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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between February 02, 2024, 12:00 a.m., and 
February 15, 2024, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the March 01, 2024, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least April 01, 2024.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last day 
the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through July 01, 2024, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-308 Filing ID:  
56324 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-308.  New Educator Induction and Mentoring 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being updated to clarify language related to 
establishing requirements for induction of new educators. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments specifically correct one rule reference 
number and also change the term "university-based" to 
"education". 
 
This change broadens the application of this rule to apply 
to all educator preparation programs, and not just 
university-based programs. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
The amendments change a rule reference number and 
change "university-based" to "education" to acknowledge 
all possible preparation programs.  There may be 
education preparation programs that are based at another 
entity that is not a university. 

This does not add any costs for the Utah State Board of 
Education (USBE).  There is no impact to the USBE or 
other state budgets. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
The amendments change a rule reference number and 
change "university-based" to "education" to acknowledge 
all possible preparation programs.  There may be 
education preparation programs that are based at another 
entity that is not a university. 
 
This does not add any costs for Local Education Agencies 
(LEAs).  There is no fiscal impact to LEAs or other local 
governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This only affects educator preparation. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
There is no fiscal impact to educators or other persons 
because the changes do not add any requirements for 
educators.  The changes simply clarify that there are now 
non-university-based educator preparation programs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
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There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
There are no compliance costs for educators or other 
persons related to the technical changes. 
 
There is no fiscal impact to educators or other persons 
because the changes do not add any requirements for 
educators.  The changes simply clarify that there are now 
non-university-based educator preparation programs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Section 53E-6-201 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/08/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/15/2024 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-308.  New Educator Induction and Mentoring. 
R277-308-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  Section 53E-6-201, which gives the Board power to 
issue licenses. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish requirements for 
induction of new educators. 
 
R277-308-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "LEA" includes, for purposes of this rule, the Utah 
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind. 
 (2)  "Mentor" means an educator with a professional 
educator license who is trained to advise, coach, consult, and guide 
the development of a new educator. 
 
R277-308-3.  LEA Induction Programs. 
 (1)  An LEA shall provide an induction program for the 
LEA's licensed employees if: 
 (a)  an educator holds an associate educator license; or 
 (b)  an educator holds a professional educator license with 
less than three years experience. 
 (2)  An LEA shall provide an induction program for at least 
three years for employees with an LEA-specific educator license. 
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 (3)  An induction program under this rule shall include, at 
a minimum: 
 (a)  a plan for on-going support and development of an 
educator, which may include reflective goal setting, implementation 
of action steps, and evaluation of outcomes that lead to refinement in 
instructional practice; 
 (b)  LEA support in meeting the requirements of a 
professional license for an individual who holds an associate license; 
 (c)  mentor observation and feedback for each educator 
beginning early in the program; 
 (d)  principal observation and feedback for each educator 
as required by Rule R277-533; and 
 (e)  assistance in meeting the pedagogical requirements 
described in Subsection R277-301-5(5). 
 (4)  An induction plan under Subsection (1) shall provide a 
new educator with a trained mentor educator with a professional 
educator license. 
 (5)  A trained mentor educator under Subsection (3) shall 
assist the educator to meet the Utah Effective Educator Standards 
established in Rule R277-[530]330. 
 (6)  A trained mentor educator may not have responsibility 
to evaluate a new educator for whom the educator acts as mentor. 
 (7)  An LEA and a Utah approved [university-based 
]education preparation program may partner in implementing the 
induction program required by Subsection (1). 
 (8)  The Superintendent shall: 
 (a)  develop a model induction program, including model 
competencies for mentors; 
 (b)  provide training for mentors based on the competencies 
developed in accordance with Subsection (8)(a); 
 (c)  provide training for principals to oversee and support 
mentor training; and 
 (d)  facilitate the sharing of best practices [between]among 
LEAs. 
 
KEY:  new educators, mentors, programs 
Date of Last Change:  2024[April 8, 2021] 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4); 53E-6-201 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-328 Filing ID:  
56325 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-328.  Educational Equity in Schools 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being updated to clarify language regarding 
Local Education Agency (LEA) standards for educators 
and LEAs for professional learning, regarding equal 
opportunities in education and prohibited discriminatory 
practices, in response to the 2023 General Session H.B. 
427. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment specifically adds a reference for statutory 
authority, updates definitions, updates language regarding 
equal opportunities in education and prohibited 
discriminatory practices, updates language pertaining to 
educational opportunities within an LEA, and removes 
Section R277-328-5, Rule Interpretation. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
The changes update language in response to H.B. 427 
(2023) and there are no measurable costs outside the 
fiscal note to that bill for the Utah State Board of Education 
(USBE) or other state entities. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
The changes update language in response to H.B. 427 
(2023) and there are no measurable costs outside the 
fiscal note to that bill for Local Education Agencies (LEAs). 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This only impacts public education. 
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D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
The changes update language in response to H.B. 427 
(2023) and there are no measurable costs outside the 
fiscal note to that bill. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
The changes update language in response to H.B. 427 
(2023) and there are no measurable costs outside the 
fiscal note to that bill. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/08/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/15/2024 

 



 

6 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 05 

R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-328.  [Educational Equity in Schools.]Equal Opportunity 
in Education. 
R277-328-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; 
 (c)  Subsection 53E-3-501(1)(c)(iv) which states the board 
shall establish rules and minimum standards governing curriculum 
and instruction requirements;[ and] 
 (d)  Subsection 53E-3-502(8) which requests the Board 
help school districts develop and implement guidelines, strategies, 
and professional development programs for administrators and 
teachers consistent with Subsections 53E-2-302(7) and 53E-6-
103(1)(b), (2)(a) and (b) focused on improving interaction with 
parents and promoting greater parental involvement in the public 
schools[.]; and 
 (e)  Section 53G-10-206, which requires the Board, LEAs, 
and the Superintendent to ensure that instructional materials and 
classroom instruction are consistent with certain principles of 
educational freedom. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to provide LEAs with the 
standards for educators and LEAs [regarding]for professional 
learning[,] regarding equal opportunities in education and prohibited 
discriminatory practices.[ and guidelines and requirements for 
curriculum, and classroom instruction on educational equity.] 
 
R277-328-2.  Definitions. 
[ (1)  "Classroom instruction" means any course material, 
unit, class, lesson, activity, or presentation that, as the focus of the 
discussion, provides instruction or information to a student. 
 (2)  "Curriculum" means primary instructional materials 
that have been approved pursuant to R277-468 and 53E-4-202.] 
 [(3)](1)  ["Educational equity" means acknowledging that 
all students are capable of learning and distributing resources to 
provide equal opportunities based upon the needs of each individual 
student. Equitable resources include funding, programs, policies, 
initiatives and supports that recognize each student's unique 
background and school context to guarantee that all students have 
access to high-quality education.]"Equal Opportunity in Education" 
means acknowledging that all students are capable of learning and 
may need additional guidance, resources, and support based on their 
academic needs. 
[ (4)(a)  "Inclusion" means the practice of ensuring students 
feel a sense of belonging and support; and 
 (b)  to the maximum extent appropriate, for students with 
disabilities, providing access to general curriculum and engagement 
in regular education classes with peers without disabilities.] 
 (2)  "Inclusion" means ensuring that students are accepted 
and valued as members of the school community with equal 
opportunities to contribute by creating conditions for meaningful 
participation, including students with a disability as described in Rule 
R277-750. 
 (3)  "Important governmental interest" means the same as 
defined in Section 53B-1-118. 
 (4)  "Personal identity characteristic" means the same as 
defined in Section 53B-1-118. 
 (5)  "Prohibited discriminatory practice" means the same as 
defined in Section 53B-1-118. 

R277-328-3.  [Educational Equity ]Professional Learning 
Regarding Equal Opportunities in Education and Prohibited 
Discriminatory Practices. 
 (1)  An LEA shall provide professional learning to 
educators concerning [educational equity]equal opportunity in 
education. 
 (2)  The professional learning described in Subsection (1) 
shall include instruction in: 
 (a)  fostering a learning environment [and workplace that 
are safe and respectful of all students and educators]which is safe, 
conducive to the learning process, and free from unnecessary 
disruption as consistent with Section 53G-8-202; 
[ (b)  aligning teaching practices with the Utah Professional 
Learning Standards described in Section 53G-11-303, the Board's 
Resolution No. 2021-01 Denouncing Racism and Embracing Equity 
in Utah Schools, and the Board's Portrait of a Graduate; 
 (c)  establishing Professional Learning Communities 
committed to continuous improvement, individual and collective 
responsibility, and identifying underperforming students in need of 
supports;] 
 (b)  identifying students in need of additional academic 
supports; 
[ (d)  acknowledging differences by looking for the good in 
everyone, including oneself, and showing due regard for feelings, 
rights, cultures,  and traditions; 
 (e)  collaborating with diverse community members to 
understand, recognize and appreciate what we all have in common as 
humans, including acknowledging diverse cultures, languages, 
traditions, values, needs, and lived experiences;] 
 [(f)](c)  implementing principles and strategies of 
inclusion[, as they pertain to students and educators with diverse 
abilities and backgrounds] so that: 
 (i)  a student with a disability is educated with peers without 
a disability to the maximum extent appropriate, consistent with 
IDEA; and 
 (ii)  specially designed instruction is provided in addition 
to, not instead of, high-quality core instruction as consistent with 
IDEA; 
 [(g)](d)  [demonstrating role model responsibilities through 
the examination of various counterpoints to a topic in an impartial 
manner;]recognizing the constitutionally protected rights of all 
students; and 
 [(h)](e)  [creating opportunities to recognize personal 
responsibility in contributing to conditions that preserve the rights of 
all individuals and to avoid the repetition of past harmful actions by 
individuals and groups;]recognizing the constitutionally protected 
rights of all students; and 
 [(i)](f)  [defending intellectual honesty including freedom 
of inquiry, speech, and association; and]developing strategies to 
promote the examination of various viewpoints on a topic in an 
impartial and politically neutral manner. 
[ (j)  cultivating supportive conditions that focus on learning 
and remove barriers to allow students to have accessible pathways to 
resources and opportunities.] 
 (3)  The professional learning provided by an LEA [may 
not]shall include instruction that educators may not promote[s or 
endorses that:] prohibited discriminatory practices as described in 
Section 53B-1-118: 
[ (a)  a student or educator's sex, race, religion, sexual 
orientation, gender identity or membership in any other protected 
class is inherently superior or inferior to another sex, race, religion, 
sexual orientation, gender identity or any other protected class; 
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 (b)  a student or educator's sex, race, religion, sexual 
orientation, gender identity or membership in any other protected 
class determines the content of the student or educator's character 
including the student or educator's values, morals, or personal ethics; 
 (c)  a student or educator bears responsibility for the past 
actions of individuals from the same sex, race, religion, sexual 
orientation, gender identity or any other protected class as the student 
or educator; and 
 (d)  a student or educator should be discriminated against 
or receive adverse treatment because of the student or educator's sex, 
race, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity or membership in 
any other protected class.] 
 (a)  one personal identity characteristic is inherently 
superior or inferior to another personal identity characteristic; 
 (b)  an individual, by virtue of the individual's personal 
identity characteristics, is inherently privileged, oppressed, racist, 
sexist, oppressive, or a victim, whether consciously or 
unconsciously; 
 (c)  an individual should be discriminated against in 
violation of Titles VI & VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, IX of the 
Education Amendments of 1972, and Section 504 of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, receive adverse treatment, be advanced, 
or receive beneficial treatment because of the individual's personal 
identity characteristics; 
 (d)  an individual's moral character is determined by the 
individual's personal identity characteristics; 
 (e)  an individual, by virtue of the individual's personal 
identity characteristics, bears responsibility for actions committed in 
the past by other individuals with the same personal identity 
characteristics; 
 (f)  an individual should feel discomfort, guilt, anguish, or 
other psychological distress solely because of the individual's 
personal identity characteristics; 
 (g)  asserts that meritocracy is inherently racist or sexist; 
 (h)  asserts that socio-political structures are inherently a 
series of power relationships and struggles among racial groups; 
 (i)  promotes resentment between, or resentment of, 
individuals by virtue of their personal identity characteristics; 
 (j)  ascribes values, morals, or ethical codes, privileges, or 
beliefs to an individual because of the individual's race, color, 
ethnicity, sex, sexual orientation, national origin, or gender identity; 
 (k)  is referred to or named diversity, equity, and inclusion, 
used in conjunction; or 
 (l)   includes or relates to, a prohibited submission as 
outlined in Section 67-27-105. 
 (4)  Prohibited instruction does not include a training on 
policies or procedures required by state or federal law, including laws 
relating to prohibited discrimination or harassment. 
 [(4)](5)  The professional learning provided by an LEA 
shall be done in accordance with all state and federal laws. 
 [(5)](6)  The content of professional learning provided by 
an LEA shall be made freely available by the LEA to parents with a 
student in the LEA within a reasonable amount of time [before or 
after]from when the training is offered upon request and include[: 
 (a) ] a copy of this rule.[; and 
 (b)  a compliance rubric showing how the professional 
learning and materials adhere to the requirements of this rule.] 
 (7)  If an alleged violation of this section is reported to the 
Board as described in Rule R277-123, the Board may investigate the 
alleged violation as described in Rule R277-114, including taking 
action as described in Subsection R277-114-3(3). 

 (8)  An LEA shall ensure a formal complaint process is in 
place pursuant to Rule R277-113. 
 [(6)](9)  The professional learning referred to in Subsection 
[(5)](6) does not include [coaching or ]remediation sessions for a 
specific educator. 
 
R277-328-4.  [Educational Equity Curriculum and Classroom 
Instruction.]Educational Opportunities Within an LEA. 
[ (1)  An LEA may only provide curriculum and classroom 
instruction that includes concepts as described in Section R277-328-
3(3): 
 (a)  in accordance with state and federal law; 
 (b)  in alignment with the Utah Standards approved by the 
Board; and 
 (c)  that contains age-appropriate content for the 
developmental age of the student. 
 (2)  If an LEA provides curriculum that includes concepts 
as described in Section R277-328-3(3), the curriculum shall: 
 (a)  be approved in an open and regular public meeting of 
the LEA's governing board as described in R277-468; 
 (b)  as applicable, contain content in accordance with the 
professional learning guidelines and requirements established in 
Section R277-328-3. 
 (3)  Classroom instruction that includes concepts as 
described in Section R277-328-3(3), shall be in accordance with the 
professional learning guidelines and requirements established in 
Section R277-328-3(2), (3), and (4). 
 (4)  An LEA shall ensure a formal complaint process is in 
place pursuant to R277-113.] 
 (1)  An LEA may establish or maintain an office, division, 
employment position, or other unit of an LEA that provides support, 
guidance, and resources that equip all students, including all students 
in public schools at higher risk of not completing high school, with 
experiences and opportunities for success in each student's academic 
and career goals, and without excluding individuals on the basis of 
an individual's personal identity characteristics consistent with 
Section 53G-2-105. 
 (2)  No part of this rule shall be construed by an LEA or 
educator to: 
 (a)  prohibit or ban discussions of events, ideas, attitudes, 
beliefs, or concepts in the marketplace of ideas if consistent with 
Sections 53G-10-202, 53G-10-206, and 53G-2-104; 
 (b)  prohibit disaggregation of data based on personal 
identity characteristics to meet state and federal requirements, 
including those in Section 53E-3-501 or 53E-5-302; or 
 (c)  allow for discriminatory treatment of individual 
students based disaggregated group data. 
 (3)  An LEA may not promote differential treatment of an 
individual based on the individual's personal identity characteristics 
unless the LEA: 
 (a)  has an important governmental interest; or 
 (b)  is complying with state or federal law. 
 (4)  An LEA may not exclude any student from 
participating in Curricular, co-curricular, and extra-curricular 
activities designated specifically for students based on a different 
personal identity characteristic. 
 (5)  An LEA shall submit an annual assurance to the Board 
that the LEA's professional learning is consistent with this rule and 
Section 53G-10-206. 
 (6)  An individual may bring a violation of this section to 
the Board in accordance with the process described in Rule R277-
123. 
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 (7)  If the Board identifies a reported violation of this 
section, the state board shall provide an update to the Education 
Interim Committee as described in Section 53G-2-103. 
 
[R277-328-5.  Rule Interpretation. 
 (1)  No part of this rule shall be construed by an LEA or 
educator to: 
 (a)  prohibit or ban discussions of events, ideas, attitudes, 
beliefs, or concepts, including those described in this rule, from the 
general sharing and participation in the marketplace of ideas fostered 
in a learning environment; and 
 (b)  promote one ideology over another regarding a topic, 
including those described in this rule. 
 (2)  An LEA may contact the Superintendent for technical 
assistance regarding the implementation of this rule. 
 (3)  The Superintendent shall establish and deliver a model 
for professional learning that complies with the requirements of this 
rule including approval of the model in an open and public meetings 
of the Board and making the model available on the Utah State Board 
of Education's website. 
 (4)  The requirement for approval described in Subsection 
(3) applies only to the professional learning model referenced in this 
rule and does not apply to other professional learning with embedded 
components of educational equity offered by the Superintendent so 
long as the professional learning does not contain concepts described 
in Subsection R277-328-3(3).] 
 
KEY:  [educational equity]equal opportunities, professional 
learning, instruction 
Date of Last Change:  2024[August 9, 2021] 
Authorizing, and Implemented[,] or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 
3; 53E-3-401(4) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-471 Filing ID:  
56326 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-471.  School Construction Oversight, Inspections, 
Training, and Reporting 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being updated to remove the School Plant 
Capital Outlay report requirement. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment specifically removes Section R277-471-
13, which establishes the requirements for this report.  
This change does away with a report, which is no longer 
necessary. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
This requirement for the school plant capital outlay report 
still exists in Section 53E-3-705 so the removal from this 
rule has no fiscal impact. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This requirement for the school plant capital outlay report 
still exists in Section 53E-3-705 so the removal from this 
rule has no fiscal impact. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This requirement for the school plant capital outlay report 
still exists in Section 53E-3-705 so the removal from this 
rule has no fiscal impact. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
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small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
This requirement for the school plant capital outlay report 
still exists in Section 53E-3-705 so the removal from this 
rule has no fiscal impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
This requirement for the school plant capital outlay report 
still exists in Section 53E-3-705 so the removal from this 
rule has no fiscal impact. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(3)  

Section 53E-3-706 

Section 53E-3-707 Section 10-9a-305 Subsection 
53F-2-202(4)(d) 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

School Construction Resource  
Manual 

Publisher Utah State Board of Education 

Issue Date April 30, 2013 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/08/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/15/2024 
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R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-471.  School Construction Oversight, Inspections, Training, 
and Reporting. 
R277-471-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution, Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision of public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; 
 (c)  Subsection 53E-3-401(8)(ii), which permits the Board 
to withhold state funds from an education entity for non-compliance 
with the education code or administrative rules; 
 (d)  Section 53E-3-706, which requires the Superintendent 
to enforce Title 53E, Chapter 3, Part 7, School Construction; and 
 (e)  Section 53E-3-707, which requires the Board to adopt 
a school construction manual. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (a)  provide specific provisions for the oversight of 
permanent or temporary public school construction and renovation; 
and 
 (b)  identify responsibilities of an LEA governing board in 
the school construction process. 
 
R277-471-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Certified plans examiner" means a professional who 
has current applicable commercial certification through the 
"International Code Council" or "ICC". 
 (2)  "Charter school" means a school acknowledged as a 
charter school by a charter school authorizer consistent with Title 
53G, Chapter 5, Part 3, Charter School Authorization. 
 (3)  "Charter school responsible person or local charter 
school board building officer or designee" or "CSBBO" means the 
individual or authority designated by a charter school governing 
board who: 
 (a)  has direct administrative and operational control of 
charter school construction or renovation; and 
 (b)  has responsibility for a charter school's compliance 
with Utah law on behalf of the charter school governing board. 
 (4)  "Certificate of inspection verification" means a form, 
available on the Board website, certifying that the entity responsible 
for providing inspection services has complied with the provisions 
of: 
 (a)  Section 53E-3-706; 
 (b)  Section 53E-3-708; 
 (c)  Section 10-9a-305; 
 (d)  Section 17-27a-305; 
 (e)  Title 15A, State Construction and Fire Code Act; 
 (f)  Rule R156-56; and 
 (g)  this Rule R277-471. 
 (5)  "Certificate of occupancy" means the document issued 
upon receipt of the final inspection from the inspector of record and 
the 'Certificate of Fire Clearance' issued by the Utah State Fire 
Marshal, verifying compliance with all minimum requirements to 
safeguard the public health, safety, and general welfare of occupants, 
which authorizes permanent usage or occupancy of: 
 (a)  any new building or occupiable structure; 
 (b)  any existing occupiable building or structure alteration; 
or 
 (c)  a change of occupancy in an existing structure, 
building, or space. 

 (6)  "General plan" means a document that a municipality 
adopts that sets forth general guidelines for proposed future 
development of the land within the municipality, consistent with 
Subsection 10-9a-103(13). 
 (7)  "Inspector" means a professional who holds current 
applicable commercial certification through the International Code 
Council and is currently licensed in the in Utah in the applicable 
trades for which the inspector is performing inspections. 
 (8)  "Manual" means the School Construction Resource 
Manual incorporated by reference in Section R277-471-3. 
 (9)  "New school building project" means the construction 
of a school that did not previously exist in an LEA. 
 (10)  "Public school construction" means construction work 
on a new or existing public school building. 
 (11)  "School District Building Official or "SDBO" means 
the individual or authority designated by a school district who has 
direct administrative and operational control of school district 
construction or renovation and is responsible for the school district's 
compliance with Utah law. 
 (12)  "Significant school remodel" means the upgrading, 
changing, alteration, refurbishment, modification, or complete 
substitution or replacement of an existing school in an LEA with a 
project cost equal to or in excess of $2,000,000. 
 (13)  "Temporary certificate of occupancy" means the 
document, valid for a limited time period, issued upon receipt of the 
temporary final inspection report from the inspector of record and the 
'Temporary Certificate of Fire Clearance' issued by the Utah State 
Fire Marshal, verifying minimum requirements to safeguard the 
public health, safety, and general welfare of occupants, which 
authorizes temporary usage or occupancy of: 
 (a)  any new building or occupiable structure; 
 (b)  any existing occupiable building or structure alteration; 
or change of occupancy in an existing structure or building or space. 
 
R277-471-3.  Incorporation of School Construction Resource 
Manual by Reference. 
 (1)  This rule incorporates by reference the School 
Construction Resource Manual dated April 30, 2013. 
 (2)  The School Construction Resource Manual was 
developed by the Board in accordance with Section 53E-3-707. 
 (3)  A copy of the manual is located at: 
 (a)  
https://www.schools.utah.gov/administrativerules/documentsincorp
orated; and 
 (b)  the offices of the Board. 
 (4)  The Superintendent shall review the manual annually 
and recommend[ed] changes, if necessary, to the Board. 
 (5)  Each public school construction project shall be 
conducted in accordance with the manual. 
 
R277-471-4.  LEA Responsible Person. 
 (1)  An LEA board shall be accountable to ensure that all 
school district and charter school permanent or temporary 
construction, renovation, and inspections are conducted in 
accordance with the law to provide minimum requirements to 
safeguard the public health, safety, and general welfare of occupants 
while using the most comprehensive, cost-effective, and efficient 
design means and methods. 
 (2)  A school district governing board shall: 
 (a)  appoint an SDBO who has direct administrative and 
operational control of all construction, renovation, and inspection of 
public school district facilities within the school district; and 
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 (b)  provide in writing the name of the SDBO to the 
Superintendent. 
 (3)  A charter school governing board shall account to the 
school's authorizer and the Board to ensure that all charter school 
permanent or temporary construction, renovation, and inspections are 
conducted in accordance with Utah law. 
 (4)(a)  A charter school governing board shall appoint a 
CSBBO who has direct operational responsibility for construction, 
renovation, and inspection of the charter school. 
 (b)  The CSBBO shall report regularly to the charter school 
governing board. 
 (c)  A charter school governing board shall provide the 
name of its CSBBO in writing to the Superintendent. 
 (d)  A charter school governing board shall promptly notify 
the Superintendent in writing of any changes to the school's CSBBO. 
 (5)  An SDBO or a CSBBO may adopt and enforce 
supplemental LEA policies under appropriate LEA policies to clarify 
the application of the provisions of Utah law for LEA personnel. 
 
R277-471-5.  School Construction Inspectors. 
 (1)  An LEA shall employ or contract with inspectors for 
school construction inspection who are currently ICC commercially 
certified and licensed in Utah, in the trade specific to the inspection, 
consistent with Utah law. 
 (2)  An LEA shall choose one of three methods for 
inspections: 
 (a)  Independent inspectors: 
 (i)  shall receive approval from the local jurisdiction in 
which the construction activity occurs; 
 (ii)  may include inspectors working outside the 
municipality, county, or school district in which they are employed; 
and 
 (iii)  may not be associated with: 
 (A)  the architect, developer, contractor, or a subcontractor 
working on the project; or 
 (B)  any management company or other agency hired by 
the LEA to perform construction or construction administrative 
services. 
 (3)  Inspectors employed by school districts may only 
perform school construction inspections within the boundaries of the 
school district. 
 (4)  Inspectors employed by municipalities and counties 
may only perform school construction inspections within the 
boundaries of the municipality or county where they are employed. 
 
R277-471-6.  School Construction Inspections. 
 (1)  Before any school construction project begins, the 
SDBO or CSBBO shall obtain a construction project number from 
the Superintendent by completing and submitting construction 
project identification forms provided by the Superintendent and other 
required submittals for all projects consistent with Title 53E, Chapter 
3, Part 7, School Construction, and the manual. 
 (2)  A certified plans examiner shall approve all LEA school 
plans and specifications before any LEA construction project begins. 
 (3)(a)  If an LEA cannot provide appropriate and proper 
school construction inspection and plan review services, the 
Superintendent may procure inspection services and charge the LEA 
for those services. 
 (b)  An approved inspector shall establish fees in advance 
of inspection services. 
 (4)  LEA construction projects shall comply with Title 53E, 
Chapter 3, Part 7, School Construction, and this Rule R277-471 to: 

 (a)  ensure that each inspector is adequately and 
appropriately credentialed; 
 (b)  identify and provide to the Superintendent and local 
government entity building official reports of all inspections with the 
name, state license number, and disciplines of each inspector 
performing the project inspections; 
 (c)  submit inspection certificates and all related submittals 
to the Superintendent and appropriate local government entity 
building official; 
 (d)  submit inspection summary reports monthly to the 
appropriate local government entity building official and the 
Superintendent; 
 (e)  sign the final certificate of inspection and verification 
form, certifying all inspections were completed in compliance with 
all applicable laws and rules to safeguard the public health, safety, 
and general welfare of occupants; 
 (f)  send the final inspection certification, inspection 
verification, and provide all other related project closeout submittals 
to the Superintendent and to the appropriate local government entity 
building official upon completion of the project; and 
 (g)  maintain all submitted documentation at a designated 
LEA location for auditing or monitoring. 
 (5)  The SDBO or CSBBO may submit either paper or 
electronic reports to satisfy this section. 
 
R277-471-7.  Coordination with Local Governments, Utility 
Providers, and the State Fire Marshal. 
 (1)  Prior to developing plans and specifications for a public 
school construction project, an LEA shall coordinate with affected 
local government land use authorities and utility providers to: 
 (a)  ensure that the siting or expansion of a school in the 
intended location will comply with applicable local general plans and 
land use laws and will not conflict with entitled land uses; 
 (b)  ensure that all local government services and utilities 
required by the school construction activities can be provided in a 
logical and cost-effective manner; 
 (c)  avoid or mitigate existing and potential traffic hazards, 
including consideration of the impacts between the public school 
construction and future roadways; and 
 (d)  maximize school, student, and site safety. 
 (2)  An LEA shall cooperate with municipalities and 
counties and conform to municipal and county land use ordinances 
consistent with Sections 10-9a-305 and 17-27a-305. 
 (3)  Prior to developing plans and specifications for a public 
school construction project, an LEA shall coordinate with local health 
departments and the State Fire Marshal. 
 (4)  A charter school shall have an open meeting to seek and 
secure a variance from the appropriate government entity if the LEA 
selects a school site in a municipality or county-designated zone for 
sexually oriented businesses or businesses that sell alcohol. 
 (5)  Parking requirements for a charter school may not 
exceed the minimum parking requirements for a traditional public 
school of a like size and grade levels or other institutional public use 
throughout the municipality or county. 
 (6)  An LEA shall maintain documentation for audit or 
monitoring purposes of coordination, meetings, and agreements 
required under this section. 
 (7)  Prior to developing plans and specifications for a public 
school construction project, an LEA shall coordinate with local 
jurisdictions to comply with Federal Emergency Management 
Agency flood plain requirements and restrictions, including 
applicable mitigation measures. 
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R277-471-8.  Superintendent's Authority to Request Additional 
Inspections. 
 (1)  The Superintendent may contract with any 
appropriately qualified entity or person to provide inspection services 
that the Superintendent considers necessary to enable the 
Superintendent to issue a certificate authorizing temporary or 
permanent occupancy of a public school building. 
 (2)  The Superintendent may charge an LEA a fee, not to 
exceed the actual cost of performing the inspection, for inspection 
services. 
 
R277-471-9.  Certification of Occupancy. 
 (1)  For a school district: 
 (a)  After completion of a project when a school district's 
appropriately credentialed inspector provides inspections, an SDBO 
shall sign a certificate of inspection verification form certifying that 
all inspections were completed in accordance with Utah law, and file 
the form with the Superintendent and the building official of the 
jurisdiction in which the building is located. 
 (b)(i)  After completion of a project when a local 
jurisdiction provides inspections, the school district shall obtain a 
certificate authorizing permanent occupancy of a school building 
from the jurisdiction in which the building is located. 
 (ii)  A school district shall provide a copy of the certificate 
of occupancy to the Superintendent. 
 (c)  After completion of a project when independent 
inspectors provide inspections, an SDBO shall seek a certificate 
authorizing temporary or permanent occupancy of the school from 
the Superintendent. 
 (2)  For a charter school: 
 (a)  After completion of a project and inspection by an 
appropriately credentialed inspector when a charter school contracts 
with a school district for inspections, the CSBBO shall obtain a 
completed certificate of inspection verification form from the SDBO 
certifying that all inspections were completed in accordance with 
Utah law, and file the form with the Superintendent and the building 
official of the jurisdiction where the charter school is located. 
 (b)(i)  After completion of a project when a local 
jurisdiction provides inspections, a charter school shall obtain a 
certificate authorizing permanent occupancy of a school building 
from the jurisdiction in which the building is located. 
 (ii)  The CSBBO shall provide a copy of the certificate of 
occupancy to the Superintendent. 
 (c)  After completion of a project when independent 
inspectors provide inspections, the CSBBO shall seek a certificate 
authorizing temporary or permanent occupancy of the school from 
the Superintendent. 
 (3)  Within 30 days after an LEA files a request for the 
issuance of a certificate authorizing permanent occupancy of a school 
building from the Superintendent, the Superintendent shall: 
 (a)  issue to the LEA a certificate authorizing permanent 
occupancy of the school building; or 
 (b)  deliver to the LEA board a written notice indicating 
deficiencies in the LEA's compliance with the inspection findings. 
 (4)  If the Superintendent does not issue the certificate 
authorizing permanent occupancy, an LEA shall provide notice of the 
deficiency to the building official of the local government entity in 
which the public school building is located. 
 (5)  Upon an LEA board filing the certificate of inspection 
verification and requesting the issuance of a certificate authorizing 
permanent occupancy of the school building with the Superintendent, 
the LEA shall be entitled to temporary occupancy of the school 

building for a period up to 90 days, beginning on the date the request 
is filed, if the LEA has complied with all minimum requirements to 
safeguard the public health, safety, and general welfare of occupants. 
 (6)  Upon an LEA remedying any deficiencies and 
notifying the Superintendent that the deficiencies have been 
remedied, following certification of the information, the 
Superintendent shall issue a certificate authorizing permanent 
occupancy of the school building. 
 (7)  Upon receipt of the certificate of occupancy, an LEA 
shall provide a copy of the certificate to the building official of the 
local jurisdiction in which the school building is located authorizing 
permanent occupancy of the school building. 
 
R277-471-10.  Enforcement. 
 (1)  An LEA which fails to comply with the provisions of 
this rule is subject to consequences from the Board consistent with 
Subsections 53E-3-401(8) and 53F-2-202(4)(d). 
 (a)  If an LEA fails to meet or satisfy a school construction 
inspection requirement or timeline designation under this rule, the 
Superintendent shall, as directed by the Board, send the school 
district superintendent or local charter school director notice by 
certified mail; and 
 (b)  If after 30 days the requirement has not been met, the 
Superintendent may, as directed by the Board, interrupt the Minimum 
School Program fund transfer process to the following extent: 
 (i)  10% of the total monthly Minimum School Program 
transfer amount the first month; 
 (ii)  25% in the second month; and 
 (iii)  50% in the third and subsequent months. 
 (2)  If the Superintendent interrupts the Minimum School 
Program fund transfer process, the Superintendent shall: 
 (i)  upon receipt of confirmation that the proper inspections 
have taken place or upon receipt of a late report: 
 (A)  restart the transfer process within the month if the 
confirmation or report is submitted before the tenth working day of 
the month; or 
 (B)  restart the transfer process in the following month if 
the confirmation or report is submitted after 10 a.m. on or after the 
tenth working day of the month; 
 (ii)  inform the Board at its next regularly scheduled 
meeting; and 
 (iii)  inform the chair of the local governing board if the 
school district superintendent or charter school director is not 
responsive in correcting ongoing school construction inspection and 
reporting problems. 
 (3)  An LEA may be subject to a nonrefundable fine in the 
amount of one half of one percent of the total construction costs of a 
public school construction project if an LEA fails to report a public 
school construction project consistent with Title 53E, Chapter 3, Part 
7, School Construction and the manual to the Superintendent. 
 (4)  The Superintendent, with approval from the Board, 
shall deduct nonrefundable fine amounts from the respective LEA's 
Minimum School Program allotment at a rate sufficient to complete 
collection of the nonrefundable fine by the end of the current fiscal 
year. 
 (a)  The Superintendent shall deposit school district 
nonrefundable fine amounts into the School Building Revolving 
Account; and 
 (b)  The Superintendent shall deposit charter school 
nonrefundable fine amounts into the Charter School Building 
Subaccount within the School Building Revolving Account. 
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R277-471-11.  Appeals Procedure for Nonrefundable Fines. 
 (1)  The Board designates the procedure outlined in this 
Section R277-471-11 as an informal adjudicative proceeding, under 
Section 63G-4-203. 
 (2)  An LEA board may appeal a fine assessed under this 
rule consistent with the following: 
 (a)  An LEA may not appeal a fine until a final 
administrative decision has been made to assess the fine by the 
Board. 
 (b)  A district superintendent on behalf of a local school 
board or a local charter board chair on behalf of a local charter school 
board may appeal an assessed fine by filing an appeal on a form, and 
in the manner prescribed by the Superintendent. 
 (c)  An LEA must file the appeal within ten business days 
of final Board action. 
 (d)  An LEA shall provide, as stated on the form, an 
explanation of unanticipated or compelling circumstances that 
resulted in the local board's or charter school's failure to report new 
construction or remodeling projects as required. 
 (e)  The school district superintendent or local charter board 
chair shall provide a notarized statement that the information and 
explanation of circumstances are true and factual statements. 
 (3)  At least three members of the Finance Committee 
appointed by the Board shall act as a review committee to review the 
written appeal. 
 (a)  The appeal committee may request additional 
information from the LEA board. 
 (b)  The appeal committee may ask the district 
superintendent or local school district or charter school board chair 
or LEA business staff to appear personally and provide information. 
 (c)  The appeal committee shall presume the fine 
appropriate and legitimate. 
 (d)  The appeal committee shall make a written 
recommendation within ten business days of receipt of the appeal 
request. 
 (e)  The full Finance Committee of the Board shall review 
the recommendation. 
 (f)  The Finance Committee shall make a formal 
recommendation to the Board to accept, modify, or reject the appeal 
explanation and fine. 
 (4)  The Board, in a regular monthly meeting, may accept 
or reject the Finance Committee's final recommendation to affirm the 
fine, modify the fine, or grant the appeal. 
 (5)  Consistent with the Board's general control and 
supervision of the Utah public school system and given the 
significant public policy concern for safe schools and cost-effective 
public school building projects, a local board of education or a local 
charter board has no further administrative appeal opportunity. 
 
R277-471-12.  Annual Construction and Inspection Conference. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall sponsor an annual school 
construction conference for representatives from each LEA and 
interested persons involved in the school building construction, 
design, operation, maintenance, safety and related industries. 
 (2)  Conference presenters and participants shall provide 
and discuss current information and training on public school 
building construction and inspection, including: 
 (a)  the design, construction, operation, and inspection 
process of public school buildings; 
 (b)  public school building site selection; 
 (c)  best building life-cycle costing; 

 (d)  construction inspection requirements and schedules; 
and 
 (e)  information to improve the existing public school 
building design, construction, operation, and safety inspection 
program. 
 
[R277-471-13.  School Plant Capital Outlay Report. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall prepare an annual School 
Plant Capital Outlay Report of all school construction projects 
completed and under construction, including information on the 
number and size of buildings. 
 (2)  An LEA shall prepare and submit the School Plant 
Capital Outlay Report to the Office of the State Auditor annually, by 
a date designated by the State Auditor. 
 (3)  The School Plant Capital Outlay Report shall include 
information as required by the Superintendent.] 
 
KEY:  educational facilities 
Date of Last Change:  2024[January 15, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 5, 2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(3); 53E-3-706; 53E-3-707; 10-9a-305; [17-27-105; 
]53F-2-202(4)(d) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-910 Filing ID:  
56327 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-910.  Underage Drinking and Substance Abuse 
Prevention Program 
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3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule is being amended to update criteria for selecting a 
provider for the Underage Drinking and Substance Abuse 
Prevention Program and to also update the general 
requirements of a Local Education Agency (LEA) when 
offering the program. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments specify that a vendor of the Underage 
Drinking and Substance Abuse Prevention Program must 
have prior experience in successfully reducing underage 
drinking and substance abuse. 
 
The amendments also remove the reporting requirements 
related to LEA assurances, and update language associated 
with the reporting requirements pertaining to the LEA 
Positive Behaviors Plan Annual Report. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
The changes relate to LEAs offering substance abuse 
prevention programs. 
 
There are no impacts to the Utah State Board of Education 
(USBE) budgets or other state entities. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
LEAs now have a slightly reduced reporting burden related 
to substance abuse prevention programs.  There are no 
measurable increased costs for LEAs related to the LEA 
behavior plans.  LEAs needing to make updates to their 
plan or report can do so through their regular course of 
operation. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This only impacts LEAs. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 

Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities.  
There are no measurable costs for any persons. 
 
The changes impact LEAs with substance abuse 
prevention programs. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. There 
are no measurable costs for any persons. 
 
The changes impact LEAs with substance abuse 
prevention programs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(4) 

Section 
53G-10-405 

Section 
53G-10-406 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/08/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/15/2024 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-910.  Underage Drinking and Substance Abuse Prevention 
Program. 
R277-910-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 

 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  [Subs]Section 53G-10-406 which directs the Board to 
establish rules regarding: 
 (i)  a requirement that an LEA offer the Underage Drinking 
and Substance Abuse Prevention Program each school year to each 
student in grade 4 or 5, grade 7 or 8, and grade 9 or 10; and 
 (ii)  the criteria for the board to use in selecting a provider 
for the Underage Drinking and Substance Abuse Prevention 
Program. 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to establish the criteria for 
selecting a provider for the Underage Drinking and Substance Abuse 
Prevention Program and general requirements of an LEA when 
offering the program. 
 
R277-910-2.  Criteria for Selecting a Provider. 
 (1)  The following criteria, along with the requirements 
found in Section 53G-10-406, shall be considered in selecting a 
provider for the Underage Drinking and Substance Abuse Prevention 
Program: 
 (a)  a program that is evidence-based including peer -
reviewed journals, national registries, and research; 
 (b)  a program that is focused on preventing underage 
consumption of alcohol and use of electronic cigarette products 
through a curriculum, course, or program that is taught through 
multiple days of instruction and not a one-time presentation. 
 (c)  a program that is delivered in the classroom by the 
classroom teacher or other trained professional; 
 (d)  a program that addresses behavioral risk factors 
associated with underage drinking and use of electronic cigarette 
products and integrates skills practice into the curriculum; and 
 (e)  a program that aligns with the core standards of the 
Utah Public School system. 
 (2)  The vendor of the Underage Drinking and Substance 
Abuse Prevention Program shall have prior experience in 
successfully reducing underage drinking and substance abuse.[: 
 (a)  have prior experience in successfully reducing 
underage drinking and substance abuse; and 
 (b)  be available for deployment beginning in the 2018-19 
school year.] 
 
R277-910-3.  Mandatory Offering of Underage Drinking and 
Substance Abuse Prevention Program. 
 (1)  An LEA shall offer to each student in grades 4 or 5, 
grades 7 or 8, and grades 9 or 10, respectively, the Underage Drinking 
and Substance Abuse Prevention Program procured by the Board. 
[ (2)  An LEA shall offer the Underage Drinking and 
Substance Abuse Prevention Program to students: 
 (a)  in grades 7 or 8 and grades 9 or 10; and 
 (b)  for students in grades 4 or 5, beginning in the 2021-22 
school year." 
 
R277-910-4.  Reporting Requirements. 
 (1)  An LEA shall report to the Superintendent annually 
regarding the general participation and deployment of the Underage 
Drinking and Substance Abuse Prevention Program. 
 (2)  The report shall be made via the Annual Assurances 
Document described in R277-108 and shall include: 
 (a)  if the Underage Drinking and Substance Abuse 
Prevention Program was offered to students each school year in 
grades 4 or 5, grades 7 or 8, and in grades 9 or 10; 
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 (b)  for grades 7 or 8 and grades 9 or 10 only, the name of 
the course where the Underage Drinking and Substance Abuse 
Prevention Program was offered including if it was offered as a stand-
alone course; and 
 (c)  if the instructor has attended the one time training for 
the Underage Drinking and Substance Abuse Prevention Program.] 
 
R277-910-[5]4.  LEA Positive Behaviors Plan Annual Report. 
 [(1)  ]An LEA governing Board shall submit an annual 
assurance to the [Board]Superintendent [as described in R277-108, 
]confirming that each school under the governing Board's jurisdiction 
has an approved positive behavior plan as prescribed by the 
Superintendent and as required in Subsection 53G-10-407(5)(b). 
 
KEY:  underage drinking prevention, substance abuse, alcohol, 
electronic cigarette products 
Date of Last Change:  2024[August 12, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 5, 2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(4); 53G-10-405; 53G-10-406 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R277-912 Filing ID:  
56328 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R277-912.  Law Enforcement Related Incident Reporting 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule change clarifies the requirements for Local 
Education Agency (LEA) law enforcement related incident 
reporting. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment specifically removes the language 
"Beginning in the 2022-2023 school year" from Section 
R277-912-2, LEA Reporting Requirements. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
state government revenues or expenditures. 
 
The change removes "beginning in the 2022-2023 school 
year" and has no fiscal impact to LEA reporting or Utah 
State Board of Education (USBE). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
The change removes "beginning in the 2022-2023 school 
year" and has no fiscal impact to LEA reporting. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
small businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This only impacts LEA reporting. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no non-small businesses in the industry in 
question, Elementary and Secondary Schools (North 
American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 611110).  
Because there are no non-small businesses, they do not 
account for any service delivery for Elementary and 
Secondary Schools.  Therefore, non-small businesses are 
not expected to receive increased or decreased revenues 
per year.  This proposed rule change is not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues 
or expenditures because there are no applicable non-
small businesses, and it does not require any expenditures 
of, or generate revenue for non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have fiscal impact on 
revenues or expenditures for persons other than small 
businesses, businesses, or local government entities. 
 
The change removes "beginning in the 2022-2023 school 
year" and has no fiscal impact to any individual. 
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F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
The change removes "beginning in the 2022-2023 school 
year" and has no fiscal impact to LEAs or any affected 
persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Superintendent of the Utah State Board of 
Education, Sydnee Dickson, has reviewed and approved 
this fiscal analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Article X, 
Section 3 

Subsection 
53E-3-401(3) 

Section 53E-3-516 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/08/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/15/2024 

 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-912.  Law Enforcement Related Incident Reporting. 
R277-912-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is authorized by: 
 (a)  Utah Constitution Article X, Section 3, which vests 
general control and supervision over public education in the Board; 
 (b)  Subsection 53E-3-401(4), which allows the Board to 
make rules to execute the Board's duties and responsibilities under 
the Utah Constitution and state law; and 
 (c)  S[ubs]ection 53E-3-516 which directs the Board to 
establish rules regarding a collaborative annual report meeting all the 
requirements of Subsection 53E-3-516(2). 
 (2)  The purpose of this rule is to generate the report 
required by S[ubs]ection 53E-3-516 and the form that the report may 
be accessed. 
 
R277-912-2.  LEA Reporting Requirements. 
 (1)  An LEA shall work with the Superintendent and the 
relevant law enforcement agencies and school personnel to collect 
the following data for incidents that occurred on school grounds 
while school is in session or during a school-sponsored activity: 
 (a)  arrests of a minor; 
 (b)  other law enforcement activities as defined in 
Subsection 53E-3-516(1); 
 (c)  disciplinary actions as defined in Subsection 53E-3-
516(1); and 
 (d)  all other data as outlined in [s]Subsections 53E-3-
516(3) and (4). 
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 (2)  An LEA shall collect the data in a form agreed upon by 
the Superintendent and the relevant law enforcement agencies. 
 (3)  An LEA shall report the data required to the 
Superintendent in a timely manner; 
 (4)  [Beginning in the 2022-2023 school year, a]An LEA 
shall report the data compiled for each school year to the 
Superintendent on or before September 1st of the year in which the 
school year ended. 
 (5)  An LEA shall report the data to the Superintendent as 
prescribed by the Superintendent. 
 
R277-912-3.  Annual Report Content and Access. 
 (1)  The Superintendent shall compile the data to form an 
aggregated report consistent with the requirements of Subsections 
53E-3-516(3), (4) and (5). 
 (2)  The report shall exclude all identifiable student 
information and data. 
 (3)  The report shall be compiled no later than November 
1st of each year in which the school year ended and provided to the 
board. 
 (4)  An external entity may request access to the data used 
to compile the report consistent with [Utah Code ]Title 63G, Chapter 
2, Government Records Access Management Act. 
 (5)  The Superintendent shall respond to the request within 
15 business days and provide the report within 30 business days of 
the request by providing the most recent data set available at the time 
of the request, so long as the data set is aggregated and no student 
identifiable information is included in the data set. 
 (6)  If the request is for the data being used for an upcoming 
report that is more than 30 days from being compiled, the 
Superintendent may wait longer than 30 days to provide the requested 
report. 
 
KEY:  incident reporting; law enforcement 
Date of Last Change:  2024[September 24, 2020] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 5, 2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Art X Sec 3; 
53E-3-401(3); 53E-3-516 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R315-320 Filing ID:  
56319 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Waste Management and Radiation 

Control, Waste Management 
Room number: 2nd Floor 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144880 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4880 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Tom Ball 385-

454-
5574 

tball@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R315-320.  Waste Tire Transporter and Recycler 
Requirements 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Division of Waste Management and Radiation 
Control, Waste Management (Division) is amending this 
rule to correct rule and statutory references, to provide 
clarifying language, and to amend rule language in 
accordance with legislation. 
 
The Division is also correcting typographical and rule 
formatting errors. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Language is being added to Subsection R315-320-1(1) to 
make it clear that waste tire transporters and recyclers are 
defined in statute. 
 
Language is being added to Subsection R315-320-1(3) to 
make it clear that the director or an authorized 
representative may enter and inspect a site to verify 
compliance with Rule R315-320. 
 
Definitions have been added to Section R315-320-2. 
 
Language is being added to Section R315-320-3 as 
required by H.B. 27 that was passed during the 2020 
General Session of the Utah Legislature.  The language 
changes the number of tires and the size of the tires that 
an individual can bring to a landfill at one time and clarifies 
other requirements for the landfill management of waste 
tires and material derived from waste tires. 
 
The citation to Subsection 19-6-804(4) found in 
Subsection R315-320-3(5) is being corrected to 
Subsection 19-6-804(5). 
 
Subsection R315-320-6(2) is being added to provide clear 
language in the rules regarding what is required by statute. 
Language is being added and removed from Section 
R315-320-7 to make it clear what is required by statute 
and as required by H.B. 236 that was passed during the 
2021 General Session of the Utah Legislature.  These 
rules govern the reimbursement for removal of a tire pile 
at a landfill or transfer station owned by a government 
entity or an abandoned tire pile and address the 
information that must be submitted to the Director to 
determine reasonability of a bid. 
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Additionally, formatting and typographical errors are being 
corrected. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to the state 
budget. 
 
The amended rule is clarifying administrative processes 
for waste tire recycling and transportation. 
 
The amendment does not add any new requirements.  
Reimbursement of costs is funded by the Waste Tire 
Recycling Fund and a revenue review associated with the 
statutory change was conducted as part of the legislative 
process and indicated that the fund would sustain the 
changes. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There are no anticipated costs or savings to local 
governments due to this amendment. 
 
The amended rule is clarifying administrative processes 
for waste tire recycling and transportation.  The 
amendment does not add any new requirements. 
 
Reimbursement of costs is funded by the Waste Tire 
Recycling Fund and a revenue review associated with the 
statutory change was conducted as part of the legislative 
process and indicated that the fund would sustain the 
changes. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to small 
businesses due to this amendment. 
 
The amended rule is clarifying administrative processes 
for waste tire recycling and transportation.  The 
amendment does not add any new requirements. 
 
Reimbursement of costs is funded by the Waste Tire 
Recycling Fund and a revenue review associated with the 
statutory change was conducted as part of the legislative 
process and indicated that the fund would sustain the 
changes. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to non-small 
businesses due to this amendment. 
 
The amended rule is clarifying administrative processes 
for waste tire recycling and transportation.  The 
amendment does not add any new requirements. 

Reimbursement of costs is funded by the Waste Tire 
Recycling Fund and a revenue review associated with the 
statutory change was conducted as part of the legislative 
process and indicated that the fund would sustain the 
changes. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings to persons other 
than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or 
local government entities due to this amendment. 
 
The amended rule is clarifying administrative processes 
for waste tire recycling and transportation.  The 
amendment does not add any new requirements. 
 
Reimbursement of costs is funded by the Waste Tire 
Recycling Fund and a revenue review associated with the 
statutory change was conducted as part of the legislative 
process and indicated that the fund would sustain the 
changes. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
The changes add clarification to requirements and policy 
with no fiscal impact on other entities. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Kim Shelley, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 19-6-105 Section 19-6-819  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/15/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Douglas J.  
Hansen, Division  
Director 

Date: 02/08/2024 

 
R315.  Environmental Quality, Waste Management and 
Radiation Control, Waste Management. 
R315-320.  Waste Tire Transporter and Recycler Requirements. 
R315-320-1.  Authority, Purpose, and Inspection. 
 (1)  [The]Requirements for waste tire transporters and 
recyclers, as defined by Section 19-6-803,[ requirements] are 
promulgated under the authority of the Waste Tire Recycling Act, 
Title 19, Chapter 6, and the Solid and Hazardous Waste Act Title 19, 
Chapter 6, to protect human health; to prevent land, air and water 
pollution; to conserve the state's natural, economic, and energy 
resources; and to promote recycling of waste tires. 

 (2)  Except for Subsections R315-320-4(7) and R315-320-
5(7), which apply to the application fees for the registration of a waste 
tire transporter and a waste tire recycler throughout the state, Rule 
R315-320 does not supersede any ordinance or regulation adopted by 
the governing body of a political subdivision or local health 
department if the ordinance or regulation is at least as stringent as 
Rule R315-320, nor does Rule R315-320 relieve a tire transporter or 
recycler from the requirement to meet [all]any applicable local 
ordinances or regulations. 
 (3)  The [D]director or an authorized representative may 
enter and inspect the site of a waste tire transporter or a waste tire 
recycler [as specified in Subsection R315-302-2(5)(b)]to verify 
compliance with Rule R315-320. 
 
R315-320-2.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in Rule R315-320 are defined in Sections 
R315-301-2 and 19-6-803.  In addition, for [the purpose of ]Rule 
R315-320, the following definitions apply: 
 (1)  "Abandoned waste tire pile" means a waste tire pile that 
the local department of health has not been able to: 
 (a)  locate the persons responsible for the tire pile; or 
 (b)  cause the persons responsible for the tire pile to remove 
the tire pile. 
 (2)  "Beneficial use" means the use of chipped tires in a 
manner that is not recycling, storage, or disposal, but that serves as a 
replacement for another product or material for specific purposes. 
 (a)  "Beneficial use" includes the use of chipped tires: 
 (i)  as daily landfill cover; 
 (ii)  for civil engineering purposes; 
 (iii)  as low density, light weight aggregate fill; or 
 (iv)  for septic or drain field construction. 
 (b)  "Beneficial use" does not include the use of waste tires 
for material derived from waste tires: 
 (i)  in the construction of fences; or 
 (ii)  as fill, other than low density, light weight aggregate 
fill. 
 (3)  "Chip" or "chipped tire" means a two-inch square or 
smaller piece of a waste tire. 
 [(1)](4)  "Demonstrated market" or "market" means the 
legal transfer of ownership of material derived from waste tires 
between a willing seller and a willing buyer meeting the following 
conditions: 
 (a)  total control of the material derived from waste tires is 
transferred from the seller to the buyer; 
 (b)  the transfer of ownership and control is an "arms length 
transaction" between a seller and a buyer who have no other business 
relationship or responsibility to each other; 
 (c)  the transaction is done under contract [which]that is 
documented and verified by orders, invoices, and payments; and 
 (d)  the transaction is at a price dictated by current 
economic conditions. 
 (e)  the possibility or potential of sale does not constitute a 
demonstrated market. 
 (5)  "Shredded waste tires" means waste tires or material 
derived from waste tires that has been reduced to a six-inch square or 
smaller. 
 (6)  "Waste tire" means: 
 (a)  a tire that is no longer suitable for the tire's original 
intended purpose because of wear, damage, or defect; or 
 (b)  a tire that a tire retailer removes from a vehicle for 
replacement with a new or used tire. 
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 [(2)](7)  "Waste tire generator" means a person, an 
individual, or an entity that may cause waste tires to enter the waste 
stream.  A waste tire generator may include: 
 (a)  a tire dealer, a car dealer, a trucking company, an owner 
or operator of an auto salvage yard, or other person, individual, or 
entity that removes or replaces tires on a vehicle; or 
 (b)  a tire dealer, a car dealer, a trucking company, an owner 
or operator of an auto salvage yard, a waste tire transporter, a waste 
tire recycler, a waste tire processor, a waste tire storage facility, or a 
disposal facility that receives waste tires from a person, an individual, 
or an entity. 
 (8)  "Waste tire pile" means a pile of 200 or more waste 
tires at one location. 
 
R315-320-3.  Landfill[ing] Management of Waste Tires and 
Material Derived from Waste Tires. 
 (1)  Disposal of waste tires or material derived from waste 
tires is prohibited except as allowed by Subsection R315-320-3(2) or 
R315-320-3(3). 
 (2)  Landfill[ing] Management of Whole Waste Tires. A 
landfill may not receive whole waste tires for disposal except as 
follows: 
 (a)  [waste tires delivered to a landfill ]no more than 
[four]12 whole tires with a rim diameter up to and including 24.5 
inches may be received at one time [by]from an individual, including 
a waste tire transporter, and shall be temporarily stored according to 
Subsection R315-320-3(3)(b);[ or] 
 (b)  waste tires from devices moved exclusively by human 
power may be disposed of in a landfill; [or]and 
 (c)  waste tires with a rim diameter greater than 24.5 inches 
may be disposed of in a landfill. 
 (3)  Landfilling of Waste Tires and Material Derived from 
Waste Tires. 
 (a)  A landfill, which has a permit issued by the [D]director, 
may receive material derived from waste tires for disposal, and whole 
waste tires for disposal according to Subsection R315-320-3(2). 
 (b)  Except for the beneficial use of material derived from 
waste tires at a landfill, whole waste tires and material derived from 
waste tires shall be [disposed]stored in a separate landfill cell or other 
area that is designed and constructed[, as approved by the Director,] 
to keep the material in a clean and accessible condition so that it can 
reasonably be retrieved from the cell for future recycling. 
 (4)  Reimbursement for Landfill[ing] Management of 
Shredded Tires. 
 (a)  The owner or operator of a permitted landfill may apply 
for reimbursement for landfill[ing] management of shredded tires as 
specified in [Subsection R315-320-6(1)]Section 19-6-812 of the 
Waste Tire Recycling Act. 
 (b)  To receive the reimbursement, the owner or operator of 
the landfill [must]may complete an application in accordance with 
Subsection 19-6-812(2) and shall meet the following conditions: 
 (i)  the waste tires shall be shredded; 
 (ii)  the shredded tires shall be stored in a 
[segregated]separate cell or other [landfill facility]area that ensures 
the shredded tires are in a clean and accessible condition so that they 
can be reasonably retrieved and recycled at a future time;[ and] 
 (iii)  the waste tires are generated from within the state; and 
 [(iii)  the design and operation of ](iv)  the landfill [cell or 
other landfill facility has been reviewed and approved by the Director 
prior to the acceptance of shredded tires]is operated in compliance 
with the Solid and Hazardous Waste Act and the applicable 
requirements of Rules R315-301 through R315-320. 

 (5)  Violation of Subsection R315-320-3(1), R315-320-
3(2), or R315-320-3(3) is subject to enforcement proceedings and a 
civil penalty as specified in Subsection 19-6-804[(4)](5). 
 
R315-320-4.  Waste Tire Transporter Requirements. 
 (1)  Each waste tire transporter who transports waste tires 
within [the state of ]Utah [must]shall apply for, receive and maintain 
a current waste tire transporter registration certificate from the 
[D]director. 
 (2)  Each applicant for registration as a waste tire 
transporter shall complete a waste tire transporter application form 
provided by the [D]director and provide the following information: 
 (a)  business name; 
 (b)  address to include: 
 (i)  mailing address; and 
 (ii)  site address if different from mailing address; 
 (c)  telephone number; 
 (d)  list of vehicles used, including the following: 
 (i)  description of vehicle; 
 (ii)  license number of vehicle; 
 (iii)  vehicle identification number; and 
 (iv)  name of registered owner; 
 (e)  name of business owner; 
 (f)  name of business operator; 
 (g)  list of sites [to which]where waste tires are to be 
transported; 
 (h)  liability insurance information as follows: 
 (i)  name of company issuing policy; 
 (ii)  amount of liability insurance coverage; and 
 (iii)  term of policy[.]; and 
 (i)  meet the requirements of Subsections R315-320-4(3)(b) 
and R315-320-4(3)(c). 
 (3)  A waste tire transporter shall: 
 (a)  demonstrate financial responsibility for bodily injury 
and property damage, including bodily injury and property damage 
to third parties caused by sudden or nonsudden accidental 
occurrences arising [form]from transporting waste tires.  The waste 
tire transporter shall have and maintain liability coverage for sudden 
or nonsudden accidental occurrences in the amount of $300,000; 
 (b)  for the initial application for a waste tire transporter 
registration or for any subsequent application for registration at a site 
not previously registered, demonstrate to the [D]director that [all]the 
local government requirements for a waste tire transporter have been 
met, including [obtaining]getting [all]any necessary permits or 
approvals where required; and 
 (c)  demonstrate to the [D]director that the waste tires 
transported by the transporter are taken to a registered waste tire 
recycler or that the waste tires are placed in a permitted waste tire 
storage facility that is in full compliance with the requirements of 
Rule R315-314.  [Filling]Filing [of ]a complete report as required in 
Subsection R315-320-4(9) shall constitute compliance with this 
requirement. 
 (4)  A waste tire transporter shall notify the [D]director of: 
 (a)  any change in liability insurance coverage within 
[5]five working days of the change; and 
 (b)  any other change in the information provided in 
Subsection R315-320-4(2) within 20 days of the change. 
 (5)  A registration certificate will be issued to an applicant 
following the: 
 (a)  completion of the application required by Subsection 
R315-320-4(2); 
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 (b)  presentation of proof of liability coverage as required 
by Subsection R315-320-4(3); and 
 (c)  payment of the fee as established by the Annual 
Appropriations Act. 
 (6)  A waste tire transporter registration certificate is not 
transferable and shall be issued for the term of one year. 
 (7)  If a waste tire transporter is required to be registered by 
a local government or a local health department: 
 (a)  the waste tire transporter may be assessed an annual 
registration fee by the local government or the local health 
department not to exceed to the following schedule: 
 (i)  for one through five trucks, $50; and 
 (ii)  $10 for each additional truck; 
 (b)  the [D]director shall issue a non-transferable 
registration certificate upon the applicant meeting the requirements 
of Subsections R315-320-4(2) and R315-320-4(3) and [shall]may not 
require the payment of the fee specified in Subsection R315-320-
4(5)(c), if the fee allowed in Subsection R315-320-4(7)(a) is paid; 
and 
 (c)  the registration certificate shall be valid for one year. 
 (8)  Waste tire transporters storing tires in piles [must]shall 
meet the requirements of Rule R315-314. 
 (9)  Reporting Requirements. 
 (a)  Each waste tire transporter shall submit a quarterly 
activity report to the [D]director.  The activity report shall be 
submitted on or before the 30th of the month following the end of 
each quarter. 
 (b)  The activity report shall contain the following 
information: 
 (i)  the number of waste tires collected at each waste tire 
generator, including the name, address, and telephone number of the 
waste tire generator; 
 (ii)  the number of tires shall be listed by the type of tire 
based on the following: 
 (A)  passenger[/] or light truck tires or tires with a rim 
diameter of 19.5 inches or less; 
 (B)  truck tires or tires ranging in size from 7.50x20 to 
12R24.5; and 
 (C)  other tires such as farm tractor, earth mover, 
motorcycle, golf cart, and ATV[, etc.]; 
 (iii)  the number or tons of waste tires shipped to each waste 
tire recycler or processor for a waste tire recycler, including the name, 
address, and telephone number of each recycler or processor; 
 (iv)  the number of tires shipped as used tires to be resold; 
 (v)  the number of waste tires placed in a permitted waste 
tire storage facility; and 
 (vi)  the number of tires disposed in a permitted landfill, or 
put to other legal use. 
 (c)  The activity report may be submitted in electronic 
format. 
 (10)  Revocation of Registration. 
 (a)  The registration of a waste tire transporter may be 
revoked upon the [D]director finding that: 
 (i)  the activities of the waste tire transporter that are 
regulated under Section R315-320-4 have been or are being 
conducted in a way that endangers human health or the environment; 
 (ii)  the waste tire transporter has made a material 
misstatement of fact in applying for or [obtaining]getting a 
registration as a waste tire transporter or in the quarterly activity 
report required by Subsection R315-320-4(9); 
 (iii)  the waste tire transporter has provided a recycler with 
a material misstatement of fact [which]that the recycler subsequently 

used as documentation in a request for partial reimbursement under 
Section 19-6-813; 
 (iv)  the waste tire transporter has violated [any provision 
of ]the Waste Tire Recycling Act, Title 19 Chapter 6, or any order, 
approval, or rule issued or adopter under the Waste Tire Recycling 
Act; 
 (v)  the waste tire transporter failed to meet or no longer 
meets the requirements of Section R315-320-4; 
 (vi)  the waste tire transporter has been convicted under 
[Subs]Section 19-6-822; or 
 (vii)  the waste tire transporter has had the registration from 
a local government or a local health department revoked. 
 (b)  Registration will not be revoked for submittal of 
incomplete information required for registration or a reimbursement 
request if the error was not a material misstatement. 
 (c)  For purposes of Subsection R315-320-4(10)(a), the 
statements, actions, or failure to act of a waste tire transporter shall 
include the statements, actions, or failure to act of any officer, 
director, agent or employee of the waste tire transporter. 
 (d)  The administrative procedures set forth in 
[Section]Rule R305-7 shall govern revocation of registration. 
 
R315-320-5.  Waste Tire Recycler Requirements. 
 (1)  Each waste tire recycler [requesting the reimbursement 
allowed by Subsection 19-6-809(1), must]shall apply for, receive, 
and maintain a current waste tire recycler registration certificate from 
the [D]director. 
 (2)  Each applicant for registration as a waste tire recycler 
shall complete a waste tire recycler application form provided by the 
[D]director and provide the following information: 
 (a)  business name; 
 (b)  address to include: 
 (i)  mailing address; and 
 (ii)  site address if different from mailing address; 
 (c)  telephone number; 
 (d)  owner name; 
 (e)  operator name; 
 (f)  description of the recycling process; 
 (g)  proof that the recycling process described in Subsection 
R315-320-5(2)(f) : 
 (i)  is being conducted at the site; or 
 (ii)  for the initial application for a recycler registration, that 
the recycler has the equipment in place and the ability to conduct the 
process at the site; 
 (h)  estimated number of tires to be recycled each year; 
 (i)  liability insurance information as follows: 
 (i)  name of company issuing policy; 
 (ii)  proof of the amount of liability insurance coverage; and 
 (iii)  term of policy; and 
 (j)  meet the requirements of Subsection R315-320-5(3)(b). 
 (3)  A waste tire recycler shall: 
 (a)  demonstrate financial responsibility for bodily injury 
and property damage, including bodily injury and property damage 
to third parties caused by sudden or nonsudden accidental 
occurrences arising from storing and recycling waste tires.  The waste 
tire recycler shall have and maintain liability coverage for sudden or 
nonsudden accidental occurrences in the amount of $300,000; and 
 (b)  for the initial application for a recycler registration or 
for any subsequent application for registration at a site not previously 
registered, demonstrate to the [D]director that [all]the local 
requirements for a waste tire recycler have been met, including 
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[obtaining]getting [all]any necessary permits or approvals where 
required. 
 (4)  A waste tire recycler shall notify the [D]director of: 
 (a)  any change in liability insurance coverage within 
[5]five working days of the change; and 
 (b)  any other change in the information provided in 
Subsection R315-320-5(2) within 20 days of the change. 
 (5)  A registration certificate will be issued to an applicant 
following the: 
 (a)  completion of the application required by Subsection 
R315-320-5(2); 
 (b)  presentation of proof of liability coverage as required 
by Subsection R315-320-5(3); and 
 (c)  payment of the fee as established by the Annual 
Appropriations Act. 
 (6)  A waste tire recycler registration certificate is not 
transferable and shall be issued for a term of one year. 
 (7)  If a waste tire recycler is required to be registered by a 
local government or a local health department: 
 (a)  the waste tire recycler may be assessed an annual 
registration fee by the local government or local health department 
according to the following schedule: 
 (i)  if up to 200 tons of waste tires are recycled per day, the 
fee [shall]may not exceed $300; 
 (ii)  if 201 to 700 tons of waste tires are recycled per day, 
the fee [shall]may not exceed $400; or 
 (iii)  if over 700 tons of waste tires are recycled per day, the 
fee [shall]may not exceed $500. 
 (b)  The [D]director shall issue a non-transferable 
registration certificate upon the applicant meeting the requirements 
of Subsections R315-320-5(2) and R315-320-5(3) and [shall]may not 
require the payment of the fee specified in Subsection R315-320-
5(5)(c), if the fee allowed by Subsection R315-320-5(7)(a) is paid. 
 (c)  The registration certificate shall be valid for one year. 
 (8)  Waste tire recyclers [must]shall meet the requirements 
of Rule R315-314 for waste tires stored in piles. 
 (9)  Revocation of Registration. 
 (a)  The registration of a waste tire recycler may be revoked 
upon the [D]director finding that: 
 (i)  the activities of the waste tire recycler that are regulated 
under Section R315-320-5 have been or are being conducted in a way 
that endangers human health or the environment; 
 (ii)  the waste tire recycler has made a material 
misstatement of fact in applying for or [obtaining]getting a 
registration as a waste tire recycler; 
 (iii)  the waste tire recycler has made a material 
misstatement of fact in applying for partial reimbursement under 
Section 19-6-813; 
 (iv)  the waste tire recycler has violated [any provision of 
]the Waste Tire Recycling Act, Title 19 Chapter 6, or any order, 
approval, or rule issued or adopted under the Waste Tire Recycling 
Act; 
 (v)  the waste tire recycler has failed to meet or no longer 
meets the requirements of Subsection R315-320-5(1); 
 (vi)  the waste tire recycler has been convicted under 
[Subs]Section 19-6-822; or 
 (vii)  the waste tire recycler has had the registration from a 
local government or a local health department revoked. 
 (b)  Registration will not be revoked for submittal of 
incomplete information required for registration or a reimbursement 
request if the error was not a material misstatement. 

 (c)  For purposes of Subsection R315-320-5(9)(a), the 
statements, action, or failure to act of a waste tire recycler shall 
include the statements, actions, or failure to act of any officer, 
director, agent, or employee of the waste tire recycler. 
 (d)  The administrative procedures set forth in 
[Section]Rule R305-7 shall govern revocation of registration. 
 
R315-320-6.  Reimbursement for Recycling Waste Tires. 
 (1)  No partial reimbursement request submitted by a waste 
tire recycler for the first time, or the first time a specific recycling 
process or a beneficial use activity is used, shall be approved by a 
local health department under Section 19-6-813 until the local health 
department has received from the [D]director a written certification 
that the [D]director has determined the processing of the waste tires 
is recycling or a beneficial use.  If the reimbursement request contains 
sufficient information, the [D]director shall make the recycling or 
beneficial use determination and notify the local health department 
in writing within 15 days of receiving the request for determination. 
 (2)  Requests for partial reimbursement by a waste tire 
recycler, including first time requests according to Subsection R315-
320-6(1), and subsequent requests, should follow the procedures of 
Sections 19-6-809, 19-6-813, 19-6-814, and 19-6-815. 
 [(2)](3)  No partial reimbursement may be requested or 
paid for waste tires that were generated in Utah and recycled at an 
out-of-state location except as allowed by Subsection 19-6-
809(1)(a)(ii)(C) or 19-6-809(1)(a)(ii)(D). 
 [(3)](4)  In addition to any other penalty imposed by law, 
any person who knowingly or intentionally provides false 
information required by Section R315-320-5 or Section R315-320-6 
shall be ineligible to receive any reimbursement and shall return to 
the Division of Finance any reimbursement previously received that 
was [obtained]received through the use of false information. 
 
R315-320-7.  Reimbursement for the Removal of a Tire Pile at a 
Landfill or Transfer Station Owned by a Governmental Entity or 
an Abandoned Tire Pile[ or a Tire Pile at a Landfill Owned by a 
Governmental Entity]. 
 (1)  A county or municipality applying for payment for 
removal of an abandoned tire pile or a tire pile at a county or 
municipal owned landfill or transfer station shall meet the 
requirements of Section 19-6-811. 
 (2)  Determination of Reasonability of a Bid. 
 (a)  The following items shall be submitted to the 
[D]director when requesting a determination of reasonability of a bid 
as specified in Subsections 19-6-811(1), 19-6-811(3), and 19-6-
811(4): 
 (i)  a copy of the bid or bids; 
 (ii)  the location and approximate size of the waste tire pile; 
 (iii)  for waste tire removal from a landfill or transfer station 
owned by a county or municipality, a statement: 
 (A)  confirming that the waste tires were received at the 
landfill or transfer station; 
 (B)  confirming that the waste tire pile consists solely of 
waste tires diverted from the landfill or transfer station waste stream; 
and 
 (C)  landfill or transfer station waste receipt records 
indicating the origin of the waste tires; 
 (iv)  for waste tire removal from an abandoned waste tire 
pile [ 
 (ii)  ]a letter from the local health department stating that 
the tire pile is abandoned[ or that the tire pile is at a landfill owned or 
operated by a governmental entity]; and 
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 [(iii)](v)  a written statement from the county or 
municipality that the bidding was conducted according to the legal 
requirements for competitive bidding. 
 (b)  The [D]director will review the submitted 
documentation in accordance with Subsection 19-6-811(4) and will 
inform the county or municipality if the bid is reasonable. 
 (c)  A determination of reasonability of the bid will be made 
and the county or municipality notified within 30 days of receipt of 
the request by the [D]director. 
 (d)  A bid determined to be unreasonable [shall]may not be 
[deemed]considered eligible for reimbursement. 
 (3)  If the [D]director determines that the bid to remove 
waste tires from a landfill owned or operated by a government entity 
or from an abandoned waste tire pile [or from a waste tire pile at a 
landfill owned or operated by a governmental entity ]is reasonable[ 
and that there are sufficient monies in the trust fund to pay the 
expected reimbursements for the transportation, recycling, or 
beneficial use under Section 19-6-809 during the next quarter], the 
[D]director may authorize reimbursement of a waste tire transporter's 
or recycler's costs to remove waste tires and deliver the waste tires to 
a recycler according to Subsection R315-320-7(6).[a maximum 
reimbursement of: 
 (a)  100% of a waste tire transporter's or recycler's costs 
allowed under Subsection 19-6-811(2) to remove the waste tires from 
the waste tire pile and deliver the waste tires to a recycler if no waste 
tires have been added to the waste tire pile after June 30, 2001; or 
 (b)  60% of a waste tire transporter's or recycler's costs 
allowed under Subsection 19-6-811(2) to remove the waste tires from 
the waste tire pile and deliver the waste tires to a recycler if waste 
tires have been added to the waste tire pile after June 30, 2001.] 
 (4)  An operator of a state or local government landfill or 
transfer station shall submit to the director an application for 
reimbursement, including: 
 (a)  the number of tons of waste tires removed from the 
landfill or transfer station; 
 (b)  the location that the waste tires were removed from; 
 (c)  the recycler where the waste tires were delivered; and 
 (d)  if applicable, the amount charged by a third party waste 
tire transporter or recycler to transport the waste tires to the recycler. 
 (5)  The recycler or waste tire transporter that removed the 
abandoned waste tires pursuant to the bid shall submit to the director 
an application for reimbursement, including: 
 (a)  the number of tons of waste tires transported; 
 (b)  the location they were removed from; 
 (c)  the recycler where the waste tires were delivered; and 
 (d)  the amount charged by the transporter or recycler. 
 (6)  Upon receipt of the information required under 
Subsection R315-320-7(4) or R315-320-7(5), and determination that 
the information is complete, the director shall, within 30 days after 
receipt, authorize the Division of Finance to reimburse the waste tire 
transporter or recycler. 
 (7)  A person reimbursed for the removal of a waste tire pile 
under Section R315-320-7 may not be reimbursed for storage of 
those waste tires under Section R315-320-3 or recycling of those 
waste tires under Section R315-320-6. 
 
KEY:  solid waste management, waste disposal 
Date of Last Change:  2024[April 25, 2013] 
Notice of Continuation:  November 30, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-6-105; 
19-6-819 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R337-5 Filing ID:  
56311 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Financial Institutions 
Agency: Credit Unions 
Street address: 324 S. State Street 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84110 

Mailing address: PO Box 89 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2923 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Paul Allred 801-

538-
8837 

pallred@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R337-5.  Allowance for Loan and Lease Losses - Credit 
Unions 
 
3.  Reason for this change: 
The current expected credit loss (CECL) model under 
Accounting Standards Update (ASU) 2016-13 has been 
implemented to simplify US GAAP and provide for more 
timely recognition of credit losses. 
 
As a result, CECL was adopted for all federally insured 
credit unions by the NCUA.  The NCUA created an 
exception to CECL for credit unions under $10,000, 000 in 
assets. 
 
This amendment is necessary to allow state-charted credit 
unions with assets less than $10,000,000 to continue to 
use the incurred loss model. 
 
4.  Summary of this change: 
The rule is amended to make it applicable for state-
chartered credit unions with assets less than $10,000,000. 
 
This amendment maintains the current methodology to 
determine the amounts needed in the allowance account 
for all state-chartered credit unions with assets less than 
$10,000,000 under the jurisdiction of the Department of 
Financial Institutions in accordance with changes in the 
industry and federal law. 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No impact on the state budget as compliance with this rule 
affects the financial institutions themselves not any state 
department. 
 
B)  Local government: 

The rule does not affect local governments, therefore, 
there are no cost or savings to any local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no fiscal impact because the amendment to this 
rule brings this rule into compliance with federal law. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no fiscal impact because the amendment to this 
rule brings this rule into compliance with federal law. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no fiscal impact because the amendment to this 
rule brings this rule into compliance with federal law. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons: 

There is no fiscal impact because the amendment to this 
rule brings this rule into compliance with federal law. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Financial 
Institutions, Darryle Rude, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 7-9-29   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

4/8/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Darryle Rude,  
Commissioner 

Date: 02/07/2024 

 
R337.  Financial Institutions, Credit Unions. 
R337-5.  Allowance for Loan and Lease Losses - Credit Unions. 
R337-5-1.  Authority, Scope and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is issued pursuant to Section 7-9-29. 
 (2)  This rule applies to all state-chartered credit unions 
with assets less than $10,000,000. 
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 (3)  This rule requires the allowance account for loan and 
lease losses (ALLL) be maintained[ in accordance with Generally 
Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP)]. 
 
R337-5-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Adjusted Loss" means the historical loss adjusted for 
economic or other factors. 
 (2)  "Historical Loss" means the ratio of loan losses (actual 
losses less recoveries) to the average total loans outstanding for the 
period. 
 (3)  "Homogeneous Loan Pools" means groups of loans 
sharing common risk factors. 
 (4)  "In process of collection" means collection of the debt 
is proceeding in due course either through legal action, including 
judgment enforcement procedures, or, in appropriate circumstances, 
through collection efforts not involving legal action which are 
reasonably expected to result in repayment of the debt or in its 
restoration to a current status in the near future. 
 (5)  "Well secured" means a debt that is secured by: 
 (a)  collateral with sufficient realizable value to discharge 
the debt in full, including accrued interest; or 
 (b)  the guarantee of a financially responsible party. 
 
R337-5-3.  Allowance Account for Loan and Lease Losses. 
 (1)  Each credit union is required to establish and maintain 
a methodology to determine the amount needed in an allowance 
account for loan and lease losses[ in accordance with GAAP].  The 
account should be shown on the books as a contra-asset account, not 
an equity account.  In determining the appropriate allowance account 
balance, each credit union shall: 
 (a)  Separate the loan portfolio into homogeneous loan 
pools based upon common risk factors; 
 (b)  Calculate the net loss percentage of each pool, using 
the historical loss or adjusted loss method, and apply that percentage 
to all loans in that pool; 
 (c)  Individually classify loans with unique characteristics; 
and 
 (d)  Add the resulting amounts to determine the amount 
needed in the ALLL. 
 (2)  At least annually, the method used by the credit union 
to determine the ALLL must be validated by a qualified party 
independent from the estimation process. 
 (3)  Sufficient documentation must be maintained to 
support the methodology and allow the ALLL to be validated. 
 (4)  In conjunction with this rule, the credit union's Board 
of Directors must adopt a policy ensuring that loans are written off in 
a timely manner.  The policy should include as a minimum a 
requirement that loans be charged off at 180 days past due unless well 
secured and in the process of collection. 
 (5)  Whenever the allowance account for loan and lease 
losses is materially less than or greater than collection problem loans 
or does not fairly represent the estimated losses in the portfolio, an 
immediate adjustment shall be made for the amount of the deficiency 
or surplus.  Adjustments to the account will be accomplished by debit 
or credit entries to a "Provision for Loan Losses" expense account in 
accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. 
 (6)  At the close of each accounting period and prior to the 
payment of a dividend, a credit union shall make a placement to the 
regular reserve as required by Section 7-9-30.  After the required 
placement has been made, unless the credit union is under prompt 
corrective action, a credit union may transfer from the regular reserve 

to undivided earnings, the amount that has been expended to the 
provision for loan and lease losses during the same period. 
 (7)  The regular reserve and allowance for loan and lease 
losses shall not be combined for purposes of calculating the 
placement to the regular reserve as required by Section 7-9-30. 
 
KEY:  credit unions, loans 
Date of Last Change:  2024[September 5, 2003] 
Notice of Continuation:  August 29, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  7-9-29 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:  Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R426-7 Filing ID:  
56323 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Population Health, Emergency Medical 

Services 
Room number: 2438 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142004 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2004 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dean Penovich 801-

913-
2621 

dpenovich@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R426-7.  Emergency Medical Services Prehospital Data 
System Rules 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this change is to remove the Emergency 
Department data set from this rule, as it already exists 
within another Department of Health and Human Services' 
(Department) rule. 
 
This change also adds language to require reporting on 
the newest NEMSIS dataset and updates the state's 
dataset to the newest version. 
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The change alters the reporting time from a rolling 30 days 
to 7 days. 
 
This change requires data to meet different standards and 
to be reconciled monthly. 
 
This change clarifies that all data systems are compliant 
and submitting the data in a timelier manner, increasing 
data quality. 
 
The change also aligns Utah with national standards, 
reflecting major updates to the national reporting system 
since the rule's previous update in 2016. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This amendment will change the reporting time frame from 
30 days to 7 days, remove the Emergency Department 
data set, update required data collection to NEMSIS 3.5, 
alter required standards of completion and frequency of 
reconciliation, and remove the one-hour time requirement 
for sharing data with hospitals. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or benefit to the state budget, 
as this rule is clerical in nature and will have no impact on 
how the Department or other involved state parties 
function. 
 
The data system vendor did not increase costs due to 
these national changes. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 
 
This rule change only clarifies pre-existing requirements 
for districts. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change may result in a slight inestimable fiscal 
cost for small businesses, as they will be required to collect 
higher quality data in a timelier manner. 
 
The data system vendor did not increase costs due to 
these national changes, so any potential impacts would 
likely be due to an increased workload for employees. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change may result in a slight inestimable fiscal 
cost for non-small businesses, as they will be required to 
collect higher quality data in a timelier manner. 

The data system vendor did not increase costs due to 
these national changes, so any potential impacts would 
likely be due to an increased workload for employees. 
  
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
other persons. 
 
This rule change only clarifies pre-existing requirements 
for districts. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
The changes simply add clarification to requirements and 
policy with no fiscal impact on other entities. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 
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Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-4-106   

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

NEMSIS Data Dictionary National  
Highway Traffic Safety Administration  
(NHTSA) version 3.5 

Publisher NEMSIS 

Issue Date 03/17/23 

Issue or Version V 3.5.0 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

NEMSIS V3 State Data Set Utah  
NEMSIS Version 3.5 

Publisher NEMSIS 

Issue Date 10/05/23 

Issue or Version V3 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/08/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 02/11/2024 

 
R426.  Health and Human Services, Population Health, 
Emergency Medical Services. 
R426-7.  Emergency Medical Services Prehospital Data System 
Rules. 
[R426-7-3.  ED Data Set. 
 (1)  All hospitals licensed in Utah shall provide patient data 
as identified by the Department. 
 (2)  This data shall be submitted at least quarterly to the 
Department.  Corporate submittal is preferred. 
 (3)  The data must be submitted in an electronic format 
determined and approved by the Department. 
 (4)  If the Department determines that there are errors in the 
data, it may return the data to the data supplier for corrections.  The 
data supplier shall correct the data and resubmit it to the Department 
within 30 days of receipt from the Department.  If data is returned to 
the hospital for corrections, the hospital is not in compliance with this 
rule until corrected data is returned, accepted and approved by the 
Department. 
 (5)  The minimum required data elements include: 
 Unique Patient Control Number 
 Record Type 
 Provider Identifier (hospital) 
 Patient Social Security Number 
 Patient Control Number 
 Type of Bill 
 Patient Name 
 Patient's Address (postal zip code) 
 Patient Date of Birth 
 Patient's Gender 
 Admission Date 
 Admission Hour 
 Discharge Hour 
 Discharge Status 
 Disposition from Hospital 
 Patient's Medical Record Number 
 Revenue Code 1 ("001" sum of all charges) 
 Total Charges by Revenue Code 1 ("001" last total Charge 
Field, is sum) 
 Revenue Code 2 ("450" used for record selection) 
 Total Charges by Revenue Code 2 (Charges associated with 
code 450) 
 Primary Payer Identification 
 Estimated Amount Due 
 Secondary Payer Identification 
 Estimated Amount Due 
 Tertiary Payer Identification 
 Estimated Amount Due 
 Patient Estimated Amount Due 
 Principal Diagnosis Code 
 Secondary Diagnosis Code 1 
 Secondary Diagnosis Code 2 
 Secondary Diagnosis Code 3 
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 Secondary Diagnosis Code 4 
 Secondary Diagnosis Code 5 
 Secondary Diagnosis Code 6 
 Secondary Diagnosis Code 7 
 Secondary Diagnosis Code 8 
 External Cause of Injury Code (E-Code) 
 Procedure Coding Method Used 
 Principal Procedure 
 Secondary Procedure 1 
 Secondary Procedure 2 
 Secondary Procedure 3 
 Secondary Procedure 4, and 
 Secondary Procedure 5 
 
R426-7-4.  Penalty for Violation of Rule. 
 As required by Section 63G-3-201(5):  Any person or 
agency who violates any provision of this rule, per incident, may be 
assessed a penalty as provided in Section 26B-1-224.] 
 
R426-7-1[00].  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  [This rule is established under Title 26B, Chapter 4, 
Part 1.]Section 26B-4-106 authorizes this rule. 
 (2)  [The purpose of t]This rule [is to ]establishes minimum 
mandatory emergency medical service (EMS) data reporting 
requirements. 
 (3)  Persons providing emergency medical services shall 
provide data to the Department of Health and Human Services 
(department) as identified in this rule. 
 
R426-7-2[00].  Prehospital Data Set. 
 (1)  [Emergency medical service providers shall collect 
data as identified by the Department in this rule.]Each EMS provider 
shall collect and report all data as specified by the department. 
 (2)  [Emergency Medical Services]Each EMS 
[P]provider[s] shall submit [the ]data to the [D]department 
electronically in the National Emergency Medical Services 
Information System (NEMSIS) format for every dispatch instance[,] 
regardless of patient disposition.[  In cases of mass casualty, data is 
required for every individual with whom EMS had contact, whether 
care was given or refused.] 
 (a)  Each EMS provider shall report data for every 
individual with whom the EMS provider has contact, whether care 
was given or refused, including in the case of a mass casualty event. 
 (b)  Stand-by or special events are exempt from this section. 
 [(3)  The Department adopts by reference the National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Uniform Pre-
Hospital Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Dataset version 3.4 
published in 2015 and the Utah NEMSIS 3.4 Elements and Values 
List published in 2016. 
 (4)  Emergency Medical Services Providers shall submit 
NEMSIS Demographic data elements within 30 days after the end of 
each calendar quarter in the format defined in the NEMSIS 
EMSDemographicDataSet.  Some data may change less frequently 
than quarterly, but Emergency Medical Services Providers shall 
submit all required data elements quarterly regardless of whether the 
data have changed.  For Emergency Medical Services Providers 
directly using a reporting system provided by the Department, the 
data is considered submitted to the Department as soon as it has been 
entered or updated in the Department-provided system. 
 (5)  Emergency Medical Services Providers shall submit 
NEMSIS EMS incident data elements for each Patient Care Report 
in the format defined in the NEMSIS EMSDataSet, as follows: 

incidents occurring between the 1st and 15th of a calendar month 
shall be submitted no later than the last day of the same calendar 
month; incidents occurring between the 16th and last day of a 
calendar month shall be submitted no later than the 15th of the 
following calendar month. 
 (a)  For Emergency Medical Services Providers directly 
using a reporting system provided by the Department, the data is 
considered submitted to the Department as soon as it has been entered 
or updated in the Department-provided system. 
 (b)  Emergency Medical Services Providers shall provide 
the Department 90 days notice when changing reporting systems. 
 (6)  If the Department determines that there are errors in the 
data, it may ask the data supplier for corrections.  The data supplier 
shall correct the data and resubmit it to the Department within 30 
days of receipt from the Department.  If data is returned to the 
supplier for corrections, the Emergency Medical Services Provider is 
not in compliance with this rule until corrected data is returned, 
accepted and approved by the Department.](3)  The department 
incorporates by reference: 
 (a)  NEMSIS Data Dictionary National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration (NHTSA) version 3.5; and 
 (b)  NEMSIS V3 State Data Set Utah NEMSIS Version 3.5. 
 (4)  An EMS provider shall use a NEMSIS compliant EMS 
reporting system, unless written arrangements are made with the 
department. 
 (5)  An EMS provider shall submit NEMSIS demographic 
data elements within 30 days after the end of each calendar quarter 
and in the format defined in the NEMSIS EMS Demographic Data 
Set. 
 (a)  An EMS provider shall submit NEMSIS demographic 
data in the state EMS licensing system. 
 (b)  An EMS provider shall make all demographic changes 
in the state EMS licensing system. 
 (c)  The department may consider an EMS provider's data 
submitted after it has been entered or updated in the department-
provided system. 
 (6)  Each EMS provider shall submit NEMSIS EMS 
incident data elements for each patient care report (PCR) in the 
format defined in the NEMSIS EMS data set within seven days of the 
incident occurring. 
 (a)  The department may consider data submitted as soon 
as it has been directly entered or updated in the department-provided 
system. 
 (b)  Each EMS provider shall submit incident data with at 
least 90% of each submission complete with correct information in 
the state system for the submission to be considered correct and 
complete. 
 (c)  Each EMS provider shall configure its electronic 
patient care report (ePCR) systems to correctly send incidents as soon 
as they are completed and not wait until the record has been billed. 
 (7)  Each EMS provider shall reconcile NEMSIS EMS 
incident data monthly via email for each PCR for the prior month's 
ePCR count. 
 (a)  If there are no incidents to report for the previous 
month, the EMS provider shall report confirmation of no data within 
seven days after the previous month ends. 
 (b)  The department shall provide monthly reports to the 
EMS provider on completeness for ePCRs with less than 90% 
complete and correct. 
 [(7)](8)  [Emergency Medical Services Providers]Each 
EMS provider[ are not required to] may submit [other ]optional 
NEMSIS data elements[ but may optionally do so]. 
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 (9)  Each EMS provider shall notify the department at least 
90 calendar days before changing reporting systems. 
 [(8)](10)  For each patient an EMS provider transport[ed]s 
to a [licensed acute care facility or a specialty hospital with an 
emergency department]hospital or patient receiving facility, [each 
responding emergency medical services ]the EMS provider[ unit that 
cared for the patient during the incident] shall [provide a ]report [of 
]the patient status[,] containing information critical to the ongoing 
care of the patient[,] upon transfer.[to the receiving facility within one 
hour after the patient arrives at the receiving facility in at least one of 
the following formats: 
 (a)  NEMSIS XML; or 
 (b)  Paper form.] 
 [(9)](11)  For each patient an EMS provider transport[ed]s 
to a [licensed acute care facility or a specialty hospital with an 
emergency department]hospital or patient receiving facility, the 
hospital or patient receiving facility shall provide [at least ]the 
following information for that patient to [each Emergency Medical 
Services Provider]the EMS provider[ that cared for the patient,] 
within 24 hours of request[ by the Emergency Medical Services 
Provider]: 
 (a)  [T]the patient's emergency department disposition; 
 (b)  the patient's hospital disposition;[ and] 
 (c)  the patient's demographic information, including 
payment source;[.] and 
 (d)  a hospital face sheet. 
 
R426-7-3.  Penalty for Violation of Rule. 
 Any person who violates any provision of this rule may be 
assessed a penalty as provided in Section 26B-1-224. 
 
KEY:  emergency medical services 
Date of Last Change:  2024[November 5, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 24, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [26B, 
Chapter 4, Part 1]26B-4-106, 26B-1-224 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R651-301 Filing ID:  
56329 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: State Parks 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146001 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Melanie 
Shepherd 

801-538-
7418 

melaniemshepherd@utah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R651-301.  State Recreation Fiscal Assistance Programs 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule has moved to the Division of Outdoor Recreation 
(DOR). 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is being repealed and has moved to DOR rules. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The repeal of this rule does not affect the state budget. 
 
This rule is moving to DOR and will have no effect on the 
Division of State Parks (Division). 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The repeal of this rule does not affect local governments. 
 
This rule is moving to DOR and will have not have an effect 
on the Division. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect small businesses. 
 
This rule is moving to DOR and will have not have an effect 
on the Division. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect non-small 
businesses. 
 
This rule is moving to DOR and will have not have an effect 
on the Division. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect persons other than 
small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities. 
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This rule is moving to DOR and will have not have an effect 
on the Division. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The repeal of this rule does not affect compliance costs for 
affected persons. 
 
This rule is moving to DOR and will have not have an effect 
on the Division. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 

Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 41-21-1 Section 41-22-19  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/08/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Scott Strong,  
Interim Director 

Date: 02/08/2024 

 
R651.  Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation. 
[R651-301.  State Recreation Fiscal Assistance Programs. 
R651-301-1.  Authority and Effective Date. 
 (a)  These rules are established pursuant to Section 41-22-
1, and Section 41-22-19, and apply to the following state funded 
recreation fiscal assistance programs: 
 (1)  Off Highway Vehicles Fiscal Incentive Grant 
 (2)  Off-highway Access and Education 
 (b)  These rules govern procedures for fiscal assistance 
applications, priorities, and project selection criteria commencing on 
or after April 15, 2000. 
 
R651-301-2.  Definitions. 
 (a)  "Advisory Council" means Off-Highway Vehicle 
Advisory Council. 
 (b)  "Board" means the Utah Board of Parks and 
Recreation. 
 (c)  "Division" means the Utah Division of Parks and 
Recreation. 
 (d)  "OHV Program" means the Off-Highway Vehicle 
Program of the Utah Division of Parks and Recreation. 
 (e)  "Small Grant" means any request of less than $12,500. 
 
R651-301-3.  Fiscal Assistance Application Process. 
 (a)  Deadline for submission of applications is May 1 
annually, except for Small Grant applications, which have deadlines 
of January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15 annually.  
Submissions post-marked on or before that date will be eligible for 
funding consideration. 
 (b)  Applications are to be submitted on a form to be 
provided by the Division. 
 (c)  Applications must be submitted to: 
 Utah Division of Parks and Recreation 
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 Attention:  Grants Coordinator 
 1594 West North Temple, Suite 116 
 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6001 
 (d)  Eligible applicants include: 
 (1)  Off-Highway Vehicle Fiscal Incentive Grant Program 
 (i)  Federal government agencies 
 (ii)  State agencies 
 (iii)  Cities and towns 
 (iv)  Counties 
 (v)  Organized User Group pursuant to 41-22-2(15) 
 (2)  Off-highway Access and Education Program 
 (i)  Charitable organizations meeting the requirements 
pursuant to Subsection 41-22-19.5(6). 
 
R651-301-4.  Fiscal Assistance Program Requirements. 
 (a)  Except as otherwise provided in R651-301, all 
programs may require matching funds in an amount up to 50%. 
 (b)  An applicant match for the project may include: 
 (1)  cash; 
 (2)  equipment; or 
 (3)  materials, including donated material valued at the fair 
market value based on an appraisal that is approved by the Division; 
or 
 (4)  labor, including: 
 (i)  donated labor based on a general laborer rate that the 
project sponsor pays an employee of similar experience and 
performing similar duties, or 
 (ii)  professionally skilled labor based on a rate normally 
paid for performing this service; or 
 (5)  donated land from a third party to be exclusively used 
for the proposed project valued at the fair market value based on an 
appraisal that is approved by the Division.  When this is the case, the 
wage rate normally paid for performing this service may be charged 
to the project. 
 (c)  Recreational trails that are on lands under the control 
of the Division must comply pursuant to Section 79-5-304, and 
require public hearings in the area of proposed trail development. 
 (d)  Program funds may be used for land acquisition, 
development, and planning.  Off-highway vehicle funds may also be 
used for education, operation and maintenance.  No administrative or 
indirect costs are allowed.  Projects funded with Off-highway Access 
and Education Program funds must be designed to protect access to 
public lands by motor vehicle and off-highway vehicle operators, and 
to educate the public about appropriate off-highway vehicle use. 
 (i)  Annual registration fees as provided in Section R651-
406-1, the excess of $18 per all-terrain vehicle, off-highway 
motorcycle, and street-legal all-terrain vehicle shall be dedicated to 
the Off-Highway Vehicle Fiscal Incentive Grant Program. 
 (ii)  The Off-Highway Vehicle Fiscal Incentive Grant 
Program shall fund motorized trails pursuant to Subsection 41-22-
19(1)(c) except for the following uses as they benefit off-highway 
vehicle recreation: 
 Administration by the OHV Program up to 7% 
 Access protection up to 20% 
 Search and rescue up to 5% 
 Tourism up to 5% 
 Education up to 5% 
 Other uses that further the policy set forth pursuant to 41-
22-1up to 5% 
 (iii)  Projects funded with Off-highway Access and 
Education Program funds must be designed to protect access to 

public lands by motor vehicle and off-highway vehicle operators, and 
to educate the public about appropriate off-highway vehicle use. 
 (e)  Not more than 75% of program funds may be advanced 
to the project sponsor, and only after official notice to the Division is 
made by the sponsor that project costs will be incurred within sixty 
days. 
 (f)  The balance of funding shall be provided to sponsors at 
the project completion, and only after a final accounting is made to 
the Division of total project costs. 
 (g)  Off-highway Access and Education Program funds are 
exempt from the matching requirements of this rule. 
 
R651-301-5.  Project Selection Procedures. 
 (a)  Advisory Councils shall make recommendations to the 
Division concerning the project selection criteria and the priority of 
projects selected for funding. 
 (b)  The Division shall review eligible applications, 
evaluate projects based on priority criteria, and submit project 
description information, proposed funding recommendations and 
justification to the appropriate Advisory Council for review and 
comments. 
 (c)  The Board shall select and approve projects based on 
recommendations from the Division and Advisory Councils, which 
may be in the form of joint or separate recommendations. 
 
R651-301-6.  Priorities and Project Selection Criteria. 
 (a)  Applicants shall be evaluated on administrative 
considerations, such as prior project performance and proper use of 
funds. 
 (b)  Applications shall be evaluated on meeting legislative 
intent, and meeting outdoor recreation needs. 
 (c)  Applications shall be evaluated on cooperative efforts 
of the project among agencies and user groups.  This includes 
cooperative funding. 
 (d)  Location of the proposed project site shall be evaluated 
based on proximity to the majority of users, adequacy of access to the 
site, safety, linking similar existing facilities, and convenience to 
users. 
 (e)  Projects that promote multiple season use for maximum 
year-round participation and multiple uses or users. 
 
KEY:  recreation, fiscal, assistance 
Date of Last Change:  April 7, 2020 
Notice of Continuation:  March 23, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  41-22-1; 41-
22-19] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R746-312 Filing ID:  
56315 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Service Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Hammer 801-

530-
6729 

michaelhammer@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R746-312.  Electrical Interconnection 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Section R746-312-16, Public Utility Maps, Records and 
Reports:  This section imposes an annual reporting 
requirement on electric public utilities. 
 
The Public Service Commission (PSC) generally 
exercises less regulatory authority over electrical 
cooperatives than investor-owned utilities, see, e.g., 
Subsection 54-7-12(7) (exempting cooperatives from 
statute requiring utilities to obtain the PSC's approval 
changing customer rates). 
 
The PSC convened a public process and held a technical 
conference on 09/25/2023 to receive feedback from 
stakeholders as to whether this reporting requirement is 
necessary for electrical cooperatives. 
 
At the technical conference, a consensus among 
stakeholders existed in support of amending this rule to 
remove the requirement for electrical cooperatives 
because the report is of limited usefulness to regulators 
owing to regulators' more limited jurisdiction over electrical 
cooperatives and the burden of requiring electrical 
cooperatives to submit the report outweighed any potential 
benefit. 
 
Accordingly, the proposed amendment exempts electrical 
cooperatives from the reporting requirement by making it 
applicable only to public utilities for which the "governing 
authority" is the PSC.  Subsection R746-312-2(14) 
provides the "governing authority" of an electrical 
cooperative is its board of directors, as opposed to the 
PSC. 
 
This amendment also makes nonsubstantive changes to 
the rule text for adherence to the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah standards. 
 

4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment exempts electrical cooperatives from the 
reporting requirement this rule imposes by making it 
applicable only to public utilities for which the governing 
authority is the PSC. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendment is expected to have no measurable 
impact on the state's budget because this rule imposes an 
annual reporting requirement on private electric utilities, 
and these private entities bear the costs associated with 
preparing the annual reports. 
 
The proposed amendment makes nonsubstantive 
changes to the existing rule aside from eliminating the 
reporting requirement for electrical cooperatives, which 
should result in saved compliance costs for those 
cooperatives but will have no impact on the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The amendment does not concern local governments and 
is not expected to impact them because it concerns 
electrical cooperatives, not municipal utilities, and serves 
to remove an existing regulatory requirement for electrical 
cooperatives. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
To the extent an electric cooperative is a small business, 
the amendment can only decrease regulatory compliance 
costs as it removes a regulatory reporting requirement for 
electrical cooperatives, though the PSC does not have 
information sufficient to determine the extent of savings for 
such cooperatives. 
 
The amendment is expected to have no impact on small 
businesses that are not electrical cooperatives. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
To the extent an electric cooperative is a non-small 
business, the amendment can only decrease regulatory 
compliance costs as it removes a regulatory reporting 
requirement for electrical cooperatives, though the PSC 
does not have information sufficient to determine the 
extent of savings for such cooperatives. 
 
The amendment is expected to have no impact on non-
small businesses that are not electrical cooperatives. 
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E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendment is expected to have no impact on persons 
other than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, 
or local government entities, unless such persons are 
electrical cooperatives in which case the amendment can 
only decrease regulatory compliance costs as it removes 
an existing regulatory reporting requirement. 
 
The PSC does not have sufficient information to estimate 
the amount of such savings for any affected electrical 
cooperative. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no anticipated compliance costs for any affected 
entity or person. 
 
The amendment can only result in cost savings as it 
removes an existing regulatory reporting requirement for 
electrical cooperatives. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
Commissioners David R. Clark and John S. Harvey, Ph.D., 
of the Public Service Commission provided the following 
comments: 
 
As discussed above, the amendment removes an existing 
regulatory reporting requirement for electrical 
cooperatives.  The only businesses or entities it stands to 
affect are electrical cooperatives, and any fiscal impact will 
necessarily result in cost savings because the amendment 
removes an existing regulatory reporting requirement. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 54-4-7 Section 54-15-106 Section 54-4-14 
Section 54-12-2   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/08/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

David R. Clark  
and John S.  
Harvey, Ph.D.,  
PSC 
Commissioners 

Date: 02/06/2024 

 
R746.  Public Service Commission, Administration. 
R746-312.  Electrical Interconnection. 
R746-312-1.  Authority. 
 [(1)  ]This rule establishes procedures and standards for 
electrical interconnection of generating facilities to a public utility as 
provided for in Sections 54-3-2, 54-4-7, 54-4-14, 54-12-2, and 54-
15-106. 
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R746-312-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Adverse system impact" means the negative effects 
due to technical or operational limits on conductors or equipment 
being exceeded that may compromise the safety and reliability of the 
electric distribution system. 
 (2)  "Affected system" means an electric system other than 
a public utility's electric distribution system that may be affected by 
the proposed interconnection. 
 (3)  "Building code official" means the city or local official 
whose responsibility includes inspecting facilities for compliance 
with the city or local jurisdiction electrical code requirements. 
 (4)  "Business day" means Monday through Friday, 
excluding Federal holidays. 
 (5)  "Confidential information" means any confidential 
[and/]or proprietary information provided by one party to the other 
party that is clearly marked or otherwise designated "Confidential."  
For [the purposes of ]this rule, [all]the design, operating 
specification[s], and metering data provided by the interconnection 
customer shall be [deemed]considered confidential information 
regardless of whether it is clearly marked or otherwise designated as 
[such]confidential information.  Confidential information does not 
include information previously in the public domain, required to be 
publicly submitted or divulged by governmental authorities, or 
necessary to be divulged in an action to enforce these procedures. 
 (6)  "Electric distribution system" means that portion of an 
electric system that delivers electricity from transformation points on 
the transmission system to the point or points of connection at a 
customer's premises. 
 (7)  "Equipment package" means, for certification 
purposes, a group of components connecting a generating facility's 
device for the production of electricity, in other words[ (i.e.], a 
generator,[)] with an electric distribution system, and includes 
[all]any interface equipment including switchgear, inverters, or other 
interface devices.  An equipment package may include an integrated 
generator or electric production source.  An equipment package does 
not include equipment provided by the utility. 
 (8)  "Fault current" means electrical current that flows 
through a circuit and is produced by an electrical fault, [such as]for 
example, to ground, double-phase to ground, three-phase to ground, 
phase-to-phase, and three-phase.  A fault current is several times 
larger in magnitude than the current that normally flows through a 
circuit. 
 (9)  "Facilities study" means a study conducted to 
determine the additional or upgraded distribution system facilities 
necessary to interconnect a generating facility with a public utility, 
the cost of those facilities, and the time schedule required to 
interconnect the generating facility to the public utility's distribution 
system. 
 (10)  "Feasibility study" means a preliminary evaluation of 
the system impact and the cost of interconnecting a generating 
facility to the public utility's electric distribution system. 
 (11)  "Generating facility" means the interconnection 
customer's device for the production of electricity and [all]each 
associated component[s] up to the point of common coupling 
identified in the interconnection request[,] but [shall]may not include 
the interconnection customer's interconnection facilities. 
 (12)  "Generation capacity" means the nameplate capacity 
of the power generating device[(s)] of a generating facility.  
Generation capacity does not include the effects caused by 
inefficiencies of power conversion or plant parasitic loads. 
 (13)  "Good utility practice" means any of the practices, 
methods, and acts engaged in or approved by a significant portion of 

the electric utility industry during the relevant time period, or any of 
the practices, methods, and acts that, in the exercise of reasonable 
judgment in light of the facts known [at the time]when the decision 
was made, could have been expected to accomplish the desired result 
of the lowest reasonable cost consistent with good business practices, 
reliability, safety, and expedition. Good [U]utility [P]practice is not 
intended to be limited to the optimum practice, method, or act to the 
exclusion of [all]any others, but rather to be acceptable practices, 
methods, or acts generally accepted in the region and consistently 
adhered to by the public utility. 
 (14)  "Governing [A]authority" means: 
 (a)  [F]for a distribution electrical cooperative, its board of 
directors; and 
 (b)  for each other electrical corporation, the Public Service 
Commission, otherwise referred to as the commission. 
 (15)  "IEEE standards" means the Institute of Electrical and 
Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Interconnecting Distributed Resources 
with Electric Power Systems -- IEEE 1547 Series referenced in 
Section 54-15-102. 
 (16)  "Interconnection agreement" means a standard form 
agreement between an interconnection customer and a public utility 
that governs the connection of a generating facility to the electric 
distribution system and the ongoing operation of the generating 
facility after it is connected to the system. 
 (17)  "Interconnection customer" means any entity 
including a public utility that proposes to interconnect its generating 
facility with the public utility's distribution system. 
 (18)  "Interconnection [F]facilities" means the facilities and 
equipment required by a public utility to accommodate the 
interconnection of a generating facility to the public utility's electric 
distribution system and used exclusively for that interconnection.  
Interconnection Facilities do not include upgrades. 
 (19)  "Interconnection request" means the interconnection 
customer's request to interconnect a new generating facility, or to 
increase the capacity of, or make a material modification to the 
operating characteristics of an existing generating facility that is 
interconnected with the public utility.  The interconnection request 
includes [all]the required applications, forms, processing fees, 
and[/or] deposits required by the public utility. 
 (20)  "Inverter" has the same meaning as in Section 54-15-
102. 
 (21)  "Level 1 [I]interconnection [R]review" means an 
interconnection review process applicable to an inverter-based 
facility having a generation capacity of 25 kilowatts or less. 
 (22)  "Level 2 [I]interconnection [R]review" means an 
interconnection review process applicable to a facility having a 
generation capacity of 2 megawatts or less and that does not qualify 
for or fails to meet Level 1 interconnection review requirements. 
 (23)  "Level 3 [I]interconnection [R]review" means an 
interconnection review process applicable to a facility having a 
generation capacity of greater than 2 megawatts but no larger than 20 
megawatts, [or ]the generating facility is not certified, or the 
generating facility does not qualify for or fails to meet Level 1 or 
Level 2 interconnection review requirements. 
 (24)  "Net metering facility" means a facility eligible for 
net metering, or an eligible facility as defined in Section 54-15-102. 
 (25)  "Party or parties" means the public utility, [and/or ]the 
interconnection customer, or both. 
 (26)  "Point of common coupling" means the point at which 
the interconnection between the public utility's system and the 
interconnection customer's equipment interface occurs.  Typically, 
this is the customer side of the public utility's meter. 
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 (27)  "Public utility" has the meaning set forth in Section 
54-2-1 and is limited to a public utility that provides electric service. 
 (28)  "Queue position" means the order of a valid 
interconnection request relative to [all]any other pending valid 
interconnection requests that is established based upon the date and 
time of receipt of a completed interconnection request, including 
application fees, by the public utility. 
 (29)  "Spot network" means a type of electric distribution 
system that uses two or more inter-tied transformers protected by 
network protectors to supply an electrical network circuit.  A spot 
network is generally used to supply power to a single customer or a 
small group of customers. 
 (30)  "Standard form" or "standard form agreement" means 
a form or agreement that follows that adopted or approved by the 
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission in its small generator 
interconnection proceedings and modified to be consistent with 
th[ese]is rule[s] unless the governing authority has approved an 
alternative form or agreement. 
 (31)  "Switchgear" has the same meaning as in Section 54-
15-102. 
 (32)  "System [I]impact study" means an engineering 
analysis of the probable impact of a generating facility on the safety 
and reliability of the public utility's electric distribution system. 
 (33)  "Telemetry" means the remote communication from a 
generator facility to a point on the public utility's communication 
network where the data [can]may be assimilated into the public 
utility's grid operations if desired. 
 (34)  "UL1741" means the UL Standard for Inverters, 
Converters, Controllers and Interconnection System Equipment for 
Use With Distributed Energy Resources as referenced in Section 54-
15-102. 
 (35)  "Upgrades" means the required additions and 
modifications to a public utility's distribution system beyond the 
point of interconnection.  Upgrades do not include interconnection 
facilities. 
 (36)  "Written notice" means a required notice sent by the 
utility via electronic mail if the interconnection customer has 
provided an electronic mail address.  If the interconnection customer 
has not provided an electronic mail address, or has requested in 
writing to be notified by United States mail, or if the utility elects to 
provide notice by United States mail, then written notices from the 
utility shall be sent via First Class United States mail.  The utility 
shall be [deemed]considered to have fulfilled its duty to respond 
under this rule on the day it sends the interconnection customer notice 
via electronic mail or deposits [such]the notice in First Class mail.  
The interconnection customer shall be responsible for informing the 
utility of any changes to its notification address. 
 
R746-312-3.  Purpose, Scope, Applicability, and Exceptions. 
 (1)  This rule establishes procedures for electrical 
interconnection of a generating facility to a public utility's 
distribution system with the following exception:[ 
 (a) ] [All r]References to fees and charges in [Section]Rule 
R746-312 do not apply to public utilities for which the commission 
does not have ratemaking authority as identified in Subsection 54-7-
12(7).  Rates and charges will be determined by the public utility's 
governing authority in accordance with applicable law. 
 (2)  For good cause shown, the commission may waive or 
[modify]change any provision of this electrical interconnection rule. 
 (3)  A public utility and interconnection customer may 
mutually agree to reasonable extensions to the required times for 
notices and submissions of information set forth in this rule [for the 

purpose of]to allow[ing] efficient and complete review of an 
interconnection request.  If a public utility unilaterally seeks waiver 
of the time[ ]lines set forth in this rule, the commission may consider 
the number of pending applications for interconnection review and 
the type of applications, including review level and facility size. 
 (4)  A public utility shall provide to the interconnection 
customer information regarding options for complaint or dispute 
resolution during the interconnection request review process [prior 
to]before or along with the results of the initial interconnection 
review. 
 (5)  Complaints or disputes will be addressed as follows: 
 (a)  residential interconnections will be addressed 
according to [the provisions of ]Sections R746-200-4, R746-200-8, 
and R746-200-9. 
 (b)  non-residential interconnections will be addressed 
according to the following procedure: 
 (i)  [In the event of]If there is a complaint or dispute, either 
party shall provide the other party with a written Notice of Dispute.  
[Such]This notice shall describe in detail the nature of the dispute. 
 (ii)  If the dispute has not been resolved within seven 
business days after receipt of [such]the notice, the dispute shall be 
served upon the other party and filed with the commission.  A copy 
shall also be served upon the Division of Public Utilities. 
 (iii)  An answer or other responsive pleading to the 
complaint shall be filed with the commission not more than ten 
business days after receipt of service of the complaint or dispute.  
Copies of the answer or responsive pleading shall be served on the 
complainant and the Division of Public Utilities. 
 (iv)  A prehearing conference shall be held [not later ]less 
than 15 business days after the complaint is filed. 
 (v)  The commission shall [commence]hold a hearing on 
the complaint [not later]less than 25 business days after the complaint 
is filed, unless the commission finds that extraordinary conditions 
exist that warrant postponing the hearing date, in which case the 
commission shall [commence]hold the hearing as soon as 
practicable.  Parties shall be entitled to present evidence as provided 
by the commission's rules. 
 (vi)  The commission shall take final action on a complaint 
[not more]less than 30 business days after the complaint is filed 
unless: 
 (A)  the commission finds that extraordinary conditions 
exist that warrant extending final action, in which case the 
commission shall take final action as soon as practicable; or 
 (B)  the parties agree to an extension of final action by the 
commission. 
 
R746-312-4.  Installation, Operation, Maintenance, Testing, and 
Modification of Generating and Interconnection Facilities. 
 (1)  Except for generating facilities in operation or 
approved for operation [prior to]before the effective date of this rule, 
an interconnection customer of a public utility must install, operate, 
and maintain its generating and interconnection facilities in 
compliance with the IEEE standards, as applicable, and the 
requirements of the interconnection agreement or other agreements 
executed between the parties during the interconnection review and 
approval process.  Generating facilities in operation or approved for 
operation [prior to]before the effective date of this rule must be 
operated and maintained in accordance with the requirements of 
[all]each agreement[s] in place [prior to]before the effective date of 
this rule. 
 (2)(a)  Disconnect Switch.  Except for the exemptions listed 
[below]in Subsection R746-312-4(2)(b), an interconnection 
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customer of a public utility must install and maintain a manual 
disconnect switch that will disconnect the generating facility from the 
public utility's distribution system.  The disconnect switch must be a 
lockable, load-break switch that plainly [indicates]shows whether it 
is in the open or closed position.  The disconnect switch must be 
readily accessible to the public utility at [all]any time[s] and located 
within [10]ten feet of the public utility's meter. 
 ([a]b)  Exemptions: 
 (i)  For customer generating systems of [10]ten kilowatts 
or less that are inverter-based, a public utility [shall]may not require 
a disconnect switch. 
 (ii)  The disconnect switch may be located more than 
[10]ten feet from the public utility's meter if permanent instructions 
are posted in letters of appropriate size at the meter indicating the 
precise location of the disconnect switch.  In this case the public 
utility must approve in writing the location of the disconnect switch 
[prior to]before the installation of the generating facility.  For those 
instances [where]when the interconnection customer and the public 
utility cannot agree to the implementation of [this s]Section R746-
312-4, the public utility or interconnection customer may refer the 
matter to the commission according to the designated dispute 
resolution process. 
 (iii)  Nothing in this exemption precludes an 
interconnection customer or a public utility from voluntarily 
installing a manual disconnect switch. 
 (3)  [In the event that]If no disconnect switch is installed, 
the interconnection customer's electric service may be disconnected 
by the public utility entirely if the generating facility must be 
physically disconnected from the public utility's distribution system 
as specified in Subsection R746-312-4(5). 
 (4)  For those public utilities whose governing authority, 
pursuant to Section 54-15-106, after appropriate notice and 
opportunity for public comment, elects to adopt by rule additional 
reasonable interconnection safety, power quality, and interconnection 
requirements for net metering generating facilities, and who 
determines that a disconnect switch for net metering generating 
facilities less than [10]ten kilowatts is necessary, those public utilities 
must: 
 (a)  address the usage of the disconnect switch in the public 
utility's operations training requirements and standard operating 
procedures, including, among other things, how the disconnect 
switches will be managed, including tracking of switches, the 
procedures under which the disconnect switch must be used during 
normal operations, construction projects, trouble situations, and 
during restoration of service activities, and training on operation and 
usage of the disconnect switch; 
 (b)  file a copy of the disconnect switch procedures, and 
any updates, along with the governing authority's documentation of 
appropriate notice and opportunity for public comment with the 
commission; and 
 (c)  document in writing each time the public utility has 
[utilized]used each specific disconnect switch and the reason for its 
usage and make this information available to the commission upon 
request. 
 (5)  The public utility may operate the manual disconnect 
switch or disconnect the customer generating facility pursuant to the 
conditions set forth [below]in Subsections R746-312-4(5)(a) through 
R746-312-4(5)(c), thereby isolating the customer generating system, 
without [prior]earlier notice to the customer.  To the extent 
practicable, however, [prior]former notice shall be given.  If 
[prior]former notice is not given, the utility shall, when [at the time 
of ]disconnecting the customer generating system,[on] leave a door 

hanger or other [such ]notice notifying the customer that their 
customer generating system has been disconnected, including an 
explanation of the condition [necessitating such]requiring the action.  
The public utility shall reconnect the customer generating system as 
soon as reasonably practicable after the condition 
[necessitating]requiring disconnection is remedied.[ 
 (a)]  Any of the following conditions shall be cause for the 
public utility to manually disconnect a generating facility from its 
system: 
 ([i]a)  Emergencies or maintenance requirements on the 
public utility's distribution system; 
 ([ii]b)  Hazardous conditions existing on the public utility's 
distribution system that may affect safety of the general public or 
public utility employees due to the operation of the customer 
generating facility or protective equipment as determined by the 
public utility; or 
 ([iii]c)  Adverse electrical effects, [(such as]like high or low 
voltage, unacceptable harmonic levels, or RFI interference[)] [ ]on 
the electrical equipment of the public utility's other electric 
consumers caused by the customer generating facility as determined 
by the public utility. 
 (6)  [Subsequent to]After becoming interconnected to a 
public utility, the interconnection customer must notify the public 
utility of [all]each proposed modification[s] to the generating facility 
or equipment package that will increase the generation capacity of a 
customer generation facility. 
 (a)  Notification must be provided in the form of a new 
application submitted in accordance with the level of review required 
by this rule; and 
 (b)  The application must specify the proposed 
modification[(s)]. 
 (7)  Aggregating Multiple Generators:  If the 
interconnection request is for a generating facility [which]that 
includes multiple generating facilities, at a site for [that]which the 
interconnection customer seeks a single point of interconnection, the 
interconnection request must be evaluated for[ the purposes of the] 
interconnection on the basis of the aggregate electric nameplate 
capacity of the generating facilities. 
 
R746-312-5.  Certifications. 
 (1)  To qualify for the Level 1 and the Level 2 
interconnection review procedures set forth [below]in Sections 
R746-312-8 and R746-312-9, a generating facility must be certified 
as complying with the following standards, as applicable: 
 (a)  IEEE standards; and 
 (b)  UL1741. 
 (2)  An equipment package will be considered certified for 
interconnected operation if it has been submitted by a manufacturer 
to a nationally recognized testing and certification laboratory[,] and 
has been tested and listed by the laboratory for continuous interactive 
operation with an electric distribution system in compliance with 
relevant codes and standards. 
 (3)  If the equipment package has been tested and listed in 
accordance with [this s]Section R746-312-5 as an integrated package 
that includes a generator or other electric source, the equipment 
package will be [deemed]considered certified, and the public utility 
may not require further design review, testing, or additional 
equipment. 
 (4)  If the equipment package includes only the interface 
components, like [(]switchgear, inverters, or other interface 
devices[)], an interconnection customer must show that the generator 
or other electric source being [utilized]used with the equipment 
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package is compatible with the equipment package and consistent 
with the testing and listing specified for the package.  If the generator 
or electric source being [utilized]used with the equipment package is 
consistent with the testing and listing performed by the nationally 
recognized testing and certification laboratory, the equipment 
package will be [deemed]considered certified, and the public utility 
may not require further design review, testing, or additional 
equipment. 
 
R746-312-6.  General Interconnection Request Provisions. 
 (1)  Each public utility must designate an employee, office, 
or department from which a customer [can]may [obtain]get basic 
interconnection request standard forms, standard form agreements, 
and information through an informal process.  Upon request, this 
employee, office, or department must provide [all]each relevant 
form[s], document[s], and technical requirement[s] for submittal of a 
complete application for interconnection review.  Upon request, the 
public utility must meet with a customer who qualifies for Level 2 or 
Level 3 interconnection review, to assist them in preparation of the 
application.  [All]The standard forms and standard form agreements 
must be posted on the public utility's website. 
 (2)  The interconnection customer must submit each 
interconnection request, and [all]the associated forms and 
agreements, on the public utility's standard forms and standard form 
agreements. 
 (3)  The interconnection request may require the following 
types of information: 
 (a)  the name of the applicant and basic customer 
information; 
 (b)  the type, size, and specifications of the generating 
facility; 
 (c)  the level of interconnection review sought; [e.g.,]for 
example, Level 1, Level 2, or Level 3; 
 (d)  the generating facility installer:  [i.e.]for example, for 
contractor installations, the name of the appropriately licensed 
contractor, or for self-installations, the name of the homeowner or 
business; 
 (e)  equipment certifications, [and/or ]system certifications, 
or both; 
 (f)  the anticipated date the generating facility will be 
operational; 
 (g)  evidence of site control; [and/]or 
 (h)  other information that the utility [deems is]considers 
necessary to conduct an evaluation as to whether a generating facility 
[can]may be safely and reliably connected to the public utility in 
compliance with this interconnection rule. 
 (4)  Each interconnection request submitted to a public 
utility must be accompanied by the required processing fee. 
 (5)  An interconnection customer shall [retain]keep its 
original queue position for an interconnection request if the applicant 
resubmits its application at a higher level of review within 30 
business days of a utility's denial of the application at a lower level 
of review. 
 (6)  A public utility [shall]may not be responsible for the 
cost of determining the rating of equipment owned or proposed by an 
interconnection customer or of equipment owned by other local 
customers. 
 (7)  Any modification to machine data or equipment 
configuration or to the interconnection site of the generating facility 
not agreed to in writing by the public utility and the interconnection 
customer may be [deemed]considered a withdrawal of the 
interconnection request and may require submission of a new 

interconnection request unless proper notification to each party by 
the other and a reasonable time to cure the problems created by the 
changes are undertaken. 
 (8)  Each party receiving confidential information shall 
hold [such]the information in confidence and [shall]may not disclose 
it to any third party [n]or to the public without [prior]earlier written 
authorization from the party providing that information, except to 
fulfill obligations under this rule, or to fulfill legal or regulatory 
requirements.  Each party shall [employ]use at least the same 
standard of care to protect confidential information 
[obtained]received from the other party as it [employs]uses to protect 
its own confidential information. 
 
R746-312-7.  Level 1 and Level 2 Interconnection Review 
Screens. 
 (1)  The public utility shall perform its review of Level 1 
and Level 2 interconnection requests using the screens set forth 
[below]in Subsection R746-312-7(9) as applicable. 
 ([a]2)  A generating facility's point of common coupling 
must be on a portion of the public utility's distribution system that is 
under the interconnection jurisdiction of the commission and must 
not be on a transmission line. 
 ([b]3)  For interconnection of a proposed generating facility 
to a radial distribution circuit, the aggregate generation on the 
distribution circuit, including the proposed generating facility, must 
not exceed 15%[ percent] of the distribution circuit's total highest 
annual peak load, as measured at the substation.  For [the purposes of 
this s]Subsection R746-312-7(3), annual peak load will be based on 
measurements taken over the 60 months [previous to]before the 
submittal of the application, measured for the circuit at the nearest 
applicable substation. 
 ([c]4)  The proposed generating facility, in aggregation 
with other generation on the distribution circuit to which the 
proposed generating facility will interconnect, must not contribute 
more than 10%[ percent] to the distribution circuit's maximum fault 
current at the point on the high voltage, or [(]primary[)], level nearest 
the proposed point of common coupling. 
 ([d]5)  If the proposed generating facility is to be connected 
to a single-phase shared secondary, the aggregate generation capacity 
connected to the shared secondary, including the proposed generating 
facility, must not exceed 20 kilowatts. 
 ([e]6)  If a proposed single-phase generating facility is to 
be connected to a transformer center tap neutral of a 240-[ ]volt 
service, the addition of the proposed generating facility must not 
create a current imbalance between the two sides of the 240-[ ]volt 
service of more than 20%[ percent] of nameplate rating of the service 
transformer. 
 ([f]7)  No construction of facilities by the public utility on 
its own system shall be required to accommodate the generating 
facility. 
 ([g]8)  The aggregate generation capacity on the 
distribution circuit to which the proposed generating facility will 
interconnect, including the capacity of the proposed generating 
facility, must not cause any distribution protective equipment, 
[(]including[, but not limited to,] substation breakers, fuse cutouts, 
and line reclosers[)], or customer equipment on the electric 
distribution system, to exceed 90%[ percent] of the short circuit 
interrupting capability of the equipment.  In addition, a proposed 
generating facility must not be connected to a circuit that already 
exceeds 90%[ percent] of the circuit's short circuit interrupting 
capability, [prior to]before interconnection of the facility. 
 ([h]9)  Interconnection Type Screen: 
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 ([i]a)  For a proposed generating facility connecting to a 
three-phase, three wire primary public utility distribution line, a 
three-phase or single-phase generator must be connected phase-to-
phase. 
 ([ii]b)  For a proposed generating facility connecting to a 
three-phase, four wire primary public utility distribution line, a three-
phase or single-phase generator must be connected line-to-neutral 
and must be effectively grounded. 
 ([i]10)  If there are known or posted transient stability 
limitations to generating units located in the general electrical 
vicinity of the proposed point of common coupling, including[, but 
not limited to] within three or four transmission voltage level busses, 
the aggregate generation capacity, including the proposed generating 
facility, connected to the distribution low voltage side of the 
substation transformer feeding the distribution circuit containing the 
point of common coupling may not exceed [10]ten megawatts. 
 ([j]11)  If a proposed generating facility's point of common 
coupling is on a spot network, the proposed generating facility must 
[utilize]use an inverter-based equipment package and, together with 
the aggregated other inverter-based generation, must not exceed the 
smaller of 5%[five percent] of a spot network's maximum load or 50 
kilowatts. 
 
R746-312-8.  Level 1 Interconnection Review. 
 (1)  A generating facility that meets the following criteria is 
eligible for Level 1 interconnection review: 
 (a)  the generating facility is inverter-based; and 
 (b)  the generating facility has a capacity of 25 kilowatts or 
less. 
 (2)  A public utility shall process, evaluate, and approve, if 
appropriate, [all]each Level 1 interconnection request[s] according to 
[this ]Subsection R746-312-8(2) unless a public utility has 
implemented a process ensuring notification of approval or denial of 
a completed Level 1 interconnection request within 15 business days 
of receipt of the interconnection request, or the public utility 
[completes]finishes final approval of a Level 1 interconnection 
request within 15 business days of receipt of an interconnection 
request, or the public utility has received approval from the 
commission for an alternative Level 1 interconnection review 
method: 
 (a)  The public utility shall date and time stamp each 
interconnection request on the day it was received by the public 
utility. 
 (b)  Within three business days after receipt, the public 
utility shall acknowledge to the interconnection customer receipt of 
the interconnection request. 
 (c)  Within [10]ten business days after receipt, the public 
utility shall evaluate the interconnection request and notify the 
interconnection customer whether the interconnection request is 
complete. 
 (i)  If the interconnection request is not complete, the public 
utility must provide a list detailing [all]the information that must be 
provided to [complete]finish the application. 
 (ii)  Within [10]ten business days of receipt of this 
notification, the interconnection customer must submit the missing 
information to the public utility or request an extension of time to 
provide [such]the information.  If the interconnection customer does 
not provide the listed information or request an extension of time 
within the [10 ]ten-business day deadline, the interconnection request 
shall be [deemed]considered withdrawn. 

 (iii)  An interconnection request shall be 
[deemed]considered complete upon submission of the listed 
information. 
 (d)  Within 15 business days after issuing a notification of 
completeness, the public utility shall verify, using screens set forth in 
Section R746-312-7, whether[ or not] the proposed generating 
facility [can]may be interconnected safely and reliably, and shall 
notify the interconnection customer that either: 
 (i)  the generating facility meets all applicable criteria and 
the interconnection request is approved; or 
 (ii)  the generation facility has failed to meet one or more 
of the applicable criteria, the reason for the failure, and the 
interconnection request is denied under the Level 1 interconnection 
process.  If the interconnection request is denied, the interconnection 
customer may resubmit the application under the Level 2 or Level 3 
interconnection review procedure, as appropriate. 
 (e)  Either along with or within five business days after 
notifying the interconnection customer that the interconnection 
request has been approved, a public utility must provide the 
procedures, requirements, and associated forms, including any 
required standard form interconnection agreement, for final 
authorization of the interconnection, as determined applicable by the 
public utility.  These procedures and requirements may include: 
 (i)  completion of any required inspection of the generating 
facility by the building code official with jurisdiction over the 
generating facility and transmittal to the public utility of appropriate 
documentation; 
 (ii)  transmittal to the public utility of any required notice 
of completion, notice of start-up, [and/]or interconnection agreement; 
 (iii)  installation of any required meter modification by the 
public utility; 
 (iv)  completion of any required inspection of the 
generation facility [prior to]before operation by the public utility; 
[and/]or 
 (v)  the requirement that the applicant may not begin 
parallel operations of the generating facility until receipt of a final 
approval or authorization of interconnection. 
 (f)  The customer and the public utility may mutually agree 
to terms that vary from the standard form interconnection agreement, 
but [such]this non-standard agreement shall be subject to commission 
approval. 
 (g)  If a public utility does not notify a Level 1 
interconnection customer in writing or by electronic mail whether the 
interconnection request is approved or denied within 25 business 
days after the receipt of an application, the interconnection request 
shall be [deemed]considered approved. 
 (3)  An interconnection customer must notify the public 
utility of the anticipated start date for operation of the generating 
facility at least ten business days [prior to]before starting operation, 
either through the submittal of the interconnection agreement, a 
notice of completion, or in a separate notice. 
 (4)  Within [10]ten business days of receipt of [all]the 
required documentation, for example, the [(e.g., ]executed 
interconnection agreement, notice of completion, [and/]or 
documentation of satisfactory completion of inspections by non-
company personnel[)], the public utility must, if it has not already 
done so, conduct any company-required inspection or witness test, 
set the new meter, if required, approve the interconnection, and 
provide written notification to the interconnection customer of the 
final interconnection authorization[/] or approval indicating the 
generating facility is authorized[/] or approved for parallel operation.  
If the public utility does not conduct the witness test within [10]ten 
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business days or by mutual agreement with the interconnection 
customer, the witness test is [deemed]considered waived. 
 (5)  Witness Test Not Acceptable.  If the witness test is 
conducted and is not acceptable to the public utility, the 
interconnection customer must be granted a period of 30 business 
days to resolve any deficiencies.  The public utility and 
interconnection customer may mutually agree to extend the time 
period for resolving any deficiencies.  If the interconnection customer 
fails to address and resolve the deficiencies to the satisfaction of the 
public utility within the agreed[ ]-upon time period, the 
interconnection request is [deemed]considered withdrawn. 
 
R746-312-9.  Level 2 Interconnection Review. 
 (1)  A generating facility that meets the following criteria is 
eligible for Level 2 interconnection review by a public utility: 
 (a)  the generating facility has a capacity of two megawatts 
or less; and 
 (b)  the generating facility does not qualify for or fails to 
meet applicable Level 1 interconnection review procedures. 
 (2)  A public utility must process, evaluate, and approve, if 
so determined, [all]each Level 2 request[s] for interconnection 
according to the following steps unless a public utility has 
implemented a process ensuring notification of approval or denial of 
a completed Level 2 interconnection request within 15 business days 
of receipt of the interconnection request, the public utility 
[completes]finishes final approval of a Level 2 interconnection 
request within 15 business days of receipt of an interconnection 
request, or the public utility has received approval from the 
commission for an alternative Level 2 interconnection review 
method: 
 (a)  The public utility shall date and time stamp each 
interconnection request on the day it was received by the public 
utility. 
 (b)  Within three business days after receipt of an 
interconnection request, the public utility shall acknowledge to the 
interconnection customer receipt of the interconnection request. 
 (c)  Within [10]ten business days after receipt of an 
interconnection request, the public utility shall evaluate the 
interconnection request and notify the interconnection customer 
whether[ or not] the interconnection request is complete. 
 (i)  If the interconnection request is not complete, the public 
utility must provide a list detailing [all]the information that must be 
provided to [complete]finish the application. 
 (ii)  Within [10]ten business days of receipt of this 
notification, the interconnection customer must submit the missing 
information to the public utility or request an extension of time to 
provide [such]the information.  If the interconnection customer does 
not provide the listed information or request an extension of time 
within the [10 ]ten-business day deadline, the interconnection request 
shall be [deemed]considered withdrawn. 
 (iii)  An interconnection request shall be 
[deemed]considered complete upon submission of the listed 
information. 
 (d)  Within 15 business days after issuing a notification of 
completeness, the public utility shall verify, using the screens set 
forth in Section R746-312-7, whether[ or not] the proposed 
generating facility [can]may be interconnected safely and reliably, 
and shall notify the interconnection customer that either: 
 (i)  the generation facility meets [all]the applicable criteria 
and the interconnection request is approved; 
 (ii)  although the generating facility fails one or more of the 
screens, the public utility has determined that the generating facility 

may nevertheless be interconnected consistent with safety, reliability, 
and power quality standards and the interconnection request is 
approved; or 
 (iii)  the generation facility has failed to meet one or more 
of the screens and the reason for the failure[(s)], the public utility has 
not or could not determine from the initial reviews that the generating 
facility may be interconnected consistent with safety, reliability, and 
power quality standards, or the generating facility [can]may not be 
approved without minor modifications at minimal cost and the 
interconnection request is denied unless the interconnection customer 
is willing to consider minor modifications or further study. 
 (e)  If the interconnection request is denied, the public 
utility: 
 (i)  must offer to provide the interconnection customer with 
the opportunity to attend an optional customer options meeting to be 
convened within [10]ten business days of the notification of denial to 
discuss the options available under Subsection R746-312-9(2)(e)(ii). 
 (A)  During the customer options meeting, the public utility 
shall review possible interconnection customer facility modification 
or screen analysis and related results to determine what further steps 
are needed to permit the generating facility to be connected safely 
and reliably. 
 (ii)  shall either, when notifying the interconnection 
customer pursuant to[ at the time of the notification specified in] 
Subsection R746-312-9(2)(d)(iii), or at the customer options 
meeting: 
 (A)  offer to [complete]finish minor modifications to the 
public utility's distribution system and provide a non-binding, good 
faith estimate of the cost and time[-]frame to make [such]the 
modifications.  If the interconnection customer agrees to [such]the 
modifications, the interconnection customer shall agree in writing 
within 15 business days of the offer and submit payment for the 
estimated costs.  The interconnection customer must pay any cost that 
exceeds the estimated costs within 30 calendar days of receipt of the 
invoice.  If the costs to [complete]finish the modifications are less 
than the estimated costs, the public utility shall return [such]the 
excess within 30 calendar days of the issuance of the invoice without 
interest; 
 (B)  offer to perform a supplemental review in accordance 
with Subsection R746-312-9(3) [ ]if the public utility concludes that 
the supplemental review might determine that the generating facility 
could continue to qualify for interconnection pursuant to the Level 2 
process, and provide a non-binding, good faith estimate of the costs 
of [such]the review; or 
 (C)  [obtain]get the interconnection customer's agreement 
to continue evaluating the interconnection request under the Level 3 
process. 
 (f)  Either along with or within five business days after 
notifying the interconnection customer that the interconnection 
request has been approved, a public utility shall provide the 
procedures, requirements, and associated forms, including any 
required standard form interconnection agreement, for final 
authorization of the interconnection, as determined applicable by the 
public utility.  These procedures and requirements may include: 
 (i)  an inspection of the generating facility by the building 
code official with jurisdiction over the generating facility and 
transmittal to the public utility of appropriate documentation; 
 (ii)  transmittal to the public utility of any required notice 
of completion, notice of start-up, [and/]or interconnection agreement; 
 (iii)  installation of any required meter modification by the 
public utility; 
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 (iv)  completion of any required inspection of the 
generation facility [prior to]before operation by the public utility; 
[and/]or 
 (v)  the requirement that the applicant may not begin 
parallel operations of the generating facility until receipt of a final 
approval or authorization of interconnection. 
 (g)  The customer and the public utility may mutually agree 
to terms that vary from the standard form interconnection agreement, 
but [such]this non-standard agreement shall be subject to commission 
approval. 
 (3)  Supplemental Review: 
 (a)  If the interconnection customer agrees to a 
supplemental review, the interconnection customer shall agree in 
writing within 15 business days of the offer[,] and submit a deposit 
of the estimated costs.  The interconnection customer must pay any 
supplemental review costs that exceed the deposit within 30 calendar 
days of receipt of the invoice but [such]this payment responsibility 
shall be limited to and not exceed 125%[ percent] of the public 
utility's non-binding, good faith estimate for [such]the review.  If the 
deposit exceeds the invoiced costs, the public utility shall return 
[such]the excess within 30 calendar days of the invoice without 
interest. 
 (b)  Within [10]ten business days following receipt of the 
deposit for supplemental review, the public utility must determine 
whether the generating facility [can]may or [can]may not be 
interconnected safely and reliably and shall notify the 
interconnection customer that either: 
 (i)  the generation facility [can]may be safely and reliably 
interconnected, and the interconnection request is approved and the 
public utility shall proceed according to Subsection R746-312-
9(2)(f); 
 (ii)  interconnection customer facility modifications are 
required to allow the generating facility to be interconnected 
consistent with safety, reliability, and power quality standards.  Upon 
receipt of written confirmation that the interconnection customer 
agrees to make the necessary changes at the interconnection 
customer's expense, the public utility shall approve the 
interconnection request and proceed according to Subsection R746-
312-9(2)(f); 
 (iii)  minor modification to the public utility's distribution 
system [are]is required to allow the generating facility to be 
interconnected consistent with safety, reliability, and power quality 
standards.  After confirmation that the interconnection customer 
agrees to pay the costs of [such]the system modifications [prior 
to]before interconnection, the public utility shall approve the 
interconnection request and proceed according to Subsection R746-
312-9(2)(f); 
 (iv)  the results of the supplemental review have not 
concluded that the generating facility [can]may be interconnected 
consistent with safety, reliability, and power quality standards and, 
upon agreement by the interconnection customer, the interconnection 
request will continue to be evaluated under the Level 3 
interconnection review process. 
 (4)  An interconnection customer must notify the public 
utility of the anticipated testing and inspection date for the generating 
facility at least ten business days [prior to]before testing, either 
through the submittal of the interconnection agreement, a notice of 
completion, or in a separate notice. 
 (5)  Within [10]ten business days of receipt of [all]the 
required documentation, for example,[ (e.g.,] an executed 
interconnection agreement, notice of completion, [and/]or 
documentation of satisfactory completion of inspections by non-

company personnel[)], the public utility must, if it has not already 
done so, conduct any company-required inspection, set the new 
meter, if required, approve the interconnection, and provide written 
notification to the interconnection customer of the final 
interconnection authorization[/] or approval and that the generating 
facility is authorized[/] or approved for parallel operation.  If the 
public utility does not conduct the witness test within [10]ten 
business days or by mutual agreement of the public utility and the 
interconnection customer, the witness test is [deemed]considered 
waived. 
 (6)  If an application for Level 2 interconnection review is 
denied because it does not meet one or more of the requirements in 
[this s]Section R746-312-9, the applicant may resubmit the 
application under the Level 3 interconnection review procedure. 
 (7)  Witness Test Not Acceptable.  If the witness test is 
conducted and is not acceptable to the public utility, the 
interconnection customer must be granted a period of 45 business 
days to resolve any deficiencies.  The public utility and the 
interconnection customer may mutually agree to extend the time 
period for resolving any deficiencies.  If the interconnection customer 
fails to address and resolve the deficiencies to the satisfaction of the 
public utility within the agreed[ ]-upon time period, the 
interconnection request is [deemed]considered withdrawn. 
 
R746-312-10.  Level 3 Interconnection Review. 
 (1)  A generating facility that meets the following criteria is 
eligible for Level 3 interconnection review: 
 (a)  the generating facility has a capacity of greater than two 
megawatts but no larger than 20 megawatts; 
 (b)  the generating facility is not certified; or 
 (c)  the generating facility does not qualify for or failed to 
meet Level 1 or Level 2 interconnection review requirements. 
 (2)  A public utility must process, evaluate, and approve, if 
appropriate, [all]each Level 3 request[s] for interconnection 
according to the following steps unless the public utility has received 
approval from the commission for an alternative Level 3 
interconnection review method: 
 (a)  The public utility shall date and time stamp each 
interconnection request on the day it was received by the public 
utility. 
 (b)  Within three business days after receipt of an 
interconnection request, the public utility shall acknowledge to the 
interconnection customer receipt of the interconnection request. 
 (c)  Within [10]ten business days after receipt of an 
interconnection request, the public utility shall evaluate the 
interconnection request and notify the interconnection customer 
whether[ or not] the interconnection request is complete. 
 (i)  If the interconnection request is not complete, the public 
utility must provide a list detailing [all]the information that must be 
provided to [complete]finish the application. 
 (ii)  Within [10]ten business days of receipt of this 
notification, the interconnection customer must submit the missing 
information to the public utility or request an extension of time to 
provide [such]the information.  If the interconnection customer does 
not provide the listed information or request an extension of time 
within the [10 ]ten-business[-] day deadline, the interconnection 
request shall be [deemed]considered withdrawn. 
 (iii)  An interconnection request shall be 
[deemed]considered complete upon submission of the listed 
information. 
 (d)  Scoping Meeting.  If requested, a scoping meeting shall 
be held as follows within [10]ten business days after the 



 

42 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 05 

interconnection request is [deemed]considered complete, or as 
otherwise mutually agreed to by the parties: 
 (i)  The public utility and the interconnection customer 
shall bring to the meeting personnel, including system engineers and 
other resources, as may be reasonably required to accomplish the 
purpose of the meeting; 
 (ii)  The purpose of the scoping meeting is to: 
 (A)  discuss the interconnection request and review existing 
studies relevant to the interconnection request; and 
 (B)  discuss whether the public utility should perform a 
feasibility study or proceed directly to a system impact study, a 
facilities study, or an interconnection agreement; 
 (iii)  Scoping meeting follow-up: 
 (A)  If the parties agree that a feasibility study should be 
performed, the public utility shall provide the interconnection 
customer as soon as possible, but no later than five business days after 
the scoping meeting, a feasibility study agreement including an 
outline of the scope of the study and a non-binding, good faith 
estimate of the cost to perform the study. 
 (B)  If the parties agree not to perform a feasibility study 
but rather proceed directly to the system impact study, the public 
utility shall, no later than five business days after the scoping 
meeting, provide the interconnection customer with a system impact 
study agreement including an outline of the scope of the study and a 
non-binding, good faith estimate of the cost to perform the study. 
 (iv)  The scoping meeting may be omitted by mutual 
agreement.  If the scoping meeting is omitted, the public utility, if 
requested by the interconnection customer, must provide information 
pertinent to the interconnection request, [such as]for example, the 
available fault current at the proposed interconnection location, the 
peak loading on the lines in the general vicinity of the generating 
facility, and the configuration of the distribution lines at the proposed 
point of common coupling, within [10]ten business days after the 
interconnection request is [deemed]considered complete. 
 (e)  Feasibility Study.  A feasibility study shall provide a 
preliminary evaluation of the system impact that would result from 
interconnecting the generating facility and the cost of interconnecting 
the generating facility to the public utility's electric distribution 
system and shall be [completed]finished as follows: 
 (i)  For interconnection customers opting to for[e]go a 
scoping meeting and proceeding directly to the feasibility study, the 
public utility shall provide the interconnection customer, as soon as 
possible but no later than [10]ten business days after receipt of a 
completed application, a standard form feasibility study agreement 
including an outline of the scope of the study and a non-binding, good 
faith estimate of the cost to perform the study. 
 (ii)  [In order t]To remain in consideration for 
interconnection, an interconnection customer who has requested or 
requires a feasibility study, either as part of or independent of a 
scoping meeting, must return the executed feasibility study 
agreement within 30 business days of receipt.  A deposit of the lesser 
of 50%[ percent] of the good faith estimate or earnest money of 
$1,000 may be required from the interconnection customer. 
 (iii)  Within 30 business days of receipt of an executed 
study agreement and payment of any required deposit, the public 
utility shall conduct the feasibility study and notify the 
interconnection customer either: 
 (A)  the feasibility study shows no potential for adverse 
system impacts, no facilities are required, and the interconnection 
request is approved, in which case the public utility shall send the 
interconnection customer an executable interconnection agreement 
within five business days; 

 (B)  the feasibility study shows no potential for adverse 
system impacts; however, additional facilities may be required and 
the review process shall proceed to a facilities study.  When 
proceeding to a facilities study, the public utility shall provide the 
interconnection customer a standard form facilities study agreement, 
including an outline of the scope of the study and a non-binding, good 
faith estimate of the cost to perform the study within five business 
days; or 
 (C)  the feasibility study shows the potential for adverse 
system impacts, and the review process shall proceed to a system 
impact study. When proceeding to a system impact study, the public 
utility shall provide the interconnection customer with a standard 
form system impact study agreement including an outline of the 
scope of the study and a non-binding, good faith estimate of the cost 
to perform the study within 15 business days of transmittal of the 
feasibility study report. 
 (iv)  Any feasibility study fees will be invoiced to the 
interconnection customer after the feasibility study is completed and 
delivered and will include a summary of professional time.  The 
interconnection customer must pay any study costs that exceed the 
deposit without interest within 30 calendar days of receipt of the 
invoice or resolution of any dispute but [such]this payment 
responsibility shall be limited to and not exceed 125%[ percent] of 
the public utility's non-binding, good faith estimate for [such]the 
study.  If the deposit exceeds the invoiced fees, the public utility shall 
refund [such]the excess within 30 calendar days of the invoice 
without interest. 
 (f)  System Impact Study.  Any required system impact 
study [(or studies) ]must be conducted in accordance with good 
utility practice and shall be [completed]finished as follows: 
 (i)  The system impact study shall: 
 (A)  provide details on the impacts to the electric 
distribution system that would result if the generating facility were 
interconnected without modifications to either the generating facility 
or to the electric distribution system; 
 (B)  identify any modifications to the public utility's 
electric distribution system necessary to accommodate the proposed 
interconnection; 
 ([D]C)  focus on power flows and utility protective devices, 
including control requirements; and 
 ([E]D)  include the following elements, as applicable: 
 (I)  a load flow study; 
 (II)  a short-circuit study; 
 (III)  a circuit protection and coordination study; 
 (IV)  the impact on the operation of the electric distribution 
system; 
 (V)  a stability study, along with the conditions that would 
justify including this element in the impact study; 
 (VI)  a voltage collapse study, along with the conditions 
that would justify including this element in the impact study; and 
 (VII)  additional elements, if justified by the public utility 
and approved in writing by the public utility and the interconnection 
customer [prior to]before the impact study. 
 (ii)  [In order t]To remain in consideration for 
interconnection, an interconnection customer who has requested a 
system impact study, either as part of or independent of a scoping 
meeting or feasibility study, must return the executed impact study 
agreement[(s)] within 30 business days of receipt of the agreement.  
A deposit of the good faith estimated costs for each system impact 
study may be required from the interconnection customer. 
 (iii)  After the applicant executes the system impact study 
agreement and pays any required deposit, the public utility shall 
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[complete]finish the impact study and distribute the results to the 
interconnection customer within 30 business days, or 45 business 
days for transmission impact studies, notifying the interconnection 
customer either: 
 (A)  Only minor modifications to the public utility's electric 
distribution [and/]or transmission system are necessary to 
accommodate interconnection. In [such a]this case, the public utility 
must: 
 (I)  provide to the interconnection customer at the same 
time the detail of the scope of the necessary modifications, a non-
binding, good faith estimate of their cost, and an executable 
interconnection agreement; and 
 (II)  approve the interconnection request upon receipt of the 
executed interconnection agreement from the interconnection 
customer[ the executed interconnection agreement]. 
 (B)  Modifications to the public utility's electric distribution 
system [and/]or transmission system are necessary to accommodate 
the proposed interconnection in which case the public utility must 
provide at the same time either: 
 (I)  a non-binding, good faith estimate of the cost of the 
modifications, if known[,]; and 
 (II)  a standard form facilities study agreement including an 
outline of the scope of the study and a non-binding, good faith 
estimate of the cost to perform the facilities study. 
 (iv)  If the proposed interconnection may affect electric 
transmission or delivery systems other than those controlled by the 
public utility, operators of those other systems may [require]need 
additional studies to determine the potential impact of the 
interconnection on those systems.  If [such ]additional studies are 
required, the public utility must coordinate the studies but will not be 
responsible for their timing.  The applicant shall be responsible for 
the costs of [any such]each additional stud[ies]y required by another 
affected system.  [Such]These studies will be conducted only after 
the applicant has provided written authorization. 
 (v)  Any study fees will be invoiced to the interconnection 
customer after the system impact study is completed and delivered 
and will include a summary of professional time.  The 
interconnection customer must pay any study costs that exceed the 
deposit without interest within 30 calendar days of receipt of the 
invoice or resolution of any dispute but [such]this payment 
responsibility shall be limited to and not exceed 125%[ percent] of 
the public utility's non-binding, good faith estimate for [such]the 
study.  If the deposit exceeds the invoiced fees, the public utility shall 
refund [such]the excess within 30 calendar days of the invoice 
without interest. 
 (g)  Facilities Study.  The results of the facilities study shall 
specify a non-binding, good faith cost estimate of the equipment, 
engineering, procurement, and construction work, [(]including 
overheads,[)] needed to implement the conclusion of the system 
impact study[ (or studies)] [in order ]for the interconnection customer 
to safely interconnect the generating facility with the public utility's 
electric distribution system and the time required to build and install 
those facilities.  The following provisions apply to the facilities study: 
 (i)  A public utility may require a deposit of the good faith 
estimated costs for the facilities study. 
 (ii)  [In order t]To remain under consideration for 
interconnection, the interconnection customer must return the 
executed facilities study agreement and any required deposit, or 
request an extension of time, within 30 business days. 
 (iii)  Design for any required interconnection facilities 
[and/]or upgrades shall be performed under the facilities study 
agreement.  The public utility may contract with consultants to 

perform activities required under the facilities study agreement.  The 
interconnection customer and the public utility may agree to allow 
the interconnection customer to separately arrange for the design of 
some of the interconnection facilities.  In [such]these cases, facilities 
design will be reviewed,[ and/or] modified, or both, [prior to]before 
acceptance by the public utility under [the provisions of ]the facilities 
study agreement.  If the parties agree to separately arrange for design 
and construction, and, provided security and confidentiality 
requirements [can]may be met, the public utility shall make sufficient 
information available to the interconnection customer in accordance 
with confidentiality and critical infrastructure requirements to permit 
the interconnection customer to [obtain]get an independent design 
and cost estimate for any necessary facilities. 
 (iv)  [In cases where]If upgrades are required, the facilities 
study must be completed and the facilities study report transmitted to 
the interconnection customer['s] within 45 business days of the public 
utilities receipt of the facilities study agreement from the 
interconnection customer.  [In cases where]If no upgrades are 
necessary, and the required facilities are limited to interconnection 
facilities, the facilities study must be completed and the facilities 
study report transmitted to the interconnection customer within 30 
business days of the public utilities receipt of the facilities study 
agreement from the interconnection customer.  The report, and any 
ensuing interconnection agreement, must list the conditions and 
facilities necessary for the generating facility to safely interconnect 
with the public utility's electric distribution system, and must include 
a non-binding, good faith estimate of the cost of those facilities and 
the estimated time required to build and install those facilities. 
 (v)  Upon completion of the facilities study and receipt of 
agreement of the interconnection customer to pay for interconnection 
facilities and upgrades identified in the facilities study, the public 
utility shall approve the interconnection request. 
 (vi)  Any study fees will be invoiced to the interconnection 
customer after the facilities study is completed and delivered and will 
include a summary of professional time.  The interconnection 
customer must pay any study costs that exceed the deposit without 
interest within 30 calendar days of receipt of the invoice or resolution 
of any dispute, but [such]this payment responsibility shall be limited 
to and not exceed 125%[ percent] of the public utility's non-binding, 
good faith estimate for [such]the study.  If the deposit exceeds the 
invoiced fees, the public utility shall refund [such]the excess within 
30 calendar days of the invoice without interest. 
 (h)  Either [prior to]before, along with, or within five 
business days after notifying the interconnection customer that the 
interconnection request has been approved, a public utility must 
provide the procedures, requirements, and associated forms[,] for 
final authorization of the interconnection, as determined applicable 
by the public utility.  These procedures and requirements may 
include: 
 (i)  completion of any required inspection of the generating 
facility by the building code official with jurisdiction over the 
generating facility and transmittal to the public utility of appropriate 
documentation; 
 (ii)  transmittal to the public utility of any required notice 
of completion, notice of start-up, [and/]or interconnection 
agreement[.]; 
 (iii)  installation of any required meter modification by the 
public utility; 
 (iv)  completion of any required inspection of the 
generating facility [prior to]before operation by the public utility; 
[and/]or 
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 (v)  the requirement that the applicant may not begin 
parallel operations of the generating facility until receipt of a final 
approval or authorization of interconnection. 
 (i)  The customer and the public utility may mutually agree 
to terms that vary from the standard form interconnection agreement, 
but [such]this non-standard agreement shall be subject to commission 
approval. 
 (3)  An interconnection customer must notify the public 
utility of the anticipated testing and inspection date of the generating 
facility at least ten business days [prior to]before testing, either 
through the submittal of the interconnection agreement, a notice of 
completion, or in a separate notice. 
 (4)  Within [10]ten business days of receipt of [all]the 
required documentation, for example[ (e.g.], the executed 
interconnection agreement, notice of completion, [and/]or 
documentation of satisfactory completion of inspections by non-
company personnel[)], the public utility must, if it has not already 
done so, conduct any company-required inspection or witness test, 
set the new meter, if required, approve the interconnection, and 
provide written notification to the interconnection customer of the 
final interconnection authorization[/] or approval and that the 
generating facility is authorized[/] or approved for parallel operation.  
If the public utility does not conduct the witness test within [10]ten 
business days or by mutual agreement of the parties, the witness test 
is [deemed]considered waived. 
 (5)  Witness Test Not Acceptable:  If the witness test is 
conducted and is not acceptable to the public utility, the 
interconnection customer must be granted a period of 60 business 
days to resolve any deficiencies.  The parties may mutually agree to 
extend the [time ]period for resolving any deficiencies.  If the 
interconnection customer fails to address and resolve the deficiencies 
to the satisfaction of the public utility within the agreed[ ]-upon [time 
]period, the interconnection request is [deemed]considered 
withdrawn. 
 
R746-312-11.  Interconnection Metering. 
 (1)  Metering: For generating facilities not subject to [the 
provisions of Section]Title 54[-], Chapter 15, Net Metering of 
Electricity, the interconnection customer shall be responsible for the 
[cost of the purchase]buying and installation of any special metering 
and data acquisition equipment [deemed]considered necessary 
[by]under the terms of the interconnection agreement unless the 
public utility determines otherwise.  The public utility must install, 
maintain, and operate the metering equipment.  The parties must 
mutually grant unrestricted access to [such]this equipment as may be 
necessary [for the purposes of]to conduct[ing] routine business. 
 (2)  For generating facilities subject to [the provisions of 
Section]Title 54[-], Chapter 15, Net Metering of Electricity, metering 
equipment and costs for [such]this metering equipment shall be 
determined as specified in Section 54-15-103.  The public utility must 
install, maintain, and operate the metering equipment.  The parties 
must mutually grant unrestricted access to [such]this equipment as 
may be necessary [for the purposes of]to conduct[ing] routine 
business. 
 
R746-312-12.  Interconnection Monitoring. 
 (1)  Generating facilities approved and interconnected to 
the public utility under the Level 1 and Level 2 interconnection 
review processes, and generating facilities with nameplate capacities 
of 3 megawatts or less approved under the Level 3 interconnection 
review process, except as noted [herein]in Section R746-312-12, are 

not required to provide for remote monitoring of the electric output 
by the public utilities. 
 (2)  Generating facilities approved under Level 3 
Interconnection Applications with Electric Nameplate Capacities 
greater than 5 MW or Level 3 Interconnection Applications [where]if 
the aggregated generation on the circuit, including the 
interconnection customer's generating facility, would exceed 50%[ 
percent] of the line section annual peak load may be required to 
provide remote monitoring at the public utility's discretion if the 
public utility has required [such]this monitoring of its own facilities. 
 (3)  If a public utility determines monitoring data provided 
by telemetry is necessary for safe, reliable, and efficient operations 
of a proposed generating facility with an electric nameplate capacity 
of greater than 3 megawatts to 5 megawatts, the public utility may 
petition the commission on a case[ ]-by[ ]-case basis to impose 
monitoring and telemetry requirements on the [such ]facility[ies].  
[Any such]The petition must be accompanied by evidence supporting 
telemetry needs and requirements. 
 (4)  For generating facilities required to provide remote 
monitoring pursuant to Subsections R746-312-12(2) [ ]and R746-
312-12[ ](3), the data acquisition and transmission to a point where 
it [can]may be used by the public utility's control system operations 
must meet the performance[ ]-based standards as follows: 
 (a)  Any data acquisition and telemetry equipment required 
by this rule must be installed, operated, and maintained at the 
interconnection customer's expense. 
 (b)  Telemetry requirements: 
 (i)  parties may mutually agree to waive or [modify]change 
any of the telemetry requirements contained [herein]in Subsection 
R746-312-12(4)(b). 
 (ii)  the communication must take place via a Private 
Network Link using a Frame Relay or Fractional T-1 line or other 
[such ]suitable device.  Dedicated Remote Terminal Units, from the 
generating facility to the public utility's substation and [E]energy 
[M]management [S]system are not required. 
 (iii)  a single communication circuit from the generating 
facility to the public utility is sufficient. 
 (iv)  communications protocol must be DNP 3.0 or other 
standard used by the public utility. 
 (v)  the generating facility must be capable of sending 
telemetric monitoring data to the public utility at a minimum rate of 
every [2]two seconds, [(]from the output of the generating facility's 
telemetry equipment to the public utility's energy management 
system[)]. 
 (vi)  the [minimum]least data points that a generator facility 
[is required to]shall provide telemetric monitoring to the public 
utility are: 
 (A)  net real power flowing out or into the generating 
facility, measured as [(]analog[)]; 
 (B)  net reactive power flowing out or into the generating 
facility, measured as [(]analog[)]; 
 (C)  bus bar voltage at the point of common coupling, 
measured as [(]analog[)]; 
 (D)  data processing gateway (DPG) [ ]heartbeat, [(]used to 
certify the telemetric signal quality[)]; and 
 (E)  on-line or off-line status[ (digital)]. 
 (vii)  If an interconnection customer operates the 
equipment associated with the high voltage switchyard 
interconnecting the generating facility to the public utility's 
distribution system, and [is required by to]shall provide monitoring 
and telemetry, the interconnection customer must provide the 
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following monitoring to the public utility in addition to the provisions 
in Subsection R746-312-12(4)(b)(vi): 
 (A)  switchyard line and transformer MW and MVAR 
values; 
 (B)  switchyard bus voltage; and 
 (C)  switching devices status. 
 
R746-312-13.  Interconnection Fees and Charges. 
 (1)  For a Level 1 interconnection review: 
 (a)  A public utility whose rates are determined by the 
commission may not charge an application, or other fee, to an 
applicant that requests Level 1 interconnection review.  However, if 
an application for Level 1 interconnection review is denied because 
it does not meet the requirements for Level 1 interconnection review, 
and the applicant resubmits the application under the Level 2 or Level 
3 review procedure, the public utility may impose a fee for the 
resubmitted application, consistent with [this s]Section R746-312-13. 
 (b)  [All]Any other public utility[ies] may determine 
reasonable fees or charges for interconnection, however for those 
interconnections that fall under [the provisions of ]Title 54, Chapter 
15, Net Metering of Electricity, the fees must be determined in 
accordance with Title 54, Chapter 15, Net Metering of Electricity. 
 (2)  For a Level 2 interconnection review,[: 
 (a) ] [A]a public utility whose rates are determined by the 
commission may charge fees of up to $50[.00] plus $1[.00] per 
kilowatt of the generating facility's capacity to cover the costs of the 
interconnection request review, plus the reasonable cost of any 
required minor modifications to the electric distribution system or 
additional reviews.  Costs for [such]these minor modifications or 
additional review will be based on the public utility's non-binding, 
good faith estimates and the ultimate [actual ]installed costs.  Costs 
for engineering work done as part of any additional review or studies 
[shall]may not exceed $100[.00] per hour.  A public utility may adjust 
the $100[.00] hourly rate once each year to account for inflation and 
deflation. 
 (3)  For a Level 3 interconnection review,[: 
 (a) ] [A]a public utility whose rates are determined by the 
commission may charge fees of up to $100[.00] plus $2[.00] per 
kilowatt of the generating facility's capacity, as well as charges for 
[actual ]time spent on any required impact or facilities studies.  Costs 
for engineering work done as part of a feasibility, impact, or facilities 
study [shall]may not exceed $100[.00] per hour.  A public utility may 
adjust the $100[.00] hourly rate once each year to account for 
inflation and deflation as measured by the 12 months unadjusted 
Consumer Price Index for [all]any items calculated for December of 
the previous year.  If the public utility must install facilities [in order 
]to accommodate the interconnection of the generating facility, the 
cost of [such]these facilities shall be the responsibility of the 
applicant. 
 
R746-312-14.  Requirements After Interconnection Approval. 
 (1)  A public utility may not require an applicant whose 
facility meets the criteria for interconnection approval under the 
Level 1 or Level 2 interconnection review procedures to perform or 
pay for additional tests, except if agreed to by the applicant.  In 
addition, a public utility may not require an interconnection customer 
whose net metering generating facility [is in ]compli[anc]es with 
Section 54-15-106 to perform or pay for additional tests. 
 (2)  A public utility may not charge any fee or other charge 
for connecting to the public utility's distribution system or for 
operation and maintenance of a generating facility [for the purposes 
of]to generat[ing]e electricity, except for the fees provided for under 

this interconnection rule and approved standard form agreements, or 
as determined by the governing authority. 
 (3)  Once an interconnection has been approved under this 
interconnection rule, the public utility may not require an 
interconnection customer to test or perform maintenance on its 
facility except for the following and subject to [the provision of 
]Section 54-15-106: 
 (a)  any manufacturer-required testing or maintenance; 
 (b)  any post-installation testing necessary to ensure 
compliance with IEEE standards or to ensure safety; 
 (c)  the interconnection customer replaces a major 
equipment component that is different from the originally installed 
model; [and/]or 
 (d)  an annual test to be performed at the discretion of and 
paid for by the public utility in which the generating facility is 
disconnected from the public utility's equipment to ensure the 
inverter stops delivering power to the grid. 
 (4)  When an approved generating facility undergoes 
maintenance or testing in accordance with the requirements of this 
interconnection rule, the interconnection customer must [retain]keep 
written records for three years documenting the maintenance and the 
results of testing. 
 (5)  A public utility has the right to inspect an 
interconnection customer's facility after interconnection approval is 
granted, at reasonable hours and with reasonable [prior]earlier notice 
to the interconnection customer.  If the public utility discovers that 
the generating facility is not in compliance with the requirements of 
this interconnection rule or executed agreements, the public utility 
may require the interconnection customer to disconnect the 
generating facility until compliance is achieved. 
 (6)  [Subsequent to]After becoming interconnected to a 
public utility, the interconnection customer must notify the public 
utility of [all]each proposed modification[s] to the generating facility 
or equipment package pursuant to Subsection R746-312-4(6). 
 
R746-312-15.  Aggregation of Meters for Net Metering 
Interconnection. 
 (1)  [For the purpose of]To measur[ing]e electricity usage 
under the net metering program, a public utility must, upon request 
from an interconnection customer, aggregate for billing purposes a 
meter to which the net metering facility is physically attached, [(]the 
designated meter[)],  with one or more meters, [(]the additional 
meter[)],  in the manner set out in [this s]Section R746-312-15.  This 
rule [is applicable]applies only [when]if: 
 (a)  the additional meter is located on or adjacent to the 
premises of the electrical corporation's customer, subject to the 
electrical corporation's service requirements; 
 (b)  the additional meter is used to measure only electricity 
used for the interconnection customer's requirements; 
 (c)  the designated meter and the additional meter are 
subject to the same rate schedule; and 
 (d)  the designated meter and the additional meter are 
served by the same primary feeder. 
 (2)  An interconnection customer must give at least 30 
business days' notice to the utility to request that additional meters be 
included in meter aggregation.  The specific meters must be identified 
[at the time of such]when the request is made.  [In the event that]If 
more than one additional meter is identified, the interconnection 
customer must designate the ranking order for the additional meters 
to which net metering credits, as defined in Subsection 54-15-104(3) 
and approved by the governing authority, are to be applied. 
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 (3)  The aggregation of meters will apply only to charges 
that use kilowatt-hours as the billing determinant.  [All o]Other 
charge[s] applicable to each meter account shall be billed to the 
interconnection customer. 
 (4)  If in a monthly billing period the net metering facility 
supplies more electricity to the public utility than the energy usage 
recorded by the interconnection customer's designated meter, the 
utility will apply credits, as defined in Subsection 54-15-104(3) and 
approved by the governing authority, to the next monthly bill for the 
excess kilowatt-hours first to the designated meter, then to additional 
meters that are on the same rate schedule as the designated meter. 
 (5)  If an additional meter changes service to a rate schedule 
that is different than the designated meter, the additional meter is not 
eligible for net metering credits, as defined in Subsection 54-15-
104(3) and approved by the governing authority, for the 
[remainder]rest of the billing year and until [such time as ]the 
additional meter receives service on the same rate schedule as the 
designated meter. 
 (6)  If the designated meter changes service to a different 
rate schedule, aggregation of net metering credits is not allowed for 
the [remainder]rest of the billing year and may not occur until [such 
time as ]the additional meters receive service on the same rate 
schedule as the designated meter. 
 (7)  With the governing authority's [prior]earlier approval, 
a public utility may charge the interconnection customer requesting 
to aggregate meters a reasonable fee to cover the administrative costs 
of this provision. 
 
R746-312-16.  Public Utility Maps, Records, and Reports. 
 (1)  Each public utility shall maintain current records of 
interconnection customer generating facilities showing size, location, 
generator type, and date of interconnection authorization. 
 (2)  By July 1 of each year, [the]each public utility whose 
governing authority is the commission shall submit to the 
commission an annual report with the following summary 
information for the previous calendar year: 
 (a)  the total number of generating facilities approved and 
their associated attributes including resource type, generating 
capacity, and zip code of the generating facility location;[,] 
 (b)  the total rated generating capacity of generating 
facilities by resource type[,]; 
 (c)  for net metering interconnections, the total net excess 
generation kilowatt-hours received from interconnection customers 
by month[,]; and 
 (d)  for net metering interconnections, the total amount of 
excess generation credits in kilowatt[ ]-hours, and their associated 
dollar value that have expired at the end of each annualized billing 
period. 
 
R746-312-17.  Interconnection-related Agreements. 
 (1)  Contents of a [S]standard [I]interconnection 
[A]agreement are listed in Subsection R746-312-17(2). 
 (2)  [All]Each standard form interconnection agreement[s] 
shall, at [a minimum]the least, contain the following: 
 (a)  a requirement that the generating facility must be 
inspected by a local building code official [prior to]before its 
operation in parallel with the public utility to ensure compliance with 
applicable local codes. 
 (b)  provisions that permit the public utility to inspect the 
interconnection customer's generating facility and its component 
equipment, and the documents necessary to ensure compliance with 
[this r]Rule R746-312.  The customer shall notify the public utility as 

required by this rule [prior to]before initially placing customer 
equipment and protective apparatus in service, and the public utility 
[shall have the right to]may have personnel present on the in-service 
date.  If the generating system is subsequently modified [in order ]to 
increase its gross power rating, the customer must notify the public 
utility by submitting a new application specifying the modifications 
in accordance with the level of review required for the application. 
 (c)  a provision that the customer is responsible for 
protecting the generating equipment, inverters, protective devices, 
and other system components from damage from the normal and 
abnormal conditions and operations that occur on the public utility 
system in delivering and restoring power; and is responsible for 
ensuring that the generating facility equipment is inspected, 
maintained, and tested in accordance with the manufacturer's 
instructions to ensure that it is operating correctly and safely. 
 (d)  a provision that the customer shall hold harmless and 
indemnify the public utility for [all]each loss to third parties resulting 
from the operation of the generating facility, except when the loss 
occurs due to the negligent actions of the public utility; and a 
provision that the public utility shall hold harmless and indemnify the 
customer for [all]each loss to third parties resulting from the 
operation of the public utility's system, except when the loss occurs 
due to the negligent actions of the customer. 
 (e)  Insurance: 
 (i)  If an interconnection customer whose generating 
facility is no greater than two megawatts in size complies with the 
provisions of the interconnection request approval, interconnection 
agreement, and standards identified in Section 54-15-106, a public 
utility may not require that interconnection customer to 
[purchase]buy additional liability insurance. 
 (ii)  [all o]Other interconnection customers are required to 
[obtain]buy prudent amounts of general liability insurance in an 
amount sufficient to protect other parties from any loss, cost, claim, 
injury, liability, or expense, including reasonable attorney fees, 
relating to or arising from any act or omission in its performance of 
[the provisions of the ]this rule or the interconnection agreement.  
Neither party may seek redress from the other party in an amount 
greater than the amount of direct damage [actually ]incurred.  An 
interconnection customer of sufficient credit-worthiness may 
propose to self-insure for [such]these liabilities and [such]the 
proposal [shall]may not be unreasonably rejected. 
 (f)  identification of any fees or charges approved pursuant 
to this rule or applicable law. 
 
KEY:  interconnection, generating equipment, renewable energy 
facilities, public utilities 
Date of Last Change:  2024[December 22, 2016] 
Notice of Continuation:  February 26, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  54-4-7; 54-
4-14; 54-12-2; 54-15-106 
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Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 4558 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4558 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Hammer 801-

530-
6729 

michaelhammer@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R746-313.  Electrical Service Reliability 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Section R746-313-7, Reporting on Electric Service 
Reliability:  This section imposes an annual reporting 
requirement on electric public utilities relating to electric 
service reliability. 
 
The Public Service Commission (PSC) generally 
exercises less regulatory authority over electrical 
cooperatives than investor-owned utilities, see, e.g., 
Subsection 54-7-12(7) (exempting cooperatives from 
statute requiring utilities to obtain the PSC's approval 
changing customer rates). 
 
The PSC convened a public process and held a technical 
conference on 09/25/2023 to receive feedback from 
stakeholders as to whether the reporting requirement is 
necessary for electrical cooperatives. 
 
At the technical conference, a consensus existed in 
support of amending this rule to remove the reporting 
requirement for electrical cooperatives because the 
reports are of limited usefulness to regulators owing to 
regulators' more limited jurisdiction over electrical 
cooperatives and the burden of requiring electrical 
cooperatives to submit the report outweighs any potential 
benefit. 
 
Accordingly, the proposed amendment exempts electrical 
cooperatives from the reporting requirement by excising 
certain language pertaining only to electrical cooperatives 
and making the reporting requirement applicable only to 
public utilities for which the "governing authority" is the 
PSC.  Subsection R746-313-2(4) provides the "governing 
authority" of an electrical cooperative is its board of 
directors, as opposed to the PSC. 
 

Section R746-313-8, Major Event Reporting by Electric 
Utilities:  This section imposes a requirement on electric 
public utilities to file reports to the PSC within 30 days of 
certain outage events. 
 
The PSC generally exercises less regulatory authority 
over electrical cooperatives than investor-owned utilities, 
see, e.g., Subsection 54-7-12(7) (exempting cooperatives 
from statute requiring utilities to obtain the PSC's approval 
changing customer rates). 
 
The PSC convened a public process and held a technical 
conference on 09/25/2023 to receive feedback from 
stakeholders as to whether the reporting requirement is 
necessary for electrical cooperatives. 
 
At the technical conference, a consensus existed in 
support of amending this rule to remove the reporting 
requirement for electrical cooperatives because the 
reports are of limited usefulness to regulators owing to 
regulators' more limited jurisdiction over electrical 
cooperatives and the burden of requiring electrical 
cooperatives to submit the reports outweighs any potential 
benefit. 
 
Accordingly, the proposed amendment exempts electrical 
cooperatives from the reporting requirement by excising 
the language applicable to electrical cooperatives, which 
in the rule's terms are defined as entities whose governing 
authority is not the PSC,  see Subsection R746-313-2(4). 
 
This amendment also makes nonsubstantive changes to 
the rule text for adherence to the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah standards. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendment exempts electrical cooperatives from the 
reporting requirement this rule imposes by making it 
applicable only to public utilities for which the governing 
authority is the PSC and excising language pertaining to 
electrical cooperatives. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The amendment is expected to have no measurable 
impact on the state's budget because thia rule imposes an 
annual reporting requirement on private electric utilities, 
and these private entities bear the costs associated with 
preparing the annual reports. 
 
The proposed amendment makes no substantive changes 
to the existing rule aside from eliminating the reporting 
requirement for electrical cooperatives, which should 
result in saved compliance costs for those cooperatives 
but will have no impact on the state budget. 
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B)  Local governments: 

The amendment does not concern local governments and 
is not expected to impact them because it concerns 
electrical cooperatives, not municipal utilities, and serves 
to remove an existing regulatory reporting requirement for 
electrical cooperatives. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
To the extent an electric cooperative is a small business, 
the amendment can only decrease regulatory compliance 
costs as it removes a regulatory reporting requirement for 
electrical cooperatives, though the PSC does not have 
information sufficient to determine the extent of savings for 
such cooperatives. 
 
The amendment is expected to have no impact on small 
businesses that are not electrical cooperatives. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
To the extent an electric cooperative is a non-small 
business, the amendment can only decrease regulatory 
compliance costs as it removes a regulatory reporting 
requirement for electrical cooperatives, though the PSC 
does not have information sufficient to determine the 
extent of savings for such cooperatives. 
 
The amendment is expected to have no impact on non-
small businesses that are not electrical cooperatives. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The amendment is expected to have no impact on persons 
other than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, 
or local government entities, unless such persons are 
electrical cooperatives in which case the amendment can 
only decrease regulatory compliance costs as it removes 
an existing regulatory reporting requirement. 
 
The PSC does not have sufficient information to estimate 
the amount of such savings for any affected electrical 
cooperative. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no anticipated compliance costs for any affected 
entity or person. 
 
The amendment can only result in cost savings as it 
removes an existing regulatory reporting requirement for 
electrical cooperatives. 
 

G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
Commissioners David R. Clark and John S. Harvey, Ph.D., 
of the Public Service Commission provided the following 
comments: 
 
As discussed above, the amendment removes an existing 
regulatory reporting requirement for electrical 
cooperatives.  The only businesses or entities it stands to 
affect are electrical cooperatives, and any fiscal impact will 
necessarily result in cost savings because the amendment 
removes an existing regulatory reporting requirement. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 54-3-1 Section 54-4-2 Section 54-4-7 
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Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/08/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

David R. Clark  
and John S.  
Harvey, Ph.D.,  
PSC  
Commissioners 

Date: 02/06/2024 

 
R746.  Public Service Commission, Administration. 
R746-313.  Electrical Service Reliability. 
R746-313-1.  Authority. 
 [(1)  ]This rule establishes electric service reliability and 
continuity requirements as provided for in [Utah Code ]Sections 54-
3-1, 54-4-2, and 54-4-7. 
 
R746-313-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Customer average interruption duration index" 
(["]CAIDI["]) has the same meaning as in IEEE 1366 or RUS 1730A-
119, as applicable. 
 (2)  "Electric company" means an electrical corporation or 
a distribution electrical cooperative that is also a public utility, as 
defined in [Utah Code]Section 54-2-1. 
 (3)  "Form 7 - Information on Service Interruptions" means: 
 (a)  Part G of the United States Department of Agriculture 
Rural Utilities Service Form 7 Financial and Statistical Report[,]; 
 (b)  Part H of the National Rural Utilities Cooperative 
Finance Corporation Form 7 Financial and Statistical Report[,]; or 
 (c)  their equivalents. 
 (4)  "Governing Authority" means: 
 (a)  for a distribution electrical cooperative as defined in 
[Utah Code]Subsection 54-2-1(6), its board of directors; and 
 (b)  for an electrical corporation as defined in [Utah 
Code]Subsection 54-2-1(7), the Public Service Commission of Utah, 
otherwise referred to as the commission. 
 (5)  "The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers 
Standard 1366" (["]IEEE 1366["]) means the 2012 edition of the 
IEEE Guide for Electric Power Distribution Reliability Indices. 
 (6)  "Loss of power supply" 
 (a)  "Loss of power supply - Distribution Substation" means 
the loss of the electrical power supply system due to an outage[/] or 
failure of a distribution substation component. 
 (b)  "Loss of power supply - Generation[/] or Transmission" 
means the loss of the electrical power supply from the electric 
company's own electric generator or transmission system, including 
transmission lines and transmission substations, or from another 
electric company or electric corporation. 

 (7)  "Momentary average interruption event frequency 
index" (["]MAIFIe["]) has the same meaning as in IEEE 1366 or RUS 
1730A-119, as applicable. 
 (8)  "Major event day identification threshold value" 
(["]TMED["]) has the same meaning as in IEEE 1366 or RUS 1730A-
119. 
 (9)  "Operating area" means a geographic subdivision of an 
electric company's Utah service territory that functions under the 
direction of an electric company office and as a separate entity used 
for reliability reporting within the electric company.  An operating 
area may also be referred to as regions, divisions, or districts, and 
may also be a reliability reporting area. 
 (10)  "Reliability" means the degree to which electric 
service is supplied without interruptions to customers. 
 (11)  "Reliability indices" means the electric service 
interruption indices identified in IEEE 1366 or RUS 1730A-119, as 
applicable. 
 (12)  "Reliability reporting area" means a grouping of one 
or more operating areas, for which the electric company calculates 
major event thresholds. 
 (13)  "Reporting Period" means the 12-month period, based 
on the previous 365 days, or 366 days for leap years, for which an 
electric company is tracking and reporting reliability performance. 
 (14)  "Rules" means the [E]electric [S]service [R]reliability 
rules found at Sections R746-313-1 through R746-313-8. 
 (15)  "RUS 1730A-119" means the United States 
Department of Agriculture Rural Utilities Service Bulletin 1730A-
119 entitled "Interruption Reporting and Service Continuity 
Objectives for Electric Distribution Systems," dated March 24, 2009. 
 (16)  "System average interruption duration index" 
(["]SAIDI["]) has the same meaning as in IEEE 1366 or RUS 1730A-
119, as applicable. 
 (17)  "System average interruption frequency index" 
(["]SAIFI["]) has the same meaning as in IEEE 1366 or RUS 1730A-
119, as applicable. 
 (18)  "System-wide" means pertaining to and limited to the 
electric company's customers in Utah. 
 
R746-313-3.  Purpose, Scope, Applicability, and Exceptions. 
 (1)  This rule establishes requirements for each electric 
company to monitor and report on electric service reliability. 
 (2)  Unless otherwise approved, an electric company whose 
governing authority is the commission shall: 
 (a)  follow the provisions of IEEE 1366 in the collection 
and analysis of interruption data and in the calculation and reporting 
of reliability indices as required by [these]this rule[s].  If there is a 
conflict between any provision in IEEE 1366 and [the]this rule[s], 
[the]this rule[s] governs; and 
 (b)  include both "distribution system" interruptions and 
"interruptions caused by events outside of the distribution system," 
as defined in IEEE 1366, in the electric company's record[ ]keeping, 
calculations, reporting, and filing as required by Sections R746-313-
4 through R746-313-8. 
 (3)  Unless otherwise approved, an electric company whose 
governing authority is not the commission shall: 
 (a)  follow the provisions of either IEEE 1366 or the RUS 
Bulletin 1730A-119 in the collection and analysis of interruption data 
and in the calculation and reporting of reliability indices as required 
by [these]this rule[s]. If a conflict exists between any provision in 
IEEE 1366 or RUS 1730A-119 and [the]this rule[s], [the]this rule[s] 
governs; and 
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 (b)  include both "distribution system" interruptions and 
interruptions caused by events outside of the distribution system in 
the electric company's record[ ]keeping, calculations, reporting, and 
filing as required by the [E]electric [S]service [R]reliability [R]rules 
found at Sections R746-313-4 through R746-313-8. 
 (4)  The commission may, upon written request and for 
good cause shown, waive or change [modify any provision of 
these]this rule[s] in accordance with Section R746-1-109, Deviation 
from Rules. 
 
R746-313-4.  Electric Service Reliability. 
 (1)  An electric company must have a written reliability 
program. 
 (2)  Within 3 months after the effective date of [these]this 
rule[s], an electric company whose governing authority is the 
commission must file for commission approval of reliability 
performance baselines for SAIDI and SAIFI reliability indices. 
 (3)  The filing required by Subsection R746-313-4(2) must 
include at least[, but is not limited to]: 
 (a)  the basis for the proposed SAIDI and SAIFI values; and 
 (b)  identification of systems and description of internal 
processes to collect, monitor, and analyze interruption data and 
events including: 
 (i)  definitions of [all]each parameter[s] used to calculate 
the proposed standards and major event days, and the time[-] period 
upon which the proposed standards are based, [(e.g.]such as, 12-
month rolling average, 365-day rolling average, and annual 
average[)]; 
 (ii)  identification of [all]any proposed deviation[s] from 
IEEE 1366 used in the calculation of reliability indices and 
determination of major event days; and 
 (iii)  a description of [all]each data estimation method[s] 
used for the collection and calculation of SAIDI, SAIFI, CAIDI, and 
MAIFIe. 
 
R746-313-5.  Electric Service Interruption Records. 
 (1)  Except as provided in [s]Subsection R746-313-5(4)[ of 
this Section]: 
 (a)  An electric company using predominantly non-
automated methods for identifying outages and tracking reliability 
shall keep an accurate record of each sustained interruption of service 
that affects one or more customers. 
 (b)  An electric company using an electronic outage 
management system for identifying electric service interruptions 
[and/]or tracking outages shall keep an accurate record of each 
interruption of service that affects one or more customers. 
 (2)  Each record shall contain at least the following 
information: 
 (a)  the operating area where the interruption occurred; 
 (b)  the reference identification of the substation involved; 
 (c)  the reference identification of the circuit involved; 
 (d)  the date and time the interruption started or was 
reported.  If the exact time is unknown, the beginning of an 
interruption is recorded as the earlier of an automatic alarm or the 
reported initiation time; 
 (e)  the date and time service was restored; 
 (f)  the duration of the interruption; 
 (g)  the number of metering points affected by the 
interruption; 
 (h)  the cause of the interruption; 

 (i)  whether the interruption was planned or unplanned; 
 (j)  the interrupting device that made the interruption, if 
known; and 
 (k)  the component involved, [(e.g.]such as:[,] transmission 
line, substation, overhead primary main, underground primary main, 
or transformer[, etc.)]. 
 (3)  For interruptions where customers are not 
simultaneously restored, an electric company shall keep records that 
document the step-restoration operations. 
 (4)  For major events where an electric company [is unable 
to]cannot get [obtain ]accurate data, the electric company shall make 
reasonable estimates and explain these estimates in any report filed 
with its governing authority. 
 (5)  An electric company shall keep[retain] the records 
associated with this rule in accordance with Section R746-310-10, 
Preservation of Records. 
 
R746-313-6.  Inquiries [a]About Electric Service Reliability. 
 (1)  A customer may request a report from its electric 
company about the reliability of the electric service provided to the 
customer's own meter which the electric company must provide at no 
cost within 20 business days of the request. If a customer requests 
one or more additional reliability reports for the same meter within 
one year of the date of the first request, the electric company may 
charge the customer the cost of preparing the report[(]s[)]. 
 (2)  For an electric company whose governing authority is 
the commission, the report to the customer must include: 
 (a)  The name of the customer; 
 (b)  The date of the request; 
 (c)  The address where the meter is installed; 
 (d)  The meter identification number; 
 (e)  The general identification of the equipment serving the 
customer; and 
 (f)  A chronological listing of interruptions to the customer 
including [all]any associated interruption data required by 
Subsection R746-313-5(2) covering at least the 36 months preceding 
the date of the request, if available.  If 36 months of data are not 
available, the chronological listing must include [all]any available 
data. 
 (3)  For an electric company whose governing authority is 
not the commission, the report to the customer must include: 
 (a)  The name of the customer; 
 (b)  The date of the request; 
 (c)  The address where the meter is installed; 
 (d)  The meter identification number; 
 (e)  The general identification of the equipment serving the 
customer; and 
 (f)  A chronological listing of interruptions on the feeder 
serving the customer's meter including [all]any interruption data 
required by Subsection R746-313-5(2) covering at least the 12 
months preceding the date of the request.  If 12 months of data are 
not available, the chronological listing must include [all]any 
available data. 
 (4)  Other than those inquiries [specified]named in 
Subsection R746-313-6(1), each electric company must have a 
written policy for consistent treatment of [all other]each inquir[ies]y 
pertaining to electric reliability.  At the least[a minimum], the electric 
company must provide to the inquiring [party]person, by electronic 
means, the electric company's most[-] recently filed report on electric 
service reliability required by Section R7[6]46-313-7. 
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R746-313-7.  Reporting on Electric Service Reliability. 
 (1)  An electric company must report deviations from the 
reliability performance baselines established in accordance with 
Section R746-313-4 within 60 days after the end of the month when 
the deviation[(]s[)] occurred. 
 (2)  Beginning May 1, 2013, and by May 1 of each 
succeeding year, an electric company whose governing authority is 
the commission shall file with the commission a report on electric 
service reliability for the previous calendar year.  The electric 
company must make electronic copies of the report available to the 
public upon request and may charge a reasonable cost for requested 
paper copies. 
 (3)  For an electric company whose governing authority is 
the commission, the report on electric service reliability must contain 
at least[a minimum]: 
 (a)  the calculated SAIDI, SAIFI, CAIDI, and MAIFIe 
reliability indices for the reporting period.  At the least[a minimum], 
the electric company must report this information on a system-wide 
basis compared with the previous four years' performance and, for 
SAIDI, SAIFI, and CAIDI on an operating area compared with the 
previous four years' performance; 
 (b)  an analysis of the system-wide and reliability reporting 
area sustained interruption causes compared to the previous four-year 
performance.  Outages may be categorized using the following cause 
categories: 
 (i)  Loss of Supply - Generation or [/]Transmission; 
 (ii)  Loss of Supply - Distribution Substation; 
 (iii)  Distribution - Environment such as:[ (e.g.,] 
unpreventable contamination, corrosion, airborne deposits, flooding, 
and fire[/] or smoke not related to faults or lightning[)]; 
 (iv)  Distribution - Equipment Failure; 
 (v)  Distribution - Lightning; 
 (vi)  Distribution - Operational; 
 (vii)  Distribution - Planned Outages; 
 (viii)  Distribution - Public; 
 (ix)  Distribution - Vegetation; 
 (x)  Distribution - Weather, [(]other than lightning[)]; 
 (xi)  Distribution - Wildlife; 
 (xii)  Distribution - Unknown; and 
 (xiii)  Distribution - Other;[.] 
 (c)  a listing of the major events experienced during the 
reporting period and a listing of significant events as defined by the 
electric company, their cause, and their effect on reliability 
performance during the reporting period; 
 (d)  comparisons of budgeted and actual maintenance 
spending, maintenance activities, capital spending, vegetation 
management spending, and vegetation management activities; 
 (e)  identification of areas whose reliability performance 
warrants additional improvement efforts;[.] 
 (f)  a listing of the TMED values that will be used for each 
reliability reporting area for the forthcoming annual reporting 
period;[.] 
 (g)  a summary of the changes the electric company has 
made or will make pertaining to the collection, calculation, 
estimation, and reporting of electric service reliability information 
and changes in reliability reporting areas [and/]or operating areas; 
and 
 (h)  a map showing the reliability reporting areas [and/]or 
operating areas. 
[ (4)  For an electric company whose governing authority is 
not the commission, the report on electric service reliability must 
contain, at a minimum: 

 (a)  The reliability indices listed in Form 7 - Information on 
Service Interruptions based upon the cause codes listed in 
RUS1730A-119 ; and 
 (b)  A summary of any estimation methods and/or an 
explanation of any factors used in calculating reliability indices 
presented in the electric company's report on electric service 
reliability.] 
 
R746-313-8.  Major Event Reporting by Electric Utilities. 
 (1)  Major event reporting for an electric company whose 
governing authority is the commission.  Within 30 business days after 
the conclusion of each event which an electric company determines 
satisfies the criteria for major event classification in accordance with 
IEEE 1366, the electric company shall file a major event report with 
the commission for its consideration.[  ] 
 (2)  The major event report must include, at least[a 
minimum]: 
 (a)  a description of the major event, the interruption 
causes, and a summary of restoration efforts and factors that affected 
restoration of service; 
 (b)  identification of reliability reporting area and 
geographic area affected; 
 (c)  the total number of customers affected, and the number 
of customers without service at periodic intervals; 
 (d)  the calculated SAIDI, SAIFI, and CAIDI impacts, that 
is[ (i.e.], Event SAIDI, SAIFI, and CAIDI,[)] associated with the 
major event to customers for each reliability reporting area and 
system-wide; and 
 (e)  restoration of service information including resources 
used and cost. 
[ (2)  Major event reporting for electric company whose 
governing authority is not the commission.  Within a timely period 
after each event which an electric company determines satisfies the 
criteria for major event classification in accordance with IEEE 1366 
or RUS 1730A-119, as applicable, the electric company shall provide 
a major event analysis to its governing authority.] 
 
KEY:  reliability, IEEE 1366, SAIDI / SAIFI, major event 
Date of Last Change:  2024[February 21, 2013] 
Notice of Continuation:  April 21, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  54-3-1; 54-
4-2; 54-4-7 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R926-13 Filing ID:  
56314 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Program Development 
Room no.: Administrative Suite, 1st Floor 
Building: Calvin Rampton Building 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 
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Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact person(s): 
Name: Phone: Name: 
Leif Elder 801-

580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Becky Lewis 801-
965-
4026 

blewis@utah.gov 

James Godin 801-
573-
7181 

jamesjgodin@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R926-13.  Transportation, Program Development - 
Designated Scenic Byways 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Program Development Division is proposing these 
revisions to Rule R926-13 due to exclusion of a section of 
the Dinosaur Diamond Prehistoric Highway Scenic Byway 
and the addition of the Zion National Scenic Byway. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed revisions to this rule include: 
1) the change to Subsection R926-13-4(29) adds 
Subsection (f); 
2) the changes to Section R926-13-5 change Subsection 
(5)(c) to replace the acronym "NSB" with "National Scenic 
Byway" and also in Subsection (7)(a)(iii); 
a) add Subsection (9) to identify the "Zion National Scenic 
Byway"; 
b) add Subsection (9)(a); and  
c) add Subsection (9)(b). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no measurable fiscal impact on the state budget 
because this rule amendment merely designates a new 
section of road as a State Scenic Byway and excludes a 
different section of road from being part of the State Scenic 
Byway system.  
 

These actions are clerical in nature and have no tangible 
fiscal impact on the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT) 
anticipates this proposed change will not have a fiscal 
impact on local governments because this rule does not 
apply to local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
UDOT anticipates this proposed change may have a 
positive fiscal impact on small businesses engaged in 
outdoor advertising because such businesses may install 
outdoor advertising in the section of highway denoted in 
the proposed Subsection R926-13-4(29)(f). 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
UDOT anticipates this proposed change may have a 
positive fiscal impact on small businesses engaged in 
outdoor advertising because such business may install 
outdoor advertising in the section of highway denoted in 
the proposed Subsection R926-13-4(29)(f). 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
UDOT anticipates this proposed change will not have an 
impact on persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities due to the 
clerical nature of this rule amendment. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons due to 
the clerical nature of this rule amendment. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of 
Transportation, Carlos M. Braceras, P.E., has reviewed 
and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section `72-4-303 Section 63G-3-201  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/01/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/08/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, P.E.,  
Executive Director 

Date: 02/02/2024 

R926.  Transportation, Program Development. 
R926-13.  Designated Scenic Byways. 
R926-13-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to identify the following: 
 (1)  [T]the specific highways currently designated as state 
scenic byways[.]; 
 (2)  [T]the definition of the limits of the individual scenic 
byways for all purposes related to that designation, including, [but 
not limited to, ]grant and funding availability, and applicable outdoor 
advertising regulations[.]; 
 (3)  [T]the specific state scenic byways within the State [of 
Utah ]currently having also been designated by the National Scenic 
Byways Program of the Federal Highway Administration as either 
National Scenic Byways or All-American Roads. 
 
R926-13-2.  Authority. 
 [The provisions of t]This rule is[are] authorized by [the 
following grants of rulemaking authority and provisions of Utah 
Code: ]Title 63G, Chapter 3, the Utah Administrative Rulemaking 
Act; and the Designation of Highways Act, Title 72, Chapter 4. 
 
R926-13-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Title 72, Chapter 
4, the Designation of State Highways Act, and in Section[Rule] 
R926-14-3.  The following additional term is defined for this rule: 
 [(1)](2)  "FAS" (with a corresponding four-digit number) is 
a designation given by the department to identify local roadways off 
the state highway system that are part of the federal aid secondary 
system because they are functionally classified as minor collectors or 
higher. 
 
R926-13-4.  Highways Within the State That Are Designated as 
State Scenic Byways. 
 The following roads are designated as state scenic byways 
[(date of designation is]as of April 9, 1990, unless otherwise 
specified[)]: 
 (1)  Logan Canyon Scenic Byway.[ ] US Route 89, 
beginning at 1500 East in Logan and running to the intersection of 
SR-30 in Garden City, excluding a 20-foot segment within Garden 
City at a location centered at [approximately]about mile point 
497.73. 
 (a)  Designated April 9, 1990. 
 (b)  Shortened June 13, 2002 when designated a National 
Scenic Byway and the portion of US-89 from Garden City to the 
Utah[/] and Idaho State Line was transferred to the Bear Lake Scenic 
Byway. 
 (c)  Segment excluded May 13, 2010, by action of the 
Garden City town council which determined the segment at 
[approximately]about mile point 497.73 lay adjacent to a non-scenic 
area. 
 (2)  Bear Lake Scenic Byway.[ ] US Route 89, beginning at 
the Utah[/] and Idaho state line and running to SR-30; and State 
Route 30, beginning at US-89, and running to East Shore Road in 
Laketown. 
 (a)  Designated April 9, 1990 as Laketown Scenic Byway. 
 (b)  Extended and renamed June 13, 2002 to include the 
portion of US-89 originally included in the state designation of the 
Logan Canyon Scenic Byway that was excluded when that byway 
was designated a National Scenic Byway. 
 (3)  Ogden River Scenic Byway. [ ]State Route 39, 
beginning at Valley Drive, near the mouth of Ogden Canyon, and 
running to the eastern Wasatch-Cache Forest boundary near highway 
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milepost 48; and State Route 158 from SR-39, and running to County 
Road FAS-3468; and the County Road FAS-3468, from SR-158, 
running to SR-39. 
 (4)  Big Cottonwood Canyon Scenic Byway. State Route 
190, beginning at SR-210, and running to the end of the Brighton 
Loop. 
 (5)  Little Cottonwood Canyon Scenic Byway.[ ] State 
Route 210, beginning at SR-209, and running to the end of state 
maintenance, near Alta. 
 (6)  Provo Canyon Scenic Byway.[ ] US Route 189, 
beginning at SR-52, and running to SR-113, near Charleston; and 
State Route 113, from US-189 running to US-40 in Heber City. 
 (a)  Designated April 9, 1990. 
 (b)  Realigned onto SR-113 from the eastern portion of US-
189 February 25, 2003. 
 (7)  Mirror Lake Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 150, 
beginning at SR-32 in Kamas, and running to the Utah[/] and 
Wyoming State Line. 
 (8)  Flaming Gorge-Uintas Scenic Byway.[ ] US Route 191, 
beginning at US-40 in Vernal, and running to the Utah[/] and 
Wyoming State Line; State Route 44, from US-191, running to SR-
43 in Manila; and State Route 43, from SR-44, running to the Utah[/] 
and Wyoming state line. 
 (a)  Designated April 9, 1990 on SR-44 and US-191 
between SR-44 and Vernal. 
 (b)  Added November 18, 1992 the portion of US-191 
between SR-44 and the state line. 
 (9)  Indian Canyon Scenic Byway.[ ] US Route 191, 
beginning at US-6 near Helper, and running to US-40 in Duchesne. 
 (10)  The Energy Loop: Huntington and Eccles Canyons 
Scenic Byway.  State Route 31, beginning at US-89 in Fairview, and 
running to SR-10 in Huntington; State Route 264, from SR-31, 
running to SR-96; and State Route 96, from Clear Creek, and running 
to US-6 near Colton. 
 (a)  Designated April 9, 1990 on SR-31 and SR-264. 
 (b)  Extended circa 1992 to add SR-96 between Clear Creek 
and Colton. 
 (c)  Extended on February 2, 2011 to include US-6 from 
SR-96 at Colton (MP 216.17) to the southern boundary of Helper 
(MP 233.72) and SR-10 from SR-31 (MP 47.58) to [the ]Huntington 
State Park (MP 49.38). 
 (11)  Nebo Loop Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 115, 
beginning at I-15 and running to SR-198; State Route 198, from SR-
115 running to 600 East in Payson; and along County Road FAS-
2822 (600 East) and National Forest Road 015, [(]FAS-1822 and the 
portion of FAS-1820 south of FAS-1822[)], running to SR-132 in 
Juab County. 
 (12)  Upper Colorado River Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 
128, beginning at US-191 near Moab, and running to I-70 West Cisco 
interchange. 
 (13)  Potash-Lower Colorado River Scenic Byway.[ ] State 
Route 279, beginning at the southwest end of SR-279 near the Potash 
Plant and running to US-191. 
 (14)  Indian Creek Corridor Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 
211, beginning at US-191 and running to County Road FAS-2432; 
and County Road FAS-2432 from SR-211 running to the 
Canyonlands National Park Visitor Center. 
 (15)  Bicentennial Highway Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 
95, beginning at SR-24, and running to US-191. 
 (16)  Trail of The Ancients Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 
95, beginning at SR-275, and running to US-191; State Route 275, 
from SR-95 and running to Natural Bridges National Monument; US 

Route 191 from Center Street in Blanding running to SR-162 in 
Bluff; and State Route 162 from US-191 running to the Utah[/] and 
Colorado state line. 
 (a)  Designated February 7, 1994 on SR-275, over the 
eastern portion of the Bicentennial Highway Scenic Byway between 
SR-275 and US-191, and on US-191 between Blanding and SR-262. 
 (b)  Extended June 6, 2001 [ ]to include US-191 between 
SR-262 and Bluff, and to include SR-162. 
 (17)  Monument Valley to Bluff Scenic Byway.  US Route 
163, beginning at the Utah[/] and Arizona State Line running to US-
191; and US Route 191 from US-163 running to the Cottonwood 
Wash Bridge in Bluff. 
 (18)  Capitol Reef Country Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 
24, beginning at SR-72 in Loa, and running to SR-95 in Hanksville. 
 (19)  Highway 12, A Journey Through Time Scenic 
Byway.[ ] State Route 12, beginning at US-89 near Panguitch, and 
running to SR-24 near Torrey. 
 (20)  Markagunt High Plateau Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 
14, beginning at SR-130 and running to US-89. 
 (21)  Cedar Breaks Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 148, 
beginning at SR-14, through Cedar Breaks National Monument, 
running to SR-143. 
 (22)  Brian Head-Panguitch Lake Scenic Byway.[ ] State 
Route 143, beginning at I-15 South Parowan Interchange, and 
running to US-89 in Panguitch. 
 (23)  Beaver Canyon Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 153, 
beginning at SR-160 in Beaver, and running to the end of pavement 
near Elk Meadows. 
 (24)  Mt. Carmel Scenic Byway.[ ] US Route 89, beginning 
at the Kanab north city limit[ (approximately], about highway 
milepost 65[)], and running to SR-12. 
 (25)  Zion Park Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 9, beginning 
at I-15 and running to US-89. 
 (26)  Kolob Fingers Road Scenic Byway.[ ] The National 
Park Service Road, beginning at I-15, and running to the Kolob 
Canyon Overlook. 
 (27)  Dead Horse Mesa Scenic Byway (designated May 16, 
2002).[ ] State Route 313, from US-191 running to Dead Horse Point 
State Park; and the Island in the Sky Road FAS-1708, from SR-313 
running to Grandview Point. 
[ (a)  Designated May 16, 2002.] 
 (28)  Fishlake Scenic Byway.[ ] State Route 25 and County 
Roads FAS-2554 (comprising Fish Lake Road[/] and Forest Highway 
31) and FAS-3268 (Freemont River Road and [/]Forest Highway 42), 
beginning at SR-24, and running to SR-72. 
 (a)  Designated April 9, 1990, on SR-25 between SR-24 and 
Johnson Valley Reservoir. 
 (b)  Extended November 18, 1992, along the Fremont River 
Road between Johnson Valley Reservoir and SR-72 to comprise the 
southern portion of the Gooseberry/Fremont Road Scenic Backway. 
 (29)  Dinosaur Diamond Prehistoric Highway Scenic 
Byway.[ ] Interstate 70, from the Utah[/] and Colorado state line 
running to Cisco Exit 214; the County Road FAS-1714 through 
Cisco, from I-70 running to SR-128; State Route 128, from the Cisco 
Road running to US-191 near Moab; US Route 191, from SR-128 
running to I-70 at Crescent Junction; Interstate 70, from US-191 at 
Crescent Junction running to US-6 near Green River; US Route 6, 
from I-70 running to US-191 near Helper; US Route 191, from US-6 
near Helper running to US-40 in Duchesne; US Route 40, from US-
191 in Duchesne to the Utah[/] and Colorado state line. 
 (a)  Dinosaur Diamond Prehistoric Highway designated in 
[Title 72, Chapter 4, Section 204 ]Section 72-4-204 in 1998. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 05 55 

 (b)  Scenic byway route established with National Scenic 
Byway designation differs from special highway designation in that 
it includes County Road FAS-1714 and I-70 east of Cisco and does 
not at this time include those portions located on SR-10, on SR-155, 
or on US-191 south of SR-128. 
 (c)  Segment excluded June 27, 2013 by action of the 
Naples City Council which determined the segment on US-40 
[at]about [approximately ]mile point 145.87, [(]300 South[)] to mile 
point 148.53, [(]3000 South[)] become a non-scenic byway. 
 (d)  Segment excluded July 20, 2015 by action of the 
Uintah County Commission which determined the segment on US-
40 from mile point 153 to 154 become a non-scenic byway. 
 (e)  Segment excluded August 31, 2015 by action of the 
Uintah County Commission which determined the segment on US-
40 from mile point 154 to 156 become a non-scenic byway. 
 (f)  Segment excluded October 18, 2022 by action of the 
City Council of Ballard City which determined the segment on US-
40 beginning at the corner of US-40 and 2500 East going east about 
2000 line 
 (30)  Great Salt Lake Legacy Parkway Scenic Byway.[ ] 
State Route 67, beginning at I-215 and running to I-15. 
 (a)  Designated May 16, 2002. 
 (b)  Name changed July 19, 2018 to Great Salt Lake Scenic 
Byway. 
 (c)  Extended July 19, 2018 to include the future West 
Davis Corridor beginning at SR-67 milepost 10 running northwest to 
State Route 37 milepost 4; State Route 127 from the Junction with 
the West Davis Corridor running west[/] or southwest to the Antelope 
Island Marina. 
 (31)  Morgan-Parleys Scenic Byway (designated December 
11, 2017). State Route 66, beginning at I-84 in Morgan south to the 
[J]junction with State Route 65. State Route 65, from the junction 
with State Route 66 south to I-80 in Parleys Canyon. 
[ (a)  Designated December 11, 2017.] 
 
R926-13-5.  Highways Within the State That Are Designated as 
National Scenic Byways or All-American Roads. 
 The following roads are designated by the National Scenic 
Byways Program as National Scenic Byways or All-American 
Roads: 
 (1)  Flaming Gorge-Uintas National Scenic Byway. 
 (a)  Comprised of the Flaming Gorge-Uintas State Scenic 
Byway. 
 (b)  Designated National Scenic Byway June 9, 1998. 
 (2)  Nebo Loop National Scenic Byway. 
 (a)  Comprised of the Nebo Loop State Scenic Byway. 
 (b)  Designated National Scenic Byway June 9, 1998. 
 (3)  The Energy Loop: Huntington and Eccles Canyons 
National Scenic Byway. 
 (a)  Comprised of the Energy Loop: Huntington and Eccles 
Canyons State Scenic Byway. 
 (b)  Designated National Scenic Byway June 15, 2000. 

 (4)  Logan Canyon National Scenic Byway. 
 (a)  Comprised of the Logan Canyon State Scenic Byway. 
 (b)  Designated National Scenic Byway June 13, 2002. 
 (5)  Dinosaur Diamond Prehistoric Highway National 
Scenic Byway. 
 (a)  Comprised of the Dinosaur Diamond Prehistoric 
Highway Scenic Byway. 
 (b)  Also comprises the Indian Canyon State Scenic Byway 
and the Upper Colorado River State Scenic Byway, but 
[(]excludes[ing] the portion of SR-128 between I-70 and County 
Road FAS-1714[)]. 
 (c)  Designated [NSB]National Scenic Byway June 13, 
2002. 
 (6)  Scenic Byway 12 All-American Road. 
 (a)  Comprised of [the ]Highway 12, A Journey Through 
Time State Scenic Byway. 
 (b)  Designated All-American Road June 13, 2002. 
 (7)  Trail of the Ancients National Scenic Byway. 
 (a)  Comprised of: 
 (i)  [T]the Trail of the Ancients State Scenic Byway[,]; 
 (ii)  [T]the Monument Valley to Bluff State Scenic 
Byway[,]; 
 (iii)  [T]the section of the Trail of the Ancients State Scenic 
Backway on SR-261 starting at US-163 and running to SR-95 [(]but 
excludes[ing] [for now ]that portion on SR-316 between SR 261 and 
Goosenecks State Park that was accidentally omitted on the [NSB 
]National Scenic Byway application[),]; 
 (iv)  [T]the section of the Trail of the Ancients State Scenic 
Backway running on SR-262 between US-191 and County Road 
FAS-2416, and on FAS-2416 starting at SR-262 and running 
southeasterly to County Road FAS-2422, then northeasterly on FAS-
2422 to the Utah[/] and Colorado State Line near Hovenweep 
National Monument. 
 (b)  Designated National Scenic Byway September 22, 
2005. 
 (8)  Utah's Patchwork Parkway National Scenic Byway. 
 (a)  Comprised of Brian Head-Panguitch Lake State Scenic 
Byway. 
 (b)  Designated National Scenic Byway October 16, 2009. 
 (9)  Zion National Scenic Byway 
 (a)  Comprised of the section of the Zion Park Scenic 
Byway starting at the intersection of SR-17 and SR-9 and ending at 
the intersection of SR-9 and East Rim Trail Road. 
 (b)  Designated National Scenic Byway January 19, 2021. 
 
KEY:  transportation, scenic byways, highways 
Date of Last Change:  2024[October 23, 2018] 
Notice of Continuation:  May 26, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  72-4-303; 
63G-3-201 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES 

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 
 (a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 (b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
 (c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)). 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the 120-DAY RULE is printed.  New text is underlined (example) and text to 
be deleted is struck out with brackets surrounding the deleted text ([example]).  An emergency rule that is new is 
entirely underlined.  Likewise, an emergency rule that repeals an existing rule shows the text completely struck out.  
A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space. 
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective when filed with the Office of Administrative Rules, or on a later date designated by the 
agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.  Because of its 
temporary nature, a 120-DAY RULE is not codified as part of the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The law does not require a public comment period for 120-DAY RULES.  However, when an agency files a 120-DAY 
RULE, it may file a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements permanent. 
 
Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-304, and Section R15-4-8. 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R70-101 Filing ID: 56313 

Effective Date: 02/02/2024 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Regulatory Services 
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W  
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Travis Waller 801-
982-
2250 

twaller@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R70-101.  Bedding, Upholstered Furniture, and Quilted 
Clothing 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Due to an increase of online sales of bedding, upholstered 
furniture, and quilted clothing in recent years, the 
Department of Agriculture and Food (Department) 
published rule changes in April 2023 that clarify that law 
label requirements in Rule R70-101 are applicable to 
online, as well as brick and mortar sales. 
 
Based on feedback from the furniture industry regarding 
the difficulty of satisfying the new rule requirements, 
however, the Department has agreed to remove the 
references to online sales and draft new changes that 
balance the need to convey important information to 
consumers, ensure industry consistency, and take into 
consideration the complicated nature of made to order 
furniture manufacturing. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The changes remove references to online sales from 
Sections R70-101-2, R70-101-3, and R70-101-18. 
 
5A)  The agency finds that regular rulemaking would: 
☒ cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
☐ cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
☐ place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 

B)  Specific reasons and justifications for this finding: 
The Department has met with large furniture 
manufacturers who have reported that they are unable to 
satisfy the requirements of the current rule with respect to 
online sales.  The Department is concerned that these 
manufacturers will choose to no longer sell products in 
Utah unless the rule requirements are changed.  The 
potential loss of business in Utah could be in the millions 
of dollars each year and would be very detrimental to 
public welfare. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The changes published in April 2023 have not been fully 
implemented.  Removing them will not impact the state 
budget.  The program will continue to operate under the 
current resources. 
 
B) Local governments: 

Local governments will not be impacted by the changes 
because they do not sell or regulate bedding, upholstered 
furniture, or quilted clothing. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses will not be impacted because the 
previous changes that are being removed have not been 
fully implemented. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, state, or local 
government entities ("person" means any individual, 
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, 
or public or private organization of any character other 
than an agency): 
Other persons will not be impacted because the previous 
changes that are being removed have not been fully 
implemented. 
 

E)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs will not change.  The rule changes 
decrease the regulatory burden. 
 
F) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on business.  
Craig W Buttars, Commissioner. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-10-103   

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 02/02/2024 

 
R70.  Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services. 
R70-101.  Bedding, Upholstered Furniture, and Quilted Clothing. 
R70-101-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Section 4-10-103, this rule establishes the 
standards, practices, and procedures for the manufacture, repair, sale, 
and distribution of bedding, upholstered furniture, quilted clothing 
products, and filling materials. 
 
R70-101-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Clean" means free from stains, dirt, trash, filth, pulp, 
sludge, oil, grease, fat, skin, epidermis, excreta, vermin, insects, 
insect eggs, insect carcasses, contamination, hazardous materials, or 
residual or objectionable substances or odors. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (3)  "Law Label or Label" means a tag attached to bedding 
or upholstered furniture that provides information about the product 
to the consumer. 
 (4)  "Manufacture" means the making, processing, or 
preparing of new or secondhand bedding, upholstered furniture, 
quilted clothing, or filling material. 
 (5)  "Manufacturer" means a person who makes or has 
employees make any bedding, upholstered furniture, quilted clothing, 
filling material, or any part. 
 (6)  "Non-resident" means a person permitted under this 
rule who does not have premises in Utah. 
[ (7)  "Online Retailer" means any person who advertises and 
markets via the internet and another electronic network.] 
 ([8]7)  "Person" means an individual, partnership, 
association, firm, auctioneer, trust, limited liability company, or 
corporation. 
 ([9]8)  "Premises" means any place where bedding, 
upholstered furniture, quilted clothing, or filling material is sold, 
offered for sale, exposed for sale, stored, renovated, or manufactured, 
and the delivery vehicle used in their transportation. 
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 ([10]9)  "Supply dealer" means a person who manufactures, 
processes, or sells at wholesale any felt, batting, pads, or other 
fillings, loose in a bag, in a bale or a container, concealed or not 
concealed, intended for use in bedding, upholstered furniture, or 
quilted clothing. 
 (1[1]0)  "Second Hand Law Tag" or "Tag" means a tag 
attached to a product or filling material that has previously been used. 
 (1[2]1)  "Sterilization Permit Number" means the number 
issued by a state to be used on any filling material or on the label for 
bedding, upholstered furniture, or quilted clothing to identify the 
sterilizing facility, person, or company. 
 (1[3]2)  "Sterilize" means a process used to make wool, 
feathers, down, shoddy, or hair free from bacteria or any other living 
microorganism. 
 (1[4]3)  "Sterilizer" means a person who sterilizes wool, 
feathers, down, shoddy, or hair. 
 (1[5]4)  "Textile Label or Label" means a tag attached to a 
quilted clothing product that provides information required in 16 
CFR Parts 300, 301, 303 and this rule. 
 (1[6]5)  "Uniform Registry Number or URN" means the 
number issued by a state to be used on the law label of bedding, 
furniture, or filling material to identify the manufacturing facility, 
person, or company. 
 
R70-101-3.  Application of Rule. 
 This rule shall apply to any person engaged in the business 
of manufacturing, retailing[, online retailing], wholesaling, 
processing, repairing, sterilizing, and selling items of bedding, 
upholstered furniture, quilted clothing, and filling material, 
regardless of their point of origin. 
 
R70-101-4.  Permit Requirements for Manufacturers, Repairers, 
and Wholesalers. 
 (1)  Any person who advertises, solicits, or contracts to 
manufacture or repair bedding, upholstered furniture, or filling 
material shall secure a permit from the department before the product 
is offered for sale in Utah. 
 (2)  Any person who advertises, solicits, or contracts to 
manufacture quilted clothing shall secure a permit from the 
department before the product is offered for sale in Utah. 
 (3)  Any person seeking a permit shall provide the 
following to the department: 
 (a)  a completed registration form; and 
 (b)  a sample of the label that will be used. 
 (4)  A wholesale bedding, upholstered furniture dealer, are 
exempted from providing a label to the department. 
 (5)  A registration fee shall be assessed annually.  This fee 
shall be paid before January 1 or a late fee shall be assessed.  Each 
fee is listed in the department's fee schedule that is approved by the 
Legislature. 
 
R70-101-5.  Sterilization Permit Requirements for Sterilizers. 
 (1)  A person who advertises, solicits, or contracts as a 
sterilizer shall secure a sterilization permit from the department 
before sterilized products are offered for sale in Utah. 
 (2)  A person seeking a sterilization permit shall provide the 
department with a sterilization permit application completed by a 
department authorized third party inspector. 
 (3)  A permit fee shall be assessed annually.  This fee shall 
be paid before January 1 or a late fee will be assessed.  Each fee is 
listed in the department's fee schedule that is approved by the 
Legislature. 

 (4)  The inspection for a sterilization permit shall be 
conducted every three years. 
 (5)  A copy of the inspection report shall be submitted to 
the department with the renewal form for that year. 
 
R70-101-6.  Revocation of Permit. 
 (1)  The department shall have the authority to suspend or 
revoke a permit for any violation of these provisions. 
 (2)  A suspension or revocation shall be in accordance with 
Section 4-1-106. 
 
R70-101-7.  Sanitation Requirements. 
 (1)  The premises, delivery equipment, machinery, and any 
appliances, article, and devices shall be kept free from refuse, dirt, 
contamination, or insects. 
 (2)  No person shall use in the making, repairing, or 
renovating of bedding, upholstered furniture, or quilted clothing any 
filling material that: 
 (a)  contains any insect, vermin, or filth; 
 (b)  is not clean; or 
 (c)  contains burlap or other material that has been used for 
baling. 
 (3)  Bedding, quilted clothing, and filling material shall be 
stored four inches off the floor. 
 (4)  New and used products shall be stored separately. 
 
R70-101-8.  Sterilization Requirements for New Fill Material. 
 (1)  Any wool, feathers, down, shoddy, and hair shall be 
cleaned and sterilized before being used as new filling material. 
 (2)  Methods for Sterilization. 
 (a)  Pressure Steam.  The material shall be subjected to 
treatment by steam at 15 PSI (.104 mPA) for 30 minutes or 20 PSI 
(.0138 mPA) for 20 minutes.  The gauge for registering steam 
pressure must be visible from the outside of the room or chamber. 
 (b)  Streaming Steam.  Two applications of streaming steam 
maintained for a period of one hour each, applied at intervals of not 
less than six nor more than 24 hours, may be used.  Valved outlets 
shall be provided near the bottom and the top of the room or chamber 
when streaming steam is employed. 
 (c)  Heat.  A temperature of 235 degrees F held for a period 
of two hours, within a closed container is considered satisfactory for 
proper sterilization. 
 (d)  Other methods of sterilization may be approved by the 
department upon petition. 
 
R70-101-9.  Manufacturing, Wholesale, Sterilizers, and Supply 
Dealer Labeling Requirements for Quilted Clothing. 
 (1)  The department incorporates by reference the October 
19, 2017 version of the 16 CFR Parts 300 and 301, and the November 
5, 2020 version of 16 CFR Part 303. 
 (2)  Articles of plumage-filled clothing shall meet the 
following label requirements. 
 (a)  Any label stating the contents of Down, Goose Down, 
or Duck Down shall also state the minimum percentage of Down, 
Goose Down, or Duck Down that is contained in the article.  The 
down label is a qualified general label and shall include in 
parentheses the minimum percentage of down in the product which 
shall be 75% or greater. 
 (b)  "Down and Waterfowl Feathers" may be used to 
designate any plumage product containing between 50% minimum 
and 74% down and plumules.  The percentage of both shall be stated 
on the sewn-in label and hang tags. 
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 (c)  "Waterfowl Feathers and Down" may be used to 
designate any plumage product containing between 5% minimum 
and 49% down and plumules.  The percentage of both shall be stated 
on the sewn-in label and hang tags. 
 (d)  "Waterfowl Feathers" may be used to designate any 
plumage product containing less than 5% down and plumules. 
 (e)  Quill feathers are not permitted unless disclosed. 
 (f)  Other plumage products that do not meet the 
requirements for any of the listed categories from Subsection R70-
101-9(2) shall be labeled accurately with each component listed 
separately in order of predominance. 
 (3)  The sterilization permit number "PER. NO.  " shall be 
listed on the textile label. 
 (4)  The form of identification used on a label and a tag 
shall be the same as those supplied to the department with the 
registration application. 
 (5)  The textile label shall be easily accessible to the 
consumer for examination before purchase. 
 
R70-101-10.  Filling Material. 
 (1)  Each term or definition of a filling material shall be the 
term that has been submitted and approved by the International 
Association of Bedding Law Officials (IABFLO), except as 
otherwise required by this rule. 
 (2)  Notwithstanding Subsection R70-101-10(1), the term 
"recycled" may be used if the manufacturing facility: 
 (a)  is Global Recycled Standard (GRS) certified; 
 (b)  provides proof of GRS certification to the department 
on the registration form; and 
 (c)  provides a copy of the certificate or the certification 
number on the invoice to the retailer for each lot or batch of filling 
material. 
 (3)  The manufacturing facility shall provide a copy of the 
certificate or the certification numbers for each batch or lot to the 
department upon request. 
 (4)  Plumage material shall follow the standards as outlined 
in the "USA-2000 Labeling Standards- Down and Feather Products" 
and ASTM D-4522, which are incorporated by reference. 
 (5)  Any other filling material shall be clean. 
 (6)  "Imperfect, irregular foam" means any foam product 
that shows a major imperfection or that falls below the foam 
manufacturer's usual standards or specifications and must be stated 
on the tag as "imperfect" or "irregular" along with the generic name 
of the foam. 
 (7)  "Imperfect, irregular fibers" shall mean any fiber that 
has an imperfection or that falls below the fiber manufacturer's usual 
standards or specifications and must be stated on the tag as 
"imperfect" or "irregular" along with the generic name of the fiber. 
 (8)  The terms "Prime," "Super," "Northern," and similar 
terms shall not be used unless the fill can be proved to be of superior 
quality and meet the terms of the qualifying statement. 
 
R70-101-11.  Generic Names, Grades, Descriptive Terms, and 
Definitions of Filling Material. 
 (1)  Filling material shall be described on the label and the 
tag using the: 
 (a)  true generic name; 
 (b)  grade; 
 (c)  description terms; or 
 (d)  definition of the filling material that has been approved 
by the department. 

 (2)  When more than one kind of filling material is used in 
a mixture, the percentage by weight shall be listed in order of 
predominance. 
 (a)  Federal fiber tolerance standards are applicable, except 
as pertains to a plumage product. 
 (b)  Blends may be described in accordance with Section 
R70-101-10. 
 (3)  When a different filling material is used in different 
parts of the garment, the areas of the garment shall be named, 
followed by the name of the filling material used in that area. 
 
R70-101-12.  Manufacturer Identification and Law Label 
Requirements for Bedding and Upholstered Furniture. 
 (1)  The form of identification used on a law label and tag 
shall be the same as those supplied to the department with the 
registration. 
 (2)  For any article of bedding and upholstered furniture, 
the law label shall use the format adopted by the IABFLO, as listed 
in the "Manual of Labeling Laws" of the International Sleep Products 
Association, 2021 edition, which is incorporated by reference.  A 
copy of the incorporated edition of the "Manual of Labeling Laws" is 
available for public inspection at the department. 
 (3)  The law label for a newly manufactured product shall 
meet the following requirements: 
 (a)  white on each side of the label; 
 (b)  made of material that cannot be easily torn; 
 (c)  printed in black ink; 
 (d)  printed in English; 
 (e)  printed clearly and legibly; and 
 (f)  firmly attached to the article. 
 (4)  Required information shall be printed on one side of 
the label with the opposite side remaining blank. 
 (5)  Each law label shall state the following, in order: 
 (a)  the phrase "UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG 
NOT TO BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER" in bold 
at the top of the label in capital letters no less than 1/8 inches in 
height; 
 (b)  the phrase "ALL NEW MATERIAL" in bold, capital 
letters no less than 1/8 inch in height, followed by the phrase 
"CONSISTING OF", no case or height requirements, followed by the 
filling contents in bold capital letters no less than 1/8 inch in height; 
 (c)  the words "CONTENTS STERILIZED" in bold capital 
letters no less than 1/8 inch in height; 
 (d)  the URN issued by the state in which the firm is first 
registered; 
 (e)  the sterilization permit number of the sterilization 
facility from which the material was obtained, in bold capital letters 
no less than 1/8 inch in height; 
 (f)  the phrase, "Certification is made by the manufacturer 
that the materials in this article are described in accordance with 
law"; and 
 (g)  the name and complete address of the manufacturer, 
importer, or vendor of the article. 
 (6)  The law label shall be easily accessible to the consumer 
for examination[ before purchase]. 
 (a)  A product that is offered for sale in a box or in other 
packaging that makes a law label inaccessible shall reproduce a 
legible facsimile of the law label on the outer container or covering. 
 (7)  No mark, label, printed matter, illustration, sticker, or 
other device shall be placed upon the label. 
 (8)  The firm's license or permit with the state that issued 
the URN must be kept current for the number to be valid in Utah. 
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 (9)  Each firm doing business under more than one state-
issued URN or permit shall obtain a permit for each number used on 
a product that is offered for sale in Utah. 
 
R70-101-13.  Second Hand Law Tags and Tagging Requirements. 
 (1)  A tag for second hand material shall be: 
 (a)  a minimum of two inches by three inches; 
 (b)  yellow on both sides of the tag; 
 (c)  made of material that cannot be easily torn; 
 (d)  printed in English; 
 (e)  printed in black ink; 
 (f)  printed clearly and legibly; and 
 (g)  firmly attached to the article. 
 (2)  Required information shall be printed on one side of 
the tag with the opposite side remaining blank. 
 (3)  A second hand tag shall contain the following 
information, in order: 
 (a)  the phrase "UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG 
NOT TO BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER" in bold 
at the top of the label in capital letters, no less than 1/8 inch in height; 
 (b)  the phrase, "THIS ARTICLE CONTAINS SECOND 
HAND MATERIAL CONSISTING OF CONTENTS UNKNOWN".  
The words "SECONDHAND MATERIAL" and "CONTENTS 
UNKNOWN" shall be in capital letters, size not less than 1/8 inches 
in height; 
 (c)  the phrase, "Certification is made that the materials in 
this article are described in accordance with law"; and 
 (d)  the store name and complete corporate address. 
 (4)  The tag shall be easily accessible to the consumer for 
examination. 
 (5)  No mark, label, printed matter, illustration, sticker, or 
any other device shall be placed upon the tag. 
 
R70-101-14.  Second Hand Tag and Tagging Requirements for 
Repaired, Reupholstered, and Renovated Products. 
 (1)  A tag for a repaired, reupholstered, and renovated 
product shall be: 
 (a)  a minimum of two inches by three inches; 
 (b)  yellow on both sides of the tag; 
 (c)  made of material that cannot be easily torn; 
 (d)  have the required information printed on one side of 
the tag with the opposite side remaining blank; 
 (e)  printed in English; 
 (f)  printed in black ink; 
 (g)  printed clearly and legibly; and 
 (h)  firmly attached to the article. 
 (2)  A second hand tag shall contain the following 
information, in order: 
 (a)  the phrase, "UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG 
NOT TO BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER" in bold 
at the top of the label in capital letters, no less than 1/8 inch in height; 
 (b)  the phrase, "THIS ARTICLE IS NOT FOR SALE 
OWNER'S MATERIAL" in bold in capital letters, no less than 1/8 
inch in height; 
 (c)  the phrase, "CERTIFICATION IS MADE THAT THIS 
ARTICLE CONTAINS THE SAME MATERIAL IT DID WHEN 
RECEIVED FROM THE OWNER AND THAT ADDED 
MATERIALS ARE DESCRIBED IN THE ACCORDANCE WITH 
LAW, AND CONSIST OF THE FOLLOWING:" followed by a 
description of the filling material; 
 (d)  a description of the work that was done on the product; 
 (e)  the URN number; 

 (f)  the name and address of the renovator or repairer; and 
 (g)  the date of pick-up, owner's name, and address. 
 
R70-101-15.  Used Mattresses. 
 (1)  A retailer selling a customer returned, refurbished, or 
used mattress shall follow the second hand law tag requirements as 
set out in Section R70-101-13. 
 (2)  In addition, a retailer shall also display on the mattress 
a tag stating "USED" in bold capital letters. 
 (3)  The USED tag shall be: 
 (a)  a minimum of three inches by six inches; 
 (b)  yellow on both sides of the tag; 
 (c)  the font shall be a minimum of one inch in height; 
 (d)  printed in black ink; and 
 (e)  printed in English. 
 (4)  Required information shall be printed on one side of 
the tag with the opposite side remaining blank. 
 (5)  The USED tag shall be clearly visible to the consumer. 
 
R70-101-16.  Variance. 
 (1)  The department may issue a variance on label and tag 
requirements. 
 (2)  A request for a variance shall be made to the department 
in writing and shall contain the following information: 
 (a)  the product associated with the variance request; 
 (b)  where the variance will be used; 
 (c)  an explanation of the need for a variance; 
 (d)  a description of how the variance will be used in 
practice; and 
 (e)  an example of the label or tag that will be used in place 
of the required label or tag. 
 (3)  Approval of a variance shall be given from the 
department in writing. 
 (4)  A variance shall be subject to a period of review. 
 
R70-101-17.  Making or Selling Material or Parts. 
 A person shall not purchase, make, process, prepare, or sell, 
directly or indirectly, at wholesale or retail, or otherwise, any filling 
material or other component parts to be used in bedding, upholstered 
furniture, or quilted clothing, unless such material is appropriately 
tagged. 
 
R70-101-18.  Retailer Responsibilities. 
 (1)  A retailer[, including online retailers,] shall: 
 (a)  ensure that any article of bedding, upholstered 
furniture, quilted clothing, or filling material sold is labeled and 
tagged correctly; 
 (b)  ensure the label is easily accessible to the consumer for 
examination[ before purchase]; 
 (c)  comply with state law and the department's rules 
governing false and misleading advertisement; 
 (d)  ensure that the manufacturer from whom a retailer 
purchases a product has a valid permit with the department; and 
 (e)  ensure that the importer from whom a retailer purchases 
a product has a valid permit with the department. 
 (2)  Upon request of the department, a retailer shall provide 
the identity of the manufacturer or wholesaler of an article of 
bedding, upholstered furniture, quilted clothing, or filling material 
sold. 
 (3)  A retailer may register in lieu of the manufacturer or 
wholesaler if the manufacturer or wholesaler is not registered. 
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 (4)  A retailer shall ensure that bedding or filling material 
using the term "recycled": 
 (a)  is from a GRS certified facility; and 
 (b)  has a certificate or certification number. 
 
R70-101-19.  Violations. 
 (1)  Each improperly labeled or tagged article of bedding, 
upholstered furniture, quilted clothing, or filling material made or 
sold shall be a separate violation of this rule. 
 (2)  No person shall be in violation if that person received, 
from the manufacturer or supplier of the article, a guarantee in good 
faith that the article is not contrary to this rule in the form prescribed 
by the Textile Fiber Products Identification Act,15 U.S.C. 70, Wool 
Products Labeling Act, 15 U.S.C. 68, and related Federal Trade 
Commission rules. 
 (3)  No person shall remove, or cause to be removed, any 
tag, or device placed upon any article of bedding, upholstered 
furniture, quilted clothing, or filling material by an inspector. 
 (4)  No person may remove an article that has been 
condemned and ordered held on inspection notice. 
 (5)  No person shall interfere with, obstruct, or hinder any 
inspector of the department in the performance of the inspector's 
duties. 
 (6)  Any article of bedding, upholstered furniture, quilted 
clothing, or filling material manufactured or wholesaled by a 
manufacturer or wholesaler who is not registered or permitted may 
be withheld from sale until the manufacturer or wholesaler registers 
or obtains a permit. 
 (7)  No person shall use the term "recycled" for bedding or 
filling material unless they meet the requirements of Subsection 
R701-101-10(2). 
 
R70-101-20.  Products Not Intended for Use Subject to This Rule. 
 (1)  The Commissioner may exclude from this rule a textile 
fiber product: 
 (a)  that has an insignificant or inconsequential textile fiber 
content; or 
 (b)  if the disclosure of the textile fiber content is not 
necessary for the protection of the consumer. 
 
KEY:  inspections, labeling, quality control, registration 
Date of Last Change:  February 2, 2024 
Notice of Continuation:  March 12, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-10-103 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R386-702 Filing ID: 56321 

Effective Date: 02/12/2024 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Population Health, Environmental 

Epidemiology 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142100 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2100 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jeffrey Eason 801-

641-
7324 

jteason@utah.gov 

Cindy Burnett 801-
538-
6692 

cburnett@utah.gov 

Rachelle Boulton 801-
538-
6185 

rboulton@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R386-702.  Communicable Disease Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
On 07/07/2022, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 
reported a shortage of erythromycin ophthalmic ointment. 
 
Health systems in Utah are now reporting that the shortage 
is impacting local supply, and lack of appropriate treatment 
can result in adverse health outcomes for infants born in 
Utah at risk for exposure to N. gonorrhoeae, including 
severe eye infections and blindness. 
 
The current rule language is restrictive and does not allow 
for the use of alternative treatment options. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule change will remove outdated clinical guidance 
and increase the treatment options for healthcare 
providers by allowing alternative treatment options through 
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidance. 
 
In addition, this filing also updates outdated statute to 
coincide with the Department of Health and Human 
Services code recodification.  S.B. 38, 39, 40, and 41 
(2023 General Session) combined Title 26, Utah Health 
Code, and Title 62A, Utah Human Services Code, into a 
new Title 26B, Utah Health and Human Services Code. 
 
5A)  The agency finds that regular rulemaking would: 
☒ cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
☐ cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints or federal requirements; or 
☐ place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 
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B)  Specific reasons and justifications for this finding: 
The absence of treatment options allowed by the current 
rule would put infant Utahns at risk of eye infections and 
blindness. 
 
Changes in Section R386-702-14 allow for additional 
treatment options. 
 
All other changes to the rule are statute citation updates. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings because the 
changes do not affect existing operations. 
 
This rule change adds additional available treatments for 
health care providers to select for patient care.  The state 
does not have costs or savings associated with this rule 
change because providers are not being recommended 
one alternative treatment over another. 
 
Furthermore, this does not affect state government. 
 
B) Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings because the 
changes do not affect existing operations. 
 
This rule change adds additional available treatments for 
health care providers to select for patient care.  Local 
governments do not have costs or savings associated with 
this rule change because providers are not being 
recommended one alternative treatment over another. 
 
Furthermore, this does not affect local governments. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings because the 
changes do not affect existing operations. 
 
This rule change adds additional available treatments for 
health care providers to select for patient care.  Small 
businesses do not have costs or savings associated with 
this rule change because providers are not being 
recommended one alternative treatment over another. 
 
Furthermore, this does not affect small businesses. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, state, or local 
government entities ("person" means any individual, 
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, 
or public or private organization of any character other 
than an agency): 

There is no anticipated cost or savings because the 
changes do not affect existing operations. 
 
This rule change adds additional available treatments for 
health care providers to select for patient care.  Other 
persons do not have costs or savings associated with this 
rule change because providers are not being 
recommended one alternative treatment over another. 
 
Furthermore, this does not affect other persons. 
 
E)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no anticipated compliance costs or savings 
because this change will allow providers to pivot to 
additional treatment options when erythromycin 
ophthalmic ointment is unavailable.  It is not anticipated 
that obtaining those additional treatment options will be 
more or less burdensome than obtaining erythromycin 
ophthalmic ointment. 
 
F) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
I, Tracy S. Gruber, Executive Director, have read and 
approved this fiscal analysis.  I acknowledge that there is 
no anticipated fiscal impact to businesses as a result of 
this emergency rule because the changes do not affect 
existing operations. 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-1-202 Section 26B-7-202 Section 26B-7-207 
Sections 
26B-7-316 
through 
26B-7-324 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
8. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Sexually Transmitted Infections  
Treatment Guidelines 

Publisher Centers for Disease Control 

Issue Date 2021 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/09/2024 

 
R386.  Health and Human Services, [Disease Control and 
Prevention]Population Health, Environmental Epidemiology. 
R386-702.  Communicable Disease Rule. 
R386-702-1.  Purpose Statement. 
 (1)  Sections 26B-7-316 through 26B-7-324 provide 
authority for sections in this rule as noted, and Sections [26-6-3]26B-
7-202, 26B-7-207, and 26B-1-[2-]202[, and Title 26, Chapter 23b, 
Detection of Public Health Emergencies Act] authorize all other 
sections of this rule. 
 (2)  This rule outlines a multidisciplinary approach to 
communicable and infectious disease control and emphasizes 
reporting, surveillance, isolation, treatment, and epidemiological 
investigation to identify and control preventable causes of infectious 
diseases. Reporting requirements and authorizations are specified for 
communicable and infectious diseases, outbreaks, and unusual 
occurrence of any disease.  Each section has been adopted with the 
intent of reducing disease morbidity and mortality through the rapid 
implementation of established practices and procedures. 
 (3)  The successes of medicine and public health 
dramatically reduced the risk of epidemics and early loss of life due 
to infectious agents during the twentieth century.  However, the 
emergence of diseases such as Middle Eastern Respiratory Syndrome 
(MERS), and the rapid spread of diseases such as West Nile virus to 
the United States from other parts of the world, made possible by 
advances in transportation, trade, food production, and other factors, 
highlight the continuing threat to health from infectious diseases.  
Continual attention to these threats and cooperation among all health 
care providers, government agencies, and other entities that are 
partners in protecting the public's health are crucial to maintain and 
improve the health of the citizens of Utah. 
 
R386-702-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Carrier" means the same as that term is defined in 
Section [26-6-2]26B-7-201. 
 (2)  "Communicable disease" means the same as that term 
is defined in Section [26-6-2]26B-7-201. 
 (3)  "Contact" means the same as that term is defined in 
Section [26-6-2]26B-7-201. 
 (4)  "Epidemic" means the same as that term is defined in 
Section [26-6-2]26B-7-201. 
 (5)  "Infection" means the same as that term is defined in 
Section [26-6-2]26B-7-201. 
 (6)  "Schools" means the same as that term is defined in 
Section [26-6-2]26B-7-201. 
 (7)  "Health care provider" means the same as that term is 
defined in Section [26-6-6]26B-7-206. 
 (8)  "Assisted living facilities" means the same as that term 
is defined in Section [26-21-2]26B-2-201. 
 (9)  "Nursing care facilities" means the same as that term is 
defined in Section [26-21-2]26B-2-201. 
 (10)  "Bioterrorism" means the same as that term is defined 
in Section [26-23b-102]26B-7-301. 
 (11)  "Childcare programs" means the same as that term is 
defined in Section [26-39-102]26B-2-401. 
 (12)  "Health care facilities" means the same as that term is 
defined in Section 78B-3-403. 

 (13)  "Mental health facilities" means the same as that term 
is defined in Section [62A-15-602]26B-5-301. 
 (14)  "Local health department" means the same as that 
term is defined in Section R386-80-2. 
 (15)  In addition, for purposes of this rule: 
 (a)  "Blood and plasma center" is defined as a blood bank, 
blood storage facility, plasma center, hospital, any facility where 
blood or blood products are collected, or any facility where blood 
services are provided. 
 (b)  "Care facilities licensed through the Department of 
Health and Human Services" is described as any facility licensed 
through the Department of Health and Human Services, and includes 
adult day care facilities, adult foster care facilities, crisis respite 
facilities, domestic violence shelters and treatment programs, foster 
care homes, mental health treatment programs, residential treatment 
and day treatment facilities for persons with disabilities, substance 
abuse treatment programs, and youth treatment programs. 
 (c)  "Case" is defined as any person, living or deceased, 
identified as having a communicable disease, condition, or syndrome 
that meets criteria for being reportable under this rule, or that is 
otherwise under public health investigation. 
 (d)  "Clinic" is defined as any facility where a health care 
provider practices. 
 (e)  "Condition" is defined as an abnormal state of health 
that may interfere with a person's regular feelings of wellbeing. 
 (f)  "Correctional facility" is defined as a facility that 
forcibly confines an individual under the authority of the 
government, including prisons, detention centers, jails, juvenile 
detention centers. 
 (g)  "Department" is defined as the Utah Department of 
Health and Human Services. 
 (h)  "Diagnostic facility" is defined as the facility where the 
case or suspect case was seen and evaluated by a healthcare provider. 
 (i)  "Dispensary" is defined as an office in a school, 
hospital, industrial plant, or other organization that dispenses 
medications or medical supplies. 
 (j)  "Electronic case reporting" is defined as the 
transmission of clinical, diagnostic, laboratory, and treatment related 
data from reporting entities to the Department in a structured, 
computer-readable format that reflects comparable content to HL7 
CDA(reg trademark) R2 Implementation Guide: Public Health Case 
Report, Release 2 - US Realm - the Electronic Initial Case Report 
(eICR). Electronic Initial Case Reporting is a form of electronic 
reporting. 
 (k)  "Electronic laboratory reporting" is defined as the 
transmission of laboratory or health related data from reporting 
entities to the Department using HL7 ORU-R01 2.3.1 or 2.5.1, 
LOINC, and SNOMED standard message structure and vocabulary.  
Electronic laboratory reporting is a form of electronic reporting. 
 (l)  "Electronic reporting" is defined as the transmission of 
laboratory or health related data from reporting entities to the 
Department in a structured, computer-readable format that reflects 
comparable content to HL7 messaging. 
 (m)  "Encounter" is defined as an instance of an individual 
presenting to a health care facility. 
 (n)  "Event" is defined as any communicable disease, 
condition, laboratory result, syndrome, outbreak, epidemic, or other 
public health hazard that meets criteria for being reportable under this 
rule. 
 (o)  "Good Samaritan" is defined as a person who gives 
reasonable aid to strangers in grave physical distress. 
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 (p)  "Invasive disease" is defined as infection occurring in 
parts of the body where organisms are not normally present, such as 
the bloodstream, organs, or the meninges. 
 (q)  "Laboratory" is defined as any facility that receives, 
refers, or analyzes clinical specimens. 
 (r)  "Manual reporting" is defined as the transmission of 
laboratory or health related data from reporting entities to the 
Department using processes that require hand keying for data to be 
incorporated into Department databases. 
 (s)  "Normally sterile site" is defined as a part of the body 
where organisms are not normally present, such as the bloodstream, 
organs, or the meninges. 
 (t)  "Outbreak" is defined as the increased occurrence of 
any communicable disease, health condition, or syndrome in a 
community, institution, or region; or two or more cases of a 
communicable disease, health condition, or syndrome in persons with 
a common exposure. 
 (u)  "Public health hazard" is defined as the presence of an 
infectious organism or condition in the environment that endangers 
the health of a specified population. 
 (v)  "Suspect case" is defined as any person, living or 
deceased, who a reporting entity, local health department, or the 
Department believes might be a case, but for whom it has not been 
established that the criteria necessary to become a case have been 
met. 
 (w)  "SARS-CoV-2 NAAT" is any SARS-CoV-2 Nucleic 
Acid Amplification Test (NAAT) conducted in a facility certified 
under CLIA to perform moderate- or high-complexity tests. 
 (x)  "Syndrome" is defined as a set of signs or symptoms 
that often occur together. 
 
R386-702-3.  Reportable Events. 
 (1)  The Department declares the following events to be of 
concern to public health and reporting of all instances is required or 
authorized by Sections [26-6-6]26B-7-202, 26B-7-207, and 26B-1-
202[ and Title 26, Chapter 23b, Detection of Public Health 
Emergencies Act]. 
 (2)  Events reportable by each entity are as follows: 
 (a)  acute flaccid myelitis; 
 (b)  adverse event resulting from smallpox vaccination 
(vaccinia virus, orthopox virus); 
 (c)  anaplasmosis (Anaplasma phagocytophilum); 
 (d)  anthrax (Bacillus anthracis) or anthrax-like illness 
caused by Bacillus cereus strains that express anthrax toxin genes; 
 (e)  antibiotic resistant organisms from any clinical 
specimen that meet the following criteria: 
 (i)  resistant to a carbapenem in: 
 (A)  Acinetobacter species; 
 (B)  Enterobacter species; 
 (C)  Escherichia coli; or 
 (D)  Klebsiella species; or 
 (ii)  Resistant to vancomycin in Staphylococcus aureus 
(VRSA); or 
 (iii)  demonstrated carbapenemase production in: 
 (A)  Acinetobacter species; 
 (B)  Enterobacter species; 
 (C)  Escherichia coli; 
 (D)  Klebsiella species; or 
 (E)  any other Enterobacteriaceae species; 
 (f)  arbovirus infection, including: 
 (i)  chikungunya virus infection; 
 (ii)  West Nile virus infection; and 

 (iii)  Zika virus infection; including congenital; 
 (g)  babesiosis (Babesia spp.); 
 (h)  botulism (Clostridium botulinum); 
 (i)  brucellosis (Brucella spp.); 
 (j)  campylobacteriosis (Campylobacter spp.); 
 (k)  Candida auris or Candida haemulonii from any body 
site; 
 (l)  Chagas disease (Trypanosoma cruzi); 
 (m)  chancroid (Haemophilus ducreyi); 
 (n)  chickenpox (varicella zoster virus, VZV, human 
herpesvirus 3, HHV-3); 
 (o)  chlamydia (Chlamydia trachomatis); 
 (p)  coccidioidomycosis (Coccidioides spp.), also known as 
valley fever; 
 (q)  Colorado tick fever (Colorado tick fever virus, 
Coltivirus spp.), also known as American mountain tick fever; 
 (r)  novel coronavirus disease including Middle East 
respiratory syndrome (MERS-CoV), and Severe acute respiratory 
syndrome (SARS-CoV); 
 (s)  COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2); 
 (t)  cryptosporidiosis (Cryptosporidium spp.); 
 (u)  cyclosporiasis (Cyclospora spp., including Cyclospora 
cayetanensis); 
 (v)  dengue fever (dengue virus); 
 (w)  diphtheria (Corynebacterium diphtheriae); 
 (x)  ehrlichiosis (Ehrlichia spp.); 
 (y)  encephalitis (bacterial, fungal, parasitic, protozoan, and 
viral); 
 (z)  Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli (STEC) 
infection; 
 (aa)  giardiasis (Giardia lamblia), also known as beaver 
fever; 
 (bb)  gonorrhea (Neisseria gonorrhoeae), including 
sexually transmitted and ophthalmia neonatorum; 
 (cc)  Haemophilus influenzae, invasive disease; 
 (dd)  hantavirus infection (Sin Nombre virus); 
 (ee)  hemolytic uremic syndrome, postdiarrheal; 
 (ff)  hepatitis, viral including: 
 (i)  hepatitis A; 
 (ii)  hepatitis B (acute, chronic, and perinatal); 
 (iii)  hepatitis C (acute, chronic, and perinatal); 
 (iv)  hepatitis D; and 
 (v)  hepatitis E; 
 (gg)  human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection, 
including acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS); 
 (hh)  influenza virus infection: 
 (i)  associated with a hospitalization; 
 (ii)  associated with a death in a person under 18 years of 
age; or 
 (iii)  suspected or confirmed to be caused by a non-seasonal 
influenza strain; 
 (ii)  Legionellosis (Legionella spp.), also known as 
Legionnaires' disease; 
 (jj)  leptospirosis (Leptospira spp.); 
 (kk)  listeriosis (Listeria spp., including Listeria 
monocytogenes); 
 (ll)  Lyme disease (Borrelia burgdorferi, Borrelia mayonii); 
 (mm)  malaria (Plasmodium spp.); 
 (nn)  measles (measles virus), also known as rubeola; 
 (oo)  meningitis (bacterial, fungal, parasitic, protozoan, and 
viral); 



NOTICES OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES  

66 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 01, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 05 

 (pp)  meningococcal disease (Neisseria meningitidis), 
invasive; 
 (qq)  mumps (mumps virus); 
 (rr)  mycobacterial infections, including: 
 (i)  tuberculosis (Mycobacterium tuberculosis complex); 
 (ii)  leprosy (Mycobacterium leprae), also known as 
Hansen's disease; or 
 (iii)  any other mycobacterial infections (Mycobacterium 
spp.); 
 (ss)  pertussis (Bordetella pertussis); 
 (tt)  plague (Yersinia pestis); 
 (uu)  poliomyelitis (poliovirus), paralytic and nonparalytic; 
 (vv)  psittacosis (Chlamydophila psittaci), also known as 
ornithosis; 
 (ww)  Q fever (Coxiella burnetii); 
 (xx)  rabies (rabies virus), human and animal; 
 (yy)  relapsing fever (Borrelia spp.), tick-borne and louse-
borne; 
 (zz)  rubella (rubella virus), including congenital 
syndrome; 
 (aaa)  salmonellosis (Salmonella spp.); 
 (bbb)  shigellosis (Shigella spp.); 
 (ccc)  smallpox (Variola major and Variola minor); 
 (ddd)  spotted fever rickettsioses (Rickettsia spp.), 
including Rocky Mountain spotted fever (Rickettsia rickettsii); 
 (eee)  streptococcal disease, invasive, due to: 
 (i)  Streptococcus pneumoniae; 
 (ii)  group A streptococcus (Streptococcus pyogenes); or 
 (iii)  group B streptococcus (Streptococcus agalactiae); 
 (fff)  Syphilis (Treponema pallidum), including: 
 (i)  any stage; 
 (ii)  congenital; and 
 (iii)  syphilitic stillbirths; 
 (ggg)  tetanus (Clostridium tetani); 
 (hhh)  toxic shock syndrome, staphylococcal 
(Staphylococcus aureus) or streptococcal (Streptococcus pyogenes); 
 (iii)  transmissible spongiform encephalopathies (prion 
diseases), including Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease; 
 (jjj)  trichinellosis (Trichinella spp.); 
 (kkk)  tularemia (Francisella tularensis); 
 (lll)  typhoid (Salmonella typhi), cases and carriers; 
 (mmm)  vibriosis (Vibrio spp.), including cholera (Vibrio 
cholerae); 
 (nnn)  viral hemorrhagic fevers including: 
 (i)  Ebola virus disease (Ebolavirus spp.); 
 (ii)  Lassa fever (Lassa virus); and 
 (iii)  Marburg fever (Marburg virus); 
 (ooo)  yellow fever (yellow fever virus). 
 (3)  Pregnancy is a reportable event for a subset of 
communicable diseases, and reporting is required even if the 
communicable disease was reported to public health before the 
pregnancy.  Perinatally transmissible conditions reportable by each 
entity are as follows: 
 (i)  hepatitis B infection; 
 (ii)  hepatitis C infection; 
 (iii)  HIV infection; 
 (iv)  listeriosis; 
 (v)  rubella; 
 (vi)  syphilis infection; and 
 (vii)  Zika virus infection. 
 (4)  Antimicrobial susceptibility tests reportable by each 
entity are as follows: 

 (a)  Full panel antimicrobial susceptibility test results, 
including minimum inhibitory concentration and results suppressed 
to the ordering clinician, are reportable when performed on the 
following organisms: 
 (i)  Candida auris or Candida haemulonii from any body 
site; 
 (ii)  Mycobacterium tuberculosis; 
 (iii)  Neisseria gonorrhoeae; 
 (iv)  Salmonella species; 
 (v)  Shigella species; and 
 (vi)  Streptococcus pneumoniae; 
 (vii)  organisms resistant to a carbapenem in: 
 (A)  Acinetobacter species; 
 (B)  Enterobacter species; 
 (C)  Escherichia coli; or 
 (D)  Klebsiella species; 
 (viii)  organisms resistant to vancomycin in Staphylococcus 
aureus (VRSA). 
 (b)  Individual carbapenemase test results including 
positive, negative, equivocal, indeterminate and the method used, are 
reportable when performed on organisms resistant to a carbapenem, 
or with demonstrated carbapenemase, in: 
 (i)  Acinetobacter species; 
 (ii)  Enterobacter species; 
 (iii)  Escherichia coli; and 
 (iv)  Klebsiella species. 
 (c)  Antiviral susceptibility test results, including 
nucleotide sequencing, genotyping, or phenotypic analysis, are 
reportable when performed on:human immunodeficiency virus 
(HIV). 
 (5)  Unusual events reportable by each entity include one 
or more cases or suspect cases of a communicable disease, condition, 
or syndrome considered: 
 (a)  rare, unusual, or new to Utah; 
 (b)  previously controlled or eradicated; 
 (c)  caused by an unidentified or newly identified organism; 
 (d)  due to exposure or infection that may indicate a 
bioterrorism event with potential transmission to the public; or 
 (e)  any other infection not explicitly identified in 
Subsection R386-702-3(2) that public health considers a public 
health hazard. 
 (6)  Outbreaks, epidemics, or unusual occurrences of events 
reportable by each entity are as follows : 
 (a)  Entities shall report two or more cases or suspect cases, 
with or without an identified organism, including: 
 (i)  gastrointestinal illnesses; 
 (ii)  respiratory illnesses; 
 (iii)  meningitis or encephalitis; 
 (iv)  infections caused by antimicrobial resistant organisms; 
 (v)  illnesses with suspected foodborne or waterborne 
transmission; 
 (vi)  illnesses with suspected ongoing transmission in any 
facility; 
 (vii)  infections that may indicate a bioterrorism event; or 
 (viii)  any other infections not explicitly identified in 
Subsection R386-702-3(2) that public health considers a public 
health hazard. 
 (b)  Entities shall report increases or shifts in 
pharmaceutical sales that may indicate changes in disease trends. 
 (7)  Laboratory results reportable by electronic reporters 
are as follows: 
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 (a)  In addition to laboratory results set forth in Subsections 
R386-702-3(2) through R386-702-3(6), entities reporting 
electronically shall include the following laboratory results or 
laboratory results that provide presumptive evidence of the following 
communicable diseases: 
 (i)  influenza virus; 
 (ii)  norovirus infection; 
 (iii)  Pseudomonas aeruginosa, resistant to a carbapenem, 
or with demonstrated carbapenemase production; 
 (iv)  Staphylococcus aureus from a normally sterile site 
with methicillin testing performed, reported as either methicillin-
susceptible Staphylococcus aureus (MSSA) or methicillin-resistant 
Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA); and 
 (v)  Streptococcal disease, invasive due to all species. 
 (b)  Entities reporting electronically shall include any 
laboratory results including positive, negative, equivocal, 
indeterminate, associated with the following tests or conditions: 
 (i)  CD4+ T-Lymphocyte tests, regardless of known HIV 
status; 
 (ii)  chlamydia; 
 (iii)  Clostridium difficile; 
 (iv)  novel coronavirus COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2), 
detected by a SARS-CoV-2 NAAT; 
 (v)  cytomegalovirus (CMV), congenital (infants less than 
or equal to 12 months of age); 
 (vi)  gonorrhea; 
 (vii)  hepatitis A; 
 (viii)  hepatitis B, including viral loads; 
 (ix)  hepatitis C, including viral loads; 
 (x)  HIV, including viral loads and confirmatory tests; 
 (xi)  liver function tests, including ALT, AST, and bilirubin 
associated with a viral hepatitis case; 
 (xii)  Lyme disease; 
 (xiii)  respiratory syncytial virus (RSV); 
 (xiv)  syphilis; 
 (xv)  tuberculosis; and 
 (xvi)  Zika virus. 
 (c)  Entities reporting electronically shall report full panel 
antibiotic susceptibility test results, including minimum inhibitory 
concentration and results suppressed to the ordering clinician, are 
reportable when performed on Pseudomonas aeruginosa, resistant to 
a carbapenem, or with demonstrated carbapenemase. 
 (d)  The Department may, by authority granted through 
Title 26B, Chapter [23b]7, Part 2, [Detection of Public Health 
Emergencies Act]Detection and Management of Chronic and 
Communicable Diseases and Public Health Emergencies, identify 
additional reporting criteria when deemed necessary for the 
management of outbreaks or identification of exposures. 
 (e)  Non-positive laboratory results reported for the events 
identified in Subsection R386-702-3(7)(b) will be used for the 
following purposes: 
 (i)  to determine when a previously reported case becomes 
non-infectious; 
 (ii)  to identify newly acquired infections through 
identification of a seroconversion window; or 
 (iii)  to provide information critical for assignment of a case 
status. 
 (f)  Information associated with a non-positive laboratory 
result will be kept by the Department for a period of 18 months. 
 (i)  At the end of the 18 month period, if the result has not 
been appended to an existing case, personal identifiers will be 
stripped and expunged from the result. 

 (ii)  The de-identified result will be added to a de-identified, 
aggregate data set. 
 (iii)  The data set will be kept for use by public health to 
analyze trends associated with testing patterns and case distribution, 
and identify and establish prevention and intervention efforts for at-
risk populations. 
 (8)  Authorized reporting of syndromes and conditions are 
as follows: 
 (a)  Reporting of encounters for the following syndromes 
and conditions is authorized by [Title]Sections 26B-7-202, 26B-7-
206, and 26B-7-207[, Chapter 23b, Detection of Public Health 
Emergencies Act], unless made mandatory by the declaration of a 
public health emergency: 
 (i)  respiratory illness, including: 
 (A)  upper or lower respiratory tract infections; 
 (B)  difficulty breathing; or 
 (C)  adult respiratory distress syndrome; 
 (ii)  gastrointestinal illness, including: 
 (A)  vomiting; 
 (B)  diarrhea; or 
 (C)  abdominal pain; 
 (iii)  influenza-like constitutional symptoms or signs; 
 (iv)  neurologic symptoms or signs indicating the 
possibility of meningitis, encephalitis, or unexplained acute 
encephalopathy or delirium; 
 (v)  rash illness; 
 (vi)  hemorrhagic illness; 
 (vii)  botulism-like syndrome; 
 (viii)  lymphadenitis; 
 (ix)  sepsis or unexplained shock; 
 (x)  febrile illness (illness with fever, chills or rigors); 
 (xi)  nontraumatic coma or sudden death; and 
 (xii)  other criteria specified by the Department as 
indicative of disease outbreaks or injurious exposures of uncertain 
origin. 
 (b)  Reporting of encounters for syndromes and conditions 
not specified in Subsection R386-702-3(8)(a) is also authorized by 
Sections [Chapter 26-23b]26B-7-316 through 26B-7-324, unless 
made mandatory by the declaration of a public health emergency. 
 (c)  Information included in the reporting of the events 
identified in Subsections R386-702-3(8)(a) and R386-702-3(8)(b) 
will be used for the following purposes: 
 (i)  to support early identification and ruling out of public 
health threats, disasters, outbreaks, suspected incidents, and acts of 
bioterrorism; 
 (ii)  to assist in characterizing population groups at greatest 
risk for disease or injury; 
 (iii)  to support assessment of the severity and magnitude 
of possible threats; or 
 (iv)  to satisfy syndromic surveillance objectives of the 
Federal Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Meaningful Use 
incentive program. 
 (9)  Reporting exceptions: 
 (a)  A university or hospital that conducts research studies 
exempt from reporting AIDS and HIV infection under Section [26-6-
3.5]26B-7-203 shall seek written approval of reporting exemption 
from the Department institutional review board before the study 
commencement. 
 (b)  The university or hospital shall submit the following to 
the HIV Epidemiologist within 30 days of Department institutional 
review board approval: 
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 (i)  a summary of the research protocol, including funding 
sources and justification for requiring anonymity; and 
 (ii)  written approval from the Department institutional 
review board. 
 (c)  The university or hospital shall submit a report that 
includes each of the indicators specified in Subsection [26-6-
3.5]26B-7-203(4)(a) to the HIV Epidemiologist annually during an 
ongoing research study. 
 (d)  The university or hospital shall submit a final report 
that includes each of the indicators specified in Subsection [26-6-
3.5]26B-7-203(4)(a) to the HIV Epidemiologist within 30 days of the 
conclusion of the research study. 
 (e)  Documents can be submitted to the HIV 
Epidemiologist by fax at (801) 538-9923 or by mail to 288 North 
1460 West Salt Lake City, Utah 84116. 
 
R386-702-4.  Entities Required to Report. 
 (1)  Section [26-6-6]26B-7-206 lists those entities required 
to report cases or suspect cases of the reportable events set forth in 
Section R386-702-3. This includes: 
 (a)  health care providers, as defined in Section 78B-3-403; 
 (b)  health care facilities, as defined in Section 78B-3-403; 
 (c)  health care facilities operated by the federal 
government; 
 (d)  mental health facilities, as defined in Section [62A-15-
602]26B-5-301; 
 (e)  care facilities licensed through the Department of 
Health and Human Services; 
 (f)  nursing care facilities and assisted living facilities, as 
defined in Section [26-21-2]26B-2-201; 
 (g)  dispensaries; 
 (h)  clinics; 
 (i)  laboratories; 
 (j)  schools, as defined in Section [26-6-2]26B-7-201; 
 (k)  childcare programs, as defined in Section [26-39-
102]26B-2-401; and 
 (l)  any individual with a knowledge of others who have a 
communicable disease. 
 (2)  In addition, the following entities are required to report 
cases or suspect cases of the reportable events set forth in Section 
R386-702-3: 
 (a)  blood and plasma donation centers; and 
 (b)  correctional facilities. 
 (3)  When more than one entity is involved in the 
processing of a clinical specimen; or the diagnosis, treatment, or care 
of a case or suspect case[;], each entity involved shall report, even 
when diagnosis or testing is done outside of Utah. 
 (4)  Health care entities may designate a single person or 
group of persons to report the events identified in Section R386-702-
3 to public health on behalf of their health care providers or medical 
laboratories, as long as reporting complies with requirements in this 
rule. 
 
R386-702-5.  Mandatory Submission of Clinical Material. 
 (1)  Laboratories shall submit clinical material from cases 
identified with organisms listed in Subsection R386-702-5(3) to the 
Utah Department of Health and Human Services, Utah Public Health 
Laboratory (UPHL) within three working days of identification. 
 (a)  Clinical material is defined as: 
 (i)  A clinical isolate containing the organism for which 
submission of material is required; or 

 (ii)  If an isolate is not available, material containing the 
organism for which submission of material is required, in the 
following order of preference: 
 (A)  a patient specimen; 
 (B)  nucleic acid; or 
 (C)  other laboratory material. 
 (2)  Laboratories submitting clinical material from cases 
identified with organisms designated by UPHL as potential 
bioterrorism agents shall first notify UPHL via telephone 
immediately during business hours at (801) 965-2400, or after hours 
at (801) 560-6586. 
 (3)  Organisms mandated for standard clinical submission 
include: 
 (a)  antibiotic resistant organisms from any clinical 
specimen that meet the following criteria: 
 (i)  resistant to a carbapenem in: 
 (A)  Acinetobacter species; 
 (B)  Enterobacter species; 
 (C)  Escherichia coli; 
 (D)  Klebsiella species; or 
 (E)  Pseudomonas aeruginosa; 
 (ii)  resistant to vancomycin in Staphylococcus aureus 
(VRSA); 
 (iii)  demonstrated carbapenemase production in: 
 (A)  Acinetobacter species; 
 (B)  Enterobacter species; 
 (C)  Escherichia coli; 
 (D)  Klebsiella species; 
 (E)  any other Enterobacteriaceae species; or 
 (F)  Pseudomonas aeruginosa; 
 (b)  Campylobacter species; 
 (c)  Candida auris or Candida haemulonii from any body 
site; 
 (d)  Corynebacterium diphtheriae; 
 (e)  Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli (STEC), 
including enrichment or MacConkey broths that tested positive by 
any method for Shiga toxin; 
 (f)  Haemophilus influenzae, from normally sterile sites; 
 (g)  influenza A virus, unsubtypeable; 
 (h)  influenza virus (hospitalized cases only); 
 (i)  Legionella species; 
 (j)  Listeria monocytogenes; 
 (k)  measles (rubeola) virus; 
 (l)  Mycobacterium tuberculosis complex; 
 (m)  Neisseria meningitidis, from normally sterile sites; 
 (n)  Salmonella species; 
 (o)  SARS-CoV-2 NAAT-positive samples; 
 (p)  Shigella species; 
 (q)  Vibrio species; 
 (r)  West Nile virus; 
 (s)  Yersinia species; 
 (t)  Zika virus; and 
 (u)  any organism implicated in an outbreak when 
instructed by authorized local or state health department personnel. 
 (v)  mandatory submission requirements may be 
temporarily suspended or modified by the Department. 
 (4)  Organisms mandated for bioterrorism clinical 
submission include: 
 (a)  Bacillus anthracis; 
 (b)  Brucella species; 
 (c)  Clostridium botulinum; 
 (d)  Francisella tularensis; and 
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 (e)  Yersinia pestis. 
 (5)  Submission of clinical material does not replace the 
requirement for laboratories to report the event to public health as 
defined in Sections R386-702-6 and R386-702-7. 
 (6)  For additional information on this process, contact 
UPHL at (801) 965-2400. 
 
R386-702-6.  Reporting Criteria. 
 (1)  Manual reporting criteria is as follows: 
 (a)  Reporting timeframes are as follows: 
 (i)  Entities shall report immediately reportable events by 
telephone as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours after 
identification. Events designated as immediately reportable by the 
Department include cases and suspect cases of: 
 (A)  anthrax or anthrax-like illness; 
 (B)  botulism, excluding infant botulism; 
 (C)  cholera; 
 (D)  novel coronavirus disease including: Middle East 
Respiratory Syndrome (MERS), and severe acute respiratory 
syndrome (SARS); 
 (E)  diphtheria; 
 (F)  Haemophilus influenzae, invasive disease; 
 (G)  hepatitis A; 
 (H)  influenza infection suspected or confirmed to be 
caused by a non-seasonal influenza strain; 
 (I)  measles; 
 (J)  meningococcal disease, invasive; 
 (K)  plague; 
 (L)  poliovirus, paralytic and nonparalytic; 
 (M)  rabies, human and animal; 
 (N)  rubella, excluding congenital syndrome; 
 (O)  smallpox; 
 (P)  Staphylococcus aureus from any clinical specimen that 
is resistant to vancomycin; 
 (Q)  transmissible spongiform encephalopathies (prion 
diseases), including Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease; 
 (R)  tuberculosis; 
 (S)  tularemia; 
 (T)  typhoid, cases and carriers; 
 (U)  viral hemorrhagic fevers; 
 (V)  yellow fever; or 
 (W)  any event described in Subsection R386-702-3(5) or 
R386-702-3(6). 
 (ii)  Entities shall report events in Subsections R386-702-
3(2) through R386-702-3(6) not required to be reported immediately 
within three working days from the time of identification. 
 (b)  Methods for reporting are as follows: 
 (i)  Entities reporting manually shall send reports to either 
a local health department or the Department by phone, secured fax, 
secured email, or mail. 
 (ii)  Contact information for the Department is as follows: 
 (A)  phone: (801) 538-6191 during business hours, or 888-
EPI-UTAH (888-374-8824) after hours; 
 (B)  secured fax: (801) 538-9923; 
 (C)  secured email: reporting@utah.gov contact the 
Department at (801) 538-6191 for information on this option; and 
 (D)  mail:  288 North 1460 West Salt Lake City, Utah 
84116. 
 (iii)  A confidential morbidity report form is available at: 
http://health.utah.gov/epi/reporting/. 
 (iv)  The Department incorporates by reference version 2.2 
of the Utah Reporting Specifications for Communicable Diseases, 

that identifies individual laboratory tests that shall be reported to the 
Department by manual reporting entities. 
 (2)  Electronic reporting criteria is as follows: 
 (a)  Reporting timeframes are as follows: 
 (i)  Entities that report electronically shall report laboratory 
results within 24 hours of finalization. 
 (A)  Entities can choose to report in real-time (as each 
report is released) or batch reports. 
 (B)  Entities reporting electronically shall report 
preliminary positive results for the immediately reportable events 
specified in Subsection R386-702-6(1)(a)(i). 
 (b)  Methods for reporting are as follows: 
 (i)  Laboratories that identify cases or suspect cases shall 
report to the Department through electronic laboratory reporting, in 
a manner approved by the Department. Reportable events shall be 
identified by automated computer algorithms. 
 (A)  Laboratories may substitute electronic reporting if 
electronic laboratory reporting is not available, with permission from 
the Department, and in a manner approved by the Department. 
 (B)  Hospitals reporting electronically shall use HL7 2.5.1 
message structure, and standard LOINC and SNOMED terminology 
in accordance with Meaningful Use regulations. 
 (C)  Laboratories reporting electronically shall use HL7 
2.3.1 or 2.5.1 message structure, and appropriate LOINC codes 
designating the test performed. 
 (D)  Entities reporting electronically shall submit local 
vocabulary codes with translations to the Division of [Disease 
Control and Prevention]Population Health Informatics Program, if 
applicable. 
 (E)  The Department incorporates by reference version 1.3 
of the Utah Electronic Laboratory Reporting Specifications for 
Communicable Diseases, that identifies individual laboratory tests 
that shall be reported to the Department by electronic reporting 
entities. 
 (F)  For additional information on this process, refer to 
https://health.utah.gov/phaccess/public/elr/ or contact the Division of 
Population Health Informatics Program by phone (801-538-6191) or 
email (edx@utah.gov). 
 (ii)  Electronic case reporting is an authorized method of 
reporting to the Department.  For additional information on this 
process, contact the Division of Population Health Informatics 
Program by phone (801-538-6191) or email (edx@utah.gov). 
 (A)  Entities reporting via electronic case reporting may 
send any clinical information for an encounter that meets criteria for 
reporting to public health. 
 (3)  Syndromic reporting criteria is as follows: 
 Entities reporting syndromes or conditions identified in 
Subsection R386-702-3(8) shall report as soon as practicable using a 
schedule approved by the Department. 
 For information on reporting syndromic data, refer to 
https://health.utah.gov/phaccess/public/SS/ or contact the Division of 
Population Health Informatics Program by phone (801-538-6191) or 
email (edx@utah.gov). 
 
R386-702-7.  Required Information. 
 (1)  Entities shall include the following information when 
reporting events specified in Subsections R386-702-3(2) through 
R386-702-3(6) to public health: 
 (a)  Patient information: 
 (i)  full name; 
 (ii)  date of birth; 
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 (iii)  address, including street address, city, state, and zip 
code; 
 (iv)  telephone number; 
 (v)  gender; 
 (vi)  race and ethnicity; 
 (vii)  date of onset; 
 (viii)  hospitalization status and date of admission; and 
 (ix)  pregnancy status and estimated due date. 
 (b)  Diagnostic information: 
 (i)  name of the diagnostic facility; 
 (ii)  address, including street address, city, state, and zip 
code; of the diagnostic facility; 
 (iii)  telephone number of the diagnostic facility; 
 (iv)  full name of the ordering or diagnosing health care 
provider; 
 (v)  address, including street address, city, state, and zip 
code; of the ordering or diagnosing health care provider; and 
 (vi)  telephone number of the ordering or diagnosing health 
care provider. 
 (c)  Reporter information: 
 (i)  full name of the person reporting; 
 (ii)  name of the facility reporting; and 
 (iii)  telephone number of the person or facility reporting. 
 (d)  Laboratory testing information: 
 (i)  name of the laboratory performing the test; 
 (ii)  the laboratory's name for, or description of, the test; 
 (iii)  specimen source; 
 (iv)  specimen collection date; 
 (v)  testing results; 
 (vi)  laboratory test date; 
 (vii)  test reference range; and 
 (viii)  test status including preliminary, final, amended, or 
corrected. 
 (2)  Entities shall submit reports that are clearly legible and 
do not contain any internal codes or abbreviations to the Department. 
 (3)  Entities submitting or forwarding a specimen for 
testing using a laboratory test identified in the Utah Electronic 
Laboratory Reporting Specifications for Communicable Diseases 
shall include the patient's full name, date of birth, gender, race, 
ethnicity, address, and telephone number, so that the performing 
laboratory can report results to the appropriate public health agency. 
 (a)  If the patient's address is not known by the submitting 
or forwarding entity, the submitting or forwarding entity shall 
provide the performing laboratory with the name and address of the 
facility where the specimen originated. 
 (4)  Entities shall reference 
http://health.utah.gov/epi/reporting, or contact the Department at 
(801) 538-6191, for additional reporting specifications, including 
technical documents, reporting forms, and protocols. 
 (5)  Full reporting of relevant patient information is 
authorized when reporting events listed in Subsection R386-702-3(8) 
to public health. 
 (a)  Entities shall include in reports at least the following 
information, if known: 
 (i)  name of the facility; 
 (ii)  a patient identifier; 
 (iii)  date of visit; 
 (iv)  time of visit; 
 (v)  patient's age; 
 (vi)  patient's gender; 
 (vii)  zip code of patient's residence; 
 (viii)  chief complaint, reason for visit, or diagnosis; and 

 (ix)  whether the patient was admitted to the hospital. 
 
R386-702-8.  Confidentiality of Reports. 
 (1)  Reports required by this rule are confidential and are 
not open to public inspection.  Information collected pursuant to this 
rule shall not be released or made public, except as provided by 
Sections [26-6-27]26B-7-217 and 26B-7-220.  Penalties for violation 
of confidentiality are prescribed in Section [26-6-29]26B-7-219. 
 (2)  Nothing in this rule precludes the discussion of case 
information with an attending clinician or public health workers. 
 (3)  The Department or local health department shall 
disclose communicable disease-related information regarding the 
person who was assisted to the medical provider of a Good Samaritan 
when that medical provider submits a request to the Department or 
local health department. 
 (a)  The request must include: 
 (i)  information regarding the occurrence of the accident, 
fire, or other life-threatening emergency; 
 (ii)  a description of the exposure risk to the Good 
Samaritan; and 
 (iii)  contact information for the Good Samaritan and their 
medical provider. 
 (b)  The Department or local health department will ensure 
that the disclosed information: 
 (i)  includes enough detail to allow for appropriate 
education and follow-up to the Good Samaritan; and 
 (ii)  ensures confidentiality is maintained for the person 
who was aided. 
 (c)  No identifying information will be shared with the 
Good Samaritan or their medical provider regarding the person who 
was assisted.  The Good Samaritan shall receive written information 
warning them that information regarding the person who was assisted 
is protected by state law. 
 
R386-702-9.  Non-Compliance with Reporting Regulations. 
 (1)  Any person who violates Rule R386-702 may be 
[assessed a]subject to penalty or sanction as provided in Sections [26-
23-6]26B-7-219 and 26B-7-316. 
 (2)  Willful non-compliance may result in the Department 
working with other agencies to incur penalties that may include loss 
of accreditation or licensure. 
 (3)  Records maintained by reporting entities are subject to 
review by Department personnel to assure the completeness and 
accuracy of reporting. 
 (4)  If public health conducts a surveillance project, such as 
assessing the completeness of case finding or assessing another 
measure of data quality, the Department may, at its discretion, waive 
any penalties for participating entities if cases are found that were not 
originally reported for whatever reason. 
 
R386-702-10.  Information Necessary for Public Health 
Investigation and Surveillance. 
 (1)  Reporting entities shall provide the Department or local 
health department with any records or other materials requested by 
public health that are necessary to conduct a thorough investigation. 
 (a)  Subsection (1) includes medical records, additional 
laboratory testing results, treatment and vaccination history, clinical 
material, or contact information for cases, suspect cases, or persons 
potentially exposed. 
 (b)  The Department or local health department shall be 
granted on-site access to a facility, when such access is critical to a 
public health investigation. 
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R386-702-11.  General Measures for the Control of 
Communicable Diseases. 
 (1)  The local health department shall maintain reportable 
disease records as needed to enforce Chapter [6]7 of the Health and 
Human Services Code and this rule, or as requested by the Utah 
Department of Health and Human Services. 
 (2)  General control measures for reportable diseases are as 
follows: 
 (a)  The local health department shall, when an unusual or 
rare disease occurs in any part of the state or when any disease 
becomes so prevalent as to endanger the state as a whole, contact the 
Office of Communicable Diseases, Utah Department of Health and 
Human Services for assistance, and shall cooperate with the 
representatives of the Utah Department of Health and Human 
Services. 
 (b)  The local health department shall investigate and 
control the causes of epidemic, infectious, communicable, and other 
disease affecting the public health.  The local health department shall 
also provide for the detection, reporting, prevention, and control of 
communicable, infectious, and acute diseases that are dangerous or 
important or that may affect the public health.  The local health 
department may require physical examination and measures to be 
performed as necessary to protect the health of others. 
 (c)  If, in the opinion of the local health officer it is 
necessary or advisable to protect the public's health that any person 
shall be kept from contact with the public, the local health officer 
shall establish, maintain, and enforce involuntary treatment, 
isolation, and quarantine as provided by Section [26-6-4]26B-7-204.  
Control measures shall be specific to the known or suspected disease 
agent.  Guidance is available from the Office of Communicable 
Diseases, Utah Department of Health and Human Services, or official 
reference listed in Section R386-702-18. 
 (d)  The local health department shall take action and 
measures as may be necessary within Section [26-6-4, Title 26, 
Chapter 6b Communicable Diseases - Treatment, Isolation, and 
Quarantine Procedures]26B-7-204 Involuntary examination, 
treatment, isolation, and quarantine, and this rule, to prevent the 
spread of any communicable disease, infectious agent, or any other 
condition that pose a public health hazard.  Action shall be initiated 
upon discovery of a case or upon receipt of notification or report of 
any disease. 
 (e)  A case; suspected case; carrier; contact; other person; 
or entity, including a facility, hotel, or other organization, shall, upon 
request of a public health authority, promptly cooperate during: 
 (i)  an investigation of the circumstances or cause of a case, 
suspected case, outbreak, or suspected outbreak. 
 (ii)  the carrying out of measures for prevention, 
suppression, and control of a public health hazard, including 
procedures of restriction, isolation, and quarantine. 
 (5)  Control measures for public food handlers and places 
where food or drink products are handled or processed are as follows: 
 A person known to be infected with a communicable 
disease that can be transmitted by food or drink products, or who is 
suspected of being infected with such a disease, may not engage in 
the commercial handling of food or drink products, or be employed 
on any premises handling those types of products, unless those 
products are packaged off-site and remain in a closed container until 
purchased for consumption, until the person is determined by the 
local health department to be free of communicable disease, or 
incapable of transmitting the infection. 
 If a case, carrier, or suspected case of a disease that can be 
conveyed by food or drink products is found at any place where food 

or drink products are handled or offered for sale, or if a disease is 
found or suspected to have been transmitted by these food or drink 
products, the local health department may immediately prohibit the 
sale, or removal of drink and other food products from the premises.  
Sale or distribution of food or drink products from the premises may 
be resumed when measures have been taken to eliminate the threat to 
health from the product and its processing[ as prescribed by Rule 
R392-100]. 
 If a local health department finds it is not able to completely 
comply with this rule, the local health officer or their representative 
shall request the assistance of the Utah Department of Health and 
Human Services.  In such circumstances, the local health department 
shall provide required information to the Office of Communicable 
Diseases.  If the local health officer fails to comply with this rule, the 
Utah Department of Health and Human Services shall take action 
necessary to enforce this rule. 
 Laboratory analyses that are necessary to identify the 
causative agents of reportable diseases or to determine adequacy of 
treatment of patients with a disease shall be ordered by the physician 
or other health care provider to be performed in or referred to a 
laboratory holding a valid certificate under the Clinical Laboratory 
Improvement Amendments of 1988. 
 
R386-702-12.  Special Measures for Control of Rabies. 
 (1)  Rationale of treatment is as follows: 
 A physician must evaluate individually each exposure to 
possible rabies infection.  The physician shall also consult with local 
or state public health officials if questions arise about the need for 
rabies prophylaxis. 
 (2)  Management of biting animals is as follows: 
 (a)  A healthy dog, cat, or ferret that bites a person shall be 
confined and observed at least daily for ten days from the date of bite, 
regardless of vaccination status, as specified by local animal control 
ordinances.  It is recommended that rabies vaccine not be 
administered during the observation period.  Such animals shall be 
evaluated by a veterinarian at the first sign of illness during 
confinement.  A veterinarian or animal control officer shall 
immediately report any illness in the animal to the local health 
department.  If signs suggestive of rabies develop, a veterinarian or 
animal control officer shall direct that the animal be euthanized, its 
head removed, and the head shipped under refrigeration, not frozen, 
for examination of the brain by a laboratory approved by the Utah 
Department of Health and Human Services. 
 (b)  If the dog, cat, or ferret shows no signs of rabies or 
illness during the ten day period, the veterinarian or animal control 
officer shall direct that the unvaccinated animal be vaccinated against 
rabies at the owner's expense before release to the owner.  If a 
veterinarian is not available, the animal may be released, but the 
owner shall have the animal vaccinated within 72 hours of release.  If 
the dog, cat, or ferret was appropriately vaccinated against rabies 
before the incident, the animal may be released from confinement 
after the 10-day observation period with no further restrictions. 
 (c)  Any stray or unwanted dog, cat, or ferret that bites a 
person may be euthanized immediately by a veterinarian or animal 
control officer, if permitted by local ordinance, and the head 
submitted, as described in Subsection R386-702-12(2)(a), for rabies 
examination.  If the brain is negative by fluorescent-antibody 
examination for rabies, one can assume that the saliva contained no 
virus, and the person bitten need not be treated. 
 (d)  Wild animals include raccoons, skunks, coyotes, foxes, 
bats, the offspring of wild animals crossbred to domestic dogs and 
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cats, and any carnivorous animal other than a domestic dog, cat, or 
ferret. 
 (e)  Signs of rabies in wild animals cannot be interpreted 
reliably.  If a wild animal bites or scratches a person, the person or 
attending medical personnel shall notify an animal control or law 
enforcement officer.  A veterinarian, animal control officer or 
representative of the Division of Wildlife Resources shall kill the 
animal at once, without unnecessary damage to the head, and submit 
the brain, as described in Subsection R386-702-12(2)(a), for 
examination for evidence of rabies.  If the brain is negative by 
fluorescent-antibody examination for rabies, one can assume that the 
saliva contained no virus, and the person bitten need not be treated. 
 (f)  Rabbits, opossums, squirrels, chipmunks, rats, and mice 
are rarely infected and their bites rarely, if ever, call for rabies 
prophylaxis or testing.  Unusual exposures to any animal should be 
reported to the local health department or the Office of 
Communicable Diseases, Utah Department of Health and Human 
Services. 
 (g)  When rare, valuable, captive wild animals maintained 
in zoological parks approved by the United States Department of 
Agriculture or research institutions, as defined by Section [26-26-
1]26B-1-236, bite or scratch a human, the Office of Communicable 
Diseases, Utah Department of Health and Human Services shall be 
notified.  Subsection R386-702-12(2)(e) may be waived by the Office 
of Communicable Diseases, Utah Department of Health and Human 
Services if zoological park operators or research institution managers 
can demonstrate that the following rabies control measures are 
established: 
 (i)  Employees who work with the animal have received 
preexposure rabies immunization. 
 (ii)  The person bitten by the animal voluntarily agrees to 
accept post-exposure rabies immunization provided by the zoological 
park or research facility. 
 (iii)  The director of the zoological park or research facility 
shall direct that the biting animal be held in complete quarantine for 
a minimum of four months for dogs and cats, and six months for 
ferrets.  Quarantine requires that the animal be prohibited from direct 
contact with other animals or humans. 
 (h)  Any animal bitten or scratched by a wild, carnivorous 
animal or a bat that is not available for testing shall be regarded as 
having been exposed to rabies.  The animal shall be placed in a strict 
quarantine for four months for dogs and cats, or six months for 
ferrets. 
 (i)  For maximum protection of the public health, 
unvaccinated dogs, cats, and ferrets bitten or scratched by a 
confirmed or suspected rabid animal shall be euthanized immediately 
by a veterinarian or animal control officer.  If the owner is unwilling 
to have the animal euthanized, the local health officer shall order that 
the animal be held in strict isolation in a municipal or county animal 
shelter or a veterinary medical facility approved by the local health 
department, at the owner's expense, for at least four months for dogs 
and cats, and six months for ferrets.  The animal shall be vaccinated 
one month before being released.  If any illness suggestive of rabies 
develops in the animal, the veterinarian or animal control officer shall 
immediately report the illness to the local health department and the 
veterinarian or animal control officer shall direct that the animal be 
euthanized and the head shall be handled as described in Subsection 
R386-702-12(2)(a). 
 (j)  Dogs, cats, and ferrets that are currently vaccinated and 
are bitten by rabid animals, shall be revaccinated immediately by a 
veterinarian and confined and observed by the animal's owner for 45 
days.  If any illness suggestive of rabies develops in the animal, the 

owner shall report immediately to the local health department and the 
animal shall be euthanized by a veterinarian or animal control officer 
and the head shall be handled as described in Subsection R386-702-
12(2)(a). 
 (k)  Livestock exposed to a rabid animal and currently 
vaccinated with a vaccine approved by the United States Department 
of Agriculture for that species shall be revaccinated immediately by 
a veterinarian and observed by the owner for 45 days.  Unvaccinated 
livestock shall be slaughtered immediately.  If the owner is unwilling 
to have the animal slaughtered, the animal shall be kept under close 
observation by the owner for six months. 
 (l)  Unvaccinated animals other than dogs, cats, ferrets, and 
livestock bitten by a confirmed or suspected rabid animal shall be 
euthanized immediately by a veterinarian or animal control officer. 
 (3)  Testing fees at the Utah Public Health Laboratory are 
as follows: 
 (a)  Animals being submitted to UPHL for rabies testing 
must follow criteria defined in The Compendium of Animal Rabies 
Prevention and Control to be eligible for testing without a fee.  
Testing of animals that fit this criteria will be eligible for a waived 
fee for testing.  Testing of animals that do not meet this criteria will 
incur a testing fee as set forth by UPHL. 
 (b)  The following situations will not incur a rabies testing 
fee if testing is ordered for them through UPHL: 
 (i)  Any bat in an instance where a person or animal has had 
an exposure, or reasonable probability of exposure, including known 
bat bites, exposure to bat saliva, a bat found in a room with a sleeping 
person or unattended child, or a bat found near a child or mentally 
impaired or intoxicated person. 
 (ii)  Dogs, cats, or ferrets, regardless of rabies vaccination 
status, if signs suggestive of rabies are documented in them. 
 (iii)  Wild mammals and hybrids that expose persons, pets, 
or livestock, including skunks, foxes, coyotes, and raccoons, may be 
tested. 
 (iv)  Livestock may be tested if signs suggestive of rabies 
are documented. 
 (v)  [U]DHHS Office of Communicable Diseases staff are 
available to discuss additional situations that may warrant testing at 
(801) 538-6191. 
 (c)  The following situations will incur a $95 testing fee if 
testing is ordered for them through UPHL: 
 (i)  Any dog, cat, or ferret, with unknown or undocumented 
vaccination history that exposes a person, if signs suggestive of rabies 
are not documented, or if the animal has not been confined and 
observed for at least 10 days. 
 (ii)  Dogs, cats, and ferrets: currently vaccinated animals 
that expose a person, if signs suggestive of rabies are not 
documented, or animals have not been confined and observed for at 
least 10 days. 
 (iii)  Regardless of rabies vaccination status, a healthy dog, 
cat, or ferret that has not exposed a person. 
 (iv)  Small rodents including rats, mice, squirrels, 
chipmunks, voles, or moles; and lagomorphs including rabbits and 
hares. 
 (v)  Incomplete paperwork accompanying the sample will 
also result in a fee for testing; a thorough description of the situation 
must be included with each sample submission. 
 (vi)  [U]DHHS Office of Communicable Diseases staff are 
available to discuss additional situations that may not warrant testing 
at (801) 538-6191. 
 (d)  If the submitting party feels they are charged 
inappropriately for rabies testing, they may send a letter describing 
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the situation and requesting a waiver for fees to the: Utah Department 
of Health and Human Services, Office of Communicable Diseases, 
P.O. Box 142104, Salt Lake City, UT 84114, attention: Zoonotic 
Diseases Epidemiologist.  Information may be submitted 
electronically via email to: epi@utah.gov, with a note in the subject 
line "Attention: Zoonotic Diseases Epidemiologist." 
 (i)  The submitting party has 30 days from receipt of the 
testing fee invoice to file an appeal.  The letter must include copies 
of the original paperwork that was submitted, and a copy of the 
invoice received, for a waiver to be considered. 
 (ii)  [U]DHHS and UPHL have 30 days to review 
information after receipt of an appeal request to make an official 
decision and notify the submitter. 
 (iii)  [U]DHHS Office of Communicable Diseases staff are 
available to discuss questions about testing fees and the appeal 
process at (801) 538-6191. 
 (4)  Measures for standardized rabies control practices are 
as follows: 
 (a)  Humans requiring either pre- or post-exposure rabies 
prophylaxis shall be treated in accordance with the recommendations 
of the U.S. Public Health Service Immunization Practices Advisory 
Committee, as incorporated by reference in Subsection R386-702-
18(2).  A copy of the recommendations shall be made available to 
licensed medical personnel, upon request to the Office of 
Communicable Diseases, Utah Department of Health and Human 
Services. 
 (b)  A physician or other health care provider that 
administers rabies vaccine shall immediately report serious systemic 
neuroparalytic or anaphylactic reactions to rabies vaccine through the 
Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS). 
 (c)  The Compendium of Animal Rabies Prevention and 
Control, as incorporated by reference in Subsection R386-702-18(5), 
is the reference document for animal vaccine use. 
 (d)  A county, city, town, or other political subdivision that 
requires licensure of animals shall also require rabies vaccination as 
a prerequisite to obtaining a license. 
 (e)  Animal rabies vaccinations are valid only if performed 
by or under the direction of a licensed veterinarian in accordance with 
The Compendium of Animal Rabies Prevention and Control. 
 (f)  Agencies and veterinarians administering vaccine shall 
document each vaccination on the National Association of State 
Public Health Veterinarians (NASPHV) form number 51, Rabies 
Vaccination Certificate, that can be obtained from vaccine 
manufacturers.  The agency or veterinarian shall provide a copy of 
the report to the animal's owner.  Computer-generated forms 
containing the same information are also acceptable. 
 (g)  Animal rabies vaccines may be sold or otherwise 
provided only to licensed veterinarians or veterinary biologic supply 
firms.  Animal rabies vaccine may be purchased by the Utah 
Department of Health and Human Services and the Utah Department 
of Agriculture and Food. 
 (5)  Measures to prevent or control rabies outbreaks are as 
follows: 
 (a)  The most important single factor in preventing human 
rabies is the maintenance of high levels of immunity in the pet dog, 
cat, and ferret populations through vaccination.  Vaccination 
requirements include: 
 (i)  any dog, cat, and ferret in Utah should be immunized 
against rabies by a licensed veterinarian; and 
 (ii)  local governments should establish effective programs 
to ensure vaccination of any dogs, cats, and ferrets and to remove 
strays and unwanted animals. 

 (b)  If the Utah Department of Health and Human Services 
determines that a rabies outbreak is present in an area of the state, the 
Utah Department of Health and Human Services may require that: 
 (i)  any dog, cat, and ferret in that area and adjacent areas 
be vaccinated or revaccinated against rabies as appropriate for each 
animal's age; 
 (ii)  any such animal be kept under the control of its owner 
at all times until the Utah Department of Health and Human Services 
declares the outbreak to be resolved; 
 (iii)  an owner who does not have an animal vaccinated or 
revaccinated surrender the animal for confinement and possible 
destruction; and 
 (iv)  such animals found at-large be confined and possibly 
destroyed. 
 
R386-702-13.  Special Measures for Control of Typhoid. 
 Because typhoid control measures depend largely on 
sanitary precautions and other health measures designed to protect 
the public, the local health department shall investigate each case of 
typhoid and strictly manage the infected individual according to the 
following: 
 (1)  Standard precautions are required for cases during 
hospitalization.  Use contact precautions for diapered or incontinent 
patients during illness.  Hospital care is desirable during acute illness.  
Release of the patient from supervision by the local health 
department shall be based on three or more negative cultures of feces, 
and of urine in patients with schistosomiasis, taken at least 24 hours 
apart.  Cultures must have been taken at least 48 hours after antibiotic 
therapy has ended and not earlier than one month after onset of illness 
as specified in Subsection R386-702-13(6).  If any of these cultures 
is positive, repeat cultures at intervals of one month during the 12-
month period following onset until at least three consecutive negative 
cultures are obtained as specified in Subsection R386-702-13(6).  
The patient shall be restricted from food handling, child care, and 
from providing patient care during the period of supervision by the 
local health department. 
 (2)  Administration of typhoid vaccine is recommended for 
household members of known typhoid carriers.  Household and close 
contacts of a carrier shall be restricted from food handling, child care, 
and patient care until two consecutive negative stool specimens, 
taken at least 24 hours apart, are submitted, or when approval is 
granted by the local health officer according to local jurisdiction. 
 (3)  If a laboratory or physician identifies a carrier of 
typhoid, the attending physician shall immediately report the details 
of the case by telephone to the local health department or the Office 
of Communicable Diseases, Utah Department of Health and Human 
Services using the process described in Section R386-702-6.  Each 
infected individual shall submit to the supervision of the local health 
department.  Carriers are prohibited from food handling, child care, 
and patient care until released in accordance with Subsection R386-
702-13(4)(a) or R386-702-13(4)(b).  Reports and orders of 
supervision shall be kept confidential and may be released only as 
allowed by Subsection [26-6-27]26B-7-217(2)(c). 
 (a)  Any person who harbors typhoid bacilli for three but 
less than 12 months after onset is defined as a convalescent carrier.  
Release from occupational and food handling restrictions may be 
granted at any time from three to 12 months after onset, as specified 
in Subsection R386-702-13(6). 
 (b)  Any person who continues to excrete typhoid bacilli for 
more than 12 months after onset of typhoid is a chronic carrier.  Any 
person who gives no history of having had typhoid or who had the 
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disease more than one year previously, and whose feces or urine are 
found to contain typhoid bacilli is also a chronic carrier. 
 (c)  If typhoid bacilli are isolated from surgically removed 
tissues, organs, including the gallbladder or kidney, or from draining 
lesions such as osteomyelitis, the attending physician shall report the 
case to the local health department or the Office of Communicable 
Diseases, Utah Department of Health and Human Services.  If the 
person continues to excrete typhoid bacilli for more than 12 months, 
the person is a chronic carrier and may be released after satisfying 
the criteria for chronic carriers in Subsection R386-702-13(6). 
 (4)  The local health department shall report typhoid 
carriers to the Office of Communicable Diseases, and shall: 
 (a)  require the necessary laboratory tests for release; 
 (b)  issue written instructions to the carrier; and 
 (c)  supervise the carrier. 
 (6)  Requirements for Release of Convalescent and Chronic 
Carriers:  The local health officer or their representative may release 
a convalescent or chronic carrier from occupational and food 
handling restrictions only if at least one of the following conditions 
is satisfied: 
 (a)  for carriers without schistosomiasis, three consecutive 
negative cultures obtained from fecal specimens authenticated by the 
attending physician, hospital personnel, laboratory personnel, or 
local health department staff taken at least one month apart and at 
least 48 hours after antibiotic therapy has stopped; 
 (b)  for carriers with schistosomiasis, three consecutive 
negative cultures obtained from both fecal and urine specimens 
authenticated by the attending physician, hospital personnel, 
laboratory personnel, or local health department staff taken at least 
one month apart and at least 48 hours after antibiotic therapy has 
stopped; 
 (c)  the local health officer or their representative determine 
that additional treatment such as cholecystectomy or nephrectomy 
has terminated the carrier state; or 
 (d)  the local health officer or their representative 
determines the carrier no longer presents a risk to public health 
according to the evaluation of other factors. 
 
R386-702-14.  Special Measures for the Control of Ophthalmia 
Neonatorum. 
 (1)  Every physician or midwife practicing obstetrics or 
midwifery shall, within three hours of the birth of a child, instill or 
cause to be instilled in each eye of such newborn[ 1% silver nitrate 
solution contained in wax ampules, or tetracycline ophthalmic 
preparations or] 0.5% ophthalmic erythromycin 
ointment[ophthalmic preparations, as these are the only antibiotics of 
currently proven efficacy in preventing] to prevent the development 
of ophthalmia neonatorum. 
 (2)  If this ointment is not available due to a disruption in 
distribution or manufacturing, a physician or midwife shall apply or 
cause to be administered an alternative treatment to infants at risk for 
exposure to N. gonorrhoeae included in the Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention Sexually Transmitted Infections Treatment 
Guidelines, incorporated by reference within this rule.[  The value of 
irrigation of the eyes with normal saline or distilled water is unknown 
and not recommended.] 
 
R386-702-15.  Special Measures for the Control of HIV/AIDS. 
 If an individual is tested and found to have an HIV 
infection, the Department or local health department shall provide 
partner services, linkage-to-care activities, and promote retention to 
HIV care. 

 (1)  Definitions: 
 (a)  "Partner" is defined as any individual, including a 
spouse, who has shared needles, syringes, or drug paraphernalia or 
who has had sexual contact with an HIV infected individual. 
 (b)  "Spouse" is defined as any individual who is the 
marriage partner of that person at any time within the ten-year period 
before the diagnosis of HIV infection. 
 (c)  "Linkage to care" is defined by a reported CD4+ T-
Lymphocyte test or HIV viral load determination within three months 
of HIV positive diagnosis. 
 (d)  "Retention to care" is defined by a reported CD4+ T-
Lymphocyte test or HIV viral load determination once within a 12-
month period. 
 (3)  Partner services include: 
 (a)  confidential partner notification within 30 days of 
receiving a positive HIV result or when relevant additional 
information is found to aide in an investigation or case management; 
 (b)  prevention counseling; 
 (c)  testing for HIV; 
 (d)  providing recommendations for testing for other 
sexually transmitted diseases; 
 (e)  providing recommendations for hepatitis screening and 
vaccination; 
 (f)  treatment or linkage to medical care on an ongoing 
basis, as needed; and 
 (g)  linkage or referral to other prevention services and 
support. 
 (4)  Re-engagement to care includes: 
 (a)  linkage to medical care, on an ongoing basis, as needed; 
 (b)  linkage or referral to other prevention services and 
support; 
 (c)  confidential partner notification, as needed; 
 (d)  prevention counseling; 
 (e)  providing recommendations for testing for other 
sexually transmitted diseases; 
 (f)  providing recommendations for hepatitis screening and 
vaccination; 
 (g)  medication adherence counseling; and 
 (h)  risk reduction counseling. 
 
R386-702-16.  Special Measures to Prevent Perinatal and Person-
to-Person Transmission of Hepatitis B Infection. 
 (1)  A licensed healthcare provider who provides prenatal 
care shall routinely test each pregnant woman for hepatitis B surface 
antigen (HBsAg) at an early prenatal care visit.  This section does not 
apply if the pregnant woman, after being informed of the possible 
consequences, objects to the test on the basis of religious or personal 
beliefs. 
 (2)  The licensed healthcare provider who provides prenatal 
care shall repeat the HBsAg test during late pregnancy for those 
women who tested negative for HBsAg during early pregnancy, but 
who are at high risk based on: 
 (a)  evidence of clinical hepatitis during pregnancy; 
 (b)  injection drug use; 
 (c)  occurrence during pregnancy or a history of a sexually 
transmitted disease; 
 (d)  occurrence of hepatitis B in a household or close family 
contact; or 
 (e)  the judgment of the healthcare provider. 
 (3)  In addition to other reporting required by this rule, each 
positive HBsAg result detected in a pregnant woman shall be 
reported to the local health department or the Department, as 
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specified in Section [26-6-6]26B-7-206.  That report shall indicate 
that the woman was pregnant at time of testing if that information is 
available to the reporting entity. 
 (4)  A licensed healthcare provider who provides prenatal 
care shall document a woman's HBsAg test results, or the basis of the 
objection to the test, in the medical record for that patient. 
 (5)  Every hospital and birthing facility shall develop a 
policy to assure that: 
 (a)  when a pregnant woman is admitted for delivery, or for 
monitoring of pregnancy status, the result from a test for HBsAg 
performed on that woman during that pregnancy is available for 
review and documented in the hospital record; 
 (b)  when a pregnant woman is admitted for delivery, if the 
woman's test result is not available to the hospital or birthing facility, 
the mother is tested for HBsAg as soon as possible, but before 
discharge from the hospital or birthing facility; 
 (c)  if a pregnant woman who has not had prenatal care 
during that pregnancy is admitted for monitoring of pregnancy status 
only, and if the woman's test result is not available to the hospital or 
birthing facility, the mother is tested for HBsAg status before 
discharge from the hospital or birthing facility; 
 (d)  positive HBsAg results identified by testing performed 
or documented during the hospital stay are reported as specified in 
this rule; 
 (e)  infants born to HBsAg positive mothers receive 
hepatitis B immune globulin (HBIG) and hepatitis B vaccine, 
administered at separate injection sites, within 12 hours of birth; 
 (f)  infants born to mothers whose HBsAg status is 
unknown receive hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of birth, and if 
the infant is born preterm with birth weight less than 2,000 grams, 
that infant also receives HBIG within 12 hours; 
 (g)  if at the time of birth the mother's HBsAg status is 
unknown and the HBsAg test result is later determined to be positive, 
that infant receives HBIG as soon as possible but within 7 days of 
birth; and 
 (h)  hepatitis B immune globulin administration and birth 
dose hepatitis B vaccine status of infants born to mothers who are 
HBsAg positive are reported within 24 hours of delivery to the local 
health department and Utah Department of Health and Human 
Services Immunization Program at (801) 538-9450. 
 (6)  Local health departments shall perform the following 
activities or assure that they are performed: 
 (a)  Females between the ages of 12 and 50 years when an 
HBsAg positive test result is reported will be screened for pregnancy 
status within one week of receipt of that lab result. 
 (b)  Infants born to HBsAg positive mothers complete the 
hepatitis B vaccine series as specified in the "Red Book: 2021-2024 
Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases" 32nd Edition.  Elk 
Grove Village, IL, American Academy of Pediatrics; 2021. 
 (c)  Children born to HBsAg positive mothers are tested for 
HBsAg and antibody against hepatitis B surface antigen (anti-HBs) 
at 9 to 12 months of age to monitor the success of therapy and identify 
cases of perinatal hepatitis B infection. Testing is done at least one 
month after the final dose of hepatitis B vaccine series is 
administered, and no earlier than 9 months of age. Children who test 
negative for HBsAg and do not demonstrate serological evidence of 
immunity against hepatitis B when tested as described in this 
subsection receive three additional vaccine doses and are retested as 
specified in the "Red Book: 2021-2024 Report of the Committee on 
Infectious Diseases" 32nd Edition.  Elk Grove Village, IL, American 
Academy of Pediatrics; 2021. 

 (d)  HBsAg positive mothers are advised regarding how to 
reduce their risk of transmitting hepatitis B to others. 
 (e)  Household members and sex partners of HBsAg 
positive mothers are evaluated to determine susceptibility to hepatitis 
B infection and if determined to be susceptible, are offered or advised 
to obtain vaccination against hepatitis B. Identified acute hepatitis B 
cases shall be investigated by the local health department, and 
identified household and sexual contacts shall be advised to obtain 
vaccination against hepatitis B. 
 (7)  Subsections (5) and (6) do not apply if the pregnant 
woman or the child's guardian, after being informed of the possible 
consequences, objects to any of the required procedures on the basis 
of religious or moral beliefs.  The hospital or birthing facility shall 
document the basis of the objection. 
 (8)  Prevention of transmission by individuals with chronic 
hepatitis B infection. 
 (a)  The Department defines a chronic hepatitis B case as a 
person that is HBsAg positive, total antibody against hepatitis B core 
antigen (anti-HBc) positive, if performed, and IgM anti-HBc 
negative. 
 (b)  An individual with chronic hepatitis B infection shall 
be advised regarding how to reduce the risk that the individual will 
transmit hepatitis B to others. 
 (c)  Household members and sex partners of individuals 
with chronic hepatitis B infection shall be evaluated to determine 
susceptibility to hepatitis B infection, and if determined to be 
susceptible, shall be offered or advised to obtain vaccination against 
Hepatitis B. 
 
R386-702-17.  Public Health Emergency. 
 (1)  Declaration of Emergency: With the Governor's and 
Executive Director's, or in the absence of the Executive Director, the 
Executive Director's designee, concurrence, the Department or a 
local health department may declare a public health emergency by 
issuing an order mandating reporting emergency illnesses or health 
conditions specified in Section R386-702-3 for a reasonable time. 
 (2)  For purposes of an order issued under this section and 
during the public health emergency, the following definitions apply. 
 (a)  "Emergency center" means: 
 (i)  a health care facility licensed under [Title 26, Chapter 
21, Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection Act]Title 26B, 
Chapter 2, Health Care Facility Licensing and Inspection, that 
operates an emergency department; or 
 (ii)  a clinic that provides emergency or urgent health care 
to an average of 20 or more persons daily. 
 (b)  "Encounter" means an instance of an individual 
presenting at the emergency center who satisfies the criteria in 
Subsection R386-702-3(2). 
 (c)  "Diagnostic information" means an emergency center's 
records of individuals who present for emergency or urgent 
treatment, including the reason for the visit, chief complaint, results 
of diagnostic tests, presenting diagnosis, and final diagnosis, 
including diagnostic codes. 
 (3)  The Department shall designate the fewest number of 
emergency centers as is practicable to obtain the necessary data to 
respond to the emergency. 
 (a)  Designated emergency centers shall report using the 
process described in Section R386-702-6. 
 (b)  An emergency center designated by the Department 
shall report the encounters to the Department by: 
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 (i)  allowing Department representatives or agents, 
including local health department representatives, to review its 
diagnostic information to identify encounters during the previous 
day; 
 (ii)  reviewing its diagnostic information on encounters 
during the previous day and reporting all encounters by 9 a.m. the 
following day; 
 (iii)  identifying encounters and submitting that 
information electronically to the Department, using a computerized 
analysis method, and reporting mechanism and schedule approved by 
the Department; or 
 (iv)  by other arrangement approved by the Department. 
 (4)  For purposes of epidemiological and statistical 
analysis, the emergency center shall report on encounters during the 
public health emergency that do not meet the definition for a 
reportable emergency illness or health condition.  The report shall be 
made using the process described in Section R386-702-6 and shall 
include the following information for each such encounter: 
 (a)  facility name; 
 (b)  date of visit; 
 (c)  time of visit; 
 (d)  patient's age; 
 (e)  patient's sex; and 
 (f)  patient's zip code for patient's residence. 
 (5)  If either the Department or a local health department 
collects identifying health information on an individual who is the 
subject of a report made mandatory under this section, it shall destroy 
that identifying information upon the earlier of its determination that 
the information is no longer necessary to carry out an investigation 
under this section or 180 days after the information was collected.  
However, the Department and local health departments shall retain 
identifiable information gathered under other sections of this rule or 
other legal authority. 
 (6)  Reporting on encounters during the public health 
emergency does not relieve a reporting entity of its responsibility to 
report under other sections of this rule or other legal authority. 

R386-702-18.  Official References. 
 Treatment and management of individuals and animals 
who have or are suspected of having a communicable or infectious 
disease that must be reported pursuant to this rule shall comply with 
the following documents, that are incorporated by reference: 
 (1)  American Public Health Association.  "Control of 
Communicable Diseases Manual."  21st ed., Heymann, David L., 
editor, 2022; 
 (2)  Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.  "Human 
Rabies Prevention---United States, 2008: Recommendations of the 
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices." Morbidity and 
Mortality Weekly Report. 57 (RR03) (2008):1-26, 28; 
 (3)  National Association of State Public Health 
Veterinarians Committee.  "Compendium of Animal Rabies 
Prevention and Control, 2016." Nasphv.org.  National Association of 
State Public Health Veterinarians, 18 October 2016.  Web.  
http://nasphv.org/Documents/NASPHVRabiesCompendium.pdf; 
 (4)  American Academy of Pediatrics.  "Red Book: 2021-
2024 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases" 32nd Edition.  
Elk Grove Village, IL, American Academy of Pediatrics; 2021; and 
 (5)  National Association of State Public Health 
Veterinarians Animal Contact Compendium Committee 2017.  
"Compendium of Measures to Prevent Disease Associated with 
Animals in Public Settings, 2017." Journal of the American 
Veterinary Medicine Association 243 (2017): 1269-292. 
 
KEY:  communicable diseases, quarantines, rabies, rules and 
procedures 
Date of Last Change:  February 12, 2024 
Notice of Continuation:  March 10, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [26-6-3; 26-
23b; ]26B-1-202; 26B-7-202; 26B-7-207; 26B-7-316 through 26B-
7-324 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R23-3 Filing ID: 55131 
Effective Date: 02/07/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: 3626 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, 3rd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-

957-
7239 

mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-
957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.go
v 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-3.  Planning, Programming, Request for Capital 
Development Projects and Operation and Maintenance 
Reporting for State Owned Facilities 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 63A-5b-501(2)(b) authorizes rulemaking to 
implement planning. 
 
Subsection 63A-5b-502(3) authorizes rulemaking to 
implement programming. 
 
Subsection 63A-5b-402(3) requires rulemaking to 
implement capital development project requests. 
 
Subsection 63A-5b-702(2) requires rulemaking to 
implement operation and maintenance reporting for state-
owned facilities. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received on this rule in the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule facilitates the Division of Facilities Construction 
and Management's planning and programming 
responsibilities through rulemaking as authorized by 
statute and complies with statutory requirements for 
rulemaking with respect to capital development project 
requests and operation and maintenance reporting for 
state-owned facilities.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell,  
Director 

Date: 02/07/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R23-29 Filing ID: 55150 
Effective Date: 02/07/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: 3626 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, 3rd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-

957-
7239 

mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-
957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.go
v 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-29.  Categorical Delegation of Project Management 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 63A-5b-604(4) authorizes the Division of 
Facilities Construction and Management (DFCM) to 
engage in rulemaking to delegate control over design, 
construction, and all other aspects of any project to entities 
of state government on a categorical basis for projects 
within a particular dollar range and a particular project 
type. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received on this rule in 
the last five years. 
 

5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary so that DFCM may: 
1)  impose the terms and conditions on categorical 
delegation that DFCM considers necessary or advisable to 
protect the interests of the state; 
2) provide for the revocation of the delegation on a 
categorical basis and for DFCM to assume control of the 
design, construction, or other aspect of a category of 
delegated projects or a specific delegated project if DFCM 
considers revocation of the delegation and assumption of 
control to be necessary to protect the interests of the state; 
3) require that a categorical delegation be renewed by 
DFCM on an annual basis; and 
4) require DFCM's oversight of delegated projects. 
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell,  
Director 

Date: 02/07/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R131-13 Filing ID: 50218 
Effective Date: 02/05/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Capitol Preservation Board (State) 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: 120 State Capitol 
Building: State Capitol Building  
Street address: 350 N State Street 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Mailing address: PO Box 142110 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2110 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dana Jones 801-

538-
1189 

danajones@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R131-130.  Health Reform -- Health Insurance Coverage 
in State Contracts -- Implementation 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 63C-9-403(6) explicitly requires this rule with 
several other agencies to: 
1) establish the requirements and procedures a contractor 
and a subcontractor shall follow to demonstrate 
compliance with this section, including audits and 
penalties; and 
2) establish a website on which shall be post the 
commercially equivalent benchmark, for the qualified 
health coverage identified in Subsection (1)(e), that is 
provided by the Department of Health and Human 
Services, in accordance with Subsection 26B-3-909(2). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received since the last 
five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Subsection 63C-9-403(6) continues to require this rule.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Dana Jones,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/05/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R277-308 Filing ID: 53321 
Effective Date: 02/05/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-308.  New Educator Induction and Mentoring 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized pursuant to the Utah Constitution, 
Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and 
supervision over public education in the Board. 
 
Subsection 53E-3-401(4) allows the Board to execute rules 
to carry out its duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law. 
 
Section 53E-6-201 gives the Board power to issue 
licenses. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it establishes the 
requirements for induction of new educators.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/05/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R277-471 Filing ID: 55198 
Effective Date: 02/05/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 
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Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-471. School Construction Oversight, Inspections, 
Training and Reporting 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized pursuant to the Utah Constitution, 
Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and 
supervision over public education in the Board. 
 
Subsection 53E-3-401(4) allows the Board to execute rules 
to carry out its duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law. 
 
Subsection 53E-3-401(8)(ii) permits the Board to withhold 
state funds from an education entity for non-compliance 
with the education code or administrative rules. 
 
Section 53E-3-706 requires the Superintendent to enforce 
Title 53E, Chapter 3, Part 7, School Construction. 
 
Section 53E-3-707 requires the Board to adopt a school 
construction manual. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it provides specific 
provisions for the oversight of permanent or temporary 
public school construction and renovation, and identifies 
the responsibilities of a Local Education Agency (LEA) 
governing board in the school construction process.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy 
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/05/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R277-486 Filing ID: 50457 
Effective Date: 02/05/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-

538-
7830 

angie.stallings@schools.uta
h.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-486.  Professional Staff Cost Program 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized pursuant to the Utah Constitution, 
Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and 
supervision over public education in the Board. 
 
Subsection 53E-3-401(4) allows the Board to execute rules 
to carry out its duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law. 
 
Subsection 53F-2-305(2) authorizes the Board to make a 
rule requiring a certain percentage of a Local Education 
Agency's (LEA's) professional staff to be licensed in the area 
the teacher teaches to receive full funding under the state 
statutory formula. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it outlines the eligibility 
requirements for a Local Education Agency (LEA) to receive 
Weighted Pupil Units (WPUs) for professional staff including 
the acceptable experience and training an LEA's staff should 
have.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/05/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R277-910 Filing ID: 53389 
Effective Date: 02/05/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-910.  Underage Drinking and Substance Abuse 
Prevention Program 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized pursuant to the Utah Constitution, 
Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and 
supervision over public education in the Board. 
 
Subsection 53E-3-401(4) allows the Board to execute rules 
to carry out its duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law. 
 
Section 53G-10-406 directs the Board to establish rules 
regarding a requirement that a Local Education Agency 
(LEA) offer the Underage Drinking and Substance Abuse 
Prevention Program each school year to each student in 
grade 4 or 5, grade 7 or 8, and grade 9 or 10 and the criteria 
for the board to use in selecting a provider for the Underage 
Drinking and Substance Abuse Prevention Program. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it establishes the criteria for 
selecting a provider for the Underage Drinking and 
Substance Abuse Prevention Program and general 
requirements of an LEA when offering the program.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/05/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R277-912 Filing ID: 52970 
Effective Date: 02/05/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Education 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Board of Education 
Street address: 250 E 500 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 144200 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Angie Stallings 801-538-

7830 
angie.stallings@schools.
utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R277-912.  Law Enforcement Related Incident Reporting 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized pursuant to the Utah Constitution, 
Article X, Section 3, which vests general control and 
supervision over public education in the Board. 
 
Subsection 53E-3-401(4) allows the Board to execute rules 
to carry out its duties and responsibilities under the Utah 
Constitution and state law. 
 
Section 53E-3-516 directs the Board to establish rules 
regarding a collaborative annual report meeting all the 
requirements of Subsection 53E-3-516(2). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no public comments received. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it establishes criteria for 
Local Education Agency (LEA) reporting as required by 
Subsection 53E-3-516, including information about specific 
data to be contained in the report, the LEA reporting 
deadline, and the process an external entity must use to 
access data contained on the report form.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Angie Stallings,  
Deputy  
Superintendent of  
Policy 

Date: 02/05/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R307-511 Filing ID: 54502 
Effective Date: 02/07/2024 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Air Quality 
Building: MASOB  
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144820 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4820 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Erica Pryor 385-

499-
3416 

epryor1@utah.gov 

Sheila Vance 801-
536-
4001 

svance@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R307-511.  Oil and Gas Industry: Associated Gas Flaring 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The statutory authorization for this rule falls under 
Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a). 
 
In January of 2018, the Air Quality Board adopted a series 
of oil and gas rules that allowed the source category's 
minor source permitting process to be streamlined.  These 
rules require most of the oil and gas wells in the state to 
follow a set of rules instead of obtaining and complying 
with an approval order. 
 
As the rules have been implemented and applied, the 
Division of Air Quality (DAQ) learned that some oil and gas 
wells were unable to take advantage of this streamlined 
approach as the set of rules did not include the control of 
associated gas from some wells. 
 
This rule is necessary to require the flaring of associated 
gas in these oil and gas wells so they can utilize the 
permitting process. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Rule R307-511 was a new rule in 2019, therefore, this is 
the first five-year review since it was made effective. 
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However, it should be noted that there was an amendment 
made to this rule in 2022.  During this rulemaking, the 
public comment period was May 1, 2022, through May 31, 
2022. 
 
During this time, DAQ received a total of 25 public 
comments.  DAQ responded to each comment submitted 
and these comments and a full summary of responses 
were included in the July 2022 Air Quality Board packet 
which is available to the public on the DAQ website at this 
link:  https://deq.utah.gov/air-quality/july-6-2022-agenda-
air-quality-board-meeting 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule requires the associated natural gas from 
operating wells to be controlled as is required for other 
equipment, such as storage vessels and dehydrators.  It 
defines key terms, identifies the applicability, identifies 
flaring requirements, and establishes required 
recordkeeping.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Bryce C. Bird,  
Director, DAQ 

Date: 02/05/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R380-300 Filing ID: 55664 
Effective Date: 02/07/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Administration 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N.1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R380-300.  Employee Background Checks 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-1-211 authorizes the Department of Health 
and Human Services (DHHS) to write and enforce rules to 
govern background checks for DHHS employees. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the original 
filing of this rule.  This five-year review and filing is 
intended to ensure this rule remains in continual effect for 
statutory compliance. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
There have been no comments or recommendations for 
substantive changes to this rule since its original filing.  
Statute requires background checks for DHHS employees 
and volunteers, and this rule ensures there is no lapse in 
the DHHS’ ability to perform background checks for staff, 
contracted employees, and volunteers.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive  
Director 

Date: 02/07/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R392-101 Filing ID: 55884 
Effective Date: 02/07/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Population Health, Environmental 

Health 
Room number: Second Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2102 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Karl Hartman  801-

538-
6191 

khartman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R392-101.  Food Safety Manager Certification 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 26B-7-410 and 
Subsections 26B-1-202(1) and 26B-1-202(26) to establish 
statewide uniform standards for certified food safety 
managers and implement Section 26B-7-412. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received since the previous five-
year review filing. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule establishes statewide uniform standards for 
certified food safety managers.  The FDA has recently 
published findings that demonstrate certified food safety 
managers are the most important frontline defense in a 
food establishment in the prevention of foodborne illness 
outbreaks.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/07/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R432-270 Filing ID: 55593 
Effective Date: 02/07/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing 

Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-270.  Assisted Living Facilities 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-2-202 authorizes the Division of Health Care 
Licensing to write and enforce rules to govern licensure of 
health care facilities in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review and no recommended substantive 
changes from the Health Care Facility Rule Committee. 
 
This five-year review and filing is intended to ensure this 
rule remains in continual effect for statutory compliance. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
There have been no comments or recommendations for 
changes to this rule.  Statute requires the Department of 
Health and Human Services to establish licensing and 
operational standards for assisted living facilities.  This rule 
ensures there is no lapse in oversight of licensing and 
operational standards for assisted living facilities.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/07/2024 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R590-170 Filing ID: 54481 
Effective Date: 02/07/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-170.  Fiduciary and Trust Account Obligations 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance (Department) has received 
no written comments regarding this rule during the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule sets the minimum standards to be followed by 
licensees who hold an insurer's or insured's funds in a 
fiduciary capacity.  It is critical that these minimum 
standards be maintained intact by this rule to protect the 
funds of the payee held in trust by the licensee.  Trust 
violations continue to occur.  The Department needs the 
standards set by this rule to regulate the marketplace.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information  
Officer 

Date: 02/07/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R590-220 Filing ID: 55537 
Effective Date: 02/07/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-220.  Submission of Accident and Health Insurance 
Filings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code. 
 
Section 31A-2-201.1 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules regarding rates, forms, 
binders, and reports. 
 
Section 31A-2-202 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to perform the duties imposed by Title 31A. 
 
Section 31A-2-212 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to require insurers offering health 
insurance in Utah to comply with the federal Patient 
Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) and 
administrative rules related to health benefit plans. 
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Section 31A-22-605 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules regarding the contents of 
policy provisions and minimum benefit standards; the 
content and format of the outline of provisions; the method 
of identifying policies and contracts; and rating practices. 
 
Section 31A-22-620 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to adopt rules to prohibit policy provisions 
that would be unjust, unfair, or unfairly discriminatory 
under a Medicare Supplement policy or certificate. 
 
Section 31A-22-1404 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to adopt rules to set and regulate standards 
for long-term care insurance. 
 
Section 31A-22-2006 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to adopt rules to set and regulate standards 
for limited long-term care insurance. 
 
Section 31A-30-106 sets standards for health benefit 
plans for individuals in individual and small employer 
groups and requires carriers that offer health benefit plans 
to individuals to maintain, at the carrier's principal place of 
business, a description of their rating practices and 
renewal underwriting practices. 
 
Section 31A-30-106.1 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules regarding rates and rating 
practices used by small employer carriers and rates 
charged for health benefit plans, as well as case 
characteristics used by small employer and individual 
carriers. 
 
Section 31A-43-304 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules to regulate stop-loss 
insurance coverage. 
 
Section 31A-45-103 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules to regulate standards for 
managed care contracts. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance (Department) has received 
no written comments regarding this rule during the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is important in requiring that the Department 
receive policy rate and form information from insurers.  
Such information is necessary to make sure there is no 
unfair discrimination in the coverage that health insurers 
provide and the rates they charge.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information  
Officer 

Date: 02/07/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R590-225 Filing ID: 55044 
Effective Date: 02/07/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-225.  Submission of Property and Casualty Rate and 
Form Filings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code. 
 
Section 31A-2-201.1 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules with specific requirements for 
filing forms, rates, binders, and reports to the Department 
of Insurance (Department). 
 
Section 31A-2-202 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to prescribe forms to gather information or 
use the NAIC annual statement forms to gather basic 
financial data and market regulation analysis. 
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Section 31A-19a-203 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules to prescribe procedures for 
submitting rate filings electronically. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department amended this rule in 2023 and received 
a comment from industry requesting refinement of the 
definitions of "compliant" and "licensee." 
 
The Department determined that a change to "compliant" 
was warranted and made the change; however, the 
Department determined that "licensee" was properly 
defined and declined to make further changes. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is important as it gives detailed instructions on 
how a filer must file rates, rules, binders, and forms as 
required by Utah statute.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information  
Officer 

Date: 02/07/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R590-252 Filing ID: 55234 
Effective Date: 02/07/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Insurance 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 2300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-252.  Use of Senior-Specific Certifications and 
Professional Designations 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, 
Insurance Code. 
 
Section 31A-23a-402 authorizes the Insurance 
Commissioner to define, by rule, unfair methods of 
competition, and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in 
the business of insurance. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance (Department) has received 
no written comments regarding this rule during the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule sets forth standards to protect consumers from 
misleading and deceptive marketing practices with respect 
to the use of senior-specific certifications and professional 
designations in the solicitation, sale or purchase of, or 
advice made in connection with, an annuity, accident and 
health, or life insurance product.  Seniors are often the 
focus of unfair methods of competition and deceptive acts 
or practices in the sale of insurance.  This rule helps the 
Department regulate against these practices.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information  
Officer 

Date: 02/07/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R698-4 Filing ID: 54036 
Effective Date: 02/12/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Administration 
Building: Calvin Rampton Complex 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W, 1st Floor 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84119-5994 

Mailing address: PO Box 141775 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1775 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R698-4.  Certification of a Private Law Enforcement 
Agency of an Institution of Higher Education 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 53-19-103, which 
requires the Department of Public Safety (Department) to 
make rules establishing: 
1) the forms and process to apply for certification of a 
private law enforcement agency; 
2) methods for the commissioner, the Department, or the 
division to obtain, review, use, and protect, any and all 
records of, or directly related to, a private law enforcement 
agency; 
3) requirements for the conduct of a formal hearing under 
Part 3, Enforcement, including requirements for 
proceedings, discovery, subpoenas, and witnesses; 
4) requirements for verifying compliance with the terms of 
probation; 
5) audit procedures; 
6) requirements for the contents of a policies and 
procedures manual of a private law enforcement agency; 
and 
7) requirements for the operation of a private law 
enforcement agency. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received during and since the 
last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is authorized under Section 53-19-103, and is 
necessary to establish required forms for certification, 
method for the Department to obtain, review, use, and 
protect records of a law enforcement agency, 
requirements for the conduct of a formal hearing, 

requirements for verifying compliance with terms of 
probation, audit procedures, requirements for content of 
policy and procedures manuals for private law 
enforcement agencies, and requirements for the operation 
of a private law enforcement agency.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jess L.  
Anderson, 
Commissioner 

Date: 02/11/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R722-920 Filing ID: 51940 
Effective Date: 02/11/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Criminal Investigations and Technical 

Services, Criminal Identification 
Room number: Suite 1300 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Nicole Borgeson 801-
281-
5072 

nshepherd@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R722-920.  Cold Case Database 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Section 53-10-115, which 
requires the Department of Public Safety to adopt rules to 
specify the information to be collected and maintained in 
the database, and what information may be accessed by 
the public. 
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4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received during and since the 
last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under Section 53-10-115 and is 
necessary to specify the information to be collected and 
maintained in the cold case database, and what 
information may be accessed by the public.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jason Ricks, BCI  
Division Director 

Date: 02/11/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R728-502 Filing ID: 51943 
Effective Date: 02/11/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Peace Officer Standards and Training 
Street address: 410 W 9800 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Sandy, UT 84070 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Marcus Yockey 801-

965-
4275 

myockey@agutah.gov 

Kim Gibb 801-
556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R728-502.  Procedure for POST Instructor Certification 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

This rule is authorized by Subsection 53-6-105(1)(k), which 
provides that the Director of Peace Officer Standards and 
Training (POST) shall, with the advice of the council, make 
rules necessary to administer Title 53, Chapter 6. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received during and since the 
last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under Subsection 53-6-105(i)(k) and 
is necessary in order to provide guidelines for the 
certification of training instructors, and to establish 
standards for the revocation of POST instructor 
certification pursuant to Section 53-6-105(1)(c).  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Travis Rees,  
POST Director 

Date: 02/11/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R926-13 Filing ID: 52134 
Effective Date: 02/02/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Transportation 
Agency: Program Development 
Room number: First Floor Administration Suite 
Building: Calvin Rampton 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 148455 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8455 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
James Godin 801-

573-
7181 

jamesjgodin@agutah.gov 

Lori Edwards 801-
965-
4048 

loriedwards@agutah.gov 
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Leif Elder 801-
580-
8296 

lelder@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R923-13.  Designated Scenic Byways 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is required by Subsection 72-4-303(4)(e). 
 
The purpose of this rule is: 
1) to identify specific highways currently designated as 
state scenic byways; 
2) to define the limits of the individual scenic byways for all 
purposes related to that designation; and 
3) to identify the specific state scenic byways within the 
state of Utah currently having also been designated by the 
National Scenic Byways Program of the Federal Highway 
Administration as either National Scenic Byways or All-
American Roads. 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Transportation has not received any 
written comments during and since the last five-year 
review of this rule from interested persons supporting or 
opposing this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required by Subsection 72-4-303(4)(e), which 
is in effect.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Carlos M.  
Braceras, PE,  
Executive  
Director 

Date: 02/02/2024 

 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Animal Industry 
No.  56244  (Repeal and Reenact)  R58-7:  Livestock 
Markets, Satellite Video Livestock Auction Market, Livestock 
Sales, Dealers, and Livestock Market Weighpersons 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
Conservation Commission 
No.  56204  (New Rule)  R64-5:  Temporary Water Shortage 
Emergency Loan Program 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  02/05/2024 
 
Plant Industry 
No.  56171  (Amendment)  R68-29:  Quality Assurance 
Testing on Cannabis 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  02/05/2024 
 
Regulatory Services 
No.  56267  (Amendment)  R70-410:  Grading and Inspection 
of Small Shell Egg Producers 
Published:  01/15/2024 
Effective:  02/28/2024 
 
Capitol Preservation Board (State) 
Administration 
No.  56243  (Amendment)  R131-2:  Capitol Hill Complex 
Facility Use 
Published:  01/15/2024 
Effective:  02/21/2024 
 
 
Cultural and Community Engagement 
Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission 
No.  56203  (Amendment)  R457-1:  Pete Suazo Utah Athletic 
Commission Act Rule 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/20/2024 

Education 
Administration 
No.  56254  (New Rule)  R277-126:  Utah Fits All Scholarship 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56255  (Amendment)  R277-925:  Effective Teachers in 
High Poverty Schools Incentive Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
Environmental Quality 
Air Quality 
No.  56123  (Amendment)  R307-110:  General 
Requirements: State Implementation Plan 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56124  (Amendment)  R307-415-6g:  Permits: Operating 
Permit Requirements 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
 
Health and Human Services 
Administration 
No.  55993  (Repeal and Reenact)  R380-20:  Government 
Records Access and Management 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  55970  (Amendment)  R380-42:  Open and Public 
Meetings Act Electronic Meetings 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  56059  (Amendment)  R380-50:  Local Health 
Department Funding Allocation Formula 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
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No.  56006  (Repeal)  R380-77:  Coordination of Patient 
Identification and Validation Services 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56055  (New Rule)  R380-808:  Fatality Review Act 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
Disease Control and Prevention, Immunization 
No.  56044  (Amendment)  R396-100:  Immunization Rule for 
Students 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/25/2024 
 
Family Health, Children with Special Health Care Needs 
No.  56061  (Amendment)  R398-4:  Cytomegalovirus Public 
Health Initiative 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
Integrated Healthcare 
No.  56007  (Amendment)  R414-70:  Medical Supplies, 
Durable Medical Equipment, and Prosthetic Devices 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  55968  (Amendment)  R414-508:  Requirements for 
Transfer of Bed Licenses 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  56116  (Amendment)  R414-511:  Medicaid Accountable 
Care Organization Incentives to Appropriately Use 
Emergency Room Services 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  55965  (Amendment)  R414-514:  Requirements for 
Moratorium Exception 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
Family Health, Maternal and Child Health 
No.  55924  (Amendment)  R433-200:  Pharmacist Hormonal 
Contraception Dispensing Authority 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/01/2024 
 
Data, Systems and Evaluation, Vital Records and Statistics 
No.  55963  (Amendment)  R436-8:  Authorization for Final 
Disposition of Deceased Persons 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
No.  55915  (Amendment)  R436-19:  Abortion Reporting 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 

Disease Control and Prevention, Laboratory Services 
No.  55952  (Repeal)  R438-13:  Rules for the Certification of 
Institutions to Obtain Impounded Animals in the State of Utah 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
Utah Public Health Laboratory Environmental Lab 
Certification Program 
No.  56119  (Amendment)  R444-1:  Approval of Clinical 
Laboratories 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
Administration (Human Services) 
No.  56056  (Repeal)  R495-808:  Fatality Review Act 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56057  (Repeal)  R495-810:  Government Records 
Access and Management Act 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/12/2024 
 
No.  56214  (Repeal)  R495-861:  Requirements for Local 
Discretionary Social Services Block Grant Funds 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
Ombudsman (Office of) 
No.  56065  (New Rule)  R500-1:  Processing Complaints 
Regarding the Utah Division of Child and Family Services 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
No.  56207  (New Rule)  R500-2:  Disabilities Ombudsman 
Program 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
Aging and Adult Services 
No.  56063  (Amendment)  R510-302:  Adult Protective 
Services 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
Child Protection Ombudsman (Office of) 
No.  56066  (Repeal)  R515-1:  Processing Complaints 
Regarding the Utah Division of Child and Family Services 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
Substance Use and Mental Health 
No.  56051  (Repeal)  R523-1:  General Provisions 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
Juvenile Justice and Youth Services 
No.  55914  (Repeal and Reenact)  R547-13:  Guidelines for 
Admission to Secure Youth Detention Facilities 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/27/2024 
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Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Administration 
No.  56252  (New Rule)  R765-264:  Student Religious 
Accommodations. 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56231  (New Rule)  R765-545:  Prohibitions on and 
Disclosures of Foreign Donations to Higher Education 
Institutions 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56230  (Amendment)  R765-611:  Veterans Tuition Gap 
Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56253  (New Rule)  R765-612:  Opportunity Scholarship 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56232  (New Rule)  R765-614:  Public Safety Officer 
Career Advancement Grant Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56233  (New Rule)  R765-616:  Adult Learner Grant 
Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56239  (Amendment)  R765-620:  Access Utah Promise 
Scholarship Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56240  (Amendment)  R765-621:  Terrell H. Bell 
Education Scholarship Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56241  (New Rule)  R765-624:  Utah Promise Partner 
Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56234  (New Rule)  R765-625:  International Internship 
Scholarship Pilot Program Fund 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56235  (New Rule)  R765-627:  First Responder Mental 
Health Services Grant 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 

No.  56236  (New Rule)  R765-628:  WICHE Professional 
Student Exchange Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56251  (New Rule)  R765-1010:  Data Breaches 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  56266  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-167:  Individual, 
Small Employer, and Group Health Benefit Plan Rule 
Published:  01/15/2024 
Effective:  02/21/2024 
 
 
Natural Resources 
State Parks 
No.  56188  (Amendment)  R651-633:  Special Closures or 
Restrictions 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/15/2024 
 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  56245  (Amendment)  R657-5:  Harvest Reporting 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56246  (Amendment)  R657-38:  Dedicated Hunter 
Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56247  (Amendment)  R657-42:  Fees, Exchanges, 
Surrenders, Refunds and Reallocation of Wildlife Documents 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56248  (Amendment)  R657-43:  Landowner Permits 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
No.  56249  (Amendment)  R657-62:  Drawing Application 
Procedures 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
 
Transportation 
Motor Carrier 
No.  56223  (Amendment)  R909-1:  Safety Regulations for 
Motor Carriers 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/07/2024 
 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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