Deadlines and Time Frames

Statute and rule provides for specific filing and publication dates affecting administrative rules. These provisions include a requirement for a 30-day comment period and a requirement for agency action within a certain number of days.

The Office of Administrative Rules has prepared the following table as a guideline to help agencies calculate these dates.

2024 Filing Time Frames

Bulletin Issue No. Bulletin Publication Date Filing Window Opens* Filing Deadline* End of Mandatory (30th Day)** Comment Period First Possible Effective Date*** End of Maximum Comment Period Last Possible Effective Date (120th Day After Publication)†
2024-01 01/01/2024 Sat, 12/02/2023 12:00:00 AM Fri, 12/15/2023 11:59:59 PM Wed, 01/31/2024 Wed, 02/07/2024 Tue, 04/23/2024 Tue, 04/30/2024
2024-02 01/15/2024 Sat, 12/16/2023 12:00:00 AM Tue, 01/02/2024 11:59:59 PM Wed, 02/14/2024 Wed, 02/21/2024 Tue, 05/07/2024 Tue, 05/14/2024
2024-03 02/01/2024 Wed, 01/03/2024 12:00:00 AM Tue, 01/16/2024 11:59:59 PM Mon, 03/04/2024 Mon, 03/11/2024 Fri, 05/24/2024 Fri, 05/31/2024
2024-04 02/15/2024 Wed, 01/17/2024 12:00:00 AM Thu, 02/01/2024 11:59:59 PM Mon, 03/18/2024 Mon, 03/25/2024 Fri, 06/07/2024 Fri, 06/14/2024
2024-05 03/01/2024 Fri, 02/02/2024 12:00:00 AM Thu, 02/15/2024 11:59:59 PM Mon, 04/01/2024 Mon, 04/08/2024 Mon, 06/24/2024 Mon, 07/01/2024
2024-06 03/15/2024 Fri, 02/16/2024 12:00:00 AM Fri, 03/01/2024 11:59:59 PM Mon, 04/15/2024 Mon, 04/22/2024 Mon, 07/08/2024 Mon, 07/15/2024
2024-07 04/01/2024 Sat, 03/02/2024 12:00:00 AM Fri, 03/15/2024 11:59:59 PM Wed, 05/01/2024 Wed, 05/08/2024 Tue, 07/23/2024 Tue, 07/30/2024
2024-08 04/15/2024 Sat, 03/16/2024 12:00:00 AM Mon, 04/01/2024 11:59:59 PM Wed, 05/15/2024 Wed, 05/22/2024 Tue, 08/06/2024 Tue, 08/13/2024
2024-09 05/01/2024 Tue, 04/02/2024 12:00:00 AM Mon, 04/15/2024 11:59:59 PM Fri, 05/31/2024 Fri, 06/07/2024 Thu, 08/22/2024 Thu, 08/29/2024
2024-10 05/15/2024 Tue, 04/16/2024 12:00:00 AM Wed, 05/01/2024 11:59:59 PM Fri, 06/14/2024 Fri, 06/21/2024 Thu, 09/05/2024 Thu, 09/12/2024
2024-11 06/01/2024 Thu, 05/02/2024 12:00:00 AM Wed, 05/15/2024 11:59:59 PM Mon, 07/01/2024 Mon, 07/08/2024 Mon, 09/23/2024 Mon, 09/30/2024
2024-12 06/15/2024 Thu, 05/16/2024 12:00:00 AM Fri, 05/31/2024 11:59:59 PM Mon, 07/15/2024 Thu, 07/25/2024 Mon, 10/07/2024 Mon, 10/14/2024
2024-13 07/01/2024 Sat, 06/01/2024 12:00:00 AM Fri, 06/14/2024 11:59:59 PM Wed, 07/31/2024 Wed, 08/07/2024 Tue, 10/22/2024 Tue, 10/29/2024
2024-14 07/15/2024 Sat, 06/15/2024 12:00:00 AM Mon, 07/01/2024 11:59:59 PM Wed, 08/14/2024 Wed, 08/21/2024 Tue, 11/05/2024 Tue, 11/12/2024
2024-15 08/01/2024 Tue, 07/02/2024 12:00:00 AM Mon, 07/15/2024 11:59:59 PM Mon, 09/02/2024 Mon, 09/09/2024 Fri, 11/22/2024 Fri, 11/29/2024
2024-16 08/15/2024 Tue, 07/16/2024 12:00:00 AM Thu, 08/01/2024 11:59:59 PM Mon, 09/16/2024 Mon, 09/23/2024 Fri, 12/06/2024 Fri, 12/13/2024
2024-17 09/01/2024 Fri, 08/02/2024 12:00:00 AM Thu, 08/15/2024 11:59:59 PM Tue, 10/01/2024 Thu, 10/10/2024 Mon, 12/23/2024 Mon, 12/30/2024
2024-18 09/15/2024 Fri, 08/16/2024 12:00:00 AM Tue, 09/03/2024 11:59:59 PM Tue, 10/15/2024 Tue, 10/22/2024 Mon, 01/06/2025 Mon, 01/13/2025
2024-19 10/01/2024 Wed, 09/04/2024 12:00:00 AM Mon, 09/16/2024 11:59:59 PM Thu, 10/31/2024 Thu, 11/07/2024 Wed, 01/22/2025 Wed, 01/29/2025
2024-20 10/15/2024 Tue, 09/17/2024 12:00:00 AM Tue, 10/01/2024 11:59:59 PM Thu, 11/14/2024 Thu, 11/21/2024 Wed, 02/05/2025 Wed, 02/12/2025
2024-21 11/01/2024 Wed, 10/02/2024 12:00:00 AM Tue, 10/15/2024 11:59:59 PM Mon, 12/02/2024 Mon, 12/09/2024 Mon, 02/24/2025 Mon, 03/03/2025
2024-22 11/15/2024 Wed, 10/16/2024 12:00:00 AM Fri, 11/01/2024 11:59:59 PM Mon, 12/16/2024 Mon, 12/23/2024 Mon, 03/10/2025 Mon, 03/17/2025
2024-23 12/01/2024 Sat, 11/02/2024 12:00:00 AM Fri, 11/15/2024 11:59:59 PM Wed, 01/03/2024 Wed, 01/10/2024 Mon, 03/24/2025 Mon, 03/31/2025
2024-24 12/15/2024 Sat, 11/16/2024 12:00:00 AM Mon, 12/02/2024 11:59:59 PM Wed, 01/17/2024 Wed, 01/24/2024 Mon, 04/07/2025 Mon, 04/14/2025
State Holidays 2023 Observed date Actual date (if different from observed)
New Year's Day Mon, 01/01/2024
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Mon, 01/15/2024
Washington and Lincoln Day Mon, 02/19/2024
Memorial Day Mon, 05/27/2024
Juneteenth Mon, 06/17/2024 Wed, 06/19/2024
Independence Day (observed) Thu, 07/04/2024
Pioneer Day (observed) Wed, 07/24/2024
Labor Day Mon, 09/02/2024
Columbus Day Mon, 10/14/2024
Veterans' Day Mon, 11/11/2024
Thanksgiving Day Thu, 11/28/2024
Christmas (observed) Wed, 12/25/2024
Updated: December 6, 2023

Additional Information

** The mandatory comment period for a Proposed Rule is 30 days. The last day of the comment period must also be a working day. The dates in this column reflect these requirements. Subsections 63G-3-301(11) and (12).

*** Statute requires that the Notice of Effective Date must be received by the Office of Administrative Rules on or before the effective date of the rule. Subsection 63G-3-301(12). The Office will not accept a Notice of Effective Date prior to the end of the agency-designated comment period. Statute provides that a rule may be made effective "no fewer than seven calendar days after the close of the public comment period ..."

†Statute provides that a rule may be made effective no "more than 120 days after the publication date." Subsection 63G-3-301(12).

2023 Filing Time Frames

2023 rulemaking time frames are available for download in PDF format. Earlier time frame tables are available through contacting the Office of Administrative Rules.

calendar-pages-flipping