Agency Resources & Forms
- Video - How to Complete the Standard Proposed Rule Form
- Video - How to Complete the Standard Nonsubstantive Change Form
- Video - How to Complete the Standard Five Year Review Form
- Video - How to Complete the Emergency Rule Form
Training and forms for completing the fiscal analysis for an administrative rule:
The Utah Rulemaking Act, Title 63G, Chapter 3, requires a 30-day comment period, beginning the day after publication in the Utah State Bulletin, for proposed rules. Comments may be taken up to 113 days after publication. There is an additional seven-day waiting period to consider comment and then the rule can be made effective. The effective date can be the 38th day publication up to 120 days. After 120 days if the rule has not been made effective, the rule lapses. No change is made to the Administrative Code.
Once a rule has made its way through the publication, public comment and review process, it can be made effective.
An effective date MUST be filed in eRules for the rule to become effective.
The final state of a rule filing is for the rule to be codified. Codified law refers to the rules and regulations that have been collected, restated, and written down for the purpose of providing civil order to a society.
'Current Rules' that have been codified (code) can be found by clicking the 'Code' menu button at the top of our website.
A list of administrative rule filings that have been made effective, but not yet codified, is available online for review.
Utah legislative code 63G-3-305 requires that "Each agency shall review each of its rules within five years after the rule's original effective date or within five years after the filing of the last five-year review, whichever is later"
Five-Year Review Filing Forms: