Rulemaking Time Frames

Statute and rule provides for specific filing and publication dates affecting administrative rules. These provisions include a requirement for a 30-day comment period, and a requirement for agency action within a certain number of days.

The Office of Administrative Rules has prepared the following table as a guideline to help agencies calculate these dates. (A PDF version of the table is available.)

Filing Deadlines

Bulletin Issue No. Bulletin Publication Date Filing Window Opens* Filing Deadline* End of Mandatory (30th Day)** Comment Period First Possible Effective Date*** End of Maximum Comment Period Last Possible Effective Date (120th Day After Publication)†
2021-01 01/01/2021 Wed, 12/02/2020 12:00:00 AM Tue, 12/15/2020 11:59:59 PM Mon, 02/01/2021 Mon, 02/08/2021 Fri, 04/23/2021 Sat, 05/01/2021
2021-02 01/15/2021 Wed, 12/16/2020 12:00:00 AM Thu, 12/31/2020 11:59:59 PM Tue, 02/16/2021 Tue, 02/23/2021 Fri, 05/07/2021 Sat, 05/15/2021
2021-03 02/01/2021 Fri, 01/01/2021 12:00:00 AM Fri, 01/15/2021 11:59:59 PM Wed, 03/03/2021 Wed, 03/10/2021 Tue, 05/25/2021 Tue, 06/01/2021
2021-04 02/15/2021 Sat, 01/16/2021 12:00:00 AM Mon, 02/01/2021 11:59:59 PM Wed, 03/17/2021 Wed, 03/24/2021 Tue, 06/08/2021 Tue, 06/15/2021
2021-05 03/01/2021 Tue, 02/02/2021 12:00:00 AM Tue, 02/16/2021 11:59:59 PM Wed, 03/31/2021 Wed, 04/07/2021 Tue, 06/22/2021 Tue, 06/29/2021
2021-06 03/15/2021 Wed, 02/17/2021 12:00:00 AM Mon, 03/01/2021 11:59:59 PM Wed, 04/14/2021 Wed, 04/21/2021 Tue, 07/06/2021 Tue, 07/13/2021
2021-07 04/01/2021 Tue, 03/02/2021 12:00:00 AM Mon, 03/15/2021 11:59:59 PM Mon, 05/03/2021 Mon, 05/10/2021 Fri, 07/23/2021 Fri, 07/30/2021
2021-08 04/15/2021 Tue, 03/16/2021 12:00:00 AM Thu, 04/01/2021 11:59:59 PM Mon, 05/17/2021 Mon, 05/24/2021 Fri, 08/06/2021 Fri, 08/13/2021
2021-09 05/01/2021 Fri, 04/02/2021 12:00:00 AM Thu, 04/15/2021 11:59:59 PM Mon, 05/31/2021 Mon, 06/07/2021 Fri, 08/20/2021 Sun, 08/29/2021
2021-10 05/15/2021 Fri, 04/16/2021 12:00:00 AM Fri, 04/30/2021 11:59:59 PM Mon, 06/14/2021 Mon, 06/21/2021 Fri, 09/03/2021 Sun, 09/12/2021
2021-11 06/01/2021 Sat, 05/01/2021 12:00:00 AM Fri, 05/14/2021 11:59:59 PM Thu, 07/01/2021 Thu, 07/08/2021 Wed, 09/22/2021 Wed, 09/29/2021
2021-12 06/15/2021 Sat, 05/15/2021 12:00:00 AM Tue, 06/01/2021 11:59:59 PM Thu, 07/15/2021 Thu, 07/22/2021 Wed, 10/06/2021 Wed, 10/13/2021
2021-13 07/01/2021 Wed, 06/02/2021 12:00:00 AM Tue, 06/15/2021 11:59:59 PM Mon, 08/02/2021 Mon, 08/09/2021 Fri, 10/22/2021 Fri, 10/29/2021
2021-14 07/15/2021 Wed, 06/16/2021 12:00:00 AM Thu, 07/01/2021 11:59:59 PM Mon, 08/16/2021 Mon, 08/23/2021 Fri, 11/05/2021 Fri, 11/12/2021
2021-15 08/01/2021 Fri, 07/02/2021 12:00:00 AM Thu, 07/15/2021 11:59:59 PM Tue, 08/31/2021 Tue, 09/07/2021 Mon, 11/22/2021 Mon, 11/29/2021
2021-16 08/15/2021 Fri, 07/16/2021 12:00:00 AM Mon, 08/02/2021 11:59:59 PM Tue, 09/14/2021 Tue, 09/21/2021 Mon, 12/06/2021 Mon, 12/13/2021
2021-17 09/01/2021 Tue, 08/03/2021 12:00:00 AM Mon, 08/16/2021 11:59:59 PM Fri, 10/01/2021 Fri, 10/08/2021 Thu, 12/23/2021 Thu, 12/30/2021
2021-18 09/15/2021 Tue, 08/17/2021 12:00:00 AM Wed, 09/01/2021 11:59:59 PM Fri, 10/15/2021 Fri, 10/22/2021 Thu, 01/06/2022 Thu, 01/13/2022
2021-19 10/01/2021 Thu, 09/02/2021 12:00:00 AM Wed, 09/15/2021 11:59:59 PM Mon, 11/01/2021 Mon, 11/08/2021 Fri, 01/21/2022 Sat, 01/29/2022
2021-20 10/15/2021 Thu, 09/16/2021 12:00:00 AM Fri, 10/01/2021 11:59:59 PM Mon, 11/15/2021 Mon, 11/22/2021 Fri, 02/04/2022 Sat, 02/12/2022
2021-21 11/01/2021 Sat, 10/02/2021 12:00:00 AM Fri, 10/15/2021 11:59:59 PM Wed, 12/01/2021 Wed, 12/08/2021 Tue, 02/22/2022 Tue, 03/01/2022
2021-22 11/15/2021 Sat, 10/16/2021 12:00:00 AM Mon, 11/01/2021 11:59:59 PM Wed, 12/15/2021 Wed, 12/22/2021 Tue, 03/08/2022 Tue, 03/15/2022
2021-23 12/01/2021 Tue, 11/02/2021 12:00:00 AM Mon, 11/15/2021 11:59:59 PM Mon, 01/03/2022 Mon, 01/10/2022 Thu, 03/24/2022 Thu, 03/31/2022
2021-24 12/15/2021 Tue, 11/16/2021 12:00:00 AM Wed, 12/01/2021 11:59:59 PM Fri, 01/14/2022 Fri, 01/21/2022 Thu, 04/07/2022 Thu, 04/14/2022

REFERENCE: Sections 63G-3-301, and 63G-3-303; and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5a and R15-4-5b.

Notes

* Filing deadlines have been adjusted to account for weekends and holidays. This schedule reflects filing deadlines established by Section R15-4-3.

State Holidays Observed: 2021
New Year's Day Fri, 01/01/2021
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Mon, 01/18/2021
Washington and Lincoln Day Mon, 02/15/2021
Memorial Day Mon, 05/31/2021
Independence Day (observed) Mon, 07/05/2021
Pioneer Day (observed) Fri, 07/23/2021
Labor Day Mon, 09/06/2021
Columbus Day Mon, 10/11/2021
Veterans' Day Thu, 11/11/2021
Thanksgiving Day Thu, 11/25/2021
Christmas (observed) Fri, 12/24/2021

Updated: December 4, 2020

** The mandatory comment period for a Proposed Rule is 30 days. The last day of the comment period must also be a working day. The dates in this column reflect these requirements. Subsections 63G-3-301(11) and (12).

*** Statute requires that the Notice of Effective Date must be received by the Office of Administrative Rules on or before the effective date of the rule. Subsection 63G-3-301(12). The Office will not accept a Notice of Effective Date prior to the end of the agency-designated comment period. Statute provides that a rule may be made effective "no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period ..."

†Statute provides that a rule may be made effective no "more than 120 days after the publication date." Subsection 63G-3-301(12).

Additional Information

If you have a question about the rulemaking process or the information presented on this page, please contact the Office of Administrative Rules.