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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES 

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a substantive change to an existing rule.  
With a NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE, an agency may create a new rule, amend an existing rule, repeal an existing rule, 
or repeal an existing rule and reenact a new rule.  Filings received between May 16, 2024, 12:00 a.m., and May 31, 
2024, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the June 15, 2024, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets surrounding 
them ([example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text between paragraphs 
(. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text from within a section was removed to conserve space.  Unaffected sections 
are not usually printed.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Office of Administrative Rules may include only 
the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is available from the filing agency or from the Office 
of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin until at least July 15, 2024.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will indicate the last day 
the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63G-3-302 
requires that a hearing request be received by the agency proposing the rule "in writing not more than 15 days after 
the publication date of the proposed rule." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through October 14, 2024, the agency may notify the Office of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period nor more than 120 days 
after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN 
PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the Office of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE 
OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE lapses. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-301, Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a, R15-
4-9, and R15-4-10. 
 
 

 
The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page  
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NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R66-5 Filing ID:  
56533 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

Agriculture and Food, Medical 
Cannabis and Industrial Hemp  

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building, South 
Building  

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W  
City, state: Taylorsville, UT  
Mailing 
address: 

PO Box 146500 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Brandon Forsyth  801-
710-
9945 

bforsyth@utah.gov  

Kelly Pehrson  385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R66-5.  Medical Cannabis Pharmacy 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Changes are needed to ensure this rule is consistent with 
statutory changes passed in H.B. 233, Medical Cannabis 
Amendments, during the 2024 General Session. 
 
Additional clarifications have been added based on 
Department  of Agriculture and Food (Department) needs 
that have arisen as medical cannabis pharmacies have 
transitioned to Department management. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
In Section R66-5-2, this rule is clarified to ensure that 
pharmacy medical providers (PMP) satisfy new 
requirements in Subsection 4-41a-102(47). 
 
In Sections R66-5-4 and R66-5-5, language is added 
allowing pharmacists in charge to manage inventory 
pursuant to Subsection 4-41a-1101(12). 
 

In Section R66-5-7, a requirement is added for a PMP to 
always carry their registration card and clarifications are 
added regarding visitor logs. 
 
In Section R66-5-9, clarifications are added regarding the 
information that must be contained on a transport 
manifest. 
 
Storage requirements are added in a new Section R66-5-
10. 
 
A new Section R66-5-18 and Section R66-5-19 have been 
added requiring notice of change in operating plans and 
outlining procedures for license renewal. 
 
Language has been added in Section R66-5-21 
delineating geographic regions, as allowed by Subsection 
4-41a-1005(1). 
 
Finally, violation procedures are set forth in Section R66-
5-27. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
These changes are clarifying in nature and will not impact 
the state budget because they provide additional detail 
regarding how the Department administers the program 
rather than change current practices. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments are not licensed under the cannabis 
program and will not be impacted by the rule change. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The clarifying rule changes may have a minimal fiscal 
impact on small businesses. 
 
The Department estimates a cost of $1,000 per each of 
the state's 15 medical cannabis pharmacies in fiscal year 
2025 to cover the cost of printing updated visitor logs and 
transport manifests and purchasing new storage shelving. 
 
Approximately 7 of the 15 pharmacies qualify as small 
businesses for a total cost of $7,000. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The clarifying rule changes may have a minimal fiscal 
impact on non-small businesses. 
 
The Department estimates a cost of $1,000 per each of 
the state's 15 medical cannabis pharmacies in fiscal year 
2025 to cover the cost of printing updated visitor logs and 
transport manifests and purchasing new storage shelving. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, June 15, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 12 3 

Approximately 8 of the 15 pharmacies qualify as non-small 
businesses for a total cost of $8,000. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons do not participate in the medical cannabis 
program and will not be impacted by the rule change. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected will be impacted with an 
estimated cost of $1,000 per pharmacy to print new 
transport manifests and visitor logs and purchase shelving 
to satisfy storage requirements. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$7,000 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$8,000 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$15,000 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$(15,000) $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W, Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
4-41a-1101 

Section 4-2-103   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 05/31/2024 

 
R66.  Agriculture and Food, Medical Cannabis and Industrial 
Hemp. 
R66-5.  Medical Cannabis Pharmacy. 
R66-5-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  Title 4, Chapter 41a, Cannabis Production 
Establishments and Pharmacies and Subsection 4-2-103(1)(i) 
authorize this rule. 
 (2)  This rule establishes operating and licensing standards 
and requirements to be followed by medical cannabis pharmacies and 
their employees. 
 
R66-5-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Cannabis waste" means cannabis product that is 
damaged, deteriorated, mislabeled, expired, returned, subject to a 
recall, or enclosed within a container or package that has been opened 
or breached. 
 (2)  "Card" means any type of medical cannabis card or 
registration card, whichever applies, authorized under Title 26B, 
Chapter 4, Part 2 Cannabinoid Research and Medical Cannabis. 
 (3)  "Cardholder area" means the area of a medical cannabis 
pharmacy where a product is purchased that is restricted to a medical 
cannabis cardholder, a medical cannabis pharmacy employee, or 
another individual authorized by the medical cannabis pharmacy to 
enter the cardholder area. 
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 (4)  "Courier agent" means a medical cannabis courier 
agent. 
 (5)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (6)  "DHHS" means The Utah Department of Health and 
Human Services. 
 (7)  "Direct supervision" means that a PMP is physically 
present at a medical cannabis pharmacy facility and immediately 
available for in-person face-to-face communication with the 
pharmacy agent. 
 (8)  "Educational event" means an organized event: 
 (a)  at which a medical cannabis pharmacy distributes, 
orally presents, or displays educational material; and 
 (b)  that may be held either virtually or in-person. 
 (9)(a)  "Educational material" means material or content 
used, displayed, sold, or distributed for an educational purpose by a 
medical cannabis pharmacy in-person or online in a business or 
professional capacity. 
 (b)  Educational material includes: 
 (i)  live or recorded content of an educational event; or 
 (ii)  any printed educational material such as a placard, 
poster, fact sheet, book, pamphlet, flyer, or business card. 
 (10)  "Limited access area" means an area of a medical 
cannabis pharmacy where medical cannabis and medical cannabis 
devices shall be stored that is: 
 (a)  a lockable cabinet in a medical cannabis pharmacy 
facility to which only a pharmacy agent or PMP has access; or 
 (b)  an indoor area or room of a medical cannabis pharmacy 
facility that is separated from the cardholder and public areas of the 
medical cannabis pharmacy by a physical barrier with suitable locks 
and an electronic barrier to detect entry doors. 
 (11)  "Pharmacy agent" means a medical cannabis 
pharmacy agent. 
 (12)  "PIC" means a pharmacist-in-charge who oversees the 
operation and generally supervises a medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 (13)  "PMP" means a medical cannabis pharmacy medical 
provider that meets the criteria defined in Subsection 4-41a-
1101(12). 
 (14)  "Public waiting area" means an area of the medical 
cannabis pharmacy where the public waits for cardholders and 
cardholders wait for authorization to enter the cardholder area. 
 (15)  "Recreational disposition" means: 
 (a)  slang words or phrasing associated with the recreational 
use of cannabis; 
 (b)  an image of a celebrity or other person whose target 
audience is children or minors; 
 (c)  content that encourages, promotes, or otherwise creates 
an impression that the recreational use of cannabis is legal or 
acceptable, or that the recreational use of cannabis has potential 
health or therapeutic benefits; 
 (d)  content that promotes excessive consumption; 
 (e)  content that is obscene or indecent; and 
 (f)  content that a reasonable person knows or should know 
appeals to children. 
 (16)  "Safeguard" means to maintain the confidentiality of 
the information accessed and not use, release, publish, disclose, or 
otherwise make available to any other person not authorized to access 
the information for any purpose other than those specifically 
authorized or permitted by applicable law. 
 (17)  "State electronic verification system" means the same 
as the term is defined in Section 26B-4-202 and Subsection 4-41a-
102(44). 

 (18)  "Targeted marketing" means the same as the term is 
defined in Subsection [26B-4-201(55)]4-41a-102(47). 
 (19)  "Utah resident" means an individual who has 
established a domicile in Utah. 
 
R66-5-3.  General Operating Standards. 
 (1)  In addition to general operating standards established 
in Title 4, Chapter 41a, Cannabis Production Establishments and 
Pharmacies, medical cannabis pharmacies shall comply with the 
operating standards established in this rule. Medical cannabis 
pharmacies shall: 
 (a)  be well lit, well ventilated, clean, and sanitary; 
 (b)  maintain a current list of employees working at the 
medical cannabis pharmacy that: 
 (i)  includes employee name, department registration 
license classification and license number, registration expiration date, 
and work schedule; and 
 (ii)  be readily retrievable for inspection by the department 
and may be maintained in paper or electronic form; 
 (c)  have a counseling area to allow for confidential patient 
counseling; and 
 (d)  have current and retrievable editions of the following 
reference publications, in print or electronic format, readily available 
and retrievable to medical cannabis pharmacy personnel: 
 (i)  Title 4, Chapter 41a, Cannabis Production 
Establishments and Pharmacies; 
 (ii)  Title 26B, Chapter 4, Part 2, Cannabinoid Research and 
Medical Cannabis; and 
 (iii)  applicable administrative rules. 
 (2)  A medical cannabis pharmacy may not distribute 
medical cannabis products or medical cannabis devices to a medical 
cannabis cardholder unless an employee who is a PMP is physically 
present and immediately available in the medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 (3)  A medical cannabis pharmacy location shall be open 
for a cardholder to buy a medical cannabis product and medical 
devices for a minimum of 35 hours a week, except as authorized by 
the department. 
 (4)  A medical cannabis pharmacy that closes during 
normal hours of operation shall implement procedures to notify 
cardholders when the medical cannabis pharmacy will resume 
normal hours of operation.  Procedures may include telephone system 
messages and conspicuously posted signs. 
 (5)(a)  Deliveries from a cannabis processing facility or 
another medical cannabis pharmacy shall be carried out under the 
direct supervision of a PMP or pharmacy agent. 
 (b)  A PMP or pharmacy agent shall be present to accept the 
delivery. 
 (c)  Upon delivery, the medical cannabis product or medical 
cannabis devices shall immediately be placed in a limited access area 
of the medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 (6)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall protect confidential 
cardholder data and information stored in the Electronic Verification 
System to ensure that access to and use of the data and information 
is limited to those individuals and purposes authorized under Title 
26B, Chapter 4, Part 2, Cannabinoid Research and Medical Cannabis 
and this rule. 
 (7)  A medical cannabis pharmacy may not dispense 
expired, damaged, deteriorated, misbranded, adulterated, or opened 
medical cannabis products or medical cannabis devices. 
 (8)(a)  A medical cannabis pharmacy license may not be 
assigned or transferred but a licensee may make changes to its 
ownership or company structure. 
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 (b)  Any changes to a pharmacy's ownership or company 
structure shall be reported to the department no later than ten calendar 
days before the change is to take place. 
 (c)  When making a change to its ownership, a licensee may 
not: 
 (i)  make an ownership change by an interest of 2% or more 
without notification of the department at least 10 days before the date 
of the change; and 
 (ii)  make an ownership change by an interest of 50% or 
more without applying to the department and receiving department 
approval and payment of the fee authorized under Subsection 4-41a-
1001(3)(c) that the department sets in accordance with Section 63J-
1-504. 
 (9)  When applying to the department for approval of an 
ownership change of more than 50%, the medical cannabis pharmacy 
shall submit to the department: 
 (a)  a complete application form; 
 (b)  payment of an application fee that covers the cost of 
the application review; 
 (c)  a description of how the medical cannabis pharmacy 
maintains its compliance with the minimum standards for licensure 
and operation of the medical cannabis pharmacy; and 
 (d)  the results of any formal investigation or adverse action 
taken against the new owners or individuals with financial or 
management control who make up the new owners, during the past 
seven years by any licensing jurisdiction, government agency, law 
enforcement agency, or court. 
 (10)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall provide a copy of 
a certificate of analysis for a medical cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis cardholder or a recommending medical provider if: 
 (a)  it is requested in writing; and 
 (b)  the requestor signs a non-disclosure agreement upon 
request by the medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 (11)  A medical cannabis pharmacy may be in the same 
building as a medical clinic that offers medical cannabis evaluations 
under the following conditions: 
 (a)  the building owner may not be the medical cannabis 
pharmacy or an owner, director, board member, employee, or agent 
of the medical cannabis pharmacy; and 
 (b)  the two businesses cannot share an outdoor entrance 
unless the entrance leads to a common area shared by multiple tenants 
of the building where the two businesses have separate facility 
entrances to facility reception areas separated by walls and locked 
doors. 
 
R66-5-4.  Operating Plan. 
 (1)  A medical cannabis pharmacy license application shall 
include an operating plan that at a minimum, consists of the 
following: 
 (a)  the information requested in the application; 
 (b)  the information listed in Section 4-41a-1004; and 
 (c)  a plan to comply with applicable operating standards, 
statutes, and administrative rules, including: 
 (i)  Title 26B, Chapter 4, Part 2, Cannabinoid Research and 
Medical Cannabis, Title 4, Chapter 41a, Cannabis Production 
Establishments and Pharmacies;[ and] 
 (ii)  applicable administrative rules[.]; and 
 (iii)  procedures for a PIC to determine the pharmacy's 
medical cannabis inventory under Subsection 4-41a-1101(12). 
 (2)(a)  The department may require the applicant for a 
medical cannabis pharmacy license to make a change to its operating 
plan before issuing a pharmacy license. 

 (b)  The applicant shall submit a copy of its updated 
operating plan, with the required change and receive department 
approval of the plan before the department awards the license. 
 (3)(a)  Once the department issues a license, any change to 
a medical cannabis pharmacy's operating plan is subject to the 
approval of the department. 
 (b)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall submit a notice, in 
a manner determined by the department at least 14 days before the 
date that it plans to implement any change to its operating plan. 
 
R66-5-5.  Pharmacist-In-Charge. 
 (1)(a)  PICs shall have the responsibility to oversee the 
medical cannabis pharmacy's operation. 
 (b)  The PIC shall generally supervise the medical cannabis 
pharmacy, though the PIC is not required to be on-site during 
business hours. 
 (2)(a)  Each medical cannabis pharmacy shall have a 
unique email address to be used for official notices, self-audits, or 
alerts initiated by the department. 
 (b)  The medical cannabis pharmacy shall identify the email 
address in their initial license application and inform the department 
within seven calendar days if the email address is changed. 
 (c)  The email address may not be used to send any patient 
information. 
 (3)  The [duties of the ]PIC shall[ include]: 
 (a)  ensure that PMPs and pharmacy agents appropriately 
interpret and distribute a recommendation from a recommending 
medical provider in a suitable container appropriately labeled for 
administration or use by a patient; 
 (b)  determine the medical cannabis pharmacy's inventory 
of medical cannabis and medical cannabis products; 
 ([b]c)  ensure that medical cannabis products and medical 
cannabis devices are distributed safely and accurately with correct 
dosing guidelines and directions of use as recommended by a 
recommending medical provider; 
 ([c]d)  ensure that PMPs and pharmacy agents 
communicate to a cardholder, at their request, information 
concerning any medical cannabis product or medical cannabis 
devices distributed to the cardholder; 
 ([d]e)  ensure that medical cannabis pharmacy personnel 
receive necessary education and training; 
 ([e]f)  establish policies for procurement of medical 
cannabis products, medical cannabis devices, and educational 
material sold at the facility; 
 ([f]g)  distribute and dispose of medical cannabis products 
and medical cannabis devices from a medical cannabis pharmacy; 
 ([g]h)  ensure appropriate storage of medical cannabis 
products and medical cannabis devices; 
 ([h]i)  maintain a complete and accurate record of products 
and transactions of the medical cannabis pharmacy necessary to 
maintain accurate control and accountability for materials required 
by applicable state laws; 
 ([i]j)  establish effective control against theft or diversion 
of medical cannabis products or medical cannabis devices, and record 
of the product; 
 ([j]k)  ensure legal operation of the medical cannabis 
pharmacy, including inspections, and other requirements, of state 
law; 
 ([k]l)  implement an ongoing quality assurance program 
that monitors the performance of the personnel at the medical 
cannabis pharmacy; 
 ([l]m)  ensure that the point-of-sale is in working order; 
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 ([m]n)  ensure that relevant information is submitted to the 
state's Inventory Control System and Electronic Verification System 
in a timely manner; 
 ([n]o)  ensure that medical cannabis pharmacy personnel 
have appropriate licensure and registration; 
 ([o]p)  ensure that no medical cannabis pharmacy operates 
with a ratio of PMPs to pharmacy agents that results in, or reasonably 
would be expected to result in, a reasonable risk of harm to public 
health, safety, and welfare; and 
 ([p]q)  ensure that the PIC assigned to the medical cannabis 
pharmacy is recorded with the department, and the department is 
notified of a PIC change within 14 days of the change or within 24 
hours of an immediate change in a PIC's employment status in case 
of sudden resignation, termination, or emergency leave. 
 (4)  A PMP cannot be designated as PIC for more than two 
medical cannabis pharmacies at one time. 
 
R66-5-6.  Supervision. 
 (1)  A medical cannabis pharmacy licensee shall ensure that 
the pharmacy is always under the full and actual charge of the 
medical cannabis pharmacy's PIC as well as under the direct 
supervision of at least one supervising PMP, who is physically 
present when a medical cannabis pharmacy is open to the public. 
 (2)  A medical cannabis pharmacy PIC is not required to be 
in the medical cannabis pharmacy at all times but shall be available 
for contact within a reasonable period with the supervising PMP. 
 
R66-5-7.  Security Standards. 
 (1)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall comply with 
security standards established in Section 4-41a-1101 and this rule. 
 (2)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall have security 
equipment sufficient to deter and prevent unauthorized entrance into 
a limited access area of the medical cannabis pharmacy that includes 
equipment required in this section. 
 (3)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall have a system to 
detect unauthorized intrusion, which may include a signal system 
interconnected with a radio frequency method, such as cellular or 
private radio signals, or another mechanical or electronic device. 
 (4)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall be equipped with a 
secure lock on any entrance to the medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 (5)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall have electronic 
monitoring including: 
 (a)  at least one 19-inch or greater call-up monitor; 
 (b)  a printer, capable of immediately producing a clear still 
photo from any video camera image; 
 (c)  a video camera with a recording resolution of at least 
640 x 470, or the equivalent, that provides coverage of entrances to 
and exits from limited access areas, entrances to and exits from the 
building, and is capable of identifying any activity occurring in or 
adjacent to the building: 
 (d)  a video camera that records continuously, 24 hours a 
day, 7 days a week or be motion activated; 
 (e)  a video camera at each point-of-sale and product 
destruction or disposal location that will allow for the identification 
of a medical cannabis cardholder, visitor, or pharmacy employee; 
 (f)  a method for storing video recordings from the video 
camera for at least 45 calendar days: 
 (i)  a surveillance system storage device used for locally 
stored footage shall be secured in the facility in a lock box, cabinet, 
closet, or secured in another manner, to protect from employee 
tampering or criminal theft; and 

 (ii)  access to footage stored on a remote server shall be 
restricted to protect from employee tampering; 
 (g)  a failure notification system that provides an audible 
and visual notification of failure in the electronic monitoring system; 
 (h)  sufficient battery backup for a video camera and 
recording equipment to support [at least five minutes ]of recording in 
the event of a power outage; 
 (i)  a date and time stamp embedded on video camera 
recordings that is set correctly; and 
 (j)  a panic alarm in the interior of the facility that is a silent 
security alarm system signal generated by the manual activation of a 
device intended to signal a robbery in progress. 
 (6)  Security measures implemented by a medical cannabis 
pharmacy to deter and prevent unauthorized entrance in areas 
containing products or theft of products and to ensure the safety of 
employees and cardholders, shall include measures to: 
 (a)  store medical cannabis products and medical cannabis 
devices in a secure locked limited access area in a manner as to 
prevent diversion, theft, and loss; 
 (b)  keep safes, vaults, and any other equipment or areas 
used for storage, including before disposal of the product, securely 
locked and protected during times other than the time required to 
remove or replace medical cannabis a product or medical cannabis 
devices; 
 (c)  keep locks and security equipment in good working 
order and test that equipment is functioning properly at least two 
times per calendar year; 
 (d)  prohibit keys from being left in locks, stored, or placed 
in a location accessible to any person other than specifically 
authorized personnel; 
 (e)  prohibit accessibility of security measures such as 
combination numbers, passwords, or electronic, or biometric security 
systems, to any person other than specifically authorized personnel; 
 (f)  ensure that the outside perimeter of the building is 
sufficiently lit to facilitate surveillance; 
 (g)  ensure that medical cannabis products and medical 
cannabis devices are kept out of plain sight and are not visible from 
a public place; 
 (h)  secure each product following any instance of 
diversion, theft, or loss of product, and conduct an assessment to 
determine whether additional safeguards are necessary; 
 (i)  ensure safe cash handling and cash transportation to 
prevent theft, loss, and associated risk to the safety of employees, 
customers, and the general public at any medical cannabis pharmacy 
where a cash transaction is conducted; and 
 (j)  prevent an individual from remaining on the premise of 
the medical cannabis pharmacy if they are not engaging in activity 
permitted by Title 26B, Chapter 4, Part 2, Cannabinoid Research and 
Medical Cannabis or Title 4, Chapter 41a, Medical Cannabis 
Production Establishments and Pharmacies. 
 (7)  A medical cannabis pharmacy may display, in a 
securely locked case, a sample of each product offered: 
 (a)  the display case shall be transparent; and 
 (b)  an authorized PMP or pharmacy agent may remove an 
example of medical cannabis or a medical cannabis device from the 
case and provide it to a cardholder for inspection, provided: 
 (i)  the patient does not consume or otherwise use the 
sample; 
 (ii)  the processor label from the original product container 
or an image showing the processor label is affixed to the sample's 
container with the unique identifying number that links the medical 
cannabis product to the ICS; and 
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 (iii)  the medical cannabis product is destroyed in 
compliance with applicable laws and the pharmacy's standard 
operating procedures. 
 (8)  Inside the medical cannabis pharmacy, medical 
cannabis product and medical cannabis devices, shall be stored in a 
limited access area during non-business hours. 
 (9)(a)  While inside the medical cannabis pharmacy, each 
employee shall wear an identification tag or similar form of 
identification, to clearly identify them to the public. 
 (b)  The tag shall list the employees' position at the medical 
cannabis pharmacy as a PMP or pharmacy agent. 
 (c)  A medical cannabis PMP shall carry their Pharmacy 
Medical Provider registration card at all times when: 
 (i)  they are on the premises of a medical cannabis 
pharmacy; and 
 (ii)  they are transporting cannabis in a medicinal dosage 
form, a cannabis product in a medicinal dosage form, or a medical 
cannabis device between a cannabis production establishment and a 
medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 (10)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall include the 
following areas: 
 (a)  public waiting area; 
 (b)  cardholder-only area; and 
 (c)  limited access area. 
 (11)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall allow only a 
medical cannabis cardholder, PMP, pharmacy agent, authorized 
vendor, contactor, or visitor, to have access to the cardholder area of 
the medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 (12)(a)  An outside vendor, contractor, or a visitor shall 
obtain a visitor identification badge before entering the 
cardholder-only, or limited access area of a medical cannabis 
pharmacy. 
 (b)  The badge shall be worn at all times when on the 
premise of the medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 (c)  Each visitor shall be escorted at all times by an 
employee authorized to enter the medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 (d)  Each visitor shall log in and out and that log shall be 
available for inspection by the department. 
 (e)  Each visitor shall return their badge to the medical 
cannabis pharmacy upon exit. 
 (13)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall keep and maintain 
a log showing: 
 (a)  the full name of each visitor entering the facility; 
 (b)  the badge number issued; 
 (c)  the date and time of arrival; 
 (d)  the date and time of departure; and 
 (e)  the purpose of the visit. 
 (14)  The visitor log shall be maintained by the medical 
cannabis pharmacy for a minimum of one year. 
 (15)  The medical cannabis pharmacy shall make visitor log 
available to the department upon request. 
 (1[3]6)(a)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall keep 
product that is inside the medical cannabis pharmacy in a limited 
access area, inaccessible to any person other than a PMP, pharmacy 
agent, state employee, or an individual authorized by the medical 
cannabis pharmacy's PIC. 
 (b)  The limited access area under Subsection (13)(a) shall: 
 (i)  be identified by the posting of a sign that is a minimum 
of 12" x 12;" and 
 (ii)  states: "Limited Access Area," in lettering no smaller 
than one inch in height. 

 (1[4]7)  If a cabinet or drawer is used as a limited access 
area, it is not required to have a "Limited Access Area" sign on it. 
 (1[5]8)  Only a PMP or a pharmacy agent shall have access 
to the medical cannabis pharmacy when the medical cannabis 
pharmacy is closed to the public. 
 (1[6]9)(a)  The medical cannabis pharmacy, or parent 
company, shall maintain a record of not less than five years of the 
initials or identification codes that identify each PMP or pharmacy 
agent by name. 
 (b)  The initial or identification code under Subsection 
(16)(a): 
 (i)  shall be unique, to ensure that each PMP or pharmacy 
agent can be identified; and 
 (ii)  may not be used for two or more PMPs or pharmacy 
agents. 
 
R66-5-8.  Inventory. 
 (1)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall inventory and store 
medical cannabis products and medical cannabis devices: 
 (a)  in a manner to permit clear identification, separation, 
and easy retrieval of a product; and 
 (b)  in an environment necessary to maintain the integrity 
of product inventory. 
 (2)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall use the ICS to 
establish a record of each transaction, sale, return, and disposal. 
 (3)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall input information 
regarding the purchase of medical cannabis products or medical 
cannabis devices into the ICS immediately following each 
transaction. 
 (4)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall establish and 
document daily and weekly inventory controls of medical cannabis 
product and medical cannabis devices to help the pharmacy detect 
any diversion, theft, or loss of product in a timely manner. 
 (5)(a)  A PMP at each medical cannabis pharmacy shall 
conduct a monthly inventory that includes a reconciliation of each 
medical cannabis product and medical cannabis device stored at the 
pharmacy with the pharmacy's inventory record in the ICS. 
 (b)  Pharmacy agents may assist a PMP with the monthly 
inventory. 
 (c)  A monthly inventory shall include: 
 (i)  the time and date of completing the inventory; 
 (ii)  a summary of the inventory findings; and 
 (iii)  the name and signature or initials of the PMP who 
conducted the inventory. 
 (6)  If a medical cannabis pharmacy employee identifies a 
reduction in the number of medical cannabis products or medical 
cannabis devices in their inventory that is not due to a documented 
cause, the pharmacy shall immediately: 
 (a)  determine where the loss occurred and take and 
document corrective action; 
 (b)  inform the department of the loss by telephone; and 
 (c)  provide written notice of the loss and the corrective 
action taken to the department within two business days after the 
discovery of the loss. 
 (7)  If a reduction in the number of medical cannabis 
products or medical cannabis devices in the inventory is due to actual 
or suspected criminal activity, the medical cannabis pharmacy shall 
immediately make a written report identifying the circumstances 
surrounding the reduction to: 
 (a)  the department; and 
 (b)  to law enforcement with jurisdiction where the criminal 
acts occurred. 
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 (8)  If a medical cannabis pharmacy employee identifies an 
increase in the amount of medical cannabis products or medical 
cannabis devices in the inventory not due to documented causes, the 
medical cannabis pharmacy shall determine where the increase 
occurred and take and document corrective action. 
 (9)(a)  The PIC shall conduct and complete an annual 
comprehensive inventory of products at a medical cannabis 
pharmacy within 72 hours or three working days of the pharmacy's 
first annual comprehensive inventory. 
 (b)  The annual comprehensive inventory shall include: 
 (i)  the time and date of the inventory; 
 (ii)  a summary of the inventory findings; and 
 (iii)  the name and signature or initials of the PIC who 
conducted the inventory. 
 (10)  The medical cannabis pharmacy shall keep records of 
each monthly inventory and comprehensive annual inventory for five 
years. 
 (11)(a)  Inventory records may be electronic or physical. 
 (b)  If physical records are kept, the physical records shall 
be located at the medical cannabis pharmacy where the medical 
cannabis products and medical cannabis devices are located. 
 (c)  If a medical cannabis pharmacy intends to maintain 
records at a location other than the medical cannabis pharmacy, they 
send a written request to the department that contains: 
 (i)  the medical cannabis pharmacy name and license 
number; and 
 (ii)  the name and address of the alternate location. 
 (b)  The department shall approve or deny the request 
through written notification. 
 (c)  A copy of the department's approval shall be maintained 
by the medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 (d)  The alternate location shall be secured and accessible 
only to authorized medical cannabis pharmacy employees. 
 (1[1]2)  Upon request, a medical cannabis pharmacy shall 
provide any documentation required to be maintained in this rule to 
the department for review. 
 
R66-5-9.  Transportation. 
 (1)  Transport of medical cannabis from a medical cannabis 
pharmacy to another location may occur only when: 
 (a)  a home delivery medical cannabis pharmacy is 
delivering shipments of medical cannabis or medical cannabis 
devices to a cardholder's home address or caregiver facility; 
 (b)  a medical cannabis pharmacy or cannabis production 
establishment is transporting medical cannabis or a medical cannabis 
device from a medical cannabis pharmacy facility to a cannabis 
production establishment facility or waste disposal location to be 
disposed of; or 
 (c)  a product recall is initiated and medical cannabis or a 
medical cannabis device must be returned from a medical cannabis 
pharmacy to the cannabis production establishment. 
 (2)  Medical cannabis product and medical cannabis 
devices to be returned to a cannabis production establishment shall 
be: 
 (a)  logged into the ICS; 
 (b)  stored in a locked container with clear and bold 
lettering: "Return"; and 
 (c)  prepared for return in compliance with any guideline 
and protocol of the cannabis production establishment for collecting, 
storing, and labeling a returned product. 

[ (3)  A PMP or pharmacy agent that accepts a shipment of 
medical cannabis or a medical cannabis device at a medical cannabis 
pharmacy facility from a cannabis production establishment shall: 
 (a)  get a copy of the transport manifest; 
 (b)  not delete, void, or change information on the transport 
manifest; 
 (c)  ensure that the medical cannabis product and medical 
cannabis devices received from a cannabis production establishment 
are as described in the transport manifest; 
 (d)  record on the manifest: 
 (i)  the amount received into the ICS; and 
 (ii)  the unique initial or identification code of the medical 
cannabis pharmacy employee who compares the received inventory 
with the transport manifest; 
 (e)  document any difference between the quantity 
specified in the transport manifest and the quantity received in the 
ICS; and 
 (f)  log any change to medical cannabis product or medical 
cannabis devices that may have occurred while in transport in the 
ICS. 
 (4)  A medical cannabis pharmacy may only receive 
medical cannabis products in their final packaging.] 
 (3)(a)  A printed transport manifest shall accompany each 
transport of cannabis. 
 (b)  The manifest shall contain the following information: 
 (i)  the cannabis pharmacy address and license number of 
the departure location; 
 (ii)  physical address and license number of the receiving 
location; 
 (iii)  strain name, quantities by weight, and unique 
identification numbers of each cannabis material to be transported; 
 (iv)  date and time of departure; 
 (v)  estimated date and time of arrival; and 
 (vi)  name and signature of each agent accompanying the 
cannabis. 
 (4)  A PMP or pharmacy agent accepting a shipment of 
medical cannabis or medical cannabis device at a medical 
cannabis pharmacy facility from a cannabis production establishment 
shall: 
 (a)  be given a copy of the transport manifest from the 
cannabis production establishment or medical cannabis pharmacy; 
 (b)  ensure that the cannabis material received is as 
described in the transport manifest and shall: 
 (i)  record the amounts received for each strain into the 
inventory control system; and 
 (ii)  document any differences between the quantity 
specified in the transport manifest and the quantities received in the 
inventory control system and report difference to the department; 
 (c)  not delete, void, or change information provided on the 
transport manifest upon arrival at the medical cannabis pharmacy; 
 (d)  clearly record on the manifest the unique initial or 
identification code of the medical cannabis pharmacy employee 
who compares the received inventory with the transport manifest and 
the actual date and time of receipt of the medical cannabis product or 
medical cannabis devices; 
 (e)  if a difference between the quantity specified in the 
transport manifest and the quantity received occurs, document the 
difference in the ICS; and 
 (f)  log in the ICS any change to medical cannabis product 
or medical cannabis devices, that may have occurred while in 
transport. 
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 (5)  A medical cannabis pharmacy may only receive 
medical cannabis products in their final packaging. 
 (6)(a)  A medical cannabis pharmacy may write notes on 
the manifest to document discrepancies. 
 (b)  A medical cannabis pharmacy may reject a shipment 
from a cannabis processing establishment. 
 
R66-5-10.  Minimum Requirements for the Storage and Handling 
of Cannabis. 
 (1)  Storage areas shall provide adequate lighting, 
sanitation, temperature, humidity, space, equipment, and security 
conditions for the storage of cannabis. 
 (2)  Stored cannabis shall be at least six inches off the 
ground. 
 (3)  Cannabis shall be stored away from other chemicals, 
lubricants, pesticides, fertilizers, or other potential 
contaminants. 
 (4)  Cannabis that is outdated, damaged, deteriorated, 
misbranded, adulterated shall be stored separately by physical barrier 
until it is destroyed. 
 
R66-5-1[0]1.  Cannabis Disposal and Waste. 
 (1)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall dispose of cannabis 
waste at the medical cannabis pharmacy location or a location of a 
cannabis production establishment licensed by the department. 
 (2)  In addition to complying with standards for cannabis 
disposal and waste established in Subsection 4-41a-1101(11), a 
medical cannabis pharmacy shall: 
 (a)  designate a location in the limited access area of the 
medical cannabis pharmacy where cannabis waste shall be securely 
locked and stored; 
 (b)  designate a lockable container or containers that are 
clearly and boldly labeled with the words "Not for Sale or Use;" 
 (c)  ensure the medical cannabis product is logged in the 
ICS at the time of disposal with appropriate information including: 
 (i)  a description of and reason for the disposal; 
 (ii)  date of disposal; 
 (iii)  method of disposal; and 
 (iv)  name and registration identification number of the 
agent responsible for the disposal; 
 (d)  ensure that wastewater generated during the cannabis 
waste disposal process is disposed of in compliance with applicable 
state laws and rules; and 
 (e)  ensure that cannabis waste disposed of is made 
unusable. 
 (3)(a)  Cannabis waste generated from the cannabis plant, 
trim, and leaves is not considered hazardous waste unless it has been 
treated or contaminated with a solvent or pesticide. 
 (b)  Cannabis waste that is not designated as hazardous 
shall be made unusable by grinding and incorporating the cannabis 
waste with other ground materials so the resulting mixture is at least 
50% non-cannabis waste by volume or other methods approved by 
the department. 
 (c)  Materials used to grind and incorporate with cannabis 
may be compostable or non-compostable. 
 (i)  Compostable waste is cannabis waste to be disposed of 
as compost or in another organic waste method mixed with: 
 (A)  food waste; 
 (B)  yard waste; or 
 (C)  vegetable-based grease or oils. 

 (ii)  Non-compostable waste is cannabis waste to be 
disposed of in a landfill or another disposal method, such as 
incineration, mixed with: 
 (A)  paper waste; 
 (B)  cardboard waste; 
 (C)  plastic waste; or 
 (D)  soil. 
 
R66-5-1[1]2.  Product Recall. 
 (1)  A recall may be initiated by a cannabis production 
establishment, a medical cannabis pharmacy, or the department. 
 (2)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall maintain a recall 
plan that includes, at a minimum: 
 (a)  a designation of at least one employee who shall serve 
as the recall coordinator; 
 (b)  if the recall is initiated by a medical cannabis pharmacy, 
a requirement that the pharmacy will immediately notify the 
department and the cannabis production establishment from which it 
obtained the cannabis product in question; 
 (c)  a requirement that notification occur within 24 hours of 
the pharmacy becoming aware of a complaint about the medical 
cannabis product or medical cannabis device; 
 (d)  a procedure to identify and isolate recalled product to 
prevent or minimize distribution to patients; 
 (e)  a procedure to retrieve and destroy recalled product; 
and 
 (f)  a communication plan to notify those affected by the 
recall. 
 (3)  The medical cannabis pharmacy shall track the total 
amount of affected medical cannabis product and the amount of 
medical cannabis product returned to the medical cannabis pharmacy 
as part of the recall. 
 (4)  The medical cannabis pharmacy shall coordinate the 
destruction of the medical cannabis product with the department and 
allow the department to oversee the destruction. 
 (5)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall notify the 
department before initiating a voluntary recall. 
 
R66-5-1[2]3.  Partial Filling. 
 A PMP or pharmacy agent who partially fills a 
recommendation for a medical cannabis cardholder shall specify in 
the ICS the following: 
 (1)  date of partial fill; 
 (2)  quantity supplied to the cardholder; and 
 (3)  quantity remaining of the recommendation partially 
filled. 
 
R66-5-1[3]4.  Closing a Pharmacy. 
 (1)  At least 14 days before the closing of a medical 
cannabis pharmacy, the PIC shall: 
 (a)  send written notice to the department with the name, 
address, and department issued license number of the medical 
cannabis pharmacy; 
 (b)  surrender the license issued to the medical cannabis 
pharmacy; 
 (c)  provide a statement to the department attesting: 
 (i)  a comprehensive inventory was conducted; 
 (ii)  the manner in which the medical cannabis product and 
medical cannabis devices will be transferred or disposed of; 
 (iii)  the anticipated date of closing; 
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 (iv)  the name, address, and department issued license 
number of the medical cannabis pharmacy or cannabis production 
establishment acquiring the medical cannabis and medical cannabis 
devices from the medical cannabis pharmacy that is closing; 
 (v)  the date when the transfer of the medical cannabis 
product and medical cannabis devices will occur; and 
 (vi)  the name and address of the medical cannabis 
pharmacy to which the orders, including any refill information and 
patient records, will be transferred; and 
 (c)  post a closing notice in a conspicuous place at the 
public entrance doors to the medical cannabis pharmacy that includes 
the closing date. 
 (2)  If the PIC cannot provide notification 14 days before 
closing because the medical cannabis pharmacy is closed suddenly 
due to fire, destruction, natural disaster, death, property seizure, 
eviction, bankruptcy, they shall notify the department no later than 
24 hours after the closing. 
 (3)  If the PIC is not available to comply with the 
requirements of this section, the owner or legal representative shall 
be responsible for compliance with this section. 
 (4)  On the date of the closing, the PIC shall remove 
medical cannabis product and medical cannabis devices from the 
medical cannabis pharmacy by one or a combination of the following 
methods: 
 (a)  transport them to a cannabis processing facility for 
credit or disposal; or 
 (b)  transfer or sell them to a person who is legally entitled 
to have medical cannabis products and medical cannabis devices, 
such as another medical cannabis pharmacy in Utah. 
 (5)  The PIC shall remove signs and notify the landlord of 
the property that it is unlawful to use the word "medical cannabis 
pharmacy," or any other words of the same or similar meaning or any 
graphic representation that would mislead the public that a medical 
cannabis pharmacy is located at the address. 
 
R66-5-1[4]5.  Abandonment of a License. 
 A medical cannabis pharmacy shall be considered to have 
abandoned their license if they fail to begin operations within one 
year after the day on which the department issues an intent to award 
a medical cannabis pharmacy license. 
 
R66-5-1[5]6.  Walk- up, Drive-Thru and Curbside Service. 
 (1)  A medical cannabis cardholder may contact a medical 
cannabis pharmacy by phone or online before the time of walk-up, 
drive-thru, or curbside service pick-up to make an order. 
 (2)(a)  A medical cannabis cardholder transaction may take 
place outside the medical cannabis pharmacy facility, but shall occur 
within the total property boundary of the licensed entity. 
 (b)  Walk-up, drive-thru, and curbside service transactions 
shall occur at a licensed location that is owned, leased, or rented by 
the licensed entity and may not occur on a public sidewalk or an 
adjacent parking lot. 
 (3)(a)  If a product is bought with cash, the cash must be 
taken into the medical cannabis pharmacy facility after each 
transaction. 
 (b)  If a medical cannabis pharmacy obtains approval from 
the Division of Finance to accept customer payments through an 
electronic payment provider, a medical cannabis cardholder using 
walk-up, drive-thru, and curbside pick-up service may make 
payments using the approved electronic payment provider. 
 (4)(a)  Medical cannabis products and medical cannabis 
devices, including those that are awaiting pick-up, shall be securely 

stored in the medical cannabis pharmacy facility until a medical 
cannabis cardholder arrives for pick-up. 
 (b)  Under no circumstances may a medical cannabis 
product or medical cannabis device be stored outside of a medical 
cannabis pharmacy facility before a customer arrives to pick-up the 
product. 
 (5)(a)  A medical cannabis pharmacy's video surveillance 
shall enable the video recording of each medical cannabis cardholder 
transaction. 
 (b)  Subsection (a) includes: 
 (i)  video surveillance of a cardholder, cardholder vehicle, 
medical cannabis pharmacy employee verifying the cardholder's 
valid form of government issued identification; and 
 (ii)  the transfer and dispensing of an item bought by a 
cardholder. 
 (c)  Video cameras shall record points of entry and exit of 
a parking lot and shall be angled to ensure the capture of clear and 
certain identification of a cardholder and their vehicle's license plate. 
 (6)(a)  The individual receiving the delivery of a product 
from the medical cannabis pharmacy employee via walk-up, drive-
thru or curbside pick-up shall be a cardholder. 
 (b)  When drive-thru service is used, the medical cannabis 
cardholder verifying their ID to the medical cannabis pharmacy shall 
be visible to cameras and to the medical cannabis pharmacy 
employee who is helping them. 
 (7)  Children under age 18 may be present in a vehicle that 
arrives for drive-thru or curbside pick-up service. 
 (8)(a)  When a PMP's consultation with a medical cannabis 
cardholder is required, the consultation may be provided in-person, 
over the phone, or with another real-time communications device. 
 (b)  It is the responsibility of the medical cannabis 
pharmacy to ensure the privacy of these consultations regardless of 
where or how the consultations happen. 
 (9)  When a medical cannabis pharmacy employee 
transports a container of medical cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis cardholder via walk-up, drive-thru, or curbside service, the 
container shall be contained within a box or an opaque bag. 
 (10)  When drive-thru service is used, a medical cannabis 
pharmacy may use a secure drive-thru drawer or pneumatic tube to 
transport medical cannabis product, medical cannabis device, 
educational materials, valid photo identification, cash, and other 
documents between a medical cannabis pharmacy employee and a 
medical cannabis cardholder. 
 
R66-5-1[6]7.  Targeted Marketing. 
 (1)  A medical cannabis pharmacy may engage in targeted 
marketing pursuant to Subsection 4-41a-1104(2)(f). 
 (2)  Targeted marketing that makes a statement relating to 
side effects, consequences, contraindications, and effectiveness shall 
present a true statement of the information. 
 (3)  Targeted marketing is false, lacking fair balance, or 
otherwise misleading if it: 
 (a)  contains a representation or suggestion that a cannabis 
strain, brand, or product is better, more effective, useful in a broader 
range of conditions or patients, or safer than other drugs or treatments 
including other cannabis strains or products, unless the claim has 
been demonstrated by substantial evidence or substantial clinical 
data; 
 (b)  contains favorable information or opinions about a 
medical cannabis product previously regarded as valid but which 
have been made invalid by contrary and more credible recent 
information; 
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 (c)  uses a quote or paraphrase out of context or without 
citing conflicting information from the same source, to convey a false 
or misleading idea; 
 (d)  uses a study on individuals without a qualifying 
medical condition without disclosing that the subjects were not 
suffering from a qualifying medical condition; 
 (e)  uses data favorable to a medical cannabis product 
derived from patients treated with a different product or dosages 
different from those legal in Utah; or 
 (f)  contains favorable information or conclusions from a 
study that is inadequate in design, scope, or conduct to furnish 
significant support for the information or conclusions. 
 (4)  Targeted marketing may not include: 
 (a)  unsubstantiated health claims or other claims that are 
not supported by substantial evidence or substantial clinical data; 
 (b)  claims that cannabis cures any medical condition; or 
 (c)  content that has a recreational disposition. 
 (5)  A medical cannabis pharmacy may reference a 
cannabis strain or a medicinal dosage form in targeted marketing. 
 (6)  When posting promotional information about a medical 
cannabis product for sale online, a medical cannabis pharmacy shall 
list the total amount of each cannabinoid contained in the product, 
measured in milligrams. 
 
R66-5-18.  Change in Operating Plans. 
 (1)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall submit a notice, on 
a form provided by the department, before making any 
changes to the pharmacy's operating plan, including: 
 (a)  ownership or financial backing of the facility; 
 (b)  the facility's name; 
 (c)  any modification, remodeling, expansion, reduction, or 
physical, non-cosmetic alteration of a facility; 
 (d)  change to the protected areas; and 
 (e)  any other information requested by the department. 
 (2)  Pursuant to Subsection 4-41a-201.1(7), a medical 
cannabis pharmacy may not implement changes to the initial 
approved operation plan without board approval. 
 (3)  The department shall specify the reason for the denial 
of approval for a change to the operation plan. 
 
R66-5-19.  Pharmacy License and Renewal. 
 (1)  Each cannabis pharmacy license shall expire one 
calendar year from the date of licensure. 
 (2)(a)  A medical cannabis pharmacy shall submit a notice 
of intent to renew to the department within 30 days of receiving a 
notice of expiration from the department. 
 (b)  If the intent to renew is not submitted to the department, 
the licensee may not continue to operate. 
 (3)  If the licensing fee is not paid by the expiration date, 
the licensee may not continue to operate. 
 (4)  The board may take into consideration significant 
violations issued in determining license renewals. 
 
R66-5-[17]20.  Criteria and Process for Issuance of Additional 
Licenses. 
 (1)  The department may consider the following factors as 
criteria when determining if additional medical cannabis pharmacy 
licenses shall be issued pursuant to Subsection 4-41a-1005(1)(d): 
 (a)  high potential for growth in the number of medical 
cannabis card holders located in one or more regions of the state; 
 (b)  access to medical cannabis home delivery service in 
the state or in certain regions of the state; 

 (c)  commuting patterns and economic activity in certain 
regions of the state; 
 (d)  the driving distance for medical cannabis cardholders 
or potential medical cannabis cardholders residing in certain regions 
of the state from their home to the nearest medical cannabis pharmacy 
location; or 
 (e)  the inadequate supply, quality, or variety of medical 
cannabis in the state or certain regions of the state. 
 (2)  As the department considers one or more factors 
described in Subsection [R68-40-18(1)]R66-5-20(1), it shall consult 
with and consider input from the Utah Department of Health and 
Human Services, the medical cannabis industry, and the public. 
 (3)  The department's process of consultation and 
consideration of input shall include meetings with stakeholders and 
holding of a public hearing during which it will accept public 
comment. 
 (4)  If the department determines that an additional medical 
cannabis pharmacy license should be issued, the department shall 
accept applications for the license in accordance with Title 63G, 
Chapter 6a, Utah Procurement Code. 
 
R66-5-21.  Geographic Regions. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Subsection 4-41a-1005(1), the department 
shall divide the state into geographic regions based on: 
 (a)  overall population; 
 (b)  patient population; and 
 (c)  travel time. 
 (2)  The department establishes the following geographic 
regions by county: 
 (a)  Region 1- Northern Utah: 
 (i)  Box Elder; 
 (ii)  Cache; and 
 (iii)  Rich 
 (b)  Region 2 - Weber Basin 
 (i)  Davis; 
 (ii)  Morgan; and 
 (iii)  Weber; 
 (c)  Region 3 - Salt Lake: 
 (i)  Salt Lake; 
 (ii)  Summit; and 
 (iii)  Tooele; 
 (d)Region 4 - Uintah Basin: 
 (i)  Daggett; 
 (ii)  Duchesne; and 
 (iii)  Uintah; 
 (e)  Region 5 - West Central: 
 (i)  Juab; 
 (ii)  Sanpete; 
 (iii)  Utah; and 
 (iv)  Wasatch; 
 (f)  Region 6- Central: 
 (i)  Carbon; 
 (ii)  Emery; 
 (iii)  Millard; 
 (iv)  Piute; 
 (v)  Sevier; and 
 (vi)  Wayne; 
 (g)  Region 7 - Southwest: 
 (i)  Beaver; 
 (ii)  Garfield; 
 (iii)  Iron; 
 (iv)  Kane; and 
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 (v)  Washington; and 
 (h)  Region 8 - Southeast: 
 (i)  Grand; and 
 (ii)  San Juan. 
 
R66-5-[18]22.  Limited Medical Provider Recommendation 
Form. 
 (1)  A medical cannabis pharmacy may accept and process 
a completed "Limited Medical Provider Recommendation for 
Medical Cannabis" form. 
 (a)  A pharmacy agent or a PMP employed by a medical 
cannabis pharmacy may perform a form verification. 
 (b)  Only a PMP may make changes or additions to a form 
after documenting approval of changes or additions that are 
communicated by an LMP. 
 (c)  An LMP recommendation cannot be entered into the 
EVS by a PMP or pharmacy agent without a complete DHHS-
approved form that is hand-delivered, emailed, or faxed to the 
medical cannabis pharmacy. 
 (c)  When verifying the validity of the form, a medical 
cannabis pharmacy shall verify: 
 (i)  the form is complete and no information on the form 
appears to have been adulterated; 
 (ii)  the suffix of the state-issued professional license 
number matches specific numbers assigned to the provider's state-
issued professional license type; 
 (iii)  there are nine digits in the Drug Enforcement Agency 
(DEA) license number; 
 (iv)  the clinic name, email address, mailing address, and 
telephone number appear to be legitimate; and 
 (v)  that an LMP at that clinic completed a form for the 
patient named in the form. 
 (2)(a)  If the form is missing any part of the verification, a 
PMP shall investigate any missing or incorrect information. 
 (b)  If a PMP cannot receive verification of the form from 
the clinic, the form cannot be processed and the PMP shall continue 
to contact the clinic to seek verification of the information on the 
form. 
 (3)(a)  The pharmacy shall maintain a record of the 
pharmacy employee having received or not received verification of a 
valid form from the clinic. 
 (b)  For hand-delivered and electronically delivered forms, 
the pharmacy shall upload the form to the patient's EVS account. 
 (c)  The verification of the form shall be recorded in the 
"Medical Cannabis Pharmacy Use Only" at the bottom of the form or 
in the patient's EVS profile. 
 (d)  If a PMP corrected or added information on the form 
upon order of the LMP, a note documenting the change shall be 
recorded. 
 (4)  If the medical cannabis pharmacy believes a form to be 
fraudulent, the pharmacy shall notify the DHHS via email within 24 
hours of the first receipt of the form. 
 
R66-5-[19]23.  Agent Duties and Responsibilities. 
 (1)  Medical cannabis pharmacy employees shall be 
registered as PMP or a medical cannabis pharmacy agent. 
 (2)  A pharmacy agent may perform the following duties: 
 (a)  assist a prospective cardholder with an application for 
a medical cannabis card; 
 (b)  assist the cardholder with understanding available 
products, proper use of a medical device, medical cannabis strains, 

and methods of consumption or application within the dosing 
guidelines specified by an RMP or PMP; 
 (c)  verify the status of an individual's medical cannabis 
card and dosing guidelines in a patient recommendation within the 
ICS; 
 (d)  enter and retrieve information from the ICS; 
 (e)  authorize entry of a cardholder into the cardholder 
counseling area; 
 (f)  take a refill order from an RMP; 
 (g)  provide pricing and product information; 
 (h)  process cardholder payment, including the issuance of 
receipt, refund, credit, and cash; 
 (i)  prepare labeling for a product; 
 (j)  retrieve medical cannabis and medical cannabis devices 
from inventory; 
 (k)  accept a new order of medical cannabis or a medical 
cannabis device, orders left on voicemail for a PMP to review; 
 (l)  verbally offer to a cardholder, the opportunity for 
counseling with a PMP regarding medical cannabis, or a medical 
cannabis device; 
 (m)  assist with dispensing of product to a cardholder; 
 (n)  screen calls for a PMP; 
 (o)  prepare an inventory of medical cannabis and medical 
cannabis device; 
 (p)  transport medical cannabis, or medical cannabis 
device; and 
 (q)  assist with maintaining a safe, clean, and professional 
environment. 
 (3)  A pharmacy agent may not perform the following 
duties: 
 (a)  receive dosing guidelines for a patient's 
recommendation over the phone or in-person; 
 ([c]b)  determine or modify dosing guidelines in a patient's 
recommendation; or 
 ([d]c)  provide counseling or consultation regarding a 
patient's medical condition, or medical treatment. 
 
R66-5-2[0]4.  Agent Application Procedures. 
 (1)  The application procedures established in this section 
shall govern an application for initial issuance of a pharmacy agent 
registration card, under Title 4, Chapter, 41a, Cannabis Production 
Establishments and Pharmacies 
 (2)  Each pharmacy agent card applicant shall apply using 
forms available from the department. 
 (3)  The department may issue a card to an applicant who 
submits a complete application if the department determines that the 
applicant meets the card requirements. 
 (4)  The department shall provide written notice of denial 
to an applicant who submits a complete application if the department 
determines that the applicant does not meet the card requirements. 
 (5)  The department shall notify an applicant who submits 
an incomplete application that their application is closed unless the 
applicant corrects the deficiency within the time period specified in 
the notice and otherwise meets card requirements. 
 (6)  The written notice of denial or incomplete application 
shall be sent to the applicant's last email address shown in the EVS 
database. 
 (7)(a)  Each applicant shall maintain a current email 
address with the department. 
 (b)  Notice sent to the last email address on file with the 
department constitutes legal notice. 
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R66-5-2[1]5.  Agent Renewal Application Procedures. 
 (1)  Renewal application procedures established in the rule 
shall apply to applicants applying for renewal of a pharmacy agent 
registration card, under Title 4, Chapter, 41a, Cannabis Production 
Establishments and Pharmacies. 
 (2)  Each card applicant shall apply using renewal 
application forms available from the department. 
 (3)  The department shall issue a card to an applicant who 
submits a complete renewal application if the department determines 
that the applicant meets the card requirements. 
 (4)  The department shall deny an applicant who submits a 
complete renewal application if the department determines that the 
applicant does not meet the card requirements. 
 (5)(a)  The department shall notify an applicant who 
submits an incomplete application. 
 (b)  The notice shall advise the applicant that the renewal 
application is incomplete and closed unless the applicant corrects the 
deficiency within the time specified in the notice and otherwise meets 
card requirements. 
 (6)(a)  The department shall send a renewal notice to each 
cardholder before the expiration date shown on the cardholder's card. 
 (b)  The notice shall include directions for the cardholder 
to renew the card via the department's website. 
 (7)  Renewal notices shall be sent by email to the 
cardholder's last email shown in the EVS database. 
 (8)  A renewal notice shall advise each cardholder that a 
card will automatically expire on the expiration date and will no 
longer be valid. 
 (9)(a)  A pharmacy agent shall renew their pharmacy agent 
registration card with the department within one year of its expiration 
date. 
 (b)  If an applicant fails to renew an expired card within one 
year, they will be required to submit a new online registration form. 
 
R66-5-2[2]6.  Continuing Education Requirements. 
 The certification standard for initial or renewal registration 
of a pharmacy agent card will be successful completion of a 
continuing education course regarding state medical cannabis law 
and patient privacy and federal health information privacy laws that 
is offered or approved by the department. 
 
R66-5-27.  Violation Categories. 
 (1)  Public Safety Violations: $3,000 - $5,000 per violation. 
This category is for violations that present a direct threat to public 
health or safety including: 
 (a)  cannabis sold to an unlicensed source; 
 (b)  cannabis purchased from an unlicensed source; 
 (c)  refusal to allow inspection; 
 (d)  failure to comply with pharmacist in charge 
requirements; 
 (e)  failure to maintain required general operating 
standards; 
 (f)  failure to comply with product recall requirements; 
 (g)  unauthorized personnel on the premises; 
 (h)  permitting criminal conduct on the premises; or 
 (i)  engaging in or permitting a violation of the Title 4, 
Chapter 41a, Medical Cannabis Pharmacy Operation and Agents, 
which amounts to a public safety violation as described in this 
subsection. 
 (2)  Regulatory Violations: $1,000 - $5,000 per violation. 
This category is for violations involving this rule and other applicable 
state rules: 

 (a)  failure to maintain alarm and security systems; 
 (b)  failure to keep and maintain records for at least five 
years; 
 (c)  failure to maintain traceability; 
 (d)  failure to follow transportation requirements; 
 (e)  failure to follow the waste and disposal requirements; 
 (f)  failure to follow the walk- up, drive-thru, delivery, and 
curbside service requirements; 
 (g)  failure to follow targeted marketing requirements; 
 (h)  failure to follow agent duties and responsibilities 
requirements; or 
 (i)  engaging in or permitting a violation of Title 4, Chapter 
41a, Medical Cannabis Pharmacy Operation and Agents or this rule 
which amounts to a regulatory violation as described in this 
subsection; 
 (3)  Licensing Violations: $500- $5,000 per violation. This 
category is for violations involving licensing requirements including: 
 (a)  an unauthorized change to the operating plan; 
 (b)  failure to notify the department of changes to the 
operating plan; 
 (c)  failure to notify the department of changes to financial 
or voting interests of greater than 10%; 
 (d)  failure to follow the operating plan as approved by the 
department; 
 (e)  engaging in or permitting a violation of this rule or Title 
4, Chapter 41a, Medical Cannabis Pharmacy License which amounts 
to a licensing violation as described in this subsection; or 
 (f)  failure to respond to violations. 
 (4)  The department shall calculate penalties based on the 
level of violation and the adverse effect or potential adverse effect at 
the time of the incidents giving rise to the violation. 
 (5)  The department may enhance or reduce the penalty 
based on the seriousness of the violation. 
 
KEY:  medical cannabis, medical cannabis pharmacy, marijuana 
Date of Last Change:  [May 13,] 2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-41a-
1101(12), 4-41a-1104(4), 4-2-103(1)(i) 
 
 
NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R66-9 Filing ID:  
56534 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

Agriculture and Food, Medical 
Cannabis and Industrial Hemp 

Building: Taylorsville Office Building, South 
Building  

Street address: 4315 S 2799 W  
City, state: Taylorsville, UT  
Mailing 
address: 

PO Box 146500  

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, 84114-6500 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Brandon Forsyth  801-
816-
3842 

bforsyth@utah.gov  

Kelly Pehrson  385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov  

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R66-9.  Cannabis Licensing Process 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Changes are needed to ensure this rule is consistent with 
statutory changes passed in S.B. 233, Cannabis 
Amendments, during the 2024 General Session, as well 
as make necessary clarifications identified as the 
Department of Agriculture and Food (Department) has 
taken over management of medical cannabis pharmacies. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The definition of "medical cannabis pharmacy" has been 
added to Section R66-9-2. 
 
Clarifications are added to the licensing process 
delineated in Section R66-9-3. 
 
References to "pharmacy" have been added throughout 
this rule consistent with the Department's current 
management of pharmacies and the movement of 
pharmacies under the medical cannabis licensing board in 
S.B. 233 (2024). 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The state budget will not be impacted by the rule changes 
because the changes are clarifying in nature. 
 
The Department previously administered licensing and will 
continue to do so with the approval of the licensing board. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments are not impacted by the change 
because they do not participate in the medical cannabis 
program. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
Small businesses will not be impacted by the change.  The 
requirements for obtaining a licensing are not changing, 
they are just clarified. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-Small businesses will not be impacted by the change.  
The requirements for obtaining a licensing are not 
changing, they are just clarified. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons will not be impacted and do not participate 
in the medical cannabis program. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs and licensing requirements are not 
changing. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 
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Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-41a-201 Section 4-2-103  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 05/24/2024 

 
R66.  Agriculture and Food, Medical Cannabis and Industrial 
Hemp. 
R66-9.  Cannabis Licensing Process. 
R66-9-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Subsection 4-41a-201(2)(a)(ii), this rule 
establishes the process for issuing a cannabis production 
establishment license. 
 
R66-9-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Cannabis cultivation facility" means a person that: 
 (a)  possesses cannabis; 
 (b)  grows or intends to grow cannabis; and 
 (c)  sells or intends to sell cannabis to a cannabis cultivation 
facility, a cannabis processing facility, or a medical cannabis research 
licensee. 

 (2)  "Cannabis processing facility" means a person that: 
 (a)  acquires or intends to acquire cannabis from a cannabis 
production establishment; 
 (b)  possesses cannabis with the intent to manufacture a 
cannabis product; 
 (c)  manufactures or intends to manufacture a cannabis 
product from unprocessed cannabis or a cannabis extract; and 
 (d)  sells or intends to sell a cannabis product to a medical 
cannabis pharmacy or a medical cannabis research licensee. 
 (3)  "Cannabis production establishment" means a cannabis 
cultivation facility, a cannabis processing facility, or an independent 
cannabis testing laboratory. 
 (4)  "Cannabis Production Establishment Licensing 
Advisory Board" or "Board" means the board established under 
Section 4-41a-201.1. 
 (5)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (6)  "Independent cannabis testing laboratory" means a 
person that: 
 (a)  conducts a chemical or other analysis of cannabis or 
cannabis product; or 
 (b)  acquires, possesses, and transports cannabis or a 
cannabis product with the intent to conduct a chemical or other 
analysis of the cannabis or cannabis product. 
 (7)  "Medical cannabis pharmacy" means a person that: 
 (a)(i)  acquires or intends to acquire medical cannabis or a 
cannabis product in a medicinal dosage form from a cannabis 
processing facility or another medical cannabis pharmacy or a 
medical cannabis device; or 
 (ii)  possesses medical cannabis or a medical cannabis 
device; and 
 (b)  sells or intends to sell medical cannabis or a medical 
cannabis device to a medical cannabis cardholder. 
 
R66-9-3.  Cannabis Production Establishment and Pharmacy 
Licensing. 
 (1)  The Department will solicit applications for cannabis 
cultivation facility licenses if the conditions in Subsection 4-41a-
205(2)(a) or (b) are met. 
 (2)  A licensed cannabis cultivation facility may not be 
awarded a second cannabis cultivation facility license. 
 (3)  Pursuant to Section 4-41a-201, the Board will not 
accept a license application unless it is complete.  An incomplete 
application will be returned to the applicant. 
 (4)  If there are more qualified applicants than available 
licenses, the department will evaluate the applicants pursuant to 
Subsection 4-41a-205(3). 
 (5)  The Department will solicit applications for medical 
cannabis pharmacy licenses if the conditions in Subsection 4-41a-
1005(1)(d)(i) are met. 
 (6)  Pursuant to Section 4-41a-201, the Board will not 
accept a license application unless it is complete.  An incomplete 
application will be returned to the applicant. 
 (7)  If there are more qualified applicants than available 
licenses, the department will evaluate the applicants pursuant to 
Subsection 4-41a-1005(2) 
 ([5]8)  The following conditions shall be met before the 
Board will consider a license application: 
 (a)  a complete application including documents and 
supplemental materials on the department's application checklist has 
been submitted; 
 (b)  a department official has inspected the premises; and 
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 (c)  a department official has conducted an inspection as 
described in Section [R68-38-4]R66-9-4. 
 ([6]9)  The department shall forward to the  Board the 
information and recommendation to aid in the license determination. 
 ([7]10)  The Board will follow the process outlined in 
Subsection 4-41a-201.1(6) in considering the application. 
 
R66-9-4.  Department Review. 
 (1)  The department's inspection shall: 
 (a)  verify required documents and supplemental materials 
have been submitted with the application; 
 (b)  confirm the information in the application is correct; 
 (c)  conduct the criminal background check required in 
Section 4-41a-202 or Section 4-41a-1001; and 
 (d)  confirm that operating and business plans comply with 
state laws and administrative rules. 
 (2)  The department may require additional information 
from an applicant. 
 (3)  The department shall submit the cannabis processing 
facility or independent cannabis testing laboratory application to the 
Board with information within [30 days]a reasonable time of 
receiving a completed cannabis processing facility or independent 
cannabis testing laboratory application. 
 (4)  Consistent with Subsection[ R68-38-3(1)] R66-9-3(1),  
the department shall submit a cannabis cultivation facility application 
to the  Board when the department finds a need based on market 
needs and available licenses. 
 
R66-9-5.  Board Review-Licenses with Limited Availability. 
 (1)  If the Department solicits applications for a limited 
number of cannabis [production establishment ]licenses, complete  
applications shall be scored by the Board after the requirements of 
Subsection [R68-38-3(5]R66-9-3(8) are met. 
 (2)  Licenses shall be issued by the Board according to 
those applicants with the highest score depending on how many 
licenses are available. 
 (3)  Board review in these circumstances shall be a blind 
process and with each name removed from each document that is 
provided to the Board for consideration. 
 (4)  The Board may consider the following factors in 
determining whether to grant cannabis production establishment 
licenses: 
 (a)  the applicant's experience in the medical cannabis 
industry; 
 (b)  the applicant's ability to be compliant within their 
operating plan; 
 (c)  the applicant's positive community involvement, if 
applicable; 
 (d)  the applicant's anticipated pricing structure; 
 (e)  the timeline under which each phase of the applicant's 
business will be operational; and 
 (f)  other factors determined by the Department or the 
Board. 
 (5)  Board meetings may only be closed if the Board is 
discussing security interests.  All votes shall be taken in an open 
meeting. 
 (6)  If an applicant's initial score is changed based on Board 
discussion, the reason for the change shall be documented. 
 

R66-9-6.  Board Review-License Renewals. 
 (1)  The following conditions shall be met before the Board 
will approve a renewal license application for a cannabis production 
establishment or medical cannabis pharmacy: 
 (a)  a complete application including documents and 
supplemental materials on the department's application checklist has 
been submitted; 
 (b)  the department has confirmed that the cannabis 
production establishment or medical cannabis pharmacy has been 
sufficiently compliant with state laws and administrative rules during 
the term of their license, pursuant to Chapter 4-41a Part 8; and 
 (c)  for cannabis cultivation facilities, the department has 
confirmed that production has met or exceeded the amounts that were 
included in the previous year's operating plan. 
 (2)  In approving a renewal license application for a 
cannabis production establishment or medical cannabis pharmacy, 
the Board may consider: 
 (a)  information from the department regarding any issues 
that have arisen during the license term related to product quality; 
and 
 (b)  any verified customer complaints. 
 
R66-9-7.  Public Hearing. 
 (1)  The  Board shall make licensing determination during 
a public hearing where the application was considered. 
 (2)  The Board shall allow prospective applicants to make 
a presentation at the public hearing in which their application is 
considered. 
 (3)  The Board shall notify the prospective applicant a 
minimum of ten business days in advance of the public hearing where 
their application is being considered. 
 (4)  The  Board may limit the time available for 
presentations by the applicants. 
 
R66-9-8.  Cannabis Production Establishment and Pharmacy 
Licensing Advisory Board Electronic Meetings. 
 The following provisions govern any meeting of the Board. 
 (1)  Notice of the meeting shall specify the anchor location 
where the members of the Board not participating electronically or 
by telephone will be meeting and where interested persons and the 
public may attend, monitor, and participate in the open portions of 
the meeting. 
 (2)  Notice of the meeting and the agenda shall be posted at 
the anchor location.  Written or electronic notice shall also be posted 
on the Public Notice Website.  These notices shall be provided at least 
24 hours before the meetings. 
 (3)  Notice of the possibility of an electronic meeting shall 
be given to the Board members at least 24 hours before the meeting.  
The notice shall describe how a member may participate in the 
meeting electronically or by telephone. 
 (4)  When notice is given of the possibility of a member 
appearing electronically or by telephone, any member may do so and 
shall be counted as present for purposes of a quorum and may fully 
participate and vote on any matter coming before the Board. 
 (5)  At the commencement of the meeting, or at such time 
as any member initially appears electronically or by telephone, the 
chair shall identify for the record those who are appearing by 
telephone or electronically. 
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 (6)  Votes by members of the Board who are not at the 
physical location of the meeting shall be confirmed by the chair. 
 (7)  The anchor location, unless otherwise designated in the 
notice, shall be at the offices of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food. 
 (a)  The anchor location is the physical location from which 
the electronic meeting originates or from which the participants are 
connected. 
 (b)  The anchor location shall have space and facilities so 
that interested persons and the public may attend, monitor, and 
participate in the open portions of the meeting. 
 
KEY:  cannabis, cannabis production, licensing, Cannabis 
Production Establishment Licensing Advisory Board 
Date of Last Change:  [May 13, ]2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-2-103; 4-
41a-201(2)(a)(ii) 
 
 
NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R70-530 Filing ID:  
56529 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

Agriculture and Food, Regulatory 
Services 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building, South 
Building   

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state: Taylorsville, UT 
Mailing 
address: 

PO Box 146500 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown  385-

245-
5222 

ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Travis Waller 801-
971-
4943 

twaller@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson  385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R70-530.  Food Protection 
 

3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Changes are needed to incorporate the latest version of 
the FDA Food Code with exceptions needed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Food (Department), 
including those consistent with Rule R392-100 from the 
Department of Health and Human Services. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
In the filing, Subsection R70-530-3(1) is updated to 
incorporate the most recent versions of 21 CFR, 1-200, 40 
CFR 185, and 9 CFR 200. 
 
Subsection R70-530-3(2) has also been updated to 
incorporate the 2022 version of the U.S. Public Health 
Service, Food and Drug Administration Food Code (Food 
Code), rather than the 2013 version, with some 
exceptions. 
 
In Subsection R70-530-3(3), Annex I of the Food Code is 
incorporated with some exceptions. 
 
In Subsection R70-530-3(4), Annex 2 is incorporated. 
 
In Subsection R70-5303(5), modifications to the Food 
Code as incorporated are outlined.  This rule change 
includes changes in the incorporation related to the 
following paragraphs or Sections: Paragraph 2-1-2.12(A); 
Paragraph 3-201.17(B); Paragraph 3-501.17(G) 
(exception removed); Subparagraph 3-501.19(B)(2) 
(exception removed); Paragraph 4-204.123(B) (exception 
removed); Paragraph 5-203.14; Paragraph 6-501.115(B); 
and Section 8-103.11. 
 
Other nonsubstantive changes in the rule have been made 
for clarity as well.   
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
These changes will not change the Department's 
administration of the retail food program or inspection 
process or workload.  The only changes would involve 
updating training and adding some new coding in the food 
safety management system, which involves minimal if any 
cost. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

Local governments are not regulated by the Department 
and will not be impacted by these changes. 
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C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses. 
 
The changes for businesses will be minimal and clarifying 
in nature and do not include additional compliance costs 
that can be estimated by the Department. 
 
Several of the changes are nonsubstantive and involve 
consolidating exclusions and reorganizing references to 
improve clarity. 
 
Other changes are generally clarifying in nature.  
Specifically: Subsection R70-530-3(5)(f) clarifies who 
must be a certified food safety manager but does not 
change the requirement that one employee receive the 
necessary training; and Subsection R70-530-3(5)(h) will 
allow businesses to sell wild game products that were not 
previously saleable.  Any cost of documentation and 
tracking should be offset by sales revenue. 
 
The Department cannot estimate the fiscal impact of the 
additional sales because the Department does not require 
business to keep records of each sale, does not have that 
information, and is not aware of how many non-compliant 
comingled products are currently sold, if any. 
 
Subsection R70-530-3(5)(k) clarifies plumbing but does 
not add additional plumbing requirements. 
 
Subsection R70-530-3(5)(n)  adds additional clarity and 
detail with respect to the circumstances under which 
animals are allowed in the food establishment, although 
the general requirements have not changed with the 
exception of added signage requirements for outdoor 
areas which carry a minimal cost that the Department 
cannot estimate due to multiple factors that could impact 
the cost of signage. 
 
Finally, the changes in Subsection R70-530-3(5)(o) with 
respect to variance procedures are also clarifying in nature 
and do not change current general requirements. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to non-small 
businesses. 
 
The changes for businesses will be minimal and clarifying 
in nature and do not include additional compliance costs 
that can be estimated by the Department. 
 
Several of the changes are nonsubstantive and involve 
consolidating exclusions and reorganizing references to 
improve clarity. 
 
Other changes are generally clarifying in nature.  
Specifically: Subsection R70-530-3(5)(f) clarifies who 
must be a certified food safety manager but does not 

change the requirement that one employee receive the 
necessary training. 
 
Subsection R70-530-3(5)(h) will allow businesses to sell 
wild game products that were not previously saleable.  Any 
cost of documentation and tracking should be offset by 
sales revenue. 
 
The Department cannot estimate the fiscal impact of the 
additional sales because the Department does not require 
business to keep records of each sale, does not have 
access to that information, and is not aware of how many 
non-compliant comingled products are currently sold, if 
any. 
 
Subsection R70-530-3(5)(k) clarifies plumbing but does 
not add additional plumbing requirements. 
 
Subsection R70-530-3(5)(n) adds additional clarity and 
detail with respect to the circumstances under which 
animals are allowed in the food establishment, although 
the general requirements have not changed with the 
exception of added signage requirements for outdoor 
areas which carry a minimal cost that the Department 
cannot estimate due to multiple factors that could impact 
the cost of signage. 
 
Finally, the changes in Subsection R70-530-3(5)(o) with 
respect to variance procedures are also clarifying in nature 
and do not change current general requirements. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
Other persons will not be impacted by this rule change 
because they are not registered food establishments. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs for affected persons will not change 
because the changes are generally clarifying in nature and 
do not impose additional compliance requirements. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Food, Craig W. Buttars, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-5-104 Subsection 

4-4-107(6) 
 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

21 CFR 1-200  

Publisher US Government Printing Office  

Issue Date April 11, 2024 

 
B) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 

Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

40 CFR 180 

Publisher US Government Printing Office  

Issue Date May 14, 2024 

 
C) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

9 CFR 200 to End  

Publisher US Government Printing Office  

Issue Date April 8, 2024 

 
D) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

US Public Health Service, Food and  
Drug Administration, Food Code  

Publisher US Food and Drug Administration  

Issue Date 2022 

 
E) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

US Public Health Service, Food and  
Drug Administration, Food Code,  
Annex 1  

Publisher US Food and Drug Administration  

Issue Date 2022 

 
F) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

US Public Health Service, Food and  
Drug Administration, Food Code,  
Annex 2  

Publisher US Food and Drug Administration  

Issue Date 2022 

 
G) This rule adds, updates, or removes the following 
title of materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

21 U.S.C 342  
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Publisher US Government Printing Office  

Issue Date January 5, 2023 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 05/16/2024 

 
R70.  Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services. 
R70-530.  Food Protection. 
R70-530-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 (1)  This rule is promulgated under the authority of Sections 
4-5-104, 4-4-102, and Subsection 4-4-107(6). 
 (2)  This rule shall be applied to [promote its purpose of 
safeguarding]safeguard public health and provid[ing]e consumers 
food that is safe, unadulterated, and honestly presented. 
 
R70-530-2.  Scope. 
 This rule establishes definitions; sets standards for 
management and personnel, food operations, equipment, and 
facilities; and provides for food establishment plan review, 
inspection, and employee restriction.  It shall be used to regulate 
bakeries, grocery and convenience stores, meat markets, food and 
grain processors, warehouses, and any other establishment meeting 
the definition of a food establishment. 
 
R70-530-3.  Incorporation by Reference. 
 (1)  The food standards, labeling requirements, and 
procedures as specified in 21 CFR, 1 through 200, April [1, 2019]11, 
2024 edition, 40 CFR 18[5]0, [April 17, 2012]May 14, 2024 edition, 
and 9 CFR 200 to End, [January 1, 2012]April 8, 2024 edition, are 
incorporated by reference. 
 (2)  The requirements as found in the 20[13]22 version of 
the U.S. Public Health Service, Food and Drug Administration, Food 
Code (Food Code), Chapters 1 through 8 are incorporated by 
reference with the exclusion of: 
 (a)  [Section 3-203.13, Subparagraphs 8-302.14(C)(1), 
Paragraphs 8-302.14(D) and (E),]Paragraph 3-203.13for small egg 
producers pursuant to Subsection 4-4-107(6); 
 (b)  Paragraph 8-302.14; 
 (c)  Paragraph 8-304.11(K)[,]; 
 (d)  Paragraph 5-203.15(B)[,]; and 

 (e)  Paragraphs 5-402.11(B), (C) and (D)[;].[ and exclusion 
of Section 8-905.40, Subparagraphs 8-905.90(A)(1) and (2), 
 Section 8-909.20, Subparagraphs 8-911.10(B)(1) and (2),] 
 (3)  The requirements as found in the Food Code, 2022 
version, Annex 1 comprising Parts 8-6 through 8-9 are incorporated 
by reference with the exclusion of: 
 (a)  Section 8-905.40[,]; 
 (b)  Subparagraphs 8-905.90(A)(1) and (2)[,]; 
 (c)  Section 8-909.20[,]; and 
 (d)  Subparagraphs 8-911.10(B)(1) and (2)[;].[ and] 
 (4)  The requirements as found in the Food Code,2022 
version, Annex 2[,] are incorporated by reference. 
[ Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 21, U.S.S. 342, Sec. 
402 are incorporated by reference, and with the following additions 
or amendments:] 
 (5)  The Food Code is incorporated with the following 
additions or amendments. 
 (a)  In Paragraph 1-201.10(B), insert a new subparagraph 
after subparagraph (b) in subparagraph (2) under "Food 
Establishment" to read:  "(c)  A catering operation which is a business 
entity that operates from a permitted food establishment that 
contracts with a client for food service to be provided to a client, the 
client's guests [and/]or customers at a different location.  A catering 
operation may cook or perform final preparation of foods at the 
service location.  A catering operation does not include routine 
services offered at the same location, or meals that are individually 
purchased with the exception of cash bars." 
 (b)  In paragraph 1-201.10(B), insert a new subparagraph 
after subparagraph (2) under "Core Item" to read: "(3) "Core Item" 
will also be referred to as "non-critical" in the state rule." 
 (c)  In Paragraph 1-201.10(B) under "Priority Item", 
replace the semicolon and the word "and" at the end of subparagraph 
(2) with a period; replace the period at the end of subparagraph (3) 
with "; and"; and insert a new subparagraph after paragraph (3) to 
read: "(4) 'Priority Item' will also be referred to as 'critical 1' in the 
state rule." 
 (d)  In paragraph 1-201.10(B) under "Priority Foundation 
Item," replace the semicolon and the word "and" at the end of 
subparagraph (2) with a period; replace the period at the end of 
subparagraph (3) with,"; and"; and add a new subparagraph after 
subparagraph (3) to read: "(4) 'Priority foundation item' will also be 
referred to as 'critical 2' in the state rule." 
 (e)  After subparagraph 2-102.11 (17), add a new section to 
read: "2-102-1[2]3 Food Employee Training.  Food employees shall 
be trained in food safety as required under [26-15-5 ]Section 26B-7-
413 and shall hold a valid food handler's permit issued by a local 
health department." 
 (f)  Amend Subparagraph  2-102.12(A) to read: "(A) At 
least one employee who has supervisory and management 
responsibility and authority to direct and control food preparation and 
service shall be a certified food safety manager who has completed 
training and obtained certification as required under Section 26B-7-
412." 
 ([f]g)  Amend Paragraph 3-201.16 (A) to read:  "Except as 
specified in paragraph (B) of this section, mushroom species picked 
in the wild shall not be offered for sale or service by a food 
establishment." 
 (h)  After Paragraph 3-201.17(B), add a new paragraph to 
read: "(5) A business may provide wild game products to an end 
consumer without the benefit of an inspection if wild game is brought 
into the facility by the consumer, processed and returned to the same 
consumer. (a) A wild game processor may commingle wild game 
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products under the following conditions: (A) wild game trim may be 
commingled to make a batch of jerky or other processed product with 
trim derived from the same season; (B) wild game meat or product 
from previous seasons may not be used in processed products during 
the current season; (C) the processor shall maintain a record of each 
batch of ground meat intended for each batch of product that includes 
a tag ID number for each batch; (D) each batch shall be composed of 
consecutive animals or customers; (E) each customer shall receive a 
finished product that contains a portion of meat derived from their 
animal; and (F) the processor shall obtain a signed disclosure and 
consent document for each customer that includes the Tag ID 
number." 
[ (g)  After Paragraph 3-501.17 (G), add a new paragraph to 
read:  "(H)  A date marking system that meets the criteria stated in 
paragraph (A) of this section shall use one of two types of date marks, 
and that date mark must be used consistently throughout the food 
establishment.  The date mark will either be of the date:  (1)  before 
which food must be used as specified in paragraph (A) of this section; 
or (2) be the date of Day 1." 
 (h)  Amend Subparagraph 3-501.19(B)(2) to read:  "(2) 
Only one time marking scheme may be used, and it must be used 
consistently throughout the food establishment.  The food shall be 
marked with either:  (a) the time the food is removed from 
temperature control; or (b) the time before which the food shall be -
cooked and served, served at any temperature if ready-to-eat, or 
discarded." 
 (i)  After Paragraph 4-204.123(B), add a section to read:  
"4-204.124 Restraint of Pressurized Containers. Carbon dioxide, 
helium or other similar pressurized containers must be restrained or 
secured to prevent the tanks from falling over."] 
 ([j]i)  At the end of section 5-101.12, add:  "The process 
shall be in accordance with the American Water Works Association 
(AWWA) C651-2005 for disinfection and testing." 
 ([k]j)  Replace section 5-202.13, with the following: "(A) 
Where the horizontal distance from the water supply inlet to an 
adjacent single wall or obstruction is greater than three times the 
diameter of the inlet, or greater than four times for intersecting walls, 
an air gap between the water supply inlet and the floor level rim of 
the plumbing fixture, equipment, or nonfood equipment shall be at 
least twice the diameter of the water supply inlet and may not be less 
than 25 millimeters (1 inch). (B) Where the horizontal distance from 
the water supply inlet to an adjacent single wall or obstruction is less 
than three times the diameter of the inlet, or less than four times for 
intersecting walls, an air gap between the water supply inlet and the 
floor level rim of the plumbing fixture, equipment, or nonfood 
equipment shall be at least three times the diameter of the water 
supply inlet and may not be less than 38 millimeters (1.5 inches)." 
 (k)  Amend paragraph 5-203.14 to read:"(A) A plumbing 
system shall be installed to preclude backflow of a solid, liquid, or 
gas contaminant into the water supply system at each point of use at 
the food establishment, including on a hose bibb if a hose is attached 
or on a hose bibb if a hose is not attached, by: (1) providing an air 
gap as specified under Section 5-202.13; or (2) installing an approved 
backflow prevention device as specified under Section 5-202.14; and 
(B) Each chemical dispenser shall connect to a separate dedicated 
water supply line, and not downstream of an atmospheric vacuum 
breaker." 
 (l)  Amend Paragraph 5-203.15(A) to read:  "If not provided 
with an air gap as specified under Section 5-202.13, an American 
Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) 1022 dual check valve with 
an intermediate vent shall be installed upstream from a carbonating 
device and downstream from a copper in the water supply line." 

 (m)  Amend Paragraph 5-402.11(A) to read:  "A direct 
connection may not exist between the sewage system and a drain 
originating from equipment in which food, portable equipment, or 
utensils are placed." 
 (n)  Amend paragraph 6-501.115(B) to read:"(B) Live 
animals may be allowed in the following situations if the 
contamination of food; clean equipment, utensils, and linens; and 
unwrapped single-service and single-use articles can not result: (1) 
edible fish or decorative fish in aquariums, shellfish or crustacea on 
ice or under refrigeration, and shellfish and crustacea in display tank 
systems; (2) patrol dogs accompanying police or security officers in 
offices and dining, sales, and storage areas, and sentry dogs running 
loose in outside fenced areas; (3) in areas that are not used for food 
preparation and that are usually open for customers, such as dining 
and sales areas, service animals that are controlled by the disabled 
employee or person, if a health or safety hazard will not result from 
the presence or activities of the service animal; (4) pets in the 
common dining areas of institutional care facilities such as nursing 
homes, assisted living facilities, group homes, or residential care 
facilities at times other than during meals if: (a) effective partitioning 
and self-closing doors separate the common dining areas from food 
storage or food preparation areas; (b) condiments, equipment, and 
utensils are stored in enclosed cabinets or removed from the common 
dining areas when pets are present; and (c) dining areas including 
tables, countertops, and similar surfaces are effectively cleaned 
before the next meal service; (5) In areas that are not used for food 
preparation, storage, sales, display, or dining, in which there are 
caged animals or animals that are similarly confined, such as in a 
variety store that sells pets or a tourist park that displays animals; and 
(6) dogs other than service animals or patrol dogs in the outdoor patio 
areas of a food establishment if: (a) a separate entrance is provided 
from the outside of the food establishment to the outdoor patio to 
ensure that a dog will have direct access to the patio without entering 
the interior food preparation, storage, sales, display, or dining areas 
of the food establishment; (b) a dog is not allowed within eight feet 
of any entrance to an interior area of the food establishment, except 
as necessary to enter or exit the patio; (c) signs that meet the 
following criteria are conspicuously posted at the entrance of the food 
establishment and patio to notify patrons that dogs may be on the 
premises; (i) state: "Notice to patrons, dogs may be on the premises 
but are restricted to the outdoor patio. Dog owners are responsible for 
keeping their animal under control at all times."; and (ii) are at least 
8 inches by 10 inches in size with lettering that is high contrast and 
at least 5/8 of an inch in height; (d) doors equipped with self-closing 
devices are provided at each door to the outdoor patio from the 
interior of the food establishment; (e) no food preparation is done in 
the outdoor patio area, except that a beverage glass may be filled on 
the patio from a pitcher or other container that has been filled or 
otherwise prepared inside the food establishment; (f) the outdoor 
patio area is continuously maintained free of visible dog hair and 
other dog related wastes or debris; (g) while on duty, wait staff, 
servers, or food employees do not care for or handle a dog that may 
be present; (h) the dog is kept on a leash and remains in the control 
of the patron while on the outdoor patio; (i) the dog is wearing a collar 
or harness with a rabies vaccination tag attached to it; (j) the dog is 
not allowed on a chair, table, countertop, or similar surface in the 
outdoor patio area; and (k) the dog does not have contact with any of 
the food establishment's condiments, equipment, or reusable 
utensils." 
[ (n)  Amend section 8-103.11 to add: 
 (i)  "(D)  In addition, a variance from section 3-301.11 may 
be issued only when: 
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 (1)  the variance is limited to a specific task or workstation; 
 (2)  the applicant has demonstrated good cause why section 
3-301.11 cannot be met; 
 (3)  suitable utensils are used to the fullest extent possible 
with ready-to-eat foods in the rest of the establishment; and 
 (4)  the applicant can demonstrate active managerial 
control of this risk factor at all times."] 
 (o)  Amend section 8-103.11 to read: "Before a variance 
from a requirement of this code is approved, the person requesting 
the variance shall provide the following information, which shall be 
retained in the regulatory authority's file on the food establishment: 
(a) the name of the business for which the variance is being 
requested; (b) a designated point of contact and contact information 
of the business for which the variance is being requested; (c) the 
location of the facility or establishment for which the variance is 
being requested; (d) the citation of each Food Code section or 
paragraph for which the variance is being requested; (e) a statement 
as to why the applicant cannot comply with the Food Code section or 
subsection for which the variance is being requested;(f) the nature 
and duration of the variance being requested; (g) a statement of how 
the intent of the code will be met and the reasons why the public 
health or safety, or the environment, would not be endangered or 
jeopardized if the variance were to be granted; (h) technical 
justification or a detailed explanation of the variance conditions that 
provide the protection of public health and safety, and the 
environment, for each applicable Food Code section or paragraph; (i) 
a full description of any policies, procedures, active managerial 
controls, or equipment that the applicant proposes to use to rectify 
any potential increase in health or safety risks created by granting the 
variance; and (j) operation and maintenance requirements of the 
variance condition including a HACCP plan if required as specified 
under Paragraph 8-201.13(A) that includes the information specified 
under Section 8-201.14 as it is relevant to the variance requested." 
[ (o)  Amend Section 8-302.14 to renumber (F) to (D), (G) to 
(E), and (H) to (F).] 
 (p)  Amend Paragraph 8-304.10(A) to read: 
 (A)  Upon request, the regulatory authority shall provide a 
copy of the Utah Food Protection Rule according to the policy of the 
local regulatory agency. 
 (q)(i)  Amend subparagraph 8-401.10(A)to read: "(A)  
Except as specified in paragraphs (B) and (C) of this section, the 
regulatory authority shall inspect a food establishment at least once 
every 6 months. 
 (ii)  Amend subparagraph 8-401.10(B)(2) to read:  "The 
food establishment is assigned a less frequent inspection frequency 
based on a written risk-based inspection schedule that is being 
uniformly applied throughout the jurisdiction". 
 (r)  Add Paragraph 8-501.10(C) to read:  (C)  Meeting 
reporting requirements under Communicable Disease Rule R386-702 
and Injury Reporting Rule R386-703. 
 (s)  [Amend Section]Add "8-6 Enforcement; 8-601.10 [to 
read:  ]Due process and equal protection shall be afforded as required 
by law in all enforcement and regulatory actions.  Enforcement of 
this rule shall be in accordance with Subsection 4-2-2(J), , Section 4-
2-12, and Rule R70-201." 
 (t)  Add "8-7 Penalties; 8-701.10  State Construction Code, 
all parts of the food establishment shall be designed, constructed, 
maintained, and operated to meet the standards of the state 
construction code adopted by the Utah Legislature under Title 15A 
UCA.  A copy of the construction code is available at the office of the 
local building inspector." 

[ (u)  Exempt Section 3-203.13 for small egg producers 
pursuant to Subsection 4-4-107(6).] 
 (6)  The Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 21, U.S.C. 342, 
January 5, 2023 version is incorporated by reference. 
 ([4]7)  All references to food that requires time or 
temperature control for safety, TCS, in this rule are equivalent to 
references in past editions of the U.S. Public Health Service, Food 
and Drug Administration, Food Code to potentially hazardous food, 
PHF. 
 
KEY:  food, inspections 
Date of Last Change:  [February 27, 2023]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  December 28, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-5-104; 4-
4-107(6); 4-4-102 
 
 
NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R156-26a Filing ID:  
56531 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

Commerce, Professional Licensing 

Building: Heber M. Wells Building 
Street address: 160 E 300 S 
City, state: Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing 
address: 

PO Box 146741 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Tracy Taylor 801-

530-
6628 

trtaylor@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R156-26a.  Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act Rule 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The proposed amendments update this rule to align with 
changes to the AICPA Uniform CPA Examination and 
continuing education reporting requirements. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The amendments update this rule to align the education 
requirements with changes to the AICPA Uniform CPA 
Examination and Continuing Education Reporting 
Requirement. 
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Section R156-26a-102 updates definitions pertaining to 
CPE reporting and education accreditation. 
 
Section R156-26a-302a updates the education standards 
to align with the changes to the AICPA Uniform CPA 
Examination. 
 
Section R156-26a-302c updates the minimum education 
standard to sit for the AICPA Uniform CPA Examination 
consistent with the changes made in Section R156-26a-
302a. 
 
Formatting changes are also made throughout this rule 
consistent with OAR's Rulewriting Manual for Utah and to 
update citation references. 
 
 
Public Hearing Information: 
The hearing will be on 06/18/2024 at 2 PM at the Heber 
Wells Building at 160 E 300 S, 4th Floor Conference Room 
474, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
Also via Google Meet: 
Join with Google Meet meet.google.com/imt-iuas-ixc 
 
Or join by phone: 

4172-448-575 +1 (US)  
PIN: 292 332 688 #  
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) is the national 
association with representatives in every US state and 
territory that prescribes national standards for CPAs, and 
it owns the Uniform CPA Examination that is required 
nationwide for licensure as a CPA. 
 
The proposed amendments that conform this rule to AICPA 
Uniform CPA Examination changes are required to keep 
Utah's education/exam/CPE requirements in line with 
national standards and describe the requirements for 
access to the licensure exam, but none of these 
amendments will have any fiscal impact on state 
government revenues or expenditures because these 
changes will not affect or modify any existing state 
government policies or procedures. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

The proposed amendments are not expected to have any 
fiscal impact on local governments' revenues or 
expenditures because none of the changes will apply to 
local governments. 
 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed amendments are not expected to have any 
fiscal impact on small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures because none of the changes will apply to 
small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed amendments are not expected to have any 
fiscal impact on non-small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures because none of the changes will apply to 
non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed amendments relating to CPE reporting 
requirements will apply to the 6,321 licensed certified 
public accountants (CPAs) in Utah and their programs that 
provide CPE, but the proposed amendments are not 
expected to have any fiscal impact on these persons 
because the amendments only update the reference on 
standards for CPE programs to the newest AICPA/NASBA 
Statement of Standards for CPE Programs that the CPE 
industry is already using as required by AICPA/NASBA, 
and clarify that the venue for reporting CPE is CPE Audit 
Service, the online CPE reporting system administered by 
NASBA that CPA licensees use. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
As described in Box 5E above, the proposed amendments 
are not expected to impose any compliance costs on any 
affected persons because they merely update this rule to 
reference the standards those in the industry are already 
using and pinpoint the venue for licensee CPE reporting 
and will not impose any additional financial or non-financial 
burdens on these persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 
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Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Commerce, 
Margaret W. Busse, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 
The Division of Professional Licensing, in concert with the 
Utah Board of Accountancy, proposes to amend Rule 
R156-26a to align the education requirement with changes 
to the AICPA Uniform CPA Examination and Continuing 
Education Reporting Requirement. 
 
Section R156-26a-102 updates definitions pertaining to 
CPE reporting and education accreditation. 
 
Section R156-26a-302c updates the minimum education 
standards to sit for the AICPA Uniform CPA Examination 
consistent with the changes made in R156-26a-302a. 
 
Formatting changes are also made throughout this rule 
consistent with OAR's Rulewriting Manual for Utah and to 
update citation references. 
 
Small Businesses (less than 50 employees): The 
proposed amendments are not expected to impose any 
fiscal impact on small businesses' revenues or 
expenditures. 
 
The proposed amendments merely update and clarify 
provisions and conform the rule to the AICPA Uniform CPA 
Examination changes. 
 

Regulatory Impact to Non-Small Businesses (50 or 
more employees); The proposed amendments are not 
expected to impose any fiscal impact on non-small 
businesses' revenues or expenditures. 
 
The proposed amendments merely update and clarify 
provisions and conform this rule to the AICPA Uniform CPA 
Examination changes. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Subsection 
58-1-106(1)(a) 

Subsection 
58-1-202(1)(a) 

Section 
58-26a-101 

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds or updates the following title of 
materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Standards for Performing and  
Reporting on Peer Reviews 

Publisher AICPA (American Institute of Certified 
Public Accountants) 

Issue Date June 1, 2023 

 
B) This rule adds or updates the following title of 
materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Code of Professional Conduct 

Publisher AICPA 

Issue Date December 15, 2014 

Issue or Version October 2023 

 
C) This rule adds or updates the following title of 
materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Statement on Standards for  
Continuing Professional Education  
(CPE) Programs 

Publisher AICPA/NASBA (National Association 
of State Boards of Accountancy) 

Issue Date January 2024 
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Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/15/2024 

B)  A public hearing (optional) will be held: 
Date: Time: Place (physical 

address or URL): 
06/18/2024 2:00 PM See information in 

Box 4 above, 
 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/25/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Mark B. Steinagel,  
Division Director 

Date: 05/23/2024 

 
R156.  Commerce, [Occupational and ]Professional Licensing. 
R156-26a.  Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act Rule. 
R156-26a-101.  Title - Authority - Organization. 
 (1)  This rule is known as the "Certified Public Accountant 
Licensing Act Rule."[.] 
 (2)  This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority 
of Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer 
Title 58, Chapter 26a, Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act. 
 (3)  The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule 
R156-1 is as described in Section R156-1-101. 
 
R156-26a-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapter[s] 1, 
Division of Professional Licensing Act, and Title 58, Chapter 26a, 
Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act, as [defined or ]used in 
this rule: 
 (1)  "Administering organization" means an organization 
approved by the Division [of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing ]and the [Utah ]Board [of Accountancy which will ]to 
administer peer reviews in the peer review program[Peer Review 
Program]. 
 (2)  "CPE Audit Service" means the online continuing 
professional education reporting system administered by 
NASBA.["Accepted university accreditations" mean the following: 
 (a)  the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of 
Business ("AACSB"); 
 (b)  the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and 
Programs ("ACBSP"); or 
 (c)  an institution receiving "regional accreditation", 
meaning an institution receiving accreditation through: 
 (i)  the Northwest Accreditation Commission ("NAC"); 

 (ii)  the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools 
("NCA"); 
 (iii)  the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools 
("MSA"); 
 (iv)  the New England Association of Schools and Colleges 
("NEASC"); 
 (v)  the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools 
("SACS"); or 
 (vi)  the Western Association of Schools and Colleges 
("WASC").] 
 (3)  "Mobility,"[,] a practice privilege included in Section 
58-26a-305 regarding exemptions from licensure, is defined and 
further clarified in Section R156-26a-305. 
 (4)  "Nationally accredited" means an education program 
accredited by: 
 (a)  the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of 
Business (AACSB); or 
 (b)  the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and 
Programs (ACBSP). 
 (5)  "Non-duplicative" as used in Sections R156-26a-302a 
and R156-26a-302c means each course is counted only once and may 
not be used to simultaneously meet the requirements of multiple 
categories. 
 ([4]6)  "Qualified continuing professional education 
(CPE)" [as used in this rule ]means continuing education that meets 
the standards [set forth ]in Section R156-26a-303b.[ 
 (5)  "Standard setting bodies" means any generally 
recognized accounting standard setting bodies.] 
 (7)  "Regionally accredited" means an education program 
accredited by: 
 (a)  the Northwest Commission on Colleges and 
Universities (NWCCU); 
 (b)  the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools 
(NCA); 
 (c)  the Middle States Commission on Higher Education 
(MSCHE); 
 (d)  the New England Commission on Higher Education 
(NECHE); 
 (e)  the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools 
Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC); or 
 (f)  the Western Association of Schools and Colleges 
(WASC). 
 ([6]8)  "Unprofessional conduct" [as defined in Title 58, 
Chapters 1 and 26a, ]is further defined, [in accordance with]under 
Subsection 58-1-203(1)(e), in Section R156-26a-501. 
 ([7]9)  "Year of review" means the calendar year during 
which a peer review is to be conducted.[ 
 
R156-26a-103.  Authority. 
 This rule is adopted by the Division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the Division to administer Title 
58, Chapter 26a. 
 
R156-26a-104.  Organization - Relationship to Rule R156-1. 
 The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule 
R156-1 is as described in Section R156-1-107.] 
 
R156-26a-201.  Advisory Peer Committees Created - 
Membership - Duties. 
 (1)  There is created [in accordance with]under Subsection 
58-1-203(1)(f) the Education Advisory Committee to the [Utah 
]Board[ of Accountancy], consisting of one full-time faculty member 
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from each of five or more colleges or universities in Utah [which]that 
has [an]a nationally accredited or regionally accredited program[ as 
set forth in Subsections R156-26a-302a(1)(a) through (c)], a majority 
of which shall be licensed CPAs. 
 (2)  The Education Advisory Committee shall be appointed 
and serve [in accordance with]under Section R156-1-205. 
 (3)  The duties and responsibilities of the Education 
Advisory Committee [shall include assisting]are to assist the 
Division in collaboration with the Board in their duties, functions, 
and responsibilities, and [shall ]include: 
 (a)  advising the Board as to the acceptability of an 
educational institution; 
 (b)  assisting the Board to make a final determination 
[pursuant to]under Section R156-26a-302[a(5)(c)]c of whether an 
applicant is qualified to sit for the AICPA [examination]Uniform CPA 
Examination; and 
 (c)  advising the Board regarding proposed changes to 
rules. 
 ([3]4)  The [committee]Education Advisory Committee 
shall consider the following[,] when advising the Board of the 
acceptability of the educational institution[, the following]: 
 (a)  the institution's accreditation; 
 (b)  the acceptability by other state licensing boards; 
 (c)  the faculty qualifications; and 
 (d)  other educational resources. 
 ([4]5)  There is created [in accordance with]under 
Subsection 58-1-203(1)(f), the Peer Review Committee to the [Utah 
]Board[ of Accountancy], consisting of not more than ten licensed 
CPAs. 
 (6)  The [committee]Peer Review Committee shall be 
appointed and serve [in accordance with]under Section R156-1-205. 
 ([5]7)  The duties and responsibilities of the Peer Review 
Committee [shall be advising]are to advise the Board on peer 
review[s] matters, and [shall ]include: 
 (a)  reviewing the results of peer reviews [administered ]by 
[approved]administering organizations, and as the Peer Review 
Committee determines necessary, requiring corrective action of firms 
with significant deficiencies noted in the review [process when 
considered necessary ]in addition to [those]any corrective actions 
required by the administering organization; 
 (b)  evaluating compliance of CPE programs; 
 (c)  performing random audits to determine compliance 
with the CPE requirements and the standards for CPE programs; 
 (d)  reviewing complaints and recommending whether 
certain acts, practices, or omissions violate the ethical standards of 
the profession; 
 (e)  providing technical assistance to the Division; and 
 (f)  serving as expert witnesses at administrative hearings. 
 
R156-26a-302a.  Qualifications for CPA Licensure - Education 
Requirements. 
[ The education requirements for CPA licensure in 
Subsection 58-26a-302(1)(d) are defined, clarified, or established as 
follows:] 
 (1)  [An]Under Subsection 58-26a-302(1)(c), an applicant 
shall submit transcripts showing completion of course work 
consisting of a minimum of 150 semester hours or [(]225 quarter 
hours[)], and one of the following: 
 (a)  a graduate degree in accounting or taxation from [an]a 
nationally accredited education program[ institution whose business 
education is accredited by the AACSB or the ACBSP]; 

 (b)  a Master of Business Administration degree from [an]a 
nationally accredited education program that[ institution whose 
business education program is accredited by the AACSB or the 
ACBSP and which] includes no less than: 
 (i)  24 semester hours or [(]36 quarter hours[)] in [upper 
division or graduate level]upper-division or graduate-level 
accounting courses covering at least one course in each of the 
following subjects, with one hour of credit counted for one hour of 
upper-division course work, and 1.6 hours of credit counted for one 
hour of graduate-level course work: 
 (A)  financial accounting; 
 (B)  auditing; 
 (C)  taxation;[ and] 
 (D)  [management]managerial or cost accounting; 
 (E)  accounting information systems or data analytics; or 
 (ii)  [15]12 semester hours or 18 quarter hours in [(23 
quarter hours) graduate level]graduate-level accounting courses 
covering the following subjects: 
 (A)  financial accounting; 
 (B)  auditing; 
 (C)  taxation;[ and] 
 (D)  [management]managerial or cost accounting; [or]and 
 (E)  accounting information systems or data analytics; 
 [(iii)  an equivalent combination of graduate and upper 
division accounting courses covering the subjects of financial 
accounting, auditing, taxation, and management accounting, with one 
hour of graduate level course work being equivalent to 1.6 hours of 
upper division course work; 
 ](c)  a baccalaureate degree in business or accounting from 
[an]a nationally accredited education program that [institution whose 
business education program is accredited by the AACSB or the 
ACBSP, and which ]includes no less than: 
 (i)  24 semester hours or [(]36 quarter hours[)] in non-
duplicative upper-division or graduate-level[upper division or 
graduate level] accounting courses covering at least one course in 
each of the following subjects, with one hour of credit counted for 
one hour of upper-division course work and 1.6 hours of credit 
counted for one hour of graduate-level course work: 
 (A)  financial accounting; 
 (B)  auditing; 
 (C)  taxation;[ and] 
 (D)  [management]managerial or cost accounting; and 
 (E)  accounting information systems or data analytics; and 
 (ii)  30 additional semester hours or 45 quarter hours in 
upper-division or graduate-level [in graduate or upper division 
]accounting and business courses, with one hour of credit counted for 
one hour of upper-division course work, and 1.6 hours of credit 
counted for one hour of graduate-level course work; or 
 (d)  [A]a baccalaureate or graduate degree from a[n] 
regionally accredited education program that includes[institution 
accredited by a regional accrediting body with] no less than: 
 (i)  24 semester hours or 36 quarter hours in non-
duplicative upper-division or graduate-level accounting courses, with 
a minimum of two semester hours or three quarter hours in each of 
the following subjects, and with one hour of credit counted for one 
hour of upper-division course work and 1.6 hours of credit for one 
hour of graduate-level course work: 
 (A)  financial accounting; 
 (B)  auditing; 
 (C)  taxation; 
 (D)  managerial or cost accounting; and 
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 (E)  accounting information systems or data analytics; and 
 (ii)  24 semester hours or [(]36 quarter hours[)] in non-
accounting business or related courses [providing]with a minimum 
of two semester hours or [(]three quarter hours[)] in each of the 
following subjects: 
 (A)  business law; 
 (B)  [computers]information systems; 
 (C)  economics; 
 (D)  business ethics; 
 (E)  finance; 
 (F)  [business ]statistics [and]or quantitative methods; 
 (G)  written and oral business communications; and 
 (H)  business administration such as marketing, 
[production]operations, management, policy, or organizational 
behavior; and 
[ (ii)  24 semester hours (36 quarter hours) in upper division 
or graduate level accounting courses with a minimum of two 
semester hours (three quarter hours) in each of the following subjects: 
 (A)  auditing; 
 (B)  finance; 
 (C)  managerial or cost; 
 (D)  systems; and 
 (E)  taxes; and] 
 (iii)  30 additional semester hours or 45 quarter hours in 
[graduate or upper division]upper-division or graduate-level 
accounting and business courses, with one hour of credit counted for 
one hour of upper-division course work, and 1.6 hours of credit for 
one hour of graduate-level course work. 
 (2)  The Division in collaboration with the Board or the 
Education Advisory Committee may accept a baccalaureate degree in 
business or accounting from an [institution not having an accepted 
accreditation as defined in Subsection R156-26a-102(4),]education 
program that is not nationally accredited or regionally accredited if 
the applicant:[ 
 (a)  has obtained a graduate degree in accounting from an 
institution whose business education program is accredited by the 
AACSB or the ACBSP;] 
 ([b]a)(i)  has obtained a graduate degree in accounting or 
taxation or a Master of Business Administration from [an institution 
whose business education program is accredited by the AACSB or 
the ACBSP]a nationally accredited education program; and 
 (ii)  meets the requirements in Subsection R156-26a-
302a(1)(b)(i)[,] or (ii)[, or (iii)]; or 
 ([c]b)(i)  has obtained a graduate degree in accounting, 
taxation, or a Master of Business Administration from [an institution 
accredited by a regional accrediting body; and]a regionally 
accredited education program; and 
 (ii)  meets the requirements in Subsection R156-26a-
302a(1)(d). 
 (3)  The Division in collaboration with the Board or the 
Education Advisory Committee may make a written finding for cause 
that a particular accredited institution or program is not acceptable. 
 (4)  The Division in collaboration with the Board or the 
Education Advisory Committee may accept education of a person 
who [holds a license]is or has been licensed as a certified public 
accountant or equivalent designation in a [foreign 
country]jurisdiction outside of the United States, if the applicant has 
obtained from NASBA verification of compliance with the terms of 
a[n] current Mutual Recognition Agreement[agreement for 
reciprocal licensure] between that jurisdiction[the foreign country] 
and the International Qualifications Appraisal Board of NASBA[, 
which agreement provides the applicant's examinations, education 

and experience is determined to be substantially equivalent to the 
Eighth Edition, January 2018 Uniform Accountancy Act licensure 
requirements or a version of the Uniform Accountancy Act having 
substantially equivalent requirements]. 
 
R156-26a-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Experience 
Requirements. 
 [In accordance with]Under Subsections 58-1-203(1)(b) and 
58-1-301(3) and Section 58-26a-302, [the experience requirements 
for licensure in Section 58-26a-302 are clarified, or supplemented as 
follows: 
 (1)  The ]the Division in collaboration with the 
[board]Board may accept experience of [a person who holds a 
license]an applicant who is or was licensed as a certified public 
accountant or equivalent designation in a [foreign 
country]jurisdiction outside of the United States, if the applicant has 
obtained from NASBA verification of compliance with the terms of 
a[n agreement for reciprocal licensure] current Mutual Recognition 
Agreement between [the foreign country]that jurisdiction and the 
International Qualifications Appraisal Board of NASBA[, which 
agreement provides the applicant's examinations, education and 
experience is determined to be substantially equivalent to the Eighth 
Edition, January 2018 Uniform Accountancy Act licensure 
requirements or a version of the Uniform Accountancy Act having 
substantially equivalent requirements]. 
 
R156-26a-302c.  Qualifications for Licensure - Examinations. 
 [The examination requirements in Subsection 58-26a-306 
are defines, clarified, or established as follows: 
 ](1)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-26a-
306(1)(a), the form of application approved by the Division [shall 
be]is the application that NASBA CPA Examination Services 
(["]CPAES["]) requires to sit for the AICPA Uniform CPA 
Examination. 
 (2)  [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-26a-
306(1)(b), the fee [shall be]is the fee charged by CPAES.  No 
additional fee [shall be]is due to the Division. 
 (3)  Under Subsection 58-26a-306(1)(c), the minimum 120 
semester hours or 180 quarter hours of the education requirement that 
an applicant shall complete before sitting for the AICPA Uniform 
CPA Examination shall include 24 semester hours or 36 quarter hours 
in non-duplicative upper-division or graduate-level accounting 
courses covering at least one course in each of the following subjects, 
with one hour of credit counted for one hour of upper-division course 
work and 1.6 hours of credit counted for one hour of graduate-level 
course work: 
 (a)  financial accounting; 
 (b)  auditing; 
 (c)  taxation; 
 (d)  managerial or cost accounting; and 
 (e)  accounting information systems or data analytics. 
 ([3]4)  [In accordance with]Under Subsections 58-26a-
306(1)(c) and (d), the Board designates CPAES as the organization 
that shall determine [whether]if an applicant has met the education 
requirements and is approved to sit for the AICPA Uniform CPA 
Examination[ examinations].  [However, if]If an applicant disputes 
CPAES's determination, the Board shall make the final 
determination.[ 
 (4)  In accordance with Subsection 58-26a-306(1)(c), the 
minimum 120 semester hours (180 quarter hours) of the education 
requirement that an applicant shall complete before sitting for the 
AICPA Uniform CPA Examination, shall include completion of at 
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least the following requirements as described in Section R156-26a-
302a: 
 (a)  24 semester hours (36 quarter hours) in upper division 
or graduate level accounting courses covering the following subjects: 
 (i)  financial accounting; 
 (ii)  auditing; 
 (iii)  taxation; and 
 (iv)  management accounting; and 
 (b)  24 semester hours (36 quarter hours) in non-accounting 
business or related courses covering the following subjects: 
 (i)  business law; 
 (ii)  computers; 
 (iii)  economics; 
 (iv)  business ethics; 
 (v)  finance; 
 (vi)  business statistics and quantitative methods; 
 (vii)  written and oral business-related communications; 
and 
 (viii)  business administration such as marketing, 
productions, management, policy or organizational behavior.] 
 (5)  An applicant for licensure as a certified public 
accountant shall also pass: 
 (a)  the AICPA Examination of Professional Ethics for 
CPAs with a score of at least 90%; and 
 (b)  the Utah (CPA) Laws and Rules Examination with a 
score of at least 75%. 
 (6)  The Division in collaboration with the Board may 
accept testing of a person who holds a license as a certified public 
accountant or equivalent designation in a foreign country, if the 
applicant has obtained from NASBA verification of compliance with 
the terms of a[n agreement for reciprocal licensure] current Mutual 
Recognition Agreement between the foreign country and the 
International Qualifications Appraisal Board of NASBA[, which 
agreement provides the applicant's examinations, education and 
experience is determined to be substantially equivalent to the Eighth 
Edition, January 2018 Uniform Accountancy Act licensure 
requirements or a version of the Uniform Accountancy Act having 
substantially equivalent requirements]. 
 
R156-26a-303a.  Renewal Requirements - Peer Review. 
 (1)[  General. 
 In accordance with](a)  Under Subsections 58-1-308(3)(b) 
and 58-26a-303(2)(b), there is created a peer review requirement as 
a condition for renewal of licenses issued under [the]Title 58, Chapter 
26a, Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act, providing for review 
of the work products of CPA and CPA firm licensees. 
 ([a]b)  The purpose of the [program]peer review is to 
monitor compliance with professional standards. 
 ([b]c)  The [program]peer review shall emphasize 
education and may include other remedial actions when non-
compliance is found. 
 ([c]d)  If a licensee is unwilling or unable to comply with 
or intentionally disregards professional standards, the administering 
organization shall refer the matter to the Division for consultation and 
determination of appropriate action. 
 (2)[  Scheduling of the Peer Review. 
 ](a)  A firm's initial peer review shall be assigned a due date 
to require that the initial review be started no later than 18 months 
after the date of the issuance of its initial report as defined in 
Subsection 58-26a-102(20). 

 (b)  At least once every three years a firm engaged in the 
practice of public accounting shall undergo, at its own expense, a peer 
review commensurate in scope with its practice. 
 (c)  The administering organization shall assign the year of 
review. 
 (d)  A portion of the peer review may be performed by a 
regulatory body if the Board approves the regulatory body as an 
administering organization.  This does not by itself satisfy the peer 
review requirement unless the other standards [as specified ]in this 
rule are fulfilled by the regulatory body. 
 (3)  [Selection of a Peer Reviewer or inspector in the case 
of inspections mandated by law or regulatory bodies. 
 ]A firm scheduled for peer review shall engage a reviewer 
qualified to conduct the peer review.  Regulatory bodies shall assign 
inspectors. 
 (4)[  Qualifications of a Peer Reviewer and inspectors. 
 ](a)  A peer reviewer shall[Peer reviewers must] provide 
evidence of one of the two following minimum qualifications to the 
administering organization: 
 (i)  acceptance as a peer reviewer by the AICPA; or 
 (ii)  compliance with the qualifications required by the 
AICPA to qualify as a peer reviewer. 
 (b)  A peer reviewer[Peer reviewers] shall be licensed or 
hold a permit to practice as a CPA in Utah or another state or 
jurisdiction of the United States. 
 (c)  The administering organization shall approve reviewers 
for reviews not administered by the AICPA. 
 (d)  Regulatory bodies shall determine the qualifications of 
inspectors. 
 (5)[  Conduct of the Peer Review or inspection.  Peer 
reviews shall be conducted as follows: 
 ](a)  Each peer review[Peer reviews] shall be conducted 
according to the ["]Standards for Performing and Reporting on Peer 
Reviews["] promulgated by the AICPA, effective [April 2019]June 1, 
2023, which are [hereby ]incorporated by reference and adopted as 
the minimum standards for peer reviews of [all ]firms.  This [section 
shall]requirement does not require any firm or licensee to become a 
member of the AICPA or any administering organization. 
 (b)  The Board may review the standards used by the 
regulatory body to determine if those standards are sufficient to 
satisfy all or part of the peer review requirements, or what additional 
review may be required to meet the peer review requirements under 
this rule. 
 (6)  If an administering organization finds that a peer 
review was not performed in accordance with this rule or the peer 
review results in a pass with deficiencies or fail report, the Peer 
Review Committee may require remedial action to assure that the 
review or performance of the CPA or CPA firm being reviewed meets 
the objectives of the peer review program. 
 (7)[  Review of Multi-State Firms. 
 ](a)  [With respect to]For a multi-state firm, the Division 
may accept a peer review based solely upon work conducted outside 
of this state as satisfying the requirement to undergo peer review 
under this rule, if: 
 (i)  the peer review is conducted during the year scheduled 
or rescheduled under Subsection R156-26a-303a(2); 
 (ii)  the peer review is performed in accordance with 
requirements equivalent to those of this state; 
 (iii)  the peer review: 
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 (A)  studies, evaluates, and reports on the quality control 
system of the firm as a whole in the case of system reviews; or 
 (B)  results in an evaluation and report on selected 
engagements in the case of engagement reviews; 
 (iv)  the firm's internal inspection procedures require that 
the firm's personnel from another office outside the state perform the 
inspection of the office located in this state not less than once in each 
three year period; and 
 (v)  at the conclusion of the peer review, the peer reviewer 
issues a report equivalent to that required by Subsection R156-26a-
303a(5) or in the case of an approved regulatory body, a report is 
issued under their standards. 
 (b)  A multi-state firm seeking approval under Subsection 
R156-26a-303a(7)(a) shall submit an application to the administering 
organization by February 1 of the year of review establishing that the 
peer review it proposes to undergo meets [all of ]the requirements of 
Subsection R156-26a-303a(5). 
 (8)  A firm [which]that does not perform services 
encompassed in the scope of minimum standards as set out in 
Subsection R156-26a-303a(5)(a) or (b) is exempt from peer review 
and shall notify the Division of the exemption at the time of renewal 
of its registration.  A firm [which]that begins providing these services 
[must]shall begin [commence ]a peer review within 18 months of the 
date of the issuance of its initial report as defined in Subsection 58-
26a-102(16). 
 (9)[  Mergers, Combinations, Dissolutions or Separations. 
 ](a)  [Mergers or combinations:  ]If two or more firms are 
merged or sold and combined, the surviving firm shall retain the year 
of review of the largest firm. 
 (b)  Dissolutions or separations:  If a firm is divided, the 
new firms shall retain the year of review of the former firm.  If this 
period is less than 12 months, a new year shall be assigned so that the 
review occurs after 12 months of operation. 
 (c)  Upon application to the administering organization and 
a showing of hardship caused solely by compliance with Subsection 
R156-26a-303a(10), the Division may authorize a change in a firm's 
year of review. 
 (10)  If a firm can demonstrate that the time established for 
the conduct of a peer review will create an unreasonable hardship 
upon the firm, the Division may approve an extension not to exceed 
180 days from the date the peer review was originally scheduled, as 
follows: 
 (a)  A request for extension shall be addressed in writing by 
the firm to the Division with a copy to the administering organization 
responsible for administration of that firm's peer review. 
 (b)  The written request for extension shall be received by 
both the Division and the administering organization at least 30 days 
[prior to]before the date of scheduled review or the request will not 
be considered. 
 (c)  The Division shall inform the administering 
organization of the approval of any extension. 
 (11)[  Retention of Documents Relating to Peer Reviews. 
 ](a)  [All documentation]Documentation necessary to 
establish that each peer review was performed in conformity with 
peer review standards adopted by the Board, including the peer 
review working papers, the peer review report, comment letters and 
related correspondence indicating the firm's concurrence or 
nonconcurrence, and any proposed remedial actions and related 
implementation, shall be  retained for the relevant administering 
organization's designated retention period or 120 days, whichever is 
longer. 
 (12)[  Costs and Fees for Peer Review. 

 ](a)  [All costs]Costs associated with firm-on-firm reviews 
will be negotiated between the firm and the reviewer and paid directly 
to the reviewer.  [All costs]Costs associated with committee assigned 
review team (CART) reviews will be set by the administering 
organization.  The administering organization will collect the fees 
associated with CART reviews and pay the reviewer. 
 (b)  [All costs]Costs associated with the administration of 
the review process shall be paid from fees charged to the firms.  The 
fees shall be collected by the administering organization.  The 
schedule of fees shall be included in the administering organization's 
proposal.  The fee schedule shall specify how much is to be paid each 
year and shall be based on the firm size. 
 (13)  [All financial]Financial statements, working papers, 
or other documents reviewed are confidential.  Access to those 
documents shall be limited to being made available, upon request, to 
the Peer Review Committee or the technical reviewer [for purposes 
of assuring]to assure that peer reviews are performed according to 
professional standards. 
 
R156-26a-303b.  Continuing Professional Education (CPE). 
 The continuing professional education (CPE) requirements 
in Section 58-26a-304 are defined, clarified, or established as 
follows: 
 (1)  A CPA shall complete at least 80 CPE hours in each 
two-year licensure cycle ending on December 31 of each even-
numbered year, except that no CPE hours are required at a first 
renewal after initial licensure. 
 (2)  CPE hours shall include at least: 
 (a)  one hour of CPE that covers Title 58, Chapter 26a, the 
Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act, and Rule R156-26a, the 
Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act Rule; and 
 (b)  three hours of ethics education that cover one or more 
of the following areas: 
 (i)  the AICPA Code of Professional Conduct; 
 (ii)  case-based instruction focusing on real-life situational 
learning; 
 (iii)  ethical dilemmas faced by accounting professionals; 
or 
 (iv)  business ethics. 
 (3)  A CPA shall maintain current knowledge, skills, and 
abilities in [all areas]each area in which the CPA provides services[, 
in order] to provide services in a competent manner.  To maintain or 
to obtain the knowledge, skills, and abilities to competently provide 
services, a CPA may be required to obtain CPE above and beyond the 
80 minimum CPE credits specified in Section 58-26a-304. 
 (4)  The Division incorporates [and adopts ]by reference 
the AICPA[/] and NASBA Statement on Standards for Continuing 
Professional Education (CPE) Programs, revised [August 
2016]January 2024.  These standards have been broadly stated in 
recognition of the diversity of practice and experience among CPAs.  
They establish a framework for the development, presentation, 
measurement, and reporting of CPE programs and thereby help to 
ensure that CPAs maintain the required knowledge, skills, and 
abilities necessary to competently provide services and to enable the 
CPA to provide evidence of meeting the minimum CPE requirements. 
 (5)  Reporting Requirements. 
 (a)  The license renewal [deadling]deadline and the CPE 
reporting period deadline shall have the same date of December 31 
of even-numbered years. 
 (b)  Except as otherwise authorized by the Division, CPE 
shall be [reported online on the Division website]entered in CPE 
Audit Service for online reporting and auditing of CPE compliance. 
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 (c)  A licensee applying for license renewal shall report by 
December 31 of each even-numbered year, demonstrating 
completion of at least the minimum number of CPE hours required 
under Section 58-26a-304 and this [Section]section. 
 (d)  Each person applying for license reinstatement shall 
report to the Division at the time of application, demonstrating 
completion of the CPE required under Section R156-26a-307. 
 (e)  If a licensee reports required CPE and renews their 
license [prior to ]before December 31 of an even-numbered year, any 
additional CPE completed by that licensee through the remainder of 
the even-numbered year may be reported and carried forward toward 
the next succeeding CPE reporting period. 
 (6)  Carry Forward Provision. 
 (a)  A licensee who completes more than the required hours 
of CPE during the reporting period may carry forward up to 40 hours 
to the next succeeding reporting period. 
 (b)  CPE taken in the current reporting period and CPE 
hours carried forward from the previous reporting period shall 
qualify as general CPE hours only for the current reporting period. 
 (7)  Failure to comply with CPE requirements. 
 (a)  A licensee who fails to complete the required minimum 
CPE by the reporting deadline may not renew their license until the 
required CPE hours have been completed and reported. 
 (b)  Pursuant to Subsection 58-26a-304(4), a licensee may 
request the Board to waive the requirements or grant an extension for 
CPE on the basis that the licensee was not able to complete the 
continuing professional education due to medical or related 
conditions confirmed by a qualified health care provider. 
 (i)  Such medical confirmation shall include the beginning 
and ending dates during which the medical condition would have 
prevented the licensee from completing the CPE, the extent of the 
medical condition and the effect that the medical condition had upon 
the ability of the licensee to continue to engage in the practice of 
accountancy. 
 (ii)  The Board in determining whether the waiver is 
appropriate shall consider whether or not the licensee continued to be 
engaged in the practice of accountancy practice on a full or part time 
basis during the period specified by the medical confirmation. 
 (iii)  Granting a waiver of meeting the minimum CPE hours 
is not a waiver of a CPA being required to provide services in a 
competent manner with current knowledge, skill, and ability.  When 
medical or other conditions prevent the CPA from providing services 
in a competent manner, the CPA shall refrain from providing such 
services. 
 
R156-26a-303c.  Renewal Cycle. 
 [In accordance with]Under Subsection 58-1-308(1), the 
renewal date for the two-year renewal cycle [applicable to]for 
licensees under Title 58, Chapter 26a, Certified Public Accountant 
Licensing Act is established [by rule ]in Section R156-1-308a. 
 
R156-26a-303d.  Renewal Procedures. 
 Renewal procedures shall be in accordance with Section 
R156-1-308c. 
 
R156-26a-305.  Exemptions from Licensure - Mobility. 
 The mobility practice privilege included in Section 58-26a-
305 is further clarified, [defiend]defined, and established as follows: 
 (1)  As used in this section and for purposes of Section 58-
26a-305: 

 (a)  "Mobility" means a practice privilege that generally 
permits a licensed CPA in good standing [rom]from a substantially 
equivalent state[/] or jurisdiction where their principal place of 
business is located, to practice outside of that state[/] or jurisdiction 
without obtaining another license.  CPA mobility is a uniform 
approach endorsed by the AICPA and NASBA through the AICPA[/] 
and NASBA Uniform Accountancy Act (UAA), allowing no-
notification interstate practice by CPAs whose home jurisdiction or 
who individually are substantially equivalent where they meet the 
UAA licensure standard.  The individual and firm automatically 
consent to the jurisdiction of the mobility state, and the mobility 
state's ability to discipline under the provision is based on the 
performance of services within the mobility state, whether physically, 
electronically, or otherwise. 
 (b)  "Individual mobility" means an individual CPA meets 
the requirements of Subsection 58-26a-305(1)(a) and Section R156-
26a-305 to perform services through mobility in Utah.  A CPA with 
individual mobility does not need to obtain a Utah CPA license or 
otherwise register with the Division. 
 (c)  "Firm mobility" means a CPA firm meets the 
requirements of Subsection 58-26a-305(1)(a) and Section R156-26a-
305 to perform services through mobility in Utah.  A CPA firm with 
firm mobility does not need to obtain a Utah CPA firm license or 
register with the Division. 
 (d)  "Home jurisdiction"[, for purposes of Section 58-26a-
305 and this Section,] means the jurisdiction where a CPA or CPA 
firm is licensed and their principal place of business is located. 
 (e)  "Mobility tool" means the online tool developed by the 
AICPA and NASBA to help CPAs and CPA firms understand mobility 
and determine their eligibility for mobility, available at 
https://cpamobility.org. 
 (2)  A CPA or CPA firm performing services through 
mobility in Utah shall hold an active, unrestricted license in good 
standing in their home jurisdiction.  An inactive or restricted CPA or 
CPA firm license is invalid pursuant to Subsection 58-26a-
305(1)(a)(ii)(C). 
 (3)  A CPA performing services through mobility shall only 
perform the same level of services, [(]attest or non-attest[)], in the 
mobility jurisdiction as they are permitted to perform in their home 
jurisdiction. 
 (4)  A CPA firm not licensed in Utah may perform services 
through mobility in Utah as a person exempt from licensure pursuant 
to Subsection 58-26a-305(1)(a), if: 
 (a)  the CPA firm's principal place of business is not in 
Utah; 
 (b)  the CPA firm holds an active, unrestricted CPA firm 
license in good standing in its home jurisdiction; and 
 (c)  the CPA firm meets the ownership and peer review 
requirements of the mobility jurisdiction pursuant to Subsection 58-
26a-302(3)(a)(iii) and S[ubs]ection R156-26a-303a. 
 (5)  A licensed CPA or CPA firm may obtain information 
regarding their eligibility for mobility by using the mobility tool at 
https://cpamobility.org. 
 
R156-26a-307.  Reinstatement of Licenses. 
 (1)  An individual who held a Utah license [which]that has 
expired for failure to renew for nonpayment of fees, or an individual 
applying for reinstatement from emeritus status, may be relicensed 
upon satisfactory completion of: 
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 (a)  submission of an application on forms supplied by the 
Division [which]that shall contain information as to why the 
individual allowed their license to lapse; and 
 (b)  80 hours of qualified CPE completed within the 12 
months preceding the submission of the application for 
reinstatement, which shall include: 
 (i)  at least 16 hours in accounting or auditing or both; and 
 (ii)  successful completion of the AICPA Professional 
Ethics for CPAs Examination and the Utah CPA Laws and Rules 
Examination with minimum scores of at least the minimum score 
required for initial licensure, which shall count as eight hours of CPE 
toward[s] the 80 hour requirement. 
 (2)  The requirements in Subsection R156-26-307(1)(b) 
may be waived if the reinstatement applicant: 
 (a)  has not been practicing within Utah since the expiration 
of the license being reinstated; 
 (b)  has continuously since the expiration been licensed and 
practicing in another state; and 
 (c)  demonstrates that the applicant has met [all ]the CPE 
requirements that would have been applicable in Utah during the time 
the license was expired in Utah. 
 (3)  The requirements in Subsection R156-26a-307(1)(b) 
may be waived if: 
 (a)  the applicant failed to renew because of inadvertent 
failure to pay the renewal fees, to sign application documents, or to 
meet similar technical application requirements; 
 (b)  the application for reinstatement is filed with the 
Division within 24 months after expiration date of the license; and 
 (c)  at the time of application for reinstatement the applicant 
demonstrates by proof of attendance at acceptable CPE courses that 
at all times the applicant was in full compliance with the CPE 
requirements. 
 (4)  The number of hours required to reinstate a license may 
not satisfy in whole or part any of the minimum hours of CPE that 
may be required for subsequent renewal of the license. 
 
R156-26a-501.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  willfully failing to comply with continuing professional 
education requirements or fraudulently reporting continuing 
professional education; 
 (2)  [commission of an act or omission that fails]failing to 
conform to the accepted and recognized standards and ethics of the 
profession including those [stated ]in the AICPA Code of 
Professional Conduct, effective December 15, 2014, updated through 
[August 31, 2016]October 2023, which is [hereby ]incorporated by 
reference; or 
 (3)  a CPA firm using the name of a person who is not a 
licensed certified public accountant as part of the CPA firm name, 
[with the exception]except that a CPA firm may continue to use the 
name of a former owner who was a CPA but who has retired or is no 
longer active in the CPA firm. 
 
KEY:  accountants, licensing, peer review, continuing 
professional education 
Date of Last Change:  [November 7, 2019]2024 
Notice of Continuation:  September 27, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-26a-101; 
58-1-106(1)(a); 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Repeal 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R448-10 Filing ID:  
56541 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

Health and Human Services, Disease 
Control and Prevention, Medical 
Examiner 

Building: UPHL MOD 2 
Street address: 4451 S 2700 W 
City, state: Taylorsville, UT 
Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Michael Staley 801-

816-
3850 

mstaley@utah.gov 

Krisann 
Humphreys 
Bacon 

801-
816-
3850 

krisannbacon@utah.gov 

Deirdre Amaro 801-
816-
3850 

damaro@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R448-10.  Unattended Death and Reporting Requirements 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this filing is to repeal Rule R448-10 based 
on legislative and statutory changes that caused this rule 
to be outdated and irrelevant. 
 
The definition of "attended death," previously defined in 
Section R448-10-3, was amended by the Legislature from 
care provided in the 30 days prior to death to care provided 
in the 365 days prior to death, now defined in Section 26B-
8-214. 
 
"Health care professional" is defined in Section 26B-8-201. 
 
Section R448-10-2 previously defined who, when a death 
is attended, shall certify the death certificate, but 
requirements established by the Legislature in the cited 
portions of code establish who, in an attended death, shall 
certify the death certificate, superseding what was 
previously in Section R448-10-2. 
 
Additionally, Section 26B-8-214 amends the previous 
reporting requirements established in Subsection R448-
10-3(1), and the remainder of the reporting requirements 
are established in Section 26B-8-206. 
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The entirety of the provisions in Rule R448-10 were 
enumerated in the Utah Medical Examiner statute (26B-8-
201), and therefore, this rule is no longer necessary. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This filing repeals Rule R448-10 in its entirety. 
 
All of the provisions included in Rule R448-10 are now 
codified in the Utah Medical Examiner statute.  See Box 6 
of this filing to review the sections of Utah Code that 
supersede Rule R448-10. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost associated with repealing 
Rule R448-10. 
 
Section 26B-8-214 superseded Rule R448-10, extending 
the definition of "attended death" from care that was 
provided in the 30 days prior to death to 365 days, which 
reduced the number of attended deaths for which the 
medical examiner has jurisdiction. 
 
Any cost savings, due to reduced case load, have already 
been realized in the previous two fiscal years. 
 
Repealing this rule results in no additional cost or savings 
to the state budget. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule repeal will have no fiscal impact on local 
governments, as this rule does not apply to local 
governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule repeal will have no fiscal impact on small 
businesses, as this rule does not apply to small 
businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule repeal will have no fiscal impact on non-small 
businesses, as this rule does not apply to non-small 
businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule repeal will have no fiscal impact on other 
persons, as this rule does not apply to other persons. 

F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is no compliance cost associated with the repeal of 
this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Health and 
Health Services, Tracy S. Gruber, has reviewed and 
approved this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 26B-8-201 Section 26B-8-214 Section 26B-8-206 
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Section 26B-8-205 Section 26B-8-215  
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive Director 

Date: 05/29/2024 

 
R448.  Health, Disease Control and Prevention, Medical 
Examiner. 
[R448-10.  Unattended Death and Reporting Requirements. 
R448-10-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 This rule is authorized by Utah Code Section 26-1-5.  It 
clarifies the meaning of unattended death under the provisions of 
Utah Code Subsection 26-4-2(8) and the requirements of Utah Code 
Section 26-4-8. 
 
R448-10-2.  Death Under Physician's Care and Supervision. 
 For purposes of Utah Code Subsection 26-4-2(8), an 
individual whose care is directly supervised by a physician and who 
has been seen by a licensed nurse whose activity is directly 
supervised by the physician is deemed to have been seen by the 
physician within the scope of the physician's professional capacity. 
 
R448-10-3.  Reporting Requirement. 
 (1)  If a death occurs and the individual's care within 30 
days prior to death was not directly supervised by a physician or if 
the individual was not seen by a licensed nurse whose activity is 
directly supervised by the individual's treating physician, then the 
death must be reported as required under Utah Code Section 26-4-8. 
 (2)  All other deaths that meet the criteria in Utah Code 
Section 26-4-7, must be reported as required by Utah Code Section 
26-4-8. 
 (3)  As required by R432-750-29, a hospice is required to 
report all deaths supervised by the hospice if the death was a result 
from injury, accident, or other possible unnatural cause. 
 
KEY:  medical examiner, unattended death, reporting death 
Date of Last Change:  June 19, 2000 
Notice of Continuation:  April 5, 2019 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  26-1-5; 26-
4-2; 26-4-7; 26-4-8] 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R590-164-5 Filing ID:  
56542 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

Insurance, Administration 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state Taylorsville, UT 
Mailing 
address: 

PO Box 146901 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-164-5.  Electronic Data Interchange Transactions 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Two specific electronic data interchange transaction forms 
are being removed because the authorizing language in 
Section 31A-22-613.5 was repealed in H.B. 336 of the 
2017 General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The rule is being amended to remove Transparency 
Administration Performance Standard v2.0 and 
Transparency Denial Standard v2.0 from use by insurers. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
The Department of Insurance (Department) will continue 
collecting and reporting other data that is already available 
publicly. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments. 
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This rule governs the relationship between the Department 
and its licensees and does not affect local governments in 
any way. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses. 
 
This rule applies only to health insurers in the state, all of 
which employ 50 or more persons. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses are likely to see small savings as a 
result of this rule, because they will no longer be required 
to collect and report certain information to the Department. 
 
However, because some insurers may have automated 
their reporting processes while others may have 
completely manual processes, the Department is not able 
to estimate the aggregate amount of those savings. 
 
Such savings will be specific to each insurer, and the 
Department has no way of knowing what that savings will 
be. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons. 
 
This rule governs the relationship between the Department 
and its licensees and does not affect any other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Insurance Department, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 

31A-22-614.5 
 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/30/2024 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-164.  Uniform Health Billing Rule. 
R590-164-5.  Electronic Data Interchange Transactions. 
 (1)(a)  The commissioner shall use the UHIN Standards 
Committee to develop electronic data interchange standards for use 
by payers and providers transacting health insurance business 
electronically. 
 (b)  In developing standards for the commissioner, the 
UHIN Standards Committee shall consult with national standard-
setting entities including CMS, NUCC, ASC X12N, NCPDM, and 
NUBC. 
 (2)  The commissioner shall incorporate a standard adopted 
by the UHIN Standards Committee into rule before it is required for 
use by payers and providers. 
 (3)  A payer shall accept the applicable electronic data if 
transmitted in accordance with the electronic data interchange 
standard that is incorporated in rule. 
 (4)  A payer may reject electronic data if not transmitted in 
accordance with the electronic data interchange standard that is 
incorporated in rule. 
 (5)  The HIPAA electronic data interchange standards 
described in this Subsection (5) and adopted by the UHIN Standards 
Committee are incorporated by reference by the commissioner and 
are available at https://insurance.utah.gov. 
 (a)  "999 Implementation Acknowledgement For Health 
Care Insurance Standard v3.4."  The purpose of the standard is to 
detail the standard transaction for the reporting of transmission 
receipt and transaction or functional group X12 and implementation 
guide error, and adopt the use of the ASC X12 999 transaction. 
 (b)  "Adaptive Behavior Services/Applied Behavior 
Analysis (ABA) Billing Standard" v3.1."  The purpose of the 
standard is to detail the billing for the transmission of ABA services. 
 (c)  "Administrative Transaction Acknowledgements 
Standard v3.1."  The purpose of the standard is to create a process for 
acknowledging all electronic transactions between trading partners 
based on the communication, syntax, semantic, and business process 
specifications. 
 (d)  "Anesthesia Standard v3.1."  The purpose of the 
standard is to standardize the transmission of anesthesia data for 
health care services.  The standard does not alter any contractual 
agreement between providers and payers. 
 (e)  "Benefits Enrollment and Maintenance Standard v3.1."  
The purpose of the standard is to detail the standard transactions for 
the transmission of health care benefits enrollment and maintenance. 
 (f)  "Claim Acknowledgement Standard v3.2."  The 
purpose of the standard is to provide a standardized claim 
acknowledgement in response to a claim submission, which is used 
to report on the status of a claim or encounter at the pre-adjudication 
processing stage, for example, before the payer is legally required to 
keep a history of the claim or encounter. 
 (g)  "Claim Status Inquiry and Response Standard v3.2."  
The purpose of the standard is to detail the standard transactions for 
the transmission of health care claim status inquiries and response, 
allow the provider to reduce the need for claim follow-up, and 
facilitate the correction of claims. 

 (h)  "CMS 1500 Paper Claim Form Standard v3.3."  The 
purpose of the standard is to describe the standard use of each box 
for print images, and its crosswalk to the HIPAA 837 005010X222A1 
Professional implementation guide. 
 (i)  "Coordination of Benefits Standard v3.2."  The purpose 
of the standard is to streamline the coordination of benefits process 
between payers and providers or payer to payers, define the data to 
be exchanged for coordination of benefits, and to increase effective 
communications. 
 (j)  "Dental Claim Billing Standard -- J430 v4."  The 
purpose of the standard is to describe the standard use of each item 
number for print images, and its crosswalk to the HIPAA 837 
005010x02241A1 dental implementation guide, and adopt the ADA 
dental Claim Form J340. 
 (k)  "Electronic Remittance Advice Standard v3.5."  The 
purpose of the standard is to detail the standard transaction for the 
transmission of a health care remittance advice. 
 (l)  "Eligibility Inquiry and Response Standard v3.3."  The 
purpose of the standard is to detail the standard transactions for the 
transmission of a health care eligibility inquiry and response. 
 (m)  "Health Care Claim/Encounter Standard v3.2."  The 
purpose of the standard is to detail the standard transaction for the 
transmission of a health care claim, encounter, and an associated 
transaction. 
 (n)  "Health Identification Card Standard v1.3."  The 
purpose of the standard is to standardize the patient health 
identification card information and address the human-readable 
appearance and machine-readable information used by the healthcare 
industry to obtain eligibility. 
 (o)  "Health Plan Identifier (HPID) and Other Entity 
Identifier (OEID) Standard v1.1."  The purpose of the standard is to 
inform providers of the HIPD and OEID and their usage within the 
administrative transactions. 
 (p)  "Home Health Standard v3.1."  The purpose of the 
standard is to provide a uniform standard of billing for a home health 
care claim and encounter. 
 (q)  "ICD-10 Standard v1.2."  The purpose of the standard 
is to create the business requirement for a payer and a provider to 
implement the International Classification of Diseases 10th 
Revisions, ICD-10, within the administrative transaction. 
 (r)  "Individual Name Standard v2.1."  The purpose of the 
standard is to provide guidance for entering names into provider, 
payer, or sponsor systems for a patient, enrollee, and any other person 
associated with a record. 
 (s)  "Metabolic Dietary Products Standard v2.1."  The 
purpose of the standard is to provide a uniform standard for the 
billing of a metabolic dietary product. 
 (t)  "NPI and Atypical Provider Standard v3.1."  The 
purpose of the standard is to inform a provider of the national 
provider identifier requirements and the usage within a transaction. 
 (u)  "Pain Management Standard v3.1."  The purpose of the 
standard is to provide a uniform method of submitting a pain 
management claim, encounter, pre-authorization, and notification. 
 (v)  "Patient Identification Number v3.0."  The purpose of 
the standard is to describe the standard for the patient identification 
number. 
 (w)  "Premium Payment v3.0."  The purpose of the standard 
is to detail the standard transaction for the transmission of a premium 
payment. 
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 (x)  "Prior Authorization/Referral Standard v3.0."  The 
purpose of the standard is to provide general recommendations to 
payers and providers about handling an electronic prior authorization 
and referral. 
 (y)  "Required Unknown Values Standard v3.0."  The 
purpose of the standard is to provide guidance for the use of common 
data values that can be used within the HIPAA transaction when a 
required data element is not known by the provider, payer, or sponsor 
for a patient, enrollee, and any other person associated with the 
transaction.  The data values should only be used when the data is not 
available or known and may not be used to replace known data. 
 (z)  "Telehealth Standard v3.2."  The purpose of the 
standard is to provide a uniform standard of billing for a health care 
claim and encounter delivered through telehealth. 
 (aa)  ["Transparency Administration Performance Standard 
v2.0."  The purpose of the standard is to establish performance 
measures that report the average telephone answer time and claim 
turnaround time. 
 (ab)  "Transparency Denial Standard v2.0."  The purpose of 
the standard is to establish performance measures that report the 
number and cost of an insurer's denied health claims and to provide 
guidance pertaining to the reporting method and timeline. 
 (ac)  ]"UB04 Form Locator Elements v3.0."  The purpose 
of the standard is to describe the use of each form locator in the UB-
04 claim billing form and its crosswalk to the HIPAA 837 
005010X223A2 institutional implementation guide. 
 
KEY:  insurance law 
Date of Last Change:  [March 15,] 2024 
Notice of Continuation:  March 6, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-22-
614.5 
 
 
NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R590-271 Filing ID:  
56543 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

Insurance, Administration 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state Taylorsville, UT 
Mailing 
address: 

PO Box 146901 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 

General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R590-271.  Data Reporting for Consumer Quality 
Comparison 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
Many of the rule's provisions are being removed because 
the authorizing language in Section 31A-22-613.5 was 
repealed in H.B. 336 of the 2017 General Session. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule is being amended to remove the requirement that 
health insurers report certain information to the Insurance 
Department (Department), remove definitions related to 
the requirement, and remove a notice that the reported 
information is classified as a public record. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to the state budget. 
 
The Department will continue collecting and reporting 
other data that is already available publicly. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

There is no anticipated cost or savings to local 
governments. 
 
This rule governs the relationship between the Department 
and its licensees and does not affect local governments in 
any way. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to small 
businesses. 
 
This rule applies only to health insurers in the state, all of 
which employ 50 or more persons. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
Non-small businesses are likely to see small savings as a 
result of this rule, because they will no longer be required 
to collect and report certain information to the Department. 
 
However, because some insurers may have automated 
their reporting processes while others may have 
completely manual processes, the Department is not able 
to estimate the aggregate amount of those savings. 
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Such savings will be specific to each insurer, and the 
Department has no way of knowing what that savings will 
be. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There is no anticipated cost or savings to any other 
persons. 
 
This rule governs the relationship between the Department 
and its licensees and does not affect any other persons. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for any affected persons. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Insurance Department, 
Jonathan T. Pike, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 31A-2-201 Section 31A-2-216  

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/30/2024 

 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-271.  Data Reporting for Consumer Quality Comparison. 
R590-271-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to 
Sections 31A-2-201 and 31A-2-216. 
 
R590-271-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to[: 
 (a)  define the methodology for determining and comparing 
insurer transparency information; 
 (b)  establish a format for submitting data to the 
commissioner; and 
 (c)  establish the date the data is due] require an insurer to 
comply with the HEDIS reporting requirements under the 
Department of Health and Human Services. 
 (2)(a)  This rule applies to an insurer offering a health 
benefit plan. 
 (b)  This rule does not apply to an insurer whose health 
benefit plans cover fewer than 3,000 individual Utah residents in 
aggregate. 
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R590-271-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 31A-1-301.  
Additional terms are defined as follows: 
[ (1)  "Electronic data interchange standard" means the 
standards developed by the UHIN Standards Committee at the 
request of the commissioner.] 
 [(2)](1)  "HEDIS" means the Healthcare Effectiveness Data 
and Information Set. 
[ (3)  "SFTP" means the Secure File Transfer Protocol. 
 (4)  "UHIN" means the Utah Health Information Network. 
 (5)  "UHIN Standards Committee" means the Standards 
Committee of the UHIN.] 
 
R590-271-4.  Reporting Requirements. 
 [(1)(a)  The following electronic data interchange standards 
adopted by the UHIN Standards Committee are incorporated by 
reference by the commissioner and are available at 
https://insurance.utah.gov: 
 (i)  Transparency Administration Performance Standard, 
v2.0; and 
 (ii)  Transparency Denial Standard, v2.0. 
 (b)  An insurer shall submit to the commissioner a report 
on each electronic data interchange standard referenced in Subsection 
R590-271-4(1)(a). 
 (c)  Each report shall be submitted using the department's 
secure file upload site at https://forms.uid.utah.gov/fileUploads. 
 (d)  Each report shall include data for the previous calendar 
year, and shall combine both paper and electronic claims. 
 (e)  The submission format, procedures, and guidelines are 
described in detail in the adopted transparency standards published 
by UHIN. 
 (2)  ]An insurer shall comply with the reporting guidelines, 
procedures, and format of Rule R428-13 and submit HEDIS data for 
the preceding calendar year to the Utah Department of Health and 
Human Services Office of Health Care Statistics. 
 
R590-271-5.  [Public Records. 
 The data submitted to the commissioner pursuant to this 
rule are public records as defined in Section 63G-2-103 for use on: 
 (1)  the department's website, https://insurance.utah.gov; 
and 
 (2)  the department's transparency website, 
https://healthrates.utah.gov. 
 
R590-271-6.  ]Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule, Rule R590-271, or its 
application to any person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity 
does not affect any other provision or application of this rule that can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application.  The 
remainder of this rule shall be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application. 
 
KEY:  data, data reporting, insurance 
Date of Last Change:  [March 11,] 2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  31A-2-216 
 
 
NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGE 
TYPE OF FILING:   New 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R630-1 Filing ID:  
56530 

Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

National Guard, Administration 

Building: Utah National Guard Headquarters 
Building 

Street address: 12953 S Minuteman Dr 
City, state Draper, UT 
Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Dan Schoenfeld 801-

557-
6260 

dschoenfeld@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R630-1.  Gifts to the Utah National Guard 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
H.B. 245, passed during the 2024 General Session, 
requires the Department of the Utah National Guard 
(Department) to file rules regarding the acceptance of gifts 
to the Utah National Guard. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule authorizes the Department to accept gifts for its 
benefit and that of its members, employees, or 
dependents. 
 
Gift proceeds are considered non-lapsing funds and must 
comply with relevant regulations, with the Department 
tasked to establish acceptance rules. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The implementation of this program is designed to be cost-
neutral to the state budget.  This means there will be no 
additional costs associated with its implementation. 
 
The state government will not incur any charges, as they 
are not required to donate funds or allocate additional 
resources. 
 
All activities related to the program will be managed within 
existing resources and budget constraints. 
 
 the Department does not anticipate the state needing to 
contribute any extra resources towards the program or its 
management. 
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B)  Local governments: 

No city, county, or special service district will have any 
impact by cost or association of this rule, as this rule does 
not impact these entities. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There will be no direct impact unless a small business 
gives a gift or donation to the Department and this rule 
does not require a small business to give a gift or donation, 
so no estimate can be provided 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule changes are not expected to have a 
fiscal impact on non-small businesses, nor will they 
necessitate any additional services or costs for 
implementation of the amendments. 
 
Therefore, there is no anticipated financial effect on non-
small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed rule changes are not anticipated to have any 
fiscal impact on entities falling outside the categories of 
small businesses, non-small businesses, state, or local 
government entities. 
 
Therefore, there is no expected financial implication for 
such persons or organizations and this rule does not 
require a small business to give a gift or donation, so no 
estimate can be provided. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There is no anticipated compliance cost for affected 
persons as a result of this rule. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Adjutant General of the Utah National Guard, Major 
General Daniel D. Boyack, has reviewed and approved 
this analysis that there is no impact on the implementation 
of this rule. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 36A-9-101   

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    
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Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Dan Schoenfeld,  
Deputy Director 

Date: 04/02/2024 

 
R630.  National Guard, Administration. 
R630-1.  Gifts to the Utah National Guard. 
R630-1-1.  Acceptance of Gifts. 
 (1)  The Utah National Guard may receive gifts, 
contributions, and donations of any kinds, including tangible objects 
and real property made on the condition that it be used for the benefit 
of, or about, the Utah National Guard, its members, employees, 
veterans, or their dependents. The Adjutant General is the acceptance 
authority for such gifts. 
 (2)  The Adjutant General may also accept gifts donated to 
benefit a state military museum or to create a memorial within the 
state honoring the activities of the Utah National Guard or Utah 
military veterans. 
 (3)  Delegation of gift acceptance authority is limited to the 
Assistant Adjutant Generals, Land Component Commander, or the 
Utah National Guard Finance Director. 
 
R630-1-2.  Gift Funds. 
 (1)  Gifts and bequests of money, and the proceeds of the 
sale of property, received under Section 39A-9-101 may be deposited 
in the following accounts as the Adjutant General or designee directs: 
 (a)  the National Guard MWR Fund for the purposes 
identified in Section 39A-7-105; 
 (b)  a fund supporting the purposes of West Travers Sentinel 
Landscape Act identified in Title 39A, Chapter 8, West Traverse 
Sentential Landscape Act; 
 (c)  a fund supporting the purposes of the State Armory 
Board identified in Title 39A, Chapter 2, State Armory Board, West 
Traverse Landscape Act; 
 (d)  the National Guard Death Benefit Account; or 
 (e)  a fund supporting benefits and incentives identified in 
Title 39A, Chapter 3, Part 2, State Armory Board, West Traverse 
Sentinel Landscape Ac. 
 (2)  A gift, grant, or donation described in Section 39A-9-
101 will not revert to the General Fund. 
 
R630-1-3.  Use of Gifts, Prohibitions. 
 (1)  Except as provided in Subsection R630-1-3(2), 
property and money accepted under Section 39A-9-101 may be used 
and services accepted without further specific authorization in law. 
The title to real property transfers to the Utah National Guard when 
the State Armory Board accepts the deed on behalf of the Utah 
National Guard. 
 (2)  Property, money, and services may not be accepted 
under Section 39A-9-101: 
 (a)  if the use of the property or money or the performance 
of the services about any program, project, or activity would result in 
the violation of any state or federal prohibition or limitation 
otherwise applicable to such program, project, or activity; 
 (b)  if the conditions attached to the property, money, or 
services are inconsistent with applicable state or federal law and 
regulations; 
 (c)  if the Adjutant General determines that the use of the 
property or money or the performance of the services would reflect 
unfavorably on the ability of the Utah National Guard, any state of 
federal employee of the Utah National Guard or any member of the 

armed forces to carry out any responsibility or duty in a fair and 
objective manner; 
 (d)  if the Adjutant General determines that the use of the 
property or money or the performance of the services would 
compromise the integrity or appearance of integrity of any program 
of the Utah National Guard, or any individual involved in such a 
program; 
 (e)  if offered in a manner that discriminates among Utah 
National Guard personnel based on the type of official responsibility 
or favoring those of higher rank or rate of pay; and 
 (f)  if the donor has interests that may be affected 
substantially by the performance or nonperformance of the recipient's 
official duties. 
 (3)  Acceptance authorities may not accept gifts offered 
indirectly through an intermediary if they could not accept such a gift 
directly from the source. 
 (4)  Acceptance authorities will ensure compliance with the 
restrictions and limitations contained in Section 63G-6a-2404. 
 
R630-1-4.  Prohibition of Solicitation. 
 (1)  Utah National Guard personnel will not solicit, 
fundraise for, or otherwise request or encourage the offer of a gift to 
the Utah National Guard organization or personnel. 
 (2)  Non-Utah National Guard entities will not receive Utah 
National Guard endorsement by virtue of their contributions to the 
military community or installation, their promotion or support of 
military goals and objectives, or for any other reason.  A limited 
statement of gratitude by Utah National Guard personnel which does 
not imply endorsement is permitted, whether made in public or in 
private. 
 (3)  A donor may mark the gift indicating that it was 
donated by a particular person, group, or organization.  However, the 
marking must be in good taste and not worded to imply endorsement 
of the donor by the Utah National Guard or its military or civilian 
personnel. 
 
KEY:  donation, gift, in-kind 
Date of Last Change:  2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  39A-9-101 
 
 
NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R708-7 Filing ID:  
56539 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

Public Safety, Driver License 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state: Taylorsville, UT 
Mailing 
address: 

PO Box 144501 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 
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Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R708-7.  Functional Ability in Driving: Responsibilities for 
Physicians and Drivers 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule filing is needed to prevent individuals from 
completing their own medical or vision forms. 
 
This is not a new process; the Driver License Division 
(Division) is adding the verbiage to the rule for clarification. 
 
The Incorporation by Reference (IBR) for this rule has also 
been updated. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This filing adds verbiage that clarifies that individuals are 
not allowed to complete their own medical and vision forms 
and is needed to protect the integrity of the Functional 
Ability In Driving: Guidelines and Standards for Health 
Care Professionals. 
 
This information has also been added to the IBR for this 
rule. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
The proposed rule is not expected to have any fiscal 
impacts on state budgets. 
 
This rule filing is adding verbiage to the rule that prevents 
individuals from completing their own medical and vision 
forms.  The completion of medical and vision forms has no 
fiscal impact on the state budget and is the fiscal 
responsibility of the individual submitting the forms. 
 

B)  Local governments: 

The proposed rule is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on any local governments. 
 
This rule does not regulate any local governments. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
The proposed rule is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on any small businesses. 
 
This rule does not regulate any small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
The proposed rule is not expected to have any fiscal 
impact on any non-small businesses. 
 
This rule does not regulate any non-small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
The proposed rule may have a direct inestimable fiscal 
cost to members of the public. 
 
This rule is clarifying that individuals are not allowed to 
complete a medical or vision form for themselves. 
 
This will require the individual to have the forms completed 
by a licensed health care professional, which would 
require the individual to pay a fee to the health care 
professional for the examination needed to fill out the 
forms. 
 
The Division is not able to estimate the costs because 
there is not a way to anticipate how many individuals would 
try to fill out their own medical or vision forms. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
The compliance costs for affected persons are 
inestimable. 
 
The Division is not able to determine how much the cost to 
have an examination by a licensed health care 
professional due to varying factors such as personal 
health insurance coverages and differing co-pay amounts. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
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Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, 
Jess L. Anderson, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 53-3-104   

 
Incorporations by Reference Information 
7. Incorporations by Reference: 
A) This rule adds or updates the following title of 
materials incorporated by references: 
Official Title of  
Materials 
Incorporated 
(from title page) 

Functional Ability In Driving:  
Guidelines and Standards for Health  
Care Professionals. 

Publisher Driver License Division 

Issue Date May 2024 

Issue or Version January 2024 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Christopher  
Caras, Division  
Director 

Date: 05/29/2024 

 
R708.  Public Safety, Driver License. 
R708-7.  Functional Ability in Driving: Responsibilities for 
Physicians and Drivers. 
R708-7-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to establish the: 
 (1)  procedure for administering the standards and 
guidelines used by health care professionals to assess certain medical 
conditions in relation to driving safety; 
 (2)  responsibilities of health care professionals to educate 
patients on medical conditions that may affect driving safety; 
 (3)  responsibilities of individuals regarding their health in 
relation to driving safety; and 
 (4)  procedures regarding a petition requesting removal of 
an ignition interlock restriction. 
 
R708-7-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by Section 53-3-104. 
 
R708-7-3.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 53-3-
102 and 53-3-302. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "deep breath lung sample" also known as alveolar 
breath sample, means an air sample that is the last portion of a 
prolonged, uninterrupted exhalation and that gives a quantitative 
measurement of alcohol concentration from which breath alcohol 
concentrations can be determined; 
 (b)  "FEV1" means the amount of air that can be forcibly 
exhaled from the lungs over one second of time after taking the 
deepest breath possible; 
 (c)  "FVC" means the amount of air that can be forcibly 
exhaled from the lungs after taking the deepest breath possible; 
 (d)  "guidelines"  means the Functional Ability In Driving: 
Guidelines and Standards for Health Care Professionals created by 
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the board to assist health care professionals in assessing certain 
medical conditions in relation to driving safety; 
 (e)  "IID Removal Petition Physician Statement" means the 
form furnished by the division used by a physician to provide a 
synopsis of an individual's medical condition to determine eligibility 
for an exemption from an ignition interlock device requirement; 
 (f)  "medical form" means a Functional Ability Evaluation 
Medical Report Form furnished by the division used by health care 
professionals to assess medical conditions; 
 (g)  "spirometry" means a test of lung function that 
measures the quantity and speed of air that is inhaled or exhaled; and 
 (h)  "vision form" means a Certificate of Visual 
Examination Form furnished by the division used by health care 
professionals to assess visual acuity. 
 
R708-7-4.  Driver's Responsibilities. 
 (1)  Each individual that applies for or holds a Utah driver 
license shall: 
 (a)  answer health questions related to driver safety each 
time an application for a Utah driving privilege is submitted to the 
division; 
 (b)  refrain from driving if there is uncertainty caused from 
having a physical, mental, or emotional impairment that may affect 
driving safety; 
 (c)  seek medical evaluation and advice about the 
significance of any impairment that relates to driving safety; and 
 (d)  report a physical, mental, or emotional impairment that 
may affect driving safety to the division in a timely manner. 
 (2)  Individuals who experience a physical, mental, or 
emotional impairment,  shall take a medical or vision form to a health 
care professional who shall provide the requested information, 
including a safety assessment level that reflects the individual's 
condition. 
 (3)  Individuals may not determine a safety assessment 
level for themselves. 
 
R708-7-5.  Health Care Professional's Responsibilities. 
 (1)  Health care professionals shall: 
 (a)  discuss the individual's health as it may affect driving 
abilities and make special recommendations in unusual 
circumstances; 
 (b)  assess physical, mental, or emotional impairment 
conditions on forms furnished by the division; and 
 (c)  report to the division regarding serious physical, 
mental, or emotional impairments that may affect driving safety 
concerning their patients. 
 (2)  Health care professionals who make reports to the 
division regarding physical, mental, or emotional impairments that 
pose a threat to driving safety have immunity from any damages 
claimed from making the report. 
 
R708-7-6.  Driver License Medical Advisory Board. 
 The Driver License Medical Advisory Board shall: 
 (1)  recommend written functional ability and safety 
assessment guidelines and standards for determining the physical, 
mental, and emotional capabilities of individuals appropriate to 
various driving abilities; 
 (2)  advise the director of the division on individual cases 
regarding medical impairment and driving safety; and 
 (3)  administer the guidelines. 
 

R708-7-7.  Persons Authorized to Complete [Functional Ability 
Evaluation Medical Report]Medical and Vision Forms. 
 (1)  Licensed [P]physicians and surgeons [licensed to 
practice medicine ]may complete the entire medical and 
vision[report] form. 
 (2)  Licensed ophthalmologists and optometrists may only 
complete the vision form. 
 (3)  Nurse practitioners, physician assistants, advanced 
practice nurses, chiropractors, and other health care professionals 
may perform physical examinations and report their findings on the 
medical and vision forms provided that: 
 (a)  they are licensed by the state as health care 
professionals; 
 (b)  the physical examination does not need advanced or 
complex diagnosis or treatment; and 
 (c)  if advanced or complex medical diagnostic analysis is 
needed, they shall refer the patient to the appropriate [physician, 
surgeon, or doctor of osteopathy]health care professional for further 
evaluation and [for ]completion of the [functional ability evaluations 
certifications report in those categories]medical or vision form. 
 (4)  An individual authorized under Section R708-7-7 may 
not complete a medical or vision form if the medical or vision form 
is for themselves. 
 
R708-7-8.  Use of the Safety Assessment Level. 
 (1)  Health care professionals shall apply the standards in 
the Functional Ability in Driving Guidelines and Standards for 
Health Care Professionals, [June 2023]January 2024 edition, which 
are incorporated by reference, when assessing patient health and 
completing the report forms. 
 (2)  The board has identified the following specific medical 
categories: 
 (a)  "category A" diabetes and metabolic conditions; 
 (b)  "category B" cardiovascular; 
 (c)  "category C" pulmonary; 
 (d)  "category D" neurologic; 
 (e)  "category E" seizures and episodic conditions; 
 (f)  "category F" learning and memory; 
 (g)  "category G" mental health; 
 (h)  "category H" alcohol and other drugs; 
 (j)  "category J" musculoskeletal or chronic debility; and 
 (k)  "category K" alertness or sleep disorder. 
 (3)  The division shall publish the guidelines on the 
division's website, dld.utah.gov. 
 (4)  The division may request an individual to complete a 
driver review upon receipt of certain safety assessment levels, which 
may include a driving skills test to demonstrate the ability to safely 
operate a motor vehicle before the division can determine if: 
 (a)  the individual will keep the privilege to drive without 
restrictions; 
 (b)  driving restrictions may be needed to ensure public 
safety; or 
 (c)  the individual must discontinue driving. 
 (5)  A health care professional may also request the division 
evaluate an individual's driving skill level at the health care 
professional's discretion. 
 
R708-7-9.  Denial of Driving Privileges. 
 (1)  The division shall notify an individual their privilege 
to drive is denied for any of the following: 
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 (a)  a medical form that is completed in any category that 
the driver is assessed at a level eight in accordance with the 
guidelines, or other documentation that states the health care 
professional recommends the individual not drive; 
 (b)  a vision form that the driver is assessed at a level ten in 
accordance with the guidelines, or other documentation that states the 
health care professional recommends the individual not drive; or 
 (c)  the inability to complete or successfully pass a driver 
review. 
 (2)  An individual may request a review of the division's 
decision upon receipt of a notice of denial of the privilege to drive. 
 
R708-7-10.  Petition to Remove Ignition Interlock Restriction. 
 (1)  An individual with a medical condition that prohibits 
the individual from providing a deep lung breath sample necessary to 
operate an ignition interlock system may submit a petition to the 
division containing the following: 
 (a)  an IID Removal Petition Physician Statement Form 
provided by the division completed by the physician; 
 (b)  a medical form completed by a physician; 
 (c)  medical history documenting the date of onset of the 
condition, the prognosis, and current treatments; and 
 (d)  measurements of FVC and FEV1 as measured by 
reproducible spirometry within 90 days of the petition. 
 (2)  The board shall review documentation submitted to 
support the individual cannot provide a deep lung breath sample 
under Title 53, Chapter 3, Part 3, Impaired Persons Licensing Act. 
 (3)  The board may request additional documentation 
regarding a medical exemption requested under this rule. 
 (4)  The division may consider: 
 (a)  the recommendation of the panel; 
 (b)  public safety; 
 (c)  the availability of ignition interlock systems that may 
be used with the individual's condition; and 
 (d)  the level of pulmonary or other impairment affecting 
the individual in determining the individual's license restrictions. 
 
KEY:  administrative procedures, health care professionals, 
physicians 
Date of Last Change:  2024[November 21, 2023] 
Notice of Continuation:  December 16, 2021 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53-3-104; 
53-3-224; 53-3-303; 53-3-304; 49 CFR 391.43; 41-6a-518.2 
 
 
NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R708-22 Filing ID:  
56540 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

Public Safety, Driver License 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state: Taylorsville, UT 
Mailing 
address: 

PO Box 144501 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Tara Zamora 801-
964-
4483 

tarazamora@utah.gov 

Britani Flores 801-
884-
8313 

bflores@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R708-22.  Commercial Driver License Administrative 
Proceedings 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
This rule filing updates formatting, corrects the cited 
statute granting authority, and adds language to specify a 
designation for administrative proceedings. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule filing updates the formatting to include a purpose 
section to be in compliance with the Driver License 
Division's (Division) other rules. 
 
The statute granting authority has been changed from 
Section 53-3-104 to Sections 63G-4-202 and 63G-4-203. 
 
Additionally, verbiage has been added to designate 
commercial driver license administrative proceedings as 
informal. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
the state budget. 
 
This rule change only clarifies an existing process that 
does not have any fiscal affect. 
 
B)  Local governments: 

This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
local governments. 
 
This rule change only clarifies an existing process that 
does not have any fiscal affect. 



  NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, June 15, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 12 45 

C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
small businesses. 
 
This rule change only clarifies an existing process that 
does not have any fiscal affect. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
non-small businesses. 
 
This rule change only clarifies an existing process that 
does not have any fiscal affect. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
This rule change is not expected to have a fiscal impact on 
persons other than small business, non-small business, 
state, or local governments. 
 
This rule change only clarifies an existing process that 
does not have any fiscal affect. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
This rule change does not have any compliance costs. 
 
This rule change only clarifies an existing process that 
does not have any fiscal affect. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 
this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, 
Jess L. Anderson, has reviewed and approved this 
regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 
63G-4-202 

Section 
63G-4-203 

 

 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Christopher  
Caras, Division  
Director 

Date: 05/29/2024 
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R708.  Public Safety, Driver License. 
R708-22.  Commercial Driver License Administrative 
Proceedings. 
R708-22-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes procedures used by the Driver License 
Division regarding administrative proceedings for commercial driver 
licenses. 
 
R708-22-[1]2.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized by S[ubs]ections [53-3-104]63G-4-
202 and 63G-4-203. 
 
R708-22-[2]3.  Commercial Driver License Administrative 
Proceedings. 
[ All adjudicative proceedings for commercial driver license 
(CDL) holders, including but not limited to, the application for and 
denial, disqualification, suspension or revocation of authorization to 
operate any particular class or classes of vehicles, shall be conducted 
according to applicable rules for administrative proceedings as 
specified in section R708-14, and R708-35.] 
 (1)  In compliance with Section 63G-4-202, the division 
has designated any division proceeding as informal. 
 (2)  A division supervisor may convert any informal 
proceeding to a formal proceeding if the conversion will promote 
efficiency, public safety, and not unreasonably increase cost. 
 (3)  An individual may represent themselves or be 
represented by a Utah state licensed attorney in the adjudicative 
proceeding. 
 (4)  The division shall conduct administrative proceedings 
under Subsection (1) as specified in Rules R708-14 and R708-35. 
 
KEY:  administrative proceedings 
Date of Last Change:  2024[1989] 
Notice of Continuation:  January 17, 2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  53-3-104; 
63G-4-102; 63G-4-202; 63G-4-203 
 
 
NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE CHANGE 
TYPE OF FILING:   Amendment 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R990-300 Filing ID:  
56544 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

Workforce Services, Housing and 
Community Development 

Building: Olene Walker Building 
Street address: 140 E 300 S 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing 
address: 

PO Box 45244 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0244 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Robert 
Andreasen 

801-
517-
4722 

randreasen@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R990-300.  Review Process for Plan for Moderate Income 
Housing Reports 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
The purpose of this rule change is to implement legislative 
changes to the Housing and Community Development 
Division's process for reviewing moderate income housing 
reports, and to clarify terms and procedures for review of 
moderate income housing reports. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
This rule change: 
1) clarifies terms; 
2) clarifies filing deadlines for moderate income housing 
reports; 
3) provides additional information concerning review 
procedures and notification requirements; 
4) identifies when additional or supplemental information 
will be accepted, 
5) provides additional detail concerning appeals from a 
determination by the Housing and Community 
Development Division; and 
6) clarifies how and when fees will be assessed for 
noncompliance. 
 
This change also makes nonsubstantive edits to this rule. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
5.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A)  State budget: 
This rule change is not expected to have any fiscal impact 
on state revenues or expenditures. 
 
No additional state employees or resources will be needed 
to oversee this rule change.  This rule change will not 
increase workload and can be carried out with existing 
budget. 
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B)  Local governments: 

This rule change impacts local governments by making 
minor adjustments to requirements for submission of 
moderate income housing reports and determinations of 
compliance, and clarifies the assessment of fees for 
noncompliance as set forth by Utah Code. 
 
Fees imposed on local governments for noncompliance 
and a local government's eligibility for certain funds were 
adopted by the 2023 Utah Legislature and are not set or 
changed by this rule amendment. 
 
The Department of Workforce Services (Department) 
anticipates no fiscal cost to local governments other than 
the existing and ongoing costs of complying with the 
statutory moderate income housing requirements. 
 
C)  Small businesses ("small business" means a 
business employing 1-49 persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings for small 
businesses. 
 
This rule change requires no action or expenditure by 
small businesses. 
 
D)  Non-small businesses ("non-small business" means 
a business employing 50 or more persons): 
There are no anticipated costs or savings for non-small 
businesses. 
 
This rule change requires no action or expenditure by non-
small businesses. 
 
E)  Persons other than small businesses, non-small 
businesses, state, or local government entities 
("person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, governmental entity, or public or private 
organization of any character other than an agency): 
There are no anticipated costs to other persons as the rule 
change rule requires no action or expenditure by any 
person. 
 
F)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
There are no compliance costs for affected persons. 
 
This rule change does not create new administrative fees 
or change any fees or eligibility criteria set by Utah Code. 
 
The Department anticipates that local governments will 
incur no costs beyond the existing and ongoing costs of 
complying with the statutory moderate income housing 
requirements. 
 
G)  Regulatory Impact Summary Table (This table only 
includes fiscal impacts that could be measured.  If there 
are inestimable fiscal impacts, they will not be included in 

this table. Inestimable impacts will be included in 
narratives above.) 
Regulatory Impact Table 
Fiscal Cost FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 
State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Cost 

$0 $0 $0 

Fiscal 
Benefits 

FY2025 FY2026 FY2027 

State 
Government 

$0 $0 $0 

Local 
Governments 

$0 $0 $0 

Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Non-Small 
Businesses 

$0 $0 $0 

Other 
Persons 

$0 $0 $0 

Total Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

Net Fiscal 
Benefits 

$0 $0 $0 

H)  Department head comments on fiscal impact and 
approval of regulatory impact analysis: 
The Executive Director of the Department of Workforce 
Services, Casey Cameron, has reviewed and approved 
this regulatory impact analysis. 
 

 
Citation Information 
6.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 35A-8-803 Section 10-9a-408 Section 

17-27a-408 
 
Public Notice Information 
8.  The public may submit written or oral comments to 
the agency identified in box 1.  (The public may also 
request a hearing by submitting a written request to the 
agency.  See Section 63G-3-302 and Rule R15-1 for more 
information.) 
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A)  Comments will be accepted 
until: 

07/15/2024 

 
9.  This rule change MAY 
become effective on: 

07/22/2024 

NOTE: The date above is the date the agency anticipates 
making the rule or its changes effective.  It is NOT the 
effective date.    

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Casey Cameron,  
Executive Director 

Date: 05/31/2024 

 
R990.  Workforce Services, Housing and Community 
Development. 
R990-300.  Review Process for Plan for Moderate Income 
Housing Reports. 
R990-300-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is authorized under Subsection 35A-8-803(3), 
which directs the [Utah Department of Workforce Services, Housing 
and Community Development D]division [(HCDD) ]to make rules 
describing the review process for moderate income housing reports. 
 
R990-300-2.  Purpose. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Subsection 35A-8-803(1), [HCDD]the 
division will: 
 (a)  advise political subdivisions of serious housing 
problems existing within their jurisdiction that require concerted 
public action for solution; 
 (b)  assist political subdivisions in defining housing 
objectives and preparing for adoption of a five-year action plan 
designed to accomplish housing objectives within their jurisdiction; 
and 
 (c)  establish and maintain a database of moderate income 
housing units located within the state. 
 ([c]2)  [f]For reporting entities, [required to submit a 
moderate income housing report to the Department as described in 
Sections 10-9a-408 and 17-27a-408]the division will: 
 ([i]a)  assist in the creation of [the]moderate income 
housing reports; and 
 ([ii]b)  review the reports for compliance with Sections 10-
9a-408 and 17-27a-408[; and 
 (d)  establish and maintain a database of moderate income 
housing units located within the state]. 
 
R990-300-3.  Definitions. 
 Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 10-9a-103, 
10-9a-408, 17-27a-103, and 17-27a-408.  In addition: 
 (1)  "Moderate income housing report" means a reporting 
entity's initial report or subsequent progress report, submitted 
[annually in a form approved by the Department, ]to document the 
reporting entity's progress [of]on the moderate income housing 
element of [the]its general plan. 
 (2)  ["Plan for moderate income housing" means a written 
document adopted by an entity's legislative body that includes: 
 (a)  an estimate of the existing supply of moderate income 
housing located within the entity's jurisdiction; 
 (b)  an estimate of the need for moderate income housing 
in the entity's jurisdiction for the next five years; 

 (c)  a survey of total residential land use; 
 (d)  an evaluation of how existing land uses and zones 
affect opportunities for moderate income housing; and 
 (e)  a description of the entity's program to encourage an 
adequate supply of moderate income housing.]"Reporting entity" 
means an entity, including a specified municipality and a specified 
county, required to submit a moderate income housing report under 
Section 10-9a-408 or 17-27a-408. 
 
R990-300-4.  [Entities Required to Report]Time to File Moderate 
Income Housing Reports. 
 [Entities required to submit a moderate income housing 
report are described in Sections 10-9a-408 and 17-27a-408.](1)  A 
reporting entity shall submit an initial report to the division on or 
before August 1 of the year the entity is required to report. 
 (2)  A reporting entity shall submit a subsequent progress 
report to the division on or before August 1 of each year after the year 
in which the reporting entity is required to submit an initial report. 
 (3)  If August 1 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 
holiday, the reporting entity shall submit the moderate income 
housing report on or before the next business day that is not a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. 
 
R990-300-5.  Moderate Income Housing Report Submissions. 
 (1)  [Annually, on or before August 1, the legislative body 
of each entity described in Sections 10-9a-408 and 17-27a-408 shall 
complete either an initial or subsequent progress moderate income 
housing report and submit the completed report to HCDD. 
 (a)  If August 1 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 
the entity shall submit the report on or before the next business day 
that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. 
 (b)  A report]A moderate income housing report must be 
submitted using the electronic form posted to the [HCDD]division's 
website. 
 (a)  The electronic form will be available on the 
[HCDD]division's website no later than May 1 annually. 
 ([c]b)(i)  [The form is a virtual survey and must be 
completed and submitted online. 
 (d)  ]The day of submission is determined by the time stamp 
on the virtual form submission. 
 (ii)  A report time stamped after 11:59:59 p.m. on August 1 
is untimely. 
 (2)  [HCDD]The division will issue a notice of 
noncompliance to a[n] reporting entity if its moderate income 
housing report is untimely. 
 (a)  [HCDD]The division will not review the untimely 
report further. 
 ([a]b)  The reporting entity may request an appeal of the 
determination of noncompliance for untimeliness issued by 
[HCDD]the division. 
 ([b]c)  If the appeal board finds the report was submitted 
timely, the board may remand the matter to [HCDD]the division to 
review the report for compliance under Section R990-300-6.[ 
 (3)  To be found compliant a subsequent progress report 
must be submitted timely and document progress on at least the 
minimum number and type of required strategies in Sections 10-9a-
403, 10-9a-408, 17-27a-403, and 10-9a-408. 
 (4)  To identify in a subsequent progress report how the 
market has responded to an entity's selected strategies the entity may 
use state, local, or other data to describe the changes the entity 
experienced in implementing each strategy.] 
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R990-300-6.  Review Process for the Moderate Income Housing 
Report. 
 (1)  [HCDD]The division will review each moderate 
income housing report for completeness and compliance with 
Sections 10-9a-403, 10-9a-408, 17-27a-403, and 17-27a-408. 
 (2)  [After reviewing a report, HCDD will provide notice 
as provided in Sections 10-9a-408 and 17-27a-408.]A moderate 
income housing report is complete if it contains all required 
information and the minimum number of moderate income housing 
strategies in Sections 10-9a-403, 10-9a-408, 17-27a-403, and 17-27a-
408. 
 (3)  A moderate income housing report is compliant if it is 
submitted timely and meets the requirements for the report. 
 (a)  The division will review an initial report to confirm the: 
 (i)  proposed strategy restates the exact language used to 
describe the strategy in the Utah Code; 
 (ii)  report includes the required number of strategies; 
 (iii)  report includes the required types of strategies; 
 (iv)  proposed timelines for implementation are specific 
and cover the five-year planning period; and 
 (v)  proposed benchmarks are specific and measurable. 
 (b)  The division will review a subsequent report to confirm 
the: 
 (i)  strategies reported reflect the strategies selected in the 
reporting entity's implementation plan; 
 (ii)  report includes the required number of strategies; 
 (iii)  reporting entity met the timelines in the reporting 
entity's implementation plan; and 
 (iv)  reporting entity made progress toward meeting the 
identified benchmarks. 
 (4)  A reporting entity's failure to include the minimum 
statutory and administrative rule elements in a report will result in a 
determination of noncompliance. 
 (5)  A reporting entity must substantially meet a timeline in 
its moderate income housing report to demonstrate compliance with 
the reporting entity's implementation plan. 
 (6)  A reporting entity may use state, local, or other reliable 
data to describe the changes the entity experienced in implementing 
each strategy to identify in a subsequent progress report how the 
market has responded to a reporting entity's selected strategies. 
 (7)  A reporting entity may submit more than the minimum 
required information in its moderate income housing report, but the 
report must include at least the minimum elements to be compliant. 
 ([3]a)  Additional planning requirements are detailed in 
Title 10, Chapter 9a, Municipal Land Use, Development, and 
Management Act, Title 17, Chapter 27a, County Land Use, 
Development, and Management Act, or other sections of Utah Code. 
 (b)  Although certain planning requirements are not 
included as part of the plan for moderate income housing or are not 
subject to review by [HCDD]the division, a[n] reporting entity may 
be required to demonstrate compliance with other requirements in its 
moderate income housing report, including station area plan 
requirements under Section 10-9a-403.1 or housing and transit 
reinvestment zone requirements under Title 63N, Chapter 3, Part 6, 
Housing and Transit Reinvestment Zone Act. 
 (8)(a)  A reporting entity may amend its implementation 
plan at any time. 
 (b)  A reporting entity may consult with the division before 
amending its implementation plan. 
 (c)  The reporting entity shall detail in its subsequent 
progress report the amended implementation plan and the reporting 

entity's progress on the original and the amended implementation 
plans. 
 
R990-300-6a.  Notice of Compliance or Noncompliance. 
 (1)  The division will review a reporting entity's moderate 
income housing report within 90 days after the report is received. 
 (2)  After reviewing a report, the division will provide 
notice as provided in Section 10-9a-408 or 17-27a-408. 
 (3)(a)  If the division determines a moderate income 
housing report is noncompliant, the reporting entity may submit a 
corrected report within 90 days after the date the notice of 
noncompliance is sent. 
 (b)  The division will review a corrected report within 30 
days after the report is received. 
 
R990-300-7.  Cure Period. 
 (1)  A[n] reporting entity has no more than 90 calendar days 
after the day on which the notice of noncompliance is [issued]sent to 
cure deficiencies in the submitted moderate income housing report. 
 (2)  If a deficiency described in the notice of 
noncompliance requires the reporting entity to make a legislative 
change and the reporting entity does not pursue the first appeal 
opportunity, the legislative change must be completed by the 
legislative body and become effective within the 90-day cure period 
to cure the deficiency. 
 (3)  If the reporting entity does not cure a deficiency within 
the 90-day period, the reporting entity will be ineligible for funding 
as provided in Sections 10-9a-408 and 17-27a-408. 
 (4)  If a reporting entity submits corrections to cure 
deficiencies and the division determines the report remains 
noncompliant, the reporting entity may request an appeal. 
 
R990-300-8.  Procedure for Filing an Appeal to the Board. 
 (1)  A[n] reporting entity must request an appeal of 
[HCDD]the division's determination of noncompliance within ten 
calendar days after the day on which the notice of noncompliance is 
sent. 
 (2)  An appeal of a notice of noncompliance must be in 
writing and include: 
 (a)  the name of the reporting entity filing the appeal and 
signature of its representative; and 
 (b)  the grounds for appeal. 
 (3)  In computing the period allowed for filing a timely 
appeal, the date as it appears on the notice of noncompliance is not 
included.  The last calendar day of the appeal period is included in 
the computation, but if the last day is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal 
holiday, the period continues to run until the next business day that is 
not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. 
 (a)  An appeal may be filed by email, facsimile, or physical 
delivery, including U.S. Mail, courier service, and hand-delivery. 
 (i)  If an appeal is filed by email or facsimile, the date of 
filing is the date recorded on the email or facsimile. 
 (ii)  If an appeal is filed by physical delivery, the date of 
filing is the date the appeal is received by [HCDD]the division. 
 (b)  If an appeal is filed by physical delivery, the filing 
entity is solely responsible for meeting the deadline.  Any delay 
caused by a delivery service or other physical means will not be 
considered an acceptable reason for a late filing. 
 (4)  Upon receiving a[n entity's] request for an appeal of a 
notice of noncompliance, [HCDD]the division will coordinate with 
the organizations identified in Sections 10-9a-408 and 17-27a-408 to 
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designate appeal board representatives and facilitate the appeal 
board's review of the appeal. 
 (5)(a)  A[n] reporting entity requesting an appeal may 
submit additional supporting materials and written arguments to the 
appeal board [within]no later than 15 calendar days [of]after the date 
of the request for an appeal. 
 (i)  Supporting materials and written arguments received by 
the division will be forwarded to the appeal board. 
 (ii)  Supporting materials and written arguments received 
more than 15 calendar days after the date of the request for an appeal 
will not be considered or forwarded to the appeal board. 
 (b)  The appeal board will consider only materials that fall 
within the 12-month reporting period or that demonstrate whether the 
reporting entity meets the requirements for an ongoing strategy as 
described in Sections 10-9a-408 and 17-27a-408. 
 (6)(a)  A reporting entity may withdraw a request for appeal 
by submitting a written request no later than seven days before the 
date of the first scheduled meeting of the appeal board appointed to 
consider the appeal. 
 (b)  If the request for appeal is withdrawn, the reporting 
entity must cure any noncompliance within the initial 90-day cure 
period. 
 
R990-300-9.  Appeal Board Review. 
 (1)  [HCDD]The division will provide administrative 
support to the appeal board and will provide each board member a 
copy of the record on appeal, including the appealing entity's 
moderate income housing report, moderate income housing element 
of the general plan, notice of noncompliance, and any supporting 
materials or written arguments received from the appealing entity.[  
The appeal board, in its discretion, may request additional 
information or evidence.] 
 (2)  Appeal board review is an informal proceeding for 
purposes of Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures Act. 
 (a)  [No hearing will be held on the entity's appeal.]A 
review may: 
 ([b]i)  [The appeal board meeting will ]include [only the 
members of the board and HCDD]a division staff member to present 
the conclusions of the division's review[.]; 
 (ii)  provide an opportunity for the reporting entity to 
present its reasons and evidence for the review request; and 
 (iii)  include witnesses or legal representatives. 
 (b)(i)  The appeal board may request additional information 
and evidence. 
 (ii)  A reporting entity's failure to respond to a request by 
the appeal board for additional information or evidence without good 
cause may result in dismissal of the appeal. 
 (iii)  Good cause for failing to respond to a request for 
additional information or evidence is limited to circumstances that 
are: 
 (A)  beyond the party's control; or 
 (B)  compelling and reasonable. 
 (3)  If the appeal board determines an appeal is not timely 
filed, the board will not have jurisdiction to consider the merits of the 
appeal and will dismiss the appeal. 
 (4)  The appeal board may summarily dismiss an appeal if 
the board determines the appeal does not state adequate grounds for 
the appeal or fails to identify alleged errors in the notice of 
noncompliance. 
 (5)  The appeal board will issue a written decision within 
90 calendar days of the day on which the appeal is filed.  [HCDD]The 

division will deliver a copy of the appeal board's decision, including 
an explanation of the right to judicial review, to interested parties. 
 
R990-300-10.  Period of Noncompliance. 
 (1)  If a[n] reporting entity's moderate income housing 
report is noncompliant and the entity is ineligible for the funds as 
provided in Sections 10-9a-408 and 17-27a-408 and this rule, the 
entity's next opportunity to submit a compliant report will be during 
the next reporting cycle, which begins on May 1. 
 (2)  A[n] reporting entity described in Subsection (1) will 
remain in noncompliant status until: 
 (a)  the reporting entity submits a moderate income housing 
report during the next reporting period for review by [HCDD]the 
division; and 
 (b)(i)  [HCDD]the division issues a notice of compliance; 
or 
 (ii)  the appeal board determines the report is compliant. 
 
R990-300-11.  Noncompliance Fees. 
 (1)  The daily fee required by Sections 10-9a-408 and 17-
27a-408 for a noncompliant report shall begin to accrue the day after: 
 (a)  the reporting deadline, if the reporting entity fails to 
submit a required report; or 
 (b)  the deadline to cure deficiencies described in a notice 
of noncompliance, if the reporting entity fails to cure a deficiency. 
 (2)(a)  If a reporting entity requests an appeal, and the 
appeal board reverses the division's determination of noncompliance, 
accrued noncompliance fees will be waived. 
 (b)  If a reporting entity requests an appeal, and the appeal 
board affirms the division's determination of noncompliance, the 
daily fee will accrue in accordance with Subsection R990-300-11(1). 
 (3)  Fees will accrue until the reporting entity submits a 
timely and compliant moderate income housing report for the next 
reporting period. 
 (a)  Fee accrual will not end earlier than the day before the 
start of the next reporting period. 
 (b)  Fee accrual will pause on the day before the day the 
division receives the report and remain paused while the division 
determines whether the report is compliant. 
 (i)  If the division determines the report is compliant, fee 
accrual will end on the day before the day the division received the 
compliant report. 
 (ii)  If the division determines the report is noncompliant, 
fee accrual will resume from the day the reporting entity submitted 
the noncompliant report. 
 (c)  If the reporting entity requests an appeal of the 
division's determination under Subsection R990-300-11(3)(b), fee 
accrual will pause on the day before the day the appeal is received 
and remain paused while the appeal board considers the appeal. 
 (i)  If the appeal board reverses the division's determination 
of noncompliance, fee accrual will end on the day before the day the 
division received the compliant report. 
 (ii)  If the appeal board affirms the division's determination 
of noncompliance, fee accrual will resume from the day the reporting 
entity submitted the appeal. 
 (4)(a)  The division will send a notice to a reporting entity 
subject to daily fees that the fee balance must be paid to the Olene 
Walker Housing Loan Fund within 60 days of the date the notice is 
sent. 
 (b)  A reporting entity that fails to pay an outstanding fee 
balance to the Olene Walker Housing Loan Fund will be 
noncompliant. 
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KEY:  moderate income housing reports 
Date of Last Change:  [August 24, 2023]2024 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  35A-8-803; 
10-9a-408; 17-27a-408 

 
 

 
End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section  
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES 

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 
 (a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
 (b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
 (c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Subsection 63G-3-304(1)). 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the 120-DAY RULE is printed.  New text is underlined (example) and text to 
be deleted is struck out with brackets surrounding the deleted text ([example]).  An emergency rule that is new is 
entirely underlined.  Likewise, an emergency rule that repeals an existing rule shows the text completely struck out.  
A row of dots in the text (. . . . . . .) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space. 
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective when filed with the Office of Administrative Rules, or on a later date designated by the 
agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule.  Because of its 
temporary nature, a 120-DAY RULE is not codified as part of the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
The law does not require a public comment period for 120-DAY RULES.  However, when an agency files a 120-DAY 
RULE, it may file a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements permanent. 
 
Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Section 63G-3-304, and Section R15-4-8. 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF EMERGENCY (120-DAY) RULE 
Rule or Section  
Number: 

R70-101 Filing ID: 56535 

Effective Date: 06/01/2024 
 
Agency Information 
1.  Title  
catchline: 

Agriculture and Food, Regulatory 
Services 

Building: Taylorsville State Office Building, South 
Building, Floor 2 

Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state Taylorsville, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 146500 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Amber Brown 385-

245-
5222 

Ambermbrown@utah.gov 

Travis Waller 801-
982-
2250 

Twaller@utah.gov 

Kelly Pehrson 385-
977-
2147 

kwpehrson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule or section catchline: 
R70-101.  Bedding, Upholstered Furniture, and Quilted 
Clothing 
 
3.  Purpose of the new rule or reason for the change: 
In April 2023, the Department of Agriculture and Food 
(Department) published a rule change that clarified the law 
label requirements for upholstered furniture that are 
applicable online, as well as brick and mortar sales. 
 
Based on feedback from the furniture industry regarding 
the difficulty of satisfying the new rule requirements, the 
Department has agreed to remove the reference to the 
online sales and draft new changes. 
 
The Department has been working closely with the 
industry to set a requirement that ensures consumers 
receive relevant information. 
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Per the rulemaking timelines, the Bulletin will publish the 
revised rule in early summer, and after the original 
emergency rule filing has expired.  This filing will allow the 
Department and industry to continue to collaborate on the 
revised rule. 
 
The Department aims to maintain industry compliance 
until all parties agree on the updated changes that will 
apply to online sales. 
 
4.  Summary of the new rule or change: 
The changes remove references to online sales from 
Sections R70-101-2, R70-101-3, and R70-101-18. 
 
5A)  The agency finds that regular rulemaking would: 
☒ cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or 

welfare; 
☐ cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget 

restraints, or federal requirements; or 
☐ place the agency in violation of federal or state law. 

B)  Specific reasons and justifications for this finding: 
The Department has met with large furniture 
manufacturers who have reported that they cannot satisfy 
the requirements of the current rule regarding online sales. 
 
The Department is concerned that these manufacturers 
will choose to discontinue selling products in Utah unless 
the Department changes the rule requirements. 
 
The potential financial loss in Utah could be in the millions 
of dollars each year and detrimental to public welfare. 
 

 
Fiscal Information 
6.  Provide an estimate and written explanation of the 
aggregate anticipated cost or savings to: 
A) State budget: 
The Department has not fully implemented the changes 
from the rule published in April 2023. 
 
Removing these changes will not impact the state budget 
and the program will continue to operate under the current 
resources.  
 
B) Local governments: 

The changes will not impact local governments because 
they do not sell or regulate bedding, upholstered furniture, 
or quilted clothing. 
 
C) Small businesses ("small business" means a business 
employing 1-49 persons): 
The Department has not fully implemented the previous 
changes and these changes would not impact small 
businesses. 
 

D) Persons other than small businesses, state, or local 
government entities ("person" means any individual, 
partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, 
or public or private organization of any character other 
than an agency): 
The changes will not impact other persons because the 
industry and Department have not fully implemented the 
removed changes. 
 
E)  Compliance costs for affected persons (How much 
will it cost an impacted entity to adhere to this rule or its 
changes?): 
Compliance costs will not change.  The rule changes 
decrease the regulatory burden. 
 
F) Comments by the department head on the fiscal 
impact this rule may have on businesses (Include the 
name and title of the department head): 
This rule change will not have a fiscal impact on business.  
Craig W. Buttars, Commissioner 
 

 
Citation Information 
7.  Provide citations to the statutory authority for the 
rule.  If there is also a federal requirement for the rule, 
provide a citation to that requirement: 
Section 4-10-103   

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Craig W. Buttars,  
Commissioner 

Date: 05/28/2024 

 
R70.  Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services. 
R70-101.  Bedding, Upholstered Furniture, and Quilted Clothing. 
R70-101-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 Pursuant to Section 4-10-103, this rule establishes the 
standards, practices, and procedures for the manufacture, repair, sale, 
and distribution of bedding, upholstered furniture, quilted clothing 
products, and filling materials. 
 
R70-101-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  "Clean" means free from stains, dirt, trash, filth, pulp, 
sludge, oil, grease, fat, skin, epidermis, excreta, vermin, insects, 
insect eggs, insect carcasses, contamination, hazardous materials, or 
residual or objectionable substances or odors. 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of 
Agriculture and Food. 
 (3)  "Law Label or Label" means a tag attached to bedding 
or upholstered furniture that provides information about the product 
to the consumer. 
 (4)  "Manufacture" means the making, processing, or 
preparing of new or secondhand bedding, upholstered furniture, 
quilted clothing, or filling material. 
 (5)  "Manufacturer" means a person who makes or has 
employees make any bedding, upholstered furniture, quilted clothing, 
filling material, or any part. 
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 (6)  "Non-resident" means a person permitted under this 
rule who does not have premises in Utah. 
[ (7)  "Online Retailer" means any person who advertises and 
markets via the internet and another electronic network.] 
 ([8]7)  "Person" means an individual, partnership, 
association, firm, auctioneer, trust, limited liability company, or 
corporation. 
 ([9]8)  "Premises" means any place where bedding, 
upholstered furniture, quilted clothing, or filling material is sold, 
offered for sale, exposed for sale, stored, renovated, or manufactured, 
and the delivery vehicle used in their transportation. 
 ([10]9)  "Supply dealer" means a person who manufactures, 
processes, or sells at wholesale any felt, batting, pads, or other 
fillings, loose in a bag, in a bale or a container, concealed or not 
concealed, intended for use in bedding, upholstered furniture, or 
quilted clothing. 
 (1[1]0)  "Second Hand Law Tag" or "Tag" means a tag 
attached to a product or filling material that has previously been used. 
 (1[2]1)  "Sterilization Permit Number" means the number 
issued by a state to be used on any filling material or on the label for 
bedding, upholstered furniture, or quilted clothing to identify the 
sterilizing facility, person, or company. 
 (1[3]2)  "Sterilize" means a process used to make wool, 
feathers, down, shoddy, or hair free from bacteria or any other living 
microorganism. 
 (1[4]3)  "Sterilizer" means a person who sterilizes wool, 
feathers, down, shoddy, or hair. 
 (1[5]4)  "Textile Label or Label" means a tag attached to a 
quilted clothing product that provides information required in 16 
CFR Parts 300, 301, 303 and this rule. 
 (1[6]5)  "Uniform Registry Number or URN" means the 
number issued by a state to be used on the law label of bedding, 
furniture, or filling material to identify the manufacturing facility, 
person, or company. 
 
R70-101-3.  Application of Rule. 
 This rule shall apply to any person engaged in the business 
of manufacturing, retailing[, online retailing], wholesaling, 
processing, repairing, sterilizing, and selling items of bedding, 
upholstered furniture, quilted clothing, and filling material, 
regardless of their point of origin. 
 
R70-101-4.  Permit Requirements for Manufacturers, Repairers, 
and Wholesalers. 
 (1)  Any person who advertises, solicits, or contracts to 
manufacture or repair bedding, upholstered furniture, or filling 
material shall secure a permit from the department before the product 
is offered for sale in Utah. 
 (2)  Any person who advertises, solicits, or contracts to 
manufacture quilted clothing shall secure a permit from the 
department before the product is offered for sale in Utah. 
 (3)  Any person seeking a permit shall provide the 
following to the department: 
 (a)  a completed registration form; and 
 (b)  a sample of the label that will be used. 
 (4)  A wholesale bedding, upholstered furniture dealer, are 
exempted from providing a label to the department. 
 (5)  A registration fee shall be assessed annually.  This fee 
shall be paid before January 1 or a late fee shall be assessed.  Each 
fee is listed in the department's fee schedule that is approved by the 
Legislature. 
 

R70-101-5.  Sterilization Permit Requirements for Sterilizers. 
 (1)  A person who advertises, solicits, or contracts as a 
sterilizer shall secure a sterilization permit from the department 
before sterilized products are offered for sale in Utah. 
 (2)  A person seeking a sterilization permit shall provide the 
department with a sterilization permit application completed by a 
department authorized third party inspector. 
 (3)  A permit fee shall be assessed annually.  This fee shall 
be paid before January 1 or a late fee will be assessed.  Each fee is 
listed in the department's fee schedule that is approved by the 
Legislature. 
 (4)  The inspection for a sterilization permit shall be 
conducted every three years. 
 (5)  A copy of the inspection report shall be submitted to 
the department with the renewal form for that year. 
 
R70-101-6.  Revocation of Permit. 
 (1)  The department shall have the authority to suspend or 
revoke a permit for any violation of these provisions. 
 (2)  A suspension or revocation shall be in accordance with 
Section 4-1-106. 
 
R70-101-7.  Sanitation Requirements. 
 (1)  The premises, delivery equipment, machinery, and any 
appliances, article, and devices shall be kept free from refuse, dirt, 
contamination, or insects. 
 (2)  No person shall use in the making, repairing, or 
renovating of bedding, upholstered furniture, or quilted clothing any 
filling material that: 
 (a)  contains any insect, vermin, or filth; 
 (b)  is not clean; or 
 (c)  contains burlap or other material that has been used for 
baling. 
 (3)  Bedding, quilted clothing, and filling material shall be 
stored four inches off the floor. 
 (4)  New and used products shall be stored separately. 
 
R70-101-8.  Sterilization Requirements for New Fill Material. 
 (1)  Any wool, feathers, down, shoddy, and hair shall be 
cleaned and sterilized before being used as new filling material. 
 (2)  Methods for Sterilization. 
 (a)  Pressure Steam.  The material shall be subjected to 
treatment by steam at 15 PSI (.104 mPA) for 30 minutes or 20 PSI 
(.0138 mPA) for 20 minutes.  The gauge for registering steam 
pressure must be visible from the outside of the room or chamber. 
 (b)  Streaming Steam.  Two applications of streaming steam 
maintained for a period of one hour each, applied at intervals of not 
less than six nor more than 24 hours, may be used.  Valved outlets 
shall be provided near the bottom and the top of the room or chamber 
when streaming steam is employed. 
 (c)  Heat.  A temperature of 235 degrees F held for a period 
of two hours, within a closed container is considered satisfactory for 
proper sterilization. 
 (d)  Other methods of sterilization may be approved by the 
department upon petition. 
 
R70-101-9.  Manufacturing, Wholesale, Sterilizers, and Supply 
Dealer Labeling Requirements for Quilted Clothing. 
 (1)  The department incorporates by reference the October 
19, 2017 version of the 16 CFR Parts 300 and 301, and the November 
5, 2020 version of 16 CFR Part 303. 
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 (2)  Articles of plumage-filled clothing shall meet the 
following label requirements. 
 (a)  Any label stating the contents of Down, Goose Down, 
or Duck Down shall also state the minimum percentage of Down, 
Goose Down, or Duck Down that is contained in the article.  The 
down label is a qualified general label and shall include in 
parentheses the minimum percentage of down in the product which 
shall be 75% or greater. 
 (b)  "Down and Waterfowl Feathers" may be used to 
designate any plumage product containing between 50% minimum 
and 74% down and plumules.  The percentage of both shall be stated 
on the sewn-in label and hang tags. 
 (c)  "Waterfowl Feathers and Down" may be used to 
designate any plumage product containing between 5% minimum 
and 49% down and plumules.  The percentage of both shall be stated 
on the sewn-in label and hang tags. 
 (d)  "Waterfowl Feathers" may be used to designate any 
plumage product containing less than 5% down and plumules. 
 (e)  Quill feathers are not permitted unless disclosed. 
 (f)  Other plumage products that do not meet the 
requirements for any of the listed categories from Subsection R70-
101-9(2) shall be labeled accurately with each component listed 
separately in order of predominance. 
 (3)  The sterilization permit number "PER. NO.  " shall be 
listed on the textile label. 
 (4)  The form of identification used on a label and a tag 
shall be the same as those supplied to the department with the 
registration application. 
 (5)  The textile label shall be easily accessible to the 
consumer for examination before purchase. 
 
R70-101-10.  Filling Material. 
 (1)  Each term or definition of a filling material shall be the 
term that has been submitted and approved by the International 
Association of Bedding Law Officials (IABFLO), except as 
otherwise required by this rule. 
 (2)  Notwithstanding Subsection R70-101-10(1), the term 
"recycled" may be used if the manufacturing facility: 
 (a)  is Global Recycled Standard (GRS) certified; 
 (b)  provides proof of GRS certification to the department 
on the registration form; and 
 (c)  provides a copy of the certificate or the certification 
number on the invoice to the retailer for each lot or batch of filling 
material. 
 (3)  The manufacturing facility shall provide a copy of the 
certificate or the certification numbers for each batch or lot to the 
department upon request. 
 (4)  Plumage material shall follow the standards as outlined 
in the "USA-2000 Labeling Standards- Down and Feather Products" 
and ASTM D-4522, which are incorporated by reference. 
 (5)  Any other filling material shall be clean. 
 (6)  "Imperfect, irregular foam" means any foam product 
that shows a major imperfection or that falls below the foam 
manufacturer's usual standards or specifications and must be stated 
on the tag as "imperfect" or "irregular" along with the generic name 
of the foam. 
 (7)  "Imperfect, irregular fibers" shall mean any fiber that 
has an imperfection or that falls below the fiber manufacturer's usual 
standards or specifications and must be stated on the tag as 
"imperfect" or "irregular" along with the generic name of the fiber. 

 (8)  The terms "Prime," "Super," "Northern," and similar 
terms shall not be used unless the fill can be proved to be of superior 
quality and meet the terms of the qualifying statement. 
 
R70-101-11.  Generic Names, Grades, Descriptive Terms, and 
Definitions of Filling Material. 
 (1)  Filling material shall be described on the label and the 
tag using the: 
 (a)  true generic name; 
 (b)  grade; 
 (c)  description terms; or 
 (d)  definition of the filling material that has been approved 
by the department. 
 (2)  When more than one kind of filling material is used in 
a mixture, the percentage by weight shall be listed in order of 
predominance. 
 (a)  Federal fiber tolerance standards are applicable, except 
as pertains to a plumage product. 
 (b)  Blends may be described in accordance with Section 
R70-101-10. 
 (3)  When a different filling material is used in different 
parts of the garment, the areas of the garment shall be named, 
followed by the name of the filling material used in that area. 
 
R70-101-12.  Manufacturer Identification and Law Label 
Requirements for Bedding and Upholstered Furniture. 
 (1)  The form of identification used on a law label and tag 
shall be the same as those supplied to the department with the 
registration. 
 (2)  For any article of bedding and upholstered furniture, 
the law label shall use the format adopted by the IABFLO, as listed 
in the "Manual of Labeling Laws" of the International Sleep Products 
Association, 2021 edition, which is incorporated by reference.  A 
copy of the incorporated edition of the "Manual of Labeling Laws" is 
available for public inspection at the department. 
 (3)  The law label for a newly manufactured product shall 
meet the following requirements: 
 (a)  white on each side of the label; 
 (b)  made of material that cannot be easily torn; 
 (c)  printed in black ink; 
 (d)  printed in English; 
 (e)  printed clearly and legibly; and 
 (f)  firmly attached to the article. 
 (4)  Required information shall be printed on one side of 
the label with the opposite side remaining blank. 
 (5)  Each law label shall state the following, in order: 
 (a)  the phrase "UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG 
NOT TO BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER" in bold 
at the top of the label in capital letters no less than 1/8 inches in 
height; 
 (b)  the phrase "ALL NEW MATERIAL" in bold, capital 
letters no less than 1/8 inch in height, followed by the phrase 
"CONSISTING OF", no case or height requirements, followed by the 
filling contents in bold capital letters no less than 1/8 inch in height; 
 (c)  the words "CONTENTS STERILIZED" in bold capital 
letters no less than 1/8 inch in height; 
 (d)  the URN issued by the state in which the firm is first 
registered; 
 (e)  the sterilization permit number of the sterilization 
facility from which the material was obtained, in bold capital letters 
no less than 1/8 inch in height; 
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 (f)  the phrase, "Certification is made by the manufacturer 
that the materials in this article are described in accordance with 
law"; and 
 (g)  the name and complete address of the manufacturer, 
importer, or vendor of the article. 
 (6)  The law label shall be easily accessible to the consumer 
for examination[ before purchase]. 
 (a)  A product that is offered for sale in a box or in other 
packaging that makes a law label inaccessible shall reproduce a 
legible facsimile of the law label on the outer container or covering. 
 (7)  No mark, label, printed matter, illustration, sticker, or 
other device shall be placed upon the label. 
 (8)  The firm's license or permit with the state that issued 
the URN must be kept current for the number to be valid in Utah. 
 (9)  Each firm doing business under more than one state-
issued URN or permit shall obtain a permit for each number used on 
a product that is offered for sale in Utah. 
 
R70-101-13.  Second Hand Law Tags and Tagging Requirements. 
 (1)  A tag for second hand material shall be: 
 (a)  a minimum of two inches by three inches; 
 (b)  yellow on both sides of the tag; 
 (c)  made of material that cannot be easily torn; 
 (d)  printed in English; 
 (e)  printed in black ink; 
 (f)  printed clearly and legibly; and 
 (g)  firmly attached to the article. 
 (2)  Required information shall be printed on one side of 
the tag with the opposite side remaining blank. 
 (3)  A second hand tag shall contain the following 
information, in order: 
 (a)  the phrase "UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG 
NOT TO BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER" in bold 
at the top of the label in capital letters, no less than 1/8 inch in height; 
 (b)  the phrase, "THIS ARTICLE CONTAINS SECOND 
HAND MATERIAL CONSISTING OF CONTENTS UNKNOWN".  
The words "SECONDHAND MATERIAL" and "CONTENTS 
UNKNOWN" shall be in capital letters, size not less than 1/8 inches 
in height; 
 (c)  the phrase, "Certification is made that the materials in 
this article are described in accordance with law"; and 
 (d)  the store name and complete corporate address. 
 (4)  The tag shall be easily accessible to the consumer for 
examination. 
 (5)  No mark, label, printed matter, illustration, sticker, or 
any other device shall be placed upon the tag. 
 
R70-101-14.  Second Hand Tag and Tagging Requirements for 
Repaired, Reupholstered, and Renovated Products. 
 (1)  A tag for a repaired, reupholstered, and renovated 
product shall be: 
 (a)  a minimum of two inches by three inches; 
 (b)  yellow on both sides of the tag; 
 (c)  made of material that cannot be easily torn; 
 (d)  have the required information printed on one side of 
the tag with the opposite side remaining blank; 
 (e)  printed in English; 
 (f)  printed in black ink; 
 (g)  printed clearly and legibly; and 
 (h)  firmly attached to the article. 
 (2)  A second hand tag shall contain the following 
information, in order: 

 (a)  the phrase, "UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THIS TAG 
NOT TO BE REMOVED EXCEPT BY THE CONSUMER" in bold 
at the top of the label in capital letters, no less than 1/8 inch in height; 
 (b)  the phrase, "THIS ARTICLE IS NOT FOR SALE 
OWNER'S MATERIAL" in bold in capital letters, no less than 1/8 
inch in height; 
 (c)  the phrase, "CERTIFICATION IS MADE THAT THIS 
ARTICLE CONTAINS THE SAME MATERIAL IT DID WHEN 
RECEIVED FROM THE OWNER AND THAT ADDED 
MATERIALS ARE DESCRIBED IN THE ACCORDANCE WITH 
LAW, AND CONSIST OF THE FOLLOWING:" followed by a 
description of the filling material; 
 (d)  a description of the work that was done on the product; 
 (e)  the URN number; 
 (f)  the name and address of the renovator or repairer; and 
 (g)  the date of pick-up, owner's name, and address. 
 
R70-101-15.  Used Mattresses. 
 (1)  A retailer selling a customer returned, refurbished, or 
used mattress shall follow the second hand law tag requirements as 
set out in Section R70-101-13. 
 (2)  In addition, a retailer shall also display on the mattress 
a tag stating "USED" in bold capital letters. 
 (3)  The USED tag shall be: 
 (a)  a minimum of three inches by six inches; 
 (b)  yellow on both sides of the tag; 
 (c)  the font shall be a minimum of one inch in height; 
 (d)  printed in black ink; and 
 (e)  printed in English. 
 (4)  Required information shall be printed on one side of 
the tag with the opposite side remaining blank. 
 (5)  The USED tag shall be clearly visible to the consumer. 
 
R70-101-16.  Variance. 
 (1)  The department may issue a variance on label and tag 
requirements. 
 (2)  A request for a variance shall be made to the department 
in writing and shall contain the following information: 
 (a)  the product associated with the variance request; 
 (b)  where the variance will be used; 
 (c)  an explanation of the need for a variance; 
 (d)  a description of how the variance will be used in 
practice; and 
 (e)  an example of the label or tag that will be used in place 
of the required label or tag. 
 (3)  Approval of a variance shall be given from the 
department in writing. 
 (4)  A variance shall be subject to a period of review. 
 
R70-101-17.  Making or Selling Material or Parts. 
 A person shall not purchase, make, process, prepare, or sell, 
directly or indirectly, at wholesale or retail, or otherwise, any filling 
material or other component parts to be used in bedding, upholstered 
furniture, or quilted clothing, unless such material is appropriately 
tagged. 
 
R70-101-18.  Retailer Responsibilities. 
 (1)  A retailer[, including online retailers,] shall: 
 (a)  ensure that any article of bedding, upholstered 
furniture, quilted clothing, or filling material sold is labeled and 
tagged correctly; 
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 (b)  ensure the label is easily accessible to the consumer for 
examination[ before purchase]; 
 (c)  comply with state law and the department's rules 
governing false and misleading advertisement; 
 (d)  ensure that the manufacturer from whom a retailer 
purchases a product has a valid permit with the department; and 
 (e)  ensure that the importer from whom a retailer purchases 
a product has a valid permit with the department. 
 (2)  Upon request of the department, a retailer shall provide 
the identity of the manufacturer or wholesaler of an article of 
bedding, upholstered furniture, quilted clothing, or filling material 
sold. 
 (3)  A retailer may register in lieu of the manufacturer or 
wholesaler if the manufacturer or wholesaler is not registered. 
 (4)  A retailer shall ensure that bedding or filling material 
using the term "recycled": 
 (a)  is from a GRS certified facility; and 
 (b)  has a certificate or certification number. 
 
R70-101-19.  Violations. 
 (1)  Each improperly labeled or tagged article of bedding, 
upholstered furniture, quilted clothing, or filling material made or 
sold shall be a separate violation of this rule. 
 (2)  No person shall be in violation if that person received, 
from the manufacturer or supplier of the article, a guarantee in good 
faith that the article is not contrary to this rule in the form prescribed 
by the Textile Fiber Products Identification Act,15 U.S.C. 70, Wool 
Products Labeling Act, 15 U.S.C. 68, and related Federal Trade 
Commission rules. 

 (3)  No person shall remove, or cause to be removed, any 
tag, or device placed upon any article of bedding, upholstered 
furniture, quilted clothing, or filling material by an inspector. 
 (4)  No person may remove an article that has been 
condemned and ordered held on inspection notice. 
 (5)  No person shall interfere with, obstruct, or hinder any 
inspector of the department in the performance of the inspector's 
duties. 
 (6)  Any article of bedding, upholstered furniture, quilted 
clothing, or filling material manufactured or wholesaled by a 
manufacturer or wholesaler who is not registered or permitted may 
be withheld from sale until the manufacturer or wholesaler registers 
or obtains a permit. 
 (7)  No person shall use the term "recycled" for bedding or 
filling material unless they meet the requirements of Subsection 
R701-101-10(2). 
 
R70-101-20.  Products Not Intended for Use Subject to This Rule. 
 (1)  The Commissioner may exclude from this rule a textile 
fiber product: 
 (a)  that has an insignificant or inconsequential textile fiber 
content; or 
 (b)  if the disclosure of the textile fiber content is not 
necessary for the protection of the consumer. 
 
KEY:  inspections, labeling, quality control, registration 
Date of Last Change:  June 1, 2024 
Notice of Continuation:  March 12, 2020 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  4-10-103 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW 
AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the agency is required to 
review the rule.  This review is intended to help the agency determine, and to notify the public, that the administrative 
rule in force is still authorized by statute and necessary.  Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by 
filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing a FIVE-YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION (REVIEW); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by filing a REVIEW.  By filing a REVIEW, the 
agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
A REVIEW is not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the online edition of 
the Utah Administrative Code available at adminrules.utah.gov.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency 
or the Office of Administrative Rules.  REVIEWS are effective upon filing. 
 
REVIEWS are governed by Section 63G-3-305. 
 
 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R35-1 Filing ID: 55850 
Effective Date: 05/20/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Government Operations, Records 

Committee 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 346 S Rio Grande St 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 84101 
Mailing address: PO Box 141007 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1007 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Rebekkah Shaw 385-

386-
1955 

rshaw@utah.gov 

Kendra Yates 801-
531-
3856 

kendrayates@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R35-1.  State Records Committee Hearing Procedures 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 

The underlying legal authority for this rule still exists at 
Subsection 63G-2-403(4)(b)(ii)(B) which directs the State 
Records Committee (Committee) to establish procedures. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received on this rule in 
the last five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is still required to provide procedures for 
participating parties to prepare for a hearing before the 
Committee.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kenneth Williams,  
Director 

Date: 05/23/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R35-1a Filing ID: 55398 
Effective Date: 05/20/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Government Operations, Records 

Committee 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 346 S Rio Grande St 



  FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 

UTAH STATE BULLETIN, June 15, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 12 59 

City, state Salt Lake City, UT 84101 
Mailing address: PO Box 141007 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1007 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Rebekkah Shaw 385-

386-
1955 

rshaw@utah.gov 

Kendra Yates 801-
531-
3856 

kendrayates@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R35-1a.  State Records Committee Definitions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The underlying legal authority for this rule still exists at 
Subsection 63G-2-403(4)(b)(ii)(B) which directs the State 
Records Committee (Committee) to establish procedures. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received on this rule in 
the last five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is still required to provide procedures for 
participating parties to prepare for a hearing before the 
Committee.  Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kenneth Williams,  
Director 

Date: 05/23/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R35-2 Filing ID: 56418 
Effective Date: 05/20/2024 

 

Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Government Operations Records 

Committee 
Building: State Records Committee 
Street address: 346 S Rio Grande St 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 84101 
Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Rebekkah Shaw 801-531-

3851 
rshaw@utah.gov 

Michelle Adams 385-501-
9006 

michelledadams@agutah.
gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R35-2.  Scheduling and Declining Hearings 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The underlying legal authority for this rule still exists at 
Subsection 63G-2-403(4)(b)(ii)(B) which directs the State 
Records Committee to establish filing and publication 
procedures. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received on this rule in 
the last five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is still required to provide procedures for the 
executive secretary to follow in scheduling or declining 
appeals.  It also provides instruction for the public to know 
what is required to submit a complete appeal and what 
process was followed if their appeal is declined.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kenneth Williams,  
Director 

Date: 05/23/2024 
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NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R35-4 Filing ID: 55400 
Effective Date: 05/20/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Government Operations, Records 

Committee 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 346 S Rio Grande St 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 84101 
Mailing address: PO Box 141007 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1007 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Rebekkah Shaw 385-

386-
1955 

rshaw@utah.gov 

Kendra Yates 801-
531-
3856 

kendrayates@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R35-4.  Compliance with State Records Committee 
Decisions and Orders 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The underlying legal authority for this rule still exists at 
Subsection 63G-2-403(4)(b)(ii)(B) which directs the State 
Records Committee to establish filing and publication 
procedures. 
 
This rule establishes requirements for a notice of 
compliance a governmental entity may need to submit to 
the committee when an appeal is granted per Subsections 
63G-2-403(15)(c) and (d). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received on this rule in 
the last five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is still required to provide procedures for 
participating parties to understand what is contained in a 

notice of compliance.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kenneth Williams,  
Director 

Date: 05/23/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R35-5 Filing ID: 55401 
Effective Date: 05/20/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Government Operations, Records 

Committee. 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 346 S Rio Grande St 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 84101 
Mailing address: PO Box 141007 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1007 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Rebekkah Shaw 385-

386-
1955 

rshaw@utah.gov 

Kendra Yates 801-
531-
3856 

kendrayates@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R35-5.  Subpoenas Issued by the Records Committee 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The underlying legal authority for this rule still exists at 
Subsection 63G-2-403(4)(b)(ii)(B) which directs the State 
Records Committee to establish filing and publication 
procedures. 
 
This rule establishes procedures regarding subpoena 
requests per Subsection 63G-2-403(10). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
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No written comments have been received on this rule in 
the last five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is still required to provide procedures for 
participating parties to request a subpoena.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kenneth Williams,  
Director 

Date: 05/23/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R35-6 Filing ID: 55845 
Effective Date: 05/20/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Government Operations, Records 

Committee. 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 346 S Rio Grande St 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 84101 
Mailing address: PO Box 141007 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1007 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Rebekkah Shaw 385-

386-
1955 

rshaw@utah.gov 

Kendra Yates 801-
531-
3856 

kendrayates@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R35-6.  Expedited Hearing 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
The underlying legal authority for this rule still exists at 
Subsection 63G-2-403(4)(b)(ii)(B) which directs the State 
Records Committee to establish filing and publication 
procedures. 

This rule establishes procedures for the committee's 
expedited hearings per Subsection 63G-2-403(4)(a)(i). 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments have been received on this rule in 
the last five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is still required to provide expedited hearing 
procedures to the public and governmental entities who 
could participate in a hearing.  Therefore, this rule should 
be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kenneth Williams,  
Director 

Date: 05/23/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R380-25 Filing ID: 55930 
Effective Date: 05/29/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Health and Human Services, 

Administration 
Building: Martha Hughes Cannon Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 
Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Valli Chidambaram 385-

499-
1595 

vchidambaram@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R380-25.  Submission of Data Through an Electronic Data 
Interchange 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
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Subsections 26B-1-202(28), 26B-1-202(29), 26B-1-
202(30), 26B-1-202(26), 26B-1-202(37), and 26B-1-
202(42) and Sections 26B-8-404 and 26B-8-405 authorize 
this rule to allow the Department of Health and Human 
Services (Department) to accept submissions of data 
through an electronic data interchange. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has received no comments since the last 
five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule allows the Department to continue to accept 
submissions of data through an electronic data 
interchange.  If the rule were to expire, the Department 
could be at risk of not receiving the data that an electronic 
data interchange provides and could therefore be at risk of 
operating with outdated or incomplete information.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
As there were no comments received in opposition to this 
rule, the Department did not respond to comments. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 05/29/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R414-7a Filing ID: 55951 
Effective Date: 05/17/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Health and Human Services, 

Integrated Healthcare 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-7a.  Medicaid Certification of New Nursing Facilities 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-3-108 requires the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) to implement Medicaid 
through administrative rules, and Section 26B-1-213 
grants the Department the authority to adopt, amend, or 
rescind these rules. 
 
Additionally, Section 26B-3-312 specifies that adjudicative 
decisions are subject to review and appeal. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
either in support or opposition regarding this rule since its 
last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary because it implements the 
adjudicative process to administer Medicaid certification of 
nursing facility programs, as required by statute.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
The Department has not received any comments in 
opposition to this rule. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 05/06/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R414-31 Filing ID: 55977 
Effective Date: 05/29/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Health and Human Services, 

Integrated Healthcare 
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Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N. 1460 W. 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-31.  Inpatient Psychiatric Services for Individuals 
Under 21 Years of Age 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-3-108 requires the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) to implement Medicaid 
through administrative rules, and Section 26B-1-213 
grants the Department the authority to adopt, amend, or 
rescind these rules. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
regarding this rule since its last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule sets forth conditions and coverage for inpatient 
psychiatric services for individuals under 21 years of age, 
which the state has elected to cover, and is therefore 
necessary for compliance with the state's choice. 
 
As there were no comments in opposition to this rule, the 
Department has not responded to comments. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 05/29/2024 

 
 

NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R414-49 Filing ID: 55938 
Effective Date: 05/29/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Health and Human Services, 

Integrated Healthcare 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-49.  Dental, Oral, and Maxillofacial Surgeons and 
Orthodontia 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-3-108 requires the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) to implement Medicaid 
through administrative rules, and Section 26B-1-213 
grants the Department the authority to adopt, amend, or 
rescind these rules. 
 
Additionally, 42 CFR 440.130 authorizes preventive 
services for Medicaid members. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
regarding this rule since its last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary for compliance with the Utah 
Medicaid State Plan, the Dental, Oral Maxillofacial, and 
Orthodontia Services Utah Medicaid Provider Manual, and 
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statute.  This rule provides the scope of dental services for 
members who are eligible under the Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) program, 
pregnant members, blind or disabled members, aged 
members, members of the targeted adult Medicaid 
population, and members who are otherwise eligible under 
Medicaid and qualify for emergency dental.  Therefore, this 
rule should be continued. 
 
As there were no comments in opposition to this rule, the 
Department has not responded to comments. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 05/29/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R414-502 Filing ID: 55498 
Effective Date: 05/29/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Health and Human Services, 

Integrated Healthcare 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-502.  Nursing Facility Levels of Care 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-3-108 requires the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) to implement Medicaid 
through administrative rules, and Section 26B-1-213 

grants the Department the authority to adopt, amend, or 
rescind these rules. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
regarding this rule since its last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary as it defines the levels of care that 
nursing facilities may provide for Medicaid members, as is 
statutorily required.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 
As there were no comments in opposition to this rule, the 
Department has not responded to comments. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 05/29/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R414-503 Filing ID: 55609 
Effective Date: 05/29/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Health and Human Services, 

Integrated Healthcare 
Building: Cannon Health Building 
Street address: 288 N 1460 W 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 143102 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3102 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Craig 
Devashrayee 

801-
538-
6641 

cdevashrayee@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 
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General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R414-503.  Preadmission Screening and Resident Review 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 26B-3-108 requires the Department of Health and 
Human Services (Department) to implement Medicaid 
through administrative rules, and Section 26B-1-213 
grants the Department the authority to adopt, amend, or 
rescind these rules. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any written comments 
regarding this rule since its last five-year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
The Department has determined this rule is necessary 
because it implements the federally required preadmission 
screening and resident review of nursing facility residents 
with serious mental illness or intellectual disability.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
As there were no comments in opposition to this rule, the 
Department has not responded to comments. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 05/29/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R512-310 Filing ID: 55643 
Effective Date: 05/29/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Health and Human Services, Child 

and Family Services 
Building: Multi-Agency State Office Building 
Street address: 195 N 1950 W 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 
Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Carol Miller 801-

557-
1772 

carolmiller@utah.gov 

Mariah Noble 385-
214-
1150 

mariahnoble@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R512-310.  Reasonable and Prudent Parent Standard 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 80-2-302 authorizes the Division of Child and 
Family Services (Division) to make rules to clarify the scope 
of services the division provides to families in Utah. 
 
Section 80-2-301 assigns the Division responsibilities as the 
child, youth, and family services authority of the state. 
 
Section 80-2-308 gives the Division the responsibility for 
normalizing the lives of children and outlines requirements 
for caregiver decision making. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Health and Human Services 
(Department) has not received any comments about this 
rule since its last five=year review. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is necessary for the Division to establish 
standards for normalcy for a child who is in state custody, 
including a reasonable and prudent parent standard and 
normalizing activities for children, as required by statute.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 
As there were no comments in opposition to this rule, the 
Department did not respond to any comments. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Tracy S. Gruber,  
Executive 
Director 

Date: 05/29/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R590-171 Filing ID: 56218 
Effective Date: 05/21/2024 
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Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Insurance, Administration 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state Taylorsville, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-171.  Surplus Lines Procedures Rule 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, the 
Insurance Code. 
 
Section 31A-15-103 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to establish an organization to examine 
surplus lines policies to ensure compliance with the 
requirements of the law and payment of taxes. 
 
Section 31A-15-111 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to require that surplus lines brokers be 
members of an advisory organization established by this 
rule. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance has received no written 
comments regarding this rule during the past five years. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule defines the authority of the Surplus Line 
Association of Utah, outlines the conditions for placing 
insurance with surplus lines insurers, and provides 
examination requirements for the Surplus Line Association 
of Utah.  This rule is necessary to provide a measure of 
accountability for the Surplus Line Association of Utah and 
how this line of insurance is sold in the state.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 

Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/21/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R590-230 Filing ID: 55861 
Effective Date: 05/21/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Insurance, Administration 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state Taylorsville, UT 
Mailing address: PO Box 146901 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Steve Gooch 801-

957-
9322 

sgooch@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R590-230.  Suitability in Annuity Transactions 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
Section 31A-2-201 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules to implement Title 31A, the 
Insurance Code. 
 
Section 31A-22-425 authorizes the insurance 
commissioner to write rules dealing with definitions, 
disclosures, exclusions, or limitations in an annuity 
contract. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department of Insurance (Department) received one 
written comment about this rule in the past five years.  The 
comment was the result of a proposed amendment the 
Department filed in 2023 and was in support of the 
amendment. 
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5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
It is critical that this rule continue in force so producers and 
insurers have standards and procedures to follow when 
making financial recommendations to consumers who are 
considering the purchase of an annuity product.  These 
recommendations require that the insurance needs and 
financial objectives of the consumer must be taken into 
account at the time of the transaction.  Therefore, this rule 
should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Steve Gooch,  
Public Information 
Officer 

Date: 05/21/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R698-5 Filing ID: 51859 
Effective Date: 05/29/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Public Safety, Administration 
Building: Calvin Rampton Complex 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W, 1st Floor 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 84119-5994 
Mailing address: PO Box 141775 
City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1775 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R698-5.  State Hazardous Chemical Emergency 
Response Commission Advisory Committee 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 53-2a-702(2), 
which requires the Department of Public Safety to make 
rules necessary for the implementation of the federal 
Emergency Planning and Community Right To Know Act 
of 1986. 
 

4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received during and since the 
last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 53-2a-702(2), in 
connection with implementation of the federal Emergency 
Planning and Community Right To Know Act of 1986.  This 
rule establishes the State Hazardous Chemical 
Emergency Response Commission Advisory Committee, 
outlines procedures for the creation, modification or 
dissolution of a Local Emergency Planning Committee, 
and outlies the procedures for adjudicative proceedings.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Jess L. Anderson,  
Commissioner 

Date: 05/29/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R704-1 Filing ID: 51857 
Effective Date: 05/29/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Public Safety, Emergency 

Management 
Building: Taylorsville State Office Building 
Street address: 4315 S 2700 W 
City, state Taylorsville, UT 
Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Janna Wilkinson 385-
214-
5857 

jannawilkinson@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R704-1.  Search and Rescue Financial Assistance 
Program 
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3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 53-2a-1102(7), 
which requires the Division of Emergency Management to 
make rules for the administration of the Search and 
Rescue Financial Assistance Program and the assistance 
card program. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
No written comments were received during and since the 
last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under Subsection 53-2a-1102(7), and 
is necessary to specify costs that qualify as reimbursable 
base expenses; define procedures of counties to submit 
expenses and be reimbursed; define a participant in the 
assistance card program; define the procedure for issuing 
a card to a participant; define excluded expenses that may 
not be reimbursed under the program, including medical 
expenses; establish the card renewal cycle for the Utah 
Search and Rescue Assistance Card Program; establish 
the frequency of review of the fee schedule; provide for the 
administration of the program; and provide a formula to 
govern the distribution of available money among the 
counties for uncompensated search and rescue expenses.  
Therefore, this rule should be continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Kris Hamlet,  
Division Director 

Date: 05/29/2024 

 
 
NOTICE OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF 
CONTINUATION 
Rule Number: R714-600 Filing ID: 51935 
Effective Date: 05/29/2024 

 
Agency Information 
1.  Title catchline: Public Safety, Highway Patrol 
Building: Calvin Rampton Complex 
Street address: 4501 S 2700 W 
City, state Salt Lake City, UT 84119-5994 
Mailing address: PO Box 141100 

City, state and 
zip: 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1100 

Contact persons: 
Name: Phone: Email: 
Kim Gibb 801-

556-
8198 

kgibb@utah.gov 

Please address questions regarding information on 
this notice to the persons listed above. 

 
General Information 
2.  Rule catchline: 
R714-600.  Performance Standards for Tow Truck Motor 
Carriers 
 
3.  A concise explanation of the particular statutory 
provisions under which the rule is enacted and how 
these provisions authorize or require this rule: 
This rule is authorized under Subsection 41-6a-1406(1), 
which requires the Department of Public Safety 
(Department) to make rules setting the performance 
standards for towing companies to be used by the 
Department. 
 
4.  A summary of written comments received during 
and since the last five-year review of this rule from 
interested persons supporting or opposing this rule: 
The Department has not received any comments since the 
last five-year review of this rule. 
 
5.  A reasoned justification for continuation of this 
rule, including reasons why the agency disagrees with 
comments in opposition to this rule, if any: 
This rule is required under Subsection 41-6a-1406(10), 
which requires the Department to make rules setting the 
performance standards for towing companies to be used 
by the Department.  This rule establishes standards for the 
dispatch of a tow truck, the creation and maintenance of a 
towing rotation list, and dispatch of tow truck motor carriers 
by the Department.  Therefore, this rule should be 
continued. 
 

 
Agency Authorization Information 
Agency head  
or designee  
and title: 

Michael Rapich,  
Colonel Utah  
Highway Patrol 

Date: 05/29/2024 

 

 
End of the Five-Year Notices of Review and Statements of Continuation Section
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NOTICES OF 
RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 

 
State law provides for agencies to make their administrative rules effective and enforceable after publication in the 
Utah State Bulletin.  In the case of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES with a designated comment 
period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the 
public comment period, nor more than 120 days after the publication date.  In the case of CHANGES IN PROPOSED 
RULES with no designated comment period, the law permits an agency to make a rule effective on any date including 
or after the thirtieth day after the rule's publication date, but not more than 120 days after the publication date.  If an 
agency fails to file a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE within 120 days from the publication of a PROPOSED RULE or a related 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE the rule lapses. 
 
Agencies have notified the Office of Administrative Rules that the rules listed below have been made effective. 
 
NOTICES OF EFFECTIVE DATE are governed by Subsection 63G-3-301(12), Section 63G-3-303, and Sections R15-4-
5a and R15-4-5b. 
 
 

 
Agriculture and Food 
Medical Cannabis and Industrial Hemp 
No.  56367  (New Rule)  R66-3:  Quality Assurance Testing 
on Cannabis 
Published:  04/15/2024 
Effective:  05/28/2024 
 
No.  56433  (New Rule)  R66-36:  Transport of Transportable 
Industrial Hemp Concentrate 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/11/2024 
 
Plant Industry 
No.  56366  (Repeal)  R68-29:  Quality Assurance Testing on 
Cannabis 
Published:  04/15/2024 
Effective:  05/28/2024 
 
 
Education 
Administration 
No.  56422  (Amendment)  R277-108:  Annual Assurance of 
Compliance by Local School Boards 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/07/2024 
 
No.  56423  (Amendment)  R277-404:  Requirements for 
Assessments of Student Achievement 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/07/2024 
 
No.  56424  (Amendment)  R277-406:  Early Learning 
Program and Assessments 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/07/2024 
 
No.  56425  (Amendment)  R277-462:  School Counseling 
Program 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/07/2024 

No.  56426  (Amendment)  R277-464:  School Counselor 
Direct and Indirect Services 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/07/2024 
 
No.  56427  (New Rule)  R277-631:  Student Toilet Training 
Requirements 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/07/2024 
 
No.  56428  (Amendment)  R277-700:  The Elementary and 
Secondary School General Core 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/07/2024 
 
 
Environmental Quality 
Waste Management and Radiation Control, Radiation 
No.  56419  (Amendment)  R313-28:  Definitions 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/17/2024 
 
Waste Management and Radiation Control, Waste 
Management 
No.  56420  (Amendment)  R315-309:  Financial Assurance 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/17/2024 
 
No.  56421  (Amendment)  R315-310:  Permit Requirements 
for Solid Waste Facilities 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/17/2024 
 
 
Government Operations 
Records Committee 
No.  56410  (Amendment)  R35-1:  State Records Committee 
Appeal Hearing Procedures 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/18/2024 



NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES  

70 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, June 15, 2024, Vol. 2024, No. 12 

Health and Human Services 
Population Health, Environmental Epidemiology 
No.  56384  (Amendment)  R386-702:  Communicable 
Disease Rule 
Published:  04/01/2024 
Effective:  05/29/2024 
 
 
Insurance 
Administration 
No.  56414  (Amendment)  R590-190:  Standards for Prompt, 
Fair, and Equitable Settlement for Automobile Insurance 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/07/2024 
 
No.  56415  (Amendment)  R590-200:  Diabetes Treatment 
and Management 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/07/2024 
 
No.  56417  (Amendment)  R590-230:  Producer Training 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/07/2024 
 
Title and Escrow Commission 
No.  56416  (Amendment)  R592-6:  Unfair Inducements and 
Marketing Practices in Obtaining Title Insurance Business 
Published:  05/01/2024 
Effective:  06/07/2024 

 
 
Judicial Performance Evaluation Commission 
Administration 
No.  56394  (New Rule)  R597-7:  General Provisions 
Published:  04/15/2024 
Effective:  06/13/2024 
 
 
Labor Commission 
Boiler, Elevator and Coal Mine Safety 
No.  56396  (Amendment)  R616-2:  Safety Codes and Rules 
for Boilers and Pressure Vessels 
Published:  04/15/2024 
Effective:  05/22/2024 
 
 
Lieutenant Governor 
Administration 
No.  56403  (New Rule)  R622-3:  Use of the Great Seal of 
the State of Utah 
Published:  04/15/2024 
Effective:  05/31/2024 
 

 
End of the Notices of Rule Effective Dates Section 
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