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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between February 16, 2024, 12:00 a.m., and 
March 01, 2024, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the March 15, 2024, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least April 15, 2024.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last day 
the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through July 15, 2024, the agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no 
fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days after the 
publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULE 

2 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 15, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 06 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R68-30  Filing ID:  
56334 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry 
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor2  
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Brandon Forsyth 801-
982-
2200 

bforsyth@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 801-
982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-30.  Independent Cannabis Testing Laboratory 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Changes are needed to allow medical cannabis waste to 
be used by a medical cannabis research licensee. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The changes to this rule add a definition for medical 
cannabis research license in Section R68-30-3. 
 
The rule has also been updated to add additional language 
related to the disposal of medical cannabis waste to 
Subsections R68-30-9(10) and R68-30-9(11) to allow for 
the waste to be used by a medical cannabis research 
licensee and includes labeling, testing, and sample 
retention requirements. 
 
Additional small changes have been made to make this 
rule more consistent with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah 
requirements. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated impact on the state budget 
because allowing waste to be transferred to a research 
licensee does not impact the Department of Agriculture 
and Food's (Department) management of the cannabis 
program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule does not impact local governments because they 
are not medical cannabis licensees. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change will not impact small businesses because 
the clarifications only relate to research licensees which 
are not small businesses. 
 
In Section 4-41a-901, only research universities may be 
licensed to conduct medical cannabis research.  None of 
Utah's research universities qualify as a small business. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The changes will not impact non-small businesses 
because the clarifications allowing research licensees to 
use medical cannabis waste does not impact the costs to 
participate in the medical cannabis program. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The changes will not impact other persons because the 
amendments do not change the cost to participate in the 
program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs and Department medical cannabis fees 
will not change. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 
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Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W, Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-41a-103(5) 

Subsection 
4-41a-302(3)(b)(ii) 

Subsection 
4-41a-404(3) 

Subsection 
4-41a-405(2)(b) 
(iv) 

Subsection 
4-41a-701(3) 

Subsection 
4-41a-801(1) 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 02/27/2024 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-30.  Independent Cannabis Testing Laboratory. 
R68-30-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Subsections 4-41a-103(5), 4-41a-302(3)(b)(ii), 
4-41a-404(3), 4-41a-405(2)(b)(iv), 4-41a-701(3), 4-41a-801(1), and 
4-2-103(1)(i), this rule establishes the application process, 
qualifications, and requirements to obtain and maintain an 
independent cannabis testing laboratory license. 
 
R68-30-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Applicant" means any person or business entity who 
applies for a cannabis processing facility license. 
 (2)  "Batch" means a quantity of: 
 (a)  cannabis extract produced on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which lots of 
cannabis are used; 
 (b)  cannabis product produced on a particular date and 
time, following clean up until the next clean up during which 
cannabis extract is used; or 
 (c)  cannabis flower packaged on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which lots of 
cannabis are being used. 
 (3)  "Cannabis" means any part of a marijuana plant. 
 (4)  "Cannabis cultivation facility" means a person that: 
 (a)  possesses cannabis; 
 (b)  grows or intends to grow cannabis; and 
 (c)  sells or intends to sell cannabis to a cannabis cultivation 
facility or to a cannabis processing facility. 
 (5)  "Cannabis processing facility" means a person that: 
 (a)  acquires or intends to acquire cannabis from a cannabis 
production establishment or a holder of an industrial hemp processor 
license under Title 4 Chapter 41, Hemp and Cannabinoid Act; 
 (b)  possesses cannabis with the intent to manufacture a 
cannabis product; 
 (c)  manufactures or intends to manufacture a cannabis 
product from unprocessed cannabis or a cannabis extract; and 
 (d)  sells or intends to sell a cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis pharmacy or the state central fill medical cannabis 
pharmacy. 
 (6)  "Cannabis production establishment agent registration 
card" means a registration card that the department issues that: 
 (a)  authorizes an individual to act as a cannabis production 
establishment agent; and 
 (b)  designates the type of cannabis production 
establishment for which an individual may act as an agent. 
 (7)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (8)  "Independent cannabis testing laboratory" means a 
person who: 
 (a)  conducts a chemical or other analysis of cannabis or a 
cannabis product; or 
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 (b)  acquires, possesses, and transports cannabis or a 
cannabis product with the intent to conduct a chemical or other 
analysis of the cannabis or cannabis product. 
 (9)  "Independent cannabis testing laboratory agent" means 
an individual who: 
 (a)  is an employee of an independent cannabis testing 
laboratory; and 
 (b)  holds a valid cannabis production establishment agent 
registration card. 
 (10)  "Lot" means the quantity of: 
 (a)  flower produced on a particular date and time, 
following clean up until the next clean up during which the same 
materials are used; or 
 (b)  trim, leaves, or other plant matter from cannabis plants 
produced on a particular date and time, following clean up until the 
next clean up. 
 (11)  "Medical cannabis research licensee" means a person 
who holds a license to perform academic medical cannabis research 
pursuant to Section 4-41a-901and Rule R68-35. 
 
R68-30-3.  Independent Testing Laboratory License. 
 (1)  An independent testing laboratory license allows the 
licensee to receive cannabis from a licensed cannabis cultivation 
facility to conduct testing as required by Subsection 4-41a-701(2) 
and Rule R68-29. 
 (2)  An independent testing laboratory license allows the 
licensee to receive cannabis from a licensed cannabis processing 
facility to conduct testing as required by Subsection 4-41a-701(2) 
and Rule R68-29. 
 (3)  An independent testing laboratory license allows the 
licensee to receive cannabis from a licensed cannabis cultivation 
facility and a cannabis processing facility to conduct the additional 
test as requested. 
 (4)  A complete application shall include the required fee, 
statements, forms, diagrams, operation plans, and other applicable 
documents required in the application packet to be accepted and 
processed by the department. 
 (5)  Before approving an application, the department may 
contact any applicant and request additional supporting 
documentation or information. 
 (6)  Before issuing a license, the department shall inspect 
the proposed premises to determine if the applicant complies with 
state laws and rules. 
 (7)  The department may conduct face-to-face interviews 
with an applicant if needed to determine the best-qualified applicant 
for the number of licenses needed. 
 (8)  The license shall expire 12 months from the date on 
which the license is issued. 
 (9)  An application for renewals shall be submitted to the 
department no later than 30 days before the license expiration date. 
 (10)  If the renewal application is not submitted 30 days 
before the expiration date the licensee may not continue to operate. 
 (11)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory license is 
not transferable or assignable.  If the ownership of an independent 
cannabis testing laboratory changes by 50% or more, the 
requirements of Subsection 4-41a-201(15) shall be followed. 
 
R68-30-4.  Independent Cannabis Testing Laboratory 
Requirements. 
 (1)  An independent testing laboratory shall employ a 
scientific director responsible for: 

 (a)  ensuring that the laboratory achievement and 
maintenance of quality standards of practice; and 
 (b)  supervising laboratory staff. 
 (2)  The scientific director for an independent laboratory 
shall have: 
 (a)  a doctorate in chemical or biological sciences from an 
accredited college or university and have at least 2 years of post-
degree laboratory experience; 
 (b)  a master's degree in chemical or biological sciences 
from an accredited college or university and have at least 4 years of 
post-degree laboratory experience; or 
 (c)  a bachelor's degree in chemical or biological sciences 
from an accredited college or university and have at least 6 years of 
post-degree laboratory experience. 
 (3)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
follow validated analytical methods, such as those published by the 
Association of Official Agricultural Chemists (AOAC), American 
Herbal Pharmacopoeia, EPA, FDA, or other reputable scientific 
organizations or notify the department of alternative scientifically 
valid testing methodology the lab is following for each required test. 
 (4)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory may not 
use an alternative testing method without earlier review from the 
department. 
 (5)  The department shall review any monograph or 
analytical method followed by an independent cannabis testing 
laboratory to ensure the methodology produces scientifically 
accurate results before the use of alternative testing methods to 
conduct the required tests. 
 (6)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
establish written standard operating procedures for each test being 
conducted. 
 (7)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
maintain an average testing turnaround time below ten business days 
within any three- month period. 
 (8)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall obtain 
and keep the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 
17025:2017 accreditation. 
 (9)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory may be 
licensed before ISO 17025:2017 accreditation provided the 
independent cannabis testing laboratory: 
 (a)  adopt and follow minimum good laboratory practices 
which satisfy the OECD Principles of Good Laboratory Practice and 
Compliance Monitoring published by the Organization for Economic 
Co-operation and Development; and 
 (b)  becomes ISO 17025:2017 accredited within 24 months. 
 (10)  The department incorporates the following materials 
by reference: 
 (a)  Cannabis Inflorescence: Standards of Identity, 
Analysis, and Quality Control (2014 Revisions) published by the 
American Herbal Pharmacopoeia; and 
 (b)  OECD Principles of Good Laboratory Practice and 
Compliance Monitoring (1997) published by the Organization for 
Economic Co-operation and Development. 
 (11)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall have 
written emergency procedures to be followed in case of: 
 (a)  fire; 
 (b)  chemical spill; or 
 (c)  other emergencies at the laboratory. 
 (12)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
compartmentalize each area in the facility based on function and shall 
limit access to the compartments to the appropriate authorized agents. 
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R68-30-5.  Security Requirements. 
 (1)  At a minimum, a licensed independent cannabis testing 
laboratory shall have a security alarm system on each perimeter entry 
point and perimeter window. 
 (2)  At a minimum, a licensed independent cannabis testing 
laboratory shall have complete video surveillance system: 
 (a)  with minimum camera resolution of 640 x 470 pixels 
or pixel equivalent for analog; and 
 (b)  that retains footage for at least 45 days[;]. 
 (3)  Cameras shall: 
 (a)  be fixed and placement shall allow for the clear and 
certain identification of any person and activities in controlled areas; 
and 
 (b)  record continuously. 
 (4)  Controlled areas included: 
 (a)  entrances and exits; 
 (b)  any areas where cannabis or cannabis products are 
stored; 
 (c)  any areas where cannabis or cannabis products are 
being tested; and 
 (d)  any areas where cannabis waste is being moved, 
processed, stored, or destroyed. 
 (5)  If an independent cannabis testing facility stores 
footage locally, the surveillance system storage device shall be 
secured in the facility in a lockbox, cabinet, closet, or secured in 
another manner to protect from employee tampering or criminal theft. 
 (6)  If an independent cannabis testing laboratory stores 
footage on a remote server, access shall be restricted to protect from 
employee tampering. 
 (7)  Any entry point [must]shall be lighted in low-light 
conditions sufficient to record activity occurring. 
 (8)  Any visitors to an independent cannabis testing 
laboratory shall be required to have a properly displayed 
identification badge issued by the facility at all times while on the 
premises of the facility. 
 (9)  Any visitors shall be escorted by an independent 
cannabis facility agent at all times while in the facility. 
 (10)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall keep 
and maintain a visitor's log showing: 
 (a)  the full name of each visitor entering the facility; 
 (b)  the badge number issued; 
 (c)  the time of arrival; 
 (d)  the time of departure; and 
 (e)  the purpose of the visit. 
 (11)  The independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
keep the visitors log for a minimum of a year. 
 (12)  The independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
make the visitor log available to the department upon request. 
 
R68-30-6.  Inventory Control. 
 (1)  Each test sample shall have a unique identification 
number in the inventory control system. 
 (2)  Each test sample shall be traceable to the lot or batch 
used as the base material from the cannabis production establishment. 
 (3)  Unique identification numbers may not be reused. 
 (4)  Each test sample that has been issued a unique 
identification number shall have a physical tag placed on it with: 
 (a)  the unique identification number; 
 (b)  the license number and name of the lab receiving the 
test sample; 
 (c)  the license number and name of the cannabis 
production establishment name; 

 (d)  the date the test sample was collected; and 
 (e)  the weight of the sample. 
 (5)  The tag shall be legible and placed in a position that 
can be clearly read and shall be kept free from dirt and debris. 
 (6)  The following shall be reconciled in the inventory 
control system at the close of business each day: 
 (a)  the date and time the test sample was received; 
 (b)  each sample used for testing and the test results; 
 (c)  the identity of the agent conducting the test; 
 (d)  a complete inventory of cannabis test samples; 
 (e)  the weight and disposal of cannabis waste materials; 
 (f)  the identity of who disposed of the cannabis waste; and 
 (g)  the theft or loss or suspected theft or loss of test sample. 
 (7)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
document in the inventory tracking system any test samples received, 
and any difference between the quantity specified in the transport and 
quantities received. 
 
R68-30-7.  Independent Cannabis Testing Laboratory Agents. 
 (1)  A prospective independent cannabis testing laboratory 
agent shall apply to the department for a cannabis testing laboratory 
agent registration card on a form provided by the department. 
 (2)  An application is not considered complete until the 
background check has been completed, the [the ]registration fee has 
been paid, and the prospective agent has submitted the required 
training certificate. 
 (3)  The cannabis establishment agent registration card 
shall contain: 
 (a)  the agent's full name; 
 (b)  identifying information; and 
 (c)  a photograph of the agent. 
 (4)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory is 
responsible to ensure that each agent has received any task-specific 
training as outlined in the operating plan submitted to the department. 
 (5)  An independent cannabis testing agent shall have a 
properly displayed identification badge which has been issued by the 
department while on the facility premises or while engaged in the 
transportation of cannabis. 
 (6)  Cannabis testing laboratory agents shall have their 
state-issued identification card in their possession to certify the 
information on their badge is correct. 
 (7)  Each cannabis testing laboratory shall maintain a list of 
each employee that holds a cannabis testing laboratory agent 
registration card and provide the list to the department upon request. 
 
R68-30-8.  Transportation. 
 (1)  A printed transport manifest shall accompany every 
transport of cannabis. 
 (2)  The manifest shall contain the following information: 
 (a)  the cannabis production establishment address and 
license number of the departure location; 
 (b)  physical address and license number of the receiving 
location; 
 (c)  strain name, quantities by weight, and unique 
identification numbers of each cannabis material to be transported; 
 (d)  date and time of departure; 
 (e)  estimated date and time of arrival; and 
 (f)  name and signature of each agent accompanying the 
cannabis. 
 (3)  The transport manifest may not be voided or changed 
after departing from the original cannabis production establishment. 
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 (4)  A copy of the transport manifest shall be given to the 
independent laboratory. 
 (5)  The receiving independent laboratory shall ensure that 
the cannabis material received is as described in the transport 
manifest and shall record the amounts received for each strain into 
the inventory control system. 
 (6)  The receiving independent laboratory shall document 
at the time of receipt any differences between the quantity specified 
in the transport manifest and the quantities received in the inventory 
control system. 
 (7)  During transport an independent cannabis testing 
laboratory agent shall ensure the cannabis is: 
 (a)  shielded from the public view; 
 (b)  secured; and 
 (c)  temperature controlled if perishable. 
 (8)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
contact the department within 24 hours if a vehicle transporting 
cannabis is involved in an accident that involves product loss. 
 (9)  Only the registered agents of the independent cannabis 
testing laboratory may occupy a transporting vehicle. 
 
R68-30-9.  Cannabis Waste Disposal. 
 (1)  Solid and liquid wastes generated during cannabis 
testing shall be stored, managed, and disposed of in accordance with 
applicable state law. 
 (2)  Waste water generated during cannabis testing shall be 
disposed of in compliance with applicable state law. 
 (3)  Cannabis waste generated from the cannabis plant, 
trim, and leaves are not considered hazardous waste unless it has been 
treated or contaminated with a solvent, or pesticide. 
 (4)  Cannabis waste shall be made unusable before leaving 
the independent cannabis testing laboratory, except as provided for in 
Subsection R68-30-9(10) and Subsection R68-30-9(11). 
 (5)  Cannabis waste, which is not designated as hazardous, 
shall be made unusable by grinding and incorporating the cannabis 
waste with other ground materials so the resulting mixture is at least 
50% non-cannabis waste by volume or other methods approved by 
the department before implementation. 
 (6)  Materials used to grind and incorporate with cannabis 
fall into two categories: 
 (a)  compostable; or 
 (b)  non-compostable. 
 (7)  Compostable waste is cannabis waste to be disposed of 
as compost or in another organic waste method mixed with: 
 (a)  food waste; 
 (b)  yard waste; or 
 (c)  vegetable-based grease or oils. 
 (8)  Non-compostable waste is cannabis waste to be 
disposed of in a landfill or another disposal method, such as 
incineration, mixed with: 
 (a)  paper waste; 
 (b)  cardboard waste; 
 (c)  plastic waste; or 
 (d)  soil. 
 (9)  Cannabis waste includes: 
 (a)  cannabis plant waste including roots, stalks, leaves, and 
stems; 
 (b)  excess cannabis or cannabis products from any quality 
assurance testing; 
 (c)  cannabis or cannabis products that fail to meet testing 
requirements; and 
 (d)  cannabis or cannabis products subject to a recall. 

 (10)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory may 
transfer cannabis waste material to a cannabis testing laboratory 
operated by the department for use by a medical cannabis research 
licensee if: 
 (a)  the laboratory operated by the department agrees to 
accept the material; 
 (b)  the licensee that submitted the material to the 
laboratory for testing allows the use of their material for medical 
cannabis research; 
 (c)  the material passed all required tests or is clearly 
labeled "not for human consumption" and is accompanied by a list of 
known contaminants; and 
 (d)  the material has met the sample retention requirements 
of the laboratory. 
 (11)  The cannabis testing laboratory operated by the 
department may transfer any cannabis waste material to a medical 
cannabis research licensee  if: 
 (a)  the licensee that submitted the material to the 
laboratory for testing agrees to the use of their material for medical 
cannabis research; 
 (b)  the material passed all required tests or is clearly 
labeled "not for human consumption" and is accompanied by a list of 
known contaminants; and 
 (c)  the material has met the sample retention requirements 
of the laboratory. 
 
R68-30-10.  Change in Operation Plans. 
 (1)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
submit a notice, on a form provided by the department, before making 
any changes to: 
 (a)  ownership or financial backing of the facility; 
 (b)  the facility's name; 
 (c)  a change in location; 
 (d)  change in testing methods, equipment, remodeling, 
expansion, reduction or physical, non-cosmetic alteration of the lab; 
or 
 (e)  change in written operating procedures. 
 (2)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory may not 
implement changes to the approved operation plan without 
department approval. 
 (3)  The department shall approve of requested changes 
unless approval would lead to a violation of the applicable laws and 
rules of the state. 
 (4)  The department shall specify the reason for the denial 
of approval for a change to the operation plan. 
 
R68-30-11.  Renewals. 
 (1)  An independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
submit a notice of intent to renew and the licensing fee to the 
department by their license expiration date. 
 (2)  If the licensing fee and intent to renew are not 
submitted on or before the expiration date, the licensee may not 
continue to operate. 
 (3)  The department shall renew a license unless renewal 
would lead to a violation of the applicable laws and rules of the state. 
 
R68-30-12.  Proficiency Testing. 
 (1)  The department shall establish a proficiency testing 
program for independent cannabis testing laboratories. 
 (2)  Each independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
participate in the designated proficiency testing program with 
satisfactory performance as determined by the Department. 
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R68-30-13.  Violation Categories. 
 (1)  Public Safety Violations: $3,000- $5,000 per violation.  
This category is for violations which present a direct threat to public 
health or safety including: 
 (a)  cannabis sold to an unlicensed source; 
 (b)  cannabis purchased from an unlicensed source; 
 (c)  refusal to allow inspection; 
 (d)  refusal to participate in proficiency testing; 
 (e)  failure to comply with testing requirements; 
 (f)  failure to report testing results; 
 (g)  unauthorized personnel on the premises; 
 (h)  permitting criminal conduct on the premises; 
 (i)  engaging in or permitting a violation of the Title 4, 
Chapter 41a, Cannabis Production Establishments, that amounts to a 
public safety violation as described in this subsection. 
 (2)  Regulatory Violations: $1,000-$5,000 per violation.  
This category is for violations involving this rule and other applicable 
state rules including: 
 (a)  failure to maintain alarm and security systems; 
 (b)  failure to keep and maintain records for at least two 
years; 
 (c)  failure to maintain traceability; 
 (d)  failure to follow transportation requirements; 
 (e)  failure to follow the waste and disposal requirements; 
or 
 (f)  engaging in or permitting a violation of Title 4, Chapter 
41a, Cannabis Production Establishments or this rule that amounts to 
a regulatory violation as described in this subsection. 
 (3)  Licensing Violations: $500- $5,000 per violation. This 
category is for violations involving licensing requirements including: 
 (a)  an unauthorized change to the operating plan; 
 (b)  failure to notify the department of changes to the 
operating plan; 
 (c)  failure to notify the department of changes to financial 
or voting interests of greater than 2%; 
 (d)  failure to follow the operating plan as approved by the 
department; 
 (e)  engaging in or permitting a violation of this rule or Title 
4, Chapter 41, Cannabis Production Establishments, that amounts to 
a licensing violation as described in this subsection; or 
 (f)  failure to respond to violations. 
 (4)  The department shall calculate penalties based on the 
level of violation and the adverse effect or potential adverse effect at 
the time of the incidents giving rise to the violation. 
 
KEY:  cannabis laboratory, cannabis testing 
Date of Last Change:  [June 22, 2023]2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41a-
701(3); 4-41a-404(3); 4-41a-405(2)(b)(iv); 4-41a-103(5) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R123-6 Filing ID:  
56331 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Auditor 
Agency: Administration 

Room number: E310 
Building: Utah State Capitol Complex, East  

Building 
Street address: 350 N State St 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mandy Teerlink 801-

538-
1363 

mteerlink@gmail.com 

Seth Oveson 435-
572-
0440 

soveson@gmail.com 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R123-6.  Allocation of Money in the Property Tax Valuation 
Fund 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this filing is to improve the accurate 
valuation and uniform assessment levels of property in 
receiving counties in accordance with Section 59-2-1603. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This change adds requirements for receiving counties to 
provide GIS parcel data, as well as assessment roll data 
to improve compliance with the statutory requirement of 
mass appraisals described in Section 59-2-303.1. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
No fiscal impact to the state budget.  No state funds are 
used by this program. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Only counties are involved in this program. 
 
This rule change will disqualify counties from receiving a 
disbursement from the multicounty assessing and 
collecting levy unless they meet the requirements to 
provide mass appraisal and GIS information to the state 
on an annual basis. 
 
Revenues equal disbursements, resulting in an aggregate 
$0 net fiscal impact.  No other local governments are 
involved in this program. 
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C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed rule change will not have a fiscal impact on 
small businesses. 
 
This rule only applies to counties because they are tasked 
with collecting taxes for all taxing entities.  This rule 
change does not increase or decrease the levy amount 
paid by taxpayers. 
 
The changes to this rule establish requirements for 
counties that would like to qualify to receive a portion of 
the multi-county levy. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule change will not have a fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses. 
 
This rule only applies to counties because they are tasked 
with collecting taxes for all taxing entities.  This rule 
change does not increase or decrease the levy amount 
paid by taxpayers. 
 
The changes to this rule establish requirements for 
counties that would like to qualify to receive a portion of 
the multi-county levy 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No fiscal impact. 
 
This change has no impact on the associated statutorily-
imposed tax levy.  This rule only applies to counties 
because they are tasked with collecting taxes for all taxing 
entities. 
 
This rule change does not increase or decrease the levy 
amount paid by taxpayers. 
 
The changes to the rule establish requirements for 
counties that would like to qualify to receive a portion of 
the multi-county levy. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
No fiscal impact. 
 
This change has no impact on the associated statutorily-
imposed tax levy.  This rule only applies to counties 
because they are tasked with collecting taxes for all taxing 
entities. 
 
This rule change does not increase or decrease the levy 
amount paid by taxpayers. 

The changes to the rule establish requirements for 
counties that would like to qualify to receive a portion of 
the multi-county levy. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The State Auditor of the Office of the State Auditor, John 
Dougall, has reviewed and approved this regulatory 
impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
59-2-303.1 
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Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Seth Oveson,  
Local 
Government 
Manager 

Date: 02/21/2024 

 
R123.  Auditor, Administration. 
R123-6.  Allocation of Money in the Property Tax Valuation 
Agency Fund. 
R123-6-1.  Authority. 
 As required by Section 59-2-1603, this rule provides the 
formula for disbursing monies from the property tax valuation 
agency fund. 
 
R123-6-2.  Definitions. 
 1.  "Combined levy" means the sum of the local levy and 
the multi-county levy. 
 2.  "Local levy" means a property tax levied in accordance 
with [Utah Code]Subsection 59-2-1602(4). 
 3.  "Multi-county levy" means a property tax levied in 
accordance with [Utah Code]Subsection 59-2-1602(2). 
 4.  "Fund" means the Property Tax Valuation Agency Fund 
created in [Utah Code]Section 59-2-1602. 
 5.  "Office" means the Office of the State Auditor. 
 6.  "GIS parcel data" means the information specified in 
Subsection 63A-16-505(3)(b)(vi) for the statewide parcel layer in the 
State Geographic Information Database. 
 7.  "UGRC" means the Utah Geospatial Resource Center 
created in Section 63A-16-505. 
 
R123-6-3.  Disbursements. 
 1.  To receive disbursements from the Fund, a county shall: 
 a.  Annually submit to UGRC, no later than December 31, 
its most recent GIS parcel data used for the property assessment for 
the current calendar year; 
 b.  Provide the requested intermediate assessment book 
data conforming to the Assessor Data Request List for evaluation of 
the county's mass appraisal system by June 9 of each year; and 
 c.  Comply with the statutory requirement of mass appraisal 
and in-depth review described in Section 59-2-303.1. 
 [1]2.  Subject to Subsection ([2]3), the disbursement to 
eligible counties of monies held in the [f]Fund shall be determined 
based on the following: 

 a.  Sixth class counties whose respective combined levy 
exceeds the mean of the combined levies of all counties shall receive 
an amount from the [f]Fund equal to 80% of the amount calculated 
when multiplying the county's Proposed Tax Rate Value, as 
calculated by Utah State Tax Commission, by the portion of their 
combined rate that exceeds the mean rate;[ and] 
 b.  Fifth class counties whose respective combined levy 
exceeds the mean of the combined levies of all counties shall receive 
an amount from the [f]Fund equal to 50% of the amount calculated 
when multiplying the county's Proposed Tax Rate Value, as 
calculated by Utah State Tax Commission, by the portion of their 
combined rate that exceeds the mean rate;[ and] 
 c.  Fourth class counties whose respective combined levy 
exceeds the mean of the combined levies of all counties shall receive 
an amount from the [f]Fund equal to 20% of the amount calculated 
when multiplying the county's Proposed Tax Rate Value, as 
calculated by Utah State Tax Commission, by the portion of their 
combined rate that exceeds the mean rate but not to exceed 
0.000100[.]; and 
 d.  a sixth class county shall not receive less than $20,750 
annually from the [f]Fund. 
 [2]3.  If available monies held in the [f]Fund are not 
sufficient to cover amounts calculated in Subsection ([1]2): 
 a.  Full distributions shall be made to sixth class counties;[ 
and] 
 b.  Distributions to fourth and fifth class counties shall be 
reduced on a pro-rata basis based on monies available after the 
distributions in Subsection ([2]3)(a)[.]; and 
 c.  Notwithstanding Subsection ([2]3)(b), fourth and fifth 
class counties who have received previous distributions shall receive 
distributions which minimize reductions compared to previous year 
distributions. 
 [3]4.  If available monies held in the [f]Fund exceed 
amounts calculated in Subsection ([1]2), distributions shall be 
increased on a pro-rata basis. 
 [4]5.  The Office shall authorize these disbursements on an 
annual basis. 
 
KEY:  counties, property tax 
Date of Last Change:  [February 18, 2022]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  October 28, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  59-2-1603 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R156-1 Filing ID:  
56322 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Professional Licensing 
Building: Heber M Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2316 
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Mailing address: PO Box 146741 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Deborah 
Blackburn 

801-
530-
6628 

deborahblackburn@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-1.  General Rule of the Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Division of Professional Licensing (Division) is filing 
these proposed amendments to clarify and update this rule 
and implement statutory changes and remove barriers to 
licensure in accordance with S.B. 36 passed in the 2023 
General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
Section R156-1-102: Updates the definition of "cheating" 
for Division exams and provides that "home telephone 
number" in Subsection 58-1-106(3) includes a licensee's 
personal cell phone number, and the new Section R156-1-
102b clarifies that a word formed by derivation from a 
defined word is subject to the definition's restrictions on 
use. 
 
Section R156-1-106: Updates and clarifies procedures for 
persons requesting a licensee list from the Division under 
Section 58-1-106, including requiring opt-out provisions for 
licensees who receive communications, and cessation of 
use of licensee information upon notice from the Division; 
clarifies that the Division may deny a request if the 
requester failed to comply with terms of a previous 
application, and may distribute a list to a Utah nonprofit 
voluntary professional membership association of 
individuals licensed by the Division for purposes that may 
include advertising or soliciting association membership, 
and to a local health department for public health 
emergency or public health concern purposes. 
 
Section R156-1-109:  Requires each program contract for 
entry and participation in UPHP to include the written 
concurrence of the Division's director; and substitutes the 
bureau manager for the Construction Services 
Commission (CSC) as the presiding officer to conduct 
dismissal of a disciplinary proceeding for a contractor, 
plumber, electrician, or alarm company based upon the 
respondent's documented compliance. 
 

Section R156-1-109a: S.B. 36 (2023) amended Section 
58-1-109 to provide that boards of seven or more 
members may split into panels to serve as the fact-finding 
presiding officer in cases.  This new section provides 
procedures for the director's designation of board panel 
members and for a petition to review a panel's 
recommended order. 
 
Section R156-1-110.  Clarifies that a request for a 
subpoena and a finding by the investigative subpoena 
authority is part of the investigative case file and is 
evidence obtained as a part of an investigation before that 
evidence is presented in an administrative action or 
criminal action (i.e., protected under GRAMA).  Also 
requires each investigative subpoena to include a 
declaration of custodian of records form. 
 
Section R156-1-301: S.B. 36 (2023) amended Subsection 
58-1-301(1) to allow the Division to accept by rule "other 
satisfactory evidence" of an applicant's identity in lieu of a 
social security number.  This amendment provides that 
other satisfactory evidence of an applicant's identity is: 
a) an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN); 
b) an Alien Registration Number (A-number); or 
c) for an applicant who has never been issued a social 
security number, ITIN, or A-number: 
i) an unexpired government-issued passport from the 
applicant's country of residence; and 
ii) an intent-to-hire letter from a Utah-based employer. 
Note: this amendment does NOT delete or change in any 
way the requirement for the Division to verify an applicant's 
lawful presence in the U.S. (see Section 63G-12-402). 
 
Section R156-1-302.  Clarifies that under Subsection 58-
1-302(2) or (3), an applicant with one year of experience 
practicing under a license in the other jurisdiction is not 
required to have the license currently active, and that the 
Division may consider the time that has elapsed since an 
applicant's licensed or lawful practice in an evaluation of 
the applicant's experience under Subsection 58-1-302(3), 
and that unless expressly exempted in statute or rule the 
Division may require an applicant under Section 58-1-302 
to pass one or more of the exams required to obtain 
licensure in the profession, such as a business and law 
exam, jurisprudence exam, or professional exam. 
 
The new Section R156-1-309 establishes and updates the 
Division's standards and procedures for the administration 
of Division exams. and incorporation of reference of the 
Division of Professional Licensing Exam Policies and 
Procedures dated December 29, 2023. 
 
Section R156-1-401 is renumbered from Section R156-1-
302 and formatting changes are made throughout. 
 
The only substantive updates clarify that the Division may 
consider as factors relevant to a licensing decision the 
current administrative status of the applicant or licensee or 
results from actions taken by other agencies, employers, 
etc. for any regulated profession (not just the same 
profession). 
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Section R156-1-501: Updates and clarifies the definition of 
"unprofessional conduct" to provide that unprofessional 
conduct includes: 
1) surrendering licensure to an authority having jurisdiction 
over a licensee/applicant in any regulated profession (not 
just the same profession) while an investigation is in 
progress or after a charging document has been filed; 
2) engaging in conduct that results in disciplinary action in 
any profession, if the conduct: 
a) when considered with the functions and duties of 
profession bears a substantial relationship to the 
licensee's/applicant's ability to safely or competently 
practice the profession; or 
b) would in Utah constitute grounds for denial of licensure 
or disciplinary proceedings under Section 58-1-401; 
3) prohibiting or inhibiting the ability of a licensee's 
customer, patient, or other consumer of the licensee's 
goods or services from making a complaint to a licensing 
or regulatory authority, including through the use of a 
contract provision; 
4) engaging in cheating or otherwise violating Section 
R156-1-309 regarding Division exams; and 
5) as an exam candidate or as an exam proctor, grader, or 
administrator, failing to comply with the Division of 
Professional Licensing Exam Policies and Procedures 
dated December 29, 2023. 
 
The amendments also update the definition of 
unprofessional conduct for practicing a profession through 
a business structure with words improperly omitted in its 
name. 
 
Section R156-1-502:  Eliminates as unnecessary the 
outdated mid-range fine schedule because Section 58-1-
502 already covers these fine amounts. 
 
 
Public hearing information: 
A public hearing will be held on 03/27/2024 at 9:00 AM at 
the Heber M Wells Building, 160 E 300 S in Conference 
Room 475, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
It is also available via Google Meet.  Google Meet Meeting 
link: 
meet.google.com/jmp-sesj-him 
 
Or join by phone: 
(US) +1 478-308-5597 
PIN: 768409146 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Division does not expect the proposed amendments 
to result in any impact to the state budget as the proposed 
amendments simply implement statutory changes, 
streamline and update this rule in accordance with 
Executive Order No. 2021-12, and update and clarify 

standards regarding Division administration of Title 58, 
and will not affect state practices or procedures or impose 
additional cost or savings beyond what was anticipated 
during the legislative process. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

No impact is expected to local governments because 
these changes will not affect local government practices or 
procedures. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed amendments to Section R156-1-301 that 
will allow the Division to accept the listed evidence of an 
applicant for licensure's identity in lieu of a social security 
number may indirectly benefit small businesses in Utah 
comprising establishments employing these licensees as 
the amendments may facilitate the ability of these 
businesses to hire qualified licensees. 
 
However, the full fiscal and non-fiscal impact cannot be 
estimated because the data necessary to determine how 
many such licensees might be hired is unavailable, and 
because the benefits that a small business may 
experience from any resulting increased ability to employ 
qualified licensees will vary widely depending on the 
requirements of the small business and the individual 
characteristics of each employee. 
 
The Division does not expect the remainder of the 
proposed amendments to result in any impact to small 
business as they merely streamline and update the rule in 
accordance with Executive Order No. 2021-12, or 
implement statutory changes made by S.B. 36 (2023) and 
not affect small business practices or procedures or 
impose additional costs or savings beyond what was 
anticipated during the legislative process. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed amendments to Section R156-1-301 that 
will allow the Division to accept the listed evidence of an 
applicant for licensure's identity in lieu of a social security 
number may indirectly benefit non-small businesses in 
Utah comprising establishments employing these 
licensees as the amendments may facilitate the ability of 
these businesses to hire qualified licensees. 
 
However, the full fiscal and non-fiscal impact cannot be 
estimated because the data necessary to determine how 
many such licensees might be hired is unavailable, and 
because the benefits that a non-small business may 
experience from any resulting increased ability to employ 
qualified licensees will vary widely depending on the 
requirements of the non-small business and the individual 
characteristics of each employee. 
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The Division does not expect the remainder of the 
proposed amendments to result in any impact to non-small 
business as they merely streamline and update this rule in 
accordance with Executive Order No. 2021-12, or 
implement statutory changes made by S.B. 36 (2023) and 
will not affect non-small business practices or procedures 
or impose additional costs or savings beyond what was 
anticipated during the legislative process. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed amendments to Section R156-1-301 are 
expected to remove barriers to licensure for some 
applicants for licensure who do not possess a social 
security number, by allowing them the option of submitting 
alternative evidence of their identity.  Please Note: These 
amendments do NOT delete or change in any way the 
requirement for the Division to verify an applicant's lawful 
presence in the U.S. -- see Section 63G-12-402. 
 
However, the full fiscal and non-fiscal impact to these 
individuals cannot be estimated because the data 
necessary to determine how many of these individuals 
might be able to obtain licensure and then become hired 
is unavailable, and the benefits that each may experience 
from any resulting increased ability to become employed 
will vary depending on the employer and the individual 
characteristics of each licensee. 
 
The proposed amendments to Sections R156-1-401 and 
R156-1-501 updating and clarifying the definitions of 
"unprofessional conduct" may affect Division licensees or 
applicants who have engaged in the defined 
unprofessional conduct, but no measurable fiscal impact 
to these persons is expected.  Although a licensee or 
applicant who is in violation may experience a fiscal 
impact, it is impossible to estimate what those costs might 
be with any accuracy at present, both because they would 
apply only in cases of unforeseeable violations, and 
because any potential costs would depend on the unique 
characteristics and actions of each individual licensee or 
applicant.  This relevant data is unavailable and the cost 
of acquiring any such data is prohibitively expensive. 
 
Further, the goal of this rule is to provide a deterrent so 
that there is a $0 net impact on all parties involved and 
minimal occasions for noncompliance, therefore for the 
typical licensee the amendments are expected to have no 
direct or indirect fiscal impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As described in Box 5E for other persons, the Division 
does not anticipate any compliance costs for any affected 
persons from these proposed amendments. 
 

G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this fiscal 
analysis. 
 
The Division, in concert with the Department of 
Commerce, Division's Act regarding general provisions 
relating to the Division.  These proposed amendments 
clarify and update this rule and implement statutory 
changes and remove barriers to licensure passed by S.B. 
36 (2023). 
 
These proposed amendments clarify definitions that apply 
to all licensees, update and clarify general procedures as 
it relates to the Division, and to remove barriers to 
licensure, including proof of identity and experience. 
 
This rule has also been updated and renumbered, where 
appropriate. 
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Further, this rule should comport with the Rulewriting 
Manual for Utah. 
 
Small Businesses - less than 50 employees:  The 
Division does not expect any foreseeable impact on small 
businesses and expects that the changes to prove identity 
may indirectly benefit small businesses and their 
licensees.  The full fiscal and non-fiscal impacts cannot be 
estimated because the data is unavailable at this time.  
The Division does not expect the remainder of the 
proposed amendments to result in any impact to small 
businesses because they merely streamline and update 
this rule in accordance with Executive Order No,. 2021-12 
or implement statutory changes made by S.B. 36 (2023). 
 
Regulatory Impact to Non-small Businesses - 50 or 
more employees:  There is no fiscal or non-fiscal impact 
to non-small businesses, as described in the description 
for small businesses listed above.  The amendments will 
have no expected fiscal impact for non-small businesses 
in Utah for the same rationale as described above for small 
businesses.  These costs are either inestimable, for the 
reasons stated above, or there is no fiscal impact. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
58-1-106(1)(a) 

Section 58-1-308 Subsection 
58-1-501(2) 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Division of Professional Licensing  
Exam Policies and Procedures 

Publisher Division of Professional Licensing  

Issue Date December 29, 2023 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/15/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical 

address or URL): 
03/27/2024 9:00 AM See information in 

Box 4 above. 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel,  
Division Director 

Date: 02/13/2024 

 
R156.  Commerce, [Occupational and ]Professional Licensing. 
R156-1.  General Rule of the Division of [Occupational and 
]Professional Licensing. 
R156-1-101.  Title - Authority - Organization of Rules. 
 (1)  This rule is known as the "General Rule of the Division 
of [Occupational and ]Professional Licensing." 
 (2)  The Division adopts this rule under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer Title 
58, Occupations and Professions. 
 (3)(a)  The rules and sections in Title R156 shall, to the 
extent practicable, follow the numbering and organization of the 
chapters in Title 58, Occupations and Professions. 
 (b)  This Rule R156-1 has general provisions for the 
administration and enforcement of professions regulated in Title 58, 
Occupations and Professions. 
 (c)  Rule R156-46b is the Division's Utah Administrative 
Procedures Act Rule for Division adjudicative proceedings. 
 (d)  The other rules in Title R156 have specific or unique 
provisions for specific Division professions or programs, which may 
supplement or alter Rule R156-1 unless expressly provided otherwise 
in Rule R156-1. 
 
R156-1-102.  Definitions. 
 [In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Occupations and 
Professions, as used in Title 58, Occupations or Professions or in this 
Title R156, Occupational and Professional Licensing, the following 
rule definitions supplement the statutory definitions]Terms used in 
this rule are defined in Title 58, Chapter 1, Division of Professional 
Licensing Act.  In addition: 
 (1)(a)  "Active and in good standing" means a licensure 
status that allows the licensee full privileges to engage in the practice 
of the [occupation or ]profession subject to the scope of the licensee's 
license classification. 
 (b)  A license that has been placed on probation subject to 
terms and conditions is not active and in good standing. 
 (2)(a)  "Aggravating circumstances" means any 
consideration or factors that may justify an increase in the severity of 
an action to be imposed upon an applicant or licensee. 
 (b)  "Aggravating circumstances" include the following: 
 ([a]i)  prior record of disciplinary action, unlawful conduct, 
or unprofessional conduct; 
 ([b]ii)  dishonest or selfish motive; 
 ([c]iii)  pattern of misconduct; 
 ([d]iv)  multiple offenses; 
 ([e]v)  obstruction of the disciplinary process by 
intentionally failing to comply with rules or orders of the Division; 
 ([f]vi)  submission of false evidence, false statements, or 
engaging in [or ]other deceptive practices, [during the disciplinary 
process ]including creating, destroying, or altering records[ after an 
investigation has begun]; 
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 ([g]vii)  refusal to acknowledge the wrongful nature of the 
misconduct involved, either to the client or to the Division; 
 ([h]viii)  vulnerability of the victim; 
 ([i]ix)  lack of good faith to make restitution or to rectify 
the consequences of the misconduct[ involved]; 
 ([j]x)  illegal conduct, including the use of controlled 
substances; [and]or 
 ([k]xi)  intimidation or threats of withholding client[s'] 
records or other detrimental consequences if the client reports or 
testifies regarding the unprofessional or unlawful conduct. 
 (3)  "Cancel" or "cancellation" means nondisciplinary 
action by the Division to rescind, repeal, annul, or void a license: 
 (a)  issued to a licensee in error, such as where a license is 
issued to an applicant: 
 (i)  whose payment of the required application fee is 
dishonored when presented for payment; 
 (ii)  who has been issued a conditional license pending a 
criminal background check and the check cannot be completed due 
to the applicant's failure to resolve an outstanding warrant or to 
submit acceptable fingerprint cards; or 
 (iii)  who has been issued the wrong classification of 
licensure; or[ 
 (iv)  due to any other error in issuing a license; or] 
 (b)  not issued [erroneously]in error, but [where 
subsequently ]the licensee fails to maintain the ongoing 
qualifications for licensure[, when such] and the failure is not 
[otherwise ]defined as unprofessional conduct or unlawful conduct. 
 (4)  "Charges" means the acts or omissions alleged to 
constitute either unprofessional or unlawful conduct or both by a 
licensee, that serve as the basis to consider a licensee for inclusion in 
the Utah Professionals Health Program authorized in Title 58, 
Chapter 4a, Utah Professionals Health Program. 
 (5)(a)  "Cheating" means the use of any means or 
instrumentality by or for the benefit of a candidate to alter exam 
results to inaccurately represent the competency of a candidate with 
respect to the knowledge or skills about which the candidate is 
examined. 
 (b)  "Cheating" includes: 
 (i)  for a candidate during an exam: 
 (A)  communication about the exam with another candidate 
inside the exam room or facility; 
 (B)  communication about the exam with anyone outside of 
the exam room or facility; 
 (C)  copying or looking at another candidate's answers; 
 (D)  allowing another candidate to copy or look at the 
candidate's answers; 
 (E)  use of any item, material, or device that is not 
specifically authorized for use in the exam; or 
 (F)  unauthorized tampering with exam equipment or 
materials; 
 (ii)  allowing access to exam questions or answers if not 
authorized by the Division; 
 (iii)  taking or attempting to take an exam for another 
individual; 
 (iv)  obtaining, using, disclosing, buying, selling, 
possessing, or having access to any part of a Division exam without 
written authorization from the Division or its contracted vendor; 
 (v)  violating an exam confidentiality agreement; or 
 (vi)  attesting that the candidate meets the qualifications to 
sit for an exam if the candidate knows or reasonable should know that 
the candidate does not meet the qualifications. 

 (c)  "Cheating" is unlawful conduct under Subsection 58-
1-501(1)(e) and unprofessional conduct under Subsection 58-1-
501(2)(a)(viii). 
 ([5]6)  "Conditional licensure" means an interim non-
adverse licensure action, in which a license is issued to an applicant 
for initial, renewal, or reinstatement of licensure on a conditional 
basis in accordance with Section R156-1-308f, while an 
investigation, inspection, or audit is pending. 
 ([6]7)  "Denial of licensure" means action by the Division 
refusing to issue a license to an applicant for initial licensure, renewal 
of licensure, reinstatement of licensure, or relicensure. 
 ([7]8)(a)  "Disciplinary action" means adverse licensure 
action by the Division under the authority of Subsection[s] 58-1-
401(2)(a) or (b). 
 (b)  "Disciplinary action" as used in Subsection 58-1-
401(6): 
 (i)  means an adverse licensure action initiated by the 
Division; and 
 (ii)  does not mean an adverse licensure action taken by the 
Division in response to an application for licensure. 
 ([8]9)  "Duplicate license" means a license reissued to 
replace a license that has been lost, stolen, or mutilated. 
 ([9]10)  "Emergency review committee" means an 
emergency adjudicative proceedings review committee created by 
the Division under the authority of Subsection 58-1-108(2). 
 ([10]11)  "Expire" or "expiration" means the automatic 
termination of a license that occurs: 
 (a)  at the expiration date shown upon a license if the 
licensee fails to renew the license before the expiration date; or 
 (b)  [prior to]before the expiration date shown on the 
license: 
 (i)  upon the death of a licensee who is a natural person; 
 (ii)  upon the dissolution of a licensee [who]that is a 
business structure such as a partnership, corporation, or other 
business entity; or 
 (iii)  upon the issuance of a new license that supersedes an 
old license, including a license that: 
 (A)  replaces a temporary license; 
 (B)  replaces a student or other interim license that is 
limited to one or more renewals or other renewal limitation; or 
 (C)  is issued to a licensee in an upgraded classification 
permitting the licensee to engage in a broader scope of practice in the 
licensed occupation or profession. 
 (12)  "Home telephone number" in Section 58-1-106 or 
R156-1-106 includes a licensee's personal cell phone number. 
 (13)  "Home address" in Section 58-1-106 or R156-1-106 
may include a licensee's mailing address or email address. 
 ([11]14)  "Inactive" or "inactivation" means action by the 
Division to place a license on inactive status in accordance with 
Section 58-1-305 and Section R156-1-305. 
 ([12]15)  "Investigative subpoena authority" means[, 
except as otherwise specified in writing by the director, the Division 
regulatory and compliance officer, or if the Division regulatory and 
compliance officer is unable to so serve for any reason, a Department 
administrative law judge, or if both the Division regulatory and 
compliance officer and a Department administrative law judge are 
unable to so serve for any reason,] the Division assistant director or 
legal analyst, or an alternate designated by the director in writing. 
 ([13]16)  "License" means a right or privilege to engage in 
the practice of a regulated [occupation or ]profession as a licensee. 
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 ([14]17)  "Limit" or "limitation" means nondisciplinary 
action placing either terms and conditions or restrictions, or both 
upon a license: 
 (a)  issued to an applicant for initial licensure, renewal, or 
reinstatement of licensure, or relicensure; or 
 (b)  issued to a licensee in place of the licensee's current 
license or disciplinary status. 
 ([15]18)  "Mitigating circumstances" means any 
consideration or factors that may justify a reduction in the severity of 
an action to be imposed upon an applicant or licensee. 
 (a)  Mitigating circumstances include: 
 (i)  absence of prior record of disciplinary action, unlawful 
conduct or unprofessional conduct; 
 (ii)  personal, mental, or emotional problems [provided 
such]if the problems have not posed a risk to the health, safety, or 
welfare of the public or clients served, such as drug or alcohol abuse 
while [engaged in work situations]working or similar situations 
where the licensee or applicant should know that they should refrain 
from engaging in activities that may pose such a risk; 
 (iii)  timely and good faith effort to make restitution or 
rectify the consequences of the misconduct involved; 
 (iv)  full and free disclosure to the client or Division [prior 
to]before the discovery of any misconduct; 
 (v)  inexperience in the practice of the [occupation or 
]profession, that is not the result of failure to obtain appropriate 
education or consultation that the applicant or licensee should have 
known they should obtain [prior to]before beginning work on a 
particular matter; 
 (vi)  imposition of other penalties or sanctions if the other 
penalties and sanctions have alleviated threats to the public health, 
safety, and welfare; and 
 (vii)  remorse. 
 (b)  The following factors may not be considered as 
mitigating circumstances: 
 (i)  forced or compelled restitution; 
 (ii)  withdrawal of complaint by client or other affected 
persons; 
 (iii)  resignation [prior to]before disciplinary proceedings; 
 (iv)  failure of injured client to complain; 
 (v)  complainant's recommendation as to sanction; or 
 (vi)  in an informal disciplinary proceeding brought 
pursuant to Subsection[s] 58-1-501(2)[(c)](a)(iii), or 58-1-
501(2)[(d)](a)(iv), or Section R156-1-501[(1) through (5)]: 
 (A)  argument that a prior proceeding was conducted 
unfairly, contrary to law, or in violation of due process or any other 
procedural safeguard; 
 (B)  argument that a prior finding or sanction was contrary 
to the evidence or entered without due consideration of relevant 
evidence; 
 (C)  argument that a respondent was not adequately 
represented by counsel in a prior proceeding; and 
 (D)  argument or evidence that former statements of a 
respondent made in conjunction with a plea or settlement agreement 
are not[, in fact,] true. 
 ([16]19)  "Nondisciplinary action" means adverse licensure 
action by the Division under the authority of Subsection[s] 58-1-
401(1) or 58-1-401(2)(c) or (d). 
 ([17]20)  "Peer committee" mean an advisory peer 
committee to a board that is created by the [legislature]Legislature in 
Title 58, Occupations and Professions, or created by the Division 
under the authority of Subsection 58-1-203(1)(f). 

 ([18]21)  "Probation" means disciplinary action placing 
terms and conditions upon a license[;]: 
 (a)  issued to an applicant for initial licensure, renewal or 
reinstatement of licensure, or relicensure; or 
 (b)  issued to a licensee in place of the licensee's current 
license or disciplinary status. 
 ([19]22)  "Public reprimand" means disciplinary action to 
formally reprove or censure a licensee for unprofessional or unlawful 
conduct, with the documentation of the action being classified as a 
public record. 
 ([20]23)  "Regulatory authority" as used in Subsection 58-
1-501(2)[(d)](a)(iv) and this rule means any governmental entity 
[who]that licenses, certifies, registers, or otherwise regulates persons 
subject to its jurisdiction, or [who ]grants the right to practice before 
or otherwise do business with the governmental entity. 
 ([21]24)  "Reinstate" or "reinstatement" means to: 
 (a)  activate an expired license; or 
 (b)  restore a license that is restricted as defined in 
Subsection ([24]26)(b), suspended, or on probation, to a less 
restrictive license or an active in good standing license. 
 ([22]25)  "Relicense" or "relicensure" means to license an 
applicant who has previously been revoked or has previously 
surrendered a license.[ 
 (23)  "Remove or modify restrictions" means to remove or 
modify restrictions, as defined in Subsection (24)(a), placed on a 
license issued to an applicant for licensure.] 
 ([24]26)  "Restrict" or "restriction" means disciplinary 
action qualifying or limiting the scope of a license: 
 (a)  issued to an applicant for initial licensure, renewal or 
reinstatement of licensure, or relicensure in accordance with Section 
58-1-304; or 
 (b)  issued to a licensee in place of the licensee's current 
license or disciplinary status. 
 ([25]27)  "Revoke" or "revocation" means disciplinary 
action by the Division extinguishing a license. 
 ([26]28)  "Suspend" or "suspension" means disciplinary 
action by the Division removing the right to use a license for a period 
[of time ]or indefinitely as indicated in the disciplinary order, with 
the possibility of subsequent reinstatement of the right to use the 
license. 
 ([27]29)  "Surrender" means voluntary action by a licensee 
giving back or returning to the Division in accordance with Section 
58-1-306, [all ]the rights and privileges associated with a license 
issued to the licensee. 
 ([28]30)  "Temporary license" or "temporary licensure" 
means a license issued by the Division on a temporary basis to an 
applicant for initial licensure, renewal or reinstatement of licensure, 
or relicensure in accordance with Section 58-1-303. 
 ([29]31)  "Unprofessional conduct" as defined in Title 58, 
Occupations and Professions is further defined, in accordance with 
Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in Section R156-1-501. 
 ([30]32)  A "warning or final disposition letter that does not 
constitute disciplinary action" as used in Subsection 58-1-108(3) 
means a letter that does not contain findings of fact or conclusions of 
law and does not constitute a reprimand, but that may address one or 
more of the following: 
 (a)  Division concerns; 
 (b)  allegations upon which those concerns are based; 
 (c)  potential for administrative or judicial action; or 
 (d)  disposition of Division concerns. 
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R156-1-102a.  Global Definitions of Levels of Supervision. 
 (1)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a), 
except as otherwise provided by statute or rule, [this section's]the 
following global definitions of levels of supervision [shall ]apply to 
supervision terminology [used ]in Title 58, Occupations and 
Professions[,] and [this ]Title R156, and shall be referenced and used 
to the extent practicable in those statutes and rules to promote 
uniformity and consistency[.]: 
 (a)  "Direct supervision" and "immediate supervision" 
means the supervising licensee is present and available for face-to-
face communication with the person being supervised when and 
where professional services are being provided; 
 (b)  "Indirect supervision" means the supervising licensee: 
 (i)  has given either written or oral instructions to the person 
being supervised; 
 (ii)  is present in the facility or located on the same premises 
where the person being supervised is providing services; and 
 (iii)  is available to provide immediate face-to-face 
communication with the person being supervised as necessary. 
 (c)  "General supervision" means that the supervising 
licensee: 
 (i)  has authorized the work to be performed by the person 
being supervised; 
 (ii)  is available for consultation with the person being 
supervised by personal face-to-face contact, or direct voice contact 
by electronic or other means, without regard to whether the 
supervising licensee is present in the facility or located on the same 
premises where the person being supervised is providing services; 
 (iii)  can provide any necessary consultation within a 
reasonable time; and 
 (iv)  personal contact is routine. 
 (d)  "Supervising licensee" means a licensee who under 
statute or rule has satisfied the requirements to act as a supervisor and 
has agreed to supervise an unlicensed individual or a licensee in a 
classification or licensure status that requires supervision. 
 (2)  Except as otherwise provided by statute or rule[,]: 
 (a)  unlicensed personnel allowed to practice a regulated 
[occupation or ]profession shall practice under an appropriate level 
of supervision as defined in this section, as specified by the 
profession's licensing act or [licensing act ]rule[ governing that 
occupation or profession. 
 (3)  Except as otherwise provided by statute or rule,]; and 
 (b)  a license classification required to practice under 
supervision shall practice under an appropriate level of supervision 
as defined in this section, as specified by the profession's licensing 
act or [licensing act ]rule[ governing that occupation or profession. 
 (4)  Levels of supervision are defined as follows: 
 (a)  "Direct supervision" and "immediate supervision" 
mean the supervising licensee is present and available for face-to-
face communication with the person being supervised when and 
where occupational or professional services are being provided. 
 (b)  "Indirect supervision" means the supervising licensee: 
 (i)  has given either written or verbal instructions to the 
person being supervised; 
 (ii)  is present in the facility or located on the same premises 
where the person being supervised is providing services; and 
 (iii)  is available to provide immediate face-to-face 
communication with the person being supervised as necessary. 
 (c)  "General supervision" means that the supervising 
licensee: 
 (i)  has authorized the work to be performed by the person 
being supervised; 

 (ii)  is available for consultation with the person being 
supervised by personal face-to-face contact, or direct voice contact 
by electronic or other means, without regard to whether the 
supervising licensee is present in the facility or located on the same 
premises where the person being supervised is providing services; 
 (iii)  can provide any necessary consultation within a 
reasonable period of time; and 
 (iv)  personal contact is routine. 
 (5)  "Supervising licensee" means a licensee who has 
satisfied the requirements to act as a supervisor and has agreed to 
supervise an unlicensed individual or a licensee in a classification or 
licensure status that requires supervision in accordance with this 
chapter].[ 
 
R156-1-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer Title 
58, Occupations and Professions.] 
 
R156-1-102b.  Definitions Include Words Formed by Derivation. 
 A word formed by derivation from a word defined in Title 
58, Occupations and Professions, or Title R156 is subject to the same 
applicable requirements, conditions, and restrictions on use.  For 
example, an unlicensed person may not use the word architecture in 
a business name to avoid the prohibition against the use of the title 
architect under Section 58-3a-501. 
 
R156-1-106.  Division - [Duties, Functions, and 
Responsibilities]Licensee Lists. 
 (1)  Each person requesting a licensee list pursuant to 
Section 58-1-106 and this section shall apply to the Division upon a 
form [prescribed]provided by the Division in which the requester: 
 (a)  [agrees to use the information received only for he 
purposes for which the requester is authorized; 
 (b)  agrees to not disclose the information received to other 
persons; 
 (c)  agrees not to use the information received for 
advertising or solicitation; 
 (d)  attests that the requester shall adhere to the restrictions 
of this section; and 
 (e)  ]submits for Division approval a copy of the requester's 
proposed communications to the licensees, with a description of the 
proposed frequency and method of communication; 
 (b)  acknowledges that the information received is a 
[DOPL]Division record under Title 63G, Chapter 2, Government 
Records Access and Management Act (GRAMA), and that a 
violation of Section 58-1-106 or this section may subject the 
requester to criminal penalties and other remedies under GRAMA; 
and 
 (c)  agrees to: 
 (i)  comply with the restrictions of this section; 
 (ii)  use the information received only for the purposes for 
which the requester is authorized; 
 (iii)  not disclose or disseminate the information received 
to another person who is not the requester's agent or employee; 
 (iv)  not use the information received for advertising or 
solicitation except as allowed in this section; 
 (v)  only distribute to the licensees the Division-approved 
communications and informational material at the approved 
frequency and method; 
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 (vi)(A)  include with each communication a clear and 
conspicuous explanation of how the licensee can opt out of receiving 
future communications; and 
 (B)  honor opt-out requests within five business days; and 
 (vii)  if notified by the Division: 
 (A)  immediately stop use of the information received and 
stop communications and distribution of informational material to 
licensees; and 
 (B)  within 15 days, destroy the information received, and 
certify in writing to the Division its destruction. 
 (2)  [In accordance with]Under Subsections 58-1-106(1)(k) 
and 58-1-106(2), the Division may provide the following requesters 
a list of multiple licensees, and include licensee home telephone 
numbers, home addresses, or email addresses: 
 (a)  a governmental entity, including another state or 
territory or its regulatory agency; 
 (b)  a government-managed corporation; 
 (c)  a political subdivision; 
 (d)  the federal government; 
 (e)  a party to a prelitigation proceeding convened by the 
Division under Title 78B, Chapter 3, Part 4, Utah Health Care 
Malpractice Act; 
 (f)  a medical reserve corps, public safety authority, host 
entity, unified command, or other person concurrently engaged with 
a person described in Subsections (2)(a) through (d), for [the sole 
purpose of ]preparing for, participating in, or responding to an 
emergency described in Section 58-1-307; 
 (g)  a research university or regional university in the Utah 
System of Higher Education, for[ the sole purpose of] conducting 
research;[ or] 
 (h)  a Utah nonprofit voluntary professional membership 
association of individuals licensed by the Division, for purposes that, 
notwithstanding Subsection (1)(c), may include advertising or 
soliciting association membership; 
 (i)  a local health department created under Title 26A, 
Chapter 1, Local Health Departments or the Utah Association of 
Local Health Departments, for contacting health care providers who 
reside or work within a local health department boundary about a 
public health emergency or public health concern within that local 
health department boundary; 
 (j)  a Division contracted vendor for accomplishing that 
contract, such as the Division's exams vendor for surveying licensees 
regarding a job analysis; or 
 [(h)(i)](k)  the following persons, for the sole purpose of 
providing licensees continuing education that meets the requirements 
of Title 58, Occupations and Professions, and [this ]Title R156: 
 ([A]i)  [an occupational or]a professional association not 
described in Subsection (2)(h); 
 ([B]ii)  a non[-]profit regulatory association in which the 
Division holds membership; 
 ([C]iii)  a private continuing education organization; 
 ([D]iv)  a trade union; or 
 ([E]v)  a school of higher education and training such as a 
university, college, technical college, or career and technical 
school[;]. 
 ([ii]3)  As used in Subsection (2)([g]k), ["]providing 
licensees continuing education["] does not mean providing general 
information, learning opportunities, marketing, or outreach, 
including the following: 
 ([A]a)  volunteer opportunities, even if the volunteer would 
receive training and practical education; 

 ([B]b)  involvement in advocating for legislation; 
 ([C]c)  involvement in labor organizing issues; 
 ([D]d)  solicitations or recruitment for membership; or 
 ([E]e)  continuing education advertisements in a newsletter 
or other communication issued by the requester that also contains 
non-continuing education advertisements or other information, 
unless: 
 ([I]i)  the newsletter is issued by a Utah non[-]profit 
[occupational or ]professional association or trade union; and 
 ([II]ii)  the Division determines the newsletter's primary 
focus is communicating educational articles and information about 
continuing education, and only incidentally contains advertisements 
and solicitations for membership. 
 [(3)(a)  In accordance with](4)  Under Subsection 58-1-
106(3)(c), proper identification of an individual who requests the 
address or telephone number of a licensee under Subsection 58-1-
106(3)(a) shall consist of the individual's: 
 ([i]a)  full legal name; 
 ([ii]b)  mailing address; 
 ([iii]c)  email address; 
 ([iv]d)  daytime phone number; and 
 ([v]e)[  current positive identification. 
 (b)  "Positive identification" for this section means: 
 ](i)  one of the following current photo identifications 
issued by a foreign or domestic government: 
 (A)  driver's license; 
 (B)  non-driver identification card; 
 (C)  passport; 
 (D)  military identification; or 
 (E)  concealed weapons permit; or 
 (ii)  if the individual does not have government-issued 
identification, alternative evidence of the individual's identity as 
determined appropriate by the Division, if the Division documents on 
the requester's application how the individual was positively 
identified. 
 ([c]5)  [In accordance with Subsections 58-1-106(3)(a) and 
(b), the]The Division may deny [an individual's request for an]a 
request under Section 58-1-106 for a licensee list or for a home 
address, email address, or home telephone number of a licensee if the 
Division determines: 
 (a)  the [reason for the ]request is an unwarranted invasion 
of privacy or a threat to the public health, safety, and welfare; or 
 (b)  the requester, or any affiliate of the requester, failed to 
comply with the terms and conditions of a previous application or 
otherwise violated this section.[ 
 
R156-1-107.  Organization of Rules - Content, Applicability and 
Relationship of Rules. 
 (1)  The rules and sections in this Title R156 shall, to the 
extent practicable, follow the numbering and organizational scheme 
of the chapters in Title 58, Occupations and Professions. 
 (2)  Rule R156-1 shall contain general provisions 
applicable to the administration and enforcement of occupations and 
professions regulated in Title 58, Occupations and Professions. 
 (3)  The other rules in this Title R156 shall contain specific 
or unique provisions applicable to particular occupations or 
professions. 
 (4)  Specific rules in this Title R156 may supplement or 
alter Rule R156-1 unless expressly provided otherwise in Rule R156-
1.] 
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R156-1-109.  Presiding Officers. 
 [In accordance with](1)  This section establishes the 
presiding officers for the Division under Subsection 63G-4-103(1)(h) 
and Sections 58-1-104, 58-1-106, 58-1-109, 58-1-202, 58-1-203, 58-
55-103, and 58-55-201, except as otherwise [specified]designated in 
writing by the Director, or by the Construction Services Commission 
under[for] Title 58, Chapter 55, Utah Construction Trades Licensing 
Act[, by the Construction Services Commission, the following are 
designated as the Division's presiding officers:]. 
 ([1]2)[(a)  The Division Regulatory and Compliance 
Officer]  The Division or Department employee designated in writing 
by the Director is the presiding officer for issuance of: 
 ([i]a)  notices of agency action; and 
 ([ii]b)  notices of hearing issued concurrently with a notice 
of agency action or issued in response to a request for agency action. 
[ (b)  If the Division Regulatory and Compliance Officer is 
unable to serve, an alternate presiding officer specified in writing by 
the Director shall serve. 
 (2)  In accordance with] (3)  Under Subsections 58-1-
109(2) and 58-1-109(4) a Department administrative law judge is the 
presiding officer for entering an order of default against a party and 
conducting further proceedings [necessary ]to complete the 
adjudicative proceeding, including issuing a recommended order to 
the Director or Construction Services Commission determining the 
discipline to be imposed, licensure action to be taken, relief to be 
granted, or other appropriate matters. 
 ([3]4)  Except as provided in Subsection ([4]9), the 
presiding officers for adjudicative proceedings before the Division 
are as follows: 
 (a)  [The]the Director is the presiding officer for the 
following adjudicative proceedings, however resolved, including 
stipulated settlements and hearings: 
 (i)  formal adjudicative proceedings under: 
 (A)  Subsection R156-46b-201(1)(b), request for 
declaratory order conducted as a formal adjudicative proceeding; 
 (B)  Subsection R156-46b-201(2)(a), formal disciplinary 
proceeding for revocation, suspension, restricted licensure, 
probationary licensure, cease and desist order or administrative fine 
not through citation, or public reprimand; 
 (C)  Subsection R156-46b-201(2)(b), unilateral 
modification of disciplinary order; and 
 (D)  Subsection R156-46b-201(2)(c), termination of 
diversion agreement or program contract under Section 58-4a-107; 
and 
 (ii)  informal adjudicative proceedings under: 
 (A)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(d), payment of approved 
claim against the Residence Lien Recovery Fund; 
 (B)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(iii), approval or 
denial of request for modification of a disciplinary order; 
 (C)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(v), approval or denial 
of request for correction of other than procedural or clerical mistakes; 
 (D)  Subsection R!56-46b-202(1)(h), request for 
declaratory order conducted as an informal adjudicative proceeding; 
 (E)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(i), disciplinary sanction 
imposed in a stipulation or memorandum of understanding with a 
licensure applicant; 
 (F)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(j), other requests for 
agency action not designated as a formal adjudicative proceeding; 
 (G)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(a), nondisciplinary 
proceeding that results in cancellation of licensure; 
 (H)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(b)(ii), disciplinary 
proceeding against a controlled substance licensee; 

 (I)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(c), disciplinary 
proceeding [concerning]for violation of an order governing a license; 
and 
 (J)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(d), disciplinary 
proceeding limited to Subsection[s] 58-1-501(2)[(c) or (d)](a)(iii) or 
(iv) or Section R156-1-501[(1) through (5)]. 
 (b)  [The]the bureau manager or program coordinator over 
the [occupation or ]profession or program involved is the presiding 
officer for: 
 (i)  formal adjudicative proceedings under Subsection 
R156-46b-201(1)(c), for determining if a request for a board of 
appeal is properly filed under Subsections R156-15A-210(1) through 
(4); and 
 (ii)  informal adjudicative proceedings under: 
 (A)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(a), approval or denial of 
an application for initial licensure, renewal, reinstatement, inactive 
or emeritus status, tax credit certificate, or criminal history 
determination; 
 (B)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(b), favorable or 
unfavorable criminal history determination; 
 (C)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(i), approval or denial 
of request to surrender licensure; 
 (D)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(iv), approval or 
denial of request for correction of procedural or clerical mistakes; 
 (E)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(b)(iii), disciplinary 
proceeding against a contract security company or armored car 
company for failure to replace a qualifier; 
 (F)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(b)(iv), disciplinary 
proceeding against a hunting guide or outfitter for unprofessional 
conduct under Subsection[s] R156-79-502(12) or R156-79-502(14); 
and 
 (G)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(e), disciplinary 
proceeding [concerning evaluation or verification of documentation 
]regarding renewal requirements.[ 
 (iii)  At the direction of a bureau manager or program 
coordinator, a licensing technician or program technician may sign 
an informal order in the technician's name if: 
 (A)  the bureau manager or program coordinator approves 
the wording in advance; and 
 (B)  the caption "FOR THE BUREAU MANAGER" or 
"FOR THE PROGRAM COORDINATOR" immediately precedes 
the technician's signature.] 
 ([c]5)  A Department administrative law judge licensed in 
good standing with the Utah State Bar[, or a Department 
administrative employee licensed in good standing with the Utah 
State Bar as designed by a Department administrative law judge,] is 
the presiding officer for informal citation hearings under Subsection 
R156-46b-202(1)(g). 
 [(d)(i)](6)(a)  The Uniform Building Code Commission is 
the presiding officer for formal adjudicative proceedings under 
Subsection R156-46b-201(1)(c) for convening a board of appeal 
under Subsection 15A-1-207(3), serving as fact finder at the 
evidentiary hearing, and entering the final order. 
 ([ii]b)  A Department administrative law judge shall 
conduct the hearing as specified in Subsection 58-1-109(2). 
 ([e]7)  The Residence Lien Recovery Fund manager, 
bureau manager, or program coordinator designated in writing by the 
Director is the presiding officer for informal adjudicative 
proceedings under Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(c), for approval or 
denial of claims against the Residence Lien Recovery Fund. 
 [(f)(i)](8)(a)  The Utah Professionals Health Program 
manager or an alternate Department employee designated in writing 
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by the Director is the presiding officer for informal adjudicative 
proceedings under Title 58, Chapter 4a, Utah Professionals Health 
Program, including: 
 ([A]i)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(ii), request for 
entry into and participation in the Utah Professionals Health 
Program; and 
 ([B]ii)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(f), matters relating to 
the Utah Professionals Health Program that do not involve 
termination under Section 58-4a-107.[ 
 (ii)  If the Utah Professionals Health Program manager is 
unable to serve, an alternate presiding officer specified in writing by 
the Director shall serve.] 
 (b)  Each program contract for entry into and participation 
in the Utah Professionals Health Program shall require the written 
concurrence of the Division director. 
 ([4]9)[  The presiding officers and process for adjudicative 
proceedings under Title 58, Chapter 55, Utah Construction Trades 
Licensing Act, are as follows: 
 ](a)  (i)(A)  The Construction Services Commission is the 
presiding officer for adjudicative proceedings under Title 58, Chapter 
55, Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act, however resolved 
including stipulated settlements and hearings, except as otherwise 
specified in this rule. 
 (B)  Orders adopted by the Commission as presiding officer 
[shall ]require the concurrence of the Director. 
 (ii)  The Construction Services Commission is the 
presiding officer: 
 (A)  for informal adjudicative proceedings under: 
 (I)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(iii), approval or denial 
of request for modification of a disciplinary order; 
 (II)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(v), approval or denial 
of request for correction of other than procedural or clerical mistakes; 
 (III)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(h), request for 
declaratory order conducted as an informal adjudicative proceeding; 
 (IV)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(i), disciplinary 
sanctions imposed in a stipulation or memorandum of understanding 
with a licensure applicant; 
 (V)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(j), other requests for 
agency action not designated as a formal adjudicative proceeding; 
 (VI)  except for dismissals under Subsection (9)(d)(vi), 
Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(b)(i)[,] disciplinary proceedings 
against a contractor, plumber, electrician, or alarm company; 
 (VII)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(c), disciplinary 
proceedings concerning violations of an order governing a license; 
and 
 (VIII)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(d), disciplinary 
proceeding limited to Subsection[s] 58-1-501(2)[(c) or (d)](a)(iii) or 
(iv) or Section R156-1-501[(1) through (5)]; 
 (B)  to serve as fact finder and adopt orders in formal 
evidentiary hearings for adjudicative proceedings involving persons 
licensed or required to be licensed under Title 58, Chapter 55, Utah 
Construction Trades Licensing Act; and 
 (C)(I)  to review recommended orders of a board, an 
administrative law judge, or other presiding officer who acted as the 
fact finder in an evidentiary hearing involving a person licensed or 
required to be licensed under Title 58, Chapter 55, Utah Construction 
Trades Licensing Act, and to adopt an order of its own; and 
 (II)  in adopting its order, the Construction Services 
Commission may accept, modify, or reject the recommended order. 
 (iii)(A)  Orders of the Construction Services Commission 
shall address the issues before the Construction Services Commission 

and shall be based upon the record developed in an adjudicative 
proceeding conducted by the Construction Services Commission. 
 (B)  If the Commission has designated another presiding 
officer to conduct an adjudicative proceeding and submit a 
recommended order, the record to be reviewed by the Construction 
Services Commission shall consist of the findings of fact, 
conclusions of law, and recommended order submitted by the 
presiding officer based upon the evidence presented in the 
adjudicative proceeding before the presiding officer. 
 (iv)(A)  The Construction Services Commission or its 
designee shall submit an adopted order to the Director for the 
Director's concurrence or rejection within 30 days after it receives a 
recommended order or adopts an order, whichever is earlier. 
 (B)  An adopted order is issued and becomes a final order 
upon the concurrence of the Director. 
 (v)(A)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-55-
103(10), if the Director [or the Director's designee ]refuses to concur 
in an adopted order, the Director [or the Director's designee ]shall 
return the adopted order to the Construction Services Commission or 
its designee with the reasons in writing. 
 (B)  The Construction Services Commission or its designee 
shall reconsider the returned adopted order and resubmit an adopted 
order to the Director[ or the Director's designee], whether or not 
modified, within 30 days of the date of the initial or subsequent 
return. 
 (C)  The Director [or the Director's designee ]shall consider 
the resubmitted adopted order and either concur rendering the order 
final, or refuse to concur and issue a final order, within 90 days of the 
date of the initial recommended order. 
 (D)  If the time frames in this subsection are followed, this 
subsection [shall]may not preclude an informal resolution such as an 
executive session of the Construction Services Commission or its 
designee with the Director [or the Director's designee ]to resolve the 
reasons for the Director's refusal to concur in an adopted order. 
 (vi)  The record of the adjudicative proceeding shall include 
recommended orders, adopted orders, refusals to concur in adopted 
orders, and final orders. 
 (vii)  The final order issued by the Construction Services 
Commission and concurred in by the Director[ or the Director's 
designee], or [nonconcurred]not concurred in by the Director [or the 
Director's designee ]and issued by the Director[ or the Director's 
designee], may be appealed by filing a request for agency review with 
the Executive Director[ or designee within the Department]. 
 (viii)  The content of orders shall comply with 
[Sections]Subsection 63G-4-203(1)[,] and Sections 63G-4-208[,] 
and 63G-4-209. 
 (b)  The Director [or the Director's designee ]is the 
presiding officer for the concurrence role in disciplinary proceedings 
under Subsections R156-46b-202(2)(b)(i), R156-46b-202(2)(c), and 
R156-46b-202(2)(d) as required by Subsection 58-55-103(1)(b)(iv). 
 (c)  A Department administrative law judge is the presiding 
officer to conduct formal adjudicative proceedings before the 
Construction Services Commission and its advisory boards, as 
specified in Subsection 58-1-109(2). 
 (d)  The bureau manager is the presiding officer to conduct 
informal adjudicative proceedings under: 
 (i)  Subsections R156-46b-202(1)(a)(i) through (1)(a)(iv), 
approval or denial of an application for initial licensure, renewal, 
reinstatement, inactive or emeritus status; 
 (ii)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(a)(vi), approval or denial 
of an application for criminal history determination; 
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 (iii)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(b), favorable or 
unfavorable criminal history determination; 
 (iv)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(i), approval or denial 
of request to surrender licensure; 
 (v)  Subsection R156-46b-202(1)(e)(iv), approval or denial 
of request for correction of procedural or clerical mistakes;[ and] 
 (vi)  dismissal of a Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(b)(i) 
disciplinary proceeding based upon the respondent's documented 
compliance, such as by the respondent replacing a qualifier, 
providing a required bond, or obtaining necessary insurance; and 
 (vii)  Subsection R156-46b-202(2)(e), disciplinary 
proceeding [concerning evaluation or verification of documentation 
]regarding renewal requirements.[ 
 (e)  At the direction of a bureau manager, a licensing 
technician may sign an informal order in the name of the licensing 
technician if: 
 (i)  the bureau manager approves the wording in advance; 
and 
 (ii)  the caption "FOR THE BUREAU MANAGER" 
immediately precedes the licensing technician's signature.] 
 ([f]e)  [Except as specified in Subsection (c), the]The 
Plumbers Licensing Board is the presiding officer to serve as the fact 
finder and to issue recommended orders to the Construction Services 
Commission in formal evidentiary hearings for adjudicative 
proceedings involving persons licensed as or required to be licensed 
as plumbers. 
 ([g]f)  [Except as specified in Subsection (c), the]The 
Electricians Licensing Board is the presiding officer to serve as the 
fact finder and to issue recommended orders to the Construction 
Services Commission in formal evidentiary hearings for adjudicative 
proceedings involving persons licensed as or required to be licensed 
as electricians. 
 ([h]g)  [Except as specified in Subsection (c), the]The 
Alarm System Security and Licensing Board is the presiding officer 
to serve as the fact finder and to issue recommended orders to the 
Construction Services Commission in formal evidentiary hearings 
for adjudicative proceedings involving persons licensed as or 
required to be licensed as alarm companies or agents. 
 (10)  At the direction of a manager or program coordinator, 
a licensing technician or program technician may sign an informal 
order in the technician's name if: 
 (a)  the manager or program coordinator approves the 
wording in advance; and 
 (b)  the caption "FOR THE MANAGER" or "FOR THE 
PROGRAM COORDINATOR" immediately precedes the 
technician's signature. 
 
R156-1-109a.  Designation of Board Panel - Petition for Review 
of Panel Decision. 
 (1)(a)  Under Subsection 58-1-109(3)(b) the Director may 
designate any odd number of board members on a case-by-case or 
period-of-time basis to represent a licensing board as the presiding 
officer. 
 (b)  If the Director has not designated board members under 
Subsection (1)(a) or insufficient board members are able to serve, the 
bureau manager or licensing board chair may designate the board 
members to serve. 
 (2)(a)  Under Subsection 58-1-109(4)(b) and Section R151-
4-401, to petition the licensing board to review a recommended order 
issued by the designated board members, the aggrieved person shall 
file with the Division the petition form available from the Division 

within ten calendar days after the day on which the recommended 
order is issued. 
 (b)  The petition shall: 
 (i)  be signed by the aggrieved person seeking review; 
 (ii)  state the grounds for review and the relief requested; 
 (iii)  state the date upon which the petition was filed with 
the Division; and 
 (iv)  be concurrently served on each party and any 
administrative law judge who is assigned to the case. 
 (3)  If the aggrieved person does not file a petition in 
accordance with Subsection (2), the designated board members' 
recommended order becomes the final recommended order of the 
licensing board. 
 (4)(a)  As determined by the Division, a licensing board 
may review a properly filed petition together with the designated 
board members' recommended order at the licensing board's next 
regularly scheduled board meeting, or at a specially noticed board 
meeting. 
 (b)  Under Subsection 58-1-109(4)(c), after review a 
licensing board may issue its recommended order by affirming the 
designated board members' recommended order, or modifying or 
rejecting all or any part of that recommended order and entering new 
findings of fact, conclusions of law, statement of reasons, and order. 
 
R156-1-110.  Issuance of Investigative Subpoenas. 
 (1)(a)  A request for a subpoena in a Division investigation 
pursuant to Subsection 58-1-106(1)(c) shall be made in writing to the 
investigative subpoena authority and accompanied by [an original]a 
draft of the proposed subpoena. 
 (b)  Each request shall contain adequate information to 
enable the investigative subpoena authority to make a finding of 
sufficient need, including: 
 (i)  the factual basis for the request; 
 (ii)  the relevance and necessity of the particular person and 
evidence to the investigation; and 
 (iii)  an explanation of why the subpoena is directed to the 
person upon whom it is to be served. 
 (c)  A request for a subpoena and each finding by the 
investigative subpoena authority is part of the investigative case file 
and is evidence obtained as a part of an investigation before that 
evidence is presented in an administrative action or criminal action. 
 ([c]2)  An approved subpoena shall be issued under the seal 
of the Division and the signature of the investigative subpoena 
authority. 
 ([2]3)  The person who requests an investigative subpoena 
is responsible for service of the subpoena. 
 ([3]4)(a)  Service may be made: 
 (i)  on a person upon whom a summons may be served 
pursuant to the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; and 
 (ii)  personally or on the agent of the person being served. 
 (b)  If a party is represented by an attorney, service shall be 
made on the attorney. 
 ([4]5)(a)  Service may be accomplished by hand delivery 
or by mail to the last known address of the intended recipient. 
 (b)  Service by mail is complete upon mailing. 
 (c)  Service may be accomplished by electronic means. 
 (d)  Service by electronic means is complete on 
transmission if transmission is completed during normal business 
hours at the place receiving the service, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on days other 
than Saturdays,  Sundays, and state and federal holidays; otherwise, 
service is complete on the next business day. 
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 ([5]6)(a)  Each investigative subpoena shall have a 
certificate of service. 
 (b)  The certificate of service may be a separate form or 
may be [stamped ]on the subpoena. 
 (c)  The person serving the subpoena shall complete the 
certificate of service for both the served copy and the copy kept for 
the Division files. 
 (7)  Each investigative subpoena shall have a form provided 
by the Division for the recipient's custodian of records to complete, 
sign, and return with the requested information to establish the 
authenticity of the information. 
 ([6]8)(a)  The investigative subpoena authority may quash 
or modify an investigative subpoena if [it is shown to be]the recipient 
shows the investigative subpoena is unreasonable or oppressive. 
 ([a]b)  A recipient shall file and serve a motion to quash or 
modify an investigative subpoena [shall be filed with and served 
]upon the investigative subpoena authority no later than ten days after 
service of the investigative subpoena. 
 ([b]c)  [A]The Division shall file and serve its response [by 
the Division ]to a motion to quash or modify an investigative 
subpoena [shall be filed with and served ]upon the investigative 
subpoena authority and the recipient no later than five business days 
after receipt of [a]the motion[ to quash or modify an investigative 
subpoena]. 
 ([c]d)  [No final reply by the]The recipient [of an 
investigative subpoena who files a motion to quash or modify shall 
be permitted]may not file a reply to the Division's response. 
 
R156-1-111.  Qualifications for Tax Certificate - Definitions - 
Application Requirements. 
 (1)(a)  "Psychiatrist" under Subsection 58-1-111(1)(d), 
includes a licensed physician who is board eligible or board certified 
for a psychiatry specialization recognized by the American Board of 
Medical Specialties (ABMS) or the American Osteopathic 
Association's Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (BOS); and 
 (b)  "previously or currently board certified in psychiatry" 
in Subsection 58-1-111(1)(f)(ii)(B) means board certified for a 
psychiatry specialization recognized by the American Board of 
Medical Specialties (ABMS) or the American Osteopathic 
Association's Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists (BOS). 
 (2)  An applicant for a tax credit certificate under Section 
58-1-111 shall provide to the Division: 
 (a)  the original application made available on the 
Division's website, containing the signed attestation of compliance; 
and 
 (b)  additional documentation that may be required by the 
Division to verify the applicant's representations made in the 
application. 
 
R156-1-205.  Peer or Advisory Committees - Executive Director 
to Appoint - Terms of Office - Vacancies in Office - Removal from 
Office - Quorum Requirements - Appointment of Chairman - 
Division to Provide Secretary - Compliance with Open and 
Public Meetings Act and Utah Administrative Procedures Act - 
No Per Diem and Expenses. 
 (1)  The executive director shall appoint the members of 
peer or advisory committees established under [this ]Title 58, 
Occupations and Professions, or Title R156. 
 (2)(a)  Except for ad hoc committees whose members shall 
be appointed on a case-by-case basis, the term of office of peer or 
advisory committee members [shall be]is four years. 

 (b)  The executive director shall, at the time of appointment 
or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that they are 
staggered so that [approximately]about half of the peer or advisory 
committee is appointed on [two year]two-year cycles. 
 (3)  A peer or advisory committee member may not serve 
more than two full consecutive terms, and a member who ceases to 
serve may not serve again until after the expiration of two years from 
the date of cessation of service. 
 (4)(a)  If a vacancy on a peer or advisory committee occurs, 
the executive director shall appoint a replacement to fill the 
unexpired term. 
 (b)  After filling the unexpired term, the replacement may 
be appointed for only one additional full term. 
 (5)(a)  If a peer or advisory committee member fails or 
refuses to fulfill the responsibilities and duties of a peer or advisory 
committee member, including attendance at meetings, the executive 
director may remove the peer or advisory committee member and 
replace the member in accordance with this section. 
 (b)  After filling the unexpired term, the replacement may 
be appointed for only one additional full term. 
 (6)  Committee meetings may only be convened with the 
approval of the appropriate board and the concurrence of the 
Division. 
 (7)  Unless otherwise approved by the Division, peer or 
advisory committee meetings shall be held in the building occupied 
by the Division. 
 (8)  A majority of the peer or advisory committee members 
shall constitute a quorum and may act on behalf of the peer or 
advisory committee. 
 (9)(a)  Peer or advisory committees shall annually 
designate one of their members to serve as chair. 
 (b)  The Division shall provide a Division employee to act 
as committee secretary to take minutes of committee meetings and to 
prepare committee correspondence. 
 (10)  Peer or advisory committees shall comply with Title 
52, Chapter 4, Open and Public Meetings Act. 
 (11)  Peer or advisory committees shall comply with Title 
63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act, in their adjudicative 
proceedings. 
 (12)  Peer or advisory committee members shall perform 
their duties and responsibilities as public service and [shall]may not 
receive a per diem allowance, or traveling or accommodations 
expenses incurred in peer or advisory committees business, except as 
otherwise provided in Title 58, Occupations and Professions, or Title 
R156. 
 
R156-1-301.  License Application - Filing Date - Applicable 
Requirements for Licensure - Issuance Date. 
 (1)  The filing date for an application for licensure is the 
postmark date of the application or the date the application is received 
and date stamped by the Division, whichever is earlier. 
 (2)  Except as otherwise provided by statute, rule, or order, 
the requirements for licensure are the requirements in effect on the 
filing date of the application. 
 (3)  The issuance date for a license is the date the approval 
is input into the Division's electronic licensure database. 
 (4)  Under Subsection 58-1-301(1)(b)(ii)(B), other 
satisfactory evidence of an applicant's identity is: 
 (a)  an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN); 
 (b)  an Alien Registration Number (A-number); or 
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 (c)  for an applicant who has never been issued a social 
security number, Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN), 
or Alien Registration Number (A-number): 
 (i)  an unexpired government-issued passport from the 
applicant's country of residence; and 
 (ii)  an intent-to-hire letter from a Utah-based employer. 
 
R156-1-301.7.  Change of Information - Notification. 
 (1)  Notification sent by email under Section 58-1-301.7 is 
complete on transmission if transmission is completed during normal 
business hours, 8 a.m[,]. to 5 p.m. on days other than Saturdays, 
Sundays, and state and federal holidays, at the place receiving the 
notice; otherwise, notice is complete on the next business day. 
 (2)  Notification by email may be accomplished by 
attachment to the email or in the body of the email, or both. 
 
R156-1-302.  [Consideration of Unlawful Conduct, 
Unprofessional Conduct, or Other Mental or Physical 
Condition.]Licensure by Endorsement. 
[ (1)  In accordance with Section 58-1-401, this section 
applies in circumstances where an applicant or licensee: 
 (a)  is not automatically disqualified from licensure 
pursuant to statute; and 
 (b)(i)  has past unlawful or unprofessional conduct; or 
 (ii)  as described in Subsection 58-1-401(2)(d), may be 
unable to practice the occupation or profession with reasonable skill 
and safety because of an illness, a substance use disorder or a mental 
or physical condition that, when considered with the duties and 
responsibilities of the license held or to be held, demonstrates a threat 
or potential threat to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
 (2)  In a circumstance described in Subsection (1), the 
following factors are relevant to a licensing decision: 
 (a)  aggravating circumstances, as defined in Subsection 
R156-1-102(2); 
 (b)  mitigating circumstances, as defined in Subsection 
R156-1-102(15); 
 (c)  the degree of risk to the public health, safety or welfare; 
 (d)  the degree of risk that a conduct will be repeated; 
 (e)  the degree of risk that a condition will continue; 
 (f)  the magnitude of the conduct or condition as it relates 
to the harm or potential harm; 
 (g)  the length of time since the last conduct or condition 
has occurred; 
 (h)  the current criminal probationary or parole status of the 
applicant or licensee; 
 (i)  the current administrative status of the applicant or 
licensee; 
 (j)  results of previously submitted applications, for any 
regulated profession or occupation; 
 (k)  results from any action, taken by any professional 
licensing agency, criminal or administrative agency, employer, 
practice monitoring group, entity or association; 
 (l)  evidence presented indicating that restricting or 
monitoring an individual's practice, conditions or conduct can protect 
the public health, safety or welfare; 
 (m)  psychological evaluations; or 
 (n)  any other information the Division or the board 
reasonably believes may assist in evaluating the degree of threat or 
potential threat to the public health, safety, or welfare.] 
 (1)  This section is adopted by the Division under the 
authority of Subsection 58-1-302(6) to enable the Division to 
administer Section 58-1-302. 

 (2)  An applicant for licensure by endorsement who has the 
required experience practicing under a license issued in the other 
state, district, territory, or jurisdiction is not required to have the 
license currently active. 
 (3)  Under Subsection 58-1-302(4), the Division may 
consider in its evaluation of an applicant for licensure by 
endorsement's experience or other qualifications the time that has 
elapsed since the applicant's licensed or lawful practice. 
 (4)  The Division may require an applicant for licensure by 
endorsement to pass one or more of the exams required to obtain 
licensure in the profession, such as a business and law exam, 
jurisprudence exam, or professional exam, except if expressly 
provided otherwise in statute or rule. 
 
R156-1-303.  Temporary Licenses in Declared Disaster or 
Emergency. 
 (1)  [In accordance with]Under Section 53-2a-1203, a 
person who provides services under this exemption from licensure, 
shall within 30 days of entry file a notice with the Division under 
Subsection 53-2a-1205(1) using forms [posted on the Division 
website]available from the Division. 
 (2)  [In accordance with]Under Section 53-2a-1205 and 
Subsection 58-1-303(1), a person who provides services under the 
exemption from licensure in Section 53-2a-1203 for a declared 
disaster or emergency shall, after the disaster period ends and before 
continuing to provide services, meet the normal requirements for 
licensure under Title 58, Occupations and Professions, unless: 
 (a)  [prior to]before practicing after the declared disaster 
the person is issued a temporary license under Subsection 58-1-
303(1)(c); or 
 (b)  the person qualifies under another exemption from 
licensure. 
 
R156-1-305.  Inactive Licensure. 
 (1)  [In accordance with]Under Section 58-1-305, [a 
licensee whose license is listed in Subsection (2) may apply for 
inactive licensure status as provided in this section. 
 (2)  The ]following licenses issued under Title 58, 
Occupations and Professions that are active in good standing may be 
placed on inactive licensure status: 
 (a)  anesthesiologist assistant; 
 ([a]b)  architect; 
 ([b]c)  audiologist; 
 ([c]d)  certified public accountant emeritus; 
 ([d]e)  state certified court reporter; 
 ([e]f)  certified social worker; 
 ([f]g)  chiropractic physician; 
 ([g]h)  clinical mental health counselor; 
 ([h]i)  clinical social worker; 
 ([i]j)  contractor; 
 ([j]k)  deception detection examiner; 
 ([k]l)  deception detection intern; 
 ([l]m)  dental hygienist; 
 ([m]n)  dentist; 
 ([n]o)  dispensing medical practitioner - advanced practice 
registered nurse; 
 ([o]p)  dispensing medical practitioner - physician and 
surgeon; 
 ([p]q)  dispensing medical practitioner - physician 
assistant; 
 ([q]r)  dispensing medical practitioner - osteopathic 
physician and surgeon; 
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 ([r]s)  dispensing medical practitioner - optometrist; 
 ([s]t)  dispensing medical practitioner - clinic pharmacy; 
 ([t]u)  genetic counselor; 
 ([u]v)  health facility administrator; 
 ([v]w)  hearing instrument specialist; 
 ([w]x)  landscape architect; 
 ([x]y)  licensed advanced substance use disorder counselor; 
 ([y]z)  marriage and family therapist; 
 ([z]aa)  naturopath-naturopathic physician; 
 ([aa]bb)  optometrist; 
 ([bb]cc)  osteopathic physician and surgeon; 
 ([cc]dd)  pharmacist; 
 ([dd]ee)  pharmacy technician; 
 ([ee]ff)  physician assistant; 
 ([ff]gg)  physician and surgeon; 
 ([gg]hh)  podiatric physician; 
 ([hh]ii)  private probation provider; 
 ([ii]jj)  professional engineer; 
 ([jj]kk)  professional land surveyor; 
 ([kk]ll)  professional structural engineer; 
 ([ll]mm)  psychologist; 
 ([mm]nn)  radiology practical technician; 
 ([nn]oo)  radiologic technologist; 
 ([oo]pp)  security personnel; 
 ([pp]qq)  speech-language pathologist; 
 ([qq]rr)  substance use disorder counselor; 
 ([rr]ss)  veterinarian; and 
 ([ss]tt)  state certified veterinary technician. 
 ([3]2)(a)  A licensee requesting inactive licensure shall 
submit a verified application in a form prescribed by the Division 
together with: 
 (i)  documentation that the applicant meets the 
requirements for inactive licensure; and 
 (ii)  the appropriate fee. 
 (b)  If the licensee meets the requirements for inactive 
licensure, the Division shall place the license on inactive status. 
 ([4]3)  A license may remain on inactive status indefinitely 
except as otherwise provided in Title 58, Occupations or Professions 
or [this ]Title R156. 
 ([5]4)  An inactive licensee may activate their license by 
submitting a verified application for activation in a form prescribed 
by the Division together with: 
 (a)  the appropriate fee; and 
 (b)  unless otherwise provided in Title 58, Occupations and 
Professions or [this ]Title R156, documentation that the inactive 
licensee meets current renewal requirements. 
 ([6]5)  An inactive licensee whose license is activated 
during the last 12 months of a renewal cycle shall, upon payment of 
the appropriate fees, be licensed for a full renewal cycle plus the 
period [of time ]remaining until the impending renewal date, rather 
than being required to immediately renew their activated license. 
 ([7]6)  A Controlled Substance license may be placed on 
inactive status if it is attached to a primary license [listed in 
Subsection R156-1-305(2) and the primary license is ]placed on 
inactive status. 
 
R156-1-308a.  Renewal Dates. 
 (1)  The following standard two-year renewal cycle 
renewal dates are established by license classification in accordance 
with Subsection 58-1-308(1): 
 

[TABLE 
RENEWAL DATES 

 
Acupuncturist                      May 31       even years 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse January 31   even years 
Advanced Practice Registered 
  Nurse-CRNA                       January 31   even years 
Architect                          May 31       even years 
Athlete Agent                      September 30 even years 
Athletic Trainer                   May 31       odd years 
Audiologist                        May 31       odd years 
Barber                             September 30 odd years 
Barber Apprentice                  September 30 odd years 
Barber School                      September 30 odd years 
Behavior Analyst and 
  Assistant Behavior Analyst       September 30 even years 
Behavior Specialist and 
  Assistant Behavior Specialist    September 30 even years 
Building Inspector                 November 30  odd years 
Burglar Alarm Security             March 31     odd years 
C.P.A. Firm                        December 31  even years 
Certified Dietitian                September 30 even years 
Certified Medical Language Interpreter March 31 odd years 
Certified Nurse Midwife            January 31   even years 
Certified Public Accountant        December 31  even years 
Certified Social Worker            September 30 even years 
Chiropractic Physician             May 31       even years 
Clinical Mental Health Counselor   September 30 even years 
Clinical Social Worker             September 30 even years 
Contractor                         November 30  odd years 
Controlled Substance License       Attached to primary 
                                   license renewal 
Controlled Substance Precursor     May 31       odd years 
Controlled Substance Handler       September 30 odd years 
Cosmetologist/Barber               September 30 odd years 
Cosmetologist/Barber Apprentice    September 30 odd years 
Cosmetology/Barber School          September 30 odd years 
Deception Detection                November 30  even years 
  Deception Detection Examiner, 
  Deception Detection Intern, 
  Deception Detection Administrator 
Dental Hygienist                   May 31       even years 
Dentist                            May 31       even years 
Direct-entry Midwife               September 30 odd years 
Dispensing Medical Practitioner 
  Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, 
  Optometrist, Osteopathic Physician 
  and Surgeon, Physician and Surgeon, 
  Physician Assistant              September 30 odd years 
Dispensing Medical Practitioner 
  Clinic Pharmacy                  September 30 odd years 
Electrician 
  Apprentice, Journeyman, Master, 
  Residential Journeyman, 
  Residential Master               November 30  even years 
Electrologist                      September 30 odd years 
Electrology School                 September 30 odd years 
Elevator Mechanic                  November 30  even years 
Environmental Health Scientist     May 31       odd years 
Esthetician                        September 30 odd years 
Esthetician Apprentice             September 30 odd years 
Esthetics School                   September 30 odd years 
Factory Built Housing Dealer       September 30 even years 
Funeral Service Director           May 31       even years 
Funeral Service Establishment      May 31       even years 
Genetic Counselor                  September 30 even years 
Hair Designer                      September 30 odd years 
Hair Designer Instructor           September 30 odd years 
Hair Designer School               September 30 odd years 
Health Facility Administrator      May 31       odd years 
Hearing Instrument Specialist      September 30 even years 
Internet Facilitator               September 30 odd years 
Landscape Architect                May 31       even years 
Licensed Advanced Substance 
  Use Disorder Counselor           May 31       odd years 
Licensed Practical Nurse           January 31   even years 
Licensed Substance                 May 31       odd years 
  Use Disorder Counselor 
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Marriage and Family Therapist      September 30 even years 
Massage Apprentice                 May 31       odd years 
Massage Therapist                  May 31       odd years 
Master Esthetician                 September 30 odd years 
Master Esthetician Apprentice      September 30 odd years 
Medication Aide Certified          March 31     odd years 
Music Therapist                    March 31     odd years 
Nail Technologist                  September 30 odd years 
Nail Technologist Apprentice       September 30 odd years 
Nail Technology School             September 30 odd years 
Naturopath/Naturopathic            May 31       even years 
  Physician 
Occupational Therapist             May 31       odd years 
Occupational Therapy Assistant     May 31       odd years 
Optometrist                        September 30 even years 
Osteopathic Physician and          May 31       even years 
  Surgeon, Online Prescriber, 
  Restricted Associate Osteopathic 
  Physician 
Outfitter and Hunting Guide            May 31       even years 
Pharmacy Class A-B-C-D-E,          September 30 odd years 
  Online Contract Pharmacy 
Pharmacist                         September 30 odd years 
Pharmacy Technician                September 30 odd years 
Physical Therapist                 May 31       odd years 
Physical Therapist Assistant       May 31       odd years 
Physician Assistant                May 31       even years 
Physician and Surgeon,             January 31   even years 
  Online Prescriber, Restricted 
  Associate Physician 
Plumber 
  Apprentice, Journeyman, 
  Master, Residential Master, 
  Residential Journeyman           November 30  even years 
Podiatric Physician                September 30 even years 
Pre Need Funeral Arrangement 
  Sales Agent                      May 31       even years 
Private Probation Provider         May 31       odd years 
Professional Engineer              March 31     odd years 
Professional Geologist             March 31     odd years 
Professional Land Surveyor         March 31     odd years 
Professional Structural            March 31     odd years 
  Engineer 
Psychologist                       September 30 even years 
Radiologic Technologist,           May 31       odd years 
  Radiology Practical Technician 
  Radiologist Assistant 
Recreational Therapy 
  Therapeutic Recreation Technician, 
  Therapeutic Recreation Specialist, 
  Master Therapeutic 
  Recreation Specialist            May 31       odd years 
Registered Nurse                   January 31   odd years 
Respiratory Care Practitioner      September 30 even years 
Security Personnel                 November 30  even years 
Social Service Worker              September 30 even years 
Speech-Language Pathologist        May 31       odd years 
State Certified Commercial 
  Interior Designer                March 31     odd years 
State Certified Court Reporter     May 31       even years 
State Certified Veterinary 
    Technician                     September 30 even years 
Veterinarian                       September 30 even years 
Vocational Rehabilitation          March 31     odd years 
  Counselor] 

TABLE 1 
Renewal Dates 

Acupuncturist May 1 even years 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse January 31 even years 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse 
- CRNA 

January 31 even years  

Anesthesiologist Assistant January 31 even years 
Architect May 31 even years 
Athlete Agent September 30 

even years 

Athletic Trainer  May 31 odd years 
Audiologist  May 31 

odd years 
Barber  September 30 odd 

years 
Barber Apprentice  September 30 odd 

years 
Barber School September 30 odd 

years  
Behavior Analyst and 
 Assistant Behavior Analyst  

September 30 even 
years 

Behavior Specialist and 
 Assistant Behavior Specialist  

September 30 even 
years 

Building Inspector November 30 odd 
years 

Burglar Alarm Security  March 31 odd years 
C.P.A. Firm December 31 even 

years 
Certified Dietitian September 30 even 

years 
Certified Nurse Midwife January 31 even years 
Certified Public Accountant December 31 even 

years 
Certified Social Worker September 30 even 

years 
Chiropractic Physician May 31 even years 
Clinical Mental Health Counselor September 30 even 

years 
Clinical Social Worker September 30 even 

years 
Contractor November 30 odd 

years 
Controlled Substance License primary license 

renewal 
Controlled Substance Precursor May 31 odd years 
Controlled Substance Handler September 30 odd 

years 
Cosmetologist/Barber September 30 odd 

years 
Cosmetologist/Barber Apprentice September 30 odd 

years 
Cosmetology/Barber School September 30 odd 

years 
Deception Detection 
Deception Detection Examiner, 
Deception Detection Intern, 
Deception Detection Administrator 

November 30 even 
years 

Dental Hygienist May 31 even years 
Dentist May 31 even years 
Direct-entry Midwife September 30 odd 

years 
Dispensing Medical Practitioner 
Advanced Practice Registered 
Nurse, 
Optometrist, Osteopathic Physician 
and Surgeon, Physician and Surgeon, 
Physician Assistant  

September 30 odd 
years 

Dispensing Medical Practitioner 
Clinic Pharmacy 

September 30 odd 
years 

Dispensing Practitioner (LDP) primary license 
renewal 
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Electrician 
Apprentice, Journeyman, Master, 
Residential Journeyman, 
Residential Master  

November 30 even 
years 

Electrologist September 30 odd 
years 

Electrology School September 30 odd 
years 

Elevator Mechanic November 30 even 
years 

Environmental Health Scientist  May 31 odd years 
Esthetician September 30 odd 

years 
Esthetician Apprentice September 30 odd 

years 
Esthetics School September 30 odd 

years 
Factory Built Housing Dealer September 30 even 

years 
Funeral Service Director May 31 even years 
Funeral Service Establishment May 31 even years 
Genetic Counselor September 30 even 

years 
Hair Designer September 30 odd 

years 
Hair Designer School September 30 odd 

years 
Health Facility Administrator May 31 odd years 
Hearing Instrument Specialist September 30 even 

years 
Landscape Architect May 31 even years 
Licensed Advanced Substance 
Use Disorder Counselor 

May 31 odd years 

Licensed Practical Nurse  January 31 even years 
Licensed Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor 

May 31 odd years 

Marriage and Family Therapist September 30 even 
years 

Massage Apprentice May 31 odd years 
Massage Therapist May 31 odd years 
Massage Assistant May 31 odd years 
Master Esthetician September 30 odd 

years 
Master Esthetician Apprentice September 30 odd 

years 
Medication Aide Certified March 31 odd years 
Music Therapist March 31 odd years 
Nail Technologist September 30 odd 

years 
Nail Technologist Apprentice September 30 odd 

years 
Nail Technology School September 30 odd 

years 
Naturopath - Naturopathic Physician May 31 even years 
Occupational Therapist May 31 odd years 
Occupational Therapy Assistant May 31 odd years 
Optometrist September 30 even 

years 

Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon, 
Restricted Associate Osteopathic 
Physician 

May 31 even years 

Outfitter and Hunting Guide  May 31 even years 
Pharmacy Class A-B-C-D-E,  
Online Contract Pharmacy 

September 30 odd 
years 

Pharmacist September 30 odd 
years 

Pharmacy Technician September 30 odd 
years 

Physical Therapist May 31 odd years 
Physical Therapist Assistant May 31 odd years 
Physician Assistant May 31 even years 
Physician and Surgeon, 
Restricted Associate Physician 

January 31 even years 

Plumber - Apprentice, Journeyman, 
Master, Residential Master, 
Residential Journeyman  

November 30 even 
years 

Podiatric Physician September 30 even 
years 

Preneed Funeral Arrangement Sales 
Agent 

May 31 even years 

Private Probation Provider May 31 odd years 
Professional Engineer March 31 odd years 
Professional Geologist March 31 odd years 
Professional Land Surveyor March 31 odd years 
Professional Structural Engineer March 31 odd years 
Psychologist September 30 even 

years 
Radiologic Technologist 
Radiology Practical Technician 
Radiologist Assistant 

May 31 odd years 

Recreational Therapy 
Therapeutic Recreation Technician, 
Therapeutic Recreation Specialist, 
Master Therapeutic 
Recreation Specialist 

May 31 odd years 

Registered Nurse January 31 odd years 
Respiratory Care Practitioner September 30 even 

years 
Security Personnel November 30 even 

years 
Social Service Worker September 30 even 

years 
Speech-Language Pathologist  May 31 odd years 
State Certified Commercial Interior 
Designer 

March 31 odd years 

State Certified Court Reporter May 31 even years 
State Certified Veterinary Technician September 30 even 

years 
Veterinarian September 30 even 

years 
Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor March 31 odd years 
 
 (2)  The following non-standard [renewal]license terms and 
renewal or extension cycles are established [by license classification 
]in accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(1) and [in accordance with 
]specific requirements of the license: 
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TABLE 2 
Non-Standard License Terms 

PROFESSION TERM 
Associate Clinical Mental Health 
Counselor 

3-year term - may 
extend.* 

Associate Marriage and Family 
Therapist 

3-year term - may 
extend for a period not 
to exceed two years 
past the date completed 
the minimum 
supervised experience 
requirement.* 

Certified Advanced Substance Use 
Disorder Counselor 

4-year term - may 
extend.* 

Certified Advanced Substance Use 
Disorder Counselor Intern 

6-month term, or 
expires earlier upon 
passing exam. 

Certified Medical Language 
Interpreter Tier 1 and 2 (58-80a-
304) 

3-year term, renews 
March 31 - may renew. 

Certified Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor 

2-year term - may 
extend.* 

Certified Substance Use Disorder 
Counselor Intern 

6-month term, or 
expires earlier upon 
passing exam. 

Funeral Service Intern (58-9-
303(2)) 

2-year term, plus one 
additional 2-year term* 
- then may extend only 
for hardship.** 

Hearing Instrument Intern (58-46a-
303(2)) 

3-year term - may 
extend.*, ** 

Massage Assistant In-Training (58-
47b-303, R156-47b-303) 

6-month term - may 
extend only for 
hardship.*, ** 

Pharmacy technician trainee (58-
17b-305.1, R156-17b-303a(4)) 

2-year term - may 
extend for exceptional 
circumstances.* 
 

Psychology Resident (58-61-
304(3)(b)) 

2-year term - may 
extend for a period not 
to exceed two years 
past the date completed 
the minimum 
supervised experience 
requirement.* 

Type I Foreign Trained Physician-
Educator (58-67-302.7) 

Initial 1-year term - 
may renew on 2-year 
cycles if satisfies 58-
67-302.7(2) 
requirements, and 
completes 58-37-303 
CE. 

Type II Foreign Trained Physician-
Educator (58-67-302.7) 

Initial 1-year term -- 
may renew annually up 
to four times if satisfies 
58-67-302.7(3) 
requirements, and 
completes 58-67-303 
CE. 

*Extension allowed only if the licensee presents evidence 
satisfactory to the Division and board that the licensee is on a 

course reasonably expected to lead to licensure, such as 
making reasonable progress toward passing any qualifying 
examinations or completing required supervision hours. 
**Extension allowed only if a circumstance of hardship arose 
beyond the licensee's control to prevent the completion of the 
licensure process, and extension is for a period proportionate 
to hardship. 
 
[ (a)  Associate Clinical Mental Health Counselor licenses 
shall be issued for a three year term and may be extended if the 
licensee presents satisfactory evidence to the Division in 
collaboration with the board that the licensee is making reasonable 
progress toward passing the qualifying examinations or is otherwise 
on a course reasonably expected to lead to licensure. 
 (b)  Associate Marriage and Family Therapist licenses shall 
be issued for a three year term and may be extended if the licensee 
presents satisfactory evidence to the Division in collaboration with 
the board that the licensee is making reasonable progress toward 
passing the qualifying examinations or is otherwise on a course 
reasonably expected to lead to licensure; but the period of the 
extension may not exceed two years past the date the minimum 
supervised experience requirement has been completed. 
 (c)  Certified Advanced Substance Use Disorder Counselor 
licenses shall be issued for a period of four years and may be 
extended if the licensee presents satisfactory evidence to the Division 
in collaboration with the board that reasonable progress is being 
made toward completing the required hours of supervised experience 
necessary for the next level of licensure. 
 (d)  Certified Advanced Substance Use Disorder Counselor 
Intern licenses shall be issued for a period of six months or until the 
examination is passed whichever occurs first. 
 (e)(i)  Certified Medical Language Interpreter Tier 1 and 2 
licenses shall be issued for a period of three years, and may be 
renewed. 
 (ii)  The initial renewal date of March 31, 2017, is 
established for these license classifications, subject to Subsection 
R156-1-308c(5) to establish the length of the initial license period. 
 (f)  Certified Substance Use Disorder Counselor licenses 
shall be issued for a period of two years and may be extended if the 
licensee presents satisfactory evidence to the Division in 
collaboration with the board that the licensee is making reasonable 
progress toward completing the required hours of supervised 
experience necessary for the next level of licensure. 
 (g)  Certified Social Worker Intern licenses shall be issued 
for a period of six months or until the examination is passed 
whichever occurs first. 
 (h)  Certified Substance Use Disorder Counselor Intern 
licenses shall be issued for a period of six months or until the 
examination is passed, whichever occurs first. 
 (i)(A)  Pursuant to Subsections 58-9-303(1) and (2),  
Funeral Service Intern licenses shall be issued for a two year term, 
and may be issued for one additional two year term if the licensee 
presents satisfactory evidence to the Division in collaboration with 
the board that the licensee is making reasonable progress toward 
passing the qualifying examinations or is otherwise on a course 
reasonably expected to lead to licensure. 
 (B)  If before the expiration of the additional two-year term 
the licensee presents satisfactory evidence to the Division and the 
board that the licensee is still making reasonable progress towards 
licensure but a circumstance of hardship arose beyond the licensee's 
control to prevent the completion of the licensure process, the 
Division may extend that term for a period not to exceed two years. 
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 (j)  Hearing Instrument Intern licenses shall be issued for a 
three year term and may be extended if the licensee presents 
satisfactory evidence to the Division in collaboration with the board 
that the licensee is making reasonable progress toward passing the 
qualifying examination, but a circumstance arose beyond the 
licensee's control licensee, to prevent the completion of the 
examination. 
 (k)  Pharmacy technician trainee licenses shall be issued for 
a period of two years, and may be extended if the licensee presents 
satisfactory evidence to the Division in collaboration with the board 
that the licensee is making reasonable progress toward completing 
the requirements necessary for the next level of licensure. 
 (l)  Psychology Resident licenses shall be issued for a two 
year term and may be extended if the licensee presents satisfactory 
evidence to the Division in collaboration with the board that the 
licensee is making reasonable progress toward passing the qualifying 
examinations or is otherwise on a course reasonably expected to lead 
to licensure, but the period of the extension may not exceed two years 
past the date the minimum supervised experience requirement has 
been completed. 
 (m)  Type I Foreign Trained Physician-Educator licenses 
shall be issued initially for a one-year term and thereafter may be 
renewed on two year cycles. 
 (n)  Type II Foreign Trained Physician-Educator licenses 
shall be issued initially for a one-year term and may be renewed 
annually up to four times if the licensee continues to satisfy the 
requirements in Subsection 58-67-302.7(3) and completes the 
continuing education requirements in Section 58-67-303.] 
 
R156-1-308b.  Renewal Periods - Adjustment of Renewal Fees for 
an Extended or Shortened Renewal Period. 
 (1)  Except as otherwise provided by statute or as required 
to establish or reestablish a renewal period, each renewal period shall 
be [for a period of ]two years. 
 (2)  The renewal fee for a renewal period that is extended 
or shortened by more than one month to establish or reestablish a 
renewal period may be increased or decreased proportionately. 
 
R156-1-308c.  Renewal of Licensure Procedures. 
 [In accordance with](1)  Under Subsection 58-1-308(3)[,] 
this section establishes the procedures for renewal of licensure[ shall 
be as follows:]. 
 ([1]2)  The Division shall send a renewal notice to each 
licensee at least 60 days [prior to]before the expiration date [shown 
on]of the licensee's license. 
 ([2]3)(a)  The Division shall send [a]each renewal notice[: 
 (a)  by mail deposited in the post office with postage 
prepaid, addressed to the most recent mailing address provided to the 
Division by the licensee; or 
 (b) ] by email [sent ]to the most recent email address 
provided to the Division by the licensee. 
 (b)  The Division may send a renewal notice by mail 
deposited in the post office postage prepaid, addressed to the most 
recent mailing provided to the Division by the licensee. 
 ([3]4)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-
301.7(2), a notification sent to the most recent mailing address or 
email address provided to the Division by the licensee constitutes 
legal notice. 
 ([4]5)  Each renewal notice shall: 
 (a)  include directions for the licensee to renew the license 
[via]on the Division's website; 

 (b)  notify the licensee that the renewal requirements are 
outlined in the online renewal process, and that each licensee [is 
required to]shall document or certify that the licensee meets the 
renewal requirements [prior to]before renewal; and 
 (c)  notify the licensee that: 
 (i)  a license that is not renewed [prior to]before the license 
expiration date [shown on the license ]automatically expires[, and 
that any]; and 
 (ii)  continued practice without a license [constitutes]is a 
criminal offense under Subsection 58-1-501(1)(a). 
 ([5]6)  A licensee who is licensed during the last 12 months 
of a renewal cycle shall be licensed for a full renewal cycle plus the 
[period of ]time remaining until the impending renewal date, [rather 
than being]and is not required to immediately renew the license. 
 
R156-1-308d.  Waiver of Continuing Education Requirements - 
Credit for Volunteer Service. 
 (1)(a)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-
203(1)(g), a licensee may request a waiver of a continuing education 
requirement under this title, or an extension of time to complete a 
requirement, if the licensee will be unable or was unable to complete 
the requirement due to a medical or related condition, humanitarian 
or ecclesiastical services, extended presence in a geographical area 
where continuing education is not available, or other reasonable 
cause. 
 (b)  A licensee shall submit the request no later than the 
deadline for completing the continuing education requirement, 
except as allowed by the Division for good cause shown. 
 (c)  A licensee submitting a request has the burden of proof 
and shall document the reason for the request to the satisfaction of 
the Division. 
 (d)  A request shall include the beginning and ending dates 
during which the licensee is unable, or was unable, to complete the 
continuing education requirement and a detailed explanation of the 
reason that includes: 
 (i)  the extent and duration of the impediment; 
 (ii)  the extent to which the licensee will continue to be, or 
continued to be, engaged in practice of the licensee's profession; 
 (iii)  the nature of the medical condition; 
 (iv)  the location and nature of the humanitarian services; 
 (v)  the geographical area where continuing education 
[was]is not available; and 
 (vi)  other relevant information. 
 (e)  The Division may require [that]a licensee to obtain a 
specified number of continuing education hours, courses, or both, [be 
obtained prior to]before reentering the practice of the profession or 
within a specified period [of time ]after reentering the practice of the 
profession, as recommended by the appropriate board, to assure 
competent practice. 
 (f)(i)  A licensee who receives a waiver from meeting the 
minimum continuing education requirements [shall not be 
exempted]is not exempt from Subsection 58-1-501(2)[(i)](a)(ix), 
which requires that the licensee provide services within the 
competency, abilities, and education of the licensee. 
 (ii)  If a licensee cannot competently provide services, the 
waiver of meeting the continuing education requirements may be 
conditioned upon the licensee limiting practice to areas in which the 
licensee has the required competency, abilities, and education. 
 (2)(a)  [In accordance with]Under Subsections 58-1-
203(1)(g) and 58-55-302.5(2)(e)(i), the Division may grant 
continuing education credit to a licensee for volunteering as a 



 

28 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 15, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 06 

subject-matter expert in the review and development of licensing 
exams for the licensee's profession. 
 (b)  Subject to specific limitations established by rule by 
the Division in collaboration with a licensing board or the 
Construction Services Commission, this volunteer continuing 
education credit shall: 
 (i)  apply to the license period or periods during which the 
volunteer service was provided; 
 (ii)  be granted on a 1:1 ratio, meaning that for each hour of 
attendance, the licensee may receive one hour of credit; 
 (iii)  be ["]core,["] ["]classroom,["] or ["]live["] credit, 
regardless of whether the licensee attended meetings in person or 
electronically; and 
 (iv)  at the licensee's discretion, the whole or part of the 
credit hours may be counted toward[s] law or ethics continuing 
education requirements. 
 (c)  The licensee shall maintain information with respect to 
the licensee's volunteer services to demonstrate the services meet the 
requirements of this subsection. 
 (3)  [In accordance with]Under Section 58-13-3, a health 
care professional licensee may fulfill up to 15% of the licensee's 
continuing education requirements by providing volunteer services at 
a qualified location[,] within the scope of the licensee's license, 
earning one hour of continuing education credit for [each four 
documented hour accrual of volunteer services]every four 
documented h ours of volunteer health care treatment. 
 
R156-1-308e.  Automatic Expiration of Licensure Upon 
Dissolution of Licensee. 
 Under Subsection 58-1-308(2), if a dissolved entity's 
existence has been reinstated [prior to]before the expiration date 
shown upon the entity's expired license, and the entity meets the 
qualifications for licensure: 
 (1)  if the entity submits its application for reinstatement 
[prior to]before the expiration date shown on the license, the license 
shall be retroactively reinstated to the date of expiration of licensure; 
and 
 (2)  if the entity submits its application for reinstatement 
after the expiration date shown on the license, the license shall be 
reinstated on the effective date of the approval of the application for 
reinstatement. 
 
R156-1-308f.  Denial of Renewal of Licensure - Classification of 
Proceedings - Conditional Renewal of Licensure During 
Adjudicative Proceedings - Conditional Initial, Renewal, or 
Reinstatement Licensure During Audit or Investigation. 
 (1)  If an initial, renewal, or reinstatement applicant under 
Section[s] 58-1-301 or 58-1-308 is selected for audit, under 
investigation, or pending inspection, the Division may conditionally 
issue the initial license or conditionally renew or reinstate the license 
pending the completion of the audit, investigation, or inspection. 
 (2)  The undetermined completion of a referenced audit, 
investigation, or inspection, rather than the established expiration 
date, shall be indicated as the expiration date of a conditionally 
issued, renewed, or reinstated license. 
 (3)  A conditional issuance, renewal, or reinstatement is not 
an adverse licensure action. 
 (4)  Upon completion of the audit, investigation, or 
inspection, the Division shall notify the applicant if the applicant's 
license is unconditionally issued, renewed, reinstated, denied, or 
partially denied or reinstated. 

 (5)  A notice of unconditional denial or partial denial of 
licensure shall include: 
 (a)  the basis for action; 
 (b)  the Division's file or other reference number of the 
audit or investigation; and 
 (c)  notice that the action is subject to agency review, and 
how and when the applicant may request agency review. 
 
R156-1-308g.  Reinstatement of Licensure that was Active and in 
Good Standing at the Time of Expiration of Licensure - 
Requirements. 
 The following requirements [shall ]apply to reinstatement 
of licensure that was active and in good standing at the time of 
expiration of licensure: 
 (1)  [U]under Subsection 58-1-308(5), if the filing date of 
an application for reinstatement is between the date of the expiration 
of the license and 30 days after the date of the expiration of the 
license, the applicant shall: 
 (a)  submit a completed renewal form furnished by the 
Division demonstrating compliance with requirements and 
conditions of license renewal; and 
 (b)  pay the license renewal fee and a late fee. 
 (2)  [U]under Subsection 58-1-308(5), if the filing date of 
an application for reinstatement is between 31 days after the 
expiration of the license and two years after the date of the expiration 
of the license, the applicant shall: 
 (a)  submit a completed renewal form [furnished]provided 
by the Division demonstrating compliance with requirements and 
conditions of license renewal; and 
 (b)  pay the license renewal fee and reinstatement fee. 
 (3)  [U]under Subsection 58-1-308(6), if the filing date of 
an application for reinstatement is more than two years after the date 
the license expired: 
 (a)  if the applicant has not been active in the licensed 
[occupation or ]profession as described in Subsection 58-1-
308(6)(b)[308k], the applicant shall: 
 (i)  submit an application for licensure complete with 
supporting documents as is required of an individual making an 
initial application for license demonstrating the applicant meets 
current qualifications for licensure; and 
 (ii)  pay the license fee for a new applicant for licensure; or 
 (b)  if the applicant has been active in the licensed 
[occupation or ]profession as described in Subsection 58-1-
308(6)(b), the applicant shall: 
 (i)  provide documentation that the applicant has 
continuously, since the expiration of the applicant's license in Utah, 
been active in the licensed [occupation or ]profession while in the 
full-time employ of the United States government or under license to 
practice that [occupation or ]profession in any other state or territory 
of the United States; 
 (ii)  provide documentation that the applicant has 
completed or is in compliance with any renewal qualifications; 
 (iii)  provide documentation that the applicant's application 
was submitted within six months after reestablishing domicile within 
Utah or terminating full-time government service; and 
 (iv)  pay the license renewal fee and the reinstatement fee. 
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R156-1-308i.  Reinstatement of Restricted, Suspended, or 
Probationary Licensure After the Specified Term of Suspension 
of the License or After the Expiration of Licensure in a 
Restricted, Suspended or Probationary Status - Requirements. 
 Unless otherwise provided by a disciplinary order, an 
applicant who applies for reinstatement of a license after the specified 
term of suspension of the license or after the expiration of the license 
in a restricted, suspended, or probationary status shall: 
 (1)  submit an application for licensure complete with 
supporting documents as is required of an individual making an 
initial application for license demonstrating the applicant meets 
current qualifications for licensure and compliance with 
requirements and conditions of license reinstatement; 
 (2)  pay the license renewal fee and the reinstatement fee; 
 (3)  provide information requested by the Division and 
board to clearly demonstrate the applicant is currently competent to 
be reinstated to engage in the [occupation or ]profession; and 
 (4)  pay any fines or citations owed to the Division. 
 
R156-1-308j.  Relicensure Following Revocation of Licensure - 
Requirements. 
 An applicant for relicensure following revocation of 
licensure shall: 
 (1)  submit an application for licensure complete with 
supporting documents as is required of an individual making an 
initial application for license demonstrating the applicant meets 
current qualifications for licensure and compliance with 
requirements and conditions of license reinstatement; 
 (2)  pay the license fee for a new applicant for licensure; 
and 
 (3)  provide information requested by the Division and 
board to clearly demonstrate the applicant is currently competent to 
be relicensed to engage in the [occupation or ]profession. 
 
R156-1-308k.  Relicensure Following Surrender of Licensure - 
Requirements. 
[ The following requirements shall apply to relicensure 
applications following the surrender of licensure:] 
 (1)  An applicant who surrendered a license that was active 
and in good standing [at the time]when it was surrendered shall meet 
the requirements for licensure in Sections R156-1-308a through 
R156-1-308l. 
 (2)  An applicant who surrendered a license while the 
license was active but not in good standing as evidenced by the 
written agreement supporting the surrender of license shall: 
 (a)  submit an application for licensure complete with 
supporting documents as is required of an individual making an 
initial application for license demonstrating the applicant meets 
[all]the current qualifications for licensure and compliance with 
requirements and conditions of license reinstatement; 
 (b)  pay the license fee for a new applicant for licensure; 
 (c)  provide information requested by the Division and 
board to clearly demonstrate the applicant is currently competent to 
be relicensed to engage in the [occupation or ]profession; and 
 (d)  pay any fines or citations owed to the Division. 
 
R156-1-308l.  Reinstatement of Licensure and Relicensure - Term 
of Licensure. 
 Except as otherwise governed by the terms of an order 
issued by the Division, a license issued to an applicant for 
reinstatement or relicensure [issued ]during the last 12 months of a 
renewal cycle shall, upon payment of the appropriate fees, be issued 

for [a full renewal cycle plus the period of time remaining until the 
impending renewal date, rather than requiring the licensee to 
immediately renew their reinstated or relicensed license]the rest of 
the current renewal cycle plus the next full renewal cycle. 
 
R156-1-309.  Division Exams. 
 (1)  This section establishes standards for the 
administration of Division exams in accordance with Sections 58-1-
106, 58-1-203, and 58-1-309. 
 (2)  Upon evidence that a person has engaged in cheating: 
 (a)  the exam administrator shall notify the Division of the 
circumstances in detail and the identity of each person involved; and 
 (b)  the Division shall make an appropriate inquiry and may 
open an investigation to determine the facts concerning the alleged 
cheating. 
 (3)  If evidence of cheating by a candidate is detected 
before an exam, the Division may: 
 (a)  deny the candidate the privilege of taking the exam; or 
 (b)(i)  before the candidate takes the exam, notify the 
candidate of the evidence of cheating and that the Division may 
determine the candidate to have failed the exam if it finds the 
candidate has cheated. 
 (4)  If evidence of cheating by a candidate is detected 
during an exam, the exam administrator may: 
 (a)  end the exam, request the candidate to leave the exam 
facility, and notify the candidate of the evidence of cheating and that 
the Division may determine the candidate to have failed the exam if 
it finds that the candidate has cheated; or 
 (b)(i)  determine that the alleged cheating has not yet 
compromised the integrity of the exam, take any necessary steps to 
prevent cheating, and permit the candidate to continue taking the 
exam; and 
 (ii)  after the exam, notify the candidate of the evidence of 
cheating, and that the Division may determine the candidate to have 
failed the exam if the Division finds that the candidate has cheated. 
 (5)  If the Division determines that an individual has 
engaged in cheating or has otherwise engaged in unprofessional 
conduct regarding an exam, the Division may take appropriate action 
including one or more of the following: 
 (a)  if the individual is an exam candidate, deny the 
individual the privilege of taking or retaking the exam for a period; 
 (b)  refuse to issue the individual a license or otherwise act 
upon a license issued to the individual pursuant to Section 58-1-401; 
or 
 (c)  establish the conditions that the individual shall meet 
to qualify for a license, such as meeting with the board. 
 (6)  An exam administrator may end a candidate's exam 
session, or the Division may invalidate a candidate's exam results if 
the candidate: 
 (a)  is engaging or appears to be engaging in cheating; 
 (b)  reports late to the candidate's appointed exam session; 
 (c)  fails to present required identification at the time of the 
exam session; 
 (d)  creates a disturbance of any kind, including for 
example: 
 (i)  engaging in behavior that the exam administrator 
determines is disruptive to another candidate taking the exam; 
 (ii)  using language that might generally be considered 
inappropriate or offensive; or 
 (iii)  engaging in oral or physical altercations with the exam 
administrator or another individual; 
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 (e)  fails to comply with the directions of the exam 
administrator; or 
 (f)  reports to the exam under the influence of alcohol, 
drugs, or other intoxicant, to the extent that the exam administrator 
determines that it does, or might reasonably be considered to, impair 
the ability of the candidate to safely engage in the exam. 
 (7)  Each exam subject-matter expert and each exam 
administrator: 
 (a)  shall be a Utah resident; 
 (b)  shall be 18 years of age or older; 
 (c)  if the exam requires specific knowledge of the 
profession to grade or administer the exam, shall hold an active 
license in good standing in that profession or have satisfactory 
experience or an active license in good standing in a related industry 
as approved by the Division; 
 (d)  shall adhere to professional ethics and codes of conduct 
for the profession, including this section and Subsection R156-1-
501(9); 
 (e)  shall agree in writing to not participate in any exam 
coaching or preparation activities for the exam for five years 
following their review or administration of the exam; and 
 (f)  may not be affiliated with a person that may profit from 
or materially benefit from knowledge of exam content, such as an 
educational institution or training program. 
 (8)(a)  The Division may invalidate exam results if it 
determines that there is a basis to question the validity of the exam 
results for any reason, notwithstanding the absence of any evidence 
of a candidate's personal involvement in cheating or other 
unprofessional conduct. 
 (b)  Evidence of invalid results may include, for example, 
unusual answer patterns or score increases, or equipment failure. 
 
R156-1-310.  Application for Division Determination Regarding 
Criminal Conviction. 
 (1)  This section establishes the[The] application 
procedures for a Division determination [pursuant to]under Section 
58-1-310[ are clarified and established as follows:]. 
 ([1]2)  An individual applying for a determination shall: 
 (a)  submit the Application for Criminal History 
Determination form [made ]available on the Division's website, 
containing a signed attestation and release;[. 
 (2)  An individual shall ] 
 (b)  submit a separate application [for criminal history 
determination ]with processing fee for each license that the individual 
is interested in seeking[.]; and 
 (c)  under Subsection 58-1-310(2)(e), provide any 
additional documentation that may be required by the Division to 
verify or evaluate the individual's representations made in the 
application. 
 (3)  [Pursuant to]Under Subsection 58-1-310(2), the 
individual's complete criminal conviction history shall include: 
 (a)  criminal convictions, pleas of nolo contendere, and 
pleas of guilty or nolo contendere that are held in abeyance pending 
the successful completion of probation; and 
 (b)  current restrictions from possession, purchase, transfer, 
or ownership of a firearm or ammunition. 
 (4)  [Pursuant to Subsection 58-1-310(2)(e), the individual 
shall provide any additional documentation that may be required by 
the Division to verify or evaluate the individual's representations 
made in their application. 

 (5)  A determination shall be]The Division shall make a 
determination based solely on the information [contained ]in the 
individual's application and supporting documents. 
 ([6]5)  Agency review is not available for a Division order 
or determination [for an application filed ]under Section 58-1-310. 
 
R156-1-401.  Consideration of Unlawful Conduct, 
Unprofessional Conduct, or Other Mental or Physical Condition. 
 (1)  Under Section 58-1-401, this section applies in 
circumstances where an applicant or licensee: 
 (a)  is not automatically disqualified from licensure 
pursuant to statute or rule; and 
 (b)(i)  has past unlawful or unprofessional conduct; or 
 (ii)  as described in Subsection 58-1-401(2)(d), may be 
unable to practice the profession with reasonable skill and safety 
because of illness, drunkenness, excessive use of drugs, narcotics, 
chemicals, or other type of material, substance use disorder, or a 
mental or physical condition that, when considered with the duties 
and responsibilities of the license held or to be held, demonstrates a 
threat or potential threat to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
 (2)  In a circumstance described in Subsection (1), the 
following factors are relevant to a licensing decision: 
 (a)  aggravating circumstances, as defined in Subsection 
R156-1-102(2); 
 (b)  mitigating circumstances, as defined in Subsection 
R156-1-102(17); 
 (c)  the degree of risk to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 (d)  the degree of risk that a conduct will be repeated; 
 (e)  the degree of risk that a condition will continue; 
 (f)  the magnitude of the conduct or condition as it relates 
to the harm or potential harm; 
 (g)  the length of time since the last conduct or condition 
has occurred; 
 (h)  the current criminal probationary or parole status of the 
applicant or licensee; 
 (i)  the current administrative status of the applicant or 
licensee, for any regulated profession; 
 (j)  results of previously submitted applications, for any 
regulated profession; 
 (k)  results from any action, taken by any professional 
licensing agency, criminal, or administrative agency, employer, 
practice monitoring group, entity, or association, for any regulated 
profession; 
 (l)  evidence presented indicating that restricting or 
monitoring the individual's practice, conditions, or conduct can 
protect the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 (m)  psychological evaluations; or 
 (n)  any other information the Division and the applicable 
board reasonably believe may assist in evaluating the degree of threat 
or potential threat to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
 
R156-1-501.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  surrendering licensure to any other licensing or 
regulatory authority having jurisdiction over the licensee or applicant 
in [the same occupation or]any regulated profession while an 
investigation or inquiry into allegations of unprofessional conduct or 
unlawful conduct is in progress, or after a charging document has 
been filed against the applicant or licensee alleging unprofessional 
conduct or unlawful conduct; 
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 (2)  practicing a regulated [occupation or ]profession in, 
through, or with a [limited liability company that has omitted the 
words "limited company," "limited liability company," or the 
abbreviation "L.C." or "L.L.C." in the commercial use of the name of 
the limited liability company; 
 (3)  practicing a regulated occupation or profession in, 
through, or with a limited partnership that has omitted the words 
"limited partnership," "limited," or the abbreviation "L.P." or "Ltd." 
in the commercial use of the name of the limited partnership; 
 (4)  practicing a regulated occupation or profession in, 
through, or with a professional corporation that has omitted the words 
"professional corporation" or the abbreviation "P.C." in the 
commercial use of the name of the professional corporation; 
 (5)  using a DBA (doing business as name) that]business 
structure or name that: 
 (a)  has not been properly registered with the Division of 
Corporations and Commercial Code; or 
 (b)  has not been properly licensed with the Division[ of 
Occupational and Professional Licensing]; 
 (3)  engaging in conduct that results in disciplinary action, 
including reprimand, censure, diversion, probation, suspension, or 
revocation, by any other licensing or regulatory authority having 
jurisdiction over the licensee or applicant in any profession, if the 
conduct: 
 (a)  when considered with the functions and duties of the 
profession for which the license was issued or is to be issued, bears a 
substantial relationship to the licensee's or applicant's ability to safely 
to competently practice the profession; or 
 (b)  would, in this state, constitute grounds for denial of 
licensure or disciplinary proceedings under Section 58-1-401; 
 (4)  prohibiting or inhibiting the ability of a licensee's 
customer, patient, or other consumer of the licensee's goods or 
services from making a complaint to a licensing or regulatory 
authority, including through the use of a contract provision; 
 (5)  engaging in cheating or otherwise violating Section 
R156-1-309 regarding  Division exams; 
 (6)  failing, as a prescribing practitioner, to follow the 
["]Guidelines for the Chronic Use of Opioid Analgesics["], adopted 
as policy April 2017 by the Federation of State Medical Boards, 
which is incorporated by reference; 
 (7)  violating a term, condition, or requirement in a Utah 
Professionals Health Program ["]diversion agreement["] as defined 
in Subsection 58-4a-102(1), or ["]program contract["] as defined in 
Subsection 58-4a-102(4);[ or] 
 (8)  failing, as a health care provider, to follow the health 
care claims practices of Section 31A-26-313, in violation of 
Subsection 58-1-508(2); or 
 (9)  as an exam candidate or as an exam proctor, grader, or 
administrator, failing to comply with the Division of Professional 
Licensing Exam Policies and Procedures, dated December 29, 2023, 
which is incorporated by reference.[ 
 
R156-1-501.1.  Cheating on Examinations. 
 (1)  Policy. 
 The passing of an examination, when required as a 
condition of obtaining or maintaining a license issued by the 
Division, is considered to be a critical indicator that an applicant or 
licensee meets the minimum qualifications for licensure.  Failure to 
pass an examination is evidence that an applicant or licensee does not 
meet the minimum qualifications for licensure.  Accordingly, the 
accuracy of the examination result as a measure of an applicant's or 
licensee's competency must be assured.  Cheating by an applicant or 

licensee on any examination required as a condition of obtaining a 
license or maintaining a license shall be considered unprofessional 
conduct and shall result in imposition of an appropriate penalty 
against the applicant or licensee. 
 (2)  Cheating Defined. 
 Cheating is defined as the use of any means or 
instrumentality by or for the benefit of an examinee to alter the results 
of an examination in any way to cause the examination results to 
inaccurately represent the competency of an examinee with respect 
to the knowledge or skills about which they are examined.  Cheating 
includes: 
 (a)  communication between examinees inside of the 
examination room or facility during the course of the examination; 
 (b)  communication about the examination with anyone 
outside of the examination room or facility during the course of the 
examination; 
 (c)  copying another examinee's answers or looking at 
another examinee's answers while an examination is in progress; 
 (d)  permitting anyone to copy answers to the examination; 
 (e)  substitution by an applicant or licensee or by others for 
the benefit of an applicant or licensee of another person as the 
examinee in place of the applicant or licensee; 
 (f)  use by an applicant or licensee of any written material, 
audio material, video material or any other mechanism not 
specifically authorized during the examination to assist an examinee 
in the examination; 
 (g)  obtaining, using, buying, selling, possession of or 
having access to a copy of any portion of the examination prior to 
administration of the examination. 
 (3)  Action Upon Detection of Cheating. 
 (a)  The person responsible for administration of an 
examination, upon evidence that an examinee is or has been cheating 
on an examination shall notify the Division of the circumstances in 
detail and the identity of the examinees involved with an assessment 
of the degree of involvement of each examinee. 
 (b)  If cheating is detected prior to commencement of the 
examination, the examinee may be denied the privilege of taking the 
examination; or if permitted to take the examination, the examinee 
shall be notified of the evidence of cheating and shall be informed 
that the Division may consider the examination to have been failed 
by the applicant or licensee because of the cheating. 
 (c)  If cheating is detected during the examination, the 
examinee may be requested to leave the examination facility and in 
that case the examination results shall be the same as failure of the 
examination; however, if the person responsible for administration of 
the examination determines the cheating detected has not yet 
compromised the integrity of the examination, such steps as are 
necessary to prevent further cheating shall be taken and the examinee 
may be permitted to continue with the examination. 
 (d)  If cheating is detected after the examination, the 
Division shall make appropriate inquiry to determine the facts 
concerning the cheating and shall thereafter take appropriate action. 
 (e)  Upon determination that an applicant has cheated on an 
examination, the applicant may be denied the privilege of retaking 
the examination for a reasonable period of time, and the Division may 
deny the applicant a license and may establish conditions the 
applicant shall meet to qualify for a license including the earliest date 
when the Division will again consider the applicant for licensure.] 
 
R156-1-502.  Administrative Penalties. 
 (1)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-401(5) and 
Section 58-1-502, except as otherwise provided by a specific chapter 
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under Title 58, Occupations and Professions or [this ]Title R156, [the 
following fine schedule shall apply to citations issued under the 
referenced authority: 
 

TABLE 
 

FINE SCHEDULE 
 
FIRST OFFENSE 
 
Violation                Fine 
58-1-501(1)(a)           $ 500.00 
58-1-501(1)(c)           $ 800.00 
58-1-501(1)(g)           $ 500.00 
58-1-501(2)(o)           $ 0 - $250.00 
58-1-508(2)              $ 250.00 
 
SECOND OFFENSE 
 
58-1-501(1)(a)           $1,000.00 
58-1-501(1)(c)           $1,600.00 
58-1-501(1)(g)           $1,000.00 
58-1-501(2)(o)           $251.00 - $500.00 
58-1-508(2)              $  500.00 
 
THIRD OFFENSE 
 
Double the amount for a second offense, with a maximum amount not to 
exceed the maximum fine under Subsection 58-1-502(2)(j)(iii). 

 
 Citations may not be issued for third offenses,]the Division 
shall issue a notice of agency action instead of a citation for a third 
or subsequent offense, except in extraordinary circumstances 
approved by the investigation supervisor or chief investigator. 
 (2)  Multiple offenses may be cited on the same citation, if 
the citation clearly indicates each offense and the fine allocated to 
each offense. 
 (3)  An investigation supervisor or the chief investigator 
may authorize a deviation from the fine in a citation based upon the 
aggravating or mitigating circumstances. 
 (4)  The presiding officer for a contested citation shall have 
the discretion, after a review of the evidence and any aggravating and 
mitigating circumstances, to increase or decrease the fine amount 
imposed by an investigator[ based upon the evidence reviewed]. 
 
R156-1-503.  Reporting Disciplinary Action. 
 The Division may report disciplinary action to other state 
or federal governmental entities, state and federal data banks, the 
media, or other person who is entitled to [such]the information under 
the Government Records Access and Management Act. 
 
R156-1-601.  Suicide Prevention Video - Primary Care Providers. 
 (1)(a)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-601(3), 
the Division shall produce the suicide prevention videos described in 
Subsection 58-1-601(2) by meeting at least annually with the 
Division of [Substance Abuse and Mental Health]Integrated 
Healthcare to review information on existing videos[,] and plan [the 
creation of ]new videos, including: 
 (i)  establishing goals, specifications, and standards for the 
videos; 
 (ii)  identifying approved vendors from Utah's Best Value 
Cooperative Contracts list or otherwise planning requests for 
proposals; 
 (iii)  awarding contracts for creation of the videos; and 
 (iv)  producing the videos and providing them in effective 
formats. 

 (b)  The Division shall collaborate with the Department of 
[Technology Services]Government Operations to allow primary care 
providers access to view the suicide prevention videos described in 
Subsection 58-1-601(2) on the Division's website, at no cost to the 
providers. 
 (c)  A primary care provider may fulfill up to ten of their 
CPE hours by viewing the Division-created suicide prevention 
videos, as follows: 
 (i)  for a video 25 minutes or less in length, a provider may 
recognize one-half CPE credit hour; and 
 (ii)  for a video 26 minutes or longer, a provider may 
recognize CPE credit in 50-minute hour blocks of time. 
 (d)  The Division's production of the suicide prevention 
videos may include posting Division-approved substitutes for the 
videos on its website, such as Counseling on Access to Lethal Means 
(CALM) training, or more robust in-person training CME hours from 
a Suicide Prevention Summit provided by the Department of Health 
and Human Services. 
 (2)(a)  [Pursuant to]Under Subsection 58-1-601(2)(b), the 
Division-approved educational materials or courses related to suicide 
prevention shall include [all educational material or courses]those 
identified [as such ]on the Division's website. 
 (b)  The number and type of CPE credit hours allowed for 
completion of each [specific ]educational material or course shall be 
stated on the Division's website or in the educational materials or 
course. 
 (3)(a)  The Division or other provider of suicide prevention 
educational materials, courses, or videos may track or confirm a 
primary care provider's completion of the educational materials, 
course, or video. 
 (b)  A primary care provider shall maintain [adequate 
documentation as proof of compliance]documentation sufficient to 
prove compliance with Section 58-1-601 and this [S]section, for [a 
period of four]two years after the end of the [renewal]licensure cycle 
for which the CPE is due, including[.  At a minimum, the 
documentation shall include]: 
 (i)  title of the educational materials, course, or video; 
 (ii)  date completed; 
 (iii)  number of CE hours claimed; and 
 (iv)  type of CE[ - i.e. real-time interactive distance 
learning, web-accessibly video, etc]. 
 
R156-1-602.  Telehealth[ - Definitions]. 
[ In accordance with Section 26-60-103 and Subsection 26-
60-104(1), in addition to the definitions in Title 26, Chapter 60, 
Telehealth Act, as used in Title 58 or this Title R156 the following 
rule definitions supplement the statutory definitions: 
 (1)  "Originating site" means the same as defined in 
Subsection 26-60-102(3). 
 (2)  "Patient" means the same as defined in Subsection 26-
60-102(4).] 
 [(3)](1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 26B-
4-704.  In addition: 
 (a)  "Patient Encounter" means any encounter where 
medical treatment and evaluation and management services are 
provided.  The entire course of an inpatient stay in a healthcare 
facility or treatment in an emergency department is a single patient 
encounter. 
 ([4]b)  "Provider" means the same as defined in Subsection 
26-60-102(6)(b), an individual licensed under Title 58, Occupations 
and Professions to provide health care services, and: 
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 ([a]i)  shall include an individual exempt from licensure as 
defined in Section 58-1-307 who provides health care services within 
the individual's scope of practice under Title 58, Occupations and 
Professions; and 
 ([b]ii)  may include multiple providers obtaining informed 
consent and providing care as a team, consistent with the standards 
of practice applicable to a broader practice model found in traditional 
health care settings.[ 
 (5)  "Telehealth services" means the same as defined in 
Subsection 26-60-102(8). 
 (6)  "Telemedicine services" means the same as defined in 
Subsection 26-60-102(9). 
 
R156-1-603.  Telehealth - Scope of Telehealth Practice. 
 (1)(a)  In accordance with Subsection 26-60-103(1),] 
 (2)  Under Subsection 26B-4-704(2)(b), a provider offering 
telehealth services shall, [prior to]before each patient encounter: 
 (i)  verify the patient's identity and originating site; 
 (ii)  allow the patient an opportunity to select their provider 
rather than being assigned a provider at random, to the extent 
possible; and 
 (iii)  ensure that the online site does not restrict the patient's 
choice to select a specific pharmacy for pharmacy services; and 
 (b)  [prior to]before each initial patient encounter, [and at 
least annual intervals, ]obtain informed consent to the use of 
telehealth services by clear disclosure of: 
 (i)  additional fees for telehealth services, if any, and how 
payment is to be made for those additional fees if they are charged 
separately; 
 (ii)  to whom patient health information may be disclosed 
and for what purpose, including clear reference to any patient consent 
governing release of patient-identifiable information to a third-party; 
 (iii)  the rights of the patient with respect to patient health 
information; 
 (iv)  appropriate uses and limitations of the site, including 
emergency health situations; 
 (v)  information affirming that the telehealth services meet 
industry security and privacy standards in Subsection [26-60-
102(9)(b)(ii)]26B-4-704(1)(i)(ii), and warning of potential risks to 
privacy regardless of the security measures; 
 (vi)  a warning that information may be lost due to technical 
failures, and clearly referencing any patient consent to hold the 
provider harmless for such loss; and 
 (vii)  information disclosing the website owner-operator, 
location, and contact information. 
 ([2]3)  [In accordance with Subsection 26-60-
103(1)(d)]Under Subsection 26B-4-704(2)(d), a provider offering 
telehealth services shall be available to the patient for subsequent 
care related to the initial telemedicine services as follows: 
 (a)  providing the patient with a clear mechanism to: 
 (i)  access, supplement, and amend patient-provided 
personal health information; 
 (ii)  contact the provider for subsequent care; 
 (iii)  obtain upon request [an electronic or hard copy of ]the 
patient's medical record [documenting the telemedicine services,]or 
other report containing an explanation of the treatment provided to 
the patient and the provider's evaluation, analysis, or diagnosis of the 
patient's condition, including the informed consent provided; and 
 (iv)  request a transfer to another provider of the patient's 
medical record documenting the telemedicine services; and 

 (b)  if the provider recommends that the patient be seen in 
person, such as if diagnosis requires a physical examination, lab 
work, or imaging studies: 
 (i)  arranging to see the patient in person, or 
[directing]referring the patient to the patient's [regular]designated 
health care provider, or if none, to an appropriate health care 
provider; and 
 (ii)  documenting the [recommendation]referral in the 
patient's medical record; and 
 (c)  [upon patient request, electronically transferring to 
another provider the patient's medical record documenting the 
telemedicine services,]if the patient does not have a designated health 
care provider, consult with the patient and send a medical record or 
other report to the referred health care provider in the manner 
provided under Subsection 26B-4-704(2)(g), except the medical 
record or report shall be provided within a reasonable time frame 
allowing for timely care of the patient by that provider. 
 ([3]4)  Nothing in this section shall prohibit electronic 
communications consistent with standards of practice applicable in 
traditional health care settings, including the following: 
 (a)  between a provider and a patient with a preexisting 
provider-patient relationship; 
 (b)  between a provider and another provider concerning a 
patient with whom the other provider has a provider-patient 
relationship; 
 (c)  in on-call or cross coverage situations when the 
provider has access to patient records; 
 (d)  in broader practice models when multiple providers 
provide care as a team, including, for example: 
 (i)  within an existing organization; or 
 (ii)  within an emergency department; or 
 (e)  in an emergency, which as used in this section means a 
situation when there is an occurrence posing an imminent threat of a 
life-threatening condition or severe bodily harm. 
 
KEY:  licensing, supervision, evidentiary restrictions 
Date of Last Change:  [March 25, 2021]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  November 2, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-
106(1)(a); 58-1-308; 58-1-501(2) 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Commerce 
Agency: Real Estate 
Room number: 2nd Floor 
Building: Heber M. Wells Bldg 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146711 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6711 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Justin Barney 801-

530-
6603 

justinbarney@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R162-2e.  Appraisal Management Company 
Administrative Rules 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of the proposed rule amendment is to clarify 
and add to the definitions section; clarify and in some 
instances lower, Appraisal Management Company (AMC) 
employee requirements; and reorganize sections of the 
existing rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The proposed amendment will add definitions for "general 
criteria" and "third-party property data collector." 
 
The updated edition of the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) is incorporated 
into this rule by reference. 
 
The proposed rule will require an AMC that uses a third-
party data collector to disclose relevant information to the 
appraiser, including the identity of the collector, the date 
the data is collected, and other relevant information. 
 
In addition, the proposed amendment will clarify the 
employee relationship of certain AMC appraisers and will 
lower the amount of time certain AMC staff personnel are 
required to spend taking a USPAP instructive course. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Division of Real Estate (Division) has the staff and 
budget in place to administer the proposed rule 
amendment. 
 
None of the proposed changes is expected to impact the 
state's budget by either increasing costs or generating 
savings.  After conducting a thorough analysis, it was 
determined that the proposed rule amendment will not 
result in any cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
local governments' revenues or expenditures. 

Local governments are not required to comply with the 
AMC administrative rules. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons):  
The Division does not expect any foreseeable impact on 
small businesses. 
 
The proposed amendments clarify and update this rule 
and do not create new obligations for AMCs, nor does it 
increase the costs associated with any existing obligation. 
 
The Division notes that it is difficult to estimate or measure 
the impact at this time. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on non-small 
businesses, or the impact is inestimable. 
 
Approximately 50% of the 106 AMCs operating in Utah are 
estimated to be non-small businesses (53 AMCs).  All 106 
AMCs registered in Utah are subject to the proposed rule 
amendment. 
 
The fiscal impact to the 53 non-small business AMCs is 
estimated in Box 5(F) below, 
 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that the proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to non-small businesses or, if there is a fiscal 
impact, the impact is inestimable. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The rule change does not create new obligations for 
persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities nor does it 
increase the cost associated with any existing obligation. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are 106 AMCs registered in Utah.  Of these, six 
AMCs have a Utah address associated with their 
registration. 
 
The Division estimates that approximately 50% of the 106 
AMCs registered in Utah are small businesses, and 50% 
are non-small businesses.  All 106 AMCs will be affected 
by the proposed rule change. 
 
No AMC is required to offer third-party data collector 
appraisal assignments provided for in the proposed rule 
amendment.  Those AMCs that choose to offer such 
assignments have made a business decision to do so, 
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presumably because of likely cost savings to the AMC for 
this type of assignment but also because of other possible 
benefits perceived by the AMC unrelated to cost savings. 
 
The proposed rule would require an AMC that choses to 
offer an appraisal assignment that includes data collected 
by a third-party, to communicate to the appraiser 
information about who collected data for use in the 
appraisal assignment, when the data was collected, and 
other relevant information.  This information would already 
be known to the AMC.  An AMC typically already discloses 
this information to the appraiser through a simple 
electronic communication or other method selected by the 
AMC.   
 
The Division is unable to estimate how many appraisal 
assignments AMCs will choose to offer an appraiser where 
a third-party data collector is used.  However, whatever the 
number, the cost of communicating the required 
information is estimated to be negligible or is unable to be 
determined. 
 
One AMC indicates that this information is already 
contained in the assignment report provided to the 
appraiser.  The AMC indicated that the disclosure required 
by the proposed rule amendment may be made by 
entering a single computer keystroke, with no way of 
attributing a dollar amount to the estimated cost to comply. 
 
The proposed rule amendment reduces the education 
requirement for certain AMC personnel and may result in 
both a time savings and cost savings for affected AMCs.  
An AMC that has an unlicensed person who selects an 
appraiser for an appraisal assignment or for conducting an 
appraisal review will benefit from the proposed rule 
amendment through the reduced education requirement. 
 
The Division is unable to estimate the cost savings to 
affected persons (all AMCs) because the Division cannot 
know how many AMCs might use, now, or in the future, an 
unlicensed person to select an appraiser for an 
assignment or for to conduct an appraisal review. 
 
After conducting a thorough analysis, it was determined 
that the proposed rule amendment will not result in a fiscal 
impact to affected persons or, if there is a fiscal impact, the 
impact is inestimable.  Any fiscal impact would likely be 
negligible and offset by a possible cost savings to the 
AMC. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis:  
The Executive Director of he Department of Commerce, 
Margaret Busse, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 
The Department of Commerce and the Division propose 
amendments to update and clarify Rule R162-2e.  These 
proposed amendments clarify and update this rule 
regarding AMCs who use third party data collectors and 
their procedures. 
 
In some instances, these changes may lower 
requirements for certain AMC employees which may result 
in a savings for them. 
 
Further, the new language should comport with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 61-2e-103 Subsection 

61-2e-305(2) 
Subsection 
61-2e-304(3) 

Subsection 
61-2e-301(3) 
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Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Uniform Standards of Professional  
Appraisal Practice (USPAP) 

Publisher The Appraisal Foundation, Appraisal  
Standards Board 

Issue Date January 1, 2024 

Issue or Version 2024 Edition 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Justin F. Barney,  
Interim Division  
Director 

Date:  02/23/2024 

 
R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-2e.  Appraisal Management Company Administrative 
Rules. 
R162-2e-102.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Affiliation" means a business association: 
 (a)  between: 
 (i)  two individuals registered, licensed, or certified under 
Title 61, Chapter 2g, Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Practices 
Act[Section 61-2g]; or 
 (ii)  an individual registered, licensed, or certified under 
Title 61, Chapter 2g, Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Practices 
Act[Section 61-2g] and: 
 (A)  an appraisal entity; or 
 (B)  a government agency; 
 (b)  for [the purpose of ]providing an appraisal service; and 
 (c)  regardless of whether an employment relationship 
exists between the parties. 
 (2)  The acronym "AMC" stands for appraisal management 
company. 
 (3)  "Business day" means a day other than: 
 (a)  a Saturday; 
 (b)  a Sunday; or 
 (c)  a state or federal holiday. 
 (4)  "Client" is defined in Subsection 61-2e-102(10). 

 (5)  "Competency statement" means a statement provided 
by the AMC to the appraiser that, at a minimum, requires the 
appraiser to attest that the appraiser: 
 (a)  is competent according to USPAP standards; 
 (b)  recognizes and agrees to comply with: 
 (i)  laws and rules [regulations ]that apply to the appraiser 
and to the assignment; 
 (ii)  assignment conditions; and 
 (iii)  the scope of work outlined by the client; and 
 (c)  has access, either independently or through an 
affiliation pursuant to Subsection (1), to the records necessary to 
complete a credible appraisal, including: 
 (i)  multiple listing service data; and 
 (ii)  county records. 
 (6)[(a)]  For purposes of this rule, "Employee" means an 
individual: 
 (a)[(i)]  whose manner and means of work performance are 
subject to the right of control of, or are controlled by, another person; 
and 
 (b)[(ii)]  whose compensation for federal income tax 
purposes is reported, or is required to be reported, on a W-2 form 
issued by the controlling person. 
 (7)[(b)]  For purposes of this rule, "Employee" does not 
mean [include ]an independent contractor who performs duties other 
than at the discretion of, and subject to the supervision and instruction 
of, another person. 
[ (c)  For purposes of applying Subsection R162-2e-
401(1)(g), an appraiser who completes an assignment is considered 
to be an employee of the AMC that offers the assignment if: 
 (i)  this subsection (a) describes the employment 
relationship between the appraiser and the AMC; or 
 (ii)  pursuant to this subsection (a), the appraiser is an 
employee of a company: 
 (A)  that is wholly owned by the AMC; or 
 (B)  in which the AMC owns a controlling interest.] 
 (8)  For purposes of Section R162-2e-304 the term "general 
criteria" means a standard description of the factors the AMC 
considers when ranking or differentiating appraisers or tiers within a 
panel of appraisers. 
 (9)[(7)]  "Select" means: 
 (a)  for purposes of composing the AMC appraiser panel, 
to review and evaluate the qualifications of an appraiser who applies 
to be included on the AMC's appraiser panel; and 
 (b)  for purposes of assigning an appraisal activity to an 
appraiser: 
 (i)  to choose from the AMC's appraiser panel an individual 
appraiser or appraisal entity to complete an assignment; or 
 (ii)  to compile, from among the appraisers included in the 
AMC's appraiser panel, an electronic distribution list of appraisers to 
whom an assignment will be offered through email[e-mail]. 
 (10)  "Third-Party Property Data Collector" means a person 
engaged to collect relevant property data characteristics or who 
conducts a property site visit of the subject property for use in a 
valuation assignment performed by an appraiser. 
 (11)[(8)]  The acronym "USPAP" stands for Uniform 
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. The 2024 edition of 
USPAP is incorporated by reference. 
 
R162-2e-304.  Required Disclosures and Customary and 
Reasonable Compensation. 
 (1)  In addition to the disclosures required by Section 61-
2e-304, an AMC shall: 
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 (a)  notify the appraiser in writing when[at the time] an 
appraiser is first added to an appraiser panel: 
 (i)  of the general criteria the AMC uses to rank an appraiser 
on the panel; and[,] 
 (ii)  if the AMC chooses to separate appraisers into different 
tiers, of the general criteria the AMC uses to distinguish one tier from 
another; 
 (b)  notify the affected appraisers in writing of any changes 
if, after the notice provided for in S[s]ubsection (1)(a), the AMC 
changes any of the general criteria the AMC considers relative to an 
appraiser's ranking, tier, or classification within the panel structure; 
 (c)  when [at the time ]an assignment is offered, disclose to 
the appraiser: 
 (i)  the total amount that the appraiser may expect to earn 
from the assignment: 
 (A)  disclosed as a dollar amount; and 
 (B)  delineating any fees or costs that will be charged by 
the AMC to the appraiser; 
 (ii)(A)  the property address; 
 (B)  the legal description; or 
 (C)  equivalent information that would allow the appraiser 
to determine whether the appraiser has been involved with any 
service regarding the subject property within the three years 
preceding the date on which the assignment is offered; 
 (iii)  the assignment conditions and scope of work 
requirements in sufficient detail to allow the appraiser to determine 
whether the appraiser is competent to complete the assignment;[ and] 
 (iv)  for an appraisal assignment that requires the appraiser 
to review relevant property data characteristics provided by a third-
party data collector, adequate information to enable the appraiser to 
determine whether credible assignment results can be produced 
including: 
 (A)  the date of collection; 
 (B)  the identity of collector; and 
 (C)  other relevant information; and 
 (v)  any known deadlines within which the assignment 
must be completed; 
 (d)  at or before the time the appraiser accepts an 
assignment, obtain the appraiser's acknowledgment as to the AMC's 
competency statement; 
 (e)  before requiring the appraiser to submit a completed 
report, disclose to the appraiser: 
 (i)  the total fee that will be collected by the AMC for the 
assignment; and 
 (ii)  the total amount that the AMC will keep[retain] from 
the fee charged, disclosed as a dollar amount; and 
 (f)  direct the appraiser who performs the real estate 
appraisal activity to disclose in the body of the appraisal report: 
 (i)  the total compensation, stated as a dollar amount, paid 
to the appraiser or, if the appraiser is employed by an appraisal 
company, to the appraiser's employer; and 
 (ii)  the total compensation kept[retained] by the AMC in 
connection with the real estate appraisal activity, stated as a dollar 
amount. 
 (2)  Notice to an appraiser pursuant to Subsection (1) does 
not require that an AMC disclose any algorithm, formula, or 
information about the propriety processes of the AMC. 
 (3)[(2)]  Within ten [10 ]business days of receiving a 
written request from an appraiser or any inquiry related to the 
business relationship between the appraiser and the AMC, an AMC 
shall reply to the appraiser in writing.  An inquiry may address 
subjects including the AMC scorecard, appraiser panel status, 

clarification on work assignments, training, or notice of the removal 
of an appraiser from an AMC panel as required by [Utah Code 
]Section 61-2e-306.  If the AMC has requested appraisers send such 
inquiries to a specific address or email address, appraisers shall direct 
such inquiries as follows:[accordingly.] 
 (a)  if[If] the AMC has determined to decrease the number 
of assignments to the appraiser the AMC's reply will explain the 
reason why the AMC has made this decision; 
 (b)  if the AMC has determined to stop [cease ]offering 
assignments to the appraiser, the [the ]AMC's reply will explain the 
reason why the AMC has made this decision; and 
 (c)  if the AMC has determined to remove the appraiser 
from an appraiser panel, the AMC shall provide the appraiser notice 
as required by [Utah Code ]Section 61-2e-306. 
 (4)[(3)]  Any written notice or reply required by this section 
from an AMC to an appraiser may be communicated: 
 (a)  by email; 
 (b)  in a written communication to the mailing address 
provided by the appraiser; or 
 (c)  by posting to a private vendor website, portal, or other 
digital venue to which the appraiser has access for at least 30 days 
following posting of the notice. 
[ (4)  For purposes of this Section, the term " general criteria" 
means a standard description of the factors the AMC considers when 
ranking or differentiating appraisers or tiers within a panel of 
appraisers.  This does not require an AMC to disclose any algorithms, 
formulas, or information about proprietary processes.] 
 (5)  In replying to a request from an appraiser, an AMC is 
not required to reply to subsequent or multiple requests if a request 
unreasonably duplicates a prior request from that person. 
 (6)  In addition to the presumptions of compliance 
referenced in [Utah Code ]Subsection 61-2e-304(2)(b), an AMC is 
presumed to be in compliance with the Utah requirement to pay 
appraisers a customary and reasonable fee if the AMC compensates 
an appraiser for a completed appraisal at a rate consistent with the fee 
schedule for the state [of Utah ]as published by the United States 
Department of Veterans Affairs Denver Regional Loan Center 
Appraisal Fee Schedule, as the fee schedule is updated from time-to-
time. 
 
R162-2e-305.  Employee Requirements. 
 (1)  An AMC seeking registration shall demonstrate to the 
division that each person who selects an appraiser or conducts an 
appraisal review [reviews an appraiser's work ]for the AMC: 
 (a)  is a licensed or certified appraiser in good standing; or 
 (b)  has taken and passed a minimum of a four-hour USPAP 
instructive course.[the 15-hour national USPAP course.] 
 (2)  An AMC seeking renewal of the company's registration 
shall demonstrate to the division that each person who selects an 
appraiser or conducts an appraisal review [reviews an appraiser's 
work ]for the AMC: 
 (a)  is a licensed or certified appraiser in good standing; or 
 (b)  has taken and passed a minimum of a four-hour USPAP 
instructive [completed the seven-hour national USPAP update 
]course. 
 
R162-2e-401.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 (1)  An entity that is registered or required to be registered 
with the division as an AMC pursuant to Section 61-2e-201 commits 
unprofessional conduct if the entity: 
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 (a)  requires an appraiser to modify any aspect of the 
appraisal report, unless the modification complies with Section 61-
2e-307; 
 (b)  unless first prohibited by the client or applicable law, 
prohibits or inhibits an appraiser from contacting: 
 (i)  the client; 
 (ii)  a person licensed under Title 61, Chapter 2c, Utah 
Residential Mortgage Practices and Licensing Act, or Title 61, 
Chapter 2f, Real Estate Licensing and Practices Act[Section 61-2c or 
Section 61-2f]; or 
 (iii)  any other person with whom the appraiser reasonably 
needs to communicate [in order ]to obtain information necessary to 
complete a credible appraisal report; 
 (c)  requires the appraiser to do anything that does not 
comply with: 
 (i)  USPAP; or 
 (ii)  assignment conditions and certifications required by 
the client; 
 (d)  makes any portion of the appraiser's fee or the AMC's 
fee contingent on a favorable outcome, including[ but not limited to]: 
 (i)  a loan closing; or 
 (ii)  a specific dollar amount being achieved by the 
appraiser in the appraisal report; 
 (e)  requests, for[ the purpose of] facilitating a mortgage 
loan transaction:[,] 
 (i)  a broker price opinion; or 
 (ii)  any other real property price or value estimation that 
does not qualify as an appraisal; 
 (f)  charges an appraiser: 
 (i)  for a service not [actually ]performed; or 
 (ii)  for a fee or cost that: 
 (A)  is not accurately disclosed pursuant to Subsection 
R162-2e-304(1)(a)(ii); or 
 (B)  exceeds the [actual ]cost of a service provided by a 
third-party[third party]; 
 (g)  fails to pay the appraiser's fee within 45 days of 
completion of the appraisal assignment; 
 (h)  uses or retains an employee to complete an appraisal 
assignment without first disclosing to the client that the appraiser is 
an employee of the company, such that the company is acting in the 
capacity of an appraisal firm rather than as an AMC pursuant to [Utah 
Code ]Subsection 61-2e-102(4); or 
 (i)  when acting in the capacity of an AMC pursuant to 
[Utah Code ]Subsection 61-2e-102(4), uses or retains an employee 
appraiser to complete an appraisal assignment. 
 (2)  An AMC commits unprofessional conduct and creates 
a violation by the appraiser of Subsection R162-2g-502b(1)(f) if the 
AMC requires the appraiser to: 
 (a)  accept full payment; and 
 (b)  remit a portion of the full payment back to the AMC. 
 (3)  For purposes of applying Subsection (1)(g), an 
appraiser who completes an assignment is considered to be an 
employee of the AMC that offers the assignment if: 
 (a)  Subsection R162-2e-102(9)(a)(i) describes the 
employment relationship between the appraiser and the AMC; or 
 (b)  pursuant to Subsection R162-2e-102(9)(a)(ii), the 
appraiser is an employee of a company: 
 (i)  that is wholly owned by the AMC; or 
 (ii)  in which the AMC owns a controlling interest. 
 

KEY:  administrative proceedings, appraisal management 
company (AMC), conduct, AMC registry fee 
Date of Last Change:  2024[December 12, 2018] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 15, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  61-2e-
102(4); 61-2e-103; 61-2e-307; 61-2e-305; 61-2e-402(1) 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R653-13 Filing ID:  
56335 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Natural Resources 
Agency: Water Resources 
Room number: 310 
Building: Natural Resources Building 
Street address: 1594 W North Temple, Suite 310 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 146201 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6201 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carly Payne 801-

538-
7235 

carlypayne@utah.gov 

Marisa Egbert 801-
538-
7252 

marisaegbert@utah.gov 

Elizabeth Harris 385-
395-
0857 

eharris@agutah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R653-13.  Acquisition and Disposal of Real Property 
Interests 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Section 79-2-403 requires agencies within the Department 
of Natural Resources that buy, sell, or exchange real 
property to enact rules to ensure that the value of the real 
property is congruent with the proposed price and other 
terms of the purchase, sale, or exchange. 
 
This proposed rule is to comply with the requirements of 
that statute. 
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4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule establishes that the Division of Water Resources 
(Division) may determine the fair market value of real 
property from a broker price opinion, a market analysis, or 
an appraisal. 
 
It also identifies specific situations where these methods 
would not be required to establish the value. 
 
Finally, this rule provides that in cases where the Division 
considers factors other than the monetary value in 
acquiring or disposing of property, the Division shall 
document the factors considered and the rationale for the 
purchase or sale. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The Division is expected to incur a small cost per property 
valued associated with this rule where the Division elects 
to obtain an appraisal to determine value, a cost that is 
contemplated by the statute directing the Division to 
establish this rule. 
 
The exact amount cannot be estimated because it is 
unknown how many properties will need to be valued over 
the life of the rule. 
 
However, the cost to appraise a property is expected to be 
small, and would have a nominal affect on the state or 
agency budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule will not have a financial impact on local 
governments. 
 
This rule only affects how the Division values and disposes 
of real property interests. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule will not have a financial impact on small 
businesses. 
 
This rule only affects how the Division values and disposes 
of real property interests. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule will not have a financial impact on non-small 
businesses. 
 
This rule only affects how the Division values and disposes 
of real property interests. 
 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
No anticipated impacts to others different than to local 
governments and small businesses, see previous 
responses above. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The Division is expected to incur a small cost per property 
valued associated with this rule where the Division elects 
to obtain an appraisal to determine value, a cost that is 
contemplated by the statute directing the Division to 
establish this rule. 
 
The exact amount cannot be estimated because it is 
unknown how many properties will need to be valued over 
the life of this rule. 
 
However, the cost to appraise a property is expected to be 
small and would have a nominal affect on the state or 
agency budget. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 
Resources, Joel Ferry, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 79-2-403   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

04/22/20214 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Candice 
Hasenyager, 
Director 

Date: 01/17/2024 

 
R653.  Natural Resources, Water Resources. 
R653-13.  Acquisition and Disposal of Real Property Interests. 
R653-13-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule is made pursuant to Section 79-2-403. 
 (2)(a)  The division may acquire real property or an interest 
in real property through any legal means, as provided by law,  to 
fulfill its mission and legislative mandates. 
 (b)  If the division determines that any real property or 
interest in real property is no longer necessary for the purpose for 
which it was acquired, the division may lease, sell, exchange, or 
otherwise dispose of the real property or interest in real property. 
 (3)  When acquiring or disposing of real property or an 
interest in real property, the division shall consider and weigh the 
various economic and social values associated with the subject 
property in an effort to maintain a level of congruency between the 
compensation for the subject property and its values. 
 

R653-13-2.  Definitions. 
 For purposes of this rule: 
 (1)  "Appraisal" means an unbiased analysis, opinion, or 
conclusion, prepared by a state-certified general appraiser, that 
estimates the monetary market value of an identified parcel of real 
estate or identified real property interest at a particular point in time. 
 (2)  "Broker price opinion" means an unbiased estimate of 
value of real property or an interest in real property prepared by a 
state-licensed real estate broker. 
 (3)  "Division" means the Division of Water Resources 
or the Board of Water Resources. 
 (4)  "Director" means the Director of the Division of 
Water Resources. 
 (5)  "Value" means an opinion of the worth of an identified 
parcel of real property or interest therein at a specific time and may 
be comprised of one or more of the following values: assessed value, 
insurable value, use value, investment value, going-concern value, 
business enterprise value, market value, and public interest value. 
 
R653-13-3.  Obtaining an Opinion of Value. 
 (1)  When purchasing or disposing of real property or an 
interest in real property, except as provided in Subsection (2), the 
division may determine the value using one or more of the following 
methods: 
 (a)  a broker price opinion; 
 (b)  a market analysis, which may include an appraisal, a 
broker price opinion, market conditions analysis, or market demand 
analysis; or 
 (c)  an appraisal. 
 (2)  A broker price opinion, market analysis, or appraisal 
may not be required if: 
 (a)  the transaction involves a water right; 
 (b)  the division estimates the market value of the subject 
property is less than $100,000; 
 (c)  the asking price for the real property is considerably 
below prevailing market conditions, as estimated by the division; 
 (d)  the asking price for the real property is reasonably in 
line with prevailing market values and conditions, but the division 
will lose the opportunity to purchase the property if time is taken to 
conduct a broker price opinion, market analysis, or appraisal 
beforemaking an offer; 
 (e)  an appraisal has been conducted on the subject property 
interest within the past 12 months; 
 (f)  the real property interest will be transferred to or 
exchanged with another state agency or political subdivision and that 
agency or political subdivision will use the property for a public 
purpose; 
 (g)  the real property is being conveyed through an auction; 
 (h)  the real property interest is a right-of-way, easement, 
lease, or other less-than-fee interest that is not perpetual; or 
 (i)  where the director has determined, through a written 
finding, that the cost of obtaining the broker price opinion, market 
analysis, or appraisal is not justified or in the best interest of the state. 
 (3)  When values other than monetary market value are 
considered in addition to or in place of a broker price opinion, market 
analysis, or appraisal, the division shall create and keep a memo-to-
file describing: 
 (a)  the division's consideration of said values; 
 (b)  the division's rationale in said consideration relative to 
the proposed price and other terms of the purchase, sale, or exchange; 
and 
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 (c)  the acquisition or disposal decision made by the 
division. 
 (4)  Nothing in this rule shall be construed as requiring the 
division when selling or disposing of real property or an interest in 
real property to solicit bids, advertise its interest in selling, or 
otherwise use a competitive solicitation process for finding potential 
buyers. 

 
KEY:  acquisition and disposal of real property interests 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  79-2-403 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive comment that requires the 
PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency to respond 
to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
While the law does not designate a comment period for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, it does provide for a 30-day 
waiting period.  An agency may accept additional comments during this period and, at its option, may designate a 
comment period or may hold a public hearing.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published 
in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends April 15, 2024. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only those 
changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  Additions 
made to the rule appear underlined (example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with brackets 
surrounding them ([example]).  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text, 
either whole sections or subsections, was removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to 
print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print 
is available from the agency or from the Office of Administrative Rules. 
 
From the end of the 30-day waiting period through July 15, 2024, an agency may notify the Office of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE 
DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE becomes 
the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor more than 120 
days after the publication date of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE.  If the agency designates a public comment period, 
the effective date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more 
than 120 days after the publication date.  Alternatively, the agency may file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in 
response to additional comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE by the end of the 120-day period after publication, the CHANGE 
IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-303, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, 
R15-4-5b, R15-4-7, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page 
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NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R58-11 Filing ID: 56256 

Date of Previous 
Publication: 

01/01/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Animal Industry 
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kelly Pehrson 801-

982-
2200 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Amber Brown 385-
245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Leann Hunting 385-
977-
2158 

leannhunting@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R58-11.  Slaughter of Livestock and Poultry 
 
3.  Reason for this change: 
The agency is removing the term "fixed" from this rule to 
allow establishments to utilize mobile slaughter units. 
 
4.  Summary of this change: 

Since the publication of this rule change, the Department 
of Agriculture and Food (Department) has received public 
comment from various agricultural producers arguing that 
the requirement to operate 20,000 bird exempt facilities in 
a fixed establishment is unduly burdensome. 
 
The Department previously felt that 20,000 bird exempt 
producers could not satisfy federally mandated sanitation 
requirements without a fixed facility, however, has 
reconsidered this position.  This change in the proposed 

rule removes the term "fixed establishment" in Subsection 
R58-11-8(4). 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The original proposed amendment 
upon which this change in proposed rule (CPR) was based 
was published in the January 1, 2024, issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin, on page 9.  Underlining in the rule below 
indicates text that has been added since the publication of 
the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates 
text that has been deleted.  You must view the CPR and 
the proposed amendment together to understand all of the 
changes that will be enforceable should the agency make 
this rule effective.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or expense to the state budget 
because the Department's costs associated with 
enforcement of this rule will not change. 
 
The Department will continue to educate federally exempt 
producers to help them achieve compliance with this rule. 
 
B)  Local government: 
Local governments will not be impacted because local 
governments are not involved in slaughter or inspection of 
slaughter facilities. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses will not be impacted.  Compliance costs 
will remain the same. 
 
Processors that were previously unable to process over 
1,000 birds without a fixed facility will be able to process 
additional birds. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses will not be impacted.  Compliance 
costs will remain the same. 
 
Processors that were previously unable to process over 
1,000 birds without a fixed facility will be able to process 
additional birds. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, or state or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
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Other persons will not be impacted because they do not 
operate as poultry processors. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons: 
There are no changes in compliance costs for affected 
persons. 
 
The updated rule does not impact the compliance 
requirements of this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table.  Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-32-109(1) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

04/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY become 
effective on:  

04/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 02/16/2024 

 
R58.  Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry. 
R58-11.  Slaughter of Livestock and Poultry. 
R58-11-1.  Authority. 
 Promulgated under authority of Section 4-32-109. 
 
R58-11-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Adulterated" means the same as defined in Subsection 
4-32-105(1). 
 (2)  "Bill of Sale for Hides" means a hide release or other 
formal means of transferring the title of a hide. 
 (3)  "Business" means an individual or organization 
receiving remuneration for a service. 
 (4)  "Commerce" means the exchange transportation of 
poultry products between states and U.S. territories, including Guam, 
the Virgin Islands of the United States, American Samoa, and the 
District of Columbia. 
 (5)  "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of 
Agriculture or their designee. 
 (6)  "Custom Slaughter-Release Permit" means a permit 
that serves as a Brand Inspection Certificate and allows an animal 
owner to have their animal farm custom slaughtered. 
 (7)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (8)  "Detain or Embargo" means the holding of a food or 
food product for legal verification of adulteration, misbranding, or 
proof of ownership. 
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 (9)  "Farm Custom Slaughtering" means the slaughtering, 
skinning, and preparing of livestock and poultry by humane means 
for human consumption that is done at a place other than a licensed 
slaughtering house by a person who is not the animal owner. 
 (10)  "Food" means a product intended for human 
consumption. 
 (11)  "Immediate Family" means persons and their sons and 
daughters living together in a single dwelling unit. 
 (12)  "License" means a license issued by the Utah 
Department of Agriculture and Food to allow farm custom 
slaughtering. 
 (13)  "Licensee" means a person with a valid Farm Custom 
Slaughtering License. 
 (14)  "Misbranded" means the same as defined in 
Subsection 4-32-105(27). 
 (15)  "Official establishment" means an establishment at 
which inspection of the slaughter of animals, or the preparation of 
meat or poultry products is maintained under the authority of Chapter 
4-32, Utah Meat and Poultry Products Inspection and Licensing Act. 
 (16)  "Owner" means a person holding legal title to an 
animal. 
 
R58-11-3.  Sanitation Standards. 
 (1)  Any person operating in an official establishment shall 
clean and sanitize food-contact surfaces and non-food-contact 
surfaces as frequently as necessary to prevent the creation of 
insanitary conditions and the adulteration of products. 
 (a)  Cleaning compounds, sanitizing agents, processing 
aids, and other chemicals used shall be safe and effective under the 
conditions of use. 
 (b)  Any chemicals used shall be used in a manner that will 
not adulterate products or create insanitary conditions. 
 (c)  Documentation substantiating the safety of a chemical's 
use in a food processing environment shall be made available to 
inspection program employees for review. 
 (d)  Product shall be protected from adulteration during 
processing, handling, storage, loading, unloading, and transportation. 
 (2)  Any person operating in an official establishment shall 
maintain grounds to prevent conditions that could lead to insanitary 
conditions or adulteration of product. 
 (a)  A pest management program shall be in place to prevent 
the harborage and breeding of pests on the grounds and within 
buildings. 
 (b)  The pest control program shall prevent product 
adulteration. 
 (c)(i)  The grounds shall be maintained to prevent the entry 
of rodents, insects, or animals into areas where there is product. 
 (ii)  Each opening leading to the outside or an area holding 
an inedible product shall have an effective closure that completely 
fills the opening. 
 (d)  Each area inside and outside shall be maintained to 
prevent harborage of rodents and insects. 
 (e)  Any pest control substance used shall be safe and 
effective under the conditions of use and may not be applied or stored 
in a manner that would result in the adulteration of product or the 
creation of insanitary conditions. 

 (3)  Any person operating in an official establishment shall 
ensure that each sewage and waste disposal system shall properly 
remove sewage and waste material such as feces, feathers, trash, 
garbage, and paper. 
 (a)  Sewage shall be disposed of into a sewage system 
separate from other drainage lines or through other means sufficient 
to prevent backup of sewage into areas where a product is processed, 
handled, or stored. 
 (b)  If the sewage disposal system is a private system 
requiring approval by a state or local health authority, a letter of 
approval from that authority to the inspector shall be provided upon 
request. 
 (4)  An official establishment shall supply running water 
that complies with the National Primary Drinking Water Regulations, 
40 CFR 141, at a suitable temperature and under pressure as needed, 
in any area where required for processing products; for cleaning 
rooms and equipment, utensils, and packaging materials; and for 
employee sanitary facilities. 
 (a)  If a municipal water supply is used, the supplier shall 
provide a water report, issued under the authority of the state or local 
health agency, certifying or attesting to the potability of the water 
supply, and make the information available to the inspector, upon 
request. 
 (b)  An official establishment using a private well shall 
document at least semi-annually, the potability of the water supply 
and make the documentation available to the inspector upon request. 
 (5)  Each official establishment shall be maintained during 
slaughtering and processing in a manner to ensure the production of 
wholesome, unadulterated products. 
 (6)(a)  Dressing rooms, toilet rooms, and urinals shall be 
sufficient in number, ample in size, conveniently located, and 
maintained in a sanitary condition and in good repair to ensure the 
cleanliness of any person handling any product. 
 (b)  Dressing rooms, lavatories, and toilets shall be separate 
from the rooms and compartments where products are processed, 
stored, or handled. 
 (7)  Any person operating in an official establishment shall 
handle and maintain inedible material to prevent the diversion of 
inedible animal products into human food channels and prevent the 
adulteration of human food. 
 
R58-11-4.  Farm Custom Slaughtering License. 
 (1)  Anyone who desires to do farm custom slaughtering 
shall apply for a Farm Custom Slaughtering License. 
 (2)(a)  An application for a Farm Custom Slaughtering 
License shall be on a form provided by the department. 
 (b)  The application shall show: 
 (a)  the name, address, and telephone number of the owner 
of the facility; 
 (b)  the name, address, and telephone number of the 
operator if it is different than the owner; and 
 (c)  a brief description of the vehicle to be used and the 
license number. 
 (3)(a)  Farm Custom Slaughtering Licenses will be valid 
for the calendar year. 
 (b)  Each licensee will be required to re-apply for a license 
each calendar year. 
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 (c)  Any change of ownership or vehicle license will require 
a person to file a new application with the department. 
 (4)  The department will not recognize a Farm Custom 
Slaughtering Licensure as complete until the applicant has 
demonstrated the ability to slaughter and has completed and signed 
the license application form. 
 (5)  An applicant shall pay the applicable fee, as set forth in 
the fee schedule approved by the Legislature, before the department 
issues the license[ issuance]. 
 
R58-11-5.  Equipment and Sanitation Requirements. 
 (1)  Any vehicle or unit used for farm custom slaughtering 
shall be maintained consistent with the sanitation standards in 
Section R58-11-3. 
 (2)(a)  Any vehicle or unit shall incorporate a tripod or rail 
that can lift a carcass to a height that enables the carcass to clear the 
ground for bleeding and evisceration. 
 (b)  Any hook, gamble, or rack used to hoist and eviscerate 
animals shall be of easily cleanable metal construction. 
 (3)(a)  Knives, scabbards, saws, and other equipment shall 
be made of rust resistant metal or other impervious, easily cleanable 
material. 
 (b)  A clean, dust proof container shall be used to transport 
and store each instrument and utensil used in slaughtering animals. 
 (4)(a)  A water tank shall be an integral part of the unit or 
vehicle. 
 (b)  The water tank shall be of approved construction with 
a minimum capacity of 40 gallons. 
 (c)  A licensee shall maintain each water system according 
to sanitary standards and use only potable water. 
 (5)  A licensee shall fill a sanitation tank large enough to 
allow complete immersion of each tool used for slaughtering during 
slaughter operations with potable water and maintained at a 
temperature of at least 180 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 (a)(i)  In lieu of 180 degrees Fahrenheit water, a licensee 
may use chemical sterilization with an approved chemical agent after 
thoroughly cleaning the equipment. 
 (ii)  Chloramine, hypochlorite, quaternary ammonium or 
other approved chemical compounds may be used for this purpose, 
and a concentration shall be maintained sufficient to disinfect each 
utensil. 
 (b)  Hot water, cleaning agents, and disinfectant shall be 
available if chemicals are used in lieu of 180 degrees Fahrenheit 
water. 
 (6)  Cleaning agents and paper towels shall be available so 
any person can clean their hands and equipment as needed. 
 (7)  Any apron, frock, or other outer clothing worn by a 
person who handles meat shall be clean and of material that is easily 
cleanable. 
 (8)  Pursuant to 9 CFR 325.13, any licensee may denature 
inedible product and offal with either an approved denaturing agent 
or using pounch material as a natural denaturing agent. 
 (9)  When a licensee transports uninspected meat to an 
establishment for processing, they shall: 
 (a)  do so in a manner whereby the product will not be 
adulterated, misbranded, or mislabeled; 
 (b)  transport the meat in such a way that it is properly 
protected; and 

 (c)  deliver carcasses to be placed under refrigeration at or 
below 40 degrees Fahrenheit within one hour of slaughter. 
 ([i]10)  A licensee shall thoroughly clean each unit or 
vehicle after each daily use. 
 (11)  A licensee shall clean and sanitize any food-contact 
and non-food-contact surfaces of utensils and equipment as necessary 
to prevent the creation of insanitary conditions and the adulteration 
of carcasses and parts. 
 (12)  A licensee shall protect carcasses from adulteration 
during processing, handling, storage, loading, unloading, and 
transportation to processing establishments. 
 (13)  A licensee shall clean and sanitize knives, scabbards, 
saws, and other food-contact surfaces before slaughter and as needed 
to prevent adulteration. 
 (14)  A licensee shall clean and sanitize equipment after 
each slaughter and immediately before each slaughter. 
 (15)  A licensee shall place and properly denature inedible 
in designated containers.  The inedible containers shall be: 
 (i)  marked "Inedible Not For Human Consumption" in 
letters not less than 4 inches in height; and 
 (ii)  kept clean and properly separated from edible carcasses 
to prevent adulteration. 
 (16)  A licensee shall take adequate care to prevent 
contamination of the carcasses from fecal material, ingesta, milk, 
perspiration, hair, cosmetics, medication, and similar substances. 
 (17)  Outer clothing a licensee wears while handling 
exposed carcasses shall be clean. 
 (18)  A licensee with a communicable disease, who is a 
disease carrier, or who infected with boils, infected wounds, sores, or 
an acute respiratory infection may not participate in livestock 
slaughtering. 
 (19)  A licensee shall use the hand wash facilities as needed 
to maintain good personal hygiene. 
 
R58-11-6.  Slaughtering Procedures of Livestock. 
 (1)  Slaughtering may not take place under adverse 
conditions such as blowing dirt, dust, or mud. 
 (2)  If a licensee uses a slaughter area for repeated kills, the 
licensee shall maintain the area to prevent blood from collecting, 
running off onto adjacent property, or contaminating a water source. 
 (3)  A licensee shall remove and dispose of any hides, 
viscera, blood, pounch material, and tissue at a rendering facility, 
landfill, composting, or burial as allowed by law. 
 (4)  A licensee shall make each animal insensible to pain by 
a single blow, gunshot, electrical shock, or other means that is 
instantaneous and effective before the animal is shackled, hoisted, 
thrown, cast, or cut. 
 (5)(a)  A licensee shall hoist and bleed each animal as soon 
after stunning as possible to utilize post-stunning heart action and to 
obtain complete bleeding. 
 (b)  A licensee shall move carcasses away from the bleeding 
area for skinning and butchering. 
 (6)  A licensee shall: 
 (a)  handle the carcass and head skin without contaminating 
the neck tissue by leaving the ears on the hide and tying the head skin; 
 (b)  remove the feet before the carcass is otherwise cut; 
 (c)  except for skinning and starting skinning procedures, 
cut the skin from the inside outward to prevent carcass contamination 
with cut hair; and 
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 (d)  carefully roll or reflect away the hair side of the hide 
from the carcass during skinning[-] when the carcass is moved from 
the skinning bed, caution should be taken to prevent exposed parts 
from contacting adulterating surfaces. 
 (7)(a)  Before evisceration, a licensee shall tie the rectum, 
including the bladder neck, to prevent urine and fecal leakage. 
 (b)  A licensee shall take care while opening abdominal 
cavities to prevent carcass or viscera contamination. 
 (8)(a)  A licensee shall trim hair, dirt, and other accidental 
contamination before washing. 
 (b)  Washing should proceed from the carcass top 
downward to remove any possible contaminants from clean areas. 
 (9)  Emergency slaughter does not include the slaughter of 
non-ambulatory injured cattle.  For this rule, the department does not 
allow non-ambulatory disabled cattle that cannot rise from a 
recumbent position or cannot walk, including, those with broken 
appendages, severed tendons or ligaments, nerve paralysis, fractured 
vertebral column, or metabolic conditions to be slaughtered for food. 
 
R58-11-7.  Identification and Records. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Section 4-24-304, it shall be unlawful for 
any licensee to slaughter livestock that does not have a Brand 
Inspection Certificate or Farm Custom Slaughter Tag filled out at the 
time of slaughter. 
 (a)  Animal owners shall have a Brand Inspection 
Certificate for livestock intended to be farm custom slaughtered, 
issued by a department Brand Inspector before slaughter, and shall 
pay the legal brand inspection fee and beef promotion fee.  This is 
accomplished by the animal owner contacting a department Brand 
Inspector and obtaining a Brand Inspection Certificate, and a Custom 
Slaughter-Release Permit. 
 (b)(i)  Animal owners shall obtain Farm Custom slaughter 
identification tags from a department Brand Inspector for a fee of $1 
each. 
 (ii)  The department requires these tags on beef, pork, and 
sheep. 
 (2)(a)  The Custom Slaughter-Release Permit or Farm 
Custom Slaughter Tag shall include an affidavit with a signed 
statement that reads: "I hereby certify ownership of this animal to be 
slaughtered by ('insert name').  I fully understand that having my 
animal farm custom slaughtered means my animal will not receive 
meat inspection and is for my use, the use of my immediate family, 
non-paying guests, or full-time employees.  The carcass will be 
stamped "NOT FOR SALE" and will not be sold." 
 (b)  In addition to this affidavit, the owner or designee will 
record the following information: 
 (i)  date; 
 (ii)  owner's name, address, and telephone number; 
 (iii)  animal description, including brands and marks; 
 (iv)  Farm Custom Slaughter Tag number; 
 (v)  location of slaughter; 
 (vi)  name of licensee; 
 (vii)  licensee permit number; and 
 (viii)  carcass destination. 
 (3)  Before slaughter, the licensee shall prepare the Farm 
Custom Slaughter Tag with complete and accurate information. 
 (a)  One tag shall stay in the license holder's file for at least 
one year. 

 (b)  One tag plus a copy of the Farm Custom Slaughter-
Release Permit shall be sent to the department by the 10th of each 
month for the preceding month's slaughter by the licensee. 
 (4)  After slaughter, any licensee shall stamp the carcasses 
"NOT FOR SALE" on each quarter with letters at least 3/8" in height; 
and affix a Farm Custom Slaughter "NOT FOR SALE" tag to each 
quarter of beef and each half of pork and sheep. 
 (5)  A licensee receiving hides for slaughtering services 
shall obtain a copy of the Custom Slaughter-Release Permit to record 
the transfer of ownership, pursuant to Section 4-24-18. 
 
R58-11-8.  Poultry Slaughter. 
 (1)(a)  Personal Use Exemption. 
 (b)  A person who raises poultry may slaughter or process 
the poultry under a personal use exemption if: 
 (i)  local ordinances do not prohibit slaughtering or 
processing poultry; 
 (ii)  the person or the person's immediate family, regular 
employees of the person, or non-paying guests exclusively consume 
the poultry product derived from the slaughtered poultry; 
 (iii)  only the owner or an employee performs the 
slaughtering or processing of the poultry; 
 (iv)  the poultry is healthy when slaughtered; 
 (v)  the exempt poultry is not sold or donated for use as 
human food; and 
 (vi)  the immediate container bears the statement, "NOT 
FOR SALE". 
 (2)(a)  Farm Custom Slaughter and Processing. 
 (b)  Per Subsections 4-32-105(10) and 4-32-105(11)(a), a 
person may slaughter or process poultry belonging to another person 
if: 
 (i)  local ordinances do not prohibit slaughtering or 
processing poultry; 
 (i)  the person does not engage in the business of buying or 
selling poultry products capable of use as human food; 
 (iii)  the poultry is healthy when slaughtered; 
 (iv)  the person conducts the slaughtering or processing in 
accordance with sanitation standards that produce poultry product 
that is sound, clean, and fit for human food; 
 (v)  the person using a unit or vehicle for farm custom 
slaughtering constructs the unit or vehicle to permit maintenance 
according to sanitation standards; and 
 (vi)  the immediate container bears the following 
information: 
 (A)  the owner's name and address; 
 (B)  the licensee's name and address; and 
 (C)  the statement, "NOT FOR SALE". 
 (3)(a)  Producer or Grower 1,000 Bird Limit Exemption. 
 (b)  A poultry producer or grower may slaughter no more 
than 1,000 birds of their raising in a calendar year for distribution as 
human food if: 
 (i)  the poultry producer or grower does not engage in 
buying or selling poultry products other than products produced from 
poultry raised on their own farm, including  rented or leased property; 
 (ii)  the producer or grower slaughters or processes under 
the sanitation standards capable of producing poultry products that 
are sound, clean, fit for human food, and not adulterated; 
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 (iii)  the producer or grower keeps slaughter records and 
records covering the sales of poultry products to customers for the 
current calendar year; 
 (iv)  the poultry products do not move in commerce; and 
 (v)  as required by the U.S. Public Health Service, Food and 
Drug Administration, Food Code 2013, incorporated by the 
department in Section R70-530-3, the immediate container bears the 
following information: 
 (A)  name of product; and 
 (B)  name and place of business of the processor; and 
 (vi)  the immediate container bears the statement "Exempt 
R58-11-8(3)." 
 (b)  The department shall maintain a registry of persons 
who slaughter or process fewer than 1,000 poultry during the 
calendar year. 
 (4)(a)  Producer or Grower 20,000 Bird Limit Exemption. 
 (b)  A poultry producer or grower may slaughter no more 
than 20,000 healthy birds of their raising in a calendar year for 
distribution as human food if: 
 (i)  the poultry producer or grower does not engage in 
buying or selling poultry products other than that produced from 
poultry raised on their own farm, including  rented or leased property; 
 (ii)  the poultry producer or grower slaughters or processes 
[in a fixed establishment and ]in accordance with sanitation standards 
that produce poultry product that is sound, clean, and fit for human 
food; 
 (iii)  the producer or grower keeps slaughter records and 
records covering the sales of poultry products to customers for the 
current calendar year; 
 (iv)  the poultry product does not move in commerce, as 
defined in 9 CFR 381.1; and 
 (v)  the immediate container bears the following 
information: 
 (A)  name of product; 
 (B)  name and address of the processor; 
 and 
 (C)  the statement "Exempt R58-11-8(4)." 
 ([b]c)  The department shall maintain a registry of persons 
who slaughter or process fewer than 20,000 poultry during the 
calendar year. 
 (5)(a)  Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption. 
 (b)  The term "Producer or Grower or Other Person" in this 
section means a single entity, that may be: 
 (i)  a poultry grower who slaughters and processes poultry 
raised for sale directly to household consumers, restaurants, hotels, 
and boarding houses to be used in homes and dining rooms to prepare 
meals served or sold directly to customers; or 
 (ii)  a person who purchases live poultry from a grower and 
then slaughters these poultry and processes poultry for sale direct to 
household consumers, restaurants, hotels, and boarding houses to be 
served in those homes or dining rooms to prepare meals sold directly 
to customers. 
 (c)  A business may slaughter and process poultry under this 
exemption if; 
 (i)  local ordinances do not prohibit slaughtering or 
processing poultry; 
 (ii)  the producer or grower or other person slaughters for 
processing and sale direct to household consumers, restaurants, 

hotels, and boarding houses for use in dining rooms or the preparation 
of meals sold directly to customers; 
 (iii)  the producer or grower or other person slaughters no 
more than 20,000 birds in a calendar year that the producer or grower 
or other person raised or purchased; 
 (iv)  the producer or grower or other person does not engage 
in the business of buying or selling poultry or poultry products 
prepared under any other exemptions in the same calendar year they 
claim the Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption; 
 (v)  the poultry products do not move in commerce; 
 (vi)  distribution is directly to household consumers, 
restaurants, hotels, and boarding houses for use in their dining rooms 
or in the preparation of meals sold directly to consumers within the 
jurisdiction where it is prepared; 
 (vii)  the business slaughters or processes in a fixed 
establishment and in accordance with sanitation standards that 
produce poultry products that are sound, clean, and fit for human 
food; 
 (viii)  the producer keeps slaughter records and records 
covering the sales of poultry products to customers for the current 
calendar year; and 
 (ix)  the immediate containers bear the following 
information: 
 (A)  name of product; 
 (B)  ingredients statement if applicable; 
 (C)  net weights statement; 
 (D)  name and address of the processor; 
 (E)  safe food handling statement; 
 (F)  date of the package or Lot number; and 
 (G)  the statement "Exempt R58-11-8(5)". 
 (d)  A business preparing poultry products under the 
Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption may not slaughter, 
or process poultry owned by another person. 
 (e)  A business preparing poultry products under the 
Producer or Grower or Other Person Exemption may not sell poultry 
products to a retail store or other producer or grower. 
 (6)(a)  Small Enterprise Exemption. 
 (b)  A business that qualifies for the Small Enterprise 
Exemption may be: 
 (i)  a producer or grower who raises, slaughters, and dresses 
poultry for use as human food whose processing of dressed exempt 
poultry is limited to cutting up; 
 (ii)  a business that purchases live poultry that it slaughters 
and limits the processing of the slaughtered poultry to the cutting up; 
or 
 (iii)  a business that purchases dressed poultry that it 
distributes as carcasses and limits processing to the cutting up of 
inspected or exempted poultry products for distribution for use as 
human food. 
 (c)  A business may slaughter, dress, and cut up poultry for 
distribution as human food if: 
 (i)  local ordinances do not prohibit slaughtering or 
processing poultry; 
 (ii)  the business limits the processing of federal or state 
inspected, or exempt poultry products to the cutting up of carcasses 
or the business slaughters and dresses or cuts up no more than 20,000 
birds in a calendar year; 
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 (iii)  the business slaughters or processes in a fixed 
establishment and in accordance with sanitation standards that 
produce poultry product that is sound, clean, and fit for human food; 
 (iv)  the facility is not used to slaughter or process another 
person's poultry; and 
 (v)  the immediate containers bear the following 
information: 
 (A)  name of product; 
 (B)  ingredients statement if applicable; 
 (C)  net weights statement; 
 (D)  name and address of processor; 
 (E)  safe food handling statement; 
 (F)  date of package or Lot number, and; 
 (G)  the statement "Exempt R58-11-8(6)." 
 (d)  A business may not cut up and distribute poultry 
products produced under the Small Enterprise Exemption to a 
business operating under the following exemptions: 
 (i)  Producer or Grower or PGOP Exemption; 
 (ii)  Retail Dealer; or 
 (iii)  Retail Store. 
 
R58-11-9.  Producer and Grower Sharing a Fixed Facility. 
 (1)  Each producer or grower shall comply with the laws 
and regulations governing establishments as set forth in Title 4, 
Chapter 32, Utah Meat and Poultry and Poultry Products Inspection 
and Licensing Act, this rule, the United States Department of 
Agriculture Poultry Exemptions, and federal regulations that apply. 
 (2)(a)  Each producer or grower shall notify the department 
five business days before slaughtering and processing. 
 (b)  The individual shall provide the department with the 
following information pertaining to the slaughtering and processing 
of birds: 
 (i)  the date; 
 (ii)  the time; and 
 (iii)  the location. 
 (3)  The producer or grower shall: 
 (a)  conduct a pre-operational inspection on any food-
contact surfaces; 
 (b)  document the findings of the pre-operational inspection 
and corrective actions pursuant to 9 CFR 416.12(a) and 416.15 before 
the commencement of operations; 
 (c)  maintain records for at least one year and have them 
available for inspection by department officials; 
 (d)  fully label the product in accordance with this rule 
before leaving the facility; 
 (e)  maintain the product temperature at 40 degrees F or less 
during transport; and 
 (f)  keep a written recall plan pursuant to 9 CFR 418 and 
have it available for inspection by department officials. 
 (4)  Producers or growers may not process on the same day 
as any other producer or grower. 
 

R58-11-10.  Enforcement Procedures. 
 (1)  It is unlawful for any person to slaughter or assist in 
slaughtering livestock and poultry as a business outside of a licensed 
slaughterhouse unless they hold a valid Farm Custom Slaughtering 
License issued by the department. 
 (2)  Only persons who comply with Title 4, Chapter 32, 
Utah Meat and Poultry Products Inspection and Licensing Act and 
associated rules, and Title 4, Chapter 24, Utah Livestock Brand and 
Anti-Theft Act, shall be entitled to receive and retain a license. 
 (3)  A license may be renewed annually and shall expire on 
the 31st of December of each year. 
 (4)  A license may be suspended when: 
 (a)  the department has reason to believe that an eminent 
public health hazard exists; 
 (b)  insanitary conditions are such that carcasses would be 
made adulterated and or contaminated; 
 (c)  the license holder has interfered with the department in 
the performance of its duties; or 
 (d)  the licensee violates Title 4, Chapter 32, the Utah Meat 
and Poultry Products Inspection and Licensing Act or Title 4, Chapter 
24, Utah Livestock Brand and Anti-Theft Act or associated rules. 
 (5)(a)  The department may, pursuant to 9 CFR 500, 
suspend or terminate any exemption with respect to any person when 
the department finds that the action will aid in effectuating the 
purposes of the Act. 
 (b)  Failure to comply with the conditions of the exemption, 
including failure to process poultry and poultry products under 
sanitation standards, may result in termination of an exemption, in 
addition to other penalties consistent with 9 CFR 318.13. 
 (6)  When a violation may have occurred, the department 
may send a warning letter to the licensee that specifies the violations 
and affords the holder a reasonable opportunity to correct them. 
 (7)  When a licensee has been notified by the department 
that suspected violations have occurred or when the department 
suspends a license, the licensee may have an opportunity for a 
hearing to state their views before the department. 
 (8)(a)  Any person whose license has been suspended may 
apply for reinstatement. 
 (b)  The department may re-evaluate the applicant and 
conditions. 
 (c)  The department may reinstate the license if the 
applicant has demonstrated to the department that they will comply 
with the rules. 
 (9)  The department or detain or embargo any meat found 
in a food establishment that does not have the proper identification 
or any uninspected meat slaughtered by a licensee that does not meet 
the requirements of this rule may detained or embargo. 
 (10)  The department may denature or destroy meat 
determined to be unfit for human consumption. 
 
KEY:  food inspections, slaughter, livestock, poultry 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Notice of Continuation:  December 19, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-32-109 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R23-23 Filing ID: 55143 
Effective Date: 02/27/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Government Operations 
Agency: Facilities Construction and 

Management 
Room number: 3626 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, 3rd Floor 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mike Kelley 801-

957-
7239 

mkelley@agutah.gov 

Michelle Adams 801-
957-
7240 

michelledadams@agutah.go
v 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R23-23.  Health Reform -- Health Insurance Coverage in 
State Contracts -- Implementation 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsection 63A-5b-607(8) explicitly requires this rule with 
several other agencies to: 
1) establish the requirements and procedures a contractor 
and a subcontractor shall follow to demonstrate 
compliance with this section, including audits and 
penalties; and 
2) establish a website on which shall be posted the 
commercially equivalent benchmark for the qualified 
health coverage that is provided by the Department of 
Health and Human Services, in accordance with 
Subsection 26B-3-909(2). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received since the last 
five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Subsection 63A-5b-607(8) continues to require this rule.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agecy head  
or designee  
and title: 

James R. Russell,  
Director 

Date: 02/27/2024 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R384-100 Filing ID: 55895 
Effective Date: 02/22/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Population Health, Health Promotion 

and Prevention 
Room number: 227 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142107 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2107 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Marie Nagata 385-

465-
5949 

mnagata@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R384-100.  Cancer Reporting Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-1-202 and Title 26B, Chapter-227 authorize 
this rule. 
 
Through routine reporting of cancer cases, trends in 
cancer incidence and mortality can be monitored and 
prevention and control measure evaluated. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received supporting or opposing 
this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 

This Cancer Reporting Rule is adopted to specify the 
reporting requirements for cases of cancer, allowing for 
evaluation, and prevention efforts.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/22/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R384-200 Filing ID: 50897 
Effective Date: 02/22/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Population Health, Health Promotion 

and Prevention 
Room number: 227 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT  84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142107 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2107 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Marie Nagata 385-

465-
5949 

mnagata@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R384-200.  Cancer Control Program 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-7-227 requires the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) to establish and operate a 
reasonable program to prevent, delay, and detect the 
onset of chronic diseases, including cancer. 
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Sections 26B-1-202 and 26B-7-227 authorize this rule, 
which governs program eligibility, benefits, and 
administration for the Utah Cancer Control and BeWise 
Programs. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any comments 
supporting or opposing this rule since its last five-year 
review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Utah Cancer Control and BeWise Programs continue 
to receive funding to provide screening services to women 
in Utah and render specific data elements to fulfill part of 
the funding requirements.  Without continuation of this 
rule, those programs' eligibility, benefits, and 
administration would not be governed as required by 
statute.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
As there were no comments received in opposition to this 
rule, the Department did not respond to comments. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/22/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R384-203 Filing ID: 56021 
Effective Date: 02/20/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Population Health, Health Promotion 

and Prevention 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142106 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2106 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Gary Mower 385-

602-
4171 

gdmower@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R384-203.  Prescription Drug Database Access 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule establishes procedures and application 
processes pursuant to Subsection 58-37f-301(2)(f) for the 
Utah Department of Health and Human Services 
Executive Director to allow access to the Utah Controlled 
Substance Database by a designated and assigned 
person to conduct scientific studies regarding the use or 
abuse of controlled substances, who is not an employee 
of the Department of Health and Human Services. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received since the last five-year 
review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because the database is still in 
operation and researchers are still requesting data from it.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/20/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R432-7 Filing ID: 51050 
Effective Date: 02/23/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-7.  Specialty Hospital - Psychiatric Hospital 
Construction 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-2-202 authorizes the Office of Licensing 
(Office) to write and enforce rules to govern licensure of 
health care facilities in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review and no recommended substantive 
changes from the Health Care Facility Rule Committee. 
 
Aside from recodification and the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah compliance edits, there have been no comments or 
recommendations for changes to this rule over the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This five-year review filing is intended to ensure this rule 
remains in continual effect for statutory compliance. 
 
Statute requires the Office to write and enforce rules 
pertaining to the construction of psychiatric specialty 
hospitals.  This rule ensures there is no lapse in oversight 
of the construction requirements for psychiatric specialty 
hospitals.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/20/2024 

 
 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R432-8 Filing ID: 55382 
Effective Date: 02/23/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing  
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-8.  Specialty Hospital - Substance Use Disorder 
Construction 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-2-202 authorizes the Office of Licensing 
(Office) to write and enforce rules to govern licensure of 
health care facilities in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review and no recommended substantive 
changes from the Health Care Facility Rule Committee 
since the most recent activation of this rule. 
 
Aside from recodification and the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah compliance edits, there have been no comments or 
recommendations for changes to this rule over the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This five-year review filing is intended to ensure this rule 
remains in continual effect for statutory compliance. 
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Statute requires the Office to write and enforce rules 
pertaining to the construction of substance use disorder 
specialty hospitals.  This rule ensures there is no lapse in 
oversight of the construction requirements for substance 
use disorder specialty hospitals.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/20/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R432-9 Filing ID: 55932 
Effective Date: 02/23/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-9.  Specialty Hospital - Rehabilitation Construction 
Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-2-202 authorizes the Office of Licensing 
(Office) to write and enforce rules to govern licensure of 
health care facilities in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 

There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review and no recommended substantive 
changes from the Health Care Facility Rule Committee. 
 
Aside from recodification and the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah compliance edits, there have been no comments or 
recommendations for changes to this rule over the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This five-year review filing is intended to ensure this rule 
remains in continual effect for statutory compliance. 
 
Statute requires the Office to write and enforce rules 
pertaining to the construction of rehabilitation specialty 
hospitals.  This rule ensures there is no lapse in oversight 
of the construction requirements for rehabilitation specialty 
hospitals.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/20/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R432-10 Filing ID: 55122 
Effective Date: 02/23/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-10.  Specialty Hospital - Long-Term Acute Care 
Construction Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-2-202 authorizes the Office of Licensing 
(Office) to write and enforce rules to govern licensure of 
health care facilities in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review and no recommended substantive 
changes from the Health Care Facility Rule Committee. 
 
Aside from recodification and the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah compliance edits, there have been no comments or 
recommendations for changes to this rule over the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This five-year review filing is intended to ensure this rule 
remains in continual effect for statutory compliance. 
 
Statute requires the Office to write and enforce rules 
pertaining to the construction of long-term acute care 
specialty hospitals.  This rule ensures there is no lapse in 
oversight of the construction requirements for long-term 
acute care specialty hospitals.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/20/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R432-11 Filing ID: 55347 
Effective Date: 02/23/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-11.  Orthopedic Hospital Construction 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-2-202 authorizes the Office of Licensing 
(Office) to write and enforce rules to govern licensure of 
health care facilities in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review and no recommended substantive 
changes from the Health Care Facility Rule Committee 
since the most recent activation of this rule. 
 
Aside from recodification and the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah compliance edits, there have been no comments or 
recommendations for changes to this rule over the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This five-year review filing is intended to ensure this rule 
remains in continual effect for statutory compliance. 
 
Statute requires the Office to write and enforce rules 
pertaining to the construction of orthopedic specialty 
hospitals.  This rule ensures there is no lapse in oversight 
of the construction requirements for orthopedic specialty 
hospitals.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/20/2024 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R432-12 Filing ID: 55686 
Effective Date: 02/28/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing 
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-12.  Small Health Care Facility-4 to 16 Beds-
Construction Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-2-202 authorizes the Office of Licensing 
(Office) to write and enforce rules to govern licensure of 
health care facilities in Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review and no recommended substantive 
changes from the Health Care Facility Rule Committee. 
 
Aside from recodification and the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah compliance edits, there have been no comments or 
recommendations for changes to this rule over the past 
five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This five-year review filing is intended to ensure this rule 
remains in continual effect for statutory compliance. 
 

Statute requires the Office to write and enforce rules 
pertaining to the construction of small (4-16 bed) 
healthcare facilities.  This rule ensures there is no lapse in 
oversight of the construction requirements for  small (4-16 
bed) healthcare facilities.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/28/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R433-200 Filing ID: 55924 
Effective Date: 02/20/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Family Health, Maternal and Child 

Health 
Room number: 3032 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 

(MASOB) 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144610 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4610 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Nickee Andjelic 801-

273-
2869 

npalacios@utah.gov 

Alexis Weight 801-
273-
2956 

abweight@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R433-200.  Pharmacist Hormonal Contraception 
Dispensing Authority 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-4-505 authorizes this rule to establish a 
protocol required for standing prescription drug orders for 
a self-administered hormonal contraceptive. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received since the last five-year 
review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is essential as it defines the stakeholder 
requirements that are necessary for carrying out the 
statute.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) anticipates no amendments to this rule 
following the recent consolidation and recodification of the 
Department's statute. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/20/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R539-2 Filing ID: 55878 
Effective Date: 02/28/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Services for People with Disabilities 
Room number: 4th Floor 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 145145 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-5145 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Bruce Quaglia 435-

669-
4855 

bquaglia@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R539-2.  Service Coordination 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Subsections 26B-6-403(2)(b), 26B-6-403(2)(l), and 26B-6-
403(2)(q) authorize and establish the Division of Services 
for People with Disabilities' (Division) responsibilities for 
service coordination. 
 
This rule (specifically Section R539-2-4) operationalizes 
the needs assessment questionnaire that the Division is 
mandated by Subsection 26B-6-402(4)(a) to administer in 
rule.  The needs assessment questionnaire determines 
who will enter services from the waiting list based upon 
statutory categories of severity of disability, caregiver 
ability, time spent waiting, and urgency of need. 
 
Rule R539-2 further describes the process for how 
services are accessed once a person enters Division 
services, as mandated broadly by statute in Subsections 
26B-6-403(2)(b), 26B-6-403(2)(l), and 26B-6-403(2)(q). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments in support of or opposition 
to this rule since the last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary to establish standards and 
procedures for administration of the Division's service 
system, as required by statute.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 
As there were no comments received in opposition to this 
rule, the Department of Health and Human Services did 
not respond to comments. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/28/2024 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R784-1 Filing ID: 52004 
Effective Date: 02/16/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Agency: Salt Lake Community College 
Room number: 211 P 
Building: AAB 
Street address: 4600 S Redwood Road 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84123 

Contact persons:  
Name: Phone: Email: 
Jen Hughes 801-

957-
4637 

Jen.hughes@slcc.edu 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R784-1.  Government Records Access and Management 
Act Rules 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Subsection 63G-2-204(3) permits government entities to 
make rules that specify where and to whom requests for 
access shall be directed. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Salt Lake Community College has not received any written 
comments since the last five-year review either in support 
or opposition to this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is justified because Salt Lake Community College 
is a government entity that is subject to records requests 
under the Government Records Access and Management 
Act.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
As there were no comments received regarding this rule, 
no disagreements were made. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Chris Lacombe,  
General Counsel 

Date: 02/16/2024 

 
 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section



 

60 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 15, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 06 



 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 15, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 06 61 

NOTICES OF 
FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS 

 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Section 63G-3-305).  If the agency finds that it will not meet 
the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file a NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW 
EXTENSION (EXTENSION) with the Office of Administrative Rules.  The EXTENSION permits the agency to file the review 
up to 120 days beyond the anniversary date. 
 
Agencies have filed EXTENSIONS for the rules listed below.  The "Extended Due Date" is 120 days after the anniversary 
date. 
 
EXTENSIONS are governed by Subsection 63G-3-305(6). 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSION 
Rule Number: R448-10 Filing ID: 51116 
New Deadline  
Date: 

08/03/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Disease Control and Prevention, 

Medical Examiner 
Building: Utah Public Health Laboratory Phase 

2 
Street address: 4451 S 2700 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Erik Christensen,  
MD 

801-
816-
3850 

edchristensen@utah.gov 

Michael Staley,  
PhD 

801-
816-
3860 

mstaley@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R448-100.  Unattended Death and Reporting 
Requirements 
 
3.  Reason for requesting the extension: 
The Department of Health and Human Services is 
planning to repeal this rule entirely because the contents 
of this rule has been put into statute, rendering Rule R448-
10 redundant. 
 
However, the current expiration date would cause this rule 
to expire before the repeal has sufficient time to complete 
its mandatory public comment and public comment review 
period.  A five-year review extension would allow time for 
the repeal to be made effective and remove this rule 
through the proper process before this rule expires in a 
way that could cause confusion. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 02/27/2024 

 

 
End of the Notices of Five-Year Review Extensions Section 
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Animal Industry 
No.  56244  (Repeal and Reenact)  R58-7:  Livestock 
Markets, Satellite Video Livestock Auction Market, Livestock 
Sales, Dealers, and Livestock Market Weighpersons 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
Regulatory Services 
No.  56267  (Amendment)  R70-410:  Grading and Inspection 
of Small Shell Egg Producers 
Published:  01/15/2024 
Effective:  02/28/2024 
 
Capitol Preservation Board (State) 
Administration 
No.  56243  (Amendment)  R131-2:  Capitol Hill Complex 
Facility Use 
Published:  01/15/2024 
Effective:  02/21/2024 
 
 
Cultural and Community Engagement 
Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission 
No.  56203  (Amendment)  R457-1:  Pete Suazo Utah Athletic 
Commission Act Rule 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/20/2024 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  56284  (Amendment)  R277-100:  Definitions for Utah 
State Board of Education (Board) Rules 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/11/2024 
 
No.  56285  (New Rule)  R277-111:  Board Oversight 
Framework 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/11/2024 

No.  56286  (Amendment)  R277-114:  Corrective Action and 
Withdrawal or Reduction of Program Funds 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/11/2024 
 
No.  56287  (Amendment)  R277-304:  Teacher Preparation 
Programs 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/11/2024 
 
No.  56288  (Amendment)  R277-716:  Alternative Language 
Services for Utah Students 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/11/2024 
 
 
Health and Human Services 
Disease Control and Prevention, Immunization 
No.  56044  (Amendment)  R396-100:  Immunization Rule for 
Students 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/25/2024 
 
Data, Systems and Evaluation, Vital Records and Statistics 
No.  55963  (Amendment)  R436-8:  Authorization for Final 
Disposition of Deceased Persons 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
No.  55915  (Amendment)  R436-19:  Abortion Reporting 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
Utah Public Health Laboratory Environmental Lab 
Certification Program 
No.  56119  (Amendment)  R444-1:  Approval of Clinical 
Laboratories 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
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Ombudsman (Office of) 
No.  56065  (New Rule)  R500-1:  Processing Complaints 
Regarding the Utah Division of Child and Family Services 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
No.  56207  (New Rule)  R500-2:  Disabilities Ombudsman 
Program 
Published:  12/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
Aging and Adult Services 
No.  56063  (Amendment)  R510-302:  Adult Protective 
Services 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
Child Protection Ombudsman (Office of) 
No.  56066  (Repeal)  R515-1:  Processing Complaints 
Regarding the Utah Division of Child and Family Services 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
Substance Use and Mental Health 
No.  56051  (Repeal)  R523-1:  General Provisions 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/22/2024 
 
Juvenile Justice and Youth Services 
No.  55914  (Repeal and Reenact)  R547-13:  Guidelines for 
Admission to Secure Youth Detention Facilities 
Published:  11/15/2023 
Effective:  02/27/2024 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  56266  (Repeal and Reenact)  R590-167:  Individual, 
Small Employer, and Group Health Benefit Plan Rule 
Published:  01/15/2024 
Effective:  02/21/2024 
 
No.  56282  (Amendment)  R590-271:  Data Reporting for 
Consumer Quality Comparison 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/11/2024 
 
Natural Resources 
State Parks 
No.  56188  (Amendment)  R651-633:  Special Closures or 
Restrictions 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/15/2024 
 
Wildlife Resources 
No.  55876  (Amendment)  R657-13:  Prohibited Fish List 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/13/2024 
 
No.  56276  (Amendment)  R657-33:  Taking Bear 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/13/2024 

No.  56281  (Amendment)  R657-51:  Poaching-Reported 
Reward Permits 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/13/2024 
 
No.  56277  (Amendment)  R657-62:  Drawing Application 
Procedures 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/13/2024 
 
 
Public Safety 
Driver License 
No.  55755  (Repeal and Reenact)  R708-31:  Ignition 
Interlock Systems 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  03/12/2024 
 
No.  55755  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R708-31:  Ignition 
Interlock Systems 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/12/2024 
 
No.  55756  (Repeal and Reenact)  R708-48:  Ignition 
Interlock System Program 
Published:  10/15/2023 
Effective:  03/12/2024 
 
No.  55756  (Change in Proposed Rule)  R708-48:  Ignition 
Interlock System Program 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/12/2024 
 
 
Higher Education (Utah Board of) 
Administration 
No.  56252  (New Rule)  R765-264:  Student Religious 
Accommodations. 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56231  (New Rule)  R765-545:  Prohibitions on and 
Disclosures of Foreign Donations to Higher Education 
Institutions 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56230  (Amendment)  R765-611:  Veterans Tuition Gap 
Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56253  (New Rule)  R765-612:  Opportunity Scholarship 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56232  (New Rule)  R765-614:  Public Safety Officer 
Career Advancement Grant Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
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No.  56233  (New Rule)  R765-616:  Adult Learner Grant 
Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56239  (Amendment)  R765-620:  Access Utah Promise 
Scholarship Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56240  (Amendment)  R765-621:  Terrell H. Bell 
Education Scholarship Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56241  (New Rule)  R765-624:  Utah Promise Partner 
Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 

No.  56234  (New Rule)  R765-625:  International Internship 
Scholarship Pilot Program Fund 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56235  (New Rule)  R765-627:  First Responder Mental 
Health Services Grant 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56236  (New Rule)  R765-628:  WICHE Professional 
Student Exchange Program 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
No.  56251  (New Rule)  R765-1010:  Data Breaches 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  02/14/2024 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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