Rulemaking Time Frames

Updated: May 31, 2018

Statute and rule provides for specific filing and publication dates affecting administrative rules. These provisions include a requirement for a 30-day comment period, and a requirement for agency action within a certain number of days.

The Office of Administrative Rules has prepared the following table as a guideline to help agencies calculate these dates. (A PDF version of the table is available.)

Filing Deadlines

Bulletin Issue No. Bulletin Publication Date Filing Window Opens* Filing Deadline* End of Mandatory (30th Day)** Comment Period First Possible Effective Date*** End of Maximum Comment Period Last Possible Effective Date (120th Day After Publication)†
2018-13 07/01/2018 Sat, 06/02/2018 12:00:00 AM Fri, 06/15/2018 11:59:59 PM Tue, 07/31/2018 Tue, 08/07/2018 Mon, 10/22/2018 Mon, 10/29/2018
2018-14 07/15/2018 Sat, 06/16/2018 12:00:00 AM Mon, 07/02/2018 11:59:59 PM Tue, 08/14/2018 Tue, 08/21/2018 Mon, 11/05/2018 Mon, 11/12/2018
2018-15 08/01/2018 Tue, 07/03/2018 12:00:00 AM Mon, 07/16/2018 11:59:59 PM Fri, 08/31/2018 Fri, 09/07/2018 Thu, 11/22/2018 Thu, 11/29/2018
2018-16 08/15/2018 Tue, 07/17/2018 12:00:00 AM Wed, 08/01/2018 11:59:59 PM Fri, 09/14/2018 Fri, 09/21/2018 Thu, 12/06/2018 Thu, 12/13/2018
2018-17 09/01/2018 Thu, 08/02/2018 12:00:00 AM Wed, 08/15/2018 11:59:59 PM Mon, 10/01/2018 Mon, 10/08/2018 Fri, 12/21/2018 Sun, 12/30/2018
2018-18 09/15/2018 Thu, 08/16/2018 12:00:00 AM Fri, 08/31/2018 11:59:59 PM Mon, 10/15/2018 Mon, 10/22/2018 Fri, 01/04/2019 Sun, 01/13/2019
2018-19 10/01/2018 Sat, 09/01/2018 12:00:00 AM Fri, 09/14/2018 11:59:59 PM Wed, 10/31/2018 Wed, 11/07/2018 Tue, 01/22/2019 Tue, 01/29/2019
2018-20 10/15/2018 Sat, 09/15/2018 12:00:00 AM Mon, 10/01/2018 11:59:59 PM Wed, 11/14/2018 Wed, 11/21/2018 Tue, 02/05/2019 Tue, 02/12/2019
2018-21 11/01/2018 Tue, 10/02/2018 12:00:00 AM Mon, 10/15/2018 11:59:59 PM Mon, 12/03/2018 Mon, 12/10/2018 Fri, 02/22/2019 Fri, 03/01/2019
2018-22 11/15/2018 Tue, 10/16/2018 12:00:00 AM Thu, 11/01/2018 11:59:59 PM Mon, 12/17/2018 Mon, 12/24/2018 Fri, 03/08/2019 Fri, 03/15/2019
2018-23 12/01/2018 Fri, 11/02/2018 12:00:00 AM Thu, 11/15/2018 11:59:59 PM Wed, 01/02/2019 Wed, 01/09/2019 Fri, 03/22/2019 Sun, 03/31/2019
2018-24 12/15/2018 Fri, 11/16/2018 12:00:00 AM Fri, 11/30/2018 11:59:59 PM Wed, 01/16/2019 Wed, 01/23/2019 Fri, 04/05/2019 Sun, 04/14/2019
2019-01 01/01/2019 Sat, 12/01/2018 12:00:00 AM Fri, 12/14/2018 11:59:59 PM Thu, 01/31/2019 Thu, 02/07/2019 Wed, 04/24/2019 Wed, 05/01/2019
2019-02 01/15/2019 Sat, 12/15/2018 12:00:00 AM Wed, 01/02/2019 11:59:59 PM Thu, 02/14/2019 Thu, 02/21/2019 Wed, 05/08/2019 Wed, 05/15/2019
2019-03 02/01/2019 Thu, 01/03/2019 12:00:00 AM Tue, 01/15/2019 11:59:59 PM Mon, 03/04/2019 Mon, 03/11/2019 Fri, 05/24/2019 Sat, 06/01/2019
2019-04 02/15/2019 Wed, 01/16/2019 12:00:00 AM Fri, 02/01/2019 11:59:59 PM Mon, 03/18/2019 Mon, 03/25/2019 Fri, 06/07/2019 Sat, 06/15/2019
2019-05 03/01/2019 Sat, 02/02/2019 12:00:00 AM Fri, 02/15/2019 11:59:59 PM Mon, 04/01/2019 Mon, 04/08/2019 Fri, 06/21/2019 Sat, 06/29/2019
2019-06 03/15/2019 Sat, 02/16/2019 12:00:00 AM Fri, 03/01/2019 11:59:59 PM Mon, 04/15/2019 Mon, 04/22/2019 Fri, 07/05/2019 Sat, 07/13/2019
2019-07 04/01/2019 Sat, 03/02/2019 12:00:00 AM Fri, 03/15/2019 11:59:59 PM Wed, 05/01/2019 Wed, 05/08/2019 Tue, 07/23/2019 Tue, 07/30/2019
2019-08 04/15/2019 Sat, 03/16/2019 12:00:00 AM Mon, 04/01/2019 11:59:59 PM Wed, 05/15/2019 Wed, 05/22/2019 Tue, 08/06/2019 Tue, 08/13/2019
2019-09 05/01/2019 Tue, 04/02/2019 12:00:00 AM Mon, 04/15/2019 11:59:59 PM Fri, 05/31/2019 Fri, 06/07/2019 Thu, 08/22/2019 Thu, 08/29/2019
2019-10 05/15/2019 Tue, 04/16/2019 12:00:00 AM Wed, 05/01/2019 11:59:59 PM Fri, 06/14/2019 Fri, 06/21/2019 Thu, 09/05/2019 Thu, 09/12/2019
2019-11 06/01/2019 Thu, 05/02/2019 12:00:00 AM Wed, 05/15/2019 11:59:59 PM Mon, 07/01/2019 Mon, 07/08/2019 Fri, 09/20/2019 Sun, 09/29/2019
2019-12 06/15/2019 Thu, 05/16/2019 12:00:00 AM Fri, 05/31/2019 11:59:59 PM Mon, 07/15/2019 Mon, 07/22/2019 Fri, 10/04/2019 Sun, 10/13/2019

REFERENCE: Sections 63G-3-301, and 63G-3-303; and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, and R15-4-5.

Notes

* Filing deadlines have been adjusted to account for weekends and holidays. This schedule reflects filing deadlines established by Section R15-4-3.

State Holidays Observed: 2018 2019
New Year's Day Mon, 01/01/2018 Tue, 01/01/2019
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Mon, 01/15/2018 Mon, 01/21/2019
Washington and Lincoln Day Mon, 02/19/2018 Mon, 02/18/2019
Memorial Day Mon, 05/28/2018 Mon, 05/27/2019
Independence Day Wed, 07/04/2018 Thu, 07/04/2019
Pioneer Day Tue, 07/24/2018 Wed, 07/24/2019
Labor Day Mon, 09/03/2018 Mon, 09/02/2019
Columbus Day Mon, 10/08/2018 Sun, 10/14/2018
Veterans' Day Mon, 11/12/2018 Mon, 11/11/2019
Thanksgiving Day Thu, 11/22/2018 Thu, 11/28/2019
Christmas Tue, 12/25/2018 Wed, 12/25/2019

** The mandatory comment period for a Proposed Rule is 30 days. The last day of the comment period must also be a working day. The dates in this column reflect these requirements. Subsections 63G-3-301(11) and (12).

*** Statute requires that the Notice of Effective Date must be received by the Office of Administrative Rules on or before the effective date of the rule. Subsection 63G-3-301(12). The Office will not accept a Notice of Effective Date prior to the end of the agency-designated comment period. Statute provides that a rule may be made effective "no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period ..."

†Statute provides that a rule may be made effective no "more than 120 days after the publication date." Subsection 63G-3-301(12).

Additional Information

If you have a question about the rulemaking process or the information presented on this page, please contact the Office of Administrative Rules.