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EDITOR'S NOTES 
 
 
 

Publication Error for Filings on Rules R35-1 and R35-2 
 

It has come to the Office of Administrative Rules' (OAR) attention that there was a publication error on the filings for Rules R35-1 
and R35-2 that were printed in the December 15, 2023, Bulletin. 
 
There was some confusion in the process for correcting these filings and they both were printed with ID 56201 as their identifiers.  
ID 56201 refers to a different filing. 
 
Rule R35-1's ID number is 55850 and Rule R35-2's ID number is 55851.  These are their assigned numbers in OAR's filing system.  
These numbers also appear on the Notice of Effective Dates for these rules that appear at the end of this issue, February 15, 
2024, of the Bulletin.  They were both made effective on 01/29/2024. 
 
Any questions on this issue should be directed to rulesonline@utah.gov. 
 
 

 
End of the Editor's Notes Section  
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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between January 17, 2024, 12:00 a.m., and 
February 01, 2024, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the February 15, 2024, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least March 18, 2024.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through June 14, 2024, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R317-16 Filing ID:  
56312 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Water Quality 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W, DEQ 3rd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144870 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4870 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jim Harris 801-

541-
3069 

jamesharris@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R317-16.  Great Salt Lake Mineral Extraction Facility 
Operator Certification Approval 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Subsection 65A-6-4(6)(b) requires certain entities seeking 
a royalty agreement permitting the extraction of Great Salt 
Lake (GSL) elements or minerals to certify before 
operation begins that the operator is not negatively 
impacting the biota or chemistry of GSL, and obtain the 
approval of the Department of Environmental Quality that 
the certification supports the operator's finding. 
 
Existing state rules do not establish a process to meet this 
requirement; therefore, this new rule is being proposed to 
address an application procedure for a distinctly new 
mineral extraction sector on GSL. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This new rule establishes the process of operator 
certification application and approval by the Utah Division 
of Water Quality (DWQ) as required by Subsection 65A-6-
4(6)(b) for certain entities obtaining a royalty agreement 
permitting the extraction of GSL elements or minerals. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
As Rule R317-16 is a new rule and requires novel water 
quality certification review and approval, it is difficult to 
estimate the staff hours required to perform this work. 
 
However, based on similar water quality certifications from 
other programs and the expanded elements proposed for 
this certification review, it is expected that a certification 
review will require billable hours for multiple expert staff 
(scientists, biologist, geologist, program manager and 
director). 
 
Since this review may occur twice in one fiscal year 
(provisions require review during a "Feasibility 
Assessment" and "Operator Certification" phases 
separated by up to 9 months), DWQ estimates 
approximately 300 hours of staff time per fiscal year.  This 
will be billed to the operator at a rate of $125/hr, for an 
estimated total of $37,500 per certification, and will not 
have a fiscal impact on DWQ's budget. 
 
While the number and timing of potential certifications is 
currently unknown, given this is a new sector of extraction 
mining, our involvement with existing facilities that are 
capable and interested in new operations, DWQ estimates 
receiving approximately three applications and have 
distributed those over the three years in the table below. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

No local governments are constrained parties or will incur 
direct or indirect costs or benefits from this rule change. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Costs or savings for small business are inestimable 
because the number of small businesses that will apply for 
certification approval is unknown and DWQ estimates that 
most operations will fall within the non-small business 
category.  In the event that a small business applies for a 
certification, estimates below will apply. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Based on experience within the sector of mineral 
extraction on GSL, nearly all of the potential operators who 
will be impacted by this new rule will fall under this 
category. 
 
As noted in the estimations provided under the State 
Budget section, the actual cost of staff review and approval 
of certifications will be billed directly to the operator for 
reimbursement and are reflected in the table below. 
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There is likely a significant cost to businesses in 
developing the supporting information, monitoring, and 
research and development of technologies to ensure 
compliance which is inestimable and not included in this 
analysis.  The reason these elements are inestimable is 
due primarily to the fact that entities likely affected by this 
rule belong to a new sector of business that rely on 
technologies whose scope of operations and water quality 
treatment process are not yet fully known to DWQ. 
 
As each operation is likely to vary considerably (and the 
nature of those operations is currently unknown at this 
time) any estimation of the impact in compliance would not 
be meaningful nor defensible. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Costs or savings for other persons are inestimable 
because the number of other persons that will apply for 
certification approval is unknown (see above for cost 
estimates). 
 
However, persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities are unlikely 
to be constrained parties under this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected persons are inestimable 
because approaches to meeting this rule will be applicant 
specific and determined by the applicant. 
 
However, it is unlikely that other persons other than non-
small businesses are likely to be affected by this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$37,500 $37,500 $37,500 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$37,500 $37,500 $37,500 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$37,500 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$37,500 $37,500 $37,500 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
65A-6-4(6)(b) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

John K. Mackey,  
Director DWQ 

Date: 01/31/2024 
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R317.  Environmental Quality, Water Quality. 
R317-16.  Great Salt Lake Mineral Extraction Facility Operator 
Certification Approval. 
R317-16-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Authority.  This rule is promulgated pursuant to Section 
65A-6-4. 
 (2)  Purpose.  To implement administrative rules for 
approval of operator certification according to Section 65A-6-4 and 
to protect the biota and chemistry of Great Salt Lake from possible 
negative impacts in connection with brine processing and mineral 
extraction activities. 
 
R317-16-2.  Definitions. 
 The following definitions apply for purposes of this rule 
only: 
 (1)  "Application for Operator Certification Approval" or 
"Application" means a request for approval of an operator's 
certification that its operations will not negatively impact biota or 
chemistry of Great Salt Lake, and includes the specific information 
detailed in Sections R317-16-3 and R317-16-5. 
 (2)  "Biota" means all plants, fungi, animals, protists, 
bacteria, and archaea in Great Salt Lake. 
 (3)  "Brine Depletion" means the volume of brine water 
consumed through processing and operations, calculated by 
subtracting the volume of returned water from the volume of brine 
water. 
 (4)  "Brine Water" means water diverted from Great Salt 
Lake. 
 (5)  "Certification Decision" includes the following: 
 (a)  "Operator Certification Approval" means a permit 
order, as defined in Subsection 19-1-301.5(1)(f)(i), indicating the 
director's approval of an operator's certification. 
 (b)  "Operator Certification Denial" means a permit order, 
as defined in Subsection 19-1-301.5(1)(f)(i), indicating the director's 
denial of an operator's certification. 
 (6)  "Chemistry" means the properties, composition, and 
structure of the elements and compounds, and interactions thereof, 
making up the waters, brines, and substrate of Great Salt Lake. 
 (7)  "Director" means the director of the Utah Division of 
Water Quality. 
 (8)  "Discharge" means any water, substance, or pollution 
placed into a receiving water; which may include any combination of 
treated, processed, mitigation, or returned waters. 
 (9)  "Division" means the Utah Division of Water Quality. 
 (10)  "Draft Certification Decision" means a document 
indicating the director's preliminary decision to approve or deny an 
operator's certification.  A draft certification decision is not a permit 
order. 
 (11)  "Externally Sourced Water" means water diverted 
from sources other than Great Salt Lake and used for processing and 
operations. 
 (12)  "Feasibility Assessment" means the same as that term 
defined in Section R652-21-200. 
 (13)  "FFSL" means the Utah Department of Natural 
Resources, Division of Forestry, Fire, and State Lands. 
 (14)  "Foreign materials" means materials added to a 
discharge or a commercial process. 
 (15)  "GSL" means Great Salt Lake. 
 (16)  "Mitigation Water" means the water diverted from 
sources other than Great Salt Lake and delivered to Great Salt Lake 
to compensate for brine depletion, pursuant to Section 65A-6-4.  
Mitigation water may not include wastewater reuse. 

 (17)  "Negative Impact" includes any activity or action that: 
 (a)  causes pollution, or negatively alters the salinity or 
other aspects of water chemistry in Great Salt Lake; 
 (b)  negatively alters the volume or timing of water flows 
to Great Salt Lake, or water levels in Great Salt Lake or Great Salt 
Lake wetlands; 
 (c)  reduces, degrades, or otherwise negatively alters 
habitat in and around Great Salt Lake; or 
 (d)  results in harmful physiological impacts to Great Salt 
Lake biota, including disruptions to survival, reproduction, or 
growth. 
 (18)  "Operator" means a person submitting an application 
for operator certification approval to pursue extraction of Great Salt 
Lake elements or minerals to the Division of Water Quality. 
 (19)  "Operator Certification" means a statement by an 
operator that its operation will not negatively impact the biota or 
chemistry of Great Salt Lake. 
 (20)  "Pollution" means the same as that term is used in 
Section 19-5-102. 
 (21)  "Returned Water" means any water discharged into 
Great Salt Lake from commercial operations. 
 (22)  "Total Water" means the sum of externally sourced 
water and brine water. 
 (23)  "UPDES" means Utah Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System. 
 (24)  "Water Depletion" means the volume of total water 
consumed through processing and operations, calculated by 
subtracting the volume of returned water from the volume of brine 
water. 
 
R317-16-3.  Feasibility Assessment -- Certification Approval by 
Rule. 
 (1)  The operator shall request a pre-filing meeting with the 
division and with FFSL at least 30 days before submitting a 
feasibility application with FFSL.  The division and FFSL may 
jointly waive or shorten the requirement for a pre-filing meeting 
request. 
 (2)  For the feasibility assessment only, a UPDES permit is 
considered a feasibility assessment certification approval by rule. 
 (a)  The term of a UPDES permit issued for the feasibility 
assessment shall be the duration of the feasibility assessment. 
 (b)  If the operation is non-discharging during the 
feasibility assessment and does not require a UPDES permit, the 
operator shall nonetheless comply with Subsection R317-16-3(3). 
 (i)  The director will issue a certification decision using the 
procedures listed in Sections R317-16-6 and R317-16-7. 
 (ii)  The term of a feasibility assessment certification 
approval shall be the duration of the feasibility assessment. 
 (3)  To obtain feasibility assessment certification approval 
by rule, the operator shall submit, on a form provided by the division: 
 (a)  information listed in this section pertaining to the 
feasibility assessment; and 
 (b)  an application for a UPDES permit. 
 (4)  Feasibility assessment information required: 
 (a)  project information: 
 (i)  mass balance of principal GSL salinity constituents, 
including all target and non-target minerals across the principal 
mineral processing steps; 
 (ii)  a water balance at design flow, low flow conditions, 
and across a range of lake levels; 
 (iii)  generated waste containment and disposal 
infrastructure descriptions, including residuals and disposal methods; 
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 (iv)  location and acreage of lakebed used for project 
facilities during the feasibility assessment and operations phases, if 
different; 
 (v)  supporting documentation submitted to federal 
agencies, including maps, plans, specifications, project dimensions, 
copies of associated federal applications, biological and engineering 
studies, environmental assessment or environmental impact 
statements, or alternative analyses, as applicable; 
 (vi)  estimated water depletion; and 
 (vii)  plan to determine rate of extraction for the targeted 
and non-targeted minerals or elements and estimated rate of depletion 
of the targeted and non-targeted minerals or elements in GSL; 
 (b)  withdrawal information: 
 (i)  names and locations of the brine water and externally 
sourced water where withdrawals will occur, including the precise 
latitude and longitude to the fifth decimal place in decimal degrees 
and to the tenth of a degree in degrees-minutes-seconds notation; 
 (ii)  detailed information on the quantity of brine water and 
externally sourced water withdrawn; and 
 (iii)  detailed information on the timing of the withdrawals. 
 (c)  discharge information: 
 (i)  characterization of the physical, chemical, biological, 
thermal, and other pertinent properties of the discharge; at a 
minimum: pH, total alkalinity, total dissolved solids, total suspended 
solids, sulfate, nitrate, nitrite, carbonate, bicarbonate, chloride, 
hydroxide, chemical oxygen demand, biological oxygen demand, 
silica, zinc, magnesium, sodium, calcium, potassium, boron, 
bromine, aluminum, iron, and silicon; range of temperatures 
expected in effluent; density range of effluent to be discharged; and 
quantity of foreign materials that would be discharged to the GSL on 
an annual basis; 
 (ii)  for operations that are non-discharging during the 
feasibility assessment, a determination of whether discharge will 
occur during the operations phase and an evaluation of how the 
operator will obtain information to characterize its operations 
discharge during the feasibility assessment. 
 (d)  impacted habitat: 
 (i)  description of existing GSL habitat and biota in and 
around the area of operation; 
 (ii)  description of the potential physical impact to habitat 
and biota in and around the withdrawal and discharge locations; 
 (iii)  evaluation of the least degrading reasonable 
alternatives; 
 (iv)  plan to mitigate any negative impacts of the proposed 
operation; and 
 (v)  plan to ensure existing beneficial uses will be 
maintained and protected. 
 (e)  monitoring and inspection plan: 
 (i)  a description of the methods and means to monitor the 
quality and characteristics of the discharge and the operation of the 
equipment or facilities employed in control of any proposed 
discharge; 
 (ii)  plan to monitor and address long-term cumulative 
effects of withdrawals and discharges on the biota and chemistry of 
the GSL including available baseline data; and 
 (iii)  a map showing the locations of proposed monitoring 
points. 
 (f)  evidence supporting the operator certification: 
 (i)  consideration of both short-term effects and long-term 
impacts of the project; 

 (ii)  examples of evidence supporting a certification may 
include: 
 (A)  a quantitative comparison of influent and effluent 
volume and chemical composition; 
 (B)  modeled annual impacts to salinity or concentrations 
of other important chemical parameters in GSL; 
 (C)  evaluation of impacts to GSL biota including: 
 (I)  a quantitative comparison of effluent chemical 
concentrations to applicable water quality standards; or 
 (II)  other scientifically defensible biological response 
thresholds; 
 (D)  other scientifically defensible means for evaluating 
project impacts on GSL chemistry and biota. 
 
R317-16-4.  Operations Application Procedures. 
 (1)  The operator shall request a pre-filing meeting with the 
division and with FFSL at least 30 days before submitting an 
application for operator certification approval.  The division and 
FFSL may jointly waive or shorten the requirement for a pre-filing 
meeting request. 
 (2)  The operator shall submit an application for operator 
certification approval simultaneously with the application to FFSL 
pursuant to Subsection 65A-6-4(6)(b)(iii). 
 (3)  Applications for operator certification approval shall be 
submitted on the form provided by the division.  Unless extended in 
writing by the division, the operator must obtain all information 
submitted with the application within one year of filing the 
application. 
 (4)  The operator shall submit a UPDES application 
simultaneously with the application for operator certification 
approval.  UPDES permit approval is not a certification decision.  
The director shall issue a certification decision separate from a 
UPDES permit. 
 (5)  Within 45 days of receiving the application for operator 
certification approval, the division will notify the operator whether 
the application is complete.  If an application is incomplete, the 
division shall notify the operator of the missing information. 
 (a)  An operator may submit the missing information within 
45 days after the division's notice of incompleteness. 
 (b)  The division may administratively deny an incomplete 
application not remedied within 45 days, and the operator must 
resubmit a new application for operator certification approval. 
 (6)  The operator shall notify the director in writing of 
changes that may affect the application for operator certification. 
 (7)  If an operator who is required to obtain an operator 
certification approval fails to do so, the director may process an 
application for operator certification approval after-the-fact.  An 
application after-the-fact shall be reviewed under the same standards 
as a timely application for operator certification approval.  The 
director may require full restoration or other actions as a pre-
condition of processing the application.  An operator submitting an 
after-the-fact application shall have the burden of proving what the 
original baseline conditions were, and an application may be denied 
in the absence of such proof. 
 (8)  The operator is responsible for payment of hourly fees, 
established pursuant to Subsection 19-1-201(6)(i).  The operator shall 
submit a fee retainer, specified in the application form, together with 
its application for certification approval.  The division will not begin 
review of the application for certification approval until it has 
received the fee retainer.  The division will invoice the operator on a 
routine basis, and may stop review of the application for nonpayment. 
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R317-16-5.  Operations Application Content. 
 Unless otherwise determined in writing by the director, the 
application for operator certification approval shall include the 
following: 
 (1)  all information required under Subsection R317-16-
3(4), revised and updated to reflect the scale of the operations design; 
 (2)  a summary of any changes made as a result of the 
feasibility assessment; 
 (3)  a summary of findings establishing the operator's 
feasibility assessment had no negative impact on the biota or 
chemistry of GSL; 
 (4)  all data and data analysis related to GSL biota and 
chemistry derived from the feasibility assessment; 
 (5)  a UPDES permit application; 
 (6)  any other information related to the operation's impact 
to the biota or chemistry of GSL, as requested by the director; and 
 (7)  a statement that the proposed project will not 
negatively impact the biota or chemistry of GSL. 
 
R317-16-6.  Draft Certification Decision. 
 (1)  Within 60 days of receiving a complete application for 
operator certification approval, the director shall issue a draft 
certification decision. 
 (2)  The draft certification decision shall be subject to a 
public notice and comment period of at least 30 days. 
 (3)  The division will publish the public notice using the 
following methods: 
 (a)  Utah Department of Environmental Quality website; 
and 
 (b)  the Utah Public Notices website. 
 (4)  The director may, at the director's discretion, hold a 
public hearing to take oral comments if: 
 (a)  the director receives a request in writing not more than 
15 days after the publication date of the draft certification decision; 
and 
 (b)  the request is from: 
 (i)  another state agency; 
 (ii)  ten interested persons; or 
 (iii)  an interested association having not fewer than ten 
members. 
 (5)  Public notice of a public hearing shall be given at least 
seven days in advance of the hearing.  Public notice of a hearing may 
be combined and provided at the same time as public notice of any 
of the following: 
 (a)  a draft certification decision issued under this rule; 
 (b)  a draft UPDES permit issued under Rule R317-8; or 
 (c)  a draft water quality certification issued under Rule 
R317-15. 
 (6)  The director shall consider the comments received 
during the public notice and comment period in finalizing the 
certification decision. 
 
R317-16-7.  Certification Decision. 
 (1)  After review of the application for operator 
certification approval and consideration of comments received 
during the public notice period, the director shall issue one of the 
following certification decisions: 
 (a)  operator certification approval; or 
 (b)  operator certification denial. 
 (i)  If the director issues an operator certification denial, the 
denial shall include reasons for denial. 

 (ii)  If the director issues an operator certification denial, 
the director will notify FFSL of the denial. 
 (2)  The certification decision shall include a summary of 
the comments received during the public notice and comment period 
and state whether any changes were made to the certification decision 
as a result of the comments. 
 
R317-16-8.  Term of Operator Certification Approval. 
 (1)  An operator certification approval shall be effective for 
a term of ten years. 
 (2)  An operator shall submit an application for operator 
certification approval to renew its operator certification approval no 
later than 180 days before the expiration of the certification approval. 
 (a)  If an operator certification approval lapses before the 
director issues a certification decision on a timely renewal 
application, the operator certification approval will continue until the 
director issues a certification decision on the renewal application. 
 (b)  Review of the operator's application to renew its 
operator certification approval will follow all procedures specified in 
this rule. 
 (c)  Failure to submit an application for operator 
certification approval to renew shall, on the certification approval's 
expiration date, result in a lapse of the operator certification approval. 
 (d)  The director will notify the operator and FFSL of the 
lapse.  The director's notification is not a permit order. 
 
R317-16-9.  Reevaluation of Operator Certification Approval. 
 (1)  If any of the following occur, the director may notify 
the operator that it must resubmit, within 60 days, an application for 
operator certification approval for reevaluation: 
 (a)  the operator's failure to fully disclose all relevant facts 
in the application; 
 (b)  the operator's misrepresentation of any relevant fact at 
any time; 
 (c)  existence of evidence that the operation is negatively 
impacting the biota or chemistry of GSL; 
 (d)  request for a major modification in the operator's 
UPDES permit as defined by Subsection R317-8-5.6; 
 (e)  lapse of the operator's certification approval; or 
 (f)  the emergency trigger as defined in Section R652-21-
1403. 
 (2)  The reevaluation will follow all procedures specified 
in this rule. 
 
R317-16-10.  Transfer of Operator Certification Approval For 
Non-Discharging Operations. 
 (1)  For non-discharging operations, the operator shall give 
written notice to the director of any transfer of the operator 
certification approval at least 30 days in advance of the effective date 
of the transfer. 
 (2)  The notice shall include a written agreement between 
the existing and new operator establishing a specific date for transfer 
of certification responsibility. 
 (3)  The notice shall contain the following contact 
information: 
 (a)  legal name, permanent address and telephone number; 
 (b)  name and permanent address of the operator's 
registered agent in Utah; 
 (c)  name, address, email address and telephone number of 
the primary contact for the application, including the person to whom 
requests for additional information should be addressed; and 
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 (d)  signature of the operator; a corporate application must 
be signed by an officer of the corporation. 
 
R317-16-11.  Effect of Operator Certification Approval on Other 
Required Permits. 
 (1)  Operator certification approval does not exempt the 
operator from complying with or obtaining any other permits 
required by federal, state, or local law. 
 (2)  An operator certification approval is required in 
addition to a UPDES permit for facilities subject to this rule; 
however, reporting required by the operator certification approval 
may also be required through the UPDES permit, at the director's 
discretion. 
 
KEY:  Water Quality 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  65A-6-4 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R671-201 Filing ID:  
56298 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E Winchester St. #300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda 
Montague 

801-
440-
0545 

amontague@agutah.gov 

Jennifer Yim 801-
261-
6464 

jmyim@utah.gov 

Zarah Borja 385-
910-
3215 

zborja@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-201.  Original Hearing Schedule and Notice 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule amendment is proposed in response to an 
ongoing effort by the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) 
to update its administrative rules to ensure consistency 
with current statutory provisions, address concerns raised 
in its 2022 legislative audit, and fulfill goals outlined in its 
latest strategic plan. 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule amendment requires the Board to conduct an 
administrative review within six months of commitment to 
prison in order to set an original hearing.  It replaces a 
schedule of original hearings based on offense type. 
 
It also set standards for handling the original hearings for 
those who are under 18 at the time of the commitment 
offense. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated impact on state budgets, as this 
rule only affects the timing of hearings. 
 
The changes will result in no different expenses. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not anticipated to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because it does not affect 
local government.  
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not anticipated to have a fiscal impact 
on small business because it does not affect small 
business. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule change does not have an effect on non-
small businesses because non-small businesses are not 
an affected party to this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment does not affect other persons because 
they are not impacted by this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because it does not affect the following parties: state and 
local government, small and non-small businesses and 
other persons as described in Box 5E above. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
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this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Administrative Director of the Board of Pardons and 
Parole, Jennifer Yim, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article VIII, 
Section 12  

Section 77-27-5 Section 77-27-7 

Section 77-27-9   
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 

A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical  

address or URL): 
03/13/2024 3:00 PM 448 E Winchester St. 

#300, Murray, UT 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

J. Scott  
Stephenson,  
Chair 

Date: 01/26/2024 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-201.  Original Hearing Schedule and Notice. 
R671-201-1.  Schedule and Notice. 
 (1)(a)  The Board shall conduct a scheduling review to 
determine[schedule] the month and year of an offender's original 
hearing, and provide notice to the offender, within [6]six months of 
the offender's commitment to prison. 
 (b)(i)  No original hearing may be scheduled for any 
offender whose prison commitment includes a sentence of death. 
 (ii)  No original hearing will be scheduled for any offender 
whose sentence includes a commitment of life without the possibility 
of parole.  The Board will not consider parole for any offender whose 
prison commitment includes a sentence of life without parole, unless 
the requirements of  Subsection 77-27-9(7) are met.[The Board may 
only consider parole for an offender whose prison commitment 
includes a sentence of Life Without Parole, pursuant to UCA 
Subsection 77-27-9(6).] 
 (iii)  Every other offender will be scheduled for an original 
hearing as described in this rule. 
 (2)  For purposes of this rule, "scheduling review" means 
the process by which the Board schedules the month and year for an 
offender's original hearing. 
[ (2)  For purposes of this Rule, the following terms are 
defined: 
 (a)  "Administrative Review" means the process by which 
the Board, by majority vote, reviews, deliberates, and schedules the 
month and year for an offender's original hearing. 
 (b)  "Homicide Offense Commitment" means a prison 
commitment to serve a sentence for a conviction of aggravated 
murder (if the sentence includes the possibility of parole), murder, 
felony murder, manslaughter, child abuse homicide, negligent 
homicide, automobile homicide, homicide by assault, any attempt, 
conspiracy or solicitation to commit any of these offenses, or any 
other offense, regardless of title, description or severity, when it is 
known at the time of sentencing that the offense conduct resulted in 
the death of any person. 
 (c)  "Sexual Offense Commitment" means a prison 
commitment to serve a sentence for a conviction of any crime for 
which an offender is defined as a kidnap offender pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Subsection 77-41-102(9); or for which an offender is 
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defined as a sex offender pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Subsection 77-
41-102(16); or any attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit any 
of the offenses listed in those sections. 
 (3)  Within 6 months of an offender's commitment to 
prison, the Board shall conduct an administrative review and 
schedule a future date for an offender's original hearing, if the 
offender is committed to prison to serve a sentence for any: 
 (a)  homicide offense commitment eligible for parole; 
 (b)  commitment which includes a sentence of 25 years to 
life; 
 (c)  commitment imposed if the offender is younger than 
18 years of age at the time of prison commitment; or 
 (d)  commitment imposed if the offender was younger than 
18 years of age at the time the offense was committed.] 
 (3)  [(8)  ]The date of the original hearing may be adjusted 
if:[The Board may depart from the schedule as provided by this rule 
if:] 
 (a)  an offender requests a delay or continuance; 
 (b)  an offender has unadjudicated criminal charges 
pending at the time a hearing would normally be held; 
 (c)  a Class A misdemeanor commitment has expired [prior 
to]before an original hearing; or 
 (d)  the Board determines that other unusual or 
extraordinary circumstances impact the scheduling of an original 
hearing[.]; or 
 (e)  calendar constraints exist. 
 (4)(a)  When scheduling an original hearing by 
scheduling[administrative] review, the Board may consider the 
following, guideline date, pre-sentence report, nature of the offense, 
rehabilitative needs, and any relevant documentation provided. 
 (b)  If[if] the Board obtains and considers additional 
information which was not available to the[ court or] offender [prior 
to]before or at the time of sentencing, the additional information shall 
be provided to the offender[, who shall be afforded a minimum of 21 
days to consider and respond to the additional information prior to 
the Board making a decision that schedules an original hearing].  The 
offender may provide a response to any of the disclosed materials 
before or at the original hearing. 
 (5)  When scheduling an original hearing by 
scheduling[administrative] review, if the offender was less than 18 
years of age at the time of the commitment offense[ and the offense 
is eligible for parole], the original hearing shall be scheduled: 
 (a)  no later than 6 months before the individual's 25th 
birthday, so long as the individual is in secure care, in the provisional 
custody of the Division of Juvenile Justice and Youth Services, at the 
time of the hearing. 
 (b)  no later than 10 years after the individual's transfer to 
the custody of the Utah Department of Corrections if the individual 
is transferred to the custody of the department before their 25th 
birthday, so long as the total amount of time after the date of 
sentencing does not exceed 15 years.[ no later than 15 years after the 
date of sentencing.] 
 (6)  When the Board sets an original hearing in Subsection 
(5), the Board shall make a referral to the victim advocate at the 
Department of Health and Human Services to provide support and 
assistance should the victims of record choose to participate in any 
Board hearings to which they are entitled to participate. 
[ (6)  If an administrative review is not used to schedule an 
offender's original hearing pursuant to this rule, the original hearing 
shall be scheduled as follows: 

 (a)  after the service of 12 years if the most severe sentence 
imposed is for a first degree felony with a minimum sentence of 15 
years to life; 
 (b)  after the service of 7 years if the most severe sentence 
imposed is for a first degree felony with a minimum sentence of 10 
years to life; 
 (c)  after the service of 3 years for any first degree felony if 
the most severe sentence imposed is greater than 3 years to life but 
less than 10 years to life; 
 (d)  after the service of 1 year if the most severe sentence 
imposed is for: 
 (i)  a first degree felony and the sentence is for 3 years to 
life; or 
 (ii)  a second degree felony sexual offense commitment; 
 (e)  after the service of 6 months if the most severe sentence 
imposed is for: 
 (i)  all other second degree felony commitments; or 
 (ii)  a third degree felony sexual offense commitment; 
 (f)  after the service of 3 months if the most severe sentence 
imposed is for any other third degree felony or class A misdemeanor 
commitments.] 
 (7)  An offender may request in writing that their original 
appearance and hearing before the Board be continued.  The request 
shall specify the reasons supporting the request.  The Board may 
grant or deny the offender's request in its sole discretion. 
 
KEY:  parole, inmates, hearings 
Date of Last Change:  [January 8, 2018]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  September 23, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art. VII Sec. 
12; 77-27-5; 77-27-7; 77-27-9 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R671-312A Filing ID:  
56299 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E Winchester St. #300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda 
Montague 

801-
440-
0545 

amontague@agutah.gov 

Jennifer Yim 801-
261-
6464 

jmyim@utah.gov 

Zarah Borja 385-
910-
3215 

zborja@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-312A.  Commutation Procedures Applicable to 
Persons Sentence to Death Before April 26, 1992 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule amendment is proposed in response to an 
ongoing effort by the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) 
to update its administrative rules to ensure consistency 
with current statutory provisions, address concerns raised 
in its 2022 legislative audit, and fulfill goals outlined in its 
latest strategic plan. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Minor updates and clarifications, including rule citation and 
clerical corrections. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated impact on state budgets, as this 
rule is clerical in nature. 
 
The changes will result in no budgetary impact. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not anticipated to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because it does not affect 
local government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not anticipated to have a fiscal impact 
on small business because it does not affect small 
business. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule change does not have an effect on non-
small businesses because non-small businesses are not 
an affected party to this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment does not affect other persons because 
they are not impacted by this rule. 
 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because it does not affect the following parties: state and 
local government, small and non-small businesses and 
other persons as described in Box 5E above. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Administrative Director of the Board of Pardons and 
Parole, Jennifer Yim, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
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Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article VII, 
Section 12 

Section 77-19-8 Section 77-27-2 

Section 77-27-4 Section 77-27-5 Section 77-27-5.5 
Section 77-27-8 Section 77-27-9 Section 77-27-9.5 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical  

address or URL): 
03/13/2024 3:00 PM 448 E Winchester St. 

#300, Murray, UT 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

J. Scott  
Stephenson,  
Chair 

Date: 01/26/2024 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-312A.  Commutation Procedures Applicable to Persons 
Sentenced to Death On or Before April 26, 1992. 
R671-312A-1.  Scope of Rule. 
 [Board of Pardons and Parole Administrative Rule]Rule 
R671-312 governs [all ]petitions and proceedings when a petition for 
commutation of a death sentence is filed by or on behalf of a person 
sentenced to death for a capital felony in this state.  In addition to the 
rules of general applicability set forth in Rule R671-312, this [r]Rule 
R671-312A governs commutation petitions and proceedings when a 
death sentence commutation petition concerns a person who was 
sentenced to death on or before April 26, 1992. 
 
R671-312A-2.  Eligibility. 
 (1)  A person sentenced to death, or that person's counsel, 
may file a petition for commutation of a death sentence no later than 
seven days after the sentencing court has issued a judgment of death 
and[or] a warrant of execution. 
 (2)  If any appeal of the petitioner's conviction or sentence 
is filed or litigated on behalf of the petitioner, including any collateral 
challenges or lawsuits, the commutation petition shall be filed within 
seven days after completion of [all]any such appeals of the conviction 
or sentence and collateral challenges or lawsuits, including[, but not 

limited to all] any proceedings seeking post-conviction relief, 
[habeus]habeas corpus relief, or other proceedings for extraordinary 
relief. 
 (3)  Failure of any petitioner or counsel to comply with this 
rule, [all ]other Board rules, or any Board directive or order may 
result in the summary denial of the petition and cancellation of any 
scheduled hearing. 
 (4)  Any act, omission, pleading, or other filing by a 
petitioner or counsel that the Board determines is meant to delay, 
hinder, or disrupt the Board's commutation process or proceedings 
may result in the summary denial of the petition and cancellation of 
any scheduled hearing. 
 
R671-312A-3.  Petition Requirements. 
 (1)(a)  The commutation petition shall be signed by the 
petitioner, under oath, and filed with the Board['s Administrative 
Coordinator] at the Board's office[s of the Board] no later than seven 
days after the sentencing court signs a warrant setting an execution 
date. 
 (b)  If the petitioner is represented by counsel, the 
petitioner's counsel shall also sign the petition. 
 (c)  If the petitioner is represented by counsel, counsel shall 
comply[ in all respects] with Rule R671-103, Attorneys. 
 (d)  The petitioner or counsel shall hand-deliver a copy of 
the petition to the Utah Attorney General or designee.[  Additional 
copies of the petition may be served in any manner calculated to 
accomplish actual notice to the state, and may include facsimile 
transmission, electronic mail, or other electronic transmission.] 
 (2)  The commutation petition shall include: 
 (a)  the petitioner's name, date of birth, and Department of 
Corrections' offender number; 
 (b)  the name, address, telephone number, and e[-]mail 
address of any counsel representing the petitioner in the commutation 
proceeding; 
 (c)  a certified copy of the Judgment, [Conviction] 
Commitment, and Sentence for which commutation is petitioned; 
 (d)  a certified copy of the [W]warrant setting the execution 
date applicable to the petitioner and for which commutation is 
petitioned; 
 (e)  a statement specifying whether or not the conviction 
[and]or sentence for which commutation is petitioned was appealed; 
and if so, a copy of any applicable appellate decision; 
 (f)  a statement specifying whether or not the conviction 
[and]or sentence for which commutation is petitioned was the subject 
of any complaint, petition, or other court filing or litigation seeking 
collateral remedies, post-conviction relief, a writ of [habeus]habeas 
corpus, or any other extraordinary relief; and if so, a copy of [all]any 
applicable final orders, rulings, determinations, and appellate 
decisions regarding such litigation; 
 (g)  a statement of the reasons or grounds which the 
petitioner believes support the commutation of the death sentence;[ 
and] 
 (h)  copies of [all]any written evidence upon which the 
petitioner intends to rely at the hearing; and 
 (i)  [along with ]the names of [all]any witnesses the 
petitioner intends to call and a summary of their anticipated 
testimony. 
 (3)  If the petitioner previously [received a commutation 
hearing]requested commutation, the petition shall include a statement 
reciting what, if any, new, significant, and previously unavailable 
information exists which supports commutation and the reasons the 
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petitioner believes this information supports reconsideration[a 
second, subsequent, or new hearing]. 
 (4)  Within seven days of receiving the petition, the [State 
of Utah]state, by and through the Attorney General or designee, shall 
file a response to the petition.  The [S]state shall file it[']s response to 
the commutation petition with the Board and hand -deliver a copy of 
the response to the petitioner [and]or counsel, if represented. 
 (a)  The [s]State's response shall include copies of [all]any 
written evidence, the names of any witnesses, and a summary of the 
anticipated testimony upon which the [S]state intends to rely to rebut 
the petitioner's claim that the sentence of death should be commuted. 
 (b)  The Board may request either the petitioner or the 
[s]State to provide additional information. 
 
R671-312A-4.  Preliminary Determinations and Procedures. 
 (1)  The Board, after considering the [original 
]commutation petition and the [s]State's response, may grant a 
commutation hearing or may deny the petition without further 
pleadings, response, hearing, or submissions. 
 (2)  The Board shall issue an order either granting or 
denying a commutation hearing.  The Board's order shall be delivered 
to the petitioner, counsel, and the [s]State's counsel, either by mail or 
electronic mail. 
 (3)  If the Board grants a commutation hearing, the Board 
Chair or another Board Member designated by the Chair, will: 
 (a)  schedule and hold a pre-hearing conference with the 
petitioner's counsel and the [s]State's counsel [in order ]to schedule 
the commutation hearing; 
 (b)  identify the witnesses to be called; 
 (c)  clarify the issues to be addressed; and 
 (d)  take any other action deemed necessary and appropriate 
to conduct the commutation hearing and proceedings. 
 
R671-312A-5.  Commutation Hearing Procedures. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Utah Constitution[,] Article[.] VII, Section 
12, and [Utah Code Ann., ]Section 77-27-5 (1992), a commutation 
hearing must be held before the full Board. 
 (2)  Notice of the commutation hearing shall be sent to: 
 (a)  the victim's representatives; 
 (b)  the police agency which investigated the offenses for 
which commutation has been petitioned; 
 (c)  the office or agency responsible for the prosecution of 
the offenses for which commutation has been petitioned; and 
 (d)  the court which originally imposed the sentence for the 
offenses for which commutation has been petitioned. 
 (3)  Public notice of the commutation hearing will also be 
made via the Board's[ internet] website, and the State of Utah Public 
Meeting and Notice website. 
 (4)  If not otherwise called as a witness, a victim 
representative, as defined by Section R671-203-1, shall be 
[afforded]given the opportunity to attend the commutation hearing 
and to present testimony regarding the commutation petition, in 
accordance with, and subject to [the provisions of ]Subsections 
R671-203-4(1)[ A] through R671-203-4(3)[C], and Subsection 
R671-203-4(5)[F]. 
 (5)  A commutation hearing is not adversarial and neither 
party is allowed to cross-examine the other party's witnesses.  
However, the Board may ask questions freely of any witness, the 
petitioner, the petitioner's counsel, or the [s]State's counsel. 
 (6)  The Utah Rules of Evidence do not apply to a 
commutation hearing.  However, [all]any evidence and testimony 
sought to be introduced by the parties must be relevant to the issues 

to be decided by the Board.  The Board, through the Board Chair, will 
make[ all] final determinations regarding evidence or testimony 
admissibility, relevance, or exclusion. 
 (7)  In conducting the commutation hearing: 
 (a)  The Board Chair or designee will place [all]any 
witnesses under oath and may impose a time limit on each party for 
presenting its case. 
 (b)  The Board will record the commutation hearing in 
accordance with Subsection 77-27-8(2). 
 (c)  Rule R671-302,[ News Media and] Public Access to 
Hearings, will govern media and public access to the hearing. 
 (d)  The Board may take any action it considers necessary 
and appropriate to maintain the order, decorum, and dignity of the 
hearing. 
 (e)  During the commutation hearing, no person, including 
either party, the petitioner, any witness, either party's counsel, or any 
other person associated with or employed by a party or counsel, may 
approach any member of the Board without leave from the Chair. 
 
R671-312A-6.  Commutation Decision. 
 (1)  The Board shall determine by majority decision 
whether to grant or deny the commutation petition. 
 (2)  The decision of the Board granting or denying 
commutation following a hearing shall be delivered by mail or 
electronic mail to the parties and then published by the Board in the 
same manner as other Board decisions. 
 (3)  The decision of the Board will also be provided to[filed 
with] the court that entered the sentence or conviction that is the 
subject of the commutation petition. 
 
KEY:  capital punishment, death sentence, commutation 
Date of Last Change:  [May 22, 2013]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  October 3, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art VII, Sec 
12; 77-19-8; 77-27-2; 77-27-4; 77-27-5; 77-27-5.5; 77-27-8; 77-27-
9; 77-27-9.5. 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R671-312B Filing ID:  
56300 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E Winchester St. #300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda 
Montague 

801-
440-
0545 

amontague@agutah.gov 

Jennifer Yim 801-
261-
6464 

jmyim@utah.gov 
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Zarah Borja 385-
910-
3215 

zborja@agutah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-312B.  Commutation Procedures Applicable to 
Persons Sentenced to Death After April 26, 1992 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule amendment is proposed in response to an 
ongoing effort by the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) 
to update its administrative rules to ensure consistency 
with current statutory provisions, address concerns raised 
in its 2022 legislative audit, and fulfill goals outlined in its 
latest strategic plan. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Minor updates and clarifications, including rule citation and 
clerical corrections. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated impact on state budgets, as this 
rule is clerical in nature. 
 
The changes will result in no budgetary impact. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not anticipated to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because it does not affect 
local government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not anticipated to have a fiscal impact 
on small businesses because it does not affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule change does not have an effect on non-
small businesses because non-small businesses are not 
an affected party to this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This amendment does not affect other persons because 
they are not impacted by this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because it does not affect the following parties: state and 
local government, small and non-small businesses and 
other persons as described in Box 5E above. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Administrative Director of the Board of Pardons and 
Parole, Jennifer Yim, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
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Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article VII, 
Section 12 

Section 77-19-8 Section 77-27-2 

Section 77-27-4  Section 77-27-5  Section 77-27-5.5 
Section 77-27-8 Section 77-27-9  Section 77-27-9.5 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical  

address or URL): 
03/13/2024 3:00 PM 448 E Winchester St. 

#300, Murray, UT 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

J. Scott  
Stephenson,  
Chair 

Date: 01/26/2024 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-312B.  Commutation Procedures Applicable to Persons 
Sentenced to Death After April 26, 1992. 
R671-312B-1.  Scope of Rule. 
 [Board of Pardons and Parole Administrative Rule]Rule 
R671-312 governs all petitions and proceedings when a petition for 
commutation of a death sentence is filed by or on behalf of a person 
sentenced to death for a capital felony in this state.  In addition to the 
rules of general applicability set forth in Rule R671-312, this [r]Rule, 
R671-312B, governs commutation petitions and proceedings when a 
death sentence commutation petition concerns a person who was 
sentenced to death after April 26, 1992. 
 
R671-312B-2.  Eligibility. 
 (1)  A person sentenced to death, or that person's counsel, 
may file a petition for commutation of a death sentence no later than 
seven days after the sentencing court has issued a judgment of death 
[or]and a warrant of execution. 
 (2)  If any appeal of the petitioner's conviction or sentence 
is filed or litigated on behalf of the petitioner, including any collateral 
challenges or lawsuits, the commutation petition shall be filed within 
seven days after completion of all such appeals of the conviction or 
sentence and collateral challenges or lawsuits, including[, but not 

limited to] all proceedings seeking post-conviction relief, 
[habeus]habeas corpus relief, or other proceedings for extraordinary 
relief. 
 (3)  Failure of any petitioner or counsel to comply with this 
rule, all other Board rules, or any Board directive or order may result 
in the summary denial of the petition and cancellation of any 
scheduled hearing. 
 (4)  Any act, omission, pleading, or other filing by a 
petitioner or counsel that the Board determines is meant to delay, 
hinder, or disrupt the Board's commutation process or proceedings 
may result in the summary denial of the petition and cancellation of 
any scheduled hearing. 
 
R671-312B-3.  Petition Requirements. 
 (1)(a)  The commutation petition shall be signed by the 
petitioner, under oath, and filed with the Board['s Administrative 
Coordinator] at the[ offices of the] Board's office no later than seven 
days after the sentencing court signs a warrant setting an execution 
date. 
 (b)  If the petitioner is represented by counsel, the 
petitioner's counsel shall also sign the petition. 
 (c)  If the petitioner is represented by counsel, counsel shall 
comply in all respects with Rule R671-103, Attorneys. 
 (d)  The petitioner or counsel shall hand-deliver a copy of 
the petition to the Utah Attorney General or designee.[ Additional 
copies of the petition may be served in any manner calculated to 
accomplish actual notice to the state, and may include facsimile 
transmission, electronic mail, or other electronic transmission.] 
 (2)  The commutation petition shall include: 
 (a)  the petitioner's name, date of birth, and Department of 
Corrections offender number; 
 (b)  the name, address, telephone number, and e[-]mail 
address of any counsel representing the petitioner in the commutation 
proceeding; 
 (c)  a certified copy of the Judgment, Commitment, 
[Conviction] and Sentence for which commutation is petitioned; 
 (d)  a certified copy of the [W]warrant setting the execution 
date applicable to the petitioner and for which commutation is 
petitioned; 
 (e)  a statement specifying whether or not the conviction 
[and]or sentence for which commutation is petitioned was appealed; 
and if so, a copy of any applicable appellate decision; 
 (f)  a statement specifying whether or not the conviction 
[and]or sentence for which commutation is petitioned was the subject 
of any complaint, petition, or other court filing or litigation seeking 
collateral remedies, post-conviction relief, a writ of [habeus]habeas 
corpus, or any other extraordinary relief; and if so, a copy of all 
applicable final orders, rulings, determinations, and appellate 
decisions regarding such litigation; 
 (g)  a statement of the reasons or grounds which the 
petitioner believes support the commutation of the death sentence; 
 (h)  copies of all written evidence upon which the petitioner 
intends to rely at the hearing; 
 (i)  the names of all witnesses the petitioner intends to call 
and a summary of their anticipated testimony; and 
 (j)  a statement certifying whether the issue or issues: 
 (i)  have been reviewed previously by the courts; 
 (ii)  should have been raised during the judicial process; or 
 (iii)  if based on new information, are still subject to judicial 
review.[any of the reasons stated as reasons or grounds for 
commutation have been reviewed by a court or courts of competent 
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jurisdiction, and if reviewed by any court, a citation to the record 
indicating such review; 
 (i)  a statement, if new information is alleged, explaining 
why the information is considered new, why the information was not 
or could not have been reviewed during the judicial process, and why 
the information is not still subject to judicial review; 
 (j)  a statement, if legal or constitutional reasons for 
commutation are claimed, setting forth the reasons that the provisions 
of Utah Code Ann. Section 77-27-5.5(6) do not prohibit the Board 
from considering the purported legal or constitutional issues; and 
 (k)  copies of all written evidence upon which the petitioner 
intends to rely at the hearing along with the names of all witnesses 
the petitioner intends to call and a summary of their anticipated 
testimony.] 
 (3)  If the petitioner previously [received a]requested 
commutation[ hearing], the petition shall include a statement reciting 
what, if any, new, significant, and previously unavailable information 
exists which supports commutation and the reasons the petitioner 
believes this information supports [a second, subsequent, or new 
hearing]reconsideration. 
 (4)  Within seven days of receiving the petition, the 
state[State of Utah], by and through the Attorney General or 
designee, shall file a response to the petition. The [S]state shall file 
[it's]its response to the commutation petition with the Board and hand 
-deliver a copy of the response to the petitioner [and]or counsel, if 
represented. 
 (a)  The state's response shall include copies of all written 
evidence, the names of any witnesses, and a summary of the 
anticipated testimony upon which the [S]state intends to rely to rebut 
the petitioner's claim that the sentence of death should be commuted. 
 (b)  The Board may request either the petitioner or the state 
to provide additional information. 
 
R671-312B-4.  Preliminary Determinations and Procedures. 
 (1)  If the Board [believes]determines that it cannot 
consider the claims pursuant to [Utah Code Ann. ]Section 77-27-5.5, 
it shall deny the petition. 
 (2)  If the Board determines the petition does not present a 
substantial issue for commutation, it shall deny the petition. 
 (3)  If the Board determines the petition presents a 
substantial issue for commutation, which has not, or could not have 
been reviewed by the judicial process, the Board may grant a 
commutation hearing or deny the petition without further pleadings, 
response, hearing, or submissions. 
 (4)  The Board shall issue an order either granting or 
denying a commutation hearing.  The Board's order shall be delivered 
to the petitioner, counsel, and the state's counsel, either by mail or 
electronic mail. 
 (5)  If the Board grants a commutation hearing, the Board 
Chair or another Board Member designated by the Chair, [will]shall: 
 (a)  schedule and hold a pre-hearing conference with the 
petitioner's counsel and the state's counsel [in order to ]schedule the 
commutation hearing; 
 (b)  identify the witnesses to be called; 
 (c)  clarify the issues to be addressed; and 
 (d)  take any other action deemed necessary and appropriate 
to conduct the commutation hearing and proceedings. 
 
R671-312B-5.  Commutation Hearing Procedures. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Utah Constitution[,] Article[.] VII, Section 
12, and [Utah Code Ann., ]Section 77-27-5, a commutation hearing 
must be held before the full Board. 

 (2)  Notice of the commutation hearing shall be sent to: 
 (a)  the victim's representatives; 
 (b)  the police agency which investigated the offenses for 
which commutation has been petitioned; 
 (c)  the office or agency responsible for the prosecution of 
the offenses for which commutation has been petitioned; and 
 (d)  the court which originally imposed the sentence for the 
offenses for which commutation has been petitioned. 
 (3)  Notice of the commutation hearing will be provided to 
the public via the Board's[ internet] website, and the State of Utah 
Public Meeting and Notice website. 
 (4)  If not otherwise called as a witness, a victim 
representative, as defined by [Rule]Section R671-203-1, shall be 
[afforded]given the opportunity to attend the commutation hearing, 
and to present testimony regarding the commutation of the death 
sentence, in accordance with, and subject to[ the provisions of] 
Subsections R671-203-4(1)[ A] through R671-203-4(3)[C], and 
Subsection R671-203-4(5)[F]. 
 (5)  A commutation hearing is not adversarial and neither 
party is allowed to cross-examine the other party's witnesses. 
However, the Board may ask questions freely of any witness, the 
petitioner, the petitioner's counsel, or the [s]State's counsel. 
 (6)  The Utah Rules of Evidence do not apply to a 
commutation hearing.  However, [all]any evidence and testimony 
sought to be introduced by the parties must be relevant to the issues 
to be decided by the Board.  The Board, through the Board Chair, will 
make[ all] final determinations regarding evidence or testimony 
admissibility, relevance, or exclusion. 
 (7)  In conducting the commutation hearing: 
 (a)  The Board Chair or designee will place [all]any 
witnesses under oath and may impose a time limit on each side for 
presenting its case. 
 (b)  The Board will record the commutation hearing in 
accordance with Subsection 77-27-8(2). 
 (c)  Rule R671-302,[ News Media and] Public Access to 
Hearings, will govern media and public access to the hearing. 
 (d)  The Board may take any action it considers necessary 
and appropriate to maintain the order, decorum, and dignity of the 
hearing. 
 (e)  During the commutation hearing, no person, including 
either party, the petitioner, any witness, either party's counsel, or any 
other person associated with or employed by a party or counsel, may 
approach any member of the Board without leave from the Chair. 
 
R671-312B-6.  Commutation Decision. 
 (1)  The Board shall determine by majority decision 
whether to grant or deny the commutation petition. 
 (2)  The decision of the Board granting or denying 
commutation following a hearing shall be delivered by mail or 
electronic mail to the parties and then published by the Board in the 
same manner as other Board decisions. 
 (3)  The decision of the Board will also be [filed 
with]provided to the court that entered the sentence or conviction that 
is the subject of the commutation petition. 
 
KEY:  capital punishment, death sentence, commutation 
Date of Last Change:  [May 22, 2013]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  October 3, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art VII, Sec 
12; 77-19-8; 77-27-2; 77-27-4; 77-27-5; 77-27-5.5; 77-27-8; 77-27-
9; 77-27-9.5. 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R671-313 Filing ID:  
56301 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E Winchester St. #300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda 
Montague 

801-
440-
0545 

amontague@agutah.gov 

Jennifer Yim 801-
261-
6464 

jmyim@utah.gov 

Zarah Borja 385-
910-
3215 

zborja@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-313.  Commutation Hearings (Non-Death Penalty 
Cases) 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule amendment is proposed in response to an 
ongoing effort by the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) 
to update its administrative rules to ensure consistency 
with current statutory provisions, address concerns raised 
in its 2022 legislative audit, and fulfill goals outlined in its 
latest strategic plan. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Minor updates and clarifications, including rule citation and 
clerical corrections. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated impact on state budgets. 
 
The changes will result in no different expenses. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not anticipated to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because it does not affect 
local government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not anticipated to have a fiscal impact 
on small businesses because it does not affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule change does not have an effect on non-
small businesses because non-small businesses are not 
an affected party to this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment does not affect other persons because 
they are not impacted by this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because it does not affect the following parties: state and 
local government, small and non-small businesses and 
other persons as described in Box 5E above. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Administrative Director of the Board of Pardons and 
Parole, Jennifer Yim, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article VII, 
Section 12 

Subsection 
63G-3-201(3) 

Section 
77-27-1 et seq. 

Section 77-27-5 Section 77-27-9  
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical  

address or URL): 
03/13/2024 3:00 PM 448 E Winchester St. 

#300, Murray, UT 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

J. Scott  
Stephenson,  
Chair 

Date: 01/26/2024 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-313.  Commutation Hearings (Non-Death Penalty Cases). 
R671-313-1.  Applicability. 
 (1)  For purposes of this [R]rule and the decisions, 
determinations and orders of the Utah Board of Pardons and Parole 
[(]Board[)], acting under its powers as authorized by the Utah 
Constitution, commutation may mean the change or reduction of the 
severity of a crime; the change or reduction of an imposed sentence; 
or the change or reduction of the type or level of offense.  
Commutation is an act of clemency.  Commutation is not a 
conditional or unconditional pardon. 
 (2)  No person has a right, privilege, or entitlement to 
commutation or clemency. 
 (3)  Petitions for commutation of a death sentence shall be 
governed by applicable state constitutional provisions, statutes, and 
[Utah Administrative Code, ]Rule R671-312. 
 (4)  Any[ll] other petitions seeking commutation of a Utah 
conviction or sentence shall be governed by applicable state 
constitutional provisions and statutes, and by this administrative rule. 
 (5)  As used in this [R]rule, "subject" means the person 
whose conviction[(]s[)] or sentence[(]s[)] are sought to be commuted 
by the filing of a commutation petition with the Board. 
 (6)  Any person, individually or through counsel, who has 
been convicted of any felony, Class A misdemeanor or Class B 
misdemeanor offense in this [S]state, may petition the Board for 
commutation of such conviction[(]s[)] or sentence[(]s[)] entered or 
imposed in this state, except for cases of treason or impeachment. 
 (7)  The Utah Attorney General; [A]assistant [A]attorneys 
[G]general, as authorized by the [A]attorney [G]general; any 
[C]county [A]attorney or [D]district [A]attorney; or any [D]deputy 
[C]county or deputy [D]district [A]attorney as authorized by their 
elected [C]county or [D]district [A]attorney; may petition the Board, 
on behalf of any convicted person, for commutation of any such 
conviction or sentence entered or imposed in this state, except for 
cases of treason or impeachment. 
 (8)  Any document, pleading, notice, attachment, or other 
item which is submitted as part of the commutation petition, 
response, or subsequent pleadings shall be delivered to and filed with 
the Board['s Administrative Coordinator, at the Board's offices]. 
 (9)  A commutation petition, any response thereto, and any 
subsequent pleading, submission, or document submitted to the 
Board for consideration in relation to a commutation petition are 
considered public documents, unless the document is determined by 
the Board to be controlled, protected, or private, pursuant to any other 
statute, law, rule, or prior case law. 
 (10)  Any order issued by the Board relating to a 
commutation petition is a public document. 
 
R671-313-2.  Eligibility. 
 (1)  No commutation petition regarding a traffic citation, an 
infraction, or a Class C misdemeanor will be considered by the 
Board. 
 (2)  No petition seeking a posthumous commutation of any 
offense will be considered by the Board. 
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 (3)  A petition for commutation may be filed with the Board 
any time after the sentencing court has entered a conviction and a 
sentence[issued a Judgment and Commitment; a Sentence; or a 
Conviction].  The Board may delay it[']s consideration of any petition 
where there is or remains pending any appeal or post-conviction 
litigation regarding the conviction[(]s[)] or sentence[(]s[)] which are 
the subject of the commutation petition. 
 (4)  Failure of any petitioner or counsel to comply with this 
[R]rule, any other Board rule, or any Board directive or order, may 
result in the summary denial of the petition and cancellation of any 
scheduled hearing. 
 
R671-313-3.  Petition Requirements. 
 (1)(a)  The commutation petition shall be signed under 
oath.  If the petitioner is not the subject of the petition, the subject of 
the petition shall also sign the petition. 
 (b)  If the petitioner is represented by counsel, the 
petitioner's counsel shall also sign the petition. 
 (c)  If the petitioner is represented by counsel, counsel shall 
comply in all respects with [Utah Administrative Code, ]Rule R671-
103 - Attorneys. 
 (2)  The commutation petition shall include: 
 (a)  the petitioner's name, address, telephone number, and 
e[-]mail address; 
 (b)  the subject's name, address, telephone number, and e[-
]mail address; 
 (c)  the name, address, telephone number, and e[-]mail 
address of any counsel representing the petitioner in the commutation 
proceeding; 
 (d)  a certified copy of the [Judgment, Conviction and 
Sentence for]judgment for which commutation is petitioned; 
 (e)  a statement specifying whether or not the conviction or 
sentence for which commutation is petitioned was appealed; and if 
so, a copy of any applicable appellate decision; 
 (f)  a statement specifying whether or not the conviction or 
sentence for which commutation is petitioned was the subject of any 
complaint, petition or other court filing or litigation seeking collateral 
remedies, post-conviction relief, a writ of [habeus]habeas corpus or 
any other extraordinary relief; and if so, a copy of all applicable final 
orders, rulings, determinations, and appellate decisions regarding 
such litigation[.]; 
 (g)  a copy of all police reports, pre-sentence reports, post-
sentence reports and court dockets for the conviction[s and/] or 
sentence for which commutation is petitioned; 
 (h)  a certified copy of the subject's Utah and NCIC 
criminal history reports[ (obtained from the Utah Department of 
Public Safety)]; 
 (i)  a statement wherein the subject and petitioner certify 
that no criminal cases or charges are pending against the subject in 
any court.  If the subject has any pending criminal cases or charges, 
the statement shall identify and explain all criminal cases or charges 
pending in any [S]state, [F]federal, or local court and the nature of 
the cases pending.  If such proceedings are pending, the statement 
must identify the court in which such cases are pending; explain the 
nature of the proceedings and charges; and note the status of the 
proceedings;[.] 
 (j)  a statement of the reasons and grounds which petitioner 
believes specifically support commutation[.]; 
 (k)  copies of all written evidence upon which petitioner 
intends to rely at the hearing, along with the names of all witnesses 
whom petitioner intends to call and a summary of their anticipated 
testimony[.]; 

 (l)  a statement specifying whether any of the stated reasons 
or grounds for commutation have been reviewed by [a]the 
court[(]s[)]; and shall include copy of any court decision entered or 
made by such a reviewing court; and 
 (m)  if the grounds for commutation are based upon post-
conviction, newly discovered evidence, the petition shall include a 
statement explaining why such evidence is considered new, why the 
purportedly new evidence was not or could not have been reviewed 
during the judicial, appellate, or post-conviction process, and why the 
purportedly new evidence is not currently subject to judicial review. 
 (3)  If the subject is currently on probation or parole, the 
petition shall include[,] [as an attachment, ]a report from Adult 
Probation and Parole which summarizes and explains the subject's 
progress while under supervision[;]. [and which]This report shall 
include[s a detailed report] information regarding the subject's[ of] 
progress toward completing all supervision requirements, treatment 
requirements, [alternative events while under supervision,]violations 
and accomplishments, supervision history, and fulfillment of 
[restitution, fine, fee and other ]financial obligations while under 
supervision. 
 (4)  If the subject is currently incarcerated, the petition shall 
include[, as an attachment,] a[n updated and] current Institutional 
Progress Report from the Department of Corrections.  This report 
shall include the subject's disciplinary history, program completion, 
employment history, and any other information about institutional 
conduct[, which summarizes and explains the subjects progress while 
under supervision; and which includes a detailed report of progress 
toward completing all supervision requirements, treatment 
requirements, alternative events while under supervision, and 
fulfillment of restitution, fine, fee and other financial obligations]. 
 (5)  If the subject has ever applied for and been denied 
commutation, the petition shall set forth what, if any, new, significant, 
and previously unavailable information exists which supports 
commutation and the reasons this information was not previously 
submitted to the Board, and why this information supports 
commutation. 
 (6)  At any time following submission of a commutation 
petition, the Board may seek additional information from the 
petitioner, the subject, or counsel. 
 
R671-313-4.  Petition Procedures. 
 (1)[(a)]  Within six months, or as soon as practicable, after 
[of ]receipt of the petition, the Board may: 
 (a)  [either ]deny the commutation petition without a 
hearing; 
 (b)  request a response from the original prosecuting 
agency, Attorney General's Office,[ or] the subject of the petition, or 
their counsel[ person whose conviction(s) or sentence(s) are sought 
to be commuted]; or 
 (c)  grant a commutation hearing [in order to ]further 
consider the petition.[  The Board may, on it's own motion, extend 
the time for preliminary consideration of the petition.] 
[ (b)  There is no right to a commutation hearing, and the 
Board retains complete and absolute discretion to determine whether 
to grant a hearing on the commutation petition.] 
 (2)  [The Board, after considering the commutation 
petition, may deny the petition without further pleadings, response, 
hearing or submissions.  ]If the Board denies a commutation petition 
without a hearing, it shall notify the petitioner and counsel, if 
represented, and the original prosecuting agency[, either by mail or 
electronic mail].  The notification shall include a brief rationale for 
the Board's decision. 
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 (3)  [Upon receipt of a commutation petition, filed by the 
subject or counsel, t]The Board may request a response to the petition 
from the [A]attorney [G]general, [D]district [A]attorney, [C]county 
[A]attorney or [C]city [A]attorney whose office or agency originally 
prosecuted the count[(]s[)], charge[(]s[)], or case resulting in the 
conviction and sentence for which commutation is sought; and from 
any [A]attorney [G]general, [D]district [A]attorney, [C]county 
[A]attorney or [C]city [A]attorney whose office represented the 
prosecuting agency or office in relation to any appeal or post-
conviction litigation regarding any conviction or sentence which is 
the subject of the commutation petition, [(]hereinafter referred to as 
the "[S]state's response."[).]  The Board may also request a response 
from the subject of the petition or their counsel. 
 (4)  [If requested prior to the Board scheduling a 
commutation hearing, ]If the Board requests a response at any time, 
the [S]state's response shall be filed with the Board within [sixty 
(]60[)] days of the Board's request, and shall clearly specify whether 
the responding agency or individual opposes or supports the 
commutation[ relief requested in the petition].  The [State's ]response 
shall also include all statements and arguments which form the basis 
of any opposition to the petition.[; and] This shall include all written 
evidence,[;] the names of all witnesses,[;] and a summary of the 
anticipated testimony upon which the responding agency or 
individual intends to rely[ to challenge or oppose the petition.  
Following receipt of the State's response, the Board may request 
either the subject or the State to provide additional information]. 
 (5)  The Board, after considering the original commutation 
petition, and any requested response, may grant a commutation 
hearing, or may deny the petition[ without further pleadings, 
response, hearing or submissions.  If after receiving the State's 
response, the Board denies a commutation petition without hearing, 
it shall notify the petitioner, counsel, and responding counsel, either 
by mail or electronic mail].  If the Board denies a commutation 
petition without a hearing, it shall notify the petitioner and counsel, 
if represented, and the original prosecuting agency.  The notification 
shall include a brief rationale for the Board's decision. 
 (6)  If the Board grants a commutation hearing: 
 (a)  Within ten calendar days of receiving the Board's order 
granting a commutation hearing, the petitioner[subject or his 
counsel] shall serve a copy of the commutation petition and all 
attachments upon any entity identified as "the state" in Subsection 
R671-313-4(3).[the Attorney General, District Attorney, County 
Attorney or City Attorney whose office or agency originally 
prosecuted the count(s), charge(s) or case resulting in the conviction 
for which commutation is sought. 
 (b)  If any appeal from the conviction was filed, the subject 
or his counsel shall also serve a copy of the commutation petition and 
all attachments upon the Attorney General, District Attorney, County 
Attorney or City Attorney whose office represented the prosecuting 
agency or office in relation to the appeal. 
 (c)  If any post-conviction litigation was pursued on behalf 
of the petitioner or which challenged the conviction or sentence for 
which commutation is petitioned, the subject or his counsel shall also 
serve a copy of the commutation petition and all attachments upon 
the Attorney General, District Attorney, County Attorney or City 
Attorney whose office represented State, county or municipality in 
relation to the post-conviction litigation.] 
 (b)  The petitioner shall also serve the subject of the petition 
or their counsel if the subject has not already been served. 
 ([d]c)  Proof and verification of [all ]service of pleadings 
as required [herein]in this rule shall be filed with the Board within 
seven calendar days of accomplishing such service. 

 (7)(a)  [The original prosecuting agency, and any other 
office which represented the State, a county or a municipality in 
relation to the conviction, sentence, appeal or post-conviction 
litigation regarding the conviction or sentence which are the subject 
of the commutation petition may,]Any responding agency or 
individual must file their response within [sixty (]60[)] days of 
receiving a copy of the petition[, file a response to the commutation 
petition with the Board]. 
 (b)  [The State's r]Responses shall be served on the 
petitioner.  [delivered, either by mail, electronic mail or hand delivery 
to the petitioner and his counsel, if represented.  ]Proof and 
verification of [such ]service of pleadings as required in this rule shall 
be filed with the Board within seven calendar days of accomplishing 
such service. 
 (c)  The [State's ]response to the petition shall clearly 
specify [if]whether the responding agency or individual opposes or 
supports the [relief requested in the ]commutation[ petition].  The 
response shall also include all statements and arguments which form 
the basis of any opposition to the [commutation ]petition[; and]. This 
shall include all written evidence,[;] the names of all witnesses,[;] and 
a summary of the anticipated testimony upon which the responding 
agency or individual intends to rely[ to challenge or oppose the 
petition.  Following receipt of the State's response, the Board may 
request either the petitioner or the State to provide additional 
information]. 
 (8)  If the Board grants a commutation hearing, the Board 
Chair or designee will schedule and hold a pre-hearing conference.  
At that conference[at which time] the Board Chair or designee[, after 
hearing from the parties,] will schedule the commutation hearing,[;] 
identify and set the witnesses to be called,[;] clarify the issues to be 
addressed,[;] and take any other action deemed necessary and 
appropriate to conduct the commutation proceedings. 
 (9)  There is no right to a commutation hearing, and the 
Board retains complete and absolute discretion to determine whether 
to grant a hearing on the commutation petition. 
 
R671-313-5.  Commutation Hearing. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Utah Constitution, Article[.] VII, Section 
12, and [Utah Code Ann., ]Section 77-27-5, a commutation may only 
be granted after a full hearing [must be held ]before the [full ]Board. 
 (2)  If a commutation hearing is granted; 
 (a)  notice of hearing shall be published on: 
 (i)  the Board's website; and 
 (ii)  The Utah Public Notice website; and 
 (b)  for each conviction which is the subject of the 
commutation hearing, notice of the hearing shall be mailed or 
otherwise sent to: 
 (i)  any victim of record, if the victim can be located; 
 (ii)  the arresting or investigating agency; 
 (iii)  the sentencing court; and 
 (iv)  the state. 
[ (2)  Notice of the commutation hearing shall be sent to the 
victim of, and the police agency which investigated the offenses for 
which commutation has been petitioned, pursuant to applicable 
statutes, rules or practices of the Board.  Public notice of the 
commutation hearing will also be made via the Board's internet 
website, and the State of Utah Public Meeting and Notice website.] 
 (3)  If not otherwise called as a witness, a victim as defined 
in Section R671-203-1[representative, as defined by Utah 
Administrative Code, Rule R671-203-1], shall be [afforded ]given 
the opportunity to attend the commutation hearing, and to present 
testimony regarding the commutation petition, in accordance with, 
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and subject to [the provisions of Administrative Rule ]Section R671-
203-4[(A-C, and F)]. 
 (4)  The commutation hearing is not adversarial and neither 
side is allowed to cross-examine the other party's witnesses.  
However, the Board may ask questions freely of any witness, the 
petitioner, the petitioner's counsel, the subject of the petition, and the 
subject's counsel.  The Utah Rules of Evidence do not apply to a 
commutation hearing. 
 (5)  In conducting the commutation hearing: 
 (a)  The Board will place all witnesses under oath and may 
impose a time limit on each party for presenting its case. 
 (b)  The Board will record the commutation hearing in 
accordance with [Utah Code Ann. ]Subsection 77-27-8(2). 
 (c)  [Administrative ]Rule R671-302 "[News Media and 
]Public Access to Hearings" will govern [media and public ]access to 
the hearing. 
 (d)  The Board may take any action it considers necessary 
and appropriate to maintain the order, decorum, and dignity of the 
hearing. 
 
R671-313-6.  Commutation Decision. 
 (1)  The Board shall determine by majority decision 
whether [and under what conditions, if any, ]to grant the petition[,] in 
whole or in part[, and to commute a conviction or sentence].  The 
Board may, by majority decision, impose conditions for the 
commutation. 
 (2)  [The decision of the Board regarding the grant or denial 
of commutation following a hearing shall be delivered by mail or 
electronic mail to the parties, and published by the Board in the same 
manner as other Board decisions.]The Board shall notify the 
petitioner and counsel, if represented, and the original prosecuting 
agency of the Board's decision.  The notification shall include a brief 
rationale for the decision. 
 (3)  The decision of the Board will also be filed with the 
court which entered the sentence or conviction which are the basis of 
the commutation petition and published on the Board's website. 
 (4)  If a sentence or conviction is commuted, the Board will 
[also cause]send a copy of the commutation order [to be delivered ]to 
the Utah Department of Public Safety, [-- ]Bureau of Criminal 
[Information]Identification and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 
 
KEY:  commutation, pardons, punishment 
Date of Last Change:  [October 4, 2012]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  August 30, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art. VII, 
Sec. 12; 63G-3-201(3); 77-27-1 et seq.; 77-27-5; 77-27-9 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R671-314 Filing ID:  
56302 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E Winchester St. #300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda 
Montague 

801-
440-
0545 

amontague@agutah.gov 

Jennifer Yim 801-
261-
6464 

jmyim@utah.gov 

Zarah Borja 385-
910-
3215 

zborja@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-314.  Compassionate Release 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule amendment is proposed in response to an 
ongoing effort by the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) 
to update its administrative rules to ensure consistency 
with current statutory provisions, address concerns raised 
in its 2022 legislative audit, and fulfill goals outlined in its 
latest strategic plan. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule amendment makes adjustments to include the 
newly created Department of Health and Human Services, 
Clinical Health Services Division, expands the parties that 
may file a compassionate release request, and permits the 
Board to appoint a lay representative or legal counsel to 
assist an offender. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
Although the Board assumes the cost of appointing a lay 
representative or legal counsel to assist an offender, 
payment for this service occurs through a fixed cost 
contract and the number of hearings is expected to be very 
small. 
 
The other amendments only make updates and 
clarifications that have no fiscal impact. 
 
Thus, there is no expected fiscal impact from this rule 
amendment. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not anticipated to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because it does not affect 
local government. 
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C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not anticipated to have a fiscal impact 
on small businesses because it does not affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule change does not have an effect on non-
small businesses because non-small businesses are not 
an affected party to this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment does not affect other persons because 
they are not impacted by this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As stated above, while there may be a de minimis cost to 
appoint a representative, the nature and frequency of the 
appointment will result in no compliance costs to state 
government. 
 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because it does not affect the following parties: local 
government, small and non-small businesses and other 
persons as described in Box 5E above. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Administrative Director of the Board of Pardons and 
Parole, Jennifer Yim, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article VII, 
Section 12 

Subsection 
63G-3-201(3) 

Section 77-27-5 

Section 77-27-7 Section 77-27-9  
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical  

address or URL): 
03/13/2024 3:00 PM 448 E Winchester St. 

#300, Murray, UT 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

J. Scott  
Stephenson,  
Chair 

Date: 01/26/2024 
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R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-314.  Compassionate Release. 
R671-314-1.  Rule. 
 (1)  For this rule, the "Department" means the Department 
of Corrections, the Department of Health and Human Services 
Clinical Health Services Division, or other designee of the 
Department of Corrections. 
 (2[1])  The Board shall consider a compassionate release 
when specified exceptional circumstances exist. 
 (3[2])  A compassionate release request submitted on behalf 
of an offender does not limit or preclude other requests for special 
attention or redetermination consideration. 
 (4[3])  Compassionate release consideration shall be 
initiated upon the receipt of a written request, as specified [herein]in 
this rule, explaining the circumstances supporting the release. 
 (5[4])  The Board shall consider a compassionate release in 
the following exceptional circumstances: 
 (a)  Upon the request of the Department[ of Corrections 
(Department),], the offender, an attorney representing the offender, 
or a member of the offender's immediate family, if an offender's 
public safety and recidivism risk is significantly reduced due to the 
effects or symptoms of advancing age, medical infirmity, disease, or 
disability, or mental health disease or disability, and the offender can 
be appropriately managed in the community; 
 (b)  Upon the request of the Department, the offender, an 
attorney representing the offender, or a member of the offender's 
immediate family, if an offender suffers from a serious and persistent 
medical condition which requires extensive medical attention, 
nursing home care, or palliative care, or which cannot be adequately 
treated by the Department, and the offender can be appropriately 
managed in the community; or 
 (c)  Upon the request of the Department, offender, or other 
interested person, if an offender's immediate family member dies 
within 120 days of a previously scheduled release. 
 (d)  Requests made pursuant to Subsections (5)(a) and (b) 
of this rule will not be considered without corroborating 
documentation that is certified by a licensed medical professional. 
 (6)  Unless the request for consideration of compassionate 
release is made by Board staff or the Department, the Board may 
request that the Department review the request, provide information 
as outlined in Subsection (9) of this rule, and make a 
recommendation. 
 (7)  Requests for consideration of compassionate release 
that are repetitive, frivolous, or lacking in substantial merit shall be 
summarily denied and placed in the offender's file without a formal 
action or response. 
 (8)  Unless otherwise ordered by the Board, requests for 
consideration of compassionate release shall be processed 
administratively based on written or electronic reports supplied to the 
Board without the personal appearance of the offender. 
 (9[5])  If the compassionate release request is submitted 
pursuant to [paragraphs ]Subsections (5[4])(a) or (b)[,] of this rule; 
 (a)  the request shall include a report from the Department 
detailing; 
 (i)  the specific effects, conditions, or symptoms to be 
considered; 
 (ii)  the treatments available;[ and, ] 
 (iii)  when possible, the prognosis of such effects, 
conditions, or symptoms[.]; 
 (iv)  if and how the offender's physical or mental capacity 
has been significantly reduced by a chronic or permanent condition; 
and; 

 (v)  if community-based care will be required, a 
recommendation for the transition time necessary to complete 
arrangements for a care center, nursing home, or home care 
placement. 
 (b)  The Board may order a compassionate release 
contingent upon completing arrangements for community-based 
care. 
 (10[6])  For compassionate release requests submitted 
pursuant to this rule[paragraph (4)(c)]: 
 (a)  Immediate family member is defined as a parent, step[-
]parent, spouse, child, sibling, grandparent, or grandchild; 
 (b)  If submitted pursuant to Subsection (5)(c) of this rule, 
[T]the request shall be accompanied by a death certificate or other 
verification acceptable to the Board; and 
 (c)  The Board may request that the Department review the 
request, provide any institutional or other reports requested by the 
Board, and make a recommendation regarding the request. 
 (11[7])  Except as provided in Subsection ([8]11)(a) of this 
rule, the Board may make a decision regarding a compassionate 
release with or without a hearing. 
 ([8]a)  Before granting a compassionate release pursuant to 
this rule, the Board shall hold a hearing if the compassionate release 
would occur before an offender's original hearing. 
 (i)  If the Board in the Board's discretion determines that an 
offender within the Board's jurisdiction is unable, due to physical, 
mental, or other circumstances, to meaningfully participate in a 
Board hearing or other Board proceeding, the Board may appoint, at 
the Board's own expense, legal counsel or a lay representative to 
assist the offender. 
 (ii)  The Board shall determine the scope of the 
representation described in Subsection (11)(a)(i) based on a review 
of the totality of the circumstances. 
 ([9]b)  Before granting a compassionate release without a 
hearing pursuant to this rule, the Board shall make a reasonable effort 
to contact, inform, and consider the input of any victim of record in 
the case for which the offender is incarcerated, if the victim of record 
has previously requested notice of hearings pursuant to [Utah Code 
]Subsection 77-38-3(8). 
 
KEY:  parole, inmates 
Date of Last Change:  [October 22, 2015]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  September 8, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art. VII, 
Sec. 12; 63G-3-201(3); 77-27-5; 77-27-7; 77-27-9 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R671-509 Filing ID:  
56303 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E Winchester St. #300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda 
Montague 

801-
440-
0545 

amontague@agutah.gov 

Jennifer Yim 801-
261-
6464 

jmyim@utah.gov 

Zarah Borja 385910
-3215 

zborja@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-509.  Parole Progress / Violation Reports 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule amendment is proposed in response to an 
ongoing effort by the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) 
to update its administrative rules to ensure consistency 
with current statutory provisions, address concerns raised 
in its 2022 legislative audit, and fulfill goals outlined in its 
latest strategic plan. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment makes minor and clerical corrections. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated impact on state budgets, as these 
amendments are clerical in nature. 
 
The changes will result in no different state expenses. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not anticipated to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because it does not affect 
local government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not anticipated to have a fiscal impact 
on small businesses because it does not affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule change does not have an effect on non-
small businesses because non-small businesses are not 
an affected party to this rule. 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment does not affect other persons because 
they are not impacted by this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because it does not affect the following parties: state and 
local government, small and non-small businesses and 
other persons as described in Box 5E above. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 
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H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Administrative Director of the Board of Pardons and 
Parole, Jennifer Yim, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 77-27-11   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical  

address or URL): 
03/13/2024 3:00 PM 448 E Winchester St. 

#300, Murray, UT 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

J. Scott  
Stephenson,  
Chair 

Date: 01/26/2024 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-509.  Parole Progress / Violation Reports. 
R671-509-1.  Progress / Violation Reports. 
 (1)  In accordance with sentencing and supervision length 
guidelines, a[A] parole agent or other representative of the 
Department of Corrections shall submit a parole progress / violation 
report to the Board when an incident occurs that may constitute cause 
to modify the conditions of or revoke parole, including: 
 (a)[.]  an arrest or conviction of any misdemeanor or felony; 
 (b)[.]  [significant ]violations of the general or special 
conditions of parole; and 
 (c)[.]  an incident which results in the parole agent placing 
the parolee in jail, under arrest, in detainment, or other conditions or 
incidents which result in the parolee being denied liberty. 
 (2)  These reported parole violations shall be investigated 
and all incident reports along with a recommended course of action 
shall be submitted to the Board within 72 hours of confinement or, if 
the parolee is not confined, detained, or arrested, within seven days 
from the[ date] discovery of the violation. 

 (3)  The report shall advise the Board of a parolee's 
adjustment to parole and provide reasons for modification of the 
parole agreement conditions.  [Police reports, court orders, and 
w]Waivers of personal appearance from parolees shall be attached 
when applicable. 
 
KEY:  parole, incidents, progress, violations 
Date of Last Change:  [May 22, 2013]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  October 3, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  77-27-11 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R671-510 Filing ID:  
56304 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E Winchester St. #300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda 
Montague 

801-
440-
0545 

amontague@agutah.gov 

Jennifer Yim 801-
261-
6464 

jmyim@utah.gov 

Zarah Borja 385-
910-
3215 

zborja@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-510.  Evidence for Issuance of Warrants 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule amendment is proposed in response to an 
ongoing effort by the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) 
to update its administrative rules to ensure consistency 
with current statutory provisions, address concerns raised 
in its 2022 legislative audit, and fulfill goals outlined in its 
latest strategic plan. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Updates to this rule were added to ensure compliance with 
state and federal probable cause requirements for the 
issuance of warrants.  Clerical clarifications and 
corrections were also made. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated impact on state budgets. 
 
The changes will result in no different state expenses. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not anticipated to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because it does not affect 
local government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not anticipated to have a fiscal impact 
on small businesses because it does not affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule change does not have an effect on non-
small businesses because non-small businesses are not 
an affected party to this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment does not affect other persons because 
they are not impacted by this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because it does not affect the following parties: state and 
local government, small and non-small businesses and 
other persons as described in Box 5E above. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Administrative Director of the Board of Pardons and 
Parole, Jennifer Yim, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 77-27-11   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical  

address or URL): 
03/13/2024 3:00 PM 448 E Winchester St. 

#300, Murray, UT 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 
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NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

J. Scott  
Stephenson,  
Chair 

Date: 01/26/2024 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-510.  Evidence for Issuance of Warrants. 
R671-510-1.  Evidence for Issuance of Warrants. 
 (1)  Board Warrants shall be issued only upon a showing 
that there is probable cause to believe that a parole violation has 
occurred. 
 (2)  A[ certified] Warrant Request shall be submitted by the 
parole agent setting forth facts that establish probable cause to 
believe that the parolee committed specific parole violations.  [All 
facts supporting probable cause shall be contained in the body of the 
warrant request, as s]Each allegation shall have a probable cause 
statement sufficient to support the issuance of an arrest warrant. 
Supplementary reports or information that are attached or appended 
to the warrant request may not be considered in establishing probable 
cause. 
 (3)  Upon approval of the request by the Board, a Warrant 
of Arrest shall be issued to arrest, detain, and return the parolee to 
custody. 
 (4)  In response to a warrant request, the Board may issue 
the warrant, deny the warrant, deny the warrant and order a different 
sanction, or return the warrant. 
 (5)  If the Board returns a warrant request, the parole agent 
may resubmit the warrant request with additional information. 
 (6)  If the Board has a previously issued a warrant, the 
parole agent may amend the warrant to add allegations or other 
information. 
 
R671-510-2.  Warrant Request. 
 (1)  Warrant requests shall include: 
 (a)  the name of the parolee, offender number, and date of 
birth; 
 (b)  the[ nature of the] allegations that a parole violation has 
occurred that justify possible revocation of parole; 
 (c)  the elements [substantiating]establishing probable 
cause for each allegation[ which should include who did what, when, 
and where]; 
 (d)  the condition of the parole agreement that the parolee 
is alleged to have violated, along with the date and location where the 
violation occurred; and 
 (e)  the[ legible] name[,] and signature[, and telephone 
number] of the parole [officer and supervisor]agent or the reporting 
agent and supervisor.[; and 
 (f)  under separate or additional cover, contact information 
and phone numbers for the reporting agent.] 
 
R671-510-3.  Parole Information. 
 (1)  The parole agent shall, on a form approved by the 
Board, provide the Board with the following information: 
 (a)  the parolee's risk[/] and need assessment level at the 
time of the current violation and a summary of the areas of concern; 
 (b)  the number of prior paroles; 
 (c)  the parolee's parole violation history; 

 (d)  the parolee's custody status; 
 (e)  financial obligation details regarding the parolee; 
 (f)  the parolee's address or living arrangements; 
 (g)  the parolee's treatment summary; 
 (h)  the results of any drug or alcohol tests; 
 (i)  any new referred offenses or new criminal charges; 
 (j)  any aggravating factors concerning the parolee; 
 (k)  any mitigating factors concerning the parolee; and 
 (l)  a summary of the parolee's current parole performance. 
 
R671-510-4.  Update Information. 
 (1)  Once the parolee is detained on a Board warrant, the 
parole agent shall track the case and keep the Board informed of any 
changes in status or circumstance of the allegations or parolee. 
 (2)[  No less than seven days prior to the hearing, the agent 
shall send the Board all updated information and any amended 
allegations and recommendations.  The agent shall provide the 
offender with a copy of the updated information no less than seven 
days prior to the hearing.](a)  Within two weeks of a parolee's arrest, 
the parole agent shall submit information about the circumstances of 
the arrest and amend the warrant request, including adding 
allegations, as appropriate. 
 (b)  If there are any additional updates or allegations, the 
amended warrant request shall be provided no less than two weeks 
before the hearing. 
 (c)  The parole agent shall provide the offender or the 
offender's counsel with a copy of the updated information no less than 
two weeks before the hearing. 
 (3)  At its discretion, the Board may dismiss the allegations 
if the updated information is not received in a timely manner, allow 
a continuance of the hearing, or take other appropriate action. 
 
KEY:  warrants, parole, probable cause 
Date of Last Change:  [October 31, 2016]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  October 4, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  77-27-11 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R671-514 Filing ID:  
56305 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Pardons (Board of) 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 448 E Winchester St. #300 
City, state and 
zip: 

Murray, UT 84107 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda 
Montague 

801-
440-
0545 

amontague@agutah.gov 

Jennifer Yim 801-
261-
6464 

jmyim@utah.gov 
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Zarah Borja 385-
910-
3215 

zborja@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R671-514.  Waiver and Pleas of Guilt 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule amendment is proposed in response to an 
ongoing effort by the Board of Pardons and Parole (Board) 
to update its administrative rules to ensure consistency 
with current statutory provisions, address concerns raised 
in its 2022 legislative audit, and fulfill goals outlined in its 
latest strategic plan. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule amendment clarifies the parole revocation 
process, including pleas and waivers. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated impact on state budgets. 
 
The changes will result in no different budget expenses. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not anticipated to have any fiscal 
impact on local governments because it does not affect 
local government. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not anticipated to have a fiscal impact 
on small businesses because it does not affect small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule change does not have an effect on non-
small businesses because non-small businesses are not 
an affected party to this rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 

This amendment does not affect other persons because 
they are not impacted by this rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because it does not affect the following parties: state and 
local government, small and non-small businesses and 
other persons as described in Box 5E above. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Administrative Director of the Board of Pardons and 
Parole, Jennifer Yim, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
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Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
77-27-9(4) 

Section 77-27-11 Section 77-13-6 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical  

address or URL): 
03/13/2024 3:00 PM 448 E Winchester St. 

#300, Murray, UT 
 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

J. Scott  
Stephenson,  
Chair 

Date: 01/26/2024 

 
R671.  Pardons (Board of), Administration. 
R671-514.  Waiver and Admissions [Pleas ]of Guilt. 
R671-514-1.  Waiver and Admissions [Pleas ]of Guilt. 
 After the execution of [executing ]a Board warrant, [the 
Department of Corrections employee shall inform ]the offender shall 
be informed of the opportunity to admit, deny, or plead no contest 
[guilty ]to any or all[ of] the alleged parole violations. An admission 
or plea of no contest to any allegation[and that such a plea] waives 
the right to a further hearing on that[any] allegation[ admitted in the 
waiver].  The offender shall be [Department of Corrections employee 
shall also ]informed that an admission or plea[ the offender that a 
plea] of no contest [guilty ]is voluntary[,] and there is no requirement 
to [plead guilty or ]waive the offender's right to a parole violation 
hearing.  If the offender declines to admit or plead no contest to an 
allegation, the Board will treat that as a denial of the allegation. 
 
R671-514-2.  [Guilty Pleas]Admissions or Pleas of No Contest 
Before Hearing. 
 (1)  If an offender [wishes ]decides to admit or[to] plead 
[guilty or ]no contest to any alleged parole violation before a parole 
violation hearing,[ the Department of Corrections employee shall 
provide] the offender shall be provided[with] a[n Affidavit of Waiver 
and Plea of Guilt] parole violation hearing waiver form. 
 (2)  If the Board concludes[agent believes] the offender is 
unable to knowingly and voluntarily execute the waiver,[understand 

the affidavit and waiver and appreciate the consequences of signing 
it for any reason,] the Board: 
 (a)  [The Department of Corrections employee may]may 
not execute the waiver[.]; and may 
 (b)  [The Department of Corrections employee shall 
promptly inform the Board, which may ]assign counsel to represent 
the offender; or 
 (c)  take other appropriate action[ the Board deems 
appropriate] to assist the offender[ with understanding the parole 
violation process or the offender's rights]. 
 
R671-514-3.  Multiple Pleas Before Hearing. 
 An offender may admit or plead[ guilty or] no contest to 
some of the allegations and [plead not guilty to ]deny others. The 
Board may decide to dismiss the allegations [to which ]the offender 
denied[pled not guilty] and enter a disposition based solely on the 
admissions or pleas of[ guilt or] no contest.  If the Board chooses to 
make a disposition based solely on the admissions or pleas of [guilt 
or ]no contest, it will not hold an evidentiary or parole revocation 
hearing.  [However, at its discretion, t]The Board may schedule a 
hearing to [interview ]receive testimony [the offender or take victim 
testimony, ]if the Board determines that doing so would assist [the 
Board ]in its decision. 
 
R671-514-4.  Acceptance of Pleas. 
 (1)  An offender may enter an admission or plea of [guilty 
or ]no contest using the parole violation hearing waiver form[ at any 
time]. 
 (2)  The parole violation hearing waiver form[Before an 
offender pleads guilty or no contest at a revocation or evidentiary 
hearing, the hearing official] shall explain [to the offender ]that an 
admission or no contest plea will result in a revocation of parole.[, if 
offered, will be treated for dispositional purposes and revocation as a 
guilty plea] The waiver shall also explain, if parole is revoked,[; that 
a revocation of parole may result in] the offender may be[ing] ordered 
to serve their full sentences to expiration. 
 (3)  The waiver shall also include a statement that the 
offender is waiving the[; and that such a plea waives the offender's] 
rights to: 
 (a)  a hearing at which the Department of Corrections[state] 
would be required to prove parole violation allegations by a 
preponderance of the evidence; 
 (b)  the appointment of an attorney to assist the offender at 
an evidentiary hearing; 
 (c)  [hear and see]be present at the hearing where the 
evidence and testimony supporting the allegations are presented; 
 (d)  confront and cross-examine any witnesses who testify 
regarding the violation allegations, absent a showing of good cause 
for not allowing the confrontation; 
 (e)  call witnesses and testify themselves regarding the 
violation allegations. 
[ (3)  The hearing official shall receive an admission and plea 
from the offender on the record. 
 (4)  The hearing official may then receive information, 
statements, testimony or recommendations to assist the Board in its 
final determination and disposition of the revocation proceedings.] 
 
R671-514-5.  Withdrawal of Admissions[Pleas]. 
 (1)  An admission or plea of [guilty or ]no contest may only 
be withdrawn by an offender; 
 (a)  [prior to]before the entry of the Board's revocation 
order and disposition based upon the plea; and[.] 
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 (b)  [(2)  A plea of guilty or no contest may be withdrawn 
only ]upon leave of the Board after [and ]a showing by the offender 
that the plea was not knowingly and voluntarily entered[made]. 
 [(3)  ](2)  A request to withdraw an admission or plea of 
[guilty or ]no contest shall: 
 (a)  be made in writing; 
 (b)  clearly state that it is a motion or request to withdraw a 
parole revocation plea; 
 (c)  be addressed to the Board Chair; 
 (d)  clearly state the reasons supporting the withdrawal; and 
 (e)  be [delivered to]received by the Board before entry of 
the disposition[within 10 days of the guilty or no contest plea]. 
 (4)  The Board need not hold a hearing [prior to]before 
ruling on the request to withdraw a plea. 
 (5)  The Board [shall]may rule on a motion or a[the] request 
to withdraw an admission or plea of[ guilty or] no contest within 
[thirty]30 days of receipt[,] and shall promptly notify the offender of 
its decision. 
 
KEY:  parole, allegations, pleas 
Date of Last Change:  [November 24, 2014]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  October 4, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  77-27-9(4); 
77-27-11; 77-13-6 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R865-19S-33 Filing ID:  
56307 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Tax Commission 
Agency: Auditing 
Building: Utah State Tax Commission 
Street address: 210 N 1950 W  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84134 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Chantay Asper  801-

297-
3901 

casper@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R865-19S-33.  Admissions and User Fees Pursuant to Utah 
Code Ann. Sections 59-12-102 and 59-12-103 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this filing is to clarify the meaning of the 
phrase "annual membership dues paid to a private 
organization" for purposes of the sales and use tax. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment clarifies the definition of "annual 
membership dues paid to a private organization" for 
purposes of sales and use tax to include dues paid by a 
member of the private organization who shares internal 
operational control of the organization or owns an equity 
interest in the organization. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This amendment is not expected to impact the state 
budget because it is only a clarification of the Tax 
Commission's longstanding interpretation of the phrase 
"annual membership dues paid to a private organization." 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This amendment is not expected to impact local 
governments because it is only a clarification of the Tax 
Commission's longstanding interpretation of the phrase 
"annual membership dues paid to a private organization." 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This amendment is not expected to impact small 
businesses because it is only a clarification of the Tax 
Commission's longstanding interpretation of the phrase 
"annual membership dues paid to a private organization." 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This amendment is not expected to impact non-small 
businesses because it is only a clarification of the Tax 
Commission's longstanding interpretation of the phrase 
"annual membership dues paid to a private organization. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This amendment is not expected to impact persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities because it is only a clarification 
of the Tax Commission's longstanding interpretation of the 
phrase "annual membership dues paid to a private 
organization." 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This amendment is not expected to impose compliance 
costs on affected persons because it is only a clarification 
of the Tax Commission's longstanding interpretation of the 
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phrase "annual membership dues paid to a private 
organization." 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Tax Commission Rebecca L. 
Rockwell has reviewed and approved this regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 59-12-102 Section 59-12-103  

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Rebecca L.  
Rockwell,  
Commissioner 

Date: 01/18/2024 

 
R865.  Tax Commission, Auditing. 
R865-19S.  Sales and Use Tax. 
R865-19S-33.  Admissions and User Fees Pursuant to Utah Code 
Ann. Sections 59-12-102 and 59-12-103. 
 (1)(a)  "Admission" means the right or privilege to enter 
into a place.  Admission includes the amount paid for the right to use 
a reserved seat or any seat in an auditorium, theater, circus, stadium, 
schoolhouse, meeting house, or gymnasium to view any type of 
entertainment.  Admission also includes the right to use a table at a 
night club, hotel, or roof garden whether such charge is designated as 
a cover charge, minimum charge, or any such similar charge. 
 (b)  This applies whether the charge made for the use of the 
seat, table, or similar accommodation is combined with an admission 
charge to form a single charge, or is separate and distinct from an 
admission charge, or is the sole charge. 
 (2)  "Annual membership dues paid to a private 
organization" [includes only those ]include dues paid by a 
member[members] of the private organization who[,]: 
 (a)  directly or indirectly, [establish]establishes the level of 
the dues[.]; 
 (b)  shares internal operational control in the private 
organization, as demonstrated by membership participation in 
operational decisions; or 
 (c)  owns an equity interest in the private organization. 
 (3)  "Season passes" include amounts paid to participate in 
specific activities, once annual membership dues have been paid. 
 (4)  If the original admission charge carries the right to 
remain in a place, or to use a seat or table, or other similar 
accommodation for a limited time only, and an additional charge is 
made for an extension of such time, the extra charge is paid for 
admission within the meaning of the law.  Where a person or 
organization acquires the sole right to use any place or the right to 
dispose of all of the admissions to any place for one or more 
occasions, the amount paid is not subject to the tax on admissions.  
Such a transaction constitutes a rental of the entire place and if the 
person or organization in turn sells admissions, sales tax applies to 
amounts paid for such admissions. 
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 (5)  Annual membership dues may be paid in installments 
during the year. 
 (6)  Amounts paid for the following activities are not 
admissions or user fees: 
 (a)  lessons, public or private; 
 (b)  sign up for amateur athletics if the activity is sponsored 
by a state governmental entity, or a nonprofit corporation or 
organization, the primary purpose of which, as stated in the 
corporation's or organization's articles or bylaws, is the sponsoring, 
promoting, and encouraging of amateur athletics; 
 (c)  sign up for participation in school activities.  Sign up 
for participation in school activities excludes attendance as a 
spectator at school activities. 
 
KEY:  charities, tax exemptions, religious activities, sales tax 
Date of Last Change:  2024[January 12, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 9, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  9-2-1702; 9-
2-1703; 10-1-303; 10-1-306; 10-1-307; 10-1-405; 19-6-808; 26-
32a-101 through 26-32a-113; 59-1-210; 59-12; 59-12-102; 59-12-
103; 59-12-104; 59-12-105; 59-12-106; 59-12-107; 59-12-108; 59-
12-118; 59-12-301; 59-12-352; 59-12-353 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R986-700 Filing ID:  
56310 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Employment Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Robert D.  
Andreasen 

801-
517-
4722 

randreasen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R986-700.  Child Care Assistance 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The amendment authorizes the Office of Child Care to 
discontinue certain grant payments to a child care provider 
and adjust the provider's quality rating if the provider is 

assessed a civil money penalty by the Utah Department of 
Health and Human Services, Division of Licensing and 
Background Checks, Child Care Licensing (CCL). 
 
The amendment also makes technical, conforming, and 
stylistic changes in accordance with the Rulewriting 
Manual for Utah. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment adds language to Section R986-700-741 
and provides that a quality rating awarded to a child care 
provider will be reduced if the provider is assessed a civil 
money penalty by CCL. 
 
The amendment also adds language to Section R986-700-
742, and provides that a program will be ineligible for an 
Enhanced Subsidy Grant (ESG) if the program has been 
assessed a civil money penalty by CCL; that continued 
receipt of ESG payments is subject to satisfying all 
requirements during the grant period; and that ESG 
funding will be discontinued if the program is assessed a 
civil money penalty by CCL. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This amendment is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state revenues or expenditures. 
 
No additional state employees or resources are needed to 
oversee this rule amendment.  The amendment will not 
increase the Department of Workforce Services' 
(Department) workload and can be carried out with its 
existing budget. 
 
The amendment does not increase or decrease the 
amount of child care subsidies available. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This amendment is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on local governments' revenues or expenditures because 
the program does not rely on local governments for 
funding, administration, or enforcement. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Since most child care providers are small businesses, this 
amendment impacts those businesses by making minor 
adjustments to requirements to maintain a quality rating 
and to maintain eligibility for ESG. 
 
Providers who have been assessed a civil money penalty 
by CCL will have their quality rating reduced and will be 
ineligible for ESG. 
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The Department anticipates no fiscal cost to small 
businesses other than the existing and ongoing costs of 
complying with the rating and eligibility requirements. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This amendment is not expected to have an impact on 
non-small businesses other than those which are child 
care providers. 
 
This amendment impacts them by making minor 
adjustments to requirements to maintain a quality rating 
and to maintain eligibility for ESG. 
 
Providers who have been assessed a civil money penalty 
by CCL will have their quality rating reduced and will be 
ineligible for ESG. 
 
The Department anticipates no fiscal cost to non-small 
businesses other than the existing and ongoing costs of 
complying with the rating and eligibility requirements. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendment is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
other persons. 
 
The change authorizes the Office of Child Care to 
discontinue ESG to a provider and adjust the provider's 
quality rating if the provider is assessed a civil money 
penalty by CCL. 
 
The Department does not anticipate that the changes will 
reduce or increase the number of families eligible for a 
subsidy. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
The amount of available child care subsidies is not 
changed by this rule amendment and the Department 
anticipates that child care providers will incur no costs 
beyond the existing and ongoing costs of complying with 
the rating and eligibility requirements. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Utah Department of 
Workforce Services, Casey Cameron, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 35A-3-203 Section 35A-3-209 Section 35A-3-310 
Section 35A-3-312 45 C.F.R. 98.21  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/01/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Casey Cameron,  
Executive Director 

Date: 01/30/2024 

 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-700.  Child Care Assistance. 
R986-700-701.1.  Definitions and Acronyms. 
 (1)  The terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 35A-
3-102 and 35A-3-201, and in Sections R986-100-103 and R986-100-
104 except as noted in Subsection (2) of this [S]section. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "ADH" means administrative disqualification hearing. 
 (b)  "Applicant" means a person requesting CC. 
 (c)  "Approved Provider" means a provider [who]that 
meets the requirements in Section R986-700-726. 
 (d)  "CCDF" means Child Care and Development Fund. 
 (e)  "CCL" means [the ]DHHS, [d]Division of Licensing 
and Background Checks, Child Care Licensing. 
 (f)  "CCQS" means Child Care Quality System, a 
comprehensive statewide system administered by OCC that provides 
quality ratings to eligible programs and supports programs in 
attaining higher levels of quality. 
 (g)  "Certification period" as it relates to a recipient of CC 
is the period for which CC is presumptively approved. 
 (h)  "Client" means an applicant for, or recipient of, CC. 
 (i)  "Child" includes the singular and the plural, child or 
children[ and vice versa]. 
 (j)  "Child Care Provider" or "Provider" means a person, 
individual or corporation, institution, or organization that provides 
child care services. 
 (k)  "Civil money penalty" is a fine assessed by CCL for 
repeat citations, or when the first instance of noncompliance results 
in, or is likely to result in, extreme risk or harm. 
 ([k]l)  "DHHS" means the Department of Health and 
Human Services. 
 ([l]m)  "Employment" means a job or providing a service 
that pays wages, a salary, in-kind benefits, or self-employment 
income, provided federal or state law does not prohibit the 
occupation. 
 ([m]n)  "ES CC" means [e]Employment [s]Support Child 
Care assistance. 
 ([n]o)  "ESG" means Enhanced Subsidy Grant.  An ESG is 
a monthly payment issued to an eligible program serving children 
covered by CC subsidies and achieving a rating of CCQS High 
Quality or High Quality Plus. 
 ([o]p)  "FEP CC" means Family Employment Program 
Child Care assistance. 
 ([p]q)  "FFN provider" means Family, Friend, and 
Neighbor provider. 

 ([q]r)  "GED" means General Education Development 
diploma. 
 ([r]s)  "Licensed-center provider" means a non-hourly, 
licensed child care center that is regulated through CCL. 
 ([s]t)  "OCC" means Department of Workforce Services, 
Office of Child Care. 
 ([t]u)  "Parent" includes a natural, adoptive, or step parent. 
 ([u]v)  "Recipient" means an individual receiving CC. 
 ([v]w)  "Review or recertification" means the process to 
determine continued eligibility. 
 
R986-700-741.  Child Care Quality System Rating and Status. 
 (1)  Each program of an eligible license type from CCL 
shall receive a CCQS rating or status, unless the program withdraws 
from participation following the process established by OCC policy. 
 (a)  A licensed center program [who]that chooses not to 
apply for a certified quality rating will receive a default Foundation 
of Quality rating. 
 (b)  An eligible child care program shall participate in 
CCQS by maintaining at least a default Foundation of Quality rating.  
An eligible program is not required to [submit an application]apply 
for a certified quality rating. 
 (c)  CCQS ratings or statuses shall be made public on the 
Care About Childcare website. 
 (d)  An eligible child care program [which]that withdraws 
from participation in CCQS will become ineligible to receive CC 
subsidy and CCQS grants or funding. 
 (2)  A program may apply for a certified quality rating in 
accordance with OCC policy through the Care About Childcare 
website. 
 (a)  A rating shall be awarded or a status shall be assigned 
no later than 180 days after the application was submitted. 
 (b)  Certified quality ratings will be published publicly on 
the first day of the month of the certified quality rating period. 
 (3)  A certified quality rating shall remain in place during 
the 12-month certified quality rating period unless a program: 
 (a)  loses its license in good standing and goes on 
conditional license; or 
 (b)  is disqualified from accepting funds from CCDF. 
 (4)  A program with a certified quality rating of high quality 
or high quality plus that is assessed a civil money penalty from CCL 
shall be reduced to a certified quality rating of building quality for 
the rest of the 12-month certified quality rating period during which 
the civil money penalty was assessed. 
 (5[4])  The 12-month certified quality rating period may be 
modified when a program is receiving CCQS technical assistance and 
support from OCC, in accordance with OCC policy. 
 (6[5])  Recertification.  A program must recertify to 
maintain a certified quality rating. 
 (a)  A program must follow the recertification procedures 
established by OCC policy. 
 (b)  A program failing to recertify in a timely manner may 
receive one of the following ratings or statuses until a certified quality 
rating is awarded: 
 (i)  a default Foundation of Quality rating for an eligible 
program; 
 (ii)  not participating status for a program that is not 
eligible; or 
 (iii)  denied participation status for a program operating on 
a conditional license at the time of recertification. 
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R986-700-742.  Enhanced Subsidy Grant. 
 (1)  To receive an ESG a program must: 
 (a)  receive a certified quality rating of: 
 (i)  High Quality[,]; or 
 (ii)  High Quality Plus; 
 (b)  serve children for whom child care was paid for with 
CC subsidy during the 12-month period used to calculate the ESG; 
 (c)  maintain a license in good standing with CCL during 
the 12-month certification period; 
 (d)  maintain status as a DWS-Eligible child care program 
during the 12-month certification period; 
 (e)  agree to [the ]comply with each requirement outlined 
in the certified quality rating award notice; 
 (f)  agree to the amount of the ESG stated on the certified 
quality rating award notice; 
 (g)  agree to receive the ESG through the process 
established by OCC policy; 
 (h)  not be disqualified pursuant to Sections R986-700-733 
and R986-700-734; 
 (i)  not have a pending administrative review on the 
awarded certified quality rating;[ and] 
 (j)  not have a pending referral from the Director of OCC 
for an administrative disqualification hearing pursuant to Sections 
R986-700-733 and R986-700-734[.]; and 
 (k)  not be assessed a civil money penalty from CCL during 
the 12-month certified quality rating period. 
 (2)  Upon final disposition of a pending administrative 
review, an ESG may be issued retroactively where all other ESG 
requirements are met and the program has not been disqualified 
pursuant to Sections R986-700-733 and R986-700-734. 
 (3)  An ESG for a program that has an outstanding 
adjudicated overpayment or other debt owing to OCC shall be issued 
as follows: 
 (a)  if the overpayment amount is less than the monthly 
ESG amount, the ESG shall be reduced by the amount of outstanding 
overpayment due; or 
 (b)  if the overpayment amount is greater than the monthly 
ESG, a monthly ESG shall continue to be reduced until the 
overpayment is fully repaid. 
 (4)  If a program is a party to a pending administrative 
review or appeal of an[An] overpayment [where there is]that does not 
involve a suspected IPV, the Department may not reduce the 
program's ESG as provided in Subsection (3)[ and for which there is 
a pending administrative review or appeal shall not impact the ESG] 
until final disposition of the action is issued. 
 (5)  The monthly ESG will be calculated in accordance with 
OCC policy. 
 (6)  Continuing receipt of ESG is subject to the program 
satisfying the requirements in Subsection (1). 
 (7)  The Department shall discontinue ESG if a program is 
assessed a civil money penalty by CCL. 
 
KEY:  child care, grant programs 
Date of Last Change:  [July 3, 2023]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  August 28, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-3-203; 
35A-3-209; 35A-3-310; 35A-3-312; 45 C.F.R. 98.21 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R990-200-4 Filing ID:  
56283 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Workforce Services 
Agency: Housing and Community Development 
Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 45244 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amanda B.  
McPeck 

801-
526-
9653 

ampeck@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R990-200-4.  Applicant Qualifications 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule change is to authorize applicants 
to update or correct an application up to 15 days prior to 
the board meeting set to review the application. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment adds a time frame for applicants to 
submit corrected or updated documentation for an existing 
application, and deletes Subsection R990-200-4(7), which 
prevented applicants from submitting corrections or 
updates after an application was filed. 
 
Applicants may correct or update an application up to 15 
days prior to the Private Activity Bond Board Meeting 
scheduled to consider the application.  This allows greater 
flexibility to update applications as new information 
becomes available. 
 
The amendment also makes nonsubstantive changes. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 04 37 

A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state revenues or expenditures. 
 
No additional state employees or resources will be needed 
to oversee this rule change. 
 
This rule change will not increase workload and can be 
carried out with existing budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures because the 
program does not rely on local governments for funding, 
administration, or enforcement. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change may have an indirect positive fiscal 
impact on small businesses because it authorizes an 
applicant to submit corrected or updated documentation 
for an existing application. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change may have an indirect positive fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses because it authorizes an 
applicant to submit corrected or updated documentation 
for an existing application. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change does not have a fiscal impact on other 
persons. 
 
This rule change requires no action or compliance by a 
person other than an applicant submitting an application to 
the Board of Review. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because this rule change does not create new 
administrative fees. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Utah Department of 
Workforce Services, Casey Cameron, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
35A-8-2104 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Casey Cameron,  
Executive Director 

Date: 01/09/2024 

 
R990.  Workforce Services, Housing and Community 
Development. 
R990-200.  Private Activity Bonds. 
R990-200-4.  Applicant Qualifications. 
 (1)  An application will be presented to the Board of 
Review only if each project applicant, owner, developer, and 
manager: 
 (a)  is in good standing; 
 (b)  [in the ten years preceding the filing date of the 
application, has not been disbarred or otherwise sanctioned in any 
way by any state or federal agency or professional self-regulatory 
body; 
 (c)  in the ten years preceding the filing date of the 
application, has not been a partner, director, or other officer 
exercising managerial control over any business entity---including a 
corporation, limited liability company, or professional limited 
liability company---when said business entity has initiated 
bankruptcy proceedings; 
 (d)  ]has not been in default or breach of any mortgage or 
project-related contract within the previous five years;[ and] 
 ([e]c)  is not the subject, [---]in either a personal or 
professional capacity as a partner, director, or other officer exercising 
managerial control over any business entity, [---]of a pending fair-
housing or civil-rights investigation; and 
 (d)  [has not, ]in the ten years preceding the filing date of 
the application, has not been: 

 (i)  the subject of a negative fair-housing or civil-rights 
determination;[.] 
 (ii)  disbarred or otherwise sanctioned in any way by any 
state or federal agency or professional self-regulatory body; or 
 (iii)  a partner, director, or other officer exercising 
managerial control over any business entity, including a corporation, 
limited liability company, or professional limited liability company, 
when the business entity initiated bankruptcy proceedings. 
 (2)  An application shall include documentation: 
 (a)  executed by each applicant, owner, developer, and 
manager certifying that each signatory meets each requirement 
identified in Subsection R990-200-4(1)[.]; and 
 ([a]b)  [An application shall include documentation 
]supporting and verifying the accuracy of each certification. 
 (3)  An applicant shall provide all required materials and 
supporting documents at least 55 calendar days before the Board of 
Review meeting at which the application will be considered. 
 (4)  Application forms and materials are available on the 
Department of Workforce Services Housing and Community 
Development website. 
 (5)  A[n] partial application will [not ]be denied[considered 
until all required materials are provided and complete]. 
 (6)  [An incomplete application will be returned to the 
applicant.]Upon review of a complete application, staff will work 
with the applicant to ensure documentation accuracy. 
 (a)  The applicant [will have the opportunity to]may correct 
a[ny] defect or provide [any missing required]additional 
documentation[, subject to the submission deadline specified in 
Subsection R990-200-4(3)]. 
 (b)  All corrections or additional documentation must be 
submitted no later than 15 calendar days before the date of the Board 
of Review meeting scheduled to review the application.[ 
 (7)  Unless requested by program staff, no new, additional, 
or replacement documentation will be accepted after the application 
submission deadline specified in Subsection R990-200-4(3).] 
 
KEY:  allocation, private activity bond, volume cap 
Date of Last Change:  [October 24, 2023]2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-8-2104 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive comment that requires the 
PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to respond 
to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
While the law does not designate a comment period for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends March 18, 2024. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only those 
changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding them ([example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text, 
either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to 
print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print 
is available from the agency or from the Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
From the end of the 30-day waiting period through June 14, 2024, an agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE becomes 
the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor more than 120 
days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates a public comment period, 
the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more 
than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in 
response to additional comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, the CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, 
R15-4-5b, R15-4-7, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page 
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NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R436-7 Filing ID: 55961 

Date of Previous 
Publication: 

11/15/2023 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Data, Systems and Evaluation, Vital 

Records and Statistics 
Room number: 140 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 141012 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1012 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Linda S. Wininger 801-

538-
6262 

Lindaw@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R436-7.  Death Registration 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
In the 2022 General Session, S.B. 43 was passed, which 
included certified nurse midwives (CNM) in the definition 
of a health care professional.  Included in the definition 
was the requirement for the CNM to complete an 
education program regarding the completion of a 
certificate of death. 
 
This change in proposed rule explains how the required 
education is completed and recorded. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This change to this rule adds requirements for nurse 
practitioners, physician assistants, and CNMs to complete 
an education program regarding certifying cause of death. 
 
It also explains how to complete the requirements found in 
Subsections 26B-8-101(3), (19), and (22). 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed amendment 
upon which this change in proposed rule (CPR) was based 

was published in the November 15, 2023, issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin, on page 181.  Underlining in the rule below 
indicates text that has been added since the publication of 
the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates 
text that has been deleted.  You must view the CPR and 
the proposed amendment together to understand all of the 
changes that will be enforceable should the agency make 
this rule effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget 
because the course is available through the CDC 
continuing education website for no charge. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact on local 
governments' revenues or expenditures because they are 
not involved in this process. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact on small 
businesses because the training is free and takes less 
than an hour to complete. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact on non-
small businesses because the training is free and takes 
less than an hour to complete. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule is not expected to have a fiscal impact on persons 
other than small businesses, state, or local government 
entities because the training is free and takes less than an 
hour to complete. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons 
because the training is free and takes less than an hour to 
complete. 
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G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-8-114 Section 26B-1-224  

 

Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

03/18/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

03/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 02/01/2024 

 
R436.  Health and Human Services, Data, Systems, and 
Evaluation, Vital Records and Statistics. 
R436-7.  Death Registration. 
R436-7-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule sets forth procedures for the registration of 
death and the requirements for physician assistants, certified nurse 
midwives, and nurse practitioners to certify deaths. 
 (2) Authority for this rule is found in Sections 26B-8-101 
and 26B-8-114. 
 
R436-7-2.  Death Registration. 
 (1)  Registration of [D]deaths will [be]occur [registered 
]within five days measured as 120 hours from the time of death. 
 (2)  A physician, physician assistant, certified midwife, or 
nurse practitioner will certify the cause of death as defined in law. 
 (3)  Physician assistants, certified nurse midwives, and 
nurse practitioners must complete the Center for Disease Control and 
Prevention (CDC) training "Improving Cause of Death Reporting" 
available through Training and Continuing Education Online 
(TCEO) before certifying deaths. 
 ([2]4)  If the information necessary to complete a death 
certificate is not available within the time prescribed for filing of the 
certificate, the funeral director shall file the certificate completed 
with the information that is available. 
 ([3]5)  In each case, the medical certification must be 
signed by the person responsible for such certification. 
 ([4]6)  If the cause of death is unknown, undetermined, or 
pending investigation, the cause of death shall be shown as such on 
the certificate. 
 ([5]7)  Final disposition of the deceased may not be made 
until the death certificate is registered or is authorized by the medical 
examiner. 
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 ([6]8)  An amendment providing the information missing 
from the original certificate shall be filed with the State Registrar. 
 
R436-7-3.  Penalty for Disposition of Deceased Before Death 
Registration and Failure to File or Certify the Death Within 120 
Hours of the Death. 
 (1)  A funeral director violates this rule and is subject to the 
penalties provided in Section 26B-1-224, including both 
administrative and civil penalties if the funeral director: 
 (a)  Dispositions the deceased before the death registration, 
or; 
 (b)  Fails to register the death within 120 hours of the death 
without good cause. 

 (2)  A medical certifier violates this rule and is subject to 
the penalties provided in Section 26B-1-224, including both 
administrative and civil penalties if the medical certifier fails to 
certify the death within 120 hours of the death without good cause. 
 (3)  Good cause includes receiving the assignment close to 
or after the 120 hours timeframe. 
 
KEY:  vital statistics, death, funeral industries 
Date of Last Change:  2024[2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 21, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26B-8-114; 
26B-1-224 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Changes in Proposed Rules Section 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R380-70 Filing ID: 50882 
Effective Date: 01/22/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: 104 
Building: Martha Hughes Cannon Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Valli Chidambaram 801-

739-
4211 

vchidambaram@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R380-70.  Standards for Electronic Exchange of Clinical 
Health Information 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Subsection 26B-1-202(43) requires the Department of 
Health and Human Services (Department) to establish 
methods or measures for health care providers, public 
health entities, and health care insurers to coordinate 
among themselves to verify the identity of the individuals 
the providers serve. 
 
Section 26B-8-411 requires the Department to make rules 
in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act, to define clinical health 
information and health system arrangements between 
providers or organizations. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule governs electronic information exchanges 
between health care providers, laboratories, and third-
party payers and is necessary per Subsection 26B-1-
202(43) and Section 26B-8-411.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive  
Director 

Date: 01/22/2024 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R392-303 Filing ID: 55893 
Effective Date: 01/22/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Population Health, Environmental 

Health 
Room number: Second Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Karl Hartman  801-

538-
6191 

khartman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R392-303.  Public Geothermal Pools and Bathing Places 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Sections 26B-1-202 and 26B-
7-402, which requires the Department of Health and 
Human Services to establish and enforce, or provide for 
the enforcement of, minimum rules of sanitation necessary 
to protect the public health in public facilities including 
public geothermal pools and bathing places. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule establishes minimum standards for the design, 
construction, operation, and maintenance of public 
geothermal pools and public geothermal bathing places, 

as defined by this rule, and provides for the prevention and 
control of hazards associated with public geothermal pools 
and bathing places that are likely to adversely affect public 
health and wellness including risk factors contributing to 
injury, sickness, death, disability, and the spread of 
disease.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 01/22/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R398-10 Filing ID: 56024 
Effective Date: 01/22/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Family Health, Children with Special 

Health Care Needs 
Room number: 3030 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 

(MASOB) 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144610 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4610 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Colin Kingsbury 385-

310-
5238 

ckingsbury@utah.gov 

Alexis Weight 801-
273-
2956 

abweight@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R398-10.  Autism Spectrum Disorders and Intellectual 
Disability Reporting 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is enacted in accordance with Subsections 26B-
1-202(27) through 26B-1-202(30) and 53E-9-308(6)(b), 
and Sections 26B-1-229 and 26B-7-115.  This rule 
establishes reporting requirements for autism spectrum 
disorder (ASD) and intellectual disability and related test 
results in individuals. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is essential as it defines the stakeholder 
requirements that are essential for carrying out the statute.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) anticipates no amendments to this rule 
following the recent consolidation and recodification of the 
Department's statute. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive  
Director 

Date: 01/22/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R708-10 Filing ID: 51867 
Effective Date: 01/17/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Driver License 
Room number: Suite 2600 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 144501 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R708-10.  Driver License Restrictions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 53-3-104(1)(a) 
and is necessary to identify license restrictions described 
under Section 53-3-208.  The existing rule also cites 
Section 53-3-208 for authority which is not correct and will 
be updated in a later filing. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary to identify and define the possible 
license restrictions that may be placed on a driving 
privilege.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Christopher  
Caras, Division  
Director 

Date: 01/17/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R708-22 Filing ID: 51875 
Effective Date: 01/17/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Driver License 
Room number: Suite 2600 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 
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Mailing address: PO Box 144501 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R708-22.  Commercial Driver License Administrative 
Proceedings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Sections 63G-4-202 and 
63G-4-203 and is necessary for the Driver License 
Division (Division) to set standards for the administrative 
proceedings for commercial driving privileges. 
 
The existing rule has the authorizing statute listed Section 
53-3-104 and will be updated in a later filing. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division has not received any comments on this rule 
since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary for the Division to set standards for 
commercial driving privilege administrative proceedings.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
The Division will update this rule to indicate the 
proceedings are informal, and to change the authorizing 
statue in a later filing. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Christopher  
Caras, Division  
Director 

Date: 01/17/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R708-24 Filing ID: 51876 
Effective Date: 01/17/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Driver License 
Room number: Suite 2600 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 144501 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R708-24.  Renewal of a Commercial Driver License (CDL) 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Section 53-1-104 and is 
necessary for the Driver License Division (Division) to set 
standards for the renewal and requirements regarding 
retesting for a commercial driving privilege. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division has not received any comments since the last 
five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required by statute and is necessary for the 
Division to establish standards for the renewal and 
requirements regarding testing a commercial driving 
privilege.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Christopher  
Caras, Division  
Director 

Date: 01/17/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R708-26 Filing ID: 54635 
Effective Date: 01/17/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Driver License 
Room number: Suite 2600 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 144501 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R708-26.  Learner Permit Rule 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Subsection 53-3-104(1)(d) which 
requires the Driver License Division to make rules 
regarding the restrictions to be imposed on an individual 
with a temporary learner permit or learner permit. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have not been any comments received since the 
last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required by statute and is necessary to impose 
safety restrictions for those with a temporary or regular 
learner permit.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Christopher  
Caras, Division  
Director 

Date: 01/17/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R708-31 Filing ID: 51877 
Effective Date: 01/17/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Driver License 
Room number: Suite 2600 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 144501 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 
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Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R708-31.  Ignition Interlock Systems 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Section 41-6a-518 and is 
necessary in order for the Driver License Division 
(Division) to set standards for the certification of ignition 
interlock systems. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Division has published proposed changes to this rule 
and has received public comments from six ignition 
interlock systems manufacturers as affected parties.  The 
comments received asked for clarification on new 
provisions of the new rule, as well as offered suggestions 
for changes to be made to assist the manufacturers in 
meeting the requirements of this rule. 
 

There was one comment that was in opposition of a 
singular provision of this rule which requires 
manufacturers to equip ignition interlock devices with 
cameras to aid in anti-circumvention. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required by statute and is necessary for the 
effective certification of ignition interlock systems.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
The Division has filed a proposed rule change which has 
not yet been made effective.  There were no comments 
that were in outright opposition to this rule. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed change in proposed rule 
(CPR) for Rule R708-31 is under ID 55755 in the February 
1, 2024, issue of the Bulletin.  The original proposed repeal 
and reenact upon which the CPR is based is also under ID 
55755 in the October 15, 2023, issue of the Bulletin.) 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Christopher  
Caras, Division  
Director 

Date: 01/17/2024 

 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  The Office of Administrative Rules 
(Office) is required to notify agencies of rules due for review at least 180 days prior to the anniversary date.  If the 
agency finds that it will not meet the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office.  However, if the agency fails to file either the FIVE-YEAR 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION or the EXTENSION by the date provide by the Office, the rule 
expires. 
 
Upon expiration of the rule, the Office files a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR EXPIRATION (EXPIRATION) to document the action.  
The Office is required to remove the rule from the Utah Administrative Code.  The agency may no longer enforce the 
rule and it must follow regular rulemaking procedures to replace the rule if it is still needed. 
 
The Office has filed EXPIRATIONS for each of the rules listed below which were not reviewed in accordance with 
Section 63G-3-305.  These rules have expired and have been removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The expiration of administrative rules for failure to comply with the five-year review requirement is governed by 
Subsection 63G-3-305(8). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Rule Number: R597-1 Filing ID: 52953 
Effective Date: 02/06/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Judicial Performance Evaluation 

Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 350 N State St, Suite E-330 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City. UT 84114-6800 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L.  
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R597-1.  Definitions 
 
3.  Summary: 
The five-year review and notice of continuation was not 
filed for this rule by the deadline.  This rule has expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Rule Number: R597-3 Filing ID: 53471 
Effective Date: 02/06/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Judicial Performance Evaluation 

Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Street address: 350 N State St, Suite E-330 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City. UT 84114-6800 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L.  
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R597-3.  Judicial Performance Evaluations 
 
3.  Summary: 
The five-year review and notice of continuation was not 
filed for this rule by the deadline.  This rule has expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
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NOTICE OF EXPIRED RULE 
Rule Number: R623-2 Filing ID: 51510 
Effective Date: 01/30/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Lieutenant Governor 
Agency: Elections 
Street address: 350 N State St, Suite 220 
City, state, and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City. UT 84114 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nancy L.  
Lancaster 

801-
957-
7102 

rulesonline@utah.gov 

 
General Information 
2.  Title of rule (catchline): 
R623-2.  Uniform Ballot Counting Standards 
 
3.  Summary: 
The five-year review and notice of continuation was not 
filed for this rule by the deadline.  This rule has expired and 
will be removed from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 

 

 
End of the Notices of Notices of Five-Year Expirations Section 
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Conservation Commission 
No.  56204  (New Rule)  R64-5:  Temporary Water Shortage 
Emergency Loan Program 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  02/05/2024 
 
Plant Industry 
No.  56171  (Amendment)  R68-29:  Quality Assurance 
Testing on Cannabis 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  02/05/2024 
 
 
Commerce 
Professional Licensing 
No.  56209  (Repeal)  R156-60:  Mental Health Professional 
Practice Act Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
No.  56210  (Amendment)  R156-60a:  Social Worker 
Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
No.  56211  (Amendment)  R156-60b:  Marriage and Family 
Therapist Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
No.  56216  (Amendment)  R156-60c:  Clinical Mental Health 
Counselor Licensing Act Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
No.  56217  (Amendment)  R156-60d:  Substance Use 
Disorder Counselor Act Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 

Cultural and Community Engagement 
Arts and Museums, Museum Services 
No.  56237  (Repeal)  R452-100:  Certified Local Museum 
Designation 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  56254  (New Rule)  R277-126:  Utah Fits All Scholarship 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56255  (Amendment)  R277-925:  Effective Teachers in 
High Poverty Schools Incentive Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
Environmental Quality 
Air Quality 
No.  56123  (Amendment)  R307-110:  General 
Requirements: State Implementation Plan 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56124  (Amendment)  R307-415-6g:  Permits: Operating 
Permit Requirements 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
Waste Management and Radiation Control, Radiation 
No.  56174  (Amendment)  R313-19-13:  Exemptions 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56175  (Amendment)  R313-21-21:  General Licenses--
Source Material 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
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No.  56176  (Amendment)  R313-22-55:  Conditions of 
Specific Licenses to Initially Transfer Source Material for Use 
Under Section R313-21-21 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
Waste Management and Radiation Control, Waste 
Management 
No.  56178  (Amendment)  R315-124:  Procedures for 
Decisionmaking 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56180  (Amendment)  R315-301:  Solid Waste Authority, 
Definitions, and General Requirements 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56181  (Amendment)  R315-302:  Solid Waste Facility 
Location Standards, General Facility Requirements, and 
Closure Requirements 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56182  (Amendment)  R315-304:  Industrial Solid Waste 
Landfill Requirements 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56183  (Amendment)  R315-306:  Incinerator Standards 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56179  (Amendment)  R315-311:  Permit Approval For 
Solid Waste Disposal, Waste Tire Storage, Energy Recovery, 
And Incinerator Facilities 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
No.  56186  (Amendment)  R315-314:  Facility Standards for 
Piles Used for Storage and Treatment 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/16/2024 
 
Government Operations 
Records Committee 
No.  55850  (Amendment)  R35-1:  State Records Committee 
Appeal Hearing Procedures 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/29/2024 
 
No.  55851  (Amendment)  R35-2:  Scheduling and Declining 
Hearings 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/29/2024 
 
 
Governor 
Criminal and Juvenile Justice (State Commission on) 
No.  56220  (Amendment)  R356-6:  Electronic Meetings 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 

Economic Opportunity 
No.  56228  (Amendment)  R357-3:  Economic Development 
Tax Increment Financing Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
No.  56205  (Amendment)  R357-13:  Procedures for the 
Administration of the Hotel Impact Mitigation Fund 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/25/2024 
 
 
Health and Human Services 
Administration 
No.  55993  (Repeal and Reenact)  R380-20:  Government 
Records Access and Management 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  55970  (Amendment)  R380-42:  Open and Public 
Meetings Act Electronic Meetings 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  56059  (Amendment)  R380-50:  Local Health 
Department Funding Allocation Formula 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  55994  (New Rule)  R380-67:  Code Blue Alert Protocols 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  56006  (Repeal)  R380-77:  Coordination of Patient 
Identification and Validation Services 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56011  (New Rule)  R380-80:  Provider Code of Conduct 
and Client Rights 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  56055  (New Rule)  R380-808:  Fatality Review Act 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
Population Health, Environmental Health 
No.  55954  (Amendment)  R392-702:  Cosmetology Facility 
Sanitation 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/11/2024 
 
Family Health, Children with Special Health Care Needs 
No.  56061  (Amendment)  R398-4:  Cytomegalovirus Public 
Health Initiative 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
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Integrated Healthcare 
No.  55906  (Amendment)  R414-22:  Administrative Sanction 
Procedures and Regulations 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  56007  (Amendment)  R414-70:  Medical Supplies, 
Durable Medical Equipment, and Prosthetic Devices 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  55964  (Amendment)  R414-71:  Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment Program 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  55966  (Amendment)  R414-302:  Eligibility 
Requirements 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  55969  (Amendment)  R414-307:  Eligibility for Home 
and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  55968  (Amendment)  R414-508:  Requirements for 
Transfer of Bed Licenses 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  56116  (Amendment)  R414-511:  Medicaid Accountable 
Care Organization Incentives to Appropriately Use 
Emergency Room Services 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  55965  (Amendment)  R414-514:  Requirements for 
Moratorium Exception 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
Health Care Facility Licensing 
No.  55959  (Amendment)  R432-107:  Specialty Hospital - 
Cancer Treatment 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  56018  (Amendment)  R432-200:  Small Health Care 
Facility - Four to Sixteen Beds 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
Family Health, Maternal and Child Health 
No.  55924  (Amendment)  R433-200:  Family Planning 
Access Act 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/01/2024 
 

Clinical Services, Primary Care and Rural Health 
No.  55910  (Amendment)  R434-40:  Utah Health Care 
Workforce Financial Assistance Program 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/11/2024 
 
Disease Control and Prevention, Laboratory Services 
No.  55952  (Repeal)  R438-13:  Rules for the Certification of 
Institutions to Obtain Impounded Animals in the State of Utah 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
Administration (Human Services) 
No.  56056  (Repeal)  R495-808:  Fatality Review Act 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56057  (Repeal)  R495-810:  Government Records 
Access and Management Act 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  56214  (Repeal)  R495-861:  Requirements for Local 
Discretionary Social Services Block Grant Funds 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56010  (Repeal)  R495-876:  Provider Code of Conduct 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  56009  (Repeal)  R495-879:  Parental Support for 
Children in Care 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  55908  (Repeal)  R495-880:  Adoption Assistance 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/11/2024 
 
Human Services Program Licensing 
No.  56048  (Amendment)  R501-14:  Human Service 
Program Background Screening 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  56053  (Amendment)  R501-19:  Residential Treatment 
Programs 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  55926  (Amendment)  R501-21:  Outpatient Treatment 
Programs 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
No.  55927  (Amendment)  R501-22:  Residential Support 
Programs 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
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Child and Family Services 
No.  55905  (Amendment)  R512-43:  Adoption Assistance 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  01/11/2024 
 
Recovery Services 
No.  56187  (New Rule)  R527-220:  Parental Support for 
Children in Care 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/22/2024 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  56218  (Amendment)  R590-171:  Surplus Lines 
Procedures Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
 
No.  55510  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-190:  Unfair 
Property, Liability and Title Claims Settlement Practices Rule 
Published:  07/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
 
No.  55510  (First Change in Proposed Rule )  R590-190:  
Unfair Property, Liability and Title Claims Settlement Practices 
Rule 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
 
No.  55510  (Second Change in Proposed Rule)  R590-190:  
Unfair Property, Liability and Title Claims Settlement Practices 
Rule 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
 
No.  56219  (Amendment)  R590-281:  License Applications 
Submitted by Individuals Who Have a Criminal Conviction 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/24/2024 
 
 
Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  56245  (Amendment)  R657-5:  Harvest Reporting 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56246  (Amendment)  R657-38:  Dedicated Hunter 
Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 

 
No.  56247  (Amendment)  R657-42:  Fees, Exchanges, 
Surrenders, Refunds and Reallocation of Wildlife Documents 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56248  (Amendment)  R657-43:  Landowner Permits 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56249  (Amendment)  R657-62:  Drawing Application 
Procedures 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
 
Transportation 
Administration 
No.  56202  (Amendment)  R907-80:  Sale or Exchange 
Involving a Large Public Transit District 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  01/12/2024 
 
Motor Carrier 
No.  56223  (Amendment)  R909-1:  Safety Regulations for 
Motor Carriers 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56224  (Amendment)  R909-19:  Safety Regulations for 
Tow Truck Operations - Tow Truck Requirements for 
Equipment, Operation, and Certification 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/23/2024 
 
Operations, Maintenance 
No.  56225  (Repeal and Reenact)  R918-4:  Using Volunteer 
Groups and Third-Party Contractors for the Adopt-a-Highway 
and Sponsor-a-Highway Litter Pickup Programs 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/23/2024 
 
 
Transportation Commission 
Administration 
No.  56222  (Amendment)  R940-6:  Prioritization of New 
Transportation Capacity Projects 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  01/23/2024 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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