environment created by granting the variance; and 
 (j)  operation and maintenance requirements of the variance 
condition. 
 (4)  Upon receiving a variance request that meets the 
requirements of Subsections (1), (2), and (3), the Department shall: 
 (a)  notify the local health officer having jurisdiction that a 
variance request was received; and 
 (b)  present the variance request to the local health officer 
having jurisdiction and the executive committee. 
 (5)  The executive committee may: 
 (a)  make an immediate determination based on the 
information contained in the variance request; or 
 (b)  form an ad hoc committee to: 
 (i)  evaluate the variance request; and 
 (ii)  produce a written report to be presented to the 
executive committee for consideration. 
 (6)  After deliberation of the variance request information 
or ad hoc committee report, the executive committee shall provide a 
recommendation to Governance to: 
 (a)  reject the variance request with a written justification; 
or 
 (b)  approve the variance request with or without additional 
provisions. 
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 (7)  Governance may recommend to the Executive Director 
to: 
 (a)  reject the variance request without further 
consideration with a written justification; or 
 (b)  approve the variance request with provisions as 
recommended by the executive committee. 
 (8)  The Executive Director may consider a variance after 
Governance makes a recommendation and when it reasonably 
appears that: 
 (a)  the health and safety of the public and the environment 
will not be endangered by granting of such a variance; 
 (b)  adequate alternative provisions have been made to 
protect the health and safety of the public and the environment; 
 (c)  the variance will result in protection of the health and 
safety of the public and the environment consistent with the design, 
construction, or operational standards and intent of current 
requirements; and 
 (d)  the variance does not adversely affect statewide 
regulation. 
 (9)  If the Executive Director approves the variance request: 
 (a)  the Department shall provide the requester and each 
local health officer having jurisdiction with a variance approval letter 
signed by the Executive Director that includes a description of any 
conditions, restrictions, or requirements pertaining to the variance; 
and 
 (b)  the Executive Director or local health officer shall 
include the variance as a condition to operate; and 
 (c)  the Department shall conduct a review of the associated 
rule to determine whether it should be amended to reflect the 
conditions of the approved variance. 
 (10)  If the Executive Director denies the variance request, 
the Department shall provide the requester and each local health 
officer having jurisdiction with a denial letter that includes the reason 
for the denial. 
 (11)  If the conditions upon which a variance was granted 
change, the operator who obtained the variance shall notify the 
Department and: 
 (a)  apply for a new variance; or 
 (b)  discontinue operating under the previously approved 
variance and come into full compliance with the current requirements 
of this rule. 
 
R392-304-24.  Enforcement and Penalties. 
 An operator who violates this rule may be subject to 
criminal and civil penalties as provided in Section 26B-1-224. 
 
KEY:  artificial swimming lagoon, pool, swimming, water 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26B-1-202; 
26B-7-402; 26B-1-224 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R590-271 Filing ID:  
56282 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 

Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-271.  Data Reporting for Consumer Quality 
Comparison 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being revised to update references to the UHIN 
Transparency Administrative Standard and Transparency 
Denial Standard that are incorporated by reference in this 
rule, and to update three website addresses. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The change updates references to two standards that are 
incorporated by reference in this rule, and updates three 
addresses for Department of Insurance (Department) 
websites. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature and will not 
change how the Department functions. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments.  The changes are largely clerical in nature 
and will not affect local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses.  The changes are largely clerical in nature and 
will not affect small businesses. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses.  The non-small businesses affected by this 
change are health insurers that are already complying with 
the changes.  This rule codifies updates that are already in 
use by the industry. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons.  The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons.  
The changes are largely clerical in nature. 
 
Health insurers affected by this change are already 
complying with the provisions required by the 
administrative rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Insurance, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 31A-2-216  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Transparency Administration  
Performance Standard 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 11/11/2023 

Issue or Version 2.0 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Transparency Denial Standard 

Publisher Utah Health Information Network 

Issue Date 11/11/2023 

Issue or Version 2.0 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 
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9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 01/16/2024 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-271.  Data Reporting for Consumer Quality Comparison. 
R590-271-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-2-216. 
 
R590-271-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  define the methodology for determining and comparing 
insurer transparency information; 
 (b)  establish a format for submitting data to the 
commissioner; and 
 (c)  establish the date the data is due. 
 (2)(a)  This rule applies to an insurer offering a health 
benefit plan. 
 (b)  This rule does not apply to an insurer whose health 
benefit plans cover fewer than 3,000 individual Utah residents in 
aggregate. 
 
R590-271-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301. 
Additional terms are defined as follows: 
 (1)  "Electronic data interchange standard" means the 
standards developed by the UHIN Standards Committee at the 
request of the commissioner. 
 (2)  "HEDIS" means the Healthcare Effectiveness Data and 
Information Set. 
 (3)  "SFTP" means the Secure File Transfer Protocol. 
 (4)  "UHIN" means the Utah Health Information Network. 
 (5)  "UHIN Standards Committee" means the Standards 
Committee of the UHIN. 
 
R590-271-4.  Reporting Requirements. 
 (1)(a)  The following electronic data interchange standards 
adopted by the UHIN Standards Committee are incorporated by 
reference by the commissioner and are available at 
https://insurance.utah.gov: 
 (i)  Transparency Administration Performance Standard, 
v[1.9]2.0; and 
 (ii)  Transparency Denial Standard, v[1.9]2.0. 
 (b)  An insurer shall submit to the commissioner a report 
on each electronic data interchange standard referenced in Subsection 
R590-271-4(1)(a). 
 (c)  Each report shall be submitted using the department's 
secure file upload site at 
[https://forms.uid.utah.gov/insurance/fileuploads]https://forms.uid.u
tah.gov/fileUploads. 
 (d)  Each report shall include data for the previous calendar 
year, and shall combine both paper and electronic claims. 

 (e)  The submission format, procedures, and guidelines are 
described in detail in the adopted transparency standards published 
by UHIN. 
 (2)  An insurer shall comply with the reporting guidelines, 
procedures, and format of Rule R428-13 and submit HEDIS data for 
the preceding calendar year to the Utah Department of Health and 
Human Services Office of Health Care Statistics. 
 
R590-271-5.  Public Records. 
 The data submitted to the commissioner pursuant to this 
rule are public records as defined in Section 63G-2-103 for use on: 
 (1)  the department's website, https://insurance.utah.gov; 
and 
 (2)  the department's transparency website, 
https://healthrates.utah.gov. 
 
R590-271-6.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-271, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application.  The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  data, data reporting, insurance 
Date of Last Change:  2024[February 8, 2023] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-216 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R650-102 Filing ID:  
56280 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Outdoor Recreation 
Room number: 100 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
India Nielsen  
Barfuss 

385-
268-
2570 

indianielsen@utah.gov 

JC Bailey 801-
538-
7361 

jcbailey@utah.gov 

Shane Stroud 801-
538-
7227 

sstroud@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R650-102.  Adjudicatory Proceedings 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This new rule sets out the process and procedure for 
initiating and conducting adjudicatory proceedings before 
the Division of Outdoor Recreation (Division). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This new rule provides the process for initiating 
adjudicatory proceedings and sets out procedures for 
conducting adjudicatory proceedings. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This proposed rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on state government revenues or expenditures.  This is 
because this rule pertains only to initiating and conducting 
adjudicatory proceedings before the Division and does not 
directly require the commitment or expenditure of 
revenues. 
 
Accordingly, it is not anticipated that this rule would impact 
state government revenues, or require state government 
expenditures, that are not otherwise required by the Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This proposed rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures.  This is 
because this rule pertains only to initiating and conducting 
adjudicatory proceedings before the Division and does not 
directly require the commitment or expenditure of 
revenues. 
 
Accordingly, is not anticipated that this rule would impact 
local government revenues, or require local government 
expenditures, that are not otherwise required by the Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This proposed rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on small businesses' revenues or expenditures, nor will a 
service be required of them for the implementation of this 
rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This proposed rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on non-small businesses' revenues or expenditures, nor 

will a service be required of them for the implementation of 
this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact 
on persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities revenues 
or expenditures, nor will a service be required of them for 
the implementation of this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons.  This 
is because this rule pertains only to initiating and 
conducting adjudicatory proceedings before the Division 
and does not directly require the expenditure of any costs. 
 
To the extent this rule does require the expenditure of 
costs, it is anticipated such costs would otherwise be 
required to comply with the Utah Administrative 
Procedures Act and thus would be imposed by that statute 
as opposed to this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63G-4-101 et seq. 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jason Curry,  
Division Director 

Date: 01/02/2024 

 
R650.  Natural Resources, Outdoor Recreation 
R650-102.  Adjudicatory Proceedings. 
R650-102-1.  Designation and Procedures. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Section 63G-4-202 the division designates 
all adjudicatory proceedings before the division as informal. 
 (2)  The division shall conduct an informal adjudicatory 
proceeding according to the procedures set out in Subsection 63G-4-
203(1). 
 (3)  The division shall commence an adjudicatory 
proceeding as provided by Section 63G-4-201. 
 (4)  A person other than the division shall commence an 
adjudicatory proceeding by submitting a written request for agency 
action to the division director in accordance with Subsection 63G-4-
201(3). 

R650-102-2.  Presiding Officer. 
 (1)  The division director shall be the presiding officer for 
all adjudicative proceedings before the division. 
 (2)  The division director may, at the director's discretion, 
designate another person to serve as the presiding officer in any 
adjudicatory proceeding before the division. 
 
R650-102-3.  Declaratory Proceedings. 
 (1)  A person may petition the division to issue a declaratory 
order determining the applicability of a statute, rule, or order within 
the primary jurisdiction of the division. 
 (2)  A person shall ensure a petition: 
 (a)  is clearly designated as a request for an agency 
declaratory order; 
 (b)  identifies the statute, rule, or order to be reviewed; 
 (c)  states the factual issue, situation, or circumstance in 
which applicability is sought; 
 (d)  describes the reason or need for the applicability 
review, including the specific relationship of the requested 
declaratory order to the legal rights, interests, and objectives of the 
petitioner; 
 (e)  includes the petitioner's address and telephone number; 
 (f)  provides the contact information for other persons or 
parties the petitioner considers will be directly affected by the 
issuance of a declaratory order; and 
 (g)  is signed by the petitioner or the petitioner's authorized 
representative. 
 (3)(a)  Upon receipt of a petition, the director or the 
director's designee shall review the petition to ensure it complies with 
the requirements of Subsection (2). 
 (b)  If the director or the director's designee determines the 
petition does not comply with the requirements of Subsection (2), the 
director or the director's designee shall return the petition to the 
petitioner. 
 (c)  If the director or the director's designee determines the 
petition is complete, the director or the director's designee shall 
review the petition and, within a reasonable amount of time, issue a 
written order that: 
 (i)  states the applicability or non-applicability of the 
statute, rule, or order at issue; and 
 (ii)  provides the reason or reasons the statute, rule, or order 
is applicable or non-applicable. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, adjudicatory proceedings 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  63G-4-101 
et seq. 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R657-13 Filing ID:  
55876 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 03 45 

Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R657-13.  Taking Fish and Crayfish 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory 
Council and Wildlife Board meetings conducted annually 
for taking public input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife 
Resources' (DWR) fishing management program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is being amended to add species to the list of 
prohibited fish. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This amendment adds protections to fish species from 
harvest, therefore the DWR has determined that these 
amendments do not create a cost or savings impact to the 
state budget or the DWR's budget, since the changes will 
not increase workload and can be carried out with existing 
budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Since this amendment only adds additional fish to the 
prohibited list, this should have little to no effect on local 
governments. 
 
This filing does not create any direct cost or savings impact 
on local governments because they are not directly 
affected by this rule.  Nor are local governments indirectly 
impacted because this rule does not create a situation 
requiring services from local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 

This rule does not impose any additional financial 
requirements on small businesses, nor generate a cost or 
saving impact to small businesses because this rule does 
not create a situation requiring services from them. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not impose any additional financial 
requirements on non-small businesses, nor generate a 
cost or saving impact to non-small businesses because 
this rule does not create a situation requiring services from 
them. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not impose any additional financial 
requirements on other persons, nor generate a cost or 
saving impact to other persons because this rule does not 
create a situation requiring services from them. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
DWR has determined that this amendment will not create 
additional costs for those individuals wishing to participate 
in fishing in Utah because there is no cost associated with 
adding fish to the prohibited list. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 23A-2-305 Section 23A-2-304 Section 23A-1-101 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Justin Shirley,  
DWR Director 

Date: 01/08/2024 

 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-13.  Taking Fish and Crayfish. 
R657-13-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under authority of Sections 23A-2-305 and 23A-2-
304, the Wildlife Board has established this rule for taking fish and 
crayfish. 
 (2)  Specific dates, areas, methods of take, requirements 
and other administrative details which may change annually and are 
pertinent are published in the proclamation of the Wildlife Board for 
taking fish and crayfish. 
 

R657-13-13.  Prohibited Fish. 
 (1)  The following species of fish are classified as 
prohibited and may not be taken or held in possession: 
[ (a] (a)  Alewife (Alosa pseudoharengus); 
 (b)  Asian swamp eel (Monopterus albus); 
 (c)  Bighead carp (Hypophthalmichthys nobilis); 
 (d)  Black carp (Mylopharyngodon piceus); 
 (e)  Bonytail (Gila elegans); 
[ (b)  Bluehead sucker (Catostomus discobolus);] 
 (f)  Bowfin (Amia calva); 
 (g)  Brook stickleback (Culaea inconstans); 
 ([c]h)  Colorado pikeminnow (Ptychocheilus lucius[);] 
[ (d)  Flannelmouth sucker (Catostomus latipinnis]); 
[ (e)  Gizzard shad (Dorosoma cepedianum), except at Lake 
Powell;] 
[ (f] (i)  Eurasian ruffe (Gymnocephalus cernuus); 
 (j)  Flathead catfish (Pylodictis olivaris); 
 (k)  Gar (Family Lepisosteidae); 
 (l)  Grass carp (Ctenopharyngodon idella); 
 ([g]m)  Humpback chub (Gila cypha); 
 ([h)  ]n)  Ide (Leuciscus idus); 
 (o)  June sucker (Chasmistes liorus); 
 ([i)  Least chub (Iotichthys phlegethontis);] 
[ (j]p)  Piranhas (all species); 
 (q)  Nile perch (Lates niloticus); 
 (r)  Northern [Leatherside chub (Lepidomeda 
copei]snakehead (Channa argus); 
 ([k]s)  Razorback sucker (Xyrauchen texanus); 
 ([l)  Southern Leatherside chub (Lepidomede aliciae);] 
[ (m]t)  Red bellied pacu (Piaractus brachypomus); 
 (u)  Red shiner (Cyprinella lutrensis); 
 (v)  Round goby (Neogobius melanostomus); 
 (w)  Rudd (Scardinius erythrophthalmus); 
 (x)  Sand shiner (Notropis stramineus); 
 (y)  Sea lamprey (Petromyzon marinus); 
 (z)  Silver carp (Hypophthalmichthys molitrix); 
 (aa)  South American parasitic catfish (Family Cetopsidae 
and Family Trichomycteridae); 
 (bb)  Tiger fish (Hydrocynus vittatus); 
 (cc)  Tench (Tinca tinca); 
 (dd)  Tilapia (Genus Coelotilapia, Genus Coptodon, Genus 
Heterotilapia, Genus Oreochromis, and Genus Sarotherodon) 
 (ee)  Virgin River chub (Gila seminuda); 
 ([n]ff)  [Virgin spinedace (Lepidomeda 
mollispinis]Walking catfish (Clarias batrachus); and 
 ([o]gg)  Woundfin (Plagopterus argentissimus). 
 (2)  Any of these species taken while attempting to take 
other legal species shall be immediately released. 
 
KEY:  fish, fishing, wildlife, wildlife law 
Date of Last Change:  2024[November 21, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 24, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23A-2-305; 
23A-2-304[; 23A-1-101] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R657-33 Filing ID:  
56276 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R657-33.  Taking Bear 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory 
Council and Wildlife Board meetings conducted annually 
for taking public input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife 
Resources' (DWR) rule regulating the taking of bear in 
Utah. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed amendments to this rule amend the 
mandatory orientation course to be taken prior to hunting 
instead of prior to applying for or obtaining the bear 
permits. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendments to Rule R657-33 are administrative in 
nature and the DWR has determined that these changes 
can be initiated within the current workload and resources 
of the DWR, therefore, the DWR believes that these 
amendments can be enacted without a cost or savings 
impact to the state budget or the DWR's budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Since the proposed amendments do not require a service 
from local governments this filing does not create any 
direct or indirect cost or savings impact to local 
governments. 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
non-small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments do not have the potential to create a 
cost impact to those individuals wishing to participate in 
the hunting of bear in Utah because the mandatory 
orientation course has zero cost associated to take it and 
is available for free on DWR's website. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
DWR has determined that this amendment will not create 
additional costs for those participating in the take of bear, 
because the mandatory orientation course has zero cost 
associated to take it and is available for free on DWR's 
website. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 23A-2-304 Section 23A-2-305  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Justin Shirley,  
DWR Director 

Date: 01/08/2024 

 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-33.  Taking Bear. 
R657-33-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under authority of Sections 23A-2-304 and 23A-2-
305, the Wildlife Board has established this rule for taking and 
pursuing bear. 
 (2)  Specific dates, areas, number of permits, limits and 
other administrative details which may change annually are 
published in the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking and 
pursuing bear. 
 

R657-33-3.  Permits for Taking Bear. 
 (1)(a)  To harvest a bear, a person must first obtain a valid 
limited entry bear permit, a harvest objective bear permit, a spot-and-
stalk permit, or a bear control permit for a specified hunt unit as 
provided in the guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking bear. 
 (b)  Any person who obtains a limited entry bear permit or 
a harvest objective bear permit which allows the use of dogs may 
pursue bear without a pursuit permit while hunting during the season 
and on the unit for which the take permit is valid, provided the person 
is the dog handler. 
 (2)(a)  A person may not apply for or obtain more than one 
bear permit per year, except: 
 (b)  if the person is unsuccessful in the drawing 
administered by the division under Rule R657-62, the person may 
purchase a permit available outside of the drawing; and 
 (c)  a person may acquire more than one bear control permit 
as described in Subsection R657-33-23(4). 
 (3)  Any bear permit purchased after the season opens is not 
valid until three days after the date of purchase. 
 (4)  Residents and nonresidents may apply for and receive 
limited entry bear permits, and may purchase harvest objective bear 
permits and bear pursuit permits. 
 (5)(a)  A person must complete a mandatory orientation 
course before [applying for or obtaining]hunting in a limited entry, 
harvest objective season, or pursuing a bear using a bear pursuit 
permit. 
 (b)  [The]A person must possess a certificate of completion 
of the mandatory orientation course while hunting of pursuing black 
bear. 
 (c)  The orientation course is not required to receive a bear 
control permit under Subsection R657-33-23(4). 
 ([c]d)  The orientation course shall include training on 
hunter ethics. 
 (6)  To obtain a limited entry, harvest objective, spot-and-
stalk permit, or bear pursuit permit, a person must possess a valid 
Utah hunting or combination license. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, bear, game laws 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 1, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  October 31, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23A-1-101; 
23A-2-304; 23A-2-305 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R657-51 Filing ID:  
56281 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
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Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R657-51.  Poaching-Reported Reward Permits 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory 
Council and Wildlife Board meetings conducted annually 
for taking public input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife 
Resources' (DWR) commercial harvesting of protected 
aquatic wildlife management program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is being amended for the following: 
1) to add allowances for tags to be issued outside the 
standardized guidance and to protect the identity of 
reporting parties, when deemed appropriate and 
necessary; 
2) to add additional permit options for reporting parties who 
report multiple poaching reported reward eligible violations 
in a single year; 
3) to add the definition of "Immediate Family"; 
4) to add the definition for "Poaching Reported Reward 
Permit"; 
5) to modify violations that are eligible for Poaching 
Reported Reward Permits to include the unlawful taking of 
a trophy animal under Section 23A-5-309; and 
6) to remove the ability to receive/issue a Poaching 
Reported Reward Permit for cougar. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This amendment adds additional flexibility to Law 
Enforcement Officers when issuing Poaching Reported 
Reward Permits and can be performed within the normal 
business operations.  Therefore, the DWR has determined 
that these amendments do not create a cost or savings 
impact to the state budget or the DWR's budget, since the 
changes will not increase workload and can be carried out 
with existing budget. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

Since this amendment only adds additional flexibility to 
Law Enforcement Officers when issuing Poaching 
Reported Reward Permits, this should have little to no 
effect on local governments. 
 
This filing does not create any direct cost or savings impact 
to local governments because they are not directly 
affected by this rule.  Nor are local governments indirectly 
impacted because this rule does not create a situation 
requiring services from local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule does not impose any additional financial 
requirements on small businesses, nor generate a cost or 
saving impact to small businesses because this rule does 
not create a situation requiring services from them. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule does not impose any additional financial 
requirements on non-small businesses, nor generate a 
cost or saving impact to non-small businesses because 
this rule does not create a situation requiring services from 
them. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule does not impose any additional financial 
requirements on other persons, nor generate a cost or 
saving impact to other persons because this rule does not 
create a situation requiring services from them. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
DWR has determined that this amendment will not create 
additional costs for those individuals who report hunting or 
fishing violators that would qualify them for a Poaching 
Reward Permit. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 23A-2-304 Section 23A-2-305  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Justin Shirley,  
DWR Director 

Date: 01/10/2024 

 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-51.  Poaching-Reported Reward Permits. 
R657-51-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under authority of Sections 23A-2-304 and 23A-2-
305, the Wildlife Board has established this rule describing 
procedures the division may use in issuing permits to individuals who 
report unlawful taking of protected wildlife in Utah. 
 (2)  The division may deviate from this rule when granting 
a poaching-reported reward permit to protect an individual's identity 
as requested by the division's Chief of Law Enforcement. 
 (a)  Deviations may include: 
 (i)  authorizing a permit on a near or similar unit; 
 (ii)  authorizing a permit for a different species; 
 (iii)  authorizing a premium limited-entry or once-in-a-
lifetime permit if a recipient is eligible for multiple poaching-
reported reward permits; or 
 (iv)  authorizing a voucher that may only be redeemed by 
the recipient's immediate family member. 
 
R657-51-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23A-1-
101 and Rule R657-62. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Immediate Family" means a recipient's spouse, 
children, sons-in-law, daughters-in-law, father, mother, father-in-law, 
mother-in-law, brothers, sisters, brothers-in-law, sisters-in-law, 
stepchildren, and grandchildren. 
 (b)  "Poaching-Reported Reward Permit" means a permit 
obtained for a specific hunt area published in the hunt tables of the 
guidebook of the Wildlife Board for taking big game, turkey, or bear 
as established in Rule R657-51. 
 (c)  "Successful Prosecution" means: 
 (i)  the issuance of a Class B misdemeanor citation for a 
wildlife violation under [Utah Code]Section 23A-5-311;[ or] 
 (ii)  the filing of criminal charges eligible for a Class A or 
Class B misdemeanor or any felony under Section 23A-5-311[.]; or 
[ (b] (iii)  the issuance of a citation or filing of criminal 
charges of a Class B misdemeanor for a violation of Section 23A-5-
309 involving a trophy animal. 
 (d)  "Qualifying Individual" means: 
 (i)  an individual who provides accurate and credible 
information concerning a wildlife violation in Utah; 
 (ii)  the division uses that information in securing a 
Successful Prosecution; and 
 (iii)  the individual fully cooperates and supports the 
division throughout the prosecution process. 
 
R657-51-3.  General Permit Availability and Eligibility 
Provisions. 
 (1)(a)  A poaching-reported reward permit may only be 
issued on a unit having [10]ten or more public draw permits issued 
in the upcoming season. 
 (b)  If a poaching-reported reward permit is unavailable on 
a given unit, an alternative permit may be issued using the process 
identified in each species-specific section of this rule. 
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 (c)  The division may determine that a permit is unavailable 
on a unit if: 
 (i)  less than [10]ten public draw permits will be issued for 
a given unit in the upcoming season; 
 (ii)  the illegally harvested animal was taken outside of 
established unit boundaries; or 
 (iii)  issuing a poaching-reported reward permit would 
exceed 10% of the total number of permits issued on that unit. 
 (2)  A Qualifying Individual remains eligible to receive a 
poaching-reported reward permit, regardless of any applicable 
waiting periods they may otherwise be subject to. 
 (3)  A Qualifying Individual receiving a poaching-reported 
reward permit will not: 
 (a)  forfeit bonus points or preference points accumulated; 
or 
 (b)  incur a waiting period, except as described in 
Subsection (4). 
 (4)  A Qualifying Individual receiving a poaching-reported 
reward permit for a once-in-a-lifetime species is ineligible to apply 
for or obtain another once-in-a-lifetime permit for the same species 
and sex through the division's big game drawing. 
 (5)(a)  The division may only issue one poaching-reported 
reward permit for any one animal illegally taken. 
 (b)  No more than one poaching-reported reward permit 
may be issued to any one person per Successful Prosecution. 
 (c)  No more than one poaching-reported reward permit per 
species shall be issued to any one person in any single calendar year. 
 (d)  Nothing in this rule authorizes an individual to use or 
possess more than one permit for an antlered or horned animal of the 
same species in a single hunt year. 
 (e)  The Qualifying Individual may choose the weapon type 
for the permit, so long as a permit for that weapon type is available. 
 (f)  The Qualifying Individual may choose the season for 
the permit if different seasons are offered, except that multi-season 
permits may not be issued through the poaching-reported reward 
permit program. 
 (6)(a)  Poaching-reported reward permits may only be 
issued to the individual who provides the most pertinent information 
leading to a Successful Prosecution, unless granted under Subsection 
R657-51-1(2)(a)(iv). 
 (b)  If information is received from more than one 
individual, the director of the division shall make a determination 
based on the facts of the case as to which individual is eligible to 
receive the permit. 
 (7)  Poaching-reported reward permits are non-
transfer[r]able, unless granted under Subsection R657-51-1(2)(a)(iv). 
 (8)  Any person who receives a poaching-reported reward 
permit must possess or obtain a Utah hunting or combination license 
and otherwise be eligible to hunt the species for which the permit is 
issued for. 
 (9)  The division may determine whether to offer monetary 
rewards in lieu of issuing a poaching-reported reward permit for a 
Qualifying Individual. 
 (10)  If a poaching-reported reward permit is authorized for 
transfer under Subsection R657-51-1(2)(a)(iv), a person may not 
purchase, sell, offer, barter, exchange, or trade the voucher. 
 
R657-51-5.  [Cougar Poaching-Reported Reward Permits. 
 (1)  Limited-entry and harvest objective cougar units are 
eligible for poaching-reported reward permits. 
 (2)  Only one poaching-reported reward permit may be 
issued for each limited-entry cougar unit per year. 

 (3)  Poaching-reported reward permits for cougar may be 
issued on units or hunts. 
 (4)  Meeting the general permit availability requirements as 
follows: 
 (a)  if the animal was illegally taken on a harvest objective 
unit, a permit may be issued for a limited entry unit closest in 
proximity to that harvest objective unit; 
 (b)  if the animal was illegally taken on a limited entry unit, 
a permit may be issued on the same limited entry unit; or 
 (c)  if a permit described in Subsections (a) and (b) is 
unavailable, a permit may be issued on the limited-entry unit that is 
closest in proximity to where the animal was illegally taken. 
 
R657-51-6.  ]Bear Poaching-Reported Reward Permits. 
 (1)  Limited-entry and harvest objective bear units are 
eligible for poaching-reported reward permits. 
 (2)  Only one poaching-reported reward permit may be 
issued for each limited-entry bear unit per year. 
 (3)  Poaching-reported reward permits for bear may be 
issued on units or hunts meeting the general permit availability 
requirements as follows: 
 (a)  if the animal was illegally taken on a harvest objective 
unit, a permit may be issued for a limited -entry unit closest in 
proximity to that harvest objective unit; 
 (b)  if the animal was illegally taken on a limited -entry 
unit, a permit may be issued on the same limited -entry unit; or 
 (c)  if a permit described in Subsections (a) and (b) is 
unavailable, a permit may be issued on the limited-entry unit that is 
closest in proximity to where the animal was illegally taken. 
 
R[657-51-7]657-51-6.  Turkey Poaching-Reported Reward 
Permits. 
 (1)  General season and limited-entry turkey units are 
eligible for poaching-reported reward permits. 
 (2)  Poaching-reported reward permits for turkey may be 
issued on units or hunts meeting the general permit availability 
requirements as follows: 
 (a)  a permit may be issued on the same unit as the animal 
that was illegally taken; or 
 (b)  if a permit described in Subsection (a) is unavailable 
on that unit, a permit may be issued on a limited-entry or general 
season unit selected by the division. 
 
KEY:  wildlife, game laws, big game seasons 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 2, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 15, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23A-2-304; 
23A-2-305; 23A-11-201; 23A-11-202 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R657-62 Filing ID:  
56277 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
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Building: Department of Natural Resources 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R657-62.  Drawing Application Procedures 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended pursuant to Regional Advisory 
Council and Wildlife Board meetings conducted annually 
for taking public input and reviewing the Division of Wildlife 
Resources' (DWR) rule pursuant to application 
procedures. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed amendments to this rule amend the 
mandatory orientation course to be taken prior to hunting 
instead of prior to applying for or obtaining the bear 
permits. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendments to Rule R657-62 are administrative in 
nature, the DWR has determined that these changes can 
be initiated within the current workload and resources of 
the DWR, therefore, the DWR believes that these 
amendments can be enacted without a cost or savings 
impact to the state budget or the DWR's budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Since the proposed amendments do not require a service 
from local governments this filing does not create any 
direct or indirect cost or savings impact to local 
governments. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule amendments will not directly impact 
non-small businesses because a service is not required of 
them. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
These amendments do not have the potential to create a 
cost impact too those individuals wishing to participate in 
the hunting of bear in Utah because the mandatory 
orientation course has zero cost associated to take it and 
is available for free on DWR's website. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
DWR has determined that this amendment will not create 
additional costs for those participating in hunting in Utah, 
because there are no additional costs associated with this 
filing. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
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State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 23A-2-304 Section 23A-2-305  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Justin Shirley,  
DWR Director 

Date: 01/08/2024 

 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-62.  Drawing Application Procedures. 

R657-62-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under authority of Sections 23A-2-304 and 23A-2-
305, the Wildlife Board has established this rule for drawing 
applications and procedures. 
 (2)  Specific season dates, bag and possession limits, areas 
open, number of permits and other administrative details that may 
change annually are published in the respective guidebooks of the 
Wildlife Board. 
 
R657-62-19.  Black Bear. 
 (1)  Permit and Pursuit Applications. 
 (a)  For the purposes of this section, "restricted bear pursuit 
permit" means a limited entry permit issued in a division drawing that 
authorizes an individual to pursue bear using trained dogs, consistent 
with the restrictions found in [Utah Admin. Code]Rule R657-33. 
 (b)  A person must possess or obtain a valid hunting or 
combination license [in order ]to apply for or obtain a limited entry 
bear permit or restricted bear pursuit permit. 
 (c)  A person may not apply for or obtain more than one 
bear permit and restricted bear pursuit permit distributed pursuant to 
this rule within the same calendar year. 
 (d)  A person may simultaneously possess both a limited 
entry bear permit and a restricted pursuit permit. 
 (e)  Limited entry bear permits and restricted pursuit 
permits are valid only for the hunt unit and for the specified season 
designated on the permit. 
 (f)(i)  Applicants may select up to three hunt unit choices 
when applying for limited entry bear or restricted bear pursuit 
permits.  Hunt unit choices must be listed in order of preference. 
 (ii)  Applicants must specify in the application a specific 
season for their limited entry or restricted bear pursuit permit. 
 (g)  Any person intending to use bait during their bear hunt 
must obtain a certificate of registration as provided in Sections R657-
33-13 and R657-33-14. 
 (h)  Applicants must meet all age requirements, proof of 
hunter education requirements and youth restrictions as provided in 
Sections 23A-4-704, 23A-4-708, and 23A-4-1001. 
 (2)  Group applications are not accepted. 
 (3)  Waiting periods. 
 (a)  Any person who obtains a limited entry bear permit 
through the division drawing, may not apply for a permit thereafter 
for a period of two years. 
 (b)  Any person who obtains a limited entry restricted bear 
pursuit permit through the division drawing, may not apply for a 
permit thereafter for a period of two years. 
 (c)  Waiting periods do not apply to bear wildlife expo 
permits, as provided in Section R657-55-6. 
[ (4)  A person must complete a mandatory orientation course 
prior to applying for any bear permit offered through a division 
drawing or obtaining bear permits as described in R657-33-3(5).] 
 
KEY:  wildlife, permits 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 1, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 9, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  23A-2-304; 
23A-2-305 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive comment that requires the 
PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to respond 
to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
While the law does not designate a comment period for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends March 04, 2024. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only those 
changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding them ([example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text, 
either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to 
print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print 
is available from the agency or from the Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
From the end of the 30-day waiting period through May 31, 2024, an agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE becomes 
the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor more than 120 
days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates a public comment period, 
the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more 
than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in 
response to additional comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, the CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, 
R15-4-5b, R15-4-7, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page 
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NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R708-31 Filing ID: 55755 

Date of Previous  
Publication: 

10/15/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Driver License 
Room number: Suite 2600 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, 2nd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 144501 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R708-31.  Ignition Interlock Systems 
 
3.  Reason for this change: 
The Driver License Division (Division) has made changes 
to the proposed rule as a result of several public comments 
made during the 30-day public comment period. 
 
4.  Summary of this change: 

This filing adds clarifying language throughout. 
 
In addition, the filing: 
1) changes the date of compliance for systems from 
December 31, 2023, to October 31, 2024; 
2) updates recertification time frame from three years to 
five years; 
3) amends the definition section; and 

4) removes the requirement for a certification of test results 
to be signed by corporate officers of the lab and instead 
can be signed by an employee of the lab. 
 
The filing also removes the requirement for manufacturers 
to notify the Division of changes to software or firmware.  
The rule filing allows existing systems installed prior to 
October 31, 2024, to remain installed until the first monitor 
appointment that occurs after October 31, 2024, and 
removes the requirement to provide the serial number of 
the camera. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed repeal and 
reenact upon which this change in proposed rule (CPR) 
was based was published in the October 15, 2023, issue 
of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 167.  Underlining in the 
rule below indicates text that has been added since the 
publication of the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-
out indicates text that has been deleted.  You must view 
the CPR and the proposed repeal and reenact together to 
understand all of the changes that will be enforceable 
should the agency make this rule effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule filing is not expected to have any impact on any 
state government budget. 
 
These changes are extending the date of compliance for 
manufacturers to a longer time frame and to recertify less 
frequently. 
 
These changes also clarify terms used in the previous 
filing for who signs the certification of the test results and 
removes the need to notify the Division about software or 
firmware changes which did not have a fiscal cost or 
savings associated in the initial filing. 
 
B)  Local government: 
This rule filing is not expected to have any impact on local 
governments. 
 
This rule does not regulate local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule filing is not expected to have any impact on small 
businesses. 
 
This rule does not regulate small businesses. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
These changes may have a direct inestimable fiscal 
benefit to eight certified ignition interlock system 
manufacturers. 
 
The date for compliance has been extended and the 
extension of the time period to recertify a system has 
changed from every three years to every five years which 
would result in a manufacturer going through the 
certification process less.  This means they would not have 
to pay the certification costs as often. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule filing is not expected to have any impact on 
persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities. 
 
This rule does not regulate other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
There may be some inestimable compliance costs 
associated with this rule filing.  The costs are inestimable 
because the Division is not able to determine how much it 
would cost a manufacturer to obtain accreditation for 
compliance. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, 
Jess L. Anderson, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 41-6a-518   

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7.  Incorporations by Reference: 
A)  This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Model Specifications for Breath  
Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices  
(BAIIDS) 

Publisher Office of the Federal Register,  
National Archives and Records  
Administration 

Issue Date May 8, 2013 

Issue or Version Volume 78, Number 89 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 
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9.  This rule change MAY become 
effective on:  

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Christopher  
Caras, Division  
Director 

Date: 01/04/2024 

 
R708.  Public Safety, Driver License. 
R708-31.  Ignition Interlock Systems. 
R708-31-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to provide standards and 
requirements for certifying ignition interlock systems and 
manufacturer performance standards. 
 
R708-31-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Section 41-6a-518. 
 
R708-31-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 41-6a-
518, 53-3-102, [and ]53-3-1002 and R708-48-3. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "calibration" means the process of testing and 
[verification of system function, and ]adjusting an ignition interlock 
system by using a dry gas standard to ensure the accuracy of the 
breath test result; 
 (b)  "camera" means a feature of the system that captures a 
digital image of the individual submitting to the breath test; 
 (c)  "captured data" means data or images downloaded or 
sent from a system; 
 (d)  "circumvention" means bypassing the correct operation 
of the system to allow starting or operating the vehicle without a 
passing breath test; 
 (e)  "department" means the Department of Public Safety; 
 (f)  "division" means the Driver License Division; 
 (g)  "handset" means the component [on]of the system that 
[contains the fuel cell for the response after gathering the initial 
breath data]receives the breath sample; 
[ (h)  "install" means any service provided by an ignition 
interlock installer including the installation or removal of an ignition 
interlock system and the performance of any type of maintenance or 
service on an ignition interlock system;] 
 (h)  "independent lab" means a testing laboratory not 
affiliated with a manufacturer and is accredited to the ISO-17025 
Laboratory Standards; 
 (i)  "ISO-17025 Laboratory Management Standard" means 
an international operating standard for which labs must hold 
accreditation to be considered technically competent; 
 (j)  "ISO-9001 Quality Management Standard" means an 
international operating standard for which an organization may hold 
certification to show they have met the criteria for quality 
management principles; 
 (k)  "manufacturer" means an entity responsible for the 
design, development, production, and repair of a system; 

 (l)  "manufacturer representative" means an individual 
designated by the manufacturer as the contact for the division; 
 (m)  "monitoring" means the calibration and maintenance 
of the system to ensure proper function and use, and the downloading 
of any captured data from the system; 
 (n)  "NHTSA" means the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration; 
 (o)  "relay" means a control box or communication device 
of the system that logs events [and ]sends data, and allows or prevents 
the vehicle from starting or operating; 
 (p)  "retest" means an additional required breath test; 
 (q)  "system" means an ignition interlock system; and 
 (r)  "tampering" means to physically disable, disconnect, 
adjust, or otherwise alter the proper operation of a system, and does 
not include the removal of a system by an ignition interlock installer 
licensed by the division if the removal is reported to the division as 
required. 
 
R708-31-4.  Standards for Certification. 
 (1)  An applicant shall complete an application packet for 
certification of a system in writing and mail it to the division at Box 
144501, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114. 
 (2)  The application packet under Subsection (1) shall 
include: 
 (a)  an application provided by the division; 
 (b)  a certification[ report] for each system from an 
independent lab accredited to the ISO-17025 Laboratory 
Management Standard that includes: 
 (i)  a description of the tests run on each system; 
 (ii)  test results dated after May 8, 2014; 
 (iii)  a signature of[ the corporate officers of] an employee 
authorized by the lab that certif[y]ies the accuracy of the reported 
results; and 
 (iv)  verification the test results show the system meets or 
exceeds the standards in: 
 (A)  the NHTSA model specifications for breath alcohol 
ignition interlock devices (BAIID), 78 FR 26849-26867, May 8, 
2013, which are incorporated by reference; 
 (B)  this rule; and 
 (C)  Section 41-6a-518; 
 (c)  a certification the systems are manufactured in a facility 
that is accredited to the ISO 9001 Quality Management System; and 
 (d)  the operator's manual, users guide, and maintenance 
manual for each certified system. 
 (3)  The division shall reject any incomplete application 
packet. 
 (4)  The manufacturer of a system shall bear any costs of 
that system's certification. 
 
R708-31-5.  Minimum System Requirements. 
 (1)  For each system submitted for certification the 
manufacturer shall include: 
 (a)  a system that will record at a minimum: 
 (i)  each start attempt and outcome including override if 
applicable; 
 (ii)  a description and results of calibration checks; 
 (iii)  any attempts at circumvention; 
 (iv)  any attempts at tampering; 
 (v)  the breath alcohol content for each start attempt; 
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 (vi)  the date and time of each attempt; and 
 (vii)  chronological order of each entry; and 
 (b)  a camera as outlined in Section R708-31-8. 
 (2)  The manufacturer shall ensure: 
 (a)  captured data [contained in a system's memory shall be 
downloaded during any system monitoring or service and ]is reported 
to the division in a manner described by the division; 
 (b)  login credentials to access system data are provided to 
the division upon request and at no cost; 
 (c)  captured is retained for four years from the date the 
system is removed from any vehicle; and 
 (d)  additional reports requested by the division [and ]are 
provided in a format acceptable to and at no cost to the division. 
 (3)  The division may: 
 (a)  conduct testing on any systems submitted for 
certification. The manufacturer or provider shall provide at no cost at 
least one fully functional sample of each system upon request of the 
division; and 
 (b)  in its discretion, retain systems provided regardless of 
whether the system is no longer the current version or model of that 
system. 
 (4)  The division may also select any system in Utah to 
conduct testing according to  Section R708-31-4. 
 (5)  The division may require recertification of an existing 
certified system that has been modified. 
 (6)(a)  The manufacturer shall notify the division not less 
than 30 days before implementation of any modification, upgrade, or 
alteration to any hardware[, software, or firmware] of a system 
certified for use in this state. 
 (b)  The notification shall include the following: 
 (i)  a description and explanation of the modification, 
upgrade, or alteration and proof satisfactory to the division that these 
modifications, upgrades, or alterations do not adversely affect the 
ability of the system to satisfy the requirements of this rule and 
Section 41-6a-518; and 
 (ii)  a comprehensive plan of action for the phasing out of 
the use of the current system.[ This plan of action shall be approved 
by the division before the implementation of the plan of action.] 
 (10)  Each existing certified manufacturer shall obtain 
accreditation of the ISO 9001 Quality Management System no later 
than [December 31, 2023]October 31, 2024. 
 (11)(a)  Systems not meeting certification standards 
contained in this rule may not be used or installed in Utah after 
[December 31, 2023]October 31, 2024. 
 (b)  Systems in use before October 31, 2024 may remain in 
use until the next monitoring appointment that occurs after October 
31, 2024. 
 
R708-31-6.  List of Certified Systems. 
 (1)  The division shall maintain and post a list of certified 
systems on the division website. 
 (2)  To be included on the approved list of certified systems 
under Subsection (1), each manufacturer shall: 
 (a)  have a system that meets the certification standards in 
Section R708-31-4; 
 (b)  provide the division with a representative photograph 
of each certified system; 
 (c)  submit and comply with a quality assurance plan that 
includes procedures for: 

 (i)  checking the calibration; 
 (ii)  downloading the data; 
 (iii)  maintenance; 
 (iv)  checking for tampering; and 
 (v)  any other information regarding quality assurance 
unique to the system; 
 (d)  submit a detailed description of the system including: 
 (i)  a signed test certificate with complete test results as 
identified in Section R708-31-4; 
 (ii)  system serial numbers from the: 
 (A)  relay; and 
 (B)  handset;[ and 
 (C)  camera; and 
 (iii)  software versions of systems tested;] 
 (e)(i)  provide a certificate of insurance, issued by an 
insurance company authorized to transact business in Utah; 
 (ii)  provide an adequate product liability policy with a 
current effective date; 
 (iii)  specify the name and model number of the systems 
covered by the policy; 
 (iv)  maintain policy coverage of at least $1,000,000 per 
occurrence and 3,000,000 in whole; 
 (v)  list the manufacturer as the insured and the Department 
of Public Safety, Driver License Division as an additional insured; 
 (vi)  cover product liability coverage for defects in 
manufacture, materials, design, calibration, installation, and 
operation of the system; and 
 (vii)  ensure the insurance company will notify the division 
immediately upon cancellation and at least 30 days before 
terminating product liability policy; and 
 (f)  pay any applicable fees. 
 (3)  Certification listed under this section shall expire: 
 (a)  [three]five years after the date of issuance; or 
 (b)  upon changes or updates to the system including any 
[software, ]hardware, or standards listed in Section R708-31-4. 
 (4)  A manufacturer requesting a recertification or a 
renewal of a certification of a system shall submit: 
 (a)  a new application and fee; and 
 (b)  certification for each system showing compliance with 
the standards referenced in Section R708-31-4. 
 (5)  The division may deny an application to renew a 
system certification or cancel an existing certification if there is 
pending action against the manufacturer, manufacturer 
representative, or provider for any violation of this rule, Rule R708-
48, or Sections 53-3-1001 through 53-3-1008. 
 (6)  A manufacturer who fails to maintain the standards in 
this rule will result in loss of certification of their system and removal 
from the approved list of certified systems. 
 (7)  The division will approve or deny the certification and 
notify the applicant within 30 days of the determination. 
 
R708-31-7.  Manufacturer Performance Standards. 
 A  manufacturer shall: 
 (1)  designate a manufacturer representative as a contact 
person for the division; 
 (2)  notify the division in writing of: 
 (a)  a change in manufacturer representative within seven 
days of the change; 
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[ (b)  system software changes and effects before the changes 
are made;] 
 ([c]b)  any recalls, defects, or system issues that would 
result in the system no longer meeting the standards in Section R708-
31-4; 
 ([d]c)  any system or model presenting a public safety risk, 
or five or more failures of an installed system in any 12 month period; 
and 
 ([e]d)  a certification, [or ]license, or authorization to 
manufacture ignition interlock devices that has been denied, 
canceled, suspended, revoked or any similar action in any jurisdiction 
outside of Utah within 30 days of receiving the notice of the action; 
 (3)  not allow programming or modification of system 
features to be made by installers; 
 (4)  make any data captured through the system or camera 
readily available to the division; 
 (5)  agree to ensure proper record keeping in a format 
approved by the division; 
 (6)  provide testimony, at no cost to, and on behalf of the 
state or a political subdivision of the state relating to; 
 (a)  any aspect of the installation, [service]monitoring, 
repair, use, or removal, of a system; 
 (b)  interpretation of any report or information recorded in 
the data storage system of a system; and 
 (c)  the performance of any other duties required; 
 (7)  upon the request of the division, for each model 
approved by the division, provide a total of not less than 10 hours of 
training to division employees at no cost to this state that shall: 
 (a)  be held at times and locations within the state 
designated by the division; 
 (b)  familiarize division employees with the installation, 
operation, [service]monitoring, repair, and removal of the system; 
and 
 (c)  include the training and instructions that an installer 
will give to customers. 
 
R708-31-8.  Camera Requirements. 
 (1)  A manufacturer submitting a system for certification 
shall ensure cameras installed on a system shall: 
 (a)  not impede the field of vision for the safe and legal 
operation of the vehicle; 
 (b)  not pose a threat to the driver or passengers of the 
vehicle in the event of dislodgement; 
 (c)  take an image of the individual with sufficient clarity 
to allow identification; 
 (d)  capture images of the individual conducting the breath 
alcohol test for the following: 
 (i)  successful completion of the initial breath test sample; 
 (ii)  successful completion of any retest breath test sample; 
 (iii)  unsuccessful delivery of the initial breath test sample; 
 (iv)  unsuccessful delivery of any retest breath test sample; 
and 
 (v)  high breath alcohol test results; 
 (e)  capture identifiable images in any lighting condition; 
and 
 (f)  incorporate tamper detection features that include: 
 (i)  covering, blocking, or coating of the lens to distort the 
image; 

 (ii)  repositioning of the field of view so that it no longer is 
aimed at the driver; and 
 (iii)  disconnection from communication or power from the 
system. 
 (2)  Images taken by the camera shall be stored by the 
manufacturer with the: 
 (a)  date and time of the image capture; 
 (b)  results of each breath test; and 
 (c)  corresponding system serial number of the: 
 (i)  relay; and 
 (ii)  handset.[; and 
 (iii)  camera.] 
 (3)  A manufacturer shall have data readily available to the 
division upon request. 
 (4)  [A system not equipped with a camera by December 
31, 2023, will be decertified by the division]A system shall be 
decertified by the division if the system is not equipped with a camera 
by October 31, 2024. 
 
R708-31-9.  Grounds for Refusal to Certify or Revocation of 
Certification. 
 (1)  The division may refuse to certify or may revoke an 
existing certification for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  failure to comply with: 
 (i)  Title 53, Chapter 3, Part 10, Ignition Interlock System 
Program Act; 
 (ii)  Section 41-6a-518; 
 (iii)  Title 13, Commerce and Trade; or 
 (iv)  this rule or any other rule of the Department of Public 
Safety; 
 (b)  any omission, false statement, or any falsification, with 
or without intent or knowledge of: 
 (i)  an application; or 
 (ii)  any records or other required information relating to 
Title 53, Chapter 3, Part 10, Ignition Interlock System Program Act; 
 (c)  interference or failure to permit the division or its 
representatives to inspect records or any data collected from the 
camera or system; 
 (d)  a defect in the design, materials, or workmanship 
causing the system to fail to function as intended; 
 (e)  notification of the denial, cancellation, or revocation of 
certification from another state; 
 (f)  false, incomplete, or inaccurate information provided 
by the manufacturer, manufacturer representative, or independent 
laboratory; 
 (g)  modification of the components or design of the system 
or modification that causes the system to no longer satisfy the 
standards in Section R708-31-4; 
 (h)  the system fails the compliance testing conducted by 
the division; 
 (i)  the system fails to meet the requirements for 
certification or is no longer in compliance with the requirements in 
this rule; 
 (j)  a manufacturer's liability insurance coverage is 
terminated, canceled, or expired; 
 (k)  the manufacturer, manufacturer representative, 
provider, or installer fails to submit any reports in accordance with 
any reporting requirement; or 
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 (l)  false or inaccurate information provided by the 
manufacturer, manufacturer representative, or independent 
laboratory relating to the performance, reliability, function, or 
capabilities of the system. 
 (2)  The division shall forward the notice and order of 
revocation of the certification of a system to the manufacturer 
representative and ensure the notice and order of revocation specifies 
the basis for the revocation. 
 (3)  A manufacturer of a previously decertified system may 
apply to have the system certified in accordance with this rule if 
changes to equipment, procedures, or practice correcting the 
violation are submitted in writing to the division. 
 (4)  The division will not consider certification of a system 
from a manufacturer that fails to comply with this subsection. 
 
R708-31-10.  Procedures Governing Informal Adjudicative 
Proceedings. 
 (1)  The division shall notify a manufacturer representative 
in writing of the decision to refuse to certify a system. 
 (2)  The division shall begin an action to revoke the 
certification of a system by the issuance of a notice of agency action 
and ensure the notice of agency action complies with Section 63G-4-
201. 
 (3)  The manufacturer does not need to respond to the 
notice of agency action. 
 (4)  The manufacturer may send a written request for a 
hearing within ten days of the letter refusing to certify a system, or to 
revoke a system certification to the division, in accordance with 
Subsection 63G-4-201(3). 
 (5)  The division shall grant a hearing when the division 
receives a request, in writing, within ten calendar days from the date 
the notice of failure to certify or notice of agency action is issued. 
 (6)  The division shall send written notice of a hearing at 
least 14 calendar days before the date of the hearing. 
 (7)  The division may not allow discovery, either 
compulsory or voluntary, before the hearing except that each party 
shall have access to information in the division's files to the extent 
permitted by law, and to investigative information and materials not 
restricted by law. 
 (8)  A hearing officer shall hold a hearing within 30 
calendar days from the day that the division receives the written 
request for hearing, unless agreed to by the parties; 
 (9)  The division shall issue a written decision that shall 
constitute final agency action within 20 days after the date of the 
close of the hearing, or after the failure of a party to appear for the 
hearing. 
 (10)  The division shall ensure the written decision states 
the reason for the decision, notice of right to request reconsideration 
under Section 63G-4-302, notice of right of judicial review under 
Section 63G-4-402, and the time limits for filing an appeal to the 
appropriate district court. 
 
KEY:  ignition interlock systems 
Date of Last Change:  2024[2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 15, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  41-6a-518; 
53-3-1001 
 
 

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R708-48 Filing ID: 55756 

Date of Previous  
Publication: 

10/15/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Driver License 
Room number: Suite 2600 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, 2nd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 144501 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 81114-4501 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R708-48.  Ignition Interlock System Program 
 
3.  Reason for this change: 
The Driver License Division (Division) has made changes 
to the proposed rule as a result of several public comments 
made during the 30-day public comment period. 
 
4.  Summary of this change: 

This filing adds clarifying language throughout. 
 
In addition, the filing removes the requirement for 
providers and installers to have a designated waiting area 
and a visual barrier to be present for ignition interlock 
activities that are done outside of a garage and instead 
adds that ignition interlock activities shall not be in view of 
the public. 
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This rule filing updates the definition section, adds 
clarification that inspections and records are specific to the 
ignition interlock business, and that any ignition interlock 
system activity report will be given to the client only upon 
request. 
 
This filing removes the requirement to always have a 
licensed installer on the premises during business hours 
and removes the requirement to list the serial number of 
the cameras. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed repeal and 
reenact upon which this change in proposed rule (CPR) 
was based was published in the October 15, 2023, issue 
of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 183.  Underlining in the 
rule below indicates text that has been added since the 
publication of the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-
out indicates text that has been deleted.  You must view 
the CPR and the proposed repeal and reenact together to 
understand all of the changes that will be enforceable 
should the agency make this rule effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule filing is not expected to have any impact on any 
state government budget. 
 
These changes remove requirements regarding 
designated waiting areas and visual barriers and add 
specification to the business records mentioned in this 
rule. 
 
These changes also remove the requirement to have a 
licensed installer on the premises during business hours. 
 
B)  Local government: 
This rule filing is not expected to have any impact on local 
governments. 
 
This rule does not regulate local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule filing may have a direct inestimable fiscal benefit 
to 40 small businesses registered with the Division as 
certified ignition interlock system providers. 
 
The requirement to have designated waiting areas and 
visual barriers for ignition interlock system activities done 
outside of a garage has been removed.  This would mean 
providers will not have to alter their existing locations or 
processes. 
 

In addition, the changes specify the records referred to in 
this rule are that of the providers ignition interlock business 
only and remove the requirement to have the location 
staffed by a licensed installer during business hours. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule filing may have a direct inestimable fiscal benefit 
to one non-small business registered with the Division as 
a certified ignition interlock system provider. 
 
The requirement to have designated waiting areas and 
visual barriers for ignition interlock system activities done 
outside of a garage has been removed.  This would mean 
providers will not have to alter their existing locations or 
processes. 
 
In addition, the changes specify the records referred to in 
this rule are that of the providers ignition interlock business 
only and remove the requirement to have the location 
staffed by a licensed installer during business hours. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule filing is not expected to have any impact on any 
persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government budgets. 
 
This rule does not regulate any other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
Compliance with this rule is not expected to have a cost to 
affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, 
Jess L. Anderson, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 53-3-1004 Section 53-3-1007  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/04/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY become 
effective on:  

03/11/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Christopher  
Caras, Division  
Director 

Date: 01/04/2024 

 

R708.  Public Safety, Driver License. 
R708-48.  Ignition Interlock System Program. 
R708-48-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule governs the licensing and regulation of the 
Ignition Interlock System Program. 
 
R708-48-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Sections 53-3-1004 and 53-3-
1007. 
 
R708-48-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 41-6a-
518, 53-3-102, [and ]53-3-1002, and R708-31-3. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "act of moral turpitude" means conduct which: 
 (i)  is done knowingly contrary to justice, honesty, or good 
morals; 
 (ii)  has an element of falsification, fraud, or deception; or 
 (iii)  contains an element of harm or injury directed to 
another person or another's property; 
 (b)  "business" means a service center; 
[ (c)  "certificate of calibration" means a document prepared 
by the technician showing the details and results of the calibration 
process; 
 (d)  "captured data" means data or images downloaded or 
sent from a system;] 
 (c)  "client" means the named person on the ignition 
interlock system contract; 
 ([e]d)  "ignition interlock system activities" means 
installation, inspection, monitoring, service, and removal of the 
system, but does not include internal system repair; 
[ (f)  "install" means any service provided by an ignition 
interlock installer including the installation or removal of an ignition 
interlock system and the performance of any type of maintenance or 
service on an ignition interlock system; 
 (g)  "monitoring" means the calibration and maintenance of 
the system to ensure proper function and use, and the downloading 
of any captured data from the system;] 
 ([h]e)  "removal" means the removal of a system; 
 ([i]f)  "service center" means a physical location designated 
by the manufacturer, and approved by the division, where systems 
are installed, inspected, monitored, calibrated, maintained, and 
removed; and 
 ([j]g)  "service interval" means the time between system 
monitoring[; and 
 (k)  "system" means an ignition interlock system]. 
 
R708-48-4.  Requirements for Providers. 
 A  provider shall: 
 (1)  be responsible for the oversight of the ignition interlock 
system activities that are performed at the service center, and each 
installer employed by the business; 
 (2)  maintain any records including: 
 (a)  client records; 
 (b)  contracts; 
 (c)  personnel files including division issued installer 
licenses for each installer; and 
 (d)  any documentation concerning an ignition interlock 
business transaction; 
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 (3)  ensure the security of any client records and personal 
data on any forms, receipts, or contracts; 
 (4)  program the systems to have a service interval of 60 
days, unless a shorter interval is ordered as a term of probation by the 
court; 
 (5)  perform [service within]monitoring no later than three 
business days [of]after the 60 day service interval; 
 (6)  restart the service interval on the date of 
[service]monitoring if the system malfunctions and requires [service 
]monitoring before the expiration of the 60 day service interval; 
 (7)  allow the division to conduct scheduled and 
unscheduled inspections and audits; 
 (8)  grant access to their ignition interlock business 
databases to the division; 
 (9)  furnish any records of the business to the division upon 
request; 
 (10)  provide the client with a complete report of any 
ignition interlock system activity upon request; 
 ([10]11)  provide in-person training on system activities to 
each installer including annual re-training; 
 ([11]12)  maintain training files for each installer including 
dates of completion; 
 ([12]13)  finish any training administered or required by the 
division; 
 ([13]14)  require each installer to finish any training 
administered or required by the division; 
 ([14]15)  not be convicted of or have been found by the 
division, or any entity of the state, to have engaged in conduct that 
constitutes a felony, crime, or act of moral turpitude; 
 ([15]16)  not knowingly employ an installer who has been 
convicted of, or who has been found by the division to have engaged 
in, conduct that constitutes a felony, crime, or act of moral turpitude; 
 ([16]17)  post signs to identify the business by the name 
listed on the provider's license application; 
 ([17]18)  conspicuously display a copy of the provider's 
license issued by the division, and business license issued by the city 
or municipality; 
 ([18]19)  ensure the service center does not operate from 
the same facility or location as another service center; 
 ([19]20)  surrender the provider's license to the division 
within five days if: 
 (a)  the provider listed on the license is no longer working 
at the business; or 
 (b)  the provider license is denied, canceled, or revoked; 
 ([20]21)  provide and maintain a $50,000 surety bond that 
is: 
 (a)  continuous in form and run concurrently with the 
license period; 
 (b)  protects against liability to third persons; and 
 (c)  requires that the insurer provide notice to the division 
within five days if the surety bond is canceled; 
 ([21]22)  notify the division in writing: 
 (a)  within five business days of any changes to the 
residential or mailing address of any [employee]installer licensed by 
the division; 
 (b)  within five business days if any[one] installer licensed 
by the division is no longer employed by the business; 

 (c)  within 30 days of receiving notice of any license 
relating to systems that have been denied, canceled, or revoked in 
another state or jurisdiction; 
 (d)  within five days in the event the provider learns of any 
litigation in which it is a party defendant; and 
 (e)  within five days after being served a summons, 
complaint, or other pleadings in a case that involves services 
provided, and which has been filed in any federal or state court or 
administrative agency and shall deliver copies of these documents to 
the division. 
 
R708-48-5.  Procedure to Apply for and Renew a Provider 
License. 
 (1)  An applicant shall complete an application for a new or 
renewal of a provider license and mail it to the division at Box 
144501 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114. 
 (2)  The application packet under Subsection (1) shall 
include: 
 (a)  a provider application form provided by the division, 
which has been signed by the applicant and any other required 
parties; 
 (b)  an application or renewal fee, which shall be made 
payable to the department; 
 (c)  a copy of any business license for each service center 
issued by the municipality or county where the service center is 
located, or a statement that a business license is not required in that 
location; 
 (d)  samples of any forms, receipts, and contracts used in 
the course of operation of the business; 
 (e)  a schedule of fees to be charged by the business for 
each service performed by the business; 
 (f)  a description of how the business shall be operated, 
which shall include: 
 (i)  a description of how the provider will meet the 
requirements of Title 53, Chapter 3, Part 10, Ignition Interlock 
System Program Act, and Rule R708-48; 
 (ii)  a detailed installer training plan; 
 (iii)  a detailed client training plan on how to use and 
maintain the system; and 
 (iv)  copies of any training materials that will be used; 
 (g)  evidence of a $50,000 surety bond for the business that 
shall: 
 (i)  be continuous in form and run concurrently with the 
license period; 
 (ii)  protect against liability to third persons; and 
 (iii)  require the insurer to provide notice to the division if 
the surety bond is canceled; and 
 (h)  evidence of two years of experience in operating a 
business. 
 (3)  If the division determines the provider has submitted a 
complete application, a division representative shall conduct a 
service center site inspection. 
 (4)  An applicant submitting an application for an initial or 
new provider license shall submit each of the items listed in 
Subsections R708-48-5(2)(a) through (h) in addition to: 
 (a)  one FBI applicant fingerprint card with the applicant's 
legible fingerprints; and 



  NOTICES OF CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 03 65 

 (b)  a check or money order made payable to the Utah 
Bureau of Criminal Identification to cover the cost of a background 
check. 
 (5)  An applicant submitting an application under this rule 
shall provide original documents, [photocopies of documents may 
not be submitted]unless the division requests photocopies. 
 (6)  A provider may not transfer their license. 
 (7)  A provider may obtain a duplicate provider license by 
submitting a written request and a duplicate license fee to the 
division. 
 (8)  The division may not process an application if any 
requirement is not met. 
 (9)  A provider shall submit a new application in the event 
of a change in ownership. 
 
R708-48-6.  Requirements of a Service Center Location. 
 (1)  A provider shall ensure a service center location: 
 (a)  is not located within 1500 feet of a facility in which 
vehicle registrations or driver licenses are issued to the public unless 
the location was established before the establishment of the facility 
in which vehicle registrations or driver licenses are issued to the 
public; 
 (b)  does not solicit business directly or indirectly or display 
or distribute any advertising material within 1500 feet of a: 
 (i)  building in which vehicle registrations or driver licenses 
are issued to the public; or 
 (ii)  a court building; 
 (c)  is compliant with federal, state, and local building, fire, 
safety, and health codes; 
 (d)  does not display any logos, driver license, or vehicle 
license plate recreations of the department, the division, the Utah 
State Tax Commission, or Division of Motor Vehicles, in their 
advertising; and 
 (e)  does not use any letterhead, advertising, or other 
printed matter in any manner representing that the provider or service 
center is recommended, endorsed by, or is an instrumentality of the 
federal government, a state, or any political subdivision of a state. 
 (2)  The division shall approve any changes in location of 
the service center in writing before moving. 
 (3)  A licensed installer shall be [on the premises 
during]available for all scheduled appointments or provide written 
notification to the client for any appointments that must be canceled 
or rescheduled[advertised or posted business hours]. 
 (4)  A provider shall [designate a waiting area that]ensure 
any ignition interlock system activities are completed outside the [is 
not in ]view of [the installation area for individuals who are not 
licensed installers]the client. 
 (5)  Providers shall take adequate security measures to 
ensure that individuals not licensed under this rule cannot gain access 
to proprietary materials or client files. 
[ (6)  An installer completing an installation or removal of a 
system outside of a garage or building shall complete the installation 
or removal behind a visual barrier that is sufficient to shield the 
process from anyone not licensed under this rule.] 
 

R708-48-7.  Procedure to Apply for or Renew a Service Center 
License. 
 (1)  An applicant shall complete an application for a service 
center license and mail it to the division at Box 144501 Salt Lake 
City, Utah 84114. 
 (2)  The packet under Subsection (1) shall include: 
 (a)  an application form provided by the division, which has 
been signed by the applicant and any other required parties; 
 (b)  an application or renewal fee, which shall be made 
payable to the department; and 
 (c)  a copy of the license to operate in the city or 
municipality where the service center is located, or a statement that a 
license is not required in that location. 
 (3)  A division representative: 
 (a)  shall inspect the location before approval of the license; 
and 
 (b)  may make any recommendations for changes to 
become fully compliant for licensure. 
 (4)  A provider may not transfer a service center license. 
 (5)  A provider may obtain a duplicate service center license 
by submitting a written request and a duplicate license fee to the 
division. 
 (6)  The division may not process an application if any 
requirement is not met. 
 
R708-48-8.  Inspection and Audit Procedures. 
 (1)  The division shall conduct inspections and audits to 
verify compliance with Title 53, Chapter 3, Part 10, Ignition Interlock 
System Program Act, and this rule. 
 (2)  The provider shall make the premises and records of 
the service center available to the division immediately upon request 
during normal business hours for an inspection or audit. 
 (3)  The division shall provide a receipt to the business if it 
becomes necessary to remove records from the service center for 
audit purposes, which will include: 
 (a)  the name and location of the provider; 
 (b)  the location of the business; 
 (c)  the date that records were removed; 
 (d)  a description of records removed; 
 (e)  the signature of an authorized representative of the 
business; and 
 (f)  the signature of a division representative. 
 (4)  The division may not issue a receipt for photocopies of 
documents. 
 (5)  The division shall update the receipt under Subsection 
(3) upon return of the records, with: 
 (a)  the date the records were returned; 
 (b)  the signature of an authorized representative of the 
business who is receiving the records; and 
 (c)  the signature of the division representative returning 
the records. 
 (6)  The division shall hold the records no longer than 
necessary to finish an audit, inspection, or investigation. 
 (7)  The division may not return photocopies of records. 
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 (8)  A division representative shall prepare a written report 
of each inspection and audit. 
 (9)  The division shall maintain a copy of the written report 
for ten years. 
 (10)  The division shall notify the business of the division's 
findings following a business inspection or audit, by sending: 
 (a)  a letter to the business indicating any: 
 (i)  problems; 
 (ii)  concerns; or 
 (ii)  violations found during the inspection or audit; 
 (b)  an action plan detailing expectations regarding the 
correction of the items identified; or 
 (c)  a notice of agency action. 
 (11)  The division shall audit records of client complaints 
including: 
 (a)  complaints against a provider, installer, or service 
center; 
 (b)  the complaint resolution process; and 
 (c)  complaints received by the provider, installer, and the 
division. 
 (12)  The division may make recommendations based on: 
 (a)  the findings of the complaint resolution process; 
 (b)  the number of complaints received; and 
 (c)  the severity and type of complaints. 
 (13)  The division may conduct announced and 
unannounced audits of [service]monitoring appointments or ignition 
interlock system activities. 
 
R708-48-9.  Requirements for an Installer. 
 (1)  A licensed installer shall: 
 (a)  only be allowed to be employed or contracted by and 
do work for one provider at a time; 
 (b)  finish in-person training for systems offered by the 
provider of the business for which they will be employed; 
 (c)  finish any training administered or required by the 
division; 
 (d)  provide a live demonstration and a written or electronic 
user guide to clients on the operation and functioning of the system 
before leaving the installation site; 
 (e)  not be convicted of, or have been found by any entity 
of the state to have engaged in conduct which constitutes a felony, or 
crime or act of moral turpitude; 
 (f)  perform monitoring on each system every 60 days or 
more frequently as required by the court or division, to: 
 (i)  identify the system's proper use and accuracy; and 
 (ii)  download captured data from the system; 
 (g)  require the client to bring the vehicle with the system 
installed to the service center for monitoring; and 
 (h)  not allow the [customer]client or any other person 
except a division employee, another installer or trainee, or provider 
to observe the installation[ by using a separate area or visual barrier 
approved by the division]. 
 (2)  An installer shall provide the client with a written report 
of[: 
 (a) ] service performed during an installation, removal, or 
[service]monitoring, and send a copy of the information [sent ]to the 
division as required in Section R708-48-13[; and 
 (b)  a complete report of any ignition interlock system 
activity, upon request]. 

 (3)  An installer shall surrender their license to the division 
within five days: 
 (a)  if the installer is no longer employed at the provider; or 
 (b)  the division has denied, canceled, or revoked the 
license. 
 (4)  An installer shall notify the division in writing if they 
have had an installer license denied, canceled, or revoked in another 
state or jurisdiction within 30 days of receiving notice of the action. 
 
R708-48-10.  Procedure to Apply for and Renew an Installer 
License. 
 (1)  An applicant for a new or renewal of an existing 
installer license, shall mail a complete installer application packet to 
the division at Box 144501 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114. 
 (2)  The packet under Subsection (1) shall include: 
 (a)  an installer application form provided by the division, 
which has been signed by the applicant and any other required 
parties; 
 (b)  an application fee or renewal fee, which shall be made 
payable to the department; 
 (c)  a signed agreement verifying that the applicant has read 
and understands each of the laws and rules that are applicable to Title 
53, Chapter 3, Part 10, Ignition Interlock System Program Act; 
 (d)  one FBI applicant fingerprint card with the applicant's 
legible fingerprints with initial application and upon renewal; and 
 (e)  a check or money order made payable to the Utah 
Bureau of Criminal Identification to cover the cost of a background 
check. 
 (3)  The applicant shall include original documents in the 
packet unless the division requests photocopies.[ The division may 
not accept photocopies of documents.] 
 (4)  An installer may not transfer their license. 
 (5)  The installer may apply for a duplicate installer license 
by submitting a written request and a duplicate license fee to the 
division. 
 (6)  The division may not process an application if any 
requirement is not met. 
 
R708-48-11.  Contracts and Documentation. 
 (1)  A provider shall have a written contract approved by 
the division signed by both the client and an authorized representative 
of the provider before providing any services to a client. 
 (2)  A client under 18 years of age shall also have the 
contract signed by a parent or legal guardian before any service is 
provided. 
 (3)  A provider shall give a physical copy of the full contract 
signed by the representative, including the legible written name of 
the representative who signed, and keep the original contract. 
 (4)  The provider shall ensure the contract contains: 
 (a)  the client's: 
 (i)  full legal name; 
 (ii)  date of birth; 
 (iii)  driver's license number; 
 (iv)  license plate number; 
 (v)  full legal name of the registered owner of the vehicle if 
different than the client; 
 (vi)  full residential address; and 
 (vii)  full mailing address; 
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 (b)  a description of the services to be provided by the 
business; 
 (c)  a complete list of any fees and their frequency during 
the contract; 
 (d)  clear language that sets forth the costs of early 
termination of the contract; 
 (e)  language voiding the contract if the provider's license 
is denied, canceled, or revoked by the division; and 
 (f)  clearly identifies the total cost of the contract, including 
any expected servicing and removal costs during the contract, and 
early termination fees[; 
 (g)  clearly identifies all recurring monthly fees in the fees 
section; and 
 (h)  system serial numbers from the: 
 (i)  relay; 
 (ii)  handset; and 
 (iii)  camera]. 
 (5)  The provider shall allow the client to cancel the 
contract at any time, and shall clearly identify the total amount due 
upon cancellation including service charges, cancellation fees, and 
removal costs; 
 (6)  The provider [shall]may not automatically extend[ed] 
the contract due to a violation. 
 (7)  The provider may not make the length of the contract 
[be ]contingent upon the length of the ignition interlock restriction on 
an individual's driving privilege, or any extension of the restriction. 
 (8)  The provider or a representative of the provider shall 
give the client a receipt upon payment of any fees. 
 (9)  The installer shall provide clients with a physical copy 
of the installation report immediately upon installation. 
 (10)  Clients are required to sign a Client Responsibility 
Form provided by the division which shall include: 
 (a)  the client's: 
 (i)  full legal name; 
 (ii)  date of birth; and 
 (iii)  driver's license number and state of issuance; 
 (b)  the vehicle's: 
 (i)  license plate number and state of issuance; 
 (ii)  make and model; and 
 (iii)  Vehicle Identification Number; 
 (c)  name of the system manufacturer; 
 (d)  installer signature; 
 (e)  name of the service center; 
 (f)  date of installation; and 
 (g)  acknowledgment of training provided by the installer 
to the client on the following topics: 
 (i)  device use and function; 
 (ii)  distracted driving while using a system; 
 (iii)  early removal of a system; 
 (iv)  tampering; 
 (v)  camera technology; and 
 (vi)  fees associated with the lease of a system. 
 
R708-48-12.  Records. 
 (1)  The provider shall maintain the following client 
records: 
 (a)  documentation of each ignition interlock system 
activity provided to a client which include: 
 (i)  the client's: 

 (A)  full legal name; 
 (B)  date of birth; 
 (C)  driver license number and state of issuance; and 
 (D)  license plate number and state of issuance; 
 (ii)  the type of service provided; 
 (iii)  the exact date the service was performed; 
 (iv)  the name[ and installer ID number] of the installer who 
performed each service; and 
 (v)  the name of the manufacturer and system serial number 
for the: 
 (A)  relay; and 
 (B)  handset;[ and 
 (C)  camera;] 
 (b)  original copies of client contracts; 
 (c)  client responsibility forms; 
 (d)  original copies of receipts and invoices; 
 (e)  installation reports; and 
 (f)  certificates of calibration with serial numbers of the: 
 (i)  relay; and 
 (ii)  handset[; and 
 (iii)  camera]. 
 (2)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  store any client records in a location accessible to the 
division during normal business hours; and 
 (b)  store active client records  in a single location in the 
service center. 
 (3)  The provider may store inactive client records in a 
single offsite storage location after one year has elapsed since the 
system was removed. 
 (4)  The provider shall maintain client records for a period 
of four years after the contractual obligation with the client has 
concluded. 
 (5)  Each provider shall review the records of the business 
every six months for completeness and accuracy. 
 (6)  The provider shall immediately file an affidavit with 
the division if any records the business is required to maintain are lost 
or destroyed which states: 
 (a)  the date the record was lost or destroyed; 
 (b)  the circumstances surrounding the loss or destruction; 
 (c)  the effect the loss may have on [customers]clients or 
the business's ability to fulfill requirements under this rule; and 
 (d)  a description of the contents of the records lost or 
destroyed. 
 (7)  In the event of a breach of data security, the provider 
shall: 
 (a)  notify the division immediately after becoming aware 
of a breach of data security; 
 (b)  cooperate with the state regarding recovery of data, 
remediation; and involvement of law enforcement; 
 (c)  bear the cost of notifying everyone whose personal 
information may have been compromised; 
 (d)  notify those individuals whose personal information 
may have been compromised in accordance with Title 13, Chapter 
44, Protection of Personal Information Act; 
 (e)  perform an analysis to determine the cause of the 
breach; 
 (f)  produce a remediation plan to reduce the risk of 
incurring a similar type of breach in the future; and 
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 (g)  present the analysis and remediation plan to the 
division within ten days of notifying the division of the breach of data 
security. 
 (8)(a)  The division has the right to adjust the plan under 
Subsection (6)(f), at its sole discretion. 
 (b)  If the provider cannot produce the required analysis and 
plan under Subsection (6)(f) within the allotted time, the state, in its 
sole discretion, may perform an analysis and produce a remediation 
plan that the provider shall comply with, at the provider's sole cost. 
 (9)  The provider shall: 
 (a)  ensure any [customer ]client records, state records, and 
information remain confidential at all times; and 
 (b)  comply with state and federal laws, rules, and 
regulations concerning the confidentiality of information. 
 
R708-48-13.  Reporting. 
 (1)  Installers shall report to the division each time an 
individual has installed or removed a system from their vehicle. 
 (2)  Providers shall report each time an individual has: 
 (a)  attempted to start the vehicle with a measurable breath 
alcohol concentration greater than .020; or 
 (b)  failed to report to the provider every 60 days, or more 
frequently if ordered by the court or division, for monitoring. 
 (3)  A provider shall ensure each report submitted includes: 
 (a)  the client's: 
 (i)  full legal name; 
 (ii)  date of birth; 
 (iii)  driver's license number and state of issuance; 
 (iv)  license plate number and state of issuance; and 
 (v)  make, model, and Vehicle Identification Number of the 
vehicle the system is installed in; 
 (b)  the name of the manufacturer and serial numbers for 
the: 
 (i)  relay; and 
 (ii)  handset;[ and 
 (iii)  camera;] 
 (c)  the date and time of the installation, removal, and 
monitoring of a system; 
 (d)  the date and time of attempts to start the vehicle with a 
measurable breath alcohol concentration that was prevented by the 
system; and 
 (e)  the name of the person performing the installation, 
removal, or monitoring of a system. 
 (4)  The provider shall submit each report to the division 
either through the portal or in a manner defined by the division within 
24 hours or the next business day. 
 
R708-48-14.  Access to the Utah State Portal. 
 (1)  The division may grant access to the Utah State Portal 
to an installer to report ignition interlock system activities. 
 (2)  The provider is responsible for: 
 (a)  training each licensed installer on use of the portal; and 
 (b)  ensuring that only a licensed and trained installer has 
access to the login credentials. 
 (3)  An installer who does not log into the portal at least 
once every 45 days will have their Utah State Portal access suspended 
by the division. 
 (4)  The division shall cancel access to the portal if: 

 (a)  a provider or installer license expires or has been 
denied, canceled, or revoked; 
 (b)  a provider or installer is no longer employed by the 
service center; 
 (c)  the login information has been shared or used by a 
person other than the installer; or 
 (d)  a provider or installer fails to report any installation or 
removal. 
 
R708-48-15.  Grounds for the Denial, Cancellation, or Revocation 
of a Provider, Service Center, or Installer License. 
 (1)  The division may deny, suspend, or revoke a provider, 
service center, or installer license for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  failure to comply with: 
 (i)  Title 53, Chapter 3, Part 10, Ignition Interlock System 
Program Act; 
 (ii)  Section 41-6a-518; 
 (iii)  Title 13, Commerce and Trade; or 
 (iv)  any part of this rule or Rule R708-31; 
 (b)  intentional or unintentional omission or false 
statement, or any falsification of: 
 (i)  applications; or 
 (ii)  any records or other required information relating to 
Title 53, Chapter 3, Part 10, Ignition Interlock System Program Act; 
 (c)  denial, cancellation, or revocation of their license in 
another state or jurisdiction; 
 (d)  having been convicted of or having been found by any 
state entity to have engaged in, conduct that constitutes a felony, or 
any crime or act of moral turpitude; or 
 (e)  refusing or failing to respond to a subpoena issued by 
the division. 
 (2)(a)  The division shall consider the provider's or 
installer's earlier violations, complaints, and the quantity of the 
violations, when deciding whether denial, cancellation, or revocation 
is appropriate. 
 (b)  In lieu of canceling or revoking a license, the division 
may elect to place the provider or installer on formal probation. 
 (4)  The division shall ensure a probation document 
outlines the: 
 (a)  violations; 
 (b)  duration of probation; 
 (c)  requirements of the licensee during the probation 
period; and 
 (d)  requirements to end probation. 
 (5)  If the division has denied, canceled, or revoked a 
provider license under this section, the clients of that provider may 
go to another provider. 
 
R708-48-16.  Procedures Governing Informal Adjudicative 
Proceedings. 
 (1)  The division shall notify a provider or installer in 
writing of the decision to deny, cancel, or revoke a provider or 
installer license. 
 (2)  The division shall begin an action to deny, cancel, or 
revoke a provider or installer license by the issuance of a notice of 
agency action and ensure the notice of agency action complies with 
Section 63G-4-201. 
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 (3)  The provider or installer is not required to respond to 
the notice of agency action. 
 (4)  The division shall grant an opportunity for a hearing 
when the division receives a request in writing within [10]ten 
calendar days from the date the notice of agency action is issued. 
 (5)  The division shall send written notice of a hearing at 
least 14 days before the date of the hearing. 
 (6)  The division may not allow discovery, either 
compulsory or voluntary, before the hearing except that: 
 (a)  each party shall have access to information relevant to 
the action in the division's files; and 
 (b)  each party shall have access to any investigative 
information and materials permitted by law. 
 (7)  A hearing officer shall hold a hearing within 30 
calendar days from the day that the division receives the written 
request for hearing unless agreed to by the parties. 
 (8)(a)  The division shall issue a written decision that shall 
constitute final agency action within 20 days after the date of the 
close of the hearing, or after the failure of a party to appear for the 
hearing. 
 (b)  The division shall ensure the written decision states, 
the reason for the decision, notice of right to request reconsideration 
under Section 63G-4-302, notice of right of judicial review under 
Section 63G-4-402, and the time limits for filing an appeal to the 
appropriate district court. 
 

R708-48-17.  Interlock Restriction Extensions. 
 (1)  The division may not extend an individual's ignition 
interlock restriction more than one 60 day extension for violations in 
a given 60 day reporting period regardless of the frequency of the 
electronic notifications received by the division under Subsection 53-
3-1007(2). 
 (2)  The provider submitting electronic notifications to the 
division under Subsection 53-3-1007(2) shall submit no more than 
one every 30 days and no less than one every 60 days except upon 
removal of an ignition interlock [device]system. 
 (3)  The individual may request a hearing before the 
division within ten days of the notice of extension regarding the 
extension to challenge the report. 
 (4)  The division shall conduct the hearing in accordance 
with Rule R708-35.  The burden of proof is on the individual to show 
they did not violate Subsection 53-3-1007(2)(b) or Subsection 53-3-
1007(2)(c). 
 (5)  The division may reference previous violations during 
a hearing under this section. 
 
KEY:  Ignition Interlock System Program 
Date of Last Change:  2024[2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  June 7, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Title 53, 
Chapter 3, Part 10 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Changes in Proposed Rules Section 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R657-67 Filing ID: 55737 
Effective Date: 01/08/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Wildlife Resources 
Room number: Suite 2110 
Building: DNR Complex 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146301 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6301 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Staci Coons 801-

450-
3093 

stacicoons@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R657-67.  Utah Hunter Mentoring Program 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Under the authority of Sections 23A-2-201, 23A-2-102, 
23A-2-305, 23A-2-304, 23A-4-201, and 23A-4-710, this 
rule creates a Hunting Mentor program that will increase 
hunting opportunities for Utah families and provides the 
procedures under which a minor child may share the 
permit of another to take protected wildlife. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division of Wildlife Resources (Division) has not 
received any written comments regarding this rule. 
 
Any comments received in opposition to this rule are 
resolved using existing policies and procedures or the 
issue is placed on the Regional Advisory Council's and 
Wildlife Board's agenda for review and discussion during 
the process for taking public input. 
 
The public is welcome to view the Regional Advisory 
Council minutes, Wildlife Board minutes, and the 
administrative record for this rule at the Division. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule creates a hunting mentor program that will 
increase hunting opportunities for Utah families and 
provides the procedures under which a minor child may 
share the permit of another to take protected wildlife, 
including all big game general season permits, big game 
limited entry permits, once-in-a-lifetime permits, all 
antlerless big game permits, bear, and cougar.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Justin Shirley,  
Division Director 

Date: 01/08/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R807-1 Filing ID: 52009 
Effective Date: 01/11/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: University of Utah, Museum of Natural 

History (Utah) 
Building: Natural History Museum of Utah 
Street address: 301 Wakara Way 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84108 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janaki Krishna 801-

585-
7484 

jkrishna@nhmu.utah.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R807-1.  Curation of Collections from State Lands 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsections 53B-17-603(2) and (4)(b) require the Utah 
Museum of Natural History to make rules to ensure the 
adequate curation of archeological and paleontological 
collections collected from state lands, including the 
selection of appropriate curation facilities/repositories. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received during the 
specified time period. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Rule R807-1 is necessary to the Utah Museum of Natural 
History and as part of the statewide process for protecting 
archaeological and paleontological resources recovered 
from state lands.  Among other things, Rule R807-1 
establishes standards for curation and the obligations of 
repositories and curation facilities.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jason Cryan,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 01/11/2024 

 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  The Office of Administrative Rules 
(Office) is required to notify agencies of rules due for review at least 180 days prior to the anniversary date.  If the 
agency finds that it will not meet the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office.  However, if the agency fails to file either the FIVE-YEAR 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION or the EXTENSION by the date provide by the Office, the rule 
expires. 
 
Upon expiration of the rule, the Office files a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATION (EXPIRATION) to document the action.  
The Office is required to remove the rule from the Utah Administrative Code.  The agency may no longer enforce the 
rule and it must follow regular rulemaking procedures to replace the rule if it is still needed. 
 
The Office has filed EXPIRATIONS for each of the rules listed below which were not reviewed in accordance with 
Section 63G-3-305.  These rules have expired and have been removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The expiration of administrative rules for failure to comply with the five-year review requirement is governed by 
Subsection 63G-3-305(8). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Utah Admin. Code 
Ref (R no.): 

R362-5 ID No. 50870 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Governor 
Agency: Office of Energy Development 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W, Ste 400 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L.  
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R362-5.  Commercial Property Assessed Clean Energy 
(C-PACE), Administrative Rules 
 
3.  Effective  
Date: 

01/24/2024 

4.  Summary: 
The five-year review and notice of continuation was not 
filed for this rule by the deadline.  This rule has expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 

 

 
End of the Notices of Notices of Five-Year Expirations Section 
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Plant Industry 
No.  55857  (New Rule)  R68-40:  Medical Cannabis 
Pharmacy 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/02/2024 
 
No.  55858  (New Rule)  R68-41:  Home Delivery and Courier 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  01/02/2024 
 
 
Commerce 
Administration 
No.  56172  (Amendment)  R151-4:  Department of 
Commerce Administrative Procedures Act Rule 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
Professional Licensing 
No.  56209  (Repeal)  R156-60:  Mental Health Professional 
Practice Act Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
No.  56210  (Amendment)  R156-60a:  Social Worker 
Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
No.  56211  (Amendment)  R156-60b:  Marriage and Family 
Therapist Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
No.  56216  (Amendment)  R156-60c:  Clinical Mental Health 
Counselor Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 

No.  56217  (Amendment)  R156-60d:  Substance Use 
Disorder Counselor Act Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
 
Cultural and Community Engagement 
Arts and Museums, Museum Services 
No.  56237  (Repeal)  R452-100:  Certified Local Museum 
Designation 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  56191  (Amendment)  R277-210:  Utah Professional 
Practices Advisory Commission (UPPAC), Definitions 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56192  (Amendment)  R277-211:  Utah Professional 
Practices Advisory Commission (UPPAC) Rules of Procedure: 
Notification to Educators, Complaints and Final Disciplinary 
Actions 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56193  (Amendment)  R277-217:  Educator Standards 
and LEA Reporting 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56194  (Amendment)  R277-477:  Distributions of Funds 
from the Trust Distribution Account and Administration of the 
School LAND Trust Program 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
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No.  56195  (Amendment)  R277-554:  State Charter School 
Board Grants and Mentoring Program 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56196  (Amendment)  R277-625:  Mental Health 
Screeners 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56197  (Amendment)  R277-700:  The Elementary and 
Secondary School General Core 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56198  (Amendment)  R277-704:  Financial and 
Economic Literacy: Integration into Core Curriculum 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56199  (Amendment)  R277-752:  Special Education 
Intensive Services Fund 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
 
Environmental Quality 
Waste Management and Radiation Control, Radiation 
No.  56174  (Amendment)  R313-19-13:  Exemptions 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56175  (Amendment)  R313-21-21:  General Licenses--
Source Material 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56176  (Amendment)  R313-22-55:  Conditions of 
Specific Licenses to Initially Transfer Source Material for Use 
Under Section R313-21-21 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
Waste Management and Radiation Control, Waste 
Management 
No.  56178  (Amendment)  R315-124:  Procedures for 
Decisionmaking 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56180  (Amendment)  R315-301:  Solid Waste Authority, 
Definitions, and General Requirements 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56181  (Amendment)  R315-302:  Solid Waste Facility 
Location Standards, General Facility Requirements, and 
Closure Requirements 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 

No.  56182  (Amendment)  R315-304:  Industrial Solid Waste 
Landfill Requirements 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56183  (Amendment)  R315-306:  Incinerator Standards 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56179  (Amendment)  R315-311:  Permit Approval For 
Solid Waste Disposal, Waste Tire Storage, Energy Recovery, 
And Incinerator Facilities 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56186  (Amendment)  R315-314:  Facility Standards for 
Piles Used for Storage and Treatment 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
 
Government Operations 
Records Committee 
No.  55850  (Amendment)  R35-1:  State Records Committee 
Appeal Hearing Procedures 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/29/2024 
 
No.  55851  (Amendment)  R35-2:  Scheduling and Declining 
Hearings 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/29/2024 
 
 
Governor 
Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State Commission on) 
No.  56220  (Amendment)  R356-6:  Electronic Meetings 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
Economic Opportunity 
No.  56228  (Amendment)  R357-3:  Economic Development 
Tax Increment Financing Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
No.  56205  (Amendment)  R357-13:  Procedures for the 
Administration of the Hotel Impact Mitigation Fund 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
 
Health and Human Services 
Administration 
No.  55994  (New Rule)  R380-67:  Code Blue Alert Protocols 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  56011  (New Rule)  R380-80:  Provider Code of Conduct 
and Client Rights 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
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Population Health, Environmental Health 
No.  55954  (Amendment)  R392-702:  Cosmetology Facility 
Sanitation 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/11/2024 
 
Integrated Healthcare 
No.  55906  (Amendment)  R414-22:  Administrative Sanction 
Procedures and Regulations 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  55964  (Amendment)  R414-71:  Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment Program 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  55966  (Amendment)  R414-302:  Eligibility 
Requirements 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  55969  (Amendment)  R414-307:  Eligibility for Home 
and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
Health Care Facility Licensing 
No.  55959  (Amendment)  R432-107:  Specialty Hospital - 
Cancer Treatment 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  56018  (Amendment)  R432-200:  Small Health Care 
Facility - Four to Sixteen Beds 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
Clinical Services, Primary Care and Rural Health 
No.  55910  (Amendment)  R434-40:  Utah Health Care 
Workforce Financial Assistance Program 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/11/2024 
 
Disease Control and Prevention, Medical Examiner 
No.  56052  (Amendment)  R448-20:  Access to Medical 
Examiner Reports 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  12/29/2023 
 
Administration (Human Services) 
No.  56010  (Repeal)  R495-876:  Provider Code of Conduct 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  56009  (Repeal)  R495-879:  Parental Support for 
Children in Care 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 

No.  55908  (Repeal)  R495-880:  Adoption Assistance 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/11/2024 
 
Human Services Program Licensing 
No.  56048  (Amendment)  R501-14:  Human Service 
Program Background Screening 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  56053  (Amendment)  R501-19:  Residential Treatment 
Programs 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  55926  (Amendment)  R501-21:  Outpatient Treatment 
Programs 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  55927  (Amendment)  R501-22:  Residential Support 
Programs 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
Child and Family Services 
No.  55905  (Amendment)  R512-43:  Adoption Assistance 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/11/2024 
 
Recovery Services 
No.  56187  (New Rule)  R527-220:  Parental Support for 
Children in Care 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  56200  (Amendment)  R590-164:  Electronic Data 
Interchange Transactions 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56218  (Amendment)  R590-171:  Surplus Lines 
Procedures Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
 
No.  55510  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-190:  Unfair 
Property, Liability and Title Claims Settlement Practices Rule 
Published:  7/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
 
No.  55510  (First Change in Proposed Rule)  R590-190:  
Unfair Property, Liability and Title Claims Settlement Practices 
Rule 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
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No.  55510  (Second Change in Proposed Rule)  R590-190:  
Unfair Property, Liability and Title Claims Settlement Practices 
Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
 
No.  56219  (Amendment)  R590-281:  License Applications 
Submitted by Individuals Who Have a Criminal Conviction 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Outdoor Recreation 
No.  56079  (New Rule)  R650-201:  Definitions 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56080  (New Rule)  R650-202:  Boating Advisory Council 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56081  (New Rule)  R650-203:  Waterway Marking 
System 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56082  (New Rule)  R650-204:  Regulating Waterway 
Markers 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56083  (New Rule)  R650-205:  Zoned Waters 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56084  (New Rule)  R650-206:  Carrying Passengers for 
Hire 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56085  (New Rule)  R650-208:  Backing Plates 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56086  (New Rule)  R650-209:  Anchored and Beached 
Vessels 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56087  (New Rule)  R650-210:  Change of Address 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56088  (New Rule)  R650-211:  Assigned Numbers 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56089  (New Rule)  R650-212:  Display of Yearly 
Registration Decals and Month of Expiration Decals 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 

No.  56090  (New Rule)  R650-213:  Dealer Numbers and 
Registrations 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56091  (New Rule)  R650-214:  Temporary Registration 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56092  (New Rule)  R650-215:  Personal Flotation 
Devices 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56093  (New Rule)  R650-216:  Navigation Lights 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56094  (New Rule)  R650-217:  Fire Extinguishers 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56095  (New Rule)  R650-218:  Carburetor Backfire 
Flame Control 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56126  (New Rule)  R650-219:  Additional Safety 
Equipment 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56096  (New Rule)  R650-220:  Racing Vessel 
Exemptions 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56097  (New Rule)  R650-221:  Boat Liveries and Boat 
Rental Companies 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56098  (New Rule)  R650-222:  Muffling Requirements 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56104  (New Rule)  R650-223:  Vessel Accident 
Reporting 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56100  (New Rule)  R650-224:  Towed Devices 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56101  (New Rule)  R650-226:  Regattas and Races 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56102  (New Rule)  R650-227:  Swimming 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
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No.  56103  (New Rule)  R650-228:  Scuba Diving 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56108  (New Rule)  R650-401:  Off-Highway Vehicle and 
Registration Stickers 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56109  (New Rule)  R650-405:  Off-Highway Implement 
of Husbandry Sticker Fee 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56110  (New Rule)  R650-410:  Off-Highway Vehicle 
Safety Equipment 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  56112  (New Rule)  R650-412:  Curriculum Standards for 
OHV Education Programs Offered by Non-Division Entities 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/09/2024 
 
No.  55864  (New Rule)  R650-413:  Display of OHV License 
Plate and Registration Decal 
Published:  101/15/2023 
Effective:  01/08/2024 
 
State Parks 
No.  56132  (Repeal)  R651-201:  Definitions 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56133  (Repeal)  R651-202:  Boating Advisory Council 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56134  (Repeal)  R651-203:  Waterway Marking System 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56135  (Repeal)  R651-204:  Regulating Waterway 
Markers 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56136  (Repeal)  R651-205:  Zoned Waters 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56137  (Repeal)  R651-206:  Carrying Passengers for 
Hire 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56138  (Repeal)  R651-207:  Registration Fee 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 

No.  56139  (Repeal)  R651-208:  Backing Plates 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56140  (Repeal)  R651-209:  Anchored and Beached 
Vessels 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56141  (Repeal)  R651-210:  Change of Address 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56142  (Repeal)  R651-211:  Assigned Numbers 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56143  (Repeal)  R651-212:  Display of Yearly 
Registration Decals and Month of Expiration Decals 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56144  (Repeal)  R651-213:  Dealer Numbers and 
Registrations 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56145  (Repeal)  R651-214:  Temporary Registration 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56146  (Repeal)  R651-215:  Personal Flotation Devices 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56147  (Repeal)  R651-216:  Navigation Lights - Note:  
Figures 1 through 7 mentioned below are on file with the Utah 
Division of Parks and Recreation 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56163  (Repeal)  R651-217:  Fire Extinguishers 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56148  (Repeal)  R651-218:  Carburetor Backfire Flame 
Control 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56149  (Repeal)  R651-219:  Additional Safety 
Equipment 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56150  (Repeal)  R651-220:  Registration and 
Numbering Exemptions 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
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No.  56151  (Repeal)  R651-221:  Boat Liveries - Boat Rental 
Companies 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56152  (Repeal)  R651-222:  Muffling Requirements 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56153  (Repeal)  R651-223:  Vessel Accident Reporting 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56154  (Repeal)  R651-224:  Towed Devices 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56155  (Repeal)  R651-226:  Regattas and Races 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56157  (Repeal)  R651-401:  Off-Highway Vehicle and 
Registration Stickers 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56158  (Repeal)  R651-405:  Off-Highway Implement of 
Husbandry Sticker Fee 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56159  (Repeal)  R651-406:  Off-Highway Vehicle 
Registration Fees 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56160  (Repeal)  R651-409:  Minimum Amounts of 
Liability Insurance Coverage for an Organized Practice or 
Sanctioned Race 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56161  (Repeal)  R651-410:  Off-Highway Vehicle Safety 
Equipment 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56162  (Repeal)  R651-412:  Curriculum Standards for 
OHV Education Programs Offered by Non-Division Entities 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56189  (Repeal)  R651-801:  Swimming Prohibited 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 
No.  56190  (Repeal)  R651-802:  Scuba Diving 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/10/2024 
 

Water Resources 
No.  55842  (New Rule)  R653-12:  2023 Grant Money for 
Wasatch Front Aqueduct Resilience Projects 
Published:  11/01/2023 
Effective:  01/08/2024 
 
 
Public Service Commission 
Administration 
No.  55757  (Amendment)  R746-8-301:  Calculation and 
Application of UUSF Surcharge 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  12/29/2023 
 
 
School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Administration 
No.  56114  (Repeal and Reenact)  R850-70:  Sales of Forest 
Products From Trust Lands Administration Lands 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
No.  56115  (New Rule)  R850-75:  Sale of Plants and 
Wildland Seed 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/01/2024 
 
 
Transportation 
Administration 
No.  56202  (Amendment)  R907-80:  Sale or Exchange 
Involving a Large Public Transit District 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/12/2024 
 
Motor Carrier 
No.  56224  (Amendment)  R909-19:  Safety Regulations for 
Tow Truck Operations - Tow Truck Requirements for 
Equipment, Operation, and Certification 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/23/2024 
 
Operations, Maintenance 
No.  56225  (Repeal and Reenact)  R918-4:  Using Volunteer 
Groups and Third-Party Contractors for the Adopt-a-Highway 
and Sponsor-a-Highway Litter Pickup Programs 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/23/2024 
 
 
Transportation Commission 
Administration 
No.  56222  (Amendment)  R940-6:  Prioritization of New 
Transportation Capacity Projects 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/23/2024 
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Workforce Services 
Administration 
No.  56034  (New Rule)  R982-111:  Adoption Tax Credit 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/02/2024 
 
No.  56033  (New Rule)  R982-302:  Intergenerational 
Poverty Solution, Education Saving Incentive Program 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/02/2024 
 

Homeless Services 
No.  56031  (Amendment)  R988-400:  Homeless Shelter 
Cities Mitigation Restricted Account 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/02/2024 
 
No.  56032  (Amendment)  R988-500:  Overflow Plan 
Requirements 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/02/2024 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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