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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between March 16, 2024, 12:00 a.m., and April 
01, 2024, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the April 15, 2024, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least May 15, 2024.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last day 
the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through August 13, 2024, the agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days 
after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  



 

2 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, April 15, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 08 

 NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R66-3 Filing ID:  
56367 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food  
Agency: Medical Cannabis and Industrial Hemp  
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2  
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W  
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Brandon Forsyth  801-
710-
9945 

bforsyth@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson  385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R66-3.  Quality Assurance Testing on Cannabis 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule originally existed as Rule R68-29. 
 
However, a repeal has been filed on Rule R68-29 so it can 
be reenacted under a new title specific to medical 
cannabis and industrial hemp, Title R66. 
 
An additional small change is needed to allow tiny 
amounts of THC O Acetate (THC-OAc) to be present in 
samples without them failing quality assurance testing.  
This clarification is needed to allow safe products to stay 
in the market despite the unintentional presence of a small 
amount of artificially derived cannabinoid. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This new rule is substantively the same as Rule R68-29, 
which is being repealed and simultaneously reenacted as 
Rule R66-3 under the new Title R66. 
 
One change has been made to previous Subsection R68-
29-7(2) which would allow for small amounts of THC-OAc 

to be present in samples without failing quality assurance 
testing. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed repeal of Rule R68-29 
is under ID No. 56366 in this issue, April 15, 2024, of the 
Bulletin.) 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This proposed new rule does not have a fiscal impact to 
the state because the rule text is not changing between 
the repeal and the new rule. 
 
It is just being repealed to be reenacted under new Rule 
R66-3. 
 
The new language in Section R66-3-7 will not have a fiscal 
impact because the Department of Agriculture and Food 
(Department) laboratory was already testing for THC-OAc 
and will continue to do so. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments will not be impacted because they do 
not participate in the medical cannabis program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This change does not have a fiscal impact to small 
businesses because this rule is not changing, it is just 
being repealed to be reenacted under Rule R66-3. 
 
The new language in Section R66-3-7 will impact small 
businesses in a positive way because it will allow cannabis 
licensees to continue to sell their products. The impact 
cannot be quantified at this time because the Department 
does not know how many of each licensee's products may 
have THC-OAc, nor does the Department have access to 
information regarding what portion of each licensee's 
revenue would be put in jeopardy without the ability to sell 
these products or whether that would impact the viability 
of their business overall. 
 
The changes will not have a negative fiscal impact 
because the Department has not yet acted on a licensee 
based on the presence of THC-OAc. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This change does not have a fiscal impact to non-small 
businesses because the rule is not changing, it is just 
being repealed to be reenacted under Rule R66-3. 
 
The new language in Section R66-3-7 will impact non-
small businesses in a positive way because it will allow 
cannabis licensees to continue to sell their products.  The 
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impact cannot be quantified at this time because the 
Department does not know how many of each licensee's 
products may have THC-OAc, nor does the Department 
have access to information regarding what portion of each 
licensee's revenue would be put in jeopardy without the 
ability to sell these products or whether that would impact 
the viability of their business overall. 
 
The changes will not have a negative fiscal impact 
because the Department has not yet acted on a licensee 
based on the presence of THC-OAc. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This change does not have a fiscal impact to other persons 
because this rule is not changing, it is just being repealed 
to be reenacted under Rule R66-3. 
 
The change to Section R68-29-7 will not impact other 
persons because they are not cannabis licensees. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs are not impacted because the 
substance of this rule is not changing with this filing. 
 
The change in Section R68-29-7 does not change the cost 
of participating in the program. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(i) 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

05/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

05/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 03/11/2024 

 
R66.  Agriculture and Food, Medical Cannabis and Industrial 
Hemp. 
R66-3.  Quality Assurance Testing on Cannabis. 
R66-3-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Subsection 4-41a-701(3), this rule establishes 
the standards for cannabis and cannabis product potency testing and 
sets limits for water activity, foreign matter, microbial life, pesticides, 
residual solvents, heavy metals, and mycotoxins. 
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R66-3-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Adulterant" means any poisonous or deleterious 
substance in a quantity that may be injurious to health, including: 
 (a)  pesticides; 
 (b)  heavy metals; 
 (c)  solvents; 
 (d)  microbial life; 
 (e)  toxins; or 
 (f)  foreign matter; or 
 (g)  artificially derived cannabinoids. 
 (2)  "Analyte" means a substance or chemical component 
that is undergoing analysis. 
 (3)(a)  "Artificially derived cannabinoid" means a chemical 
substance that is created by a chemical reaction that changes the 
molecular structure of any chemical substance derived from the 
cannabis plant. 
 (b)  "Artificially derived cannabinoid" does not include: 
 (i)  a naturally occurring chemical substance that is 
separated from the cannabis plant by a chemical or mechanical 
extraction process; or 
 (ii)  a cannabinoid that is produced by decarboxylation 
from a naturally occurring cannabinoid acid without the use of a 
chemical catalyst. 
 (4)  "Batch" means a quantity of: 
 (a)  cannabis concentrate produced on a particular date and 
time, following clean up until the next clean up during which the 
same lots of cannabis are used; 
 (b)  cannabis product produced on a particular date and 
time, following clean up until the next clean up during which 
cannabis concentrate is used; or 
 (c)  cannabis flower from a single strain and growing cycle 
packaged on a particular date and time, following clean up until the 
next clean up during which lots of cannabis are being used. 
 (5)  "Cannabinoid" means any: 
 (a)  naturally occurring derivative of cannabigerolic acid 
(CAS 25555-57-1); or 
 (b)  any chemical compound that is both structurally and 
chemically similar to a derivative of cannabigerolic acid. 
 (6)  "Cannabis" means any part of the marijuana plant. 
 (7)  "Cannabinoid concentrate" means: 
 (a)  the product of any chemical or physical process applied 
to naturally occurring biomass that concentrates or isolates the 
cannabinoids contained in the biomass; or 
 (b)  any amount of a natural or artificially derived 
cannabinoid. 
 (8)  "Cannabis cultivation facility" means a person that: 
 (a)  possesses cannabis; 
 (b)  grows or intends to grow cannabis; and 
 (c)  sells or intends to sell cannabis to a cannabis cultivation 
facility or a cannabis processing facility. 
 (9)  "Cannabis cultivation byproduct" means any portion of 
a cannabis plant that is not intended to be sold as a cannabis plant 
product. 
 (10)  "Cannabis derivative product" means a cannabis 
product made using cannabis concentrate. 
 (11)  "Cannabinoid isolate" means a concentrated form of 
cannabinoid with less than a 0.3% combined concentration of THC 
or any THC analog that is intended for use as an ingredient in a 
cannabinoid product but is not grown by a Utah licensed cannabis 
cultivation facility. 

 (12)  "Cannabis plant product" means any portion of a 
cannabis plant intended to be sold in a form that is recognizable as a 
portion of a cannabis plant. 
 (13)  "Cannabis processing facility" means a person that: 
 (a)  acquires or intends to acquire cannabis from a cannabis 
production establishment; 
 (b)  possesses cannabis with the intent to manufacture a 
cannabis product; 
 (c)  manufactures or intends to manufacture a cannabis 
product from unprocessed cannabis or cannabis concentrate; and 
 (d)  sells or intends to sell a cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis pharmacy. 
 (14)  "Cannabis product" means a product that: 
 (a)  is intended for human use; and 
 (b)  contains cannabis or delta 9-tetrahydrocannabinol. 
 (15)  "CBD" means cannabidiol (CAS 13956-29-1). 
 (16)  "CBDA" means cannabidiolic acid, (CAS 1244-58-
2). 
 (17)  "Certificate of analysis" (COA) means a document 
produced by a testing laboratory listing the quantities of the various 
analytes for the performed testing. 
 (18)  "Delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol" or "delta-9-THC" 
means the cannabinoid identified as CAS #1972-08-03, the primary 
psychotropic cannabinoid in cannabis. 
 (19)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (20)  "Final product" means a reasonably homogenous 
cannabis product in its final packaged form created using the same 
standard operating procedures and the same formulation. 
 (21)  "Foreign matter" means: 
 (a)  any matter that is present in a cannabis lot that is not a 
part of the cannabis plant; or 
 (b)  any matter that is present in a cannabis or cannabinoid 
product that is not listed as an ingredient, including seeds. 
 (22)  "Industrial hemp" means a cannabis plant that 
contains less than 0.3% total THC by dry weight. 
 (23)  "Lot" means the quantity of: 
 (a)  flower from a single strain of cannabis and growing 
cycle produced on a particular date and time, following clean up until 
the next clean up during which the same materials are used; or 
 (b)  trim, leaves, or other plant matter from cannabis plants 
produced on a particular date and time, following clean up until the 
next clean up. 
 (24)  "Pest" means: 
 (a)  any insect, rodent, nematode, fungus, weed; or 
 (b)  any other form of terrestrial or aquatic plant or animal 
life, virus, bacteria, or other microorganisms that are injurious to 
health or to the environment or that the department declares to be a 
pest. 
 (25)  "Pesticide" means any: 
 (a)  substance or mixture of substances, including a living 
organism, that is intended to prevent, destroy, control, repel, attract, 
or mitigate any insect, rodent, nematode, snail, slug, fungus, weed, 
or other forms of plant or animal life that are normally considered to 
be a pest or that the commissioner declares to be a pest; 
 (b)  any substance or mixture of substances intended to be 
used as a plant regulator, defoliant, or desiccant; and 
 (c)  any spray adjuvant, such as a wetting agent, spreading 
agent, deposit builder, adhesive, or emulsifying agent with 
deflocculating properties of its own, used with a pesticide to aid in 
the application or effect of a pesticide. 
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 (26)  "Sampling technician" means a person tasked with 
collecting a representative sample of a cannabis plant product, 
cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product from a cannabis 
production establishment who is: 
 (a)  an employee of the department; 
 (b)  an employee of an independent cannabis laboratory that 
is licensed by the department to perform sampling; or 
 (c)  a person authorized by the department to perform 
sampling. 
 (27)  "Standard operating procedure" (SOP) means a 
document providing detailed instruction for the performance of a 
task. 
 (28)  "THC" means delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (CAS 
1972-08-3). 
 (29)  "THCA" means delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinolic acid 
(CAS 23978-85-0). 
 (30) "THC analog" means the same as the term is defined 
in Subsection 4-41-102(23). 
 (31)  "Total CBD" means the sum of the determined 
amounts of CBD and CBDA. 
 (32)  "Total THC" means the sum of the determined 
amounts of delta-9-THC and delta-9-THCA, according to the 
formula: Total THC = delta-9-THC + (delta-9-THCA x 0.877). 
 (33)  "Unit" means each individual portion of an 
individually packaged product. 
 (34)  "Unknown Cannabinoid" means any component of a 
cannabis plant product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product 
that a laboratory determines is likely to be a cannabinoid by 
comparison of physical properties, including molecular weight, 
retention time, and absorption spectra but is not included in Table 2 
or Table 3. 
 (35)  "Water activity" is a dimensionless measure of the 
water present in a substance that is available to microorganisms; 
calculated as the partial vapor pressure of water in the substance 
divided by the standard state partial vapor pressure of pure water at 
the same temperature. 
 
R66-3-3.  Required Cannabis, Cannabis Product, and 
Cannabinoid Isolate Tests. 
 (1)  Before the transfer of cannabis biomass from a 
cannabis cultivation facility to a cannabis processing facility, the 
cultivation facility shall make a declaration to the department that the 
biomass to be transferred is either a cannabis plant product or a 
cannabis cultivation byproduct. 
 (2)  A representative sample of each batch or lot of cannabis 
plant product shall be tested by an independent cannabis testing 
laboratory to determine: 
 (a)  the water activity of the sample; 
 (b)  the amount of total THC, total CBD, and any THC 
analog know to be present in the sample; and 
 (c)  the presence of adulterants in the sample, as specified 
in Table 1. 
 (3)  Required testing shall be performed either: 
 (a)  before the transfer of the cannabis plant product to a 
cannabis processing facility; or 
 (b)  following the transfer of the cannabis plant product to 
a cannabis processing facility. 
 (4)  If cannabis plant product is tested before being 
transferred to a cannabis processing facility, the cannabis plant 
product shall be tested for microbial contaminants and foreign matter 
a second time following the transfer. 
 (5)  Cannabis cultivation byproduct shall either be: 

 (a)  chemically or physically processed to produce a 
cannabis concentrate for incorporation into cannabis derivative 
product; or 
 (b)  destroyed pursuant to Section 4-41a-405. 
 (6)  Cannabis concentrate shall be tested by an independent 
cannabis testing laboratory before it is incorporated into a cannabis 
derivative product to determine: 
 (a)  the cannabinoid profile; and 
 (b)  the presence of adulterants in the sample, as specified 
in Table 1. 
 (7)  A medical cannabis processor shall isolate any 
artificially derived cannabinoids present in the cannabis concentrate 
to a purity of greater than 95%, with a 5% margin of error, as 
determined by an independent cannabis testing laboratory using 
liquid chromatography-mass spectroscopy or an equivalent method. 
 (8)  Before the transfer of a cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis pharmacy an independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
test a representative sample of the product to determine: 
 (a)  the water activity of the sample, as determined 
applicable by the department; 
 (b)  the quantity of any cannabinoid or terpene to be listed 
on the product label; and 
 (c)  the presence of adulterants in the sample, as specified 
in Table 1. 
 (9)  Testing results for cannabis concentrate may be applied 
to cannabis product derived therefrom, provided that the processing 
steps used to produce the product are unlikely to change the results 
of the test, as determined by the department. 
 (10)  The department may require mycotoxin testing of a 
cannabis plant product or cannabis product if they have reason to 
believe that mycotoxins may be present. 
 (11)  Mycotoxin testing shall be required for cannabis 
concentrate. 
 (12)  A cannabis processing facility may remediate a 
cannabis plant product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product 
that fails any of the required adulterant testing standards after 
submitting and gaining approval for a remediation plan from the 
department. 
 (13)  A remediation plan shall be submitted to the 
department within 15 days of the receipt of a failed testing result. 
 (14)  A remediation plan shall be carried out and the 
cannabis plant product or cannabis concentrate shall be prepared for 
resampling within 60 days of department approval of the remediation 
plan. 
 (15)  Resampling or retesting of a cannabis lot or batch that 
fails any of the required testing standards is not allowed until the lot 
or batch has been remediated. 
 (16)  A cannabis lot or cannabis product batch that is not or 
cannot be remediated in the specified time shall be destroyed 
pursuant to Section 4-41a-405. 
 (17)  If test results cannot be retained in the Inventory 
Control System, the laboratory shall: 
 (a)  keep a record of test results; 
 (b)  issue a COA for required tests; and 
 (c)  keep a copy of the COA on the laboratory premises. 
 (18)  Cannabinoid isolate shall be tested for: 
 (a)  solvents; 
 (b)  pesticides; 
 (c)  microbials; 
 (d)  heavy metals; and 
 (e)  mycotoxins. 
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 (19)  Cannabinoid isolate shall be accompanied by a COA 
that complies with the standards included in Section R68-29-5 
through Section R68-29-12. 
 (20)  Cannabinoid isolate shall receive cannabinoid testing 
from an independent cannabis testing laboratory before being used to 
create a cannabis derivative product. 
 

TABLE 1 
Required Test by Sample Type 

Test Cannabis Plant 
Product  

Cannabis 
Concentrate  

Cannabis 
Product  

Moisture 
Content 

Required X X 

Water 
Activity 

Required  X X 

Foreign 
Matter 

Required  Required  Required  

Potency Required  Required  Required  
Microbial Required  Required  Required  
Pesticides Required  Required  Required  
Residual 
Solvents 

X Required  Required  

Heavy 
Metals 

Required  Required  Required  

 
R68-29-4.  Sampling Cannabis and Cannabis Products. 
 (1)  The entity that requests testing of a cannabis plant 
product lot, cannabis concentrate batch, or cannabis product batch 
shall make the entirety of the lot or batch available to the sampling 
technician. 
 (2)  The lot or batch being sampled shall be contained in a 
single location and physically separated from other lots or batches. 
 (3)  The sample shall be collected by a sampling technician 
who is unaffiliated with the entity that requested testing of the 
cannabis lot or cannabis product batch unless an exception is granted 
by the department. 
 (4)  The owner of the cannabis lot or cannabis product batch 
and any of their employees may not assist in the selection of the 
sample. 
 (5)  The sampling technician shall collect the representative 
sample in a manner set forth in a SOP, that is ISO 17025 compliant, 
maintained by the laboratory that will perform the testing. 
 (6)  When collecting the representative sample, the 
sampling technician shall: 
 (a)  use sterile gloves, instruments, and a glass or plastic 
container to collect the sample; 
 (b)  place tamper proof tape on the container; and 
 (c)  appropriately label the sample pursuant to Section R68-
30-6. 
 (7)  For cannabis plant product lots, the sampling 
technician shall take a minimum representative sample according to 
the following schedule: 
 (a)  10 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 5 kilograms or less; 
 (b)  16 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 5.01-9 kilograms; 
 (c)  22 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 9.01-14 kilograms; 
 (d)  28 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 14.01-18 kilograms; 
 (e)  32 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 18.01-23 kilograms. 

 (8)  For cannabis concentrate, the sampling technician shall 
take a minimum representative sample according to the following 
schedule: 
 (a)  10 mL or grams for batches of one liter or kilogram or 
less; or 
 (b)  20 mL or grams for batches of four liters or kilograms 
or less. 
 (9)  For cannabis products in their final product form, the 
sampling technician shall take the following minimum number of 
sample units, the combined total weight of which must be at least 10 
grams, not including packaging materials: 
 (a)  four units for a sample product batch with 5-500 
products; 
 (b)  six units for a sample product batch with 501-1000 
products; 
 (c)  eight units for a sample product batch with 1,001-5,000 
products; and 
 (d)  ten units for a sample product batch with 5,001-10,000 
products. 
 (10)  Additional material may be included in the 
representative sample if the material is necessary to perform the 
required testing. 
 
R66-3-5.  Moisture Content Testing and Water Activity 
Standards. 
 (1)  The moisture content of a sample and related lot of 
cannabis shall be reported on the COA as a mass over mass 
percentage. 
 (2)  A sample and related lot of cannabis fail quality 
assurance testing if the water activity of the representative sample is 
found to be greater than 0.65. 
 (3)  A sample and related cannabis or cannabinoid product 
batch intended for human consumption fail quality assurance testing 
if the water activity of the representative sample is greater than 0.65, 
unless water is a component of the product formulation and is listed 
as an ingredient. 
 
R66-3-6.  Foreign Matter Standards. 
 A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis, cannabis 
product, or cannabinoid product fail quality assurance testing if: 
 (1)  the sample contains foreign matter visible to the 
unaided human eye; 
 (2)  the sample is found to contain microscopic foreign 
matter considered to be harmful or estimated to comprise greater than 
3% of the mass of the representative sample as determined by the 
testing laboratory; or 
 (3)  foreign matter is found that is suspected of having been 
intentionally added to the sample to increase its visual appeal or 
market value; or 
 (4)  for a cannabis plant product, the total number of seeds 
found is greater than the net weight of the sample collected divided 
by 1.75. 
 
R66-3-7.  Potency Testing. 
 (1)  A lot or batch of cannabis plant product, cannabis 
concentrate, or cannabis product shall have its cannabinoid profile 
determined and listed on a COA as total THC, total CBD, and the 
total concentration of any THC analog known to be present. 
 (2)  A lot or batch of cannabis plant product, cannabis 
concentrate, or cannabis product fail quality assurance testing for 
cannabinoid content if: 
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 (a)  it is not analyzed for each of the analytes listed in Table 
2; 
 (b)  the determined amount of any analyte exceeds its 
action level given in Table 2; 
 (c) any tetrahydrocannabinol acetate (THC-OAc) is found 
in a cannabis concentrate with a relative peak area greater than 1% of 
the total cannabinoid peak area or in a cannabis product with a 
relative peak area greater than 0.5% of the total cannabinoid peak 
area as determined by high-performance liquid chromatography with 
a diode array detector; 
 (d)  any of the artificially derived cannabinoids listed in 
Table 3 are found to have a peak area greater than 1% of total 
cannabinoid peak area as determined by high-performance liquid 
chromatography with a diode array detector (HPLC-DAD); or 
 (e)  greater than 10% of the total cannabinoid peak area is 
comprised of unknown cannabinoids after peaks smaller than 1% of 
the total peak area have been excluded as determined by high-
performance liquid chromatography with a diode array detector 
(HPLC-DAD). 
 

TABLE 2 
Cannabinoid Components and Action Levels 

Analyte 
Chemical 
Abstract 
Service 

Action Level 

Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabidiol 
 (Δ9-THC) 1972-08-03 No Limit 

Δ8-Tetrahydrocannabidiol 
 (Δ8-THC) 5957-75-5 No Limit 

Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabinolic acid  
(THCA) 23978-85-0 No Limit 

Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV) 31262-37-0 No Limit 

Cannabidiol (CBD) 13956-29-1 No Limit 

Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA) 1244-58-2 No Limit 

Cannabidivarin (CBDV) 24274-48-4 No Limit 

Cannabinol (CBN) 521-35-7 No Limit 

Cannabigerol (CBG) 25654-31-3 No Limit 

Cannabichromene (CBC) 20675-51-8 No Limit 

Cannabigerolic acid (CBGA) 25555-57-1 No Limit 

Cannabichromenic acid (CBCA) 20408-52-0 No Limit 

9R-Δ6a,10a-Tetrahydrocannabidiol 
(Δ3-THC) 95720-01-7 1%1 

9S-Δ6a,10a-Tetrahydrocannabidiol 
(Δ3-THC) 95720-02-8 1%1 

(6aR,9R)-Δ10-
Tetrahydrocannabidiol 95543-62-7 1%1 

(6aR,9S)-Δ10-Tetrahydrocannabidiol 95588-87-7 1%1 

Cannabicitran (CBTC) 31508-71-1 2% 
 
1If the laboratory performing the testing cannot chromatographically 
separate 9(R+S)-Δ6a,10a-Tetrahydrocannabidiol or (6aR,9(R+S))-
Δ10-Tetrahydrocannabidiol, then the action level for the combined 
isomers will be 1.5%. 
 

TABLE 3 
Artificially Derived Cannabinoids 

Analyte Chemical Abstract  
Service 

Hexahydrocannabinol (HHC) 
36403-90-4, 
36403-91-5 

3-Heptyl-delta(1)-tetrahydrocannabinol 
(THCP) 

54763-99-4, 
51768-60-6 

 
R66-3-8.  Microbial Standards. 
 (1)  A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant 
product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product fail quality 
assurance testing for microbiological contaminants if the results 
exceed the limits as set forth in Table 4. 
 (2)  Each sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant 
product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product shall be tested for 
total aerobic microbial count and total combined yeast and mold.  The 
specific pathogens listed in Table 4 may be tested for at the discretion 
of the department. 
 

TABLE 4 
Microbial Analytes and Action Levels 

Material Microbial Limit Requirement (cfu/g or 
cfu/ml) 

Cannabis Plant  
Product 

Total Aerobic Microbial Count  
≤100,000 
Absence of E. Coli and Salmonella spp. 
Absence of Aspergillus fumigatus,  
Aspergillus flavus, Aspergillus niger,  
and Aspergillus terreus  

Cannabinoid 
Concentrate 

Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤10,000 
Total Combined Yeast and Mold Count 
≤1,000 
Absence of STEC 
Absence of Pseudomonas 
Absence of Staph  

Orally Consumable 
Products 

Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤10,000 
Total Combined Yeast and Mold Count 
≤1,000 
Absence of E. Coli and Salmonella spp. 
Absence of Staph  

Transdermal 
Products  

Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤250 
Total Yeast and Mold Count ≤250 
Absence of Pseudomonas 
Absence of Staph  

 
R66-3-9.  Pesticide Standards. 
 (1)  Only pesticides allowed by the department may be used 
in the cultivation of cannabis. 
 (2)  If an independent cannabis laboratory identifies a 
pesticide that is not allowed under Subsection R68-29-5(1) and is 
above the action levels provided in Subsection R68-29-5(3) that lot 
or batch from which the sample was taken has failed quality 
assurance testing. 
 (3)  A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis, cannabis 
product, or cannabinoid product fail quality assurance testing for 
pesticides if the results exceed the limits as set forth in Table 5. 
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TABLE 5 
Pesticide Analytes and Action Levels 

Analyte Chemical Abstract  
Service 
(CAS) Registry  
number  

Action 
Level 
ppm 

Abamectin 71751-41-2 0.5 
Acephate 30560-19-1 0.4 
Acequinocyl 57960-19-7 2 
Acetamiprid 135410-20-7 0.2 
Aldicarb 116-06-3 0.4 
Azoxystrobin 131860-33-8 0.2 
Bifenazate 149877-41-8 0.2 
Bifenthrin 82657-04-3 0.2 
Boscalid 188425-85-6 0.4 
Carbaryl 63-25-2 0.2 
Carbofuran 1563-66-2 0.2 
Chlorantraniliprole 500008-45-7 0.2 
Chlorfenapyr 122453-73-0 1 
Chlorpyrifos 2921-88-2 0.2 
Clofentezine 74115-24-5 0.2 
Cypermethrin 52315-07-8 1 
Daminozide 1596-84-5 1 
DDVP (Dichlorvos) 62-73-7 0.1 
Diazinon 333-41-5 0.2 
Dimethoate 60-51-5 0.2 
Ethoprophos 13194-48-4 0.2 
Etofenprox 80844-07-1 0.4 
Etoxazole 153233-91-1 0.2 
Fenoxycarb 72490-01-8 0.2 
Fenpyroximate 134098-61-6 0.4 
Fipronil 120068-37-3 0.4 
Flonicamid 158062-67-0 1 
Fludioxonil 131341-86-1 0.4 
Hexythiazox 78587-05-0 1 
Imazalil 35554-44-0 0.2 
Imidacloprid 138261-41-3 0.4 
Kresoxim-methyl 143390-89-0 0.4 
Malathion 143390-89-0 0.2 
Metalaxyl 57837-19-1 0.2 
Methiocarb 2032-65-7 0.2 
Methomyl 16752-77-5 0.4 
Methyl parathion 298-00-0 0.2 
MGK-264 113-48-4 0.2 
Myclobutanil 88671-89-0 0.2 
Naled 300-76-5 0.5 
Oxamyl 23135-22-0 1 
Paclobutrazol 76738-62-0 0.4 
Permethrins 52645-53-1 0.2 
Phosmet 732-11-6 0.2 
Piperonyl_butoxide 51-03-6 2 
Prallethrin 23031-36-9 0.2 
Propiconazole 60207-90-1 0.4 
Propoxur 114-26-1 0.2 
Pyrethrins 8003-34-7 1 
Pyridaben 96489-71-3 0.2 
Spinosad 168316-95-8 0.2 
Spiromesifen 283594-90-1 0.2 
Spirotetramat 203313-25-1 0.2 
Spiroxamine 118134-30-8 0.4 
Tebuconazole 80443-41-0 0.4 
Thiacloprid 111988-49-9 0.2 
Thiamethoxam 153719-23-4 0.2 

Trifloxystrobin 141517-21-7 0.2 
 
 (4)  Permethrins should be measured as cumulative residue 
of cis- and trans-permethrin isomers (CAS numbers 54774-45-7 and 
51877-74-8). 
 (5)  Pyrethrins should be measured as the cumulative 
residues of pyrethrin I (CAS 121-21-1), pyrethrin II (CAS 121-29-9), 
cinerin 1 (CAS 25402-06-6), and jasmolin 1 (CAS 4466-14-2). 
 (6)  Abamectin is a composite of the amounts of avermectin 
B1a and avermectin B1b. 
 
R66-3-10.  Residual Solvent Standards. 
 (1)  A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant 
product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product fails quality 
assurance testing for residual solvents if the results exceed the limits 
provided in Table 6 unless the solvent is: 
 (a)  a component of the product formulation; 
 (b)  listed as an ingredient; and 
 (c)  generally considered to be safe for the intended form 
of use. 
 

TABLE 6 
List of Solvents and Action Levels 

Solvent  Chemical 
Abstract 
Service 
(CAS) 
Registry 
number  

Action level 
ppm 

1,2 Dimethoxyethane 110-71-4 100 
1,4 Dioxane 123-9  380 
1-Butanol 71-36-3  5,000 
1-Pentanol 71-41-0 5,000 
1-Propanol 71-23-8 5,000 
2-Butanol 78-92-2 5,000 
2-Butanone 78-93-3  5,000 
2-Ethoxyethanol 110-80-5 160 
2-methylbutane 78-78-4  5,000 
2-Propanol (IPA) 67-63-0 5,000 
Acetone 67-64-1 5,000 
Acetonitrile 75-05-8 410 
Benzene 71-43-2 2 
Butane  106-97-8 5,000 
Cumene 98-82-8 70 
Cyclohexane 110-82-7 3,880 
Dichloromethane 75-09-2 600 
2,2-dimethylbutane 75-83-2   290 
2,3-dimethylbutane 79-29-8  290 
1,2-dimethylbenzene  95-47-6  See Xylenes 
1,3-dimethylbenzene  108-38-3  See Xylenes 
1,4-dimethylbenzene 106-42-3  See Xylenes 
Dimethyl sulfoxide  67-68-5  5,000 
Ethanol 64-17-5  5,000 
Ethyl acetate  141-78-6  5,000 
Ethylbenzene 100-41-4  See Xylenes 
Ethyl ether 60-29-7  5,000 
Ethylene glycol  107-21-1  620 
Ethylene Oxide 75-21-8  50 
Heptane 142-82-5  5,000 
n-Hexane 110-54-3  290 
Isopropyl acetate  290 5,000 
Methanol 67-56-1  3,000 
Methylpropane 75-28-5  5,000 
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2-Methylpentane 107-83-5  290 
3-Methylpentane 96-14-0  290 
N,N-dimethylacetamide 127-19-5  1,090 
N,N-dimethylformamide  68-12-2  880 
Pentane  109-66-0  5,000 
Propane 74-98-6  5,000 
Pyridine 110-86-1  100 
Sulfolane  126-33-0  160 
Tetrahydrofuran 109-99-9  720 
Toluene 108-88-3  890 
Xylenes 1330-20-7  2,170 

 
 (2)  Xylenes is a combination of the following: 
 (a)  1,2-dimethylbenzene; 
 (b)  1,3-dimethylbenzene; 
 (c)  1,4-dimethylbenzene; and 
 (d)  ethyl benzene. 
 
R66-3-11.  Heavy Metal Standards. 
 A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant product, 
cannabis concentrate, cannabis product, or vaporizer cartridges fail 
quality assurance testing for heavy metals if the results exceed the 
limits provided in Table 7. 
 

TABLE 7 
Heavy Metals 

Metals Natural Health Products  
Acceptable limits in parts per 
million 

Arsenic <2 
Cadmium <0.82 
Lead <1.2 
Mercury <0.4 

 
R66-3-12.  Mycotoxin Standards. 
 A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant product, 
cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product fail quality assurance 
testing for mycotoxin if the results exceed the limits provided in 
Table 8. 
 

TABLE 8 
Mycotoxin 

Test Specification  
The Total of 

 

Aflatoxin B1, 
 

Aflatoxin B2, 
 

Aflatoxin G1, and 
 

Aflatoxin G2 <20 ppb of substance  
Ochratoxin A.  <20 ppb of substance 

 
KEY:  cannabis testing, quality assurance, cannabis laboratory 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41a-
701(3) 
 
 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R68-29 Filing ID:  
56366 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Plant Industry  
Building: TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2  
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W  
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129  

Mailing address: PO Box 146500  
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Brandon Forsyth  801-
710-
9945 

bforsyth@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson  385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R68-29.  Quality Assurance Testing on Cannabis 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The rule is being repealed so it can be simultaneously 
reenacted under a new title specific to medical cannabis 
and industrial hemp, Title R66. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is repealed in its entirety so it can be reenacted 
under a new title specific to medical cannabis and 
industrial hemp. 
 
The substantive content will remain the same under new 
Rule R66-3. 
 
(EDITOR'S NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R66-3 is 
under ID No. 56367 in this issue, April 15, 2024, of the 
Bulletin.) 
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Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This proposed repeal does not have a fiscal impact to the 
state because the rule text is not changing between the 
repeal and the new rule. 
 
It is reenacted as new Rule R66-3. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments will not be impacted because they do 
not participate in the medical cannabis program. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This proposed repeal does not have a fiscal impact to 
small businesses because the rule text is not changing 
between the repeal and the new rule. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This proposed repeal does not have a fiscal impact to non-
small businesses because the rule text is not changing 
between the repeal and the new rule. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This proposed repeal does not have a fiscal impact to 
other persons because the rule text is not changing 
between the repeal and the new rule. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs are not impacted because the 
substance of the rule is not changing with this filing. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
4-2-103(1)(i)  

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

05/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

05/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 03/11/2024 

 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
[R68-29.  Quality Assurance Testing on Cannabis. 
R68-29-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Subsection 4-41a-701(3), this rule establishes 
the standards for cannabis and cannabis product potency testing and 
sets limits for water activity, foreign matter, microbial life, pesticides, 
residual solvents, heavy metals, and mycotoxins. 
 
R68-29-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Adulterant" means any poisonous or deleterious 
substance in a quantity that may be injurious to health, including: 
 (a)  pesticides; 
 (b)  heavy metals; 
 (c)  solvents; 
 (d)  microbial life; 
 (e)  toxins; or 
 (f)  foreign matter; or 
 (g)  artificially derived cannabinoids. 
 (2)  "Analyte" means a substance or chemical component 
that is undergoing analysis. 
 (3)(a)  "Artificially derived cannabinoid" means a chemical 
substance that is created by a chemical reaction that changes the 
molecular structure of any chemical substance derived  from the 
cannabis plant. 
 (b)  "Artificially derived cannabinoid" does not include: 
 (i)  a naturally occurring chemical substance that is 
separated from the cannabis plant by a chemical or mechanical 
extraction process; or 
 (ii)  a cannabinoid that is produced by decarboxylation 
from a naturally occurring cannabinoid acid without the use of a 
chemical catalyst. 
 (4)  "Batch" means a quantity of: 
 (a)  cannabis concentrate produced on a particular date and 
time, following clean up until the next clean up during which the 
same lots of cannabis are used; 
 (b)  cannabis product produced on a particular date and 
time, following clean up until the next clean up during which 
cannabis concentrate is used; or 
 (c)  cannabis flower from a single strain and growing cycle 
packaged on a particular date and time, following clean up until the 
next clean up during which lots of cannabis are being used. 
 (5)  "Cannabinoid" means any: 
 (a)  naturally occurring derivative of cannabigerolic acid 
(CAS 25555-57-1); or 
 (b)  any chemical compound that is both structurally and 
chemically similar to a derivative of cannabigerolic acid. 
 (6)  "Cannabis" means any part of the marijuana plant. 
 (7)  "Cannabinoid concentrate" means: 
 (a)  the product of any chemical or physical process applied 
to naturally occurring biomass that concentrates or isolates the 
cannabinoids contained in the biomass; or 
 (b)  any amount of a natural or artificially derived 
cannabinoid. 
 (8)  "Cannabis cultivation facility" means a person that: 
 (a)  possesses cannabis; 
 (b)  grows or intends to grow cannabis; and 

 (c)  sells or intends to sell cannabis to a cannabis cultivation 
facility or a cannabis processing facility. 
 (9)  "Cannabis cultivation byproduct" means any portion of 
a cannabis plant that is not intended to be sold as a cannabis plant 
product. 
 (10)  "Cannabis derivative product" means a cannabis 
product made using cannabis concentrate. 
 (11)  "Cannabinoid isolate" means a concentrated form of 
cannabinoid with less than a 0.3% combined concentration of THC 
or any THC analog that is intended for use as an ingredient in a 
cannabinoid product but is not grown by a Utah licensed cannabis 
cultivation facility. 
 (12)  "Cannabis plant product" means any portion of a 
cannabis plant intended to be sold in a form that is recognizable as a 
portion of a cannabis plant. 
 (13)  "Cannabis processing facility" means a person that: 
 (a)  acquires or intends to acquire cannabis from a cannabis 
production establishment; 
 (b)  possesses cannabis with the intent to manufacture a 
cannabis product; 
 (c)  manufactures or intends to manufacture a cannabis 
product from unprocessed cannabis or cannabis concentrate; and 
 (d)  sells or intends to sell a cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis pharmacy. 
 (14)  "Cannabis product" means a product that: 
 (a)  is intended for human use; and 
 (b)  contains cannabis or delta 9-tetrahydrocannabinol. 
 (15)  "CBD" means cannabidiol (CAS 13956-29-1). 
 (16)  "CBDA" means cannabidiolic acid, (CAS 1244-58-
2). 
 (17)  "Certificate of analysis" (COA) means a document 
produced by a testing laboratory listing the quantities of the various 
analytes for the performed testing. 
 (18)  "Delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol" or "delta-9-THC" 
means the cannabinoid identified as CAS #1972-08-03, the primary 
psychotropic cannabinoid in cannabis. 
 (19)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (20)  "Final product" means a reasonably homogenous 
cannabis product in its final packaged form created using the same 
standard operating procedures and the same formulation. 
 (21)  "Foreign matter" means: 
 (a)  any matter that is present in a cannabis lot that is not a 
part of the cannabis plant; or 
 (b)  any matter that is present in a cannabis or cannabinoid 
product that is not listed as an ingredient, including seeds. 
 (22)  "Industrial hemp" means a cannabis plant that 
contains less than 0.3% total THC by dry weight. 
 (23)  "Lot" means the quantity of: 
 (a)  flower from a single strain of cannabis and growing 
cycle produced on a particular date and time, following clean up until 
the next clean up during which the same materials are used; or 
 (b)  trim, leaves, or other plant matter from cannabis plants 
produced on a particular date and time, following clean up until the 
next clean up. 
 (24)  "Pest" means: 
 (a)  any insect, rodent, nematode, fungus, weed; or 
 (b)  any other form of terrestrial or aquatic plant or animal 
life, virus, bacteria, or other microorganisms that are injurious to 
health or to the environment or that the department declares to be a 
pest. 
 (25)  "Pesticide" means any: 
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 (a)  substance or mixture of substances, including a living 
organism, that is intended to prevent, destroy, control, repel, attract, 
or mitigate any insect, rodent, nematode, snail, slug, fungus, weed, 
or other forms of plant or animal life that are normally considered to 
be a pest or that the commissioner declares to be a pest; 
 (b)  any substance or mixture of substances intended to be 
used as a plant regulator, defoliant, or desiccant; and 
 (c)  any spray adjuvant, such as a wetting agent, spreading 
agent, deposit builder, adhesive, or emulsifying agent with 
deflocculating properties of its own, used with a pesticide to aid in 
the application or effect of a pesticide. 
 (26)  "Sampling technician" means a person tasked with 
collecting a representative sample of a cannabis plant product, 
cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product from a cannabis 
production establishment who is: 
 (a)  an employee of the department; 
 (b)  an employee of an independent cannabis laboratory that 
is licensed by the department to perform sampling; or 
 (c)  a person authorized by the department to perform 
sampling. 
 (27)  "Standard operating procedure" (SOP) means a 
document providing detailed instruction for the performance of a 
task. 
 (28)  "THC" means delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (CAS 
1972-08-3). 
 (29)  "THCA" means delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinolic acid 
(CAS 23978-85-0). 
 (30)(a)  "THC analog" means the same as the term is 
defined in Subsection 4-41-102(23). 
 (31)  "Total CBD" means the sum of the determined 
amounts of CBD and CBDA. 
 (32)  "Total THC" means the sum of the determined 
amounts of delta-9-THC and delta-9-THCA, according to the 
formula: Total THC = delta-9-THC + (delta-9-THCA x 0.877). 
 (33)  "Unit" means each individual portion of an 
individually packaged product. 
 (34)  "Unknown Cannabinoid" means any component of a 
cannabis plant product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product 
that a laboratory determines is likely to be a cannabinoid by 
comparison of physical properties, including molecular weight, 
retention time, and absorption spectra but is not included in Table 2 
or Table 3. 
 (35)  "Water activity" is a dimensionless measure of the 
water present in a substance that is available to microorganisms; 
calculated as the partial vapor pressure of water in the substance 
divided by the standard state partial vapor pressure of pure water at 
the same temperature. 
 
R68-29-3.  Required Cannabis, Cannabis Product, and 
Cannabinoid Isolate Tests. 
 (1)  Before the transfer of cannabis biomass from a 
cannabis cultivation facility to a cannabis processing facility, the 
cultivation facility shall make a declaration to the department that the 
biomass to be transferred is either a cannabis plant product or a 
cannabis cultivation byproduct. 
 (2)  A representative sample of each batch or lot of cannabis 
plant product shall be tested by an independent cannabis testing 
laboratory to determine: 
 (a)  the water activity of the sample; 
 (b)  the amount of total THC, total CBD, and any THC 
analog know to be present in the sample; and 

 (c)  the presence of adulterants in the sample, as specified 
in Table 1. 
 (3)  Required testing shall be performed either: 
 (a)  before the transfer of the cannabis plant product to a 
cannabis processing facility; or 
 (b)  following the transfer of the cannabis plant product to 
a cannabis processing facility. 
 (4)  If cannabis plant product is tested before being 
transferred to a cannabis processing facility, the cannabis plant 
product shall be tested for microbial contaminants and foreign matter 
a second time following the transfer. 
 (5)  Cannabis cultivation byproduct shall either be: 
 (a)  chemically or physically processed to produce a 
cannabis concentrate for incorporation into cannabis derivative 
product; or 
 (b)  destroyed pursuant to Section 4-41a-405. 
 (6)  Cannabis concentrate shall be tested by an independent 
cannabis testing laboratory before it is incorporated into a cannabis 
derivative product to determine: 
 (a)  the cannabinoid profile; and 
 (b)  the presence of adulterants in the sample, as specified 
in Table 1. 
 (7)  A medical cannabis processor shall isolate any 
artificially derived cannabinoids present in the cannabis concentrate 
to a purity of greater than 95%, with a 5% margin of error, as 
determined by an independent cannabis testing laboratory using 
liquid chromatography-mass spectroscopy or an equivalent method. 
 (8)  Before the transfer of a cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis pharmacy an independent cannabis testing laboratory shall 
test a representative sample of the product to determine: 
 (a)  the water activity of the sample, as determined 
applicable by the department; 
 (b)  the quantity of any cannabinoid or terpene to be listed 
on the product label; and 
 (c)  the presence of adulterants in the sample, as specified 
in Table 1. 
 (9)  Testing results for cannabis concentrate may be applied 
to cannabis product derived therefrom, provided that the processing 
steps used to produce the product are unlikely to change the results 
of the test, as determined by the department. 
 (10)  The department may require mycotoxin testing of a 
cannabis plant product or cannabis product if they have reason to 
believe that mycotoxins may be present. 
 (11)  Mycotoxin testing shall be required for cannabis 
concentrate. 
 (12)  A cannabis processing facility may remediate a 
cannabis plant product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product 
that fails any of the required adulterant testing standards after 
submitting and gaining approval for a remediation plan from the 
department. 
 (13)  A remediation plan shall be submitted to the 
department within 15 days of the receipt of a failed testing result. 
 (14)  A remediation plan shall be carried out and the 
cannabis plant product or cannabis concentrate shall be prepared for 
resampling within 60 days of department approval of the remediation 
plan. 
 (15)  Resampling or retesting of a cannabis lot or batch that 
fails any of the required testing standards is not allowed until the lot 
or batch has been remediated. 
 (16)  A cannabis lot or cannabis product batch that is not or 
cannot be remediated in the specified time shall be destroyed 
pursuant to Section 4-41a-405. 
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 (17)  If test results cannot be retained in the Inventory 
Control System, the laboratory shall: 
 (a)  keep a record of test results; 
 (b)  issue a COA for required tests; and 
 (c)  keep a copy of the COA on the laboratory premises. 
 (18)  Cannabinoid isolate shall be tested for: 
 (a)  solvents; 
 (b)  pesticides; 
 (c)  microbials; 
 (d)  heavy metals; and 
 (e)  mycotoxins. 
 (19)  Cannabinoid isolate shall be accompanied by a  COA 
that complies  with the standards included in Section R68-29-5 
through Section R68-29-12. 
 (20)  Cannabinoid isolate shall receive cannabinoid testing 
from an independent cannabis testing laboratory before being used to 
create a cannabis derivative product. 
 

TABLE 1 
Required Test by Sample Type 

Test Cannabis Plant 
Product  

Cannabis 
Concentrate  

Cannabis 
Product  

Moisture 
Content 

Required X X 

Water 
Activity 

Required  X X 

Foreign 
Matter 

Required  Required  Required  

Potency Required  Required  Required  
Microbial Required  Required  Required  
Pesticides Required  Required  Required  
Residual 
Solvents 

X Required  Required  

Heavy 
Metals 

Required  Required  Required  

 
R68-29-4.  Sampling Cannabis and Cannabis Products. 
 (1)  The entity that requests testing of a cannabis plant 
product lot, cannabis concentrate batch, or cannabis product batch 
shall make the entirety of the lot or batch available to the sampling 
technician. 
 (2)  The lot or batch being sampled shall be contained in a 
single location and physically separated from other lots or batches. 
 (3)  The sample shall be collected by a sampling technician 
who is unaffiliated with the entity that requested testing of the 
cannabis lot or cannabis product batch unless an exception is granted 
by the department. 
 (4)  The owner of the cannabis lot or cannabis product batch 
and any of their employees may not assist in the selection of the 
sample. 
 (5)  The sampling technician shall collect the representative 
sample in a manner set forth in a SOP, that is ISO 17025 compliant, 
maintained by the laboratory that will perform the testing. 
 (6)  When collecting the representative sample, the 
sampling technician shall: 
 (a)  use sterile gloves, instruments, and a glass or plastic 
container to collect the sample; 
 (b)  place tamper proof tape on the container; and 
 (c)  appropriately label the sample pursuant to Section R68-
30-6. 
 (7)  For cannabis plant product lots, the sampling 
technician shall take a minimum representative sample according to 
the following schedule: 

 (a)  10 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 5 kilograms or less; 
 (b)  16 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 5.01-9 kilograms; 
 (c)  22 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 9.01-14 kilograms; 
 (d)  28 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 14.01-18 kilograms; 
 (e)  32 subunits with an average weight of one gram each 
for lots weighing 18.01-23 kilograms. 
 (8)  For cannabis concentrate, the sampling technician shall 
take a minimum representative sample according to the following 
schedule: 
 (a)  10 mL or grams for batches of one liter or kilogram or 
less; or 
 (b)  20 mL or grams for batches of four liters or kilograms 
or less. 
 (9)  For cannabis products in their final product form, the 
sampling technician shall take the following minimum number of 
sample units, the combined total weight of which must be at least 10 
grams, not including packaging materials: 
 (a)  four units for a sample product batch with 5-500 
products; 
 (b)  six units for a sample product batch with 501-1000 
products; 
 (c)  eight units for a sample product batch with 1,001-5,000 
products; and 
 (d)  ten units for a sample product batch with 5,001-10,000 
products. 
 (10)  Additional material may be included in the 
representative sample if the material is necessary to perform the 
required testing. 
 
R68-29-5.  Moisture Content Testing and Water Activity 
Standards. 
 (1)  The moisture content of a sample and related lot of 
cannabis shall be reported on the COA as a mass over mass 
percentage. 
 (2)  A sample and related lot of cannabis fail quality 
assurance testing if the water activity of the representative sample is 
found to be greater than 0.65. 
 (3)  A sample and related cannabis or cannabinoid product 
batch intended for human consumption fail quality assurance testing 
if the water activity of the representative sample is greater than 0.65, 
unless water is a component of the product formulation and is listed 
as an ingredient. 
 
R68-29-6.  Foreign Matter Standards. 
 (1)  A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis, cannabis 
product, or cannabinoid product fail quality assurance testing if: 
 (a)  the sample contains foreign matter visible to the 
unaided human eye; 
 (b)  the sample is found to contain microscopic foreign 
matter considered to be harmful or estimated to comprise greater than 
3% of the mass of the representative sample as determined by the 
testing laboratory; or 
 (c)  foreign matter is found that is suspected of having been 
intentionally added to the sample to increase its visual appeal or 
market value; or 
 (d)  for a cannabis plant product, the total number of seeds 
found is greater than the net weight of the sample collected divided 
by 1.75. 
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R68-29-7.  Potency Testing. 
 (1)  A lot or batch of cannabis plant product, cannabis 
concentrate, or cannabis product shall have its cannabinoid profile 
determined and listed on a COA as total THC, total CBD, and the 
total concentration of any THC analog known to be present. 
 (2)  A lot or batch of cannabis plant product, cannabis 
concentrate, or cannabis product fail quality assurance testing for 
cannabinoid content if: 
 (a)  it is not analyzed for each of the analytes listed in Table 
2; 
 (b)  the determined amount of any analyte exceeds its 
action level given in Table 2; 
 (c)  it is found to contain a detectable amount of any of the 
artificially derived cannabinoids listed in Table 3 as determined by 
liquid chromatography-mass spectroscopy; or 
 (d)  greater than 10% of the total cannabinoid peak area is 
comprised of unknown cannabinoids after peaks smaller than 1% of 
the total peak area have been excluded as determined by high-
performance liquid chromatography with a diode array detector 
(HPLC-DAD). 
 

TABLE 2 
Cannabinoid Components and Action Levels 

Analyte 
Chemical 
Abstract 
Service 

Action Level 

Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabidiol 
 (Δ9-THC) 1972-08-03 No Limit 

Δ8-Tetrahydrocannabidiol 
 (Δ8-THC) 5957-75-5 No Limit 

Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabinolic acid  
(THCA) 23978-85-0 No Limit 

Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV) 31262-37-0 No Limit 

Cannabidiol (CBD) 13956-29-1 No Limit 

Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA) 1244-58-2 No Limit 

Cannabidivarin (CBDV) 24274-48-4 No Limit 

Cannabinol (CBN) 521-35-7 No Limit 

Cannabigerol (CBG) 25654-31-3 No Limit 

Cannabichromene (CBC) 20675-51-8 No Limit 

Cannabigerolic acid (CBGA) 25555-57-1 No Limit 

Cannabichromenic acid (CBCA) 20408-52-0 No Limit 

9R-Δ6a,10a-Tetrahydrocannabidiol 
(Δ3-THC) 95720-01-7 1%1 

9S-Δ6a,10a-Tetrahydrocannabidiol 
(Δ3-THC) 95720-02-8 1%1 

(6aR,9R)-Δ10-
Tetrahydrocannabidiol 95543-62-7 1%1 

(6aR,9S)-Δ10-Tetrahydrocannabidiol 95588-87-7 1%1 

Cannabicitran (CBTC) 31508-71-1 2% 
 
1If the laboratory performing the testing cannot chromatographically 
separate 9(R+S)-Δ6a,10a-Tetrahydrocannabidiol or (6aR,9(R+S))-
Δ10-Tetrahydrocannabidiol, then the action level for the combined 
isomers will be 1.5%. 
 

TABLE 3 
Artificially Derived Cannabinoids 

Analyte Chemical Abstract  
Service 

Hexahydrocannabinol (HHC) 
36403-90-4, 
36403-91-5 

Tetrahydrocannabinol acetate 
 (THC-OAc) 23132-17-4 

3-Heptyl-delta(1)-tetrahydrocannabinol 
(THCP) 

54763-99-4, 
51768-60-6 

 
R68-29-8.  Microbial Standards. 
 (1)  A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant 
product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product fail quality 
assurance testing for microbiological contaminants if the results 
exceed the limits as set forth in Table 4. 
 (2)  Each sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant 
product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product shall be tested for 
total aerobic microbial count and total combined yeast and mold.  The 
specific pathogens listed in Table 4 may be tested for at the discretion 
of the department. 
 

TABLE 4 
Microbial Analytes and Action Levels 

Material Microbial Limit Requirement (cfu/g or 
cfu/ml) 

Cannabis Plant  
Product 

Total Aerobic Microbial Count  
≤100,000 
Absence of E. Coli and Salmonella spp. 
Absence of Aspergillus fumigatus,  
Aspergillus flavus, Aspergillus niger,  
and Aspergillus terreus  

Cannabinoid 
Concentrate 

Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤10,000 
Total Combined Yeast and Mold Count 
≤1,000 
Absence of STEC 
Absence of Pseudomonas 
Absence of Staph 

Orally Consumable 
Products 

Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤10,000 
Total Combined Yeast and Mold Count 
≤1,000 
Absence of E. Coli and Salmonella spp. 
Absence of Staph  

Transdermal 
Products  

Total Aerobic Microbial Count ≤250 
Total Yeast and Mold Count ≤250 
Absence of Pseudomonas 
Absence of Staph  

 
R68-29-9.  Pesticide Standards. 
 (1)  Only pesticides allowed by the department may be used 
in the cultivation of cannabis. 
 (2)  If an independent cannabis laboratory identifies a 
pesticide that is not allowed under Subsection R68-29-5(1) and is 
above the action levels provided in Subsection R68-29-5(3) that lot 
or batch from which the sample was taken has failed quality 
assurance testing. 
 (3)  A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis, cannabis 
product, or cannabinoid product fail quality assurance testing for 
pesticides if the results exceed the limits as set forth in Table 5. 
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TABLE 5 
Pesticide Analytes and Action Levels 

Analyte Chemical Abstract  
Service 
(CAS) Registry  
number  

Action 
Level 
ppm 

Abamectin 71751-41-2 0.5 
Acephate 30560-19-1 0.4 
Acequinocyl 57960-19-7 2 
Acetamiprid 135410-20-7 0.2 
Aldicarb 116-06-3 0.4 
Azoxystrobin 131860-33-8 0.2 
Bifenazate 149877-41-8 0.2 
Bifenthrin 82657-04-3 0.2 
Boscalid 188425-85-6 0.4 
Carbaryl 63-25-2 0.2 
Carbofuran 1563-66-2 0.2 
Chlorantraniliprole 500008-45-7 0.2 
Chlorfenapyr 122453-73-0 1 
Chlorpyrifos 2921-88-2 0.2 
Clofentezine 74115-24-5 0.2 
Cypermethrin 52315-07-8 1 
Daminozide 1596-84-5 1 
DDVP (Dichlorvos) 62-73-7 0.1 
Diazinon 333-41-5 0.2 
Dimethoate 60-51-5 0.2 
Ethoprophos 13194-48-4 0.2 
Etofenprox 80844-07-1 0.4 
Etoxazole 153233-91-1 0.2 
Fenoxycarb 72490-01-8 0.2 
Fenpyroximate 134098-61-6 0.4 
Fipronil 120068-37-3 0.4 
Flonicamid 158062-67-0 1 
Fludioxonil 131341-86-1 0.4 
Hexythiazox 78587-05-0 1 
Imazalil 35554-44-0 0.2 
Imidacloprid 138261-41-3 0.4 
Kresoxim-methyl 143390-89-0 0.4 
Malathion 143390-89-0 0.2 
Metalaxyl 57837-19-1 0.2 
Methiocarb 2032-65-7 0.2 
Methomyl 16752-77-5 0.4 
Methyl parathion 298-00-0 0.2 
MGK-264 113-48-4 0.2 
Myclobutanil 88671-89-0 0.2 
Naled 300-76-5 0.5 
Oxamyl 23135-22-0 1 
Paclobutrazol 76738-62-0 0.4 
Permethrins 52645-53-1 0.2 
Phosmet 732-11-6 0.2 
Piperonyl_butoxide 51-03-6 2 
Prallethrin 23031-36-9 0.2 
Propiconazole 60207-90-1 0.4 
Propoxur 114-26-1 0.2 
Pyrethrins 8003-34-7 1 
Pyridaben 96489-71-3 0.2 
Spinosad 168316-95-8 0.2 
Spiromesifen 283594-90-1 0.2 
Spirotetramat 203313-25-1 0.2 
Spiroxamine 118134-30-8 0.4 
Tebuconazole 80443-41-0 0.4 
Thiacloprid 111988-49-9 0.2 
Thiamethoxam 153719-23-4 0.2 

Trifloxystrobin 141517-21-7 0.2 
 
 (4)  Permethrins should be measured as cumulative residue 
of cis- and trans-permethrin isomers (CAS numbers 54774-45-7 and 
51877-74-8). 
 (5)  Pyrethrins should be measured as the cumulative 
residues of pyrethrin I (CAS 121-21-1), pyrethrin II (CAS 121-29-9), 
cinerin 1 (CAS 25402-06-6), and jasmolin 1 (CAS 4466-14-2). 
 (6)  Abamectin is a composite of the amounts of avermectin 
B1a and avermectin B1b. 
 
R68-29-10.  Residual Solvent Standards. 
 (1)  A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant 
product, cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product fails quality 
assurance testing for residual solvents if the results exceed the limits 
provided in Table 6 unless the solvent is: 
 (a)  a component of the product formulation; 
 (b)  listed as an ingredient; and 
 (c)  generally considered to be safe for the intended form 
of use. 
 

TABLE 6 
List of Solvents and Action Levels 

Solvent  Chemical 
Abstract 
Service 
(CAS) 
Registry 
number  

Action level 
ppm 

1,2 Dimethoxyethane 110-71-4 100 
1,4 Dioxane 123-9  380 
1-Butanol 71-36-3  5,000 
1-Pentanol 71-41-0 5,000 
1-Propanol 71-23-8 5,000 
2-Butanol 78-92-2 5,000 
2-Butanone 78-93-3  5,000 
2-Ethoxyethanol 110-80-5 160 
2-methylbutane 78-78-4  5,000 
2-Propanol (IPA) 67-63-0 5,000 
Acetone 67-64-1 5,000 
Acetonitrile 75-05-8 410 
Benzene 71-43-2 2 
Butane  106-97-8 5,000 
Cumene 98-82-8 70 
Cyclohexane 110-82-7 3,880 
Dichloromethane 75-09-2 600 
2,2-dimethylbutane 75-83-2   290 
2,3-dimethylbutane 79-29-8  290 
1,2-dimethylbenzene  95-47-6  See Xylenes 
1,3-dimethylbenzene  108-38-3  See Xylenes 
1,4-dimethylbenzene 106-42-3  See Xylenes 
Dimethyl sulfoxide  67-68-5  5,000 
Ethanol 64-17-5  5,000 
Ethyl acetate  141-78-6  5,000 
Ethylbenzene 100-41-4  See Xylenes 
Ethyl ether 60-29-7  5,000 
Ethylene glycol  107-21-1  620 
Ethylene Oxide 75-21-8  50 
Heptane 142-82-5  5,000 
n-Hexane 110-54-3  290 
Isopropyl acetate  290 5,000 
Methanol 67-56-1  3,000 
Methylpropane 75-28-5  5,000 
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2-Methylpentane 107-83-5  290 
3-Methylpentane 96-14-0  290 
N,N-dimethylacetamide 127-19-5  1,090 
N,N-dimethylformamide  68-12-2  880 
Pentane  109-66-0  5,000 
Propane 74-98-6  5,000 
Pyridine 110-86-1  100 
Sulfolane  126-33-0  160 
Tetrahydrofuran 109-99-9  720 
Toluene 108-88-3  890 
Xylenes 1330-20-7  2,170 

 
 (2)  Xylenes is a combination of the following: 
 (a)  1,2-dimethylbenzene; 
 (b)  1,3-dimethylbenzene; 
 (c)  1,4-dimethylbenzene; and 
 (d)  ethyl benzene. 
 
R68-29-11.  Heavy Metal Standards. 
 A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant product, 
cannabis concentrate, cannabis product, or vaporizer cartridges fail 
quality assurance testing for heavy metals if the results exceed the 
limits provided in Table 7. 
 

TABLE 7 
Heavy Metals 

Metals Natural Health Products 
Acceptable limits in parts per 
million 

Arsenic <2 
Cadmium <0.82 
Lead <1.2 
Mercury <0.4 

 
R68-29-12.  Mycotoxin Standards. 
 A sample and related lot or batch of cannabis plant product, 
cannabis concentrate, or cannabis product fail quality assurance 
testing for mycotoxin if the results exceed the limits provided in 
Table 8. 
 

TABLE 8 
Mycotoxin 

Test Specification  
The Total of 

 

Aflatoxin B1, 
 

Aflatoxin B2, 
 

Aflatoxin G1, and 
 

Aflatoxin G2 <20 ppb of substance  
Ochratoxin A.  <20 ppb of substance 

 
KEY:  cannabis testing, quality assurance, cannabis laboratory 
Date of Last Change:  February 5, 2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41a-
701(3)] 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal and Reenact 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R426-10 Filing ID:  
56397 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Population Health, Emergency Medical 

Services 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 142004 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2004 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dean Penovich 801-

913-
2621 

dpenovich@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R426-10.  Air Ambulance Licensure and Operations 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) is amending this rule to clarify requirements 
for accreditation for licensed air ambulance providers. 
 
These rule amendments are being made at the request of 
the Air Ambulance Committee and affected stakeholders. 
 
Additionally, upon review of this rule, the Department 
determined that the rule's original language should be 
restructured with significant updates to style and 
formatting to improve clarity and consistency with the 
Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The filing clarifies the responsibilities for accreditation and 
licensed providers. 
 
Additionally, this filing updates definitions and makes 
updates to style and formatting throughout this rule to 
improve clarity and consistency with the Rulewriting 
Manual for Utah. 
 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
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There is no anticipated fiscal impact to the state budget 
with this proposed rule, as these updates to provider 
reporting requirements clarify responsibilities already in 
practice for the state and any other updates to this rule 
make style and formatting changes to improve clarity and 
consistency with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated fiscal impact to local governments 
with this proposed rule, as these updates to provider 
reporting requirements clarify responsibilities and any 
other updates make style and formatting changes to 
improve clarity and consistency with the Rulewriting 
Manual for Utah. 
 
Additionally, local governments do not own or operate 
licensed air ambulance services and do not have a role in 
the licensing, accreditation, or associated reporting for the 
provision of services. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is an inestimable fiscal impact to small businesses 
with this proposed rule, as this rule change aligns state 
requirements for an air ambulance accreditation service 
with national model standards. 
 
The additional criteria of training requirements for 
personnel and the inclusion of a board of directors required 
by this rule change could add a cost to small businesses 
offering air ambulance accreditation services that have not 
previously implemented those practices. 
 
This amount is inestimable because small businesses may 
already have staff that meet some or all of the additional 
training requirements and may already have access to a 
board of directors.  Compensation to a board of directors 
is in no way required by this rule and is solely left to the 
discretion of a small business. 
 
It is not anticipated that this change will result in any 
savings for small businesses.  Any other updates make 
style and formatting changes to improve clarity and 
consistency with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is an inestimable fiscal impact to non-small 
businesses with this proposed rule, as this rule change 
aligns state requirements for an air ambulance 
accreditation service with national model standards. 
 
The additional criteria of training requirements for 
personnel and the inclusion of a board of directors required 
by this rule change could add a cost to non-small 
businesses offering air ambulance accreditation services 
that have not previously implemented those practices. 
 

This amount is inestimable because non-small businesses 
may already have staff that meet some or all of the 
additional training requirements and may already have 
access to a board of directors.  Compensation to a board 
of directors is in no way required by this rule and is solely 
left to the discretion of a non-small business. 
 
It is not anticipated that this change will result in any 
savings for non-small businesses.  Any other updates 
make style and formatting changes to improve clarity and 
consistency with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated fiscal impact to other persons with 
this proposed rule, as these updates to provider reporting 
requirements clarify responsibilities and any other updates 
make style and formatting changes to improve clarity and 
consistency with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah. 
 
Additionally, other persons do not own or operate licensed 
air ambulance services and do not have a role in the 
licensing, accreditation, or associated reporting for the 
provision of services. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As there are no affected persons, there are no anticipated 
compliance costs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 
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Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-4-102   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

05/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

05/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 03/25/2024 

 
[R426.  Health and Human Services, Population Health 
Emergency Medical Services. 
R426-10.  Air Ambulance Licensure and Operations. 
R426-10-100.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Section 26B-4-102 authorizes this rule. 

 (2)  This rule provides department requirements for air 
ambulance provider licensure and operations. 
 
R426-10-200.  Air Ambulance Service Application and Licensure. 
 (1)  No person, either as owner, agent or otherwise, shall 
furnish, operate, conduct, maintain, advertise or otherwise be 
engaged in the provision of emergency medical care using an air 
ambulance unless currently licensed by the State of Utah Department 
of Health and Human Services. The state retains the right to conduct 
air ambulance service investigations per state law. 
 (2)  The following shall be complied with to obtain a State 
of Utah air ambulance license: 
 (a)  A person from another state shall not provide 
emergency medical services aboard an air ambulance within the state 
unless that person complies with the requirements under this chapter.  
This requirement applies to any person that provides patient care 
within the State of Utah. 
 (b)  Applicants desiring to be licensed or to renew its 
license for an air ambulance service shall submit the applicable fees 
and application on department-approved forms prior to being issued 
a license to operate. 
 (c)  Applicants shall submit a copy of air ambulance service 
license(s) concurrently issued and on file with other states. 
 (d)  Applicants shall provide information about individual 
aircraft that will be used while providing medical care licensed under 
this Chapter to the state for physical inspection of medical 
compliance. 
 (e)  Applicants shall provide results to the department from 
the prior 10 years of any investigations, disciplinary actions, or 
exclusions with the potential to impact the quality of medical care 
provided to patients.  Such investigations, disciplinary actions, or 
exclusions that shall be reported apply to all current and prior legal 
names of the entity and all other names used by the entity to provide 
health care services (see R426-10-600, Change of 
Ownership/Management) and any person or entity who had direct or 
indirect ownership of at least 50% interest in the air ambulance 
service within the prior 10-year period. 
 (f)  Applicants shall identify an air ambulance service 
medical director pursuant to requirements found in R426-5-2400.  
The medical director shall be responsible for medical direction and 
oversight regarding credentialing air medical providers, clinical 
practice, and all patient care issues. Personnel changes in medical 
director shall be reported to the department within 30 days. 
 (g)  Applicants shall submit all required fees, when 
applicable. 
 (h)  When the name or ownership of the air ambulance 
service changes, an air ambulance service license application shall be 
submitted to the department at least 30 days prior to the effective date 
of the change. 
 (i)  Air ambulance services shall provide emergency 
information about the service to the department.  This information 
shall be used by the department to provide effective communications 
and resource management, in the event of a statewide or localized 
disaster or emergency situation.  The information is included in the 
initial and renewal application for certification of air ambulance 
services. 
 (j)  Air ambulance permits and licenses are not transferable. 
 (k)  Duplicate air ambulance permits and licenses can be 
obtained by submitting a written request to the department. The 
request shall include a letter signed by the licensee certifying that the 
original permit and license has been lost, destroyed or rendered 
unusable. 
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 (l)  Each licensed air ambulance provider shall obtain a new 
air ambulance inspection and subsequent permit or certification from 
the department prior to returning an air ambulance to service 
following a modification, change or any renovation that results in a 
change to the stretcher placement or seating in the air ambulance 
interior configuration to ensure the aircraft meets patient care 
requirements. 
 (m)  The licensed air ambulance service shall file an 
amended list of aircraft that are used to provide service within the 
state to the department within 30 days after an air ambulance is added 
or removed permanently from service. 
 (n)  The licensure period for all licensed air ambulance 
services shall be for 4 years. 
 (o)  Licensure authorizes the air ambulance provider only 
to provide emergency medical care using an air ambulance, and does 
not constitute authority to provide air transportation.  Such authority 
shall be obtained from the Federal Aviation Administration and 
United States Department of Transportation. 
 (p)  The following regulations shall not relieve the licensed 
air ambulance provider from compliance with other statutes, rules, or 
regulations in effect for medical personnel and emergency medical 
services, involving licensing and authorizations, insurance, 
prescribed and proscribed acts and penalties. 
 
R426-10-300.  Exceptions to Air Ambulance Service Application 
and Licensure. 
 (1)  This rule does not apply to the following: 
 (a)  An air ambulance or air ambulance service operated by 
an agency of the United States government. 
 (b)  Services that provide rescue and evacuation equipment 
and aircraft owned and operated by a governmental entity whose 
primary role is not to transport patients by air ambulance, and who is 
not receiving payment for such services. 
 (c)  Evacuation and rescue equipment used and owned by 
the department of public safety in air, ground, or water evacuation. 
 
R426-10-400.  Air Ambulance Service Deemed Status. 
 (1)  The department may grant deemed status for state 
license to an air ambulance provider that has received accreditation 
from a department recognized accreditation service.  An air 
ambulance provider who has deemed status may receive a license if 
they meet all of the requirements for application and licensure. 
 (2)  To be recognized by the department as an approved 
accreditation organization for the purposes of this section, the 
accrediting organization shall meet the following minimum 
standards: 
 (a)  Publish standards that are equivalent to or exceed the 
standards in this chapter. 
 (b)  Publish standards which address every component of a 
medical transport service that could potentially impact the quality of 
care and patient safety with respect to communications centers, 
pilots, drivers, maintenance, patient care providers, and 
administrative support. 
 (c)  Provide evidence of timely reviews of applications 
from providers seeking accreditation. 
 (d)  Procedures for random site visits, audits, and other 
strategies utilized to ensure an accredited provider or a provider 
seeking accreditation is adhering to the accreditation standards. 
 (e)  Publish policies for the 
 (i)  initial accreditation requirements; 
 (ii)  the tenure of accreditation, not to exceed three (3) 
years; 

 (iii)  the requirements for reaccreditation; and 
 (iv)  the accreditation decision making process. 
 (f)  Uses trained accreditation personnel with experience in 
medical transport at the level of accreditation and license for the level 
of accreditation being sought. 
 (g)  A formal training program that educates accreditation 
auditors in consistent interpretation of standards and policies of the 
accreditation agency. 
 (h)  Publish the required qualifications for accreditation 
personnel who conduct site surveys.  Such qualifications must 
demonstrate an extensive depth of experience with and knowledge of 
the air ambulance industry. 
 (i)  Policies and standards that recognize the special 
circumstances of medical transport services that serve rural areas. 
 (j)  Demonstrate that accreditation standards are updated on 
a regular basis to stay current with changes in healthcare and air 
medical transportation. 
 (k)  Provide definition of all sentinel events including near 
misses.  The accrediting agency shall outline the processes for 
notifying the department of such events and the process for 
investigating and instituting corrective measures for such events. 
 (l)  Provide information about the Board of Directors.  
Members of the Board of Directors shall have experience in the air 
medical transport industry.  The Board of Directors shall include 
broad representation by members of relevant national organizations 
that are engaged in the development, training, and oversight of 
critical care and air medical patient transportation. 
 (m)  Clearly outline the Conflict of Interest Policy that 
excludes Board members or other accreditation agency 
representatives from participating in accreditation decisions, site 
surveys, or other processes when a real or potential conflict of interest 
exists. 
 (n)  Publish fees for providers seeking accreditation. 
 (o)  Provide documentation of the process that allows and 
encourages input, suggestions, and review by outside individuals and 
agencies related to its standards, policies, and procedures. 
 (p)  Explain the procedure for a corrective action plan when 
an audit uncovers areas that are out of compliance. 
 (q)  Demonstrate a continuous quality improvement 
process that reviews the application process, site surveys, 
accreditation decisions, and accreditation standards.  The process 
must include measures to achieve improvement, fairness, and 
transparency. 
 (r)  Maintain insurance (General liability, Medical 
Professional Liability, Directors and Officers and Travel) and be able 
to present their current certificates of insurance to the state licensing 
agency. 
 (s)  Comply with all applicable Health Insurance Portability 
and Accountability Act (HIPAA) regulations, including any 
necessary requirements of a Business Associate entity. 
 (t)  Allow a department representative to be present during 
site surveys, investigations, and any other on-site visit performed in 
the Utah. 
 (u)  Provide simultaneous notification to the department of 
an air ambulance provider's accreditation decisions, corrective 
action, any changes in accreditation status, and sentinel event reports; 
and 
 (v)  List the accrediting agency's involvement in research 
to improve the air medical transportation industry. 
 (3)  A current list of recognized accreditation organizations 
is available on the department's website. 
 



 

20 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, April 15, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 08 

R426-10-500.  Air Ambulance Service Compliance with State 
Licensure Requirements. 
 (1)  Deemed status recognition is intended to streamline the 
licensure process for air ambulance services by preventing 
duplicative documentation. 
 (2)  The department reserves the right to verify and inspect 
all equipment and documentation at any time to ensure that the air 
ambulance service maintains full compliance with requirements 
related to the air ambulance service licensure. 
 
R426-10-600.  Licensed Air Ambulance Provider Change of 
Ownership and Management. 
 (1)  When a currently licensed air ambulance provider 
anticipates a change of ownership, the current licensed air ambulance 
provider shall notify the department within thirty (30) calendar days 
before a change of ownership.  A licensed air ambulance provider 
who is seeking a new license, shall submit an application for change 
of ownership along with the requisite fees and documentation within 
thirty (30) calendar days. 
 (2)  The conversion of a licensed air ambulance provider's 
legal structure, or the legal structure of an entity that has a direct or 
indirect ownership interest in the licensed air ambulance provider is 
not a change of ownership unless the conversion also includes a 
transfer of at least 50 percent of the licensed air ambulance provider's 
direct or indirect ownership interest to one or more new owners.  
Specific instances of what does or does not constitute a change of 
ownership are set forth below in section (4). 
 (3)  The department shall consider the following criteria in 
determining whether there is a change of ownership of a licensed air 
ambulance provider that requires a new license: 
 (a)  Sole proprietors: 
 (i)  The transfer of at least 50 percent of the ownership 
interest in a licensed air ambulance provider from a sole proprietor to 
another individual, whether or not the transaction affects the title to 
real property, shall be considered a change of ownership. 
 (ii)  Change of ownership does not include forming a 
corporation from the sole proprietorship with the proprietor as the 
sole shareholder. 
 (b)  Partnerships: 
 (i)  Dissolution of the partnership and conversion into any 
other legal structure shall be considered a change of ownership if the 
conversion also includes a transfer of at least 50 percent of the direct 
or indirect ownership to one or more new owners. 
 (ii)  Change of ownership does not include dissolution of 
the partnership to form a corporation with the same persons retaining 
the same shares of ownership in the new corporation. 
 (c)  Corporations: 
 (i)  Consolidation of two or more corporations resulting in 
the creation of a new corporate entity shall be considered a change of 
ownership if the consolidation includes a transfer of at least 50 
percent of the direct or indirect ownership to one or more new 
owners. 
 (ii)  Formation of a corporation from a partnership, a sole 
proprietorship or a limited liability company shall be considered a 
change of ownership if the change includes a transfer of at least 50 
percent of the direct or indirect ownership to one or more new 
owners. 
 (iii)  The transfer, purchase, or sale of shares in the 
corporation such that at least 50 percent of the direct or indirect 
ownership of the corporation is shifted to one or more new owners 
shall be considered a change of ownership. 
 (d)  Limited liability companies: 

 (i)  The transfer of at least 50 percent of the direct or 
indirect ownership interest in the company shall be considered a 
change of ownership. 
 (ii)  The termination or dissolution of the company and the 
conversion thereof into any other entity shall be considered a change 
of ownership if the conversion also includes a transfer of at least 50 
percent of the direct or indirect ownership to one or more new 
owners. 
 (iii)  Change of ownership does not include transfers of 
ownership interest between existing members if the transaction does 
not involve the acquisition of ownership interest by a new member. 
For the purposes of this subsection, "member" means a person or 
entity with an ownership interest in the limited liability company. 
 (4)  Management contracts, leases or other operational 
arrangements: 
 (a)  If the owner of an air ambulance service enters into a 
lease arrangement or management agreement whereby the owner 
retains no authority or responsibility for the operation and 
management of the licensed air ambulance provider, the action shall 
be considered a change of ownership that requires a new license. 
 (5)  Each applicant for a change of ownership shall provide 
the following information: 
 (a)  The legal name of the entity and all other names used 
by it to provide health care services. The applicant has a continuing 
duty to notify the department of all name changes at least thirty (30) 
calendar day prior to the effective date of the change. 
 (b)  Contact information for the entity including mailing 
address, telephone and facsimile numbers, e-mail address and 
website address, as applicable. 
 (c)  The identity of all persons and business entities with a 
controlling interest in the licensed air ambulance provider, including 
administrators, directors, managers and management contractors. 
 (i)  A non-profit corporation shall list the governing body 
and officers. 
 (ii)  A for-profit corporation shall list the names of the 
officers and stockholders who directly or indirectly own or control 
five percent or more of the shares of the corporation. 
 (iii)  A sole proprietor shall include proof of lawful 
presence in the United States in compliance with section 24-76.5-
103(4), C.R.S. 
 (d)  The name, address and business telephone number of 
every person identified in R426-10-600 as ownership or management 
and the individual designated by the applicant as the chief executive 
officer of the entity.  If the addresses and telephone numbers provided 
above are the same as the contact information for the entity itself, the 
applicant shall also provide an alternate address and telephone 
number for at least one individual for use in the event of an 
emergency or closure of the licensed air ambulance provider. 
 (e)  Proof of professional liability insurance obtained and 
held in the name of the license applicant.  Such coverage shall be 
maintained for the duration of the license term and the department 
shall be notified of any change in the amount, type or provider of 
professional liability insurance coverage during the license term. 
 (f)  Articles of incorporation, articles of organization, 
partnership agreement, or other organizing documents required by 
the secretary of state to conduct business in Utah; and by-laws or 
equivalent documents that govern the rights, duties and capital 
contributions of the business entity. 
 (g)  The address of the entity's physical location and the 
name(s) of the owner(s) of each structure on the campus where 
licensed services are provided if different from those identified in 
elsewhere in this section. 
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 (h)  A copy of any management agreement pertaining to 
operation of the entity that sets forth the financial and administrative 
responsibilities of each party. 
 (i)  If an applicant leases one or more building(s) to operate 
as a licensed air ambulance service, a copy of the lease shall be filed 
with the license application and show clearly in its context which 
party to the agreement is to be held responsible for the physical 
condition of the property. 
 (j)  A statement signed and dated contemporaneously with 
the application stating whether, within the previous ten (10) years, 
any of the new owners have been the subject of, or a party to, one of 
more of the following events, regardless of whether action has been 
stayed in a judicial appeal or otherwise settled between the parties. 
 (i)  Been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor involving 
crimes as described in R426-5-3100 under the laws of any state of 
the United States. 
 (ii)  Had a state license or federal certification denied, 
revoked, or suspended by another jurisdiction. 
 (iii)  Had a civil judgment or a criminal conviction in a case 
brought by federal, state or local authorities that resulted from the 
operation, management, or ownership of a health facility or other 
entity related to substandard patient care or health care fraud. 
 (iv)  Certifies whether it is presently or has ever been 
debarred, suspended, proposed for debarment, declared ineligible, or 
voluntarily excluded from participation in a Contract by any 
governmental department or agency, whether international, national, 
state, or local, and certifies it is in compliance with Utah Code Ann. 
Section 63G-6a-904 et seq. and OMB guidelines at 2 C.F.R. 180 
which implement Executive Order Nos. 12549 and 12689. 
Notification to the department within thirty (30) days must occur if 
debarred, suspended, proposed for debarment, declared ineligible or 
voluntarily excluded from participation in any contract by any 
governmental entity during the tenure of the license. 
 (k)  Any statement regarding the information requested in 
this section of rule shall include the following, if applicable: 
 (i)  If the event is an action by federal, state or local 
authorities; the full name of the authority, its jurisdiction, the case 
name, and the docket, proceeding or case number by which the event 
is designated, and a copy of the consent decree, order or decision. 
 (ii)  If the event is a felony or misdemeanor conviction 
involving moral turpitude, the court, its jurisdiction, the case name, 
the case number, a description of the matter or a copy of the 
indictment or charges, and any plea or verdict entered by the court. 
 (iii)  If the event involves a civil action or arbitration 
proceeding, the court or arbiter, the jurisdiction, the case name, the 
case number, a description of the matter or a copy of the complaint, 
and a copy of the verdict, the court or arbitration decision. 
 (6)  The existing licensee shall be responsible for correcting 
all rule violations and deficiencies in any current plan of correction 
before the change of ownership becomes effective. In the event that 
such corrections cannot be accomplished in the time frame specified, 
the prospective licensee shall be responsible for all uncorrected rule 
violations and deficiencies including any current plan of correction 
submitted by the previous licensee unless the prospective licensee 
submits a revised plan of correction, approved by the department, 
before the change of ownership becomes effective. 
 (7)  If the department issues a license to the new owner, the 
previous owner shall return its license to the department within five 
(5) calendar days of the new owner's receipt of its license. 
 

R426-10-700.  Air Ambulance Service Insurance Requirements. 
 (1)  Applicants for licensure shall demonstrate liability 
coverage for injuries to persons and for loss or property damages 
resulting from negligence by the service or medical crew.  A license 
holder shall immediately notify the department and cease operations 
if the coverage required by this section is cancelled or suspended. 
 (2)  The department shall not issue an air ambulance license 
to an air ambulance provider unless the applicant for a license or the 
licensee has evidence of medical professional liability insurance that 
requires the insurer to compensate for injuries to persons or 
unintentional damage to property. 
 (a)  Applicants shall provide a copy of the current 
certificates of insurance demonstrating coverage for each air 
ambulance medical crew member that demonstrates, at a minimum, 
aggregate limits of $1,000,000 per claim made and a total of 
$3,000,000 for all claims made against the provider during the policy 
year. 
 (3)  Worker's compensation coverage is required as defined 
by the State of Utah regulating bodies. 
 
R426-10-800.  Base Locations. 
 (1)  A base location is the physical address where the crew, 
medical equipment and supplies, and the air ambulance are located. 
This will be designated by where the licensee operates and maintains 
or makes readily available records of operations. 
 (2)  The department may conduct announced and 
unannounced inspections at any locations where a licensed air 
ambulance provider operates at any time, including nights or 
weekends to determine compliance with these rules and regulations. 
 (3)  Each base location shall have readily available at all 
times the following: 
 (i)  Security measures in place that protects medical 
supplies and equipment onboard the air ambulance from tampering 
and unauthorized access, including pharmaceuticals. This would 
include direct visual monitoring or closed circuit television or the air 
ambulance must be in a secured location with locked perimeter 
fencing or hangar. 
 (ii)  State license or certificate of operation prominently 
displayed within the building. 
 (iii)  Evidence of medical professional liability insurance. 
 (iv)  Drug Enforcement Agency Registration shall be 
prominently displayed within those buildings that store controlled 
substances. 
 (v)  Current Post-Accident Incident Plan. 
 (vi)  Documentation showing the professional certifications 
and licenses of all flight crew members. 
 (4)  The facility shall be clean and free of debris at all times 
and shall be compliant with all state and local building and fire codes. 
 
R426-10-900.  Number and Type of Air Ambulances. 
 (1)  Air ambulance providers shall provide a list of all air 
ambulances to be licensed and inspected for medical compliance by 
the department, including tail number (N-Number) and designation 
of (rotor or fixed wing) capabilities. 
 
R426-10-1000.  Capabilities of Medical Communications. 
 (1)  A licensed air ambulance provider shall have a 
communications network available consisting of reliable equipment 
designed to afford clear communications related to the number and 
condition of patients among all stakeholders within the system. 
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 (2)  The communication center shall demonstrate and 
maintain voice communications linkage with the radios and other 
allowable communication devices used in the air ambulance for the 
declared service area. 
 (3)  Licensed air ambulance providers shall have two-way 
communications equipment available that allows for or has the 
following: 
 (a)  Real-time patient tracking that shall be maintained and 
documented every 15 minutes including the time the air ambulance 
returns to service following transport. 
 (b)  Appropriate wireless communications capabilities with 
dispatch centers, local first responders, to include fire, EMS, and law 
enforcement. 
 (c)  Communications with medical referral and receiving 
facilities to exchange patient information and consult with medical 
control that shall be capable of communications exclusive of the air 
traffic control system. 
 (d)  A dedicated telephone number for the air ambulance 
service dispatch center. 
 (4)  The licensed air ambulance provider base station or 
communications network shall be manned during all phases of 
patient treatment and transport. 
 (5)  An emergency plan for communications during power 
outages and in disaster situations shall be established. 
 (6)  A policy for delineating methods for maintaining 
medical communications during power outages and in disaster 
situations. 
 
R426-10-1100.  Coordination of Medical Communications. 
 (1)  All licensed air ambulance providers shall have flights 
coordinated by designated medical dispatchers or communications 
specialists. 
 (3)  Communication specialists are required for processing 
requests, initiating responses, telecommunications, and assessing the 
capability for utilizing emergency medical dispatch protocols 
approved by the department. 
 (4)  Air ambulance communications specialists shall have 
training commensurate with the scope of responsibility given them 
by the particular licensed air ambulance provider. 
 (5)  The following requirements shall apply to all air 
ambulance communications centers: 
 (a)  Establish and maintain policies and procedures based 
on state or nationally accepted emergency medical dispatch standards 
and state or nationally accepted EMS clinical guidelines to aid in 
directing the daily operation of the air ambulance communications 
center. 
 (b)  Coordinate air ambulance deployment activities and 
communications with primary 911 PSAP call centers and appropriate 
medical facilities. 
 (c)  Require its communications specialists to satisfy 
performance standards that are based on state or nationally accepted 
emergency medical dispatch standards and state or nationally 
accepted EMS clinical guidelines. 
 (6)  At a minimum, the air ambulance communications 
center's performance standards shall measure a communication 
specialist's ability to: 
 (a)  Deploy the appropriate medical resources within the 
prescribed timeframe established by the communications center's 
standard operating procedures. 
 (b)  Provide pertinent information to the appropriate 911 
PSAP call center and receive updated information about the incident 
from the responding units or medical facilities. 

 (c)  Establish a quality assurance review process that is 
executed with consistency and objectivity in accordance with internal 
standards developed by the licensed air ambulance provider. 
 
R426-10-1200.  Communications Specialists Personnel 
Qualifications. 
 (1)  Communication specialists shall have appropriate 
training pertaining to EMS and medical transportation 
communications related to the provision of health care and receive 
certification within (1) year. 
 
R426-10-1300.  Pre-arrival and Hand-Off Communications to 
Hospitals or Emergency Patient Receiving Facilities. 
 (1)  All licensed air ambulance providers shall have a plan 
in place to transmit significant clinical data to hospital or emergency 
patient receiving facility medical personnel prior to arrival. 
 (2)  Licensed air ambulance providers shall start the process 
for transferring responsibility of patient care during patient transport 
to reduce the communication load on patient arrival to the facility as 
early as possible.  Transfer of care documentation shall be part of the 
EMS record. 
 (3)  Information transmitted to the hospital or the 
emergency patient receiving facility prior to arrival shall include: 
 (a)  patient information; 
 (b)  chief complaint; 
 (c)  brief patient history; 
 (d)  condition of patient; 
 (e)  treatment provided; and 
 (f)  estimated time of arrival. 
 (4)  Information at the time of patient hand-off shall include 
a copy of the patient care report to the hospital or emergency patient 
receiving facility within 24 hours after the end of the patient 
transport.  If a completed patient care report cannot be left at the 
facility at the end of the patient transfer to the hospital or emergency 
patient receiving facility, an abbreviated patient encounter form 
containing information essential to continued patient care shall be 
provided. 
 (5)  Abbreviated Patient Encounter form shall include: 
 (a)  patient information; 
 (b)  chief complaint; 
 (c)  brief patient history; 
 (d)  allergies (if known); 
 (e)  time and date of onset of symptoms; 
 (f)  pertinent physical findings; 
 (g)  patient medications (if known); 
 (h)  vital signs; 
 (i)  air medical treatment, including medications 
administered, IV fluids, procedures performed, and oxygen delivery; 
and 
 (j)  transfer of care (name of air medical crew member to 
the receiving healthcare professional legibly included in 
documentation). 
 
R426-10-1400.  Data Collection, Submission and Call Volume. 
 (1)  All licensed air ambulance providers shall have a 
system in place to collect, submit, monitor, and track all flight 
requests This information shall be submitted to the department. 
 (2)  All licensed air ambulance providers shall: 
 (a)  Report the specified state minimum data set, as required 
by the department for every request that results in the dispatch of an 
air ambulance, whether emergency prehospital, inter-hospital 
transport, aborted flight, cancellation of requested service, death on 
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scene (non-transport), or refusal of care as requested by the 
department. 
 (b)  Provide a yearly call volume report or EMS agency 
status report documenting the number of flights made within that 
calendar year. This report shall contain the number of flights 
organized by emergency prehospital, inter-hospital transport, aborted 
flight, cancellation of requested service, death on scene, non-
transport, or refusal of care to assist efforts related to evaluating 
patient care and the improvement of the EMS system. 
 
R426-10-1500.  Temporary Air Ambulance Use. 
 (1)  A licensed air ambulance provider shall notify the 
department when it temporarily removes a permitted air ambulance 
from service, or replaces it with a substitute air ambulance. 
 (2)  Upon receipt of notification, the department may issue 
a temporary permit for the operation of said air ambulance, as 
required by the department. 
 
R426-10-1600.  Medical Operations Policies and Procedures. 
 (1)  A detailed manual of policies and procedures shall be 
available for reference in the flight coordination office and available 
for inspection by the department to assist with EMS system planning 
and resource coordination efforts. 
 (2)  Personnel shall be familiar and comply with policies 
contained within the manual, which shall include all of the following: 
 (a)  procedures for acceptance of requests, referrals, and/or 
denial of service for medically related reasons; 
 (b)  a written description of the geographical boundaries 
and features for the service area, and a copy of the service area map; 
 (c)  scheduled hours of operation; 
 (d)  criteria for the medical conditions and indications or 
medical contraindications for flight; 
 (e)  medical communication procedures, including but not 
limited to medically-related dispatch protocol, call verification, and 
advisories to the requesting party, to include procedures for 
informing requesting party of flight procedures, anticipated time of 
aircraft patient arrival, or cancellation of flight; 
 (f)  criteria regarding acceptable destinations based upon 
medical needs of the patient; 
 (g)  non-aviation safety procedures for medical crew 
assignments and notification, including rosters of medical personnel; 
 (h)  written policy that ensures that air medical personnel 
shall not be assigned or assume cockpit duties concurrent with patient 
care duties and responsibilities; 
 (i)  written policy that directs air ambulance personnel to 
honor a patient request for a specific service or destination when the 
circumstances will not jeopardize patient safety; 
 (j)  medical communications procedures; 
 (k)  flight cancellation and referral procedures; 
 (l)  mutual aid procedures; 
 (m)  a written plan that addresses the actions to be taken in 
the event of an emergency, diversion, or patient crisis during transport 
operations; 
 (n)  patient tracking procedures that shall assure air/ground 
position reports at intervals not to exceed fifteen (15) minutes 
(inflight) and forty-five (45) minutes while landed on the ground; 
 (o)  policy for delineating methods of maintaining medical 
communications during power outages and in disaster situations; and 
 (p)  written procedures governing the licensed air 
ambulance provider's medical complaint resolution process and 
protocols. At a minimum, the licensed air ambulance provider shall 
designate personnel responsible for its dispute resolution process and 

provide the protocols it shall follow when investigation, tracking, 
documenting, reviewing, and resolving the complaint.  The licensed 
air ambulance provider's complaint resolution procedures shall 
emphasize resolution of complaints and problems within a specified 
period of time. 
 
R426-10-1700.  Medical Transport Plans. 
 (1)  To ensure proper patient care and the effective 
coordination of statewide emergency medical and trauma services, 
all licensed air ambulance providers shall have an integrated medical 
transport plan for each air ambulance permitted by the department 
that describes the following: 
 (a)  base location; 
 (b)  hours of operation; 
 (c)  emergency (dispatch) and non-emergency (business) 
contact information; 
 (d)  description of primary and secondary service areas; 
 (e)  medical criteria for utilization; 
 (f)  description of medical capabilities (including 
availability of specialized medical transport equipment); 
 (g)  communications capabilities including (but not limited 
to) radio frequencies and talk groups; 
 (h)  procedures for communicating with the air medical 
crew; and 
 (i)  mutual aid or backup procedures when the service is not 
available. 
 
R426-10-1800.  Coordination with Regional and State Disaster 
Preparedness Plans. 
 (1)  To ensure coordinated response to local, regional, or 
statewide disaster, all licensed air ambulance providers shall 
participate in regional and state disaster preparedness advisory 
groups, including preparedness planning meetings and scheduled 
exercises. 
 
R426-10-1900.  Medically Related Dispatch Protocols. 
 (1)  When air ambulance transport is indicated, requests 
shall be coordinated through the local Public Safety Answering Point 
(PSAP) or 911 call center as part of an integrated response, whenever 
possible in order for the PSAP to be able to coordinate 
communications among all entities involved in the response. 
 
R426-10-2000.  Ethical Practices and Conduct. 
 (1)  All licensed air ambulance providers shall have and 
follow a written code of conduct that demonstrates ethical practices 
including business, clinical operations, marketing and professional 
conduct. 
 (2)  Licensed air ambulance providers are subject to 
disciplinary action, or may be denied licensure for unethical practices 
or conduct which includes but shall not be limited to the following: 
 (a)  misrepresentation of the availability or level of medical 
or patient related services offered or provided; and 
 (b)  failing to take appropriate action in safeguarding the 
patient from incompetent or inappropriate health care practices of 
emergency medical services personnel. 
 
R426-10-2100.  Continuous Quality Improvement (QI) Program. 
 (1)  Licensed air ambulance providers shall establish a 
quality management team and a program implemented by this team 
to assess and improve the quality and appropriateness of patient care 
provided by the air ambulance services. 
 (2)  The program shall include: 
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 (a)  development of protocols, standing orders, training, 
policies and procedures; 
 (b)  approval of medications and techniques permitted for 
field use by service personnel in accordance with regulations of the 
department; 
 (c)  direct observation, field instruction, in-service training, 
or other means available to assess the quality of field performance; 
and 
 (d)  Participation in local and regional performance 
improvement activities. 
 (3)  All licensed air ambulance providers shall have a 
written policy that outlines a process to identify, document, and 
analyze sentinel events, adverse medical events, or potentially 
adverse events with specific goals to improve patient medical safety 
and/or quality of patient care. 
 (4)  Policies shall include the following: 
 (a)  review of events should address the effectiveness and 
efficiency of the organization, its support systems, as well as that of 
individuals within the organization; 
 (b)  when a sentinel event is identified, a method of 
information gathering shall be developed, and shall include outcome 
studies, chart review, case discussion, or other methodology; 
 (c)  findings, conclusions, recommendations, and actions 
shall be made and recorded including follow-up which also shall be 
determined, recorded, and performed; and 
 (d)  training and education needs, individual performance 
evaluations, equipment or resource acquisition, patient medical 
safety and risk management issues shall be integrated with the 
continuous quality improvement process. 
 (5)  All licensed air ambulance providers shall have a 
written policy outlining a utilization review process. 
 
R426-10-2200.  Staffing and Medical Personnel Requirements. 
 (1)  At a minimum a licensed air ambulance provider shall 
have the following medical personnel: 
 (a)  Medically qualified Utah licensed, or certified, 
individuals appropriate to the scope and mission of the licensed air 
ambulance provider, or EMS personnel recognized under an 
interstate compact of which Utah is a member.  Acceptable medical 
personnel include, but are not limited to physicians(MD/DO), 
paramedics, registered nurses(RN), registered nurse 
practitioners(RN-P), advanced practice nurses, physician 
assistants(PA), respiratory therapists(RRT), or other allied health 
professionals. 
 (b)  One medical attendant who is a licensed PA, RN, or 
MD/DO.  This attendant shall be the primary medical attendant.  The 
second medical attendant shall be a paramedic, PA, Respiratory 
Therapist, RN, or MD/DO. 
 
R426-10-2300.  Air Ambulance Staffing and Personnel 
Qualifications. 
 (1)  Each patient transport by a licensed air ambulance 
provider requires a minimum of two (2) medically qualified staff who 
are licensed or certified according to Utah or providers recognized 
under an interstate compact, REPLICA, who provide direct patient 
care, plus a vehicle operator. 
 (2)  The composition of the medical team may be amended 
for specialty missions upon approval and credentialing by the 
licensed air ambulance provider's medical director: 
 (a)  The licensed nurse shall have appropriate specialty 
certification within two (2) years of hire and must have pre-hire 
experience in the medications and interventions necessary for the 

service's scope of care.  The licensed nurse also shall have three (3) 
years critical care experience, which is no less than 4000 hours 
experience in an ICU or emergency department. 
 (b)  The paramedic shall have a FP-C or CCP-C within (2) 
years of hire in addition to at least (3) years (minimum of 4000 hours) 
of advanced life support experience. 
 (c)  The RRT shall have a minimum of 4000 hours of 
emergency department or ICU experience and appropriate specialty 
certification within two (2) years of hire. 
 (3)  Medical personnel shall have cognitive, affective, and 
psychomotor abilities sufficient to meet the clinical needs for the type 
of patient missions served. 
 (4)  A licensed air ambulance provider shall have a plan to 
assess and document the competency and proficiency of the 
personnel who provide medical services. 
 
R426-10-2400.  Air Ambulance Personnel Training 
Requirements. 
 (1)  All licensed air ambulance providers shall have a 
documented, structured educational program required for all air 
ambulance personnel, including the medical director. 
 (2)  The educational program shall at a minimum contain 
program orientation; initial and recurrent training which adheres to 
the services scope of care, patient population, mission statement and 
medical direction. 
 (3)  Each medical crew member shall complete and 
document training in mission specific procedures related to patient 
care as established by the licensed air ambulance provider's medical 
director and such federal, state, or local agencies with authority to 
regulate licensed air ambulance providers.  Documentation showing 
completion of all initial and recurrent training may be required by the 
department for license renewal. 
 (4)  Clinical experiences shall include but are not limited to 
the following: 
 (a)  experiences specific to the mission statement and scope 
of care of the medical transport service; 
 (b)  measurable objectives developed and documented for 
each experience listed below reflecting hands-on experience versus 
observation only; 
 (c)  care of patients in the air medical environment 
including the impact of altitude and other stressors; 
 (d)  advanced airway management; 
 (e)  applicable medical device specific training (Automatic 
Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator (AICD), Extracorporeal 
Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO), Intra-Aortic Balloon Pump 
(IABP), Left Ventricular Assist Device (LVAD), medication pumps, 
ventilators, etc.); 
 (f)  cardiology; 
 (g)  mechanical ventilation and respiratory physiology for 
adult, pediatric, and neonatal patients as it relates to the mission 
statement and scope of care of the medical transport service specific 
to the equipment; 
 (h)  high risk obstetric emergencies; 
 (i)  basic care for pediatrics, neonatal and obstetrics; 
 (j)  emergency/critical care for all patient populations to 
include special needs population; 
 (k)  hazardous materials recognition and response; 
 (l)  management of disaster and mass casualty events; 
 (m)  infection control and prevention; and 
 (n)  ethical and legal issues. 
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R426-10-2500.  Medical Staff and Patient Safety Welfare. 
 (1)  Medical personnel scheduling and individual work 
schedules shall demonstrate strategies to minimize duty-time fatigue, 
length of shift, number of shifts per week, and day-to-night rotation. 
 (2)  On-site scheduled shifts for a period to exceed twenty-
four (24) hours are not acceptable under most circumstances. 
 (3)  The following criteria shall be met for shifts scheduled 
more than twelve (12) hours: 
 (a)  medical personnel are not required to routinely perform 
any duties beyond those associated with the transport services; 
 (b)  medical personnel are provided with access to and 
permission for uninterrupted rest after daily medical personnel duties 
are met; 
 (c)  the physical base of operations includes an appropriate 
place for uninterrupted rest; 
 (d)  medical personnel shall have the right to call "time out" 
and be granted a reasonable rest period if the team member (or fellow 
team member) determines that he or she is unfit or unsafe to continue 
duty, no matter the shift length; 
 (e)  there shall be no adverse personnel action or undue 
pressure to continue in a "time-out" circumstance; 
 (f)  licensed air ambulance management shall monitor 
transport volumes and personnel's use of a "time out" policy; 
 (g)  licensed air ambulance providers shall utilize a fatigue 
risk management tool that is widely recognized in the industry; and 
 (h)  shifts extended over several days may be scheduled to 
address long commutes at programs with low volumes. 
 (4)  The licensed air ambulance provider shall clearly 
demonstrate and document it meets this above criteria for shifts over 
twelve (12) hours. 
 (5)  Provide at least (10) hours of rest in each twenty-four 
(24) hour period. 
 (6)  If the location of the base is remote and one-way 
commutes are more than two (2) hours, transportation time shall be 
considered. 
 (7)  Licensed air ambulance providers shall utilize a fatigue 
risk management tool that is widely recognized in the industry. 
 (8)  Scheduling of on-call shifts shall be evaluated to 
address fatigue in a written policy based on monitoring of duty times 
by managers, quality management tracking, and fatigue risk 
management. 
 (9)  The license air ambulance provider shall establish 
safety and infection control protocol that comply with the 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Standards. 
 (10)  The licensed air ambulance provider shall have an 
appropriate dress code that addresses mission specific hazards as well 
as jewelry, hair, and other personal items that may possibly be used 
by medical personnel that may interfere with patient care. 
 
R426-10-2600.  Air Ambulance Service Medical Director 
Qualifications. 
 (1)  A licensed air ambulance provider's medical director 
who oversees the practice of the emergency medical services during 
patient transport shall be familiar with Utah state medical standards 
practices, and licensing requirements. 
 (2)  A licensed air ambulance provider's medical director 
shall be a Utah licensed physician in good standing to supervise the 
medical care provided in an air medical environment. 
 (3)  The medical director shall also: 
 (a)  be board certified or board-eligible in EMS, emergency 
medicine, or other appropriate critical care specialty that services the 
patient population involved; 

 (b)  have experience in the care of patients consistent with 
the licensing and mission profile of the air ambulance provider's 
service; 
 (c)  designate other medical physician specialists for 
direction outside medical director's area of practice as appropriate to 
the licensed air ambulance provider's service mission profile; 
 (d)  have access to medical specialists for consultation 
regarding patients whose illness and care needs are outside the 
medical director's area of practice; 
 (e)  have a current DEA registration; and 
 (f)  have current credentials achieved through active 
participation in patient care and continuing medical education 
activities appropriate for the role of a licensed air ambulance 
provider's medical director. 
 (4)  The licensed air ambulance provider's medical director 
shall have familiarity in the following areas: 
 (a)  care of patients in the air medical environment, 
including the impact of altitude and other patient stressors, in-flight 
assessment and care, monitoring capabilities, and limitations of the 
flight environment; 
 (b)  hazardous materials recognition and response; 
 (c)  management of disaster and mass casualty events; 
 (d)  infection control and prevention; 
 (e)  advanced resuscitation and care of adult, pediatric and 
neonatal patients with both traumatic and non-traumatic diagnoses; 
 (f)  quality improvement theories and applications; 
 (g)  principles of adult learning; 
 (h)  capabilities and limitations of care in air ambulance; 
 (i)  applicable federal, state, and local law, rules and 
protocols related to air ambulance providers and state trauma rule 
guidelines; 
 (j)  air ambulance dispatch and communications; and 
 (k)  ethical and legal issues related to air medical transport. 
 (5)  The licensed air ambulance provider's medical director 
roles and responsibilities shall include: 
 (a)  oversight of medical care provided by the air medical 
service provider; 
 (b)  ensure competency and currency of all medical 
personnel; 
 (c)  active engagement in the evaluation credentialing, 
initial training, and continuing education of all personnel who 
provide patient care; 
 (d)  development and approval of written patient care 
guidelines, policies and protocols, including, but not limited to, those 
addressing the adverse impact of altitude on patient physiology and 
stressors of transport; and 
 (e)  active engagement in quality management, utilization 
review, and safety reviews. 
 
R426-10-2700.  Patient Compartment General Standards. 
 (1)  A licensed air ambulance provider shall ensure that a 
permitted air ambulance has the following: 
 (a)  a climate control system to prevent temperature 
variations that would adversely affect patient care; 
 (b)  the air ambulance shall have an adequate interior 
lighting system so that patient care can be given and the patient's 
status monitored; 
 (c)  for each place where a patient may be positioned, at 
least one electrical power outlet or other power source that is capable 
of operating all electrically powered medical equipment without 
compromising the operation of any electrical air ambulance 
equipment; 
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 (e)  a back-up source of electrical power or batteries 
capable of operating all electrically powered life-support equipment 
for at least one hour; 
 (f)  an appropriate power source which is sufficient to meet 
the requirements of the complete specialized equipment package 
without compromising the operation of any electrical air ambulance 
equipment; 
 (g)  an entry that allows for patient loading and unloading 
without excessive maneuvering and without compromising the 
operation of monitoring systems, intravenous lines, or manual or 
mechanical ventilation; 
 (h)  If an isolette is used during patient transport, the 
operator shall ensure that the isolette is able to be opened from its 
secured in-flight position in order to provide full access to the patient; 
 (i)  adequate access and necessary space to maintain the 
patient's airway and to provide adequate ventilatory support by an 
attendant from the secured, seat-belted position within the air 
ambulance; 
 (j)  a configuration that allows for rapid exit of personnel 
and patients that will not allow obstruction from stretchers and 
medical equipment; 
 (k)  an interior of the air ambulance that is sanitary and in 
good working order during use; 
 (l)  secure positioning of cardiac monitors, defibrillators, 
and external pacers so that displays are visible to medical personnel; 
and 
 (m)  provision for medications that maintains temperatures 
within manufacturer recommendations. Glass containers shall not be 
used unless required by medication specifications and be properly 
vented. 
 (2)  Each air ambulance operator shall ensure that all 
medical equipment is appropriate to the air medical service's scope 
and mission and maintained in working order according to the 
manufacturer's recommendations. 
 (3)  All permitted air ambulances shall be equipped to 
provide patient care according to approved medical protocols.] 
R426.  Health and Human Services, Population Health, 
Emergency Medical Services. 
R426-10.  Air Ambulance Licensure and Operations. 
R426-10-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Section 26B-4-102 authorizes this rule. 
 (2)  This rule provides department requirements for air 
ambulance provider licensure and operations. 
 
R426-10-2.  Definitions. 
 For the purposes of this rule: 
 (1)  "Air ambulance provider" means a state-licensed entity 
providing air ambulance services. 
 (2)  "Base location" means the physical address where the 
crew, medical equipment, supplies, and the air ambulance are located. 
 (3)  "Deemed status" means an air ambulance provider has 
received accreditation from a department-approved accreditation 
service. 
 (4)  "Department" means the Department of Health and 
Human Services. 
 (5)  "PSAP" means the public safety answering point for 
911 calls. 
 
R426-10-3.  Air Ambulance Provider Requirements. 
 (1)  A person in any capacity, including as an owner or 
agent, may furnish, operate, conduct, maintain, advertise, or 

otherwise be engaged in providing emergency medical care using an 
air ambulance only when licensed by the department. 
 (2)  The department may conduct air ambulance provider 
investigations. 
 (3)  A person from another state may only provide 
emergency medical services (EMS), including patient care, aboard an 
air ambulance within the state if that person complies with the 
requirements under this rule. 
 (4)(a)  An air ambulance provider shall have a medical 
director who shall be responsible for medical direction and oversight 
regarding credentialing air medical providers, clinical practice, and 
patient care. 
 (b)  An air ambulance provider shall report a personnel 
change in the medical director position to the department within 30 
days. 
 (5)  An air ambulance provider shall get a deemed status or 
receive state certification by state-approved auditors of the required 
criteria to meet national standards for patient safety and quality of 
care. 
 (6)  Air ambulance permits and licenses are not 
transferable. 
 (7)  An air ambulance provider may get a replacement air 
ambulance permit or license by submitting a written request to the 
department certifying that the original permit or license has been lost, 
destroyed, or made unusable. 
 (8)  Each air ambulance provider shall get a new air 
ambulance inspection and subsequent permit from the department 
before returning an air ambulance to service following a 
modification, change, or any renovation that results in a change to the 
stretcher placement or seating in the air ambulance interior 
configuration. 
 (9)  An air ambulance provider shall file an amended list of 
aircraft that are used to provide service within the state to the 
department within 30 days after an air ambulance is added to or 
removed permanently from service. 
 (10)  The licensure period for an air ambulance provider 
shall be four years. 
 (11)  An air ambulance provider may only use an air 
ambulance to provide emergency medical care. State licensure does 
not constitute authority to provide non-medical air transportation. 
 (12)  An air ambulance provider shall comply with other 
statutes, rules, or regulations in effect for medical personnel and 
EMS, involving: 
 (a)  licensing and authorizations; 
 (b)  insurance; 
 (c)  prescribed and proscribed acts; and 
 (d)  penalties. 
 (13)  The department may verify and inspect equipment and 
documentation to ensure compliance. 
 (14)  An air ambulance provider seeking deemed status 
shall allow a department representative to be present during a site 
visit conducted by an accreditation organization. 
 
R426-10-4.  Air Ambulance Provider Licensure Application. 
 (1)  An applicant for an air ambulance license desiring to 
get or to renew a license shall submit the following to the department: 
 (a)  the applicable fees and application on the department-
approved forms; 
 (b)  a copy of the air ambulance service licenses 
concurrently issued and on file with other states; 
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 (c)  information about individual aircraft that will be used 
while providing medical care for physical inspection of medical 
compliance, as referenced in Section R426-10-10; 
 (d)  results from the prior ten years of any investigations, 
disciplinary actions, or exclusions with the potential to impact the 
quality of medical care provided to patients. Such investigations, 
disciplinary actions, or exclusions apply to: 
 (i)  current and prior legal names of the entity; 
 (ii)  other names used by the entity to provide health care 
services; and 
 (iii)  any person or entity who had direct or indirect 
ownership of at least 50% interest in the air ambulance service within 
the prior 10-year period; 
 (e)  the name of the air ambulance service medical director 
pursuant to requirements found in Sections R426-5-2500 and R426-
5-2600; 
 (f)  proof of deemed status or state certification by state-
approved auditors; 
 (g)  emergency contact information, which the department 
may use to provide effective communications and resource 
management in the event of a statewide or localized disaster or 
emergency situation; 
 (h)  a roster of medical personnel including level of 
certification or licensure to ensure there is sufficient trained and 
certified staff that meets the requirements in Section R426-10-22; 
 (i)  the air ambulance provider's policies and procedures 
based on state or nationally accepted emergency medical dispatch 
standards and state or nationally accepted EMS clinical guidelines to 
aid in directing the daily operation of the air ambulance 
communications center as referenced in Section R426-10-12; 
 (j)  a copy of the air ambulance provider's plan to send 
significant clinical data to hospital or emergency patient receiving 
facility medical personnel before arrival; 
 (k)  a copy of the air ambulance provider's quality 
improvement program that assesses and improves patient care 
provided by the air ambulance services, as referenced in Section 
R426-10-21; 
 (l)  an integrated medical transport plan, as established in 
Section R426-10-17; and 
 (m)  the air ambulance provider's insurance requirements 
as referenced in Section R426-10-8. 
 
R426-10-5.  Exceptions to Air Ambulance Provider Licensure. 
 This rule does not apply to the following: 
 (1)  an entity providing air ambulance services operated by 
an agency of the United States Government; 
 (2)  services that provide rescue and evacuation equipment 
and aircraft owned and operated by a governmental entity other than 
one that includes transporting patients by air ambulance in its primary 
role and receives payment for such services; and 
 (3)  evacuation and rescue equipment used and owned by 
the Department of Public Safety in air, ground, or water evacuation. 
 
R426-10-6.  Department-Approved Accreditation Service. 
 To be recognized as a department-approved accreditation 
service, a service must meet the following criteria: 
 (1)  provide evidence of timely reviews of applications 
from air ambulance providers seeking accreditation; 
 (2)  publish standards that address the components of 
medical transport impacting quality of patient care and provider 
safety; 

 (3)  outline procedures for random site visits, audits, and 
other strategies utilized to ensure an accredited provider or a provider 
seeking accreditation is adhering to accreditation standards; 
 (4)  publish policies for the initial accreditation 
requirements, including: 
 (a)  the tenure of accreditation, not to exceed three years; 
 (b)  the requirements for reaccreditation; and 
 (c)  the accreditation decision-making process; 
 (5)  use trained personnel, including site surveyors, with 
experience in medical transport at the level of accreditation and 
licensure; 
 (6)  utilize a formal training program that educates 
accreditation personnel, including site surveyors, in consistent 
interpretation of standards and policies of the accreditation provider; 
 (7)  publish the required qualifications for accreditation 
personnel who conduct site surveys that demonstrate experience with 
and knowledge of the air ambulance industry; 
 (8)  demonstrate that accreditation standards are updated to 
comply with national standards in healthcare and air medical 
transportation; 
 (9)  have a multi-disciplinary board of directors 
representing medical transport organizations; 
 (10)  clearly outline and enforce a conflict of interest policy 
that excludes board members or other accreditation agency 
representatives from participating in accreditation decisions, site 
surveys, or other processes when a real or potential conflict of interest 
exists; 
 (11)  publish fees for providers seeking accreditation; 
 (12)  utilize and provide documentation of an open process 
that encourages and accepts comments on changes to its accreditation 
standards; 
 (13)  explain the procedure for a corrective action plan, 
which assures that air ambulance providers will implement corrective 
actions for any identified deficiencies; 
 (14)  demonstrate a continuous quality improvement 
process that reviews the application process, site surveys, 
accreditation decisions, and accreditation standards; 
 (15)  maintain and be able to present current certificates of 
insurance to include: 
 (a)  general liability; and 
 (b)  medical professional liability; and 
 (16)  allow a department representative to be present during 
site surveys, investigations, and any other on-site visit. 
 
R426-10-7.  Air Ambulance Provider Change of Ownership and 
Management. 
 (1)  When an air ambulance provider anticipates a change 
of ownership, the air ambulance provider shall notify the department 
30 calendar days before the change of ownership. 
 (2)  The conversion of an air ambulance provider's legal 
structure, or the legal structure of an entity that has a direct or indirect 
ownership interest in the air ambulance provider, is a change of 
ownership if the conversion includes a transfer of at least 50% of the 
air ambulance provider's direct or indirect ownership interest to any 
new owner. 
 (3)  A change of ownership of a licensed air ambulance 
provider requires a new license if: 
 (a)  the change of ownership's transfer is for at least 50% of 
the ownership interest from a sole proprietor to another individual, 
regardless of whether the transaction affects the title to real property; 
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 (b)  the dissolution of a partnership and conversion into any 
other legal structure includes a transfer of at least 50% of the direct 
or indirect ownership from a partnership to any new owner; 
 (c)  the consolidation of two or more corporations resulting 
in the creation of a new corporate entity includes a transfer of at least 
50% of the direct or indirect ownership to any new owner; 
 (d)  the formation of a corporation from a partnership, a 
sole proprietorship, or a limited liability company includes a transfer 
of at least 50% of the direct or indirect ownership to any new owner; 
 (e)  the transfer, purchase, or sale of shares in a corporation 
result in a shift of at least 50% of the direct or indirect ownership of 
the corporation to any new owner; 
 (f)  there is a transfer of at least 50% of the direct and 
indirect ownership interest in a limited liability company; 
 (g)  the termination or dissolution of a limited liability 
company and the conversion into any other entity includes a transfer 
of at least 50% of the direct or indirect ownership to any new owner; 
 (h)  any transfer of ownership interest between an existing 
person or entity in a limited liability company involves the 
acquisition of ownership interest by a new person or entity with an 
ownership interest; or 
 (i)  the air ambulance provider enters into a lease 
arrangement or management agreement whereby the air ambulance 
provider keeps no authority or responsibility for the operation and 
management of service. 
 (4)  A change of ownership may not result from: 
 (a)  forming a corporation from a sole proprietorship with 
the proprietor as the sole shareholder; or 
 (b)  the dissolution of a partnership to form a corporation 
with the same persons keeping the same shares of ownership in the 
new corporation. 
 (5)  To report a change of ownership, each applicant shall 
provide: 
 (a)  the legal name of the entity and any other names used 
by it to provide health care services; 
 (b)  contact information for the entity including mailing 
address, telephone and fax numbers, email address, and website 
address, as applicable; 
 (c)  the identity of each person and business with a 
controlling interest in the air ambulance provider, including: 
 (i)  a list of the governing body and officers for a non-profit 
corporation; 
 (ii)  a list of the names of the officers and stockholders who 
directly or indirectly own or control 5% or more of the shares of a 
for-profit corporation; and 
 (iii)  proof of lawful presence in the United States in 
compliance with Subsection 41-1a-202(1)(b) for a sole proprietor; 
 (d)  the name, address, and business telephone number of 
every person identified in this section as ownership or management 
and the individual designated by the applicant as the chief executive 
officer of the entity; 
 (e)  an alternate address and telephone number for at least 
one individual for use in the event of an emergency or closure of the 
air ambulance provider if the addresses and telephone numbers 
provided are the same as the contact information for the entity itself; 
 (f)  proof of professional liability insurance held in the 
name of the applicant; 
 (g)  by-laws or equivalent documents that govern the rights, 
duties, and capital contributions of the business entity; 
 (h)  the address of the entity's physical location and the 
name of the owner of each structure on the campus where licensed 
services are provided; 

 (i)  a copy of any management agreement pertaining to 
operation of the entity that sets forth the financial and administrative 
responsibilities of each party; 
 (j)  a statement signed and dated at the same time as the 
application stating whether any of the new owners have been the 
subject of, or a party to, any of the following events within the 
previous ten years, regardless of whether action has been stayed in a 
judicial appeal or otherwise settled between the parties: 
 (i)  a felony or misdemeanor conviction involving crimes 
as described in Section R426-5-3200; 
 (ii)  a state license or federal certification denial, 
revocation, or suspension by another jurisdiction; or 
 (iii)  a civil judgment or a criminal conviction in a case 
brought by federal, state, or local authorities that resulted from the 
operation, management, or ownership of a health facility or other 
entity related to substandard patient care or health care fraud; and 
 (k)  a statement signed and dated at the same time as the 
application that: 
 (i)  states whether any new owner has ever been or is the 
subject of, or a party to debarment, suspension, a proposal for 
debarment, a declaration of ineligibility, or voluntarily exclusion 
from participation in a contract by any governmental department or 
agency, whether international, national, state, or local, regardless of 
whether action has been stayed in a judicial appeal or otherwise 
settled between the parties; and 
 (ii)  certifies the applicant is compliant with Section 63G-
6a-904 and OMB guidelines at 2 C.F.R. 180 (October 23, 2023) 
which implement Executive Order Nos. 12549 and 12689. 
 (6)  Any statement regarding information requested in 
Subsection R426-10-7(5)(j) shall, if applicable, include: 
 (a)  whether the event is the result of action by federal, 
state, or local authorities and, if so, the full name of the authority; its 
jurisdiction; the case name; the docket, proceeding, or case number 
by which the event is designated; and a copy of the consent decree, 
order, or decision; 
 (b)  whether the event is a felony or misdemeanor 
conviction involving moral turpitude and, if so, the court, its 
jurisdiction, the case name, the case number, a description of the 
matter or a copy of the indictment or charges, and any plea or verdict 
entered by the court; and 
 (c)  whether the event involves a civil action or arbitration 
proceeding and, if so, the court or arbiter, the jurisdiction, the case 
name, the case number, a description of the matter or a copy of the 
complaint, and a copy of the verdict, court or arbitration decision. 
 (7)  If an applicant leases one or more buildings to operate 
as an air ambulance provider, the applicant shall also provide a copy 
of the lease that clearly shows which party in the agreement is to be 
held responsible for the physical condition of the property. 
 (8)  The applicant shall keep any article of incorporation, 
article of organization, partnership agreement, or other organizing 
document required by the secretary of state to conduct business. 
 (9)  The existing applicant shall be responsible for 
correcting rule violations and deficiencies in any current plan of 
correction before the change of ownership becomes effective. If the 
applicant cannot accomplish such corrections in the time frame 
specified, the prospective applicant shall be responsible for 
uncorrected rule violations and deficiencies including any current 
plan of correction submitted by the previous licensee unless the 
prospective licensee submits a revised plan of correction, approved 
by the department, before the change of ownership becomes 
effective. 
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 (10)  If the department issues a license to the new owner, 
the previous owner shall return its license to the department within 
five calendar days of the new owner's receipt of its license. 
 (11)  The applicant shall maintain professional liability 
insurance during the license term and shall notify the department of 
any change in the amount, type, or provider of professional liability 
insurance coverage during the license term. 
 (12)  An air ambulance provider shall notify the department 
within 30 days if debarred, suspended, proposed for debarment, 
declared ineligible, or voluntarily excluded from participation in any 
contract by any governmental entity during the tenure of a license. 
 
R426-10-8.  Air Ambulance Provider Insurance Requirements. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider applicant shall demonstrate 
liability coverage for injuries to persons and for loss or property 
damages resulting from negligence by the service or medical crew. 
 (2)  An air ambulance provider shall immediately notify the 
department and stop operations if the coverage required by this 
section is canceled or suspended. 
 (3)  The department may not issue an air ambulance license 
to an applicant unless the applicant has evidence of medical 
professional liability insurance that requires the insurer to 
compensate for injuries to persons or unintentional damage to 
property. 
 (4)  An air ambulance provider applicant shall provide a 
copy of the current certificate of insurance demonstrating coverage 
for each air ambulance medical crew member that states, at a 
minimum, aggregate limits of $1,000,000 per claim made and a total 
of $3,000,000 for claims made against the provider during the policy 
year. 
 (5)  An applicant shall provide proof of worker's 
compensation coverage as required by law. 
 
R426-10-9.  Base Locations. 
 (1)  The air ambulance provider shall provide the base 
location to the department. 
 (2)  The department may conduct announced and 
unannounced inspections at any location where an air ambulance 
provider operates. An inspection may occur at any time, including 
nights or weekends, to determine compliance. 
 (3)  Each base location shall have and maintain security 
measures that protect medical supplies, pharmaceuticals, and 
equipment onboard the air ambulance from tampering and 
unauthorized access, including direct visual monitoring or closed-
circuit television 
 (4)  A base location shall provide a secured location with 
locked perimeter fencing or hangar for each air ambulance. 
 (5)  The base location shall prominently display the 
following within the building: 
 (a)  the state license or certificate of operation; 
 (b)  Drug Enforcement Agency registration within base 
locations that store controlled substances; 
 (c)  current Post-Accident Incident Plan; and 
 (d)  documentation showing the professional certifications 
and licenses of flight crew members. 
 (6)  The air ambulance provider shall ensure the facility is 
clean and free of debris and compliance with state and local building 
and fire codes. 
 (7)  The base location shall maintain evidence of medical 
professional liability insurance. 
 

R426-10-10.  Number and Type of Air Ambulances. 
 An air ambulance provider shall provide a list of each air 
ambulance to be licensed and inspected for medical compliance by 
the department, including tail number, the N-Number, and 
designation of rotor or fixed wing capabilities. 
 
R426-10-11.  Capabilities of Medical Communications. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider shall have a 
communications network available consisting of reliable equipment 
designed for clear communications related to the number and 
condition of patients among each stakeholder within the system. 
 (2)  The communication center shall demonstrate and 
maintain voice communications linkage with the radios and other 
allowable communication devices used in the air ambulance for the 
declared service area. 
 (3)  Air ambulance providers shall have two-way 
communications equipment available that allows for or has the 
following: 
 (a)  real-time patient tracking that shall be maintained and 
documented every 15 minutes including the time the air ambulance 
returns to service following transport; 
 (b)  appropriate wireless communications capabilities with 
dispatch centers and local first responders to include fire, EMS, and 
law enforcement; 
 (c)  communications with medical referral and receiving 
facilities to exchange patient information and consult with medical 
control that shall be capable of communications exclusive to the air 
traffic control system; and 
 (d)  a dedicated telephone number for the air ambulance 
service dispatch center. 
 (4)  The air ambulance provider base station shall use a 
communications network during each phase of patient treatment and 
transport. 
 (5)  The air ambulance provider shall establish an 
emergency plan for communications during power outages and in 
disaster situations. 
 (6)  The air ambulance provider shall establish a policy for 
delineating methods for maintaining medical communications during 
power outages and in disaster situations. 
 
R426-10-12.  Coordination of Medical Communications. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider shall have flights 
coordinated by designated medical dispatchers or communications 
specialists. 
 (2)  Communication specialists are required for processing 
requests, initiating responses, telecommunications, and assessing the 
capability for utilizing emergency medical dispatch protocols 
approved by the department. 
 (3)  Communication specialists shall have: 
 (a)  certification; 
 (b)  appropriate training pertaining to EMS and medical 
transportation communications related to health care; and 
 (c)  training commensurate with the scope of responsibility 
given to them by the particular air ambulance provider. 
 (4)  Air ambulance communications centers shall: 
 (a)  establish and maintain policies and procedures based 
on state or nationally accepted emergency medical dispatch standards 
and state or nationally accepted EMS clinical guidelines to aid in 
directing the daily operation of the air ambulance communications 
center; 
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 (b)  coordinate air ambulance deployment activities and 
communications with primary 911 PSAP call centers and appropriate 
medical facilities; and 
 (c)  require its communications specialists to satisfy 
performance standards that are based on state or nationally accepted 
emergency medical dispatch standards and state or nationally 
accepted EMS clinical guidelines. 
 (5)  At a minimum, the air ambulance communications 
center's performance standards shall measure a communication 
specialist's ability to: 
 (a)  deploy the appropriate medical resources within the 
prescribed timeframe established by the communications center's 
standard operating procedures; and 
 (b)  provide pertinent information to the appropriate 911 
PSAP call center and receive updated information about the incident 
from the responding units or medical facilities. 
 (6)  An air ambulance provider's communications center 
shall establish a quality assurance review process that is executed 
with consistency and objectivity in accordance with internal 
standards developed by the air ambulance provider. 
 
R426-10-13.  Pre-arrival and Hand-Off Communications to 
Hospitals or Emergency Patient Receiving Facilities. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider shall have a plan in place to 
send significant clinical data to hospital or emergency patient 
receiving facility medical personnel before arrival. 
 (2)  An air ambulance provider shall start the process for 
transferring responsibility of patient care during patient transport to 
reduce the communication load on patient arrival to the facility as 
early as possible. Transfer of care documentation shall be part of the 
EMS record. 
 (3)  Information sent to the hospital or the emergency 
patient receiving facility before arrival shall include: 
 (a)  patient information; 
 (b)  chief complaint; 
 (c)  brief patient history; 
 (d)  condition of the patient; 
 (e)  treatment provided; and 
 (f)  estimated time of arrival. 
 (4)  Information provided to the hospital or emergency 
patient receiving facility during patient hand-off shall include either: 
 (a)  a copy of the full patient care report; or 
 (b)  an abbreviated patient encounter form containing 
information essential to continued patient care, including: 
 (i)  patient information; 
 (ii)  chief complaint; 
 (iii)  brief patient history; 
 (iv)  allergies, if known; 
 (v)  time and date of onset of symptoms; 
 (vi)  pertinent physical findings; 
 (vii)  patient medications, if known; 
 (viii)  vital signs; 
 (ix)  air medical treatment, including medications 
administered, IV fluids, procedures performed, and oxygen delivery; 
and 
 (x)  transfer of care documentation, including the legibly 
written name of the air medical crew member. 
 (5)  An air ambulance provider shall provide a copy of the 
full patient care report to the hospital or emergency patient receiving 
facility within 24 hours after the end of the patient transport. 
 

R426-10-14.  Data Collection, Submission, and Call Volume. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider shall have a system in place 
to collect, submit, monitor, and track flight requests. The provider 
shall submit this information to the department. 
 (2)  An air ambulance provider shall: 
 (a)  report the specified state minimum data set, as required 
by the department, for every request that results in the dispatch of an 
air ambulance, whether emergency prehospital, inter-hospital 
transport, aborted flight, cancelation of requested service, death on 
scene, or refusal of care as requested by the department; and 
 (b)  provide a yearly call volume report or EMS agency 
status report documenting the number of flights made within that 
calendar year. 
 (3)  The yearly call volume report or EMS agency status 
report identified in Subsection (2)(b) shall contain the following 
totals: 
 (a)  flights organized by emergency prehospital; 
 (b)  inter-hospital transports; 
 (c)  aborted flights; 
 (d)  cancelation of requested services; 
 (e)  death on scene; 
 (f)  non-transport; and 
 (g)  the refusal of care to assist efforts related to evaluating 
patient care and the improvement of the EMS system. 
 
R426-10-15.  Temporary Air Ambulance Use. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider shall notify the department 
when a permitted air ambulance is removed from service or is 
replaced with a substitute air ambulance. 
 (2)  Upon receipt of notification, the department may issue 
a temporary permit for the operation of the air ambulance. 
 
R426-10-16.  Medical Operations Policies and Procedures. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider shall have a detailed manual 
of policies and procedures available for reference in the flight 
coordination office and available for department inspection to assist 
with EMS system planning and resource coordination efforts. 
 (2)  An air ambulance provider's personnel shall be familiar 
and comply with policies contained within the manual, which shall 
include: 
 (a)  procedures for acceptance of requests, referrals, and 
denial of service for medically related reasons; 
 (b)  a written description of the geographical boundaries 
and features for the service area; 
 (c)  a copy of the service area map; 
 (d)  scheduled hours of operation; 
 (e)  criteria for the medical conditions and indications or 
medical contraindications for flight; 
 (f)  medical communication procedures, including: 
 (i)  medically related dispatch protocol; 
 (ii)  call verification; and 
 (iii)  advisories to the requesting entity to include 
procedures for informing the requesting entity of flight procedures, 
anticipated time of aircraft patient arrival, or cancelation of flight; 
 (g)  criteria regarding acceptable destinations based upon 
medical needs of the patient; 
 (h)  non-aviation safety procedures for medical crew 
assignments and notification, including rosters of medical personnel; 
 (i)  written policy that ensures air medical personnel may 
not be assigned or assume cockpit duties concurrent with patient care 
duties and responsibilities; 
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 (j)  written policy that directs air ambulance personnel to 
honor a patient request for a specific service or destination when the 
circumstances will not jeopardize patient safety; 
 (k)  medical communications procedures; 
 (l)  flight cancelation and referral procedures; 
 (m)  mutual aid procedures; 
 (n)  a written plan that addresses the actions to be taken in 
the event of an emergency, diversion, or patient crisis during transport 
operations; 
 (o)  patient tracking procedures that shall ensure air and 
ground position reports at intervals not to exceed 15 minutes in-flight 
and 45 minutes after landing; 
 (p)  policy for delineating methods of maintaining medical 
communications during power outages and in disaster situations; and 
 (q)  written procedures governing the air ambulance 
provider's medical complaint resolution process and protocols. 
 (3)(a)  At a minimum, the air ambulance provider shall 
designate personnel responsible for its dispute resolution process and 
provide protocols it shall follow when investigating, tracking, 
documenting, reviewing, and resolving the complaint. 
 (b)  The air ambulance provider's complaint resolution 
procedures shall emphasize resolution of complaints and problems 
within a specified period. 
 
R426-10-17.  Medical Transport Plans. 
 To ensure proper patient care and the effective coordination 
of statewide emergency medical and trauma services, an air 
ambulance provider shall have an integrated medical transport plan 
for each air ambulance permitted by the department that describes: 
 (1)  base location; 
 (2)  hours of operation; 
 (3)  emergency dispatch contact information; 
 (4)  non-emergency business contact information; 
 (5)  description of primary and secondary service areas; 
 (6)  medical criteria for utilization; 
 (7)  description of medical capabilities, including 
availability of specialized medical transport equipment; 
 (8)  communications capabilities including radio 
frequencies and talk groups; 
 (9)  procedures for communicating with the air medical 
crew; and 
 (10)  mutual aid or backup procedures when the service is 
not available. 
 
R426-10-18.  Coordination with Regional and State Disaster 
Preparedness Plans. 
 To ensure coordinated response to local, regional, or 
statewide disaster, an air ambulance provider shall participate in 
regional and state disaster preparedness advisory groups, including 
preparedness planning meetings and scheduled exercises. 
 
R426-10-19.  Medically Related Dispatch Protocols. 
 When air ambulance transport is indicated, requests shall 
be coordinated through the local PSAP or 911 call center as part of 
an integrated response, when possible, for the PSAP to be able to 
coordinate communications among entities involved in the response. 
 
R426-10-20.  Ethical Practices and Conduct. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider shall have and follow a 
written code of conduct that demonstrates ethical practices including 
business, clinical operations, marketing, and professional conduct. 

 (2)  An air ambulance provider is subject to disciplinary 
action and may be denied licensure for unethical practices or conduct 
which includes: 
 (a)  misrepresentation of the availability or level of medical 
or patient related services offered or provided; and 
 (b)  failing to take appropriate action in safeguarding the 
patient from incompetent or inappropriate health care practices of 
EMS personnel. 
 
R426-10-21.  Continuous Quality Improvement Program. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider shall establish a quality 
management team and a program that shall assess and improve 
patient care provided by the air ambulance provider. 
 (2)  The quality management program shall include: 
 (a)  a development of protocols, standing orders, training, 
policies, and procedures; 
 (b)  approval of medications and techniques for field use by 
service personnel; 
 (c)  direct observation, field instruction, in-service training, 
or other means available to assess the quality of field performance; 
and 
 (d)  participation in local and regional performance 
improvement activities. 
 (3)  An air ambulance provider shall have a written policy 
that outlines a process to identify, document, and analyze sentinel 
events, adverse medical events, or potentially adverse events with 
specific goals to improve patient medical safety and the quality of 
patient care. 
 (4)  Policies and procedures shall include: 
 (a)  a review of events for the effectiveness and efficiency 
of the organization, its support systems, and individuals within the 
organization; 
 (b)  a method of information gathering developed for when 
a sentinel event is identified, including outcome studies, chart review, 
case discussion, or other methodology; 
 (c)  a utilization review process; 
 (d)  findings, conclusions, recommendations, actions, and 
follow-up made and recorded; and 
 (e)  training and education needs, individual performance 
evaluations, equipment or resource acquisition, patient medical 
safety, and risk management issues. 
 (5)  An air ambulance provider shall notify the department 
within 72 hours of the identification of any sentinel event, a change 
in accreditation status, an incident, an accident, or an outside 
investigation for patient care, patient safety, or provider safety. 
 
R426-10-22.  Staffing and Medical Personnel Requirements. 
 (1)  Acceptable medical personnel include: 
 (a)  physicians (MD/DO); 
 (b)  paramedics; 
 (c)  registered nurses (RN); 
 (d)  registered nurse practitioners; 
 (e)  advanced practice nurses; 
 (f)  physician assistants (PA); 
 (g)  respiratory therapists (RRT); or 
 (h)  other allied health professionals; 
 (2)  At a minimum, an air ambulance provider shall have 
the following medical personnel: 
 (a)  one primary medical attendant who is a licensed PA, 
RN, or MD/DO; 
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 (b)  a second medical attendant who is a paramedic, PA, 
respiratory therapist, RN, or MD/DO; and 
 (c)  medically qualified Utah licensed or certified 
individuals appropriate to the scope and mission of the air ambulance 
provider, or EMS personnel recognized under an interstate compact 
of which Utah is a member. 
 
R426-10-23.  Air Ambulance Staffing and Personnel 
Qualifications. 
 (1)  The air ambulance provider may modify composition 
of the medical team for specialty missions upon credentialing and 
approval by the air ambulance provider's medical director. 
 (2)  The licensed nurse shall have appropriate specialty 
certification within two years of hire and must have pre-hire 
experience in the medications and interventions necessary for the air 
ambulance provider's scope of care. The licensed nurse also shall 
have three years critical care experience, which is no less than 4,000 
hours experience in an ICU or emergency department. 
 (3)  The paramedic shall have a FP-C or CCP-C within two 
years of hire in addition to at least three years, a minimum of 4,000 
hours, of advanced life support experience. 
 (4)  The RRT shall have a minimum of 4,000 hours of 
emergency department or ICU experience and appropriate specialty 
certification within two years of hire. 
 (5)  Medical personnel shall have cognitive, affective, and 
psychomotor abilities sufficient to meet the clinical needs for the type 
of patient missions served. 
 (6)  An air ambulance provider shall have a plan to assess 
and document the competency and proficiency of the personnel who 
provide medical services. 
 
R426-10-24.  Air Ambulance Personnel Training Requirements. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider shall have a documented, 
structured educational program which is required for air ambulance 
personnel, including the medical director. 
 (2)  The educational program under Subsection (1) shall at 
a minimum contain program orientation and initial and recurrent 
training that adheres to the services scope of care, patient population, 
mission statement and medical direction. 
 (3)  Each medical crew member shall complete and 
document training in mission specific procedures related to patient 
care as established by the air ambulance provider's medical director 
and such federal, state, or local agencies with authority to regulate air 
ambulance providers. For license renewal, the department may 
require documentation showing completion of initial and recurrent 
training. 
 (4)  Clinical experiences shall include: 
 (a)  experiences specific to the mission statement and scope 
of care of the medical transport service; 
 (b)  measurable objectives developed and documented 
reflecting hands-on experience versus observation only; 
 (c)  care of patients in the air medical environment 
including the impact of altitude and other stressors; 
 (d)  advanced airway management; 
 (e)  applicable medical device specific training, this 
includes: 
 (i)  Automatic Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator; 
 (ii)  Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation; 
 (iii)  Intra-Aortic Balloon Pump; 
 (iv)  Left Ventricular Assist Device; 

 (v)  medication pumps; and 
 (vi)  ventilators; 
 (f)  cardiology; 
 (g)  mechanical ventilation and respiratory physiology for 
adult, pediatric, and neonatal patients as it relates to the mission 
statement and scope of care of the medical transport service specific 
to the equipment; 
 (h)  high risk obstetric emergencies; 
 (i)  basic care for pediatrics, neonatal, and obstetrics; 
 (j)  emergency and critical care for patient populations to 
include special needs population; 
 (k)  hazardous materials recognition and response; 
 (l)  management of disaster and mass casualty events; 
 (m)  infection control and prevention; and 
 (n)  ethical and legal issues. 
 
R426-10-25.  Medical Staff and Patient Safety Welfare. 
 (1)  Medical personnel scheduling and individual work 
schedules shall demonstrate strategies to minimize duty-time fatigue, 
length of shift, number of shifts per week, and day-to-night rotation. 
 (2)  On-site scheduled shifts for a period to exceed 24 hours 
are not acceptable under most circumstances. 
 (3)  The following criteria shall be met for shifts scheduled 
more than 12 hours: 
 (a)  medical personnel are not required to routinely perform 
any duties beyond those associated with the transport services; 
 (b)  medical personnel are provided with access to and 
permission for uninterrupted rest after daily medical personnel duties 
are met; 
 (c)  the physical base of operations includes an appropriate 
place for uninterrupted rest; 
 (d)  medical personnel shall have the right to call "time out" 
and be granted a reasonable rest period if the team member, or fellow 
team member, determines that the team member is unfit or unsafe to 
continue duty, no matter the shift length; 
 (e)  there shall be no adverse personnel action or undue 
pressure to continue in a "time out" circumstance; 
 (f)  licensed air ambulance management shall monitor 
transport volumes and personnel's use of a "time out" policy; and 
 (g)  shifts extended over several days may be scheduled to 
address long commutes at programs with low volumes. 
 (4)  An air ambulance provider shall clearly demonstrate 
and document it meets criteria listed in Subsection R426-10-26(3) for 
shifts over 12 hours. 
 (5)  An air ambulance provider shall ensure medical staff 
have at least ten hours of rest in each 24-hour period. 
 (6)  If the base location is remote and one-way commutes 
are more than two hours, transportation time shall be considered. 
 (7)  An air ambulance provider shall utilize a fatigue risk 
management tool that is widely recognized in the industry. 
 (8)  An air ambulance provider shall evaluate the 
scheduling of on-call shifts to address fatigue in a written policy 
based on monitoring of duty times by managers, quality management 
tracking, and fatigue risk management. 
 (9)  An air ambulance provider shall establish safety and 
infection control protocols that comply with the Occupational Safety 
and Health Administration (OSHA). 
 (10)  An air ambulance provider shall have an appropriate 
dress code that addresses mission specific hazards as well as jewelry, 
hair, and other personal items that medical personnel may possibly 
use that may interfere with patient care. 
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R426-10-26.  Air Ambulance Provider Medical Director 
Qualifications. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider's medical director who 
oversees the practice of the EMS during patient transport shall be 
familiar with Utah medical practices and licensing requirements. 
 (2)  An air ambulance provider's medical director shall be 
a Utah licensed physician in good standing to supervise the medical 
care provided in an air medical environment. 
 (3)  A medical director shall: 
 (a)  be board certified or board-eligible in EMS, emergency 
medicine, or other appropriate critical care specialty that services the 
patient population involved; 
 (b)  have experience in the care of patients consistent with 
the licensing and mission profile of the air ambulance provider's 
service; 
 (c)  designate other medical physician specialists for 
direction outside medical director's area of practice as appropriate to 
the air ambulance provider's service mission profile; 
 (d)  have access to medical specialists for consultation 
regarding patients whose illness and care needs are outside the 
medical director's area of practice; 
 (e)  have a current DEA registration; and 
 (f)  have current credentials achieved through active 
participation in patient care and continuing medical education 
activities appropriate for the role of an air ambulance provider's 
medical director. 
 (4)  An air ambulance provider's medical director shall have 
familiarity in the following areas: 
 (a)  care of patients in the air medical environment, 
including the impact of altitude and other patient stressors, in-flight 
assessment and care, monitoring capabilities, and limitations of the 
flight environment; 
 (b)  hazardous materials recognition and response; 
 (c)  management of disaster and mass casualty events; 
 (d)  infection control and prevention; 
 (e)  advanced resuscitation and care of adult, pediatric, and 
neonatal patients with both traumatic and non-traumatic diagnoses; 
 (f)  quality improvement theories and applications; 
 (g)  principles of adult learning; 
 (h)  capabilities and limitations of care in air ambulance; 
 (i)  applicable federal, state, and local law, rules, and 
protocols related to air ambulance providers and state trauma rule 
guidelines; 
 (j)  air ambulance dispatch and communications; and 
 (k)  ethical and legal issues related to air medical transport. 
 (5)  An air ambulance provider's medical director roles and 
responsibilities shall include: 
 (a)  oversight of medical care provided by the air medical 
service provider; 
 (b)  ensure competency and currency of medical personnel; 
 (c)  active engagement in the evaluation credentialing, 
initial training, and continuing education of personnel who provide 
patient care; 
 (d)  development and approval of written patient care 
guidelines, policies and protocols, including those addressing the 
adverse impact of altitude on patient physiology and stressors of 
transport; and 
 (e)  active engagement in quality management, utilization 
review, and safety reviews. 
 

R426-10-27.  Patient Compartment General Standards. 
 (1)  An air ambulance provider shall ensure that a permitted 
air ambulance has the following: 
 (a)  a climate control system to prevent temperature 
variations that would adversely affect patient care; 
 (b)  the air ambulance shall have an adequate interior 
lighting system so that patient care can be given and the patient's 
status monitored; 
 (c)  for each place where a patient may be positioned, at 
least one electrical power outlet or other power source that is capable 
of operating electrically powered medical equipment without 
compromising the operation of any electrical air ambulance 
equipment; 
 (d)  a back-up source of electrical power or batteries 
capable of operating electrically powered life support equipment for 
at least one hour; 
 (e)  an appropriate power source which is sufficient to meet 
the requirements of the complete specialized equipment package 
without compromising the operation of any electrical air ambulance 
equipment; 
 (f)  an entry that allows for patient loading and unloading 
without excessive maneuvering and without compromising the 
operation of monitoring systems, intravenous lines, or manual or 
mechanical ventilation; 
 (g)  if an isolette is used during patient transport, the 
operator shall ensure that the isolette can be opened from its secured 
in-flight position to provide full access to the patient; 
 (h)  adequate access and necessary space to maintain the 
patient's airway and to provide adequate ventilatory support by an 
attendant from the secured, seat-belted position within the air 
ambulance; 
 (i)  a configuration that allows for rapid exit of personnel 
and patients that will not allow obstruction from stretchers and 
medical equipment; 
 (j)  an interior of the air ambulance that is sanitary and in 
good working order during use; 
 (k)  secure positioning of cardiac monitors, defibrillators, 
and external pacers so that displays are visible to medical personnel; 
and 
 (l)  procedures for medications to maintain temperatures 
within manufacturer recommendations. 
 (2)  An air ambulance provider may not use glass containers 
unless required by medication specifications and be properly vented. 
 (3)  Each air ambulance operator shall ensure that medical 
equipment is appropriate to the air medical service's scope and 
mission and maintained in working order according to the 
manufacturer's recommendations. 
 (4)  Each permitted air ambulance shall be equipped to 
provide patient care according to approved medical protocols. 
 
KEY:  emergency medical services, air 
Date of Last Change:  2024[November 8, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  September 27, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  [26B,- 
Chapter 4, Part 1]26B-4-102 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R436-16 Filing ID:  
56393 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Data, Systems and Evaluation, Vital 

Records and Statistics 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 141012 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1012 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Linda S. Wininger 801-

538-
6262 

lindaw@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R436-16.  Violation of Rules 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Following a five-year review of this rule, the Department of 
Health and Human Services (Department) has determined 
that this rule is no longer necessary and that the provisions 
established in Sections 26B-1-221 through 26B-1-226 
setting forth the penalties for violations of public health 
laws and rules would be included into subsequent 
amendments to the applicable Title R436 rules. 
 
Subsection 63G-3-201(5)(a) requires rules to enumerate 
any penalty authorized by statute that may result from their 
violation. 
 
The process of adding language regarding penalties to 
applicable Title R436 rules has been completed, and 
therefore, this repeal is now appropriate. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The substance of this rule has been incorporated into each 
rule that requires a penalty if violated, so this rule is 
repealed entirely. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 

A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget, 
as this rule change is clerical in nature. 
 
The provisions of this rule are incorporated into the 
applicable Title R436 rules. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The change in this rule is not expected to impact local 
governments, as this rule change is clerical in nature. 
 
The provisions of this rule are incorporated into the 
applicable Title R436 rules. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The change in this rule is not expected to impact small 
businesses, as this rule change is clerical in nature. 
 
The provisions of this rule are incorporated into the 
applicable Title R436 rules. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The change in this rule is not expected to impact non-small 
businesses, as this rule change is clerical in nature. 
 
The provisions of this rule are incorporated into the 
applicable Title R436 rules. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The change in this rule is not expected to impact persons 
other than small businesses, non-small businesses, state, 
or local government entities, as this rule change is clerical 
in nature. 
 
The provisions of this rule are incorporated into the 
applicable Title R436 rules. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected persons will not change 
because the Department is incorporating the provisions of 
this rule into the applicable Title R436 rules. 
 
This rule change is clerical in nature. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-1-202   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

05/15/2024 

 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

05/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 03/20/2024 

 
R436.  Health, Center for Health Data, Vital Records and 
Statistics. 
[R436-16.  Violation of Rules. 
R436-16-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  This rule sets forth the penalties for violating vital 
records rules. 
 (2)  Authority for this rule is found in Sections 26-1-5. 
 
R436-16-2.  Penalties. 
 The penalties for violation of rules R436-1 through R436-
19 are provided in Sections 26-23-3 through 26-23-8. 
 
KEY:  vital statistics, penalties 
Date of Last Change:  January 21, 2022 
Notice of Continuation:  July 19, 2023 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-23-3 
through 26-23-8] 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R597-7 Filing ID:  
56394 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Judicial Performance Evaluation 

Commission 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 330 
Building: Senate Building 
Street address: 350 State Street 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT  84114 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mary-Margaret 
Pingree 

385-
910-
2097 

mmpingree@utah.gov 

Madison Klein 801-
538-
1146 

mklein@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R597-7.  General Provisions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Rule R597-1 expired on 02/06/2024.  This new rule 
replaces the expired rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule outlined the authorization and purpose of the 
Judicial Performance Evaluation Commission and 
provides definitions. 
 
It replaces an expired rule and does not introduce any new 
information. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This new rule requires no additional state funds. 
 
This new rule replaces a rule that recently expired.  As the 
substance of the rule remains the same, there is no fiscal 
impact to this new rule filing. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This new rule will have no fiscal impact on local 
governments. 
 
Judicial performance evaluations are performed at the 
state level and do not require funding from local 
governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This new rule will have no fiscal impact on small 
businesses. 
 
It replaces a recently expired rule, and the substance of 
this rule is essentially the same. 
 
Additionally, it outlines general provisions including 
purpose and definitions which do not have fiscal impact. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This new rule will have no fiscal impact on non-small 
businesses. 
 
It replaces a recently expired rule, and the substance of 
this rule is unchanged. 
 
Additionally, it outlines general provisions including 
purpose and definitions which do not have fiscal impact. 

E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This new rule does not introduce any additional costs to 
individuals or organizations. 
 
This new rule will have no fiscal impact on non-small 
businesses. 
 
It replaces a recently expired rule, and the substance of 
this rule is unchanged. 
 
Additionally, it outlines general provisions including 
purpose and definitions which do not have fiscal impact. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for this new rule. 
 
It replaces a rule that recently expired. 
 
Additionally, it outlines general provisions including 
purpose and definitions which do not have compliance 
costs. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Judicial Performance 
Evaluation Commission, Mary-Margaret Pingree, has 
reviewed and approved this analysis. 
 
As this rule is a replacement of an expired rule, there is no 
fiscal impact. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Title 78A, 
Chapter-12 

  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

05/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

05/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Gil Miller, JPEC  
Chairperson 

Date: 03/20/2024 

 
R597.  Judicial Performance Evaluation Commission, 
Administration. 
R597-7.  General Provisions. 
R597-7-1.  Authorization and Purpose. 
 As authorized by Section 78A-12-101 et seq., this rule 
establishes procedures for: 
 (1)  implementing judicial performance evaluations; 
 (2)  informing voters about judges standing for retention 
election; and 
 (3)  notifying judges of the standards by which they will be 
evaluated. 

R597-7-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Controlling cycle" means the single retention election 
year which, when assigned to a judge, establishes the time frames for 
performance evaluation. 
 (2)  "Courtroom observation report" means the individual 
narrative report a courtroom observer authors after observing the 
judge. 
 (3)  "Courtroom observer" means a volunteer, recruited by 
commission staff through public outreach and advertising, who has 
the duties described in Subsection R597-6-3(6). 
 (4)  "Court staff" means employees of the judiciary, as 
identified in Subsection R597-6-2(9)(c), who have regular contact 
with the judge as the judge performs judicial duties. Court staff also 
includes those who are not employed by the judiciary but who have 
ongoing administrative duties in the courtroom. 
 (5)  For purposes of administering a survey to a juror, a case 
is "closed" when the verdict is rendered or the jury is dismissed. 
 (6)  "Disqualification," as used in Section R597-2-2, means 
the involuntary disqualification of a commissioner by other 
commissioners, in accordance with Subsections R597-2-2(6) and 
R597-2-2(7). 
 (7)  "Evaluation cycle" means a time period during which 
a judge is evaluated.  Judges not on the supreme court are subject to 
two evaluation cycles over a six-year judicial term.  Justices of the 
supreme court are subject to three evaluation cycles over a ten-year 
judicial term. 
 (8)  "Juvenile court professional" means an individual, as 
identified in Subsection R597-6-2(9)(d), whose professional duties 
place that individual in juvenile court on a regular and continuing 
basis. 
 (9)  "Observation instrument" means the form approved for 
use by courtroom observers to evaluate the judicial behavior 
observed in court. 
 (10)  "Procedural fairness" means the type of treatment 
judges should afford people in their courts and includes the principles 
and behavioral standards identified in Subsection R597-6-3(12). 
 (11)  "Recusal," as used in Section R597-2-2, means a 
voluntary self-disqualification by a commissioner. 
 (12)  "Survey" means the aggregate of questionnaires, each 
targeting a separate classification of survey respondents, which 
together are used to assess judicial performance. 
 (13)  "Survey respondent" means an individual, as 
identified in Subsection R597-6-2(9), eligible to author a survey 
response. 
 (14)  "Surveyor" means the organization or individual 
awarded a contract through procedures established by the state 
procurement code to survey respondents regarding judicial 
performance. 
 
KEY:  performance evaluations, judicial performance 
evaluations, judiciary, judges 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  78A-12 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R616-2-3 Filing ID:  
56396 
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Agency Information 
1.  Department: Labor Commission 
Agency: Boiler, Elevator and Coal Mine Safety 
Room number: 3rd Floor 
Building: Heber M Wells Bldg 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84111 

Mailing address: PO Box 146600 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6600 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Rick Sturm 801-

530-
6850 

rsturm@utah.gov 

Chris Hill 801-
530-
6113 

chill@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R616-2-3.  Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and 
Pressure Vessels 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule change is to adopt the 2023 
edition of the national Board Inspection Code (NBIC, NB-
23), Part 3-Repairs and Alterations and Part 4-Pressure 
Relief Devices. 
 
This rule also adopts the 2023 editions of the American 
Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Sections 1 
(Rules for Construction of Power Boilers), Section IV 
(Rules for Construction of Heating Boilers) and Section 
VIII (Rules for Construction of Pressure Vessels). 
 
It also removes ASME B31.1-2016 edition Power Piping. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule change adopts the 2023 editions of the ASME 
Sections 1, IV and VIII and the NBIC Parts. 3 and 4. 
 
It also repeals the ASME B31.1-2015 edition. 
 
The current editions make no significant changes, and 
what changes are being made apply to the manufacturing 
and repair of boilers and pressure vessels. 
 
Repairs to existing boilers and pressure vessels can be to 
any appropriate NBIC Standard since original installation. 
 

 

Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There should be no cost or savings to the state budget 
because new codes books are provided to the state. 
 
The changes in the 2023 editions are not significant 
changes.  The ASME standards being adopted apply to the 
manufacturing of boilers and pressure vessels and the 
NBIC Standards being adopted apply to the repair of 
boilers and pressure vessels. 
 
The Division of Boiler, Elevator and Coal Mine Safety 
(Division) inspects to the standard that applies to the date 
of manufacture and subsequent repair standards; 
therefore, there should be no cost or savings to the state 
budget due to the incorporation of these standards. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There should be no cost or savings to local governments 
because local governments do not need to obtain copies 
of the incorporated materials. 
 
The changes in the 2023 editions are not significant 
changes.  The ASME standards being adopted apply to the 
manufacturing of boilers and pressure vessels and the 
NBIC Standards being adopted apply to the repair of 
boilers and pressure vessels. 
 
The Division inspects to the standard that applies to the 
date of manufacture and subsequent repair standards; 
therefore, there should be no cost or savings to the local 
governments due to the incorporation of these standards. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The only cost to small businesses is for those ASME/NB 
Code Stamp Certification holders (for construction and/or 
repairs to boilers/pressure vessels) that are required to 
purchase these codes for the associated Stamps held 
regardless of adoption. 
 
The changes in the 2023 editions are not significant 
changes.  The ASME standards being adopted apply to the 
manufacturing of boilers and pressure vessels and the 
NBIC Standards being adopted apply to the repair of 
boilers and pressure vessels. 
 
The Division inspects to the standard that applies to the 
date of manufacture and subsequent repair standards; 
therefore, there should be no cost or savings to small 
businesses due to the incorporation of these standards 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The only cost to non-small businesses is for those 
ASME/NB Code Stamp Certification holders (for 
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construction and/or repairs to boilers/pressure vessels) 
that are required to purchase these codes for the 
associated Stamps held regardless of adoption. 
 
The changes in the 2023 editions are not significant 
changes.  The ASME standards being adopted apply to the 
manufacturing of boilers and pressure vessels and the 
NBIC Standards being adopted apply to the repair of 
boilers and pressure vessels. 
 
The Division inspects to the standard that applies to the 
date of manufacture and subsequent repair standards; 
therefore, there should be no cost or savings to non-small 
businesses due to the incorporation of these standards. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The only cost to persons other than small businesses, non-
small businesses, state or local government entities would 
be to those entities that are ASME/NB Code Stamp 
Certification holders, who are required to purchase the 
codes for their stamps. 
 
The changes in the 2023 editions are not significant 
changes.  The ASME standards being adopted apply to the 
manufacturing of boilers and pressure vessels and the 
NBIC Standards being adopted apply to the repair of 
boilers and pressure vessels. 
 
The Division inspects to the standard that applies to the 
date of manufacture and subsequent repair standards; 
therefore, there should be no cost or savings to other 
persons due to the incorporation of these standards. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The changes in the 2023 editions are not significant 
changes.  The ASME standards being adopted apply to 
the manufacturing of boilers and pressure vessels and the 
NBIC Standards being adopted apply to the repair of 
boilers and pressure vessels. 
 
The Division inspects to the standard that applies to the 
date of manufacture and subsequent repair standards; 
therefore, there should be no compliance costs for 
affected persons due to the incorporation of these 
standards. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 

Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Utah Labor Commission, 
Jaceson R. Maughan, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
34A-7-101 et seq. 

  

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

2023 NBIC Part 3 Repairs and  
Alternations 
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Publisher National Board Inspection Code 

Issue or Version 2023 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

2023 NBIC Part 4 Pressure Relief  
Devices 

Publisher National Board Inspection Code 

Issue or Version 2023 

 
C) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

2023 ASME Boiler and Pressure  
Vessel Code Section 1 

Publisher American Society of Mechanical  
Engineers 

Issue or Version 2023 

 
D) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

2023 ASME Boiler and Pressure  
Vessel Code Section IV 

Publisher American Society of Mechanical  
Engineers 

Issue or Version 2023 

 
E) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

2023 ASME Boiler and Pressure  
Vessel Code Section VIII 

Publisher American Society of Mechanical 
Engineers 

Issue or Version 2023 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

05/15/2024 

 

9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

05/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jaceson  
Maughan,  
Commissioner 

Date: 03/25/2024 

 
R616.  Labor Commission, Boiler, Elevator and Coal Mine 
Safety. 
R616-2.  Boiler and Pressure Vessel Rules. 
R616-2-3.  Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and Pressure 
Vessels. 
 The following safety codes and rules shall apply to all 
boilers and pressure vessels in Utah, except those exempted pursuant 
to Section 34A-7-101, and are incorporated by reference in this rule. 
 A.  ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code -- 202[1]3. 
 1.  Section I Rules for Construction of Power Boilers. 
 2.  Section IV Rules for Construction of Heating Boilers. 
3.  Section VIII Rules for Construction of Pressure Vessels. 
[ B.  Power Piping ASME B31.1 -- 2016.] 
 [C]B.  Controls and Safety Devices for Automatically Fired 
Boilers, Applicable to boilers with fuel input ratings greater than or 
equal to 400,000 Btu/hr, ASME CSD-1-2015. Except: 
 1.  Part CG-130(c). 
 [D]C.  National Board Inspection Code ANSI/NB-23 - 
[2021 Part 3]2023 Parts and 4. 
 [E]D.  NFPA 85 Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazard 
Code 2015. 
 [F]E.  Pressure Vessel Inspection Code: Maintenance 
Inspection, Rating, Repair and Alteration API 510 Tenth Edition, 
2014.  Except: 
 1.  Section-8, and 
 2.  Appendix-A. 
 
KEY:  boilers, certification, safety 
Date of Last Change:  2024[February 8, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  March 2, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  34A-7-101 
et seq. 
 
 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R622-3 Filing ID:  
56403 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Lieutenant Governor 
Agency: Administration 
Room number: Suite 220 
Building: Utah State Capitol 
Street address: 350 N State Street 
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City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

Mailing address: PO Box 142325 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2325 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Mallory 
Underwood 

801-
538-
1501 

munderwood@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R622-3.  Use of the Great Seal of the State of Utah 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Section 67-1a-7 assigns custody of the Great Seal to the 
Lieutenant Governor's office. 
 
The purpose of this rule is to set appropriate boundaries 
on the use of the Great Seal.  Due to staff turnover, a five-
year review was not filed on Rule R622-2, which resulted 
in its expiration.  Rule R622-2 previously set the 
appropriate boundaries on the use of the Great Seal. 
 
This new rule replaces the recently expired rule. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The rule establishes permitted uses of the Great Seal, 
identifies prohibited uses, describes an application 
process for use, and sets enforcement provisions. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is minimal cost to the state associated with 
processing applications and investigating alleged misuse 
of the Great Seal. 
 
There is some small revenue to the state from an 
administrative filing fee associated with an application for 
use.  The agency is unable to estimate an aggregate cost 
or savings as there is no way of knowing how many 
applications will be received or how many investigations 
will be undertaken. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Most local governments use of the Great Seal falls under 
the list of generally permitted uses under Section R622-3-
4, which are exempted from application fee by Section 

R622-3-6.  Any other use would require paying a $5 
application fee. 
 
The agency has no way of knowing how many applications 
it would receive and so cannot estimate an aggregate cost. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no cost to small businesses.  Small businesses 
may not use the seal. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no cost to non-small businesses.  Non-small 
businesses may not use the seal. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons who wish to use the seal may apply for use.  
The application fee is $5. 
 
The agency has no way of knowing how many applications 
it would receive and so cannot estimate an aggregate cost. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected persons are limited to the 
$5 application fee for use of the seal. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2024 FY2025 FY2026 
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State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Lieutenant Governor, Deidre M. Henderson, has 
reviewed and approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 67-1a-2 Section 67-1a-7 Section 76-6-501 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

05/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

05/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Mallory 
Underwood, 
Office 
Administrator 

Date: 03/29/2024 

 
R622.  Lieutenant Governor, Administration. 
R622-3.  Use of the Great Seal of the State of Utah. 
R622-3-1.  Purpose. 
 (1)  The Great Seal of the State of Utah is a symbol of the 
sovereignty of this state, and its use denotes authenticity of official 
state government functions and authority.  The Great Seal is a single 
mounted engraved plate, comprising form and content as described 

in Section 67-1a-8.  The purpose of this rule is to define how the state 
will: 
 (a)  manage the use and application of the Great Seal (the 
seal); and 
 (b)  define criteria for its authorized application. 
 
R622-3-2.  Primary Function of the Seal. 
 (1)  Since its conception, the seal has been employed for 
specific governmental applications within the state's executive, 
legislative, and judicial branches.  The seal will be administered 
consistent with state law and policy, and its principal application shall 
be to authenticate or attest to: 
 (a)  official documents which are authorized or required by 
statute; and 
 (b)  other state documents having historic, civic, 
commemorative, or educational value or import. 
 (2)  The seal's impression on a legal document shall require 
the lieutenant governor's signature to appear on the same page as, and 
in proximity thereto. 
 
R622-3-3.  Custody and Use. 
 Pursuant to Subsections 67-1a-2(1)(d) through (f) the 
lieutenant governor is the custodian of the Great Seal. 
 
R622-3-4.  General Permitted Uses of the Seal. 
 (1)  The seal shall be permitted for use without the written 
authorization of the lieutenant governor, in the following 
circumstances: 
 (a)  printings of replicas of the seal on official state 
letterhead, business cards, and stationery for agencies, entities, or 
officers of the state; and 
 (b)  exhibition of permitted reproductions of the seal on 
state flags. 
 (2)  The seal shall be permitted for use in the following 
circumstances upon describing and submitting a list of intended uses 
with the lieutenant governor's office to assure uniformity and 
continuity of use: 
 (a)  application or display of replicas of the seal by state 
agencies and state political sub-divisions which delineate official 
state purposes, and by state elected officials in connection with their 
official state business; 
 (b)  for educational and academic uses by schools, colleges 
and universities to convey information about official state functions; 
 (c)  for use on a product or article offered to the public, for 
profit or without charge, through the Utah State Capitol gift shop; and 
 (d)  such uses may not try to endorse, authenticate, 
recognize or promote persons or roles, or be part of administrative or 
promotional functions. 
 
R622-3-5.  Prohibited Usage. 
 (1)  The seal, or replica, may not be committed for general 
use, including: 
 (a)  for personal financial gain; 
 (b)  for, or in connection with, any advertising or promotion 
of any product, business, organization, service, or article whether 
offered for sale, for profit or without charge, except as provided in 
Subsection R622-3-4(2)(c); 
 (c)  in a political campaign, or in ways that may legitimize 
or assist to defeat another candidate for elective office; or 
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 (d)  to function, or be construed to function in any way, as 
an endorsement of any business, organization, product, service, or 
article. 
 (2)  No symbol shall be used that imitates or appears similar 
to the seal in a way that intends to deceive, or is displayed in a manner 
that conveys improper use of the official Great Seal itself. 
 (3)  When the seal is used, no mark, insignia, letter, word, 
figure, design, picture, or drawing of any nature may be placed upon 
the seal, or any part of it. 
 (4)  A state agency, or an elected official, other than the 
lieutenant governor, may not authorize an individual or entity 
associated with a state agency or state elected official, to use the seal 
or replica for a commercial purpose whereby items will be distributed 
for sale, even though such purpose may include the providing of 
goods or services to the state. 
 (5)  The seal may not be displayed in a manner which 
lessens or detracts from its dignity or impact. 
 
R622-3-6.  Application for Use. 
 (1)  Persons or entities seeking permission to use the seal 
or replica, excepting uses outlined in Section R622-3-4, will 
complete and file a legible application with the lieutenant governor, 
on a form provided by that office, which shall include: 
 (a)  a specific description of the intended usage involving 
the Great Seal of the State of Utah, or replica of the seal; 
 (b)  the payment of a non-refundable administrative filing 
fee in the amount of $5; and 
 (c)  a precise description and specification of the product or 
item to bear the seal, or replica, in the form of an architectural 
drawing, engineering draft-to-scale, brochure, or lucid photograph or 
computer-graphic. 
 (2)  The application and supporting documents shall 
become the property of the lieutenant governor's office. 
 (3)  Upon approval of a complete application, the applicant 
shall be issued a certificate bearing an identification number, by the 
lieutenant governor, which shall be kept by the applicant on file for 
four years following use of the seal.  State agencies and entities which 

use the state seal or replica for official state functions have no 
application or fee requirement. 
 (4)  An application may be denied for: 
 (a)  failure to comply with relevant statutes or this rule; 
 (b)  failure to include the required fee; or 
 (c)  if the intended use is found to be detrimental to the 
image of the state and not in its best interest. 
 
R622-3-7.  Revocation of Approved Applications. 
 The lieutenant governor may revoke any prior approved 
usage if it is determined that the seal is being used improperly, if the 
actual use differs from the intended use as described on the 
application, or if false or inaccurate information was used to gain 
approval. 
 
R622-3-8.  Enforcement. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Section 67-1a-7, except as otherwise 
provided by law, only the lieutenant governor, or the lieutenant 
governor's designee, may use or affix the seal to a document in 
pursuance of law.  If any person illegally uses the seal, or such seal 
when defaced, the state may refer such criminal violations to an 
appropriate prosecuting authority. 
 (2)  Under the provisions of Section 76-6-501 the state may 
seek redress against a person, or persons, who impermissibly 
replicate the seal as a forgery.  A person or entity employing the seal, 
or a replica, with the intent to defraud or imply that the presence of 
the seal or replica appeared by permission of the state, or whose 
presentation of the seal denigrates its ability to authenticate by proper 
state authority, may be referred to an appropriate prosecuting 
authority. 
 
KEY:  Great Seal 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  67-1a-7; 67-
1a-2; 76-6-501 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES 

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 
 (a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 (b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
 (c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)). 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the 120-DAY RULE is printed.  New text is underlined (example) and text to 
be deleted is struck out with brackets surrounding the deleted text ([example]).  An emergency rule that is new is 
entirely underlined.  Likewise, an emergency rule that repeals an existing rule shows the text completely struck out.  
A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space. 
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective when filed with the Office of Administrative Rules, or on a later date designated by the 
agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.  Because of its 
temporary nature, a 120-DAY RULE is not codified as part of the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The law does not require a public comment period for 120-DAY RULES.  However, when an agency files a 120-DAY 
RULE, it may file a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements permanent. 
 
Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-304, and Section R15-4-8. 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R414-60-7 Filing ID: 56395 

Effective Date: 03/22/2024 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Integrated Healthcare 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R414-60-7.  Reimbursement 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This emergency amendment addresses a significant 
disruption to the pharmacy point of sale system affecting 
Medicaid users in the state. 
 
The purpose of this change is to allow the Medicaid 
division director flexibility to waive the 24-day limit on 
pharmacy dispensing fees if there is a significant 
disruption to the pharmacy point of sale system. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This emergency filing allows the Medicaid division director 
flexibility to waive the 24-day limit on pharmacy dispensing 
fees due to the system interruption to the pharmacy point 
of sale system that resulted in extensive downtime and 
increased administrative workload for pharmacy providers. 
 
It also updates the agency name within the rule title. 
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5A)  The agency finds that regular rulemaking would: 
☒ cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
☐ cause an imminent budget reduction because of 

budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
☐ place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 

B)  Specific reasons and justifications for this finding: 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) needs the ability to waive the 24-day limit to 
pharmacy dispensing fees due to the Medicaid point of 
sale system currently experiencing a system interruption 
that results in extensive downtime and increased 
administrative workload for pharmacy providers. 
 
The additional administrative burden for pharmacies that 
fill prescriptions for Medicaid members results in the 
disruption of a Medicaid member's access to medical care. 
 
As a result, remaining without this emergency rule would 
cause imminent peril to public health, safety, and welfare. 
 
An exception to the 24-day limit to pharmacy dispensing 
fees provides a pathway for pharmacies to fill medications 
for Medicaid members and be compensated for the 
additional workload during the system interruption that 
results in extended downtime until the Medicaid pharmacy 
claims can be submitted and processed for payment using 
usual pathways. 
 
This emergency rule is intended to allow the Department 
to bolster pharmacies' ability to handle the increased 
administrative workload to fill prescriptions in a timely 
manner and avert the imminent peril threatening the 
public. 
 
The Department must facilitate the pharmacy's ability to 
remain a viable business entity and remain in the network 
for member access to medically necessary services to 
avoid imminent peril to public health, as fewer in-network 
pharmacies would result in an additional burden on 
Medicaid members who need access to prescriptions. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
Due to the time constraints of the current emergency, the 
Department cannot accurately estimate potential fiscal 
impacts, as an estimation would require the agency to slow 
the process of filing this emergency rule and cause an 
imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
 
The Department cannot wait until data on claims and 
payment information, which is normally available in 
quarterly reports, is released. 
 

As such, there is insufficient information to estimate the 
fiscal impact to the state budget. 
 
B) Local governments: 

Due to the time constraints of the current emergency, the 
Department cannot accurately estimate potential fiscal 
impacts, as an estimation would require the agency to slow 
the process of filing this emergency rule and cause an 
imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
 
The Department cannot wait until data on claims and 
payment information, which is normally available in 
quarterly reports, is released. 
 
As such, there is insufficient information to estimate the 
fiscal impact to local governments. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
Due to the time constraints of the current emergency, the 
Department cannot accurately estimate potential fiscal 
impacts, as an estimation would require the agency to slow 
the process of filing this emergency rule and cause an 
imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
 
The Department cannot wait until data on claims and 
payment information, which is normally available in 
quarterly reports, is released. 
 
As such, there is insufficient information to estimate the 
fiscal impact to small businesses. 
 
D) Persons other than small businesses, state, or local 
government entities ("person" means any individual, 
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, 
or public or private organization of any character other 
than an agency): 
Due to the time constraints of the current emergency, the 
Department cannot accurately estimate potential fiscal 
impacts, as an estimation would require the agency to slow 
the process of filing this emergency rule and cause an 
imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
 
The Department cannot wait until data on claims and 
payment information, which is normally available in 
quarterly reports, is released. 
 
As such, there is insufficient information to estimate the 
fiscal impact to other persons or entities. 
 
E)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Due to the time constraints of the current emergency, the 
Department cannot accurately estimate potential fiscal 
impacts, as an estimation would require the agency to slow 
the process of filing this emergency rule and cause an 
imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
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The Department cannot wait until data on claims and 
payment information, which is normally available in 
quarterly reports, is released. 
 
As such, there is insufficient information to estimate 
compliance costs to a single person or entity. 
 
F) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this fiscal analysis. 
 
Due to the time constraints of the current emergency, the 
Department cannot accurately estimate potential fiscal 
impacts, as an estimation would require the agency to slow 
the process of filing this emergency rule and cause an 
imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare. 
 
The Department cannot wait until data on claims and 
payment information, which is normally available in 
quarterly reports, is released. 
 
As such, there is insufficient information to estimate the 
fiscal impact to businesses. -Tracy S. Gruber, Executive 
Director 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-1-213 Section 26B-3-108  

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 03/22/2024 

 
R414.  Health and Human Services, [Health Care Financing, 
Coverage and Reimbursement Policy]Integrated Healthcare. 
R414-60.  Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy Program. 
R414-60-7.  Reimbursement. 
 (1)  A pharmacy may not submit a charge to Medicaid that 
exceeds the pharmacy's usual and customary charge. 

 (2)  Covered outpatient drugs are reimbursed as outlined in 
Attachment 4.19-B of the [Utah ]Medicaid State Plan. 
 (3)  A pharmacy that participates in the 340B program and 
uses medications obtained through the 340B program to bill 
Medicaid, must submit the acquisition cost of the medication on the 
claim. 
 (4)  A pharmacy that participates in the federal supply 
schedule and uses medications obtained through the schedule to bill 
Medicaid, must submit the acquisition cost of the medication on the 
claim unless the claim is reimbursed as a bundled charge or all -
inclusive rate. 
 (5)  A pharmacy that obtains and uses medications at a 
nominal price must submit the acquisition cost of the medication on 
the claim. 
 (6)  Dispensing fees are outlined in Attachment 4.19-B of 
the [Utah ]Medicaid State Plan.  Medicaid pays the lesser of the 
assigned dispensing fee or the submitted dispensing fee. 
 (7)  Medicaid pays a pharmacy only one dispensing fee 
every 24 days for each covered outpatient drug. 
 (a)  In the event the Medicaid point of sale system 
experiences a system interruption that results in extensive downtime 
and increased administrative workload for pharmacy providers, the 
Medicaid division director may waive the 24-day limit on dispensing 
fees. 
 (8)  Medicaid pays a provider that immunizes a Medicaid 
member who is 19 years of age or older, for the cost of the 
immunization plus a dispensing fee.  Medicaid pays the lesser of the 
allowed or submitted charges. 
 (9)  A provider that immunizes a Medicaid member who is 
18 years of age or younger, may only be eligible for a dispensing fee 
with no reimbursement for the immunization.  Immunizations for 
Medicaid members who are 18 years of age or younger must be 
obtained through the Vaccines for Children program. 
 (10)  Diabetic supplies listed on the Utah Medicaid PDL 
are reimbursed at the lesser of the wholesale acquisition cost with no 
dispensing fee or the billed charges. 
 (11)  Pursuant to Section 58-17b-805, a dispensing medical 
practitioner may prescribe and dispense medication directly to a 
patient if providing outpatient cancer therapy.  Details of 
reimbursement are found on the Medicaid website at 
http://health.utah.gov/medicaid/stplan/lookup/CoverageLookup.php
. 
KEY:  Medicaid 
Date of Last Change:  March 22, 2024 
Notice of Continuation:  March 11, 2022 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26B-1-213; 
26B-3-108 
 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of 120-Day (Emergency) Rules Section 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R64-3 Filing ID: 50125 
Effective Date: 03/21/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Agriculture and Food 
Agency: Conservation Commission 
Building: South Bldg 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W, Floor 2 
City, state and 
zip: 

Taylorsville, UT 84129 

Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Jim Bowcutt  435-
232-
4017 

jdbowcutt@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson  385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R64-3.  Utah Environmental Stewardship Certification 
Program (UESCP), a.k.a. Agriculture Certificate of 
Environmental Stewardship (ACES) 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 4-18-107, Utah Agricultural Certificate of 
Environmental Stewardship (ACES) Program, has been 
effective since 07/01/2017. 
 
The Department of Agriculture and Food (Department), in 
2020, implemented the Agriculture Voluntary Incentive 
Program (AGVIP) due to funding appropriated to the 
AGVIP each year and the lack of interest in the ACES 
program. 
 
Since the statute requires and defines the ACES program, 
the Department would like to continue this rule until the 
2025 General Session when possible legislation may 
repeal the program. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
Currently, the Department has not received any public 
comments about the ACES program or this rule and has 
not issued any statements about the program. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
At this time, the Department wants to keep this rule until 
possible legislation can repeal the program.  After 
legislators pass the repeal of the program, the Department 
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plans to repeal this rule.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 03/21/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R317-401 Filing ID: 52484 
Effective Date: 04/01/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Environmental Quality 
Agency: Water Quality 
Room number: DEQ 3rd Floor 
Building: Multi Agency State Office Building 

(MASOB) 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 144870 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4870 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Robert Beers 385-

501-
9580 

rbeers@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R317-401.  Graywater Systems 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The Water Quality Board is authorized by Subsection 19-
5-104(1)(A)(v) to make rules in order to protect the public 
health for the design, construction, operation, and 
maintenance of underground wastewater disposal 
systems. 
The director is authorized by Section 19-5-105 to: 
1) develop programs for the prevention, control, and 
abatement of new or existing pollution of the waters of the 
state; 
2) enforce rules created by the Board; 
3) require permits for the construction of treatment 
facilities; 

4) review plans and specifications; and 
5) adopt other measures to prevent, control, or abate 
pollution of waters of the state. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
This rule was first promulgated on 07/02/2004.  This rule 
was revised in March 2020. 
 
No written comments have been received since the last 
five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule was developed in response to a number of 
inquiries from the public and local health departments 
regarding the use, under certain conditions, of graywater 
originating from laundries, showers, tubs, and lavatories 
for subsurface irrigation. 
 
This rule sets out the requirements for use of graywater 
and is required for adequate protection of the state's water 
resources.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

John K. Mackey,  
Division Director 

Date: 04/01/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R414-14A Filing ID: 55984 
Effective Date: 03/25/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Integrated Healthcare 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-14A.  Hospice Care 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-3-108 requires the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) to implement Medicaid 
through administrative rules. 
 
Section 26B-1-213 grants the Department the authority to 
adopt, amend, or rescind these rules. 
 
Additionally, 42 CFR 418 sets forth provisions of hospice 
care services for Medicaid members. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department did not receive any written comments 
regarding this rule since its last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Department has determined this rule is necessary 
because it is required by statute and defines the scope of 
hospice care services available to Medicaid members.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
As the Department received no public comments, it did not 
respond to any comments. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 03/25/2024 

 
 
 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R432-13 Filing ID: 55415 
Effective Date: 03/19/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing  
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-13.  Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical Center 
Construction Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-2-202 authorizes the office to write and 
enforce rules to govern licensure of health care facilities in 
Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review and no recommended substantive 
changes from the Health Care Facility Rule Committee 
since the most recent activation of this rule. 
 
This five-year review filing is intended to ensure this rule 
remains in continual effect for statutory compliance. 
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5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Aside from recodification and the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah compliance edits, there have been no comments or 
recommendations for changes to this rule over the past 
five years. 
 
Statute requires the Office of Licensing to write and 
enforce rules pertaining to the construction of freestanding 
ambulatory surgical centers.  This rule is necessary to 
ensure there is no lapse in oversight of the construction 
requirements for freestanding ambulatory surgical centers.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 03/19/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R432-14 Filing ID: 55945 
Effective Date: 03/19/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing  
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-14.  Birthing Center Construction Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

Section 26B-2-202 authorizes the office to write and 
enforce rules to govern licensure of health care facilities in 
Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review and no recommended substantive 
changes from the Health Care Facility Rule Committee. 
 
This five-year review filing is intended to ensure this rule 
remains in continual effect for statutory compliance. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Aside from recodification and the Rulewriting Manual for 
Utah compliance edits, there have been no comments or 
recommendations for changes to this rule over the past 
five years. 
 
Statute requires the Office of Licensing to write and 
enforce rules pertaining to the construction of birthing 
centers.  This rule is necessary to ensure there is no lapse 
in oversight of the construction requirements for birthing 
centers.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 03/19/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R432-32 Filing ID: 55940 
Effective Date: 03/29/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Health and Human Services 
Agency: Health Care Facility Licensing  
Building: MASOB 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84116 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Janice Weinman 385-

321-
5586 

jweinman@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 
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Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R432-32.  Licensing Exemption for Non-Profit Volunteer 
End-of-Life Care 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-2-205 authorizes the agency to write and 
enforce rules to govern exempt health care facilities in 
Utah. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no comments received since the last 
five-year review and no recommended substantive 
changes from the Health Care Facility Rule Committee. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
Aside from recodification and nonsubstantive updates to 
comply with the Rulewriting Manual for Utah, there have 
been no comments or recommendations for changes to 
this rule over the past five years. 
 
Non-profit, volunteer end-of-life care providers are 
exempted from licensure in this rule. 
 
This rule needs to remain in place to ensure the 
appropriate distinctions exist between these exempted 
providers and providers who are required to become 
licensed by the agency.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 03/29/2024 

 
 
FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R455-11 Filing ID: 54435 
Effective Date:  03/25/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Cultural and Community Engagement 
Agency: History 
Building: Highland Building  

Street address: 3760 S Highland Dr 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84106 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Sophia Riggs 801-

874-
7205 

sophiariggs@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R455-11.  Historic Preservation Tax Credit 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
To be eligible of the Historic Preservation Tax Credit, all 
rehabilitation work must be approved by the State Historic 
Preservation Office before project completion, ensuring it 
meets the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for 
Rehabilitation. 
 
A tax credit is available for taxpayers (subject to Section 
59-7-104) who incur qualified rehabilitation expenditures 
of more than $10,000 on residential certified historic 
buildings.  The credit is equal to 20% of these qualified 
expenditures. 
 
This credit applies to all qualifying expenses exceeding 
$10,000.  This is enacted in Sections 59-7-609 and 59-10-
1006. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There were no comments received since the last five-year 
review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule provides a structured approval process with the 
State History Board and State Historic Preservation Office 
for the historic preservation tax credit.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Chris Merritt, Utah  
Historic  
Preservation 
Officer 

Date: 03/25/2024 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R455-14 Filing ID: 54436 
Effective Date: 03/25/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Cultural and Community Engagement 
Agency: History 
Street address: 3760 S Highland Dr 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84106 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Sophia Riggs 801-

874-
7205 

sophiariggs@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R455-14.  Procedures for Electronic Meetings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
A public body may not hold an electronic meeting unless 
the public body has adopted a resolution, rule, or 
ordinance governing the use of electronic meetings.  This 
rule is enacted under Section 52-4-207. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received since the last five-
year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
There are times when members of the Board of State 
History may need to meet electronically.  This rule will 
allow electronic meetings with advanced notice, an anchor 
location and the ability for the public to attend.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jennifer Oritz,  
Director 

Date: 03/25/2024 

 
 

FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R455-15 Filing ID: 54452 
Effective Date: 03/25/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Cultural and Community Engagement 
Agency: History 
Street address: 3760 S Highland Dr 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84106 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Sophia Riggs 801-

874-
7205 

sophiariggs@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R455-15.  Procedures for Emergency Meetings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Emergency meetings do not require a 24-hour notice if 
unforeseen circumstances with an urgent nature a rise and 
the public body gives the best notice practicable. 
 
There must also be an attempt to notify all public body 
members, with the majority approving the meeting.  This is 
enacted in Subsection 52-4-202(5). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No comments have been received since the last five-year 
review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule allows the Board of State History to hold an 
emergency meeting when or if urgent matters come to 
fruition.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jennifer Oritz,  
Director 

Date: 03/25/20241 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R710-12 Filing ID: 51916 
Effective Date: 03/28/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Department: Public Safety 
Agency: Fire Marshal 
Building: Conference Center at Miller Campus 
Street address: 410 W 9800 S, Suite 372 
City, state and 
zip: 

Sandy, UT 84070 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Ted Black 801-
256-
2390 

tblack@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R710-12.  Hazardous Materials Training and Certification 
 

3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized by Section 53-7-204, which requires 
that the Utah Fire Prevention Board make rules 
establishing ongoing training standards for hazardous 
materials emergency response agencies. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
There have been no written comments received during or 
since the last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under Section 53-7-204 and is 
necessary to establish ongoing training standards for 
hazardous materials emergency response agencies.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Ted Black, State  
Fire Marshal 

Date: 03/28/2024 

 
 
 
 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Marketing and Development 
No.  56278  (Repeal and Reenact)  R65-1:  Utah Apple 
Marketing Order 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/26/2024 
 
No.  56279  (Repeal and Reenact)  R65-5:  Utah Red Tart 
and Sour Cherry Marketing Order 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/26/2024 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  56324  (Amendment)  R277-308:  New Educator 
Induction and Mentoring 
Published:  03/01/2024 
Effective:  04/09/2024 
 
No.  56325  (Amendment)  R277-328:  Educational Equity in 
Schools 
Published:  03/01/2024 
Effective:  04/09/2024 
 
No.  56326  (Amendment)  R277-471:  School Construction 
Oversight, Inspections, Training and Reporting 
Published:  03/01/2024 
Effective:  04/09/2024 
 
No.  56327  (Amendment)  R277-910:  Underage Drinking 
and Substance Abuse Prevention Program 
Published:  03/01/2024 
Effective:  04/09/2024 
 
No.  56328  (Amendment)  R277-912:  Law Enforcement 
Related Incident Reporting 
Published:  03/01/2024 
Effective:  04/09/2024 
 

Financial Institutions 
Credit Unions 
No.  56311  (Amendment)  R337-5:  Allowance for Loan and 
Lease Losses - Credit Unions 
Published:  03/01/2024 
Effective:  04/09/2024 
 
 
Health and Human Services 
Integrated Healthcare 
No.  56258  (Amendment)  R414-90:  Diabetes Self-
Management Training 
Published:  01/15/2024 
Effective:  03/25/2024 
 
No.  56259  (Repeal)  R414-310:  Medicaid Primary Care 
Network Demonstration Waiver 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  03/25/2024 
 
No.  56260  (Amendment)  R414-504:  Nursing Facility 
Payments 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  03/25/2024 
 
Data, Systems and Evaluation, Vital Records and Statistics 
No.  56173  (Amendment)  R436-9:  Persons and Institutions 
Required to Keep Monthly Listings of Vital Statistics Events 
Published:  12/01/2023 
Effective:  03/25/2024 
 
 
Lieutenant Governor 
Elections 
No.  56238  (New Rule)  R623-11:  Signature Verification 
Standards 
Published:  01/01/2024 
Effective:  04/04/2024 
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Natural Resources 
Outdoor Recreation 
No.  56280  (New Rule)  R650-102:  Adjudicatory 
Proceedings 
Published:  02/01/2024 
Effective:  03/19/2024 
 
State Parks 
No.  56329  (Repeal)  R651-301:  State Recreation Fiscal 
Assistance Program 
Published:  03/01/2024 
Effective:  04/08/2024 
 
 
Pardons (Board of) 
Administration 
No.  56298  (Amendment)  R671-201:  Original Hearing 
Schedule and Notice 
Published:  02/15/2024 
Effective:  04/01/2024 
 
No.  56299  (Amendment)  R671-312a:  Commutation 
Procedures Applicable to Persons Sentence to Death Before 
April 26, 1992 
Published:  02/15/2024 
Effective:  04/01/2024 
 
No.  56300  (Amendment)  R671-312b:  Commutation 
Procedures Applicable to Persons Sentenced to Death After 
April 26, 1992 
Published:  02/15/2024 
Effective:  04/01/2024 
 
No.  56301  (Amendment)  R671-313:  Commutation 
Hearings (Non-Death Penalty Cases) 
Published:  02/15/2024 
Effective:  04/01/2024 
 
No.  56302  (Amendment)  R671-314:  Compassionate 
Release 
Published:  02/15/2024 
Effective:  04/01/2024 
 
No.  56303  (Amendment)  R671-509:  Progress / Violation 
Reports 
Published:  02/15/2024 
Effective:  04/01/2024 
 

No.  56304  (Amendment)  R671-510:  Evidence for Issuance 
of Warrants 
Published:  02/15/2024 
Effective:  04/01/2024 
 
No.  56305  (Amendment)  R671-514:  Waiver and Pleas of 
Guilt 
Published:  02/15/2024 
Effective:  04/01/2024 
 
 
Public Service Commission 
Administration 
No.  56315  (Amendment)  R746-312:  Electrical 
Interconnection 
Published:  03/01/2024 
Effective:  04/09/2024 
 
No.  56316  (Amendment)  R746-313:  Electrical Service 
Reliability 
Published:  03/01/2024 
Effective:  04/09/2024 
 
 
Tax Commission 
Auditing 
No.  56307  (Amendment)  R865-19S-33:  Admissions and 
User Fees Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-12-102 
and 59-12-103 
Published:  02/15/2024 
Effective:  03/28/2024 
 
 
Transportation 
Program Development 
No.  56314  (Amendment)  R926-13:  Designated Scenic 
Byways 
Published:  03/01/2024 
Effective:  04/08/2024 
 
 
Workforce Services 
Employment Development 
No.  56310  (Amendment)  R986-700:  Child Care Assistance 
Published:  02/15/2024 
Effective:  04/01/2024 
 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 

 


	NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES
	NOTICES OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES
	FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION
	NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES

