
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-37c.  Utah Controlled Substance Precursor Act Rule. 
R156-37c-101.  Title. 
 This rule is known as the "Utah Controlled Substance Precursor 
Act Rule." 
 
R156-37c-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 37c, 
as used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 37c or this rule: 
 (1)  "Involved officer, director, partner, proprietor, employee 
or manager" means an individual who has direct responsibility for 
the purchasing, storage, handling, disbursement, sale, shipping or 
disposal of controlled substance precursors. 
 (2)  "Unusual and extraordinary regulated transaction" means: 

 (a)  a cash transaction; 
 (b)  a transaction of a magnitude outside of standard business 
conduct; or 
 (c)  a transaction in which the distributor does not have good 
knowledge of the legitimate use by the purchaser of the controlled 
substance precursors being purchased. 
 
R156-37c-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 These rules are adopted by the division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) to enable the division to administer Title 
58, Chapter 37c. 
 
R156-37c-104.  Organization - Relationship to Rule R156-1. 
 The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule R156-1 

is as described in Section R156-1-107. 
 
R156-37c-302a.  Qualifications for Licensure - Application 
Requirements. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-37c-8(2), an applicant shall 
submit a complete application on a form provided by the division which 
includes the following: 
 (1)  identifying information including business legal name, 
physical location and mailing address, contact person for licensing 
purposes, organization type and identifying information, trade or 
business names; 
 (2)  disclosure of nature of business; 
 (3)  all facilities where business will be conducted; 
 (4)  identification of all controlled substance precursors for 

which licensure is requested; and 
 (5)  qualifying information concerning involved officers, 
directors, partners, proprietors, employees, and managers. 
 
R156-37c-601.  Routine Transactions. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-37c-10(4)(a), the following 
are the recordkeeping and reporting requirements which shall be met 
by a regulated controlled substance precursor distributor and 
purchaser transaction. 
 (1)  Each distributor shall submit to the division the following: 
 (a)  all records of purchase 15 days following the end of the 
calendar quarter; 



 (b)  all records of sale or transfer 15 days following the end 

of each calendar month; and 
 (c)  all inventory reconciliations 15 days following the end 
of the calendar quarter. 
 (2)  Each purchaser shall submit to the division the following: 
 (a)  all records of purchase 15 days following the end of each 
calendar month; 
 (b)  all records of disposition 15 days following the end of 
the calendar quarter; and 
 (c)  all inventory reconciliations 15 days following the end 
of the calendar quarter. 
 
R156-37c-602.  Extraordinary or Unusual Regulated Transactions. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-37c-10((4)(b), the following 

are the recordkeeping and reporting requirements which shall be met 
by a regulated controlled substance precursor distributor and 
purchaser with respect to each extraordinary or unusual regulated 
transaction. 
 (1)  Each distributor shall cause records of sale or transfer 
to be received by the division within 72 hours after the sale or 
transfer. 
 (2)  Each purchaser shall cause records of purchase to be 
received by the division within 72 hours after purchase. 
 
R156-37c-603.  Identification. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-37c-10(4)(c), the following 
is the identification which shall be presented by a purchaser to a 
distributor and the requirements for recording that identification 

by the distributor prior to the sale or transfer or any controlled 
substance precursor in a regulated transaction. 
 (1)  A purchaser shall present a copy of the controlled substance 
precursor license and a photo identification, if the purchase is to 
be shipped by other than a common carrier. 
 (2)  A distributor shall record the controlled substance 
precursor license number and organization name along with the date 
of sale and material and quantity sold.  This identification can be 
kept on file for a customer for the duration of a license period.  
A notarized photocopy of the license is acceptable proof of licensure. 
 For transactions involving purchasers outside the state, no license 
number is required, but all other reporting is required. 
 
R156-37c-604.  Theft, Loss, or Shortage of Controlled Substance 
Precursor. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-37c-10(4)(e), purchasers and 
distributors shall file a report with respect to a theft, loss, or 
shortage of a controlled substance precursor with the division within 
72 hours of discovery of the loss or shortage using the format required 
for unusual transactions except in the case of minor shortages 
discovered during inventory which would be consistent with expected 
handling losses which will not be reported except in the inventory 
reconciliation. 
 
KEY:  licensing, controlled substances, precursor 
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  1994 



Notice of Continuation:  April 24, 2018 
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  58-1-106(1)(a); 
58-1-202(1)(a); 58-37c-1 
 
 


